Opposition Brief — Suter v. Artist M.

Supreme Court brief1992

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

| Supreme Court, U.S.

OOUCINAL PILED

rela % ieee

APR 12 199]

OFFICE OF THE Cink |

No. 90-1488

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

SUE SUTER, et al.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

ARTIST M., et al.,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

RESPONDENTS' BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Patrick T. Murphy

Counsel of Record

Michael G. Dsida

Counsel for Respondents

Cook County Public Guardian

1112 South Oakley Boulevard

Chicago, Illinois 60612

(312) 633-2500

Dated: April 19, 1991

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ...... + 626 « «

JURISDICTION ...

STATUTES INVOLVED ...... +. © «© © «© «© «© «

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..... +. +6 «© © « »

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT .....+24. «

Re

Il.

IIl.

IV.

PETITIONERS HAVE NOT PROPERLY CHALLENGED ONE OF THE TWO

INDEPENDENT GROUNDS FOR THE COURT OF APPEALS' DECISION,

THEREBY RENDERING CERTIORARI INAPPROPRIATE . .

A. Petitioners Have Waived Review of the Court of

Appeals' Holding That Children May Enforce the AAA

Through an Implied Cause of Action . a oe a

B. Petitioners' Failure to Question Respondents'

Implied Cause of Action Renders Certiorari

BmGppeeweaate «. «6 © we eo we eee ele

THE COURT OF APPEALS CORRECTLY DECIDED THE ——

PRESENTED BY PETITIONERS. ..... +. « oe © e

iii

14

16

16

17

18

A. The Court of Appeals Properly Applied Wilder in Holding

That Children May Enforce the AAA's Reasonable Efforts

Mmpauaremenmet. « © ees eee eveeeeee ee

B. The Court of Appeals Correctly Held That Children

Living At Home Under DCFS' Supervision Have

Enforceable Rights Under the Act ....

THE COURT OF APPEALS' DECISION IS CONSISTENT WITH OTHER

DECISIONS OF THIS COURT, THE COURTS OF APPEALS AND

oy ey Pe ee ee ee ee ae ee a

A. The Court of Appeals' Decision Is Consistent with

this Court's Rulings in Other § 1983 Cases...

B. The Court of Appeals' Decision Is Consistent with

Decisions of Other Circuits Holding the Act To Be

Bmferceenle ..- + 2«+seeeveeeeeeee 6 @ «

Cc. The Court of Appeals' Decision Is Fully Consistent

with the Decision of State Courts Enforcing the

AAA's Reasonable Efforts Requirements ......

GIVEN ITS NARROW HOLDING, THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT'S

DECISION WILL HAVE MINIMAL IMPACT ON OTHER STATES'

CHILD WELFARE SYSTEMS ....+ + +6 © © © © © © «© « «

18

25

28

29

30

32

33

CONCLUSION .

APPENDIX

42 U.S.C. § 671(a)

42 U.S.C. § 1983

District Court's Findings of Fact (July 25, 1990) (includi

Seventh Circuit's Remand Orders at pp. 26 and 27).

ii

ng

37

T E OF A R E

CASES

Berkemer v. McCarty, 468 U.S. 420 (1984). 17

City of Oklahoma City v. Tuttle, 471 U.S. 808 (1985) 18

Cort wv, Bam, G22 U.G. 66 (1975) .. «© © e we ec eo ec eo 0 eo to AG, 47

Dennis v. Higgins, U.S. __, 111 S. Ct. 865 (1991) 19, 28, 29

Federal Energy Administration v. Algonquin SNG, 426 U.S.

548 (1976) . ‘ oeceee ; eee 21

Gardner v. Parson, 874 F.2d 131, 142 (3rd Cir. 1989) 36

Golden State Transit Corp. v. Los Angeles, 493 U.S. _, 110 S.

Ct. 444 (1989) ... oe ec eoeoe oe eo ee ew ew 8 CUS

Goldstein v. Cox, 396 U.S. 471 (1970) 15

Harpole v. Arkansas Department of Human Services, 820 F.2d 923

(8th Cir. 1987). 7 ee 8 «€ © 6 6 Oe. 6 68 8 ee ele ee

Illinois v. Rodriguez, U.S. __, 110 S. Ct. 2793 (1990) 18

In re Carl O., 523 A.2d 1339 (Conn. App. 1987) 32

In re Nicole G., 577 A.2d 248 (R.I. 1990). .... 33

In re Scott County Maater Docket 672 F.Supp. 1152 (D. Minn.

1987), aff'd sub nom, rs_ v. Scott unty, 868 F.2d 1017 (8th

Cir. 1967)... eeoeneeneeeeuen ¢ Ow ee 31

In re Victoria M., 255 Cal. Rptr 498 (Cal. App. 1989). 32

In the Interest of A.B., 444 So. 2d 981 (Fl. App. 1983). 33

In the Interest of A.M.K., 723 S.W.2d 50 (Mo. App. 1986) 33

In the Interest of Burns, 519 A.2d 638 (Del. 1986) 32

In the Interest of Kenny F., 786 P.2d 699 (N.M. App. 1990) 32

In the Interest of M.H., 444 N.W. 2d 110 (Iowa App. 1989). 32

In the Interest of S.A.D., 555 A.2d 123 (Pa. Super. 1989). 32

Jones v. Hildebrant, 432 U.S. 183 (1977) ..... 17

L.J. v. Massinga, 838 F.2d 118 (4th Cir. 1988), cert. denied,

488 U.S. 1018 (1989) ... oeecerereeeeeeeee es ee

iii

Lynch v. Dukakis, 719 F.2d 504, 509-12 (1st Cir. 1983) . . 31, 36

Matter of Jones, 436 N.E.2d 849 (Ind. App. 1982) ...... . 33

Matter of Sheila G., 462 N.E.2d 1139 (N.Y. 1984) ...... . 33

Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032 (1983) ........... 18

Middlesex County Sewerage Authority v. Nation lammer

Association, 453 U.S. 1 (1981) ....424+++2+s+ 2+ © «© « « 2

Peochurat State School and Hospital vy. Haldeman. 451 U.S. 1

(1980)... - « « 28, 29, 30

R.C. v. Hornsby, No. 88-D-1170-N (M.D. Ala. April 19, 1989). .32

Sockwell v. Maloney, 431 F. Supp. 1006 (D. Conn. 1976), aff'd,

wee V.a8 Saue (ame Cis. 1977). 2 es ws we we we ese eee ene aoe BB

The Monrosa v. Carbon Black Export, 359 U.S. 180 (1959) ... 17

Timmy S. v. Stumbo, 916 F. 2d 312 (6th Cir. 1990) ...... 30

Wilder v. Virginia Hospital Association, U.S. __, 110 S.Ct.

S@ueew Caeeeep se sc esc eee see eee eee eee eee te ew = 6BRSSia

Winston v. Children and Youth Serv Acne ak —Daiauare ou nt Ry. 748

F.Supp. 1128 (E.D. Pa. 1990)... oo

Wright v. Roanoke nadave.comant ane an AMSROE ALY. 479 U.S.

418 (1987) ... eee ocece

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

DOO °™—~—~—~—~—~EEe- © © © 6 6 G6 eee eeseeseevnesesece cs oh

28 U.S.C. § 1331... 1... es 8

28 U.8.C. §@ 1943 . 2. 2s we we we ee eves 8

ee ems MME SG ec ec ec ese ee see te ee ee ee eet tl tlk A

ae U.6.6. §©@ GOGB es ew ses eevses 8

42 U.S.C. § 620-628, 670-679a . . . . 2. 2. ew eee 2

GB U.B.6. G@ GSPEBNMS) « 2 ws we eevee eevee evnesevnsns &

me Wememe @ Geeeeep cece eeceseeeeseesesnsvnens « eSetsa

2 U.6.6. © GVRB) «© - se see eeseeesvesesevesseee ss &

2 U.G.6. @ G7AtGNMA) . « see eee eveseenvnveeesns ss &

42 U.S.C. § 1396a(a)(13)(A) . 2. 2 2 we ew ew ee

42 U.8.C. §6 31993 . 2. se ee ee eeees

42 U.S.C. § 6010

PA. GB-aGA7T (ZAR). «© ew ew we eevee eeee ee ee

P.A. 85-985 (Ill.) ...

Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 23, para. 2058.2 ......

Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 23, para. 5005 .......

Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 23, para. 5006a. .......

Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 37, para. 802-10...

45 C.F.R. § 1357-15(e@)(2). . . 2. © © © © © © we we ow we ow oe et 23,

48 Fed. Reg. 56049 (1983). ......

DCFS Policy Guide 91.1 (March 28, 1991). ....

COURT RULES

Supweme Court Rule 34.3(@) . «© «see eeeeveevee ce co SG,

Supreme Court Rule 14.1(k)(ii)

OTHER AUTHORITIES

H.R. Cong. Rep. 96-900, 96th Cong., 2d Sess. 46, reprinted in

(1980) U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 1556 .......2.+64+64528-s

125 Cong. Rec. 22683 (Aug. 3, 1980). .

125 Cong. Rec. 22686 (Aug. 3, 1980). .......

126 Cong. Rec. 14645 (Jume 13, 1980) ......

126 Cong. Rec. 14766-67 (June 13, 1980). .....

ue)

o@

”

”

»-

3

No. 90-1488

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

SUE SUTER, et al.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

ARTIST M., et al.,

Respondents.

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

-TO PETITION FOR CERTIORARI

Respondents Artist M., et. al, by their next friend, Patrick

T. Murphy, respectfully request that this Court deny the petition

for writ of certiorari, seeking review of the Seventh Circuit's

opinion in this case. |

JURISDICTION

On October 29, 1990, the Seventh Circuit affirmed orders of

the District Court denying in part petitioners’ motion to dismiss

and granting respondents’ motion for a preliminary injunction.

The Court of Appeals denied petitioners’ petition for rehearing

with suggestion for rehearing en banc on December 20, 1990.

This Court's jurisdiction is based on 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTES INVOLVED

The statutes at issue are 42 U.S.C. §§ 671(a) and 1983,

which are included in the appendix.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This action arises out of the State of Illinois’ practices

of failing to make reasonable efforts to preserve and to reunite

families and of failing to provide case plans, case reviews, and

appropriate monitoring to children in its care, all as required

by the Adoption Assistance and Child Welfare Act of 1980,

42 U.S.C. §§ 620-628, 670-679a (the "AAA" or the “Act").

Petitioners, the Director and Guardianship Administrator of the

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services ("DCFS" or

the "Department”), purport to fulfill these obligations through a

system of their own design -- namely, by assigning 4 caseworker

to each child under their care or supervision. Petitioners,

however, regularly fail to assign caseworkers to these children

and their families. As a result, as both the District Court and

the Court of Appeals recognized, petitioners systematically

violate their obligations under the Act, Pet. App. 19a, 53a-54a,

and children under their care and supervision suffer from:

an increased likelihood that [their] families would be

broken up or remain apart, that [they] would be

deprived of protective services, and that, in the

absence of timely case plans and case reviews, [they]

would be left in unnecessarily restrictive or dangerous

placements, denied...essential visits with their

parents and place[(d] at risk of further injury.

Pet. App. at 19a (internal quotations omitted). To remedy

petitioners’ violations of the AAA, the District Court entered a

minimally intrusive preliminary injunction, which the Seventh

Circuit affirmed on appeal.

Respondents are children who are abused or neglected by

their parents or whose parents are unable to care for them for a

variety of reasons. In each of their cases, DCFS files a

petition for adjudication of wardship in the Circuit Court of

Cook County, Illinois, County Department, Juvenile Division

("Juvenile Court"). Based on the recommendation of investigators

with DCFS' Division of Child Protection ("DCP"), the Juvenile

Court then places many of these children in the agency's custody.

In the remaining cases, the Juvenile Court orders the child to

remain at home under DCFS' supervision ("protective order

cases"). App. at 9-10, paras. 1-3.’

Under the system designed by petitioners, DCP investigators

provide no family preservation, family reunification, or other

services to these children and their families. Instead, DCFS

chooses to provide a caseworker to each child to fulfill its

obligations under the Act. Consequently, when DCFS assumes

custody of a child, one of its caseworkers must be assigned in

order to maintain the child's family ties, work toward

reunification, and ensure the child's well-being. To those ends,

under DCFS' system, the caseworker must search for relatives

qualified to care for the child or locate a suitable non-relative

placement; arrange appropriate counseling; complete school

* In apparent disregard of Supreme Court Rule 14.1(k)(ii),

petitioners omitted from their appendix the District Court's

findings of fact, its July 24, 1989 memorandum opinion and order,

and orders entered by the Court of Appeals, prior to its

decision, remanding the case to the District Court for additional

factual findings. Accordingly, respondents have included each of

those documents in their appendix.

3

transfers where appropriate so the child's education is not

interrupted; arrange family visitation; provide appropriate

medical care; and generally assure the child's safety. The

caseworker is also responsible for developing a written,

individualized case plan and advising the Juvenile Court of the

condition of the child and the family. Id. at 9-ll, paras. 2, 4.

Similarly, DCFS delegates to its caseworkers the

responsibility of securing family preservation services in

protective order cases. Under DCFS' system the caseworker alone

is responsible for arranging individual or family counseling to

ease or eliminate the crisis that led to the child's

mistreatment; homemaker and housekeeping services so that the

conditions of the home will not require the child's removal;

substance abuse programs to enable parents to attend to their

children's needs; help in obtaining food, shelter and medical

care; and monitoring of the child's safety at home. Id. at 12,

para. 6.

DCFS contracts with private agencies to provide services in

some protective order and custody cases. In these cases DCFS and

the private agency share the responsibility for delivering

services. Together, the DCFS caseworker and the private agency

prepare a case plan and provide an administrative case review.

The DCFS caseworker, however, retains ultimate responsibility for

all facets of the case. The DCFS caseworker also remains

responsible for ascertaining whether there are appropriate

relatives with whom to place a child. Moreover, certain private

agencies are unable to provide necessary services (such 4s

4

psychiatric hospitalization for a suicidal child). In those

cases the DCFS caseworker is responsible for obtaining and

authorizing such services. The DCFS caseworker may also be

required to consent to familial visits. Finally, the DCFS

caseworker is responsible for planning for the long-term care of

children, particularly when the private agency provides only a

short-term placement. Id. at 12-13, paras. 7-8.

Until DCFS has assigned a caseworker, it provides no

services to respondents or their families. For example, a young

child in DCFS' custody may be denied visits with her parents or

siblings for several weeks. Others may be left in inappropriate

placements such as shelters, even when appropriate relatives are

interested in caring for them. Without a caseworker, some

children are denied essential sex abuse treatment, grief

counseling or psychiatric care. Many more are unable to attend

school. Finally, without a caseworker some children remain

indefinitely in DCFS' custody without any plan for their case.

Id. at 13-14, para. 9.

Children who reside at home under DCFS' supervision are also

denied family preservation services and protection when no

caseworker is assigned. For example, without caseworkers,

children who come under DCFS' supervision because their parents

fail to provide adequate food may go hungry again and have to

leave home. Parents who are ordered to obtain drug treatment by

the Juvenile Court and are willing to do so in order to keep

their children get no assistance in locating and enrolling in a

drug treatment program. Children who are without an assigned

caseworker to make home visits may be further abused by their

parents and may have to be removed from their families. Id. at

14-15, para. 11. In short, under its own system, DCFS cannot

fulfill the Act's reasonable efforts, case plan, case review, and

monitoring requirements after it initiates a case without

assigning a caseworker.

In such cases DCFS' failure to provide caseworker-initiated

services promptly is particularly harmful. Because family

members are the most motivated during a time of crisis, immediate

intervention is essential. Thus, in custody cases, the

likelihood that children whom DCFS separates from their families

will return home is directly related to the speed with which they

receive reunification services. The longer DCFS delays in

providing such services during this critical period, the more

likely it is that the child will never return home. Thus, the

goal of family reunification becomes more remote and less

attainable when no caseworker is assigned. Similarly, when

children remain at home, DCFS' failure to quickly provide family

preservation services places them at risk and often results in

their removal from home.

At the time respondents filed their complaint, DCFS

regularly failed to assign caseworkers capable of initiating

child welfare services for them and their families, both in

protective order and in temporary custody cases. In most cases

DCFS did not assign a caseworker until at least two weeks after

the first Juvenile Court date. In many others DCFS failed to

assign a caseworker at all during the first 30 to 45 days. In

some cases this gap lasted even longer. Id. at 15, para. 13. In

protective order cases, the Juvenile Court, at the request of DCP

investigators, often scheduled the first court hearing for a

future date. Yet even in those cases, with advance notice of the

impending Juvenile Court case, DCFS regularly failed to assign a

caseworker promptly after the court case commenced.

After petitioners did assign caseworkers to them,

respondents often lost the benefit of the assignment when DCFS

transferred or terminated their caseworkers or when their

caseworkers took leaves of absence or resigned. In these cases

DCFS simply failed to assign a caseworker to replace the previous

one. As a result, these children were again left for significant

peri -ds of time without a caseworker, and thus without family

reunification, family preservation, and other child welfare

services. Id. at 16, para. 15.

According to DCFS' own records, at the end of September

1988, over 200 cases in Cook County had been without an assigned

caseworker for more than 30 days. DCFS records in November 1988

showed that 320 cases in Cook County had been unassigned for over

30 days, that 83% of those had been unassigned for over 60 days

and that 63 cases had been unassigned for over 100 days. On

December 13, 1988, the head of DCFS' Cook County operations wrote

that unassigned cases in Cook County were on the rise. Id. at

17, para. 17.

Despite these conditions, DCFS did nothing to expedite the

assignment of caseworkers to fulfill its family preservation,

family reunification, case plan, case review, and monitoring

obligations to children and their families. DCFS simply failed

to require its personnel to assign cases promptly. It also

failed to develop a policy or procedure for reassigning cases of

caseworkers who resign, transfer, or are absent for substantial

periods of time. On the contrary, DCFS deliberately chose not to

reassign many such cases. In many other cases DCFS made "paper

assignments” by assigning a caseworker in name only -- one

incapable, because of the size of his or her caseload, of

providing appropriate family preservation or family reunification

services, participating in a case review, developing a case plan,

or adequately monitoring the child's safety. Id. at 17-18,

paras. 18-19.

