Reply Brief — Bowen v. Gilliard
Supreme Court brief1987
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
No. 86-564
In The
Supreme Court of the United
October Term, 1986
fa’
Vv
DAVID T. FLAHERTY, Secretary, North Carolina
Department of Human Resources,
in his official capacity, et al.,
Appellants,
v.
BEATY MAE GILLIARD, et al.,
Appellees.
fy
Vv
On Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Western District of North Carolina
Ly.
APPELLANTS’ REPLY BRIEF TO
APPELLEES’ BRIEF ON THE MERITS
.
w
Lacy H. THornBurRG
Attorney General for the
State of North Carolina
CaTHERINE C. McLams*
Assistant Attorney General
Lemve. W. Hinton
Assistant Attorney General
N.C. DEPARTMENT
OF JUSTICE
Post Office Box 629
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
(919) 733-4618
Attorneys for Appellants
*Counsel of Record
COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
or call collect (402) 342-2831
i
TABLE OF CONTENTS
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES |...
ARGUMENT TI:
42 U.S.C. (SUPP. III) § 602(a)(38) DOES NOT
VIOLATE THE FIFTH AND FOURTEENTH
AMENDMENTS TO THE UNITED STATES
CONSTITUTION
ARGUMENT IIL:
THE DISTRICT COURT ERRED IN ORDER-
ING THE STATE DEFENDANTS TO MAKE
RETROACTIVE PAYMENTS TO THE INDI-
VIDUAL CLASS MEMBERS
CONCLUSION
14
il
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
Cases ;
Alamance County Hospital v. Neighbors, 315 N.C.
365, 338 S.E.2d 87 (1986) ...... 3
Atascadero State Hospital v. Scanlon, 473 U.S. 234
(1985) —
Brake v. Mills, 270 N.C. 441, 154 S.E.2d 526 (1967) 13
Cartrette v. Cartrette, 73 N.C. App. 169, 325
S.E.2d 671 (1985) ............ 6, 14
Cheff v. Schnackenberg, 384 U.S. 373 (1966) 20
Cox v. Cox, 44 N.C. App. 339, 260 S.E.2d 812 (1979) ...5, 14
Edelman v. Jordan, 415 U.S. 651 (1974) ... 16
Gilliard v. Craig, 331 F. Supp. 587 (W.D.N.C. 1971) ...... 17
Gilliard v. Kirk, 633 F. Supp. 1529 (W.D.N.C.
A a mr passim
Goodyear v. Goodyear, 257 N.C. 374, 126 S.E.2d
Ee Oe 11,13
Gunn v. University Committee, 399 U.S. 383 (1970) _.... 17
Heckler v. Turner, 470 U.S. 184 (1985) 20, 19
Hutto v. Finney, 437 U.S. 678 (1978) 20
Johnson v. Johnson, 14 N.C. App. 378, 188 S.E.
I i a cent dasse dita imnidemenliiendiien 3
Jolly v. Wright, 300 N.C. 83, 265 S.E.2d 135 (1980) —. 14
Lackey v. Department of Human Resources, 306
NC. 21, 93 SES 171 (1863) ——__ __. 10, 19
Layton v. Layton, 263 N.C. 453, 139 S.E.2d 732 (1965) = 3
Lee v. Coffield, 245 N.C. 570, 96 S.E.2d 726 (1957) .... 3
Local 28 of Sheet Metal Workers v. E.E.O.C.,
— US. —, 106 8.Ct. 3019 (1966) _$___.. 20
——
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page
Martin v. Martin, 35 N.C. App. 610, 242 S.E.2d
393, cert. denied, 295 N.C. 261, 245 S.E.2d 778
(1978) . + Ae ERSTE ALN ANA eo 4
Milliken v. Bradley, 433 U.S. 267 (1977) ccccccccccccccesneme 19
Pace v. Pace, 244 N.C. 698, 94 S.E.2d 819 (1956) .......... 2
Papasan v. Allain, — U.S. —, 106 S.Ct. 2932 (1986) ..16, 20
Parham v. J.RB., 442 U.S. 584 (1979) ccc cccscssesseenesnee 12
Parker v. Moore, 263 N.C. 89, 128 S.E.2d 821 (1964) ..... 3
Pasadena City Board of Education v. Spangler,
Tee ein 16
Pennhurst State School & Hospital v. Halderman,
SIE 18
Pickelsimer v. Critcher, 210 N.C. 779, 188 S.E. 313
a __scsmieelniuaesibabntseleinantnenaeenenm 4
Plott v. Plott, 313 N.C. 63, 326 S.E.2d 863 (1985) .......... 11
Rhodes v. Henderson, 14 N.C. App. 404, 188 S.E.2d
SEES iC 13
Sanders v. Sanders, 167 N.C. 319, 83 S.E. 490 (1914) ..... 11
Schmidt v. Lessard, 414 U.S. 473 (1974) 17
Small v. Morrison, 185 N.C. 577, 118 S.E. 12 (1923) ....... 13
State ex rel. Crews v. Pender County Child Support
Enforcement Agency v. Parker, — N.C. —, —
S.E.2d — (No. 549PA86; April 7, 1987) .....6, 7, 12, 14, 19
_ Tidwell v. Booker, 290 N.C. 98, 225 S.E.2d 816 (1976) .. 11
Tyndall v. Tyndall, 270 N.C. 106, 153 S.E.2d 819
CEE ERS SS se 11
United States v. United Mine Workers of America,
IS 16
iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page
Walker v. City of Birmingham, 338 U.S. 307 (1967) . 16
Wilkes County v. Gentry, 311 N.C. 580, 319 S.E.
