Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Estelle v. McGuire

Supreme Court brief1991

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

EDITOR'S NOTE

THE FOLLOWING PAGES WERE POOR HARD COPY

AT THE TIME OF FILMING. IF AND WHEN A

BETTER COPY CAN BE OBTAINED, A NEW FICH

WILL BE ISSUED.

IN THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE

UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

WAYNE ESTELLE, WARDEN

Petitioner,

V.

MARK OWEN McGUIRE

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

JOHN K. VAN DE KAMP

A General

CHARD B. IGLEHART

ief Assistant rney General

OHN H. SUGIYAMA

Senior Assistant Attorney General

MORRIS BEATUS

Supervising Deputy Attorney General

DANE R. GILLETTE

Deputy Attorney General

[Attorney of Record]

455 Golden Gate Ave., Room 6200

San Francisco, California 94102

Telephone: (415) 557-1475

Attorneys for Petitioner

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the Ninth Circuit improperly expanded

its habeas corpus jurisdiction and found a due process

violation by interpreting state law and reversing an

evidentiary ruling which the state courts held to be correct

as a matter of state law.

OPINIONS BELOW

JURISDICTION

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED

STATEMENT

A. Factual Background

B. Procedural History

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

CONCLUSION

é

oo sn Be BY NN NY WS

18

Cases

Blair v. Mi

881 F.2d 602 (9th Cir. 1989)

™ 1 lias

pe, tie .

T10 S.Ct. 1441 (1990)

Cupp v. Naughten

414 U.S. 141 (1973)

—_ We

110 S.Ct. 668 (1990)

Engle v. Isaac

456 U.S. 107 (1982)

Harris v. Reed

489 U.S. 255 (1989)

Henderson v. Kibbe

431 U.S. 145 (1977)

Huddleston v. United States

485 U.S. 681 (1988)

Landeros v. Flood

17 Cal.3d 399

131 Cal.Rptr. 69 (1976)

Lewis v. Jeffers

_—_ we

110 S.Ct. 3092 (1990)

11

11, 13

15

13, 14

14

11

14

13, 14

12

11, 13

TIO S.Ct. 3157 (1990)

McGuire v. Estelle

873 F.2d 1323 (9th Cir. 1989)

McGuire v. Estelle

902 F.2d 749 (9th Cir. 1990)

Milton v. Wainwright

407 US. 371 (1972)

Mons v.

461 U.S. 1 (1983)

New York v. Ferber

458 US. 747 (1982)

People v. Jackson

18 Cal.App.3d 504

95 Cal.Rptr. 919 (1971)

People v. Steger

16 Cal.3d 539

128 Cal.Rptr. 161 (1976)

TiO S.Ct. 2822 (1990)

Smith v. Phillips

455 U.S. 209 (1982)

Teague v. Lane

489 U.S. 288 (1989)

9, 12

12

11

13, 14

11

iv.

Table of Authorities, cont’d

United States v. Augenblick

393 U.S. 348 (1969)

United States v. Boise

916 F.2d 497 (9th Cir. 1990)

United States v. Bowers

660 F.2d 527 (Sth Cir. Unit B 1981)

United States v. Hadley

___ F.2d ___ (9th Cir. 1990)

United States v. Harris

661 F.2d 138 (10th Cir. 1981)

United States v. Leight

818 F.2d 1297 (7th Cir. 1987)

United States v. Woods

484 F.2d 127 (4th Cir. 1973)

Wainwright v. Goode

464 U.S. 78 (1983)

Constitutional Provisions

United States Constitution

Fourteenth Amendment

Page

13

10, 14, 16

16

13

16

9, 17

16

11

14

Statutes

28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1)

§ 2101(c)

§ 2254

California Penal Code

§ 187

Other Authorities

Federal Rules of Evidence

rule 401

rule 404

Supreme Court Rules

rule 13.1

rule 13.4

Chicago Tribune

(May 20, 1990) p. 1

Los Angeles Times (November 14, 1990)

p. 1A, column 2

The National Center on Child Abuse

Prevention Research

Current Trends in Child Abuse Reporting and

Fatalities: The Results of the 1989 Annual Fifty

State Survey

p. 14 (March 1990)

2, 10

8, 13

16

16

16

No.

IN THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE

UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

WAYNE ESTELLE, WARDEN

Petitioner,

v.

MARK OWEN McGUIRE

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

The petitioner respectfully prays that a writ of

certiorari issue to review the judgment of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, filed May 4,

1990.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit is reported at 902 F.2d 749

(1990). A copy of the opinion is attached to this petition

as Appendix A. An earlier opinion, reported at 873 F.2d

1323 (1989), was filed on May 8, 1989, and withdrawn on

2.

Aprii 23, 1990. A copy of that opinion is attached as

Appendix B. The order of the District Court denying the

petition for writ of habeas corpus was not reported. It

appears at Appendix C.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit was entered on May 4, 1990. Rehearing and

rehearing en banc were denied, with two circuit judges

dissenting, on November 23, 1990. That order, along with

the dissenting opinion, is attached as Appendix D. This

petition for writ of certiorari follows within 90 days.

28 U.S.C. § 2101(c); Supreme Court Rules 13.1, 13.4.

This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED

Title 28, section 2254 provides in pertinent part:

"(a) The Supreme Court, a Justice thereof, a circuit

judge, or a district court shall entertain an application for

a writ of habeas corpus in behalf of a person in custody

pursuant to the judgment of a State court only on the

ground that he is in custody in violation of the

Constitution or laws or treaties of the United States."

STATEMENT

A. Factual Background

Respondent, Mark McGuire, was convicted in

Alameda County Superior Court on one count of second

degree murder, a violation of California Penal Code

section 187. He was sentenced on May 12, 1982, to state

prison for the statutory term of fifteen years to life.

Respondent and his wife, Daisy, brought Tori

Aurora McGuire, their six-month old child, to the

emergency room on July 7, 1981. She was bluish in color,

not breathing, and had bruises on her body. Respondent

told the emergency room nurse that Tori had recently had

a cold and had hit her head that morning falling off a

couch.

While the doctors were treating Tori, Daisy and

respondent waited near the emergency room screening

area. Daisy asked him what had happened. Respondent

replied that he was upstairs and "guessed" that Tori had

fallen off the couch. Daisy continued to ask what had

really happened, but received the same answer. She

reminded respondent that Tori was all right when Daisy

left the house and insisted that he was responsible for the

child’s situation. This conversation was overheard by

another woman in the waiting room who testified at the

trial.

When Tori reached the emergency room she was

lifeless. She had a large recent bruise on her upper left

chest with multiple bruises around it. She also had marks

on her ears and scar tissue indicative of a tearing wound

4.

~ to the rectum. The child died about forty-five minutes

after arriving at the hospital.

An autopsy revealed at least seventeen contusions

on Tori’s chest and twenty-nine more to her abdominal

area. They were fresh and indicated a blow from a hand.

A number of internal organs were lacerated or torn. Only

the application of a great deal of blunt force could have

caused the injuries. An x-ray examination revealed several

partially healed rib fractures.

The emergency room physician who treated Tori

and the pathologist both concluded that she was a

battered child. They agreed a fall from a couch could

have caused none of her injuries, even if she struck an

object in the process.

The police investigated these unexplained injuries.

During a brief interview at the hospital, respondent said

that he put Tori on the couch and then went upstairs. He

heard her crying and when he came back, found Tori lying

on the floor. He thought that she might have fallen and

struck the walker.

An officer later accompanied respondent and

Daisy to their apartment. The officer had seen the

bruises on the victim and noted that it was a sixteen inch

drop from the couch to the carpeted floor. When he

commented that he did not think Tori’s injuries were

consistent with a fall from the couch, respondent suggested

that "maybe some Mexicans came ip" while he was

upstairs.

In a taped statement made at the police station

the next afternoon, respondent admitted that only he and

Daisy had custody of the child on the day she died. He

claimed Tori was sick, but denied that she had any trouble

5.

breathing. Daisy left to make a telephone call about

9:00 p.m. McGuire put Tori on the couch and went

upstairs. He heard the baby crying and found her lying

on the floor. Respondent took Tori upstairs and put her

in bed. When Daisy returned she noticed that Tori was

pale and having trouble breathing. Respondent thought

her stomach was hurting so they took Tori to the hospital.

Respondent denied hitting the child.

Daisy McGuire was granted immunity from

prosecution. She testified that she hit Tori during the day

while respondent was out; she was mad because the baby

had cried all day. In her statement to the police,

however, Daisy denied striking the child and offered no

such testimony at the preliminary examination. Her

testimony about when she injured Tori was inconsistent

with the medical evidence and the time of death.

Since his arrest Daisy had spoken with respondent

a number of times about Tori’s death. She had discussed

her earlier statement with the public defender who

represented her husband, but refused to meet with the

district attorney unless her own lawyer was present.

Another resident of the McGuires’ apartment

complex once saw respondent holding Daisy against the

wall with his knee in her stomach and choking her as she

tried to escape. On another occasion Daisy told the

woman that respondent had hit her across the face. The

woman also saw respondent feeding Tori. He roughly

pinched the baby’s cheeks and forced food into her

mouth; marks appeared on Tori’s face. Daisy told the

woman that she was afraid to leave Tori with respondent

because he "pinched her cheeks and did bad things." That

6.

same day the woman saw marks on Tori’s thighs, buttocks,

and face.

A few days before the killing, Daisy and Tori

stayed with some friends on Treasure Island. She spoke

about going to a battered women’s shelter and expressed

concern that respondent might obtain custody of their

child in a divorce action. She complained about

respondent’s treatment of Tori.

In its instructions to the jury, the trial court

limited consideration of the other assaultive behavior and

of Tori’s earlier injuries as follows:

Evidence has been introduced for

the purpose of showing that the

Defendant committed acts similar to those

constituting a crime other than that for

which he is on trial. Such evidence if

believed, was not received, and may not

be considered by you to prove that he is

a person of bad character or that he has

a disposition to commit crimes. Such

evidence was received and may be

considered by you only for the limited

purpose of determining if it tends to show

three things:

1. The impeachment of Daisy

McGuire’s testimony that she had no

cause to be afraid of the Defendant,

2. To establish the battered child

syndrome, and

3. Also a clear connection

between the other two offense{s] and the

one of which the Defendant is accused, so

7.

that it may be logically concluded that if

the Defendant committed other offenses,

he also committed the crime charged in

this case.

B. Procedural History

Respondent’s conviction for second degree murder

was affirmed by the California Court of Appeal on

January 15, 1985. A copy of the opinion is attached as

Appendix E. The California Supreme Court denied

hearing on March 21, 1985.

Respondent’s second petition for writ of habeas

corpus was filed in the United States District Court for

the Northern District of California on August 30, 1985.4/

The district court denied the petition in an unpublished,

written opinion filed on July 15, 1987. It found that the

evidence of Tori’s prior injuries was properly admitted

under state law, and that no federal constitutional rights

were violated by the evidence or the instructions in

respondent’s trial. See, Appendix C, at A-31 to A-36.

The district court granted a certificate of probable cause

to appeal on August 10, 1987.

The Ninth Circuit’s first opinion was filed on

May 8, 1989. McGuire v. Estelle, 873 F.2d 1323 (9th Cir.

1989). The court found that admission of evidence about

Tori’s prior injuries and the diagnosis of battered child

syndrome was improper because it was not relevant to any

1. An earlier, otherwise identical petition, was denied without

prejudice on April 24, 1985, for failure to allege that state remedies

had been exhausted.

8.

disputed issue in the case. The prejudice to respondent

was, according to the Ninth Circuit, exacerbated by the

limiting instruction on the jury’s consideration of that

evidence. The court also criticized the state’s grant of

immunity to Daisy McGuire and suggested that the local

authorities consider whether she fraudulently negotiated

the immunity and if so whether it should be withdrawn.

The Ninth Circuit vacated its first opinion on

April 23, 1990, and filed a second opinion on May 4,

1990. McGuire v. Estelle, 902 F.2d 749 (9th Cir. 1990).

The court again found that it was error to admit the prior

injury evidence, relying in part on Federal Rules of

Evidence 401 and 404. In its view, the evidence of Tori’s

injuries and the diagnosis of battered child syndrome were

admitted in violation of state law and were irrelevant

under the federal rules. The court also found that the

limiting instruction allowed the jury to consider the other

injuries as evidence of guilt, a use it found to be improper

under the Federal Rules of Evidence. Although it no

longer questioned the grant of immunity, the court

concluded that "only the barest threads connect McGuire

to the crime." 902 F.2d at 755. According to the Ninth

Circuit, the evidence in the case established “mere

shadows of guilt which leave ample room for reasonable

doubt." IJd., at 756.

Rehearing and rehearing en banc were denied,

but two circuit judges dissented from denial of en banc

consideration. In their opinion, the panel improperly

second-guessed the state courts’ interpretation of state law

and reversed without adequate demonstration of a federal

constitutional violation. The judges also concluded that

the panel’s harmless error analysis was incomplete and

9.

inadequate, and found the prosecution’s case was "very

strong indeed." Appendix D, at A-55. Finally, the dissent

expressed concern that the decision could have a

substantial, negative effect on the abililty of state officials

to prosecute in cases of child abuse homicide.

Appendix D (Kozinski, J. and Trott, J., dissenting).

This Court has repeatedly reminded lower federal

courts of the limited nature of review over state court

judgments in habeas corpus actions. The Ninth Circuit’s

decision in this case reflects precisely the opposite view by

ignoring the state’s interpretation of its own law and

relying upon the Federal Rules of Evidence as a basis for

reversing a state conviction.

In its opinion affirming respondent’s murder

conviction, the California Court of Appeal noted that

evidence of prior injuires has long been admissible under

state law to support a diagnosis of battered child

syndrome, which indicates simply that the child did not

suffer her injuries by accidental means. See Appendix E,

at A-64 to A-66. People v. Jackson, 18 Cal.App.3d 504,

507, 95 Cal.Rptr. 919, 921 (1971). Child abuse

prosecutions “pose unique problems of proof" and are

“commonly built upon circumstantial evidence showing a

pattern of repeated injuries suggesting child abuse."

United States v. Leight, 818 F.2d 1297, 1300-1301 (7th Cir.

1987). As a result, such cases demand "an even wider

discretion than usual in admitting what is conceded to be

extremely prejudicial evidence." /d., at 1304. The Ninth

Circuit itself recently acknowledged the importance of

10.

battered child evidence in affirming a second degree

murder conviction under federal law. United States v.

Boise, 916 F.2d 497 (9th Cir. 1990).

