Amicus Curiae Brief — Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Mississippi

Supreme Court brief1988

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Bupreme Court, U.S.

\ FILED

No. 86-870 | Je 13 B67

moh beeeeee. ercenan, £0

IN THE l CLERK

Supreme Court of the Qnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

On Writ of Certiorari to the Supreme Court of

Mississippi

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE of the THIRTEEN ORIGINAL

STATES:

NEW YORK, NEW HAMPSHIRE, MASSACHUSETTS,

CONNECTICUT, NEW JERSEY, PENNSYLVANIA,

DELAWARE, MARYLAND, VIRGINIA, NORTH

CAROLINA, SOUTH CAROLINA, GEORGIA, and RHODE

ISLAND

Joined by the

COASTAL STATES ORGANIZATION

IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS.

Davip C. SLADE, ESQ.

Counsel of Record

COASTAL STATES ORGANIZATION

Suite 312

444 N. Capitol Street, NW.

Washington, D.C. 20001

202-628-9636

Of Counsel:

Jane K. Stahl, Esq.

State of Connecticut

nA

PRESS OF BYRON 8S. ADAMS, WASHINGTON, D.C. (202) 347-8203

STATE OF NEW YORK

ROBERT ABRAMS

Attorney General

State Capitol

Albany, N.Y. 12224

STATE OF MARYLAND

J. JOSEPH CURRAN

Attorney General

Tawes State Office Building

Annapolis, MD 21401

STATE OF CONNECTICUT

: JOSEPH I. LIEBERMAN

Attorney General

30 Trinity Street

Hartford, CT 06106

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

JAMES E. O’NEIL

Attorney General

72 Pine Street

Providence, R.1. 02903

COMMONWEALTH OF

VIRGINIA

MARY SUE TERRY

Attorney General

101 N. 8th Street, 5th Floor

Richmond, VA 23219

STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA

T. Travis MEDLOcCK

Attorney General

P.O. Box 11549

Columbia, $.C. 29211

COMMONWEALTH OF

PENNSYLVANIA

LEROY S. ZIMMERMAN

Attorney General

Strawberry Square

Harrisburg, PA 17120

STATE OF DELA

CHARLES M. {

Attorney General

820 N. French St

Wilmington, DE 19801

T

STATE OF NEW [LAMPSHIRE

STEPHEN E. MERRILL

Attorney General

State House Annex

25 Capitol Street

Concord, N.H. 03301-6397

STATE OF NEW JERSEY

W. Cary EDWARDS

Attorney General

Justice Complex, CN 112

Trenton, N.J. 08625

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA

JAMES G. MARTIN, JR

Governor

State Capitol

Raleigh, N.C. 27611

COMMONWEALTH OF

MASSACHUSETTS

: JAMES M. SHANNON

Attorney General

One Ashburton Place, 1902

Boston, MA 02108-1698

STATE OF GEORGIA

MICHAEL J. BOWERS

Attorney General

132 State Judicial Building

Atlanta, GA 30334

COASTAL STATES

ORGANIZATION

RicHARD F. DELANEY, CHMN

444 N. Capitol Street, N.W

Washington, D.C. 20001

202-628-9636

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TR OF NTIS cg. cccccncsceccoscccececosscscsccosvseeses

STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE ..........

RA CP DUGEIIIEE occeccccccscccessccevsvcncccsesccssceces

ARGUMENT .cccccccccccsccscccsccccsccccccccccsccsccssensessosccscccccees

A. At the time of the adoption of the Consti-

°

tution, the thirteen original States reserved .

those lands subject to the ebb and flow of

the tide, regardless of the navigability of the

adjacent waters, at least up to the mean high

tide line. As the corpus of this trust was

originally funded by the thirteen original

States, so has it been perpetuated by the

Equal Footing Doctrine to the 37 States that

have since joined the Union. ..........:::eeeee

_ The shorelands reserved by the States at the

time of adoption of the Constitution were

defined and delimited by the uses of the

shorelands, and not solely by the criterion of

whether the adjacent water was navigable.

The public uses were not limited to naviga-

tion, but also included fishing, hunting, fowl-

ing, and bathing, among others. .................

. Each new State upon entering the Union

possessed the sovereign authority to define

both the nature of her sovereignty over, and

the physical boundaries of, her trust shore-

lands to the same extent as the thirteen orig-

aris cerccngunsmnnetoosoresecceeses

Ee . enncpuuiennnssenovcecoooce

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: Page

Adams v. Pease, 2 Conn. 481 (1818). ........eeeeeeeees 1]

Allen v. Allen, 19 R.1. 114 (1895). ....eee eee eeeeeeeeeee 9

Arnold v. Mundy, 6 N.J.L. (1 Hal.) 1

CETEIED, cccocesesvcscnsoocenenscsssssnasesesucseenenesantesensosees 15, 24, 25

Attorney General v. Chambers, 4 De G.M. & G. 206

CFE, —_cencscecersseccssesesonscnennsresepesenonenecsssessanesssess )

Attorney General v. Delaware & Bound Brook R.R.

Co., 27 N.J. Eq. 631 (E & A 1876). wees. 16

Bailey v. Burges, 11 R.1. 330 (1876). ......eeeeeeeeeees 9

Ball v. Slack, 2 Whart. 508 (Pa. 1837). .............. 17

Baltimore v. McKim, 3 Bland 453 (18381). _.......... 18

Barnes v. Midland R.R. Terminal Co., 193 N.Y.

PD CR, weniivsesctsnccnsnsecccwinnnaniantesinccesceseseses 28

Barney v. Keokuk, 94 U.S. 324 (1876). .....eeeeeeeees 28

Bickel et al. v. Polk, 5 Del. (Harr.) 325 (1851) 17

Board of Public Works v. Larmar Corp., 262 Md.

TR pie Rl: cp | ee 18, 19

Borax Consolidated, Ltd. v. Los Angeles, 296 U.S.

RO CAG. ccoccccesecccesccccccsccccccnscenesessovesecesescsceseosesense

Bradford v. Nature Conservancy, 224 Va. 181

TRIED: —_ccacececscunconsntneneseuneconsennictemnesasbabensectuennons

Brown v. Goddard, 13 R.I. 76 (1880). — .................

Browne v. Kennedy, 5 H. & J. 195 (Md. 1821).

Butler v. Attorney General, 195 Mass. 79

CRETE, nccececstsnsusesnnsdssonnsdsscadduiquammaneninnsetainasveeee

Carolina Beach Fishing Pier, Inc. v. Town of Car-

olina Beach, 277 N.C. 297, 177 S.

E. 2d 513

(1970). ......ceccecccccccccccccesccesccceresecacssonccscncscsoseees

Carson v. Blazer, 2 Binn. 475 (Pa. 1810). — ..........

Chapman v. Kimball, 9 Day 38 (1831). ......eeeeeeee

Cinque Bambini Partnership v. State, 491 So. 2d

i Gee. Eee. oc cunaseseneneinnseenenesanenens

>. Ze

Table of Authorities Continued

Cobb v. Davenport, 32 N.J.L. 369 (1867)... 15

Collins v. Benbury, 25 N.C. (8 [red.) 277

(1842). ...cecccceccecccsscccccccsccceececssecccsereceraseseeesseoes 20

Commonwealth v. Alger, 61 Mass. (7 Cush.) 959

(1851). — ...ceccccccocsccescccccecccccceserssscccseresseesseeessesoes 6

Common wealth } (he rlestown. 1S Mass. (] Pick.)

180 (1822). J anaseneenennnninntin 5,6

Commonwealth v. Vincent, 108 Mass. 441

(1871). — ccccccccccccccccccccsccsssvcccccccccesssccccrscosscoesseoess 7

Concord Manufacturing Co. v. Robertson, 66 NH 1

(DBD .cccocceccscococcocescccecsccocssonsecssesensescsenssossons 7.8,9,24

Core v. State, 144 N.Y. 396, 396 N.E. 400

(RDB). .ccccccccccccccccccccsccssccscccccverscssssccrcoscsessoseoes 13

Day v. Day, 22 Md. 530 (1865). ....ssseeseeeeeeetees 18

Dept. of Natural Resources v. Ucean City, 274 Md.

1. 332 A.2d 630 (1975). ..ceceseeceeereeeeeeeeeeeeeees 19

Dolphin Lane Association v. Town of Southampton,

72 Misc. 2d 868, 339 N.Y.S. 2d 966

(1971). — cececcccccccccccccccccccccccccsecscccccocoscesesonsossceoees 12

East Haven v. Hemingway, 7 Conn. 186 (1828). 10

Folsom v. Freeborn, 13 R.1. 200 (1881). «..eeeeeeeee 9

Garrison v. Hall & als., 75 Va. 150 (1881) ....... 19,25,27

Gerhard et ux. v. Seekonk River Bridge Commis-

sioners, 15 R.1. 334 ‘} |.) ee 7)

Groton v. Hurlburt, 22 Conn. 178 (1852)... 1]

Hughes v. Washington, 389 U.S. 290 (1967). _ ...... 27

Ingram v. Threudgill, 14 N.C. (8 Dev.) 59

COURT), § —.__. ccconceccnbeceouchnonsecssonsnsesecsessnsoosonssacoonees 20)

Jackvony v. Powel, 67 R.I. 218 (1941) ....8.....-e eee 910,25

Johnson v. State, 114 Ga. 790, 490 S.E.

