Amicus Curiae Brief — Barclays Bank PLC v. Franchise Tax Bd. of Cal.

Supreme Court brief1994

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 92-1384

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1993

BARCLAYS BANK PLC,

Petitioner,

Vv.

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD,

An Agency of the State of California,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the Court of Appeal of the State of

California for the Third Appellate District

BRIEF FOR KEIDANREN (JAPAN FEDERATION

OF ECONOMIC ORGANIZATIONS) AS AMICUS

CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

C. David Swenson’

Dennis I. Meyer

Leonard B. Terr

Harry A. Franks, Jr.

BAKER & MCKENZIE

815 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006-4078

(202) 452-7000

Attorneys for Keidanren

‘Counsel of Record

December 15, 1993

“] BEST AVAILABLE COPY

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE ............ l

ISSUES ADDRESSED BY THE AMICUS CURIAE ..... 3

INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT... 3

REDE 660 66s eee see 7

I. THE CALIFORNIA SUPREME COURT'S

RELIANCE UPON UNITED STATES TAX

TREATIES AS SUPPORTING THE UNITARY

METHOD IS INCORRECT. ............... 7

A. The California Supreme Court’s

Interpretation That Congressional Silence

on State Taxation in United States Tax

Treaties Negatively Implies Congress’

Acquiescence in the Unitary Method Is

eT re eer een Pee 8

B. The Failure of Congress to Adopt the

U.S.-U.K. Tax Treaty Without the

Limitation on State Taxation Contained in

Article 9(4) Cannot Be Interpreted as

Congress’ Acceptance of the Unitary

ME sed eenue we SECue eee 11

C. Even If This Court Accepts the California

Supreme Court’s Interpretation of the

Ratification of the U.S.-U.K. Tax Treaty

with the Reservation to Article 9(4), Such

Interpretation Should Have No Effect

upon a Tax Treaty (Such as the U.S.-

Japan Tax Treaty) Adopted Prior to

California’s Adoption of the Unitary

Peres a Caw ebecceece scare 14

D. Uniformity in the Taxation of Foreign-

based Multinational Groups Is Essential in

Order for the Federal Government to

Speak with One Voice Through the United

States Tax Treaty Network and in Order

to Prevent Double Taxation ........... 15

Il. THE CALIFORNIA SUPREME COURT'S

RELIANCE UPON PROVISIONS OF THE

INTERNAL REVENUE CODE AS

SUPPORTING THE UNITARY METHOD IS

DE Cee eGG hd ees bnsensccscece 21

Il. THE CALIFORNIA SUPREME COURT'S

RELIANCE UPON UNITED STATES

TREATIES OF FRIENDSHIP, COMMERCE

AND NAVIGATION AS SUPPORTING THE

UNITARY METHOD IS INCORRECT ....... 26

i aa ak ie sus 66 6656 606+ Ws 0c 29

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

CASES

Aiken Indus., Inc. v. Commissioner,

gM 13

Barclays Bank int’! Lid. v. Franchise

Tax Bd., No. 325059, Cal. Super. Ct.

(Aug. 20, 1987) reprinted in Appendix A

to Petitioner's Cert. Brief... .. 2... .....002200... 2, 15

Barclays Bank Int'l, Lid. v.

Franchise Tax Bd., 3 Cal. App.

DTT sepadceeee@ecccececccececss 11, 12

Barclays Bank Int'l, Ltd. v.

Franchise Tax Bd., 829 P.2d 279

EE passim

Colgate-Palmolive Co., Inc. v.

Franchise Tax Bd., 4 Cal. App. 4th 1681 (1991)... .. 10, 16

Complete Auto Transit, Inc. v. Brady,

ee 5

Container Corporation of Am. v.

Franchise Tax Bd., 463 U.S. 159 (1983)... . 4,5, 10, 17, 21

Estate of Burghardt v. Commissioner,

SE on eebcabetbeucencceececcu’ 13

Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52 (1941) ......... 10, 28

Itel Containers Int'l Corp. v. Huddleston,

122 L. Ed. 2d 421 (1993)... 2... 2... eee 19

iv

Japan Line, Lid. v. County of Los Angeles,

ee es SEE occu reece care eee be e849 5, 6, 15

Johansson v. United States, 336 F.2d 809

cea i i a Se de eee en 13

Maximov v. United States, 299 F.2d 565

a eh es ee es GD 6s ooo oa ewes vous 13

Moline Properties, Inc. v. Commissioner,

er 6 ona ede Nenad ww we dal sie eiies 26

Rocca v. Thompson, 223 U.S. 317 (1912) ......... 13, 27

Seminole Flavor Co. v. Commissioner,

Se SE cen ccccmhieeereusectSeauhs 24

Sumitomo Shoji America, Inc. v. Avagliano,

ee Ee ec cuescde eee ene neue ees 27

Union Pac. R.R. v. Commissioner,

Py a EE 8 4 BAN Obs 000366068665 408 23

Wardair Canada Inc. v. Florida Dep’t of

Se ae Ss OED Wieeceveeneucestese 5-9

STATUTES

te? alc en Dea. eae 5, 6, 22

EE re ae 25

DPE? oosenteadeesvscseuceeeees 18

26 U.S.C. 68 1501, ISOC) ... ee eee eee 25

PP ED Goad oceeeeésuvatdesseceeer 21

<i

CaL. Rev. & Tax Cope § 25110 (West 1992) .......... 4

CauiF. Rev. & Tax Cope, §§ 25128-25136 (West 1992) ... 4

Rev. Act of 1918, ch. 18, § 240, 40 Stat. 1057. ........ 23

Rev. Act of 1921, ch. 136, § 240(d), 42 Stat. 227....... 23

Rev. Act of 1928, ch. 852, § 45, 45 Stat. 806 ......... 24

REGULATIONS

Reg. 41, art. 77, T.D. 2694 (1918) .............5.. 23

Reg. 41, art. 78, T.D. 2694 (1918). ............... 23

“=

TREATIES

Convention Between the Government of

the United States and the Government

of the United Kingdom of Great Britain

and Northern Ireland for the Avoidance

of Double Taxation and the Prevention

of Fiscal Evasion with Respect to Taxes

on Income and Capital Gains,

31 U.S.T. 5668, T.A.1.S. No. 9682

i i a eee eee ago 6 68 2 2, 6, 11, 17, 20

Convention Between the United States

of America and Japan for the Avoidance

of Double Taxation and the Prevention

of Fiscal Evasion with Respect to Taxes

on Income, 23 U.S.T. 967,

T.A.LS. No. 7365 (March 8, 1971). ........... 2, 17, 20

Convention of Establishment Between H.R. Rep. No. 350, 67th Cong., Ist Sess. (1921) ....... 24

the United States and France,

11 U.S.T. 2398, T.1.A.S. No. 4625 (Nov. 25, 1959) ..... 28 S. Rep. No. 617, 65th Cong., 3d Sess. (1918) ......... 23

Convention on International Civil Aviation, The Federalist No. 32 (Alexander Hamilton) .......... 10

