Opposition Brief — Douglas Vincent Metheny v. M.C. Hamby, Warden

Supreme Court brief1988

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

EDITOR'S NOTE

THE FOLLOWING PAGES WERE POOR HARD COPY

AT THE TIME OF FILMING. IF AND WHEN A

BETTER COPY CAN BE OBTAINED, A NEW FICHE

WILI. BRE ISSURD.

; ou

. Supreme Court, US.

Ly geile Fic.7D

iA L pau e |

Yow “sy JUN 15 1988

ce Me

. soe - JOSEFH F. SPariOl, JR.

* = No. 87-6703 i

we *

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

DOUGLAS VINCENT METHENY,

Petitioner,

Vv.

M.C. HAMBY, Warden, et al.,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

W.J. MICHAEL CODY

Attorney General of Tennessee

JERRY L. SMITH

Deputy Attorney General

WAYNE E. UHL

Assistart Attorney General

Counsel of Record

Office of the Attorney General

450 James Robertson Parkway

Nashville, Tennessee 37219-5025

(615) 74) 6421

Counsel for Respondents

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether an alleged violation of the trial-before-

return provision of Article IV(e) of the Interstate Agreement on

Detainers, in the absence of any allegation or proof that the

violation harmed the defense in any way, can constitute a

“fundamental defect” in the prosecution which justifies the

extraordinary relief of habeas corpus under 28 U.S.C. § 2254.

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW .

OPINIONS BELOW

JURISDICTION

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT OF CERTIORARI:

THIS CASE DOES NOT PROPERLY PRESENT THE ISSUE OF WHETHER

I.

Il.

IAD CASES ARE COGNIZABLE, AS NO DETAINERS WERE

FILED AND THE IAD DID NOT APPLY TO THE CASE.

IN ANY EVENT, THE SPLIT AMONG THE COURTS OF APPEALS

ON IAD COGNIZABILITY IS NOT SUBSTANTIAL ENOUGH

TO REQUIRE RESOLUTION BY THIS COURT. oe 8 e

A. The Existence of the Split

B. The Effect of the Split

. THE MAJORITY POSITION FOLLOWED BY THE SIXTH

CIRCUIT IN THIS CASE IS A CORRECT INTERPRETATION

OF THIS COURT'S PRECEDENTS. °

CONCLUSION

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

APPENDICES:

Metheny v. Hamby, 835 F.2d 672 (6th Cir. 1987)

Order of Distriet Court, 8/13/86

Report and Recommendation of Magistrate, 3/21/86

State v, Metheny, 589 S.W.2d 943

cream. Cesm. Gee. B97OP . 2. © «

othe

3

ll

13

17

17

App.

App.

App.

App.

CASES:

Booker v. Wainwright

703 F.2d 1251 (llth Cir.),

cert. denied 464 U.S. 922 (1983)

Bonner v. City of Pritchard

661 F.2d 1206 (llth Cir. 1981)

Bowen v. Johnston,

306 U.S. 19 (1939)

Brown v. Wolff,

706 F.2d 902 (9th Cir. 1983)

Bush v. Muncy,

659 F.2d 402 (4th Cir. 1981),

cert. denied 455 U.S. 910 (1982)

Carchman v. Nash,

473 U.S. 716 (1985)

Carlson v. Hong,

707 F.2d 367 (9th Cir. 1983)

Casper v. Ryan,

822 F.2d 1283 (3rd Cir. 1987)

Cavallaro v. Wyrick,

701 F.2d 1273 (8th Cir.),

cert. denied 462 U.S. 1135 (1983)

Cody v. Morris,

623 F.2d 101 (9th Cir. 1980)

Commonwealth v. Florence,

7 Mass. App. 126, 387 N.E.2d

(1979) oe Oe ee ee eee

Cuyler v. Adams,

449 U.S. 433 (1981)

Davis v. United States,

417 U.S. 333 (1974)

Delaware v. Van Arsdall,

475 U.S. » 6 B.C. 34631,

89 L.Ed.2d 674 (1986) ‘

Echevarria v. Bell,

579 F.2d 1022 (7th Cir. 1978)

Edwards v. United States,

564 F.2d 652 (2nd Cir. 1977)

Fasano v. Hall,

615 *.26 555 (ist Cire.),

cert. denied 449 U.S. 867 (1980)

Florida v. Royer,

460 U.S. 491 (1983)

Foran v. Metz,

463 F.Supp. 1088 (S.D. N.Y.), aff'd without

opinion 603 F.2d 212 (2nd Cir.),

cert. denied 444 U.S. 830 (1979)

-iii-

14

Frisbie v. Collins,

342 U.S. 519 (1952)

Gibson v. Klevenhagen,

777 F.2d 1056 (Sth Cir. 1985)

Greathouse v. United States,

655 F.2d 1032 (10th Cir. 1981),

cert. denied 455 U.S.

Grizzell v. Tennessee,

926 (1982)

601 F.Supp. 230 (M.D. Tenn.)

appeal dism'd 746 F.2d 1476 (6th Cir.

Hill v. United States,

368 U.S. 424 (1962)

Hitchcock v. United States,

580 F.2d 964 (9th Cir.

Huff v. United States,

599 F.2d 860 (8th Cir.

cert. denied 444 U.S.

Johnson v. Stagner,

761 F.2d 758 (9th Cir.

Ker v. Illinois,

119 U.S. 436 (1886)

Kerr v. Finkbeiner,

757 F.2d 604 (4th Cir.

cert. denied 474 U.S.

Mars v. United States,

615 F.2d 704 (6th Cir.

cert. denied 449 U.S.

Martens v. Shannon,

836 F.2d 715 (lst Cir.

Metheny v. Hamby,

6835 F.2d 672 (6th Cir.

Metheny v. State,

589 S.W.2d 943 (Tenn. Crim. App.),

1978)

),

952 (1979)

1986)

),

929 (1985)

),

849 (1980)

1988)

1987)

cert. denied id. (Tenn. 1979),

cert. denied 445 U.S.

Nash v. Jeffes,

739 F.2d 878 (3rd Cir.

Ridgeway v. United States,

558 F.2d 357 (6th Cir.

cert. denied 436 U.S.

Rose v. Clark,

U.S.

Sassoon v. Stynchombe,

654 F.2d 371 (Sth Cir.

Shack v. Attorney General of Pennsylvania,

106 S.Ct.

967 (1980)

1984)

1977),

946 (1978)

1981)

776 F.2d 1170 (3rd Cir. 1985),

cert. denied 475 U.S.

1030 (1986)

Shigemura v. United States,

726 F.2d 380 (8th Cir.

1984)

-iv-

3101 (1986)

10

15

13,

16

ll

16

8,

10

14

12

State v. Boone,

40 Md. 41, 388 A.2d 150 (1978).

Stone v. Powell,

428 U.S. 465 (1976)

TinghitelIla v. California,

718 F.2d 308 (9th Cir. 1983)

United States ex rel. Esola v. Grooms,

520 F.2d 830 (3rd Cir. 1975)

United States ex rel. Holleman v. Duckworth,

592 F.Supp.

1423 (N.D. Ill. 1984),

rev'd 770 F.2d 690 (7th Cir. 1985),

cert. denied 474 U.S. 1069 (1986),

on remand 652 F.Supp. 82 (N.D. Ill. 1986)

United States v.

Black,

609 F.2d 1330 (9th Cir. 1979)

United States v.

601 F.2d 390

United States v.

436 U.S. 340

United States v.

441 U.S. 780

United States v.

Boniface,

(9th Cir. 1979)

Mauro,

(1978)

Timmreck,

(1979)

Williams,

615 F.2d 585 (3rd Cir. 1980)

Webb v. Keohane,

6804 F.2d 413 (7th Cir. 1986)

STATUTES AND RULES:

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1)

28 U.S.C. § 2101(c)

28 U.S.C. § 2254

28 U.S.C. § 2255

Fed. R. Crim. P. 32(a)

Interstate Agreement on Detainers,

Tenn. Code Ann. § 41-31-101

Tenn. R. Crim. P. 4(a)

-vV-

14

10, 12

10

9, 15

passim

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Sixth Circuit in this case is now published at 835 F.2d

672. A copy is attached as Appendix A.

The order of the United States District Court for the

Middle District of Tennessee adopting the report and

recommendation of a magistrate, and the report and

recommendation itself, are not published. Copies are attached

as Appendices B and C to this brief.

The opinion of the Tennessee Court of Criminal Appeals

affirming the petitioner's convictions on direct appeal is

published at 589 S.W.2d 943. A copy is attached as Appendix D.

JURISDICTION

This Court has jurisdiction to consider this petition

under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1). Docketing cf the petition appears to

have been timely under 28 U.S.C. § 2101l(c).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner was charged with first-degree burglary and

armed robbery in Anderson County, Tennessee in January 1977, and

was captured by federal officers in Mississippi in March 1977.

He was also charged with a federal offense, and was brought to

the Eastern District of Tennessee.

Pursuant to the writ of habeas corpus ad prosequendum

issued by the Anderson County Criminal Court, petitioner was

brought there for a preliminary hearing on May i3, 1977.

Shortly thereafter he was convicted of the fedéral charge and

transported to a federal pris-n in Kansas to serve his sentence.

In July 1977 petitioner was returned to Anderson

County by federal authorities pursuant to a second writ of

efe

habeas corpus ad prosequendum, and he was indicted and

arraigned. Petitioner's counsel requested that trial he set

several months later to allow petitioner to undergo surgery.

Petitioner was then returned to the federal prison.

Petitioner's counsel subsequently moved to dismiss the

indictment on the ground that he had not been tried when brought

to the state court, in violation of Article IV(e) of the

Interstate Agreement on Detainers (IAD), Tenn. Code Ann.

§ 41-31-101. The state trial court denied the motion, finding

that its writs of habeas corpus ad prosequendum were not

“detainers” under the IAD.

Petitioner was brought back to Anderson County on a

third writ of habeas corpus ad prosequendum to stand trial in

July 1978. He was convicted of first-degree burglary and armed

robbery, and was further found to be an habitual criminal and

given a life sentence. At no time was a detainer filed under

the IAD; each time petitioner was returned to Anderson County,

it was on the basis of a writ of habeas corpus ad prosequendum.

In his direct appeal to .the Tennessee Court of

Criminal Appeals petitioner did not challenge the sufficiency of

the convicting evidence. Among the legal issues raised was his

IAD claim, which was denied on the basis of this Court's

decision in United States v. Mauro, 436 U.S. 340 (1978).

Metheny v. State, 589 S.W.2d 943, 945 (Tenn. Crim. App.), cert.

denied id. (Tenn. 1979), cert. denied 445 U.S. 967 (1980).

State post-conviction proceedings resulted in the denial of

relief, and the instant petition for habeas corpus under 28

U.S.C. § 2254 was filed in the district court in January 1984.!

After an evidentiary hearing before a magistrate, he

recommended dismissal of the petition. The magistrate found the

Igarlier federal petitions had been filed, but were dismissed on

procedural grounds.

ofe

IAD issue to be cognizable as an issue of federal law, citing

Carchman v. Nash, 473 U.S. 716, 719 (1985). App. C-ll - C-l2.

On the merits, however, the magistrate found on alternative

grounds that no IAD violation had occurred. The district court

adopted the report and recommendation without comment, and

dismissed the petition. App. B.

The court of appeals affirmed, but on the ground that

the IAD violation alleged by the petitioner was not cognizable

under 28 U.S.C. § 2254. The court reaffirmed that a violation

of the trial-before-return provision of IAD art. IV(e) does not

constitute a “fundamental defect” in the prosecution justifying

habeas corpus relief, at least not “in the absence of

exceptional circumstances.” 6835 F.2d at 675.

Again, no detainer was ever issued to obtain the

petitioner's presence in Anderson County. Moreover, petitioner

has never alleged at any point in these proceedings that the

failure to try him the first two times he was brought to

Anderson County resulted in any prejudice to his ability to

defend himself in July 1978.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT OF CERTIORARI

I. THIS CASE DOES NOT PROPERLY PRESENT THE ISSUE OF WHETHER

1AD CASES ARE COGNIZABLE, AS NO DETAINERS WERE FILED AND

THE IAD DID NOT APPLY TO THE CASE.

The petitioner has presented his claim, and the Sixth

Circuit treated it, as an issue arising under the Interstate

Agreement on Detainers (IAD). Without addressing the merits,

the Sixth Circuit determined that even a facially valid claim of

an IAD violation, in the absence of an allegation of prejudice,

cannot justify habeas corpus relief and is therefore not

cognizable. However, a review of the petitioner's claims

demonstrates that this is not an IAD case at all, and would

ofe

therefore be an inappropriate vehicle for the determination of

the cognizability issue presented by the petitioner.

The petitioner's primary claim below was that he was

thrice brought to Anderson County on writs of habeas corpus ad

prosequendum, but was not tried until the third time. He

contended that the writs were “detainers” under the IAD, and

that his return without being tried violated art. IV(e) thereof.

In fact, this Court examined in 1978 the issue of

whether writs of habeas corpus ad prosequendum are “detainers,”

and answered in the negative. United States v. Mauro, 436 U.S.

340 (1978). Thus this case is not even a case falling under the

IAD, and does not provide the necessary predicate for

cons¢deration of the issue of whether IAD cases are cognizable.

This conclusion is not altered by the fact that the

magistrate analyzed the merits anew, on the basis of his concern

that Mauro did not control cases in which state writs are issued

to federal] prison authorities.* First, as the magistrate

demonstrated, the Mauro analysis leads to the same result in the

case of state writs. App. C-1ll - C-20. Second, even assuming

that state writs are not binding on federai authorities, they

are not thereby converted to “detainers,” but instead are merely

void. The fact that a defendant is brought within a court's

jurisdiction on a void writ that has been honored nonetheless,

or by some other illegal means outside the IAD, has no effect on

the jurisdiction of the court to try and convict the defendant.

Frisbie v, Collins, 342 U.S. 519, 522 (1952); Ker v. Illinois,

119 U.S. 436, 444 (1886).

20ther courts had held since Mauro that the nonbinding nature of

state court writs is irrelevant. See, e.g., Commonwealth v.

Florence, 7 Mass. App. 126, 387 N.E.2d 152, 153 (1979); State v.

Boone, 40 Md. 41, 388 A.2d 150, 151 nm. 3 (1978).

~~

The petitioner also raised in the district court and

court of appeals an alternative argument which was not expressly

eddressec in any of the opinions, but which has no effect on the

above analysis. He contended that the original state arrest

warrant, which simply charged him with the offenses and

commanded his arrest, was actually a “detainer.” If so, then

the subsequent writs of habeas corpus constituted “written

requests” triggering IAD art. IV. Mauro, 436 U.S. at 361-365.

