Record and brief — White v. United States

Supreme Court brief1989

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 88-928-CFX Title: James M. White, etc., Petitioner

Status: GRANTED Vv.

United States, et al.

Docketed: Court: United States Court of Appeals

December 3, 1988 for the Second Circuit

Counsel for petitioner: Payment,Kenneth A.

Counsel for respondent: Solicitor General

Entry Date Note Proceedings and Orders

1 Dec 3 1988 G Petition for writ of certiorari filed.

2 Dec 3 1988 Appendix of petitioner James White, etc. filed.

4 Jan 3 1989 Brief amici curiae of New York State Bar Association, et al.

filed.

6 Jan 3 1989 Order extending time to file response to petition until

February 4, 1989.

7 Feb 11989 #£=Brief of respondents United States, et al. in opposition

filed.

8 Feb 8 1989 DISTRIBUTED. February 24, 1989

9 Feb 27 1989 Petition GRANTED.

SAEAAAAAAAEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARAAAAAAARARAARAEREE

11 Mar 17 1989 Order extending time to file brief of petitioner on the

merits until April 27, 1989.

12 Mar 17 1989 Joint appendix filed.

13. Apr 26 1989 Brief amici curiae of New York State Bar Association, et al.

filed.

14 Apr 26 1989 Brief of petitioner James White, etc. filed.

16 May 26 1989 Order extending time to file brief of respondent on the

merits until June 20, 1989.

17 Jun 20 1989 Brief of respondent United States filed.

18 Jul 12 1989 CIRCULATED.

19 Jul 20 1989 SET FOR ARGUMENT TUESDAY, OCTOBER 3, 1989. (2ND CASE)

20 Jul 20 1989 X Revly brief of petitioner James White, etc. filed.

21 Sep 22 1989 Record filed.

* Certified copy of original record and proceedings

received.

22 Oct 3 1989 ARGUED.

PETITION

FOR WRIT OF

CERTIORARI

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1988

JAMES M. WHITE, as attorney for and as the Executor of the

Estate of Helen P. Smith, Deceased,

Petitioner,

vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA and JAMES M. SERLING,

Estate Tax Attorney, Internal Revenue Service,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Kenneth A. Payment, Esq.

Counsel of Record

A. Paul Britton, Esq.

HARTER, SECREST & EMERY

Attorneys for Petitioner

700 Midtown Tower

Rochester, New York 14604

Telephone: (716) 232-6500

JAMES M. WHITE, Esq.

624 Executive Office Building

Rochester, New York 14614

Telephone: (716) 454-2060

CRIS BOR I NS A SE RE ES Rt NE

mm benny tr ay (15133)

’

\

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

May the factual determination of a state court of original juris-

diction, awarding attorneys’ fees in an estate matter in accord-

ance with well-settled decisions of the state’s highest court, be

collaterally attacked by the Internal Revenue Service in federal

audit proceedings?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW...........

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ..............--000005:

rr eee

FE EEES occccccccccccccescocscsscoesesees

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS. STATUTES,

AND REGULATIONS ...... 2.2... 2c eee nceeeees

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Decisions of the District Court and Court of Appeals

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

A. The Decision of the Court Below Conflic:s With

Decisions in Other Circuits Regarding the Conclu-

siveness of a Probate Court Decree Under I.R.C.

B. The Decision of the Court Below Misconstrues

This Court’s Decision in Commissioner v. Estate of

C. The Ruling of the Court Below Makes the Require-

ment of “Relevance” a Dead Letter ............

D. Countervailing Considerations of Federalism

1. Federal authorities are not in a position to

effectively apply the Freeman criteria ........

13

16

19

iii

2. The appi cach of the lower court portends delay

in settling estates, uncertainty on the part of

taxpayers, and a demeaning of the legitimate

role of state probate courts...... P laa ieee 21

3. The approach of the lower court will engender

unnecessary new federal court litigation. ..... 24

Dee Ub ae Lk cece seecses 26

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Aaron, Estate of, 30 N.Y.2d 718, 332 N.Y.S.2d 717

I Ree ae eee eeu abi Saeed sccccccs 16

Bank of Nevada v. United States, 80-2 U.S. Tax Cas.

(CCH) ¢ 13,361, p. 85,817 (D. Nev. 1980).......... 11

Byers v. McAuley, 149 U.S. 608 (1893)............... 22

Commissioner v. Estate of Bosch, 387 U.S. 456, 18 L. Ed.

EEE EEE SE OO TT 8, 13, 15, 23

Dulles v. Johnson, 273 F.2d 362 (2d Cir. 1959), cert.

denied, 364 U.S. 834, 5 L. Ed. 2d 60 (1960)......... 11

Erie R. R. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64, 82 L. Ed. 1188

A eae oon kind wikigeneacese ces 14

First National Bank of Nevada v. United States, 77-2 U.S.

Tax Cas. (CCH) 4 13,207, p. 88,636 (D. Nev. 1977)... 10

Freeman, Estate of, 34 N.Y.2d 1, 355 N.Y.S.2d 336

EE MEE AREAS wih boeéeedcstsevccece passim

Giardina v. Fontana, 733 F.2d 1047 (2d Cir. 1984) ..... 22

Jenner, Estate of v. Commissioner, 577 F.2d 1100 (7th

ec Ee eke ks be cee decbescesecccecs 10

iv

Marcus v. DeWitt, 704 F.2d 1227 (11th Cir. 1983)...... 11

New York Trust Co. v. Eisner, 256 U.S. 345, 65 L. Ed. 963

ccd avs chcoaeeaareasabitisetessitedes aes 22

Noll, In re, 273 N.Y. 219, 125: hon da dhe deg we 16

Park, Estate of v. Commissioner, 475 F.2d 673 (6th Cir.

DE ah stadceadnesbhaceeddbbustes kbeeneestetes 11

Pitner v. United States, 388 F.2d 651 (Sth Cir. 1967). ... 11

Pott’s Estate, Matter of, 213 A.D. 59, 209 N.Y.S. 655

(4th Dep’t 1925), aff'd, 241 N.Y. 593 (1925) ........ 18

Shalman v. Levinson, 68 A.D.2d 940, 414 N.Y.S.2d 70

SE ng ca cckcckntsdeesaneuebere teedess 20

Smith, Estate of v. Commissioner, 510 F.2d 479 (2d Cir.

1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 827, 46 ~. Ed. 2d 44

Wilhelm, Matter of, 88 A.D.2d 6, 452 N.Y.S.2d 957 (4th

FE FEED we ce cccculivcccenvcccedsucdsastoswes 18, 19

Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37, 27 L. Ed. 2d 669 (1971) 22

Statutes

IED cbc cccsisveccgccnccscdvcouseuse 2

Internal Revenue Code § 2053(a)..............20005- 2, 9, 16

Internal Revenue Code § 7602(a)...............0005- 2, 19

Constitution of the State of New York art. 6, § 12(d) .. 3, 6

New York Surrogate’s Court Procedure Act § 201 (3) .. 3

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1988

JAMES M. WHITE, as attorney for and as the Executor of the

Estate of Helen P. Smith, Deceased,

Petitioner,

vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA and JAMES M. SERLING,

Estate Tax Attorney, Internal Revenue Service,

Respondents.

:

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals (reproduced at Appendix

A-1) (hereinafter “A.”) is reported at 853 F.2d 107 (2d Cir. 1988).

The opinion of the District Court (A. 26) is ee at 650 F.

Supp. 904 (W.D.N. Y. 1987).

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was dated and entered

on August 2, 1988. (A. 1) An order denying Petitioner White’s

Petition for Rehearing in banc was dated and entered on October

—— »

6, 1988. (A. 45) Jurisdiction to review the judgment of the Court

of Appeals is conferred on this Court by 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS,

STATUTES, AND REGULATIONS

The following constitutional provisions, statutes, and regula-

tions are involved in this petition:

1. Internal Revenue Code § 2053(a):

§ 2053. Expenses, indebtedness, and taxes

(a) General rule.—For purposes of the tax imposed by

section 2001, the value of the taxable estate shall be deter-

mined by deducting from the value of the gross estate such

amounts—

(1) for funeral expenses

(2) for administration expenses,

(3) for claims against the estate, and

(4) for unpaid mortgages... ,

as are allowable by the laws of the jurisdiction, whether

within or without the United States, under which the estate

is being administered.

2. Internal Revenue Code § 7602(a)

§ 7602. Examination of books and witnesses

(a) Authority to summon, etc.—For the purpose of

ascertaining the correctness of any return, making a return

where none has been made, determining the liability of any

person for any internal revenue tax or the liability at law or

in equity of any transferee or fiduciary of any person in

respect of any internal revenue tax, or collecting any such

liability, the Secretary or his delegate is authorized—

(1) To examine any books, papers, or other data which

may be relevant or material to such inquiry;

(2) To summon the person liable for tax or required to

perform the act, or any officer or employee of such person,

or any person having possession, custody, or care of books

of account containing entries relating to the business of the

person liable for tax or required to perform the act, or any

other person the Secretary or his delegate may deem proper,

to appear before the Secretary or his delegate at a time and

place named in the summons and to produce such books,

papers, records, or other data, and to give such testimony,

—— oath, as may be relevant or material to such inquiry;

an

(3) To take such testimony of the person concerned,

under oath, as may be relevant or material to such inquiry.

3. Constitution of the State of New York art. 6, § 12(d):

§ 12.

’

d. The surrogate’s court shall have jurisdiction over all

actions and proceedings relating to the affairs of decedents,

probate of wills, administration of estates and actions and

proceedings arising thereunder or pertaining thereto,

guardianship of the property of minors, and such other

actions and proceedings, not within the exclusive jurisdic-

tion of the supreme court, as may be provided by law.

4. New York Surrogate’s Court Procedure Act § 201(3):

§ 201. General jurisdiction of the surrogate’s court

3. The court shall continue to exercise full and complete

general jurisdiction in law and in equity to administer jus-

tice in all matters relating to the affairs of decedents, and

upon the return of any process to try and determine all ques-

tions, legal or equitable, arising between any or all of the

parties to any action or proceeding, or between any party

and any other person having any claim or interest therein,

over whom jurisdiction has been obtained as to any and all

matters necessary to be determined in order to make a full,

equitable and complete disposition of the matter by such

order or decree as justice requires.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Introduction

This case presents to this Court for the first time an issue that

now divides the Circuit Courts of Appeal. To be resolved is the

degree of deference owed by federal tax authorities to determina-

tions by state courts in matters within their particular province.

