Amicus Curiae Brief — Department of Taxation and Finance of NY v. Milhelm Attea & Bros.

Supreme Court brief1994

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court of the United Sfaigs,, ,... .

October Term, 1993

¢

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION AND FINANCE OF THE

STATE OF NEW YORK, et al.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

MILHELM ATTEA & BROS. INC.,

Respondent.

o

JAMES W. WETZLER, as Commissioner of Taxation and

Finance of the State of New York, et al.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

ELIAS H. ATTEA, JR., 6175 Stickler Street,

Clarence, New York 14031,

Respondent.

S

On Writ Of Certiorari To The Court of Appeals

Of The State Of New York

o

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF THE CHEYENNE-ARAPAHO

FRIBES OF OKLAHOMA, THE NATIONAL CONGRESS OF

AMERICAN INDIANS, et al. IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

S

Metopy L. McCoy*

YVONNE TERESA KNIGHT

Km Jerome GorrscHALK

Native AMERICAN RIGHTS FUND

1506 Broadway

Boulder, CO 80302

(303) 447-8760

Counsel the Cheyenne-Arapaho

Tribes of Oklahoma, the National

Congress of American Indians, et al.

“Counsel of Record for All Amici

January 1994

(additional amici listed inside)

QQ

mm

iF

hendheead

—

ee}

— ©

a |

— «

—_

—

—

Cf)

hendheed

co

CAF OS 0 OE eB “o”

__Salish and Kootenai Tribes of (612) 893-1813

BertRAM E. Hirscu

81-33 258th Street

Floral Park, NY 11004

(718) 347-3022 1136 Pearl Street, Suite 203

Counsel for the Sisseton- Boulder, CO 80302

Wahpeton Dakota Nation, (303) 444-2549

also known as the Sisseton- Counsel for the Blac

Wahpeton Sioux Tribe Tribe of the Blackfeet Indian

Patrick L. Smomn Reservation and the Ute

é' Indian Tribe of the Uintah

Legal Department

Confederated Salish and and Ouray Reservation

Kootenai Tribes of the Curt V. BLuEDoc

Flathead Nation BiuEDoc Law Orrice, P.A.

P.O. Box 278 Southgate Office Plaza

Pablo, MT 59855 Suite 670

(406) 675-2700 5001 West 80th Street

Counsel for the Confederated Bloomington, MN 55437

the Flathead Nation Counsel for the Shakopee

Mdewakanton Dakota

MicHaet E. Taytor Community

Reservation Attorney

Confederated Tribes of the

Colville Reservation

Box 150

Nespelem, WA 99155

(509) 634-4711

Counsel for the Confederated

Tribes of the Colville

Reservation

Additional Amici

Jicarilla Apache Tribe

Pueblo of Laguna

Rosebud Sioux Tribe

Santa Ana Pueblo

Stockbridge-Munsee Community Band of Mohican

Indians

Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Indian

Reservation

TABLE OF CONTENTS

CEE coc cbctccccseccbrscecocce

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE................

INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

“ese eevee eneeeneeeneeeeeneeeneeeeeee ere eee hh ee eee

TT Ti ccradebbnsebaddeseeceeesctoecsececes

I. THE STATE CIGARETTE TAX REGULATIONS IN

THIS CASE ARE INVALID UNDER FEDERAL

LAW AT LEAST TO THE EXTENT THEY

RESTRICT SALES OF UNTAXED CIGARETTES

TO TRIBAL MEMBERS IN INDIAN COUNTRY. .

A. State Regulation Of Cigarette Sales To Tribal

Members In Indian Country Is Preempted

By The Indian Traders Statutes And By The

Compelling Federal And Tribal Interests In

Tribal Self-Government And Economic

ET nenbedestéecccoccccecescoeces

B. State Regulation Of Cigarette Sales To Tribal

Members In Indian Country Infringes On

Tribal Self-Government....................

Il. IN CASES WHERE A TRIBE HAS ENACTED

ITS OWN ENFORCEMENT SCHEME OR

ENTERED INTO A COMPACT WITH A STATE

WHICH ADDRESSES THE COLLECTION AND

REMITTANCE OF VALID STATE TAXES ON

CIGARETTE SALES TO NON-MEMBERS IN

INDIAN COUNTRY, THE APPLICABLE PRE-

SUMPTION SHOULD BE THAT SUCH TRIBAL

LAWS AND COMPACTS PREEMPT THE

STATE’S ENFORCEMENT SCHEME...........