However, it is clear that a mere arrest warrant cannot

be a “detainer” triggering the IAD. A “detainer” has been

defined as a notice to prison officials that charges are pending

against an inmate, and requesting notification to the sender

before the inmate is released. Ridgeway v. United States, 558

F.2d 357, 360 (6th Cir. 1977), cert. denied 436 U.S. 946

(1978). The arrest warrant was not a notice of pending charges,

as no charges were pending when the warrant was drawn. Neither

did the warrant purport to request notification of release;

rather, it demanded arrest. Finally, a “detainer” may be lodged

by a prosecutor or law enforcement officer, Mauro, 436 U.S. at

358, while a Tennessee arrest warrant may be issued only by a

magistrate or clerk, Tenn. R. Crim. P. 4(a). Therefore, the

petitioner's arrest warrant argument does not bring this case

within the IAD any more than his writ argument.

If the Court wishes to resolve the cognizability

issue, therefore, it should await a case in which a true IAD

issue has been raised, rather than a non-IAD case such as this.

Il. IN ANY EVENT, THE SPLIT AMONG THE COURTS OF APPEALS ON IAD

COGNIZABILITY IS NOT SUBSTANTIAL ENOUGH TO REQUIRE

RESOLUTION BY THIS COURT.

The issue in this case is relatively narrow. The

respondents do not contest that the Interstate Agreement on

Detainers is a “law[{) .. . of the United States” authorized by

the Compact Clause and therefore subject to interpretation by

federal courts in a habeas corpus proceeding. Carchman v. Nash,

afe

473 U.S. 716, 719 (1985); see Cuyler v, Adams, 449 U.S. 433,

438-442 (1981). Instead, th. respondents contend and the Sixth

Circuit held that a violation of the trial-before-return

Provision of IAD art. IV(e), in the absence of a specific

showing of prejudice, cannot constitute a

fundamental defect which inherently

results in a complete miscarriage of

justice, nor an omission inconsistent

with the rudimentary demands of fair

procedure. It does not present

“exceptional circumstances where the

need for the remedy afforded by the

writ of habeas corpus is apparent.”

Hill v. United States, 368 U.S. 424, 428 (1962) (citations

omitted). This issue is termed an issue of “cognizability” as

opposed to jurisdiction, as it relates Primarily to whether

relief will be granted if a violation is found.

In this context, the respondents contend that the

split of authority relied upon by the petitioner is relatively

insubstantial, and does not merit review by the Court.

A. The Existence of the Split

The split of authority on the cognizability of IAD

violations in habeas corpus cases is largely illusory. The

following list catalogs those courts of appeals which have

agreed with the Sixth Circuit and held that violations of the

trial-before-return provisions of the IAD are not cognizable, in

the absence of a specific showing of resulting prejudice. Each

citation indicates which habeas corpus statute and IAD

provision(s) were involved.3

3This Court has conclusively held that the habeas corpus

remedies relating to state and federal convictions, 28 U.S.C.

§§ 2254 and 2255, respectively, are “identical in scope.” Davis

v. United States, 417 U.S. 333, 343-344 (1974); Hill v. United

States, 368 U.S. 424, 427 (1962); United States v. Hayman, 342

U.S. 205 (1952).

FIRST CIRCUIT: Fasano v. Hall, 615 F.2d 555, 557-558 (lst

Cir.), cert. denied 449 U.S. 867 (1980) (28 U.S.C.

§ 2254 case, alleged violations of IAD art. III(d)

trial-before-return provision and art. III(a)

trial-in-180-days provision); Martens v. Shannon, 836

F.2d 715, 718 mn. 4 (lst Cir. 1988) (§ 2254, art.

IlI(a) triali-in-180-days).

SECOND CIRCUIT: Edwards v. United States, 564 F.2d 652 (2nd

Cir. 1977) (§ 2255, art. IV(e) trial-before-return) ;

Foran v. Metz, 463 F.Supp. 1088, 1096 (S.D. N.Y.),

aff'd without opinion 603 F.2d 212 (2nd Cir.), cert.

Genied 444 U.S. 830 (1979) (§ 2254, art. III(a) and

IV(c) 180-day and 120-day provisions).

FOURTH CIRCUIT: Bush v. Muncy, 659 F.2d 402, 407-409 (4th Cir.

1981), cert. denied 455 U.S. 910 (1982) (§ 2254, art.

III(d) and IV(e) trial-before-return); Kerr v.

Finkbeiner, 757 F.2d 604 (4th Cir.), cert. denied 474

U.S. 929 (1985) (§ 2254, art. III(a) trial-in-

180-days).

FIFTH CIRCUIT: Sassoon v. Stynchombe, 654 F.2d 371, 374-375

(Sth Cir. 1981) (§ 2254, art. IV(e) trial-before-

return) .4

SIXTH CIRCUIT: Mars v. United States, 615 F.2d 704, 706-707

(6th Cir.), cert. denied 449 U.S. 849 (1980) (§ 2255,

art. IV(e) trial-before-return; with dicta applying to

art. IV(c) trial-in-!20-days provision, 615 F.2d at

705 mn. 5); Metheny v. Hamby, 835 F.2d 672 (6th Cir.

1987) (§ 2254, art. IV(e) trial-before-return) ;

“But cf. Gibson v. Klevenhagen, 777 F.2d 1056 (Sth Cir. 1985),

in which § 2254 habeas relief was granted for a two-and-one-

half-year violation of art. III(a) (trial-in-180-days). The

opinion does not mention cognizability or cite Davis,

suggesting that the issue was not even raised by the parties.

Neither does the opinion cite Sassoon, and could hardly be

considered to have overruled it.

ae

Gri«e ll_v. Tennessee. 601 F.Supp. 230, 231 (M.D.

Tenn.), appeal dismissed 746 F.2d 1476 (6th Cir. 1984)

(§ 2254, art. III(a) trial-in-180-days).

EIGHTH CIRCUIT: Huff v. United States, 599 F.2d 860 (8th

Cir.), cert. denied 444 U.S. 952 (1979) (§ 2255, art.

Iv(e) trial-before-return); Cavallaro v. Wyrick, 701

F.2d 1273, 1275 (8th Cir.), cert. denied 462 U.S. 1135

(1983) (§ 2241 pretrial, art. IV(d) pretransfer

hearing, writ granted by 2-1 decision based on express

finding of “exceptional circumstance”) ;> Shigemura v.

United States, 726 F.2d 380, 381 (8th Cir. 1984)

(§ 2255, art. IV(e) trial-before-return).

NINTH CIRCUIT: Hitchcock v. United States, 580 F.2d 964, 966

(9th Cir. 1978) (§ 2255, art. IV(e) trial-before-

return); United States v. Boniface, 601 F.2d 390, 394

(9th Cir. 1979) (§ 2255, art. IV(e) trial-before-

return); Carlson v. Hong, 767 F.2d 367, 368 (9th Cir.

1983) (§ 2254, art. IV(e) trial-before-return).

TENTH CIRCUIT: Greatc.se v. United States, 655 F.2d i052,

1034 (10t' Cir. 198 ), cert. denied 455 U.S. 926

(1982) (§ 255, art IV(e) trial-before-return).

ELEVENTH CIRCUIT: Sassoon v. Stynchombe, 654 F.2d 371, 374 (5th

Cir. 1981) (§ 2254, art. IV(e) trial-before-return) .®

Scavallaro has also been distinguished on the ground that it

was brought before the state court trial had been held, and

thus did not involve the overturning of a conviction. Shack v.

Attorney General of Pennsylvania, 776 F.2d 1170, 1173 (3rd Cir.

1985), cert. denied 475 U.S. 1030 (1986).

®sassoon was decided on August 28, 1981, and thus is binding

precedent in the Eleventh Circuit. Bonner v. City of

, 661 F.2d 1206 (llth Cir. 1981); Florida v. Royer,

460 U.S. 491, 505 nm. 10 (1983). In fact, Sassoon has been

relied upon by the Eleventh Circuit for one of its other

holdings. Booker v. Wainwright, 703 F.2d 1251, 1255 & n. 8

(llth Cir.), cert. denied 464 U.S. 922 (1983).

The petitioner cites a Ninth Circuit decision as representing

“the middle ground.” Pet. at 10. In fact, the Ninth Circuit

has found to be cognizable only those cases involving one of

the time provisions of the IAD, having found those provisions

to have roots in the speedy trial guarantee of the Sixth

Amendment. Carlson, supra, 707 F.2d at 368; Cody v. Morris,

623 F.2d 101, 102-103 (9th Cir. 1980) (§ 2254 case, art. IV(c)

trial-in-120-days); Brown v. Wolff, 706 F.2d 902, 905-906 (9th

Cir. 1983) (§ 2254, art. III(a) trial-in-180-days); Tinghitella

v. California, 718 F.2d 308, 310-311 (9th Cir. 1983) (§ 2254

case, art. III(a) trial-in-180-days); Johnson v. Stagner, 781

F.2d 758 (9th Cir. 1986) (§ 2254 case, art. III(a) trial-in-

180-days) .’ The above catalog shows that other courts of

appeals disagree with respect to the time provisions. But

since the instant case does not involve either of the time-

specific IAD provisions, it does not present that split for

resolution.

We next review those courts of appeals cited by the

petitioner as contrary to the majority position.

SEVENTH CIRCUIT. In Echevarria v. Bel], 579 F.2d

1022, 1024-1025 (7th Cir. 1978), the court took cognizance of

the alleged IAD violation (art. IV(e) trial-before-return) in a

§ 2254 case simply upon finding that the IAD is a “law[]

of the United States” under § 2254(a) without further analyzing

whether the petitioner had alleged a "fundamental defect” in

che prosecution. In Webb v. Keohane, 804 F.2d 413 (7th Cir.

1986), the court simply followed Echevarria. Moreover, in both

cases the court found other procedural bars to granting the

writ of habeas corpus, rendering academic the “fundamental

defect” question.

7The distinction between the policies and roots of the different

IAD provisions was also recognized by the Ninth Circuit in

i tates v. Black, 609 F.2d 1330, 1334 (9th Cir. 1979),

which held that the trial-before-return provisions are waivable

based partly on their nonconstitutional foundations.

wea

A district court in the Seventh Circuit found the

issue to be undecided there, and granted the writ for an art.

IV(c) 120-day violation after an extensive analysis of the Davis

"fundamental defect” doctrine. However, the decision was

reversed for a procedural default, and the writ was ultimately

denied. United States ex rel, Holleman v,. Duckworth, 592

F.Supp. 1423 (N.D. Ill. 1984), rev'd 770 F.2d 690 (7th Cir.

1985), cert. denied 474 U.S. 1069 (1986), on remand 652 F.Supp.

82 (N.D. Ill. 1986).

THIRD CIRCUIT. The “fundamental defect” issue was

also passed over in the earliest Third Circuit case, United

States ex rel. Esola v. Grooms, 520 F.2d 830 (3rd Cir. 1975),

which also rested cognizance on the “law of the United States”

determination, but remanded the case for further development of

the record. In United States v. Williams, 615 F.2d 585, 589-590

(3rd Cir. 1980), however, the court suggested that because

Congress had provided for dismissal of entire prosecutions for

violations of the IAD (see arts. III(d) and Iv(e)), it had

expressed its intent that those violations be treated as

“fundamental defects."8

In more recent cases, however, the Third Circuit has

attempted to minimize the holding in Williams. In Shack v.

Attorney General of Pennsylvania, 776 F.2d 1170, 1172-1174 (3rd

Cir. 1985), cert. denied 475 U.S. 1030 (1986), the court found

an alleged violation of IAD art. IV(d) (pretransfer hearing) to

be noncognizable, specifically distinguishing Williams and

Esola. And in Casper v. Ryan, 822 F.2d 1283 (3rd Cir. 1987),

the majority held that an alleged art. III(a) trial-in-180-days

violation is not cognizable, after taking pains to limit

Williams and Esola to trial-beforec-return violations and to note

8williams was followed by the district court in Nash v.

Carchman, 558 F.Supp. 641, 643 (D. N.J. 1983); and the issue was

not addressed in the court of appeals, Nash v. Jeffes, 739 F.2d

878 (3rd Cir. 1984); perhaps explaining why the issue was not

presented to this Court in Carchman v. Nash, ¢73 U.S. 716 (1985).

-10-

that in neither case did the court have to determine whether it

should actually grant relief. Id. at 1288-1291.9

In summary, of the eleven courts of appeals that have

arguably considered the issue in or are bound by published

opinions, nine would hold that the petitioner's alleged

trial-before-return violation would not be considered in the

absence of an allegation of actual prejudice to the defense.

The Seventh Circuit has not addressed the "fundamental defect”

issue, and the Third Circuit is in the process of questioning

and narrowing its precedent to the contrary. Resolution by this

Court is not necessary in light of the de minimis nature of the

split.

B. The Effect of the Split

Perhaps more important than 4 recital of holdings on

the issue is an analysis of the impact the split might have on

future habeas corpus cases. The respondents respectfully submit

that the present record does not indicate that

{iJm some Circuits an IAD violation

that constitutes an absolute defense

under the Agreement can, without more,

serve as the basis for habeas relief

{while in] others, prejudice must be

shown.

Kerr v,. Finkbeiner, 474 U.S. 929, 931 (1985) (White, J., joined

by Marshall, J., dissenting from denial of certiorari).

In fact, the only effect of the split thet is clear

thus far is a rather academic difference in analytical

approach. As demonstrated above, at least nine courts of appeal

would require a showing of prejudice before considering habeas

9thus the Third Circuit has taken a position exactly opposite

the Ninth Circuit, holding that only the time-specific IAD

provisions are cognizable. In fact, the Casper majority

suggests that violations of the trial-before-return provisions

are more egregious than violations of the 120- and 180-day

provisions. 6822 F.2d at 1290.

ee

corpus relief for a trial-before-return violation, 19 While the

Third and Seventh Circuits might consider the merits of an

alleged violation before evaluating prejudice, there is little

indication that either would actually grant the writ without

some showing of a “fundamental defect.”

In the Third Circuit this was foreshadowed in Casper

v, Ryan, 822 F.2d 12863 (3rd Cir. 1987), which discussed the

earlier precedent in the Circuit on the point.