A state probate court has made an award of attorneys’ fees for

services rendered on behalf of an executor. The legal standards

governing this award have long been settled by the state’s highest

court. The probate court had only to exercise its discretion under

these standards based on the facts presented to it. Reasonable

attorneys’ fees for an executor, as administrative expenses

“allowable” by the law of the State, are deductible under section

2053(a) of the Internal Revenue Code.

Notwithstanding the probate court decree, the Internal Reve-

nue Service seeks in this case to make a collateral attack on the fee

amount awarded in the discretion of the probate court and to

relitigate the issue in federal court. The Second Circuit Court of

Appeals has now sanctioned the avalanche of new federal litiga-

tion portended by the Service’s position. The Sixth and Seventh

Circuit Courts of Appeals have previously reached contrary rul-

ings.

How the case arose

The case arose because a Rochester, New York lawyer, peti-

tioner James M. White, believed that Internal Revenue Service

auditors had no legitimate reason to subpoena his file and time

records for an estate he had represented. The district court

agreed with attorney White, but the Second Circuit Court of

Appeals reversed and ordered that the IRS summonses be

enforced.

The late Helen P. Smith, who lived in Monroe County, State of

New York, died in November, 1982, leaving an estate of approxi-

mately $450,000. Petitioner White, an experienced general prac-

titioner, was retained as both executor and attorney for the

Estate.

Within a month after Mrs. Smith’s death, attorne, White

obtained a decree of probate from ihe Monroe County Surro-

gate. The decree was based on a petition he had filed to probate

her Will and First Codicil, affidavits of attesting witnesses, and

waivers and consents from four out-of-state distributees. White

then collected the assets of the Estate, which included numerous

securities and cash accounts. Among other tasks, he paid various

cash legacies and distributed moneys to a dozen residuary lega-

tees. He caused the Estate to make a timely alternate valuation

election and prepared and filed federal and state estate tax

returns.

On July 17, 1984, after preparing and submitting a detailed

accounting, White obtained a decree of judicial settlement from

Monroe County Surrogate Arnold F. Ciaccio. The decree

included an express direction that attorney White be paid the

statutory fee as executor of the Estate and that he receive the sum

of $16,800 for legal services renrered * ict the benefit of the

Estate.” Each of the twelve residuary legatecs had received a copy

of the accounting, which had specifically requested the fee, and

each legatee had consented in writing to payment of the requested

fee.

The Surrogate Court in New York State, like its sister probate

courts in many other state systems, is a specialized court whose

principal role is to oversee the administration of local estates.

N.Y. Constitution art. 6, § 12(d); N.Y. Sur. Ct. Proc. Act

§ 201(3). More than any other lawyer or judicial officer, the local

Surrogate knows the role of local lawyers in estate practice. From

his experience and from reviewing the documents filed in Surro-

gate Court, a Surrogate Judge can assess the responsibility

assumed by an attorney for an estate of this size and complexity,

the steps needed to be taken, and the time they require. He can

also see whether the attorney carried out those responsibilities

promptly and effectively. Finally, because he must approve attor-

neys’ fees for every Monroe County estate where judicial settle-

ment is sought, a Surrogate Judge is familiar with local

community practice regarding attorneys’ fees for services ren-

dered in estate matters.

The tax return for the Smith estate listed deductions for the

executor’s fee and the attorney’s fee as approved by the Monroe

County Surrogate. The documents on file with the Surrogate

Court verified that the fees had actually been awarded and paid

to attorney White.

Several months later, the Internal Revenue Service undertook

an audit of the Smith estate tax return. In the course of the audit,

the Service wrote to White demanding documentation of the

basis for the executor’s and attorney’s fees taken as deductions.

The Service wanted to review the reasonableness of the fee

amount approved by the Surrogate, and to do so it demanded his

time records of work on the estate. In the alternative, the Service

demanded a list of acts performed for the Smith estate, time

spent on each task, and hourly rates.

It was apparent to White that, notwithstanding the Surrogate’s

decree, the Service intended to decide for itself what his services

as a lawyer for the Estate were worth, based primarily on his

timesheets, and to limit the estate tax deduction accordingly. As

he saw it, however, his time records and hourly rates did not bear

on the reasonableness of his fee under New York law; in any case,

the only issue that could possibly concern the Service was

whether his fee had been approved under New York law by the

Monroe County Surrogate.

White supported his posi*ion by obtaining a February 25, 1985

letter from the Surrogate Court that addressed the question of

the attorney’s fee in the Smith estate (A. 53). The Surrogate’s let-

ter stated:

This is to advise that the fee set is in keeping with our

ordinary and customary guidelines which have been fol-

lowed in this Court for several years. Moreover, it conforms

to the criteria established by the Court of Appeals in Matter

of Freeman, 34 N.Y.2d 1 and in Matter of Potts, 241 N.Y.

593. . . . Inconclusion, I state to you that a re-review of the

file and account submitted justify in every respect both the

commission and the fee approval. These are not done in an

arbitrary fashion but rather as indicated following the

application of various criteria.

The Service was unpersuaded. White was served with two IRS

summonses demanding the previously requested records. (A. 46,

50) White appeared in person and later by a representative, but

respectfully declined to comply. The Service eventually disal-

lowed the attorney’s fee deduction in the Smith estate in its

entirety and assessed a deficiency.

Decisions of the District Court and Court of Appeals

In the meantime, the Service commenced a proceeding in

United States District Court to enforce its summonses. The mat-

ter came before Hon. Michael A. Telesca, U.S.D.J. (who had

served as Monroe County Surrogate Judge himself for many

years until he was appointed to the federal bench).

The district judge issued a considered Decision and Order in

which he declined to enforce the summonses. He ruled that the

Service’s objective of making an independent determination of

the reasonableness of the executor’s fee and the attorney’s fee

awarded to White was not a proper purpose. He held that the IRS

was bound to accept the determination of a state probate court

which had applied state law as pronounced by the state’s highest

court. In the district court’s view, the Service’s position that it

could collaterally review a Surrogate Court determination vio-

lated principles of federalism. 650 F. Supp. 904 (W.D.N.Y. 1987)

(A. 26).

The Second Circuit Court of Appeals reversed and directed

that the summonses be enforced. In the court’s view, the Service

had made a prima facie case for enforcement merely by alleging

in aconclusory affidavit that the purpose of its investigation was

to determine the tax liability of the Smith Estate, that it needed

the subpoenaed books and records for that purpose, and that it

did not already have them.

The court rejected the argument that enforcement was never-

theless improper because there was no valid purpose for these

particular summonses. The court held that the decree of the Sur-

rogate alone did not establish the deductibility of the Estate’s

attorney’s fee under section 2053(a) of the Internal Revenue

Code. Furthermore, the court interpreted Commissioner v.

Estate of Bosch, 387 U.S. 456, 18 L. Ed. 2d 886 (1967), to entitle

the Service to make “an independent assessment” of the validity

of the attorney’s fee under state law, since the Surrogate’s decree

came from a mere trial-level court, not from New York’s highest

court.

Finally, the Court of Appeals found no danger that collateral

review by the Service of the fee amount approved by the Surro-

gate would cast disrespect on the considered judgment of a state

court. 853 F.2d 107 (2d Cir. 1988) (A. 1).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

A. The Decision of the Court Below Conflicts With Decisions in

Other Circuits Regarding the Conclusiveness of a Probate

Court Decree Under I.R.C. Section 2053(a).

The key issue in this case is whether the Service was bound

under section 2053(a) of the Internal Revenue Code to accept the

State court’s determination as to the amount of a reasonable

attorney’s fee, or whether the Service was free to determine a rea-

sonable fee independently. The decision of the Second Circuit

Court of Appeals conflicts with prior Sixth and Seventh Circuit

decisions of the Sixth Circuit and district court decisions in the

Ninth Circuit.

Section 2053(a) entitles an estate to deduct amounts for admin-

istrative expenses “as are allowable by the laws of the jurisdiction

. . . under which the estate is being administered.” The Service’s

— and now the Second Circuit’s — position agrees with the

approach of the Sixth and Seventh Circuits and petitioner in

holding that deductibility depends on the application of state law.

These courts differ sharply, however, on the issue of who is to

apply state law. The Sixth and Seventh Circuits hold that an

expense is “allowable by the laws of the jurisdiction” if @ court in

that jurisdiction has so ruled, applying state law. But the Second

Circuit has now held that the statute merely requires the Service

to apply state rules of law in determining allowability for itself.

According to the Second Circuit’s decision in the instant case, the

statute is indifferent to rulings of a state trial-level court as to par-

ticular expenses for particular estates. 853 F.2d at 113.

10

Thus, in Estate of Park v. Commissioner, 475 F.2d 673 (6th

Cir. 1973), the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals interpreted section

2053(a) to mean that if a particular expense has been allowed

under state probate proceedings as a charge against an estate, it is

necessarily deductible under section 2053(a). “Congress has

committed to the considered judgment of the states whether a

particular expense is allowable as a proper or necessary charge

against estate assets.” Jd. at 676.

The Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals has agreed with this

construction of the statute. In Estate of Jenner v. Commissioner,

577 F.2d 1100 (7th Cir. 1978), the court followed Park in holding

that if an expense has been found by a state probate court to be

allowable, the full amount is “allowable” for purposes of the

statute authorizing a deduction for administration expenses. “As

a general rule the decree of a probate court approving expendi-

tures as proper administrative expenses under state law will con-

trol.” Jd. at 1106. Both Park and Jenner rejected the notion that

the deductibility of particular expenses depends on whether the

Internal Revenue Service independently concludes that they are

allowable under state law — the position the Service has

advanced in the present case.

Several years later, the District Court for Nevada took a posi-

tion similar to that of the Sixth and Seventh Circuits in a case that

specifically involved the deductibility of attorneys’ fees. In First

National Bank of Nevada v. United States, 77-2 U.S. Tax Cas.

(CCH) 4 13,207, p. 88,636 (D. Nev. 1977), a taxpayer sued for a

refund of estate taxes, complaining that the Service had disal-

lowed all but $60,000 of a $200,000 attorney's fee award made by

a Nevada probate court. The issue, as stated by the district court,

was whether the United States was entitled to litigate the reason-

ableness of a fee fixed by the state court in an estate proceeding.