(1901). — .cacccccccccercccccsscccsccccccccscorsenessseccscocscosses 21

Table of Authorities Continued

Page

Kerpelman v. Board of Public works, 261 Md. 436,

276 A.2d 56 (1971). cert. denied, 404 U.S. 858

CEPT) © \sesevinerpndidiiagsctinasiasagndiinibapnbiccbasdonainiiaen 18

Knight v. U.S. Land Association, 142 U.S. 161

SEES: ‘auliidiiindehethaitidderbidibemmindetniiensanbbnaietanntines 4

Lansing v. Smith, 4 Wend. 9 (N.Y. 1829). 00.0... 12

Marcus Sayre Co. v. Newark, 60 N.J.Eq. 361 (E.

ie ty SEEEED ~tctsdsnienmndidabeiadeneaiapaibutinesiniipiniine 16

Martin v. Waddell, 41 U.S. (16 Pet.) 367

I “sehdacentedibiniatitslceiac aioe aca aac 9,13,15,25

Montana v. United States, 450 U.S. 544 (1981). 4

Mumford v. Wardwell, 73 U.S. (6 Wall.) 423

sR TIE cL Ny AD OEE aN dt SO 4

New Orleans v. The United States, 35 U.S. (10 Pet.)

RS A RL CT 7

Nichol’s v. Lewis, 15 Conn. 137 (1842). oo... 10

Oemler v. Green, 134 Ga. 198, 67 S.E. 433

gE et aed Pn An oSe aA KER Fe A a PO 22

Phillips v. State, Ex Rel. Department of Natural

Resources, 449 A.2d 250 (1982). wo... 17,18

Pollards’ Lessee v. Hagan, 44 U.S. (3 How.) 212

ETETEED:. < ssidcebashemtigeinnpnanenindiianimndiempinadisanbiiiasiiailateadine 4,7

Schultz v. Wilson, 44 N.J. Super. 591 (1957). .... 16

Shepard’s Point Land Co. v. Hotel, 132 N.C. 517

RSE Rs I Sa ie ER he Re 20

Shively v. Bowlby, 152 U.S. 1 (1894) wo... passim

Sibson v. State. 110 N.H. 8. 259 A.2d 397

eae De a 7,8,9

Simons v. French, 25 Conn. 346 (1856). _............. 10

State v. Bishop, 359 N.Y.S. 2d 817, 46 A.2d 654

I a ea 12

State v. Glen, 52 N.C. (7 Jones) 321 (1859). _...... 20

Table of Authorities Continued

State v. Pennsylvania Railroad Company, 225 A.2d

587 (1967) affd 267 A.2d 455 (1969). .........

State v. Pinckney, 22 S.C. Rep. 484 (1884). _ .......

State v. Twiford, 136 N.C. 603, 48 S.E. 586

CAGED, ccscocccccccnssnsccscscesesssesssconssocncesccsscesoosussees

State of New Jersey v. State of Delaware, 291 U.S.

T). ii

Stevens v. Paterson & Newark R.R. Co., 34 N.J.L.

f,

Storer v. Freeman, 6 Mass. 435 (1810). .......eeeeee

Tiffany v. Town of Oyster Bay, 234 N.Y. 15, 136

NE. 224 (1GZZ). — cnccescccccesccccevccccsceccecserccseescees

Tinicum Fishing Co. V. Carter, 61 Pa. 21

SEL, cxakctatinisntciunsenserbadrapeasantentoneninaiasercanneiuens

lnited States v. Mission Rock Co., 189 U.S. 391

(DGD, cccoceccccccccccscsccccccccccessccccoscssscossesssoscsoscses

United States v. Pacheco, 69 U.S. (2 Wall.) 587

Ct. sasbaeenpnmnnenetahedenenssenobanededneces

United States v. Riverside Bayview Homes, Inec.. 106

a rr F Sw eats

Van Ruymbeke v. Patapsco Industrial Park, 261

Md. 470, 276 A.2d G1 (1971). — ..........ceceeeeeeees

Ward v. Willis. 51 N.C. (6 Jones) 183 (1858).

Weber Vv. Board of Harbor Commissioners. 5 LS.

R/) Ue: ee

West v. Baumgartner, 124 Ga. App. 318, 184 S.E.

FF: 4)

Weston v. Sampson, 62 Mass. (8 Cush.) 347

|) |)

Wethersfield v. Humphrey, 20 Conn. 218 (1850).

Wilson v. Forbes, 13 N.C. (2 Dev.) 30 (1842).

Wismall v. Hall, 3 Paige Ch. 313 (N.Y. 1882).

Pay

vl

Table of Authorities Continued

CONSTITUTIONS AND STATUTES:

Rhode Island Constitution Article I. section 17

9 Del. Law 454 (1843). wooo cccccccccccccccccccceccc ccc.

Ga. Code Ann. sec. 44-8-8 oooccoooooocecececcceeecccccc.

N.J. Stat. Ann. 12:3-4, 10, 12, 17, 18. 19. 26. 28,

NOI aia i

OE SU ia

Virginia Act of 1870 (10 Hen. Stat. at Large, p

SIE Ssssaptbcienrieandeiaiaiedesldclaenitii a

TREATISES AND PERIODICALS:

Angell, Joseph K.., A Treatise on the Right of Prop-

erty in Tide Waters, Little and Brown. Boston

SUITED. <” demuieiineisiitditcineibmiciiaainnianintan aati ta

Coquillette, Mosses from an Old Manse: Another

Look at Some Historic Property Cases About

the Environment. 64 Cornel] L. Rev. 761. 80]

DEY) iteeieeliniedictiaete et

Dunbar, Gary S., Historical Geography of North

Carolina Outer Banks (1958) ooo... eecccccecccee-s..

Matter of Tidal High-Water Line, 33 New York

State Dept. Repts. 415 (1925). oo...

L Swift Digest 109 (1822). ooeeeeccecccccececcecececeseeee.

2 Tiffany, Real Property, sec. 659 (3rd ed.) .......

26

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

No. 86-870

PHILLIPS PETROLEUM COMPANY et al.

Petitridners.

versus

STATE OF MISSISSIPPI et al..

Re spondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the Supreme Court of

Mississippi

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE of the ORIGINAL THIRTEEN

STATES:

NEW YORK, NEW HAMPSHIRE, MASSACHUSETTS,

CONNECTICUT, NEW JERSEY, PENNSYLVANIA,

DELAWARE, MARYLAND, VIRGINIA, NORTH

CAROLINA, SOUTH CAROLINA, GEORGIA, and RHODE

ISLAND

Joined by the

COASTAL STATES ORGANIZATION

IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS.

STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

IN THE OUTCOME OF THIS CASE

This case presents the question of what Public Trust -

shorelands Mississippi received when she entered the Union

in 1817 on an equal footing with the thirteen original

States. The Mississippi Supreme Court concluded that the

shorelands so received and held in trust are those lands

subject to the ebb and flow of the tide and below the

mean high tide line as it existed in 1817. This ruling is

based on the Equal Footing Doctrine; when Mississippi

entered the Union she did so on an equal footing with the

thirteen original States, ‘viz, as each one of the thirteen

held its tidelands and navigable waters in public trust

Cinque Bambini Partnership v. State, 491 So. 2d 508,

512 (Miss. 1986).

The question of how ‘each one of the thirteen held its

tidelands and navigable waters in public trust”’ is one that

the thirteen original States are in the best position to

answer. This question is not a simple one, for the thirteen

original States were not uniform in the extent and manner

to which they held their shorelands in trust for all the

people. “[T]he nature and degree of such rights and priv-

ileges [in the shorelands] differed in the different Colonies,

and in some were created by statute, while in others they

rested upon usage only.” Shively v. Bowlby, 152 U.S. 1,

18 (1894). Nonetheless, it is fundamental to answer this

question in order to ascertain what the remaining 37 “new”

States received by force and effect of the Equal Footing

Doctrine. Answering this question is the central focus of

this brief.

The Coastal States Organization, a representative or-

ganization of the Governors of the coastal States, recog-

nizes the importance of this case to all of its member

States. The Coastal States Organization, having no vested

interests in the outcome of this case, has served to facil-

itate the development of this brief amicus curiae among

the thirteen original States.

