Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Mueller v. Virginia

Supreme Court brief1993

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

92-7507 ne $0

No. OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

EVERETT LEE MUELLER, pro se,

Petitioner,

Ve

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA,

Respondent.

ANN

WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF VIRIGNIA

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Everett Lee Mueller, pro se

#190275

Mecklenburg Correctional Center

P. O. Box 500

Boydton, VA 23917

Attorney Pro Se

Q>

]

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Te Were Mueller's Fifth Amendment rights violated when

the interrogaton was not terminated after he repeatedly asked

to be taken to Jail?

2. Should the police be allowed to violate the Miranda

warnings earlier given to the defendant by later telling him

he didn't need a lawyer?

3. Was it improper for the Court to limit the defendant's

proposed voir dire of jurors regarding the death penalty?

)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ...+..+4 +++ © © © © © © © © © © @ @

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES . . . «© « «© © © © © © © © © © © © © @

OPINION BELOW a . . . . *. . . . . . . . . . * . . . . . .

JURISDICTION . . . 7 . . . * . . . * 7 * . . . * o . . .

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED .... .

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ... ++ «© © © © © © © © © © © © «

STATEMENT OF FACTS . . * . . al . * *. . . . . . . 2 . . * .

REASONS FOR ALLOWING THE WRIT .. «2. «© «© «© © © © © © © @#

I.

II.

III.

CONCLUSION

APPENDIX

A.

B.

THE COURT INCORRECTLY ALLOWED INTO EVIDENCE

STATEMENTS MADE BY THE DEFENDANT AFTER HE

ATTEMPTED TO END HIS INTERROGATION BY POLICE . .

THE COURT INCORRECTLY ALLOWED INTO EVIDENCE

STATEMENTS MADE BY THE DEFENDANT AFTER ONE

OF THE POLICE INTERROGATORS TOLD THE DEFENDANT

THAT HE DID NOT NEED AN ATTORNEY . . .« «© «© « « «

THE COURT IMPROPERLY LIMITED THE DEFENDANT'S

PROPOSED VOIR DIRE OF JURORS . .. «© «© «© «© «© « «

Order of the Supreme Court of Virginia in Everett

Lee Mueller, v. Commonwealth of Virginia, Record

Nunber: 920287 (September 18, 1992)

Order of the Supreme Court of Virginia in Everett

Lee Mueller, v. Commonwealth of Virginia, Record

Numbers: 920287 and 920449 (November 6, 1992)

iii

w WN

10

10

11

15

19

Opinion of the Supreme Court of Virginia in Everett

Lee Mueller v. Commonwealth of Virginia, Record No.

920287 and 920449 (September 18, 1992)

“-ii-e

CASES:

Bunch v. Commonwealth,

464 U.S. 977 (1983)

)

TABLE OF AUTHOn. TIES

225 Va.

423, cert. denied,

Coppola v. Commonwealth, 220 Va. 243 (1979)

Eaton v. Commonwealth, 240 Va. 236, cert. denied,

112 S. Ct. 88, reh'g. denied, 112 S. Ct. 623

(1990)

Edwards v. Arrizona, 451 U.S. 477 (1981)

Foley v. Commonwealth, 8 Va. app. 149 (1989)

LeVasseur v. Commonwealth,

225 Va.

564 (1983)

Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966)

Patterson v. Commonwealth,

Poyner v. Commonwealth,

474 U.S. 888 (1985)

229 Va.

222 Va.

653 (1981)

Rogers v. Commonwealth, 227 Va. 605 (1984)

Stockton v. Commonwealth,

Terrell v. Commonwealth,

Witherspoon v. Illinois,

Virginia Criminal Procedure, Section 7-2

(2nd ed.

Virginia Criminal Procedure, Section 7-3

(2d ed.

1989)

1989)

227 Va.

12 Va. App.

391 U.S.

124 (1984)

285 (1991).

510 (1968)

OTHER AUTHORITIES

-iii-

401, cert. denied,

PAGE

13, 14

os vw

passim

16

13

10

10

10

16

10

10

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

EVERETT LEE MUELLER, pro se,

Petitioner,

Vv.

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF VIRIGNIA

The Petitioner, Everett Lee Mueller, respectfully

prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment

of the Supreme Court of Virginia in this case.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Supreme Court of Virginia in this

case was rendered September 18, 1992, cited as Everett Lee

Mueller v. Commonwealth, Record #920287 (VA September 18, 1992).

JURISDICTION

The judgment sought to be reviewed was entered by |

the Supreme Court of Virginia on September 18, 1992 and a denial

of the Petition for a Rehearing on November 6, 1992.

-JYNSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Fourteenth Amendment to the United States

Constitution states, in pertinent part:

No state shall make or enforce any law which

shall abridge the privileges or immunities of

citizens of the United States; nor shall any

state deprive any person of life, liberty, or

property, without due process of law; nor deny

to any person within its jurisdiction the equal

protections of the law.

The Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution

states, in pertinent part:

No person shall be held to answer for a

capital, or otherwise infamous crime, unless

on a presentment or indictment of a grand jury,

except in cases arising in the land or naval

forces, or in the militia, when in actual service

in time of war or public danger; nor shall any

person be subject for the same offense to be

twice put in jeopardy of life or limb, nor shall

be compelled in any criminal case to be a witness

against himself, nor be deprived of life, liberty,

or property, without due process of law; nor

shall private property be taken for public use,

without just compensation.

The Sixth Amendment to the United States Constitution

states, in pertinent part:

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall

enjoy the right to a speedy and public trial,

by an impartial jury of the state and district

wherein the crime shall have been committed,-

which district shall have been previously

ascertained by law, and to be informed of the

nature and cause of the accusation; to be

confronted with the witnesses against him; to

have compulsory process for obtaining witnesses

in his favor, and to have the assistance of

counsel for his defense.

o2-

}

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Defendant was convicted in Chesterfield Circuit

Court, before the Honorable William R. Shelton with a jury,

on September 12, 1991, of rape and was sentenced to life in

prison; of abduction and was sentenced to life in prison; and

of capital murder and was sentenced to death.

The capital conviction was appealed as a matter of

right to the Supreme Court of Virginia and was consolidated

with the non-capital convictions for review by said court.

On September 18, 1992, the Supreme Court of Virginia

found no error in the issues raised and the judgments were

affirmed. Subsequently, said court on petition to set aside

the judgment and grant a rehearing, said petition was denied

November 6, 1992.

STATEMENT OF FACTS

THE CRIME

On October 6, 1990, a ten year old girl named Charity

Powers went to a skating rink in Chesterfield County close to

the intersection of Routes 1 and 10. She was last seen alive

at a Hardees on Route 1 late on the evening of October 6, 1990.

The evidence showed that the arrangements Charity Powers’ mother

made to have her picked up after skating failed. The publicity

regarding her disappearance was both widespread and intense.

!

Within days of her disappearance, the investigative

team had focused on Everett Lee Mueller, the defendant herein,

as a prime suspect. The principal investigators involved were

Investigator Wayne Garber of the Chesterfield County Police

and Special Agent Jack Palfi of the Federal Bureau of

Investigation. They were supervised and assisted in part by

Sergeant Mike Spraker of the Chesterfield County Police. Within

days of her October 6 disappearance, Garber and Palfi made their

first contact with Mr. Mueller. At various times’ they

interviewed Mueller at his home, at his job, and at the

Chesterfield Police Station. Throughout these interviews he

consistently denied any involvement in the disappearance of

Charity Powers. In mid February of 1991, the investigating

officers received further information regarding the possible

whereabouts of the body. A further search of a wooded area

just off of Route 1 and close to the area of Mueller's house

revealed what later turned out to be the body of Charity Powers.

Her body was removed form the shallow grave close to a pond

and taken to the medical examiner's office in Richmond.

THE CONFESSION

On February 21, 1991, Investigator Garber and Agent

Palfi, accompanied by numerous other law enforcement officers,

arrested Mueller as he left his house that morning. meclier

was advised of his rights and taken to a small interrogation

room at the Chesterfield Police Station and a three to four

hour interrogation was begun. - This ‘interrogation was

video-taped. The video tape of the interrogation and subsequent

-4-

statement py the defendant was analyzed by an independent expert

at the request of the defendant. A review of the video tape

of that interrogation will show that Mueller was seated at a

table in a small room; across the table was agent Palfi; and

between the two and facing the table was investigator Garber.

Garber was seated with his back to the video camera and the

camera was posed so that Mueller's right side was exposed and

Plafi's left side was exposed. Throughout the three to four

hour interrogation Mueller made repeated requests that he be

carried to the jail. (App.181). After several hours of the

interrogation, with Mueller's repeated requests to be carried

to the jail being denied, Palfi left the room, stating that

he was fed up with Mueller's attitude and his refusal to accept

their help.

It should be noted that both agent Palfi and

Investigator Garber testified at the suppression hearing that

they interpreted the deiendant's requests to be taken to jail

was a way to avoid further questioning, but neither ever asked

Mueller specifically if he wanted to end the interrogation.

While Palfi was out of the interrogation room, Garber continued

his insistent requests for Mueller to help himself. Garber

and Palfi but especially Garber, consistently stated to Mueller

that he knew he wasn't the kind of person who would do something

like this to a young girl and that it must have been an accident.

They also repeatedly advised Mueller that they believed there

were two Muellers, the one who was "drinking" and the one who

was not “drinking”, with the “drinking” Mueller being the bad

ofa

one.

While Palfi was out of the room Mueller looked at

Garber and said, “Do you think I need a lawyer here?" (pp. 179).

The video tape shows that Garber shook his head in the negative

while speaking the words, “We're just talking here." At that

time, Mueller asked Garber to get agent Palfi back in the room

and thereupon advised both of them that they had the right guy.

A detailed admission followed.

Later on that day Mueller accompanied the police ‘to

the scene of the grave and proceeded to point out specific items

of evidence to the police. This activity was video taped by

the police. The exhumation and removal of Powers from the grave

site was video taped at another time.

Mueller's confession and his activities at the

subsequent inspection of the grave area were instrumental in

his convictions. There were no eye witnesses that specifically

placed Mueller at the Hardees where Powers was last seen alive.

There was no forensic evidence, such as finger prints or DNA

or otherwise, to link Mueller to Powers. There were no eye

witnesses to any of the offenses.

In his statement to the officers, Mueller admitted

that the had picked up Powers at the Hardees, that he had driven

her to his house, that they had walked into the woods and had

intercourse, and that he must have strangled her. The autopsy

of Powers revealed that there had been an injury to her neck.

During the guilt portion of the trial Dr. Marcella Fierro, who

testified on behalf of the Commonwealth, indicated that the

offs

cause of weath was acute neck injury.

Through another witness the Commonwealth introduced

a knife that had been found in the general vicinity of the grave.

Mueller admitted having been aware of the existence of the knife

but denied having used it with Powers. During the penalty phase

of the trial, Dr. Fierro was allowed to testify over the

defendant's objection that in her opinion that knife had been

used by Mueller to cut Powers's throat and this was the cause

of death. On cross examination, she admitted that her opinion

was not to a reasonable decree of medical certainty. The

Commonwealth conceded that Fierro's statements were feelings

she had, but that they created a factual issue for the jury

to decide.

PRETRIAL MATTERS

The defendant made a motion in limine prior to trial

in which he proffered to the Court that he had been convicted

of rape on two prior occasions and that a conviction of rape

in the Powers case would be his third such conviction. The

motion in limine relied upon the law of Virginia that makes

a defendant with a third rape conviction ineligible for parole.

The defendant asserted that, in the penalty phase at least,

the jury should know that with a third conviction for rape,

the defendant would not be eligible for parole on any like

sentence or term of years they might impose. The motion in

limine was denied by the Court after argument.

