Amicus Curiae Brief — Steinbrink v. Independent Insurance Insurance Agents Agents of America (Nos. 92-507, 92-484)

Supreme Court brief1992

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 92-507

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1992

STEPHEN L. STEINBRINK, Acting

Comptroller of the Currency, et al., - Petitioners,

v.

INDEPENDENT INSURANCE AGENTS

OF AMERICA, INC., et al., - - Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the

District of Columbia

BRIEF OF KENTUCKY BANKERS ASSOCIATION,

THE OWENSBORO NATIONAL BANK,

THE FIRST NATIONAL BANK OF LOUISA, AND

CITIZENS NATIONAL BANK OF PAINTSVILLE

AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITION

M. BROOKS SENN

Counsel of Record

M. THURMAN SENN

SENN, MILLER & SMITH

First Trust Centre

Suite 100 South

200 South Fifth Street

Louisville, Kentucky 40202

(502) 585-3330

Attornevs for Amici Curiae

WESTERFIELOD BONTE CO , 6189 W KENTUCKY © O BOX 3251, LOVISVILL .

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the court below in 1992 correctly determined

that Congress inadvertently repealed in 1918 a statute,

enacted only two years earlier in 1916, which granted

national banks in small towns the authority to act as

insurance agents and under which national banks have

been continuously operating ever since?

li

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

QUESTION PRESENTED ..............::ccccssseeeeeeeseereees i

TABLE, OF CORTE SS cvccescesssccesescseesensonsestiiummaiai ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. ...............cssssessssesesseees ili—v

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE.................... 2- 8

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT............. 8-16

I. A Decision On The Continued Existence Of

12 V.S.C. §92 Is Necessary To Resolve A

Conflict In The Courts Of Appeals On A

Substantial Question Of Federal Law ............. 8-11

Il. Immediate Review Is Appropriate Since

The D.C. Circuit’s Decision Was Seriously

Flawed And Arguments Are Being Advanced

That The Decision Will Be Effectively

Binding In Other Circuite .........ccsiccccosssscccsereees 11-13

III. The D.C. Circuit’s Decision Is In Conflict

With This Court’s Decision In Commissioner

of Internal Revenue v. First Security Bank

Of Utae, Madhs ccccsvesssecvessseesssesnennenenee 13-15

IV. That Portion Of The D.C. Circuit’s Decision

As To The Existence Of §92 Should Be

Addressed Even If The Court Determines

That The D.C. Circuit Acted Inappropriately

In Raising The Issue Sua Sponte..................... 15-16

CORB ccceseceseseccessecssosescsensesemmaee 16-17

DN | | TT la—27a

A. Memorandum Opinion and Order, Owensboro

National Bank v. Moore, No. 91-3 (E.D. Ky.

Aangy, ©, TBE) occcccscoscscscnsnnsvesessensinennnieianna la—23a

B. Declaration of Rosa M. Koppel, Esq., Office

of the Comptroller of the Currency, filed

in The Owensboro National Bank v. Moore,

No. 91-3 (E.D. Ky. Apr. 14, 1992) .................. 24a-27a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PAGE

Cases:

Alabama Ass’n of Ins. Agents v. Board of

Governors of the Federal Reserve System,

533 F.2d 224 (5th Cir. 1976), modified,

558 F.2d 729 (1977), cert. denied, 435 U.S.

LE 10

American Land Title Ass'n v. Clarke, 968 F.2d 150

isc cscscccsepessccoosee 6

Bankamerica Corp. v. United States, 462 U.S. 122

i ccrsnessnnonees i)

Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System

v. MCorp. Financial, Inc., __. U.S. __, 112

EL 15

Braxton v. United States, _ U.S. __, 111 S.Ct.

ESET 8, 16

Commissioner of Internal Revenue v. First

Security Bank of Utah, N.A., 405 U.S. 394

SEED 5, 10, 13-16

Commissioner of Internal Revenue v. Mary Archer

W. Morris Trust, 367 F.2d 794 (4th Cir. 1965) 5

Federal Savings and Loan Insurance Corp. v.

Ticktin, 490 U.S. 82 (1989) ............00000cccecces s

First National Bank of Lamarque v. Smith,

610 F.2d 1258 (5th Cir. 1980)......................000. 5, 11

Genessee Trustee Corp. v. Smith, 102 F.2d 125

nec sccncsccnssccocooccces 5, 10

Guaranty Mortgage Co. v. Z.I.D. Associates, Inc.,

506 F. Supp. 101 (S.D.N.Y. 1980) ............0....... 5

Independent Bankers Ass’n of America v.

Heimann, 613 F.2d 1164 (D.C. Cir. 1979) ....... 5

Independent Ins. Agents of America, Inc. v.

Clarke, 955 F.2d 731 (D.C. Cir. 1992).............. 5, 14

Kirsch Co. v. Bliss and Laughlin Industries, Inc.,

495 F. Supp. 488 (W.D. Mich. 1980) ................ 13

Owensboro National Bank v. Moore, No. 91-3

(E.D. Ky.), appeal docketed, No. 92-6330/31

EST 2,12

Saxon v. Georgia Ass'n of Indep. Ins. Agents., Inc.,

399 F.2d 1010 (5th Cir. 1968)... 5

Thompson v. Kerr, 555 F. Supp. 1090 (S.D. Ohio

SSRI ee Ba asso A ae Peover 5

United States v. Dawson, 576 F.2d 656 (5th Cir.

1978), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 1127 (1979)......... 13

United States v. Mendoza, 464 U.S. 154 (1984) .... 13

United States v. Welden, 377 U.S. 95 (1963) ......... 5

Variable Annuity Life Ins. Co. v. Clarke, 786 F.

Supp. 639 (S.D. Tex. 1991), appeal docketed,

Boe, S-SRD Gitte Ce.) .ccccecccccccccccccccscesccscsescscces: 11

Wisconsin v. Illinois, 278 U.S. 367 (1928) ............. i)

Federal Statutes:

Act of September 7, 1916, Pub. L. No. 64-270,

39 Stat. 752, 753-754 (referred to as “12 U.S.C.

ge , REA aa 3

Competitive Equality Banking Act of 1987, Pub.

L. No. 100-86, 101 Stat. 552 (1987):

§ 201(b)(5), 101 Stat. 581-583-000... eee 4

Garn-St.Germain Depository Institutions Act,

Pub. L. No. 97-320, 96 Stat. 1469 (1982):

OS | a 4

National Bank Act, 12 U.S.C. §§21 et seq.:

4 LE! EERE 3 -

IED 1 ccrecnscicciniateniieninnenenmmnenens 3

go) ann passim

4 | ESTER acto ener ame 3

RE eee 4

12 U.S.C.S §92 (Law. Co-op. 1978 & Supp.

RR 5

| | ee ree omen i)

iii iia dniiinaiinbiaemetets )

ITD intiss insets ininitaeieahsidnaninicsinnenidanen 10

= U.S.C.S. §361 (Law. Co-op. 1992) ............... 10

ER ee 10

2USC. EEL eee 10

12 U.S.C.S. §373 (Law. Co-op. 1992) ............... 10

Supplemental Appropriations Act of 1975, Pub.

L. No. 93-554, 88 Stat. 1771 (1975):

Title I, Ch. III, $101, 88 Stat. 1777 .................. 4

War Finance Corporation Act, Pub. L.

No. 65-121, 40 Stat. 506 (1918):

8 Ene 4

U.S.C,

U.S.C. §208 (1988) iacaiesiilatasaneatiidialadbbiaihiaitedaeetlaeiamataiaies

I

I cai

RES Ear

2 U.S.C.A. §1818(b)(1) (West 1989 and

Ee eee

12 U.S.C.A. §1818(h) (West 1989 and Supp.

SRR RSS I MVS es

12 U.S.C.A. §1818(i) (West 1989 and Supp.

Te EST nem

State Statutes:

Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §6-184.2 .00....0....cccccccccceeeee sees

Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 17, para. 311(11) ........................

Md. Fin. Inst. Code Ann. §5-504 0000000000.

N.D. Cent. Code Ann. §6-03-38 .0.0.0......000cccccceeeeeeeee

Utah Code Ann. §7-3-1001) .o.....cccccccecccccceeeeceeeeeeeeeee

Legislative Material:

Financial Institutions Act of 1957: Hearings

Before the House Banking and Currency

Committee on S. 1451 and H.R. 7026, 85th

is Bee I I eterrinienierecntsienensneiisecnsnnncsene

House Resolution No. 988, §205(c), 93rd Cong.

SN ERS 2 ae eae

Miscellaneous:

Declaration of Rosa M. Koppel, Esq., Office of the

Comptroller of the Currency, filed in Owens-

boro National Bank v. Moore, No. 91-3

I laa acacia

Hackley, Our Baffling Banking System — Part II,

52 Va. L. Rev. 771 (1966).........0000000 cee

Supreme Court Rule 10.1 ..........ccccccccceceeeeeeeesseeeeeees

l

l

2

2

l

l

coe

~

“_-_ -.

12

14

8,13

No. 92-507

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1992

STEPHEN L. STEINBRINK, Acting Comptroller

of the Currency, etal, - - - - - Petitioners,

v.

INDEPENDENT INSURANCE AGENTS OF

America, Inc., et al, - - - - + Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the District of Colombia Circuit

BRIEF OF KENTUCKY BANKERS ASSOCIATION,

THE OWENSBORO NATIONAL BANK,

THE FIRST NATIONAL BANK OF LOUISA, AND

CITIZENS NATIONAL BANK OF PAINTSVILLE

AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITION

Kentucky Bankers Association, The Owensboro Nationa!

