Petitioners Brief — Itel Containers Int'l Corp. v. Huddleston

Supreme Court brief1993

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

\ ©)

4

] Supreme Goert, U.S.

FILED

~ : | APR 5° W92

No. 91-321 i

|

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

ITEL CONTAINERS INTERNATIONAL CORPORATION,

PETITIONER

Vv.

JOE HUDDLESTON, COMMISSIONER OF REVENUE,

STATE OF TENNESSEE, RESPONDENT

On Writ of Certiorari to the

Supreme Court of Tennessee

BRIEF OF PETITIONER

PHILIP W. COLLIER ANDREW L. FREY

Counsel of Record CHARLES ROTHFELD

JAMES C. SEIFFERT Mayer, Brown & Platt

T. MORGAN WARD, JR. 2000 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.

Stites & Harbison Washington, D.C. 20006

600 West Main Street (202) 463-2000

Louisville, KY 40202

(502) 587-3400

Lisa D. LEACH

Vice President & General Counsel

Itel Containers International Corporation

550 California Street

San Francisco, CA 94104-1006

(415) 984-4508

Counsel for Petitioner

WILSON - Eras PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.<c. 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether the Customs Conventions on Containers pre-

empt the imposition of a state sales tax upon the

lease of cargo containers that enter the United States

under Customs bond and are used exclusively in for-

eign commerce.

. Whether the imposition of such a tax is prohibited

by the Foreign Commerce Clause.

Whether the Import-Export Clause prohibits the im-

position of a state sales tax on imported or exported

goods while they are in transit,

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED .................2..-.sccseceesseeeeeeseees

_ TE

a iaainaltaennetneegnetencennnineceese

Ss dinteteiniceenneniineneeenenccessssocestenesenseceenee

CONSTITUTIONAL, STATUTORY, AND REGULA-

TORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED .......0000000000............

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..002200.......eeeeeeeeeeeeeeee -

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ......00000000..00.000.. cece

ELA

I. THE TERMS AND OBJECTIVES OF THE

II.

CONTAINER CONVENTIONS PREEMPT

THE IMPOSITION OF TENNESSEE’S

latin eieenicanieennsesenecsensesnsececs

A. The Tennessee Tax Cannot Be Reconciled

With the Language of the Conventions ..........

B. The Executive Branch and Congress Intended

to Preempt State Regulation of Federally

Bonded Containers Used Exclusively in For-

Ne censtounnsne

1. The Tax Is Inconsistent With Objectives

of the Container Conventions ....................

2. McGoldrick and Xerox ................................

APPLICATION OF STATE SALES TAXES

TO CONTAINERS USED EXCLUSIVELY IN

FOREIGN COMMERCE VIOLATES THE

FOREIGN COMMERCE CLAUSE ........... a

(iii)

Page

12

12

17

17

21

27

iv Vv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

ath a a Page CASES: Page

. Tennessee’s es Tax Creates a Substantia ;

Risk of International Multiple Taxation ........ 29 Air France v. Saks, 470 U.S. 392 (1985) ............ 12, 14, 16

American Trucking Associations v. Scheiner, 483

B. Tennessee’s Tax Prevents The United States fo (See 32

From Speaking With One Voice in Regulat- Armco Inc. v. Hardesty, 467 U.S. 638 (1984) ........ 34

i EE 36 Beare Co. v. Olsen, 711 S.W.2d 603 (Tenn. 1986) ... ~

lll. TENNESSEE’S TAX VIOLATES THE IM- Container Corp. of America v. Franchise Tax Bé.,

PORT-EXPORT CLAUSE ........................ 40 BB UB. 16D (BBGB) ...~----22-creee.-ce-vecneeeee-ceee 18, 32-33, 39

D.H. Holmes v. McNamara, 486 U.S. 24 (1988)... 30

A. The Purpose of the Clause ............................. 40 Evco v. Jones, 409 U.S. 91 (1972) 2... e-eeeeeeenee 32

B. The Richfield Decision ........-.--..cccccccc-ccccee00.- 41 Fidelity Federal Savings & Loan Association v. de

' ' , la Cuesta, 458 U.S. 141 (1982) .................-.---....... 12

C. The Michelin Analysis .............-.--.--.-----0--0-00--+- 42 Freeman v. Hewit, 829 U.S. 249 (1946) 00.0... 34

D. The Richfield Holding Is Valid After Miche- Goldberg v. Sweet, 488 U.S. 252 (1989) ................. 80

| ORO ai HES eet ne NR alt aR 44 Henneford v. Silas Mason Co., 300 U.S. 577

° ERAS RIESE EMR PIE PSC Aevum eer ne nee 30

CONCLUSION .......................... Phe et Ns ees I Sse 47 Hines v. Davidovitz, 312 U.S. 52 (1941) —.............. 17

Hooten v. Carson, 209 S.W.2d 273 (Tenn. 1948) .... 38

Japan Line, Ltd. v. County of Los Angeles, 441

a tel passim

Louisiana Land & Exploration Co. v. Pilot Petro-

leum Corp., 900 F.2d 816 (5th Cir.) , cert. denied,

I Bi, Ss III saciicctesicnehetacchbsceitninerniniseniiagiasianatsanicn 42, 44

Mazimov v. United States, 378 U.S. 49 (1963) ........ 17

McGoldrick v. Gulf Oil Corp., 309 U.S. 414 (1940)... 9, 11,

21-27, 46

Michelin Tire Corp. v. Wages, 423 U.S. 276

ITI cscaissicrsishepsinintidn stitniaihatchiailaabiaieididiesadtaelaniea 10, 11, 40-47

Mobil Oil Co. v. Commissioner of Taxes, 445 U.S.

I a cicicaclhetal uiciiataae Sah Eee 34

Nielsen v. Johnson, 279 U.S. 47 (1929) ................... 14.

O’Connor v. United States, 479 U.S. 27 (1986)... 16

R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Co. v. Durham County, 479

8 FO eee es 23, 26, 43

Richfield Oil Corp. v. State Board of Equalization,

SS eer eee 9, 11, 41-42, 44

Sam Carey Lumber Co. v. Sixty-One Cabinet

Shop, Inc., 773 S.W.2d 252 (Tenn. App. 1989) .... 38

Standard Oil Co. v. Peck, 342 U.S. 382 (1952) ........ 32

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Trans World Airlines, Inc. v. Franklin Mint Corp.,

1 esiiaanmanenihins 15, 16

Trinova Corp. v. Michigan Dept. of Treasury, 111

SX | RAR AES Soe: 2a 13, 31

Tyler Pipe Industries, Inc. v. Washington State

Dept. of Revenue, 483 U.S. 232 (1987) ................ 34

Wardair Canada, Inc. v. Florida Dept. of Revenue,

gE RRS ALS a ER a 31, 37

Washington Revenue Dept. v. Association of Wash-

ington Stevedoring Cos., 435 U.S. 734 (1978) ..10, 40, 42,

43, 45-47

Williams v. Vermont, 472 U.S. 14 (1985) —............ 30

Xerox Corp. v. Harris County, 459 U.S. 145

RE EERE IS eee. ee 9, 11, 12, 21-27

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION:

Foreign Commerce Clause, Art. I, § 8, Cl. 3 —..000000.... passim

Supremacy Clause, Art. VI, Cl. 2 0000-02-02... passim

Import-Export Clause, Art. I, § 10, Cl. 2 000-00... 40-47

Tax Clause (Art. I,, $8, Cl. 1) .................................. 40

TREATIES OF THE UNITED STATES:

Customs Convention on Containers, May 18, 1956,

RE passim

Customs Convention on Containers, Dec. 2, 1972,

5 _f | 2. + 3 SSSaR SSE SaeeeeencnneNee passim

International Convention for Safe Containers, Dec.

2, 1972, [1979] 39 U.S.T. 3707 ..............00000......... 20

FEDERAL STATUTES:

SN I onic. cnensncncccnnedetoreoenecccntes Casa 1

a aiandenladinliommebeeiainenal 6, 18, 25

19 U.S.C. § 66 ................. ER eD ss PERC Re Ie 25

FEDERAL REGULATIONS:

I sesamiae 6, 18, 25

a cicinencubetine I SEE 6, 25

I i a cusenianelon 6, 25

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—-Continued

TENNESSEE STATUTES: Page

Tenn. Code Ann. 67-6-102 (23) (A) (1989) —............ 8

Tenn. Code Ann. 67-6-313(f) (1989) —.........0--0. 30, 36

Tenn. Code Ann. 67-6-502 (1971) ..........-...--.---.....-..... 8

Tenn. Code Ann. 67-6-507 (1990) -....00.0000-0.---2-e eee. 30

MISCELLANEOUS:

Bureau of the Census SM705 ..............-.-. eee 4

Consumption Tax Law, art. 17 (2) (ii) —..................... 15

M. Farrand, The Records of the Federal Conven-

eR ae a 40-41

J. Hellerstein, State Taxation (1983) .. a See 44, 45

O.J. European Comm, (No. L 145) (1977) (Sixth

ER EEE RT a ae 15

President’s Letter of Transmittal, 1956 Customs

Convention on Containers, 89th Cong., 2d Sess.

(June 30, 1966), reprinted in Journa! of the

Executive Proceedings of the Senate, Vol. 108,

ERE ee a 18

President’s Message Transmitting the Customs

Convention on Containers, 1972, and the Inter-

national Convention for Safe Containers, both

signed at Geneva on Dec. 5, 1972, Exec. X, 93d

Sa I a scmpetenanenens 20, 24

Sen. Rep. No. 1618, 90th Cong., 2d Sess. 2 (1968),

reprinted in 1968 U.S.C.C.A.N. 4563 200000000. 18

Sen. Comm. on Foreign Relations, Exec. Rep. No.

33, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. (1976) ............0.0000000000... 4, 6, 20

Simon, The Law of Shipping Containers, 5 J. Mar.

SR AE ET ie 3

Tariff Schedules of the United States 0.0.0... 20

U.N. Doc. E.ConrF. 59/2 (Feb. 22,1971) .....00000000...... 4,19

U.N. Doc. E/Conr.59/SR.1 (Nov. 18, 1972) .......... 3

U.N. Doc. E.ConrFr. 59/16 (Nov. 26, 1971) —............... 19

U.N. Doc. E/CONF.59/2 at 1 (Feb. 22, 1971) -........... 5

U.N. Doc. E/CONF.59/IPG.2 (Feb. 14-18, 1972) _.... 19

U.N. Doc. E/Conr.59/24 (June 23, 1972) ....... iaaiaenia 19

U.S. Br. in Support of Prob. Jur., No. 77-1378 ......18, 27, 32

U.S. Dept. of State, Treaties in Force (1990) ........... 5

In the Supreme Court of thy United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

No. 91-321

ITEL CONTAINERS INTERNATIONAL CORPORATION,

PETITIONER

Vv.

JOE HUDDLESTON, COMMISSIONER OF REVENUE,

STATE OF TENNESSEE, RESPONDENT

On Writ of Certiorari to the

Supreme Court of Tennessee

BRIEF OF PETITIONER

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Supreme Court of Tennessee is re-

ported at 814 S.W.2d 29. It is reprinted in the appendix

to the petition for a writ of certiorari at la-18a. The

unreported opinion of the Tennessee Court of Chancery

appears at Pet. App. 19a-26a.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Tennessee Supreme Court was

entered on April 22, 1991. On July 10, 1991, Justice

Stevens extended the time within which to file the peti-

tion to and including August 21, 1991. The petition was

filed on August 21, 1991, and the Court granted the

petition on February 24, 1992. The jurisdiction of this

Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1257(a).

(1)

2

CONSTITUTIONAL, STATUTORY, AND

REGULATORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The relevant portions of the following constitutional,

statutory, and regulatory provisions are reproduced in

the appendix to the petitition at 38a-44a: the Foreign

Commerce Clause (Art. I, § 8, Cl. 3), the Import-Export

Clause (Art. I, § 10, Cl. 2) and the Supremacy Clause

(Art. VI, Cl. 2) of the United States Constitution; the

Customs Convention on Containers, Dec. 2, 1972, [1985]

988 U.N.T.S. 43; the Customs Convention on Containers,

May 18, 1956, [1969] 20 U.S.T. 301; 19 U.S.C. 1322(a);

19 C.F.R. 10.41a; 19 C.F.R. Pt. 115; and Tenn. Code

Ann. 67-6-102 (23) (A) (1989).