Despite the admissibility of evidence about Tori’s

prior injuries under state law, and the acceptance of such

evidence in federal prosecutions, the Ninth Circuit

concluded that the evidence was improper in respondent's

state court murder trial because respondent was not

expressly connected to the infliction of those injuries. It

thus concluded that the evidence was admitted “for no

other purpose" than to demonstrate that respondent was

a child abuser. The court also found that admission of

the evidence was improper under state law because

accidental death was not an issue in the case. 902 F.2d

at 754. Having determined that the evidence was

irrelevant, the Ninth Circuit then reviewed the instruction

limiting its use by the jury. It held, apparently as a

matter of constitutional law, that the instruction incorrectly

informed the jury that it could "find McGuire guilty of the

offense charged if it logically concluded that he committed

the other earlier offenses." Jd., at 755. In doing s>, ihe

Ninth Circuit expanded the grounds for federal habeas

corpus review by transforming a state’s interpretation of

its own rules of evidence into a means of federal review

of a presumptively valid state judgment.

The Ninth Circuit’s decision is at odds with the

purpose of 28 U.S.C. § 2254. "The writ of habeas corpus

has limited scope; the federal courts do not sit to re-try

state cases de novo but, rather, to review for violation of

federal constitutional standards." Milton v. Wainwright,

407 U.S. 371, 377 (1972). “It is axiomatic that federal

courts may intervene in the state judicial process only to

11.

correct wrongs of a constitutional dimension."

Wainwright v. Goode, 464 U.S. 78, 83 (1983). The Court

has emphasized that the scope of habeas corpus is limited

by “interests of comity and finality." Teague v. Lane,

489 U.S. 288, 308 (1989); see also, Harris v. Reed, 489 U.S.

255 (1989).

Last term the Court reaffirmed that “federal

habeas corpus relief does not lie for errors of state law."

The federal court must respect a state court’s findings of

fact and application of its own law, rather than engage in

de novo review. Lewis v. Jeffers, US. __, 110 S.Ct.

3092, 3102 (1990). It may not “peer majestically over the

[state] court’s shoulder” in order to second-guess the

state’s interpretation of the facts. Jd. "State courts are

coequal parts of our national judicial system and give

serious attention to their responsibilities for enforcing the

commands of the Constitution." Sawyer v. Smith, _ US.

__, 110 S.Ct. 2822, 2831 (1990). Thus, a federal court

has no basis for disputing the state’s interpretation of its

own law. Clemons v. Mississippi, __ U.S. __, 110 S.Ct.

1441, 1447 (1990). Unfortunately, in "its haste to create

a novel" due process right, Morris v. Slappy, 461 U.S. 1, 16

(1983), the Ninth Circuit disregarded these limitations and

once again improperly expanded the basis for habeas

corpus relief by finding that admission of evidence about

prior injuries suffered by the victim violated state law.2/

epee ee Em Ge Sun Gam enna @ aaite

the Ninth Circuit had unduly expanded its habeas corpus

jurisdiction by finding a violation of state law

defendant. Blair v. McCarthy, 881 F.2d 602 (9th Cir. 1989),

granted, __-—s«OuXU' SS. ___,, 111 S.Ct. 39 (1990), vacated as moot

remanded, _ U.S. ___, 59 U.S.L.W. 3339 (November 5, 1990).

12.

The evidence of Tori’s prior injuries was admitted

under well-established state law permitting such evidence.

See, eg., Landeros v. Flood, 17 Cal.3d 399, 409,

131 Cal. Rptr. 69, 73 (1976); People v. Steger, 16 Cal.3d

539, 549, n. 4, 128 Cal.Rptr. 161, 164, n. 4 (1976);

People v. Jackson, supra; see also, opinion of the California

Court of Appeal, Appendix E, at A-64 to A-66. The

Ninth Circuit, relying on the same cases cited by the state

court, nevertheless found that the battered child evidence

was only admissible in California to prove that the injuries

did not occur by accident. Because, according to the

court, respondent did not claim that Tori’s death was

accidental, the evidence of prior injuries was irrelevant

and incorrectly admitted. 902 F.2d at 754. Apart from

the imappropriateness of correcting state courts on

questions of the admissibility of evidence under state law,

the holding has serious implications for prosecutors

throughout the Ninth Circuit.

If the Ninth Circuit’s opinion is allowed to stand,

whenever a defendant has not specifically contested an

element of the offense, admitting evidence which is

relevant only to that element could result in reversal on

federal habeas corpus. On the other hand, failure to

introduce the evidence could result in a directed verdict of

acquittal. It is, as the dissent from denial of rehearing en

banc notes, an insoluable “Catch-22" for the proseuctor.

See, Appendix D, A-50 to A-52. The creation of this

dilemma is particularly inappropriate since federal courts

concerns about inappropriate reliance upon state law as a basis for

granting federal habeas corpus relief which were at issue in Blam are

just as clearly presented by this case.

13.

have “no supervisory authority over state judicial

proceedings." Smith v. Phillips, 455 U.S. 209, 221 (1982).

The Ninth Circuit has improperly expanded its federal

habeas corpus jurisdiction thgpugh the expedient of

reinterpreting state law. It has, in effect, reconstituted

itself as a state appellate court. This, as the Court

expressly held in Lewis and Clemons, it may not do.

The Ninth Circuit justifies its evaluation of state

law by relying in part on the Federal Rules of Evidence.

See, Appendix D, at A-49, n. 2. Those rules are not

constitutionally based. Dowling v. United States, __ US.

__, 110 S.Ct. 668, 674 (1990). As such, violation of the

rules alone cannot constitute a federal constitutional

violation, nor can the rules circumscribe a state’s

interpretation of its own rules of evidence. The Court has

"defined the category of infractions that violate

‘fundamental fairness’ very narrowly." Dowling, supra.

"Rules of evidence are designed in the interest of fair

trials. But unfairness in result is no sure measure of

unconstitutionality.". United States v. Augenblick, 393 US.

348, 352 (1969). Moreover, the rules generally do not

prohibit the introduction of evidence, but rather limit the

purpose for which it may be used. Huddleston v. United

States, 485 U.S. 681, 687 (1988)2/ When it enacted the

rules, Congress was less concerned with the potential

prejudicial effect of other crimes evidence “as it was with

ensuring that restrictions would not be placed on the

14.

admission of such evidence." Huddleston, supra, at 688-

689. The erroneous admission of evidence which results

in a conviction is not sufficient to support a finding of

federal constitutional error even on direct review of a

federal conviction. Dowling, supra.

This case, however, does not involve a direct

appeal from a federal conviction. It is a collateral attack

on a state court judgment. The showing required to

justify a reveisal on habeas corpus from a state conviction

is even greater than the plain error requirement on direct

appeal. Engle v. Isaac, 456 U.S. 107, 134-135 (1982);

Henderson v. Kibbe, 431 U.S. 145, 154 (1977).

In addition, the Ninth Circuit has specifically

allowed federal prosecutors to use precisely the same

evidence of prior injuries and battered child syndrome

found to be constitutionally prohibited in respondent’s

state trial, to support a second degree murder conviction

under federal law. United States v. Boise, supra, 916 F.2d

497. The Ninth Circuit lacks justification for authorizing

such evidence in federal prosecutions, while excluding the

same evidence from identical state court proceedings,

particularly given the absence of any supervisory authority

over the state proceedings. Smith v. Phillips, supra.

The Ninth Circuit’s holding that a limiting

instruction on the use of other crimes evidence was

prejudicial is equally erroneous. A jury instruction must

itself infect the entire trial in order to establish a violation

of due process. Henderson v. Kibbe, supra, 431 US. at

154. It is not enough to show that the instruction was

undesirable, erroneous, or condemned; it must violate

some due process right protected by the Fourteenth

_—s

15.

Amendment. Cupp v. Naughten, 414 U.S. 141, 146 (1973).

The state trial record does not support such a showing.

The instruction allowed the jury to consider

evidence of prior similar acts to impeach the testimony of

respondent’s wife, to establish the battered child

syndrome, and to find that respondent committed the

present offense if it could logically be concluded that he

committed the other offenses. The Ninth Circuit

concluded, again in reliance on the Federal Rules of

Evidence, that the evidence of prior injury to the victim

was not explicitly connected to respondent and therefore

could not be used to permit an inference of guilt in this

case. This precise objection was rejected by the state trial

court, which noted that if the jury found from the

evidence of prior injuries that the victim was a battered

child, it could then conclude that her death was not

accidental. Once it made that finding, the jury could

consider respondent’s contrary assertions to his wife and

to the police that the death was accidental to be lies

indicating a consciousness of guilt, and further infer that

respondent murdered his baby. Similarly, a finding by the

jury that respondent hit his wife and baby as described in

the testimony, coupled with his lies about the cause of

Tori’s fatal injuries, would properly support a finding of

guilt.

This use of the evidence was proper under state

law and nothing in the Ninth Circuit’s opinion suggests a

constitutional basis for challenging the instruction. Indeed,

the federal courts have recognized, in prosecutions for

child abuse homicides under federal] law, that proof of

prior injuries demonstrating the death was not accidental,

coupled with the defendant’s custody of the child when

16.

the fata] blows were inflicted, will support a conviction for

murder. See, e.g., United States v. Boise, supra, 916 F.2d

at 500; United States v. Harris, 661 F.2d 138, 141 (10th

Cir. 1981); United States v. Bowers, 660 F.2d 527, 529 (Sth

Cir. Unit B 1981); United States v. Woods, 484 F.2d 127,

133 (4th Cir. 1973) 4/

"Tori McGuire’s short life was the type of horror

no sentient being should have to endure." Appendix D,

at A-46. Unfortunately, cases like this and deaths such as

Tori suffered are much too common. A recent survey

shows that 1,237 child abuse fatalities were reported

nationwide in 1989. The National Center on Child Abuse

Prevention Research, Current Trends in Child Abuse

Reporting and Fatalities: The Results of the 1989 Annual

Fifty State Survey, p. 14 (March 1990). The number of

reported child abuse homicides has increased by 38%

since 1985. Jd., at 15. Children died at the rate of one

murder by a parent or guardian per week in Los Angles

County in 1989. Los Angeles Times (November 14, 1990)

at page 1A, column 2. In Chicago, 41 children under the

age of 10 died in reported homicides last year. Of those

victims, 32 were, like Tori McGuire, one year old or

younger. Chicago Tribune (May 20, 1990) at page 1.

4. As noted, the evidence of prior injuries was admitted on three

grounds. Although the Ninth Circuit, albeit incorrectly, found one

basis to be improper, it completely ignored the other two. If the

evidence would have been admitted anyway, a showing of

constitutional error, much less prejudice, becomes substantially more

difficult. The state court found that the evidence was proper to prove

the battered child syndrome and to rebut a claim of accident. As a

result, the state court did not have to consider the other grounds of

admission. The federal court’s refusal to do so, however, is unexcused

and unexplained. See, Appendix D, at A-54 to A-55.

a ee Ae ee eae

17.

Child abuse cases "present many unusual

problems of proof." United States v. Leight, supra,

818 F.2d at 1304. There are usually no witnesses, often

the victim is dead, and even if the victim survives she may

be too young to describe what happened. As a result, the

cases are "commonly built upon circumstantial evidence

showing a pattern of repeated injuries suggesting child

abuse." id, at 1301. Absent a clear violation of a federal

constitutional right, no justification exists for removing

from state prosecutors their most effective, and sometimes

only, weapon for convicting the abusers. The Ninth

Circuit, however, has done precisely that. As persuasively

argued in the dissent from denial of rehearing en banc,

the decision places in jeopardy any Ninth Circuit state

court prosecution for a child abuse homicide in which

evidence of prior injuries is admitted. Appendix D.

In Maryland v. Craig, _ U.S. _, 110 S.Ct. 3157

(1990), the Court recognized the states’ "interest in the

physical and psychological well-being of child abuse

victims." 110 S.Ct. at 3167; see also New York v. Ferber,

458 U.S. 747, 757 (1982) [the courts will attempt to

protect the physical and emotional well-being of children].

The Ninth Circuit’s improper, expansive view of its habeas

corpus jurisdiction ignored that interest. Certiorari should

be granted to restore to the states their ability to

effectively prosecute and punish those who prey upon the

most defenseless members of our society.

/// |

Ml

///

///

///

18.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, we respectfully

request that the Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

Ninth Circuit be granted.

Dated: December 13, 1990.

DRG:dm

JOHN K. VAN DE KAMP

Attorney General

RICHARD B. IGLEHART

Chief Assistant Attorney General

JOHN H. SUGIYAMA

Senior Assistant Attorney General

MORRIS BEATUS

_— Deputy Attorney General

Vt

DANE R. GILLETTE

Deputy Attorney General

[Attorney of Record]

Attorneys for Petitioner

APPENDICES

EE EEE EE

APPENDIX A

FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

MARK OWEN McGUIRE, _s)

Plaintiff-Appellant, ) No. 87-2522

)

v. ) D.C. No.

) CV-85-6521-TEH

WAYNE ESTELLE, )

Warden, ) OPINION

Defendant-Appellee. )

)

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of California

Thelton E. Henderson, District Judge, Presiding

Argued and Submitted June 14, 1988

San Francisco, California

Opinion filed May 8, 1989 and withdrawn April 23, 1990

Filed May 4, 1990

__ Before: Mary M. Schroeder and Charles Wiggins, Circuit

Judges, and Albert Lee Stephens, Jr’, District Judge.

Opinion by Judge Wiggins

*. Hon. Albert Lee Stephens, Jr., United States District Judge for

the Central District of California, sitting by designation.

A-1

COUNSEL

Ann Hardgrove Vorhis, San Francisco, California,

for the plaintiff-appellant.

Herbert F. Wilkinson, Supervising Deputy

Attorney General, San Francisco, California, for the

defendant-appellee.

OPINION

WIGGINS, Circuit Judge:

Mark McGuire ("McGuire") appeals from the

district court’s denial of his petition for a writ of habeas

corpus under 28 U.S.C. § 2254(a). McGuire was

convicted of second degree murder and is now serving a

fifteen year to life sentence in a California state prison.

McGuire contends that the admission of evidence of prior

acts against him at his trial, coupled with an instruction

that permitted the jury to consider those prior acts as

evidence of his guilt of the crime charged, were errors

that denied him due process of law under the Fourteenth

Amendment. We find that his contention has merit and

REVERSE.

A-2

FACTS AND PROCEEDINGS BELOW

Because a proper consideration of McGuire’s due

process claim requires weighing the prejudice to him of

the error he alleges, we examine the trial testimony in

some detail.

At about 9:00 p.m., on July 7, 1981, McGuire and

his wife brought their six month old baby girl to the

emergency room of a hospital in Hayward, California.

The baby was bluish in color and was not breathing. The

hospital staff were unable to save the baby and she was

pronounced dead at about 9:45 p.m.

