Record and brief — Fortney v. United States

Supreme Court brief1988

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

DOCKET

° Sd

Last page of dociet d

SHOW™ . “PROCEEDINGS AND ORDERS DATE: (10/17/88)

CASF_NER: 1R71919791 CFK STATUS: I . }

T TITLE: [Fortney Maré i... et al. ]

Bisrsis [inated States ) PATE DOCKETED: fOS73e8)

PAGE: [811

insat staica hatin NATE” *~ "NOTE" "~*~" "~*~" """""""PROCEEDINGS & ORMERS™*~~~"*"™*""eerereen® [

May 72 1988 Petition for writ of certiorari: filed. ;

> - . _ dun 1% 1988 Order extending time to file response to petition until \

: July 75. 1988. be

Jul 75 1988 Brief of respondent United States in opposition filed.

; Jul 27 1988 DISTRIBUTED. September 76. 1988

7 Jul 39 1988 Reply brief of petitioners Mark Fortney, et a). filed.

Sep 30 198 REDISTRIBUTED. October 7, 1988

- BS Oct 5S 1988 Supplemental brief of petitioner Mart Fortney filed.

Het 1) 1988 Petition GRANTED. Judgment VACATED and case REMANDED for

. a further consideration in light of Berkovit? v. United

a ; States, 486 1.5. ------ (1988). Dissenting opinion By

Justice Scalia with whom The Chief Justice, Justice

O°fanner and Justice Kennedy join. (Detached opinion.) -

Oe ee el

“ !

; i ‘

*

‘

—

.

i

a

e-

; ’

PETITION

FOR WRIT OF

CERTIORARI

MAY < 2 \988

owe CLERK a

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

MARK LYNN FORTNEY;

ESLEY DOUGLAS TIPTON

AND MARY E. TIPTON:

DANIEL WEBSTER HARMON AND

MARY JANE HARMON

Petitioners,

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

BRENT M. ROSENTHAL

COUNSEL OF RECORD

CHARLES S. SIEGEL

BRIAN D. WEINSTEIN

BARON & BUDD

8333 Douglas Avenue

10th Floor

Dallas, Texas 75225

(214) 369-3605

i

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Does the discretionary function exception to the Federal

ort Claims Act bar a suit turning on violation of mandatory

military safety regulations?

ii.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

Question Presented for Review... 2... 6s cere eee eee i

Opinions Below ec eccceseccseeseeeu sane sa EE l

Statement of Jurisdiction ..... 2... 6660 ]

Statutes and Regulations Involved .........---++ss055 l

Statement of the Case .........: cece eee eee neees 5

Reasons for Granting the Writ... 2... ee ees 1]

| THE DECISION BELOW IRRECONCIL-

ABLY CONFLICTS WITH THE DECISIONS

OF OTHER COURTS OF APPEALS .......... 11

A. What are the Precise Govern-

mental Decisions Complained of

by Petitioners? ........-0 0c eee erence 1]

B. The Discretionary Function Ex-

ception Only Protects Social,

Economic and Political Policy

errr rr rr errr eer 14

C. The Decision Below Is in Direct

Conflict with Several Appellate

ee 16

D. The Mandatory Regulation At

Oe )..”.,lU Meee 23

we

TABLE OF CONTENTS (Continued)

PAGE

THIS CASE SHOULD BE DECIDED IN

LIGHT OF BERKOVITZ V UNITED STATES >

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

ARA Leisure Services » United States. 841 F 2d 194

(9th Cir, 1987) | 22

Arete » United States, 604 F 2d 417 (Sth Cin, 1979).

opinion vacated, 616 F Jd 254 (5th Cir, 1980) (en

ee ta dd M45 heen Ry Atay

&. }, panel opinion reinstated.

660 F 2d S31 (Sth Cir 1981). 0

Aslakson v United States, 790 F dd 688 (ath ©)

1986). | , 18

Baker vy United States, 817 F 2d S60 (9th Cir, 1987) 25

Barron v United States, 473 ¥ Supp. 1077 (Hawaii

1979), modified, 654 F 2d 644 (9th Civ, 1981) -

Berkovite » United States, 82) F 2d 142) (ied Cir

1987), cert granted, codmadh*y stem 9 ON

$C 6921988) 8. 6

iw

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (Continued)

PAGE

CASES

Caraballo v United States, 830 F.2d 19 (Qa Cir

1987) ) ) TTTTs

Chotin Transportation, Inc ¥ United States, 819

F 2d 1942 (Oth Cir, 1987) (en bane) cert denied

a 8, 108 S.Ct, 344 (1988) ) 22

Collins » United States, 783 F 2d 1228 (Sth Cir

1986) swee ve |

Dalehite vy United States, 346 US. 1s¢1953)... 14,15, 19

Denham v United States, 834 F.2d 518 (Sth Cir

1987) 2

Pepers » United States, 749 F.2d 1222 (oth Cir

1984), cert denied 471 US. 1125 (1985)... 22

burtney v United States, 689 F Supp. 127 (WD Va

1987). aff'd, . . F.2d — , No, 87-1630

(4th Cir, Feb, 22, 1988) (pereuriam). 12

Griffin » United States, 00 F.2d 1089 (ind Cir

AOPOD cic ce ccee ee eeeeeeeeeeeeeneenenens 20

Loge vy United States, 662 F 2d 1268 (8th Cir

1981). cert. denied, 456 US. 944(1982).......... 25

Madison v United States, 679 F.2d 736 (8th Cir, 1982) . 17

Michael » United States, 751 F.2d 303 (ath Cir.

me. ve PP WO, 22, 26

fe

..

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (Continued)

CASES

Petham v United States, 661 F Supp 1063 (D.NJ.

. PYTTTie WYTTTTITTT TTT Ty , 2

Petenich » United States, 575 | Supp. 698 (D Neb.

Sheridan Transportation Co » United States, $34

F.2d 467 (Sth Cir, 1987) | 7 sean 8

T & Ritter Corp » Rose, 200 Va. 736 107 S bod

483 (1959) ) toa

Toole » United States, $88 F.2d 403 (3rd Cir 1978)... 20

Totten » United States, 618 F Supp 95! (ED

Tenn. 1985), aff'd, 806 F 2d GOR (Oth Cir, 1986) 22

United States » Muniz, 374 US 150 83 SC 1850

10 L. bd 2d 805 (1963) 1s

United States » SA. tmpresa de Viacao Aerea Riv

Urandense ( Varig Airlines), 467 U8. 797 (1984) i4

18, 16

17, 18,19

United States hire Insurance Co + United States,

806 F 2d 1829 CL Ith Cir 1986) a]

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (Continued)

PAGE

STATUTES

28 USC. 134000) | 420

USC. §2074 2,7

28 USC. § 268010) 2,11, 19, 20

REGULATIONS

AMCR 385-100 §1 3 3,8,9, 23

AMCR 385-100 §1.5 8,23

AMCR 385-100 §12.3.%@) | 69,13

AMCR 385-100 §204 caer 4,8,9,23

| 1 of

Fourth Circuit is unpublished and appears in the Appendix

at 1A. The initial opinion of the United States District Court

for the Western District of Virginia is published at 659

F Supp. 127 (WD. Va. 1987) and appears in the Appendix

at 74, the district court's opinion on motion for reconsidera-

tron is unpublished and appears in the Appendix at 16A

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The judgment and opinion of the court of appeals were

entered on February 22, 1988. This petition for certiorari

was filed within ninety (90) days of that date. This Court's

jurisdiction is invoked under 28 USC. §1254(1).

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

28 USC. §1346(b) provides:

61346 United States as defendant

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the

A.

nited States District Court for the District

the Canal Zone and the |

the Virgin Islands, shall have exclusive juris:

liet civil act

2.

or employment, under circumstances where

the United States, if a private person, would

be liable to the claimant in accordance with

the law of the place where the act of omission

28 U.S.C. $2674 provides:

§ 2674 Liability of United States

the provisions of this tithe relating to tort

claims, in the same manner and to the same

extent as a@ private individual under like

ciroumstances, but shall not be liable for

interest prior to judgment or for punitive

damages. If, however, in any case wherein

death was caused, the law of the place where

the act or omission complained of occurred

provides, or has been construed to provide,

for damages only punitive in nature, the

United States shall be liable for actual or

compensatory damages measured by the

pecuniary injuries resulting from such death

to the persons respectively, for whose benefit

the action was brought, in lieu thereof

28 USC, §2680(a) provides:

§ 2680 Exceptions

The provisions of this chapter and section

1346(b) of this title shall not apply to-

(a) Any claim based upon an act

or omission of an employee of

3.

the Government, exercising

due care, in the execution of a

statute or regulation, whether

or not such statute or regula-

tion be valid, or based upon

the failure to exercise of per:

or duty on the part of a feder-

al agency or an employee of

not the discretion involved be

abused

AMCR 385-100 § 1.3 provides:

b. Mandatory requirements are those in

which the terms “shall”, “will” or “must”

are used, and no deviation is permitted with-

out specific written authority in the form

of a waiver, exemption of authorization

from the Commanding General, AMC, Attn:

Safety Office. The advisory provisions are

those in which “may” or “should” are used,

and no deviations are permitted unless excep-

tions (local waivers) are authorized in writing

by the commanding officer or his designated

agent) Local waivers covering conditions

AMCR

4.

which can be corrected should be granted for

definite periods of time (one year or less).

Such waivers must be reviewed at least annu-

ally to determine whether changed conditions

warrant continuation of the waiver. All ex-

emptions, waivers and authorized deviations

shall be maintained in a certral register which

is readily available to authorized personnel.

c. Existing facilities not complying with

safety regulations published after their con-

struction or installation may be exempted

from the new requirements when such action

is authorized by the Commanding General,

AMC. However, modifications, unless minor

in nature and not decreasing safety, must

comply with the latest safety requirements.

AMC establishments with facilities exempted

from compliance with regulations should

take additional precautions to counterbalance

the deficiencies.

385-100 § 20.4 provides:

§ 20.4 Containers

Hazardous materials in bulk or liquid form

must be transported in containers which will

prevent leakage. Containers used in intraplant

transportation and service storage of explo-

sives and explosive mixtures such as initiating

explosives, pyrotechnic compositions and

tracer materials should be made of material

in the following preference order:

Conductive rubber

5.

Nonferrous metal-lined boxes

without seams or rivet heads

under which explosive dust

can accumulate

Plastics (conductive-type only)

Paperined wood boxes

Fiber containers

Fiber containers should not be used when

they show signs of damage or wear. Glass

containers should not be used because of their

fragility and severe missile hazard.

AMCR 385-100 § 12.33(g) provides:

Certain hazardous operations such as nitro-

cellulose dehydration should be protected

with a deluge capable of supplying water on

the hazard within 50 milliseconds after igni-

tion. Pipe lengths between deluge valves and

outlets, and distance between outlets and the

protected areas should be kept short to speed

application of water.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Radford Army Ammunition Plant (RAAP) at Radford,

Virginia, is one of several facilities known as “government-

owned, contractor-operated™ plants, or GOCOs. Under

this arrangement, the Government hires a contractor to

operate a facility. At Radford, Hercules, Inc. operates the

plant as the contractor; the Government owns the land.

6.

ildi i under a

buildings, equipment, etc. Hercules operates RAAP

contract which is periodically renegotiated and modified.

Among the primary products manufactured at Radford

are propellants for use in various explosives. An important

constituent of the propellants is nitrocellulose. To be useful

in these products, nitrocellulose must first be dehydrated

and then dampened with alcohol; that is, water is first

removed from a nitrocellulose slurry, and then the remaining

nitrocellulose powder is dampened to a certain degree of

alcohol moisture. In the late 1970's, efforts were undertaken

by Hercules and the Corps of Engineers to automate the

dehydration process and combine several functions into a

single system. This new process, to be known as C-Line” or

“Continuous Thermal ce ar et cer ees

t operations, be governed by ety regula

eted by various Army authorities. Though it is operated by

a contractor, RAAP is a government facility subordiante

to the Army Munitions and Chemical Command (AMCCOM)

in Rock Island, Illinois. AMCCOM is in turn subordinate

to the Army Materiel Command (AMC) in Alexandria,

Virginia.

AMC ulgates regulations designed to effect and

ensure safe practices at all subordinate facilities, of which

RAAP is one. AMC’s primary set of regulations known as

AMCR 385-100—“the Bible,” as the Government's head of

safety at Radford called it. This compilation is entitled

“Safety Manual,” the current governing manual was publish-

ed in 1970 and occasional supplements or modifications

are issued.

Charged with enforcing a contractor's compliance with

is a Government safety staff at each installation. The entire

7.

Government contingent at RAAP is known as the Con-

tracting Officer's Representative staff. Part of this staff is

devoted exclusively to safety.

In 1979 a hazard analysis was performed by Hercules

personnel on the new dehydration process. The report

identified several dangers in the system and made recommen-

dations. Over a year later, armed with a copy of the report,

the Government safety staff conducted a required preopera-

tional survey and certified the process as safe if certain

changes were implemented.

On May 6, 1981, a fire and explosion occurred in the

“C-Line” process during only its second “proveout” or test

run. Though it was a flash fire, and Petitioners were envelop-

ed in flames less than a second after ignition, there was no

dispute at trial over how the fire started. As the subsequent

Army investigation found, the most likely cause was “an

electrostatic discharge from the nitrocellulose in the contain-

er being filled to the grounded dust shroud which ignited a

flammable alcohol/air mixture or a mixture of nitrocellu-

lose dust and alcohol vapor.” The Hergules investigation

reached the same conclusion.

Petitioners are current and former employees of Hercules,

Inc., who were working on the “C-Line” process at the time

of the fire and explosion. Each Petitioner was severely

burned in the incident. Their injuries include permanent

disfigurement, extreme physical pain and suffering, mental

Petitioners brought suit in the United States District Court

for the Western District of Virginia against the United States

under the Federal Tort Claims Act, 28 US.C. §§1346(b)

and 2674 et seq., for damages for injuries resulting from the

fire. They alleged that the Government violated its duty to

them under Virginia tort law to take all necessary precautions

against likely harm in an inherently dangerous activity.

As both the Army and Hercules investigations concluded

that the fire was caused by a spark from the nitrocellulose

in the tub, Petitioners focused their proof at trial on the

tubs used in the C-Line process. These tubs were made of

nonconductive rubber. Petitioners’ theory was that the static

charge building up in the nitrocellulose in the tub would

have “bled off,” or dissipated harmlessly into the ground

had the tubs been made of conductive material. Instead, the

tubs were nonconductive (they were the only nonconductive

equipment in the entire operation), the charge could not

dissipate, and the charge eventually ignited.

In support of this theory, Petitioners referred the

court to several military safety regulations. Primary emphasis

was placed on AMCR 385-100 § 20.4, reproduced at p.71A

infra. The regulation prescribes the types of containers to

be used for intraplant transportation of hazardous materials.

The containers are listed in descending order of preference,

nonconductive rubber containers are not one of the listed

choices.

The regulation states that containers “should” be made of

the listed materials. Section 1.3 of the same safety manual,

reproduced at p. 34A infra, however, provides thet “advis-

ory” provisions in which the words “may or should

are uscd are mandatory, and no deviation is permitted unless

a waiver of compliance is secured in accordance with the

waiver procedure set out in §1.5 (reproduced at Appendix

p. 36A. It is undisputed that §20.4 was not complied with

and that mo waiver was secured.

9.

At trial, the Government controverted Petitioners’ theory

of causation but did not dispute that the regulation on con-

tainers was violated. Petitioners also demonstrated that

AMCR 385-100 §12.33(g), reproduced at p. 67A infra,

was violated. The regulation explicitly requires for nitro-

cellulose dehydration operations a sprinkler system capable

of delivering water within 50 milliseconds of ignition: the

system in place could deliver water in not less than 150

milliseconds. It was undisputed that the existing system did

not satisfy the explicit command of the regulation, that

mandatory recommendations to change the sprinkler nozzles

to increase system speed were not carried out, and that

no waiver of compliance with the regulation was secured.

The entire trial on liability focused on the validity of

Petitioners’ theory of causation. Expert testimony was

presented for both sides. Several months after the trial,

the district court issued an opinion dismissing Petitioners’

suit for lack of subject matter jurisdiction, finding that the

discretionary function exception to the Federal Tort Claims

Act barred their allegations of negligence. Addressing only

on a motion for reconsideration Petitioners’ contention

that violations of mandatory safety regulations took the

case out of the discretionary function exception, the district

court inexplicably ignored AMCR 385-100 §1.3, and held

that the use of the word “should” in § 20.4, prescribing the

permissible types of containers, made that regulation non-

binding.

On appeal, the Fourth Circuit affirmed in a brief per

curiam opinion. Repeating the district court's apparent

refusal to acknowledge the existence of §1.3 of the Army

safety manual, an error by both lower courts which Petition-

ers are at a loss to explain, the court of appeals found that

§ 20.4 “embraced the type of containers used at the Radford

plant, even though the containers used were not specified

in the regulation”. The court of appeals stated finally

10.

that “the violation of a mandatory regulation does not

abrogate the government's tort immunity independently

of the FTCA.. . .” Appendix p. 4A.

Petitioners contended throughout, and continue to con-

tend, that the discretionary function exception protects

from tort scrutiny only those decisions which are policy

determinations. A decision must be grounded in a political,

social or economic policy judgment to come within the

exception. Congress sought in the FTCA to prevent judicial

examination of public policy choices.

The district court, in holding the discretionary function

exception applicable to Petitioners’ claims, initially focused

on a decision Petitioners did not charge as negligent and did

not attack at trial: the decision to delegate primary responsi-

bility for safety to the contractor and to retain a monitoring

and enforcement role. Petitioners acknowledge that this

decision is discretionary. Petitioners’ grounds of negligence,

however, were different: in enforcing safety requirements

at RAAP, the Government made technical decisions concern-

ing tubs and sprinklers which were negligent.