STATEMENT OF THE-CASE

This case represents a collision between the power of

the Federal Government and of a State to regulate for-

eign commerce. Tennessee has imposed a sales tax on

the lease of Customs bonded and sealed cargo containers

used exclusively and continuously in foreign commerce.

The United States and 58 other nations have signed

two treaties that prohibit the imposition of taxes in con-

nection with the importation of cargo containers. Ten-

nessee is the only State—and indeed the only subnational

unit within the borders of the 59 signatory nations to

these treaties—that imposes such a tax. Tennessee’s sales

tax assessment is prohibited by the 1956 and 1972 Cus-

toms Conventions on Containers (the “Container Con-

ventions”) and is inconsistent with the objectives pro-

moted by the comprehensive scheme of regulation ema-

nating from the Conventions.

Further, Itel contends that the tax violates the Foreign

Commerce and Import-Export Clauses of the United

States Constitution. Because Tennessee taxes the full

value of a transaction with substantial taxable nexus

around the globe, it creates a risk of international mul-

tiple taxation. In addition, most container lessees, who

3

in large part absorb the tax, are foreign domiciliaries.

The exaction of the tax therefore both creates an asym-

metry in international taxation of containers and threat-

ens to prompt retaliation by our trading partners against

American firms.

The Container Revolution. Cargo containers are spe-

cifically manufactured steel boxes (typically eight feet

high, eight to 9.5 feet wide and between eight and 40

feet long), that are used as articles of transport equip-

ment. See Japan Line, Ltd. v. County of Los Angeles,

441 U.S. 434, 436 n.1 (1979). Because they are reusable,

may be loaded and unloaded mechanically, and are de-

signed to be carried by truck, rail and eceangoing vessel,

containers have greatly reduced the cost of shipping cargo.

See Simon, The Law of Shipping Containers, 5 J. Mar.

L. & Com. 507, 513 (1974). Containerization provides a

number of significant economies in the transport of cargo:

elimination of intermediate repacking and handling be-

tween the points of origin and destination; ease of storage

on oceangoing vessels; reduction of damage to cargo re-

sulting from manual handling; elimination of expensive,

disposable packaging; and speedy loading and discharg-

ing, which reduces the idle time of a vessel and crew

while in port. See Simon, supra, at 510-13.

While permanent, reusable cargo containers were in

use for many years, “|wl]ith the container revolution of

the 1960’s, large containers and specially-built container

ships to accommodate them came into use.” Summary

Record of the First Plenary Meeting, [1972] U.N. Doc.

E/CoNnF.59/SR.1 at 7 (United Nations/IMCO Confer-

ence on International Traffic, considering the 1972 Con-

vention). This revolution, described as “[one] of the most

important technological developments in the transporta-

tion of goods by sea since steam replaced sail” (see

Simon, supra, at 507), has fueled a boom in international

imports and exports. “It would be difficult to overesti-

mate the impact on virtually all phases of international

d

trade of the dramatic expansion * * * of the use of large,

intermodal freight containers.” Sen. Comm. on Foreign

Relations, Exec. Rep. No. 33, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. 4

(1976) (statement of John B. O’Loughlin, Acting Assist-

ant Commissioner (Operations), U.S. Customs Service).

The United States is a world leader in container use;

containers now provide the principal means for marine

transportation of U.S. imports and exports. Containers

carried 60% of the value of American marine imports

and 52% of the value of American marine exports in

1990. Bureau of the Census SM705. The value of Amer-

ican goods exported by container in 1990 exceeded $84

billion. Jbid, Containers were used for the marine trans-

port of a variety of crucial American exports in 1990:

59% of the value of exported chemicals and related prod-

ucts, 61% of the value of exported machinery and trans-

port equipment, 69% of the value of manufactured goods

and 89% of the value of exported beverages and tobacco

were carried in containers. Jbid. More than 25% of these

containers, with a replacement value of approximately

$3.2 billion, are owned by firms domiciled in the United

States. Br. of Cronos Containers, et al., at 4.

The Container Conventions. The United States and

many of its trading partners have for several decades pro-

vided special benefits to containers by treaty. In fact,

the “need for providing for the temporary importation of

containers free of import duty and taxes, and for har-

monizing or unifying technical provisions applicable to

containers used for transport under Customs seal was felt

in Europe well before the advent of the ‘Container Revo-

lution.’” U.N. Doc. E/CoNnF.59/2 at 1 (Feb. 22, 1971).

Twelve European nations originally signed the 1956 Cus-

toms Convention on Containers (the “1956 Convention’’),

May 18, 1956, [1969] 20 U.S.T. 301. The 1956 Conven-

tion entered into force with respect to the United States

on March 3, 1969.

5

Article 2 of the 1956 Convention requires each signa-

tory nation to “grant [containers] temporary admission

free of import duties and taxes and free of import pro-

hibitions and restrictions.” 20 U.S.T. at 304. The Con-

vention defines the term “import duties and import taxes”

to mean “not only Customs duties, but also all duties and

taxes whatsoever chargeable by reason of importation.”

Ibid. The legal fiction of temporary importation thus

prevents containers from entering the domestic commerce

of any signatory nation.

The 1972 Convention, which entered into force with re-

spect to the United States on May 12, 1985,' expanded the

prohibition of container taxation. The 1972 Convention’s

definition of prohibited “import duties and taxes” en-

compasses “Customs duties and all other duties, taxes,

fees and other charges which are collected on, or in con-

nexion with, the importation of goods, but not including

fees and charges limited in amount to the approximate

cost of services rendered.” 988 U.N.T.S. at 44 (emphasis

added). The 1972 Convention requires strict regulatory

compliance to qualify for these benefits, generally provid-

ing that containers must be re-exported within three

months of their importation (see art. 4, id. at 45) and

limiting their use in internal traffic (see annex 3, id. at

52).* Including the United States, 59 nations now are

signatories to one or the other of the Container Conven-

tions. See U.S. Dept. of State, Treaties in Force 303-305

(1990).

1 The United States signed the 1972 Convention on December 5,

1972. Upon entry into force, the 1972 Convention replaced the

1956 Convention in relations between the parties to the 1972 Con-

vention. See 1972 Convention, 988 U.N.T.S. at 48.

2 The 1972 Convention also provides for the admission of con-

tainer parts and accessories (art. 10-11, 988 U.N.T.S. at 46), the

approval of containers used to transport goods under Customs seal

(art. 12, id. at 47; Annex 5, id. at 61-67), the marking of containers

(Annex 1, id. at 51-52), the obligations of container owners (Annex

2, id. at 52), and the design of containers (Annex 4, id. at 52-61).

6

The Conventions have been implemented in the United

States by statute and regulation. The Secretary of the

Treasury, acting pursuant to 19 U.S.C. 1322(a), has des-

ignated containers as “instruments of international

traffic” that are excepted from application of the Customs

laws. 19 C.F.R. 10.4la(a) (1), (3). To receive this spe-

cial treatment, however, a container owner must provide

assurances that its containers will not be used in inter-

state or intrastate commerce; if the containers are di-

verted to point-to-point local use within the United States,

the owner must make entry and pay the applicable Cus-

toms duty. Each owner must post a continuous bond with

the Customs Service to secure compliance with this un-

dertaking. 19 C.F.R. 10.4la(a), (c), 113.66. In addi-

tion, 19 C.F.R. pt. 115 implements the 1972 Convention’s

procedures for the certification and approval of contain-

ers used in transporting goods under Customs seal. Com-

pliance with these procedures allows steamship lines to

move containers from the point of loading to the ultimate

destination without the presentation of papers to, or in-

spection by, Customs officials.*

Itel’s Business. Itel* is a Delaware corporation with

its principal place of business in California. Stip. 4, Pet.

App. 27a.° During the relevant period, it leased cargo

3“Tt is not surprising that containerization * * * has impacted on

worldwide customs procedures. Containers are designed for uninter-

rupted movement of large unit loads of goods over potentially great

distances without the need for customs authorities to carry out

their controls using traditional methods. Obviously, if containers

were opened and the goods examined at every frontier or port, the

efficiency gained through containerization would be nearly completely

lost.” Exec. Rep. No. 94-33, supra, at 4.

4 Itel’s Rule 29.1 statement appears in the Petition at ii.

5 Itel submitted an extensive stipulation of facts, presented tes-

timony of two witnesses and introduced 27 exhibits which were

admitted without objection at trial. Stip. 92; Trial Transcript

(“Tr.”) 21, 22, 52, 53, 87. The Tennessee Department of Revenue

offered no testimony or exhibits in rebuttal. Tr. 99.

7

containers that were used exclusively in foreign commerce

by steamship lines. The containers were manufactured

and purchased abroad by Itel, and entered the United

States certified for the transport of goods under Customs

seal. Itel posted a continuous bond with the Customs Ser-

vice undertaking not to withdraw its containers from for-

eign commerce. All of Itel’s leases accordingly restricted

use of the containers to international commerce. Stip.

72-73, Pet. App. 34a. The leases were solicited and nego-

tiated through marketing offices in California, Texas, Illi-

nois, New Jersey, South Carolina and Washington; none

of the leases during the relevant period was solicited,

negotiated or executed in Tennessee. Stip. 3, 41; Pet.

App. 27a, 3la. In addition, Itel operated container

terminals and made use of so-called “third-party” ter-

minals—facilities operated by independent contractors

that tendered delivery and accepted returns of containers

—worldwide.

Itel operated one terminal and used several third party

terminals in Tennessee.” Containers were delivered at

those points to common carriers hired by Itel’s lessees.

Eighty percent of the lessees who accepted delivery of

Itel’s containers in Tennessee were international steam-

ship lines domiciled in foreign countries, including com-

panies domiciled in Australia, Colombia, France, Ger-

many, Iceland, Israel, New Zealand, Norway, Singapore,

Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, and Venezuela.

Tr. 31-33. While each container initially was used to

export American goods to foreign ports, most containers

were used continuously in multiple import-export ship-

ments. All of Itel’s leases culminated with an import

® For the greater part (January 1, 1983-June 30, 1985) of the

audit period, Ite! did not have any employees or terminals located

in Tennessee. Stip. 31, Pet. App. 3la. Before July 1, 1985, Itel al-

lowed its containers to be delivered and picked up at two or three

third party depots located in Tennessee. Stip. 32, Pet. App. 3la.

During the latter portion of the audit period, Itel leased real prop-

erty and buildings located in Memphis and employed four persons

to operate the terminal. Stip. 33-35, Pet. App. 31a.

8

shipment terminating in a Customs Convention signatory

nation; 61% of the leases concluded with an importation

into the United States.’

The Assessment. In 1986, the Tennessee Department

of Revenue assessed $382,465 in sales taxes, penalties and

interest on the proceeds earned from the lease of con-

tainers that Itel delivered in Tennessee to international

carriers.* Tennessee’s 5.5% sales tax is imposed on “any

transfer of title or possession, or both, exchange, barter,

lease or rental * * * for a consideration.” Tenn. Code Ann.

67-6-102 (23) (A) (1989).° While Itel is obligated to col-

lect the tax from its lessees “insofar as it can be done”

(Tenn. Code Ann. 67-6-502 (1971)), the legal incidence

of the tax falls on Itel, and only Itel may contest its im-

position. See Beare Co. v. Olsen, 711 S.W.2d 603, 605

(Tenn. 1986). Itel accordingly paid the tax under pro-

test and began this action for a refund, challenging the

constitutionality of the tax under the Commerce, Import-

Export, and Supremacy Clauses of the United States Con-

stitution. The Tennessee Chancery Court reduced the as-

sessment on state law grounds but rejected the federal

constitutional claims, sustaining a revised assessment of

$158,012. Pet. App. 19a-26a.

7 Trial Exhibits (“Ex.’’) 7, 13, 15 and 22 indicate the location for

each container redelivery.

