Record and brief — Boyle v. United Technologies Corp.

Supreme Court brief1988

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

DOCKET

NO.w. B6~492~-CFX Title: Delbert Boyles Personal Representative of the heirs

Status: GRANTED and Estate ot Davic A Boyles Deceasecs Petitioner

Ve

United Technologies Corporation

Docketed:

September 23, 1986 Court: United States Court of Appeals

for the Fourth Circuit

See also:

85-1529 Counsel for petitioner: FraneckesLouis S.

- 86-3/9 -

Counsel for respondent: BookersLewis Ter LacovararPhilio A.

Entry Date Note Proceedings end Orders

1 Sep 23 1986 G Petition for writ of certiorari filec.

2 Oct 6 1986 Brief of respondent United Technologies Corp. in oopesition

ftilec.

3 Oct 8 1986 DISTRIBUTED. October 314 1986

- 5 Nov 25 1986 REDISTRIBUTED. December 12 1986

EDITOR'S NOTE 7 Dec 22 1986 REDISTRIBUTED. January 9 1987

8 Jan 12 1987 Petition GRANTED. Justice Powell OUT.

THE FOLLOWING PAGES WERE POOR HARD COPY (RR RRRSBRABRESRRSASERSRRSR ERE RE RESO REREREER RRS ERSOSBESREBSERSBBSEES SD

AT THE TIME OF FILMING, IF AND WHEN A 9 Feb 5 198? Record filed.

BETTER COPY CAN BE OBTAINED, A NEW FICHE 10 Feb 5 1987 Certified copy of original recorc anc proceecings, 9

WILI BE ISSUED. volumess received.

11 Fed 25 1987 G Motion of Joan Se. Tozers et ale for leave to file a

brief as amici curiae filed.

12 Feb 25 1987 Briet amicus curiae of Edwin Lees Shaw filed.

13 Fed 25 1987 Joint appendix filed.

14 Fed 25 1987 Brief of petitioner Delbert Soyie filec.

15 Fed 25 1987 Brief amicus curiae of Assn. of Trial Lawyers of America

tilec.

16 Mar 9 1987 Motion of Joan S. Tozers et al. for leave to file a

brief as amici curiae GRANTED. Justice Powell CUT.

18 Mar 12 1987 Order extending time to file brief of responcent on the

merits until April 29 1987.

19 Apr 17 1987 Crder further extending time to file brief of resconcer:

on the merits until May 21 1987.

20 May 18 1987 G Moticn of Bell Helicopter Textron Inc. for leave to tile

a brief as amicus curiae filec.

21 May 21 1987 Brief of respondent United Technologies Corp. filec.

22 May 21 1987 G Potion of Chamber of Commerce of the Unitec States fer

leave to file a briet as amicus curiae filed.

23 May 21 1987 G Poticn of UNR Inogustriess Inc. for leave to file a dbrie*

as amicus curiae filed.

24 May 21 1987 Brief amicus curiae of Grumman Aerospace Corp. filed.

25 May 21 1987 G Motion of Defense Research Institutes Inc. for leave to

file a brief as amicus curiae filed.

26 May 21 1987 G Motion of Product Liability Advisory Councils Ince, et

an al. for Leave to file a brief as amici curiae filed.

27 May 22 1987 Lodging received.

28 Jun 1 1987 Potion of Bell Helicopter Textron Ince. for leave to tile

abrief as amicus curiae GRANTED. Justice Powell OuT.

29 May 21 1987 Brief amicus curiae of Natl. Security Incustrial Assr.- et

al. tiled.

BE-492-CFX

Date

Note

Proceedings and Orders

NO.

Entry

30 May

31 Jun

32 Jun

33 Jun

34 Jun

35 Jun

36 Jun

37 Jun

38 Jun

39 Jul

40 Jul

41 Jul

42 Aus

43 Sep

44 Oct

45 Oct

46 Oct

47 Oct

21

2

15

15

13

13

Brief amicus curiae of United

States filec.

Potion of petitioner for additional time for oral

argument filed.

Potion of Chamber of Commerce of the United States fcr

leave to file a briet as amicus curiae GRANTED. Justice

Powell OUT.

Motion of UNR Industries, Inc. for leave to tile a brie*

es amicus curiae GRANTED. Justice Powell OUT.

Moticn of Defense Research Institutes Inc. for leave to

tile a brief as amicus curiae GRANTED. Justice Pewell

OUT.

Potion of Product Liability Advisory Council, Ince, et

al. tor leave to file a brief as amici curiae GRANTED.

Justice Powell OUT.

Moticn of the Solicitor General for leave to participate

in oral argument as amicus curiae and tor divicec

argument filed.

Poticn of petitioner for additioral time for oral

argument DENIED. Justice Powell OUT.

Motion of the Solicitor General for leave to participate

im oral aergument as amicus curiae anc for dividec

argument GRANTED. Justice Powell OUT.

CIRCULATED.

Potion of Chamber of Commerce of the U.S. for leave to

file supplemental brief filed.

SET FOR ARGUMENT. Tuescays October 13, 1987. (2nc case).

Moticn of Chamber of Commerce of the UsS. tor leave to

tile supplemental brief GRANTED,

3

X Reply orief of petitioner Delbert Boyle filec.

X Supplemental brief of respondent United Technologies Corc.

°)

tilec.

Poticn of Edwin Dees Shaw for leave to submit

supplemental authority filed.

Potion of Edwin Dees Shaw for leave to submit

Supplemental authority DENIED.

ARGUED.

PETITION

FOR WRIT OF

CERTIORARI

; ( j r Supreme Court, U.S.

} FILED

8 6 4 92 | SEP 29 1986

No. | JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR,

CLERK

In The Soo

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1986

sy.

MY

DELBERT BOYLE, personal representative of the

Heirs and Estate of David A. Boyle, deceased,

Petitioner,

v.

UNITED TECHNOLOGIES CORPORATION,

Respondent.

fy

aa

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE FOURTH CIRCUIT AND APPENDIX

ry.

’

Louis S. Franecke, Esq.

Joun O. Mack, Esa.

Mack, Haziewoop, Franecke & TINNEY

221 Pine Street, Suite 600

San Francisco, CA 94104

415/391-1560

Micuaet Moors, Esq.

CARTWRIGHT, SUCHERMAN & S.osoprn, [Nc.

101 California Street, 26th Floor —

San Francisco, CA 94111

415/433-0440.

Counsel for Petitioner

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964

or call collect (402) 342-2831

I,

Il.

ITT.

IV.

I.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

IN LIGHT OF THE CONFLICT IN DEFINITIONS

OF THE “GOVERNMENT CONTRACTOR DE-

FENSE”’ IN THE VARIOUS CIRCUITS, WHAT

ARE THE FACTUAL TESTS FOR THE GOV-

ERNMENT CONTRACTOR DEFENSE TO BE

UNIFORMLY APPLIED IN ALL CIRCUITS?

WAS PLAINTIFF’S CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT

TO TRIAL BY JURY DENIED WHEN THE CIR-

CUIT COURT FAILED TO REMAND THE CASE

FOR TRIAL WHEN THE GOVERNMENT CON-

TRACTOR DEFENSE ADOPTED BY THE

FOURTH CIRCUIT WAS AT VARIANCE TO

THE INSTRUCTIONS ON THE GOVERNMENT

CONTRACTOR DEFENSE GIVEN TO THE

TRIAL JURY? IN OTHER WORDS, DID THE

COURT OF APPEALS DECIDE THE LAW AND

THE FACTS WITHOUT GIVING PLAINTIFF

TRIAL BY JURY ON THE LAW AS AN-

NOUNCED? APPELLANT BELOW HA! NOT

RAISED THE ISSUE OF IMPROPER JURY IN.

STRUCTIONS IN THEIR APPEAL.

WAS THE JURY DECISION BELOW IMPROP-

ERLY OVERTURNED BY THE COURT OF AP-

PEALS BECAUSE THEY ADOPTED AN IM-

PROPER TEST FOR THE GOVERNMENT CON-

TRACTOR DEFENSE?

SHOULD MILITARY EQUIPMENT MANUPFAC-

TURERS BE SHIELDED FROM EXPOSURE TO

il

PRODUCT LIABILITY AND NEGLIGENT MAN-

UFACTURE ACTIONS BY U.S. MILITARY PER-

SONNEL?

IS THE GOVERNMENT CONTRACTOR DE-

FENSE A JURY QUESTION OF FACT OR A

QUESTION OF LAW?

DOES THE PLAINTIFF OR THE DEFENDANT

HAVE THE BURDEN OF PROVING THE GOV-

ERNMENT CONTRACTOR DEFENSE?

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

I. QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ....

TABLE OF CONTENTS o..ccccccsssssnnnnnnnnnne iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES |... v

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI .... 1

II. OPINIONS BELOW 0 ence oe ta

i

IV. CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PRO-

VISIONS INVOLVED oneness 2

V. STATEMENT OF THE CASE on. 3

A ieeoeucnor C(t‘! 3

B. THE NEGLIGENT REPAIR BY DEFEN-

a eS

C. THE DEFECTIVE CONTROL SYSTEM

AND THE DEFECT NOT COMMUNI-

CATED TO THE U.S. NAVY ................ ae 9

D. THE DEFECTIVE ESCAPE SYSTEM ... 12

VI. REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ........ 14

A. THERE IS A CONFLICT IN THE VARI-

OUS CIRCUITS REGARDING THE GOV-

ERNMENT CONTRACTOR DEFENSE... 14

B. THE COURT OF APPEALS DEPARTED

FROM ACCEPTABLE AND USUAL

COURSE OF JUDICIAL PROCEEDINGS

BECAUSE THE TRIAL COURT GAVE

THE ‘“‘AGENT ORANGE” TEST IN-

STRUCTIONS AND THE COURT OF AP-

PEALS ADOPTED THE ‘‘McecKAY” TEST

AND DID NOT REMAND FOR JURY

TRIAL ON THE LAW AS ANNOUNCED 19

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page

C. IF THE GOVERNMENT CONTRACTOR

DEFENSE IS A JURY QUESTION, THE

COURT OF APPEALS IMPROPERLY DE-

CIDED THE CASE ON LAW IT JUST AN-

NOUNCED WITHOUT REMANDING FOR

A TRIAL BY JURY ON THE FACTS RE-

GARDING THE JUST ANNOUNCED LAW 23

D. DID THE COURT OF APPEALS ADOPT

AN IMPROPER AND NON-FUNCTIONAL

SET OF TESTS FOR THE GOVERNMENT

CONTRACTOR DEFE..SE AND THUS IM-

PROPERLY REVERSE THE JURY VER-

aT OIL DP oot 25

K. DOES A SOUND POLICY EXIST FOR

THE ALLOWANCE OF THE GOVERN-

MENT CONTRACTOR DEFENSE

SHIELDING THE MILITARY EQUIP-

MENT MANUFACTURER FROM PROD- -

UCT LIABILITY OR NEGLIGENT DE-

ERT aT team Wkatee BPS 7 DNR Eas 27

VIIL. APPENDIX TO CERTIORARI 000000000000 AT

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

CasEs

Ashland v. Link Ling-Tempco-Vaught, Inc., 711

F.2d 1431 (Qtlr Cir, 18S) nena ennsenceeeee 28

Atlantic and Gulf Stevedores, Inc. v. Ellerman

Lines (PA 1962) 82 S.Ct. 780, 369 U.S. 355 23

Boyle v. United Technologies Corp., 792 F.2d 413

SG Se SINE sostacsedeeinindeoaioomeienatians 1

Brown v. Caterpillar Tractor Company, 696 F.2d

a ee Ce Ee BD cece 29

Bynum v. FMC Corp., 792 F.2d 413 (4th Cir. 1986) ....... 15

Dowd v. Textron, Inc., 792 F.2d 409 (4th Cir. 1986) .... 1, 22

Foster v. Day and Zimmerman, Inc., 502 F.2d 867,

eB FI aactedescts hee nelcndnebislonintandaiiciaiaaeiinns 29

Helene Curtis Industries, Inc. v. Pruitt (Court of

Appeals TX 1967), 385 F.2d 841, cert. denied

a tr es Ne Tt I oictireectcccttsieiiccierrettreeene 24

Hunt v. Bradshaw (Court of Appeals N.C. 1957),

OI Se atc tasceierehcrestnksincnkstcpajensdhcncapeaiaceathantiiieiaeall 23, 24

In re Agent Orange, 534 F. Supp. 1055 (E.D.N.Y.

ITI ‘ceuisicesiesshlbenicccseiclehinada dedgnsileatenct h cpiahesanmalnidiaaaicaisiemscmnieandl passim

In re Air Crash Disaster at Manheim, Germany,

769 F.2d 115 (3rd Cir. 1985) eee ae nee 23

Klein v. Sears Roebuck Company, 773 F.2d 1421,

Renee err 21

Koutsoubos v. Boeing Company, 755 F.2d 352 (3rd

US TIED, isc. isniptetsidegeiena nitiliianbenannielouamadiainaaaendninoied passim

Krotkoff v. Goucher College, 585 F.2d 675, 677

CO ME RARER Se RI receeneoe sm eee HUN Aan 21

McKay v. Rockwell International Corp., T04 F.2d

444 (9th Cir. 1983), cert. denied 464 U.S. 1043

(1984), 104 S.Ct. 711, 79 L.Ed.2d 175 (1984) ...W... passim

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

Schneider v. Lockheed Aircraft Corp., 658 F.2d

835, 838 (D.C. Cir. 1981), cert. denied 455 U.S.

ERS AI e NE Ms 28

Schoenborn v. Boeing Company, 586 F. season 711

(E.D. Pa. 1984) ........ ilaeesih enaaaseacsinadeah iliac Dea taidintaratacciaed 23, 28

Shaw v. Grumman Aerospace Corporation, 778

F.20°736 (11th Cir, 1985) 2 cccnnnnnnnnnen 1, 17, 23, 25

Tillett v. J I Case Company, 756 F.2d 591 (7th

Cir. 1985) ............. PEP TNT SET mT TEE ROTC 15, 23

Tozer v. LTV Corp., 792 F.2d 403 (4th Cir. 1986)

TS IS eA ARR Fell 8 Aaron rao EET enr:

OrTuHerR AUTHORITIES

BS U.S.C. § 19641) 2...

U.S. Const. Seventh Amendment .

TO: THE HONORABLE CHIEF JUSTICE AND AS-

SOCIATE JUSTICES OF THE SUPREME

COURT OF THE UNITED STATES:

Petitioner Respectfully prays that a Writ of Certi-

orari issue to review the judgment and opinions of the

United’ States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

entered in this matter on or about May 27, 1986.

II

OPINIONS BELOW

On July 24, 1985, judgment was entered in the United

States District Court, Eastern District of Virginia-Rich-

mond Division, on the jury verdict, in favor of Petitioner

in amounts totaliv $725,000 and is reprinted in the appen-

dix to this Petition, page A1.

On May 27, 1986, the United States Court of Appeals

for the Fourth Cireuit reversed this jury verdict and re-

manded with directions to enter judgment for Defendant.

This reversal is herein sought to be reviewed. This deci-

sion is reported at 792 F.2d 413 (4th Cir. 1986) and is

reprinted in the appendix to this Petition, page A3.

This decision was announced on the same day in con-

junction with two other cases involving the same legal

questions regarding the Government Contractor Defense;

Tozer v. LTV Corp., 792 F.2d 403 (4th Cir. 1986) which

is reprinted in the appendix to this Petition, page A10;

and Dowd v. Textron, Inc., 792 F.2d 409 (4th Cir. 1986).

This Court has likewise been requested to hear similar

issues in Shaw v. Grumman Aerospace Corporation, (1985)

778 F.2d 736.

Petitioner’s timely Petition for Rehearing In Banc to

the Fourth Cireuit Court of Appeals was denied on June

25, 1986, as is reprinted in the appendix to this Petition,

page A24.

Thereafter, the United States District Court for the

Eastern District of Virginia vacated its judgment and en-

tered judgment for Defendant on July 7, 1986, as is re-

printed in the appendix to this Petition, page A25.

ITI

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on

May 27, 1986. Petitioner timely petitioned the United

States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Cireuit for a Re-

hearing In Bane which was denied on June 25, 1986.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked pursuant to

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

IV

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Constitution of the United States, Seventh

Amendment, Right To Trial By Jury:

‘*In suits at common law, where the value in contro-

versy shall exceed twenty dollars, the right of trial by

jury shall be preserved, and no fact tried by a jury,

shall be otherwise reexamined in any Court of the

United States, then according to the rules of the com-

mon law.”’

V

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A.

INTRODUCTION

Petitioner’s decedeut, a United States Marine Helli-

copter Co-Pilot, was riding in a CH-53D Helicopter built

by Defendant, SIKORSKY CORPORATION DIVISION

OF UNITED TECHNOLOGIES CORPORATION, when

the aircraft made an uncontrollable right turn at low alti-

tude crashing approximately a mile and a half off the Vir-

ginia Beach shore, Virginia, on April 27, 1983. The pilot,

erew chief and passenger escaped, but Petitioner’s dece-

dent, co-pilot, drowned in the helicopter as it sank.

Suit was brought in United States District Court for

the Eastern District cf Virginia at Richmond on ihe ba-

sis of situs of the accident being within the 3 mile limit

of the Virginia coast and on diversity of citizenship

grounds. It was agrecd that Virginia substantive law ap-

plied.

Petitioner generally contended that decedent died ve-

cause of three causes:

First, Defendant had negligently repaired a part of

the control system of the helicopter which proximately

caused the helicopter to gc out of control and crash into

the sea; and

Second, the helicopter control system was defective

and did not conform to the U.S. Navy’s specifications; and

+

Third, the co-pilot escape system was defectively de-

signed such that the escape handle could not be reached;

the escape window, which only opens out, would not open

due to sea pressure forcing it in while the helicopter was

sinking and it was thus not in conformity to the U.S.

Navy’s specifications.

Petitioner’s case was presented by testimony of the

surviving pilot of the helicopier, Captain Tussing of the

U.S. Marine Corps (J.A. 109-227)*; the crew chief of the

helicopter, Sgt. Tubbs of the U.S. Marine Corps (J.A. 228-

289); the duly appointed Judge Advocate General’s in-

vestigator, Major Keown, of the U.S. Marine Corps and

his investigative report including many documents and

statements by numerous witnesses and factual personnel.

(PX1). (J.A. 293 - 296).

Also, by deposition, United States Navy’s duly ap-

pointed engineering and accident investigator, Mr. Terry

Fox, of the U.S. Navy at Pensacola, Florida. (J.A. 47-55,

299). Mr. Fox was acknowledged by Defendant to know

more about the control system of this type of helicopter

than anyone. (J.A. 455) Mr. Fox examined the wreckage

and tore apart the mechanical parts to discover the cause

of the crash. (J.A. 69, 826-852). His report and testimony

found a metal chip in the roll servo to have been the

cause. (.J.A. 826-852, 45-104).