Bank, The First National Bank of Louisa, and Citizens

National Bank of Paintsville submit, with the consent of

Petitioners and Respondents, this brief as amici curiae in

support of the petition for a writ of certiorari filed by peti-

tioners Stephen L. Steinbrink, Acting Comptroller of the

Currency, the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency,

and the United States.

2

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE

The Owensboro National Bank, The First National Bank

of Louisa and Citizens National Bank of Paintsville are

national banking associations (i.e., national banks) orga-

nized under the laws of the United States (12 U.S.C. §§21

et seq.). Each is located and doing business in a town in

Kentucky with a population which does not exceed 5,000

inhabitants as shown by the 1990 Census.

Kentucky Bankers Association (the “KBA”) is a trade

association of banks in Kentucky. Each of the three na

tional banks is a member of the KBA. In addition, 81 of

the 82 other national banks located in Kentucky are mem

bers of the KBA.

All four of the az-ici curiae (collectively referred to

herein as the “National Banks”) are parties to litigation

initially filed in the United States District Court for the

Eastern District of Kentucky and currently pending before

the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

concerning the right of national banks located and doing

business in towns with a population which does not exceed

5,000 inhabitants as shown by the last preceding decen-

nial census (hereinafter “qualified national banks”) to act

as the agent for any fire, life or other insurance company.

Owensboro National Bank v. Moore, No. 91-3 (E.D. Ky.),

appeal docketed, No. 92-6330/31 (6th Cir.) (hereafter the

“Kentucky Litigation”).

In the Kentucky Litigation, the National Banks seek to

(a) compel the Kentucky Department of Insurance to issue

them applications to become insurance agents for non-credit

related insurance and (b) prohibit the department from

denying their applications for insurance agent licenses on

the ground that they are submitted by banks.

The Kentucky Department of Insurance and three in-

tervening insurance trade associations (collectively referred

3

to as the “Insurance Industry”) have opposed the National

Banks on the ground that Kentucky law prohibits banks

from acting as insurance agents for non-credit related in-

surance.

In response, the National Banks argue, among other

things, that federal law preempts the Kentucky law on

which the Insurance Industry relies. The United States of

America has intervened in the case and the American

Bankers Association has appeared as amicus curiae, both

supporting the National Banks.

The federal law on which the National Banks rely was

enacted in 1916 and has historically been referred to as 12

U.S.C. §92. See Act of September 7, 1916, Pub. L. No. 64-

270, 39 Stat. 752, 753-754 (the “1916 Act”). The* law

expressly provides that a national bank:

“_. . located and doing business in any place the popu-

lation of which does not exceed five thousand inhabit-

ants, as shown by the last preceding decennial cen-

sus, may, under such rules and regulations as may be

prescribed by the Comptroller of Currency, act as the

agent for any fire, life or other insurance company ... .”

The National Banks use the word “historically” when

referring to 12 U.S.C. §92 since the language added by the

1916 Act was codified during the years 1926 through 1952

as Section 92 of Title 12 of the United States Code. How-

ever, in 1952, the legislation was “omitted” from the United

States Code by the unilateral action of the compiler of the

United States Code.! The compiler believed, based upon

'The statement that §92 was “omitted” is particularly un-

usual if the compiler was correct that §92 was repealed in 1918.

That is because the 1952 Code uses the term “repealed” with

respect to other statutes which Congress “repealed”. Compare 12

U.S.C. §2 (1952) and 12 U.S.C. §51d (1952) with 12 U.S.C. §92

(1952).

4

the placement of some quotation marks in the 1916 Act as

printed, that §20 of War Finance Corporation Act of 1918

had the effect of repealing §92.2

Obviously, the “omission” of §92 was the cause of some

concern at the time. However, upon careful examination

during Congressional hearings in 1958, Congress and the

federal banking regulators rejected the conclusion that §92

had been repealed. See Financial Institutions Act of 1957:

Hearings Before the House Banking and Currency Commit.

tee on S. 1451 and H.R. 7026, 85th Cong., 2d Sess. (1958)

(hereinafter “1958 Hearings”). Indeed, Congress has on

two occasions since 1916 enacted legislation affecting §92.°

Nevertheless, the United States Code has continued to

“omit” §92. See 12 U.S.C. §92 (1988).4 On the other hand,

§92 appears in the United States Code Service published

“See War Finance Corporation Act, Pub. L. No. 65-121, §20,

40 Stat. 506, 512 (1918).

3See Garn-St. Germain Depository Institutions Act, Pub. L. No.

7-220, §403(b), 96 Stat. 1469, 1511 (1982) (deleting language

from §92 relating to geographic limits on §92 real estate loan

brokerage activity); See also Competitive Equality Banking Act

of 1987, Pub. L. No. 100-86, §201(b)(5), 101 Stat. 552, 581-583

(1987) (imposing a one-year moratorium on national banks ex-

panding §92 insurance agency activities to geographic regions

not then served).

‘Currently, 1 U.S.C. §208 (1988) provides that publication of

the United States Code is the responsibility of the Committee on

the Judiciary of the House of Representatives or such other agency

as the Congress may by concurrent resolution provide. Section

205(c) of House Resolution No. 988, 93rd Cong. (Oct. 8, 1974),

assigned responsibility to the Office of the Law Revision Coun-

sel. Effective January 2, 1975, House Resolution No. 988 was

enacted into permanent law codified at 2 U.S.C. §285 through

§285g (1988). See Supplemental Appropriations Act of 1975, Pub.

L.. No. 93-554, Title I, Ch. III, §101, 88 Stat. 1771, 1777 (1975).

5

by The Lawyers Co-operative Publishing Co. with the ex-

planation that the position of the compilers of the United

States Code “is not consistent with the case law.” See 12

U.S.C.S §92 (Law. Co-op. 1978 & Supp. 1992).°

The editors of the United States Code Service are cor-

rect. Until this year, every court since 1916 had treated

§92 as being in existence.® However, that unanimity ended

on February 7, 1992, when the United States Court of

Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit issued its

opinion in this case “find[ing] sua sponte that that section

[§92] has been repealed”. Independent Ins. Agents of

America, Inc. v. Clarke, 955 F.2d 731, 732 (D.C. Cir. 1992).

This decision was highly unusual since even the plaintiffs

in that case (the Respondents here) stated during oral ar-

gument that “we have concluded that we cannot advance a

substantial argument that section 92 no longer exists.”

955 F.2d at 741 (Silberman, J., dissenting).

The D.C. Circuit’s decision was rendered only five days

before oral argument in the Kentucky Litigation on the

5Because Title 12 of the United States Code has not been

enacted into positive law, the compilation is treated as “prima

facie the laws of the United States.” 1 U.S.C. §204(a) (1988).

However, that presumption can be overcome by recourse to the

original statutes themselves. United States v. Welden, 377 U.S.

95, 98 n.4 (1963).

5E.g., Commissioner of Internal Revenue v. First Security Bank

of Utah, N.A., 405 U.S. 394 (1972); First National Bank of

Lamarque v. Smith, 610 F.2d 1258, 1261 n.6 (5th Cir. 1980);

Independent Bankers Ass’n of America v. Heimann, 613 F.2d 1164,

1170 & nn.18-20 (D.C. Cir. 1979); Saxon v. Georgia Ass'n of Indep.

Ins. Agents, Inc., 399 F.2d 1010, 1013 (5th Cir. 1968); Commis-

sioner of Internal Revenue v. Mary Archer W. Morris Trust, 367

F.2d 794, 795 n.3 (4th Cir. 1965); Genessee Trustee Corp. v. Smith,

102 F.2d 125 (6th Cir. 1939); Thompson v. Kerr, 555 F. Supp.

1090, 1906 & n.6 (S.D. Ohio 1982); Guaranty Mortgage Co. v.

Z.1.D. Associates, Inc., 506 F. Supp. 101, 104 (S.D.N.Y. 1980).

6

merits of the National Banks’ preemption claim. After

being advised at the oral argument of the D.C. Circuit's

decision, the Kentucky District Court entered an order di-

recting that the parties file memoranda addressing whether

§92 had been repealed.

While the District Court in the Kentucky Litigation

was considering the memoranda submitted by the National!

Banks and the other parties, the United States Court of

Appeals for the Second Circuit also felt “compelled to ad-

dress this issue [of §92’s existence]” in light of the D.C.

Circuit’s decision “even though the parties neither briefed

nor argued it.” American Land Title Ass'n v. Clarke, 968

F.2d 150, 151 (2d Cir. 1992) (“ALTA”).

At issue in ALTA was whether the Comptroller of the

Currency (the “Comptroller”) properly decided that a na-

tional bank, not located and doing business in a smal]

town, may engage in the title insurance agency business.

The existence of §92 was considered relevant in addressing

the legality of the Comptroller’s decision since competing

insurance trade associations argued that §92 impliedly

prohibits national banks from selling title insurance in

towns with more than 5,000 inhabitants.

On June 15, 1992, the Second Circuit flatly rejected

the D.C. Circuit’s analysis and expressly held that “the

only rational interpretation” was that Congress did not

repeal §92 in 1918. ALTA, 968 F.2d at 154.’

7Chase Manhattan Bank, N.A. and the United States of

America have filed petitions for a writ of certiorari to review the

judgment in ALTA. Chase Manhattan Bank, N.A. v. American

Land Title Ass'n, No. 92-482 (U.S. Sept. 17, 1992); Steinbrink v.

American Land Title Ass'n, No. 92-645 (U.S. Oct. 13, 1992). Those

(Footnote continued on following page)

7

On August 5, 1992, the District Court in the Kentucky

Litigation entered its Memorandum Opinion and Order

considering §92’s existence in light of the split in authority

created by the D.C. and Second Circuit decisions.