We believe that Casper confuses

two separate issues: the question

whether a claim of an IAD violation is

cognizable in a section 2254 or 2255

proceeding is a different one than

whether the petitioner who can

establish only a minor violation is

entitled to the writ sought. The

binding precedent of our decisions in

Williams and Esola is that the IAD is a

“law[] of the United States” and that a

prisoner is therefore entitled to

invoke sections 2254 or 2255 by

alleging an IAD violation. However, in

Williams, we also stated, “Whether

collateral relief is granted may turn

on the merits of the alleged violation,

but we do not believe the availability

of collateral relief should be so

determined.” 615 F.2d at 590 n. 4

(emphasis in original). In fact, we

denied collateral relief to Williams

because the method by which he was

transferred had not then been held to

be governed by the _ IADA. Id. at

592-593. Similarly, in Esola, .

{w]e specifically noted that what we

were deciding was that a claimed IAD

violation stated a claim over which the

federal court had jurisdiction to grant

habeas corpus relief. {520 F.2d) at

834 & n. 16, 839.

822 F.2d at 1289. While the Casper majority conceded that a

"fair reading” of Williams “suggests” that IAD violations would

result in habeas relief without a showing of prejudice, 822 F.2d

10a; noted above (n. 3 at 5), the Fifth Circuit case of Gibson

vy. Klevenhagen, 777 F.2d 1056 (5th Cir. 1985), appears not to

have even considered the possibility of fundamental defect

analysis, and in any event concerned an egregious violation of

one of the IAD‘'s time provisions (trial did not occur for

two-and-one-half years after the defendant requested trial). We

are confident that under Sassoon v. Stynchombe, 654 F.2d 371,

374-275 (Sth Cir. 1981), the court would have at least examined

the existence of prejudice if the issue had been presented.

o)2-

at 12869 n. 9, the Casper decision at least opens the door to a

finding that the suggestion was dictum.

The situation in the Seventh Circuit is even less

clear, since no published court of appeals decision has even

reached the point of discussing whether an IAD violation is a

"fundamental defect." The fact that the court has examined the

merits of such issues does not by itself establish that the

Seventh Circuit would grant the writ without a showing of

prejudice.

Thus the present state of the issue in the Circuits is

that no court of appeals has actually granted habeas corpus

relief on a nonprejudicial IAD violation, and only in dicta has

the Third Circuit indicated that it might do so in the future.

Moreover, there is no question that every court of appeals would

authorize habeas relief upon a finding of prejudice. Until the

cognizability issue actually results in the uneven granting or

denial of habeas relief, there is no need for resolution of the

issue by this Court.

111. THE MAJORITY POSITION FOLLOWED BY THE SIXTH CIRCUIT IN THIS

CASE IS A CORRECT INTERPRETATION OF THIS COURT'S PRECEDENTS.

In Hill v. United States, 368 U.S. 424 (1962), a

§ 2255 petitioner sought relief on the ground that he had been

denied the opportunity to make a statement at his sentencing

hearing, as required by Fed. R. Crim. P. 32(a). This Court

stated:

The failure of a trial court to

ask a defendant represented by an

attorney whether he has anything to say

before sentence is imposed is not of

itself an error of the character or

magnitude cognizable under a writ of

habeas corpus. It is an error which is

neither jurisdictional nor

constitutional. It is not a

fundamental defect which inherently

results in a complete miscarriage of

justice, nor an omission inconsistent

elSe~

with the rudimentary demands of fair

procedure. It does not present

“exceptional circumstances where the

need for the remedy afforded by the

writ of habeas corpus is apparent.”

368 U.S. at 428, quoting from Bowen v. Johnston, 306 U.S. 19, 27

(1939). The Court concluded that “collateral relief is not

available when all that is shown is a failure to comply with the

formal requirements” of a procedural rule, and in the absence of

“other aggravating circumstances.” Id. at 429.

This language was relied upon in Davis v. United

States, 417 U.S. 333 (1974), in which a § 2255 petitioner sought

relief on a claim as to which the law had changed after his

conviction. After rejecting the government's assertion that

§ 2255 applies only to constitutional violations, the Court

noted that the inquiry did not end there:

This is not to say, however, that

every asserted error of law can be

raised on a § 2255 motion. In Hill v.

United States [supra], for example, we

held thet “collateral relief is not

available when all that is shown is 4

failure to comply with the formal

requirements” of a rule of criminal

procedure in the absence of any

indication that the defendant was

prejudiced by the asserted technical

error. We suggested that the

appropriate inquiry was whether the

claimed error of law was “a fundamental

defect which inherently results in 4

complete miscarriage of justice,” and

whether “{iJt . . . present(s)

exceptional circumstances where the

need for the remedy afforded by the

writ of habeas corpus is apparent.”

417 U.S. at 346. The same language was relied upon again most

recently in a guilty plea case, United States v. Timmreck, 441

U.S. 780, 783-785 (1979).

In Stone v. Powell], 428 U.S. 465 (1976), the Court

ruled that habeas corpus relief would not extend to asserted

violations of the Fourth Amendment exclusionary rule. The Court

noted with approval arguments that habeas corpus will relieve

eiée

only from those errors which “impugn the integrity of the

fact-finding process or challenge evidence as inherently

unreliable.” 428 U.S. at 479. The Court also referred to the

above-quoted language in Hil] and Davis. Id. at 477 n. 10.

Even outside the strict setting of the writ of habeas

corpus the Court has recognized the importance of a harmless

error rule, even where the error is of constitutional

dimension. The harmless error doctrine

recognizes the principle that the

central purpose of a criminal trial is

to decide the factual question of the

defendant's guilt or innocence ..

and promotes public respect for the.

criminal process by focusing on the

underlying fairness of the trial rather

than on the virtually inevitable

presence of immaterial error.

Delaware v. Van Arsdall, 475 U.S. , » 106 S.Ct. 1431,

1436-1437, 89 L.Ed.2d 674 (1986); Rose _v.

Clark,

U.S. 106 S.Ct. 3101, 3105-3107 (1986).

There is no reason why these principles should not

apply equally to alleged violations of the trial-before-return

provisions of the IAD. While the IAD promotes salutary policies

relating to rehabilitation of prisoners and resolution of

pending charges, see United States v. Mauro. 436 U.S. 340,

349-353, 359-360 (1978), these policies are by themselves

irrelevant to the determination of whether a prosecution was

fundamentally fair. Fasano v. Hal], 615 F.2d 555, 559 n.* (lst.

Cir.), cert. denied 449 U.S. 867 (1980); Bush v. Muncy, 659 F.2d

402, 409 (4th Cir. 1981), cert. denied 455 U.S. 910 (1982),

United States v. Black, 609 F.2d 1330, 1334 (9th Cir. 1979).

This is particularly true in trial-before-return cases

such as is presented by the instant petition. As noted in Part

II above, there is some disagreement over the speedy trial

implications of the IAD time provisions. However, the

_"s

petitioner in this case has not alleged such a violation, and

resolution of that disagreement would not be presented by this

case.

In fact, the petitioner has made no allegation of

prejudice at trial whatsoever. He has not alleged that his

returns to federal custody or the delay in trial impeded his or

counsel's investigation and preparation in any way, or that any

potential witness was lost to petitioner as the result of the

alleged IAD violations. The suggestion thet mere technical,

pretrial violations of the IAD would justify collateral vacation

of the petitioner's armed robbery, burglary, and habitual

criminal convictions runs contrary to this Court's precedent

cited above, and would trivialize the Great Writ.

Furthermore, the district court (through adoption of

the report and recommendation of the magistrate) found that the

petitioner did not even suffer “any loss of enjoyment of federal

prison programs” or any “sentencing problems” as a result of the

shuttling. App. C-19. Two courts of appeals have suggested in

dicta that the requisite prejudice might include a showing of

prejudice to a defendant's prison status. Mars v. United

States, 615 F.2d 704, 707 (6th. Cir.), cert. denied 449 U.S. 849

(1980); Huff v. United States, 599 F.2d 860, 863 (8th Cir.),

cert. denied 444 U.S. 952 (1979). This subissuve is not

presented by this case, and in any event has not developed among

the Circuits to the point where a split of authority exists.

ole

CONCLUSION

The petition for the writ of certiorari should be

denied.

W. J. MICHAEL CODY

Attorney General and Reporter

JERRY L. SMITH

Deputy Attorney General

stant Attorney General

ounsel of Record

450 James Robertson Parkway

Nashville, Tennessee 37219-5025

(615) 741-6421

Counsel for Respondents

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a copy of this Brief in

Opposition has been forwarded by first-class U.S. Mail to Mr.

Lionel R. Barrett, Jr., Fifth Floor, 207 Third Avenue North,

Nashville, Tennessee 37201 on June fs. 1988.

Vea

WAYN . UH

A stant Attorney General

o17-

672 835 FEDERAL REPORTER, 24 SERIES

sonable basis in law and fact See, ¢9.,

Trident Marine, 766 F.2d at 980. Whether

we will continue to apply that standard or,

instead, require a higher standard, is cur-

rently the subject of an en banc review by

the court in Riddle v. Secretary of Health

& Human Serv., 823 F.2d 164 (6th Cir

1987). However, we do not think it neces

sary to wait for the en banc decision be

cause the position of the United States in

this case did not satisfy even the lower

standard of reasonableness.

Counsel for the IRS took the position in

district court that issuance of the February

28 letter was a mistake which was correct:

ed by the March 27 letters. However, no

proof was offered that the earlier letter

was, in fact, the product of mistake. No

explanation was tendered of what the IRS

meant by “administrative error” or how

the letter could have been “mistakenly

sent” under IRS procedures. There was no

basis upon which the ciserict court could

conclude that a mistake had occurred;

there was only the unsupported assertion

of the government in its memoranda of

law. In the absence of any evidence or

explanation tending to show administrative

error and mistake, the district court was

warrantéé in rejecting the IRS's disingenu

ous argument. Accordingly, the district

court did not abuse its discretion in finding

that the position of the United States was

not substantially justified and in awarding

attorney fees to the taxpayer

The IRS's argument, that the district

court improperly awarded fees incurred

during periods when the position of the

United States was reasonable, is waived

since it was not adequately raised below, it

was first called to our attention in the

government's reply brief

The order of the district court is af

firmed

Douglas Vincent METHENY,

Petitioner-Appeliant,

MLC. HAMBY, Warden; and William M.

Leech, Attorney General of the State of

Tennessee, Respondents-Appellees.

No. 86-5974.

United States Court of Appeals,

Sixth Circuit.

Argued Oct. 6, 198°

Decided Dec. 22, 1987

State prisoner filed petition for writ of

habeas corpus, alleging state had vwlated

trial-before-return provision of Interstate

Agreement on Detainers. The United

States District Court for the Middle Dis

trict of Tennessee, Thomas A. Wiseman

Jr., Chief Judge, denied petition, and pris

oner appealed. The Court of Appeals, Alan

E. Norris, Circuit Judge, held that state's

claimed violation of trial-before-return pro-

vision of Interstate Agreement on Detain

ers was not fundamental! defect cogmzabie

in federal habeas corpus. proceeding, ab

sent exceptiona] circumstances

Affirmed

Habeas Corpus @°45.2(4)

State prisoner's claim that state had

violated trial-before-return provision of In

terstate Agreement on Deta:ners was not

fundamental defect cognizable in federal!

habeas corpus proceeding, absent excep

tional circumstances. 28 U.S.C.A. §§ 2254

2255; T.C.A. §§ 40-31-101, 40-31-101, Art

1Vie)

Lionel R. Barrett, Jr. (argued), Nashville

Tenn., for petitioner-appeliant

W.J. Michael Cody, Atty Gen., Nashville

Tenn., Wayne E. Uhi (argued), for respor

dents-appellees

Before JONES and NORRIS, Circuit

Judges, an’ PECK, Ser

Judge

or Uircuit

> ery

"SO OTF, Wha

MATHENY v. HAMBY 673

Cite a0 835 F.2d 672 (ech Cir 1987)

ALAN E. NORRIS, Circuit Judge.

Petitioner, Douglas Metheny, while in

State custody as the result of felony convic-

Bons, filed @ petition for a writ of habeas

lated the tral-before-return Provision of

Article IVie) of the Interstate Agreement

on Detainers (“IAD”) by returning him to

federa! custody from state custody without

Proceeding to trial on the State charges.

He appeals the denial of his petition by the

district court.

The threshold issue for our determina-

ton is whether Metheny’s claimed violation

of the IAD is cognizable under 28 USC

§ 2254. For if his claim 8 not cognizable,

then the district court should be affirmed

and we need not reach the other questions

raised in the appeal—whether the state ac

tually violated the IAD and, if so, whether

Metheny waived any violation

Metheny claimed that the state violated

Article IV(e) of the IAD by returning him

to federal custody from State custody on

several occasions without proceeding to tn-

al on the state charges. Custody had been

obtained by the state for proceedings pre

uminary to trial, pursuant to writs of habe

SS corpus ad proveguendum directed to

federal prison authorities. The feders!

government is a party to the IAD Methe

ny argued that Tennessee, also o party to

the IAD, had lodged detainer against him

with federa! authorities as contemplated by

the Agreement, and that the state's con-

duct violated Article Vie)

If trial is not had on any indictment,

information or complaint contemplated

hereby prior to the prisoner's being re

turned to the original place of imprison

ment pursuant to article Vie) hereof

such indictment, information or com

piaint shall not be of any further force or

effect, and the court Shall enter an order

dismissing the same with prejudice

Tenn.Code Ann. § 40-31-101 (1989)

In Mars v. United States, 615 F.2d 704

Cir.1980), cert. denied 449 US. 849

101 S.Ct. 138, 66 L.Ed 24 60 (1980), we held

that violation of the JAD was not cogniza

a

ble under 28 U.S.C § 2255, where a federal

prisoner sought postconviction relief on the

basis of a violation by the United States of

Article IV(e) of the LAD Mars was serv-

ing & prison term ip Michigan when the

Relying upon the Supreme Court's Opin-

ion in Davis v. United States, 417 U.S. 333

94 S.Ct 2298 41 L.Ed 24 109 (1974), we

held that Mars’ claim was not cognizable

under 28 USC § 2255 because the claimed

error was not a fundamenta! defect which

inherently results in a complete miscar

rage of justice, and did not present excep

tional circumstances where the need for

the remedy afforded by the writ of habeas

Corpus i8 apparent. 615 F.2d at 707

Because the error claimed by Metheny

rises to no higher a level of sernousness

than that claimed by Mars, we must deter

mine if a different standard should be ap

Plied in this appeal! solely because Metheny

8 IN State custody and seeks federa) habe

&s corpus relief under 28 U.S.C § 2254

We discern no reason to apply a higher

standard than the one set out in Davis, and

which we applied in Mars to a federa) pris

oner seeking relief under 28 USC § 2255

Certainly considerations of comity and fed

eralism argue for that result. See Francis

v. Henderson, 425 US 536, 541-42, 96

S.Ct. 1768 1711, 48 Ed 2d 149 (1976)

The Supreme Court h on numerous occa

sions commented upon similarities betweer

the relief available under 28 1: S.C. § 2255

and habeas corpus noting that 28 US ¢

§ 2255 provides to the sentencing court the

remedies which are available by habeas

corpus in the court of the district where +} ‘

prisoner is confined. See ¢ g.. Davis ;

United States. 417 | >. at 343-44, 94 S Cr

at 2304; Hil/ United States, 368 1 <

24, 427, 82 Sc 468, 471, 7] Ed. 2d 4

(1962); Heflin » Un fed States, 358 1

674 835 FEDERAL REPORTER, 2d SERIES

415, 79 S.Ct 451, 3 L.Ed.2d 407 (1959),

concurring opinion of five Justices at 421,

79 S.Ct at 454; United States v. Hayman,

342 U.S. 205, 219, 72 S.Ct 263, 272, 96

L.Ed. 232 (1952). Because 28 U.S.C.

