Respondents Brief — Teague v. Lane
Supreme Court brief1989
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
A
No. 87-5259
Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED
JUL 1 1988
In Tue
Supreme Court of the United States
Ocroper Tzrm, 1987
FRANK DEAN TEAGUE,
Petitioner,
vs.
MICHAEL LANE, Director,
Department of Corrections, et al,
Respondents.
On Writ Of Certiorari To The United States
Court Of Appeals For The Seventh Circuit
BRIE” FOR THE RESPONDENTS
NEIL F. HARTIGAN
Attorney General, State of [linois
ROBERT J. RUIZ
Solicitor General, State of Dlinois
TERENCE M. MADSEN
DAVID E. BINDI*
MARCIA L. FRIEDL
Assistant Attorneys General
100 West Randolph Street, 12th Floor
Chicago, [llinois 60601
(312) 917-2239
Counsel for the Respondents
* Counsel of Record
Printed by Authority of the State of Illinois (P.O. 34139—55—7-1-88)
? Yn
i
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW
1. Whether application of the representative cross-
section principle to the petit jury so as to restrict the
use of peremptory challenges 1 unworkable and unsound?
2. For purposes of the rer «9 4, should the
date of the announcement of « «. ~ rule of constitutional
law be the controlling ever ., rather than some preceeding
event, and is the retroactive application of the rule of
Batson v. Kentucky to cases in which the conviction be-
came final before the decision unwarranted?
3. Is petitioner barred by procedural default from press-
ing his argument that a violation of Swain v. Alabama
is shown on the record in this case, and if not, does Swain
permit the use of peremptory challenges to excuse mem-
bers of a cognizable racial group for trial-related reasons
in an individual case where the defendant is a member
of the group?
il
TABLE OF CONTENTS
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ..
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .................
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
EP PerrrrTrerrrrrrerrrTr rere
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ...............
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ................
ARGUMENT:
I.
APPLICATION OF THE REPRESENTATIVE
CROSS-SECTION PRINCIPLE TO THE PETIT
JURY SO AS TO RESTRICT THE USE OF
PEREMPTORY CHALLENGES IS UNWORK-
4.BLE AND UNSOUND ...............4...
A. The Rationale Underlying The Cross-
Section Principle Does Not Provide Justi-
fication For Restricting The Use Of Per-
Geter y CREMMES occ ccccccsccvceces
B. Extension Of The Cross-Section Require-
ment Would Destroy The Value Of The
Peremptory Challenge And Seriously Un-
dermine The Ability Of Both Sides To
Select A Fair And Impartial Jury ....
C. Extension Of The Cross-Section Require-
ment Is Unworkable Because No Prin-
cipled And Practical Standard Has Been
PP Peerrerrerere rr roy ty
11
13
26
ili
Il.
FOR PURPOSES OF THE RETROACTIVITY
DOCTRINE, THE DATE OF THE ANNOUNCE-
MENT OF A NEW RULE OF CONSTITU-
TIONAL LAW IS THE ONLY APPROPRIATE
WATERSHED, AND THE RULE OF BATSON
v. KENTUCKY SHOULD NOT BE APPLIED
RETROACTIVELY TO CASES IN WHICH
THE CONVICTION BECAME FINAL PRIOR
TO THE DATE OF THE DECISION .......
A. The Denial Of Certiorari In McCray v.
New York Neither Foreshadowed The
Decision In Batson v. Kentucky Nor De-
stroyed The Precedential Effect Of Swain
CO SGD: kcidcescansiuacenestincix
B. Retroactive Application Of Batson To
Cases In Which The Conviction Became
Final Prior To The Decision Is Unwar-
ranted, Regardless Of Whether The
Harlan Approach Or The Three-Part
Linkletter Test Is Applied ...........
Ill.
PROCEDURAL DEFAULT BARS CONSIDER-
ATION OF PETITIONER’S THIRD ARGU-
MENT; AND, IN AN INDIVIDUAL CASE,
THE PEREMPTORY EXCUSAL OF JURORS
WHO ARE MEMBERS OF A COGNIZABLE
RACIAL GROUP TO WHICH THE DEFEN.
DANT ALSO BELONGS, IN THE BELIEF
THAT SUCH JURORS WILL BE SYMPA-
THETIC TO THE DEFENDANT BECAUSE OF
THE SHARED GROUP CHARACTERISTIC,
DOES NOT VIOLATE THE EQUAL PROTEC-
TION CLAUSE AS CONSTRUED IN SWAIN v.
REMUS oe cee ciccctcctdncccscnsceseces
31
iv
A. The Argument That The Equal Protection
Clause As Construed In Swain Can Be
Violated By The Use Of Peremptory
Challenges In An Individual Case Was
Not Raised In Or Decided By The Illinois
MD. ¢tcccuensaneeeseseees
The Peremptory Excusal of Jurors Who
Are Members of A Cognizable Racial
Group To Which The Defendant Also
Belongs, In The Belief That They Will Be
Partial To The Defendant, Is Permitted
a IR oh eee een
i cebatuhueyeanegusecaénudeesaes
Vv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES PAGE(S)
Alexander v. Louisiana, 405 U.S. 625 (1972) .. 14
Allen v. Hardy, 106 S.Ct. 2878 (1986) ..... 33, 34, 38
Apodaca v. Oregon, 406 U.S. 404 (1972) .... 17, 18, 23
Ballard v. United States, 329 U.S. 187 (1946) ... 14
Ballew v. Georgia, 435 U.S. 223 (1978) ........ 16, 17
Batson v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 79 (1986) ...... passim
Blackwell v. State, 248 Ga. 138, 281 S.E.2d 599
Dt shiddkevsudnlekeansaune cake ueesuede 19
Booker v. Jabe, 775 F.2d 762 (6th Cir. 1985), va-
cated, 106 S.Ct. 3289 (1986), opinion reinstated, ~
801 F.2d 871 (6th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 107
a ee 19, 24, 25, 28, 34
Brown v. Allen, 344 U.S. 443 (1953) .......... 14
Buchanan v. Kentucky, 107 S.Ct. 2906 (1987) ... 11
Burch v. Louisiana, 441 U.S. 130 (1979) ...... 17, 23
Carter v. Jury Comm’n, 396 U.S. 320 (1970) .. 14
Commonwealth v. Henderson, 438 A.2d 951 (Pa.
DT Suuedcncbhseedantisseearusases kuccheas 19
Commonwealth v. Soares, 377 Mass. 481, 387
N.E.2d 499, cert. denied, 444 U.S. 881 (1979) .
et ne! Mig eR eee A ype eee eee ee 18, 24, 28, 39
ON eee ne ail eg ed ak ee te as 42
Desist v. United States, 394 U.S. 244 (1969) ... 35, 36
Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U.S. 145 (1968) . 14, 21, 23
vi
Duren v. Missouri, 439 U.S. 357 (1979) . . 23, 24, 26, 27, 28
Engle v. Isaac, 456 U.S. 107 (1982) ........... 42
Fay v. New York, 332 U.S. 261 (1947) ..... 14, 18, 25
Fields v. People, 732 P.2d 1145 (Colo. 1987) ... 18, 24
Garrett v. Morris, 815 F.2d 509 (8th Cir.), cert.
denied, 108 S.Ct. 233 (1987) .......... lasinn 42
Gideon v. Wainwright, 372 U.S. 335 (1963) .... 37
Glasser v. United States, 315 U.S. 60 (1942) .. 14, 20
Granberry v. Greer, 107 S.Ct. 1671 (1987) ..... 41
Griffith v. Kentucky, 107 S.Ct. 708 (1987) ..... 32, 36
Hernandez v. Texas, 347 U.S. 475 (1954) ...... 24
Irvin v. Dowd, 366 U.S. 717 (1961) ........... 18
Johnson v. Louisiana, 406 U.S. 356 (1972) .... 17
Kibler v. State, 501 So.2d 76 (Fla. App. 1987) ... 24
Linkletter v. Walker, 381 U.S. 618 (1965) ..... i)
Lockhart v. McCree, 476 U.S. 162 (1986) ......
Peakhasasdcdsadeubedetindenseauude 5, 11, 25, 26, 31
Mackey v. United States, 401 U.S. 667 (1971) ...
ened awe aus 6 ch wile al ae caine ae 32, 35, 36, 37
McCray v. Abrams, 750 F.2d 1113 (2nd Cir. 1984),
vacated, 106 S.Ct. 3289 (1986) .... 18, 19, 24, 28, 34
McCray v. New York, 461 U.S. 961 (1983) ... 8, 9, 32, 33
McCray v. New York, 51 U.S.L.W. 3740 (U.S.
April 12, 1983) (No. 82-1381) .............. 32
Mallot v. State, 608 P.2d 737 (Ala. 1980) ...... 19
Murray v. Carrier, 106 S.Ct. 2639 (1986) ..... 39
Nevius v. State, 699 P.2d 1053 (Nev. 1985) .... 19
vii
Palko v. Connecticut, 302 U.S. 319 (1937) ..... 37
People v. Snow, 44 Cal.3d 216, 242 Cal. Rptr. 477,
TUB PBS GER CIBGE) oc ccccccccccccvccccccces 30
People v. Teague, 108 Ill. App. 3d 891, 439 N.E.2d
1066 (1st Dist. 1982), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 867
SED: dsdandhecdebawnbedhisvacnacensucnees 3, 40
People v. Wheeler, 22 Cal.3d 258, 148 Cal. Rptr.
890, 583 P.2d 748 (1978) ......... 18, 24, 28, 30, 39
Peters v. Kiff, 407 U.S. 493 (1972) ............ 14
Riley v. State, 496 A.2d 997 (Del. 1985), cert.
denied, 106 S.Ct. 3339 (1986) .............. 18, 24
Roman v. Abrams, 822 F.2d 214 (2nd Cir. 1987) . 19
Shea v. Louisiana, 450 U.S. 51 (1985) ........ 36
Smith v. Texas, 311 U.S. 128 (1940) .......... 14
Solem v. Stumes, 465 U.S. 638 (1984) ......... 38
State v. Gilmore, 103 N.J. 508, 511 A.2d 1150
SED ncucdces devdendescnsascnevespuekees 18, 24
State v. Grady, 93 Wis.2d 1, 286 N.W.2d 607
DEEN i duvewthe duukeédes nkudaevenvéeenseos 19
State v. Neil, 457 So.2d 481 (Fla. 1984) ....... 18, 24
Stale v. Sims, 639 S.W.2d 105 (Mo. App. 1982) .. 19
State v. Stewart, 225 Kan. 410, 591 P.2d 166 (1979) 19
State v. Ucero, 450 A.2d 809 (R.I. 1982) ...... 19
State v. Wiley, 144 Ariz. 525, 698 P.2d 1244 (1985) . 19
Stovall v. Denno, 388 U.S. 293 (1967) ......... 35
Strauder v. West Virginia, 100 U.S. 303 (1880) ..
ceed cbekousatevendéssdeeeawasesses Teas 14, 15, 20
Swain v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 202 (1965) ...... passim
Vili
Taylor v. Louisiana, 419 U.S. 522 (1975) .... passim
Thiel v. Southern Pacific Co., 328 U.S. 217 (1946) .
ibeb4usdbecnscdeesndeekeetnteneune 14, 18, 20, 25
United States v. Carter, 528 F.2d 844 (8th Cir.
1975), cert. denied, 425 U.S. 961 (1976) .... 42
United States v. Childress, 715 F.2d 1313 (8th Cir.
1983) (en banc), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 1063
al le eee eRe & 19
DD Seddon ecndsedecdniseorsscbededsncsees 42
United States v. Johnson, 457 U.S. 537 (1982) ... 36
United States v. Leslie, 783 F.2d 541 (5th Cir. 1986)
(en banc), vacated, 107 S.Ct. 708 (1987), opinion
following remand, 816 F.2d 1006 (5th Cir.
RNR, itcad Uo bead Dede ea ane. 19
United States v. Newman, 549 F.2d 240 (2nd Cir.
I i Sei ok ete eee ee ia 40, 42
United States v. Thompson, 730 F.2d 82 (8th Cir.),
cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1024 (1984) .......... 42
United States v. Whitfield, 715 F.2d 145 (4th Cir.
a ait he il a el al Be 19
Virginia v. Rives, 100 U.S. 313 (1880) ........ 15, 16
Weatherséy v. Morris, 708 F.2d 1493 (9th Cir.
1983), cert. denied, 464 US. 1046 (1984) ... 19, 40, 42
Williams v. Florida, 399 U.S. 78 (1970) ....... 16
Willis v. Zant, 720 F.2d 1212 (11th Cir. 1983), cert.
denied, 467 U.S. 1256 (1984) .............. 19, 24
Witherspoon v. Illinois, 391 U.S. 510 (1968) ... 18
Yates v. Aiken, 108 S.Ct. 534 (1988) .......... 36
OTHER AUTHORITIES
U.S. Const., Amend.
U.S. Const., Amend
1977, ch.
1977, ch.
1977, ch.
1977, ch.
1981, ch.
1981, ch.
Ill.
Ill.
Ill.
Ill.
Ill.
Ill.
Ill.
Ill.
Ill.
Rev.
Rev.
Rev.
Rev.
Rev.
Rev.
Rev.
Rev.
Rev.
Stat.
Stat.
Stat.
Stat.
Stat.
Stat.
Stat.
Stat.
Stat.
VI
» Bee, MOB. BD ncccccseccess
ix
_ Beerrrrererr itr
1986 Supp., ch. 78, 84 .........
1977, che38, §115-4(b) ..........
1977, ch.
38, §115-4(e) ..........
Illinois Supreme Court Rule 234 ..............
Illinois Supreme Court Rule 434{a) ............
Annot., 62 ALR 4th 859 (1988) ............4.-.
owo wo W
25
No. 87-5259
In Tue
Supreme Court of the United States
Ocroper Term, 1987
FRANK DEAN TEAGUE,
Petitioner,
vs.
MICHAEL LANE, Director,
Department of Corrections, et al,
Respondents.
On Writ Of Certiorari To The United States
Court Of Appeals For The Seventh Circuit
BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS
=
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED
United States Constitution
Amendment VI
In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy the
right to a speedy and public trial, by an impartial jury
of the State and district wherein the crime shall have
been committed, which district shall have been previous-
ly ascertained by law, and to be informed of the nature
and cause of the accusation; to be confronted with the
witnesses against him; to have compulsory process for ob-
taining witnesses in his favor, and to have the Assistance
of Counsel for his defence.
United States Constitution
Amendment XIV, Section 1
All persons born or naturalized in the United States,
and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the
United States and of the State wherein they reside. No
State shall make or enforce any law which shall abridge
the privileges or immunities of citizens of the United
States; nor shall any State deprive any person of life,
liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor deny
to any person within its jurisdictien the equal protection
of the laws.
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
On the evening of February 5, 1977, petitioner entered
an A & P supermarket in Oak Park, Illinois, armed with
a pistol, and committed a robbery. As he left the store,
he was confronted by two police officers who were re-
sponding to a radio broadcast reporting an armed robbery
in progress. One of the officers identified himself and
sulle
ordered petitioner to halt. Petitioner drew a gun and fired
at the officers, and then fled. Both officers chased peti-
tioner on foot. Shots were exchanged, and petitioner
wounded one of the officers in the leg. He was eventual-
ly apprehended by a third officer responding to the call.
People v. Teague, 108 Iil. App. 3d 891, 439 N.E.2d 1066,
1073 (1st Dist. 1982), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 867 (1983).