The Government pointed to no policy concerns in these

decisions, and there is none. The Government safety manager

at RAAP acknowledged his inability to formulate policy.

Finally, mandatory regulations which governed the Govern-

ment safety staff's actions remove any possible discretion

and permit no deviation. These regulations reflect the previous

discretionary determination of policy, but they eliminate

an, policy discretion in their fulfillment. These regulations

were violated in this case.

Since no policy judgment was identified in the grounds of

negligence alleged by Petitioners, the discretionary func*ion

exception cannot bar their claims. The decision between a

i.

conductive and non-conductive tub is simply not the type

of executive of administrative policy making that Congress

wished to shield from judicial review:

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

of its recent consideration of Berkovite » Unit

States, No. 87.498 (see Part I, tate) the Coun 0 undeubees.

with the discretionary function exception and its

previous treatment Petitioners will detail the precise nature

of their allegations, and briefly review this Court's two

previous cases on the subject, before examining the conflic.

ort Claims Act waives federal sovereign

in tort. Immunity is preserved, how.

based upon the exercise of performance or

a to exercise of perform a disere-

duty on the part of a federal

agency of an employee of the Government.

whether or not the discretion involved be

28 USC. §2680(a) Before determining whether the discre.

tionary function exception bars Petitioners’ suit, it is neces.

sary to identify the exact allegations of negligence at issue

The decision identified by the courts below as discretion.

ary was the “delegation of safety responsibility” to the

contractor at RAAP. Fortney v Untied States, 659 F Supp.

127, 129 (WD. Va. 1987), Pesitionsm, Rewever, cnpuenty

challenge. however, the Government's engineering decisions

in fulfillment of its chosen role

Had the Government decided to play no role at all at

‘There was no depute ot tri! that nitrocellulose dehydration is

! dangerous sctivity See, eg. AMOR 986-100 §12.58%q)

ford would be of a certain size, and that, among other duties. Tony

these staffs would conduct preoperational surveys of new

processes to determine if they are safe Whether this scheme

“

4

only those governmental decisions in which policy considera:

in Dalehite v United States, 346 U.S. 15 (1953) plaintiffs

charged the Government with negligence in various aspects

of @ program of production and distribution of ammonium

nitrate fertilizer, In holding the claims barred, the Court

made clear that the challenged decision must reflect a deter-

mination involving policy It wrote

The discretionary function or duty that

cannot form a basis for suit under the Tort

Claims Act includes more than the initiation

of programs and activities. It also includes

determinations made by executives or admin-

istrators in establishing plans, specifications,

or schedules of operations. Where there is

room for policy judgment, there is discretion

id 9446 US. at 35-36 (emphasis added). Thus, while all

governmental officials have “discretion,” in the literal sense

of the work, to act one way or another, their choices are

protected only if policy judgments are involved.

The Court again considered the exemption in United

States » SA Emprem de Viacao Aerea Rio Grandense

(Varig Airlines), 467 US. 797 (1984). In Varig, plaintiffs

sued for harms suffered when an airplane crashed because

of vi of FAA safety regulations Plaintiffs challenged

the FAA's decision to employ a spot check system of inspec.

ting aircraft for comphance with regulations

The Court first held that the rank of the governmental

official involved in immaterial, it is rather the “nature of the

ond ue that is important. /d , 467 U.S. at 813. In

|

3

Seed Bistes 6. tunis, | 374 US. 150, 163.

83 S.Ct. 1850, 1858, 10 L.Ed 2d 805, 815

(1963).

id at 814 (emphasis added) Dalehite and Varig thus teach

that governmental decisions “grounded in social, economic.

and political policy” are the decisions immune from judicial

scrutiny. The Court in Varig took pains to clarify this assess-

ment of the exception

Here, the FAA has determined that a program

of “spot-checking” manufacturers’ compli-

safety and the reality of finite agency re-

making through private tort suits would

require the courts to “second-guess” the

political, social, and economic judgments of

an agency exercising its regulatory function.

it was precisely this sort of judicial interven-

tion in policymaking that the discretionary

function exception was designed to prevent.

/d at 820 (emphasis added). .

it is thus clear from the Supreme Court's treatment of

the discretionary function exception that a decision musi

have policy attributes to be shielded , “judicial intervention in

policymaking” is the evil to be avoided. This Court has

likewise required a showing that a policy judgment was

involved for the exception to control.

©. The Decision Below Is in Direct Conflict with Several

Appellate Decisions

The Fourth Circuit wrote that “violation of a mandatory

regulation does not abrogate the government's tort immunity

independently of the FTCA . Appendix, p. 4A. This

inscrutable statement demonstrates the Court of Appeals’

fundamental misapprehension both of the nature of FTCA

liability and of the role of the discretionary function excep-

violation of a regulation furnishes a cause of action against

the Government. It is the FTCA and the governing local

law that provides the cause of action, violation of a manda-

tory regulation is evidence of negligence. Moreover, the

regulation shows that policy has previously been made and

insulated discretion already exercised.

17.

Numerous courts of appeals have concluded that violations

of mandatory regulations remove a suit from the ambit of

751 F.2d 303 (8th Cir. 1985). Exactly as in the present

case, McMichael involved the government safety staff's failure

suit for failure to enforce compliance with the regulations

Madison v United States, 679 F.2d 736 (8th Cir, 1982).

After Varig, the court directed supplemental briefing on

that case's impact.

its

second ruling, the Eighth Circuit found Varig “en-

not bar the Plaintiff's ‘suit for failing to enforce the

. in the contract.” 751 F.2d at 306. The

court first noted that when the Government acts in a pro-

a Se, | See capacity, as when it

Varig's “admonition to avoid judicial second-guessing of

regulatory decisions is of less force." Jd.

More fundamentally , the court recognized that the safety

inspectors were not making policy, and that therefore their

decisions could properly be the subject of a tort suit”

The inspectors’ regular procedures included

a fifty-one step procedure review checklist

for safety compliance. Thus, the Defense

Department inspectors were not called upon

to make discretionary regulatory judgments

Rather, they had a number of precise inspec.

tions to perform which involved no judgment

concerning agency policy.

Id. at 307.

The factual setting and legal issue in McMichael and in

the present case are identical. Petitioners submit that the

rulings simply cannot co-exist if the discretionary function

exception is to be construed in any principled manner,

and that this Court should reconcile them by reversal of the

decision of the court below.

The Eighth Circuit recently reaffirmed the reasoning of

McMichael in Aslakson v. United States, 790 F.2d 688,

693 (8th Cir. 1986), in which it held that “[w]here the

challenged governmental activity involves safety considera-

tions under an established policy rather than the balancing

of competing public policy considerations, the rationale

for the exception falls away and the United States will be

held responsible for the negligence of its employees.” In

Aslakson, a sailboat operator struck powerlines which had

not been elevated according to governing National Electric

Safety Code rules. The rules left some judgment to officials,

but not the sort of judgment contemplated by the discre-

tionary function exception. /d. at 693 (“although such a

policy necessarily involves some degree of judgment on the

part of government officials, it is not the kind of judgment

that involves the weighing of policy considerations’’).

The Fifth Circuit reached the same result in another

recent explosion case. In Collins v. United States, 783 F.2d

1225 (Sth Cir. 1986), failure by OSHA officials to reinstitute

a “danger order” and to reclassify a mine as “gassy” led to

an explosion in the mine. The Government moved to dismiss

under the exception. The district court denied the motion,

and the Fifth Circuit affirmed in an opinion containing an

19.

extensive discussion of Varig and Dalehite. Noting that “the

presence of a choice does not necessarily mean that there

is discretion under §2680(a),” the court made clear that it

was the absence of any policy consideration in the challenged

actions that compelled its conclusion:

It is apparent that the decision to annul

Imminent Danger Order No. 195 was a

decision only remotely related, if related at

all, to social, economic, or political policy.

The government suggests no policy

reason for that action, and none is apparent

to us.

Id. at 1230 (emphasis added). Lik=wise, the failure to follow

4 mandatory regulation on classiiication of mines as gassy

if a certain level of methane is present was devoid of the

necessary policy attributes:

A subordinate charged with enforcing 30

C.F.R. §57.21-l(c) during the relevant

period therefore had no room for policy

judgment or decision once methane levels

exceeding .25 percent had been detected.

Failure to reclassify the mine as gassy repre-

sented disobedience of official directions,

simple and unadorned... . To the extent

that an employee refuses to carry out a

mandatory statute or regulation, one which

leaves him no discretion in the manner or

extent to which it will be enforced, the

employee is simply disobeying a flat com-

mand. In this instance, any available discre-

tion had been exercised when the command

was adpoted; appellees’ challenges do not

threaten that discretion.

Id. at 1231 (emphasis added).

20.

Since there was no policy discretion in the decision attacked,

the suit could proceed. The case is also notable for Judge

Brown’s concurrence, in which he wrote to “make clear

that the Federal Tort Claims Act is not dead” and is not

confined to automiblie collisions or medical malpractice.

He further found that the dual purposes of the FTCA —to

compensate victims of government negligence and to free

the government from the unwieldy private bill system which

previously had served, clumsily, to reimburse then—would be

thwarted by restrictive application of the Act. Jd. at 1231-33.

Toole v. United States, 588 F.2d 403 (3d Cir. 1978) is

another similar case. Toole was the employee of a contractor

making antitank explosives at a munitions plant in Phila-

delphia. She was killed when the shield behind which she

operated levers failed to withstand an explosion. The govern-

ment knew the shield had been insufficiently tested and

could be unsafe but failed to warn the contractor or Toole.

Succinctly dismissing the discretionary function exception,

the Third Circuit noted that “[t]}he decision whether or not

to warn Mrs. Toole did not require any judgments about

policy. The Government did not need to reach a balance

of such factors as the cost of Government programs against

the potential benefit.” ” 588 F.2d 403, 407 n.4, quoting

Griffin v. United States, 500 F.2d 1059, 1064 (3d. Cir.

1974) (emphasis added). Just as in Toole, the Government

employees’ decisions attached in this case required no judg-

ments about policy. See also Aretz v. United States, 604

F.2d 417 (Sth Cir. 1979), opinion vacated, 616 F.2d 254

(Sth Cir. 1980) (en banc), certified question answered,

248 Ga. 19, 280 S.E.2d 345 (1981), panel opinion reinstated,

660 F.2d 531 (Sth Cir. 1981) (explosion at munitions plant).

21.

Pelham v. United States, 661 F Supp. 1063 (D.N.J. 1987),

was a suit for injuries suffered in a construction accident at

at at Picatinny Arsenal in Dover, New Jersey. Plaintiffs

complained of negligence in the enforcement of military

construction safety regulations. The district court readily

held the adoption of a spot check program and the develop-

ment of the safety provisions discretionary, but the “minis-

terial implementation of safety regulations” was outside

the exception.

In Petznick v. United States, 575 F.Supp. 698 (D. Neb.

1983), the government failed toe enforce compliance with

“policies of the United States Air Force with respect to

electrical work” contained in an Air Force safety manual.

The discretionary function exception was held inapplicable

because the government employee “was not formulating

policy when he decided to allow the work to be performed

on energized lines in this case.” 575 F.Supp. at 702, 703.

See also Barron v. United States, 473 F.Supp. 1077 (Hawaii

1979), modified, 654 F.2d 644 (9th Cir. 1981) (failure

to correct safety problems not discretionary where contrac-

tor disregarded significant safety requirements of Corps

of Engineers safety manual).

In each of these cases, different courts found that viola-

tions of mandatory regulations precluded dismissal under

the discretionary function exception. In each case the court

recognized that a regulation embodies previously determined

policy. The “discretion” protected by the exception—the

uniquely governmental task and privilege of formulating

policy—is exercised in promulgating the regulation. Since

those charged with complying with the regulation are not

making policy, are not making the sort of social, economic

and political judgments Congress wished to protect, those

officials’ negligent failures to satisfy regulations are action-

able. For other holdings standing for the same proposition,

see, e.g., Denham vy. United States, 834 F.2d 518 (Sth Cir.

22.

1987); Sheridan Transportation Co. v. United States, 834

F.2d 467 (Sth Cir. 1987); ARA Leisure Services v. United

States, 831 F.2d 193 (9th Cir. 1987); Caraballo v. United

States, 830 F.2d 19 (2d Cir. 1987); Chotin Transportation,

Inc. v. United States, 819 F.2d 1342 (6th Cir. 1987) (en

banc).

In holding that the violation of a mandatory regulation

was irrelevant to discretionary function exception analysis,

the Fourth Circuit departed sharply from the holdings in

these cases, and the ruling simply cannot be reconciled with

McMichael or any of the other cases cited. This Court should

eliminate the confusion.

The Fourth Circuit cited Totten v. United States, 618

F.Supp. 951, 954 (E.D. Tenn. 1985), aff'd, 806 F.2d 698

(6th Cir. 1986), in support of its statement that mandatory

regulations do not affect the discretionary function inquiry.

Totten involved an explosion at a military site as well. The

holding in Totten at best compounds the disagreement

among the courts of appeals as to the significance of manda-

tory regulations, and so, if anything, should underscore the

need for Supreme Court clarification. Moreover, Totten

relies exclusively on Feyers v. United States, 749 F.2d 1222

(6th Cir. 1984), which also involved Government safety

supervision over military contractors. In Feyers, the Sixth

Circuit made clear that violations of precisely the same

manual at issue herein, AMCR 385-100, would impose

FTCA liability:

While the discretionary function exception

does not apply where mandatory guidelines

or regulations are violated . . . this rule is

inapplicable in this case since neither the

AMC safety manual, AMC 385-100, nor

23.

any other provision of the contract required

specific safety measures in the railyard.

Id. at 1227 n.7 (citations omitted).

Thus, in the Sixth Circuit, violation of AMCR 385-100

is actionable; in the Fourth Circuit it is not. There could not

be a more apparent, less sensible conflict between the Cir-

cuits than that presented in this case.

D. The Mandatory Regulation At Issue Herein

While holding that violation of a mandatory safety regula-

tion did not affect the discretionary function exception

analysis, the Fourth Circuit also stated that it “agree[d]

with the district court’ that the regulation embraced the

type of container used at the Radford plant, even though

the containers used were not specified in the regulation.”

This conclusion represents a manifest error of fact.

AMCR 385-100 §20.4 states that containers “should”

be made of one of the listed options; the nonconductive

rubber tubs used are not listed as an option. The district

court’s conclusion that “should” means that the regulation

is not mandatory is flatly and inexplicably wrong: §1.3 of

AMCR 385-100 states that regulations using “should” are

mandatory unless a waiver of compliance is secured in

accordance with the waiver procedures in §1.5. It is undis-

puted that no such waiver was ever sought, let alone granted.

Petitioner frankly cannot explain the two courts’ ability

to ignore the provisions of the manual. In any event, § 20.4

24.

plainly was violated .2

More fundamentally, perhaps, assuming arguendo that

conductive tubs were somehow not required by these regula-

tions. was there some political, social or economic policy

consideration that demanded a nonconductive rather than

a conductive tub? Of course not: this was a run-of-the-mill

electrical engineering problem.

Petitioners claim that the use of nonconductive tubs was

negligent and violated controlling regulations; the Govern-

ment denies it was negligent. The issue for this Court is

whether a dispute over what kind of tub to use is the type

of tort claim that the courts have no business deciding.

Was this executive or administrative decisionmaking, ground-

ed in political, social or economic policy judgments? Did

this suit require a judge to second-guess governmental offi-

cials formulating public policy?

The Government did not assert, let alone prove, a single

concern remotely related to policy involved in the decisions

attacked in this case. Moreover, the Government’s witnesses

explicitly disclaimed any ability to formulate policy or

deviate from the regulations.

2. ‘If the district court's opinion is read to find insulated discretion

when a regulation permits choices of materials to be used, then that

position conflicts directly with United States Fire Ins. Co. v. United

States, 806 F.2d 1529 (11th Cir. 1986). That case involved Coast

Guard negligence in maintaining wreck markers: the relevant manual

of procedures listed variouse methods of performance. The Coast

Guard selected the method of last resort. On appeal, the Government

argued that selection of an approved method, even if an inferior one,

insulated it from liability. The Eleventh Circuit disagreed, holding that

the choice of methods was obviously not a policy decision. Here of

course, the use of nonconductive tubs was not even a permissible

option.

25.

If injured citizens cannot sue over the type of decision

attacked in this case, the Federal Tort Claims Act may as

well be repealed.

ll. THIS CASE SHOULD BE DECIDED IN LIGHT OF

BERKOVITZ V. UNITED STATES

On April 19, 1988, this Court heard argument in Berkovitz

v. United States, No. 87498. Petitioners respectfully submit

that given the close similarity between this case and Berko-

vitz, resolution of this case should come in light of Berkovitz.

Plaintiffs in Berkovitz sued the Government for negligence

in licensing production lots of strains of polio vaccine.

Appiicablesegulations required that for licensing, the manu-

facturers demonstrate that the neurovirulence of the strains

not exceed specific, previously established quantitative levels.

Plaintiffs alleged that despite a clear disparity between the

submitted neurovirulence data and the required numbers

in the regulations, the lots were licensed. The Third Circuit

found such conduct protected by the discretionary function

exception. Berkovitz v United States, 822 &.2d 1322 (3d

Cir. 1987). The Ninth and Lighth Circuits had found identi-

cal conduct fully actionable. Buker » United States, 817

F.2d 560 (9th Cir. 1987); Loge v United States, 662 F.2d

1268 (8th Cir. 1981), cert, denied. 456 US. 944 (1982).