The outcome of this case is of major importance to all

coastal States. Indeed, the Court is dealing here with an

issue directly related to the constitutional sovereignty of

the States. A reversal of the Mississippi Supreme Court

decision could affect the interests of all coastal States in

thousands upon thousands of acres of their tidelands, here-

tofore understood to be held either in sovereign ownership,

or subject to the public shoreland trust servitude.

Petitioners state, and we agree, that ‘[T]he 13 original

states are the divining rods of the equal footing doctrine.”

Petitioners’ Brief at 23. Because of the obvious truth of

the statement, we, as the thirteen original States that

reserved their shorelands when adopting the Constitution

of the United States 200 years ago, submit this brief ami-

cus curiae to present our view with one voice as to the

nature and extent of our reserved shoreland trusts which

were, by force and effect of the Equal Footing Doctrine,

perpetuated as each new State entered the Union.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The thirteen original States, upon adoption of the United

States Constitution 200 years ago, reserved a public trust

‘interest in. at a minimum, all of their shorelands subject

to the ebb and flow of the tide below the mean high tide

line. and held them in trust for the benefit of all the

people. The States held these trust shorelands not only

for the public’s use for navigation, but for other purposes,

including commerce, land transportation, fishing, fowling,

sustenance and bathing. Entering the Union upon an equal

footing with the thirteen original States, each of the new

States received in trust those shorelands subject to the

ebb and flow of the tide, regardless of the navigability of

the adjacent waters. Each new State, in its own trustee

capacity, upon entering the Union had the authority to

define both the nature of her sovereignty over, and the

physical boundaries of, her trust shorelands to the same

extent as the thirteen original States.

ARGUMENT

A. At the time of the adoption of the Constitution, the

thirteen original States reserved those lands subject

to the ebb and flow of the tide, regardless of the

navigability of the adjacent waters, at least up to

the mean high tide line. As the corpus of this trust

was originally funded by the thirteen original States,

so has it been perpetuated by the Equal Footing

Doctrine to the 37 States that have since joined the

Union.

“The original States withheld their tidelands and navig-

able waters from the United States at the time of adoption

of the Constitution.” Cinque Bambini Partnership v. State,

491 So. 2d 508, 512 (Miss. 1986). See also Pollards’ Lessee

v. Hagan, 44 U.S. (3 How.) 212, 228 - 230 (1843); Mumford

v. Wardwell, 73 U.S. (6 Wall.) 423, 436 (1867); Weber v.

Board of Harbor Commissioners, 85 U.S. (18 Wall.) 57, 65

66 (1873); Knight v. U.S. Land Association, 142 U.S.

161, 183 (1891); Shively v. Bowlby, 152 U.S. 1, 26 (1894):

United States v. Mission Rock Co., 189 U.S. 391. 404 (1903).

As each one of the thirteen original States held its tide-

lands and navigable waters in trust the United States cre-

ated like trusts in each new State. Montana v. United

States, 450 U.S. 544, 551 (1981). Thus, the question of the

extent, and the nature of the public uses, of the shorelands

withheld in trust by the thirteen original States at the

time the United States Constitution was adopted must be

answered in order to determine with any assurance what

the 37 “‘new”’ States, such as Mississippi, received by force

and effect of the Equal Footing Doctrine.

To answer this question it is necessary to look at the

English common law, because “the common law of Eng-

land upon this subject, at the time of the emigration of

our ancestors, is the law of this country, except so far as

it has been modified by the charters, constitutions, statutes

or usages of the several Colonies and States, or by the

Constitution and the laws of the United States.” Shively

v. Bowlby, 152 U.S. 1, 14. In other words, “upon the

American Revolution, all the rights of the Crown and Par-

liament vested in the several States, subject to the rights

surrendered to the national government by the Constitu-

tion of the United States.”” Jd. 14 - 15. See also Martin

v. Waddell, 41 U.S. 367, 410 (1842); Tinicum Fishing Co.

vy. Carter, 61 Pa. 21, 30 (1869). However, ‘‘since the rev-

olution, no part of the common law has been adopted

except that which was proper for our country.’’ Carson v.

Blazer, 2 Binn. 475, 477 (Pa. 1810). Thus, because it pro-

vided the foundation for colonial law but was subject to

change by the colonies after the Revolution, the English

common law is of central, but not controlling, importance.

This Court focused on the English common law of the

tidelands in the case of Borax Consolidated, Ltd. v. Los

Angeles, 296 U.S. 10 (1935), looking specifically at the

“extent of the right of the Crown to the seashore.” Dis-

cussing the case of Attorney General v. Chambers, 4 De

G.M. & G. 206 (1789), this Court noted the conclusion of

Lord Chancellor Cranworth that “the medium high tide

between the springs and the neaps’’ must be treated ‘‘as

bounding the right of the Crown.” Borax Consolidated,

Ltd. v. Los Angeles, supra at 25.

The Chambers case, decided two years after the United

States Constitution was ratified, suggests that the thirteen

colonies also held sovereign control over their seashores

up to the mean high tide line. As noted, however, after

the Revolution each colony was free to modify the common

law as necessary with respect to the uses and physical

character of her shorelands. The Chambers case further

suggests that the colonies determined what shorelands they

held according to the tidal influence on those lands, and

not according to the “‘navigability’’ of the adjacent waters.

These suggestions withstand scrutiny when the thirteen

original State laws and decisions are reviewed with an eye

towards establishing what shorelands they reserved at the

time the Constitution was adopted.

Massachusetts: The Massachusetts Bay Colony modified

by ordinance in 1641 its common law of the shorelands.

Prior to this ordinance, the colony abided by the English

common law that “all arms of seas, coves, creeks, &c.,

where the tide ebbs and flows, are the property of the

sovereign...’’ Commonwealth v. Charlestown, 18 Mass. (1

Pick.) 180, 182 (1822) (emphasis added). “[T]his mght of

the sovereign extends to ordinary high-water mark, so that

the shore, which is the space between high-water and low-

water, belongs also to the sovereign.’ Jbid. See also Storer

v. Freeman, 6 Mass. 435, 437 (1810). Thus, by the common

law “he to whom a house lot was granted which wus

bounded upon the sea, would be the proprietor only as far

as high water mark,’ for below this all lands subject to

the ebb and flow of the tide were public lands. Common-

wealth v. Charlestown, 18 Mass. at 182.

In order to induce private parties to erect wharves be-

low the high water mark, the colonial legislature passed

the ordinance of 1641 amending the common law. Storer

v. Freeman, 6 Mass. at 437. This ordinance granted to

adjacent upland owners title to the shore down to the

mean low tide mark or one hundred rods (about 1650 feet)

from the mean high tide mark, whichever was less. /d.

Public rights to fishing, fowling, and navigation in the

intertidal zone were, however, reserved from the grant.

Commonwealth v. Alger, 61 Mass. (7 Cush.) 53, 67-68

(1851). Thus, the public retained a direct proprietary in-

terest in the intertidal zone in addition to its sovereign

power to regulate private use of this area for the common

good. Jd. at 82-88. ,

The public’s proprietary and sovereign rights in the in-

tertidal zone vested in the Commonwealth at the time of

the Revolution, and were not transferred to the United

States by the subsequent adoption of the Constitution. /d.

at 82, citing New Orleans v. The United States, 35 U.S.

(10 Pet.) 662, 737 (1836); Pollards’ Lessee v. Hagan, 44

U.S. (3 How.) 212 (1843). Since that time, Massachusetts

courts have consistently upheld the public’s rights to fish-

ing, fowling and navigation in the intertidal zone. Thus,

for example, a private party cannot exclude the public

from taking shellfish on land in the intertidal zone, irre-

spective of whether he holds title to such land. Weston v.

Sampson, 62 Mass. (8 Cush.) 347, 355 (1851). See also

Butler v. Attorney General, 195 Mass. 79, 84, 80 N.E. 688,

689 (1907) (upholding the public’ right to “fishing and

free fowling’’ in the intertidal zone).

The Commonwealth's dominion over the public rights in

tidal waters is not dependent on whether the waters are

navigable-in-fact. See Commonweaith v. Vincent, 108 Mass.

441. 447 (1871) recognizing ‘“‘no restriction upon [the Com-

monwealth’s] authority to regulate the public right of fish-

ing’ in the tide waters and great ponds that “‘are not

navigable from the sea for any useful purpose”

New Hampshire: In New Hampshire, “ijt is well es-

tablished law” that “tide waters are public waters. As such

they are within the power of the Legislature to make such

laws as the public good may require.”’ Sibson v. State, 110

N.H. 8. 10, 259 A.2d 397, 399 (1969) (cases cited therein

omitted). See also Concord Manufacturing Co. v. Robertson,

66 N.H. 1. 4, 25 A. 718, 719 (1889). According to New

Hampshire case law, tidewaters ‘“‘are those in which the

tide ordinarily ebbs and flows, including the sea, and also

bays, rivers, and creeks, so far as they answer this de-

scription. A body or stream of water cannot be considered

as tidal merely because, under unusual circumstances, the

level of the water is affected by the tide, nor is the amount

of salt in the water material.’’ Sibson v. State, 110 N.H

at 10, quoting 2 Tiffany, Real Property sec. 659 (3rd ed.).