The defendant made pretrial motions and presented

argument regarding the constitutionality of the death penalty

ate

and the leness predicate of the bath penalty. The Court

overruled each of those motions.

Additionally, the defendant moved for a change of

venue because of the widespread publicity regarding the Powers

case. During the voir dire of prospective jurors, various

members of the venire admitted to the court that they had heard

and read the publicity and , as a result, knew that the defendant

had previously been convicted of rape, and also had confessed

to the crime. The defendant moved that each of those potential

jurors be stricken for cause. The court overruled the

defendant's motion.

The defendant also moved to suppress his statements

to the police but the Court denied the motion.

THE TRIAL

A motion for mistrial was made by the defendant after

Kevin Speaks' testimony. (App. 1010, 1097 and 1169). The basis

for the motion was that the Commonwealth had withheld exculpatory

evidence in spite of the defendant's timely filed Brady motion.

THE PENALTY PHASE

During the penalty phase of the trial, Carol Mueller

was called by the Commonwealth and testified that the defendant

had raped her in 1977. (App. 1205). She stated that she was

the sister of the defendant and that she knew he had become

eligible for and had made parole on the twenty year sentence

he received for raping her after he had served only some five

years. Judith Corbin was called by the Commonwealth in her

role as Custodian of Records of the Department of Corrections.

iin

She confi.med to the jury that Mueller had made mandatory parole

from the 1977 rape conviction of Carol Mueller. (App. 1240).

During the penalty phase of the trial the defendant

testified in his own behalf. His direct examination did not

touch at all on the Powers offenses but instead focused primarily

on his up-bringing as well as the sentence he had served for

the rape of Carol Mueller Bowers. He talked about his family

life and the difficulties he experienced with his schooling.

THE SENTENCING

At the hearing on November 26, 1990, when the

presentence report was presented to the court, the defendant

again argued the issue of parole eligibility and offered to

present the testimony of the jury foreman that the jury had

discussed parole during its deliberation. The Court would not

allow the testimony but did accept the foreman's affidavit.

The Court then imposed the sentences recommended by the jury.

REASONS FOR ALLOWING THE WRIT

I. THE COURT INCORRECTLY ALLOWED INTO EVIDENCE

STATEMENTS MADE BY THE DEFENDANT AFTER HE

ATTEMPTED TO END HIS INTERROGATION BY POLICE.

According to Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966),

a confession must be voluntary, and an individual is always

free to exercise his right to remain silent. If he gives any

indication prior to or during an interrogation that he wishes

to remain silent, the interrogation must cease immediately,.

Id; See R. Bacigal, Virginia Criminal Procedure, Section 7-3

(2d ed. 1989). Whether a confession is voluntary is determined

in light of the totality of the circumstances, and whether the

suspect's will "has been overborne and his capacity of self-

determination critically impaired." Terrell v. Commonwealth,

12 Va. App. 285, 290 (1991) (citing Rodgers v. Commonwealth,

227 Va. 605 (1984)5 Stockton v. Commonwealth, 227 Va. 124

(1984)).

| Along with the details of the interrogation, the

personal characteristics of the accused must be considered in

the totality of the circumstances. Terrell, Supra at 290-91.

This includes the accused's intelligence, education, prior

edecntian, prior experience with the police, emotional or mental

disability, and the deprivation of physical comforts. Id. at

291 (citing R. Bacigal, Virginia Criminal Procedure, Section

7-2 (2d ed. 1989)).

In the present case, Mueller gave a confession after

he had repeatedly asked to be taken to jail. Although Mueller

atin

has had p.iior experience with the poiice, he only has an eighth

grade education. By asking to be taken to jail, Mueller was

clearly asking to terminate the interrogation. At this point

the questioning should have stopped.

When his request was denied, and questions continued,

he began about his right to counsel. After he was denied

counsel, Mueller did what he felt he had no other choice but

to do. He confessed. This type of coerced confession, however,

is exactly the type of situation that Miranda seeks to prevent.

Otherwise, the police would always be fee to prod confessions

out of suspects merely by denying basic requests.

When the police denied Mueller's request to be taken

back to his cell, they directly violated his right to remain

silent and his right to terminate the interrogation at any time.

II. THE COURT INCORRECTLY ALLOWED INTO EVIDENCE

STATEMENTS MADE BY THE DEFENDANT AFTER ONE OF

THE POLICE INTERROGATORS TOLD THE DEFENDANT THAT

HE DID NOT NEED AN ATTORNEY.

The police must stop any questioning when a defendant

invokes his sixth amendment right to counsel, and the questioning

may not be resumed until counsel is present or the suspect

re-initiates dialogue. Edwards v. Arizona, 451 U.S. 477 (1981).

The question then is, what is considered a request for counsel?

Virginia has established a "Bright Line" test in which "a request

for counsel must be ‘unambiguous and unequivocal' in order to

trigger the Edwards rule." Eaton v. Commonwealth, 240 Va. 236,

cert. denied, 112 S.Ct. 88, reh'g. denied, 112 S. Ct. 623 (1990).

wtitie

2 Sbaearr?

secu

vefendant's request here i: hes than merely a request

for counsel. It goes back to the basic warnings given in

Miranda. Once Garber responds in the negative, he undercuts

the earlier warnings and vitiates them.

In Eaton, the police interrogated the defendant.

During the questioning, Eaton asked, "Maybe I ought to talk

to a lawyer," “Didn't you say I had a right to a lawyer," and

"I need to talk to someone, a lawyer, a psychiatrist, someone."

Id. at 447. The detective questioning Eaton remained silent.

The interrogation continued, and Eaton's statements were used

against him at trial. Id. Since Eaton did not expressly state

that he wanted counsel present, he did not meet the “bright

line" test, and his statements were admissible. Id. at 435..

Like Eaton's first statement, Mueller also made a

statement contemplating the need for a lawyer but, specifically

in the form of a clear question: "Do you think I need a lawyer

here?". Mueller, however, did not continue with subsequent

equivocating statements like Eaton's. Eaton's second statement

was more of a question to clarify his rights. Mueller made

no such ambiguous statement and, most important of all,

Investigation Garber did not simply remain silent in response

to Mueller's question. Instead, Investigator Garber clearly

responded that Mueller did not need an attorney, thereby

undermining the earlier Miranda warnings.

In my opinion, when equivocal statements such

as these are made, the most oobvious’~ and

appropriate response is to ask the suspect, "Do

you want a lawyer?". The suspect's response

at2e

.o this question should .esolve the ambiguity

and allow the interrogators to proceed

accordingly. This test is easy to apply,

consistent with Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S.

436 (1966) and its progeny, and efficient in

terms of police and court time. It provides

a true bright-line rule which is fair to

defendants and police alike.

Id. at 448 (Lacy, J., dissenting) (footnotes omitted).

The bright-line test in Eaton gets its foundation from two cases:

Poyner v. Commonwealth, 229 Va. 401, cert. denied, 474 U.S.

888 (1985), and Bunch v. Commonwealth, 225 Va. 423, cert. denied,

464 U.S. 977 (1983).

In Poyner, the defendant asked during an interrogation,

"Didn't you say I have the right to counsel?" Poyner, supra

at 410. The Officers said "yes," and they began to stand up.

Id. at that point, Poyner spontaneously said, "Let me tell you

about the car." Id. The Court decided that Poyner question only

sought a clarification of his rights; he was not asking for

counsel. Id. furthermore, Poyner obviously was not demanding

counsel because he re-initiated the conversation. Id. at 411.

The present case is vastly different from Poyner.

During Mueller's questioning, Mueller asked the police, “Do

you think I need a lawyer here?" The police responded, “No,

we're just talking here." Unlike Poyner's question, Mueller's

question was not an attempt to clarify his rights. Instead,

Mueller's statement showed that he was consciously considering

invoking his right to counsel. When the policeman said that

Mueller did not need one, the policeman made an affirmative

attempt to deter Mueller from exercising his right to counsel.

«13e

Poyner v.untarily confessed after tt. was given an opportunity

to consider his options. Mueller, however, was denied the option

due to zealous police efforts to obtain a confession.

In Bunch v. Commonwealth, 229 Va 423, 430, cert.

denied, 464 U.S. 977 (1983), the defendant mentioned during

the interrogation that he might want an attorney, When Bunch

said this, the interrogation stopped. Id. The defendant then

voluntarily made a statement that he would cooperate, and he

signed a written waiver of counsel. Id. at 430-31.

Bunch, like Mueller, showed that he was contemplating

a request for counsel. At bunch's trial, the court considered

this to be an adequate request for counsel. Id. at 430. but

where the police remained silent in Bunch, They actively

convinced Mueller not to ask for counsel. Also, after allowing

Bunch to make up his own mind to cooperate, the police had Bunch

sign a written waiver of counsel. Mueller, on the other hand,

was continuously asked questions, so he did not re-initiate

the questioning.

In short, but for the investigator's statement to

dissuade the defendant from asking for counsel, Mueller may

have given an “unambiguous and unequivocal” request for counsel.

Second, the actual effect of the policeman's statement was to

diminish the importance of Miranda warnings. Mueller was given

his warnings, and when he considered exercising his rights,

he was told by the police that an attorney was not necessary

because “they were just talking." Thus, we do not even reach

otis

the bric -line test set forth in Jeon, because Mueller was

informed that his right against self-incrimination was not in

jeopardy. This type of police conduct is clearly more egregious

than the conduct in Eaton and cannot be condoned in light of

the Fifth and Sixth Amendments.

The police could have remained silent when Mueller

asked his question. They could have even reaffirmed his right

to counsel by rereading his Miranda warnings. They also could

have simply asked Mueller if ‘we wanted an attorney. But to

advise a defendant of his rights, and then tell him that a formal

interrogation is not important enough to have counsel present

is both offensive and shocking to the conscious. Allowing this

type of police action would effectively uproot the fundamental

principles of justice and fair play which is at the cornerstone

of our judicial system's aversion to police coercion. The police

simply cannot inform a suspect of his rights, and then actively

encourage a waiver of those right.

Iil. THE COURT IMPROPERLY LIMITED THE DEFENDANT'S

PROPOSED VOIR DIRE OF JURORS.

In Virginia, we operate from the general premise

that a juror may not be challenged for cause on his views about

capital punishment unless those views would prevent, or

substantially impair the performance of his(her) duties as a

juror, LeVasseur v. Commonwealth, 225 Va. 564 (1983); Coppola

v. Commonwealth, 220 Va. 243 (1979). The Commonwealth has carved

out a secure, safe and effective question -- Do you have any

-15-

a ee ee te ae

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TH UNITED STATES

EVERETT LEE MUELLER, pro se,

Petitioner

Vv.

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA,

Respondent.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that on the 2nd day of

February , 1993, a true copy of the foregoing Motion

for Leaving to Proceed in Forma Pauperis, and Affidavit in

Support of Motion to Proceed on Writ of Certiorari in Forma

Pauperis, and Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the Supreme

Court of Virginia, all of which are being filled pro se, were

mailed to the Honorable Clerk of the Supreme Court of the United

States, One First Street, Northeast, Washington, DC 20543,

and to the Honorable Attorney General of Virginia, 101 North

Eighth Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, by depositing such

documents in a United States Post Office, postage prepaid.

bent Heads

L , pro se

religioud x moral objections to . death penalty? If the

answer is yes, the predictable result is that the juror is

stricken. the defense has, historically, not had such an easy

and effective method of determining which jurors would not

consider life imprisonment as an option in any given case.

The rulings in Patterson v. Commonwealth, 222 Va. 653 (1981)

give us some guidance as to what the state of the law is in

Virginia. In that case the court ruled that the question, "Do

you believe that the death penalty is ordinarily the proper

punishment for the crime of capital murder?" was too vague,

argumentative and non-specific. The court, on the other hand,

said that it was proper to use, ". . . and if the jury should

happen to convict the defendant of capital murder, would you

be able to consider voting for a sentence less than death?"