8 Stip. 1, 84; Pet. App. 27a, 35a. A sample transaction drawn

from the audit period is illustrative. On March 5, 1985, the Ship-

ping Company of New Zealand accepted possession of a 40 Itel dry

van container. The container was loaded onto the chassis of a com-

mon carrier hired by the steamship line, loaded with cargo and

carried by rail to an international port. The container then traveled

the globe until it was returned at Itel’s San Francisco terminal on

May 5, 1986. Because the lease term was 427 days and Itel charged

$3.50 per day, the steamship line paid $1,494.50 for the use of the

container from the first importation to the return of the container

in San Francisco. Tennessee’s sales tax totaled 5.5% of the gross

proceeds, or $82.20. Ex. 7, 13, 15.

® Petitioner already was paying sales and use taxes on fees col-

lected in connection with repair services performed at its Memphis

terminal. Stip. 38, Pet. App. 3la. Those taxes are not at issue here.

9

The Opinion Below. The Tennessee Supreme Court

affirmed. Pet. App. la-8a. It recognized this Court’s

holding in Japan Line that a state ad valorem property

tax on containers owned by foreign domiciliaries violates

the Foreign Commerce Clause. The court also acknowl-

edged that “Itel’s containers, like Japan Line’s contain-

ers, are instrumentalities of foreign commerce” (id. at

7a), and it expressly declined to distinguish Japan Line

on the ground that in this case the tax happens to fall

on a domestic domiciliary. Jd. at Ta-8a. Instead, the

eourt found a constitutional distinction between sales and

property taxes (see id. at 12a), holding that state sales

taxes by their very nature satisfy the requirements of

the Foreign Commerce Clause because they pose no risk

of multiple taxation (id. at 14a-15a) and cannot inter-

fere with the federal government’s management of foreign

relations or international trade. /d. at 15a-16a.

The court next held that the Tennessee tax was not

preempted by the Container Conventions and the Treasury

Department’s implementing regulations. It distinguished

this Court’s decisions in Xerox Corp. v. Harris County,

459 U.S. 145 (1982), and McGoldrick v. Gulf Oil Corp.,

309 U.S. 414 (1940) (which held state property and

sales taxes preempted by federal statutes that exempted

goods from Customs duties when stored under bond in

designated warehouses), finding that federal regulation

of Customs bonded containers is “less pervasive” than

th. regulation of Customs bonded warehouses. Pet. App.

14a. The court also reasoned that preemption is in-

appropriate because the Container Conventions were not

intended to benefit container owners. Jd. at 10a.

Finally, the court turned aside Itel’s claim under the

Import-Export Clause. In rejecting the argument that

the Tennessee tax is invalid under Richfield Oil Corp. v.

State Board of Equalization, 329 U.S. 69 (1946), the

court below evidently concluded that Richfield’s holding

did not survive this Court’s more recent decisions in

10

Michelin Tire Corp. v. Wages, 423 U.S. 276 (1976), and

Department of Revenue v. Ass’n of Washington Steve-

doring Cos., 485 U.S. 734 (1978). See Pet. App. 16a-17a.

And in applying the Import-Export Clause test set out in

Michelin, the court again found it dispositive that the tax

at issue here is one on sales rather than on property.

Id. at 18a.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I. Tennessee’s sales tax imposed on container leases is

repugnant to both the letter and the spirit of the Con-

tainer Conventions, treaties between the United States

and 58 other nations. The Conventions expressly prohibit

the imposition of taxes collected “by reason of” or “in

connexion with” the importation of containers. The 1972

Convention allows the signatory nations to impose only

taxes “limited to the approximate cost of services ren-

dered.” Tennessee’s sales tax is levied “by reason of”

or “in connexion with” the importation of containers;

the containers would not be subject to taxation but for

their importation into Tennessee, and the tax is assessed

upon the entire value of container leases throughout a

continuous series of import/export shipments. This read-

ing of the Conventions is confirmed not only by their

plain language, but also by the uniform custom of the

signatory nations. -

Aside from the Conventions’ express prohibition, Ten-

nessee’s sales tax is preempted because it undermines the

principal objectives of the Conventions and the federal

regulatory scheme. The impact of Tennessee’s tax is sub-

stantial enough to erase the very benefit provided by Con-

gress—the waiver of Customs duties. And by substan-

tially increasing the cost of container transport, the tax

discourages container use in foreign commerce, places

American container owners at a competitive disadvan-

tage, and stunts American export trade—the precise ob-

jectives the United States seeks to promote. It is mani-

fest that Tennessee’s tax is preempted by the force of

11

this Court’s reasoning in McGoldrick v. Gulf Oil Corp.,

309 U.S. 414 (1940), and Xerox Corp. v. Harris County,

459 U.S. 145 (1982).

II. In addition, like the California property tax at

issue in Japan Line, Tennessee’s sales tax violates the

Foreign Commerce Clause because it creates an unaccept-

able risk of international multiple taxation and prevents

the United States from speaking with one voice with re-

spect to its foreign trade. Tennessee’s tax on the full

value of container leases invites multiple international -

burdens; many foreign nations have a sufficient taxable

nexus to impose equivalent taxes upon the lease proceeds

—and would, in fact, impose such taxes were it not for

the prohibitions of the Container Conventions. The Ten-

nessee sales tax, moreover, whether imposed on foreign

container lessors or lessees, will inevitably lead to foreign

retaliation felt not just by Tennessee, but by the United

States as a whole. Such retaliation already has been at

least implicitly threatened. And the United States, of

course, cannot “speak with one voice” with respect to

foreign trade if Tennessee and other States subject con-

tainers to “various degrees of multiple taxation, depend-

ing on which American ports they enter.” Japan Line,

441 U.S. at 453.

III. Finally, Tennessee’s direct tax on “in-transit”

containers violates the Import-Export Clause—not only

because it prevents the Federal Government from speak-

ing with one voice, but because it is “no more than

[a] transit fee!| on the privilege of moving through a

State.” Michelin Tire Corp. v. Wages, 423 U.S. 276, 290

(1976). The Court has never construed the Clause to per-

mit the type of tax imposed by Tennessee. Under both

the Court’s modern analysis and the Court’s holding in

Richfield Oil Corp. v. State Board of Equalization, 329

U.S. 69 (1946), which is indistinguishable from this case,

a state sales tax on an in-transit export or import vio-

lates the Import-Export Clause.

12

ARGUMENT

I. THE TERMS AND OBJECTIVES OF THE CON-

TAINER CONVENTIONS PREEMPT THE IMPO-

SITION OF TENNESSEE’S SALES TAX

State regulations that “actually conflict[] with fed-

eral law” must fall. Fidelity Federal Savings & Loan

Ass’n v. de la Cuesta, 458 U.S. 141, 153 (1982). Ten-

nessee’s tax—which is “collected on, or in connexion with,

the importation of goods” *°—is preempted because it is

flatly inconsistent with the plain terms of the Container

Conventions. In fact, Tennessee’s application of its sales

tax to the leasing of containers engaged in foreign com-

merce is a remarkable departure from what has been

universal practice under the Conventions. For the 36

years that one or the other of the Conventions has been

in effect, so far as we have been able to determine, not

one of the 59 signatories or their innumerable political

subdivisions has imposed such a tax. But even without

regard to the clear language of and consistent practice

under the Conventions, Tennessee’s tax is preempted be-

cause it “offset[s] substantially the very benefits Con-

gress intended to confer” by excepting cargo containers

from customs duties. Xerox Corp. v. Harris County, 459

U.S. 145, 153 (1982).

A. The Tennessee Tax Cannot Be Reconciled With The

Language Of The Conventions

When interpreting a treaty, this Court begins “with

the text of the treaty and the context in which the writ-

ten words are used.” Air France v. Saks, 470 U.S. 392,

397 (1985). Here, the 1956 Convention provides for the

temporary admission of containers free of import duties

and taxes, which are defined as “not only Customs duties

but also all duties and taxes whatsoever chargeable by

reason of importation.” 20 U.S.T. at 304 (emphasis

added}. The 1972 Convention offers a similar but broader

10 1972 Convention, Art. 1(b), 988 U.N.T.S. at 44. The prohibition

expressed in the 1956 Convention is similar, prohibiting all “taxes

whatsoever chargeable by reason of importation.” Art. l(a), 20

U.S.T. at 304.

13

description of the proscribed taxes, prohibiting the im-

position of “Customs duties and all other duties, taxes,

fees and other charges which are collected on, or in

connexion with, the importation of goods.” 988 U.N.T.S.

at 44 (emphasis added). The 1956 Convention ensures a

broad interpretation of the prohibition by modifying “all

* * * taxes” with the adjective “whatsoever.” The 1972

Convention also proseribes “all” taxes and then makes

the prohibition as inclusive as possible by the reference

to “fees and other charges.”

The Container Conventions do not except taxes imposed

by subnational units, such as States. To the contrary,

“all * * * taxes” are prohibited. The breadth of the

prohibition is magnified by the 1972 Convention’s sole,

narrow exception of “fees and charges limited in amount

to the approximate cost of services rendered” (988

U.N.T.S. at 44), an exception that has no bearing here.

If the parties to the 1972 Convention intended to allow

sales or transaction taxes on container transfers, they

could easily have expanded the exception clause.

Tennessee’s sales tax is “chargeable by reason of im-

portation” and collected “in connexion with the importa-

tion of goods.” The texts of the Conventions recognize

that the concept of importation describes the continuous

status of a container while present in a signatory nation,

not a discrete event temporally related to the crossing of

a border. Article 3 of the 1956 Convention describes con-

tainers as “temporarily imported” when they are within

national borders. Article 1(b) of the 1972 Convention

similarly describes the containers as subject to “tem-

porary importation.” Under the fiction of “temporary

admission,” the containers remain temporarily imported

throughout their stay in the United States. Thus, when

Tennessee’s tax was imposed, Itel’s containers were tem-

porarily imported goods.'"' Further, the tax here—which

attaches only when containers physically are transferred

1 The containers’ status as temporarily imported goods is not

changed upon leasing for re-export from the United States.

14

in Tennessee—is triggered in a direct sense by the entry

of goods into the taxing jurisdiction; it is the containers’

visit to Tennessee that (in part) is responsible for the

tax. And a tax that is assessed only because the taxed

good entered into the taxing jurisdiction surely is one

that is imposed “by reason of” or “in connexion with”

importation.

In addition, because Tennessee makes no effort to appor-

tion its sales tax to the fraction of the lease term during

which a container is present in Tennessee or the dis-

tance traveled by the container—and because all of Itel’s

leases culminated with an importation to a Container

signatory nation—its sales tax necessarily is imposed “by

reason of” or “in connexion with” one or more importa-

tions. Ex. 7, 13, 15, 22. Thus, Tennessee’s tax was im-

posed upon the time-value of “temporarily imported” con-

tainers throughout the term of each lease.

Indeed, the court below sensibly did not take issue with

the proposition that Tennessee’s sales tax on containers

is one imposed “by reason of” or “in connexion with” the

importation of the containers. Instead, the court avoided

a finding of preemption only by pointedly ignoring the

Conventions’ language, which the court nowhere so much

as mentioned. But when the language is considered, it

seems self-evident that the levy—which undoubtedly is a

“tax” within the meaning of both Conventions—must be

preempted.”

12 Although we find the Conventions unambiguous on this point,

it is worth adding that any doubt should be resolved in favor of

preemption. Cf. Air France, 470 U.S. at 396 (treaties “are con-

strued more liberally than private agreements”). Treaties must be

construed to effectuate the intent of the signatories—signatories

that are not concerned with respecting principles of American fed-

eralism. In contrast, preemption is disfavored in cases involving

federal statutes because Congress is presumed not to have sought

to displace state law. Consequently, as the Court has noted in

finding a state tax preempted by a treaty: “When a treaty provision

fairly admits of two constructions, one restricting, the other enlarg-

ing rights which may be claimed under it, the more liberal inter-

15

The “actual, reasonably harmonious practice adopted

by the United States and other signatories” to the Con-

ventions confirms this interpretation. Trans World Air-

lines, Inc. v. Franklin Mint Corp., 466 U.S. 248, 259

(1984). None of the 59 signatories—or their subna-

tional units, with the sole exception of Tennessee—has

sought to tax the transfer of containers. To the contrary,

those nations and their political subdivisions, including

the principal trading nations of the European Community

and Japan, have affirmatively exempted from their sales

and use tax equivalents all transactions involving con-

tainers that are engaged in international commerce.”

pretation is to be preferred. [Citations omitted.| And as the treaty-

making power is independent of and superior to the legislative power

of the States, the meaning of treaty provisions so construed is not

restricted by any necessity of avoiding possible conflict with State

legislation, and when so ascertained must prevail over inconsistent

State enactments.” Nielsen v. Johnson, 279 U.S. 47, 51-52 (1929).