The father, McGuire, was charged with second

degree murder of his child.

At trial, the prosecution called Dr. Levine, the

doctor who examined the baby at the hospital. She

testified that the child was essentially lifeless and without

vital signs when she was brought into the hospital. The

doctor also testified that the baby had a large and

relatively recent bruise on the upper left chest area with

multiple bruise marks around it, black and blue marks on

her ears, and scar tissue indicating a healed tearing

around the anus. Doctor Levine opined that the rectal

tear was not caused by constipation or fecal impactment.

She testified that such scarring probably resulted from the

forceful insertion of a finger or some other foreign object.

The doctor also testified that the baby had suffered from

seven earlier rib fractures.

A different doctor performed an autopsy on the

baby and testified that there were at least 17 contusions

on the baby’s chest and 29 more on her abdomen. He

testified that his examination of the internal organs

A-3

revealed that the liver was split in half, her pancreas was

lacerated and split apart, her lower right lung and large

vein from the heart were damaged, and part of her

intestine was lacerated. The doctor also testified to rectal

tearing at least six weeks old and to evidence of several

partially healed rib fractures approximately seven weeks

old.

McGuire made timely objection to all evidence of

prior injuries as not being connected to him. The

objections were overruled.

None of the foregoing evidence of injury to. the

child included evidence of who caused the injuries to her.

The prosecution also called a witness who had

overheard McGuire talking to his wife in the emergency

room of the hospital. The witness stated that McGuire’s

wife asked him "what really had happened?" and McGuire

is reported to have responded that the baby had fallen

from the couch.

A police officer was called by the prosecution.

He testified that McGuire had told him that the child had

fallen from the couch. The officer than told McGuire

that the baby’s injuries were inconsistent with a fall from

the couch. McGuire thereupon responded that “maybe

some Mexicans came in while I was upstairs."

McGuire’s wife was next called as a witness by

the prosecution. She was granted transactional immunity

for her testimony although she had made no statement to

the prosecutor prior to the trial. When asked about the

circumstances of the baby’s death, she testified that she,

and not her husband, had beaten the baby. She gave a

confused account of having struck the baby in the

A-4

afternoon of July 7, 1981 and that the child did not move,

cry, Or cough thereafter. |

McGuire’s wife testified that on the afternoon of

the 7th, after she struck the child, she left the house for

about ten minutes and when she returned, the child was

not breathing. She stated that she asked her husband

what had happened and he said the child had fallen from

the couch and struck the walker. She also testified that

several weeks prior to the baby’s death, she inserted her

finger into the baby’s rectum in an attempt to relieve her

of constipation. She also testified to staying at a

neighbor’s house for four days prior to the 7th and had

made inquiries about a battered woman’s shelter.

The prosecution introduced evidence that a fall

from a couch could not have produced the injuries causing

the baby’s death. The prosecution also introduced

evidence that McGuire had treated the baby roughly in

the past.

The defense countered with witnesses who

testified they had never seen McGuire abuse the child.

McGuire did not testify in his own defense.

On March 19, 1982, the jury returned a verdict of

second degree murder against McGuire. On January 15,

1985, the California Court of Appeal affirmed his

conviction. McGuire petitioned for a hearing before the

California Supreme Court. On March 21, 1985, the

California Supreme Court issued a "postcard denial" of the

petition. It did so without any citation or comment.

On August 30, 1985, McGuire filed a petition for

writ of habeas corpus in federal district court under

28 U.S.C. § 2254(a). Order to show cause issued on

February 26, 1986. In its original response, the state of

A-5

California did not answer on the merits but argued that

McGuire had failed to exhaust his state remedies. The

district court, relying on Maxwell v. Sumner, 673 F.2d 1031,

1034 n.1 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 976 (1982), ruled

against the state on the exhaustion issue and ordered it to

answer on the merits. After the state did so, the district

court denied McGuire’s petition on July 15, 1987. It held

that the admission of the evidence of the prior injuries to

the child, and a jury instruction relating to that evidence,

was proper under California evidence rules. The court

also found that the evidence was relevant to contradict a

pretrial statement made by McGuire, and offered at trial

by the prosecution, that the baby’s injuries were caused by

her falling off a couch. The court also rejected McGuire’s

fifth amendment prosecutorial misconduct and denial of

discovery claims. McGuire timely appealed. We have —

jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1291.

I. EXHAUSTION

28 U.S.C. § 2254(b) states: "An application for a

writ of habeas corpus in behalf of a person in custody

pursuant to the judgment of a State court shall not be

granted unless it appears that the applicant has exhausted

the remedies available in the courts of the State... ."_ On

direct appeal to the California appellate court, McGuire

raised four issues: (1) admission of evidence of prior

injuries to the baby and an errant "other crimes"

instruction, (2) a fifth amendment claim that the original

trial court erroneously admitted evidence of a statement

made to the police that "some Mexicans" might have come

into his home and presumably injured the baby, (3) a

A-6

second fifth amendment claim relating to statements he

made to the police without Miranda warnings the day

before he was arrested, and (4) a prosecutorial misconduct

claim. In his petition to the California Supreme Court,

McGuire raised only the issues of the evidence of prior

injuries and the “Mexican intruder” statement. The

California Supreme Court denied his petition without a

hearing, comment, or citation. In his petition for habeas

corpus, however, McGuire raised all four claims that he

had previously raised before the California appellate court.

A petition containing both exhausted and

unexhausted claims must be dismissed by the federal

courts. Rose v. Lundy, 455 U.S. 509, 510 (1982).

Although McGuire presented only two of his four issues

to the California Supreme Court, he has properly

exhausted his state remedies. In Maxwell, we stated that:

[If a claim has been briefed and argued

before the [California] court of appeal,

failure to assert it in the petition to the

California Supreme Court does not

normally waive the claim . . . [W]hen the

California Supreme Court grants a

hearing, its order effectively vacates the

order of the court of appeal; the

California Supreme Court then decides

each issue in the case as if it were on

original appeal from the trial court,

"regardless of the grounds relied on in the

petition."

A-7

Maxwell, 673 F.2d at 1034 n.1 (citations omitted)4/ Thus

we may reach the merits of McGuire’s claims.

Il. THE CONSTITUTIONALITY OF APPELLANT'S

CONVICTION

We review the district court’s denial of 4 petition

for a writ of habeas corpus de novo. Weygandt v.

Ducharme, 774 F.2d 1491, 1492 (9th Cir. 1985). A state

prisoner is entitled to habeas relief only if he is held in

violation of the constitution, laws, or treaties of the

United States. Engle v. Isaac, 456 U.S. 107, 119 (1982);

28 U.S.C. § 2254(a). McGuire contends that the

procedures used to convict him in state court violated his

fourteenth amendment right to due process. U.S. Const.

Amend. XIV. We agree.

A claim for deprivation of due process will

succeed only if the trial court’s errors rendered the trial

arbitrary or fundamentally unfair. Pennywell v. Rushen,

705 F.2d 355, 357 (9th Cir. 1983). In the instant case we

find that the aggregate effect of the admittance of

irrelevant, highly prejudicial evidence, compounded by the

trial court’s instruction to use that evidence in the most

1. The Maxwell “rule” will no longer be effective for petitions

presented to the California Supreme Court after March 6, 1985. On

that date new California Supreme Court appellate rules came into

effect. Presently, the California rules provide that "[ojnly the issues

set forth in the petition and answer or fairly included in them need

be considered by the court." Cal. Rules Sup. Ct. & Cts. of Appeal

28(€)(2) and Advisory Committee Comment, 1 4. The present case,

however, is governed by Maxwell. The appellant filed his petition for

hearing on February 26, 1985, before the effective date of the new

California rules.

A-8

Ss enon ee

prejudicial manner possible, rendered appellant’s trial

arbitrary and fundamentally unfair.

A. THE ADMITTANCE OF IRRELEVANT,

PREJUDICIAL EVIDENCE

The trial court admitted extensive evidence of

prior physical abuse the baby had suffered, including

evidence of possible sexual abuse. However, that

evidence has no relevance to appellant because the

prosecution did not establish that appellant inflicted those

injuries.

In order for evidence to be relevant, it must have

some probative value. See, e.g., Fed.R.Evid. 401 (evidence

to be relevant must make the determination of the action

more probable or less probable than it would be without

the evidence). Evidence cannot have probative value

unless a party connects it to the defendant in some

meaningful way. See, eg., United States v. Hooten,

662 F.2d 628, 635 (9th Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 455 US.

1004 (1982) (in order for prior act evidence to be

admissible under the Fed.R.Evid. it must be "similar and

close enough in time to be relevant"); People v. Rivera,

41 Cal.3d 388, 392, 710 P.2d 362, 364, 221 Cal.Rptr. 562,

564 (1985) (in bank) ("In order for evidence of a prior

[act] to have a tendency to prove the defendant’s identity

as the perpetrator of the charged offense, the [prior act

and the charged offense] must have enough shared

characteristics to raise a strong inference that they were

committed by the same person. ... It is not enough that

the two acts contain common marks.").

A-9

In the instant case, the prosecution made no such

connection. The prosecution elicited evidence that

McGuire was rough with the baby, and that on one

occasion McGuire had squeezed the baby’s cheeks. Daisy

McGuire also stated that she feared leaving the baby

alone with McGuire. We recognize the temptation to find

that such evidence is enough to infer that McGuire caused

the prior rectal tearing and the broken ribs. However, we

cannot permit a jury that temptation. Evidence of

McGuire’s petty meanness does not establish that he

committed, or is even capable of, the extensive physical

abuse inflicted on the child. It is precisely because

anyone, including Daisy McGuire, could have inflicted

those injuries that makes the prior injury evidence

irrelevant. )

We emphasize that the trial court’s error was not

simply that it admitted the prior evidence under the

wrong evidentiary theory. Nor do we dispute that there

are constitutionally permissible uses for admitting evidence

of prior bad acts. See Fed.R.Evid 404(b) (evidence of

other crimes, wrongs or acts may be admissible to prove

motive, opportunity, intent, preparation, plan, knowledge

identity, or absence of mistake or accident); United

States v. Lewis, 837 F.2d 415, 418-419 (9th Cir.), cert.

denied, 109 S.Ct. 304 (1988) (evidence of prior child abuse

properly admitted to show intent). However, acts which

the prosecution did not connect to appellant cannot be

characterized as his prior acts.

Furthermore, we find the introduction of such

prior injury evidence highly prejudicial. The prosecution

introduced evidence of prior injuries to the baby to

establish that appellant was a child abuser, and for no

A-10

a

other purpose, in a murder trial for the death of his child.

The trial court incorrectly admitted the evidence pursuant

to California law allowing past injury evidence to establish

the “Battered Child Syndrome." The Battered Child

Syndrome allows proof of past injuries to prove the child’s

present injuries did not occur accidentally. See People v.

Jackson, 18 Cal.App.3d 504, 506, 95 Cal.Rptr. 919, 921

(1971); Landeros v. Flood, 17 Cal.3d 399, 409, 551 P.2d

389, 393, 131 Cal.Rptr. 69, 73 (1976).

However, in the instant case, no claim was made

that the child died accidentally. The prosecution

attempted to prove Mark McGuire deliberately did it.

The defense attempted to prove Daisy McGuire

deliberately did it. Although the prosecution did not

succeed in proving that the appellant caused the prior

injuries, we cannot ignore that a trial of the grisly murder

of an innocent baby implicates highly charged emotions.

The unproven characterization of appellant as a child

abuser maximized the prejudice flowing from the

irrelevant evidence. See Dudley v. Duckworth, 854 F.2d

967 (7th Cir. 1988) (granting habeas relief where

prejudicial effect of evidence so outweighed probative

value that result was a denial of fundamental fairness);

Osborne v. Wainwright, 720 F.2d 1237 (11th Cir. 1983)

(reversing and remanding a denial of habeas corpus

petition on basis that prejudicial effect of evidence might

have risen to such magnitude as to deny fundamental

fairness); Bisaccia v. Attorney General of State of New

Jersey, 623 F.2d 307 (3d Cir. 1980) (same).

A-11

B. IMPROPER JURY INSTRUCTIONS

The trial court did not merely admit irrelevant,

highly prejudicial evidence without comment. The trial

court instructed the jury to use that evidence in the most

improper way possible. We assume that the jury followed

its instructions. Aspen Skiing Co. v. Aspen Highland Skiing

Corp., 472 U.S. 585, 604 (1985). The trial court’s jury

instructions stated: '

Evidence has been introduced for the

purpose of showing that the defendant

committed acts similar to those

constituting a crime other than that for

which he is on trial. Such evidence, if

believed, was not received, and may not

be considered by you to prove that he is

a person of bad character or that he had

a disposition to commit crimes. Such

evidence was received and may be

considered by you only for the limited

purpose of determining if it tends to show

three things:

1. The impeachment of Daisy McGuire’s

testimony that she had no cause to be

afraid of the defendant,

2. To establish the battered child

syndrome, and

3. Also a connection between the other

two offense (sic) and the one of which

the defendant is accused so that it may

be logically concluded that if the defendant

committed other offenses, he _ also

A-12

ee

committed the crime charged in the case.

You are not permitted to consider

evidence for any other purpose.

(emphasis added).

Subsection 3 of the instruction is erroneous.4’ It

permits the jury to make a direct determination of guilt

by concluding that appellant committed prior bad acts.

The rejection of such use of circumstantial character

evidence in criminal cases has become "so deeply

imbedded in our jurisprudence as to assume almost

constitutional proportions. . . ." Fed.R.Evid. 404(a)

advisory committee’s note.

Not only have we never condoned an instruction

which permits a finding of guilt based on a conclusion that

the appellant committed prior bad acts, we have

consistently stressed the importance of a _ limiting

instruction to confine the use of prior bad act evidence to

the proper purpose for which the court admitted it. See

United States v. Green, 648 F.2d 587, 593 (9th Cir. 1981)

(admission of bad act evidence in conjunction with failure

of trial judge to provide limiting instruction following

admission of bad act evidence required reversal); cf.

Butcher v. Marquez, 758 F.2d 373, 378 (9th Cir. 1985) (no

due process violation resulted from wrongful admission of

prejudicial evidence where instructions limited use of that

evidence to find intent); United States v. McCown,

711 F.2d 1441, 1454 (9th Cir. 1983) (no due process

2. It appears that the trial court’s erroneous instruction was the

result of an incorrect reading of CALJIC 2.50 (1979 Revision). This

Standard jury instruction has been clarified to avoid the

misunderstanding which occurred here. See CALJIC 2.50 (1987

Revision).

A-13

violation resulted from admission of prior bad acts

evidence where prejudice was minimal and trial judge

offered to give a limiting instruction).

