Amicus Curiae Brief — 44 Liquormart, Inc. and Peoples Super Liquor Stores, Inc., v. Rhode Island, and Rhode Island Liqor Stores Association

Supreme Court brief1996

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

@

No. 94-1140 Fone eaate merennenenenr-san

ee

. aks BD

IN THE mac

JUL § 1995

Supreme Court of the Hnithd States

CLERK

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

-

44 LIQUORMART, INC.,

Petitioner,

—V.—

THE STATE OF RHODE ISLAND E£T. AL.,

ssiengs Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF

PETITIONER SUBMITTED BY THE

ASSOCIATION OF NATIONAL ADVERTISERS,

INC.; THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF

BROADCASTERS; AND THE AMERICAN

ASSOCIATION OF ADVERTISING AGENCIES

Henry L. Baumann Burt Neuborne

Valerie Schulte 40 Washington Square South

National Association of New York, New York 10012

Broadcasters (212) 998-6172

1771 N. St., N.W.

A * *¢ .

Washington, D.C. 20036 ftorney for Amici Curiae

C lof R d

Attorneys for N.A.B. ssa conser ds. pnmapee

Gilbert H. Weil

pee: F. ae Seo , 60 East 42nd Street

merican Association o New York, New York 10165

Advertising Agencies

Att A.N.A.

1899 L. Street, N.W. wavnny Jar

Washington, D.C. 20036

Attorney for A.A.A.A.

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

- rl ‘ .

: whe pcicgies® a

% 743 2 ,

= Sl Te gare oe

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

ee i et Ee 1

Introductory Statement and Summary of Argument ... 3

ee kg BR nh a ee 6

I.

Il.

CENSORSHIP OF TRUTHFUL INFORMATION

ABOUT PRICES MAY NOT BE USED AS AN

INDIRECT METHOD OF IMPOSING PRICE

PLMCASD ANU nedscaecedeuetenuecdddchaveceos

A. Rhode Island's Use of Censorship to

Impose De Facto Price Control Bypasses

the Democratic Process and Suppresses

Information Needed to Form an Important

POGMINORS SUGBMIOUE occ sc ccccccecccccscccccccs

B. The 21st Amendment Does Not Empower

Rhode Island to Use Censorship to Fix

UE ARUN bait ciel cide ee we ceduduntesves

C. The “Greater” Power to Ban Alcohol Does Not

Carry With It a So-Called “Lesser Power” to

Ban Truthful Speech About Prices ..........

RHODE ISLAND'S EFFORT TO DENY

CONSUMERS ACCURATE INFORMATION

ABOUT A PRODUCT THEY ARE ABOUT TO

BUY VIOLATES THE COMMERCIAL SPEECH

POE NE cued Sudan cavaebentaddkd véderecsapese

A. Consumers Have a First Amendment Right to

Uncensored Information About the Lawful

Products They Are About to Buy............

13

15

17

18

PAGE

B. Rhode Island Has Not Asserted an Interest of

Sufficient Magnitude to Override the

Consumer’s Right to Know ................5. 20

C. Rhode Island Has Not Demonstrated That Its

Censorship Scheme Will Directly and

Materially Reduce the Irresponsible

Consumption of Alcohol.................005. 24

D. The Scope of Rhode Island’s Censorship

Program Is Far Broader Than Necessary .... 29

CONCLUSION ......cccoccsccesconsenseeesenesennenaeee 30

2S) BG ~

EO

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases PAGE

Abrams v. United States, 250 U.S. 616 (1919) ........ 27

Adkins v. Children’s Hospital, 261 U.S. 525 (1923)... o

Arnett v. Kennedy, 416 U.S. 134 (1974) ............... 16

Barnes v. Glen Art Theater, 501 U.S. 560 (1991) ..... 15

Bates v. State Bar of Arizona, 433 U.S. 350 (1977) ...11, 19

Bigelow v. Virginia, 421 U.S. 809 (1975) ............. 10,17

Bloom v. O’Brien, 841 F.Supp. 277 (D. Minn. 1993).. 12

Board of Trustees, State Univ. of N.Y. v. Fox, 492 U.S.

ET 3, 20, 23, 29

Bolger v. Youngs Drug Products Corp., 463 U.S. 60

ae aee cca cpedscueecascececseese: 3,19

Brandenburg v. Ohio, 395 U.S. 444 (1969)............ 27

Brown-Forman Distillers Corp. v. New York State

Liquor Auth., 476 U.S. 573 (1986) ............... 14

California Retail Liquor Dealers Ass'n v. Midcal

Aluminum, Inc., 445 U.S. 97 (1980) .............. 14

California v. LaRue, 409 U.S. 169 (1972)............. 15

Capital Cities Cable, Inc. v. Crisp, 467 U.S. 691

een atkaGhadintdussucieccesé<cececec: 13, 14

Carey v. Population Services, Int’l., 431 U.S. 678

ee eON Cidebabebbocedcececéencse 18, 19, 28

Central Hudson Gas & Electric Corp. v. Public Service

Comm'n, 447 U.S. 557 (1980) ..........0..00005. passim

iv

PAGE

Church of the Lukumi Babalu Aye v. City of Hialeah,

BED DAA GESF sxcnncdcngiavduckssbcsakiiabecscsaus 21

Cincinnati v. Discovery Network, Inc., 113 S.Ct. 1505

CEP PES knasnontudivetisnnendieedkuuelenes 3, 5, 26, 28

Citizens Against Rent Control/Coalition for Fair

Housing v. Berkley, Cal., 454 U.S. 290 (1981)... 4,8

City of Newport, Ky. v. lacobucci, 479 U.S. 92 (1986) 15

Clark Distilling Co. v. Western Md. Ry., 212 U.S. 311

GRIPE Fi cavsnhandecassastanactsansandadesauneeiine. 13

Cleveland Board of Education v. Loudermill, 470 U.S.

POP GEO EEE stisondvacuctskar clah> cues camupedesess 16

Consolidated Edison Co. of New York v. Public Service

Conan’, 447 U.S. $30 CI9GG) ... oc ccccccccccccces 10

Craig v. Boren, 429 U.S. 190 (1976) .................. 14

Dunagin v. City of Oxford, Mississippi, 718 F2d 738

(Sth Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 467 U.S. 1259

CRED esi. rctve nds dbs is ndkvceucaodialdiwekde.ateneis 13

Edenfield v. Fane, 113 S.Ct. 1792 (1993)............. passim

Edwards v. California, 314 U.S. 160 (1941)........... 14

F.C.C. v. Beach Communications, Inc., 113 S.Ct. 2096

GWU kakekdensavismeodsnecumeadineiskbabsaiioenebes 5, 26

F.C.C. v. League of Women Voters, 468 U.S. 221

GRD ck Ganecuds cessacksescencis enckedeusebendeans 16

First National Bank of Boston v. Bellotti, 435 U.S.

Fe LOEOEE Kndunesncdsnniecasensdeiaisesuadsenevia 10

Fisher v. City of Berkeley, Cal., 475 U.S. 260 (1986) . 9

Vv

PAGE

Florida Bar v. Went for It, Inc., 1995 WL 365648

DRE tulteddbiddadititeubitecttrivtaatéd ds 20, 22, 23, 28

Friedman v. Rogers, 440 U.S. 1 (1979)................ 20

Gilbert v. Minnesota, 254 U.S. 325 (1920) ............ 27

Gitlow v. New York, 268 U.S. 652 (1925).............. 27

Gold v. DiCarlo, 380 U.S. 520 (1965) ................. 9

Harry & Bryant Co. v. FTC, 726 F2d 993 (4th Cir.),

cert. denied, 469 U.S. 820 (1984) ................ 12

Healy v. The Beer Institute, 491 U.S. 324 (1989) ..... 14

Houston E. & W. Texas Ry. Co. v. United States, 234

ee PE Ci vbtdakandibedubcahudeibakuaeccws: )

Ibanez v. Florida Board of Accountancy, 114 S.Ct.

rk RAE Regan Ae 19, 25, 26, 28

OO Cbd, SEO Wee BBE CIGUED hkcicicéccccccéccocc 19

Kent v. Dulles, 357 U.S. 116 (1957) ..............0..5. 10

Lamont v. Postmaster General, 381 U.S. 301 (1965).. 4

Larkin v. Grendel’s Den, Inc., 459 U.S. 116 (1982) ... 14

Leisy v. Hardin, 135 U.S. 100 (1890).................. 13

Linmark Associates, Inc. v. Willingboro Tp., 431 U.S.

gs BR SAC ee A ce nD 18, 19, 28

Lopez v. United States, 63 U.S.L.W. 4343 (1995) ..... 25

Louisiana Consumers League, Inc. v. Louisiana State

Board of Optometry Examiners, 557 F.2d 473

Se es ET che bnda tink adiedvanustentcekiress cc 12

Lowe v. S.E.C., 472 U.S. 181, (1985).................. 10

PAGE

Michigan Beer & Wine Wholesalers Ass'n v. Attorney

General of Michigan, 142 Mich. App. 294, 370

N.W. 2d 328 (1985), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 939

COME duds deqneuéxsevvuiesies neceusbeweatbedtenss 12

Motor Vehicie Mfgs. Assoc. v. Abrams, 684 F.Supp. 804

(S.D.N.Y. 1988), rev'd in part, 899 F.2d 1315 (2d

Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 499 U.S. 912 (1991).... 12

Mt. Healthy School District v. Doyle, 429 U.S. 274

GW I sdas cndanicudedcncivddunhenkd 400 deddanan 044. 4,21

Munn vy. Illinois, 94 U.S. 113 (1877)................... 9

Nebbia v. New York, 291 U.S. 502 (1934) ............. 9

New York State Liquor Authority v. Bellanca, 452 U.S.

