Petitioners Brief — Payne v. Tennessee

Supreme Court brief1991

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

iy

Ti war Sap 1991

No. 90-5721 on

SEE A we etl

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

PERVIS TYRONE PAYNE,

Petitioner,

V.

TENNESSEE,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the Supreme Court of Tennessee

BRIEF OF PETITIONER

J. BROOKE LATHRAM *

LEs JONES

130 North Court Avenue

Memphis, Tennessee 38103

- (901) 523-2311

* Counsel of Record Counsel for Petitioner

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Court, having twice decided in the last

five years that the use of unforeseeable victim impact

information in a capital sentencing trial violates the

Eighth Amendment, should now overrule its previous

decisions?

2. Whether Petitioner’s death sentence should be

vacated because of the State’s use of information of the

type condemned in Booth v. Maryland, 482 U.S. 496

(1987), and South Carolina v. Gathers, 490 U.S. 805

(1989) ?

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ..00222.0.2.2.....-cecesceeeeseeeeeeee

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .......02.02.22202....2...eeee--e na

OPINION OF THE COURT BELOW ........... scpsapespdincsia

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION 000000...

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS 00.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE 000000.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ....0 amsbes

EES EE

I. THE VICTIM IMPACT INFORMATION USED

Il.

ITI.

IV.

IN THIS CASE IS OF THE TYPE CON-

DEMNED IN BOOTH AND GATHERS ..........

ON PRINCIPLES OF STARE DECISIS, THE

COURT SHOULD DECLINE TO OVERRULE

BOOTH AND GATHERS |...

THE COURT’S RULINGS IN BOOTH AND

GATHERS ARE NECESSARY TO PRE-

SERVE FUNDAMENTAL EIGHTH AMEND-

MENT SAFEGUARDS ..022020.0.o.0.eceeeeeeeeeeeee es

A. Booth and Gathers follow logically from the

Court’s earlier decisions ..................................

B. A more detailed examination of the conse-

quences of overruling Booth and Gathers

further demonstrates that these decisions

are necessary to preserve the Eighth Amend-

ment’s safeguards against disproportionate

punishment and arbitrary classifications......

THE JUSTIFICATIONS ADVANCED FOR

OVERRULING BOOTH AND GATHERS

SHOULD BE REJECTED ......... ta

(iii)

11

15

18

18

21

24

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

A. Victim impact information of the type chal-

lenged here not only fails to promote, but

actually undermines, the penological objec-

Lf FE ee

B. That the law, in other contexts, allows pun-

ishment to depend upon the unforeseeable

consequences of the offender’s conduct does

not justify the use of unforeseeable victim

impact information in capital sentencing

| A RINEN WR PEY NED, NODS RANE ond PALA cre ey Se

1. Legislatures, in making distinctions

among punishments for different types

of offenses, often make presumptions

that the harm caused by the offense gen-

erally is indicative of the actor’s intent.

In those instances in which legislatures

make punishment distinctions based

solely on the harm caused by actor’s

conduct, they do so on the basis of the

harm to society in general, and not on

the basis of the harm suffered by indi-

viduals in particular ....................-00--.........

2. The use of unforeseeable victim impact

information in non-capital cases may

often be justified by the information’s

relevance to restitution. Furthermore,

the use of irrelevant information to en-

hance punishment in non-capital cases

seldom, if ever, violates the Eighth

IE cscisnittbnassdinedinntteeseaadeaiienieseeesininine

C. The use of unforeseeable victim impact in-

formation in a capital sentencing trial can-

not be justified on the grounds that it is

relevant to rebut mitigating evidence offered

a Te GET i555 csecietscadecaaieshasnadssiisesontins

V. THE STATE’S USE OF VICTIM IMPACT

EVIDENCE DID NOT CONSTITUTE HARM-

LESS ERROR ........ ids paeveipimianatinee Re Sa OE

ST iicscscasersnininibcisbsisiboatainhiepattioniniaianiaincaiuniiaine on

Page

25

29

29

31

33

34

35

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: Page

Appeal of Portsmouth Savings Bank Corporators,

525 A.2d 671 (N.H. 1987) 2.00. jonas) 17

Arizona v. Rumsey, 467 U.S. 203 (1984) 000000000... 16

Booth v. Maryland, 482 U.S. 496 (1987) .......000..... passim

Caldwell v. Mississippi, 472 U.S. 320 (1985) .......... 19, 32

California v. Brown, 479 U.S. 588 (1987) .......... 20, 24, 28

Chapman v. California, 386 U.S. 18 (1967) ............ 34

Eddings v. Oklahoma, 455 U.S. 104 (1982) ........ 19, 20, 33

Enmund v. Florida, 458 U.S. 782 (1982) 19

Furman v. Georgia, 408 U.S. 238 (1972) ............. 20, 21

Gardner v. Florida, 430 U.S. 349 (1977) ................. 32

Godfrey v. Georgia, 446 U.S. 420 (1980)... 21

Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153 (1976)... 25, 26, 27

Henderson v. State, 234 Ga. 827, 218 S.E.2d 612

SEALE SARS RENAE OSE Se tt 22

Lockett v. Ohio, 438 U.S. 586 (1978) ...... at TIE Mes 19, 33

McCleskey v. Kemp, 481 U.S. 279 (1987)... 23

Orozco v. Texas, 394 U.S. 324 (1969) rae 16

Runyon v. McCrary, 427 U.S. 160 (1976) _........... 16

Satterwhite v. Texas, 486 U.S. 249 (1988) ........... 34

Smith v. Allwright, 321 U.S. 649 (1944) 0. 16

South Carolina v. Gathers, 490 U.S. 805 (1989)... passim

State v. Gaskins, 284 S.C. 105, 326 S.E.2d 132,

cert. denied, 471 U.S. 1120 (1985) 000. 22

State v. Oliver, No. 49613 (Ohio Ct. App. Oct. 17,

1985) (LEXIS, states library, Ohio file)... 22

Tennessee v. Payne, 791 S.W.2d 10 (1990) ............ passim

Thompson v. Oklahoma, 487 U.S. 815 (1988)........ 26, 27

Thornburg v. American College of Obstetricians

and Gynecologists, 476 U.S. 747 (1986) ............ 17, 18

Turner v. Murray, 476 U.S. 28 (1986)... 23

Weems v. United States, 217 U.S. 349 (1910)........ 19

Welch v. Texas Department of Highways and Pub-

lic Transportation, 483 U.S. 468 (1987) ............. 16

Zant v. Stephens, 462 U.S. 862 (1983) 0.0... 23

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS:

United States Constitution:

Eeeees Ampomnews................................-<.-ccceccncces 2

Fourteenth Amendment ............ pe Ads Sa a ES 2

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

STATUTES:

ERT EEA NE AE Te SEE

RETIREE ce ad a ee ee

Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-1-203(g) (1987 Supp.) ........

Tenn. Code Ann. § 38-13-204(g)(2)(B) (1990

RATERS IN TICEAL ooh es rie ROP aoe aeT

ARTICLES AND TREATISES:

B. Cardozo, The Nature of the Judicial Process

149 (1921) 20000. SI RE ES eke Se ee ETP

Hillenbrand & Smith, Victims Rights Legislation:

An Assessment of Its Impact on Criminal Jus-

tice Practitioners and Victims, 1989 A.B.A. Sec.

RU i

Schwartz and Wishingrad, The Eighth Amend-

ment, Beccaria, and the Enlightenment: An

Historical Justification for the Weems v. United

States Excessive Punishment Doctrine, 24 Buf-

falo L. Rev. 783 (1975) oo... cee ecccccccccccceeeee

16, 17

31-32

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Nuited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

No. 90-5721

PERVIS TYRONE PAYNE,

Petitioner,

v.

TENNESSEE,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the Supreme Court of Tennessee

BRIEF OF PETITIONER

OPINION OF THE COURT BELOW

Tennessee v. Payne, 791 8.W.2d 10 (1990).

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Tennessee Supreme Court was

entered on April 16, 1990. Petitioner filed a Petition for

a Writ of Certiorari to the Supreme Court of the State

of Tennessee on September 12, 1990. The Petition for

Writ of Certiorari was granted February 15, 1991. The

Court subsequently entered an amended order on Feb-

ruary 19, 1991. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked

under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(3).

2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

United States Constitution:

Eighth Amendment

Excessive bail shall not be required, nor exces-

sive fines imposed, nor cruel and unusual pun-

ishment inflicted.