While navigability-in-fact is the appropriate test to deter-

mine whether freshwater lakes and streams are public

waters, since New Hampshire’s earliest days the action of

— ‘ + " +. 7s " " .? ‘ q ff ‘ "

tne jae nas i irnisneda a convenien means OL ic ating ne

. } } : . ea '% , : , 7 a a ’ .

boundary of the largest reservoir of public water. Conco?

Manufacturing Co. v. Robertson, 66 N.H. at 5

~~

2 al : 7} ré od ‘ ry) ,] » re I '

Resides recognizing ewaters aS pubDiic waters, tne New

Hampshire Supreme Court confirmed a century ago the

long-standing common law rights of the public in New

Hampshire’s shoreland extending seaward from the mean

high-water mark. In 1889, Chief Justice Doe wrote in Con

yey V nmufacturing f Rk Mertson,. supra, as rollows

In Nudd v. Lamprey {an unreported case} decided

n the county of Rockingham at the December

term, 1847, it was held that the provision of

Massachusetts ordinance [of 1641] relating to the

shore of tide-waters has not been adopted and is

not in force n this state: ana there is no ground

m whnicn tnat case can ve overruled. The intro

juction of any other line than high-water mark

1s the marine Doundarv would overturn common

iw ments that nad Deen estaplusned here, DY |

Tl I

ice neo ry: iT} : iercranniing f Ty

imsae t Aii\A i 1d ional ius rstandaing : Wi

. - > . ’ - > 7 .

inarea ears aLravion DelLore ne vere les

.

ned y \ j sy ly ai, i re j

y - - = <> - .

‘ , ’ + . +> . Ton? 7 rr ¥

id : ks | aot) \ | ‘ We i pi As . ‘ eXvel 2 rit wWUMILIT

2 . ~ . . . ; . " eit + “+

trus tne ‘ irt in Concord Manufacturing conciuded that

+) . . ; , , : > " ’ - ‘ . : mir ry) « .) “fT |

. SalTie lk avtv©esS | ASLILE il 2 eason —W Livi manaated

> > > . " ‘ 7 > . P's >

na he shores and arms oI the sea De neid in tee Dy ne

> > > : > ‘ . . . 7?

state Io! ymmon use—aisS ested a private mgn i rea

; eo t the ; i) t |

sonable use lI wners of e adjoining land. /d. at 18

: - .

Sibson v. State, 110 N.H. at 10, 259 A.2d at 400. This

’ i t? ’ OT ~ T ir]

, . > , *?} . ¥ ys YY “? rmoriht > *> . ~ + > >

Siu Tet . Ja Al i 4 : . at

+ )?f . ‘ .« . an ,toroa >

nv! pupiic waters; reasonabiy ll le INLerests

> “* ryt -_ mince ange +, no r\nTe 7. ¥ -y

—f navigation. tisning and otner pudiic purposes

. :

. > . - > -* + > > . . .

I ner words ne mgnts or tnese owners are

™ + -—mtyy " a . + ++ . . ‘

iraenea W 1 a servitude in tavor or tne Stalk

vhict mes into operation when the State prop

erly exercises its power to control, regulate. and

utilize such waters.

Sibson v. State, supra, citing State v. Stafford Co., 99 N.H.

92 97, 105 A.2d 569, 573 (1954); see Concord Manufac-

turing Co. v. Robertson, supra at 5.

Rhode Island: Rhode Island case law consistently es-

tablishes that title to shorelands below the high water

mark, and subject to the ebb and flow of the tide, lies in

the State. “in this state, at common law, the fee of the

soil in tide waters below high water-mark: is in the state.”

Bailey v. Burges, 11 R.I. 330, 331 (1876); Brown v. God-

dard, 13 R.I. 76, 81 (1880); Folsom v. Freeborn, 13 R.I.

200, 204 (1881); Gerhard et ux. v. Seekonk River Bridge

Commissioners, 15 R.1. 334, 335 (1886); Allen v. Allen, 19

R.I. 114, 115 (1895); Jackvony v. Powel, 67 R.I. 218, 226

(1941). “This right of the State is held, however, by virtue

of its sovereignty, and in trust for all the inhabitants, not

as a private proprietor. The public rights secured by this

trust are the rights of passage, of navigation and fishery,

and these rights extend ... to all land below high water

unless it has been so used, built upon or occupied, as to

prevent the passage of boats, and the natural ebb and flow

of the tide.”’-(Emphasis added). Allen v. Allen, 19 R.I. at

116; Jackvony v. Powel, 67 R.I. at 226.

Rhode Island’s Constitution, ratified in 1843, protects

certain rights of the public in the use of the State's ex-

tensive shores, most prominent of which are the shores

along Narragansett Bay. Article I, section 17 of the Rhode

Island Constitution provides: “The people shall continue

to enjoy and freely exercise all the rights of fishery, and

the privileges of the shore, to which they have heretofore

been entitled under the charter and usages of this state.”

The shores held in trust in Rhode Island, and upon

which the public’s ‘privileges’ are constitutionally pro-

tected. are those “shores bordering on tidewaters and lying

between the lines of mean high tide and mean low tide

10

... Jdackvony v. Powel, 67 R.I. at 225. The fact that the

waters adjacent to the shoreland are or are not navigable

has never been a requisite criteria for determining what

tidelands of Rhode Island are held by the State in trust.

Connecticut: By the Charter of 1662, Charles II granted

to the Colony of Connecticut title to the shores of the sea.

The physical extent of this grant and the competency of

the king to make such a conveyance were undoubted.

‘A river, where the tide ebbs and flows, is an

arm of the sea; and the shore is that space of

ground, which is between ordinary high water

and low water mark. The title of the king, prima

facie, to all ports and arms of the sea to high

water mark, and to the soil thereof, has long

been established law; and ... it is settled, that he

may grant the property of the soil between high

and low water mark to a subject or corporation.”’

East Haven v. Hemingway, 7 Conn. 186, 198 (1828).

Adoption of the English common law regarding public

ownership of all lands below “‘high water mark’’ has been

continually reaffirmed in Connecticut case law. ‘“‘The doc-

trine of the common law is, that the right to the soil of

proprietors of land on navigable rivers extends only to

high water mark; all below is publici juris - in the king,

in England. That is the law in Connecticut; for we have

no statute abrogating it."” Chapman v. Kimball, 9 Day 38,

40 (1831). See also Nichol’s v. Lewis, 15 Conn. 137, 143

(1842) (‘‘land between high and low water mark belongs

to the public’’); Simons v. French, 25 Conn. 346, 352 (1856)

(‘In Connecticut, it is now settled that the public, rep-

resenting the former title of the king, is the owner in fee

of such flats up to the high water mark’’). This same line

of early cases established that the owner of adjoining up-

land had the right to wharf out upon or otherwise occupy

11

the land beyond high water provided he did not interfere

with navigation.

As evidenced by the writings of a leading State jurist

of the times, Connecticut subscribed to the “‘legal’’ defi-

nition of navigability. That is, arms of the sea and rivers

were considered navigable ‘‘as far as the sea flows and

re-flows.” 1 Swift Digest 109 (1822). Within the context

of colonial times, navigable waters as discussed in Con-

necticut case law referred to tidal influence rather than

navigability-in-fact. For example, in Adams v. Pease, 2

Conn. 481, 484 (1818), the court stated that ‘‘every river,

where the sea ebbs and flows, is by the common law,

considered as navigable; and all rivers not thus distin-

guished, are not navigable.’

Thus, In Connecticut, title in the lands subject to the

ebb and flow of the tide and below the high water mark

was held by the State. It is these tidally influenced shore-

lands she reserved upon adoption of the Constitution.

New York: It has been long established that New York’s

shoreland rights were defined without reference to navig-

ability, but rather to the tidal influence on the lands. Thus,

the power of the State extends over waters which ‘‘though

not navigable in fact are deemed navigable in law

It must be noted that petitioners cite two Connecticut cases for the

proposition that not all tidal streams are navigable. See Petitioners

Brief, at 26. Both Wethersfield v. Humphrey, 20 Conn. 218 (1850) and

Groton v. Hurlburt, 22 Conn. 178 (1852), however, were concerned not

with navigable waters, per se, nor with a determination of public tide-

lands, but with obstructions to navigation which would interrupt com-

merce. Navigability, navigable waters and the standards by which they

are defined have always varied depending on the application of such

determinations. It is no more appropriate to apply the narrower com-

merce clause/navigable water standard to the determination of public

tidelands, than it would be to apply the broader regulatory/navigable

water standard enunciated by this Court in defining navigable waters

under the Clean Water Act. See United States v. Riverside Bayview

Hones, Inc., 106 S. Ct. 455 (1985).