£8 ere sacibeiichinasiinateialll 8, 11,14
Wyman v. James, 400 U.S. 309 (197D) nnn neeeeneenennnenenenen 12
Zande v. Zande, 3 N.C. App. 149, 164 S.H.2d
523 (1968) 13
STATUTES
NI Gh III Snsecsernssnssstnvmeiciinteal nachna 2,4,7,8
N.C.G.8. § 50-13.4(b) ...................- sateiltcilnstaaad jaa talon 11
Teeter rectriee 8
I I a cseaeiasasasicnn dv 4
N.C.G.S. § 50-13.5 (0) (1) eccecceeccsne S nesannensaabuanicidleaaaiiale 3
EE SE DEEL OTRAS 9,19
a atc na 9, 10, 19
N.O.G.S. § 108A-B1 on BEIM SAN Mam Pan 9,10, 19
AT TOO IT 13
I Se oS cealnalioambinnheanticaes ike 9
I a ahd lect leeelinlbsaneminiiben a
UO cecal adele’ 5, 7, 8,11
I aa iia 9
N.C.G.S. § 110-141
42 U.S.C. § 602(a) (26) (A) ............... sicastidieabeiileaaniesaCaaiai a ae
Vv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Pages
42 U.S.C. (Supp. III) § 602(a) (38) 1, 8, 12, 14, 15, 18, 19, 20
42 U.S.C. § 657 (D) (1) ccncececeeeevnerennee 12
42 U.S.C. (& Supp. II) 1396a(a)(10)(A)(i)(1)) ......... 14
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION
Eleventh Amendment, United States Constitution ......15, 17
ARGUMENT I
42 U.S.C. (SUPP. III) § 602(a) (38) DOES NOT VIOLATE
THE FIFTH AND FOURTEENTH AMENDMENTS TO
THE UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION
Although the State appellants firmly believe that the
district court in Gilliard v. Kirk' ,633 F.Supp. 1529
(W.D.N.C. 1986) was in error in many aspects of its opin-
ion, the State is in accord with the court’s conclusion that
the State of North Carolina had indeed properly inter-
preted 42 U.S.C. (Supp.III) § 602(a)(38) by requiring
child support income of co-resident siblings or half-siblings
to be included as a family resource. /d. at 1543. For rea-
sons more fully stated in the Reply Brief of the federal
appellants, that portion of the Gilliard opinion should be
upheld.
However, the district court then held that the amended
statute worked an unconstitutional taking of private prop-
erty, in the ferm of child support, based upon its erroneous
interpretation of North Carolina child support laws. Gul-
liard v. Kirk, 633 F.Supp. 1529, 1548-1549 (W.D.N.C.
1986). This intrinsic error in the district court’s overly
simplified reading of this area of North Carolina law is
perpetuated throughout the Brief for the Appellees (as
well as in the various amicus briefs) filed with this Court.
In North Carolina, ‘‘child support’’ is not termed a
property right but is an obligation of a parent to support
his or her minor child. This personal duty to support is
enforceable on behalf of the child and cannot be abrogated
or contracted away as long as the status of parent and
minor child endures. ‘This State’s courts and legislature
recognize that not only should this obligation be enforced
for the child’s benefit, but also that the person having cus-
tody of and responsibility for the child should be permitted
flexibility in determining what is in the child’s best inter-
t Effective April 8, 1987, David T. Flaherty, became the Sec-
retary of the North Carolina Department of Human Re-
sources. Appropriate caption changes have been made
in this Court.
1
2
ests and for his benefit. Therefore, both North Carolina
statutes and case law specifically permit the custodial
parent to assign the right to enforce a child support obli-
gation in order to accept public assistance. Where, as a
condition of eligibility, a public assistance program re-
quires an assignment of the right to support, the custodian
may weigh this requirement against the custodian’s deter-
mination of what is in the child’s best interest in deciding
whether to voluntarily participate in the program. If the
custodian elects to participate in the program by fulfilling
the eligibility requirements, there has been no ‘‘taking”’
of property by the State or Federal governments. Rather,
the custodian has made a voluntary assignment which is
authorized and validated under North Carolina law.
The following detailed analysis of North Carolina law
regarding child support in general, as well as the State’s
AFDC program, reveals the inherent fallacy of the dis-
trict court’s ruling.
It is the public policy of the State of North Carolina
that parents must support their children. Pace v. Pace,
244 N.C. 698, 94 S.E. 2d 819 (1956). The State’s child sup-
port statute is basically codified at N.C.G.S. § 50-13.4. This
statute sets out a procedure to enforce child support obli-
gations in which the father and mother are primarily liable
for the support of the minor child, payments are to be
ordered to meet the reasonable needs of the child, and pay-
ments are to be paid to the custodian of the child for its
benefit. It should be noted that although appellees argue
throughout their brief (examples at pp. 19, 65, 68, 71)
that the only focus should be placed on the child support
funds themselves as constituting ‘‘private property’’ of
the child, this proposition is not supported by the case law
of this State. In North Carolina the primary emphasis is
placed upon the child’s right to enforce the support obliga-
tion of the parent. ‘‘ ‘The relationship of parent and child
is a status, and not a property right.’ ... The common law
obligation of a father to support his child is not ‘a debt’ in
the legal sense, but an obligation imposed by law... . It is
3
not a property right of the child but is a personal duty of
the father which is terminated by his death.’’ Layton v.
Layton, 263 N.C. 453, 456, 139 S.E. 2d 732, 734 (1965).?
