Record and brief — Trans World Airlines, Inc. v. Independent Federation of Flight Attendants

Supreme Court brief1987

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

DOCKET

TS

No. 86-1650-CFX

Status: GRANTED

Docketed:

April 14, 1987

See also:

87-548

Entry Date

1 Apr 14 1987

2 May 15 1987

3 May 19 1987

4 Jun 1 1987

5 Jun 8 1987

7 Jul 15 1987

8 Aug 11 1987

9 Aug 12 1987

10 Aug 12 1987

11 Aug 13 1987

12 Aug 13 1987

14 Aug 19 1987

17 Sep 5 1987

15 Sep 21 1987

16 Sep 21 1987

18 Oct 5 1987

19 Oct 19 1987

20 Nov 20 1987

21 Nov 22 1987

2 Dec 21 1987

23 Jan 12 1988

Title: Trans World Airlines, Inc., Petitioner

Vv.

Independent Federation of Flight Attendants

Court: United States Court of Appeals

for the Eighth Circuit

Counsel for petitioner: Gartner,Murray

Counsel for respondent: Fehr,Steven

Note. Proceedings and Orders

G Petition for writ of certiorari filed.

Briet of respondent in opposition filed.

DISTRIBUTED. June 4, 1987

X Reply brief of petitioner TWA, Inc. filed.

Petition GRANTED.

Pe PEPE PE SCECCCCLCCCLCCCCCCC CAA eee

Order extending time to file brief of petitioner on the

merits until August 13, 1987.

Record filed.

Joint appendix filed.

Brief of petitioner TWA, Inc. filed.

G Motion of Crossover Flight Attendants for leave t2 file

a brief as amicus curiae filed.

G Motion of Some Working TWA Flight Attendants fcr leave

to file a brief as amicus curiae filed.

Order extending time to file brief of respondent on the

merits until October 5, 1987.

Brief of respondent Independent Federation of Flight

Attendants filed.

Motion of Crossover Flight Attendants for leave tc file

& brief as amicus curiae GRANTED.

Motion of Some Working TWA Flight Attendants for leave

to file a brief as amicus curiae GRANTED.

G Motion of American Federation of Labor and Cc

Industrial Organizations, et al. for leave t

brief as amici curiae filed.

Motion of American Federation of Labor and Congress ot

Industrial Organizations, et al. for leave to file a

brief as amici curiae GRANTED.

CIRCULATED.

SET FOR ARGUMENT. Tuesday, January 12, 1988. (irda case).

X Reply brief of petitioner TWA, Inc. filed.

ARGUED.

PETITION

FOR WRIT OF

CERTIORARI

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United

OCTOBER TERM 1986

>_>. —_

TRANS WORLD AIRLINES, INC.,

Petitioner,

Vv.

THE INDEPENDENT FEDERATION

OF FLIGHT ATTENDANTS,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

MURRAY GARTNER

PROSKAUER ROSE GOETZ

& MENDELSOHN

300 Park Avenue

New York, New York 10022

(212) 909-7000

Counsel of Record for Petitioner

PAUL E. DONNELLY

STINSON MAG & FIZZELI

P.O. Box 19251

Kansas City, Missouri 64105

MARK A. BUCKSTEIN

Of Counsel MICHAEL A. KATZ

Carole O’ Blenes 605 Third Avenue

Kevin Chapman New York, New York 10158

Attorneys for Petitioner

:)

—_—_—_—_—_—_—_—_—N—X—X—X—X—X—X—X—Ys—X—XJXNa£_—X—X—S—_——__l___o...Y. Cc... .c.c....."::?>> }

i

QUESTION PRESENTED

After the stated term of a collective bargaining agree-

ment, and after the parties have been released by the Na-

tional Mediation Board to engage in self-help, does the

Railway Labor Act (unlike the National Labor Relations

Act) mandate that the carrier enforce the union security

provisions of that agreement so as to compel the carrier’s

employees (almost all strike replacements and others who

have resigned union membership) to pay union dues as a

condition of their continued employment?

PARTIES

The petitioner is Trans World Airlines, Inc. (“TWA”), a

“common carrier by air” within the meaning of Title II of

the Railway Labor Act. TWA has no parent company, and

no affiliates or subsidiaries other than wholly owned sub-

‘diari

Respondent, The Independent Federation of Flight At-

tendants (“IFFA”), is an unincorporated labor organization

designated as the bargaining representative under the Rail-

way Labor Act of TWA employees .n the flight attendant

craft or class.

Glenda Lopez-Bruner, Louis Dantuano, Kerry Zesiger,

June Shaw, Nancy King and Georgia Debever, representa-

tives of that class of TWA flight attendants who resigned

their membership in IFFA and crossed IFFA picket lines to

continue or resume working for TWA during a strike by

IFFA against TWA, were granted leave to intervene below

for the purpose of appearing and arguing with respect to

the August 26, 1986 order of the Court of Appeals parti-

ally staying the order of the district court.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Reasons for Granting the Writ ......................

I. The RLA (Like The NLRA) Neither Requires Nor

Permits Compulsory Union Membership As A

Condition Of Employment Beyond The Stated

Term Of (And Status Quo Period For) The

Collective Agreement By Virtue Of Which That

Compulsion Was Lawful ......................

il. The Decision Below—In Direct Conflict With The

Holding And Rationale Of The Ninth Circuit In

Reeve Aleutian, And At Odds With Decisions Of

The First, Second And Seventh Circuits—

Demonstrates A Compelling Need For Guidance

From This Court Concerning The Proper

Application Of Its Decision In Florida East Coast

SERED .occcccosccseoenseneenbennnl

Ill. Review Should Be Granted To Dispel The

Uncertainty And Instability Engendered By The

Decision Below Throughout The Airline Industry.

Appendix A

Opinion and Judgment of the U.S. Court of

Appeals for the Eighth Circuit .................

Appendix B

Orders of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the

ccc eeceuiccucsoce

Appendix C

Memorandum and Orders of the U.S. District

Court for the Western District of Missouri ......

Appendix D

Text of Statutes Involved......................

Appendix E

Excerpts from the 1981-84 Collective Bargaining

Agreement Between TWA and IFFA............

Appendix F

Complaint for Declaratory Judgment, filed April

Defendant’s Answer to Complaint for Declaratory

Judgment and Counterclaim, filed June 3, 1986. .

Plaintiff’s Answer to Counterclaim for

Declaratory Judgment, filed June 24, 1986......

Appendix G

Excerpts from Stipulations in Civil Action No.

86-6084, CV-SJ-6, filed July 21, 1986...........

PAGE

19a

30a

5Sa

82a

102a

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases PAGE

AFTRA v. NLRB, 395 F.2d 622 (D.C. Cir. 1968)...... 15

ALPA v. Pan American World Airways, 765 F.2d 377

SG EE ckcodidacasddaukwus waatusnkbasdess 21

ALPA vy. United Air Lines, 802 F.2d 886 (7th Cir.

Nee ee eel ha ee ee eae 16, 19, 23, 27

Anheuser-Busch, Inc. v. Teamsters, Local 822, 584 F.2d

fs 8 er eer rrr ree 14

Bethlehem Steel Co., 136 N.L.R.B. 1500 (1962), aff'd in

pertinent part, 320 F.2d 615 (3d Cir. 1963), cert.

GHEE, FeO Ge Fee es 06s ve cenesenesccwccess 14

Brotherhood of Railway & Steamship Clerks v. Florida

East Coast Railway, 384 U.S. 238 (1966) .......... passim

Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen v. Jacksonville

Terminal Co., 394 U.S. 369 (1969). ............505. 13, 16

Carpenter Sprinkler Co. v. NLRB, 605 F.2d 60 (2d Cir.

Sea ddis-acecktasdnnce Gcaueeneceusaceasanpneess 15

Communications Workers of America v. NLRB, 215

Pees Ge ee a SE 0-0 cv ccnsendecatesésccsanees 14

EEOC vy. United Air Lines, 755 F.2d 94 (7th Cir.

SE ddctedatdhenenedusdanedunedesdedesesees 17, 19, 23

Ellis v. Railway Clerks, 466 U.S. 435 (1984) .......... 12

Flight Engineers International Ass’n v. Eastern Air

Lines, 359 F.2d 303 (2d Cir. 1966) .............. 16, 21, 27

Hudson Chemical Co., 258 N.L.R.B. 152 (1981) ...... 14

IAM vy. Aloha Airlines, 776 F.2d 812 (9th Cir. 1985) ...22, 27

IAM vy. Northeast Airlines, 536 F.2d 975 (1st Cir.), cert.

CR Ge as Ge CE kWh n 000.6606 66668066488 19, 23

PAGE

IAM vy. Qantas Airways, 122 L.R.R.M. 2263 (N.D. Cal.

IAM vy. Reeve Aleutian Airways, 330 F. Supp. 332 (D.

Alaska 1971), aff'd, 469 F.2d 990 (9th Cir. 1972), cert.

GE, Ge Ss Se nh 0 66 bh db sec caveeutésn passim

IAM v. Street, 367 U.S. 740 (1961) .............0005- 12

Manning v. American Airlines, 329 F.2d 32 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied, 379 U.S. 817 (1964)............ 13, 16, 21, 27

NLRB vy. Haberman Construction Co., 618 F.2d 288

(Sth Cir. 1980), modified on other grounds on reh’g en

banc, 641 F.2d 351 (Sth Cir. Apr. 1981)............. 14, 15

NLRB vy. United Auto Workers, 194 F.2d 698 (7th Cir.

De citedaheseuedias es ceeneseenendeaknnesss 14

NLRB vy. United Auto Workers, 297 F.2d 272 (lst Cir.

Re Pe er ae 14

Peerless Roofing Co., 247 N.L.R.B. 500 (1980),

enforced, 641 F.2d 734 (9th Cir. 1981).............. 14

Railway Employes’ Dep’t v. Hanson, 351 U.S. 225

Dinwecetncedet as oedssneneds bunts duseuetnane 12

Robbins Door & Sash Co., 260 N.L.R.B. 659 (1982)... 14

S. Freedman Electric Co., 256 N.L.R.B. 432 (1981).... 14

Southwestern Steel & Supply, Inc. v. NLRB, 806 F.2d

ee oo cn ceedubeskeababeetnk 14

Trans International Airlines v. IBT, 650 F.2d 949 (9th

Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 1110 (1981) ....... 8

Western Airlines v. IBT, 55 U.S.L.W. 3676 (U.S. Apr. 2,

Pi chs dnnbdban dhe nneuteudsaeas oobactesntecda 8

vi

PAGE

Statutes

ee na ciccwadenecdeebevntcuseanoes 2

i an andkewsedeebnetssesenseesinwsaes 7

i Ci iecunneechdUewahdneeedécabaeokes 7

tide dieiinidee chabneuoedusena’ 7

National Labor Relations Act

Section 8(a)(3), 29 U.S.C. § 158(a)(3) .........000.. 11, 13

Railway Labor Act

Section 2, First, 45 U.S.C. § 152, First............. 25

Section 2, Fourth, 45 U.S.C. § 152, Fourth ..10, 11, 12, 13

Section 2, Fifth, 45 U.S.C. § 152, Fifth ............ 11, 12

Section 2, Seventh, 45 U.S.C. § 152, Seventh ....... 18

Section 2, Eleventh, 45 U.S.C. § 152, Eleventh..... passim

ED Wy EF We OD Eve cestidecsecdcodescecas 5, 13

EE ll ee a ar passim

Other Authorities

Burgoon, Mediation Under the Railway Labor Act,

National Mediation Board, The Railway Labor Act at

Fe Fe GE TOPE cw ccccvcccccccccecccces 18, 27

Senate Subcommitte on Labor of the Comm. on Labor

and Public Welfare, 93d Cong., 2d Sess., Legislative

History of the Railway Labor Act, as Amended (1926

RE SRE a npgh rey eas ema Sear ea 12

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM 1986

No.

eo

TRANS WORLD AIRLINES, INC.,

Petitioner,

Vv.

THE INDEPENDENT FEDERATION

OF FLIGHT ATTENDANTS,

Respondent.

—<j>—_

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner Trans World Airlines, Inc. (“TWA”) respectfully

prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment of

the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit entered on

January 14, 1987.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion and judgment of the U.S. Court of Appeals

for the Eighth Circuit, reported at 809 F.2d 483, 124

L.R.R.M. 2364, are reprinted as Appendix A hereto. They

affirm a memorandum and order of the U.S. District

Court for the Western District of Missouri, reported at 640

F. Supp. 1108, 123 L.R.R.M. 2077, which is reprinted as

Appendix C hereto.

2

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the

Eighth Circuit was entered on January 14, 1987. This peti-

tion is filed within ninety (90) days of that date. The juris-

diction of this Court to review the judgment on petition

for certiorari rests upon 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTES INVOLVED

The relevant provisions of the Railway Labor Act

(“RLA” or “the Act”), as amended, (45 U.S.C. §§ 151 ef

seq.) and of the National Labor Relations Act (“NLRA”),

as amended, (29 U.S.C. §§ 151 ef seq.) are reprinted as

Appendix D hereto.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The decision below attributes to the Railway Labor Act

the startling requirement that strike replacements must pay

dues to the union whose strike they opposed, although the

union never reached a new agreement with the carrier, and

is actively pursuing litigation designed to remove the dues-

payers from their jobs.

Trans World Airlines, Inc. (“TWA”) and the Independent

Federation of Flight Attendants (“IFFA” or “the Union”)

were parties to a collective bargaining agreement with a

stated term from August 1, 1981 to July 31, 1984 (“1981-

84 agreement”). Negotiations for a new agreement began in

March 1984 and proceeded through the steps required by

the RLA, including direct negotiation, mediation and the

final 30-day cooling off period, without success. On March

7, 1986, approximately two years after the negotiations be-

gan, IFFA called a strike against TWA. TWA has operated

since the strike with permanent strike replacements and

with flight attendants employed before the strike began

who crossed IFFA picket lines in order to work.

3

In April, IFFA asserted that the working flight attend-

ants were subject to the union security provisions of the

old agreement, i.e., that they must become members of the

Union and maintain that membership, at least to the extent

of paying initiation fees and monthly dues to the Union,

or lose their jobs. TWA sought a declaratory judgment

that it had no obligation to enforce the union membership

or dues check-off provisions of the 1981-84 agreement

against working flight attendants for the benefit of the

Union. On May 17, 1986, when IFFA offered on behalf of

the striking flight attendants to return to work although no

new agreement had been reached, there were less than 200

vacancies to be filled in the total work force of 4,200.

The court below held that “the national labor policy

enunciated by the Railway Labor Act” (Sa)' requires TWA

to compel over 4,000 flight attendants (nearly all of whom

chose to work during the strike) to pay involuntary dues

to IFFA, as a condition of their continued employment,

even though there is no successor collective agreement. The

court also held that TWA must continue to check-off those

dues, and so assist IFFA in their collection—while IFFA is

free to strike, picket, boycott and engage in other self-help

in support of its bargaining demands and, indeed, to seek

the termination of employment of the very persons re-

quired to pay dues.”

l The pages of the Appendices to this petition are referred to as “__ a.

2 On March 5, 1986, IFFA filed an action (No. 86-6030-CV-SJ-6) in

the U.S. District Court for the Western District of Missouri, alleging

violations by TWA of the Railway Labor Act, including a failure to

exert every reasonable effort to make a new agreement. That action is

currently being tried before Judge Howard F. Sachs, who has ruled

that he will consider in each action pending before him relevant facts

established in the related actions. Claiming that its strike was caused

and/or prolonged by carrier violations of the RLA, IFFA seeks, inter

alia, a return to the status quo conditions in effect on and before

March 6, 1986, the reinstatement of all full-term strikers, and the

displacement of the strike replacements who are, pursuant to the

district court order in this action, presently being required to pay

compulsory dues to IFFA as a condition of their employment.

(footnote continued)

The Controlling Facts

The 1981-84 agreement between TWA and IFFA was by its

terms effective from August 1, 1981 until July 31, 1984 and

subject to renewal thereafter for annual periods “unless written

notice of intended change [was] served in accordance with

Section 6. . . of the Railway Labor Act. . . by either party

. . at least 90 days prior to the renewal date. . . .” (78a)

As authorized by RLA Section 2, Eleventh (45 U.S.C. § 152,

Eleventh), which states that a carrier and a union “shall be

permitted . . . to make [such] agreements,” the 1981-84 agree-

ment contained compulsory union membership and dues

check-off provisions. Under Article 24, each employee in a

classification covered by the agreement was, as a condition of

continued employment, required to pay initiation fees and

monthly dues to IFFA. (66-67a)

Article 24 also obligated TWA, “{djuring the tife of [the]

Agreement,” to deduct the compulsory fees and dues from the

pay of covered employees, provided that the emplovee volun-

tarily executed an “assignmen: and authorization for check-of{

of initiation fees and union dues.” (72-73a) As required by

RLA Section 2, Eleventh, each dues check-off authorization

was to be revocable “after the expiration of one (1) year from

[its execution], or upon the termination date of the applicable

collective bargaining agreement whichever occurs

sooner.” (73a)'

In another action, summary judgment on one count of which is

currently before the Eighth Circuit on cross-appeals (Nos. 86-2197 and

2319), IFFA seeks the reinstatement of full-term strikers (and the

displacement of strike replacements) on other theories, assuming that

IFFA’s strike was an economic one, neither caused nor prolonged by

violations of the RLA. The stipulations attached to this petition as

Appendix G were filed in that action, and were before the district court

and the Court of Appeals when the decisions in this case were issued.