12

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

Ill. IN CASES WHERE CIGARETTE SALES ARE

AN INCIDENTAL ASPECT OF A LARGER,

RESERVATION-BASED TRIBAL ECONOMIC

DEVELOPMENT PROJECT, TRIBAL INTER-

ESTS MAY OUTWEIGH STATE INTERESTS IN

TAXING NON-MEMBER CIGARETTE PUR-

GE bd dbccdcescdecesecéccvnbeconhesseceres 18

CUE acc nssssnevncdistateneianens Sr

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Brendale v. Confederated Tribes and Bands of the

Yakima Indian Nation, 492 U.S. 408 (1989)........ 14

California v. Cabazon Band of Mission Indians,

Ge Ce ee is 6066s cbeckctesevcs 11, 18, 19, 20

Central Machinery Co. v. Arizona Tax Comm’‘n,

ee Se SE, ic. Finn oudaddbedoabbunundvic< 10

Citizen Band Potawatomi Indian Tribe of Okla-

homa v. Oklahoma Tax Comm’‘n, 888 F.2d 1303

(10th Cir. 1989), aff'd in part and rev'd in part, 498

ey I On oo ec oe nadedadenesdiubunees 11

Cotton Petroleum Corp. v. New Mexico, 490 U.S.

eee hee enaneneae ae 14

County of Yakima v. Confederated Tribes and

Bands of the Yakima Indian Nation, 502 U.S.

oi, CL dis cht tchekebéchewdeaaee« 14

Gila River Indian Community v. Waddell, 967 F.2d

GL ERIE AE I eee ae 18

Indian Country, U.S.A., Inc. v. Oklahoma ex rel.

Oklahoma Tax Comm'n, 829 F.2d 967 (10th Cir.

1987), cert. denied, 487 U.S. 1218 (1988)............ 21

lowa Mutual Ins. Co. v. LaPlante, 480 U.S. 9 (1987) .... 17

McClanahan v. Arizona Tax Comm'n, 411 U.S. 164

ae Ras aE og GaN ot Ee ere ae ee rene 13

Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians v. Holyfield,

ee en ee dunehuwenas 17

Moe v. Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes of

the Flathead Reservation, 425 U.S. 463 (1976)..... passim

National Farmers Union Ins. Cos. v. Crow Tribe,

ne ccs cdadnbebkubbaaue des

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

New Mexico v. Mescalero Apache Tribe, 462 U.S.

Be ME cc ccdscnedcdetisddcndnobadiis 14, 17, 18, 20

Oklahoma Tax Comm’n v. Citizen Band

Potawatomi Indian Tribe of Oklahoma, 498 U.S.

fC OTe eT TT TTT TTT TTT rT Te 13, 17

Oklahoma Tax Comm'n v. Sac and Fox Nation, 508

if oe Re eee 12

Ramah Navajo School Bd. v. Bureau of Revenue,

— 5 Ff —_- PPT eTTTeT rer reT Te TTT Tee 10

Warren Trading Post Co. v. Arizona Tax Comm’n,

Be Ce GE ED vee ccccucecccasccedetucess 3, 9, 12

Washington v. Confederated Tribes of the Colville

Indian Reservation, 447 U.S. 134 (1980)....... passim

White Mountain Apache Tribe v. Bracker, 448 U.S.

BP ec cctcnvescnascvensscesccsesecocse 10, 12, 15

Williams v. Lee, 358 U.S. 217 (1959).............. 12, 13

Unitrep States STATUTES

The Indian Traders Statutes, 25 U.S.C. §§ 261-264..... )

The Indian Child Welfare Act, 25 U.S.C.

i PEED SEceusewsnceneevcescececscsgestuevece 17

The Indian Gaming Regulatory Act, 25 U.S.C

DT cuncadunuashactdentescesansesavescccaus 20

State STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

New York Tax Law §§ 481, 1814, 1846, and 1847..... 7

SD OD MEME cc ccccccccccscessccoocccee passim

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

N-88-53, Notice to Registered Distributors of

Motor Fuel, Diesel Motor Fuel and Licensed

Cigarette Agents Regarding Sales of Tax-Free

Product on Indian Reservations.................. 8, 9

TripAL Copes AND ORDINANCES

Cheyenne-Arapaho Tribes of Oklahoma General

Revenue and Taxation Act of 1988, Ordinance

Pe, GER CE, By, BOE. cccccccccccccvcccscces

Flathead Nation Tax Exempt Sales Ordinance, No.

Se SE CE edn diudedesdasudevescivendceeds

Sisseton-Wahpeton Sioux Tribes Codes of Law,

Chapter 10, Retail Business Tangible Personal

Property Sales Tax Act (Feb. 5, 1986) and Chap-

ter 12, Tribal Tobacco Outlets Excise Tax Act

ar SED Given ios 460044 00040600400NKeiiene eee

COMPACTS AND AGREEMENTS

Agreement Between the Shakopee Mdewakanton

Indian Community and the Department of Rev-

enue of the State of Minnesota Related to the

Refund of Precollected Excise Taxes on Ciga-

SE Gs ED eddcuesddseccavidcoccscccadecsss

Agreement Between the Stockbridge-Munsee

Tribe and the Department of Revenue of the

State of Wisconsin Related to the Refund of

Precollected Excise Taxes on Cigarettes (Aug.

PS SS-Cenannacucsesdennesaswsdedeenbbusiescewes

No. 93-377

¢

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1993

°

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION AND FINANCE OF THE

STATE OF NEW YORK, et al.,

Petitioners,

V.

MILHELM ATTEA & BROS. INC., et al.,

Respondent.

oe |

JAMES W. WETZLER, as Commissioner of Taxation and

Finance of the State of New York, et al.,

Petitioners,

V.

ELIAS H. ATTEA, JR., 6175 Stickler Street,

Clarence, New York 14031,

Respondent.

°

On Writ Of Certiorari To The Court of Appeals

Of The State Of New York

e

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF THE CHEYENNE-ARAPAHO

TRIBES OF OKLAHOMA, THE NATIONAL CONGRESS OF

AMERICAN INDIANS, et al. IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

e

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE!

