Amicus Curiae Brief — Lujan v. Defenders of Wildlife

Supreme Court brief1992

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, 6S

FILED

ste wines AUG 30 199]

OF THE CLERK

———

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

MANUEL LUJAN, JR., SECRETARY OF THE INTERIOR,

Petitioner,

V.

DEFENDERS OF WILDLIFE, et al.,

Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Eighth Circuit

—_—_—_——_

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE

AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF ZOOLOGICAL

PARKS & AQUARIUMS AND

FRIENDS OF THE EARTH

IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

RONALD J. GREENE

LESTER NURICK

W. HaARDy CALLCOTT *

Marc R. COHEN

KENNETH P. STERN

JAMES LEE Buck II

REBECCA ARBOGAST

WILMER, CUTLER & PICKERING

2445 M Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20037

(202) 663-6000

Counsel for Amici Curiae

August 30, 1991 * Counsel of Record

a

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ........

INTERESTS OF AMICI CURIAE .

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

ARGUMENT

l. THE CHALLENGED APPLICATION OF SEC-

TION 7 CANNOT PROPERLY BE CLASSI-

FIED AS “EXTRATERRITORIAL”

Il. THE ENDANGERED SPECIES ACT WAS

ENACTED AGAINST THE BACKGROUND

OF INTERNATIONAL CHOICE-OF-LAW

PRINCIPLES THAT EXTEND THE ACT TO

U.S. ACTIONS AFFECTING SPECIES OUT-

SIDE THE UNITED STATES

A. The Judicially-Created Presumption Against

Extraterritoriality Is Merely an Aid to Stat-

utory Construction ............... Eee ee

. Any Presumption Against Extraterritoriality

Does Not Apply to Environmental Laws in

General or to the Endangered Species Act in

Particular

’. This Court Has Evaluated Each Area of Law

Separately Before Deciding to Presume that

U.S. Laws in that Area Apply Only Within

U.S. Territory

Ill. THE SECRETARY’S OWN REGULATION

ALREADY RECOGNIZES THAT SECTION 7

APPLIES TO U.S. AGENCY ACTION OUT-

SIDE THIS COUNTRY’S TERRITORIAL JU-

RISDICTION

CONCLUSION

il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

American Banana Co. v. United Fruit Co., 213 U.S.

BAT (1GOD) ....ccccocosecosscoccceceseesssnseusensneennssnannnnannnn 6

Argentine Republic v. Amerada ‘Hess ‘Shipping

Corp., 488 UB. 438 (10GB). ..ccccccsocesscesonsssusssnesnenens 24

Banco Nacional de Cuba v. Sabbatino, 376 U.S. 398

(1964) seavesenvecse sooeseeennesaneenlaennnnnna 6

Benz v. Compania Naviera Hidalgo, S.. mw 353 USS.

138 (1957) ene 6, 20

Blackmer v. United States, 284 U. S. 421 (1982) . 19

Bowen v. Michigan Academy of Family Physicians,

476 U.S. 667 (1986) .... 10

Continental Grain (Australia) Pty. Ltd. v. Pacific

Oilseeds, Inc., 592 a 409 (8th Cir. 1979)... 19

Continental Ore Co. v. Union Carbide & Carbon

Corp., 370 U.S. 690 (1962) cooccccccccececcceeeeccceccccee.. 6,17

Cook v. Tait, 265 U.S. 47 (1924) sae 20

EEOC v. Arabian American Oil Co., 111 8. Ct. 1227

(1991) aneunaaanal cesses. PASSTM

Foley Bros., Inc. v. Filardo, 336 U.S 281 (1949) 9,17

Grunenthal GmbH v. Hotz, 712 F.2d 421 (9th

Cir. 1983) . easel en 7 oaks 19

Hellenic Lines, Ltd. v. Rhoditis, 398 U.S. 306

C2OTO) <0. .cccccceccccococconsecnmceustinemnseeninndneennannnnnnEEEE 18

Kawakita v. United States, 343 U.S. 717 (1952)... 19

Lauritzen v. Larsen, 345 U.S. 571 (1953) 0.0.0.0... 18

McCulloch v. Sociedad Nacional de Marineros,

372 U.S. 10 (1963) raséaeatecnstanaamaanl 6, 20

Nevada v. Skinner, 884 F.2d 445 (9th Cir. 1989),

cert. denied, 110 8. Ct. 1112 (1990) _... iio 8

Peter Starr Production Co. v. Twin Continental

Films, Inc., 783 F.2d 1440 (9th Cir. 1986) _..... 18

Psimenos v. E.F. Hutton & Co., 722 F.2d 1041 (2d

CER. RGD nccecesconccescpssccoccennsnennnsnnannnnanannne oh 19

Reid v. Covert, 354 U.S. 1 (1957) ....... . 9

Rust v. Sullivan, 111 8S. Ct. 1759 (1991) .............. 7

Schoenbaum v. Firstbrook, 405 F.2d 215 (2d Cir.

1968), cert. denied, 395 U.S. 906 (1969) 19

SEC v. Banca Della Svizzera Italiana, 92 F.R.D.

RED (EBD. Bc ROBEY cocccccccccccenceceseneee : 19

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

SEC v. Certain Unknown Purchasers. 817 F.2d

1018 (2d Cir. 1987). cert. denied, 484 U.S. 1060

(1988) 19

SEC v. Minas de Artemisa, S.A 150 F.2d 215

(9th Cir. 1945) LY

SEC v. Tome, 833 F.2d 1086 (2d Cir. 1987), cert

denied, 486 U.S. 1014 (1988) 19

SEC v. Vaskevitch, 657 F. Supp. 312 (S.D.N.Y

L987) 19

Sedima, S.P.R.L. v. Imre Co., 473 U.S 179

(1985) 10

Societe Nationale Industrielle Aerospatiale v. U.S

District Court, 482 U.S. 522 (1987) 23

South Dakota v. Dole. 4883 U.S. 208 (1987)

Spinde lfaubrik Suessen-Schure v. Schubert & Salze

Maschinfabrik Aktiengesellischaft. 9083 F.2d 1568

(Fed. Cir. 1990) 18

Steele v. Bulova Watch Co., 344 U.S. 280 (1952) 17,18

Tamari v. Bache & Co. (Lebanon) S.A.L 730 F.2d

1108 (7th Cir.). cert. denied. 469 U.S. 871

(1984) 19

Timberlane Lumber Co. v. Bank of American N.T

& S.A., 549 F.2d 597 (9th Cir. 1976), aff'd

after remand, 749 F.2d 1378 (9th Cir. 1984),

cert. denied, 472 U.S. 1082 (1985) 23

Transnor (Bermuda) Ltd. v. BP. N th Ame

Petroleum, 738 F. Supp. 1472 (S.D.N.Y. 1990) 19

Underhill v. Hernands > 168 U.S. 250 ¢ L897 ) 6

United States v. Albertini, 472 U.S. 675 (1985) 1)

United States v. Aluminum Co. of America. 148

F.2d 416 (2d Cir. 1945) 11,17

United States v. Baker. 609 F.2d 184 (Sth Cir

L980) 19

l’nited States v. Bowman. 260 U.S. 94 (1922) 19

l’nited States v. Brown, 549 F.2d 954 (4th Cir.).

cert. denied, 480 U.S. 949 (1977) 19

United States v. Louisiana. 394 U.S. 11 (1969) 24

United States v. Mitchell, 553 F.2d 996 (5th Cir.

1977) 25

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

United States v. Romero-Galue, 757 F.2d 1147

(llth Cir. 1985) os = =

United States v. Sisal Sales Corp., 274 U.S. 268

(1927) ; 17

United States v. Smith, 18 U.S. (5 Wheat.) 153

(1820) aah a 19

United States v. Smith, 680 F.2d 255 (1st Cir.