The damage done by subsection 3 is not limited

by a qualifying instruction by the court. Nor is

subsection 3 limited by the preceding subsections of the

not to use the evidence of prior bad acts to find that

McGuire was a bad person and therefore infer that

McGuire was likely to have committed this crime.

Subsection 3, however, informed the jury that it may find

McGuire guilty of the offense charged if it logically

concluded that he committed the other earlier offenses.

For these reasons, the faulty instruction considered along

with the admittance of the prejudicial evidence "so

infected the entire trial that the resulting conviction

violate[d] due process." Cupp v. Naughten, 414 US. 141,

147 (1973). Nor do we believe that this error can be

considered harmless beyond a reasonable doubt. See

Chapman v. California, 386 U.S. 18, 24 (1967). Although

there was evidence suggesting McGuire’s guilt, this

evidence was certainly not overwhelming. See Dudley v.

Duckworth, 854 F.2d 967, 972 (7th Cir. 1988) (error not

harmless even when evidence of petitioner’s guilt was

"impressive but not overwhelming.").

Il. CONCLUSION

We find that the jury instruction which permitted

the direct determination of guilt from evidence of prior

injuries not connected to McGuire denied him due

process. The severity of these errors sets this case apart

A-14

from arguably similar cases in which we rejected claims

that evidentiary error rendered a trial fundamentally

unfair. For example, in Lewis, we found no due process

error where the trial court admitted evidence of prior

child abuse in a defendant’s trial for the murder of his

son. 837 F.2d at 418-19. However, Lewis suffered from

neither of the errors we find determinative in the instant

case. In Lewis, the testimony of two witnesses connected

the defendant to the infliction of the prior injuries, and

the trial court provided a limiting instruction. Jd, at 419.

Because the prejudicial effect of the errors

discussed above amount to a denial of due process, we

grant McGuire’s habeas petition. However, we are also

not blind to the fact that apart from those errors, only the

barest threads connect McGuire to the crime. True, given

the pattern of most child abuse cases, it is not

unreasonable to assume that one or both of the baby’s

primary care givers were responsible for the baby’s

injuries and death. We are also mindful that in the

emergency room, McGuire answered unconvincingly in

response to Daisy McGuire’s accusation that McGuire

bore responsibility for the baby’s injuries leading to death.

And evidence existed that McGuire had treated his wife

and the baby roughly in the past. But these are mere

shadows of guilt which leave ample room for reasonable

doubt. Due process requires more than a simple intuitive

feeling that the father may be guilty. It requires

convincing proof.

We REVERSE and REMAND for a new trial.

A-15

APPENDIX B

FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

MARK OWEN McGUIRE, __)

Plaintiff-Appellant, ) No. 87-2522

)

v. ) D.C. No

) CV-85-6521-TEH

WAYNE ESTELLE, )

Warden, ) OPINION

Defendant-Appellee. _)

)

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of California

Thelton E. Henderson, District Judge, Presiding

Argued and Submitted

June 14, 1988 -- San Francisco, California

Filed May 8, 1989

Before: Mary M. Schroeder and Charles Wiggins, Circuit

Judges, and Albert Lee Stephens, Jr’, District Judge.

Opinion by Judge Wiggins

*. Hon. Albert Lee Stephens, Jr., United States District Judge for

the Central District of California, sitting by designation.

A-16

SUMMARY

Reversing the district court’s denial of a petition

for a writ of habeas corpus and remanding for a grant of

a conditional! writ, the court held that the admission of

evidence of prior acts violated due process.

Appellant Mark McGuire was convicted of second

degree murder in the death of his infant daughter. At the

trial, McGuire’s wife was granted transactional immunity

by the prosecution. The trial judge admitted evidence of

prior injury to the child, which also indicated possible

sexual abuse. The jury was instructed on the prior injury

evidence in such manner that if they found that McGuire

had committed any previous offenses against the child,

they could find him guilty of the charged offense.

[1] An erroneous evidentiary ruling will not cause

a writ to issue unless a specific constitutional guarantee

has been violated or the error results in the denial of

fundamental fairness. [2] The probative value of evidence

of prior injuries was negligible since the only permissible

proposition the evidence could prove was whether the

injuries were accidental or intentional and the defense was

not predicated on proof of accident. [3] The prejudicial

quality of the evidence was exacerbated by the instruction

and the instruction alone probably constituted error of

constitutional dimension.

A-17

COUNSEL

. Ann Hardgrove Vorhis, San Francisco, California,

for the plaintiff-appellant.

Herbert F. Wilkinson, Supervising Deputy

Attorney General, San Francisco, California, for the

defendant-appellee.

OPINION

WIGGINS, Circuit Judge:

Mark McGuire ("McGuire") appeals from the

district court’s denial of his petition for a writ of habeas

corpus under 28 U.S.C. § 2254(a). McGuire _ was

convicted of second degree murder and is now serving a

fifteen year to life sentence in a California state prison.

McGuire contends that the admission of evidence of prior

acts against him at his trial was error and denied him due

process of law under the Fourteenth Amendment. We

find that his contention has merit and REVERSE.

FACTS AND PROCEEDINGS BELOW

At about 9:00 p.m., on July 7, 1981, McGuire and

his wife brought their six-month-old baby girl to the

emergency room of a hospital in Hayward, California.

The baby was bluish in color and was not breathing. The

hospital staff were unable to save the baby and she was

pronounced dead at about 9:45 p.m.

A-18

At trial, one of the baby’s treating physicians

testified that the child was essentially lifeless and without

vital signs when she was brought into the hospital. The

doctor also testified that the baby had a large and

relatively recent bruise on the upper left chest area with

multiple bruise marks around it, black and blue marks on

her ears, and scar tissue indicating tearing around the

anus. A doctor who performed an autopsy on the body

testified that there were at least seventeen contusions on

the baby’s chest and twenty-nine more on her abdomen.

Examination of the internal organs revealed that the liver

was split in half, her pancreas was lacerated and split

apart, her lower right lung and large vein from the heart

were damaged, and part of her large intestine was

lacerated. Over McGuire’s objection, the doctor also

testified to rectal tearing at least six weeks old and to

evidence of several partially healed rib fractures

approximately seven weeks old.

McGuire’s wife was granted transactional

immunity by the prosecution. At trial, testifying for the

prosecution, she stated for the first time that she, and not

her husband, had beaten the baby.

On March 19, 1982, the jury returned a verdict of

second degree murder against McGuire. On January 15,

1985, the California Court of Appeal affirmed his

conviction. McGuire petitioned for a hearing before the

California Supreme Court. On March 21, 1985, the

California Supreme Court issued a "postcard denial" of the

petition. It did so without any citation or comment.

On August 30, 1985, McGuire filed a petition for

writ of habeas corpus in federal district court under

28 U.S.D. § 2254(a). Order to show cause issued on

A-19

February 26, 1986. In its original response, the state of

California did not answer on the merits but argued that

McGuire had failed to exhaust his state remedies. The

district court, relying on Maxwell v. Sumner, 673 F.2d

1031, 1034 n.1 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 976 (1982),

ruled against the state on the exhaustion issue and

ordered it to answer on the merits. After the state did

so, the district court denied McGuire’s petition on July 15,

1987. It held that the admission of the evidence of the

prior injuries to the child, and a jury instruction relating

to that evidence, was proper under California evidence

rules. The court also found that the evidence was

relevant to contradict a pretrial statement made by

McGuire, and offered at trial by the prosecution, that the

baby’s injuries were caused by her falling off a couch.

The court also rejected McGuire’s fifth amendment

prosecutorial misconduct and denial of discovery claims.

McGuire timely appealed. We have jurisdiction under 28

U.S.C. § 1291.

1. Exhaustion

28 U.S.C. § 2254(b) states: "An application for a

writ of habeas corpus in behalf of a person in custody

pursuant to the judgment of a State court shall not be

granted unless it appears that the applicant has exhausted

the remedies available in the courts of the State... ." On

direct appeal to the California appellate court, McGuire

raised four issues: (1) admission of evidence of prior

injuries to the baby and an errant “other crimes"

instruction, (2) a fifth amendment claim that the original

trial court erroneously admitted evidence of a statement

A-20

made to the police that "some Mexicans" might have

come into his home and presumably injured the baby,

(3) a second fifth amendment claim relating to statements

he made to the police without Miranda warnings the day

before he was arrested, and (4) a_ prosecutorial

misconduct claim. In his petition to the California

Supreme Court, McGuire raised only the issues of the

evidence of prior injuries and the "Mexican intruder"

statement. The California Supreme Court denied his

petition without a hearing, comment, or citation. In his

petition for habeas corpus, however, McGuire raised all

four claims that he had previously raised before the

California appellate court.

A petition containing both exhausted and

unexhausted claims must be dismissed by the federal

courts. Rose v. Lundy, 455 U.S. 509, 510 (1982).

Although McGuire presented only two of his four issues

to the California Supreme Court, he has properly

exhausted his state remedies. In Maxwell, we stated that:

[I]f a claim has been briefed and argued

before the [California] court of appeal,

failure to assert it in the petition to the

California Supreme Court does not

normally waive the claim . . . [W]hen the

California) Supreme Court grants a

hearing, its order effectively vacates the

order of the court of appeal; the

California Supreme Court then decides

each issue in the case as if it were on

original appeal from the trial court,

"regardless of the grounds relied on in

the petition."

A-21

Maxwell, 673 F.2d at 1034 n.1 (citations omitted)*/ Thus

we may reach the merits of McGuire’s claims.

Il. Past Injuries.

This court reviews the district court’s denial of a

petition for a writ of habeas corpus de novo.

Weygandt v. Ducharme, 774 F.2d 1491, 1492 (9th Cir.

1985). A state prisoner is entitled to relief under

28 U.S.C. § 2254 only if he is held in violation of the

Constitution or laws of the United States. Engle v. Isaac,

456 U.S. 107, 119 (1982); 28 U.S.C. § 2254(a). McGuire

contends that admission of evidence of the baby’s prior

injuries, coupled with a jury instruction that allowed the

jury to infer that if he committed the prior offenses he

committed the charged crime, deprived him of due

process. An erroneous evidentiary ruling will not cause a

writ to issue unless a specific constitutional guarantee has

been violated or the error is of such magnitude that the

result is a denial of fundamental fairness. United States v.

DeRobertis, 738 F.2d 168, 170 (7th Cir.), cert. denied,

469 U.S. 924 (1984). Before a federal court may overturn

a state court conviction based on an incorrect or

at

«

1. The Maxwell "rule" will no longer be effective for petitions

presented to the California Supreme Court after March 6, 1985. On

that date new California Supreme Court appellate rules came into

effect. Presently, the California rules provide that "[o]nly the issues

set forth in the petition and answer or fairly included in them need

be considered by the court." Cal. Rules Sup. Ct. & Cts. of Appeal

28(e)(2) and Advisory Committee Comment, 9 4. The present case,

however, is governed by Maxwell. The appellant filed his petition for

hearing on February 26, 1985, before the effective date of the new

' California rules.

A-22

erroneous jury instruction, "it must be established not

merely that the instruction is undesirable, erroneous, or

even ‘universally condemned,’ but that it violated some

right which was guaranteed to the defendant by the

Fourteenth Amendment." Cupp v. Naughten, 414 U.S.

141, 146 (1973). The erroneous jury instruction must have

rendered the trial so fundamentally unfair as to have

denied McGuire due process. Ahlswede v. Wolff, 720 F.2d

1108, 1111 (9th Cir. 1983) (per curiam), cert. denied,

469 U.S. 873 (1984).

At trial, the prosecution introduced evidence that

the baby had been physically abused in the past. Some of

this evidence also indicated possible sexual abuse. The

evidence was admitted pursuant to California law allowing

such evidence to show that a child was a victim of the

"Battered Child Syndrome." "The syndrome means that a

child has received repeated and/or serious injuries by non-

accidental means. .. ." People v. Jackson, 18 Cal.App.3d

504, 506, 95 Cal.Rptr. 919, 921 (1971); see also People v.

Steger, 16 Cal.3d 539 549 n.4, 546 P.2d 665, 671 n.4,

128 Cal.Rptr. 161, 167 n.4 (1976). Proof of the syndrome

"essentially means that the victim’s injuries were not

inflicted by accidental means. . . ."_ Landeros v. Flood,

17 Cal.3d 339, 409, 551 P.2d 389, 393, 131 Cal.Rptr. 69,

73 (1976). In other words, proof of the syndrome

demonstrates that a child has suffered repeated injuries

over a period of time. These cases demonstrate that the

California courts have been careful to limit proof of the

syndrome to show that the child had not accidentally

suffered the injuries. The additional finding that the

injuries were probably caused by a particular person may

not be made simply on the basis of proof of the syndrome

A-23

itself. See Jackson, 18 Cal.App.3d at 507, 95 Cal.Rptr. at

921.

Jackson and Landeros make clear that proof of

the syndrome does not prove who caused the injuries.

That fact, though it may be inferred from proof of who

was in contact with or cared for the child, is separate and

distinct from proof of the syndrome itself. Jd. In the

case at bar, no one claimed that the child died

accidentally. The prosecution introduced McGuire's

pretrial statement that the injuries that killed the baby

might have been caused by her falling off the couch.

McGuire’s defense at trial was not predicated on this or

any other proof of accident. Rather, he attempted to

prove that his wife had killed the baby. The undisputed

evidence of the massive injuries to the baby

overwhelmingly refuted any inference of accidental death.

The only permissible proposition this evidence could prove

was whether the baby had suffered accidental or

intentional injuries. This proposition was not at issue in

this case. Thus, the probative value of the evidence of

these prior injuries was negligible.

In addition, the prejudicial nature of this evidence

was inherently great. Cf. DeRobertis, 738 F.2d at 171 (in

a due process analysis of questioned evidence, the issue is

whether the probative value of the evidence outweighs the

prejudice to the accused). Proof of prior injuries to a

small baby, coupled with the sexual nature of some of the

injuries, inevitably prejudices McGuire. More significantly,

there was little proof that McGuire was responsible for

these injuries. It is certainly logical to infer that the

primary care givers of the baby hurt and sexually molested

the child on some prior date. The jury, however, was

A-24

presented with no direct proof of whether McGuire or his

wife caused these prior injuries. Either could have been

responsible. One possibility, however, had been

foreclosed by the prosecution. By offering the wife

immunity, the jury was left with only one option -- to find

McGuire guilty of the murder. Proof of the prior injuries,

not necessary to prove that the baby’s death was

purposeful, could only have further prejudiced McGuire in

front of the jury. |

The prejudicial quality of the evidence was

exacerbated by an instruction given to the jury. The trial

court instructed the jury on the prior injury evidence as

follows:

Evidence has been introduced for the

purpose of showing that the defendant

committed acts similar to _ those

constituting a crime other than that for

which he is on trial... . Such evidence

was received and may be considered by

you only for the limited purpose of

determining if it tends to show

a connection between the other two

offenses and the one of which the

defendant is accused, so that it may be

logically concluded that if the defendant

committed the other offenses, he also

committed the crime charged in the case.