3 ‘The dues check-off authorization form tracked the language of

Section 2, Eleventh, which states that a written assignment of member-

ship dues to a labor organization “shall be revocable in writing after

the expiration of one year or upon the termination date of the

applicable collective agreement, whichever occurs sooner.” Compare 4

U.S.C. § 152, Eleventh (b) with 73a.

5

On February 29, 1984, in accordance with Article 28 of the

agreement, and RLA Section 6 (45 U.S.C. § 156), TWA served

on IFFA a notice of intended change, thereby preventing

automatic renewal of the 1981-84 agreement.‘ On April 27,

1984, IFFA served on TWA its notice of intended change.

Neither party proposed that a new agreement, if and when

reached, contain union membership provisions different from

those contained in Article 24 (A-L) of the 1981-84 agreement.

(88a)

Negotiations continued, through the processes of the Rail-

way Labor Act and under the auspices of the National Media-

tion Board (“NMB”), for nearly two years. Throughout that

period, and after the 1981-84 agreement expired by its terms on

July 31, 1984, both parties were required by RLA Section 6, to

maintain in effect the “rates of pay, rules or working condi-

tions” that existed when the notices of intended change were

served, including the union membership requirement and the

dues check-off procedure. 45 U.S.C. § 156.

On February 4, 1986, no new agreement having been

reached, the NMB released the parties from mediation, and

notified them that the 30-day “cooling off” period mandated

by RLA Section 5, First had begun. (89a) At the end of that

period, IFFA began a strike; TWA then put into effect new

rates of pay and work rules. (90a) On March 7, 1986, in order

to continue operating, TWA began hiring permanent replace-

ments for the striking flight attendants. During the course of

the strike, some 2,800 new flight attendants were hired as

permanent strike replacements, and about 1,280 pre-March 7

flight attendants abandoned the strike and crossed IFFA picket

lines to return to work (or never joined the strike). (113-14a)

4 The full text of the duration clause in Article 28 (entitled “Duration

of Agreement”) is:

Except as otherwise specified in this Agreement, this entire Agree-

ment shall be effective August 1, 1981 [and] shall remain in effect

until July 31, 1984, and thereafter shall renew itself without change

for yearly periods unless written notice of intended change is served

in accordance with Section 6, Title | of the Railway Labor Act, as

amended, by either party hereto, at least 90 days prior to the

renewal date in each year. (78a)

6

Commencement of This Action

On April 11, 1986, when IFFA had been on strike for over a

month and no new agreement had been reached, IFFA asserted

that Article 24 of the 1981-84 agreement remained in effect and

was enforceable against flight attendants working during the

strike. (96-98a) By letter dated April 25, 1986, TWA informed

IFFA that it had no remaining contractual or statutory obliga-

tion to enforce Article 24 of the expired agreement against its

employees for the benefit of IFFA. That letter stated, inter

alia:

It is contrary to all reason to suggest that an expired

agreement requires flight attendants, as a condition of

their continued employment by TWA, to pay dues to

support IFFA’s strike, although they have chosen to work.

IFFA’s position, in other words, appears to be that a flight

attendant who is now working, in order to keep working,

must pay dues to the union which is trying to persuade

that flight attendant to stop working. (100a)

On the same day, TWA filed this action.

In June 1986, TWA moved and IFFA cross-moved for

summary judgment. At the time of the cross-motions, TWA’s

workforce included approximately 4,200 flight attendants:

some 2,800 new flight attendants hired as permanent replace-

ments during the strike; approximately 1,200 pre-March 7

flight attendants who never joined the strike or who aban-

doned it to cross IFFA picket lines and return to work; and

about 200 “full-term strikers” rehired after the end of the

strike. (113-15a) IFFA contended that all these employees must

pay union dues or lose their jobs, although no new agreement

containing a union membership requirement or dues check-off

procedure has been made.

The District Court Decision

The district court granted summary judgment in favor of

IFFA.’ It relied principally on language from this Court's

opinion in Brotherhood of Railway & Steamship Clerks v.

Florida East Coast Railway, 384 U.S. 238 (1966) (“FEC”)—

although acknowledging that FEC “may well” have been

“premised on an assumption of an underlying, existing con-

tract” (36a), rather than an agreement whose stated term had

; . .

Characterizing the questions presented as “sufficiently diffi-

cult . . . to justify reasoning in the alternative” (31a), the

district court first concluded that the Railway Labor Act does

not permit a collective bargaining agreement for a fixed te-m.

In the court’s view, therefore, TWA’s obligation to enforce ihe

union membership requirement survived beyond the statutory

status quo period and into the self-help period, even assuming

that the parties had agreed that the requirement would expire

on July 31, 1984. The court expressly declined to follow the

Ninth Circuit holding directly to the contrary. See /nterna-

tional Association of Machinists v. Reeve Aleutian Airways,

469 F.2d 990 (9th Cir. 1972), cert. denied, 411 U.S. 982 (1973).

Alternatively, and with only slightly shifted emphasis, the

district court read the duration provision of the 1981-84 agree-

ment “harmoniously with the Act so as to create continuing

obligations |beyond its stated term], except as changed in

accordance with § 6 or with supplemental agreements refining

the prescribed procedures.” (40a) So viewed, it concluded,

“partial renewal” of all terms of the agreement not referred to

in the Section 6 notices “seemfed] implied.” (40a) Conse-

quently, according to the court, the union membership and

dues check-off provisions remained in effect as part of what it

described as a “mutilated collective bargaining agreement.”

(39a, n.8)

5 The jurisdiction of the district court was invoked pursuant to 45

U.S.C. §§ 151 et seq., and 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331 and 1337. The court had

jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 2201 to grant the declaratory relief

requested.

The Court of Appeals Decision

The Court of Appeals, also relying principally on language

from this Court’s opinion in FEC, affirmed. It too declined to

follow the holding or rationale of JAM v. Reeve Aleutian

Airways, supra, where the Ninth Circuit held that union

membership and dues check-off provisions (even if not the

subject of a Section 6 notice) do not survive into the self-help

period.

The Eighth Circuit declared it “unnecessary to address

whether or not the RLA permits agreements of fixed dura-

tion.” (18a, n.5) Echoing the district court’s concept of “par-

tial” renewal, however, and in the face of contrary readings by

other Circuits, it concluded that

[t]he contract in question is amendable in accordance with

its provisions and the Railway Labor Act. It does not

wholly terminate, either automatically or upon service of

notice of a limited number of intended changes. The

union security provision continues in effect, * * *. (14-

1Sa)

This construction of the duration clause did not flow from a

reading of the language agreed to by the parties, findings as to

their intent in adopting it, or custom and practice in the airline

industry.° Rather, it resulted from the court’s view that “the

underlying statute . . . requires a construction which empha-

sizes continuity in existing relationships between management

and labor, except where either side has requested a change”

6 Such considerations would be appropriate in a System Board of

Adjustment proceeding which would be necessary if the meaning of the

duration clause were thought to be sufficiently ambiguous to require

construction, since interpretation of contract language under the RLA

presents a “minor dispute” not within the jurisdiction of the courts.

See Western Airlines v. IBT, SS U.S.L.W. 3676 (U.S. Apr. 2, 1987).

TWA moved for summary judgment in this case on the premise that

the duration clause clearly provided for contract termination on service

of a Section 6 notice, as established by all applicable Courts of

Appeals decisions; and arbitration, as a minor dispute, to establish its

meaning is unnecessary because it is not ambiguous. (See Trans

International Airlines v. 1BT, 650 F.2d 949, 964 (9h Cir. 1980), cert.

denied, 449 U.S. 1110 (1981); and 0.15, infra.)

9

and that “the core language of FEC . . . requires stable and

continuing agreements between management and labor.” (15a,

12a; emphasis added) Thus, although eschewing reliance on the

district court’s holding that an agreement for a fixed term is

“unlawful under the RLA” (Sa), the Court of Appeals reached

the same result through an unprecedented construction of the

unambiguous duration clause of the 1981-84 agreement.

The court below thus found a dichotomy in national labor

policy as it relates to union security clauses. It acknowledged

that, under the NLRA, “union security provisions do not

survive expiration of a contract even though provisions govern-

ing terms and conditions of employment generally do survive

expiration of an agreement and may not be changed until the

parties have bargained to impasse.” (16a) It held, however,

that, under the RLA, union security provisions do survive. The

court made no mention of the legislative history of Section 2,

Eleventh (see pp. 12-14, infra), which demonstrates beyond

question that Congress intended rights as to union security

provisions to be the same under the RLA as under the NLRA.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The decision below is of “major import to labor rela-

tions in the airline industry” (31a) and to the maintenance

of a consistent national labor policy applicable to all in-

dustries. If its unprecedented result is allowed to stand, it

will (i) put the RLA squarely in opposition to the NLRA

in respect of union security clauses, although Congress

clearly intended the same national labor policy on that

subject to apply to both Acts, and (ii) inject a new and

7 The Court of Appeals emphasized that a union membership require-

ment is an “extremely important condition.” (18a) “Clearly,” it said,

“if the Union is to represent the flight attendants, it needs to collect

dues, and enforcement of the check-off provision is integral to that

process.” (17a) The anomaly of compelling the strike replacements to

pay involuntary dues to finance IFFA’s efforts to displace them was

not addressed. Previously, however, when the court below partially

stayed the district court's order (20-21a), it had seemed to acknowledge

that it was questionable to compel the working flight attendants to

support the Union. That stay was vacated by a majority of a different

panel on October 15, 1986. (26-27a)

10

volatile subject into the collective bargaining process that

will surely increase labor strife in the airline industry (i.e.,

the potential need to propose the elimination of union se-

curity clauses in each contract negotiation).

The present decision is predicated on a misapplication of

this Court's decision in FEC; it is in direct conflict with

the decision of the Ninth Circuit in JAM v. Reeve Aleutian

Airways, and it is contrary to decisions of the First, Sec-

ond and Seventh Circuits dealing with fixed term contracts.

The court’s fundamental misconceptions about the frame-

work for collective bargaining established by the RLA,

moreover, will distort the carefully balanced scheme of

freedom and compulsion embodied in the Act and will en-

gender unnecessary disputes, thereby undermining the bar-

gaining process and destabilizing labor relations throughout

the airline industry.

The court below said nothing about “the general policies

of the RLA” (16a) that justifies its disregard of the specific

policies embodied in RLA Section 2, Eleventh.* The insup-

portable consequence of its decision is judicial sanction of

compulsory union membership, as a condition of employ-

ment, in violation of Section 2, Fourth and Eleventh. It

also has an anomalous, and equally insupportable, result:

it permits a union, during a labor dispute that has reached

the stage of Congressionally-sanctioned economic struggle,

8 The question here ts not whether the RLA generally freezes, beyond

the status quo penod, working conditions embodied in a prior agree-

ment and not the subject of a Section 6 notice. It is whether the Union

may lawfully require TWA to force its employees to support the Umon

while TWA has no new agreement with the Union and, therefore.

nenther TWA nor its employees enjoy the labor peace and stability that

Congress clearly envisioned as the guid pro quo for union security

requirements. That question stands apart from the question of what

supplemental bargaiming obhgation, after the end of the status quo

period, TWA may have had as to other provisions of the 1981-84

agreement that ut did not propose to change.

Judging from its comments and speculation about the ~ ‘parade of

horrors’ ” that might flow from acceptance of TWA's position (16-

18a), the court below seems to have lost sight of this fact. Rather, the

court appears to have believed it necessary to enunciate a “rule”

apphcable to aff condinons of employment, without regard to the

umque nature of umon security requirements or the special treatment

atforded them by Congress.

to continue without restriction the exercise of self-help in

an attempt to achieve its bargaining objectives, while deny-

ing the carrier its right to exercise the most modest form

of peaceful self-help—refusal to assist the union in securing

economic support for the union’s self-help efforts.

Consistent national labor policy requires that, unless and

until a new integrated agreement is reached and labor

peace prevails, a union may collect dues only on a volun-

tary basis and without the assistance of dues check-off and

the threat of discharge. Indeed, as the Ninth Circuit cor-

rectly concluded under the RLA over a decade ago, and as

the National Labor Relations Board and the courts have

uniformly concluded under the NLRA, that is what both

the RLA and the NLRA mandate. The court below, hold-

ing to the contrary, flouted the clear Congressional intent

expressed in RLA Section 2, Fourth and Eleventh.

Review by this Court is, therefore, essential in order to

preserve the integrity of the Act and to secure its uniform

judicial administration. Review is, moreover, necessary to

resolve the divergent understandings among the Circuits of

this Court’s decision in FEC and to make clear that FEC

does not require the continuation of union security provi-

sions contained in an agreement for a stated term, after

the expiration of the status quo period.

I. THE RLA (LIKE THE NLRA) NEITHER REQUIRES

NOR PERMITS COMPULSORY UNION MEMBER-

SHIP AS A CONDITION OF EMP* OYMENT, BE-

YOND THE STATED TERM OF (AND STATUS QUO

PERIOD FOR) THE COLLECTIVE AGREEMENT BY

VIRTUE OF WHICH THAT COMPULSION WAS

LAWFUL.

No aspect of national labor policy has received more careful

treatment by Congress and the courts than union membership

requirements. This is so, in large part, because the compulsory

payment of union dues is an interference with otherwise

protected employee rights to refrain from engaging in con-

certed activity (RLA § 2, Fourth and Fifth; NLRA § 8(a)(3))

12

and, at least under the RLA, is “a significant impingement on

First Amendment rights” (Ellis v. Railway Clerks, 466 U.S.

435, 455 (1984)). Nonetheless, Congress has permitted (and the

courts have upheld) such interference—but only in conjunction

with the voluntary collective bargaining agreement that it is

national labor policy to encourage.

As this Court has stated,

[t]he union shop provision of the Railway Labor Act is

only permissive. Congress has not compelled nor required

carriers and employees to enter into union shop agree-

ments. Railway Employes’ Dep’t v. Hanson, 351 U.S.

225, 231 (1956).

Those permissive union shop provisions were enacted by Sec-

tion 2, Eleventh, which is “substantially the same” as the

NLRA provisions. It was added to the RLA in 1951 in order

“to extend to employees and employers subject to the Railway

Labor Act rights now possessed by employees and employers

under the Taft-Hartley Act in industry generally.” Senate Sub-

comm. on Labor of the Comm. on Labor and Public Welfare,

93d Cong., 2d Sess., Legislative History of the Railway Labor

Act, as Amended (1926 through 1966), at 1090, 1106-07, 1120

(1974).”

Subject to certain statutory conditions, RLA Section 2,

Eleventh permits a carrier and a union to make an “agree-

ment” requiring that all employees shall become members of

the union that represents them. It also permits “agreements”

providing for dues check-off, but only upon written authoriza-

tion by the employee—which must be revocable no later than

9 Before 1951, RLA Section 2, Fourth made it unqualifiedly unlawful

for a carrier to “influence or coerce employees in an effort to induce

them to join or remain members of any labor organizations,” to check

off union dues or assessments, or otherwise to assist a union in the

collection of dues. RLA Section 2, Fifth expressly prohibited individ-

ual agreements with employees requiring them to join (or not to join) a

union. JAM vy. Street, 367 U.S. 740, 750-51 (1961).

The Act was amended to relieve unions of the burden of “ ‘free

riders’—ihose employees who obtained the benefits of the unions’

participation in the machinery of the Act without financially support-

ing the unions.” /d. at 761.

13

“the termination date of the applicable collective agreement.”

(45 U.S.C. § 2, Eleventh (b))

Plainly, Congress contemplated and expressly recognized

that, with respect to involuntary payment of union dues, a

contract termination date would be given effect.'’ Continua-

tion of union membership requirements after the stated term

of an agreement, during the status quo period, while the union

is precluded from striking or engaging in other self-help, is

consistent with the purpose of RLA Sections 5, First and 6 “to

prevent rocking of the boat by either side until the procedures

of the Railway Labor Act [have been] exhausted.” Manning v.

American Airlines, 329 F.2d 32, 35 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 379

U.S. 817 (1964). Once the statutory procedures have been

exhausted, however, and both parties are free to engage in self-

help, there is no warrant in the Act, in national labor policy as

expressed in both the NLRA and the RLA, or in reason and

logic for requiring a carrier to enforce union membership

requirements or dues check-off.

This conclusion is supported by decisions under Section

8(a)(3) of the National Labor Relations Act, which is virtually

identical to RLA § 2, Fourth and Eleventh,'' and which estab-

lishes the rights which were to have been “extend[ed]” to RLA

10 = The 1981-84 agreement reflects that recognition in Article 24(M),

which obligated TWA to deduct initiation fees and monthly member-

ship dues in favor of IFFA only “[djuring the life of this Agreement.”