12

Over such waters the power of the State extends.” State

v. Bishop, 359 N.Y.S. 2d 817, 820, 46 A. 2d 654, 656

(1974).

As early as 1829 an appellate court of New York held

that the navigable rivers and arms of the sea where the

tide regularly ebbs and flows belong to the people. Lansing

v. Smith, 4 Wend. 9 (1829). An 1832 decision held that

“as a general rule, a grant of lands bounded on tide waters

extends only to ordinary high-water mark.’ .Wismall v.

Hall, 3 Paige Ch. 313, 315 (N.Y. 1832). In a review of

the law in 1925, the New York State Attorney General

advised that the people have common-law rights, consti-

tuting a public trust, to the land below the mean high

water line over which the tide ebbs and flows. Matter of

Tidal High-Water Line, 33 New York State Dept. Repts.

415 (1925).

It is also well established in New York “that a convey-

ance by a governmental agency of land fronting on a na-

vigable body of water conveys title only to the high water

line.” Do'phin Lane Association v. Town of Southampton,

72 Mise. 2d 868, 882, 339 N.Y.S. 2d 966, 981 (1971). “‘The

foreshore, or land under the waters of the sea and its

arms, between high and low-water mark, is subject, first,

to the jus publicum - the right of navigation, and when

the tide is out, the right of access to the water for fishing,

bathing and other lawful purposes to which the right of

passage over the beach may be a necessary incident.’

Tiffany v. Town of Oyster Bay, 234 N.Y. 15, 20, 136 N.E.

224, 225 (1922).

The authority of the State of New York to convey land

under the tide waters is accordingly limited. ‘‘The title of

the state to the seacoast and the shores of tidal rivers is

different from the fee simple which an individual holds to

an estate in lands. It is not a proprietary, but a sovereign

right, and it has frequently been said that a trust is en-

grafted upon this title for the benefit of the public of which

13

the state is powerless to divest itself.’’ Coxe v. State, 144

N.Y. 396, 405-406, 39 N.E. 400, 402 (1895). This case

overturned an act of the Legislature which gave a cor-

poration authority to reclaim and drain wetlands and tide-

water marshes on or adjacent to Staten Island and Long

Island. The court noted that this restriction, although not

enumerated in the State Constitution, was inherited di-

rectly from the State’s colonial predecessor.

It has often been said that the legislature of this

state is clothed with all the powers of the British

Parliament, except as restrained by the express

or implied provisions of the Constitution. When

the general doctrines of the English courts on

this subject are given full scope, the conclusion

is inevitable that the Parliament and the Crown

together were not competent to grant to a pri-

vate corporation, for private purposes, the sea-

coast around the island below the shore line,

without violating established principles of law.

(Martin v. Waddell, 16 Peters, 367). While I am

not aware of any such restriction to be found in

the Constitution of this state, in terms, yet, from

the very nature of the question, it must be

deemed to be inherent in the title and power of

disposition. The title which the state holds and

the power of disposition is an incident and part

of its sovereignty that cannot be surrendered,

alienated or delegated, except for some public

purpose, or some reasonable use which can fairly

be said to be for the public benefit.

Id. at 406, 39 N.E. at 402.

New Jersey: New Jersey has consistently asserted that

her sovereignty over her shorelands extended to those

lands subject to the ebb and flow of the tide. Navigability

was never a deciding factor. In fact, New Jersey does not

assert title claims to the beds of non-tidal, though navig-

14

able, waterways. Statutes passed by the New Jersey leg-

islature from 1804 to the present, and New Jersey case

law, confirm this.

In 1804 “An Act to Incorporate ‘The Associates of the

Jersey Company’ ” conveyed certain submerged lands un-

der the tidal waters of the Hudson River. New Jersey

Laws of 1804, page 367. The 1851 Wharf Act permitted

a property owner of lands “situate along or upon tide

waters” to build wharves or other structures out to the

ordinary low water line, as long as they did not interfere

with the public’s right of navigation. Between 1804 and

1851, there were numerous conveyances by the Legislature

of State tidal lands. In each instance the lands conveyed

were described either originally, or at the time, as being

“under water.” In no case were the lands described as

“navigable.” In 1869, a comprehensive riparian statute was

enacted that carefully distmguished between tidewaters, to

which the State claimed title, and navigable waters.

N.J.S.A. 12: 3-2 to 12: 3-9.2

Hence, from statehood 200 years ago to the present,

the New Jersey legislature continuously referred to lands

See also N.J.S.A. 12:3-4 (as first enacted in 1869), that prohibited

the filling in any land under water below mean high tide; N.J.S.A.

12:3-10 (1871), that permitted any riparian owners on tidewaters to

obtain a conveyance of thé submerged lands in front of their lands:

N.J.S.A. 12:3-12 (1871), that permitted the conveyance of lands under

tidewater to riparian owners from the original high water line; N.J.S.A.

12:3-17 (1875), that permitted the State to conduct surveys of State

claims over the tidewaters; N.J.S.A. 12:3-18 (1877), that providea con-

demnation rights for owners adjacent to tidelands: N.J.S.A. 12:3-19

(1891) that states that “there are islands situate in the tidal waters

of this State, the lands below mean high water adjoining to which are

the property of this State’; N.J.S.A 12:3-26 (1910), that prohibited the

laying of pipes under tidal waters without the State’s consent: N.J.S.A.

12:3-28 (1927), regulating the construction of bridges over ‘“‘any lands

of this State flowed by the tidal waters thereof’: and N.J.S.A. 12:3-

35 and 12:3-36 (1916) that permitted the State to convey lands of the

State “now or formerly under tidewaters” for public parks. (Emphasis

added in all references).

15

under tidewaters, or tidal lands, and has described the

boundary between State and private lands as the “mean

high water” line. When the legislature wished to reference

navigable waters, it did so. When it spoke in terms of

title to sovereign shorelands, it referred only to tidally

influenced land.

The case law supports this conclusion as well. An early

assertion of ownership of the State of New Jersey to the

beds of non-navigable waters led to the decision of this

Court in Martin v. Lessee of Waddell, 41 U.S. 367 (1842).

The introduction to Martin notes that the jury “found the

premises in dispute are situated beneath the waters of the

Raritan River and Bay, where the tide ebbs and flows,”

without any reference to its navigability. Martin v. Lessee

of Waddell, 41 U.S. at 368. The Court upheld the power

of the State to convey such lands, and found a con’ -yance

from the East New Jersey Proprietors to be without ef-

fect. See also Arnold v. Mundy, 6 N.J.L. 1 (1821).

In an 1867 case, the New Jersey Supreme Court held:

“The test by which to determine whether waters

are public or private, is the ebb and flow of the

tide. Waters in which the tide ebbs and flows -

so far only as the sea flows and reflows, are

public waters; and those in which there is no ebb

and flow of the tide, are private waters.” Codd

v. Davenport, 32 N.J.L. 369, 378 (Sup. Ct. 1867).

This decision was reaffirmed in 1876 by the New Jersey

Court of Errors and Appeals, which held:

“In Cobb v. Davenport ... the notion that actual

navigability was the criterion of public or private

ownership in the bed of waters was distinctly

repudiated, and the doctrine that the ebb and

flow of the tide furnished such criterion was ex-

pressly adopted as a principle of the common law

so well settled that a citation of authorities was

16

deemed unnecessary.” (Emphasis added).

Attorney General v. Delaware & Bound Brook

R.R. Co., 27 N.J. Eq. 631, 689 (E & A 1876).

The inescapable conclusion reached by an examination

of the statutory and case law of New Jersey is that there

was a consistent assertion of title by the State to its

shorelands subject to the ebb and flow of the tide from

the earliest times. These State claims were made in leg-

islation starting in the early 1800s, and were strongly

upheld by the New Jersey courts as conforming with the

common law or English rule of title.

