Record and brief — Fall River Dyeing & Finishing Corp. v. NLRB

Supreme Court brief1987

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

'de 35-120P°C FX Title: Fall Piver dyeing & Finishing Corder Petitioner

tatus: GRANTED Ve

; National Labor Relations Soard

‘ocketed: Court: Unites States Court of Aoceals

anuary 16% 1986 for the First Circuit

Counsel for petitioner: DrosinzIra

Counsel for respondent: Solicitor General

ntry Date Note Proceedings anc Orders

1 Jan 16 1955 G Petition for writ of certiorari filea. a

3 Fed 24 1986 Order extending time to file resconse to petition until

March 234 1966.

4 Mar 24 1986 Oraer further extendince time to file response to

cetition until March 21, 1S9F6,

EDITOR'S NOTE 5 Mar 71 1986 Brief of resooncenrt NLR3 in onpdcsition filed.

é Aor 2 198¢e DISTRISUTED. Aoril Isr 1934

THE FOLLOWING PAGES WERE POOR HARD COPY 3 Aor 21 1956 RELISTPIIUTED. Acril 28, 1934

AT THE TIME OF FILMING. IF AND WHEN A S Aor 24 198$ XK Reoly orief of petitioners Fall Piver Dyeina, etc. filec.

BETTER COPY CAN BE OBTAINED, A NEW FICHE 11 May 5 1986 REDISTPSIUTED. “ay 154 19286

WILL BE ISSUED, 13 May 16 1986 PEDISTPIGUTED. May 224 1924

14 May 27 19%. Petition t24NTID,.

REET E ERROR e

146 Jun 23 1926 Order extensing time to file brie*® of petitioner on the

rerits until August 114 19f0.

v7 Auc é& 1986 Srief amicus curi3e of Lesal Foundation of Arerica files.

1¢ Aus 11 19606 Joint apoensix files.

19 4u9 11 1986 Srief of petitioner Fall River Dyeincs etc. filec.

22 Auc 11 1398s Brief amicus curiae of tharcer of Commerce of the UeS.

files.

22 Auc 78 1986 Orjer extending time to file crie* of resnorcent on the

merits until Setonser 114 1926.

27? Oct 11 1986 Brief of resoonsent NL®] filed.

24 Oct 11 13986 Srief amicus curiae of AFL=CIC filed.

25 Oct 22 1986 CIRCULATED.

24 Dec 19 1984 S2T FO® ARIUMENT. Mondays “arch 2 1927. (1st case).

27 Fed 21 1937 X Reoly brief of petitioner Fall River Dyeing, etc. filer.

22 Mar 2 1987 ARGUED.

PETITION

FOR WRIT OF

CERTIORARI

No. f JAN 16 !

( we a;

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Octrosper Term, 1985

FALL RIVER DYEING & FINISHING CORP.,

Petitioner,

— against —

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

InA DrocIN

LEAF STERNKLAR & DROGIN

Attorneys for Petitioner

440 Park Avenue South

New York, New York 10016

(212) 685-8400

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the National Labor Relations Board and the Court

of Appeals have failed to follow Federal labor policy contained

in successorship principles previously enunciated by this Court

and have promoted concepts contrary to the Labor Management

Relations Act, as Amended, under the totality of the circumstances

herein, by finding that there was a substantial continuity in the

employing enterprise, between a collapsed and liquidated

business, Sterlingwale Corp., and a new enterprise, petitioner,

Fall River Dyeing & Finishing Corp., such as to require Fall River

to recognize and bargain with a Union which represented the

production and maintenance employees of the former employer,

Sterlingwale.

2. Whether the National Labor Relations Board and the Court

of Appeals have failed to follow the successorship principles

previously enunciated by this Court and have promoted concepts

contrary to the Labor Management Relations Act, as Amended,

and Federal labor policy, by relying on and applying

simultaneously two Board-promulgated legal concepts, to find

that Fall River Dyeing & Finishing Corp. engaged in unfair labor

practices in violation of Sections 8(a)(1) and (5) of the Act by

refusing to recognize and bargain with Textile Workers of

America, AFL-CIO, Local 292, without a further demand hav-

ing been made by that Union, after Fall River subsequently

employed a substantial and representative complement of

employees, a majority of whom had been employed by a former

employer, Sterlingwale Corp. Those concepts are:

(a) The substantial and representative complement standard

under which the time of determination of whether a new

employer is a successor is postponed until its work force reaches

a substantial complement, representative of the number and type

of employees and job classifications, that will ultimately constitute

the appropriate bargaining unit, without considering whether

under the circumstances of this case, the time when the new

employer reached a full complement of employees and classifica-

tions should have been determinative.

(b) The continuing demand doctrine, whereby in this case, the

Union's demand for recognition and bargaining, once made but

lawfully rejected by Fall River, was nevertheless considered to

be ongoing in nature, for approximately three months thereafter,

until Fall River first employed a substantial and representative

complement of employees, even though, to have accepted the

Union's premature demand theretofore, would have constituted

the unlawfuly recognition of a minority Union in violation of

the Labor Management Relations Act, as Amended.

3. Whether the National Labor Relations Board and the Court

of Appeals, in requiring Fall River to bargain with the Union,

by applying both the continuing demand concept to a premature

bargaining demand and the representative complement standard,

to cause a bargaining obligation to become effective at that time,

have deprived the employees of Fall River of their rights under

the Labor Management Relations Act, as Amended, to bargain

collectively through representatives of their own choosing and

to refrain from any and alli such activities, and have improperly

compelled Fall River to bargain with the Union where a good

faith doubt existed as to the Union’s majority status.

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING BELOW

The only other parties to the proceedings below not listed in

the caption are:

1. United Textile Workers of America, AFL-CIO, Local 292.

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED .............0005.:.

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING BELOW ....

py ge) gs eee

I ha dis occ tob asa keene eee «

eg Ons we vak's Neus snobs en kes

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED .......

STATEMENT OF THE CASE .................

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.......

1. THE NLRB HAS IGNORED OR REFUSED

TO FOLLOW IN THIS CASE THE

SUCCESSORSHIP PRINCIPLES

PREVIOUSLY ENUNCIATED BY THIS

2. THE NLRB’S SUBSTANTIAL AND

REPRESENTATIVE COMPLEMENT

STANDARD AS APPLIED IN THIS CASE

CONTRAVENES IMPORTANT

REPRESENTATION RIGHTS

GUARANTEED EMPLOYEES UNDER

THE LABOR MANAGEMENT

RELATIONS ACT, AS AMENDED........

3. THE NLRB’S CONTINUING DEMAND

DOCTRINE AS APPLIED IN THIS CASE

CONTRAVENES THE LABOR

MANAGEMENT RELATIONS ACT, AS

AMENDED, BY IMPROPERLY

COMPELLING THE EMPLOYER TO

BARGAIN WITH A UNION WHERE A

GOOD FAITH DOUBT EXISTED AS TO

THE UNION’S MAJORITY STATUS.......

ao wo wv

EE 5 oes cave owed vanes secihebenes

APPENDIX

Decree of United States Court of Appeals, First

Circuit, entered October 18, 1985 ............

Decision of United States Court of Appeals,

First Circuit, dated October 18, 1985.........

Decision of National Labor Relations Board,

and Order, dated October 19, 1984 ..........

Decision and recommended Order of

Adminitrative Law Judge Burton S. Kolko,

Gee DUR TT, TRG oa oc ccc cree se geacnes

Rt er ator Rata Sree upon e me al ene Der

Page

A-44

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Aircraft Magnesium, A Division of Grico Corp.,

265 NLRB 1344 (1982), enf. 730 F.2d 767 (CA

PD cis eet Geet eeu eaa uate a ea abt 10, 14, 18

Atlantic Technical Services Corp., 202 NLRB 169

(1973), enf. 498 F.2d 680 (C.A.D.C., 1974) ... 13

Cagle’s Inc., 218 NLRB 603 (1975) ............. 13

Co-op Trucking Co., 209 NLRB 829 (1974)...... 13

Galis Equipment Co., 194 NLRB 799 (1972)..... 13

Georgetown Stainless Manufacturing Co., 198

i Sit chee eee ene eee aakee.s 13

Hedstrom Company v. NLRB, 558 F.2d 1137 (CA

3, 1977), cert denied, 450 U.S. 996 (1981)..... 20, 22

Howard Johnson Company v. Detroit Local Joint

Exeuctive Board Hotel and Restaurant

Employees Union, 417 U.S. 249 (1974)........ 8

International Association of Machinists and

Aerospace Workers, AFL-CIO (Boeing

Company) v. NLRB, 595 F.2d 664 (C.A.D.C.,

1978), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 1070 (1979) ..... 9

John Wiley & Sons, Inc. v. Livingston, 376 U.S.

Rt i a Ld tet a ieenhs haere 6 $05) 16

Lincoln Private Police, 189 NLRB 717 (1971) .... 13

NLRB v. Alamo White Truck Services, 273 F.2d

eo, cer ddv ahi bese sees 12

NLRB v. Band-Age, Inc., 534 F.2d 1 (CA 1),

cert. denied, 429 U.S. 921 (1976) ............ 8, 9, 17

vii

NLRB v. Burns International Security Services,

Inc., 406 U.S. 272 (1972) ..............

NLRB v. Hudson River Aggregates, Inc., 246

NLRB 192 (1978), enf. 639 F.2d 865 (CA2,

"TRAST aRiieeien ah AOS Canaan

NLRB wv. Middleboro Fire Apparatus, Inc., 590

fof SE re ;

Premium Foods, Inc., 260 NLRB 708 (1983), -

709 F.2d 623 (CA 9, ARR ee

Radiant Fashions, Inc., 202 NLRB 938 (1973)....

STATUTES

29 U.S.C. §158(a)(1) .... 0... c eee cece ce eeee

20 U.S.C. $15B(aMM) ............. 02. e cn eees

99 U.S.C. §158(a)(5) ... 0... eee cece cece eee ee

RR re ey ee rey eee ee

Page

8, 15,

16, 17,

19

10

8, 10

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Octoser TerRM, 1986

FALL RIVER DYEING & FINISHING CORP.,

Petitioner,

— against —

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

Petitioner, Fall River Dyeing & Finishing Corp., respectful-

ly prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment

and opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the First

Circuit entered in this proceeding on October 18, 1985, enfor-

cing an Order of the National Labor Relations Board

(hereinafter “NLRB”) requiring Fall River Dyeing & Finishing

Corp. (hereinafter “Employer” or “Fall River”) to recognize and

bargain with United Textile Workers of America, AFL-CIO,

Local 292, as the exclusive representative of all the production

and maintenance employees of the Employer’s piant in Fall

River, Massachusetts.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals enforcing an order of

the NLRB, made on October 19, 1984, is reported at ___ F.2d

____ (Ist Cir. 1985), 120 LRRM 2825, and____ CCH ____..

The Decision and Order of the three-member panel of the

National Labor Relations Board, dated October 19, 1984, adop-

ting the Decision and Order of Administrative Law Judge Bur-

ton S. Kolko, issued January 27, 1984, is reported at 272 NLRB

No. 127, 117 LRRM 1436, 84-5 CCH 4 16780.

The Court of Appeals and administrative law decisions ap-

pear in the Appendix to this Petition.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals, granting enforcement

of the NLRB Order was entered on October 18, i985. This

Court's jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C. Section 1254 (1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

This case concerns the provisions of the Labor Management

Relations Act, as Amended, 29 U.S.C. Sections 151, et seq. For

the Court’s convenience, the following sections are set forth in

the Appendix to this Petition:

Section 8(a) (1), 29 U.S.C. Section 158(a) (1) - App. p. A-44

Section 8(a) (2), 29 U.S.C. Section 158(a) (2) - App. p. A-44

Section 8(a) (5), 29 U.S.C. Section 158(a) (5) - App. p. A-44

Section 9(a), 29 U.S.C. Section 159(a) - App. p. A-44

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On February 12, 1982, Sterlingwale Corp. (hereinafter “Sterl-

ingwale”), a corporation owned by the Ansin family for 30 years,

began an immediate voluntary liquidation, shutting down its

textile dyeing and finishing operation in Fal! River,

Massachusetts, and indefinitely laying off all of its production

and maintenance employees. “he closing was the result of un-

questionable dire economic circumstances, involving the loss

of millions of dollars. The Sterlingwale employees had been

represented since 1968 by United Texti'e Workers Union of

America, AFL-CIO, Local! 292 (hereinafter “Union”), under a

series of collective bargaining agreements, the last of which was

due to, and did, expire April 1, 1982. The collective bargain-

ing agreements contained standard Union security provisions

permitted by Section 8(a) (3) of the Labor Management Rela-

tions Act, as Amended (the “Act”).

During the liquidation, Sterlingwale retained 2 skeleton crew

to maintain the equipment and ship out pending orders.

However, in the summer of 1982, all business activity ceased,

an outside liquidator was brought in and an assignment for the

benefit of creditors was made, and a foreclosure was held at

public auction on the premises occupied by Sterlingwale. The

petitioner Employer acquired most of Sterlingwale’s machinery,

furniture and fixtures and part of Sterlingwale’s remainaing in-

ventory and materials, all at public auction. Sterlingwale’s real

property was acquired in late August, 1982 by Marcamy Sales

Corporation, the parent corporation of Fall River Dyeing &

Finishing Corp., which leased from its parent part of the real

property formerly occupied by Sterlingwale.

The Employer did not acquire any other assets of Sterl-

ingwale, such as its trade name, good will, or customer lists,

nor did it assume any of Sterlingwale’s liabilities. The Employer

did not obtain any personnel records or employee lists of Ster!-

ingwale’s former employees.

In September, 1982, the Employer publicly advertised for

employees in local newspapers. By September 20, 1982, it had

hired six or eight employees and commenced preliminary start-

up operations in one of three former Sterlingwale buildings. The

preliminary operations involved cleaning, relocating and repair-

ing machines for about four to six weeks, and thereafter, work-

ing on experimental production to ensure that everything was

in order.

The Employer planned to engage solely in commission work

which consists of the dyeing and finishing of fabric belonging

to others for a commission. In contrast, Sterlingwale had been

primarily a “converter” whose business consisted of approximate-

ly sixty to seventy percent processing of its own fabric and thir-

ty to forty percent commission finishing. At the time of its

demise, Sterlingwale employed in excess of 150 production and

maintenance employees who worked three shifts.

Fall River’s production plan was to commence operation with

a single shift of fifty-five to sixty employees and then to expand

fully to a two 10-hour shift operation employing 106 to 109

employees by April, 1983. Such a two-shift operation is almost

essential to the production process because the fabrics emerge

from the process wet, and the entire operation, including dry-

ing, cannot be completed in eight hours.

On October 19, 1982, the Union sent the Employer a letter,

stating that “pursuant to the agreement between Sterlingwale”

and the Union, the Union demanded recognition. The letter also

stated that on October 28, 1982, a Union representative would

call upon the Employer “for the purpose of negotiating a col-

lective bargaining agreement.” The agreement referred to

by the Union had expired by its own terms April 1, 1982, and

Sterlingwale had ceased normal production operations on

February 12, 1982:

' This was the only request or bargaining demand made by the Union up un-

til the decision of the National Labor Relations Board Administrative Law

Judge on January 27, 1984.

At the time of the Union’s request and bargaining demand,

the Employer employed 21 employees, 18 of whom were former

Sterlingwale employees.

On October 21, 1982, the Employer's counsel wrote to the

Union, advising that the Employer did “not intend to comply

with [the Union’s] request; and further . . . that there was no

legal basis for same.”

On November 1, 1982, the Union filed an unfair labor prac-

tice charge against the Employer claiming that the Employer had

violated Sections 8(a) (1) and (5) of the Act. By mid-November,

the Employer had hired employees in virtually all job classifica-

tions. They were engaged in start-up operations, cleaning and

repairing machines for the first four to six weeks, and for the

next four to five weeks, they engaged in experimental produc-

tion on old Sterlingwale inventory.

On December 21, 1982, the Regional Director of the National

Labor Relations Board, Region 1, issued a complaint charging

the Employer with violating Sections 8(a) (1) and (5) of the Act

because “on or about October 21, 1982, and at all times thereafter,

respondent did refuse and continue to refuse to meet and bargain

collectively, with the Union as the exclusive representative of all

a in the unit.” A hearing was scheduled for May 2,

The Employer answered the complaint on January 4, 1983,

in substance denying that it was a successor employer to Sterl-

ingwale, or that it had violated Sections 8(a) (1) and (5) of the Act.

In mid-January, 1983, the first shift was in full operation and

a second shift was begun, with a total complement of fifty-five

employees, approximately thirty-six of whom were former Sterl-

ingwale employees. Some eight to twelve former supervisors of

Sterlingwale were employed by the Employer as supervisors, and

Herbert Chace, the Vice President of Sterlingwale, basically in-

volved with its sales until its demise in February, 1982, was rehired

as the Employer's Vice President running the plant and labor

relations. Alfred Canuel, the Plant Manager of Sterlingwale, was

not rehired. Arthur Friedman, the President of the Employer,

takes no part in the production or labor relations aspects of the

Employer and is involved with the financial end of the business.

The Employer continued to hire and expand until it reached

the goal of a full complement of employees in mid-April, 1983,

consisting of 106 to 109 employees working two 10-hour shifts.

By March 24, 1983, former Sterlingwale employees were a minori-

ty of the employees in the production and maintenance unit. By

the time of the hearing, over one-half of the dollar volume of

the Employer's business came from the same customers with

which Sterlingwale had at some time done business.