(72a) The dues check-off form itself expressly permitted revocation of

the check-off authorization by an employee “upon the termination

date” of the agreement. (73a) And, Article 24(B), addressing mainte-

nance of membership by certain employees, refers explicitly to “the

term of this Agreement.” (67a)

11 As this Court recognized, construing the RLA in another context,

“[t]o the extent that there exists today any relevant corpus of ‘national

labor policy,’ it is in the law developed during the more than [50] years

of administering our most comprehensive national labor scheme, the

National Labor Relations Act.” Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen v.

Jacksonville Terminal Co., 394 U.S. 369, 383 (1969). For that reason,

courts have historically referred to the NLRA for assistance in constru-

ing the Railway Labor Act. Surely, such referral is appropriate—if not

mandated—when the pertinent provisions of the RLA were con-

sciously modeled by Congress on parallel provisions of the NLRA, and

their legislative history confirms that Congress intended to extend to

RLA carriers and unions rights parallel to those available to employers

and unions under the NLRA.

14

parties by § 2, Eleventh. Under the NLRA, union membership

provisions may not be enforced after the term of the agreement

that includes them because the statute is “understood to

prohibit such practices unless they are codified in an existing

collective-bargaining agreement.” Southwestern Steel & Sup-

ply, Inc. v. NLRB, 806 F.2d 1111, 1114 (D.C. Cir. 1986)

(emphasis in original).

The reason for this was long ago spelled out by the National

Labor Relations Board, and endorsed by the U.S. Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit:

The acquisition and maintenance of union membership

cannot be made a condition of employment except under

a contract which conforms to the proviso to Section

8(a)(3). So long as such a contract is in force, the parties

may, consistent with its union-security provisions, require

union membership as a condition of employment. How-

ever, upon the termination of a union-security contract,

the union-security provisions become inoperative and no

justification remains for either party to the contract

thereafter to impose union-security requirements. Bethle-

hem Steel Co., 136 N.L.R.B. 1500, 1502 (1962), aff'd in

pertinent part, 320 F.2d 615, 619 (3d Cir. 1963), cert.

denied, 375 U.S. 984 (1964).'°

This is so even though, under the NLRA, terms and conditions

of employment generally do survive the expiration of an

agreement, and “an employer may not unilaterally alter, with-

out bargaining to impasse, a contractual term that is a manda-

12 See also, e.g., Southwestern Steel & Supply, Inc. v. NLRB, supra,

806 F.2d at 1113-114; NLRB v. Haberman Construction Co., 618 F.2d

288, 302-03 (Sth Cir. 1980), mod. on other grounds on reh'g en banc,

641 F.2d 351 (Sth Cir. Apr. 1981); Robbins Door & Sash Co., 260

N.L.R.B. 659 (1982); Peerless Roofing Co., 247 N.L.R.B. 500, 505

(1980), enforced, 641 F.2d 734 (9th Cir. 1981); S. Freedman Electric

Co., 256 N.L.R.B. 432, 443 (1981); Hudson Chemical Co., 258

N.L.R.B. 152, 157 (1981); NLRB v. United Auto Workers, 297 F.2d

272, 274-75 (ist Cir. 1961); Communications Workers of America v.

NLRB, 215 F.2d 835, 838-39 (2d Cir. 1954); NLRB v. United Auto

Workers, 194 F.2d 698, 701-02 (7th Cir. 1952); cf. Anheuser-Busch,

Inc. v. Teamsters, Local 822, 584 F.2d 41, 43 (4th Cir. 1978).

15

tory subject of bargaining.” NLRB v. Haberman Construction

Co., supra, 618 F.2d at 302; Carpenter Sprinkler Co. v. NLRB,

605 F.2d 60, 64-65 (2d Cir. 1979); AFTRA v. NLRB, 395 F.2d

622, 624 (D.C. Cir. 1968).

The opinion below includes only a passing reference to RLA

§ 2, Eleventh (15a) and makes no mention whatsoever of its

legislative history. The court did acknowledge one of the many

Circuit Court decisions recognizing that, under the NLRA,

“union security provisions do not survive expiration of a

contract. . . .” (16a) In a strange distortion of this Court’s

reliance in FEC on the “public service nature” of RLA indus-

tries to justify limited departure from existing contracts, how-

ever, the court below concluded that it also compelled

continued enforcement of union security provisions after the

stated term of a contract. And the difference in treatment

under the RLA and NLRA was not explained by reference to

the duration clause of the contract, but by saying that “the

policies enunciated by the Court in FEC rise above any

interpretation . . . of a collective bargaining agreement.” (16a)

(But see pp. 18-19 and 24-26, infra.)' |

For fully forty years, with no apparent detriment to national

labor policy or industrial peace, unions subject to the NLRA

have been carrying out their representational duties during

a hiatus between collective agreements without compulsory

union dues and without the assistance of dues check-off. And,

at least under the First, Second, Seventh and Ninth Circuits’

view of national labor policy (see pp. 19-24, infra), unions in

13 As further justification for applying its “special rule” to umon

membership requirements, and illustrative of the court's misapprehen-

sion of the issues before it, the Eighth Circuit said: “Clearly, if the

Union is to represent the flight attendants, it needs to collect dues, and

enforcement of the check-off provision is integral to that process.”

(17a) No reason is given as to why this is any more “clear” under the

RLA than under the NLRA.

In any event, the court's statement is ironic at best, given that the

effect of its decision is to require working flight attendants to finance

litigation aimed at displacing them from their jobs. (See n.2, supra.)

Even more important, in these particular circumstances, i is an

inversion of legislative intent, for it effectively permits the strikers

(who, judging from the Union's contentions below concerning its

financial condition, are not paying dues (42a)) to be “free-riders.” (See

n.9, supra.)

16

the airline industry have long been required to do the same if—

having voluntarily entered into an agreement for a fixed

term—they choose to pursue a strategy of self-help in support

of their demands for a new agreement, rather than reaching

agreement through the statutory procedures.

Implicit within the statutory scheme is the right of both

parties to a labor dispute, after the statutory procedures have

been exhausted, to “employ the full range of whatever peaceful

economic power they can muster so long as its use conflicts

with no other obligation imposed by federal law.”'* The Act

does not require the employer to continue to assist the union in

securing economic support for its exercise of se!f-help.

Il. THE DECISION BELOW—IN DIRECT CONFLICT

WITH THE HOLDING AND RATIONALE OF THE

NINTH CIRCUIT IN REEVE ALEUTIAN AND AT

ODDS WITH DECISIONS OF THE FIRST, SECOND

AND SEVENTH CIRCUITS—DEMONSTRATES A

COMPELLING NEED FOR GUIDANCE FROM THIS

COURT CONCERNING THE PROPER APPLICA-

TION OF ITS DECISION IN FLORIDA EAST COAST

RAILWAY.

Presented with facts and contract language’ identical in all

material respects, the Eighth Circuit has reached a conclusion

14 Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen v. Jacksonville Terminal Co..

supra, 394 U.S. at 392.

1S Duration provisions identical in all material respects have been read

by the Second, Seventh and Ninth Circuits as unambiguously creating

not a continuing and merely “amendable” agreement (or a “partially

renewable” agreement), but one that expires by its terms after service

of a Section 6 notice of intended change. Manning v. American

Airlines, 329 F.2d 32, 33 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 397 U.S. 817 (1964);

FEIA v. Eastern Airlines, 359 F.2d 303 (2d Cir. 1966); IAM v. Reeve

Aleutian Airways, supra, 469 F.2d at 993, ALPA v. United Airlines,

802 F.2d 886, 891 (7th Cir. 1986). Indeed, both the Second and Ninth

Circuits had so ruled at the time the duration provision was first agreed

to by TWA and IFFA in 1978. These decisions of three other Circuit

Courts were dismissed by the Eighth Circuit (10-11a)—with no appar-

(footnote continued )

17

flatly contradictory to that of the Ninth Circuit concerning a

carrier’s obligation, after the end of the statutory status quo

period, to continue in effect union membership and dues

check-off provisions embodied in an agreement for a stated

term.

The conflict has its genesis in divergent understandings of

this Court’s decision in FEC, which involved particular Rules

contained in railroad agreements conceded by all parties to

remain in effect after the status quo period ended. The Ninth

Circuit properly concluded that FEC had no application to

union security provisions in an agreement for a fixed term. 469

F.2d at 993. Misconceiving both the legal premises of FEC and

the controlling facts of this case, the court below misread FEC

as requiring it to construe the 1981-84 agreement between TWA

and IFFA as “continuing” beyond its stated term (12a) and,

therefore, obligating TWA to enforce the union membership

requirement and to continue the dues check-off procedure

after the end of the status quo period.

Review is required to resolve this conflict and to secure the

uniformity of judicial administration that this Court has re-

peatedly declared is essential to national labor policy. Absent

review, carriers and unions can hardly be expected to divine

their respective rights and obligations under a Supreme Court

authority from which lower court judges have drawn such

different conclusions.

‘

ent consideration of their bearing on the parties’ intent in adopting the

duration language of the 1981-84 agreement, or custom and practice in

the airline industry.

The duration clause of the indefinite agreement found by the

Seventh Circuit to be merely “amendable” in EEOC v. United Air

Lines, 755 F.2d 94 (7th Cir. 1985), was substantially different trom that

in the TWA/IFFA agreement. The Seventh Circuit recognized that

distinction when it held that the [AM agreement before it was materi-

ally different from the [AM-Reeve Aleutian agreement found by the

Ninth Circuit to be terminable by service of a Section 6 notice. 755

F.2d at 99 (“There is a difference between providing that a contract

shall lapse at a given date and that after that date it shall be subject to

amendment in accordance with specified procedures.”).

A. FEC: The Act Permits Limited Departures From an

Existing Agreement In Order to Preserve a Carrier's

Right to Self-Help.

In FEC, the Court did not consider whether union member-

ship provisions in an agreement for a fixed term remained in

effect during the self-help period. Rather, it considered whether

a railroad, during a strike, could suspend Rules of its indefinite

term labor contract (which were admittedly still in effect in

accordance with their terms) and were, in fact, the subject of a

pending Section 6 notice as to which the statutory mediation

and status quo procedures had not been exhausted."

Before this Court, the railroad argued that its obligation to

comply with the existing agreements was suspended during the

strike and, therefore, that wholesale depertures from those

agreements were permitted. The unions, supported by the

United States, contended that RLA Section 2, Seventh required

the carrier to operate in strict compliance with the existing

agreements until exhaustion of the statutory procedures as to

every proposed change, and that the unions’ resort to self-help

did not release the railroad from the letter of its statutory

The Court, with a single dissent by Justice White, rejected

both positions and affirmed the Court of Appeals. Emphasiz-

ing that carriers have an affirmative duty to make “reasonable

efforts to maintain the public service at all times” (384 U.S. at

245), it said that, if exhaustion of the statutory procedures

were required as to every strike-related departure from each

rule of existing agreements, “[t}he practical effect . . . would

be to bring the railroad operations to a grinding halt” and

“both the carrier's right of self-help and its duty to operate, if

reasonably possible, might well be academic . . .” (id. at 246).

This Court, in other words, read the RLA to permit departures

from an existing agreement of indefinite duration, in order to

16 ~~ Railroad collective bargaiming agreements typically consist of sepa-

rate and independent “Rules” and provide that cach Rule may be

changed only after service of a Section 6 notice as to that particular

rule. See Burgoon, Medsation Under the Railway Labor Act, National

Mediation Board, The Railway Labor Act at Fifty, 72 (U.S.G.PO.

1w76)

vinaicate the carrier's right of self-help and to permit the

carrier to continue the public service required of it. The Court

said nothing about continuation of provisions in an agreement

for a fixed term, after the term had lapsed. (See EEOC v.

United Air Lines, 755 F.2d at 99 (7th Cir. 1985) and n.15,

supra.)

B. The Conflict Among the Circuits: Divergent Inter

pretations of FEC.

Four Circuit Courts of Appeals have spoken on FEC: the

Ninth Circuit in JAM v. Reeve Aleutian Airways, supra, 469

F.2d 990; the First Circuit in JAM v. Northeast Airlines, 536

F.2d 975 (ist Cir), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 961 (1976); the

Seventh Circuit in EEOC v. United Air Lines, 755 F.2d 94 (7th

Cir. 1985) and in ALPA v. United Air Lines, 802 F.2d 886 (7th

Cir. 1986); and most recently the court below. The lack of

uniformity reflected in these decisions, alone, is sufficient

justification for granting the writ.

1. In JAM vy. Reeve Aleutian Airways, as here, a Section 6

notice had been served; the parties had exhausted the media-

tion and status quo procedures of the RLA without reaching a

new agreement; and the union had struck the carrier. 469 F.2d

at 991-92. There, too, neither party had proposed a change in

the union security provisions of the agreement. Indeed, only

the union had served a Section 6 notice; the carrier “gave no

notice of any intended change” in the agreement. /d. at 991.

When the union discontinued the strike, it requested the

carrier to honor the union security provisions of the agree-

ment; the carrier refused. The union then brought suit for a

declaratory judgment “that the agreement continued in effect

by operation of the Act save as to the provisions which had

been subjected to the Act's procedures.” /d. at 992.

The duration clause before the Ninth Circuit in Reeve

Aleutian was, in all its essentials, the same as that before the

court below:

Reeve Aleutian 1AM Contract

This agreement shall be-

come effective November |,

1966, and shall continue in

full force and effect until

April 1, 1968, and shall

renew itself without change

TWA IFFA Contract

Except as otherwise pro-

vided in this Agreement,

this entire Agreement shall

be effective August 1, 1981

[and] shall remain in effect

until July 31, 1984, and

until each succeeding April thereafter shall renew itself

Ist thereafter, without change for yearly

unless periods

written notice of intended unless

change is served in accord- written notice of intended

ance with Section 6. . . by change is served in accord-

either party hereto at least ance with Section 6. . . by

sixty (60) days prior to either party hereto, at least

April Ist in any year after 90 days prior to the renewal

1967. (469 F.2d at 991) date in each year. (78a)

The district court had held, as a matter of law, that the

collective agreement “expired by its own terms . . . following

. . . notice of proposed modifications in the existing agree-

ment, although [the carrier] was obliged by the [RLA] to

maintain the status quo until the statutory mediation provi-

sions had been exhausted.” 330 F. Supp. 332, 335 (D. Alaska

1971). It also held that the RLA did not operate to extend the

term of the contract:

While certain employee rights, such as pension and retire-

ment benefits may become vested, and hence may retain

their vitality after the expiration of the union contract

which created them, union security and dues check off

provisions are matters of contract between the union and

the employer and consequently do not survive the termi-

nation of the contract. Id. at 335 (emphasis added).

On appeal, the [AM contended that, although the status quo

period had ended, the expired agreement “continued in effect

by operation of the Act” except as to those provisions that had

21

been the subject of a Section 6 notice of proposed change. 469

F.2d at 992. The Ninth Circuit, however, agreed with the

district court's conclusion that the carrier had no obligation,

after the status quo period ended, to enforce the union mem-

bership or dues check-off provisions:

“There is nothing in the Railway Labor Act which extends

a contract beyond its termination date. 45 U.S.C.A. § 156

(1954) merely prohibits any unilateral changes in pay,

rules, and working conditions until the statutory concilia-

tion procedures have been exhausted and the 30-day

mandatory waiting period has expired. . . .

The terms of the agreement called for its termination

on the first day of April following notice by either party

of intended changes. It is irrelevant that [the carrier]

never served notice of any intended changes, and it is of

no consequence that only portions of the contract were

subject to negotiation. The contract expired by its own

terms on April 1, 1968. The only effect of the Railway

Labor Act was to prevent the defendant from making any

unilateral changes in pay, rules, and working conditions

until remedies under the Act had been exhausted... .”

469 F.2d at 992-93 (emphasis in original).

17 The Second Circuit reached essentially the same conclusion in Flight

Engineers International Association +. Eastern Air Lines, 489 F.2d

303, 310 (2d Cir. 1966), where the union sought an order requiring the

carrer to submit to a board of adjustment the claim that replacement

of strikers had violated the parties’ agreement. Agreeing with the

carrier, the Court of Appeals held that after the agreement had expired

by its terms, and the status quo period had ended, there was no

contract to be interpreted and no obligation on the carrier's part to

submit disputes to a System Board.

See also Manning +. American Airlines, supra, 329 2d at 34-35

(effect of Section 6 is to extend only for a “limited period,” /.¢., until

the end of the status quo period, dues check-off agreement that had

“admittedly expired”); ALPA v. Pan American World Airways, 765

F.2d 377, 382 (2d Cir. 1985) (holding that “nothing in the Act, or the

case law interpreting | . . . prevents parties from setting, by freely

negotiated agreement,” the duration of concessions on which they may

reach agreement).

22

With respect to the IAM’s reliance on FEC, the Ninth

Circuit found that decision to have no application to the case

before it because

[FEC] dealt with a contract that had no termination date

and that continued in force until a new contract had been

had

proposed for change or bargained over.” (11a) It said, however,

that it would “not follow the Reeve rationale in this case.”

(3a)

Instead, the Eighth Circuit misapplied to the union security

provisions of the “similar, but not identical contract” the

“special rules” it purported to find in FEC:

18 See also IAM». Aloha Airlines, 776 F.2d 812, 816 (9th Cir, 1985),

1AM +. Qantas Airways, 122 L.R.R.M. 2263 (N.D. Cal. 1985).