§ 2255 is “the mouern postconviction proce-

dure available to federal prisoners,” Stone

v. Powell, 428 U.S. 465, 479, 96 S.Ct. 3037,

3045, 49 L.Ed.2d¢ 1067 (1976), and therefore

offers a wide range of postconviction relief

remedies, the relief available to a state

prisoner under 28 U.S.C. § 2254 is narrow-

er in scope, since it provides only for habe-

as corpus relief when custody is in violation

of the Constitution, laws, or treaties of the

United States. Accordingly, principles of

comity dictate that a higher standard of

cognizability be required of errors alleged

by prisoners who are incarcerated as the

result of state court proceedings, especially

when one considers that a state prisoner

has had available to him state postconvic-

tion procedures. See 428 U.S. 465, 96 S.Ct

at 3037-38; Niziolek v. Ashe, 694 F.2d 282

(ist Cir.1982)

Our conclusion, that Metheny’s claim of

a state violation of Article 1V(e) of the IAD

is not cognizable under 28 U.S.C. § 2254, is

supported by positions taken by the First

Circuit in Fasano v. Hall, 615 F.2d 555 (1st

Cir.1980), cert denied, 449 U.S. 867, 101

S.Ct. 201, 66 L.Ed.2d 86 (1980), the Fourth

Circuit in Kerr v. Finkbeiner, 757 F.2d 604

(4th Cir.1985), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 929,

106 S.Ct. 263, 88 L.Ed.2d 269 (1985) and

Bush v. Muncy, 659 F.2d 402 (4th Cir

1981), cert. denied, 455 U.S. 910, 102 S.Ct

1259, 71 L.Ed.2d 449 (1982), and the Ninth

Circuit in Carlson v. Hong, 707 F.2d 367,

868 (9th Cir.1983), but cf Tinghitella v

California, 718 F.2d 308 (9th Cir.1983) (vio

lation of LAD time provisions is a cogniza-

ble defect). In addition, three other cir-

cuits have concluded that, in the absence of

exceptional circumstances, violation of the

IAD is not cognizable under 28 USC

§ 2255: Edwards v. United States, 564

F.2d 652 (2d Cir.1977); Huff « United

Svates, 599 F.2d 860 (8th Cir. 1979), cert

denied, 444 U.S. 952, 100 S.Ct. 428, 62

L.Ed.2d 323 (1979); Greathouse v. United

States, 655 F.2d 1032 (10th Cir.1981), cert

denied, 455 U.S. 926, 102 S.Ct. 1289, 71

L.Ed.2d 469 (1982).

Opinions of other circuits are cited as

having arrived at a contrary conclusion.

However, the Seventh Circuit, in arriving

at that conclusion in Wedd v. Keohane, 804

F.2d 413 (7th Cir.1986) and Echevarria v.

Bell, 579 F.2d 1022 (7th Cir.1978), did not

undertake the two-step analysis we found

mandatory in Mars, and which also has

been utilized by the First, Second, Fourth,

Eighth, Ninth, and Tenth Circuits in the

cases cited above. The courts in the Sev-

enth Circuit cases satisfied the first step of

the analysis by determining that the IAD is

a law of the United States for purposes of

federal habeas corpus jurisdiction. How-

ever, the Supreme Court has cautioned that

the inquiry should not stop there, since not

every asserted error of federal law can be

raised on a request for habeas corpus re-

lief. Instead, it must be determined that

the claimed error is a fundamental defect

which inherently results in a complete mis-

carnage of justice and presents exceptional

circumstances where the need for the rem-

edy afforded by habeas corpus is apparent.

Davis v. United States, 417 U.S. at 346, 94

S.Ct. at 2305. Because the Seventh Circuit

did not undertake this second step of the

analysis, its opinions properly should be

cited as jurisdictional, not cognizability

holdings

The Third Circuit, in United States v

Williams, 615 F.2d 585 (3d Cir.1980), did

follow the two-step analysis in determining

that a violation of Article Vie) of the IAD

is cognizable under 28 U.S.C. § 2255, con-

cluding that such a violation amounts to a

fundamental defect. The conclusion in

Williams is, of course, the opposite conclu

sion from the one we arrived at in Mars,

but we continue to believe our conclusion in

Mars was correct. The Willams court

could find nothing to warrant treating &

claimed IAD error under 28 USC. § 2255

differently than one raised under 28 U.S.C

§ 2254, citing its earlier opinion in Es

Groomes, 520 F 2d 830 (3d Cir 1975). We

note that the Third Circuit has recently

held that not a ations of the IAD are

fundamental! defects’ and thus cognizable

a

-

°

£

Vial Vs tee

HOLLAND v. C.LR. 675

Cite as 835 F.2d O75 (th Clr. 1987)

under 28 U.S.C. § 2254. Casper v. Ryan,

822 F.2d 1283 (3d Cir.1987)

Because we are persuaded that our hold-

ing in Mars remains sound, and that a

lower standard of cognizability should not

be applied to claims brought by a state

prisoner pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2254, we

join the clear majority of the circuits in

holding that. in the absence of exceptional

circrmstances, a claimed violaton of Art-

cle [Vie) of the LAD is not a fundamental

defect which is cognizable under 28 U.S.C.

§ 2254. We therefore affirm the order of

the district court

Edward J. HOLLAND, Jr.,

Petitioner-Appellant,

COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL

REVENUE, Respondent-Appellee.

No. 86-1647.

United States Court of Appeals,

Sixth Circuit

Argued Nov. 5, 1987

Decided Dec. 23, 1987

Rehearing Denied Feb. 17, 1988.

Taxpayer sought redetermination of in-

come tax deficiency. The United States

Tax Court, Whitaker, J., determined add>-

tions to taxpayer's liability, and appeal was

taken. The Court of Appeals found that,

while trial court’s procedure PL calling

handwriting expert to determine authentici-

ty of documents presented by taxpayer was

somewhat unusual, procedure substantially

complied with requirements of Federa!

Rules of Evidence

Affirmed

* The Honorable John W. Potter, Judge. United

States District Court for the Northern District of

Internal Revenue €°4655

Tax court's procedure, in suggesting

that government procure handwriting ex-

pert witness to examine taxpayer's pur-

ported documentation of his claimed deduc

tions, though unusual, was not reversible

error where procedure substantially com-

plied with rule of evidence pe ‘mitting court

to call wimesses on its own motion and

allowing court to interrogate witnesses,

court properly sought expert advice to

avoid what might otherwise have been

fraud upon court Fed Rules Evid Rules

6l4(a, b), 706(a), 28 U.S.C.A.

Stanley H. Pitts, Frederick A. Patmon

(argued), Detroit, Mich., for petitioner-ap

pellant.

Jean Owens, Acting Counsel, IRS, M+

chael L. Paup (Lead Counsel), Roger M.

Olsen, Tax Div.—Dept of Justice, Wash-

ington, D.C., Charles E. Brookhart, Joan I.

Oppenheimer (argued), for respondent-ap

pellee

Before ENGEL and KENNEDY,

Cireuvit Judges, and POTTER, District

Judge.”

PER CURIAM

This is an appeal from a decision of the

United States Tax Court redetermining the

income tax deficiency and determining ad-

ditions to the tax liability of petitioner-ap-

pellant Edward J. Holland, Jr. The Tax

Court’s opinion is published at Holland v.

Commissioner, 51 T.C.M. (CCH) 172

(1985).

On July 14, 1982 the Internal Revenue

Service sent Holland a notice of deficiency

for the 1977 and 1978 tax years disallowing

a number of claimed deductions. The defi-

ciency was assessed on the basis of Hol-

land's failure to prove that the transactions

alleged in those deductions ever occurred

Holland then petitioned the tax court for a

redetermination of his tax lability on Octo

ber 9, 1982

Ohio, sitting by designation

A-4

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE MIDDLE DISTRICT OF TENNESSEE,

COLUMBIA DIVISION

RECEIVED FOR ENTRY

_M

DOUGLAS VINCENT METHENY

AUG 13 1386

v. ) NO. 1-84-0003 a OSE

) ° nA

Y

LARRY LACK, Warden } B =

ORDER é

This cause came on for oral argumert on petitioner's objections to the Report

and Recommendation of the Magistrate on August 7, 1986. Upon consideration of the

briefs filed herein and the arguments of counsel in open Court, this Court is of the

opinion that the Magistrate's Report and Recommendation is correct in both law and

fact. This Court adopts the Magistrate's Report and Recommendation as its findings

(Eo

of fect and conclusions of law.

The petition is therefore dismissed.

CHIEF JUDGE

APPENDIX B Auc 13 1686

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT x F j : E C

FOR THE MIDDLE DISTRICT OF eaetate re

NASHVILLE DIVISION

DOUGLAS VINCENT METHENY

Petitioner,

No. 1:84-0003

Judge Wiseman

v.

LARRY LACK, Warden

ee eee ee eee ee ee ee

Respondent.

REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION

I. INTRODUCTION

This petition was referred to the Magistrate by the Honorable Thomas A.

Wiseman, Jr., Chief Judge, by Order dated December 13, 1984. The Magistrate was

directed to prepare a Report and Recommendation pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 636(b)1XB).

Counsel was appointed to represent the Petitioner. In light of the length of petitioner's

state court proceeding and the complexity and multiplicity of Petitioner's claims, hearings

on this petition were continued at petitioner's request on several occasions.

The first hearing was held on September 30, 1985, on the respondent's

"procedural default" defense to several of Petitiuner's claims.! The second hearing was

held on Jar. ary 10, 1986, and focused upon the Petitioner's claim of a violation of te

Interstate * greement on Detainers Act (hereinafter "IAD"), 18 U.S.C. App. Art. I, et. :

that was cr nceded by the Respondent to be proper for federal habeas corpus review.

lgee, Hockenbury v. Sowders, 620 F.2d 111 (6th Cir. 1980) cert. denied 450 U.S.

933, 101 S.Ct. 1395-87 L-EG74 367 38 “Ed.2d 1). ee

-~

APPFNDIX C

C-1

For the reasons set forth below, the Magistrate recommends that Metheny's

petition for the writ of habeas corpus be denied. The Magistrate finds that no IAD

violation is presented under the facts or the applicable law. Further, the Magistrate finds

that except for his IAD and certain other claims that were raised on direct appeal,

Metheny's claims are barred from federal habeas corpus review due to Metheny's failure to

raise these issues on direct appeal of his state court convictions; Metheny's procedural

default for his failure to appeal to the Tennessee Supreme Court on the denial of his state

post-conviction petition; and Metheny's failure to satisfy the “cause and prejudice”

standard in this federal proceeding for these procedura! defaults.

fl. PROCEDURAL HISTORY OF METHENY'S CLAIMS

Petitioner, Douglas Metheny (hereinafter "Metheny" is a state prisoner who has

been convicted of crimes in the federal and state courts. This is Metheny's first

application for federal habeas corpus relief? challenging his Tennessee convictions of

armed robbery, burglary in the first degree and as an habitual criminal. In the hearing,

Metheny focused upon his principal claim that was an alleged violation of the Interstate

Agreement on Detainers Act. (hereinafter referred to as IAD or Agreement) under 18

U.S.C. Appendix Art. I. et. seg (1985).

Metheny's IAD claim was among the several claims that Metheny presented in

his motion for a new trial at the state trial “ourt and in his direct appeal to the Tennessee

Court of Criminal Appeals. See, Metheny v. State, 589 S.W.2d 943 (Tenn. Crim. App.

19749). Metheny's application for permission to appeal to the Tennessee Supreme Court was

2Metneny also raised the IAD issue in the United States District Court in

Kansas where he was held in federal custody, but that District Court declined to entertain

Metheny's habeas petition for lack of exhaustion of state remedies under 28 U.S.C.

§ 2254(b), in light of Metheny's pending state court proceedings in Tennessee. Metheny v.

oe No. 78-3136, Unite® States District Court for the District of Kansas, Memorandum

and Order filed June 12, 1978. Petitioner's Exhibit No. 5.

-2-

denied on October 22, 1979. The United States Supreme Court denied certiorari on April

14, 1980. Metheny v. Tennessee, 445 U.S. 967, 100 S.Ct. 658, 64 L.Ed.2d 243 (1980). State

post-conviction proceedings were initiated by Metheny with court appointed counsel and

post-conviction relief was denied by the state trial court and Court of Criminal Appeals.

No appeal of the Court of Criminal Appeals’ decision on the denial of post-conviction relief

was pursued in the Tennessee Supreme Court. The State concedes that Metheny has

exhausted his state remedies on the IAD issue. F sse v. Lundy, 455 U.S. 509, 102 S.Ct.

1198, 71 L.Ed.2d 519 (1982).

fl FINDINGS OF FACT

A. The Procedural Default Issues

The bases for the State's "procedural default" defense arises from Metheny’'s

failure to raise certain issues on his direct appeal in the state courts and to file an

application for permission to appeal to the Tennessee Supreme Court on the denial of his

post-conviction petition by the state trial court and the Court of Criminal Appeals. For

these failures, the State contends that Metheny is barred from presenting several of his

claims in this federal proceeding under the "Procedural Default" principles.

