Amicus Curiae Brief — Batson v. Kentucky

Supreme Court brief1986

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

OQvestion Presented

Whether 4 prosecutor's use of

peremptory challenges to exclude Blacks

from iury service because of their race

violates the Sixth and Fourteenth Amend-

ments to the Constitution of the United

States?

Page

Interest of the Amici

Summary of Argument

ARGUMENT

INTRODUCTION

I.

~

foal

47

Conclusion

» 44 «

Table of Authorities

Cases:

Akins v. Texas, 325 U.S. 398 (1945)

Alexander v. Louisiana, 405 U.S.

625 (1972) 3, 10, 35,

Apodaca v. Oregon, 406 U.S. 404

(1972)

Arlington Heights v. Metropolitan

Housing Corp., 429 U.S. 252

(1977) 30,

Ballard v. United Stated, 329 U.S.

187 (1946)

Ballew v. Georgia, 435 U.S. 223

(1978)

Bob Jones University v. United

States, U.S. _, 76 L.Ed.2d

157 (1983)

Broadway v. Culpepper, 439 F.2d 1253

(Sth Cir. 1971)

Brown v. Allen, 344 U.S. 443 (1953)

Carter v. Jury Commission, 396 U.S.

320 (1970) 3,

Cassell v. Texas, 339 U.S. 282 (1950)

- iii -

Page

15

44

42

35

38

44

Columbus Bd. of Ed. v. Penick, 443

U.S. 449 (1979)

Commonwealth v. Joyce, 18 Mass. App.

417, 467 N.E.2d 214 (Mass. App.

Ct. 1984), further a llate

review denied, 470 WE za

758 (T1984)

Commonwealth v. Kelley, 10 Mass. App.

847, 406 N.E.2d 1327 (Mass. App.

Ct. 1980)

Commonwealth v. Perry, 15 Mass. App.

932, 444 N.F.2d 1298 (Mass. App.

Ct. 1983), further a llate

review denied. 368 Mase 1104,

788 N.E.2d 766 (1983)

Commonwealth v. Reid, 384 Mass. 247,

424 N.E.2d 495 (Mass. 1981)

Commonwealth v. Soares, 377 Mass. 461,

387 N.E.2d 499, cert. denied, 444

U.S. 1 881 (1979) 13, 37, 53, 55,

Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U.S. 145

(1968)

Ex parte Virginia, 100 U.S. 339 (1880)

Pay v. New York, 332 U.S. 261 (1947)

- iv-

30

55

46

54

55

58

37

10

42

Hill v. Texas, 316 U.S. 400 (1942) 15

Hirabayashi v. United States, 320 U.S.

R1 (1943) 26

Hobby v. United States, U.S. ’

82 L.Ed.2d 260 (1984) 12

Korematsu v. United States, 323 U.S.

214 (1944) 26

Loving v. Virginia, 388 U.S. 1 (1967) 26

McCray v. Abrams, 750 F.2d 1113 (2nd

Cir. 1984), reh. en banc

denied , 756 F.2d 177 (1985) 37

McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green,

411 U.S. 792 (1973) 30, 32

Mitchell v. Johnson, 250 F. Supp. 117

(M.D. Ala. 1966) 3

Palmore v. Sidoti, U.S. __, 80

L.Ed.2a 421 (1984) 26

Patton v. Yount, U. 8S. — 81

L.Ed.2d 847 (1984) 49, 56

People v. Boone, 107 Misc. 2d 301,

433 N.Y.S.2d 955 (Sup. Ct. 1980) 13

People v. Cobb, 97 I11.2d 465, 455

N.E.2d 31 (1983) 58

People v. Hall, 672 P.2d 854,

859, 197 Cal. Rptr. 71 (1983) 54, 57

People v. Johnson, 22 Cal. 3rd 296,

583 P.2d 774, 148 Cal. Rptr.

914 (1978) 26

People v. Kagan, 420 N.Y.S.2d 987

(N.Y. Sup. Ct. App. Div. 1979) 13

People v. McCray, 57 N.Y¥.2d 542,

457 N.Y.S.2d 441, 443 N.E.2d

915 (1982) 13

People v. Payne, 106 Ill. App.

34 1034, 62 Ill. Dec. 744,

436 N.E.2d 1046 (Ill. Ct. App.

1982), rev'd, 9 I11.2d 135,

457 N.E.2d 1202 (1983) 13, 22

People v. Thompson, 79 A.D.2d 87,

435 N.Y.S.2d 739 (N.Y. Sup.

Ct. App. Div. 1981) 13

People v. Walker, 157 Cal. App.3d

1060, 205 Cal. Rptr. 278

(Ct. App. 1984) 54

People v. Wheeler, 22 Cal. 258, 148

Cal. Rptr. 890, 583 P.2d 748

(1978) 13, 37, 53, 54, 55, 56, 58

- vi -

People v. Williams, 628 P.2d 869,

174 Cal. Rptr. 317 (Cal. 1981)

(en banc)

Peters v. Kiff, 407 U.S. 493 (1972)

Rogers v. Lodge, 458 U.S. 613 (1982)

Roman v. Abrams, No. 85 Civ. 0763-CLB

(S.D.N.Y. May 15, 1985)

Rosales-Lopez v. United States, 451

U.S. 182 (1982)

Rose v. Mitchell, 443 U.S. 545

(1979) 12,

Smith v. Texas, 311 U.S. 128 (1940)

State v. Brown, 371 So.2d 751

(La. 1979) 14,

State v. Crespin, 94 N.M.2d

486, 612 P.2d 716 (1980) 13, 37,

State v. Gilmore, No. A-870-82 T4

(NJ. Super. ct. App. Div.,

March 8, 1985)

State v. Neil, 457 So.2d 482

(Pla. 1984) 13, 37,

State v. Washington, 375 So.2d

1162 (La. 1979) 15, 25,

- vii -

59

30

Strauder v. West Virginia,

100 U.S. 303 (1880) 5, 9, 10

Swain v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 202

(1965) passim

Taylor v. Louisiana, 419 U.S.

522 (1975) 38, 39, 40, 41, 43

Thiel v. Southern Pacific Co.,

328 U.S. 217 (1946) 26

Turner v. Fouche, 396 U.S. 346

(1970) 3, 10

United States v. Childress, 715

F.2d 1313 (8th Cir. 1983) 13, 28

United States v. Clark, 737 F.2d

679 (7th Cir. 1984) 13

United States v. Jackson, 696 F.2d

578 (8th Cir. 1982) 14

United States v. Leslie, 759 F.2d 31

366 (Sth Cir. 1985), rehearing

en banc granted

United States v. McDaniels, 13, 31

379 FP. Supp. 1243 (E£.0. La. 1974)

United States v. Marchant, 25 U.S.