By deposition, Defendant’s own employee investiga-

tor, Mr. Jessie Clemons, acknowledged that a metal chip

found by Mr. Fox would cause the helicopter to roll eaus-

ing the crash. (.J.A. 20, 34-59).

*|.A. refers to the Joint Appendix in the appeal to the Fourth

Circuit. These documents would be presented if the Court

should accept this case for full briefing.

Petitioner’s engineering expert witnesses, Dr. James

Hayes and (J.A. 322-349) Dr. Paul Packman, (J.A. 388-

429) explained and gave their opinions regarding the rea-

sons why the metallic chip caused the helicopter to crash

and why the escape system did not work.

Finally, the mother and father of Petitioner’s decedent

testified regarding the loss of their son and friend. (J.A.

349-367).

These witnesses were supported by a large number of

documents from the U.S. Navy, the Defendant’s design

documents and numerous photographs of the actual

crashed helicopter and similar helicopters. (J.A. 695-

1412).

The overwhelming conclusion of all of this testimony

was that Defendant had negligently repaired the control

system causing the helicopter to crash, the co-pilot escape

system did not work when it was needed, and the control

system was defective.

B.

THE NEGLIGENT REPAIR BY DEFENDANT

The pilot and co-pilot of a helicopter control their

flight by two control sticks, called the collective and eyelie,

and foot pedals. (J.A. 1182, 117-118). The pilot and co-

pilot controls are linked mechanically to one another as

well as to the various control places on the helicopter.

(J.A. 913, 914, 1055).

In addition, there are augmenting devices known as

servos, which also control the helicopter like an auto

pilot. (J.A. 886-887, 1196-1209). These servo devices af-

ford the pilots assistance in flying, something like power

steering in an automobile. (J.A. 159, 1184-1189). How-

ever, if one of these servos goes out of control, it can make

the helicopter go out of control and crash like the power

steering in an automobile, turning the wheel unexpectedly,

causing a crash into a tree.

The pilot of the ill-fated CH-53D helicopter, Captain

Tussing, clearly testified regarding his control stick’s sud-

den and continued movement to the right after he had ini-

tiated a right turn at about 200’ of altitude. (J.A. 171-178).

Captain Tussing testified to his inability to correct

the jammed stick, which-was over en his right leg, despite

his best efforts. (J.A. 173-178). He said he had no time

(due to the low altitude) to try and start the other correc-

tive measures to disengage his controls. (J.A. 117-178,

1194-1268). Finally, by pulling full collective, he was able

to soften the impact of the aircraft into the water. (J.A.

176-177). Captain Tussing was a 1,600 hour helicopter

aircraft commander and an instructor who was quite cap-

able of flying the helicopter had there not been some mal-

function with the control system. (J.A. 109-111)

Mr. Terry Fox, the appointed engineering investiga-

tor for the U.S. Navy, who had extensive experience both

as a mechanic and engineer with the servo systems, found

the most likely canseref+he crash to be the chip found in

the AFCS roll servo ‘‘Moog’’ valve. (J.A. 69, 850-852).

The ‘*Moog’’ valve is part of the servo and controls the

movements of the servo. (.J.A. 419).

Similarly, Dr. Paul Packman, Petitioner’s engineering

expert witness, Mr. Carlson, Defendant’s investigator, Mr.

Fox, the U.S. Navy’s Investigator, and numerous De-

fendant’s witnesses agreed that a metallic chip causing a

jam of the ‘‘ Moog’’ or pilot valve of the servo would cause

the aircraft to experience a right jam of the control stick.

(J.A. 69). In fact, the condition of the metallic chip being

flattened at one end, (J.A. 70), supported Dr. Packman’s

explanation regarding the jamming effect of the chip in

the small ‘‘Moog’’ valve, creating a steady control stick

movement over to the right. This is entirely consistent

with Captain Tussing’s testimony. (J.A. 400-409).

The helicopter became inverted in the mud in 35 feet

of dark and murky water with its hydraulic lines open to

the sea, admitting sea water, sand and other particles.

(J.A. 106-108).

Mr. Terry Fox, an independent witness, further testi-

fied that no sereens or filters were found to have holes in

them, which clearly established that the chip had been pre-

sent in the system for some period of time. (J.A. 638, 71,

427-429).

The metal chip could have only have gotten into the

servo in one of three ways. That is, due to maintenance

activities by the U.S. Marines, by minor repair work done

by the U.S. Navy at Pensacola, or by the complete rework

and remanufacture by the Defendant. The facts estab-

lished that it was the rework by the Defendant.

The screen filters, which were capable of filtering out

this metallic chip, did not have a hole in them, clearly

establishing that the chip was not introduced during ship-

hoard maintenance of the servo on the subject aircraft.

(J.A. 63, 427-429). -

Mr. Fox testified that in his investigation, other econ-

taminants found in the hydraulic system were consistent

with normal deterioration of the seals and aluminum

housings as well as immersion in the sea water. (J.A. 66,

86, 87, 1410-1412).

Further, the likelihood of the chip being introduced at

Pensacola, Florida, by the Navy was extremely unlikely

due to the fact that the Navy did not disassemble the

‘**Moog’’ valve from the servo (the chip being found in the

‘*Moog’’ valve). This was established by Mr. Fox’s testi-

mony of seeing the yellow paint on the screws being undis-

turbed (paint put on by Defendant) (J.A. 83) and finding

the nature and extent of the repair work done by Pensa-

cola to be relatively minor.

Also, Mr. Bill Herald, (PX 11), had done a quality

inspection audit and determined that the type of metal,

steel 1010, was not used in the shop at Pensacola. (PX 11).

This investigation was done at the time of the actual crash

and not some two years later as was the one conducted by

Defendant’s witness, Mr. Ashbury. (J.A. 579-581). Defen-

dant failed to produce the better evidence of the defendant

employee who actually was stationed in Pensacola at the

time of the crash. (.J.A. 582).

Finally, is was established that Sikorsky had totally

remanufactured the servo, including the ‘‘Moog’’ valve.

(J.A. 497-500). None of Defendant’s witnesses had actual

first-hand knowledge as to what metal wire was used in

their shop or at the Moog factory. (J.A. 497-498).

The jury found the Defendant had been negligent in

its repair of the metal part.

C.

THE DEFECTIVE CONTROL SYSTEM AND

THE DEFECT NOT COMMUNICATED TO

THE U.S. NAVY

The Court of Appeals below stated, ‘‘ Plaintiffs point

to nothing in the record that indicates there were any

hazards of which Sikorsky was aware and the Navy was

not. Sikorsky’s duty to warn the Navy of any hazards

known to it but not to the Navy was thus not brought into

question.’’ 792 F.2d 413 at 415.

However, evidence had been presented at the trial of

the elements of the design (defect) which Sikorsky was

aware and that had not been presented to the Navy. They

are:

-~

1. That the amount of force required for a pilot to

control the ‘‘roll’’ servo (override forces) under a worst

malfunction of the Automatic Flight Control System

(AFCS) is uncontrollable by a pilot; and

2. That there is a lack of redundancy in the system

when the overriding forces are not capable of being ex-

erted by the pilot when the pilot is close to the ground; and

3. That the safety shear pin is only connected to the-

number two system and not to the number one system

which necessitates such high override forces. The heli-

copter in this case was operating on the number one

system.

To briefly review, the AFCS on the subject helicopter

acted like power steering. When the power steering went

10

awry, the pilot was forced into an uncontrolled condition

where the power steering was working against his efforts

to control the helicopter.

Plaintiff’s Exhibit 20 (J.A. 888-895) was the detailed

specifications for the AFCS prepared by Defendant

Sikorsky. This was the only presentation to the Govern-

ment on this subject.

Specifically at page eight, (J.A. 892) the collective

and vaw aspects of the AFCS system were addressed, but

the ‘‘roll’’ system was not addressed with regard to the

worst case malfunction. Testimony at trial clearly indi-

cated that that amount of force was approximately fifty-

five (55) pounds or almost twice as much as any of the

other systems. (J.A. 556-558, J.A. 407-409).

Defendant’s own employee and designated expert, Mr.

Knute Hanson, testified that there was no warning by

Sikorsky to the United States government for the worst

malfunction of the AFCS and what it was going to take

to get out of the roll under this worst malfunction of the _

AFCS (See J.A. 556-558, J.A. 407-409). Likewise, no

evidence was introduced by Sikorsky that the U.S. Navy

was aware of this problem. Yet, this design limit was

knowledge which ought to be known by Defendant.

Defendant’s own employee, Mr. Jesse Clemons, who

was one of the investigators at the actual scene of this

11

particular crash, testified that the force to overcome

against the ‘‘hard-over’’ of the roll servo would be fifty-

five (55) pounds. (J.A. 42).

Defendant’s employee, engineer and designated ex-

pert, Mr. Roderick MacLennan, testified that the hard-

over force of the roll servo would be approximately fifty-

five (55) pounds to move against (See J.A. 534-536).

Nowhere did the Defendant ever warn the United

States government with regard to the force and magni-

tude required by the pilot to override the system. Defen-

dant presented no evidence on this critical issue.

Hence, how could the U.S. Navy accept and approve

the system without this knowledge? Sikorsky offered no

Navy testimony on this critical issue.

There also could be no doubt about the lack of redund-

ancy for the number one system under the conditions of

this case. The shear pin is only on the number two AFCS

system. Here, the pilot was on the number one system and

there was no shear mechanism available to him to override

the system that had gone awry. (JA 400-404). He could not

override 55 pounds of force and he had no shear pin.

This Court did not address the foregoing issues which

were considered by the jury and found to be a defect.

12

—

D.

THE DEFECTIVE ESCAPE SYSTEM

The aircraft, after crashing into the water, while

sinking rapidly, rolled left (toward co-pilot’s side). (J.A.

185). The co-pilot’s escape window only opens out, not in,

and could not have been opened against the sea water.

(J.A. 730, 1135-1140).

The facts establish that Lt. BOYLE had attempted to

escape during the actual sinking of the aircraft. He had

disconnected his seat belt and shoulder harness and had

suffered lacerations on his left hand that would correspond

to attempts to find the escape handle in the brown, murky

water where visibility was only three feet. (J.A. 106-108),

(PX-1).

When the collective handle is pulled full up, it blocks

the co-pilot’s access to his only escape hatch handle. (J.A.

861).

By stipulated facts, it was established that Petition-

er’s decedent suffered cuts on his left hand which would

correspond to his attempt to reach, unsuccessfully, for the

handle. (J.A. 106-108). He probably scratched it on the

safety wire. The pilot’s, on the other hand, is not so

blocked. .

Further, the testimony established that the col-

lective handle, when pulled in its full up-right position,

which Captain Tussing testified he had done just prior to

impact, does in fact, block access to the control handle as

shown by Petitioner’s witnesses testimony and photo-

graphic exhibits. (J.A. 301, 319, 861).

When the aircraft rolled, it rolled left, or toward the

co-pilot. (J.A. 185). This put the escape window under

water and non-useable due to water pressure. This design

13

did not conform to the Navy specifications for a useable

escape system under all conditions. (J.A. 700-708).

Tue stipulated facts also show that the water was

murky with visibility of only three feet. (J.A. 106-108).

The surviving crew members testified that it was by sheer

luck that they were able to get themselves out in the very

disorienting murky water after the helicopter had rolled

over. (J.A. 187-188, 252).

Also, Captain Tussing described in detail how he had

been sucked back into the aircraft as it sank. (J.A. 187).

This sucking clearly accounts for how Decedent was pulled

into the aft cabin in a dark, disoriented condition. Thus,

despite Decedent being the best swimmer among the crew,

he died. (J.A. 107).

There was no testimony by Defendant regarding any

test, any reports, any specifications or any dialogue be-

tween Defendant and the U.S. Navy that the co-pilot

escape window would not open while the aircraft was sink-

ing and the window was held in place by water pressure.

There was no evidence that there had ever been any

prior crash of said helicopter where this phenomenon was

demonstrated to the U.S. Navy.

The alleged mock-up that the Navy was shown was

not a working model which had been immersed in water.

There was no testimony that the Defendant tested this

system under water or demonstrated it to the U.S. Navy.

Nor did the Navy have any knowledge thereof, since the

Navy’s training for the pilots and their escape simulator,

while under water, were without windows at all. (J.A. 318-

319). No Navy personnel were called to testify regarding

this point or in support of Defendant’s position.

14

Therefore, not only did the Defendant knowingly fail

to inform the U.S. Navy of the overriding force on the

servo, they failed to inform the Navy of the escape window

being held in place by water pressure. Either one of these

issues was sufficient for the jury to find for the Plaintiff.

The jury unanimously returned a verdict for the

Plaintiff.

VI.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

A. -

THERE IS A CONFLICT IN THE VARIOUS

CIRCUITS REGARDING THE GOVERNMENT

CONTRACTOR DEFENSE

There is conflict and confusion in the lower Courts

regarding the Government Contractor Defense.

The various Circuit Courts have adopted two basic

forms of the Government Contractor Defense and two

hybrid versions.

The 9th Circuit announced in McKay v. Rockwell

International Corp., 704 F.2d 444 (9th Cir. 1983), cert,

denied, 464 U.S. 1043, 104 S. Ct. 711, 79 L. Ed. 2d 175

(1984), that a supplier of military equipment is not liable

for design defect where:

‘‘1. The supplier proves that the United States estab-

lished or approved, reasonably precise specifications

for the allegedly defective military equipment,

15

2. The equipment conformed to those specifications,

and,

3. The supplier warned the United States about pa-

tent errors in the government’s specifications or about

the dangers involved in the use of the equipment that

were known to the supplier but not to the United

States.’’

The 7th and 5th Cireuits adopted the McKay test with-

out modifications in Tillett v. JI. Case Company, 756 F.2d

591, 596-598 (7th Cir. 1985) and Bynum v. FMC Corpora-

tion, 770 F.2d 556, 561-562 (Sth Cir. 1985).

The other major version of the standard was -an-

nounced in Jn re Agent Orange Product Liability Litiga-

tion, 534 F.Supp. at 1055 (E.D. N.Y. 1982). Those three

elements are:

‘*1. Proof that the government established contract

specifications for the product;

2. Proof that the contractor complied in all material

respects with the specifications, and

3. Proof that the government knowledge of the haz-

ards of the finished product was at least equal to that

of the contractor.’’

The critical difference between McKay and Agent

Orange is how the two tests approach the government’s

knowledge and conscious acceptance of a defective product.

That is, McKay erroneously only requires the manufac-

turer to warn the government if the manufacturer has

knowledge of the defect. This does not insure that the

government, in fact, knows what it is buying.

On the other hand, the Agent Orange test requires the

government to have knowledge of the hazard (defect)

16

ind

equal to that of the contractor regardless of where the in-

formation may come from. There is no delineation between

patent or latent hazard.

Clearly, knowledge on the part of the military of the

defect is the thrust of the Government Contractor Defense.

Therefore, the Agent Orange test is more in the ballpark

of the policy theory behind the Government Contractor

Defense.

Another difference between the McKay and Agent

Orange test is the degree to which the government may be

involved in setting the product specifications. McKay

seems to acknowledge some minimal level of government

involvement below which the supplier should be held re-

sponsible for design defects. Yet, further under the

McKay test, mere governmental approval of the contrac-

tor’s design will shield the supplier from liability, with-

out showing knowledge of the defect in approval by the

government. The result is absurd and not in keeping with

the policy that the government actually knows what defect

it is buying for its own reasons.

In Koutsoubos v. Boeing Vertol, 755 F.2d 352-354-355

(3rd Cir. 1985) the Court announced a hybrid version. It

formally adopted the Agent Orange test, above, 755 F.2d

at 355, but added further to the first part of the McKay

—‘‘approval’’ reasoning. That is, as Koutsoubos said, ‘‘gov-

ernment approval of specifications developed through a

continuous series of negotiations between the contractor

and the military wo'.ld satisfy the first prong of the

‘‘Agent Orange’’ defense, even though the majority of the

17

specifications originated with the contractor.’’ The Court

unfortunately does not specify that the back and forth

actually addressed the specific defect.

The second hybrid was announced in Shaw v. Grum-

man Aerospace Corporation, 778 F.2d 736 at 745 (11th Cir.

1985) where that Court was not satisfied with either of the

two standards. That Court’s central concern was whether

or not the military actually made a decision to use a prod-

uct that it knew to be dangerous to servicemen. Thus, they

fashioned a test that a contractor may escape liability only

if it affirmatively proves:

1. ‘*That it did not participate, or participated only.

minimally, in the design of those products or parts

of the products know to be defective; or

2. That it timely warned the military of the risk of

the design and notified it of alternative designs rea-

sonably known by the contractor, and that the mili-

tary, although forewarned, clearly authorized the

contractor to proceed with the dangerous design.’’

778 F.2d 736 at 745.

The Court felt that the first element of the test was

fashioned to allow a military contractor to show when it

actually worked jointly with military personnel in produc-

ing detailed specifications or that it was so minimal to

excuse it from proving the second part of the test. 778

F.2d 736 at 746.

The Shaw Court went on to say that the second test

to be proven by the defendant by a preponderance of the

evidence was that the contractor both warned the military

of the risk of the product or product part that it designed

and informed it of a design alternative reasonably known

to the contractor. However, reasonable knowledge is not

18

synonymous with omniscience. A risk is reasonably known

when it is either actually known, or reasonably ought to be

known, given good design practices in the industry. 778

F.2d 736 at 746.

The Fourth Circuit, at variance to ali other circuits,

in Tozer v. LTV Corp., 792 F.2d 403, 408, adopted the

McKay test, but applied Kodutsoubos reasoning. The Tozer

law was then applied in this case.

Thus, clearly there is a conflict in the various circuits

pertaining to the Government Contractor Defense.

These conflicts in the various circuits are of no small

import when considered in light of the different burdens

of proof required of the Defendant and also of the Plain-

tiff in meeting the various tests.

For example, in some circuits the burden of proof is

to show that the government knew the hazards associated

with the specific design which later proved to be defective

and causing injury. On the other hand, the other circuits

only require that the manufacturer warn the government

of defects it knows about or ought to know about. In

other words, the government may have no knowledge of

the defect and may have not made any conscious decision

to purchase a defective product. This is very expensive

and dangerous.

Clearly, this is only one example of the chaos created

by the various conflicting interpretations in the Circuits.

These matters will be briefed in more depth should this

Court accept this Writ of Certiorari.

19

B.

THE COURT OF APPEALS DEPARTED FROM

ACCEPTABLE AND USUAL COURSE OF

JUDICIAL PROCEEDINGS BECAUSE THE

TRIAL COURT GAVE THE ‘‘AGENT OR.

