Amicus Curiae Brief — Wisconsin Dept. of Revenue v. William Wrigley, Jr., Co.

Supreme Court brief1992

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Come an ot

Y FILED

KOV 12 1991

No. 91-119 |

wea

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1991

¢

WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE,

Petitioner,

WILLIAM WRIGLEY, JR. COMPANY,

Respondent.

On Writ Of Certiorari To The Supreme Court Of

The State Of Wisconsin

°

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE MULTISTATE

TAX COMMISSION IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

°

PauLt MINes

Counsel of Record

MuLttIstaTeE TAx COMMISSION

444 No. Capitol Street, N.W.

Suite 409

Washington, D.C. 20001

(202) 624-8699

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-283)

eT ae Te ae ee ee Oe ee, ee

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

In attempting to fairly apportion otherwise taxable

income from sales of tangible personal property within

their boundaries by foreign corporations, how are the

“solicitation” and “delivery” requirements in Pub. L. No.

86-272 to be applied by state taxing authorities in the face

of conflicting decisions from state courts of last resort as

to whether those requirements admit of a de minimis

exception and as to whether “solicitation” encompasses

post-sale activities “incidental” to the canvassing of retail

customers.

*.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

eh ge 1 >

EY CED so ccc cssercceccccsssiccss

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE.............

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT.......................

EEE ELL ESE

THE RELATIONSHIP OF PUB. L. NO. 86-272

TO STATE TAX APPORTIONMENT...........

THE DECISION OF THE WISCONSIN

SUPREME COURT IS ERRONEOUS, BECAUSE

THAT COURT’S CONSTRUCTION OF PUB. L.

NO. 86-272 WAS NOT INFORMED BY THE

JURISPRUDENCE OF THE TENTH AMEND-

MENT WHICH REQUIRES CONGRESS TO

STATE CLEARLY THE EXTENT TO WHICH

STATE TAXATION IS PREEMPTED AND BY

THE REQUIREMENTS OF MULTISTATE TAX-

ATION IN OUR FEDERAL SYSTEM THAT

INSTRUCT SENSITIVITY TO OTHER STATE

Cee eee ad ck ewes ees seecce.

A. The Jurisprudence of the Tenth Amend-

ment Requires Pub. L. No. 86-272 Be Inter-

preted In A Manner That Is The Least

Intrusive On The State Sovereign Taxing

Power While Remaining Faithful To The

Clearly Expressed Intent Of Congress ....

B. Pub. L. No. 86-272 Should Be Construed

With Sensitivity To Its Effect On The Opera-

tion of State Taxation of Interstate Business

oe Goer Pemeres Syetem ...................

12

12

III.

IV.

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

AN INFORMED ANALYSIS OF THE LEGISLA-

TIVE HISTORY SURROUNDING THE DELE-

TION OF THE SALES OFFICE EXEMPTION

FROM S. 2524 INESCAPABLY LEADS TO THE

CONCLUSION THAT THE STATE TAX EXEMP-

TION AFFORDED BY PUB. L. NO. 86-272

SHOULD BE NARROWLY CONSTRUED AND

WRIGLEY HAS EXCEEDED THE LIMITS OF

THIS NARROW EXEMPTION................-

AN APPROPRIATE STANDARD OF SOLICITA-

TION IN LIGHT OF THE INTENT OF CON-

GRESS TO GRANT A NARROW STATE TAX

EXEMPTION BUT STILL OFFER SOME CER-

TAINTY IS TO LIMIT SOLICITATION TO

ACTIVITIES THAT DIRECTLY SEEK PLACE-

MENT OF AN ORDER OR ARE A NECESSARY

PART OF SUCH ACTIVITIES. .

ee wt! 8. Bee

Vie, . 5 | Ge eee oe

RESOLUTION OF THE MULTISTATE TAX COM-

20

MISSION ADOPTING THE PUB. L. NO. 86-272

I op ék cane os

MULTISTATE TAX COMMISSION PUBLIC LAW

86-272 GUIDELINES, At Str. Tax Guine 9789

(Max. Mac. 1991), St. Tax Guipe 9370a (CCH

ER aS wee e os |

App. |!

App. 1

App. 3

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

Cases:

Aloha Airlines, Inc. v. Director of Taxation of Hawaii, 464

ee Ce AsiseccneeedbaneNenee nesses tna: 16

Burlington Northern R. Co. v. Oklahoma Tax Comm'n,

re ae ee ee 16

Complete Auto Transit, Inc. v. Brady, 430 U.S. 274

on ee ee er ee eee ae nr ee 11

Coors Porcelain Co. v. State, 183 Colo. 325, 517 P.2d

838, cert. denied, 419 U.S. 874 (1974)............... 10

Exxon Corp. v. Hunt, 475 U.S. 355 (1986) ......... 14, 16

Garcia v. San Antonio Metropolitan Transit Author-

i Gar Gees Dee PME wh oenks che decacecedswess 15, 16

Gregory v. Ashcroft, 111 S.Ct. 2395 (1991) . 13, 14, 15, 16

Heublein, Inc. v. South Carolina Tax Comm'n, 409

Sk Es os cc kw cde wdbeccetekcuer 13, 14, 15, 20

Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Massachusetts, 471 U.S.

Py Cn Soa ae 6 CREE CNC is bares Cea ee eeua ee 16

Miles Laboratories, Inc. v. Dept. of Revenue, 274 Or.

_ es - ff ff Serpe ee 10

South Carolina v. Baker, 485 U.S. 505 (1988)........ 3, 15

Trinova Corp. v. Michigan Dept. of Treasury, 111

A arin ag Sls raed Ge 2 18

U.S. Steel Corp. v. Multistate Tax Commission, 434

ERNE PPR ere Lk 202, 2

U.S. Tobacco Co. v. Commonwealth, 478 Pa. 125, 386

A.2d 471, cert. denied, 439 U.S. 880 (1978)......... 10

U.S. Tobacco Co. v. Martin, 304 Ark. 119, 801 S.W.2d

RIT el A cco oie ER UKE el el ec ee 11

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page(s)

U.S. COoNsTITUTION:

U.S. Const., art. I, §8, cl. 3 (Commerce Clause)...11, 18

U.S. Const., amend XIV, §1 (Due Process Clause) .... 11

STATUTES:

Pub. L. No. 86-272, 73 Stat. 55 (1959), codified at

SP es Se Oe OS GUD anos ese nccccsases passim

49 U.S.C.A. §1315(f) (West Supp. 1991).............. 16

Multistate Tax Compact, Att St. Tax Guipe 701 et

seq. (Max. Mac. 1991), St. Tax Guipe 4351 (CCH

BARBARA Hate RS rae Really Ya ree ee gO OE 1

Dank neennd his S0ehiensaneeeeesege see caueeween 1

a ices eave kcaGARad ek beeeaeerkessueaeeden? 2

Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 120, §3-303(f) (1975) ................ 8

Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 120, §3-304 (1975) ...............-.. 6

Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 120, §3-304(a) (1975). ............. 6, 8

Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 120, §3-304(a)(1)(A) (1975) .......... 7

Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 120, §3-304(a)(2)(A) (1975) .......... 7

Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 120, §3-304(a)(3)(A) (1975) .......... 7

Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 120, §3-304(a)(2)(A) (1975) .......... 7

Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 120, §3-304(a)(2)(B)(i) (1975). ........ 7

Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 120, §3-304(a)(2)(B)(ii) (1975)........ 7

Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 120, §3-304(a)(2)(B)(iii) (1975) ....... 7

Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 120, §3-304(a)(3)(B) (1975). .......... 8

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page(s)

Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 120, §3-304(a)(3)(B)(ii) (1975)........ 8

Uniform Division of Income for Tax Purposes Act

(“UDITPA”), 7A Unirorm Laws ANNoTaATED 331

Ld crit k's ipa soe dekebareead pees ees skees 2, 5

= £ WRPrerrerrrrrcerrrr cere error re TT ers ey eee 6

DT IGs Ge ued Lets e b hanes ehudths dhe baistabe Acadekewal 8

G55 8 56 Keds 642d CO bERERECS ORUKEROS SS ES SES WES ERON 8

SE rere e ry er rere ere rrr re ere mr 6

CAAA enced CAA SAUMES UNGNAWEREON GSO cubes KeKebaaens 7

GEE CCS65 4 4-5N<ROTO WKN Ge Kone e gene beleharecesrcares 7

CIWS de tacigh eb besh tine ova cae ieros eae: 7

Piet caus win oth aR eeWS ChAnecdaak berdaweereewes 7

DTS ii te kana naa nid ROMERO NATE AE EES 7

RTECS 6 banek 6s 45 dd SELES ORe OSE ORL RK CESS 7

RE RODS EEA? RIE nn Teo Reg ne 8

LAE nt serene deen Rohs de katenetesnindadans 8

om Ne re ae 6

ne 8

co ee 6, 8

Wis. Stat. §71.07(2)(a)1. (1973-1977). ...............4.. 7

Wis. Stat. §71.07(2)(b)1. (1973-1977). ...............4.. 7

Wis. Stat. §71.07(2)(b)4. (1973-1977). .................. 7

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page(s)

Wis. Stat. GTUBITAMEII. (9S7D-B077)..... 0 orc ccccnceens 7

Wis. Stat. §71.07(2)(c)2. (1973-1977). . 0.2.2... eee ee eee 8

MISCELLANEOUS:

S. 2524 as reported in S. Rep. 658, 86th Cong.,

Ist Sess.

A one koa Aka hh RAKE CR EDO NUNKAN Se HESS ORE 22

SR tektean cndkeendecsrdhsnsdeseavurssaga 21, 22

er een ee Te ee rae 18, 20, 21

S. Rep. 658, 86th Cong., Ist Sess. ...............-4-- 18

MTC Public Law 86-272 Guidelines, Ait St. Tax

Guipe 9789 (Max. Mac. 1991), St. Tax Guipe

po oe Ore Terr riety 4, 3, 2,

MTC Regs., Att St. Tax Guipe 7600 et seq. (Max.

PE EE bc 6S ches enieenevesindereeedeseesovesses 2

Christopher & Janaszek, The Scope of Protected

Solicitation Under Section 381 After Wrigley, 10 J.

ey PO I occ vanes Chdancewendacwees ta 19

Corrigan, A Final Review, 1989 Muttistate Tax

SE Seco 5 ah pesnntsckerneneenssecsen ¢6- 6 2

Hartman, Feperat Limitations ON STATE AND LOCAL

EE SI eb. n 00 k.s'0.00 30 pareewnvnepenedc 19

Lockhart, The Sales Tax in Interstate Commerce, 52

rr eC Da ce ec euekadeneeneevees 18

Mines, Congress Disrupts State Taxation of Air Car-

riers Through Passage of 49 U.S.C. §1513(f), 1991

Muttistate Tax Comm’N Rev. 1............0005 200s 16

viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page(s)

Tribe, American ConsTITUTIONAL Law §6-25 pp.

re ee i bein Coed eh alee nosny os 15

Warren, Principles of Formulary Apportionment, Tue

State & Loca Tax Portro.io Series ¥200 p. 205

SSS oe concn sedeceeeuadenbsvanweneleetedess 6, 9

No. 91-119

S

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1991

°

WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE,

Petitioner,

v.

WILLIAM WRIGLEY, JR. COMPANY,

Respondent.

¢

On Writ Of Certiorari To The Supreme Court Of

The State Of Wisconsin

¢

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE MULTISTATE

TAX COMMISSION IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

¢

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

The Multistate Tax Commission is the administrative

arm of the Multistate Tax Compact (the “Compact”). Att

St. Tax Guipe 4701 et seq. (Max. Mac. 1991); St. Tax Guide

7351 (CCH 1991). Nineteen States, including the District

of Columbia, have adopted the Compact. In addition,

fourteen States are associate members. The Compact

seeks to facilitate proper determinations of state and local

tax liability of multistate taxpayers, promote uniformity

or compatibility of state tax systems, facilitate taxpayer

convenience and compliance, and avoid duplicative state

taxation. Article 1, Compact, Aut St. Tax Guiwe 4701 (Max.

Mac. 1991), St. Tax Guipe 9351 (CCH 1991). The Court

recognized the validity of the Compact in United States

Steel Corp. v. Multistate Tax Comm'n, 434 U.S. 452 (1978).

The Compact was developed by cooperation among

States and taxpayers in response to the findings and

recommendations of the Willis Committee. See Corrigan,

A Final Review, 1989 Muttistate Tax Comm’N Rev. 1, 1 and

23. Specifically, member States of the Compact are com-

mitted to strengthening Our Federalism by resolving the

inherent conflict of our federal form of government that

presupposes both a single national economy and States

with separate taxing authority. The member States of the

Commission have accepted the challenge of federalism by

developing uniform state tax rules of apportionment and

allocation.

In furtherance of uniformity, the Multistate Tax Com-

pact utilizes the Uniform Division of Income for Tax

Purposes Act (“UDITPA”), 7A Unirorm Laws ANNOTATED

331 (West 1985), as the core rules for the apportionment

and allocation of income of a multijurisdictional business.

Article IV, Compact, Att St. Tax Guipe 9711 (Max. Mac.

1991), St. Tax Guiwe 9351 (CCH 1991). The Multistate Tax

Commission has further developed regulations interpret-

ing UDITPA. See MTC Regs., Att St. Tax Guipe $600 et seq.

(Max. Mac. 1991). Fostering state tax uniformity through

voluntary state cooperation remains central to the Com-

mission.

The Commission’s uniformity effort relevant here is

its Public Law 86-272 Guidelines, Att St. Tax Guipe 9789

(Max. Mac. 1991), St. Tax Guipe 9370a (CCH 1991)

(“Guidelines”).! The Guidelines reflect the Commission’s

best understanding of congressional intent as expressed

in Pub. L. No. 86-272. Consonant with the Commission's

understanding of Tenth Amendment jurisprudence,? the

Guidelines embraced a narrow interpretation of the state

tax exemption so that the exemption would apply only in

“those limited circumstances clearly and reasonably

intended by Congress.” App. 4.