Petitioner’s insanity defense was unsuccessful, and he
was convicted of armed robbery and attempted murder.
The trial court sentenced him to concurrent terms of 30
years. 439 N.E.2d at 1068.
On direct appeal, petitioner raised, among others, a
claim that the prosecutor’s use of peremptory challenges
to excuse ten black prospective jurors, with the result
that no blecks were on the jury that tried the case, vio-
lated his rights to due process ani a jury representative
of the community under the Sixth and Fourteenth Amend-
ments to the federal Constitution. Relying on its own
prior determination that the Sixth Amendment cross-sec-
tion requirement. does not apply at the petit jury stage,
the appellate court rejected this claim. 439 N.E.2d at
1069-71.
Petit jury selection procedures in Illinois are governed
by statute and by Supreme Court Rules. In all criminal
cases, a jury of twelve must be selected, //l. Rev. Stat.
1977, ch. 38, §115-4(b), and the jurors are examined and
passed upon in panels of four, with the prosecution using
its challenges first and the parties alternating thereafter.
Supreme Court Rule 434(a). In a case such as this one,
where imprisonment is a possible penalty, each side is
allowed ten peremptory challenges. Jll. Rev. Stat. 1977,
ch. 38, par. 115-4(e). Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 234,
the trial court elected in this case to conduct the voir dire
examination himself. (R. Supp., 3)
—
During the course of jury selection, defense counsel
moved for a mistrial on the ground that the prosecutor
had used each of his first six peremptory challenges to
excuse black jurors. The motion was denied at the time,
but it was renewed at the conclusion of jury selection,
when defense counsel alleged that all ten of the prose-
cutor’s peremptory challenges had been used to excuse
black jurors. In response to the motion, the prosecutor
explained that he used his challenges to excuse younger
members of the venire, and to obtain a balance of men
and women. The motion was again denied. (J.A. 2-4)
On review of petitioner’s application for a writ of habeas
corpus, a divided en bane Court of Appeals held that
(1) the cross-section requirement of the Sixth Amendment
afforded no basis for granting relief because it does not
apply at the petit jury selection stage so as to restrict
the use of peremptory challenges; (2) Batson v. Kentucky,
476 U.S. 79 (1986), which was decided after petitioner’s
conviction became final, does not apply retroactively to
cases on collateral review; and (3) that review of peti-
tioner’s argument concerning the applicability of Swain
v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 202 (1965) to his case was barred
by procedural default and was without merit. (J.A. 14-53)
On March 7, 1988, certiorari was granted to review all
three determinations. (J.A. 54)
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
I. Thirteen years ago, this Court held in Taylor v.
Louisiana, 419 U.S. 522 (1975) that the Sixth Amendment
right to trial by jury includes the right to a jury selected
from a representative cross-section of the community.
Three times since then, this Court has been asked to ex-
—__
= =
tend the cross-section requirement to the petit jury so
as to impose restrictions on the use of for-cause or per-
emptory challenges, and three times it has refused, stating
in Lockhart v. McCree, 476 U.S. 162 (1986) that such an
extension would be unworkable and unsound. Petitioner
argues that adoption of such an extension follows from
what this Court has said about the purpose of the require-
ment and its relation to the purpose of the jury. This
argument ignores the significant difference between the
process of selecting prospective jurors for all cases and
the process of selecting petit jurors to try a particular
case. Moreover, extension of the cross-section requirement
would destroy the value of the peremptory challenge and
seriously undermine the ability of both the prosecution
and the defense to select fair and impartial jurors. Finally,
such an extension is unworkable because the standard
petitioner proposes for enforcing the cross-section require-
ment at the petit jury stage does not promote the prin-
ciple he invokes.
A. In the first two steps involved in selecting a petit
jury, establishing a pool of eligible persons and drawing
a venire, the selection criteria are general. Minima! quali-
fication is all that is required. In the next two steps, the
exercise of for-cause and peremptory challenges after voir
dire examination, the criteria are very specific, because
the ability of prospective jurors to be impartial in the con-
text of a specific case is being evaluated. While this Court
has long recognized the value of broad-based community
involvement in the grand and petit jury system, it has
never required that the diversity of the community be
reflected beyond the pool and venire stages, and has been
careful to emphasize that the cross-section principle pro-
vides no right to a petit jury of any particular composi-
tion. However, following Taylor, some state and federal
jurisdictions have held, largely in reliance on this Court’s
= =
decisions, that the cross-section principle must be applied
at the petit jury stage in order for it to be effectuated,
and that the use of peremptory challenges must be re-
stricted accordingly. Many more state and federal juris-
dictions have rejected this approach. The cross-section re-
quirement serves its purpose at the pool and venire stages
by insuring that no distinctive group can be declared a
priori unfit for jury service. Thus, no group may be offi-
cially branded as inferior, and the jury, as an institution,
is not made the organ of a special class. Furthermore,
the requirement that jury pools be representative and
venires drawn at random insures that the composition of
the venire cannot be known before the decision to charge
an offense is made, and tnus the cross-section requirement
serves to discourage the corrupt or overzealous prosecutor
from bringing unfounded charges. Petitioner’s argument
that the prophylactic purpose of the jury is thwarted by
the peremptory excusal of members of a distinctive group
just as if the group had been excluded from the venire
is an argument that affirmative steps must be taken to
produce cross-sectional petit juries, something this Court
has often said is an impossible and undesirable goal. More-
over, this Court’s decisions do not support the argument
that any procedure, at any stage of the selection process,
which may detract from the possibility provided by the
random draw of obtaining a cross-sectional jury violates
the Sixth Amendment. Rather, this Court has acknowledged
that cross-sectional values, while important, are not always
paramount. The impact extension of the cross-section re-
quirement would have on the peremptory challenge, and
on the overall fairness of the jury system, must therefore
be considered.
B. If the cross-section requirement is extended to the
petit jury, it must be assumed that the considerations
which define a cognizable group would be the same as
_
when the composition of the pool or venire is examined,
because any arbitrary limitation on what groups may be
considered cognizable is inconsistent with the principle.
Cognizability is a question of fact, depending on sufficient
numbers and distinctiveness of the members of a group
at a given place and time, and thus the types of groups
which may be cognizable is potentially limitless, and the
determination of cognizability may require an extensive
evidentiary hearing. Also, if extensior. of the cross-section
requirement is necessary to insure a jury which is fair
and satisfies the appearance of fairness, then the use of
peremptory challenges by the defense must also be re-
stricted because both sides are entitled to a fair trial.
Extension of the cross-section requirement would there-
fore limit the use of peremptory challenges to an infinitely
greater degree than does the Equal Protection Clause as
construed in Batson v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 79 (1986). It
would prohibit their use, by both sides, for all but frivo-
lous reasons or the most palpable manifestations of indi-
vidual bias, and this is inconsistent with this Court’s
recognition in Batson of the important role played by the
peremptory challenge. The challenge permits the elimina-
tion of extremes of partiality at both ends of the spec-
trum, and whenever group membership correlates with
partiality for purposes of the issues involved in a par-
ticular case, the challenge of one side or the other will
be directed at that group to some degree. In such a case,
the peremptory challenge promotes impartiality, the core
guarantee of the Sixth Amendment, while rigid adherence
to cross-sectionalism dissipates impartiality. Extension of
the cross-section requirement would therefore destroy the
value of the peremptory challenge and detract from jury
impartiality.
C. The standard proposed by petitioner for enforcing
the cross-section requirement at the petit jury stage is
allie.
not only significantly different from the standard proposed
by amicus, both differ from the standard used in tne
jurisdictions that have adopted the extension argument.
None of these standards promotes the cross-section prin-
ciple. Petitioner proposes that a prima facie case can be
established by showing that (1) the excluded group is a
cognizable group; (2) representation of the group on the
petit jury is not fair in relation to its numbers in the
community; and (3) the underrepresentation is due to the
prosecutor’s use of peremptory challenges. The inclusion
of a proportionality element in this standard means one
of two things. Either group-based peremptory challenges
are permissible once proportional representation is ac-
hieved, in which case the fundamental premise of the ex-
tension argument as set forth in the cases which adopt
it is false; or the real aim of petitioner’s position is to
acquire a right to a jury of a particular composition, con-
sisting of a proportionate number of jurors who are mem-
bers of one or more groups he deems partial to him. The
standard proposed by amicus similarly focuses on propor-
tionality, but seeks comparison of the percentage of group
members left on the venire after the prosecutor’s chal-
lenges with their proportion in the community, and does
not propose examination of the petit jury at any point.
Thus, much litigation could take place over the use of chal-
lenges even though the group in question is overrepre-
sented on the petit jury. The standard used in other juris-
dictions does not contain a proportionality element, and
its purpose is to eliminate all group-based peremptory
challenges. However, this leads to reversal of convictions
in the name of cross-sectionalism even if the jury actual-
ly chosen is a perfect mirror of the community.
II. Petitioner’s argument that retroactive application
of Batson v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 79 (1986) should be deter-
mined as of the time of the denial of certiorari in McCray
ilies
v. New York, 461 U.S. 961 (1983), or alternatively, that
all new constitutional rules should be fully retroactive, is
insupportable under any of the views on retroactivity ex-
pressed by this Court.
A. The denial of certiorari in McCray did not fore-
shadow the result in Batson because the opinion respect-
ing the denial of certiorari and the dissenting opinion
discuss the developments in Sixth Amendment jurispru-
dence following Swain v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 202 (1965),
but Batson was decided on equal protection grounds. By
the same token, the opinions in McCray did not destroy
the precedential effect of Swain, and even those courts
that accepted the invitation extended in McCray to serve
as laboratories did not dispute that Swain remained the
dominant equal protection precedent. To suggest that Mc-
Cray had the impact petitioner attributes to it for retro-
activity purposes is to suggest that the opinions accom-
panying the denial of certiorari establish a more signifi-
cant watershed in constitutional law than a subsequent
decision expressly overruling a prior precedent. Moreover,
petitioner’s argument that a third category of cases should
be created for purposes of Batson retroactivity, consisting
of cases in which the conviction became final after McCray
but before Batson, is unsound. This argument seeks to
attribute to McCray a significance which, although not
decisive, should nevertheless have some impact on the
question of retroactivity. No reason is given as to why
this should be so.
B. The present debate on the doctrine of retroactivity
is between two competing theories: Justice Harlan’s view
that all new rules of constitutional law should be retro-
actively applied to all non-final cases at the time of the
decision, but, with two narrow exceptions, not to cases
on collateral review; and the view that the three-part test
of Linkletter v. Walker, 381 U.S. 618 (1965) should apply.
=_S
Under either approach, retroactive application of Batson
to cases on collateral review at the time of the decision
is unwarranted. Petitioner’s contention that new rules of
constitutional law should be fully retroactive is not sup-
ported by any decision of this Court.
III. Consideration of petitioner’s claim that the record
supports a finding of error under Swain v. Alabama, 380
U.S. 202 (1965) is barred by procedural default, and is
without merit.
A. Petitioner did not raise an equal protection argu-
ment in state court. He argued for extension of the cross-
section requirement under either state or federal constitu-
tional principles, and cited Swain only to distinguish its
constitutional basis from the one he intended to invoke.
The appellate court did not rely on Swain as dispositive
of the claim, it relied on its own prior decision declining
to extend the cross-section requirement. On habeas re-
view, petitioner’s claim was of the same character as the
one presented in state court, and it was not until after
the decision in Batson v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 79 (1986)
that he clearly stated an intent to invoke the Equal Pro-
tection Clause. Respondents promptly objected on pro-
cedural default grounds, and the Court of Appeals held
the claim defaulted.
B. The predominant view of Swain is that it permits
counsel to take the group affiliation of prospective jurors
into account when exercising peremptory challenges, if
they believe that group affiliation is a trial-related reason
for excusal. A fair construction of Swain supports this
view.
otfin
ARGUMENT
APPLICATION OF THE REPRESENTATIVE CROSS-
SECTION PRINCIPLE TO THE PETIT JURY SO AS TO
RESTRICT THE USE OF PEREMPTORY CHALLENGES
IS UNWORKABLE AND UNSOUND.
Three times since Taylor v. Louisiana, 419 U.S. 522
(1975) held that the Sixth Amendment right to trial by
jury included the right to “selection of a petit jury from
a representative cross section of the community”, id. at
528, this Court has been asked to extend the cross-section
requirement so as to impose restrictions on a prosecutor’s
for-cause or peremptory challenges, and three times it has
declined to do so. Buchanan v. Kentucky, 107 S.Ct. 2906,
2913 (1987); Lockhart v. McCree, 476 U.S. 162, 174 (1986);
Batson v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 79, 84, n. 4 (1986). In Mce-
Cree, this Court said:
. . we do not believe that the fair cross-section re-
quirement can, or should, be applied as broadly as
[the Court of Appeals] attempted to apply it. We
have never invoked the fair cross-section principle to
invalidate the use of either for-cause or peremptory
challenges to prospective jurors, or to require petit
juries, as opposed to jury panels or venires, to reflect
the composition of the community at large... . The
limited scope of the fair cross-section requirement is
a direct and inevitable consequence of the practical
impossibility of providing each criminal defendant
with a truly “representative” petit jury, ... a basic
truth that the Court of Appeals itself acknowledged
for many years prior to its decision in the instant
case.... We remain convinced that an extension of
the fair cross-section requirement to petit juries
would be unworkable and unsound, and we decline
McCree’s invitation to adopt such an extension.
476 U.S. at 173-174 (citations omitted).
ation
Petitioner offers a disarmingly simple explanation for
why such an extension must now be adopted. He says
that if it is constitutionally imperative for the pool of eligi-
ble jurors to include all distinct and cognizable groups
within the community, it can only be because the require-
ment is intended to have some impact on the composition
of the petit jury; and that it follows from this that any
practice, at any stage of the selection process, which may
reduce the possibility of having the petit jury reflect the
demographic makeup of the community bears a burden
of justification under the fair cross-section principle.
The argument for extension of the cross-section require-
ment is, as this Court said in McCree, unsound. As dis-
cussed in Part I.A, there is a constitutionally significant
difference between the process of establishing a jury pool
and selecting a venire to provide jurors for all cases, and
the process of selecting a petit jury from that venire to
try an individual case. The cross-section requirement re-
flects the belief that no class of citizens may be considered
a priori unfit for jury service in any case solely on the
basis of group affiliation, but its theoretical underpinnings
do not logically extend to justify restricting a litigant’s
use of peremptory challenges to select impartial jurors
in a particular case. Part I.B addresses the point that,
while subject to the limited restrictions mandated by the
Equal Protection Clause as construed in Batson, the
peremptory challenge nevertheless continues to play an
important role in the ability of both sides to choose fair
and impartial jurors, and its salutary effect on the admin-
istration of criminal justice would be lost, for both sides,
if petitioner’s position is adopted.
Furthermore, extension of the cross-section requirement
would be, as this Court also said in McCree, unworkable.
As discussed in Part I.C, the impracticality of applying
the cross-section principle at the petit jury stage is demon-
=
strated by the fact that the standard proposed by peti-
tioner is fundamentally different from the standard pro
posed by amicus The Lawyers’ Committee for Civil
Rights Under Law (amicus The NAACP Legal Defense
and Education Fund, Inc., proposes no standard), and both
differ significantly from the standards used by the States
and the federal circuits which have taken this approach;
and by the fact that none of these standards promotes
cross-sectional values in a practical and principled way.
A. The Rationale Underlying The Cross-Section Principle
Does Not Provide Justification For Restricting The Use
Of Peremptory Challenges.