‘8 The member countries of the European Community, for example,

have adopted a suggested uniform system of value added taxation

that imposes “output” and “input” taxes, which are collected in a

manner similar to sales and use taxes. O.J. European Comm. (No.

L 145) arts. 2, 6 (1977) (Sixth Directive 77/388). Cf. Trinova

Corp. v. Michigan Department of Treasury, 111 S. Ct. 818, 825 n.3

(1991). The leasing of goods is considered a taxable supply of

services. See Sixth Directive art. 6. The Community nevertheless

honors its member countries’ obligations under the Conventions by

exempting from value added taxation (1) imported goods that qual-

ify for Customs duty exemptions and (2) supplies of services that

are directly linked to the transit or export of goods. /d. arts.

14(1) (ec), 15(1). See United Kingdom Br. 7-8 & n.14 (explaining

operation of and exemptions to VAT). Similarly, Japan grants an

exemption under its consumption tax to rents from the lease of con-

tainers that are used in international commerce. Consumption Tax

Law, art. 17(2) (ii). Eleven of our principal trading partners have

lodged a diplomatic note with the State Department protesting the

Tennessee tax and representing that, “[c]onsistent with obligations

under the Conventions, neither the Governments [signatory to the

note] nor any political subdivisions impose sales taxes (or equiva-

lent taxes of different nomenclatures) on the lease of cargo con-

tainers thet are used in international commerce among the Con-

tracting Parties to the Conventions.” (A copy of the note is ap-

pended to the brief filed by the United Kingdom in this case.)

16

This uniform practice cuts powerfully in favor of pre-

emption here. Cf. O’Connor v. United States, 479 U.S.

27, 33 (1986); Air France, 470 U.S. at 403; Trans

World Airlines, 466 U.S. at 260.

Indeed, we have more in this case than the implicit

endorsement of our reading that may be derived from

the custom of nations. Eleven of our most significant

trading partners have lodged a note with the State De-

partment explaining their “view that the application of

Tennessee’s sales tax to leases of international-commerce

cargo containers is in direct contravention of the Govern-

ment of the United States’ undertakings in these Conven-

tions.” (A copy of the note is appended in the brief filed

in this case by the United Kingdom.) And the United

Kingdom, a signatory to the 1956 Convention and one

of the world’s leading maritime nations, has informed

the Court expressly that

International-commerce containers leased while in

Tennessee are there precisely “by reason of importa-

tion,” having entered the U.S. in the course of their

continuous use in the cross-border commerce that the

Convention is designed to facilitate. The presence

of a marine container, for example, in Tennessee is

due to its “temporary admission” into the United

States under Article 3 of the Convention, which al-

lows entry of a container into the territory of a Con-

tracting Party for only a limited time (up to three

months) before it once again embarks on a journey

on the high seas en route to the territory of another

Contracting Party. In other words, the container is

in Tennessee only by reason of the fact that it has

been imported as an international-commerce con-

tainer, i.e., “by reason of importation.”

Br. of the United Kingdom (“U.K.”) 7. In these cir-

cumstances, it would be “particularly inappropriate for

a court to sanction a deviation from the clear import of a

solemn treaty between this Nation and * * * foreign

sovereign{s], when, as here, there is no indication that

17

application of the words of the treaty according to their

obvious meaning effects a result inconsistent with the

intent or expectations of its signatories.” Maximov v.

United States, 373 U.S. 49, 54 (1963).

B. The Executive Branch and Congress Intended to

Preempt State Regulation of Federally Bonded Con-

tainers Used Exclusiveiy in Foreign Commerce

1. The Tax Is Inconsistent With The Objectives of

the Container Conventions

Tennessee’s tax is not invalid only because of the ex-

press language of the Conventions. It is equally pre-

empted if, “under the circumstances of this particular case,

[the tax} stands as an obstacle to the accomplishment

and execution of the full purposes and objectives of Con-

gress” and the Executive Branch. Hines v. Davidovitz,

312 U.S. 52, 67-68 (1941). Tennessee’s tax presents

such an obstacle.

The “container revolution” was driven by tremendous

savings in labor costs due to the elimination of inter-

mediate loading and unloading of cargo. Nevertheless,

transporting goods by container carried its own unique

disadvantage. The reusable metal containers are them-

selves valuable articles that were subject to duties and

taxes imposed as they travelled the oceans and conti-

nents—levies that would add to the cost, and thus dis-

courage the use, of container transport.

The signatories to the 1956 Container Convention de-

sired generally to “develop and facilitate the use of con-

tainers in international traffic’ by addressing this very

problem. The Convention accomplishes this goal by re-

ducing the cost of container use through the broad pro-

hibition of duties and taxes. In recommending that the

Senate consent to the United States’ accession to the

treaty, President Lyndon Johnson recognized that the

protections provided by the 1956 Convention not only

18

aided container transport generally but also were “of

special importance to those Americans engaged in busi-

ness in foreign countries” and would “aid the American

export drive.” President’s Letter of Transmittal, 1956

Customs Convention on Containers, 89th Cong., 2d Sess.

(June 30, 1966), reprinted in 108 Journal of the Execu-

tive Proceedings of the Senate, Pt. 1 at 668, 669 (1966).

The Senate thus consented to this country’s accession to

the 1956 Convention both to “simplify|] and facilitat|e]

the movemént of goods in international trade” generally

and to provide “direct benefit to American business inter-

ests in the territories of other parties to the conven-

tion[].” S. Rep. No. 1618, 90th Cong., 2d Sess. 2 (1968).

After its ratification, the 1956 Convention was imple-

mented in the United States by Treasury Department

regulations designating containers “instruments of in-

ternational traffic’ (19 C.F.R. 10.4la(a)(1)) and by a

statute excepting such instruments from application of

the Customs laws. 19 U.S.C. 1322(a).

Pointing to this regime, the United States explained

to this Court in Japan Line that “|a] state tax [on con-

tainers| would frustrate accomplishment of the federal

objective” (No. 77-1378, U.S. Br. 28) and therefore

“conflict|| with the spirit and design of the federal

scheme.”” /d. at 29 (footnote omitted). The Court agreed,

quoting from the 1956 Convention’s provision prohibiting

import duties and taxes and concluding that the “Con-

vention reflects a national policy to remove impediments

to the use of containers as ‘instruments of international

traffic.’ Japan Line, 441 U.S. at 453. The Court, utiliz-

ing “a species of pre-emption analysis” (Container Corp.

v. Franchise Tax Bd., 463 U.S. 159, 194 (1983), rea-

soned that California’s property tax on containers placed

“impediments before this Nation’s conduct of its foreign

relations and its foreign trade.” Japan Line, 441 U.S. at

453.

Since that time, the international! proscription on local

regulation of containers has become considerably stricter

19

with ratification of the 1972 Container Convention.

Adoption of the 1972 Convention was prompted by “the

considerable increase in numbers of containers used in

international traffic’ and the “need both for simplifying

Customs formalities and facilitating container transport.”

U.N. Doc. E/Conr. 59/2 (Feb. 22, 1971), at 1 (Note

by the Secretariat). As the United States noted in its

comment on the draft 1972 Convention, the revision of

the 1956 treaty was designed to “contribute significant

economic benefits to the development and facilitation of

international container traffic on a global basis.” U.N.

Doc. F ‘Conr. 59/16 (Nov. 26, 1971), at 2." The pre-

amble to the 1972 Convention thus affirms the treaty’s

purpose “to develop and facilitate international carriage

by container” (988 U.N.T.S. 43, 44), which it accom-

plishes, in part, through its prohibition of “Customs du-

ties and all other duties, taxes, fees and other charges”

on containers. /bid.

4 The United States further explained that its “role in the evolu-

tion of the container system” is “dedicated largely to eliminating the

artificial barriers which the division of the world into nation States

poses for efficient movement and trade.” U.N. Doc. E/COoNF.59/

IPG.2, Annex at 14 (Feb. 14-18, 1972). With regard to the contem-

poraneously-drafted International Convention for Safe Containers,

Dec. 2, 1972, [1979] (39 U.S.T. 3707), which establishes safety

standards for containers, the United States similarly commented

that “[a] plethora of dissimilar national regulations would work

great hardship upon the international system and would be at vari-

ance with the objective of facilitating container traffic on a global

basis.” U.N. Doc. E/Conr.59/IPG.2 at 15 (Feb. 14-18, 1972). With

respect to the proposed draft convention on the International Com-

bined Transport of Goods, the United States expressed related goals:

“The United States Government strongly supports the further de-

velopment of containerization which promises so much in reducing

unit transport cost. * * * It sees containerization as having a pro-

found effect in the transport system through the technology and

possibilities for efficiency inherent in it. Consequently, it maintains

that the legal and documentary regime governing the use of this

transport should be as forward-looking as the technology.” U.N.

Doc. E/Conr.59/24 at 3 (June 23, 1972).

20

The United States entered into the 1972 Convention,

as it had the 1956 Convention, both generally to encour-

age the use of containers and specifically to promote the

interests of American container owners. The Department

of State and the Senate both concluded not only that the

1972 Convention “should contribute significantly to the

development of international container traffic on a global

basis,” but also that “[a] primary effect of the Con-

vention will be to facilitate the use of United States-

owned and operated containers in international traffic

by ensuring that they receive treatment in the territories

of the Parties to the Convention similar to that which

is afforded to foreign-owned containers in the United

States at the present time.” Message from the Pres-

ident of the United States Transmitting the Customs Con-

vention on Containers, 1972, and the International Con-

vention for Safe Containers, both signed at Geneva on

Dec. 5, 1972, Exec. X, 93d Cong., Ist Sess. vi (1973);

Exec. Rep. No. 94-33, at 1.

Against this background, it is manifest that the im-

position of a tax on the transfer of containers would

frustrate federal policy in the most direct imaginable

manner: it would add expense to a transaction that Con-

gress intended to be cost-free—and it would substantially

reduce the very benefit that Congress intended to confer

by exempting containers from federal Customs duties.

The magnitude of this effect may be demonstrated on

the record here. During the tax audit period, reusable

cargo containers of the kind leased by Itel were subject

to Customs duty unless otherwise exempted. General

Headnotes 6(a) and (b) (ii) to the Tariff Schedules of

the United States (TSUS). Ad valorem Customs duties

during the audit period ranged from 2.5% to 0.6%.

TSUS 640.30. Because the replacement value of the con-

tainers leased during the audit period was $11,189,172,

the Customs exemption benefited Itel by some $178,550."°

15 The Tennessee Department of Revenue audited the delivery of

Itel’s containers in Tennessee from January 1, 1983 through Novem-

21

By comparison, Tennessee’s revised sales tax assessment

was $158,012, which nearly erased the benefit provided

by the Customs duty exemption. This charge on the

transfer of containers that have entered Tennessee surely

is an “impediment[] to the use of containers” in inter-

national traffic. Japan Line, 441 U.S. at 453, discourages

the “use of American-owned containers” and frustrates

the “American export drive.”’

2. McGoldrick and Xerox

In circumstances that are in all relevant respects iden-

tical to those here, this Court has invalidated state taxes

that substantially reduce economic benefits provided by

Congress. In McGoldrick v. Gulf Oil Corp., 309 U.S. 414

(1940), and Xerox Corp. v. Harris County, 459 U.S. 145

(1982), the Court held state sales and property taxes on

Customs bonded goods preempted by the federal Customs

bonded warehouse statutes. The federal statutes at issue

in those cases excepted the bonded goods only from Cus-

toms duties; the state sales and property taxes at issue

were not expressly prohibited."

ber 30, 1986, examining lease transaction data from two one-month

test periods (Feb. 15-Mar. 14, 1985 and Mar. 1986). Itel transferred

possession of 122 containers in Tennessee during the two test

months. The container leases establish replacement values ranging

from $2,875 to $6,560 for each container. The United States Customs

Service calculates the dutiable “transaction value” of imported leased

goods by determining the consideration that would be paid to pur-

chase identical goods. 19 C.F.R. 152.101(b). By projecting the

number and replacement value of the containers leased during the

test months for the full 47-month audit period, and by applying the

prevailing duty rates during each calendar year (2.5%, 1.9%, 1.3%

and 0.6%, respectively), the duties may be estimated. See TSUS

640.30; Tr. 33; Ex. 7, 13, 15, 22.