The district court, on the taxpayer’s motion for summary judg-

ment, held that it was not:

Once a proper state court has allowed an attorney’s fee, and

such fee is paid, the Internal Revenue Service is without

authority to disallow, as nondeductible under Section 2053

of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954, such fee or any part

thereof, absent allegations of fraud or collusion, or the like

supporting a conclusion that a fraud on the revenue had

been perpetrated.

Id. at 88, 640-41. There was no appeal.

Several years later, the Service took essentially the same posi-

tion on another Nevada estate, with the same result in favor of

the taxpayer. In Bank of Nevada v. United States, 80-2 U.S. Tax

Cas. (CCH) { 13,361, p. 85,817 (D. Nev. 1980), the Service disal-

lowed $450,000 of a deduction for a $839,000 attorney’s fee

allowed by the probate court with respect to an $18 million estate.

The federal district court granted the taxpayer’s motion for sum-

mary judgment in a refund suit, noting that there were “no unu-

sua! circumstances to take the case out of the general rule that a

probate court’s decree is ordinarily to be accepted.”

In the present case, the Service concedes that attorneys’ fees

are, in general, allowable items of administrative expense.' The

Service also concedes that New York law, as represented by the

ruling of New York’s highest court in Estate of Freeman, 34

N.Y.2d 1, 355 N.Y.S.2d 336 (1974), governs the factors that

affect the amount of an attorney’s fee that may be charged

against an estate as “allowable”. However, the Service has little

' This rule is well established. See, e.g., Dulles v. Johnson, 273 F.2d 362 (2d Cir.

1959), cert. denied, 364 U.S. 834, 5 L. Ed. 2d 60 (1960). The present case thus

does not involve the distinct, more difficult issue of whether an expense

deductible unaer state law may nevertheless not be the type that is an “admin-

istration expense” within the meaning of the statute. Compare Marcus v.

DeWitt, 704 F.2d 1227 (11th Cir. 1983); Estate of Smith v. Commissioner, $10

F.2d 479 (2d Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 827, 46 L. Bd. 2d 44 (1975); and

Pitner v. United States, 388 F.2d 651 (Sth Cir. 1967), with Estate of Park v.

Commissioner, 475 F.2d 673 (6th Cir. 1973) (discussed above at page 10).

12

interest in the result already reached by the Monroe County Sur-

rogate Court, which has applied New York law to the very fee

whose deductibility is in question.

Instead, the Service claims the liberty to apply the Freeman cri-

teria itself to determine what was a reasonable fee for represent-

ing Mrs. Smith’s estate. Then, presumably, the Service will allow

a deduction for its amount for estate tax purposes.

The Second Circuit has now adopted the Service’s position:

[T]he IRS is entitled to make an independent assessment of

the validity of White’s fees under applicable state law as

determined by the state’s highest court. . . . In this case,

although the IRS is bound by the factors established in Free-

man, it is not bound by the Surrogate’s application of those

factors.

853 F.2d at 114(A. 16).

This Court, it is respectfully submitted, should resolve the con-

flict in interpretation of section 2053(a) between the Sixth and

Seventh Circuits, on one hand, and the Internal Revenue Service

and the Second Circuit, on the other. The Service’s position that a

fee amount that has actually been allowed by a local probate

court is not necessarily “allowable by the laws of the jurisdic-

tion” turns the word “allowable” on its head.

Moreover, Congress can hardly have contemplated a duplica-

tive process that requires the Service to perform, de novo, the

same task of applying state law to a particular fee application

that a probate court has already performed. Surely Congress

intended, as it considered the interaction of federal tax law with

state administration of decedents’ estates, to permit taxpayers to

rely on the deductibility of amounts approved by probate courts.

13

B. The Decision of the Court Below Misconstrues This Court’s

Decision in Commissioner v. Estate of Bosch.

In Commissioner v. Estate of Bosch, 387 U.S. 456, 18 L. Ed. 2d

886 (1967), this Court established the choice-of-law principle that

where a state’s highest court has not passed on an issue of Jaw

that is at issue in a federal proceeding, the government is not

bound by rulings a lower court may have made on that issue. /d.

at 465, 18 L. Ed. 2d at 893-94.

Bosch dealt with issues of law. But the Second Circuit Court of

Appeals has now improperly construed Bosch to mean that fed-

eral authorities are also free to disregard a lower state court adju-

dication of matters of discretion and fact — even where the rule

of law is not at issue — unless that determination is appealed to

and affirmed by the state’s highest court.

The Bosch decision resolved two appeals that dealt with sepa-

rate legal issues that were unsettled under state law: whether a

document purporting to release a general power of appointment

was valid under New York law, and whether federal estate taxes

should be prorated under Connecticut law notwithstanding a tes-

tamentary directive to the contrary. Local probate courts had

been called upon to resolve both points of law without the benefit

of controlling precedent from the appellate courts of New York

and Connecticut. Neither decision was appealed. Jd. at 457-61,

18 L. Ed. 2d at 889-92.

These lower court state rulings affected federal estate tax lia-

bility, and the issue on audit was whether they should be given

conclusive effect for tax purposes. This Court agreed with the

Service that the decisions of the trial-level courts were not con-

trolling. Jd. at 464-65, 18 L. Ed. 2d at 893-94. The Second Circuit

has, however, now construed Bosch to mean that no adjudication

of rights and obligations from a trial-level state court need be

14

~

honored by the Service unless that very decision has been

appealed to and affirmed by the state’s highest court. (A. 15)

The limited holding in Bosch, however, was simply that where

a rule of law has not been settled by a state’s highest court, the

IRS is not necessarily bound to follow a lower court’s view of the

rule of law, but should attempt, like a lower state court, to ascer-

tain what the law of the state actually is. In Bosch, of course, the

issue was whether trial-level state-court rulings in cases involving

the very taxpayers in question must be followed. The issue arose,

however, because the trial-level ruling was on an unsettled issue

of state law.

Thus, this Court in Bosch was concerned only with a choice-

of-law question. It resolved it by analogy to the Erie doctrine,

which governs choice-of-law questions in diversity cases: “‘state

law as announced by the highest court of the State is to be fol-

lowed.” 387 U.S. at 475, 18 L. Ed. 2d at 893-94 (see Erie R. R. v.

Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64, 82 L. Ed. 1188 (1938)). As a corollary of

the Erie doctrine, this Court observed, “the decision of a state

trial court as to an underlying issue of state Jaw should a fortiori

not be controlling.” 387 U.S. at 465, 18 L. Ed. 2d at 893 (empha-

sis supplied).

In other words, where the rule of law is in doubt, the goal of

federal authorities should be to ascertain, by reference to lower

court authorities or other persuasive data, what the highest court

in the state would decide the rule of law to be. Jd. As this Court

held:

This is not a diversity case but the same principle may be

applied for the same reasons, viz., the underlying substan-

tive rule involved is based on state law and the State’s high-

est court is the best authority on its own law. Jf there be no

decision by that court then federal authorities must apply

what they find to be the state law after giving “proper

regard” to relevant rulings of other courts of the State. In

j

‘

;

}

15

this respect, it may be said to be, in effect, sitting as a state.

court.

Id. at 465, 18 L. Ed. 2d at 894 (emphasis supplied).

Unlike Bosch, the present case does not involve an unsettled

issue of state law. Bosch is not on point because the “underlying

substantive rule” governing an award of attorneys’ fees in the

Helen P. Smith estate is not in doubt. The substantive rule is

unambiguously set forth in Estate of Freeman, 34 N.Y.2d 1, 355

N.Y.S.2d 336 (1974). Neither the Monroe County Surrogate nor

the Internal Revenue Service needs to divine what the state’s

highest court might consider as factors controlling an attorney’s

fee award.

The Second Circuit characterized the Surrogate’s ruling as

“one court’s interpretation of applicable state Jaw.” 853 F.2d 107

at 114 (emphasis supplied). But the Monroe County Surrogate

did not interpret or resolve any issue of New York law. He merely

applied it, exercising his discretion on the basis of a factual

record with which he was uniquely familiar, under standards

unambiguously set forth by New York’s highest court. This was a

markedly different case from Bosch since, under Freeman, fee

award determinations are “findings of fact.” 34 N. Y.2d at 10, 355

N.Y.S.2d at 342.

Under the Second Circuit’s ruling, the amount of the Surro-

gate’s fee award to attorney White would be binding on the Inter-

nal Revenue Service only if someone had objected to it and

appealed to the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court, and

then only if the fee was also approved on further appeal to the

New York Court of Appeals. Under New York law, however, such

a scenario is fanciful, because the Surrogate’s exercise of discre-

tion on fee awards is not reviewable in the New York Court of

Appeals. That court has stated that “we do not review” awards

of attorneys’ fees because they are “matters resting in discre-

16

tion.” In re Noll, 273 N.Y. 219, 225-26 (1937). Accord, Estate of

Aaron, 30 N.Y.2d 718, 332 N.Y.S.2d 891 (1972).

If the Service were correct that no Surrogate Court fee award is

binding unless and until it has been specifically approved by the

New York Court of Appeals, therefore, the perverse result would

be that no Surrogate Court award would ever be binding on the

Service. It has been 14 years since an issue as to the amount of any

particular estate attorney’s fee was last litigated all the way to the

New York Court of Appeals. That was the Freeman case itself

(Estate of Freeman, 34 N.Y.2d 1, 355 N.Y.S.2d 336 (1974)), and

the issue was one of /aw, not whether the Surrogate’s decree was

proper as a matter of fact and discretion. Indeed, the Court of

Appeals, citing Noll, pointedly noted that it was “powerless” to

overturn an independent determination by the Surrogate. 34

N.Y.2d at 10, 355 N.Y.S.2d at 341-42.

The court below failed to distinguish between issues of law,

which are controlled by Bosch, and issues of fact and discretion,

which are not. This Court should grant this Petition for a Writ of

Certiorari in order to rectify the Second Circuit’s misconstruc-

tion of the decision in Bosch.

C. The Ruling of the Court Below Makes the Requirement of

“Relevance” a Dead Letter.