On his direct appeal of his state convictions, Metheny raised six issues: (1) the

alleged IAD violation; (2) the prosecutor's alleged breach of a plea agreement; (3) the trial

court's failure to give a criminal trespass charge to the jury; (4) the inclusion of foreign

felony crimes, that would be misdemeanors in Tennessee, for jury deliberation on the

habitual criminal charge; (5) the prosecutor's alleged non-compliance with the trial court's

discovery order on production of Metheny's foreign convictions and the applicable foreign

statutes; and (6) the unconstitutionality of the Tennessee habitual criminal statute on its

face and as applied. (Court Document No. 12, pp. A-9-10).

In his state post-conviction proceeding, the Court of Criminal Appeals

entertained the following claims: (1) alleged ineffective assistance of Metheny's counsel at

Metheny's preliminary hearing and trial; and (2) the alleged denial of Metheny's right to

represent himself. The Court of Criminal Appeals held to be meritless as previously

determined on direct appeal, Metheny's claims of (1) the alleged IAD violation; (2) the

alleged failure of the state to honor a plea agreement; (3) the trial court's refusal to givea

criminal trespass instruction; (4) an alleged error on consecutive sentencing; (5) the

invalidity of certain underlying convictions for Metheny's habitual criminal conviction; (6)

the constitutionality of the Tennessee habitual criminal statute; and (7) the State's non-

compliance with the trial court's discovery order. (Court Document No. 12, pp. B-41-42).

Except as noted above, the Court of Criminal Appeal also found a waiver of any other

issues in Metheny's post-conviction petitions that were not raised on direct appeal. (Court

Document No. 12, p. B-42).

These latter claims that were not raised on direct appeal and that are raised in

this petition include Metheny's allegations of ineffective assistance of counsel at his

criminal trial; the state trial court's alleged erroneous refusal to order a psychiatric

examination for Metheny's competency to stand trial; an alleged double jeopardy violation

for separate convictions of burglary and armed robbery under the same facts; the invalidity

of Metheny's habitual criminal conviction because some of Metheny's underlying

convictions were obtained without representation by counsel; the alleged lack impartiality

of the trial judge; and the improper dismissal of prospective jurors.

Metheny claims that he did not raise certain of these issues at his trial or on

direct appeal because of his counsel's decision and counsel's election of which issues to

raise at trial and on direct appeal of Metheny's conviction. The other issues that were

raised in post-conviction were not raised for the same reasons. (See Court Document No

28 and Attachments thereto). Metheny's application for permission to appeal the denial of

«ge

his post-conviction petition to the Tennessee Supreme Court was not filed allegedly due to

the destruction of the Turney Center library from an inmate disturbance. However,

Metheny who was informed of the appeal process to the Tennessee Supreme Court and the

deadlines therefor, had ample time to apply for an extension of time in which to file his

application for permission to appeal to the Tennessee Supreme Court. See, Rule 11(b)

Tennessee Rule of Appellate Procedure (Supp. 1985). Metheny is described as an intelligent

person who has proceeded pro se in the federal and state courts.

™ any event, the erticial procedural default arises from Metheny's failure to

raise the issues in this petition on his direct appeal of his state court convictions.

B. Metheny's IAD Claim

From the evidentiary hearing and records in the matter, the Magistrate finds

the following facts on Metheny's IAD claim.’ In January, 1977, Metheny was charged with

the crimes of burglary and urmed robbery. Metheny was apprehended in Natchez,

Mississippi on March 23, 1977, by federal authorities. During this time, Metheny was

charged also by federal authorities with the i: terstate transportation of stolen goods.

On May 11, 1977, a writ of habeas corpus ad prosequendum was issued to the

United States Marshal for the Eastern District of Tennessee for Metheny's state court

appearance. (See, Respondent's Documents No. 1 and 2). The federal authorities

recognized the writ. Metheny had been granted a preliminary hearing by the state court

that was held on May 13, 1977.

On May 19, 1977, after the state preliminary hearing, Metheny was convicted

on the federal charges, and sentenced to Fort Leavenworth Penitentiary. (See Court

Document No. ___).

3as noted supra, ime vuytistrate finds that Metheny Nad exhausted nis IAD

claims in the state courts.

A second state court writ of habeas corpus ad prosequendum was issued to the

United States Marshal for the Eastern District of Tennessee om June 30, 1977, for

Metheny's appearance before the state grand jury. (Court Document No. 37, pp. 4-7). (See,

Respondent's Documents No. 4 and 5). Metheny was in federal custody of the Federal

Bureau of Prisons in Kansas, but this writ also was honored by the federal authorities.

On July 11, 1977, Metneny was indicted by the Anderson County Grand Jury for

armed robbery and burglary in the first degree. (See, Court Document No. 37, pp. 8-16).

On July 29, 1977, Metheny appeared in the Criminal Court of Anderson County for an

arraignment, a bond determination, and setting of his charges for trial. (See Court

Document No. 37, pp. 17-19).

At his arraignment, Metheny and his counsel announced to the Court that they

wanted Metheny's trial postponed for severe! months because Metheny was to undergo

surgery at the federal facility. (See Court Document No. 37, pp. 17-19). The state trial

court explained to Metheny his right to a speedy trial and thereafter, continued Metheny’'s

trial. Id. at 18. (See also Petitioner's Exhibit No. 3). After the arraignment, Metheny was

returned to Federal custody in Leavenworth, Kansas.

On October 24, 1977, an order was entered by the Anderson County Criminal

Court Judge reflecting that Metheny's cases appeared on the docket that date and that the

cases were still pending before the Court. The Order indicated that the state court Judge

continued Metheny's cases fcr a period of six (6) months after hearing proof on Metheny’'s

request. (See Respondent's Document No. 19). The Order set Metheny’'s trial on state

charges for January 23, 1978. Id. at 19.

On October 28, 1977, Metheny filed a motion to dismiss all of the state charges

because he had been Drought before the state criminal courts on three separate occasions

through @ state court's writ of habeas corpus ad prosequendum and he hed not been Drought

to trial in violation of the IAD. Metheny’s motion was heard by the state court on January

+4-

23, 1978. The state trial court denied the motion, finding that the IAD did not apply toa

writ of habeas corpus ad prosequendum. (Court Document No. 37. pp. 22-24).

A third state court writ of habeas corpus av prosequendum was issued by the

Anderson County Court on April 28, 1978, to the United States Marshels in Tenyessee and

Kansas and the Warden at Fort Lavenworth Penitentiary. (Court Document No. 27, pp. 28-

31). This third writ requested custody of Metheny so that he could be available for

consultation with his defense counsel on Mey 2, 1978 and also to be present for trial on May

16 and 17, 1978. (Court Document No. 37, pp. 28-31). Again, the federal authorities

recognized the writ. However, due to an apparent delay in trial, Metheny was not

transported until July 5, 1978.

The evidence at Metheny’'s trial was that Metneny entered into the occupied

residence of Clyde and Myrtle Welch during the night and by use of a deadly weapon, a

pistol, forcibly took and carried away Welch's personal property. At the end of the trial,

Metheny renewed his motion to dismiss the charges because of alleged violations of the

IAD. The trial court denied the motion and Metheny was convicted of armed robbery,

burglary in the first degree, and of being a habitual criminal. (See, Court Document No.

37, pp. 46-49). A motion for a new trial was denied by the trial court.

IV. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

A. The Procedural Default issues

In the analysis of @ procedural default issue in a federal nabeas corpus

Proceeding, the recent decision of the Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit in Maupin v.

Smith, No. 84-5446 (filed March 5, 1986), states that the following analysis is required for

such issues:

First, the Court must determine that there is @ procedural rule

that is applicable to the petitioner's claim and that the petition

failed to comply with that rule. . .

-7-

Second, the Court must decide whether the State courts actually

enforced the state procedural sanction. . .

Third, the court must decided whether the state procedural

forfeiture is an ‘adequate and independent state ground upon

which the state can rely to close review of a state prosecutional

claim [citation om'tted). This question generally will involve an

examination of the legitimate state interest behind the state

procedural rule behind the procedural rule in light of the federal

interest in considering federal claims. . .

Once the court determines that a procedural rule was not

comglied with and that rule was an adequate and independent

state ground, then the petitioner must demonstrate under

(Meinerght vy. Sykes, 433 U.S. 72, 87, L.Ed.24d__, §.Ct.

ie, that there was ‘cause for him not fo follow the

procedural rule and that he was actually prejudiced by the alleged

constitutional error. [citations omitted) .

Maupin v. Smith, Slip Opinion at pp. 4-5.

As noted, on the procedural default issues, the Magistrate finds that the

appropriate legal standard for the evaluation of this claim is the "cause and prejudice”

standard of Wainwright v. Sykes, 433 U.S. 72, 53 L.Ed.2d 594, 97 S.Ct. 2497 (1977); Leroy v.

Marshall, F.2d (6th Cir. 1985). See also Gilbert v. Parke, 763 F.2d 821 (6th Cir.

1985); Shepard v. Foltz, 771 F.2¢ 962 (6th Cir. 1985). See also, Raper v. Mintzes, 706 F.2d

161 (6th Cir. 1983); Hockenbury v. Sowder, 620 F.2d 111, 115 (6th Cir. 1980) cert. denied

450 U.S. 933, 101 S.ct. 1395, 67 L.E¢.24 367 (1981). Further in Wainwright v. Sykes, supra,

the Supreme Court noted that this "cause and prejudice” standard may apply to "decisions

of counsel relating to trial strategy.” 433 U.S. at 91, n.14, 53 L.Ed.2d 594, 97 S.Ct. 2508.

In Reed v. Ross, 467 US. , _——L.Ed.2d __,-:104 S.Ct. 901 (1980), this suggestion

became «@ holding. In Payne v. Reese, 738 F.2d 118 (6th Cir. 1984), the Court of Appeals

affirmed the denial of habeas corpus relief to a state prisoner who failed to raise certain

issues in the direct appeal of his conviction.

Except for Metheny's claims of an IAD violation; prosecutorial misconduct;

unconstitutional habitual criminal statute; inadequate jury instructions; and effective

assistance of trial court counsel claims, the Magistrate finds that Metheny's other claims

-4-

are not proper for consideration due to his procedural defaults. In this context, the

Magistrate finds that under Reed v. Ross, 467 U.S. =, ___—sL.Ed.2d __, 104 S.Ct. 901

(1984), Metneny has not satisfied the initial showing of adequate cause for his failures

either to appeal all of these claims on direct appeal and for his failure after denial of post-

conviction petition to apply for an appeal to the Tennessee Supreme Court.

Under Maupin v. Smith, supra, analysis, the Magistrate finds first that the

Court of Criminal Appeals’ decision on Metheny's post-conviction proceedings clearly found

that Metheny waived several issues that had not been raised on direct appeal. This waiver

and preclusion is state decisional law and statutory policy. Arthur v. State, 483 S.W.2d 95

(Tenn. 1972); Tenn. Code Ann. § 40-30-112(aXb), that was found to have been violated by

Metheny.

Second, the Magistrate finds that this state procedural rule serves a valid state

interest against truncated and piecemeal appellate review of issues and errors that may

have occurred in a state criminal trial. Gilbert v. Parke, 763 F.2d 821 (6th Cir. 1985). The

federal statutory policy favors full exhaustion of state remedies. 28 U.S.C. § 2254(b). The

federal courts, as a policy matter, favor the allowance of the state courts, the initial

opportunity to correct constitutional errors and violations of federal rights in state

proceedings. Duckworth v. Serrano, 459 U.S. 1, 3, 70 L.Ed.2d 1, 4, 102 S.Ct. 18 (1981).

Adherence to this state policy, will protect fully, a state prisoner's federal claim for

review by the federal courts.

Finally, Metheny’'s failure to raise all of these issues, with the noted exceptions

on his direct appeal in the State courts, was attributed to his trial counsel. Such

attribution does not establish sufficient cause under the cause and prejudice standard.

Reed v. Ross, supra. =

Of tne other exhausted claims, the Magistrate finds that Metheny could not

raise effectively on his direct appeal the alleged ineffectiveness of his trial counsel.

However, the state court did near this claim in the state nearing on Metheny's post-

4-

conviction petition. Metheny has presented nothing to dispute or to challenge the accuracy

of the state court's post-conviction findings that Metheny had effective assistance of

counsel at his trial and upon appeal. (See Court Document No. 12, pp. B-40-47). These

factual findings are presumptively correct. Sumner v. Nata, 449 U.S. 539, 546-47, 66

L.Ed.2d 722, 730-31, 10+S.Ct. 764 (1981); 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d). Nothing has been presented

to rebut the statutory presumption on the correctness of the state court's determination on

Metheny's effective assistance of counsel claim.

Among the claims that were presented to the Court of Criminal Appeals and to

the Tennessee Supreme Court on direct appeal, the Magistrate finds that the claim as to the

state prosecutor's alleged breech of a plea agreement is proper for federal habeas corpus

review. A state prosecutor's withdrawal from a prior settlement agreement does not

constitute @ constitutional violation of Metheny's rights. Mabry v. Johnson, 104 S.Ct. 2543,

2546-47 (1984). In Mabry, Jutice Stevens writing the majority opinion, opined that a

petitioner's acceptance of prosecutor's proposed plea bargain did not create any

constitutional rights to have the bargain specifically enforced. Mabry v. Johnson, 104 S.ct.

2543, 2546-47. A plea bargain standing alone is without constitutional significance; in

itself, it is a mere executory agreement which until embodied in the judgment of the court

does not deprive an accused of any liberty interest or any other const’ uliona.ly protected

interest. Id. It is only when the defendant was not fairly appriseo of its consequences can

his plea be challenged under the Due Process Clause. Santobello v. New York, 404 U.S.

257, 92 S.Ct. 495, 30 L.Ed.2d 427 (1971).

The Tennessee habitual crimina: statute has been constitutional against «

federal constitutional challenge. Mullins v. Davis, 517 F.Supp. 7, 8 (E.D. Tenn. 1980), aff'd

661 F.2¢ 933 (6th Cir. 19861) cert. denied 454 U.S. 1151, 71 L.Ed.2d 306, 102 S.Ct. 1019

(1982). The application of this statute to Metheny does not appear to reach the proportion

of the prejudical magnitude in Solem v. Helm, _—*U.S. __, 88 L.Ed.2d 637, 103 S.Ct. 3001

-10-

(1983). The Magistrate notes that under Tennessee law, Metheny is eligible for release in

thirty (30) years. Tenn. Code Ann. § 40-28-116(b)(10). Finally, the underlying sentences

for Metheny's habitual criminal convictions were for serious crimes, to wit, assault with

intent to commit rape; armed robbery; and first degree burglary.

Finally, the state trial court's failure to give jury charges on the lesser included

offense of criminal trespass does not state a ground for federal habeas corpus relief.

