Amicus Curiae Brief — BFP v. Resolution Trust Corporation

Supreme Court brief1994

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

AVAILA

SS

No. 92-1370

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1993

.

BFP, A Partnership,

Petitioner,

THE RESOLUTION TRUST CORPORATION As Receiver for

IMPERIAL FEDERAL SAVINGS & LOAN ASSOCIATION;

PAUL OSBORNE; WILLIAM LITTLE; DENNIS ROY;

ARTHUR RITZ; JOSE CRUZ; RICHARD MARCZ,

Respondents

+

On Writ Of Certiorari To The

United States Court Of Appeals

For The Ninth Circuit

+

BRIEF OF THE AMERICAN COUNCIL OF

LIFE INSURANCE AND THE AMERICAN COLLEGE

OF REAL ESTATE LAWYERS AS AMICI CURIAE

IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

+

CuristorpHer F. GRAHAM

Counsel of Record for Amici Curiae

THACHER Prorritt & Woop

Two World Trade Center

New York, New York 10048

(212) 912-7400

Of Counsel:

RicHarD E. BARNSBACK James L. CUNNINGHAM

American Council of Life President, American College

Insurance of Real Estate Lawyers

1001 Pennsylvania Avenue, SHERMAN & Howarp

N.W. 3000 First Interstate

Washington, DC 20004-2599 Tower North

(202) 624-2183 633 17th Street

Denver, CO 80202

(303) 299-8356

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225.6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342 2831

QUESTION PRESENTED

Was the Ninth Circuit’s holding that the “reasonably

equivalent value” standard set forth in Section 548 of the

Bankruptcy Code was satisfied by the price received at a

noncollusive, regularly conducted foreclosure sale a permis-

sible interpretation of Section 548?

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED ............----- eee ee eens 1

STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE.... 1

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .............-----+5555 2

REMUIBEIAE .. ow co ccccccccccccesecesevccccscsccesces 3

TABLE OF CONTENTS

THE NINTH CIRCUIT DID NOT ERR IN HOLD-

ING THAT THE PRICE RECEIVED AT A NON-

COLLUSIVE, REGULARLY CONDUCTED

FORECLOSURE SALE SHOULD ESTABLISH

REASONABLY EQUIVALENT VALUE UNDER 11

U.S.C. § S4B(aM2MA). .. 25. c cee wee c ccc eeeeeecees

A. Congress Did Not Expressly Provide For A Method

Of Determining “Reasonably Equivalent Value”

Pursuant To 11 U.S.C. § 548(aX(2A) And The

Ninth Circuit’s Holding Is A Permissible Interpreta-

B. Congress Did Not Intend Section 548 of the

Bankruptcy Code To Apply To Noncollusive,

Regularly Conducted Foreclosure Sales. ......

1. Historical Basis For Section 548 Of The

Bankruptcy Code ....... 2.2... 66 eee ee eees

2. For More Than 400 Years, Fraudulent- Con-

veyance Laws Have Not Been Applied To

Noncollusive, Properly Conducted Fore-

CE TED occ cccceccvecesossescessess

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS -— Continued

Page

3/ The Legislative History Of Section 548 And Its

4. By Incorporating State Fraudulent-Transfer

Law Into The Bankruptcy Act And The

Bankruptcy Code, Congress Adopted The

Common State Law Understanding Of The

Meaning Of “Fair Consideration” And

“Reasonably Equivalent Value”...........

5. The 1984 Amendments To The Bankruptcy

Code Had No Effect On The Meaning Of

Reasonably Equivalent Value Or The Appli-

cation Of Fraudulent-Transfer Law To Non-

— Regularly Conducted Foreclosure

BED ccccesesececsesesesoueseceoseeses:s

C. “Reasonably Equivalent Value” Does Not Mean

Fair Market Value In The Context Of A Fore-

GE ee onccccadnnenssedenesecknnsebds<

APPLICATION OF THE CONSTRUCTIVE FRAUD

PROVISIONS TO NONCOLLUSIVE FORE-

CLOSURE SALES CONDUCTED IN ACCOR-

DANCE WITH STATE LAW MAKES NO SENSE

WHEN PRACTICAL REALITIES ARE CONSID-

SEED co cv cvcececescusseceseececovescoecoesestes

A. Adoption Of The Durrett Principle Would Have

A Severe Adverse Effect On The Mortgage

Market, The Availability Of Credit And The

Effective Use Of Real Property..............

10

12

16

20

23

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS -— Continued

Page

B. Response To The Policy Arguments Asserted In

The Petitioner’s Amici Brief ................ 25

1. The Shuchman “Empirical Study” On The

Effect Of The Durrett Rule Is Inaccurate

And Represents An Attempt To Buttress

Counter-Intuitive, Politically-Oriented Con-

Se cian snecenenedseeekekebseséeee e 25

2. The Petitioner's Amici Brief Incorrectly

Cites Other Studies As Support.......... 28

3. The Case At Bar Does Not Involve A Tax

i -¢cedvdideudbdbichenasasaueneaes 30

ee oe ol uasbadvenevanesenest 30

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases

Abramsom v. Lakewood Bank and Trust Co., 647 F.2d

547 (Sth Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1164

(FRc cevevcscsccecccecesosscees sebenbneedeecsd 9, 27

BFP v. Imperial Savings & Loan Association, 974

RBS CBOSS GD GR, Tee cc cccccccccceccccceceses 2, 16

Barrett v. Commonwealth Federal Savings and Loan

Association, 939 F.2d 20 (3d Cir. 1991)............. 21

In re Coleman, 21 B.R. 832 (Bankr. S.D Tex. 1982).... 24

Dewsnup v. Timm, ___ U.S. __, 112 S. Ct. 773, 116

SS © Rr eee 15

Durrett v. Washington National Insurance Co., 621

PBS Fe Goad Gee FRED cc ccccccccccccccccceces passim

Graffam v. Burgess, 117 U.S. 180 (1885)........... 11, 13

Heydon’s Case, 76 Eng. Rep. 637 (Exchequer 1584).... 14

Hood v. Williams, 92 B.R. 648 (Bankr. E.D. Va. 1988) .... 21

In re Littleton, 888 F.2d 90 (11th Cir. 1989)........... 24

Madrid v. Lawyers Title Insurance Corp., 21 B.R. 424

(9th Cir. BAP 1982), aff'd, 725 F.2d 1197 (9th

Cir.), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 833 (1984).......... 16, 17

Madrid v. Lawyers’ Title Insurance Corp., (In re

Madrid), 725 F.2d 1197 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 469

te FF ee rrrrrrrrrrrrie err 18, 26

Northern Pipeline Construction Co. v. Marathon Pipe

Line Co., 458 U.S. 50 (1982) ........ 02 cece eee enees 19

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Twyne’'s Case, 76 Eng. Rep. 809 (Star Chamber 1601)..... 6

Union Bank v. Wolas, __ U.S. __, 112 S. Ct. 527,

B06 L.. HG. BO SOO CURVE) oc cccccccccccccesccccesess 19

STATUTORY AND OFFICIAL AUTHORITIES

Bankruptcy Act of July 1, 1898, ch. 541, § 67d, 30

Stat. 544 (repealed 1978) .........22c cee eeees 7, 10, 13

Bankruptcy Amendments and Federal Judgeship Act

of 1984, Pub. L. 98-353, 98 Stat. 333............... 16

Bankruptcy Reform Act of 1978, Pub. L. No. 95-598,

§§ 101-151326, 92 Stat. 2549 (1978).............655.. 7

Chandler Act, ch. 575, 52 Stat. 9 (1938) (repealed

PE nd e6bensdeneseesndesdaddcasssnedbnues castidee 7

130 Cong. Rec. $7617 (daily ed. June 19, 1984)....... 19

Se We, Oe cca Siennceenendebeedbuseseras bat passim

(Gt! 5 FRPPPPTTTTIT TT Tri rir erie 23

BP Ge ls Ge Oe Ms crc dccccsccccesccucuesscvcecéss 5

Oe es Oi Oy Geter cccccccesevessubenceenséeen ets 5

DF, Wes G, BD Gc ccc ccccddancssescciossvéveeees 5

Unif. Fraudulent Transfer Act § 3(b), 7A U.L.A. 643

PP ncesnnvedeneuvecesdasntaketessivssousuasers 15

SCHOLARLY AUTHORITIES

Orlando F. Bump, A Treatise Upon Conveyances

Made by Debtors to Defraud Creditors § 237, at

276-77 (James M. Gray ed., 4th ed. 1896)............ &

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Lawrence D. Coppel and Lewis A. Kann, Defanging

Durrett: The Established Law of “Transfer,” 100

EE Oe Ss oo nus ceinadenbunduiessaese 18

Henry M. Hart, Jr. and Albert M. Sacks, The Legal

Process: Basic Problems In The Making And

Application Of Law, 1144, 1414-15 (Tentative Edi-

Ss PN an desécbdeubddes soeecstressdtaereces ose 14

3 William Holdswoth, A History of English Law

PPT CTT TT ETT TTT TTT CTTTTS 5

1 Garrard Glenn, Fraudulent Conveyances and Prefer-

ences § 214a at 367 (2d ed. 1940)................... %

Frank R. Kennedy, Involuntary Fraudulent Transfers,

9 Cardozo L. Rev. 531, 566 (1987)........... 9, 18, 29

H. W. May and W. Douglas Edwards, The Law of

Fraudulent and Voluntary Conveyances 4-5 (3d ed.