19 — After saying that the “core language” of FEC “requ sed” continuity

that it “agree(d] with the district court's construction of the contract ~

(1Sa) That construction rests on a single word (taken out of context)

trom which the court speculated that “ ‘partial renewal seems implied

_ ”” (i4a; emphasis added) Not even addrewed is TWA's explana-

tron that use of the phrase “entire Agreement” was occasioned by the

introduction to the duration provision “Except as otherwise specified

in this Agreement... .~ (78a) (footnote continaed )

23

if a working condition has not been subject to the proce-

dures of the Act, it may not be changed even after

expiration of the status quo period unless truly necessary

for the continued operation of the airline. (16a)

This statement of the “rule” ignored the central fact of FEC,

that the contract there was not for a stated term, and that each

Rule was treated, in the duration clause, as though it were a

separate indefinite contract requiring specific Section 6 notice

of change. It was because the contracts in FEC were unlimited

in duration that the Ninth Circuit in Reeve Aleutian refused to

apply a “rule” such as that announced by the Eighth Circuit to

a contract with a stated term.

3. The First Circuit, citing Reeve Aleutian approvingly, has

agreed with the Ninth Circuit. JAM v. Northeast Airlines,

supra, 536 F.2d at 978 n.2 (“In general, the terms of a Railway

Labor Act collective bargaining agreement are not controlling

after the collective bargaining agreement and any subsequent

status quo period expire.”).

4. The Seventh Circuit, like the Ninth and First Circuits, has

read FEC as “arlising] in a situation where the collective

bargaining agreement was still in effect. . .” and rejected as

“tenuous” a union's reliance on FEC “in a case in which the

collective bargaining agreement had already expired prior to

the strike... .” ALPA v. United Air Lines, supra, 802 F.2d a

898-99, 910.” Suggesting, however, yet a third possible

Apparently recognizing that the language of Article 28 hardly

supports its construction, the court below resorted to extrimsx “ev

dence” of the parties’ intent. (Bur see 0.6, supra.) Under unanimous

authority of other Circuits (n.15, supra), however, the meaning of

Article 28 is clear: all that was required to prevent renewal of the

agreement, was “written notice of intended change.” (78a)

20 = Dicta im an earlier Seventh Circuit decision under the federal Age

Discrimination in Employment Act (29 U.S.C. $6 621 ef seq.) suggests

a differem view of FEC. EBOC v. United Air Lines, 755 F.2d 04, &

(7th Cis. 1985). The panel there, however, assumed, without having to

decide, that Reeve Alewtian was correct, finding the duration clause of

24

conclusion that might be derived from FEC—at least where

some condition of employment other than union security is at

issue and, therefore, RLA § 2, Eleventh does not govern—the

Seventh Circuit noted:

Although [FEC] arose in a situation where the collective

bargaining agreement was still in effect, we see no reason

to depart totally in the post-contract period from its

holding that some showing of a reasonable business justi-

fication is required before a court will allow an employer

to implement self-help measures which, whether inten-

tional or not on their face, undercut the union's ability

protected by the RLA to function as an effective repre-

sentative for its members. /d. at 898-99.

C. The Court Below Misapplied FEC.

in FEC, the Court upheld the authority of the federal courts

to permit a carrier, during a strike, to depart from the terms of

an existing agreement to the extent “reasonably necessary” to

allow the carrier to maintain the public service. 384 U.S. at

248. In that context, the Court's eloquent lecture about the

“spirit” of the Act is not surprising. Because the Court inter

preted the Act as permitting departures from an otherwise

enforceable agreement when the carrier's right of self-help and

the public service were at stake, it emphasized that the carrier

would in any event not be permitted to deviate at will from the

spirit of the Act—which is that existing agreements be hon-

ored. Everything the Court said, however, was premised on the

existence of agreements that all parties conceded were in effect,

in accordance with their terms, during the strike.”

the agreement before it to be materially different from that before the

Nieth Circe m Reeve. (See 0.15, supre.)

2! = The FEC dectssons contain no fewer than a dozen references to the

“cxssting agreements” between the parties. (384 US. 238, 241, 242,

24). 648 F 2d 682, 684, 685, 686, 252 F. Supp. 586, 587, 589) And the

briefs sulbmetted to the Court by all partes repeatedly emphauzed that

those agreements were indefimme and. therefore. m effect when the

(footnote continued)

25

The court below misread FEC by ignoring what this Court

did (and did nor) decide there and by focusing instead on what

it said about its reasons for permitting only limited deviations

from an existing and otherwise enforceable contract. This

Court did not say that labor contracts could not expire by

agreement, or that the spirit of the Act requires the honoring

of expired agreements. Indeed, nothing in the Court's refer-

ence to the “spirit” of the Act suggests, as the court below

concluded, that the Act requires “continuing agreements be-

tween management and labor.” (12a)

Speaking of the unexpired contracts from which the carrier

had been permitted to deviate, this Court said that “[w]ere a

strike to be the occasion for a carrier to tear up and annul, so

to speak, the entire collective bargaining agreement, labor-

management relations would revert to the jungle.” 384 U.S. at

247. The Court did not say that if a contract were allowed to

expire by agreement there would be a reversion to the jungle.

In fact, although carrier and employees are under the continu-

ing obligation of RLA Section 2, First to make every reason-

able effort to reach agreement, the Act does not regard their

failure to do so as a prohibited “jungle” condition. To the

contrary, as the Court fully acknowledged in FEC, the Act

affords the parties the right to self-help if they have not

reached agreement after exhausting the processes of the Act.

384 U.S. at 244.

railroad made the changes before the Court. See, e.g., Consolidated

Brief of Railway Labor Executives Association, 15; Reply Brief of

Association of American Railroads (“AAR”), 2; Brief for the United

States, 24 n.17; Brief of AAR, 26; Brief for the United States, 38-39

n.27; Brief for the United States as Respondent in No. 783, 4; Reply

Brief of AAR, 29; Brief of AAR, 26, reprinted in 98 U.S. Supreme

Court Records and Briefs (Oct. Term 1965).

Toward the end of its opinion, the Eighth Circuit apparently ac-

knowledged that the agreements before the Court in FEC had not

expired by their terms. (18a) At no other point, however, did the

Eighth Circuit make any reference to that critical factual distinction.

Instead, it relied on the “eloquent” language of FEC, which related to

unexpired agreements, to hold that FEC “requires” that an agreement

with a stated term be construed to prevent its expiration.

26

This Court simply had no occasion in FEC to address

whether carriers and unions may, consistent with the policies of

the Act, negotiate a termination date for their agreements,

because the parties there had not in fact done so. Nor was it

called upon to consider whether the spirit of the Act requires

that collective agreements be construed as “continuing” (12a)

even if they are for a specified term; no such agreement was

before the Court. Even more important, given that only union

membership and dues check-off are at issue here, the Court

had no occasion to speak—and did not speak—on the policies

expressed in RLA Section 2, Eleventh or their application to a

contract for a stated term.

In the particular circumstances presented here, it is incorrect

to take out of context, and “emphasize,” as did the court

below, talk of “tear[ing] up . . . the entire collective bargain-

ing agreement” and “rever[sion] to the jungle.” (13a) Enforce-

ment of Article 28 of the agreement between TWA and

IFFA—as written—would no more remit the parties “to the

jungle” than does the NLRA when it treats union security and

dues check-off provisions as solely a product of voluntary

agreement and, therefore, extinct when a contract for a fixed

term expires.

il. REVIEW SHOULD BE GRANTED TO DISPEL THE

UNCERTAINTY AND INSTABILITY ENGENDERED

BY THE DECISION BELOW THROUGHOUT THE

AIRLINE INDUSTRY.

The court below took “judicial notice that labor relations in

the airline industry have entered a different era, one of strife

and turmoil .. . .” (15a) If its decision is allowed to stand,

that statement may well be a self-fulfilling prophecy. Even if

there were no conflict in the Circuits, therefore, review of the

“special rule” applied by te court below to union security

provisions would be warranted because of its potentially broad

and destabilizing effects on labor relations in the airline indus-

try.

27

No matter how salutary the Eighth Circuit believed its so

recently announced rule to be as a general matter, extending

that theory to union membership and dues check-off provi-

sions does not accord with the realities of the bargaining

process or with custom and practice in the airline industry. It is

also clearly at cross-purposes with the Act—which was in-

tended as a mechanism for resolving disputes, not creating

them.

Unlike carriers in the railway industry, air carriers typically

“negotiate complete contracts which expire in their entirety at

an agreed-upon date.”* Common are duration clauses, like

that in the 1981-84 agreement between TWA and IFFA, and

that before the Ninth Circuit in Reeve Aleutian, which specify

a fixed term for the complete contract and provide for auto-

matic renewal for yearly periods, “unless” either party serves a

notice of intended change before the end of the stated term.”

Until now, a carrier has been able to agree to union security

and dues check-off provisions, as part of such an integrated

labor contract, with the knowledge that they would be coexist-

ent with the labor peace that the contract (and any subsequent

Status quo period imposed by statute) represent. It has not

been necessary, when a Section 6 notice of intended change is

served, to inject the sensitive and potentially inflammatory

issues Of union security and dues check-off into the negotia-

tions, by proposing to delete those provisions, if they would be

acceptable to the carrier in a new integrated agreement. Nor

has it been necessary to clutter the bargaining table, or to

divert the parties’ resources and energies from the genuine

issues in the negotiations, by engaging in futile bargaining over

the conditions that will govern in the event of a strike and the

hiring of strike replacements.

22 Burgoon, Mediation Under the Railway Labor Act, National Media-

tion Board, The Railway Labor Act at Fifty, 94 (U.S.G.P.O. 1976).

23 See, e.g., Manning v. American Airlines, supra, 329 F.2d at 33:

FEIA v. Eastern Airlines, supra, 359 F.2d at 310; IAM v. Reeve

Aleutian Airways, supra, 469 F.2d at 993; IAM y. Aloha Airlines,

supra, 776 F.2d at 813; ALPA v. United Air Lines, supra, 802 F.2d at

891.

28

Such a narrowing of the areas of controversy serves to

facilitate voluntary adjustment of disputes and, therefore,

effectuates the purposes of the Act. it does not reflect, and

cannot reasonably be viewed as evidencing, a willingness by the

carrier to accept union security provisions outside the context

of an overall agreement. The Eighth Circuit's decision fails to

recognize these realities.

The effect of the decision below will be to require every

carrier, at the beginning of negotiations, to propose the elimi-

nation of compulsory union membership and dues check-off

provisions. The full implications of such a rule, in an endeavor

where atmospherics are as vital as substance, are difficult to

predict. A proposal to eliminate union security requirements

may inflame the negotiations; it may be used by either party to

justify a failure to reach agreement on other subjects; it may

produce a strike that would not otherwise have occurred.

Plainly, however, requiring such a proposal—as a prerequi-

site to the expiration of union membership requirements—

would at the very least broaden the area of conflict between the

parties, unnecessarily inject sensitive issues into the negotia-

tions, and taint the bargaining atmosphere that the Act seeks

to create. Thus, the “special rule” announced by the Eighth

Circuit to foster collective bargaining would, as applied to

union security provisions, reduce the likelihood of voluntary

adjustment of disputes, thereby frustrating the purposes of the

Act.

CONCLUSION

Th decision below is erroneous as a matter of law and

counterproductive as a matter of industrial relations. If al-

lowed to stand, in direct conflict with decisions of the

Nin.h Circuit and at odds with decisions of the First, Sec-

ond and Seventh Circuits, it will contravene the Congres-

sionally established limitations on union security agreements

expressed in RLA Section 2, Eleventh, undermine the fed-

eral interest in a uniform national labor policy and funda-

mentally disturb the negotiating atmosphere that the Act

29

seeks to create. It will also mean that present TWA em-

ployees will be required to continue to support, against

their will, an organization litigating to remove them from

their jobs, and using their dues for that purpose.

The court below read FEC as imposing “special rules”

against change, when that case actually announces a special

rule for change in existing contracts of indefinite duration,

and has no relevance to contracts that specifically provide

for a fixed term duration.“ This Court has never decided

that, under the RLA, any condition of employment, partic-

ulafly union security clauses, continues in an indefinite sta-

tus quo period after the expiration of the statutory status

quo period. And, in this era of deregulation, review of the

unprecedented decision of the Court below is necessary to

consider whether carriers are to be subjected to those addi-

tional burdens as they struggle to survive in a fiercely com-

petitive economic environment.

This petition for a writ of certiorari to review the deci-

sion of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit

should, therefore, be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

MURRAY GARTNER

PAUL E. DONNELLY

MARK A. BUCKSTEIN

MICHAEL A. KATZ

Attorneys for Petitioner

CAROLE O’BLENES

KEVIN CHAPMAN

Of Counsel

April 13, 1987

24 Questions about the meaning of FEC have also been raised in

Burlington Northern Railroad Co. v. Brotherhood of Maintenance of

Way Employees, No. 86-39, now pending before this Court, but they

should more properly be addressed in this case.

APPENDICES

%

APPENDIX A

Opinion and Judgment of the U.S. Court of Appeals

for the Eighth Circuit

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

Emergency Motion for Stay of Judgment from the United

States District Court for the Western District of Missouri.

Submitted: October 15, 1986

Filed: January 14, 1987

Before Lay, Chief Judge, BRIGHT, Senior Circuit Judge,

2a

On cross motions for summary judgment, the district court’

granted summary judgment in favor of the Union and required

TWA to implement the dues check-off and union security

provisions of the collective bargaining agreement. TWA on this

appeal contends that the agreement has expired and that

therefore it need not implement those provisions of the agree-

ment. For the reasons set forth below, we affirm the summary

judgment in favor of the Union.

1. BACKGROUND

TWA and the Union entered into a collective bargaining

agreement containing the following duration clause:

Except as otherwise specified in this Agreement, this

entire Agreement shall be effective August |, 1981 [and]

shall remain in effect until July 31, 1984 and thereafter

shall renew itself without change for yearly periods unless

written notice of intended change is served in accordance

with Section 6, Title 1 of the Railway Labor Act, as

amended, by either party hereto, at least 90 days prior to

the renewal date in each year.

In 1984, notices of intended change were exchanged by the

parties pursuant to section 6 of the Railway Labor Act (RLA),

45 U.S.C. § 156,’ and the parties proceeded, under the auspic-

es of the National Mediation Board (NMB), through the Act's

mandatory statutory negotiation and mediation procedures. In

January of 1986, TWA refused the NMB's offer pursuant to

! The Honorable Howard J. Sachs, United States District Judge for

the Western District of Missouri.

2 ~—s Section 156 reads:

Carriers and representatives of the employees shall give at least thirty

days’ written notice of an intended change in agreements affecting

rates of pay, rules, or working conditions, and the time and place for

the beginning of conference between the representatives of the parties

imterestec in such intended changes shall be agreed upon within ten

days after the recerpt of said notice, and said tome shall be within the

thirty days provided in the notice In every case where such notice of

3a

section 5 of the RLA, 45 U.S.C. § 155, of binding arbitration.

The parties were released by the NMB and allowed to engage in

self help as of March 7, 1986. On that date, the Union struck

the airline and TWA implemented new working conditions,

including abrogation of the union security and dues check-off

provisions contained in Article 24(A-L) of the agreement.

These provisions were not the subject of a section 6 notice in

which TWA sought changes in the collective bargaining agree-

ment.

On April 17, 1986, TWA filed this action in the district court

seeking declaration that the collective bargaining agreement

had expired and that TWA therefore was not obligated to

observe the union security or related provisions, whether sub-

ject to negotiations or not. On May 17, 1986, the Union ended

the strike and the flight attendants offered to return to work.

Thereafter, on August 1, 1986, the district court ruled on

cross motions for summary judgment determining that TWA is

required to implement the dues check-off and union member-

ship provisions of Article 24 of the collective bargaining

agreement. In its decision, the district court held that the

collective bargaining agreement did not by its terms expire as

to those provisions which had not been subject to reopening by

the parties and that the provisions of the RLA prohibit a

carrier from making a unilateral change in conditions which

were not the subject of a section 6 notice. The district court

rested its decision om both grounds.

mtended change has been given, or conferences are bemg held with

reference thereto, of the services of the Mediation Board have been

requested by either party, or said Board has proffered its serv wes, rates

of pay, rules, or working conditions shall not be altered by the carrier

until the controversy has been finally acted upon, as required by

section 155 of this tithe (45 U.S.C. § 195), by the Mediation Board,

unless a period of ten days has elapsed after termination of confer

ences without request for or proffer of the services of the Mediation

Board

4ssUS.C. 1%

2

z

relationship as to any terms not in dispute. Thus, because the

union security clauses were never sought to be changed by

TWA in its section 6 notice to the Union, those clauses not in

issue, including the union security clause, continue to be

$ ¢

As further ground for its judgment, the district court

strued the durational language that “this entire agreement

* * * shall renew itself without change for yearly periods” to

mean that except for those contract terms subject to reopening,

al! other provisions of the contract remain in effect and control

the rights and obligations of the parties.