Under United States v. Powell, 379 U.S. 48, 13 L. Ed. 2d 112

(1964), the first factor for judicial enforcement of a summons is a

showing that the investigation will be conducted for a legitimate

purpose. Jd. at 57, 13 L. Ed. 2d at 119. Because, as already dis-

cussed, the Service has no business attempting to revisit and re-

determine a fee amount that has been fixed by the New York

Surrogate Court, the fundamental purpose of its purported

investigation is illegitimate.

17

In any case, however, Powell also requires that the Service’s

inquiry be “relevant” to its purpose. Jd. In the present case the

Service’s position has been hopelessly inconsistent. On the sur-

face, the Service assures the courts that it wants nothing more

than to apply the Freeman criteria independently in order to

value attorney White’s services to Mrs. Smith’s estate. But this

Court need look no further than the Service’s summonses (A. 46,

50) to see that the real focus of the Service’s inquiry is White’s

recorded time and his customary hourly rates. The Service

plainly wants to ascertain whether White’s fee is justified on an

hourly rate basis.

Hours expended and hourly rates are irrelevant under New

York law. In Estate of Freeman, 34 N.Y.2d 1, 355 N.Y.S.2d 336

(1974), an attorney’s fee of $13,250 was ultimately approved as a

charge against an estate whose principal amounted to $314,959.”

In the exercise of the Surrogate’s discretion, the New York Court

of Appeals stated, the factors relevant to a fee award include

— time and labor required,

— difficulty of the questions presented and the skill

required to handle the problems presented,

— the lawyer’s experience, ability, and reputation,

— the amount involved,

— the benefit to the client from the services,

— community custom and practice regarding estate attor-

neys’ fees,

— the contingency or certainty of compensation,

— results obtained, and

. By comparison, the Surrogate in the present case approved an attorney's fee

of $16,800 for services rendered to an estate of approximately $450,000.

18

— responsibility involved.

34 N.Y.2d at 6, 9-10, 355 N.Y.S.2d at 337-38, 340-41. The court

singled out “amount involved” and also emphasized the legiti-

macy of “customary fees” as a proper factor. Jd. at 9-10, 355

N.Y.S.2d at 341.3

Under Freeman, what is relevant is “time and effort required,”

not, as the Service seems to think, “time and effort actually

expended.” Under New York law:

The value of an attorney’s services cannot be limited to

“specified and detailed bills of particulars with a specified

amount for each item, as in the case of goods sold, or mere

manual services rendered.”

The standards by which the value of such services is mea-

sured is, however, the fair and reasonable value of the ser-

vices rendered after considering the various elements

referred to. I do not think items as to time actually

employed in work on the case are of much importance. It is

the ability of the attorney and his capacity and success in

handling large and important matters and in commanding

large fees therefor, the amount involved, and the result

obtained, which are of prime importance in determining

what constitutes a just and reasonable charge.

Matter of Pott’s Estate, 213 A.D. 59, 62, 209 N.Y.S. 655, 657-58

(4th Dep’t), aff'd, 241 N.Y. 593 (1925) (emphasis supplied). The

more recent Freeman decision relies on Pott’s Estate and does

not permit the conclusion that time actually expended, or cus-

tomary hourly rates, are factors that a New York Surrogate is

obligated to consider in allowing an estate attorney’s fee.

> The Freeman guidelines accord with long-standing New York case law, see

Matter of Pott’s Estate, 213 A.D. 59, 209 N.Y.S. 655 (4th Dep't), aff'd, 241

N.Y. 593 (1925), and they are regularly utilized and cited in estate administra-

tion matters, e.g., Matter of Wilhelm, 88 A.D.2d 6, 12, 452 N.Y.S.2d 957, 961

(4th Dep’t 1982).

19

Indeed, in Freeman the Court of Appeals rejected arguments

that a Surrogate, in fixing an attorney’s fee, should rely primarily

on evidence as to services performed. See 34 N.Y.2d at 2 (official

reporter’s summary of arguments of counsel). The factors enu-

merated by the Court were — except for “size of the estate” —

intangible matters that cannot be injected into a formula or

quantified. The court clearly intended, instead, to invest local

Surrogates with a large meesure of discretion. 34 N.Y.2d at 9-10,

355 N.Y.S.2d at 341. “There is no hard and fast rule for deter-

mining reasonable compensation. . . ”” Matter of Wilhelm, 88

A.D.2d 6, 12, 452 N. Y.S.2d 957, 961 (4th Dep’t 1982).

The Second Circuit has correctly noted that “relevance” under

Powell is not the same as “relevance” under rules of evidence.

853 F.2d at 116. Under Powell, records may be obtained by the

prt enact seo Remy eth ttn gn

United States v. Powell, 379 U.S. 48, 57, 13 L. Ed. 2d 112, :

pg ene ont a agi

below demonstrates that the Circuit is unwilling to take a

hard look at summonses that materials that are not even

potentially relevant to a determination of tax liability. The Ser-

vice’s emphasis on “time spent” and “hourly rates” shows that it

has no genuine intention of applying Freeman at all. Those items

are simply not “relevant”, or even potentially relevant, to an

“allowable” fee under New York law.

D. Countervailing Considerations of Federalism Require Defer-

ence to State Court Determinations in Matters of Estate

Administration.

The court below was critical (813 F.2d at 117) of the district

court for its sensitivity to considerations of comity and federal-

ism in construing section 2053(a). The court seems not to have

considered, however, either the unique ability of a local probate

court to knowledgeably evaluate the relevant circumstances

20

under state law, the impossible burden its ruling will place on tax-

payers and ultimately on the federal courts, or its ruling’s poten-

tial for engendering new litigation.

1. Federal authorities are not in a position to effectively apply

the Freeman criteria.

No matter whether a Surrogate Judge or the Service deter-

mines the fair value of legal services to an estate, the criteria set

forth in Estate of Freeman, 34 N.Y.2d 1, 355 N.Y.S.2d 336

(1974), must nevertheless be applied. Local probate judges are

able to apply those criteria out of a first-hand store of experi-

ences. Federal authorities cannot.

For example, under Freeman a reasonable attorney’s fee

depends in part on the difficulty of the questions involved in the

estate and the skill required to handle them. /d. at 9, 355

N.Y.S.2d at 341. A probate court judge knows the problems of

individual estates because he has overseen and, in many cases,

helped to resolve them. But a government tax attorney or a fed-

eral court is unlikely to appreciate the ease or complexity of estate

achieve the perspective of a probate judge.

Similarly, under Freeman the experience, ability, and reputa-

tion of the attorney handling the estate, together with the cus-

tomary fees charged by the Bar for similar services, must be

considered. Jd.; see Shalman v. Levinson, 68 A.D.2d 940, 414

N.Y.S.2d 70 (3d Dep’t 1979). Local probate judges know the

local estate bar; they can draw on personal knowledg: in consid-

ering these factors. Federal tax auditors and federal judges, on

the other hand, are typically unfamiliar with the ability and

standing of local estate lawyers and customary fees in the com-

munity. They will be unable to assess these factors without expert

assistance.

21

Again, under Freeman a Surrogate Judge is required to con-

sider how much an estate has benefited from the services of its

lawyer. 34 N. Y.2d at 9, 355 N.Y.S.2d at 341. But federal authori-

ties would have to review virtually the entire administration of an

estate — including aspects in which they have no expertise — to

determine how a lawyer's work benefited his client. Local pro-

bate judges, on the other hand, know first-hand the benefits par-

ticular services confer.

Thus, the discretion vested in the New York Surrogate Court to

set attorneys’ fees presupposes a judge’s personal knowledge of

estate administration generally, of the problems of particular

estates, of the estate bar and its practices, and of individual estate

attorneys. The Internal Revenue Service lacks first-hand know}-

edge of estate administration. It is ill-situated to apply the Free-

man criteria and prone, as its practices in western New York

demonstrate, to substitute its own notions of how fees ought to

be set. The absence of any likelihood whatsoever that the Inter-

nal Revenue Service could apply local standards such as the Free-

man criteria even half as well as a local probate court was surely a

principal reason why the authors of I.R.C. Section 2053(a) chose

to make “allowability” under state law the test for estate tax

deductibility.

2. The approach of the lower court portends delay in settling

estates, uncertainty on the part of taxpayers, and a demean-

ing of the legitimate role of state probate courts.

Estate taxpayers will find themselves in an unenviable position

under the Second Circuit's and Service’s approach. In preparing

an estate tax return, an executor is bound to take a deduction for

the attorney’s fee approved by the probate court. But that figure

will almost certainly be revised by the Service if it audits the

return under the standards approved by the Second Circuit. Only

by coincidence will the Surrogate’s view of a reasonable attor-

22

ney’s fee, based on his application of the Freeman criteria, be the

same as the Service’s independent assessment.

Freeman sets forth pn» mathematical formula for attorneys’

fees that will allow the Surrogate to calculate, the executor to

double-check, or the Service to merely verify the amount.

Instead, Freeman requires the exercise of discretion — an inher-

ently subjective determination — and it would be a rare case in

which two authorities exercise discretion with precisely the same

result.

Consequently, estate tax liability will be revised on a routine

basis, not in order to correct errors that an executor might with

due diligence avoid, but to reflect de novo determinations by the

Service that an executor cannot conceivably predict. No matter

what he reports on the return, the executor can never know the

actual tax liability of his estate unless and until the return is

audited and the Service has made its own assessment of a reason-

able fee.

The product will be delay and uncertainty in estate administra-

tion and virtual obliteration of the role of local probate courts.

The fee award of a New York Surrogate will be of litile more than

academic interest; the amount ultimately approved by the Service

will be the one that matters.

Congress could not have intended this. As District Judge

Telesca pointed out in his decision (650 F. Supp. at 909) (A. 38-

41), the courts have long recognized the special province of states

in matters of decedents’ estates administration. New York Trust

Co. v. Eisner, 256 U.S. 345, 65 L. Ed. 963 (1921); Byers v.

McAuley, 149 U.S. 608 (1893); see Giardina v. Fontana, 733 F.2d

1047 (2d Cir. 1984). Concern for a “proper respect for state func-

tions” under our federal system, see Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S.

37, 44, 27 L. Ed. 2d 669, 675 (1971), is never more appropriate

23

than in cases involving the administration of decedents’ estates.