The hearing began on April 2, 1983. In his Decision, the Ad-

ministrative Law Judge held that the Employer had violated Sec-

tions 8(a) (1) and (5) by refusing to recognize and bargain with

the Union on January 15, 1983. He held that the Employer was

a successor to Sterlingwale, and that the Union's October 19, 1982

bargaining demand was premature when rejected by the

Employer on October 21, 1982 since the Employer did not have

a representative complement of employees, but that the demand

was a continuing one, that the Employer was bound to comply

with at such time as its operations reached a “representative com-

plement, not a full complement.” He then ruled that the

Employer’s duty to bargain with the Union attached in mid-

January, 1983, and he ordered the Employer to bargain with the

Union, “apon request of the Union.”

The National Labor Relations Board by a vote of two to one

adopted the Decision in toto. The dissenting member, Hunter,

pointed out that at the time the Union made the demand on Oc-

tober 19, and the Employer refused it on October 21], the

Employer did not employ a representative complement of unit

employees, and, since the Union did not renew its bargaining

demand at a time when the Employer had reached a represen-

tative complement — mid-January, 1983, he could find no

bargaining obligation. Member Hunter, in essence, rejected the

“continuing demand” concept of the majority, under the assump-

tions of the case.

The National Labor Relations Board petitioned the Court of

Appeals, First Circuit, for enforcement under Section 10(e) of

the Act, as Amended, 29 U.S.C. 160(e), which was granted by

a divided Court with one judge dissenting. The issues involved

were of first impression in the First Circuit, and are of nation-

wide importance to both labor and management, and it is believ-

ed have not been passed upon by the Supreme Court.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

THE NLRB HAS IGNORED OR REFUSED TO

FOLLOW IN THIS CASE THE SUCCESSORSHIP

PRINCIPLES PREVIOUSLY ENUNCIATED BY THIS

COU &T

This case imvelves important questions involving rights of both

employees and employers in the area of successorship where there

presently exists considerable uncertainty. In large measure this

uncertainty has been caused by the NLRB which has disregard-

ed the decisions and precepts of the Supreme Court relating to

successorship and is promoting concepts that are clearly contrary

to the Labor Management Relations Act. It is respectfully urged

that the Supreme Court grant certiorari and review the cir-

cumstances of this case as well as the NLRB’s substantial and

representative complement and continuing demand concepts, so

that the Court can provide the guidance necessary to the NLRB

and resolve questions that are of great importance to large

numbers of workers and prospective employers.

(1)

The traditional test for determining successorship is whether

there is substantial continuity between the employing enterprises.

NLRB v. Burns International Security Services, Inc., 406 U.S.

272 (1972). In making this determination, it is necessary to analyze

whether there has been a change in the essential nature of the

enterprise. NLRB v. Band-Age, Inc., 534 F.2d 1 (CA 1), cert.

denied, 429 U.S. 921 (1976); NLRB v. Middleboro Fire Apparatus,

590 F.2d 4 (CA 1, 1978). This question is highly fact specific. As

this Court noted in Howard Johnson Company v. Detroit Local

Joint Executive Board Hotel and Restaurant Employees Union,

417 U.S. 249, 256 (1974), “...in light of the difficulty of the suc-

cessorship question ... emphasis on the facts of each case as it

arises is especially appropriate.”

The facts in this case are not disputed, but the NLRB has ig-

nored the standards set forth by the Court in NLRB v. Burns,

supra, and other leading cases and has arranged the facts and

weighted them in such a way as to ignore, or give little or no

weight to certain facts while at the same time stressing other facts

which are not dispositive of the issue whether there has been

substantial continuity between employing enterprises.

It is submitted that the circumstances herein clearly

demonstrate an essential change in the employing enterprise,

which precludes Fall River from being considered a successor,

and that substantial changes between Sterlingwale, the collaps-

ed employer, and Fall River’s new operation exist and have been

overlooked by the NLRB. In effect, the NLRB has not evaluated

Fall River’s new operation taking into account the totality of the

circumstances.

In light of the importance of the need to know all of the rele-

vant facts to reach a successorship determination, the Court must

examine the nature of the new and old employing enterprises

in order to interpret the principles of successorship which it has

previously enunciated, and not automatically defer to the NLRB’s

expertise in labor matters. See International Association of

Machinists and Aerospace Workers, AFL-CIO (Boeing Company)

v. NLRB, 595 F.2d 664, 673 n.41 (C.A.D.C., 1978), cert. denied,

439 U.S. 1070 (1979) where the Court stated, in successorship

cases, “deference to the Board may ordinarily be less appropriate.”

See also NLRB v. Band-Age, Inc., supra, at p. 1.

The traditional criteria considered by the Courts for the test

for determining whether there is a substantial continuity in the

employiny enterprise include:

1. Business operations;

2. Whether the same physical plant is used;

3. Whether the same or substantially the same work force is

used;

4. Whether the same jobs exist under similar working

conditions;

5. Whether the same supervisors are employed;

10

6. Whether the same machinery, equipment and methods of

production are used; and

7. Whether the same product is manufactured or the same ser-

vices offered.

See Aircraft Magnesium, a Division of Grico Corp., 265 NLRB

1344 (1982), enf. 730 F.2d 767 (CA 9, 1984)(table); Premium

Foods, Inc., 260 NLRB 708, enf. 709 F.2d 623 (CA 9, 1983);

NLRB wv. Middleboro Fire Apparatus, Inc., supra.

Prior Court cases anu applicable NLRB law have established

that not one of the foregoing traditional factors by itself is deter-

minative of the question whether there has been a substantial

continuity in the employing enterprise. ng v. pecs gh ire

ratus, Inc., ; NLRB v. Hudson River Aggregates, Inc.,

MLD 192 (1978), enf. 639 F.2d 865 (CA 2, 1981). The NLRB

must weigh the singular facts relating to the enterprise and deter-

mine if there is a continuity of employing enterprise.

It is undisputed that Fall River ceased operation and went out

of business for economic reasons. It is also undisputed that Fall

River is a separate legal entity than Sterlingwale with different

ownership, financing, etc. The NLRB does not claim, nor is there

any evidence, that Fall River’s business operation is an alter ego

of Sterlingwale, or has any ownership links to the failed company.

Significantly, Fall River acquired neither the trade name, good

will nor other assets from Sterlingwale. It oo 3 ed a of Ster!-

ingwale’s liabilities. There was no transfer of employee person-

sr between Sterlingwale and Fall River, no direct transfer

of any employees or personnel, and there was no expectation by

Sterlingwale’s employees of employment by Fall River. It is sub-

mitted that the employment of individuals who formerly work-

ed for Sterlingwale resulted from factors unique to a small town

with a shrinking industrial base. Many of the employees who had

been permanently laid off by Sterlingwale in February, 1982,

eagerly applied for positions at a new mill opening in their city.

Production and maintenance employees were all hired on the

open market from advertisements. Their employment started after

11

a minimum of seven months had passed since their termination

by Sterlingwale; in some cases, 11 months had passed since in-

definite layoff by Sterlingwale.

In the instant case, Fall River began its operation by leasing

only one of Sterlingwale’s three buildings from a company which

had purchased the real property from the defunct firm at

foreclosure sale. Although Fall River uses machinery and equip-

ment which at one time may have belonged to Sterlingwale, it

too was purchased on the open market at a foreclosure sale. Thus,

the fact that the physical plant and equipment once were a part

of Sterlingwale’s operation should be totally irrelevant to the suc-

cessorship determination. Furthermore, with regard to the issue

of workforce, a textile business, whether operating on a converter

or a commission basis, will have employees working in similar

job classifications. This is not a controlling factor considering the

nature of any textile operation. However, there remains a sub-

santial dissimilarity in working conditions and operations not fac-

tually disputed, but not referred to or commented upon by the

NLRB. This disparity in working conditions has to do with the

shifts. Rather than operating on the basis of three shifts a day,

Fall River intended to run its plant when at full complement,

with only two 10-hour shifts. The new firm also employed no

sales force.

It is submitted that the nature of Fall River's business is fun-

damentally different from that of Sterlingwale’s. While the former

operation depended largely on converting, Fall River's operation

relies solely on commission work. A commission business does

not require the capital necessary to purchase fabrics or the need

for a sales force or a retail outlet to sell them. Fall River operates

in a significantly different mode than Sterlingwale. It has a

smaller manufacturing plant, substantially less employees

(workers and supervisors), fewer work shifts and longer work-

ing hours.

Furthermore, there has been no transfer of customer lists or

customers between Sterlingwale and Fall River which might

justify the NLRB’s conclusion there was a substantial continuity

12

of business operations. It is submitted that many former Sterl-

ingwale customers who also became Fall River customers were

acquired by competing for them in the open market. Although

the NLRB considered that in dollar volume over one-half of Fall

River’s Customers had been customers of Sterlingwale, the NLRB

ignored the fact that one of the major customers is Fall River's

parent company, Marcamy Sales. If its purchases are considered,

the portion of continuing customers drops to one-third.

The NLRB, in making its analysis of the factors needed to find

successorship, has entirely neglected the differences in concept

between the two operations. The NLRB has taken too narrow

a view of the business operation as a factor in the overriding ques-

tion of whether there is substantial continuity in the employing

enterprise. See NLRB v. Alamo White Truck Services, 273 F.2d

238 (CA 5, 1959). The services offered by Sterlingwale were essen-

tially in the conversion process, although admittedly some com-

mission work was done as it became short of cash to purchase

textiles to convert for its own account. In contrast, finishing work

is the exclusive business of Fall River. Fall River’s sole intention

is to earn commissions as a finisher where Sterlingwale failed

in a business involving primarily converting. There was no basis

for the Administration Law Judge and NLRB to ignore the basic

differences in the textile industry with regard to finishing work

and make a finding based on dollar volume alone that ~...a

substantial part of Respondent’s business is linked with Sterl-

ingwale.” (App p.37)

The alleged links between the two enterprises are too tenuous

to support the NLRB’s finding of successorship. As demonstrated

above, there is a substantial difference in the scale and nature

of operations which precludes the finding of successorship in the

circumstances of this case.

(2)

While there is no single factor which will prevent a finding

of successorship, the following factors when combined have

defeated such a finding:

13

1. A long hiatus in the resumption of operations;

2. A difference of location at the resumed operation;

3. A changeover of the supervisory hierarchy;

4. The absence of a carryover of customers or markets sup-

plied; and

5. A difference in the scale of the operations and the products

produced and in the method of production, etc.

See Radiant Fashions, Inc., 202 NLRB 938 (1973); Galis Equip-

ment Co., 194 NLRB 799 (1972); Georgetown Stainless

Manufaturing Corp., 198 NLRB 234 (1972); Cagie’s Inc., 218

NLRB 603 (1975); Atlantic Technical Services Corp., 202 NLRB

169 (1973), enf. 498 F.2d 680 (C.A.D.C., 1974); Lincoln Private

Police, 189 NLRB 717 (1971); Co-op Trucking Co., 209 NLRB

829 (1974).

The NLRB has found the continuity of the employing enter-

prise destroyed where the continuity, other than that of the work

force, consisted primarily of the acquisition of a portion of the

customers of a moribund company solicited in the open market.

Co-op Trucking, supra; Lincoln Private Police, Inc., supra.

In the case at bar, we find a major changeover in the super-

visory hierarchy. The number of supervisors has been substan-

tially reduced from 18 to 12, including employment of 4 new

supervisors who had not been previously employed by Sterl-

ingwale. The former plant manager has been terminated and

not rehired by Fall River. Likewise, as noted above, there is a

substantial change in the firm’s market, suppl.. rs and customers.

The market is no longer the conversion and sale of goods owned

by the processor. The market now consists of processing the goods

of others as a commission dye house and not direct sale of its

own product line. With regard to customers, only about one-third

of Sterlingwale's customers are serviced by the Employer exclusive

of Fall River's parent corporation. Furthermore, as a result of

14

a hiatus in any production of at least 7 months, there was not

any carryover or transference of customers that might justify link-

ing the two employers.

Finally, Sterlingwale’s employees had no reasonable basis for

anticipating that their employment might resume at the same

location after their indefinite layoff began in February, 1982. The

substantial hiatus in any operations from mid-February, 1982 until

mid-September, 1982, as well as the foreclosure sale on the

physical plant and equipment, negates any reasonable expecta-

tion by former Sterlingwale employees that they would resume

their old jobs. Their union contract expired in April, 1982, and

their Union made no effort to renew it.

It is submitted that the NLRB has erred in ignoring the

significance of the lengthy hiatus on the employees’ expectation

of rehire. In Aircraft Magnesium, a Division of Grico Corpora-

tion, supra, a case involving a hiatus between the prior operator

and a new employer, the NLRB held, at p. 1346: “Further, the

significance of a hiatus to successorship status is its effect on the

employees’ expectation of rehire.” Unlike the present case, in Air-

craft Magnesium the employer desired in reality to continue in

the predecessor’s business. In that case, after a bankruptcy and

a layoff of bargaining unit employees, there was a hiatus of opera-

tions of less than one month during which Aircraft Magnesium

purchased not only all the physical assets of its predecessor, but

its books and records, including customer lists, invoices and

operating permits. There was a stipulation that a majority of the

customers and suppliers remained the same. The new company

expressed interest in rehiring all of the predecessor's employees

the day after the purchase was complete and subsequently car-

ried out that intention by hiring them.

In the instant case, such an intent is totally absent. The record

here shows no intent to hire former employees; the Employer ran

a newspaper ad in the community paper in order to begin staff-

ing the new enterprise.

15

The facts underscore that the employees who responded to

newspaper advertisements and applied for a job with Fall River

were in actuality applying for a new job, under new manage-

ment at a different mill serving different customers and a changed

market. In light of the substantial changes in the employing enter-

prise discussed above, this Court should determine that the

NLRB’s cursory review incorrectly applied the law to the facts.

It is respectfully submitted that this Court should grant certiorari

and review whether or not the successorship principles enunciated

by this Court in Burns, supra, and other cases have been follow-

ed by the NLRB, or whether they have been ignored or

misapplied.

16

THE NLRB’S SUBSTANTIAL AND REPRESEN.

TATIVE COMPLEMENT STANDARD AS APPLIED

IN THIS CASE CONTRAVENES IMPORTANT

REPRESENTATION RIGHTS GUARANTEED

EMPLOYEES UNDER THE LABOR MANAGEMENT

RELATIONS ACT, AS AMENDED

In finding Fall River to be a successor employer in this case

and thereby bound to recognize and bargain with a Union which

represented employees of a former employer, without allowing

those employees the right to express their choice of bargaining

representative, the Board and the Court of Appeals have stret-

ched the successorship concept to an unreasonable extreme. This

Court, in John Wiley & Sons, Inc. v. Livingston, 376 U.S. 543

(1964), gave as a basis for a finding of successorship obligations

the need to grant some protection to employees from a sudden

transformation of their employer’s business, which leaves intact

significant elements of that business, but which results in the

substitutign-af a new legal entity, not bound by the collective

bargaining agreement under principles of contract law. Another

consideration frequently advanced by this Court for the applica-

tion of the successorship doctrine has been the need for continuity

in industrial labor relations and the concomitant avoidance of

industrial strife, which presumably follows from such a continuity.

Thus, the successorship doctrine presents a conflict between the

preservation of industrial peace and the right of the majority of

employees to determine their bargaining agent, which right the

Act was cesigned to preserve. In the case at bar, where the rela-

tionship between the first employer and the second employer is

as attenuated as it is here and the employees of the first employer

had no reasonable expectation to ever again become employed

by Sterlingwale, which had a bargaining relationship with the

Union at the time of their termination, the right of free choice

of bargaining representative guaranteed those employees by the

Act is undercut by the res:It reached here by the NLRB and Court

of Appeals.

In NLRB v. Burns International Security Services, Inc., supra,

the Court held that if after a change in ownership, the essential

17

nature of the entity remains unchanged, and a majority of the

new firm’s employees or management were employed by the

predecessor company, the new employer is considered the old

employer's “successor”. As such, the new employer must recognize

an incumbent union which demands recognition and dea! with

it as the bargaining representative of the employees. See also,

NLRB v. Band-Age, Inc., supra.

In a successorship situation, the bargaining obligation can nor-

mally be determined at the time of transfer of ownership or when

actual operations began. In other instances, such as this case,

where the Employer is slowly hiring its work force as produc-

tion begins, or where an employer is attempting to start a new

business operation, a delay in making the determination may be

appropriate. Thus, this Court stated in NLRB v. Burns Interna-

tional Security Services, Inc., supra, at p. 295:

“In other situations, however, it may not be clear un-

til the successor employer has hired his full comple-

ment of employees that he has a duty to bargain with

a Union, since it will not be evident until then that

the bargaining representative represents a majority of

the employees as required by Section 9(a) of the Act...”

It is respectfully submitted that this “full complement” prin-

ciple for determining the critical measuring date has been treated

as dicta by the majority of the Court of appeals (App. p. A-11),

which stated that fixing the appropriate date “involves balanc-

ing the objective of insuring maximum employee participation

in the selection of a bargaining agent against the goal of per-

mitting employees to be represented as quickly as possible” (App.

p. A-10), and then, without examining the rationality of its ap-

plication to the facts of this case, and engaging in no balancing

at all, or analysis of any attempt by the NLRB to engage in balan-

cing, simply stated that “These interests are effectively reconcil-

ed in the “substantia! and representative complement” standard

applied by the Board in this case.” (App. p. A-10).

The NLRB made no attempt to engage in any balancing of

the aforementioned objectives. The NLRB Administrative Law

18

Judge, without analysis, and relying upon the sole authority of

the NLRB’s decision in Aircraft Magnesium, a Division of Grico

Corp., supra, mechanically stated, “However, the standard to be

used indicated by the Board is representative complement, not

full complement.” (App. p. A-38).

Hence the NLRB has completely ignored any attempt to

balance the objectives of insuring maximum employee participa-

tion in the selection of a bargaining agent against the goal of

permitting employees to be represented as quickly as possible.