There are four steps involved in the process of select-
ing a jury to try a case: establishing a pool of persons
eligible to serve as jurors in all cases; drawing venires
from the pool to ubtain the number of prospective jurors
needed for all cases pending at a given time; voir dire
examination of the venire to determine which jurors should
be dismissed from a particular case for cause; and the ex-
ercise of peremptory challenges by both parties. In the
first two steps, the selection criteria are necessarily
general, since the proper function of those stages is only
to cull those who are unfit to serve in any case, and those
who should be granted an exemption for valid public
policy reasons. By contrast, the focus of the third and
fourth stages is on the ability of jurors to fairly and im-
partially serve in an individual case.
Prior to the decision in Taylor, a number of this Court’s
cases acknowledged the importance of broad-based com-
munity involvement in the grand and petit jury system,
as contributing to its fairness and its appearance of fair-
ness. Selection methods which entirely excluded whole
groups from the pool of eligible jurors, or routinely re-
sulted in radical underrepresentation of distinctive groups
nition
on the venires from which jurors were chosen, had been
reviewed under the principles of equal protection, Alex-
ander v. Louisiana, 405 U.S. 625, 628 (1972); Carter v.
Jury Comm’n, 396 U.S. 320, 331-332 (1970); Brown v.
Allen, 344 U.S. 443, 470-471 (1953); Smith v. Texas, 311
U.S. 128, 129-130 (1940); Strauder v. West Virginia, 100
U.S. 303, 305-306 (1880), due process, Peters v. Kiff, 407
U.S. 493, 502 (1972) (plurality opinion); Fay v. New York,
332 U.S. 261, 289 (1947), and, in some cases, this Court
invoked its supervisory authority over the lower federal
courts, Ballard v. United States, 329 U.S. 187, 193 (1946):
Thiel v. Southern Pacific Co., 328 U.S. 217, 225 (1946);
Glasser v. United States, 315 U.S. 60, 87 (1942). All of
these cases involved selection criteria being applied at the
pool or venire stage, and from them emerged the cross-
section principle announced in Taylor: “that the selection
of a petit jury from a representative cross section of the
community is an essential component of the Sixth Amend-
ment right to a jury trial.’”’ 419 U.S. at 528. There is no
question that the pool and the venire from which peti-
tioner’s jury was selected were drawn in compliance with
this command.!
Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U.S. 145 (1968) provided the
springboard for the jump made in Taylor from what had
largely been an equal protection analysis to one grounded
in the Sixth Amendment. Duncan held that the right to
trial by jury was to be applied against the States through
the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.
' At the time of petitioner’s trial, the source list for the pool of
eligible jurors was the list of registered voters, /ll. Rev. Stat. 1977,
ch. 78, §1, and venires were drawn at random from the pool. §8.
Qualifications for service were minimal, but there were a number
of comepenane: onmenptions. §§2, 4. In 1981, the source list was aug-
mented by adding the list of valid driver’s license holders, Jil. Rev.
Stat. 1981, ch. 78, §§1-la, and in 1987, automatic exemptions were
almost completely eliminated. Il. Rev. Stat. 1986 Supp., ch. 78, §4.
= =
Id. at 149. The explanation in Duncan of the function of
a jury was relied on in Taylor to incorporate the cross-
section principle into the jury trial right:
The purpose of a jury is to guard against the exercise
of arbitrary power—to make available the common-
sense judgment of the community as a hedge against
the overzealous or mistaken prosecutor and in prefer-
ence to the professional and perhaps overconditioned
or biased response of a judge. Duncan v. Louisiana,
391 U.S., at 155-156. This prophylactic vehicle is not
provided if the jury pool is made up only of special
segments of the populace or if large, distinctive groups
are excluded from the pool. Community participation
in the administration of the criminal law, moreover,
is not only consistent with our democratic heritage
but is also critical to public confidence in the fairness
of the criminal justice system. Restricting jury ser-
vice to only special groups or excluding identifiable
segments playing major roles in the community can-
not be squared with the constitutional concept of jury
trial.
419 U.S. at 530. Still, the holding was limited: the Court
emphasized that “we impose no requirement that petit
juries actually chosen mirror the community and reflect
the various distinctive groups in the population. Defen-
dants are not entitled to a jury of any particular compo-
sition, ... but the jury wheels, pools of names, panels,
or venires from which juries are drawn must not system-
atically exclude distinctive groups in the community and
thereby fail to be reasonably representative thereof.” Jd.
at 538 (citation omitted). This has been a feature of the
cross-section principle since its genesis. While holding that
the disqualification of blacks from jury service in all cases
violated equal protection, Strauder, 100 U.S. at 308, the
Court at the same time recognized that there is no consti-
tutional right to the inclusion of blacks on the jury in any
individual case, Virginia v. Rives, 100 U.S. 313, 320-322
sm
(1880), and it has never retreated from that holding. Bat-
son, 476 U.S. at 85, n. 6. Even now, petitioner does not
contend that the cross-section principle can be read to re-
quire proportional representation, or indeed any represen-
tation, of any distinctive group on the petit jury chosen
to try a particular case.
The cross-section principle also played a role in the cases
dealing with jury size and unanimity. In Williams v.
Florida, 399 U.S. 78 (1970), the Court held that the tradi-
tion of a jury of 12 was based more on historical acci-
dent than on any significant quality associated with that
number for purposes of the right to a jury trial, and that
juries of six did not offend the Sixth Amendment. Jd. at
100-103. In response to the argument that the reduced
size of the jury would result in a corresponding re iuc-
tion in the opportunity to achieve cross-sectional represen-
tation, the Court said:
... While in theory the number of viewpoints repre-
sented on a randomly selected jury ought to increase
as the size of the jury increases, in practice the dif-
ference between the 12-man and the six-man jury in
terms of the cross-section of the community repre-
sented seems likely to be negligible. Even the 12-man
jury cannot insure representation of every distinct
voice in the community, particularly given the use
of the peremptory challenge. As long as arbitrary ex-
clusions of a particular class from the jury rolls are
forbidden, see, e.g., Carter v. Jury Commission, 396
U.S. 320, 329-330 (1970), the concern that the cross-
section will be significantly diminished if the jury is
decreased in size from 12 to six seems an unrealistic
one.
Id. at 102. Subsequently, in Bellew v. Georgia, 435 U.S.
223 (1978), the Court found that, although the process of
constitutional line-drawing in cases regarding jury size is
somewhat artificial, id. at 231-232, the line had to be
- =
drawn at six; a jury of five was held unconstitutional.
Petitioner says the Court reached this result “because [a
jury of five] decreases the opportunity for meaningful and
appropriate representation of a cross section of the com-
munity” (Pet. Br. at 11-12), but that is only partially ac-
curate. This Court actually enumerated five separate con-
cerns which led to its holding, and the concern for cross-
sectional representation ranked fourth. Jd. at 232-239.
Other concerns included the negative effect on the dy-
namics of group deliberation, a greater risk of inaccurate
results, and large disparities in the results in close cases.
Id. A verdict by a non-unanimous six-person jury was held
to violate the Sixth Amendment for the same reasons in
Burch v. Louisiana, 441 U.S. 130, 138 (1979), but in Apodaca
v. Oregon, 406 U.S. 404 (1972) (plurality opinion), the Court
upheld a statute permitting the return of non-unanimous
verdicts from 12-person juries, and expressly rejected the
contention that it led to nullification of minority viewpoints
in violation of the cross-section requirement. Jd. at 412-
414. See also, id. at 378-380 (Powell, J., concurring in the
judgment).?
In each of this Court’s decisions dealing with the cross-
section principle, a systemic aspect of the jury trial, af-
fecting all cases, has been involved. In Taylor and the
cases that led up to it, it was the way in which jury pools
were defined and jury venires drawn, and in Williams,
Apodaca, and Ballew, it was the format of the petit jury
system. Throughout these decisions, the Court has always
been careful to avoid having its opinions construed to im-
2 Apodaca involved a statute authorizing a verdict by a vote of
10 to two. 406 U.S. at 406. On the same day, the Court upheld a
statute permitting a verdict by a vote of nine to three in Johnson
v. Louisiana, 406 U.S. 356 (1972), but no argument was raised in
that case concerning the impact on the cross-section requirement.
x
pute any extension of the cross-section requirement to the
composition of the petit jury actually chosen to try an
individual case. Taylor, 419 U.S. at 538; Apodaca, 406
U.S. at 413; Fay, 332 U.S. at 284; Thiel, 328 U.S. at 220.°
Nevertheless, the California Supreme Court held in Peo-
ple v. Wheeler, 22 Cal.3d 258, 148 Cal. Rptr. 890, 583 P.2d
748 (1978), that the cross-section principle is violated by
the use of peremptory challenges in an individual case to
excuse any members of a cognizable group on the basis
of a supposed bias common to members of the group, and
although the holding was grounded in the state constitu-
tion, the court relied largely on the decisions of this Court
discussed above to support the result reached. 538 P.2d
at 754-757. Since then, five other states* and two federal
3 In McCray v. Abrams, 750 F.2d 1113 (2nd Cir. 1984), vacated,
106 S.Ct. 3289 (1986), the court posited that the decisions in the
j size and unanimity cases, and in Witherspoon v. Illinois, 391
US. 510 (1968), authorized ‘‘constitutional scrutiny” of the steps
involved in sel a petit jury from the venire in a specific case.
750 F.2d at 1129. This reading of Ballew and Apodaca is unwar-
ranted, because neither case involved scrutiny of the composition
of a particular petit quty, they involved scrutiny of the structure
of the jury system. While Witherspoon did involve the composi-
tion of the petit jury, it did not rest on the loss of 2 distinctive
community group through the cause excusai of death-scrupled
jurors, it rested on the loss of impartiality in a jury so composed.
391 U.S. at 518. No one disputes that the composition of a single
jury may be examined to determine whether it is impartial, see,
e.g., Irvin v. Dowd, 366 U.S. 717 (1961), but the impartiality of
the jury in this case is not in question. Moreover, it would be dif-
ficult to square the Second Circuit’s view of Witherspoon with this
Court’s statement in McCree that “[wle have never invoked the
fair cross-section principle to invalidate the use of either for-cause
or peremptory challenges to prospective jurors. ..’’ 476 U.S. at
173 (emphasis added).
4 Fields v. People, 732 P.2d 1145 (Colo. 1987); State v. Gilmore,
103 N.J. 508, 511 A.2d 1150 (1986); Riley v. State, 496 A.2d 997
(Del. 1985), cert. denied, 106 S.Ct. 3339 (1986); State v. Neil, 457
So.2d 481 (Fla. 1984); Commonwealth v. Soares, 377 Mass. 481,
387 N.E.2d 499, cert. denied, 444 U.S. 881 (1979).
~19~—
circuits’ have adopted the rationale of Wheeler. Many
more state courts® and federal circuits? have rejected this
approach.
Petitioner’s argument is based on McCray and Booker,
which in turn are based on Wheeler. It is that extension
of the cross-section requirement to the petit jury follows
necessarily from what was said in Taylor about the func-
tion of the requirement and its relation to the function
of the jury. He says that the requirement that jury pools
and venires be representative would be pointless if it were
not intended to have some impact on the composition of
the petit jury, and would be nullified if the peremptory
challenge could be used to accomplish in an individual case
what would be impermissible at the pool and venire selec-
tion stages. (Pet. Br. at 10-11) He also argues that the
function of the jury is the interposition of the common-
sense judgment of the community between the govern-
ment and the accused, and that this function could not
be performed if any distinctive group could be excluded
5 McCray, supra; Roman v. Abrams, 822 F.2d 214 (2nd Cir.
1987); Booker v. Jabe, 775 F.2d 762 (6th Cir. 1985), vacated, 106
S.Ct. 3289 (1986), opinion reinstated, 801 F.2d 871 (6th Cir. 1986),
cert. denied, 107 S.Ct. 910 (1987).
6 See, e.g., Nevius v. State, 699 P.2d 1053 (Nev. 1985); State v.
Wiley, 144 Ariz. 525, 698 P.2d 1244 (1985); State v. Ucero, 450 A.2d
809 (R.I. 1982); State v. Sims, 639 S.W.2d 105 (Mo. Ap pp. 1982);
Commonwealth v. Henderson, 438 A.2d 951 (Pa. 1981); Blackwell
v. State, 248 Ga. 138, 281 S.E.2d 599 (1981); Mallot v. State, 608
P.2d 737 (Ala. 1980); State v. Grady, 93 Wis.2d 1, 286 N.W.2d 607
(1979); State ». Stewart, 225 Kan. "410, 591 P.2d 166 (1979).
7 United States v. Leslie, 783 F.2d 541 (5th Cir. 1986) (en banc),
vacated, 107 S.Ct. 708 (1987), opinion following remand, 816 F.2d
1006 (5th Cir. 1987); Willis v. Zant, 720 F.2d 212 (11th Cir. 1983),
cert. denied, 467 U.S. 1256 (1984); United States v. Childress, 715
F.2d 1313 (8th Cir. 1983) (en banc), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 1063
(1984); United States v. Whitfield, 715 F.2d 145 (4th Cir. 1983);
Weathersby v. Morris, 708 F.2d 1493 (9th Cir. 1983), cert. denied,
464 U.S. 1046 (1984).
—20—
from the petit jury. (Pet. Br. at 12-13) Finally, he says
that the legitimacy of the judicial system suffers in the
eyes of the community when the jury that decides a case
lacks the appearance of a body representative of the com-
munity. (Pet. Br. at 14) The first part of this argument
ignores the significant difference between the process of
selecting pools or venires and the process of selecting a
petit jury, and misinterprets the relevant decisions of this
Court. The second and third parts are indistinguishable
from the contention that affirmative steps should be taken
to have each petit jury actually mirror the diversity of
the community.
The equal protection cases which led up to Taylor make
clear that the exclusion of distinctive groups from eligibil-
ity for jury service in any case is discriminatory and per-
nicious in ways that the use of peremptory challenges in
an individual case is not. Disqualifying the members of
a group from jury service in all cases acts as “a brand
upon them, affixed by the law, an assertion of their inferi-
ority”, Strauder, 100 U.S. at 308, while the use of per-
emptory challenges indicates no more than the belief of
a litigant in a particular case involving particular issues
that the challenged jurors are likely to have a bias with
respect to those issues. A priori disqualification based on
group affiliation also creates the impression that the jury,
as an institution, is “the organ of [a] special group or
class”, Glasser, 315 U.S. at 86, while individuals of any
group are subject to peremptory challenges in any case.
To say that competence for jury service in general “is
an individual rather than a group or class matter’’, Thiel,
328 U.S. at 220, is not the same as saying that group
identity bears absolutely no relation to the ability of jurors
to fairly and impartially decide the issues in a particular
case. Furthermore, the contention that if Taylor is not
extended it will be rendered a nullity, and the jury will
cease to operate as the intended buffer between the gov-
ernment and the accused, is overstated. The requirement
that jury pools be representative and venires be selected
at random means that the prosecutor cannot know prior
to the decision to charge an offense what the composi-
tion of the venire will be, and cannot count on having
enough peremptory challenges to exclude members of
groups deemed partial as well as those individuals with
more palpable biases. Thus, the requirement that the pool
and venire be cross-sectional discourages “the corrupt or
overzealous prosecutor” from bringing “unfounded crim-
inal charges.”’ Duncan, 391 U.S. at 156.