TWA brings this appeal, arguing that the collective bargain-

ing agreement has by its own terms expired and that the RLA

does not prohibit the parties from fixing a term for expiration

of the agreement after which time al! provisions of the pre-

are terminated.

TWA, in appealing the adverse judgment, also sought a stay

of enforcement of the union security provisions pending ap-

peal. We granted a partial stay on August 26, 1986, but upon

submission of the case to the panel, on October 15, 1986, the

majority of the panel dissolved that stay. We turn to the merits

of the appeal.

Il. DISCUSSION

The district court stated the issues in the case as follows: (1)

Did Article 28, the duration provision of the contract, cause

parts of the contract that were not subject to bargaining to

continue in effect, or did notice of certain imtended changes

trigger a total termination of the agreement? (2) Assuming the

A. Duration Clause

and, in light of pertinent decisions bearing on the issues.

The RLA was enacted with a number of purposes in mind:

(1) To avoid any interruption to commerce or to the

operation of any carrier engaged therein; (2) to forbid any

limitation upon freedom of association among employees

or any denial, as a condition of employment or otherwise,

of the right of employees to joi a labor organization, (3)

to provide for the complete independence of carriers and

of employees in the matter of self-organization to carry

out the purposes of this chapter; (4) to provide for the

prompt and orderly settlement of all disputes concerning

rates of pay, rules, or working conditions; (5) to provide

for the prompt and orderly settlement of all disputes

growing out of grievances or out of the interpretation or

application of agreements covering rates of pay, rules, or

45 U.S.C. § 1Sla.

To enable the parties to a collective bargaiming agreement to

attain these goals, Congress has established mandatory, and

“almost interminable,” procedures which must be followed in

6a

settling disputes such as exist here. Detroit & Toledo Shore

Line RR. v. United Transp. Union, 996 US. 142, 149 (1969).

Any party secking to make changes in rates of pay, rules or

working conditions of employees must file a notice pursuant to

section 6 of the RLA, 45 U.S.C. § 156, and confer with the

other party. 42 U.S.C. § 152, Sewenth. If the parties are unable

to resolve thew dispute, they may invoke the services of the

NMB or the Board may, in an emergency situation, proffer its

services. 45 U.S.C. § 155, First. If the NMB is unsuccessful in

helping to resolve the dispute, the Board must attempt to

mduce the parties to agree to arbitration. Said arbitration is

not, however, mandatory. /d. If the dispute is not resolved

under these provisions of the Act and the NMB finds the

contact the President of the United States who may set up an

Emergency Board to evaluate the dispute and report to him. 45

U.S.C. § 160. Throughout this period, the parties may not

alter the status quo and no change may be made in those rates

of pay, working conditions or rules which are the subject of the

dispute. It ss only after all statutory procedures have been

exhausted that the parties may engage in self help.

Congress, m enacting these detailed procedures, sought “to

encourage collective bargaming by railroads and their employ-

ees m order to prevent. if possible, wasteful arikes and

mtcrruptions of mterstate commerce.” Detrow & Toledo Shore

Line R.R.. 996 U.S. at 148 (footnote omitted). This detailed

statutory scheme has bargaining as its major thrust. At the

same time, « secks to avoid amy interruption in commerce.

Brotherhood of Railroad Traimmen + Jacksonville Terminal

Co., 3994 U.S. 369, 377-78 (1969). The Act attempts to provide

the parties with every opportunity to resolve their labor dis-

putes through bargaming and negotiation.

The Supreme Court recognized the central role of bargaining

and the continuly of the relatonshup betecen management

and labor in industries subject to the RLA, in holding that

where terms in a collective bargaming agreement have not been

the subject of dispute. those terms continuc to bind the parties.

7a

Brotherhood of Railway & Steamship Clerks, Freight Han-

dlers, Express & Station Employees, AFL-CIO v. Florida East

Coast Ry. Co., 384 U.S. 238 (1966) (FEC). In FEC, during a

strike Over a wage increase and notice requirements prior to

layoffs and job abolition, and after complying with the RLA’s

procedural requirements and entering the self help stage, the

railroad resumed operations with a substantially different la-

bor force with whose members it made individual employment

agreements that were substantially different from the existing

collective bargaining agreements. A number of the changes

made by the railroad had not been the subject of a section 6

notice, nor had they been subject to RLA procedures. The

Supreme Court held that given the public service nature of the

business, id. at 244, and its responsibility to the public to

maintain the public service at all times, id. at 245, the railroad

could

make only such changes as are truly necessary in light of

the inexperience and lack of training of the new labor

force or the lesser number of employees available for the

continued operation. The collective bargaining agreement

remains the norm; the burden is on the carrier to show the

need for any alteration of it, as respects the new and

different ciass of employees that it is required to employ

in order to maintain that continuity of operation that the

law requires of it.

Id. at 248 (emphasis added). The Court further limited this

power to change or revise the collective bargaining agreement

by holding that it must be “closely confined and supervised”

by the courts, id. at 246, recognizing that

[t}hese collective bargaining agreements are the product of

years of struggle and negotiation; they represent the rules

governing the community of striking employees and the

carrier. That community is not destroyed by the strike, as

the strike represents only an interruption in the continuity

of the relation. Were a strike to be the occasion for a

carrier to tear up and annul, so to speak, the entire

collective bargaining agreement, labor-management rela-

8a

tions would revert to the jungle. A carrier could then use

the occasion of a strike over a simple wage and hour

dispute to make sweeping changes in its work-rules so as

to permit operation on terms which could not conceivably

have been obtained through negotiation. Having made

such changes, a carrier might well have little incentive to

reach a settlement of the dispute that led to the strike. It

might indeed have a strong reason to prolong the strike

and even break the union. The temptation might be

strong to precipitate a strike in order to permit the carrier

to abrogate the entire collective bargaining agreement on

terms most favorable to it. The processes of bargaining

and mediation called for by the Act would indeed become

a sham if a carrier could unilaterally achieve what the Act

requires be done by the other orderly procedures.

Id. at 246-47 (footnote omitted).

The Supreme Court thus recognized that bargaining is cen-

tral to the RLA and that even the existence of a strike does not

empower management to annul those terms of the collective

bargaining agreement that had not been subject to prior

bargaining.

The very words of TWA’s reopener notice amply demon-

strates that TWA itself has recognized the limited nature of its

reopening of the collective bargaining agreement and that a

notice to change is not a notice to terminate the agreement in

the event an impasse is reached is strongly evidenced by the

very words of TWA’s reopener notice. In its letter of February

29, 1984, TWA proposed eliminating certain items of compen-

sation, amending certain articles relating to expenses, credits

and bidding procedures, and modifying certain other proce-

dures. In its conclusion, TWA reserved the right to propose

further “additions, deletions, modifications or other changes

in the agreement * * *”. Letter from J. W. Hoar, Director/

Technical & Contract Liaison, TWA, to Art»r Teolis, Presi-

dent, The Independent Federation of Flight Attendants (Feb.

29, 1984), in Affidavit of Counsel Attaching Certain Pertinent

Portions of the District Court Record, Exhibit 3, Affidavit of

William A. Jolley (Aug. 20, 1986). Nowhere does TWA suggest

9a

that failure to reach an accord would terminate the balance of

the terms and provisions of the agreement.

Further, the affidavit of William A. Jolley clarifies the

understanding of the parties as to the continuity of the terms

of the collective bargaining agreement, including those terms

not reopened. That affidavit, which is undisputed, states in

part:

3. Since April 1, 1977 and continuing to date I have

had numerous discussions with various TWA officials and

representatives concerning interpretation of terms of the

collective bargaining agreement, grievance handling, arbi-

trations and in the course of numerous collective bargain-

ing negotiations sessions. At no time prior to receipt of an

April 25, 1986 letter signed by J.W. Hoar have I ever

heard any such official or representative of TWA refer to

an “expiration” date of the collective bargaining agree-

ment or speak in terms of that agreement “expiring” or

“terminating” or in any other way suggesting or implying

that on or after March 7, 1986, TWA could or have the

right to unilaterally implement or change terms of condi-

tions of employment other than those which had been

subject to Section 6 Notices and made the subject of

collective bargaining. On the contrary, since April 1, 1977

and until April 25, 1986, TWA officials and representa-

tives referred to the “amendable” date of the Agreement

and spoke in terms of that Agreement “becoming amend-

able.”

Affidavit of Counsel Attaching Certain Pertinent Portions of

the District Court Record, Exhibit 3, Affidavit of William A.

Jolley (Aug. 20, 1986).

TWA, in its claim that it is no longer bound by the union

security clause, or indeed any other provision of the collective

bargaining agreement, asserts that the contract came to a

complete termination when the parties reached an impasse in

their bargaining. Therefore, because the self help period has

ended with the formal ending of the strike, TWA can disregard

any provision of the previous collective bargaining agreement.

TWA contends that the duration clauses analyzed by the

10a

Second, Seventh and Ninth Circuits support its view that the

contract terms of an airline’s collective bargaining agreement

can expire and, comparing the present duration clause with

those in other contracts, there exists no reasonable basis for

concluding that the TWA-Union contract in issue here has not

expired.

TWA relies principally on EEOC v. United Airlines, 755 F.2d

94 (7th Cir. 1985); JAM v. Reeve Aleutian Airways, 469 F.2d

990 (9th Cir. 1972); Flight Eng’r Int’l Ass'n, EAL Chapter v.

Eastern Airlines, 359 F.2d 303 (2d Cir. 1966); and Manning v.

American Airlines, 329 F.2d 32 (2d Cir. 1964). In further

support of the Reeve case, TWA cites /AM v. Aloha Airlines,

776 F.2d 812 (9th Cir. 1985) and JAM v. Quantas Airways, 122

L.R.R.M. 2263 (N.D. Cal. 1985).

In our view, EEOC v. United Airlines, decided by the

Seventh Circuit, does not support TWA’s position. Indeed,

Judge Posner’s opinion seems to reject the central thesis of

TWA’s analysis in construing the duration clause at issue there

as creating an amendable, not a terminable, contract. Nor Coes

the Second Circuit’s opinion in Manning support TWA’s posi-

tion. Manning dealt with a dues check-off agreement that was

specifically excluded from the contract's automatic renewal

clause. The Second Circuit held that the check-off provision

was a “working condition” within the meaning of section 6 of

the RLA, thus coming within the status quo provisions of

section 6. The clause, therefore, could not be unilaterally

abrogated by the airline. In Manning, the parties agreed that

the check-off provision expired on April 30, 1963, and that the

provision did not come within the general renewal provision of

the contract. Nevertheless, the provision remained in effect

subject to the application of section 6 of the RLA, requiring

written notice of change, bargaining and mediation. The Man-

ning court at no time addressed whether or not contract terms

not subject to reopening and bargaining would automatically

expire on impasse.

Two other Second Circuit cases cited by appellant are not

especially revealing. In Air Cargo Inc. v. Local Union 851, 733

F.2d 241 (2d Cir. 1984), the court considered and decided that

the status quo provisions of section 6 required that the union

maintain the actual working conditions of an organization

performing work for an air carrier. While the court referred to

the expiration of the agreement in that case, the discussion

does not indicate that the contract between the union and the

employer contained a duration clause providing for automatic

renewal as in the airline contract at issue here. TWA’s citation

of the Eastern Airlines case is equally without persuasive

effect. Nowhere in that opinion does the Second Circuit discuss

the precise issue before us even though that court agreed with

the trial court that the underlying collective bargaining agree-

ment between the parties had terminated. That case concerns

itself with issues that were the subject of much controversy

among the parties and over which the parties had engaged in

sustained bargaining and mediation. The case does not deal

with provisions of the contract which were not in dispute.

Moreover, the Eastern Airlines opinion does not discuss the

policy considerations cited in FEC, inasmuch as it predates

FEC.’ Thus, TWA’s position that on impasse all provisions of

the collective bargaining agreement terminate rests essentially

on a comparison of the duration clause in the instant litigation

with that at issue in Reeve and the acceptability of Reeve as

persuasive authority here.

The Reeve case and its progeny, including A’oha and

Quantas, directly hold that airline contracts similar, but not

identical, to the TWA contract here in issue come to an end

upon impasse and, following a strike and self help period, the

airline employer may change those working conditions which

had not been proposed for change or bargained over. The

agreement in Reeve read:

This agreement shall become effective November 1,

1966, and shall continue in full force and effect urtil

April 1, 1968, and shall renew itself without change until

3 Both sides seem to derive some comfort from Aw Line Pilots Ass'n

Int'l v. United Air Lines, Nos. 85-2726 and 85-2833 (7th Cir. Sept. 29, 1986).

This case does not cast much light on the issue before us but at least in theory

seems to support the union's position. The issue in that case focused on the

court's obligation “to ascertain whether the various self-help measures

employed by both United and ALPA unlawfully impinged upon statutory

protections provided under the RLA.” /d., slip op. at 15.

2a

each succeeding April Ist thereafter, unless written notice

of intended change is served in accordance with Section 6,

Title 1, of the Railway Labor Act, as amended, by either

party hereto at least sixty (60) days prior to April Ist in

any year after 1967.

469 F.2d at 991. The opinion in the Ninth Circuit quotes and

affirms the district court's statement that:

The terms of the agreement called for its termination

on the first day of April foisowing notice by either party

of intended changes. It is irrelevant that the defendant

[Company] never served notice of any intended changes,

and it is of no consequence that only portions of the

contract were subject to negotiation. The contract expired

by its own terms on April |, 1968.

Id. at 992-93.

An examination of the district court opinion s&ggests that

the parties did not present the issue of contract interpretation

to the district court, for its opinion stated that “[t}he sole issue

presented is whether the Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C.A.

§ 151 ef seq., has the effect of extending a collective bargaining

agreement beyond the termination date specified in the agree-

ment.” 330 F. Supp. 332, 333-34 (D. Alaska 1971). Moreover,

the district court’s discussion indicates that the union predi-

cated its claim for relief solely on the FEC case, not on the

contract terms. /d. at 334. The district court distinguished FEC

on grounds that FEC related to unexpired agreements. The

district court, without citation to any authority in cases under

the RLA, stated “[a}]s a matter of law, the contract expired by

its own terms * * *.” Jd. at 335.

Neither the district court opinion nor the Ninth Circuit

opinion in Reeve gives any detailed consideration to construc-

tion of the renewal clause in a manner consistent with the

policies of the RLA and the core language of FEC that requires

stable and continuing agreements between management and

labor.* We emphasize that core language in FEC:

4 We note that Reeve relied on Eastern Airlines which, as we have

observed, antedated FEC.

13a

These collective bargaining agreements are the product of

years of struggle and negotiation; they represent the rules

governing the community of striking employees and the

carrier. That community is not destroyed by the strike, as

the strike represents only an interruption in the continuity

of the relation. Were a strike to be the occasion for a

carrier to tear up and annul, so to speak, the entire

collective bargaining agreement, labor-management rela-

tions would revert to the jungle.

384 U.S. at 246-47 (footnote omitted). Moreover, the Ninth

Circuit opinion gives no consideration to what the Supreme

Court referred to as the spirit of the Act:

While the carrier has the duty to make all reasonable

efforts to continue its operations during a strike, its

power to ake new terms and conditions governing the

new labor force is strictly confined, if the spirit of the

Railway Labor Act is to be honored.

Id. at 247 (footnote omitted).

We will not follow the Reeve rationale in this case.

The district court noted in the present case that as to

contract interpretation, the Reeve case is subject to question—

realistically, the July 31, 1984 date is not a termination date at

all but it is a date that serves as a measuring point for the

ninety-day notice required prior to the making of intended

changes to the contract. On this issue of contract interpreta-

tion, District Judge Sachs wrote further:

In EEOC v. United Air Lines, Inc., 755 F.2d 94 (7th

Cir. 1985), Judge Posner avoided a ruling flatly disap-

proving of the Reeve decision, 469 F.2d 993 [sic], by

construing the duration clause in the airline contract

before him as creating an amendable rather than a termi-

nable contract. The language under consideration speci-

fied that the agreement “shall remain in full force and

effect through November |, 1978, and thereafter shall be

subject to change by service of a notice as provided for in

Section 6” of the Railway Labor Act. 755 F.2d at 97.

Although the district court had concluded that the con-

Except as otherwise specified in this Agreement, this

entire Agreement shall be effective August 1, 1981

{and} shall remain in effect until July 31, 1984, and

thereafter shall renew itself without change for

yearly periods unless written notice of intended

change is served in accordance with Section6. . . of

the Railway Labor Act by either party hereto, at

least 90 days prior to the renewal date in each year.

This language shows that a ‘otal renewal occurs if no

notice is received. As in EEOC, there is no express

language terminating the agreement in the event of a

notice of intended change. While the notice prevents total

renewal, nothing in the wording prevents partial renewal.

On the contrary, partial renewal seems implied in the

language preventing renewal of the “entire” agreement.

The reference to the “entire” contract is useless, by the

TWA interpretation, and merely serves as emphasis. It 1s

more likely that it has an operative purpose, distinguish-

ing between all or paris of the agreement. The language

appears to create an amendabie contract, as in EEOC,

with prospective changes limited to the subject matter of

the notice (footnote omitted).