This instruction specifically told the jury that if it thought

McGuire committed the other two "offenses" they could

find him guilty of the charged offense. The instruction

alone would probably constitute error of constitutional

A-25

dimension. See Butcher v. Marquez, 758 F.2d 373, 378

(9th Cir. 1985); United States v. Winters, 729 F.2d 602, 604

(9th Cir. 1984). Certainly, coupled with the inherent

prejudicial quality of the evidence itself, the error was of

such magnitude to deny McGuire a fundamentally fair

trial. We hold that McGuire was denied due process by

admission of this evidence and its associated jury

instruction.2/

CONCLUSION

We are troubled that our disposition does not do

justice in this case. A baby has been killed. Only the

father and mother had access to the baby. One or the

other, or perhaps both, are responsible for the death.

This appeal, however, only concerns McGuire. Perhaps

the state authorities should examine whether the mother

fraudulently negotiated her grant of immunity, and if so,

whether the immunity can be withdrawn. We express no

opinion as to whether the evidence justifies a retrial of

McGuire, his wife, or both, for murder.

We REVERSE the district court’s denial of

McGuire’s petition for a writ of habeas corpus. We

REMAND to the district court for the grant of a

conditional writ. The state is permitted 90 days from this

remand to refile.

REVERSED AND REMANDED.

2. Given our disposition of this case, we do not reach or decide

the appellant’s Miranda claim.

A-26

APPENDIX C

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

MARK OWEN McGUIRE, _)

Petitioner, ; No. C 85-6521 TEH

. } ORDER

WAYNE ESTELLE, 4

Respondent. :

)

Petitioner Mark McGuire was convicted of second

degree murder in Alameda County Superior Court for the

killing of his infant daughter. On May 12, 1982, petitioner

was sentenced to a term of 15 years to life for the

murder, and is currently serving this sentence at the

California Men’s Colony in San Luis Obispo. The

California Court of Appeal affirmed his conviction, and

the California Supreme Court denied his petition for a

hearing. Petitioner applied to this Court for a writ of

habeas corpus, alleging violations of his federal

constitutional rights by the state trial court that convicted

him, and this Court issued an Order to Show Cause.

There are presently five claims before this Court:

1) denial of due process based on the improper admission

of prior act evidence; 2) denial of due process based on

erroneous jury instructions with respect to the admission

A-27

of prior act evidence; 3) violation of the procedural

protections afforded by Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 430

(1966), based on the improper admission of a statement

at trial; 4) denial of due process based on prosecutorial

misconduct during the prosecutor’s closing argument;

5) denial of due process based on denial of discovery.

Having considered the papers of both parties and the

entire record presented, this Court hereby denies

petitioner’s application for a writ of habeas corpus.

FACTS

About 9:00 p.m. on July 7, 1981, petitioner and

his wife brought their six month old baby daughter to the

Emergency Room of Kaiser Hospital in Hayward. The

screening nurse noticed that the baby was bluish in color

and not breathing. She immediately took the baby to an

emergency treatment room, and then returned to the

screening area to obtain a medical history. Petitioner told

the nurse that the baby had a cold recently and had hit

her head that morning when she fell off of the couch.

The efforts of doctors to save the baby were unavailing,

and she was pronounced dead at 9:45 p.m.

Sharon Levine, M.D., assisted in treating the baby

and testified at trial that the child was essentially lifeless

with no vital signs when brought to the hospital.

Dr. Levine also testified that the baby had a large and

relatively recent bruise on the upper left chest area with

multiple bruises around it, black and blue marks on her

ears, and scar tissue indicating tearing around the rectum.

An autopsy performed by Paul Herman, M.D., on July 8

revealed at least 17 contusions on the baby’s chest, and

A-28

29 more on her abdominal area. When he examined her

internal organs, Dr. Herman found that the baby’s liver

was split apart, her pancreas was lacerated and split apart,

her lower right lung and large vein from the heart were

damaged, and part of the large intestine was lacerated.

Dr. Herman also discovered evidence of rectal tearing,

which was a least six weeks old, and evidence of several

partially healed rib fractures which were approximately

seven weeks old. :

The police arrived at Kaiser Hospital at 9:45 p.m.,

about the same time the baby was pronounced dead. The

police separated the McGuires and briefly questioned

them at the hospital about the baby’s injuries. Petitioner

indicated to Officer Lapic that the baby might have fallen

off the couch and struck the walker which was next to it,

although he was not sure. Petitioner was not given

Miranda warnings before or during the questioning at the

hospital, and he was not informed by police or by hospital

personnel that the baby had died.

Petitioner and his wife were then taken to the

Hayward Police Department in separate cars, and

separately questioned there without Miranda warnings.

Petitioner’s wife told police that she had not hit the baby

and that she did not know whether her husband had. At

the end of the interview, the police told her that the baby

was dead. Petitioner told police that his wife had gone

outside to make a telephone call, leaving the baby on the

couch, and that he heard the baby cry while upstairs using

the bathroom. When he came downstairs, he said, he

found the baby lying on the floor. At the end of the

interview, the police told him the baby had died but that

.

A-29

they would not know the cause of death until the coroner

completed an autopsy.

The police then drove petitioner and his wife to

their apartment, had them sign a “Consent to Search"

form, and then proceeded to take pictures and

measurements of the home. Following the search of the

apartment, petitioner was interviewed briefly in the

parking lot to determine whether inordinate pressure had

been applied to the baby’s chest in an effort to revive her.

In addition, Officer Lapic questioned petitioner outside

the presence of other officers about the origin of the

baby’s bruises and was told that "Maybe some Mexicans

came through the door" while he was upstairs, a statement

that was not revealed until Officer Lapic’s testimony at

trial. No Miranda warnings were given up to this point.

The police called the McGuires the next day,

July 8, and asked them to come to the station to discuss

the coroner’s report. Petitioner arrived at the station for

questioning and there was advised for the first time of his

rights under Miranda. He waived his rights and

proceeded with the interview. About halfway through the

interview, he was told that the coroner’s report indicated

the baby had been beaten to death. Petitioner was

arrested at the termination of the interview. His wife was

not arrested and was granted transactional immunity by

the prosecution. At trial, testifying for the prosecution,

she stated for the first time that she had beaten the baby

just prior to her husband’s arriva! at the house on July 7.

A-30

In addition to Dr. Levine’s testimony that the

baby had sustained at least 46 contusions on her chest

and abdomen, evidence was introduced of several partially

healed rib fractures which were about seven weeks old

and of a tearing wound of the rectum which was about six

weeks old. Based on this evidence of past injuries, in

addition to the more recent injuries causing death, both

Dr. Levine and Dr. Herman concluded at trial that the

baby was a battered child. Petitioner now argues that this

evidence of prior injuries to the baby, for which he was

not on trial and to which he was not tied, was prejudicial

and denied him due process of law.

For the limited purpose of showing that injury or

death resulted from nonaccidental means, California courts

have allowed admission of evidence of prior acts under

California Evidence Code Section 1101(a). See People v.

Bledsoe, 36 Cal.3d 236, 249 (1984). A diagnosis of

battered child syndrome, based on evidence of past

injuries, is not an opinion that any particular person

caused the injuries, but relates solely to the likelihood that

the injuries were accidentally inflicted. People v. Jackson,

18 Cal.App.3d 504, 506-507 (1971). In this case, evidence

of the two types of prior injuries was admitted by the trial

court to support a diagnosis of battered child syndrome

and prove that the baby’s death .vas not accidental. This

was a proper use of evidence under California evidence

rules.

A-31

Since the evidence was admissible under state

evidentiary rules, petitioner must demonstrate that a

constitutional right was implicated by its use in order to

merit habeas corpus relief. Engle v. Isaac, 445 U.S. 107,

119 (1982). Introduction of evidence must be so

prejudicial as to result in a denial of fundamental fairness.

Palmer v. DeRobertis, 738 F.2d 168, 170 (7th Cir. 1984).

No showing of prejudice has been made by petitioner with

respect to admission of prior act evidence. Petitioner

argues that the prior act evidence was irrelevant, because

no defense of accident was ever presented, and

cumulative, because testimony of doctors at trial already

established that death was not the result of accident

without resort to prior act evidence.

The evidence, however, was relevant to the

prosecutor’s case-in-chief, despite the lack of an accident

defense, in order to show that death was the result of

criminal agency and to rebut the statement introduced at

trial that the baby may have died from falling off of a

couch. In addition, the contention that the evidence was

cumulative is speculative on petitioner’s part. Even

though the testimony of Dr. Levine supported the view

that death was not the result of accident, without resort to

prior act evidence, it cannot be said ikat this testimony

alone conclusively established that position. Thus, the

prosecution was allowed to introduce additional evidence,

including evidence of prior injuries, to show the battered

child syndrome and prove that death was not the result of

accident. Moreover, even if admission of prior act

evidence was irrelevant and/or cumulative, petitioner has

not shown that it was so prejudicial as to amount to a

denial of fundamental fairness. See DeRobertis, 738 F.2d

A-32

ee a on

at 170; Cronnon v. State of Alabama, 587 F.2d 246, 250

(Sth Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 440 US. 974 (1979);

Thomas v. Cardwell, 626 F.2d 1375, 1386 (9th Cir. 1980),

cert. denied, 449 U.S. 889 (1981).

2. J I | ti C . Evid Of Pri

Acts

The state trial court instructed the jury on the use

of prior acts evidence, including evidence of the two prior

injuries to the baby, as follows:

Evidence has been introduced for the

purpose of showing that the defendant

committed acts similar to those

constituting a crime other than that for

which he is on trial. Such evidence, if

believed, was not received, and may not

be considered by you to prove that he is

a person of bad character or that he has

a disposition to commit crimes. Such

evidence was received and may be

considered by you only for the limited

purpose of determining if it tends to show

three things:

1. The impeachment of Daisy McGuire’s

testimony that she had no cause to be

afraid of the defendant,

2. To establish the battered child

syndrome, and

3. Also a connection between the other

two offenses and the one of which the

defendant is accused, so that it may be

A-33

logically concluded that if the defendant

committed other offenses, he also

committed the crime charged in the case.

You are not permitted to consider

evidence for any other purpose.

Petitioner argues that Part 3 of this instruction improperly

allowed the jury to base ‘its verdict on acts for which he

was not on trial and to which he was not connected,

instead of limiting the use of the prior act evidence to

show absence of accident/

Federal habeas corpus relief is not available to set

aside a conviction because of an erroneous jury instruction

unless the error rendered the trial so fundamentally unfair

as to deny due process. Ahlswede v. Wolff, 729 F.2d 1108,

1111 (9th Cir. 1983); Quig v. Crist, 616 F.2d 1107, 1111

(9th Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 449 US. 922 (1980);

Shepard v. Nelson, 432 F.2d 1045, 1046 (9th Cir. 1970);

1. Petitioner also argues that Part 3 of this instruction allowed

the jury to connect testimony that he treated the baby roughly on one

occasion and that he slapped his wife on another occasion to the

Offense charged, because the jury might have believed those to be the

“other two offenses” referred to. In the instruction, we find

no merit to this contention. Part 1 and 2 of the jury instructions

sufficiently indicate the use to which evidence of those two prior acts

i of clarity did

significantly prejudice petitioner's case at trial. See United States v.

Pruitt, 763 F.2d 1256 (11th Cir. 1985).

A-34

Trujillo v. Stone, 384 F.Supp. 633, 635 (N.D. Cal. 1974).

The erroneous instruction must be so prejudicial as to

affect the entire trial not merely an instruction which is

“undersirable [sic], erroneous or even ‘universally

condemned™. Henderson v. Kibbe, 431 U.S. 145, 154

(1977); Cupp v. Naughten, 414 U.S. 141, 146-147 (1973).

The appraisal of the significance of error requires a

comparison of the instructions actually given with those

that should have been given. Henderson, 431 U.S. at 154;

Cupp, 414 US. at 146-147.

It is a close question whether Part 3 of the jury

instruction, allowing the jury to connect evidence of the

baby’s prior injuries to petitioner and then to the offense

charged, was in violation of the California Evidence

Code4’ However, we need not reach this issue because

petitioner has not demonstrated that any possible error

rendered his trial so fundamentally unfair that he was

denied due process. Ahlswede, 720 F.2d at 1111.

Admission of evidence of past acts, for the possibly

improper purpose of connecting petitioner to those past

acts and then to the offense charged, did not "infect the

entire trial". See Henderson, 431 US. at 154.

2. California Evidence Code Section 1101(c) makes evidence of

ee et eee ee ae

disposition or propensity on the part of the accused to

crime charged. fata Shetattom 172 CaLApp.3d 484, 495 (1985).

On the other hand, Evidence Code Section 1101(b) makes admissible

evidence of prior acts relevant to prove some fact expressly in issue,

such as the motive, intent, knowledge or identity of the perpetrator

of the crime charged. Whether evidence is relevant under

Section 1101(b) depends additionally on whether its probative value

Outweighs any undue prejudice. People v. Tassell, 36 Cal.3d 77, 88

(1984).

A-35

Examination of the trial record reveals that there was

substantial evidence, however circumstantial, to support

the jury’s finding that the baby’s death was the result of a

murder and that petitioner was responsible. Admission of

prior act evidence did not amount to a “crucial, critical,

highly significant factor" in the jury’s finding of second

degree murder. See Love v. Young, 781 F.2d 1307, 1312-

1313 (7th Cir. 1986). The jury heard evidence that

petitioner was in the house at the time of the baby’s

death and that his wife, the only other person in the

house that day, stepped outside before the baby had been

fatally injured. The jury heard petitioner’s wife testify.

This and other evidence allowed the jury to decide

petitioner was behind the baby’s death notwithstanding

any prior act evidence.

3. Miranda Violation

Petitioner spoke with police and investigators

several times on July 7, the day iat he and his wife

brought their injured baby to the hospital. No Miranda

warnings were given to petitioner before or during any of

these July 7 discussions. On July 8, petitioner was asked

to come to the police station and when he arrived was

given Miranda warnings before questioning took place. At

trial, the prosecution introduced one of petitioner’s

Statements, made on July 8, after Miranda warnings.

Petitioner now urges that this statement was involuntary

and in violation of his Fifth Amendment rights, because

even though it was made after proper administering of

Miranda warnings, it was the fruit of prior illegal

interrogations by investigators.

A-36

Miranda warnings are required whenever a person

questioned is in custody or the restraint on his freedom of

movement is of a degree associated with formal arrest.