Fe CEDEE stad ecuuiaddedddneseagieraevidensancians 15

New York Times v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254 (1964) ..... 17

Ohralik v. Ohio State Bar Ass'n, 436 U.S. 447

ERE saeuwddsbunedscakeweasetadetduaantkiaed va 3, 20, 23

Oklahoma Telecasters Ass'n v. Crisp, 699 F.2d 490

Ce Gee: MR oda Kedicccdatiuedansstoraes veudasun 13

Olsen v. Nebraska, 313 U.S. 236 (1941)............... a

Peel v. Attorney Registration and Disc. Comm'n, 496

Sede: he CRIED a eatecectiehetresauctaeninanenithes 19, 29

Pennsylvania State Police v. Hospitality Investments

of Philadelphia, Inc., 650 A.2d 854 (Pa. 1994) .. 13

People v. Mobil Oil Corp., 48 N.Y.2d 192, 422 N.Y.S.

oe em et er eee 12

Phoenix Mutual life Insurance Co. of New York v.

Insurance Department, 500 F.Supp. 2 (S.D.N.Y.

PEE be sncenksdbvdecgneicnngingeusieidrtosanesdt ian 12

a _

EE NE rere Ae es tence EE i a me a Sa All ate _ ee eee &

ek a A 1 6k tes

= a

Vii

Pierce v. United States, 252 U.S. 239 (, 3 27

Pittsburgh Press Co. v. Pittsburgh Comm'n on Human

Relations, 413 U.S. 376 (1973)..............00... 19

Posadas de Puerto Rico Associates v. Tourism Cake

i Tk | Re 16, 22

Queensgate Investing Co. v. Liquor Control Comm’n,

69 Ohio St. 2d 361, 433 N.E.2d 138, app.

dismissed, 459 U.S. 807 (1982)................... 12-13

R.A.V. v. City of St. Paul, 112 S.Ct. 2538 (1992) ...... a, on

Rhode Island Liquor Stores Ass'n v. Evening Call

Publishing Co., 497 A.2d 331 (R.I. 1985) ...... 4,7,21

Ribnik v. McBride, 277 U.S. 350 (1928)............... u

Rubin v. Coors Brewing Co., 115 S.Ct. 1585 ......... passim

S&S Liquor Mart, Inc. v. Pastore, 497 A.2d 729 (R.I.

ESE eee eet: A Ree eRe te ee A ee ee 7,13

Sable Comunications, Inc. v. F.C.C., 492 U.S. 115 a

RECS fan ene a >> a ee ere 25

Schechter Poultry Corp. v. United States, 295 U.S.

ARE Retna ak On ot AO ee 1, 10

Schenck v. United States, 249 U.S. 47 (1919) ......... 27

Schuyler v. United States, 251 U.S. 466 (1920) ....... 27

Schwegmann Bros. v. Calvert Distillers Corp., 341

ey RS ey eee 14

Shapero v. Kentucky Bar Ass'n, 486 U.S. 466 (1988) . 19

Smith v. Goguen, 415 U.S. 566 (1974)................. 10

* re Ob Oe te ES OS Ee OR OO RE eee ete “——- oe -

SB iL eae ce ae aeee ‘

PAGE

South Ogden CVS Store, Inc. v. Ambach, 493 F. Supp.

DPS Goa Cx FORGE « cinnbendbercddtbanthdvedsaaens 12

Stroh Brewery v. Walp, Civ. Action No. 1:CV-93-937

Ges. aA Bt rasdnd nod cndadsedéehpanbuinenkneats 12

Sunshine Coal Co. v. Adkins, 310 U.S. 381 (1940).... Y

Turner Broadcasting Co. v. F.C.C., 114 S.Ct. 2445

CGE dh cbsabcuntenidenedsccntoucthnensekwideoiadus 5, 24

Tyson & Brother v. Banton, 273 U.S. 418 (1927)...... 9

United States ex rel Milwaukee Soc. Democrat

Publishing Co., v. Burleson, 255 U.S. 407 (1920) 27

United States v. Curtiss-Wright Export Corp., 299

Sle DOP CNPEE deined di cacecedéshadeaddetebdesdius 10

United States v. Edge Broadcasting Co., 113 S.Ct.

I LED Sands dundvecadsienetienperepebedsianins 19

Virginia State Bd. of Pharmacy v. Virginia Citizens

Consumer Council, Inc., 425 U.S. 748 (1976)...passim

Wall & Ochs, Inc. v. Hicks, 469 F. Supp. 873

CREPE, HTT Rais cadeebiedsdaenaebensanas ness 12

Wallace v. Jaffrey, 472 U.S. 38 (1985) ................ 21

West Coast Hotel Co. v Parrish, 300 U.S. 379 (1937). 9

Whitney v. California, 274 U.S. 357 (1927) ........... 27

Williams v. Standard Oil Co., 278 U.S. 235 (1929) ... i]

Wisconsin v. Constantineau, 400 U.S. 433 (1971)..... 14

Wisconsin v. Mitchell, 113 S.Ct. 2194 (1993) ......... 5, 26

Yee v. Escondido, California, 503 U.S. 519 (1992).... 8,9

PAGE

Youngstown Sheet & Tube Company v. Sawyer, 343

PE EP EE oulidiekthidwdbsdsvbciaticivicdadssss 10

Zauderer v. Office of Disciplinary Counsel, 471 U.S.

PNT Sitin dnd ddddbilbobten citesonaceusescekse 19

Statutes and Regulations

ee I cis nendsevsuccscscesudecsv caskets 7

SF 8 RR Oe eRe Ee ES EES 6

ie Ws WEE TE Bis Sv cvecccccueensueeessndcceceans 6

ee MEU Lab scsdecsvbaccecheaacedeauscas 6, 30

Other Authorities

Epstein, Unconstitutional Conditions, State Power,

and the Limits of Consent, 102 Harv. Rev. 4

SPN trddi dink dueUnaldanuiintinkchesokneesecdscce 16

Sullivan, Unconstitutional Conditions, 102 Harv. L.

ic Ai fete ek ey 16

ee

ee ee

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

No. 94-1140

-

44 LIQUORMART, INC.,

Petitioner,

—_—Vi—

THE STATE OF RHODE ISLAND E&T. AL.,

Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

ss

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF

PETITIONER SUBMITTED BY THE ASSOCIATION

OF NATIONAL ADVERTISERS, INC.; THE

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF BROADCASTERS;

AND THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF

ADVERTISING AGENCIES

Interest of Amici Curiae

The Association of National Advertisers, Inc., (A.N.A.), the

National Association of Broadcasters (NAB), and the Amer-

ican Association of Advertising Agencies (A.A.A.A.) respect-

fully submit this brief amici curiae in support of petitioner.

Written consents to its filing have been granted by the parties

and filed with the Clerk of the Court.

2

The Association of National Advertisers, Inc., (A.N.A.), the

advertising industry’s oldest trade association, is the only

organization exclusively dedicated to enhancing the ability of

businesses to advertise on a national and regional basis. With

more than 5,000 subsidiaries, divisions and operating units,

A.N.A. members market a kaleidoscopic array of goods and

services and account for a significant percentage of the

nation’s annual national and regional advertising expendi-

tures. As the nation’s principal community of commercial

speakers, A.N.A. has long been committed to the advance-

ment of truthful commercial speech designed to permit con-

sumers to make informed and autonomous choices in the

marketplace.

The National Association of Broadcasters (NAB), orga-

nized in 1922, is a non-profit incorporated trade association

that serves and represents radio and television stations and

networks. NAB seeks to preserve and enhance its members’

ability to disseminate freely information concerning com-

mercial activities, the activities of government and other mat-

ters of public concern. NAB and its members oppose the use

of government censorship of truthful information about law-

ful activity as a tool to manipulate the behavior patterns of the

American public.

The American Association of Advertising Agencies

(A.A.A.A.) is the national trade association of the advertising

agency industry, representing more than 650 advertising agen-

cies throughout the United States. Members of A.A.A.A.

create and place approximately 80% of all national adver-

tisements, as well as significant portions of regional and local

advertising. A.A.A.A. is dedicated to the preservation of a

robust free market in commercial ideas.

Introductory Statement and Summary of Argument

I.

Serious constitutional questions are posed whenever a state

seeks to impose price controls, even through democratic means.

See infra at n.12. This case raises the related, and easier, ques-

tion of whether censorship of truthful information about prices

may be used to impose de facto price controls without full

democratic discussion. Amici believe that government may

never bypass the democratic process by using censorship as an

indirect method of exercising its substantive powers.