See ddddedscksdedecdabie Kevevedestencess ceeenses 5

James A. McLaughlin, Application of the Uniform

Fraudulent Conveyance Act, 46 Harv. L. Rev. 404,

GE GN 6 hn 66 dbs buns cuebbededabesédbdedoccsoces 7

John Mixon, Deficiency Judgments Following Home

Mortgage Foreclosure: An Anachronism that

Increases Personal Tragedy, Impedes Regional Eco-

nomic Recovery, and Means Little to Lenders, 22

Ta, Te Ee Te By Fe Geers bcctesevcccccces 29

1 Dewitt C. Moore, A Treatise on Fraudulent Convey-

ances and Creditors’ Remedies at Law and in

ss gg 2 k fl EE rer rr rr 8

Nelson and Whitman, Real Estate Finance Law,

Be fg RR eer ar eee &

Max Radin, Handbook of Roman Law 153 (1927)..... 4, §

=

viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Real Estate Appraisal Terminology 137 (Byrl N.

Boyce ed., 1975) ....... cece cece e cece ee eeeeenees

Philip Shuchman, Data on the Durrett Controversy, 9

Cardozo L. Rev. 605 (1987). ........-eeeeees 25,

Robert H. Skilton, Assessing the Mortgage Debtor’s

Personal Liability, 90 U. Pa. L. Rev. 440, 444-45

(\_) © -) errr rr rrr errr

Steven Wechsler, Through the Looking Glass: Fore-

closure Sale As De Facto Strict Foreclosure — An

Empirical Study of Mortgage Foreclosure and Sub-

sequent Resale, 70 Cornell L. Rev. 850, "4 e41

12, 13, 22,

2 Charles H. Wiltsie, A Treatise On the Law and

Practice of Real Property Mortgage Foreclosure

§ 647 at 1049-1051 (Sth ed. 1939).........--. 9,

Robert M. Zinman, Durrett Data: Shucking the Husks

from the Grain, ¥ Cardozo L. Rev. 1013 (1988) .

Robert M. Zinman, Noncollusive, Regularly Con-

ducted Foreclosure Sales: Involuntary, Non-

fraudulent Transfers, 9 Cardozo L. Rev. 581, 586

Page

28, 29

(TDG cc ccc ccccccececccesencccesccsecevecs 18, 20, 28

MISCELLANEOUS

Symposium, Bankruptcy Reform Circa 1993, ALI-

ABA Conference (June 10-12, 1993)..........-.

STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE!

The American Council of Life Insurance (the “Council”)

is a nonprofit voluntary trade association, the membership of

which totals 634 legal reserve life insurance companies doing

business throughout the United States. The member com-

panies of the Council account for 89.9 percent of the legal

reserve life insurance in force in this country and afford

protection to approximately 140 million insureds. At the end

of 1992, life insurance companies held $247 billion of long-

term debt secured by mortgages on real property in the United

States, which represented 15 percent of the total assets held

by life insurance companies in that year.2 A reversal of the

decision below would have a serious adverse effect on these

mortgage investments. On the other hand, life insurance com-

panies have billions of dollars invested in unsecured corpo-

rate obligations that would be benefitted by a reversal of the

decision below. Therefore, the Council is in a unique position

to advise as to the proper resolution of the issue now before

this Court.

The American College of Real Estate Lawyers

(“ACREL”) is a nonprofit corporation, organized on April 28,

1980, for the purpose of, inter alia, gathering together law-

yers “to improve and reform real estate law and practice.”

(ACREL Articles of Incorporation at 2). ACREL’s member-

ship consists of approximately 800 attorneys from nearly

every state and the District of Columbia who have concen-

trated their practice in real estate law for a period of ten years

or more, and law school professors specializing in the field of

real estate law. In addition, members elected to ACREL must

have demonstrated a willingness to devote time to improving

real property law through writing, teaching or participation in

1 Amici have obtained the permission of both parties in this case to file this

brief. Written evidence of such permission is being submitted concurrently

herewith.

2 American Council of Life Insurance, 1993 Life Insurance Fact Book

Update (ACLI, Washington, D.C. 1993).

2

professional association activities. ACREL’s membership rep-

resents the entire spectrum of the real estate industry includ-

ing borrowers, lenders, investors and developers. ACREL is

therefore in a position to offer an unbiased opinion as to the

proper resolution of the issue now before this Court.

This brief supports the position of the Respondent in this

case. Due to the background of the Amici and their experi-

ence as lenders and as counsel to lenders, borrowers, and

prospective purchasers at foreclosure sales, they are in a

unique position to offer their expertise to this Court concern-

ing the serious adverse impact that a reversal of the decision

below would have on real estate financing.

+

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Congress did noi define the phrase “reasonably equiva-

lent value” contained in Section 548 of the Bankruptcy Code.

The Ninth Circuit’s holding below in BFP v. Imperial Savings

& Loan Association, 974 F.2d 1144 (9th Cir. 1992) — which

construed the “reasonbly equivalent value” standard to be

satisfied by the price received at a noncollusive, regularly

conducted foreclosure sale — is the only interpretation of these

words that makes sense in light of the history and purpose of

the statute.

A review of the history of Section 548 demonstrates that

Congress never intended that it be used to attack noncollu-

sive, regularly conducted foreclosure sales, but rather adopted

into the Code state fraudulent conveyance law as it existed at

the time of enactment. State fraudulent transfer law was and

remains consistent with state foreclosure law in not permit-

ting an attack on a foreclosure sale based upon inadequacy of

price where the sale was free from collusion and inequitable

conduct and conducted in accordance with the requirements

of state law. The Fifth Circuit decision in Durrett v. Washing-

ton National Insurance Company, 621 F.2d 201 (Sth Cir.

1980) went beyond the scope of Section 548, constituted an

aberration from the prior law of fraudulent conveyances, and

3

represented an unjustified interference with carefully devel-

oped foreclosure requirements of state law.

Adoption of any other interpretation of the phrase “rea-

sonably equivalent value” by this Court can only have a

severe and negative impact on the real estate financing mar-

ket. It would result in the tightening of the availability of

credit, rising interest rates, and under-utilization of property.

Accordingly, the decision of the Ninth Circuit should be

affirmed.

+

ARGUMENT

1.

THE NINTH CIRCUIT DID NOT ERR IN HOLDING

THAT THE PRICE RECEIVED AT A NONCOLLUSIVE,

REGULARLY CONDUCTED FORECLOSURE SALE

SHOULD ESTABLISH REASONABLY EQUIVALENT

VALUE UNDER I1 U.S.C. § 548(a)(2)({A)

A. Congress Did Not Expressly Provide For A Method Of

Determining “Reasonably Equivalent Value” Pur-

suant To 11 U.S.C. § 548(a)(2)(A) And The Ninth

Circuit’s Holding Is A Permissible Interpretation Of

That Phrase

Under Section 548 of Title 11 of the United States Code,

11 U.S.C. §§ 101 et seq. (the “Bankruptcy Code”), a transfer

of a debtor’s interest in property may not be avoided unless

the debtor “received less than a reasonably equivalent value

in exchange for such transfer... .” 11 U.S.C. § 548(a)(2)(A).

However, the phrase “reasonably equivalent value” is not

defined in the Bankruptcy Code. Although it is axiomatic that

the starting point of statutory interpretation is the language of

the statute itself, where the statute does not define its terms,

the courts must interpret those terms based on the history and

overall purpose of the statute. Accordingly, since Section 548

of the Bankruptcy Code does not supply a definition for the

4

phrase “reasonably equivalent value,” the Petitioner and Peti-

tioner’s Amici’s? insistence that the clear language of Section

548 requires reversal of the decision below is misplaced. A

review of the history and purpose of Section 548 of the

Bankruptcy Code indicates that Congress never contemplated

that transfers of a debtor’s interest in property by means of a

noncollusive foreclosure sale, conducted in accordance with

procedures long established by state law, could be collaterally

attacked in bankruptcy because of a claimed inadequacy of

price. Rather, Congress intended to incorporate the meaning

of the phrase “reasonably equivalent value” as it was under-

stood under state law. The Ninth Circuit’s decision below

comports with this interpretation.

