Amicus Curiae Brief — Landgraf v. USI Film Products
Supreme Court brief1994
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
a) q ’ aa
Supreme Cou
Nos. 92-757 and 92-938 Puc rt, U.
IN THE PR 30 1993
Supreme Court of the Anited States
OCTOBER TERM, 1992
—~>>
BARBARA LANDGRAF,
Petitioner,
—V—
USI FILM PRODUCTS, et al.,
Respondents.
ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT
>
MAURICE RIVERS and ROBERT C. DAVISON, —
Petitioners,
—_Y—
ROADWAY EXPRESS, INC.,
Respondent.
ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT
BRIEF OF ASIAN AMERICAN LEGAL DEFENSE AND
EDUCATION FUND, ASIAN LAW CAUCUS, INC., AND ASIAN
PACIFIC AMERICAN LEGAL CENTER OF SOUTHERN
CALIFORNIA, AS MEMBERS OF NATIONAL ASIAN PACIFIC
AMERICAN LEGAL CONSORTIUM, ET AL., AS AMICI CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS
Stanley Mark
Asian American Legal Defense
& Education Fund
99 Hudson Street
New York, New York 10013
Angelo N. Ancheta
Kathryn K. Imahara
Asian Pacific American Legal
Center of Southem Califomia
1010 South Flower Street
Los Angeles, California 90015
April 30, 1993
Denny Chin
Counsel of Record
Ellen A. Harnick
Viladeck, Waldman, Elias
& Englehard, P.C.
1501 Broadway, Suite 800
New York, New York 10036
(212) 354-8330
Doreena Wong
Asian Law Caucus, Inc.
468 Bush Street
San Francisco, California 94108
TABLE OF CONTENTS
PAGE
ee er Se I i ihss sdibscindedcccddeneseeee ii
INTEREST OF ABSICT CURIAE . wc. csccccccccccccccccs l
EEE 6nb-4ns00-00060s0060%0cnerueliansaeee 3
POINT I
THE PLAIN LANGUAGE OF THE 1991 ACT
REQUIRES THAT IT BE APPLIED TO PEND-
SO CE i: 00d6cnogxs8dk008déabieevoene 3
POINT II
THE PUBLIC POLICY CONSIDERATIONS
STRONGLY SUPPORT APPLICATION OF
THE 1991 ACT TO PENDING CASES. ............. 6
A. The Purposes of the 1991 Act.................. 6
B. The Failure to Apply the 1991 Act To Pending
Cases Will Leave Many Victims of Discrimina-
200 WHEROUE A TROMGSY 2... cccccccccccscesccecs 8
C. Victims of Discrimination in Pending Cases Who
Have Proven their Entitlement to Relief Under
Title VII are Entitled to the Remedies Congress
Made Available Through the 1991 Act.......... 10
D. Employers Will Not Be Prejudiced Nor Will
Manifest Injustice Result From Application
of the 1991 Act to Pending Cases.............. 11
CES scsi vdnds dpadesnecdvenesscesestasenceseneanl 15
STATEMENTS OF AMICI CURIAE ................0000 la
ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases PAGE
Adams v. Brinegar, 521 F.2d 129 (7th Cir. 1975)........ 14
Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody, 422 U.S. 405
NE 6,7, 10, 11
Antonio v. Wards Cove Packing Co., Nos. 91-35306,
Te eect shader beesscescece 3
Bowen v. Georgetown University Hospital, 488 U.S. 204
ee es cs ice pedeeseenseeee nce. 11,14
Bradley v. Richmond School Board, 416 U.S. 696
teed aG ius pdbebcbeelessteseeccecce 11,14
Bridges v. Eastman Kodak Co., 800 F. Supp. 1172
nc ios cob ecb ee bedee esse rseseussvccess 12
Croce v. V.1.P. Real Estate, 786 F. Supp. 1141 (E.D.N.Y.
ee eel aci euch bendaseeccesseccecceves 12-13
Denver and Rio Grande Western Railroad Co. v.
Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen, 387 U.S. 556
Mee RUdddeedeawentessebececcccecceccees 11
EEOC v. Vucitech, 842 F.2d 936 (7th Cir. 1988)......... 13
Estate of Reynolds v. Martin, 985 F.2d 470 (9th Cir.
ee occ teas esebesrnesesscccces 3-5
FDIC v. 232, Inc., 920 F.2d 815 (11th Cir. 1991)........ 14
FDIC v. Wright, 942 F.2d 1089 (7th Cir. 1991), cert.