' The McGoldrick Court did not rely upon Art. 942 of the Customs

regulations that exempted bonded warehouse goods from state taxa-

tion, stating that the regulations expressed “only what is implicit in

the congressional regulation of commerce.” 309 U.S. at 429. The

Treasury Department later deleted the regulation exempting State

taxation, effective December 1, 1982. The deletion of the regulation

22

The McGoldrick and Xerox Courts examined the federal

objectives promoted by the Customs duty exemptions to

determine whether the state taxes were inconsistent with

them. The purpose of the exemption in McGoldrick was

to remedy a competitive disadvantage experienced by

American fuel oil manufacturers caused by a federal duty

upon the importation of crude petroleum. See 309 U.S.

at 427. The bonded warehouse statutes considered in

Xerox were enacted “to encourage merchants here and

abroad to make use of American ports” and “to stimu-

late business for American industry and work for Ameri-

cans.” 459 U.S. at 151. Exempting bonded goods from

import duties, the Court found, encourages those engaged

in foreign trade to transship goods through American

ports and stimulates the shipbuilding industry. See 459

U.S. at 150-151.

In both cases, the Court found the imposition of state

taxes on the bonded goods to be incompatible with the

policies underlying the Customs duty exemptions granted

by Congress. The McGoldrick Court concluded that the

imposition of a local sales tax upon the transfer of pos-

session of fuel oil would frustrate the objectives of the

federal regulation exempting the fuel from Customs

duties:

It is evident that the purpose of the Congressional

regulation of the commerce would fail if the state

were free at any stage of the transaction to impose

a tax which would lessen the competitive advantage

conferred on the importer by Congress, and which

might equal or exceed the remitted import duty.

309 U.S. at 429. The Xerox Court followed McGoldrick,

concluding that the state tax was large enough “to offset

substantially the very benefits Congress intended to

confer by remitting the duty.” 459 U.S. at 153.

did not alter the Xerox Court’s conclusion “that the ad valorem

taxes [were] preempted by the statutory scheme.” 459 U.S. at 152

n.8.

23

The common thread in McGoldrick and Xerox is that

the imposition of each state tax substantially reduced the

benefit provided to goods dedicated to foreign commerce.

In analyzing these cases, the Court noted that “|t]he dif-

ference in the types of taxes in the two cases was of no

importance, for imposition of either [a sales or a prop-

erty] tax would detract from the benefit accruing to the

importer from the waiver of the duty.” R.J. Reynolds

Tobacco Co. v. Durham County, 479 U.S. 130, 143 n.10

(1986). In other words, “{b]ecause the [federal govern-

ment’s] waiver of import duties [in Xerox] so clearly fur-

thered the Act’s purposes, any attempt to remove its bene-

fit, such as would occur through State taxation, was

incompatible with these goals.” Jd. at 143.

McGoldrick and Xerox compel a finding of preemption

here. The primary means selected by Congress to facili-

tate the use of containers is the waiver of Customs duties.

Tennessee’s sales tax of $158,012 upon Itel’s container

leases is “large enough * * * to offset substantially the

very benefits Congress intended to confer” by relinquish-

ing $178,550 in duties. Xerox, 459 U.S. at 153. Like the

American fuel oil] manufacturers in McGoldrick and the

American shipbuilders in Xerox, the imposition of Ten-

nessee’s tax upon Itel, an American container leasing com-

pany, discourages the use of “United States-owned and

operated containers.” Because more than $84 billion in

American exports are carried in containers annually, the

routine application of state sales and use taxes to con-

tainers will frustrate “the American export drive.”

More fundamentally, however, the frustration of fed-

eral policy is not limited to the Tennessee tax’s effect

on American industry. While the federal statutes in

McGoldrick and Xerox benefited only American interests,

the Container Conventions are designed generally to bene-

fit all signatories by encouraging the use of containers

internationally and thus lowering the cost of transporting

cargo. This purpose of the Conventions would fail if

Tennessee “were free at any stage of the transaction to

24

impose a tax which would lessen the * * * advantage con-

ferred” by its provisions. McGoldrick, 309 U.S. at 429.

Indeed, the United States’ interest in the regulation of

Customs-bonded containers is even more compelling than

its concern with the regulation of imported crude oil in

McGoldrick or the transshipment of copy machines in

Xerox. That is because containers also are the subject of

international treaties that prohibit local taxes, a factor

not present in McGoldrick or Xerox, As the system of

federal container regulation is just as pervasive as the

bonded warehouse system examined in those cases, the

United States regulatory scheme has left Tennessee no

room to impose general sales taxes upon containers.

The court below offered two reasons for declining to

follow McGoldrick and Xerox, which seem self-evidently

controlling here. First, it found the decisions inapposite

because, while the warehouse statutes were designed to

benefit American shippers and ports, “the Court in Japan

Line found no Congressional intent to benefit container

companies in the statutes regulating cargo containers.”

Pet. App. 10a. But that reasoning involves an obvious

non sequitur. Observing that the warehouse statutes and

the Container Conventions serve different purposes (even

if that observation is correct) has nothing to do with the

question whether the purposes served by both sets of pro-

visions are defeated by state taxation."’ And in fact, the

federal policy underlying the Container Conventions that’

was identified by the Court in Japan Line—general facili-

17[n fact, the court below was incorrect if it meant to suggest

that American participation in the Conventions was not designed to

benefit American container operators. As explained above, supra, at

17-18, President Johnson, in his message to the Senate, noted that

the 1956 Convention was “of special importance to those Americans

engaged in business in foreign countries” and would “aid the

American export drive.” President Nixon later explained that the

“[1972] Convention is important because it will insure United

States-owned containers the same treatment in the territories of

States parties to this Convention as that afforded in the United

States to foreign-owned containers.” Exec. X, 93d Cong., lst Sess.

iii (1972).

25

tation of the use of containers—is frustrated by a state

tax in precisely the same way as were the federal goals

at issue in McGoldrick and Xerox.

The Tennessee court also found preemption inappro-

priate because, in its view, “Congress’ regulation of cargo

containers is less pervasive than its regulation of bonded

warehouses.” Pet. App. 14a. In fact, the court was sim-

ply wrong in this; the relevant regulations (which were

not so much as cited by the court below) and the Con-

ventions themselves (whose terms were wholly ignored

by the court) impose elaborate requirements relating to

the admission, operation, and design of containers that

parallel those imposed on Customs warehouses.’*

18 See 1972 Convention art. 3-8, 988 U.N.T.S. 45-46 (temporary

admissions facilities and procedures); art. 9, id. at 46 (conditions

on use of containers granted temporary admission) ; art. 10-11, ibid.

(admission of parts and accessories) ; art. 12, id. at 47 (approval of

containers used to transport goods under Customs seal); Annex 1,

id. at 51-52 (identification and marking of containers); Annex 2,

id. at 52 (obligation of container owners to provide detailed records

concerning movement of temporarily admitted containers and to pay

duties when condition of admission not satisfied); Annex 3, id. at

52 (use of containers in internal traffic); Annex 4, id. at 52-61

(technical conditions on design and structure of containers) ; Annex

5, id. at 61-67 (procedures for approval of containers). Federal

regulations adopted under the authority of 19 U.S.C. 1322 and 19

U.S.C. 66 serve to comprehensively implement the directives of the

Conventions: 19 C.F.R. 10.4la (excepting containers from the re-

quirement of entry and payment of duties); 19 C.F.R. 113.66(a)

(bond conditions) ; 19 C.F.R. Pt. 115 (procedures for approval and

certification of containers). These regulations require that con-

tainers certified for transport under Customs seal meet the stringent

design and construction requirements provided by the Container

Conventions. Containers must be used solely in international com-

merce to qualify as “instruments of international traffic.” In the

event that a container is damaged, regulations detail the conditions

under which it may be repaired or destroyed without the imposition

of duties. Container owners must execute a special bond before

release of containers into the United States. If a container is di-

verted to intrastate or interstate commerce, regulations provide for

the payment of duties and liquidated damages. Neither the federal

26

More fundamentally, the state court’s observation about

the pervasiveness of federal regulation also is beside the

point. Whether or not the container regulations are as

detailed as those governing Customs bonded warehouses,

the crucial factor here is that the Tennessee tax frus-

trates federal policy. Cf. R.J. Reynolds Tobacco, 479

U.S. at 148-149. McGoldrick and Xerox make clear that

preemption is required in such circumstances."” Again,

the United States took the position in Japan Line that the

bonded warehouse provisions are “analogous” to the 1956

implementing statute nor the regulations allow local taxation of

containers.

While it is true that goods in Customs warehouses are held under

the supervision and control of Customs officers (see 19 C.F.R. 19.4;

Xerox, 459 U.S. at 147-148 & n.2) while containers are not, that is

wholly a function of the practicalities of container operation; con-

tainers, of course, must remain in continuous movement along with

the goods they transport. That does not detract either from the

pervasiveness of the container regulations or from the force of the

policies underlying those regulations. Indeed, while Customs officers

cannot accompany every container on every journey, the 1972 Con-

vention takes the next best step by providing that “the owner or

operator [of the container] * * * will undertake in writing * * * to

supply the Customs authorities, * * * at their request, detailed in-

formation concerning the movements of each container granted tem-

porary admission including the dates and places of entry into and

exit from [the] country.” Annex 2(2) (b) (i), 988 U.N.T-.S. at 52.

1® The court below also seemed to suggest that preemption is in-

appropriate because 19 U.S.C. 1322(a) excepts instrumentalities of

foreign commerce only from the Customs laws; the court concluded

that “[t]he regulations adopted pursuant to that statute, therefore,

can go no further than to provide exceptions from federal customs

duties.” Pet. App. 13a; see id. at 9a. In fact, however, the Conven-

tions themselves, which of course have the force of federal law,

expressly preclude taxes in addition to Customs duties. In any event,

the state court’s observation hardly serves to distinguish McGoldrick

and Xerox, which found preemptive force in statutes that in terms

addressed only Customs duties. And the property tax disapproved

in Japan Line as inconsistent with the 1956 Container Convention

was no more a Customs duty than is the sales tax at issue here.

27

Convention (No. 77-1378, U.S. Br. at 25), concluding

that “(t]he rationale of McGoldrick applies here as well.”

Id, at 27 (footnote omitted). That reasoning was cor-

rect, and preemption accordingly is warranted in this

case.

II. APPLICATION OF STATE SALES TAXES TO CON-

TAINERS USED EXCLUSIVELY IN FOREIGN

COMMERCE VIOLATES THE FOREIGN COM-

MERCE CLAUSE

Japan Line. The decision that established the prevail-

ing test for examination of state taxes on foreign com-

merce, Japan Line, providentially considered taxation of

containers subject to the 1956 Container Convention. The

Japan Line Court invalidated California’s property tax on

Japanese-owned containers used exclusively in foreign

commerce. 441 U.S. at 437. Because taxation of foreign

commerce creates an “enhanced risk of multiple taxa-

tion” and “may impair federal uniformity in an area

where federal uniformity is essential,” the Court con-

cluded that such taxes must be scrutinized more closely

than those on interstate commerce.” Jd. at 446, 448. If a

state tax either “creates a substantial risk of interna-

tional multiple taxation” or “prevents the Federal Gov-

ernment from ‘speaking with one voice when regulating

commercial relations with foreign governments,’” the tax

violates the Foreign Commerce Clause. /d. at 451.

California’s property tax failed both prongs of the test.

Since Japan collected a property tax on the full value of

the containers, California’s apportioned tax inevitably re-

sulted in multiple taxation. Jd. at 451-452. California’s

tax also prevented the United States from “speaking with

one voice” in regulating foreign trade:

20 The tax must first satisfy the four-part test enunciated in

Complete Auto Transit, Inc. v. Brady, 430 U.S. 274 (1977), for

taxation of interstate commerce.