B. Congress Did Not Intend Section 548 of the Bank-

ruptcy Code To Apply To Noncollusive, Regularly

Conducted Foreclosure Sales

1. Historical Basis For Section 548 Of The Bank-

ruptcy Code

Section 548 of the Bankruptcy Code is the most recent

codification of fraudulent-transfer laws, the roots of which

trace back over 2,000 years to early Roman law. A brief

review of that history will help explain the purpose of Section

548.

a. Roman Law

Under Roman law, a defrauded creditor could avoid a

fraudulent conveyance by an insolvent debtor by use of a tort

action known as a “Paulian Action.” Max Radin, Handbook of

Roman Law 153 (1927). Where the debtor had deliberately

stripped himself of property while insolvent, suit could be

brought against both the debtor and a mala fide purchaser

3 “Petitioner’s Amici Brief” refers to the brief submitted by Frank Allen,

Levander and Elnora McKeever, the Consumer Education and Protective

Association, The Consumers League of New Jersey, and Chapter 13 Trustee

Edward Sparkman as Amici Curiae in support of Petitioner. “Petitioner's Amici”

refers to the proponents of the Petitioner’s Amici Brief.

5

from the debtor as an accessory to the fraud. Jd. However,

such an action was conditioned on (1) the insolvency of the

debtor, and (2) reckless disregard for the creditor’s rights. /d.

at 154.

b. English Law

The first Anglo-American fraudulent-conveyance laws

were created in response to a perceived abuse of “sanctuary

laws” which allowed debtors to transfer their property col-

lusively and then seek sanctuary in various privileged places.

3 William Holdsworth, A History of English Law 305-06 (Sth

ed. 1966). In response to this abuse, Parliament enacted a

Statute permitting creditors to execute on land and chattels

collusively conveyed, 50 Ed. III, c. 6 (1376), and it later

passed a statute that avoided gifts of chattels made in trust

with intent to defraud creditors, 3 Hen. VII, c. 4 (1476). Thus,

from their inception, Anglo-American fraudulent-conveyance

laws were enacted to curb the abuses of deliberately fraudu-

lent debtors.

c. The Statute of 13 Elizabeth

The Statute of 13 Elizabeth, generally considered the

foundation of modern fraudulent-transfer law, was enacted in

1570 and states, in pertinent part, that “covinous and fraudu-

lent Feoffments, Gifts, Grants, Alienations, Conveyances,

Bonds, Suits, Judgments And Executions . . . devised and

contrived of Malice, Fraud, Covin, Collusion Or Guile, to the

End, Purpose and Intent, to delay, hinder or defraud Creditors

and others .. . shall be . . . utterly void, frustrate and of none

Effect. ...” 13 Eliz., c. 5 (1570). As can be seen from the

language of the statute, a showing of intent to defraud was

required. However, due to the fact that people do not normally

make public their intent to commit fraud, it became necessary

to look to the facts surrounding the transfer to uncover such

intent. As a result, over time, the statute was judicially

expanded to presume that certain acts or circumstances were

in themselves indicative of the necessary fraudulent intent. H.

W. May and W. Douglas Edwards, The Law of Fraudulent and

6

Voluntary Conveyances 4-5 (3d ed. 1908). Thus, even if a

creditor could not show actual intent to defraud, the creditor

could still meet this burden by showing the requisite circum-

stances or “badges of fraud” to create a presumption of actual

intent to defraud. Nevertheless, proof of actual intent to

defraud either by direct or circumstantial evidence was still

necessary if relief was to be afforded under the statute.

Accordingly, the purpose of the “badges of fraud” was not to

eliminate the requirement of actual intent to defraud, but to

allow proof of such intent by indirect means. See Twyne’s

Case, 76 Eng. Rep. 809 (Star Chamber 1601). This English

-body of law formed the foundation of American fraudulent-

conveyance law.

d. The Uniform Fraudulent Conveyance Act

In response to confusion resulting from inconsistent

applications of the badges and presumptions of fraud, and

from the fact that creditors were attempting to use badges of

fraud to characterize all conveyances that had an adverse

effect on creditors as fraudulent, the National Conference of

Commissioners on Uniform State Laws approved the Uniform

Fraudulent Conveyance Act (the “UFCA”) in 1918. The

UFCA eliminated the badges of fraud and instead grouped

some of the badges of fraud into constructive frauds for which

no showing of intent was required.* However, the intent of the

UFCA was not to change the law, but to clarify it and produce

the same substantive results as the Statute of 13 Elizabeth.

Thus, the prefatory note to the UFCA states: “In most states,

the bill if enacted will not so much change the law as clearly

define what heretofore has been indefinite.” UFCA, Commis-

sioners’ Prefatory Note, 7A U.L.A. 427-28 (1985). Indeed, a

leading scholar of fraudulent-conveyance law stated that “[the

UFCA] is a modernized statute of Elizabeth and nothing

4 It was one of these constructive frauds that was later incorporated into

American bankruptcy law by the Chandler Act of 1938 that forms the basis for

challenges to noncollusive, regularly conducted foreclosure sales at issue in this

case.

7

else.” James A. McLaughlin, Application of the Uniform

Fraudulent Conveyance Act, 46 Harv. L. Kev. 404, 405

(1933). Fhus, although constructive fraud was substituted for

the presumptions and badges of fraud, there was no change in

the purpose of the law — to ferret out those transactions that

were intended to hinder, delay or defraud creditors.

e. Early American Bankruptcy Law

Starting with the first bankruptcy law of the United

States enacted in 1800, every American bankruptcy act has

included a fraudulent conveyance provision. In the Bank-

ruptcy Act of 1898, Congress adopted, with only minor

changes, the language and law of the Statute of 13 Elizabeth

in Section 67d. Bankruptcy Act of July 1, 1898, ch. 541,

§ 67d, 30 Stat. 544 (repealed 1978) (the “Bankruptcy Act”).

In 1938, the bankruptcy law was amended by the Chandler

Act, ch. 575, 52 Stat. 9 (1938) (repealed 1979) (the “Chandler

Act”) which, but for minor changes, incorporated the provi-

sions of the UFCA.

f. Section 548 of the Bankruptcy Code

In 1978, Congress once again overhauled the Bankruptcy

Act. Bankruptcy Reform Act of 1978, Pub. L. No. 95-598,

§§ 101-151326, 92 Stat. 2549 (1978). In the 1978 revision,

Section 548 replaced Section 67d with only minor changes.

The principal changes were: (1) the reordering of the listing

of fraudulent conveyances; (2) the substitution of “reasonably

equivalent value” for “fair consideration;” and (3) the

removal of the requirement that the purchaser acquire the

property in “good faith.” Because so few changes were made

to the substance of Section 67d, there is very little commen-

tary on Section 548 and absolutely no indication that Con-

gress intended radical revisions to the federal law of

fraudulent conveyances. Section 548 is thus a direct successor

to the Uniform Fraudulent Conveyance Act, the Statute of 13

Elizabeth and the prior English and Roman laws concerning

fraudulent conveyances. Over the course of centuries, the

difficult-to-prove subjective test necessary to establish a

fraudulent conveyance has evolved into the wholly objective

tests currently found in the UFCA and Section 548. However,

the main purpose of fraudulent-conveyance laws has remained

constant: prevention of inequitable transfers that would divert

assets from the debtor’s creditors. A noncollusive, regularly

conducted foreclosure sale does not violate this policy.

2. For More Than 400 Years, Fraudulent-Convey-

ance Laws Have Not Been Applied To Noncollu-

sive, Properly Conducted Foreclosure Sales

Foreclosure sales have never been exempt from subse-

quent legal challenges. Failure to comply with statutory

requirements applicable to foreclosure sales or fraudulent

conduct designed to chill bidding at a sale are generally

grounds under state foreclosure law to set aside a foreclosure

sale. See Nelson and Whitman, Real Estate Finance Law

§ 7.11 (2d ed. 1985). Moreover, it is clear that fraudulent-

conveyance laws can be used to invalidate a transfer of the

debtor's property at a mortgage sale initiated by a creditor if

collusion between the debtor and the creditor can be shown. |

Dewitt C. Moore, A Treatise on Fraudulent Conveyances and

Creditors’ Remedies at Law and in Equity § 13 at 50 (1908); 1

Garrard Glenn, Fraudulent Conveyances and Preferences

§ 214a, at 367 (2d ed. 1940); Orlando F. Bump, A Treatise

Upon Conveyances Made by Debtors to Defraud Creditors

§ 237, at 276-77 (James M. Gray ed., 4th ed. 1896). Invalida-

tion of such unfair foreclosure sales is consistent with the

policy of fraudulent-conveyance laws and consequently is not

surprising.