OEE Oe Hs BUT CEM oo ccc ccccccecccccccees 14
Ford Motor Co. v. EEOC, 458 U.S. 219 (1982).......... 6,7
Franklin v. Gwinnett County Public Schools, 503 U.S.
ee CED cc cvcscccssseceesces 9, 10
T —_ *
iii
PAGE
Franks v. Bowman Transportation Co., 424 U.S. 747
ti ebiiiees tebe duaeanenddeecetudseekeediadss 6,7
Fray v. Omaha World Herald Co., 960 F.2d 1370 (8th
ioe oes acne iubhedaedesnndbededneeuse 5
Gersman v. Group Health Association, Inc., 975 F.2d
ee ee 5
Jackson v. Bankers Trust Co., No. 88 Civ. 4786, 1992
U.S. Dist. LEXIS 6290 (S.D.N.Y. 1992).......... 12, 13
Kirkbride v. Continental Casualty Co., 933 F.2d 729
tcc ic edd agedeuueuetsdbendceseseseces 14
Koger v. Ball, 497 F.2d 702 (4th Cir. 1974).............. 14
Littlefield v. McGuffey, 954 F.2d 1337 (7th Cir.
Ee ee 14
Luddington v. Indiana Bell Telephone Co., 966 F.2d 225
Ps cane dn acaeetdeccnceseeseessetesseness 13
Patterson v. McLean Credit Union, 491 U.S. 164
Ee passim
Pension Benefits Guaranty Corp. v. R.A. Gray & Co.,
Ge We OOF CHMOD cc ccccccccccccscccccccccccccccccs 14
South Carolina v. Catawba Indian Tribe, Inc., 476 U.S.
tend bdenGadnaceudenesencsceeecsesnsescess 4,5
United States v. Alabama, 362 U.S. 602 (1960).......... 13
United States v. Marengo County Commission, 731 F.2d
BSO6 C1 DOR Cle. -19B4)....ccccccccccccccsccccccccccces 14
United States v. Menasche, 348 U.S. 528 (1955)......... 4
United States v. O'Connell, 890 F.2d 563 (ist Cir. 1989) 14
iV
PAGE
United States v. Pani, 717 F. Supp. 1013 (S.D.N_Y.
Seiincdnndddadeeiardahdunsdddencienuiaudcudsnendasen 14
United States v. R.W. Meyer, Inc., 889 F.2d 1497 (6th
Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 494 U.S. 1057 (1990) ..... 14
Wards Cove Packing Co. v. Antonio, 490 U.S. 642
GE conaceidsiccesddecssndsecdncesadeeucenssuuiss passim
Wisdom v. Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum, No. 91 Civ.
4439, 1992 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 9424 (S.D.N.Y. 1992)
Se idnckbeckucduedivdduscdedadtidésesse 12
Statutes
Civil Rights Act of 1991, Pub. L. No. 102-166, 105 Stat.
Se BORED bbws cb dnenkanedteuieansckidddenitauss passim
Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C.
IL, nici ceunieandsusbdeceteieandenaes passim
Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1970, 20
FE A SC ee en eee 4
Fp Ce EDEN wineudddcccenddewesavacesscstsncceness passim
Miscellaneous
United States Commission on Civil Rights, Civil Rights
Issues Facing Asian Americans in the 1990s
PT EE pc tncdinstebadwihtsdeseetouscenesaxdue 1,2
Steven A. Holmes, Workers Find /t Tough Going Filing
Lawsuits Over Job Bias, New York Times, July 24,
SEE GEE wetdndancsenedesteaheenscchseuesencatuentes 6
INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE
This brief is respectfully submitted by the Asian American
Legal Defense and Education Fund, the Asian Law Caucus,
Inc., and the Asian Pacific American Legal Center of Southern
California, as members of the National Asian Pacific American
Legal Consortium, Inc., and other Asian American civil rights
and civil liberties groups' as amici curiae in support of peti-
tioners’ appeals from the decisions below holding that the Civil
Rights Act of 1991, Pub.L.No. 102-166, 105 Stat. 1071 (1991)
(the “1991 Act” or the “Act”) does not apply to cases pending
when it became law. For the reasons set forth below and in the
briefs of petitioners and other amici in support of petitioners,
the amici herein urge the Court to reverse and hold that the Act
does apply to pending cases.
Employment discrimination is one of the principal problems
facing Asian Americans today, and all the amici herein are
committed to the goals of eliminating discrimination in
employment against Asian Ameiicans and ensuring the fair and
equal treatment of Asian Americans in all aspects of society.’
The United States Commission on Civil Rights recently
highlighted the problems encountered by Asian Americans in
employment:
Asian Americans face a number of barriers to equal par-
ticipation in the labor market. Many of these barriers are
| Petitioners and respondents in both cases have consented to the fil-
ing of this brief. Appended to this brief are statements of the organizations
that have joined in this brief as amici curiae.
2 With a population of roughly 7.3 million, Asian Americans today
make up almost 3% of the population of the United States. Over the past
decade, Asian Americans have increased dramatically in number from 1.5%
to 2.9% of the total population. The rate of the population growth of Asian
Americans in the United States from 1980 to 1990 was 107.8%, more than
double the rate for Hispanics (53%) and far exceeding the rates for Whites
(6%) and Blacks (13.2%) during the same period. United States Commission
on Civil Rights, Civil Rights Issues Facing Asian Americans in the 1990s
(February 1992) (“USCCR Report”) at 13-15.