The key, of course, to qualification of a juror is

not opposition to death penalties or propensity towards the

death. penalty, but whether or not the juror could consider other

options, Witherspoon v. Illinois, 391 U.S. 510 (1968). In trying

to determine what a juror would “consider” it is apparently

permissible for the Commonwealth to ask if anything would

prohibit a juror from imposing death while the defendant is

not allowed the latitude to determine if something would prohibit

a juror from giving a life sentence. This clear inequity

certainly cannot be intentional.

The situation for the defendant is made worse when

the trial court not only refuses to allow the defense to ask

otGe

pointed y.estions to determine whether or not a juror is death

prone, but goes further and asks, or allows the Commonwealth

to ask, questions to which the "“proper" answer is obviously

one which leads the juror to express that he(she) is not

prejudiced. In Foley v. Commonwealth, 8 Va. App. 149 (1989),

the court reversed the defendant's conviction due to such voir

dire. Consider, in the instant case, the voir dire of potential

juror Zoeckler (App. 518-542). The Court asked a series of

questions designed to elicit “proper” answers. The Commonwealth

then followed with a series of statements designed to box the

juror in, and then asked if the juror would consider both

penalties. When the juror responded "I think so, yes" (App.

524) the Commonwealth followed with this statement: "In: other

words, you would not automatically, if you found him guilty,

vote to impose the death penalty, but you would wait and listen

and hear the evidence and decide what would be the appropriate

punishment."

What juror would say "No, I won't listen to the

evidence." or "“No., I won't decide on an appropriate

punishment."? Of course, the juror responds, "yes."

Under more direct questions, however, we can glean

the true feelings of the juror, if allowed. Unfortunately,

counsel was not allowed to ask specific questions in all

instances with his juror. For example, the question " ...

if in sitting in the guilt phase of this trial you conclude

beyond a reasonable doubt that Mueller has raped and killed

otPe

{

a 10 year old child, don't you think that death is the only

appropriate punishment for that?" (App. 529). The question

was not allowed. When counsel, after bench conference, added

to the question ". . . and then you sit in the sentencing phase

and listen to the evidence in aggravation and the evidence in

mitigation, aren't you going to think the only appropriate

sentence is death?" The court again sustained objection to

the question. The court instructed counsel that he could only

ask if the juror would consider both possible penalties (App.

535). That is, of course, the ultimate question for the court

to determine, but the court erred in not allowing counsel to

ask any questions to establish the jurors' ability or intent

to "consider" both penalties. The limited leeway that the court

gave the defense counsel in the Zoeckler voir dire established

that he was death prone, and that the defendant would bear the

burden to mitigate his actions in order to receive a life

sentence (App. 538). The court then permitted the Commonwealth

to lend the juror back to the neutral fold, and the juror was

deemed qualified to sit.

Similar questions by the defense were asked to

prospective juror Gryder and the Commonwealth's. objection was

sustained (App. 708, 709).

Interestingly, when juror Hutchins did not give

“proper” responses, the court asked the question that the defense

wanted to ask all jurors, essentially, if you found Mueller

guilty of capital murder would you only vote for death? (App.

ote

ee

810). This is, in fact, a proper question. It is the only

and the’ .vious counter to "Do yo ave any objection to the

death penalty" and the court should have allowed defense counsel

to ask it to the appropriate prospective jurors.

The court's refusal to allow the defense to voir dire

prospective jurors improperly deprived the defendant of a fair

and impart if! jury, and was in violation of his 6th and 14th

Amendment rights.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, the petitioner, Everett

Lee Mueller, respectfully requests this Court issue a writ of

certiorari to the Supreme Court of Virginia to review the

constitutionality of his conviction and sentence.

Respectfully submitted,

Clee LEE MUELLER, pro se

#190275

Mecklenburg Correctional Center

Post Office Box 500

Boydton, Virginia 23917

- Attorney Pro Se -

Subscribed and sworn to before me this (rsiraay of

February, 1993.

otary Pu c

My commission expires: (2) -3 {- o# °

ot@e

- VIRGINIA:

St the Seif eae Come f hirgéinen 4ebd at Mh. thy bre rhe Freel Building sn” lhe

Friday fir 8th

lity f Kih mend « ” day f November, 1992.

Everett Lee Mueller, Appellant,

against Record Nos. 920287 and 920449

Circuit Court Nos. CR91F00485,

CR91F0048-01 and -02

Commonwealth of Virginia, Appellee.

Upon a Petition for Rehearing

On consideration of the petition of the appellant to set

aside the judgment rendered herein on the 18th day of September,

1992 and grant a rehearing thereof, the prayer of the said petition

is denied.

A Copy,

Teste:

!

VIRGII A:

Friday y, 18th day of September, 1992.

lily ff ‘ Gixboendan

Everett Lee Mueller, Appellant,

against Record No. 920287

Circuit Court No. CR91F00485

Commonwealth of Virginia, Appellee.

Upon an appeal of right from

a judgment rendered by the Circuit

Court of Chesterfield County on

the 19th day of December, 1991.

For reasons stated in writing and filed with the record,

the Court is of opinion that there is no error in the judgment

appealed from. Accordingly, the judgment is affirmed.

It is ordered that the said circuit court allow counsel

for the appellant a fee of $1,550 for services rendered the

cutee on this appeal, in addition to counsel's costs and

necessary direct out-of-pocket expenses.

This order shall be certified to the said circuit court.

A Copy,

Teste:

pp dsel

Clerk

EDITOR'S NOTE

THE FOLLOWING PAGES WERE POOR HARD COPY

AT THE TIME OF FILMING, IF AND WHEN A

BETTER COPY CAN BE OBT AINED, A NEW FICHE

WILL BE ISSUED,

tess

Mueller v. Commonwealth

244 Va. 386 (1992)

EVERETT LEE MUELLER

\

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

Record Nos. 920287 and 920449

September 18, 1992

Present: All the Justices

In the automatic review of a death sentence, consolidated

with the appeal of the capital murder conviction of the

lefendant as well as with the appeal of the non-capital con

victions, no error is found and the sentences and convictions

ire upnheid

Criminal Law — Capital Murder — Rape and Abduction —

Constitutional Law — Criminal Procedure — Miranda Warnings —

Confessions — Jury Selection — Change of Venue

=n year old child disappeared and four months later her body was recovered

from near the defendant's home. He was arrested and confessed to raping and

murdering the child. At the first stage of a bifurcated trial, a jury found the

defendant guilty of capital murder during the commission of rape and abduc-

tion. The jury also found him guilty of rape and abduction with intent to

defile. lt fixed his punishment at life imprisonment on each of these charges.

In the penalty phase of the capital murder trial, the jury fixed the defendant's

punishment for capital murder at death, based on findings of both vileness and

future dangerousness. At the hearing required by Code § 19.2-264.5, the trial

court imposed the sentences fixed by the jury. The defendant appeals

Legal issues raised by the defendant which are resolved by previous decisions

are not discussed beyond representative citations to cases in which those

issues were decided adversely to the defendant's claims. The previous rejec-

tions of the contentions are affirmed

Although the defendant assigned error to certain issues, he did not address

them in his brief and, pursuant to Rule 5:27(e), he has waived any objection to

these rulings and the issues will not be considered on appeal

Whether a statement is voluntary under the Miranda standard is ultimately a

legal rather than a factual question, but subsidiary factual questions are enti-

tled to a presumption of correctness

The test to be applied in determining voluntariness is whether the statement is

the product of an essentially free and unconstrained choice by its maker or

whether the maker's will has been overborne and his capacity for self-determi-

nation critically impaired, given the totality of all the surrounding circum-

stances

Mueller v. Commonwealth

244 Va. 386 (1992)

5. The factual findings of the trial court that the defendant knew how to ask for

the assistance of counsel, that his question to one of the detectives was not an

expression of a desire to have the assistance of counsel, and that the police

properly advised the defendant of his Miranda rights and he understood those

rights prior to confessing to the crimes are supported by the record and are

accorded substantial weight in the determination that the defendant's state

ment was voluntary

Based on a review of the videotape of the defendant's interrogation, his state

ments regarding going to jail were simply impatient gestures and they did not

constitute an invocation of his right to terminate the interrogation

The defendant's question to the officer, *‘Do you think I need an attorney

here?’’ did not const,tute an unambiguous request for counsel

Under the totality of the circumstances in this case, the detective’s response to

the question did not invalidate the defendant's earlier waiver of his Miranda

rights

As a matter of law, the defendant's confession to the detectives was voluntary

There is a presumption that a defendant can receive a fair trial from the citi

zens of the jurisdiction in which the offense occurred and it is the burden of

the defendant to overcome this presumption by demonstrating that the feeling

of prejudice on the part of the citizenry is widespread and is such that would

be reasonably certain to prevent a fair trial

The decision whether to grant a change of venue lies within the sound discre

tion of the trial court and its ruling will not be disturbed on appeal unless the

record affirmatively shows an abuse of discretion

Here there was no challenge to the accuracy of the media coverage of the case

nor was it unduly difficult to select a jury because of a predisposition toward a

belief in the defendant's guilt. The trial court did not abuse its discretion in

denying the defendant's motion for a change of venue

Since the defendant did not proffer any questions regarding the ability of a

prospective juror to impose a life sentence, he may not claim on appeal that

his right to question this prospective juror was violated

The trial court did not err in sustaining the prosecutor's objection to two ques

tions which were argumentative and provided the prospective juror with no

basis upon which to express an opinion, and even ignoring the argumentative

nature of the questions, the trial court's ruling did not violate the defendant's

right to a fair and impartial jury

The trial court did ask questions which probed whether a prospective juror

would automatically vote for the death penalty and he responded that he would

not vote automatically to impose either the death penalty or life imprisonment

The trial court did not abuse its discretion in refusing to allow further ques

tions proposed by the defendant on that subject

Since the defendant cites no evidence to support his contention that the venire

was tainted by the comments of one prospective juror and the record reflects

Mueller v. Commonwealth

244 Va. 386 (1992)

that both counsel had ample opportunity to question each prospective juror

and the questioning revealed no evidence that the comments had influenced

the prospective jurors in any way the trial court did not abuse its discretion in

refusing to disqualify the entire venire because of those comments

In reviewing the rulings of the trial court on challenges for cause, the voir dire

is considered as a whole to determine whether there is any indication that a

iuror’s performance of his or her duty in accordance with the trial court's

instructions and the oath. The jurors need not be totally unaware of the facts

and issues involved in the case

In a review of the voir dire testimony of each of nine prospective jurors, there

‘< no indication that each could not lay aside his or her impressions of opin-

‘ons and render a verdict based on the evidence presented in court and there-

fore there was no manifest error in the trial court s refusal to strike any one of

those jurors for cause

Since the record does not reveal whether the defendant's photograph was

included in a photo array, and the witness did not identify any photograph

shown to him by the police as representing the man he had seen near the vic-

tim. the trial court correctly determined that the information did not constitute

exculpatory evidence and the defendant was not entitled to a mistrial based

upon the prosecutor's failure to inform him of exculpatory evidence within the

meaning of Brady

The trial court did not err in its rulings which did not allow the defendant an

pportunity to introduce evidence regarding parole ineligibility in mitigation

f punishment at the penalty phase of the trial because it has been uniformly

ind repeatedly held that information regarding parole eligibility 1s not relevant

for the jury's consideration

Evidence of a defendant's prior parole history !s admissible during the penalty

phase of a capital murder trial where the Commonwealth is seeking the death

penalty based on the ‘‘future dangerousness ’ predicate

After a defendant has testified as to certain matters, the proper scope of cross

examination lies within the sound discretion of the trial court. Here, the trial

urt did not abuse its discretion in allowing the Commonwealth to question

the defendant about his prior convictions for sexual offenses, as well as about

whether he had learned anything as a result of his commission of the present

offenses

Where the defendant did not object at the time that the medical examiner had

not stated her opinions with a reasonable degree of medical certainty, he may

not complain on appeal regarding the admission of this opinion evidence.