On December 14, 1988, respondents filed their complaint in

the United States District court for the Northern District of

Illinois. These children alleged that petitioners' failure to

assign them caseworkers promptly violated their rights, and those

of similarly situated children, under the Act. Respondents

sought declaratory and injunctive relief, both directly under the

Act, through an implied cause of action, and under 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983. A subclass of petitioners -- those in respondents'

custody -- also complained of violations of their rights under

the Due Process Clause of the United States Constitution. On the

same day respondents filed motions for class certification and

for a preliminary injunction. The District Court exercised

jurisdiction over the case pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331, 1343,

2201, and 2202.

After granting the motion for class certification and

expediting discovery, the District Court conducted a three day

hearing on respondents’ motion for a preliminary injunction in

January 1989. The evidence revealed systemic problems in DCFS'

caseworker assignment practices as described above and the

resultant violations of respondents' rights under the Act.

Respondents also showed the harm suffered by individual children

who were entrusted to DCFS' care and supervision. In response,

DCFS' witnesses described the plan which they had developed to

reorganize the Department, purportedly designed to ensure prompt

caseworker assignment.

The District Court initially accepted DCFS' assurances

regarding its reorganization plan. Consequently, it deferred

ruling on respondents’ motion for a preliminary injunction for

well over a year.

By July 1989 DCFS had implemented three of the four elements

of its plan:

(a) the Early Response Package, which reduced the paperwork

necessary to transfer a case from DCP to a caseworker;

(b) the expansion of its Interim Services Team ("IST")

program, designed to allow DCFS to assign all new

custody cases promptly to an IST caseworker before

transferring them shortly thereafter to an area office;

and °

(c) the Family First Initiative ("Family First"), designed

to provide intensive services to children remaining at

home with their parents.

On July 16, 1989 DCFS completed the final element of its plan,

the reorganization of DCP. Id. at 19, para. 20.

As time passed, however, it became apparent that the

District Court's faith in DCFS' plan had been misplaced. First,

significant delays persisted in assigning caseworkers at the

outset of cases. By petitioners’ own admission, one fourth of

the cases sent to IST were not assigned a caseworker promptly.

In the remaining cases, DCFS did not even know when children were

assigned a caseworker. Id. at 19-20, sesee. 21, 25. DCFS also

failed to reassign a caseworker once IST had relinquished

responsibility for a case. Id. at 19-20, paras. 22-23.

Moreover, neither IST nor the Family First program

functioned as planned. In July 1989 approximately one-third of

the new custody cases went directly from DCP to area offices

without IST intervention, despite petitioners’ assertions that

all such cases would first be sent to IST. In those cases DCFS

failed to assign a caseworker until, on average, ten days after

the first Juvenile Court date. As for Family First, DCFS

regularly left children whose cases were initially assigned to

that program without a caseworker -- without regard for their

continuing need for one -- after Family First ended its two to

three month association with the family. Id. at 20, para. 24.

DCFS' heralded reorganization plan also failed to address

the gaps created when caseworkers resigned, transferred, were

fired or took leaves of absence. If a caseworker were absent for

less than 30 days, the supervisor merely monitored the case

without handling the everyday service needs of the family. When

10

caseworkers were absent for longer periods, DCFS' policy and

practice continued to permit supervisors to leave cases

unassigned for 30 or more days. Given the number and frequency

of transfers and the high turnover rate of DCFS caseworkers,

DCFS' unwillingness to remedy that problem was especially

dangerous. Children whose cases were reassigned during a

caseworker's absence did not fare any better, because petitioners

reassigned those cases en masse to a single caseworker. Given

the nature and voiume of the reassignments, the caseworker could

not provide services to those children and their families. Id

at 21, paras. 26-27.

Finally, even after implementation of its plan, DCFS failed

to hold anyone in the agency accountable for assigning a

caseworker promptly. DCFS assigned Mark Moses to monitor

caseworker assignment, but it did not require him to take action

when he learned of unassigned cases. Gloria Lewis, DCFS'

Associate Deputy Director for Cook County Operations and the

supervisor of its four area offices, received monthly reports

listing unassigned cases, but she had no responsibility for

ensuring the assignment of caseworkers to those families. DCFS

gave John Goad and Chris Benson the responsibility of monitoring

compliance with the Early Response Package, but they reviewed

DCFS' performance only twice in all of 1989. Id. at 21-22,

paras. 28-29.

Thus, instead of developing appropriate internal checks,

DCFS simply relied on its expectations -- "wishful thinking," in

the words of the District Court -- that cases would be assigned.

ll

Id. at 22, para. 29. But its wishful thinking was not enough.

Despite its reorganization, DCFS continued to deprive children

and their families of caseworkers and the services and

protections required by the AAA, which under DCFS' system, only

the caseworkers could provide.

In the face of these problems, petitioners filed a motion to

dismiss respondents’ complaint. On November 21, 1989, the

District Court granted the motion only as it related to

respondents’ constitutional claims. The District Court denied

the motion in all other respects, holding that respondents stated

a cause of action under the AAA -- both through an implied cause

of action and under § 1983 -- particularly with respect to the

Act's reasonable efforts requirement. Pet. App. at 35a-44a.

Nevertheless, the District Court continued to defer to DCFS'

reorganization plan and invited the Department to apprise the

court of any progress in its implementation.

DCFS, however, made no progress. In November 1989 the

Department began sending all new cases -- not merely new custody

cases -- to IST. Id. at 32, Stip. 16. But logs from January and

February 1990 (finally revised to reflect the date of caseworker

assignment) demonstrated continuing delays there. DCFS did not

assign a caseworker within five days of the first Juvenile Court

date -- its stated goal -- in 56 of approximately 150 cases

sent to IST in those two months. In February 1990 alone DCFS

failed to meet its own five-day goal in 40% of the cases sent to

IST and in 60% of those not screened in advance. Twelve per cent

12

were left unassigned for more than three weeks. Id. at 23,

paras. 33-34.

Moreover, DCFS continued to leave cases unassigned, on the

average, for nearly three weeks after IST completed its tasks.

DCFS also failed to improve its policies or its prectices

regarding the reassignment of cases in the area offices. As a

result, when caseworkers were absent, DCFS left their former

cases unassigned for an average of 30 days. Id. at 24, para. 35.

System-wide caseworker assignment problems grew as well.

The total number of unassigned cases grew from 232 on June 30,

1989, to 404 by the end of the year, parallelling the pattern of

1988. The number of cases unassigned for over 30 days doubled

during the same period of time. Id. at 24, para. 36.

The District Court ultimately concluded that DCFS, despite

its reorganization plan, continued to violate the AAA. Based on

the evidence it had received over the previous 14 months, the

court concluded that respondents had satisfied each of the

requirements for the issuance of a preliminary injunction. Thus,

on March 2, 1990, the District Court entered a preliminary

injunction which prohibited petitioners from:

(a) feiling to assign a caseworker capable of providing

child welfare services to each of the plaintiffs and their

families within three working days of the time that

plaintiffs’ cases are first heard in Juvenile Court; and

(b) failing to assign a caseworker capable of delivering

child welfare services within three working days of the time

that a previously assigned caseworker relinquishes

responsibility for any portion of a case.

Pet. App. at 56a. Petitioners then appealed.

13

The Seventh Circuit affirmed the District Court in an

opinion entered on October 29, 1990. The court below first

affirmed the District Court's November 21, 1989 holding that

respondents could enforce the AAA, both through an implied cause

of action under the Act and under § 1983. The court then upheld

the injunction as fully supported by the evidence. On December

20, 1990, the Seventh Circuit denied DCFS' petition for

rehearing.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

This Court should deny the petition for a writ of

certiorari. First, petitioners seek, in essence, an advisory

opinion from this Court. They question only the Court of

Appeals’ decision affirming respondents’ right to enforce the AAA

under § 1983. They leave unchallenged the court's clearly

articulate and equally correct holding that regardless of § 1983,

respondents were entitled to the relief granted by the District

Court under the AAA through an implied cause of action. Pet.

App. 14a-18a. This Court's review, however, is limited to

questions properly presented in the petition. Sup. Ct. R.

14.1(a). Therefore, regardless of how this Court answers the

questions petitioners do present, the Court of Appeals’

affirmance -- given its independent foundation in its implied

cause of action holding -- must stand.

In addition, the decision below was correct and consistent

with the decisions of this Court, the other courts of appeals,

and the state courts. The Court of Appeals properly applied

Wilder v. Virginia Hospital Association, U.S. , 110

S. Ct. 2510 (1990), this Court's most recent § 1983 decision

14

regarding the Social Security Act (of which the AAA is a part),

to the facts of this case. It correctly held that the

respondents ere beneficiaries of the AAA; that the AAA imposes

binding obligations on States accepting its funding; and that t!

AAA's provisions are neither too vague nor too amorphous to be

unenforceable. Pet. App. at 9a-l3a. Thus, with Wilder clearly

applicable here -- and in light of the broad construction to be

afforded § 1983, Golden State Transit Corp. v. Los Angeles, 493

U.S. _, 110 S. Ct. 444, 448 (1989) -- the Court of Appeals

correctly concluded that respondents in DCFS' custody or under

its supervision could enforce the requirements of the AAA.

Finally, the Court of Appeals’ holding will have, at most,

minimal impact on other States. The court held that when a State

receiving funds under the AAA assigns to caseworkers exclusively

the responsibility of making reasonable efforts and

systematically fails to assign caseworkers to abused and

neglected children and their families, a court may remedy that

systemic deficiency by entering a minimally intrusive preliminary

injunction. Id. at 16a-18a. Moreover, the injunction here is

dependent on complex facts -- reviewed extensively by the

District Court and again by the Court of Appeals -- regarding

Illinois’ own child welfare policies and practices. In view of

the AAA's deference to States, those policies and practices are

unlikely to recur elsewhere, thereby minimizing the import of the

Court of Appeals' decision. Given these reasons, and given this

Court's presumption against reviewing interlocutory orders,

Goldstein v. Cox, 396 U.S. 471, 478 (1970), certiorari should be

15

I. PETITIONERS HAVE NOT PROPERLY CHALLENGED ONE OF THE TWO

INDEPENDENT GROUNDS FOR THE COURT OF APPEALS' DECISION,

THEREBY RENDERING CERTIORARI INAPPROPRIATE.

A. Petitioners Have Waived Review of the Court of Appeals'

Holding That Children May Enforce the AAA Through an

Implied Cause of Action.

In affirming the preliminary injunction, the Seventh Circuit

expressly and independently held that children in DCFS' custody

and children under DCFS' supervision may enforce the AAA directly

through an implied cause of action. The court correctly applied

the four-part test of Cort v. Ash, 422 U.S. 66, 78 (1975), and

found that respondents stated a cause of action independent of

their rights under § 1983: "(E)ven if the plaintiffs could not

pursue their claims under Section 1983, we conclude that the AAA

contains an implied private right of action." Pet. App. at

14a.’

Nonetheless, petitioners fail to raise this issue for review

in accordance with Supreme Court Rule 14.1(@a). Instead, they

question only the enforceability of 42 U.S.C. § 671(a)(15) under

§ 1983 and the right of abused and neglected children who remain

at home to enforce the AAA. Pet. at i. Indeed, petitioners

never even acknowledge, let alone dispute, the Seventh Circuit's

reliance on an implied cause of action in its decision to uphold

the injunction.

Petitioners mention respondents’ implied cause of action but

once in the entire petition, and then only in a footnote. Id. at

* The District Court also found that respondents could

pursue their claims directly under the Act through an implied

cause of action, Pet. App. at 35a-4la, and relied on that

analysis in entering the preliminary injunction. Id. at 54a.

16

7 n.l. Yet even there, petitioners fail to present the issue in

a way which would justify its review. Petitioners, purportedly

relying on Wilder, erroneously equate the analysis under Cort v.

Ash with that which governs cases arising under § 1983. Yet this

Court in Wilder explicitly differentiated the two lines of cases.

As this Court stated, the § 1983 analysis "is a different inquiry

from that involved in determining whether a private right of

action can be implied from a particular statute.” 1105S. Ct. at

2517 n.9.

In sum, applying Supreme Court Rule 14.1l(a) here,

petitioners have waived review of the Court of Appeals’ holding

that children in DCFS' custody or under its supervision may

enforce the Act directly through an implied cause of action.

Since that question is neither “set forth in the petition, [nor]

fairly included therein, [it should not] be considered by this

Court." Id. See also Jones v. Hildebrant, 432 U.S. 183, 184-85

188-89 (1977); Berkemer v. McCarty, 468 U.S. 420, 443 n.38

(1984).

B. Petitioners’ Failure to Question Respondents' Implied

Cause of Action Renders Certiorari Inappropriate.

Because petitioners have failed to challenge both of the

Court of Appeals' holdings in accordance with Supreme Court Rule

14.1(a), this Court should deny their petition. As this Court

has made clear, certiorari is inappropriate when, as here, a

petitioner challenges only one of two independent grounds of a

court of appeals' decision. The Monrosa v. Carbon Black Export

17

359 U.S. 180, 183 (1959). Moreover, the Court of Appeals, like

the District Court, clearly and plainly stated that its decision

rested independently on its holding regarding respondents'

implied cause of action -- making certiorari even less

appropriate in this case. See Illinois v. Rodriguez, U.S.

__, 110 G. Ct. 2793, 2798 (1990); Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S.

1032, 1041 (1983). Because the decision below will stand

regardless of how this Court answers the questions presented by

petitioners, granting certiorari here would require this Court to

render an advisory opinion -- which it may not do under Article

III's "case or controversy" requirement. Id. at 1042. Thus, in

light of the “commitment of scarce judicial resources" which

certiorari entails, City of Oklahoma City v. Tuttle, 471 U.S.

808, 816 (1985), this Court should deny the petition.

Il. THE COURT OF APPEALS CORRECTLY DECIDED THE QUESTIONS

PRESENTED BY PETITIONERS.

Turning to the questions which petitioners have presented,

the Court of Appeals correctly decided each. The court, in

addressing them, followed Wilder, this Court's most recent

application of § 1983 to the Social Security Act and its most

relevant case here. Petitioners fail to raise any responsive

argument_rct already properly addressed by the court below.

Therefore, for this reason as well, certiorari should be denied.

A. The Court of Appeals Properly Applied Wilder in Holding

That Children May Enforce the AAA's Reasonable Efforts

Requirement.

In Wilder this Court articulated the standard which governs

here, stating that a statutory provision, (1) if intended to

18

benefit a putative plaintiff, creates an enforceable right under

§ 1983:

{(2)] unless it reflects merely a

congressional preference for a certain kind

of conduct rather than a binding obligation

on the governmental unit, or [(3)] unless the

interest the plaintiff asserts is too vague

and amorphous such that it is beyond the

competence of the judiciary to enforce.

110 S. Ct. at 2517 (citations and internal quotations omitted).

See also Dennis v. Higgins, U.S. , 111 S. Ct. 865, 871-72

(1991); Golden State, 110 S. Ct. at 448. Notwithstanding

petitioners' assertions to the contrary, the Court of Appeals

properly applied these three tests and correctly held that under

§ 1983, children who are repeatedly and regularly denied

caseworkers under Illinois' child welfare system may enforce the

AAA's reasonable efforts requirement.

First, the Court of Appeals stated that Congress clearly

intended to benefit respondents in enacting the AAA, Pet. App. at

10a, a statement which petitioners neither can nor do dispute.

Second, the court correctly determined that the Act's reasonable

efforts requirement imposes a binding obligation on DCFS. Id. at

10a-lla. As Judge Cummings stated, the reasonable efforts

requirement, like the case plan, case review and monitoring

> After criticizing the Seventh Circuit for allegedly

ignoring the Wilder test, Pet. at 8, petitioners themselves

disregard this first prong of Wilder altogether. See, e.g., Pet.

at ll, 14 (referring to "two-pronged test"). But as this Court

made clear in Dennis, its most recent § 1983 decision on this

issue, a court must ascertain whether the plaintiff is a

beneficiary of a statute in order to determine its

enforceability. 111 S. Ct. at 871-72.

19

requirements, is "“set[{] forth in mandatory language" and is "tied

indisputably to the funding provision." Id.

Petitioners first concede, Pet. at 13, and then (in remarks

irrelevant to the question they seek to address) dispute the

mandatory nature of the AAA's reasonable efforts requirement.

Pet. at 17. But the language of the Act fully supports the

Seventh Circuit's conclusion. The reasonable efforts requirement

is an express and unconditional part of the contract between the

State and the federal government and is included among the

conditions which a State must satisfy in order to qualify for

federal funds. In the provision entitled "Requisite features of

State plan," the Act states, “In order for a State to be eligible

for payments under this part, it shall have a plan...which...

provides that, in each case, reasonable abduct will be made...."

42 U.S.C. § 671(a) (emphasis added). After focusing primarily

and extensively on this and other language of the statute, Pet.

App. at 6a-8a, 10a-lla, the Court of Appeals properly concluded

that the Act binds States accepting its funding to make

reasonable efforts. See Middlesex County Sewerage Authority v.

National Sea Clammers Association, 453 U.S. 1, 13 (1981) (courts

are required to look first and foremost to language of a statute

in assessing its enforceability).

The Act's legislative history provides further support for

concluding that the reasonable efforts provision is privately

enforceable by individuals. For example, prior to the Senate

vote on the Act on June 13, 1980, Senator Cranston, the Act's

20

sponsor,‘ explained that the then-current statute contained only

"very generalized provisions" regarding family preservation and

reunification services and that those provisions had "had little

specific impact upon a State's responsibility to provide services

designed to prevent a child's removal from his or her home, or to

help alleviate the problem which caused the child's removal in

the first place.” 126 Cong. Rec. 14766-67 (June 13, 1980). In

contrast, he stated, the AAA "“provide[s] specific requirements

that states must include” in their State plan "to assure that in

each case reasonable efforts be made...." id. (emphasis added

Elsewhere, the legislative history supports the same conclusion.