480 (1827) 23

- viii -

United States v. Newman, 549 F.2d

240 (2nd Cir. 1977)

United States v. Pearson, 448 F.2d

1207 (Sth Cir. 1971)

United States v. Schackleford,

59 U.S. 588 (1856)

United States v. Whitfield,

715 F.2€ 145 (4th Cir. 1983)

United States Postal Service Bd.

of Governors v. Aikens, 460

U.S. 711 (1983)

Virginia v. Rives, 100 U.S. 313

(1880)

Wainwright v. Witt, U.S. __, 83

'..24.24 841 (1985)

Wheathersby v. Morris, 708 F.2d

1493 (9th Cir. 1983)

Whitus v. Georgia, 385 U.S. 545

(1967)

Williams v. Plorida, 399 U.S. 78

(1970)

Williams v. Illinois, U.S. _,

S.Ct. 2634 (1984)

13

28

23

13

34

49

13

36

39

Willis v. Zant, 720 F.2d 1212

(11th Cir. 1983) 13

Yick Wo v. Hopkins, 118 U.S. 356

(1886) 26

Statutes:

Act of March 3, 1865, ch. 86,

§ 2, 13 Stat. 500 23

Colo. Rev. st. s§ 13-71-1007, et seq. 41

Federal Jury Selection and Service

Act, Pub. L. 90-274, 82

Stat. 53 11, 41

Idaho Code §§ 2-201 et seq. 41

Hawaii Rev. Stat. §§ 612-1 et seq. 41

Indiana Code §§ 33-4-5.5-1 et seq. 41

Maine Rev. St. §§ 1211 et seq. 41

Md. An- Code § 8-1-13 4)

Minn. Stat. Ann. §§ 593-31 et seq. 41

Miss. Code 1972, §S 13-5-2 et seq. 4)

No. Dakota Code $§ 17-09.1-01 et seq. 41

1 Stat. 119 (1790) 23

The Ordinance of Inauests, 33 Edw. 1. 21

e.2 (1305)

28 U.S.C. § 1861 11, 41

Uniform Jury Selection and

Service Act 11, 41

Other Authorities:

4W. Blackstone, Commentaries 21

Brown, McGuire, and Winters,

The Per Challenge

an a Nanloulat ive Deine

Ta tr TmInel Friels;

Traditional Use or Abuse?

Tt Wew Eng. LC. rev. TST 71978)

16, 20, 22

Comment, A Case Study of the

. rike a al

Protection and Due ns

Te St. Louis ©.J. ) 14

Comment, Swain v. Alabama: A 20, 22

Constitutional BI int for

20, 22

the Berpetostt

Ril-hite Jory, ST Va-L. Rev.

-~ xi -

Jackson, Mississippi, Clarion

Ledger, July 25, 1983 16

New Orleans Times-Picayune,

April 7, 1985 16

Sullivan, Deterri the

Discriminat vee of

r alle Ss, 21 Am.

Ferenptory © ee hes 177 T1884) 27, 45

- xii -

No. 84-6263,

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1984

JAMES KIRKLAND BATSON,

Petitioner,

v.

COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the

Supreme Court of Kentucky

a Ict EFFH fy

EDUCATIONAL FUND, INC., THE

AMERICAN JEWISH COMMITTEE, AND

THE AMERICAN JEWISH CONGRESS

Interest of the Amici*

The NAACP Leaal Defense and Educa-

tional Pund, Inc., is a non-profit

*Letters from the parties consenting to

the filing of this Brief have been lodged

with the Clerk of the Court.

corporation, incorporated under the laws

of the State of New York in 1939. It was

formed to assist Blacks to secure their

constitutional rights by the prosecution

of lawsuits. Its charter declares that

itu purposes include rendering leaal aid

without cost to Blacks suffering injustice

by reason of race who are unable, on

acccunt of poverty, to employ legal

counsel on their own behalf. for many

years its attorneys have represented

parties and have participated as amicus

curiae in this Court and in the lower

federal courts in cases involving many

facets of the law.

The Fund has a long-standing concern

with the issue of the exclusion of Blacks

from service on juries. Thus, it has

raised iury discrimination claims in

appeals from criminal convictions, ;

pioneered in the affirmative use of civil

actions to end discriminatory practices, ;

and, indeed, represented the petitioner in

Swain v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 202 (1965), the

case which first raised the issue of the

use of peremptory challenges to exclude

Blacks from jury venires.

The American Jewish Committee is a

national organization of approximately

50,000 members which was founded in 1906

for the purpose of protecting the civil

an@ religious rights of Jews. Tt has

always been the conviction of this

organization that the security and the

constitutional rights of American Jews can

V E.gs» Alexander v. Louisiana, 405 U.S. 625 (1972).

2 v ion, 396 U.S. 320 (1970);

, : Me ge

" 117 (M.D. Ala. .

|

best be protected by helping to preserve

the security and the constitutional rights

of all Americans, irrespective of race,

religion, sex or national origin. The

American Jewish Committee believes that

the exclusion of Blacks from juries

through the use of peremptory challenges

is a @erievous deprivation based on race

which violates the Sixth and Fourteenth

Amendments to the Constitution.

The American Jewish Congress is a

netionel organization of American Jews

founded in 1918 and concerned with the

preservation of the security and constitu-

tional rights of all Americans. Since its

creation it has vigorously opposed racial

and religious discrimination in all areas

eof American life, including the adninis-

tration of justice. The American Jewish

Congress believes that the use of peremp-

tory challenges by prosecutors to exclude

persons from juries solely on the basis of

their race or religion is in violation of

the United States Constitution.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I.

The misuse of peremptory challenge:

to exclude Blacks from juries is a

pervasive and pernicious practice. Its

use has supplemented earlier and more

obvious devices for preventing minorities

from participating in this most fundamen-

tal of democratic institutions. The

practice violates both the Sixth and

Fourteenth Amendments to the Constitution

and must be ended to make the promise of

Strauder v. West Virginia at last a

reality..-

Il.

Historically, the prosecution did not

have the riaght to challenge jurors

peremptorily. Under the common law,

peremptory challenges were given to the

defense for the purpose of enforcing the

defendant's underlying right to a fair

and impartial jury of his peers. The

right was extended to the prosecution by

statute only in the mid-nineteenth

century. Nothing in the history of the

exercise of peremptory challenges by the

prosecution suggests any reason. for

permitting them to be exercised in a way

that is inconsistent with the Sixth and

Fourteenth Amendments.

IIl.

The intentional exclusion of a black

potential juror from actual service on a

— es

jury violates the Fourteenth Amendment's

guarantee of equal protection. Swain v.

Alabama has been consistently misinter-

preted by the lower courts as permitting a

successful objection to the racially

discriminatory exercise of peremptory

challenges in only an unduly limited and

virtually unprovable set of circumstances.

Trial courts should be no less free to

infer intentional discrimination by

prosecutors in a variety of factual

contexts than they are in a wide range of

other cases involving proof of intentional

discrimination.

IV.

For a prosecutor to strike black

jurors from a venire so as to render it

unrepresentative of the community violates

the Sixth Amendment. Although there is no

right to a jury that mirrors the communi-

ty, the Constitution prohibits the use of

devices which affirmatively defeat a fair

opportunity to be tried by a jury that

reflects a fair cross-section of that

community.