Equally unsurprising is that no reported case decided

prior to Durrett v. Washington Nat'l Ins. Co., 621 F.2d 201

(Sth C.r. 1980) under English or American fraudulent-convey-

ance law had ever invalidated a noncollusive, regularly con-

ducted foreclosure sale of the debtor’s property.> Importantly,

5 See Robert M. Zinman, Noncollusive, Regularly Conducted Foreclosure

Sales: Involuntary, Nonfraudulent Transfers, 9 Cardozo L. Rev. 581, 586 (1987);

9

even when a foreclosure action and sale are conducted under

the applicable state law and procedural rules and are free of

any collusive or fraudulent conduct, state mortgage law pro-

vides an additional protection for the debtor and the debtor’s

creditors. Under American mortgage law, it has always been

clear that a foreclosure sale could be set aside if the inade-

quacy of price is so great as to shock the conscience of the

court. See 2 Charles H. Wiltsie, A Treatise On the Law and

Practice of Real Property Mortgage Foreclosure § 647, at

1049-51 (Sth ed. 1939). Against this background of state

mortgage laws and fraudulent-conveyance laws, Congress

incorporated fraudulent-conveyance law into the bankruptcy

law. The Durrett court ignored 400 years of fraudulent-con-

veyance law and held that under Section 548 of the Bank-

ruptcy Code a noncollusive, regularly conducted foreclosure

sale could be set aside because of the inadequacy of the price

obtained at the sale. Thus, a new federal measure of adequacy

of price was created by the Durrett court without regard to the

applicable mortgage doctrine that a foreclosure sale could

only be set aside if the price paid is so inadequate as to shock

the conscience of the Court. Thus, the decision of the Fifth

Circuit in Durrett should be seen as an aberration from both

the precedent and policy of the law of fraudulent conveyances

which has developed as part of the Anglo-American legal

system for over 400 years and from American bankruptcy law.

The Durrett court’s failure to cite even one case in which a

noncollusive, regularly conducted mortgage foreclosure sale

was invalidated as a fraudulent conveyance demonstrates that

decision’s abrupt departure from well-settled principles of

fraudulent-conveyance law. Judge Clark, dissenting in Abram-

son v. Lakewood Bank and Trust Co., 647 F.2d 547 (Sth Cir.

but see Frank R. Kennedy Involuntary Fraudulent Transfers, 9 Cardozo L. Rev.

531, 532 (1987) (“the ‘Durrett doctrine’ is not so novel. . . . "). However, all of the

cases cited by Professor Kennedy in support of this statement involved fac-s

consistent with a determination of actual fraud. None involved noncollusive,

regularly conducted foreclosure sales until the Durrett case was decided. Zinman, 9

Cardozo L. Rev. at 584 n.19 (1987).

10 ;

1981) (Clark, J., dissenting), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1164

(1982), recognized this flaw in the Durrett holding:

It is interesting to me that Durrett is the first case to

treat this problem — after 90 years of bankruptcy

law and mortgages of a time greater than the mem-

ory of man. It again establishes what an imaginative

lawyer can do when he adds persuasion.

Id. at 550.°

3. The Legislative History Of Section 548 And Its

Predecessors Does Not Demonstrate Any Intention

‘To Depart Radically From Over 400 Years Of

Fraudulent-Conveyance Law

An examination of the legislative history underlying Sec-

tion 548 of the Bankruptcy Code, as well as its predecessors,

Bankruptcy Act Sections 67d and 67e, shows that at no time

did Congress ever intend radically to change existing fraudu-

lent-conveyance law.

The Bankruptcy Act of 1898, as it exis‘ed prior to the

Chandler Act, contained a virtual restatement of the Statute of

13 Elizabeth.’ Since the Statute of 13 Elizabeth had been

clarified by the UFCA in many jurisdictions, Congress

amended the Bankruptcy Act in 1938 with the enactment of

the Chandler Act to reflect the law of fraudulent conveyances

as codified in the UFCA:

We have condensed the provisions of the Uniform

Fraudulent Conveyance Act, retaining its sub-

Stance, and as far as possible, its language. Analysis

of H.R. 12339, 74th Cong., 2d Sess. 214 (1936)

© During substantially the same period, if not longer, many states have had on

their books a version of the UFCA and a complementary body of law regulating

foreclosures.

7 The first sentence of Bankruptcy Act Section 67e provided:

All conveyances, transfers, assignments, or encumbrances of his

property. .. . made or given by a person . . . with the intent and

purpose on his part to hinder, delay, or defraud his creditors, . . . shall

be void as against the creditors of such debtor. .. . Bankruptcy Act of

July 1, 1898, ch. 541, § 67e, 30 Stat. 544.

11

(emphasis added). Cited in 4 Collier on Bankruptcy

q 67.29[1], at 475 n.6 (James W. Moore et al. eds.,

14th ed. 1978). ‘

The UFCA was used by the drafters of the Chandler

Act because it was considered to be declaratory of

the better decisions of American state courts con-

struing the Statute of Elizabeth and because, as it

was believed, it would promote uniformity under

the Bankruptcy Act with respect to the subject of

fraudulent conveyances. 4 Robert D’ Agastino et al.,

Collier on Bankruptcy { 548.01, at 548-15 (Law-

rence P. King et al. eds., 15th ed. 1993).

To summarize, the Bankruptcy Act of 1898 essentially re-

enacted the Statute of 13 Elizabeth; the UFCA clarified the

Statute of 13 Elizabeth but did not intend any radical depar-

ture from it; and the Chandler Act codified the UFCA in

American bankruptcy law. Throughout this process, there was

never any indication that a radical departure from the prior

precedent or policy of fraudulent-conveyance law was

intended, or that regularly conducted foreclosure sales, in the

absence of some inequitable conduct, were to be included in

the coverage of the law. Indeed, when the Bankruptcy Act of

1898 and the Chandler Act were passed, it was settled Ameri-

can law that a foreclosure sale could not be set aside for mere

inadequacy of price unless the inadequacy was so great as to

shock the conscience of the Court. Graffam v. Burgess, 117

U.S. 180, 191-92 (1885); See 2 Wiltsie, supra at 1049-51.

Congress presumably knew what the law was at the time it

passed the Bankruptcy Act and the Chandler Act and pre-

sumably would have made it clear if it had intended a radical

departure from that law. However, as discussed above, not

only did Congress not intend to change the law drastically, it

specifically intended to restate and clarify existing law.

Similarly, in 1978 when the Bankruptcy Code was

enacted, Congress presumably was cognizant of the prior

history of fraudulent-conveyance law and presumably was

aware of the fact that no case under English or American

fraudulent-conveyance law had invalidated a noncollusive,

12

regularly conducted foreclosure sale. Thus, if the provisions

of Section 548 of the Bankruptcy Code were intended to

result in a radical change from the past, one would expect that

Congress would have made that intention clear. However, as

previously discussed, the language of Section 548 and its

legislative history evidence no such distinguishing language

or intent to make such a radical change.

4. By Incorporating State Fraudulent-Transfer Law

Into The Bankruptcy Act And The Bankruptcy

Code, Congress Adopted The Common State Law

Understanding Of The Meaning Of “Fair Consid-

eration” And “Reasonably Equivalent Value”

a. State Foreclosure Law, Designed To Balance

The Interests Of Borrower And Lender, Per-

mitted Setting Aside Of Foreclosure Sales

Only For Price And Fairness Considerations

Akin To Intentional Fraud

From the inception of mortgage foreclosure law to the

present day, courts and legislatures have wrestled with the

problem of balancing the interests of mortgage lenders on the

one hand and mortgage borrowers and their creditors on the

other. See Steven Wechsler, Through the Looking Glass:

Foreclosure Sale As De Facto Strict Foreclosure — An Empiri-

cal Study of Mortgage Foreclosure and Subsequent Resale, 70

Cornell L. Rev. 850, 855 (1985), and sources cited therein.

The “equity of redemption” was developed to protect the

borrower who missed payment of the mortgage on “law day;”

the foreclosure process was designed to protect the mortgagee

by allowing the equity court to cut off, or foreclose, the

equity of redemption; the foreclosure sale was created to

safeguard the borrower in a variety of ways, including provid-

ing a forum for open bidding as a means of bringing the best

foreclosure sale price possible given the forced-sale nature of

13

the process;® legislatures intervened to aid the borrower with

additional protective devices, including restricting or limiting

the ability of the lender io obtain deficiency judgments,

providing the borrower and junior creditors with rights of

redemption after the sale and establishing court confirmation

requirements; and the courts have been willing to set aside a

foreclosure sale if it were found to be collusive or in bad faith

shown by a gross price inadequacy and other evidence of

fraud. Jd. at 855-865. Because this state foreclosure law was

designed by the legislatures and interpreted by the courts to

balance the relative interests of borrowers and lenders, state

courts refused to set aside a foreclosure sale because of

claimed inadequacy of price absent circumstances amounting

to intentional fraud. See 2 Wiltsie, supra at 1049-51.