The Supreme Court of North Carolina has recently re-
emphasized the nature of this State’s child support laws
as being in the form of the obligation of the parent to sup-
port his child. In Alamance County Hospital v. Neighbors,
315 N.C. 365, 367, 338 S.E.2d 87, 89 (1986), the Court
stated: ‘‘The father’s duty of support is not a debt but
an obligation imposed by law which arises from his status
as father. A father cannot contract away or transfer to
another his responsibility to support his children.’’
N.C.G.S. § 50-13.5(¢)(1) provides that ‘‘The jurisdic-
tion of the courts of this State to enter orders providing
for the support of a minor child shall be as in actions or
proceedings for the payment of money or the transfer of
property.’’ This subsection (c)(1) has been determined
by our State court to mean that an action for child support
is in the nature of an action to enforce a civil obligation
and is in personam in nature. Johnson v. Johnson, 14 N.C.
App. 378, 188 S.E.2d 711 (1972). ‘hus, North Carolina
views child support actions as being the enforcement of
the obligation of the parent to support his or her minor
child.
North Carolina courts do recognize that in certain in-
stances a child may have an exclusive private property
right. For example, in Parker v. Moore, 263 N.C. 89, 138
S.E.2d 821 (1964), the North Carolina court held that the
parents of a minor had no right to divert the proceeds of a
life insurance policy payable to the minor. Indeed, before
any part of a minor’s separate estate may be used for his
support, it must be shown that the responsible parent
lacked the ability to provide the necessary support. Lee v.
Coffield, 245 N.C. 570, 96 S.E.2d 726 (1957). The obliga-
tion of the parent to support his minor child is paramount,
7 Parents may obligate themselves to support a child beyond
death or past majority by consent judgment or contract. /d.
4
‘‘\hether the child has property or not.’’ Pickelsimer v.
Critcher, 210 N.C. 779, 780, 188 S.E. 313 (1936). Again,
in the area of child support, the child’s right to enforce the
obligation of parental support is viewed as a right distinct
from the child’s exclusive property right in certain forms
of tangible goods or money.
Appellees’ arguments throughout their brief, which
center on the illegality of the diversion of specific child
support money from one child to another, ignore the reali-
ties of life as well as the underlying rationale of North
Carolina law. By focusing on the obligation of a parent to
support his minor child rather than the explicit accounting
of funds, practical realities of family life can be accommo-
dated. For instance, in North Carolina, possession of the
home may be awarded as part of child support. N.C.G.S.
§ 50-13.4(e) ; Martin v. Martin, 35 N.C. App 610, 242 S.E.
2d 393, cert. denied, 295 N.C. 261, 245 S.E.2d 778 (1978).
In such an instance would any rational judge order that
half-brothers or sisters be banished from the home because
the minor child’s support was being diverted to them?
Such an absurd result is avoided because the non-custodial
parent’s obligation to support his or her child is legally
fulfilled by the support order, irrespective of whether other
children may derive incidental benefit. Although in practi-
cal terms the other children are benefiting from the sup-
port order, in law the parent is only fulfilling his legal obli-
gation to support his or her minor child. Once the support
obligation is enforced, it is within the discretion of the
custodial parent to determine in the interests of the child
exactly what would best benefit the child. See, N.C.G.S.
§ 50-13.4 and discussion infra.
42 U.S.C. § 602(a)(26)(A), enacte? m 1975, requires
AFDC applicants as a condition of eligibility to assign
to the State any accrued right to child support. The States
must administer their AFDC programs pursuant to plans
which conform to applicable federal statutes and regula-
tions. Heckler v. Turner, 470 U.S. 184 (1985). In con-
formity with federal law, North Carolina enacted in 1975 a
5
statute which mandates the assignment of child support
upon acceptance of public assistance by a dependent child.
This statute is codified at N.C.G.S. § 110-137.
‘*$ 110-137. Acceptance of public assistance consti-
tutes assignment of support rights to the
State or county.
By accepting public assistance for or on behalf of
a dependent child or children, the recipient shall be
deemed to have made an assignment to the State or to
the county from which such assistance was received of
the right to any child support owed for the child or
children up to the amount of public assistance paid.
The State or county shall be subrogated to the right
of the child or children or the person having custody
to initiate a support action under this Article and to
recover any payments ordered by the court of this or
any other state. (1975, ¢. 827, s. 1; 1977, 2nd Sess., ¢.
1186, s. 13.)’’ See also, N.C.G.S. § 110-135 (J.S. at
A-167 to A-168).
The validity and binding effect of the assignment provi-
sions of this North Carolina statute have been recognized
many times by our courts.
813
In Cox v. Cox, 44 N.C. App. 339, 341, 260 S.E.2d 812,
(1979), the Court stated the following:
‘‘Under the law of North Carolina, when the
people, through the state, provide support for minor
children by AFDC, there arises a debt owed to the
state by any parent obligated to support such minor
children. N.C. Gen. Stat. 110-135. The county attorney
shall represent the state in proceedings to collect such
debts. N.C. Gen. Stat. 110-135. The recipient of such
public assistance for minor children shall be deemed
to have made an assignment to the state of the right to
any child support, up to the amount of public assist-
ance received. The state is subrogated to the right
of the person having custody of such children te re-
cover any payments ordered by the courts of this state.
N.C. Gen. Stat. 110-137.”’
6
In Cartrette v. Cartrette, 73 N.C. App. 169, 170-171,
325 S.E.2d 671, 673 (1985), the Court upheld the controlling
provisions of the State’s assignment statute. In constru-
ing a consent judgment lacking child support provisions,
the Court held that modification was necessary due to the
later receipt of public assistance by the minor child. The
court stated:
‘¢ |. The law provides for the modification of
child support orders, upon a showing of changed cir-
cumstances, to provide for the financial support of de-
pendent children. A parent cannot contract away-his
or her obligation to support dependent children, nor
can a parent by contract diminish the rights of the
State or a county under G.S. 110-135., et.seq.’’ (Em-
phasis added).