Vv.

There are a variety of remedies to

correct the unconstitutional use of

peremptory chalienges. Although any

method that is selected must realistically

promise effectively to guard against

discrimination, the states should be given

some leeway to experiment with solutions

that are consistent with their particular

jury selection procedures.

et

INTRODUCTION

One hundred and five years ago this

Court held that “the very fact" that black

people were prevented from serving on

juries:

- « «+ because of their color,

though they are citizens and may

be in other respects fully

qualified, is practically a

brand upon them, affixed by the

law; an assertion of their

inferiority, and a stimulant to

that race prejudice which is an

impediment to securing to

individuals of the race that

equal justice which the law aims

to secure to all others.

Strauder v. West Virginia, 100 U.S. 303,

308 (188.1). More than a century later,

the promise of Strauder -- that all dis-

criminatory acts directed towards black

citizens in the administration of justice

will be ended -- remains unfulf. ied.

Until the 1970's, the primary device

for excluding Blacks from jury service was

simply to keep them off of the jury rolls.

Since Blacks never appeared on venires to

beain with, the use of the peremptory

challenae to get rid of therm was rarely

reauired. When 100 years of decisions of

this Court reversing convictions for jury

discrimination, ; injunctions issued by

4

federal district courts, and the reform

=

Strauder v. West vies 100 U.S. 303 (1880);

nia v. ves, -5. 313 (1880); Ex

Virgini 100 U.S

qo! -5. 339 (1880); see cases

v. Louisiana, 405 U.S. at 628-29, 632

t

F.a., Carter v. Cammission, a; Turner v.

(Sth Cir. 1).

e 99 «

5

of federal and state jury selection laws

made total exclusion impractical, the use

of peremptory challenges to exclude those

Blacks who were placed on venires became

the method of choice to achieve the same

historic goal of preventing Black citizens

from participating in the criminal justice

system. Although the means used to exclude

Blacks has changed, the same pernicious

consequence continues: black citizens do

not have their rightful voice in an

institution that is at the heart of a free

and democratic society.

The exclusion of Blacks from juries

not only stigmatizes them and deprives

them of their riaht meaningfully to

participate in the criminal justice

system. It “des roys the appearance of

3

Ng A ye Age: A ty ~ Ag 28

-5.C. S§ 1861 et sec.; Uniform Jury Selection and

Service Act, National Conference of Commissioners on

Umiform State Laws, 1971.

e 92

justice and thereby casts doubt on the

intearity of the judicial process ...,

impair{ina] the confidence of the public

in the administration of justice.” Rose

v. Mitchell, 443 0.8. 545, 555-56 (1979);

accord Hobby v. United States, U.S.

, 82 L.€4.2d 260, 277 (1984) (Stevens,

J., Gissentina). Nothing could be more

destructive to public confidence in the

legitimacy of criminal justice than the

specter of a4 prosecutor deliberately

manipulating the process to exclude

identifiable segments of the community on

the basis of race, in contravention of

"deeply and widely accepted views of

elementary justice ... «* Bob Jones

University v. United States, _(U.S._,

76 L.B4.24 157, 174 (19863).

The proliferation of cases raising

@ 93 «

the issue of this misuse of peremptory

challenges demonstrates that the practice

is nationwide, arising in states from

California to New York and Massachusetts

to Plorida. : Thus, the Illinois Supreme

Court has reviewed “at least 33 cases in

which criminal defendants have alleged

prosecutorial misuse of peremptory

t

sa ae ome, 22 Cal. 34 258, 148

1978); State v. Neil,

v .

1046 (Til.

TL. 24 135, 457 N.B.24 1202

rT 377 Mass. 461, 387

U.8. 1 881 (1979);

+ 612 P.24 716 (1980);

+24 987 (N.Y. Sup. Ct. NP.

’ 7” A.D. 87, 435

. . Div. 1981); os

v. Boone, 107 Misc, on 301, 433 N.Y.S.24 955 (

; v , 57 N.Y.24 542, 457 N.Y.S.24

441,

549 7.28 240 (2nd Cir.

145

+ 737 ¥.24 679

708 F.2d 1493

(4th

(7th

(9th

O F.20 1212 (11th

7

challenges to exclude Negro jurors.* The

Eighth Circuit has noted “the frequency

with which we have been called upon to

examine the prosecutor's practices in this

regard in the Western District of Mis-

souri.” United States v. Jac: son, 696 F.2d

5768, 592 (8th Cir. 1982). And the

Louisiana Supreme Court reviewed 9 cases

in 7 years from the same parish, 5 of

which involved the same prosecutor. State

v. Brown, 371 80.24 751 (La. 1979).

In addition to the many reported

decisions, our experience and that of our

cooperating attorneys has convinced us

that the pra tice is common and flagrant.

» 2365

ing).

tae ne a eT ct.

(1 . l, Jes

e 1§ «

Indeed, prosecutors have publicly admitted

that they seek to keep Blacks from sitting

on criminal trials as a matter of course

because they ere afraid that Blacks will

be too sympathetic to a defendant. Thus,

an instruction book used by the prosecu-

tor's office in ener County, Texas, the

10

site of Hill v. Texas, Az ine v. Texas,

ond Cassell v. Texas, advised

prosecutors that they did not want a

“member of a minority group" on a jury

because he will “almost always empathize

12

with the accused.* See also, State v.

316 U.S, 400 (1942),

° 325 U.S. 398 (1945).

' 339 U.S. 282 (1950).

2 the book states:

"rrr. _ What to look for in a juror.

strong,

hypocritical individual who believes

Washington, 375 So.2¢ 1162, 1163 (La.

1979), where the prosecutor testified that

he routinely struck Blacks because of his

paseegeemn that they favored the

accused,

but rather a strong, biased ant sometimes

hypocritical individual who believes that

Defendants are different fran thes in kini,

rather than degree.

"2. You are not looking for any member of

him to

a minority which may subject

quumin—iee ceash al with

= ways emphathize

County

to similar effect.

e 99 «

Our position is simple. The exclu-

sion of a single juror because of his or

her race or national Origin violates the

Fourteenth Amendment's guarantee of equal

protection. The issue in Swain, we

single juror because of race violates the

constitution, but rather how one proves

the discriminatory motive of such a single

exclusion. The lower courts have confused

the two issues and have improperly read

Swain as limiting the finding of a

constitutional violation to those rare

circumstances where it can be shown that

prosecutors in case after case, over a

long period of time, have used peremptory

chellenges to exclude Blacks. The con-

tinued misinterpretation of Swain that

allows the decision to be used as a cover

for « discrisminetory prectice should be

repudiated.

We would also urge that the exclusion

of Blacks from juries through the use of

peremptory challenges violates the right

to « jury representative of a fair

cross-section of the community, by

destroyine the opportenity of having a

representative jury seated. The lower

courts have sisconstrued holdings of this

Court thet there is no requirement that a

particeler tery eirror the community.