ANGE”’ TEST INSTRUCTIONS AND THE

COURT OF APPEALS ADOPTED THE ‘‘Mc-

KAY’’ TEST AND DID NOT REMAND FOR

JURY TRIAL ON THE LAW AS ANNOUNCED

The jury below was instructed regarding the Govern-

ment Contractor Defenses as follows:

‘*In addition, Plaintiff cannot recover either under

a theory of negligence or breach of implied warranty

based on a design defect if Defendant UNITED TECH-

NOLOGIES CORPORATION proves, by preponder-

ance of the evidence:

1. That the United States Navy established or ap-

proved the specifications for the co-pilot egress sys-

tem,

2. That the helicopter conformed to these specifica-

tions, and

3. That the United States Navy knew as much or more

than the defendant-about the helicopter’s hazards and,

therefore, Defendant did not need to warn the govern-

ment of the dangers involved in the use of the equip-

ment.

It is not necessary for Defendant UNITED TECH-

NOLOGIES CORPORATION to prove that the gov-

ernment established every exact detail of the egress

system. However, Defendant must prove by a pre-

ponderance of the evidence that the United States

Navy specifications were more than just general re-

quirements, or that the Navy examined or agreed to a

detailed description of the system.’* (.J.A 662.)

20

However, the Court of Appeals announced in the Tozer

v. LTV Corp., 792 F.2d 403 (4th Cir. 1986) case, decided on

the same day as the case herein, that the 4th Circuit

adopted the following Government Contractor Defense:

‘*A military contractor can escape liability for a de-

sign defect if it can demonstrate that:

1. The United States is immmne from liability ;

2. The United States approved reasonably precise

specifications for the equipment;

3. The equipment conformed to these specifications;

and, ;

4. The supplier warned the United States about dan-

gers in the use of the equipment that were known to

the supplier but not to the United States.’’

Here, the United States District Court, in essence,

gave the Agent Orange test to the jury and the jury found

the defendant did not meet its burden of proof and that the

defendant was liable. However, the United States Court

of Appeals then applied, in essence, the McKay test and_

took the place of the jury to find that the defendant was

not liable.

The Court of Appeals decided the case based on a mix

of the other Circuits’ reasoning (per Koutsoubos) for its

own interpretation of the facts and law without the jury

having an opportunity to consider it (see appendix to this

Petition, page A3).

Importantly, Appellant below did not argue that the

trial Court had improperly instructed the jury regarding

the Government Contractor Defense. To the contrary, De-

fendant Appellant below merely argued that it had pre-

sented sufficient evidence to support that defense accord-

ing to the jury instructions on the law. The jury, who

heard the case, thought otherwise.

21

Consequently, Petitioner herein has never been af-

forded the opportunity of briefing and arguing the case

(with citations to appropriate evidence, ete.) regarding the

facts on the Government Contractor Defense as announced

by the Fourth Cireuit herein. This amounts to a trial with-

out due process and without right to trial by jury.

Petitioner had no reason to believe that the Fourth

Circuit Court of Appeals would not agree that the trial

Court’s instructions were appropriate since that issue was

not raised on appeal. Petitioner did not brief or argue

any of those issues at trial or on argument to the Court

of Appeals. 7 ‘

Thus, despite the conflict in the various circuits, it is

clear that the Petitioner has not received a trial by jury

based upon the law first announced by the 4th Circuit

Court of Appeals in variance to the law as given to the

jury in the District Court. This is clearly a violation of the

7th Amendment to the United States Constitution, Right

to Trial by Jury.

The Court of Appeals below should have remanded

the case for a new trial based on a change of the law of the

Government Contractor Defense from the law on which

the jury was instructed.

In determining whether or not evidence was sufficient

to uphold the verdict, the Court of Appeals ‘‘must view

the evidence in a light most favorable to the jury’s verdict

and give the prevailing party the benefit of all reasonable

inferences which can be drawn from the evidence. Klein v.

Sears Roebuck Company, 773 F.2d 1421, 1424 (4th Cir.

1985) citing AKrotkoff v. Goucher College, 585 F.2d 675,

677 (4th Cir. 1978).

22

Yet, the Court of Appeals, strained to reverse the case

by ignoring the wealth of evidence favorable to Petitioner’s

jury verdict. (See previous sections herein).

In light of the abundance of evidence presented by

Petitioner, it takes little inference to determine that the

jury placed more credence in the Petitioner’s evidence

‘than that of the Defendant. This was the case on both

the defect in the manufacturer’s product and also in the

negligent maintenance performed by the Defendant on the

subject aircraft. Yet, the Fourth Cireuit, reversing the

two other similar cases, decided on the same day (Tozer

and Dowd, supra,) were caught up in a momentum which

ignored Petitioner’s basic rights.

As previously stated, the District Court instructed

generally according to the Agent Orange definition of the

Government Contractor Defense. However, the Court of

Appeals then announced the criteria to be that of McKay

and Koutsoubos. In other words, the jury never had an

opportunity to consider the facts and the law as presented

in the case. The Court of Appeals announced its own law

and made its own fact decision. This is clearly a viola-

tion of the Seventh Amendment, Right to Trial by Jury.

At very least, the case should be remanded for trial based

upon the announcement of the provisions of the Govern-

ment Contractor Defense by the Circuit Court.

On the other hand, if this Court decides the provisions

of the Government Contractor Defense are in accord with

the District Court’s jury instructions below, the District

Court and jury findings siould be affirmed and the Court

of Appeals’ decision reversed. This is so since the jury

had an opportunity to consider the defense in light of that

applicable law and found that the Defendant’s burden had

not been met.

23

C.

IF THE GOVERNMENT CONTRACTOR DE-

FENSE IS A JURY QUESTION, THE COURT

OF APPEALS IMPROPERLY DECIDED THE

CASE ON LAW IT JUST ANNOUNCED WITH.

OUT REMANDING FOF A TRIAL BY JURY

ON THE FACTS REGARDING THE JUST AN-

NOUNCED LAW

All the various circuits which have adopted the Gov-

ernment Contractor Defense have agreed that the defense

is a jury question and that the burden of proof is on the

Defendant. Koutsoubos v. Boeing Co., 755 F.2d 352 (3rd

Cir. 1985), In re Air Crash Disaster at Manheim, Ger-

many, 769 F.2d 115 (3rd Cir. 1985), McKay v. Rockwell

International Corp., 704 F.2d 444 (9th Cir. 1983); Tillett

v. J I Case Company, 756 F.2d 591 (7th Cir. 1985), Schoen-

born v. Boeing Company, 586 F.Supp. 711 (E.D. Pa. 1984),

Shaw v. Grumman, 778 F.2d 736 (11th Cir. 1985).

If this is so and if the Fourth Circuit announced the

law pertaining to the Government Contractor Defense as

being what this Supreme Court wishes to have as its state-

ment in the matter, then the Fourth Circuit should have

remanded the case for trial on the facts before the jury.

The Seventh Amendment, Right to Trial by Jury, ex-

pressed the Federal policy favoring jury decisions of dis-

puted fact questions. Atlantic and Gulf Stevedores, Inc.

v. Ellerman Lines, Ltd., (PA 1962) 82 S. Ct. 780, 369

U.S. 355. When there is a debatable issue of fact in the

trial of a suit at common law in a Court of the United

States, the right to have it determined by jury is guaran-

teed by the Seventh Amendment. Hunt v. Bradshaw,

24

(Court of Appeals N.C. 1957) 251 F.2d 103. See also

Helene Curtis Industries, Inc. v. Pruitt, (Court of Appeals

‘TX 1967) 385 F.2d 841, Cert. denied 88 S. Ct. 1806, 391

U.S. 913.

Appellant below did not argue that the trial Court

had improperly instructed the jury regarding the Govern-

ment Contractor Defense. Defendant Appellant below

merely argued that it had presented sufficient evidence to

support the defense according to the jury instructions on the

law. Of course, the jury, who heard the case, thought oth-

erwise.

The Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals took it upon

themselves to not only change the law, but then to determine

the factual issues without the benefit of a jury.

This amounts to a trial without due process and right

to trial by jury. Petitioner Appellee had no reason to be-

lieve that the Court of Appeals would not agree that the

trial Court’s instructions were appropriate since that issue

was not raised on appeal.

The Fourth Circuit has not followed the mandate pre-

viously stated that the jury finds the factual issues.

Petitioner respectfully contends that the Fourth Cir-

cuit Court of Appeals has so far departed from the ac-

cepted and usual course of judicial proceedings as to call

for an exercise of this Supreme Court’s power of super-

vision herein.

25

D.

DID THE COURT OF APPEALS ADOPT AN

IMPROPER AND NON-FUNCTIONAL SET OF

TESTS FOR THE GOVERNMENT CONTRAC.-

TOR DEFENSE AND THUS IMPROPERLY

REVERSE THE JURY VERDICT BELOW.

The Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals has adopted the

McKay criteria regarding the Government Contractor De-

fense and applied some of the Koutsoubos reasoning.

However, as enumerated in Shaw v. Grumman Aero-

space, (11th Cir. 1985) 778 F.2d 736 at 744-746, that Court

properly was concerned whether or not the military actual-

ly made a decision to use a product that it knew to be dan-

gerous to servicemen. Did the government really know

what it was buying?

In other words, whose responsibility is it to accept the

product? When, following the McKay test, the manufac-

turer does not warn the government of a particular defect

because it did not know about it or did not spend enough

time to find out about it, then the government obviously

does not know what it is buying. Or, should the govern-

ment be shown to have been aware of the defect and ac-

cepted it anyway regardless from what source the informa-

tion came. (Agent Orange test) Clearly, the latter is the

better test.

As shown in Shaw, specifications may be minimal or

detailed, quantitative or qualitative, general or specific;

they may range from meticulous descriptions of each bear-

ing and bushing required, to vague hopes for ‘‘simple’’ or

‘*fail-safe’’ products. The central question is, did the mili-

tary truly know what it was buying with regard to the par-

ticular defect?.

26

In that light, it is submitted that the WcKay test does

not insure such knowledge. For the McKay test, the manu-

facturer may hide behind ignorance or non-testing of a

particular product and merely get out by saying, ‘‘We

didn’t know about it’’. This would cost the government

money as well as creating hazards for the military person-

nel who are expensive to train and maintain let alone the

loss of equipment and lives.

Further, the McKay test, puts the burden of proof on

the Plaintiff to prove that the Defendant knew or should

have known of the particular defect. Instead of requiring

the Defendant to go forward with his evidence to meet the

burden of proof, all the Defendant has to do is deny knowl-

edge and the burden shifts to the Plaintiff. It is no bur-

den on the Defendant at all to prove an act of omission

rather than an act of commission which is the criteria un-

der the Agent Orange test.

The Koutsoubos reasoning is also flawed in that the

reasoning allows for a back and forth between the military

and the manufacturer resulting in the final design. How-

ever, such back and forth does not necessarily mean that

the particular defect was addressed. It is a question of

what was being considered in the back and forth, not the

quantity. For example, a hundred telephone calls from

the military to the manufacturer regarding the cockpit of

an airplane, does not establish conversation regarding the

wing of the airplane.

The permutations and combinations of the Government

Contractor Defense are both lengthy and intricate. Its

ramifications will be felt throughout the entire United

States Government military industrial complex and poten-

tially involves trillions of dollars.

27

Petitioner therefore requests that this Supreme Court

review the Federal Court of Appeals’ decision which de-

cided this important question of Federal law and settle the

conflict bet-veen the Circuits.

DOES A SOUND POLICY EXIST FOR THE

ALLOWANCE OF THE GOVERNMENT CON-

TRACTOR DEFENSE SHIELDING THE MILI.

TARY EQUIPMENT MANUFACTURER FROM

PRODUCT LIABILITY OR NEGLIGENT DE-

SIGN?

The military industrial complex constitutes a perman-

ent part of the American way of life. Its symbiotic, even

nepotistic, relationship provides a strong industrial base

involving billions of tax-payer dollars.

It is precisely these billions of dollars of equipment

which are at risk to the government when the government

(through the Courts) ironically insulates the manufacturer

from being held accountable for defects and negligence.

This amounts to vicarious sovereign immunity.

Yet, the members of the Armed Forces using the

products constitute a distinct and insular minority dwin-

dling in numbers. Can providing compensation to those

few members of the Armed Forces injured by negligent or

defectively designed military products really be viewed as

a threat to this well entrenched, and well funded giant?

Today, the solitary inventor, tinkering- in his shop, has

been overshadowed by task forces of scientists and labora-

tories and testing fields.

28

Without considering any empirical data, the 9th Cir-

cuit stated that the demand for military equipment is not

elastic (WcKay v. Rockwell International Corp., 704 F.2d

444, 451 (9th Cir. 1983) Cert. denied 464 U.S. 1043, 79 L.

Ed. 2d 175 (1984)). They take the unsupported posi- -

tion that there would be increased costs to manufac-

turers due to liability for defective products and that in-

elastic prices would result in increased costs to the manu-

facturers’ decreasing profits and, hence, fear of manufac-

turers’ willingness to supply government needs.

However, military products clearly enter into the

civilian market and foreign governments. Every manufac-

turer maintains policies of liability insurance to cover suits

brought by civilians and other agencies with regard to their

products.

Use of military aircraft by civilians occurs with great

frequency. In Schneider v. Lockheed Aircraft Corp., 658

F.2d 835, 838 (D.C. Cir. 1981) Cert. denied, 455 U.S. 994

(1982), a military C5A transport plane evacuated Viet-

namese orphans from South Viet Nam on behalf of a pri-

vate organization. In Ashland v. Link Ling-Tempco-

Vaught, Inc., 711 F.2d 1431 (9th Cir. 1983), a military C135

aircraft carried civilian scientists, technicians, civilian and

Air Force employees, as well as, Air Force personnel. In

Schoenborn v. Boeing Company, Case No. 82-4339 (E.D.

Penn. 1983), a military helicopter carried civilian para-

chutists during an air show. Thus, military manufacturers

have clearly foreseen use of their products by civilians who

are not insulated by the Government Contractor Defense.

These military aircraft manufacturers are already

liable for and insured against injuries to civilians caused

by the defective design of their products.

29

Liability imposed on the manufacturer promotes re-

calls, refittings and new warnings by manufacturers of the

defective products. The manufacturer would thus have the

incentive to remedy the defect in other identical and sim- -

ilar products by altering the product’s physical character-

isties or warnings. In Brown v. Caterpillar Tractor Com-

pany, 696 F.2d 246, 253 (3rd Cir. 1982), the Court implied

that, generally, government specifications cannot be inter-

preted to require manufacture of a defective product.

In addition, liability promotes safer designs by de-

creasing the net profit in unsafe products. The analysis

of safety incentives in McKay (supra, 451-2) is funda-

mentally flawed because it focuses solely on demand and

implicitly assumes a market with one purchaser and one

supplier. The United States government is not always the

sole purchaser.

Liability deters unsafe designs by educating the in-

dustry. Litigation may require manufacturers to make

public information which may improve the safety of an en-

tire industry. In Agent Orange, several manufacturers

were unaware of the health hazards associated with dioxin

contamination (565 F.Supp. 1272-3). One manufacturer

developed a test for dioxin contamination (id. 1269-70).

Another manufacturer eliminated dioxin from its product

(id. 1274). Thus, elimination of this health hazard was

and is technically and economically feasible. Yet, absent

this litigation, these military manufacturers did not share

this information, or, with one exception, eliminate this de- |

fect. Clearly, the added incentive of products liability is

needed. (Accord, Foster v. Day and Zimmerman, Inc.,

502 F.2d 867, 871 (8th Cir. 1974)).

30

Many other analyses regarding this nationally import-

ant issue will be presented should this Court agree to hear

this important issue.

VII.

PRAYER FOR RELIEF

Petitioner respectfully requests to be heard before this

honorable Court.

VIII.

Respectfully Submitted,

/s/ Lovts 8S. Franecke, Ese. APPENDIX TO PETITION FOR WRIT

Mack, Haz.tewoop, Franecke & TINNEY OF CERTIORARI

Al

JUDGMENT IN A CIVIL CASE

(Filed July 24, 1985)

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

District—

Eastern District of Virginia—Richmond Division

Docket Number—

Civil Action No. 84-0486-R

Name of Judge or Magistrate—

Richard L. Williams, U.S. District Judge

Case Title—

DELBERT BOYLE, etce.,

Plaintiff,

| »

UNITED TECHNOLOGIES CORPORATION

Defendant.

[X] Jury Verdict. This action came before the

Court and a jury with the judicial officer named above

presiding. The issues have been tried and the jury has

rendered its verdict.

{[ ] Decision by Court. This action came to trial or

hearing before the Court with the judge (magistrate)

named above presiding. The issucs have been tried or

heard and a decision has been rendered.

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that the

plaintiff, DELBERT BOYLE, personal representative of

the Heirs and Estate of David A. Boyle, deceased, recover

A2

of the defendant, UNITED TECHNOLOGIES CORPORA-

TION, the sum of SEVEN HUNDRED TWENTY-FIVE

THOUSAND AND NO/i00 DOLLARS ($725,000.00)

with legal interest thereon at the rate of 7.60% per annum,

until paid, and his costs of action. It is further ORDERED

and ADJUDGED that the plaintiff, DELBERT BOYLE,

personal representative of the Heirs and Estate of David

A. Boyle, deceased, shall distribute this amount as follows:

DELBERT BOYLE, father of David A. Boyle:

$250,000.00 ;

WILMA BOYLBD, mother of David A. Boyle:

¥ $250,000.00 ;

KAREN LYNN BOYLE,

sister of David A. Boyle: $ 75,000.00 ;

JANICE BOYLE FREITAG,

sister of David A. Boyle: $ 75,000.00 ;

and

TERRY LYNN BOYLE,

sister of David A. Boyle: $ 75,000.00.

A TRUE COPY TESTE:

W. FARLEY POWERS, JR. Clerk

By: /s/ John W. Hawkins,

Deputy Clerk

Clerk—

W. FARLEY POWERS, JR., Clerk

(By) Deputy Clerk

/s/ John W. Hawkins,

Deputy Clerk

Date: July 24, 1985

A3

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

- FOR THE FOURTH DISTRICT

No. 85-2264

Delbert Boyle, personal representative of the

Heirs and Estate of David A. Boyle, deceased,

Appellee,

versus

United Technologies Corporation,

Appellent,

and

Sikorsky Aircraft,

Defendant.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Eastern District of Virginia, at Richmond. Richard L.

Williams, District Judge. (C/A 84-486).

Argue?: March 6, 1986 Decided: May 27, 1986

Before RUSSELL, HALL and WILKINSON,

Circuit Judges.

Lewis T. Booker (Lonnie D. Nunley, III; Hunton

& Williams on brief) for Appellant; Louis S. Franecke

(Mack, Hazlewood, Franecke & Tinney; James E. Moore;

Staples, Greenberg, Minardi & Kessler on brief for

Appellee).