When the Bankruptcy Act of 1898 and the Chandler Act

were enacted, it was settled law that a foreclosure sale would

not be set aside by the courts based on a claimed inadequacy

of price unless the price inadequacy was so great as to shock

the conscience of the court or unless additional circumstances

showed that the sale was unfair. Indeed this Court in Graffam

v. Burgess, 117 U.S. 180, 191 (1885), after reviewing existing

mortgage foreclosure cases, concluded that foreclosure sales

might be set aside only if:

the inadequacy of price is so gross as to shock the

conscience, or if, in addition to gross inadequacy,

the purchaser has been guilty of any unfairness, or

has taken any undue advantage, or if the owner of

the property, or party interested in it, has been for

any other reason, misled or surprised, then the sale

will be regarded as fraudulent and void or the party

injured will be permitted to redeem the property

sold.

Thus, when the Bankruptcy Act of 1898 was enacted, it

was Clear that unless the conduct of the foreclosure was so

8 It is ironic that the foreclosure sale process, designed to protect the

borrower by providing the best possible price, is the process that is being described

as fraudulent and being used to attempt to overturn legitimate, noncollusive sales

conducted under state law.

14

inequitable as to be tantamount to intentional fraud or collu-

sion, courts would not set aside the foreclosure sale based

merely on an allegation of inadequacy of price. State courts to

this day follow this rule, which recognizes the price paid at a

noncollusive foreclosure sale pursuant to the provisions of

State law as constituting reasonably equivalent value. Only

failure to comply with state foreclosure law, gross disparity of

price, lack of good faith, fraud or other inequitable conduct

would permit a state court to invalidate a foreclosure sale.

b. State Fraudulent-Transfer Law Has Always

Been Wholly Consistent With State Fore-

closure Law, Under Which Noncollusive

Mortgage Foreclosure Sales Conducted Pur-

suant To State Law Were Always Considered

To Meet The Requirements Of Reasonably

Equivalent Value

The mortgage foreclosure law and equity jurisprudence

of the respective states, not the fraudulent-conveyance laws

of those states, determines the validity of a noncollusive

foreclosure sale. State courts interpreting the UFCA and other

State fraudulent-transfer law recognized the meaning attrib-

uted to “fair consideration” or “reasonably equivalent value”

in their confirmation of foreclosure sales and never applied

fraudulent-transfer law to set aside noncollusive, regularly

conducted foreclosure sales as fraudulent transfers.? This

made sense because, as discussed above, fraudulent-transfer

law, including the use of badges and presumptions of fraud

and the development of constructive frauds, was always

intended as a means of ferreting out transactions designed to

hinder, delay and defraud creditors. If a foreclosure sale were

noncollusive, it would be, by definition, nonfraudulent and

not within the mischief'® for which the statute was written.

9 See supra note 5.

10 Lord Coke’s “mischief rule” for judicial interpretation of statutes is

articulated in Heydon’s Case, 76 Eng. Rep. 637 (Exchequer 1584). The case is

excerpted and its principle discussed in Henry M. Hart, Jr. and Albert M. Sacks, The

15

State law has been so clear that noncollusive foreclosure

sales conducted in accordance with state law are presumed to

be for a reasonably equivalent value, that after the Fifth

Circuit in Durrett attempted to turn existing law on its head

by applying the Bankruptcy Act version of the UFCA to a

noncollusive, regularly conducted foreclosure sale, the

National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State

Laws specifically rejected Durrett in the Uniform Fraudulent

Transfer Act (the Commissioner’s revision of the UFCA),

Unif. Fraudulent Transfer Act § 3(b), 7A U.L.A. 643 (1984),

as an incorrect interpretation of both the law and the defini-

tion of reasonably equivalent value as it relates to noncollu-

sive mortgage foreclosure sales.'! Jd. § 3, Comment 5.

c. By Incorporating State Fraudulent-Transfer

Law Into The Bankruptcy Act And The Bank-

ruptcy Code, Congress Adopted The State

Law As It Was Interpreted At The Time Of

Enactment

As pointed out by this Court, Congress does not write on

a clean slate. Dewsnup v. Timm, ___ U.S. __, 112 S. Ct. 773,

779, 116 L. Ed. 2d 903 (1992). In enacting the fraudulent

transfer provisions of the Bankruptcy Act and later in the

Bankruptcy Code, Congress did not write new law, but on the

contrary clearly indicated its intent to incorporate state fraud-

ulent-transfer law as it existed at the times of enactment of

those laws. Reversal of the decision below would, in effect,

expose every foreclosure sale to subsequent attack in a case

under the Bankruptcy Code merely because, with hindsight,

Legal Process: Basic Problems In The Making And Application Of Law, 1144,

1414-15 (Tentative Edition, 1958).

il Indeed, the National Bankruptcy Conference has proposed amending the

Bankruptcy Code to overrule Durrett, Symposium, Bankruptcy Reform Circa 1993,

ALI-ABA Conference (June 10-12, 1993). (The Conference concluded that a

regularly conducted, noncollusive foreclosure sale should not be subject to attack

under 11 U.S.C. § 548 and any problem of inadequacy of price at foreclosure sales

should be remedied by amending the foreclosure process to ensure foreclosure sales

are condicted in a commercially reasonable manner.)

16

the bankruptcy court, applying some non-statutory measure,

finds the purchase price to be too low. This result would

trample on state law without any evidence that Congress

intended to pre-empt established state law.

5. The 1984 Amendments To The Bankruptcy Code

Had No Effect On The Meaning Of Reasonably

Equivalent Value Or The Application Of Fraudu-

lent-Transfer Law To Noncollusive, Regularly

Conducted Foreclosure Sales

In 1984, Congress enacted the Bankruptcy Amendments

and Federal Judgeship Act of 1984, Pub. L. 98-353, 98 Stat.

333, July 10, 1984 (the “1984 Amendments”). These amend-

ments contained two clarifying amendments — adding “fore-

closure of the debtor’s equity of redemption” to the definition

of transfers in 11 U.S.C. § 101(54), and making it clear in 11

U.S.C. § 548(a) that the fraudulent-transfer provisions

applied to involuntary as well as voluntary transfers (here-

inafter collectively referred to as the “Clarifying Amend-

ments”). These Clarifying Amendments have been used by the

Petitioner as a basis for arguing that they represent an intent

by Congress to “change the rule” announced by the Bank-

ruptcy Appellate Panel in Madrid v. Lawyers Title Ins. Corp.,

21 B.R. 424 (9th Cir. BAP 1982), aff’d, 725 F.2d 1197 (9th

Cir.), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 833 (1984), which held, as the

Ninth Circuit has held in BFP, that the price received at a

noncollusive, regularly conducted foreclosure sale satisfies

the “reasonably equivalent value” standard of Section 548 of

the Bankruptcy Code. As will be analyzed below, there is

absolutely no basis for such a contention. !?

12 Whatever the interpretation of the Clarifying Amendments may be,

however, they have no relevance to the instant case. The Ninth Circuit decision is

not inconsistent with them. Indeed, in order to reach the conclusion that a

noncollusive, regularly conducted foreclosure sale should be deemed to be for a

reasonably equivalent value under 11 U.S.C. § 548, the Ninth Circuit had to

conclude that the foreclosure sale was a transfer and that Section 548 applied to

involuntary transfers. At no time did the Ninth Circuit even imply an interpretation

at variance with these amendments.

17

a. The 1984 Amendments Were Not Intended To

Overrule The Decision In Madrid Or To Cod-

ify The Decision in Durrett

Petitioner’s contention that the Clarifying Amendments

were intended to overrule the Bankruptcy Appellate Panel’s

decision in Madrid is belied by the language of the Clarifying

Amendments themselves, as there is absolutely no language

in the Clarifying Amendments regarding the construction of

the phrase “reasonably equivalent value.” Surely Congress

was aware of this approach to the resolution of the Durrett

problem. However, the Clarifying Amendments do not in any

way deal with the issue of defining “reasonably equivalent

value.” If Congress intended to do more than make clear that

foreclosure sales are transfers and that Section 548 applies to

involuntary transfers, and intended to legislate the reasonably

equivalent value could not be presumed to be the price paid at

a noncollusive foreclosure sale, it could have specifically

done so. Since Congress did not do so, the Petitioner’s con-

tention that the Clarifying Amendments were designed to

overrule the Bankruptcy Appellate Panel’s decision in Madrid

is wholly misplaced.

b. The Clarifying Amendments Were Part Of A

Package Of Anti-Durrett Legislation And

Were Not Intended To Support The Durrett

Concept In Any Way. The Retention Of The

Clarifying Amendments When The Matters

Relating To Durrett Were Ordered Expunged

From The Draft Was Purely A Scrivener’s

Error

To the extent that it is necessary to look to the legislative

history of the Clarifying Amendments, it becomes even

clearer that they were not intended to overrule Madrid.