Since the medical examiner gave testimony at the penalty phase of the trial

which involved only a description of the condition of the victim's body, based

on photographs being offered. it did not constitute opinion evidence, and it

was properly admitted

“a

Mueller v Commonwealth

244 Va. 380 ( 1992)

, fe soravated batter

Here the testimony sufficiently established the defendant 5 aggreve™~ aitery

nee : : re t

f the victit as well as fs depravity f mind, to meet he vileness predicatk

et forth in Code § 19 64

% The evidence of the medical caaminer ts iff ent to establish an aggravated

, . f . wa

battery because the victim was sbyected af terva agony a .

jleath

} eriod of ne

The ma uc f the det lant wa rv ‘ That f a per }

‘ re

and under wT wnces as pern an inf me | y "

7 ’ , :?

R Evidenct f sexual mutita f whether j g ( " ca

in & P

‘ » depravily | “i within ihe ft caning f ( ove 9 ; :

f ' i the jury

) The senten g for mn » with Instruction A silly apprised (he

, . “nie

| ente rm y ri rn and iid | ; w any | re pt pre ented

pil eunishment was if sed 4

} After a revicw | pr ' 1s w Tic af 3} punisam [

act ,

c wi ' t¢ npf onment was imp sed i iL ded thal e

a as }

‘ ‘

nae f deat! ae Wa ‘ al nce ‘ , dispropor nate

ente

; for ne

ri ence general > ed DY ner \< x mei v y .

ia milaf ature

“ } let re

" ; , lef las le att P , e wa Dp P ’

youning ugecs' ;

’ an ,

fluence of pa n. { 10 ra e af i "

hLectertie

Appeals from jidgments f£ the Circuit Court if ¢ Hnesterii« }

. i ! re OTresicging

( ounty Hon William K sMNEILOr jdge pt iding

Affirmed

Cary B Rowen Christopne? jf iin Bowen ind Bowen, on

brie) for appellant

Robert H anderson, li, Assistant ‘yrorney General

on briet), Tor ippelice

Mary Sue

Terry Attorney (,enerai

jUSTIK Ee KEEN AN delivered the opinion of the Court

Charity Powers, age ten disappeared 1n the early morning hours

of ctober 6 iv¥0 four montns later

of Everett Lee Mueller. Mueller was

her body was recovered from

a shallow grave neat the home

arrested and thereafter confessed t

At the first stage Of a bifurcated trial :

&§ 19.2-264 1 and -264.4, a jury found Mueller guilty of capital

, 4 *r in the

murder in violation of ‘ ode § 18.2-31(5) and 31(8) (murder

and murder of a child under 12 in the com

convicted Mueller of rape

» her rape and murdet

conducted pursuant to ¢ ode

commission of a rape

mission of an abduction) The jury also

Mueller v. Commonw...th

244 Va. 386 (1992)

and abduction with intent to defile, and it fixed his punishment at

life imprisonment on each of those charges. In the penalty phase of

the capital murder trial, the jury fixed Mueller’s punishment for

capital murder at death, based on findings of both vileness and

future dangerousness. After the hearing required by Code § 19.2

264.5, the trial court imposed the sentences fixed by the jury

Mueller is before this Court for automatic review of his death

sentence and, pursuant to Code § 17-110.1, we have consolidated

that review with his appeal of his capital murder conviction. We

have also certified from the Court of Appeals Mueller’s appeal of

his noncapital convictions. Code § 17-116.06. Further, in accor

dance with Code § 17-110.2, we have given this matter priority on

our docket. We review the evidence and all reasonable inferences

fairly deducible therefrom in the light most favorable to the Com

monwealth, the prevailing party below. Cheng v. Commonwealth.

240 Va. 26, 42, 393 S.E.2d 599. 608 (1990)

[HE EVIDENCI

Ihe evidence at trial showed that on the evening of October $

1990, Taryn Potts took her daughter, ¢ harity Powers, to a skating

rink and left her there for the evening. Potts had arranged to have a

iriend, Steve Harris, drive Charity home from the rink later that

night. However, Harris fell asleep and he did not go to the rink

When Potts arrived home at 3:00 a.m. on October 6, 1990 and dis

covered that Harris had not brought Charity home, she immediately

contacted the police, and they began to look for her daughter

Kevin H. Speeks, who knew Charity, testified that he saw her at a

last food restaurant near the skating rink about |2:50 a.m. on Octo

ber 6, 1990. While at the restaurant, Specks also observed a man

with an unkempt appearance, who appeared to be thirty years of age

and of medium height, driving a cream-colored station wagon with

wood siding through the parking lot several times. As Speeks left

the restaurant, he saw that the man was standing on the right side of

the building. Speeks also saw that Charity was sitting on a curb

located on the same side of the building. Sergeant Mike Spraker of

the Chesterfield County Police Department testified that Mueller

customarily drove a cream-colored station wagon which had wood

siding

Mueller v. Commonwealth 39]

244 Va. 386 (1992)

In conversations with the police on October 8 and 9, 1990, Mue!

ler admitted speaking with a young, white female on the night of

October 5, 1990, at a fast food restaurant that might have been near

the skating rink. As a result of information gained in their investiga

tion, the police searched for Charity’s body near Mueller's home

and on February 8, 1991, they found ‘‘a clump of hair and what

looked like some white bone sticking out of the ground.’’ There

upon, the police exhumed Charity’s body, which had been buried

ibout 900 feet behind Mueller’s house. An investigator also found a

knife sticking in the ground about |74 feet from the grave

The police arrested Mueller on February 12, 1991. After being

advised of his Miranda rights, Mueller agreed to talk with Detective

R. Wayne Garber of the Chesterfield County Police Department and

John M. Palfi, an FBI special agent. Garber and Palfi interrogated

Mueller for approximately four and one-half hours. During this

nterrogation, Mueller stated several times that he was ready to go

to jail and that the police should put him in jail. Mueller did not

state at any time that he wished to end the questioning. Approa!

mately two hours into the interrogation, Agent Palfi left the room

Shortly thereafter, Mueller asked Detective Garber, *‘Do you think |

need an attorney here?’’ Garber shook his head slightly from side to

side while holding his arms out and his palms up in a shrug-like

manner, stating, *‘ You're just talking to us.’’

Several minutes later, Mueller confessed to the crime. Mueller

stated that he had agreed to give Charity a ride home from the res

taurant but that he drove her to his house instead. He admitted that

he was thinking about having sex with her and he stated that he

thought she was 18 or 19 years old. Charity was approximately

48°’ tall and weighed 90 pounds. Mueller stated that Charity agreed

to have sex with him, and she told him that she wanted to go home

afterward. Mueller took Charity to the woods behind his house

where he had intercourse with her. He stated that although he had a

knife nearby, he did not use it

Mueller stated that he strangled Charity to death because he was

afraid that she would report the incident to the police. He also stated

that he had been drinking heavily and that, the next morning, he did

not know whether he had dreamed about the previous night s events

or whether they actually had occurred. When he weni to check the

woods, he saw Charity’s body. He then purchased a shovel from a

local store, buried the body, and burned Charity’s clothes and jew

elry

Mueller v. \ummonwealth

244 Va. 386 (1992)

After making this confession, Mueller led the police to the site

where he had buried the body. He also showed them where he had

burned the clothing and jewelry, as well as the area where he had

left the knife. This was the same area where the police earlier had

found a knife. Additionally, Mueller showed the police the location

where he had intercourse with Charity. This area was about 15 feet

from where the knife was found

Dr. Marcella Fierro, who conducted an autopsy on Charity’s

body, testified that Charity’s throat had been cut to the depth of one

inch, resulting in a horizontal cut on the epiglottis, which is located

on the trachea. She further testified that such a cut would result in

the severance of the carotid artery and the jugular vein. According

to Dr. Fierro, a person suffering from such an injury would die after

several minutes, and there were indications that Charity had bled

before her death. Based on these facts, Dr. Fierro testified that the

ause of death was an ‘‘acute neck injury

Additionally, Dr. Fierro found that, upon examining the skin over

the breast area, there were ‘‘irregular holes in the area where each

nipple would be.’’ Dr. Fierro testified that she believed this condi-

tion to be the result of an injury, but she could not determine its

suse or whether it had occurred before or after death. Dr. Fierro’s

examination also revealed a *‘big gash’’ on the victim's upper left

thigh. Dr. Fierro stated that this could be an injury but that she

could not determine whether it had occurred before or after Char-

ity s death. However, Dr. Fierro testified that if it were an injury, it

would have resulted from application of a ‘‘blunt or sharp force."

Dr. Fierro also determined that there were three tears to the hymenal

ring of the vagina which were consistent with sexual penetration

lI

ISSUES PREVIOUSLY RESOLVED

[1] Mueller’s appeal raises certain legal issues which are resolved

by our prior decisions. We reaffirm our previous rejection of these

contentions. Therefore, we will not discuss them beyond giving

citations to representative cases in which those issues were decided

adversely to Mueller’s claims. The issues raised here which have

been expressly rejected by this Court are

4. The death penalty violates the United States Constitution's

prohibition against cruel and unusual punishment. See George

Mueller v. Commonwealth

244 Va. 386 (1992)

v. Commonwealth, 242 Va. 264, 271, 411 S.E.2d 12, 16

(1991), cert. denied, 503 U.S . 112 $.Ct. S91 (1992);

Yeatts v. Commonwealth, 242 Va. 121, 126, 410 S.E.2d 254,

258 (1991), cert. denied, U.S . 112 $.Ct. 1500

(1992)

B. The aggravating circumstance of ‘‘vileness’’ set forth in the

capital murder statute is unconstitutionally vague. See Spencer

v. Commonwealth, 238 Va. 563, 569, 385 S.E.2d 850, 853

(1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 1093 (1990)(Spencer Il); Gray

v. Commonwealth, 233 Va. 313, 320-21, 356 $.E.2d 157, 161

cert. denied, 484 U.S. 873 (1987)

The verdict form was defective because it did not list the miti

gating factors mentioned in the statute. See Buchanan v. Com

monwealth, 238 Va. 389, 416-17, 384 S.E.2d 757, 773 (1989),

cert. denied, 493 U.S. 1063 (1990), Watkins v. Common

wealth, 229 Va. 469, 491, 331 S.E.2d 422, 438 (1985). cert

denied, 475 U.S. 1099 (1986): LeVasseur v. Commonwealth

225 Va. 564, 595, 304 S.E.2d 644, 661 (1983), cert. denied

464 U.S. 1063 (1984)

ASSIGNMENTS OF ERROR WAIVED

[2] Because Mueller did not address in his brief assignments of

error 7, 8, 9, 12, and 16, he is deemed to have waived them.’ Rule

5:27(e); see Quesinberry v. Commonwealth, 241 Va. 364 470. 402

S.E.2d 218, 222, cert. denied, 502 U.S bi2 S.Ct. 13 (1991)

These assignments of error are

4

The Court erred in denying Defendant's ' " bductio d apital

murder

8. The Court er n refusing

person under

9 The Court

murder

12. The Court

um § body

16. The Court

Mueller v Commonwealth

244 Va. 386 (1992)

IV

PRI

'RIAL MATTERS

-

A. Admissibility of Mue.ler’s February 12, 1991 Confession

Mueller contends that the trial court erred in refusing to Suppress

his confession of February 12. 199] He does not contest the ade-

quacy of the Miranda warnings given at the outset of the interroga-

tion, nor does he challenge the validity of his initial waiver of these

rights. Rather, Mueller asserts only that Detective Garber’ s response

to his question, ‘‘Do you think I need an attorney here?’’, invali-

dated the earlier Miranda warnings given to him. Thus, he contends

that his subsequent confession was involuntary

[3-4] In assessing the effect of Detective Garbe. 5 response on the

voluntariness of Mueller’s statement. we apply a well-established

Standard of review. In Gray \ Commonwealth, 233 Va. at 324, 356

S.E.2d at 163, we said

A defendant's waiver of his Miranda rights is valid only if the

waiver is made knowingly, voluntarily and intelligently,

Miranda, 384 U.S. at 475 Whether a statement is voluntary is

ultimately a legal rather than factual question. See Miller y

Fenton, 474 U.S. 104, 110, 106 S.Ct 445, 450 (1985). Subsidi-

ary factual questions, however, are entitled to a presumption of

correctness. /d. at 112, 106 S.Ct. at 451. The test to be applied

in determining voluntariness is whether the statement is the

product of an essentially free and unconstrained choice by its

maker,’’ or whether the maker's will ‘has been overborne and

his capacity for self-determination critically impaired."’