1982), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 1110 (1983) @ 25

United States v. Universal C.1.T. Credit Cor

844 U.S. 218 (1952) 10

United States v. Verdugo-Urquidez, 110 S. Ct. 1056

(1990) .. cae _ 9

United States v. Wright-Barker, 784 F.2d 161 (3d

Cir. 1986) 19, 25

United States v. Yunis, 924 F.2d 1086 (D.C. Cir.

1991) ' 19

Update Art, Inc. v. Modiin Publishing, Ltd., 843

F.2d 67 (2d Cir. 1988) J 18

W.S. Kirkpatrick v. Environmental Tectonics

Corp., 110 8. Ct. 701 (1990) 17

Weinberger v. Rossi, 456 U.S. 25 (1982) 10

Zenith Radio Corp. v. Hazeltine Research Corp..,

895 U.S. 100 (1969) 17

Zoelsch v. Arthur Andersen & Co., 824 F.2d 27

(D.C. Cir. 1987) 19

Statutes

16 U.S.C. § 1531 (a) (4) (1988) 13

16 U.S.C. § 1532(9) (1988) 18

16 U.S.C. § 1536 (a) (2) (1988) 3,4

16 U.S.C. § 1538 (a) (1) (B)- (C) (1988) 16

22 U.S.C. § 262m-2, -4, -5, -7 (1988 & Supp. I

I ciirieneeneeniiltain ee ee 8

22 U.S.C. § 2151b(f) (1) (1988) 8

22 U.S.C. § 2151q (g) (1988) 8

22 U.S.C. § 2779 (c) (1988) 8

50 U.S.C. App. § 2402(5) (a) (1988) 8

Pub. L. No. 101-513, 1990 U.S. Code Cong. &

Admin. News, to be printed at 104 Stat. 1979 8

PABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

50 C.F.R. § 402 (1990) 5

0 C.F.R. § 402.01 (a) (1987) 24

90 CLF.R. § 402.01 (a) (1978) »4

KPA Proposed Rule on Protection of Stratospher

Ozone, 52 F'ed. Reg. 47,489 (1987) (to be cod

fied at 40 C.F.R. pt. 82) (proposed Dec. 14

1QR

| ‘

\vreement ‘ nal! tne . ores ent (,re

Lakes Water Qualit Oct. 16, 1983, United

States-Canada, | A.S. N 10798 LD

Agreement on Great Lakes Water Quality, Apr

15, 1972, United States-Canada, 23 U.S.T. 301]

T.L.A.S. No. 7312 15

Agreement on Great Lakes Water Y lalit N

2? 1978 I'nited States-t nad OL ST. 188

118 U.N.T.S. 348 14

nvention Concerning the Conservation of M

‘atory Birds and their Environment, Nov. 19

197K United States-USSR 9 US. 1647

r.1.AS. No. 9973 14

I n for the Conservation of Atlant

Vi j 966. ?0 U.S J] RT

AS. N 1767, 673 U.N.T.S. 63 !

. . ° } ( nse} tio? f Salmo n the

\ mn Atlantic Ocear r at (jet

ynvention for the Establishment of ian Inter

American Tropical Tuna Commission, May 31

1949, 1 U.S.T. 230, T.LA.S. No. 2044, 80

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Convention for the Protection of Migratory Birds,

Aug. 16, 1916, United States-Great Britain, 39

Stat. 1702, T.S. No. 628 _... ' , 13

Convention for the Protection of Migratory Birds

and Birds in Danger of Extinction, and Their

Environment, Mar. 4, 1972, United States-Japan,

25 U.S.T. 3331, T.1.A.S. No. 7990 14

Convention for the Protection of Migratory Birds

and Game Mammals, Feb. 7, 1936, United

States-Mexico, 50 Stat. 1311, T.S. No. 912 14

Convention on Fishing and Conservation of the

Living Resources of the High Seas, done Apr.

29, 1958, 17 U.S.T. 138, T.1LA.S. No. 5969, 559

U.N.T.S. 285 14

Convention on the High Seas, done Apr. 29, 1958,

13 U.S.T. 2312, T.1.A.S. No. 5200, 450 U.N.T.S.

as 24

Convention on International Trade in Endangered

Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (“CITES”),

done Mar. 3, 1973, 27 U.S.T. 1087, T.I.A.S. No.

8249. 993 U.N.T.S. 243, ar ended June 22, 1979,

see U.S. Dep’t of State, Treaties in Force 295

(1990) —_ 13

Convention on Long-Range Transboundary Air

Pollution, done Nov. 13, 1979, 34 U.S.T. 3043,

T.LA.S. No. 10541 - , 15

Convention on Nature Protection and Wildlife

Preservation in the Western Hemisphere, opened

for signature Oct. 12, 1940, 56 Stat. 1354, T.S.

No. 981, 161 U.N.T.S. 193 .. 14

Memorandum of Intent Concerning Transbound-

ary Air Pollution, Aug. 5, 1989, United States-

Canada, 32 U.S.T. 2521, T.1.A.S. No. 9856 15

Memorandum of Understanding Concerning Sal-

monid Research and Enforcement of the Inter-

national Convention for the High Seas Fisheries

of the North Pacific Ocean, Apr. 9, 1986, see

U.S. Dep't of -State, Treaties in Force 819

(1990) , 14

aad

Vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Protocol Concerning the Control of Emissions of

Nitrogen Oxides or their Transboundary Fluxes

Nov. 1, 1988, 28 I.L.M. 212

Protocol on Substances that Deplete the Ozone

Layer, opened for signature Sept. 16, 1987, 26

LL.M. 1541

Protocol to the 1979 Convention on Long-Range

Transboundary Air Pollution, done Sept. 24,

1984, 27 L.L.M. 692

Treaty on Fisheries, Apr. 2, 1987, see U.S. Dep’

of State, Treaties In Force 319 (1990)

Treaty Relating to Boundary Waters, Jan l,

1909, United States-Great Britain, 36 Stat. 2448,

T.S. No. 548

1261

Vienna Convention for the Protection of the Ozone

BOOKS, TREATISES & ARTICLES

G. Born & D. Westin, International Civil Litiga

tion In United States Courts (1989)

Chayes, “Managing the Transition to a Global

Warming Regime or What to Do til the Treaty

Comes”, in Greenhouse Warming: Negotiating

a Global Regime 61 (World Resources Institute

ed. 1991)

P Erlich & E Wilson. Biodiversity Studie

Science and Policy, 253 Science 758 (Aug. 16,

1991)

Gallob, Birth of the North American Transbound-

ary Environmental Plaintiff, 15 Harv. Envtl. L

Rev. 85 (1991)

D. Jablonski. Extinctions 1 Paleontological Ps

pective, 253 Science 754 (Aug. 16, 1991)

Note. The International Appl cahilitu of Section 7

of the Endangered Species Act of 1973, 29 Santa

Clara L. Rev. 171 (1989)

Pag

viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Rathjens, “Energy and Climate Change”, in Pre-

serving the Global Environment 154 (J. Mathews

RF a ae

Restatement (Third) Foreign Relations Law of

the United States (1986)

J. Story, Commentaries on the Conflict of Laws

(7th ed. 1872) .

H. Thoreau, Walden and “C ivil Dis sobedience” (Sig-

net Classic, New American Library ed. 1960)

U.S. Dep’t of Justice, Antitrust Enforcement

Guidelines for International Operations (1988)

U.S. Dep’t of State, Treaties in Force (1990)

U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service, Endangered Species

Technical Bulletin, vol. XVI, No. 6, June 1991

H. Wheaton, Elements of International Law

(1866)

MISCELLANEOUS

Clairborne, Rare Trout Reintroduced to Dead

Lake, Wash. Post, June 5, 1990, at A21 .