Like the Second Circuit, the District Court in the Ken-

tucky Litigation concluded that a decision that §92 had

been repealed “would be to circumvent logical statutory

construction.” Indeed, the District Court expressly adopted

the reasoning of the Second Circuit and further stated that

its own “examination of the legislative history of §92 would

have led it to the same conclusion quite apart from the

Second Circuit’s decision.” See App., infra, 15a-16a.

Having concluded that §92 exists, the District Court

further held that §92 preempted the Kentucky statute relied

upon by the Insurance Industry and enjoined the Kentucky

Department of Insurance from refusing to issue insurance

agent applications to qualified national banks.

On October 5, 1992, the Insurance Industry defendants

in the Kentucky Litigation filed notices of appeal. In their

Pre-Argument Statements filed with Sixth Circuit, the In-

(Footnote continued from preceding page)

petitions seek review of the Second Circuit's decision that §92

impliedly bars national banks not located in small towns from

acting as title insurance agents. Chase Manhattan Bank's peti-

tion also asks the Court to resolve the issue of §92’s existence.

Because all parties in the ALTA case agreed that §92 exists,

the National Banks respectfully submit that review of the D.C.

Circuit’s decision (where the insurance industry respondents

ultimately argued that §92 has been repealed) is the superior

vehicle for presenting the dispute as the §92’s existence. However,

the National Banks fuily support the petitions seeking review of

the Second Circuit’s decision (which the National Banks believe

is incorrect) on the title insurance power issue.

8

surance Industry states that it intends to raise the issue of

§92’s existence.

As parties to the Kentucky Litigation — a case that

concerns the preemptive effect of §92 — the National Banks

plainly have a direct and substantial interest in whether

or not §92 was repealed in 1918. That issue has festered

for almost seventy-five years and will continue to distract

affected parties and the lower federal courts until it is

definitely resolved by this Court.

Accordingly, the National Banks appear in this case to

urge this Court to issue a writ of certiorari and authorita-

tively state that §92 remains the law of these United States.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. A Decision On The Continued Existence Of 12

U.S.C. §92 Is Necessary To Resolve A Conflict In

The Courts Of Appeals On A Substantial Ques-

tion Of Federal Law.

A “principal purpose” for granting a writ of certiorari is

to “resolve conflicts among the Circuit Court of Appeals

and state courts concerning the meaning of provisions of

federal law.” Braxton v. United States, U.S. __,, 111

S.Ct. 1854, 1856 (1991). See also Supreme Court Rule

10.1(a). In this case, the D.C. Circuit’s decision is in direct

conflict with the decision of the Second Circuit in ALTA.

Review is particularly appropriate because the conflict

has called into question the existence of a federal statute

as well as the legality of widespread and substantial insur-

ance activities of national and state banks across the coun-

try. Cf., Federal Savings and Loan Insurance Corp. v.

Ticktin, 490 U.S. 82, 83 (1989) (granting certiorari where

Court of Appeals’ decision “would require dismissal of large

number of cases concerning the integrity of our financial

institutions”).

9

The evidence presented by the Comptroller in the Ken-

tucky Litigation was that a« many as 179 national banks

in fifteen states conduct insurance agency activities pursu-

ant to 12 U.S.C. §92. In addition, the Comptroller esti-

mated that at least 115 state chartered banks sell insurance

under state parity statutes that permit them to engage in

the same activities as national banks. See Declaration of

Rosa M. Koppel, Esq. 7196, 7 (Apr. 14, 1992) (App., infra,

25a). See also Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §6-184.2; Ill. Rev. Stat.

ch. 17, para. 311(11); Md. Fin. Inst. Code Ann. 85-504;

N.D. Cent. Code Ann. §6-03-38; Utah Code Ann. §7-3-10(1).

That those insurance activities have been undertaken

in reliance upon a statute that has been treated by the

Comptroller, the courts, and Congress as being in exist-

ence since 1916 makes it particularly appropriate to re-

view a decision by the D.C. Circuit suddenly invalidating

that statute. Cf. Bankamerica Corp. v. United States, 462

U.S. 122, 132 (1983) (refusing to permit the Department of

Justice to change its interpretation of the Clayton Act to

prohibit interlocking directorates between a bank and an

insurance company where the affected industry and Con-

gress had relied on the Department’s interpretation for

over 60 years); Wisconsin v. Illinois, 278 U.S. 367, 413

(1928).

Furthermore, the implications of this case extend be-

yond whether national banks in small towns may act as

insurance agents.

First, the analysis used by the D.C. Circuit to “repeal”

§92 is equally applicable to two other statutes which the

United States Code also “omits”:

(a) 12 U.S.C. §361, a paragraph contained in Sec-

tion 13 of the Federal Reserve Act of 1913 relating to

the rediscount by Federal Reserve Banks of bills of

exchange which immediately precedes the language of

10

§92 and which was slightly amended by the 1916 Act;

and

(b) 12 U.S.C. §373, a paragraph added by the 1916

Act immediately following the language of §92 and

which relates to the acceptance by member banks of

the Federal Reserve System of drafts for foreign ex-

change purposes.®

See Opinion of Robert Neill, Counsel for the Advisory Com-

mittee for the Study of Federal Statutes Governing Finan-

cial Institutions and Credits (Feb. 1, 1958), reprinted in

1958 Hearings 1010, 1022-1023.

Second, because courts have regularly resolved other

banking issues by drawing inferences from §92, a decision

that §92 does not exist inevitably calls those decisions into

question. See Commissioner of Internal Revenue v. First

Security Bank of Utah, N.A., 405 U.S. 394 (1972) (relying

on §92 to overturn a determination by the Commissioner

of Internal Revenue attributing to certain banks in large

cities income derived from the sale of insurance policies by

affiliated companies); Alabama Ass’n of Ins. Agents v. Board

of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, 533 F.2d 224

(5th Cir. 1976), modified, 558 F.2d 729 (1977), cert. denied,

435 U.S. 904 (1978) (initially relying on §92 to invalidate

Federal Reserve Board regulations which would have per-

mitted non-bank subsidiaries of bank holding companies

to sell insurance in small towns or towns with inadequate

insurance agency facilities); Genessee Trustee Corp. v.

Smith, 102 F.2d 125, 127 (6th Cir. 1939) (language of §92

8Interestingly, while the 1952 Code did “omit” 12 U.S.C. §373

(1952), it did not “omit” 12 U.S.C. §361 (1952) even though this

paragraph shculd be treated as repealed under the analysis which

supposedly justified omitting §92. The 1958 Code eliminated

this inconsistency and “omitted” 12 U.S.C. §361 (1958). Compare

12 U.S.C.S. §361 (Law. Co-op. 1992) (omitting section) with 12

U.S.C.S. §373 (Law. Co-op. 1992) (not omitting section).

Se —

11

supported a determination that national banks may only

sell and indorse promissory notes on a non-recourse basis).

In addition to those final decisions, there are two other

important cases currently pending in which §92 has played

a key role. In addition to the Second Circuit's decision in

ALTA, the Fifth Circuit is considering the validity of the

Comptroller's determination that a national bank may sell

fixed rate and variable rate annuities through a securities

subsidiary. Variable Annuity Life Ins. Co. v. Clarke, 786 F.

Supp. 639 (S.D. Tex. 1991), appeal docketed, No. 92-2010

(5th Cir. Dec. 23, 1991). The competing annuity under-

writer which brought the action is arguing that annuities

are insurance products and §92 bars the Comptroller from

permitting a national bank not located in a smal! town

from selling insurance products.

In light of the importance of §92 to the national bank

ing system, plenary review by this Court is plainly war

ranted.

Il. Immediate Review Is Appropriate Since The D.C.

Circuit’s Decision Was Seriously Flawed And Ar-

guments Are Being Advanced That The Decision

Will Be Effectively Binding In Other Circuits.

This is not a case where the Court should wait for

additional decisions from other Courts of Appeals. Quite

simply, and as the pet.cions for writ of certiorari plainly

demonstrate, the analysis of the D.C. Circuit was so seri-

ously flawed that it should not be permitted to remain as

precedent.

There is already ample authority indicating that the

decision of D.C. Circuit was incorrect. In addition to the

recent decisions by the Second Circuit and in the Ken-

tucky Litigation, the issue of whether §92 was repealed in

1918 was found to be “moot” by the Fifth Circuit over a

decade ago. First National Bank of Lamarque v. Smith, 610

F.2d 1258, 1261 n.6 (5th Cir. 1980).

12

Failure to review the D.C. Circuit's erroneous decision

would be particularly perilous since the Insurance Indus

try in the Kentucky Litigation argued (albeit incorrectly)

that the D.C. Circuit's decision will govern the conduct of

national banks located in other circuits. Specifically, in

their memorandum filed with the District Court address.

ing the effect of the D.C. Circuit's decision, the Insurance

Industry argued:

The D.C. Circuit held that the Comptroller, the defen.

dant in [JAA v. Clarke, unlawfully authorized a na-

tional bank to sell insurance pursuant to Section

92....As a result of IJAA v. Clark, the plaintiff banks

in this case [the amici curiae National Banks] cannot

obtain valid authorization from the Comptroller to se!

non-credit insurance from the small towns in which

they have offices. Should the Comptroller grant

plaintiffs approval despite the D.C. Circuit's decision

in IIAA v. Clark, these defendants [the Insurance In.

dustry] would challenge the Comptroller's actions in

federal court in the District of Columbia. Were the

banks to attempt to sell non-credit insurance without

Comptroller authorization, these defendants would

bring a mandamus action against the Comptroller in

federal court in the District of Columbia, seeking the

agency's enforcement of the National Bank Act. In

either case, the court would be bound by the D.C.