2
encountered to a greater degree by the foreign born, who
often confront linguistic and cultural barriers to finding
employment commensurate with their education and expe-
rience, but even third- or fourth-generation Asian Amer-
icans find their employment prospects diminished because
employers have stereotypical views of Asians and preju-
dice against citizens of Asian ancestry. Employment dis-
crimination, to varying degrees, is a problem facing all
Asian Americans. . . . [E]}mployment discrimination
against Asian Americans ranges from discrimination
based on accent or language, to discrimination caused by
Our nation’s immigration control laws, to artificial barri-
ers preventing many Asian Americans from rising to man-
agement positions for which they are qualified.
USCCR Report at 130.
Hence, the issue of the applicability of the 1991 Act to pend-
ing Cases is a question of great importance to the Asian Amer-
ican community, for if the decisions of the Fifth and Sixth
Circuits in these cases are affirmed, many victims of employ-
ment discrimination will find themselves with drastically lim-
ited remedies—or no remedy at all. As this Court has
repeatedly recognized, Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of
1964, 42 U.S.C. § 2000(e) et seq. (“Title VII"), is to be con-
strued liberally to further its goals of eradicating discrimina-
tion and making victims of discrimination whole; those goals
will only be frustrated by affirmance of the decisions below.
The language of the 1991 Act strongly supports the view that
it should be applied to pending cases generally, for Section
402(a) states that “this Act shall take effect upon enactment.”
When Congress 1id not want the Act to be applied to a par-
ticular pending case or to particular conduct that occurred
before its enactment, Congress explicitly so provided. From the
point of view of the Asian American community, the irony is
that Congress explicitly provided that the 1991 Act was not
applicable to a pending case that had been brought by a group
of Asian Pacific American workers. Section 402(b) explicitly
3
provides that the Act shall not be applied to Wards Cove Pack-
ing Co. v. Antonio, 490 U.S. 642 (1989). Although the Act was
passed in part because of Congress's recognition that the Wards
Cove decision “weakened the scope and effectiveness of Fed-
eral civil rights protections” (1991 Act § 2), the workers who
had fought the Wards Cove case for twenty years were explic-
itly denied the Act’s protections. While the Wards Cove exemp-
tion should certainly be repealed,’ its inclusion demonstrates
that the Act should be applied to pending cases generally.
ARGUMENT
POINT I
THE PLAIN LANGUAGE OF THE 1991 ACT REQUIRES
THAT IT BE APPLIED TO PENDING CASES
The plain language of the 1991 Act demonstrates that it
should be applied to pending cases. First, Section 402(a) of the
1991 Act states that “[e|xcept as otherwise specifically pro-
vided, this Act and the amendments made by this Act shall take
effect upon enactment.” (Emphasis added). This language
plainly provides for the 1991 Act to take effect immediately,
and it gives “ ‘some indication that [Congress] believed that
application of [the Act's] provisions was urgent’.” Estate of
Reynolds v. Martin, 985 F.2d 470, 473 (9th Cir. 1993) (quoting
In re Reynolds, 726 F.2d 1420, 1423 (9th Cir. 1984)). More-
3 The Wards Cove exemption is being attacked on both the legislative
and judicial fronts. A bill to amend the 1991 Act by deleting Section 402(b)
is pending in the House of Representatives. H.R. 1172, 103d Cong., 1st Sess.,
entitled “The Justice fer Wards Cove Workers Act.” The Wards Cove case is
itself still being litigated in the Ninth Circuit, and some of the amici herein
have argued that the Wards Cove exemption in the 1991 Act violates the
Equal Protection Clause of the Constitution by singling out a group con-
sisting primarily of Asian American workers and that it also violates the Sep-
aration of Powers Clause in that Congress has impermissibly attempted to
control the outcome of a particular litigation. Antonio v. Wards Cove Pack-
ing Co., Nos. 91-35306, 91-35861 (9th Cir.).
4
over, the language of Section 402(a) does not on its face
exclude or carve out any exception for pending cases.
Second, when Congress did not want provisions of the 1991
Act to apply retroactively, it explicitly so provided. Thus, Sec-
tion 402(b)—the Wards Cove exemption—declares that “noth-
ing in this Act shall apply to any disparate impact case for
which a complaint was filed before March 1, 1975, and for
which an initial decision was rendered after October 30,
1983."* Likewise, Section 109(c) of the Act, which extends
Title VII to United States citizens working for American com-
panies abroad, states that it “shall not apply with respect to
conduct occurring before the date of the enactment of this Act.”