These decisions do not hold that nothing

can be done to end «a practice which

afficmatively prewents a representative

jury from being seated.

Tm thie brief we will discuss the

Fourteenth and Sixth Amendments and will

eueeest remedies to end the misuse of

e 99 «

peremptory challenges that will not

interfere with their proper use. FPirst,

however, we will briefiy discuss the

history of the peremptory challenge, and

particularly its use by the prosecution.

In this way the interest involved in the

prosecutor's right to peremptorily

challenge jurors, on the one hand, and the

interest in ensuring that the criminal

justice system is free from any taint of

racial discrimination, on the other, will

be put into proper perspective.

Il.

THE HISTORY OF THE PEREMPTORY

CHALLENGE

At common law, the prosecutor did sot

have the right to excuse peremptorily

4

- 20 «

potential jurors. Rather, that right

derives solely from statute, and gained

wide acceptance only in the last one

hundred years -- around the time that the

post-Civil War constitutional amendments

were ratified and this Court began to

apply the Fourteenth Amendment's guarantee

of equal protection to the wholesale

exclusion of blacks from the jury and

grand jury systems. ey

In early English law, jurors func-

tioned essentially as witnesses -- as

fact-givers rather than fact-finders. The

Crown therefore initially exercised

complete control over their selection; any

unacceptable juror could be removed by the

15

prosecution. Parliament enacted the

rt

15

See, op. cite supra n. 12, at 195.

at cite eybto. n. 12, at 194; Comment, Swain v.

3 itutional Bl int for the .

e 29 «

16

Ordinance of Inquests in 1305, which

limited the Crown to challenging jurors

for “cause certain.” On the other hand,

by the time of the American Revolution,

the peremptory challenge was firmly rooted

in the common law as one of a defendant's

qreatest protections -- in the words of

Blackstone, “a provision full of that

tenderness and humanity to prisoners, for

which ouwr English laws are justly fa-

17 “

mous.” —

33 Edw. 1. c.2 (1305).

7 4 W. Blackstone, Commentaries 353.

In reaction to the Ordinance of Inquests the

English courts did fashion the practice of “standing

aside” jurors. The prosecution can require a juror

to wham it abjects to “stand aside" until all other

potential jurors have been called; after the defen-

dant has exercised all his challenges, if there are

too few veniremen remaining to compose a jury, only

uror “stood aside” allowed to —

because, even

employed by the Crown, which is seldom, the

e 22 «

The peremptory challenge for thi

defendant was thus a part of the commo.

law received by the American states, whil:

the grant of a similar privilege to th

prosecution was not. - Extension of tha

privilege to the prosecution was strong];

resisted in early state histories, and wat

slow in gaining legislative acceptance. 7

Thus, while one early decision of thi:

Court asserted that the English practics

of standing jurors aside was part of this

juror who has been stood aside may be

actually seated as a juror after the

defendant has exercised his challenges.

Specifically, 26 Halsbury's Laws of

England, par. 624 (4th ed. 1579) states:

“The Crown has no right to make peremptory

challenges."

ee Vv. Ses 105 Tll. App. 34 1034, 1039 n. 4

. . . ).

See op. cit. supra note 12, at 194.

19

' For a review of this history, see op. cit. supra note

15, at 1170-73, : —

18

e 23 «

20

country's common law heritage, the Court

correctly held in 1856 that the prosecu-

tor's riaht to stand jurors aside was not

part of American common law, and therefore

only applied in federal court if the state

in which the federal court was sitting

extended that right to prosecutors. vs

Although defendants in federal prosecu-

tions were quaranteed the peremptory

challenge by statute in 1790, o it was not

extended to all federal prosecutors until

1865. ”

In short, the peremptory challenge

was not recognized in the Colonies and new

States as a riqght of the prosecution.

w

21

United States v. Marchant, 25 U.S. 480, 483 (1827).

United States v. Shackleford, 59 U.S. 588, 590

22 + Stat. 119 (1790).

23 act of March 3, 1865, ch. 86, § 2, 13 Stat. 500.

Rather, it was given to the defense as :

means of assuring the underlying right t«

a fair and impartial jury quaranteed by

the Bill cf Rights. It was a protectior

of the people against aovernmenta!

overreaching. The use of peremptor;

challenges by the prosecution to undermins

the right to a jury representative of the

community stands history on its head. As

we show below, it is at odds with the

Constitution.

Itt.

THE EXCLUSION OF BLACKS FROM JUR!

SERVICE THROUGH THE USE OF PEREMPTOR!

CHALLENGES VIOLATES THE FOURTEENT!

AMENDMENT.

In order to illustrate our argumen

that the use of the peremptory cha} leng

to exclude Blacks is a denial of equa

protection, we will use the followin

—

hypothetical. By random selection from a

truly representative jury wheel, a single

Black is selected for the venire. The

prosecutor uses a peremptory challenge to

strike the sole Black juror, and announces

that he has done so for the specific

purpose of excluding any Blacks from

sitting on the jury. ™ Finally, the

prosecutor confesses that it is his

experience that black jurors tend to favor

defendants, and therefore he believes it

is to his advantage not to have them sit

on the jury.

We submit that this hypothetical set

of facts would establish a clear violation

of the Equal Protection Clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment. Indeed, the

hypothetical prosecutor's action is of the

type most clearly contemplated to be in

see State v. Washington, 375 So.24 1162 (La. 1979).

= 2% -

violation of the Equal Protection Clause

whose “central purpose . . .- is tr

|

prevention of official conduct discrim:

natory on the basis of race." Washingt«

vy. Davis, 426 U.S. 229, 239 (1976). Nc

only is it am adverse action deliberate:

taken on the basis of race, and there fo!

presumptively illegal under many decisiol

25

of this Court, but it is based °

notions of racial characteristics whi:

are anathema to the most fundament.

principles that the equal protecti

26

clause seeks to protect.

25 palmore v. Sidoti, U. S. , 80 L.Bé.2d 421, 42!

71964); Loving v. Virginia, 388 U.S. 1 (1967)

Korematsu v. Onited Kates, 323 U.S. 214, 216 (19

26 vick Wo v. Borkins, 118 U.S. 356 (1886); Birebayesh!

ve , 320 U.S. 81, 100 (1943); Vv

Southern Pacitic Co., 328 U.S. 217, 220 (1946)

; e Vv. 22 Cal. 34 296, 299, 58

p.2d 774, 175, —Rotr. 914, 916 (1978).

i~

4).

e 27 «

The problem presented by the misuse

of peremptory challenges arises only

because it will be the rare case in which

a prosecutor admits that the reason for

his action was race. In Swain, this Court

hypothesized another set of facts in which

a violation could be proven by a statisti-

cal showing that over a long period of

time, in case after case, the me

consistently struck Blacks from juries.

