Respondents Brief — Rutledge v. United States

Supreme Court brief1996

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

REST AVAIL ARIE COPY

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether petitioner’s conviction and concurrent

sentence for drug conspiracy, in violation of 21 U.S.C.

846, must be vacated in light of his conviction and

sentence for operating a continuing criminal enter-

prise (CCE), in violation of 21 U.S.C. 848, where

the “in concert with” element of the CCE violation

was based on the same agreement as the Section 846

conspiracy.

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

1

1

Statutory provisions involved ...............ccccccceeeeeeeeeeeeeeees 2

iia erreenesnsennnennengenaunssnaneesecess 2

4

Argument:

I. Petitioner’s judgments of conviction and con-

current life sentences for the CCE and drug

conspiracy offenses should be affirmed ............. 6

A. The Double Jeopardy Clause permits mul-

tiple punishinent for the CCE and drug

conspiracy offenses if that is the intention

GD ectemerstccnsnnctecnescscccesenececccsncceseceeee &

B. Congress intended to permit separate, con-

current punishments for a Section 846 drug

conspiracy and CCE offense based on the

SAME AGTECEIMENL ............0.ccesrerressecseceererseseres 12

Il. If the Court concludes that the entry of sepa-

rate convictions and concurrent sentences con-

travenes congressional intent, the appropriate

course would be to require entry of a single,

merged conviction and sentence on the two

IIIT isis ieleseia teri tenineemmanesencenmnanqncenesenseneaseseece 24

EES A ES OT 31

BE ccteenceseentenecensccnscccsnsccscenessevesenzseccecsesscccscnceseneeee la

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Albernaz v. United States, 450 U.S. 333 (198]) ...... 8

Ball v. Unwed States, 470 U.S. 856 (1985) . 8, 17, 18,

19, 20, 22, 26

Bell v. United States, 349 U.S. 81 (1955) ................ ll

Blockburger v. United States, 284 U.S. 299 (1932) . 8

Garrett v. United States, 471 U.S. 773 (1985) ........ 8,17

Gore v. United States, 357 U.S. 386 (1958) ............. ll

lannelli v. United States, 420 U.S. 770 (1975) ........ 10

(IID)

IV Vv

ROBE) ..ccccccccccccccccsccceccsccsccsscsscssessscssossosessososesscoscesess 27

Cases—Continued: Page

Jeffers v. United States: ;

2 OS. CBG oicccsiceen 13 Cases—Continued: Page

432 U.S. 187 (1977) .............0..+. 9, 10, 12, 13, 15, 17 United States v. Devine, 934 F.2d 1325 (5th Cir.),

Missouri v. Hunter, 459 U.S. 359 (1983) ................ ~ cert. denied, 502 U.S. 929 (1991), 502 U.S. 1047,

Ohio v. Johnson, 467 U.S. 493 (1984) ...............000. 8 1064, 1065, 1092 & 1104 (1992) oo... cecceeeeeeeeeeees 12

Ray v. United States, 481 U.S. 736 (1987) .............. 7, 27 United States v. Fernandez, 916 F.2d 125 (3d Cir.

Tinder v. United States, 345 U.S. 565 (1953) .......... 26 1990), cert. denied, 500 U.S. 948 (1991) ......0000000..... 14

United States v. Aiello, 771 F.2d 621 (2d Cir. United States v. Ganci, 47 F.3d 72 (2d Cir. 1995) .. 12

SEED -occusenesoensncensesasintiinashensthinanieimmiemmeasemeens 25, 29 United States v. Hernandez-Escarsega, 886 F.2d

United States v. Andersson, 813 F.2d 1450 (9th 1560 (9th Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 497 U.S. 1008

Cr, GID ceceecesinsseeretinindininniihceaianinantiiiaiinitediains 28 AEA eS ee 28

United States v. Ball, 734 F.2d 965 (4th Cir. 1984), United States v. Hooper, 432 F.2d 604 (D.C. Cir.

vacated and remanded, 470 U.S. 856 (1985) ............ 18 hilt cencine nineteen neal tatererentenenenen 27

United States v. Benevento, 836 F.2d 60 (2d Cir. United States v. Jelinek, 57 F.3d 655 (8th Cir.

1987), cert. denied, 486 U.S. 1043 (1988) ................. 25-26 1995), petition for cert. pending. No. 95-5343 ......... 15, 30

United States v. Bond, 847 F.2d 1233 (7th Cir. United States v. Lampley, 573 F 2d 783 (3d Cir.

SUED nn suesinsienennsniieatnliiaietaimiaidliameneeaiahi 12, 21 ee en 27

United States v. Broce, 488 U.S. 563 (1989) ........... 11 United States v. Langella, 804 F 2d 185 (2d Cir.

United States v. Butera, 677 F.2d 1376 (11th Cir. EE ane Ta ae a ee a en ll

1982), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 1108 (1983) ..............-.. 27 United States v. Lindsay, 985 F 2d 666 (2d Cir.),

United States v, Butler, 885 F.2d 196 (4th Cir. cert. denied, 114 S. Ct. 103 (1998) 0000.00 12, 25

ae 30 United States v. Liquori, 5 F.3d 435 (9th Cir. 1993),

United States v. Chamt , 944 F.2d 1253 (6th Cir. cert. denied, 114 S. Ct. 738 (1994) eaesscescsosesssessessccece 23

1991), cert. denied, 502 U.S. 1112 & 503 U.S. 989 United States v. Luciano-Mosquera, Nos. 92-1923

COO isamssssitcitenieinieaiettceeal dada 12, 15, 30 et al., 1995 WL 500601 (1st Cir. Aug. 28, 1995)........ 29

United States v. Cloutier, 966 F.2d 24 (ist Cir. United States v. Marable, 578 F.2d 151 (5th Cir.

Ss neesieeniieesannaaitiidanentle 30 ge in eee neler hs VR. Se lies suka. 11

United States v. Compton, 5 F.3d 358 (9th Cir. United States v. McHan, 966 F.2d 134 (4th Cir.

a 28 SEED pictenrcuscnernmnnpsevesmsetiiiataninantitmettinittnicemtens 11

United States v. Cruz, 805 F.2d 1464 (11th Cir. United States v. Nelson, 733 F.2d 364 (5th Cir.),

1986). cert. denied, 481 U.S. 1006 & 482 U.S. 930 cert. denied, 469 U.S. 937 (1984) ..00........0.0cccccccceeee

rt Oe 30 United States v. Nyhuis, 8 F.3d 731 (11th Cir.

United States v. De Bright, 730 F.2d 1255 (9th Cir. 1993), cert. denied, 115 S. Ct. 56 (1994) 0.0.0.0... 12

United States v. Palafox, 764 F.2d 558 (9th Cir.

SEED cncqmsteensertannnndticibanieininstianttaiai tit. ic. 27, 28

Cases—Continued: Page

United States v. Peters, 617 F.2d 503 (7th Cir.

|

BIE) ceccceccscccecesenscenusssesesusnsucnsiiieninmnsnsinsnndmmensibiesns

United States v. Ruggiero, 754 F.2d 927 (11th Cir.),

cert. denied, 471 U.S. 1127, 1137 (1985) ..................

United States v. Sanchez-Lopez, 879 F.2d 541 (9th

CEP. GEER cccocccccccescantonssescsssassesecsiensnindisannetuinmesensennte

United States v. Sanchez-Vargas, 878 F.2d 1163

CBs GRR. TERED cccccscsssceaninssnscesasesnmsennssitieemuemnnann

United States v. Shabani, 115 S. Ct. 382 (1994) .....

United States v. Vargas, 615 F.2d 952 (2d Cir.