Judge Sachs concluded:

The contract in question is amendable in accordance

with its provisions and the Railway Labor Act. It does not

wholly terminate, either automatically or upon service of

Sa

notice of a limited number of intended changes. The

union security provision continues in effect, * * *.

We agree with the district court's construction of the con-

tract.

The RLA, in its application to the airlines and to this

contract, which has a forty-year history, represents a day when

stability in labor relations represented the norm in the public

transportation industries. While we take judicial notice that

labor relations in the airline industry have entered a different

era, one of strife ard turmoil resulting from deregulation and

takeovers by “corporate raiders,” the underlying statute and

the contract language that was written in a manner consistent

with the RLA still requires a construction which emphasizes

continuity in existing relationships between management and

labor, except where either side has requested a change. In the

latter event, the proposed change must be the subject of

B. Dues Check-Off Provision

TWA argues that a dues check-off provision is purely a

creature of contract and thus is of a special nature such that

once the parties have bargained to impasse over any disputed

provisions in the agreement, nothing in the RLA requires

continuation of the check-off provision in the absence of an

As both parties agree, a dues check-off provision is purely a

creature of contract. Section 2, Eleventh, of the RLA allows

inclusion of such a clause in collective agreements and, as TWA

concedes, continuation of the provision through the status quo

period is consistent with the policies reflected in section 6 of

the RLA. TWA, however, contends that once all statutory

procedures have been exhausted, no purpose of the RLA is

served by continuing the dues check-off provision in effect, as

such regulation of the relationship between the union and its

members is lawful only by virtue of the collective agreement.

TWA supports this argument by reference to NLRB ¥.

Haberman Constr. Co., 618 F.2d 288, 302-03 0.16 (Sth Cir.

1980), modified on other grounds, 64\ F.2d 351 (Sth Cir. 1981),

a case arising under the National Labor Relations Act

(NLRA). There the Fifth Circuit recognized that union security

provisions do not survive expiration of a contract even though

provisions governing terms and conditions of employment

generally do survive expiration of an agreement and may not

be changed until the parties have bargained to impasse.

Haberman, however, is not persuasive. The Fifth Circuit

reviewed a contract governed by the NLRA and therefore did

not discuss FEC or the general policies of the RLA. While

cases under the NLRA may be instructive, the contract at issue

here is under the RLA and must be evaluated in light of its

policies, which are in some respects unique to the RLA and

those industries subject to its provisions. As the Supreme

Court recognized in FEC, supra, the importance of the indus-

try’s public service nature, and its responsibility to maintain

that service, warrants special rules. One of those rules is that if

a working condition has not been subject to the procedures of

the Act, it may not be changed even after expiration of the

status quo period unless truly necessary for the continued

operation of the airline. FEC, 984 1S. at 248.

In Cox v. Northwest Airlises, 319 © Supp. 92 (D. Minn.

1970), the district court empteized the importance of FEC to

the maintenance of labor relations unméer the RLA and noted

that the policies enunciated by the Court in FEC rise above any

interpretation of the language of a collective bargaining agree-

ment:

[T]he arguments advanced by the [FEC] Court for pro-

tecting the integrity of the collective bargaining agreement

and the parade of horrors which the Court feels would

result from a failure to do so, are not dependent upon or

affected in any manner by an interpretation of the * * *

collective bargaining agreement. That this is quite clearly

the case is emphasized by the fact that the court clearly

held that Section 2 Seventh does not apply during a strike

and relied upon the overall thrust of the Railway Labor

7a

Act as a rationale for limiting departure from the terms of

the collective bargaining agreement. The Court said:

“[The carrier's] power to make new terms and conditions

governing the new labor force is strictly confined, if the

spirit of the Railway Labor Act is to be honored.” It can

hardly be seriously asserted that the “spirit” of the Act is

determined by language selected by the drafismen of

* * * clauses in collective bargaining agreements.

Id. at 98 (footnote omitted). We agree.

TWA does not dispute that the Union remains the recognized

collective bargaining agent for the flight attendants. Clearly, if

the Union is to represent the flight attendants, it needs to

collect dues, and enforcement of the check-off provision is

integral to that process. Moreover, dues check-off is recognized

as a working condition under the RLA. Manning, 329 F.2d at

34-35. Because the contract at issue here continues in effect as

to provisions other than those subject to notice of intended

change, no reason exists for automatic abrogation of the

check-off provision upon the parties reaching an impasse. The

provision was never reopened as a subject for bargaining; nor

has TWA demonstrated how its termination is necessary to

TWA’s continued operation. While we recognize that there are

existing disputes between various employees, ¢.g., over the

seniority rights of cross-over employees as opposed to newly

hired employees, these are not concerns of TWA but are for the

union to deal with in carrying out its responsibility to represent

all umion members.

Ill. CONCLUSION

In sum, to read the duration clause in the manner TWA

suggests would completely undermine the collective bargaining

nature of the Act. The only way to effectively achieve the goals

of the Railway Labor Act is to require the parties to negotiate

and mediate over those changes they wish to make. The TWA.

Union duration clause was written to facilitate such negotia-

tion and mediation. It is not for this court to rewrite the clause

in the way TWA now wishes it was written, and to do so in this

case would cut out the very heart of the Railway Labor Act—

collective bargaining.

In light of our holding that the agreement at issue has not

expired,’ the Supreme Court's decision in FEC is controlling

here. As discussed above, TWA may only make those changes

“as are truly necessary in light of the inexperience and lack of

training of the new labor force or the lesser number of

employees available for the continued operation” of the air

S.

issue here which leads this court to conclude that the partics

imended a result so at odds with the RLA. Against this

backdrop, we believe the district court correctly decided the

effect of the duration clause.

Affirmed.

A true copy.

Attest:

Cierk, U. 8. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit.

; In vvee of our holding that the terms of the collective barganmung

agreement not reopened still remam im effect. « m unmecewary for us to

address whether or not the RL A permits agreements of fived duration

APPENDIX B

Orders of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For THE Bronte Crecurr

No. 8-1998WM

—_ —~<+>___

TRANS WORLD AIRLINES, INC,

Appetiant.

—vVs. —

THE INDEPENDENT PEDERATION OF FLIGHT ATTENDANTS,

Appellee

<>

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Western District of Missouri.

The motion of appellant filed August 7, 1986, for a stay of

the memorandunr and orders of the district court dated August

1, 1986, and August 8, 1986, is granted. The stay hereby

granted shall remain in effect until at least August 26, 1986,

and thereafter under further order of the court.

The court orders the parties to appear for oral argument at

the United States Courthouse in St. Louis at one o'clock p.m.

on August 26, 1986, to present arguments as to whether this

stay should be continued during the appeal of the case on the

merits. The case shall be expedited by the Clerk for hearing on

the merits for the October 1986 session of this court in St.

Paul, Minnesota.

The court sees no need for further briefs at thes time unless

the TWA flight attendants currently working for TWA wish to

file a statement of thei views on this case enther as individuals

or as a group, in which case short memorandums not to exceed

five pages may be accepted by the Clerk of this court up to and

including August 22, 1986.

August 14, 1986

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For THe Esourn Crecurr

No. &-1998™W™M

oe

TRANS WoRip Amines, INC...

Appetian:.

— Ne

THE INDEPENDENT FEDERATION OF FLIGHT ATTENDANTS,

Appetiee

——

Appeal from the Laned States District Court

for the Western District of Missouri.

Before Ross and Wor. Man, Circuit Jedges,

and Bart, Semor Circa Judge.

datc and granted summar, judgment to the defendants,

pendent Federation of Flight Anendants. On August

thes Court entered an order staying Judge Sachs’s order

August 26, 1986, when the arguments of counse! could be

heard

Lpon comuderation of all the documents which have been

trled to date and the oral arguments, the Court now modifies

the way as follows: TWA shall follow the order of Judge Sachs

as set forth m hes order of August |, 1986, with the following

rs

bgt

2la

exceptions: All initiation fees and dues collected from persons

now working as flight attendants for TWA who were not

working as flight attendants for TWA on the date of the strike,

March 7, 1986, shall be placed with a corporate trustee to be

agreed upon by the parties, with interest, pending the final

resolution of this case by this Court after the case is heard on

its merits at the October 1986 session of this Court in St. Paul.

If the parties cannot agree on a corporate trustee, Judge Sachs

shall appoint such trustee.

Hearing of this case shall be set for Wednesday, October 15,

1986, in St. Paul, Minnesota, before this panel of the Court.

Additional briefs not to exceed 25 pages from each of the

litigants will be accepted by the Court pursuant to scheduling

arranged by the clerk’s office. An amicus brief not to exceed

20 pages from the “new hires” among the current flight

attendants will be permitted.

DATED this 26th Day of August, 1986.

22a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 86-1998

i

TRANS WORLD AIRLINES, INC.,

7 Appellant,

—_—V—

THE INDEPENDENT FEDERATION OF FLIGHT ATTENDANTS,

Appellee.

——

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Western District of Missouri.

Filed: September 25, 1986

ORDER

The appellee is directed to respond to the motion of Glenda

Lopez-Bruner, et al. on or before September 29, 1986. Such

response shall be filed with the clerk of this -court with

duplicate copies delivered to the following judges:

The Hon. Donald P. Lay

Chief Judge

P.O. Box 75098

St. Paul, MN 55175

The Hon. Myron H. Bright

U.S. Senior Circuit Judge

P.O. Box 2707

Fargo, ND 58108

The Hon. Roger L. Wollman

U.S. Circuit Judge

212 Federal Building

Pierre, SD 57501

23a

Pending ruling on the pending motion, TWA shall pay any

moneys checked off from the cross-over employees to the same

corporate trustee as selected under this court's order of August

26, 1986, to be held at interest and in escrow until the further

order of this court.

A true copy.

ATTEST:

CLERK, U.S. COURT OF APPEALS, EIGHTH CIRCUIT.

24a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 86-1998WM

_———_——_<4>—___——__

TRANS WORLD AIRLINES, INC.,

Appellant,

—vs.—

THE INTERNATIONAL FEDERATION OF FLIGHT ATTENDANTS,

Appellee.

—_—__—__~+>___——_-

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Western District of Missouri.

In order to maintain the status quo until this Court is able to

consider the various pending motions for modification or

clarification of this Court's partial stay order of August 26,

1986, the Court directs that any cross-over employee who

claims to have resigned from the union, instead of paying dues

to the union, may pay current or delinquent dues to the

corporate trustee serving under this Court's order of August

26, 1986, to be held at interest and in escrow by said trustee,

subject to the further order and direction of this Court.

Such payment, by any such cross-over employee, shall be

deemed payment of union dues by said employee pursuant to

the preexisting collective bargaining agreement between TWA

and IFFA for the purpose of avoiding the employee's discharge

for nonpayment of dues—provided such payment or payments

be timely made.

This order remains in force until the hearing on said motions

at 8:30 a.m., Wednesday, October 15, 1986, in St. Paul,

Minnesota, and, unless specifically extended, will expire at

$:00 p.m. that date.

7 ae

2Sa

The emergency partial stays embodied in this Court’s order

of September 25, 1986 (payments of checked-off dues of cross-

over employees) will also expire at 5:00 p.m., October 15,

1986, unless specifically extended by the Court.

October 7, 1986

26a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 86-1998WM

———_—_

TRANS WORLD AIRLINES, INC.,

Appellant,

—VN

THE INDEPENDENT FEDERATION OF FLIGHT ATTENDANTS,

Appellee.

——

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Western District of Missouri.

Before, Lay, Chief Judge, BRiGHt, Senior Circuit Judge,

and WOLLMAN, Circuit Judge.

ORDER OF THE COURT

Upon hearing and considering the pending motions for

modification or clarifications of the partial stay order of

August 26, 1986, it is ordered that said motions are denied.

This court has this day heard the parties’ arguments on the

merits of the appeal by Trans World Airlines, Inc. and has the

appeal under consideration. Pending disposition of the merits,

the majority of the court is of the view that the partial stay

order dated August 26, 1986 should be and is herewith dis-

solved forthwith.

The corporate trustee is ordered and directed forthwith to

pay to The Independent Federation of Flight Attendants

(Union) any funds from Trans World Airlines employees now

held in escrow or which may be received by the trustee to hold

in escrow pursuant to this court's partial stay orders of August

27a

26, September 25, and October 7, 1986. Pending further order

of this court, all union dues and agency fees of flight atten-

dants of Trans World Airlines shail be paid directly to the

Union.

This court will endeavor to file its opinion on the merits in

not more than thirty days from this date.

A true copy.

ATTEST:

/s/ Ropert D. St. [ILLEGIBLE]

CLERK, U.S. COURT OF APPEALS, EIGHTH CIRCUIT.

October 15, 1986

28a

No. 86-1998

——_<>____—__

TRANS WoRLD Ali ives, INC.

Appellant,

i

THE INDEPENDENT FEDERATION OF FLIGHT ATTENDANTS,

Appellee.

GLENDA Lort7-Bri eR, ef af.

Intervenor Appellant

———_~—+>__ ——_

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Western District of Missouri.

Submited: October 15, 1986

Filed: January 14, 1987

Before Lav, Chief Judge, BRIGHT, Senior Circuit Judee.

and Woii MAN, Circuit Judge

ORDER

The moron of Glenda Lopez-Bruner, et af. to intervene was

heard by # peel of this Court on October 14. 1986. Mov ants.

a represemiatives of that class of Trans World Airlines. Inc

(TWA) employees who have resigned ther membership in the

Independent Federation of Flight Attendants and crowed the

picket lines to continue working for TWA, seck leave only to

imicrvene to secure 4 modification of this Court's August 26.

1984, partial stay order. They do not seck leave to intervene on

the merits of TWA's appeal. This Court denied their motion to

modify the partial stay order by order dated October 14 1986.

and im that same order dissolved the August 26, 1986. «a

order pending disposition of this case on the merits We

Clerk, U.S. Court OF APPrALs, ErontH Crecurt.

APPENDIX ©

Memorandum and Orders of the U.S. District Court

for the Western District of Missouri

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

WESTERN DISTRICT OF MissouR!

St. Josern Division

No. 86-6059-CV-SJ-6

re

TRANS WORLD AIRLINES,

Plaintiff,

—¥ —

THE INDEPENDENT FEDERATION OF FLIGHT ATTENDANTS,

Defendant.

—

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

Trans World Airlines (TWA) has filed suit to determine

whether the union security clause in a collective bargaining

agreement survives into the self-help period after an impasse in

bargaining over other issues. The Flight Attendants’ Union

(IF FA) counterclaims for a ruling that Article 24, the union

security clause, remains in force, including provisions for

check-off of union dues and a requirement that new hires join

the umion. Both parties have moved for summary judgment

and both agree the court is presented with an issue of law,

based on undisputed facts. The motions were argued July 12,

Yee

The isewe raises two questions: (1) Did Article 28, the

duration provision of the contract, cause parts of the contract

that were not the subject of bargaiming to continue in effect, or

did notice of certain intended changes trigger a total termina-

3la

tion of the agreement? (2) If the contract provides for total

termination upon impasse over proposals for limited changes,

is such a duration provision lawful under the Railway Labor

Act?

The arguments of the parties focus on the second question.

It would ordinarily be more appropriate to consider first the

narrower question, largely confined to the rather unusual

language of this agreement, instead of dealing with a statutory

question having major import to labor relations in the airline

industry. Both questions are sufficiently difficult, however, to

justify reasoning in the alternative, and the parties emphasize

the second question in their briefing and argument. The court

will therefore consider the questions in reverse order, and will

initially make the assumption that the contract provided for

total termination of contract obligations upon any impasse in

bargaining, and that a lawful impasse has occurred |

Forceful language in a Supreme Court opinion supports the

IFFA contention that the Railway Labor Act contemplates (1)

continuity in the relationships between employers and repre-

sentatives of employees, and (2) the development of carefully

crafted contractual provisions that will become almost perma-

nent fixtures governing certain phases of the employer.

employee relation. Brotherhood of Kailway & Steamship

Clerks, Freight Handlers, Express & Station Employees ».

Florida East Coast Railway, 384 U.S. 238 (1966) (FEC).

The controversy in the FEC case and in the present case

centers on § 2 Seventh of the Act (45 U.S.C. § 152 Seventh)

which provides that “no carrier shall change the rates of pay,

rules, or working conditions of its employees, as a class, as

! In companion Wtigation, IPFA contends TWA did not bargain in

good faith and had no night to engage in self help (reduction of wages of

flight attendants, etc ) That litigation remams at the dimcovery stage, and

not ready for :rial The court has previously demed a temporary revitanming

order against TWA's exercive of self help All parties are content that, for

present purposes, | treat the unpawe a a lawful one, a | did i ruling the

motron for a restrameng order

——

Yla

embodied in agreements except in the manner prescribed in

such agreements or in Section 6 of this Act.” Section 6 (45

U.S.C. § 156) requires at least thirty days’ written notice of

intended changes in agreements, and thereafter a protracted

negotiating period before the parties are released to make such

changes or otherwise engage in self-help.