United States Constitution:

Fourteenth Amendment

Section 1. All persons born or naturalized in

the United States, and subject to the jurisdic-

tion thereof, are citizens of the United States

and of the State wherein they reside. No State

shall make or enforce any law which shall

abridee the privileges or immunities of citi-

zens of the United States; nor shall any State

deprive any person of life, liberty, or property,

without due process of law; nor deny to any

person within its jurisdiction the equal protec-

tion of the laws.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Pervis Payne, a twenty year old mentally handicapped

black man with no previous criminal record, was con-

victed of the first degree murder of Charisse A. Christo-

pher, a twenty-eight year old white woman, and her two

year old daughter, Lacie Jo Christopher. He was also

convicted of assaulting Charisse Christopher’s three year

old son, Nicholas, with intent to commit murder in the

first degree. Following a separate penalty trial, Payne

was sentenced by the jury to die.

During the guilt phase, the prosecution presented evi-

dence from which the jury could conclude that Payne

had committed the attacks while under the influence of

cocaine.

Payne denied committing the crimes. Testifying on his

own behalf, Payne admitted being in the victim’s apart-

3

ment shortly before the offense, but denied that he had

committed the crimes (T. 1220-29). Payne testified that,

on his way to his girlfriend’s apartment, located on the

same floor as that of the victims, he passed an unidenti-

fied black man descending the steps from the victims’

apartment (T. 1215-16). Payne further testified that he

heard a baby crying inside. (T. 1218). He said that,

when he entered the apartment, he found Charisse Chris-

topher with a knife protruding from her throat (T.

1220).

The only proof offered by the prosecution during the

sentencing phase consisted of victim impact information

of precisely the type that was condemned in Booth v.

Maryland, 482 U.S. 496 (1987), and South Carolina v.

Gathers, 490 U.S. 805 (1989), and a color videotape of

the crime scene that had not been introduced into evidence

during the cuilt phase of the trial.

Mary Zvolanek, the mother and grandmother of the

victims, responding to a question designed to elicit pre-

cisely the type of testimony condemned by Booth, testified

that the deaths of Nicholas’ mother and sister had had

a devastating effect upon the young boy:

9. Ms. Zvolanek, how has the murder of Nicho-

las’s mother and his sister affected him?

A. He cries for his mom. He doesn’t seem to un-

derstand why she doesn’t come home. And he cries

for his sister Lacie. He comes to me many times

during the week and asks me, Grandma, do you miss

my Lacie. And IJ tell him yes. He says, I’m worried

about my Lacie. (J.A. 3).

Ms. Zvolanek’s emotional testimony, of course, also re-

vealed her own grief.

After next showing the videotape, the State rested.

Payne then offered, in mitigation, evidence that he had

no prior record; that he had been a hard and diligent

worker; and that he regularly attended the church where

his father was the minister. (T. 1500, 1568-70). A clin-

4

ical psychologist testified about Payne’s low I[.Q. scores,

which he considered significant (T. 1520, 1528). He re-

frained from describing Payne as retarded, pointing out

that that term is “not commonly used any more” (T.

1520). He instead characterized Payne as “mentally

handicapped” (T. 1531). He also said that Payne was

one of the most polite prisoners that he had ever inter-

viewed (T. 1530).

The prosecution completed its initial closing argument

with the dramatic insistence that the jury should sentence

Payne to death in order to satisfy an anticipated desire

by Nicholas for Payne’s execution:

There is nothing you can do to ease the pain of

any of the families involved in this case. There is

nothing you can do to ease the pain of Bernice or

Carl Payne, and that’s a tragedy. There is nothing

you can do basically to ease the pain of Mr. and

Mrs. Zvolanek, and that’s a tragedy. They will have

to live with it the rest of their lives. There obviously

is nothing you can do for Charisse or Lacie Jo. But

there is something you can do for Nicholas.

Somewhere down the road Nicholas is going to

grow up, hopefully. He’s going to want to know

what happened. And he is going to know what hap-

pened to his baby sister and his mother. He is going

to want to know what type of justice was done. He

is going to want to know what happened. With your

verdict you will provide the answer. (J.A. 12).

In its rebuttal to Payne’s closing argument, the prose-

cution described the impact on Nicholas of the loss of

his mother and sister:

... And there won’t be anybody there—there won’t

be her mother there or Nicholas’ mother there to

kiss him at night. His mother will never kiss him

goodnight or pat him as he goes off to bed, or hold

him and sing him a lullaby. (J.A. 14).

5

Mr. Garts wants you to think about a good repu-

tation, people who love the defendant and things

about him. He doesn’t want you to think about the

people who loved Charisse Christopher, her mother

and daddy who love her. The people who loved little

Lacie Jo, the grandparents who are still here. The

brother who mourns for her every single day and

wants to know where his best little playmate is. He

doesn’t have anybody to watch cartoons with him, a

little one. These are the things that go into why it

is especially cruel, heinous, and atrocious, the bur-

den that that child will carry forever. (J.A. 15-16).

The prosecutor subsequently alluded to the “exemplary

lives” led by the deceased victims:

Mr. Garts says but [sic] Pervis Payne has lived

an exemplary life for twenty years. Well, what

about Charisse, for twenty-eight years? What about

Lacie Jo, for two years? They lived exemplary lives.

(J.A.17).

Having based its arguments almost entirely on the

victim impact information and the videotape, the prose-

cution concluded with the following remarks:

Ladies and gentlemen of the jury, this is the last

thing I am going to say to you. But I want you to

think about this when you go back into your jury

room. We have heard a lot about Charisse Chris-

topher, Lacie Jo and Nicholas, and how they were

as they appeared before Pervis Payne came into

their lives. And this is what he did to them. (J.A.

17).

The prosecutor then approached a large diagram of

Nicholas Christopher’s body and stabbed a hole through

it with the butcher knife that was found at the crime

scene. See Tennessee v. Payne, 791 5.W.2d 10, 20 (1990)

(J.A. 25, 45). The Tennessee Supreme Court, in its opin-

ion affirming Payne’s conviction and sentence, condemned

this conduct as “improper argument, an improper, un-

6

professional act and an improper use of exhibits.” Jd.

It refused, however, to order a new sentencing trial.

In returning its verdict, the jury reported on the form

provided to it: “We, the Jury, unanimously find that

there are no mitigating circumstances sufficiently sub-

stantial to outweigh the statutory aggravating circum-

stances so listed above” (J.A. 23).

The Tennessee Supreme Court ruled that Ms. Zvola-

nek’s testimony about the effect that Charisse’s and Lacie

do’s deaths had had upon Nicholas, while “technically

irrelevant,” . .. “did not create a constitutionally unac-

ceptable risk or any arbitrary imposition of the death

penalty,” and thus was harmless error. Z/d. at 17-18.

(J.A. 40). The court further ruled that the victim im-

pact arguments made by the State during the sentencing

phase were relevant to show Payne’s “personal respon-

sibility and moral guilt.” Jd. at 18-19. (J.A. 42).

This case is now before the Court pursuant to the

Amended Order of February 19, 1991 granting Payne’s

petition for certiorari.

1The statute under which Payne was tried, Tenn. Code Ann.

§ 39-2-203(g) (1987 Supp.), and the instruction given to the jury

pursuant to that statute (J.A. 21, 22), specifically required Payne,

in order to save his life, to convince the jury that the mitigating

evidence outweighed the aggravating circumstances. This statute

was subsequently repealed. The new statute, Tenn. Code Ann.

§ 38-13-204(g) (2)(B), requires that the jury “unanimously find

that the state has proven beyond a reasonable doubt that the statu-

tory aggravating circumstance or circumstances outweigh any miti-

gating circumstances.” Unlike Payne, a defendant tried under this

new statute is no longer required, in order to avoid death, to prove

that the mitigating evidence outweighs the aggravating circum-

stances. Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-13-204(g)(2)(B) (1990 Supp.).

7

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

In violation of the Court’s decisions in Booth and

Gathers, the State made its case for executing Payne

by emphasizing the suffering of the survivors, insisting

that the jury impose the death penalty because of the

anticipated desire of Nicholas for Payne’s execution, and

asserting the exemplary lives of the deceased victims.