The Multistate Tax Commission invited all states to

adopt the Guidelines. App. 3. The Wisconsin Tax Appeal

Commission accepted the invitation. Pet. for Cert. A-249 -

A-253. From the undisputed facts of this case it seems

clear that Wrigley’s activities would violate several of the

thresholds of the Guidelines. The Wisconsin Supreme

Court surprisingly forewent application of the Guidelines

by adopting an expansive interpretation of the state tax

exemption. The Wisconsin Supreme Court’s decision is

surprising because it occurs in the face of the com-

plaining taxpayer’s characterization of Pub. L. No. 86-272

as unclear.*

By foregoing the Guidelines, the Wisconsin Supreme

Court has unnecessarily frustrated the States’ goal of

preserving state tax jurisdiction to the maximum extent

possible in the face of the requirements of, and the

' The Guidelines as well as the Commission's adopting

resolution are reproduced in the Appendix.

2 See South Carolina v. Baker, 485 U.S. 505, 510 n.4 (1988).

3 See Pet. Wrigley Br. before the Wisconsin Supreme Court

at 14, 16-17. In contrast, Petitioner Wisconsin Department of

Revenue argues that Pub. L. No. 86-272 is unambiguous. See

Arguments I.C. and D. of Pet. for Cert.

q

policies reflected in, the U.S. Constitution and applicable

-_____ federal law. The Wisconsin Supreme Court's decision also

disconcertingly undermines the uniformity that the Mul-

tistate Tax Commission sought. The Wisconsin Supreme

Court failed to recognize the opportunity and respon-

sibility that States have to strengthen federalism through

voluntary cooperative action.

e

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Wisconsin Supreme Court reached its erroneous

determination because it failed to apply the Tenth

Amendment jurisprudence of the Court and failed to be

sensitive to the effect that its decision would have on the

operation of all state tax systems. The Tenth Amendment

jurisprudence of the Court and sensitivity to multistate

taxation counsel that the state tax exemption of Pub. L.

No. 86-272 be construed very limitedly to avoid unneces-

sary intrusion on the traditional state sovereignty. The

Wisconsin Department of Revenue must prevail either if

the legislative history of Pub. L. No. 86-272 clearly sup-

ports the taxing jurisdiction of the States or if the legisla-

tive history is unclear. Wrigley may prevail only if there

is a single clear statement from Congress that supports an

expansive state tax exemption.

Wrigley cannot satisfy the plain statement rule stan-

dard, because it is clear from the legislative history of

Pub. L. No. 86-272 that Congress did not intend to do

anything more than to protect mere solicitation as a stop-

gap, temporary measure. Congress was unwilling to do

anything further until it had studied state taxation of

interstate commerce. See Title II of Pub. L. No. 86-272.

Even if Wrigley is able to cite snippets of legislative

history in its favor, such isolated references do not over-

come the clear statements of Congress to the contrary.

The most appropriate construction of “solicitation” in

Pub. L. No. 86-272 is that it is limited to those activities

that directly seek the placement of an order and those

collateral activities that are a necessary part of such activ-

ities. There is no room within the narrow construction of

solicitation to allow activities that indirectly promote the

sales business of a seller of tangible personal property in

interstate commerce or to ignore activities clearly exceed-

ing solicitation as de minimis. The member States of the

Commission do not support as their primary position any

relaxation of this very restrictive standard. Even the pos-

sible use of a pre-sale and post-sale test, as suggested by

the State of lowa, should be viewed as a next-best alter-

native to the position here stated.

6

ARGUMENTS

I. THE RELATIONSHIP OF PUB. L. NO. 86-272 TO

STATE TAX APPORTIONMENT.

Understanding the relationship of Pub. L. No. 86-272

and the state tax rule for the apportionment of income

derived from an interstate business should aid the review

of this case. References are given to applicable provisions

of the laws of the States of Wisconsin and Illinois (the

State in which Wrigley based its operations), as they

existed in the 1970’s, and UDITPA, which has remained

unchanged since its adoption by the National Conference

of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws in 1957.4 Ill.

Rev. Stat. ch. 120, §3-304 (1975); Wis. Stat. §71.07

(1973-1977); UDITPA §1, et seq. The basic understanding

of the rules of apportionment have not changed substan-

tially.

Income of a business engaged in interstate commerce

is attributed to the various States which have contributed

to its realization by the use of formula apportionment.

Formula apportionment determines the actual apportion-

ment factor that is used to attribute the income of a

multijurisdictional business to each taxing State. The

form of formula apportionment in most prevalent use

among the States is a formula based upon three factors:

the property factor, the payroll factor and the sales factor.

The specific apportionment factor of each taxing State is

determined by averaging the ratios of the in-state compo-

nent to the everywhere component of the property, pay-

roll, and sales of the business. Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 120,

§3-304(a) (1975); Wis. Stat. §71.07(2) (1973-1977); UDITPA

§9. The resulting apportionment factor is then applied to

the income of the multistate business to determine how

much of the income of the entire business is attributable

to and taxable by each taxing State. As is subsequently

explained, attribution of business income arising from

sales of tangible personal property made in interstate

commerce by the use of formula apportionment (which

has the potential, depending upon the circumstances,

4 Only four States employ income tax statutes that differ

widely from UDITPA. Warren, Principles of Formulary Appor-

tionment, THe State & Locat Tax Portrouio Series 4200, 4205 p.

207 (1989) (“Warren”).

either to benefit or to disadvantage a taxpayer) is

restricted to companies that are “taxable” in more than a

single State.

The basic rules for determining the numerators and

denominators of the ratios of the three factors are as

follows. The denominators of each factor are equal to the

total amount of the respective factors everywhere, 1.e.,

total property, total payroll and total sales. Ill. Rev. Stat.

ch. 120, §3-304(a)(1)(A), 2(A), and 3(A) (1975); Wis. Stat.

§71.07(2)(a)1., (b)1., and (c)1. (1973-1977); UDITPA §10,

13, and 15. The numerators of each factor are determined

by reference to the extent of the presence of each respec-

tive factor in the taxing State, whether that State is the

base State or another State. Thus, the numerator of the

property factor for a State apportioning the income of a

multistate business is equal to the amount of property

present in that State. Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 120, §3-304(a)(1)(A)

(1975); Wis. Stat. §71.07(2)(a)1. (1973-1977); UDITPA §10.

The numerator of the payroll factor is equal to the

amount of payroll that is attributed to the taxing State. III.

Rev. Stat. ch. 120, §3-304(a)(2)(A) (1975); Wis. Stat.

§71.07(2)(b)1. (1973-1977); UDITPA §13. Payroll is gener-

ally attributabie to the taxing State if the employee per-

forms all of his/her services in the taxing State or all, but

incidental, services in the taxing State. Ill. Rev. Stat. ch.

120, §3-304(a)(2)(B)(i) and (ii) (1975); Wis. Stat.

§71.07(2)(b)4. (1973-1977); UDITPA §14(a) and (b). Special

rules apply if the employee performs more than inciden-

tal services outside the taxing State. III. Rev. Stat. ch. 120,

§3-304(a)(2)(B)(iii) (1975); Wis. Stat. §71.07(2)(b)4.

(1973-1977); UDITPA §14(c). Sales for purposes of deter-

mining the numerator of the sales factor of the taxing

State are sitused on a destination basis, i.e., on a basis of

the State to which the goods are shipped. Ill. Rev. Stat. ch.

120, §3-304(a)(3)(B) (1975); Wis. Stat. §71.07(2)(c)2.