Amici curiae are thirteen federally recognized Indian

tribes and one national Indian organization.? Amici have a

substantial interest in issues regarding sales of cigarettes

in Indian country. Some Amici tribes sell cigarettes to

non-tribal members and to members in Indian country, in

their convenience stores and in conjunction with other

tribal businesses. All Amici tribes exercise their sovereign

jurisdiction over cigarette sales and other commercial

activities in Indian country. They do so under this Court's

cases and under other federal law confirming their sover-

eignty, including their sovereign right to be free from

state jurisdiction in Indian country.

The State of New York (hereinafter “the State”) here

seeks to enforce quotas on the number of untaxed ciga-

rettes that may be sold to tribal members in Indian coun-

try. The State also presumes to regulate how and where

these sales will occur and how and where such purchases

may be used. The paramount issue in this case then is

whether a state can regulate cigarette sales to tribal mem-

bers in Indian country. Amici strenuously urge this Court

1 Counsel for Petitioner does not object and Counsel for

Respondents consent to the filing of the Brief of Amici. Their

letters are submitted for filing herewith.

2 The National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) is the

oldest and largest national organization of Indian governments

and individuals in the United States. NCAI is dedicated to

protecting the rights and improving the welfare of American

Indians and Alaska Natives, to enlightening the public toward a

better understanding of Indian people, and to preserving rights

under Indian treaties and agreements with the United States.

to reject the State’s backhanded attempt to regulate such

sales.

Several Amici supporting the State in this case

broadly assert or imply that Indian retailers are not abid-

ing by their obligations under federal law to collect and

remit valid state taxes on cigarette sales to non-tribal

members, and that Indians are engaged in widespread

marketing of naked cigarette tax exemptions to non-mem-

bers in Indian country. Amici urge this Court, in fashion-

ing its opinion in this case, to consider that many tribes

have enacted regulations or entered into agreements with

states addressing cigarette tax collection in Indian coun-

try, and that sales of cigarettes in Indian country to non-

members increasingly occur in the context of value gener-

ated on the reservation and in conjunction with the provi-

sion of services to non-members.

¢

INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

In this case, wholesale distributors who supply ciga-

rettes to Indian retailers on reservations located in New

York challenge the State’s cigarette tax laws and regula-

tions. The New York Court of Appeals held the laws and

regulations invalid under federal law. The court distin-

guished the laws and regulations here from those

involved in Moe v. Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes of

the Flathead Reservation, 425 U.S. 463 (1976) and Washing-

ton v. Confederated Tribes of the Colville Indian Reservation,

447 U.S. 134 (1980) on the grounds that the State assesses

its cigarette taxes on wholesalers, not retailers. The court

then held that the rule of Warren Trading Post Co. v.

Arizona Tax Comm'n, 380 U.S. 685 (1965), that federal law

has completely preempted state regulation of reservation

Indian trade, applied in this case rather than Moe and its

progeny. Alternatively, the court found the laws and reg-

ulations impose undue burdens on the wholesalers.

The New York Court of Appeals reached the correct

result, at least with respect to regulation of sales of ciga-

rettes to tribal members, though it failed to note the most

compelling reason for that result. The thrust of the state

laws and- regulations is twofold. The laws assess whole-

salers for taxes imposed on retail cigarette sales, includ-

ing sales on Indian reservations to non-tribal members.*

The regulations regulate on-reservation sales of untaxed

cigarettes to tribal members. They do this by dictating

how and where tribal Indians can sell, purchase, and use

untaxed cigarettes. In this sense the state regulations are

unlike any heretofore examined by this Court.

In Part I of this Brief Amici address the State’s regula-

tion of sales of cigarettes to tribal members in Indian

country. We show how that regulation is preempted by

federal law and infringes on tribal self-government.

In Parts II and III we address the analytical approach

this Court should adopt in determining whether and how

a state may enforce its taxes on cigarette sales to non-

members in Indian country in two situations involving

tribal interests not presented by the facts of Moe and

Colville.

3 Amici do not address the issue of the State’s right to assess

wholesalers for taxes imposed on retail sales of cigarettes to

non-tribal members in Indian country.

The first situation involves tribal efforts to comply

with the holdings in Moe and Colville that tribes must

assist in enforcing valid state taxes on cigarette sales to

non-members. We urge this Court to adopt the principle

that the existence of tribal laws or tribal-state compacts

which address collection and remittance of the state taxes

overcomes the presumption that a state enforcement

scheme is necessary to prevent tax evasion, and shifts the

burden to the state to show that the tribal enforcement

scheme is ineffective.

The second situation focuses on the nature of the

cigarette sales and involves instances where the sales to

non-members are an incidental aspect of a larger on-

reservation tribal economic enterprise involving provi-

sion of services to non-members. In such situations, we

urge the Court to adopt the principle that the state’s

interest in taxing non-member sales is outweighed by

tribal and federal interests and therefore state taxes may

not be imposed on such sales.