Schneckloth v. Bustamonte, 412 US 218, 225 (1973). In deter.

mining whether a defendant's will has been overborne, courts

look to ‘‘the totality of all the surrounding circumstances,"’ id

at 226, including the defendant's background and experience

and the conduct of the police, Correll y Commonwealth, 232

Va. 454, 464, 352 S.E.2d 352. 357 (1987); Stockton, 227 Va. at

140, 314 S.B.2d at 38]

he record shows that Mueller was 42 years old at the time he

made this confession and that he had a high school equivalency

|

monwealth

(1992)

ATTERS

ry 12, 1991 Confession

rt erred in refusing to suppress

He does not contest the ade

| at the outset of the interroga

ty of his initial waiver of these

at Detective Garber’ s response

ed an attorney here?’’, invali

iven to him. Thus, he contends

ivoluntary

clive Garber’s response on the

we apply a well-established

onwealth, 233 Va. at 324. 356

fa rights is valid only if the

intarily and intelligently

f a Statement is voluntary is

ual question. See Miller

t. 445, 450 (1985). Subsidi

entitled to a presumption of

( 451. The test to be applied

hether the statement is the

unconstrained choice by its

ll “*has been overborne and

ion critically impaired

>. 218, 225 (1973). In deter

has been overborne, courts

unding circumstances,’’ id

background and experience

rell v. Commonwealth, 232

1987); Stockton, 227 Va. at

$ 42 years old at the time he

id a high school equivalency

Muelle: Commonwealth 395

244 Va. 386 (1992)

diploma. Prior to the interrogation, Detective Garber = a

ler of his rights under Miranda and Mueller stated that he unde

cach of those rights

~~ investigative efforts in this case also ee ae

ler's experience with police interrogation procedure $ A dh é _—

1990, Garber read a ‘‘Miranda Right Form’’ to ~ 2 ene

Garber ascertained that Mueller understood the re nag the - .

Mueller signed a written waiver of his Miranda rights poe —

sions after signing this waiver, Mueller exercised his right to te

ate police questioning ‘aes

ls addition, the record shows that several years earlier, ~~

had been informed of and had waived his Miranda rights on ~

occasions. On each of these occasions, he executed a form waiving

his Miranda rights, and he gave a statement to the police

We also note that, during the February 12, 199! mc ay

Mueller made some statements which further poy ary i

was aware of the consequences of talking to the police - a “

fessing, Mueller expressed concern regarding where me por de

incarcerated, given the serious nature of the crimes a ai

ing to the crimes, he told Detective Garber and Agent oa ee

had wanted ‘‘to get it off his chest."" At this time, Mue wal ~

stated, ‘I got death coming to me. | knew it as soon as | opened my

ae te also consider the factual findings made by the trial court

- > trial court found that Mueller

concerning Mueller’s confession. The trial cx

knew how to ask for the assistance of legal counsel, as -Y

his request for such assistance on October 9, 1990, : womy

course of a prior interview with Detective Garber and ne Nn os

that the police properly advised Mueller of his Miranda iy he

February 12, 1992; and that he understood those rights prior Oo . |

The trial court further found that Mueller’s

. » to the crimes

fessing | 1991 was not an

question to Detective Garber on February | 2, -

expression of a desire for the assistance of counse ee

Mueller does not assert that these factual findings oe u r-

ported by evidence taken at the suppression hearing. Basec - =

review of this evidence, we conclude that the factual wneing vad -

trial court are supported by the record and, geet r- —

them substantial weight in our determination waetner ro rb

statement was voluntary. See Miller v. Fenton, 474 U.S , th2

(1985)

—

396

Mu r v. Commonwealth

244 Va. 386 (1992)

[6] Based on the above evidence ; -

ler’s question, ‘‘Do nce and findings, we hold th: ’

>ch + wn fli a I need an attorney here?’’, ea

of be Atinaade o - ~ id not invalidate Mueller’s earlier waive

Garber did not a i aap we find that Mueller’s question ~

oni. = mute a request for counsel. In Eaton v. C

cert. denied, 502 vy 236, 253-54, 397 S.E.2d 385, 395 96 (1990),

rd ad, UZ : a. = '

thet “‘custodial becoat 112 S.Ct. 88 (1991). this Court a

received Miranda w: gation must cease, when the accused. havin

questions of the ee oe having begun to respond to -

sel."*” (quoting - ere has clearly asserted his right to ym

re rm. 3 ae v. Arizona, 451 U.S. 477, 485 (1981 .

aaa iain , + Eaton, the police had continued to qu :

pono a0 é h ter ne had asked, ‘‘ You did say I could hav vs

Court held Presa oe | 240 Va. at 250, 397 S.E.2d at 393 This

biguous request oe endant’s question did not constitute an unam-

Va. at 254, 397 S._E po SO as to invoke the Edwards rule. 240

question to Detective G ~ Here, we likewise hold that Mueller’s

request for counsel sarber did not constitute an unambig

e guous

[7] Mueller

sani ethno a ta that even if his question did not

response pantetiatins ; © COERTS Gt counsel, Detective Garber’s

Miranda tights. We 4 ohio Mueller’s earlier waiver of his

oes Senieeation isagree. Based on our review of the videota

here by Mueller to a nat Garber did not, as perma

‘‘No.”” Rather he re sey to Mueller's question by answerin

Slightly from side to . omy » while shrugging and shaking his head

the totality of the circ a , You're just talking to us.”’ Considerin

prior experience * - ummstances detailed above, including Mueller’s

tacts with Detective Ge — Justice system and his previous ot

enems ted ais er and Agent Palfi, we find that Garber's

waiver of his Mirand n at issue did not invalidate Mueller’s earlier

eusiier did ant — a Moreover, since Garber’s response to

istnentinn aemaited mp an unambiguously negative reply, the

was not altered by thi : : € initial advisement of Miranda rights

We also sies Ghadtier’s exes

PM Rapmrdion. yor 1" S assertion that his repeated state

right to terminate oe to jail constituted an invocation =

216 Va. 40, 216 SE od 28 (1975), th In Akers v. Commonwealth

stenction oien ae & >), this Court confronted a s '

eg pdr ne menpmr afte: being advised of “ caren

’ 0 I have to talk about it now?’’ In response to this

ae tr tha

gs, we hold that Muel-

ey here?”’, and Detec-

{ueller’s earlier waiver

Mueller’s question to

sel. In Eaton v. Com-

’d 385. 395-96 (1990),

991), this Court stated

en the accused, having

gun to respond to the

erted his right to coun-

U.S. 477, 485 (1981))

had continued to ques-

did say | could have an

397 §.E.2d at 393. This

not constitute an unam-

» the Edwards rule. 240

wise hold that Mueller's

stitute an unambiguous

n if his question did not

insel, Detective Garber's

’s earlier waiver of his

r review of the videotape

ser did not, as contended

question by answering

ng and shaking his head

Jking to us." Considering

bove, including Mueller’s

stem and his previous con-

alfi, we find that Garber’s

invalidate Mueller’s earlier

since Garber’s response to

yously negative reply, the

isement of Miranda rights

hat his repeated statements

gituted an invocation of his

ip Akers Vv Commonwealth,

sCourt confronted a similar

2 advised of his Miranda

pw?’ In response to this

Mueller v. Commonwealth

244 Va. 386 (1992)

re

question, the police merely continued the interrogation. This Court

held that the defendant’s question was not an invocation of his right

to terminate questioning, stating, ‘‘Defendant’s inquiry was no more

than an impatient gesture on his part. If defendant had desired to

end the interrogation, he could have simply said, ‘I do not want to

answer any more questions."’* 216 Va. at 46, 216 S.E.2d at 32.

({8] Based on our review of the videotape of Mueller’s interroga-

tion, we likewise conclude that his statements regarding going to

jail were simply impatient gestures and that they did not constitute

an invocation of his right to terminate the interrogation. After each

such statement, Mueller continued to talk with Garber and Palfi,

giving no indication that he wanted to end the discussion. Moreover,

when Palfi asked him whether he would rather talk to other officers

instead of himself and Garber, Mueller responded, “I’ve been talk-

ing to you for four months. I’ve established a pretty good relation-

ship with you guys '* Finally, the record shows that, during two pre-

vious interviews with Garber, Mueller unambiguously had

terminated the police interrogation by standing up and stating that

he wanted the officers to stop questioning him.

(9} For these reasons, on our independent review of the record,

we conclude, as a matter of law, that Mueller’s statement of Febru-

ary 12, 1991 was voluntary and admissible

B. Change of Venue

Mueller filed a pretrial motion requesting a change of venue on

the ground that extensive media coverage of the murder made it

impossible for him to receive a fair trial in Chesterfield County. The

articles and television reports he adduced included information that

Mueller was charged with the murder of Charity Powers, that Muel-

ler had a previous criminal record which included prior rape Convic-

tions, and that Mueller had confessed to raping and killing Charity

Mueller also presented to the trial court affidavits from residents of

Chesterfield County stating that. based on what they had seen or

heard in the media, they believed that Mueller probably was guilty

of raping and killing Charity Powers The trial court took the

motion for change of venue under advisement. Mueller renewed this

motion on the day of trial. After the jury was empaneled, the trial

court denied the motion, stating that it was satisfied that the jury

panel was impartial.

398 Mueller v. Commonwealth

244 Va. 38€ 192)

Mueller argues that the trial court erred in denying his motion for

a change of venue because the media coverage was inflammatory

and contained information regarding his confession and his prior

criminal record. Mueller contends that these aspects of the media

coverage necessitated a change of venue in order to protect is

rights afforded under the Sixth, Eighth, and Fourteenth amendments

of the United States Constitution. We disagree

[10-11] Initially, we observe that there is a presumption that a

defendant can receive a fair trial from the citizens of the jurisdiction

in which the offense occurred. It is the burden of the defendant to

overcome this presumption by demonstrating that the feeling of

prejudice on the part of the citizenry is widespread and is such that

would ‘‘be reasonably certain to prevent a fair trial."’ Stockton v.

Commonwealth, 227 Va. 124, 137, 314 S.E.2d 371, 380, cert.

denied, 469 U.S. 873 (1984)(citation omitted). Further, the decision

whether to grant a change of venue lies within the sound discretion

of the trial court. George, 242 Va. at 274, 411 S.E.2d at 18; LeVas-

seur, 225 Va. at 577, 304 S.E.2d at 651. Therefore, the trial court's

ruling on this issue will not be disturbed on appeal unless the record

affirmatively shows an abuse of discretion. /d.