DEED ctrccceccersccssensenssnmnnsinsntininetindinniianieninentiintds

United States v. Wilson:

440 F.2d 1103 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 882

(1971) & 405 U.S. 1016 (1972) ...........cccccceceeeeeeeees

671 F.2d 1138 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 456 U.S. 994

§

Constitution, statutes and Sentencing Guidelines:

U.S. Const. Amend. V (Double Jeopardy Clause)

covccccesssesesssssuseneueTeSeseemseqneeEDSUERIEDGDEeeEne 4, 8, 10, 12, 13

Sentencing Reform Act of 1984, Pub. L. No. 98-473,

Tit. Il, Ch. 1, 98 Stat. 1987:

FG eye

PG eee

2) §

RO _————————EE

Ge

18 U.S.C. App. 1202(a)(1) (1982) ............cccccceeeeceeeeeees

_————————— 2, 4, 7,

21 U.S.C. 802(43) (to be codified in 1994 edition) .......

BB ULC. GERRRIED cceccccsstescccssscctsissestiinicsminnteninnedl

EE

BE WEB. GED cceccescssccceccscseccasessccesesccneggesscesscase passim, la

OR GLEE, GD ccncecncssengsesscpinemnimriommnenn 2, 16, la

Be Wii GED ccccnsccscrescresssntinecrteiiemenmeta 2, la-ba

Vil

Statutes and Sentencing Guidelines—Continued: Page

ae SEITE liditcentrtendstesconsonsnnasiohenaiteussenereentenemcwtoces 16, 2a

ee ITI tinnshatnticccsnsustccntenstemmenneenmnetinnecsscess 3, 3a

BO 9, 3a

fk. Se 19, 3a

| Sf EE 19, 3a

|) |S 16, 4a

Sentencing Guidelines:

ENED Seeiieteitietnteeenensictadecnsepecesindenenesasedesensesesesersceces 22

§ 4A1.2, Application Note 3 .................:ccccccceeseeeeeees 23

DP IED ttedictecsdcesencenemantsesstncsecenstenrueenstnnisebesoes 23

Jn the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1995

No. 94-8769

TomMy L. RUTLEDGE, PETITIONER

v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (J.A. 25-47) is

reported at 40 F.3d 879.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on

November 10, 1994. A petition for rehearing was de-

nied on January 3, 1995. J.A. 48. The petition for a

writ of certiorari was filed on April 3, 1995, and was

granted on June 26, 1995. J.A. 49. The jurisdiction of

this Court rests on 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

(1)

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

This case involves the following statutory provi-

sions, which are set forth in an appendix to this brief:

21 U.S.C. 846 (drug conspiracy); 21 U.S.C. 848(a)-(e)

(continuing criminal enterprise).

STATEMENT

After a jury trial in the United States District

Court for the Central District of Illinois, petitioner

was convicted of operating a continuing criminal

enterprise (CCE) (Count 1), in violation of 21 U.S.C.

848; conspiring to distribute cocaine (Count 2), in

violation of 21 U.S.C. 846; distributing cocaine (Count

3), in violation of 21 U.S.C. 841(a)(1); possessing a

firearm after being convicted of a felony (Count 4), in

violation of 18 U.S.C. 922(g); and using or carrying a

firearm during and in relation to a drug trafficking

offense (Counts 5, 6), in violation of 18 U.S.C. 924(c).

J.A. 8-9. He was sentenced to concurrent terms of life

imprisonment without possible release for the CCE,

drug conspiracy, and distribution of cocaine offenses,

and other terms of imprisonment for the other

offenses. He was not fined, but he was ordered to pay

a special assessment on each Count of $50 under 18

U.S.C. 3013. J.A. 9-10. The court of appeals affirmed.

J.A. 25-47.

1. Petitioner was the leader of a large drug

organization that distributed multi-kilogram quan-

tities of cocaine from 1988 to 1990. He bought cocaine

from the Latin Kings street gang in Chicago and

distributed it in Warren County, in northern Illinois.

Petitioner kept firearms for protection, and he also

traded firearms for cocaine. J.A. 26-28.

2. The second superseding indictment charged

petitioner with the six offenses recited above. J.A. 2-

7. In order to convict petitioner on the CCE charged

in Count 1, the jury had to find that petitioner com-

mitted a felony drug offense in violation of Sub-

chapter I or II of Chapter 13 of Title 21, as part of

a continuing series of such violations, which were

undertaken “in concert with” five or more other

persons of whom the defendant was an organizer,

supervisor, or manager, and from which he obtained

substantial income or resources. 21 U.S.C. 848(c);

J.A. 2-3. In order to convict petitioner of the drug

conspiracy charged in Count 2, the jury was required

to find that petitioner conspired to possess cocaine

with intent to distribute it and that he distributed

cocaine. The Count 2 drug conspiracy charge was

based on the same criminal agreement that formed

the basis of the “in concert with” element of the

Count 1 CCE charge; it involved the same persons,

the same time periods, and the same overt acts. J.A.

2-5.

All counts were submitted to the jury and the jury

returned guilty verdicts on all of them. J.A. 8.

3. The district court sentenced petitioner to

concurrent terms of life imprisonment without

possible release for the Count 1 CCE offense, the

Count 2 drug conspiracy offense, and the Count 3

substantive cocaine-distribution offense. J.A. 10. The

court also imposed ten years’ imprisonment for the

Count 4 offense of possession of a firearm as a

convicted felon, to run concurrently with the three

life sentences; five years’ imprisonment for the Count

5 offense of using or carrying a firearm during and in

relation to a drug trafficking offense, to run con-

secutively to all other sentences, and ten years’

imprisonment for the like offense under Count 6, to

run consecutively to all other sentences. Jbid. The

court imposed the $50 special assessment under 18

U.S.C. 3013 on each count, for a total of $300. J.A. 9.

4. The court of appeals affirmed. J.A. 25-47. Peti-

tioner claimed that his conviction and sentence on

both the CCE and the drug conspiracy charge violated

the Double Jeopardy Clause, because it amounted to

punishing him twice for the same offense. The court

of appeals rejected that claim, reasoning that, “[wJhile

the conspiracy charge is a lesser included offense of

the CCE charge, double jeopardy is not implicated as

long as [the] district court does not impose cumu-

lative sentences for the crimes.” J.A. 37-38. The

court held that, “by imposing concurrent sentences,

the district court did not impose a cumulative penalty,

and [petitioner’s] sentence is proper.” J.A. 38.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

It is well settled that a defendant may be indicted,

tried, and found guilty by a jury in a single proceeding

of both violating the CCE statute and committing a

drug conspiracy in violation of 21 U.S.C. 846, where

the same agreement is involved in both offenses. The

question in this case is whether a court may enter

dual convictions and concurrent sentences based on a

jury verdict that finds the defendant guilty of both the

CCE and the conspiracy charge. As with other ques-

tions about whether multiple punishments may be

imposed in a single proceeding for the same offense,

the answer to that question turns on congressional

intent. In our view, the structure, legislative history,

and purposes underlying the CCE and drug con-

spiracy statutes indicate that Congress intended that

a defendant convicted of both be subject to dual con-

victions and concurrent sentences.

While the conduct prohibited by the CCE and drug

conspiracy statutes is related, the two provisions

differ substantially. The elements of each offense and

the punishments for each offense are defined in dis-

tinct statutes that do not refer to each other. More-

over, the CCE offense is a hybrid conspiracy/

substantive offense that is fundamentally different

from the “pure” Section 846 drug conspiracy offense.

As a result, many “simple” drug conspiracy cases will

not involve commission of a CCE offense by anyone,

and in others at least some of the defendants who

conspired to distribute drugs would not have violated

the CCE statute. Accordingly, it is reasonable to in-

fer that Congress intended that separate convictions

be entered when a defendant violates both the drug

conspiracy and CCE statutes, even though Congress

may not have intended that the total sentence exceed

what would be imposed for the more serious of the two

offenses (normally, the CCE).