Respondents are in complete agreement with peti-
tioner’s statement that the “prophylactic purpose [of the
jury] is not provided if the jury pool is made up of only
special segments of the populace or if large, distinctive
groups are excluded from the pool...” (Pet. Br. at 13)
However, petitioner makes the leap from this proposition
to the following one, in the same sentence: “... neither
can [the prophylactic purpose] be served if a distinctive
group is excluded from the petit jury by peremptory
challenge.” (Pet. Br. at 13) (emphasis added). Nowhere
does he explain why the exercise of the peremptory chal-
lenge is the operative occurrence which negates the proper
functioning of the jury. It is entirely possible that a dis-
tinctive group could be excluded from the petit jury be-
cause the random draw of a venire produced an aberrant
underrepresentation of the group, and because those mem-
bers who were called were properly excused for cause.
Nor does petitioner explain why a multi-racial, multi-ethnic
jury of six men and six women from which all Catholics
have been peremptorily excused cannot possibly operate
as the Sixth Amendment intended it to in a case with
no religious overtones at all, while an all-white, all-male,
socioeconomically homogenous jury selected without the
- =
use of any peremptory challenges in a case fraught with
racial tensions and involving a black female defendant can.
The argument that peremptory excusal at the petit jury
stage has the same effect on the function of the jury as
systematic exclusion from the pool or the venire is an
argument that affirmative steps have to be taken to pro-
duce cross-sectional juries.
The parallel argument, that peremptory excusal of a
group in an individual case results in public perception
of unfairness to the same extent as systematic exclusion
from the pool or the venire (Pet. Br. at 14), is defective
for the same reasons. It is doubtful that public concern
would be expressed over the composition of the jury in
the first case described above, but not the second. A
priori exclusion of any distinctive group, such as that in-
volved in Taylor, casts a cloud over the entire system,
but on a case-by-case basis, perceptions turn not only on
who is included on the jury but on who the other partici-
pants in the case are. However, the rule of Batson pro-
tects the integrity of the individual case by prohibiting
the use of peremptory challenges to exclude members of
a cognizable racial group te which the defendant belongs
solely because of the shared characteristic.
The argument that any procedure which may conflict
with the opportunity provided by the process of the ran-
dom draw to achieve cross-sectional representation vio-
lates the Sixth Amendment (Pet. Br. at 11-12), is unten-
able. Ballew, supra, is cited in support of this argument,
but Ballew does not stand for that proposition. Ballew
teaches that jury size has consequences for the function
the jury is intended to perform, and there is a point below
which the impairment to that function takes on constitu-
tional significance. “This line-drawing process, ‘although
essential, cannot be wholly satisfactory, for it requires at-
taching consequences to events which, when they lie very
~23_
near the line, actually differ very little.’ ” Burch, 441 U.S.
at 138, quoting Duncan, 391 U.S. at 161. Everything said
in Ballew about the impact of_the five-person jury on the
opportunity for cross-sectional representation might just
as easily apply to a reduction from 12 to six, because it
is obvious that a six-person jury presents much less of an
opportunity for cross-sectional representation than a jury
of 12, but the six-person jury was approved in Williams.
Also, a non-unanimous 12-person jury may reduce the
force of those minority voices which are present on the
petit jury, to the detriment of cross-sectional values, but
that does not make it unconstitutional. Apodaca, supra.
Thus, Williams and Apodaca suggest that cross-sectional
values, while important, are not always paramount. It is
therefore necessary to examine the importance to the jury
system of the peremptory challenge, and the impact peti-
tioner’s proposed extension would have on it.
B. Extension Of The Cross-Section Requirement Would
Destroy The Value Of The Peremptory Challenge And
Seriously Undermine The Ability Of Both Sides To
Select A Fair And Impartial Jury.
The discussion which follows proceeds from two assump-
tions about the cross-section principle: that if it is ex-
tended to the petit jury selection stage, the considera-
tions which define what a cognizable group is would be
the same as those used when the jury pool or venire is
examined; and-that it would operate to restrict a defen-
dant’s use of peremptory challenges as well as the
prosecution’s.
The first assumption has not been uniformly accepted
by the courts that have endorsed the extension argument.
Taylor cautions that what groups can be considered
cognizable may fluctuate depending on time and place, 419
U.S. at 537, and in Duren v. Missouri, 439 U.S. 357
alii
(1979), the Court said that a group is cognizable if its
members are sufficiently numerous within the communi-
ty and distinct from other well-defined groups. Jd. at 364.
These are questions of fact, Hernandez v. Texas, 347 U.S.
475, 478 (1954), the resolution of which may require an
extensive evidentiary hearing. See, e.g., Willis v. Zant,
720 F.2d at 1216-17. However, the courts applying the
cross-section requirement at the petit jury selection stage
have generally treated cognizability as a question of law,
and have arbitrarily limited those groups considered
cognizable. See Fields, 732 P.2d at 1153-54, n.15, and
Soares, 387 N.E.2d at 515-516 and n.n. 29, 33 (cognizability
defined only by race, gender, religion, and national origin);
Rilzy, 496 A.2d at 1012 (limited to race); McCray, 750
F.2d at 1131, and Neil, 457 So.2d at 487 (race the only
defining characteristic discussed, and no subsequent au-
thority dealing with groups other than racial groups.)* No
valid reason is given for why this should be so.
The second assumption has been accepted by four of the
eight jurisdictions that apply the cross-section principle
to petit jury selection. Booker, 775 F.2d at 772; Neil, 457
So.2d at 487; Soares, 387 N.E.2d at 517, n.35; Wheeler,
588 P.2d at 765, n.29.° If such an extension, and the at-
tendant restrictions on the use of peremptory challenges,
is necessary to insure a jury which is fair and gives the
8 It is questionable whether ro can A nang sor igh
tate applying cross-section principles to petit Jury selection.
Kibler “4 State, 501 So.2d 76 (Fla. App. 1987), it was held that
white defendants lack standing to object to the peremptory ex-
cusal of blacks, and this makes the Florida rule more ay
resemble one based on equal protection rather than Sixth Amend-
ment principles.
9 In the other jurisdictions, the question of restricting a defen-
dant’s challenges was either not discussed (McCray; Riley), or not
resolved (Fields, 732 P.2d at 1156, n.19; Gilmore, 511 A.2d at 1168,
n.6).
appearance of fairness, then the restrictions must apply
to all. Booker, 775 F.2d at 772. “Society also has a right
to a fair trial.”” Fay, 332 U.S. at 288.
As did the State in Batson, respondents concede that
the Constitution does not guarantee a right to peremptory
challenges, and that Swain v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 202
(1965) recognized that their use is subject to the stric-
tures of the Equal Protection Clause. However, the argu-
ment that restrictions on their use “will eviscerate the
fair trial values served by the peremptory challenge”,
which was rejected in Batson, 476 U.S. at 98, carries con-
siderably more force here then it did in the equal prc-
tection context. Batson carefully limited the opportunity
to raise objections to the use of peremptory challenges
to those situations in which the excluded group is “a
cognizable racial group” of which the defendant is also
a member. 476 U.S. at 96. Under a cross-section analysis,
there is no requirement that the defendant be a member
of the excluded group, nor must the excluded group be
“a cognizable racial group.” The types of groups that
might be considered cognizable for cross-section purposes
is potentialiy limitless, depending only on sufficient num-
bers and distinctiveness in a given place at a given time,
and may include groups defined by age, see Annot., 62
ALR 4th 859 (1988), or by ecc:omic, social, political, or
occupational status, religious affi! ytion, or geographic loca-
tion, see Thiel, 328 U.S. at 220, as well as groups defined
by race, gender, or national origin. McCree, 476 U.S. at
175. Thus, extension of the cross-section requirement would
limit the peremptory challenge to an infinitely greater de-
gree than does the Equal Protection Clause, and it would
limit the defendant as well as the prosecution. Indeed,
it would prohibit the use of peremptory challenges by
either side for all but frivolous reasons or the most palpa-
ble manifestations of individual bias.
—26—
The history of the peremptory challenge, and its contri-
bution to the overall fairness of the jury system was re-
counted at length in Swain, 380 U.S. at 212-221, and de-
spite the limited restrictions imposed on its use in Batson,
this Court continues to recognize that “the peremptory
challenge occupies an important position in our trial pro-
cedures. ..”” 476 U.S. at 98. It allows for the elimination
of extremes of partiality at both ends of the spectrum,
and insures a jury each of whose members is considered
by both parties to be most able to render a fair and just
verdict. When group membership correlates with partiality
for purposes of the issues involved in a particular case,
members of that group will be clustered at one end of
the spectrum of partiality and the peremptory challenges
used by one side or the other are likely to be directed
to some degree at that group. In such a case, rigid adher-
ence to the principle of cross-sectionalism disserves the
core guarantee of the Sixth Amendment—an impartial
jury—while the peremptory challenge promotes it. Thus,
restricting the use of peremptory challenges .n the name
of cross-sectionalism destroys the value of the challenge
and seriously impairs the ability of both sides to select
an impartial jury.
C. Extension Of The Cross-Section Requirement Is Un-
workable Because No Principied And Practical Standard
Has Been Proposed.
In McCree, supra, this Court said that ‘‘an extension
of the fair cross-section requirement to petit juries would
be unworkable and unsound. . .” 476 U.S. at 174. Never-
theless, petitioner argues that Duren, supra, a case de-
cided seven years before McCree, supplies a standard
which can be adapted for purposes of applying the cross-
section requirement to petit juries. However, the stan-
dard proposed by petitioner is inconsistent with the stan-
dard proposed by amicus The Lawyers’ Committee For
—27—
Civil Rights Under Law; both are inconsistent with the
standard adopted in Wheeler; and none of these standards
provides a principled and practical approach.
Petitioner proposes that a prima facie violation of the
Sixth Amendment can be established by showing that:
1) the group alleged to be excluded is a distinctive
group in the community;
2) representation of this group on the petit jury is
not fair and reasonable in relation to the number of
such persons in the community; and
3) the underrepresentation is attributable to the prose-
cutor’s use of his peremptory challenges.
(Pet. Br. at 15) This is, almost verbatim, the standard es-
tablished in Duren, the only differences being the substi-
tution of “the petit jury” for “venires from which juries
are selected” in the second prong, and “the prosecutor’s
use of his peremptory challenges” for “systematic exclu-
sion of the group in the jury-selection process” in the
third. See 439 U.S. at 364.
The failure of this standard to provide a coherent and
internally consistent guide for purposes of examining petit
jury composition stems from its retention of the propor-
tionality component of the Duren standard. At issue in
Duren was a statute allowing women to opt out of jury
service if they did not wish to be called, a practice which
resulted in jury venires averaging less than 15% female
in the county where Duren was tried, even though women
constituted more than 5u% of the population of the county.
To make out a prima facie case, it was necessary to es-
tablish that women were not proportionately represented
on venires over a period of time, thus showing systematic
exclusion. In other words, the proportionality component
of the Duren standard is inextricabiy bound up with the
need to show that the exclusion was “systematic”, i.e.,
—~28—
“inherent in the particular jury-selection process utilized”’,
id. at 366, rather than the result of a random draw that
produced an aberrant venire in an individual case. Ex-
tending the cross-section requiremcnt to the petit jury
necessarily entails drevping the requirement that the ex-
clusion be ‘‘systematic’’, but retaining the proportional-
ity element in that context leads to absurd results.
First, it is clear from the standard proposed by peti-
tioner that no objection to the use of peremptory chal-
lenges can be raised until the selection of the jury is com-
plete, because it is only then that the second prong of
his standard—“representation of [a] group on the petit
jury is not fair and reasonable in relation to the number
of such persons in the community”—can be evaluated. One
cannot know if a group is underrepresented on the petit
jury until the composition of the petit jury is known. Sec-
ond, if the purpose of extending the cross-section require-
ment is to eliminate the use of any peremptory challenges
against members of a cognizable group solely on the basis
of group membership rather than on an individualized in-
dication of bias, see Booker, 775 F.2d at 771; McCray, 750
F.2d at 1131; Soares, 387 N.E.2d at 515; Wheeler, 583
P.2d at 760-761, then petitioner’s standard clearly does
not serve that purpose. If the members of a distinctive
group make up 20% of the general population of the com-
munity, and two members of the group are included on
the petit jury, then the group is not underrepresented,
and the second prong of the standard cannot be estab-
lished. Thus, no prima facie violation of the cross-section
requirement could be shown, even if the group was over-
repre‘ °nted on the venire and the prosecutor, with ten
percaptory challenges, used all of them on other members
of the group, freely admitting that group membership was
the reason. This suggests one of two things, both of which
are fatal to the extension argument. Either some, but not
—29_
all, group-based peremptory challenges are permissible,
in which case the major premise of the extension argu-
ment as set forth in the cases which adopt it is false; or
the real aim of petitioner’s position is to acquire a right
to a petit jury of a particular composition, consisting of
a proportionate number of jurors who are members of one
or more groups he deems partial to him, which cannot
be abridged unless there is a compelling justification. This
Court has repeatedly and expressly refused to confer such
a right. Batson, 476 U.S. at 86, n. 6; Taylor, 419 U.S.
at 538.
The standard proposed by amicus The Lawyers’ Com-
mittee For Civil Rights Under Law differs from that pro-
posed by petitioner in several significant respects, but is
equally ill-suited to serve cross-sectionalism. It calls for
comparison of the percentage of group members left on
the venire after the prosecutor’s peremptory challenges
have been exercised with the percentage of the group in
the general population, to determine whether there is rea-
sonable proportionality. As with petitioner’s focus on pre-
portionality, this suggests that it is permissible, up to a
point, to use peremptory challenges for group-based rea-
sons. Moreover, it does not call for examination of the
composition of the petit jury at any point, and consid-
erable litigation could take place over a prosecutor’s use
of peremptory challenges to “exclude” a group which may
actually have been substantially overrepresented on the
petit jury finally selected in comparison to its numbers
in the community. Also, it eppears that amicus would
recognize as “cognizable” only those groups defined by
race (Br. for Lawyers’ Committee at 12-14), while peti-
tioner’s proposed standard contains no such limitation.
The standards proposed by petitioner and amicus The
Lawyers’ Committee not only differ from each other, both
differ substantially from the standard adopted in Wheeler
- =
and used in the other jurisdictions purportedly applying
cross-section principles to the petit jury selection stage.
Under Wheeler, a prima facie case of a violation of the
cross-section requirement has two components, beyond
making a record as to the group identity of the venire-
persons: a party must show “that the persons excluded
are members of a cognizable group within the meaning
of the representative cross-section rule”; and “from the
circumstances of the case he must show a strong likelihood
that such persons are being challenged because of their
group association rather than because of any specific bias. |
583 P.2d at 764. Although this standard avoids the pit-
fall of including a proportionality element, it creates other
mischief. In People v. Snow, 44 Cal.3d 216, 242 Cal. Rptr.
477, 746 P.2d 452 (1987), the defendant, a black man, was
tried by a 12-person jury which included two blacks. There
is no indication as to how many blacks were on the venire
or how large a group they were in the community, but
it was shown that the prosecutor used six of the 16 alloted
peremptory challenges to excuse blacks. Because the pros-
ecutor had not satisfactorily explained his use of peremp-
tory challenges, the California Supreme Court found that
a violation of the cross-section requirement had been
shown, and it reversed the conviction. 746 P.2d at 456-458.
The court held that the «<cusal of any members of a cog-
nizable group violates Wheeler, whether or not the jury
contains other members of that group, and even if the
group is represented on the jury in direct proportion to
its numbers in the community. 746 P.2d at 457.