The record in this case demonstrates, without question,

that the State’s use of this information was part of an

overall strategy to gain a decision based on emotion,

rather than reasoned judgment. Because Payne’s rights

under the Eighth and Fourteenth Amendments were vio-

lated, his sentence must be vacated unless the Court

overrules Booth and Gathers.

On principles of stare decisis, the Court should not

overrule Booth and Gathers. Deference to stare decisis

promotes stability and publie confidence in the judiciary

and in the authority of constitutional decisions. There

has been no time for the Court’s decisions in Booth and

Gathers to be tested by experience.

Apart from the absence of exceptional circumstances

calling for departure from stare decisis, Booth and Gath-

ers should not be overruled in any event. They are con-

stitutionally sound decisions that preserve fundamental

Eighth Amendment safeguards and follow logically from

the Court’s prior decisions.

Unforeseeable victim impact information says nothing

about a defendant’s state of mind, character, or propen-

sity for future dangerousness. It is, therefore, irrelevant

to the capital sentencing determination. The Eighth

Amendment prohibits the use of such information in

capital sentencing determinations because its considera-

tion ereates the risk that death will be imposed out of

whim, passion, prejudice or mistake.

8

An examination of the consequences of overruling

Booth and Gathers further demonstrates that these deci-

sions are necessary to preserve the Eighth Amendment’s

safeguards. The use of unforeseeable victim impact in-

formation will convert the sentencer’s guided discretion

to determine whether the offender’s depravity warrants

death into an uncontrollable and open-ended invitation to

decide whether a particular victim’s worth merits execut-

ing the offender. At best, the imposition of the death

penalty will turn on the victim’s perceived character and

value to others, with the sentencer in each case becoming

society’s agent for determining the relative merits of the

victims. At worst, it will become a mechanism for im-

plementing social prejudice.

If Booth and Gathers are overruled, the inevitable

tendency in capital sentencing trials will be to push the

defendant’s state of mind, character, and propensity for

future dangerousness into the background, as the focus

shifts to the victim’s character and worth. This, in turn,

will deter the sentencer from making a reasoned moral

response to the offender’s background, character, and

crime.

Though unforeseeable victim impact information is not

relevant to prove an offender’s state of mind, character,

or propensity for future dangerousness, it has been stated

that a state may nonetheless use such information in a

capital sentencing determination, because (1) by consid-

ering unforeseeable victim impact information, the sen-

tencer implements society’s legitimate interest in retri-

bution; (2) the law, in other contexts, makes punishment

dependent upon the unforeseeable consequences of the

offense; and (3) unforeseeable victim impact information

is needed to counter mitigating evidence offered by the

defendant. These justifications for allowing a state to

use such information should be rejected.

The use of unforeseeable victim impact information not

only fails to promote, but actually undermines, the peno-

9

logical objective of retribution. When a society invokes

retribution to authorize the death penalty, it recognizes

that life is so precious that its aggravated taking permits

the execution of the responsible offender. Retribution,

when invoked in this fashion, recognizes the preciousness

of every human life. When, however, retribution is used

to make comparative evaluations of the lives of individual

victims, then, of necessity, it no longer affirms the pre-

ciousness of every life, and it no longer comports with the

dignity of men.

That the law, in other contexts, allows punishment to

depend upon the unforeseeable consequences of the offend-

er’s conduct does not justify the use of such information

in capital sentencing trials. Legislatures, in making dis-

tinctions among punishments for different types of of-

fenses, often make presumptions that the harm caused

by the offense is generally indicative of the actor’s intent.

In those instances in which legislatures make punishment

distinctions based solely on the harm caused by the actor’s

conduct, they do so on the basis of the harm to society

in general, and not on the basis of the harm suffered by

individuals in particular.

The use of unforeseeable victim impact information in

non-capital cases may often be justified by the informa-

tion’s relevance to restitution. Restitution, of course,

plays no role in the determination of whether an of-

fender should live or die. Furthermore, the use of ir-

relevant information to enhance punishment in non-

capital cases very rarely, if ever, violates the Eighth

Amendment.

The use of unforeseeable victim impact information in

a capital sentencing trial cannot be justified on the

grounds that it is relevant to rebut mitigating evidence

offered by the defendant. There is no symmetry between

the defendant’s offer of mitigating circumstances and the

prosecution’s use of the unforeseeable consequences of the

offense. The prosecution may, of course, counter the de-

10

fendant’s mitigating evidence through the cross-examina-

tion of defense witnesses, the introduction of its own

proof directed toward relevant factors, and the use of

appropriate arguments.

Finally, the Tennessee Supreme Court erroneously con-

cluded that the State’s use of unforeseeable victim im-

pact information constituted harmless error. Apart from

the crimes themselves, which, of course, were brutal and

shocking, there was no evidence that supported the im-

position of death other than the Booth-condemned victim

-mpact information.

At the time of these killings, Payne was a twenty year

old mentally handicapped laborer, with no prior record.

The State introduced no evidence of any disciplinary

problems or academic misconduct. Nor did the State

seek to show any clinical evaluation or otherwise attempt

to demonstrate any propensity for future dangerousness.

The State was thus forced to make its case for execution

through the use of Booth-violative evidence and argu-

ments and through theatrics purposefully calculated to

induce an emotional reaction, rather than a reasoned,

moral response.

Payne was required to convince the jury that his miti-

gating evidence outweighed the aggravating circum-

stances. The State’s heavy reliance on the Booth-con-

demned information made Payne’s burden especially oner-

ous. The erroneous use of this information was not harm-

less beyond a reasonable doubt.

11

ARGUMENT

I. THE VICTIM IMPACT INFORMATION USED IN

THIS CASE IS OF THE TYPE CONDEMNED IN

BOOTH AND GATHERS.

While Justice Powel] purported to classify victim im-

pact information into two types, Booth at 502, he ac-

tually identified three types of information: (1) the per-

sonal characteristics of the victims; (2) the emotional

impact of the crimes on surviving family members; and

(3) the family members’ opinions and characterizations of

the crimes and of the defendant. /d. All three were pres-

ent here. In addition to referring to the “exemplary

lives” led by the deceased victims (J.A. 17), the State

emphasized the emotional effect that the crimes have had

on the survivors (J.A. 3, 12, 14, 15-16) and dramatically

invoked the anticipated desire of Nicholas for Payne’s

execution as a reason for imposing the death penalty

(J.A. 12).

Other than the police officer who authenticated the

videotape, the only witness called by the prosecution was

Mary Zvolanek, the mother and grandmother of the vic-

tims. Her emotional testimony that Nicholas “cries for

his mother” and “misses my Lacie’’ fits precisely within

the second type of information condemned in Booth. This

live testimony, while certainly not as lengthy as the writ-

ten statement in Pocth, was every bit as devastating.

That the prosecution appreciated the tendency of this tes-

timony to arouse the passions of the jury is underscored

by the heavy emphasis it placed on Ms. Zvolanek’s testi-

mony both during the opening statement of the sentenc-

ing trial, when the prosecution promised the jury it would

hear Ms. Zvolanek describe the impact on Nicholas (J.A.

5), and during its closing arguments (J.A. 12, 15-16).

That the formal presentation of this testimony was part

of an overall strategy by the prosecution to induce an

emotional reaction from the jury, rather than a reasoned

moral response to the evidence, is further borne out by

12

the prosecution’s introduction of the gruesome color video-

tape (T. 1505-07) during the sentencing phase” and its

improper stabbing of the exhibit at the close of the

rebuttal argument. See Tennessee v. Payne, 791 S.W.2d

at 20 (J.A. 45).

It is, of course, foreseeable to a murderer that, when

he knowingly leaves a surviving small child, the child

will miss and long for his dead parent. This knowledge

is relevant to show moral blameworthiness. As Justice

Powell wrote, “a defendant’s degree of knowledge of the

probable consequences of his actions may increase his

2 The tape showed the crime scene, including the bodies of the

two dead victims. Charisse’s hands and face revealed the effects

of rigor mortis, and the tape focused on these particular features

for several seconds at a time, sometimes with “close-ups.” The

prosecution’s dramatic reference to the tape in closing argument

sought to connect the victim’s features, as depicted in the film,

with the “depravity” of the conduct:

Now the first two minutes of the videotape wasn’t just shown

because its in color and looks a whole lot more gory. It’s be-

cause it shows more detail and more accurately what we’re

talking about in the first stage of the trial. And while, per-

haps I couldn’t refer to it in voir dire, you remember when I

asked you in voir dire could you listen to that kind of proof,

that you were going to hear some rather graphic evidence of

wounds. Well, that’s what I was talking about.