An additional important reason for inferring that

Congress intended to permit entry of dual convictions

and concurrent sentences is that this procedure is

the simplest and most rational way to ensure that,

if a defendant’s CCE conviction is ultimately over-

turned on appeal or collateral attack, he would still

be punished for his commission of a Section 846

drug conspiracy. Congress would not have wanted

to permit such a defendant to escape punishment, or

to require complicated procedures for its imposition.

And there is no reason to think that Congress would

have wished to protect a defendant from the possible

adverse consequences flowing from the entry of the

second conviction, because a defendant convicted of a

CCE offense is not likely to experience collateral

consequences from the entry of a drug conspiracy

conviction when that conviction carries a concurrent

sentence with the CCE.

If the Court holds that Congress did not intend to

permit dual convictions and concurrent sentences,

the Court must determine the procedure a district

court should follow when a jury returns verdicts of

guilty on CCE and drug conspiracy charges based on

the same agreement. In our view, the most efficient

and workable approach is that adopted by the Second

Circuit, under which the two verdicts of guilty on the

CCE and Section 846 drug conspiracy counts merge

into a single judgment of conviction, with a single

sentence that can be no greater than the sentence

that would have been imposed for the more serious of

the two offenses. Under that approach, the defendant

suffers no conceivable adverse consequences. The

government, however, is ensured that, if the CCE

conviction (but not the drug conspiracy conviction) is

ever reversed, a court can still punish the defendant

for the Section 846 drug conspiracy of which the jury

found him guilty.

ARGUMENT

I. PETITIONER'S JUDGMENTS OF CONVICTION

AND CONCURRENT LIFE SENTENCES FOR

THE CCE AND DRUG CONSPIRACY OFFENSES

SHOULD BE AFFIRMED

Petitioner was convicted of a Section 846 drug

conspiracy and of violating the CCE statute. Both

the Section 846 drug conspiracy and the “in concert

with” element of the CCE offense were satisfied by

proof of the same agreement. The Seventh Circuit

held that, in those circumstances, the district court

properly entered a separate conviction for each of the

two offenses and imposed concurrent prison senten-

ces for the two offenses. Petitioner was not subjected

to a longer term of imprisonment than he would have

received for the CCE offense alone and, since no fine

was imposed, he was not subjected to a greater fine

than he would have received for the CCE offense

alone. In our view, that disposition accords with

congressional intent regarding dual punishment for

CCE and a Section 846 drug conspiracy based on the

same agreement. The judgment of the Seventh Cir-

cuit should therefore be affirmed.’

' We note that the judgments on the CCE and the drug

conspiracy counts were not concurrent in one respect: a special

assessment of $50 under 18 U.S.C. 3013 was imposed on peti-

tioner for each of those counts. J.A. 9; see Ray v. United

States, 481 U.S. 736, 737 (1987) (per curiam). Petitioner, how-

ever, did not challenge the imposition of those two special

assessments either in the court of appeals or in this Court, and

the question presented by the petition presupposes that the two

sentences are fully concurrent. See Pet. i; Pet. Br. i. There-

fore, it is not necessary to decide in this case whether it is

permissible to impose a special assessment as well as a separate

judgment of conviction on both the CCE and drug conspiracy

offenses. If it were necessary to reach that question, however,

the result would in our view turn.on whether CCE and a

Section 846 drug conspiracy are in fact the “same offense” and

therefore subject to only a single assessment under 18 U.S.C.

3013. For the reasons given in note 5, infra, we believe that

they are not, strictly speaking, the “same offense,” and that

separate $50 special assessments on each count are therefore

appropriate.

A. The Double Jeopardy Clause Permits Multiple

Punishment For The CCE And Drug Conspiracy

Offenses If That Is The Intention Of Congress

The Double Jeopardy Clause provides: “[NJor shall

any person be subject for the same offence to be twice

put in jeopardy of life or limb.” U.S. Const. Amend. V.

The only aspect of the protection afforded by that

Clause at issue in this case is the protection against

multiple punishments for the same offense. See

Missouri v. Hunter, 459 U.S. 359, 365-366 (1983). The

Court has made clear that, in a single proceeding, the

government may prosecute a defendant for multiple

offenses that are constitutionally the “same offense”

without violating the Double Jeopardy Clause. Ohio

v. Johnson, 467 U.S. 493, 500 (1984); see also Ball v.

United States, 470 U.S. 856, 865 (1985). And when the

defendant is convicted in a single proceeding of two

offenses that are constitutionally the same, “the

Double Jeopardy Clause does no more than prevent

the sentencing court from prescribing greater pun-

ishment than the legislature intended.” Garrett

v. United States, 471 U.S. 773, 793 (1985), quoting

Missouri v. Hunter, 459 U.S. at 366; see Albernaz

v. United States, 450 U.S. 333, 344 (1981) (“[T]he

question of what punishments are constitutionally

permissible [in a single proceeding] is not different

from the question of what punishments the Legis-

lative Branch intended to be imposed.”).

Normally, the Court determines whether two of-

fenses are the “same” for double jeopardy purposes

by determining whether each requires proof of an

element that the other does not. See Blockburger v.

United States, 284 U.S. 299 (1932). The CCE offense

and the drug conspiracy offense are related to each

other, if at all, through one element. Among the

elements of a CCE violation is proof of “a continuing

series of violations of [Subchapters I or II of Chap-

ter 13 of Title 21] * * * which are undertaken by

[the defendant] in concert with five or more other

persons.” 21 U.S.C. 848(c)(2) (emphasis added). A

Section 846 drug conspiracy violation is established

by proof that the defendant “conspire[d] to commit

any offense defined in [Subchapter I of Chapter 13 of

Title 21].” If proof of the “in concert with” element of

the CCE violation requires proof that the defendant

“conspire[d}” to commit a Subchapter I drug offense,

then a drug conspiracy in violation of Section 846 may

be viewed as a lesser included offense of the CCE

offense.

In Jeffers v. United States, 432 U.S. 137 (1977), the

Court considered, but did not resolve, the question

whether a drug conspiracy is a lesser included offense

of a CCE when the two charges rest on the same

agreement. Four Justices, in a plurality opinion

written by Justice Blackmun, assumed without decid-

ing that drug conspiracy may be a lesser included

offense of the CCE offense. Jd. at 150 & n.16.* Four

2 Justice Blackmun’s opinion merely “assume[d]” and did

not actually decide that the CCE and drug conspiracy offenses

were the “same offense” in this context. See 432 U.S. at 149-

150 & n.16 (opinion of Blackmun, J.); id. at 155 (“We have

concluded that [Congress did not intend to allow cumulative

punishment for violations of §§ 846 and 848], and this again

makes it unnecessary to reach the lesser-included-offense

issue.”). For purposes of rejecting Jeffers’ claim that he could

not be prosecuted sequentially for the two offenses, it was

necessary only to assume, not decide, the same-offense ques-

tion: The plurality concluded that he could be prosecuted

sequentially under the facts of the case whether or not the two

10

other Justices, in an opinion by Justice Stevens,

apparently would have accepted that proposition with-

out qualification. Jd. at 158-159 (opinion of Stevens, J.,

dissenting in part and concurring in the judgment in

part). Justice White, writing for himself, took the

view that CCE and drug conspiracy offenses were

never the same offense. Jd. at 158 (White, J., con-

curring in the judgment in part and dissenting in

part).”

In our view, this case may be resolved on the same

assumption made by the plurality in Jeffers, i.e., that

a Section 846 drug conspiracy may be regarded as a

lesser included offense of CCE, when as a factual

matter both offenses involved the establishment of the

same criminal agreement.’ If the assumption made by

offenses were the “same offense.” Likewise, it was necessary

only to assume, not decide, that the two offenses were the

“same offense” for purposes of deciding the double-punishment

issue: If, as the plurality concluded, Congress did not intend

cumulative sentences when the CCE and drug conspiracy

offenses were based on identical criminal agreements, then a

court had no statutory authority to impose cumulative sen-

tences regardless of whether the two crimes were the “same

offense” under the Double Jeopardy Clause.