A4

PER CURIAM:

David Boyle drowned after the Marine helicopter he

was flying crashed in the Atlantic Ocean. Boyle’s father,

Delbert Boyle, on behalf of himself, Boyle’s mother and

three sisters sued the Sikorsky Division of United Tech-

nologies Corporation, hereinafter ‘‘Sikorsky’’), the man-

ufacturer of the helicopter. Boyle alleged negligence and

breach of warranty in the design of the co-pilot’s escape

hatch and the rework of the helicopter’s control system.

The jury found for plaintiffs. Sikorsky moved for a

judgment notwithstanding the verdict, arguing that the

military contractor defense shielded it from liability for

the alleged design defect, and that plaintiffs had failed to

establish Sikorsky’s responsibility for the malfunction of

the control system. The district judge denied Sikorsky’s

motion.

We reverse and remand with directions to enter judg-

ment for defendant.

I,

On April 27, 1983, a Marine helicopter manufactured

by Sikorsky (a CH-53) crashed in the ocean off the coast

of Virginia Beach. The four crew members survived the

impact. Three of them escaped through emergency exits,

but the co-pilot, David Boyle, did not escape, and drowned.

At trial, plaintiffs attempted to show that Sikorsky

had defectively repaired the pilot valve of the helicopter’s

servo. The servo acts at a sort of power steering to assist

the pilot in flying the plane. After the accident, a small

chip of wire was found in the pilot valve. Plaintiffs argued

that the chip caused the servo to stop functioning, the pilot

A5

lost control of the helicopter, and the helicopter crashed

into the water.

The metal chip could have been introduced at one of

three times: when Sikorsky overhauled the helicopter in

late 198l-early 1982; when the Navy reworked it in late

1982; or during maintenance of the hydraulic system by

the marines. The parties agree that it is least likely that

the servo was contaminated during maintenance. Plaintiffs

contended at trial that the chip was most likely introduced

by Sikorsky.

Plaintiffs also contended that Sikorsky had defective-

ly designed the co-pilot’s escape hatch. Specifically, plain-

tiffs alleged that when the collective, one of the control

sticks, was pulled full up, it interfered with the co-pilot’s

access to his escape hatch.

The jury, in a general verdict, found for plaintiffs

and awarded them $725,000. Because we believe the mili-

tary contractor defense precludes any recovery for the

design defect, and because there was insufficient evidence

to conclude that Sikorsky was the party that introduced

the chip, we reverse the decision below.

II.

A military contractor can escape liability for a design

defect if it can demonstrate that 1) the United States is

immune from liability; 2) the United States approved

reasonably precise specifications for the equipment; 3)

the equipment conformed to those specifications; and 4)

the supplier warned the United States about dangers in

the use of the equipment that were known to the supplier

A6

but not to the United States. Tozer v. LTV Corp., No. 84-

1907, slip op. (4th Cir. 1986).*

Sikorsky and the Navy worked together to prepare

detailed specifications for the CH-53 helicopter. One of

Sikorsky’s program engineering managers for the CH-53

described in some detail the back-and-forth discussions

between Sikorsky and the Navy. We have previously said

that this type of exchange of information will normally

suffice to establish government approval of the design in

question. See Tozer, slip op at 13. In addition, Sikorsky

built a mock-up of the cockpit with all the instruments and

controls, including the collective stick and the emergency

escape hatch. The Navy reviewed the mock-up and ap-

proved the design. As a result, Sikorsky has adequately

demonstrated that the Navy approved reasonably detailed

specifications for the escape hatch.

Sikorsky then built the helicopter, and in 1970 the

Navy accepted it as fully complying with specifications.

The Navy thus had thirteen years of experience with this

particular helicopter at the time of Boyle’s crash. Plain-

tiffs point to nothing in the record that indicates there

were any hazards of which Sikorsky was aware and the

Navy was not. Sikorsky’s duty to warn the Navy of any

hazards known to it but not to the Navy was thus not

brought into question.

Because Sikorsky has satisfied the requirements of

the military contractor defense, it can incur no liability for

*Tozer and its companion cases have all involved isolated

incidents in the course of training exercises. We obviously have

no occasion to address the governing considerations at a time

of national emergency.

i

AZT

negligence or breach of warranty for the allegedly de-

fective design of the escape hatch.

III.

We need not consider in this case the applicability of

the military contractor defense to questions of manufac-

ture and overhaul, because Sikorsky’s liability can in no

event be established. Kven if the metal chip were the cause

of Boyle’s accident, plaintiffs must still show that defend-

ant’s defective rework introduced the chip, for the law of

products liability in Virginia does not permit recovery

where responsibility is conjectural. Logan v. Montgomery

Ward & Co., Inc., 219 S.E.2d 685 (Va. 1975).

Plaintiffs have failed to do more than speculate that

Sikorsky introduced the metal chip into the pilot valve of

the servo. It is true that when Sikorsky reworked the heli-

copter in late 198l-early 1982, it disassembled the servo.

After the rework was complete, Sikorsky put a tamper

seal of yellow paint on the valve. The yellow paint was

undisturbed, suggesting that no one had removed the valve

since the Sikorsky rework. However, when the Navy re-

paired the servo in late 1982, it removed the power piston,

exposing the hydraulic system to contaminants, and creat-

ing the substantial possibility that when the piston was re-

turned to the servo, the chip got into the valve from the

unsealed underside.

The chip was made of carbon steel. The manager of

product safety at Sikorsky testified that Sikorsky used

only stainless steel, in order to prevent corrosion, an dthat

it had no carbon steel in its inventory. Plaintiffs argued

that the size of carbon wire that formed the chip was so

A8

common that it would not have been listed in Sikorsky’s

inventory. Plaintiffs also introduced a Navy audit which

said that wire of the type and size of the chip found in the

servo was not used in the rework shop at the Pensacola

Naval Air Rework facility. In response a Sikorsky repre-

sentative at Pensacola testified that the Navy did have

carbon steel in its inventory from at least July of 1982.

It remained plaintiffs’ burden to prove that Sikorsky

was responsible for the introduction of the chip into the

pilot valve of the servo. Virginia products liability law is

assiduous in conditioning liability upon responsibility.

‘‘Under either the warranty theory or the negligence

theory the plaintiff must show ... that the unreasonably

dangerous condition existed when the goods left the de-

fendant’s hands.’’ Logan v. Montgomery Ward, 219 S.E.2d

at 687 (Va. 1975). It is well established that if there is

more than one possible cause of an injury, the plaintiff

must show that the defendant caused the injury:

When there is substantial evidence introduced which

tends to prove that plaintiff’s injuries may have re-

sulted from one of two causes, for one of which the

defendant is responsible and for the other of which he

is not responsible, such defendant is entitled to have

the jury told that the plaintiff must fail if his evidence

does not prove that his damages were produced by the

negligence of defendant; and he must also fail if it

appears from the evidence just as probable that dam-

ages were caused by one as by the other action because

the plaintiff must make out his case by a preponder-

ance of the evidence.

Cape Charles Flying Service, Inc. v. Nottingham, 47 8.F.2d

540, 544 (Va. 1948). See also, Spurlin v. Richardson, 128

S.E.2d 273, 277 (Va. 1962); Sneed v. Sneed, 244 S.E.2d 754,

755 (Va. 1978).

A9

‘*The evidence in the instant case fails to eliminate the

possibility that the blame attaches to some party other

than’’ Sikorsky. See Logan v. Montgomery Ward, 219

S.E.2d at 688. Both Sikorsky and the Navy reworked the

servo to an extent that would have permitted the chip to

enter the pilot valve. Sikorsky and Boyle presented con-

flicting evidence on the presence of carbon steel in the

rework shops at Sikorsky and Pensacola. ‘‘The evidence

must prove more than a probability of negligence. A plain-

tiff must show why and how the incident happened. And

if the cause of the event is left to conjecture, guess, or

random judgment, the plaintiff cannot recover.’’ Town of

West Point v. Evans, 299 S.E.2d 349, 351 (Va. 1983).

Defective rework by Sikorsky is by no means ‘‘the only

reasonable inference that can be drawn to explain’’ the

presence of the chip. Logan v. Montgomery Ward, 219

S.E.2d at 688. In Logan, the Virginia supreme Court de-

clined to permit a jury to speculate whether defective

manufacture or defective installation caused a gas range

to explode. Here also, a defendant whose responsibility is

not affixed with reasonable certainty is entitled to judg-

ment as a matter of Virginia law.

REVERSED

A10

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 84-1907(L)

Joan S. Tozer, surviving widow of Eliot F. Tozer, de-

ceased and to her own use and benefit and to the use and

benefit as mother and next friend of:

Katherine S. Tozer, surviving minor child of Eliot F. To-

zer, deceased and; Lindsay M. Tozer, surviving minor child

of Eliot F. Tozer, deceased and; Joan 8. Tozer, personal

representative of the estate of Eliot F. Tozer, deceased,

Appellees,

versus

LTV Corporation, a Texas Corporation; Jones & Laughlin

Industries, Inc.; Vought Corporation, a Delaware Cor-

poration,

Appellants.

Bell Helicopter Textron, Lockheed Corp., MeDonnell-Doug-

las Corp., United Technologies Corp.,

Amici Curiae.

No. 84-1962

Joan S. Tozer, surviving widow of Eliot F. Tozer, deceased

and to her own use and benefit and to the use and benefit

as mother and next friend of:

Katherine S. Tozer, surviving minor child of Eliot F.

Tozer, deceased and; Lindsay M. Tozer, surviving minor

child of Eliot F. Tozer, deceased and; Joan 8. Tozer, per-

sonal representative of the estate of Eliot F. Tozer, de-

ceased,

Appellants,

versus

LTV Corporation, a Texas Corporation; Jones & Laugh-

lin Industries, Inc.; Vought Corporation, a Delaware Cor-

poration,

Appellees.

All

Bell Helicopter Textron, Lockheed Corp., McDonald

Douglas Corp., United Technologies Corp.,

Amici Curiae.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the Dis-

trict of Maryland, at Baltimore. Herbert F. Murray, Dis-

trict Judge. (C/A 81-2134).

Argued: December 5, 1985 Decided: May 27, 1986

Before RUSSELL, HALL and WILKINSON, Circuit

Judges.

Drew Pomerance (Kern and Wooley; Charles F. Iliff, Jr.;

Semmes, Bowen & Semmes on brief) for Appellants; Mich-

ael J. Pangia (Smiley, Olson, Gilman & Pangia; Paul D.

Bekman on brief) for Appellees; (Lewis T. Booker; L.

Neal Ellis, Jr.; Hunton & Williams on brief) for Amici

Curiae.

WILKINSON, Circuit Judge:

In 1980, Lieutenant Commander Eliot Tozer was killed

when the Navy plane he was piloting crashed. His widow,

Joan Tozer, and his two minor children brought an action

against LTV Corporation and its subsidiary Vought Cor-

poration under the Death on the High Seas Act (DOHSA)

46 U.S.C. § 761 et seq. and general maritime law, alleging

the defective design of a modification to the airplane. The

jury returned a verdict in favor of the plaintiffs. Because

the government contractor defense shields the contractor

from liability for design defects under either a strict lia-

bility or a negligence theory when the government has

approved reasonably detailed specifications, we reverse

and remand for entry of judgment in favor of the defend-

ants.

I.

Tozer’s erash occurred off the coast of California

while his plane was executing a low-altitude, high speed

A12

fly-by of its carrier, the U.S.S. Kitty Hawk. At trial, Joan

Tozer contended that the plane had crashed because a pan-

el known as the “Buick Hood” had come off in mid-flight,

causing him to lose control of his Navy RF-8G Reconnais-

sance plane. The Buick Hood is a hinged panel that per-

mits access to the equipment underneath so that it can be

repaired and maintained; the panel should not open during

flight.

When the RF-8G was first designed, it had a one-piece

panel that wrapped around the top of the aircraft. In

order to do maintenance or repair work in the compart-

ment below, the whole panel had to be removed. The Navy

asked Vought to modify the panel so that the systems be-

neath it could be more easily and quickly maintained.

Vought cut the panel into three pieces, fixing the center

piece to the aircraft, and hinging the two outer pieces along

the center line. The non-hinged sides of the hood are fas-

tened with “camloes,” quick fasteners which can be released

by a turn of a screwdriver. Tozer contends that it is well

known that camlocs often come loose, because of wear, vi-

bration, or corrosion, and that usually many camlocs are

installed for safety. Tozer said that Vought was negligent

because it did not fasten the panel with redundant camlocs.

Vought contended the design had been carefully ana-

lyzed, tested, and found adequate. More fundamentally,

Vought argued that it could not be found liable for the

design of the aircraft since the Navy had approved it, and

the company shared the United States’ immunity through

the government contractor defense. The district judge in-

structed the jury that the government contractor defense

preciuded recovery on the basis of strict liability, but did

——

A13

not instruct the jury on the defense with respect to negli-

gence. The jury returned a special verdict, finding that

defendants were negligent in the design of the Buick Hood

modification and that the U.S. Navy had reviewed and

approved reasonably detailed specifications for the Buick

Hood modification. The jury awarded $350,000 to Joan

Tozer, and $50,000 to each of her two daughters.

Vought contends that the district judge should have

instructed the jury that the government contractor de-

fense precludes recovery for negligence as well as strict

liability. We agree that the defense applies here to pre-

vent recovery under either theory and reverse and remand

for entry of judgment notwithstanding the verdict in favor

of Vought.!

Il.

Traditionally, the government contractor defense

shielded a contractor from liability when acting under the

direction and authority of the United States. Yearsley v.

W. A. Ross Constr. Co., 309 U.S. 18, 20 (1940). In its

original form, the defense covered only construction pro-

jects, McKay v. Rockwell Int'l Corp., 704 F.2d 444, (9th

Cir. 1983), cert. dented, 464 U.S. 1043, 104 S.Ct. 711 (1984).

Its application to military contractors, however, serves

more than the historic purpose of not imposing liability

on a contractor who has followed specifications required

or approved by the United States government. It ad-

—_

'We do not accept Tozer’s argument that defendants

waived the government contract defense by not setting it out

in their answer. As the district court noted, the delay “was pri-

marily due to the fact that the McKay case, which was the sole

authority cited in their motion, had only recently been decided.”

Al4

vances the separation of powers and safeguards the pro-

cess of military procurement. We consider each of these

values in turn.

The judicial branch is by design the least involved in

military matters. “The complex, subtle, and professional

decisions as to the composition, training, equipping, and

control of a military force are essentially professional mili-

tary judgments, subject always to civilian control of the

Legislative and Executive Branches.” Gilligan v. Morgan,

413 U.S. 1, 10 (1973) (emphasis in original). Judges pos-

sess no power “To declare War .. . To raise and support

Armies ... To provide and maintain a Navy.” U.S. Const.

art. 1, see. 8, el. 11-13. Nor have they been “given the task

of running the Army,” Orloff v. Willoughby, 345 U.S. 83,

93 (1953). In the face of a ‘‘ textually demonstrable’’ com-

mitment of an issue to “a coordinate political department,”

Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186, 217 (1962), judicial caution is

advisable. Even apart from matters of constitutional text,

the reservation of judicial judgment on strictly military

matters is sound policy. The judicial branch contains

no Department of Defense or Armed Services Committee

or other ongoing fund of expertise on which its personnel

may draw. Nor is it seemly that a democracy’s most se-

rious decisions, those providing for common survival and

defense, be made by its least accountable branch of govern-

ment.

It is diffieut to imagine a more purely military matter

than that at issue in this case — the design of a sophisti-

cated reconnaissance craft that was flying, on the day of

Tozer’s death, some 50 to 75 feet above the surface of the

water at a speed of 500-550 nautical miles per hour. It

eae

Ald

should be axiomatic that “considerations of cost, time of

production, risks to participants, risks to third parties, and

any other factors that might weigh on the decisions of

whether, when, and how to use a particular weapon, are

uniquely questions for the military and are exempt from

review by civilian courts.” In re Agent Orange Product

Liability Litigation, 534 F.Supp. 1046, 1054 n.1 (E.D.N.Y.

1982).

Here, however, the jury was invited to “second-guess

military deeisions,” see United States v. Shearer, 105 S.Ct.

3039, 3043 (1985), and to judge the design of a Navy-ap-

proved aircraft. Special interrogatory number one in-

quired of the jury whether defendants were “negligent in

the design of the Buick Hood modification,” and interroga-

tory five questioned whether the hood was “defective in

that its design rendered it unreasonably dangerous.” <A

group of laymen was thus ineluetably thrust into the intri-

eacies of military technology involving, in the words of the

district court, “the structural reaction of the modified

Buick Hood panel to aerodynamic forces and loads expe-

rienced by the aireraft.”

These are judgments, however, which lay men and

women are neither suited nor empowered to make. There

is a danger in transporting the rubric of tort law and pro-

ducts liability to a military setting and military technology.

While jurors may possess familiarity and experience with

consumer products, it would be the rare juror — or judge

—who has been in the cockpit of a Navy RF-8G off the

deck of a carrier on a low leve!, high speed fly-by maneu-

ver. Moreover, “the United States is required by the exi-

gencies of our defense effort to push technology towards

Al6

its limits and thereby to ineur risks beyond those that

would be acceptable for ordinary consumer goods.” Mc-—

Kay, 704 F.2d at 449-50. What would pose an unreason-

able risk to the safety of civilians might be acceptable —

or indeed necessary — in light of the military mission of

the aircraft. Cf. Note, McKay v. Rockwell International

Corp.: No Compulsion for Government Contractor De-

fense, 28 St. Louis U.L.J. 1061, 1071 (1984) (“Plaintiff's

comparison of the jeep to a civilian passenger vehicle was

inappropriate since the two vehicles were not made for sim-

ilar uses.”) Difficult choices, trade-offs, and compromises

inhere in military planning that simply find no analogue in

civilian life. “This is not to say that [military] designers

are unconcerned with safety. Rather, they attempt to de-

sign as safe a plane as possible within the scope of its mis-

sion.” Kropp v. Douglas Aircraft Co., 329 F.Supp. 447,

456 (E.D.N.Y. 1971).

The defense protects against judicial interference in

military matters in other ways as well. We cannot accept

the view that “the danger of interfering with [military]

discipline in military contractor cases ‘is too remote to be

accorded significant weight when the decision only indi-

rectly involves military orders or practices concerning ac-

tive duty soldiers.’” Shaw v. Grumman Aerospace Corp.,

778 F.2d 736, 743 (11th Cir. 1985), quoting Cole v. United

States, 755 F.2d 873, 879 (11th Cir. 1985). The fact that

the challenge here does not involve Tozer’s immediate com-

manding officer or relate to matters of personal disci-

pline is irrelevant. Military contractors ordinarily work

so closely with the military, see section LI, infra, that it is

nearly impossible to contend that the contractor defectively

designed a piece of equipment without actively criticizing

99

—

Al7

a military decision. Civilian scrutiny of such decisions is

generally exerted through executive and legislative over-

sight on behalf of the public at large, not, as here, through

the judiciary at the behest of an individual serviceman.