You see, because that’s not something I want to spring on

somebody without warning them on the front end, even though

it was a week ago. Because it shows very graphically how

atrocious this crime was, how cruel it was, and how much

depravity it showed. Some of the details especially in that

picture—in that videotape, you can’t see as well as [sic] in the

black and white picture. For instance, Charisse’s right hand all

gnarled up in agony. And Lacie Jo’s hand and Lacie Jo’s eyes

and the expression on her face some people refer to as the

thousand yard stare because it’s just sort of not focused

(J.A. 7-8).

No foundation had been laid, of course, for the argument that

Charisse’s “gnarled”’ hand reflected her “agony” at death or that

the expression on the child’s face was relevant to show the nature

of the killing.

13

moral culpability in a constitutionally significant man-

ner.” Booth v. Maryland, 482 U.S. at 505. In the case

at bar, therefore, the prosecution could have argued to

the jury that the perpetrator likely knew that, if by

chance a child survived the attack, he or she would long

for his or her mother or sibling.

The fact that the prosecution could have made this

argument does not justify its formal presentation of Ms.

Zvolanek’s testimony in blatant violation of Booth. Her

live emotional testimony that Nicholas did in fact cry

for his mother, that he repeatedly asked for “my Lacie”,

and that he asked his grandmother if she “also missed

Lacie” is markedly different from the prosecutor’s merely

drawing a general inference during an argument. It is

evidence designed to evoke a response based on what

actually happened to Nicholas, rather than on what the

perpetrator might have foreseen as the effect of his at-

tack. Absent this evidence, the jury’s focus would be

properly limited to an assessment of the probable con-

sequences of the crimes from the same vantage point as

the yerpetrator. “[T]he formal presentation of this in-

formation by the State can serve no other purpose than

to inflame the jury and divert it from deciding the case

on the relevant evidence concerning the crime and the

defendant.” Booth v. Maryland, 482 U.S. at 508.

Furthermore, the emotional trauma to the grandparents,

revealed through Ms. Zvolanek’s testimony and invoked

by the prosecution in both its initial closing (J.A. 12)

and rebuttal (J.A. 15-16) arguments, was offered solely

to show the effect of the crimes on the survivors. It cer-

tainly had no bearing on the defendant’s state of mind

or character.

Equally, if not more, prejudicial was the prosecution’s

dramatic conclusion to its initial closing argument (J.A.

12). The prosecution insisted that the jury should im-

pose the death penalty because nothing else will satisfy

14

Nicholas’ wishes as he matures and comes to appreciate

what has happened.

A survivor’s opinion on whether the offender should be

executed was condemned not only by the majority in

Booth, id. at 508, but also, perhaps, by the dissent, id.

at 518-19 (White, J., dissenting) (pointing out that, even

if inappropriate to allow victim’s family to express such

opinions, this is no reason to declare admission of victim

impact information per se unconstitutional). The prose-

cution’s argument in this case goes even beyond a sur-

vivor’s expression of the opinion that the defendant should

be executed. The prosecution not only took it upon itself

to assure the jury that Nicholas would want Payne exe-

cuted, but also indicated that Nicholas would be greatly

disappointed if the jury reached a different conclusion.

There is, of course, no support in the record for the

prosecution’s assumption. More significantly, even if it

is assumed that Nicholas will want Payne executed, ask-

ing a jury to impose death for that reason is condemned

by the majority opinion in Booth, id. at 508-09, and, as

just noted, perhaps by the dissenting opinion as well.

Id. at 518-19.

The prosecution’s appeal took from the jury the awe-

some decision making responsibility that it, and it alone,

is supposed to exercise. The prosecution’s insistence that

the jury impose death not because the evidence man-

dated that decision, but because of the anticipated desire

of Nicholas for Payne’s execution, was a form of psycho-

logical intimidation expressly calculated to make the ju-

rors feel that they would be letting Nicholas down if

they did not impose death. This insistence was, there-

fore, “clearly inconsistent with the reasoned decision-

making [the Court] require|s] in capital cases.” Jd. at

508-09.

The use of opinion victim impact information makes a

capital sentence dependent on how eloquently the vic-

tim’s survivors can plead for the offender’s death. The

15

prosecution here undoubtedly chose to make this dramatic

appeal because it knew that there could be no more elo-

quent advocate of death than a three year old child who

has himself been attacked by the defendant. The fact

that the appeal was made through the voice of the State’s

representative only served to give it added weight.

It is no coincidence that both this dramatic appeal and

the subsequent stabbing of the exhibit occurred at the

conclusions of the prosecution’s arguments. The prosecu-

tion’s strategy was to gain a decision based on emotion,

rather than one based on a reasoned, moral judgment.

The conclusion is inescapable that the victim impact

information used in this case is of the type condemned

in Booth and Gathers. Payne’s sentence must, therefore,

be reversed, unless the Court now overrules Booth and

Gathers.*

II. ON PRINCIPLES OF STARE DECISIS, THE COURT

SHOULD DECLINE TO OVERRULE BOOTH AND

GATHERS.

Four years ago, in a 5-4 decision, tne Court decided

Booth v. Maryland, 482 U.S. 496 (1987), holding that

the Eighth Amendment prohibits a state from using un-

foreseeable victim impact information in a capital sen-

tencing proceeding. Less than two years ago, in South

Carolina v. Gathers, 490 U.S. 805 (1989), the Court re-

fused to overrule Booth and made it clear that Booth’s

prohibition applied even when the only victim impact in-

formation used by the prosecution consists of informa-

tion designed to show the character of the victim. Since

3 The Court would, in fact, have to overrule Booth in its entirety

in order to affirm Payne’s death sentence. Because each of the three

types of victim impact information is present here, Payne’s sen-

tence must be vacated even if the Court decides to leave intact only

that part of Booth that condemns the use of opinions on whether

the offender should be executed. See Booth v. Maryland, 482 U.S.

at 508-09. This point is more fully addressed supra at pages 28-29.

16

the decision in Gathers, nothing has occurred that di-

minishes the authority or reasoning of either Booth or

Gathers.

“The rule of law depends in large part on adherence

to the doctrine of stare decisis.” Welch v. Texas Depart-

ment of Highways and Public Transportation, 483 U.S.

468, 478 (1987) (opinion of Justice Powell, for himself,

Chief Justice Rehnquist, Justice White, and Justice

O’Connor). As Justice Cardozo wrote, “|t|he labor of

judges would be increased almost to the breaking point if

every past decision could be reopened in every case, and

one could not lay one’s own course of bricks on the secure

foundation of the courses laid by others who had gone

before him.” B. Cardozo, The Nature of the Judicial

Process 149 (1921), quoted in Runyon v. McCrary, 427

U.S. 160, 190-91 (1976) (Stevens, J., concurring).

Conscientious adherence to the doctrine is often signi-

fied by an individual Justice’s willingness to suppress his

or her personal preferences in deference to a commitment

to the rule of law. See, e.g., Orozco v. Texas, 394 U.S.

324, 327-28 (1969) (Harlan, J., concurring). While the

doctrine is of greatest force when the Court construes

legislation, see Smith v. Allwright, 321 U.S. 649, 665

(1944), it is also applicable to matters of constitutional

interpretation. As the Court has recently observed, “|a|1-

though adherence to precedent is not rigidly required in

constitutional cases, any departure from the doctrine of

stare decisis demands special justification.” Arizona v.

Rumsey, 467 U.S. 203, 212 (1984) (emphasis added).

Deference to precedent promotes stability and public

confidence in the judiciary and in the authority of con-

stitutional decisions. The public correctly relies on its

perception that this is a nation governed by law rather

than the views of the individual Justices. While cer-

tainly a Justice must vote to overrule a decision that in

his or her view conflicts with the Constitution, see South

Carolina v. Gathers, 490 U.S. at 824-25 (Sealia, J., dis-

17

senting), the interests in stability and public confidence

require that there be a high and perhaps atypical de-

gree of certainty in the Justice’s conviction before he or

she votes to abandon a previous decision.