Circuit's decision in IJAA v. Clark: The court would

necessarily hold that Section 92 does not exist and

therefore does not authorize the plaintiff banks to sel!

non-credit insurance.

Defendant's and Intervenors’ Joint Post-Argument Brief,

Owensboro National Bank. v. Moore, No. 91-3 (E.D. Ky.) at

5-6 (served Mar. 24, 1992) (footnotes omitted).’

*The Insurance Industry's argument as to the binding effect

on the National Banks of the D.C. Circuit's decision is incorrect.

First, the D.C. Circuit’s decision is not binding with respect to

(Footnote continued on next page)

13

This Court should review the D.C. Circuit’s decision to

avoid enmeshing other national banks in the kind of en-

forcement quagmire with which the Insurance Industry

has threatened the National Banks in the Kentucky L iti

gation.

Ill. The D.C. Circuit’s Decision Is In Conflict With

This Court’s Decision In Commissioner of Inter-

nal Revenue v. First Security Bank of Utah, N.A.

This Court’s Rule 10.1(c) provides that a reason justify-

ing review is that the lower court’s decision “decided a

federal question in a way that conflicts with applicable

decisions of this Court.” In this case, the D.C. Circuit's

decision is in conflict with the decision in Commissioner of

Internal Revenue v. First Security Bank of Utah, N.A., 405

U.S. 394 (1972).

In that case, this Court refused to permit the Commis-

sioner of Internal Revenue to reallocate to certain national!

banks, for tax purposes, a portion of credit life insurance

premiums earned by affiliates of the banks. One basis for

the decision that reallocation was improper was that §92

prohibited the national banks from receiving the premiums.

(Footnote continued from preceding page)

any obligations that the United States may have toward the

National Banks who were not parties to that litigation. See

United States v. Mendoza, 464 U.S. 154 (1984) (United States

not subject to non-mutual collateral estoppel). Second, even if

the Insurance Industry could compel the Comptroller to bring an

enforcement action against the National Banks, under 12 U.S.C_A.

§1818(b\ 1), §1818(h), and §1818(i) (West 1989 and Supp. 1992),

any enforcement action would have to be brought in the Sixth

Circuit, and the D.C. Circuit's decision is plainly not binding

there. United States v. Dawson, 576 F.2d 656, 659 (5th Cir. 1974),

cert. denied, 439 U.S. 1127 (1979); Kirsch Co. v. Bliss and

Laughlin Industries, Inc., 495 F.Supp. 488, 492 (W.D. Mich. 1980).

14

The Supreme Court so relied on §92 even though both

the majority opinion and Justice Blackmun’s dissent called

attention to §92’s omission from the U.S. Code. See 405 U.S.

at 401 n.12, 418 n.2,419. Indeed, Justice Blackmun noted

the majority's “repetitive emphasis on the missing §92.”

See 405 U.S. at 419. Justice Marshal! dissented on the

ground that the national banks were violating §92, and he

made no mention of the repeal issue. See 405 U.S. at 411.

414.

The D.C. Circuit attempted to distinguish the Supreme

Court’s analysis by stating that the Supreme Court only

assumed §92’s validity and “never directly addressed” the

issue of its alleged repeal. Independent Insurance Agents,

955 F.2d at 737-739.

While this Court never explicitly held that §92 had not

been repealed, it is difficult to square the Court’s repeated

discussion of §92 with the conclusion that §92 no longer

existed (particularly when the Court was plainly aware of

the issue). This difficulty is particularly true when Justice

Blackmun cited pages 777 through 779 of Howard Hackley’s

article Our Baffling Banking System — Part II, 52 Va. L.

Rev. 771 (1966). See First Security Bank, 405 U.S. at 418

n.2. In his article, Hackley, who was then General Coun-

sel to the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve Sys-

tem, wrote:

[T]he Comptroller was clearly correct [that §92 was

not repealed in 1918]. The provisions in question were

omitted from the United States Code in 1952 (not in

1918) by a careless codifier simply because an inad-

vertently misplaced quotation mark in a 1918 amend-

ment to Section 5202 of the Revised Statutes relating

to an entirely different subject. Unquestionably the

codifier was wrong and the provision authorizing na-

tional banks to act as insurance agents is stil! in force.

52 Va. L. Rev. at 778.

15

Even assuming the D.C. Circuit's reading is correct,

this Court’s discussion of §92 in First Security Bank is in-

formative for what was not said. This Court did not say

that the issue of 892 repeal was so clear that it could not

rely on §92. On the other hand, the Court did say that the

Comptroller's “administrative interpretation [of the mean-

ing of §92] over many years is entitled to great weight.”

Id. at 403 n.16.

At the very least, the D.C. Circuit’s opinion is very

questionable in light of the First Security Bank decision and

review is appropriate to resolve the confusion.

IV. That Portion Of The D.C. Circuit’s Decision As

To The Existence Of §92 Should Be Addressed

Even If The Court Determines That The D.C.

Circuit Acted Inappropriately In Raising The

Issue Sua Sponte.

The United States National Bank of Oregon (the “Bank

of Oregon”), an appellee before the D.C. Circuit, has filed a

parallel petition for writ of certiorari. See United States

National Bank of Oregon v. Independent Insurance Agents

of America, Inc., No. 92-484 (U.S. Sept. 17, 1992). In addi-

tion to presenting the question of §92’s existence, Bank of

Oregon also seeks review on whether or not the D.C. Cir-

cuit acted erroneously by sua sponte raising that issue. See

Petition of the United States National Bank of Oregon,

Question Presented #2.

Conceivably this Court could reverse on the ground

that it was inappropriate for the D.C. Circuit to consider

the issue of §92’s repeal. Cf. Board of Governors of the

Federal Reserve System v. MCorp. Financial, Inc., ___ U.S.

__, 112 S.Ct. 459 (1991) (reversing Court of Appeal’s deci-

sion which invalidated the Federal Reserve Board's “source

of strength” regulation on the ground that Court of Ap-

peals did not have jurisdiction to consider the merits).

However, the National Banks strongly urge that this

Court exercise its certiorari power and resolve the issue of

16

the existence of §92 regardless of the Court’s view as to

whether or not it was proper for the D.C. Circuit to address

the matter.

Ever since the unilateral decision in 1952 by the codifier

of the United States Code to “omit” §92, the issue of §92’'s

repeal has been a recurring concern. A reversal of the

D.C. Circuit's decision on jurisdictional grounds will only

serve to further muddy the waters. Litigants will still be

able to argue that the D.C. Circuit's analysis was correct.’”

Quite simply, in 1972, this Court left unresolved the

question of §92’s existence when it noted the issue in Com

missioner of Internal Revenue v. First Security Bank of

Utah, N.A., 405 U.S. 394, 401 n.12 (1972), but did not ren

der a clearly authoritative decision. The issue has again

arisen and has put in disarray the authority for qualified

national banks to act as insurance agents. This Court

should not permit the issue to fester further. It should

resolve the matter once and for all.

CONCLUSION

In light of the conflict in the circuits, the importance of

the issue, and the reoccurring nature of the dispute, this

Court should grant the petition for a writ of certiorari and

should decide whether Congress repealed 12 U.S.C. §92 in

1918.

‘That Congress could enact legislation plainly reenacting

§92 also is not a sufficient reason for delaying review. See Braxton

v. United States, _ U.S. __,, 111 S.Ct. 1854, 1857 (1991) (the

task of clarifying federal statutes is “initially and primarily”

that of the Supreme Court).

17

Respectfully submitted,

M. Brooks SENN

Counsel of Record

M. THURMAN SENN

Senn, MILLER & Smiru

First Trust Centre

Suite 100 South

200 South Fifth Street

Louisville, Kentucky 40202

(502) 585-3330

Attorneys for Amici Curiae

November 21, 1992

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF KENTUCKY

FRANKFORT

Civil Action No. 91-3

THE OWENSBORO NaTIONAL BaNK, etal., - - Plaintiffs,

and

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, - - Intervening Plaintiff,

v. MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

RonNIE C. Moore, Commissioner, - - - Defendant,

and

KENTUCKY STATE ASSOCIATION OF LIFE

UNDERWRITERS, et al., - - Intervening Defendants.

This matter is before the court upon several pending

motions. The defendant, Ronnie C. Moore, the Commis-

sioner of the Kentucky Department of Insurance (the Com-

missioner), has moved to dismiss the complaint. [Record

#4]. The intervening defendants (collectively referred to

as “the associations”) have also filed a motion to dismiss.

[Record #7]. The plaintiffs have moved for summary judg-

ment, [Record #14], as have the Commissioner and the

associations. [Record #28]. Finally, the United States has

moved for summary judgment on its intervening complaint.

[Record #60]. These motions have been fully briefed and

argued to the court, and this matter is ready for consider-

ation.

2a

I. Factual Background

The underlying facts of this case are undisputed. The

plaintiff banks are national banking associations organized

under the laws of the United States. Two of the plaintiffs,

The First National Bank of Louisa, and Citizens National

Bank of Paintsville are located in Kentucky towns with

less than 5,000 inhabitants, as shown by the 1990 Decennial

Census. The other banking plaintiff, The Owensboro Na-

tional Bank, maintains a branch in Whitesville, Kentucky,

which also has a 1990 population of less than 5,000 persons.

Each plaintiff bank is owned by a bank holding company.