However, the hypothetical facts set out in

Swain were taken by lower courts to be the

only circumstances in which a constitu-

28

tional violation could be found, and the

difficulty of assembling such a showing

380 U.S. at ‘223.

Sullivan, Deterr

@- 26 -

made it virtually impossible to prevail

reqardless of the actual discriminatory

29

practice.

There are a number of reasons why, in

the twenty years since Swain, there have

been virtually no cases in which @

defendant has been able to demonstrate

that prosecutors have stricken Blacks ir

case after case over a iong period of

time. First, courts do not routinely

record voir dires, the race of jurors that

are excused, or the grounds of excusal.

Second, even where there are any records.

such as transcripts of voir dires, ther:

is no ready means to determine in whic!

29 sce, e.q., United States v. Pearson, 448 F.2d 1207,

1217 (Sth Cir. 1971); United States v. Childress, 715

F.2d 1313, 1317 (8th . , en ° the

cases cited in the Appendix, in only two, have

defendants been able to meet the Swain burden of

proof, and both involved the same prosecutor, who had

admitted under oath that he customarily struck all

black jurors. State v. Brown, 371 So.2d 751 (La.

1979); State v. Washington, 375 So.2d 1162, 1163-64

(La. 15979).

@ 29 «

cases they have been made or kept. Third,

most criminal defendants lack the re-

sources to conduct an_ investigation

adequate to assemble the necessary data.

Fourth, the issue will usually arise in

the middle of voir dire when Blacks are

struck; there will simply not be enough

time to conduct an inquiry unless a

lenqthy continuance of the trial is

granted, with the accompanying disruption

of the orderly course of justice. Fifth,

for all of the above reasons, the only

evidence awailable as a practical matter

will be the testimony of presiding judges,

court clerks, and members of the bar as to

their recollection of events that occurred

in years past. Finally, unlike an

ordinary challenge to the make-up of the

jury rolls, it is also totally impractical

to raise the peremptory challenge issue in

an affirmative injunctive action. In

- 30 -

addition to the impossibility of assem-

bling the proof, an order prohibiting the

prosecutor from striking Blacks because of

their race would be unenforcible without

proof that that was his intent in a

specific case.

The restrictive reading of Swain by

lower courts is inconsistent with other

decisions of this Court. In every other

context, the Court has recognized the

ability of a trial judge to infer

discrimination from a wide variety of

circumstances. . Thus, the misinterpreta-

tion of Swain has resulted in anomalous

results in comparison to every other area

of discrimination. In one federal case,

Ki)

E.a., McDonnell as . v. Green, 411 U.S. 792

(1973) Aromat): hited states Postal Service Bd.

of Gorecmexs 9. Meee, S50 0-5. TY (Oe) CO

x. v. Oe alin 443 U.S. 449 oo

soon Saea (echo! desegregation); KeTington AST Gove Vv.

» 29 «

for example, the defendants challenged the

make-up of the jury rolls as unlawfully

excluding Blacks. The district court

rejected the claim, holding that, although

it was a close question, the under-repre-

sentation of Blacks was not enough to

establish a violation. The prosecutor

then proceeded to strike all the Blacks

from the venire when the actual jury was

assembled. Despite the mutually con-

firming discriminatory practices, the

district court held that because of the

absence of a Swain showing of a lone

history of striking Blacks, there was not

a constitutional violation under Swain.>

ay United States v. Maniels, 379 F. Supp. 1243 (D. La.

“1574). The court did order a new trial, however, “in

the interests of justice" pursuant to Ped. R. Crim.

P. 33. See also United States v. Leslie, 759 F.2d

366 (Sth Cir. 1985), rehearing en banc granted, May

14, 1985.

» 32 -

Under ordinary rules for adjudication

of a claim of intentional discrimination,

however, these circumstances would have

allowed the court to draw the inference

that the prosecutor had a discriminatory

motive. Similarly, when a prosecutor with

a limited number of peremptories uses all

of them to exclude the few Blacks on the

panel, as occurred in petitioner Batson's

case, a court should be permitted to

infer a discriminatory motive sufficient

to cast upon the prosecutor the burden of

coming forward with 3 "legitimate,

non-discriminatory reason"® 7 for his

33

action.

32 cdonnell Douglas v. Green, 411 U.S. 792, 803 (1974)

33 In the present case the trial court did not make such

a jurigment because he specifically declined to make

any factual inquiry on an erroneous Tegal theory. The

court took the view that, as a matter of law, the

constitutional cross-section requirement was limited

to "the whole, entire panel and the selection

process," and that "[a]ny body can strike anybody

they want to” without constitutional restraint.

(Appendix to Petition for Certiorari, at p. 16.) This

.

-

4

e 33 «

Other inguiries would permit a judge

to infer discrimination. Did the prosecu-

tor strike all the Blacks called to the

jury box, or only some of them? How many

Blacks, absolutely or in comparison to

whites, were struck? What proportion of

peremptories were use to strike Blacks?

Were Blacks questioned on voir dire, and,

if so, in the same way or as extensively

as the whites whom the prosecution

struck? What was the demeanor of the

prosecutor and the black potential jurors

during their exchanges? Did they appear

to be fair and impartial jurors? Did the

white jurors who were struck have common

attributes, visibly adverse reactions to

rule of law was expressly endorsed by the Kentucky

Supreme Court as the basis for affirming Batson's

conviction on appeal: “an allegation of the lack of

a fair cross section which does not concern a

systematic exclusion from the jury drum does not rise

to constitutional proportions." (Id., at p. 5)]

——_+

@ 34 -

the prosecutor, Or obvious drawbacks from

a prosecutorial perspective? Did the

Blacks? Conversely, did the prosecutor

retain whites who had the same attributes

as the Blacks that were struck? Did the

prosecutor attempt to purge the jury of

Blacks by other meanS, €-9+,s did he

challenge Blacks for cause while passing

up equally available for-cause challenges

to whites? Did the prosecutor use his last

peremptory challenge to get rid of a

Black, in contravention of the well-recog-

nized tactic of trial lawyers not to run

the risk of getting a worse replacement?

In short, trial court judges should

be given the freedom to infer intentional

discrimination from the totality of the

circumstances in the particular casé

34

before them in the same way “ney maj

34 united States Postal Service Bd. of Governors v.-

Rikens, 460 U.S. 711 (1983).

ee ee

@ 38 «

oo |

infer such discrimination in a variety of

other types of cases decided since Swain.

Thus, as-this Court noted in Arlington

Heights v. Metropolitan Housing Corp., 429

U.S. 252, 266 nw 14 (1977),

- « « {A} consistent pattern of

official racial discrimination is

[not] a mecessary predicate to a

violation of the Equal Protection

Clause. A single invidious dis-

criminatory governmental act would

not necessarily be immunized by the

absence of such discrimination in the

making of other comparable deci-

sions.

In jury discrimination cases this

Court has also found a violation of the

Fourteenth Amendment by a showing that

os 5gsase Blacks had been eliminated “at

each stage of the selection process until

ultimately an all-white grand jury was

selected to indict him" in the particular

case of the d@efendant. Alexander v.

e 36 <-

Louisiana, 405 U.S. 625, 629 (1972).