Hawkes, Agony and Ivory, The Times (London),

Aug. 3, 1991

Hiltzik, Sifting Through the Ww reckage of a Shat-

tered Ecosystem, L.A. Times, Mar. 5, 1991, a

8, col. 1 e ee

Schulz, Outdoors: Migrating Songbirds, Associ-

-_— ated Press, May 13, 1991, Domestic News

Wu Dunn, Pessimism Is Growing on Saving Pan-

das from neni N.Y. Times, June 11, 1991

at C4, col.

Acid Rain in me West, N.Y. Times, Oct. 7, 1986,

at C3, col. 5 ...... ee

Brief for the EEOC, EEOC v. Arabian American

Oil Co., No. 89-1838 (U.S., filed November

Ee ene a a a

Drug Store News, Vol. 13, No. 9 at 64 (1991)

Fears Over Radiation Spreading in Europe, Chi-

cago Tribune, May 3, 1986, at 5

Japan Finds Higher Radiation in Rain, L.A. Times,

May 5, 1986, pt. 1, at 6, col. 2 .........

Oil “May Have Killed 20,000 Birds’, Press Ass’ n

Bing Be Ty BDO cccccccocccecscccccescccevnsnesecsnncseoes —

Page

12

passim

17

4

11

or

or

Cc

IN THE

Suprene Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

No. 90-1424

YEFENDERS OF WILDLIF!

On Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Eighth Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE

AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF ZOOLOGICAL

PARKS & AQUARIUMS AND

FRIENDS OF THE EARTH

IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

INTERESTS OF AMICI CURIAE

imicus curiae, the American Association of Zoological

‘arks & Aquariums (AAZPA), is a professional associa-

on representing virtually every major zoological park,

aquarium, wildlife park and oceanarium in North Amer-

a.' The members of AAZPA provide educational pro-

arties have consented tft the fi gy of tl pri

2

grams, research facilities, and insights into the animal

kingdom for the 112 million annual visitors to North

America’s zoos and aquariums.

AAZPA helps coordinate the conservation and research

programs of its members. Its members maintain research

facilities throughout the world. The ability of its member

organizations to conduct important biological research

into endangered species worldwide would be significantly

hampered by a restrictive interpretation of the Endan-

gered Species Act. AAZPA has created the Species Sur-

vival Plan, a prototype program to protect endangered

animals. Forty-nine of fifty-six species in the program

have habitats outside of the United States. Several of

these species, including the Asian and African elephant,

orangutan, and Sumatran rhinoceros, are threatened by

projects at issue in the record of this case. Finally, the

educational function of zoos and wildlife parks depends

on the survival of endangered species throughout the

world. More than eighty percent of species exhibited in

member institutions have natural habitats outside the

United States.

Amicus curiae Friends of the Earth is an organization

with 50,000 members and supporters in the United States.

Its activities include research, education, litigation and

lobbying on a range of international, national and local

environmental and wildlife conservation issues. Friends

of the Earth is the U.S. affiliate of Friends of the Earth

International, a worldwide network with member organ-

izations in forty-three countries. Most of these countries

are affected by U.S. agency actions that the courts below

held are covered by Section 7 of the Endangered Species

Act.

3

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Section 7 of the Endangered Species Act applies to

U.S. agency actions with effects abroad for at least three

independent reasons. First, there is nothing “extra-

territorial” about applying Section 7 to regulate the in-

ternal processes of the United States government. The

consultative procedure occurs in this country and is sub-

ject solely to the principles of American law. The re-

quirement of “no jeopardy” to endangered or threatened

species applies only to U.S. government agency actions;

foreign governments are affected only if they voluntarily

choose to accept U.S. agency assistance for their projects.

Second, even if this case were deemed to involve the

extraterritorial application of U.S. law, the global nature

of environmental problems together with the limited bur-

den of Section 7 make inapplicable any presumption that

Section 7 should apply only domestically. This Court

evaluates each area of law separately before deciding to

apply the presumption against extraterritoriality to that

area, and the considerations that led the Court to apply

that presumption in areas such as labor and employment

argue against extending any such presumption to environ-

mental laws such as Section 7.

Third, in any event, the government has functionally

conceded that this law applies extraterritorially. The

government’s own regulation applies Section 7 to the high

seas, an area outside the territorial jurisdiction of the

United States.

ection i(a 2 provides, in relevant part: “Each Federal

gency shall. in consultation with and with the assistance of the

Secretary, insure that any action authorized, funded, or carried

out by such agency .. . is not likely to jeopardize the continued

existence of any endangered species or threatened species|.

16 U.S.C. §$ 15386(a 2 LOSS

4

ARGUMENT

The wild goose is more of a cosmopolite than we:

he breaks his fast in Canada, takes a luncheon in

the Ohio, and plumes himself for the night in a

southern bayou.

Henry David Thoreau *

The extinction of species is one of the greatest environ-

mental threats facing the world community. Many scien-

tists believe that the world is already undergoing one of

the largest mass-extinctions in the history of the planet.’

In 1973, Congress passed the Endangered Species Act,

16 U.S.C. $§ 1531-44 (1988 & Supp. I 1989), to provide

a comprehensive U.S. response to this critical problem.

A central part of the Endangered Species Act is Section

7, which prescribes that each federal] agency shall con-

sult with the Secretary of the Interior. to ensure that any

action that agency authorizes, funds, or carries out is not

likely to jeopardize the continued existence of any en-

dangered species or threatened species. 16 U.S.C. § 1536

‘a)(2).° This rule is meant to ensure that extinctions

do not occur as the result of actions of the federal gov-

ernment itself.

The two decades since the passage of the Endangered

Species Act have demonstrated the wisdom of this ag-

gressive approach to protecting endangered species around

the world. In that time, the populations of familiar species

SH. Thoreau, Walden and “Civil Disobedience” 212 (Signet

Classic, New American Library ed. 1960).

*D. Jablonski, Extinctions: A Paleontological Perspective, 252

Science 754 (Aug. 16, 1991): cf. P. Erlich & E. Wilson, Biodivers-

ity Studies: Science and Polit y, 253 Science 758 (Aug. 16, 1991).

5 For actions affecting the high seas, the required consultation

is with the Secretary of Commerce. The Secretary of the In-

terior has delegated land consultations to the Fish and Wildlife

Service; the Secretary of Commerce has delegated high-seas con-

sultations to the National Marine Fisheries Service.

such as giant pandas, rhinos and elephants have declined

by fifty percent or more.* Populations of some migratory

songbirds in U.S. states declined by as much as eighty

percent in the 1980’s alone.’

Section 7 of the Endangered Species Act was inter-

preted from the time of its enactment to apply to all

U.S. goverrment actions, in this country or elsewhere,

until 1986 when the Interior Department promulgated the

regulation at issue here, 50 C.F.R. § 402 (1990). In the

case now before the Court, the Secretary urges that the

statute does not mean -what it clearly says. The Secre-

tary argues that this Court should imply a limited geo-

graphie scope into the unambiguous, unlimited language

of Section The Secretary urges that Section 7 should

apply only to federal agency action carried out wholly

within U.S. territorial jurisdiction, and that outside_ of

this country, federal agencies should be free to cause the

extinction of entire species of life. This position should be

I eye ed.