In the fall of 1990, the plaintiff banks communicated to

the Commissioner their wish to apply for licenses to act as

general lines and life insurance agents. Responding by

letter dated January 10, 1991, the Commissioner declined

to immediately provide the requested applications, stating

that “such a dramatic change in our long-standing inter-

pretation of both statutory and case law should not be

lightly granted.” Letter from Commissioner Elizabeth

Wright to M. Brooks Senn (January 10, 1991) [Record #16,

Tab 6]. Rather, the Commissioner scheduled a public

hearing for February 13, 1991, to determine “whether or

not the Kentucky Department of Insurance shall issue the

insurance agents licenses requested . . . upon completion of

the applicable licensing procedures as set forth in KRS

304, Subtitle 9... .” [Record #30, Tab 2].

On January 24, 1991, the plaintiffs filed the present

action in this court seeking a declaration of rights and

injunctive relief. [Record #1]. Specifically, the plaintiffs

asked this court to require the Commissioner's compliance

with 12 U.S.C. § 92, which purportedly permits national

banks having an office in towns with less than 5,000 in-

habitants to act as insurance agents.

The day prior to filing suit, one of the plaintiffs, the

Kentucky Bankers Association (the KBA), apparently dis-

3a

tributed a memorandum to its members stating that the

Commissioner’s hearing “could prove to be a circus”, and

may be “nothing more than a ‘name-calling’ session.”

Memorandum from Ballard W. Cassady, Jr. to KBA Mem-

bers (January 23, 1991) [Record #5, Exhibit C]. The KBA

urged its members not to attend the hearing. Nevertheless,

the plaintiffs did attend, but called no witnesses. Rather,

they submitted written objections to the hearing itself, and

restated their legal arguments.

No resolution was attained at the hearing, and the

hearing officer permitted the Commissioner to engage in

limited discovery, over plaintiffs’ objection. [Record #11,

Tabs 5 & 6]. The hearing was recessed until April 8, 1991,

and at that time additional evidence was presented by the

Commissioner. No final action ever resulted from the

hearing, and further proceedings in the Department of In-

surance were eventually stayed, pending the outcome of

this litigation, by order of the Franklin Circuit Court.

[Record #24, Exhibit 1].

This matter has been submitted to this court on cross-

motions for summary judgment, and the parties have pre-

sented arguments on those motions. However, the Com-

missioner and the associations have asserted that this court

does not have subject matter jurisdiction over this action.

That assertion must be addressed prior to any consideration

of the motions for summary judgment.

Il. Justiciability

The Commissioner and the associations raise several

arguments in support of their contention that this court

lacks subject matter jurisdiction. They contend that this

matter is not ripe for decision as no final action has been

taken by the Commissioner. They further assert that the

plaintiffs have not exhausted their state remedies. Fi-

nally, they argue that this court should abstain from adju-

4a

dicating this action because to do so would interfere with

ongoing state proceedings, and because the plaintiffs’ claims

raise unsettled questions of state law.

A. Ripeness

This court is limited to the adjudication of actual cases

or controversies. U.S. Const. art. III, §2. For this court to

exercise jurisdiction over this case, it must be ripe for deci-

sion. The doctrine of ripeness “dictates that the courts

should decide only existing, substantial controversies, not

hypothetical questions or possibilities.” City Communica-

tions, Inc. v. City of Detroit, 888 F.2d 1081, 1089 (6th Cir.

1989). In the context of administrative action, this doctrine

prevents courts from becoming involved in disagreements

over administrative policies and protects agencies from ju-

dicial interference until an administrative decision has been

formalized and its effects felt in a concrete way by the

challenging parties. Abbott Laboratories v. Gardner, 387

U.S. 136, 148 (1967).

Here, the Commissioner and the associations argue that

because the Department of Insurance was not permitted to

complete its administrative process before this suit was

filed, the dispute is not ripe for decision. It is true that

this action was filed on January 24, 1991, after the plaintiffs

received notice of the public hearing on their request for

applications, but before the hearing was held. However,

as will be seen in detail later, the Commonwealth of Ken-

tucky, acting through its Attorney General and/or the

Commissioner, has long taken the position that the plaintiff

banks are not authorized to act as insurance agents in

Kentucky.

In addressing the issue of ripeness, the court is per-

suaded by the reasoning of the Supreme Court in Columbia

Broadcasting System v. United States, 316 U.S. 407 (1942).

In CBS, the Federal Communications Commission had is-

sued a regulation which would have prevented the issu-

5a

ance of radio licenses to stations which signed network

affiliation contracts with certain provisions. Although no

license had been revoked and the FCC had not refused to

grant any license based upon the regulation, the Court

held that a challenge to the regulation was ripe. The court

specifically noted that the FCC action was no less

reviewable because promulgation of the regulation itself

did not deny or cancel a license. It was enough that failure

to comply with the regulation would penalize the licensees,

and ultimately CBS, the contracting network. Id, at 417; see

also United States v. Storer Broadcasting Co., 351 U.S. 192

(1956).

The present situation is similar. Although the Com

missioner has not taken final action with respect to the

plaintiff banks’ requests for applications, his longstanding

view of the questions involved constitute action which is

sufficiently final to concretely affect the plaintiffs [sic] in

terests. This view is amply supported by the aggressive

stance the Commissioner has taken in this litigation in

setting forth his view of both federal and state law in this

area and the interaction between both spheres. Ripencss

is now viewed as a matter of common sense, and the court

is convinced that absolutely no purpose would be served by

permitting the Commissioner to continue with his charade

of evaluation before this court addresses the merits of this

litigation. See McCoy-Elkhorn Coal Corp. v. United States

Environmental Protection Agency, 622 F.2d 260, 264 (6th

Cir. 1980).

This decision comports with the Supreme Court's two

part ripeness test articulated in Abbott Laboratories. ‘There

the Court determined that ripeness depends upon both the

fitness of the issues for judicial decision and the hardship

to the parties of withholding court consideration. Abbott

Laboratories, 387 U.S., at 149. This action presents purely

legal questions which are fit for judicial decision at this

6a

time. In addition, this court has no difficulty concluding

that hardship to the plaintiffs would result if judicial con-

sideration were withheld. This matter is ripe for decision

by this court.

B. Exhaustion

When the actions of an administrative agency are in-

volved, exhaustion of remedies is generally required to

prevent premature interference with agency processes, so

that the agency may function efficiently and correct its

own mistakes, to afford the parties and the court the benefit

of the agency’s expertise, and to compile an adequate record

for judicial review. Weinberger v. Salfi, 422 U.S. 749, 765

(1975). However, when the issue is solely one of statutory

interpretation, judicial review is permitted since resolution

of the issue requires no special expertise on the part of the

involved agency. McKart v. United States, 395 U.S. 185,

198-99 (1969).

Here, the issues before the court involve questions of

law and statutory interpretation. There is no requirement

that the plaintiffs exhaust their administrative remedies

under these circumstances. Since the Commissioner has

admitted that the plaintiffs meet the location requirements

of 12 U.S.C. § 92, [Record #11, Tab 4], any further consid-

eration by the Commissioner would involve the same

evaluation of legal issues performed by this court. The

plaintiffs’ failure to exhaust their state administrative

remedies does not prevent this court from exercising juris-

diction over this matter. Shawnee Coal Co. v. Andrus, 661

F.2d 1083, 1093 (6th Cir. 1981).

C. Abstention

The Commissioner and the associations point to two

lines of abstention cases in support of their argument that

this court should decline to exercise its jurisdiction in this

matter. The court will address each line of cases sepa-

rately.

7a

1. Younger Abstention

Ordinarily, federal courts should not issue declarative

or injunctive relief which would interfere with ongoing state

proceedings. Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37 (1971). How-

ever, the Commissioner and the associations are incorrect

in arguing that Younger applies in the present case.

The ultimate question in this litigation is whether state

law is preempted by federal law. In that circumstance,

abstention is not required. Hawaii Housing Authority v.

Midkiff, 467 U.S.-229, 237 (1984). This case neither re-

quires the interpretation of state law nor the making of

findings on disputed facts. The considerations which would

require Younger abstention are not present. Norfolk &

Western Railway Co. v. Public Utilities Comm. of Ohio, 926

F.2d 567, 573 (6th Cir. 1991).

2. Burford Abstention

This court should also abstain from granting equitable

relief that interferes with proceedings in state administra-

tive agencies which involve complex state regulatory poli-

cies, such as ratemaking. Burford v. Sun Oil Co., 319 U.S.

315 (1943). However, like the Younger doctrine, Burford

does not prevent this court from addressing issues of fed-

eral preemption of state law. New Orleans Public Service.

Inc. v. Council of the City of New Orleans, 491 U.S. 350

(1989). This case does not implicate Burford abstention.

D. The Moti Dismi

The motions to dismiss of the Commissioner and the

associations are without merit for the reasons stated above.

Both motions will be denied.

Ill. Legal Framework

Prior to evaluating the merits of the cross-motions for

summary judgment, it is essential to set forth the legal

Sa

framework for the discussion. Both federal and state law

are involved, and the court will briefly discuss each.

A. Federal Law

The plaintiff banks are national banking associations

organized under the laws of the United States. See 12

U.S.C. § 1 et seg. The National Banking Act constitutes

the paramount authority for the operation of national

banking associations, and, by itself, constitutes a complete

system for the establishment and government of national

banks. First National Bank in Plant City, Fla. v. Dickinson,

396 U.S. 122 (1969); Deitrick v. Greaney, 309 U.S. 190

(1940). However, national banks are also subject to state

laws, so long as those state laws do not conflict with or

frustrate the purpose of laws of the United States. Starr

v. O'Connor, 118 F.2d 548 (6th Cir. 1941).

The National Banking Act was enacted in 1864. Act of

June 3, 1864, c. 106, 13 Stat. 99. In 1913, Congress enacted

the Federal Reserve Act, Act of December 23, 1913, c. 6, 38

Stat. 251, to foster a flow of credit and money, through

both federal and state chartered institutions, which would

facilitate orderly economic growth. Collateral Lenders

Committee v. Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve

System, 281 F.Supp. 899, 904 (S.D.N.Y. 1968).