See, e.g., infra at 26-28. Thus, the Court of Appeals correctly

concluded that through the reasonable efforts provision, Congress

intended to and did impose a binding obligation on the States.

Looking to the third prong of Wilder, the Court of Appeals

correctly determined that the right to reasonable efforts is

sufficiently explicit to be judicially enforceable. Pet. App. at

lla-l3a. In Wilder this Court stated:

That the [Boren] Amendment gives the States

substantial discretion in choosing among

reasonable methods of calculating rates may

affect the standard under which a court

reviews whether the rates comply with the

Amendment, but it does not render the

Amendment unenforceable by a court. While

there may be a range of reasonable rates,

there certainly are some rates outside that

range that no State could ever find to be

reasonable and adequate under the Act.

110 S. Ct. at 2523 (emphasis in original).

* As this Court has noted, in interpreting an act of

Congress, the statements of the act's sponsor should be given

substantial weight. Federal Energy Administration v. Algonquin

SNG, 426 U.S. 548, 564 (1976).

21

In a parallel and searching approach, the Court of Appeals

here acknowledged that "“DCFS has substantial discretion in

choosing the method it will use to implement the requirements of

the AAA." Pet. App. at 12a. The court recognized and accepted

that DCFS, in exercising that discretion, had chosen "to use

caseworkers as the means through which these services are

provided.” Id. at lla. Tracing Wilder's analysis, the court

below then looked at DCFS' existing caseworker assignment

process, as described by the District Court in its findings of

fact. It then demonstrated how a court could easily assess

whether DCFS' complete failure to assign caseworkers promptly

comports with the Act's reasonable efforts requirement:

[A]lthough a caseworker does not herself

provide services, caseworkers are necessary

to arrange for the provision of services by

others. The caseworker is a "lifeline."

When the caseworker is absent, no efforts can

be exerted for preventive and reunification

services.

Id. at lla-l2a. (citations omitted).

The Seventh Circuit, again relying on Wilder, then correctly

stated that in such circumstances, "(t]he judiciary is...capable

of determining whether the state is exerting ‘reasonable efforts'

to provide [the] services" required by the AAA. Id. at 12a.

And here, the District Court correctly made that determination

based on an extensive factual record -- a record showing that

DCFS fails to make feasonable efforts in each case as a result of

its failure to assign caseworkers to children and their families.

Petitioners assert that the AAA is unenforceable, relying on

the Act's purported lack of an "objective benchmark" to measure

22

the reasonableness of DCFS' efforts. Pet. at 14. As the Court

of Appeals recognized, petitioners are wrong. Applying the Act

to the facts of this case, there is no ambiguity about the

unreasonableness of petitioners’ efforts to preserve and to

reunite families. Because no caseworkers are assigned to the

respondents, no efforts are expended at all. Pet. App. at 12a,

19a. Even if a “benchmark” might be helpful in construing the

AAA's reasonable efforts requirement in other circumstances, no

court would need any “benchmark” to enforce the Act here or to

determine that these facts entail a violation of the Act's

mandates. Moreover, as the Seventh Circuit recognized, Pet. App.

at 7a, n.10, to the extent an “objective” reference point is

required, federal regulations setting forth preventive and

reunification services, 45 C.F.R. § 1357-15(e)(2), provide

guidance comparable to the regulations mentioned in Wilder: the

"factors which a State must consider in adopting its rates." 110

S. Ct. at 2522 (emphasis added).

Petitioners also attempt to distinguish Wilder from the

decision below by pointing to the "substantial discretion" that

the AAA provides to States in their implementation of its

requirements. Pet. at 14 n.3, 18. They thereby ignore (at best)

or misrepresent (at worst) this Court's recognition in Wilder of

the "substantial discretion” afforded States by the Boren

Amendment. 1105S. Ct. at 2523. In fact, the AAA provides States

less discretion than that provided them under the Boren

Amendment. Compare 42 U.S.C. § 671(a) (requiring the Secretary

23

to approve plan) with id. at 1396a(a)(13)(A) (requiring the

Secretary only to find States' assurances satisfactory).

In a further attempt to distinguish it from this case,

petitioners also misconstrue Wilder in their discussion of the

Boren Amendment. Pet. at 13-14. The Boren Amendment requires

States to set reasonable rates with reference to efficiently and

economically operated facilities, as petitioners recognize; but

it also includes a requirement, which the plaintiffs in Wilder

sought to enforce and which petitioners here omit, that States

"assure (sic) that individuals eligible for medical assistance

have reasonable access...to inpatient hospital services of

adequate quality.” 42 U.S.C. § 1396a(a)(13)(A). Neither the

statute nor the implementing regulations define "reasonable

access” or “adequate quality.” See e.g., 48 Fed. Reg. 56049

(1983) (rejecting proposal to define “reasonable access"). This

Court in Wilder nevertheless concluded that courts are competent

to determine both whether a State has set reasonable rates and

whether it has ensured reasonable access to medical care of

adequate quality. 110S. Ct. at 2523.

Finally, Illinois’ actions in the wake of Congress'

enactment of the AAA in 1980 belie petitioners' suggestion that

the reasonable efforts provision is too ambiguous to be

considered part of the State's contract with the federal

government. In 1985 the Illinois legislature amended the State's

Juvenile Court Act to require judges to find that reasonable

efforts were made before placing a child in DCFS' custody. P.A.

83-1517 (amending predecessor version of Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 37,

24

para. 802-10). More importantly, two years later, the Illinois

legislature enacted the Family Preservation Act, P.A. 85-985,

which among other things, requires DCFS to provide family

preservation services to families whose children have been

removed or are at risk of being removed and to develop and

implement a plan to make such services available throughout the

State. Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 23, paras. 2058.2, 5005, 5006a. Se

also DCFS Policy Guide 91.1 (March 28, 1991) (identifying

services to meet reasonable efforts requirement in environmental

neglect and domestic violence cases). Thus, with DCFS having

accepted millions of dollars from Congress under the Act,

petitioners cannot now claim ignorance. DCFS has long Known that

reasonable efforts are required of it under its AAA contract with

the federal government.

Having correctly applied Wilder here, the Court of Appeals

properly concluded that Congress created enforceable rights in

the AAA's reasonable efforts requirement. Rather than render

that provision meaningless, the Court of Appeals interpreted it

to give full effect to the clearly expressed intent of Congress.

See Wilder, 110 S. Ct. at 2519-20.

B. The Court of Appeals Correctly Held That Children

Living At Home Under DCFS' Supervision Have Enforceable

Rights Under the Act.

Having properly found that children have a right to

reasonable efforts under the Act, the Court of Appeals declined

to carve out a special exception for children at home under DCFS'

supervision. As Judge Cummings stated, "the language of that

statute does not reveal an intention by Congress to limit its

25

terms only to children actually in foster care outside the home,

and the DCFS fails to provide a compelling reason to read such a

distinction into the statute." Pet. App. at 18a (citation

omitted).

The court's holding is well supported by the language and

history of the AAA. First, Congress' emphasis on leaving

children at home, on returning children to their homes as soon as

possible, and on services to meet both these ends resounds

throughout the AAA. Indeed, family preservation and family

reunification are together a primary objective of the Act. Thus,

the Act expressly imposes upon DCFS a binding obligation to make

reasonable efforts to keep children at home prior to placing them

in foster care. 42 U.S.C. § 671(a)(15). Other provisions of the

Act also show the importance cf the States' efforts to keep

children at home. See, e.g., id. at § 627(b)(3) (requiring

preplacement preventive service program); id. at § 672(a)(1)

(requiring judicial determination that State made reasonable

efforts prior to placing child in foster care).

Second, the Act's legislative history supports the Court of

Appeals’ holding. As Senator Cranston's remarks show, Congress

enacted the AAA primarily to protect children against being

removed unnecessarily from their homes and to minimize the human

and financial costs which their removal entails:

The human costs of failing to take whatever

steps are available to prevent the removal of

a child from his family are beyond

calculation. The financial cost of placing a

child in long term foster care -- running as

high as $30,000 a year for institutional

placements -- can become enormous,

26

particularly in contrast to the cost of

preventive services which could avert the

necessity for removal or continued removal of

the child.

125 Cong. Rec. 22686 (Aug. 3, 1979). Senator Cranston described

the importance of the family preservation requirement even more

forcefully on other occasions:

[W]here removal can be prevented through the

provision of home-based services, these

agencies will be required to provide such

services before removing the child and

turning to foster care. These provisions...

are among the most important aspects of this

legislation. Far too many children and

families have been broken apart when they

could have been preserved with a little

effort.

Id. at 14767 (June 13, 1980).° ee also id. at 22683 (August 3,

1979) (reasonable efforts provision “critical to our efforts to

reform the foster care system"). Other parts of the legislative

history provides further support for the Court of Appeals’

holding. See, e.g., H. R. Cong. Rep. 96-900, 96th Cong., 2d

Sess. 46, reprinted in (1980) U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 1566

("State plan must provide that in each case...reasonable efforts

will be made..."); 126 Cong. Rec. 14645 (June 13, 1980)

(Congressman Conable: funds conditioned on State providing

° with these remarks, Senator Cranston integrated the Act's

requirement that States make reasonable efforts to prevent

children's placement with two provisions which petitioners

conceded below to be fully enforceable -- the case plan and case

review requirements. Like the structure of the Act itself, see

42 U.S.C. § 671(a)(15), (16), Senator Cranston's statement, made

on the date of the Act's passage, shows Congress’ intention that

the three provisions be treated similarly and supports a finding

that the reasonable efforts provision, like the case plan and

case review provisions, is fully enforceable.

27

"services to preserve families"; Congressman Rousselot: States

must make “every effort" to preserve families).

Petitioners ignore Congress’ decision to provide the States

over $300 million to fund family preservation services -- in

contrast to the mere $1.6 million which Congress allocated to

provide “appropriate” treatment in the “least restrictive"

setting in Pennhurst State School and Hospital v. Halderman.

451 U.S. 1, 24 (1980). Petitioners then suggest that Congress'

decision to fund preventive services in the Act through what is

now Title IV-B of the Social Security Act, as opposed to through

Title IV-E, somehow renders the rights of children residing at

home unenforceable. Pet. at 19-20. Petitioners thereby

demonstrate an appalling lack of understanding of the central

purpose of the entire Act -- family preservation. The Court of

Appeals gave petitioners’ argument the short shrift it deserved.

Given the clarity with which Congress has spoken in imposing this

obligation upon States, the Court of Appeals properly elected not

to second-guess the method by which Congress chose to defray

their costs in meeting it. Pet. at 18a.

IiIl. THE COURT OF APPEALS' DECISION IS CONSISTENT WITH OTHER

DECISIONS OF THIS COURT, THE COURTS OF APPEALS AND STATE

COURTS.

Given its adherence to the Golden State-Wilder-Dennis test,

the Court of Appeals' decision is consistent with this Court's

rulings in other § 1983 cases. Likewise, the court's ruling is

fully consistent with those in other circuits and in the state

courts holding that the AAA, including its reasonable efforts

28

provision, is fully enforceable. Consequently, petitioners’

claim of a conflict of decisions is meritless.

A. The Court of Appeals’ Decision Is Consistent with this

Court's Rulings in Other § 1983 Cases.

The opinion below fully comports with this Court's decisions

in other § 1983 cases preceding Golden State, Dennis, and Wilder.

In Wright v. Roanoke Redevelopment and Housing Authority, 479

U.S. 418 (1987), for example, this Court held that federal

regulations conferred upon tenants of federally subsidized

housing the right to a reasonable allowance for utilities, a

right which those individuals could privately enforce under

§ 1983. Id. at 423-32. Despite petitioners’ claim to the

contrary, the “guidelines” set out in the federal regulation

relied upon in Wright, id. at 437 (O'Connor, J., dissenting), are

no more concrete and directive than the “examples” of preventive

and reunification services set forth at 45 C.F.R. §

1357.15(e)(2). See also supra at 23.

The opinion in this case is also consistent with Pennhurst,

in which this Court construed 42 U.S.C. § 6010, the “bill of

rights” in the Developmentally Disabled Assistance and Bill of

Rights Act. This Court there found that Congress had not

conditioned receipt of funding upon compliance with § 6010 and

that the provision "does no more than express a congressional

preference” for the policies there articulated. 451 U.S. at 19,

22-24. Based on its precatory nature, this Court refused to find

the bill of rights enforceable. See also Wilder, 110 S. Ct. at

2518 (discussing grounds of Pennhurst decision).

29

By contrast, the provisions petitioners violate here are

specific requirements “tied indisputably to the funding

provision...[{,] readily distinguish[ing this case] from

Pennhurst...." Pet. at lla. Indeed, Congress' words here could

not be more clear: "In order for a State to be eligible for

payments under this part, it shall have a plan approved by the

Secretary which..." provides that it will make reasonable efforts

in each case prior to a child's placement to prevent her removal

and after placement to facilitate her return to her home.

42 U.S.C. § 671(a)(15) (emphasis added). Likewise, in contrast

to Pennhurst, 451 U.S. at 23, the AAA expressly authorizes the

Department of Health and Human Services to withhold funding if

the Secretary finds that a State has failed to comply with the

reasonable efforts requirement, 42 U.S.C. § 671(b) --

"“support[ing] the conclusion that the provision does create

enforceable rights." Wilder, 110 S. Ct. at 2520. In short, as

Pennhurst requires, in the AAA Congress spoke with a clear voice;

with a command, not merely with a nudge. 451 U.S. at 17, 19.

B. The Court of Appeals' Decision Is Consistent with

Decisions of Other Circuits Holding the Act To Be

Enforceable.

Other courts of appeals which have considered the issue have

each held that courts may enjoin violations of the AAA through

§ 1983. Timmy S. v. Stumbo, 916 F.2d 312, 315-16 (6th Cir. 1990)

(granting injunction under § 1983 as remedy for unlawful

exclusion of foster parents from administrative hearings); L.J.

v. Massinga, 838 F.2d 118, 122-123 (4th Cir. 1988), cert. denied,

488 U.S. 1018 (1989) (granting injunction to remedy violation of

30

case plan, case review and reporting requirements); Lynch v.

Dukakis, 719 F.2d 504, 509-12 (lst Cir. 1983) (granting

injunction to remedy violation of case plan and case review

requirements). See also Sockwell v. Maloney, 431 F. Supp. 1006

(D. Conn. 1976), aff'd, 554 F.2d 1236 (2nd Cir. 1977) (granting

injunction under § 1983 for unlawful suspension of foster care

payments under the AAA's predecessor).

Cases cited by petitioners are inapposite. In In re Scott

County Master Docket, the District Court, applying the reasonable

efforts mandate, concluded only that the State was not required,

given the sexual abuse involved in that case, to maintain the

children in their homes or return them to their fanilies. 672

F.Supp. 1152, 1202-03 (D. Minn. 1987), aff'd sub nom. Myers

Scott County, 868 F.2d 1017 (8th Cir. 1987). If anything, Scott

County undermines petitioners’ claims that federal courts are

unable to apply the reasonable efforts mandate, and that the

analysis undertaken below was unprecedented. See also infra

35-36. Harpole v. Arkansa:

Department of Human Services, 820

F.2d 923 (8th Cir. 1987), is also readily distinguishable.

There, in an abbreviated discussion, the court focused primarily

on the appropriateness of the remedy sought, holding that an

individual indirectly injured by the State's alleged violations

of the Act could not seek damages in her case. Id. at 928.

Similarly, the alleged “uncertainty” among the district

courts does not justify certiorari here. Pet. at 8-9. First

outside of the Seventh Circuit, the only district court to

address the issue held the reasonable efforts requirement fully

31

enforceable. R.C. v. Hornsby, No. 88-D-1170-N, slip op. at 13-20

(M.D. Ala. April 19, 1989). Second, within the Seventh Circuit,

the court below firmly resolved whatever conflict there may have

been. Third, the pendency of other reasonable efforts cases in

federal court renders certiorari even less appropriate. With

only one court of appeals having addressed the enforceability of

42 U.S.C. § 671(a)(15), the issue -- if one exists -- is not ripe

for this Court's review.

S- The Court of Appeals’ Decision Is Fully Consistent with

the Decision of State Courts Enforcing the AAA's

Reasonable Efforts Requirements.

Certiorari is also inappropriate because the Court of

Appeals’ decision is consistent with those of state courts.

State courts addressing the issue have been nearly unanimous in

enforcing the Act's reasonable efforts requirement. See, e.g.,

In the Interest of Burns, 519 A.2d 638, 647-49 (Del. 1986); In

the Interest of M.H., 444 N.W. 2d 110, 113 (lowa App. 1989); In

the Interest of Kenny F., 786 P.2d 699, 703-04 (N.M. App. 1990);

In the Interest of S.A.D., 555 A.2d 123, 127-28 (Pa. Super.

1989). But see In re Carl O., 523 A.2d 1339, 1343 (Conn. App.

1987).

Other state courts have shown a similar inclination,

enforcing state law provisions requiring reasonable efforts

without hesitation. See, e.g., In re Victoria M., 255 Cal. Rptr

498, 503-05 (Cal. App. 1989) (reversing order terminating

parental rights based on lack of reasonable efforts to reunite

family); In the Interest of A.B., 444 So. 2d 981, 995-96 (Fl.

App. 1983) (reversing dispositional order based on State's

32

failure to show reasonable services were provided to reunite

family); In the Matter of Jones, 436 N.E.2d 849, 851 (Ind. App.