Whatever merit differentiating between commercial and

non-commercial speech may have in other contexts’, amici

believe that it would be wrong to do so in this case. For, while

truthful price advertising clearly falls within the Court’s tech-

nical definition of commercial speech”, Rhode Island’s cen-

sorship scheme does far more than merely interfere with a

commercial transaction. Rather, it cloaks a controversial

political judgment—whether or not to impose price controls—

and screens the judgment from democratic review. Since, in

politics, as in baseball, you can’t hit what you can’t see,

Rhode Island’s censorship scheme strikes at the heart of a cit-

izen’s right to know in its most deeply political sense. Vir-

ginia State Board of Pharmacy v. Virginia Citizens Consumer

Council, 425 U.S. 748, 764-65 (1976). Accordingly, Rhode

Island's attempt to ban truthful speech about prices should be

Justice Stevens has consistently warned that any effort to treat

commercial speech differently from its non-commercial cousin should be

based on a careful functional analysis of the justification for greater reg-

ulation. Rubin v. Coors Brewing Co., 115 S.Ct. 1585, 1594-96 (Stevens,

J. concurring).

; For efforts to define commercial speech, see Ohralik v. Ohio

State Bar Ass'n, 436 U.S. 447, 455-56 (1978); Central Hudson, 447 U.S.

at 561-566, and n.5; Bolger v. Youngs Drug Products Corp., 463 U.S. 60,

66-68 (1983); Board of Trustees, State Univ. of N.Y. v. Fox, 492 U.S. 469,

473-75 (1989); and Cincinnati v. Discovery Network, Inc., 113 S.Ct.

1505, 1511-13 (1993).

4

measured by stringent First Amendment norms designed to

protect the political process. Lamont v. Postmaster General,

381 U.S. 301 (1965); Citizens Against Rent Control/Coalition

for Fair Housing v. Berkley, Cal., 454 U.S. 290 (1981).

Il.

Measured under the commercial speech doctrine, moreover,

Rhode Island’s censorship scheme fails each prong of the

Central Hudson test. It fails to advance a substantial gov-

ernmental interest; fails to directly and materially advance the

state’s asserted interest in fostering temperance; and ignores

less drastic means of advancing the state’s interest.

A.

Although Rhode Island claims that its censorship scheme is

designed to advance “temperance”, which Rhode Island

authorities equate with the responsible use of alcohol, sub-

stantial evidence exists that a desire to shield small intra-state

retailers from price competition by larger stores is the

statute’s dominant purpose. See 39 F.3d at 7-8; Rhode Island

Liquor Stores Ass'n v. Evening Call Publishing Co., 497 A.2d

331, 335 (R.I. 1985); Jd at 342 n.10 (R.I. 1985) (Murray, J.,

dissenting). Such an interest in economic protectionism does

not qualify as “substantial” within the meaning of Central

Hudson. Indeed, it violates the Commerce Clause. In light of

the strong evidence of improper motive, including the candid

admission by the Rhode Island State Liquor Association that

economic protectionism is a significant goal of the statute, the

First Circuit clearly erred in refusing to require Rhode Island

to demonstrate that promotion of temperance is the statute’s

dominant purpose. Mt. Healthy School District v. Doyle, 429

U.S. 274 (1977) (presence of improper purpose places burden

on censor to show that would have acted identically in

absence of improper motive).

ee ee ar eee

ee a

5

Moreover, even if one takes at face value Rhode Island’s

assertion that preventing irresponsible alcohol use is the

Statute’s goal, Rhode Island does not have a legitimate inter-

est in fostering its goals through state-mandated ignorance.

Rubin v. Coors Brewing Co., 115 S.Ct. 1585, 1596 (Stevens,

J., concurring).

Rhode Island has failed to demonstrate that censoring truth-

ful information about prices will, in fact, materially diminish

irresponsible alcohol consumption. Edenfield v. Fane, 113

S.Ct. 1792 (1993); Rubin v. Coors Brewing Co., 115 S.Ct.

1585 (1995). Both lower courts found that, at most, Rhode

Island has demonstrated a “reasonable” basis for hoping that

banning price advertising will diminish alcohol consumption.

39 F.3d at 7-8; 829 F. Supp. at 549; 554.3 While such a “rea-

sonable” basis might be sufficient to regulate behavior, the

essence of First Amendment protection obliges a would-be

censor to do more than demonstrate that censorship is rea-

sonable. Turner Broadcasting Co. v. F.C.C., 114 S.Ct. 2445

(1994); Edenfield v. Fane, 113 S.Ct. 1792 (1993); Cincinnati

v. Discovery Network, Inc., 113 S.Ct. 1505 (1993). Compare

Wisconsin v. Mitchell, 113 S.Ct. 2194 (1993) (regulating

behavior) with R.A.V. v. City of St. Paul, 112 S.Ct. 2538

(1992) (regulating speech). See generally, F.C.C. v. Beach

Communications, Inc., 113 S.Ct. 2096, 2101 (1993). In order

to carry its burden of justification, Rhode Island must, at a

minimum, demonstrate that censorship of price advertising

will, in fact, materially reduce irresponsible alcohol con-

sumption. The courts below are in agreement that Rhode

Island failed to make such a showing.

, Indeed, the District Court found as a fact that the censorship

scheme does not materially diminish alcohol consumption. 829 F.Supp.

at 549.

6

Cc.

Finally, several alternatives exist that would minimize cen-

sorship. Most obviously, Rhode Island may attempt to regu-

late minimum price levels for alcohol openly, as it has already

done for cigarettes.* See R.I. Gen. Laws, 6-13-2. More con-

structively, Rhode Island could seek to deal effectively with

problem drinking by enacting serious measures providing for

education, treatment and law enforcement. Rhode Island's

failure to explain why such obvious non-censorship alterna-

tives were ignored constitutes an independent ground for

invalidating the statute. Rubin v. Coors Brewing Co., 115

S.Ct. 1585, 1593-94 (1995).

Statement of the Case

Rhode Island attempts to regulate the retail prices of both

cigarettes and beverages containing alcohol.’ But, while

cigarette price fixing is administered openly through legis-

lation setting a minimum floor,® Rhode Island seeks to regu-

late beverage prices without the inconvenience of an open

political debate. Instead, Rhode Island seeks to keep prices

artificially high by forbidding retailers from disseminating

truthful information to consumers about price.’

4

Amici believe that any effort to impose price control by demo-

cratic means would (and should) be soundly rejected by the people of

Rhode Island, since it tampers with the market without meaningfully con-

fronting problem drinking.

5 The constitutionality of Rhode Island's substantive effort to reg-

ulate prices is not before the Court. Were Rhode Island to attempt to fix

the price of beverages containing alcohol openly, it would raise serious

questions under the Commerce Clause. The issue posed by this case is

whether Rhode Island can bypass the democratic process by using cen-

sorship to achieve de facto price control.

6 RI. Gen. Laws 6-13-2.

, R.I. Gen. Laws 3-8-7, the statute at issue in this appeal, as

enacted in 1956. See also, R.I. Gen. Laws 3-8-8.1, extending the ban on

7

Rhode Island claims that its price advertising ban is

designed to keep retail cost artificially high in the hope of

fostering “temperance” .* While the word “temperance” is not

defined in the statute, Rhode Island authorities apply it to

mean the responsible use of alcohol, as opposed to the more

extreme historical usage associated with complete prohibi-

tion.” The Rhode Island Liquor Store Association candidly

admits that the censorship scheme is intended, as well, to

insulate small retailers from price competition.’ See S&S

Liquor Mart, Inc. v. Pastore, 497 A.2d 729 (R.I. 1985); Rhode

Island Liquor Stores Ass'n v. Evening Call Publishing Co.,

497 A.2d 331, 335 (R_I. 1985).

A threshold issue in this case, therefore, is whether a leg-

islature wishing to keep prices artificially high may impose de

facto price control without an open vote on the intensely con-

troversial issue by the simple expedient of censoring truthful

price information. The question is of considerable importance

to the democratic process, since the issue of whether to fix

prices for goods and services remains a matter of intense

price advertising to any communication making “reference to the price

of any alcoholic beverage”. The breadth of the Rhode Island ban is

demonstrated by the conviction of petitioner for using the word “WoW”

in a newspaper advertisement. 39 F.3d at 6. Rhode Island authorities

found that the word connoted a favorable price and imposed a $400 fine

for its use.

6 See 39 F.3d at 6. The statute’s “asserted” purpose is “the pro-

motion of temperance” and “the reasonable control of the traffic in alco-

holic beverages”. See R.I. Gen. Laws 3-1-5. Despite doubts, the Rhode

Island courts chose to accept the “asserted” purpose at face value. Rhode

Island Liquor Stores Ass'n v. Evening Call Publishing Co., 497 A.2d 331,

335 (R.I. 1985).

9 The difference is potentially important, since a precise articu-

lation of the state’s interest is a precondition to the accurate application

of Central Hudson.

10 The intervenors argued below that the advertising ban was

intended to protect small retailers from price competition by “giants”.

See 39 F.3d at 8.

political disagreement. Yee v. Escondido, California, 503 U.S.