open for signature Dec. 7, 1944,

a 4

Organization for Economic Cooperation

and Development, Model Tax Convention

on Income and on Capital (1992) .............. 17, 20

Treaty of Friendship, Commerce and

Navigation Between the United States of

America and Japan, 4 U.S.T. 2065,

T.1.A.S. No. 2863 (Apr. 2, 1953)............... 2, 27

MISCELLANEOUS

124 Cong. Rec. 18416 (1978) ...............04-. 7

American Law Institute, INTERNATIONAL

ASPECTS OF UNITED STATES INCOME TAXATION

Il: PROPOSALS ON UNITED STATES INCOME TAX

REE ge re 16

Committee on Foreign Relations, Rep. on

the Third Protocol to the 1975 Income Tax

Convention with the United Kingdom of Great

Britain and Northern Ireland, as Amended,

Exec. Rep. No. 5, 96th Cong., Ist Sess. (1979). ....... 12

Foreign Income Tax Rationalization and

Simplification Act of 1992, H.R. 5270,

a

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1993

No. 92-1384

BARCLAYS BANK PLC,

Petitioner,

Vv.

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD,

An Agency of the State of California,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the Court of Appeal of the State of

California for the Third Appellate District

BRIEF FOR KEIDANREN (JAPAN FEDERATION OF

ECONOMIC ORGANIZATIONS) AS AMICUS CURIAE IN

SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE

The Amicus is the Keidanren (Japan Federation of Economic

Organizations), a private, non-profit organization representing all

branches of economic activity in Japan and consisting of over 1000

members, 125 of which are trade associations and regional

economic organizations, and the balance of which are leading

Japanese corporations.' Many of the Japanese corporate members

or their affiliates conduct business in the state of California either

directly or through United States subsidiaries. Many of these

‘All parties to this action have consented to the filing of this brief. Copies

of the written consents have been lodged with the Clerk of the Court.

* Such Japanese-owned multinational corporate groups are referred to herein

as “Japan-based Multinational Groups” and are included in the parallel term

“Foreign-based Multinational Groups,” as the context requires.

Japan-based Multinational Groups were subject to California’s

worldwide combined formula apportionment method (hereinafter

the “Unitary Method”) during the year in issue.

The interest of the Amicus differs from the interest of the

Petitioner because of the decisive effect on the issue at bar of two

treaties between the United States and Japan. These treaties are

not applicable to United Kingdom residents such as the Petitioner.

The first treaty is the “Convention Between the United States of

America and Japan for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and the

Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with Respect to Taxes on Income”

(the “U.S.-Japan Tax Treaty”).? The second treaty is the “Treaty

of Friendship, Commerce and Navigation Between the United

States of America and Japan (the “U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty”).*

Both of these treaties were signed prior to the time California

began applying the Unitary Method with respect to Foreign-based

Multinational Groups.°

Although the Amicus believes that the decision of the

California Supreme Court is incorrect and should be reversed, the

Amicus believes also that these two treaties between the United

States and Japan distinguish the Amicus’ situation from that of the

Petitioner. If this Court finds that the Unitary Method does not

violate the Foreign Commerce Clause with respect to United

Kingdom resident corporations because Congress’ reservation in

respect of Article 9(4) of the U.S.-U.K. Tax Treaty® constituted

>: 23: U.S.T. 967, T.A.LS. No. 7365 (March 8, 1971).

* 4 U.S.T. 2065, T.1.A.S. No. 2863 (Apr. 2, 1953). Other nations have

entered into Treaties of Friendship, Commerce and Navigation with the United

States. These treaties are referred to herein as “FCN Treaties.”

* Barclays Bank Int’! Lid. v. Franchise Tax Bd., No. 325059, Cal. Super. Ct.

(Aug. 20, 1987) reprinted in Appendix A to Petitioner’s Cert. Brief., at A-17.

* Convention Between the Government of the United States and the

Government of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland for the

Avoidance of Double Taxation and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with Respect

to Taxes on Income and Capital Gains (herein “U.S.-U.K. Tax Treaty”), 31

U.S.T. 5668, T.A.1.S. No. 9682 (Dec. 31, 1975).

Congress’ acquiescence in the Unitary Method as applied to United

Kingdom corporations, this Court should reserve on the issue of

whether the same result should apply in the case of Foreign-based

Multinational Groups that are entitled to protection provided by a

different United States tax treaty. Further, a decision against

Petitioner in this case should not control the issue of the Unitary

Method’s validity in the case of Japan-based Multinational Groups

entitled to the benefits of the U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty because there

is no FCN Treaty between the United Kingdom and the United

States and the U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty proscribes application of the

Unitary Method.

ISSUES ADDRESSED BY THE AMICUS CURIAE

Whether the basis for the California Supreme Court s finding

Congressional approval of the Unitary Methoc and upholding the

constitutional ity of the Unitary Method as applied to Foreign-based

Multinational Groups was fatally flawed? If so, whether a correct

analysis leads to the conclusion that the Unitary Method, as applied

to Foreign-based Multinational Groups, is unconstitutional under

the Foreign Commerce Clause, because the Unitary Method results

in double taxation and prevents the Federal Government from

speaking with “one voice when regulating commercial relations

with foreign governments,” as evidenced by recent foreign

government retaliation against the United States in response to

continued use of the Unitary Method? If not, whether the issue

nevertheless should be reserved as to whether a different result is

appropriate in the case of Japan-based Multinational Groups

entitled to the protections of the U.S.-Japan Tax Treaty and the

U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty?

INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Under the Unitary Method, Japanese and other foreign parent

corporations are required to file a combined return with all of their

worldwide subsidiaries (the “combined report”). A portion of the

total worldwide income of the combined group is then allocated to

California under a “three-factor formula” apportionment method

that is based on the proportion of property, payroll and sales in the

taxing state compared to the same factors of the worldwide

consolidated group.’ Under California’s Unitary Method,

corporations that are more than fifty percent foreign-owned are

included in the combined report without regard to whether they

have (i) engaged in business in California or elsewhere in the

United States, (ii) derived income from sources within California

or elsewhere in the United States, or (iii) engaged in any

transactions with a related corporation incorporated in California

or elsewhere in the United States.*

The Unitary Method is fundamentally different from and

irreconcilable with the arm’s length standard and the separate

entity accounting method (the “arm’s length method”). The arm’s

length method is the international standard universally used and

accepted by the nations of the world and by multinational

corporations. It is the method required by United States tax

treaties, FCN treaties and the Internal Revenue Code. The arm’s

length method treats each corporation as “an independent entity

dealing at arm’s length with its affiliated corporations, and subject

to taxation only by the jurisdictions in which it operates and only

for the income it realizes on its own books.” Container

Corporation of Am. v. Franchise Tax Bd., 463 U.S. 159, 185

(1983). In the international context, the arm’s length method

allocates income to a single taxing jurisdiction rather than

arbitrarily apportioning the income among jurisdictions, and treats

intercorporate transfers of value between commonly controlled

entities in accordance with the terms that would have been obtained

’ See CALIF. REV. & TAX CODE $§ 25128-25136 (West 1992).