1982) (affirming termination of parental rights after finding

reasonable services had been offered); In the Interest of A.M.K.,

723 S.W.2d 50, 52-53 (Mo. App. 1986) (same); Matter of Sheila G.

462 N.E.2d 1139, 1140-41, 1150 (N.Y. 1984) (directing dismissal

of termination petition based on agency's failure to provide

reunification services to father); In re Nicole G., 577 A.2d 248

(R.I. 1990) (directing State to provide housing assistance in

fulfillment of reasonable efforts obligation).

In short, the Court of Appeals decision is fully consistent

with the decisions of state courts and other courts of appeals

and prior decisions of this Court. Therefore, this Court should

deny the petition.

IV. GIVEN ITS NARROW HOLDING, THE SEVENTH CIRCUI

WILL HAVE MINIMAL IMPACT ON OTHER STATES’ CH

SYSTEMS.

nal

>

,

—

rs

~~ i/

The Seventh Circuit's holding was extremely narrow and

limited to the unique set of facts before it. As @ result, the

court's decision will have little impact beyond the litigants a:

will have little or no effect on other States’ child welfare

systems. Therefore, this Court should not grant certiorari.

Before entering the injunction, the District Court conducted

a lengthy hearing on respondents’ motion for a preliminary

injunction. It also considered petitioners’ attempts to

reorganize the Department, purportedly to remedy the system-wide

problems depicted at the hearing. Finally, it reviewed lengthy

submissions by the parties regarding DCFS' caseworker assignment

33

practices from July 1989 through February 1990. In short, the

District Court entered its order only after an extensive and

detailed review of the facts in dispute.

Based on its review, the District Court concluded that DCFS

arranges for services for children and their families by

assigning them caseworkers. App. at 9-12, paras. 2, 4, 6.

Without a caseworker, the Department exerts no efforts to prevent

the removal of children from their homes or reunite children with

their families. Id. at 11-15, paras. 5, 9, 1l. At the time of

the hearing, DCFS regularly failed to assign caseworkers

promptly. Id. at 15-18, paras. 13-19. Despite DCFS'

reorganization, the Department continued to leave children

without caseworkers regularly in late 1989 and early 1990. Id.

at 19-24, paras. 21-27, 31-36. As a result, and given DCFS'

reliance on caseworkers, children were irreparably harmed and

Genied the services to which they were entitled under the Act.

Pet. App. at 53a-54a.

Endorsing the District Court's extensive findings of fact,

id. at 5a, the Court of Appeals' holding was appropriately

narrow: when a State assigns exclusively to its caseworkers the

responsibility for making reasonable efforts to preserve and

reunify families but regularly and systematically fails to assign

them to abused and neglected children under its care or

supervision, @ court may remedy that systemic deficiency by

entering a minimally intrusive preliminary injunction. Id. at

l16a-17a. -Thus, as its initial remand order portended, the Court

of Appeals shaped its decision to closely fit the facts of this

34

case. Indeed, the injunction upheld below was fully consistent

with the manner in which the State had exercised its discretion

in attempting to meet its obligations under the Act. Compare id.

with Wilder, 110 S. Ct. at 2525 (Rehnquist, C.J., dissenting).

On the other hand, in view of the discretion afforded all

States under the AAA, similarly detailed findings of fact showing

the vital role of caseworkers and systemic deficiencies in a

State's caseworker assignment system may never be seen beyond

Illinois’ borders. See Winston v. Children and Youth Services of

Delaware County, 748 F.Supp. 1128, 1133 (E.D. Pa. 1990) (no

uniformity required in State systems for fulfilling reasonable

efforts requirement). Therefore, the court's decision below will

have only minimal effect on other States’ child welfare systems.

Likewise, nothing in the Court of Appeuls' decision suggests

any erosion of the federal court's deference to the expertise of

child welfare agencies, and nothing in the recognition of

respondents’ rights under the Act conflicts with this deference.

Petitioners fail to justify certiorari with their ‘avalanche

argument, which Judge Cummings fully addressed:

The district court's injunctive relief does

not dictate a method of assigning caseworkers

or interfere with the ability of caseworkers

to exercise their own professional judgment

on the job. The court is not creating

federally enforceable rights to beds,

monetary assistance, or housing. The

injunction merely fulfills the minimal

requirement of the AAA that reasonable

efforts are made toward the goals of reducing

unnecessary foster care placement and family

disruption, and it does so through a method

designed to maximize DCFS decisionmaking.

35

Pet. App. at 16a-17a.° Indeed, far from being an “unprecedented

expansion" of the role of federal courts, Pet. at 2l, the

injunction here is consistent with and no more intrusive than the

First Circuit's decision in Lynch. 719 F.2d at 514.

The federal courts’ role in State's child welfare decisions

is minimized by other considerations. The doctrines of

collateral estoppel and abstention, for example, would regularly

bar the federal court from "second-guessing" decisions in

individual cases already active in a state court. See, e.g.,

Gardner v. Parson, 874 F.2d 131, 142 (3rd Cir. 1989) (AAA-based

family preservation claim collaterally estopped by finding in

Family Court proceedings). Moreover, any plaintiff surviving

such hurdles may still be obligated to demonstrate systemic

deficiencies in a State's plan (such as those shown in this case

by respondents), as opposed to individual mistakes by individual

caseworkers. 42 U.S.C. § 671(a). Finally, under Wilder, certain

other plaintiffs may be unable to overcome the deference required

of a court in its review of a State's compliance with the

reasonable efforts requirement. 1105S. Ct. at 2523.

Consequently, this Court should disregard petitioners'

contentions that the decision below will overwhelm the federal

courts with child welfare litigation.

®* As the Court of Appeals noted, the district court also

took steps on its own to ensure that the injunction would be only

minimally intrusive. Pet. App. at 12a-l3a. The District Court

refused to place a numerical limit on caseload size as requested

by respondents and included in the injunction the three day

benchmark set by petitioners themselves. Id. at 21-22, para. 37;

id. at 55a, n.3.

™ 36

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, the petition for certiorari should be

denied.

Respectfully Submitted

Patrick T. Murphy

Counsel of Record

Michael G. Dsida

Counsel for Respondents

Cook County Public Guardian

1112 South Oakley Boulevard

Chicago, Illinois 60612

(312) 633-2500

37

APPENDIX

l.

STATUTES INVOLVED

42 U.S.C. § 671(a):

Requisite features of State plan.

part,

In order for a State to be eligible for payments under this

it shall have a plan approved by the Secretary which --

(1) provides for foster care maintenance payments in

accordance with section 672 of this title and for adoption

assistance in accordance with section 673 of this title;

(2) provides that the State agency responsible for

administering the program authorized by part B of this

subchapter shall administer, or supervise the administration

of, the program authorized by this part;

(3) provides that the plan shall be in effect in all

political subdivisions of the State, and, if administered by

them, be mandatory upon them;

(4) provides that the State shall assure that the

programs at the local level assisted under this part will be

coordinated with the programs et the State or local level,

assisted under parts A and B of this subchapter, under

subchapter XX of this chapter, and under any other

appropriate provision of Federal law;

(5) provides that the State will, in the

administration of its programs under this part, use such

methods relating to the establishment and maintenance of

personnel standards on a merit basis as are found by the

Secretary to be necessary for the proper and efficient

operation of the programs, except that the Secretary shall

exercise no authority with respect to the selection, tenure

of office, or compensation of any individual employed in

accordance with such methods;

(6) provides that the State agency referred to in

paragraph (2) (hereinafter in this part referred to as the

"State agency”) will make such reports, in such form and

containing such information as the Secretary may from time

to time require, and comply with such provisions as the

Secretary may from time to time find necessary to assure the

correctness and verification of such reports;

(7) provides that the State agency will monitor and

conduct periodic evaluations of activities carried out under

this part;

(8) provides safeguards which restrict the use of or

disclosure of information concerning individuals assisted

under the State plan to purposes directly connected with (A)

the administration of the plan of the State approved under

this part, the plan or program of the State under part A, B,

C, or D of this subchapter or under subchapter I, V, X,

XIV, XVI (as in effect in Puerto Rico, Guam, and the Virgin

Islands), XIX, or XX of this chapter, or the supplemental

security income program established by subchapter XVI of

this chapter, (B) any investigation, prosecution, or

criminal or civil proceeding, conducted in connection with

the administration of any such plan or program, (C) the

administration of any other Federal or federally assisted

program which provides assistance, in cash or in kind, or

services, directly to individuals on the basis of need, and

(D) any audit or similar activity conducted in connection

with the administration of any such plan or program by any

governmental agency which is authorized by law to conduct

such audit or activity; and the safeguards so provided shall

prohibit disclosure, to any committee or legislative body

(other than an agency referred to in clause (D) with respect

to an activity referred to in such clause), of any

information which identifies by name or address any such

applicant or recipient; except that nothing contained herein

shall preclude a State from providing standards which

restrict disclosures to purposes more limited than those

specified herein, or which, in the case of adoptions,

prevent disclosure entirely;

(9) provides that where any agency of the State has

reason to believe that the home or institution in which a

child resides whose care is being paid for in whole or in

part with funds provided under this part or part B of this

subchapter is unsuitable for the child because of the

neglect, abuse, or exploitation of such child, it shall

bring such condition to the attention of the appropriate

court or law enforcement agency;

(10) provides for the establishment or designation of a

State authority or authorities which shall be responsible

for establishing and maintaining standards for foster family

homes and child care institutions which are reasonably in

accord with recommended standards of national organizations

concerned with standards for such institutions or homes,

including standards related to administration policies,

safety, sanitation, and protection of civil rights, and

provides that the standards so established shall be applied

by the State to any foster family home or child care

institution receiving funds under this part or part B of

this subchapter;

(11) provides for periodic review of the standards

referred to in the preceding paragraph and amounts paid as

foster care maintenance payments and adoption assistance to

assure their continuing appropriateness;

(12) provides for granting an opportunity for a fair

hearing before the State agency to any individual whose

claim for benefits available pursuant to this part is denied

or is not acted upon with reasonable promptness;

(13) provides that the State shall arrange for a

periodic and independently conducted audit of the programs

assisted under this part and part B of this subchapter,

which shall be conducted no less frequently than once every

three years;

(14) provides (A) specific goals (which shall be

established by State law on or before October 1, 1982) for

each fiscal year (commencing with the fiscal year which

begins on October 1, 1983) as to the maximum number of

children (in absolute numbers or as a percentage of all

children in foster care with respect to whom assistance

under the plan is provided during such year) who, at any

time during such year, will remain in foster care after

having been in such care for a period in excess of twenty-

four months, and (B) a description of the steps which will

be taken by the State to achieve such goals;

(15) effective October 1, 1983, provides that, in each

case, reasonable efforts will be made (A) prior to the

placement of a child in foster care, to prevent or eliminate

the need for removal of the child from his home, and (B) to

make it possible for the child to return to his home;

(16) provides for the development of a case plan (as

defined in section 675(1) of this title) for each child

receiving foster care maintenance payments under the State

plan and provides for a case review system which meet the

requirement described in section 675(5)(B) of this title

with respect to each such child; and

(17) provides that, where appropriate, all steps will

be taken, including cooperative efforts with the State

agencies administering the plans approved under parts A and

D, to secure an assignment to the State of any rights to

support on behalf of each child receiving foster care

maintenance payments under this part.

2. 42 U.S.C. § 1983:

Every person who, under color of any statute, ordinance,

regulation, custom, or usage, of any State or Territory or the

District of Columbia, subjects, or causes to be subjected, any

citizen of the United States or other person within the

jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation of any rights,

privileges, or immunities secured by the Constitution and laws,

shall be liable to the party injured in an action at law, suit in

equity, or other proper proceeding for redress. For the purposes

of this section, any Act of Congress applicable exclusively to

the District of Columbia shall be considered to be a statute of

the District of Columbia.

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

ARTIST M., et al.,

Plaintiffs, 88 C 10503

Vv.

Judge Shadur

GORDON JOHNSON, et al.,

Defendants.

On June 21, 1990 the Court of Appeals entered an order

partially remanding this case to this Court for the entry of

factual findings as to the current delays in caseworker

assignment and reassignment (the “June 21 Order"). This Court

promptly set a status hearing to schedule the proceedings

necessary for that purpose. Because of certain questions

identified by this Court in that status hearing, defendants (for

convenience hereafter referred to collectively as "DCFS")

returned to the Court of Appeals, and the June 21 Order was

modified on June 27, 1990 by the “June 27 Order.** This Court

then set for July 18 both (a) an evidentiary hearing and (b) the

contemporaneous advance submission by the parties of proposed

findings of fact and conclusions of law--that was the earliest

date that the parties could do so, given the preparation that

they required for those purposes.

In part this Court directed the parties to include in their

evidentiary submissions the information that would facilitate

i

Copies of the June 21 Order and June 27 Order are

attached as Exhibits 1 and 2 to this memorandum opinion.

this Court’s recapitulation of the situation as of the March 2,

1990 date of entry of the preliminary injunction order now on

appeal, and that would do so in the context of the record that

had been before this Court reflecting the earlier situation at

DCFS.’ That would effectively enable this Court to provide the

Court of Appeals with a brief motion picture rather than simply a

still photograph, inasmuch as DCFS’ perceived lack of progress

under its own Reorganization Plan despite the passage of many

months was the key motivating factor in this Court’s decision to

enter the March 2 injunction order.

Shortly before the scheduled July 18 hearing date the

parties advised this Court that they had been able to reach

stipulations as to a number of the facts that would obviate the

need for a testimonial hearing, so that they would meet the July

18 date established by this Court with paper submissions rather

than testimony. Both did so at the end of the July 18 working

day.’

On July 20 DCFS moved to strike virtually all of plaintiffs’

submission, setting that motion for hearing on July 24.* To the

That requested presentation was viewed as helpful in

directing this Court’s attention to the specific record

references to the before-and-after situations.

Their Stipulations (cited here as “Stip. {--") are

attached as Exhibit 3 to this memorandum opinion.

That four-day gap (weekend included) conformed to this

District Court’s General Rule 12(e), which specifies two working

days’ prior notice by personal delivery of any motions to be

presented in court. However, this Court frequently deals with

extent that DCFS’ motion related to the proposed findings of fact

("Findings") tendered by plaintiffs, that criticism was indeed

ironic: It essentially sought to object because plaintiffs’

submission did deal, in an effective and informative way, with

the background that was known to this Court when it rejected

DCPS’ purported implementation of its Reorganization Plan as

having failed to deliver the results that it was supposed to

accomplish, and thus as a failure to comply with the statutory

“reasonable efforts” standard. And although DCFS’ motion

proposed to criticize plaintiffs as thus seeking to buttress

their case before the Court of Appeals, in a number of vital

areas DCFS’ own Proposed Findings of Fact did exactly what DCFS’

counsel were urging was improper on plaintiffs’ part--for DCFS’

submission also sought to argue its own case és a matter of

advocacy.*

matters on a more expedited basis where there is an emergency or

where timing is otherwise critical, and where the opponent does

not urge any prejudice by reason of the accelerated schedule. It

would seem that type of accelerated treatment should have been

sought here, given the Court of Appeals’ specified July 26

deadline.

Por example, DCFS Proposed Finding 3 unconvincingly

sought to reduce the stipulated 19-day average delay in cases

transferred from Interim Services Teams ("“ISTs") to DCFS area

offices at the end of the 30 to 45-day period of initial services

provided by the IST (Stip. 4419, 3). DCFS would have this Court

find that the 19-day delay somehow becomes a 5-day delay merely

because the transferor IST technically (that is, on paper)

retains responsibility for a case for 14 days after the file is

transferred. From the prior hearings conducted by this Court and

from other evidentiary submissions, such theoretical wholly-on-

paper responsibilities do not at all serve the goal of actual

caseworker assignments to people who are physically able to

perform the various caseworker responsibilities. This Court has

Accordingly DCFS’ motion to strike much of plaintiffs’

submission has been denied. This Court does agrees that no

Conclusions of Law of the type suggested by plaintiffs are called

for--those were expressly included in th.s Court’s preliminary

injunction order--and so plaintiffs’ recommended legal

conclusions have not been taken into account here.

One last point should be addressed before turning to the

Findings themselves. This Court has of course not gone forward

with any proceedings in this action during the pendency before

the Court of Appeals of the interlocutory appeal from the March 2

preliminary injunction--but that does not relieve this Court of

its responsibility to be alert to developments potentially

affecting the case. Thus this Court had also been fully aware

of, and had been monitoring, the pendency of Wilder v. Virginia

Hospital Association, 110 S.Ct. 2510, 2517-23 (1990).* It

accordingly reviewed the Wilder decision as soon as it was handed

down.

If this Court had viewed that decision as in any respect

destroying the underpinnings of this Court’s determination of

plaintiffs’ reasonable likelihood of success on the merits in

therefore rejected DCFS’ position as at war with the facts.

That awareness of Wilder was not primarily stimulated

by this case. As it happened, this Court had late last year,

based on the Supreme Court’s having accepted review in Wilder,

deferred ruling on a motion in an entirely different case on its

calendar--one that posed the identical substantive question of an

enforceable private cause of action under the specific statute

involved in Wilder (the Boren Amendment to the Medicaid Act).

this case--that is, as negating the existence of plaintiffs’

private cause of action here--it would have considered that its

judicial responsibility called for requesting 4 remand from the

Court of Appeals to enable this Court to vacate the preliminary

injunction because of that supervening development of law.’

Potential mootness would always seem an appropriate consideration

under such circumstances.

Accordingly this Court has indeed considered the effect of

Wilder on its preliminary injunction decision here. It has

determined that the Supreme Court’s upholding of the Boren

Amendment’s “reasonable rates” standard as giving rise to private

enforceable rights under Section 1983° strongly reinforces,

’

Indeed that is essentially what this Court did in

United States v. Williams, 877 F.2d 516 (7th Cir. 1989). There

this Court had, during the course of the criminal trial, rejected

the proposed entrapment defense of codefendant Tedric Beverly

("Beverly") based on the then-established principles consistently

announced by our Court of Appeals’ decisions. After Beverly had

been convicted by the jury and sentenced by this Court and had

then taken an appeal, the United States Supreme Court reversed

our Court of Appeals in United States v. Mathews, 108 S.Ct. 883

(1988), which involved the same entrapment question. This Court

therefore requested the Court of Appeals to remand the case to

permit this Court to determine whether adherence to the

supervening Supreme Court decision in Mathews would have required

it to submit defendant’s entrapment defense to the jury (as this

Court had refused to do at trial)--see this Court’s opinion in

United States v. Beverly, 699 F.Supp. 1256, 1258 (N.D. Ill.