(1973-1977); UDITPA §16. Unlike the property factor and

the payroll factor, the sales factor has a throwback provi-

sion. The throwback provision of the sales factor attrib-

utes sales that otherwise would be attributed to a State in

which the multistate business is not “taxable” to the State

from which the goods are shipped. Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 120,

§3-304(a)(3)(B)(ii) (1975); Wis. Stat. §71.07(2)(c)2.

(1973-1977); UDITPA §16(b). Taxability for purposes of

the sales factor throwback rule is defined in terms of

jurisdiction to tax, including consideration of the effect of

Pub. L. No. 86-272. Id. |

As earlier noted, use of formula apportionment to

attribute the income of a business engaged in interstate

commerce is restricted. Formula apportionment is used

only when the multistate business is “taxable” in more

_ than a single State. Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 120, §3-304(a) (1975);

Wis. Stat. §71.07(2) (1973-1977); UDITPA §2. If a business

is not taxable in more than a single State, all the income

of a multistate business is attributed to the single State in

which the business is taxable. Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 120,

§3-304(a) (1975); Wis. Stat. §71.07(1) (1973-1977) (special

allocation rules applied); UDITPA §2. A business is

deemed taxable in another State when that other State has

jurisdiction to impose a tax, regardless of- whether the

other State does in fact impose an income tax. Ill. Rev.

Stat. ch. 120, §3-303(f) (1975); Wis. Stat. §71.07(2)

(1973-1977); UDITPA §3. As is the case under the sales

throwback rule, Pub. L. No. 86-272 is used to determine

the extent to which a multistate business is taxable in

another State in the jurisdictional sense for purposes of

determining eligibility to use formula apportionment.

Thus, to the extent Pub. L. No. 86-272 bars a State from

imposing an income tax, a business will not be treated as

being subject to an income tax in the other State.

Because of differing state tax rates and other features

of state income taxes, one cannot generalize whether a

multistate business will desire to be subject to income tax

in more than a single State. To illustrate this point, if a

multistate business is based in a State with a high income

tax rate, that business may wish to apportion its income

out of the base State to another State with a low income

tax rate or with no income tax in order to decrease the

amount of income that is subject to tax in the base State.

Conversely, if the base State has no income tax or a low

income tax rate, the business may not wish to apportion

its income out of the base State in order to preserve the

advantage of this lower tax burden in the base State.

An aggressive taxpayer based in a State with a low

income tax rate may still wish to be subject to income tax

in at least one other State, however. The reason for desir-

ing taxability in at least one additional State stems from

the fact that a taxpayer will thereby be permitted to

apportion its income by using the three apportionment

factors, property, payroll, and sales, to determine its tax-

able income in the base State. Because only the sales

factor has a throwback provision, a taxpayer may believe it

can lessen its overall tax burden by being able to attribute

some of its income to States in which it has property and

payroll but is not subject to tax. See Warren, supra n.4 at

1230.6 p. 224. Thus, to the extent a business has payroll

10

and/or property located in other States in which it is not

subject to tax, the aggregate of the numerators of the

payroll and property factors in the States in which it is

subject to tax will be less (and the resulting aggregate

state taxable income and state tax will be less). This

possibility arises because specific items of property and

payroll that are sitused to States not having the jurisdic-

tion to tax are not thrownback to any other State in which

the business is subject to tax. This result, if it is obtainable

through carefully tax planning, is known as creating “no-

where income,” income that is not taxable by any State

because of the operation of the apportionment factors. If

the multistate business were only taxable in the base State

and was not taxable in at least one other State, the busi-

ness would be ineligible to apportion its income and

would be subject to tax on one hundred percent of its

income in the base State.

It should be clear from this review that the result

obtained from the use of Pub. L. No. 86-272 to determine

whether a multistate business is taxable in another State

(and hence subject to the use of formula apportionment)

is directly affected by whether the state tax exemption of

that law is narrowly or expansively construed.°

> Litigated cases involving Pub. L. No. 86-272 can illus-

trate the point. Compare U.S. Tobacco Co. v. Commonwealth, 478

Pa. 125, 386 A.2d 471, cert. denied, 439 U.S. 880 (1978) (taxpayer

wins with broad construction), with Coors Porcelain Co. v. State,

183 Colo. 325, 517 P.2d 838, cert. denied, 419 U.S. 874 (1974)

(taxpayer loses with broad construction); compare also Miles

Laboratories, Inc. v. Dept. of Reveriue, 274 Or. 395, 546 P.2d 1081

(Continued on following page)

11

Although one cannot generalize about the revenue

affect of a narrow or a broad construction of the state tax

exemption of Pub. L. No. 86-272, this fact does not make

the operation of Pub. L. No. 86-272 potentially any less

intrusive upon the state sovereign taxing pdwer. This is

plainly apparent from the fact that Pub. L. No. 86-272 has

the potential to prohibit the State into which the goods

are sold (i.e., the market state) from taxing a multistate

enterprise that would otherwise be subject to tax under

the Due Process Clause and the Commerce Clause. See

Complete Auto Transit, Inc. v. Brady, 430 U.S. 274 (1977). An

extreme example illustrates the point: A business based

in a single State can sell all of its goods into another State

and yet avoid any liability for income tax in the market

State if it carefully limits its activities in the market State

to mere solicitation. Even if the circumstances of the

example are not so extreme, the intrusive nature of Pub.

L. No. 86-272 is embodiec in the fact that Pub. L. No.

86-272 allows goods to be sold into a market State by a

multistate business that will not necessarily be subject to

the market State’s income tax. The intrusive nature of

Pub. L. No. 86-272 is further observed in Argument II.B.,

infra.

(Continued from previous page)

(1976) (taxpayer seeks narrow construction to attribute income

to State with no income tax) with U.S. Tobacco Co. v. Martin, 304

Ark. 119, 801 S.W.2d 256 (1990) (taxpayer loses with narrow

construction). It should also be noted that when a taxpayer has

a loss, the taxpayer’s objectives are likely to be achieved with

treatment that is the opposite of what the taxpayer would want

if the taxpayer has income.

12

Il. THE DECISION OF THE WISCONSIN SUPREME

COURT IS ERRONEOUS, BECAUSE THAT

COURT’S CONSTRUCTION OF PUB. L. NO.

86-272 WAS NOT INFORMED BY THE JURISPRU-

DENCE OF THE TENTH AMENDMENT WHICH

REQUIRES CONGRESS TO STATE CLEARLY THE

EXTENT TO WHICH STATE TAXATION IS PRE-

EMPTED AND BY THE REQUIREMENTS OF

MULTISTATE TAXATION IN OUR FEDERAL SYS-

TEM THAT INSTRUCT SENSITIVITY TO OTHER

STATE TAXING SYSTEMS.

The impression left by the Wisconsin Supreme

Court’s analysis of Pub. L. No. 86-272 is one of an iso-

lated jurisdiction wrestling with the construction of a

statute that could easily have been passed by the State’s

own legislature instead of a statute passed by Congress

that regulates state taxation of interstate commerce in our

federal system. Specifically, the Wisconsin Supreme

Court’s decision in this case is devoid of any consider-

ation of the rule of construction that applies to unclear

congressional legislation that preempts fundamental state

sovereign powers and of the effect that the construction

of Pub. L. No. 86-272 would have on other state tax

systems. This erroneous interpretative stance precipitated

the Wisconsin Supreme Court's misinterpretation of Pub.