* Under legislation enacted in 1986 (and effective in 1988), California

provided corporations with a “water’s edge” election to avoid application of

worldwide formulary apportionment to income of their foreign affiliates anc!

parents. See CAL. REV. & TAX CODE § 25110 (West 1992). California further

limited the obligation to use the Unitary method in October 1993. Because the

year in issue is prior to the legislative changes, we have not addressed whether

these changes “cure” the constitutional defects of the Unitary Method.

nn nt ally

had such transfers occurred between uncontrolled entities in similar

circumstances.°

In Complete Auto Transit, Inc. v. Brady, 430 U.S. 274, 279

(1977), this Court found that if a state tax “is applied to an activity

with a substantial nexus with the taxing state, is fairly apportioned,

does not discriminate against interstate commerce, and is fairly

related to the services provided by the State,” no impermissible

burden on interstate commerce will be found. In Japan Line, Lid.

v. County of Los Angeles, 441 U.S. 434, 451 (1979), this Court

identified two additional criteria under the Foreign Commerce

Clause for testing the validity of a state tax affecting foreign

commerce. A state tax will violate the Foreign Commerce Clause,

notwithstanding its compliance with the four criteria in Complete

Auto Transit, if it “creates a substantial risk of international

multiple taxation” or “prevents the Federal Government from

‘speaking with one voice when regulating commercial relations

with foreign governments.’”

In Container, this Court held that California’s Unitary Method

did not violate the Foreign Commerce Clause when applied to

United States-owned domestic corporations with foreign

subsidiaries (“U.S.-based Multinational Groups”). However, the

Container opinion specifically reserved on the issue of whether

California’s Unitary Method violated the Foreign Commerce

Clause as applied to Foreign-based Multinational Groups."

In Wardair Canada Inc. v. Florida Department of Revenue,

477 U.S. 1 (1986), this Court upheld Florida’s aviation fuels tax

as applied to Canadian air carriers engaged in international

commerce. The carrier and the United States had conceded that

no risk existed of multiple taxation so that only the “one voice”

° The power to enforce such treatment by allocating income among related

parties and jurisdictions under the arm’s length method is established by section

482 of the Internal Revenue Code, 26 U.S.C. § 482, and the Associated

Enterprises article of United States tax treaties.

0 Container, 463 U.S. at 189 0.26, 195 n.32.

test under Japan Line was applicable. The Court found it

dispositive under this test that while a United States-Canada

aviation treaty (and other similar treaties) were silent on limiting

state taxation of aviation fuel, the Federal Aviation Act expressly

permitted the states to tax such fuels.

In the case below, the California Supreme Court concluded

that Wardair had “reoriented” dormant Foreign Commerce Clause

analysis so as to make such analysis inappropriate in this case.

Specifically, the California Supreme Court cited a number of

“negative implications” that it believed were created by United

States Senate or Congressional actions. The California Supreme

Court relied on these alleged “negative implications” to support its

conclusion that Congress had in effect affirmatively approved of

the Unitary Method." Among the actions from which the

California Supreme Court extracted these “negative implications”

were the Senate’s reservation to Article 9(4) of the U.S.-U.K. Tax

Treaty, the Senate’s ratification of other United States tax and

FCN treaties, and Congress’ enactment of certain provisions of the

Internal Revenue Code, particularly section 482.

The California Supreme Court’s interpretation and analysis are

incorrect. In fact, the Unitary Method, when applied to Foreign-

based Multinational Groups such as the Petitioner herein, is

completely irreconcilable with the relevant provisions of United

States tax and FCN treaties, as well as the Internal Revenue Code.

In addition, the taxation of a Foreign-based Multinational

Group’s income demands that the Federal Government speak with

“one voice” to foreign governments. The failure to find the

Unitary Method violative of the Foreign Commerce Clause will

result in our treaty partners hearing “many voices” on the issue of

the appropriate taxation of Foreign-based Multinational Groups.

All treaty jurisdictions must follow the internationally agreed norm

of the arm’s length method as embodied in tax treaties in order for

multinational corporations to engage in international commerce and

'! $29 P.2d 279, 295 (1992).

att oe hed Sow Rad > alien

avoid multiple taxation of the same income. Further, while certain

practical problems may exist with the application of the arm’s

length method, only the arm’s length method makes possible a

mechanism to prevent double taxation—the Competent Authority

procedures contained in United States tax treaties.

If this Court finds California’s Unitary Method constitutional

when applied to United Kingdom-based Multinational Groups, this

Court should nevertheless reserve on the issue of whether the same

interpretation applies to Japan-based Multinational Groups entitled

to the protections of the U.S.-Japan Tax Treaty and the U.S.-Japan

FCN Treaty.

ARGUMENT

I. THE CALIFORNIA SUPREME COURT’S RELIANCE

UPON UNITED STATES TAX TREATIES AS

SUPPORTING THE UNITARY METHOD IS

INCORRECT.

In upholding the Constitutionality of California’s Unitary

Method, the California Supreme Court cited two instances of

Senate inaction in the tax treaty context which the court believed

created decisive “negative implications.” Based upon these

“negative implications,” the court concluded that Congress had

affirmatively approved the Unitary Method. As the opinion stated,

paraphrasing Wardair:

(I]nternational agreements demonstrate that the Federal

government has affirmatively acted, rather than remained

silent, with respect to the power of the states to employ

formula apportionment in so-called foreign parent

cases"?

2 $29 P.2d at 294.

According to the California Supreme Court’s opinion, the “din of

‘governmental silence’ that cannot be ignored”” was evidenced

by two treaty-related phenomena. First, the court found it decisive

that United States tax treaties uniformly obligate the Federal

Government to utilize the arm’s length method, but uniformly

exclude the state governments from all treaty obligations except

those contained in the non-discrimination article. Second, the

court found decisive the Senate’s lodging of a reservation to

Article 9(4) of the U.S.-U.K. Tax Treaty, which would have

prohibited the states’ use of the Unitary Method with respect to

U.K.-based Multinational Groups.

Based in significant part on these “negative implications” the

California Supreme Court ruled that the case at bar was not an

appropriate case for dormant Foreign Commerce Clause analysis,

because that analysis “‘only operates where the Federal

Government has not spoken.’”* According to the court, in this

case, the Federal Government had indeed spoken and had approved

the states’ use of the Unitary Method.

The ensuing sections of this brief address why the California

Supreme Court’s analysis is wrong, why such analysis should not

be applied in any event under earlier tax treaties (such as the U.S.-

Japan Tax Treaty), and why the correct analysis leads inescapably

to the conclusion that the arm’s length method must prevail over

the Unitary Method.

A. The California Supreme Court’s Interpretation That

Congressional Silence on State Taxation in United

States Tax Treaties Negatively Implies Congress’

Acquiescence in the Unitary Method Is Incorrect.