It is anticipated that this Court's resolution of Berkuvitz

will be dispositive of the discretionary function issue herein.

since Berkovitz will decide whether negligent violation of

mandatory regulations is protected by the discretionary

function exception. Petitioners in Berkuvilz make an identi-

cal argument to that advanced by the Petitioners herein: the

Government exercises discretion when it decides whether.

and to what extent, to regulate or supervise the conduct of

private individuals. Once such decisions are made. however.

26.

and detailed regulations embodying and implementing

those discretionary choices are promulgated, the negligent

failure of functionaries to fullfil the regulations is fully

actionable. The ensuring tort suit will not expose “‘legislative

and administrative decisions grounded in social, economic

and political policy to judicial second-guessing.””

Petitioners note that the only meaningful difference

between Berkovitz and this case is that here, the Government

acted in a proprietary role, rather than as a regulator of

private conduct. In this context, the discretionary function

exception is of even less moment. McMichael, supra.

In any event, Berkovitz will clarify the significance of

mandatory regulations for discretionary function cases.

Petitioners respectfully suggest that the Court grant certiorari

in this case for disposition or remand in light of Berkovitz.

27.

CONCLUSION

Wherefore, premises considered, Petitioners pray that a

writ of certiorari issue to review the decision of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

BARON & BUDD, PC.

8333 Douglas Avenue

10th Floor

Dallas, Texas 75225

(214) 369-3605

BY :

BRENT M. ROSENTHAL

~ AND -

BY :

CHARLES S. SIEGEL

~ AND -

py Duan 2. Wecroteni no

BRIAN D. WEINSTEIN

APPENDIX

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 87-1636

UNPUBLISHED

(stamp)

MARK LYNN FORTNEY;

ESLEY DOUGLAS TIPTON;

DANIEL WEBSTER HARMON

Plaintiffs - Appellants

and

MARY E. TIPTON; MARY JANE HARMON

Plaintiffs

versus

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Defendant - Appellee

and

ENVIROTECH CORPORATION; AMERICAN AIR FILTER

CO., INC.; ANACON CORP.; SOUTHEASTERN SPRINK-

LER COMPANY, INC.; GRINNEL FIRE PROTECTION

SYSTEMS COMPANY, INC.; AMERICAN DISTRICT

TELEGRAPH CO.; MILTON ROY COMPANY; TATE

ENGINEERING, INC.; REXNORD, INC.; DREXEL BROOK

ENGINEERING CO.; RUBBERMAID COMMERCIAL

PROD.; INC.; UNIJAX, INC.; E. I. PFAFF CO., INC.;

SIMONS EASTERN CO.; C. P. ROBERTS ENGINEERING,

INC.; YEARGIN CONSTRUCTION CO., INC.; SHELL OIL

CO., DEVON CHEMICALS, INC.; PUBLIKER INDUS-

TRIES, INC.; BUCKEYE CELLULOSE CORP.; SYBRON

CORP.; CARTER AND CRAWLEY, INC.

Defendants

HERCULES, INCORPORATED

Third Party - Defendant

2A

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Western District of Virginia, at Abingdon.

Glen M. Williams, District Judge.

(C/A 83-0200-A, C/A 83-0201-A, C/A 83-0202-A)

Argued: January 5, 1988 Decided: February 22, 1988

Before RUSSELL and ERVIN, Circuit Judges, and SPENCER,

United States District Judge for the Eastern District of

Virginia, sitting by designation.

Charles Stein Siegel (Brian Weinstein; Baron & Budd on

brief) for Appellants; Thomas Rutledge King, Jr., Assistant

United States Attorney (John P. Alderman, United States

Attorney on Brief) for Appellee.

PER CURIAM:

Plaintiffs in three Federal Tort Claims Act (FTCA) cases

consolidated below appeal the judgment dismissing their

complaints after trial for lack of subject matter jurisdiction.

We address first appellants’ motion for leave to file a

memorandum of clarification, which was received in this

Court, with the memorandum, after oral argument in this

case. Our briefing and oral argument requirements are de-

signed to encourage thorough presentation of the parties’

positions while at the same time serving the important

purposes of orderly procedure and finality. Finding no cause

to deviate from those requirements in this case, we deny the

motion.

3A

On May 6, 1981 an experimental system for the dehydra-

tion of nitrocellulose exploded, severely burning plaintiffs.

The explosion occurred at the Radford Army Munitions

Plant, which is owned by the United States Army and oper-

ated under a contract with Hercules, Inc. Plaintiffs were

Hercules employees.

The Army’s contract with Hercules delegates broad respon-

sibility for safety at the Radford plant to Hercules, including

particularly the safety of Hercules personnel. Ti.e Army

retains the right under this contract to inspect the premises

for quality, security, and safety, and maintains a small staff

at the plant for this purpose. Plaintiffs alleged in the district

court that the government had failed to use reasonable

procedures to assure that Hercules in turn took appropriate

safety precautions in operating the dehydration process in

question.

The district court found that the Army’s supervisory

responsibilities relating to safety lay within the discretionary

function exception. This statutory exemption preserves

sovereign immunity as to FTCA claims “based upon the

exercise or performance or the failure te exercise or perform

a discretionary function or duty on the part of a federal

agency or an employee of the Government, whether or not

the discretion involved be abused.” 25 U.S.C.A. § 2680(a)

(West 1965). The district court founded its analysis on the

Supreme Court’s teaching that “[w)hen an agency deter-

mines the extent to which it will supervise the safety proce-

dures of private individuals, it is exercising discretionary

regulatory authority fo the most basic kind.” United States

v. S.A. Empresa de Viacao Aerea Rio Grandense (Varig

Airlines), 467 US. 797, 819-20 (1984). This principle

extends to on-location supervisory activities of agency

employees. See Dalehite v. United States, 346 U.S. 15, 36

(1953). The district court, exiending the Varig Airlines

4A

principle beyond the regulatory context to the context of

government production contracts, found that, on the record

in the case at bar, the delegation of safety responsibility to

Hercules left the Army with solely discretionary safety

functions to perform at the Radford plant.

Our review discloses no reversible error in the decision

below,! and convinces us that plaintiffs’ claims were pr vperly

dismissed. We therefore affirm on the reasoning of the

district court.

AFFIRMED.

1. The district court rejected plaintiffs’ argument that the govern-

ment was not entitled to discretionary function immunity in this case

becausé the explosion was traceable in part to a violation of a manda-

tory safety regulation governing permissible containers for hazardous

materials. The district court found that this regulation embraced the

type of container used at the Radford plant, even though the containers

used were not specified in the regulation. We agree with the district

court, but add that violation of a mandatory regulation does not

abrogate the government's tort immunity independently of the FTCA,

and that the discretionary function exception to the FTCA protects

the government from liability ‘““whether or not the discretion involved

be abused.” 28 U.S.C.A. § 2680(a) (West 1965); see Totten v. United

States, 618 F. Supp. 951, 954 (E.D. Tenn. 1985), aff'd 806 F.2d 698

(6th Cir. 1986).

SA

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 87-1636

MARK LYNN FORTNEY;

ESLEY DOUGLAS TIPTON;

DANIEL WEBSTER HARMON

Plaintiffs - Appellants

and

MARY E. TIPTON; MARY JANE HARMON

Plaintiffs

versus

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Defendant - Appellee

and

ENVIROTECH CORPORATION; AMERICAN AIR FILTER

CO., INC.; ANACON CORP.; SOUTHEASTERN SPRINK-

LER COMPANY, INC.; GRINNEL FIRE P AOTECTION

SYSTEMS COMPANY, INC.; AMERICAN DISTRICT

TELEGRAPH CO.; MILTON ROY COMPANY: TATE

ENGINEERING, INC.; REXNORD, INC.; DREXEL BROOK

ENGINEERING CO.; RUBBERMAID COMMERCIAL

PROD.; INC.; UNIJAX, INC.; E. I. PFAFF CO., INC.:

SIMONS EASTERN CO.; C. P. ROBERTS ENGINEERING.

INC.; YEARGIN CONSTRUCTION CO., INC.; SHELL OIL

CO... DEVON CHEMICALS, INC.; PUBLIKER INDUS-

TRIES, INC.; BUCKEYE CELLULOSE CORP.; SYBRON

CORP.; CARTER AND CRAWLEY, INC.

Defendants

HERCULES, INCORPORATED

Third Party - Defendant

6A

FILED

U.S. Court of Appeals

Fourth Circuit

(stamp)

Clerk's Office U. S. Dist. Court

At ABINGDON, VA.

FILED

MAR 15 1988

Joyce F. Witt, Cierk

By: s/s A. Cook

Deputy Clerk

(stamp)

APPEAL FROM THE United States District Court for the

Western District of Virginia.

THIS CAUSE came on to be heard on the record from the

United States District Court for the Western District of

Virginia, and was argued by counsel.

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, It is now here ordered

and adjudged by this Court that the judgment of the said

District Court appealed from, in this cause, be, and the same

is hereby, affirmed.

s/s JOHN M. GREACEN (stamp)

CLERK

A True Copy, Teste:

John M. Greacen, Clerk

By s/s C. Marshall Buckles

Deputy Clerk

(stamp)

SL TT FE AN a

7A

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA

ABINGDON DIVISION

CIVIL ACTION NO. 83-0200-A

MARK LYNN FORTNEY,

Plaintiff

v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendant

CIVIL ACTION NO. 83-0201-A

ESLEY W. TIPTON,

Plaintiff

v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendant

CIVIL ACTION NO. 83-0202-A

DANIEL WEBSTER HARMON,

Plaintiff

v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendant

8A

Clerk's Office U. S. Dist. Court

AT ABINGDON, VA

FILED

APR 21 1987

Joyce F. Witt, Clerk

By: s/s A. Cook

Deputy Clerk

(stamp)

MEMORANDUM OPINION

These three consolidated cases are presently before the

court for judgment following a bench trial.

The Radford Army Ammunitions Plant (“R.A.A.P.”’) is

a munitions factory that the United States Army owns. The

Army has contracted with Hercules, Inc. (“Hercules’’)

to operate R.A.A.P. Hercules is responsible for safety at

R.A.A-P. (Plaintiffs’ Exhibits 9, 98-99, and 192); but the

Army has retained the right to inspect the premises for

quality, security, and safety and, consequently, maintains

a small staff at the plant.

One of the intermediate processes that Hercules carries

on at R.A.A-P. is the dehydration of nitrocellulose. In the

1960’s Hercules began experimenting with automating

this process, and in December 1980 Hercules instigated a

trial period for one specific automated dehydration system.

On May 6, 1981 this experimental system exploded severely

burning plaintiffs; and they subsequently brought suit

pursuant to the Federal Tort Claims Act (“FTCA”), 28

US.C. §§ 2671-80, alleging that the government had failed

to use reasonable procedures to assure that Hercules utilized

necessary safety precautions in its performance of hazardous

work.

9A

The FTCA largely abrogates the federal government's

immunity from tort liability. However, the FTCA preserves

that immunity for claims “based upon the exercise or per-

formance or the failure to exercise or perform a discretionary

function or duty on the part of a federal agency or an em-

ployee of the Government, whether or not the discretion

involved be abused.” 28 U.S.C. § 2680(a). This exemption

from tort liability is commonly referred to as the discretion-

ary function exception (‘‘d_f.e.”’).

The Supreme Court first explored the d.f.e. in Dalehite vy.

United States, 346 US. 15 (1953). In Dalehite fertilizer

that had been produced as part of a government program

to aid war ravaged countries exploded aboard a ship levelling

much of Texas City, Texas and killing many persons; and

plaintiffs sued for negligent manufacture.! The Court held

the United States was not liable because the d.f.e. protects

the government from tort liability for “the discretion of the

executive or the administrator to act accordingto. . . [his]

judgment of the best course .. .” Dalehite, 346 US. at

34. The Court then explained that the d.f.e. “includes more

than the iniation of programs and activities. It also includes

determinations made by executives or administrators in

establishing plans, specifications or schedules of operation.”

Dalehite, 346 US. at 35-36. Finally the Court extended

this immunity to the “acts of subordinates in carrying

out the operations of government in accordance with official

directions.” Dalehite, 346 US. at 36.

The Court further developed the parameters of the d-f.e.

in United States v. S. A. Empresa de Viacao Aerea Rio

Grandense, 467 U.S. 797 (1984), (“VARIG”). In VARIG

1. One of the ingredients of the fertilizer was a commonly recog-

nized explosive.

10A -

two commercial aircrafts that the Federal Aviation Adminis-

tration (“FAA”) had certified as airworthy caught on fire

mid-air due to the existence of non-regulation equipment.

The Court held the FAA was not liable in tort for its decision

to delegate some inspection responsibility to aircraft manu-

facturers and to only conduct spot checks. The Court ex-

plained: \

When an agency determines the extent to

which it will supervise the safety procedures

of private individuals, it is exercising discre-

tionary regulatory authority of the most

basic kind. Decisions as to the manner of

enforcing regulations directly affect the

feasibility and practicality of the Govern-

ment’s regulatory program; such decisions

require the agency to establish priorities for

the accomplishment of its policy objectives

by balancing the objectives sought to be

obtained against such practical considerations

as staffing and funding. Here, the FAA has

determined that a program of ‘spotchecking’

manufacturers’ compliance with minimum

safety standards best accommodates the goal

of air transportation safety and the reality of

finite 2..ency resources. Judicial intervention

in such decisionmaking through private tort

suits would require the courts to ‘second-

guess’ the political, social, and economic

judgments of an agency exercising its reguia-

tory function. It was precisely this sort of

judicial intervention in policymaking that

the discretionary function exception was

designed to prevent.

VARIG, 467 US. at 819-20. The Court also indicated that it

is the “nature of the conduct, rather than the status of the

11A

actor” that determines applicability of 28 U.S.C. § 2680(a).

VARIG, 467 US. at 813.

Applying the Dalehite and VAR/G analyses to the instant

facts indicates the government is not liablie in tort for failure

to use reasonable procedures to assure that Hercules utilized

necessary safety precautions. The government's decisions

concerning the production of munitions including its delega-

tion to Hercules of primary responsibility for safety furthers

the objectives of our national defense and, consequently,

represent the nature of conduct that the d.i.e. excepts from

tort liability. And, as the Court has indicated, this immunity

necessarily applies to lower level decision makers as well.

The Sixth Circuit has decided two cases that provide

additional support for this court’s analysis. In Feyers v.

United States, 749 F.2d 1222 (6th Cir. 1984), cert. denied,

105 S. Ct. 2655, a Chrysler employee was injured when

working at a government owned facility pursuant to a con-

tract between Chrysler and the United States. The Court held

that United States’ decisions to delegate responsibility for

safety to Chrysler, to only conduct spot checks of Chrysler's

safety program, and to not institute a safety training program

are the type of discretionary functions excluded from the

FTCA’s waiver of sovereign immunity. The Sixth Circuit,

inter alia, examined the contract between Chrysler and the

United States, which assigned responsibility for safety to

Chrysler, and the relationship of Chrysler to the United

States, which was independent contractor rather than em-

ployee. And in Totten v. United States, No. 85-5921 (6th

Cir. Dec. 9, 1986), the widow of a former employee of an

independent contractor sued the government for failure to

comply with a Department of Defense standard and for

failure to assure use of safety precautions after her husband

was killed when cleaning up missile fuel pursuant to a contract

between the independent contractor and the government

12A

that delegated primary safety responsibility to the independ-

ent contractor. The Court held the d.f.e. precludes tort

liability for the underlying decisions “[b]ecause an exercise

of discretion was required in implementing [Department of

Defense] Standard 882A and in determining the extent to

which the government should review Aerojet’s compliance

with the safety responsibility delegated to it.” Totten,

No. 85-5921 at 8.

This court cannot distinguish the instant facts from

Feyers or Totten in regard to the nature of the underlying

contract: all three contracts delegate primary responsibility

for safety to the independent contractor with the govern-

ment’s retaining the right te review safety procedures. As

the VARIG Court indicated, this delegation of safety respon-

sibility represents the type of policy-making for which the

d.f.e. was designed.

Accordingly, 28 USC. § 2680(a), the discretionary

function exception, bars olaintiffs’ suits against the United

States. Case law is clear that “[i)f a case falls within the

statutory exceptions of 28 U.S.C. § 2680, the Court lacks

subject matter jurisdiction.” Feyers v. United States, 749

F.2d at 1225. Consequently, these cases are dismissed for

lack of subject matter jurisdiction.

In accordance with this Memorandum Opinion, an Order

will be entered dismissing these cases for lack of subject

matter jurisdiction and striking these cases from the docket.

13A

The Clerk is directed to send certified copies of this

Memorandum Opinion to counsel of record.

ENTER: This 21 day of April 1987.

s/s Glen M. Williams

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

A TRUE COPY, TESTE:

Joyce F . Witt, Clerk

By: s/s A. Cook

Deputy Clerk

(stamp)

(Note: Circular illegible stamp on page.)

14A ISA

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT ee U. S. Dist. Court

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA A wryety VA

N

ABINGDON DIVISIO gaa tame

Joyce F. Will, Clerk

By: s/s A. Cook

CIVIL ACTION NO. 83-0200-A Deputy Clerk

(stamp)

MARK LYNN FORTNEY,

Plaintiff

v. ORDER

UNITED STATES OF AMERIC A In accordance with a Memorandum Opinion entered this

Defendant date, these cases are dismissed for lack of subject matter

jurisdiction. Accordingly, these causes are stricken from the

docket.

CIVIL ACTION NO. 83-0201-A The Clerk is directed to send certified copies of this Order

to counsel of record.

a Plaintiff ENTER: This 21 day of April, 1987.