The doctrine of stare decisis recognizes the danger that,

if a new generation of Justices “corrects” the errors of

its predecessors, the Court might move farther and far-

ther away from the fundamental principles that allow

it to implement the rule of law rather than the “mere

exercise of judicial will, with arbitrary and unpredictable

results.” Thornburg v. American College of Obstetricians

and Gynecologists, 476 U.S. 747, 786-87 (1986) (White,

J., dissenting) ; Appeal of Portsmouth Savings Bank Cor-

porators, 525 A.2d 671, 701 (N.H. 1987) (Souter, J.,

dissenting). To be meaningful, therefore, the doctrine

should be followed by an individual Justice even when

it requires adopting a position that is contrary to the

ene he or she would have otherwise adopted on an open

question.

The issues addressed in Booth and Gathers deal with

matters that can, and should, be evaluated in the light

of experience. Admittedly, experience with the conse-

quences of some decisions sheds little light upon their

wisdom. Cf. Thornburg v. American College of Obstetri-

cians & Gynecologists, 476 U.S. at 786-88 (1986) (White,

J., dissenting). Booth and Gathers, however, are not

such cases. A few years’ experience with these decisions

should provide the bar and this Court with a realistic

assessment of the consequences of prohibiting the use of

unforeseeable victim impact information. To date, how-

ever, there has been no time for these decisions to be

“duly tested by experience.” See B. Cardozo, supra. To

overrule these decisions at this time would serve no pur-

pose but to block the opportunity for enlichtment.

It has been suggested that a precedent should be over-

ruled when experience demonstrates that it has spawned

an “unworkable scheme” that has resulted in “a major

18

distortion in the Court’s constitutional jurisprudence.”

Thornburg v. American College of Obstetricians & Gyne-

cologists, 476 U.S. at 814 (O’Connor, J., dissenting).

Such a distortion might occur, for example, when the

initial decision leads to subsequent decisions that con-

travene settled principles of justiciability and procedural

fairness. Jd. at 815. There has, however, been no claim

that Booth and Gathers have created such distortions.

These decisions involve the limited application of constitu-

tional principles to a particular segment of criminal sen-

tencing. This is not to suggest, of course, that Booth

and Gathers are not very important decisions, but only

to point out that, in terms of whether to depart from

stare decisis, they are distinguishable from cases having

a wider impact.

Stare decisis is an integral part of constitutional ju-

risprudence. It is a doctrine from which the Court should

depart only when exceptional justifications exist. We re-

spectfully submit that those justifications do not exist

here.

Ill. THE COURT’S RULINGS IN BOOTH AND GATH-

ERS ARE NECESSARY TO PRESERVE FUNDA-

MENTAL EIGHTH AMENDMENT SAFEGUARDS.

This section is divided into two sub-sections. We first

explain that Booth and Gathers follow logically from the

Court’s earlier decisions. In the second sub-section, we

examine the consequences of overruling Booth and Gath-

ers and explain that these adverse consequences illustrate

why these decisions are necessary to preserve the Eighth

Amendment’s safeguards.

A. Booth and Gathers follow logicaily from the Court’s

earlier decisions.

The Eighth Amendment, like all constitutional pro-

visions, must be construed in a way that implements the

principles that it embraces. Though there is a difference

19

of opinion about the framers’ original intent,‘ it is now

settled that the Eighth Amendment protects American

citizens from a punishment that is disproportionate to the

crime of which he is convicted. Weems v. United States,

217 U.S. 349 (1910); Enmund v. Florida, 458 U.S. 782,

788 (1982). It is also settled that the Eighth Amend-

ment requires an individualized sentencing determina-

tion in a capital case, because, otherwise, there would

be a constitutionally unacceptable risk that death will be

imposed in spite of factors that may call for a less severe

punishment. Lockett v. Ohio, 438 U.S. 586, 605 (1978).

In this constitutionally mandated individualized sen-

tencing determination, the sentencer must consider those,

and only those, factors that bear on whether the punish-

ment is appropriate for the offender’s blameworthiness.

A process that either withholds from the sentencer’s con-

sideration relevant evidence, see, e.g., Eddings v. Okla-

homa, 455 U.S. 104 (1982), or allows the sentencer to

consider factors that are prejudicially irrelevant to that

determination, see, e.g., Caldwell v. Mississippi, 472 U.S.

320 (1985), necessarily runs afoul of the Eighth Amend-

ment.

The Eighth Amendment’s individualized sentencing

requirement is thus concerned with the “process” by

which sentences are determined in capital cases. Eddings

*Compare the dissent of Justice White, with whom Justice

Holmes joined, in Weems v. United States, 217 U.S. 349, 393-95

(1910) (finding no historical support for the conclusion that the

framers intended a constitutional prohibition against disproportion-

ate punishments) with Comment, The Eighth Amendment, Bec-

caria, and the Enlightenment: An Historical Justification for the

Weems v. United Excessive Punishment Doctrine, 24 Buffalo L.

Rev. 783, 806-30 (1975) (arguing that Jefferson, Madison, and

others responsible not only for the drafting of the Bill of Rights

but prior state legislation as well were influenced by Cesare Bec-

caria’s 1764 treatise, On Crimes and Punishments, in which he

advocated proportional punishments along with other criminal law

reforms).

20

v. Oklahoma, 455 U.S. at 118 (O’Connor, J., concurring).

Insufficiently guided discretion produces the constitu-

tionally unacceptable risk that punishment might be ‘“im-

posed out of whim, passion, prejudice or mistake,” id., or

that the sentence will not “reflect a reasoned moral re-

sponse to the defendant’s background, character and

crime rather than mere sympathy or emotion.” Califor-

nia v. Brown, 479 U.S. 538, 545 (1987) (O’Connor, J.,

coneurring) (emphasis original).

Booth and Gathers follow logically from these settled

principles. Unforeseeable victim impact information is

irrelevant to the sentencing determination. Such infor-

mation tells the sentencer absolutely nothing about the

offender’s state of mind, character, or propensity for fu-

ture dangerousness. It is, therefore, “wholly unrelated

to the blameworthiness” of the defendant. Booth v. Mary-

land, 482 U.S. at 504.

Allowing the sentencer to consider such information

“could result in imposing the death penalty because of

factors about which the defendant was unaware, and that

were irrelevant to the decision to kill.” Jd. at 505. This,

in turn, could “divert the jury’s attention away from the

defendant’s background and record, and the circumstances

of the crime.” 7d.

Booth also recognizes that the use of unforeseeable

victim impact information might create arbitrary distinc-

tions between those cases in which death is, and is not,

imposed. Jd. at 505-06. Such arbitrary distinctions have,

of course, been a principal concern of the Court since its

decision in Furman v. Georgia, 408 U.S. 238 (1972).

See id. at 312-13 | White, J., concurring).

After pointing out that in some cases the victim may

“not leave behind a family, or the family members may

he less articulate in describing their feelings even though

their sense of loss is equally severe,” Booth at 505, the

Court said that “the fact that the imposition of the death

sentence may turn on such distinctions illustrates the

21

danger of allowing juries to consider this information.”

Id. Similarly, the Court stated that there is no justifica-

tion for allowing a capital sentencing “decision to turn

on the perception that the victim was a sterling member

of the community rather than someone of questionable

character.” Jd. at 506. Citing the Court’s earlier deci-

sion in Godfrey v. Georgia, 446 U.S. 420, 433 (1980)

(opinion of Stewart, J.), Justice Powell wrote that in-

formation concerning the worth of the victim “does not

provide a ‘principled way to distinguish |cases] in which

the death penalty was imposed, from the many cases in

which it was not.’” Jd. The use of such information, in

other words, does not provide a basis of distinction that

serves any legitimate “end of punishment in the criminal

justice system.” Cf. Furman v. Georgia, 408 U.S. at 311

(White, J., concurring).

B. A more detailed examination of the consequences

of overruling Booth and Gathers further demon-

strates that these decisions are necessary to pre-

serve the Eighth Amendment’s safeguards against

disproportionate punishment and arbitrary classi-

fications.

Unforeseeable victim impact information, as previously

noted, will provide no assistance whatsoever to the assess-

ment of the offender’s state of mind, character, or pro-

pensity for future dangerousness. A murder is no less

heinous, and the offender no less deserving of punishment,

simply because the victim happens to be a derelict or a

hermit who dies without survivors rather than, say, a

beloved parent.

That a victim led an exemplary life, or is missed by

her survivors, is no more relevant to the defendant’s

blameworthiness than evidence of the victim’s moral short-

comings. Let us say, for example, that a priest is bru-

tally murdered by a man who, while in the process of

robbing the parish safe, is surprised by the priest. Let

us further postulate that the defendant’s attorney, in the

22

course of his investigation of the case, turns up two young

children who will testify that the priest, on several oc-

casions, persuaded them to engage in sexual acts with

him.