I. THE CHALLENGED APPLICATION OF SECTION

7 CANNOT PROPERLY BE CLASSIFIED AS “EX-

TRATERRITORIAL”

The Secretary rests almost entirely on the argument

that applying Section 7 to the agency actions at issue

here constitutes an “extraterritorial” application of the

Endangered Species Act, and that such an application

contradicts principles of statutory interpretation. As a

threshold matter, however, the Court need not reach the

dispute over the proper theory of statutory construction,

because there is nothing “extraterritorial” about regulat-

ing the internal activities of the United States government

® See, e.g.. Wu Dunn, Pessimism Is Giowing on Saving Pandas

from Extinction, N.Y. Times, June 11, 1991, at C4, col. 1 (50%

decline in giant pandas); Hawkes, Agony and Ivory, The Times

London), Aug. 3, 1991 (75% decline in Kenyan elephants

‘Schulz, Outdoors: Migrating Songbirds, Associated Press, May

13. 1991, Domestic News

6

This Court has been reluctant to apply U.S. law where

another country could demonstrate that its rights and

authority would be infringed. American Banana Co. v.

United Fruit Co., 213 U.S. 347, 356 (1909).8 Thus, the

Court has sometimes declined to apply U.S. law where it

would regulate the activities of persons outside the

United States, or governments outside the United States.”

and where that regulation would conflict with foreign

law. The application of Section 7 to federal agency ac-

tivities to be undertaken in foreign countries does not

implicate such a concern. Section 7 does not declare any

private action taken in a foreign country to be illegal.

It does not prescribe United States environmental stand-

ards or regulations for foreign countries. Any foreign

country that elects to take action that will threaten its

endangered wildlife may do so; it simply must do so with-

out U.S. assistance. The decision by the United States to

refrain from spending U.S. funds or to decline to con-

tinue a particular U.S. agency program is an issue that

can only be judged under U.S. law: there is no potential

for conflict with foreign law.

_—

Section 7 of the Endangered Species Act contains two

requirements: (1) a procedural requirement that federal

agencies consult with one another; and (2) a substantive

requirement that’agencies not jeopardize endangered wild-

life. As the Secretary concedes, the consultations consist

S As discussed below. the holding of American Banana—that

the U.S. antitrust laws do not apply to conduct outside of the

U.S.—has since been overruled. Continental Ore Co. V. Union

Carbide & Carbon Corp., 370 U.S. 690, 704-05 (1962 2

® See EEOC v. Arabian American Oil Co., 111 S. Ct. 1227 (1991)

(“Aramco”). Indeed, this Court has sometimes applied this ra-

tionale so as not to apply U.S. law to disputes between purely

foreign parties while in U.S. territory. See McCulloch v. Sociedad

Nacional de Marineros, 372 U.S. 10 (1963) (labor dispute between

foreign sailors and foreign vessel owners in U.S. port); Benz v.

Compania Naviera Hidalgo, S.A., 353 U.S. 188 (1957) (same).

10 See Banco Nacional de Cuba v. Sabbatino, 376 U.S. 398 (1964) °

Underhili v. Hernandez, 168 U.S, 250 (1897).

I “structured deliberations—whic] re wholly internal

to the United States Government|!.]’ This consultation

urs entirely within the juridical confines of the United

States and is subject only to the requirements of domestic

law. The consultations take place physically within a few

blocks of this Court. The adequacy of the Section 7 con-

sultation can be judged only by domestic law. No foreign

aw could apply.

The subs antive “no ieonal

7 ) ie ] , + +] ‘ +>

f appiles Only to the actions

this requireme!

prevent a projec irom going

, , . . .

abroad, the question primar

States will subsidize another

199 404 L ] 1. ; 4 . a ; Y

Court held last term, it is Con

projects are subsidized with

. | . ~~ rr {

m, 111 S. Ct. 1759. 1775 (1!

i f evula ns the rer

he subsidy Id. at 1775 n.d.

eral aid to states have never

soverelgnty

Bi r Pet r Manue

: ] ']

. ‘ ‘ P .

j t rift Liive I

+ > 4 , ,

t d th ! ent ft

ereigni on exes 7

} i rt} ? Tn ‘ a ¢ T

e J.A. at 185

From t e | time. U.S

ts abi d e.g. Voice of An

the decision to modify or f:

ize endangered pecies Ss not

er! = r) ’ \ [’ >. avgel ies

nflict with othe rovernments

pi ase where the United St

ernment’s project.

iS. C.0 So sti dD | dD

holding minimum drinking re/}

dy”’ requirement of Section

of the U.S. government.’

in some circumstances

all. Applied

the United

ation’s projects.’ As this

right to decide which

Rust

may

al

whether

forward

is

;

7h

il\

‘

)

press

U.S. money Sulli-

f

.

91). “!T lo avoid the force

n1TeY 7) nly lecline

1p] I Lali Sim ny gecilne

Similar conditions on fed-

been held to infringe state

! Secr the

4 n .

Department his interpreta-

Dp

hat tl n wW nfringé

basi it s remen

pplies or to U.S. agen

ncie I? I er? stecd

erica radio towel! But again,

na project so ; not to jeop-

extraterritorial’ the decision

end U.S. money. The possibility

even less than in the more

e sa ting a foreign gov-

ole, 483 U.S. 203 (1987 up-

eceipt of highway funds tie);

8

The Secretary claims, without any record support, that

the “no jeopardy” requirement may sometimes affront for-

eign sensibilities. Br. at 46-47. This is very different from

an argument that Section 7 conflicts with foreign rights,

and is not enough to make the application of Section

7 “extraterritorial.” In fact, the political branches fre-

quently attach restrictions on the use of U.S. foreign aid

funds.’* As the government itself concedes, recipients

of funds from the U.S. Agency for International Develop-

ment must agree to environmental conditions comple-

mentary to those in Section 7 of the Endangered Species

Act."" Among many other conditions, foreign aid recip-

ients must typically agree not to violate U.S. notions of

what constitutes bribery, and must comply with U.S.

legislation forbidding the boycott of Israel.’7 There is

nothing unprecedented or even unusual about interpreting

Section 7 in a way that affects projects assisting foreign

governments.

In sum, Section 7 is merely one of many laws that

impose substantive and procedural restrictions on federal

Nevada v. Skinner, 884 F.2d 445 (9th Cir. 1989) (upholding

speed limit/highway funds tie), cert. denied, 110 S. Ct. 1112

(1990).

'® See, e.g., 22 U.S.C. §2151b(f)(1) (1988) (conditioning any

contribution to the United Nations’ Population Fund on assurances

that the Fund not engage or assist in abortion): Pub. L. No.

101-513, 1990 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News, to be printed at

104 Stat. 1979, 2016 (applying same restrictions on all foreign

assistance funds}.

© See 22 U.S.C. §215l1q(g) (1988) (directing Administrator of

AID to take various actions to protect endangered species): ef.

22 U.S.C. § 262m-2, -4, -5, -7 (1988 & Supp. I 1989) (U.S. to

vote shares in World Bank and similar bodies with consideration

of environmental concerns); Pub. L. No. 101-513, 104 Stat. at

2013-16 (imposing environmental restrictions on all foreign aid

funds).

17 See, e.g., 22 U.S.C. §2779(c) (1988) (bribery): 50 U.S.C.

App. § 2402(5)(a) (1988) ‘Israeli boycott); Pub. L. 101-513,

104 Stat. at 1982 (same).

|

correct, none of thes iaWS that assure regularity in the

eaAid

government decisions. If the Secretary’s position were

practice of government—the Administrative Procedure

Act, the Merit Systems Protection Act, the Government

in the Sunshine Act, the Ethics in Government Act, or the

Freedom of Information Act, to name a few—would ap-

ply whenever the specific decision at issue has an impact

in a foreign nation.'* The secretary has cited no case,

in this Court or in any other, in which rules structuring

government decisions have been deemed an “extraterri-

torial” application of law."® While Section 7 may some-

times have an international component, its requirements

are intrinsically domestic and a direct incident of Amer-

can sovereignty. This procedure cannot properly be

deemed extraterritorial.

ll. THE ENDANGERED SPECIES ACT WAS ENACTED

AGAINST THE BACKGROUND OF INTERNA.