In 1916, Congress amended the Federal Reserve Act,

adding, among other sections, 12 U.S.C. § 92.' This section

was added at the request of the Comptroller of the Cur-

rency, and allowed national banks located in towns with

less than 5,000 inhabitants to sell insurance under certain

'The question of whether this section continues to exist will

be addressed later in this memorandum opinion and order.

Ya

circumstances.’ The Comptroller has issued a regulation

which provides that this section is applicable to any branch

of a national bank which is located in a town with less

than 5,000 inhabitants, even though the principal office of

the national bank may be in a town with a population

greater than 5,000 persons. 12 C.F.R. § 7.7100 (1971).

Although there is a question as to whether 12 U.S.C. § 92

was repealed in 1918, the Comptroller has continued to

assume that the section remains in force. See e.g., Letter

from First Deputy Comptroller for Policy Robert Bloom to

Oklahoma Insurance Commissioner Gerald Grimes (No-

vember 14, 1975) [Record #11, Tab 8]; and Letter from

Chief Counsel Paul Allen Schott to Louisiana Insurance

_

The full text of this section is as follows:

In addition to the powers now [Sept. 7, 1916] vested by law

in national banking associations organized under the laws

of the United States any such association located in and

doing business in any place the population of which docs

not exceed five thousand inhabitants, as shown by the last

preceding decennial census, may, under such rules and

regulations as may be prescribed by the Comptroller of the

Currency, act as the agent for any fire, life, or other insur-

ance company authorized by the authorities of the State in

which said bank is located to do business in said State, by

soliciting and selling insurance and collecting premiums on

policies issued by such company; and may receive for ser-

vices so rendered such fees between the said association

and the insurance company for which it may act as agent;

and may also act as the broker or agent for others in mak-

ing or procuring loans on real estate located within one

hundred miles of the place in which said bank may be

located, receiving for such services a reasonable fee or com-

mission: Provided, however, That no such bank shal! in

any case guarantee either the principal or interest of any

such loans or assume or guarantee the payment of any

premium on insurance policies issued through its agency

by its principal: And provided further, That the bank shal!

not guarantee the truth of any statement made by an as.

sured in filing his application for insurance.

(Sept. 7, 1916, c. 461, 39 Stat. 753).

10a

Commissioner Douglas D. Green (October 30, 1990) [Record

#16, Tab 27].

Presently, approximately 179 national! banks in fifteen

states are conducting insurance activities pursuant to 12

U.S.C. § 92. Affidavit of Rosa M. Koppel, [Record #61,

Exhibit 1]. None of these national banks are located in

Kentucky. Id.

B. Kentucky Law

Despite the enactment of 12 U.S.C. § 92, and quite

apart from any debate over its continued existence, the

Commissioner contends that national banks located in

Kentucky may not engage in insurance activities, except In

limited circumstances. The Commissioner presently finds

support for this position in Ky. Rev: Stat. 287.030(4), which

provides:

No person who after July 13, 1984, owns or acquires

more than one-half (1/2) of the capital stock of a bank

shall act as insurance agent or broker with respect to

any insurance except credit life insurance, credit health

insurance, insurance of the interest of a real property

mortgagee in mortgaged property, other than title in-

surance.

In an opinion addressing an earlier version of this stat-

ute, the Kentucky Attorney General concluded that a pro-

vision prohibiting one person from holding controlling in-

terest in a bank was applicable to national banks doing

business in Kentucky. Ky. OAG 70-643. Statutory lan-

guage similar to the present language prohibiting insur-

ance activities by persons owning more than one-half of

the stock of a bank was added in 1972. 1972 Kentucky

Acts ch. 174. In 1981, the Kentucky Attorney General

issued an opinion, based upon this statute, which concluded

that a bank holding company could not acquire 100% of

the outstanding stock of an insurance agency. Ky. OAG

lla

81-173. In 1984, the present language was enacted as a

part of the Kentucky Bank Holding Company Act. 1984

Kentucky Acts ch. 130.

Since 1984, the Commissioner has taken the position

that the present version of the statute, as set forth above,

is applicable to national banks, and has used the 1970

Attorney General's Opinion as support for his position. See

Letter from Assistant General Counsel Stephen B. Cox to

David F. Presser (February 28, 1986) [Record #16, Tab 7).

The Commissioner has also taken the position that 12

U.S.C. § 92 only provides that the sale of insurance by a

national bank is not ultra vires to the bank's charter, and

does not convey a unilateral right to engage in the business

of insurance.

Having provided the legal framework for the discus-

sion, the court will now turn to the substantive clairns of

the parties. A very narrow question is presented: May the

Commissioner, consistent with federal law, refuse to per-

mit national banks to apply for insurance licenses?

IV. The Bank Holding Company Act

The Commissioner and the associations maintain that

the Bank Holding Company Act (BHCA), 12 U.S.C. § 1841

et seq., allows states to regulate bank holding companies

and their subsidiaries, including national banks, in the

manner prescribed in Ky. Rev. St. 287.030(4). If true, this

conclusion would obviate the need to address the questions

presented under 12 U.S.C. § 92.4

*The Commissioner likely took this position prior to 1984, as

well, although no documents to that effect have been presented

to the court.

*In addressing this argument, this court will assume, with-

out deciding, the continued existence of 12 U.S.C. §92. This is

consistent with the position of the Commissioner and the asso-

ciations that the court may decide the BHCA issue without

reaching the question of the statute’s continued existence.

12a

The BHCA was enacted in 1956, to provide federal

regulation of bank holding companies and the type of as-

sets appropriate for such companies to control. S. Rep. No.

1095, 84th Cong., Ist. Sess. 1 (1955). Unlike national

banks, which are primarily regulated by the Comptroller

of the Currency, primary regulatory authority for bank

holding companies was placed with the Board of Gover-

nors of the Federal Reserve System (Federal Reserve

Board). 12 U.S.C. § 1842. The BHCA is divided into two

principal areas. Section 3, 12 U.S.C. § 1842, governs the

authority of the Federal Reserve Board with respect to

banking subsidiaries of bank holding companies. Section

4, 12 U.S.C. § 1843, governs the acquisition of non-banking

subsidiaries. |

The Commissioner and the associations argue that Sec-

tion 7 of the BHCA, 12 U.S.C. § 1846, permits the applica-

tion of Ky. Rev. St. 287.030(4) to the plaintiff banks.° Sec-

tion 7 provides, “No provision of this chapter shall be

construed as preventing any State from exercising such

powers and jurisdiction which it now has or may hereafter

have with respect to companies, banks, bank holding com-

panies, and subsidiaries thereof.” 12 U.S.C. § 1846. The

Commissioner and the associations both misread and mis-

interpret this section.

This section did not grant any additional regulatory

powers to the states. It merely preserved the powers extant

at the time of enactment and such powers as may exist in

the future. It neither enlarged nor diminished state regu-

latory powers with respect to national banks or bank hold-

ing companies. American Trust Co., Inc. v. South Carolina

5In addressing this argument, the court again notes that

each of the plaintiff banks is a wholly owned subsidiary of a

bank holding company. [Record #25, 26, 27]. It is not clear

whether these holding companies are Kentucky corporations.

l3a

State Board of Bank Control, 381 F.Supp. 313, 324 (D.S.C.

1974). The legislative history of the BHCA clearly reflects

Congressional intent that it have a neutral effect on the

dual system of banking regulation. This was the purpose

for the inclusion of Section 7. See Control and Regulation

of Bank Holding Companies: Hearings on H.R. 2674 Before

the House Comm. on Banking and Currency, 84th Cong., Ist

Sess. 366-67 (1955).

Since McCullough v. Maryland, 4 Wheat. 316 (1819), it

has been beyond doubt that Congress can establish and

regulate a national system of banks. Only where Congress

has explicitly provided for state regulation of national banks

has such regulation been permitted. Otherwise, a state

cannot —~— a national bank from exercising its express

powers. See Franklin Nat. Bank v.

ier New York, 347 U.S. 373,

. Congress has typically permitted state regulation when

it acts to preserve the dual system of banking in the United

States, such as in Congressional treatment of branch

banking for national banks. See 12 U.S.C. § 36: First Nat.

Bank in Plant City Fl. v. Dickinson, 396 U.S. 122 (1969).

Congress could have permitted national banks to conduct

branching activities regardless of state law. Cf. Lyons

Savings & Loan Ass’n v. Federal Home Loan Bank Board

377 F.Supp. 11, 20 (N.D. Ill. 1974). However, it chose net

- - national banks a competitive advantage over state

anks.

. In contrast, this case concerns an express power of cer-

tain national banks; a power granted by Congress, in the

exercise of its unquestioned power to regulate the national

banking system. The statute granting the power to sell

insurance contains no language permitting states to abso-

lutely prohibit of the exercise of this power by national

banks. The only condition placed on the ability of these

national banks to sell insurance is the requirement that

l4a

the involved insurer be licensed to do business in the state

by the appropriate state authorities. In short, 12 U.S.C. §

92 grants an express power to national banks which states

could not eliminate when the BHCA was enacted, and can-

not eliminate now.

Having determined that 12 U.S.C. §1846 does not grant

additional power to directly regulate national banks, the

question then becomes whether states can regulate indi-

rectly what they cannot regulate directly. This would be

the end result if states were permitted to veto an express

power of a national bank by virtue of their ability to regulate

bank holding companies. This is an illogical result.

There is absolutely no doubt that Ky. Rev. St. 287.030(4)

is a permissible regulation of bank holding companies.