When Sections 402(a), 402(b) and 109(c) are read together,
it is clear that the “[e)xcept as otherwise specifically provided”
language in Section 402(a) refers to Sections 402(b) and
109(c), for those are the “only provisions of the Act that can be
read as specifically departing from the general rule.” Estate of
Reynolds, 985 F.2d at 473. Hence, when read in the light of the
1991 Act as a whole, Section 402(a) can only mean that the Act
must be applied to pending cases in general. Any other inter-
pretation would render Sections 402(b) and 109(c) meaning-
less, thereby violating the basic tenet of statutory construction
that a Statute is not to be read so that any portion will be ren-
dered superfluous. See South Carolina v. Catawba Indian
Tribe, Inc., 476 U.S. 498, 510 n.22 (1986) (“It is an ‘elemen-
tary canon of construction that a statute should be interpreted
$O aS NOt to render one part inoperative’ ”) (quoting Colautti v.
Franklin, 439 U.S. 379, 392 (1979)); United States v.
Menasche, 348 U.S. 528, 538-39 (1955).
Several courts have held that Sections 109(c) and 402(b)
were intended merely as “insurance policies” to protect against
retroactive application of the two provisions in the event that
the courts were to determine that the 1991 Act as a whole was
4 The only case that fits this description, of course, is Wards Cove.
5
to be applied to pending cases. Gersman v. Group Health
Ass'n, Inc., 975 F.2d 886, 890 (D.C. Cir. 1992); Fray v. Omaha
World Herald Co., 960 F.2d 1370, 1377 (8th Cir. 1992)
(“retroactivity opponents ‘hedged their bets’ by expressly mak-
ing specific provisions ... prospective only”). Although the
courts in Gersman and Fray acknowledged that Sections 109(c)
and 402(b) would be rendered inoperative by a decision that
the 1991 Act did not apply to pending cases, they reasoned that
this \. us precisely what Congress intended.
The reasoning of the courts in Gersman and Fray should be
rejected, for it undermines the long-standing principles of
statutory construction set forth in South Carolina v. Catawba
Indian Tribe, Inc., 476 U.S. at 510 n.22. Moreover, as the Ninth
Circuit recognized in Estate of Reynolds, 985 F.2d at 478, Sec-
tions 109(c) and 402(b) are not worded as mere “redundant
assurances,” and if they were only intended to be “insurance
policies,” they would have been worded differently. As the
court observed:
If the statutory language of those sections read: “Notwith-
standing any judicial construction concerning the retroac-
tivity of this Act in general, this section shall not apply
with respect to conduct occurring before the date of enact-
ment of this Act,” we would have an entirely different
case. But sections 402(b) and 109(c) as actually enacted
simply do not read like insurance clauses.
985 F.2d at 478.
The Ninth Circuit recognized in Estate of Reynolds that some
members of Congress probably voted in favor of Sections
402(b) and 109(c) with the belief that these sections would be
construed by the courts as “insurance” clauses, and that other
members probably voted for these sections with the belief that
the language of these sections would compel the courts to find
that the 1991 Act in general applied to pending cases. Given
the “clear text of the Act,” the court held that those individual
members’ beliefs are unimportant. 985 F.2d at 478. Regardless
6
of the beliefs of individual members of Congress as to the
desirability of applying the Act to pending cases, “the legis-
lators as a body enacted a statute that, consistent with estab-
lished principles of statutory construction, can only be read one
way,” id., namely, in favor of application to pending cases.
Finally, the plain language of the 1991 Act should be con-
strued in light of Supreme Court precedent requiring the liberal
construction of civil rights laws, Ford Motor Co. v. EEOC, 458
U.S. 219, 226, 228, 233 n.20 (1982); Franks v. Bowman Trans-
portation Co., 424 U.S. 747, 764 (1976); Albemarle Paper Co.
v. Moody, 422 U.S. 405, 416 (1975), which, as set forth at Point
II, infra, supports the application of the 1991 Act to pending
cases.
POINT II
THE PUBLIC POLICY CONSIDERATIONS STRONGLY
SUPPORT APPLICATION OF THE 1991 ACT
TO PENDING CASES
A. The Purposes of the 1991 Act
In the year prior to the enactment of the 1991 Act, Congress
appointed a committee of lawyers and judges to study the Fed-
eral court system. The committee found that, because the reme-
dies available to victims of employment discrimination were
generally limited to backpay, the monetary stakes were often so
small that, “even with the potential to recover attorneys fees,
claimants sometimes find it difficult to litigate in Federal court
because they cannot find counsel to take their cases.” Steven A.
Holmes, Workers Find It Tough Going Filing Lawsuits Over Job
Bias, N.Y. Times, July 24, 1991, p. Al, As a result, individuals
who have been denied employment opportunities on the basis of
race or sex, or any other basis unlawful under Title VII, have
been left without a remedy, and a legislative scheme that relies
heavily on the work of “private attorneys general” has been hin-
dered by the economic impediments to the vindication of federal
Statutory rights by individuals.