Ignoring for the moment the lack of wisdom attendant

to such a tactic, the defense’s attempted introduction of

the evidence of the victim’s transgressions should be ir-

relevant, since those past transgressions do not aid the

assessment of the defendant’s moral culpability.® Yet, if

Booth and Gathers are overruled, unfavorable. as well as

favorable, information about the victim could be used

during the sentencing trial, with the concomitant in-

creased likelihood that the sentencer will be diverted from

its evaluation of the offender’s blameworthiness.

In addition to providing no assistance to the evaluation

of the offender’s state of mind, character, or propensity

for future dangerousness, the use of unforeseeable victim

impact information will convert the sentencer’s guided

discretion to determine whether the offender’s depravity

warrants death into an uncontrollable and open-ended

invitation to decide whether a particular victim’s value to

society and/or his survivors merits executing the offender.

This, in turn, could well result in the imposition of the

death penalty on the basis of the sentencer’s assessment

of such constitutionally impermissible factors as the vic-

tim’s race, religion, gender, and economic or social status."

5 See State v. Gaskins, 284 S.C. 105, 128, 326 S.E.2d 132, 145,

cert. denied, 471 U.S. 1120 (1985) (no error in excluding confession

of victim, a death-sentenced murderer, proffered by defense since

victim’s status “did not entitle [defendant] to kill him’); State v.

Oliver, No. 49613 (page 8) (Ohio Ct. App. Oct. 17, 1985) (LEXIS,

states library, Ohio file) (state’s evidence that the victim was a

nice and intelligent person and defense evidence of victim’s homo-

sexual acts both held inadmissible); Henderson v. State, 234 Ga.

827, 828, 218 S.E.2d 612, 614 (1975) (in general, evidence of de-

ceased’s character is inadmissible in a murder trial).

® Sentencing determinations may not be based on “factors that

are constitutionally impermissible or totally irrelevant to the sen-

tencing process, such as for example, the race, religion, or political

23

At best, the imposition of the death penalty would turn

on the victim’s perceived character and value to others,

with the sentencer in each case becoming society’s agent

for determining the relative merits of the victims. At

worst, the death penalty would become a mechanism for

implementing social prejudice.

The consequences of overruling Booth and Gathers will

be grim indeed. The tendency will be to push the defend-

ant’s state of mind, character, and propensity for future

dangerousness into the background, as the focus shifts

to the victim’s character and worth. The prosecution will

present the victim in a manner that appeals to the paro-

chial perspective of the jury, and the defense will often

find irresistible the opportunity to attack the victim’s

character. As this case vividly illustrates, the use of

Booth-condemned information can be an essential part of

affiliation of the defendant.” Zant v. Stephens, 462 U.S. 862, 885

(1983) ; Booth v. Maryland, 482 U.S. at 517 (White, J., dissenting)

(“It is no doubt true that the State may not encourage the sen-

tencer to rely on a factor such as the victim’s race in determining

whether the death penalty is appropriate”).

The reality, unfortunately, is that already there is disturbing

evidence that the chance that the death penalty will be imposed is

significantly greater in cases in which the victims are white then

in those in which the victims are black. See, e.g., the “Baldus

study,” the findings of which, concededly, were neither accepted nor

rejected by the Court in McCleskey v. Kemp, 481 U.S. 279 (1987).

If prosecutorial discretion to seek the death penalty is in fact influ-

enced by the race of the victim, see id. at 286-87 (discussing

“Baldus study”), then this tendency is likely to be exacerbated if

the prosecutor believes that the strength of his case depends upon

his ability to marshall effective evidence of the victim’s worth or

standing in the community. :

In Turner v. Murray, 476 U.S. 28, 36 (1986), the Court held that

the risk of racial prejudice infecting the sentencing decision in a

case involving a white victim and black defendant was sufficient to

require voir dire examination of jurors about their racial attitudes.

This recognized risk of racial prejudice could, of course, also surface

when the sentencer is expressly urged to consider the status and

worth of the victim.

24

the prosecution’s strategy to gain a death sentence based

on emotion rather than on “a reasoned moral response to

the defendant’s background, character, and crime. .. .”

California v. Brown, 479 U.S. at 545 (O’Connor, J., con-

curring) (emphasis original). Furthermore, in its most

extreme form, the capital sentencing tria! will be a forum

for pandering, be it subtle or flagrant, to the most in-

sidious social prejudices.

IV. THE JUSTIFICATIONS ADVANCED FOR OVER-

RULING BOOTH AND GATHERS SHOULD BE

REJECTED.

It is, we believe, self-evident that unforeseeable victim

impact information is not relevant to show an offender's

state of mind, character, or propensity for future dan-

gerousness. Those who dissented in Booth and Gathers

have nevertheless indicated that the use of such informa-

tion may be constitutionally permissible because:

(1) The unforeseeable consequences of an offense com-

prise part of the offender’s “blameworthiness,” Booth v.

Maryland, 482 U.S. at 515-16 (White, J., dissenting) ; id.

at 519 (Sealia, J., dissenting) ; South Carocina v. Gathers,

490 U.S. at 817-18 (O’Connor, J., dissenting); and, by

considering unforeseeable victim impact information in

this fashion, the sentencer implements society’s legitimate

interest in retribution, Booth v. Maryland, 482 U.S. at

515 (White, J., dissenting); South Carolina v. Gathers,

490 U.S. at 819-20 (O’Connor, J., dissenting) ;

(2) The law, in other contexts, makes punishment de-

pendent upon the unforeseeable consequences of the of-

fense, Booth v. Maryland, 482 U.S. at 516-17 (White, J.,

dissenting) ; id. at 519-20 (Scalia, J., dissenting) ; South

Carolina v. Gathers, 490 U.S. at 819 (O’Connor, J., dis-

senting) ; and

(3) Such information is needed to counter mitigating

evidence offered by the defendant, Booth v. Maryland,

482 U.S. at 518 (White, J., dissenting); id. at 520

25

(Scalia, J., dissenting) ; South Carolina v. Gathers, 490

U.S. at 820-21 (O’Connor, J., dissenting).

In the next three subsections, we explain that these

proffered justifications for permitting a state to use un-

foreseeable victim impact information should be rejected.

A. Victim impact information of the type challenged

here not only fails to promote, but actually under-

mines, the penological objective of retribution.

Retribution is a valid penological basis for authorizing

the imposition of the death penalty in certain types of

homicide. South Carolina v. Gathers, 490 U.S. at 818

(O’Connor, J., dissenting). “‘|T]he decision that capital

punishment may be the appropriate sanction in extreme

cases is an expression of the community’s belief that cer-

tain crimes are themselves so grievous an affront to hu-

manity that the only adequate response may be the pen-

alty of death.’” Booth v. Maryland, 482 U.S. at 515

(White, J., dissenting), quoting Gregg v. Georgia, 428

U.S. 153, 184 (1976) (joint opinion of Stewart, Powell,

and Stevens, J.J.).

A legisiature invokes retribution by declaring that the

execution of the offender is a permissible, though not

mandatory, response to the commission of certain classes

of offenses (i.e., homicides with one or more aggravating

factors present). In any given case, the sentencer,

clothed with the legislative authorization, implements

retribution by considering the defendant’s state of mind,

character, and propensity for future dangerousness and

then deciding the appropriate punishment. Consideration

of the victim’s status, his survivors’ grief, or his sur-

vivors’ opinions on whether the defendant should be

executed is in no way essential to the sentencer’s imple-

mentation of retribution.

Though retribution can be implemented without the

sentencer’s having to consider Booth-condemned victim

impact information, the question that the Court must

26

decide is whether a state may allow the use of such in-

formation in a capital sentencing trial. As explained in

section C, immediately supra, Booth, relying on earlier

Eighth Amendment decisions, answers this question in

the negative. Stated succinctly, the use of such informa-

tion prevents the sentencer from making the requisite

reasoned moral judgment, Booth at 505, and creates an

arbitrary classification that affords no principled basis

for distinguishing the cases in which the death penalty

is, and is not, imposed. Jd. at 505-06. Retribution thus

cannot serve as a license for making distinctions based

on the perceived worth of victims. As Justice Powell

explained: “We are troubled by the implication that

defendants whose victims were assets to their community

are more deserving of punishment than those whose vic-

tims are perceived to be less worthy. Of course, our sys-

tem of justice does not tolerate such distinctions.” Booth

v. Maryland, 482 U.S. at 506 n.8 (citation omitted) .’