The California Supreme Court noted that the “bilateral income

tax treaties negotiated by the United States with many of its trading

partners typically prescribe use of the [arm’s length] method by the

- @

'* $29 P.2d at 293 (quoting Wardair, 477 U.S. at 12).

ah: ia ditwthntigs, ee ee eh et ae,

signatory governments” but “they do not ... impose such a

requirement on taxation by subnational levels of government.”"°

Because subnational levels of government are included for

purposes of the nondiscrimination article, the California Supreme

Court concluded that:

We think this latter evidence substantially parallels the

Wardair paradigm, where the high court concluded that

the “negative implications” arising from the Convention's ~

limited ban on state taxation of fuel “on board” arriving

foreign aircraft demonstrated an awareness of subnational

taxation issues and represented “a decision by the parties

... to address the problem by curtailing and limiting only

some of the localities’ power to tax, while implicitly

preserving other aspects of that authority.”"*

The convention referred to was the Convention on International

Civil Aviation.” This Court found that Article 24(a) of that

convention “by its terms precluded the imposition of local taxes on

fuel only when the fuel is ‘on board an aircraft ... on arrival ...

and retained on board on leaving’ a contracting party.” In

Wardair this Court found direct language contained in an

international agreement that limited a state’s power to tax. This

Court found that the negative implication of this limitation was

Congress’ approval of state taxation that was not directly

proscribed in the agreement.

In the case at bar, the California Supreme Court, citing the

absence of any explicit tax treaty limit on the power of states to tax

(except that the states not discriminate), found such Federal

Government silence on state taxation to be evidence of the Federal

'" open for signature Dec. 7, 1944, art. 24(a), 61 Stat. 1180, 1186, 3 Bevans

944, 950.

" Wardair, <77 U.S. at 10.

10

Government's affirmative acquiescence in state use of the Unitary

Method. Such an interpretation goes far beyond Wardair’s

“negative imp!ications,” and elevates silence on an issue to a new

level of communication.

The conclusion of the California Supreme Court overlooks a

far simpler explanation for the exemption of state taxes from the

tax treaties: the general principle of state sovereignty. Both the

Federal Government and the states have concurrent taxing

powers."® The Federal Government is cognizant of the friction

caused by the Federal Government’s Foreign Commerce Clause

power and state taxing sovereignty. In that regard, the Executive

Branch has not seen fit to regulate states’ taxation authority until

the state tax laws cause international concerns.”

Further, respecting the states’ sovereignty over taxation, while

attempting to provide coverage for state taxation within the scope

of United States tax treaties, is unworkable. The United States

cannot negotiate a treaty with 50 additional participants at the

table. Moreover, not covering state taxes in the treaties was never

intended to give the states free and unfettered license to tax in a

way that conflicts with federal taxation principles the same

international parties and transactions as are covered by the treaties.

Such an approach would effectively frustrate the very purpose of

the tax treaty to harmonize national systems and prevent double

taxation.

The California Supreme Court’s reliance upon the exclusion of

state taxes from United States tax treaties—a recognition of our

federal system—as the Federal Government’s affirmative approval

'% Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52, 68 (1941); The Federalist No. 32

(Alexander Hamulton).

*® Following California’s adoption of the Unitary Method and this Court's

decision in Container, the Executive Branch has repeatedly studied and proposed

measures to restrict the application of the Unitary Method to Foreign-based

Multinational Groups. See generally Colgate-Palmolive Co., Inc. v. Franchise

Tax Bd., 4 Cal. App. 4th 1681, 1701-8 (1991) vacated and remanded, 831 P.2d

798 (Cal. 1992).

of the Unitary Method cannot be supported. The Federal

Government’s silence on state taxation issues cannot overcome its

loud voice in support of the arm’s length method as expressed in

and through the tax treaty network.

B. The Failure of Congress to Adopt the U.S.-U.K. Tax

Treaty Without the Limitation on State Taxation

Contained in Article 9(4) Cannot Be Interpreted as

Congress’ Acceptance of the Unitary Method.

As detailed in the opinions in the case below, Article 9(4) of

the U.S.-U.K. Tax Treaty explicitly limited Federal and state

taxation to the arm’s length method. The Treaty, signed in 1975,

was one of the first treaties negotiated after California enacted the

Unitary Method.

When the Treaty was considered by the Senate Foreign

Relations Committee, Senator Frank Church introduced a

reservation to Article 9(4). The reservation provided “that the

provisions of paragraph (4) of Article 9 ... shall not apply to any

political subdivision or local authority of the United States.””

When voted on in committee, the reservation was rejected 10 to 5.

On the Senate floor, the reservation was again defeated by a vote

of 44 to 34. The Treaty as signed then received a vote of 49 to

32, five votes short of the two-thirds needed. Thereafter, Article

9(4) was reserved without a vote and the treaty was ratified with

the reservation. The reservation was effectuated by the Third

Protocol to the U.S.-U.K. Tax Treaty.

The California Court of Appeals appropriately stated that it

“fail[ed] to see how three majority votes in the Senate essentially

approving article 9(4) could be transmogrified into a congressional

policy of disapproval” of the treaty provision.” The Court of

Appeals also noted that the opposition to the treaty-based

124 Cong. Rec. 18416 (1978).

” Barclays Bank Int'l, Lid. v. Franchise Tax Bd., 3 Cal. App. 4th 1034, 1055

(1990).

12

restriction was not rooted in the substance of the article, but was

instead reflected in certain Senators’ opposition to dealing with this

problem on a piecemeal basis instead of by comprehensive

legislation.” Legislation that would restrict the states’ ability to

use the Unitary Method has been introduced in Congress,” but

has never reached a vote in committee or on the floor.”

The California Supreme Court wrongly concluded that

Congress’ adoption of the U.S.-U.K. Tax Treaty with the

reservation as to Article 9(4) reflected Congress’ affirmative

= In fact, Senator Howard Baker stated:

in adopting its reservations to Article 9(4) in June of 1978, the Senate

appeared to reach a consensus that domestic legislation, as an

alternative to international treaty language, is preferable in regulating

that conduct of the States which may affect foreign commerce.

ses

[T]he States may incorrectly interpret the Senate’s reservation to

Article 9(4), and the Third Protocol to this Convention, as an invitation

to establish policies applicable to foreign source income which are

inconsistent or incompatible with broad National tax policies.

Committee on Foreign Relations, Rep. on the Third Protocol to the 1975 Income

Tax Convention with the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland,

as Amended, Exec. Rep. No. 5, 96th Cong., 1st Sess. 15 (1979).

* It should also be noted that none of these bills dealt solely with restricting

the states’ ability to use the Umstary Method. Therefore, Congress’ unaction could

be the result of an entirely unrelated provision in those bills.

* Barclays Bank Int'l, Lid. v. Franchise Tax Bd., 3 Cal. App. 4th at 1054.

The California Supreme Court used this lack of action on these bills as further

evidence of Congress’ acquiescence in the Unitary Method. 829 P.2d at 296.