” s/s Glen M. Williams

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Defendant

A TRUE COPY, TESTE:

Joyce F. Witt, Clerk

Vv N NO. 83-0202-A By: s/s A. Cook

CIVIL ACTIO Depuey Clark

DANIEL WEBSTER HARMON, (stamp)

-- Plaintiff |

We

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

. Defendant ’

16A

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA

ABINGDON DIVISION

CIVIL ACTION NO. 83-0200-A

MARK LYNN FORTNEY,

Plaintiff

We

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendant

CIVIL ACTION NO. 83-0201-A

ESLEY W. TIPTON,

Plaintiff

v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendant

CIVIL ACTION NO. 83-0202-A

DANIEL WEBSTER HARMON,

Plaintiff

v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendant

17A

Clerk's Office U. S. Dist. Court

AT ABINGDON, VA

FILED

JUN 8 1987

Joyce F. Witt, Clerk

By: s/s D.S. Slemp

Clerk

(stamp)

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

These three consolidated cases are presently before the

court on plaintiffs’ motion for reconsideration.

The Radford Army Ammunitions Plant (“R.A.A.P."’) is

a munitions factory that the United States Army owns. The

Army has contracted with Hercules, Inc. (“Hercules”) to

operate R.A.A.P. On May 6, 1981 an experimental system

exploded at R.A.A-P. severely injuring plaintiffs; and they

subsequently brought suit pursuant to the Federal Tort

Claims Act (“FTCA”), 28 U.S.C. § 2671-80. This court

dismissed that action for lack of subject matter jurisdiction

because the discretionary function exception (‘‘d.f.e.”’) to

the FTCA, 28 U.S.C. § 2680(a), immunizes the government

from suit for its alleged failure to use reasonable procedures

to assure that Hercules utilized necessary safety precautions

in its performance of hazardous work Fortney v. United

States, No. 83-0200-A (W.D. Va. April 21, 1987).

Plaintiffs have moved this court for reconsideration of its

earlier decision. They contend that the court (1) incorrectly

identified the action that plaintiffs challenge; (2) erroneously

applied the df.e. to a mandatory regulation: and (3) failed

to consider relevant cases of the Fourth Circuit Court of

Appeals. This court will discuss these assertions in order.

af

18A

Plaintiffs allege that this court incorrectly identified the

governmental action that they challenge as delegating pri-

mary safety responsibility to Hercules when in fact plaintiffs

challenge “the negligence of the government safety stafff

[sic] in allowing Building 3507 to pass the Pre-Operational

Survey Inspection and, thereby, operate with nonconductive

tubs in violation of AMCR 385-100.” Plaintiffs’ Motion for

Reconsideration and Oral Argument and Memorandum in

Support Thereof p. 5.

After reviewing Plaintiffs’ motion for Judgment and

Memorandum in Support Thereof, this court cannot accept

plaintiffs’ characterization of their earlier allegation. In

fact, Plaintiffs’ Memorandum in Support of Motion for

Judgment refers to the Army’s failure to adequately evaluate

the use of nonconductive tubs and specifically says “[i]f

the Government failed to see to the taking of all reasonable

precautions in this operation, the Government is liable to

Plaintiffs.” Plaintiffs’ Motion for Judgment and Memoran-

dum in Support Thereof p. 2. This failure to adequately

evaluate aligns much more «josely with a discretionary act

than with an operat/onal act ard is consequently immunized.

Plaintiffs also allege “at the d.f.e. cannot immunize the

government for its violation of a mandatory regulation,

i.e. AM.C.R. 385-100 § 20.4 (1970).

A.M.C.R. 385-100 § 20.4 (1970) provides:

_ Hazardous materials in bulk or liquid form

must be transported in containers which will

prevent leakage. Containers used in intraplant

transportation and service storage of explo-

sives and explosive mixtures such as initiating

explosives, pyrotechnic compositions and

19A

tracer materials should be made of material

in the following preference order:

Conductive rubber

Nonferrous metal-lined box-

es without seams or rivet

heads under which explosive

dust can accumulate

Plastics (conductive type

only)

Paper-lined wood boxes

Fiber containers.

Fiber containers of bulk explosives and

propellants should be shipped only by motor

carrier or trailer-on-flat car. Glass containers

should not be used because of their fragility

and severe missile hazard.

This regulation’s use of the word “should” implies that

the use of conductive tubs is not mandatory. “Should, in

indicating obligation or necessity, is. . . appreciably weaker

than must.’ The American Heritage Dictionary 1199 (W.

Morris ed. 1976). Furthermore, § 20.4’s listing of options

utilizing nonconductive tubs clearly indicates that the draf-

ters of §20.4 contemplated situations in which nonconduc-

tive tubs would be used.

Plaintiffs compare the gow rnment’s failure to object

to nonconductive tubs to a decision whether to brake or

accelerate that a government employee makes while driving

to inspect a building. This analogy does not persuade the

20A

court. The government's decision in the instant case reflected

many factors and typifies a decision that the d.f.e. was

designed to protect. On the other hand, a decision whether

to brake or accelerate provides the stereotypical example

of a tort for which the FTCA abrogated sovereign immunity.

Plaintiffs have cited five cases in support of their conten-

tion that the d.f.e. is inapplicable in the context of accidents

at military plants run by contractors where safety was moni-

tored by the government. However, four of these cases were

decided prior to United States v. S.A. Empresa de Viacao

Aerea Rio Grandense , 467 U.S. 797 (1984) (“VARIG”).

Plaintiffs’ final argument is that this court failed to con-

sider relevant decisions of the Fourth Circuit Court of

Appeals. They rely primarily on Staton v. United States,

685 F.2d 117 (4th Cir. 1982). However, Staton held that the

d.f.e. does not immunize a park ranger’s shooting of hunting

dogs in violation of a policy to capture such dogs. The

instant facts do not demonstrate a comparable policy void

of contemplated discretion.

This court cannot imagine a more elusive concept than the

discretionary function for which the FTCA retains sovereign

immunity. Almost every court that considers this concept

necessarily redefines it. However, plaintiffs’ disagreement

with this court’s earlier decision does not justify a self-

imposed reversal.

—s

21A

Accordingly, plaintiffs’ motion for reconsideration is

hereby DENIED. These causes are again stricken from the

docket.

The Clerk is directed to send certified copies of this

Memorandum Opinion and Order to counsel of record.

ENTER: This 8 day of June, 1987.

s/s Glen M. Williams

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

A True Copy, Teste:

Joyce F. Witt, Clerk

By: s/s D.S. Slemp

Deputy Clerk

(stamp)

22A

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA

ABINGDON DIVISION

CIVIL ACTION NO. 83-0200-A

MARK LYNN FORTNEY,

Plaintiff

v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendant

CIVIL ACTION NO. 83-0201-A

ESLEY W. TIPTON,

Plaintiff

Wa

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendant

CIVIL ACTION NO. 83-0202-A

DANIEL WEBSTER HARMON,

Plaintiff

Vv. 7

JNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendant

23A

Clerk's Office U. S. Dist. Court

AT ABINGDON, VA

FILED

APR 21 1987

Joyce F. Witt, Clerk

By: s/s A. Cook

Deputy Clerk

(stamp)

ORDER

In accordance with a Memorandum Opinion entered this

date, these cases are dismissed for lack of subject matter

jurisdiction. Accordingly, these causes are stricken from the

docket.

The Clerk is directed to send certified copies of this

Order to counsel of record.

ENTER: This 2! day of April, 1987.

s/s Glen M. Williams

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

A TRUE COPY, TESTE:

Joyce F. Witt, Clerk

By: s/s A. Cook

Deputy Clerk

(stamp)

24A

IN THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

NO. 87-1636

MARK L. FORTNEY, et al.,

Appellants,

ss

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Appellee.

MEMORANDUM OF CLARIFICATION CONCERNING

WAIVERS OF ARMY SAFETY REGULATIONS

During oral argument of this appeal on January 5, 1988,

significant discussion was devoted to whether the use of

nonconductive tubs in Building 3507 at Radford violated

Army Safety Regulation AMCR 385-100 § 20.4. This regula-

tion, which is reproduced in the Joint Appendix at 111-848,

prescribes in descending order of preference five types of

containers in which hazardous materials, specifically in-

cluding explosive mixtures, may be transported within a

plant. Nonconductive rubber containers are not one of

the choices. Though this regulation states that containers

“should” be made of the listed materials, § 1.3(b) provides

that deviation from “advisory” regulations using the word

“should” are not permitted unless a waiver or “exception”

is obtained inwriting. The Government admits that no

waiver of § 20.4 was ever obtained.

25A

During oral argument the Court questioned whether the

approval by the government safety staff of the results of the

preoperational survey of Building 3507 constituted a waiver

of the obligation to comply with §20.4. This question is

conclusively answered by §1.5 of the same manual, which

is reproduced in the Joint Appendix at III-786. This section

is entitled “Procedure Concerning Waivers of Safety Regu-

lations.” It provides, inter alia, that:

1. Waivers will be granted “only after it has

been determined that compliance with ap-

plicable safety standards cannot be effected,

and that essential work on critical Army

material must still be performed” or that

other extenuating circumstances exist;

2. Waivers and exemptions (excuses from com-

pliance with advisory provisions such as

§ 20.4) are granted for “specific situations”

and are limited as shown in “the pertinent

correspondence ;”

3. Waivers are granted only for such a period of

time as is necessary to correct the unsafe

condition.

In addition, “local waivers” of advisory provisions must

be in writing and are granted for specific periods of time.

See §1.3 (Sections 1.3, 1.4 & 1.5 are also attached hereto

as Exhibit “A”).

Appellants believe that § § 1.5 and | .3 clearly demonstrate

that the overall approval of the preoperational survey of

Building 3507 did not work a waiver of the obligation to

comply with §20.4. A waiver plainly is effected only by

following the procedures mandated tor its obtainme it.

26A

Since the Government admits that these procedures were

not complied with, no waiver can be found, and it is there-

fore indisputable that §20.4 was violated. As previously

contended, the violation of a safety regulation takes the

case outside the discretionary function exception.

Respectfully submitted,

BARON & BUDD, PC.

8333 Douglas Avenue

10th Floor

Dallas, Texas 75225

214/369-3605

BY s/s Charles S. Siegel

CHARLES S. SIEGEL

BY s/s_ Brian D. Weinstein

BRIAN D. WEINSTEIN

Counsel for Appellants

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the fore-

going was mailed this 8th day of January, 1988, to all coun-

sel of record.

S/s Charles S. Siegel

CHARLES S. SIEGEL

ee eee

27A

. IN THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

NO. 87-1636

MARK L. FORTNEY, et al.,

Appellants,

v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Appellee.

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE

MEMORANDUM OF CLARIFICATION

COME NOW Appellants in the above matter, pursuant to

Internal Operating Procedure 28.3, and file this their Motion

for Leave to File Memorandum of Clarification and would

show the Court the following:

During oral argument of this appeal on January 5, 1988, a

substantial amount of discussion focused on whether the

use of nonconductive tubs in Building 3507 violated Army

Safety Regulation AMCR 385-100 §20.4. Since nonconduc-

tive tubs are not among the permissible choices in § 20.4 for

intraplant transportation of hazardous materials. _the Court

inquired as to whether a waiver of the regulation. as contem-

plated in §1.3, had been secured. It was further suggested

that the approval, by the government safety staff, of the

preoperational survey of the entire operation may have

constituted such a waiver.

——

28A

Appellants seek leave to file the attached Memorandum of

Clarification in order to fully explain the requisites for a

waiver. Such an explanation is necessary because the Court

was not apprised at oral argument of another section, §1.5,

which is entitled “Procedure Concerning Waivers of Safety

Regulations.”” This section will alleviate uncertainty as to

the definition of a waiver and whether one was obtained.

At oral argument, the Court devoted considerable discus-

sion to the issue of whether a mandatory regulation removes

any policy discretion from a government employee and there-

by places his actions outside the discretionary function

exception. Since the question of whether § 20.4 was violated

may be important to the Court’s decision in this case, Appel-

lants respectfully request the opportunity to fully clarify

the waiver point.

The Memorandum of Clarification is attached hereto.

WHEREFORE, PREMISES CONSIDERED, Appellants

pray that their Motion for Leave to File Memorandum of

Clarification be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

BARON & BUDD, PC.

8333 Douglas Avenue

10th Floor

Dalias, Texas 75225

214/369-3605

BY s/s Charles S. Siegel

CHAF.LES S. SIEGEL

BY s/s Brian D. Weinstein

BRIAN D. WEINSTEIN

Counsel for Appellants

a

29A

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the fore-

going was mailed this 8th day of January, 1988, to all coun-

sel of record.

s/s Charles S. Siegel

CHARLES S. SIEGEL

30A 31A

AMC REGULATION AMCR 385-100 HEADQUARTERS

UNITED STATES ARMY MATERIEL COMMAND

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20315

AMC REGULATION

No. 385-100 21 April 1970

SAFETY

SAFETY MANUAL

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

SAFETY CHAPTER | cena eau dsoneeee 1-1

2. General Definitions ............... 2-1

3. Nuclear Weapons Safety ............ 3-1

SAFETY MANUAL 4. Laboratory Safety ................ 4-1

5. Construction and Utilities ........ . §-1 .

6. Electrical Equipment and Wiring ..... 6-!

0 —i‘(‘éiéCR 7-1

8. Lightning Protection ....... aia See

9. Technical Industrial Safety.......... 9-]

10. Personal Protective Clothing and

PE . da wecovscencsecess 10-1

11. Storage and Handling of Chemical

Agents and Munitions........... I 1-1

12. Fire Protection ...... iF .. 12-1

13. Specific Chemicals ... om

14. Explosives and Ammunition ...... 14-1

15. Quantity-Distance Storage Critena

for Liquid Propellants . ..... 1S-1

16. Safety Requirements in Specific

HEADQUARTERS, U.S. ARMY APRIL Hazardous Areas... 16-1

MATERIAL COMMAND 1970 17. Quantity-Distance Tables ... 17-1

32A

TABLE OF CONTENTS (Continued)

PAGE

CHAPTER 18. Storage of Explosives and Ammuni-

eee te ee ee 18-1

19. Quantity - Distance Classification

and Storage Compatibility ....... 19-]

20. Preparing Explosives and Ammuni-

tion for Shipment .............. 20-1

21. Railroad Transportation ........... 21-1

22. Motor Vehicle Transportation ...... 22-1

23. Air and Water Transportation ....... 23-1

24. Materials Handling Equipment ...... 24-1

25. Ammunition Normal Maintenance,

Modification Renovation and De-

A 25-1

26. Safety In Munitions Loading ...... 26-1

27. Collection and Destruction - Explo-

sives, Ammunition, and Chemica!

Agents and Munitions........... 27-1

28. Weapons and Ammunition Testing . . . 28-1!

Pt Vn ardcedee ot ect baeke te ues éacecne Index-]

-_—--

This reguiacion supersedes AMCR 385-224, 4 September 1951, includ-

ing changes 1 through 16.

o —

33A

AMCR 385-100

1-1

CHAPTER |

INTRODUCTION

1-1. PURPOSE

This regulation prescribes the general safety rules of the

U.S. Army Materiel Command (AMC), which are not covered

in sufficient detail by national safety codes or standards.

Safety rules applicable to special hazardous operations

performed at relatively few AMC installations are published

in supplemental AMC regulations in the 385 series.

1-2. SCOPE

This regulation applies to Headquarters, AMC; AMC

major subordinate commands (including subordinate instal-

lations and activities); AMC project/product managers, and

separate installations and activities reporting directly to

Headquarters, AMC. It prescribes safe methods and practices

for safeguarding personnel, insuring continuity of produc-

tion, and preventing property damage. Codes and safety

standards of the National Safety Council, American National

Standards Institute, National Fire Protection Association

and other nationally recognized organizations will be used

in conjunction with these regulations to develop appropnate

local standards for safe practices and procedures, personal

protective equipment, machine guards, etc. However, when

these codes or standards are in conflict with the AMC regula-

tions, the AMC regulations shall apply.

rrr — — ——

34A

AMCR 385-100

1-3

1-3. APPLICATION

a. The mandatory requirements and advisory provisions

set forth in this regulation apply to each activity and facility

where the Commanding General, AMC is charged with the

responsibility for safety.

b. Mandatory requirements are those in which the

terms “shall”, “will” or “must” are used, and no deviation

is permitted without specific written authority in the form

of a waiver, exemption or authorization from the Com-

manding General, AMC, ATTN: Safety Office. The advisory

provisions are those in which “may” or “should” are used,

and no deviations are permitted unless exceptions (local

waivers) are authorized in writing by the commanding

officer or his designated agent. Local waivers covering condi-

tions which can be corrected should be granted for definite

periods of time (one year or less). Such waivers must be

reviewed at least annually to determine whether changed

conditions warrant continuation of the waiver. All exemp-

tions, waivers and authorized deviations shall be maintained

in a central register which is readily available to authorized

personnel.

c Existing facilities not complying with safety regula-

tions published after their construction or installation may be

exempted from the mew requirements when such action is

authorized by the Commanding General, AMC. However,

modifications, unless minor in nature and not decreasing

safety, must comply with the latest safety requirements.

AMC establishments with facilities exempted from compli-

ance with regulations should take additional precautions

to counterbalance the deficiencies.

35A

AMCR 385-100

|-4a

14. RESPONSIBILITY FOR ENFORCEMENT AND

COMPLIANCE

a. The Commander of an AMC command, installation,

or activity is solely responsible for the safety of his com-

mand, and it is important that he take the same active aggres-

sive leadership in safety that he takes in other phases of

command responsibility. It is the responsibility of the Com-

mander to insure that all activities are conducted in accord-

ance with the safety rules and regulations set forth herein.