Rather, the history of the Clarifying Amendments makes it

clear that they were only intended to ensure that intentionally

fraudulent foreclosure sales did not escape the reach of Sec-

tion 548, and nothing more.

18

As originally introduced in Congress, the Clarifying

Amendments were part of a package of legislation contained

in the Senate version of the 1984 Amendments designed to

overrule the Durrett decision. Robert M. Zinman, Noncollu-

sive, Regularly Conducted Foreclosure Sales: Involuntary

Nonfraudulent Transfers, 9 Cardozo L. Rev. 581, 587 (1987).

The main provision dealing with Durrett would have codified

into federal law the approach taken by the Bankruptcy Appel-

late Panel in Madrid (now incorporated into the language of

the Uniform Fraudulent Transfer Act) making it clear that the

price received at a noncollusive, regularly conducted fore-

closure sale would constitute reasonably equivalent value. /d.

With Durrett rejected, the drafters decided to deal with two

possible arguments: (1) that foreclosure sales were not trans-

fers'> or (2) that Section 548 did not apply to involuntary

transfers.'* If either of these two arguments were generally

accepted, collusive foreclosure sales could escape the reach of

11 U.S.C. § 548. Thus, the Clarifying Amendments were

merely intended to make clear that collusive foreclosure sales

were within the reach of Section 548.'5

13 This concern is illustrated by a law review article by Messrs. Coppel &

Kann, Lawrence D. Coppel and Lewis A. Kann, Defanging Durrett: The

Established Law of “Transfer,” 100 Banking L. J. 676 (1983) in which the authors

argued that foreclosures were not transfers for fraudulent transfer purposes.

14 This concer is illustrated by Judge Farris’ concurring opinion in the Ninth

Circuit's decision in Madrid wherein he argued that Section 548 required voluntary

action by the debtor. Madrid v. Lawyers’ Title Ins. Corp. (In re Madrid), 725 F.2d

1197, 1203-04 (9th Cir. 1984) (Farris, J., concurring), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 833

(1984).

15 This view is even supported by Durrett sympathizers. See Frank R.

Kennedy, Involuntary Fraudulent Transfers, 9 Cardozo L. Rev. 531, 566 (1987)

(“the 1984 Amendments ‘did not purport to deal with the question of whether a

noncollusive, regularly conducted foreclosure sale should be deemed to be for a

reasonably equivalent value.’ "’)

19

c. The Enactment Of The Clarifying Amend-

ments Was The Result Of A Scrivener’s Error

If one looks further into the history of the enactment of

the Clarifying Amendments, it becomes apparent that the

Clarifying Amendments would not have been enacted but for

a clerical mistake. During the debate on the 1984 Amend-

ments, including the original anti-Durrett amendment, Sena-

tor Metzenbaum raised various objections to those

amendments. Because of Senator Metzenbaum’s objections,

the short time available for debate on the floor and the

necessity of passage of the 1984 Amendments to restructure

the Bankruptcy Courts in light of the constitutional defects

identified by this Court in Northern Pipeline Constr. Co. v.

Marathon Pipe Line Co., 458 U.S. 50 (1982), Senator Thur-

mond acquiesced in Senator Metzenbaum’s objection to the

inclusion of the Durrett amendments and ordered deletion of

“provisions relating to the . . . Durrett issue.” 130 Cong. Rec.

$7617 (daily ed. June 19, 1984). However, because of a

scrivener’s error,'© only the major anti-Durrett amendment

was deleted, and the Clarifying Amendments were inadver-

tently left in the bill when it was enacted. Clearly, from this

background it is impossible to conclude, as the Petitioner

argues, that “sections 101 and 548 were amended to change

the rule announced” by the Bankruptcy Appellate Panel in

Madrid."?

16 Cf., Union Bank v. Wolas,__ U.S. ___, 112 S. Ct. 527, 534, 116 L. Ed. 2d

514, (1991) (Scalia J., concurring)

17 These events are recounted in a colloquy between Senator Dole, the

Chairman of the Subcommittee of the Senate Committee on the Judiciary

responsible for bankruptcy legislation at the time of the passage of the 1984

Amendments, and Senator DeConcini, who was Chairman of that subcommittee

when the Bankruptcy Code was enacted. The colloquy has not been directly relied

upon in this brief because it has been attacked as “post-enactment” legislative

history and it is believed that the outcome of a debate on that question is not

necessary to the determination of the issues here presented. However, it should be

borne in mind that the colloquy did not purport to modify clear language of the

statute through post-enactment legislative history. It does not attempt to undo what

was written in the statute, but rather to indicate that the language of the statute

20

C. “Reasonably Equivalent Value” Does Not Mean Fair

Market Value In The Context Of A Foreclosure Sale

The Petitioner’s Amici argue that the phrase “reasonably

equivalent value” should be construed to mean “fair market

value.” (Petitioner’s Amici Brief at 13-27.) As set forth

below, this argument is not supported by the plain language of

the statute and makes no practical sense in the context of the

realities of a foreclosure sale.

The definition of “fair market value” typically used by

appraisers when appraising a parcel of real property is as

follows:

Market Value — The highest price in terms of money

which a property will bring in a competitive and

open market under all conditions requisite to a fair

sale, the buyer and seller, each acting prudently,

knowledgeably and assuming the price is not

affected by undue stimulus.

Implicit in this definition is the consummation of a

sale as of a specified date and the passing of title

from seller to buyer under conditions whereby: 1.

buyer and seller are typically motivated 2. both

parties are well informed or well advised, and each

acting in what he considers his own best interest 3.

a reasonable time is allowed for exposure in the

open market 4. payment is made in cash or its

equivalent 5. financing, if any, is on terms generally

available in the community at the specified date and

typical for the property type in its locale 6. the price

represents a normal consideration for the property

sold unaffected by special financing amounts and/or

terms, services, fees, costs, or credits incurred in

the transaction.

should not be interpreted beyond its clear meaning, as has been urged by

commentators supporting Durrett. See discussion in Robert M. Zinman,

Noncollusive, Regularly Conducted Foreclosure Sales: Involuntary, Nonfraudulent

Transfers, supra, note 5, at 592-94, and references therein to Professor Kennedy's

somewhat different conclusions.

21

Real Estate Appraisal Terminology 137 (Byrl N. Boyce ed.,

1975)

Amici submit that the definition of “fair market value”

typically employed by appraisers in determining the value of

property in an arms-length negotiated sale does not make

sense in the context of a foreclosure sale. The factors that go

into an appraiser’s definition of “fair market value,” and

therefore the factors that appraisers look at when evaluating

property, do not exist in a foreclosure proceeding. The

appraiser's definition assumes that the “buyer and seller are

typically motivated,” the “price is not affected by undue

stimulus,” the property may be sold at any time after exposure

for a “reasonable period” on the “open market,” and that

“financing . . . on the terms generally available in the commu-

nity” is available. On the other hand, the debtor and creditor

in a foreclosure proceeding are operating under a pre-deter-

mined state methodology which is inherently different than a

typical sale outside of foreclosure proceedings. The debtor is

not a willing seller — the property is being sold regardless of

(in fact, usually against) the debtor's wishes. In a foreclosure

proceeding, the property is sold on a day set by the court or

pursuant to statute and the buyer must generally pay the entire

sale price in cash at closing. Foreclosure sales are thus made

under circumstances that bear little resemblance or relevance

to the appraisers’ concept of “fair market value.”'*

Since the reasonably equivalent value to be arrived at

under 11 U.S.C. § 548 is the value on the date of the

foreclosure sale, to ignore the effect of the economic realities

of that sale, results in comparing the bid at the sale, which

18 Even some of the courts that support the theory that noncollusive,

regularly conducted foreclosure sales may be set aside based on inadequacy of price

have determined that “reasonably equivalent value” does not mean fair market

value, but rather, they conclude that “reasonably equivalent value” refers to the

price that can be obtained at a forced sale. See Barrett v. Commonwealth Federal

Savings and Loan Association, 939 F.2d 20 (3d Cir. 1991); Hood v. Williams, 92

B.R. 648 (Bankr. E.D. Va. 1988).