If inaction on the part of Congress is correctly interpreted as action on the

opposite point, then Congress’ failure to vote on the Foreign Income Tax

Rationalization and Simplification Act of 1992, H.R. 5270, 102d Cong., 2d

Sess., which would have required a foreign-owned corporation engaged in

substantal related party transactions to report a mimmmum formulary amount of

taxable income, should be interpreted as evidence of Congress’ affirmation that

formulary methods that deviate from the arm’s length standard are inappropnate.

We are not necessarily advocating this position; we simply believe Congress’

silence should be interpreted as that—silence.

13

approval of the Unitary Method, thereby removing this case from

a dormant Foreign Commerce Clause analysis. A reservation is

not an affirmative statement.

The California Supreme Court’s interpretation is inconsistent

with the intent of both Congress and the United Kingdom

Government. Given the majority votes in favor of the original

treaty provision, and the various reasons Senators may have voted

for the treaty with the reservation, it is impossible to conclude as

a factual matter that Congress intended to authorize the Unitary

Method. Similarly, given the United Kingdom’s outspoken

Opposition to the Unitary Method, it is impossible to interpret

Congress’ reservation as the United Kingdom’s acceptance and

approval of the Unitary Method.

The California Supreme Court’s interpretation of the treaty

reservation is completely at odds with this Court’s standards for

treaty interpretation: “Like other contracts, [treaties] are to be read

in the light of the conditions and circumstances existing at the time

they were entered into, with a view to effecting the objects and

purposes of the states thereby contracting." The only

interpretation consistent with the intent of both parties is that the

reservation nullified the provision.

If the California Supreme Court’s interpretation of the

reservation to Article 9(4) is approved by this Court, such

approval will establish an entirely new standard for treaty

interpretation. Such standard would allow the courts of the United

States to interpret treaty provisions in a manner wholly inconsistent

with the intent of the treaty partner. Therefore, such a standard

* Rocca v. Thompson, 223 U.S. 317, 331-32 (1912) (emphasis added). This

rule of treaty construction has been adopted by many other courts. See Maximov

v. United States, 299 F.2d 565, 568 (2d Cir.) (The objective is to “give the

specific words of a treaty a meaning consistent with the genuine shared

expectation of the contracting parties.”) aff'd, 373 U.S. 49 (1963); Johansson v.

United States, 336 F.2d 809, 813 (Sth Cir. 1964); Estate of Burghardt v.

Commissioner, 80 T.C. 705, 708 (1983); Aiken Indus., Inc. v. Commissioner, 56

T.C. 925, 933 (1971).

14

will attract widespread international protest, and could ultimately

impair the ability of the Executive Branch to negotiate and

conclude treaties.

C. Even If This Court Accepts the California Supreme

Court’s Interpretation of the Ratification of the U.S.-

U.K. Tax Treaty with the Reservation to Article 9(4),

Such Interpretation Should Have No Effect upon a Tax

Treaty (Such as the U.S.-Japan Tax Treaty) Adopted

Prior to California’s Adoption of the Unitary Method.

Taxpayers entitled to the protections of treaties negotiated and

signed prior to California’s adoption of the Unitary Method, such

as Japan-based Multinational Groups, should not be held to any

“negative implication” of Congress’ reservation with respect to

Article 9(4) of the U.S.-U.K. Tax Treaty. Tax treaty negotiations

are bilateral negotiations. The Japanese government and the

United States Government negotiated their treaty prior to

California’s adoption of the Unitary Method. Japan had no reason

to request a provision requiring the states to use an arm’s length

method when that was the method already generally employed by

the states in taxing Japan-based Multinational Groups.

The Senate’s reservation to Article 9(4) and the adoption of the

Third Protocol to the U.S.-U.K. Tax Treaty by the United

Kingdom Parliament should in no way be binding on treaties

negotiated prior to California’s adoption of the Unitary Method.

If this Court should rule that the Senate’s reservation with regard

to Article 9(4) of the U.S.-U.K. Tax Treaty results in a negative

implied approval of the Unitary Method, this Court should reserve

on the issue of whether that reservation has a similar effect on

corporations entitled to benefits under treaties that pre-date both

the Senate’s vote and California’s adoption of the Unitary Method.

15

D. Uniformity in the Taxation of Foreign-based

Multinational Groups Is Essential in Order for the

Federal Government to Speak with One Voice Through

the United States Tax Treaty Network and in Order to

Prevent Double Taxation.

The California Supreme Court never addressed the Japan Line

tests of Foreign Commerce Clause analysis (namely, the “one

voice” and multiple taxation tests). The Amicus believes that the

California Supreme Court’s analysis is incorrect, and that this

Court should apply the Japan Line “one voice” and double

taxation tests.

With regard to the “one voice” test, the extraordinary

consensus of nations regarding the arm’s length method, as

embodied not only in the United States tax treaty network but in

the tax treaty networks of virtually all other countries (both

developed and developing), attests to the importance of permitting

the United States to speak with “one voice,” rather than 50 or

more voices. Thus, the California Superior Court found as a

factual matter that:

There is an international standard of accounting

universally practiced by all nations of the world, including

the United States, the AL/SA [Arm’s Length/Separate

Accounting] method. It is used to determine income of

business entities derived from operations in countries other

than their own, for purposes of income taxation by those

countries. It operates on the assumption that only the

income actually earned within a foreign country should be

taxed by it (no double taxation), but because that cannc:

always be determined with exactitude, AL/SA uses

formulary allocations when and as needed. But it is

indisputable that its aim is to determine as closely as

possible what actual income is derived from activities

within the geographical boundaries of the taxing nation,

and tax that income only.

16

As the above-quoted finding suggests, the country-by-country

approach to determining “actual income” derived from and taxable

by each country is a unique hallmark of the arm’s length method

which, in part because the method respects geographic boundaries

(and national sovereignty), is the sole internationally accepted

method.”” The method is deeply ingrained in the prevailing

OECD and U.N. Model Treaties which are the starting points for

the negotiation of new or revised bilateral treaties. Such method

is the main foundation of common ground upon which national tax

systems (and in many instances subnational tax systems) are

harmonized in and through tax treaties. It requires only the most

summary view of how United States tax treaties determine tax

jurisdiction under the separate country arm’s length method to see

how any material departure from this method, such as California’s

application of the Unitary Method to Foreign-based Multinational

Groups, could disrupt treaty relationships and cause multiple

taxation.

There are two bases on which the treaties permit taxation to be

exercised—source and business presence. First, source-based

taxation is predicated upon certain types of income derived from

sources within the paying country being subject to a limited tax

based on the gross amount of the payment. Some treaties exempt

certain of these payments entirely from taxation by the source

country. The purpose of the reduced or zero taxation is to foster

the free flow of capital into the nation of the payor of the income.

Second, the United States may generally tax a corporation,

resident in a treaty partner country that earns “business profits” in

the United States if the corporation maintains a “permanent

establishment” in the United States. In general, a permanent

establishment is defined under most treaties as a fixed place of

business through which the business of an enterprise is wholly or

77 The arm’s length method may be considered a “custom of nations.” See

Colgate-Palmolive Co., Inc. v. Franchise Tax Bd., 4 Cal. App. 4th 1681, 1710

(1991) vacated and remanded, 831 P.2d 798 (Cal. 1992); American Law

Institute, INTERNATIONAL ASPECTS OF UNITED STATES INCOME TAXATION II:

PROPOSALS ON UNITED STATES INCOME TAX TREATIES, 2-10 (1991).