519 (1992); Citizens Against Rent Control/Coalition for Fair

Housing v. Berkley, Cal., 454 U.S. 290 (1981). Only if cen-

sorship of truthful price information may be used as an end-

run around the political process is it necessary to ask whether

Rhode Island’s censorship scheme violates the commercial

speech doctrine.

With respect, amici suggest that the First Circuit appears to

have overlooked the threshold issue. The First Circuit simply

assumed that government may substitute censorship of price

information for an open, democratic judgment that price fix-

ing is warranted. But, whatever one’s views concerning the

predictive value of the Rube Goldberg causal chain underly-

ing Rhode Island’s censorship scheme," a critical prior ques-

tion is whether Rhode Island may seek to use censorship of

truthful information about prices to achieve covertly what it

lacks the political will to do openly—fix prices of beverages

containing alcohol at an artificially high level.

- Amici believe that the court below seriously misapplied the Cen-

tral Hudson requirement that all efforts to censor truthful commercial

speech be shown to “directly and materially advance” a substantial gov-

ernment interest. See infra, at 24-29.

Suit,

9

I. CENSORSHIP OF TRUTHFUL INFORMA-

TION ABOUT PRICES MAY NOT BE USED

AS AN INDIRECT METHOD OF IMPOSING

PRICE CONTROL

A. Rhode Island's Use of Censorship to Impose

De Facto Price Control Bypasses the Democratic

Process and Suppresses Information Needed to

Form an Important Political Judgment

No economic issue has triggered more intense disagreement

than government efforts to impose price control.'? While the

Court’s price control cases do not definitively determine the

constitutionality of price controls in all settings, they do

definitively demonstrate the enduring—indeed, unique—polit-

ical controversy that has swirled around the issue throughout

our history.

Given the intensely controversial nature of price control,

amici believe that a decision to fix prices must, at a mini-

mum, be made openly after full opportunity for democratic

reflection.'’ Unfortunately, Rhode Island’s decision to impose

12

Eg. Munn y. Illinois, 94 U.S. 113 (1877) (upholding railroad rate

regulation); Houston E. & W. Texas Ry. Co. v. United States (the Shreve-

port Rate Case), 234 U.S. 342 (1914) (same); Williams v. Standard Oil

Co., 278 U.S. 235 (1929) (invalidating effort to fix gasoline prices);

Tyson & Brother v. Banton, 273 U.S. 418 (1927) (invalidating effort to

fix re-sale price of theater tickets, overruled by Gold v. DiCarlo, 380

U.S. 520 (1965) (per curiam); Ribnik v. McBride, 277 U.S. 350 (1928)

(invalidating ceiling on employment agency fees), overruled by Olsen v.

Nebraska, 313 U.S. 236 (1941); Nebbia v. New York, 291 U.S. 502 (1934)

(upholding minimum price for milk); Sunshine Coal Co. v. Adkins, 310

U.S. 381 (1940) (upholding minimum price for coal); West Coast Hotel

Co. v Parrish, 300 U.S. 379 (1937) (upholding minimum wage legisla-

tion, overruling Adkins v. Children's Hospital, 261 U.S. 525 (1923);

Fisher v. City of Berkeley, Cal., 475 U.S. 260 (1986) (upholding rent con-

trol against anti-trust challenge); Yee v. Escondido, California, 503 U.S.

519 (1992) (declining to address whether mobile home rent control con-

stitutes regulatory taking).

iS As amici have noted, even democratically sanctioned efforts to

impose price controls will often raise serious constitutional questions.

See infra at n.12.

10

price controls indirectly by censoring truthful information

about prices seriously impedes democratic ref] ction in two

ways. First, censorship of truthful information about prices

acts as a wide-ranging restriction on the very information that

citizens need in order to determine whether price controls are

warranted. While the precise application of the prior restraint

doctrine to commercial speech remains to be elaborated, Lowe

v. S.E.C., 472 U.S. 181 (1985), when, as here, systematic cen-

sorship blocks the free circulation of information needed to

make an important political judgment, the censorship scheme

should be tested by First Amendment norms designed to pro-

tect the political process. Bigelow v. Virginia, 421 U.S. 809

(1975); First National Bank of Boston v. Bellotti, 435 U.S.

765 (1978); Consolidated Edison Co. of New York v. Public

Service Comm'n, 447 U.S. 530 (1980).

Second, regulating prices indirectly through censorship per-

mits legislators to avoid both a clear statement and an open

debate on the issue. Instead, the controversial political deci-

sion is shrouded in ambiguity and shielded from public

scrutiny. If the Rhode Island legislature had used vague and

imprecise language to impose price control, doctrines like the

“clear statement” rule,'‘ the “void-for-vagueness” doctrine,’*

and the prohibition on undue delegation'® would operate to

force the legislature to make the important political decision

openly, after full debate and in a manner subject to demo-

cratic review. Youngstown Sheet & Tube Company v. Sawyer,

343 U.S. 579 (1952) (decision to regulate labor market must

be made by legislature, not President, because it requires full

political debate). Surely, an effort to use censorship to achieve

the same result must be subjected to similar scrutiny. Thus,

while price advertising is classically commercial in nature,

14 Kent v. Dulles, 357 U.S. 116 (1957).

1S Smith v. Goguen, 415 U.S. 566 (1974).

16 Schechter Poultry Corp. v. United States, 295 U.S. 495 (1935);

United States v. Curtiss-Wright Export Corp., 299 U.S. 304 (1936).

11

Rhode Island’s censorship scheme strikes at a citizen’s right

to know in its most deeply political sense.

In Virginia State Board of Pharmacy v. Virginia Citizens

Consumer Council, 425 U.S. 748 (1976) and Bates v. State

Bar of Arizona, 433 U.S. 350 (1977), this Court unequivo-

cally held that censorship of truthful price information may

not be used as a back-door means of fixing prices. In Virginia

Pharmacy, the Court invalidated a Virginia ban on advertis-

ing the price of prescription drugs. Virginia argued that its

ban was necessary to stabilize prices in order to assure a com-

petent and effective pharmaceutical distribution network. In

words that are particularly relevant to this case, Justice

Blackmun, writing for the Court, held that censorship of price

information not only deprives consumers of important infor-

mation needed to make rational economic decisions, but also

denies the public the information needed to make a political

judgment about whether a particular market should be regu-

lated at all. 425 U.S. at 764-65. The Virginia Pharmacy Court

recognized that suppressing price information in order to con-

trol prices bypasses the democratic process and begs the very

question of whether price regulation is appropriate.

Similarly, in Bates v. State of Arizona, 433 U.S. 350 (1977),

the Court invalidated an Arizona ban on advertising the price

of routine legal services, noting once again that suppression

of truthful information about price deprives the public of

important information about the need (or the lack of need) for

regulation. 433 U.S. at 364."

In the two decades since Bates and Virginia Pharmacy, the

Court has grappled with a series of complex commercial

speech issues, but it has never wavered from its fundamental

v §6The major issue in Bates was whether price advertising of rou-

tine legal services was inherently misleading. Once the Court determined

that it was not, the Court made short work of the argument that censor-

ship of price advertising was an appropriate way to regulate prices. 433

U.S. at 377.

12

judgment that price fixing may not be imposed indirectly

through censorship. Now, as in Virginia Pharmacy, using cen-

sorship as a de facto road to price control short-circuits the

democratic process, corrodes the operation of a market econ-

omy, and manipulates consumers as if they were wayward

children."*

No basis exists to depart from the holding of Virginia Phar-

macy because the product is alcohol rather than prescription

drugs. Courts that have upheld efforts to censor truthful

information about the price of alcohol’? have rested their

18 Since Virginia Pharmacy, the lower courts have been virtually

unanimous in rejecting efforts to use censorship as a back door means of

regulating prices. Eg. Bloom v. O’Brien, 841 F.Supp. 277 (D. Minn.

1993) (enjoining ban on itemizing gross revenue tax on patient bills);

South Ogden CVS Store, Inc. v. Ambach, 493 F. Supp. 374 (S.D.N.Y.

1980) (invalidating ban on pharmacist advertising 10% discount for

senior citizens); Louisiana Consumers League, Inc. v. Louisiana State

Board of Optometry Examiners, 557 F.2d 473 (Sth Cir. 1977) (invali-

dating ban on advertising price of prescription eyeglasses), Wall & Ochs,

Inc. v. Hicks, 469 F. Supp. 873 (E.D.N.Car. 1979) (ban on advertising

price of prescription eyeglasses “patently unconstitutional”); Michigan

Beer & Wine Wholesalers Ass'n v. Attorney General of Michigan, 142

Mich. App. 294, 370 N.W. 2d 328 (1985), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 939

(1986) (invalidating ban on advertising retail liquor prices); Stroh Brew-

ery v. Walp, Civ. Action No. 1:CV-93-937 (M.D. Pa. 1994) (non-coercive

speech about liquor prices protected by First Amendment); People v.