In cases such as these, “members of the armed services

would be allowed to question military decisions and obtain

relief from actions of military officials.” Bynum v. FMC

Corporation, 770 F.2d 556, 565 (5th Cir. 1985). Trial

“would often require members of the Armed Services to

testify in court as to each other’s decisions and actions.”

Stencel Aero Engineering Corp. v. United States, 431 U.S.

666, 673 (1977). While debate over the safety and neces-

sity of advanced weaponry is essential, the First Amend-

ment does not require that the forum be the courtroom or

the vehicle be a lawsuit.

The disallowance of recovery in these actions will not

leave servicemen or their survivors without relief. The

Veterans’ Benefits Act “provides a swift, efficient remedy

for the injured serviceman.” Stencel, 431 U.S. at 673.

Thus one classic rationale for tort liability — that of com-

pensation of victims — is less compelling in this context.

While the Veterans’ Act does not provide all elements of

damages in the usual wrongful death action, recovery is

more reliable, and not “reluced by the high transaction

costs present in ordinary produets liability litigation.”

McKay, 704 F.2d at 452, n.11.

Forcing military mishaps into the mold of produets

liability litigation carries one final drawback. Pilots of

the Navy and Air Force, whose service and sacrifice make

possible the security of this country, are not the military

doubles of civilian motorists. Their lives are led in the

Al18

company of peril. We can express it no better than Judge

Sneed did for the court in McKay:

[Pilots] recognize when they join the armed forces

that they may be exposed to grave risks of danger,

such as having to bail out of a disabled aircraft. This

is part of the job. The Nation sometimes demands

their very lives. This is an immutable feature of their

calling. To regard them as ordinary consumers would

demean and dishonor the high station in public esteem

to which, because of their exposure to danger, they are

justly entitled.

704 F.2d at 453.

Ill

The second set of reasons for the government contrac-

tor defense also has its roots in military soil. Permitting

recovery for design defects under any theory of liability

risks altering the nature of the procurement process. Spe-

cifically, we anticipate that in the absence of the defense,

there would be a decrease in contractor participation in

design, an increase in the cost of military weaponry and

equipment, and diminished efforts in contractor research

and development.

Contractor participation in design is essential to the

development of a military force that is competitively equip-

ped. Equipment designs often are the result of “contin-

uous back-and-forth” between the military and the contrac-

tor. Koutsoubos v. Boeing Vertol, 755 F.2d 352, 355 (3d

Cir.), cert. denied, — U.S. —, 106 S.Ct. 72 (1985). The

contractor and the military pool their expertise, matching

the latest advances in military technology with the specific

dictates of the mission. We recognize this back-and-forth

- -as a reality of the procurement process, as well as a valu-

A19

able part of that process; indeed if military technology is

to continue to incorporate the advances of science, it needs

the uninhibited assistance of private contractors.

Here the testimony at trial indicated that Vought

worked closely with the Navy in developing the specifica-

tions for the aircraft. Vought’s project manager for the

RF-8G program testified that the engineering change

proposal that included the Buick Hood modification was “a

continual source of discussion” between Vought and the

Navy, and that Navy engineers visited Vought every few

months for progress reviews. The contractor’s participa-

tion in design — or even its origination of specifications —

does not constitute a waiver of the government contractor

defense. If the defense were to be waived by such partici-

pation, the contractor would be trapped between its fear

of liability and its desire to provide needed ideas and in-

formation. The “incentives for suppliers of military equip-

ment to work closely with and to consult the military au-

thorities in the development and testing of equipment”

would be lost. McKay, 704 F.2d at 450. Without the de-

fense, “military contractors would be discouraged from

bidding on essential military projects.’’ Bynum v. FMC,

770 F.2d at 566. Thus the defense will be permitted to a

participating contractor so long as government approval

of design “consists of more than a mere rubber stamp.”

Schoenborn v. Boeing, 769 F.2d 115, 122 (3d Cir. 1985). If

there is genuine governmental participation in the design,

“the defense is available.” Jd.

Finally, disallowing the government contractor de-

fense might raise the already high costs of military equip-

ment. “Military suppliers, despite the government’s im-

A20

munity, would pass the cost of accidents off the the United

States through cost overrun provisions in equipment con-

tracts, through reflecting the price of liability insurance in

the contracts, or through higher prices in later equipment

sales.” McKay, 704 F.2d at 449. Such pass-through costs

would, of course, defeat the purpose of the immunity for

military accidents conferred upon the government itself.

Stencel, 431 U.S. at 673. While distribution of the costs of

mishaps to the consuming publie may be a familiar feature

of products liability law, we are loathe to grant courts and

juries a similar power to swell the public costs of meeting

the nation’s requirements in national security. Though one

court has speculated that tort liability would provide legal

incentives for “better-designed planes and fewer costly

accidents,” Shaw, 778 F.2d at 742, that judgment is not a

matter for the judicial economists but for the Executive

in its dealings with contractors and for the Congress in

defining the scope of immunities under the Federal Tort

Claims Act.

IV.

There remains the application of the elements of the

military contractor defense to the facts of this ease. In

McKay, the court held that

a supplier of military equipment is not subject to

[strict liability in tort] for a design defect where: (1)

the United States is immune from liability under Feres

A21

and Stencel*, (2) the supplier proves that the United

States established, or approved, reasonably precise

specifications for the allegedly defective military equip-

ment, (3) the equipment conformed to those specifica-

tions, and (4) the supplier warned the United States

about patent errors on the government’s specifications

or about dangers involved in the use of the equipment

that were known to the supplier but not to the United

States.

704 F.2d at 451.

There is no question that Vought qualifies for the gov-

ernment contractor defense under this test. It is undis-

puted that the United States was itself immune from

liability and that the Buick Hood modification conformed

to specifications. The jury specifically found that the

Navy reviewed and approved ‘‘reasonably detailed specifi-

cations for the Buick Hood modification,’’ and, further,

that the contractor did not fail ‘‘to notify the Navy of dan-

gers created by the specifications which were known to

defendants but ae | the Navy.”’

Nevertheless, the district court upheld the verdict for

Tozer on the basis of the jurv’s findings that defects in the

2In Feres v. United States, 340 U.S. 135 (1950), the govern-

ment was held not liable under the Federal Tort Claims Act for

injuries to servicemen in the course of military service. In

Stencel Aero Engineering Corp. v. United States, 431 U.S. 666

(1977), the United States was not required to indemnify a third

party for damages paid by it to a member of the Armed Forces

injured in the course of military service.

A22

design of the Buick Hood proximately caused plaintiff ’s

death. The district court considered the defense ‘‘appli-

cable to a cause of action based on strict liability,’’ but un-

available to a ‘‘government contractor who is alleged to

have established negligent design specifications. ’’

In so holding, the trial court was in error. The defense

applies ‘‘equally well to design defect cases based on negli-

gence and/or breach of warranty claims.’’ Tillett v. J. I.

Case Co., 756 F.2d 591, 597 n.8 (7th Cir. 1985); see also

Schoenborn. ‘The policies discussed earlier apply force-

fully in either a negligence or a strict liability context.

Courts are ill equipped to make military judgments, what-

ever a plaintiff’s theory of recovery. In this case, the

jury was instructed that the government contractor de-

fense barred recovery on strict liability, in part to prevent

second-guessing of military decisions. But the jury still

was compelled to evaluate the negligence claim, and thereby

second-guess a design that the United States Navy had

sanctioned. The danger that contractors will participate

less and charge more stems from the threat of liability for

government-approved technology, not from the particular

theory of recovery.

In holding that the government contractor defense bars

recovery on a theory of negligence as well as strict liabil-

ity, we join the growing ranks of circuit courts that recog-

nize the utility of the defense and its inescapable function

in the deflection of unwarranted judicial oversight over

matters of procurement and defense? Koutsoubos v. Boe-

3 Though the cause of action here was brought under federal

law, the defense would apply equally to suits under the diversity

(Continued on following page)

A23

ing Vertol, 755 F.2d 352 (3d Cir. 1985); Bynum v. FMC,

770 F.2d 556 (5th Cir. 1985); Tillett v. J. 1. Case, 756 F.2d

O91 (7th Cir. 1985); MeKay v. Rockwell Int’l Corp., 704

F.2d 444 (9th Cir. 1983). But see Shaw v. Grumman Aero-

space, 778 F.2d 736 (11th Cir. 1985). This case involves no

more than a standard application of such principles. The

judgment of the district court is accordingly reversed and

remanded for entry of judgment in favor of defendants.

REVERSED AND REMANDED.

(Continued from previous page)

jurisdiction. “With regard to the government contractor de-

fense, most of the courts that have considered the matter have

found that, at least when military design specifications provided

by the government are at issue, product liability actions are like-

ly to involve matters that are subject to exclusive federal con-

trol and necessitate the limited imposition of federal common

law.” Bynum, 770 F.2d at 567, et seq. The fact that a claim arises

under state law does not, of course, preclude a federal defense

in an area of paramount federal interest. /Id., Note, Government

Contract Defense: Sharing the Protective Cloak of Sovereign

Immunity After McKay v. Rockwell International Corp., 37 Baylor

L. Rev. 181, 214 (1985).

A24

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 85-2264

Delbert Boyle, ete.,

Appellee,

versus

United Technologies Corporation,

Appellant,

and

Sikorsky Aircraft,

Defendant.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the Kast-

ern District of Virginia, at Richmond. Richard L. Wil-

liams, District Judge.

(Filed June 25, 1986)

The appellee’s petition for rehearing and suggestion

for rehearing in bane were submitted to this Court. As no

member of the Court requested a poll on the suggestion for

rehearing in banc, and

As the panel considered the petition for rehearing and

is of the opinion that it should be denied,

IT IS ORDERED that the petition for rehearing and

suggestion for rehearing in banc are denied.

Entered at the direction of Judge Wilkinson, with tlie

concurrence of Judge Russell and Judge Hall.

For the Court,

JOHN M. GREACEN

CLERK

nls wee 2

A25

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA

Richmond Division

Civil Action No. 84-0486-R

DELBERT BOYLE,

Plaintiff,

Vv.

UNITED TECHNOLOGIES CORP.,

Defendant.

ORDER

(Filed July 7, 1986)

Obedient to the Fourth Circuit’s mandate and opinion

of May 27, 1986, the Court hereby VACATES the judg-

ment heretofore entered in favor of the plaintiff. Judg-

ment is ENTERED in favor of the defendant, and this ae-

tion is DISMISSED with prejudice, with costs to the de-

fendant.

Let the Clerk send a copy of this order to all counsel of

record,

/s/ Richard L. Williams

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

DATE July 7, 1986

~ OPPOSITION

BRIEF

Supreme Court, U.S, |

FILED

' OCT G 1986

‘S | JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR,

IN THE CLERK

Supreme Court of the United janx: ~

October Term, 1986

DELBERT BOYLE, Personal Represenative Of The

Heirs and Estate of David A. Boyle, Deceased,

Petitioner,

v.

UNITED TECHS CORPORATION,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Lewis T. BOOKER

Lonnie D. NuNLeY, Ill

Hunton & Williams

707 East Main Street

P. O. Box 1535

Richmond, Virginia 23212

(804) 788-8200

Counsel for Respondent

October 6, 1986

u!

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Opinions Below

Statement of the Case

A. The Proceedings Below

a ie cin al dneeapbcone

Reasons for Denying the Writ

1. This Court should not grant certiorari to review

sufficiency of evidence and matters of state

law in product liability Cases ...................eeeeeeeee

2. This Court has previously denied certiorari

to review the military contractor defense applied

in this case by the Fourth Circuit

Conclusion

RMIT oc caseseccccisccseseccccencesccscsssccccsasccceseescoccssecces Al

TABLE OF CASES

Page

Boyle v. United Technologies Corp., 792 F.2d

413 (4th Cir. 1986)

Bynum v. FMC, 770 F.2d 556 (Sth Cir. 1985)

General Pictures Co. v. Electric Co., 304

U.S. 175, 178 (1938)

Koutsoubos v. Boeing Vertol, 755 F.2d 352 (3rd Cir.),

cert. denied, Be ees COO Oe CA. 72,

Se I icrenascunuadeesisscseadntenceosssseseses

Logan v. Montgomery Ward, 216 Va. 425,

i ie aa ceneanneaneqanensoonsees

McKay v. Rockwell International Corp., 704 F.2d

444 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 1043 (1984)

Shaw v. Grumman Aerospace Corporation,

778 F.2d 736 (1985)

Southern Power Co. v. N.C. Public Service Co.,

263 U.S. 508 (1924)

Tillett. v. J. 1. Case, 756 F.2d 591 (7th Cir. 1985)......... 6

United States v. Johnston, 268 U.S. 220 (1925)........+++ 5

OTHER AUTHORITIES

R. Stein. E. Gressman, S. Shapiro, Supreme Court

Practice 217 (6th ed. 1986)

u

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1986

. No. 86-

DELBERT BOYLE, Personal Representative Of The

Heirs And Estate Of David A. Boyle, Deceased,

Petitioner,

v.

UNITED TECHNOLOGIES CORPORATION,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Respondent United Technologies Corporation respect-

fully requests that this Court deny the petition for writ of

certiorari seeking review of the opinion of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Fourth Circuit is reported at 792 F.2d 413 (1986). The order of

the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

denying the petition for rehearing and suggestion for rehearing

in banc was not reported. It is reprinted ‘n the appendix at

page Al.

STATEMENT OF THE CA>!

A. THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW

This action was tried before a jury in the United States

District Court for the Eastern District of Virginia at Rich-

nw

mond. At conclusion of the Petitioner's evidence, and again at

conclusion of the trial, Respondent moved for a directed

verdict in its favor. Both motions were denied.

The case was then submitted to the jury. The jury

returned a verdict of $725,000.00 against Respondent. The

trial court entered judgment on the verdict. On August 2,

1985, Respondent filed motions for judgment notwithstanding

the verdict or, in the alternative, for a new trial on all issues.

The motions were denied without formal opinion by the

district court, and final judgment was entered September 10,

1985, by the district court.

Respondent appealed to the United States Court of

Appeals for the Fourth Circuit. The Fourth Circuit reversed

the decision of the district court. Petitioner filed a petition for

rehearing and suggestions for rehearing in banc with the

United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit. The

Fourth Circuit denied the petition and remanded the case with

directions to the district court that judgment be entered for

Respondent. The judgment was duly entered.

B. STATEMENT OF THE FACTS

Petitioner's evidence at trial tended to show that a

CH-53D helicopter built by Respondent and delivered by

Respondent to the United States Navy in 1970 made a right

turn at low altitude off Virginia Beach, Virginia on April 27,

1983. While executing this low altitude turn, the helicopter

crashed into the ocean. Three of the four crew members

aboard evacuated through the water without harm. Petition-

er’s decedent, the helicopter’s copilot, did not successfully

evacuate and was found by Navy divers during recovery of

the downed helicopter.

Petitioner's decedent was seated next to an emergency

escape hatch. He apparently made no attempt to open it.

While Petitioner coniends that the escape hatch was negli-

gently designed in that it had to be pushed out against the

water, in fact the pilot was able to push out his escape hatch

and depart the helicopter safely.

Petitioner alleged that the helicopter crashed into the

water and decedent subsequently drowned because Respon-

dent had been negligent had breached warranties in

overhaul work performed on the helicopter and in the design

of the helicopter. Specifically, Petitioner alleged that Respon-

dent was liable for allowing kontaminants to enter the heli-

copter’s hydraulic flight contral system during overhaul of

that system by Respondent a defectively designed

copilot’s escape hatch. The Petitioner alleged that a small

metallic chip caused a malfunction in the helicopter’s servo

flight-assist mechanism and that that, in turn, caused the

helicopter to crash.

The evidence established at least three possible sources

for introduction of the metallic chip. The United States

Government returned the servo to Respondent for routine

overhaul in late 1981 or early 1982. The chip could have been

introduced at that time, although the undisputed evidence at

trial was that Respondent had no metal corresponding to the

metallic chip at its overhaul facility. In late 1982 the United

States Government itself reworked the servo at the Naval Air

Rework Facility, Pensacola, Florida. The chip could have

been introduced at that time. The hydraulic system was

regularly maintained aboard ship. This maintenance included

injection of new hydraulic fuel, repairs of leaks in the system,

and repacking of fittings in the system. The chip could have

been introduced during any of these procedures.

The CH-S53 class helicopters were built to specifications

of the United States Navy, not Respondent. The design was

let out by the United States for competitive bidding. Respon-

dent was the successful bidder. Respondent and the United

States Navy then worked together in preparation of detailed

specifications. After give and take in the development of the

detailed specifications the United States Government ap-

proved and promulgated the detailed specifications under the

auspices of the United States Navy.

During the course of securing United States approval of

the plans and specifications, Respondent built a cockpit

mock-up showing the location and configuration of all instru-

ments, controls and facilities in the cockpit, including the

location of the copilot’s emergency escape hatch. The United

States Government approved the design and the location.

After receiving government approval, Respondent began to

manufacture CH-53 helicopters. The helicopter in question

was delivered to the United States Navy, and accepted and

approved by it, in 1970.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

1. This Court should not grant certiorari to review sufficiency

of evidence and matters of state law in product liability cases.

Petitioner invoked diversity jurisdiction in the district

court as the basis for subject matter jurisdiction. The parties

agreed that Virginia law would be the substantive law of the

case. (Petition for Writ of Certiorari, p. 4).

This case was tried in the United States District Court for

the Eastern District of Virginia and was argued in the United

States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit primarily as a

state-based common law product liability action. Most of the

Petitioner's expert evidence at trial was designed to show that

the servo had jammed, thus causing the accident, because

Respondent had allegedly defectively overhauled the servo.

Only when the case reached this Court did Petitioner begin to

lay such heavy emphasis upon the government contractor

defense.

Whether the chip could have caused the malfunction, and

the origin of the chip, were disputed issues at trial. The

evidence of trial suggested several possible modes of intro-

duction of the chip into the hydraulic system.

On appeal, applying Virginia product liability law, the

Fourth Circuit held that Petitioner had failed to carry the

burden of proof on the issue of the origin of the chip. Boyle v.

United Technologies Corp., 792 F.2d 413, 415 (4th Cir. 1986).

The Fourth Circuit held that Petitioner's evidence failed to

‘**eliminate the possibility that the blame attaches to some

party other than’ Sikorsky."’ Boyle, 792 F.2d 413, 416;

quoting Logan v. Montgomery Ward, 216 Va. 425, 429, 219

S.E.2d 685, 688 (1975). Accordingly, the Fourth Circuit ruled

that ‘ta defendant whose responsibility is not affixed with

reasonable certainty is entitled to judgment as a matter of

Virginia law.’’ Boyle, 792 F.2d 413, 416.