Pennsylvania: The Pennsylvania Supreme Court ex-

pressed its view in 1837, that “{I]}t seems agreed, that

between low water and ordinary high water of the ocean,

and wherever the tide ebbs and flows, is part of the com-

In their amicus curiae brief, the City of Elizabeth et al. make the

assertion that the State of New Jersey abruptly and retroactively

changed its claim of ownership to tidal lands in the late 1950s. They

cite several cases in support of their position that New Jersey sub

stantive property law required a dual test of navigability and tidal ebb

and flow for State sovereign owneiship until the late 1950s. Amici

brief of City of Elizabeth, at 18. ‘An examination of those cases reveals

that the word ‘navigable’ was either used in connection with a body

of water concededly navigable, or that the word was employed gra

tuitously as an additional word of description.” Schultz v. Wilson, 44

N.J. Super. 591, 602, 131 A. 2d 415, 422 (App. Div. 1957). Another

leading case in which certain language refers to navigability is Stevens

Paterson & Newark R.R. Co., 34 N.J.L. 5382, 3 Am. Rep. 269 (E

& A. 1870), which upheld a State riparian conveyance along a navigable

river. Any confusion that remained after the Stevens case was resolved

n Marcus Sayre Co. v. Newark, 60 N.J.Eq. 361, 369 (E. & A. 1900)

where the court heid

‘The title to a tidal stream below ordinary high tide is in the

State as absolute owner. The decision of this court in Stevens

placed the law on this subject on a firm foundation as a finality

Thus, the position taken by the amici City of Elizabeth et al. is un

tenabie, being unsupportable by either the substantive law or case law

tf New Jersey

17

mon highway. ... In England, this is said to be vested in

the king; here it is in the State.” Ball v. Slack, 2 Whart

508, 539 (Pa. 1837). By various acts of the legislature,

however, the owner of lands bounded by navigable water

could also hold title to the tidelands between high and low

water mark, subject to the public right of navigation, and

to the authority of the legislature to make public improve-

ments upon it, and to regulate his use of it. See Shively

v. Bowlby, 152 U.S. at 22.

Deiaware: In a boundary dispute case involving Jands

below tidal water, this court has stated that, in Delaware,

“The title to the soil, which was subject to jus publicum

while it was vested in the king and his grantees, is subject

to the same restrictions in the ownership of Delaware”.

State of New Jersey v. State of Delaware, 291 U.S. 361,

372, 373, (1933). As noted in an early Delaware Supreme

Court decision, the restrictions of this jus publicum in

Delaware were summarized as follows:

In all navigable waters, where the tide ebbs and

flows, the people have of common right the priv-

ilege of fishing, and of navigation, between high

and low water mark, though it be over private

soil.

Bickel et al. v. Polk, 5 Del. (Harr.) 325, 326 (1851). Fur-

ther, “the public have the right to take fish below high

water mark, though upon soil belonging to an individual,

and would not be trespassing in so doing ...’’ Jbid. Thus,

though a riparian owner can hold title down to the low

water mark in Delaware, the riparian owner’s title is sub-

ject to the public’s jus publicum rights that exist below

the highwater mark. It has also been stated that the tide-

lands in Delaware, which are subject to the public’s trust

rights, is not “limited to that appurtenant to an ocean.

On the contrary, foreshore can be found along any tidal

water”. Phillips v. State, Ex. Rel. Department of Natural

Resources, 449 A.2d 250, 255 (1982), citing State v. Penn-

18

sylvania Railroad Company, 228 A.2d 587 (1967) aff'd 267

A.2d 455 (1969).

Delaware also gave special statutory protection to its

tidelands. Until 1843 adverse possession against the State

was prohibited. In that year, however, the legislature au-

thorized adverse possession against State land “‘other than

salt marsh”. 9 Del. L. 454 (1843). In 1852 this law was

amended to exclude not only salt marsh, but also ‘‘beach

or shore”’ lands.

Thus, although Delaware allowed private ownership of

tidelands down to the low water mark, the public rights

to use the tidelands, emanating from the English Common

Law, were preserved. Tidelands impressed with the trust

servitude at the time the Constitution was adopted,

whether publicly or privately held, were not only those

shorelands in Delaware adjacent to waters that were na-

vigable-in-fact, but were those shorelands ‘‘found along any

tidal water,”’ Phillips v. State, 449 A.2d at 255; i.e., wher-

ever the tide ebbed and flowed.

Maryland: In Maryland, the shorelands between mean

high water and mean low water passed by grant of the

1632 Charter of Maryland (Article IV) by Charles I to

Caecillius Calvert, Baron of Baltimore. Thus at that time

the tidelands were owned by the Crown. Browne v. Ken-

nedy, 5 H. & J. 195 (Md. 1821). After the Revolution, the

tidelands were held by the State for the benefit of the

public by virtue of Article 5 of the Declaration of Rights

in the Maryland Constitution. Board of Public Works v.

Larmar Corp., 262 Md. 24, 277, A.2d 427 (1971); Ker-

pelman v. Board of Public works, 261 Md. 436, 276 A.2d

56 (1971), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 858 (1971). See also Day

v. Day, 22 Md. 530 (1865); Baltimore v. McKim, 3 Bland

453 (1831).

Prior to the enactment of the Act of 1862 (now Mary-

land Code Art. 54, sec. 48) there were instances where

the State issued patents for land under navigable water,

lY

defined by Maryland cases as ‘“‘water where the tide ebbs

and flows,” with the patents being subject to the public

rights to navigation and fishery. Board of Public Works

vy. Larmar Corp., supra at 47, 277 A.2d at 438; Dept. of

Natural Resources v. Ocean City, 274 Md. 1 332, A.2d 630

(1975); Van Ruymbeke v. Patapsco Industrial Park, 261

Md. 470, 475, 276 A.2d 61, 64 (1971).

Virginia: In Virginia, the law at the time of adoption

of the Constitution was a codification of the English com-

mon law, the Act of May 1780 (10 Hen. Stat. at Large,

p. 226). This Act reserved “{AJll unappropriated lands on

the Bay of the Chesapeake, or the sea shore, or the shores

of any river or creek’’ for use “‘as a common to all of the

good people’ of the Commonwealth. Garrison v. Hall &

als., 75 Va. 150, 160 (1881). The object of this Act was

held to be “‘to reserve the right of fishing,...fowling and

hunting, being only coextensive therewith, as a common

right of the people of the State, as an aquatic right on

the public waters, which embraced the shores and the lands

adjacent to them, so far as necessary for the enjoyment

of those rights .. .’’. Jd. at 163. Most noticeable about this

statutory language is that the shorelands held in trust “for

all the good people’’ of Virginia were not delimited from

the high water mark down, but included all the adjacent

lands “so far as necessary for the enjoyment of those

rights.”

A Virginia Legislature Act of 1819 extended to the low

water mark the seaward boundary of an upland owner's

property, if the grant was made prior to 1780. However,

even though title was in the upland owner, the shoreland

remained subject to the public’s right to fish, fowl and

hunt. See Bradford v. Nature Conservancy, 224 Va. 181

(1982). Thus, any grant of the shorelands made after 1780

was “void,”’ and such lands today are “held as a common’

as they were 200 years ago. [bid.

North Carolina: The Supreme Court of North Carolina

has long established that where the waters covering lands

are ‘‘navigable in law,”’ those lands are held in trust by

the State for the benefit of the public. See Wilson v. Forbes,

13 N.C. (2 Dev.) 31 (1828): Shepard's Point Land Co

Hotel, 132 N.C. 517 (1903). Waters that were “navigable

at law’ under the common law of England were those

waters ‘“‘where the tide flows and ebbs.”’ Wilson v. Forbes

13 N.C. at 38

The Supreme Court of North Carolina has regularly ap

plied the rule of public trust ownership of the bed to tidal

and non-tidal but navagable-in-fact, waters. See Jngram

Threadgill, 14 N.C. (3 Dev.) 59 (1831): State Twwford

136 N.C. 603, 48 S.E. 586 (1904). In the seminal case of

State v. Glen, 52 N.C. (7 Jones) 321 (1859), the court

reviewed its prior decisions and reaffirmed the primary

classes of waters which continue to be recognized pubil

trust beds and private beds. The Glen court recognized

that public trust ownership of the bed extends both to all

lands subject to the ebb and flow of the tides to the far

thest influx of salt water. Collins v Benbu ry, 25 N.C 3

lred.) 277 (1842), and to all waters navigable by “‘sea ves

sels’ as defined in Wilson Forbes, supra

[he boundary of the reserved submerged lands in Nort}

(arolina has aiways Deen the margin of the water body

1.e. the line of ordinary high water. Ward W s, 5]

N.C. (6 Jones) 183 (1858). More recently, the Supreme

Court of North Carolina has defined the boundary of pri

vate/pubDlic trust ownership, in areas subject to lunar tides

as the high water line of the foreshore. The foreshore is

further described as an area where the public can walk

when the tide is iow, and mde in Doats wher tC 1S nigi

(‘ar rid? Beach KF Shi? qd P rT Ine T i” ; f‘éwr ;

Beach, 277 N.C. 297, 177 S.E. 2d 513 (1970)

Accordingiv, North Carolina held her shorelands at the

time of the adoption of the Constitution. and continues t

hold today, the bed of tidal waters, whether such lands

are navigable or non-navigable, including mudflats and

other areas exposed at low tide, in its trust capacity. Thus

the law of North Carolina is consistent with the law as

decided by the Supreme Court of Mississipp

South Carolina: In South Carolina, in accordance with

the common law, the title to land under tide waters was

in the State, and a grant of land bounded by such waters

passed no title below high water mark. Thus, in 1884, the

South Carolina Supreme Court, relying on the expression

of the common law in United States v. Pacheco, 69 U.S

(2 Wall.) 587, 590 (1864), ruled that title to several hundred

acres of salt water marshland ‘below the line of high

water-mark, and subject to the daily ebb and flow of the

tides’’ was held by the State. State Pinckney, 22 S.C

Rep. 484, 508 (1884)