7
Thus, when it enacted the 1991 Act, Congress expressly
found that additional remedies were needed both to provide
victims of discrimination with additional protections against
discrimination, and to enhance the effectiveness of the laws
prohibiting discrimination in employment. Section 2 of the
1991 Act provides:
The Congress finds that—
(1) additional remedies under Federal law are needed to
deter unlawful harassment and intentional discrimination
in the workplace; (2) the decision of the Supreme Court in
Wards Cove Packing Co. v. Antonio, 490 U.S. 642 (1989)
has weakened the scope and effectiveness of Federal civil
rights protections and; (3) legislation is necessary to pro-
vide additional protections against unlawful discrimina-
tion in employment.
As this Court has long made clear, Title VII is to be con-
strued liberally to further its goals of eradicating discrimina-
tion in the workplace and making whole the victims of
discrimination. Ford Motor Co. v. EEOC, 458 U.S. 219, 226,
- 228, 233 n.20 (1982); Franks v. Bowman Transportation Co.,
424 U.S. 747, 764 (1976); Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody, 422
U.S. 405, 416 (1975). It was against the backdrop of this judi-
cial precedent and the diminished effectiveness of the civil
rights laws that Congress enacted the 1991 Act.
If the Court determines that the 1991 Act should not be
applied to pending cases, victims of unlawful discrimination
who succeed in proving unlawful conduct on the part of an
employer will be deprived of the remedy Congress has deter-
mined is necessary to make victims of discrimination whole for
their injuries. Even worse, victims of discrimination who, prior
to this Court's decision in Patterson, chose to pursue their
claims under 42 U.S.C. § 1981, rather than under Title VII, will
find themselves with no remedy at all.
8
B. The Failure to Apply the 1991 Act To Pending Cases
Will Leave Many Victims of Discrimination Without A
Remedy
Prior to this Court's decision in Patterson, individuals who
suffered discrimination on the basis of race in connection with
an employment decision believed that they could choose
between pursuing their claims under Title VII and pursuing
their claims under 42 U.S.C. § 1981. If an individual chose the
former, he or she would have had to comply with the admin-
istrative prerequisites of Title VII by filing a charge of dis-
crimination with the EEOC within 180 (or 300) days of the
challenged employment decision. 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(¢). He
or she then would have had to wait 180 days from the date on
which the charge was filed to request that the EEOC issue a
notice of right to sue. 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(f). Based on the
pre-Patterson assumption that all claims of race discrimination
in employment were actionable under 42 U.S.C. § 1981, many
individuals chose simply to pursue their claims under 42
~U.S.C. § 1981, either because they did not believe their claims
could be resolved through the EEOC, or because they wished
to recover compensatory damages previously unavailable under
Title VII, or both. For those individuals who intended to pur-
sue their claims through litigation, this choice not only imple-
mented their individual preferences, but it also avoided the
needless expenditure of EEOC resources, preserving those
resources for those individuals who wished to attempt to
resolve their claims administratively.
While the decision not to file a charge of discrimination with
the EEOC meant foregoing their claims under Title VII, prior
to Patterson, victims of race discrimination had no reason to
worry about foregoing such claims, since a remedy was widely
understood to be available under 42 U.S.C. § 1981. Unfortu-
nately for those individuals who forbore pursuing their Title
VII claims in reliance on that understanding and had actions
pending at the time that Patterson was decided, that decision
was applied retroactively, thereby not only depriving them of
9
the remedies available under 42 U.S.C. § 1981, but actually
depriving them of any remedy whatsoever. These individuals
will find themselves without any remedy for the unlawful dis-
crimination to which they were subjected. The application of
the 1991 Act to pending cases is necessary in order to enable
individuals in these circumstances to vindicate their federal
Statutory rights.
In Franklin v. Gwinnett County Public Schools, 503 U.S.
, 117 L. Ed. 2d 208, 218 (1992), the Court reiterated the
general rule, derived from the English common law, that “all
appropriate relief is available in an action brought to vindicate
a federal right.” While Franklin involved a federal statutory
right as to which a private right of action was implied and, as
to which, therefore, “Congress [had} given no indication of its
purpose with respect to remedies,” id., the analysis set forth
there is instructive. This analysis demonstrates the appropri-
ateness of making the remedies set forth in the 1991 Act avail-
able to individuals who prevail in discrimination cases pending
when the Act became law.
Franklin involved a claim by a high school student under
Title 1X of the Education Amendments of 1970, 20 U.S.C.