22

must be based on those economic realities, with a hypotheti-

cal value that does not consider those realities.'? As state

courts have always recognized, the test of the validity of a

foreclosure sale is its noncollusiveness and its compliance

with well-developed requirements of state law, not a hindsight

determination by a court as to whether the price paid repre-

sented “fair market value.”

The essence of the Ninth Circuit’s construction of the

reasonably equivalent value requirement to mean the same as

the consideration received at a noncollusive, regularly con-

ducted foreclosure sale, is to recognize that the best evidence

of value is what bona fide buyers are willing to pay at a state

authorized public sale rather than what an appraiser hypothes-

izes to a bankruptcy court as to what the value had been at the

time of the transfer. The Ninth Circuit’s approach is the only

approach that makes sense when the economic realities of a

foreclosure sale are considered and it harmonizes the law of

foreclosures with the law of fraudulent conveyances without

doing violence to the policies underlying either body of law.

19 This conclusion is not intended as support for the proposition that

properties acquired by mortgagees at foreclosure sales are generally acquired for

less than their market value. More often than not, mortgagees lose money on resale

of foreclosed properties (see text at notes 26 and 27 infra). This is because

properties with substantial equity value above the mortgage generally do not go to

foreclosure. Borrowers normally are aware of their precarious financial condition

long before default and there is normally a significant period of time before

foreclosure is commenced and thereafter before sale of the property during which

tume the borrower can sell the property and preserve its equity. Most mortgagees

sincerely believe that property will not go to foreclosure if the value exceeds the

mortgage balance in any meaningful degree. Wechsler, supra at 853. Amici's

concern, however, is that the imposition of an unrealistic requirement that fair

market value be received in a forced foreclosure sale places every foreclosure

purchaser at a severe disadvantage and encourages Durrett attacks on the

foreclosure process.

23

Il.

APPLICATION OF THE CONSTRUCTIVE FRAUD PRO-

VISIONS TO NONCOLLUSIVE FORECLOSURE SALES

CONDUCTED IN ACCORDANCE WITH STATE LAW

MAKES NO SENSE WHEN PRACTICAL REALITIES

ARE CONSIDERED

A. Adoption Of The Durrett Principle Would Have A

Severe Adverse Effect On The Mortgage Market, The

Availability Of Credit And The Effective Use Of Real

Property

The Durrett principle, if adopted by this Court and

thereby made applicable nationwide, can only have a severe

and negative effect on the entire mortgage market. It would

result in more cautious lending by institutions; the tightening

up on the availability of credit; increased interest rate costs to

borrowers; reduced bids at foreclosure sales to reflect the

Durrett risk; and unreasonable under-utilization of property

as purchasers at foreclosure sales wait out the applicable

holding period?° until the risk of a Durrett attack has

passed.2! These consequences can only be exacerbated by a

20 Section 548 of the Bankruptcy Code limits fraudulent transfer attack to the

year prior to bankruptcy. However, a fraudulent transfer may also be attacked by the

trustee by using state fraudulent-transfer law under § 544(b), which gives the trustee

the rights of a creditor under state law against whom the lien is invalid. State

fraudulent-transfer law is not conditioned on bankruptcy and thus, unless the state

has adopted the Uniform Fraudulent Transfer Act, which rejects the Durrett

principle as an incorrect interpretation of fraudulent-transfer law, the only limitation

on its use in an attempt to attack mortgage foreclosures is the state statute of

limitations for fraud. While state courts have not applied fraudulent-transfer law to

noncollusive, regularly conducted foreclosure sales in the past, it is not clear that

bankruptcy courts would feel constrained to adhere to that precedent if this Court

were to reject the reasoning of the decision below and hold that “reasonably

equivalent value” means something other than what had been previously

understood. Thus in many states, foreclosed property could be exposed to a possible

Durrett attack for many years.

2! Provisions of the Bankruptcy Code designed to alleviate these risks are

insufficient. For example, § 548(c) provides that upon setting aside a transfer, the

transferee may have “a lien” to the extent of the amount bid at the foreclosure sale,

and § 550(d) provides that the transferee may have “a lien” to the extent any

24

severe real estate recession, banking institutions struggling

with insolvency, and major financial institutions shifting

lending away from real estate mortgages.

The Amici support the thorough and well-reasoned ana)-

ysis of the harmful and negative impact the Durrett principle

will have on all participants in real estate transactions con-

tained in the Amici brief of the Federal Home Loan Mortgage

Corporation, the Mortgage Bankers Association of America,

and the American Land Title Association.

improvement it made increased the value of the property transferred. These

remedies are available only if the court determines that the transferee acted in “good

faith.” Given decisions such as Jn re Littleton, 888 F.2d 90 (11th Cir. 1989) where

the court questioned the good faith of any mortgagee bidding less than the court's

hindsight determination of what value had been, these provisions do not give the

mortgagee/purchaser much confidence. Furthermore, the lien for improvements is

lumited to the increase in the value of the property resulting from the improvements.

This requires a subjective determination of the amount by which a particular

expenditure increased property value and appears to ignore the fact that some

repairs and other expenses are necessary merely to keep the property from

depreciating further in value. No remedy is given to the foreclosure sale purchaser

who sells the property after the sale to a good faith purchaser. In such a case, the

remote purchaser is free from attack and the original foreclosure sale purchaser wil!

be responsible for paying the difference between the bid price and what the court

determines to have been the value of the property. See In re Coleman, 21 B.R. 832

(Bankr. S.D. Tex. 1982) where the foreclosed property had been sold by the

transferee, after acquisition, for the same price bid at the foreclosure sale. The court

nevertheless found the price was less than 28% of the value of the property and

indicated that the mortgagee would be called upon to pay that difference if the

remote purchaser Lad been in good faith.

25

B. Response To The Policy Arguments Asserted In The

Petitioner’s Amici Brief

1. The Shuchman”? “Empirical Study” On The

Effect Of The Durrett Rule Is Inaccurate And

Represents An Attempt To Buttress Counter-Intu-

itive, Politically-Oriented Conclusions

The Petitioners, and especially the Petitioner's Amici,

rely inordinately on the “empirical study” prepared by Pro-

fessor Philip Shuchman, which purports to “prove” the

dubious proposition that increased costs and risks to lenders

associated with the Durrett rule have no effect on costs or

availability of financing. This difficult task is attempted

through the use of inconclusive and inaccurate “empirical”

evidence.

a. Incorrect Theory And Analysis

The underlying premise of the Shuchman study is that

lenders will decrease mortgage lending when the federal court

covering a particular state adopts the Durrett principle, and

contrariwise, lenders will increase lending activity when the

governing court rejects Durrett. This premise is incorrect

when applied to jurisdictions rejecting Durrett. Where a juris-

diction, not having previously adopted Durrett, rejects an

22 Philip Shuchman’s “empirical” study, Data on the Durrett Controversy, 9

Cardozo L. Rev. 605 (1987) is cited throughout the Petitioner's Amici Brief to

prove, inter alia, that general adoption of the Durrett principle will have no effect

on the cost or availability of mortgage financing. The reasoning and accuracy of this

study was strongly questioned in the very next issue of the same law review. Robert

M. Zinman, Durrett Data: Shucking the Husks from the Grain, 9 Cardozo L. Rev.

1013 (1988). Yet the refutation is neither cited nor rebutted anywhere in the

Petitioner's Amici Brief. Similarly, Professor Frank R. Kennedy's article,

Involuntary Fraudulent Transfers, 9 Cardozo L. Rev. 531 (1987), is cited

extensively in the Petitioner's Amici Brief. However no mention was made of the

fact that the Kennedy article was part of a two-article debate on the subject of

foreclosure sales as fraudulent transfers in the same issue of the law review, the

other article disputing the contentions of the Kennedy article. Robert M. Zinman,

Noncollusive, Regularly Conducted Foreclosure Sales: Involuntary, Nonfraudulent

Transfers, 9 Cardozo L. Rev. 581 (1987).

26

attempt to apply that rule, the decision represents no change

in the law and should have no effect on mortgage lending

practices. California is an example of the study’s faulty rea-

soning. Shuchman, supra at 633. The study presumes that

after the decision of the Ninth Circuit in Madrid, rejecting a

fraudulent transfer attack on a foreclosure sale, that interest

rates would decline and loans would increase, an incongruous

result since the Ninth Circuit had never been a Durrett juris-

diction.2* What makes the Shuchman study’s reliance on Cali-

fornia especially egregious is that the Ninth Circuit decision

in Madrid actually represented a disappointment for lenders

because it did not adopt the Bankruptcy Appellate Panel's

determination that the price received at a noncollusive, regu-

larly conducted foreclosure sale should be deemed to meet the

reasonably equivalent value standard. In Madrid, the affir-

mance was on other grounds.?* Thus, if anything, according to

Professor Shuchman’s premise, the results should have had a

negative rather than positive effect on mortgage lending.