Extensive media coverage which discloses information about the

accused, including his criminal record, does not, of itself, mandate a

change of venue. Buchanan, 238 Va. at 407, 384 S.E.2d at 767;

Mackall v. Commonwealth, 236 Va. 240, 250, 372 S.E.2d 759, 766

(1988), cert. denied, 492 U.S. 925 (1989). A significant factor in

determining whether a change of venue is warranted is whether the

media reports are factual and accurate. Buchanan, 238 Va. at 407,

384 S.E.2d at 768. Here, Mueller does not challenge the factual

: nature or accuracy of the media coverage surrounding his case.’

Moreover, we find no indication in the record that any of the media

reports were inaccurate.

[12] Another significant factor in determining whether the venue

of a trial should be changed is the difficulty encountered in select-

ing a jury. /d. In the present case, 47 venirepersons were examined.

Mueller argues, however, that an editorial published in the Richmond Times - Dispatch,

five months before the hearing on his motion for change of venue, was inflammatory. While

the editorial did refer to the murder of a child as being ‘‘among the sharpest evidence of the

utter corruptibility of man,"* it also stated that Mueller’s guilt in the Powers case had yet to

be established. Accordingly, we do not view this article as being prejudicial to Mueller's

right to receive a fair trial

ior for

matory

Ss prior

media

ect his

dments

that a

Aliction

dant to

ling of

ch that

Kfon V.

» cert.

ecision

cretion

LeVas-

court's

record

yut the

date a

il 767.

9, 766

ctor in

her the

ut 407,

factual

case.”

media

venue

select-

mined.

uspatch,

y While

e of the

ad yet to

‘lueller’s

Mueller v. Commonwealth 399

244 Va. 386 (1992)

Of this number, only nine had to be excused because of their predis-

position toward belief in Mueller’s guilt.

As the United States Supreme Court has stated

To hold that the mere existence of any preconceived notion as

to the guilt or innocence of an accused, without more, is suffi-

cient to rebut the presumption of a prospective juror’s imparti-

ality would be to establish an impossible standard. It is suffi-

cient if the juror can lay aside his impression or opinion and

render a verdict based on the evidence presented in court.

Irvin v. Dowd, 366 U.S. 717, 723 (1961). Here, given the factual

nature of the media coverage and Mueller’s tacit acquiescence in the

accuracy of its content, as well as the relative ease with which a jury

was empaneled, we hold that the trial court did not abuse its discre-

tion in denying Mueller’s motion for a change of venue.

V

JURY SELECTION

A. Refusal to Allow Questions on Voir Dire

Mueller next argues that the trial court erred in refusing to allow

certain questions on voir dire which he contends were necessary to

determine whether any prospective jurors were predisposed toward

imposing the death penalty. Mueller asserts that he should have

been allowed to ask these questions because the Commonwealth

was entitled to conduct the opposite line of questioning, viz.,

whether certain prospective jurors were unalterably opposed to the

death penalty. See Wainwright v. Witt, 469 U.S. 412, 424 (1985);

Adams v. Texas, 448 U.S. 38, 45-46 (1980); Witherspoon v. Illinois,

391 U.S. 510, 522 (1968).

A total of 47 persons comprised the venire. From this group, 23

persons were struck for cause. Mueller objected to the trial court's

qualification of ten of the remaining 24 members. However, he

objected to only two members, Ruby Moschler and Max Zoeckler,

on the grounds that they were ‘‘death prone.’’

{13} An examination of Mueller’s voir dire of Ruby Moschler

reveals that the trial court did not reject any question regarding

400 Mueller v. Commonwealth

244 Va. 386 (19°

Moschler’s ability to impose a life sentence.? Since Mueller did not

proffer any such question which was rejected by the trial court, he

may not claim on appeal that his right to question this prospective

juror was violated. See Morgan v. Illinois, ___ US. 112

S.Ct. 2222, 2229 (1992); LeVasseur, 225 Va. at 585, 304 S.E.2d. at

655. —

During his voir dire of Max Zoeckler, Mueller sought to ask,

“[I]f in sitting in the guilt phase of the trial you conclude beyond a

reasonable doubt that Mr. Mueller has raped and killed a 10 year old

child, don’t you think that death is the only appropriate punishment

for that?’’ The trial court sustained the prosecutor's objection to this

question. Counsel for Mueller then attempted to ask Mr. Zoeckler,

(I}f you sit in the guilt phase of the trial and you determine

beyond a reasonable doubt that Mr. Mueller raped and

abducted and killed a 10 year old girl, and then you sit in the

sentencing phase and listen to the evidence in aggravation and

the evidence in mitigation, aren't you going to think the only

appropriate sentence is death?

The trial court also sustained the prosecutor's objection to this ques-

tion

[14] We hold that the trial court did not err in refusing both of

these questions since they were argumentative and provided the pro-

spective juror with no basis upon which to express an opinion. See

Buchanan, 238 Va. at 402, 384 S.E.2d at 765; Patterson v. Com-

monwealth, 222 Va. 653, 659 n.*, 283 S.E.2d 212, 216 n.* (1981)

Further, even if we disregard the argumentative nature of these

questions, we still find that the trial court’s ruling did not violate

Mueller’s right to a fair and impartial jury.

[his Court has held that where the voir dire questioning con-

ducted by the trial court otherwise ‘‘assure[s] the removal of those

In fact, Mueller was allowed to ask Moschler whether she would be ‘predisposed

towards the death penalty’’ if she heard facts which showed Mueller to be guilty beyond a

reasonable doubt. Moschier replied, ‘‘{I}f the evidence in a trial proved to me that he had

done all these things, | will be in favor of [the death penalty]."’ Moschler clarified this

answer by stating that she would make this decision only after weighing all the evidence in

the penalty phase. She also stated that she could consider imposing a life sentence. Further

in response to a question posed by counsel for Mueller, she stated that there was evidence

that could keep her from imposing the death penalty

|

i

Mueller v. Commonwealth

244 Va. 386 (1992)

who would invariably impose capital punishment,”’ it is not revers-

ible error for the trial court to deny defense counsel additional ques-

tions on this subject. Turner v. Commonwealth, 221 Va. 513, 523,

273 S.E.2d 36, 42-43 (1980), cert. denied, 451 U.S. 1011 (1981)

This approach is in accord with the holding of the United States

Supreme Court set forth in Morean, __ U.S. at ___, 112 S.Ct. at

2232-33.

In Morgan, the Court held that the defendant's right to a fair and

impartial jury was violated by the trial court's refusal to inquire

whether prospective jurors would vote automatically for imposition

of the death penalty. The defendant had requested that the trial court

ask the jurors: ‘If you found [the defendant] guilty, would you

automatically vote to impose the death penalty no matter what the

facts are?”’ __ U.S. at __, 112 S.Ct. at 2226.

In reaching its decision, the Supreme Court noted that the trial

court had not asked any questions on this subject. Instead, it had

only posed general questions regarding the prospective jurors’ abil-

ity to be fair and impartial and follow the instructions of the court.

The Supreme Court held that such general questions were inade-

quate because a prospective juror could, in good conscience,

respond affirmatively and yet be unaware that certain beliefs about

the death penalty would impede his or her performance as a juror.

__ US. at __, 112 S.Ct. at 2226; 2232-33.

[15] In the case before us, the trial court did ask questions which

probed whether prospective juror Zoeckler would automatically

vote for the death penalty. At the beginning of Zoeckler’s individual

voir dire, the following dialogue took place:

THE COURT: Do you have any moral or religious convictions

that would prevent you from voting for the death penalty?

MR. ZOECKLER: No.

THE COURT: On the other hand of that if the Court instructed

you also, and I will instruct you that one of the other penalties,

a lesser penalty that you could consider is life imprisonment,

could you fairly consider the lesser penalty in deciding on what

penalties the defendant should receive, by punishment what he

should receive?

MR. ZOECKLER: I could consider it, yes.

Mueller v. Commonwealth

244 Va. 386 (! )

THE COURT: If the Court instructed you that it was death or

life imprisonment, would you fairly consider life imprisonment

as well as the death penalty?

MR. ZOECKLER: I don’t know, no.

THE COURT: Let me see if I have got you right. First, if I

instructed you that there are two penalties that you could pun-

ish the defendant for, one is the death penalty, you say you

have no moral or religious convictions that would prevent you

from voting for the death penalty?

MR. ZOECKLER: Right.

THE COURT: Also, if the Court instructed you that the life

imprisonment was a lesser penalty, would you consider the

lesser punishment?

MR. ZOECKLER: Yes, I would consider it.

In responding to the prosecutor’s questions, Zoeckler reiterated this

position, stating that he would not vote automatically to impose

either sentence. In response to questions from Mueller’s counsel,

Zoeckler stated that he would wait to hear the evidence in the pen-

alty phase before deciding which penalty to impose. Viewing

Zoeckler’s voir dire as a whole, we find that he was questioned suf-

ficiently to determine whether he would automatically impose the

death penalty. Therefore, we cannot say that the trial court abused

its discretion in refusing to allow further questions which Mueller

proposed. See Morgan, __ U.S. at ___, 112 S.Ct. at 2232-33; Tur-

ner, 221 Va. at 523, 273 S.E.2d at 43; LeVasseur, 225 Va. at 584,

304 S.E.2d at 655.4

* Mueller also contends that the trial court erred in refusing to allow him to ask Theresa

Gryder, who was eventually empaneled on the jury, the following question

First you decide whether or not the person is guilty or innocent, so given that you have

already decided that, okay, and you have determined that he, in fact, did abduct, rape

and murder a 10 year old child, don’t you feel then that the death sentence would be the

only appropriate punishment?

Because Mueller did not object to the trial court's determination that Gryder was qualified to

serve on the jury, he has not preserved his right to challenge this determination. See Morgan,

U.S. at ___, 112 S.Ct. at 2229; Rule 5:25

th of

ment

life

r the

ted this

impose

ounsel,

ie pen

iewing

ed suf

se the

abused

Mueller

; Tur

at 584.

Theresa

u have

\, rape

be the

slified to

Mor gan

4

Mueller v. Commonwealth 103

244 Va. 386 (1992)

B. Refusal to Disqualify Venire

Mueller contends that the comments of one venireperson improp

erly tainted the group and that the trial court erred in failing to dis

qualify the entire venire for this reason. During the trial court's

questioning of the first group of 14 prospective jurors, David Clark

told the court that another prospective juror, Helen Blackwell, stated

in the jury waiting room that she had ‘‘some strong feelings about

the innocence or guilt of the defendant.’’ The iria!l court then asked

the entire panel, “‘|Hjave any of you acquired any information

about the alleged offense or the accused from news media or other

sources, and if so, would that information affect your impartiality in

the case?’

The trial court postponed questioning of those who

answered in the affirmative until the individual questioning of each

prospective juror.”

When questioned individually, only Robert Mitchell referred to

comments which he had overheard in the waiting room. Mitchell

stated that he had heard another prospective juror say that Mueller

had confessed. Another prospective juror, Ruby Moschler, stated

that she had not overheard any prospective juror making statements

in the waiting room

At the end of the voir dire, the trial court asked the entire venire

whether any member had heard anything since being questioned by

the court which would change any answer he or she had given pre

viously. No one answered in the affirmative

[16] Mueller cites no evidence to support his contention that the

venire was tainted by the comments of Helen Blackwell. Further

the record reflects that both counsel had ample opportunity to ques

tion each prospective juror as to what he or she had heard, in the

waiting room and elsewhere, about the case. This questioning

revealed no evidence that Blackwell's comment had influenced or

prejudiced the prospective jurors in any way. In fact, Mitchell, the

only prospective juror who mentioned having heard Blackwell's

comment, said that the statement he overheard was ‘‘a casual

thing’ and that it was “‘not important to me at that time.’