Justice Powell’s reasoning is essential to preserving the

principle, announced in previous decisions, that retribu-

tion is consistent with the Eighth Amendment’s respect

for the “dignity of men,” see Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S.

at 183 (opinion of Stewart, Powell, and Stevens, J.J.) 5

Thompson v. Oklahoma, 487 U.S. 815, 836 (1988). His

analysis recognizes retribution’s affirmation of the pre-

ciousness of life, without simultaneously allowing retri-

bution to be used to exalt some lives over others.

Though punishing offenders by exec: ting them ordinar-

ily is inconsistent with the Eighth Amendment’s respect

for the “dignity of men,” there are limited instances

when society’s interest in retribution allows the death

penalty. Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. at 183 (Stewart,

7In those ins‘ances in which the governmen‘al interest justifies

snecial protection for certa’n classes of persons, legislators have

acted explicitly. E.¢., 18-U.S.C. $351 (prv‘ecting the lives of mem-

bers of Congress, Cabinet members, and Supreme Court Justices).

27

Powell and Stevens, J.J.). In these limited instances,

invoking retribution to execute the offender is compatible

with the dignity of men. Id.; Thompson v. Oklahoma,

487 U.S. at 836. What permits retribution to be invoked

in this fashion is society’s recognition of the preciousness

of human life—that is, a recognition that each life is so

precious that its aggravated taking permits the execution

of the responsible offender. It is this affirmation of the

preciousness of all human life that makes retribution-

based execution compatible with the dignity of men. If,

however, retribution becomes a device for making com-

parative evaluations of the lives of individual victims,

then, of necessity, it no longer affirms the preciousness

of all life, and it no longer comports with the dignity of

men.

Prohibiting the use of unforeseeable victim impact in-

formation in no way prevents the sentencer from serving

as the “conscience of the community” or from expressing

society’s “moral outrage”. That function is still per-

formed when the sentencer decides whether death is war-

ranted by evidence of the defendant’s state of mind, char-

acter, and propensity for future dangerousness. By

focusing on whether the offender deserves to die for tak-

ing another life, rather than on whether the offender’s

death is satisfactory compensation for the particular vic-

tim’s life, the sentencer serves retribution’s objective of

affirming the preciousness of all life.

The essential lesson of Booth and Gathers is that the

brutal, cold blooded murder of a lonely prostitute is every

bit as heinous as the similar killing of a hard working,

loving mother. That the Eighth Amendment must ac-

commodate this view of humanity is hardly a bad thing.

It will ensure that prosecutors, in their efforts to vindi-

cate society’s valid interest in retribution, will appeal to

the sentencer’s reason by focusing on what the defendant

did, why he did it, the manner in which he did it, and

the kind of person he is. The prosecutor will be called

28

upon to assume that the sentencer will regard all life as

precious and will believe that the less exalted members

of our society are just as entitled to protection and jus-

tice as are others.

That the holdings of Booth and Gathers do not impede

prosecutors from vindicating society’s interest in retribu-

tion warrants further emphasis. The prosecution will al-

ways be entitled to introduce during the guilt phase evi-

dence of the victim’s characteristics relevant to the issues

raised in that proceeding. Furthermore, during the sen-

tencing phase, the prosecution will be permitted to prove

the defendant’s knowledge of both the victim’s character-

istics and his survivors and to ask the sentencer to make

whatever inferences the record will legitimately support

concerning the defendant’s awareness of the probable con-

sequences of his offense. Booth v. Maryland, 482 U.S. at

505.

While we are convinced of the logic and correctness of

our position, it would nonetheless amount to folly on our

part if we failed to recognize that some members of the

Court may not accept our reasoning. We hasten to ob-

serve, therefore, that, even if one assumes arguendo that

retribution may be invoked to justify the sentencer’s con-

sideration of unforeseeable victim impact information,

there is still no valid basis for allowing the sentencer to

consider the third category of information condemned in

Booth—namely, opinions and characterizations of the

defendant and of the crime.

As this case graphically illustrates, invoking a sur-

vivor’s demand for the defendant’s execution takes from

the sentencer the responsibility it, and it alone, must

exercise and diverts the sentencer from making a deci-

sion that “reflects a reasoned moral response to the de-

fendant’s background, character and crime rather than

mere sympathy or emotion.” California v. Brown, 479

U.S. at 545 (O’Connor, J., concurring) ‘emphasis orig-

inal). The fact that the prosecution concluded its initial

29

closing argument with this dramatic appeal (J.A. 12)

and its rebuttal by stabbing the exhibit, see Tennessee v.

Payne, 791 S.W.2d at 20 (J.A. 45), was hardly coinci-

dental. The prosecution plainly wanted from the jury an

emotional reaction, not a reasoned moral response. Be-

cause of the prosecution’s psychologically intimidating in-

sistence that the jury not let Nicholas down (J.A. 12),

Payne’s sentence must be set aside even if the Court

leaves intact only that part of Booth that condemns the

use of opinions and characterizations.

B. That the law, in other contexts, allows punishment

to depend upon the unforeseeable consequences of

the offender’s conduct dves not justify the use of

unforeseeable victim impact information in capital

sentencing trials.

1. Legislatures, in making distinctions among

punishments for different types of offenses, often

make presumptions that the harm caused by

the offense generally is indicative of the actor’s

intent. In those instances in which legislatures

make punishment distinctions based solely on

the harm caused by actor’s conduct, they do so

on the basis of the harm to society in general,

and not on the basis of the harm suffered by indi-

viduals in particular.

The fact that society, in other contexts, sometimes

makes punishment dependent upon the unforeseeable con-

sequences of the offense does not justify permitting a

state to declare victim impact information relevant to the

sentencing determination in a capital case. The distinc-

tion made between an attempted and a completed offense

is often invoked by those who advance this argument.

See, e.g., Booth v. Maryland, 482 U.S. at 519 (Sealia,

J., dissenting). It is worthwhile, therefore, that we

analyze this particular example.

Respectfully, we submit that this position overlooks the

utterly unknowable and indiscernible quality of human

30

intent. Of necessity, the law draws distinctions based

upon a trier of fact’s conclusions regarding a particular

actor’s intent. It is inevitable that such conclusions will

involve speculation, and the law should not be forced to

ignore this. The law may, therefore, reflect an aware-

ness of the varying degrees of certainty with which find-

ings of intent are made. That is, legislatures should

have freedom to assign severity of penalties based upon

the confidence that may fairly be placed in a finding of

intent made by the trier of fact. Legislatures thus must

be permitted to draw lines based upon their judgments

about the degree of confidence that may be had in a trier

of fact’s conclusion in any given context.

There is a plausible rational basis for a legislature’s

assigning to an unsuccessful attempt a penalty that is

less severe than that which the legislature assigns to the

completed Offense. The fact that the offense is completed

is often indicative of the actor’s intent. In many cases,

for example, the unsuccessful perpetrator may have ex-

perienced “cold feet” at the last instant or otherwise ex-

hibited some tendency reflecting a lesser state of culpabil-

ity than that possessed by the successful offender.

To be sure, there will be occasions when, as pointed out

in the dissenting opinions in Booth and Gathers, there is

no difference whatsoever between the unsuccessful and

the successful perpetrator in terms of their intent. That

is to say, there will be instances when the crime is not

completed simply because of a fortuitous development

over which the defendant had no control.* Legislatures,

however, do not enact laws for particular cases. They

must make distinctions that encompass not the particular

case, but rather the whole range of possible criminal cir-

cumstances.

8 The classic illustration of this is, of course, of course, the cold

blooded attempt to execute a victim that fails sclely because the

perpetrator’s gun misfires. Booth v. Maryland, 482 U.S. at 519.

(Sealia, J., dissenting).

31

Admittedly, legislatures, in addition to making classifi-

cations based on intent, also make distinctions based on

the harm caused by the actor’s conduct. A reckless driver

who runs a stop light and kills someone is punished more

severely than one who commits the same offense but, for-

tuitously, causes no injury. Booth v. Maryland, 482 U.S.

at 516 (White, J., dissenting); id. at 519 (Scalia, J.,

dissenting) ; South Carolina v. Gathers, 490 U.S. at 805

(O’Connor, J., dissenting). In basing punishment on the

degree of harm in this instance, however, a legislature

takes into account only the loss of life in general, and not

the worth of the victim in particular. A legislature thus

does not make the punishment more sevefe when the vic-

tim is a priest rather than, say, a prostitute.