Where no existing safety rule or regulation applies to circum-

stances of major importance or where a deviation from an

established mandatory safety regulation is desired, it is the

responsibility of the Commander to submit, through com-

mand channels, full particulars and detailed plans to the

Commanding General, AMC, ATTN: Safety Office, for

authorization. In the interim, the Commander shall take the

action he deems necessary to control the hazard. The absence

of a safety requirement in this regulation or in the references

cited does not necessarily indicate that no safeguards are

needed.

b. It is also the responsibility of the Commander to

require personnel of other agencies, while on an AMC estab-

lishment, to comply with the general safety regulations of

his establishment and assure that operations and activities

of tenant agencies do not endanger personnel and facilities

for which he is responsible.

c. The Commander shall enforce the mandatory require-

ments of this regulation and be guided by the advisory

provisions. He shall institute those inspections necessary

to effect compliance with the rules and regulations prescribed

herein.

36A

AMCR 385-100

1 -Sa

1-5. PROCEDURE CONCERNING WAIVERS OF

SAFETY REGULATIONS

a. A waiver will be granted only after it has been deter-

mined that compliance with applicable safety standards

cannot be effected, and that essential work on critical Army

material must still be performed, or other extenuating

circumstances exist. Waivers and exemptions (paragraph

1-3b) are granted for specific situations and are limited as

indicated in the pertinent correspondence, and shall not be

interpreted to cover similar operations, locations or condi-

tions. A waiver, when granted, will be issued only for such

minimum time as is necessary to correct the unsafe condi-

tion. In no case will a waiver be granted initially for a period

in excess of one year. Instailations and activities which have

been granted exemptions or waivers shall initiate action to

effect cancellation when the necessity for the exemptions

or waivers terminates.

b. Upon local determination that a waiver of mandatory

provisions of this regulation is necessary, installations and

activities will forward requests through command channels

to the Commanding General, AMC, ATTN: Safety Office.

Requests forwarded will contain, as a minimum, the follow-

ing information:

(1) Description of condition (maps showing distances to

internal and external exposures, personnel involved, and

facilities exposed).

(2) Safety regulations violated.

37A

AMCR 385-100

1 - Sb(3)

(3) Statement why compliance with mandatory safety

requirements cannot be effected locally ((2) above).

(4) Specific time required for waiver.

(5) Precautions that will be taken to achieve safety in

operations during period of waiver.

In case of an extreme emergency, telephone, teletype or

telegram request may be made through command channels

and confirmed in an official letter forwarded to the Com-

manding General, AMC, ATTN: Safety Office, within three

days of the initial request.

c. Expiring waivers will not be renewed unless there ts

evidence that all practicable means for complying with

approved standards have been exhausted. Waivers shall be

considered as rescinded on the stated expiration dates unless

requests warranting renewal have been received in Hlead-

quarters, AMC, (Safety Office) in ample time (at least 30

days prior to expiration date) to permit evaluation and reply.

14. SAFETY ORGANIZATION

Each AMC major subordiante command and class Il

installation or activity shall institute afd ‘oentain a safety

organization which functions essentially as shown in figure

1-1.

38A

AMCR 385-100

1-7

1-7. SAFETY DIRECTOR

The commander of each AMC major subordinate com-

mand and class II installation and activity shall designate

an individual who is occupationally qualified as either a

safety officer or safety engineer to serve as safety director.

This individual shall supervise all safety activities of his

command, installation or activity. He shall be a member of

the commander’s staff and shall be responsible directly to

the commander for the establishment, continuing interest

in and the success of all phases of the safety program.

1-8. DIRECTORS OR PRODUCTION CHIEFS

Each director or production chief shall be responsible to

the commander for the safety of his area. In addition, each

shall develop an aggressive attitude toward the promotion

of safety activities within his area, shall comply with the

requirements of these regulations and take an active part in

the overall safety program.

1-9 FOREMEN OR SUPERVISORS

Each foreman or supervisor shall consider the prevention

of injuries to employees under his jurisdiction to be as

important a phase of his job as quantity and quality of

production. To accomplish this, he shall train his men to

work safely, supervise them closely, correct unsafe acts and

mechenical or physical conditions, enforce safety regulations,

investigate accidents and take other action necessary to

insure the safety of the employees. The success of a safety

program depends upon the ability of the operations foreman

or supervisor and his enthusiastic participation in the organ-

ized safety effort.

2%). sw tee ee we FS s

| 39A

AMCR 385-100

1-10

1-10. EMPLOYEES

Each employee, as a condition of employment, shall

adhere to all instructions and use the personal protective

equipment and protective devices provided. He should

develop intelligent and safe working habits by following

safe practice rules and regulations in order to protect himself

and his fellow workers from injury and to prevent damage

to material, equipment, and facilities. He should contribute

any suggestions which may assist in the effort to prevent

accidents and otherwise take an active part in the safety

program.

1-11. CENTRAL SAFETY BOARD

a. A safety board shall be organized at each AMC

installation and shall hold meetings regularly, but not less

than once each quarter. The board should include the follow-

ing members:

Commanding officer, chairman

Safety director, secretary

Directors or production chiefs

Facilities engineer (chief engineer)

Senior ammunition inspector

Civilian personnel officer

Fire chief (fire marshal)

Post surgeon (medical officer)

Provost marshall

Others (including representatives of subordinate or tenant

activities) as determined by the commanding officer.

40A

AMCR 385-100

1-1 1(b)

b. The board shall aid in establishing the safety program

and determine its adequacy, effectiveness and methods for

improvement. To do this, the board shall become familiar

with the personal injury and property damage experience of

the installation, and the potential hazards that might cause

injury; and devise ways and means to eliminate unsafe acts

and to correct unsafe mechanical and physical conditions.

c. Minutes of central safety board meetings shall be

prepared and copies furnished through command channels

to the Commanding General, AMC, ATTN: Safety Office,

and to Director, AMC Field Safety Agency.

41A =

385-100

SAFETY ORGANIZATION FUNCTIONAL CHART

COMMANDER

oR

DEPUTY COMMANDER

CENTRAL

SAFETY

- —_— BOARD

!

!

(~~ = ---====/- _----== “al

DIRECTORS

oR SAFETY MEDICAL

propucTion =f DIRECTOR -—-—| - DEPARTMENT

CHIEFS

-

|

|

SUPERVISORS )

SAFETY —_——- <> <-> </> ~

COMMITTEES

__ _ __ | STATE, FEDERAL 6

aa PRIVATE ACENCLES

!

' —_

|

DP LOTEES

SAFETY pe me 4

COMMITTEES

FICURE 1-1. Safety Orgenizetion Punctional Chart

42A

AMCR 385-100

l-l2a *

1-12. FOREMEN’S SAFETY COMMITTEES

a. One or more foremen’s safety committees shall be

formed at each AMC installation and shall hold regular

meetings at least once each month. Each foreman should be

a member of one of these committees, but if the commit-

tees consist of only a portion of the supervisors, membership

shall be roatated so that each member serves for approxi-

mately six months and only a few members are replaced at

any one time. Maximum effectiveness is achieved if mem-

bership in a committee is limited. A limit of 15 members

per committee is recommended. Each committee should

have a chairman and a secretary. The safety director or a

member of his office should attend each meeting in an

advisory capacity. Minutes of committee meetings shall

be prepared and forwarded to the installation safety office

and to appropriate directors or production chiefs for review

and resolution of matters pertaining to safety.

b. Each foremen’s safety committee shall take an

active part in the safety program of the establishment and

particularly shall strive to decrease personal injury possibil-

ities of the employees and property damage under the

jurisdiction of the foremen in the group.

2 Ogee tee (a ee em,

43A

AMCR 385-100

1-13

1-13. EMPLOYEES’ SAFETY COMMITTEES

a. Employees’ safety committees should be formed at

each AMC installation and should hold regular meetings at

least once each month in order that all personnel may parti-

cipate in the safety program of the establishment. Each

committee should consist of not more than 15 employees.

Membership on these committees should be rotated so that

each member serves for approximately three months and

only a few members are replaced at any one time. Each

committee should have a chairman and a secretary should be

appointed by the committee chairman. The safety director or

a member of his staff should attend each meeting in an

advisory capacity. Minutes of committee meeiings shall be

prepared and forewarded to the installation safety office and

to appropriate directors or production chiefs for review and

resolution of matters pertaining to safety.

b. Each employee safety committee shall take an active

part in the safety program of the establishment, and particu-

larly, shall strive to decrease personal injury possibilities

and property damage within its own group.

44A

AMCR 385-100

1-14

1-14. INTERDEPARTMENTAL COORDINATION

The activities of all departments in an installation shall be

coordinated to insure the successful accomplishment of the

safety program. Cooperation within departments and be-

tween other departments and the safety department should

prevail.

1-15. SAFETY PROGRAM

a. To be effective, a safety program must include

provisions of maximum safety (consistent with operational

requirements) in the design of materiel; prevention of injuries

to military, civilian and contractor personnel; prevention of

damage to property and interruption of essential operations.

and elimination from the environment of those effects of

operations which might otherwise endanger the general

populace. The program shall have two phases, the general

and the specific functions. The general function shall be

continuous and repetitive and shall be planned to eliminate

the conditions which cause the majority of accidents. The

specific functions shall be specialized in character and shall

be planned to determine and correct hazards associated

with the flow of materials, the method of process, and/or

physical plant conditions. At each installation, there shall

be only one Safety Program.

b. The object of the general function shall be the elimi-

nation of accidents occurring with a significant frequency and

assignable to a particular agency, unsafe act, unsafe condi-

tion, etc., and of accidents which are concentrated in any

—

;

|

?

45A

AMCR 385-100

1-1 5b

particular area or section of the establishment. This phase of

the program shall be broad in scope and shall include:

(1) Safety program management.

(2) Development of safety standards and

regulations.

(3) Systems safety engineering.

(4) Safety engineering review of construc-

tion, existing facilities and operations.

(5S) Safety education and promotion.

(6) Safety training.

(7) Investigation, analysis and reporting of

accidents and incidents.

' (8) Safety inspections.

c. The nature of the specific function requires the

making of inspections and accident cause investigations

pertaining to special studies and analyses of handling opera-

tions, process operations, materiel faillires, physical condi-

tions of a plant or area, the use of toxic materials, and of

other specific operations. The safety office shall participate

in materiel design, development of precess plans, develop-

ment of new construction and facility modification plans

and development of equipment specifications.

464

AMCR 385-100

1-16

1-16. HAZARD CONTROL

a. The safety organization shall review all regular

operations and al) seasonal or special operations such as tank

cleaning, boiler cleaning, window cleaning, and infrequent

matenals handling jobs Hazards may be determined through

accident cause analyses and analyses of all operations, includ-

ing seasonal or infrequent operations in the establishment.

b. Once the hazards of a particular operation have been

identified, they shall be evaluated in order to facilitate

correction. The specific preventive or control measures to

be applied shall be determined by the characteristics peculiar

to the hazard. The solution may be found in education of

personel, in use of protective equipment, or in engineering

changes involving equipment or processes. The lack of

existing regulations or standards does not relieve the Com-

mander of responsibility for developing local measures for

the control of recognized hazards.

c. Upon completion of the study of each hazard and the

determination of corrective measures, all data should be

assembled and a repo.t prepared for the approval of the

superintendent, production chief, safety board, or Command-

er, as may be required. Upon approval, the correction shall

be effected and continuing protection assured through

follow-up corrective measures by supervisory personnel

and through inspections by the safety department.

47A

AMCR 385-100

1-17

1-17. EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM

An educational program shail be instituted in each estab-

lishment to develop and maintain employees’ interest in the

safety program, and to train employees in safe practices and

safe procedures. The safety director shall determine the need

and arrange for the procurement and selective distribution of

safety promotional and educational materials. Available

media for employee education include posters, bulletin

boards, scoreboards, special exhibits, “No accident” cam-

paigns, safety or clean-up contests, articles in establishment

publications, safety rules handout cards, pamphlets, warning

signs for specific hazards, suggestion systems, essay contests,

and sound slide films or motion pictures for groups of

employees. Appropriate “off-the-job” accident prevention

features sha’! be included in the program, and the safety

organization sould stimulate the interest of and cooperate

with outside agencies concerned with this phase of the

accident prevention piogram.

1-18. EMPLOYEE TRAINING

a. The personnel department or other departments

charged with the responsibility for preparing the written

employee training program shall collaborate with the safety

director to assure adequate treatment of accident prevention

matters. Comprehensive and thorough job safety training

results in increased production through reduced susceptibility

to mistakes and accidents. It is the responsibility of the

training department to assist all departments in determining

training needs, and to provide courses to meet these needs.

AMCR 385-100

1-18b

b. All new employees must be made aware of instal-

lation general safety rules and regulations before being

placed on the job. This should be accomplished through an

orientation course. Each employee shall be trained for the

specific job to which he is assigned. This training may be

accomplished by the supervisor on the job, by special in-

structors or by experienced workers through the apprentice-

ship method. The employee shall be thoroughly instructed in

the efficient safe method of performing his assigned work

before being permitted to work “on his own”. The personal

benefits accruing to the employee by conformity with these

rules should be explained.

c. The instructors shall be properly trained in the use of

sound instructional methods and in determining what knowl-

edge must be passed along to the worker. The instructions

concerning the performance of new duties should be well

planned in advance so that the instructor can present them in

an orderly and complete fashion. The use of a written job

procedure (job) breakdown) based on complete analysis of

the job has been established as a valuable method for this

purpose. Such analysis should include an outline of the

necessary steps in the performance of the job, a listing of

the essential techniques for the efficient performance of each

step, a listing of the hazards present in each step, and defin-

ite, positive instructions regarding each hazard which will

enable the worker to avoid accidents or injury.

d. To insure receiving the maximum benefits from any

training, supervision shall maintain a continuous program of

follow-up, reinstruction, and enforcement of regulations and

“ procedures with each employee.

oe ee

:

:

'

e

:

49A

AMCR 385-100

1-19

1-19. FIRST-AID TRAINING

First-aid training shall be made available during duty hours.

Electricians, maintenance men, guards, firemen and foremen,

attendants and orderlies in the first-aid room, and other job

categories selected by the installation safety director as

having a job-related need for this training shall take the

course. Insofar as practicable, the first-aid training course

should be made available to all employees. The content of

the training course and the number of hours of class atten-

dance will be determined by the commanding officer to

fit local needs based on advice from the Surgeon. Instructors

will be qualified and accredited. A certificate should be

awarded to each person completing the course satisfactorily.

A refresher course should be given at intervals, but it is

more important to give first-aid training to those who have

not been trained.

1-20. INJURY REPORTS

A complete and accurate system of accident records

constitutes the focal point of a safety program. Accident

records must be used, and used effectively, to obtain the

best results in any accident prevention program. In order

that effective accident cause analyses can be made, accident

records will include data which will:

a. Indicate the accident trend:

b. Identify departments with the poorer

records:

AMCR 385-100

1-20c

c. Reveal hazardous agencies, conditions,

practices, and processes requiring cor-

rection or protection;

d. Point to predominant types of accidents;

e. Indicate employees who require special

attention and/or training;

f. Reveal the lack of enforcement of

established regulations; and

g. Indicate the need for additional safety

standards.

!-2!. ACCIDENT PREVENTION INSPECTIONS

Safety personnel shall inspect each operation for unsafe

work practices and unsafe physical and mechanical condi-

tions at least once each month. Hazardous operations or

accident experience will indicate the advisability of more

frequent inspections. The safety director shall arrange for

prompt inspections of any seasonal or unusual work of a

hazardous nature. Operations foremen shall make daily

inspections of work areas and operating conditions to assure

that all hazards have been minimized and that safe work

practices are being employed. The operations foreman

should accompany the assigned safety inspector whenever

possible. All of the discrepancies noted, and recommenda-

tions to be made, by the safety inspector, should be brought

to the operating foreman’s attention during or immediately

after the inspection so that unsafe acts and unsafe conditions

may be corrected promptly. Accident prevention inspections

shall be systematic and thorough so that no location will

be overlooked.

AMCR 385-100

1-22

1-22. ACCIDENT INVESTIGATION

Accidents shall be investigated in accordance with current

directives to determine all contributing causes and the

preventive measures which will eliminate or reduce the

number of accidents. Even accidents which do not cause

severe property damage or injury to personnel must be

investigated so that preventive measures can be taken before

the same or a similar set of circumstances result in a serious

accident. The investigation of first aid cases must not be

overlooked, however slight the injury may be, and an effec-

tive system for the prompt reporting of first-aid cases to the

safety department must be instituted. The operations fore-

man shall be required to investigate, with the help of his

supervisor or a safety office representative if necessary, al!

accidents involving operations, equipment, or personnel

under his supervision, and his report shal) be forwarded for

appropriate action. The safety director shall be responsible

for the arrangements necessary to receive immediate notices

of all disabling injuries. When an accident occurs, immediate

action shall be taken by the safety director to

a. Interview the injured person before he

is sent home or to the hospital when

delay of treatment will not jeopardize

the injured,

b Visit the scene of the accident to observe

conditions as they were or might have

been at the time of the accident:

c Obtain details of the injury trom the

medical department.

S2A

AMCR 385-100

1-22d

d. Prepare or obtain photographs, diagrams,

sketches, and maps as warranted by the

circumstances;

e. Confer with foremen, supervisors and

witnesses for information as to cause;

h. Complete the necessary accident reports;

i. Establish a follow-up on the application

of recommended corrective measures,

j. Follow through for exact information

pertaining to the return of the injured

to work.