3 Justice White relied on the rationale of Jannelli v. United

States, 420 U.S. 770 (1975), and therefore concluded that the

CCE and drug conspiracy offenses could support separate

prosecutions, as well as separate punishments. 432 U.S. at 158.

4 Even if that assumption is correct, a particular charged

Section 846 conspiracy would not necessarily be a lesser

included offense of a particular charged CCE offense. Such a

relationship would exist only if proof of the greater offense on

the facts of the particular case necessarily proves all ele-

ments of the lesser offense. For example, although assault is

generally a lesser included offense of murder, a defendant

who assaults one individual and then murders another has

11

the Jeffers plurality is correct, then the issue in this

case is whether, and to what extent, Congress in-

tended separate punishments for a CCE offense and

a lesser included drug conspiracy. But even if that

assumption is not correct, the same analysis would

determine the outcome in this case, because a federal

court in any event has only the sentencing authority

granted by Congress and is limited to imposing the

punishment authorized by Congress. See, e.g., Gore v.

United States, 357 U.S. 386 (1958); Bell v. United

States, 349 U.S. 81 (1955). Accordingly, we proceed on

the basis of the Jeffers assumption.°

committed two entirely distinct offenses. Similarly, even if a

Section 846 drug conspiracy is a lesser included offense of a

CCE, the two would be entirely distinct if the agreement on

which the Section 846 conspiracy is based is distinct from the

agreement on which the “in concert with” element of the CCE

is based. The courts of appeals have long employed a multi-

factor, totality-of-the-circumstances test to determine whether

two charged agreements that form the basis for two conspiracy

or CCE charges are in fact the same. See, e.g., United States

v. McHan, 966 F.2d 134, 137-138 (4th Cir. 1992); United States

v. Langella, 804 F.2d 185, 189 (2d Cir. 1986); United States v.

Ruggiero, 754 F.2d 927, 932 (11th Cir.), cert. denied, 471 U.S.

1127,-1137 (1985); United States v. Marable, 578 F.2d 151, 154

(5th Cir. 1978); ef. United States v. Broce, 488 U.S. 563, 585 n.2

(1989) (Blackmun, J., dissenting). The application of that test

is not at issue in this case, because all parties to this case agree,

as in Jeffers, that the Section 846 drug conspiracy with which

petitioner was charged is based on the same agreement as the

“in concert with” element of the CCE.

5 The government contended in Jeffers that drug con-

spiracy is not a lesser included offense of the CCE offense,

because the “in concert with” element does not require proof of

a conspiracy. See U.S. Br. in Jeffers at 23, No. 75-1805. Our

argument was that a CCE defendant may be found to have

acted “in concert with” others so long as the defendant acted

12

B. Congress Intended To Permit Separate, Con-

current Punishments For A Section 846 Drug

Conspiracy And CCE Offense Based On The

Same Agreement

1. The Seventh Circuit’s approach to the issue in

this case—permitting two convictions and concurrent

sentences—mirrors the result in Jeffers.’ In Jeffers,

the defendant—like petitioner—was convicted of a

Section 846 drug conspiracy and CCE. He was

sentenced to the maximum applicable punishment of

15 years’ imprisonment and a $25,000 fine for the

Section 846 drug conspiracy, see 432 U.S. at 143

with criminal intent, even if the other participants in the

enterprise were unaware of the true criminal character of the

enterprise and thus were not conspirators with him. Although

we adhere to that position, the courts of appeals have not

generally accepted it in recent years. See J.A. 37-38; United

States v. Nyhuis, 8 F.3d 731, 735 (11th Cir. 1993), cert. denied,

115 S. Ct. 56 (1994); United States v. Lindsay, 985 F.2d 666, 670

(2d Cir.), cert. denied, 114 S. Ct. 103 (1993); United States v.

Chambers, 944 F.2d 1253, 1268 (6th Cir. 1991), cert. denied,

502 U.S. 1112 and 503 U.S. 989 (1992); United States v. Devine,

934 F.2d 1325, 1342 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 502 U.S. 929 (1991),

502 U.S. 1047, 1064, 1065, 1092 & 1104 (1992). As discussed,

however, this case in any event turns on congressional intent,

not whether the CCE and drug conspiracy statutes define the

same offense for double jeopardy purposes. Accordingly, in

our view, it is not necessary to resolve that issue in this case.

6 See United States v. Bond, 847 F.2d 1233, 1239 (7th Cir.

1988) (“Jeffers treated [CCE and a Section 846 drug con-

spiracy] as sufficiently distinct to support separate convictions

(even to allow sequential trials), but not sufficiently distinct to

support cumulative punishments.”); see also United States v.

Ganci, 47 F.3d 72, 73 (2d Cir. 1995) (citing Jeffers for the

proposition that dual convictions for CCE and drug conspiracy

do not violate the Double Jeopardy Clause).

13

(opinion of Blackmun, J.), and he was sentenced to a

concurrent term of life imprisonment and a separate

fine of $100,000 for the CCE, id. at 145. This Court

did not require either of the convictions or either of

the prison sentences to be vacated. It did, however,

roll back the CCE fine to $75,000 “so that the two

fines together do not exceed $100,000,” id. at 158, the

statutory maximum fine for the CCE offense at that

time and the amount that would have been imposed

had the defendant been convicted only of the CCE

offense. '

Jeffers differs from this case in one respect. Un-

like in this case, in Jeffers the Section 846 drug

conspiracy and the CCE conviction were separately

prosecuted. This Court declined to review Jeffers’

Section 846 conviction. See Jeffers v. United States,

423 U.S. 1066 (1976). Therefore, the Court had before

it only the CCE conviction and sentence. Moreover,

since the Court concluded that the separate prose-

cution of the CCE and drug conspiracy charges did

not violate the Double Jeopardy Clause’s protection

against multiple prosecutions, see 432 U.S. at 147-

154 (opinion of Blackmun, J.); id. at 158 (White, J.,

’ The four-Member plurality represented by Justice Black-

mun’s opinion, together with Justice White (who believed that

CCE and a drug conspiracy were entirely distinct offenses,

see 432 U.S. at 158), formed a majority for affirming the

conviction and prison sentence. Eight Members of the Court—

all but Justice White—voted in favor of partially rolling back

the fine. See id. at 154-158 (opinion of Blackmun, J.); id. at

158-160 (Stevens, J., dissenting in part and concurring in

the judgment in part). In view of Justice White’s opinion,

petitioner errs in stating (Br. 10) that the Court was

“unanimous[]” in holding that cumulative punishments for

CCE and drug conspiracy were barred.

14

concurring in the judgment in part and dissenting in

part), it would have given the defendant a windfall if

the Court had nonetheless reversed his conviction or

sentence on the more serious offense, the later prose-

cuted CCE charge. Accordingly, the Court’s dispo-

sition of the two convictions in Jeffers does not,

strictly speaking, govern the disposition of a case like

this, in which the defendant was tried in a single

proceeding for both CCE and a Section 846 drug

conspiracy, and in which the Court has before it both

convictions and sentences. We nevertheless believe

that the result in Jeffers appropriately reflects Con-

gress’s intent with regard to punishment in cases

in which the defendant is convicted of CCE and

of a Section 846 drug conspiracy based on the same

agreement.”