The Petitioner’s writ should be denied because granting it

would involve this Court in a review of the evidence and the

inferences drawn in what is essentially a common law product

liability action. See General Pictures Co. v. Electric Co., 304

U.S. 175, 178 (1938); citing Southern Power Co. v. N. C.

Public Service Co., 263 U.S. 508 (1924); United States v.

Johnston, 268 U.S. 220, 227 (1925) (‘‘We do not grant certio-

rari to review evidence and discuss specific facts.’’).

Review by this Court of the Fourth Circuit Court of

Appeals’ application of Virginia law would not involve a

‘‘legal controversy of importance’’ or the resolution of a

‘‘direct conflict as to the factual issues.’’ Hence certiorari is

not warranted. See R. Stein, E. Gressman, S. Shapiro,

Supreme Court Practice, 217 (6th ed. 1986). The Fourth

Circuit held, as a matter of Virginia law, that Petitioner's

evidence failed to reach the level necessary to create a jury

question. Boyle, 792 F.2d 413, 416. This Court should decline

certiorari to review a court of appeals’ determination as to the

sufficiency of the evidence to present a jury question, just as

it declines certiorari to review the sufficiency of evidence to

support a jury verdict. See R. Stein, E. Gressman, S. Shapiro,

Supreme Court Practice, 220.

2. This Court has previously denied certiorari to review the

military contractor defense applied in this case by the fourth

circuit.

Petitioner alleged that Respondent was negligent in the

design of the copilot’s escape hatch. The Fourth Circuit,

applying the criteria for the military contractor defense estab-

lished in McKay v. Rockwell International Corp., 704 F.2d

444, 448 (9th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 1043 (1984),

held that Respondent satisfied the requirements of the defense

and thus could incur no liability for the alleged defective

design of the escape hatch. Boyle, 792 F.2d 413, 415.

Petitioner asks this Court to grant certiorari to review the

propriety of the government contractor defense as that de-

fense was applied by the Fourth Circuit. The government

contractor defense applied by the Fourth Circuit is stated in

the same terms by the Third, Fifth, Seventh and Ninth

Circuits. See, respectively, Koutsoubos v. Boeing Vertol, 755

F.2d 352 (3rd Cir. 1985); Bynum v. FMC, 770 F.2d 556 (Sth

Cir. 1985); Tillett v. J. 1. Case, 756 F.2d 591 (7th Cir. 1985);

and McKay v. Rockwell International Corp, 704 F.2d 444

(9th Cir. 1983). This Court has previously refused to grant

certiorari to review the government contractor defense.

Koutsoubos v. Boeing Vertol, 755 F.2d 352 (3rd Cir.), cert.

denied, U.S. . 106 S. Ct. 72, 88 L.Ed.2d 89

(1985); McKay v. Rockwell International Corp., 704 F.2d 444

(9th Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 1043 (1984).

The petitioner seeks to justify a writ of certiorari in this

case by contending that there is a conflict between the

government contractor defense as announced in the Third,

Fourth, Seventh and Ninth Circuits, on the one hand, and the

defense as announced by the Eleventh Circuit in Shaw v.

Grumman Aerospace Corporation, 778 F.2d 736 (1985). A

petition for writ of certiorari is pending in this Court to review

the decision in the Shaw case. Respondent submits that the

government contractor defense applied by the Fourth Circuit,

adopted from McKay and Koutsoubos, is the proper formu-

lation of the defense. This Court can address the Eleventh

Circuit's formulation, if it so chooses, by granting a writ in

Shaw.

Even by the more rigorous standards announced by the

Eleventh Circuit in Shaw v. Grumman the government

contractor defense is available to Respondent here. Respon-

dent bid on a set of specifications established by the Navy and

worked closely with the Navy in preparing a cabin mock-up

and working drawings and specifications. The Navy was as

aware of any alleged deficiencies in the escape hatch as

Respondent was. Indeed, the uncontradicted evidence at trial

showed the escape hatch worked perfectly when the pilot

used it and safely escaped from the helicopter. The only

reason this case is in the courts today is because the decedent

made. no attempt to use the escape hatch which would have

saved his life. Certiorari does not lie to review that lapse in his

judgment.

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, the petition for writ of certiorari

should be denied. .

Respectfully submitted,

Lewis T. BOOKER

LONNIE D. NUNLEY, III

Hunton & Williams

707 East Main Street

P. O. Box 1535 i

Richmond, Virginia 23212

(804) 788-8200

COUNSEL FOR RESPONDENT

APPENDIX

A-2 7

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR-THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 85-2264

Delbert Boyle, etc., Appellee,

versus

United Technologies Corporation, Appellant,

and . .

Sikorsky Aircraft, Defendant.

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA, AT

RICHMOND. RICHARD L. WILLIAMS, DISTRICT JUDGE.

The appellee's petition for rehearing and suggestion for

rehearing in banc were submitted to this Court. As no member

of the Court requested a poll on the suggestion for rehearing in

banc, and

As the panel considered the petition for rehearing and is

of the opinion that it should be denied,

IT IS ORDERED that the petition for rehearing and

suggestion for rehearing in banc are denied.

Entered at the direction of Judge Wilkinson, with the

concurrence of Judge Russell and Judge Hall.

For the Court,

JOHN M. GREACEN

Clerk

JOINT

APPENDIX

=,

Supreme Court, US.

FILE Dp

No. 86-492 FEB 25 1987

TOL, JR.

In The CLERK

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1986

fa

Vv

DELBERT BOYLE, personal representative of the

Heirs and Estate of David A. Boyle, deceased,

Petitioner,

We

UNITED TECHNOLOGIES CORPORATION,

Respondent.

y /™

Vv

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

ry

JOINT APPENDIX

Volume I—Pages 1 to 340

Vv

Louis S. Franecke, Esq. Lewis T. Booker, Esa.

Joun O. Mack, Esa. Lownie D. Nuntey, IIT, Esa.

Mack, Haziewoon, Hunton & WitiiamMs

Franecke & TINNEY 707 East Main Street

221 Pine Street, Suite 600 P.O. Box 1535

San Francisco, CA 94104 Richmond, VA 23212

415/391-1560 804/788-8200

Micuaeu Moore, Esq. Counsel for Respondent

CarRTWRIGHT, SUCHERMAN

& Stosoprn, Ine.

101 California Street,

26th Floor

San Francisco, CA 94111

415/433-0440

Counsel for Petitioner

Petition for Writ of Certiorari filed September 23, 1986

Certiorari granted January 12, 1987

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO.. (S800) 225-6964

or call collect (402) 342-2831

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Relevant Docket Entries

Index of Issues Raised by Respondent on Appeal from

the United States District Court to the Fourth Cir-

a eccipliiaie mn

Portions of the Deposition of Jesse Clemons Offered

in Evidence at Trial

Portions of the Deposition of Terence Fox Offered in

Evidence at Trial 29

Excerpts from the Transcript of the Trial, dated July

22-24, 1965... LS A

Direct Examination of Burt Tussing 00000000000.. 80

Direct Examination of Charles Tubbs 2000000. . 165

Direct Examination of James David Keown 211

Direct Examination of James Hayes 200.0. 235

Direct Examination of Paul Packman 0000000000... 246

Direct Examination of Thomas Dixon .0000000000000.. 283

Direct Examination of Roderick MacLennan .... 341

Direct Examination of Knute Hansen .000000WWW.. .. 369

Direct Examination of Thomas R. Conroy 00... .. 383

Direct Examination of Harry F. Asbury 0000000000... 394

Direct Examination of John L. Carson... 408

Excepts from Hearing on Post-trial Motions, dated

September 10, 1985

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page

PETITIONER’s DESIGNATIONS

Plaintiff’s Exhibit 1, Cyclie AFCS Servo Hydraulic

ID steclcnncreneeiniiecnststeensiisasia iceland .. 470

Plaintiff’s Exhibit 11, 6/83 Quality Control Audit

IID ncsnsisitrcsisicsicanisinitrtstinpiaasciiiniamiiia in . 471

Plaintiff’s Exhibit 2, Photographs of Exterior of Air-

eat fram AG Mapes ................icee 473

Plaintiff’s Exhibit 3, Joint pais Re: Accident

BURT ooeniccesincictiicisncreiee

Plaintiff’s Exhibit 7, Photographs of Interior of

Aircraft 475

Plaintiff’s Exhibit 9, Sikorsky Internal Correspond-

omen, Cubed Suny 1, TOD cnncsiccteeeeeeeee

Plaintiff’s Exhibit 20, SER-65010, AF'CS Detail

Specifications for CH-53A 477

Plaintiff’s Exhibit 72, Excerpts from NATOPS Flight

| Neca 479

Plaintiff’s Exhibit 73, NAVAIR 05-45SK-66 00000. 484

Plaintiff’s Exhibit 77, NAVAIR 01-230HMA-2-2.3,

Flight Control Systems, CH53D oo 486

Plaintiff’s Exhibit 80, NAVAIR 01-230HMA-LP,

NATOPS Functional C heck Flight Cheek List ... 489

Plaintiff’s Exhibit 88, Military Specification MIL-C-

182444 (WET), December 1, 1962, Control and

A Man S

Defendant’s Exhibit 11, Department of the Navy, Gen-

eral Specification for Design and Construction of the

Aircraft Weapon Systems, SD-241P 20000000. 492

Defendant’s Exhibit 15, Department of the Navy, De-

tail Specification for Model CH-53D Helicopter, SD-

eT . 493

ill

TABLE OF CON TENTS——Continued

Page

Defendant’s Exhibit 18, Contract dated February 6,

1962 .. Slats . 494

Defendant’s Exhibit 20, Contract dated December 13,

EL SLES LT 497

Defendant’s Exhibit 31, Sikorsky Internal Correspond-

ence CHd3A/D) Servo Valve liuvestigation, dated

Neen ee nee SOO

Responvent’s DeEsiGNatioNns

Plaintiff’s Exhibit 25, SH R-65259, Hydraulic System,

EE 500

Plaintiff’s Exhibit 26, SER-6G5099, Substantiation Test

fer Hydraulie Flight Control Actuators 20000000. 504

Plaintiff’s Exhibit $5, SER-50296, CHIL-53.\ asada

namic Load and Hydrodynamic “Stability .00000.. 509

Plaintiff’s Exhibit 88, MIL-C-18244A, Control and

Ne OLS

Defendant’s Exhibit 11, Department of the eee (ien-

eral Specification for Design and Construction of the

Aircraft Weapon Systems, SD-24H 200m... 514

Defendant’s Exhibit 12, Department of the Navy, De-

tail Specification for Model CH-53A, SD-552-1 529

Defendant’s Exhibit 13, Department of the Navy, De-

tail Specification for CH-53D Helicopter, SD-552-

Defendant’s Exhibit 14, Department of the Navy,

Specification for Assault Transport Helicopter,

H-H(X) alta iniegtiepheesibesineeetn .. 544

Defendant’s Exhibit 15, Department of the Navy. Dem-

onstration Requirements for CH-53A(TH-TH(NX)) -

Nee attteeeennrerenennees OOO

Defendant’s Exhibit 16, Military Specifications, Mil-

EE EE 559

lv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Pages

Defendant’s Exhibit 18, Contraet NOW 63-0150-f dated

I I TIT is scans sersciieiiicniiapisnoublaninnetinanhiababoiinbcnainint 563

Defendant’s Exhibit 20, Contract N00019-68-C-0471

A LNCS

Defendant’s Exhibit 22, NATOPS General Flight and

Operating Instructions, OPNAV Instruction

| ER ATs RAINE ae es a IN TY eke ea RD 571

Defendant’s Exhibit 24, Sikorsky Form 209-5 2000000 574

Defendant’s Exhibit 31, Internal Correspondence from

K. Wallischek to T. Dixon dated June 3, 1983 WW. 575

Defendant’s Exhibit 33, Photograph of co-pilot seat of

I I a enero 579

Defendant’s Exhibit 37, Photograph of Test Pilot at

co-pilot’s seat of CH-53D helicopter 580

Defendant’s Exhibit 38, Photograph of Test Pilot with

emergency escap* hatch lever on CH-53D helicopter .. 581

Yefendant’s Exhibit 39, Photograph of Exterior of

co-pilot’s seat of CH-553D helicopter 00000 AB2

Defendant’s Exhibit 40, Photograph showing release

of co-pilot’s escape hatch of CH-53D helicopter —.. 583

Defendant’s Exhibit 41, Photograph showing escape

from escape hatch of CH-55°.D helicopter 0000. d84

CIVIL DOCKET CONTINUATION SHEET

Plaintiff

DELBERT BOYLE, ETC., ET AL.

Defendant :

UNITED TECHNOLOGIES CORP.

Docket No. CA-84-0486-R

Page 2 of — Pages

Date NR. Proceedings

1985

July 12 — Pltf’s Proposed Jury Instructions. ree’d. len

July 15 46 Deft’s List of Exhibits, filed. len

July 15 — Deft’s Proposed Jury Charges, ree’d. len

July 17 54 PLtf’s Objections to Deft’s Proposed

Exhibits At Trial, filed. len

July 17 55 Deft’s Objections to Pltf’s List

of Exhibits, filed. apr

July 19 56 Deft’s Reply Memorandum in Support

of Motion in Limine, filed. apr

July 19 57 Pltf’s List of Exhibits, filed. apr

July 22 58 Stipulated Facts, filed. afw

July 22 — JURY TRIAL PROCEEDINGS:

Williams, J. Halasz, OCR. Appear-

ances: Parties by counsel, Jury.

Jury sworn & examined on voir dire.

Jury empaneled with one alternate; :

sworn to try issue. Witnesses excluded

on motion of parties. Opening state-

ments made. Stipulations of parties

~ read to jury. Pitf adduced evidence.

Case cont’d until tomorrow at 9 A.M.

(7 Hours 3 Mins.) JWH

July 23 59 ORDER granting deft’s motion in

limine ent’d 7-23-85 (RLW) filed.

Copies hand delivered to counsel

for the parties. JWH

Cont’d on Page 3

1

Date

July 23 —

2

NR. Proceedings

JURY TRIAL PROCEEDINGS

(2ND DAY): Williams, J. Halasz,

OCR Appearances: Pitf with counsel,

deft by counsel, jury. Pltf adduced

further evidence. Depositions of (1)

Terrence J. Fox, and (2) Jesse

Clemons used in trial & filed on behalf

of pltf. Deft’s motion to exclude issue

of punitive damages heard; granted.

Punitive damages issue dismissed,

Deft’s motion for a directed verdict

on flotation issue heard; granted.

Pitf rested. Deft’s motion for a

directed verdict on all issues heard;

denied. Case to go to Jury on implied

warranty issue. Deft adduced evidence.

Case cont’d until tomorrow at

9:30 AM. (8 Hours) JWH

July 23 — Deposition of TERENCE J. FOX

used in trial and filed. JWH

July 23 — Deposition of JESSE CLEMONS

July 24

used in trial and filed. JWH

JURY TRIAL PROCEEDINGS

(83RD DAY): Williams, J. Halasz,

OCR Appearances: PlItf with counsel,

deft by counsel, jury. Deft adduced

further evidence; rested. Deft’s

renewed motion for a directed verdict

on all issues heard; denied. evidence

concluded. Arguments of counsel

heard. Jury charged by the Court.

No further objections noted to the

charge. Alternate Juror discharged.

Jury retired. Inquiry of the jury

received; answered. Jury returned

verdict in favor of the plaintiff in

the sum of $725,000.00 Jury discharged.

Clerk to enter judgment on the Jury

Verdict. (6 Hours 8 Mins.) JWH

Date

July

July

Aug.

Aug.

Aug.

Sept.

Sept.

3

NR. Proceedings

24 60 Jury Verdict filed.

24 61 Judgment on Jury Verdict entered

by the Clerk 7-24-85 filed. Certified

copies to counsel of record.

1 62 Pltf’s Bill of Costs, filed.

2 63 Deft’s Motion For Judgment Not-

withstanding The Verdict Or, In The

Alternative, For A New Trial, filed.

2 64 Deft’s Memorandum of Law In

Support of Motion For Judgment

Notwithstanding the Verdict Or, In

JWH

JIWH

len

len

The Alternative, For A New Trial, filed. len

9 65 Pltf’s Brief in Opposition to Deft’s

Motion for Judgment notwithstanding

the verdict, Filed.

14 66 Deft’s Reply Memorandum In

Support of Motion For Judgment

Notwithstanding The Verdict Or,

In the Alternative, For A New Trial,

filed.

21 — Transcripts of Trial before Hon.

Richard L. Williams in IIT Vols., filed.

10 — IN OPEN COURT: Williams, J.,

Halasz, OCR. Parties by counsel.

Matter came on for hearing on deft’s

motion for judgment notwithstanding

the verdict or in the alternative for

a new trial. Arguments had. Motion

denied. Findings of fact & conclusions

of law stated from the bench. Order

to enter. (1 hr. O07 mins.) -

10 67 ORDER, that for the reasons stated

from the bench the Court denies deft’s

motion for judgment notwithstanding

the verdict, or in the alternative, for

a new trial. Supersedeas bond, if

afw

len

len

len

Oct. 10 68

Oct. 10 69

Nov. 1 —

Nov. 4—

1985

Nov. 1 —

1986

May 28 70

July 371

July 3 —

July 7 72

1987

Jan. 28 73

Feb. 3 —

4

requested, for appeal shall be set at

$750,000.00. Ent. by RLW on

09/10/85 & filed. Cps. mailed.

Deft’s Notice of Appeal, filed. Fee

paid. TPO mailed to counsel f/deft.

Deft’s Supersedeas Bond, filed.

APPROVED, Ent by RLW on

10/11/85, filed. Cps. mailed.

Transcript of Proceeding held

Sept. 10, 1985, filed.

Appeal Record, VIII Vols., del’d

to USCA.

Portion of Pltf’s Trial Exhibits not

sent to 4th Cireuit del’d to counsel

for the pltf.

Per Curiam Opinion of USCA

REVERSING decision of USDC, filed.

JUDGMENT of 4th Cireuit filed

5/27/85 reversing & remanding for

further proceeding consistent with

opinion ree’d and filed.

Record on appeal in 8 volumes

returned from 4th Cireuit to District

Court.

ORDER vacating judgment heretofore

entered in favor of pltf; entering

judgment in favor of deft; dismissing

action with prejudice with costs to

deft; ent’d, RLW, filed. Copies mailed.

ORDER of Supreme Court of U.S.

ALLOWING Certiorari, filed.

Appeal record in 8 vols. returned

to 4th Circuit.

len

sjl

sjl

sjl

pks

JWH

jlm

lkm

Ikm

lkm

jlm

or

IN THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

Reeord No. 85-2264

UNITED TECHNOLOGIES CORPORATION,

Appellant,

v.

DELBERT BOYLE, personal representative of the Heirs

and Estate of David A. Boyle, deceased,

Appellee.