As Justice Black commented in Younger, federalism represents

a system in which there is to the inter-

cnaltah anasto aia

the National Government, anxious though it may be to vin-

dicate and protect federal rights and federal interests,

always endeavors to do so in ways that will not unduly inter-

fere with the legitimate activities of the States.

Id. at 44, 27 L. Ed. 2d at 676. Given the strong interest and com-

petence of the states in matters pertaining to decedents’ estates,

District Judge Telesca properly invoked Justice Harlan’s views in

dissent in the Bosch case:

[T]he federal interest requires only that the Commissioner

Commissioner v. Estate of Bosch, 387 U.S. 456, 480-81, 18 L. Ed.

2d 886, 902 (1967) (Harlan, J., dissenting).

White’s position in this case does not threaten, as the Second

Circuit may have feared, to undermine the summons enforce-

ment powers of the Internal Revenue Service, which can still

exercise its broad powers to investigate the possibility that state

decrees have been obtained by collusion, fraud, or the like. The

objectionable aspect of the Second Circuit’s ruling is not its reaf-

firmation of the Service’s subpoena powers, but its assertion that

the Service can use the materials it subpoenas to review fee

amounts de novo. Collateral review of this sort exceeds the Con-

gressional warrant.

24

Section 2053(a)’s reference to allowability under state law is an

explicit recognition of the overriding interest of the states in

estate administration. It should not be construed, as the court

below has done, to undermine that interest.

3. The approach of the lower court will engender unnecessary

new federal court litigation.

The approach sanctioned by the court below will spawn a new

species of litigation over estate attorneys’ fees. Until now, as the

New York cases cited above at pages 15-16 demonstrate, a Surro-

gate Court’s award of attorneys’ fees has been subject to reversal

in the Supreme Court, Appellate Division only on the basis of

abuse of discretion; it may not be reviewed at all in the Court of

Appeals. In this manner New York law effectively discourages

extensive litigation concerning attorneys’ fees. But if the decision

of the Second Circuit is allowed to stand, estate attorneys’ fee

amounts will routinely be litigated — but in federal, not state

court.

In its machinations over the Smith estate, the Internal Revenue

Service has given a glimpse of the future. In the present matter,

petitioner White paid the deficiency assessed against the Smith

estate when the Service arbitrarily disallowed the entire attor-

neys’ fee awarded by the Surrogate. He was then required to sue

for a refund in a collateral proceeding in the Western District of

New York. After the Second Circuit rendered its decision in this

case, the Service filed a demand for a jury trial in the refund

action!

{

What will be tried before this jury — and in the other refund

actions that other executors are sure to institute now that the Sec-

ond Circuit has given its blessing to collateral review of fee

awards by federal tax authorities? Will Mr. White be compelled

to justify his fee by introducing expert testimony from estate

25

practitioners as to the work required, the complexity of the mat-

ter, and the benefit to the estate? Will he need to call to the wit-

ness stand other members of the Monroe County bar to attest to

his experience, ability, and reputation? Will he be required to

produce Surrogate Judge Ciaccio to testify as to community cus-

tom and practice regarding fees? Will the Service then be permit-

ted to cross-examine che Surrogate as to whether he fully

mae the Freeman criteria before authorizing Mr.

White's

It is respectfully submitted that Congress could not have con-

templated the possibility of federal court trials — whether by

judge or by jury — over the reasonableness of attorneys’ fees in

estate matters. Surely Congress intended, instead, to preclude

such litigation by authorizing an unqualified deduction for such

administrative expenses as are “allowable” under state law.

CONCLUSION

No federal interest is served by permitting the Internal Reve-

nue Service or the federal courts to redetermine the reasonable-

ness of an attorney’s fee that has already been considered and

approved by a state probate court. Congress authorized the

Smith Estate to deduct administrative expenses that were “allow-

able” under the laws of the State of New York, and the Monroe

County Surrogate Court did allow Mr. White's fee. No proper

purpose was served, therefore, by Internal Revenue summonses

seeking records that would aid the Service in redetermining the

reasonable value of Mr. White’s services.

The circuit courts are divided on this issue, which implicates

the construction of this Court’s Bosch decision and threatens to

undermine settled principles of federalism. It is respectfully

urged, therefore, that the Court grant the petition and set the

case for argument.

December 2, 1988

Respectfully submitted,

Kenneth A. Payment, Esq.

Counsel of Record

A. Paul Britton, Esq.

HARTER, SECREST & EMERY

Attorneys for Petitioner

700 Midtown Tower

Rochester, New York 14604

(716) 232-6500

JAMES M. WHITE, Esq.

624 Executive Office Building

Rochester, New York 14614

(716) 454-2060

Se ee ee eee

APPENDIX

In The °

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1988

JAMES M. WHITE, as attorney for and as the Executor of the

Estate of Helen P. Smith, Deceased,

Petitioner,

vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA and JAMES M. SERLING,

Estate Tax Attorney, Internal Revenue Service,

Respondents.

APPENDIX

Kenneth A. Payment, Esq.

Counsel of Record

A. Paul Britton, Esq.

HARTER, SECREST & EMERY

Attorneys for Petitioner

700 Midtown Tower

Rochester, New York 14604

Telephone: (716) 232-6500

JAMES M. WHITE, Esq.

624 Executive Office Building

Rochester, New York 14614

Telephone: (716) 454-2060

Rochester New York (15123)

——_— rv - —— _ — —_ = eS ~~ SS -Crtcic ele C—O

Decision of United States Court of Appeals for the Sec-

ond Circuit, decided August 2, 1988 (reported at 853

PE cde LbddenSédet ve dbdctebdsdccoorscoces

Decision of United States District Court for Western Dis-

trict of New York, Hon. Michael A. Telesca, U.S.D.J.,

dated January 7, 1987 (reported at 650 F.Supp. 904).

Order of United States Court of Appeals for the Second

Circuit, filed October 6, 1988, denying Petition for

Internal Revenue Service Summons, dated November 10,

1982, directed to James M. White, Executor and

Internal Revenue Service Summons, dated November 10,

1982, directed to James M. White, Executor........

Letter from Monroe County Surrogate Arnold F. Ciaccio

to James M. White, Esq., dated February 25, 1985. .

A-l

A-26

A-5S0

A-S3

:

A-1!

853 FEDERAL REPORTER, 2d SERIES

U.S. v. WHITE

Cite as 853 F.2d 107 (2nd Cir. 1988)

[107-118]

UNITED STATES of America, and James M. Serling, Estate Tax

Attorney, Internal Revenue Service, Petitioners-Appellants,

Vv.

James M. WHITE, as attorney for and as executor of the Estate

of Helen P. Smith, deceased, Respondent-Appellee.

No. 83, Docket 87-6046.

United States Court of Appeals,

Second Circuit.

Argued Sept. 3, 1987.

Decided Aug. 2, 1988.

Federal government petitioned for enforcement of two IRS

summonses requiring executor to substantiate deductions he

claimed on federal estate tax return. The United States District

Court for the Western District of New York, Michael A. Telesca,

J., 650 F.Supp. 904, denied petition, and Government appealed.

The Court of Appeals, Pierce, Circuit Judge, held that: (1) Gov-

ernment established prima facie case for enforcement of IRS

summonses; (2) IRS could investigate expenses claimed as deduc-

tion on federal estate tax return and obtain enforcement of sum-

mons, although expenses previously had been approved under

state law by state trial court; (3) executor’s own books and

records were relevant to Internal Revenue Service’s investigation;

and (4) federalism and comity did not constitute substantial

countervailing policy that would justify imposing requirement

A-2

upon IRS to make advance showing of fraud, overreaching, or

excessiveness by executor or state trial court before allowing

enforcement of summonses.

Reversed and remanded.

1. Internal Revenue 4513

Government established prima facie case for enforcement of

IRS summonses to compel executor of estate to substantiate

deductions he claimed on estate tax return; IRS agent submitted

affidavit which averred that purpose of investigation was to

determine correct tax liability, that summoned books and records

were necessary, that books and records were not already in pos-

session of IRS, and that administrative steps required by Code

had been followed. 26 U.S.C.A. §7602.

2. Internal Revenue 4512

Once government has established prima facie case for enforce-

ment of IRS summonses, burden shifts to taxpayer to disprove

existence of valid tax determination purpose for IRS inquiry.

3. Internal Revenue 3016

Internal Revenue Service could investigate expenses claimed as

deduction on federal estate tax return, and obtain enforcement

of summonses issued to carry out investigation, although

expenses had previously been approved under state law by state

trial court; state trial court decrees are not determinative of fed-

eral deductibility of expenses to exclusion of any federal inquiry,

and IRS may make independent assessment of deductibility of

expenses under state law and assess acceptability of court decree

for federal tax purposes. 26 U.S.C.A. § 2053(a)(2).

LL ————

4. Internal Revenue 4496

Executor’s own books and records were relevant in proceeding

to enforce summons issued to carry out Internal Revenue Ser-

vice’s investigation of expenses claimed as deduction on federal

estate tax return, despite executor’s contention that only records

of state trial court, which previously approved expenses, were

relevant; IRS need establish no more than potential relevance of

taxpayer’s books and records in summons enforcement proceed-

ing.

- 5. Internal Revenue 4490

In appropriate circumstances, broad latitude given IRS in use

of its summons power may be restricted in light of substantial

countervailing policies.

6. Internal Revenue 4508

Federalism and comity did not constitute substantial counter-

vailing policies that would justify imposing requirement upon

Internal Revenue Service to make advance showing of fraud,

overreaching, or excessiveness by executor of estate or state trial

court before allowing enforcement of summons issued to carry

out investigation of expenses claimed as deduction on federal

estate tax return, although expenses had previously been

approved under state law by state trial court.

Joan I. Oppenheimer, Atty., Tax Div., U.S. Dept. of Justice,

Washington, D.C. (Roger P. Williams, U.S. Atty., W.D.N.Y.,

Buffalo, N.Y., Roger M. Olsen, Asst. Atty. Gen., U.S. Dept. of

Justice, Washington, D.C., Michael L. Paup, Charles E.

Brookhart, Attys., Tax Div., U.S. Dept. of Justice, Washington,

D.C., of Counsel), for petitioners-appellants.

James M. White, Rochester, N.Y. (Kenneth A. Payment, A.

Paul Britton, Harter, Secrest & Emery, Rochester, N.Y., of coun-

sel), for respondent-appellee.