Recently, in State ex rel. Crews v. Pender Co, Child
Support Enforcement Agency v. Parker, — N.C. —, —
S.E.2d —(No. 549PA86; April 7, 1987), the North Carolina
Supreme Court analyzed this area of North Carolina law,
emphasizing the requirement that the state laws must stay
in conformity with federal law and regulations. In this
action, the appellate court allowed Mrs. Crews to intervene
in an action for child support brought against the minor
child’s father by the State of North Carolina. Mrs. Crews’
intervention was allowed upon her allegation that the
State had failed to assist her in obtaining compensation
from the child’s father for amounts she had spent to sup-
port the child before she began receiving public assistance.
In its examination of North Carolina’s assignment statute
and its interrelation with federal law, the Court stated:
‘Title IV of the Social Security Act establishes
AFDC and sets forth requirements that the states
must meet under the Federal Child Support Enforce-
ment Program. 42 U.S.C. §§ 601-615, 651-665 (1983 &
Cum. Supp. 1986). In order to receive federal AFDC
funding, a state must submit its public assistance plan
for approval. 42 U.S.C. § 601 (1983). This plan must
provide, inter alia, that recipients of assistance
7
assign the State any rights to support from any
other person such applicant may have (i) in his
own behalf or in behalf of any other family mem-
ber for whom the applicant is applying for or
receiving aid, and (ii) which have accrued at the
time such assignment is executed.
42 U.S.C. § 602(a)(26)(A) (Cum. Supp. 1986) ; see also
45 C.PLR. § 232.11(a) (1986).
The Crews court held that under N.C.G.S. § 110-137, in
compliance with federal law, the assignment of child sup-
port is made only up to the amount of public assistance
received. This is of course the literal reading of N.C.G.S.
§ 110-137 and comports with the policies and procedures
of the North Carolina AFDC program.? The North Caro-
lina Supreme Court in Crews sanctioned the authority and
discretion of the child’s custodian to participate in the
State’s AFDC program and comply with its assignment
requirements as a condition of eligibility.
The appellees apparently would have this Court be-
lieve that the whole of North Carolina law regarding the
support of minor children rests solely in Chapter 50 of
the North Carolina General Statutes, centering primarily
in N.C.G.S. § 50-13.4. In the language of subsection (d) of
§ 50-13.4 lies appellees’ primary argument: the contention
that a statutory requirement that a parent assign child
support rights to the State is contrary to state law, because
it could not be for the sole ‘‘benefit of such child.’’ (Ap-
pellees’ Brief, pages 17, 92). However, appellees over-
look the essential fact that the basic foundation of North
3 Ifa family receives income in the form of child support
which was in excess of the payment standard for their
family unit, the family would not be initially eligible for
AFDC and the assignment provisions would never come
into effect. In the case of a family already participating
in the AFDC pregram who later received child support in
excess of the payment standard, the family unit would be-
come ineligible for AFDC assistance because the family’s
income level would then be in excess of the payment
standard. (J.A. at pp. 41-53, 76-91).
8
Carolina child support laws, i.e., the ‘‘obligation’’ of a
parent to support his or her minor child, is not affected by
the enactment of 42 U.S.C. (Supp.III) 602(a)(38). Ap-
pellees’ contention that ‘‘(t)he inescapable effect of the
disputed HHS regulations is to strip state judges of the
power to direct an award of child support to a child
who happens to reside with siblings on AFDC’’ is
simply untrue. (Appellees’ brief, page 59). State
courts are still legally obligated to set child support
payments owed by a supporting parent in accordance with
the reasonable needs of the child. This continuing judicial
requirement was amply illustrated in Wilkes County v.
Geniry, 311 N.C. 580, 319 S.E.2d 224 (1984). In this case
the County Department of Social Services instituted an
action to recover past public assistance paid on behalf of
defendant’s minor child and to secure an order for future
child support. The North Carolina Supreme Court held
that the defendant as a responsible parent was liable for
the amount of past public assistance paid. It then re-
manded the case for a determination of the reasonable
needs of the minor child and the ability of the father to pay
them in accordance with N.C.G.S. § 50-13.4(b) and (c). The
assignment provisions of North Carolina public assistance
law in no way affected the obligation of the parent to sup-
port his or her minor child. The amount of child support
would still be determined in accordance with N.C.G.S.
§ 50-13.4. The amount ordered would then be assigned to
the State in compliance with eligibility requirements of
the AFDC program and pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 110-137.
Appellees’ analysis, which focuses solely on Chapter
50, ignores completely the State’s Child Welfare laws as
contained in Chapter 110 of the North Carolina General
Statutes. Article 9, Child Support, sets out a comprehen-
sive scheme for the enforcement of child support laws in
the State of North Carolina. Sections of Chapter 110
which are important to the State’s argument, in addition
to § 110-137, are as follows:
§ 110-128. Purposes.
The purposes of this Article are to provide for the
financial support of dependent children; to enforce
spousal support when a child support order is being
enforced; to provide that public assistance paid to de-
pendent children is a supplement to the support re-
quired to be provided by the responsible parent; to
provide that the payment of public assistance creates
a debt to the State; to provide that the acceptance of
public assistance operates as an assignment of the right
to child support; to provide for the location of absent
parents; to provide for a determination that a respon-
sible parent is able to support his children; and to pro-
vide for enforcement of the responsible parent’s obli-
gation to furnish support and to provide for the estab-
lishment and administration of a program of child
support enforcement in North Carolina.