+

ARGUMENT

I. THE STATE CIGARETTE TAX REGULATIONS IN

THIS CASE ARE INVALID UNDER FEDERAL LAW

AT LEAST TO THE EXTENT THEY RESTRICT

SALES OF UNTAXED CIGARETTES TO TRIBAL

MEMBERS IN INDIAN COUNTRY

The State here comprehensively and unlawfully regu-

lates sales of cigarettes to tribal members in Indian coun-

try at the retail and consumer levels. It prescribes how

many untaxed cigarettes can be sold to Indian retailers on

their reservations, where the retailers must take delivery

of these cigarettes, how the tribal members must use the

untaxed cigarettes they buy, and where they must use

them.

The State incorrectly frames the issue regarding these

regulations as whether they are “minimal burdens”

designed to assist in the collection of valid state taxes on

reservation sales of cigarettes to non-tribal members. Moe

v. Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes of the Flathead

Reservation, 425 U.S. 463 (1976) and Washington v. Confed-

erated Tribes of the Colville Indian Reservation, 447 U.S. 134

(1980) sanctioned the imposition of minimal burdens by

states on tribes which were reasonably necessary to pre-

vent fraud in cigarette sales to non-members. In Colville,

for example, state regulations requiring tribes and Indian

retailers to keep records of the numerical and dollar

amounts of sales they made to non-tribal members and to

tribal members were upheld. 447 U.S. at 160.

However, no attempt was made by states in those

cases to restrict the number of untaxed cigarettes which

could be sold to tribal members. This distinction is criti-

cal. The minimal burden test should not be applied to

determine the validity of direct state regulation of sales to

members. Rather, such regulation is invalid because it is

preempted by federal law and infringes on tribal self-

government.

A. State Regulation Of Cigarette Sales To Tribal

Members In Indian Country Is Preempted By

The Indian Traders Statutes And By The Com-

pelling Federal And Tribal Interests In Tribal

Self-Government And Economic Development

The State here sets a quota on the number of untaxed

cigarettes which Indian retailers may purchase for resale

on their reservations. 20 NYCRR §§ 335.7(b), 335.7(c), and

335.7(d). Indian retailers are prohibited from purchasing,

selling, or possessing untaxed cigarettes beyond the

quota. Id. at § 335.7(e); see also New York Tax Law §§ 481,

1814, 1846, and 1847 (proscribing civil and criminal pen-

alties for unlawful possession of untaxed cigarettes). The

State readily admits it limits “the amount of tax free

product which may be purchased by the tribal

retailers. .. . ” State’s Op. Br. at 24.

The quota is based on an amount “reasonably related

to the probable demand” for cigarettes by tribal members

on a reservation. 20 NYCRR § 335.7(d)(1). Probable

demand is determined in one of two ways. Id. at

§ 335.7(d)(2). The State must consult with tribes that

regulate, license, or control the sale and distribution of

cigarettes within their reservations regarding evidence

the tribes may submit to such probable demand, includ-

ing sales records, consumption records, tribal enrollment

records, and other statistical evidence. Id. at

§ 335.7(d)(2)(i). In the absence of tribal regulation or

evidence, the State will calculate the probable demand

“based on the New York average consumption per capita,

as compiled for the most recently completed calendar or

fiscal year, multiplied by the number of enrolled mem-

bers of the affected nation or tribe. ... ” Id. at

§ 335.7(d)(2)(ii); see also State’s Op. Br. at 19 (probable

demand is “an amount no greater than the maximum

legitimate Indian consumption of the reservation”).

Wholesalers and Indian retailers must register with

the State to purchase untaxed cigarettes. 20 NYCRR

§§ 335.6(b)(4) and 335.6(f). Prior approval of the State or

regulating tribe is required for each sale or delivery of

untaxed cigarettes. Id. at § 335.7(c). The quota system is

implemented through a “coupon system” imposed on

wholesalers and Indian retailers. See Notice to Registered

Distributors of Motor Fuel, Diesel Motor Fuel and

Licensed Cigarette Agents Regarding Sales of Tax-Free

Product on Indian Reservations, N-88-53, New York State

Department of Taxation and Finance, reprinted in the Joint

Appendix in this case at 44a-50a.

The State issues monthly, to all registered whole-

salers and Indian retailers, an allotment of coupons (each

coupon represents 400 packages of cigarettes) based on

the quotas of untaxed cigarettes for each reservation.*

Coupons are among the sales records which wholesalers

4 The regulations set the quota on a reservation-wide basis,

but do not explain how that quota is to be shared among whole-

salers or Indian retailers where there are more than one dealing

with or operating on a reservation. Likewise, Notice N-88-53

provides that “[t]he reservation allotment of tax-free product

will . . . be allocated among the registered dealers located on

that reservation by means of a tax exemption coupon,” but fails

to explain how. It is reasonable, however, to presume that the

State has some means of addressing the division of the quota

among reservation retailers. Such action intensifies the state

intrusion into the federally preempted field of regulating sales

to tribal members.

ts

and Indian retailers must complete and remit to the State.

Untaxed cigarette purchases by the retailers must be

made according to the coupons which specify the dealer,

location of delivery, and numerical amount of cigarettes

which may be delivered/purchased. Notice N-88-53; see

also State’s Op. Br. at 12-13 and 22-23.