28

The desirability of uniform treatment of contain-

ers used exclusively in foreign commerce is evidenced

by the Customs Convention on Containers, which the °

United States and Japan have signed. [citation

omitted]. Under this Convention, containers tempo-

rarily imported are admitted free of “all duties and

taxes whatsoever chargeable by reason of importa-

tion.” 20 U.S.T., at 304. The Convention reflects

a national policy to remove impediments to the use

of containers as “instruments of international traf-

fic.” 19 U.S.C. § 1322 (a).

Id. at 452-453. The Court swiftly concluded that Cali-

fornia’s tax would “frustrate aitainment of federal uni-

formity” because the risk of Japanese retaliation against

American-owned containers was acute. Ibid. Moreover, if

other States followed California’s example, “foreign-

owned containers [would] be subjected to various de-

grees of multiple taxation, depending on which Ameri-

can ports they enter,” preventing the United States from

“speaking with one voice” in international trade. [bid.

The kinship between this case and Japan Line is strik-

ing. The articles taxed are identical. The containers

were used exclusively in foreign commerce and regulated

by one or both of the Container Conventions, 19 U.S.C.

§1322(a) and 19 C.F.R. §10.4la. Federal Customs

bonds secured the containers from diversion to domestic

commerce. The containers were in constant transit save

for time spent undergoing repair or awaiting loading and

unloading of cargo. The containers engaged in no intra-

state or interstate transportation of cargo except as con-

tinuations of international voyages. Any movements or

periods of nonmovement of containers in the taxing juris-

diction were essential to, and inseparable from, the con-

tainers’ efficient use as instrumentalities of foreign com-

merce. 441 U.S. at 436-37; Stip. 2, 21, 76, 77, 79, 82;

Pet. App. 27a, 35a.

In nevertheless distinguishing Japan Line—which it

evidently recognized otherwise would be controlling—the

Ee ee ee

;

:

:

1

;

+

;

29

Tennessee court found a difference of constitutional di-

mension between California’s property tax and Tennes-

see’s sales tax. See Pet. App. 16a. The court explained

that “the transfer of possession of cargo containers is a

discrete transaction, occurring only within Tennessee,

which creates no risk of multiple international taxation.”

Id. at 14a (footnote omitted). As for the other concerns

identified in Japan Line, the court similarly reasoned that

none “are implicated by a sales tax on a discrete trans-

action occurring only in one jurisdiction.” Jd. at 16a.

These conclusions, however, were far too facile: the Ten-

nessee tax raises precisely the dangers to foreign com-

merce and to this nation’s international relations that

were dispositive in Japan Line.

A. Tennessee’s Sales Tax Creates a Substantial Risk

of International Multiple Taxation

Tennessee’s Tax Invites Multiple Taxation. At the

outset, the court below was simply wrong in suggesting

that, because the taxable event occurs only in one juris-

diction, duplicative taxation is impossible in the case of

a transaction tax. Tennessee’s sales tax is imposed on

the “full value” of the proceeds from container leases.

Because Tennessee’s only nexus with the lease transactions

is a naked transfer of possession, foreign nations may

impose a tax on other incidents of the leases, such as

their execution, that occur within their borders. Others

might tax the use of containers within their jurisdiction.

The prospect of such taxes is hardly hypothetical. As

might be expected, some of the 59 Convention signa-

tories and their innumerable political subdivisions—which

among them employ every imaginable type of taxation—

impose use taxes on leased goods. Others, such as the

members of the European Community, assess value added

taxes on lessees who make productive use of leased prop-

erty. Were containers used in international commerce

not specifically excepted from application of these value

added taxes (see page 15 & n.13, supra), a lessee obtain-

30

ing a container in Tennessee and transporting it to Europe

accordingly would be liable to pay a value added tax on

precisely the same base as that already subjected to tax

in the State—the gross proceeds of the lease.*' And the

prospect that foreign taxes of this sort could be directed

at values already taxed by Tennessee are greatly com-

pounded by the reach of the state levy: once a container

is transferred to the lessee in Tennessee, the State applies

its tax to all amounts paid throughout the course of what

may be a very long and indefinite lease period.

The imposition of such foreign levies based upon the

execution of the lease or use of the container is indeed

equivalent to Temnessee’s sales tax.” All are imposed on

21 The member countries of the European Community typically

define a “taxable person” to include any company that exploits

“tangible * * * property for the purpose of obtaining income there-

from on a continuing basis.” OJ. European Comm. (No. L 145)

Art. 4 (1977) (Sixth Directive 77/388). EC member nations clearly

wouid have sufficient taxing nexus to impose a tax upon leased con-

tainers used within their borders since “the place where [taxable |

transport services are supplied is the place where the transport takes

place, having regard to the distances covered.” Jd. art. 9(2)(b).

And each taxing jurisdiction applies the tax to “everything which

coustitutes the consideration which has been or is to be obtained by

the supplier from the purchaser.” Jd. Art. 11(A)(1)(a). The

United Kingdom offers an example of this effect, describing the

operation of its tax statutes. See U.K. Br. 8.

22 Tennessee itself recognizes the equivalence between its sales

tax and compensating use taxes by providing a sales-tax offset

for use taxes that are paid to other States when interstate commerce

is involved. ‘fenn. Code Ann. 67-6-313(f) (1989), -507 (1990).

While the Court has formally reserved in the interstate setting

whether a State that imposes a compensating use tax is constitu-

tionally compelled to provide a credit for sales tax paid elsewhere

(see Williams v. Vermont, 472 U.S. 14, 23 n.7 (1985) ), it seems plain

that the taxes are equivalent. See Henneford v. Silas Mason Co.,

300 U.S. 577, 583-587 (1937); D.H. Holmes Co. v. McNamara, 486

U.S. 24, 31 (1988) (the “taxing scheme is fairly apportioned, for

it provides a credit against its use tax for sales taxes that have been

paid in other States”) ; Goldberg v. Sweet, 488 U.S. 252, 264 (1989)

(“to the extent that other States’ telecommunication taxes pose a

31

the full value of the same lease. And, as explained b:

the United Kingdom (Br. at 7-9), foreign salen have 4

sufficient taxable nexus to tax the lease proceeds. That

the labels selected by Tennessee and foreign nations to

characterize their taxes are different “does not permit

[the] Court to forgo examination of the actual tax

base . * *. ‘A tax on sleeping measured by the number

of pairs of shoes you have in your closet is a tax on

shoes.’” Trinova Corp. v. Michigan Dept. of Treasury,

111 S. Ct. 818, 829 (1991) (citation omitted).

The risk that foreign nations will apply equivalent

taxes to container leases is real. In the event that this

Court rules that the imposition of the tax is not pre-

empted by the Container Conventions, the remaining 44

States thac impose a form of sales taxation will likely

follow Tennessee’s example. The other 58 signatory na-

tions that have relinquished their right to collect revenues

on containers will be encouraged to respond by taxing all

container leases or singling out containers owned or

leased by American companies. Because Tennessee’s tax

is based upon “full value,” like Japan’s tax in Japan

Line, even if a foreign nation “should seek to tax the

same instrumentality on an apportioned basis, multiple

a inevitably results.” Japan Line, 441 U.S. at

447.

In the face of this prospect of multiple taxation, the

lower court’s conclusion that “the transfer of possession

of cargo containers in Tennessee is a discrete transaction,

occurring only within Tennessee, which creates no risk

of multiple international taxation,” was based upon a

plain misreading of this Court’s decision in Wardair Can-

ada, Inc. v. Florida Dept. of Revenue, 477 U.S. 1 (1986).

The Wardair Court’s conclusory remark dismissing the

risk of multiple taxation arising from a sales tax on

aviation fuel was based upon the taxpayer’s concession

risk of multiple taxation, the credit provision contained in the Tax

Act operates to avoid actual multiple taxation’).

32

and unique circumstances concerning the product taxed.

The Wardair court found that Article 24(a) ¢° the Chi-

cago Convention on International Civil Aviation prohib-

ited States from taxing aviation fuel that is “ ‘on board

an aircraft * * * on arrival * * * and retained on

board on leaving’ a contracting party; it does not pro-

hibit taxation of fuel purchased in that country.” Jd. at

10. In addition, as the United States explained, aviation

fuel is a product that is consumed during the journey

to the next potential taxing jurisdiction. U.S. Br. in

support of prob. jur., No. 84-902, at 31. Thus, fuel sold

in Florida could not be subjected to a multiple tax

burden upon arrival abroad.

Multiple Taxation of Foreign Commerce. Duplicative

taxation invariably has been deemed fatal to state levies

in the interstate context because, by making an inter-

state transaction more expensive than an equivalent one

that is performed entirely within one State, such taxes

“exert[] an inexorable hydraulic pressure on interstate

businesses to ply their trade within” one State “rather

than ‘among the several States.’” American Trucking

Ass’ns v. Scheiner, 483 U.S. 266, 286-287 (1987) (cita-

tion omitted). See, e.g., Japan Line, 441 U.S. at 446,

447; Evco v. Jones, 409 U.S. 91, 94 (1972); Standard

Oil Co. v. Peck, 342 U.S. 382, 384-385 (1952). That

conclusion applies with greatly increased force in the

setting of foreign commerce, where “[e]ven a slight over-

lapping of tax—a problem that might be deemed de

minimis in a domestic context—assumes importance when

sensitive matters of foreign relations and national sov-

ereignty are concerned.” Japan Line, 441 U.S. at 456.

The propriety of this understanding—that a state tax

cannot survive when it is the cause of inevitable multiple

taxation—is confirmed by the Court’s decision in Con-

tainer Corp. There, the Court upheld California’s method

of apportioning foreign source income to itself for pur-

poses of its corporate income tax, rejecting the claim

that the use by other nations of differing income alloca-

a te a

ee ed

Se ee ns ee a

la te Pity

33

tion methods would lead to impermissible multiple tax-

ation. But the Court added that, “[i]f California’s method

of formula apportionment ‘inevitably’ led to double tax-

ation * * * that might be reason enough to render it

suspect.” 463 U.S. at 192-193. See Japan Line, 441 U.S.

at 455 (“This case * * * involves no mere mathematical im-

precision in apportionment; it involves a situation where

true apportionment does not exist and cannot be policed

by this Court at all”). Here, Tennessee seeks to tax the

full value of container leases, rather than apportioning

the value of the lease by time or distance. Accordingly,

the fact of multiple taxation flows from the nature of

Tennessee’s tax, in contrast to the dilemma in Container

Corp. of trading one allocation method that “sometimes

results in double taxation” in favor of another that

creates the same risk. 463 U.S. at 193.

It is plain, moreover, that when duplicative taxation

Is present the state tax must yield to the one imposed

by a foreign nation. Holding in Japan Line that even an

apportioned state tax must fall when it leads to duplica-

tive taxation of foreign commerce, the Court emphasized

that a state levy “must be evaluated in the realistic frame-

work of the custom of nations. Japan has the right and

the power to tax [the taxpayers’] containers at their full

value; nothing could prevent it from doing so.” 441 U.S.

at 454. Indeed, the impossibility of assuring foreign

*8 If that conclusion is not sufficient to invalidate the tax, the other

factors also considered by the Court in Container Corp.—the con-

text in which the double taxation takes place and the alternatives

reasonably available to the taxing state” (463 U.S. at 189)—also

militate against the Tennessee tax’s constitutionality. Tennessee

may “entirely eliminate one important source of double taxation

simply by adhering to one bright-line rule: do not [ impose a sales

or use] tax, to any extent whatsover, [on] cargo containers ‘that

are * * * used exclusively in international commerce * * *,’” Jd. at

189-30, quoting Jupan Line, 441 U.S. 444. To require Tennessee to

adhere to this rule is “by no means unfair, because the rule [does]

no more than reflect consistent international practice and express

federal policy.” Jd. at 190.