1-23. ACCIDENT CAUSE ANALYSIS

Accident reports shall be used to compile accident data,

preferably on a monthly basis, for dissemination to operating

segments. The record shall show the accident factors (agen-

cies, unsafe conditions, types of accidents and unsafe acts)

subdivided into appropriate group classifications. Further

S3A

AMCR 385-100

1-23

analysis should be made of each factor to determine exactly

what has happened. Analyses should be used in developing:

a. The education program,

b. Employee moitivation,

c. Contests and “no accident” campaigns,

d. Safety meeting topics,

e. Process changes, and

f. Facilities and equipment modification.

1-24. OFF-THE-JOB SAFETY

Avoiding off-the-job accidents is fully as important to the

as pedestrian safety, Se ae Se

in driving—teaching employees to avoid accidents that may

to the unsafe driving of others. Local conditions

determine the roles of the installations in community safety.

S4A

AMCR 385-100

7-1

CHAPTER 7

STATIC ELECTRICITY

7-1. GENERAL

a. The generation of static electricity is not of itself

a hazard. The hazard arises when static is allowed to accumu-

late, for subsequently it may discharge as a spark across an

air gap in the presence of highly flammable material, and thus

provide a source of ignition.

b. Detailed discussions of the hazard of static and ways

of reducing it are contained in the following publications:

(1) “Static Electricity,” published by the National Fire

Protection Association as NFPA Standard No. 77M.

(2) “Static Electricity,” Bulletin No. C438, United States

Department of Commerce.

(3) “Static Electricity in Nature and Industry,” Bulletin

No. 368, United States Department of Commerce.

(4) “Standards for Grounding and Bonding Equipment,”

published by Underwniters’ Laboratories, Incorporated.

SSA

AMCR 385-100

7-2

7-2. GROUNDING OF EQUIPMENT

The general method employed for eliminating or reducing

for in order to be completely effective, grounding must

include the contents, which is not always practicable; e.g.,

ungraphited solid propellants in metal containers. Partial

grounding or using conductors of insufficient strength or

too high resistance may increase the static hazard by pro-

viding other opportunities for discharge through an uncon-

trolled path to ground. Electrical continuity may be broken

oil on bearings, paint or rust at any contact point. In

to obtain a continuous circuit, bonding straps should

to bridge such locations. Permanent equipment in

se © aga ip: attr tyson

fe

pags

Hifi:

HEE

ite

ga5E2=

peuiht

driven ground rods, which may or may

be the lightning protection system or to down

conductors of lightning protection systems. Wires used as

static ground conductors should be at least size No. 8 or No.

10 AWG as specified by NFPA Standard No 77M.

‘

2

5

2

AMCR 385-100

7-3

7-3. BELTS

Conductive belting shall be used in locations where static

is a hazard. Such belting shall have a resistance to ground

not exceeding 600,0000hms. Static combs must not be used

to drain off static generated from belting or pulleys used in

locations where hazardous concentrations of explosives dust

or flammable vapors are present.

74. TESTING EQUIPMENT GROUNDS

Grounding systems shall be tested for electrical resistance

and continuity when completed and in the case of active

equipment, prior to operation and at specified intervals, to

be determined locally, thereafter. All exposed explosive or

hazardous matenals shall be removed prior to making tests.

Complete record of all tests shall be kept. In testing for

resistance to ground, equipment should be considered as a

unit except in the case of a belt-driven machine. In measuring

the total resistance to ground for belt<iriven machinery to

assure compliance with paragraph a below, resistance of the

belting is to be excluded. The maximum resistance to ground

permitted for different types of equipment is as follows:

a. Hazardous locations (operations where a static

spark discharge may be dangerous) All conductive parts

of equipment shall be grounded so that resistance does not

exceed 25 ohms, unless 10 ohms is required for lightning

protection as specified in Chapter 8. For existing equipment,

the rate of static generation should be considered before

changes in grounding systems are made. The resistance of

conductive rubber hose should not exceed 250,000 ohms.

STA

AMCR 385-100

7-4b

b. Nonhazardous locations. Nonelectrical equipment in

nonhazardous locations need not be grounded unless ground-

ed for static dissipation, but should be grounded as a part

of the lightning protection system when such system is

installed. For interconnection of metallic masses, the stan-

dards set forth in “Lightning Protection Codes,” NFPA

Standard No. 78 apply.

7-§. CONDUCTIVE FLOORS

a. Conductive floors and conductive shoes shall be

used for grounding personnel at operations where explosives

such as primer, initiator, detonator, igniter, tracer and

incendiary mixtures are exposed. Some materials sensitive

to static sparks (easily ignited or detonated) are lead styph-

nate, lead azide, mercury fulminate, tetrazene, diazodinitro-

phenol, potassium chloratedead styphnate mixtures, igniter

composition, grade B magnesium powder, and black powder

dust when exposed in layers. Dust of solid propellants

can also be ignited from the spark energy that can be

accumulated on a person and conductive floors and shoes

must be employed when the dust is present. In addition,

dust-air mixturés of ammonium picrate, tetryl, tetrytol,

and dust of solid propellants are sensitive to static electricity

discharge. Many flammable liquids and air mixtures tested

(ethyl ether, ethyl alcohol, ethyl! acetate, acetone, and

gasoline) can be ignited by static discharge from a person.

When personnel come into the proximity of (possible contact

with) explosives or mixtures enumerated above, conductive

floors shall be installed except where the hazards of dust-air

or flammable vapor-air mixtures are eliminated by adequate

housekeeping, dust collection, ventilation, or solvent re-

covery methods.

S8A

AMCR 385-100

7-Sb

b. Conductive floors also are required where operations

are performed involving:

(1) Loose unpacked ammunition with electric primers.

(2) Exposed electro-explosive devices; e.g., squibs, deton-

ators, etc.

(3) Electrically initiated items with exposed electric

circuity ; e.g., rockets.

(4) Hazardous materials that could be ignited by a static

discharge from the human body.

¢. Conductive floors and footwear are not required

throughout an entire building or room if the hazard remains

localized. In such cases, conductive mats or runners may be

used where required.

d. Personel, except electricians, in locations where

conductive floors are required and installed shall wear con-

ductive foot-wear (see paragraphs 10-11 and 16-18g). Electri-

cians are not to work in a building or room containing

exposed explosives. They must wear nonconductive shoes

for electrical work. In addition, when observing explosives

operations to check on performance of equipment, they shall

— with conductive booties or other grounding

evice

—~

5S9A

AMCR 385-100

76

74. CONDUCTIVE FLOOR SPECIFICATIONS

Conductive floors must be of nonsparking material such as

lead, conductive rubber or conductive flooring composition

and shall meet the following requirements in addition to

those goven in paragraph 5-3.

a. The flooring and its grounding system must provide

for electrical resistance measured between ground and a

S-pound electrode in direct contact with five square inches

of floor arez not to exceed 250,000 ohms.

b. The surface of the installed floor must be free from

cracks and reasonably smooth, and the material must not

slough off, wrinkle or buckle under operating conditions.

c. Where conductive floors and shoes are required, the

resistance between the ground and the wearer shall not

exceed 1,000,000 ohms; i.e., total resistance of conductive

shoes on a person, plus the resistance of floor to ground.

Where conductive floors and shoes are required, table tops

upon which exposed explosives or dusts are encountered

should be covered with a properly grounded conductive

material meeting the same requirements as those for flooring.

See Figures 7-1 and 7-2.

61A

60A

185-

AMCR 385-100

2%

-S3OMS S.

1MO1IM OF adv —

706A TEST INSTRUMENT

TEST VOLTAGE—90 VOLTS

MAXIMUM CURRENT—2 MILLIAMPERES

_

Si - S$. 3OMS SH

yo evous Seyreeg 7° k = FarFia

“CL-O1 GdesBe sed a5

SLIOA OOF Ol 06-FOVLIOA 1531

INIWNSISN! 153i

2 PE OR Eee Oe OS AD BO yt oe mm

SHOES IN PARALLEL

250,000 Onms

Note: See paragraph 10-1).

Figure

Testing Shoes on Wearer.

Tel.

_

62A

AMCR 385-100

7-7

7-7. CONDUCTIVE FLOOR TESTS

a. Initial tests shall be made of ali conductive floors

and subsequent tests shall be made at least semiannually.

The test results shall be permanently recorded with a copy

filed in the Safety Office. Instruments used in making tests

shall be used only when the room is free from exposed

explosives. The instrument used should be portable, self-

powered, enclosed unit and should consist of two dry elec-

trodes. One electrode shall consist of a special metal block

(five pounds in weight) which makes contact with five

square inches of floor area. The block should be equipped

with a nonmetallic strap to enable pulling it along the surface

of the floor under test. If the flooring is uneven, making it

difficult to obtain five squre inches of contact, a thin coating

of “electrode jelly” (brushless shaving soaps) may be applied

to the underside of the block. The other electrode should

consist of a suitable spring test clip for attachment to a

permanent ground. The electrodes shall be insulated from

each other and should be connected with instruments by

test leads of such length that all parts of the floor can be

reached, and connected in such a manner that the resistance

between electrodes may be measured as shown in Figure

7-3. The operation and maintenance of test instruments

shall be entrusted to competent personnel.

b. The voltage applied to the instrument should be

between 90 and 500 volts. Low voltage instruments may be

used, but if the floor shows more than the maximum permit-

ted resistance with instruments of jess than 500 volts, a test

with a 500-volt instrument should be made before any action

is taken to gain greater conductance. If the resistance is then

greater than 250,000 ohms, and the floor and electrodes

63A

AMCR 385-100

7-7

are free from insulating materials, the effectiveness of the

floor grounds shall be tested.

7-8. HUMIDIFICATION

Humidification for preventing static electricity accumula-

tions and subsequent discharges is usually effective if the

relative humity is above 60 per cent. However, certain

materials such as metallic powders and some of the pyro-

technic mixtures cannot be exposed to air with 60 per cent

relative humidy because of the possibility of spontaneous

ignition.

79. lONIZATION®

lonization is electrical neutralization “and serves as an

effective method of removing static charges from certain

processes and/or operations. Methods of application can be

found in NFPA Standard 77M, “Static Electricity.” loniza-

tion methods of removing static charges must not be used

in hazardous locations as defined in the National Electrical

Code and Chapter 6 of this regulation.

64A

M4 4AAAAAAAAAA SA

AAs

-

PPP APA PAPA AAA AALS AAAA,

Testing Crounded Conductive Floors.

Figure 7-3.

-8

6S5A

AMCR 385-100

12-3le¢

c. Valves controlling active sprinkler systems and

under-ground sections shall be sealed in the open position.

Post indicator stems shall be drilled for insertion of sealing

wire so that valves can be spring tested without breaking

the seal.

12-32 CLEARANCE UNDER SPRINKLERS

A minimum clearance of 18 inches will be maintained

between sprinkler deflectors and stored nonhazardous

15 feet high or less, and a minimum

be maintained between sprinkler

deflectors and stored nonhazardous materials that are piled

feet. Regardless of the height of storage, a

um clearance of 36 inches will be maintained between

sprinklers and storage in extra hazard occupancies and

between sprinklers and baled storage.

12-33 DELUGE SYSTEMS

a. In addition to sprinklers, deluge systems should be

provided for the protection of operating personnel in high

hazard occupancies. Powder cutters, cotton pickers, melt

units, mix-melt kettles, equipment containing reservoirs

molten explosive and other locations where a process

hazard exists shall be protected by properly designed

deluge systems. Rate-of-rise, light-acuating or other quick-

action for automatic control of deluge systems are

recommended. Such automatic controls should be backed

up by quick-ac manual controls.

AMCR 385-100

12-33b

b. The distributing outlets (nozzles, sprays, heads, etc.)

should be located as close to the exposed surface of the

explosive as possible, consistent with the outlet discharge

pattern, to insure immediate drenching of all parts of the

machine under extreme conditions. When explosives are

located inside of machines, under tight hoods or covers,

distributing outlets should be located inside the enclosed

space. For example, on the volumetric loading machine:

(1) Outlets should be placed inside of the enclosed

reservoir over TNT.

(2) Outlets should be placed inside of the machine

over the measuring cups.

(3) Consideration should be given to providing outlets

located so that the top of the heating unit and the tops of

shell in the skid under the machine will be drenched in case

of fire.

c. Where explosive vapors, gases or dusts may enter

outlets and interfere with their operation, nonmetallic

internally spring-held caps should be placed on the outlets.

The design must provide immediate release of the cap upon

exertion of pressure within the outlet. Caps should be at-

tached to outlets with small nonferrous chains to prevent

their loss in equipment upon actuation of the deluge system.

d. Required water flow and pressure should be deter-

mined for the hazard. Where possible, and where no applica-

ble data exists, experimental fire extinguishment should

be made in a safe outdoor location.

67A

AMCR 385-100

12-33¢

e. Deluge systems should be flow tested periodically to

insure that they are in proper operating condition. Records

of tests should be kept on file at the fire department.

f. The deluge valve shali be arranged for automatic

and/or manual actuation.

g. Certain hazardous operations such as nitrocellulose

dehydration should be protected with a deluge capable of

supplying water on the hazard within 50 milliseconds after

ignation. Pipe lengths between deluge valves and outlets,

and distance between outlets and the protected areas should

“Be kept short to speed application of water.

h. NFPA Standards No. 13 and No. 15 contain basic

12-34. FIRE EXIT DRILLS

a. Fire exit drills should be held not less than semi-

annually with due consideration given the size of building

and number of occupants. If emergency exits other than

the usual doors or stairways are provided, it is important for

employees to be drilled in their use so that they will go to

them automatically in case of fire or Other emergency.

Organization among the employees for fire drills is essential.

The Building Exits Code, NFPA Standard No. 101, should be

used as a guide.

b. To facilitate the prompt evacuation of all personnel

from buildings, an alarm system which is audible or visible,

or a combination of both, should be installed in each explo-

sives operating building. The alarm system for operating

buildings containing * * *

AMCR 385-100

20-1

CHAPTER 20

PREPARING EXPLOSIVES AND AMMUNITION FOR

SHIPMENT

20-1. GENERAL REGULATIONS, COMPLIANCE WITH

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION REGU-

LATIONS

a. The general regulations governing the marking,

packing and shipping of military supplies are set forth in

applicable current Army regulation. These operations also

will comply with Department of Transportation regulations.

This Section, Section 21 and Chapter 22, contain additional

regulations applying to the marking, packing and shipping

of explosives and ammunition. No live ammunition or

ammunition component that has been subjected to undue

be self-contained if they function.

(2) Ammunition containing high explosives filler but

without fuzes or initiating devices.

(3) Explosives items which both the testing agency and

the project manager or appropriate commodity command

agree can be safely transported. If the normal sensitivity

or the item Sail te Oe Gree ee

69A

AMCR 385-100

20-1b

b. When items covered by paragraphs 20-la(1) and (2)

above are shipped by commercial carrier, the vehicle involved

will be used exclusively for this purpose and will be routed

directly to the consignee.

20-1. MARKING

a. Whenever explosives or ammunition containers or

ammunition and ammunition components are repainted, the

new painting or marking shall correctly identify contents of

items. The marking of empty or inert loaded ammunition

items for display purposes is governed by the provisions of

AR 385-465.

b. Explosives, ammunition, and loaded ammunition

components obtained from salvage operations, and material

which has lost its identification markings shall be clearly

marked to show the explosive nature of the material. Ex-

plosive material or items which cannot be definitely identi-

fied as to their explosive nature should be disposed of by

technically trained personnel in accordance with paragraph

278a.

20-3. TEMPORARY STORAGE IN SHIPPING AND

RECEIVING BUILDINGS

a. LCL Buildings

(1) In buildings specifically designated and used as

packing and shipping buildings, ammunition and explosives

may, subject to the following limitations, be stored in accord-

ance with the Loading and Storage Chart of Explosives and

Other Dangerous Articles as contained in the Department of

70A

AMCR 385-100

20-3a

Transportation regulations. Incoming shipments should

not be allowed to accumulate and-should be distributed as

soon as practicable after receipt. Items for outgoing ship-

ments should not be accumulated prior to receipt of orders

covering each specific shipment.

(2) Separate rooms shall be provided for the temporary

storage of ammunition and explosives awaiting shipment,

and for their preparation for shipment before assembling,

crating, marking, etc. The rooms shall be separated from

each other by substantial dividing walls and shall be separated

from offices or rooms in which inert operations such as the

preparation of stencils, packing and crating are performed.

The substantial dividing walls will be constructed to comply

with the requirements for fire walls also.

b. At shipping and receiving buildings. Where material

is stored in accordance with the DOT requirements, not

more than three cars of ammunition or explosives shall be

permitted at such a building. When materials in the cars,

buildings or on platforms are stored in accordance with the

Storage Compatibility Groups of this regulation (Chapter

19), a larger number of cars may be located at such places.

The combined total amount of explosives in the cars, build-

ings and platforms must be used as the contrulling quantity

for determining distance requirements to other targets

(see paragraph 17-8). If there is an adequate barricade be-

tween the cars and the adjoining building or platform, the

quantity on each side of the barricade may be considered

individually to determine quantity-distance requirements.

TIA

AMCR 385-100

20-4

204. CONTAINERS

Hazardous materials in bulk or liquid form must be trans-

ported in containers which will prevent leakage. Containers

used in intraplant transportation and service storage of

explosives and explosive mixtures such as initiating explo-

sives, pyrotechnic compositions and tracer materials should

be made of material in the following preference order:

Conductive rubber

Nonferrous metal-lined boxes without seams or rivet

heads under which explosive dust can accumulate

Plastics (conductive-type only)

Papersined wood boxes

Fiber containers.

Fiber containers should not be used when they show signs of

damage or wear. Glass containers should not be used because

of their fragility and severe missile hazard.

20-5. BLACK POWDER CONTAINERS

a. Standard containers for black powder are built in

accordance with drawings that meet DOT specifications.

b. Whe black powder is shipped or received, each

container shall be inspected for holes and weak spots, par-

ticularly holes made by small nails and which are visible

only upon close examination. Damaged containers must not

be repaired; the contents shall be transferred to new or

serviceable containers.