Apparently the NLRB has utterly disregarded this Court’s con-

cern in a successorship case, that there are situations where a duty

to bargain may not attach until a full complement has been hired,

and the bargaining agent represents a majority of the employees.

In this case, the distinction between the substantial and

representative complement date and the full complement date

is critical because the Union did not represent a majority at the

full complement date, but did represent a majority at the substan-

tial complement date. This determination must be based on a

reasoned analysis and not an arbitrary statement that the substan-

tial complement date is to be applied without any consideration

being given to applying a full complement date.

In the case at bar, the NLRB has arbitrarily fixed January 15,

1983 as the date to determine whether the Employer's work force

is composed of a majority of former Sterlingwale production and

maintenance employees. It selected the date by mechanically

following the substantial and representative complement prin-

ciple applied by the NLRB in the Aircraft Magnesium case. In

Aircraft Mangesium, supra, at p. 1345, the NLRB stated:

“It is wel] settled that the significant time frame for

determining what percentage of a purchaser's

employees were former employees of a predecessor is

when a demand for bargaining has been made and

a representative complement of an employer’s work

force is on the job.”

19

No such standard has been formulated or approved by this

Court. The last word on the critical measuring date was in the

Burns case in which the Court expressed its concern that there

are situations when the measuring time frame should be at a point

when there is a full complement of workers.

We submit that there is no justification in the case at bar to

ignore the clear concern of the Supreme Court for the represen-

tation rights of employees. The instant case is precisely one of

the situations referred to by the Court in Burns, particularly when

we consider the substantial differences between Burns and Fall

River that militate in favor of Fall River and demonstrate a good

faith doubt with regard to the Union's majority status. Those ma-

jor differences are, the lack of any expression of union preference

by the employees for many years (Fall River) versus a recent elec-

tion and certification (Burns), the nonexistence of a labor con-

tract (Fall River) in contrast to one in effect (Burns), the start

up of a new business entity after a substantial hiatus following

the liquidation of the original employer (Fall River) versus a con-

tinuity of operations (Burns).

The NLRB has not, under the circumstances of this case,

followed the policies contained in Section 9(a) of the Act, by im-

posing the Union on the employees of Fall River, a minority of

whom were represented by the Union while employed by Ster!-

ingwale as of the full complement date, by mechanically asser-

ting that the substantial and representative complement date is

effective to determine majority representation.

20

THE NLRB'S CONTINUING DEMAND DOCTRINE

AS APPLIED IN THIS CASE CONTRAVENES THE

LABOR MANAGEMENT RELATIONS ACT, AS AM-

MENDED, BY IMPROPERLY COMPELLING THE

EMPLOYER TO BARGAIN WITH A UNION WHERE

A GOOD FAITH DOUBT EXISTED AS TO THE

UNION’S MAJORITY STATUS.

There is no basis for finding that Fall River unlawfully refus-

ed to recognize the Union in violaton of the Act. This is so because

Fall River did not reject the Union’s request for recognition at

a time when the Employer would have been obliged to honor

such a request either under successorship principles or under the

Act.

The original demand for recognition on October 19, 1982 was

undisputedly premature. The Administative Law Judge in his

decision stated that the demand for bargaining by the Union

claiming to represent a majority of former ernployees must be

made when the new employer is operating at a “representative

capacity” (App. p. A-38). However, he went on to hold that if

the new employer is not at that capacity at the time of the de-

mand, the demand is of a “continuing nature”, and once the

employer reaches a representative capacity, the bargaining obliga-

tion will attach (App. p. A-38). The NLRB’S construction and

the Court of Appeals’ affirmance have retroactively transform-

ed the Employer’s good faith rejection of the Union’s demand

into proscribed conduct under Sections 8 (a)(1) and (5) of the Act.

It is not denied by the NLRB that the Union’s original demand

for recognition and bargaining, which was made on October 19,

1982, and rejected by the Employer on October 21, 1982, was

in effect an illegal demand. At that time, there was neither a

representative, nor a full complement of workers hired by Fall

River. If the Employer had acceded to the premature recogni-

tion demand, it would have been a violation of Section 8(a) (2)

of the Act since the Employer would be recognizing a non-

majority union. Hedstrom Company v. NLRB, 558 F.2d 1137 (CA

3, 1977), cert. denied, 450 U.S. 996 (1981). The same is also true

21

on November 1, when the Union filed its charge, and on

December 21, when a complaint was issued by the Regional

Director, and even on January 4, 1983, when Fall River answered

the complaint.

The Administrative Law Judge found that the duty to bargain

with the Union attached for the Employer in mid-January, 1983

at the time the plant was running one shift at full capacity. It

should be noted that no new demand was made in January, 1983

or at any time after the initial one.

It is this very same illegal demand in violation of Section

8(a)(2), that the NLRB and Court of Appeals have retroactively

condoned by using a continuing demand concept. Judge Torruella

noted the irrationality of the continuing demand concept under

the facts of this case in his dissent in the court of Appeals. He

stated:

“By what logic or reasoning can events that took place

therafter retroactively be made to transform these good

faith rejections by Fall River into illegal conduct? At

best the Board’s ambiguous criteria create an unaccep-

table uncertainty in the standard of conduct required

of successors.” (App. p. A-29).

The Administrative Law Judge and the NLRB claim that since

the original demand on October 19 was made at such time that

the new Employer was not operating at a representative capaci-

ty, the demand automatically continues. “Once the employer

reaches a representative capacity, the bargaining obligation will

attach.” (App. p. A-38). However, neither the Administrative Law

Judge in his decision, nor the NLRB majority in their decision,

cited any authority or gave any explanation or rationale for the

principle that a bargaining demand in a successorship situation

made by a union at a time when the employer is not operating

at a representative capacity is of a continuing nature and con-

tinues until such time as the new employer reaches a represen-

tative capacity, at which time a bargaining obligation will at-

tach to the new employer.

22

The uncertainty of such a rule will undoubtedly act to deter

employers from investing in the assets of defunct businesses. If

an entrepreneur seeks to start a new business using assets pur-

chased on the open market, months earlier, from the “estate” of

a failed business. he should not have to worry that at some in-

definite time in the future, he can be found to have violated the

Act, retroactively. In this respect, the NLRB’s continuing demand

concept, if applied in conjunction with the representative com-

plement standard, might deter new investments which would pro-

vide new jobs for laid off workers.

In Hedstrom v. NLRB, supra, the Court of Appeals for the

Third Circuit disagreed with the NLRB-promulgated concept

of “continuing demand”, also in an unfair labor practice con-

text, reasoning that if it were adopted, the employer might be

forced to violate Section (8)(a) (2) of the Act by recognizing a

minority union. The Court held, at p. 1148:

“We canot accept any concept of continuing demand

which requires an employer either to recognize a

minority status union, or to risk a § 8(a) (5) violation

in the event the minority union attains majority status

sometime after the demand, unless it gives renewed

notices to the employer that it has attained majority

status since the last demand. If an employer were to

recognize and bargain with a union which does not

represent a majority of the employees in the ap-

propriate unit, it commits an unfair labor practice in

violation of § 8(a) (2) which prohibits an employer

from aiding any minority union. International Ladies’

Garment Workers’ Union, AFL-CIO v. NLRB, 366 U.S.

731, 48 LRRM 2551 (1961).”

This Court is respectfully urged to correct the NLRB’s conti-

nuing demand concept which has been misapplied in the suc-

cessorship context by the NLRB and the Court of Appeals. The

Employer did not violate the bargainng obligations set forth in

the Act.

23

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, a writ of certiorari should issue to

review the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for

the First Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

Lear STERNKLAR & DROGIN

440 Park Avenue South

New York, New York 10016

(212) 685-8400

Attorneys for Petitioner

Fall River Dyeing & Finishing Corp.

Dated: January 15, 1986

APPENDIX

A-l

Ynited States Court of Appeals

for the

First Circuit

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,

Petitioner,

v.

FALL RIVER DYEING « FINISHING CORP.

Respondent.

DECREE

Entered: October 18, 1985

This cause came on to be heard on application for enforce-

ment of an order of the National Labor Relations Board, and

was argued by Counsel.

Upon consideration whereof, It is now here ordered, adjudg-

ed and decreed as follows: The application for enforcement is

granted and the order of the National Labor Relations Board

is hereby affirmed and enforced.

By the Court,

Francis P. Scigliano

Clerk.

A True Copy

Attest:

Clerk

(Cert. cc: N.L.R.B. and Messrs. Bernstein and Drogin; and

ec: Mr. Fuchs, Regional Director]

United States Court of Appeals

for the

First Circuit

No. 85-1019

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,

Petitioner,

v.

FALL RIVER DYEING « FINISHING CORP.,

Respondent.

ON APPLICATION FOR ENFORCEMENT OF AN ORDER

OF THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

Before

Bownes, Rubin* and Torruella,

Circuit Judges.

Ira Drogin with whom Leaf, Sternklar 4 Drogin was on brief

for respondent.

William M. Bernstein with whom Elinor Hadley Stillman,

Rosemary M. Collyer, General Counsei, John E. Higgins, Jr. ,

Deputy General Counsel, Robert E. Allen, Associate General

Counsel, and Elliott Moore, Deputy Associate General Counsel.

were on brief for petitioner.

October 18, 1985

*Of the Fifth Circuit, sitting by designation.

A-3

RUBIN, Circuit Judge. The National Labor Relations Board

found that Fall River Dyeing & Finishing Corporation (the

Company) was the successor to Sterlingwale Corporation, most

of whose assets the Company acquired when Sterlingware

became insolvent and was liquidated. The Board also found that

a premature demand for collective bargaining made by the

Union that had represented Sterlingwale’s employees continued

in force and became effective against Fall River upon its employ-

ment of a representative complement of Sterlingwale employees.

Because Fall River, upon reaching its representative comple-

ment of employees, did not recognize and bargain with the

Union, the Board found that it had violated Section 8(b) (5)

and (1) of the National Labor Relations Act. We enforce the

Board’s order, finding that substantial evidence on the record

as a whole supports the Board’s conclusions and the legal prin-

ciples it applied do not violate the Act.

I.

For more than thirty years before 1982, Sterlingwale, which

was owned by the Ansin family, operated a plant at Fall River.

Massachusetts, in which it engaged primarily in dyeing and

finishing textiles. Sterlingwale bought unfinished fabrics for its

own account, dyed and finished them, then offered the fabrics

for sale to apparel manufacturers. This business is known in

the trade as “converting.” Sterlingwale also dyed and finished

fabrics owned by other customers to the customers’ specifica-

tions, a business known as “commission finishing.” In 1981, sixty

to seventy percent of Sterlingwale’s volume was converting and

the rest commission finishing.

The process for dyeing and finishing fabrics is the same

whether the work is done for resale or on commission. However,

the financing and customer relations aspects of the two types

of businesses are different. Converting requires capital to buy

merchandise and a sales force. Several major national firms are

engaged in this business, and it is intensely competitive. Com-

mission finishing serves a different market and involves supply-

ing only the services designated by the customer.

A-4

Adverse economic conditions and foreign competition afflicted

the textile industry in the 1970’s. Sterlingwale’s business became

unprofitable but Ansin, its president and principal stockholder,

tried to stay in business because he thought that he “owed that

to the community” and to the company’s employees, many of

whom had been employed by it for over twenty-five years. Early

in 1982, after years of losses amounting to millions of dollars,

Sterlingwale ran out of cash and could no longer buy fabric for

its converting business. Consequently, Ansin ceased normal! pro-

duction operations and began to liquidate the company, lay-

ing off employees and selling its inventory. In July 1982, Ster]-

ingware employed a professional liquidator to sell the firm’s re-

maining assets. Sterlingwale then executed an assignment of its

assets for the benefit of its creditors.

Through another company, Arthur Friedman, who is now

the President of Fall River, acquired Sterlingwale’s equipment

and the real property formerly used by it at a mortgage

foreclosure sale. Friedman’s company conveyed the equipment

and leased part of the original Sterlingwale plant to Fall River

Dyeing & Finishing.

Fall River, operating out of one of the three former Sterl-

ingwale buildings, began hiring employees on September 20,

1982. The employees then spent approximately four to six weeks

on start-up operations, cleaning, relocating and repairing

machines. They spent the next four to five weeks on experimen-

tal production to ensure that everything was in working order.

Following the start-up stage, employees did much the same work

they had done for Sterlingwale. The Company conducted all

of its operations in what had been Sterlingwale’s production

building, using the same machinery and the same basic pro-

cess. It did commission work, as Sterlingwale had done, but

did no converter work.

By a letter dated October 19, the union demanded that Fall

River recognize it as its employees’ collective bargaining agent.

The Company replied that it did not intend to comply with the

A-5

request. At that time, the Company was still engaged in start-

up operations, and, as the Board found, did not have a represen-

tative complement of employees.

The Company’s initial production goal was to have one full

shift operation employing fifty-five to sixty employees. Upon

reaching that goal, the Company intended to “see how business

would be,” and planned to expand to a two-shift operation by

April 1983. Such a sixteen-hour operation is desirable, indeed

almost essential to the production process because the fabrics

emerge from the process wet and the entire operation, including

drying, cannot be completed in eight hours.

By November 1982, employees had been hired in virtually

all job classifications. In mid-January 1983, the first shift was

in full operation and the Company had begun a second shift.

At that time, the Company had hired at least fifty percent of

those it would ultimately employ in the majority of existing job

classifications and 55 of the 106-109 employees it was to employ

in April, the month in which the Company reached its an-

ticipated employee complement. Of the fifty-five employees

hired by mid-January, approximately thirty-six were former

Sterlingwale employees. Eight of the Company’s twelve super-

visors were former Sterlingwale supervisors and three of the

other four were former Sterlingwale employees. Over half of

the dollar volume of the Company’s business came from former

customers of Sterlingwale.

The Board found that, as of January 15, 1983, the Company

had employed a representative complement of employees in an

appropriate unit and that at that time the Company was a suc-

cessor employer to Sterlingwale. The Board further found that

the Union's bargaining request constituted a continuing demand

for recognition and bargaining and that the Company violated

Section 8(a) (5) and (1) of the National Labor Relations Act'

' 29 U.S.C. § 158(a) (5) & (1).

A-6

by refusing to recognize and bargain with the Union once its suc-

cessor bargaining obligation arose.

Member Hunter dissented on the ground that the Company

did not have a representative complement of unit employees at

the time of the Union's October 19 recognition demand and the

Company’s October 22 refusal. Absent a renewed Union bargain-

ing demand at a time when the Company had reached a represen-

tative complement, Member Hunter would find no bargaining

obligation.

Il.

“[A] mere change of employers or of ownership in the employ-

ing industry,” the Supreme Court held in NLRB v. Burns Inter-

national Security Services, Inc.,? does not affect the Board’s cer-

tification of a bargaining unit. The successor employer's obliga-

tion to bargain is founded on the mandate of Sections 8(a)(5)

and 9(a) of the Act? — an employer must bargain with “[rJepresen-

tatives designated or selected for the purposes of collective

bargaining by the majority of the employees in a unit appropriate

for such purposes.”* The successor employer's obligation also arises

from ‘he rule that a mere change in ownership does not destroy

the presumption of continuing employee support for a certified

union.‘ “The basic rationale is that a mere change in ownership,

without an essential change in working conditions, would not

be likely to change employee attitudes toward representation.”*

? 406 U.S. 272, 279, 92 S.Ct. 1571, 1577, 32 L.Ed.2d 61, —— £%

> 29 U.S.C. §§ 158(a)(5) & 159(a).

* Id. § 159(a).

* See NLRB v. Burns Int’! Sec. Servs., 406 U.S. at 277-279, 92 S.Ct. at 1577,

32 L.Ed.2d at ____; see also Aircraft Magnesium, 265 N.L.R.B. 1344, 1345

(1982), enforced, 730 F.2d 767 (9th Cir. 1984) (table).

* Premium Foods, Inc. v. NLRB, 709 F.2d 623, 627 (9th Cir. 1983) (emphasis

in original); see NLRB v. Band-Age, Inc., 534 F.2d 1, 6 (Ist Cir. 1976), cert.

denied, 429 U.S. 921, 97 S.Ct. 318, 50 L.Ed.2d 288 (1976).

A-7

If, after a change in ownership, the essential nature of the enter-

prise remains unchanged, and a majority of the “new” firm’s

employees or management were employed by the predecessor

company, the new employer is considered the old employer's “suc-

cessor.” As such, the new employer must recognize the incum-

bent union and deal with it as the bargaining representative of

the employees.’

In determining whether an employer must recognize and

bargain with a union that has represented the empluyees of the

former employer, “the Board looks to the totality of the cir-

cumstances to determine whether there has been a substantial

and material alteration in the employing enterprise.” In mak-

ing this determination, the Board considers various factors, among

them the percentage of employees who were employed by the

previous employer, the extent to which their former supervisors

have been retained, the indentity of skills used and functions per-

formed by the employees, the continuation of the business in the

same physical facility with the same or similar equipment, the

continuity of products sold or services rendered, and the identi-

ty of the customers.’ Significant changes in the scope of the new

employer's business are to be considered, but alone they do not

negate the possible successorship status of the new business.” The

critical inquiry is whether any changes in operation have

significantly altered the employees’ working conditions, the

” NLRB v. Burns Int'l Sec. Servs., 406 U.S. at 279-81, 92 S.Ct. at 1577-79, 32

L.Ed.2d at ___; NLRB v. Band-Age, Inc., 534 F.2d at 3.

* NLRB v. Boston Needham Indus. Cleaning Co., Inc., 526 F.2d 74, 77 (Ist Cir.

1975).