As applied in Snow, the Wheeler standard is indistin-
guishable from the equal protection analysis employed in
Batson. This lends support to the observation of Judge
Ripple, concurring in the judgment below, that in the time
between Swain and Batson “the sixth amendment analy-
sis was, I respectfully suggest, simply an elliptical way for
- =
the lower courts to avoid the precedential effect of Swain.”
(J.A. at 37)
The problem of formulating a standard for implement-
ing an extension of the cross-section requirement to the
petit jury selection stage is that no standard remains true
to cross-section principles. The premise that is essential
to the courts that have adopted the extension argument
is that peremptory challenges may never be used to ex-
clude members of a distinct group based solely on group
affiliation. If proportionality is made an element of the
standard, then the premise is proven false because the
standard does nothing to remedy even blatantly group-
based challenges once minimum proportional representa-
tion is achieved. However, if proportionality is irrelevant,
then a remedy exists for a single group-based challenge,
even if the jury finally chosen is a perfect mirror of the
community, and the remedy is reversal of the conviction
in the name of cross-sectionalism. Thus, extension of the
cross-section requirement to the petit jury is theoretical-
ly unsound and practically unworkable, and the judgment
of the Court of Appeals should be affirmed.
Il.
FOR PURPOSES OF THE RETROACTIVITY DOCTRINE,
THE DATE OF THE ANNOUNCEMENT OF A NEW RULE
OF CONSTITUTIONAL LAW IS THE ONLY APPROPRI-
ATE WATERSHED, AND THE RULE OF BATSON v.
KENTUCKY SHOULD NOT BE APPLIED RETROACTIVE-
LY TO CASES IN WHICH THE CONVICTION BECAME
FINAL PRIOR TO THE DATE OF THE DECISION.
In its relatively brief history, the retroactivity doctrine
has been a subject of considerable debate among the mem-
bers of this Court, and it has recently undergone consid-
erable change. However, at least since Linkletter v.
Walker, 381 U.S. 618 (1965), two aspects of this doctrine
—32—
have remained constant, and have never been questioned.
The first is that when giving retroactive effect to a new
rule of constitutional law, the date of the announcement
of the rule is the watershed event, and not some event oc-
curring prior to the rendition of judgment. The second
is that what Justice Harian called the Blackstonian theory—
“that the law should be taker to have always been what it
is said to mean at a later time’, Mackey v. United States,
401 U.S. 667, 677 (1971) (Harlan, J., dissenting)—is not viable.
It is these principles which petitioner calls into question in
this case.
A. The Denial Of Certiorari In McCray v. New York Neither
Foreshadowed The Decision In Batson v. Kentucky Nor
Destreved The Precedential Effect Of Swain v. Alabama.
This Court denied certiorari in McCray v. New York, 461
U.S. 961 (1983) on May 31, 1983, four months before peti-
tioner’s conviction became final upon the completion of direct
review. McCray sought relief on grounds that the prosecutor
in his case used peremptory challenges to exclude all blacks
and Hispanics from the jury, alleging violations of equal pro-
tection and the Sixth Amendment. See McCray v. New York,
51 U.S.L.W. 3740 (U.S. April 12, 1983) (No. 82-1381). Justice
Stevens, joined by Justices Blackmun and Powell, filed an
opinion respecting the denial of certiorari, noting the im-
portance of the issues raised, but expressing a preference
“to allow the States to serve as laboratories in which the
issue receives further study before it is addressed by this
Court.” 471 U.S. at 963. Justice Marshall, joined by Justice
Brennan, dissented from the denial of certiorari.
Three years later, this Court decided Batson v. Kentucky,
476 U.S. 79 (1986), and it subsequently held that the rule
of Batson was to be given retroactive effect to all cases
pending on direct review “when Batson was decided”,
Griffith v. Kentucky, 107 S.Ct. 708, 710 (1987), but not
- =
to “convictions that became final before our decision [in
Batson] was announced.” Allen v. Hardy, 106 S.Ct. 2878,
2880 (1986) (per curiam). Petitioner’s conviction became
final before the decision in Batson was announced, but
he says that retroactive application in accord with Griffith
should be extended to cases like his, pending on direct
review when certiorari was denied in McCray. He argues
that the observations of three Justices regarding the im-
portance of the issues presented by McCray’s petition,
coupled with the dissenting opinions of two Justices, in-
dicated that a majority of this Court was interested in
reexamining Swain v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 202 (1965), and
that this had the effect of destroying the precedential
force of Swain. (Pet. Br. at 23-26)
The contention that Swain was made a dead letter by
the opinions accompanying the denial of certiorari in Mc-
Cray is wrong for several reasons. The opinion of Justice
Stevens notes that two state courts had scrutinized the
use of peremptory challenges in individual cases by rely-
ing on Sixth Amendment principles, 461 U.S. at 962, n.*,
and encourages “the various States”, id. at 963 (emphasis
added), to serve as laboratories. This suggests an interest
not in reexamining the equal protection holding of Swain,
but in the analysis of Sixth Amendment principles de-
veloped after Swain. Because of its reference to “the
various States”, the opinion does not imply that the lower
federal courts should be free to reinterpret the Equal Pro-
tection Clause.
Similarly, the dissent in McCray focuses on Sixth Amend-
ment principles, and although critical of Swain, does not
perforce advocate overturning it. The dissent takes the
view that the developments in Sixth Amendment jurispru-
dence after Swain provide a different constitutional basis
for reaching a different result. 461 U.S. at 965-970. More-
over, all of the state courts that departed from Swain
————_
—34—
did so on the basis of jury trial provisions in their state
constitutions, and they referred to state equal protection
guarantees only to define cognizable groups. Even the two
federal circuits that accepted the invitation to serve as
laboratories reaffirmed the continued vitality of Swain as
the prevailing equal protection doctrine. Booker v. Jabe,
775 F.2d 762, 767 (6th Cir. 1985), vacated, 106 S.Ct. 3289,
opinion reinstated 801 F.2d 871 (6th Cir. 1986), cert.
denied, 107 S.Ct. 910 (1987); McCray v. Abrams, 750 F.2d
1113, 1123-24 (2nd Cir. 1984), vacated, 106 S.Ct. 3289
(1986). Petitioner says that after the denial of certiorari
in McCray, no lawyer worthy of the name could rely with
confidence o1: the continued vitality. of Swain. (Pet. Br.
at 25) In fact, between McCray and Batson, not even the
courts that were most critical of Swain believed that it
was not the dominant equal protection precedent.
The question of retroactivity arises only when a deci-
sion represents a significant departure from prior prece-
dent. Batson was “an explicit and substantial break with
prior precedent”, Allen, 106 S.Ct. at 2880, overruling the
key portion of Swain. To accept the proposition that such
a momentous event as this Court overruling one of its
prior decisions was so clearly foretold in the nonbinding
opinions expressed on the denial of certiorari three years
earlier is to make a greater precedent of McCray than
Batson. For purposes of the retroactivity doctrine, the
announcement of a new rule of constitutional law by this
Court must always be considered the main event.
Petitioner also makes a separate argument that retro-
active application of Batson to cases in which the convic-
tion became final prior to the decision, but after the denial
certiorari in McCray, is not inconsistent with Allen. (Pet.
Br. at 26-29) Griffith and Allen divide the cases into two
categories for purposes of Batson retroactivity: cases in
which the conviction became final either before or after
—35—
the decision. Petitioner appears to be saying that a third
category should be created, consisting of cases in which
the conviction became final in the time between McCray
and Batson, and that, without disturbing either Griffith
or Allen, retroactivity for this third category may be sepa-
rately considered. He then invokes the three-part Link-
letter analysis. This argument is confusing, because it sug-
gests that while McCray did not destroy the preceden-
tial effect of Swain, thereby making the proposed third
category entitled to the benefit of Batson through Griffith,
McCray should still be given some significance for retro-
activity purposes. Petitioner does not say why. Moreover,
Allen applied the Linkletter test and found that, for cases
in which the conviction became final prior to Batson,
retroactive application was unwarranted. Petitioner pre-
sents no reason why the Linkletter analysis should yield
a different result depending on how long before Batson
the conviction became final.
B. Retroactive Application Of Batson To Cases In Which
The Conviction Became Final Prior To The Decision Is
Unwarranted, Regardless Of Whether The Harlan Ap-
proach Or The Three-Part Linkletter Test Is Applied.
In his now famous dissents in Mackey v. United States,
401 U.S. 667 (1971) and Desist v. United States, 394 U.S.
244 (1969), Justice Harlan was critical of the approach to
the question of retroactivity taken by the Court in Link-
letter, and further developed in Stovall v. Denno, 388 U.S.
293 (1967). Under Linkletter and Stovall, the question of
whether a new rule of constitutional law was to be given
retroactive effect was answered on a case-by-case basis,
by looking to the purpose of the new rule, the extent of
reliance on the old standard, and the impact retroactive
application would have on the administration of justice.
Stovall, 388 U.S. at 297. In Justice Harlan’s view, this
led to ad hoc and inconsistent decisions, and deviated from
= =
the correct model of judicial review. He advocated a di-
chotomy between direct and collateral review, whereby
a new rule of law announced on direct review would apply
to all similarly situated cases, but, with two narrow ex-
ceptions, would not apply to cases on collateral review
at the time of the decision. Application of the new rule
to cases where the conviction had previously become final
was unjustifiable, according to Justice Harlan, because the
proper function of collateral review was limited to testing
the validity of the judgment under the standards prevail-
ing at the time of the conviction, and because the interests
of finality and comity weighed against expanding the role
of habeas corpus. Mackey, 401 U.S. at 681-693 (Harlan,
J., dissenting): Desist, 394 U.S. at 260-269 (Harlan, J., dis-
senting).
The first part of Justice Harlan’s analysis, requiring new
rules to be applied to all non-final cases, gained accept-
ance gradually. It was applied only to Fourth Amendment
cases in United States v. Johnson, 457 U.S. 537 (1982),
then to Fifth Amendment cases in Shea v. Louisiana, 450
U.S. 51 (1985), and finally to all cases in Griffith. The
Court has yet to state whether it will adopt the second
part of the Harlan approach, see Yates v. Aiken, 108 S.Ct.
534, 537 (1988), and there remains much resistance to it.
See Griffith, 107 S.Ct. at 717-719 (White, J., dissenting);
Shea, 470 U.S. at 61-67 (White, J., dissenting); Johnson,
457 U.S. at 564-568 (White, J., dissenting).
Citing the dissenting opinions in Shea and Johnson, peti-
tioner argues that there should be no distinction for retro-
activity purposes between direct and collateral review, and
that all new constitutional rules should always be fully
retroactive. (Pet. Br. at 30-32) The dissents in Shea and
Johnson, and in Griffith, do not support that view. They
advocate adherence to the Stovall test, and as this Court
held in Allen, Batson is not retroactive under the Stovall
—37—
test to cases like petitioner’s where the conviction became
final prior to the decision. Not since before Linkletter has
the view now propounded by petitioner been a part of
the retroactivity debate.
One of the exceptions to the rule of non-retroactivity
for cases on collateral review discussed by Justice Harlan
concerned the establishment of procedures that must be
said to be “ ‘implicit in the concept of ordered liberty.’ ”’
Mackey, 401 U.S. at 693 (Harlan, J., dissenting), quoting
Palko v. Connecticut, 302 U.S. 319, 325 (1937). In their
brief (at 16-18), amicus The Lawyers’ Committee For Civil
Rights Under Law invokes this exception, arguing that
racial discrimination is inimical to democratic principles,
and particularly so when it occurs within the judicial
system.
It is clear from the context that the phrase quoted in
Justice Harlan’s opinion was used in Palko to describe
those portions of the Bill of Rights which should be in-
corporated through the Fourteenth Amendment to apply
against the States. See U.S. at 323-325. It is equally clear
that when Justice Harlan invoked that phrase, he did not
intend for it to mean precisely the same thing it meant
to Justice Cardozo when he wrote it. Otherwise, Justice
Harlan’s view would have been that all new rules estab-
lished on Fourth, Fifth, or Sixth Amendment grounds
would be fully retroactive, and that is not the case. Justice
Harlan cited Gideon v. Wainwright, 372 U.S. 335 (1963)
aS an example of a new rule that would fit within this
exception. Gideon held that the States were bound to
observe the Sixth Amendment’s guarantee of counsel for
the accused, because it is « ssential to the fairness of the
trial and the ability of the accused to have his side of
the case heard. Jd. at 343-345. If the rule of Batson was
essential to the fairness of a jury trial, such that without
it the defendant's opportunity to present his case would
iin
be meaningless, then it would have been retroactive under
Stovall, because it would have been essential to the ac-
curacy of the fact-finding process. However, this Court
said in Allen that while Batson may serve to enhance ac-
curacy, the rule it establishes is not one that “ ‘goes to
the heart of the truthfinding function.’ ” Allen, 106 S.Ct.
at 2880, quoting Solem v. Stumes, 465 U.S. 638, 645
(1984).
Whether analyzed under the Stovall test or under the
views on retroactivity articulated by Justice Harlan, retro-
active application of Batson to review of convictions, like
petitioner’s, that became final before the decision is not
warranted. The judgment of the Court of Appeals should
therefore be affirmed.
Ill.
PROCEDURAL DEFAULT BARS CONSIDERATION OF
PETITIONER’S THIRD ARGUMENT; AND, IN AN INDI-
VIDUAL CASE, THE PEREMPTORY EXCUSAL OF
JURORS WHO ARE MEMBERS OF A COGNIZABLE
RACIAL GROUP TO WHICH THE DEFENDANT ALSO
BELONGS, IN THE BELIEF THAT SUCH JURORS WILL
BE SYMPATHETIC TO THE DEFENDANT BECAUSE OF
THE SHARED GROUP CHARACTERISTIC, DOES NOT
VIOLATE THE EQUAL PROTECTION CLAUSE AS CON-
STRUED IN SWAIN v. ALABAMA.
In his third argument, petitioner contends that a viola-
tion of the Equal Protection Clause as construed in Swain
v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 202 (1965) may be established in
an individual case if the prosecutor volunteers explana-
tions for his exercise of peremptory challenges, and the
explanations are proven to be a pretext. Consideration
of this claim is barred by procedural default, because peti-
tioner did not raise it in the Illinois Appellate Court, and
that court expressed no view on this interpretation of
Swain.
= Paes TS MD OSH
Moreover, on the merits, petitioner’s argument is based
on a misinterpretation of Swain. Petitioner fails to dis-
tinguish between the situation where the prosecutor states
that his excusal of jurors belonging to a cognizable racial
group is based on his belief that such persons are un-
unqualified to serve as jurors in any case, and the situa-
tion where the reason is that such persons are likely to
be partial to the defendant in a particular case because
the defendant is also a member of the group. In the first
situation, the evidentiary burden imposed in Swain is
satisfied by the prosecutor’s admission, but Swain does
not prohibit the use of peremptory challenges based on
group affiliation if the prosecutor believes group affilia-
tion is related to the outcome of the trial.
A. The Argument That The Equal Protection Clause As
Construed In Swain Can Be Violated By The Use Of
Peremptory Challenges In An Individual Case Was Not
Raised In Or Decided By The Illinois Appellate Court.
The failure to raise a claim on direct appeal constitutes
a procedural default which bars habeas corpus review to
the same extent as the failure to object at trial. Murray
v. Carrier, 106 S.Ct. 2639, 2648 (1986). When his case was
before the Illinois Appellate Court, petitioner argued that
the manner in which the prosecutor exercised peremptory
challenges deprived him of a fair trial and an impartial
jury under the Sixth and Fourteenth Amendments, and
under the Illinois Constitution, and that the court should
adopt the rationale of Commonwealth v. Soares, 377 Mass.