2. Petitioner argues (Br. 10) that “the Court [in

Jeffers] concluded * * * that Congress did not

intend to authorize cumulative punishment for con-

duct that violates both the conspiracy and CCE

statutes, and that the Double Jeopardy Clause there-

fore bars such cumulative punishment.” If petitioner

intends to suggest that the Court determined in

Jeffers that Congress intended to bar dual convictions

* The Third Circuit’s approach to cases of this sort is some-

what similar to that of the Seventh Circuit. When a defendant

is convicted of CCE and a Section 846 drug conspiracy based on

the same agreement, the Third Circuit permits the sentencing

court to enter two convictions and a single, general sentence on

both counts, not to exceed the punishment available on the most

serious offense. See United States v. Fernandez, 916 F.2d 125

(3d Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 500 U.S. 948 (1991). We believe

that the Seventh Circuit’s concurrent sentence approach is the

better practice and more precisely coincides with the result in

Jeffers.

15

and concurrent sentences for CCE and Section 846

drug conspiracy, he is mistaken. As explained above,

the Court in Jeffers left intact the defendant’s dual

convictions and concurrent sentences. The decision

thus could not be read to prohibit them. Instead, the

plurality in Jeffers used the term “cumulative senten-

ces” to refer to a different issue: the permissibility of

“pyramiding” sentences, i.e., permitting consecutive

sentences that resulted in total punishment greater

than would have been imposed for the more serious of

the two offenses.’ The plurality found such “cumu-

lative penalties” to be improper. 432 U.S. at 157

(opinion of Blackmun, J.) (concluding that “Congress

did not intend to impose cumulative penalties un-

der §§ 846 and 848”); see also id. at 160 (opinion

of Stevens, J.) (concurring in the judgment “to

the extent that it vacates the cumulative fines”).

But, since petitioner was not subject to that sort

of “cumulation” or “pyramiding” of penalties, the

Court’s decision in Jeffers provides no support for his

position that the mere entry of dual convictions and

concurrent sentences is impermissible.”

® Jeffers, 4832 U.S. at 156-158 (opinion of Blackmun, J.)

(discussing the issue of “pyramiding,” and concluding that the

sentencing court had “no power * * * toimpose * * * a fine

greater than the maximum permitted by § 848” for the two

convictions). Ordinarily, the penalty for violating the CCE

statute is higher than that for violating Section 846. There

may be some unusual situations, however, in which the

application of the Sentencing Guidelines leads to the opposite

result. See, e.g., United States v. Jelinek, 57 F.3d 655, 660 (8th

Cir. 1995), petition for cert. pending, No. 95-5343; United

States v. Chambers, 944 F.2d at 1268-1269.

” As petitioner observes (Br. 11), since Jeffers was decided,

Congress has amended both the CCE and drug conspiracy

16

3. An examination of the structure, history, and

purposes of the CCE and drug conspiracy statutes

confirms that the Jeffers result is what Congress

intended. Congress did not structure the CCE of-

fense simply as a multiplier or aggravation of a Sec-

tion 846 drug conspiracy. The CCE offense is defined

in a separate statutory provision, 21 U.S.C. 848. That

definition of the CCE offense makes no reference

to Section 846, the drug conspiracy statute, just

as Section 846 defines the drug conspiracy offense

without reference to the CCE statute. Moreover, the

definition of a CCE creates a complex, hybrid offense,

which has aspects of both an offense requiring

concerted activity (“in concert with”) and a sub-

stantive offense (requirement of commission of “a

continuing series of [drug] violations * * * from

which [the defendant] obtains substantial income or

resources”). By contrast, Section 846 defines a pure

conspiracy offense; there is no requirement that any

overt act be committed. United States v. Shabani,

115 S. Ct. 382 (1994). The penalties for CCE are also

prescribed independently of the penalties for any

other drug offense, and they are among the most

severe penalties in federal law. See 21 U.S.C. 848(b)

(life imprisonment without possibility of release); 21

U.S.C. 848(e) (death penalty). The penalties for a

Section 846 drug conspiracy depend on the penalties

statutes, but has elected not to modify the penalty scheme in

any respect that bears on the question of multiple punishments.

That cannot be construed as congressional acquiescence in a

rule that dual convictions and concurrent sentences are imper-

missible for CCE and a Section 846 drug conspiracy based on

the same agreement, since neither Jeffers nor any other case

decided by this Court adopted such a rule.

17

prescribed for the crimes that are the object of the

conspiracy, and do not refer to or depend on the

penalties set forth for CCE.

All of those features suggest that Congress in-

tended to create a distinct statutory offense when it

enacted the CCE statute, and that it viewed the

commission of that offense as an order of magnitude

more serious than the participation in a simple

Section 846 drug conspiracy. In light of those distinc-

tions, it is appropriate to presume that Congress

intended to permit dual convictions with concurrent

sentences for violation of the drug conspiracy statute

and the CCE offense, particularly in view of the

practical disadvantages to the government of a con-

trary rule and the absence of adverse collateral

consequences to a defendant from the entry of such a

judgment, see pp. 20-24, infra. It is true that the

Jeffers plurality found that Congress did not intend to

permit “pyramiding” of penalties for CCE by impos-

ing consecutive terms of imprisonment or cumulative

fines for violations of CCE and Section 846 based

on the same agreement. 432 U.S. at 156 (opinion of

Blackmun, J.). See also Garrett, 471 U.S. at 794-795

(stating that Jeffers plurality “reasonably concluded”

that there would be little purpose in imposing

cumulative penalties). But that does not mean that

Congress intended to bar dual convictions and con-

current prison sentences for violation of the CCE and

drug conspiracy statutes, so long as the total prison

term and fine does not exceed that which would have

been imposed for the CCE violation alone.

4. The decision in Ball v. United States, 470 U.S.

856 (1985), on which petitioner places his primary

reliance/ (see Pet. Br. 12-19), does not require a

18

contrary conclusion. In Ball, the defendant, who had

previously been convicted of a felony, was charged

with receiving a firearm as a convicted felon, in

violation of 18 U.S.C. 922(h)(1) (1982), and for pos-

sessing that same firearm as a convicted felon, in

violation of 18 U.S.C. App. 1202(a)(1) (1982). The trial

court imposed consecutive sentences for the two

convictions, and the court of appeals accepted the

government’s concession that such consecutive sen-

tences were improper. The court of appeals held that

Congress “did not authorize pyramiding penalties,”

470 U.S. at 858 (quoting United Siates v. Ball, 734

F.2d 965, 966 (4th Cir. 1984)), and ordered that the

sentences be modified to run concurrently.

This Court held that it was permissible to indict

and try a defendant on both counts, even when “a

single act is relied upon to establish [the defendant’s]

unlawful receipt and his unlawful possession of the

same firearm.” 470 U.S. at 859. But, the Court held,

“(ajll guides to legislative intent * * * show that

Congress intended a felon in [the defendant’s] position

to be convicted and punished for only one of the two

offenses if the possession of the firearm is incidental

to receiving it.” Jd. at 861. Because Congress in-

tended only one conviction and, a fortiori, only one

punishment to be imposed, “(t]he remedy of order-

ing one of the sentences to be served concurrently

with the other cannot be squared with Congress’

intention.” Jd. at 864. Accordingly, the Court re-

manded for the district court to vacate one of the

convictions. Id. at 865.

Unlike in Ball, “{aJll guides to legislative intent”

do not suggest that Congress wanted to preclude dual

convictions and concurrent sentences in this case.

19

The structural relationship, purposes, and history of

the offenses at issue in Ball—receiving and posses-

sing a gun—differ significantly from the offenses at

issue in this case. In addition, the practical conse-

quences of permitting dual convictions and concur-

rent sentences in Ball differ substantially from the

consequences of doing so in the context of this case.