O'Guin v. Floz, 715 F.2d 397 (6th Cir. 1983).

The sole exhausted and proper claim for federal habeas corpus review that

warrants extensive review is Metheny's IAD claim.

B. The State's Alleged Violation of the Interstate Agreement on Detainers

Act (IAD)

Metneny's claim is that his federal rights under the IAD were violated because

he was removed from federal custody and transferred to state custody; and returned to

federal custody on three separate occasions without a trial on the state indictment. The

State does not dispute Metheny's numerous transfers to state custody from federal custody,

but asserts that the transfers were pursuant to a state court's writs of habeas corpus ad

prosequendum and such writs are not detainers within the meaning of IAD. Thus, there was

no IAD violation in Metheny's several transfers to state custody from federal custody as

found by the state courts. At the evidentiary hearing, the State argued that Metheny

waived his rights under the IAD when his state court trial was continued at Metheny’'s

requests.

Thus, in the Magistrate's view, the question presented is whether the IAD was

violated when Metheny was transferred pursuant to the state court's writs of habeas corpus

ad prosequendum and if so, whether any such violation warrants issuance of the writ of

habeas corpus. To resolve this issue, the Magistrate finds that the legal history of the

means of effecting Metneny's transfer to the state court for prosecution must be analyzed.

The Magistrate notes at the outset that a violation of the IAD can be a ground for federal

-ll-

habeas corpus relief as a state prisoner would be held in violation of the laws of the United

States as required by 28 U.S.C. § 2254(b). See Carchmanv. Nash, U.S. , __—sS.Ct.

__»___ L.Ed.2d___ (decided July 2, 1985).

1. Tite Non-"xclusivity of the IAD as a procedure to obtain state custody

of a federai prisoner

Prior to the 1970 enastment of the IAD, the writ of habeas corpus ad

prosequendum, that derived from the English system, was employed by federal authorities

to obtain custody of a state prisoner for trial in federal court. United States v. Mauro, 436

U.S. 340, 98 S.Ct. 1834, 56 L.Ed.2d 329 (1978); Carbo v. United States, 364 U.S. 611, 81

S.Ct. 338, 5 L.Ed.2d 329 (1961). Neither the federal nor state system has abandoned the

English system as to the issuance of the ad prosequendum writs. Carbo v. United States,

364 U.S. at 611, 81 S.Ct. 338, 5 L.Ed.2d 329. Further, in Carbo, the Supreme Court

declared that the federa writ [suffered] no geographical limitation in its use." However,

as to state writs, the Supreme Court stated "[t) hat comity is necessary between

sovereignties in the adm.aistration of criminal justice in our federal-state system is given

full recognition by affording through the use of the writ both respect and courtesy to the

laws of the respective jurisdictions.” Carbo, 364 U.S. at 620, 81 S.Ct. 538, 5 L.Ed.2d 329.

It is important to note that in Carbo, the Supreme Court deemed it unnecessary to decide

what would be the effect of a federal writ of habeas corpus ad prosequendum directed to

state officials absent cooperation because the state officials in Carbo recognized the writ.

While the writ of habeas corpus ad prosequendum was the method employed by

federal courts prior to the IAD, the federal case law reflects that two methods were

utilized by state courts to coewe a federal prisoner for trial, namely, the state writ of

habeas corpus ad prosequendum and a written request filed by the state authority with th

United States Attorney pursuant to 18 U.S.C. § 4085. Dickey y. Florida, 398 U.S. 30, 34,

95 S.Ct. 1564, 26 L.Ed.2d 26 (1970); Smith v. Hooey, 393 U.S. 374, 89 S.Ct. 575, 21 L.Ed.2d

607 (1969); Ponzi v. Fessenden, 258 U.S. 254, 42 S.Ct. 309, 66 L.Ed. 607 (1922); United

-12-

States v. Trigg, 507 F.2d 949 (6th Cir. 1974), cert denied 420 U.S. 938, 95 S.Ct. 1148, pa

L.Ed.2d__, rehig denied 420 U.S. 998, _—L.Ed.2d__—(1974).

In Ponzi v. Fessenden, Chief Justice Taft, in the opinion of the Court, explained

that there was no express authority that authorized the transfer of custody of a federal

prisoner to a state court for the purpose of giving evidence in court or for trial in state

court, but stated:

Ly] et we have no doubt that it exists and is to be exercised with

the consent of the Attorney General. In that officer, the power

and discretion to practice the comity in such matters between the

federal and state courts is vested. The Attorney General is the

head of the Department of Justice... The trial court is given all

the jurisdiction needed to try and hear [the prisoner) by consent

of the United States, which only insists on the being kept safely

from escape... This arrangement of comity between the two

governinents works “9 no way to the prejudice of the prisoner or

of either sovereign».

Ponzi v. Fessenden, 258 U.S. at 254, 42 S.Ct. 309, 66 L.Ed. 607. Thus, it was established as

a permissible practice for state courts to issue state writs of habeas ad prosequendum to

obtein custody of federal prisoners and such writs were honored by federal authorities as

matter of comity to the States.

Over forty (40) years ‘ater, in a case arising in a Texas state prosecution of a

federal prisoner, a Texas Supreme Court held that Texa. courts could not compel a federal

prisoner to appear for trial. There, because the prisoner was a federal prisoner and

because two separate sovereignties were involved, the Texas state court viewed the issue

as a test of the power and authority of the state, unaided by any waiver, permission or act

of grace of any other authority to compel the prosecution of the prisoner in the state

court. Smith v. Huoey, 393 U.S. 374, 85 S.Ct. 575, 21 L.Ed.2d 607 (1969). Before the

Supreme Court, the State conceded that if it had made an effort to secure a federal

prisoner's appearance, the federal prisoner would have been produced by federal authorities

for trial in state court. Smith v. Hooey, 393 U.S. at 380-81, 85 S.Ct. 575, 21 L.Ed.2d 607.

-13-

This assurance was based upon a memorandum that the Solicitor General filed in the case.

This memorandum was cited in the Supreme Court's opinion and provided, in pertinent part:

It is the policy of the United States Bureau of Prisons to

encourage the expeditious disposition of prosecutions in state

courts against federal prisoners. The normal procedure under

which production is effected is pursuant to a writ of ad

prosequendum from the state court. Almost invariably, the

United States has complied with such writs and extended its

cooperation to state authorities. The Bureau of Prisons informs

us that removals are normally made by the United States

Marshals, with the expense borne by state authorities.

Smith v. Hooey, 393 U.S. 374, 381, 89 S.Ct. 575, 21 L.Ed.2d 607 (1969). Given the

memorandum submitted by the Solicitor General, the Supr: ne Court concluded that a state

court's writ of habeas corpus ad prosequendum would have been honored, if the state had

sought such a writ. Therefore, the Supreme Court held that a state simply could not ignore

a federal prisoner's request to be brought to trial in the state court. Smith v. Hooey, 393

U.S. 374, 381, 89 S.Ct. 575, 21 L.Ed.2d 607 (1969).

Smith v. Hooey, supra, also noted that another procedure that could have been

employed by the state, to effect the transfer of a federal prisoner to state custody for

trial. In a relatively small number of cases, federal prisoners have been produced for state

court prosecutions pursuant te 18 U.S.C. § 4085, that provides, in part:

Whenever any federal prisoner tas been indicted, informed

against, or convicted of a felony in a court of record of any state

or the District of Columbia, the Attorney General shall, if he

finds it in the public interest to do so, upon the request of the

Governor or the executive authority thereof, and upon

presentation of a certified copy of such indictment, information

or judgment of conviction, cause such a person, prior to his

release, to be transferred to a penal or correctional institution

within such State or District. 18 U.S.C. § 4085;

Smith v. Hooey, 393 U.S. at 381, 2.13, 89 S.Ct. 575, 21 L.Ed.2d 607. Apparently, 18 U.S.C.

§ 4085 is not used often because under this federal statutory procedure, differences arise

-14-

as to which sovereign is responsible for the expense involved. Smith v. Hooey, 393 U.S. at

381, 21 L.Ed.2d 607, 895 S.Ct. 5151; Trigg v. State, 507 F.2d at 953.

In sum, these decisions establish that the IAD is not the exclusive means of

effecting the transfer of a federal prisoner to the state court for purposes of prosecution

and the passage of IAD did not abrogate these other custody transfer processes under

appropriate rules of statutory construction.4 "Where Congress has enacted legislation on a

particular subject, as it has for a writ of habeas corpus ad prosequendum, subsequent

legislation will not be construed to modify, repeal or supplant the legislation, particularly,

where both statues serve distinct purposes." Rosencrans v. United States, 165 U . 297,17

S.Ct. 302, 41 L.Ed. 708 (1897). Moreover, because the legislative history of .»e IAD does

not mention the writ of habeas corpus ad prosequendum, in the Magistrate's view, it would

be error to conclude that the writ process was incorporated into the IAD or that the use of

such writs were modified by the IAD. United States v. Ridgeway, 558 F.2d 357 (6th Cir.

1977); United States v. Scallion, 548 F.2d 1168 (5th Cir. 1977).

Accordingly, the Magistrate finds that the issuance of a state court writ of

habeas corpus ad prosequendum, as employed by the State to obtain custody of Metheny

from federal custody, was merely one method of effecting Metheny's transfer. Based upon

comity considerations, this state court writ is recognized by federal officials, as it were in

this case. Thus, no IAD violation is presented.

2. The Tennessee state court writ is not a "detainer” under the IAD.

While the IAD does not define "detainer,” the legislative history of the IAD

reveals that [a] detainer is a notification filed with the institution in which a person is

serving a sentence, advising that he is wanted to face pending crimina] charges in another

jurisdiction. H.R. Rep. 91-1018, S. Rep. No. 911357, 91 St. Cong. 2d 800, 3 reprinted in

4Prior to United States v. Mauro, 436 U.S. 340, 56 L.Ed.2¢ 329, 98 S.Ct. 1834

(1978), the Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit stated that the IAD was the exclusive

means of transferring prisoners between sovereigns. See Trigg v. State of Tennessee, 507

F.2d 949, 952, n.4 (6th Cir. 1974).

xyes

1970 U.S. Code & Cong. News 4864, 4865. The IAD contemplates that in addition to

notification that the Court with jurisdiction over the prisoner must enter an approval of

the request to protect him. Article IV (a).

In United States v. Mauro, 436 U.S. 340, 56 L.Ed.2d 229, 98 S.Ct. 1834 (1978),

the Supreme Court held that a federal court's writ of habeas corpus ad prosequendum was

not a detainer within the meaning of the IAD because none of the abuses or concerns that

prompted the passage of the IAD were present with a federal court's writ of habeas corpus

ad prosequendum.

Because writs of habeas corpus ad prosequendum issued by a

federal court pursuant to the express authority of a federal

statute are immediately executed, enactment of the Agreement

was not necessary to achieve their expeditious disposition.

Furthermore, as noted above, the issuance of ad prosequendum

writs by federal courts hes a long history, dating back to the first

Judiciary Act. We can therefore assume that Congress was well

aware of the use of such writs by the Federal Government to

obtain state prisoners and that when it used the word "detainer,”

it meant something quite different from a writ of habeas corpus

ad ndum. Contrary to the contention of the Court of

pr Ta No. 76-1596, it is not necessary to construe "detainer"

as including these writs in order to keep the United States from

evading its duties under the Agreement. When the United States

obtains state prisoners by means of a writ of habeas corpus ad

r uendum, the problems that the agreement seeks to

oe do not arise; [footnote omitted), accordingly, the

Government is in no sense circumventing the Agreement by means

of the writ. We therefore conclude tnat a writ of habeas corpus

ad prosequendum is not a detainer for purposes of the Agreement.

United States v. Mauro, 436 U.S. at 360-61, 56 L.Ed.2d 329, 98 S.Ct. 1834. As noted, the

Supreme Court earlier held a federal writ of habeas corpus ad prosequendum has no

territorial limitations as to its enforcement. United States v. Carbo, 364 U.S. 611, 5

L.Ed.2d 329, 81 L.Ed.2d 338 (1961).

However, the mere fact that a writ of habeas corpus ad prosequendum is issued

for a prisoner does not foreclose the applicability of the IAD. As the Court of Appeals for

-16-

this Circuit explained, such a writ issued by a federal court can fall under the IAD under

certain circumstances.

However, where the United States lodged a detainer against a

State prisoner, triggering application of the Agreement's

provisions, a writ of habeas corpus ad prosequendum will be

considered a "written request for temporary custody within the

meaning of Article IV and the United States will be Dound by the

terms of the Agreement.

United States v. Dixon, 592 F.2d 329, 334 (6th Cir. 1979), citing United States v. Mauro,

436 U.S. at 361-62, 98 S.Ct. at 1848, 56 L.Ed.2d 329. The Court of Appeals further held

that in such instances where a detainer precedes the federal court's writ of habeas corpus

ad prosequendum:

We agree with appellant that when a4 state prisoner, subject to a

detainer, is taken into federal custody by a writ of habeas corpus

ac prosequendum, "for the purpose of permitting prosecution” or

pending federal charges, disposition of these changes must

precede the prisoner's return to state custody. Failure to do so

will result in dismissal of charges against the prisoner, with

prejudice.

United States v. Dixon, 592 F.2d at 335. The Court of Appeals noted that a prisoner may

waive his rights under Article IV of the IAD. United States v. Dixon, 592 F.2d at 336, n.9.

In contrast to the federal court's writ, a state court writ of habeas corpus has

no such unlimited legal effect to produce prisoners beyond the State's territorial limits. As

the Court of Appeals explained by citation to Judge Mansfield's dissenting opinion in United

States v. Mauro, 544 F.2d 588, 597 (2d Cir. 1976), noting that "[t] he Supreme Court in

Mauro, adopted the meaning of Judge Mansfield with respect to the purpose of Article IV(e)

of the IAD.

The purpose of Art. IV is to assure that states which former|

werless to obtain production of prisoners held by other

be able to secure their

were po pr

states or the vernment w

presence, subject to certain conditions. One of these

C-17

Conditions is that the receiving state, after obtaining the prisoner

merely upon request, will not abuse the privilege Dy returning him

untried since this would have the effect of reinstating and

indefinitely prolonging the detainer lodged against him by the

receiving state, with its prejudicial effects. (emphasis added).

United States v. Dixon, 592 F.2¢ at 336.