461, 387 N.E.2d 499, cert. denied, 444 U.S. 881 (1979) and
People v. Wheeler, 22 Cal.3d 258, 148 Cal. Rptr. 890, 583
P.2d 748 (1978) and apply cross-section principles. His only
reference to Swain was to distinguish its analytical frame-
work from the one he intended to invoke. (Appellant’s Br.
at 73-83; Appellant’s reply Br. at 7) No effort was made
to persuade the court to read Swain in a certain way,
—40—
and to find an impermissible use of peremptory challenges
under the equal protection analysis of Swain. In its rul-
ing, the court reviewed the facts, People v. Teague, 108
Ill. App. 3d 891, 439 N.E.2d 1066, 1069-70 (1st Dist. 1982),
cert. denied, 464 U.S. 867 (1983), discussed the cross-
section cases on which petitioner relied, 439 N.E.2d at
1070, and declined to follow that approach. 439 N.E.2d
at 1070-71. Accordingly, the Court of Appeals found that
any argument based on Swain had been procedurally
defaulted. (J.A. 17, n.6)
Petitioner admits that his present argument was not pre-
sented to the state appellate court, but he says that the
court resolved the issue as though he had raised it. (Pet.
Br. at 39) The applicability of Swain when the prosecutor
volunteers an explanation for his challenges is an issue
that has split the circuits. Compare Weathersby v. Morris,
708 F.2d 1493, 1496 (9th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 464 U.S.
1046 (1984) (applying Swain) with United States v. New-
nan, 54¢ F.2d 240, 249 (2nd Cir. 1977) (holding Swain
inapplicable). It is extravagent to assert that the appellate
court’s mere citation of Swain, followed by a statement
of what is usually understood to be its holding, see 439
N.E.2d at 1070, constitutes a resolution of a question con-
cerning the proper interpretation of Swain that ~’as not
even posed. Petitioner says that the appellate court re-
jected his claim because it found Swain dispositive. (Pet.
Br. at 39) In fact, it did not. It found dispositive of the
issue presented its own decision in an earlier case, and
the decisions of the other jurisdictions, rejecting the ap-
plication of cross-section principles to petit jury selection
procedures. Petitioner’s third argument is therefore barred
by procedural default.
- Petitioner also argues that, although he did not raise
his claim concerning the proper construction of Swain in
state court, respondents may not rely on procedural de-
SA OPS 2.
fault as a defense to that claim because they did not urge
it below. (Pet. Br. at 38) The habeas corpus petition filed
in the district court alleged that the circumstances of the
case gave rise to a violation of petitioner’s Sixth and
Fourteenth Amendment rights (R. 1, pp. 4-5), and the
accompanying brief presented only one argument, seek-
ing adoption of the cross-section analysis. Respondents’
memorandum in support of their mction for summary judg-
ment addressed the impropriety of adopting petitioner’s
cross-section argument, and further asserted that no equal
protection violation could be shown under Swain because
the record contained no evidence outside the facts of peti-
tioner’s case. (R. 14) In his cross-motion, petitioner re-
sponded to the arguments against adopting a cross-section
analysis, and in one paragraph, cited Weathersby as
demonstrating “{aJnother method by which this Court can
find that petitioner has demonstrated that his constitu-
tional rights have been violated...” (R. 20, p. 5) The
Equal Protection Clause was not mentionea. Respondents,
in reply, distinguished Weathersby on its facts. (R. 22, p.
4) On appeal, petitioner continued to rely on a cross-sec-
tion analysis. The question of whether an equal protec-
tion claim had been procedurally defaulted was addressed
in supplemental memoranda filed by the parties, after
Batson v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 79 (1986) was decided.
Petitioner cites Granberry v. Greer, 107 S.Ct. 1671
(1987), which holds that the failure to raise the defense
of exhaustion in a timely fashion may or may not preclude
reliance on it at a later stage of the proceedings, depend-
ing on how the interests of comity and federalism would
be best served. Respondents did nct fail to raise pro-
cedural defauit in a timely fashion. Petitioner expressly
disavowed reliance on equal protection in state court, did
not raise it in his petition or his opening brief, and re-
ferred to it only obliquely in his cross-motion. The only
—42—
point during the habeas proceedings at which petitioner
clearly declared his intent to rely on equal protection as
a basis for relief independent of his cross-section argu-
ment was after the decision in Batson. Respondents then
promptly answered that procedural default barred the
claim, and the Court of Appeals agreed. Thus, respon-
dents’ present procedural default argument has been prop-
erly preserved. Cf., Engle v. Isaac, 456 U.S. 107, 124,
n. 26 (1982).
B. The Peremptory Excusal Of Jurors Who Are Members
Of A Cognizable Racial Group To Which The Defendant
Also Belongs, In The Belief That They Will Be Partial
To The Defendant, Is Permitted By Swain.
The predominant view of Swain is that it permits the
prosecutor to take the race of prospective jurors into ac-
count when exercising peremptory challenges, and to eXx-
cuse those who are the same race as the defendant in
the belief that they are likely to be partial to him. United
States v. Clark, 737 F.2d 679, 682 (7th Cir. 1984); United
States v. Thompson, 730 F.2d 82, 85 (8th Cir.), cert.
denied, 469 U.S. 1024 (1984); United States v. Newman,
549 F.2d 240, 249 (2nd Cir. 1977); Cunningham v. Estelle,
536 F.2d 82, 84 (5th Cir. 1976); United States v. Carter,
528 F.2d 844, 850 (8th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 425 U.S.
961 (1976). Two courts have taken a contrary view, stating
that such use of peremptory challenges is improper even
under Swain, and that constitutional error may be shown
on the record of an individual case if the prosecutor volun-
teers an explanation which is determined to be pretextual.
Garrett v. Morris, 815 F.2d 509, 511 (8th Cir.), cert.
denied, 108 S.Ct. 223 (1987); Weathersby v. Morris, 708
F.2d 1493, 1496 (9th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 1046
(1984).
In part II of its opinion in Swain, this Court expressly
recognized that peremptory challenges are
... frequently exercised on grounds normally thought
irrelevant to judicial proceedings or official action,
namely, the race, religion, nationality, occupation or
affiliations of people summoned for jury duty. For
the question a prosecutor or defense counsel must
decide is not whether a juror of a particular race or
nationality is in fact partial, but whether one from a
different group is less likely to be. ... Hence venire-
men are not always judged as individuals for the pur-
pose of exercising peremptory challenges. Rather
they are challenged in light of the limited knowledge
counsel has of them, which may include their group
affiliations, in the context of the case to be tried.
380 U.S. at 220-221 (footnotes omitted) (emphasis added).
Knowing that this was the practice, the Court did not
disapprove of it. It stated that “{wlith these considera-
tions in mind, we cannot hold that the striking of Negroes
in a particular case is a denial of equal protection of the
laws.” Id. at 221.
In part III of its opinion, the Court distinguished the
approved practice from a situation that might give rise
to an equal protection violation
We have decided that it is permissible to insulate
from inquiry the removal of Negroes from a particu-
lar jury on the assumption that the prosecutor is act-
ing on acceptable considerations related to the case
he is trying, the particular defendant involved and
the particular crime charged. But when the prose-
cutor in a county, in case after case, whatever the
circumstances, whatever the crime and whoever the
defendant or the victim may be, is responsible for
the removal of Negroes who have been selected as
qualified jurors by the jury commissioners and who
have survived challenges for cause, with the result
that no Negroes ever serve on petit juries, the Four-
teenth Amendment claim takes on added significance.
... In these circumstances, giving even the widest
leeway to the operation of irrational but trial-related .
—44—
suspicions and antagonisms, it would appear that the
urposes of the peremptory challenge are being per-
verted. If the State has not seen fit to leave a single
Negro on any jury in a criminal case, the presump-
tion protecting the prosecutor may well be overcome.
Such proof might support a reasonable inference that
Negroes are excluded from juries for reasons wholly
unrelated to the outcome of the particular case on
trial and that the peremptory system is being used
to deny the Negro the same right and opportunity
to participate in the administration of justice enjoyed
by the white population. These ends the peremptory
challenge is not designed to faciliate or justify.
id. at 223-224 (citation omitted) (emphasis added). What
the Court disapproved of in part III of the opinion was
the peremptory excusal of blacks in all cases in the belief
that blacks are unqualified to serve in ali cases, and it
distinguished this from the practice it sanctioned, name-
ly, the peremptory excusal of blacks in cases where, be-
cause of who the defendant or the victim was, the pres-
ence of blacks on the jury was believed to bear a rela-
tion to the outcome, even if a court might consider the
belief irrational. Even the dissent did net question the
analysis in part II of the major®y opinien. The position
of the dissent was that the petitiviier had satisfied the
burden discussed in part III:
The holding called for by this case, is that where as
here, a Negro defendant proves that Negroes consti-
tute a substantial segment of the population, that
Negroes are qualified to serve as jurors, and that
none or only a token number has served on juries
over an extended period of time, a prima facie case
of the exclusion of Negroes from juries is then made
out...
Id. at 244-245 (Goldberg, J., dissenting).
Nothing said in Batson puts a different gloss on Swain.
The majority opinion notes that the lower courts, “follow-
—45—
ing the teaching of Swain”, 476 U.S. at 92, have read
it to require proof of repeated peremptory excusal of
members of a group in case after case over a period of
time, but the Court did not say that this was an incor-
rect view of the holding in Swain. It said “we reject this
evidentiary formulation as inconsistent with standards that
have been developed since Swain for assessing a prima
facie case under the Equal Protection Clause.” Jd. at 93.
Similarly, the footnote in Justice White’s concurring opin-
ion, see 476 U.S. at 101, n.* (White, J., concurring), indi-
cates only that a prosecutor’s statement that he believed
blacks to be unqualified to serve as jurors in any case
would be enough to satisfy the evidentiary burden out-
lined in part III of the Swain opinion. Nothing in this
observation detracts from the statement in part II of the
Swain opinion that it is permissible to take race or other
group affiliation of prospective jurors into account when
exercising peremptory challenges if group affiliation is
believed to bear a relationship to the jurors’ perception
of the case on trial.
The prosecutor in this case did not say that he was per-
emptorily excusing blacks because he believed them to
be unqualified as jurors in any case. The stated reasons
were that some jurors “were of very young years” and
that ‘‘a balance of an equal number of men and women’’
was desired. (J.A. 3) Petitioner presents an elaborate argu-
ment in an effort to show that the stated reasons were
not the real reasons (Pet. Br. at 18-21), and he infers from
this that the real reason was that the challenged jurors,
like him, were black. Even assuming this to bk the case,
Swain permitted peremptory challenges to be exercised
for such reasons, and that is the crucial difference be-
tween Swain and Batson. Batson did not merely alter the
evidentiary burden outlined in part III of the Swain opin-
ion, it overruled the premise which was the foundation
—46—
of part II of the opinion, 2.e., that it is permissible to pre-
sume that black jurors will be sympathetic <o black defen-
dants and to exercise peremptory challenges on that basis.
Swain therefore provides no basis for finding a violation
of equal protection on the record in this case, and the
judgment of the Court of Appeals should be affirmed.
CONCLUSION
For all the foregoing “easons, respondents respectfully
request that the judgment of the United States Court of
Appeals be affirmed.
Respectfully submitted,
NEIL F. HARTIGAN
Attorney General, State of Illinois
ROBERT J. RUIZ
Solicitor General, State of Illinois
TERENCE M. MADSEN
DAVID E. BINDI *
MARCIA L. FRIEDL
Assistant Attorneys General
100 West Randolph Street, 12th Floor
Chicaro, ‘llinois 60601
- (312) 917-2239
Counsel for the Respondents
* Counsel of Record
Dated: July 1, 1988
No. 87-5259
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1988
FRANK DEAN TEAGUE,
Petitioner,
V.
MICHAEL LANE, Director, Department of Corrections,
and MICHAEL O’LEAry, Warden, Stateville
Correctional Center,
Respondents.
On Writ Of Certiorari To The United States
Court Of Appeals For The Seventh Circuit
REPLY BRIEF
THEODORE A. GOTTFRIED
Appellate Defender
MICHAEL J. PELLETIER
Deputy Defender
*PaTRICIA UNSINN
MARTIN S. CARLSON
Assistant Appellate Defenders
Office of the State Appellate Defender
State of Illinois Center
100 West Randolph St., Suite 5-500
Chicago, Illinois 60601
(312) 917-5472
Attorneys For Petitioner
*Counsel of Record
PRESS OF RAM PRINTING, HYATTSVILLE, MD 20781) (301) sHi-H882
i
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. .... o.oo cc cc ccc ccc c cece iii
Mg cb ghon ea Geka cece Tikok icone caus. l
I. THE PROSECUTION’s Use Or THE PEREMPTORY
I]
CHALLENGE To Dereat THE PossiBILity THAT
THE Petit Jury WILL REPRESENT A Fair Cross
SECTION Or THE CoMMUNITY VIOLATES THE
DEFENDANT'S SIXTH AMENDMENT RIGHT To A
FarR AND IMPARTIAL JURY. ................00.
A. No Constitutionally Significant Difference
Exists Between Selection Of Jurors For Jury
Pools And Venires And Selection Of Jurors For
DOE “ii ncehbGG5 ce ccannesckae cu:
B. No Inconsistency Exists Between The Goal Of
Selection Of Fair And Impartial Jurors Aad
Restriction Of Use Of The Peremptory Chal-
lenge To Exclude A Cognizable Group. ......
C. Petitioner's Proposed Standard For Determin-
ing Whether The Fair Cross-Section Require-
ment Has Been Violated Is Consistent With
The Duren Standard And Does Not Defeat The
Purpose Of The Requirement. .............
RETROACTIVE APPLICATION OF THE RULE OF
Batson Vv. Kentucky SHoulp Be ExteENDED AT
A MintmuM To THose DEFENDANTS WHOSE Con-
vroTions Were Not Fina WHEN CERTIORARI
Was Dentep IN McCray v. New York. .......
A. After McC ray, Swain Could Not Be J ustifiably
Relied On To Sanction A Prosecutor's Discrimi-
natory Use Of The Peremptory Challenge.