TIONAL CHOICE-OF-LAW PRINCIPLES THAT EX-

TEND THE ACT TO U.S. ACTIONS AFFECTING

SPECIES OUTSIDE THE UNITED STATES

Even if requiring compliance with Section 7 for proj-

ects abroad were deemed an extraterritorial application

of the Act, the Secretary’s contention—that such an ap-

r } }

\ ne thes tatutes pec ii\ Stat th ii Lt ppile 5 to

cit = ns ? ney n iT | n fol ; cs I igh f ( Ai oe

. }

} Ss speci liv hi ted tions wit purely domest effect

The Secretarvy’s reliance on United States Verdugo-l rquidez,

110 S. Ct. 1056 (1990), Br. at 33, 45, is disingenuous. There.

the Court held that the F

rth Amendment. which extends to

“the per ple _ does not Pp? tect roreign citizens outside f f the

United States, 110 S. Ct. at 1065; the Court did not hold that

the Fourth Amendment never applies outside this country. (C/

Reid v. Covert, 354 U.S. 1 (1957 Fourth and Fifth Amendment

constraints do apply to military trial of U.S. citizens abroad

Foley Bros., In Filardo, 336 U.S. 281 (1949 involved the

failure of a private employer (a government contractor) to provide

overtime pay for work done in two foreign countries, and does

not address statutory constraints on the government itself.

-

10

plication is presumptively impermissible—cannot be sus-

tained.

A. The Judicially-Created Presumption Against Ex-

traterritoriality Is Merely an Aid to Statutory

Construction

The presumption against extraterritoriality upon which

the Secretary relies is purely a judicial creation. Such

presumptions have vitality only to the extent that they

produce an accurate reflection of the intent of Congress.*°

This Court has long recognized that presumptions and

other principles of statutory construction are not rules of

law, but are instead common-sense guides to ascertain

what the political branches likely intended: *'

Generalities about statutory construction help us

little. They are not rules of law but merely axioms

of experience. They do not solve the special diffi-

culties in construing a particular statute. The vari-

ables render every problem of statutory construction

unique.”

In each new area of law, the Court has always consid-

ered whether and to what extent the presumption against

extraterritoriality refiects the will of the political

branches.** As discussed below, in the context of environ-

2° United States v. Albertini, 472 U.S. 675, 680 (1985) (“Any

other conclusion, while purporting to be an exercise in judicial

restraint, would trench upon the legislative powers vested in

Congress by Art. I, § 1, of the Constitution”).

*1 See Bowen v. Michigan Academy of Family Physicians, 476

U.S. 667, 672 n3 (1986) (a presumption is controlling only

“where substantial doubt about the congressional intent exists’’).

22 Weinberger v. Rossi, 456 U.S. 25, 28 (1982) (quoting United

States v. Universal CJ.T. Credit Corp., 344 U.S. 218, 221 (1952)).

*3 As this Court has said about a related principle of statutory

construction: “this interpretative canon is not a license for the

judiciary to rewrite language enacted by the legislature.” Sedima,

S.P.R.L. v. Imrex Co., 473 U.S. 479, 493 n.11 (1985) (quoting

United States v. Albertini, 472 U.S. 675, 680 (1985) ).

ry the secretary.

6. Any Presumption Against Extraterritoriality Does

Not Apply to Environmental Laws in General or to

the Endangered Species Act in Particular

Environmental menaces pose unique threats to tl

ernational community. Events in one nation may ha

vt

profound consequences for neighboring—-or even distant

countries.** The Kuwaiti oil fires and th

nuciear reactor expiosion are just two recent exampies

re ‘hernoby |

if the impossibility of countries’ sealing their borders

Py. ; — a , 41 1j actar _ wane « } _—

irom environmental! qgisascvers occurring avuruaud,

ne worldwide depletion ot the ozone laver may iead to

- : - se lInited Stat

J 10ons OL new Cases OI SKI! Cancer 1n Lic lives ; al©€s

— , 1 Tens i? és ‘17 ”

aione, Acid rain from he United §S ates nas killed

more than 17,000 bodies of water in Canada and may

. . . ° . , . . ’ * }

ve eliminated a variety of nsh trom thes akes and

. "7 , , ° . 4 4 re. —

r rs UWiodal warming may ransiorm entire e@cosys-

\ IQs i | low. +} +} + } et 4 } > of} ot

’ ly i Lé $s a { pted | C1 tel il I

, eg 2 ; " regu 4 that " \ 4 }? . ite ‘ +

] elg Relat ; La rT tre t ~ 102( ]

x / ‘ Stat jlun m ¢ f Ame 148 F 2 Hit

2d O11 945

- 0 Vi K d 20000 Bird Press A

Mar. 28 i] Hiitz Sift i” gh ?t W re

f te L.A. Times, Mar », LOO] t 3, col. 1

S } Over Radiat Spreading Europe. C} Te Tril

M 1986, at 5: J n I Hiahe Rad ki

\ es, May 5, 1986, pt. 1 t 6, col. 2

EPA Pr sed Rule on Protectior f Stratosnher Ozone. 5?

f re 17,489 198 t be dified at 40 (.} R t. SZ !

sacl Tex 14 | R7 T} re } wits as hig T rY

, ‘ radia , and tig | ect effects | riawil

pl n on Americans are enormous. /d

12

tems and lead to fundamental changes in fisheries and

local climates.*” Extinctions caused by the eradication of

the tropical and subtropical rain forests may preclude

scientists from producing drugs that have proven effective

in treating cancer, malaria, eye diseases, and other ail-

ments.” The loss of other plant species endangers agrono-

mists’ efforts to produce higher-yielding and disease-

resistant varieties of crops such as corn, rice, and wheat.*"

The protection of endangered species is a closely related

concern that also transcends national boundaries. En-

dangered species migrate freely across long distances,

with no respect for national boundaries. Many of the

animals on the endangered species list issued by the Sec-

retary live, at different times, in both the United States

and foreign countries. Species such as the gray whale,

whooping crane, and peregrine falcon all regularly mi-

grate between the United States or its waters and foreign

countries or their waters.*? The global nature of environ-

American Tran-boundary Environmental Plaintiff, 15 Harv. Envtl.

L. Rev. 85 (1991). Similarly, acid rain from pollution sources in

Mexico may affect lakes, rivers and other habitats in the U.S.

See Acid Rain in the West, N.Y. Times, Oct. 7, 1986, at C3, col. 5.

** The theory of global warming is that the recent rapid increase

in the amount of carbon dioxide in the earth’s atmosphere (a total

increase of at least 25° has already taken place) will change our

planet’s equilibrium temperature. If current technological and

economic trends continue, it is considered “al] but certain” that

noticeable global warming will occur. See Rathjens, “Energy and

Climate Change,” in Preserving the Global Environment 154, 167,

184 (J. Mathews ed. 1991).

*© See Drug Store News, Vol. 13, No. 9, at 64 (1991).

P. Erlich & E. Wilson, Biodiversity Studies: Science and

Policy, 253 Science 758, 760 (Aug. 16, 1991).