Mobil Oil Corp., 48 N.Y.2d 192, 422 N.Y.S. 33, 397 N.E. 2d 794 (1979)

(invalidating ban on signs advertising gasoline prices); Phoenix Mutual

life Insurance Co. of New York v. Insurance Department, 500 F.Supp. 2

(S.D.N.Y. 1980) (ban on truthful advertising of “low cost” insurance vio-

lates First Amendment); Motor Vehicle Mfgs. Assoc. v. Abrams, 684

F.Supp. 804 (S.D.N.Y. 1988), rev'd in part, 899 F.2d 1315 (2d Cir. 1990),

cert. denied, 499 U.S. 912 (1991) (invalidating ban on disclosing price

impact of compliance with state law) Cf. Harry & Bryant Co. v. FTC, 726

F2d 993 (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 820 (1984) (FTC may require

itemized price lists for funeral services).

19 In addition to the court below, several courts have ruled that reg-

ulation of alcohol under the 21st Amendment poses a virtually unique

setting in which states may ban price advertising. Queensgate Investing

Co. v. Liquor Control Comm'n, 69 Ohio St. 2d 361, 433 N.E.2d 138, app.

13

opinions on two shaky props—an argument that the 21st

Amendment erodes First Amendment protections in the area

of state regulation of alcohol; and an assumption that the

“greater” power to ban a product necessarily carries with it a

broad “lesser” power to use censorship to discourage the prac-

tice. Neither argument can withstand analysis. Indeed, both

props were conclusively rejected in Rubin v. Coors Brewing

Co., 115 S.Ct. 1585 (1995).

B. The 21st Amendment Does Not Empower

Rhode Island to Use Censorship to Fix Prices

Prior to Prohibition, the Supreme Court had held that a

state lacked inherent power under its police power to regulate

interstate commerce in alcohol. Leisy v. Hardin, 135 U.S. 100

(1890). In 1913, Congress sought to grant the necessary

power by enacting the Webb-Kenyon Act. See Clark Distill-

ing Co. v. Western Md. Ry., 212 U.S. 311 (1917). Passage of

the 18th Amendment made the issue moot. With the repeal of

National Prohibition,*° however, section 2 of the 21st Amend-

ment was enacted to assure that the dormant Commerce

Clause would not stand in the way of democratic political

judgments to continue Prohibition at the state level.?' Thus,

the 21st Amendment grants the states power to make an

dismissed, 459 U.S. 807 (1982); Dunagin v. City of Oxford, Mississippi,

718 F2d 738 (Sth Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 467 U.S. 1259 (1984); S&S

Liquor Mart, Inc. v. Pastore, 497 A.2d 729 (R.I. 1985); Pennsylvania

State Police v. Hospitality Investments of Philadelphia, Inc., 650 A.2d

854 (Pa. 1994). See also, Oklahoma Telecasters Ass'n v. Crisp, 699 F.2d

490 (10th Cir. 1983), rev'd on other grounds, Capital Cities Cable, Inc.

v. Crisp, 467 U.S. 691 (1984).

20

Ironically, Rhode Island never ratified the 18th Amendment and

was among the first states to ratify the 21st.

a The 21st Amendment expressly provides:

The transportation or importation into any State, Territory, or

possession of the United States for delivery or use therein of

intoxicating liquors, in violation of the laws thereof, is

hereby prohibited.

14

intensely controversial political judgment that might, other-

wise, be blocked by the Commerce Clause. See Edwards v.

California, 314 U.S. 160 (1941).

The corollary of such a grant of extraordinary power is that

it must be exercised, if at all, only after full political debate

and in strict compliance with the Constitution. Not surpris-

ingly, this Court has repeatedly ruled that, far from autho-

rizing an erosion of First Amendment rights, the extraordinary

nature of the power granted by the 21st requires scrupulous

compliance with the rest of the Constitution. In Craig v.

Boren, 429 U.S. 190 (1976), for example, the Court explicitly

rejected an argument that the 21st Amendment eroded the

force of the Equal Protection Clause. In Capital Cities Cable,

Inc. v. Crisp, 467 U.S. 691 (1984), the Court explicitly

rejected an argument that the 21st Amendment altered the

norms governing preemption of state efforts to regulate adver-

tising. In Healy v. The Beer Institute, 491 U.S. 324 (1989) and

Brown-Forman Distillers Corp. v. New York State Liquor

Auth., 476 U.S. 573 (1986), the Court rejected the argument

that the 21st Amendment permitted states to fix prices by

requiring an affirmation that in-state prices were no higher

than prices in other states. In Larkin v. Grendel's Den, Inc.,

459 U.S. 116 (1982), the Court rejected an argument that the

21st Amendment eroded the protections of the Establishment

Clause. In Wisconsin v. Constantineau, 400 U.S. 433 (1971),

the Court rejected an argument that the 21st Amendment

weakened procedural due process guarantees. See also

Schwegmann Bros. v. Calvert Distillers Corp., 341 U.S. 384

(1951) (invalidating under Sherman Act statute authorizing

private enforcement of minimum prices); California Retail

Liquor Dealers Ass'n v. Midcal Aluminum, Inc., 445 U.S. 97

(1980) (invalidating under Sherman Act requirement that

wine retailers abide by privately set minimum prices). Most

recently, in Rubin v. Coors Brewing Co., 115 S.Ct. 1585

(1995), the Court held that, when states seek to regulate alco-

hol advertising under the 21st Amendment, they are held “to

15

the same First Amendment restrictions that apply to the Fed-

eral Government.” 115 S.Ct. at 1591. Since the 21st Amend-

ment certainly does not enhance the power of the federal

government to censor, Coors makes it clear that the 21st

Amendment does not enhance the power of the states to sup-

press truthful speech. Justice Thomas’ opinion in Coors also

makes it clear that California v. LaRue, 409 U.S. 109 (1972)

and its progeny” do not support the claim that the 21st

Amendment erodes First Amendment rights. LaRue upheld

the power to ban nude dancing in places where alcohol was

served. Since this Court ruled in Barnes v. Glen Art Theater,

501 U.S. 560 (1991) that the nude dancing at issue in LaRue

was not entitled to First Amendment protection, Justice

Thomas’ observation in Coors* puts an end to the effort to

parlay LaRue into a broad authorization to censor truthful

commercial speech under the 21st Amendment.

Thus, the 21st Amendment provides no support for the

proposition that price controls over alcohol may be introduced

covertly via censorship. If anything, the extraordinary nature

of the power granted by the 21st Amendment argues that it be

exercised openly and only after full political debate.

C. The “Greater” Power to Ban Alcohol Does

Not Carry With It a So-Called “Lesser

Power” to Ban Truthful Speech About

Prices

Nor does the second prop fare any better. Some courts have

suggested that the controversial nature of a product carries

a New York State Liquor Authority v. Bellanca, 452 U.S. 714

(1981); City of Newport, Ky. v. lacobucci, 479 U.S. 92 (1986).

23‘ Justice Thomas observed:

Nor does LaRue support the Government's position. LaRue

did not involve commercial speech about alcohol, but instead

concerned the regulation of nude dancing in places where

alcohoi was served. 409 U.S. at 414. 115 S.Ct. at 1590 n.2.

16

with it a broad power to censor information about it.** How-

ever, the notion, expressed in dictum in Posadas de Puerto

Rico Associates v. Tourism Co., 478 U.S. 328, 346 (1986),

that the “greater” power to ban an activity carries with it a

“lesser” power to regulate it free from the usual constitutional

constraints has been repeatedly rejected by this Court.** Most

importantly, the dictum in Posadas was unanimously repu-

diated in Coors. 115 S.Ct. 1589-90 n.2. After Coors, it is now

clear that censorship of truthful commercial speech cannot be

justified as an incident of a power to prohibit the activity in

question.

It was argued in dictum in Posadas that censoring commer-

cial speech about an activity is a less drastic government

response than direct regulation. But such an argument mis-

construes a fundamental postulate of a democratic society—the

importance of open political decision-making. While banning

an activity is an obvious interference with autonomous choice,

the interference occurs openly, and only after a full political

debate. Regulation of speech in an effort to manipulate behav-

ior is a far more “drastic” event, since it often affects behavior

in a covert manner. It can leave citizens with the illusion of

freedom, but the reality of government control. In this case, it

has left the citizens of Rhode Island with de facto price control

over beverages containing alcohol without the “formality” of

an up-or-down vote on the question and without ready access

-“ One of Rhode Island’s principal arguments in the lower courts

was that the power to ban alcohol necessarily carried with it the power

to censor price information. See 39 F.3d at 6.

25 Cleveland Board of Education v. Loudermill, 470 U.S. 523

(1985); F.C.C. v. League of Women Voters, 468 U.S. 221 (1984). Com-

pare, Arnett v. Kennedy, 416 U.S. 134 (1974) (opinion of Justices Rehn-

quist, Stewart and Chief Justice Burger) with /d at 167 (opinion of

Justices Powell and Blackmun); /d at 185 (opinion of Justice White); Jd

at 211 (opinion of Justices Marshall, Brennan and Douglas). See gen-

erally, Sullivan, Unconstitutional Conditions, 102 Harv. L. Rev. 1415

(1989); Epstein, Unconstitutional Conditions, State Power, and the Lim-

its of Consent, 102 Harv. Rev. 4 (1988).

17

to the information about price levels needed to determine

whether price control should be continued.