* See NLRB v. Burns Sec. Servs., Inc., 406 U.S. at 279-80 n.4; 92 S.Ct. at 1578

n.4; 32 L.Ed.2d at ____ n.4; NLRB v. Middleboro Fire Apparatus, Inc., 590

F.2d 4, 7-8 (Ist Civ. 1978); NLRB v. Band-Age, Inc., 534 F.2d at 3-4, 6 (Ist Cir.

1976).

NLRB v. Jeffries Lithograph Co., 752 F.2d 459, 463, 465-66 (9th Cir. 1985);

NLRB v. Hudson River Aggregates, Inc. 639 F.2d 865, 869 (2d Cir. 198).

A-8

employment relationship, and correspondingly, the employees’

expectations and needs with regard to representation."

The seven-month hiatus between the cessation of production

at Sterlingwale and the commencement of the Company's opera-

tions is to be considered, but it is similarly not dispositive” A

hiatus does not of itself preclude a successorship finding because

the inquiry focuses on employee expectations of rehire in the light

of indications during this interim of plans to resume plant opera-

tions under new management. The interim period may be viewed

as part of “the normal concomitants of a new management and

a new approach to a failing business, not a break in the con-

tinuity of the employing industry.”

Because the enterprise-continuity determination is based on

the totality of circumstances, decisions turn “to a great extent

on the precise facts involved.”"* A reviewing court's inquiry is

limited to whether the Board’s findings are supported by substan-

tial evidence, viewing the record as a whole.

The Board’s finding in this case that the Company was substan-

tially continuous to Sterlingwale is supported by substantial

evidence in the record, considered as a whole, as the evidence

" See NLRB v. Band-Age, Inc., 534 F.2d at 6; NLRB v. Boston Needham Indus.

Cleaning Co., Inc., 526 F.2d at 77; NLRB v. Jeffries Lithograph Co., 752 F.2d

at 464.

* NLRB v. Band-Age, Inc., 534 F.2d at 5.

*° NLRB v. Middleboro Fire Apparatus, 590 F.2d at 8.

“ Howard Johnson Co. v. Detroit Local Joint Executive Bd., 417 U.S. 249, 256,

94 S.Ct. 2236, 2240, 41 L.Ed.2d 46, ____ (1974) (quoting NLRB v. Burns Int'l

Sec. Servs., 406 U.S. 272, 274, 92 S.Ct. 1571, 1575, 32 L.Ed.2d 61, (1972)).

See also International Union of Elec., Radio & Mach. Workers v. NLRB, 604

F.2d 689, 694 (D.C. Cir. 1979).

* Universal Camera Corp. v. NLRB, 340 U.S. 474, 490, 71 S.Ct. 456, 466, 95

L.Ed. 456, (1951); NLRB v. Middleboro Fire Apparatus, Inc., 590 F.2d

at 6; NLRB v. Boston Needham Indus. Cleaning Co., Inc., 526 F.2d at 76.

A-9

summarized above demonstrates. The Company did not assume

Sterlingwale's liabilities or acquire its trade name but these facts

do not preclude a finding of successorship.* Although the Com-

pany operated exclusively as a commission dyer and finisher and

did not continue the converter work performed by Sterlingwale,

this change did not alter the essential nature of the employees’

responsibilities because both types of work involve essentially the

same production process. The differences between the Company's

business and Sterlingwale’s are not sufficiently significant to re-

quire a finding that the continuity of the enterprise, viewed from

the employees’ standpoint, was broken. The changes in purchas-

ing, sales, marketing, and financial operations brought about by

the switch to a straight commission operation are only indirect-

ly related to the interests of the unit production and maintenance

employees.” The change from three shifts to two and the reduc-

tion in the number of supervisors might rationally be found to

represent only a reduction in the size and scope of the opera-

tion, not an essential change in the employing enterprise.

Ill.

In a successorship situation, the bargaining obligation can nor-

mally be determined at the time of transfer or when operations

begin." In other instances, however, such as when an employer

is rebuilding a collapsed business or is operating at a substan-

tially reduced capacity, a delay in making the determination may

be appropriate. As the Supreme Court has noted, a determina-

tion regarding the successor’s obligation to bargain may have to

wait “until the successor employer has hired his full complement

of employees ..., since it will not be evident until then that the

* Cf. NLRB v. Band-Age Inc., 534 F.2d at 5; Tom-a-hawk Transit, Inc. v. NLRB,

419 F.2d 1025, 1026-1027 (7th Cir. 1969).

" See NLRB v. Interstate 65 Corp., 453 F.2d 269, 273 (6th Cir. 1971).

* NLRB v. Hudson River Aggregates, Inc. 639 F.2d 865, 870 (2d Cir. 1981);

see also NLRB v. Ideal Laundry Corp., 422 F.2d 801, 804 (10th Cir. 1970).

A-10

bargaining representative represents a majority of employees in

the unit as required by § 9(a) of the Act.”

This “full complement” principle, however, has not been in-

terpreted to require that the examination of the workforce com-

position be postponed until the business is operating at its max-

imum capacity or until the employer has completed hiring all

of its bargaining unit employees. Courts have agreed that, in cases

in which the successorship obligation cannot be determined at

the very outset of the transition, fixing the appropriate date at

which the bargaining obligation arises “involves balancing the

objective of insuring maximum employee participation in the

selection of a bargaining agent against the goal of permitting

employees to be represented as quickly as possible.”

These interests are effectively reconciled in the “substantial and

representative complement” standard applied by the Board in

this case.” This “standard embodies the balance between early

representation and maximum participation that lies at the heart

of the ‘full complement’ concept,” and it has met with general

acceptance in courts that have considered this type of successor-

ship problem.”

* NLRB v. Burns Sec. Servs., Inc., 406 US. at 295, 92 S.Ct. at 1586, 32 L.Ed.2d

at

” NLRB v. Pre-Engineered Bldg. Prods., Inc., 603 F.2d 134, 136 (10th Cir. 1979):

accord Premium Foods, Inc. v. NLRB, 709 F.2d 623, 628.(9th Cir. 1983); NLRB

v. Hudson River Aggregates, Inc., 639 F.2d at 870-71.

* See, e.g., Indianapolis Mack Sales and Serv., Inc., 272 N.L.R.B. No. 108, 117

L.R.R.M. 1335 (1984); enforcement appeal filed, No. 84-3061 (7th Cir. Dec.

7, 1984); Aircraft Magnesium, 265 N.L.R.B. 1344, 1345 (1982), enforced, 730

F.2d 767 (9th Cir. 1984) (table).

# Premium Foods, Inc. v. NLRB. 709 F.2d at 628.

a v. Jeffries Lithograph Co., 752 F.2d at 467; NLRB v. Hudson River

ggregates, Inc., 639 F.2d at 870; see also NLRB v. Pre-Engineered Bldg. Prod.,

Inc., 603 F.2d at 136 & n.1 (10th Cir. 1979).

A-11

The Company's contention that the Board’s representative com-

plement standard is “at variance with the Ninth and Tenth Cir-

cuits” is not supported by the cases cited. In Pacific Hide & Fur

Depot, Inc. v. NLRB,” the Ninth Circuit declined to enforce the

Board’s order to bargain in part because it read the Board’s deci-

sion in that case as rejecting altogether the proposition that the

Burns “full complement” dictum was relevant to the question

whether a successorship obligation exists. While the court im-

plied in dicta that strict adherence to the “full complement” stan-

dard was proper, it also recognized that a “full complement” could

be defined “only by considering the facts of each case” in the light

of the general goals to be attained.* The Ninth Circuit has since

made clear its acceptance of the “substantial and representative

complement” standard as an appropriate means of satisfying the

interests recognized in Burns.” Similarly, in NLRB v. Pre-

Engineered Building Products,” the Tenth Circuit, while it declin-

ed to enforce the Board’s order on the basis of the record evidence,

rejected a rigid interpretation of the “full complement” standard

that would postpone the obligation to bargain until the employer

achieved its ultimate objectives and acknowledged the necessity

of balancing the objecives of early representation and maximum

employee participation.”

In determining whether a representative complement existed

at a given date, the Board first looks to see whether the job

classifications for the operation were “filled or substantially fill-

ed” and whether the operation was in “normal or substantially

* 553 F.2d 609 (9th Cir. 1977).

* Id. at 613.

* See NLRB v. Jeffries Lithograph Co., 752 F.2d 459, 467 (9th Cir. 1985) (citing

Premium Foods, Inc. v. NLRB, 709 F.2d 623, 628-29 (9th Cir. 1985)).

7 603 F.2d 134 (10th Cir. 1979).

* Id. at 136.

A-12

normal production.”” The Board also considers the size of the

complement on that date, the time expected to elapse before a

substantially larger complement would be hired, and the relative

certainty of the expected expansion.”

Considering these guides, the Board reasonably found that the

Company employed a substantial and representative complement

of its workforce in mid-January. By then the Company had hired

employees in virtually all job classifications, had hired at least

fifty percent of those it would ultimately employ in the majori-

ty of those classifications, and it employed a majority of the

employees it would eventually employ when it reached full com-

plement. No workers having new skills were later employed. The

Company had also reached substantially normal production in

mid-January, at which time the first shaft was in full operation

and a second had begun.

IV.

In successorship situations, when a union’s clear request for

bargaining in an appropriate unit has been rejected outright and

unconditionally by the employer, the Board has treated the de-

mand as continuing and has not required the union to renew

the demand later, even if the employer’s bargaining obligation

was not mature at the time of the original request." The Board

has applied this doctrine in cases in which a union, lacking a

majority at the time of its original demand, did not renew the

* Premium Foods, Inc. v. NLRB, 709 F.2d at 628; acowrd NLRB v. Jeffries

Lithograph Co., 752 F.2d at 467 (9th Cir. 1985); Indianapolis Mack Sales and

Serv., Inc., 272 N.L.R.B. No. 108, 17 LRRM 1335 (1984), enforcement appeal

filed, No. 84-3061 (7th Cir. Dec. 7, 1984); see also Hayes Coal Co., Inc., 197

N.L.R.B. 1162, 1163 (1972).

* NLRB v. Jeffries Lithograph Co., 752 F.2d at 467-68; Premium Foods, Inc.

v. NLRB, 709 F.2d at 628.

* Aircraft Magnesium, 265 N.L.R.B. 1344, 1345 n.9 (1982), enforced, 730 F.2d

767 (9th Cir. 1984) (table).

A-13

demand upon gaining a majority” and in cases in which an

employer, seeking to defend against an unfair labor practice

charge, asserts the charge is barred by the Act’s statute of limita-

tions® because of the union’s failure to renew its demand within

six months of the charge’s filing.” —

The Company argues, however, that the Third Circuit’s re-

jection of the continuing demand cuncept in Hedstrom Co. v.

NLRB*® controls the present case. In Hedstrom, a case not in-

volving a successor enterprise, the initial demand was made by

a union lacking majority support. The court reasoned that to

recognize as continuing a demand made when the union lacked

majority designation would force employers “to tread the fine

line between” violating Section 8(a)(2) of the Act,” which pro-

hibits recognizing a minority union, and violating Section 8(a) (5)

of the Act,** which requests employers to bargain with the ma-

jority union. Under the circumstances present in Hedstrom, if

the initial immature demand were to be deemed continuing, the

employer's obligation to bargain would arise simply upon the

union’s reaching majority status. Such a rule would require an

employer to monitor the union’s status in order to avoid violating

Section 8(a)(5) of the Act.

The rationale of Hedstrom is nullified in successorship cases.

When a continuity in the enterprise has been found, as is the

* Schwab Foods, Inc., 223 NLRB 394, 413 (1976), enforced 549 F.2d 805 (7th

Cir. 1977) (table); Local No. 152 v. NLRB, 343 F.2d 307, 310 (D.C. Cir. 1965).

*% National Labor Relations Act § 10(b); 29 U.S.C. § 160(b).

* Enterprise Prods. Co., 265 NLRB 544, 563 (1982).

* 558 F.2d 1137, 1146-48 (1977), cert. denied, 450 U.S. 996, 101 S.Ct. 1699, 68

L.Ed.2d 196 (1981).

* Id. at 1148.

7 29 U.S.C. § 158(a)(2).

* Id. § 158(a)(5).

A-14

case here, “the presumption of majority status by the union under

the predecessor . . . is not affected by a change in ownership.”

“A union is not required to substantiate anew its majority status

when a successor assumes an employer's business.”* The rationale

behind this presumption of majority status derives from the fact

that a successor’s obligation to bargain with the union arises when

the employer reaches a “substantial and representative comple-

ment” of its work force.* The employer, unlike the union, can

readily reach this determination on its own by examining whether

the job classifications for the operation have been “filled or

substantially filled” and whether the operation is in “normal or

substantially normal production.”* Thus, in the successorship con-

text, the continuing demand concept does not present the risks

the Hedstrom court found unfair.

In the successorship context, moreover, the Board’s continu-

ing demand rule is practical. Unions often lack precise informa-

tion about when a change in ownership of a firm is to take place,

how it is to take place, and what plans, if any, the new owners

have for expansion or modification of the enterprise; it is thus

not uncommon for bargaining demands to be made before the

bargaining obligation actually arises.“ In none of the successor-

ship cases was it even claimed that the Board could not properly

find a Section 8(a) (5) violation because the initial bargaining

* Aircraft Magnesium, 265 N.L.R.B. 1344, 1345 (1982), enforced, 730 F.2d

767 (9th Cir. 1984) (table).

“ Id. at 1346.

4

See supra text accompany notes 19-30.

“ Premium Foods, Inc. v. NLRB, 709 F.2d at 628; see also Hayes Coal Co.,

Inc., 197 N.L.R.B. 1162, 1163 (1972).

“ See, e.g., NLRB v. Hudson River Aggregates, 639 F.2d at 867-68, 870 (2d

Cir. 1981); Aircraft Magnesium, 265 N.L.R.B. 1344, 1344-45, 1346 (1982), en-

forced, 730 F.2d 767 (9th Cir. 1984); Cf. Premium Foods, Inc. v. NLRB, 709

F.2d at 625-26, 629 (though union demand timely, sent to wrong company also

involved in the transfer).

A-15

demand was not renewed, and the Company has cited no suc-

cessorship case that supports that proposition.

The doctrine applied by the Board may not be one that we

would ourselves devise. Given the discretion imparted to it to in-

terpret and enforce the Act, we do not find the Board’s ruling

“arbitrary or contrary to law.”

V

At the unfair labor practice hearing, the Company sought to

introduce two petitions disclaiming employee support for the

Union. The petitions had been signed by the employees on April

29, 1983, three days before the unfair labor practice hearing com-

menced. The administrative law judge rejected these exhibits

because, given their timing, they could not justify the Company s

refusal to bargain on January 15. The administrative law judge

properly declined to consider the petitions on the ground that

they were made after the time when the Company became

obligated to bargain with the Union and failed to do so. As in

the analogous situation of an employer withdrawing recognition

from a union because it is in good faith doubts the union’s ma-

jority status, no useful purpose is served by permitting the

employer to defend the propriety of an earlier refusal to bargain

by relying on subsequent events that had nothing to do with the

refusal.“ Furthermore, once it has been determined that an

employer has unlawfully withheld recognition of an employees’

bargaining representative, the employer cannot defend against

a remedial bargaining by pointing to an intervening loss of

“ Charles D. Bonanno Linen Serv., Inc. v. NLRB, 454 U.S. 404, 413, 102 S.Ct.

720, 725, 70 L.Ed.2d 656, ____ (1982); see also Beth Israel Hosp. v. NLRB 437

USS. 483, 501, 98 S.Ct. 2463, 2473-74, 57 L.Ed.2d 370, ____ (1978) (The judicial

role is narrow: The rule which the Board adopts is judicially reviewable for

consistency with the Act, and for rationality, but if satisfies those criteria, the

Board’s application of the rule, if supported by substantial evidence on the record

as a whole, must be enforced.”).

“ See Terrell Machine Co. v. NLRB, 427 F.2d 1088, 1090 (4th Cir.), cert. denied,

398 U.S. 929, 90 S.Ct. 1821, L.Ed.2d _____ (1970); NLRB v. Gulfmont Hote!

Co., 362 F.2d 588, 589 (5th Cir. 1966).

A-16

employee support for the union when such loss of support is a

foreseeable consequence of the employer's unfair labor practice.“

Had the Company voluntarily bargained with the Union in

January, the employees’ wage concerns might have been addressed

and the employees might not have signed these petitions. If the

employees had nonetheless signed petitions disclaiming support

for the Union after such bargaining, the Company might have

had a basis for withdrawing recognition; having behaved lawfully,

it would be free to withdraw recognition on the basis of any

evidence that established actual loss of majority or supported good

faith doubt.” However, the Board found the Company did not

bargain when it should have; hence, these petitions cannot pro-

perly serve either to justify the earlier refusal to bargain or to

affect the order remedying that refusal.*

For these reasons, the Board’s Order is ENFORCED.

“ Franks Bros. Co. v. NLRB, 321 U.S. 702, 702-04, 64 S.Ct. 817, 818, 88 L.Ed.

1020, _____ (1944).

* Landmark Int'l Trucks, Inc. v. NLRB, 699 F.2d 815, 819 (6th Cir. 1983):

Harley-Davidson Transp. Co., 273 N.L.R.B. No. 192, 118 L.R.R.M. 1204 (Jan.

22, 1985).

“ Aircraft Magnesium, 265 N.L.R.B. 1344, 1346 (1982), enforced, 730 F.2d

767 (9th Cir. 1984).

A-17

TORRUELLA, Circuit Judge (Dissenting). The central issue

presented by this appeal is whether the National Labor Rela-

tions Board (Board) has contravened N.L.R.B. v. Burns Inter-

national Detective Agency, 406 U.S. 272 (1972) in ruling that Fall

River is a “successor employer” to Sterlingwale and was thus

bound to recognize and negotiate with the labor organization

that represented Sterlingwale’s employees. Underlying the resolu-

tion of this question are two Board-promulgated theories: (1) the

“continuing demand” concept, whereby a union’s demand for

recognition, once made and rejected by an employer, is considered

to be continuing in nature, see Aircraft Magnesium, 265 N.L.R.B.