California v. Beheler, 463 U.S. 1121, 1123 (1983);

Oregon v. Mathiason, 429 U.S. 492, 494 (1977). Mere

presence at the police station cannot be necessarily

equated with custody. See Beheler, 463 US. at 1123.

Although this Court must independently make the legal

conclusions as to whether a petitioner was in custody at

the time of a statement, and as to whether statements

were voluntary, this Court must presume the correctness

of all state court factual findings, unless there is no factual

support for them in the record. Summer v. Mata,

449 US. 539, 545 (1981).

The state court examined the discussions between

petitioner and investigators voluntarily and while petitioner

was not in custody2/ We find ample support in the

record for this position. No restrictions were placed on

petitioner’s freedom of movement during any of the July 7

discussions, including those taking place at the police

station. Upon accompanying the police officers to the

station on July 7, petitioner was specifically told that he

was not under arrest and was under no obligation to go

there. Because all of the July 7 questioning took place

while pettioner [sic] was not in custody, no Miranda

warnings were required and the July 8 statement used at

trial was not the fruit of prior illegal interrogation.

3. The trial court did not consider the statement made at the

apartment complex to one of the officers that "Maybe some Mexicans

came through the door." However, this statement was also made

voluntarily and while petitioner was not in custody, and does not alter

Our conclusion that all July 7 questioning was noncustodial.

A-37

Petitioner further argues that police used trickery

and deception during the July 7 discussions by withholding

from him information that his baby had died and that he

was a suspect in the death. Petitioner contends that this

deception rendered the July 7 questioning coercive and

tainted the subsequent statement given after Miranda

warnings. This Court finds no support in case law for the

view that trickery or deception render questioning

coercive. Petitioner was told he could refuse to speak

and could request a lawyer and was aware that any

Statement he made could be used against him. Waiver of

his rights on July 8 was thus free and voluntary and the

Statement coming out of the July 8 questioning was

properly introduced against him. See Moran v. Burbine,

106 S.Ct. 1135, 1142 (1986).

4. Prosecutorial Misconduct

Petitioner argues that the prosecutor made several

prejudicial remark» during closing argument which

constituted misconduct and denied him due process of

law. Only one of the allegedly prejudicial statements was

objected to at trial by petitioner’s counsel. That objection

came at the beginning of the prosecutor’s argument,

during which the prosecutor discussed first degree murder

in this second degree murder case. Petitioner’s counsel,

in his state appellate court brief submitted to this Court,

claims that because this objection was overruled, he did

not want to continue to make objections during the

closing argument which would almost certainly be

overruled. The remarks complained of which were not

objected to include: 1) statements implying that

A-38

petitioner’s wife offered testimony which was part of a

defense plot to suborn perjury; 2) statements made that

the crime would go unpunished if the jury believed

petitioner had not commited [sic] the crime because his

wife had been granted immunity; 3) an inflammatory

statement that if the jury believed petitioner, it should

senc him home to pick up his other recently born baby;

4) references made to inflammatory and controversial

cases in an attempt to link the apparent miscarriage of

justice found in those cases to a not guilty verdict for

petitioner.

Under California law, claims of misconduct can

only be reversed on appeal if objected to at trial.

People v. Fosselman, 33 Cal.3d 572, 580-581 (1983).

Under Wainwright v. Sykes, 433 U.S. 72, 87 (1977), the

failure to observe a state’s "contemporaneous objection"

rules results in a procedural default which precludes

habeas corpus relief. The only exception to this default

rule occurs when a petitioner can demonstrate that there

was "cause" for his failure to raise the objection at trial,

and “prejudice” accruing from the failure to object.

Engel v. Isaac, 456 U.S. at 129; see also Hines v. Enemoto,

658 F.2d 667, 673 (9th Cir. 1981). Even where instances

of prosecutorial misconduct are properly objected to at

the state trial, a federal court is limited to determining

solely whether the defendant was denied due process.

Donnelly v. DeChristofoto, 416 U.S. 637, 642 (1974). The

touchstone of due process is the fairness of the trial, not

the misconduct of the prosecutor. Smith v. Phillips,

455 U.S. 209, 219-220 (1982).

Petitioner has effectively defaulted on those

alleged instances of prosecutorial misconduct which were

A-39

not objected to at trial. Failure of counsel to object to a

prosecutor’s statements for the strategic reasons does not

satisfy the "cause" prong of the Sykes standard, and

petitioner’s argument, that his counsel failed to object at

trial because he did not want to be continuously

overruled, amounts to a failure to object for strategic

reasons.. See Hines, 658 F.2d at 673. In addition,

although petitioner has preserved his claim that the

prosecutor’s references to first degree murder in his

closing argument constituted misconduct, petitioner has

made no showing of a constitutional violation. Petitioner —

has not demonstrated that his trial was rendered so

fundamentally unfair by the prosecutor’s remarks that due

process was denied. See U.S. v. Foster, 711 F.2d 871, 883

(1983); Thomas v. Cardwell, 626 F.2d 1375, 1381 (9th Cir.

1980).

5. Denial Of Discovery

In his petition, petitioner argues that the

prosecution’s violation of a discovery order denied him his

constitutional rights to a fair trial4/ The discovery order

in question called for the prosecution to release all

statements made by petitioner to police officers during

any of the questioning preceding trial. Petitioner made a

statement at his apartment in response to Officer Lapic’s

4. This claim is properly before the Court at this time even

though the claim was not included in this Court’s earlier Order to

Show Cause. Petitioner’s counsel has fully briefed the issue for this

Court, and the Court finds that it is able to make a determination of

this claim after careful review of petitioner’s arguments and of the

record before the Court.

A-40

questioning regarding the origin of the baby’s bruises, that

"Maybe some Mexicans came through the door." This

statement was not revealed to the defense before Officer

Lapic testified at trial. Petitioner contends that the

prosecutor’s failure to comply with the discovery order

and reveal the statement before trial violated his due

process rights for two reasons. First, petitioner claims

that the revelation of Officer Lapic’s questioning regarding

the origin of the bruises could have been persuasive to

the trial court at the Motion to Suppress that the

interrogation violated Miranda. According to petitioner,

Officer Lapic’s questioning indicated that the officer knew

the criminal degree of force used upon the body. Second,

petitioner maintains that his lack of awareness of th-

Statement regarding Mexicans left his counsel] "ill-

prepared" to select the jury.

The Court finds that petitioner’s claims lack merit.

Even considering Officer Lapic’s questioning of petitioner,

this Court finds that the interrogation of petitioner did not

violate his Miranda rights. In addition, this Court finds

that counsel’s lack of awareness of petitioner’s statement

did not violate petitioner’s due process right to an

adequate opportunity to voir dire the jury. Therefore,

petitioner is not entitled to relief on his claim for violation

of the discovery order.

Accordingly, good cause appearing, IT IS

HEREBY ORDERED that petitioner’s application for a

writ of habeas corpus is denied.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that petitioner’s

motion for reconsideration of application for bail pending

determination of petition for writ of habeas corpus is

denied.

A-41

IT IS SO ORDERED.

DATED: July 15, 1987

THELTON E. HENDERSON

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

A-42

A

a

a

:

rae, 4

“= a ". = ay , te Waray =

FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

MARK OWEN McGUIRE, __)

Plaintiff-Appellant, ) No. 87-2522

)

v. ) D.C. No.

) CV-85-6521-TEH

WAYNE ESTELLE, )

Warden, ) ORDER AND

Defendant-Appellee. ) DISSENT

)

Filed November 23, 1990

Before: Mary M. Schroeder and Charles Wiggins, Circuit

Judges, and Albert Lee Stephens, Jr.~’, District Judge.

ORDER

The panel has voted to deny the petition for

rehearing and reject the suggestion for rehearing en banc.

Judges Kozinski and Trott would grant the suggestion for

rehearing en banc.

*. Hon. Albert Lee Stephens, Jr., United States District Judge for

the Central District of California, sitting by designation.

A-43

The full court has been advised of the suggestion

for an en banc. An active judge requested a vote on

whether to rehear the matter en banc. The request failed

to receive a majority of the votes of the nonrecused active

judges in favor of en banc consideration. Fed.R.App.P. 35.

The petition for rehearing is denied and the

suggestion for rehearing en banc is rejected.

DISSENT

KOZINSKI, Circuit Judge, with whom Circuit

Judge TROTT joins, dissenting from the order rejecting

the suggestion for rehearing en banc.

Six month old Tori McGuire died in a hospital

emergency room, the victim of appalling internal injuries:

her liver was split in half, her pancreas was lacerated and

split apart, her lower right lung and the large vein from

her heart were damaged, and part of her large intestine

was lacerated. No, little Tori was not the victim of a

hideous automobile accident; nor had she been extracted

from the rubble of an earthquake. She had been beaten

to death. Her lifeless body, with dozens of contusions on

her chest and abdomen, was brought to the hospital by

her parents who claimed they didn’t know what could

have happened to her. Perhaps, the father said, "the baby

fell off the couch" or maybe “some Mexicans" broke in

and abused her while he was out of the room. Not taken

in by these transparent falsehoods, the state brought

charges against the father, Mark McGuire. A state jury

convicted him of second degree murder; the conviction

was affirmed on appeal.

A-44

A panel of this court now overturns the

conviction, quite possibly forever. In so doing, it not only

reaches a result that is contrary to simple justice and

common sense, but does so in a way that will seriously

interfere with the authority and autonomy of the state

courts in many other criminal proceedings. Most

fundamentally, the panel overturns the state conviction

because it disagrees with the state court on questions of

state law+/ Worse, the panel punishes the prosecution for

introducing what the court deems to be unnecessary

evidence of the defendant’s intent, even though intent is

clearly an element of the crime with which McGuire was

charged. Finally, the panel misapplies the teachings of

Chapman v. California, 386 U.S. 18 (1967), and United

States v. Hasting, 461 U.S. 499 (1983), by failing to

consider "the entire record prior to reversing a conviction

for constitutional errors that may be harmless." Jd. at 509

n. 7.

This opinion is markedly out of step with the law

of the Supreme Court and this circuit governing these

sensitive and important issues. While en banc procedures

are cumbersome and time consuming, such considerations

Ought not deter us from maintaining uniformity in the law

of the circuit, as well as correcting an obvious miscarriage

1. A similar concern was raised by Blair v. McCarthy, 881 F.2d

602 (9th Cir. 1989, cert. granted, 59 USLW 3210 (Oct 2. 1990)(No. 89-

1862), vacated as moot and remanded _§ USLW ___ (1990), where

the first question presented was: "Has court below improperly and

unduly expanded scope of federal habeas corpus relief by granting

such relief in absence of any federal violation on sole basis of alleged

violation of state procedural rule plus finding that it is ‘reasonably

probable’ that different result would have occurred in absence of state

law error?"

A-45

of justice. Because my colleagues’ decision not to take

this case en banc lets stand what I consider to be a wholly

unacceptable precedent, I must respectfully dissent.

Discussion

Tori McGuire’s short life was the type of horror

no sentient being should have to endure. In addition to

the ghastly injuries that caused her death, the doctors who

examined her discovered some earlier injuries -- rectal

tearing that was at least six weeks old and several partially

healed rib fractures that were approximately seven weeks

old. The prosecution introduced evidence of these earlier

injuries, and the trial court instructed the jury as to the

inferences it could draw therefrom. This evidence and

these instructions lie at the heart of the panel’s decision

to overturn the conviction. A dispassionate review of the

State court proceedings, however, reveals that no error at

all was committed, much less an error of constitutional

dimensions, and that the disputed evidence was, in any

event, not prejudicial given the overwhelming evidence of

McGuire’s guilt.

A. The Panel Second-Guessed The State Courts

On Questions Of State Law

This is not an appeal from a federal criminal

conviction; it is a state habeas corpus case. Our function

is limited to determining whether the petitioner's

constitutional rights were violated. Engle v. Isaac,

456 U.S. 107, 119 (1982); Oxborrow v. Eikenberry, 877 F.2d

1395, 1400 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 110 S.Ct. 344 (1989);

A-46

Middleton v. Cupp, 768 F.2d 1083, 1085 (9th Cir. 1985),

cert. denied, 478 U.S. 1021 (1986). In making that

determination, we do not review issues of state law, such

as evidentiary rulings; we are bound by the state courts’

interpretations of the law entrusted to them. 7he panel

McGuire’s conviction because it disagrees with the way

the state court resolved questions of state law concerning

the admissibility of evidence and the wording of jury

instructions.

On the evidentiary question, the state trial court

admitted proof of prior injuries for three separate reasons,

one of them being that it tended to establish that Tori

was a battered child, pursuant to a theory known as the

"Battered Child Syndrome." The state court of appeal

affirmed:

[P]roof of Tori’s “prior injuries" tending

to establish the "battered child syndrome"

was patently proper.

People v. McGuire, No. A017800, at 7 (Cal.App. Jan. 15,

1985), citing and discussing People v. Bledsoe, 36 Cal.3d

236 (1984); People v. Jackson, 18 Cal.App.3d 504 (1971);

and Landeros v. Flood, 17 Cal.3d 399 (1976). Our panel

flatly disagrees with this determination:

The trial court incorrectly admitted the

evidence pursuant to California law

allowing past injury evidence to establish

the “Battered Child Syndrome." The

Battered Child Syndrome allows proof of

past injuries to prove the child’s present

injuries did not occur accidentally. See

People v. Jackson, 18 Cal.App.3d 504, 506,

A-47

95 Cal.Rptr. 919, 921 (1971); Landeros v.

Flood, 17 Cal.3d 399, 409, 551 P.2d 389,

393, 131 Cal.Rptr. 69, 73 (1976).

901 F.2d at 754 (emphasis added).

What can one possibly say about this? The panel

not only expressly states that the state court erroncously

admitted the evidence “pursuant to California law," but it

relies on two of the same cases that the state court of

appeal relied on in reaching the opposite conclusion.

Until reading the panel’s opinion, I had thought the

federal courts were bound by state court interpretations

of the state rules of evidence. Apparently, however, the

panel has now declared open season on state court

evidentiary rulings in the Ninth Circuit.

The panel makes precisely the same mistake when

it concludes that "[s]ubsection 3 of the [prior bad acts]

instruction is erroneous." 902 F.2d at 755. The panel’s

only explanation for this conclusion appears in a footnote:

It appears that the trial court’s erroneous

instruction was the result of an incorrect

reading of CALJIC 2.50 (1979 Revision).

This standard jury instruction has been

clarified to avoid the misunderstanding

which occurred here. See CALJIC 2.50

(1987 Revision).

Id. at 755 n. 2. Once again, the panel cites only state law

in support of its conclusion that the state courts

committed error.