17

partly carried on.” Under the permanent establishment articles,

minor actions taken in the United States, e.g. auxiliary or

preparatory activities, or merely holding the stock and overseeing

United States subsidiary corporations, will not rise to the level of

a permanent establishment,” i.¢., income from these activities will

not be taxable. The “permanent establishment” standard, as

agreed by the international community, is a more difficult nexus

test than the “flow of value”™ test required to include a foreign

corporation in the Unitary Method’s “combined report.”

The treaties also provide mechanisms to ensure that the amount

of net income reported in each treaty partner country in connection

with inter-branch or inter-company transactions with the

multinational group is properly determined under the arm’s length

method. Thus, the “business profits” articles of United States tax

treaties contain an arm’s length independent entity standard for

determining the taxable income of a permanent establishment.

Similarly, the Associated Enterprises articles of United States tax

treaties allow either treaty partner to allocate profits from a

corporation to a related corporation in the other country to the

extent necessary to ensure that the transactions are on an arm’s

length basis. If related parties engage in non-arm’s length

transactions, the treaties do not necessarily prohibit the use of a

formulary method to place the transaction on an arm’s length

basis. However, any allocation of income from a United States

corporation to a related foreign corporation, regardless of the

method utilized, is only permitted to the extent there are actual

transactions between related parties and such transactions have

been conducted on a non-arm’s length basis.

* Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, Model Tax

Convention on Income and on Capital, art. 5 (1992) (hereafter “OECD Model

Treaty”). See also U.S.-U.K. Tax Treaty, Article 5; U.S.-Japan Tax Treaty,

Article 9 (“a fixed place of business through which a resident of a Contracting

State engages in industrial or commercial activity”).

» Ibid.

*° Container Corp. of Am. v. Franchise Tax Bd., 463 U.S. 159, 178 (1983).

18

While the specific rules implementing the foregoing concepts

may differ somewhat from country to country, the concepts and

the framework on which they operate are universally accepted. On

the other hand, the Unitary Method is inconsistent with the

foregoing internationally agreed norms of taxation contained in the

treaties. The Unitary Method determines income attributable to

California by including all of the worldwide income of the unitary

group, without regard to the fact that a large portion of that

income has its source outside California, and in fact outside the

United States.

The Unitary Method includes all of the income of a Foreign-

based Multinational Group into the “pool” of income from which

California allocates a portion to the state, even if the foreign parent

and affiliate have no United States source income, are not engaged

in a trade or business in the United States through a permanent

establishment, and do not engage in non-arm’s length transactions

with related parties in the United States. United States tax treaties

uniformly concede tax jurisdiction in respect of this income to the

foreign treaty partner jurisdiction. Unless the foreign jurisdiction

has a zero percent tax rate, double taxation will result when

California taxes this income.

The Unitary Method further violates the underlying principles

of international taxation embodied in United States tax treaties by

allocating the income of a foreign parent and its foreign

subsidiaries to the parent’s United States subsidiary. United States

tax treaties do not allow the United States to tax the income of a

foreign parent corporation merely because its subsidiary is engaged

in business in the United States. Similarly, while the United States

provides for certain deemed inclusions from subsidiaries to the

parent,” a deemed inclusion from a parent to its subsidiary is

without precedent where the parties are otherwise dealing with one

another on an arm’s length basis. Without a finding of non-arm’s

length transactions, the Unitary Method’s combination of the

income of a foreign parent (and its other foreign subsidiaries) with

See Subpart F, 26 U.S.C. §§ 951-964.

ee ee

Ce ee He ee

19

the income of a corporation engaged in business in the United

States is without foundation or justification under the

internationally accepted norms contained in tax treaties.

The fact that the Unitary Method is fundamentally inconsistent

with the arm’s length method embodied in the treaties has already

attracted international protest and retaliation. Most significantly,

if the Unitary Method were upheld, as applied to Foreign-based

Multinational Groups, it would interfere with and disrupt the

Federal Government's ability to negotiate and conclude future tax

treaties. Accordingly, the Amicus submits that the need for federal

uniformity in this area is compelling and that the Unitary Method

should be held suspect under the “one voice” test.

Under the second Japan Line test relating to multiple taxation

of the same income, the Unitary Method also must fail because it

provides no method for eliminating such double taxation. Because

the Unitary Method taxes a California corporation on an amount

determined by a formula to be California taxable income without

regard to whether such income is also being reported as the income

of a foreign affiliate for foreign tax purposes, instances of double

taxation almost certainly will occur. Double taxation will always

occur where, under international normative rules as embodied in

United States tax treaties, the income taxed by California is

reserved for taxation by a treaty partner. The Unitary Method,

however, provides no mechanism to relieve this double taxation.”

On the other hand, the arm’s length method does provide such a

system to relieve international double taxation.

2 Compare Itel Containers Int'l Corp. v. Huddleston, 122 L. Ed. 2d 421, 436

(1993), where this Court recognized that Tennessee’s provision of a credit for

foreign or domestic taxes paid on the same transaction to which Tennessee was

levying its tax, reduced, if not eliminated, the risk of international multiple

taxation. It should be noted that California has no such foreign tax credit

mechanism.

20

The Associated Enterprises or Mutual Agreement article of

most United States tax treaties contains a provision similar to the

following provision from the OECD Model Treaty:”

Where a Contracting State includes in the profits of an

enterprise of that State—and taxes accordingly—profits on

which an enterprise of the other Contracting State has

been charged to tax in that other State and the profits so

included are profits which would have accrued to the

enterprise of the first mentioned state if the conditions

made between the two enterprises had been those which

would have been made between independent enterprises,

then that other State shall make an appropriate adjustment

to the amount of tax charged therein on those profits. In

determining such adjustment, due regard shall be had to

the other provisions of this Convention and the competent

authorities of the Contracting States shall if necessary

consult each other.

The competent authorities referred to are authorized by the Mutual

Agreement articles of United States tax treaties to endeavor to

resolve disputes between the two states relating to, among other

things, the taxation of transactions between related parties and the

prevention of double taxation.

The availability of the competent authority procedure, and of

the correlative adjustment mechanism to ensure consistent

treatment of intercompany transactions in both jurisdictions,

substantially reduces the risk of double taxation. California has no

mechanism available to a taxpayer subjected to double taxation

caused by the Unitary Method.

This Court has noted that California, because it is not a party

to United States tax treaties and is not authorized by the

constitution to negotiate its own tax treaties, may not avail itself

% OECD Model Treaty, Article 9(2). See also U.S.-lapan Tax Treaty, Article

25(2); U.S.-U.K. Tax Treaty, Article 9(3).

21

directly of this competent authority process.“ | However,

California may receive information from the United States

regarding competent authority negotiations and adjustments made

to a taxpayer's transfer prices as a result of competent authority

negotiations.» If California required taxpayers to use the same

intercompany prices as reflected on their federal returns, and to

amend those returns if any adjustment was made (either by the IRS

or the competent authorities), California could effectively eliminate

the risk of double taxation.