§ 110-140. Conformity with federal requirements. —
Nothing in this article is intended to con-
flict with any provision of federal law or
to result in the loss of federal funds.
§ 110-141. Effectuation of intent of Article.
The North Carolina Department of Human Re-
sources shall supervise the administration of this pro-
gram in accordance with federal law and shall cause
the provisions of this Article to be effectuated and to
secure child support from absent, deserting, abandon-
ing and nonsupporting parents.
Chapter 108A of the General Statutes, entitled Social
Services, provides for the establishment and supervision
of the AFDC program in North Carolina in Article 2,
Part 2. N.C.G.S. 108A-25, 108A-27, 108A-31 provide as
follows:
§ 108A-25. Creation of programs.
(a) The following programs of public assistance
are hereby established, and shall be administered by
the county department of social services or the De-
partment of Human Resources under federal regula-
tions or under rules and regulations adopted by the
10
Social Services Commission and under the supervision
of the Department of Human Resources:
(1) Aid to families with dependent children ;
(c) The Department of Human Resources is
hereby authorized to accept all grants-in-aid for pro-
grams of public assistance which may be available to
the State by the federal government. The provisions
of this Article shall be liberally construed in order that
the State and its citizens may benefit fully from such
grants-in-aid.
§ 108A-27. Authorization of Aid to Families with De-
pendent Children Program.
The Department is authorized to establish and
supervise an Aid to Families with Dependent Children
Program. This program is to be administered by
county departments of social services under federal
regulations and rules and regulations of the Social
Services Commission.
§ 108A-31. Application for assistance.
Any person or his representative who believes that
he or another person is eligible to receive aid to fam-
ilies with dependent children may apply for assist-
ance to the county department of social services in
the county in which the applicant resides. It shall be
made in such form and shall contain such information
as the Social Services Commission and federal reg-
ulations may require.
Thus, it is clear from a reading of the entire body of
law pertinent to this argument that the child support laws
of North Carolina are in no way violated by the federal
law. Indeed, the law of the State in this area is that
North Carolina must be in accord with federal law. C/.,
Lackey v. Department of Human Resources, 306 N.C. 231,
293 S.E.2d 171 (1982) (Medicaid regulations). Hence
appears the consistent reiteration in the above-quoted
statutes that child support programs and the AFDC pro-
gram are to be administered in conformity with federal
law.
11
North Carolina has legislated by statute and approved
by case law the principle that a custodian of a minor child
may act in its best interests by assigning the child’s right
to support in order to receive public assistance. At com-
mon law, the duty of a parent to support his child was
well recognized. Sanders v. Sanders, 167 N.C. 319, 83
S.E. 490 (1914). At common law, as well as under prior
North Carolina statute, this duty was placed primarily
on the father. N.C.G.S. § 50-13.4(b); Tidwell v. Booker,
290 N.C. 98, 225 S.E.2d 816 (1976). However, legislative
enactments can of course alter the common law as well as
former statutory law. Thus, in 1981, North Carolina
amended the child support statute, N.C.G.S. § 50-13.4(b),
to change prior decisions and statute by making both the
father and mother primarily liable for the support of
their children in the absence of pleading and proof that
the circumstances otherwise warrant. Plott wv. Plott, 313
N.C. 63, 326 S.E.2d 863 (1985). The 1962 and 1967 deci-
sions, relied upon by the district judge in Gilliard to sup-
port his holding that the mother may not legally assign
the right to enforce child support to the State because it
is the exclusive property of the child, were Goodyear v.
Goodyear, 257 N.C. 374, 126 S8.E.2d 113 (1962) and Tyndall
v. Tyndall, 270 N.C. 106, 153 S.E.2d 819 (1967). However,
in 1975 the North Carolina legislature enacted N.C.G.S.
§ 110-137. The enactment of this statute makes it very
clear that under North Carolina law a custodial parent
may indeed assign the right to enforce a child support
obligation in order to receive public assistance. This was
precisely the situation presented in Wilkes County v.
Gentry, 311 N.C. 580, 319 S.E.2d 224 (1984) and other
eases construing N.C.G.S. 110-137 cited throughout this
reply brief. To the extent that Goodyear and Tyndall may
be read to reach the conclusion of the district court (a con-
clusion Defendants contend is far too restrictive and in
error), the validity of the lower court’s decision cannot
be upheld in view of the later statutory enactments and
court opinions. No North Carolina appellate cases have
been decided upon facts other than the assignment of
12
child support in a family which did not include half-sib-
lings. Although 42 U.S.C. (Supp.I11) § 602(a) (38) has not
been placed in issue before our appellate courts, all of
the opinions which review the assignment provisions con-
sistently emphasize that under state statutes and federal
law, the public assistance programs of North Carolina
must be administered in conformity with federal law.‘
Thus, the district court’s analysis in Gilliard has not been
the law of the State of North Carolina for at least a dozen
years.
Notwithstanding the statutory law of North Carolina,
appellees seem to argue that the inclusion of a child receiv-
ing child support into the AFDC standard filing unit, as
required by 42 U.S.C. (Supp. LI) § 602(a)(38), is not in
the child’s best interests as a matter of law. This argu-
ment of course completely eviscerates any discretion of
the custodial parent in determining exactly what would
best benefit his or her minor child. This Court has rec-
ognized that the exercise of parental discretion in decisions
is often not easy: ‘‘The law’s concept of the family rests
on a presumption that parents possess what a child lacks in
maturity, experience, and capacity for judgment required
for making life’s difficult decisions .... (and there exists)
the traditional presumption that the parents act in the
best interests of their child... .’’ Parham v. J.R., 442
U.S. 584, 602-604 (1979) (voluntary commitment of a
minor). Participation in the AFDC program is a volun-
tary choice on the part of a parent of an eligible child(ren).