However, there is also no doubt that a statute which ex-

pressly prohibited all banks operating in Kentucky from

selling insurance would be an unconstitutional violation of

the Supremacy Clause. U.S. Const., art. VI, cl. 2. Such a

statute would directly conflict with federal law, and a na-

tional bank would not be subject to such regulation. Na-

tional State Bank, Elizabeth, N.J. v. Long, 630 F.2d 981, 987

(2nd Cir. 1980). The authority given to states to regulate

bank holding companies does not give them any additional

authority to regulate national banks simply because the

national bank may happen to be a subsidiary of a bank

holding company. Any authority a state has to regulate a

national bank derives either from a specific grant of au-

thority under federal law, or from the lack of an inconsistent

federal law. It does not derive from the bank’s form of

ownership.

The Commissioner may regulate bank holding compa-

nies and their national bank subsidiaries. However, the

BHCA does not permit the Commissioner to prohibit the

exercise of an express power granted by Congress, without

limitation, to national banks. Refusal to provide the re-

15a

quested applictions [sic] constitutes such an improper pro-

hibition. This argument is without merit.

Vv. The Existence of 12 U.S.C. §92

Relatively late in the briefing of this case, an issue was

presented to the court regarding the continued existence of

12 U.S.C. § 92. In Independent Insurance Agents of

America, Inc. v. Clarke, 955 F.2d 731 (D.C. Cir. 1992), the

court concluded that Congress inadvertently repealed this

section in 1918. One other court has addressed this issue

reaching the opposite result. See American Land Title Aeon

v. Clarke, Docket No. 91-6235 (2nd Cir. June 15 1992)

Not surprisingly, each side in the present alee Gnineee

strenuously that the case which supports their position

was correctly decided, while the other decision was poorly

reasoned. This leaves the court with little choice but to

examine the issue anew.

*The authority cited by the Commissioner and i

tions in support of this argument is inapposite ines pene

either deal with a state's ability to regulate bank holding compa-

nies or to exercise regulatory authority over national banks as

— under federal law. This court takes issue with neither

0 — state powers. See Commercial Nat. Bank of Little Rock

- rd of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, 451 F.2d 86

(8th Cir. 1971) (regulation of bank holding companies and branch

banking); Bank of New Orleans & Trust Co. v. Saxon, 221 F.Su

576 (D.D.C. 1962), affd 323 F.2d 290 (D.C. Cir. 1963); dice

jurisdictional grounds, 379 U.S. 411 (1965) (regulation of bank

holding cornpanies); Security Nat. Bank & Trust Co. v First W.

Va. Bancorp, Inc., 277 S.E.2d 613 (W. Va. 1981), appeal dis.

er — U.S. 1131 (1982) (regulation of bank holding compa-

: my Pa Nat. Bank in Jefferson Parish v. James, 189 So.2d

rhe ; PP.), appeal denied, 191 So.2d 140 (1966) (regulation

of t holding companies and branch banking); Braeburn Secu-

rities Corp. v. Smith, 153 N.E.2d 806 (Ill. 1958), appeal dis-

mis 35 i

“i 9 U.S. 311 (1959) (regulation of bank holding compa-

16a

For the sake of brevity, the court will not engage in a

lengthy explication of the relevant legislative history.

Rather, the court will simply state that it has examined

the materials provided by the parties in support of their

respective positions. Having reviewed the legislative history

and studied the reasoned opinions of both the District of

Columbia Circuit Court of Appeals and the Second Circuit

Court of Appeals, this court agrees with the rationale of

the Second Circuit. Accordingly, that part of the Second

Circuit Opinion headed “A. Validity of 12 U.S.C. § 92” is

adopted by this court the same as if set forth herein. Id.,

at 2-10.

This court’s examination of the legislative history of §

92 would have led it to the same conclusion quite apart

from the Second Circuit’s decision. To determine that § 92

has been repealed would be to circumvent logical statutory

construction. This court also holds that “section 92 re-

mains valid law.” Id., at 10.

VI. Preemption

Having determined that 12 U.S.C. § 92 continues to

exist with the full force of law, the court now turns to the

question of whether this section preempts Ky. Rev. St.

287.030(4). At the outset, the court again notes that § 92

grants to national banks located in towns with less than

5,000 persons the express power to act as insurance agents.

National banks are not subject to attempted state control

which would directly conflict with laws of the United States.

Starr v. O’Connor, 118 F.2d, at 555.’

7The court takes no position on whether the express lan-

guage of Ky.Rev.Stat. 287.030(4) permits its application directly

to national banks. It is sufficient for the purpose of this inquiry

that the Commissioner has applied it in such a manner.

17a

. In addressing the question of preemption, the Commis-

sioner and the associations are correct that the standard

for preemption does not change simply because national

banks are involved. Under the Supremacy Clause of the

Constitution, Art. VI, cl. 2, any state law which conflicts

with federal law is “without effect.” Maryland v. Louisiana

451 US. 725, 746 (1981). However, “consideration of ‘woedane

arising under the Supremacy Clause ‘start[s] with the as-

sumption that the historic police powers of the States [are]

not to be superseded by . . . Federal Act unless that [is] the

clear and manifest purpose of Congress.” Cipollone v.

Liggett Group, Inc., 60 U.S. L.W. 4703, 4706 (1992), quoting

Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator Corp., 331 U.S. 218, 230 (1947).

Accordingly, the Congressional purpose for the enactment

is the ultimate determining factor in the preemption

a Malone v. White Motor Corp., 435 U.S. 497, 504

As articulated in Cipollone, there are three principal

ways for Congress to signal the paramount authority of

federal law in a particular area. Cipollone, 60 U.S.L.W.. at

4706-07. First, Congressional intent of supremacy may be

expressly stated in the language of the statute or implic-

itly contained in its structure and purpose. Jones v. Ruth

Packing Co., 430 U.S. 519, 525 (1977). Second, in the ab-

sence of express Congressional guidance, state law will be

preempted if it actually conflicts with federal law. Pacific

Gas & Elec. Co. v. Energy Resources Conversation and De-

velopment Comm’n, 461 U.S. 190, 204 (1983). Finally, con.

trary state laws may be preempted if federal law has so

thoroughly occupied a field as to allow a reasonable infer-

ence that Congress intended no state law to supplant fed-

eral authority. Fidelity Federal Savings & Loan Ass’n v

De la Cuesta, 458 U.S. 141, 153 (1982). |

The Commissioner and the associations are correct that

there is no express statement of supremacy in § 92, nor

18a

has Congress occupied the entire field of national bank

regulation. However, § 92 does appear to squarely conflict

with Ky. Rev. St. 287.030(4), as it has been interpreted by

the Commissioner.

The Commissioner and the associations contend that

there is no actual conflict between § 92 and the state stat-

ute and raise three arguments in support of that position.

For an actual conflict to exist, it must be a physical impos-

sibility to comply with both the federal and state statutes.

Hillsborough County, Fla. v. Automated Medical Labs, Inc.,

471 U.S. 707, 713 (1985).

First, the Commissioner and the associations maintain

that the two statutes can be easily reconciled. This argu-

ment attempts to weaken the express language of § 92, by

massaging the Commissioner’s 1986 position that § 92

merely provides that this insurance activity is not ultra vires

to a national bank’s charter. See Letter from Assistant

General Counsel Stephen B. Cox to David F. Presser (Feb-

ruary 28, 1986) [Record #16, Tab 7]. Section 92 itself

disposes of this argument. If a national bank meeting the

requirements of § 92 wishes to exercise the power granted

to it under this statute, it cannot do so under the present

interpretation of Kentucky law by the Kentucky Insurance

Commissioner.

Indeed, the scant legislative history of § 92 itself re-

veals that the primary intent of § 92 was not to place

national banks on the same footing as state banks in states

where state banks were permitted to sell insurance. Rather,

the primary intent was to strengthen small national banks

by providing them with an additional source of revenue.

See Letter from Comptroller John Skelton Williams to

Senator Robert Owen (June 8, 1916) [included at 53 Cong.

Rec. 11001]. There is no indication that Congress intended

that § 92 would only apply where it was needed to allow

national banks to compete with state banks. There is ab-

19a

solutely no authority for the Commissioner's pseudo ultra

vires argument. It is indeed impossible to reconcile these

two provisions.

Second, the Commissioner and the associations contend

that Ky.Rev. St. 287.030(4) does not purport to regulate

national banks. Instead, they contend that the statute

only regulates the licensure of insurance agents within the

Commonwealth, based upon their affiliation with bank

holding companies. This argument is disingenuous at best

and erroneous at worst. The section is included within .

statute addressed to limitations on the powers of banks

and is contained in the chapter of the Kentucky Rovieed

Statutes dedicated to banks and trust companies. It is an

attempt to regulate bank holding companies, and by inter-

pretation, their national bank subsidiaries. It is, at best

an indirect regulation of insurance licenses. As interpreted

by the Commissioner, it is in direct conflict with a federal

statute and is preempted.

Finally, the Commissioner and the associations argue

that Ky. Rev. Stat. 287.030(4) is consistent with the shee.

tives of Congress in enacting § 92. This relies upon 2

statement in Comptroller Williams’ letter which refers to

allowing national banks to become more competitive with

state banks which are authorized to engage in nonbankin

activities. However, this court's reading of the Williams

letter indicates that the primary objective was to ensure

profitability for smaller national banks which would allow

them to both lend money at nonusurious rates and make a

better return to their stockholders. Comptroller Williams

did not specifically reference the ability of state banks to

engage in the business of insurance, but merely pointed

out that some state banks were able to carry on nonbanking

activities. Recognizing that fact, he could have recom.

mended that language be included which limited the exer.

cise of this power to states where both national and tate

20a

banks could engage in insurance activities. However, no

such limitation was included. Reflecting the desire to pro-

vide an additional revenue source to national banks, § 92

was drafted to apply to all national banks meeting its re-

quirements. Ky. Rev. Stat. 287.030(4) is not consistent

with Congressional objectives in enacting § 92.