The panel does ultimately conclude that "the

faulty instruction considered along with the admittance of

the prejudicial evidence ‘so infected the entire trial that

the resulting conviction violate[d] due process.” 902 F.2d

A-48

at 755 (quoting Cupp v. Naughten, 414 US. 141, 147

(1973)). This reference to the due process clause does

not repair the damage done by the panel’s earlier analysis.

The problem is that, in order to conclude that there was

a due process violation, one must first determine that the

state trial court erred. The panel made that initial

determination by relying almost exclusively on state law,

which it reads in a way directly contrary to the state

court’s reading.?/

B. Evidence Of Intent Was Proper And Necessary

In concluding that the evidence of prior injuries

was improperly admitted, the panel suggests that the

evidence was not relevant. Jd. at 754. As discussed

above, the pane] had no business second-guessing the

state courts on a question of state law. Having started

down this path, however, the panel makes a collateral

error, One with grave constitutional implications.

As the pane! recognized, evidence is admitted

pursuant to the Battered Child Syndrome theory to prove

that the death was not accidental. Jd. If the child has

754

States v. Lewis, 837 F.2d 415 (9th Cir.) cert. denied, 488 U.S. 923

(1988)); Id. at 755 (citing FRE 404(

United States v. Green, 648 F.2d 587, 594 (9th Cir. 1981)). The

Federal Rules of Evidence, the Advisory Committee notes, and federal

criminal cases are, of course, wholly irrelevant to a state habeas case,

where the only issue is whether the trial violated constitutional norms.

The panel's opinion in this case could well be construed as giving the

Federal Rules of Evidence a constitutional cast. See id at 755.

A-49

:

suffered a series of injuries as the result of child abuse,

this tends to make it less likely that the injury in question

resulted from a mishap. People v. Jackson, 18 Cal.3d 504,

507, 95 Cal.Rptr. 919, 921 (1971). The panel concludes

that the evidence of prior injuries was irrelevant because

"in the instant case, no claim was made that the child died

accidentally." Jd. According to the panel, the only issue

at trial was who kilied Tori, not whether the killing was

intentional. ;

This passage in the panel’s opinion has serious

implications: It suggests that due process may be violated

by the admission of evidence which clearly goes to an

element of the offense charged if it turns out that the

defense does not put that particular element in issue.

This reasoning, if it stands as the law of the circuit, will

present state prosecutors with an intractable problem:

Just how are they to know whether the defendant intends

to put a particular element of the crime in issue? After

all, the prosecution must go first and bears the burden of

establishing every element of the crime beyond a

reasonable doubt -- including, for second degree murder,

malice aforethought, Cal. Penal Code §$§ 187, 189 (West

1988). If the prosecution decides not to present proof of

any element of the crime on the theory that the defense

will not put that element in issue, the defendant

automatically becomes entitled to a directed verdict of

acquittal. James W. Moore and Jo D. Lucas, 5A Moore’s

Federal Practice 1 50.02[1] at 50-16.1 to 50-17 (2d ed.

1990). The simple reality is that, in a criminal case, every

element of the crime is in issue; the defense is free to sit

back and see how the prosecution’s case shapes up, and

then focus its attack where the prosecution is weakest.

A-50

The panel’s insistence that intent was not an issue

in the case is contradicted not only by elementary

principles of criminal procedure, but by the record in this

case as well. As the panel recognizes, McGuire at one

time claime .i¢ baby was injured when she fell off

the couch. _ 4.2d at 751. He later suggested that

"maybe some Mexicans came in while I was upstairs." Id.

How on earth was the prosecutor to know that McGuire

would not raise one of these defenses when his turn came

to put on evidence?"/ More fundamentally, if the

prosecutor decided to play it safe by introducing evidence

in addition to the fatal injuries to prove that the death

was not accidental, how can we say that the evidence was

irrelevant? For the panel to look at the evidence after

the case was closed and say that the prosecutor was too

cautious in proving every element of the offense is nothing

but 20/20 hindsight*/

3. Indeed, early in the trial the prosecutor advised the court that

he anticipated the defense would rely primarily on the "some

Mexicans" theory, with “try[ing] to hang it on momma” a less likely

alternative. Reporter’s Transcript on Appeal, People of the State of

California v. McGuire, H 3748 (RT) 213-24 (Book II).

4. As it turns out, the defense did raise the issue of intent, and

very vigorously. Defense counsel objected to a jury instruction on

second degree murder, stating "I don’t think there is evidence of

intent." RT 562 (Book V). She requested an involuntary

manslaughter instruction, stating “my contention is that whoever killed

the baby or hit the baby had no malice, had no intent to kill the

baby." RT 619. With the agreement of both sides, the court

instructed the jury that "[t}he unintentional killing of a human being

is excusable and not unlawful when committed by accident,” and that

"[tJhe burden is on the Prosecution to prove beyond a reasonable

doubt that the homicide was not excusable." RT 762. During her

closing argument, defense counsel argued that the prosecution had

failed to establish intent: “Involuntary manslaughter . . . is an

A-51

What are state prosecutors in the Ninth Circuit

supposed to do when presented with a situation such as

that here? On the one hand, they face the possibility of

a directed verdict or unfavorable jury instruction if they

fail to prove an element of the case that somehow seems

"obvious." On the other hand, under today’s precedent,

they face the possibility that a federal court -- with the

benefit of hindsight -- will conclude that the evidence was

not really necessary because that particular element of the

crime was not contested by the defense. It is obvious that

the McGuire prosecutor could not have guarded against

this type of whipsaw; more troubling is that, even with

today’s precedent in hand, no prosecutor will know when

to withhold evidence or when to include it until he sees

the defendant’s evidence, by which time it will be too late.

In common parlance, this is known as a Catch-22.

C. Panel's Harmless Error Analysis Is Defici

It is well established that errors, even

constitutional ones, do not warrant overturning a state

conviction unless it is determined that the errors are not

unlawful killing of a human being where there is no intent to kill and

no malice. That is what we have here, if anything.” RT 720. See

also RT 718-19. In McGuire’s motion for a new trial after the

verdict came in, defense counsel asserted that the trial court had

erroneously failed to instruct the jury on the requirement of specific

intent. Clerk’s Transcript on Appeal, The People of the State of

California v. McGuire, H 3748 (CT) 155. Thus, while the panel

appears to have labored under the misapprehension that McGuire had

conceded or stipulated to intent, defense counsel was well aware of

the state’s burden of proof as to McGuire’s state of mind, and pressed

the issue forcefully.

A-52

harmless. Chapman v. California, 386 U.S. 18-33 (1967).

Except where the error is so fundamental that it is

deemed harmful per se, which is not the case here, the

federal court must examine the entire state court record to

determine whether the jury would have reached a

different conclusion absent the error. United States v.

Hasting, 461 U.S. 499, 509 n. 7 (1983).

The panel here speaks the language of harmless

error analysis but fails to perform the tasks associated

therewith. The sum and substance of the panel’s harmless

error “analysis” is the following: "Although there was

evidence suggesting McGuire’s guilt, this evidence was

certainly not overwhelming." 902 F.2d at 755. The panel

does not state that it has reviewed, or even seen the state

court record; it does not discuss the evidence supporting

guilt; and it does not analyze how the trial would have

played out had the perceived errors been eliminated.

Harmless error analysis that is so utterly devoid of analysis

is no better than no harmless error analysis at all. At a

bare minimum, it seems to me, the panel must represent

that it has ordered the state court record, looked at it,

and undertaken the type of review mandated by the

Supreme Court.

Quite frankly, it is impossible to review the record

in this case and understand how the panel reached its

conclusion. Take, for example, the error perceived by the

pane] as to the admission of the evidence under the

Battered Child Syndrome. Even if the panel were correct

in concluding that the evidence was improperly admitted

for this purpose, it does not matter. The trial court found

the evidence of prior injuries admissible for three distinct

purposes: (1) to establish the existence of Battered Child

A-53

Syndrome; (2) to show that McGuire had committed

similar prior bad acts;/ and (3) to impeach

Mrs. McGuire’s testimony that Mr. McGuire was kind to

his daughter. RT 573-75 (Book V), 757. The state court

of appeal found the evidence admissible on the first of

these grounds, and so did not reach the other two.

People v. McGuire, No. A017800, at 5-7 (Cal.App. Jan. 15,

1985).

Where a trial court admits evidence for three

independent reasons, and we find one of them insufficient,

our job is hardly done£ All evidence is admissible for

some purposes but inadmissible for others; we could

reverse convictions any time we liked were we to focus on

one purpose exclusively. Here, the pane! not find the

evidence was inadmissible on the other two grounds;

therefore, it is bound to assume that the evidence would

have been admitted in any event. In light of the

indisputable record on this point, | fail to see how

McGuire suffered any prejudice from the alleged error

5. The trial court treated Battered Child Syndrome and prior

bad acts as separate evidentiary categories; it may be more-accurate

to say that evidence of Battered Child Syndrome is a subset of

evidence of prior bad acts. For our purposes it makes no difference:

A finding that evidence is inadmissible to prove Battered Child

Syndrome says nothing about whether the evidence may be admitted

for the broader purpose of showing prior bad acts.

6. That the state court of appeal only considered one ground for

admission is not, of course, dispositive. Having found the evidence

admissible on one ground, the court of appeal had no need to

examine whether the evidence was admissible on other grounds as

well. To find the evidence inadmissible -- and so highly prejudicial

as tO constitute a due violation -- we must make sure that it

is not in fact admissible on any of the grounds relied on by the trial

court.

A-54

Sw eo

regarding admission of evidence of the Battered Child

Syndrome, much less a denial of due process.

But there is more. Even were we to assume, with

the panel, that admission of the evidence was prejudicial

error, the panel was required to decide whether the jury

would have convicted anyway. See United States v.

Hasting, 461 U.S. at 510-11. A determination on this issue

required the panel to weigh the prosecution’s case, the

likely effect of the wrongfully admitted evidence and the

likelihood that the jury would have come to a different

result. A review of the record leads only to one

conclusion: The jury would have reached exactly the

same verdict regardless of the errors perceived by the

panel.

First, the record discloses that the prosecution’s

case was very strong indeed. In weighing the strength of

that evidence, it must be kept in mind that there were

only two plausible theories of the case: that the father

abused Tori or that the mother did; no one else had

access to the baby immediately prior to her death. While

the 1500 page trial transcript contains a good deal of

testimony establishing that the father did it, perhaps the

strongest piece of evidence is the testimony of several

witnesses who overheard a conversation between Mr. and

Mrs. McGuire at the hospital while the couple was waiting

to learn Tori’s fate:

While Tori was being treated, and

McGuire and his wife were seated

together in a hospital waiting room,

Mrs. McGuire several times insistently

asked "what really happened?" McGuire

replied that he "didn’t know," and that he

A-55

"guessed" the baby fell off the couch; his

response was always the same. Finally

Mrs. McGuire said, "You are responsible,"

to which he apparently made no reply.

People v. McGuire, No. A017800, at 3 (Cal.App. Jan. 15,

1985).

This conversation makes no sense at all unless it

was the father who abused the baby. Had the baby been

alone with the mother at the time she suffered the

injuries, as Mrs. McGuire claimed at trial, one would have

expected the accusations at the hospital to point entirely

the other way. Not only did McGuire fail to question or

accuse his wife, he lamely suggested the baby "fell off the

couch" and did not protest her accusation that "you are

responsible." Short of a videotape of the crime, it’s not

clear what better evidence the prosecution might have

presented.

The fact is, child abuse cases are inherently

difficult to prove: the evidence is usually circumstantial

and often ambiguous; eyewitnesses seldom come forward

because of family considerations; and the victims often are

dead or too young to speak. See, for example, United

States v. Boise, No. 89-30071, slip op at 12157 (9th Cir.

September 27, 1990). It is rare indeed to have a case like

this one, where the defendant makes what is tantamount

to a spontaneous confession of his guilt. When this

conversation is viewed in the context of all the other

evidence presented to the jury, see People v. McGuire at

2-4, one must conclude that the prosecution’s case was

extremely strong.

Second, the prejudice flowing from any error

would have been minimal. If I understand the panel’s

A-56

rationale correctly, it is that the prosecution failed to

sufficiently prove McGuire’s connection to the earlier acts

of child abuse. Even if that were true -- which it clearly

is not’ - how was the defendant prejudiced? Evidence

of the earlier abuse could only harm the defendant to the

extent the jury was convinced he committed those acts. If

the jury was in doubt, or believed that someone else (for

example, Mrs. McGuire) committed the bad acts, its

outrage over them would not have been directed at Mark

McGuire.

Finally, it is highly unlikely that, absent the error,

the jury would have reached a not guilty verdict because

to do so it would have had to adopt the defense’s

alternative theory -- that the mother did it.

7. The record contains ample evidence from which a rational

jury could conclude that McGuire had been the perpetrator of the

earlier injuries:

-- Mrs. McGuire’s statements to Detective Gillis

to the effect that, when she bathed Tori, she

noticed the child had bruises on her body. When

asked how Tori might have gotten those bruises,

Daisy responded:

McGuire: | don’t really know, you know, I am

not the only one who is taking care of her.

Gillis: Well, who else is taking care of her?

McGuire: My husband, too, takes care of her.

-- Testimony by a neighbor "that she had observed

McGuire pick up the infant by ‘one of her arms.’

She had also seen him, when the baby was crying,

roughly pinch her cheeks together, and do other

‘bad things.’ Mrs. McGuire, the witness said, was

a ‘very caring mother’ toward Tori, who was never

seen to ‘abuse the child’ in any way."

People v. McGuire, No. A017800, at 4 (Cal. App. Jan. 15, 1985).

-- The fact that one of the injuries -- rectal

tearing -- is sexual in nature, and of a type more

likely made by a man than a woman.

A-57

Mrs. McGuire’s “confession,” made only after she was

granted immunity and had the luxury of attempting to

save her husband at no risk to herself, is halting and

tentative, marked by evasion and lapses of memory.

RT 333-39, 341-42, 351-58, 364, 385. It is also internally

inconsistent, RT 353-56; contradicted by her earlier

statements to the police and at the preliminary hearing,

RT 370-75, 410-11, and by Mr. McGuire’s own statements

to the police, RT 209-10 (Book II), 251 (Book III); and

inconsistent with the weight of the medical evidence.*/

The jury deliberated for three days and had extended

passages of the trial transcript read back to it, including

large portions of Mrs. McGuire’s testimony. RT 254A

(Book I), 777. This jury was clearly not inflamed by

passion. McGuire got no worse than he deserved.

It is this type of inquiry, or something akin to it,

that the panel was required to pursue under Chapman.

Its unsubstantiated assertion that the evidence against

McGuire “was certainly not overwhelming” simply does not

do the job.