Wyman v. James, 400 U.S. 309 (1971). North Carolina
courts have recognized that money, although an important
factor in life, is not the sole determinative of what is
best for a child. ‘‘There are some things that are worth
4 Indeed State ex rel. Crews v. Pender Co. Child Support
Enforcement Agency v. Parker, — N.C. —, — S.E.2d —
(No. 549PA86; April 7, 1987), points out the application
of 42 U.S.C. §657(b)(1) to the State assignment statutes.
This statute was passed as a companion statute to 42 U.S.C.
§ 602(a)(38) as part of the 1984 DEFRA legislation. (Brief
for the Federal Appellant, p. 14).
13
more than money. One of these is the peace of the fire-
side and the contentment of the home... .’’ Small v. Mor-
rison, 185 N.C. 577, 585, 118 S.E. 12, 16 (1923). In ecus-
tody matters, North Carolina courts have consistently rec-
ognized that the best interests of the child may not nec-
essarily coincide with living with the person who possesses
the most money. See, Brake v. Mills, 270 N.C. 441, 154
S.E.2d 526 (1967); Rhodes v. Henderson, 14 N.C. App.
404, 188 §.E.2d 565 (1972). In this State, absent abuse
or neglect, it is the custodiai parent who possesses the
discretion to determine what is in the best interests of
the minor child. See, Zande v. Zande, 3 N.C. App. 149, 164
S.E.2d 523 (1968). In Goodyear v. Goodyear, 257 N.C.
374, 379, 126 S.E.2d 113, 117 (1962), the court quoted with
approval the following language: ‘‘‘[The mother] was
merely the custodian of the funds with the right and duty
to use them as provided in the decree. Having the chil-
dren under her custody, care, and control, she is the one
best situated and best fitted to know what is needed and
best for them. In this she mey use a sound discretion.’ ”’
(Emphasis added). Appellees’ argument (Appellees’
brief, page 86), that the child has not consented to the
assignment of his right to enforce his parents’ support
obligation, ignores the legal fact that a minor cannot give
such consent. N.C.G.S. § 110-44.1. Certainly, a custodial
parent could determine in his or her sound judgment that
it would be in the best interests of the child to participate
in the AFDC program, thereby assigning the right to
enforce a child support obligation, because (1) a steady
source of AFDC income would be received instead of
erratic or unpaid child support,’ (2) the child would be
5 In the period from October 1, 1984 through June 30, 1985,
in both AFDC and Non-AFDC cases, an average of approxi-
mately 30°/o of individuals obligated to make child support
payments oy an amount sufficient to equal or exceed
their monthly support obligations, approximately 18°/o paid
an amount less than their monthly obligations, and approxi-
mately 52°%/o paid no support within any given month.
(Affidavit of Dan Miles, J.A. at p. 92).
14
automatically entitled to receive free medical care under
the Medicaid program as a result of inclusion in the
AFDC filing unit (see 42 U.S.C. (& Supp. II) 1396(a)
(10)(A)(i)(1)), and (3) the standard of living of the
family in which the child lives would be enhanced. A\l-
though the decision to participate or not participate in
the AFDC program may be a difficult one, it is a voluntary
decision which rests within the discretion of the custodial
parent. An assignment of the right to enforce a child
support obligation in order to receive public assistance
can indeed be in the best interests and ‘‘benefit’’ the minor
child, in accordance with the statutes and case law of the
State of North Carolina.
The assignment provisions of the federal law, as in-
corporated into North Carolina law by statute, have re-
peatedly been sustained and enforced by the appellate
courts of this State. State ex rel. Crews v. Pender Co.
Child Support Enforcement Agency v. Parker, — N.C.
—, — §.E.2d — (No. 549PA-86; April 7, 1987); Wilkes
County v. Gentry, 311 N.C. 580, 319 S.E.2d 224 (1984);
Cartrette v. Cartrette, 73 N.C. App. 169, 325 S.E.2d 671
(1985); Cox v. Cox, 44 N.C. App. 339, 260 S.E.2d 812
(1979); see also, Jolly v. Wright, 300 N.C. 83, 265 S.E.2d
135 (1980). Appellees’ arguments, if upheld by this Court,
would not only affect 42 U.S.C. (Supp. IIT) § 602(a) (38),
but would essentially alter or nullify the comprehensive
child support system established by federal and state law.
ARGUMENT II
THE DISTRICT COURT ERRED IN ORDERING
THE STATE DEFENDANTS TO MAKE RETROAC-
TIVE PAYMENTS TO THE INDIVIDUAL CLASS
MEMBERS.
In its Final Order, filed July 3, 1986, the district
court ordered ‘‘Prospective Relief’’ in the form of an
injunction prohibiting the implementation of 42 U.S.C.
15
(Supp.III) § 602(a)(38). (J.S. at A-123). The court then
ordered ‘‘Retroactive Relief’’ in the form of payment to
individual class members of past benefits they had been
denied because of the implementation of 42 U.S.C. (Supp.