The competent authority process has proven effective. In

addition, there are procedures either in place or pending with many

of our treaty partners to enter into bilateral “advance pricing

agreements” relating to particular taxpayers, whereby the

competent authorities agree on a correct intercompany pricing

methodology on a prospective basis. This procedure, also only

available under treaties, may further reduce the incidence of double

taxation.

Because no mechanism whatever exists to prevent or relieve

the multiple taxation resulting from application of the Unitary

Method to Foreign-based Multinational Groups, the Unitary

Method fails the second Japan Line test by creating a substantial

risk of multiple taxation.

Il. THE CALIFORNIA SUPREME COURT’S RELIANCE

UPON PROVISIONS OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE

CODE AS SUPPORTING THE UNITARY METHOD IS

INCORRECT.

The notion that section 482 of the Internal Revenue Code

supports the Unitary Method is preposterous. Yet, the California

* Container, 463 U.S. at 192 0.31.

= 26 U.S.C. § 6103(d) provides that returns and return information shall be

open for inspection by, or disclosure to “any State agency, body or commission,

or its legal representative, which is charged under the laws of such State with

responsibility for the administration of State tax laws...”

22

Supreme Court’s opinion cites the term “apportion” in section 482

as evidence that Congress in effect has long sanctioned state

application of the Unitary Method. According to the opinion:

{I]n enacting the Internal Revenue Code of 1956,

Congress authorized the Secretary of the Treasury to

“distribute, apportion, or allocate gross income ...

between or among” multi-corporate enterprises, including

those with foreign domiciles, “in order ... clearly to

reflect [their] income” (26 U.S.C. § 482, italics added),

a formulation that reflects at least an awareness of

apportionment methodologies.”

The implication of the above-quoted passage is that Congress

had knowledge of “apportionment methodologies” similar in

concept to the Unitary Method and, far from prohibiting or

limiting their use, actually endorsed their use to allocate income

under section 482.

The proposition that the term “apportion” in section 482 had

anything to do with a formulary, non-separate accounting concept

similar to the Unitary Method is clearly wrong. The California

Supreme Court’s error is based on a misunderstanding of the

legislative history of section 482. That history demonstrates

Congress’ overriding objective to prevent abuses involving the use

of intercompany transactions to avoid tax by placing income

improperly in a tax-favored entity and/or a tax-favored country.

Congress authorized the IRS to correct such misallocations of

income by reallocating the income back to the entity or country

where it properly belonged. Only the arm’s length method

contemplates and provides for such entity-by-entity and country-by-

country allocation. Because the Unitary Method is totally

indifferent to whether income properly “belongs in” or is properly

earned by or within any particular entity or country, Congress

could not possibly have had a Unitary Method in mind when it

% 829 P.2d at 297.

23

originally enacted the predecessor of section 482. A brief review

of the legislative history confirms this Congressional focus.

The antecedent of section 482 was contained in regulations

promulgated under the authority of the Revenue Act of 1917 which

required affiliated corporations to provide sufficient information

about _ Intercorporate relationships that would allow the

Commissioner “to compute the amount of the tax properly due

from each corporation on the basis of an equitable and lawful

accounting. . In addition, the regulations generally authorized

the Commissioner to allocate income and deductions among

affiliated corporations and also to consolidate the accounts of such

affiliated corporations “whenever necessary to more equitably

determine the invested capital or taxable income....”“ This

authority to “consolidate accounts” was continued in section 240

of the Revenue Act of 1918.” The Senate Committee on Finance

Report explained that such “consolidation ... prevent{s] evasion

which cannot be successfully blocked in any other way. Among

affiliated corporations it frequently happens that the accepted

intercompany accounting assigns too much income ... to Company

A [and] not enough to Company B.””

Section 240(d) of the Revenue Act of 1921 similarly

authorized the Commissioner to “consolidate the accounts of ...

related trades and businesses, in any proper case, for the purpose

of making an accurate distribution or apportionment of gains,

profits, income, deductions, or capital between or among such

related trades or businesses.’ The House Ways and Means

Committee clarified that the provision’s purpose was to prevent

a

Reg. 41, art. 77, T.D. 2694 (1918) (emphasis added).

Reg. 41, art. 78, T.D. 2694 (1918). See Union P, Commissione

17 B.T.A. 793 (1929), acq. — c

* ch. 18, § 240, 40 Stat. 1057.

“

S. Rep. No. 617, 65th Cong., 3d Sess. 8-9 (1918).

“ch. 136, § 240(d), 42 Stat. 227.

24

arbitrary profit-shifting and other abuses, such as the use of a

foreign subsidiary to “milk” the parent corporation “or otherwise

improperly manipulate the financial accounts of the parent

company,” not to compute tax on the basis of a consolidated

return.2 That is, section 240(d) was not intended to allow the

Commissioner to combine and apportion the incomes of related

parties as if a consolidated return had been filed.

The provision first assumed substantially its modern

appearance when reenacted as section 45 of the Revenue Act of

1928." Section 45 specifically predicated the Commissioner's

authority to reallocate income or deductions upon the objective to

prevent tax avoidance and ensure the clear reflection of the income

of the related parties (to determine their “true tax liability” in the

words of the House Ways and Means Report)“ Neither in the

1928 Act nor in any predecessor legislation was the Commissioner

given the authority to combine and apportion the otherwise

separate net incomes of related taxpayers.

The proposition that section 482 and its predecessors could not

be used by the Internal Revenue Service to combine and apportion

the income of two or more related taxpayers or otherwise place

them in effect on a consolidated return basis is made abundantly

clear by the case law. Construing the scope of section 45 of the

1928 Act in this connection, the Tax Court in Seminole Flavor Co.

v. Commissioner, 4 T.C. 1215, 1231-32 (1945), rejected the

Commissioner's attempt to combine the incomes of a partnership

and a corporation owned by the same interests, stating:

The statute authorizes the Commissioner to “distribute,

apportion, or allocate ... between or among such

organizations, trade or business,” but it does not

specifically authorize him “to combine.” Certainly, the

@ H.R. Rep. No. 350, 67th Cong., Ist Sess. 14 (1921) (emphasis added).

® ch. 852, § 45, 45 Stat. 806.

“ H.R. Rep. No. 2, 70th Cong., Ist Sess. 16-17 (1928).

25

Commissioner's own regulations, section 19.45-1,

Regulations 103, negative the use of section 45 for the

purpose of combining or consolidating the separate net

incomes of two or more organizations, trades or business

as it states:

** * It [sec. 45] is not intended (except in the

case of computation of consolidated net income

under a consolidated return) to effect in any case

such a distribution, apportionment, or allocation of

gross income deductions, or any item of either, as

would produce a result equivalent to a computation

_of consolidated net income under section 141.

am te panne aeng ioner’s action here has

a t ivalent

— bing to the computation of

As the foregoing makes clear, the suggestion in the California

Supreme . Court opinion that section 482 contains explicit

Congressional authorization to utilize a Unitary Method of taxation

ee the income of the combined enterprise is totally

In fact, other provisions of the Internal Revenue Code

demonstrate Congress’ cumin anh aaiemsatiamecs 2 On

arm’s length method, particularly in the international context. As

regards United States taxation of foreign parent-owned foreign

corporations, the Code provides for tax jurisdiction in respect of

these corporations only on their U.S. source income or income

effectively connected with a United States trade or business.”