*2 Moreover, non-migratory endangered species such as the Ever-

glades kite, American crocodile, and West Indian manatee are found

both in the United States and in other countries. Federal agency

actions that reduce the range of such species outside the United

14

the United States has pledged to protect fish and other

living resources on the high seas.*° These conventions pro-

tect the harvest of salmon and tuna, and limit the capture

of whales.

mals, Feb. 7, 1936, United States-Mexico, 50 Stat. 1311, T.S. No.

912; Convention for the Protection of Migratory Birds and Birds

in Danger of Extinction, and Their Environment, Mar. 4, 1972,

United States-Japan, 25 U.S.T. 3331, T.1.A.S. No. 7990; Conven-

tion Concerning the Conservation of Migratory Birds and Their

Environment, Nov. 19, 1976, United States-USSR, 29 U.S.T. 4647,

T.LA.S. No. 9073.

In the Convention on Nature Protection and Wildlife Preserva-

tion in the Western Hemisphere, opened for signature Oct. 12,

1940, 56 Stat. 1354, 1356, T.S. No. 981, 161 U.N.T.S. 193, 194, the

governments of North and South America (including the United

States) have agreed to “protect and preserve in their natural

habitat representatives of all species and genera of their native

flora and fauna, including migratory birds, in sufficient numbers

and over areas extensive enough to assure them from becoming

extinct through any agency within man’s control!.]”

*> America’s international comm’ ments in this area include the

following: Convention on Fishing and Conservation of the Living

Resources of the High Seas, done Apr. 29, 1958, 17 U.S.T. 138,

T.LA.S. No. 5969, 559 U.N.T.S. 285; Amended Agreement for the

Establishment of the Indo-Pacific Fisheries Council, approved Nov.

23, 1961, 13 U.S.T. 2511, T.LA.S. No. 5218, 418 U.N.T.S. 348:

Convention for the Establishment of an Inter-American Tropical

Tuna Commission, May 31, 1949, 1 U.S.T. 230, T.1.A.S. No. 2044,

80 U.N.T.S. 3; Convention for the High Seas Fisheries of the

North Pacific Ocean, May 9, 1952, 4 U.S.T. 380, T.I.A.S. No. 2786,

205 U.N.T.S. 65; Memorandum of Understanding Concerning Sal-

monid Research and Enforcement of the International Convention

for the High Seas Fisheries of the North Pacific Ocean, Apr. 9,

1986, see U.S. Dep’t of State, Treaties in Force 319 (1990); Con-

vention for the Conservation of Atlantic Tunas, done May 14,

1966, 20 U.S.T. 2887, T.1.A.S. No. 6767, 673 U.N.T.S. 63: Conven-

tion for the Conservation of Salmon in the North Atlantic Ocean,

opened for signature Oct. 1, 1983, T.I.A.S. No. 10789; and, Treaty

on Fisheries, Apr. 2, 1987, see U.S. Dep’t of State, Treaties in

Force 319 (1990).

Given this long history of intern: nal tre es on e!

ronmental matters—all ratified by. Congress, and ma)

ecifically re erenced in the Endangered S cles A

T , ] , ; . ; ]

simply does not make sense to presume th: he

political branches of government are concerned only about

] + . +? . ] ; > ; . 9a + +. ? n

cjomestic matters when they consider environmental legis-

lation. As discussed above, this conclusion ji rel ce

by the inherently global nature of environmental issues.

Moreover, given the pervasive international focus of the

endangered Species Aci itself,” the Court can and should

presume that all sections of the Act apply extraterritori-

ally unless they specifically state otherwise.*'

C. This Court Has Evaluated Each Area of Law Sep-

arately Before Deciding to Presume that U.S. Laws

in that Area Apply Only Within U.S. Territory

The Secretary relies on cases holding, in some s of

7

law, that there is ¢ presumption that U.S. statutes are

see C} es Managing the Transition to a Global Warmi1

Re What ft 1) til the Treat ( nes l Gree it

W } / egotiating a Global Reagim 61 World Re ree

Institute ed. 199]

See Note T) Int ad , 1 A p } ty, of Sect $}

Endanagered Spec ict 19 29 Santa Clara L. Re 171 (1989

luding that $7 should have extraterritorial applicat

y G. Born & D. Westin, International Civil Litigation In

l") ted States Courts ch 7B 1989

,

'' Section 9(a ] B of the Endangered Species Act n fact

limits the prohibition on when one may “take” endangered o1

threatened species to takings within the United States

torial sea; Section 9(a)(1)(C) imposes a similar prohibiti Oo}

high seas takings. 16 U.S.C. § 1538(a)(1)(B)-(C This rest

that when the Act means to limit itself to domestic or high

applications, it says so specifically. Where, as in Section

such limitation appears, the Act is meant to apply without

hic limitation.

17

not intended to apply abroad.*? At one time the presump-

tion applied broadly in U.S. law,” but it has been sig-

nificantly narrowed in more recent cases. To decline to

apply this presumption to the federal environmental laws

generally or to the Endangered Species Act in particular

would be consistent with precedent in numerous areas of

law.

Many areas of U.S. law illustrate the facts that: (1)

the political branches have concerned themselves with con-

duct abroad, and (2) the U.S. courts have made an area-

by-area determination whether a presumption against

‘extraterritoriality is appropriate. For instance in the

area of antitrust, this Court overruled its holding in

American Banana, and has applied U.S. laws extraterri-

torially to encompass a wide range vf conduct occurring

solely or mostly in foreign jurisdictions. See Continental

Ore Co. v. Union Carbide & Carbon Corp., 370 U.S. 690,

705 (1962); United States v. Sisal Sales Corp., 274 USS.

268, 275-76 (1927) .*

‘= See Aramco, 111 S. Ct. 1227 (presumption applies in employ-

ment discrimination case); Foley Bros., 336 U.S. 281 (same. in

labor case). But see, e.g., Continental Ore Co. v. Union Carbide &

Carbon Corp., 370 U.S. 690 (1962) (declining to apply presump-

tion in antitrust case).

Ss See, e.g., J. Story, Commentaries on the Conflict of Laws § 539

(7th ed. 1872); H. Wheaton, Elements of International Law $$ 77,

111-14, 134-51 (1866).

'* This Court recently characterized American Banana as having

been “substantially overruled” by Continental Ore. W.S. Kirk-

patrick v. Environmental Tectonics Corp., 110 S. Ct. 701, 705

(1990). Likewise, this Court has repeatedly cited with approval

the Second Circuit’s decision in United States v. Aluminum Co. of

America, 148 F.2d 416 (2d Cir. 1945), holding that the Sherman

Act applies to conduct abroad that has effects within the United

States. See Continental Ore Co. v. Union Carbide, 370 U-S. 690,

704-05 (1962); Steele v. Bulova Watch Co., 344 U.S. 280, 288 n.16

(1952); Zenith Radio Corp. v. Hazeltine Research Corp., 395 U.S.

100, 114 n.&8 (1969). Accord Restatement (Third) Foreign Rela-

tions Law $415; U.S. Dep’t of Justice, Antitrust Enforcement

Guidelines for International Operations 29-34 (1988).

18

The federal courts have applied domestic law extrater-

ritorially in many other instances where the governing

statutes speak in jurisdictional terms much less specific

than the Endangered Species Act.*® For instance, this

Court interpreted the Jones Act to apply extraterritori-

lly in Lauritzen v. Larsen, 345 U.S. 571, 576-77 (1953),

where the United States has the predominant interest in

the acts at issue.** The Lanham Act is worded broadly

and makes no specific reference to conduct occurring

abroad. Nonetheless, this Court held in Steele v. Bulova

Watch Co,, 344 U.S. 280 (1952), that the Lanham Act

applies extraterritorially to prevent trademark infringe-

ment abroad that has effects in this country. Similarly,

U.S. patent law has been held to apply extraterritorially

to prevent infringing effects in the United States,” as

has U.S. copyright law,’* though neither statute contains

an explicit declaration to that effect.