The Pinckney court closely examined the common law

on shorelands in order to answer the question presented

to the court. “But finding it incumbent upon us to decide

’

the question, seeing clearly the rule of the common law

and failing to find any authoritative decision which changes

that rule, we must hold that it is now [in 1884], as it

always has been, the law of the State.’’ Jd. at 509. Thus

at the time of statehood when the United States Const

tution was adopted, South Carolina applied the common

aw to its shorelands, that is, those lands below the line

f high water-mark, and subject to the daily ebbD and flow

he tides’ were held by the State

Georgia: Georgia adopted the general common iaw ruk

“4 : “4

that the Doundary oO! private iandowners abutting on tne

- - ." , ‘ ‘ . . ,

sea ‘or upon any estuary, tidal stream, or arm of the sea

+ | : rliavw we . \ ,

where there was a regular rise and [aii OF tne tide ex

tended miy to ngn water mark, the sol DdDetween Nig!

water mark and iow water mark Delng tne property I

77 . ; . oe

tne state J ANsOT State 114 (7a i

207 808 (1901). The Ceorgia ~ ipreme Court noted in 190]

tnat tn

United

nN LS&6

nciuae

ne

>

histo

SULGLULE

Wacvers

*

Ss ruve Nad Deen aimost universally foliowed in the

Statoc *” J} Whil = a Cad

States. /bid. While the first Georgia Code adopted

. Qn . thea , Or) : io . tye .

expanded the concept or State-owned waters to

nose tresnhwater rivers which are navigabDie-in-fact

Georgia Supreme Court concluded that the Georgia

’ ,

ped

whicn accorded to the adjacent iandowner titie to

i non-navigabie stream did not apply to tide

yect to the ebb and flow of the tide

Lan

even if not navigable-in-fact, remained publicly-owned tide

inas Hria

With rare exceptions, grants along the coast of Georgia

made ring the colonial pemod and the eariv vears of

Statehood did not convey any adjacent tidelands, whether

navigabie-in-fact or not. In a dispute over oyster rights in

rT

eraying

>

AS \

= >

| —

LL ASV

. .

WI

’ rr

~

| a my

. * ‘

raf Yr

VaLliO}rni

’

, ‘

’

’

. a’

subject to the ebb and flow of the tide and not

ie-in-fact, the Supreme Court of Georgia heid that

navigabie streams and adjacent marshes were not

in the Grant from King George II: the non-na

reeks and marsnes were pubDiic lianas subject t&

' Tear ) (iew ,° (or ; 124 +f 1Qs vi

VSLE ease ‘ > rreen 164 Wa wt Di

> (iZ7iV). AS a result, in the apsence or a specinic

m the Crown or the State private ownership in

extends oniy to the upper limit of the salt marsh

extensive with the upper reach of the reguiar

tlow of the tide. Because of the tidal range av

seven feet and the gyentiy sioping snore aiong the

Veorgia, the upper limit Of the Sait marsh extends

wove the point f navigability-in-fact, but als:

re elevation I mean niegn water

there Nave deen specific orTants if title and other

anas covered DOV tidewaters. sucn private owT

remains subject to the public trust rights of navi

transportation and public passage, regardless of

lity-in-fact of the adjacent waters. Ga. Laws, 1902

™ . : . . 5 ‘>

Ga. Code Ann. sec. 44-8-8 (1982). In addition. the

nh? ; hich " i} . ' sy r\y : .

ent to TSN in ail waters subject to the

TLOW I the tide, whether navigabie or non-navig

23

able. West v. Baumgartner, 124 Ga. App. 318, 184 S.E.

2d 533 (1971), reversed on other grounds, 228 Ga. 671

(1972).

As stated by this Court in Shively v. Bowlby, “[T]he

foregoing summary of the laws of the original States shows

that there is no universal and uniform law upon the sub-

ject; but that each State has dealt with the lands under

the tide waters within its borders according to its own

views of justice and policy, reserving its own control over

such lands, or granting rights therein to individuals or

corporations, whether owners of the adjoining upland or

not, as it considered for the best interests of the public.”

Shively v. Bowlby, 152 U.S. at 26. Nonetheless, some char-

acteristics are common to all thirteen of the original States.

First, all thirteen original States, in their individual

“views of justice and policy’’ have determined that they

retain a public trust interest in their shorelands subject

to the ebb and flow of the tide, regardless of the navig-

ability of the adjacent water. Second, each of the thirteen

original States, based on its own law, has determined the

extent of their public trust shorelands. That is, each has

individually defined, either legislatively or judicially, what

the term “high water mark’’ means for its State. Most

have determined this term to mean the ‘‘mean high tide

line,” in accordance with the Lord Chancellor Cranworth’s

interpretation of the English common law, while Georgia

and Virginis based on their laws, geography and usage,

have determined that their trust shorelands extend up

above the mean high water mark.

It is clear that each and every one of the thirteen orig-

inal States made clear and definitive claims of ownership,

or control, over the lands subject to the ebb and flow of

the tide, without regard to the navigability of the adjacent

water, at the time the Constitution was adopted. Thus, all

shorelands subject to the ebb and flow of the tide, and at

least up to the mean high tide line, whether owned out-

24

right by the States or privately held subject to the trust

servitude, formed the corpus of the shoreland trust at the

time the Constitution was adopted. As this trust was

funded at the time of adoption of the Constitution, so has

it been perpetuated by the Equal Footing Doctrine to the

other 37 States that have since joined the Union.

B. The shorelands reserved by the States at the time

of adoption of the Constitution were defined and

delimited by the uses of the shorelands, and not

solely by the criterion of whether the adjacent water

was navigable. The public uses were not limited to

navigation, but also included fishing, hunting, fowl-

ing, and bathing, among others.

Petitioners assert that a State’s public trust shorelands,

acquired upon admission to the Union on an equal footing

with the original 13, include only those shorelands of

waterways that are navigable-in-fact. To the contrary, in

addition to tidality, the colonial shorelands imbued with

the public trust were defined and delimited by the uses of

the shorelands, and not solely by the criterion of whether

the adjacent water was navigable-in-fact or not.

The uses of the shorelands 200 years ago by the citizens

of the thirteen original States clearly included more than

just navigation. The public trust doctrine traditionally pro-

vided that trust property was for the benefit of the public

for navigation, commerce and fishing. See Coquillette,

Mosses from an Old Manse: Another Look at Some Historic

Property Cases About the Environment, 64 Cornell L. Rev.

761, 801 (1979). But the shoreland uses ‘‘common to all

the people’ have been recorded as including “passing and

repassing, navigation, fishing, fowling, sustenance, and all

other uses of the water and its products ...”. Arnold v.

Mundy, 6 N.J.L. (1 Hal.) 1, 76 - 77 (1821). The floating

of logs from timbering operations was a recognized public

use of tidewaters in New Hampshire. See Concord Man-

ufacturing Co. v. Robertson, 66 N.H. 1, 5 (1889). Bathing,

< be ee lee i es, eee

bo

ql

the grazing of live stock, and transportation by high-

wheeled carts pulled by “‘beach ponies’ are recorded public

uses of the shorelands in North Carolina around the end

of the Revolution. See Dunbar, Gary S., Historical Geog-

raphy of North Carolina Outer Banks (1958), at 20. The

gathering of seaweed for fertilizer was commonplace in

Connecticut 200 years ago, and was a protected public use

of the tidelands. See Chapman v. Kimball, 9 Day at 38.

In Rhode Island, ‘‘among the common-law rights of the

public in the shore .. . are rights of fishing from the shore,

taking seaweed and drift-stuff therefrom, going therefrom

into the sea for bathing, and also as necessary for the

enjoyment of any of these rights, and perhaps as a sep-

arate and independent right, that of passing along the

shore.” Jackvony v. Powel, 67 R.I. 218 (1941). As noted

supra, Virginia recognized “fishing, hunting and fowling”’

as recognized uses in 1780 that were afforded trust pro-

tection, and defined the extent of these reserved shore-

lands as including all the adjacent lands “so far as

necessary for the enjoyment of those rights.’’ Garrison v.

Hall and als., 75 Va. at 163.

Fishing, as the term was understood in this country

prior to the adoption of the Constitution, included the har-

vesting of shell fish as well as ‘‘floating fish.’’ Martin v.

Waddell, 44 U.S. (16 Pet.) 367, 413. The harvesting of

this source of food was of great importance to the early

settlors. ‘‘The men who first formed the English settle-

ments, could not have been expected to encounter the

many hardships that unavoidably attended their emigration

to the new world, and to people the banks of its bays and

rivers .. if the settlor on the fast land thereby was ex-

cluded from this enjoyment, and unable to take shell-fish

from its bottom, or fasten there a stake, or even bathe

in its waters ...”. Id. at 414; ef. Arnold v. Mundy, 6

N.J.L. at 92. The harvesting of shellfish, by the very na-

ture of clams, oysters, mussels and the like, quite com-

26

monly occurred in tidelands bordering waters that were

not navigable-in-fact.