§§ 1681-1688 (“Title IX”), challenging acts of sexual harass-
ment committed by a teacher at the school. 503 U.S. at___.,
117 L. Ed. 2d at 215. Addressing the inadequacy of the tradi-
tional equitable remedies, including backpay, for a victim of
sexual harassment who has not suffered a loss of wages, the
Court held that monetary damages were available in order to
avoid leaving such a victim “remediless.” 503 U.S. at__, 117
L. Ed. 2d at 223-24. The Court held,
[I]n this case the equitable remedies [backpay and
prospective relief] suggested by respondent and the Fed-
eral Government are clearly inadequate. Backpay does
nothing for petitioner, because she was a student when the
alleged discrimination occurred. Similarly, because Hill—
the person she claims subjected her to sexual harass-
10
ment—no longer teaches at the school and she herself no
longer attends a school in the Gwinnett system, prospec-
tive relief accords her no remedy at all.
Franklin, 503 U.S. at ___, 117 L. Ed. 2d at 223. This analysis
should guide the Court's decision with respect to the remedies
that will be made available to victims of discrimination whose
claims were pending when the Act was passed. If the Court
holds that the Act does not apply to pending cases, many
proven victims of unlawful discrimination will be left with
inadequate remedies, and many others will be left “remedi-
less.”
C. Victims of Discrimination in Pending Cases Who Have
Proven their Entitlement to Relief Under Title VII are
Entitled to the Remedies Congress Made Available
Through the 1991 Act
Plaintiffs in pending cases who succeed in proving unlawful
discrimination in the terms and conditions of their employment
should receive the benefit of all the remedies provided by
Congress to make whole victims of discrimination. In analyz-
ing the equitable powers of the courts to fashion a remedy
under Title VII, this Court has stressed the remedial purposes
of Title VII, and noted,
“(Where federally protected rights have been invaded, it
has been the rule from the beginning that courts will be
alert to adjust their remedics so as to grant the necessary
relief.”
Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody, 422 U.S. at 419 (quoting Bell
v. Hood, 327 U.S. 678, 684 (1946)). The Court has stated that,
Where racial discrimination is concerned, “the [district]
court has not merely the power but the duty to render a
decree which will so far as possible climinate the dis-
criminatory effects of the past as well as bar like dis-
crimination in the future.”
Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody, 422 U.S. at 419 (quoting
Louisiana v. United States, 380 U.S. 145, 154 (1965)). The
Court's reasoning with regard to the scope of a court's equi-
table powers to effect the remedial purposes of Title VII
explains why the remedies provided by Congress to “eliminate
the discriminatory effects of the past” should not be withheld
from individuals whose cases were pending at the time the
1991 Act was passed.
The goals of the federal laws prohibiting discrimination in
employment, as recognized by this Court and as reiterated by
Congress in Section 2 of the 1991 Act, should not be hindered
by a reading of the Act that requires the cases pending at the
time of its enactment be decided under the law that the 1991
Act was enacted to replace. In light of the principles requiring
the liberal construction of civil rights laws in order to further
their goals of climinating unlawful discrimination, the Act
should be applied to cases pending at the time of its enactment.
D. Employers Will Not Be Prejudiced Nor Will Manifest
Injustice Result From Application of the 1991 Act to
Pending Cases
In many of the cases addressing the applicability of the 199]
Act to pending cases, the issue turned on the application of the
principles of law articulated by this Court in Bradley v. Rich-
mond School Board, 416 U.S. 696 (1974), and Bowen vy.
Georgetown University Hospital, 488 U.S. 204 (1988). For the
reasons set forth in the briefs of petitioners and other amici, the
Bradley decision should be applied in these cases. While those
arguments will not be repeated here, two policy considerations
should be emphasized.
First, the 1991 Act does not grant plaintiffs additional sub-
stantive rights; rather, its provisions simply augment the pro-
cedures by which plaintiffs may vindicate pre-existing rights.
See Denver and Rio Grande Western Railroad Co. v. Brother-
hood of Railroad Trainmen, 387 U.S. 556, 563 (1967) (holding
that an act that did not change “substantive law” but only
12
affected “procedure” would be applied to cases pending when
the act was enacted because “ ‘no one has a vested right to any
given procedure’ (citation omitted)”). This is particularly true
with respect to the provisions of the 1991 Act allowing the
right to a jury trial and compensatory and punitive damages.
Bridges v. Eastman Kodak Co., 800 F. Supp. 1172, 1177
(S.D.N.Y. 1991) (Carter, J.) (“The jury trial and damages pro-
visions of the [1991 Act] at issue here do not grant plaintiffs
additional substantive rights, but rather are more aptly
described as augmenting the procedures by which plaintiffs
may vindicate their pre-existing substantive rights.”); Wisdom
v. Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum, No. 91 Civ. 4439, 1992 U.S.
Dist. LEXIS 9424 * 21-22 (S.D.N.Y. 1992) (Patterson, J.)
(appeal pending); Jackson v. Bankers Trust Co., No. 88 Civ.