IIT) § 602(a)(38). (J.S. at A-!24). Retroactive notice
relief was also ordered by the court. (J.S. at A-124 to
127). Throughout this portion of the order the district
court consistently refers to ‘‘retroactive payment’’ (J.S.
at A-124) and ‘‘retroactive benefit(s)’’. (J.S. at A-125
to 127). The opinion of the Court, dated May 7, 1986,
of course makes it very clear that the district judge was
ordering the state defendants to pay ‘‘retroactive benefits’’
to the individual class members. Gilliard v. Kirk, 633
F.Supp. 1529, 1563-1564 (W.D.N.C. 1986). As more fully
explained in the State’s Brief on the Merits (pp. 32-42),
this type of award by a federal court is absolutely barred
by the Eleventh Amendment to the Constitution of the
United States. There has been no unequivocal expression
of congressional intent to waive the State’s Eleventh
Amendment iunmunity in this case. See, Atascadero State
Hospital v. Scanlon, 473 U.S. 234 (1985). There is no
statute nor constitutional provision enacted by the State
of North Carolina which would waive its Eleventh Amend-
ment immunity to suit in federal court.® Id.
¢ In their Brief, appellees express their view that the State
appellants agreed to “return all funds improperly seized
or withheld” in a Memorandum of Law in Support of Stay
Pending Appeal (Appellees’ brief, p. 122, n.20) and that
state officials “expressly acknowledged .. . that they could
be required to return the disputed child support funds’
if later determined to be improperly withheld, citing a
Memorandum submitted to the district court by the State
concerning the Eleventh Amendment. (Appellees’ brief,
pp. 139-140). Of course, these alleged statements in a
Memorandum fall far short of the unequivocal waiver by
a State of its Eleventh Amendment immunity in a specific
statute or constitutional provision as required under
Atascadero. Furthermore, the State has never conceded
that retroactive benefits could be awarded by the district
(Continued on following page)
16
The district court ordered retroactive payments in
Gilliard because ‘‘the state defendants did not seek relief
from the provisions of the original injunction by formal
motion until after plaintiffs filed for further relief... .’’
Gilliard v. Kirk, 633 F.Supp. 1529, 1564 (W.D.N.C. 1986).
The court cited authority from this Court for its order
of retroactive payments as follows: Pasadena City Board
of Education v. Spangler, 427 U.S. 424 (1976); Walker
v. City of Birmingham, 388 U.S. 307 (1967); and United
States v. United Mine Workers of America, 330 U.S. 258
(1947). These cases are inapposite because they deal
solely with the contempt powers of a federal court when
presented with a violation of its orders. They simply do
not address the question of an award of retroactive dam-
ages against a sovereign state. Federal courts may not
award retroactive compensatory damages against a sov-
ereign state under the guise of its contempt powers. See,
Papasan v. Allain, — U.S. —, 106 S.Ct. 2932 (1986) ; Edel-
man v. Jordan, 415 U.S. 651 (1974). Retroactive relief
cannot be ordered by a federal court against a state ‘‘if
the relief is tantamount to an award of damages for a past
violation of federal law, even though styled as something
else.’’ Papasan v. Allain, — U.S. —, 106 S.Ct. 2932, 2940
(1986). The district court in Gilliard did not hold the
(Continued from previous page)
court. On September 9, 1985, the State filed a motion “to
dismiss the plaintiffs’ claims for retroactive payments” .. .
“on the grounds that these claims are barred by the Elev-
enth Amendment to the United States Constitution.” (J.A.
at p. 98). The Memorandum filed that same day was explicit
that an order of retroactive damages was barred by the
Eleventh Amendment. Similiarly, in its Memorandum in
Support of a Stay, the State referred solely to the restora-
tion of the “rights to receive AFDC” in the sentence quoted
by the appellees in their brief. Indeed, an entire section
in this Memorandum is devoted to the district court’s error
in its award of retroactive payments. These erroneous
statements by the Appellees’ concerning the State’s posi-
tion on the award of retroactive benefits is totally unfound-
ed and should be disregarded by this Court.
17
State Defendants in contempt, but instead awarded retro-
active damages for the alleged violation of its injunction.
This order was barred by the Eleventh Amendment to
the United States Constitution.
Furthermore, the district court could not legally
hold the State of North Carolina in contempt because the
1971 injunction was never violated. Appellees suggest to
this Court that the 1971 injunction should be read in a
vacuum, disregarding the opinion in Gilliard v. Craig, 331
F.Supp. 587 (W.D.N.C. 1971). (Appellees’ Brief at pp.
127). This novel theory would directly contradict well-
established principles holding that ‘‘(s)inee an injunctive
order prohibits conduct under threat of judicial punish-
ment, basic fairness requires that those enjoined receive
explicit notice of precisely what conduct is outlawed.’’
Schmidt v. Lessard, 414 U.S. 473, 476 (1974). In order
to ascertain exactly what conduct was prohibited, it was
absolutely necessary that state officials read the injunction
and opinion together in an effort to understand the
meaning of the injunction itself. See, Gunn v. University
Committee, 399 U.S. 383 (1970). As discussed more fully
in the State’s Brief on the Merits (pp. 17-24), the opin-
ion in Gilliard v. Craig prohibited, by injunction, conduct
which was illegal under the Social Security Act as written
in 1971. This statutory basis for the injunction was later
eonfirmed by the judge who issued the injunction in his
Order denying the State’s motion for a three-judge court
(J.S. at A-115 through A-120) and in his opinion in Gilliard
v. Kirk, 633 F.Supp. 1529, 1543 (W.D.N.C. 1986). Indeed,
the court’s reasoning in Gilliard v. Kirk is internally in-
consistent in that (1) it acknowledges that the 1971 in-
junction was issued when the court invalidated the State’s
AFDC policy because it ‘‘violated the intent of the Social
Security Act as then written’’, a statutory basis, and (2)