On Appeal From The United States District Court

For the Eastern District Of Virginia

Richmond Division

BRIEF OF APPELLANT

UNITED TECHNOLOGIES CORPORATION

Lewis T. Booker

Lonnie D. Nunley, III

HUNTON & WILLIAMS

707 East Main Street

P. O. Box 1535

Richmond, Virginia 23212

Counsel for Appellant

December 13, 1985

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

I. BACKGROUND OF THE CASE 1

Il. THE ISSUES PRESENTED FOR DECISION — 2

Ill. STATEMENT OF THE CASE... rook sd 3

DO EE 3

Be TI OF I i sscttcrirtctertcertiineiemenetitcimn 4

IV. ARGUMENT ........ AMET ae eR OR SD 10

A. Sikorsky Is Not Liable For Any Alleged De-

fects In The Design Of The Emergeney Es-

eape Hatch Because It Strictly Followed

Navy-Mandated Plans And Specifications ....... 10

B. There Is No Evidence To Support A Finding

Of Any Defect In The Helicopter For Which

TG TN sii ncentaetaieetictattaenine 16

C. The Trial Court Committed Prejudicial Error

In Admitting PX-11 Over Sikorsky’s Objec-

Ie AA cc ee Bey a Ae -

D. The Verdict Of The Trial Court Is So Ex-

cessive As To Warrant A New Trial ...... SODAS 31

. fer Gl | SIRE ARAN Geet tae Seek Mea YE a RP 36

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA

RICHMOND DIVISION

DELBERT BOYLE, PERSONAL

REPRESENTATIVE OF THE

HEIRS AND ESTATE OF

DAVID A. BOYLE, DECEASED,

Plaintiffs

Vs. Case + 84-0486-R

UNITED TECHNOLOGIES COR- April 2, 1985

PORATION,

Defendant

DEPOSITION OF JESSE CLEMONS

APPEARANCES:

FOR THE PLAINTIF» :

MACK, HAZELWOOD, FRANECKE &

TINNEY

221 Pine Street, Suite 500

San I’ranciseo, CA 94104

BY: LOUIS S. FRANECKE, Esq.

FOR THE DEFENDANT:

HUNTON & WILLIAMS

707 Kast Main Street

P. O. Box 1535

Richmond, VA 23212

BY: LEWIS T. BOOKER, Esq.

8

(p. 3) Q Mr. Clemons, would you state your name,

please?

A Jesse Clemons.

() And your present address?

A 60 Wainut Street, Stratford, Connecticut.

() by whom are you presently employed?

A Sikorsky Aircraft Company.

() How long have you been so employed?

(p.4) A Approximately twelve and a half years.

() And in what capacity!

A Design engineer.

() Any particular design group?

A It’s hydraulic mechanical flight controls.

() Are you a part of the Sikorsky accident investiga-

tive group?

A No, Lam not.

() Prior to about twelve years ago, | think, who were

you employed then by?

A Lockheed Aircraft Corporation.

Q Where was that?

A Marietta, Georgia.

() What general type of employment did you have

with them?

A Design engineer, mechanical flight controls.

() Was that also hydraulics?

A No, that was mechanical, just mechanical.

() Prior to coming to Sikorsky, had you been involved

with design engineering having to do with hydraulics?

. 9

A No.

Briefly, what is your educational background?

&

A BS degree in mechanical engineering.

(p.5) Q Where from?

A Finley Engineering College, Kansas City, Missouri.

( What year was that?

A 1958.

@ <Any military?

A Yes, three years in the Coast Guard.

() Have you ever had your deposition taken before?

A No.

() Mr. Clemons, prior to April of 1983, did you have

occasion to ever investigate any other accidents pertaming

to Sikorsky Aircraft product?

A Yes.

* * *

(p. 7) Q Did you have oceasion to examine the wreck-

age pertaining to an accident of a CH-53D marine helicop-

ter that crashed on 27 April 1983?

A Yes, I did.

() Did you go with Mr. Conroy to Norfolk to examine

the wreckage when it first came out of the ocean?

A Yes.

() Prior to that time, had you done any investigative

work pertaining to the investigation of the crash?

A No.

() What did you do, in general, when you got there at

Norfolk?) Give me an overview of that week that you were

there?

10

A When they removed the ship or the aireraft from

the ship, it was taken into a hangar on a trailer and we did

a visual check of the control systems to see if we could find

uny evidence of a bind or a disconnect anywhere in the

control system.

(p. 8) Q Anything else that you personally were in-

volved in in looking at?

A We found nothing. Our next step was to see if the

controls moved freely and they did,

() Did you personally move the controls?

A Yes, I did.

() How often did you move them around?

A I don’t really know, probably a half dozen times.

Did you fell any kind of binding or ratcheting in

the system?

A No.

() Was the power on or off when you did this

manuver?

A It was off.

() Did you ever move the controls with the power on?

A Not on that aireraft.

() By “power,’’ | mean the various hydraulic systems

being on, you undersiand?

A Yes.

() You understand that?

A Yes, I do. °

() You didn’t feel any binding mechanical difficulties

with the movement?

A No.

11

(p. 9) Q I note Exhibit 71(d) from your file appears

to be a letter from Sedlock, is that correct?

A Yes.

Q@ And then it goes to you as one of the copied re-

cipients, is that correct?

A Yes.

Q@ Was this a document prepared before or after

you went to Norfolk?

A That was after.

Q Whois Mr. Sedlock?

A He’s a design engineer with Sikorsky Aircraft.

Q Was Mr. Sedlock there at the accident investiga-

tion scene at Norfolk?

A No. He was at Pensacola with us.

() Is he from Pensacola as far as you know?

A No, he’s assigned to West Palm Beach at our

facility there.

Q But he assisted over at Pensacola?

A Yes.

Q Did he assist in Norfolk?

A No.

Q@ Okay, you moved the various control movements

around. Did you do anything else mechanically with re-

gard to moving (p. 10) the controls to determine whether

or not ther> was any binding or mechanical failure that

you know of?

A Notat Norfolk, no.

Q Is there anything else that you checked at Nor-

folk?

12

A We put the rigging pins in the system to verify

that the system was properly rigged.

Q Was it?

A Up to the main rotor servo. That’s as far as we

could go beeause of the damage to the main rotor head.

Up to that point, all pins went in freely.

() There was too much damage in the servos, rotor

servos to make an accurate determination ?

A Yes.

() Did you check to see the movement of the pilot’s

and co-pilot’s cyclic stick—strike that. -

Did you determine whether or not the pilot’s or

co-pilot’s eyelic stick was off center by two inches or so?

A Yes, we did.

() Was that part of your mechanical check or was

that something you did later?

A That was something we did at Norfolk. Basically

what we did there is we know what the distance between

the two sticks should be and we just simply measured

that distance and (p. 11) saw that it wasn’t the 48 inches

that it should be. P

() Okay, did you go underneath the floorboards to

see if there was anything that contributed to the off-

centeredness of the co-pilot’s stick?

A At Pensacola we did. The parts were sent to

Pensacola.

() De you mean the parts of the control stick and

the push rods were center to Pensacola?

A Yes, they were.

13

() What else did you do at Norfolk? You have done

the rigging pins. You mechanically moved the stick.

What else did you do?

A We removed all of the servo actuators and vir-

tually all of the mechanical linkages in the control system

to send to Pensacola for further investigation.

Q@ Did you examine any of the primary servos at

Norfolk to determine whether or not they would move

freely or not?

A No.

Did you take any photographs:!

I personally did not.

Did Mr. Conroy ?

Yes, he did.

Q Did you do any checking of pressures or fluid

samples (p. 12) of any of the hydraulic system while you

were there at Norfolk?

A I personally didn’t, no.

Q Do you know if anybody did?

A I believe Mr. Terry Fox did. I am not positive,

but I believe that he did take samples from the aircraft.

Q Mr. Fox was there at Norfolk?

> O&O PL

A Yes, he was.

() Were you wo.aing alongside or with Mr. Fox, to

to speak ?

A Yes,

() Did you take any oil samples from the hydraulic

system when they took the servos off?

14

A Not at that time. We capped all the ports on the

servos and when they got to Pensacola, they did take flood

samples from all of the servos there.

() That wasn’t done in Norfolk?

A No.

( All right, did you do anything else other than

what you have just told me? You checked the mechanical

movement of the stick. You checked the rigging by put-

ting in the rigging pins and that sort of thing up to the

main rotor head and you removed all the servos. Did you

do anything else other than that?

A Just visual inspection of the entire control sys-

tem (p. 13) to look for binds or disconnects, any sort of

damage.

() Pins that might have been broken or something

like that?

A Yes.

() Did you find anything that appeared to be a

failure other than impact damage?

A We found some, at crack in one of the mixer sup-

port fittings.

( Was that of significance to you?

A No.

() Was it a possibility of causing any or was it a

possibility of contributing to the accident crash as you

understood it?

A Not in my opinion.

() Anything clse that you found in your visual or

otherwise Inspection at Norfolk?

~

- - -

OM AALS + AD hee Ete ay 0 ee ee.

“to

a en wilde he

Oe alta OE Bi nce i SED 8 ss

:

15

A The only thing I can recall is there was a dis-

connect in the power takeoff from the mixer. I believe

that’s covered in some of the notes there.

Q Did that have any significance to you with regard

to the sequence of the crash?

A No.

Q Exhibit 71(c) is a copy, I believe. Are these your

(p. 14) notes?

A Yes.

Q Are these notes you took at Norfolk or in Pensa-

cola?

A Most of them were in Norfolk. There, in the back

there may be some from Pensacola.

( These are indicating your impressions as you

were observing the various parts of wreckage.

A Yes. I just wrote down the dimensions that I had

taken and just my own personal observations.

Q You went to Pensacola, is that correct?

A Yes.

@ And that was with the various servos and push

rods, that sort of thing?

A Yes.

() What did you do when you were in Pensacola?

A I was there primarily as a witness. They did run

an acceptance test on all of the servos.

That was a bench test?

A Yes, it was.

() [ts this according to the maintenance manual?

16

A Yes, it is a test that they give to any servo prior

to putting it on an aircraft.

() How did the servos check out?

(p.15) A All in all, they checked out very well. There

was a problem with the pitch AF'CS servo.

Q What was wrong with the pitch AF'CS servo?

A The trim would not drive in one direction. There

was a broken spring in the shuttle valve within the servo.

) Did that affect the performance of the servo valve?

A It would prevent it from driving in trim in one

direction. Llowever, the servo had been in salt water for

24 hours or more prior to testing.

@ Anything else that was out of the specifications

with regard to the various AF'CS servos?

A | don’t recall anything.

Q What about the—okay, did you notice any of the

maintenance plates on the various servos indicating times

of rework or rework activity?

A | recorded the name plate information somewhere

in my notes there.

Could you find that for me, if you would sir?

A (Witness checking exhibit.)

These are the four AFCS servos, part number, serial

number. These numbers 4Q80, that indicates that it was

either manufactured or overhauled in the fourth quarter

of 1980.

Q Okay. And these were from various tags or plates

that (p. 16) were on the various servos?

17

A Yes, that’s correct.

Q On the roll AFCS servo, I notice you recorded here

‘*NARF Pensacola fourth quarter ’82,’’ is that correct?

A No, it is, roll is this one first quarter ’82.

Q Right.

A Ido have NARF Pensacola fourth quarter 82 and

that indicates that it had been back at NARF in fourth

quarter of ’82.

@ The servo site in the aircraft looking forward,

which servo is on the outside?

A Can 1 refer to my schematic here?

Q Of course. By the way, refer to anything vou wish

as you go along.

A As you are looking forward, the AFCS servo would

be on the right hand to outboard side.

The next one, inboard, would be the collective. The

next one, inboard, could be the roll and the most inboard

servo would be the YAW.

Q Now, do you remember seeing whatever it was that

indicated that NARF Pensacola had done work on the roll

servo.

Do you recall that?

A It would have been stamped on the nameplate.

(p. 17) Q Is it a tag or is it an actual stamp on the

nameplate?

A Idon’t reeall. It would be one of the two.

Q Did you check with NARF Pensacola to determine

what work had been done on roll AFCS servo?

18

A_ No, I did not.

Q Did you ever see any documents or maintenance

records pertaining to what werk was done at NARF?

A No.

@ Did you ever discuss it with anybody as to what

work Pensacola may or may not have done to the roll

servo?

A You are referring to prior to the accident?

@ Yes, prior to the accident.

A No, I did not.

Q@ Asa part of the overhaul of the various roll servos,

is it part of that maintenance program to take apart the

Moog valve?

A Idon’t think so. 1 don’t know for certain. I think

what is done is they test that valve to its own acceptance

test procedure. If it does not pass that, then it would be

disassembled.

() Is the Moog valve downstream or upstream of the

input filter into the AF'CS roll servo?

(p.18) A It would be downstream.

Q Imean, just as a general comment, the filter is the

first thing that the inputting oil sees, more or less, when

it is coming into the servo?

A Yes. ;

Q Is there an output filter also?

A No.

Q Is there a second filter in the AFCS roll servo be-

sides the input filter?

A No. There might be a screen on that valve. | am

not sure of that.

es

19

Q Did you observe the teardown of the various AFCS

servo cylinders?

A Yes.

Q Did you participate by actually, physically assist-

ing in the teardown?

A Just as an observer.

Q You just watched?

A Yes.

Q Did you examine the various parts of the servos

as they were taken apart?

A Yes.

Q@ Did you find anything to be out of the ordinary

with (p. 19) regard to the various servos as they were

taken apart?

A That broken spring that we mentioned previously

was the only thing that I recall seeing.-

Q Did you observe the teardown of the roll AFCS

servo cylinder?

A Yes.

Q Did you find anything amiss with regard to the

roll AFCS eylinder?

A No.

Q@ Did you examine it in detail?

A Yes.

Q Did you use a microscope or a looking glass or

something like that?

A No, I did not participate in the teardown of the

Moog valve. That was done later.

() That’s what my next question was. Okay.

20

Did you take any hydraulic oil or fluid samples from

the roll AFCS servo eylinder?

A Pensacola did.

Q Did you?

A No, not personally.

() | gather you were not present when the Moog valve

was taken apart?

(p. 20) A No, 1 was not.

Q Did you record any of the nomenclature on the

Moog valve such as its date of manufacture, rework or any-

thing like that?

A No, | did not.

() Do the moog valves have on them a plate indicat-

ing when rework was done on them?

A lcannot answer that. | don’t know.

() | gather that the metallic chip that was indicated

by Mr. Fox as possibly causing the accident was not found

while you were there at Pensacola?

A No.

Q Did you ever see the metallic chip at some other

time?

A No.

( Were you ever present in Norfolk when the metallic

—well, did you ever see the metallic chip at any time?

A No.

() Have you ever seen any photographs of it?

A IL believe I have seen photographs, yes.

% *

21

(p. 21) Q Let me show you a copy of the last page

of Exhibit | for identification which I believe is a copy

of a schematic for a roll servo cylinder, is that correct?

A Yes, it is a eyelic AFCS servo. It doesn’t say

whether it is roll or pitch.

Q Now, did you ever talk to Mr. Fox as to whether

the chip was found in the servo cylinder?

A No.

() Did you ever determine from someone else where

the chip was found by Mr. Fox in the servo cylinder?

A It would have been in this valve which is a second

stage of the AFCS servo valve.

() Was it the second or first stage valve? I thought

it was the first. They are identical, I believe.

A I think it was in the first stage valve, but this is

the second stage of this valve.

Q It’s the pilot or commonly called the pilot valve?

A Yes.

@ And that’s an integral part of the moog valve

assembly ?

(p. 22) A Yes.

Q If I understand correctly, the pilot valve is the

valve that will move back and forth opening ports allowing

the hydraulic fluid pressure to go down and move the

power piston, is that correct?

A That’s correct.

() And if the pilot valve were jammed in an open

position to one of the ports, it would then drive the power

piston one way or the other, is that generally correct?

22

A Yes.

Q Have you personally participated in maintenance

procedures associated with these AFCS servo cylinders?

I mean, have you done it yourself, taken these apart

and that sort of thing?

A No.

Q Have you observed being done other than down in

Pensacola?

A Yes, | have. Cuan

() Have you observed the various maintenance pro-

cedure at Sikorsky with regard to reworking the various

AFCS servo eylinders?

A I have witnessed a good bit of the testing and

some of the disassembly and assembly. I haven’t witnessed

an entire (p. 23) overhaul procedure on a servo.

() Did you observe the various—at Pensacola had

you observed the teardown of the various filters of the

hydraulic system involved in the subject aircraft?

A I don’t recall other than just taking them out.

Q Did you see any contaminants in the various fil-

ters?

A I don’t recall seeing anything significant.

() In your notes, and let me show you this, of Exhibit

17(c), the largest paragraph on the bottom starting with

‘“Cyelic stick moves farther ...’’ Do you see that?

A Yes.

() You are indicating that ‘‘When the cyclic stick

moves to the right, the AFCS servo bottoms first and the

stick can be moved two or three inches before stick stop is

contacted. Do you see that?

23

A Yes.

@ Are you referring to the pilot’s or the co-pilot’s

stick?

A They would be both moving together.

Q Now, is that within the design tolerances associ-

ated with this particular movement of the cyclic stick?

A ‘The reason I noted this is because going both left

and right, the servos should have bottomed before you con-

tact (p. 24) the stick stop.

Q It is supposed to do it that way?

A Yes.

Q But indicating when moving to the left the sec-

ondary stop is contacted first, is that correct?

A Yes.

Q Did that have any significance to you with regard

to a possible contributing cause of the accident?

A No. The amount of travel that was lost was very,

very slight. I didn’t feel it had a bearing.

() Do you recall whether the roll AFCS servo ceylin-

ders’ shear pin was sheared or not when you observed it in

Norfolk?

-A To my knowledge, it was not.

() What is the purpose of the shear pin on the roll

AFCS servo cylinder?

A That’s in the event you do get a jam in that pilot

valve, the pilot could overcome the jam and free the con-

trols.

Q Did you test to see what force would be required

to shear the shear pin with regard to the roll servo ey-

linder involved in this accident?

24

A I did not.

Q Do you know if anybody did?

A I believe that Mr. Fox did.

(p. 25) Q If a pilot were receiving a hardover in

the roll AFCS servo cylinder started or precipitated by

a jammed pilot valve in the number one AFCS servo moog

valve, is it the function of the shear pin to allow the pilot

to overcome that inputting force and to, for lack of a

better word, gain control of the flight control system?

A Yes. The assumption is that this spool is jammed

solid which would lock up the cyclic stick and the shear

pin that is located near the input to the valve would shear

and allow the controls to move independently of the

jammed valve.

Q However, I am not sure you are answering my

question and maybe I should rephrase it a little better.

Let me ask you to assume that the pilot valve and the Moog

valve have been jammed in an open position one way or

the other to a port allowing the hydraulic fluid to pres-

sureize down, moving the power piston one way or the

other, left or right, it doesn’t matter.