\

In sum, the Fourteenth Amendment is

violated whenever the State denies equal

protection of the laws, even in a single

instance. Repeated denials of equal

protection need not be shown in order to

trigger the Amendment's protection in an

individual case.

35 The Court noted that Alexander was not a case where

the systematic exclusion of Blacks over a period of

years had been shown. Rather, the proof went only to

the selection process for the particular venire and

jury. Id. See also Whitus v. ia, 385 U.S. 545,

549-50 (1967): it is “the law of this Court as

applied to the States through the Bqual Protect ion

Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment, that a conviction

cannot stand if it is based on an indictment of 3

grand jury or the verdict of a petit jury from which

Negroes were excluded by reason of their race."

(Emphasis added.)

« $9 «

IV.

THE EXCLUSION OF BLACK JURORS

VIOLATES THE RIGHT TO HAVE A JURY

REPRESENTATIVE OF THE COMMUNITY.

A number of lower courts have held

that Swain should be reexamined in light

of subsequent decisions = that have held

the Sixth Amendment guaranty of a repre-

sentative jury applicable to the states.

The question is: since the use of

peremptory challenges to exclude Blacks

results in unrepresentative juries, is the

practice unconstitutional?

Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U.S. 145 (1968); Taylor v.

Louisiana, 419 U.S. 522 (1975).

” McCray v. Abrams, 750 F.24 1113 (2nd Cir. 1984), reh.

en banc denied, 756 F.2d 177 (1985). le v.

Wheeler, 22 Cal.3d 258, 148 Cal. Rptr. 690, 807 Bod

748 (1978); State v. Neil, 457 So.2d 482 (Fla. 1948);

Commonwealth v. Soares, 377 Mass. 461, 387 N.E.2d 499

“(1575) ;State v. Crespin, 94 N.M. 486, 612 P.2d 716

(1980).

- 38 -

Taylor v. Louisiana, 419 U.S. 522

(1975), held that "“[t]he unmistakable

import of this Court's opinions, at least

since 1940... is that the selection of

a petit jury from a representative cross

section of the community is an essential

component of the Sixth Amendment right to

a jury trial." 419 U.S. at 528. In Smith

vy. Texas, 311 U.S. 128, 130 (1940), the

Court declared that exclusion of racial

groups from jury service was “at war with

our basic concepts of a democratic society

and a representative goverr ent." Ballard

v. United States, 329 U.S. 187 (1946),

reversed a conviction by a jury from which

women had been excluded, relying on a

federal statutory "design to make the jury

a ‘cross-section of the cowmunity.'” In

Brown v. Allen, 344 U.S. 443, 474 (1953),

» 30 «

the Court asserted that the source of jury

lists must “reasonably reflect .. . a

cross-section of the population suitable

in character and intelligence for that

civic duty."

In Taylor the Cowrt also relied on

its decision in the six-person jury case,

which had stated that a jury should “be

large enough to promote group deliberation

»- « « and to provide a fair possibility

for obtaining a representative cross-sec-

tion of the community." Williams v.

Plorida, 399 U.S. 78, 100 (1970). On the

basis of this precedenc, the Court

declared:

We accept the fair-cross-section

as fundamental to the jury trial

guaranteed by the Sixth Amendment and

are convinced that the requirement

has solid foundation. The purpose of

a jury is to guard against the

e @e

exercise of arbitrary power -- to

make available the common sense

judgment of the community as a hedge

against the over-zealous or mistaken

prosecutor . . . This prophylactic

vehicle is not provided if the jury

pool is made up of only special

segments of the populace or if large,

distinctive groups are excluded from

the pool. Community participation in

the administration of the criminal

law, moreover, is not only consistent

with our democratic heritage but is

also critical to public confidence in

the fairness of the criminal justice

system .. . [T)he broad representa-

tive character of the jury should be

maintained, partly as assurance of a

diffused impartiality and partly

because sharing in the administration

of justice is a phase of civic

responsibility.' Thiel v. Southern

Pacific Co., 328 U.S. 217,

TPrankturter, J., dissenting).

Taylor v. Louisiana, 419 U.S. at 530-31.

i

e 43 «

The requirement of a fair cross-sec-

tion theory in jury selection has also

been adopted by statute as “the policy of

38

the United States." Taylor quoted

approvingly from the House Report on the

Federal Jury Selection and Service Act:

It must be remembered that the

jury is designed not only to under-

stand the case, but also to reflect

the community's sense of justice in

deciding it. As long as there are

significant departures from the cross

38

Pederal Jury Selection and Service Act of 1968, Pub.

L. 90-274, 82 Stat. 53, 28 U.S.C. S§ 1861 et seq.

Section 1862 provides that:

No citizen shall be excluded from service as a

grand or petit juror .. . on account of race,

color, religion, sex, national origin, or

econamic status.

See also, Section 2 of the Uniform Jury Selection and

Service Act (National Conference of Commissioners on

Uniform State laws, 1970), and Md. Ann. Code §

8-1-13. The Uniform Act has been substantially

adopted by eight states. Colo. Rev. St. §§ 13-71-107

to 13-71-121 (1971); Idaho Code §§ 2-201 to 2-221

(1971); Hawaii Rev. Stat. §§ 612-1 to 612-26 (1973);

Indiana Code §§ 33-4-5.5-1 to 33-4-5.5-22 (1973); 14

Maine Rev. St. S§ 1211 et seq. (1971); Minn. Stat.

Am. §§ 593-31 to 593-50 (1977); Miss. Code 1972, §§

1-5-2 et sea. (1974); No. Dakota Code §§ 17-09.1-01

to 27-09,1-22 (1971).

eo 42 «

sectional goal, biased juries are the

result -- biased in the sense that

they reflect a slanted view of the

community they are supposed to

represent.

419 U.S. at 26 n. 37.

The argument based on the Sixth

Amendment is not inconsistent with

decisions of this Court which hold that

the defendant has no right to have his

particular jury represent the community

39

with precision. Thus, for example, in @

community in which one third of the

persons eligible for jury service are

Black there is no right to have a jury

with four Blacks out of the 12 jurors.

Although this proposition is correct,

it does not negate the conclusion that the

3,

aca v. Oregon, 406 U.S. 404, 413 (1972) (plu-

(1947).

= 43 «

affirmative use of peremptory challenges

to produce an unrepresentative jury

violates the Sixth Amendment. What the

Court has held is that, assuming a system

of jury selection which results in jury

lists that are representative of the

community, the use of a neutral device to

select particular juries does not violate

the Fourteenth Amendment just because in a

particular case the jury may not precisely

mirror that community. as Put another

way, although there is an affirmative

obligation to have a process by which a

representative jury can be chosen, there

is not an affirmative obligation to

achieve the result of juries that are

precisely representative.

10

See, e.g., Taylor v. Louisiana, 419 U.S. at 538.