The court has no difficulty concluding that § 92 pre-

empts Ky. Rev. Stat. 287.030(4). To the extent that the

Commissioner interprets the Kentucky statute to prohibit

national banks in Kentucky from utilizing § 92, that inter-

pretation is in direct conflict with federal law. The Com-

missioner is attempting to prevent national banks from

participating in the sale of insurance simply because they

are banks. This is contrary to the Congressional enactment.

Congress clearly knew how to defer to state regulatory

authority over national banks. It did so in permitting

states to determine whether national banks within their

borders could engage in branch banking. 12 U.S.C. § 36.

There is no such deference contained in § 92. The state

statute, as interpreted, must give way in the face of con-

trary federal law. Davis v. Elmira Savings Bank, 161 U.S.

275 (1896). The plaintiff banks may not be prevented from

applying for insurance licenses.

VII. The McCarran-Ferguson Act

Finally, the Commissioner and the associations argue

that Ky. Rev. Stat. 287.030(4)'is a valid exercise of state

authority under the McCarran-Ferguson Act. 15 U.S.C. 8§

1011-1015. This act was passed in response to the Su-

preme Court's decision in United States v. South-Eastern

Underwriters Ass’n, 322 U.S. 533 (1944), which held that

insurance companies were subject both to regulation by ~

Congress and to federal anti-trust laws.

2la

At issue in this case is 15 U.S.C. §1012(b) which pro-

vides:

(b) Federal regulation. No Act of Congress shal! be

construed to invalidate, impair, or supersede any law

enacted by any State for the Purpose of regulating the

business of insurance . . . unless such Act Secif ically

relates to the business of insurance.

It is perhaps simpler to address this statute in reverse

order and first examine whether 12 U.S.C. § 92 is an Act

of Congress which relates to the business of insurance.

The “business of insurance” has been narrowly defined,

and it seems fairly obvious that § 92 does not constitute

Congressional regulation of that business. This section is

a part of the National Bank Act, and its function is to

grant additional powers to national banks. That the power

granted to the national banks involves insurance does not

transform this section into a regulation of the business of

insurance. Accordingly, § 92 will not invalidate the Ken-

tucky statute on these grounds.

Moreover, the other portion of 15 U.S.C. 1012(b) is

equally inapplicable to this case. Just as § 92 does not

regulate the business of insurance, neither does Ky. Rev.

Stat. 287.030(4) constitute insurance regulation. As previ-

ously mentioned, this statute regulates bank holding com-

panies, and is contained in chapter of the Kentucky Revised

Statutes regulating banks and trust companies. It does

not appear in the portion of the Kentucky Revised Statutes

which regulates insurance. It relates to the powers of

bank holding companies, not to the powers of insurance

companies or agents.

To determine whether a state law or regulation governs

the “business of insurance”, the Supreme Court has articu.

lated a three-part test. The court must consider:

22a

[F]irst, whether the practice has the effect of transfer-

ring or spreading a policyholder’s risk; second, whether

the practice is an integral part of the policy relationship

between the insurer and the insured; and third,

whether the practice is limited to entities within the

insurance industry.

Union Labor Life Ins. Co. v. Pireno, 458 U.S. 119, 129

(1982). Applying these criteria to the present case, the

court reaches the inescapable conclusion that Ky. Rev. St.

287.030(4) does not regulate the business of insurance. ‘The

Kentucky statute is not concerned with transferring or

spreading the risk of any policyholders, nor does bank

holding company ownership of insurance entities consti.

tute an integral part of the policy relationship between the

insurer and the insured. Finally, bank holding companies

are not entities within the insurance industry. The

McCarran-Ferguson Act has no applicability to the issue

now before the court. See United States Auto Ass'n v.

Muir, 792 F.2d 356 (3rd Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 479 U.S.

1031 (1987).

VIII. Conclusion

Based upon the foregoing analysis, the court believes

that the Commissioner is required to provide the plaintiff

banks, and other similarly situated national banks, with

applications for insurance licenses. The Commissioner's

interpretation of law reflected in this litigation is incorrect.”

®The court specifically declines to determine whether the

Commissioner is required to issue licenses once the completed

applications are received. Whether national banks are subject

to Kentucky’s criteria for the issuance of an insurance license is

not properly before the court, and may well! implicate McCarran.

Ferguson in other respects. In any event, the court need not

reach this issue in narrowly deciding that Ky.Rev.Stat. 287.030(4),

as interpreted, is preempted by 12 U.S.C. $92, and does not

permit the Commissioner to refuse to provide the requested ap

plications.

23a

This memorandum opinion and order contains the

court’s rulings on all pending motions except the motions

for summary judgment which will be addressed by sepa-

rate order. The court having considered the record and

being otherwise sufficiently advised,

Accordingly,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED:

(1) that the Commissioner's motion to dismiss, [Ree@rd

#4), be, and is DENIED, in conformity with the reasons

stated herein;

(2) that the associations’ motion to dismiss [Record #7),

be, and is DENIED, in conformity with the reasons stated

herein; and

(3) that the plaintiffs’ motion for leave to file a memo.

randum of supplemental authorities, [Record #43], be, and

is GRANTED.

This 4th day of August, 1992.

/3/_ Joseph M. Hood

JOSEPH M. HOOD, JUDGE

24a .

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF KENTUCKY

FRANKFORT DIVISION

Civil Action No. 91-3

THE OweENSBORO NATIONAL BaNK, etal., - - Plaintiffs,

and

Tue Unirep States oF America, - Intervenor-Plaintiff,

v.

ELizaBETH P. WricHt, Commissioner,

Department of Insurance, Common-

wealth of Kentucky - - - - - Defendant,

and

KENTUCKY STATE ASSOCIATION OF LIFE

UNDERWRITERS, et al., - - - - %Intervenors.

DECLARATION

Crry oF WASHINGTON

ss

District OF COLUMBIA

I, ROSA M. KOPPEL, being duly sworn, depose and say:

(1) I am a Senior Trial Attorney in the Litigation Di-

vision at the office of Comptroller of the Currency (“OCC”).

I have been employed by the OCC since July 9, 1984, and

am a member in good standing of the New York State and

District of Columbia Bars. ;

(2) The OCC has primary supervisory responsibility

over the activities of all national banks operating in the

United States. See 12 U.S.C. §§ 1, et seq.

(3) I make this declaration upon the basis of informa

tion provided to me by OCC’s Communications Division

and a letter from Michael F. Crotty, Deputy General Coun

sel for Litigation, American Bankers Association, to Lester

N. Scall, Senior Trial A\torney, dated April 3, 1992, a true

copy of which is attached hereto as Exhibit “A”.

(4) According to the most recent statistics maintained

by OCC, as of December 31, 1991, there are 3,778 national

banks reporting to the OCC.

(5) Exhibit “A” to my declaration contains the results

of a recent survey of the various state bankers’ associations

conducted by the American Bankers Association. The pur-

pose of the survey was to determine how many national

and state banks are conducting the insurance agency ac-

tivities authorized by 12 U.S.C. § 92.

(6) According to the survey results, there are as many

as 179 national banks in fifteen states throughout the na-

tion conducting insurance agency activities pursuant to 12

U.S.C. § 92.

(7) In addition, from the information presently avail-

able, there are at least 115 state-chartered banks conducting

insurance activities pursuant to state statutes that allow

them to engage in the same activities that are authorized

for national banks.

I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is

true and correct.

Executed on this 14th day of April, 1992.

/s/_ Rosa M. Koprpe.

Rosa M. Kopre.

Senior Trial Attorney

Litigation Division

26a

EXHIBIT “A”

[LETTERHEAD OF AMERICAN BANKERS

ASSOCIATION]

April 3, 1992

Lester N. Scall, Esq.

Litigation Division

Office of the Comptroller of the Currency

Independence Square

250 E Street, SW

Washington, DC 20219

Re: IAA v. Clarke

Dear Les:

This is an update of my March 9 letter to you. It

differs from the March 9 letter only in minor respects. As

I told you in that letter, the ABA has asked the various

state bankers’ associations around the country to examine

into the insurance activities of their respective members in

order to determine how many banks, nationwide, are relying

upon the authority of Section 92 of the National Bank

Act—either directly in the case of national banks or indi-

rectly in the case of state chartered banks in those states

where there is a “parity” or “wild card” statute, but no

other independent source of statutory authority for general

insurance agency powers. The results of that survey are

as follows:

Land

Zia

National Banks State Banks

Arkansas 7 N/A

California 3 N/A

Delaware l N/A

Indiana l N/A

lowa 17 N/A

Kansas 34

Maryland 0 4

Minnesota 50 (approximate) N/A

Missouri 2 3

New York 5 (approximate) N/A

North Dakota 16 105

Oregon 3 N/A

South Carolina 10 (approximate) N/A

South Dakota 12 N/A

Utah 0 2or3

Virginia 3 N/A

Washington _ 10 to 15 N/A

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Connecticut, Florida, Geor-

gia, Hawaii, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Massa-

chusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Nebraska, Nevada, New

Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, Ohio, Pennsylvania,

Rhode Island, Texas, Vermont, and West Virginia report

no known use of the “town of 5000” rule, either by national

or state chartered banks. The Kansas number is a total of

state and national banks; that state’s bankers association

is unable to differentiate between the two on short notice.

The remaining states have not supplied any useful infor-

mation to us.

Sincerely,

/sf/- = Micnakt F. Crorry

MICHAEL F. Crotty

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.