34

compliance with our notions of tax equity requires that

the state levy fall even when it is the foreign tax that

is in some sense the more responsible for the duplicative

taxation. “In interstate commerce, if the domiciliary

State is ‘to blame’ for exacting an excessive tax, this

Court is able to insist upon rationalization of the ap-

portionment. * * * [H]owever, this Court is powerless

to correct malapportionment of taxes imposed from

abroad in foreign countries.” /bid.**

The “Risk” Test. Although the Court did not reach

the question in Japan Line (see 441 U.S. at 452 n.17), it

plainly should not matter to this analysis that Itel’s lease

transaction now faces the risk, rather than the actuality,

of multiple taxation. In assessing claims of duplicative

taxation in the interstate setting, the Court has regarded

it as elementary that “the constitutionaliy of [one

State’s] tax should not depend on the vagaries of [an-

other State’s] tax policy.” Mobil Oil Co. v. Commis-

sioner of Taxes, 445 U.S. 425, 444 (1980). The reason

for that is manifest: “The immunities implicit in the

Commerce Clause and the potential taxing power of the

State can hardly be made to depend, in the world of prac-

tical affairs, on the shifting incidence of the varying tax

laws of the various States at a particular moment.” Free-

man v. Hewit, 329 U.S. 249, 256 (1946). See generally

Tyler Pipe Industries, Inc. v. Washington State Dept. of

Revenue, 483 U.S. 232, 242 (1987); Armco Ine. v. Har-

24 Here, of course, there is no sense in which Tennessee has the

greater entitlement to impose its tax: value added taxes are re-

garded as entirely legitimate by “the custom of nations” and are,

in fact, among the most widely used form of taxation in the world.

Having said this, it of course bears emphasis that, apart from inter-

national obligations such as the Container Conventions, it is within

the power of Congress either itself to impose duplicative taxes on

foreign commerce or to authorize such taxes by the States. But

unless it does so, the States must take the international regime of

taxing authority as they find it, and must refrain from the imposi-

tien of duplicative taxes that will have a destructive effect on the

conduct of international trade.

eee Oe

ee ee ee a eee ee ae

a me we

ete ee ee

35

desty, 467 U.S. 638, 644-645 (1984). That reasoning has

greatly magnified force in the international context, where

the laws of more than 50 nations and thousands of sub-

national units intersect.

In fact, a test that turned on the presence of actual

multiple taxation would be both unmanageable and wholly

divorced from the purposes of the Commerce Clause.

Having the validity of a tax depend upon whether the

taxpayer already had paid a tax in another jurisdiction—

a sort of “first-come, first-tax basis’” (I J. Hellerstein,

State Taxation, $ 4.6[1]{b] at 119 (1983) )}—would sim-

ply be irrational; it would have taxing power turn on the

order of particular transactions and the alacrity of the

local taxing authorities. And in the setting of foreign

commerce, a test that looked to whether other taxing jur-

isdictions actually had tax laws on the books that might

be employed against the taxpayer would require United

States courts to master the tax laws of many other juris-

dictions, while inviting continuing disputes about the

equivalence (and thus about the economic substance) of

foreign taxes that are based on unfamiliar theories.

Such a test also would be impossible to administer when

the tax at issue involved a sale or lease of property that

was to travel in foreign commerce to destinations (and

taxing authorities) not yet identified. See generally id.

at 117-120.

Indeed, a requirement of actual multiple taxation would

have an especially perverse effect in this case. Other na-

tions have specifically withheld exercise of their taxing

authority against containers in deference to the Con-

tainer Conventions, as part of an attempt to encourage

unrestricted international trade. Having the forbearance

of those nationse validate Tennessee’s tax would be a

peculiar irony that cannot be required by the policies

underlying the Foreign Commerce Clause.

Discriminatory Scheme of Tax Credits. The harmful

effects of the duplicative taxation threatened by the Ten-

36

nessee system is compounded by a related element of the

state tax regime: it discriminates against foreign and

in favor of interstate commerce. In Japan Line, Cali-

fornia imposed a non-discriminatory apportioned tax

that collided with Japan’s right to tax the “full value” of

the containers. Here, Tennessee has chosen to “prevent

actual multi-state taxation” by providing a credit for com-

pensating taxes “paid in another state” without provid-

ing a corresponding credit for taxes paid in a foreign

nation. Tenn. Code Ann. 67-6-313(f). Thus, while the

full value of intrastate and interstate container leases

may be taxed only once, Tennessee does not even attempt

to relieve container leases from multiple foreign tax

burdens.

B. Tennessee’s Tax Prevents the United States From

Speaking With One Voice in Regulating Foreign

Trade

While the prospect of duplicative taxation is enough to

invalidate application of Tennessee’s tax, the “one voice”

test articulated in Japan Line provides an independent

basis to scuttle the tax. The tax fails the “one voice”

standard if it “either implicates foreign policy issues

which must be left to the Federal Government or violates

a clear federal directive.” Container Corp., 463 U.S. at

194. The Court has recognized that the second considera-

tion is “essentially a species of pre-emption analysis.”

Ibid. For the reasons explained above, the collision be-

tween the purposes of the Container Conventions and

Tennessee’s tax makes clear that the levy cannot survive

that inquiry. But the tax also must fall because it “im-

plicates foreign policy issues which must be left to the

Federal Government.” /bid.

Interference with Foreign Relations. In Japan Line,

California’s taxation of Japanese-owned containers im-

plicated foreign policy issues because it created a risk

of retaliatory taxes upon American-owned containers in

Japan. Japan Line, 441 U.S. at 453. Like California’s

—- rn ee

37 :

property tax, Tennessee’s sales tax on containers is “a

novel state tax [that] creates an asymmetry in the in-

ternational tax structure” (id. at 450)—a_ proposition

that the Tennessee court did not dispute. Instead, the

court asserted that the risk of foreign retaliation is not

“implicated by a sales tax on a discrete transaction oc-

curring only in one jurisdiction.” Pet. App. 16a. This

ipse dixit is insupportable.**

There is no reason to doubt that imposition of Ten-

nessee’s sales tax on containers owned by foreign con-

tainer lessors will invite retaliation by other nations.?°

And the prospect that the Tennessee tax will irritate for-

eign interests is not limited just to its direct effects on

foreign lessors. Although the legal incidence of Tennes-

see’s sales tax falls upon Itel, a Delaware corporation

headquartered in California, state law mandates that the

tax be separately stated on the bill submitted to the lessee

and requires that the tax “be collected by the retailer

from the consumer insofar as it can be done.” Tenn.

*5 In Wardair, which involved a Florida sales tax similar to the

one at issue here, Justice Blackmun, the only Member of the Court

to reach the constitutional issue, flatly rejected reasoning of the sort

relied upon by the state court here. As he explained, “[t]he tax

imposed in this case by Florida * * * is indistinguishable, for Com-

merce Clause purposes, from the tax imposed by California on con-

tainers in Japan Line.” 477 U.S. at 18 (Blackmun, J., dissenting).

That was the case, he continued, because “other countries may react

to Florida’s tax with various retaliatory measures against United

States carriers abroad, retaliation that ‘of necessity would be felt

by the Nation as a whole.’” Jd. at 20, quoting Japan Line, 441 U.S.

at 453. The Court held in Wardair that the Federal Government had

affirmatively permitted application of the Florida tax, notwithstand-

ing the levy’s effects on foreign commerce. See 477 U.S. at 3-4,

9-10, 12. The Court expressly reserved the question discussed by

Justice Blackmun, noting that “nothing in this opinion should be

understood to address[] whether, in the absence of the international

agreements [permitting state taxation], the Foreign Commerce

Clause would invalidate Florida’s tax.” Jd. at 13.

26 The record establishes that at least one foreign container owner

transfers containers to lessees in Tennessee. Tr. 89-90.

38

Code Ann. 67-6-502. This obligation to collect the tax

from the lessee is mandatory. See Hooten v. Carson, 209

S.W.2d 273, 275 (Tenn. 1948). Indeed, a seller or lessor

who fails to collect the tax at the time of the transaction

may bring an action against the purchaser or lessee for

the amount due or paid. See Sam Carey Lumber Co. v.

Siaty-One Cabinet Shop, Inc., 773 S.W.2d 252, 254-55

(Tenn. App. 1989).

Thus, the practical and legal burden of the tax falls in

substantial part on Itel’s lessees, 80% of which during

the tax period were steamship lines domiciled in foreign

countries. Tr. 31-33. Most of those nations have signed

the Container Conventions (Tr. 30-31) and thus now

refrain from collecting taxes on the transfer of contain-

ers. But if forced to pay the tax, Itel’s foreign customers

may well demand that their governments impose corre-

sponding tax burdens on American shipping companies

who lease containers overseas. “The risk of retaliation

* * * under these circumstances, is acute, and such re-

taliation of necessity would be felt by the Nation as a

whole.” 441 U.S. at 453. As in Japan Line, “[t)his re-

sult, obviously, would make ‘speaking with one voice’ im-

possible.” Jbid.

The prospect of retaliation here, it should be empha-

sized, is not hypothetical. The United Kingdom, in its

submission to this Court, has represented that “[i]f the

United States were now to interpret the Convention other

than in the manner in which it has been uniformly imple-

mented for decades, the United Kingdom and other na-

tions of similar persuasion are not likely to tolerate a

situation in which they refrain from imposing taxes while

U.S. political subdivisions impose theirs.” U.K. Br. at

10-11.. Not surprisingly, the Court has rejected the con-

tention that a State is free to impose such “demonstrable

burdens” on the commerce of the United States. Japan

Line, 441 U.S. at 454.

The Need for a Uniform National Rule. The substan-

tial likelihood that it will provoke retaliatory action by

NR la at ain ce tee et I

ee ee es

|

‘

:

R

:

}

:

:

G

39

other nations is not the only way in which the Tennessee

tax “would make ‘speaking with one voice’ impossible.”

Japan Line, 441 U.S. at 453. The area of container

taxation is one that, the United States and its trading

partners have made clear through their actions, must

be addressed at a national level. Yet, as in Japan Line,

“liJf other States follow [Tennessee’s] example * * *,

foreign-owned containers will be subjected to various

degrees of multiple taxation, depending on which Amer-

ican ports they enter.” Jd. at 453. At the same time,

Tennessee’s tax, while of parochial benefit to that one

State, will increase the price both of containers travel-

ing through the United States and of the cargo exported

in them. As the Court has suggested in a related setting,

that will have “harmful effects on American industry and

workers” by discouraging use of American ports and

the consumption overseas of American goods. R.J. Rey-

nolds, 479 U.S. at 145. The requirements of the Foreign

Commerce Clause surely mean that Tennessee, “by its

unilateral act, cannot be permitted to place these im-

pediments before this Nation’s conduct of its foreign

relations and its foreign trade.” Japan Line, 441 U.S. at

453.

Itel’s Domestic Domicile. It is worth adding that, for

present purposes, it is immaterial that Itel is a domestic

domiciliary. The court belew, of course, disclaimed re-

liance on that consideration. See Pet. App. 7a-8a. It

may be that, in certain factual circumstances, a tax on

domestic taxpayers will be less likely than one on foreign

concerns to disturb international relations. Cf. Container

Corp., 463 U.S. at 195. But that is not the case here.

The tax here must be passed on to Itel’s customers, most

of whom are foreigners who surely will complain to their

governments. That is powerfully demonstrated by the

support accorded Itel in this Court by associations both

of domestic and foreign container lessors and lessees.

See Br. of Asia North America Eastbound Rate Agree-

40

ment, et al.; Br. of Cronos Containers, et al; Br. of Pa-

cific Merchant Shipping Ass’n, et al. And it is par-

ticularly telling that the United Kingdom has taken

the unusual step of expressing its views to this Court—

and that many of our trading partners have filed a

diplomatic note challenging the Tennessee tax—in a case

that does not involve one of their domiciliaries. As in

Japan Line, the state tax thus plainly prevents the United

States from speaking with one voice in regulating foreign

trade.

III. TENNESSEE’S TAX VIOLATES THE IMPORT-

EXPORT CLAUSE

A. The Purpose of the Clause

The Import-Export Clause provides that “No State

shall, without the Consent of Congress, lay any Imposts

or Duties on Imports or Exports, except what may be

absolutely necessary for executing its Inspection Laws.”

U.S. Const. Art. I, § 10, cl. 2. In Michelin Tire Corp. v.