L. No. 86-272.

A. The Jurisprudence of the Tenth Amendment

Requires Pub. L. No. 86-272 Be Interpreted In A

Manner That Is The Least Intrusive On The

State Sovereign Taxing Power While Remain-

ing Faithful To The Clearly Expressed Intent

Of Congress.

The assumption of this alternative argument is that

Pub. L. No. 86-272 cannot be interpreted by the plain

13

meaning of its statutory language and that resort to the

collateral indications of congressional intent is required.

Under the Court’s Tenth Amendment jurisprudence, this

statutory construction environment does not license a

state supreme court to surmise congressional intent.

Rather, the Wisconsin Supreme Court should have been

informed that “Congress had rather limited purposes” in

enacting Pub. L. No. 86-272. Heublein, Inc. v. South Caro-

lina Tax Comm'n, 409 U.S. 275, 279 (1972). It should have

been apparent that the seven Justices joining in the opin-

ion in Heublein endorsed use of the plain statement rule

to determine the reach of Pub. L. No. 86-272. Id., 409 U.S.

at 281-82. The Wisconsin Supreme Court should have

been sensitive to the important “Federal-State balance.”

Id. The Court has reiterated most recently the need for

this sensitivity. Gregory v. Ashcroft, 111 S.Ct. 2395 (1991)

(plain statement rule used). Gregory for five Justices of the

Courtiestablishes a definite analytical framework for con-

struing unclear terms of expressly preemptive law.

Having noted the foregoing, it appears that the plain

statement rule can be limited'y applied in this case to the

following effect. If the statutory language of Pub. L. No.

86-272 is unclear, as conceded by Wrigley,® then the Court

should resolve any ambiguity as to congressional intent

6 See n.3, supra.

14

by adopting the reasonably permitted statutory construc-

tion that is the least intrusive. Therefore all that the plain

statement rule requires here is that the Court must

reverse the Wisconsin Supreme Court unless it is satisfied

that (i) Pub. L. No. 86-272 has oniy one plausible congres-

sional intent; and (ii) the single plausible congressional

intent supports an expansive construction of the state tax

exemption. If the legislative history of Pub. L. No. 86-272

additionally evidences a plausible congressional intent

that supports a narrow construction of the state tax

exemption, the decision of the Wisconsin Supreme Court

must be reversed because Congress has not clearly spo-

ken.

Under the plain statement rule, the Wisconsin

Supreme Court must be reversed. Reversal is appropriate,

because the legislative history of Pub. L. No. 86-272 is

affirmatively inconsistent with Wrigley’s position. One

may conclude, therefore, that reliance on the plain state-

ment rule here need not be very heavy. Yet three Justices

of the Court may find even this limited utilization of the

plain statement rule unacceptable. The remainder of this

Argument responds to these three Justices’ expressed

objections.

One objection is that the plain statement rule should

be used only when the question is whether the statute

applies to the States at alk (i.e., in this context, whether

the statute is intended to preempt the States). Gregory, 111

S.Ct. at 2409. That observation, however, did not operate

in Heublein. It also does not seem to have affected one

Justice in another case involving a clearly preemptive

statute. See Exxon Corp. v. Hunt, 475 U.S. 355, 382-83

(1986) (dissenting opinion).

15

Distinguishing Heublein as involving an issue not

expressly covered by Pub. L. No. 86-272 (i.e., the absence

of statutory language prohibiting inconsistent state alco-

hol regulation) is without substance. The Heublein Court

accepted the premise that a State could not circumvent

Pub. L. No. 86-272 by imposing doing business require-

ments that would preclude protection under Pub. L. No.

86-272. 409 U.S. at 282. The Heublein Court necessarily

determined, therefore, whether liquor regulations were

the type explicitly prohibited under this premise. In addi-

tion, determination of the preemptive reach of an ambig-

uous law necessarily resolves whether Congress intended

preemption. To the extent that Congress does not clearly

state the extent of its preemptive intent, Congress has not

expressed preemption. See Tribe, American Constitu-

TIONAL Law §6-25 pp. 479-80 (2d ed. 1988).

Another objection voiced is that the rule contravenes

Garcia v. San Antonio Metropolitan Transit Authority, 469

U.S. 528 (1985), and South Carolina v. Baker, 485 U.S. 505

(1988). Gregory, 111 S.Ct. at 2410. This objection is surpris-

ing, because the plain statement rule is a natural corollary

to the protection of federalism through the political pro-

cess. Requiring the political process to speak clearly

affords the political process guarantee substance. The

power of Congress is not denied, because Congress can

always act.

Any other approach transfers the guarantee of feder-

alism through the political process to the ad hoc adver-

sarial contentions of litigants of varying skills, resources

of time and assets, and litigation strategy adopted to win

16

the case. The Commerce Clause grants Congress, and not

the courts, the power to make fundamental boundary line

determinations affecting federalism.”

In addition, the Court’s use of the presumption

against preemption for even expressly preemptive stat-

utes after Garcia suggests some flexibility. See Metropolitan

Life Ins. Co. v. Massachusetts, 471 U.S. 724, 740-41 (1985)

(preemption not presumed as to unclear, but expressly

preemptive, provision of the Employee Retirement

Income Security Act of 1974). But see Aloha Airlines, Inc. v.

Director of Taxation of Hawaii, 464 U.S. 7 (1983).*

The final objection is that the assertion that the plain

statement rule will confuse the law by unsettling prior

cases that have based preemption on something other

than express statutory language. Gregory, 111 S.Ct. at

2410. This reading of Gregory appears to be too expansive.

If Congress does speak clearly by these indirect methods,

7 Newly enacted 49 U.S.C.A. 1513(f) (West Supp. 1991)

well illustrates the need for requiring Congress to speak

clearly. Section 1513(f) was adopted in the waning hours of the

101st Congress without any legislative history or prior public

exposure. Section 1513(f) raises innumerable construction

issues that seriously impact the state taxation of the air carrier

industry. See Mines, Congress Disrupts State Taxation of Air

Carriers Through Passage of 49 U.S.C. §1513(f), 1991 Mucristar

Tax Comm'n Rev. 1.

8 Aloha Airlines interpreted a statute that the Court deter-

mined was expressly preemptive of the type of tax in issue

from the statute’s plain language. See also Burlington Northern

R. Co. v. Oklahoma Tax Comm'n, 481 U.S. 454, 461 (1987) (statu-

tory language “plainly declares the congressional purpose”)

and Exxon Corp. v. Hunt, 475 U.S. 355, 370-71 (1986) (plain

meaning standard applied to entire statutory scheme).

17

then the clear statement standard has been met. As so

applied, Congress should not be any more burdened.?

B. Pub. L. No. 86-272 Should Be Construed With

Sensitivity To Its Effect On The Operation of

State Taxation of Interstate Business In Our

Federal System.

How one state construes Pub. L. No. 86-272 neces-

sarily impacts other States. The interaction suggests a

court should note the effect of its decision on other States.