8 Mrs. McGuire claimed to have killed the Daby some time in

the afternoon, “[a] long time” before her returned home.

RT 353; see also RT 348; but see RT 356 (“I child when he,

shortly before he comes home on that evening") The infant most

likely died within minutes of having been beaten. RT 139-140

(Book II). Yet when the McGuires took the baby to the hospital at

nine in the evening, RT 87 (Book II), the doctors believed they had

a chance of resuscitating the child because irreversible brain swelling

had not yet begun, indicating that her death was very recent. RT 86,

98-99, 169-71 (Book II).

A-58

D. Reprosecution Of McGuire May Be

Precluded

When a federal court grants a writ of habeas

corpus, the state normally has the option of retrying the

defendant. This is not the case, however, when there is

a determination that the prosecution failed to meet its

burden of proof on any element of the offense; under

those circumstances, retrial is barred by the double

jeopardy clause. Burks v. United States, 437 U.S. 1 (1978).

While the point is not entirely free from doubt,

the opinion contains statements that could well preclude

retrial of McGuire. Specifically, the panel casts aspersions

on the prosecution’s case by stating that "only the barest

threads connect McGuire to the crime." 902 F.2d at 755.

Worse still, the panel characterizes the state’s evidence as

suggesting no more than "mere shadows of guilt which

leave ample room for reasonable doubt." Id. at 756

(emphasis added).

It is entirely possible that the state courts on

remand will read these passages as holding that the

prosecution failed to introduce sufficient evidence to meet

its constitutional burden of establishing guilt beyond a

reasonable doubt. Certainly it would be difficult to come

up with language more clearly conveying this idea than

that used by the panel. If the state court does construe

the panel’s opinion as precluding a retrial, there will be

no possibility of correcting the error. Once McGuire is

released, the prosecution has no mechanism for coming

into federal court to complain, as the state is not entitled

to collaterally attack the state judgment.

A-59

Conclusion

The panel has overturned a state conviction, and

has done so in a manner that seriously and unjustifiably

interferes with the authority of the state courts, hamstrings

state prosecutors and may result in the permanent release

of a defendant who was justly and properly convicted of

a heinous crime. We make a grave mistake by failing to

take the case en banc to correct these errors and set the

aw of the circuit back on course.

&

A-60

APPENDIX E

“ > > a) wen: — 1S we a ave eles” Be

ee et eye va eee Pees a tee oh oe epee) ee a eee

NOT TO BE PUBLISHED

IN OFFICIAL REPORTS

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL

OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

FIRST APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION ONE

THE PEOPLE OF THE )

STATE OF CALIFORNIA, ) FILED: 12/10/87

)

Plaintiff and Respondent, ) A017800

)

v. ) (Alameda County

Super. Ct.

MARK O. McGUIRE, No. H 3748)

)

)

)

Defendant and Appellant. )

)

Defendant Mark O. McGuire was convicted by a

jury’s verdict of the second degree murder of his six-

month old infant daughter, Tori. He appeals from the

judgment which was entered upon the jury’s verdict.

We affirm the judgment for the reasons we now

State.

Evidence adduced at the trial, presumably found

true by the jury, revealed the following.

Defendant McGuire, and his wife, Daisy, brought

their infant child Tori into the emergency room of an

Alameda County hospital one evening. The child was

bluish in color, not breathing, and bruises appeared upon

A-61

her body. Her father, McGuire, explained that Tori

suffered recently from a cold, and had that evening

injured herself when she fell from a couch. Prompt

medical measures of doctors and nurses were unavailing,

and Tori died within the hour.

McGuire was thereafter charged with the murder

of the child.

Expert medical witnesses at the trial testified to

the following. When Tori was brought to the hospital, she

indicated little or no signs of life, her body was cool, and

she showed no heartbeat or pulse. She had a "relatively

recent" bruise on her chest, with older multiple bruises

around it. And there were blue marks on the infant’s

ears, and scar tissue indicating a tearing wound of her

rectum.

An autopsy on Tori disclosed at least 17 separate

contusions on her chest and around 30 in her abdominal

area. There were “quite fresh," and suggested "perhaps

the knuckles or fists striking the skin." An examination of

her internal organs revealed that her liver had been split

in two, her pancreas was lacerated and almost torn in

half, her right lung and a large vein near the heart were

damaged, and her lower intestine was lacerated. And she

had several partially healed rib fractures. Such injuries

appeared to have been caused by the same force or blows

which caused the outer injuries. The injuries could not

have been caused by a fall from a couch; and nothing but

the application of "blunt force to this child" could have

caused them. A medical witness said: "I don’t think you

can separate injuries, one from another, those types of

injuries. A tremendous number of contusions al] over the

A-62

front of the body, the neck area, and the injuries to the

abdomen are totally inconsistent with falling even 16 feet."

The child’s rectal injury was at least six weeks old,

and was unlikely to have been caused by passage of hard

stools; more likely it was caused by "the forceful insertion

of a finger, or foreign object, or both."

The consensus of the People’s professional

medical witnesses was that Tori was a "battered child."

Tori had been in the custody of McGuire and her

mother during the entire six months of her life.

While Tori was being treated, and McGuire and

his wife were seated together in a hospital waiting room,

Mrs. McGuire several times insistently asked "what really

happened?" McGuire replied that he "didn’t know," and

that he "guessed" the baby fell off the couch; his response

was always the same. Finally Mrs. McGuire said, "You

are responsible," to which he apparently made no reply.

To police officers McGuire explained that "the

baby must have fallen and struck the walker." And when

an officer expressed doubt that her condition was

consistent with a fall, McGuire said “maybe some

Mexicans came in."

McGuire denied striking or abusing the child.

Mrs. McGuire testified at the trial. For the first

time, there she said that she had been mad at Tori

because of her crying, and had hit her on the day of the

baby’s death.

A neighbor of the McGuires, in the same

apartment building, testified at the trial to matters

Occurring before Tori’s death. She had “heard some

ruckus and normally at that time there is just doors

Closing and cars starting up to go to work, but this time I

A-63

heard noises, voices saying please don’t, please don’t, I got

up and looked out my bedroom window and I saw Mark

[McGuire] having Daisy [McGuire] up against the wall

with his legs to her stomach, choking her and she is trying

to pull away." On another occasion Daisy appeared

"rather upset and she had looked as if she was crying

because I saw the tears from her eyes. [She said that

Mark had] hit her across the face."

The neighbor testified also that she had observed

McGuire pick up the infant by “one of her arms." She

had also seen him, when the baby was crying, roughly

pinch her cheeks together, and do other “bad things."

Mrs. McGuire, the witness said, was a "very caring

mother" toward Tori, who was never seen to “abuse the

child" in any way.

And evidence indicated that McGuire and his wife

were the only persons with Tori on the day of her death.

We state McGuire’s several appellate contentions

as phrased by him.

I. Contention: “The trial court erred in admitting

evidence of prior injuries which were in no way tied to

appellant."

It was the People’s theory that Tori’s death was

brought about by McGuire’s "child battering,” which

culminated in the events of the day of her death. And

proof of the "battered child syndrome," has expressly been

held admissible in this state.

A leading case on the subject, Landeros v. Flood,

17 Cal.3d 399, 408, has stated: "It appears from the

literature that the battered child syndrome was first

tentatively identified and reported to the medical

A-64

profession in the early 1950s. Further surveys and

analyses of the syndrome followed. ... California courts

have not been oblivious to this development. In a

prosecution for child abuse reviewed in 1971 -- the same

year as the events here in issue -- the Court of Appeal

held admissible the testimony of a physician identifying

the typical elements of the battered child syndrome.

(People v. Jackson .(1971) 18 Cal.App.3d 504, 506

(95 Cal.Rptr. 919].) The court explained that a

physician’s diagnosis of battered child syndrome essentially

means that the victim’s injuries were not inflicted by

accidental means, and “This conclusion is based upon an

extensive study of the subject by medical science.’ (Jd., at

p. 507.) Citing portions of the literature referred to

hereinabove, the court concluded (ibid.) that ‘the diagnosis

of the “battered child syndrome" has become an accepted

medical diagnosis.’ (Italics added.) Indeed, the Court of

Appeal added that ‘Trial courts have long recognized the

“battered child syndrome" and it has been accepted as a

legally qualified diagnosis on the trial court level for some

_ time....’ (Ud, at pp. 507-508; . . .)"

And more recently the high court in People v.

Bledsoe, 36 Cal.3d 236, 249, has said: "In People v.

Jackson [18 Cal.App.3d 504] -- the first such case in

California -- the court explained that ‘[t]his syndrome

means that a child has received repeated and/or serious

injuries by non-accidental means. ... [T]he criteria for

the "battered child syndrome" . . . are (1) the child is

usually under three years of age; (2) there is evidence of

bone injury at different times; (3) there are subdural

hematomas with or without skull fractures; (4) there is a

seriously injured child who does not have a history given

A-65

———— eee

that fits the injuries; (5) there is evidence of soft tissue

injury; (6) there is evidence of neglect... [1] A finding

... Of the "battered child syndrome" . . . simply indicates

that a child found with the injuries outlined above has not

suffered those injuries by accidental means.’

(18 Cal.App.3d at pp. 506-507.) As this description

suggests, the battered child syndrome cases fall well within

the mainstream of a long line of California decisions

which permit an expert medical witness to give an opinion

of the cause of a particular injury on the basis of the

expert’s deduction from the appearance of the injury

itself... ."

Under this authority, proof of Tori’s "prior

injuries" tending to establish the "battered child syndrome"

was patently proper.

Il. Contention: "Mistrial should have been granted when

the highly inflammatory ‘Mexican intruder’ statement was

elicited at trial." |

McGuire argues that disclosure of the

"inflammatory Mexican intruder statement” was not timely

made to him under the trial court’s discovery order.

_As earlier noted, a uniformed police officer, not

assigned to investigate the case, had commented to

McGuire that the child’s injuries seemed inconsistent with

a fall from the couch. It was then that McGuire said,

"maybe some Mexicans came in." The officer, believing

the remark of no importance, made no note or report of

it, and the prosecutor did not learn of the remark until a

few minutes before it was offered in evidence at midtrial.

The remark was relevant evidence, susceptible of an

A-66

inference that such an absurd explanation might indicate

a consciousness of guilt.

The trial court, following a hearing, concluded

that there had been no intentional violation of the

discovery order, and that the evidence’s tardy disclosure

was excused. The following courtroom colloquy took

place.

"The Court: Let me ask you this. Since he didn’t

have this information before and didn’t have an

opportunity to give you this discovery before, if you have

got a surprise element, then what do we need to enable

you to deal with this situation? ... If you need some

time to do some investigation or check anything else out

brought out of the surprise element, I am willing to give

you that. But as far as if you want to wait until your

cross-examination and have somebody check something

out or do anything, I am willing to accommodate you that

way.

"Ms. Simpson [defense attorney]: I would be

asking for some kind of instruction.

| "The Court: Before we do that, why don’t you do

your investigation or whatever it is, if you are asking for

time, then let’s deal with it and then when we come back

then we can decide how to best handle it. It may be

something that you are going to get anyway in the natural

course of things. If you could have gotten it in the

natural course of things, then it may not be that

damaging... . I feel .iat if there is a need for you to

have further time to investigate into the origin and scope

of this comment that is alleged to be made by your client,

then I am willing to accommodate you.

A-67

"Ms. Simpson: I would.iike..to have that

opportunity.

"The Court: Okay. -.Can you do that by

tomorrow morning?

"Ms. Simpson: I think I"protubly<can."

We perceive neither abuse of:disctetion,nor error,

in the trial court’s resolution of thé problem.

III. Contention: “The trial court -erred in admitting

appellant’s statement which was the: fruit of an

unconstitutional interrogation."

On the evening of Tori’s death, police officers,

investigating the case, had questioned both McGuire and

his wife. At that point McGuire was’nort under arrest or

in custody; he had been so informed and the police had

no intention of arresting:.him. And the Miranda

admonition was not given. The couple were then asked

to come to the police station thé following day, and the

decision to appear was theirs. “ Both parties “readily

agreed." But by the time of their police station visit the

next day, suspicion had focused oh-McGuire. Before any

questioning, he was given-.an appropriate Miranda

admonition, and the parties:. reiterated:“their earlier

statements.

McGuire’s instant argument is thatthe first police

inquiry was in violation of Mianda,.iand that his

subsequent Mirandized statements, offered in evidence at

the trial, were its unconstitutional "fruits." _ The superior

court had disagreed.

"{T]he trial court’s ruling on a‘Mirunda issue may

not be set aside by us unless it is ‘palpably erroneous.”

(In re Eric J., 25 Cal.3d 522, 527.)

A-68

“custodial interrogation." In Oregon v. Mathiason

429 U.S. 492, 494-495, the nation’s high court stated: _

“Our decision in Miranda set forti: rules of police

Procedure applicable to ‘custodial interrogation.’ “By

custodial interrogation, we mean questioning initiated by

law enforcement officers after a person has been taken

into custody or otherwise deprived of his freedom of

action in any significant way.’ 384 US. at 444,

Subsequently we have found the Miranda principle

applicable to questioning which takes place in a prison

setting during a suspect's term of imprisonment on a

separate offense. Mathis v. United States, 391 U.S. (1968),

eras eeesuoning taking place in a suspect's home, after

arrested and is no

he pleases... ." nee SD pp chee

A-69

IV. Contention: “Prosecutorial misconduct was s0

prejudicial that appellant was denied a fair trial."

McGuire makes four assignments of such

misconduct.

It is first argued that the prosecutor charged in

his jury argument, that Mrs. McGuire’s “confession” that

she had “hit" Tori on the date of the child’s death, was

fabricated. Such a statement had some record support.

It was accordingly not misconduct.

It is also argued that “the D.A. implied that court

rulings were incorrect." We find nothing in the record

reasonably supportive of the argument. And the

prosecutor’s reference to first degree murder was patently

harmless, for, as noted, the jury’s verdict was of second

degree murder.

Moreover, we note that as to three of the four

assignments, no trial court objection was made, and that

as to all of them no alleviating jury admonition, which

sought. The misconduct charges are for those reasons not

cognizable on appeal. (People v. Green, 27 Cal.3d a, 27-

36.) And as said in People v. Fosselman, 33 Cal.3d 572,

581: "{G]enerally such [claims of misconduct] are deemed

waived if the defendant does not object to them at

trial.... He may raise the issue for the first time on

appeal only if the trial court could not have cured the

harm flowing from the misconduct by a prompt

admonition to the jury.... In the present case the harm

could have been cured by timely warnings, and hence

defendant may not now be heard to complain.”

A-70

The judgment is affirmed.

WE CONCUR:

Elkington, Acting P-J.

Holmdahl, J.

A-71

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.