1988). Such a limited remand was ordered by the Court of

Appeals, this Court made the necessary determination and returned

the case to the Court of Appeals, and the conviction was then

affirmed at 877 F.2d 516.

In addition to its rejection of the argument that “the

obligation imposed by the [Boren] Amendment is too ‘vague and

amorphous’ to be judicially enforceable” (Wilder, 110 S.Ct. at

2522), the Supreme Court characterized as an “objective

benchmark” a standard that called on a court to review whether

rather than casting into any doubt, this Court’s decision as to

the "reasonable efforts” standard under the statute at issue here

(and see the opinion to the same effect by this Court’s colleague

Honorable William Hart in Norman v. Johnson, 1990 U.S. Dist.

LEXIS 6181, at 7-12 (N.D. Ill.), issued after this Court’s

opinion here and before the Supreme Court’s decision in Wilder).

This Court will therefore not request any further remand to

enable it to consider vacating the preliminary injunction order

now on appeal.

This opinion now turns to the Findings. As was true during

the proceedings that took place before the entry of the March 2

preliminary injunction, this Court has found DCFS’ position

largely unpersuasive and that presented by plaintiffs largely

persuasive. These Findings therefore draw largely on plaintiffs’

submissions.

Pindings of Fact

Initiation of Juvenile Court Cases

l. As to each member of the plaintiff classes, DCFS has

filed or will file a petition for adjudication of wardship

("petition") in the Circuit Court of Cook County, Juvenile

Division (*Juvenile Court”), alleging that the child is abused,

neglected or dependent. 1-17-89 Tr. 26, 274.

2. DCFS’ filing of a petition is based upon an

investigation conducted by its Office of Child Protection,

the State had “ensur(ed] ‘reasonable access’ to eligible

participants” (jd. at 2523).

("DCP"), one of whose investigators is assigned to each case.

1-17-89 Tr. 225, 275, 276. Such investigators do not themselves

provide or arrange for any services for children or their

families. P. Ex. 29: Denton Dep. 9-10.

3. When DCFS files the petition, it requests an award of

temporary custody or the entry of a protective order. If it

seeks the former, the temporary custody hearing usually occurs on

the same day the petition is filed; but if DCFS recommends a

protective order, the first court date is usually scheduled at

some future date (at varying intervals) after DCFS files the

petition. P. Ex. 29: Benson Dep. 19. Even where DCFS may seek

temporary custody of the child, the child and the parents have a

right to contest that request. Thus some of those cases, as well

as those in which DCPS recommends a protective order, result in

the Juvenile Court’s referring the child to his or her parents‘

custody under a protective order. 1-17-89 Tr. 27-28.

Conversely, when the Juvenile Court awards temporary custody, it

appoints Gary T. Morgan or another person as custodian of the

child.

Vital Role of the Caseworker’

4. When temporary custody is taken, a DCPS caseworker must

be assigned in order to maintain the child’s family ties, work

toward reunification and ensure the child’s well-being. To those

ends the caseworker must search for relatives qualified to care

for the child or locate a suitable placement; arrange arp=ropriate

counseling; complete school transfers where appropriate so the

child’s education is not interrupted; arrange family visitation;

provide appropriate medical care; and generally assure the

child’s safety. 1-17-89 Tr. 247-58; P. Ex. 29: Mayberry-Dunn

Dep. 15-16, Williams Dep. 22-27. In temporary custody cases the

caseworker is also responsible for developing a written,

individualized case plan and advising the Juvenile Court of the

condition of the child and the family. 1-17-89 Tr. 31; 1-19-89

Tr. 786; P. Ex. 29: Mayberry-Dunn Dep. 15-16, Williams Dep. 22-

27.

5. If no caseworker is assigned to the case, the child is

usually dropped off at a placement without any information about

his or her case, such as the nature of the abuse or neglect and

the names of family members. Without that critical information,

DCPS’ proposed Findings seek to denigrate the

importance of caseworkers as mere “case managers, who arrange for

the provision of services by otners." But that is both (1) a

mistaken emphasis on the mechanics rather than the human values

involved in the relationship and (2) all of a piece with DCFS’

consistent substitution of a theoretical paper structure of

“responsibility” for the existence of a live person with actual

hands-on responsibility for assuring that the needed services are

in fact provided (see n.5, Finding 19 & n.10 and Pinding 22.

11

neither reunification services such as visitation nor other vital

child welfare services can begin. 1-17-89 Tr. 82; 1-18-89 Tr.

351-56.

6. In protective order cases the caseworker must secure

services to preserve the family: individual or family counseling

to ease or eliminate the crisis that led to the child’s

mistreatment; homemaker and housekeeping services so that the

conditions of the home will not require the child’s removal;

substance abuse programs to enable parents to attend to their

children’s needs; help in obtaining food, shelter and medical

care; and monitoring of the child’s safety at home. 1-17-89 Tr.

168, 183; P. Ex. 29: Mayberry-Dunn Dep. 15-16.

7. DCFS may also contract with a private agency to provide

child welfare services in both protective order and custody

cases. Significantly, DCPS’ own standards confirm the importance

of personal contact by the assigned worker--it requires a private

agency to see the child within 24 hours of receipt of the case.

Plaintiffs’ January 19, 1990 Response to Defendants’ Report to

the Court ("P. Resp.") Ex. 1, Int. 5(h).

8. When a case is transferred to a private agency, DCFS

and the private agency share the responsibility for delivering

services, so that the private agency delivers services directly

white DCFS has a supervisory and monitoring role. 1-19-89 Tr.

699; P. Ex. 29: ae Dep. 39. DCFS caseworkers are

jointly responsible with the private agency for preparing a case

plan and providing an administrative case review, and they retain

i+:

ultimate responsibility for all facets of the case. p. Ex. 29:

Williams Dep. 26. DCFS’ caseworker also remains responsible for

ascertaining whether there are appropriate relatives with whom to

place a child. 1-17-89 Tr. 94. Certain services (such as

psychiatric hospitalization for a suicidal child) may not be

provided by a private agency, and the DCFS caseworker remains

primarily responsible for obtaining or providing the consent for

such services. 1-18-89 Tr. 359. DCPS’ caseworker may also be

required to authorize familial visits. 1-18-89 Tr. 363, 365.

DCPS’ caseworker is also responsible for planning for the long-

term care of children in short-term private agency placements, a

responsibility that includes authorizing a psychological

evaluation, which is essential to the long-term placement of an

adolescent. 1-18-89 Tr. 353.

9. Unless and until DCFS has assigned a caseworker, no

services can be or are in fact provided to plaintiffs or their

families. P. Ex. 29: Mayberry-Dunn Dep. 35, Denton Dep. 29. Por

example, a young child in DCPS’ Custody may be denied visits with

her parents or siblings for several weeks (1-17-89 Tr. 89; i-18-

89 Tr. 342, 355-56, 363-65); be left in an inappropriate

placement such as a shelter, even when appropriate relatives are

interested in caring for her (1-17-89 Tr. 84-85); be denied sex

abuse treatment, grief counseling or psychiatric care (1-17-89

Tr. 100, 111; 1-18-89 Tr. 359); be unable to attend school (1-18-

89 Tr. 341-42); or be in DCPS custody without any case plan

(Benson Exs. 1 and 5)--all while awaiting the assignment of a

Caseworker.

10. DCFS’ failure to provide caseworker-initiated services

at early stages of its custody of plaintiffs is particularly

harmful. 1-18-89 Tr. 367, 499-500; 1-19-89 Tr. 636; P. Resp. Ex.

2. Because family members are the most motivated during a time

of crisis, immediate intervention is essential. 1-18-89 Tr. 389.

Relatedly, the likelihcod that children whom DCFsS separates from

their families will return home is directly related to the speed

with which they receive reunification services. 1-18-89 Tr. 500;

P. Resp. Ex. 3. Thus the greater the delay in providing such

services during this critical period, the more likely it is that

the child will never return home, and the goal of family

reunification becomes more remote and less attainable. 1-17-89

Tr. 227; 1-18-89 Tr. 365, 367; 1-19-89 tr. 629.

11. Children who reside at home under DCFS’ supervision are

also denied family preservation services and protection when no

caseworker is assigned. 1-17-89 Tr. 183. For example, without a

caseworker a child who had come under DCFS’ supervision because

her parent failed to provide adequate food went hungry again and

had to leave her mother’s home (1-17-89 Tr. 129-31); a parent who

had been ordered to obtain drug treatment by the Juvenile Court

and was willing to do so in order for her children to remain with

her had no assistance from a caseworker in locating and enrolling

in a drug treatment program (1-18-89 Tr. 402-06); and a child who

was without an assigned caseworker to make home visits was

further abused by his father and had to be removed from his

14

father’s custody (1-17-89 Tr. 131-38).

12. When children remain at home, DCFS’ failure to provide

family preservation services quickly places them at risk and

often results in their removal from home. 1-17-89 Tr. 129-37; l-

18-89 Tr. 512; 1-19-89 Tr. 629; P. Ex. 29: Johnson Dep. 29-30.

Defendant Gordon Johnson testified (1-19-89 Tr. 630):

(Wje didn’t have a strong preventive effort

at the front end of the System to try to keep

children, as much as possible, at home with

all the possibility of good services.

Without such an effort, the child’s Situation often deteriorates

and DCPS must remove the child from her home. 1-17-89 Tr. 133-

38; 1-18-89 Tr. 447, 512.

13. As of December 31, 1988 DCFS regularly delayed the

assignment of cases to caseworkers capable of initiating child

welfare services to the plaintiffs and their families, both in

protective order and in temporary custody cases. In most cases

DCFS did not assign a caseworker until at least two weeks after

the first Juvenile Court date. Ina large number of cases the E

delays lasted 30-45 days after plaintiffs’ cases were initiated

in Juvenile Court, with some delays in excess of 45 days. Stip.

1.

14. Delays described in Pinding 13 occurred in cases sent

from DCP to one of the ISTs. ISTs handled new temporary custody

cases except sex-abuse cases. Other court cases-~-protective

order and sex-abuse cases--were sent from DCP directly to one of

DCFS’ area offices. There were similar 30-45 day delays in those

cases. Stip q2.

15. Ina large number of cases, even after caseworkers were

assigned children lost the benefit of the assignment when their

cases later became unassigned. That happened at various stages

in a variety of ways. In cases initially sent to an IST, the

caseworkers were assigned for only 30 to 45 days. Stip. q3.

After the IST completed its tasks, each of its cases would be

transferred to one of DCFS’ four area offices. Id. There

children were again often left for Significant periods of time

without a caseworker, and thus without family reunification and

other child welfare services. 1-17-89 Tr. 33, 188; 1-19-89 Tr.

605-06, 680-81.

16. Similar gaps occurred when DCPS failed to reassign

cases after caseworkers in DCFS’ four area offices resigned, were

terminated, transferred or took leaves of absence. 1-17-89 Tr.

32-33; 1-19-89 Tr. 685-89, 745; P. Exe. 23-25. Those gaps arose

regularly as well, for DCPS caseworkers frequently transfer, take

leaves of absence, are terminated or resign. Stip. 44. -

Children whose cases were previously assigned to-those

caseworkers generally went without a caseworker for 30 days after

those absences began. Stip. 46. Moreover, some children’s cases

remained assigned to workers who had left DCFS months earlier.

P. Ex. 23, 25.

17. Unassigned cases generally were a significant problem

as of January 1989. At the end of September 1988 DCFS records

16

reflected that there were over 200 cases in Cook County that had

been unassigned for over 30 days. P. Group Ex. 28-0 at 2. at

the end of November 1988 DCFS records showed that 320 cases in

Cook County had been unassigned for over 30 days, that 83% of

those had been unassigned for over 60 days and that 63 cases had

been assigned for over 100 days. P. Group Ex. 28-R; P. Ex. 26.

In November 1988 Mark Moses, the DCFS employee responsible for

monitoring the unassigned caseworker problem, actually wrote,

"(T)here are good reasons to have those cases unassigned."

Plaintiffs’ Group Ex. 28-0. On December 13, 1988 the head of

DCPS’ Cook County operations wrote that unassigned cases in Cook

County were on the rise. P. Group Ex. 28-P.

18. DCFS did nothing to expedite the assignment of

caseworkers capable of delivering family preservation, family

reunification and other services to children and their families.

Delays described in the prior Findings were a direct result of

DCFS’ failure to require its personnel to assign cases promptly.

P. Ex. 29: Benson Dep. 30-31. DCFS had no mechanism that

Systemically assured prompt caseworker assignment. 1-17-89 Tr.

241-42. For example, DCFS did not limit the time within which a

supervisor must assign a case. P. Ex. 29: Benson Dep. 30-31.

19. DCPS also failed to develop a policy or procedure for

reassigning cases of caseworkers who are absent, irrespective of

the reason, for substantial periods of time. 1-19-89 Tr. 685-89,

745; P. Group Ex. 28-H, J, N, O, R. In fact DCFS’ witnesses

testified that there was a “management decision“ not to reassign

cases of workers on leave and that DCFS had no procedure whatever

regarding cases of workers on leave for a period up to five

weeks. 1-19-89 Tr. 745; and see Stip. 441 5, 6. Often DCFS made

paper assignments by assigning a caseworker in name only. 1-17-

89 Tr. 190. Such paper assignments left the child without

__._ Services, for in reality the child lacked a caseworker.’’ 1-19-

89 Tr. 688; 1-17-89 Tr. 110-11; Benson Ex. 5.

DCPS "Caseworker Assignment Practices: 1989-90

20. By July 1989 DCFS had implemented three of the four

elements of its plan to remedy the caseworker assignment process:

(a) the Early Response Package, reducing the paperwork

necessary to transfer a case from DCP

investigators to the IST and follow-up caseworker

teams (1-19-89 Tr. 606);

(b) the expansion of the IST program, designed to

allow DCFS to assign all new custody cases to

an IST before transferring them to an area

office; and

(Cc) the Family First Initiative ("Pamily First"),

designed to provide intensive services to

children remaining at home with their

parents.

‘* At the risk of belaboring the point, this past pattern

of behavior on DCFS’ part ties directly into the lack of

credibility of DCFS’ argument referred to in n.5. It also

reinforces the appropriateness of this Court’s looking at DCFS’

past performance (or more accurately its lack of performance)

when this Court evaluated the situation at the time it entered

the March 2 preliminary injunction order.

D. Supp. Submission (August 4, 1989) at 29-32; Stip. qq 8, 9, 11

and 12. On July 16, 1989 the final element of DCFs’ plans, the

division of DCP into the same geographic areas as the area

offices, was completed. Stip. 44.

21. Despite the changes, Significant delays persisted in

assigning caseworkers at the outset of cases. For children whose

cases were initiated in Juvenile Court in July 1989, DCFS took an

average of 9.3 days between the initial court appearance and the

assignment of an IST caseworker and 19.1 days between the

transfer from the IST to the assignment of a follow-up

caseworker. P. Resp. at 3.

22. IST caseworkers retain full responsibility for a case

for 30 to 45 days. Stip. 3. After that initial period DCPS can

extend the assignment of an IST caseworker for an additional two

weeks, but during the extension the caseworker’s role is limited

to court appearances and to arranging placement changes. P.

Resp. Ex. 1, Int. 3(k). IST does not retain responsibility for

the remaining caseworker functions such as monitoring a child’s

safety or arranging parent-child visits.'' Moreover, the :

practice of extending IST responsibility is not always followed.

P. Supp. Submission (February 12, 1990) at 12 n.9.

23. As a result of DCPS’ policies and practices, children

wnose cases were initially served by an IST were without a

caseworker capable of delivering the full array of reunification

and other child welfare services for an average of one month

a4

See n.5.

within the first two to three months. P. Resp. at 3. Those

caseworker gaps occurred at a time crucial to the reunification

of plaintiffs with their families. td. Exs. 2, 3.

24. Neither the IST nor the Family First program functioned

as planned. In July 1989 approximately one-third of new custody

cases went directly from DCP to area offices without IST

intervention. P. Resp. at 6. In those cases DCFS failed to

assign a caseworker until, on average, 10 days after the first

Juvenile Court date. Id. at 6-7. As for Pamily First, children

whose cases were initially assigned to that program experienced

significant delays after the expiration of the two to three

months during which Pamily First served the family before

assignment of a caseworker at the area offices. 1-19-89 Tr. 602;

P. Resp. Ex. 9.

25. DCPS’ claims that 77% of July 1989 cases were assigned

from DCP to IST in under 5 days were based on a log that IST

maintained for new cases. P. Resp. Ex. 1, Int. 2(b). But that

log sid not include the date on which cases were really assigned

at IST. Id. Ex. 4, Benson Dep. 28-29; Stip. 417. Instead the :

information contained in the log and the basis for DCFs’

representations was merely the date that the early response

package “was received at IST." Defendants’ January 31, 1990

Reply to Plaintiffs’ Response to Defendants’ Reports to the Court

(“D. Reply") at 14. DCPS had no record of when the cases were

actually assigned to an IST caseworker capable of providing child

welfare services to plaintiffs and their families. P. Resp. Ex.

20

4, Benson Dep. 17-18, 28-29.

26. DCPS’ changes did not address the gaps created when

caseworkers resigned, transferred, were fired or took a leave of

absence. Stip. 425. Given the number of and frequency of

transfers and the high turnover rate of DCPS caseworkers, DCFS’

failure to attempt to deal with that problem was especially

dangerous. Goad Ex. 9 at l, 3; P. Group Ex. 28-0 at l; P. Ex.