The trial court is vested with discretion to determine whether the

parties have had a ‘‘full and fair’ opportunity to determine whether

a juror ‘‘stands indifferent to the cause." Buchanan, 238 Va. at 401

The tral court excused Helen Blackwell for cause based on its determination that she

had already formed an opinion in the case

404 Mueller v. Commonwealth

244 Va 386 (1992)

384 S.E.2d at 764; LeVasseur, 225 Va. at 581, 304 S.E.2d at 653

Since the answers to the questions posed by the trial court, as well

as by counsel for both parties, indicated that none of the prospective

jurors was affected by Helen Blackwell's statement, we hold that

the trial court did not abuse its discretion in refusing to disqualify

the entire venire

C. Refusal to Strike Prospective Jurors for Cause

[17] Mueller next argues that nine prospective jurors who had

knowledge of his prior record or confession should have been

stricken for cause. Our standard of review here is well-settled

Based on the trial court's ability “‘to observe and evaluate the

apparent sincerity, conscientiousness, intelligence, and demeanor of

prospective jurors first hand,’’ we will not disturb its rulings on

challenges for cause, unless there is manifest error. Pope v. Com

monwealth, 234 Va. 114, 123-24, 360 §.E.2d 352, 358 (1987), cert

denied, 485 U.S. 1015 (1988). In making this determination, we

decide whether the voir dire 2s a whole shows that a juror’s per

formance of his or her duty, in accordance with the trial court's

instructions and the oath taken, would be prevented or substantially

impaired. Adams, 448 U.S. at 45; Eaton, 240 Va. at 246, 397 S.E.2d

at 391; George, 242 Va. at 276, 411 S.E.2d at 19

Additionally, we observe that jurors need not be totally unaware

of the facts and issues involved in the case. /rvin, 366 U.S. at 722

his is true even in instances where a juror has previous knowledge

of a defendant's past crimes and of the current charge against the

defendant. Murphy v. Florida, 421 U.S. 794, 800 (1975)

In the case before us, the trial court initially questioned the pro

spective jurors collectively concerning whether (1) there was any

thing which would prejudice them against either party, (2) they

were aware of any bias or prejudice against either party, and (3)

they understood that a defendant is presumed to be innocent until

the prosecution proves his guilt beyond a reasonable doubt.° Addi

tionally, each prospective juror was questioned individually by the

trial court and counsel for both parties to determine whether pre

trial publicity had caused him or her to be biased

* Donald Meincke and Dale Morris were questioned individually regarding the presump

tion of innocence and the prosecution's burden of proof beyond a reasonable doubt

Mueller v. Commonwealth 405

244 Va. 386 (1992)

Raymond LaFountain

In response to a question by Mueller’s counsel, Raymond

LaFountain stated that he had heard from television reports that

Mueller had been charged with the crime, that Charity’s body had

been found near Mueller’s home, and that Mueller had made a con

fession to the police. However, LaFountain stated that he had not

formed an opinion as to Mueller’s guilt or innocence. LaFountain

also noted that he did not ‘*know a whole lot about [the case] other

than the fact that the news has said this happened, this gentleman

was accused, and so forth.’’ LaFountain was unaware of Mueller's

prior criminal record

Cynthia Woods

Cynthia Woods stated she had seen television reports and read

newspaper articles which discussed the crime and Mueller’s arrest

She also stated, **I think he had a record,’’ but she did not remem

ber any details. Woods, an eighth grade teacher, also told Mueller's

counsel that, to a limited extent, she had discussed the case with her

students. Woods stated that she did not know much about the defen

dant, that she had ‘‘not been around this summer,’ and that she had

not formed an opinion regarding Mueller’s guilt or innocence

Max Zoeckler

Max Zoeckler stated he had heard media reports concerning

Charity’s disappearance and the discovery of her body. He did not

recall hearing anything about Mueller’s connection with the case,

other than ‘*[i}t may been [sic] that he had some prior acquaintance

ship with the little girl."’ Zoeckler further stated that he had not

formed an opinion regarding Mueller’s guilt or innocence

Patricia Squire

In response to questioning by the prosecutor, Patricia Squire

stated she had heard in media reports that Mueller had been arrested

and she recalled ‘‘there had been another point in which he had sim

ilar charges.’’ Squire also had heard that the victim's body had been

406 Mueller v. Commonwealth

244 Va. 386 (19°

dismembered.’ Upon further questioning by the prosecutor whether

she had formed an opinion regarding Mueller’s guilt or innocence,

based on what she had seen or heard from the media, Squire

responded, “‘I felt like he had evidence that very much swayed

towards him being guilty In terms of myself deciding whether

he is guilty or not, no, | have not made any decision.’ She then

reaffirmed this response by stating, ‘‘I haven't formed an opinion

She further stated that she would be able to put aside any informa

tion she had learned from the media and base her decision in this

case on the evidence presented in court

In response to a question posed by Mueller’s counsel, Squire

again stated that, based on the information she had obtained from

the media, ‘‘it probably weighs heavily in terms of thinking he

might be guilty."" However, upon further questioning by Mueller’s

counsel, Squire stated that her previous knowledge of the case

would not interfere with her ability to follow the trial court's

instructions and that she could put the fact of Mueller’s prior crimi

nal convictions out of her mind. She also stated that her previously

acquired knowledge would not interfere with her ability to apply a

presumption of innocence in the case

Elizabeth Davis

Responding to a question from the trial court, Elizabeth Davis

stated that all she had seen or heard in the media coverage of this

case was the fact that Charity Powers had disappeared. Davis later

responded to the prosecutor that she understood the presumption of

a defendant's innocence, the prosecution's burden of proof of guilt

beyond a reasonable doubt, and that she would apply the trial

court's instructions to the evidence in making her decision. In

response to a question from Mueller's counsel, Davis stated that, in

conversations with co-workers about the case, she had heard that

Mueller had confessed. However, Davis also stated that she had not

formed an opinion regarding Mueller’s guilt or innocence

Donald Meincke

Donald Meincke stated he had heard about the case in television

Squire was incorrect in her belief that the body had been dismembered

Mueller v. Commonwealth 407

244 Va. 386 (199?)

arrested, had confessed his guilt, and that he previously had been

convicted of other crimes. However, Meincke further stated that he

could put aside what he had learned from the media, that he had not

formed an opinion regarding Mueller's guilt or innocence, that he

could base his decision on evidence heard in court, and that he

could be impartial

Dale Morris

Dale Morris stated that he was aware of the case and Mueller's

confession of guilt from television news reports. Morris indicated

that he had not formed an opinion about Mueller’s yuilt or inno

cence and that he felt he could decide the case based entirely on the

evidence presented in court

Robert Mite hell

Robert Mitchell stated he knew, based on media coverage, that

Mueller was arrested for the murder of Charity Powers, but he did

not “*know that much as to what the evidence was that caused his

arrest." Although Mitchell initially stated he believed, as a general

rule, that a person is usually guilty if arrested, he later stated that he

did not know the facts of the present case and had not formed an

opinion regarding the guilt or innocence of Mueller

Ruby Moschler

Ruby Moschler stated she learned from media reports that Muel

ler had been arrested for the murder of Charity Powers. However,

she did not remember anything else about Mueller and she said that

she had formed no opinion regarding his guilt or innocence. Mos

chier further stated that, while she did not already feel that Mueller

was guilty, she was ‘relieved that he ha[{d] been arrested.’ Upon

questioning by Mueller’s counsel, Moschler responded that she

would weigh the evidence presented in the courtroom to determine

which penalty to impose, that she would consider both penalties,

and that she had no &xed opinion regarding Mueller's guilt

{18} In our rcyiew of the whole voir dire testimony of each of

these nine prospective jurors, we find no indication that each could

not ‘lay aside [his o: her] impressions or opinions and render a ver

dict based on the evidence presented in court." Pope, 234 Va. at

408 Mueller v. Commonwealth

244 Va. 38% (1992)

124. 360 S.E.2d at 358. Accordingly, we find no error in the tral

court's refusal to strike each of them for cause. /d

VI

GUILT PHASI MOTION FOR MISTRIAIL

Mueller contends that he was entitled to a mistrial based on the

prosecutor's failure to inform him that witness Kevin Speeks had

not made a positive identification of him when shown a photo array

consisting of seven pictures. The record is silent, however, regard

ing whether Mueller’s photograph was among the seven photo

graphs shown to Speeks. Nevertheless, Mueller argues that Speeks's

failure to identify him was exeulpatory evidence within the meaning

of Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83 (1963). We disagree.

(19] Exculpatory evidence is evidence favorable to a defendant

which must be disclosed by the prosecution where it is material to

the defendant's guilt or punishment. /d. at 87. The record before us

shows that the prosecutor informed the trial court that he had inves-

tigated the matter of the photo array upon learning about it for the

first time at trial. He was unable to determine which police officer

showed Speeks the photographs. Thus, there is no evidence before

us that Speeks was shown a photograph of Mueller or of any specif

ically identified individual. Moreover, since Speeks did not identify

any photograph as representing a person he had seen at the fast food

restaurant, but merely stated that one photograph resembled a man

who was there, the trial court correctly determined that this informa

tion did not constitute exculpatory evidence. Townes v. Common

wealth, 234 Va. 307, 324, 362 S.E.2d 650, 659 (1987), cert. denied,

485 U.S. 971 (1988)

Vil

PENALTY PHASE

A. Parole ineligibility

Mueller argues that the trial court violated his due process rights

by refusing to instruct the jury that, pursuant to Code § 53.1

151(B1), he would not be eligible for parole if convicted of the rape

of Charity Powers, since this would be his third rape conviction. He

also asserts that he should have been allowed the opportunity to

Mueller v. Commonwealth 409

244 Va. 386 (1992)

vduce evidence regarding parole ineligibility in mitigation of

puxishment at the penalty phase of the trial

[20] We hold that the trial court did not err in its rulings here

Chis Court has held uniformly and repeatedly that information

regarding parole eligibility is not relevant for the jury's considera

tion. King v. Commonwealth, 243 Va. 353, 367-68, 416 S.E.2d 669,

677 (1992); Eaton, 240 Va. at 248-49, 397 §.E.2d at 392-93; War

kins v. Commonwealth, 238 Va. 341, 351, 385 S.E.2d 50, 56 (1989),

cert. denied, 494 U.S. 1074 (1990). Further, the United States

Supreme Court has expressly left the determination of this question

to the individual states, as a matter of state law. California v

Ramos, 463 U.S. 992, 1013-14 (1983); Eaton, 240 Va. at 249. 397

S.E.2d at 392-93. We perceive no reason in the case before us to

depart from our prior rulings on this subject

[21] We find no merit in Mueller’s contention that, notwithstand

ing the prior rulings of this Court, he should have been permitted to

present evidence of parole ineligibility because two of the Com

monwealth’s witnesses referred to his prior parole history in their

testimony during the penalty phase of the trial. In Pope, 234 Va. at

126-27, 360 S.E.2d at 360, this Court held that evidence of a defen

dant’s prior parole history is admissible during the penalty phase of

a capital murder trial, where the Commonwealth is seeking the

death penalty based on the ‘‘future dangerousness'’ predicate. This

Court explained that, under Code § 19.2-264.4, the jury is required,

prior to imposing the death penalty based on a finding of future dan

gerousness, to consider the defendant's ‘‘prior history.’’ The fact

that a defendant has had the benefit of parole supervision is part of

this prior history. See id. Thus, this Court has drawn a clear distinc

tion between the admissibility of a defendant's parole history and

evidence of his future parole eligibility

B. Cross-Examination of Mueller

Mueller argues that the trial court erred in permitting the Com

monwealth to question him about his prior convictions for sexual

assault, as well as the present offenses against Charity Powers. We

disagree. During his direct testimony, Mueller acknowledged that he

had prior convictions for sexual offenses and he stated that he was

refused parole repeatedly because of these convictions. Mueller also

testified on direct examination about the circumstances under which

410 Mueller v. Commonwealth

244 Va. 386 ( )

his life had deteriorated and he related the fact that he had spent two

years in a California state hospital

[22] Once a defendant has testified as to certain matters, the

proper scope of cross examination lies within the sound discretion

of the trial court. See Savino v. Commonwealth, 239 Va. 534, 545,

391 S.E.2d 276, 282, cert. denied, 498 U.S. __, 111 S.Ct. 229

(1990). Considering the above testimony, we find that the trial court

did not abuse its discretion in allowing the Commonwealth to ques-

tion Mueller about his prior convictions for sexual offenses and

about whether he had learned anything as a result of his commission

of the present offenses.