As purchasers and consumers of untaxed cigarettes,

tribal members are also regulated. They may buy untaxed

cigarettes only “within the boundaries of a qualified res-

ervation for [their] own use or consumption (i.e. other

than for resale) within such reservation.” 20 NYCRR

§ 335.6(b)(1)(ii); accord § 335.6(e)(1) (tribal members may

purchase untaxed cigarettes only if they take delivery of

the cigarettes on their reservations and purchase them for

their own use or consumption within such reservation).

Hence, tribal members apparently cannot, for example,

give untaxed cigarettes as gifts to other tribal members,

and they clearly cannot smoke or take them off their

reservations.

All of these provisions go far beyond recording and

reporting cigarette sales made to tribal members and

amount to direct regulation of those sales unauthorized

by any act of Congress and contrary to decisions of this

Court. In Warren Trading Post Co. v. Arizona Tax Comm'n,

380 U.S. 685 (1965), this Court invalidated the application

of a state sales tax on sales made to reservation Indians.

The Court held the traders statutes, 25 U.S.C. §§ 261-264,

part of the historic “comprehensive federal regulation” of

trade on Indian reservations, preempted the state law. 380

U.S. at 686 and 688. Specifically, the Court stated:

10

These apparently all-inclusive regulations and

the statutes authorizing them would seem in

themselves sufficient to show that Congress has

taken the business of Indian trading on reserva-

tions so fully in hand that no room remains for

state laws imposing additional burdens... .

Id. at 690.

Subsequently, the Indian traders statutes have been

held to preempt a variety of state taxes on reservation

commercial transactions and activities. E.g., White Moun-

tain Apache Tribe v. Bracker, 448 U.S. 136 (1980) (motor

carrier license and fuel use taxes as applied to non-Indian

logging company operating on reservation); Central

Machinery Co. v. Arizona Tax Comm'n, 448 U.S. 160 (1980)

(transaction privilege tax of on-reservation sale of trac-

tors to Indian enterprise); Ramah Navajo School Bd. v.

Bureau of Revenue, 458 U.S. 832 (1982) (tax on gross

receipts of non-Indian construction company received

from tribal school board for construction of school on

reservation).

Taxation is merely a form of regulation and the

traders statutes themselves do not speak in terms of how

a state may regulate, they speak to whether the state may

regulate and they say it may not. As this Court stated in

Central Machinery:

[W]e held in Warren Trading Post by enacting

these statutes Congress ‘has undertaken to regu-

late reservation trading in such a comprehensive

way that there is no room for the States to

legislate on the subject. .. . ‘ Until Congress

repeals or amends the Indian traders stat-

utes ... we must give them ‘a sweep as broad as

c-

11

[their] language . . . ‘ and interpret them in light

of the intent of the Congress that enacted them.

448 U.S. at 165-66 (citations omitted); accord Colville, 447

U.S. at 155-56 (“The Indian traders statutes incorporate a

congressional desire comprehensively to regulate busi-

nesses selling goods to reservation Indians for cash or

exchange”).

Moreover, this Court has held state regulation of

tribes in Indian country to be preempted in cases where

taxation was not involved or was involved along with

other regulations. In California v. Cabazon Band of Mission

Indians, 480 U.S. 202 (1987), a state sought to apply its

gambling laws to tribal reservation bingo games. The

Court found no federal statute authorizing the state's

asserted jurisdiction and therefore noted that the “[dlJeci-

sion in this case turns on whether state authority is

preempted by the operation of federal law. . . . ” 480 U.S.

at 216.

The Court in Cabazon found the applicable tribal and

federal interests there to be “traditional notions of Indian

sovereignty and the congressional goal of Indian self-

government, including its ‘overriding goal’ of encourag-

ing tribal self-sufficiency and economic development,” as

well as promotion by federal agencies of tribal bingo

under various federal laws and programs. 480 U.S. at

216-19.5 These “compelling federal and tribal interests”

5 Similarly, other federal statutes and programs likely sup-

port Indian cigarette sales. See Citizen Band Potawatomi Indian

Tribe v. Oklahoma Tax Comm'n, 888 F.2d 1303, 1304 (10th Cir.

1989), aff'd in part and rev'd in part, Oklahoma Tax Comm'n v.

Citizen Band Potawatomi Indian Tribe, 498 U.S. 505 (1991)

12

preempted the state laws. Id. at 221-22; see also Moe, 425

U.S. at 480-81 (vendor license fee on reservation Indian

business held preempted); Oklahoma Tax Comm'n v. Sac

and Fox Nation, 508 U.S. __, 113 S.Ct. 1985 (1993) (motor

vehicle registration fee on tribal members in Indian coun-

try held preempted).

Under the traders statutes and these cases the State

regulation of cigarette sales to tribal members in Indian

country here is preempted. Once federal preemption of

an activity is found, the inquiry is over. All state regula-

tion is prohibited, since there is “no room” for it. Warren

Trading Post, 380 U.S. at 690. On this point the New York

Court of Appeals was absolutely correct. There is no need

to reach the minimal burden question with respect to

state regulation of reservation cigarette sales to tribal

members because there is no room for any burdens.