'’ By contrast, Endangered Species Act §3(9) contains one of

the broadest definitions of “foreign commerce” covered by the Act

anywhere in federal law: “The term ‘foreign commerce’ includes,

nong other things, any transaction A) between persons within

one foreign country; (B) between persons in two or more foreign

countries C) between a person within the United States and

person in a foreign country; or (D) between persons within the

United States, where the fish and wildlife in question are moving

in any country or countries outside the United States.” 16 U.S.

‘ Using the balancing formula set forth in the decision, tf)

Lauritzen Court declined to exercise jurisdiction over the particular

transaction at issue. 345 U.S. at 583-93. However, in another case

this Court found that the same factors weighed in favor of th

extraterritorial exercise of Jones Act jurisdiction. Hellenic Lins

Ltd. v. Rhoditis, 398 U.S. 306 (1970).

‘7 See Spindelfabrik Suessen-Schurr v. Schubert & Salzer

Maschinfabrik Aktiengesellschaft, 908 F.2d 1568. 1577 Fed. Ciy

1990) (sustaining injunction requiring foreign defendant to label

all machines sold anywhere in the world as: “Not available for sale.

use or delivery to the United States”

1S See Update Art, Inc. v. Modiin Pub.. Ltd., 843 F.2d 67 (2d

Cir. 1988 - Peter Starr Prod. Co. v. Twin Continental Films, Ii

783 F.2d 1440 (9th Cir. 1986)

19

The federal securities laws are couched in general

terms that do not specifically refer to conduct occurring

in foreign states. But it is well-established that the se-

curities laws are applicable extraterritorially to foreign

conduct.” Like the securities laws, the U.S. commodities

laws have routinely been held to apply extraterritorially.*

The courts have held that generally worded federal

narcotics and other criminal statutes apply outside the

United States."' The United States exercises extraterri-

‘See Restatement (Third) Foreign Relations Law $416, com-

ment a; SEC v. Tome, 833 F.2d 1086, 1087-88 (2d Cir. 1987

cert. denied, 486 U.S. 1014 (1988): SEC v. Certain Unknown Pur-

chasers, 817 F.2d 1018 (2d Cir. 1987 , cert. denied, 484 U.S. 1060

(1988); SEC v. Vaskevitch, 657 F. Supp. 312 (S.D.N.Y. 1987

SEC v. Banca Della Svizzera Italiana. 92 F.R.D. 111 (S.D.N-Y.

1981); see also SEC v. Minas de Artemisa, S.A., 150 F.2d 215

(9th Cir. 1945)

Dozens of lower court decisions have applied the securities laws

extraterritorially in private actions. See, e.g., Grunenthal GmbH v.

Hotz, 712 F.2d 421, 425 (9th Cir. 1983): Continental Grain (Aus-

tralia) Pty. Ltd. v. Pacifie Oilseeds, Inc., 592 F.2d 409 (8th Cir.

1979): Schoe? hawm ?’. Firsthrook. 405 F.2d 215 (2d Cir. 1968 )

(en banc), cert. denied, 395 U.S. 906 (1969 ): ef. Zoelsch v. Arthur

Andersen & Co., 824 F.2d 27, 30-31 (D.C. Cir. 1987).

” See, e.g., Tamari v. Bache & Co. (Lebanon) S.A.L., 730 F.2d

1103 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 871 (1984); Psimenos v.

EF. Hutton & Co., 722 F.2d 1041 (2d Cir. 1983): Transnor

(Bermuda) Ltd. v. B.P. North America Petrol: um, 738 F. Supp

1472 (S.D.N.Y. 1990).

"! B.g., Kawakita v. United States 343 U.S. 717 (1952): United

States v. Bowman, 260 U.S. 94 (1922); United States v. Smith, 18

U.S. (5 Wheat.) 153 (1820); United States v. Yunis. 924 F.2d

1086 (D.C. Cir. 1991); United States v. Wright-Barker, 784 F.2d

161 (3d Cir. 1986); United States v. Baker, 609 F.2d 134 (5th Cir.

1980); United States v. Brown, 549 F.2d 954 (4th Cir.). cert.

denied, 430 U.S. 949 (1977); cf. Blackmer v. United States. 284

U.S. 421 (1932) (sustaining extraterritorial subpoena to require

U.S. citizen to appear at criminal trial).

‘la ‘isdiction to impose taxes." To adopt the govern

ment’s position in this case—that no U.S. statute on an)

; A s

s

subject applies extraterritorially unless it contains a spe-

cific statement to that effect—would endanger important

federal! civil and criminal] enforcement efforts in numerous

The Secretary—while barely acknowledging the broad

range of laws applying extraterritorially, Br. at 33 n.2]

infers a rigid presumption from a line of cases beginning

with Foley, and ending with this Court’s decision in

Aramco, 111 S. Ct. 1227." Each of tl

presumption against extraterritoriality in the context of

statutes regulating labor and employment. However,

Restatement Third Fore Relat Law $11-12: ¢

] [ 65 U.S 17 1924

Indes st last rm it the ; e) nt t

the posit , that the pre mnt ? territorialit was bstar

tially more limited then the 1 tion it urges here. See Brief fo

the EEOC at 8-10

" the other two cases in that ne f ithoritv. McCulloe}

socredad N\ } (2 U.S. 10 196 nd B

{ Da?) ‘ Fy ‘ j 5 | ~ ] len’ 1957 nr Ter the

government lit! ses di the pr

, + , y " ‘ a oT Tac petweel

foreign s ta Unite

cat I t! S¢ A

leg t the stat

{ tner tna

T YY

21

labor and employment are traditionally local concerns,

and have rarely been the subject of extraterritorial legis-

lation by any country. To seek to regulate workplace con-

ditions and the duties of employers in another country

would present a serious danger of conflict with that coun-

try’s laws.** The Restatement (Third) Foreign Relations

Law of the United States (1986) generally does not

recognize a presumption against extraterritoriality.°* But

the Restatement does conclude that U.S. extraterritorial

jurisdiction is limited “over predominantly local activi-

ties, such as industrial and labor relations|.|’’ /d. at

$s 414 comment c.

Aramco, an employment law case on which the govern-

ment places the greatest weight, is inapposite. In Aramco,

the statute at issue defined the “commerce” covered by the

56 Section 7 presents a much less significant risk of conflicts,

because it only regulates the activities of the U.S. government and

has effect in foreign countries only if they choose to accept U.S.

aid. By contrast, in many of the areas discussed above such as

antitrust or securities law in which U.S. law is applied extra-

territorially, U.S. law declares illegal acts done by private parties

in foreign countries, even though those acts may be permissible

under the home countries’ laws.

57 The Restatement (Third) discussed its decision to omit a pre-

sumption that U.S. statutes apply only domestically :

In the past, the jurisdiction of a state to make its law applicable

in a transnational context was determined by formal criteria

supposedly derived from concepts of state sovereignty and

power. . . . Increasingly, the practice of states has reflected

conceptions better adapted to the complexities of contemporary

international intercourse. ... Territoriality and nationality re-

main the principal bases of jurisdiction to prescribe, but in

determining their meaning rigid concepts have been replaced

by broader criterial[. |

Id. at 235-37. Among other permissible bases of jurisdiction, Re-

statement § 402(2) allows the United States to regulate the con-

duct of its nationals, and Restatement § 402(1)(C) allows the

United States to regulate based on effects within this country of

activity abroad.