1344, 1345 n.9 (1982), enforced, 730 F.2d 767 (9th Cir. 1984),

and (2) the “substantial and representative complement” stan-

dard, under which the determination of whether a new employer

is a successor is postponed until his workforce reaches a substan-

tial complement, representative of the number and type of

employees that will ultimately constitute the appropriate bargain-

ing unit. Aircraft Magnesium, 265 N.L.R.B. at 1345; Premium

Foods, Inc. v. N.L.R.B., 709 F.2d 623, 628 (9th Cir. 1983). These

issues are unavoidably intertwined and are of first impression in

this circuit.

At the outset, it must be recognized that “[t]he judicial role

is narrow: The rule{s] which the Board adopts [are] judicially

reviewable for consistency with the Act, and for rationality, but

if [they] satisfy[y] those criteria, the Board’s application of the

rule[s], if supported by substantial evidence on the record as a

whole, must be enforced.” Beth Israel Hospital v. N.L.R.B., 437

U.S. 483, 501 (1977). See also § 10(e), N.L.R.A., 29 U.S.C. § 160(e);

Administrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. § 706(2)(E); Universal

Camera Corp. v. N.L.R.B., 340 U.S. 474 (1951). In my opinion

the Board has failed to meet all of these tests and is promoting

concepts that are clearly contrary to the Labor Management Rela-

tions Act (Act) and to Supreme Court precedent.

In the area of successorship there are few broad governing prin-

ciples and thus, there exists considerable uncertainty. N.L.R.B.

v. Band-Age, Inc., 534 F.2d 1, 2 (Ist Cir. 1976). See also Note,

The Bargaining Obligations of Successor Employers, 88 Harv.

L. Rev. 759, 760 (1975) (hereinafter cited as Bargaining Obliga-

tions); Comments, Criteria For Determining Employer

A-18

Successorship-Factor Analysis, Burns and the Need For a New

Standard, 11 Wake Forest L. Rev. 437, 446, 457 (1975) (hereinafter

cited as Criteria). In light of the difficulty of the successorship

question, it is especially appropriate to focus on the particular

facts of each case. Howard Johnson Co. v. Detroit Local Joint

Executive Board, Hotel and Restaurant Employees Union, 417

U.S. 249, 256 (1974); Band-Age, Inc., supra.

In the present case, the facts upon which the Board’s action

is predicated are essentially undisputed. I will restate them,

however, in the context of various items apparently glossed over

by the Board in reaching its successorship conclusion.

On February 12, 1982, Sterlingwale shut down its textile dye-

ing and finishing operation and indefinitely laid off all of its pro-

duction and maintenance employees. These employees were

represented since 1968 by the United Textile Workers of America,

AFL-CIO, Local 292 (Union). A series of collective bargaining

agreements had been negotiated, the last of which was due to

expire on April 1, 1982, and eventually did so expire without fur-

ther extension by the parties. Notwithstanding the existence of

a grievance and arbitration procedure, the Union did not

challenge Sterlingwale’s actions, as it was patently clear that the

terminations were not motivated by anything except Sterlingwale’s

dire economic circumstances involving the loss of millions of

dollars.

After February 12th, Sterlingwale entered a period of liquida-

tion during which it retained a skeleton crew until the Summer

of 1982, when the business ceased activities altogether. An assign-

ment was -. ade for the benefit of creditors and a foreclosure was

made on 1 premises occupied by Sterlingwale. Thereafter, Sterl-

ingwale’s ~operty was sold at auction. The real property was

acquired in late August 1982 by Macramy Sales Corp. (Macramy),

who then leased part of these premises to Fall River. Fall River

moved into this locale in September 1982. Fall River also acquired

at auction most of Sterlingwale’s machinery, furniture, and fix-

tures, and part of Sterlingwale’s remaining materials and inven-

tory. It is significant to note that these purchases were made at

public auction, not through direct private sales.

A-19

Fall River acquired no other former Sterlingwale assets such

as its trade name, good will, or customer lists, nor did Fall River

assume any of Sterlingwale’s liabilities. Additionally, there is no

evidence that Fall River obtained any of Sterlingwale’s employee

lists or personnel records.

Thereafter, Fall River publicly advertised employment oppor-

tunities in the local newspapers. On September 20, 1982, after

hiring its first new employees, it commenced preliminary start-

up operations in one of three former Sterlingwale buildings. Fall

River proposed to engage solely in commission work, which con-

sists of the dyeing and finishing of fabric belonging to others for

a commission, in contrast with Sterlingwale, whose business had

been approximately 60-70% processing its own fabric and only

30-40 % commission finishing.

On October 19, 1982, the Union sent Fall River a letter stating

that, “pursuant to the Agreement between Sterlingwale” and the

Union, the Union demanded recognition. It then indicated that

on October 28th at 1:00 PM a Union representative would call

upon Fall River “for the purpose of negotiating a collective

bargaining agieement.” At the time of this demand Fall River

had 21 employees on the payroll, 18 of whom were former Ster]-

ingwale employees. Fall River's initial production goal was to have

a one-shift operation of 55 to 60 employees, and then to expand

fully to a two-shift operation totaling 106-109 employees by April

1983.

On October 21, 1982, in a letter written by its counsel, Fall

River indicated that it did “not intend to comply with [the

Union's] request; and further . . . that there was no legal basis

for same.”

On November 1, 1982, the Union fiied an unfair labor prac-

tice charge with the Board, claiming that Fall River had violated

Sections 8(a) (1) and (5) of the Act. By mid-November, Fall River

had hired employees in virtually all job classifications. They were

engaged in start-up operations, cleaning and repairing machines

for the first 4-6 weeks, and carrying out experimental produc-

tion on old Sterlingwale inventory during the next 4-5 weeks.

A-20

After investigation, the Regional Director of the Board on

December 21, 1982 issued a complaint charging Fall River with

violation of Sections 8(a) (1) and (5) of the Act because “[o]n or

about October 21, 1982, and at all times thereafter, Respondent

did refuse and continues to refuse to meet and bargain collec-

tively, with the Union as the exclusive representative of all the

employees in the unit.” A hearing was set for May 2, 1983.

On January 4, 1983, Fall River answered the complaint, the

substance of which was a denial that it was a successor employer

to Sterlingwale or that it had violated Sections 8(a) (1) and (5)

of the Act.

In mid-January, 1983, the first shift was in full operation and

a second shift was begun, with a total complement of 55

employees, approximately 36 of whom were former Sterlingwale

employees. Furthermore, Fall River's Vice-President and

Secretary, Herbert Chance, had formerly served as Vice-President

of Sterlingwale until February, 1982. Over half of the dollar

volume of Fall River’s commission dyeing and finishing work came

from customers who had also done business with Sterlingwale.

Fall River continued to expand until it reached its goal of a

full complemes' |° employees in mid-April 1983, with two

10-hour shift: en g approximately 106 to 109 persons. By

March 24, lf «© © Sterlingwale employees were a minori-

ty of the emp» © © the production and maintenance unit.

The hearing before the administrative law judge began on May

2nd. The judge held in substance that the Union’s October 19th

demand was a continuing one that Fall River was bound to com-

ply with at such time as its operations reached a “representative

complement, not full complement.” He then ruled “that the du-

ty to bargain with the Union attached for [Fall River] in mid-

January 1983,” and ordered Fall River, upon request of the Union,

to bargain.

A majority of the Board, with one dissenting vote, adopted

the decision in toto, enforcement of which is now before us.

A-21

There are three distinct but related reasons why enforcement

should be denied.

I

The Board’s “representative complement” rule contravenes the

“full complement” rule enunciated by the Supreme Court in

N.L.R.B. v. Burns International Detective Agency, supra. See

Criteria, 11 Wake Forest L. Rev. at 449, 457. In Burns the Court

was faced with a changeover of employers in an ongoing opera-

tion. Wackenhut Corporation, the initial employer, had a con-

tract to provide security services to the Lockheed Aircraft Com-

pany. A majority of Wackenhut’s employees voted in a Board-

supervised election to be represented by a union and, thereafter,

Wackenhut and the union negotiated a collective bargaining

agreement. Approximately four months later Wackenhut’s con-

tract with Lockheed expired without renovation. Instead,

Lockheed contracted with the Burns Detective Agency for these

services. At the time of Burns’ takeover, Burns employed 27 of

Wackenhut’s guards directly from the certified unit, in addition

to which it completed the unit by bringing in 15 of its own guards

from other Burns’ locations. No hiatus occurred in the provision

of services to Lockheed between the Wackenhut and Burns’ opera-

tions. After the takeover Burns refused the union’s request for

recognition and compliance with the labor contract and the Board

thereafter found Burns in violation of Sections 8(a) (1) and (5)

of the Act as a successor of Wackenhut.

In sustaining the Board’s findings regarding successorship, the

Court stated:

In an election held but a few months before, the union

had been designated bargaining agent for the

employees in the unit and a majority of these employees

had been hired by Burns for work in the identical unit.

It is undisputed that Burns knew all the relevant facts

in this regard and was aware of the certification and

of the existence of a collective-bargaining contract. In

these circumstances, it was not unreasonable for the

|

2 ——_e_errreeee

A-22

Board to conclude that the union certified to represent

all employees in the unit still represented a majority of

the employees and that Burns could not reasonably have

entertained a good-faith doubt about that fact, Burns’

obligation to bargain with the union over. terms and

conditions of employment stemmed from its hiring of

Wackenhut’s employees and from the recent election and

Board certification. It has been consistently held that

a mere change of employers or of ownership in the

employing industry is not such an “unusual cir-

cumstance” as to affect the force of the Board’s certifica-

tion within the normal operative period if a majority

of employees after the change of ownership or manage-

ment were employed by the preceding employer.

406 U.S. at 278-279.

The Court then considered the Board’s findings that Burns had

violated the Act by unilaterally changing working conditions of

the employer. The Court, in ruling against the Board stated:

Although a successor employer is ordinarily free to set

initial terms on which it will hire the employees of a

predecessor, there will be instances in which it is perfect-

ly clear that the new employer plans to retain all of the

employees in the unit and in which it will be ap-

propriate to have him initially consult with the

employees’ bargaining representative before he fixes

terms. In other situations, however, it may not be clear

until the successor employer has hired his full comple-

ment of employees that he has a duty to bargain with

a union, since it will not be evident until then that the

bargaining representative represents a majority of the

employees in the unit as required by § 9(a) of the Act,

29 U.S.C. § 159 (a). Here, for example, Burns’ obliga-

tion to bargain with the union did not mature until it

had selected its force of guards late in June. The Board

quite properly found that Burns refused to bargain on

July 12 when it rejected the overtures of the union.

406 U.S. at 294-95 (emphasis supplied).

A-23

The present case is precisely one of the “other situations” refer-

red to by the court in Burns, particularly when we consider the

substantial difference between Burns and Fall River that militate

in favor of Fall River: the lack of any expression of union

preference by the employees for many years (Fall River) versus

a recent election and certification (Burns), the non-existence of

a labor contract (Fall River) in contrast to one in effect (Burns),

the start up of a new business entity after a substantial hiatus

following the liquidation of the original employer (Fall River)

versus a continuity of operations (Burns).

The court’s reference to Section 9(a) of the Act in its ruling

is of special relevance as it is this part of the Act that provides

for selection of the employee's representatives “for the purpose

of collective bargaining by the majority of the employees.” This

provision establishes a strong public policy favoring free choice

of a bargaining agent by the employees which should not light-

ly be frustrated. Schmerler Ford, Inc. v. N.L.R.B., 424 F.2d 1335,

1339 (7th Cir. 1970). It is because of this self-evident principle

that four justices dissented in Burns against any application of

the successorship principle to even the strong factual situation

in Burns, concluding “that the Board and the Court of Appeals

stretched that concept beyond the limits of its proper applica-

tion”. 406 U.S. at 296. As the dissent indicates, “the successor-

ship doctrine, carried to its ultimate limits, runs counter to other

equally well-established principles of labor law. Industrial peace

is an important goal of the Labor Management Relations Act.”

Id. at 302. “But Congress has plainly been unwilling to purchase

industrial peace at the price of substantial curtailment of free

collective bargaining by the freely chosen representatives of the

employees with their employer.” Jd. at 303.

' 29 U.S.C. 159(a):

Representatives designated ox selected for the purposes of col-

lective bargaining by the majority of the employees in a unit ap-

propriate for such purposes, shall be the exclusive representatives

of all the employees in such unit for the purposes of collective

bargaining in respect to rates of pay, wages, hours of employment,

or other conditions of employment....

A-24

The dissent, in concluding that the application of the successor-

ship doctrine was not authorized by the Act, stated:

The rigid imposition of a prior-existing labor relations

environment on a new employer whose only connec-

tion with the old employer is the hiring of some of the

latter’s employees and the performance of some of the

work which was previously performed by the latter,

might well tend to produce industrial peace of a sort.

But industrial peace in such a case would be produc-

ed at a sacrifice of the determination by the Board of

the appropriateness of bargaining agents and of the

wishes of the majority of the employees which the Act

was designed to preserve. These latter principles cau-

tion us against extending successorship, under the ban-

ner of industrial peace, step by step to a point where

the only connection between the two employing en-

tities is a naked transfer of employees.

Id., at 306-307 (emphasis supplied). See also Bargaining Obliga-

tions, 88 Harv. L. Rev. at 763; Criteria, 11 Wake Forest L. Rev.

at 457.

Although normally a dissent may be considered weak support

upon which to base an opinion, the dissent in Burns buttresses

the soundness of the majority’s “full complement” requirement

and its reliance on Section 9(a) of the Act for that proposition.

Although the majority in Burns was not willing to set aside the

successorship finding, it did so because it concluded that Burns’

employees, already operating at full complement, and shortly

after having freely expressed their collective bargaining

preference, were not being denied their rights under the Act. By

requiring a full complement of employees, all employees to be

affected by the Board’s actions were given a choice. The Board’s

contention that the “full complement” requirement in Burns con-

stitutes mere dicta which it is cavalierly free to disregard, is hardly

an approach that this court should be eager to follow. See Pacific

Hide ¢> Fur Depot, Inc. v. N.L.R.B., 553 F.2d 609 (9th Cir. 1977);

N.L.R.B. v. Pre-Engineering Building Products, 603 F.2d 134

(10th Cir. 1979).

A-25

In the present case the Board’s bureaucratic legalese deprives

the employees of their right to express a free choice, a result totally

contrary to the most fundamental purposes of the Act. It is,

therefore, not entitled to enforcement. Beth Israel Hospital, supra.

II

In the seminal case of Universal Camera v. N.L.R.B., supra,

the Court laid down the rule for review of Board actions by courts

of appeal:

Congress has ... made it clear that a reviewing court

is not barred from setting aside a Board decision when

it cannot conscientiously find that the evidence sup-

porting that decision is substantial, when viewed in

the light that the record in its entirety furnishes, in-

cluding the body of evidence opposed to the Board’s

view.

340 U.S. at 488. “The substantiality of the evidence must take

into account whatever in the record fairly detracts from its

weight.” Id. The cumulative impact of multiplication of minutiae

cannot be regarded as substantia! evidence to support a finding

by the Board. N.L.R.B. v. United Parcel Service, Inc., 317 F.2d

912, 914 (ist Cir. 1963). “Substantial evidence” means such rele-

vant evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate

to support a conclusion. Coppus Engineering Corp. v. N.L.R.B.,

240 F.2d 564, 570 (Ist Cir. 1957); N.L.R.B. v. Local 776, IATSE

(Filia Editors), 303 F.2d 513, 517 n.3 (9th Cir. 1962), cert. denied,

371 U.S. 826 (1963). Such evidence, however, is not substantial

if it appears in isolation rather than is viewed in proper perspec-

tive. Id. Substantiality of evidence is measured by consideration

of all the evidence and not merely that which supports the Board’s

conclusions. M.R.¢<-R. Trucking Co. v. N.L.R.B., 434 F.2d 689

(5th Cir. 1970).

Accepting, as we must, this framework for review, I do not

hesitate to find that the Board’s conclusion that Fall River is a

“successor employer” is not supported by substantial evidence.

See Note, The Successor Employer's Obligation to Bargain: Cur-

rent Problems In The Presumption of a Union's Majority Status,

A-26

8 Fordham Urb. L.J. 429, 442-444 (1980) (hereinafter cited as

Current Problems).

The traditional test for determining successorship is whether

there is substantial continuity between the employing enterprises.

Burns, 406 U.S. at 279-281. In making this determination we look

to whether there has been a change in the essential nature of

the enterprises. Burns, id.; Band-Age, Inc., supra, 534 F.2d at

3; N.L.R.B. v. Middleboro Fire Apparatus, 590 F.2d 4, 6 (1st Cir.

1978). This question, as we have previously indicated, is highly

fact specific. Howard Johnson, supra.

There is no question in my mind but that there has been no

continuity between the operations of Sterlingwale and Fall River.

It is undisputed that Sterlingwale ceased operations and went

out of business for economic reasons. It is also undisputed that

Fall River is a separate legal entity to Sterlingwale, with different

ownership, financing, etc., e.g. the Board does not make any claim

that Fall River is an alter ego of Sterlingwale. Fall River leases

one of Sterlingwale’s three buildings from a company, totally

unrelated to Sterlingwale, who purchased it on the open market.