» 44 <

But the converse must also be true:

there is a right not to have selection

methods that result in unrepresentative

juries. The protections of the Sixth and

Fourteenth Amendments cannot stop with the

composition of the jury roll (or “drum” in

this case), but extend to the selection of

the specific jury itself. See Ballew v.

Georgia, 435 U.S. 223 (1978); Alexander v.

Louisiana, 405 U.S. 625 (1972). Thus, a

defendant has the right to a fair oppor-

— for a jury on which are represented

the various groups that make up the

community in which he is tried. To allow

the unscrutinized use of peremptory

challenges on the basis of race biases the

process as surely as the exclusion of

Blacks from the jury lists or drum.

The right to a fair cross-section is

- 45 «

not based on the notion that individuals

vote to convict or acquit because of the

racial group to which they belong; rather,

it derives from the principle that juries

should contain representatives of the

various groups in the community so that

their opinions, voices, points of view,

and perceptions come to bear on the

deliberative process. When a prosecutor

removes Blacks from the jury the result is

a jury which is insulated from one of

those viewpoints and voices. si

The question of whether the use of

peremptory challenges has violated the

cross-section requirement will, after all,

only arise in a particular case when a

fair system has produced a panel of

potential jurors that includes Blacks.

*) peters v. Kiff, 407 U.S. 493, 503-04 (1972); see op.

cit. n. 28, for an example of the impact on a

jury"s deliberations of the experiences of a black

juror.

@ @ «

Unless the prosecutor strikes them, a

representative jury will sit. If then the

prosecutor makes the jury unrepresentative

by striking some or all of the Blacks, his

abuse of the peremptory challenge violates

42

the Sixth Amendment.

42 to illustrate, one may assume a county that is

black and that has a jury roll that is

black. In trial #1, 20 potential jurors are randomly

the range of probability. That single Black is

excused for a valid, racially-neutral reason, and an

all-white jury sits. That result does not violate

the Sixth Amendment.

In trial #2, twenty potential

randomly selected, 4 of whom, or 20%, are black

Through neutral selection criteria of

jurors to sit will be black, or almost 20%. The

prosecutor then affirmatively creates a non-repre-

sentative jury by striking the two Blacks. That

result does violate the Sixth Amendment.

- 67 «-

V.

EFFECTIVE, MINIMALLY INTRUSIVE MEANS

EXIST TO REMEDY THE UNCONSTITUTIONAL

MISUSE OF PEREMPTORY CHALLENGES

Amici believe that it is clear that

the exclusion of Blacks from juries

through the use of peremptory challenges

violates both the Sixth and Fourteenth

Amendments to the Constitution. There are

numerous ways in which these violations

can be remedied. They will of necessity

vary from locality to locality depending

on the particular jury selection practices

in use. The appropriate remedy may also

vary with the nature of the constitutional

violation, depending on the amendments

invoked. Amici therefore suggest that the

lower state and federal courts be given

ee eget

——

e 46 «

leeway to develop appropriate remedies in

light of local practices and _ condi-

tions.

In the first analysis, however, the

prophylactice effect of a pronouncement by

this Court that the misuse of peremptory

challenges violates both the Sixth and

Fourteenth Amendments cannot be over-esti-

mated. At present, prosecutors can and do

indulge the same misinterpretation of

Swain that prevails in the lower courts.

They think that the “case after case"

language in the Swain opinion defines a

substantive principle of constitutional

law rather than a principle relating to

the sufficiency of factual proof based on

statistics (see page 27, supra). Thus,

the prosecutor who is conscientious in his

desire to obey the Constitution never-

- 49 -

theless sees nothing unconstitutional

about peremptorily challenging blacks qua

blacks in particular cases, so long as he

does not do it in all cases. Told that

this is indeed unconstitutional, the

conscientious prosecutor will stop doing

it.

To the extent that prosecutors do not

! stop misusing peremptory challenges, the

primary agency for enforcing the Constitu-

tion will be the trial judge, in pro-

ceedings prior to the attachment of

| jeopardy. As this Court has recognized in

| other contexts, es trial judges are

experienced and discerning in the inter-

pretation and understanding of what is

being conveyed by the demeanor. and

interaction of the participants during the

’ See, Rosales-Lopez v. United States, 451 U.S. 182

(1982); Patton v. Yount, U.S. _, 81 L.Ed.2d 847

(1984); Wainwright v. Witt, U.S. , 83 L.Ed.2d

841 (1985). ce

« $0 -

process of jury selection. They are fully

capable both of recognizing a prima facie

case of racially discriminatory peremptory

challenges by the totality of the circum-

stances of the case before them, and of

taking effective action to remedy the

abuse.

The first thing that a trial judge

faced with an apparent’ prosecutorial

misuse of peremptories may do is to ask

the prosecutor for an explanation. This

alone will often suffice to warn the

prosecutor that his behavior is under

scrutiny, and make him change his ways. If

his explanation for his past behavior is

unsatisfactory, or if his behavior

persists under circumstances that render

the explanation hollow, the trial judge

then has numerous options to correct the

» 81 -

problem. He can disallow a peremptory,

dismiss the partially-selected jury and

bring in a new panel, or take other

pretrial corrective action.

For example, there exists a simple,

direct, and highly effective way both to

correct the exclusion of Blacks and to

leave undisturbed the proper use of

peremptory challenges. A state need cnly

adopt a practice that would permit defense

counsel to object upon the exclusion of a

member of a raciai or national origin

minority group member. From that point on,

if a black, Hispanic, etc., juror were

excluded by use of a peremptory challenge,

he or she would be replaced by a member of

the same group. This would be directly

responsive to the nature of the violation,

insuring a representative cross-section of

@» @2 -

the community on the jury. At the same

time, it allows the prosecution to strike

a juror for any reason other than race.

Such a rule would also have the great

advantage of not requiring the prosecutor

to explain the reasons for any challenge.

Moreover, the mere existence of the rule

would do much to end any discriminatory

practice since prosecutors would know

ahead of time that they would be unable,

as a practical matter, to use challenges

to exclude all Blacks from juries. ms

Another possibility is the highly

successful remedy that has been working

for more than six years in California and

44

Although this particular rule would be a race-con-

scious remedy, it would not ativersely affect the

rights of a person who was not a member of the

minority group, since that person would simply be

selected later and would not lose his or her right to

jury service.

» $3 «

45

Massachusetts without impeding’ the

efficient administration of justice, or

infringing significantly upon the wide

discretion that has been traditionally

accorded to prosecutors in the exercise of

their peremptory challenges.

Briefly stated, the system developed

by California and Massachusetts requires

that the defendant demonstrate a prima

facie case of discriminatory intent before

the trial judge will look beyond tne

traditional presumption that the prosecu-

tor is using his peremptory challenges in

a permissible manner. If the judge finds

that a prima facie case has been made, the

prosecutor is given the opportunity to

® see e v. Wheeler, 583 P.2d 748, 148 Cal. Rptr.