Charles E. Heming, New York City, Maryann S. Freedman,

Buffalo, N.Y. (Arthur M. Sherwood, Buffalo, N.Y., Jonathan

G. Blattmachr, Sanford J. Schlesinger, New York City, Jules J.

Haskel, Garden City, N.Y., John W. Tarbox, Rochester, N.Y., of

counsel), for the New York State Bar Ass’n.

Robert M. Kaufman, New York City (George DeSipio, Albert

Kalter, New York City, of counsel), for the Ass’n of the Bar of the

City of New York, submitted briefs as amici curiae.

Edward D. Bloom, Esq., Harris, Beach, Wilcox, Rubin &

Levey, Michael F. Buckley, Harter, Secrest & Emery, John L. Gar-

rett, Nixon, Hargrave, Devans & Doyle, Rochester, N.Y., for the

Monroe County Bar Ass’n submitted a brief as amicus curiae.

Before FEINBERG, Chief Judge, and PIERCE and ALTI-

MARI, Circuit Judges.

PIERCE, Circuit Judge:

The United States of America and James M. Serling, an estate

tax attorney in the Internal Revenue Service (“IRS” or the “gov-

ernment”), appeal from a judgment of the United States District

Court for the Western District of New York, Michael A. Telesca,

Judge, which denied appellants’ petition for an order enforcing

two IRS summonses issued to the respondent, James M. White,

an attorney. United States v. White, 650 F.Supp. 904 (W.D.N.Y.

1987). The district court found that the IRS had failed to show

that the summonses were issued pursuant to a legitimate tax pur-

pose, as is required for summons enforcement under United

States v. Powell, 379 U.S. 48, 85 S.Ct. 248, 13 L.Ed.2d 112

(1964). According to the court, the IRS was foreclosed from

ae ee.

A-5

investigating the deductibility of White’s attorney’s fees, as

claimed on a federal estate tax return, because of a prior New

York State Surrogate’s Court decree that had approved White’s

attorney’s fees under New York law. The district court held that,

because (1) “the Surrogate ... passed on the facts upon which

deductibility depends,” 650 F.Supp. at 909; and (2) the IRS did

not make a prima facie showing that the Surrogate’s decision was

motivated by impermissible factors “such as fraud, overreach-

ing, Or excessiveness by the attorney or the Surrogate,” the IRS

was therefore bound by the Surrogate’s decision. /d. at 911.

We believe that the district court erred in concluding that the

Surrogate’s decree precludes the IRS from investigating the

deductibility of White’s attorney’s fees. Because the objective of

the investigation was to obtain information that may be used in

determining whether there is federal tax liability, the IRS had a

legitimate purpose for issuing its summonses under Powell.

Moreover, we find the district court’s summons enforcement

requirement that the IRS must make a prima facie showing of

“fraud, overreaching, or excessiveness by the attorney or the Sur-

rogate” to be inconsistent with Powell’s holding that only a

showing of a legitimate purpose, and not a showing of probable

cause, is required for summons enforcement of its summonses

and we therefore reverse.

BACKGROUND

The facts of this case are set forth in full in the district court’s

opinion, reported at 650 F.Supp. 904. We refer herein only to

those facts necessary to address the issues presented on appeal. In

July 1984, the Surrogate’s Court of Monroe County, New York,

granted a decree of judicial settlement of the Estate of Helen P.

Smith. Under New York law, see N.Y.Surr.Ct. Proc.Act § 2307

(McKinney 1967 & Supp. 1988), this decree had the effect, inter

alia, of approving attorney’s fees of $16,800 and an executor’s

A-6

commission of $17,548.13. James M. White, the respondent-

appellee, was both the executor and the attorney for the estate.

He filed a federal estate tax return which claimed deductions of

$16,530 foi his attorney’s fees and $17,450 as the executor’s com-

In August 1984, petitioner-appellant James M. Serling, a tax

attorney for the IRS, met with White to review the estate tax

return. White informed Serling that the Surrogate had signed a

judicial decree of settlement for the estate. In January 1985, Serl-

ing wrote to White requesting his time records or other documen-

tation of legal work undertaken for the estate, stating that White

was required to provide justification for his attorney’s fees not-

withstanding the Surrogate’s decree. In February 1985, White

responded by forwarding a letter he had obtained from the Sur-

rogate which stated that White’s attorney’s fees were valid under

New York law.

Pursuant to the IRS’s summons authority under § 7602 of the

Internal Revenue Code of 1954 (“I.R.C.” or the “Code”), 26

U.S.C. § 7602 (1982), Serling then sent two summonses to White,

one in May 1985 and one in February 1986. The May 1985 sum-

mons sought all records and documents relating to the adminis-

tration of the estate, including records of White’s activities as

attorney and as executor. The February 1986 summons sought all

records relating to White’s performance of his duties as executor

of the estate. White refused to comply with the summonses, rely-

ing on the Surrogate’s prior approval of his attorney’s fees under

New York law. Based on this refusal, the IRS issued a deficiency

note to White on behalf of the estate in July 1986 which disal-

lowed the claimed attorney’s fees and reduced the executor’s

commission from $17,450 to $16,804. Apparently, White does

not contest the reduction in the executor’s commission. White

paid the deficiency in the amount of $5,754.19 and filed a notice

ee

A-7

of claim for a refund; that claim in not presently before this

Court.

Appellants commenced this summons enforcement proceed-

ing in August 1986. In January 1986, the district court, in a thor-

ough opinion, denied the petition for enforcement of the two

summonses principally on the ground that the IRS did not show

that the investigation would be conducted for a legitimate pur-

pose as required by Powell. The Code permits a deduction to be

taken for estate administrative expenses allowable under state

law, see 1.R.C. § 2053(a)(2), and an associated regulation ordi-

narily makes state court decrees related to the allowability of

such expenses binding on the IRS if the court “passed upon the

facts upon which deductibility depends,” see Treas.Reg.

§ 20.2053-1(b)(2). The district court concluded that “the IRS

cannot second-guess the Surrogate” when the Surrogate has

found such expenses to be valid under state law unless the IRS

makes “a prima ‘*cie showing that the Surrogate’s decision was

motivated by factors other than those on which deductibility

depends, such as fraud, overreaching, or excessiveness by the

attorney or the Surrogate.” 650 F.Supp. at 911. Without such a

standard to support enforcement of these summonses, the dis-

trict court stated, IRS investigations of amounts approved by

state courts “ ‘would be destructive ... of the proper relationship

between State and Federal law.’ ” Jd. at 909 (quoting Commis-

sioner v. Estate of Bosch, 387 U.S. 456, 480, 87 S.Ct. 1776, 1790,

18 L.Ed.2d 886 (1967) (Harlan, J., dissenting)). Finding that the

IRS failed to meet this standard, the district court held that “the

decision of the Surrogate should be accepted [by the IRS].” /d.

Concluding therefore that the IRS had no legitimate pur= use in

investigating the deductibility of fees previously approved by the

Surrogate, the district court denied the government’s petition for

summons enforcement and the government appealed.

The issue presented to us is whethcr the IRS may investigate

expenses claimed as a deduction on a federal estate tax return,

and obtain enforcement of summonses issued to carry out such

an investigation, where the subject expenses previously had been

approved under state law by a state trial court. The government

argues that the district court erred in denying its petition for sum-

mons enforcement because the summonses were validly issued

under the authority of § 7602 of the Internal Revenue Code of

1954 and because the IRS had met its burden of showing that they

were issued for a legitimate investigative purpose, in accordance

with the requirements of United States v. Powell, 379U.S. 48, 85

S.Ct. 248, 13 L.Ed.2d 112 (1964), for judicial enforcement of

summonses.

The IRS is authorized to issue summonses, inter alia, “to

examine any books, papers, records, or other data which may be

relevant or material” to an inquiry “[fjor the purpose of ascer-

taining the correctness of any return.” 1.R.C. § 7602. In enacting

§ 7602 of the Code, Congress endowed the IRS with “expansive

information-gathering authority” in order to encourage effec-

tive tax investigations. United States v. Arthur Young & Co., 465

U.S. 805, 816, 104 S.Ct. 1495, 1502, 79 L.Ed.2d 826 (1984).

enforce the tax Code,” United States v. Euge, 444 U.S. 707, 711,

100 S.Ct. 874, 878, 63 L.Ed.2d 141 (1980), the Supreme Court

has consistently held that restrictions on the IRS’s summons

power should be avoided “absent ambiguous directions from

Conyress.” United States v. Bisceglia, 420 U.S. 141, 150, 95 S.Ct.

915, 921, 43 L.Ed.2d 88 (1975); see also Euge, 444 U.S. at 711,

100 S.Ct. at 878 (the summons authority “should be upheld

A-9

absent express statutory prohibition or substantial countervail-

ing policies”).

In Powell, the Supreme Court set forth the standards to be met

by the IRS in order to obtain judicial enforcement of a summons.

In that case, the IRS had issued a summons for the records of a

taxpayer whose returns had been previously examined and where

the federal three-year statute of limitations barred assessment of

additional deficiencies except in cases of fraud. 379 U.S. at 49, 85

S.Ct. at 250-51. The taxpayer refused to obey the summons,

claiming that the IRS must first show probable cause to suspect

fraud. Jd. The Court rejected this contention and held that, in

order to obtain summons enforcement, the IRS need only show

that: (1) the investigation will be conducted pursuant to a legiti-

mate purpose; (2) the inquiry may be relevant to that purpose; (3)

the information sought is not already within the Commissioner’s

possession; and (4) the administrative steps required by the Code

have been followed. Jd. at 57-58, 85 S.Ct. at 255. Any other

standard, the Court stated, “might seriously hamper the Com-

missioner in carrying out investigations he thinks warranted.” /d.

at 54, 85 S.Ct. at 253.

According to Powell, the government establishes a prima facie

case for summons enforcement by demonstrating compliance

with these standards; the burden then shifts to the taxpxyer to

challenge these showings “on any appropriate ground,” includ-

ing a showing that the summons had been issued for an improper

purpose, such as to harass the taxpayer, to put pressure on him to

settle a collateral dispute, or “for any other purpose reflecting on

the good faith of the particular investigation.” Jd. at 58, 85 S.Ct.

at 255; see also United States v. LaSalle Nat’! Bank , 437 U.S. 298,

316, 98 S.Ct. 2357, 2367, 57 L.Ed.2d 221 (1978); United States v.