29: Denton Dep. 22. If a caseworker were abeent for less shan 30

days, the supervisor merely monitored the case without handling

the everyday service needs of the family. D. Supp. Submission

(August 4, 1989) at 36. When absences extended beyond 30 days,

DCPS’ policy and practice continued to permit supervisors to

leave cases previously assigned to the absent caseworker

unassigned for 30 or more days. Stip. Wi 4-6, 25.

27. Cases that were reassigned during a caseworker’s

absence were reassigned en masse to a Single caseworker, who by

the nature and volume of the reassignments was not and could not

be expected to provide services. P. Resp. Exs. 10, ll.

28. Even after implementation of DCPS’ plans, its

procedures failed to fix responsibility for assigning a

caseworker promptly. DCPS assigned Mark Moses to monitor

unassigned cases but did not require him to take action when he

observed the existence of unassigned cases. P. Resp. Ex. 6,

Moses Dep. Gloria Lewis, DCFS’ Associate Deputy Director for

Cook County Operations who supervises the administrators of the

four area offices, received monthly reports listing unassigned

21

cases. P. Resp. Ex. 7, Lewis Dep. Nonetheless, she played no

role and had no responsibility in ensuring the assignment of

those cases. Id. at 15, 47-49.

29. John Goad and Chris Benson, to whom DCFS entrusted the

responsibility of closely monitoring compliance with the Early

Response Package, reviewed DCFS’ performance on only two

occasions in all of 1989. John Goad Affidavit (January 31, 1990)

("Goad Aff.") at 3-4, attached to Defendants’ Reply of the same

date. DCPS instead simply relied on its expectations (really its

wishful thinking) that cases would be assigned. Defendants’

Reply at 4, 14. x

30. DCFS finally revised the IST logs in December 1989 to

record the date on which a caseworker was actually assigned.

Affidavit of Chris Benson (January 31, 1990) ("Benson Aff.") at

9, attached to Defendants’ Reply; Stip. 418. DCFS then submitted

December logs for one IST team to this Court. Benson Aff. Ex. F.

Of the 20 cases that DCFS selected for the Court’s review, only 9

were assigned in 5 days or less. Id. All the remaining cases

were assigned only after significant delays, with several of them

assigned 10 days or more after the first Juvenile Court date.

Id. -

31. Om December 7, 1989 Goad wrote in an internal

memorandum that the percentage of cases not routed to IST within

5 days had increased since July 1989, a trend he described as

“disappoint(ing}).* Goad Aff. Ex. B.

32. IST logs from January and February 1990 also

22

demonstrated continuing delays in IST caseworker assignment. In

January and February 1990 DCFS sent approximately 150 cases to

IST for assignment of a caseworker. Stip. 421. In several cases

IST logs did not contain adequate information to determine the

date on which a caseworker was assigned. Id.

33. DCFS did not assign a caseworker within $ days of the

first Juvenile Court date in 56 of the remaining 146 cases sent

to IST in January and February 1990. Id. DCFS thereby fell

significantly short of the goal that it had established for

itself: assignment of a caseworker within three to five days.

1-17-89 Tr. 227, 149; Defendants’ Proposed Findings of Facts and

Conclusions of Law (January 30, 1989) at 44; Defendants’

Supplemental Reply Regarding Pefendants’ Reports to the Court and

in Opposition to Plaintiffs’ Motion for Preliminary Injunction

(February 12, 1990) at 3.

34. In February 1990 alone DCFS did not assign a caseworker

within 5 days of the first court date in 40% of the cases sent to

IST (33 of 82) and within.’10 days of the first court date in 22%

of those cases (20 of 82). Of the February 1990 IST cases, 12%

(11 of 82) were left unassigned for more than three weexs.

Excluding cases that had been screened in advance, DCFS failed to

assign 4 caseworker within 5 days of the first court date in 60%

of the February cases.'’

By agreement of the parties in open court on July 24,

DCFS’ February 1990 logs have been made Exhibit A to the

Stipulations and are accordingly attached as part of Exhibit 3 to

this opinion.

23

35. DCFS also continued to leave cases unassigned, on the

average, for nearly three weeks after IST completed its tasks.

Stip. 424. DCFS also failed tc modify its policy or its

practices against the reassignment of case in the area offices.

Stip. 425. As a result, DCFS left cases previously assigned to

absent caseworkers unassigned for an average of 30 days. Id.

36. System-wide caseworker assignment problems grew as

well. Thus the total number of unassigned cases grew from 232 on

June 30, 1989 to 404 by the end of 1989, parallelling the pattern

of the previous year. P. Resp. Ex. 13. And the number of cases

unassigned for over 30 days doubled over the same period of time.

Id.

37. For an extended time period of many months during the

pendency of this case, this Court had left DCFS wholly

unconstrained by any order setting time requirements for

caseworker assignments, because it had taken DCFS at its word

that its adoption and implementation of the Reorganization Plan

represented the “reasonable efforts” required by the statute. It

was only after DCFS’ performance had failed so substantially,

with no adequate explanation offered by DCFS for that failure and

with DCFS’ unfulfilled generalized predictions having

demonstrated a total lack of credibility, that the preliminary

injunction order now on appeal was entered as required to satisfy

DCPS’ statutory “reasonable efforts" obligation. In doing so

this Court (a) rejected plaintiffs’ request for an order

requiring such assignments to be made within 24 hours as an

24

unrealistic requirement, (b) accepted DCFS’ representations that

a three-working-day requirement was capable of accomplishment

(although DCPS did object to the entry of any such order) and

(C) deferred the effective date of the preliminary injunction

order by approximately 90 days, thus accepting DCFS’ position as

to the amount of additional time that it would need for that

purpose.

C7 as

—~ Ute lee CIP ee

Milton I. =

United States District Judge

Date: July 25, 1°90

25

ee ame

Gnit-. States Court of appeals

For the Seventh Circuit

Chicago, Illinois 60604

June 21, 1990

Before

Hon. WALTER J. CUMMINGS, Circuit Judge

Hon. DANIEL A. MANION, Circuit Judge

Hon. JESSE E. ESCHBACH, Senior Circuit Judge

ARTIST M., et al.

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

Appeals from the United

States District Court

for the Northern

District of Illinois,

Eastern Division.

No. 88 C 10503

Nos. 90-1742 and v.

90-1764

GORDON JOHNSON, et al.

Defendants-~Appellants.

Milton I. Shadur, Judge.

ORDER

The preliminary injunction entered by the district urt

requires that the Department of Children and Family Services

(DCFS) assign a caseworker within three working days from the

time plwintiffs' cases are first heard in juvenile court as well

as within three working days from the time a previously assigned

caseworker relinquishes any portion of a case. DCFS voluntarily

instituted a Reorganization Plan which has as its goal the

reduction of delays in caseworker assignment to three to five

days in most cases. It is unclear from oral argument before us

and from the record what amount of delay currently exists between

(1) a hearing in juvenile court and the assignment of DCFS

caseworkers to that case, and (2) reassignment of a case to a new

caseworker following the relinquishment of any portion of a case

by the previously assigned caseworker. The record is also .

unclear on how far away DCFS is from attaining the goals outlined

in that Plan. Accordingly, this appeal is remanded for the

limited purpose of permitting the district court to hold an

evidentiary hearing, if deemed necessary, and to enter written

findings with respect to the extent of the present delay in

caseworker assignment and reassignment and the extent to which

DCFS has met its goals under the Plan. The district court should

also inform us if a preliminary injunction is still necessary.

We request that the findings be made as soon as possible, but no

later than July 26, 1990.

The defendants' motion to strike pages 463 to 475 of the

Appendix to the plaintiffs' brief is denied.

Exhibit 1 ; 26

Gnited States Court of Appeals _

For the Seventh Circuit

Chicago, Illinois 60604

June 27, 1990

CORRECTED

Before

Hon. WALTER J. CUMMINGS, Circuit Judge

Hon. DANIEL A. MANION, Circuit Judge

Hon. JESSE E. ESCHBACH, Senior Circuit Judge

ARTIST M., et al. )Appeals from the United

Plaintiffs-Appellees, }States District Court

)for the Northern

Nos. 90-1742 and Vv )District of Illinois,

90-1764 )Eastern Division.

]No. 88 C 10503

GORDON JOHNSON, et al. ]

Defendants~-Appellants }Milton I. Shadur, Judge.

ORDER

Our order of June 21, 1990 remanded this appeal to the

district court for entry of factual findings with respect to the

current amount of delay in caseworker assignment and

reassignment. We now modify that order and direct the district

court to enter written findings on the following factual issues

as they existed at the time the injunction issued: (1) the

amount of delay between a hearing in juvenile-court and the

assignment of DCFS caseworkers to that case, (2) the amount of

delay between the time a caseworker relinquishes any portion of a

case and the time a new caseworker is assigned, and (3) the

extent to which DCFS has met its numerical goals, as set forth in

our June 21, 1990 order, under the Reorganization Plan. We

request, as before, that these findings be made as soon as

possible, but no later than July 26, 1990.

Exhibit 2

27

a

acca aaa

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN i CEIVED

ARTIST M., et al., . :

gt JUL La WSU

Plaintiffs,

MILTON L Swadye wrk

grect coat

TP eet: be om OTE

Hon. Milton I. Shadur

Vv.

GORDON JOHNSON, et al.,

Defendants.

STIPULATIONS

Plaintiffs Artist M., et al., by their

attorneys, and defendants Gordon Johnson and Gary T.

Morgan, by their attorneys, hereby jointly stipulate to

the following facts.

Conditions as of December 1988

1. As of December 31, 1988, the Department of

Children and Family Services ("DCFS" or the "Department")

regularly delayed the assignment of cases to caseworkers

capable of initiating child welfare services to the

plaintiffs and their families. In most cases, DCFS did

not assign a caseworker until at least two weeks after

the first Juvenile Court date. In a large number of

cases the delays lasted 30-45 days after plaintiffs’

cases were initiated in Cook County Juvenile Court, with

some delays in excess of 45 days.

- Exhibit 3 : 28

2. These delays occurred in cases sent from

DCFS's Office of Child Protection ("DCP"), the

Department's investigative arm, to one of its Interim

Services Teams ("IST"). IST handled new temporary

custody cases except sex-abuse cases. Other court cases,

namely protective order and sex abuse cases, were sent

from DCP directly to one of DCFS' area offices. There

were similar 30-45 day delays in those cases.

3. In IST cases, the IST caseworker retained

responsibility for the case for 30-45 days. After IST

caseworkers completed their tasks, the IST supervisor

called the Service Coordination Unit ("SCU"), which then

assigned the case to a caseworker team at the appropriate

area office. IST then sent the case fi_e to the

supervisor of the team through DCFS's messenger service,

which operated three times per week. The supervisor of

the team then would assign the case to a caseworker.

Reassigqnment of Cases

4. Follow-up caseworkers in the four area

offices frequently transfer within the Department, take

leaves of absence, are terminated, or resign from their

positions in DCFS's area offices. (The following

29

discussion will refer to these caseworkers in the

aggregate as “absent caseworkers.")

5. As of December 31, 1988, DCFS policy

allowed team supervisors 30 days in which to make

decisions regarding the reassignment of the absent

caseworkers’ cases.

6. DCFS's management policy and practice

permitted supervisors significant latitude and discretion

in decisions regarding reassignment of cases. The cases

of absent caseworkers generally were not reassigned for

30 or more days after their absences began.

Changes in DCFS's Caseworker Assignment System

7. In 1988, DCFS administrators became aware

of delays in caseworker assignment. As part of their

efforts to remedy those delays, on January 1, 1989, the

Division of Cook County Operations ("DCCO") initiated use

of an Early Response Package for cases transferred from

DCP to IST.

8. The Early Response Package contains those

investigation materials necessary to obtain a Juvenile

Court order, enabling c=ses to be transferred out of DCP

prior to completion of the entire investigation.

30

9. In February 1989, DCFS began sending

certain protective order cases to private agencies under

the Family First program, for provision of intensive

home-based services by the private agencies.

10. By August 31, 1989, Family First had

provided services to 169 families in Cook County under

Juvenile Court protective orders.

ll. Between January and May 1989, the

Department added two new IST teams, bringing the total to

four units, with the goal of eventually assigning all

court cases to IST.

12. On May 22, 1989, DCP began transferring

all new temporary custody cases involving sex abuse to

IST.

13. DCPS's Cook County region contains four

area offices, covering distinct geographic areas. On

June 1, i989, the four IST teams were geographically

aligned with the four Cook County area offices.

14. On July 16, 1989, the DCP teams vere

geographically aligned with the four ares offices.

15. In September 1989, the Department

initiated a Home of Relative Initiative, which called for

most cases involving children placed in foster care with

relatives to be transferred to private agencies for case

31

management and services, with a goal of reducin

WO

caseloads across the entire DCFS system.

16. In November 13, 1989, DCP Dbegan

transferring protective order cases to IST. New court

cases (other than previously Opened cases, Home of

Relative cases, or Family First cases) went from DCP to

IST as of that date.

17. During 1989, the DCP and IST

administrators monitored initial assignment of

caseworkers at IST through, among other means, use of

logs which reflected receipt of the case at IST.

18. In December 1989, the IST logs were

modified to reflect actual assignment of an IST

caseworker.

Conditions as of 1989 and Early 1990

19. Cases transferred from DCP directly to

area offices during 1989 experienced delays similar to

those in December 1988. Cases transferred from IST to

area offices during 1989 experienced average delays of 19

days.

20. In January and February 1990, DCFS sent

‘approximately 165 cases to IST for assignment of a

caseworker. In some cases IST logs did not contain

naam

adequate information to determine the date on which a

caseworker was assigned.

21. DCFS assigned a caseworker within five

calendar days of the first court date in 90 (61 percent)

of the remaining 146 cases sent to IST in January and

February 1990. The Department failed to assign a

caseworker within five calendar days in the remaining 56

cases (39 percent).

22. In January and February 1990, DCFS did not

assign a caseworker within 10 calendar days of the first

court date in 25 cases sent to IST, or 17 percent.

23. In January and February 1990, DCFS did not

assign a caseworker within three weeks of the first court

date in 14 cases sent to IST, or 10 percent.

24. As of March 2, 1990, cases transferred

from IST to area offices were unassigned for an average

of 19 days.

25. Defendants did not change DCFS's policy

regarding the reassignment of cases previously assigned

to absent caseworkers between December 31, 1988, and

March 2, 1990. DCFS's practice as of March 2, 1990, left

cases previously assigned to absent caseworkers

unassigned, on average, for 30 days.

Dated: Chicago, Illinois

July 18, 1990

Respectfully submitted,

Patrick T. Murphy

Michael G. Dsida

Susan Tone Pierce

Julie L. Biehl

OFFICE OF THE PUBLIC

GUARDIAN

1112 South Oakley Boulevard

Chicago, Illinois 60612

(312) 633-2500

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

Susan GetZendanner

Christina M. Tchen

Charles F. Smith

Kimberley K. Baer

SKADDEN, ARPS, SLATE,

MEAGHER & FLOM

333 West Wacker Drive

Suite 2100

Chicago, Illinois 60606

(312) 407-0700

Attorneys for Defendants

35

a

7s)

4

Q

— > q a“ ry . ? i)

MINE OA Bi 6/-¢ ULPILL Pe — ( ate ¢ pur | :

‘Ni lalla eS | he Aly, | cep a AL LAA) vs an

ME csp ye 0-4 COEF S| Pon] Cx | Mad

| 2%caah) P7672 > oe aie ll ray ante; bay pga he " prhucp

Pray f é “ad? ' BM MN ae Gl | a7r7"nN 1

VP ty ress 77 ore eee: mney yal | v7 ary

YAS I/- jt (4,-/ “« CMTC, ip ae) infor gs renbkryy 99 ‘Jo whey |

ee . . . A »c\ \n J i “»” 7 "

» +5 —— 7 a en ee. Ane & Sv) CAMs A |

‘iad t { PA of ty QOD, Ge Pine ee Redipe owes pte ot i . \

WT L pyre iat, a) wwe a= aa —* ' “WIM % wr, ‘Oh (2M)

Sg due] ac Ad C4 L-EWWANLE UZ ILE He, ougyrg eof r/o iy, “ere cranny

pt i, ot ial “ACTA Gla OV it

Céfre/e’ Gf AS Z 7 VEMOLE vuvowy buy ie Viay

06///% | CC7TE| Gomaee: s4| aT —- oe Ue Wy

peace 74 CYTE I Cale| erOND OY | wrrmery)

‘RE PPA Te Ea - —— | Oe LRY aE 5) anna

:; Wi 2 — OPT D+“? VE~ hs at

— ‘wy _6b-1¢-7 YI ; . wry . C450)

: ) 7?/| Wee o 9eAC|! vprgey

WN foe 0 | OB7E 7 a /e/1 FOGERTY Wrvy, a

nl Ween thn Mist te bl Vie 77Vpwry UPULY, 7X yg vmiax CEG yfrvay A

ODSCH7A Fog oon. IV) OS PAP AT. —rerfre——

are Lin — 7%

7.) O6f?//e CAL '1/f ©7E CS/GORL CORE PIP 7A 5;

7 iy feu, yoy (UOMEA OF SAE’ PW ru ry

13) ————<—<$—<—

4/10 y ’ “Aj Gila ; — — 4 = I

| P| STP lie : Kiara | OTE | —apaenigh

oy, ow

}

Wi 7G) iva TS) jawa ee eee Wmaa75a;

om os ta w/e SUNOS VAIN / Ng i= Smid i) WYN wv

wax pa Ac rw] ' ms: —-- = — . a . ow i

0 a Se — cet scene —[—=—=—__ —

ri rhein cj of

S20TIA ¥

W219 Id PINTVWAPT aurese> « 5

9ZOTIO ¥

g °AOSr OS7A77JE

55 7 0G" Ob) 44/1 law, a

FPN TED,

“9 ODP OBSEF

Ie -U 4 PIA | Ye

“4 he |O2 YE J OFA

DE Ge P6-7- MO COZ

avs se 74 a

DO WA) Uipeify

mieciwal ive ~ TT a AevD

wax AW e/a iM Ava

608. f4F

36

vanv by QU wea aon

eee

ASV - WAL ADAMS Winiini

as af 5i7f Yr 1% ee | TWA w toll

= a . mar ApAye aecers “orgy the ee dad

, ip 927° 279 DPV Be! wry SIAL MO SOLE 5 “2379d

a . = TTOC jew WF

frreer a i4 '

————— a Awe drrercre %

rrwys “Ay perrer

es = NE 06/41 / mm 7 ed -

Perrier £ te

Ares beter %

yew ners Aycan a

ae 15-073 =» ™ 77777" “9s ome?

atlas hy, ") swerriey ow 777 2Or0 Kryvz07

7 a.) Pad 4 ‘

GREG A IW P. mennt Powwvniy BvOwLeY Fie Aveeno

a | nents soy ,

temiore * ) ‘iD

FAOL ol

VIAL] Se %,| —| wah Seep—|— _

i 144 Sy MT? O 7

se . Y al SOA —ve o OY p sam AA

PORPR| Eee) freyour ran dvianyy os F/B)" at

Be VELA -LAL ke

44

a CkAr, <

4e honnaser ee OE) 2 as _—

BEEN — Oru er? 72 ans PI Rhy

/ . ”

OSZ/74\, Sve, OF Fear “SCG OW

ae ad IRE iexregpe | mien se] i

: A ww

VA .