Other examples of the distortions embodied in the Shuch-

man study included the creative classification of states such

as New York, Pennsylvania and North Carolina as pro- or

anti-Durrett based on the existence at the time of one or two

bankruptcy court decisions without even District Court con-

sideration of the issue, much less consideration by the appro-

priate Courts of Appeals. /d. at 630-32. Lenders have never

contended that one bankruptcy court decision would have the

effect of stopping mortgage lending or increasing interest

23 Indeed, over a year before the Ninth Circuit decision in Madrid, the

Bankruptcy Appellate Panel in that case had rejected the Durrett principle and held

that a noncollusive, regularly conducted foreclosure sale would be deemed to be for

reasonably equivalent value. It is no surprise therefore that the empirical data failed

to show improvement in the mortgage market after the Ninth Circuit's decision

since the decision did not represent a meliorating change in the governing law.

24 The Madrid court determined that the transfer in that case had taken place

at the time the mortgage was recorded which was more than a year before the

bankruptcy, and the court did not reach the question of whether a noncollusive,

regularly conducted foreclosure sale meets the reasonably equivalent value

requirement of Section 548.

27

rates. What lenders contend is that if Durrett becomes gener-

ally accepted (such as by the approval of the Durrett principle

by this Court), it can only have the effect of increasing

mortgage lending costs nationwide and this will result in

more cautious underwriting of borrowers’ credit and

increased interest rates to reflect the increased risk.

b. Questionable Measuring Years

Even if the classification of jurisdictions in the Shuch-

man study were correct, the results would still be inaccurate

because of arbitrary use of measuring years. For example, the

Shuchman study considers the date of the 1980 Fifth Circuit

decision in Durrett as the crucial date in Texas, whereas

appeal of that decision continued until certiorari was denied

in a contemporaneous case in 1982. Abramsom v. Lakewood

Bank & Trust Co., 647 F.2d 547 (St Cir. 1981), cert. denied,

454 U.S. 1164 (1982). In fact, in the year after the denial of

certiorari, the Shuchman study itself shows that the increase

in residential lending in Texas dropped to less than half of the

national increase and that in 1984 residential lending

decreased by almost 12% in Texas while residential lending

actually increased nationally in 1984. Shuchman, supra at

628.25

c. One Factor Analysis

Even if the Shuchman study had been carefully and

neutrally prepared, its conclusions could be faulted because

of its assumption that mortgage lending costs and practices

can be based on one factor alone. This represents a denial of

the fact that economic conditions, government monetary pol-

icy, restrictions imposed by regulatory agencies, as well as

costs of operation and bankruptcy risks are all factors bearing

on the mortgage market. A change in one factor may offset a

change in another, but when it comes to the bottom line, each

25 The southwest was in a real estate recession at the time and this may have

affected the results. Nevertheless, the figures clearly do not support the Shuchman

conclusions.

28

of the factors has an effect on the availability and cost of

mortgage financing.

Clearly, if expenses of mortgage lenders increase, inter-

est rates will be affected; if bankruptcy rulings cause these

costs to increase, lenders will more carefully underwrite bor-

rowers’ credit; and, if mortgage lending becomes more diffi-

cult, investment dollars will flow into less difficult

investments, particularly from investors such as life insurance

companies which regularly invest in corporate and govern-

ment securities.

2. The Petitioner’s Amici Brief Incorrectly Cites

Other Studies As Support

Professor Wechsler’s empirical study of mortgage fore-

closures in New York is cited as support for the carefully

crafted statement “In reality, the foreclosure sale purchasers

obtain a significant windfall when property is sold for less

than a full fair value.” (Petitioner’s Amici Brief at 45.) The

statement hardly needs support of citations. If property is sold

for less than its value, it follows that a purchaser who does

not have an investment in the property exceeding its purchase

price will reap a benefit.2° What the Petitioner’s Amici Brief

does not disclose, however, is that the Wechsler study con-

cludes that mortgagees (when they are the “successful” bid-

ders at foreclosure) usually suffer a loss on resale of

foreclosed properties and thus receive no windfall.27

26 This brief does not contest that proposition. Indeed it is fully consistent

with the reasoning in this brief that if financing and foreclosure costs increase

because foreclosure sales are set aside, mortgagees will be more circumspect in

extending credit and that the cost will be passed on to borrowers in the form of

higher interest rates. See refutation of Shuchman study in section B1 of Part [I of

this brief.

27 The study showed that all resales of foreclosed properties, both residential

and commercial, produced an average loss of almost $14,000 per property.

Wechsler, supra at 870. The mortgagee was made whole in only 44% of the cases.

Id. As pointed out in Robert Zinman, Noncollusive, Regularly Conducted

Foreclosure Sales: Involuntary, Nonfraudulent Transfers, 9 Cardozo L. Rev. 581,

598, n.67 (1987), the figures understate the true extent of the mortgagee’s loss

29

To support its proposition that foreclosures normally pro-

duce a windfall, the Petitioner’s Amici Brief (at 45) also cites

to the Kennedy article, the Mixon article, John Mixon, Defi-

ciency Judgments Following Home Mortgage Foreclosure: An

Anachronism that Increases Personal Tragedy, Impedes

Regional Economic Recovery, and Means Little to Lenders, 22

Tex. Tech. L. Rev. 1, 33-4 (1991), and the Skilton article,

Robert H. Skilton, Assessing the Mortgage Debtor's Personal

Liability, 90 U. Pa. L. Rev. 440, 444-45 (1941-42).

Professor Kennedy’s article was not an empirical study.

However, while he made no mention of this issue on the page

cited by Petitioner’s Amici, he did imply that the Wechsler

study was support for the assertion in footnote 196 that

normally the mortgagee receives a windfall on foreclosure,

stating that the scenario is “so prevalent that it is the focus of

a recent empirical study and recommendations for reform in

foreclosure procedures.” Kennedy, supra at 578 n.196. While

it is true that the Wechsler study dealt with mortgage fore-

closures, that study clearly concluded that mortgagees lose

money on the sale of foreclosed properties. Wechsler, supra at

870.

Both the Mixon and Skilton articles dealt with the issue

of deficiency judgments, not with mortgagee windfalls. Nom-

inal bids at foreclosure sales are criticized in those jurisdic-

tions where they can result in deficiency judgments based on

the nominal bid. Professor Mixon at the page cited was

discussing statutes designed to limit or eliminate liability for

a deficiency. Professor Skilton also attacked nominal bidding

because of the possibility of large deficiency judgments. Nei-

ther claimed that the mortgagee usually receives a windfall

because the value of the property exceeds the mortgage bal-

ance. Deficiency judgments are not involved in the determina-

tion of this case, and this brief does not take issue with the

because profit would seem to have been determina by comparing the total amount

due the mortgagee on foreclosure with the resale price. Apparently not included

were lost opportunity costs, maintenance expenses, repairs, brokers’ fees, attorneys

fees, etc. Id.

30

professors’ conclusion supporting state legislation that limits

deficiency judgments.

3. The Case At Bar Does Not Involve A Tax Sale

The case at bar involves the issue of whether a noncollusive

and regularly conducted mortgage foreclosure sale can be deemed

by the court to be for reasonably equivalent value. Two of the

Petitioner’s Amici attempt to relate this case to tax sales of their

homes. A decision affirming the Ninth Circuit will not control a

decision on whether the constructive fraud provisions of Section

548 are applicable to tax sales of property. The Ninth Circuit did

not hold that the amount received at a tax sale equalled reasonably

equivalent value. Tax sales are not mortgage foreclosures and are

therefore distinguishable from the case at bar. For example, unlike

mortgage foreclosures, tax sales are for that portion of tax obliga-

tions in default, which bears no direct relation to the value of the

property being sold, while in almost all cases, a mortgage is based

on a Significant percentage of the value of a property. Furthermore,

if the tax sales’ price inadequacies described by Petitioner’s Amici

had been found in mortgage foreclosure sales, they could have

been struck down before the bankruptcy petitions were filed under

the traditional rule of nonbankruptcy mortgage foreclosure law that

foreclosure sales may be set aside when the price inadequacy is so

great as to shock the conscience of the court.

+

CONCLUSION

The decision of the Ninth Circuit should be affirmed.

Dated: August 19, 1993

Respectfully submitted,

CHRISTOPHER F. GRAHAM

THACHER Prorritr & Woop

Counsel of Record for Amici Curiae

Two World Trade Center

New York, New York 10048

(212) 912-7400

—

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.