Although Fall River uses machinery and equipment which at one

time belonged to Sterlingwale, they also were purchased on the

open market. Thus the fact that the building and machinery were

once Sterlingwale’s property should be totally irrelevant to the

successorship determination. Fall River acquired no trade name,

good will or other assets from Sterlingwale. It assumed none of

Sterlingwale’s liabilities. There was no transfer of employee or

personnel records between Sterlingwale and Fall River and more

importantly, no transfer of any employees or personnel. Those

persons hired by Fall River who were former employees, super-

visors, cr executives of Sterlingwale were also hired from the open

market after advertisement. Such new employment took place

after at least a seven-month periud had passed since their ter-

mination by Sterlingwale. The nature of Fall River’s business is

different from that of Sterlingwale’s, commission work versus pro-

cessing, thus bring about substantial changes in Fall River's opera-

tion when compared to Sterlingwale: a smaller manufacturing

A-27

plant, less employees, less work shifts, longer working hours.’

There was no transfer of customer lists or customers between

Sterlingwale and Fall River, thus any former Sterlingwale

customers who also became Fall River customers were presumably

acquired in the open market. Last but not least, if the proper

Burns standard is used, when Fall River reached full capacity,

a majority of its employees were “new” employees. See Current

Problems, 8 Fordham Urb. L.J. at 447.

This record, rather than substantially supporting the Board’s

conclusion of successorship, should mandate a ruling against it.

The situation was stated in more appropriate language by Chief

Judge Campbell in his dissent in Band-Age:

The premise of the National Labor Relations Act is

industrial democracy, requiring an employer to bargain

with the representative of a majority of its employees.

This democratic principle must, of course, yield to

practicality and the need for industrial peace, as rules

limiting the frequency of elections illustrate. But such

rules, presuming the continuity of majority sentiment,

evolved within the frame of a single enterprise. While

they may be appropriately extended toe genuine suc-

cessor entities, they should not apply where the original

bargaining unit and nature of the enterprise have been

radically altered. I fear that the enlargement of the

successorship doctrine to accommodate such a case may

sweep aside the requirement that the Union have roots

in the actual wishes of the employees. Here it would

be simple to require an expression of the wishes of the

37 current employees rather than to presume,

somewhat woodenly, that the earlier-expressed wishes

of a different group of employees working for a dif-

ferent employer remain effective.

534 F.2¢ at 7 (citations omitted).

? There are no findings regarding similarity of wages and fringe benefits, fac-

tors which would have been relevant to demonstrate continuity.

A-28

III

This Court in Middleboro Fire Apparatus, a case involving the

successorship doctrine held:

Simply stated, if the Board finds on the totality of

the circumstances that a change in ownership did not

affect the “essential nature” of the former business, then

the new enterprise must recognize and bargain with

the union that represented the empioyees of the former

business. The exception to this rule relevant here per-

mits the new employer not to bargain with the union

if the employer could “reasonably have entertained a

good-faith doubt” about the union’s continued majority

status.

590 F.2d at 6. (Emphasis supplied. Citations and footnotes

omitted).

The facts of this case as evidenced by both the Board majori-

ty and dissent leave no question as to Fall River’s good faith doubt®

in denying union recognition. See Current Problems, 8 Fordham

Urb. L.J. at 431, 448.

On October 19, 1982, when recognition and bargaining was

requested, the Board concluded that the union was not legally

entitled to compliance with this request. As a matter of law, Fall

River would have violated Section 8(a)(2) of the Act if it had ac-

ceded. 29 U.S.C. 158(a)(2), see Hedstrom Co. v. N.L.R.B., 558

F.2d 1137, 1146-48 (3d Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 450 U.S. 996 (1981).

The Board also conceded that Fall River was correct on October

21, when it formally denied the Union’s request. If we continue

this line of reasoning, when the Union filed its charge on

November 1, even if Fall River had accepted these allegations,

the Board would also have been legally bound to rule, as it did

*“TIn its simplest form, the phrase implies breach of faith, wilful failure to res-

pond to plain, well-understood statutory or contractual obligations.” N.L.R.B.

v. Knoxville Pub. Co., 124 F.2d 875, 883 (6th Cir. 1942); Hurry v. Jones, 560

F. Supp. 500, 507 (D.R.I. 1983).

—

A-29

in its decision, that the Union did not at that point represent Fall

River’s employees. This hypothesis is equally applicable to

December 21, when the Regional Director issued a complaint,

and even as late as January 4, 1983 when Fall River answered

the same. By what logic or reasoning can events that took place

thereafter retroactively be made to transform these good faith

rejections by Fall River into illegal conduct? At best the Board's

ambiguous criteria create an unacceptable uncertainty in the

standard of conduct required of “successors.” See Current Pro-

blems, 8 Fordham Urb. L.J. at 447-449; Bargaining Obligations,

88 Harv. L. Rev. at 760, 764; Criteria, 11 Wake Forest L. Rev.

at 446, 457. This court should not place upon it the imprimatur

of legality by enforcing the Board’s order.

The issue presented is in reality two-pronged: (1) do these cir-

cumstances objectively justify a good faith doubt by Fall River

in mid-January, 1983, and (2) is it permissible (e.g., rational) to

allow the Board to presume continued Union majority support

under the facts of this case in view of the requirements of Sec-

tion 9 of the Act?

I believe the proper answer to both questions to be in the

negative.

If the Board found Fall River to be free from any illegal con-

duct when the demand was made on October 19, when rejected

on October 21, when the complaint issued on December 21st,

and when it was answered on January 4, it cannot follow that

by the mere “running [of] one shift at full capacity” in mid-

January 1983, this fact triggered a duty to bargain with the

Union. An objective view of this situation, particularly consider-

ing the dynamic circumstances under which they developed, can-

not justify the hanging of a bad faith label on Fall River. The

factual basis for the presumption of continued majority support

for the Union is lacking.

Stated differently, given the facts of this case, there is no ra-

tional basis for having an illegal demand (e.g., one which if com-

plied with by Fall River would have subjected it to violation of

Section 8(a)(2) of the Act) carryover ad infinitum, thus

A-30

permitting the imposition of a union on employees who have not

expressed a free choice since 1968. Such a rule is clearly contrary

to the purposes of the Act as stated in Section 9.

It is ironic, to say the least, that the Board order enforced to-

day requires Fall River to bargain with the Union upon request.

Yet this minimal effort is dispensed with in deciding the merits

of this case.

This Court should not be eager to embrace doctrines fraught

with perceptions that un contrary to the spirit and letter of the

Act, and which radically depart from logic and common sense.

For the above-stated reasons, I dissent.

ZHDe

272 NLRB No. 127 D--227€

Fall River, MA

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

BEFORE THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

FALL RIVER DYEING &

FINISHING CORP.

and Case 1-CA-20391

UNITED TEXTILE WORKERS

OF AMERICA, AFL--CIO,

LOCAL 292

DECISION AND ORDER

On 27 January 1984 Administrative Law Judge Burton S.

Kolko issued the attached decision. The Respondent filed ex-

ceptions and a supporting brief, and the General Counsel filed

a brief in support of the judge’s decision.

The National Labor Relations Board has delegated its authori-

ty in this proceeding to a three-member panel.

The Board has considered the decision and the record in

light of the exceptions and briefs and has decidec *» affirm the

judge’s rulings, findings,’ and conclusions and to adopt the

recommended Order.

' In its exceptions, the Respondent challenges, inter alia, the judge's reliance

on certain testimony. We interpret this as a challenge to the judge's implicit

credibility findings. The Board’s established policy is not to overrule an ad-

ministrative law judge’s credibility resolutions unless the clear preponderance

(Footnote continued)

A-32

ORDER

The National Labor Relations Board adopts the recommended

Order of the administrative law judge and orders that the

Respondent, Fall River Dyeing & Finishing Corp., Fall River,

Massachusetts, its officers, agents, successors, and assigns, shall

take the action set forth in the Order.

Dated, Washington, D.C. 19 October 1984

Don A. Zimmerman, Member

Patricia Diaz Dennis, Member

(SEAL) NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

of ail the relevant evidence convinces us that they are incorrect. Standard

Dry Wall Products, 91 NLRB 544 (1950), enfd. 188 F.2d 363 (3d Cir. 1951).

We also agree with the judge that the Respondent incurred a 0 taining

obligation in mid-January 1983. It was at that point that the Respone« * first

employed a substantial and representative complement of its work curce (a

majority of which, it is undisputed, the Union represented when those

employees worked for the Respondent's organized predecessor). Thus, in mid-

January the Respondent had one shift in full operation and had started a se-

cond shift. All job titles had been filled since the previous November, and

by mid-January the Respondent employed more than 50 percent of those it

would ultimately employ in the vast majority of existing job classifications.

Indeed, at the critical time, the Respondent employed nearly two-thirds the

number it planned to ultimately have. Furthermore, with the addiuion of the

second shift, the Respondent added no new skills to its work force.

A-33

MEMBER HUNTER, dissenting

Contrary to my colleagues, I would dismiss the complaint

allegation that the Respondent violated Section 8(a)(5) and (1)

of the Act by refusing to recognize and bargain collectively with

the Union, Textile Workers Local 292. As of the date that the

Union made its recognition demand on 19 October 1982 the

Respondent did not have even a representative complement of

employees and did not have such complement until 15 January

1983, the date on which the judge and my colleagues have im-

posed a bargaining obligation. Thus, at the time the Respon-

dent denied recognition on 21 October 1982, it had no obliga-

tion to recognize the Union. In the absence of any evidence that

the Union renewed its request for recognition subsequent to Oc-

tober 1982 at a time when the Respondent would have been

obligated to honor such a request under successorship principles, '

there is no basis for finding that the Respondent unlawfully

refused to recognize the Union.

Dated, Washington, D.C. 19 October 1984

Robert P. Hunter, Member

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

' | find it unnecessary to consider the Respondent's argument that the judge

erred in imposing a bargaining obligation on the date that a representative

complement of employees was employed by the alleged successor employer,

and that the proper date for determining whether any bargaining obligation

may arise pursuant to a recognition demand of a union which represented

the predecessor's employees is the date that the alleged successor employed

a full complement of employees.

A-34

JD-25-84

Boston, MA

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

BEFORE THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

DIVISION OF JUDGES

WASHINGTON, D.C.

FALL RIVER DYEING &

FINISHING CORP.

and Case 1-CA-20391

UNITED TEXTILE WORKERS

OF AMERICA, AFL—CIO,

LOCAL 292

Robert Redbord, Esq., of

Boston, MA, for General Counsel.

James W. Clarkin, Esq., of Fall

River, MA, for Respondent.

Mr. James Lenehan, of Providence,

RI, for Charging Party.

DECISION

Statement of the Case

BURTON S. KOLKO, Administrative Law Judge: Upon a

charge filed on November 1, 1982 by the United Textile Workers

of America, AFL-CIO, Local 292, a complaint issued on

December 21, 1982 against Fall River Dyeing and Finishing

Corp. (herein Respondent) alleging violation of Sections 8(a)(1)

and (5) of the Act. The Matter was heard before me in Boston,

Massachusetts on May 2, 1983, and was briefed on August 5,

1983.

A-35

The case centers around whether Respondent is a successor

to Sterlingwale Corporation. If it is, the second question arises

— did it violate the Act by refusing to recognize and bargain

with the Union? I find that Respondent is a successor and did

violate the Act by refusing to recognize and bargain with the

Union once it had a representative complement of workers the

majority of whom were former employees of Sterlingwale.

Successorship

Sterlingwale Corp. in Fall River had been in business for over

30 years before it closed in 1982. The business involved mainly

the dyeing and finishing of textiles, and a small amount of retail

sales. Sterlingwale had handled both flat goods and corduroy

fabrics. Although it had been both a converter of fabrics and

a commission dyer, it moved more toward commission dyeing

as it suffered economically.

Converter work meant that goods were purchased by Sterl-

ingwale, then dyed and finished for sale in the marketplace.

Commission dyeing involved the receipt of goods from a

customer, the dyeing and finishing of the goods and the return

of those goods to the customer. Leonard Ansin, president of

Sterlingwale, testified that from an employee's viewpoint, the

production process for either converter goods or commission

goods was the same. In addition, the production process for cor-

duroy and flat goods was similar. (Corduroy required back-

sizing and some cutting and post-cutting inspection. )

Ansin testified that beginning in 1979, Sterlingwale had finan-

cial problems. By February 1982, Ansin decided to close

Sterlingwale. On February 12 he laid off all the production

A-36

employees.' From then until August 1982, Sterlingwale main-

tained a skeletal existence. A few people were still employed

there throughout this period. They maintained the building,

shipped out remaining goods, and kept watch over the

machinery. In August, Sterlingwale went under. There was an

assignment for the benefit of creditors. An auction was held of

Sterlingwale’s property. Through a series of complex transac-

tions, Respondent purchased all the machinery, equipment, fur-

niture and fixtures of Sterlingwale. It purchased some of Sterl-

ingwale’s materials and inventory at auction. It bought Steri-

ingwale’s premises and moved in during September 1982.

The traditional test for determining successorship is whether

there is substantial continuity in the employing enterprise.’ The

factors used in making this determination are: (1) business opera-

tions; (2) plant; (3) work force; (4) jobs and working conditions;

(5) supervisors; (6) machinery, equipment and methods of pro-

duction; and (7) product or service.’

Respondent places great emphasis on the fact that it is solely

a commission dye house, while Sterlingwale was mainly a con-

verter of fabric. Respondent urges that this results in a difference

in the nature and identity of the enterprise. I disagree. The

' Sterlingwale employees were represented by United Textile Workers, Local

292, in a production and maintenance unit for about 30 years. Such recogni-

tion was embodied in successive collective bargaining agreements, the most

recent of which was extended to April 1, 1981 (G.C. Exh. 13).

* N.L.R.B. vo Peens International Security Services, Inc., 406 U.S. 272,

279-281 (1972)

’ Aircraft Magnesium, a Division of Grico Corp., 265 NLRB No. 172 (1982)

at pg. 6 (sl. op.).

A-37

business is, like Sterlingwale, dyeing and finishing of fabric.

The fact that Respondent does something different before and

after the production process is completed does not result in any

essential difference. The enterprise is not identical, but it is

similar.

Respondent uses the same production building, with the same

machinery as Sterlingwale did. It retained most of the same job

classifications. (Respondent has no retail store and fewer inspec-

tors of fabric.) Norman Rego, an employee for 20 years at Sterl-

ingwale and now employed by Respondent, testified that as far

as he can tell, the machines are the same, the jobs are the same,

and the supervision is the same. (Tr. 113-115) Respondent did

not start a new service or product line.

Continuity of customers has also been considered as a factor

in determining continuity in the employing industry. General

Counsel Exhibit 10 indicates that in dollar volume over one-

half of the current customers of Respondent were customers of

Sterlingwale. Thus, a substantial part of Respondent's business

is linked with Sterlingwale. On these bases I conclude that

Respondent was a successor to Sterlingwale.*

| Demand for Bargaining

A new employer has an obligation upon request to bargain

with the Union if a majority of the unit employees hired were

unit employees of the predecessor employer. The demand for

* | make this finding despite the fact that there was a seven-month hiatus bet-

ween the ending of Sterlingwale and the beginning of Fall River Dyeing.

Generally, a hiatus is only material in determining successorship status when

there have been other substantial changes in the enterprise. Aircraft

Magnesium, supra; United Maintenance & Manufacturing Co., Inc., 214

NLRB 529, 532 (1974).

A-38

bargaining by the Union must be made when the new employer

is operating at a representative capacity. However, if the new

employer is not at that capacity at the time of the demand, the

demand is of a continuing nature. Once the employer reaches

a representative capacity, the bargaining obligation will attach.

Respondent hired its first ernployees on September 20, 1982.

The Union demanded recognition by letter dated October 19,

1982. Respondent denied recognition by letter dated October

21, 1982.

Twenty-one employees had been hired by October 22. Eigh-

teen of them were former Sterlingwale employees. Herbert

Chace, who had worked at Sterlingwale and is now executive

vice-president and secretary for the Respondent, testified that

after the first hirings in September the employees spent approx-

imately 4-6 weeks of start-up: cleaning, repairing machines, and

so forth. Then they began 4-5 weeks of experimental produc-

tion, just to make sure everything was in working order. (Tr.

185-187.) Chace agreed with employee Rego’s testimony that

the first shift was at almost full operating level when a second

shift was commenced in January 1983. Chace also testified that

their production goal was to have two full shifts working by

mid-April. Respondent asserts that since a full complement of

workers was not reached until then, it is at that point that one

should inquire as to the status of former Sterlingwale employees.

Presumably this argument is pressed because the evidence in-

dicates that in the week ending March 24, 1983, former Sterl-

ingwale employees were, for the first time, a minority of the

unit.

However, the standard to be used indicated by the Board is

representative complement, not full complement.’ By late

November 1982, employees had been hired in all job titles.

* Aircraft Magnesium, supra.

A-39

Accounts receivable in November 1982 from previous months

totalled $145,001.38 (Tr. 188). Clearly, the business was gear-

ing up. Since we have testimony from Chace and Rego, above,

which points to January 1983 as a time when the plant was run-

ning one shift at full capacity, I find that the duty to bargain

with the Union attached for the Respondent in mid-January

1983.

Respondent contends that since it did not purchase Sterl-

ingwale directly, it should not be held to be a successor. This

argument fails since direct purchase from a predecessor is not

a prerequisite to successorship.°

Since Respondent has refused to bargain with the Union, it

has violated Section 8(a)(5) and (1) of the Act.

Conclusion of Law

1. Respondent, Fall River Dyeing and Finishing, is an

employer within the meaning of Section 2(2) of the Act and

engaging in commerce within the meaning of Section 2(6) and

(7) of the Act.’

9 United Textile Workers of America, AFL-CIO, Local

292, is a labor organization within the meaning of Section 2(5)

of the Act.