& Petitioner's Argument That New Rules Should
se Given Complete Retroactive Effect Is Not
Founded In Blackstonian Theory But In The
same Principles Which Persuade That Non-
Final Cases Benefit From A New Rule. .....
vr
l2
l4
il
Table of Contents Continued
Page
Ill. Swamy v. AtasAmaA PeRMits A PROSECUTOR'S
VoOLUNTEERED EXPLANATION For His EXERCISE
Or His PEREMPTORY CHALLENGES To Be EXam-
INED To DETERMINE WHETHER THE EXPLANA-
TION Is LEGITIMATE OR A MERE PRETEXT FoR
RACTIAL DISCRIMINATION. .......0000e0eeeees
A. Swain Did Not Hold The Assumption That
Black Jurors Are Unable To Fairly Judge Black
Defendants To Be An Acceptable Trial-Related
Consideration Justifying Peremptory Chal-
lenge Of Black Jurors Consistent With The
Fourteenth Amendment. ............--.5+:
B. The Illinois Appellate Court Held Swain
\fforded Petitioner No Basis For Relief From
te Comite ooockckcusneiucesweseeenes
C. Petitioner's Swain Claim Is Not Barred By
Procedural Default Where Respondents
Waived This Issue By Their Failure To Timely
Raise It In The District Court And Court Of
‘Appeals. ......... 2. cece ce ecceneceeeeenes
-—
vi
16
7
iil
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases Page
Anaya v. Hanson, 781 F.2d 1 (1st Cir. 1986)........... 7
Ballew v. Georgia, 435 U.S. 223 (1978). .............4. 8,9
Barber v. Ponte, 772 F.2d 982 (1st Cir. 1985), cert. denied,
EE 7
Batson v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 79 (1986).............. 2, 16
Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U.S. 145 (1968) ............ 4
Duren v. Missouri, 439 U.S. 357 (1979). ........ 2,5, 10, 11
Glasser v. United States, 315 U.S. 60 (1941)........... 4
Hayes v. Missouri, 120 U.S. 68 (1887)................ 6
Lockhart v. McCree, 476 U.S. 162 (1986) ............. 7
Mackey v. United States, 401 U.S. 667 (1971) ......... 14
McCray v. New York, 461 U.S. 961 (1983)........... 12, 13
People v. Payne, 106 Ill.App.3d 1034, 436 N.E.2d 1046
(1st Dist. 1982), reversed, 99 Ill.2d 135, 457 N.E.2d
1202 (1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1028........... 17
People v. —— 108 Ill. App.3d 891, 439 N. E.2d 1066 (1st
er ea see censcesece ias
Pw i Gece cccccececsess 4
Sands v. Cunningham, 617 F. . 155 >N
saaete <enelbad oe 7
Swain v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 202 (1965).............. 3, 15
Taylor v. Lowisiana, 419 U.S. 522 (1975). ........... 3,4,7
Thiel v. Southern Pacific Co., 328 U.S. 217 (1946). ..... 2,4
United States v. Afferbach, 754 F.2d 866 (10th Cir. 1985),
ge i
United States v. Salamone, 800 F.2d 1216 (3rd Cir. 1986) 7
United States v. Test, 550 F.2d 577 (10th Cir. 1976)... .. 7
Vail v. Board of Education, 706 F.2d 1435 (7th Cir. 1983) tL
Wainwright v. Sykes, 483 U.S. Te (977)... 2... ee Ld
Williams v. Florida, 399 U.S. 89 (1970). .............. 9,9
Weathersby v. Morris, 708 F.2d 1493 (9th Cir. 1983), cert.
ONION, SEO UD. TOT 2. ccc cece cscccesscens 18
ARGUMENT
I. THE PROSECUTION’S LSE OF THE PEREMPTORY
CHALLENGE TO DEFEAT THE POSSIBILITY THAT
THE PETIT JURY WILL REPRESENT A FAIR CROSS
SECTION OF THE COMMUNITY VIOLATES THE
DEFENDANT'S SIXTH AMENDMENT RIGHT TO A
FAIR AND IMPARTIAL JURY.
A. NoConstitutionally Significant Difference Exists
Between Selection Of Jurors For Jury Pools And
Venires And Selection Of Jurors For The Petit Jury.
Respondents contend a constitutionally significant dif-
ference exists between the process of establishing a jury
pool and selecting a venire to provide jurors for all cases,
and the process of selecting a petit jury from the venire to
try an individual case, such that a prior disqualification of
jurors based on group affiliation is intolerable in the for-
mer instaaces but acceptable in the latter. The focus at the
pool and venire stages being on the fitness of jurors to
serve in any case, whereas the focus at the petit jury stage
being on the ability of the jurors to be fair in the individual
case, the peremptory challenge of jurors based on their
membership in a cognizable group is permissible in
Respondents’ view whenever group membership corre-
lates with partiality for purposes of the pouce involved in
an individual case. From their perspectiye, the a prior
exclusion of black citizens from the jury pool or venire
would violate the Sixth Amendment fair cross-section
requirement, but challenge of black citizens peremptorily
based on their race would not, because the peremptory
challenge evidences the prosecutor’s judgment that the
excluded black jurors are unable to fairly and impartially
decide the issues in a particular case.
There is no distinction of substance between an a prior
disqualification of jurors based on their race for purposes
of selection of the jury pool or venire, which Respondents
2
agree is to be condemned, and the peremptory challenge
of jurors from a petit jury based on their race. Both
exclusions are equally reprehensible because in each
instance an a priori judgment is being made as to the
worthiness of the jurors as a class, separate and apart
from their individual ability and fitness to serve. Thiel v.
Southern Pacific Co., 328 U.S. 217, 220 (1946).
The stated legal underpinnning for Respondents argu-
ment is the “equal protection cases which led up to Taylor
[which] make clear that the exclusion of distinctive groups
from eligibility for jury service in any case is discrimi-
natory and pernicious in ways that the use of peremptory
challenges in an individual case is not.” (Resp. Br. 20)
Even were this interpretation of the Equal Protection
Clause correct,! Respondents’ argument is misfocused.
The claim at issue is founded in the Sixth Amendment, not
the Fourteenth.
An equal protection challenge is concerned with dis-
criminatory purpose, whereas a fair cross-section chal-
lenge is concerned with the disproportionate exclusion of
a distinctive group. Duren v. Missouri, 439 U.S. 357, 368
n. 26 (1979). Whether a brand of inferiority has been
affixed on jurors who are peremptorily challenged due to
their race is a separate question from whether a defend-
ant has been denied his right to a fair possibility of a cross-
sectional jury. If it is determined that a cognizable group
' Respondents do not identify their source for this distinction but
their assumption that the Equal Protection Clause would not be
offended by the peremptory challenge of black jurors based on the
judgment their race renders them unable to be fair in an individual
case is contrary to Batson v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 79, 97 (1986), which
interprets the clause to forbid challenge of “black veniremen on the
assumption that they will be biased in a particular case simply
heeause the defendant is black.”
3
has been disproportionately excluded from a jury, the
State can justify this infringement of the Sixth Amend-
ment by showing attainment of a fair cross section to be
incompatible with a significant state interest. Taylor v.
Louisiana, 419 U.S. 522, 533-535 (1975). Proof of a fair
cross-section violation requires no demonstration of dis-
criminatory intent and the State’s explanation for its
exclusion of a cognizable group does not defeat the demon-
stration of a prima facie fair cross-section violation, but
merely justifies the failure to achieve a fair community
cross section if it qualifies as a significant state interest.
No inconsistency exists between exclusion of jurors on
the basis of race by peremptory challenge and the consti-
tutional concept of a jury trial, according to Respondents.
A jury from which the prosecutor has removed all black
jurors by peremptory challenge will serve its prophylactic
purpose because in making his charging decision a pros-
ecutor will not know that he will in fact try his case before
an all-white jury. (Resp. Br. 21) The threat of a fair and
impartial jury will not deter a prosecutor in the many
instances where he can be reasonably assured in advance
that his peremptory challenges are sufficient in number to
bar a minority from the jury.
The theoretical right to trial by jury from which a
cognizable group has not been affirmatively excluded
would not afford the accused the full protection intended
* Respondents overstate the weight of authority supporting their
arguments. (Resp. Br. 19 n.6 and 7) The cases they cite decline to find
use of the peremptory challenge to exclude a minority violated the
Sixth Amendment or their state constitutions because of a belief that
Swain v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 202 (1965) presented a fundamental
obstacle to any successful attack on the peremptory challenge in a
single case.
4
by the Sixth Amendment guarantee. The right to trial by
jury is intended to be a safeguard against the compliant,
biased or eccentric judge, as well as against the corrupt or
overzealous prosecutor. Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U.S.
145, 156 (1968). The removal of a distinctive group by
peremptory challenge dilutes the quality of community
judgment on the jury, interfering with the ability of the
jury to perform this function, Taylor, 419 U.S. at 535, as
well as converting the jury into an organ of a special group
or class. Glasser v. United States, 315 U.S. 60 (1941).
Respondents believe that public concern for the integ-
rity of the criminal justice system is no greater where the
prosecution exercises its challenges so as to excluue black
jurors from an individual jury, than where an all-white
jury is selected as a result of random draw. Surely, there is
a difference in the public’s perception between an all-
white jury selected purely by chance and against the
prevailing odds and an all-white jury achieved because 1
governmental official in a very public forum has elimi-
nated prospective jurors because of the color of their skin.
In the former instance, a neutral formula has been
employed to achieve that unexpected result; in the latter,
a race-conscious formula is used to achieve a deliberate
perversion.”
‘It is not sufficient that the rule of Batson prevents exclusion of
jurors based on race where the defendant is himself a member of the
excluded group (Resp. Br. 22), because there are instances where the
prosecutor may seek exclusion of a group from a jury due to his
perception that that group will disfavor his case although defendant is
not himself a member of the excluded group. (Pet. Br. 9) Respondents
also incorrectly assume that the exclusion of black jurors has rele-
vance only for issues involving race, an assumption rejected in Peters
v. Kiff, 407 U.S. 493, 503 (1972).
ee
2
Respondents fail to recognize that acceptance of these
same arguments would result in rejection of the principle
that exclusion of a cognizable group from the jury poo! or
venire violates the Sixth Amendment. The process of
random draw and selection may result in an all-white
venire from which a petit jury is selected. However, it is
only where this discrepancy occurs consistently, rather
than occasionally, that a fair cross-section violation is
-monstrated because only then is it apparent the cause
of the underrepresentation is inherent in the particular
jury selection process utilized. Duren, 439 U.S. at 366.
The Sixth Amendment countenances that an unrepresen-
tative jury may result from the process of random selec-
tion but does ot tolerate unrepresentativeness caused by
a perversion of that process. Where perversion occurs,
whether by operation of a statutory exemption from the
jury pool or the exercise of the peremptory challenge, the
jury is not the embodiment of the democratic ideal and the
Sixth Amendment is violated. The impossibility of the
achievement of a truly representative jury in every
instance does not excuse the systematic and intentional
exclusion of a cognizable group from a jury. Thiel, 328
U.S. at 220.
In neither the petit jury nor the venire context does the
Sixth Amendment require tnat any affirmative step be
taken to ensure that the petit jury or the venire in each
instance mirrors the community. Petitioner contends only
that it bars any affirmative action which interferes with
the representative character of the jury resulting from
the process of random selection.
B. Inconsistency Exists Between The Goal Of Selec-
tion Of Fair And Impartial Jurors And The Restric-
tion Of Use Of The Peremptory Challenge To
Exclude A Cognizable Group.
Respondents concede that the peremptory challenge is
not constitutionally guaranteed but contend that recogni-
6
tion that the fair cross-section requirement limits the use
of the peremptory challenge would, even more than the
rule of Batson, disserve the core guarantee of the Sixth
Amendment—an impartial jury—that unfettered use of
the peremptory challenge would promote, because the
Sixth Amendment would limit both defense as well as
prosecution challenges* and potentially apply to a “lim-
itless” number of cognizable groups. (Resp. Br. 23-26).
The fundamental defect in Respondents’ argument is
their failure to recognize that if it were established in a
particular case that members of a cognizal le group were
actual] partial and could not be fair, or that a reasonable
basis existed to fear their partiality, a significant state
interest would exist which would justify elimination of the
group from the jury. The Sixth Ame~dment would not
interfere with “elimination of extr mex of partiality at
both ends of the spectrum,” (Resp. Br. 26) but would
prevent removal of members of a distinctive group on the
basis of a priori, irrational group-based judgments about
their partiality. The fair cross-section requirement guar-
antees, rather than interferes with, achievement of an
impartial jury. Respondents do not claim that the basis for
the exclusion of the black jurors in this case was other
than their common racial identity or that denial of their
right to challenge those excluded jurors would have inter-
fered with their ability to select a fair jury in this case.
Second, the specter raised by Respondents of a poten-
tially limitless number of cognizable groups existing at
* Whether the Sixth Amendment provides authority to restrict the
defense use of the peremptory challenge is an open question but
defense abuse of the challenge may be prohibited in the interest of
maintaining the balance of the scales between the defense and pros-
ecution. Hayes v. Missouri, 120 U.S. 681 (1887).
7
any one time and place is an exaggeration. Every identi-
fiable group is not cognizable for fair cross-section pur-
poses. The concept of distinctiveness is linked to the
purposes of the fair cross-section requirement such that
exclusion of the group from jury service must contravene
those purposes. Lockhart v. McCree, 476 U.S. 162, 174,
175 (1986). To establish cognizability courts have required
a showing of: (1) the presence of some quality which
defines and limits the group; (2) cohesiveness of attitudes,
ideas or experiences which distinguish the group from the
general social milieu; and (3) a community of interest
among the members of the group which may not be repre-
sented by other segments of society. United St..tes v. Test,
550 F.2d 577, 591 (10th Cir. 1976). The size of the group is
another factor considered. Taylor, 419 U.S. at 530.
Blacks, women and Mexican-Americans appear to be cog-
nizable groups. Lockhart, 766 U.S. at 175.°
A juror’s group membership would pose no obstacle to
his removal if the group of which he is a member did not
share such unique and distinctive attitudes or experiences
such that those perspectives could not be provided by
members of a different group. The appearance of unfair-
ness the fair cross-section requirement is designed to
protect against would not be created unless there were a
basis to believe the juror had been removed due to his
> Courts have declined to find cognizable: young adults, Barber v.
Poiite, 772 F.2d 982 (1st Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 475 U.S. 1050, NRA
members, United States v. Salamone, 800 F.2d 1216 (3rd Cir. 19886),
blue collar worke ’s and the less educated, Anaya v. Hanson, 781 F.2d
1 (Ist Cir. 1986), pe sons who choose not to register to vote, L’nited
States v. Afflerbach 754 F.2d 866 (10th Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 472
U.S. 1029, and those with lower incomes, recent residents and non-
homeowners. Sands v. Cunningham, 617 F.Supp. 1551 (D.C.N.H.
1985).
8
group identity rather than individual ability to serve.
Given the assimilating and mobile character of American
society, it is extremely unlikely that every group defined
by ethnicity, religious affiliation, economic or social sta-
tus, in each and every community at every time and place,
would qualify as distinctive, to the extent that removal of
a member of that group would deny the defendant the
benefit of the common-sense judgment of the community.
Respondents’ Brief creates the erroneous impression
that cross-sectional values have limited importance, sug-
gesting the fair cross-section requirement may not be
paramount to the State's interest in unfettered use of its
peremptory challenges. This impression results from
Respondents’ mistaken analysis of Williams v. Florida,
399 U.S. 78 (1970) and Ballew v. Georgia, 435 U.S. 223
(1978), which held a six-person but not a five-person jury
constitutionally permissible. (Resp. Br. 22, 23) Respond-
ents contend the line drawn between five and six-person
juries was largely arbitrary in that negative impact on the
opportunity for a cross-sectional jury is just as great
where a jury is reduced in size from twelve to six, as when
a jury is reduced from twelve to five. (Resp. Br. 23) Also,
the concern that a five-person jury would result in a
decreased opportunity for a representative jury ranked
only fourth among five factors which convinced the Court
in Ballew to hold the five-person jury constitutionally
inadequate. (Resp. Br. 17)
This Court articulated but did not rank the concerns
which determined its conclusion in Ballew. Because the
concerns expressed by the Court are interrelated it would
be impossible to assign a specific weight to each factor.