While the Code authorizes the filing of consolidated returns which

combine” the income of a number of separate corporations

foreign corporations generally may not be included in such a

consolidated return. In fact, this Court has held as a general

rule that except in instances where the corporate form is a “sham

or unreal” the separate existence of corporations and their

© 26 U.S.C. §§ 881-882.

26 U.S.C. §§ 1501, 1504(>)(3).

26

shareholders must be respected.*” In short, there is no basis for

the California Supreme Court’s suggestion that section 482

supports or authorizes the use of the Unitary Method or indeed any

method other than the arm’s length method.

Ill. | THECALIFORNIA SUPREME COURT’S RELIANCE

UPON UNITED STATES TREATIES OF

FRIENDSHIP, COMMERCE AND NAVIGATION AS

SUPPORTING THE UNITARY METHOD IS

INCORRECT.

Another factor relied upon by the California Supreme Court

for the proposition that Congress has evidenced its “approval” of

California’s Unitary Method was Congress’ ratification of a

number of United States Treaties of Friendship, Commerce and

Navigation. The California Supreme Court noted that these

treaties, dating from the late 1940's, incorporated provisions that

“preserve the states’ freedom to employ methods that produced a

tax ‘reasonably allocable or apportionable’ to the taxing

jurisdiction...“ The California Supreme Court cited in

particular an annotated draft of a FCN Treaty with Portugal. It

should be clarified that the U.S.-Portugal FCN Treaty has never

entered into force. Unlike the draft U.S.-Portugal FCN Treaty,

the U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty did enter into force and thus is an

appropriate subject of analysis.

If the California Supreme Court, rather than relying on the

uneffectuated draft treaty with Portugal, had examined the U.S.-

Japan FCN Treaty, coupled with a later FCN Treaty negotiated

with France, the court would have been unable to conclude that the

U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty supports the Unitary Method. In fact, the

U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty requires the states to utilize the arm’s

length method with respect to the taxation of Japanese

corporations.

“ Moline Properties, Inc. v. Commissioner, 319 U.S. 436, 439 (1943).

* 829 P.2d at 297.

27

FCN Treaties generally provide restrictions on the taxation of

corporations resident in the other country.” The U.S.-Japan

FCN Treaty provides that:

In the case of companies of either Party engaged in trade

or other gainful pursuit within the territories of the other

party ... such other Party shall not impose or apply any

tax, fee or charge upon any income, capital or other basis

in excess of that reasonably allocable or apportionable to

its territories, nor grant deductions and exemptions less

than those reasonably allocable or apportionable to its

territories.”

Although the California Supreme Court found that similar language

in the draft U.S.-Portugal FCN Treaty was consistent with a

finding that Congress approved of the Unitary Method, this

interpretation is in error.

The U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty was negotiated in the 1950’s prior

to the widespread adoption of the Unitary Method, and as this

Court has held, a treaty must “be read in light of the conditions

and circumstances existing at the time they were entered

into... Because the arm’s length method was, and is, the only

internationally accepted method, the reasonably allocable or

apportionable amount must be determined on the basis of the arm’s

length method. This conclusion becomes inescapable in view of

the effect of the taxation provision in the later ratified U.S.-France

FCN treaty.

Article XI(3) of the U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty provides that

Japanese corporations shall not be subject to taxes more

burdensome than those borne by companies of any third country.

This “most favored nation” clause in effect restricts subnational

Sumitomo Shoji Am., Inc. v. Avagliano, 457 U.S. 176 (1982).

U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty, Article X1(4).

Rocca v. Thompson, 223 U.S. 317, 331-32 (1912).

$1

28

(e.g., state) taxation of Japanese corporations as a result of the

taxation provisions of other international agreements to which the

United States is a party, including the Convention of Establishment

Between the United States of America and France.” Article 9(4)

of this Convention provides that:

[French corporations] shall not be subject, within the

territories of the [United States], to any form of taxation

upon capital, income, profits or any other basis, except by

reason of the property which they possess within those

territories, the income and profits derived from sources

therein, the business in which they are there engaged, the

transactions which they accomplish there, or any other

basis of taxation directly related to their activities within

those territories.

By reason of the “most favored nation” clause in the U.S.-Japan

FCN Treaty, this Article in the Convention with France imposes

the obligation to utilize the arm’s length method, including at the

state level,” in determining the tax liability of Japanese

corporations. The Article is entirely consistent with the arm’s

length method as reflected in United States tax treaties and the

Internal Revenue Code. It provides for source taxation, taxation

of business profits derived from an active trade or business, and

transaction based taxation. Failure to require the application of the

arm’s length method demanded by this provision, when applied to

a Japanese company, will violate the U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty.

The California Supreme Court never considered the effect of

this later treaty with France, and therefore misinterpreted the

“negative implication” of Congress’ ratification of FCN Treaties.

The existence of FCN Treaties not only fails to support the

2 11: U.S.T. 2398, T.1.A.S. No. 4625 (Nov. 25, 1959).

*% Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. at 64-65 (“This country ... has entered into

numerous treaties of amity and commerce since its incepuon—treates entered into

under express constitutional authority, and binding upon the states as well as the

nation.”).

29

California Supreme Court’s conclusion; it directly supports the

Opposite conclusion. '

The United Kingdom and the United States are not Parties to

an FCN Treaty. Therefore, if this Court concludes that the

Unitary Method as applied to the Petitioner is constitutional, this

Court should reserve on the issue of whether the Unitary Method

is nevertheless invalid when applied to a Japanese company

protected by the U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty.

CONCLUSION

The California Supreme Court incorrectly upheld the Uni

Method on the basis of “negative imp ications.” re Peder

Government silence is actually Federal Government speech. It

declared Federal Government inaction to be Federal Government

action. This analysis is wrong and dangerous, and must he

rejected. Absent such “negative implications,” the application of

this Court’s “one voice” and multiple taxation tests demonstrates

that the Unitary Method violates both of these tests, while the

arm's length method does not. If, however, this Court determines

that the Unitary Method as applied to U.K.-based Multinational

Groups is constitutional, this Court should reserve on the issue of

whether the same conclusion may be reached when applied to a

30

Japan-based Multinational Group entitled to the protections of the

U.S.-Japan Tax Treaty and the U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty.

‘Counsel of Record

December 15, 1993.

Respectfully submitted.

C. David Swenson’

Dennis I. Meyer

Leonard B. Terr

Harry A. Franks, Jr.

BAKER & MCKENZIE

815 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006-4078

(202) 452-7000

Counsel for Keidanren

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.