72A

AMCR 385-100

20-Sce

c. Empty black powder containers may be reused, and

may be transported empty provided each container is clean.

Empty metal containers which are not to be reused and will

be salvaged shall be thoroughly washed inside with water.

d. Black powder containers must be caiefully opened.

When it is necessary to open containers by puncturing,

the operation will be conducted by remote control.

204. CONTAINERS FOR SOLID PROPELLANTS

a. Solid propellants shall be packed in accordance with

approved AMC drawings that comply with DOT regulations.

.

b. Double base solid propellants, single perforated solid

propellants and all solid propellants with web thickness not

greater than 0.019 inch should not be packed in all-<teel

boxes. Metal lined wooden boxes should be used.

c. Salvaged or deteriorated solid propellants should

be shipped water wet.

20-7. CONTAINERS FOR AMMUNITION AND BULK

HIGH EXPLOSIVES

a. Ammunition and bulk high explosives shall be packed

in accordance with approved AMC drawings that comply

with DOT regulations.

b. Containers used for packing bulk high explosives

should be lined with strong cloth or paper bags, or liners

with cemented seams to prevent sifting.

73A

AMCR 385-100

20-8

20-8. HANDLING

a. Explosives or ammunition. Packaged ammunition

or bulk explosives shall not be handled roughly, thrown

about, tumbied, dropped or walked over other explosives

or ammunition.

b. Propelling charges. Rough handling may open seams

in the containers or loosen the covers. The contents of

damaged containers shall be examined carefully by qualified

personnel for moisture, signs of deterioration or foreign

material before repacking. Propelling charges must not be

exposed to the direct rays of the sun. If igniter pads on

propelling charges are broken, the charges should be handled

using the safety precautions prescribed for black powder.

c. Fuzes, primers, boosters and detonators. All loaded

components must be handled with special care, as these

are extremely sensitive to shock and friction.

d. Other loaded items. Suitable plugs or closures shall

be used to protect exposed explosives in items during transfer

within the installaton, such as transfer of projectile from

defuzing or deboostering building to the explosives washout

building or to the burning or demolition ground.

e. Use of conveyors, chutes and fork lift trucks (see

Chapter 24). When the precautions noted in subparagraph

a above are observed, and the provisions of paragraphs

24-3 and 244 are satisfied, explosives, ammunition and

bombs packaged in accordance with AMC approved drawings

may be handled on power and roller conveyors, chutes or

fork lift trucks. Loaded ammunition items should not be

74A

AMCR 385-100

20-8e

left on conveyors during non-operating periods. Hard-toe

sparkproof safety shoes are recommended in areas where

projectiles or bombs are handled manually.

f. Spotting charges. Spotting charges for practice bombs

filled with black powder shall be stored, handled and shipped

under the regulations for black powder.

g. Tampering with ammunition by unauthorized per-

sonnel is prohibited.

OPPOSITION

BRIEF

No. 87-1929

Supreme Court, U.S.

EILED

(9) juL 25 1988

2 IR.

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

MARK LYNN FORTNEY, ET AL., PETITIONERS

v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

MEMORANDUM FOR THE UNITED STATES

— IN OPPOSITION

CHARLES FRIED

Solicitor General

Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20530

(202) 633-2217

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases:

Berkovitz v. United States, No. 87-498 (June 13, 1988) 4

Graver Mfg. v. Linde Co,, 336 U.S. 271 (1949) ..... 6

United States v. S.A. Empresa de Viacao Aerea Rio

Grandense (Varig Airlines), 467 U.S. 797 (1984) .. 2, 4, 5

Statute:

Federal Torts Claims Act, 28 U.S.C. 2680(a) . .. ae

Miscellaneous:

U.S. Army Safety Manual .......... 2, 3, 6

(1)

oe"

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

No. 87-1929

MARK LYNN FORTNEY, ET AL., PETITIONERS

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

MEMORANDUM FOR THE UNITED STATES

IN OPPOSITION

Petitioners contend that the courts below erred in

dismissing their complaint as barred by the discretionary

function exception to the Federal Torts Claims Act

(FTCA), 28 U.S.C. 2680(a).

1. Petitioners are former employees of Hercules, Inc.,

who were severely burned in an explosion at the Radford

Army Ammunition Plant (RAAP). RAAP is an Army-

owned facility in Radford, Virigina, which is operated by

Hercules under a government contract (Pet. App. 3A).

While the Army has the right to inspect the premises, Her-

cules is primarily responsible for safety at the plant, in-

cluding the safety of Hercules personnel (id. at 3A, 8A).

Hercules manufactures explosives at RAAP that con-

tain dehydrated nitrocellulose. In December, 1980,

Hercules began experimenting with a new, automated

system for dehydrating nitrocellulose. On May 6, 1981,

(1)

2

this experimental system exploded, causing the injuries

that are the basis for this lawsuit. Pet. App. 8A.

Petitioners each brought suit against the United States

under the FTCA, claiming that the government “had

failed to use reasonable procedures to assure that Hercules

utilized necessary safety precautions in its performance of

hazardous work” (Pet. App. 8A). More specifically, peti-

tioners alleged (see Pet. 8) that the explosion was caused

by the use of a nitrocellulose container made out of non-

conductive rubber. Petitioners claimed that Section 20.4

of a U.S. Army Safety Manual, AMCR 385-100 (reprinted

at Pet. App. 30A, 71A) forbade the use of nonconductive

containers for hazardous materials. Petitioners also con-

tended (see Pet. 9) that Hercules’ sprinkler system was in-

adequate and in violation of Section 12.33(g) of that same

Manual (Pet. App. 67A).

2. Following a bench trial, the district court (Pet.

App. 8A-13A) dismissed the consolidated cases, con-

cluding that they were barred by the discretionary function

exception to the FTCA, 28 U.S.C. 2680(a). The court

noted (Pet. App. 12A) that the contracts between the

government and Hercules “delegate primary responsibility

for safety to the independent contractor with the govern-

ment’s retaining the right to review safety procedures.”

The court further noted (id. at 10A (quoting United States

v. §.A. Empresa de Viacao Aerea Rio Grandense (Varig

Airlines), 467 U.S. 797, 819-820 (1984)), that “ ‘[w]hen an

agency determines the extent to which it will supervise the

safety procedures of private individuals, it is exercising

discretionary regulatory authority of the most basic

kind.’ ” The court accordingly concluded (Pet. App. 12A)

that the government’s “delegation of safety responsibility”

to Hercules was “the type of policy-making for which the

[discretionary function exception] was designed.”

3

Petitioners moved for reconsideration in the trial court,

arguing, inter alia, that Section 20.4 of the Army Safety

Manual was a “mandatory” regulation and that the

government had no discretion to permit Hercules to

violate that regulation by using nonconductive tubs in the

dehydration process. The district court denied the motion

on two grounds. First, the court noted (Pet. App. 19A)

that the regulation in question did not mandate the use of

conductive tubs but instead “clearly * * * contemplated

situations in which nonconductive tubs would be used.”

Second, the court noted (id. at 19A-20A) that “the govern-

ment’s failure to object to nonconductive tubs * * *

reflected many factors and typifies a decision that the

[discretionary function exception] was designed to

protect.”

The court of appeals affirmed in a brief per curiam

opinion, holding (Pet. App. 4A) that “on the record in the

case at bar, the delegation of safety responsibility to Her-

cules left the Army with solely discretionary safety func-

tions to perform at the Radford plant.” The court rejected

(id. at 4A n.1) petitioners’ contention “that the govern-

ment was not entitled to discretionary function immunity

in this case because the explosion was traceable in part to a

violation of a mandatory safety regulation governing per-

missible containers for hazardous materials.” The court

agreed with the district court that the regulation in ques-

tion in fact “embraced the type of container used at the

Radford plant, even though the containers used were not

specified in the regulation” (ibid.). The court stated, in

addition, that “violation of a mandatory regulation does

not abrogate the government’s tort immunity independent-

ly of the FTCA, and that the discretionary function excep-

tion to the FTCA protects the government from liability

‘whether or not the discretion involved be abused.” ” /bid.

(quoting 28 U.S.C. 2680(a)).

4

3. a. As both the district court (Pet. App. 8A) and the

court of appeals (id. at 3A) noted, the government’s con-

tracts with Hercules expressly delegated to the contractor

the obligation to provide for the safety of its employees

and to follow any relevant safety regulations. See C.A.

App. 1072. The government retained only a right, not an

obligation, to inspect the premises for quality control,

security, and safety (Pet. App. 3A, 8A).' This case is

therefore controlled by Varig Airlines, in which the Court

held that the government’s decision to place primary

responsibility for safety on manufacturers, while retaining

the right merely to spot-check compliance, was a discre-

tionary decision protected by the discretionary function

exception. “When an agency determines the extent to

which it will supervise the safety procedures of private in-

dividuals, it is exercising discretionary regulatory authori-

ty of the most basic kind” (467 U.S. at 819-820).

Petitioners attempt to avoid the binding effect of Varig

Airlines by arguing that this case is instead controlled by

the Court’s recent decision in Berkovitz v. United States,

No. 87-498 (June 13, 1988).? In Berkovitz, the Court in-

' The portion of the contract that reserves a right to inspect the

premises for safety specifically states that “[nJeither the requirements

of this clause nor any act or failure to act by the Government in

surveillance or enforcement thereof shall affect or relieve the Contrac-

tor of responsibility for the safety of his personnel and his property

and for the safety of the general public in connection with the per-

formance of this contract, or impose or add to any liability of the

Government for such safety.” C.A. App. 1072.

2 In Berkovitz, a vaccine recipient contracted polio from an oral

poliovirus vaccine. He and his parents sued the government claiming

that the FDA licensed the vaccine and approved release of the specific

lot of vaccine from which the boy received his dose in violation of

federal regulations. This Court rejected the government's contention

that the discretionary function exception precluded the suit, holding

dicated (slip op. 15) that if the government exercises its op-

tion to inspect private compliance with government safety

regulations, government ifispectors have no discretion to

“knowingly approve[]” violations of those regulations.

More generally, the Court stated (/bid.) that the discre-

tionary function exception “does not apply if the acts com-

plained of do not involve the permissible exercise of

discretion.” In this case, however, while two Army

employees, along with a number of employees of Her-

cules, did participate in a “pre-operational survey” of the

automated dehydration system (see C.A. App. 778-781),?

there is no indication in the record that they specifically

examined or approved the tubs or the sprinkler system

used by Hercules in its experimental dehydration process.

Neither the tubs nor the sprinkler sysiem are discussed in

the report of that survey (ibid.), nor do any regulations

specifically require that they be examined or approved by

the Army. Thus, the government cannot be faulted for any

violation of its own regulations, but at most for failure to

uncover certain alleged violations of government regula-

tions during its optional inspection. As Varig Airlines

makes clear (467 U.S. at 820), however, “the [Army’s]

(slip op. 4) that “the discretionary function exception will not apply

when a federal statute, regulation, or policy specifically prescribes a

course of action for an employee to follow.”

’ Army Regulations specifically require a pre-operational survey,

“consist[ing] of two consecutive stages: a dry run with inert material, a

live run with hazardous material.” ARRCOM Supplement | to AR

385-10 (C.A. App. 1077). The regulations state that ‘[a}ll or a portion

of the pre-operational survey may be delegated to the installation

staff” (ibid.). In the instant case, however, two Army safety inspectors

were present during the pre-operational survey (id. at 612-613). Prior

to the pre-operational survey, Hercules also prepared and submitted

to the Army a lengthy “hazard analysis” of the proposed system. See

id. at 970-1053. The modifications called for in that report were made

by Hercules prior to the pre-operational survey (id. at 777).

6

alleged negligence in failing to check certain specific items

in the course of its [compliance review] falls squarely

within the discretionary function exception of § 2680(a).”

b. Even if the government could be held responsible

for compliance with the regulations in question here, the

district court specifically found (Pet. App. 19a), after a

trial on the merits, that the use of nonconductive tubs was

permitted by Section 20.4 of the Army Safety Manual.*

The court of appeals agreed (Pet. App. 4A n.1).° Peti-

tioners claim (Pet. 23) that that decision was a “manifest

error of fact” but this Court does not sit to review the fac-

tual findings of two lower courts. Graver Mfg. v. Linde

Co., 336 U.S. 271, 275 (1949). Furthermore, expert

testimony by three separate witnesses supports the conclu-

* The district court, in its supplemental opinion, did not discuss

Hercules’ sprinkler system, which petitioners also claimed violated the

Army Safety Manual. The main focus of petitioners’ argument,

however, was on the nonconductive tubs; in their Motion for Recon-

sideration, petitioners only mentioned the sprinkler system in a single

sentence of a footnote (see C.A. App. 339 n.1). The district court's

conclusion that this issue did not warrant independent discussion is

therefore understandable in light of its alternative holding that the

burden for compliance with the regulations rested on the contractor,

not the government. Furthermore, the testimony at trial indicated that

it was not possible at the time in question to buy a faster sprinkler

system (id. at 512-513, 698). In light of this impossibility, the Army in

1986 amended the regulation to raise the required response time (id. at

351-352).

* The court of appeals stated (Pet. App. 4A n.1), in addition, that

violation of a mandatory regulation would not abrogate the govern-

ment’s tort immunity provided that the government was still exercising

a discretionary function. That statement is no longer tenable in light

of this Court's decision in Berkovitz, but it was clearly not essential to

the court of appeals’ decision. The fact that the regulation was not

violated was an independent ground for affirming the district court.

sion that the tubs used by Hercules did comply with the

regulations. See C.A. App. 554, 658-659, 750.

It is therefore respectfully submitted that the petition

for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

CHARLES FRIED

Solicitor General

JULY 1988

US GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE 1988—202-037/60567

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

MARK LYNN FORTNEY:

ESLEY DOUGLAS TIPTON

AND MARY E. TIPTON:

DANIEL WEBSTER HARMON AND

MARY JANE HARMON

Petitioners,

J

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

REPLY BRIEF

IN SUPPORT OF PETITION

BRENT M. ROSENTHAL

= COUNSEL OF RECORD

CHARLES S. SIEGEL

BRIAN D. WEINSTEIN

BARON & BUDD

8333 Douglas Avenue

10th Floor

Dallas, Texas 75225

(214) 369-3605

——_

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Re ee ee i

nh eh ie eek a bie cceae een ii

I. THIS CASE IS NOT GOVERNED BY VARIG. ... 2

Il. SINCE POLICY JUDGMENT WAS NOT !M-

PLICATED THE RULING CANNOT STAND. ... 3

Jee ehek cae hh’ 665 eRe eee ae One's’ bes 6

Conclusion

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases:

Berkovitz v. United States, No. 87-498 (June 13,

| Ae 3, 4,6

McMichael v. United States, 751 F.2d 303 (8th Cir.

\. .) PP 2,6

T.E. Ritter Corp. v. Rose, 200 Va. 736, 107 S.E.2d

GBS CIDSPD ow ccc cdeccccccesecvces eee 2

United States v. S.A. Empresa de Viacao Aerea Rio

Grandense , 467 U.S. 797 (1984) ...........00058:- 1,2

Westfall v. Erwin, U.S , 98 L.Ed.2d

GID (IDGSD . ww cc ccccccevcsecsdeeeeseee 5

Regulations:

U.S. Army Safety Manual - AMCR 385-100 ...... 3,4,6

IN THE

SUPREME COURT

OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

No. 87-1929

MARK LYNN FORTNEY, et al.,

V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

REPLY BRIEF

IN SUPPORT OF PETITION

The United States makes two arguments in its Memoran-

dum in opposition to the petition. First, it contends that this

case is controlled by United States v. S.A. Empresa de

Viacao Aerea Rio Grandense, 467 U.S. 797 (1984) (“Varig’’),

because safety at the Radford plant was primarily the con-

tractor’s responsibility. Second, while acknowledging that

violation of mandatory regulations remove a case from the

discretionary function exception, the Government asserts

that the regulations in question were not violated.

2

I. THIS CASE IS NOT GOVERNED BY VARIG.

Varig does not control this case, for here the Government

acted in a different capacity: as a proprietary owner of land,

rather than as a regulator of private conduct. In Varig, the

Federal Aviation Administration regulated and tested the

conduct of private manufacturers. Here, contrast, the

Government owns the Radford Army Ammunition Plant;

as the owner it retains duties to act, imposed by Virginia

tort law. T.E. Ritter Corp. v. Rose, 206 Va. 736, 107 S.E.2d

483 (1959). These are proprietary duties rather than regula-

tory rights.

This crucial distinction was recognized by the Eighth

Circuit, after Varig, in McMichael v. United States, 751

F.2d 303 (8th Cir. 1985), a case which involved identical

circumstances: the Government, as the-owner of land and

plant, contracting with a manufacturer for the production

of military equipment, and retaining a duty under local

law to effectuate safety measures. Id. at 306. Noting this

“important difference,” the court concluded that Varig’s

admonition against judicial scrutiny of regulatory decisions

was of less force in the Government-as-proprietary owner

situation.

Acknowledging that the pr sent case involves the Govern-

ment’s “failure to uncover” violations of its own regulations,

the United States nonetheless urges that negligence in “‘com-

pliance review” is shielded by Varig. This is precisely the

position squarely rejected in McMichael, the Fourth Circuit's

holding and McMichael stand in direct conflict. McMichael is

not discussed or cited by the Government, though the

conflict was raised in the Petition. -

Both cases involve Government safety inspectors at Gov-

ernment safety regulations. The conduct cannot be discre-

3

tionary at military plants in the Fourth Circuit but nondiscre-

tionary at plants in the Eighth Circuit. This Court must

resolve the confiict.