This recognition of the principles of multistate taxation of

interstate commerce in the decision matrix will further

the preservation of federalism. The Court should not be

viewed as the sole protector of federalism in the constitu-

tional system. From this perspective there are several

matters the Wisconsin Supreme Court should have con-

sidered.

The Wisconsin Supreme Court should have noted

that the majority of States faced with the issue have

interpreted the state tax exemption of Pub. L. No. 86-272

more narrowly. Additionally, the Wisconsin Supreme

Court should have considered the uniformity efforts of

the Multistate Tax Commission. Consideration of these

factors of course would not excuse the Wisconsin

Supreme Court from making the correct determination

% In those rare instances where Congress is unable to state

definitively the extent of its preemptive intent, it can adopt a

statutory policy statement. The policy statement would inform

a court as to the limit of the congressional preemptive intent.

«pdf

18

but deviating from them would suggest that the decision

is on the warning path.

Unfortunately, the Wisconsin Supreme Court was

unwilling to analyze the prevailing view seriously, dis-

missed the Multistate Tax Commission as a “group of

state revenue agents,” and made no substantial attempt

to identify congressional intent. The Wisconsin Supreme

Court's reliance on S. Rep. 658, 86th Cong., Ist Sess., was

misplaced, because it reported a bill that was different

from the enacted legislation. See Argument III, infra.

The Wisconsin Supreme Court’s decision has frus-

trated state tax uniformity. This departure from unifor-

mity also frustrates Congress, because any congressional

law that regulates state taxation ipso facto seeks unifor-

mity. Closer examination of the legislative history of Pub.

L. No. 86-272 would have reflected an intent not to grant

a broad tax state exemption.

As is developed in Argument III, infra, the deletion of

the sales office exemption of section 101(a)(3) of S. 2524 as

reported in S. Rep. 658, supra, reflects considerable con-

gressional sensitivity that Pub. L. No. 86-272 not unneces-

/“sarily upset market state taxation which can cause unfair

competition. The decisions of the Court even during the

period it construed state taxing power restrictively under

the Commerce Clause display this kind of sensitivity. See

Lockhart, The Sales Tax in Interstate Commerce, 52 Harv. L.

Rev. 617, 629 (1939); see also Trinova Corp. v. Michigan Dept.

of Treasury, 111 S.Ct. 818 (1991) (value added in market

State). A broad construction of the state tax exemption of

Pub. L. No. 86-272 flies in the face of this basic policy.

19

The Wisconsin Supreme Court should have recog-

nized that a broad construction of the state tax exemption

of Pub. L. No. 86-272 increase the potential for no-where

income. Among other things, a broad state tax exemption

increases the likelihood of having increased activities

(including property and payroll) in the market State that

are protected by Pub. L. No. 86-272 but not by the Due

Process Clause. Apart from having apportionment factors

that may be attributed to a State without jurisdiction to

tax, some imply there may be an issue whether Pub. L.

No. 86-272 may be used by a State having jurisdiction to

tax to increase the amount of income apportioned to it.

See Hartman, Feperat Limitations ON STATE AND Loca. Tax-

ATION §9:12 p. 498 (1981). The potential for using Pub. L.

No. 86-272 as a tax planning tool was not lost on Wrigley

(JA 7-8; T,: 31) or its counsel. Christopher & Janaszek, The

Scope of Protected Solicitation Under Section 381 After

Wrigley, 10 J. State Tax. 47 (1991).

Finally, a court should recognize that any prevailing

construction Congress considers wrong can be corrected

by that institution. The burden of correction is appro-

priately placed on business, given the limited purpose

Congress had with this stopgap, temporary legislation

that seeks to reguiate one of the most basic of state

sovereign rights.

20

Ill. AN INFORMED ANALYSIS OF THE LEGISLA-

TIVE HISTORY SURROUNDING THE DELE-

TION OF THE SALES OFFICE EXEMPTION

FROM S. 2524 INESCAPABLY LEADS TO THE

CONCLUSION THAT THE STATE TAX EXEMP-

TION AFFORDED BY PUB. L. NO. 86-272

SHOULD BE NARROWLY CONSTRUED AND

WRIGLEY HAS EXCEEDED THE LIMITS OF

THIS NARROW EXEMPTION.

The Court has recognized that the breadth of the

exemption for activities embraced by the statutory term

“solicitation” is narrow. Heublein, 409 U.S. at 280, 282 and

283 (mere solicitation). The narrow scope of the protec-

tion afforded by the term “solicitation” is well illustrated

in more concrete terms by consideration of the legislative

history that accompanied the approval of Senator Tal-

madge’s amendment (105 Conc. Rec. 16,477 (1959)) that

deleted the sales office exemption, section 101(a)(3) of S.

2524 as reported in S. Rep. 658, supra.

The sales office exemption as contained in S. 2524

protected not only a sales office maintained by the multi-

state business but also a sales office maintained by a in-

state resident sales representative. When Senator Tal-

madge’s amendment to strike the sales office exemption

was under floor consideration in the Senate, 105 Conc.

Rec. 16,469-16,477 (1959), considerable effort was made to

understand the effect of deleting the provision from the

enacted law. The overriding consideration in deleting the

sales office exemption appears to have been the preserva-

tion of market state taxation. 105 Conc. Rec. 16,472 (1959)

(Exchange between Senators Holland and Talmadge.)

21

Beyond the concern of preserving market state taxa-

tion, the Senate floor debate reflects a clear understand-

ing that deletion of the sales office exemption would

severely limit the breadth of the state tax exemption. The

following noted statements of participating Senators are

telling.

e Senator Talmadge, the sponsor of the amend- .

ment, in effect declared that deletion of the sales

office exemption would ensure that an out-of-

state company with representatives who main-

tained an office would be taxable. 105 Conc.

Rec. 16,470-16,472 (1959) (Statements of Senator

Talmadge, including the observation that strik-

ing section 101(a)(3) from the bill was intended

to accomplish exactly what was sought by Sena-

tor Sparkman’s amendment that would have

added language to the bill, 105 Conc. Rec.

16,472 (1959).)

e Senator Bennett of Utah indicated that dele-

tion of the sales office exemption of section

101(a)(3) would result in a loss of the tax exemp-

tion as soon as the out-of-state business put a

sales representative in the taxing State and sup-

plied the representative with the minimum

equipment necessary to handle the business.

Senator Bennett viewed section 101(a)(2), which

was enacted, as permitting a business to have a

representative come in, and section 101(a)(3) as

allowing the business to have a domiciled repre-

sentative with an office. 105 Conc. Rec. 16,361

(1959).

e Senator Saltonstall of Massachusetts, a strong

supporter of S. 2524, confirmed these under-

standings, 105 Conc. Rec. 16,471 (1959) (The

purpose of section 101(a)(2) is to allow a sales

representative to come into a State and merely

solicit orders.), as did Senator Kerr of Okla-

homa, also a strong supporter. 105 Conc. Rec.

22

16,473 (1959) (Section 101(a)(1) and (2) viewed

as only allowing salesmen to come in and solicit

orders and send them out of state.)

e Most importantly, Senator Byrd, the floor

manager of S. 2524, concurred in these restric-

tive interpretations of S. 2524 following the

deletion of the sales office exemption at the

critical point when the Senate voted on the

amended S. 2524. 105 Conc. Rec. 16,493 (bill

protects only traveling salesmen who do not

have any facilities) and 16,494 (bill only protects

a traveling salesman who goes in and sells

goods subject to consummation at the home

office) (1959).