2. The use of unforeseeable victim impact informa-

tion in non-capital cases may often be justified

by the information’s relevance to restitution.

Furthermore, the use of irrelevant information

to enhance punishment in non-capital cases sel-

dom, if ever, violates the Eighth Amendment.

The disallowance of the use of unforeseeable victim im-

pact information in capital sentencing trials should not

be viewed as inconsistent with the states’ legitimate in-

terest in using such information in non-capital proceed-

ings. To the extent that restitution is or may be required

of a defendant in a non-capital case, unforeseeable victim

impact information is undisputably relevant to the sen-

tencing decision. Death, however, is in no way, shape or

form a means of restitution. It is instead the ultimate

penalty exacted for the most grievous of affronts to so-

ciety. The basis for making unforeseeable victim impact

information relevant in a non-capital case is, therefore,

absent in a capital proceeding.”

*In the view of sentencing judges, victim impact statements are

most beneficial, not surprisingly, because of the information they

provide on the physical impact of the crime. Hillenbrand & Smith,

Victims Rights Legislation: An Assessment of Its Impact on Crimi-

32

There are, of course, instances when victim impact in-

formation is used in non-capital cases not to impose resti-

tution, but solely to enhance punishment. Even so, this

use of victim impact information will seldom, if ever, vio-

late the Eighth Amendment.

The maximum penalty for non-capital offenses is al-

most always within the range of proportionate punish-

ment allowed by the Eighth Amendment. It necessarily

follows, therefore, that the decision on where to place an

offender’s sentence within the statutorily permissible

range will also not invoke the Eighth Amendment. Even

if the non-capital sentencing decision is based on irrele-

vant evidence, no Eighth Amendment violation will have

occurred, since the imposition of even the maximum sen-

tence would not have contravened that amendment. At

most, an erroneous evidentiary ruling will have been

made, and, of course, the Constitution does not exist to

cure every such mistake.

In capital cases, though, the situation is altogether dif-

ferent. A death sentence based on irrelevant, prejudicial

information always invokes the Eighth Amendment be-

cause of the risk that death is being imposed for the

wrong reasons. See Caldwell v. Mississippi, 472 U.S. 320

(1985) (death sentence reversed because of risk that

jury believed it was not making final determination) :

Gardner v. Florida, 430 U.S. 349, 364 (1977) (White.

J., concurring) (reversing death sentence imposed after

sentencing judge considered confidential information not

provided to defendant). Given death’s finality, a death

sentence imposed for impermissible reasons, or in spite

nal Justice Practitioners and Victims, 1989 A.B.A. Sec. Crim. Just.

71. After this, however, judges find that victim impact statements

are most helpful in imposing restitution. Jd. Hillenbrand and Smith

thus conclude that the most dramatic consequence of using victim

impact statements in non-capital cases is its effect on restitution. /d.

at 71, 103, 123. “Clearly, the greatest impact from the judges’ per-

spective relates to restitution—both the number of orders issued

and the size of those orders.” /d. at 71.

33

of factors that may call for a less severe penalty, is, by

definition, disproportionate. Sce id. ; Lockett v. Ohio, 438

U.S. 586, 605; Eddings v. Oklahoma, 455 U.S. at 119

(O’Connor, J., concurring). A death sentence based on

irrelevant prejudicial information thus cannot be toler-

ated under the Eighth Amendment, even though a sen-

tence based on irrelevant evidence in a non-capital case

very rarely invokes that amendment.

C. The use of unforeseeable victim impact information

in a capital sentencing trial cannot be justified on

the grounds that it is relevant to rebut mitigating

evidence offered by the defendant.

The capital sentencer must focus on the offender’s

state of mind, character, and propensity for future dan-

gerousness. Mitigating evidence on these particular as-

pects is relevant to the sentencing determination, because

it _ the decision on whether the offender should live

or die.

It has been stated that, since the defendant may intro-

duce all available, relevant mitigating evidence, unfore-

seeable victim impact information is relevant to counter

the defendant’s proof. Booth v. Maryland, 482 U.S. at 517

(White, J., dissenting); id. at 520 ( Scalia, J., dissent-

ing); South Carolina v. Gathers, 490 U.S. at 820-21

(O’Connor, J., dissenting); Tennessee y. Payne, 791

S.W.2d at 19. There is, however, no symmetry between

these two categories of evidence. The former bears di-

rectly on whether the offender’s state of mind, character,

and propensity for future dangerousness warrant execu-

” We believe that the Constitution permits a state to limit the

type of “mitigating” evidence that a defendant may offer in a

capital sentencing trial. If the mitigating evicence does not assist

the decision on whether the defendant's state of mind, character,

or propensity for future dangerousness warrants execution, it may

be excluded as irrelevant. Cf. Lockett v. Ohio, 488 U.S. at 608 (“To

meet constitutional requirements, a death penalty statute must not

preclude consideration of relevant mitigating factors”) (emphasis

added ) .

34

tion. The latter merely reveals the unforeseeable conse-

quences of the offense.

Far from having its “hands tied”, the prosecution may

counter the defendant’s mitigating evidence through the

cross-examination of defense witnesses, the introduction

of its own proof bearing on relevant factors, and the use

of appropriate arguments. Rather than constituting an

attempt to rebut the offender’s mitiyating evidence, the

use of unforeseeable victim impact information is an ef-

fort to inject into the capital sentencing trial altogether

different factors that do not prove the offender’s state of

mind, character, ov future dangerousness.

V. THE STATE’S USE OF VICTIM IMPACT EVI-

DENCE DID NOT CONSTITUTE HARMLESS

ERROR.

In order to show that the constitutional error involved

here was harmless, the State must demonstrate that the

use of the Booth-prohibited evidence and arguments was

harmless beyond a reasonable doubt. Chapman v. Cali-

fornia, 386 U.S. 18, 24 (1967); Satterwhite v. Texas,

486 U.S. 249, 256 (1988). The Tennessee Supreme Court

erroneously concluded that the State has met this burden.

The crimes in this case were, of course, brutal and

shocking. Apart from that fact, however, the State had

nothing to support the imposition of death other than the

Booth-violative victim impact information, the gruesome

color video tape that even the trial judge intimated was

too inflammatory to introduce during the guilt phase (T.

1493-94), and the theatrics with which the prosecution

improperly concluded its final argument. See Tennessee

v. Payne, 791 S.W.2d at 20 (J.A. 45).

Payne is not the typical “two time loser” who cold

bloodedly executed a robbery victim. He was, at the time

of these crimes, a twenty year old mentally handicapped

laborer, with no prior record. He was described at trial

by a clinical psychologist as one of the most polite prison-

oe

35

ers he had ever interviewed (T. 1530). The State did not

introduce any evidence of disciplinary problems or aca-

demic misconduct. Nor did it seek to show any clinical

evaluation or otherwise attempt to demonstrate any pro-

pensity for future dangerousness. The only explanation

for these horrible killings consistent with the jury’s find-

ings is that Payne “snapped” under the influence of in-

jected cocaine.

Payne was tried under a statute," and pursuant to

jury instructions (J.A. 21,22), that required him, in

order to save his life, to convince the jury that the miti-

gating evidence outweighed the aggravating circum-

stances. The State relied heavily on the Booth-condemned

evidence and arguments to overcome Payne’s mitigating

evidence. This, of course, made his burden especially

onerous. The erroneous use of this information was not

harmless beyond a reasonable doubt.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated herein, Petitioner respectfully

submits that the Court’s decisions in Booth and Gathers

should not be overruled; that the Court should determine

that the State’s use of unforeseeable victim impact in-

formation violated his rights under the Eighth and Four-

teenth Amendments to the United States Constitution;

that his death sentence should be set aside; and that this

case should be remanded for proceedings not inconsistent

with the Court’s judgment.

}

Respectfully submitted,

J. BROOKE LATHRAM *

LEs JONES

130 North Court Avenue

Memphis, Tennessee 38103

(901) 523-2311

* Counsel of Record Counsel for Petitioner

'! See, supra note 1.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.