* Cf. Makaha Valley, Inc., 241 NLRB 30), 303 1979), where an intervening

trusteeship did not defeat successorshiy status. °

’ Based upon a projection of its operations since on or about August 1982 at

which time Respondent commenced operations, Respondent, in the course

and conduct of its business of dyeing and finishing textiles and related pro-

ducts, will annually provide services valued in excess of $50,000 for customers —

located outside the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, and in excess of $50,000

for enterprises located within Massachusetts, who themselves are directly

engaged in interstate commerce.

A-40

3. The following employees constitute a unit appropriate

for collective bargaining within the meaning of Section 9(b) of

the Act:

All production and maintenance employees at the

Fall River plant, including the electrician, electrician’s

helper, and mechanics but excluding all executives,

office clerical and plant clerical employees, second

hands, guards, and professional employees and super-

visors as defined in the Act.

4. United Textile Workers, of America, AFL-CIO, Local

292, has been and is the exclusive representative of all employees

in the aforesaid appropriate unit for the purposes of collective

bargaining within the meaning of Section 9(a) of the Act.

5. By refusing on or about January 15, 1983 and at all times

thereafter to recognize and bargain collectively with the above-

named labor organization as the exclusive representative of all

its employees in the appropriate unit, Respondent has engaged

in and is engaging in unfair labor pratices within the meaning

of Section 8(a)(5) and (1) of the Act.

6. The aforesaid unfair labor practices are unfair labor prac-

tices affecting commerce within the meaning of Section 2(6) and

(7) of the Act.

The Remedy

Having found that Respondent has engaged in and is engag-

ing in unfair labor practices within the meaning of Section

8(a)(5) and (1) of the Act, it shall cease and desist therefrom

and, upon request, bargain collectively with the Union as the

exclusive representative of all employees in the appropriate unit.

A-41

ORDER

Pursuant to Section 10(c) of the National Labor Relations Act,

as amended, the National Labor Relations Board hereby orders

that the Respondent, Fall River Dyeing and Finishing, Fall

River, Massachusetts, its officers, agents, successors, and assigns,

shall:

1. Cease and desist from:

(a) Refusing to bargain collectively with United Textile

Workers of America, AFL-CIO, Local 292, as exclusive

representative of the following unit:

All production and maintenance employees at the

Fall River plant, including the electrician, electrician’s

helper, and mechanics but excluding all executives,

office clerical and plant clerical employees, second

hands, guards, and professional employees and super-

visors as defined in the Act.

(b) In any like or related manner interfering with,

restraining, or coercing its employees in the exercies of their

rights under Section 7 of the Act.

2. Take the following affirmative action to effectuate the

policies of the Act:

(a) Upon the request, bargain with the above-named

Union as exclusive representative of employees in the above-

described unit with respect to rates of pay, wages, hours, and

other terms and conditions of employment and, if an agreement

is reached, embody it in a signed contract.

A-42

(b) Post at its Fall River, Massachusetts, plant copies of

the attached notice marked “Appendix.”* Copies of said notice,

on forms provided by the Regional Director for Region 1, after

being duly signed by Respondent's authorized representative,

shall be posted by it immediately upon receipt thereof, and be

maintained by it for 60 consecutive days thereafter, in con-

spicuous places, including all places where notices to employees

are customarily posted. Reasonable steps shall be taken by

Respondent to insure that such notices are not altered, defac-

ed, or covered by any other material.

(c) Notify said Regional Director, in writing, within 20

days from the date of this Order, what steps Respondent has

taken to comply herewith.

Dated: January 27, 1984.

Burton S. Kolko

Administrative Law Judge

* In the event no exceptions are filed as provided in Section 102.46 of the Rules

and Regulations of the National Labor Relations Board, the findings, con-

clusions, and recommended Order herein shall, as provided in Section 102.48

of the Rules and Regulations, be adopted by the Board and become its fin-

dings, conclusions, and Order, and ail objections thereto shal] be deemed waiv-

ed for all purposes.

A-43

NOTICE TO EMPLOYEES

POSTED BY ORDER OF THE

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD » scexcy oF me

UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT

After a hearing at which all sides had an opportunity to present

evidence and state their positions, the National Labor Relations

Board found that we have violated the National Labor Relations

Act, as amended, and had ordered us to post this notice.

WE WILL NOT refuse to bargain collectively with United

Textile Workers of America, AFL-CIO, Local 292, as exclusive

representative of the following unit:

All production and maintenance employees at the Fall

River plant, including the electrician, electrician’s

helper, and mechanics but excluding all executives, of-

fice clerical and plant clerical employees, second hands,

guards, and professional employees and supervisors as

defined in the Act.

WE WILL NOT in any like or related manner interfere with,

restrain, or coerce our employees in the exercise of the rights

guaranteed them under Section 7 of the Act.

WE WILL, upon request, bargain collectively with the

aforesaid Union as the exclusive representative of all

employees in the appropriate unit described above with

respect to rates of pay, hours of employment and other terms

and conditions of employment and, if an understanding is

reached, embody such understanding in a signed agreement.

FALL RIVER DYEING & FINISHING CORP.

(Employer)

Dated By

(Representative) (Title)

THIS IS AN OFFICIAL NOTICE

AND MUST NOT BE DEFACED BY ANYONE

This notice must remain posted for 80 consecutive days from the date of posting and must not

be altered, defaced. or covered by any other material. Any questions concerning this notice or

compliance with its provisions may be directed to the Board's Office

120 Boylston Street, Walker Building, 3rd Floor,

Boston, MA 02116, Telephone No. (617) 223-4550.

A-44

APPENDIX “E”

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

United States Code, Title 29

“§158. Unfair labor practices

(a) It shall be an unfair labor practice for an employer —

(1) to interfere with, restrain, or coerce employees in

the exercise of the rights guaranteed in section 7;

(2) to dominate or interfere with the formation or ad-

ministration of any labor organization or contribute

financial or other support to it: Provided, That sub-

ject to rules and regulations made and published by

the Board pursuant to section 6, an employer shall not

be prohibited from permitting employees to confen with

him during working hours without loss of time or pay;

(5) to refuse to bargain collectively with the represen-

tatives of his employees, subject to the provisions of sec-

tion 9(a),

“§159. Representatives and elections

(a) Exclusive representatives—Employees’ adjustment of

grievances directly with employer. Representatives designated or

selected for the purposes of collective bargaining by the majori-

ty of the employees in a unit appropriate for such purposes, shall

be the exclusive representatives of all the employees in such unit

for the purposes of collective bargaining in respect of rates of

pay, wages, hours of employment, or other conditions or employ-

ment: Provided. That any individual employee or a group of

employees shall have the right at any time to present grievances

adjusted. without the intervention of the bargaining represen-

tative, as long as the adjustment is not inconsistent with the terms

of a collective-bargaining contract or agreement then in effect:

Provided further, That the bargaining representative has been

given opportunity to be present at such adjustment.”

OPPOSITION

BRIEF -

Gop ers See” |

FILED

MAR 31 1988

aoe F. SPANIOL, JR.

Ju the Supreme Court of the United|Stater“

OCTOBER TERM, 1985

FALL RIVER DYEING & FINISHING

CORP., PETITIONER

Vv.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR

THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

IN OPPOSITION

CHARLES FRIED

Solicitor General

Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20530

(202) 633-2217

ROSEMARY M. COLLYER

General Counsel

JOHN E. HIGGINS, JR.

Deputy General Counsel

ROBERT E. ALLEN

Associate General Counsel

NORTON J. COME

Deputy Associate General Counsel

LINDA SHER

Assistant General Cceunsel

ROBERT C. BELL, JP.

Attorney

National I «bor Relations Board

Washinyton, D.C. 20570

|

ys \ .

a

secs

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the National Labor Relations Board prop-

erly found, in the circumstances of this case, that

petitioner is a successor employer and that it violated

Section 8(a)(1) and (5) of the National Labor Re-

lations Act, 29 U.S.C. 158(a)(1) and (5), by refus-

ing to recognize and bargain with the union that had

represented the predecessor’s employees.

(1)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Opinions below ..............-----------:--:-s-ecsesseeeeeeeneeeeeneteteeteteneees 1

a Sethe s aon oa 1

nie _.. ssigntamicnnnenmanonnrerenaseesmrresnnes eee 2

Argument ............--.------.---0--ss-c00--eceencseocesnessaseneeeneeeneesseesensees 7

III | ________cesnemscoumnapsevenmssseneunveereecsoracscosteqocooooores 15

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Aircraft Magnesium, 265 N.L.R.B. 1344, enforced,

i ceseanemenverencnere aa SB

Hedstrom Co. v. NLRB, 558 F.2d 1137...............---..- 13

Howard Johnson Co. Vv. Detroit Local Joint Execu-

tive Board, Hotel Employees Int’l Union, 417

a cscssunstenvevpwasvanncssunccoess 8

International Ass’n of Machinists V. “NLRB, 595

F.2d 664, cert. denied, 439 U.S. 1070 ....... ne. 9

IUEW v. NLRB, 604 F.2d 6839 .................-------+---++++- 8

NLRB v. Boston Needham Industrial Cleaning Co..,

a. cceesistsucconmenconcoues 8

NLRB v. Burns International Security Services,

| ae 7,8, 9,10, 11

NLRB v. Hudson River Aggregates, Inc., 639 F.2d

a ee 8,11, 13

NLRB v. Jeffries Lithograph Co., 752 F.2d 459 ...... 8,11

NLRB v. Middleboro Fire Apparatus, Inc., 590

a enencnenpnenccoonces 8, 10

NLRB v. Pre-Engineered Building Products, Inc.,

nn 11

Premium Foods, Inc., 260 N.L.R.B. 708, enforced,

a . scnsnnonnosowrdercens 8, 9,11

Saks & Co. v. NLRB, 634 F.2d 681....................---- . 13

(TIT)

IV

Cases—Continued : Page

Tom-A-Hawk Transit, Inc. v. NLRB, 419 F.2d

Oe. cicesantanlnenmenniesioanienmmmnnaninmaniaath 13

Universal Camera Corp. V. NLRB, 340 U.S. 474... 8

Statutes :

National Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. 151

et seq.:

§ 8(a) (2), 29 U.S.C. 158 (a) (2) .........------------ 13

§ 8(a) (5), 29 U.S.C. 158 (a) (5) ......----------------- 13

Ju the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1985

No. 85-1208

FALL RIVER DYEING & FINISHING

CorP., PETITIONER

Vv.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR

THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App.

A2-A30) is reported at 775 F.2d 425. The decision

and order of the National Labor Relations Board

(Pet. App. A31-A43) are reported at 272 N.L.R.B.

839.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals (Pet. App.

Al) was entered on October 18, 1985. The petition

for a writ of certiorari was filed on January 16,

(1)

2

1985. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under

28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATEMENT

1. For more than 30 years prior to 1982, the

Sterlingwale Corporation operated a plant in Fall

River, Massachusetts, where it engaged primarily in

dyeing and finishing textiles. Sterlingwale’s produc-

tion and maintenance employees were represented by

United Textile Workers of America, AFL-CIO, Local

292. The parties’ last collective agreement extended

to April 1, 1982. Pet. App. A35, A36 n.1; C.A. App.

A370, A375.

Sterlingwale’s operations consisted of both “con-

verting” and “commission dyeing.” As a converter

Sterlingwale bought unfinished fabrics for its own

account, dyed and finished them, then sold the fab-

rics to apparel manufacturers. Working as a com-

mission dyer, Sterlingwale dyed and finished fabrics

owned by other customers to the customers’ specifi-

cations. In its early years, Sterlingwale had engaged

almost exclusively in commission dyeing, but in the

early 1970s it shifted into principally converter work.

When it encountered economic problems in 1979,

Sterlingwale again began shifting toward commis-

sion work. Although the financing and marketing as-

pects. of the two types of business varied, the produc-

tion process for dyeing and finishing fabrics was the

same whether the work was done on a converting or

commission basis. Pet. App. A385; C.A. App. A112-

A113, A141-A1438, A146-A147.

As a result of its economic problems, Sterlingwale

laid off all its production employees in February

1982. From that time until August, Sterlingwale

maintained a skeletal operation of employees who

3

maintained the plant and shipped remaining inven-

tory. Pet. App. A385-A36; C.A. App. A166-A167.

During this period Sterlingwale’s president still

hoped to resurrect the business or have “somebody

take over the plant,” and he communicated this in-

terest to union representatives during meetings held

in the summer of 1982 (C.A. App. A82, A102, A165-

A166).

In August 1982, however, Sterlingwale went out

of business and executed an assignment of assets for

the benefit of its creditors. Through another corpora-

tion, Arthur Friedman, the president of petitioner

Fall River Dyeing and Finishing Corp., acquired

Sterlingwale’s plant and real property, all of its

equipment, and part of its materials and inventory

at a mortgage foreclosure sale. Friedman’s corpora-

tion conveyed the equipment and materials and leased

part of the plant and property to petitioner. Pet.

App. A36; C.A. App. A67, A130-A131, A158-A159,

A195, A218-A222, A256.

Petitioner began operating out of the former Ster-

lingwale production building in September 1982. Pe-

titioner performed commission dyeing and finishing

work as had Sterlingwale, but it did this type of work

exclusively, performing no converter work and intro-

ducing no new service or product line. The produc-

tion process remained basically unchanged and the

employees performed the same jobs that had been per-

formed at Sterlingwale. Petitioner used the machin-

ery formerly used by Sterlingwale and retained most

of the same job classifications. Pet. App. A36-A37;

C.A. App. A172-A175, A219-A220, A222, A327-

A331. Petitioner’s vice president and secretary for-

merly served as vice president of Sterlingwale. Eight

of petitioner’s supervisors were former Sterlingwale

supervisors and three of the other four were former

4

Sterlingwale employees. Over half of the dollar voi-

ume of petitioner’s business came from former Ster-

lingwale customers. Pet. App. A37-A38; C.A. App.

A209, A216, A229-A230, A830.

Upon commencing operations in September 1982,

employees spent four to six weeks on start-up opera-

tions, cleaning and repairing machines. They spent

the next four or five weeks on experimental produc-

tion to ensure that everything was in working order.

Pet. App. A38; C.A. App. A226-A227, A246-A248. On

October 19, 1982, the Union requested that petitioner

recognize it and proposed a date for collective bar-

gaining negotiations. On October 21, petitioner re-

sponded that it did “not intend to comply with your

request” and that the Union’s bargaining request had

“no legal basis.” Pet. App. A388; C.A. App. A380,

A381.

At the time of petitioner’s refusal to bargain, peti-

tioner had hired 21 employees, 18 of whom were

former Sterlingwale employees (Pet. App. A38). Pe-

titioner’s initial production goal was to reach one full

shift operation of 55 to 60 employees. After that

goal was achieved, petitioner planned to “see how

business would be, and then expand to a two-shift

operation by April 1983” (Pet. App. A38; C.A. App.

A227-A228).

By November 1982, employees had been hired in

virtually all job classifications. In mid-January 1983,

the first shift was in full operation and petitioner

had begun a second shift. At that time, petitioner

had hired at least 50% of those it would ultimately

employ in the majority of existing job classifications

and 55 of the 106-109 employees it was to employ

by April, when it reached its anticipated employee

complement. Of the 55 employees hired by mid-

5

January, 36 were former Sterlingwale employees.

Pet. App. A5, A31-A32 n.1, A838; C.A. App. A68-

A69, A425, A327-A331. By April, former Sterling-

wale employees were for the first time less than a

majority of petitioner’s workforce (Pet. App. A38).

2. Adopting the opinion of the administrative law

judge (Pet. App. A31-A32), the Board, with one

member dissenting, found that the change of owner-

ship did not materially alter the employees’ working

conditions or the nature of the enterprise, and that

petitioner employed a substantial and representative

complement of employees, a majority of whom had

been employed by Sterlingwale, on January 15, 1983.

Based on that finding, the Board concluded that peti-

tioner was a successor employer to Sterlingwale and

was obligated to bargain with the Union as of that

date (id. at A31-A32 n.1, A35-A37). The Board

also concluded that the Union’s October bargaining

request constituted a continuing demand for recogni-

tion and bargaining (id. at A31-A32 n.1, A37-A359).

Accordingly, the Board ruled that petitioner was the

successor to Sterlingwale and violated the National

Labor Relations Act (the Act) by refusing to recog-

nize and bargain with the Union once its bargaining

obligation arose (ibid.). The Board’s order required

petitioner to bargain with the Union upon its request

(id. at A41).’

3. The court of appeals, one judge dissenting, en-

forced the Board’s order (Pet. App. A2-A30). The

court upheld as supported by substantial evidence the

Board’s finding that petitioner was the successor to

1 Board Member Hunter dissented on the ground that peti-

tioner did not have a representative complement of employees

on the date that the union demanded recognition (Pet. App.

A33).

6

Sterlingwale (id. at A8). The differences between

petitioner’s business and Sterlingwale’s, the court ex-

plained, “are only indirectly related to the interests”

of the bargaining unit employees in representation

and “are not sufficiently significant to require a find-

ing that the continuity of the enterprise, viewed from

the employees’ standpoint, was broken” (id. at AQ).

In addition, the court ruled that, where it cannot be

determined at the outset of the transition whether a

union represents a majority of a new owner’s em-

ployees, the Board may fix as the date for determin-

ing the successor bargaining obligation that point at

which the new owner has hired a “ ‘substantial and

representative complement’” of its employees (id.

at Al0-A12). Moreover, the court upheld as reason-

able the Board’s findings that petitioner’s level of

operations was near-normal by mid-January 1983

and that petitioner had hired a substantial and rep-

resentative employee complement by that time. Ac-

cordingly, because a majority of the workforce had

been represented by the union at Sterlingwale, the

court ruled that petitioner’s bargaining obligation

attached at that point. Jd. at Al2. Finally, the court

upheld the Board’s conclusion that the union’s Octo-

ber 1982 bargaining demand constituted a continu-

ing request for recognition and bargaining that peti-

tioner was required to honor once it had hired a rep-

resentative complement of employers in January

1983. Noting that a union, unlike the successor busi-

ness, often lacks precise information about the tim-

ing and nature of a transition, that it is not uncom-

mon for bargaining demands to be made before a bar-

gaining obligation actually arises, and that a union’s

presumption of majority status is not affected by a

change of ownership, the court concluded that it is

not unreasonable to require a successor to respond to’

7

a previously made request to bargain once its bargain-

ing obligation actually matures (id. at Al4).’