then holds that the 1971 injunction was violated when the
State altered its policy to conform with the intent of the
malas (il
18
Social Security Act as amended in 1984. Gilliard v. Kirk,
633 F.Supp. 1529, 1543, 1546-1548 (W.D.N.C. 1986).
Although appellees state to this Court that ‘‘state of-
ficials believed they were in violation of the 1971 injunc-
tion’? (Appellees’ brief p. 126), such is not the case. For
this argument, appellees rely on a State memo, concerning
the effect of 42 U.S.C. (Supp.II1) § 602(a) (38), which indi-
cates initial uncertainty as to the action the State was ob-
ligated to pursue in view of the amended statute. (J.S. at
A-79). The district court in Gilliard interpreted this memo
to evidence that state officials were aware of ‘perceived
conflicting obligations’’ and chose to implement the sta-
tute rather than return to the court for a ruling. Gilliard v.
Kirk, 633 F. Supp. 1529, 1564 (W.D.N.C. 1986). This Court
in Pennhurst State School & Hospital v. Halderman, 460
U.S. 89 (1984), succinctly invalidates this reasoning of the
Gilliard court relied upon to uphold its award of retro-
active damages. Justice Powell writing for the Court
stated: ‘*. .. The Court in Larson explicitly rejected the
view... ‘that an officer given the power to make decisions
is only given the power to make correct decisions’. . . (A)n
officer might make errors and still be acting within the
scope of his authority. ... (A)t least insofar as injunctive
relief is sought, an error of law by state officers acting
in their official capacities will not suffice to override the
sovereign immunity of the State where the relief effec-
tively is against it.... Any resulting disadvantage to the
plaintiff was *outweigh(ed)’ by ‘the necessity of permitting
the Government to carry out its functions unhampered by
direct judicial intervention.’’ 7d. at 112, n.22, and 113-114.
The emphasis is upon the effective operation of govern-
ment which is facilitated by the ability of its officials to
exercise their best judgement when carrying out their duties
in the scope of their authority. The district court in Gilli-
ard had no authority to award retroactive damages against
the State of North Carolina simply because its officials
were aware of an injunction but chose to implement its
19
AFDC policy in accordance with the mandates of present
federal law based upon their judgment that the amended
statute superseded an injunction which enforced prior law.
Appellees also argue to this Court that in order to be
in compliance with the 1971 injunction, State officials were
obligated to make the determination that child support
income was ‘“‘legally available to all members of the family
group’’ under state law. (App2llees’ brief, pp. 124, 131-
132). As discussed more fully in the State’s Brief on the
Merits (pp. 19-24), the enactment of 42 U.S.C. (Supp.IT)
§ 602(a)(38) did in fact make the determination that this
income was legally available. North Carolina statutes gov-
erning the AFDC program mandate that the State program
is to be conducted in accordance with federal statutes and
regulations. N.C.G.S. §§ 108A-25, 108A-27, 108A-31. North
Carolina case law, See, State ex rel. Crews v. Pender Co.
Child Support Enforcement Agency v. Parker, — N.C. —,
— §.E.2d — (no. 549PA86; April 7, 1987); ¢.f., Lackey v.
Department of Human Resources, 306 N.C. 231, 293 S.E.
2d 171 (1982) (Medicaid regulations), as well as federal
opinions, see, Heckler v. Turner, 470 U.S. 184 (1989), con-
sistently hold that the State’s AFDC program must be in
conformity with federal law. Therefore, income which is
‘‘legally available’? under federal law is perforce “legally
available’’ under state law. As was demonstrated in Argu-
ment I of this Reply Brief, there is no conflict between fed-
eral and state law in the implementation of the
§ 602(a) (38) standard filing unit, with its attendant assign-
meut requirements.
Finally, appellees argue to this Court that without
the ability to order retroactive benefits against a state
treasury, a federal court would be powerless to enforce its
injunction against a State defendant. (Appellees’ Brief pp.
142-148). This contention has no basis in law or fact. A
full range of contempt sanctions is still available to federal
courts. These sanctions may take the form of ancillary
remedies to ongoing violations of federal law as in Milliken
20
v. Bradley, 433 U.S. 267 (1977); the imposition of attor-
neys fees as in Hutto v. Finney, 437 U.S. 678 (1978); a
conditional jail term as in Cheff v. Schnackenberg, 384
U.S. 373 (1966); or a civil fine as in Local 28 of Sheet
Metal Workers v. E.E.0.C., — U.S. —, 106 S.Ct. 3019,
3033 (1986). However, the federal Court may not order a
contempt sanction which is essentially the award of retro-
active damages in another form. Papasan v. Allain, — U.S.
—, 106 S.Ct. 2932 (1986). Moreover, in structuring its
contempt sanction, a federal court must take care that the
sanction is not so large or unexpected that it interferes
with the State’s budgeting process, see, Hutto v. Finney,
437 U.S. 678, 692 n.18 (1978), but these considerations cer-
tainly do not demean the power of the court.” The district
court’s award of retroactive benefits in Gilliard was totally
without any basis in law and should be reversed by this
Court.
..
—_—
CONCLUSION
The district court’s ruling on the constitutionality of
42 U.S.C. (Supp.111) § 602(a) (38) and its award of retro-
active benefits against State appellants should be reversed.
Respectfully submitted,
Lacy H. THornsureG
Attorney General
CatHEeRINE C. McLams
Assistant Attorney General
y In answering appellees’ argument on this point, State ap-
pellants are not implying to this Court that the district
judge did hold the State in contempi or that contempt
sanctions were in any way authorized.
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.