C. Admissibility of Dr. Fierro’s Testimony

[23] Mueller contends that portions of the testimony of Dr. Mar-

cella Fierro, who conducted the autopsy of the victim’s body,

should not have been admitted because they included opinion evi-

dence which was not stated to a reasonable degree of medical cer-

tainty. However, Mueller does not identify the portions of Dr.

Fierro’s testimony which he claims were admitted improperly. Fur-

ther, the record shows that, during Dr. Fierro’s testimony in the

guilt phase of the trial, Mueller made no objection to the fact that

her opinions were not stated to a reasonable degree of medical cer-

tainty.” Accordingly, he may not complain on appeal regarding the

admission of this opinion evidence. Spruill v. Commonwealth, 221

Va. 475, 478-79, 271 S.E.2d 419, 421 (1980); Rule 5:25.

During the penalty phase of the trial, the prosecutor questioned

Dr. Fierro regarding certain photographs which depicted the condi-

tion of the victim's body. At this point, Mueller did object to Dr.

Fierro’s testimony. He argued that any opinion on her part regarding

the cause of the injuries, as well as the cause of death, would not be

admissible since it could not be stated to a reasonable degree of

medical certainty.

[24] This objection, however, was wholly inapposite to the testi-

mony which Dr. Fierro gave at the penalty phase of the trial. Here,

* Although prior to Dr. Fierro’s testimony, Mueller informed the court that the defense

was *‘going to have objections to some of the things we think they are going to try to get in,

because we don't think there is a reasonable degree of certainty," Mueller never made a

contemporaneous objection based on Dr. Fierro’s stated degree of certainty during her testi-

mony in the guilt phase of the trial

Mueller v. Commonwealth 411

244 Va. 386 (1992)

Dr. Fierro’s testimony dealt only with descriptions of the photo-

graphs which the prosecution sought to introduce. Dr. Fierro gave

no further testimony during the penalty phase of the trial. Since her

testimony at this stage of the trial involved only a description of the

condition of the body, as depicted in the photographs, it did not con-

Stitute opinion evidence and was properly admitted.

D. Sufficiency of Evidence of Vileness.

[25] Mueller asserts that the evidence in this case was insufficient

to meet the vileness predicate set forth in Code § 19.2-264.2. We

disagree. A finding of vileness must be based on conduct which is ~

‘‘outrageously or wantonly vile, horrible or inhuman in that it

involved torture, depravity of mind or an aggravated battery to the

victim.’’ Code § 19.2-264.2. Proof of any one of these three compo-

nents will support a finding of vileness. /d.; see Poyner v. Common-

wealth, 229 Va. 401, 424, 329 S.E.2d 815, 831, cert. denied, 474

U.S. 865 (1985). We hold that the testimony here sufficiently estab-

lished Mueller’s aggravated battery of the victim, as well as his

depravity of mind

[26] First, the record demonstrates that Mueller perpetrated an

aggravated battery on Charity Powers within the meaning of Code

§ 19.2-264.2. This Court has defined ‘‘aggravated battery’’ in this

context to mean ‘‘a battery which, qualitatively and quantitatively,

is more culpable than the minimum necessary to accomplish an act

of murder."’ Smith v. Commonwealth, 219 Va. 455, 478, 248 S.E.2d

135, 149 (1978), cert. denied, 441 U.S. 967 (1979). Mueller stated

that he strangled Charity to death after he raped her. Dr. Fierro testi-

fied, however, that Charity’s throat had been cut and that a person

suffering this type of wound would live for several minutes. We

find that this evidence from Dr. Fierro is sufficient-to establish an

aggravated battery because the victim was subjected to ‘‘an interval

of agony awaiting death.’’ Stout v. Commonwealth, 237 Va. 126,

134,.376 S.E.2d 288, 292, cert. denied, 492 U.S. 925 (1989);

Edmonds v. Commonwealth, 229 Va. 303, 313, 329 S.E.2d 807,

814, cert. denied, 474 U.S. 975 (1985).

[27] The record before us also contains sufficient evidence to

establish Mueller’s depravity of mind. Depravity of mind can be

established by proof of psychological torture of the victim. Poyner,

229 Va. at 425, 329 S.E.2d at 832. We find that the jury reasonably

412 Mueller v. Commonwealth

244 Va. . (1992)

could have inferred from the evidence that Charity Powers was tor-

tured psychologically during the sequence of events which

culminated in her murder. This ten year old child was alone late at

night after -being unable to find Steve Harris, who was supposed to

have taken her home. Mueller offered to help her out of this fright-

ening situation by telling her that he would take her home. Instead

of keeping that promise, he took her into the woods, raped her, and

then killed her. This conduct extended over a period of time and

under such circumstances as to permit an inference of psychological

torture. See id.

[28] Further evidence of Mueller’s depravity of mind is Dr.

Fierro’s testimony that there were holes in the breast area where the

victim’s nipples would have been and that she believed that this

condition resulted from an injury inflicted on the victim. Evidence

of such sexual mutilation, whether occurring before or after death,

evinces a depravity of mind within the meaning of Code § 19.2-

264.2. See Jones v. Commonwealth, 228 Va. 427, 447-48, 323

S.E.2d 554, 565-66 (1984), cert. denied, 472 U.S. 1012 (1985).

E. Verdict Form.

Mueller argues that the verdict form submitted to the jury did not

properly inform it of the sentencing options. He contends that the

structure of the verdict form influenced the jury to impose the death

sentence rather than life imprisonment. We find no merit in this

contention.

Instruction A informed the jury that it was required to choose

between sentences of death and life imprisonment. This instruction

also informed the jury that it could not sentence Mueller to death

unless the prosecution proved beyond a reasonable doubt at least

one of the two aggravating factors of vileness or future dangerous-

ness. Further, Instruction A directed the jury that, even if the prose-

cution had proved one or both of these aggravating factors, it was

nevertheless free to fix Mueller’s punishment at life imprisonment,

‘if you believe from all the evidence that the death penalty is not

justified.”’

Instruction B set forth four alternative verdicts: (1) a sentence of

death based on a finding of both aggravating factors; (2) a sentence

of death based on a finding of future dangerousness; (3) a sentence

of death based on a finding of vileness; and (4) a life sentence based

on all of the evidence in aggravation and mitigation of the offense.

Mueller v. Commonwealth 413

244 Va. 386 (1992)

To indicate its verdict, the jury was instructed to ‘*[c]ross out any

paragraph, word or phrase which you do not find beyond a reason-

able doubt.”’

[29] We hold that this sentencing form, in conjunction with

Instruction A, fully apprised the jury of its sentencing options. The

structure of the form did not, as contended by Mueller, favor any of

the options presented. Further, since the jury was told in Instruction

A that it could choose the penalty of life imprisonment, even if it

found either or both aggravating factors, the information concerning

the option of life imprisonment was complete. See Stockton v. Com-

monwealth, 241 Va. 192, 215, 402 S.E.2d 196, 209 (1991), cert.

denied, 502 U.S. __, 112 S.Ct. 280 (1991); LeVassewr, 225 Va. at

594-95, 304 S.E.2d at 661.

VIII.

SENTENCE REVIEW

Code § 17-110.1(C) requires us to review the imposition of the

death sentence on Mueller, based on the trial record, to determine

whether (1) it was imposed under the influence of passion,

prejudice, or any other arbitrary factor; or (2) it is excessive or dis-

proportionate to the penalty imposed in similar cases, considering

both the crime and the defendant.

Initially, we note that Mueller does not contend that the death

sentence was imposed under the influence of any of the above statu-

tory factors, nor does he contend that the sentence is excessive or

disproportionate to the penalty imposed in similar cases. Neverthe-

less, we have examined the records of all capital murder cases

reviewed by this Court, pursuant to Code § 17-110.1(E), giving par-

ticular attention to those cases where the death penalty was based

upon both the ‘‘future dangerousness’’ and the ‘‘vileness’’ predi-

cates. Those cases are collected in Spencer v. Commonwealth, 238

Va. 295, 319-20, 384 S.E.2d 785, 860 (1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S.

1093 (1990) (Spencer II). Since Spencer Il, we have decided several

other capital murder cases where the death penalty was based on

both predicates: George v. Commonwealth, 242 Va. 264, 411 S.E.2d

12 (1991), cert. denied, 503 U.S. __, 112 S.Ct. 1591 (1992);

Strickler v. Commonwealth, 241 Va. 482, 404 S.E.2d 227, cert.

denied, 502 U.S. ___, 112 S.Ct. 386 (1991); Quesinberry v. Com-

monwealth, 241 Va. 364, 402 S.E.2d 218, cert. denied, 502 U.S.

_, 112 S.Ct. 113 (1991); Stockton v. Commonwealth, 241 Va.

414 Mueller v. Commonwealth

244 Va. 386 (1992)

192, 402 S.E.2d 196 (1991), cert. denied, 502 U.S. __., 112 S.Ct.

280 (1991); Spencer v. Commonwealth, 240 Va. 78, 393 S.E.2d

609, cert. denied, 498 U.S. __, 111 S.Ct. 281 (1990) (Spencer IV);

Mu'Min v. Commonwealth, 239 Va. 433, 389 S.E.2d 886 (1990),

aff'd, 500 U.S. __, 111 S.Ct. 1899 (1991); Smith v. Common-

wealth, 239 Va. 243, 389 S.E.2d 871, cert. denied, 498 U.S. __.,

111 S.Ct. 221 (1990); Spencer v. Commonwealth, 238 Va. 563, 385

S.E.2d 850 (1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 1093 (1990) (Spencer III);

Watkins v. Commonwealth, 238 Va. 341, 385 S.E.2d 50 (1989),

cert. denied, 494 U.S. 1074 (1990).

[30] After reviewing these records, as well as cases in which life

imprisonment was imposed, we conclude that Mueller’s sentence of

death was neither excessive nor disproportionate to sentences gener-

ally imposed by other sentencing bodies in Virginia for crimes of a

similar nature. In fact, few of these cases equal or exceed both the

vileness of this crime or the future dangerousness of this defendant.

As stated above, this case involves the rape, abduction, and mur-

der of a ten year old child. Even under Mueller’s account of the

events, the victim suffered an exceedingly gruesome and painful

death. The evidence of Mueller’s future dangerousness was also

overwhelming. Prior to these crimes, Mueller had committed sev-

eral violent sexual assaults on women, including assaults on two of

his own sisters. He testified that he did not feel remorse after com-

mitting two of those crimes. In addition to the testimony of Dr.

Henry Gwaltney, the Commonwealth's expert witness, Mueller’s

own expert witness, Dr. Mariah Travis, testified that Mueller is an

extremely dangerous person.

[31] Finally, based on our review of the record, we find nothing

which suggests that Mueller’s death sentence was imposed under

the influence of passion, prejudice or any other arbitrary factor.

IX.

CONCLUSION

We find no reversible error in the issues presented here. Having

reviewed Mueller’s sentence of death pursuant to Code § 17-110.1,

we decline to commute the sentence. Accordingly, we will affirm

the judgments in both cases.

Record No. 920287 - Affirmed.

Record No. 920449 - Affirmed.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.