_ @ Initially, the overlap between the offenses of

illegally receiving and possessing a gun as a

convicted felon is virtually complete. All cases of

illegal receipt of a gun are also cases of illegal

possession. Ball, 470 U.S. at 862. And virtually all

cases of illegal possession are also cases of illegal

receipt; the only exception would appear to be the

extraordinary cases in which the defendant manu-

factured the gun himself. Jd. at 862 n.9. Thus,

Congress would reasonably have expected that

convicted felons who possess guns will always—or

virtually always—be guilty of both offenses, and there

is no reason to think that Congress would have

intended more than one conviction and sentence to be

entered for that form of violation.

The same cannot be said for CCE and a Section 846

drug conspiracy; many drug conspiracy cases will not

involve commission of a CCE offense by anyone.

Moreover, even where some of the members of a

Section 846 drug conspiracy also commit the CCE

offense, others—who did not “occup[y] a position of

organizer, a supervisory position, or any other

position of management,” 21 U.S.C. 848(c)(2)(A), or

who did not “obtain{] substantial income or re-

sources” from the venture, 21 U.S.C. 848(c)(2)(B)—

could not be convicted of the CCE offense. The

20

overlap between the two statutes is much less than in

Ball.

b. The history of the receipt and possession

statutes also demonstrates that Congress intended

the two as alternatives. As the Court noted in Ball,

the receipt statute was “part of a carefully con-

structed package of gun control legislation, which had

been in existence for many years.” 470 U.S. at 862

(internal quotation marks omitted). By contrast, the

possession statute was a “last-minute Senate amend-

ment” to the statute that was “hastily passed, with

little discussion, no hearings, and no report.” Id. at

863. It was “enacted as supplementary legislation,”

and was intended to “fill[{] the gaps in and expand{] the

coverage of” the receipt statute. bid. Based on that

history, the Court in Ball was “persuaded that Con-

gress had no intention of creating duplicative punish-

ment for one limited class of persons falling within

the overlap between the two [statutes].” Jd. at 864.

No such inference can be drawn from the relation-

ship between the CCE offense and a Section 846 drug

conspiracy. There is no reason to believe that either

statute was intended to fill gaps in coverage created

by the other, nor is there any basis for inferring that

Congress intended one as an alternative to the other.

Rather, both statutes were intended independently to

define violations of the narcotics laws.

c. In addition, unlike in Ball, practical concerns

suggest that Congress would not have intended to

prohibit separate convictions and concurrent senten-

ces for a CCE and drug conspiracy based on the same

agreement. One of the reasons for entering dual

convictions and concurrent sentences in a case like

this is that it is possible that the defendant could,

21

either on direct review or years later on collateral

attack, obtain reversal of the CCE conviction. Given

the hybrid nature of the CCE offense, a reversal could

stem from trial error or insufficiency of proof that

relates only to the elements that clearly distinguish a

CCE from a simple conspiracy: the existence of the

“continuing series of violations”; the requirement

that the defendant act in concert with “five or more

persons”; the need to show that the defendant played a

supervisory role; or the requirement that the defen-

dant have obtained “substantial income or resources”

from his violations. Such a reversal would provide no

basis for upsetting the drug conspiracy conviction.

Congress would no doubt have realized that a separate

conviction and concurrent sentence for the drug

conspiracy offense would be the simplest and most

effective way to ensure that the defendant who ob-

tains reversal of his CCE conviction on such a ground

would still be appropriately punished for the drug

conspiracy that he committed. See United States v.

Bond, 847 F.2d 1233, 1239 (7th Cir. 1988).

Those practical concerns have no force in the Bal/

situation. Because the elements of the offenses of

illegal receipt and illegal possession of a gun are

virtually coextensive, a defendant could rarely if ever

obtain a reversal of his conviction on one of the two

offenses without also demonstrating that he is

entitled to a reversal on the other. Congress there-

fore might have intended, as Ball held it did, that

there be only one conviction for that same conduct,

without creating any realistic risk that a defendant

might someday evade just punishment for his con-

duct as a result of entering only a single count

of conviction. Unlike in this case, Congress’s intent

22

to preclude separate convictions and concurrent sen-

tences in that situation in Ball may reasonably be

inferred.

d. Finally, the threat of adverse consequences for

the defendant is much less here than in Ball. The

Court explained in Ball that there were two adverse

consequences of the separate conviction and con-

current sentence. First, “the presence of two con-

victions on the record may * * * result in an

increased sentence under a recidivist statute for

a future offense.” 470 U.S. at 865." Second, “the

second conviction may be used to impeach the de-

fendant’s credibility and certainly carries the soci-

etal stigma accompanying any criminal conviction.”

Ibid. Neither of those concerns generally exists in

the case of dual CCE/Section 846 drug conspiracy

convictions.

With respect to sentencing under recidivist pro-

visions, the federal Sentencing Guidelines—which

came into effect after this Court’s decision in Ball—

would not produce an enhanced sentence in a sub-

sequent sentencing merely because of the entry of

dual CCE/drug conspiracy convictions based on the

same agreement. The Guidelines use the number

and characteristics of prior sentences—not the raw

number of convictions—to calculate the defendant’s

criminal history category. See Guidelines § 4A1.1.

1! The Court in Ball also noted that the presence of two

convictions “may delay the defendant’s eligibility for parole.”

470 U.S. at 865. Since parole has now been abolished in the

federal system, see Sentencing Reform Act of 1984, Pub. L. No.

98-473, Tit. II, Ch. II, §§ 212, 218, 98 Stat. 1987, 2027, that

no longer is an adverse consequence of the entry of two

convictions.

23

But “[p]rior sentences imposed in related cases are to

be treated as one sentence for purposes of” the

calculation. Guidelines § 4A1.2(a)(2). A CCE and a

Section 846 drug conspiracy sentence based on the

same agreement and tried at the same time would

be considered “related” under the Guidelines. See

Guidelines § 4A1.2, Application Note 3. The Guide-

lines instruct sentencing courts to “(uJse the longest

sentence of imprisonment if concurrent sentences

were imposed.” Guidelines § 4A1.2(a)(2). Thus, under

the Guidelines regime, a defendant in petitioner’s

position would not suffer any adverse consequences in

a future sentencing proceeding from having received

dual convictions and concurrent sentences.”

With respect to the “societal stigma” or impeach-

ment value attached to the second conviction, it is

” Congress has required a mandatory life sentence for

certain drug distribution violations involving particularly large

quantities of controlled substances if the defendant commits the

offense “after two or more prior convictions for a felony drug

offense have become final.” 21 U.S.C. 841(b)(1)(A). See 21

U.S.C. 802(43) (to be codified in 1994 edition) (defining “felony

drug offense”). The courts of appeals would not count the

CCE and drug conspiracy convictions in a case like this as

separate convictions for purposes of that provision, especially if

the CCE and drug conspiracy offenses are viewed as greater

and lesser included offenses. See, e.g., United States v.

Liquori, 5 F.3d 435, 437 (9th Cir. 1998) (citing cases), cert.

denied, 114 S. Ct. 738 (1994).

It is also possible that a defendant convicted of CCE and a

could in some future case face a state sentencing court, where

the federal Guidelines would be of no relevance. But it is

unlikely that Congress fashioned its penalties for federal felony

ae a consequences un-

w.

24

important to recognize that the CCE offense is one of

the most serious criminal offenses in federal law. It

is therefore doubtful that a defendant, once convicted

of CCE, would suffer any incremental stigma as a

result of the fact that he was also convicted of a

Section 846 drug conspiracy based on the same

agreement. Indeed, in light of the fact that there

would be a jury verdict of guilty on the Section 846

charge that would be a matter of public record, the

defendant would be extraordinarily unlikely to suffer

any additional stigma from the additional conviction.