TLEPB) S204 Hyg} eng apr

(LE 34 fy a IY my Tey COL 2 y

POT” [i wei7asi| PEO Scams | - av ] eo 7

' ws fl. dog ‘Se — - — ae nS

M1 POTPPWAPT eUes0D = 5

Le)

reer ady) wMuluso

I

: PM | ei tte a

— : - ‘ £ a J ‘

Thre ] ‘Lape =p, Wha

Ves Ld M, T97 CJ EMA —— Lage begmy oy <5 7 pe YA8E/2 (79 BE E/ . ; oll

hy ' he ani 1m (i w noes | ht

7 i Os f —_ CAT WPS rer” a ~ imopry “: liv 1 OO: “Mepug A ACH>/ » & cmuglvy?

: “me ” “/ 7a rd : — .- OP HERE : wong

1M, ° tx] _"$ ‘ALA xe {Rom youd O

P Jn'nn 4, rt fal -- 0 Anaad hie a , Ote 4° peerwal/ ” Ae ( WIA |» or VILL.

> ype] ¢ ar lh OSfEKIE NM ¢ gu. S/o S¢ aurys avunhern3 sectce («

5-2-7 1 Wiltio We =| — 7s pe ms NDAD

PO ei Er gett Gown poc] | eI?

— - -2 = / ae nd OF . . 4

Lc 4 7) SA/IE7= GCV/R De ISH yy or ¥/'64/ AA ANY VOG CA, 92 a ny »?

- fe , ‘ — = ~>7—- a 7 € T ‘ : tAVZ eT

were MOO "'), an = TT 3 “ be 7" Ar7oxr

. ( ‘ . - , / —w .

ME oc. «tid EZRA) RT “we Se dp] mony oo ose _|__ evOe

ithe [C6 2 84 sheep ye | % | ep | ses rere Z.

wt fe “te ‘ . a DVIIO”D

yet Weyl -_ — —-}| —t—_ PYser¥ ry Ai

PYOVTEN 05 40 og UTRTE| CEH E/E Ll il A YORT-

. a ; | RETR T eS TAR 7 i a © ; adds

“ hie 5 er b aq sich Pee jeer oy D008 772 ‘peorteu mee

oe Pl ess ~, OEVLETE| SAMS PRY @SswyD AA’ OF DooK¥ Sean?

i ad : - _

. _ - WWIZIw yn ar PIO? F7 2

tl ¢c - /y "Gny a (Omer pe TEX ru

aed ld 1 hs a ok a ;

0 O89 fl OM ‘ oe ws 5P—+0 Se Wd (ley Ww TH g S/T”

. | OY AZ ear — ge

Y «, 77909 ath vor

— - PUREE a “ye CD eI a8 rr

Cbép—sr Od eh) Mak Avring orony TPIPOD a V/A ‘Orvnrd

ited ; reeendace ;

- Ai 4 ha ee 772 ©96):w9 o77 71S

In0 a Lae? Od PE 1. a 229¢ Wt enIH 2090 S AFLP e 0777280)

ui/atva ——e “mM ASVD tat | ii7ww7isi 24.4) SOOM eat ssauogv 2 SWYN A TiWVa

wiax emp es /a. [eco anv f wos §HL-do0 aj -

— 5 nae or eae a ' #919034 PITT WapPT BurescD = 5

> ee

L20Tta ¥ vau AE Muze was 501 asw > wal ADAUIS WiitLiaT

3§

‘

&

WPA ann h

ec DUS) CHSCEA Bl % Bia

YN Yo) ( 1%

Siwy . < 97.2 % ] m7) df y

@ y ) VAZe ‘Claw Veen * OPARWY /S* L/P Ee Wy Ve IMCL,

é wes Soy OA /k Oe VWVARLE CLYE Lepr) Sve marie ped hl bY aA Ep oO a

ff "Fag Ye ' 2

, p 07 ; = wv t, v ww A/IIO te// y

(4 b/ f ( ie 7 "Wiz OAL = I, sterw vs » S$ /'/o ‘4 > y 0, v

| Hay Fy = perry a wo = d YA /¢ af * ) Fac. 4 77 a7 Sun?

alif. _# 4,| Ky cA(ls \ » Wad "od 4 2X

A ) dy 57 - . + PADMA IVD ) a

MIM)? € SA COLE) OAER: oY / x. :

Wi cival Aiva aoliiwe ir Sep ; Y e-agy oA = > ¢’e

y1ax t ie

“a ex PEAT SF hy

ES Ca ae cal V7 w/a THO] SAV 2-4 TDL

IOV HY

j ) { ey , mt st yay “y * reel ©

" wee i »* t, r -

. — 4 | ant a pene | aoe ty oy 9 to 5 oUg wIMITIN) P1969 ry vy ¢

yryeg? | omen HL 9

| / / —— /? . Hife Lh eng, 2 ‘dvas9e 7G

‘ , “7 indie (Cgpsepy ac? -7yv mi

a phy "] } VA cree r - iT rrr rye wre atv ng . ev" ¢ €c, sed Yad g, 7) cenee ove 1G)

\

} \ wry) |

' \ \ werd! = oa . \ \

a 7 TR gr} hh A

\ \ Ae ee)

| | \

‘ \ 4 mi, i)

\ \ ri ’ . \ . . : |

\ ; ‘ (say ,) \

“"ywrrew., |

Lf 2

\ | \ ——: : all —« / oh . _ — .

' ° Up A " ? (Smiriry wen Che -tol ; "

or ho 4! [ a / —_ y h) vies . : orinn > 'oosr / vec’) Levers’ (E)

ye |? Us OONKG?2 Q ~4 It te par " “ ym OS 50 ‘en SL

, = os nt —— §——__—_f£__ ff ; - : r r- 7 y

“i Ay “4 A/t 41% Taj Od ff / MA (

r a a Ly 73 1a ALLE! Valea Wa

| ONL A ||) AMA Alas OO 4/8. 4 / ath

Tae PAEL/ \/ | aA Wi VPP Ra Rads To

, 4 = J = ; : s } ie bike 7 f

ao 4462Yo ¢ f / “VY , 4 140 \

a > ae ee | Cina Andel, Ane, scent . _ ‘ — '

ee - #9 7 Ar Awe) (44 97-4) Al og? sis &ury TY Urwoad /y)

, oc 7

4/870 Ot REFS hy “p7t ; buy *°**) “Aww Mus 2 S07(WOhWy 7 bORE [HY 2 Jso-swrrms)

ATT "fee | — PRES-BT 377 2 eee y pe

u ~ Vs Id ww 4 “1% \5, oaayl ( 2" Lep SA Jo)

ony ¢@ -

IF —faresr | 6 [meter oe oe) ruses y orem ‘vary |i)

ce AMi; Sted id Ag? CR Vuvoy nummd A¢ H ed Leonean S7009 90) f

44v0 15) 41iva ‘IGM 3aSWD tal 107 Wee iS i at b+ ONSS VETTES SSawccv >| an Mines

EXAN| AS /AL PASM Ate § wos §RL- doo l ——_4A___ — ¥

S919 34 Pelt jvuepy SUIPODy .- -

"ta vy ; ee

Vay . dz WAL OI asvo WV3L JDIaw IWLLNI

‘7 - /

4 aie 2M Gio

rn ae madd ee da acd PL

* Ph) ae | etnecenepeigstllacciemmcetaaittiins cain Ore 7 LE mnie ‘ervey _ ES) LT ie A i yr) Pr PDS (! Aww nay

® Wary * rv | Cot A 415 ‘7 HS Bald Bk ‘f ! ; ! hy on

“eee a ry, Mow re T ( ) LOnmh-ere - ret fLINIry hat |

7" * : 7 Orurel (A @9 edt ie TAGE MW 'S*7085- ry mg OG) |X )

” " r we ae | ee ft Usaerive r + z=

a PTT)

= / / (yong | / fff Vin fi

Up

/ e , (0) b>vryl

eal hn th ae STES- AL

74 YT, O03 pag At . shor 1 eres a ‘own sweat ‘S209 ” 0) 1

VAY oe ay —S --|- : x “i evra) Peep bony (° th") jony ' ;) $a ‘

' A oo +1 99M CT yorotcs 227 OMI (0) ed DWV ON ht'z?/up |

a ——- i sree / J //

f Moore Ss rere vA

omaha 4— . pmmeny ( %phr)5) . J J / J

| / fo) preter ‘oi F

a — : a — — . v COjp9 7 Av? () tes , ,

a," yh! & VUOLCE ph Oe ee (ory v4 $y . J ee

pryogys 67? oi ———_L__} , Cat Myeys? yore N virwry ae "7

474; Gru posers (cab J neater) 9) 77) "rHVONS AL

/ J Ja . ie/dt

roses tet) oye) IG Ge Oeigicl PN'BSS? yng ‘ler’ ‘h hy

iii, he / | pone ae sts ay'7 jor) / ape wine,

fon) ,) ——S > . " ° bk >? oy ImMLOyy ¢)

ean ea hada LEE Te om eng emrmon Maye rvsserming |6) |

, , ’ wpvar - ft Uir7z pa vag ¢ ml j

“gs, ll i - i ik {54 917) —_ 7 j senteny worke) Navy sary ¢)

ae serene “9 4" | WLS ae aos ron yyy) le aon] =| ace

Ah tt | ee ey sm ha bys ay ?

. Re 4 Tanase: es "hese ee ee) TMi pany YIN) J)

gt SU TS eee pa ee ee 2907") NV PPI rep =

sree ‘bige | pata : 9) 1D (OMIT wr Bh “190.

ac 3 : 2 id ll rt SEP hls j aliny | "hd Ln (rpey*) 97709 Dna TIVG ING Sy Iw IC ©)

| Din 7 Me Re a: 67 ferthe Many meny ‘sry every 4 6 T ee

4v0 15) 3iv0 | “Sin deva~ PCT [7 pevisi 242;3) SANOSVARHM/NawO IH SSawOdV 2 a ATW :

LXAN|ANS/OL | aSaN ATE § ws $L-do0 |

rr Po a @919024d Pelj} WEP! eU;eD0D « 5 ,

{

vauv | 82 Wal Dol aS WVAL ZDIAM «Ala

‘y va vers |

aLV0 io] ative

LYXAN | AS /OL

NITMND

T Viera

i

§ wos

41

a eee

S¢pn -ct LY a7)

»>/ or : id ||

2WWN A'lIWW4

pada | (‘*) rir y +

"19934 Pe}j} IEP] sUTeZCD « a

“82 WVAL SOI asvD WVAL JDIAD

vauve

[Pry aF

20% SES V.

V/PSSIE

JVH

Lwyer |

c Tybumypug

AS a/b "9 OPES

42

a a

CATES -4AS

coebr cs

b/s Je

——

.

Cbs/beys 374

¥S/809E | SA

{Geb

~~?

owed 5 MTA

yok Sear be yw

aly 2eydess (ne

lett TITY FAS

aw *’ J

AoW Yr (Eo

€

. In F#meD 4ES9

2)

Uyr4ehpk As57

vauv

|

W21GAd PFI} } wap] seuyecoD -

2 WAL DOT 3SVD - WAL ZOIAMaS “IMaUNI

Ube) kyrreg

LUN shy (ervey ¢

pre -%A

vd? 07 Ser

= haha

; Y~) INA

Od VP"D (x

ODPM VP") (50

O6/ ~SS%4

na A

~? gr

00/8 bRoAL HAN 3 7 i hes fie; PR POST sey

thDe WA TZ POD “$ OFLs7/ ss

PL) Ay ¥" d?5€¢ 277 SUaL yx? oy, “sd 4d

£ 7 oes ee, PR IS

Yhehsx| 4/9e 097 AO | Noy aly Ke

WW revisi 99 ghayoe grr7g7 7 °S lrOS v1) 2907) ‘soley,

os-a50 SLOG VAMAHM/ Na I HO Ssauadv 2

wad SWYN ATINVS

ov? £8909” Sp? 7 sb

: obb/ ' 97?4

43

v d/se7]t YAO | : |

WH P

» Berrys f » cIvor

eS 4 277 TR ov9 R356 TY Fe aha bias geet deysrg S Jigs od yey, |

oe + PAL tye JEAYS/ | SA GP ey >>> S9Zp -OR ES |

o A &’-A Sher ‘vd Mr, r7 ON 4 A Aypry ‘Ls

<i Mc Ze 00 8L/ bE] coop oasy rs oirnery PF pep ‘'S SLL |

—— ie ayv| % Joe /e WECALEL CAGE Wt |

eae : 77 8,1 28 Cw

—5-rom SLES ww Mad Ad Whidtihd 5 157 Eg bfir)y| OEM my fves *Frwce “5 opis Arvay ‘ cwnpy :

sate Gio | id Md la be ! :

~ tL oh-8-f mt LOAsAsri ¢ !

“t+ SMUELs +I Jey soon |

ryhnvy Avoysup (nd

i: 7 /

bs WEF so he) ol Ty, HY —- os dog m, PS °§ Shr WU) S77 |

é o "Yel cues Ssee ~ Ct rt : 3

byie/r id y oe rn y w

“tees 4 eb/te| weber Hod Fe aha me Syren (a J™ 2974'S lolp |A\ 474990 ‘syxspry

7 wh . £ ob/ir]e Cr8/| Isgr “i aes —I. f |

as/re/e : —v ° P : ’ 7

OAT of 078 | OFA RIE a ect ds Bh he os

bmn aa ¥ 298¢le LP ve T# ae ‘hewey os 4279)’ /aa)

2g , °

r ‘LIT? coO6h SEZ vy, L797 dny wehbe? ows vy a 2%) vp ‘R900 Ly )

> 7 Le | Wee st wee en} :

cbc mg) TATE Vas > (wf Erbe peg hops! 95 ‘spypity

* oA M/E 4e 06/hs /e coehe rsd oy ; ob fir agieny 4 a oo, 05 Sof je? sau TA]

WH es / FAN sate es 2G

P A/ / oA rhe ac28) SITEE f a yr, r AlhsS.-85L rae Kio J

x, = Ob/tr)” fe %/3/¢ “7 o/s av LN N/E 4 Al han "74

' $ Peary vf iby psay BHWN ADIN

‘Mee - oF) $ pe PECPLYl B56 5

1 pp i ede 5 SPL Say Gee tat |iW/revasi 243) SWNOGVaaI/ Naud iD penmes S pop stig—

s i ae i caine 4534 Alaa §' 9s 08-28 wetdoag P8171IVEP] euyeccD - 3 obbl q7J

4 | ~ 3 — WW3L 901 SVD - Wl SDIAWaS “Imani

OFOTTO ¥

ThOTLO V

44

OG SALW

MWEr/r- MZ

| Ww

hy had

GS FTE d/ PRY ply ‘Red he 1 © Sst vowas yey

“q| ¢°/ie7y 00 /$bo%e Oy ~1'9) Patho 2ya/ -BE_S

. td art : / .

wrver te AG" Vey “esti S$ L/S Ver pag “sores |

of]7¢ ] CoYSZAZ >> PIho -2038

voce | ¥9p7ELE heyreg NV Gd 829 /V rns -s o¢gy ap rvuy ‘Angong

a. £ “/

<_| sh/ri/e 3

3s?

eyeyry smears? o

32

ooessZbA

"2/1 PASOALE

3LV0 1] 3Lv0

wax LX9N] dS /OL

a

nrg J {to

| SIV ws 's opr

b/se/e PL)

UUW rly var”

243) Snover aud ii |

BWYN ATiWWs

82 WV3L 501 asvD - WV3L ZI Anas “TUGLNI

Ee ott

S°1G3d PSOTJ} WEP] eUyeoOD = 5 Obby 977

a—_—_,_

—_-—_——_;

x

aoe < W627

. va)

ry

4 yf. e7?

tH

Ht)

Wi } y?

eva FAS.

plaron,

VSTOWYV vy -

oy

iacaad

A »)

(4 tpn vy pe,

ry tre gba

BIbEPOVY? Wes

PIV TLE

SoaMOV

vl

| “ /<

‘ sz >

in LY

Ly, Hs

Ee

if ¢ /

Ve

“Hay

a We

>, AM

/? “$e

a

ey,

$ he 45

a Vg

Ye MW

re 719

1 oy

77,

‘ig Y/

wi7aive) Give i5)ziva

wa4ax LX9N ANG /OL x

LROTLO y

46

. 77 aaeree ee $$

IZ, “BE - oP a j 7 y shinny é' / |

Aer VAM & wi 5% rmvnaeral A acatiald dal al aa “VIN “yore

Aij-- 9S LEAT, cy af |

Av losscoce| Shoe] / Je | 4] rd| nh G TE icp, | hi we

EE |o OBA ETE -

av |P22TzE ae °F | ody! Od m pil im bof cone, Mas

, 4 WR 7 MA se a 2 On ‘

-&7Ee WIT REE) thee je | opel hevexs S 5 9D8\K M-meony %

Ye PRAGA] Ss - 7

e/¢ | bereele| fr Ee Stn bung warheniy ID ’ ren Doe |

bye | “TK P| ¥O Liaw |

op «| PPAROTE t~ La pur | le WOME? SOLSY :byy7 x VY —T

«PBA TB oN By AP pry

~— PEDH. : | Auny Ypopy nr——/_y aos

“ay | Bharee| ¥ thn cl

* bye KAW 7, TX“ et ree

AY «| PRCIEL Bary

ae C TO ACEL Ip 7 ; ‘ v e

Sy picid" | e ee yan} -» Z| EMIT) heyy ter)

34 35ND | Pa |i nevisi 243] SANOSVARHM/NawO TID SSTwOIV 3 awn A TiWvS

| ey

| yo aan! Aas WL SO) 3SWD - WWAL 3DIAMaS WiNGINI eld 7’

47

K\/alvo)

oaey | comegy oy PELLR| ceoewg teraly

Ke APL, 7

Hy fromerg| 29 B AE 09 tasant A

Poe lasz nag y Paty a

OFFER

7EPLE| deh | ye] ond BCF Magy hmong

dey| armend LIMA IS Oho mar gort9

4 | gam my of £/09 Prray corre

a ee eee

prre H~ grevonyet | | ern —moyy

@21G14g PF} WFP] SUTED0D « 5

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

ARTIST M., et al.,

Plaintiffs,

v. No. 88 C 10503

GORDON JOHNSON, et al.,

ed

Defendants.