B. State Regulation of Cigarette Sales to Tribal

Members In Indian Country Infringes on Tribal

Self-Government

The State’s asserted regulation of intra-tribal trade in

Indian country also must fail because it infringes on the

right of Indian tribes to self-government. Infringement on

tribal self-government is an independent barrier to the

application of state law to tribal members in Indian coun-

try. White Mountain Apache Tribe v. Bracker, 448 U.S. at

142-43. This Court has long recognized that state law may

not infringe “on the right of reservation Indians to make

(tribal convenience store selling cigarettes was constructed with

federal funds).

13

their own laws and be ruled by them.” Williams v. Lee, 358

U.S. 217, 220 (1959).

State regulation of cigarette sales to tribal members

in Indian country would clearly interfere with significant

tribal and federal interests, including the Indian sover-

eignty and immunity doctrines and the congressional

goal of tribal self-government, especially the “overriding

goal of encouraging tribal self-sufficiency and economic

development.” See Potawatomi, 498 U.S. at 510.

The quota in particular would adversely affect tribes

that both sell cigarettes and tax those sales because it

would limit their potential sales revenues and tax reve-

nues. Even where tribes do not tax, the quota would

restrict potential sales revenue available to support the

operation of tribal governments and the delivery of gov-

ernmental services. The quota could also limit private

revenues and employment opportunities in retail sales,

thereby contributing to unemployment and poverty in

Indian country. The other regulations on tribal members

as retailers and consumers present obvious further intru-

sions on “the right of reservation Indians to make their

own laws and be ruled by them.” Williams v. Lee, 358 U.S.

at 220.

If the State here were taxing the cigarette sales to

tribal members it could not do so under Moe, Potawatomi,

and other cases of this Court, e.g., McClanahan v. Arizona

Tax Comm'n, 411 U.S. 164 (1973) (Indian tribes and their

members are “per se” exempt from state taxation in

Indian country unless Congress provides otherwise). A

fortiori the State cannot regulate these sales. Indeed, the

very nature of non-taxing regulations may present more

of a threat to tribal self-government. Dual taxation of

14

non-members in Indian country has been upheld in part

because taxpayers can be subject to different sovereigns.

E.g., Colville, 447 U.S. at 152-53 (state and tribal cigarette

taxes); Cotton Petroleum Corp. v. New Mexico, 490 U.S. 163

(1989) (state and tribal oil and gas severance taxes). But,

as the Court has recognized, compliance with dual regu-

latory schemes is much more difficult, if not impossible.

See Brendale v. Confederated Tribes and Bands of the Yakima

Indian Nation, 492 U.S. 408 (1989) (landowner cannot com-

ply simultaneously with tribal and county zoning and

land use regulations); New Mexico v. Mescalero Apache

Tribe, 462 U.S. 324 (1983) (denying state authority to

regulate hunting and fishing by non-members on a reser-

vation concurrently with tribe).

State regulation of sales of cigarettes to tribal mem-

bers in Indian country simply cannot be reconciled with

tribal self-government and self-determination.® Hence,

the decision below must be affirmed at least with respect

to the application of the state regulations to sales of

cigarettes to tribal members.’

6 Where federal and tribal interests have preempted a field,

there is no balancing of the state’s interest. See County of

Yakima v. Confederated Tribes and Bands of the Yakima Indian

Nation, 502 U.S. __, 112 S.Ct. 683 (1992). In such cases states

may only regulate tribal members in Indian country with

express congressional authorization. Id. at 692.

7 Amici express no opinion on the issue of whether the

unlawful regulation of cigarette sales to tribal members invali-

dates the entire state cigarette tax scheme. And, because we are

convinced that the federal preemption and infringement doc-

trines govern the decision in this case regarding state regulation

of sales to tribal members, we do not address the issue of

whether the state laws and regulations here impose undue bur-

dens under Moe and Colville.

15

Il. IN CASES WHERE A TRIBE HAS ENACTED ITS

OWN ENFORCEMENT SCHEME OR ENTERED

INTO A COMPACT WITH A STATE WHICH

ADDRESSES THE COLLECTION AND REMIT-

TANCE Of VALID STATE TAXES ON CIGARETTE

SALES TO NON-MEMBERS IN INDIAN COUN-

TRY, THE APPLICABLE PRESUMPTION SHOULD

BE THAT SUCH TRIBAL LAWS AND COMPACTS

PREEMPT THE STATE’S ENFORCEMENT

SCHEME

A state’s interest in regulating the activities of non-

members in Indian country must be weighed against the

relevant tribal and federal interests. Colville, 447 U.S. at

156-57; accord White Mountain Apache Tribe v. Bracker, 448

U.S. at 144-45. The issue of the State’s regulation of

cigarette sales to non-members in Indian country here

should be considered in light of a tribal interest appar-

ently not present in the record in this case, but which

nevertheless is pertinent to the ultimate reach of this

decision — one which will affect all of Indian country.

That interest relates to the exercise of tribal governmental

powers in compliance with Moe and Colville.

Several Amici tribes have enacted codes and ordi-

nances which govern taxation and regulation of cigarette

sales to members and non-members in Indian country.®

® E.g., Chapter 2, Cheyenne-Arapaho Tribes of Oklahoma

General Revenue and Taxation Act of 1988, Ordinance No.

8118003 (Apr. 27, 1988); Confederated Salish and Kootenai

Tribes of the Flathead Nation Tax Exempt Sales Ordinance, No.