Even if there were some increment of societal stigma

or potential for impeachment that would attach to the

drug conspiracy conviction, however, there would be

no reason to believe that Congress, having created

the CCE offense with its extraordinary penalties,

would have been concerned that some CCE defendants

would suffer such a relatively minor adverse con-

sequence. Therefore, it would provide no basis for

inferring that Congress would have wanted to pre-

clude dual convictions in this situation.

ll. IF THE COURT CONCLUDES THAT THE ENTRY

OF SEPARATE CONVICTIONS AND CONCUR-

RENT SENTENCES CONTRAVENES CONGRES-

SIONAL INTENT, THE APPROPRIATE COURSE

WOULD BE TO REQUIRE ENTRY OF A SINGLE,

MERGED CONVICTION AND SENTENCE ON THE

TWO COUNTS

Those courts of appeals that do not permit the

entry of a separate conviction or concurrent sentence

for CCE and a Section 846 drug conspiracy based on

the same agreement have adopted three different

approaches to the treatment of the dual jury verdicts

of guilty in such a case. In our view, the approach

25

developed by the Second Circuit of combining or

merging the two counts into a single conviction best

accommodates the interests of the government in

ensuring that the defendant receive just punish-

ment for the crimes he has committed and the inter-

ests of the defendant in avoiding adverse collateral

consequences.

1. The Second Circuit has held that the ap-

propriate course when the jury finds the defendant

guilty of CCE and drug conspiracy based on the same

agreement is to “combine” the two convictions in a

single count, for which the punishment may not

exceed that applicable to the greater offense. See,

e.g., United States v. Aiello, 771 F.2d 621, 632-635 (2d

Cir. 1985). Under that approach, “the conviction{] for

the lesser offense[] would cease to exist unless the

conviction for the greater offense should be reversed,

in which event the defendant could be punished for the

lesser offense[].” Jd. at 632. At that time, “[aJny time

already served would be counted as credit against the

newly imposed sentence.” Jd. at 634. Presumably,

any fine already imposed would also be credited

against any newly imposed fine. As we understand it,

the judgment in such a case would indicate that a

single conviction is being entered for two offenses.

The reason for the Second Circuit’s approach is

that, if the defendant succeeds in having his convic-

tion for the greater offense overturned on appeal or on

collateral attack, the defendant should not have the

windfall of avoiding punishment altogether for the

second offense. See Aiello, 771 F.2d at 633-634. See

also United States v. Lindsay, 985 F.2d 666, 670-671

(2d Cir.), cert. denied, 114 S. Ct. 103 (1993); United

States v,; Benevento, 836 F.2d 60, 73 (2d Cir. 1987),

26

cert. denied, 486 U.S. 1043 (1988). Cf. Tinder v.

United States, 345 U.S. 565, 569-570 (1953) (remanding

ease for entry of conviction and sentence on lesser

included misdemeanor after felony conviction was

overturned). The defendant, however, suffers no

adverse consequences from the entry of the single,

merged conviction. In any future recidivist pro-

ceeding, there would be only one conviction on the

defendant’s record, covering both the CCE and

Section 846 drug conspiracy offenses. Nor would

defendant suffer any other adverse consequences;

there is no reason to believe that the “societal

stigma” to which such a defendant would be subject

would be any greater than that to which he would

have been subjected had he been convicted only of a

CCE violation. Cf. Ball, 470 U.S. at 865.

In our view, if dual convictions and concurrent

sentences are held improper, the Second Circuit’s

approach best accommodates the interests of the

government and is consistent with Congress’s proba-

ble intent. In addition, it ensures that the defendant

will receive the punishment that he deserves, while

protecting the defendant against any possible adverse

consequences.

2. Based on concerns similar to those underlying

the Second Circuit’s “combination” approach, the

Ninth Circuit has taken a somewhat different course.

Although the Ninth Circuit has not specifically ad-

dressed the issue in a case where a defendant was

convicted of CCE and a Section 846 drug conspiracy,

that court has adopted a general approach for cases in

which it is permissible to charge and try a defendant

for two offenses, but to enter only one conviction.

The Ninth Circuit has held that the appropriate

27

course of action in such a case is to “stay[] both the

sentence and entry of judgment of conviction on all

but one count.” United States v. Palafox, 764 F.2d

558, 564 (9th Cir. 1985) (en banc).” If the conviction

that is entered is ultimately reversed on appeal or on

collateral attack, the district court could then enter a

judgment of conviction and sentence on the remaining

count. That would ensure “that the defendant is

punished, but punished only once,” and “(i]t avoids

both the punitive collateral effects of multiple convic-

® The Ninth Circuit’s procedure mirrors that formerly

followed by some courts under the concurrent sentence doc-

trine. After affirming one of two convictions on which sent-

ence ran concurrently, those courts would vacate the judgment

with respect to the other, but note that the sentence and

conviction could be reimposed at a later date in the event that a

defect were discovered in the conviction that was affirmed.

See, e.g., United States v. De Bright, 730 F.2d 1255 (9th Cir.

1984) (en banc); United States v. Butera, 677 F.2d 1376, 1386

(11th Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 1108 (1983); United

States v. Hooper, 432 F.2d 604, 606 n.8 (D.C. Cir. 1970). But

see, e.g., United States v. Vargas, 615 F.2d 952, 960 (2d Cir.

1980) (applying the concurrent sentence doctrine to leave

undisturbed the unreviewed district court judgment); United

States v. Lampley, 573 F.2d 783, 788 (3d Cir. 1978) (same);

United States v. Nelson, 733 F.2d 364, 371 n.17 (5th Cir.)

(same), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 937 (1984); United States v.

Peters, 617 F.2d 503, 506 (7th Cir. 1980); United States v.

Wilson, 671 F.2d 1138, 1139 n.2 (8th Cir.) (same), cert. denied,

456 U.S. 994 (1982). Under 18 U.S.C. 3013, a special assessment

must be imposed with respect to each offense on which the

defendant is convicted. Since each offense now carries with it

a cumulative special assessment, the concurrent sentence doc-

trine now has virtually no application in the federal system.

See Ray v. United States, 481 U.S. 736 (1987) (per curiam).

28

tions as well as the direct effects of multiple

sentences.” Ibid."

In our view, although the Ninth Circuit approach

represents a partial accommodation of the important

interests at stake in cases of this sort, the Second

Circuit’s approach is preferable. Initially, if the CCE

conviction were ever overturned, it is possible that

speedy trial or related concerns could be thought to

threaten the ability of the government to obtain a new

judgment on the Section 846 jury verdict that has

been held in abeyance. That could add needless com-

plexity to the process of ensuring that the defendant

receives the punishment Congress intended for his

participation in the Section 846 drug conspiracy.

In any event, the Ninth Circuit’s approach could

interfere with the strong policy against piecemeal

appeals in criminal cases. In an initial appeal in such

a case, the defendant could not raise—and the court

could not decide—any issue that concerns only the

Section 846 drug censpiracy conviction, for the only

issue before the appellate court would be whether the

4 The Ninth Circuit has employed the Palafox approach in

subsequent cases involving dual convictions where cumulative

punishments could not be imposed, although none of those cases

specifically involved convictions for drug conspiracy and CCE.

See, e.g., United States v. Compton, 5 F.3d 358, 360 (9th Cir.

1993); United States v. Sanchez-Lopez, 879 F.2d 541, 549-550

(9th Cir. 1989); United States v. Sanchez-Vargas, 878 F.2d

1163, 1172 (9th Cir. 1989); United States v. Andersson, 813

F.2d 1450, 1460-1462 (9th Cir. 1987). Compare United States

v. Hernandez-Escarsega, 886 F.2d 1560, 1582 (9th Cir. 1989)

(holding that conviction on drug conspiracy offense must be

vacated in light of CCE conviction, but not stating whether

drug conspiracy conviction could be revived if CCE conviction

were ever overturned), cert. denied, 497 U.S. 1003 (1990).