Although an air or rail carrier may, after impasse in bargain-

ing over proposed changes and release from further bargaiming

duties by the National Mediation Board, face a strike and may

continue its operations with a substantially different labor

force, the Court declared in FEC:

Any power to change or revise the basic collective

agreement must be closely confined and supervised. These

collective bargaining agreements are the product of years

of struggle and negotiation, they represent the rules gov-

cerning the community of striking employees and the

carrier. That community is not destroyed by the strike, as

the strike represents only an interruption in the continuity

of the relationship. Were a strike to be the occasion for a

carrier to tear up and annul, w to speak, the entire

collective bargaming agreement, labor-management rela-

tions would revert to the jungle. A carrier could then use

the occasion of a strike over a simple wage and hour

dispute to make sweeping changes in its work-rules so as

to permit operation on terms which could not conceivably

have been obtained through negotiation Having made

such changes, a carrier might well have little incentive to

reach a settlement of the dispute that led to the arike. ht

might indeed have strong reason to prolong the strike and

even break the umon The temptation might be strong to

precipitate a strike in order © permit the carrier to

abrogate the entire collective De: gaining agreement on

terms most favorable to &. The processes of bargaining

and mediation called for by the Act would indeed become

a sham if a carrer could unilaterally achieve what the Act

requires be done by the other orderly procedures

4 US. at 246-47

33a

The opinion of Justice Douglas continued: “While the car

rier has the duty to make all reasonable efforts to continuc its

operations during a strike, its power to make new terms and

conditions governing the new labor force ts strictly confined, if

the spirit of the Railway Labor Act is to be honored.” 384 US.

at 247. In footnote 7, the Court observed that a temporary

deviation from the agreement during a strike might be autho-

rized as to changes sought during negotiation or permitted by a

district court as being essential to operations, but at the

conclusion of the strike (presumably by agreement) “the terms

of the carher collective bargaming agreement, except as mod).

fied by any new agreement of the parties, would be fully in

force.” fd.

No member of the Court disagreed with this language, but

Justice White dissented from the conclusion that a district

court could authorize changes in the agreement during the

strike, where such changes had not been the subject of bargain.

ing. 384 U.S. at 249. He described the Court's ruling as one

construing § 2 Seventh as forbidding the carrier “to make any

changes in the contract other than those on which bargamuing

has taken place. . ~ fd.

TWA offers two rationales for distinguishing FEC. Firs, a

contends the FEC ruling itself simply deals with the district

courts’ power, during a strike, to approve a change in collective

bargaining provisions not addressed at the negotiating table

The message to those courts to impose a high burden on a

carrer seeking approval of contemplated changes during the

impasse period seems to have been only a subordinate theme in

the opinion. ht is difficult to avoid the conclusion that the

principal message of the decision is that a carrer acting on its

own is forbidden by law to make “changes m the contract

other than those on which bargaining has taken place.” 384

U.S. at 249 (White, J., dissenting).

,

. The svilabus to the apenon entities one of the Robdeng, eth the

previously quoted language that “if the «ere of the Rarleay | amor Act nm to

be homered” a carrer \ “power to make mew terme and Condition por er meng

Ma

TWA\’s second ranonaie for drstengusshung FEC centers on its

observation that FEC mvolved a raslroad collective bargaming

agreement whech had no cxuperation date, and was therefore a

comtinuing contractual commitment subject to reopening of

particular provimons TWA contends there is implicit reference

to the Court's understanding that the contract itself had not

termunated, in that the Court repeatedly refers to “existing™

agreements

The Ninth Circuit seems to be the only appellate authority

that has comudered the rubng wn FEC and nevertheless permit -

ted what was deemed to be a termination clause to free a

varner from all provmons of a collective hargamuing agreement

after an impasse, including those which had not been the

subject of a § 6 notice /nternenonel Assocwtion of Meckemets

end Acrespece Workers +. Reeve Aleution Airwors, Inc, 468

F.2d WO (Hh Cie 1972), aff > 390 F.Supp. 332 (D.Alaska

1971), core, demeed, 411 U.S. 982 (1973). The Reeve ruling ik

rather summary however, smmply sotung that FEC eas distin-

gurshable eithout comudenng as ranonale Nonetheless, this

court mught feel bound to follow Aerw as a controlling

appellate precedent if « had not been questioned by another

appellate court. See EEOC v. Unwed Aw Limes, 755 F.2d 04, 08

(rh Cie 1985) (Posner, 1). While | am aot convinced that

Judge Posner's cretion of Aeeve s ugnificantly more soundly

reasoned than the Reeve opemon ityelf. the mcuprent conflct

between the Seventh and Ninth Circuits, and the absence of

hhc replacement! lather ferce feat fe} wrath oomfeeed ~ Wheke aoe the

eork of the Court a wiletes « ecawonally exefel The Agwer 4mociation

[ a Anteoe Met Stee! «© 4rehert, 8 FO OW 786 0&9 (2d Cir.

iv

budge Powner comteded that any attemp: te harmonize FEC and

Reeve cows @ « paredes @ that the comtracts coscmmon to the railroad

tenth) Comte fo lermenateee Gate and may therefore be terminated at

oi Det thet ender (PC wach comtracts eould give the union greater

protecteen than ewer 2 tem wear fixed cerm comeract as defined in Reeve. 755

| 2 a @ My enderending of the rettread industry practice, however, is

‘her ke COREL aT: aPC CORteReea@ agreements, with specific provisions modifi-

ame Derwent © lhe Act. eather (hee terminable at will agreements. The

35a

Eighth Circuit appellate precedent, require that | undertake a

more detailed analysis of the issue. | am not persuaded by

TWA’s contention that Reeve should be afforded controlling

precedential effect because certiorari was denied.”

TWA concedes that it is baffled by FEC’s vigorous language

regarding what the Act itself requires, but argues that it should

be disregarded as dicta. The holding in FEC is admittedly

concealed in strong language without an explicit statement of

conclusions. It would have been quite simple, however, to

avoid giving the eloquent lecture about the purposes of the Act

if the Court has viewed the agreement between the parties as

the controlling factor. Moreover, even if properly labelled as

dicta, it is carefully considered dicta that a single trial judge

should almost always treat as binding. That has been my

practice, Powell v. Kovac’s, Inc., 596 F.Supp. 1520, 1524

(W.D.Mo. 1984), and I believe it to be standard. See, e.g.,

United States v. Kahn, 251 F.Supp. 702, 708 (S.D.N.Y. 1966).

The pertinent language is not a casual remark or “very brief

common law principles to which Judge Posner refers yield to a different

statutory intent. There is no paradox in concluding that a continuing

agreement affords more protection than a fixed term agreement. The fact

remains, however, that the Posner opinion senses an inconsistency between

Reeve and the recited “logic” of FEC.

4 One rare indication that the Supreme Court recognizes that its

denials of certiorari might legitimately be occasionally given some weight ts

in a case where the denial was flagged by dissent. United States v. Kras, 409

U.S. 434, 443 (1973). The conventional attitude almost invariably expressed

is that of Justice Marshall in his Kras dissent. 409 U.S. at 461. See Linzer,

“The Meaning of Certiorari Denials,” 79 Col. L. Rev. 1227 (1979). | secline

to speculate that the reason for denial of certiorari in Reeve was agroemen

on the merits with that ruling. Docket conditions might have been « “4. or

or doubt that Reeve would become a significant precedent. While it looms

large in this litigation, more than a dozen years passed before the courts

began to find it necessary to compare it with FEC. During that period it

seems to have been relied on in only one appellate decision, IAM ¥.

Northeast Airlines, $36 F.2d 975, 978 n.2 (ist Cir.), cert. denied, 429 US.

961 (1976), and TWA cites no law review treatment or other identification of

the case as a significant limitation on the general policy favoring continuity

in labor relations under the Railway Labor Act. The Court guessed correctly

if it saw no urgency in dealing with Reeve. ;

36a

statement,” but the major thrust of the FEC opinion. Cf.

Anheuser-Busch, Inc. v. Stroh Brewery Co., 750 F.2d 631, 636

(8th Cir. 1984) (indicating that a casual remark in an opinion of

another circuit may be unpersuasive).

With only slightly shifted emphasis, TWA contends that

neither side in FEC even argued that the contract had expired,

and that the entire opinion is therefore premised on an assump-

tion of an underlying, existing contract. This contention may

well be true, but it in no way undermines the binding nature of

the Court’s holdings with respect to the policies of the Act.

Those policies are not altered by language in contracts which

are necessarily subservient to it.

As stated in FEC, the Act seeks to foster a “community”

between labor and management and to maintain contract

provisions established after “years of struggle and negotia-

tion.” 384 U.S. at 246-47. Allowing the regulated parties to

establish comprehensive termination dates in their contracts

would seemingly flout these purposes. Such provisions would

have a greater tendency to sever the community and destroy

the long established contractual provisions than would nor-

mally be expected under the procedures of § 6. As a matter of

statutory construction, the lesson of FEC appears to confine

the parties to prescribing renegotiation provisions in their

agreements under § 2 Seventh that are consistent with § 6 of

the Act. The statutory right to provide alternate procedures by

contract which are not identical with those provided in § 6

allows the parties to vary the notice periods and the like, but

prevents them from lawfully causing contracts to completely

self-destruct simply upon notice of specified proposed

changes.

This reading of the implications of the FEC decision flows

naturally from the language of the opinion, which is otherwise

hard to explain. It is not novel with this court. In the only

5 While it is theoretically possible, under this interpretation of the

Act, to serve notice that a party desires to change every provision of a

contract, itt may be assumed that this would be so unlikely and would present

such difficulties that parties would rarely if ever adopt this technique. Such a

notice might, moreover, place a party in jeopardy of being found not to be

bargaining with a good faith intention to reach agreement

Va

other pertinent decision from within the Eighth Circuit an

identical reading of FEC occurred, in a thoughtful opinion by

Judge Larson. Cex v. Northwest Airlines, Inc., 319 F.Supp. 92

(D.Minn. 1974). See also ALPA v. United Air Lines, 614

F.Supp. 1020, 1024 (N.D.1Il. 1985) (appeal pending) (residual

provisions that were not renegotiated survive despite existence

of a duration clause in the contract that is arguably a termina-

tion provision, 614 F.Supp. at 1041).° An appellate decision

assuming the FEC decision applies in the airline industry in its

permission for limited self-help is ALPA v. CAB, $02 F.2d 453,

457 n.12 (D.C.Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 420 U.S. 972 (1975).

TWA further contends that a rule requiring continuing con-

tracts, under the doctrine of FEC, will conflict with normal

practice in the airline industry. A source deserving of respect

has noted that airline bargaining practices have developed

differently from those that are customary among railroads.

Burgoon, “Mediation Under the Railway Labor Act,” a chap-

ter in The Railway Labor Act at Fifty, (G.P-O. 1977). In

particular, it is said that airline contracts “are not continuing

instruments. They expire in their entirety on the date set forth

in the agreement.”” /d. at 92. The Burgoon article lends some

support to Justice Douglas’ ruling in FEC, however, in its

discussion of the original intent and essential purpose of the

Railway Labor Act. The author observes:

Another among the railroad industry practices which

influenced the provisions of the Railway Labor Act was

that of negotiating open-end collective bargaining agree-

ments. Railroad agreements do not expire on a given date

but remain in effect until one party or the other proposes

6 it may be observed that although Judge Bua did not refer to the

EEOC decision in his ALPA opinion, he was the district judge in that case.

When he applied FEC principles in ALPA to overcome contract language

that was quite similar to that in Reeve, Judge Bua took the same path that |

do in this portion of my ruling.

7 As will be discussed further, in the recent EEOC case Judge Posner

noted one airline contract that has no such termination clause, and | tind

another in this case. The contract in Reeve was assumed to provide a

termination date, but the language does not unmistakably prevent partial

survival of contract terms

3ha

modification of certain of the agreement's provisions,

whereupon negotiations take place on the specific issues

raised and, when agreement is reached, the contract 1s

modified accordingly. The earliest railroad agreements

known, dating back to the last quarter of the 19th

Century, were of this open-end type and the practice

continues throughout the industry to the present time

__ . Section 6 of the Railway Labor Act provides for

‘thirty days written notice of an intended change in

agreements affecting rates of pay, rules or working condi-

tions . . thus accommodating to the open-end con-

tracts.

Id. at 92. Wt seems, therefore, that Justice Douglas accurately

caught the spirit of the Act in his FEC opinion. It may fairly be

concluded that the right to make agreements prescribing the

manner of changing contract terms, as set forth in § 2 Seventh,

was intended to supplement rather than displace § 6, and

cannot be construed to permit parties to “opt out” of the basic

procedures of the Act. A termination provision avoiding rene-

gotiation of undesired terms conflicts with the Act, as de-

scribed in FEC, and has not been shown to have been within

the contemplation of Congress when it enacted the language in

question in 1934, Although Burgoon says such contracts dem-

onstrate the “flexibility” of the Act, /d., the Supreme Court

ruling in FEC shows the practice to be inconsistent with the

basic mandates of §§ 2 Seventh and 6 of the legislation.

TWA has cited a number of cases that give effect to termina-

tion clauses in airline labor contracts. Several predate the

Supreme Court ruling in FEC or are from the Ninth Circuit

and its constituent districts, where one would expect the panel

opinion in Reeve to prevail. The only airline cases that care-

fully consider the teaching in FEC are Cox and EEOC, both ot

which lend some support to my ruling here.

A final TWA contention is that it cannot collect dues for the

union without an agreement with the union, and that the

Railway Labor Act simply freezes certain rules and conditions

of employment embodied in a prior agreement but does not

Wa

extend the agreement. As stated in EEOC, however, “realisti-

cally, the contract remains in force.” 755 F.2d at 99.

It is concluded that the duration clause of the TWA-IFFA

contract, if construed as TWA urges, would violate the Railway

Labor Act. The portions of the contract not subjected to

renegotiation still exist. The union security clause remains

presently binding on TWA since the only issue dealt with in

bargaining was the use of the check-off during a strike.”

in EEOC v. United Air Lines, Inc., 755 F.2d 94 (th Cir.

1985), Judge Posner avoided a ruling flatly disapproving of the

Reeve decision, 469 F.2d 993, by construing the duration clause

in the airline contract before him as creating an amendable

rather than a terminable contract. The language under consid-

eration specified that the agreement “shall remain in full force

and effect through November |, 1978, and thereafter shall be

subject to change by service of a notice as provided for in

Section 6” of the Railway Labor Act. 755 F.2d at 97. Aithough

the district court had concluded that the contract had termi-

nated in its entirety, the Seventh Circuit disagreed. The appel-

late ruling was that “the service of the notice is the mode of

amendment, implying that what is not sought to be changed

continues in effect. November | really is not a termination date

at all; it is the date before which no changes can be made.” /d.

(Emphasis added.)

The present contract contains a duration clause providing:

Except as otherwise specified in this Agreement, this

entire Agreement shall be effective August 1, 1981 [and]

shall remain in effect until July 31, 1984, and thereafter

———$$—$———_

8 The parties will recognize that | express no view of the issues ot

public policy presented by this cave. It is arguable that the airline industry's

labor-relations legislation should be harmonized with the deregulation of the

airline industry in other respects. See /4M v. TWA, 601 F Supp. 1963, 1372

alt (WD.Mo. 1985). Removal of the industry from Railway Labor Act

coverage and substitution of coverage by the National Labor Relations Act

may well be appropriate. In the meantime, the present parties would be well

advised to resume negotiating to put ther mutilated collective bargaining

agreement in order

shall renew itself without change for yearly periods unless

written notice of intended change is served in accordance

with Section 6. . . of the Railway Labor Act by either

party hereto, at least 90 days prior to the renewal date in

each year.

This language shows that a fotal renewal occurs if no notice is

received. As in EEOC, there is no express language terminating

the agreement in the event of a notice of intended change.

While the notice prevents total renewal, nothing in the wording

prevents partial renewal. On the contrary, partial renewal

seems implied in the language preventing renewal of the “en-

tire” agreement.” The reference to the “entire” contract is

useless, by the TWA interpretation, and merely serves as

emphasis. It is more likely that it has an operative purpose,

distinguishing between all or parts of the agreement. The

language appears to create an amendable contract, as in

EEOC, with prospective changes limited to the subject matter

of the notice.

Under the National Labor Relations Act, contractual provi-

sions authorizing notices seeking modifications of contracts

have sometimes been deemed to cause terminations and have

sometimes been treated as authority for amendments only.

Kaufman and Broad Home Systems, Inc. v. Intern. Broth. of

Firemen and Oilers, 607 F.2d 1104 (Sth Cir. 1979). Consistent

with the policies of the Railway Labor Act, as enunciated in

FEC. the contract at bar should be read harmoniously with

that Act so as to create continuing obligations, except as

changed in accordance with § 6 or with supplemental agree-

ments refining the prescribed procedures.

If extrinsic evidence is admissible or helpful, IFFA has

supplied it. The chief legal counsel of IFFA, who has served in

that capacity for more than nine years, stated by affidavit that

TWA officials have never prior to this controversy referred to

s W hile pleaders are often reheved trom careless, unintended negative

pregnants (2A Moobe's Federal Practwe § 8 24), one would suppose that the

parties adopting language designed tor long-term use can generally he held

more precisely to what they say and the mmplications of what they retrain

from saving. Thes ts not the kind of clause where the parties are likely vo have

planted intentional ambigurtics in order to paper over ditterences

:—

|

|

|

limited number of intended changes. The union security provi-

sion continues in effect, under the circumstances presented by

the cross motions for summary judgment. It is therefore

ORDERED that plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment be

DENIED and defendant's motion for summary judgment be

GRANTED. The Clerk shall enter judgment in favor of defen-

dant.