Antonio J. Sancetta, M.D., P-C., 788 F.2d 67, 71 (2d Cir. 1986). If

the taxpayer sustains this burden of demonstrating a failure by

the government to meet the four Powell criteria, then the court

aetna iin a ial

A-10

*

should deny enforcement of the summons, since any Otuer result

would constitute an abuse of the court's process. Powell, 379

U.S. at 58, 85 S.Ct. at 255. If the taxpayer fails to meet his bur-

den, then enforcement should be granted. /d.

Subsequent cases have held that the government's burden of

proof of its compliance with the Powell standards is minimal, see

United States v. Davey, 543 F.2d 996, 1000 (2d Cir. 1976); United

States v. Balanced Financial Management, Inc., 769 F.2d 1440,

1443 (10th Cir. 1985), and that the government may even establish

its prima facie case by the affidavit of an agent involved in the

investigation averring each Powell element. See Alphin v. United

States, 809 F.2d 236, 238 (4th Cir.), cert denied, U.S. ;

107 S.Ct. 1578, 94 L.Ed.2d 768 (1987); United States v. Kis, 658

F.2d 526, 536 (7th Cir.1981), cert. denied, 455 U.S. 1018, 102

S.Ct. 1712, 72 L.Bd.2d 135 (1982). In contrast, the taxpayer’s

burden of proof to establish that enforcement would be

improper is significantly greater than the burden on the govern-

ment to show a legitimate purpose. Kis, 658 F.2d at 535. In the

words of the Supreme Court, the taxpayer’s burden is a “heavy”

one, which he must meet by “disprov{ing] the actual existence of

a valid civil tax determination or collection purpose by the Ser-

vice.” LaSalle, 437 U.S. at 316, 98 S.Ct. at 2367.

The imposition of a heavier burden on the taxpayer in a sum-

mons enforcement proceeding is intended to facilitate the IRS's

investigative process. Kis, 658 F.2d at 535. Summons enforce-

ment proceedings are intended to be summary in nature so that

an investigation can advance to an ultimate determination as to

whether tax liability exists. Jd. These proceedings generally occur

at the early investigative stage of any tax inquiry involving a tax-

payer, when no guilt or liability of the taxpayer has been estab-

lished. Jd. Therefore, the primary issue presented by a summons

proceeding is mot whether the IRS has established, or is even

likely to establish guilt or liability on the taxpayer's part; rather,

A-11

the issue is whether the IRS had a valid tax determination or col-

lection purpose in issuing its summons.

In determining the enforceability of the summonses herein, we

must consider whether the government met the four-part test

under Powell, and, if it did, whether White demonstrated that

enforcing the summonses would constitute an abuse of the

court’s process. We consider first whether the government met its

burden of proof under Powell.

A. The Government's Burden of Proof

[1] The government's petition for enforcement was supported

by IRS Agent Serling’s affidavit, which averred that (1) the pur-

pose of his investigation was to determine the correct tax liability

of the Estate of Helen P. Smith; (2) the summoned books and

records were necessary for this purpose; (3) the books and

records were not already in the possession of the IRS; and (4) the

administrative steps required by the Code had been followed.

Just on the basis of this affidavit, it is clear that the government

did establish a prima facie case for enforcement. See, e.g., San-

cetta, 788 F.2d at 71; United States v. Beacon Hill Fed. Sav. &

Loan, 718 F.2d 49, 52 (2d Cir. 1983); Kis, 658 F.2d at 536-37.

The declared purpose of the subject investigation is unques-

tionably legitimate under § 7602, which authorizes the issuance

of summonses “[flor the purpose of ascertaining the correctness

of any return.” Contrary to White’s argument that the purpose

must be stated with more specificity, the IRS is required to

declare only a “good-faith pursuit of the congressionally autho-

rized purposes of § 7602,” LaSalle, 437 U.S. at 318, 98 S.Ct. at

2368. This we believe the IRS has done.

“—

With regard to relevance, White's books and records relating

to legal work performed for the estate are clearly relevant to the

IRS’s declared purpose under § 7602, which authorizes the issu-

ance of a summons for books and records “which may be rele-

vant ... to such inquiry (emphasis added). See also Arthur Young,

465 U.S. at 814, 104 S.Ct. at 1501 (“The language ‘may be’

reflects Congress’ express intention to allow the IRS to obtain

items of even potential relevance to an ongoing investigation... ”")

(emphasis in original); Davey, $43 F.2d at 1000 (the test of rele-

vance is whether the inspection might throw light on the correct -

ness of the taxpayer's return). Serling’s remaining declarations,

that the IRS does not have White's records in its possession, and

that the proper administrative procedures have been followed,

satisfy the remaining Powell criteria.

B. Non-existence of a Valid Tax Determination Purpose

[2] Once the government has established a prima facie case for

enforcement, the burden shifts to the taxpayer to disprove the

existence of a valid tax determination purpose for the IRS

inquiry. Powell, 379 U.S. at 58, 85 S.Ct. at 55. It is at this stage

that we consider White's challenge to the legitimacy of the IRS's

declared purpose and “inquire into the underlying reasons for

the examination.” /d. at $8, 85 S.Ct. at 255. To ascertain whether

White has met his “heavy” burden in this regard, we turn to

White’s claim that no legitimate purposes exists for the IRS

investigation.

White argues in essence that, in light of the Surrogate’s prior

approval of his attorney's fees, the IRS has no legitimate purpose

in summoning his books and records because the Surrogate’s

decision is binding on the IRS. We note that this case does not

involve any allegation of a lack of “good faith” by the IRS, in the

sense that White does not claim that the IRS issued the sum-

monses to harass him or to pressure him into settling a collateral

— ae

A-13

dispute. Nor does White assert that the Surrogate’s decree is

binding on the IRS based on the full faith and credit provision of

28 U.S.C. § 1738, or based on principles of re judicata and collat-

eral estoppel. Rather, he asserts that, as a matter of law, there is

a

strained by relevant Code and regulatory provisions to accept

Surrogate’s decree. _

In agreeing with White that the IRS is bound by the 's

decree, the district court relied primarily on he

§ 20.2053-1(b(2) and not its associated statute, 1.R.C.

§ 2053(aX(2). Nonetheless, we must first examine the statute to

determine whether there exists evidence of “unambiguous direc-

tions from Congress,” Bisceglia, 420 U.S. at 150, 95 S.Ct. at 921,

restricting the IRS's summons px wer when a state court applying

state law has found “allowable” the attorney's fees that are the

subject of IRS scrutiny.

1. LR.C. § 205ay(2)

Section 2053(a) of the Code sets forth certain deductions

allowable in determining the value of a taxable estate. In relevant

part, § 2053(a) authorizes deductions of such amounts for

administrative expenses “as are allowable by the laws of the juris-

diction ... under which the estate is being administered.” 1.R.C.

§ 2053(a(2). White interprets the statute as making state court

decrees which approve administrative expenses under state law

conclusive and binding on the IRS; this, by inference, would ren-

der subsequent tax investigations of such expenses pointless.

We do not read the statute as giving state fria/ court decrees

preclusive effect with regard to IRS investigations. To be sure,

the plain language of § 2053(a\(2) indicates that the federal

deductibility of estate administrative expenses is governed by

state law. Thus, under this statute, the state rules applicatne to the

allowability of these expenses have been “absorbed” as the rele-

A-14

vant feceral rules relating to the deductibility of such expenses.

See C. Wright, The Law of Federal Courts § 60, at 94-95 (4th ed.

1983) (“sometimes the federal statute will direct that state law be

applied.” in which case “the state rule has merely been absorbed

as the relevant federal rule”). Although the statute directs the

IRS and federal courts to apply state rules, the deductibility of

such expenses nonetheless remains a federal question. The stat-

ute does not address the effect of state trial court approval of

estate administrative expenses under federal law. In the absence

of preclusive language in the statute, we are not persuaded that

Congress unambiguously intended to make state tral court

decrees determinative of the federal deductibility of such

expenses to the exclusion of any federal inquiry.

Moreover, any suggestion that Congress intended to preclude

IRS investigation into the deductibility of White's fees under

state law is untenable in light of the Supreme Court's reasoning in

Commissioner v. Estate of Bosch, 387 U.S. 456, 87 S.Ct. 1776, 18

L .Ed.2d 886 (1967). In Bosch, the Supreme Court addressed the

problem of what effect must be given a state trial court decree

where the issue addressed by such decree has federal estate tax

consequences. /d. At issue in Bosch was a federal estate tax

deduction whose validity under |_R.C. § 2056(b 5S) depended on

the invalidity under state law of an instrument executed by the

decedent's wife. In a separate proceeding, to which the IRS was

not a party, a state trial court held the instrument invalid, which

conclusion was disputed by the IRS with regard to the claimed

federal estate tax deduction.

In considering the effect of the state court determination in a

subsequent tax proceeding, the Supreme Court found

that C im enacting 1.R.C. § 2056(>\(5), had intended to

give “proper regard” and not “finality” to the interpretations of

state law by state trial courts. “If the Congress had intended state

tnal court determinations to have [a conclusive and binding)

A-15

effect on the federal actions, it certainly would have said so—

which it did not do.” 387 U.S. at 464, 87 S.Ct. at 1782. Using

diversity cases as its guide, the Bosch court applied the rule of

Erie R.R. Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64, 58 S.Ct. 817, 82 L.Ed.

1188 (1938), that a federal court will give effect to a state court

decree, if at all, “only after independent examination of the state

law as determined by the highest court of the State.” 387 U.S. at

463, 87 S.Ct. at 1781 (emphasis added). Consequently, the

Supreme Court concluded in Bosch that “when the application

of a federal statute is involved, the decision of a state trial court

as to an underlying issue of state law should ... not be control-

ling.” Id. at 465, 87 S.Ct. at 1782. While federal authorities are

bound to apply state law as determined by the state’s highest

court, they need only give “proper regard” to relevant rulings of

other courts in the state and “may be said to be, in effect, sitting

as a state court.” Jd. In Bosch, therefore, the Court found that

the IRS was entitled to make an independent assessment as to the

validity vel non of the instrument under applicable state law as

determined by the state’s highest court.