4786, 1992 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 6290 * 18 (S.D.N.Y. 1992) (Mar-
tin, J.); Croce v. V.I.P. Real Estate, 786 F. Supp. 1141, 1148
(E.D.N.Y. 1992) (Spatt, J.) (rejecting employer's argument that
it had “a matured or unconditional right to be limited in expo-
sure to only certain types of damages that flow from proscribed
conduct”). This is also true with respect to the Section 101 of
the 1991 Act, which reversed the limits on the scope of 42
U.S.C. § 1981 created by Patterson v. McLean Credit Union,
491 U.S. 164 (1989), since conduct that is unlawful under Sec-
tion 101 of the Act is already unlawful under Title VII. By per-
mitting victims of race discrimination in employment to seek
relief under 42 U.S.C. § 1981, the 1991 Act simply provides
such victims with an alternative to Title VII and with remedies
not previously available under Title VII.
Second, application of the 1991 Act to pending cases would
not alter any of the existing rights of employers, for under
existing law employers did not have any “right” to a bench trial
or to be free from liability for punitive or compensatory dam-
ages. Wisdom v. Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum, No. 91 Civ.
4439, 1992 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 9424 at * 22 (“Defendant never
had a vested or unconditional right to violate federal anti-dis-
crimination laws.”); Jackson v. Bankers Trust Co., 88 Civ.
13
4786, U.S. Dist. LEXIS 6290 at ** 18-19 (“it cannot be said
that requiring the defendant to submit to a jury trial and subject
itself to expert fees and punitive damages alters any of defen-
dant’s existing rights”); Croce v. V/.P. Real Estate, 786
F. Supp. at 1148 (“The prospect of a defendant facing a jury
trial in lieu of a bench trial, or potential compensatory damages
where none previously existed, simply does not impact on
‘existing rights’.”). See also EEOC v. Vucitech, 842 F.2d 936,
942 (7th Cir. 1988) (“Prospective-only application of the Preg-
nancy Discrimination Act would leave some of the Act's
intended beneficiaries without remedy, while retroactive appli-
cation would neither injure innocent third parties nor be
inequitable to defendants ....”).
While some courts have held that the availability of new
remedies for conduct that has been unlawful at least since the
enactment of Title VII implicates the existing rights of employ-
ers, e.g., Luddington v. Indiana Bell Telephone Co., 966 F.2d
225, 229 (7th Cir. 1992), this reasoning should be rejected, for
it translates into a suggestion that an employer might nor have
discriminated had it known that it would be subject to a jury
trial and compensatory and punitive damages—that employers
might have acted differently had they known that the “cost” of
discrimination would include not just backpay but also com-
pensatory and punitive damages. Discrimination in employ-
ment has been absolutely prohibited by Federal law since 1964,
however, and employers should not be permitted to put a price
on discrimination. This Court should reject the view that
employers have a vested right to discriminate under a “cost-
benefit analysis.” Jackson v. Bankers Trust Co. No. 88 Civ.
4786, 1992 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 6290 at * 20 (S.D.N.Y. 1992)
(Martin, J.) (“the Court will not sanction any stance that
employers have a right to discriminate under a cost-benefit
analysis”).
Significantly, other civil rights statutes have been held to be
applicable to cases pending at the time of their enactment. See,
e.g., United States v. Alabama, 362 U.S. 602 (1960) (Civil
14
Rights Act of 1960); Littlefield v. McGuffey, 954 F.2d 1337
(7th Cir. 1992) (amendment to Fair Housing Act removing cap
on punitive damages); United States v. Marengo County
Comm’ n, 731 F.2d 1546 (11th Cir. 1984) (amendments to Vot-
ing Rights Act); Adams v. Brinegar, 521 F.2d 129, 130 (7th Cir.
1975) (1972 amendments to Title VII); Koger v. Ball, 497 F.2d
702 (4th Cir. 1974) (same). Likewise, outside of the civil rights
area, courts have also applied statutory changes to pending
cases. See, e.g., Kirkbride v. Continental Casualty Co., 933
F.2d 729 (9th Cir. 1991) (savings and loan); FDIC v. 232, Inc.,
920 F.2d 815 (11th Cir. 1991) (same); United States v. R.W.
Meyer, Inc., 889 F.2d 1497 (6th Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 494
U.S. 1057 (1990) (environmental); United States v. O’ Connell,
890 F.2d 563 (1st Cir. 1989) (False Claims Act); United States
v. Pani, 717 F. Supp. 1013, 1017 (S.D.N.Y. 1989) (False
Claims Act). See also Pension Benefits Guaranty Corp. v. R.A.
Gray & Co., 467 U.S. 717 (1984) (Multiemployer Pension Pian
Amendments Act of 1980). There is simply no reason to dis-
tinguish the 1991 Act from other civil rights statutes or from
other statutes such as the False Claims Act or the environ-
mental laws or the savings and loan statutes.