Il. RHODE ISLAND’S EFFORT TO DENY

CONSUMERS ACCURATE INFORMATION

ABOUT A PRODUCT THEY ARE ABOUT

TO BUY VIOLATES THE COMMERCIAL

SPEECH DOCTRINE

In Point I, amici argue that Rhode Island’s censorship

scheme is so closely bound up with the fundamental political

decision of whether to impose price controls that its consti-

tutionality should be measured by First Amendment standards

designed to protect the political process. See Rubin v. Coors

Brewing Co., 115 S.Ct. 1585, 1594 (1995) (Stevens, J. con-

curring); Bigelow v. Virginia, 421 U.S. 809 (1975). If, how-

ever, the Court elects to analyze Rhode Island’s scheme under

the commercial speech doctrine, the ban on truthful price

advertising fails every prong of the Central Hudson test.

The court below erroneously treated the Central Hudson

test as if it were a radical exception to First Amendment

jurisprudence.” In fact, the principal difference between First

Amendment protection of commercial and non-commercial

speech lies in the first prong of Central Hudson.”’ The doc-

a For example, the court below took the state’s asserted interest in

promoting temperance at face value, despite its articulated suspicion that

the statute was motivated, at least in part, by a desire to shield small

retailers from price competition. 39 F.3d at 8. Similarly, in testing

whether the statute directly and materially advanced temperance, the

court applied a permissive, rational basis standard more suitable for test-

ing regulation of behavior than censorship of truthful speech. 39 F.3d at

7-8. Finally, the court below simply refused to consider the availability

of numerous less drastic alternatives. 39 F.3d at 8. In fairness, the court

below did not have the benefit of this Court’s unanimous opinion in

Coors Brewing Company directing that less drastic means be explored.

a While accuracy and lawfulness are conditions of commercial

speech protection, it is an article of faith in the non-commercial area that

there is no such thing as “official” truth. New York Times v. Sullivan, 376

U.S. 254 (1964).

18

trinal differences, if any, are far smaller at the level of the

second, third and fourth prongs. In both commercial and non-

commercial settings, a would-be censor must persuade a

reviewing court that the governmental interest is sufficiently

important; that the censorship will actually play a direct and

material role in advancing the government’s interest; and that

adequate alternative means of advancing the state’s interest do

not exist.

When applied with the requisite rigor demanded by a First

Amendment analysis, Rhode Island’s scheme fails all three

tests.

A. Consumers Have a First Amendment Right

to Uncensored Information About the Lawful

Products They Are About to Buy.

The key to a generation of commercial free speech cases in

this Court is respect for a consumer’s right to receive uncen-

sored, accurate information about lawful consumer choices.

Despite claims that the free flow of commercial information

would cause substantial harm, ranging from the undermining

of neighborhood pharmacies”*; to interference with efforts to

maintain integrated neighborhoods;” to erosion of the moral

fiber of the young,*° this Court has repeatedly recognized that

a consumer-driven, free market economy cannot function in

the absence of a free flow of uncensored, truthful commercial

information. Just as a functioning political democracy

requires the free flow of information needed to make

informed political choices, a functioning market economy is

dependent on informed choice by autonomous consumers.

Thus, in the 19 years since the Court explicitly recognized

in Virginia Pharmacy that commercial speech is entitled to

a8 Virginia State Board of Pharmacy v. Virginia Citizens Consumer

Council, 425 U.S. 748 (1976).

29 Linmark Associates, Inc. v. Willingboro Tp., 431 U.S. 85 (1977).

30 Carey v. Population Services, Int’l., 431 U.S. 678 (1977).

19

First Amendment protection, it has repeatedly upheld the con-

sumer’s right to receive accurate, uncensored commercial

information relevant to the making of a lawful economic

choice.*!

In fact, censorship of commercial speech has been upheld

by this Court only when the speech would not assist the con-

sumer in making an informed, lawful choice, or where special

circumstances require a narrowly tailored, temporary restric-

tion. Thus, where a commercial speaker solicits a consumer to

engage in unlawful activity, the speech is not protected by the

First Amendment because the consumer’s choice is not a law-

ful one. Pittsburgh Press Co. v. Pittsburgh Comm’n on Human

Relations, 413 U.S. 376 (1973) (gender-typed want ads not

protected).*?

vw E.g. Virginia State Board of Pharmacy v. Virginia Citizens Con-

sumer Council, 425 U.S. 748, 763-65 (1976) (price information con-

cerning prescription drugs); Linmark Associates, Inc. v. Willingboro Tp.,

431 U.S. 85, 96-97 (1977) (information on availability of real estate);

Carey v. Population Services, Int'l., 431 U.S. 678, 701 (1977) (infor-

mation about birth control devices); Bates v. State Bar of Arizona, 433

U.S. 350, 374-75 (1977) (information on price and availability of routine

legal services); Central Hudson Gas & Elec. Corp. v. Public Service

Comm'n, 447 U.S. 557, 567-68 (1980) (information on availability of

electrical services); In re R.M.J., 455 U.S. 191 (1982) (information on

availability of legal services); Bolger v. Youngs Drug Prods. Corp., 463

U.S. 60, 69 (1983) (commercial information in the mails about birth con-

trol); Zauderer v. Office of Disciplinary Counsel, 471 U.S. 626, 643, 646-

47 (1985) (information on availability of legal services); Shapero v.

Kentucky Bar Ass'n, 486 U.S. 466 (1988) (same); Peel v. Attorney Reg-

istration and Disc. Comm'n, 496 U.S. 91, 110 & n.18 (1990) (same);

Edenfield v. Fane, 113 §.Ct. 1792 (1993) (face-to-face information about

accountant’s services); /banez v. Florida Board of Accountancy, 114 S.Ct.

2084 (1994) (accurate information concerning lawyers’ qualifications);

Rubin v. Coors Brewing Co., 115 S.Ct. 1585 (1995) (accurate information

concerning alcohol content).

3 United States v. Edge Broadcasting Co., 113 S.Ct. 2696 (1993),

is a complex application of the Pittsburgh Press principle. In Edge

Broadcasting, the United States keyed the legality of broadcast adver-

tisements for state lotteries to whether the activity was lawful in the state

20

Similarly, where commercial speech is shown to be false or

misleading, the speech may be forbidden because it actually

impedes consumers in making the informed and autonomous

choice on which a free market depends. Friedman v. Rogers,

440 U.S. 1 (1979) (ban on misleading trade names).

Finally, where special circumstances are shown to require

it, commercial speech may be regulated by a narrowly tailored

rule designed to protect the consumer without interfering with

the free flow of information. Ohralik v. Ohio State Bar Ass'n,

436 U.S. 447 (1978) (face-to-face solicitation of accident vic-

tims); Board of Trustees of the State University v. Fox, 492

U.S. 469 (1989) (solicitation of students by strangers in col-

lege dormitory); Florida Bar v. Went For It, Inc., 1995 WL

365648 (U.S.) (30 day moratorium on targeted mail solicita-

tion of accident victims). But see Edenfield v. Fane, 113 S.Ct.

1792 (1993) (face-to-face solicitation of business executives

by CPA's protected). Thus, whether one focuses on the many

cases upholding commercial free speech claims, or on the

handful of settings in which commercial free speech has been

regulated, the Court’s central concern has been the con-

sumer’s right to receive information needed to make an

informed and autonomous choice.

B. Rhode Island Has Not Asserted an Interest

of Sufficient Magnitude to Override the

Consumer’s Right to Know

Both the Administrator of the statute** and the intervening

defendants** concede that Rhode Island’s price advertising

from which the speech was transmitted. Thus, Edge Broadcasting is inap-

plicable to truthful speech about concededly lawful economic choices.

33 At a hearing held in connection with petitioner’s use of the word

“wow” in an advertisement, the Administrator of the Liquor Control

Administration, candidly stated:

“I know both 44 and Douglas are well aware that there are some

tremendous concerns at the time of licensing. Many people said

they were a chain, they were going to be able to take over the

(footnote 34 appears on next page)

21

ban is intended, at least in part, to prevent large chains from

subjecting small retailers to price competition. See 39 F.3d at

7-8; Rhode Island Liquor Stores Ass'n v. Evening Call Pub-

lishing Co., 497 A.2d 331, 335 (R.I. 1985); Id at 342 n.10

(Murray, J., dissenting). Such an effort to use censorship to

aid one set of economic competitors against another is not

merely an insubstantial interest, it is patently illegitimate. At

best, therefore, Rhode Island is in the posture of a “mixed

motive” censor, where censorship has been motivated by both

a permissible and an impermissible motive. Mt. Healthy City

School Dist. v. Doyle, 429 U.S. 274 (1977) (when permissible

and impermissible motives present, government censor must

prove that it would have acted identically even in absence of

improper motive). Accordingly, the First Circuit clearly erred

in declining to require Rhode Island to demonstrate that the

dominant purpose of the statute is promotion of responsible

alcohol use, not protection of small retailers.*°

Moreover, even if one accepts at face value Rhode Island’s

claim to be promoting temperance through state-imposed

censorship, an interest in consumer ignorance does not even

qualify as “legitimate”, much less as “substantial”. The “tem-

perance” that Rhode Island seeks to promote is a metaphor for

liquor industry in the state of RI. There was a genuine fear that set

in among the liquor establishments.”