ARGUMENT

The decision of the court of appeals correctly ap-

plied settled legal principles to the particular facts

of this case and does not conflict with any decision of

this Court or of any other court of appeals. Accord-

ingly, review by this Court is not warranted.

1. Petitioner challenges (Pet. 8-15) the Board’s

finding that petitioner was the successor to Sterling-

wale. That claim lacks merit.

It is well-settled that a mere change of employers

or ownership does not eliminate the presumption that

a majority of employees continue to support an in-

cumbent union. NLRB vy. Burns Internatienal Secu-

rity Services, Inc., 406 U.S. 272, 277-279 (1972).

Accordingly, where there is no essential change in

working conditions or in the nature of the enterprise

and a majority of the new employees were employed

by the predecessor firm, the new employer is the “‘suc-

cessor” to the former one and must recognize and

bargain with the incumbent union as the representa-

tive of its employees (ioid.). Among the factors that

the Board considers in determining whether a new

employer is a successor are whether the new employer

* Judge Torruella dissented (Pet. App. A17-A30). In his

view, petitioner’s bargaining obligation did not arise until it

had attained a full complement of employees (id. at A21-

A25). He also concluded that, on the facts of this case,

petitioner was not a successor employer to Sterlingwale (id.

at A25-A27) and that the Board’s order should not be enforced

because petitioner had a “good-faith doubt” about the union’s

continued majority status in mid-January 1983 (id. at A28-

A30).

8

is using the same supervisory personnel, equipment,

and facilities as its predecessor, whether it is produc-

ing the same goods or providing the same services,

whether it is serving the same customers, and whether

there is a substantially identical workforce. Pet. App.

AT, A36; see also, e.g., Burns, 406 U.S. at 280 n.4;

NLRB vy. Jeffries Lithograph Co., 752 F.2d 459, 463

(9th Cir. 1985); NLRB v. Hudson River Aggregates,

Inc., 639 F.2d 865, 869 (2d Cir. 1981); JUEW vy.

NLRB, 604 F.2d 689, 694 (D.C. Cir. 1979); NLRB

v. Middleboro Fire Apparatus, Inc., 590 F.2d 4, 6-8

(1st Cir. 1978); Premium Foods, Inc., 260 N.L.R.B.

708, 714 (1982), enforced, 709 F.2d 623 (9th Cir.

1983). The question whether a change of ownership

has produced a substantial and material alteration

in the employing enterprise is “highly iact specific”

(Howard Johnson Co. v. Detroit Local Joint Execu-

tive Board, Hotel Employees Int'l Union, 417 U.S.

249, 256 (1974)), and the Board’s finding, which

is based upon “the totality of circumstances” (NLRB

v. Boston Needham Industrial Cleaning Co., 526 F.2d

74, 77 (1st Cir. 1975) ), must be upheld if there is

substantial evidence to support it (see, e.g., Universal

Camera Corp. v. NLRB, 340 U.S. 474, 490-491

(1951); Jeffries Lithograph Co., 752 F.2d at 462;

Hudson River Aggregates, 639 F.2d 869).

Petitioner contends (Pet. 8-9) that the Board “ar-

ranged the facts and weighted them in such a way

as to ignore, or give little or no weight to certain

facts while at the same time stressing other facts

which are not dispositive of the issue.” Petitioner’s

admittedly fact-bound contention does not warrant

this Court’s review.’ In any event, there is ample

% Petitioner erroneously suggests (Pet. 9) that the Board’s

factual analysis in successorship cases is entitled to less defer-

9

support in the record for the Board’s finding that the

change in ownership did not cause a material altera-

tion in employees’ working conditions or in the nature

of the enterprise. As the Board and the court of

appeals found (Pet. App. A4-A5, A36-A37), peti-

tioner acquired Sterlingwale’s real property, all of

its machinery, furniture, and fixtures, and part of

its materials and inventory. The basic dyeing and

finishing operation, the physical plant and production

process, the job classifications, and the supervision

remained substantially the same. Petitioner’s argu-

ments to the contrary are insubstantial.*

ence on appellate review than are its fact findings in other

types of cases. As the case that petitioner cites itself makes

clear, in the successorship context no less than in other areas

the responsibility of applying broad legal principles to par-

ticular cases is “committed primarily to the Board,” and the

Board’s decisions in successorship cases are entitled to defer-

ence as long as they are compatible with “the spirit as well

as the language” of the Court’s decision in Burns. Interna-

tional Ass’n of Machinists v. NLRB, 595 F.2d 664, 673 n.41

(D.C. Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 1070 (1979).

* As the court of appeals explained (Pet. App. A8-A9), the

changes on which petitioner relies (Pet. 11-14)—a change

from three shifts to two and a reduction in the total number

of supervisors—reflect simply a reduction in the size and

scope of the operation, not an essential change in the enter-

prise. Similarly, the changes in purchasing, financing, and

marketing associated with the switch to straight commission

dyeing were no* the kind of changes likely to have a signifi-

cant effect on employer-employee relations or the employees’

attitude toward representation. See Premium Foods, Inc. v.

NLRB, 709 F.2d 623, 627 (9th Cir. 1983).

Finally, petitioner’s reliance on the hiatus between Sterling-

wale’s closing and petitioner’s resumption of operations is also

misplaced. As the Board and the court of appeals explained

(Pet. App. A8, A37), absent other factors showing a material

10

2. Petitioner also contends (Pet. 16-19) that the

Board erred by applying a “substantial and repre-

sentative employee complement” standard in deter-

mining when petitioner’s bargaining obligation arose.

In petitioner’s view, the Board was required to wait

until it had hired its full complement of employees

before determining whether it was required to bar-

gain with the union. The Board and the court of

appeals properly rejected this contention.

Although the question whether a successor business

incurs the predecessor’s bargaining obligation is nor-

mally determined at the time of transfer, where, as

here, an employer is rebuilding a collapsed business

or is operating initially at a substantially reduced

capacity, that principle does not apply. For instance,

this Court explained in Burns that in some cases, “‘it

may not be clear until the successor employer has

hired his full complement of employees that he has

a duty to bargain with a union, since it will not be

evident until then that the bargaining representative

represents a majority of the employees in the unit”

(406 U.S. at 295). However, contrary to petitioner’s

contention, this dictum has never been construed as

requiring this determination to be postponed until

transformation of the enterprise, such a hiatus is reasonably

viewed as part of the “ ‘normal concomitants of a new man-

agement and a new approach to a failing business, not a break

in the continuity of the employing industry.’” NLRB v.

Middleboro Fire Apparatus, 590 F.2d at 8. Petitioner’s claim

that the hiatus destroyed any reasonable expectation that

employees would be rehired belies the evidence (page 3,

supra) that Sterlingwale’s president told the union through-

out the summer of 1982 that he hoped to have “somebody take

over the plant” and that petitioner in fact did so in the

early Fall.

11

the new business is operating at its peak capacity or

until the new employer has hired all of its bargain-

ing unit employees. That issue was not presented in

Burns,’ and the Board and the courts of appeals are

in agreement that, when the successorship obligation

cannot be determined at the outset, fixing the appro-

priate date involves striking a balance between the

objective of insuring maximum employee participa-

tion in the selection of a bargaining agent and the

goal of permitting employees to be represented as

quickly as possible. See Premium Foods, Inc. v.

NLRB, 709 F.2d 623, 628 (9th Cir. 1983); Hudson

River Aggregates, 6239 F.2d at 870-871; NLRB vy.

Pre-Engineered Building Products, Inc., 603 F.2d

134, 136 (10th Cir. 1979). As the court below found

(Pet. App. A10), these interests are effectively recon-

ciled by the Board’s “substantial and representative

complement” standard, and that standard has also

been approved by every other court that has con-

sidered it. See Jeffries Lithograph Co., 752 F.2d at

467; Premiums Foods, 709 F.2d at 628; Hudson

River Aggregates, 639 F.2d at 870 (“full comple-

ment” and “representative complement” used inter-

changeably); Aircraft Magnesium, 265 N.L.R.B.

1344, 1345 (1982), enforced, 730 F.2d 767 (9th Cir.

1984) (Table); see also Pre-Engineered Building

5In Burns, the Court simply distinguished between the

situation in which a successor takes over the predecessor’s

ongoing operations and complete workforce and those cases

in which a successor delays hiring decisions until after the

actual transfer of ownership. Accordingly, the Court had no

occasion to consider at precisely what point in the latter cate-

gory of cases it would be appropriate to examine the suc-

cessor’s workforce.

12

Products, Inc., 603 F.2d at 136 & n.1.° Accordingly,

there is no occasion for the Court to review that

standard in this case.

3. Finally, there is no merit to petitioner’s con-

tention (Pet. 20-22) that the Board’s continuing de-

mand rule improperly compels an employer to bar-

gain with a union where a good faith doubt existed

as to its majority status.

In successorship situations, when an incumbent

union makes a clear request for bargaining in an

appropriate unit and that demand is rejected by the

employer, the Board generally treats the demand as

continuing and does not require the union to renew

the request at a later time, even if the employer’s

bargaining obligation had not matured at the time

of the original request. See Aircraft Magnesium,

265 N.L.R.B. at 1345 n.9. The court of appeals

properly concluded that the Board’s continuing de-

mand rule is a reasonable exercise of the Board’s

discretion under the Act. As the court explained

(Pet. App. A13-A14 (citations, footnotes, and quota-

tion marks omitted) ) :

When a continuity in the enterprise has been

found, as is the case here, the presumption of

majority status by the union under the predeces-

sor... is not affected by a change in ownership.

* * * The rationale behind this presumption of

majority status derives from the fact that a suc-

cessor’s obligation to bargain with the union

arises when the employer reaches a substantial

and representative complement of its work force.

The employer, unlike the union, can readily

® Petitioner concedes (Pet. 18) that it employed a substan-

tial and representative complement of employees as of mid-

January 1983.

13

reach this determination on its own by examin-

ing whether the job classifications for the opera-

tion have been filled or substantially filled and

whether the operation is in normal or substan-

tially normal production.

Moreover, as the court of appeals noted (Pet. App.

Al4), the Board’s rule is also eminently practical.

Unions often lack precise information about when a

change in ownership is to take place and what plans,

if any, the new owners have for the enterprise. It is

therefore not uncommon for bargaining demands to

be made before the bargaining obligation actually

arises.’

Petitioner’s reliance (Pet. 20, 22) on Hedstrom

Co. v. NLRB, 558 F.2d 1137 (3d Cir. 1977), is mis-

placed. Hedstrom rejected the continuing demand

concept only in a non-successorship case where the

union made its initial bargaining demand without

majority support. The court found that applying the

continuing demand rule in that situation would put

an employer in the untenable position of either vio-

lating Section 8(a)(2) of the Act, 29 U.S.C. 158(a)

(2), by recognizing a union lacking majority support,

or risking a violation of Section 8(a) (5), 29 U.S.C.

158(a) (5), by refusing to bargain at a later point

when, unknown to the employer, the union actually

obtained majority support (558 F.2d at 1148). How-

ever, as the court of appeals explained (Pet. App.

A13-A14), those concerns are absent in the successor-

ship context, because there is a presumption of the

7 See, e.g., Hudson River Aggregates, 639 F.2d at 868, 870:

Saks & Co. v. NLRB, 634 F.2d 681, 684-685 (2d Cir. 1980) :

Tom-A-Hawk Transit, Inc. v. NLRB, 419 F.2d 1025, 1026

(7th Cir. 1969) ; Aircraft Magnesium, 265 N.L.R.B. at 1345.

14

Union’s continued majority status and because the

employer is in a superior position to know the facts

that trigger its bargaining obligation. Indeed, the

Board’s decisions applying the continuing demand

rule in successorship cases have been uniformly ap-

proved by the courts of appeals. See page 13 note 7,

supra.*

8 There is no merit to petitioner’s suggestion (Pet. 20-21)

that it was improper for the Board to find a refusal to bargain

as of January 1983, even though the unfair labor practice

charge and complaint issued prior to that time. Petitioner

does not contend that it was not on notice in the unfair labor

practice proceeding of the General Counsel’s theory that it

violated the Act as of mid-January, and the Board’s order

imposes no obligation on petitioner with respect to its conduct

prior to the time the bargaining obligation actually arose.

Moreover, the facts in this case demonstrate that it would

have been futile to require the union to renew its bargaining

request after it was first made. After petitioner rejected the

union’s October demand—with no suggestion that it might

later change its mind—the union made clear that it still

sought recognition by filing an unfair labor practice charge

on November 1. In its answer to the unfair labor practice

complaint issued by the General Counsel, petitioner admitted

that on October 21 (when it formally rejected the union’s

demand) “and at all times thereafter,” it “did refuse and

continues to refuse” to bargain, with the union (C.A. App.

A5, A8& (emphasis added) ).

15

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be

denied.

Respectfully submitied.

CHARLES FRIED

Solicitor General

ROSEMARY M. CuLLYER

General Counsel

JOHN E. HIGGINS, JR.

Deputy General Counsel

ROBERT E. ALLEN

Associate General Counsel

NORTON J. COME

Deputy Associate General Counsel

LINDA SHER

Assistant General Counsel

ROBERT C. BELL, JR.

Attorney

National Labor Relations Board

APRIL 1986

W ov. &. Government PRINTING orrice; 1906 491507 20160

No. 85-1208

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Unite

Octroser TerRM, 1985

FALL RIVER DYEING « FINISHING CORP.,

Petitioner,

— against —

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,

Respondent.

REPLY BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF PETITION

FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

IrA DROGIN

LEAF STERNKLAR & DROGIN

Attorneys for Petitioner

440 Park Avenue South

New York, New York 10016

(212) 685-8400

TABLE OF CONTENTS

THE PETITION FOR CERTIORARI SHOULD

BE GRANTED BECAUSE THE CONFLICTING

PRINCIPLES APPLIED BY THE NATIONAL

LABOR RELATIONS BOARD OPERATE TO

DEPRIVE EMPLOYEES AND THE EMPLOYER

OF THEIR RIGHTS UNDER THE NATIONAL

LABOR RELATIONS ACT ..ceeccccesccccceces

CONCLUSION ee eeeneeneeneeeeeee *eereeieeeeeeee

Page

il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Hedstrom Co. v. NLRB, 558 F.2d 1137

GE

NLRB v. Band-Age, Inc., 534 F.2d l

(lst Cir.), cert. denied,

>, )

NLRB v. Burns International

Security Services,Inc.,

i EEE ccc cceécecceocececceces

STATUTES

Labor Management Relations Act, as amended

EE Ee

ee se cece sc eseses

Ul dO

No. 85-1208

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1985

FALL RIVER DYEING & FINISHING CORP.,

Petitioner,

- against -

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,

Respondent.

REPLY BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF PETITION FOR A WRIT

OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

THE PETITION FOR CERTIORARI SHOULD BE

GRANTED BECAUSE THE CONFLICTING

PRINCIPLES APPLIED BY THE NATIONAL

LABOR RELATIONS BOARD OPERATE TO

DEPRIVE EMPLOYEES AND THE EMPLOYER OF

THEIR RIGHTS UNDER THE NATIONAL LABOR

RELATIONS ACT.

This case requires a reexamination of the

successorship principles heretofore enun-

ciated by this Court to ensure that statu-

torily protected rights of employees and

employers are not violated by principles and

concepts adopted by the National Labor

Relations Board.

As has been previously noted, the

former employees of Sterlingwale worked

under a succession of collective bargaining

agreements for approximately 30 years,

involving the same Union, Local 292, the

last of which expired April 1, 1982. The

collective bargaining agreements contained

Standard Union security provisions permitted

by Section 8(a)(3) of the Labor Management

Relations Act, as amended. As a result, any

employee who had worked for Sterlingwale

Since the Union was recognized, and any

employee hired by Sterlingwale during the

ensuing 30 years until its financial demise

in the early spring of 1982 did not express

their preference with regard to their choice

of a bargaining representative.

The Board's continuing demand theory in

this case rests upon the presumption of

majority status by the Union under the

predecessor employer's ownership (Respon-

dent's Brief, pp. 12-14). Petitioner urges

that the Board's continuing demand concept

is not applicable where the Union made its

initial bargaining demand without majority

Support, as is undisputedly the situation

herein. The Board urges in its Brief (p.

13) that petitioner's reliance on Hedstrom

Co. v. NLRB, 558 F.2d 1137 (3rd Cir. 1977),

is misplaced.

In Hedstrom, supra, the Court rejected

the Board's concept, in an unfair labor

practice context, reasoning that if it were

adopted, the employer might be forced to

violate Section 8(a)(2) of the Act by

recognizing a minority union. The Board

urges in its Brief (p. 13) that Hedstrom is

not applicable to a successorship case and

rests its argument on the analysis of the

Court of Appeals hereinbelow (Pet. App. Al3-

Al4). This, in turn, rests on the presump-

tion of the Union's continued ntentes

status. It is indeed difficult to reconcile

this presumption under the facts of this

case and in light of the holding of this

Court in NLRB v. Burns Internatio

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Record and brief — Fall River Dyeing & Finishing Corp. v. NLRB · 482 U.S. 27 | Frix