Obviously a waterway must be navigable-in-fact for it

to be used for navigation. But what was considered a

navigable waterway 200 years ago may not be so consid-

ered today. Indeed, historically, navigability was legally

defined by the “flowing of the tide;’’waterways upstream

from the ‘“‘flow of the tide’’ were by legal definition non-

navigable. See, Angell, Joseph K., A Treatise on the Right

of Property in Tide Waters, Little and Brown, Boston,

1847, Chapter III, at 73, citing The Case of the Royal

Fishery, Davies’s R. 149; Hale, De Jure Maris; Sir Henry

Constable’s Case, 5 Co. R. 107. See also, 1 Swift Digest

109 (1822), Ch. III, Of the Right to the Ocean, Navigable

Rivers, and Rivers not Navigable. In addition, navigable

watercraft two centuries ago included shallow draft, flat

bottom vessels that were designed to be hauled up the

beaches for stowage or repair, or manually propelled

through very shallow marshes for fishing, hunting, or the

discharge of passengers and cargo. Clearly, for these type

of vessels, the shallow tidal creeks and streams in marshes

and salt meadows were considered navigable waters.

But navigability was not a requisite for the thirteen

original States to hold their tidal shorelands in trust. Many

of the uses commonly made of the trust shorelands by the

citizens of the thirteen original States 200 years ago were

not physically or logically dependant upon whether the

adjacent waters to the shorelands were navigable-in-fact.

Many tidal wetlands good for fowling 200 years ago un-

doubtedly were worthless for navigation. Bathing in tidal

waters was not limited to where the adjacent waters were

navigabie. The harvesting of clams, seaweed and the like

on vast tidal mudflats certainiy occured on non-navigable

waters. Land transportation along the naturally obstruc-

tion-free upper shorelands undoubtedly was very important

200 years ago for the simple reason that the adjacent

waters were not always navigable-in-fact.

One can only conclude that Petitioners’ assertion—that

only those shorelands adjacent to waters that were navig-

able-in-fact were reserved by the thirteen original States

when the Constitution was adopted—is unfounded when

the historical uses of these shorelands by our ancestors

200 years ago is considered. To hold that the thirteen

original States only reserved shorelands adjacent to na-

vigable-in-fact waters would be to ignore the States’ rec-

ognition of the other legitimate public uses of the trust

shorelands that are independent of the navigability of the

adjacent waters: such as passing and repassing, fowling,

hunting, shell fishing, land transportation, gathering seaw-

eed and “drift stuff,’ and bathing. Not only did the thir-

teen original States collectively reserve their tidal shores

for these purposes, but the extent of the shorelands so

reserved was delimited by the uses. That is, the tidal sho-

relands were reserved ‘“‘so far as necessary for the enjoy-

ment of those rights.’’ Garrison v. Hall & als., 75 Va. at

160.4

C. Each new State upon entering the Union possessed

the sovereign authority to define both the nature of

her sovereignty over, and the physical boundaries of,

her trust shorelands to the same extent as the thir-

teen origina! States.

The rules of property to be employed by a State over

its shorelands are for each State to determine as an ad-

junct of its sovereignty over these lands. “[A]s a general

proposition, the law of real property is, under our Con-

stitution, left to the individual States to develop and ad-

minister.’’ Hughes v. Washington, 389 U.S. 290, 295 (1967)

‘Amici do not imply that the existence of a public trust in the

tidelands at issue is dependent upon whether ownership of that land

passed to the state upon statehood. If the Court should rule that title

to these tidelands remained in the federal government upon Mississip-

pi’s statehood and subsequently passed to the private parties, that land

would still be impressed with a public trust. The extent of that trust

is not presented in this case.

28

(Stewart, J., concurring). See also Barney v. Keokuk, 94

U.S. 324, 338 (1876). “Rights and interests in the tideland,

which is subject to the sovereignty of the State, are mat-

ters of local law.’’ Borax Consolidated, Ltd. v. Los Angeles,

296 U.S. at 22. Thus, it is within a State’s sovereign power

to adopt, modify or reject common law rules. Incident to

this sovereign power is a State’s right to determine the

boundaries of its shoreland trust, and the public uses for

which the shorelands are held in trust. “{T]he rigid rules

of the common law of England relating to littoral and

riparian rights are not adoptable in every particular to our

political and geographical conditions; that in adopting the

common law of the mother country we did not incorporate

into our system of jurisprudence any principals which are

essentially inconsonant with our circumstances or repug-

nant to the spirit of our institutions ...’’ Barnes v. Midland

R.R. Terminal Co., 193 N.Y. 378, 384, 85 N.E. 1093, 1096

(1908).

“The new States admitted into the Union since the adop-

tion of the Constitution have the same rights as the orig-

inal States in the tide waters, and in the lands below the

high water mark, within their respective jurisdictions.”’

Shively v. Bowlby, 152 U.S. at 26. Thus, as each new State

entered the Union, she acquired the same rights and

authorities as the thirteen original States to deal “with

the lands under the tide waters within its borders ac-

cording to its own views of justice and policy.’ Shively v.

Bowlby, 152 U.S. at 26. Each new State, in its own trustee

capacity, upon entering the Union had the authority to

define both the nature of her sovereignty over, and the

physical boundaries of, her trust shorelands to the same

extent as the thirteen original States.

Nonetheless, Petitioners assert that Mississippi would

acquire a “‘more-than-equal’’ footing by claiming as public

trust shorelands those lands “‘subject to the ebb and flow

of the tide’’ below the mean high tide line. Petitioners’

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari, at 9. But as has been

29

shown, the colonial law, and the law of the individual

States at the time of the adoption of the Constitution,

clearly provided that the shorelands withheld by the thir-

teen original States were defined by the ebb and flow of

the tide, without regard to the navigability-in-fact of the

adjacent waters. Thus the remaining coastal States that

have joined the Union, such as Mississippi, acquired the

same trust corpus as did the thirteen original States—

those land subject to the ebb and flow of the tide, re-

gardless of the navigability-in-fact of the adjacent water,

and at least up to the mean high tide line.

CONCLUSION

Reviewing the statutory and case law of the thirteen

original States, and examining the usages that their citi-

zens made of the tidal shorelands 200 years ago affirms

that Petitioners’ assertion—that only those shorelands ad-

jacent to waters that were navigable-in-fact were reserved

by the thirteen original States when the Constitution was

adopted—is unfounded.

All of the thirteen original States, in their individual

views of justice and policy determined what waters and

tidelands they reserved 200 years ago when the Consti-

tution was adopted. Each of the thirteen original States,

based on its own law as it evolved from the English com-

mon law, determined the extent of their public trust sho-

relands as those lands subject to the ebb and flow of the

tide up to the “high water mark.’’ Each individually de-

fined, either legislatively or judicially, what the term “high

water mark” meant for its State. At the time the Con-

stitution was adopted; most determined this tern. to mean

the “‘mean high tide line.”” Some, however, based on their

laws, determined that their shorelands extended above the

mean high water mark.

Many of the uses commonly made of the trust shore-

lands by the citizens of the thirteen original States 200

years ago were not physically or logically dependant upon

whether the adjacent waters to the shorelands were na-

vigable-in-fact. The thirteen original States reserved those

shorelands to the extent necessary to assure their citizens

the enjoyment of those nghts.

As each new State entered the Union, she acquired the

same rights and authorities as the thirteen original States

had. Each new State, in its own trustee capacity, upon

entering the Union had the authority to define both the

nature of her sovereignty over, and the physical boundaries

of, her trust shorelands to the same extent as the thirteen

= a! +o +

riginai states

Thus, all shorelands subject to the ebb and flow of the

tide, and at least up to the mean high tide line, whether

owned outright by the States or privately held subject to

the trust servitude, formed the corpus of the trust at the

time the Constitution was adopted. As this trust was

funded by the thirteen orginal States at the time of adop

tion of the Constitution, so has it been perpetuated by the

Equal Footing Doctrine to the other 37 States that have

_ ' . ‘ — azal ae Cease - ’

oined the Union. As a result, each new State that has

entered the Union, such as Mississippi, received in trust

: : . '

those shorelands subject to the ebb and flow of the tide

" > ? . . | ‘ > ? ‘ -, + , . +

up to, at the very least, the mean high tide line

For these reasons. we urge this Honorable Court

affirm the decision of the Mississippi Supreme Court

Respectfully submitted

)A ( » }: | |

i i? Ls ; Re y* ]

COASTAL STATES ORGANIZATION

Suite 312

i144 N. Capitol Street, NW

Washington DC. 20001

20? 698-9636

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.