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

In December 1988 plaintiffs filed this action as a class

action seeking declaratory and injunctive relief pursuant to

the Adoption Assistance and Child Welfare Act of 1980 ("AAA”

42 U.S.C. §§620-629, 670-679a--either under 42 U.S.C. §1983

("Section 1983") or perhaps via direct action--and under the

Due Process Clause. Plaintiffs simultaneously filed a Motion

for Preliminary Injunction and a Motion for Class

Certification.

Upon presentation of plaintiffs’ motions, defendants

concurred in the propriety of certifying two classes of

Dlaintiffs:

C

-

Class A: Children who are or will be the subjects of

neglect, dependency or abuse petitions filed in the

Circuit Court of Cook County, Juvenile Division

(“Juvenile Court"), who are or will be in the custody

of Department of Children and Family Services ("DCFS"

Or in a home under DCFS supervision by an order of

Juvenile Court and who are now or will be without a

DCFS caseworker for a significant period of time.

Class B: Children who are or will be the subjects of

neglect, dependency or abuse petitions filed in

Juvenile Court who are or will be placed in DCFS'

custody and who are or will be without a DCFS

caseworker for a significant period of time.

48

This Court entered a memorandum order certifying both classes,

Granting plaintiffs’ request for expedited discovery and

setting plaintiffs' Motion for Preliminary Injunction for an

early evidentiary hearing. After that hearing (the "“Hearing”)

was held, with extensive evidence presented by both sides, the

parties presented their post-Hearing submissions.

Defendants in this action are DCFS Director Gordon Johnson

("Johnson") and DCFS Guardianship Administrator Gary Morgan

("Morgan"). 1/ DCFS is the state agency charged with, amona

other things, investigating allegations of child abuse and

neglect throughout Illinois and caring for children and

families who are the victims of child abuse and neglect. This

action is concerned solely with cases in the Cook County

Region.

Oo

rr?

Plaintiffs complain that DCFS has a policy and practice

failing promptly to assign a caseworker to court cases

following the issuance of a temporary custody or protective (or

so"

Morgan testified that although he is named personally by

the Juvenile Court as the custodian of children placed in

the temporary custody of DCFS, day-to-day decisions

regarding those children are made by DCFS personnel who are

designated agents of the Guardianship Administrator and

who are located in the Area Offices, Division of Chil

Protection, Interim Service Teams, Emergency Services

Center and other units directly responsible for serving

children in the care of DCFS. Morgan has no line

authority over those persons, nor does he have any

responsibility for developing generally any policies with

respect to the care of children in DCFS' custody, or

specifically with respect to the assignment of

caseworkers. Accordingly, although named as a defendant,

Morgan does not have any responsibility for the alleged

practices and policies challenged in this action.

49

Supervision) order and of failing promptly to reassign court

cases when a caseworker goes on leave, is terminated or

resigns. Plaintiffs claim that alleged policy and practice

violates both AAA and the Due Process Clause.

This Court has previously deferred issuance of its

findings of fact and conclusions of law for two reasons

impacting importantly on the availability and propriety of

preliminary injunctive relief:

1. the known imminence of post-Hearing Supreme Court

decisions in key areas affecting the core of plaintiffs'

claims and

2. DCFS testimony at the Hearing as to its then

recent adoption and ongoing implementation of a

restructuring plan to address caseworker assignment delays

directly.

Now the end of the Term has come, the Supreme Court decisions

have indeed been handed down, and it appears that they may

perhaps have gutted much if not all of plaintiffs’ potential

predicates for obtaining relief. This memorandum opinion and

Order addresses the case in its present posture,

As for plaintiffs' claim under Section 1983, Will v.

Michigan Department of State Police, 109 S.Ct. 2304, 2312

(1989) has now announced that no action against a state or

against its officials qua officials (the capacity in which

Johnson is in fact sued here) can proceed under that statute:

We hold that neither a State nor its officials acting

in their official capacities are "persons" under

§1983.

90

To be sure, Will, id. at 2311 n.10 (citations omitted) tempers

that seemingly unqualified pronouncement with an "of course”

hedge that draws upon the familiar fiction that informs Ex

parte Young and its progeny--that a State cannot act

unconstitutionally, so that any state official who violates

anyone's constitutional rights is perforce Stripped of his or

her official character:

Of course a State official in his or her official

capacity, when sued for injunctive relief, would be a

person under §1983 because "official-capacity actions

for prospective relief are not treated as actions

against the State.”"...This distinction is "commonplace

in sovereign immunity doctrine,"...and would not have

been foreign to the 19th-century Congress that enacted

§1983.. *-

But in this instance that stated limitation on the newly-

announced Will ruling marks a need for further inquiry rather

than the end of the matter.

As stated at the outset of this opinion, plaintiffs asx

for declaratory and injunctive relief. But the injunction they

seek is not the garden-variety limited restraint on an

individual defendant's conduct. Instead it calls for mandatory

relief that would, if granted, impose a major financial burden

on the State of Illinois. As Edelman v. Jordan, 415 U.

LF)

or

wn

666 (1974) said: 2/

(2

2/ Although the Edelman discussion (like that in Quern [cite

next in the text] and all the other cases treating with

the issue now under consideration) occurs not in a Section

1983 case but in the Eleventh Amendment context, Justice

Brennan's dissenting opinion for four Justices in Will, 109

S.Ct. at 2312 seems accurate in stating:

Like the guest who wouldn't leave, however, the

ol

We do not read Ex parte Young or subsequent holdings

of this Court to indicate that any form of relief may

be awarded against a state officer, no matter how

closely it may in practice resemble a money judgment

payable out of the state treasury, so long as the

relief may be labeled “equitable” in nature.

If the reason the State cannot be sued under Section 1983

is indeed the bar against invading the sovereign's fisc without

its consent, that identical consequence would flow from the

decree sought by plaintiffs, though nominally injunctive in

form and though nominally issued against state official Johnson

rather than the State itself. It is of course true that for

Eleventh Amendment purposes the Court has distinguished between

retrospective relief (held impermissible) and prospective

relief (held permissible), stating in Quern v. Jordan, 440 U.S.

332, 337 (1979) (citations and footnote omitted): 3/

In Edelman we reaffirmed the rule that had evolved in

our earlier cases that a suit in federal court by

private parties seeking to impose a liability which

must be paid from public funds in the state treasury

is barred by the Eleventh Amendment....We rejected the

notion that simply because the lower court's grant of

retroactive benefits had been styled “equitable

restitution" it was permissible under the Elevent,.

Amendment. But we also pointed out that under the

Footnote Continued

Eleventh Amendment lurks everywhere in today's

decision and, in truth, determines its outcome.

But it is not necessary for today's purposes to choose

sides between the majority and minority opinions in Will.

What is most significant is that Edelman and like cases

draw on the notion of the State as sovereign, the identical

concept that the Court majority in Will relies on in

finding the State cannot be a Section 1983 "person."

3/ Will, 109 S.Ct. at 2309 n.6 rejects one of the

petitioner's arguments there as “no more than an attempt to

have this Court reconsider ast v. Jordan, 440 U.S. 332,

99 S.Ct. 1139, 59 L.Ed.2d 3 (1979), which we decline to

do.”

02

landmark decision in Ex parte Young, 209 U.S. 123

(1908), a federal court, consistent with the Eleventh

Amendment, may enjoin state officials to conform their

future conduct to the requirements of federal law,

even though such an injunction may have an ancillary

effect on the state treasury....The distinction

between that relief permissible under the doctrine of

Ex parte Young and that found barred in Edelman was

the difference between prospective relief on one hand

and retrospective relief on the other.

But will that Eleventh Amendment parallel extend chapter

and verse to Section-1983? Is form to prevail over substance,

so that this action will lie under Section 1983 in accordance with

Will's n.10 exception? Or does the real-world major financial

impact of the relief demanded by plaintiffs mean that Will's

general rule barring Section 1983 actions against the State and

its officials as surrogates for the State is to control here?

If the latter is the proper reading of Will, it would sap

of any real force the cases on which plaintiffs have placed

their principal reliance for purposes of AAA-related relief:

L.J. v. Massinga, 838 F.2d 118 (4th Cir. 1988); Lynch v.

Dukakis, 719 F.2d 504 (lst Cir. 1983); and see Del A. v.

Edwards, 855 F.2d 1148 (Sth Cir. 1988). Both L.J., 838 F.2d at

123 and Lynch, 719 F.2d at 509-10 held AAA privately

enforceable under Section 1983, and to that extent they would

clearly be overturned by such a construction of Will. As for

Del A., the Court of Appeals there vacated the panel opinion

and granted rehearing en banc (862 F.2d 1107 (5th Cir. 1988)),

following which the case has been dismissed February 28, 1989.

And of course Will would then moot defendants’ reliance on

Spielman v. Hildebrand, 873 F.2d 1377, 1386 (l0th Cir. i989),

93

which had expressed “considerable doubt whether [AAA] confers

any substantive rights that can be the subject of an action for

damages under section 1983."

Finally, if Will were to foreclose plaintiffs' access to

Section 1983, their right to relief in this action would have

to stem--if at all--from one or both of (1) an implied direct

private action for defendants' claimed violations of AAA or

(2) plaintiffs' stated claim under the Due Process Clause.

Each of those alternatives bears examination here.

AAA unquestionably does not by its terms afford parties in

plaintiffs' situation an express cause of action. And

plaintiffs have really not responded to defendants' Proposed

Conclusion 8, which points to the increasingly restrictive

reading that the Supreme Court has given to implied private

actions--a much more demanding standard than Cort v. Ash, 422

U.S. 66 (1975) was initially thought to have established. Most

recently our Court of Appeals has spoken to that issue in King

v. Gibbs, 1969 U.S. App. LEXIS 8718, at 15-16 (7th Cir.):

The Supreme Court, in Cort v. Ash, set out a four-part

test to determine whether a private right of action

should be implied from a statute:

First, is the plaintiff "one of the class for

whose especial benefit the statute was

enacted,”"...? Second, is there any indication of

legislative intent, explicit or implicit, either

to create such a remedy or to deny one? Third,

is it consistent with the underlying purposes of

the legislative scheme to imply such a remedy for

the plaintifit? And finally, is the cause of

action one traditionally relegated to state law,

in an area basically the concern of the States,

so that it would be inappropriate to infer a

cause of action based solely on federal law?

54

422 U.S. at 78 (citations omitted).

In its recent pronouncements, the Court has reaffirmed

the use of the Cort test but has also made it clear

that the principal focus is on the second of the Cort

factors--whether the legislature intended to create a

private cause of action. See Cannon v. University of

Chicago, 441 U.S. 677 (1979); Touche Ross & Co. v.

Eediaaten. 422 U.S. 560, 568 (1979). The first and

third of the Cort factors are aids in determining that

intent, Touche Ross, 422 U.S. at 575-76; see also P.

Bator, D. Meltzer, P. Mishkin, D. Shapiro, The Federal

Courts and the Federal System 946 (1988), and, by

negative implication, it is unclear whether the fourth

Cort factor--whether the cause of action is generally

thought of as a matter of state concern--has any

continuing significance. But see Merrill Lynch,

Pierce, Fenner & Smith v. Curran, 465 U.S. 353, 393

(1982) (Court noted that fourth Cort factor favored

implying private right of action under a provision of

the Commodities Exchange Act.). In sum, unless a

congressional intent to create the right of action

"can be inferred from the language of the statute, the

Statutory structure, or some other source, the

essential predicate for implication of a private

remedy simply does not exist." Northwest Airlines

Inc. v. Transport Workers Union, 451 U.S. 77, 94

(1981).

At least until otherwise demonstrated, then, it must be

considered that AAA provides plaintiffs no direct ticket of

entry to this federal court.

As for plaintiffs' claim sounding in due process, DeShaney

v. Winnebago County Department of Social Services, 109 S.Ct.

998 (1989)--albeit in a different context--has most recently

reconfirmed the restricted scope of States' obligations to

their citizens under notions of substantive due process.

DeShaney emphasized the nature of the Due Process Clause as a

charter of negative liberties rather than as an affirmative

guaranty.

05

To be sure, in the course of its DeShaney discussion the

Court reconfirmed the existence of "certain limited

circumstances [in which] the Constitution imposes on the State

affirmative duties of care and protection with respect to

particular individuals” (id. at 1004-05, and see generally the

entire discussion in Part II of the opinion, id. at 1002-07).

But DeShaney specifically did not retreat from the principles

announced in the Court's two decisions during the October 1985

Term delimiting the scope of substantive due process (id. at

1003):

Like its counterpart in the Fifth Amendment, the Due

Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment was

intended to prevent government "from abusing [its]

power, or employing it as an instrument of

oppression,” Davidson v. Cannon, [474 U.S.] at 348,

106 S.Ct., at 670 [1986]; see also Daniels v.

Williams, [id.)] at 331, 106 S.Ct., at 665 [1986]

("*"to secure the individual from the arbitrary

exercise of the powers of government,"'" and "to

prevent governmental power from being ‘used for

purposes of oppression'") (internal citations omitted) ;

Parratt v. Taylor, 451 U.S. 527, 549, 101 S.Ct. 1908,

1919, 68 L.Ed.2d 420 (1981) (Powell, J., concurring in

result) (to prevent the “affirmative abuse of power"),

Its purpose was to protect the people from the State,

not to ensure that the State protected them from each

other.

Both Daniels, 474 U.S. at 331 (emphasis in Original)

("Historically, this guarantee of due process has been applied

to deliberate decisions of government officials to deprive a

person of life, liberty, or property") and Davidson, id. at 347

("In Daniels, we held that the Due Process Clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment is not implicated by the lack of due care

of an official causing unintended injury to life, liberty, or

property") emphasized that the harm complained of must have

96

10

been intended ry the public official, rather than negligently

inflicted. And because DeShaney dealt with petitioners to whom

the State did not owe the special level of responsibility that

runs in favor of persons in state custody, the Court was not

called on to specify whether the Daniels-Davidson standard of

intentionally inflicted harm or some lesser benchmark was

required in the “special relationships" situations discussed in

Part II of the opinion. As to persons in plaintiffs' position,

then, a double question exists: whether they stand in the

“special relationships” category and, if so, what standard is

prescribed by the requirements of substantive due process.

In summary, the posture of plaintiffs' claims appears to

be this:

1. Input is required from both sides as to whether

Section 1983 (assuming arguendo that DCFS were held to

have violated AAA) has been rendered unavailable to

plaintiffs by Will.

2. Unless plaintiffs can demonstrate otherwise, any

contentions they have advanced as to an implied private

cause of action created by AAA itself must be rejected for

lack of subject matter jurisdiction. |

3. Amy contention that plaintiffs seek to ground in

the Due Process Clause depends on the standard applicable

to such contention--whether that of intentionally

inflicted harm (a standard that plaintiffs clearly cannot

meet) or something less (a question whose answer may

27

ll

depend on what that “something less" is), 4/

Both sides are directed to file contemporaneous supplemental

submissions on those legal issues in this Court's chambers on

Or before August 4, 1989. Because it may also be relevant to

determine what has happened since the Hearing to the plan

described in defendants’ Hearing testimony, defendants are

Ordered to include a-brief Statement of the current posture of

that plan as part of their Submission. This action is set for

a status hearing at 9 a.m. August 15, 1989 to discuss

(1) whether anything further will be required in the latter

respect and also (2) the ultimate disposition of the

OD Enc.

Milton I. Shadur

United States District Judge

preliminary injunction motion,

Date: July 24, 1989

4/ Both sides should also review our Court of Appeals’ two-

week-old en banc decision in Easter House v. Felder, No.

86-2164, slip op. (7th Cir. July 9 ° aster House

cuts such a wide swath out of Section 1983's coverage, and

it is so new, that its potential implications even for a

Substantive due process claim such as that advanced by

plaintiffs here should be looked at.

58

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Opposition Brief — Suter v. Artist M. · 503 U.S. 347 | Frix