The House of Representatives appears to have under-

stood that the Senate bill was very limited in scope in its

considerations of the conference report after these Senate

proceedings had concluded. 105 Conc. Rec. 17,770 (State-

ment of Rep. Celler: mere solicitation), 17,771 (Statement

of Rep. Miller: very narrow, indeed) and 17,774 (State-

ment of Rep. Monagan: mere solicitation) (1959).

It baffles your Amicus in the face of this very concrete

understanding, how Wrigley can argue for a broad con-

struction of solicitation and for a de minimis exception for

activities that clearly violate the clarity Congress sought.

A mere listing of a few of the activities undertaken by

Wrigley in Wisconsin make the point without the neces-

sity of argument.

e The Wrigley representatives were in-state

residents.

e At least one of the Wrigley sales managers

maintained an in-state office with equipment

supplied by Wrigley.

23

e The Wrigley representatives maintained in-

state inventory which they sold and delivered

in-state. See 105 Conc. Rec. 16,355 (1959) (State-

ment of Senator Byrd to effect that sale of a

[single] sample would result in the loss of the

state tax exemption); section 101(a)(1) of Pub. L.

No. 86-272 (delivery from out-of-state required).

¢ Wrigley rented warehouse space.

e The Wrigley field representatives performed

services within Wisconsin by being responsible

for the quality of salable inventory of retailers

and stocking new stands of gum. See 105 Conc.

Rec. 16,471 (1959) (Statements of Senators Salt-

onstall and Talmadge to the effect that services

not covered by S. 2524).

IV. AN APPROPRIATE STANDARD OF SOLICITA-

TION IN LIGHT OF THE INTENT OF CONGRESS

TO GRANT A NARROW STATE TAX EXEMP-

TION BUT STILL OFFER SOME CERTAINTY IS

TO LIMIT SOLICITATION TO ACTIVITIES THAT

DIRECTLY SEEK PLACEMENT OF AN ORDER

OR ARE A NECESSARY PART OF SUCH ACTIV-

ITIES.

The appropriate gloss to place on solicitation in Pub.

L. No. 86-272 is suggested not only by its limited scope

but also by the need to promote certainty, if possible.

Your Amicus believes that the standard utilized by the

Multistate Tax Commission to develop the Guidelines is

the appropriate standard. The Guidelines achieve as

much clarity as possible without expansively defining

solicitation in violation of the clearly stated intent of

Congress. Your Amicus suggests the following:

24

Solicitation constitutes activities that directly

seek the placement of an order and such collat-

eral activities that are a necessary part of that

effort. If an activity serves the out-of-state seller

beyond the direct attempt to secure the place-

ment of an order, the dual purpose prevents the

activity from constituting only solicitation.

Solicitation with respect to indirect accounts (so-

called missionary activities) is similarly limited

with the adjustment being that the test is

applied with respect to the seeking of the place-

ment of an order for a customer of the out-of-

state seller.

Under the proposed test, Wrigley’s broad activities

here in issue would not constitute solicitation, because

they either were too far removed from a direct seeking of

the placement of an order or because they also served a

purpose of Wrigley that was separate from the securing

of the placement of an order. Three brief observations

explain application of the proposed test.

e¢ The sales representatives’ replacement and

disposition of stale and unsalable gum and

stocking of new stands did not constitute solic-

itation, because neither activity sought the

direct placement of an order. In fact, such activ-

ities also served Wrigley’s independent purpose

other than the direct seeking of an order. Speci-

fically, free replacement of gum can hardly be

viewed as seeking an order. Further, proper dis-

position of unsalable product rids the mar-

ketplace of defective products. Similarly,

stocking of a new stand from in-state inventory

effected a quick delivery of the product when a

new stand was ready to open.

e The sales representatives’ assistance on

credit problems did not directly seek the place-

ment of a new order. Such activities furthered

al

25

Wrigley’s independent interest in collecting a

past due account.

e A collateral activity that is a necessary part

of an activity that directly seeks the placement

of an order is an activity that must occur in

order to engage in solicitation. Thus, protected

activities include a sales representative’s main-

tenance of catalogues, samples, and sales litera-

ture and the commuting to and from the

business being solicited.

The test proposed here by the Multistate Tax Com-

mission is reflected in its Guidelines. Such test is right-

fully a restrictive test that is consonant with the clearly

expressed intent of Congress. This test is proposed as the

most desirable standard to be established for the term

“solicitation” under Pub. L. No. 86-272. Even the pre-sale

and post-sale test being proposed by the State of lowa is

too expansive and therefore should be viewed as a next

best alternative should the Court not be inclined to accept

the test proposed.

26

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, your Amicus respectfully

requests that the decision of the Wisconsin Supreme

Court be reversed. In reversing the decision of the Wis-

consin Supreme Court, the Court should indicate that the

state tax exemption of Pub. L. No. 86-272 is to be nar-

rowly construed and that consistent with that limitation

the appropriate test of solicitation is whether the activ-

ities of the out-of-state company directly seek the place-

ment of an order or are a necessary part thereof.

Respectfully submitted,

Paull Mines

Counsel of Record

Multistate Tax Commission

444 No. Capitol, N.W.

Suite 409

Washington, D.C. 20001

(202) 624-8699

November 21, 1991

App. 1

APPENDIX

RESOLUTION OF THE MULTISTATE TAX COMMIS-

SION ADOPTING THE PUB. L. NO. 86-272 GUIDE-

LINES

WHEREAS, it is in the interest of effective tax admin-

istration for tax administrators from time to time to

examine their practices as to their application of nexus

standards to out-of-state business organizations with

respect to various state taxes; and

WHEREAS, the information regarding such practices,

if made generally available to tax administrators, may

result in increased uniformity in the states’ practices with

regard to various nexus issues; and

WHEREAS, the four primary goals of the Multistate

Tax Compact are to (1) facilitate proper determination of

state and local tax liability of multistate taxpayers,

including the equitable apportionment of tax bases and

settlement of apportionment disputes; (2) promote uni-

formity or compatibility in significant components of tax

systems; (3) facilitate taxpayer convenience and compli-

ance in the filing of tax returns and in other phases of tax

administration; and (4) avoid duplicative taxation; and

WHEREAS, the state members of the Commission

have earlier reviewed their practices with regard to the

application of nexus standards relating to sales and use

taxation; and ¢

WHEREAS, the state members of the Commission

now believe that it is in the best interest of promoting the

four primary goals of the Commission to describe gener-

ally their practices with regard to Public Law 86-272 and

state income taxation; and

App. 2

WHEREAS, the adoption of a document containing

such information describing the states’ practices under

Public Law 86-272 is one method by which to make

generally available such information relating to those

practices;

NOW, THEREFORE, the Multistate Tax Commission

hereby RESOLVES that a document to be entitled “Infor-

mation Concerning Practices of Multistate Tax Commis-

sion States Under Public Law 86-272” be published by the

tax administrators of the Multistate Tax Commission

states which impose a corporate income tax setting forth

information concerning the practices of said states in

applying Public Law 86-272 to various factual circum-

stances; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that any member

state, if it so desires, may accept, in whole or in part, said

document and may otherwise dissent from any state-

ments contained therein, so that said document shall best

reflect the present practices of the states in applying

Public Law 86-272; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that said document be

reviewed no less than once every three years by each of

the signatory states to confirm that its statement of prac-

tice is accurate; and, if not, said state shall amend the

document with regard to any such inaccuracy; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that it is the intent of

this Resolution: (1) that the contemplated document is to

be informational only concerning each state’s practices in

regard to Public Law 86-272 and is not to serve as a basis

upon which any person may rely as to a nexus conclusion

App. 3

with respect to any particular set of factual circum-

stances; and (2) that that person should inquire of the

particular state for information as to that state’s position

concerning that specific set of factual circumstances.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Uniformity

Committee of the Multistate Tax Commission place upon

its agenda the issue of whether to promulgate a uniform

regulation in this regard to be proposed for adoption by

the member states.