B90 (Mosk, J.); Commonwealth v. Soares, 377

Mass. 461, 387 N.E.2d 499 (1979). This model has

been adopted elsewhere. See State v. ee aes

N.M. 486, 612 P.2d 716 (1980); State v. Neil, 457

So.2d 481 (Fla. 1984), and State v. Gilmore, No.

A-870-82 T4 (N.J. Super. Ct. Apo. Div., March 8,

1985).

- $4 -

show that his challenges are not predi-

cated on group bias. The reasons for the

challenges do not have to be sufficient to

sustain a challenge for cause, but could

relate to any of the many legitimate

46

reasons for peremptory challenges. The

judge will examine the prosecutor's

reasons and will dismiss the venire or

47

panel or disallow the particular

48

challenge only if the prosecutor fails

46

ee v. Hall, 672 P.2d 854, 859, 197 Cal. Rptr.

; e v. Wheeler, 583 P.2d at 760, 148

Cal. Rptr. 890. » og." Commonwealth v. Kelly, 10

Mass. App. 847, 06 WN. . , . . ct.

1980) (accepting prosecutor's challenge based on the

prospective juror's “demeanor, manner and the ‘smirk

on her face'"); ase 2s vy. Walker, 157 Cal. App. 34

1060, 205 Cal. Rptr. , . App. 1984) (trial

court accepts prosecutor's explanation that a

prospective juror “stood out as ‘a comic'").

47 people v. Wheeler, 583 P.2d at 765. Whether the

vyenire as a whole or only the panel drawn for the

particular case would be dismissed, could depend on

the procedures used in the jurisdiction and the

| remand of assembling a new venire without

ay.

48 Qmorwealth v. , 15 Mass. App. 932, 444 N.E.2d

1238, 1300, a Ct. 1983), further late

review denied, 388 Mass. 1104, 448 N.E. ;

@ $8 «

to persuade the court that the challenges

were exercised for nondiscriminatory

reasons.

This remedy for the discriminatory

use of peremptory challenges leaves the

jury selection process unaffected in the

vast majority of hacia In order to

precipitate such an inquiry, the defen-

50

dant must demonstrate a “strong likeli-

Commonwealth v. Reid, 384 Mass. 247, 424 N.E.2d 495,

than 2 a year.) In Massachusetts, where the Soares

case has been in effect for six years, there have

been 13 such cases. (In New Mexico, which

Wheeler-Soares approach five years ago, there has

y me reported case involving a claim under

|

the rule.)

In Massachuetts, jutiges occasionally investigate the

discriminavory use of peremptory challenges on their

own initiative. , 18 Mass.

App. 417, 467 N.E. ° e + Ct.1984),

further appellate review denied, 470 N.E.2d 798

e $6 -

hood" that Blacks “are being challenged

because of their group association rather

than because of any specific bias". This

showing may be on the basis of evidence

such as that suggested at pp. 30-34,

51

SURES, the nature of the questioning,

the demeanor of the potential jurors or

the prosecutor, cf. Patton v. Yount,

U.S. , 81 L.Bd.2d 847 (1984), or any

other of a number of factors that ordi-

narily permit a trier of fact to infer

bias.

aT

Pecpie v. Wheeler, 583 P.2d at 764. The California

game of the factors the defendant might

e 87 «

One trial judge, disagreeing with his

own Circuit Court of Appeals, has argued

that providing a remedy for the misuse of

peremptory challenges will necessitate

“twelve mini-trials" in every case. See

Roman _v. Abrams, No. 85 Civ. 0763-CLB,

Slip. op. at 20 (S.D.N.Y. May 15, 1985).

The record in California and Massachu-

setts, the two states with the longest

experience with this remedy, refutes this

charge. The California Supreme Court has

recently found no empirical evidence to

Support a claim that this remedy has

proved “unworkable” in the trial courts.

People v. Hall, 672 P.2d 854, 859, 197

Cal, Rptr. 71 (1983) (en banc).

Even though minimally intrusive, the

Wheeler-Soares remedy has been effective

in reducing the intentionally discrimi-

- 58 -

natory use of peremptory challenges, as

the recent reported decisions in Cali-

fornia and Massachusetts attest. None of

these cases involves a fact pattern

showing as blatant a misuse of peremptory

challenges as occurred before Wheeler and

52

Soares were decided.

Compare, @-9+,

People v. Cobb, 97 Ill. 2d 465, 455 N.E.2d

31 (1983). The experience in California

and Massachusetts demonstrates that the

discriminatory use of peremptory chal-

lenges is not only reprehensible but also

53

remediable.

52 In Soares itself, the used

ion peremptory

chal Tenges to eliminate twelve of the thirteen black

venirepersons. 387 N.f&.2d at 508. In Wheeler, the

state excluded all of the blacks in the venire

(approximately seven) by using peremptory challenges.

583 P.2d at 752-54.

33 There are, of course, other possible remedies,

including abolishing peremptory challenges or

limiting them to the defense as under the common law.

A state may want to provide for additional voir dire,

so that the prosecutor (and defense counsel) will

have a more informed basis for exercising their

challenges. Indeed, the California Supreme Court has

@ $9 «

None of the potential available

remedies impedes the vigorous and

effective prosecution of crime; none

delays trials more than momentarily or

encumbers them significantly. Indeed,

administration of the rule would involve

less disruption of trials than the

"case-after-case” rule currently applied:

under the prevailing misinterpretation of

Swain jury selection must be suspended

pending an evidentiary hearing into the

prosecutor's record in past cases.

recently expanded the scope of voir dire by holding

that counsel may ask questions reasonably designed to

assist in the intelligent exercise of peremptory

challenges even if such questions may not uncover

greunts sufficient to sustain a challenge for cause.

v. Williams, 628 P.2d 869, 174 Cal. Rptr. 317

. en ). Thus, prosecutors are given

an opportunity to uncover evidence of specific bias

and to exercise their peremptory challenges in a

constitutional manner. Id. at 875.

Conclusion

No one can “deny that, [more than 114

years after the close of the War Between

the States and nearly 160 years after

Strauder, racial and other forms of

discrimination still remain a fact of

life. . . ." Rose v. Mitchell, 443 U.S.

at 558. The final cutting off of all

means to perpetuate the practices first

condemned in Strauder is not only overdue,

but essential to ensure both the reality

and the appearance of justice in our

society.

Por the foregoing reasons, the

decision below should be reversed.

= 61 -

Respectfully submitted

JULIUS LeVONNE CHAMBERS

CHARLES STEPHEN RALSTON *

STEVEN L. WINTER

NAACP Legal Defense and

Educational Fund, Inc.

99 Hudson Street

16th Floor

New York, N.Y. 10013

(212) 219-1900

ANTHONY G. AMSTERDAM

New York University

Law School

40 Washington Square South

New York, N.Y. 109012

SAMUFL RABINOVE

The American Jewish

Committee

165 East 56th Street

New York, N.Y. 10022

LOIS WALDMAN

The American Jewish

Congress

15 East 84th Street

New York, N.Y. 10028

attorneys for Amici Curiae

* Counsel of Record

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.