Plaintiff shall implement the check-off provision of Article

24 within fourteen (14) days of this date, and shall implement

the union membership provision within thirty (30) days of this

date. If notice of appeal is filed, no stay pending appeal will

issue from this court.

The court retains jurisdiction to modify or enforce this

order.

‘sf __ HOWARD F. SACHS

Howard F. Sachs

United States District Judge

DATED: August 1, 1986.

42a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

WESTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI

St. JOSEPH DIVISION

No. 86-6059-CV-SJ-6

—a—

TRANS WORLD AIRLINES,

Plaintiff,

—

THE INDEPENDENT FEDERATION OF FLIGHT ATTENDANTS,

Defendant.

+

MEMORANDUM TO COUNSEL AND ORDER DENYING

REQUEST FOR FINDINGS AND CONC LUSIONS

REGARDING STAY

A formal statement of findings and conclusions on the

question of granting a stay pending appeal is deemed inappro-

priate because there is no record other than the argument of

counsel on which to rely. Defendant’s motion is therefore

DENIED. A brief statement of my rationale may, however, be

useful.

TWA’s likelihood of success on appeal was not a dispositive

factor.

The balance of harm and the public interest seem to favor

IFFA over TWA. As best I can determine, relying on state-

ments of counsel, as at page 73 of the transcript of the

summary judgment argument on July 12, 1986, IFFA is ap-

proaching the stage of being broken financially by the position

taken by TWA. A bond will not pay current bills. Enforcement

of the union security clause will cause TWA no harm other

than facing a live opponent. Working flight attendants will not

be unduly harmed by being required to comply with union

security provisions long applicable to such employees of TWA.

43a

The union’s statutory role as representative of all member and

nonmember flight attendants appears not to be questioned.

If TWA’s decision to cancel the union security clause is given

continuing effect, the result may well be that envisioned by

Justice Douglas in his FEC opinion. 384 U.S. at 246-7.* Thus

the public interest would not, in my judgment, favor TWA.

/s/ HOWARD F. SACHS

Howard F. Sachs

United States District Judge

DATED: August 8, 1986.

To avoid misunderstanding, | repeat what | said at oral argument. |

do not believe the scenario is as bad as the “worst case” suggested by Justice

Douglas, in that TWA’s bargaining was over important financial issues.

44a

APPENDIX D

Text of Statutes Involved

RAILWAY LABOR ACT

45 U.S.C. § 152. General duties

First. Duty of carriers and employees to settle disputes

It shall be the duty of all carriers, their officers, agents, and

employees to exert every reasonable effort to make and main-

tain agreements concerning rates of pay, rules, and working

conditions, and to settle all disputes, whether arising out of the

application of such agreements or otherwise, in order to avoid

any interruption to commerce or to the operation of any

carrier growing out of any dispute between the carrier and the

employees thereof.

* * *

Fourth. Organization and collective bargaining; freedom from

interference by carrier; assistance in organizing or

maintaining organization by carrier forbidden; deduc-

tion of dues from wages forbidden

Employees shall have the right to organize and bargain

collectively through representatives of their own choosing. The

majority of any craft or class of employees shall have the right

to determine who shall be the representative of the craft or

class for the purposes of this chapter. No carrier, its officers or

agents, shall deny or in any way question the right of its

employees to join, organize, or assist in organizing the labor

organization of their choice, and it shall be unlawful for any

carrier to interfere in any way with the organization of its

employees, or to use the funds of the carrier in maintaining or

assisting or contributing to any labor organization, labor

representative, or other agency of collective bargaining, or in

performing any work therefor, or to influence or coerce em-

ployees in an effort to induce them to join or remain or not to

join or remain members of any labor organization, or to

deduct from the wages of employees any dues, fees, assess-

ments, or other contributions payable to labor organizations,

4Sa

or to collect or to assist in the collection of any such dues, fees,

assessments, or other contributions: Provided, That nothing in

this chapter shall be construed to prohibit a carrier from

permitting an employee, individually, or local representatives

of employees from conferring with management during work-

ing hours without loss of time, or to prohibit a carrier from

furnishing free transportation to its employees while engaged

in the business of a labor organization.

Fifth. Agreements to join or not to join labor organizations

forbidden

No carrier, its officers, or agents shall require any person

seeking employment to sign any contract or agreement promis-

ing to join or not to join a labor organization; and if any such

contract has been enforced prior to the effective date of this

chapter, then such carrier shall notify the employees by an

appropriate order that such contract has been discarded and is

no longer binding on them in any way.

Seventh. Change in pay, rules, or working conditions contrary

to agreement or to section 156 forbidden

No carrier, its officers or agents shall change the rates of pay,

rules, or working conditions of its employees, as a class as

embodied in agreements except in the manner prescribed in

such agreements or in section 156 of this title.

Eleventh. Union security agreements; check-off

Notwithstanding any other provisions of this chapter, or of

any other statute or law of the United States, or Territory

thereof, or of any State, any carrier or carriers as defined in

this chapter and a labor organization or labor organizations

duly designated and authorized to represent employees in

accordance with the requirements of this chapter shall be

per mitted—

46a

(a) to make agreements, requiring, as a condition of

continued employment, that within sixty days following

the beginning of such employment, or the effective date

of such agreements, whichever is the later, all employees

shall become members of the labor organization repre-

senting their craft or class: Provided, That no such

agreement shall require such condition of employment

with respect to employees to whom membership is not

available upon the same terms and conditions as are

generally applicable to any other member or with respect

to employees to whom membership was denied or termi-

nated for any reason other than the failure of the em-

ployee to tender the periodic dues, initiation fees, and

assessments (not including fines and penalties) uniformly

required as a condition of acquiring or retaining member-

ship.

(b) to make agreements providing for the deduction by

such carrier or carriers from the wages of its or their

employees in a craft or class and payment to the labor

organization representing the craft or class of such em-

ployees, of any periodic dues, initiation fees, and assess-

ments (not including fines and penalties) uniformly

required as a condition of acquiring or retaining member-

ship: Provided, That no such agreement shall be effective

with respect to any individual employee until he shall have

furnished the employer with a witten assignment to the

labor organization of such membership dues, initiation

fees, and assessments, which shall be revocable in writing

after the expiration of one year or upon the termination

date of the applicable collective agreement, whichever

occurs sooner.

* * *

(d) Any provisions in paragraphs Fourth and Fifth of

this section in conflict herewith are to the extent of such

conflict amended.

4a

§ 153. National Railroad Adjustment Board

* 7 *

Second. System, group, or regional boards: establishment by

voluntary agreement; special adjustment boards:

establishment, composition, designation of repre-

sentatives by Mediation Board, neutral member, com-

pensation, quorum, finality and enforcement of

awards

Nothing in this section shall be construed to prevent any

individual carrier, system, or group of carriers and any class or

classes of its or their employees, all acting through their

representatives, selected in accordance with the provisions of

this chapter, from mutually agreeing to the establishment of

system, group, or regional boards of adjustment for the

purpose of adjusting and deciding disputes of the character

specified in this section. In the event that either party to such a

system, group, or regional board of adjustment is dissatisfied

with such arrangement, it may upon ninety days’ notice to the

other party elect to come under the jurisdiction of the Adjust-

ment Board.

If written request is made upon any individual carrier by the

representative of any craft or class of employees of such carrier

for the establishment of a special board of adjustment to

resolve disputes otherwise referable to the Adjustment Board,

or any dispute which has been pending before the Adjustment

Board for twelve months from the date the dispute (claim) is

received by the Board, or if any carrier makes such a request

upon any such representative, the carrier or the representative

upon whom such request is made shall join in an agreement

establishing such a board within thirty days from the date such

request is made. The cases which may be considered by such

board shall be defined in the agreement establishing it. Such

board shall consist of one person designated by the carrier and

one person designated by the representative of the employees.

If such carrier or such representative fails to agree upon the

establishment of such a board as provided herein, or to

exercise its rights to designate a member of the board, the

48a

carrier or representative making the request for the establish-

ment of the special board may request the Mediation Board to

designate a member of the special board on behaif of the

carrier or representative upon whom such request was made.

Upon receipt of a request for such designation the Mediation

Board shall promptly make such designation and shall select an

individual associated in interest with the carrier or representa-

tive he is to represent, who, with the member appointed by the

carrier or representative requesting the establishment of the

special board, shall constitute the board. Each member of the

board shall be compensated by the party he is to represent. The

members of the board so designated shall determine all matters

not previously agreed upon by the carrier and the representa-

tive of the employees with respect to the establishment and

jurisdiction of the board. If they are unable to agree such

matters shall be determined by a neutral member of the board

selected or appointed and compensated in the same manner as

is hereinafter provided with respect to situations where the

members of the board selected or appointed and compensated

in the same manner as is hereinafter provided with respect to

situations where the members of the board are unable to agree

upon an award. Such neutral member shall cease to be a

member of the board when he has determined such matters. If

with respect to any dispute or group of disputes the members

of the board designated by the carrier and the representative

are unable to agree upon an award disposing of the dispute or

group of disputes they shall by mutual agreement select a

neutral person to be a member of the board for the consider-

ation and disposition of such dispute or group of disputes. In

the event the members of the board designated by the parties

are unable, within ten days after their failure to agree upon an

award, to agree upon the selection of such neutral person,

either member of the board may request the Mediation Board

to appoint such neutral person and upon receipt of such

request the Mediation Board shall promptly make such ap-

pointment. The neutral person so selected or appointed shall be

compensated and reimbursed for expenses by the Mediation

Board. Any two members of the board shall be competent to

render an award. Such awards shall be final and binding upor

49a

both parties to the dispute and if in favor of the petitioner,

shall direct the other party to comply therewith on or before

the day named. Compliance with such awards shall be enforci-

ble by proceedings in the United States district courts in the

same manner and subject to the same provisions that apply to

proceedings for enforcement of compliance with awards of the

Adjustment Board.

* * *

§ 155. Functions of Mediation Board

First. Disputes within jurisdiction of Mediation Board

The parties, or either party, to a dispute between an em-

ployee or group of employees and a carrier may invoke the

services of the Mediation Board in any of the following cases:

(a) A dispute concerning changes in rates of pay, rules, or

working conditions not adjusted by the parties in conference.

(b) Any other dispute not referable to the National Railroad

Adjustment Board and not adjusted in conference between the

parties or where conferences are refused.

The Mediation Board may proffer its services in case any

labor emergency is found by it to exist at any time.

In either event the said Board shall promptly put itself in

communication with the parties to such controversy, and shall

use its best efforts, by mediation, to bring them to agreement.

If such efforts to bring about an amicable settlement through

mediation shall be unsuccessful, the said Board shall at once

endeavor as its final required action (except as provided in

paragraph third of this section and in section 160 of this title)

to induce the parties to submit their controversy to arbitration,

in accordance with the provisions of this chapter.

If arbitration at the request of the Board shall be refused by

one or both parties, the Board shall at once notify both parties

in writing that its mediatory efforts have failed and for thirty

days thereafter, unless in the intervening period the parties

agree to arbitration, or an emergency board shall be created

under section 160 of this title, no change shall be made in the

50a

rates of pay, rules, or working conditions or established prac-

tices in effect prior to the time the dispute arose.

* * *

§ 156. Procedure in changing rates of pay, rules, and working

conditions

Carriers and representatives of the employees shall give at

least thirty days’ written notice of an intended change in

agreements affecting rates of pay, rules, or working conditions,

and the time and place for the beginning of conference between

the representatives of the parties interested in such intended

changes shall be agreed upon within ten days after the receipt

of said notice, and said time shall be within the thirty days

provided in the notice. In every case where such notice of

intended change has been given, or conferences are being held

with reference hereto, or the services of the Mediation Board

have been requested by either party, or said Board has prof-

fered its services, rates of pay, rules, or working conditions

shall not be altered by the carrier until the controversy has

been finally acted upon as required by section 155 of this title,

by the Mediation Board, unless a period of ten days has

elapsed after termination of conferences without request for or

proffer of the services of the Mediation Board.

* * *

§ 160. Emergency beard

If a dispute between a carrier and its employees be not

adjusted under the foregoing provisions of this chapter and

should, in the judgment of the Mediation Board, threateu

substantially to interrupt interstate commerce to a degree such

as to deprive any section of the country of essential transporta-

tion service, the Mediation Board shall notify the President,

who may thereupon, in his discretion, create a board to

investigate and report respecting such dispute. Such board

shall be composed of such number of persons as to the

President may seem desirable: Provided, however, That no

member appointed shall be pecuniarily or otherwise interested

in any organization of employees or any carrier. The compen-

& loa

. Sila j

sation of the members of any such board shall be fixed by the

President. Such board shall be created separately in each

instance and it shall investigate promptly the facts as to the

dispute and make a report thereon to the President within

thirty days from the date of its creation.

There is hereby authorized to be appropriated such sums as

may be necessary for the expenses of such board, including the

compensation and the necessary traveling expenses and ex-

penses actually incurred for swbsistance, of the members of the

board. All expenditures of the board shall be allowed and paid

on the presentation of itemized vouchers therefor approved by

the chairman.

After the creation of such board and for thirty days after

such board has made its report to the President, no change,

except by agreement, shall be made by the parties to the

controversy in the conditions out of which the dispute arose.

* * *

§ 184. System, group, or regional boards of adjustment

The disputes between an employee or group of employees

and a carrier or carriers by air growing out of grievances, or

out of the interpretation or application of agreements concern-

ing rates of pay, rules, or working conditions, including cases

pending and unadjusted on April 10, 1936 before the National

Labor Relations Board, shall be handled in the usual manner

up to and including the chief operating officer of the carrier

designated to handle such disputes; but, failing to reach an

adjustment in this manner, the disputes may be referred by

petition of the parties or by either party to an appropriate

adjustment board, as hereinafter provided, with a full state-

ment of the facts and supporting data bearing upon the

disputes.

It shall be the duty of every carrier and of its employees,

acting through their representatives, selected in accordance

with the provisions of this subchapter, to establish a board of

adjustment of jurisdiction not exceeding the jurisdiction which

may be lawfully exercised by system, group, or regional boards

of adjustment, under the eathority of section 153 of this title.

S2a

Such boards of adjustment may be established by agreement

between employees and carriers either on any individual car-

rier, or system, or group of carriers by air and any class or

classes of its or their employees; or pending the establishment

of a permanent National Board of Adjustment as hereinafter

provided. Nothing in this chapter shall prevent said carriers by

air, or any class or classes of their employees, both acting

through their representatives selected in accordance with provi-

sions of this subchapter, from mutually agreeing to the estab-

lishment of a National Board of Adjustment of temporary

duration and of similarly limited jurisdiction.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS ACT

29 U.S.C. § 158. Unfair labor practices

(a) It shall be an unfair labor practice for an employer—

(1) to interfere with, restrain, or coerce employees in

the exercise of the rights guaranteed in section 157 of this

title;

(2) to dominate or interfere with the formation or

administration of any labor organization or contribute

financial or other support to it: Provided, That subject to

rules and regulations made and published by the Board

pursuant to section 156 of this title, an employer shall not

be prohibited from permitting employees to confer with

him during working hours without loss of time or pay;

(3) by discrimination in regard to hire or tenure of

employment or any term or condition of employment to

encourage or discourage membership in any labor organi-

zation: Provided, That nothing in this subchapter, or in

any other statute of the United States, shall preclude an

employer from making an agreement with a labor organi-

zation (not established, maintained, or assisted by any

action defined in this subsection as an unfair labor prac-

tice) to require as a condition of employment membership

therein on or after the thirtieth day following the begin-

ning of such employment or the effective date of such

S3a

agreement, whichever is the later, (i) if such labor organi-

zation is the representative of the employees as provided

in section 159(a) of this title, in the appropriate collective-

bargaining unit covered by such agreement when made,

and (ii) unless following an election held as provided in

section 159(e) of this title within one year preceding the

effective date of such agreement, the Board shall have

certified that at least a majority of the employees eligible

to vote in such election have voted to rescind the authority

of such labor organization to make such an agreement:

Provided further, That no employer shall justify any

discrimination against an employee for nonmembership in

a labor organization (A) if he has reasonable grounds for

believing that such membership was not available to the

employee on the same terms and conditions generally

applicable to other members, or (B) if he has reasonable

grounds for believing that membership was denied or

terminated for reasons other than the failure of the

employee to tender the periodic dues and the initiation

fees uniformly required as a condition of acquiring or

retaining membership;

x * *

LABOR MANAGEMENT RELATIONS ACT

29 U.S.C. § 186. Restrictions on financial transactions

Payment or lending, etc., of money by employer or agent to

employees, representatives, Or labor organizations

(a) It shall be unlawful for any employer or association of

employers or any person who acts

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Record and brief — Trans World Airlines, Inc. v. Independent Federation of Flight Attendants · 482 U.S. 913 | Frix