34‘ The intervenors repeatedly asserted as a basis for intervention

the fact that the statute was intended to protect them against unfair com-

petition. The First Circuit noted the intervenor’s explanation of the

Statute’s purpose, but chose to ignore it. 39 F.3d at 8.

3 For examples of searching inquiry into legislative motive in

First Amendment cases, see, eg. Church of the Lukumi Babalu Aye v. City

of Hialeah, 113 S.Ct. 2217 (searching inquiry into motive necessary in

First Amendment free exercise setting); Wallace v. Jaffrey, 472 U.S. 38

(1985) (searching inquiry into motive necessary in First Amendment

establishment of religion setting); R.A.V. v. City of St. Paul, 112 S.Ct.

2538 (1992) (searching inquiry into motive necessary even when dealing

with unprotected speech).

22

the responsible use of alcohol. As such, it clearly qualifies as

a “substantial” government interest. But Rhode Island’s claim

that state-mandated ignorance is the way to achieve respon-

sible alcohol use runs headlong into the First Amendment.*

The First Amendment flatly rejects the statute’s jaundiced

view of the capacity of American consumers to act responsi-

bly on the basis of truthful information. The very existence of

freedom of speech is premised on an assumption that indi-

viduals are capable of dealing with the truth. If American

consumers cannot be trusted to know the price of a bottle of

scotch, how can the same individuals be trusted to make the

political judgments necessary to govern a free nation?

Not surprisingly, since Virginia Pharmacy, this Court has

never upheld a total ban on the dissemination of truthful

information about a lawful product in an effort to manipulate

consumer behavior. Neither Posadas de Puerto Rico Assocs.

v. Tourism Co., 478 U.S. 328 (1986), nor Florida Bar v. Went

For It, Inc., 1995 WL 365648 (U.S.) are to the contrary.

In Posadas, this Court upheld a narrow regulation banning

advertising of casino gambling “aimed” at natives of Puerto

Rico. The original version of the regulation in Posadas had

flatly banned all advertisement in the Spanish language capa-

ble of reaching the attention of residents of Puerto Rico. /d at

332-33. As such, it was analogous to the total information ban

imposed by Rhode Island in this case. The Superior Court of

Puerto Rico struck down the total information ban as violative

of the First Amendment. Jd at 335-36. In its place, the Court

substituted an amended regulation that permitted widespread

dissemination of truthful information to residents about

casino gambling in the Spanish language press, as well as the

distribution of promotional material in Spanish, but banned

36 A semantic difficulty is concealed in the articulation of Rhode

Island’s “interest”. While Rhode Island asserts a long-range “interest” in

temperance, its short term “interest” is consumer ignorance. In testing the

sufficiency of the state’s interest in censorship under Central Hudson,

amici believe that both long-term and short-term interests must be tested.

23

promotional advertising “aimed” at natives of Puerto Rico.

Posadas, therefore, does not support Rhode Island’s effort to

impose a flat ban on the dissemination of truthful information

about prices, since, in Posadas, ample alternative means

of transmitting the information in question were carefully

left open.*’ Moreover, to the extent that dictum in Posadas

upholds the government’s power to use censorship of truthful

information to manipulate consumer behavior because con-

sumers cannot be trusted to act responsibly, it is inconsistent

with the rationale used by the Court in those few settings

where truthful commercial speech has been regulated.

In Ohralik v. Ohio State Bar Ass’n, 436 U.S. 447 (1978),

for example, a ban on face-to-face solicitation of accident vic-

tims by lawyers was upheld, not because consumers could not

be trusted with the information, but because the Court feared

that the lack of public scrutiny posed an unacceptable risk of

misleading speech and overreaching behavior. Once again, in

Board of Trustees of the State University v. Fox, 492 U.S. 469

(1989), the Court sustained a ban on commercial speech by

outsiders in college dormitories, not because the students

could not be trusted with the information, but because the

presence of outsiders in the dormitory posed a threat to the

students’ physical safety. Finally, in Florida Bar v. Went For

It, Inc., 1995 WL 365648 (U.S.), the Court upheld a 30

day moratorium on targeted mail solicitation of accident vic-

tims by lawyers. But the Florida ban was not premised on

mistrust of the consumer’s ability to deal responsibly with

truthful information. Indeed, Justice O’Connor’s opinion for

the Court carefully disavowed “paternalism” and was

expressly premised on the widespread availability of infor-

mation to the protected consumers.

di Amici believe that Posadas was wrongly decided even when

read properly, since absolutely no basis existed to assume that natives of

Puerto Rico were less competent to deal with truthful advertising than

their North American visitors.

24

A common thread runs through Ohralik, Fox, and Florida

Bar. In each case a consumer’s special circumstances were

held to support a narrowly tailored regulation that: (1) did not

cut off the flow of commercial information to the affected

consumers; (2) did not impede the flow of commercial infor-

mation to the rest of the population; and (3) was strictly lim-

ited in terms of time and physical reach. While amici believe

that Posadas can be read narrowly in a manner that is con-

sistent with Ohralik, Fox and Florida Bar, at bottom it stands

as the only case in the modern era in which the Court has

even arguably upheld censorship based on mistrust of a con-

sumer’s ability to deal with truthful commercial speech. In

Coors, the Court disavowed the most extreme implications of

Posadas. It is long past time to repudiate any surviving pater-

nalistic invitation to treat consumers as unable to deal respon-

sibly with truthful commercial speech. In any event, neither

Posadas, Ohralik, Fox nor Florida Bar support a total ban on

the flow of truthful commercial information to an entire pop-

ulation in the hope of manipulating consumer behavior.”**

C. Rhode Island Has Not Demonstrated

That Its Censorship Scheme Will Directly

and Materially Reduce the Irresponsible

Consumption of Alcohol.

Rhode Island has failed to demonstrate that censorship of

price information will, in fact, “directly and materially”

reduce the irresponsible consumption of alcohol within the

meaning of Central Hudson. When, as here, First Amendment

protection turns on a contested factual question, this Court

has made it clear that the judiciary must conduct an inde-

pendent review of the factual undepinnings of any censorship

scheme. Turner Broadcasting Co. v. FCC, 114 S.Ct. 2445

(1994); Edenfield v. Fane, 113 S.Ct. 1792 (1993); Ibanez v.

38 == Amici believe that the Court erred in Florida Bar in treating

some Florida residents as too thin-skinned to receive commercial infor-

mation in the mail that might be of benefit to them.

25

Florida Board of Accountancy, 114 S.Ct. 2084 (1994). Unfor-

tunately, the court below abdicated its responsibility to con-

duct a searching review of Rhode Island’s claim that banning

price advertising materially diminishes the irresponsible con-

sumption of alcohol. Instead, the First Circuit deferred totally

to the unsubstantiated hunch of the Rhode Island legislature.*

At trial, several experts testified that no correlation existed

between price advertising and per capita alcohol consump-

tion. See 829 F.Supp. at 544-550. Most tellingly, the per

capita consumption patterns of states that limited price adver-

tising were shown to be no lower (and sometimes higher) than

states that permitted it. 829 F.Supp. at 546. Rhode Island’s

inability to document a correlation between price advertising

and per capita aicohol consumption is not a coincidence. It

flows from the inherent difficulty of predicting the effect of

price advertising on retail prices® and from the near impos-

sibility of predicting the effects of small price changes on

demand for beverages containing alcohol.*' Thus, both courts

below agreed that, at most, Rhode Island had demonstrated a

rational basis for hoping that a ban on price advertising would

reduce irresponsible alcohol consumption, but had failed to

demonstrate that it would, in fact, do so.

39 Deference to legislative fact-finding is particularly inappropriate

in this case, since the Rhode Island legislature apparently made abso-

lutely no effort to explore the factual issues before enacting the statute

in 1956. See Sable Comunications, Inc. v. F.C.C., 492 U.S. 115 (1989);

Lopez v. United States, 63 U.S.L.W. 4343 (1995).

40 For example, in Bates, Arizona argued that price advertising

would raise the price of legal services. 433 U.S. at 377-78. Rhode Island

claims in this case that price advertising will depress retail cost.

“ Rhode Island’s assumption that small price differentials will

translate into diminished consumption of alcohol overlooks the fact that

the alcohol market is complex and highly differentiated. Thus, changes

in price generally result in a shift to other brands or to other types of

beverage.

26

The District Court, recognizing that this Court has consis-

tently required would-be censors to demonstrate that cen-

sorship would, in fact, materially alleviate the asserted harm,

found that Rhode Island had failed to carry its burden of

proof. 829 F. Supp. at 554-55. The First Circuit agreed that

Rhode Island was obliged to demonstrate the efficacy of its

censorship scheme, but dramatically reduced the weight of the

would-be censor’s burden. Instead of requiring proof that the

censorship scheme would, in fact, reduce irresponsible con-

sumption, the First Circuit asked merely whether it was “rea-

sonable” for Rhode Island to hope that censorship of price

information would decrease irresponsible consumption. 39

F.3d at 7-8. In effect, the First Circuit substituted a “rational

basis” standard of review more appropriate for testing efforts

to regulate behavior for the heightened scrutiny standard

associated with review of efforts to censor speech.** Compare,

Cincinnati v. Discovery Network, Inc., 113 S.Ct. 1505, 1510

n.13 (1993) (rejecting rational basis review of speech regu-

lations) with F.C.C. v. Beach Communications, Inc., 113 S.Ct.