Although the state's writs of habeas corpus ad prosequendum lack the

extraterritorial legal euthority of a federal writ, as noted, due to the consistent show of

comity by federal officials to such state writs, as @ policy matter, such state writs can

produce the same effect as a federal writ of habeas corpus ad prosequendum.5 Moreover,

as United States v. Meuro, Supra, establishes, the IAD is not the exclusive method to

trensfer @ prisoner between sovereigns for the purpose of criminal prosecution. Thus, if a

State wi.t were issued under a permissible alternative legal process, then no IAD analysis

of Metheny’s claim is necessary.

Tne Magistrate's view of United States v. Mauro, Supra, is that (ne appropriate

analysis on this IAD claim is not upon the mere labelling of the state process, Dut rather

upon (1) the factual circumstances in which the state writ was issued and (2) whether the

abuses sought to be cured by the IAD, were present in the issuance of state writs of habeas

corpus acd prosequendum. The critical factual issue on this IAD is whether a Tennessee

Getainer preceded the state court's writ of habeas corpus ad proseguendum for Metheny’s

transfer to state authorities. The abuses that were affiliated with the passage of the IAD

are: deprivation of the prisoner's ability to take adventage of many of the prisoner's

programs aimed at rehabilitation” and "problems in sentencing ..." posed by unresolved

indictments; United States v. Meuro, 436 U.S. at 359, 360, 56 L.Ed.2¢ 329, 98 S.Ct. 1834.

Salthough decided unde: the federal All Writs Act, 28 U.S.C. § 1651, one Court

of Appeals, in dictum, observed that because writs do not pose the problems sought to be

cured by IAD, United States v. Maw See "applies with equal force regardless of tne

authority under which the writ was

hich the iss nited States v. 1, $85 F.2¢ 1130, 1136

(D.C. Cir. 1978) (writ issued by the District of Columbia sence Court to a@ Virginia

County Jailor).

-18-

In @Gcition, there was @ perceived need "to encourage the expeditious and orderly

Gisposition of | outstanding) charges and determination of the proper status of any and all

Getainers Desed on untried indictments, information or complaints.” Id. A further concern

was “thet prisoners not De shuttled Deck and forth between penal institutions.” 436 U.S. at

361, n.26, 56 L.Ed.2¢ 32%, 98 S.Ct. 1834. See also, Carchman v. Nash, supra, Slip Opinion

at p. 13, n.8.

In this case, tnere was no Tennessee detainer on Metheny prior to the issuance

of the first Tennessee court's writ of habeas corpus ad prosequendum. Second, there is no

evidence of contention by Metheny of any deprivation of his ability to participate in prison

renad. Ltation programs Dy reason of the usage of Tennessee state courts writs. When the

State court's writs were issued, the writ was honored promptly by federal officials for

purpose of resolving the outstanding Tennessee state charges. Thus, there was no delays in

Metneny's state prosecution because of any state official's misconduct. As will be

Giseussec, the only delay in the state's prosecution was at Metheny's request. Although

thee state court's writs were issued, two of the three that were issued on June 30, 1977

anc Apri 28, 1978, were caused by Metheny's request for his return to federal custody for

medical treatment at @ federal facility. Significantly, the third writ that was issued on

May 11, 1977, was six (6) days prior to when Met»eny was convicted on federal charges.

Furtner, none of these transfers caused any loss of enjoyment of federal prison

programs and, in fact, the additional writs were issued to allow Metheny to receive the

federal medical care that Metheny requested. There were no sentencing problems caused

by these writs. Any attendant shuttling of Metheny between prisons or delay in the

Gisposition of Metheny's state charges were caused by Metheny's decision. In this case,

none of the abuses or concerns of the IAD were present in the use of the Tennessee state

court writs of habeas corpus ad prosequendum. Thus, the Magistrate finds that under the

rationale of United States v. Mauro, the Tennessee state court's use of such writs is not a

detainer within the meaning of the IAD.

Moreover, state court writs of habeas corpus ad prosequendum have been held

not to be detainers under the IAD. Commonwealth v. Fusano, 375 N.Ed.2¢ 361, 364 (Mass.

App. 1978) and authorities cited therein.

3. Metheny's pre-trial detainee status bars the applicatious LAD.

Assuming that the writ of habeas corpus ad prosequendum is a detainer, (which

the Magistrate does not find), Article Ill of 18 U.S.C. § 1, App. provides:

Whenever a person has entered upon a term of imprisonment in a

penal or correctional institution of a party State, and whenever

during the continuance of the term of imprisonment there is

pending in any other party State any untried indictment,

information, or complaint on the basis of which a detainer has

been lodged against a prisoner, he shall be brought to trial within

one hundred and eighty days. . . .

The language in Article III "term of imprisonment” suggests that the IAD is not implicated

for pretrial detainees. "Term of imprisonment” has been construed inapplicable to persons

being detained for trial who are not serving prison sentences. Roberts v. United States,

548 F.2d at 665 (6th Cir. 1977) cert. denied, 431 U.S. 920, 97 S.Ct. 2188, 53 L.Ed.2¢ 232.

See also, United States v. Dobson, 585 F.2d 55 ( 1978), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 899, 99 S.ct.

264, 58 L.Ed.2d 247 ( 1978); United States v. Evans, 423 F.Supp. 528 (S.D. N.Y. 1976) aff'd

without op., 557 F.2d 56 (2nd Cir. 1977); Ridgeway v. United States, 558 F.2d 357 (6th Cir.

1977), cert. denied, 436 U.S. 946, 98 S.ct. 2858, 56 L.Ed.2d 788 (1977); United States v.

Harris, 566 F.2d 610, 612-13 (8th Cir. 1977).

The Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit has analyzed the IAD and concluded

that the IAD has two purposes: (1) to minimize interference with -articipation in

programs of prisoner treatment and rehabilitation of persons serving sentences in one

jurisdiction who have charges pending against them in another jurisdiction and (2) to

expedite trial of such pending charges. United States v. Roberts, 548 F.2d 665 (6th Cir.

1977). Thus, the IAD is applicable only to « prisoner who has been sentenced for a term of

imprisonment and who participates or is eligible to participate ‘n programs of treatment

-20-

and rehabilitation that would be obstructed by numerous absences in connection with

successive proceedings related to pending charges in other jurisdiction(s). United States v.

Roberts, 548 F.2d at 671.

Metheny was not sentenced on federal charges as of May 11th. Thus, the IAD

was not triggered by the issuance of the first state court writ even if the Magistrate

assumes that the writ issued on May 11, 1977, Was a detainer.

4. Metheny's Waiver of the LAD protections

Assuming the IAD is applicable, the Magistrate finds that the second state

court writ of habeas corpus ad prosequendum issued on June 30, 1977, was the first writ

that possibiy could have triggered the IAD. The purpose of the writ was to obtain

temporary custody of Metheny for a grand jury appearance. The Magistrate finds that on

July 29, 1977, when Metheny and his counsel appeared in open court on the writ of habeas

corpus ad prosequendum for arraignment, the setting of bond and also for the setting of the

eases for trial and Metheny requested that his trial be continued so that he would be able

to undergo surgery. The state trial court granted Metheny's request. Thus, Metheny's

request caused the issuance of the third state court writ on April 30, 1978.

The Magistrate finds that if the second writ were deemed a detainer, Article Ill

of the IAD requires that: (1) trial shall be commenced within one hundred and twenty days

of the arrival of the prisoner in the receiving state, but for good cause shown in open court,

the prisoner or his counsel being present, the court having jurisdiction of the matter may

grant any necessary or reasonable continuance; and (2) the receiving State is required to

bring the prisoner to trial on the outstanding charge before returning him to the State in

which he was previously sentenced. If trial is not had prior to the prisoner's being returned

to the original place of imprisonment, the court shall enter an order dismissing the same

with prejudice. 18 U.S.C. App. § 2, Article IVie).

The Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit has ruled that a prisoner may waive

his rights under the 1AD. In United States v. Eaddy, 595 F.2d 341, 344 (6th Cir. 1979), the

Court of Appeals stated that despite the mandatory language of Article IV, the rights

created by the Agreement are for the benefit of the prisoner and exist for his protection

and are personal to him. Eaddy, 595 F.2d at 344 citing United States v. Ford, 550 F.2d 732

(2nd Cir. 1977). Furthermore, the Court opined:

{1) nm all cases where a prisoner is aware of and understands the

provisions of Article IV, as well as Mis right thereunder, a prisoner

can waive those rights, so long as the waiver is voluntary.

Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458, 58 S.Ct. 1019, 82 L.Ed.2d 1461

(i938). We also hold that substantive rights accorded to a

prisoner under Article IV may be waived even though the prisoner

is not aware of those rights, where there is an affirmative request

to be treated in a manner contrary to the procedures prescribed

by Article IV(c) or (e) (emphasis).

United States v. Eaddy, 595 F.2d at 344.

The Magistrate finds that on June 28, 1977, Metheny made an affirmative and

knowledgeable request not to have his cases set for trial until after he had undergone

surgery. For this reason, the Magistrate finds that Metheny waived his rights under the

IAD. Therefore, there was no violation of IAD in this case even if the state court writ is

deemed a "detainer” under the IAD.

Vv. RECOMMENDATIONS

For all of the above mentioned reasons, the Magistrate recommends that

Metheny’'s application for writ of habeas corpus be denied. Pursuant to Rule 8(DX3) of the

Federal Rules Governing Section 2254 cases in the United States District Court, Metheny

hes ten (10) days from the date of receipt of this Report in which to file any objections he

mey have to the Magistrate's R and Recommendation, with the District Court.

Entered this the A/ day of March, 1986.

United States

-22-

METHENY v. STATI

he es. | ome Ape.. 668 5. W 26 045

a rite ’ arne Douglas Vincent ME THENY. Appellant

> 34 How e legisia

.

as xpressed «a : r ha

s of

sks be balanced against a concer TATE of Tennessee, Appelice

» : ©. a has therefore

our mmina! Appeals ease

| re ra T ~ wv ’

* i. : .

y. 79

evertheiless ha 4 gine

2 ne + . cam “ he nex ~ 2 ;

The W he fr “~ ao & 4

ques ne ria ige nus nake

w g ; dings we fendar was cle

’ - rt. Anderson \s ho a ‘

ethe ere w exists 5

{ armed robbery irgiar he .

~ : 4 ad ~~ ere ‘

legree no being nt ia rT A

‘ e gh rela’ atters 4 . “us a

he appealed ourt f r ‘

‘ « gate

peais orneiius, < heid nha “ f

F my ee + tte

habeas corpus ac prosequencum was

grre a = res “ P P

encompassed in the defir ’ jetainer

- 7

for purposes nvoking provisions “

ar \ was res ot | na ‘ " ;

state Agreemer n Detainers 2) evide ¢

- ; . . he dete

is lid not support an instruc , : roy "

respass as a lesser included offense of firs

real natler Ne as ral state legree burglary and 2 a a — ‘

signex “A angmire does sta 2 weer ynecons 4 s face

as “subeeque r new aco ve r as appix lefenda

‘ ‘ ca Us he substance Ne 06

Affirme

‘ wes * wr he defendar a

xplored a ria Ci os

” sa i ~ new liaco verex " ™

|. Extradition and Detainers © 52

. masis exists for a heanr

& Wr f habeas corpus « roseq ut =

” "he rema ng ,e8 ' ns rerex P aa

lum was not encom passe r ne <

he \asUance favwr é whet? , P ,

JelLainer ©” purposes king

‘ ‘ ‘ rese lm Lex would have s

visions nterstate Agreeme n Veta

~ s iffere ws — whether .

ers A 64 ~ et seq

via st w charged wit! :

¥ See publication Words and Phrases

evidence rhe ” nor _ “her udcia netru ns «

wen dismissed his basis gefinitions

,Gg me + to he Tra 2 '

« 2 Criminal Law @ 2773.1(2

are here af furrm

W here & prea agreene & accepu

a reac he ne f two res s ordinar

. . ws, depending or rcumstances r

anerif wrformance ‘ he agreeme “

re o " ne artes are res ren Ne

sta sexu » nmedciale “ re ea We

.- . 2rex

rimina! Law @ 1031/4

A gr re : r 1 :

944 Tenn

ord with regard to enforceability of a plea

agreement, defendant's failure to except to

judge's ruling precluded matter from being

raised on appeal, particularly where defend-

ant failed to make an affirmative showing

of irremediable prejudice

4. Criminal Law @ 795(1)

Evidence did not support an instruction

on criminal trespass as a lesser included

offense of first-degree burglary

5. Criminal Law @ 1210

Where indictment under which defend-

ant was convicted chareud defendant with

armed robbery, bursiary and with being an

habitual crimixai, trial court's order, which

required tefendant's sentences for first-de-

gree burglary and for armed robbery to run

consecutively to a federal sentence which

defendant was serving and to run consecu-

tively as to each other, was not improper

6. Criminal Law @ 1202(1)

Adjudication of defendant as an habit-

ual criminal could be based upon defend-

ant's Georgia conviction for taking goods of

& value in excess of $100, an lowa convic-

tion for assault with intent to rape and an

lowa conviction for receiving stolen proper-

ty. TCA. §§ 39-4208, 40-2712, 40-2201

7. Criminal Law @= 1202(7)

Defendant, who was charged with be-

ing an habitual criminal, could not claim

error as result of State's failure to disclose

certified copies of defendant's convictions

and certified statutes from out of state

upon which prosecution intended to rely

where record did not reveal a motion or an

order for disclosure of the evidence of the

convictions alleged in the indictment and

where defendant failed to establish that he

was prejudiced by not seeing the certified

documents

8. Criminal Law = 1202(3)

In defendant's habitual criminal trial

trial court did not abuse its discretion in

prohibiting defendant from testifying on

irrelevant matters

589 SOUTH WESTERN REPORTER, 24 SERIES

9. Criminal Law @ 1213

Habitual criminal! statute does not im

pose cruel and unusual punishment. T.C.A

§ 40-2801; U.S.C_A.Const. Amend. 8

10. Criminal Law @ 1202(4)

It was not error for jury that convicted

defendant of the triggering offense to de

termine defendant's status as an habitua

criminal. T.C.A. § 40-2801

11. Criminal Law @ 1206(2), 1211

Life sentence imposed pursuant to ha

bitual criminal statute upon conviction of

triggering offense of armed robbery was

not excessive and disproportionate to un

derlying offenses, which also included con

vietions for assault with intent to rape and

taking goods of a value in excess of $100

T.C.A. § 40-2801; US.C_AConst. Amend 8

Ann Mostoller, Oak Ridge, for appellant

William M. Leech, Jr., Atty. Gen., Robert

A. Grunow, Asst. Atty Nashville

Mike Lawson, Asst. Dist

ton, for appellee

Gen

Atty

Gen, Clin

OPINION

CORNELIUS, Judge

Appellant, Douglas Vincent Metheny. is

before this court on three cases appealed

from the Criminal! Court of Anderson Coun

ty. The cases are consolidated in this opin

ion, as they obviously should be

Appellant wis indicted as follows

1. Armed Robbery, January 8, 1977. of

Clyde and Myrtle Weich,

2 Burglary in the first degree, Januar)

8, 1977, by breaking and entering res

dence of Clyde and Myrtle Welch

3. Being an Habitua! Criminal, haviné

on January 8, 1977 committed the offense

of armed robbery on the persons of (ly

and Myrtle Weich when he was ther *

person who had been sever. times conv'«'

ed within the purview of Tennessee Co

Annotated § 40- 2801

METHENY v. STATE

Tenn

945

Cite as, Tena. Cr.App. 868 5. W 20 843

On July 26, 1978, a jury found appellant

guilty of burglary in the first degree and

fixed his punishment at not less than five

nor more than fifteen years in the state

penitentiary and guilty of armed robbery

with his punishment fixed at fifteen years

in the state penitentiary On the same

date, at a bifurcated hearing, the same jury

found appellant to be an habitual! criminal

as charged in the third indictment. It is

from these three convictions the appellant

is now before us assigning a total of six

errors on the part of the trial court.