94A (Sept. 28, 1993); Sisseton-Wahpeton Sioux Tribes Codes of

Law, Chapter 10, Retail Business Tangible Personal Property

Sales Tax Act (Feb. 5, 1986) and Chapter 12, Tribal Tobacco

Outlets and Excise Tax (May 4, 1982).

16

Amici are aware of other tribes which have similar regula-

tions. Some Amici have entered into compacts with states

which govern cigarette tax collection and enforcement in

Indian country.? Amici are aware of a growing number of

other tribes which have entered into similar agreements.

Where such tribal regulations or compacts address

the collection and remittance of valid state taxes on ciga-

rette sales to non-members, there is no need for a state

unilaterally to impose additional requirements. In

instances where there was no finding of such a tribal

system, this Court has approved a rebuttable presump-

tion that a state may impose “minimally burdening” col-

lection and recordkeeping requirements on tribes and

Indian retailers. Moe, 425 U.S. at 482-83; Colville, 447 U.S.

at 159-60. Colville in particular recognizes that a tribe may

rebut the presumption by showing that the asserted state

requirements are not reasonably necessary as a means of

preventing fraud. 447 U.S. at 160.

This Court should now acknowledge that if there is a

tribal scheme, adequate accountability is presumed and

the burden is on the state to show that accountability is

lacking. Hence this Court should clarify that tribal laws

and compacts defeat the presumption that a state may

° E.g., Agreement Between the Shakopee Mdewakanton

Indian Community and the Department of Revenue of the State

of Minnesota Relating to the Refund of Precollected Excise

Taxes on Cigarettes (Aug. 1988); Agreement Between the Stock-

bridge-Munsee Tribe and the Department of Revenue of the

State of Wisconsin Related to the Refund of Precollected Excise

Taxes on Cigarettes (Aug. 1988).

a

17

impose even minimal burdens on tribes and Indian

retailers in Indian country.

Otherwise, this Court will be sanctioning a presump-

tion that tribes will be dishonest or incompetent, which is

wholly unwarranted as a blanket rule for Indian country.

In other contexts this Court has rejected arguments that

such general attacks on tribes are justifiable. E.g., lowa

Mutual Ins. Co. v. LaPlante, 480 U.S. 9, 19 (1987) (“The

alleged incompetence of tribal courts is not among the

exceptions to the exhaustion [of tribal remedies] require-

ment” established in National Farmers Union Ins. Cos. v.

Crow Tribe, 471 U.S. 845 (1985)); New Mexico v. Mescalero

Apache Tribe, 462 U.S. at 342 n.27 (“We reject the State’s

claim that the Tribe’s ability to manage its wildlife

resources suffers from a lack of enforcement powers and

therefore concurrent jurisdiction is necessary to fill the

void”).

The Court has recognized that Congress has spoken

to this issue as well. See Mississippi Band of Choctaw

Indians v. Holyfield, 490 U.S. 30, 54 (1989) (under the

Indian Child Welfare Act, 25 U.S.C. §§ 1901-1923, state

and federal courts “must defer to the experience, wis-

dom, and compassion of the [] tribal courts to fashion an

appropriate remedy” for tribal children). These cases and

statutes teach that tribes are to be trusted in the first

instance and the burden is on the state or non-Indian

party to prove otherwise.

This Court recently suggested that tribes and states

may work cigarette tax issues out together to their mutual

satisfaction. Potawatomi, 498 U.S. at 514. Similar encour-

agement and flexibility is warranted in this case as well.

18

The fact that many tribes have developed tribal laws and

have negotiated compacts with states aptly demonstrates

these issues can be worked out at the local level. See Brief

of Amici States of Washington, et al. in Support of Peti-

tioner at 20 (“Consistent with the Court’s suggestion in

Potawatomi, a number of states and tribes have sought,

with some success, to negotiate compacts for the collec-

tion and distribution of cigarette taxes. . . . Other negotia-

tions in the area of cigarette taxes and motor vehicle fuel

are continuing”).

Ill. IN CASES WHERE CIGARETTE SALES ARE AN

INCIDENTAL ASPECT OF A LARGER, RESERVA-

TION-BASED TRIBAL ECONOMIC DEVELOP-

MENT PROJECT, TRIBAL INTERESTS MAY

OUTWEIGH STATE INTERESTS IN TAXING

NON-MEMBER CIGARETTE PURCHASES

Sales of cigarettes in Indian country today are vastly

different from when this Court decided Moe and Colville.

Such sales do not always occur at “smoke shops.” They

may occur at grocery stores or other establishments at

which cigarettes are but a minor or insignificant item in

the overall business operation. More and more often,

cigarette sales in Indian country take place at tribal

casinos, bingo halls, resorts, lodges, sports and recreation

facilities, and other major economic development projects

initiated and maintained by tribes. See, e.g., Cabazon, 480

U.S. at 205 (tribai bingo halls and card clubs); New Mexico

v. Mescalero Apache Tribe, 462 U.S. at 327 (tribal hunting

and fishing resort complex); Gila River Indian Community

v. Waddell, 967 F.2d 1404 (9th Cir. 1992) (tribal sporting,

recreational, and cultural facilities consisting of lake

19

marina, automobile race tracks, and performing arts

amphitheatre).