2096 (1993) (applying rational basis scrutiny to regulation of

behavior).*°

Ordinarily, the majority may regulate behavior in the ratio-

nal hope that regulatory activity may bring about a desired

social result. Wisconsin v. Mitchell, 113 S.Ct. 1811 (1993).

Where, however, speech is the target of a censor because of

allegations that its message leads to undesirable behavior, the

42 In fact, the First Circuit's analysis shifts the burden of proof to

the speaker. The Court below held that unless petitioner could disprove

Rhode Island’s assertions, they would remain as a reasonable basis for

the censorship. In effect, therefore, under the First Circuit’s analysis, a

censorship scheme must be upheld unless the speaker disproves all of the

censor’s assertions. See /banez v. Florida Board of Accountancy, 114

S.Ct. 2084 (1994)

43 Justice O’Connor’s opinion in Florida Bar, supra, explicitly

eschews rational basis review. WL 365648 (U.S.) at p.3.

27

government must do more than assert a rational belief that

sweeping censorship of truthful information about price will

foster responsible use of alcohol. In a commercial speech con-

text, the government must demonstrate that banning truthful

information about prices will, in fact, reduce irresponsible

alcohol consumption. Edenfield v. Fane, 113 S.Ct. 1792

(1993). Both lower courts agree that Rhode Island has failed

to carry such a burden.

Prior to the pathbreaking free speech opinions of Justices

Holmes and Brandeis,“* speech could be banned merely

because the censor had a rational basis for asserting that it

had a “bad tendency” to lead to undesirable behavior. Gitlow

v. New York, 268 U.S. 652 (1925). The very essence of mod-

ern free speech protection is a rejection of the bad ten-

dency/rational basis test in favor of heightened judicial

scrutiny of a censor’s assertion that speech may be banned

because it causes undesirable behavior. In many non-com-

mercial speech contexts, the bad tendency/rational basis test

has been supplanted by the “clear and present danger” te t.

Brandenburg v. Ohio, 395 U.S. 444 (1969). In the commercial

speech area, the heightened causation requirement is reflected

by the obligation of a would-be censor to establish that cen-

sorship is necessary to directly and materially alleviate the

asserted harm. Edenfield v. Fane, 113 S.Ct. 1792 (1993); Cen-

tral Hudson Gas & Electric Corp. v. Pub. Svc. Comm'n, 447

U.S. 557 (1980).

44 Schenck v. United States, 249 U.S. 47 (1919); Abrams v. United

States, 250 U.S. 616, 627 (1919) (Holmes and Brandeis dissenting);

United States ex rel Milwaukee Soc. Democrat Publishing Co., v.

Burleson, 255 U.S. 407, 436-38 (1920) (Holmes, J. dissenting); Gilbert

v. Minnesota, 254 U.S. 325, 337 (1920) (Brandeis, J. dissenting); Pierce

v. United States, 252 U.S. 239, 272-73 (1920) (Holmes and Brandeis, dis-

senting); Schuyler v. United States, 251 U.S. 466, 482 (1920) (Holmes

and Brandeis, JJ. dissenting); Whitney v. California, 274 U.S. 357, 372-

78 (1927) (Brandeis and Holmes, concurring).

28

Unfortunately, while the First Circuit claimed to apply First

Amendment scrutiny, its analysis resurrects the discredited

bad tendency/rational basis test. Rational basis is not, how-

ever, the test in a modern First Amendment case. Discovery

Network, 113 S.Ct. 1510, n. 13. Indeed, adoption of a rational

basis/bad tendency standard in commercial free speech cases

would drain the term “directly advance” of any meaning. It

would virtually eliminate any practical distinction between

regulating commercial speech and regulating economic

behavior.

Although this Court has not explicitly defined a commercial

censor’s precise burden of proof, its commercial speech cases

apply a heightened test that requires would-be censors to

prove that censorship will, in fact, “directly” and “materially”

advance the censor’s asserted interest. Eg. Virginia State

Board of Pharmacy v. Virginia Citizens Consumer Council,

425 U.S. 748 (1976); Linmark Associates, Inc. v. Willingboro

Tp., 431 U.S. 85 (1977); Carey v. Population Services, Int’l.,

431 U.S. 678 (1977); Central Hudson Gas & Elec. Corp. v.

Public Service Comm'n, 447 U.S. 557 (1980); Edenfield v.

Fane, 113 S.Ct. 1792 (1993); Ibanez v. Florida Board of

Accountancy, 114 S.Ct. 2084 (1994). Most recently, in Rubin

v. Coors Brewing Co., 115 S.Ct. 1585 (1995), Justice Thomas

observed that “educated guesses” and “anecdotal evidence”

could not substitute for proof of the close nexus that must be

shown to exist between commercial speech and harm. 115

S.Ct. at 1593.*

Justice Kennedy, writing for eight members of the Court in

Edenfield, ruled that Florida had failed to demonstrate the

requisite causal link between the targeted speech and the

= Florida Bar, supra, is not to the contrary. In Florida Bar, Jus-

tice O'Connor noted that both the need for the regulation and its efficacy

were supported by extensive unrebutted factual evidence. In this case,

both lower courts are in agreement that the factual underpinnings of the

Rhode Island statute have been thoroughly eroded. Only by applying a

rational basis standard of review was the First Circuit able to save the

Statute.

29

feared feared evil. In words particularly applicable to this

case, Justice Kennedy noted:

This burden [proving that censorship will “directly

advance” a governmental interest] is not satisfied by

mere speculation or conjecture; rather a governmental

body seeking to sustain a restriction on commercial

speech must demonstrate that the harms it recites are real

and that its restriction will in fact alleviate them to a

material degree. [citations omitted]. Without this

requirement, a State could with ease restrict commercial

speech in the service of other objectives that could not

themselves justify a burden on commercial expression.

113 S.Ct. at 1800. (emphasis added).

Of course, that is precisely what is taking place in this case.

Unless Rhode Island is held to a significant burden of prov-

ing that a ban on price advertising actually fosters temper-

ance, Rhode Island will have succeeded in parlaying a

legitimate concern with fostering responsible use of aicohol

into an illegitimate exercise in economic protectionism.

Under the First Amendment, Rhode Island is obliged to prove

not merely that its desire to censor is reasonable; it must

prove that that its censorship scheme will succeed.

D. The Scope of Rhode Island’s Censorship

Program Is Far Broader Than Necessary.

In the commercial speech context, a would-be censor must

explore less drastic means of advancing the state’s interest

without resorting to censorship. Rubin v. Coors Brewing Co.,

115 S.Ct. 1585 (1995). While the less drastic means require-

ment in a commercial speech context does not require

mechanical invalidation of a regulation merely because other

alternatives may exist, Board of Trustees v. Fox, 492 U.S. 469

(1989), it does require a careful effort to avoid unnecessary

censorship. Peel v. Att'y Registration & Disc. Comm'n, 496

U.S. 91 (1990). For example, in Rubin v. Coors Brewing Co.,

30

115 S.Ct. 1585 (1995), Justice Thomas noted that the exis-

tence of several alternatives “all of which could advance the

Government’s asserted interest in a manner less intrusive to

[the speaker’s] First Amendment rights” provided an inde-

pendent reason to invalidate the statute. In Coors, the most

obvious alternative noted by Justice Thomas was direct reg-

ulation of alcohol content. Direct regulation is equally avail-

able to Rhode Island. If Rhode Island can demonstrate that

unduly low prices cause irresponsible consumption of alcohol,

Rhode Island may seek to set a state minimum price, just as it

has done for cigarettes. R.I. Gen. Laws 6-13-2. While amici

believe that such an interference with the free market would

be unwise, of doubtful constitutionality and unresponsive to

the real issues posed by problem drinking, at least it would

avoid widespread censorship and would permit the people of

Rhode Island to make a decision about the wisdom of price

control after an open debate. More constructively, Rhode

Island could attack problem drinking head-on by enacting

serious programs of education, treatment and law enforce-

ment. For, at bottom, tinkering with the price of alcohol,

either directly or covertly via censorship, does nothing about

problem drinking. It simply transfers wealth from consumers

to favored retailers. When, as here, Rhode Island effects such

a wealth transfer through censorship, it violates the First

Amendment.

CONCLUSION

For the above stated reasons, the decision of the United

States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit should be

reversed.

Dated: July 6, 1995

New York, New York

31

Respectfully submitted,

Burt Neuborne

40 Washington Square South

New York, New York 10012

(212) 998-6172

Attorney for Amici Curiae

(Counsel of Record)

Gilbert H. Weil

60 East 42nd Street

New York, New York 10165

Attorney for A.N.A.

Henry L. Baumann

Valerie Schulte

National Association of

Broadcasters

1771 N. St., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

Attorneys for NAB

John F. Kamp

American Association of

Advertising Agencies

1899 L. Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

Attorney for A.A.A.A.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.