For instance, if the size of a jury interferes with the
opportunity for representation of minority groups, the
absence of minority groups will also have an impact on the
_—— re, pani
9
ability of the jury to engage in effective group deliberation
because the biases and prejudices of the jurors would not
be counterbalanced by minority viewpoint. Ballew, 435
U.S. at 232, 233. Moreover, in Williams the six-person
jury was not perceived as a threat to minority participa-
tion so long as arbitrary exclusion of cognizable groups
was impermissible. Williams, 399 U.S. at 102. In Ballew,
the Court learned from studies brought to its attention in
the interim that if a minority constituted 10% of the
community, 53.1% of randomly selected six-person juries
would have no minority representation while 89% would
not have two. Ballew, 435 U.S. at 237.
Thus, the conclusion reached in Williams that there
were only negligible differences in twelve and six-person
juries was proven incorrect and persuaded the Court to
permit no further reduction in jury size. More impor-
tantly, the decrease in minority representation resulting
from six-person juries was tolerated only because minor-
ities would be unrepresented due to the process of random
selection rather than arbitrary exclusion. Where a minor-
ity group is excluded by peremptory challenge, the exclu-
sion of the group is not purposeless but deliberate and
eliminates any possibility of minority representation.
C. Petitioner’s Proposed Standard For Determining
Whether The Fair Cross-Section Requirement Has
Been Violated Is Consistent With The Duren Stan-
dard And Does Not Defeat The Purpose Of The
Requirement.
Respondents argue that Petitioner's proposed standard
for determining whether a fair cross-section violation has
occurred is neither principled nor practical. Their pri-
mary objection is that it retains the proportionality com-
ponent of Duren while requiring no showing that the
disproportionality occurred over a period of time.
10
Respondents contend that retention of the propor-
tionality requirement in the petit jury context leads to
absurd results. (Resp. Br. 27, 28)
The underrepresentation of a cognizable group being
the conceptual benchmark for the fair cross-section
requirement, Duren, 438 U.S. at 364, it would be absurd
to abandon the proporationality requirement of Duren in
any fair cross-section analysis. It is difficult to conceive
how one might prove unconstitutional underrepresenta-
tion of a cognizable group without some comparison of the
percentage of a cognizable group in the community with
the percentage of the group represented on the relevant
component of the jury.
| No inconsistency results from retention of the propro-
tionality requirement where no demonstration is required
that the disproportionality occur over a period of time.
The third prong of the prima facie case articulated in
Duren is that the underrepresentation be due to the
systematic exclusion of the group in the jury-selection
process, i.e., that it be inherent in the particular jury
selection process utilized. Duren, 439 U.S. at 366. Evi-
dence that women were underrepresented on jury venires
not just occasionally, but consistently over a period of
time, furnished proof that the cause of the underrepresen-
tation was the statutory exemption at issue rather than
the random selection process. In the petit jury context
the cause of the underrepresentation will be obvious. If it
is the prosecution's exercise of its peremptory challenge,
rather than the random selection process, which causes
elimination of a cognizable group from the petit jury, proof
of repeated misuse of the peremptory challenge in other
cases would be superfluous. Only where the cause of the
underrepresentation in a particular case is not apparent is
it necessary to resort to proof of a consistent pattern of
re
ll
disproportionality to demonstrate that the underrepre-
sentation is attributable to the particular selection pro-
cess utilized.
No absurdity results from retention of the propor-
tionality requirement. Respondents contend the purpose
of the fair cross-section requirement is to eliminate group-
based peremptory challenges and retention of the propor-
tionality requirerment leads to the absurd result of permit-
ting a prosecutor to engage in discriminatory jury
selection practices once a group is fairly represented on
the venire. (Resp. Br. 28, 31) The purpose of the fair cross-
section requirement is not to eliminate discrimination but
to provide the accused a jury chosen from a fair com-
munity cross section. Duren, 439 U.S. at 368. The test
proposed by Petitioner should not be subject to criticism
for only furthering cross-sectional values while failing to
remedy an evil it was not intended to eliminate.®
Respondents assert the proportionality requirement
prevents any complaint from being made until the selec-
tion of the jury is complete. (Resp. Br. 28) Respondents
assume that in every instance it will not be demonstrable
until selection is complete that tne prosecution is exercis-
ing its challenges so as to eliminate the possibility that the
jury will reflect a fair community cross section. This pre-
mise may often be untrue because it may be apparent
° To the extent that the fair cross-section requirement would pre-
vent a prosecutor from exercising his peremptory challenges to
defeat the possibility that the petit jury will reflect a cross-section of
the community, it will also tend to eliminate discrimination in jury
selection. Knowing that he cannot employ the peremptory challenge
to eliminate a cognizable group from the jury, the prosecutor will be
forced to make individualized judgments about members of that
group in determining whether and which members of the group
should be challenged.
12
during the process of selection that the final composition
of the jury will be unrepresentative. More importantly, if
Respondents’ concern is waste of judicial resources, the
remedy is not to eliminate the Sixth Amendment guaran-
tee of a fair and impartial jury, but for the prosecution to
refrain from misconduct which will necessitate selection
of a jury anew.
Il. RETROACTIVE APPLICATION OF THE RULE OF
BATSON v. KENTUCKY SHOULD BE EXTENDED AT
A MINIMUM TO THOSE DEFENDANTS WHOSE
CONVICTIONS WERE NOT FINAL WHEN CER-
TIORARI WAS DENIED IN McCRAY vy. NEW YORK.
A. After McCray, Swain Could Not Be Justifiably
Relied On To Sanction A Prosecutor's Discriminatory
Use Of The Peremptory Challenge.
Respondents complain that Petitioner has attributed
undeserving weight to the denial of certiorari in McCray
v. New York, 461 U.S. 961 (1983) because the opinion of
Justice Stevens and the dissent suggest an interest, not in
reexamining Swain, but in a Sixth Amendment analysis,
and therefore did not imply that lower courts were free to
reinterpret the Equal Protection Clause, as evidenced by
nog courts’ unanimous adherence to Swain. (Resp. Br.
33, 34)
Petitioner agrees that lower courts did not undertake
to reexamine Swain in response to McCray but believes
their reticence is attributable not to the lack of an invita-
tion, but to the reluctance of any lower court to refuse to
follow Supreme Court precedent which has not been
expressly overruled. Vail v. Board of Education, 706 F.2d
1435, 1445 (7th Cir. 1983) (Eschbach, J., concurring).
Courts naturally gravitated toward the Sixth Amend-
ment analysis which did not have the defect of involving
an inevitable collision with Swain, but noting in the
13
opinions accompanying McCray directed lower courts
solely toward the Sixth Amendment.
Although Respondents claim the dissenters did not
advocate overturning Swain, Justice Marshall not only
posited the Sixth Amendment would provide a vehicle for
reexamining Swain, but noted the absurdity inherent in
Swain of requiring that several suffer discrimination
before any defendant could object and that Swain was
inconsistent with other equal protection cases. McCray,
461 U.S. at 965 (Marshall, J., dissenting). Justice Stevens
expressed his agreement with Justice Marshall’s
appraisal of the importance of the issue and did not direct
litigants to any particular constitutional theory, but
merely noted the current developments in the law. ‘
Petitioner does not argue that merely because a major-
ity of the Justices indicated an interest in reexamining
Swain, lower courts were free to disregard it. (Resp. Br.
33) Rather, it is the invitation extended to lower courts to
serve as laboratories in which the procedural and sub-
stantive problems associated with judicial review of
peremptory challenges receive further study before the
Court would address the issue, that had the effect of
destroying the precedential force of Swain. If lower
courts were to experiment, to test solutions to the prob-
lems of discriminatory use of the peremptory challenge,
Swain could no longer control and could not be relied on to
dismiss a claim of discrimination in the exercise of the
peremptory challenge.
7 Respondents imply that if any invitation existed to reexamine
Swain it was extended only to state courts (Resp. Br. 33) but fail to
explain why Justice Stevens would also note the absence of any
conflicting decisions in the federal system as a reason to delay resolu-
tion of the issue. 461 U.S. at 962.
l4
Petitioner is not suggesting that McC ray is paramount
to Batson, nor is that the issue. (Resp. Br. 34) The issue is
whether a case on collateral review can be denied the
retroactive benefit of a new rule based on the need for
finality and allocation of limited resources, where a dis-
tinction is drawn between direct and collateral review on
the assumption there is assurance the conviction was
perfectly free from error when it become final. Mackey v.
United States, 401 U.S. 667, 689-691 (1971) (Harian, J.,
concurring and dissenting), where no such assurance
exists because the “old rule” of Swain could no longer be
relied on to tolerate discrimination.
A fundamental concern in retroactivity analysis is that
similarly situated defendants be treated similarly. The
unfairness in some defendants effectively receiving the
retroactive benefits of Batson because their state courts
accepted the challenge of MV 7) ay to provide a remedy for
discriminatory peremptory challenge practices, while
other similarly situated defendants did not due to their
state courts’ refusal to provide redress, is evident. The
quality of justice an accused receives should not depend
on so fortuitous a circumstance and demands that all
those affected be provided the remedy of retroactive
applicaton of Batson.
B. Petitioner's Argument That New Rules Should Be
Given Complete Retroactive Effect Is Not Founded
In Blackstonian Theory But In The Same Principles
Which Persuiade That Non-Final Cases Benefit
From A New Rule.
Respondents do not address the merits of Petitioner's
argument that the same considerations which persuaded
this Court to extend the benefits of new rules to all cases
not final when the rule is announced, persuade that retro-
activity be extended to cases on collateral review. This
15
argument is made not in reliance on Blackstonian theory
(Rep. Br. 32) but merely asks this Court to reexamine
whether the concerns which led Justice Harlan to dis-
tinguish between cases on direct appeal and collateral
review continue to provide a rationale for the distinction.
Petitioner maintains those concerns are now adequately
addressed by Wainwright v. Sykes, 433 U.S. 72 (1977).
Ill. SWAIN vy. ALABAMA PERMITS A PROSECUTOR'S
VOLUNTEERED EXPLANATION FOR HIS EXER-
CISE OF HIS PEREMPTORY CHALLENGES TO BE
EXAMINED TO DETERMINE WHETHER THE
EXPLANATION IS LEGITIMATE OR A MERE PRE-
TEXT FOR RACIAL DISCRIMINATION.
A. Swain Did Not Hold The Assumption That Plack
Jurors Are Unable To Fairly Judge Black Defend-
ants To Be An Acceptable Trial-Related Considera-
tion Justifying Peremptory Challenge Of Black
Jurors Consistent With The Fourteenth Amend-
ment.
Respondents do not deny that an examination of the
prosecutor's explanation for his exercise of all ten of his
peremptory challenges against black jurors supports the
conclusion that the explanation is a mere pretext for racial
discrimination. They contend only that Swain v. Ala-
bama, 380 U.S. 202 (1965) holds that “it is permissible to
presume that black jurors will be sympathetic to black
defendants and to exercise peremptory challenges on that
basis.” (Resp. Br. 46) Respondents’ view is that Swain
condemned only “the peremptory excusal of blacks in all
cases in the belief that blacks are unqualified to serve in all
cases.” (Resp. Br. 44)
Swain insulated a prosecutor's challenges from review
to preserve the peremptory nature of the challenge and
created a presumption that the prosecutor acts on accept-
16
able trial-related considerations in exercising his chal-
lenges against black jurors. Swain did not, however, hold
that an assumption that a black juror would be unable to
fairly judge a black defendant was such an acceptable
consideration. As Justice White observed in his con-
curring opinion in Batson:
. . . Swain itself indicated that the presumption of
legitimacy with respect to the striking of black venire
persons could be overcome by evidence that over a
period of time the prosecutor had consistently
excluded blacks from petit juries. This should have
warned prosecutors that using peremptories to
exclude blacks on the assumption that no black could
fairly judge a black defendant wouid violate the
Equal Protection Clause.
Batson, 476 U.S. at 101 (White, J., concurring) (emphasis
added and footnote omitted). Justice White also observed
that a prosecutor's belief that blacks could not fairly try a
black defendant would be the equivalent of the view that
all blacks should be eliminated from the entire venire. 476
U.S. at 101. While no presumption need be indulged that
a prosecutor acted on permissible trial-related considera-
tions in removing black jurors because he has volunteered
his reasons for their removal, his express or implied
acknowledgment that black jurors were challenged on the
assumpti vn they could not fairly try a black defendant is
not acceptable under Swain.
B. The Illinois Appellate Court Held Swain Afforded
Petitioner No Basis For Relief From His Conviction.
Respondents argue the Illinois appellate court did not
reject Petitioner's claim because it found Swain dis-
positive but because “[i]t found dispositive of the issue
presented its own decision in an earlier case, and the
decisions of the other jurisdictions, rejecting the applica-
17
tion of cross-section principles to petit jury selection pro-
cedures.” (Resp. Br. 40)
Respondents ignore the appellate court’s acknowledge-
ment that while Swain holds it is “error to exclude a group
as a group where it is shown the group has been systemat-
ically prevented from jury service or on particular juries
. . . [njo showing of any such systematic action, however,
has been made here.” People v. Teague, 108 Ill. App.3d 91,
439 N.E.2d 1066, 1070 (1st Dist. 1982) (citations omitted).
The appellate court also interpreted Swain to be a bar to
recognition of any cross-sectional claim:
If, as Payne® holds, the State under the circum-
stances here posited has to show a basis for its
ny challenges, then the peremptory chal-
enge has been so effectively emasculated as to
destroy its function which Swain and Illinois law has
recognized.
Teague, 439 N.E.2d at 1070. Thus, the appellate court
specifically found no Swain-based claim was demon-
strated on the record before the court and that Swain
prevented any interference with a prosecutor's unfettered
use of the peremptory challenge in an individual case.
C. Petitioner's Swain Claim is Not Barred By Pro-
cedural Default Where Respondents Waived This
Issue By Their Failure To Timely Raise It In The
District Court And Court Of Appeals.
Respondents admit Petitioner filed a habeas corpus
petition alleging violation of his Sixth and Fourteenth
* People v. Payne, 106 Ill. App.3d 1034, 346 N.E.2d 1046 (1st Dist.
1982), reversed, 99 Il].2d 135, 457 N.E.2d 1202 (1983), cert. denied, 461
U.S. 1028, which held the Sixth Amendment allowed a trial court to
require a prosecutor to explain the reason for his challenge of black
jurors if it appeared that the prosecutor acted on the basis of race.
18
Amendment rights and that Weathersby v. Morris, 708
F.2d 1493 (9th Cir. 1983) was cited to the district court as a
basis for the award of relief to Petitioner, without objec-
tion from Respondents. (Resp. Br. 41) Respondents do
not claim that Petitioner's equal protection claim is dif-
ferent from that recognized in Weathersby and do not
explain why it is excused from failing to object to Peti-
tioner’s reliance on Weathersby in the district court on the
ground of procedural default.
Respondents also neglect to reveal that in the court of
appeals Petitioner again argued Weathersby afforded him
a basis for relief and that since the prosecutor volunteered
the reasons for his challenges, it need not be presumed he
acted for acceptable reasons, but his motives for excusing
the black jurors could be examined. Appellant's Brief, p.
25, 26. Respondents did not urge the court of appeals to
hold this claim barred by procedural default, but
responded to the argument on its merits. Appellee’s
Brief, pp. 13-15.
Respectfully submitted,
THEODORE A. GOTTFRIED
Appellate Defender
MICHAEL J. PELLETIER
Deputy Defender
*PATRICIA UNSINN
MARTIN S. CARLSON
Assistant Appellate Defenders
Office of the State Appellate Defender
State of Illinois Center
100 West Randolph St., Suite 5-500
Chicago, Illinois 60601
(312) 917-5472
Attorneys For Petitioner
*Counsel of Record
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.