Dated this 21st day of June, 1985

Multistate Tax Commission

PUBLIC LAW 86-272 GUIDELINES

[The Multistate Tax Commission has adopted the fol-

lowing guideline for use by its member states in deter-

mining whether a corporation has a taxable nexus within

a state’s borders for income tax purposes. It adopted this

guideline under the title “Information Concerning Prac-

tices of Multistate Tax Commission States under Public

Law 86-272.” It invites all states to adopt this guideline.]

Public Law 86-272, 15 U.S.C. 381-384, (hereafter “P.L.

86-272”) restricts a state from imposing a net income tax

on income derived within its borders from interstate com-

merce if the only business activity of the taxpayer within

the state consists of the solicitation of orders for sales of

tangible personal property, which orders are to be sent

outside the state for acceptance or rejection, and, if

accepted, are filled by shipment or delivery from a point

outside the state. For the purposes of this document, the

term “net income tax” shall also include a franchise tax

App. 4

measured by net income. If any sales are made into a

state which is precluded by P.L. 86-272 from taxing the

income of the seller, such sales remain subject to throw-

back to the appropriate state which does have jurisdiction

to impose its net income tax upon the income derived

from those sales.

It is the policy of the state signatories hereto to

impose their net income tax, subject to legislative limita-

tions, to the fullest extent constitutionally permissible.

Therefore, it is also the policy of those states to construe

the provisions of P.L. 86-272 narrowly so as tc apply that

law to only those limited circumstances clearly and rea-

sonably intended by Congress. The following information

reflects the signatory states’ current practices with regard

to: (1) whether a particular factual circumstance is con-

sidered either immune or not immune from taxation by

reason of P.L. 86-272; and (2) the jurisdictional standards

which will apply to sales made in another signatory state

for purposes of applying a throwback rule (if applicable)

with respect to such sales.

I

NATURE OF PROPERTY BEING SOLD

Only the sale of tangible personal property is afforded

immunity under P.L. 86-272; therefore, the leasing, renting,

licensing or other disposition of tangible personal property,

intangibles or any other type of property is not immune from

taxation by reason of P.L. 86-272. The definition of tangible

personal property for this purpose is that to be found under

each state’s respective laws.

App. 5

II

SOLICITATION OF ORDERS

For the in-state activity to be immune, it must be

limited solely to solicitation (except for that activity con-

ducted by independent contractors described in Section

IIl below). If there is any other activity unrelated to

solicitation, the immunity shall be lost. Examples of activ-

ities presently treated by the signatory states (unless oth-

erwise stated as an exception or addition) as either non-

immune or immune are as follows:

A. Non-Immune Activities:

The following in-state activities will cause otherwise

immune sales to lose their immunity:

1. Making repairs or providing maintenance.

Collecting delinquent accounts.

2

3. Investigating credit worthiness.

4. Installation or supervision of installation.

5

Conducting training courses, seminars or

lectures.

Providing engineering functions.

Handling customer complaints.

Approving or accepting orders.

om N Oo

Repossessing property.

10. Securing deposits on sales.

11. Picking up or replacing damaged or

returned property.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

App. 6

Hiring, training, or supervising personnel.

Providing shipping information and coor-

dinating deliveries.

Maintaining a sample or display room in

excess of two weeks (14 days) during the

tax year.

Carrying samples for sale, exchange or dis-

tribution in any manner for consideration

or other value.

Owning, leasing, maintaining or otherwise

using any of the following facilities or

property in-state:

a. Repair shop.

b. Parts department.

Purchasing office.

a

Employment office.

e. Warehouse.

Y ia

Meeting place for directors, officers, or

employees.

g. Stock of goods.

h. Telephone answering service.

i. Mobile stores, i.e., trucks with driver

salesmen.

j. Real property or fixtures of any kind.

Consigning tangible personal property to |

any person, including an independent con-

tractor.

Maintaining, by either an in-state or an out-

of-state resident employee, of an office or

place of business (in-home or otherwise).

19

B.

The following in-state activities will not cause the

App. 7

Conducting any activity in addition to

those described in paragraph II.B. below

which is not an integral part of the solicita-

tion of orders.

Immune Activities:

loss of immunity for otherwise immune sales:

ie

Advertising campaigns incidental to mis-

sionary activities.

Carrying samples only for display or for

distribution without charge or other con-

sideration.

Owning or furnishing autos to salesmen.

Passing inquiries and complaints on to the

home office.

Incidental and minor advertising, i.e.,

notice in a newspaper that a salesman will

be in town at a certain time.

Missionary sales activities.

Checking of customers’ inventories (for re-

order, but not for other purposes).

Maintaining a sample or display room for

two weeks (14 days) or less during the tax

year.

Soliciting of sales by an in-state resident

employee of the taxpayer; provided the

employee maintains no in-state sales office

or place of business (in-home or other-

wise).

App. 8

Ill

INDEPENDENT CONTRACTORS

P.L. 86-272 provides immunity to certain in-state

activities if conducted by an independent contractor that

would not be afforded if performed by the taxpayer

directly. Independent contractors may engage in the fol-

lowing limited activities in the state without the tax-

payer’s loss of immunity:

1. Soliciting sales.

2. Making sales.

3. Maintaining a sales office.

Sales representatives who represent a single principal are

not considered to be independent contractors and are

subject to the same limitations as employees.

Maintenance of a stock of goods in the state by the

independent contractor under consignment or any other

type of arrangement with the principal shall remove the

immunity.

IV

MISCELLANEOUS PRACTICES

A. Interstate Commerce.

The only activity in the state must be in interstate

commerce. If there is any other activity (except that

described in II.B. or otherwise incidental to solicitation),

then the immunity shall be lost.

App. 9

Requisites are:

1. Approval of the sales must be made outside

the state (except for sales by independent

contractors).

2. Deliveries must be made from a point out-

side the state.

B. Incorporated

The immunity afforded by P.L. 86-272 does not apply

to any corporation incorporated within the taxing state.

C. Service vs. Sale

Sales of services are not immune under P.L. 86-272. If

a sale consists of a mixture of tangible personal property

and services, the immunity shall be lost. Examples of

such a mixture are:

1. Photographic development.

Fabrication of customer’s materials.

Installation of equipment.

> Y Pf

Architectural and engineering services.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.