Ultimately, the key in determining whether a statute should
be applied to pending cases is whether “manifest injustice”
would result. Bradley, 416 U.S. at 711; see FDIC v. Wright,
942 F.2d 1089, 1095 n.6 (7th Cir. 1991), cert. denied, 112 S.
Ct. 1937 (1992) (“Any tension between [Bowen and Bradley}
is negated because, under Bradley, a statute will not be deemed
to apply retroactively if it would threaten manifest injustice by
disrupting vested rights.”). No vested rights would be disrupted
by the application of the 1991 Act to pending cases. On the
other hand, “manifest injustice” will surely result if victims of
employment discrimination—who have been subjected to
unfair, adverse treatment in the terms of their employment sim-
ply because of their sex or race—are left with remedies that
Congress has acknowledged are wholly inadequate, or, if they
are left with no remedy at all.
15
CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons and for the reasons set forth in the
briefs of petitioners and other amici in support of petitioners,
the decisions of the Fifth and Sixth Circuits should be reversed.
Dated: New York, New York
April 30, 1993
Respectfully Submitted,
DENNY CHIN
Counsel of Record
ELLEN A. HARNICK
VLADECK, WALDMAN, ELIAS
& ENGLEMARD, P.C.
1501 Broadway, Suite 800
New York, New York 10036
STANLEY MARK
ASIAN AMERICAN LEGAL DEFENSE
& EDUCATION FUND
99 Hudson Street
New York, New York 10013
ANGELO N. ANCHETA
KATHRYN K. IMAHARA
ASIAN PACIFIC AMERICAN LEGAL
CENTER OF SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA
1010 South Flower Street
“Los Angeles, Califomia 90015
DOREENA WONG
ASIAN LAw Caucus, INC.
468 Bush Street
San Fancisco, California 94108
APPENDIX
t
STATEMENTS OF AMICI CURIAE
The National Asian Pacific American Legal Consortium,
Inc. (“NAPALC”) was created in 1992 to promote, advance,
and represent the legal and civil rights of the Asian and
Pacific Islander communities through collaborative efforts
and the formation of a national legal structure that pursues lit-
igation, advocacy, education, and public policy development.
NAPALLC is comprised of three organizations dedicated to the
protection of civil rights of Asian and Pacific Islanders: the
Asian American Legal Defense and Education Fund
(“AALDEF”), the Asian Law Caucus, Inc. (“ALC”), and
Asian Pacific American Legal Center of Southern California
(“APALC”).
AALDEF is a not-for-profit civil rights organization that
addresses critical issues facing Asian Americans through
community education, advocacy and litigation. AALDEF's
program priorities include the elimination of anti-Asian vio-
lence, immigrant rights, voting rights, employment and labor
rights, and redress for Japanese Americans incarcerated in
camps in the United States during World War II.
ALC is a non-profit, public interest legal organization
whose mission is to promote, advance, and represent the legal
and civil rights of the Asian and Pacific Islander communi-
ties. Since 1972, the ALC has provided free or low-cost mul-
tilingual legal services and community cducation in the areas
of immigration, housing, employment and labor, and civil
rights.
APALC is a non-profit legal organization dedicated to serv-
ing the Asian and Pacific Islander communities through direct
legal services, community education, leadership development,
and advocacy. Founded in 1983, APALC provides multilin-
gual, culturally sensitive legal and education services, with
programs focusing on immigration, family law, language
2a
rights, inter-ethnic relations, dispute resolution, and civil
rights advocacy.
The National Asian Pacific American Bar Association
(“NAPABA”) is a nationwide, non-profit, non-partisan orga-
nization of Asian Pacific American attorneys. Founded in
1989, NAPABA has over 3,000 members and is dedicated to
serving the needs of Asian Pacific American attorneys and
their communities. NAPABA was involved in efforts leading
to the passage of the 1991 Act.
The Asian Pacific American Labor Alliance, AFL-CIO
(“APALA”), is non-profit labor organization founded in 1992
to, among other things: (1) defend and advocate for the civil
and human rights of Asian Pacific Americans, immigrants and
all people of color; and (2) provide a vehicle within our soci-
ety for the concerns of all Asian Pacific American workers.
APALA is the first national Asian Pacific American labor
Organization in American history.
The Chinese American Citizens Alliance (“CACA”) is a
national civil rights organization established since 1895 ded-
icated to the promotion and protection of equal rights for all
Chinese Americans. It is membership supported and conducts
legislative advocacy, youth development, and community
awareness and participation activities on national, state and
local levels.
The Organization of Chinese Americans, Inc. (“OCA”) is
a non-profit, non-partisan advocacy organization that was
founded in 1973. As one of the nation’s oldest Asian
American civil rights organization, OCA seeks to secure
social justice, equal opportunity, and equal treatment of
Chinese Americans and Asian Americans; and to eliminate
prejudices and ignorance about Chinese Americans and Asian
Americans.
S98 Didi iy Zar
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.