Is it the shear pin’s function to shear and allow the

pilot to gain mechanical control of the flight control sys-

tem under that type of circumstance?

A Normally he would switch to the other stage of

the AFCS servo. By shearing this pin, this would give you

normal control back.

Q Let me ask you, during the period of time that a

(p. 26) pilot has not switched from one to number two, is

it the function of the shear pin to shear and allow the pilot

ee eee ed

25

to gain mechanical control again under the previous hypo-

thetical that I am giving you?

A He could overcome the hardover force that he

would have here, but he would be having to fight this stage

until he switched over.

Q Do you mean that the shear pin, then, has no effect

on the safety mechanism, so to speak, under the condition

I am describing?

A No, I don’t mean that.

@ Then what effect would the shear pin have under

the conditions we were just describing?

A The shear pin would allow him to regain normal

control with the other stage.

Q If he switches over to the other side?

A If he switches over.

Q But as long as he’s on the stage that’s jammed,

then the shear pin would have no effect on his gaining con-

trol. is that correct?

A That’s correct.

() So, the only means as long as he stays on the

jammed servo stage is for him to mechanically wrestle it

back to wherever (p. 27) he wants the stick to be.

A That’s correct.

Q Now, do you know what amount of force is re-

quired by the pilot to, given the hypothetical I am giving

you where you have a jammed pilot valve in the moog

26

valve, what would be required by the pilot to wrestle the

stick back, let’s say, to neutral given the hardover?

A No, I don’t know exact numbers. We have tested _

that exact condition to determine that it could be done,

but I don’t know the numbers.

—

Q When was this test performed? 7 ‘

A Within the past two years.

() Was it as a result of this accident?

A It was.

() Do you recall approximately how much force was

required to overcome the hardover under the condition

I’ve described?

A No, I don’t. All I could give you would be an

approximate number.

Q Well, did you participate in this test?

A No.

() Was it something somebody told you or a report

_ that you have seen?

(p. 28) A It was in a report I have seen.

Q Was this part of the post-accident investigative

study?

A I think that it was. I am not positive of that.

(p. 29) Q And I think the force then to move against

the hardover would be 55 pounds?

A Yes.

27

Q Do you know under what conditions this particular

hardover was generated?

A No, I don’t.

Q Do you know whether it was by blocked pilot valve

or jammed pilot valve?

A (No response)

Q Perhaps if I ask you another question. Well, your

answer is ‘‘ No,’’ you don’t know?

A No, I don’t know.

(p.31) Q Mr. Sedlock’s conclusions in the last page of

Exhibit 17(d), number one, indicate maintenance and

manual—strike that question.

His last paragraph, first paragraph of the last page

indicates ‘‘Certain maintenance procedures may not have

been followed subsequent to blade drop.’’ Do you see that?

A Yes.

—s

Do you know what Mr. Sedlock is referring to?

Yes, I do.

What is he referring to please?

> © FP &

He believes that the damage on the mixer could

have been a result of a blade drop, also note six on page two

of this same document.

I am sorry, it’s the wrong note. Note five of page two

of this document where he noted some brinelling in a ball

bearing and he-suspects that may have also been a result

(p. 32) of blade drops.

28

() What do you mean by ‘‘blade drops?’’

A When they fold the blades on helicoters, we have

what are called pitch locks that react to the load of the

blade. Actually, it is a moment on the spindle. You can

imagine when the blade drops ninety degrees to the spindle,

it gives you a pretty good moment arm.

Pitch locks are normally engaged to react that low. Li

for some reason the pitch locks are not engaged, this load

comes through the servos all the way back to whatever sys-

tem stop is contacted first.

* * *

29

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA

RICHMOND DIVISION

DELBERT BOYLE, a personal

representative of the Heirs and

Estate of David A. Boyle, de-

ceased,

Plaintiffs,

vs. No. 84-0486-R

_

UNITED TECHNOLOGIES

CORPORATION,

Defendants.

DEPOSITION OF TERENCE J. FOX

April 8, 1985

(p. 2) at Law, 221 Pine Street, Suite 500, San Francisco,

California 94104, represented by LOUIS S. FRANECKE,

Esquire, appeared as counsel on belialf of the plaintiffs.

Messrs. HUTTON & WILLIAMS, Attorneys at Law,

707 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23212, repre-

sented by LEWIS T. BOOKER, Esquire, appeared as coun-

sel on behalf of the defendants. |

Also present: Sandra McLaughlin, Paralegal.

—o0o—

TERENCE J. FOX,

called as a witness by the plaintiffs, having been first duly

sworn by the Notary Public to tell the truth, the whole

truth, and nothing but the truth, testified as follows:

30 -

EXAMINATION BY MR. FRANECKE:

Mr. Franecke: Q. Would you state your full name,

please?

A. Terence J. Fox.

And what is your present address?

361 East Hazelwood, Lemoore, California.

And that is near Fresno, California?

Yes, it is.

And what is your telephone number, do you know?

Area Code 209 924-7578.

oeprpererpe

By whom are you present employed?

A. By Naval Air Rework Facility, North Island, with

the field office at Lemoore.

(). Where is North Island located?

A. San Diego, California.

(p. 3) Q. And what generally is your job title or your

duties and responsibilities?

A. Engineering technician. Job responsibilities are

logistics management for the FA-18 fighter aircraft.

Q. FAA?

A. FA-18 fighter.

(). For the U.S. Navy?

A. Yes.

31

Q. Are you a civilian employee of the Navy or are

you—What are you?

A. Civil employee of the Navy.

@. How long have you been a civilian employee of

the Navy?

A. Since October 1961 or November 1961.

Q. Have you always been involved in the engineering

area for your employment with the Navy?

A. No. Since about 1970.

(). What were you then prior to 1970, from ’61 until

"70?

A. I worked in the shipyard for two and a half years.

I worked at the Naval Air Rework Facility from 64 to

’70 in hydraulic fuel! as a mechanie.

Q. Briefly what is your educational background?

A. It’s three years of college and various trade

schools.

Q. What subject did you study in eciions ?

A. Primarily business.

Q. Did you have any military service?

A. Yes, three years in the Marine Corps.

(). And what capacity?

A. Radio telegraph operator.

32

(p. 4) Q. This case that you’re being deposed on

involves a CH-53 helicopter, the hydraulics. Do you under-

stand that?

i

A. Yes.

Q. Can you give me a general description of what

your background has been in the area of hydraulics and

servo systems pertaining to helicopters? re

A. It’s been approximately ’67 or ’68 when the

CH-53 was first introduced to the fleet that I attended

a servo cylinder and repair school, had training on the

Moog servo controls, on the input valves, shop experience

up intil about 1970.

Q. Let me stop you there.

When you say shop experience until 1970 what kind

of shop experience did you have?

A. Overhauling and testing of hydraulic components.

(). And what do you mean by testing?

A. Evaluation, disassembly and reassembly.

. You took the servo cylinders apart and reassem-

bled them?

A. Yes, I did.

Q. Were you a supervisor or were you an actual

mechanic doing the actual work?

A. At that time I was a mechanic.

“ ee eee) haem

33

Q. Did you during this period of time up until about

1970, did you have occasion to disassemble and assemble

CH-53 roll servocylinders?

A. Yes, I did.

=Q. As well as I believe there’s yaw and collective

and pitch servocylinders ; is that correct?

(p.5) A. Yes.

Q. About how many of these servocylinders did you

disassemble and reassemble, just a general idea?

A. Probably around 50.

(p. 7) Q. It was your understanding that the Navy

which would include the Marine Corps had maintenance

contracts with Sikorsky for periods of time?

A. Yes.

Q. And as those contracts would then terminate or

run out then Pensacola would pick up the subsequent

work?

A. Providing they have the capabilities.

Q. Do you know when the contract ran out with

regard to the AFCS roll servocylinders?

Recognizing again, I draw your attention to what we

know about this case, that there was work done in the

first quarter of ’82 by Sikorsky and in the fourth quarter

by Pensacola.

A. Idon’t remember.

34

(). Was it in that time frame?

A. I think it was prior to then. I don’t remember

for sure. I know for a period of time that both Sikorsky

and Pensacola were doing the rework on the servos.

It was sort of a split of the workload.

Q. From about 1979 until 1984 were you involved in

evaluations pertaining to binding, sticking, and racheting,

referring to the roll AFCS servocylinder?

A. Yes, I was.

(p. 13) Mr. Franecke: Q. Now Mr. Fox, at some

time in 1983, presumably April, you received word that

there had been a crash of the CH-53D; is that correct?

A. That’s correct.

(). How many other accident investigations had you

participated in prior to that time?

A. Probably about 30.

. How many?

A. About 30.

Q. And did these all involve 53-type helicopters or

were there others?

A. There were also others, and then there was also

fixed wind aircraft.

(). How many of them involve 53-type helicopters?

A. Approximately 20.

35

Q. Did any of these 20 have problems having to do

with the hydraulic systems that may have contributed to

the crash?

A. None that 1 recall offhand.

. Did any of them have to do with imbalances hav-

ing to do with fuel transfers from the auxiliaries to the

main tanks?

A. One did, yes.

Q. When you say 20 crashes had to do with 53-type

helicopters, I’m using the whole general spectrum, is it

true that none of those involved anything having to do

with hydraulics?

A. Right now to the best of my recollection none

had directly to do with hydraulics.

(p. 14) Q. Do you remember about what date you

actually got word that there had been a CH-53D erash

that’s involved in this litigation.

The accident took place—

A. June 27th—I was just looking—

Q. That’s all right. You may refer to your notes.

You do have some of your notes with you?

A. Yes. Probably the 28th of April.

(). Do you remember what you first did?

A. We've requested to furnish technical and metal

lurgical expertise at the site where the aircraft was recov-

ered and brought to.

36

(). And were you to furnish this technical and metal-

lurgical expertise?

A. The squadron requested assistance.

(. When you say the squadron you mean the squad-

ron whose aircraft had crashed?

A. Yes.

(. Had you received any request for technical as-

sistance from any form of marine investigative board at

that point?

A. Yes. It would have been the investigative board

for HMH 461. -

Q. Now, there’s a JAG board also, is that correct, as

far as you know?

A. There were two investigations. This was the

Mishap Board that requested it.

Q. Who I believe was headed by a Major Miller; is

that right?

(p. 15) <A. Yes.

Q. Essentially what were you supposed to be doing,

look at the aircraft and do whatever investigations as

necessary?

A. Look at the aircraft in its condition as recovered

from the water.

The primary function was to look at the flight controls

completely from the sticks all the way up to the rotor head,

report on any damage that was done to it, and look for

anything that could have caused a malfunction.

ee OD NE

37

Q. Was it part of your responsibility to interview

any of the flight crew or other witnesses to the actual

crash?

A. No, it wasn’t.

Q. Did you do that in any way, either formally or

informally?

A. Informally I was allowed to talk to the pilot along

with John Combs from the Naval Safety Center.

Q. Mr. Combs was present?

A. Mr. Combs was present. He was doing the pri-

mary interrogation.

Q. Do you know whether or not he took a statement,

something written or recorded?

A. At that time, no. The actual interrogation of any

of the people involved with the aircraft was done by the

flight surgeon.

(. Do you recall what the pilot indicated as to what

happened?

A. No, sir. At the time we talked to him he felt that

when he took control that he either had a hard over or the

(p. 16) stick drove to the right.

(). Anything else that would be significant to you as

far as your investigation is concerned other than that?

A. No, sir. To the best of his recollection he said

that he did not notice any problems with any other channel

in the flight control as far as pitch or yaw or collective.

38

Q. Do you recall whether or not you talked with the

pilot before or after you started your investigation of the

actual physical wreckage itself?

A. When I talked to the pilot was after we had begun

our depo investigation of the various components.

(). That was done at Pensacola?

“A. We were at Pensacola and talked to them on the

phone.

(). So that was after you had removed various items

from the wreckage?

A. Correct.

(). Let’s go back then to | think it was Norfolk that

the wreckage was taken to?

A. Yes, it was.

(). What did you do in general when you went to

Norfolk to take a look at the wreckage?

A. First thing we did was check the position of the

various flight controls, stick position, pedal position, check

the positions of the AFCS servocylinders and primary

servoeylinders to assure that they coincided with stick

positions.

We went completely through all the torque tubes in

the flight controls to assure that all of them were intact.

There was no evidence of any bell crank having a foreign

(p. 17) object in it that could have bumped it or anything

in the linkage of the servos themselves.

Lue to the condition of the rotor head we disconnected

the primary servocylinders and checked the rigging of the

flight controls back up to the stick.

39

q. Anything you found on this there?

A. The only thing that was amiss was the fact that

the copilot’s cyelie stick was approximately two inches to

the left of center.

Q. And what is the total throw, if you will, of the

copilot’s stick from center position to the full left if you

know?

A. <As I recall it was about six inches or should be

approximately six inches.

. Or more?

A. No, it would be less.

The total throw is 15, 16 inches?

Something like that.

ope

So we know we’re talking about the right thing, I

show you exhibits that have been marked Plaintiffs’ Ex-

hibits 2-A through -E from previous depositions and ask

you if those are photographs of the wreckage of the air-

craft that you examined?

A. Yes, it is.

Q. Did you examine the tail rotor assemblies, so to

speak, if there had been any failure in the mounting feet

or any other part of that assembly?

A. Both myself and an individual named Eli Nicosia

who (p. 18) is a metallurgist from Pensacola looked at

the feet. In addition to their squadron personnel and John

Combs.

40

Q. And did you determine whether or not there had

been any failure in the tail rotor that may have contributed

to the accident?

A. There was no apparent failure that would have

contributed to the accident, no.

Q. Did you check the electrical system of the air-

craft to see if there was any contributing cause?

A. There was an electrician that did go up to the

aircraft and yank out some wires to determine if there

were any electrical failures.

He did not see anything that was indicative of an

electrical failure.

(). Eventually your investigation I believe started

honing in on the various parts of the hydraulic system; is

that correct?

A. That’s correct.

(). What did you do with regard to your initial in-

vestigation of the hydraulic system?

A. We removed selected components: the primary

(p. 19) servocylinders, the tail rotor servocylinder, the

AFCS servocylinders, the reservoir, the filter manifolds,

and a few of the shut-off valves that pertained to the servo

systems. And they were checked and they were shipped

back to Pensacola where we performed some functional

tests of the units and a teardown and examination.

41

Q. Before removing these particular itms did you ex-

amine the various hydraulic lines themselves at the top

of the record here shown in Exhibit 2-D?

A. Yes, I did.

Q. And were all of these lines, hydraulic lines intact

or were there breaks and openings in them?

A. Some of them had breaks and openings.

Q. Do you remember as you sit here now what lines

had breaks and openings and which didn’t?

A. To the best of my memory the majority of them

were on the upper portion of the hydraulic compartment

and lines that were aft of the main gear box and rotor

head.

Q. Was it your understanding that the aircraft when

it finally rested on the bottom of the sea was in an in-

verted position?

(p. 20) Q. Did you take anything apart other than

the various servos, et cetera, off of the aircraft while you

were at Norfolk?

A. No, we just removed the components as they were.

Q. When you say you removed the components I know

you probably had a mechanic do it; is that right?

A. That’s correct.

42

Q. Or maybe yourselves, too.

Were the lines for the various servos, were they

plugged in any fashion for transport down to Pensacola?

A. Yes, they were.

Q. And that was after they were removed?

(). Who was in charge, so to speak, of the hydraulic

system investigation when you removed the various com-

ponents for transport down to Pensacola?

A. Myself.

Q. You were in charge, okay.

A. Well, let’s put it this way: I was in charge as

far as what I wanted to remove. Of course, the military

is going to be in charge of themselves.

But | was present to make sure things were done the

way | wanted.

(). Was there a Mr. Combs also involved in this in-

vestigation at that point?

A. Yes, he was.

(. Was he in charge of some different investigation

or were you working together or what?

(p. 21) A. Mr. Combs is from the Naval Safety Cen-

ter, and he is in charge of the overall investigation both

from the standpoint of what the squadron does for their

Mishap Board and in addition what I do as far as the com.

ponents from a depo standpoint.

ent OFF we ke oh

43

~Q. He was overall in charge, but your responsibility

was the hydraulics?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. Prior to leaving for Norfolk did you also take a

look at the fuel system of the aircraft as much as there was

in the wreckage?

A. As much as there was. I did, yes.

(Diseussion off the record.)

(Whereupon, three photographs were marked

as Plaintiffs’ Exhibits 75-A, -B and -C respee-

tively for identification. )

Mr. Franecke: Q. Off the record I’ve had three

photographs which have been marked Plaintiffs’ Exhibits

75-A, -B and -C, and I ask you, Mr. Fox, if you ean tell me

what these various photograplis show.

A. Exhibit 75-B and -C show the fuel transfer valves

on the port and starboard side of the aircraft.

(. Can you tell by looking at those whether or not the

transfer valves are open or in the closed position?

A. By looking at the photos it would be in the closed

position.

(. These are the transfer valves that would be util-

ized to transfer fuel from the auxiliary tanks into the main

tanks?

(p. 22) A. That’s correct.

(). What does 75-A show?

A. 75-A is the fuel control panel that’s located in the

center console between the pilot and the copilot.

tt

(). And it appears that it’s been removed from the

panel in the aircraft; is that correct?

A. That’s correct.

Q. Then does it show what positions the fuel transfer

switches are in?

A. Yes, it does.

(). What position do they appear to be in?

A. The left aux and main showing off position, and

the right is showing fill position.

(). One of them is broken off, is it not?

The upper left one is broken off, yes.

Would that be the—

That would be for the aux.

Would that be for the left or right tanks?

For the right aux tank.

Is broken?

Yes.

re? Fre Ff

Q. Do you recall when you first examined the aircraft

in what position the various switches were in?

A. I recall the one being broken. I don’t recall the

exact position, no.

(). Was there any indication to you while you did your

investigation that there may have been a fuel center of

gravity imbalance that may have contributed to the crash

(p. 23) itself?

A. No, there wasn’t.

@. Now you took these various pieces of the aireraft,

servocylinders, et cetera, down to Pensacola.

What did you do down there with them?

A. The first thing we did to all the components was

to flush them to remove all the contaminants. We use

cheesecloth to collect anything coming out.

Our main concern was to get any obvious contaminates,

collect them, and also to purge any salt water from the

units prior to functionally testing them.

Q. Is it possible to check the freedom of movement of

these roll servocylinders by hand prior to putting them on a

test bench?

A. Yes, it is.

(). Was that done before you did any flushing or

purging of the salt water at any time?

A. Yes, it is.

(). Do you know whether it was done?

A. Yes, it was.

(). And honing in on the visual, was any binding or

sticking or anything else noticed by your hand examination

as to what m

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Record and brief — Boyle v. United Technologies Corp. · 487 U.S. 500 | Frix