{1} Appellant's first assignment of error

is that the State violated the Interstate

Agreement on Detainers, Section 40-3901,

et seq. An examination of this record does

not demonstrate that the State of Tennes-

see caused a detainer to be lodged with the

federal authorities for the appellant.'' The

appellant's counsel filed and argued a mo-

tion to dismiss the indictments because ap-

pellant had been brought before the court

three separate times through a writ of ha-

beas corpus ad prosequendum and returned

to federal custody without a trial or final

determination of his cases. The trial judge

heard the motion, took the matter under

advisement and later entered an order de-

nying the motion which included a thorough

opinion

The trial judge held that the compact

agreement is not the exclusive means of

transfer of prisoners between jurisdictions,

and a writ of habeas corpus ad prosequen-

dum does not come under the definition of

“detainer” for the purposes of invoking the

)Tovisions of the agreement. United States

v. Seallion, 548 F.2d 1178 (Sth Cir). The

United States Supreme Court reversed an

opinion of the Court of Appeals for the

Second Cireuit which held that a writ of

habeas corpus ad prosequendum was a de

‘ainer entitling the State inmate to the

protection provided in Article IV and spe-

cifically to @ trial before his return to the

State institution. United States v. Mauro,

i

Upon hearing appellant's motion, the trial

judge found the District Attorney had not filed

436 U.S. 340, 98 S.Ct. 1834, 56 L.Ed2d 329

(1978). The Supreme Court clearly held the

writ of habeas corpus ad prosequendum not

to be a detainer within the meaning of the

agreement and thus does not trigger the

application of the agreement. Mauro, su-

pra. This assignment of error is overruled

{2} Appellant's second assignment of er-

ror is that the District Attorney failed to

honor a plea agreement entered into by the

parties, which plea agreement the court

must honor. In the case of James Douglas

Orange v. State, 1976, O'Brien, J., James

Douglas Orange relied upon Santobello v

United States, 494 U.S. 257, 92 S.Ct. 495, 30

L.Ed.2d 427 to ei.force a plea agreement, as

does this appellant. In Santobello, the

statement was made that the courts wil!

specifically enforce agreements made by

the government in the process of plea bar-

gaining after the guilty plea is accepted by

the court. No authority was offered in

Orange, supra, nor has any been offered

herein, to support the appellant's position

that a plea bargaining agreement wil! be

enforced prior to its acceptance by the

court. Where an agreement is accepted

and breached, one of two results ordinarily

follows, depending on the circumstances

(1) either specific performance of the agree-

ment is directed, or, (2) the parties are

restored to the status existing immediately

before the plea was entered

[3] The bill of eXteptions (line 24, page

28 through line 5, page 29) reflects that

appellant's counsel attempted to take up

with the trial judge the question of the plea

bargain agreement but she did not succeed

We think the trial judge was in error not to

allow appellant's counsel to complete the

record on this point. However, appellant's

counsel did not except to the trial judge's

ruling. It has long been the rule of this

court that errors to which no objections are

made and exception taken in the court be-

low cannot be raised on appeal. Exel! »

a detainer within the meaning of Articie [Vie

of the agreement

946 Tenr

State, 413 S.W.2d 678, 681 (Tenn.) Fur

thermore, appellant has not demonstrated

the loss of any trial tactic or fundamental

right as a result of this miscarriage of nego-

this

adopted the comment of a Maryland court

State, 22 Md.App. 165, 322 A.2d

ys. in Orange, supra court

in Wynn v

564

“We cannot overlook the fact that a pros-

ecutor has a profound obligation to socie-

ty. If prior to the consummation of a

plea bargain he foresees that it might

endanger society, he has not merely the

right, but the responsibility, to withdraw

the agreement Plea bargains

should not be specifically enforced in the

from

absence of affirmative evidence of pre)ju-

dice arising from the bargain, which pre)-

udice cannot be remedied by permitting

the defendant to withdraw his plea and

commence anew. Only upon a finding of

such inexpiable prejudice should « de-

fendant be permitted the option of specif

¢ performance by the trial court.’

There being no affirmative showing of ir

remediable prejudice to appellant, we over

rule this assignment of error

{4} Appellant's third assignment of er

ror addresses the denial of a request for an

instruction on criminal trespass as a lesser

included offense of first degree burglary

and the ordering of the sentences to run

consecutively. This record does not support

the need for an instruction upon the law of

criminal trespass. Howard v. State, 578

S.W.2d 8 (Tenn.1979; recommended for

publication)

[5] The trial court ordered the sentences

for first degree burglary and for armed

robbery to run consecutively to the federal

sentence appellant is serving and to run

The

‘in order to

from further criminal

the

finds to be both a persistent offender and a

consecutively as to each other tna!

judge ruled this was necessary

protect the public

conduct by the defendant, whom court

multiple offender as judicially Gefined

589 SOUTH WESTERN REPORTER, 2d SERIES

We do not find this ruling of the tra! judge

to conflict with the holdings in

State, 539 S.W.2d 855, 860 (Tenn.Cr Ap;

This ruling also is supported by

State, 538 S.W.2d 391, 393

indictment under which appellant was cor

victed charged appellant with being an ha

which

not charge an independent crime to the

armed robbery offense

guilty under the armed robbery indictment

the “trigger was pulled” for the habitua

criminal indictment, the conviction thereun

reer

Gra)

(Tenn.). The

bitual cmminal! is a status, and did

Upon being found

der enhancing the armed robbery sentence

Harrison v. State, 394 S.W.2d 713 (Tenr

State, 571 S.W2d 233

The charging procedure followed in this

Evans ¥ (Tenr

case is the same as in State v. Hudson, 562

S.W.2d 416 (Tenn)

“The defendant

and convicted in one tna

was separately

of the following

offenses and received the punishment ir

dicated '

Our Supreme Court approved the procedure

of revising the judgments to compy with

the law. The trial judge did this in his

order entitled “Verdict of the Jury and

Order of the Court.”?

error is overrulec

This assignment

(6) Appellant's fourth assignment of «

ror attacks the

certain

which would have been misdemeanors

introduction of proof

crimes which were felonies ¢

Tennessee. Appellant says it was further

error to instruct the jury that any cmme

which is a felony in another state must De

considered as a felony for the purposes

conviction under the habitual criminal stat

ute in Tennessee. The State's basis for

proof of appellant's status as a habitus

emmina! is found upon the following cor

tions

1. Taking goods of a value in exces®

$100.00, Peach County, Ga

T.C.A. § 40-2712 and TCA. §

2 Assault with intent &

A.§

(Compare

39 42

‘ ui

rape, 5a

lowa (Compare T. 39-605

page 4

METHENY v. STATE Tenn. 947

Cite as, Tena.Cr.Agp.. 588 SW 24 843

Receiving stolen property, State of

lowa (Compare T.C.A. § 40-2712 and

Odell Smith v. State, C.C.A. at Jackson,

February 1, 1979, Tatum, Judge)

We :hink the requisite criteria to support

the status of having three prior convictions

against him, as required under Section 40

2301 T.C.A., has been properly met. Craf-

ton v. State, 545 S.W.2d 437, 439 (Tenn.)

Appellant's counsel in the caption to this

assignment of error complained conjunc-

tively as to the trial judge's instructions to

the jury. We are cited no authority to

support this part of the assignment and it is

without merit Rockett v. State, 475

S.W.2d 561 (Tenn.Cr.App.). This assign-

ment of error is overruied

[7] Appellant's fifth assignment of error

relates to the trial judges allowing the

introduction of certified copies of appel-

lant's conviction and the certified statutes

from out of state. It is alleged that the

District Attorney failed to comply with de-

fendant’s motion for copies of such docu-

ments before trial

The habitual! criminal indictment in this

case contains al] the information required

under Section 40-2808 T.C.A. The thrust

of appellant's assignment centers upon the

difference between having the information

n fact and having certified information

Appellant states the complaint as follows

“There was no reason for the State to fai!

to show defense counsel the documents

they intended to rely upon, particularly

when they had willingly produced similar

documents earlier; in fact, failure to pro-

vide defense counsel with proper docu-

ments compounded the error in that it led

defense counsel! to believe that they knew

what documents would be introduced at

trial

The bill of exceptions shows that the Dis-

trict Attorney answered the question by

Stating he had only shortly before trial re-

ceived the certified copies. The trial judge

3 Motion for discovery, filed August 5, 1977

‘early did not cover such a request. We are

overruled appellant's objection and allowed

this evidence. The record does not reveal a

motion or an order for disclosure of evi-

dence of the convictions alleged in the in-

dictment* No effort was made in the ap-

pellant’s brief to explain how he was preju-

diced by not seeing the certified documents

Anglin v. State, 553 S.W.2d 616, 622 (Tenn

Cr.App.). This assignment of error is over-

ruled

(8) Appellant's sixth assignment of er-

ror is that the habitual criminal statute is

unconstitutional on its face and as applied

in this case. He raises three points. The

first point is that no evidence may be

presented to the jury concerning the nature

of the crime committed by the defendant or

of his character reputation, social-economic

standing. This court held in Delay v. State,

563 S.W.2d 905, 907 (1977) (Cert. denied

Feb. 20, 1978, pet. rehear. denied. April 3

1978)

“(7] Johnson (a co-defendant) complains

that the court refused his offer of proof

During the habitual criminal tral, he

sought to show by his wife his present

good behavior. This was not error. The

only issue at this trial was the validity of

Johnson's prior convictions.”

In the instant case the trial judge allowed

the anpellent to take the stand over the

State's objection. During his testimony the

State raised several specific objections

which were sustained. However, the tral

judge clearly advised appellant's counse!

that he was not cutting off appellant's mght

to testify [on relevant matters). We find

no abuse of discretion on the part of the

tna! judge

(9] The next issue is that the jury had

no leeway to enhance the sentence without

automatically granting a life sentence with-

out parole, and that this amounts to a form

of cruel and unusual punishment. Our Su-

preme Court, in 1975, in an unanimous opin-

ion, authored by (then) Justice Henry, clear-

ly answered this issve against appellant

unabie to find an order covering the three items

covered in this motion (TR. # 61, page 13)

948 Tenn

State, 521 S.W.2d 225 (Tenn.)

(citing with approval this court's opinion of

Hobby v. State, 499 §.W.2d 956 (Tenn.Cr

App.). Appellant says in effect that the

above cases have been compromised by

Woodson v. North Carolina, 428 U S. 280, 96

S.Ct. 2978, 49 L.Ed.2d 944 (1976) The lead

opinion of Woodson, supra, covers six points

all inter-locked to capital punishment, the

death penalty, and who would live and who

would die. It does not treat the subject of

automatic sentences, but rather the subject

of automatic death penalties

“This whole country has traveled far

from the period in which the death sen-

tence was an automatic and commonplace

result of conviction Williams

v. New York, 387 U.S. 241, 247, 93 L.Ed.

1337, 69 S.Ct. 1079, 1083 (1949) Woodson

v. North Carolina, supra

This court has traversed this issue since

Woodson v. North Carolina, supra, and

again found the habitual criminal statute

does not impose crue! and unusual punish-

ment. Glasscock v. State, 570 S.W.2d 354,

955 (Tenn.Cr.App.), cert. denied Aug 2B.

1978

Pearson ¥

[10] Appellant next says it is error to

require the jury that convicts of the tng-

gering offense to determine the defendant's

status of being an habitual criminal. We

think appellant has misconstrued Bishop v

State, 563 S.W 2d 913 (Tenn.Cr.App.)

find no merit to the appellant's conten-

tion that they should be qualified again

before hearing the habitual! criminal! evi-

dence The same jury is required to hear

both facets of the bifurcated proceedings,

and was found initially to be qualified

This assignment is overruled.”

[11] Appellant contends that the habitu-

al criminal statute is unconstitutional, be-

couse as applied in the instant case the life

sentence was so excessive and dispropor-

tionate to the underlying offenses that it

589 SOUTH WESTERN REPORTER, 2d SERIES

constituted a violation of the Eighth

Amendment protection against cruel and

unusua! punishment Appellant relies upon

the rationale of Hart v. Coiner, 483 F.2d 136

(4th Cir. 1973) and Rummel v Estelle, 568

F.2d 1193 (Sth Cir. 1978)

In Elnorris Smith v. State of Tennessee,

at Jackson, opinion filed Oct 18, 1978, Dun-

can, J., another panel of this court found

“The underlying offenses of Hart and

Rummel can hardly be equated with the

defendant's underlying offenses in the

present case. The same thing must be

said in comparing the Hart and Rumme!

tnggenng offenses with the defendant's

unggering offense”

We adopt the comparison test cf Smith,

supra. The present case has underlying

offenses of assault with intent to rape and

taking goods of a value in excess of $100.00

as well as a triggemng offense of armed

robbery and the life sentence given was not

exceasive and disproportionate to the under-

lying offenses This assignment of error 1s

overruled

We affirm the judgments below

DWYER and BYERS, JJ., concur

Billy HULL, Appellant.

v.

STATE of Tennessee, Appellee.

Court of Criminal Appeals of Tennessee

at Knoxville

June 28, 1979

Permission to Appea! Denied by Suprem*

Court Sept. 4, 1979

Petitioner appealed from ® judgmen'

of the Criminal Court, Hamilton Court)

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.