Il. SINCE POLICY JUDGMENT WAS NOT IMPLICATED

THE RULING CANNOT STAND.

The Government concedes that after Berkovitz v. United

States, No. 87498 (June 13, 1988), violations of safety

regulations take a case out of the discretionary function

exception because a Government actor could not make

policy judgment in the face of such regulations. The Govern-

ment contends, however, that the Army safety regulations

in question, AMCR 385-100 §20.4 and §12.33(g), were

not violated.

First, it plain and undisputed that §12.33(g) was indeed

violated. The regulation (reproduced at p. 5 of the Petition)!

explicitly requires for nitrocellulose dehydration operations

a fire protection system capable of delivering water in 50

milliseconds, yet it was agreed at trial that the system in use

took three times as long to flow.

Second, the finding below that §20.4, which prescribes

the type of container to be used, was not violated is patently

wrong. That the lower courts inexplicably found nonconduc-

tive tubs to be “embraced” by a regulation which does not

list nonconductive tubs as a permissible choice does not make

it so, any more that the nerovirulence criteria in the regula-

tion at issue in Berkovitz “embrace” test results different

from those explicitly required. This Court should find that

1. As with §20.4, the other regulation, the word “should” is manda-

tory by virtue of §1.3(b) (reproduced at p. 3-4 of the Petition), unless

a waiver is secured. No such waiver was ever sought or obtained, and

the Government does not dispute this fact.

4

black is black, even if the lower courts have held that black

is white.2

More fundamental, however, is the bedrock inquiry of

this case: was the decision between a nonconductive and a

conductive tub a policy choice? Were economic, social, or

political choices being made? Was this an electrical engineer-

ing decision that ought not be judicially second-guessed?

The Government argues in footnote 5 of its Memoran-

dum that if the finding of no violation is upheld, then the

exception applies. While Berkovitz holds that violations of

regulations vitiate the exception, no court, has ever held that

negligence is actionable only if a plaintiff can point to a

specific violation; the question is whether policy is being made.

The Government's suggested ground for affirmance—no

violation—conflicts directly with United States Fire Ins. Co.

vy. United States, 806 F.2d 1529 (11th Cir. 1986), which

involved Coast Guard negligence in maintaining wreck

markers. The relevant manual of procedures listed various

methods of performance. In holding that the choice of a

listed method did not shield the Government from liability

if that choice was negligent, the Eleventh Circuit recognized

that the mere listing of an alternative is unavailing if its

choice “is not required by a policy directive from above.”

Id. at 1537. Similarly, even if §20.4 somehow “embraces”

nonconductive tubs as a choice, their selection is actionable

because policymaking did not enter into the decision.

2. The Government cites portions of the trial transcript, not before

this Court, and argues that “expert testimony” showed that §20.4

was not violated. The Government does not reproduce the testimony,

and neglects to acknowledge that the Government's main expert at

trial conceded on cross-examination that the regualtion was violated.

C.A. App. at 564-65.

5

In the closely analogous field of individual immunity,

this Court recently rejected an identical argument by federal

officials. Westfall v. Erwin, US. , 98 L.Ed.2d

619 (1988) involved a suit by a civilian federal employee

against Army depot officials for negligence in causing him

to inhale soda ash. The officials contended that if “precise

conduct is not mandated by law, then the act is ‘discretion-

ary’ and the official is entitled to absolute immunity. .. .”

Id. at 627. This Court, however, rejected “such a wooden

interpretation of the discretionary function requirement.

Because virtually all official acts involve some modicum of

choice, petitioner’s reading of the requirement would render

it essentially meaningless.” Id.

This Court recognized that such an arbitrary focus would

ignore the real purpose of the immunity doctrine—whether

the prospect of tort liability will detrimentally inhibit federal

officials’ judgment. Similarly, focusing on whether the

conduct challenged in a Federal Tort Claims Act suit is

covered by a mandatory regulation ignores the real ijjue—

whether that conduct implicates policy concerns.

Berkovitz makes clear that if the challenged decision

involves the “application of objective scientific standards”

rather than “policy judgment,” slip op at 13, the exception

does not apply. Here only science was involved—not public

policy. There is no principled way to call neurovirulence

criteria review “discretionary,” and a decision that noncon-

ductive tubs are smarter than conductive tubs “‘discretion-

ary.” If a regulation was violated, policy could not have been

involved. The absence, however, of a regulation does not

make a garden-variety engineering choice a policy decision.

The Government has never pointed to, and the lower

courts did not identify, a single social, economic, or political

6

consideration in the facts of this case. Nowhere in the hun-

dreds of pages of testimony or in the Army or Hercules

post-explosion investigations is any policy factor mentioned.

The Government’s own safety director negated any such

possibility in testifying that AMCR 385-100 is “the Bible,”

that he has no discretion to change the regulations, that he

“can’t formulate [his] own policy,” and that the Govern-

ment safety staff at Radford surveys each operation in its

entirety and may “take as much time as necessary to do a

good job.” (C.A. App. 575, 577-78, 598).

CONCLUSION

No policy decision has ever been identified by the Govern-

ment’s decision to let Building 3507 proceed with noncon-

ductive rather than conductive tubs. Whether or not they are

specifically “embraced” by regulations, the choice of one

set of tubs over another is no different from the kind of

official judgment held fully actionable in Berkovitz. Conduct

identical to that herein has been held actionable by another

court of appeals. The ruling below cannot coexist with

Berkovitz and McMichael.

5

WHEREFORE, PREMISES CONSIDERED, Petitioners

pray that a writ of certiorari issue to review the decision-ef

the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

BARON BUDD

A Professional Corporation

8333 Douglas Avenue

10th Floor

Dallas, Texas 75225

(214) 369-3605

BY: Been AW MiatiLt ser

BRENT M. ROSENTHAL

-AND-

sv: Atehea i”

CHARLES S. SIEGEL

-AND-

BY: / &

RIAN D. WEINSTEIN

SUPPLEMENTAL

BRIEF

NO. 87-1929 W)

US

EILED

OCT S 1988

IN THE ly me

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

MARK LYNN FORTNEY;

ESLEY DOUGLAS TIPTON

AND MARY E. TIPTON;

DANIEL WEBSTER HARMON AND

MARY JANE HARMON

Petitioners,

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

SUPPLEMENTAL MEMORANDUM

IN SUPPORT OF PETITION

BRENT M. ROSENTHAL

COUNSEL OF RECORD

CHARLES S. SIEGEL

BRIAN D. WEINSTEIN

BARON & BUDD

8333 Douglas Avenue

10th Floor

Dallas, Texas 75225

(214) 369-3605

SUPPLEMENTAL MEMORANDUM

IN SUPPORT OF PETITION

The above case is before this Court on Petition for a writ

. of certiorari to the Fourth Circuit. The issue is the validity of

Sh ; a the court of appeals’ holding that Petitioners’ claims against

; re , the United States are barred by the discretionary function

- | PCS EL ae ae a . exception to the Federal Tort Claims Act, 26 U.S.C. §

7

-

Pa

‘ é

’ rf

*

“a

©

4 q

ra =d

-

A 4 ’

When's ;

# , .

hay > :

ey. ¥

Pp vig Soe a ; %

ite Side 2 '

‘Léa. Grok

re ’

“, a4 J ‘> < :

P eee a : ¥

ro ake ie ‘

. . ms a") ~ 4

OY Rie ee Pe ue

2 & y Snare % Y

FPG pe nS

4 asa a x

a “a Pie

So tis Pe '

?

. Pee € “ . +

i a et ee ee Ww ieee ST ? '

oe PSD ¢ ae 2S “erg? :

- SSE ae ee eS LS aoa

Pe ae

Yt eg eh °

nf aie eG. aS es

Ligh greta, ty

j a ee 4

See nek ae anes

f > ” B: - ‘ ' ”

a - \- f b -

| a The Eighth Circuit has now reevaluated the claims in

ME Rk E es LP yo % Sept an McMichael in light of Berkovitz, and again found them to be

ere B:

“ ¢ v.

aL l, 2 | | outside the discretionary function exception. McMichael v.

MANGE Es. ee p he ee . 4) is ay e . Ree. United States, ____ F.2d, No. 87-1634 (8th Cir., Aug. 25,

FETE oS Fes / . i 1988) (WESTLAW printout attached as Appendix). The

« : Ws ru | od y

Fe oe ee - . Vices een sete baa yee

by = “ tos - > 7

epee oe tat

‘a7 “fs , .

TEs ee rs

2

court again concluded that the broad initial decision to

delegate primary safety responsibility to the contractor was

insulated from liability. Failure to enforce compliance with

regulations embodying policies previously determined,

however, is actionable:

In the case before us, as in Berkovitz, the

initial discretion granted by the regulations to

the Defense Department was broad; the in-

spectors, however, violated the Department’s

own policy directives by failing to comply

with specific procedures mandated by the

Defense Department. The procedures directed

the inspectors to make sure that Celesco

complied with numerous safety requirements

at the plant... . Thus, although Celesco

had the authority to evacuate the plant, the

Department policy prescribed a course of

action for the inspector to follow in the event

of any electrical storm, and the inspector had

no choice but to adhere to that directive.

Hence, the discretionary function is not

applicable.

Id. at 6.

Military inspectors checking for safety compliance are not

formulating public policy. McMichael is indistinguishable

from the present case, and the Eighth Circuit has held that

claims concerning enforcement of safety regulations at

military production plants are not barred by the discretion-

ary function exception. The challenged conduct cannot be

discretionary at plants at the Fourth Circuit but nondiscre-

tionary at plants in the Eighth Circuit. This Court must

resolve the conflict.

3

WHEREFORE, PREMISES CONSIDERED, Petitioners

pray that a writ of certiorari issue to review the decision of

the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

BARON & BUDD, P.C.

8333 Douglas Avenue

10th Floor

Dallas, Texas 75225

(214) 369-3605

BrawT UM

BRENT M. ROSENTHAL

Counsel of Record

CHARLES S. SIEGEL ;

Bran 2 MyeceTin po ce

BRIAN D. WEINSTEIN

4

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the fore-

going was mailed this 4th day of October, 1988, to all

BrewD MU Kort Lbel yc

BRENT M. ROSENTHAL

APPENDIX

Citation Rank (R) Database Mode

---F.2d-. -- R 14 OF 24 ALLFEDS P

1988 WL 87872 (8th Cir. (Ark.))

Carl McMICHAEL,

Administrator of the Estate of Emma McMichael, Deceased,

Appellee,

v.

UNITED STATES of America,

Appellant

Insurance Company of North America,

° (Intervenor Below).

Mrs. Lamar BARTLETT;

Winfred Lowe, Administrator of the Estate of Thelma Lowe;

Mrs. Edna Rogers; Mrs. Flora Weaver; and Mrs. Georgia Ray,

Appellees.

Vv.

UNITED STATES of America,

Appellant,

Insurance Company of North America,

(Intervenor Below).

Leonard MADISON,

Administrator of the Estate of Lula Mae Madison, Deceased,

Appellee,

Wo -

UNITED STATES of America,

Appellant,

Insurance Company of North America,

(Intervenor Below).

al 2a

Gertie B. MITCHELL,

Administratrix In Succession of the Estate of Eliza Walker,

Deceased,

Appellee,

Ve

UNITED STATES of America,

Appellant,

Insurance Company of North America,

(Intervenor Below).

Billy Dwayne MOODY,

Administrator of the Estate of Geraldine Moody, Deceased,

Appellee,

v.

UNITED STATES of America,

Appellant,

Insurance Company of North America,

(Intervenor Below).

Willie D. KELLY,

Administrator of the Estate of Shirley J. Kelly, Deceased,

Appellee,

Ve

UNITED STATES of America,

Appellant,

Insurance Company of North America,

(Intervenor Below).

3a

Billy HARRISON,

Administrator of the Estate of Elsie Marie Harrison,

Deceased,

Appellee,

v.

UNITED STATES of America,

Appellant.

James STANCILE, Administrator of the Estate of

Lula Mae Madison, Deceased,

Appellant,

Gertie B. Mitchell,

Administratrix In Succession of the Estate of Eliza Walker,

Deceased,

Appellant,

. Willia H. Moody,

Admin «trator of the Estate of Geraldine Moody, Deceased,

Appellant,

Willie D. Keliy,

Administrator of the Estate of Shirley J. Kelly, Deceased,

Appellant,

v.

UNITED STATES of America,

Appellee,

Highland Resources, Inc.,

Appellee.

Nos. 87-1634 to 87-1640, 87-1707.

COPR. (C) WEST 1988 NO CLAIM TO ORIG.

U.S. GOVT. WORKS

4a

United States Court of Appeals,

Eighth Circuit.

Submitted Jan. 11, 1988.

Decided Aug. 25, 1988.

Before JOHN R. GIBSON, Circuit Judge, BRIGHT, Senior

Circuit Judge, and MAGILL, Circuit Judge.

JOHN R. GIBSON, Circuit Judge.

The United States Department of Defense contracted with

Celesco Industries, Inc., an independent contractor, to

produce explosive photo-flash cartridges. On March 8, 1976,

an explosion occurred at the Celesco plant in East Camden,

Arkansas, killing seven employees, seriously injuring five,

and causing minor injuries to numerous others. Consolidated

cases were filed against the United States under the Federal

Tort Claims Act (FTCA), 28 U.S.C.A. ss 1346, 2671-2680

(1982) and Highland Resources, Inc. under state law, the

owner and lessor of the building where the explosion occur-

red. The government appeals from the district court’s [FN1]

award of damages to the injured or killed employees, arguing

that the court erred in ruling that the claims were not barred

by the discretionary function exception to the FTCA and in

holding thai the government was negligent in failing to

enforce safety standards at the plant. The employees cross-

appeal, contending that the district court erred in ruling that

Highland Resources was not liable under Arkansas products

or strict liability statutes, or common law principles of

negligence. For the reasons set forth below, we affirm.

This case is before us for the third time. The factual

background is outlined in our first opinion, Madison v.

United States, 679 F.2d 736, 737-38 (8th Cir. 1982), and the

procedural and appellate history is set forth in our second

opinion, McMichael v. United States, 751 F.2d 303, 304-05

Sa

(8th Cir. 1985). [FN2} After a bench trial in January 1986

the district court made factual, findings, which we recite

below.

On June 20, 1975, the United States awarded Celesco a

contract to produce highly explosive photo-flash cartridges.

Before submitting the bid, the government required Celesco

to secure a manufacturing facility. Celesco leased a former

naval ammunition plant in East Camden, Arkansas from

Highland Resources, a commercial lessor. Celesco, an ex-

perienced munitions manufacturer, had leased other buildings

for similar purposes and had special knowledge of the con-

struction requirements for buildings to be used in the pro-

duction of munitions. Highland, on the other hand, did not

possess such special knowledge.

Before awarding the contract to Celesco, the Defense

Department required the Safety Manager of the Defense

Contract Administrative Services Region (DSCAR) to review

Celesco’s safety procedures, processes, facility and personnel

to determine whether Celesco could comply with the Depart-

ment of Defense safety requirements. The survey concluded

that Celesco and the facility complied with the department

guidelines. It developed at trial, however, that the Safety

Manager did not conduct an on-site evaluation of the plant

at the time of the survey.

The contract between Celesco and the government re-

quired Celesco to promulgate safety provisions and comply

with safety standards established by the Department of

Defense Contractor's Safety Manual for Ammunition, Explo-

sives and Related Dangerous Materials (DOD Manual) and

the provisions of the Armed Services Procurement Regula-

tions. See 32 C.F.R. s 7.104-79 (1984). These requirements

and standards were incorporated into the contract. The

contract delegated primary responsibility for safety to

6a

Celesco, and Celesco hired a full-time safety staff, headed by

a safety engineer. Pursuant to the contract terms, the govern-

ment provided Celesco with three on-site quality assurance

representatives, or iispectors. One inspector was placed in

Building M-35, the building where the explosion occurred,

on a full-time basis. Although the primary responsibility of

the inspector was to oversee Celesco’s compliance with the

quality requirements of the contract, safety review was also

an integral part of his assigned tasks. The inspectors’ regular

procedures included a fifty-one step procedures review

checklist for safety compliance. The Armed Services Procure-

ment Regulations and the Celesco contract gave the inspec-

tors the authority to require on-the-spot corrective action,

and the contracting officer was authorized to cease produc-

tion by withdrawing government inspectors until the safety

violations were corrected. [FN3]

The district court found a number of conditions at the

Celesco plant did not comply with the safety requirements of

the contract. For example, the lightning protection system

was inadequate and there was no humidity control in Bay 4

of Building M-35, where the explosion occurred. Water was

present in an area where detonation was likely to occur.

(Moisture, in the form of water or humidity, is an initiating

force for the photo-flash). Despite a sign directing that the

steel blast doors to Bay 4 remain shut at all times, the doors

were constantly left open. The open doors allowed the blast

to spread down a hallway, where all but one of the killed or

injured employees were at the time of the explosion. In

addition, although there was conflicting testimony concern-

ing the precise amount of the photo-flash in Bay 4, by any

account the amount exceeded the limit approved by the

government. [FN4] Shortly before the explosion, the Build-

ing M@S government inspector informed Celesco’s line

supervisor that Bay 4 was overloaded. There was also testi-

mony that defective loaded components, or “rejects,” were

7a

stored in Bay 4, contrary to the safety requirements of

the contract. Finally, the Department of Defense manual

required evacuation of personnel in the event of an electrical

storm, and the district court found that although on the

morning of March 8, 1976, there was rain, thunder and

lightning in the East Camden area, no evacuation of the plant

was ordered. An explosion occurred in Building M-35,

killing and injuring numerous employees.

The district court found that the government was negligent

in failing to enforce the safety stand

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.