29

CCE conviction and sentence is valid. Indeed, there is

some possibility that a judgment that purports to stay

disposition of the drug conspiracy count would be

insufficiently final to support an appeal. See United

States v. Luciano-Mosquera, Nos. 92-1923 et al., 1995

WL 500601, at “3 n.2 (1st Cir. Aug. 28, 1995) (“[A]

criminal judgment involving multiple counts is not

final and appealable unless the record discloses the

precise disposition (e.g., the sentence) for each

count.”); United States v. Wilson, 440 F.2d 1103, 1104

(5th Cir.), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 882 (1971) & 405 U.S.

1016 (1972). Even if such a partial disposition of the

case could support an appeal, legal issues concerning

the validity of the Section 846 drug conspiracy

conviction could lie dormant for years, until and

unless it is necessary to enter judgment on that

conviction. Only at that time could the issues be

brought before the court of appeals.

Under the Second Circuit’s approach, such piece-

meal appeals would be avoided; the defendant could

(and should) challenge any defects regarding both the

CCE and the drug conspiracy charges on his initial

appeal of the merged conviction. Indeed, the validity

of both charges would be squarely before the court at

that time, since a reversal on the ground of a defect

in the CCE count would lead only to a remand for

resentencing, while a reversal on the ground of one or

more defects affecting both the CCE and drug con-

spiracy counts would lead to a remand for vacatur of

the conviction. See Aiello, 771 F.2d at 634 n.8.

3. Several courts have held simply that a defendant

may be convicted of only one offense (the CCE or

the drug conspiracy) and that a judgment imposing

two convictions must be set aside and remanded for

30

the district court to vacate one of the convictions—

presumably, the lesser one.” Those courts have not

made clear whether a conviction on the Section 846

drug conspiracy count could later be entered if the

CCE conviction were ever overturned on collateral

attack. If those courts would permit such a convic-

tion to be entered, their approach is essentially iden-

tical with that adopted by the Ninth Circuit. If they

would not permit such a conviction to be entered,

however, their approach is mistaken. It would permit

a defendant who engages in a drug conspiracy in

violation of Section 846 and who is properly tried and

found guilty by a jury for that violation to escape

without conviction or punishment, so long as he was

also convicted of a CCE offense at the same time and

that CCE conviction is later found to be defective.

That is not a plausible understanding of Congress’s

intent regarding punishment for defendants who

commit both Section 846 drug conspiracy and CCE

violations. Nor is it necessary to achieve any other

legitimate goal. Accordingly, it should be rejected.

See United States v. Cloutier, 966 F.2d 24, 30-31 (1st Cir.

1992); United States v. Butler, 885 F.2d 195, 201-202 (4th Cir.

1989); United States v. Chambers, 944 F.2d at 1268-1269;

United States v. Rivera, 900 F.2d 1462, 1478 (10th Cir. 1990)

(en banc); United States v. Cruz, 805 F.2d 1464, 1479 (11th Cir.

1986), cert. denied, 481 U.S. 1006 & 482 U.S. 930 (1987). The

Eighth Circuit has adopted an approach whereby the district

court may enter two convictions, which the court of appeals

reviews on appeal. If both are upheld, however, the court of

appeals remands the case to the district court for vacatur of

one of the convictions. United States v. Jelinek, 57 F.3d 655

(8th Cir. 1995), petition for cert. pending, No. 95-5343.

31

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the court of appeals should be

affirmed.

Respectfully submitted.

Drew S. Days, III

Solicitor General

JOHN C. KEENEY

Acting Assistant Attorney General

MICHAEL R. DREEBEN

Deputy Solicitor General

JAMES A. FELDMAN

Assistant to the Solicitor General

RICHARD A. FRIEDMAN

Attorney

OCTOBER 1995

APPENDIX

1. 21 U.S.C. 846 provides as follows:

§ 846. Attempt and conspiracy

Any person who attempts or conspires to

commit any offense defined in this subchapter

shall be subject to the same penalties as those

prescribed for the offense, the commission of

which was the object of the attempt or conspiracy.

2. 21 U.S.C. 848 provides in relevant part as

follows:

§ 848. Continuing criminal enterprise

(a) Penalties; forfeitures

Any person who engages in a continuing

criminal enterprise shall be sentenced to a term

of imprisonment which may not be less than 20

years and which may be up to life imprisonment,

to a fine not to exceed the greater of that auth-

orized in accordance with the provisions of title

18, or $2,000,000 if the defendant is an individual

or $5,000,000 if the defendant is other than an

individual, and to the forfeiture prescribed in

section 853 of this title; except that if any person

engages in such activity after one or more prior

convictions of him under this section have become

final, he shall be sentenced to a term of im-

prisonment which may not be less than 30 years

and which may be up to life imprisonment, to a fine

not to exceed the greater of twice the amount

(la)

2a

authorized in accordance with the provisions of

title 18 or $4,000,000 if the defendant is an

individual or $10,000,000 if the defendant is other

than an individual, and to the forfeiture prescribed

in section 853 of this title.

(b) Life imprisonment for engaging in continuing

criminal enterprise

Any person who engages in a continuing

criminal enterprise shall be imprisoned for life

and fined in accordance with subsection (a) of

this section, if—

(1) such person is the principal adminis-

trator, organizer, or leader of the enterprise

or is one of several such principal adminis-

trators, organizers, or leaders; and

(2A) the violation referred to in sub-

section (d)(1) of this section involved at least

300 times the quantity of a substance de-

scribed in subsection 841(b)(1)(B) of this title,

or

(B) the enterprise, or any other en-

terprise in which the defendant was the

principal or one of several principal adminis-

trators, organizers, or leaders, received $10

million dollars in gross receipts during any

twelve-month period of its existence for the

manufacture, importation, or distribution of a

substance described in section 841(b)(1)(B) of

this title.

3a

(c) “Continuing criminal enterprise” defined

For purposes of subsection (a) of this section, a

person is engaged in a continuing criminal enter-

prise if—

(1) he violates any provision of this sub-

chapter or subchapter II of this chapter the

punishment for which is a felony, and

(2) such violation is a part of a continuing

series of violations of this subchapter or sub-

chapter II of this chapter—

(A) which are undertaken by such

person in concert with five or more other

persons with respect to whom such person

occupies a position of organizer, a super-

visory position, or any other position of

management, and

(B) from which such person obtains

substantial income or resources.

(d) Suspension of sentence and probation pro-

hibited

In the case of any sentence imposed under this

section, imposition or execution of such sentence

shall not be suspended, probation shall not be

granted, and the Act of July 15, 1982 (D.C. Code,

secs. 24-203—24-207), shall not apply.

4a Sa

(e) Death penalty (2) As used in paragraph [(1)(B)], the term “law

enforcement officer” means a public servant

(1) In addition to the other penalties set forth authorized by law or by a Government agency or

in this section— Congress to conduct or engage in the prevention,

sae ee; investigation, prosecution or adjudicati

(A) any person engaging in or working In. offense, and includes those Pine so tlh

furtherance of a continuing criminal enter- tions, probation, or parole functions.

prise, or any person engaging in an offense

punishable under section 841(b)(1)(A) of this >see ee

title or section 960(b)(1) of this title who

intentionally kills or counsels, commands,

induces, procures, or causes the intentional

killing of an individual and such killing

results, shall be sentenced to any term of

imprisonment, which shall not be less than 20

years, and which may be up to life imprison-

ment, or may be sentenced to death; and

(B) any person, during the commission of,

in furtherance of, or while attempting to —:

avoid apprehension, prosecution or service

of a prison sentence for, a felony violation

of this subchapter or subchapter II of this

chapter who intentionally kills or counsels,

commands, induces, procures, or causes the

intentional killing of any Federal, State, or

local law enforcement officer engaged in, or on

account of, the performance of such officer’s

official duties and such killing results, shall

be sentenced to any term of imprisonment,

which shall not be less than 20 years, and

which may be up to life imprisonment, or may

be sentenced to death.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.