Many non-members visit these tribal enterprises,

some for significant periods of time, not because they can

buy untaxed cigarettes, but because they want to enjoy

the benefits of the tribal economic development project.

Non-members may purchase cigarettes while they are

enjoying the benefits of the tribal project. But their pri-

mary purpose for entering and being in Indian country is

other than to buy cigarettes.

In short, contrary to the views of the State’s support-

ing Amici in this case, non-members are not always

attracted to Indian country solely because of cheap ciga-

rettes, and sales of cigarettes to non-members in Indian

country are not always tantamount to the sale of a tax

exemption. Moreover, when they are in Indian country,

non-member visitors as well as non-member employees

of the tribal project are entitled to and do receive signifi-

cant services provided by tribes, such as police and fire

protection, ambulance and emergency medical services,

roads, water, and other public utilities, and tribal judicial

systems.

Where sales of cigarettes to non-members are an

incidental and relatively minor aspect of an overall tribal

project, and where the non-member is the recipient of

significant tribal services, the state may have little, if any,

interest in taxing the non-member cigarette purchases.

And there may be other preemptive and infringement

forces at work. In Cabazon, the Court expressly distin-

guished Colville and stated the following:

20

Here, however, the Tribes are not merely

importing a product onto the reservations for

immediate resale to non-Indians. They have

built modern facilities which provide recre-

ational opportunities and ancillary services to

their patrons, who do not simply drive onto the

reservations, make purchases and depart, but

spend extended periods of time there enjoying

the services the Tribes provide.

... The tribal bingo enterprises are similar to the

resort complex featuring hunting and fishing,

that the Mescalero Apache Tribe operates on its

reservation. . .. The Mescalero project generates

funds for essential tribal services and provides

employment for tribal members. We there

rejected the notion that the tribe is merely mar-

keting a tax exemption from state hunting and

fishing regulations. . . . Similarly, the Cabazon

and Morongo Bands are generating value on the

reservations through activities in which they

have a substantial interest.

480 U.S. at 219-20. In New Mexico v. Mescalero Apache Tribe,

the Court had found the “concerted and sustained”

undertakings of the tribe there to develop its reservation

economy were “far removed from those situations, such

as on-reservation sales outlets which market to nonmem-

bers goods not manufactured by the tribe or its members,

in which the tribal contribution to an enterprise is de

minimis.” 462 U.S. at 341.

States cannot tax or regulate these tribal economic

enterprises directly. Id.; accord Cabazon, 480 U.S. at 220-21;

see also the Indian Gaming Regulatory Act, 25 U.S.C.

§ 2710(d)(4) (states cannot impose taxes, fees, or charges

on tribes engaged in gaming). State taxes on cigarette

21

saies incidental to these enterprises may be prohibited as

well. See Indian Country U.S.A., Inc. v. Oklahoma ex rel.

Oklahoma Tax Comm'n, 829 F.2d 967 (10th Cir. 1987), cert.

denied, 487 U.S. 1218 (1988) (holding state sales taxes on

tribal bingo enterprise and related activities, including

food services for patrons and sales of bingo supplies and

accessories, preempted by federal law).

+

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, the decision of the New

York Court of Appeals should be affirmed.

DATED this 18th day of January, 1994.

Respectfully submitted,

Metopy L. McCoy*

YVONNE TERESA KNIGHT

Kim JEROME GOTTSCHALK

Native AMERICAN RiGHTs FUND

1506 Broadway

Boulder, CO 80302

(303) 447-8760

Counsel for the Cheyenne-Arapaho

Tribes of Oklahoma, Jicarilla Apache

Tribe, Pueblo of Laguna, Rosebud

Sioux Tribe, Santa Ana Pueblo,

Stockbridge-Munsee Community

Band of Mohican Indians, Three

Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold

Indian Reservation, and the National

Congress of American Indians

22

BerTRAM E. Hirscu

81-33 258th Street

Floral Park, NY 11004

(718) 347-3022

Counsel for the Sisseton-Wahpeton

Dakota Nation, also known as the

Sisseton-Wahpeton Sioux Tribe

Patrick L. SMITH

Legal Department

Confederated Salish and Kootenai

Tribes of the Flathead Nation

P.O. Box 278

Pablo, MT 59855

(406) 675-2700

Counsel for the Confederated Salish

and Kootenai Tribes of the Flathead

Nation -

Micuaet E. Taytor

Reservation Attorney

Confederated Tribes of the

Colville Reservation

Box 150

Nespelem, WA 99155

(509) 634-4711

Counsel for the Confederated Tribes of

the Colville Reservation

JEANNE S. WHITEING

Rosert S. THompson, III

WHITEING AND THOMPSON

1136 Pearl Street, Suite 203

Boulder, CO 80302

(303) 444-2549

Counsel for the Blackfeet Tribe of the

Blackfeet Indian Reservation and the

Ute Indian Tribe of the Uintah and

Ouray Reservation

23

Curt V. BiusDoc

BiueDoc Law Orrice, P.A.

Southgate Office Plaza

Suite 670

5001 West 80th Street

Bloomington, MN 55437

(612) 893-1813

Counsel for the Shakopee

Mdewakanton Dakota Community

*Counsel of Record for all Amici

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.