Wages, 423 U.S. 276 (1976), the Court explained the

purpose of the Clause: “In effect, the Clause was fash-

ioned to prevent the imposition of exactions which were

no more than transit fees on the privilege of moving

through a State.” Jd. at 290 (citing License Cases, 5

How. 504, 575-576 (1847) (Taney, C.J.)). While the

Court has explained that “the term ‘Impost or Duty’ is

not self-defining and does not necessarily encompass all

taxes” Washington Revenue Dept. v. Association of

Washington Stevedoring Cos., 435 U.S. 734, 759 (1978) ),

the Court has never construed the Clause to permit the

type of state tax imposed by Tennessee—a direct tax on

goods merely in transit through the State.

Indeed, it was commonly understood at the Constitu-

tional Convention of 1787 that States were not to be

permitted to place direct taxes on exports. During the

debate on the last draft of the Tax Clause (Art. I,

$8, cl. 1), James Madison, contending that the Federal

ed ee ee ee ee ee eee Late Se ae

|

|

|

.

|

:

41

Government should have the power to tax exports, argued

that since “the States cannot with propriety exercise it

[the power of taxing exports] separately, it ought to

be vested in them collectively.” 2 M. Farrand, The Rec-

ords of the Federal Convention of 1787, p. 306 (1911):

(emphasis added). Later, the predecessor to the Import-

Export Clause was amended by “insert[ing] after the

word ‘imports’ the words ‘or exports’ so as to prohibit

the States from taxing either.” Id. at 442 (emphasis

added).

By definition, cargo containers that are traveling in

international commerce pursuant to the Conventions have

characteristics both of imports and of exports; they have

arrived in this country from overseas and will imme-

diately leave as part of a continuous journey. The im-

position of a tax on these containers, which are “instru-

mentalities of foreign commerce, both as a matter of fact

and as a matter of law” (Japan Line, 441 U.S. at 445-

46), cannot be reconciled with the Import-Export Clause.

B. The Richfield Decision

It is undeniable that the Tennessee tax is unconsti-

tutional under the principles announced in this Court’s

earlier holdings applying the Clause, where “the dis-

positive question was whether the goods had entered the

‘export stream,’ the final, continuous journey out of the

country.” Washington Stevedoring, 485 U.S. at 752. The

Court thus held in Richfield Oil Corp. v. State Board of

Equalization, 329 U.S. 69 (1946) that California’s sales

tax imposed on a shipment of oil bound for New Zealand

violated the Import-Export Clause. Like the tax here,

the state tax invalidated in Richfield was a generally-

applicable sales tax levied on sellers “[f]or the priv-

ilege of selling tangible personal property at retail,”

who in turn were “authorized to collect the tax from the

consumers.” 329 U.S. at 83. The Richfield Court dis-

missed the State’s attempt to label the tax as a mere

42

“privilege” tax that did not fall directly on the goods

and determined that where “the incident which gave

rise to the accrual of the tax was a step in the export

process” (id. at 84), the tax constituted an impost upon

an export and therefore was unconstitutional. /d. at 86.

Richfield is on all fours with the situation here: it

invalidated a general state sales tax upon the transfer

in the taxing jurisdiction of goods that were being sent

abroad. The Tennessee tax therefore may survive only

if Richfield no longer is good law.

C. The Michelin Analysis

As the Fifth Circuit recently noted, “Richfield has not

been overruled.” Louisiana Land & Exploration Co. v.

Pilot Petroleum Corp., 900 F.2d 816, 819 (5th Cir.), cert.

denied, 111 S. Ct. 248 (1990). In Michelin and Wash-

ington Stevedoring, however, the Court announced a new

test to determine whether a nondiscriminatory state tax

levied on imported or exported goods no longer in transit

violates the Import-Export Clause. This approach looks

at the three policies that underlie the Clause:

[T]he Federal Government must speak with one voice

when regulating commercial relations with foreign

governments, and tariffs, which might affect foreign

relations, could not be implemented by the States con-

sistently with that exclusive power; import revenues

were to be the major source of revenue of the Fed-

eral Government and should not be diverted to the

States; and harmony among the States might be dis-

turbed unless seaboard States, with their crucial

ports of entry, were prohibited from levying taxes

on citizens of other States by taxing goods merely

flowing through their ports to the other States not

situated as favorably geographically.

Michelin, 423 U.S. at 285-286 (footnotes omitted); see

Washington Stevedoring, 435 U.S. at 752-53.°7

27 The Washington Stevedoring Court stated that a State tax on

exports “can be tested for its conformance with the first and third

43

The Michelin Court held that the state property tax

in that case did not violate any of the three policies, but

emphasized that the levy was imposed “on imported

goods that are no longer in import transit.” 423 U.S.

at 286 (emphasis added) ; see id. at 302 (goods “were no

longer in transit”). In so holding, the Court strongly

suggested that the imposition of a tax on goods that

are in transit could not stand, noting that “[i]n effect,

the Clause was fashioned to prevent the imposition of

exactions which were no more than transit fees on the

privilege of moving through a State.” /d. at 290 (foot-

note omitted). The Court therefore explained that the

third purpose of the Clause “may be secured merely by

prohibiting the assessment of even nondiscriminatory * * *

taxes on goods which are merely in transit through the

State when the tax is assessed.” J/bid.

In Washington Stevedoring, the Court noted this limi-

tation on the Michelin holding and left open the possi-

bility that state taxes on goods in transit remain uncon-

stitutional. Because the tax in that case fell “upon a

service distinct from the goods and their value” (435

U.S. at 757), the Washington Stevedoring Court upheld

Washington’s business and occupation tax on stevedoring

services. In so holding, the Court stated that it did “not

reach the question of the applicability of the Michelin

approach when a State directly taxes imports or exports

in transit.” Jd. at 757 n.23.

Most recently, in R.J. Reynolds, the Court again “ob-

served that in Michelin [the Court] limited its holding

to the imported goods ‘no longer in transit.’” 479 U.S.

at 154 (citation omitted). The Court upheld the property

tax there at issue because the imported material had

policies” enunciated in Michelin. 435 U.S. at 758. The second policy

—protecting federal revenues—is not implicated because the Con-

stitution forbids federal taxation of exports. U.S. Const., Art. I, § 9,

cl. 5; see Washington Stevedoring, 435 U.S. at 758.

44

“nothing transitory about it.” Jd. at 155. Richfield is

reconcilable with Michelin and Washington Stevedoring

on that basis: the goods subject to the state sales tax

in Richfield were in transit (they were actually heading

into the hold of a foreign vessel) when the levy attached.

See Richfield 329 U.S. at 82-83.

D. The Richfield Holding Is Valid After Michelin

In our view, the instinct that led the Court repeatedly

to suggest that state taxes on goods in transit may be

per se unconstitutional is sound. As one of the leading

commentators in this area has explained, a

basis for deciding the in-transit tax cases under the

new Import-Export jurisprudence may be found in

the purpose of the clause to prevent the seaboard

States from exacting a tax on “goods merely flowing

through their ports.” A sales tax on goods being ex-

ported that is imposed at the point of delivery of title

and possession of the goods to the purchaser or his

shipper for transport to the purchaser can be fairly

regarded as such an exaction and, therefore, as a

“transit fee” that is repugnant to the Import-Export

Clause.

I Hellerstein, supra § 5.4 at 189-90 (footnotes omitted).

The Fifth Circuit has come to an identical conclusion,

holding recently that the Clause invalidates “a [state

sales] tax that is levied on the goods themselves while

they are in transit.” Louisiana Land, 900 F.2d at 820.

This case graphically demonstrates the wisdom of such

an approach. The containers subject to tax simply pass

through Tennessee en route to other destinations. The

containers’ only contact with the State is their delivery

there to a common carrier for transfer elsewhere in the

first step of an“export journey; indeed, the containers

were not subjected to tax until they were delivered to a

common carrier for transport overseas. Tennessee thus

is taking advantage of its “favorabl[e]” location (Mich-

a te et ie Me

:

I

:

45

elin, 423 U.S. at 286) as a convenient spot for the

transfer of containers to “exact[] a tax on ‘goods merely

flowing through [its] ports.’” I Hellerstein, supra, at

189. That aspect of the levy is made especially clear by

the operation of the tax: once possession of a container

is transferred in Tennessee, the State continues to tax

the proceeds as the lessees’ per diem obligations add up

throughout the extended life of the lease. Tennessee

thus asserts that, once the containers have passed through

the State, it is permitted to impose a continuing tax on

them as they accompany import and export shipments

around the world. This is surely an appropriate setting

for the invalidation “of even nondiscriminatory * * *

taxes on goods which are merely in transit through the

State when the tax is assessed.” Michelin, 423 U.S. at

290.

It is worth adding that, if the Import-Export Clause is

not understood to establish a per se bar on the taxation

of goods in transit, it will serve hardly any purpose at

all. The first and third elements of the Michelin test

are essentially identical to policies already effected by

the Commerce Clause, while the second Michelin policy

has no bearing in cases involving exports.** Yet the

*8 The first element, which looks to the necessity that the Federal

Government speak with “one voice when regulating commercial rela-

tions with foreign governments,” requires “the same inquiry as to

the effect of a state tax as the Foreign Commerce Clause.” Japan

Line, 441 U.S. at 449 n.14. The third prong of the Michelin test,

the Court has added, is satisfied so long as the state tax satisfies the

four-part Complete Auto test governing burdens on interstate com-

merce. See Washington Stevedoring, 435 U.S. at 754-755, 761. And

the second Michelin factor (which certainly was not the principal

policy underlying the Import-Export Clause, see generally Michelin,

423 U.S. at 283-285) does not come into play in cases involving

exports. Although the Court has expressed skepticism that per se

Import-Export Clause rules are necessary to distinguish that provi-

sion from the Commerce Clause (see Washington Stevedoring, 435

U.S. at 759), it did so before it announced the “one voice’ Commerce

Clause test in Japan Line.

46

Import-Export Clause “states an absolute ban [on im-

posts and duties], whereas the Commerce Clause merely

grants power to Congress.” Washington Stevedoring, 435

U.S. at 751. A firm bar against the taxation of goods

in transit thus gives the former Clause an independent

purpose that fulfills its role as a guarantor of “harmony

among the States.” Michelin, 423 U.S. at 286.”

In nevertheless rejecting Itel’s Import-Export Clause

argument, the court below ignored the fact that Itel’s con-

tainers were in transit when the tax was assessed. Rather,

the court found it crucial that “the transfer of possession

of cargo containers is a discrete transaction”; that “Ten-

nessee’s tax only compensates the state for providing

protective services, so the tax will not disturb harmony

among the states’; and that “the indirect nature of the

tax distinguishes it from the direct taxes held invalid

in Xerox and McGoldrick.” Pet. App. 18a. But this rea-

soning plainly is without substance. For reasons we

explain above, a tax on a discrete transaction may pre-

clude the Federal Government from speaking with “one

voice” in its relations with foreign nations. The boiler-

plate suggestion that the State provides protection to

containers traveling through its jurisdiction does not dis-

tinguish the Tennessee tax from any transit fee. See I

Hellerstein, supra, at 187. And the sales tax here is no

less directly imposed on the subject goods than were the

sales taxes invalidated in Richfield and McGoldrick. In-

deed, the Court has made clear that “[i]n Richfield, the

tax fell upon the sale of goods and was overturned because

the Court had always considered a tax on the sale of

goods to be a tax on the goods themselves. * * * The

sale had no value or significance apart from the goods.”

2° Of course, for the reasons that we explain above in connection

with the Commerce Clause, the Tennessee tax fails the “one voice”

test. Thus, even without a per se ban under the Import-Export

Clause, the Tennessee tax cannot survive scrutiny under the Michelin

test.

47

Washington Stevedoring, 435 U.S. at 756 n.21. That is

true here as well.

CONCLUSION

The decision of the Tennessee Supreme Court should

be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

PHILIP W. COLLIER ANDREW L. FREY

Counsel of Record CHARLES ROTHFELD

JAMES C. SEIFFERT Mayer, Brown & Platt

T. MORGAN WARD, JR. 2000 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.

Stites & Harbison Washington, D.C. 20006

600 West Main Street (202) 463-2000

Louisville, KY 40202

(502) 587-3400

Lisa D. LEACH

Vice President & General Counsel

Itel Containers International Corporation

550 California Street

San Francisco, CA 94104-1006

(415) 984-4508

Counsel for Petitioner

APRIL 1992

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.