©)

ar

act with boilerplate language borrowed from statutes

never held to apply extraterritorially.°* Here, Endangered

Species Act Section 3(9) carefully defines “foreign com-

merce” in a way that leaves no doubt as to its extrater-

ritorial effect.*” The statute in Aramco had numerous pro-

cedural indications that it was intended to apply only in

the United States.” Here, several provisions of Endan-

rered Species Act Section 7 indicate that the political

branches anticipated and squarely addressed its applica-

tion outside this country.”

The presumption against extraterritorality applied in

the Foley-Aramco line of cases is appropriate in the field

of labor and employment. In contrast. as demonstrated

above, that presumption is not appropriate in the environ-

mental area. In environmental cases, the Court should

assume (as it does in many other areas) that the political

branches legislate against the background of choice-of-law

and public international law principles. Those principles

allow the United States to regulate its own nationals and

to regulate activities abroad with an effect in this country.

Where ‘unlike here) there is an actual conflict with the

laws of another sovereign with a greater interest in the

111 8S. Ct. at 1281-32

'See n.45 supra

“! See, e.y., § 7(n granting judicial review for agency actions

itside of any circuit,” and granting standing to se judicial

review to any “person,” defined in §3(13) to include foreign goy

ernments $7(1) (State Department consultation on exemption

affecting treaty obligations): § 7(j granting exemptions wher:

necessary for national security

As discussed below, another distinction between Aramco and thi

case 1s that in Aramco, the agency charged with enforcing the

statute originally interpreted it to apply only domestie: lly, 111

s. Ct. at 1235, while the contemporaneous interpretation of Sectio

the agencies charged with enforcing it held that Section 7 does

apply to agency action outside the United States.

23

transaction, U.S. courts may decline to exercise jurisdic-

tion under a comity analysis.” Interpreted against this

background, the Court should not presume that U.S. en-

vironmental laws apply only domestically.

The Secretary argues, citing Aramco, Br. at 33, that

respondents must demonstrate a “clear statement” that

Section 7 applies outside the United States. The Secretary

concedes, Br. at 39-41, that parts of the Endangered

Species Act do apply extraterritorially, and the Secretary

cites no authority for requiring a “clear statement” in

every section of an act that concededly applies extraterri-

torially at least in part. We respectfully suggest that the

“clear statement” hurdle need only be crossed for the Act

as a whole. In any event, the use of the terms “endan-

gered species” and “threatened species” in Section 7—

terms that concededly apply extraterritorially “—estab-

lishes the requisite clear statement that the section apply

overseas.”

62 See Restatement (Third) § 403; Timberlane Lumber Co

Bank of American N.T. & S.A., 549 F.2d 597 (9th Cir. 1976), aff'd

after remand, 749 F.2d 1378 (9th Cir, 1984), cert. denied, 472 U.S.

1032 (1985). This comity approach avoids serious conflicts with

foreign law where they actually occur, but allows the United States

to vindicate important interests abroad when no conflict exists, or

when the U.S. interest outweighs the foreign interest. Such a “par-

ticularized analysis of the respective interests of the foreign nation

and the requesting nation” was exactly the method this Court

recently set forth for determining when to allow direct extraterri-

torial discovery under the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. Societe

Nationale Industrielle Aerospatiale v. U.S. District Court, 482 U.S.

522, 543-44 (1987).

63 Indeed, of the 1137 species listed under the Act on May 31,

1991, 522 are found exclusively outside this country. U.S. Fish and

Wildlife Service, Endangered Species Technical Bulletin, vol. XVI,

No. 6, June 1991 at 12.

64 See also supra n.61 (listing procedural indications that Section

7 applies abroad).

24

lil. THE SECRETARY'S OWN REGULATION AL-

READY RECOGNIZES THAT SECTION 7 AP-

PLIES TO U.S. AGENCY ACTIONS OUTSIDE THIS

COUNTRY’S TERRITORIAL JURISDICTION

Kven if a presumption against extraterritoriality were

applied to this case, the secretary, Dy virtue of his own

regulations, concedes that Section 7 is properly interpreted

» apply outside the territory of the United States. The

re gvulation na the secretary defends here applies, D\

own terms, outside the territory of the | nited States, to

tne giodal commons or the nign seas.’

rhe high seas, by definiton, are outside the “te rritori:

Imits Of anv nation.” This Court has consistentiy nel

+ho+ » ann! soy +9 , , . ] +mtaa4 4 +> s7 4

a ail Alpi a lon oO! iCUCT dl Slad U cS J al L10nS OcCcUr-

ring on the nign seas 18 an extraterritoria! applicati m ot

US law. SEF ©. Argentine Republi . Amerada He

Shipping Corp., 488 U.S. 428, 440 (1989): Aramco, 111

Ss. Ct. at 1235 (treating statutes applying to the high

nt} , ind ft, } Re g { }

nel I reg { [ iy ed ig fT

| Compare 50 C.F.R. § 402 87

‘ 2 f tl \ requ ry Feder g tat

th the Secretar t ire that t thoriz

nd ! é n the United St j j j

t | t eopardize the ntir qd xiste? , lict

f $ empnasis ada t} 0 CLF_LR 107 OO} : 197

sect 7(a)(2) requires every Federal age to ir e that

ties or programs, the United Stat = the hial

ain the } } ( nirv will not i ) { ‘

t CICS eT) ha dade

25

seas as extraterritorial). In concluding that Section 7

applies extraterritorially to the high seas, the Secretary

necessarily discerns that the section contains the requisite

indication of extraterritorial intent.®

At the very least, the inconsistency of the regulations

and the Secretary’s position in this Court remove any

basis for the government’s claim that its revisionist in-

terpretation of Section 7 deserves judicial deference.”

The irremediable clash between the regulations and the

Secretary's brief demonstrates that the government’s

reading of the statute does not reflect a knowledgeable

and careful reading of the Endangered Species Act, but

67 Accord United States v. Wright-Barke r, 784 F.2d 161, 166

3d Cir. 1986 applying criminal drug law extraterritorially to

conduct on high seas); Romero-Galue, 757 F.2d at 1152 n.13

same): United States v. Smith, 680 F.2d 255, 257 (1st Cir. 1982

(same), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 1110 (1983). Compare United States

Mitchell, 553 F.2d 996 (5th Cir. 1977). In Mitchell, the Fifth

Cireuit held that the Marine Mammal Protection Act applied to the

high seas and not to foreign jurisdictions, because the statute

made specific reference to the high seas and not to foreign coun-

tries. Of course, there is no similar limiting language in Section 7.

6S The Secretary apparently believes, Br. at 6, that agency actions

affecting the high seas create less potential for conflict with foreign

governments than actions affecting foreign territory. This propo-

sition is counter-intuitive-—actions that affect the high seas affect

each of the scores of nations that use the high seas—and, as demon-

strated above, is irrelevant to the question of whether applying

Section 7 te the high seas is “extraterritorial.”

6° This Court declined to defer to an agency position concerning

extraterritoriality in Aramco, 111 S. Ct. at 1235, because, like the

Secretary’s here, it was neither consistent nor well-reasoned. In

1ramco, the Court deferred instead to the agency interpretation

most nearly contemporaneous with the enactment of the statute,

which held that it did not apply abroad. Here, the Secretary’s

contemporaneous interpretation was that Section 7 does apply

abroad, and only years later did he change that interpretation

without any claimed basis for the change in his experience apply-

ing the statute).

1.JNALD J. GREE?

LESTER NURICK

W. HARDY CALLCOT?

Marc R. COHEN

KENNETH P. STERN

IAMES LEE BUCK II

REBECCA ARBOGAST

WILMER, CUTLER & PICKERI?

M Street. N.W

ungton, D.(

>

(207) 663-6000

in

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.