~

[3] We believe the ruling in Bosch supports the view that the

Surrogate’s decree is not conclusive and binding on the IRS

under I.R.C. § 2053(a)(2). Like the statutory provision at issue in

Bosch, 1.R.C. § 2053(a)(2) gives no indication that Congress

intended the Svrrogate’s decision to be preclusive. We conclude

that, with regard to the federal deductibility of White’s fees, the

IRS is entitled to make an independent assessment of the validity

of White’s fees under applicable state law as determined by the

state’s highest court. Contrary to White’s claim, the mere fact

that the Surrogate issued a decree does not preclude the IRS from

investigating the deductibility of White’s fees under state law.

The district court in this case interpreted Bosch differently.

Because the New York Court of Appeals has already set forth the

factors to be considered when determining the validity of attor-

. A-16

ney’s fees in estate practice, see In re Estate of Freeman, 34

N.Y.2d 1, 311 N.E.2d 480, 355 N. Y.S.2d 336 (1974), and since the

Surrogate’s letter to White stated that that it had applied these

factors, the district court concluded that the IRS is bound by the

Surrogate’s decision. 650 F.Supp. at 911 n. 7. We do not agree

with this interpretation of Bosch. The Erie approach taken in

Bosch assumes that state law, as announced by the state’s highest

court, is to be followed by both the state trial court and federal

authorities. However, even assuming that the state trial court

properly applied such state law, the Bosch court found that

“when the application of a federal statute is involved, the deci-

sion of a state trial court as to an underlying issue of state law

should ... not be controlling.” 387 U.S. at 465, 87 S.Ct. at 1782.

Rather, federal authorities may make an independent examina-

tion of the state law as determined by the highest court of the

state. Jd. at 463, 87 S.Ct. at 1781-82. In this case, although the

IRS is bound by the factors established by the New York Court of

Appeals in Freeman, it is not bound by the Surrogate’s applica-

tion of these factors. Rather, according to Bosch, the Surrogate’s

ruling only need by given “proper regard” as one court’s inter-

pretation of applicable state law.

White and at least one amicus argue that the New York Court

of Appeals may not overturn the Surrogate’s factual determina-

tion of reasonableness, that as a practical matter that Court does

not hear appeals from the Surrogate’s determinations of fees,

and that it has “delegated” its power to the Surrogate. While all

this may be true, under New York law the Court of Appeals

retains the authority to review a Surrogate’s decision to ensure

that it complies with New York law. That the Court rarely exer-

cises its prerogative does not deprive the federal authorities of

their jurisdiction to consider the same issues.

Subsequent to Bosch, we have stated that, even if proper

regard is accorded to a state court’s adjudication, “it would only

A-17

be as valid as its evidentiary base,” and that “[w]Je have not hesi-

tated to disregard state court judgments affecting federal tax lia-

bility where the factual questions involved were not contested in

state court, see Lowe v. Commissioner, 510 F.2d 479 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied, 423 U.S. 827, 96 S.Ct. 44, 46 L.Ed.2d 44 (1975), or

where a lower state court made an erroneous application of state

law, see Cheng Yih-Chun v. Federal Reserve Bank, 442 F.2d 460

(2nd Cir. 1971).” United States v. Bosurgi, 530 F.2d 1105, 1112 (2d

Cir. 1976). It follows that the IRS is entitled to make an initial

assessment of the “proper regard” to be accorded a state trial

court decree in a particular case.

We note that, at this summons enforcement stage, the validity

of the Surrogate’s decree is not at issue. Since the purpose of a

summons is “not to accuse, but to inquire,” Bisceglia, 420 U.S. at

146, 95 S.Ct. at 919, the IRS is merely seeking to inquire into the

factors that have a bearing on the deductibility of White’s fees—

this is not the same as accusing the Surrogate of error. Thus, our

discussion of Bosch and subsequent cases is intended solely to

demonstrate that, contrary to White’s claim, the IRS may indeed

inquire under § 2053 into the allowability of White’s fees under

state law.

On the basis of the plain language of § 2053(a)(2) and the

Supreme Court’s reasoning in Bosch, we conclude that there is

no statutory support for White’s proposition that the Surrogate’s

decree is binding on the IRS in subsequent federal tax proceed-

ings nor for the assertion that the statute bars the IRS from inves-

tigating the deductibility of White’s attorney’s fees. As

previously mentioned, however, the district court found support

for White’s proposition primarily in the statute’s associated regu-

lation, Treas.Reg. § 20.2053-1(b)(2), which we consider next.

2. Treasury Regulation § 20.2053-1(b)(2)

. A-18

Treasury Regulation § 20.2053-1(b)(2), which is entitled

“Effect of Court Decree,” provides in relevant part:

The decision of a local court as to the amount and allowa-

bility under local law of a claim or administration expense

will ordinarily be accepted if the court passes upon the facts

upon which deductibility depends. If the court does not

pass upon those facts, its decree will, of course, not be fol-

lowed.... If the decree was rendered by consent, it will be

accepted, provided the consent was a bona fide recognition

of the validity of the claim (and not a mere cloak for a gift)

and was accepted by the court as satisfactory evidence upon

the merits.... The decree will not be accepted if it is at vari-

ance with the law of the State ... (emphasis added).

The district court concluded in light of this regulation that (1)

the Surrogate having passed upon the facts upon which deduct-

ibility depends, and (2) in the absence of a prima facie showing by

the IRS that the Surrogate’s decision was motivated by factors

other than those upon which deductibility depends, “such as

fraud, overreaching, or excessiveness by the attorney or the Sur-

rogate,” the IRS was bound by the Surrogate’s decision. 650

F.Supp. at 909. The district court therefore accepted White’s

claim that an IRS investigation of the deductibility of his fees

would be pointless and hence it found that the IRS summonses

were not issued for a legitimate purpose.

We believe that the district court erred in concluding that this

regulation precludes the IRS from investigating the deductibility

of White’s fees under state law. The regulation merely parallels

and elaborates on its related statute, 1.R.C. § 2053(a), and there-

fore, the principles discussed in ‘Bosch are as applicable in the

context of the regulation as they are in the statutory context. In

stating that a local court decree “will not be accepted if it is at

variance with the law of the State,” the regulation, like the stat-

ute, when read in conjunction with Bosch, makes it clear that the

IRS is entitled to make an independent assessment of applicable

A-19

state law as interpreted by the state’s highest court. Contrary to

the district court’s conclusion, and by analogy to Bosch, the reg-

ulation does not preclude the IRS from independently assessing

the deductibility of White’s fees under state law.

Moreover, the regulation authorizes the IRS to determine,

prior to acceptance of a local court decree, whether or not that

decree is at variance with state law. For instance, a local court

decree may be at variance with state law if, in the district court’s

words, “the Surrogate’s decision was motivated by factors other

than those upon which deductibility depends, such as fraud,

overreaching, or excessiveness by the attorney or the Surrogate.”

The decree may also be at variance with state law if the local court

did not pass on the facts upon which deductibility depends, or if

the consent given was not a bona fide recognition of the validity

of the claim—these are questions regarding the proper applica-

tion of state law that the regulation itself sets forth as standards

to determine when the IRS should accept a local court decree.

Also, these standards are consistent with our prior statement that

a state court decree “would only be as valid as its evidentiary

base” and may be disregarded “where [it is determined that] a

lower state court made an erroneous application of state law.”

Bosurgi, 530 F.2d at 1112.

From the language of the regulation, it is clear that, while the

IRS may “ordinarily” accept a local court decree, it is not

required to do so if the decree did not properly apply state law.

Rather, the regulation permits the IRS to make an independent

assessment of the deductibility of White’s fees under state law

and to assess the acceptability of the Surrogate’s decree for fed-

eral tax purposes. Since neither 1.R.C. § 2053 nor Treas.Reg.

§ 20.2053-1(b)(2) precludes the IRS from investigating the

deductibility of White’s fees under state law, we conclude that

White has failed to meet his burden of disproving the existence of

a legitimate tax determination purpose.

. A-20

The district court erred in requiring, as a prerequisite for sum-

mons enforcement, that the IRS make a prima facie showing that

the Surrogate’s decision was motivated by impermissible factors

“such as fraud, overreaching, or excessiveness by the attorney or

the Surrogate.” This requirement is virtually the same as that

advanced by the taxpayer in Powell, namely, that the IRS must

make an advance showing of probable cause to suspect fraud. In

Powell, the Supreme Court rejected such a standard because “it

might seriously hamper the Commissioner in carrying out inves-

tigations he thinks warranted, forcing him to litigate and prose-

cute appeals on the very subject which he desires to investigate.”

379 U.S. at 54, 85 S.Ct. at 253. Since we believe that the district

court’s requirement would be equally likely to hamper the IRS in

carrying out investigations it thinks are warranted, and has

already forced the IRS to litigate and prosecute an appeal on the

very subject it desires to investigate, we reject the district court’s

new standard for enforcement of summonses as an invalid

restraint on the summons. power of the IRS.

Finally, the district court prematurely considered and decided

the issue of whether the Surrogate “passed on the facts upon

which deductibility depends.” As previously stated, at this sum-

mons enforcement stage, the validity of the Surrogate’s decree is

not at issue. Rather, the IRS seeks to inquire into the facts that

bear on the deductibility of White's fees, and not to accuse the

Surrogate of error. See Bisceglia, 420 U.S. at 146, 95 S.Ct. at 918-

19. Indeed, as far as we know, no record evidence, as such, had

been presented to the district court that would have enabled it to

decide whether the Surrogate passed on the facts upon which

deductibility depends. The post hoc letter from the Surrogate

justifying its decision is not sufficient to eliminate inquiry into

whether the Surrogate actually considered the appropriate facts.

The function of the district court and of this Court in an

enforcement proceeding is not to test the final merits of the

A-21

claimed tax deduction, but to assess within the limits of Powell

whether the IRS issued its summons for a legitimate tax determi-

nation purpose. We conclude from our review of I.R.C. § 2053

and its associated regulation that, contrary to White's claim, the

IRS has a legitimate purpose in investigating the deductibility of

his fees. We further conclude that White has failed to meet his

“heavy” burden of disproving the existence of a legitimate tax

determination for the IRS investigation.

3. Relevance

[4] In rebuttal to Serling’s declaration of relevance, White

argues that, even if the IRS may conduct an investigation, the

only books and records that would be relevant to such an investi-

gation are those of the Surrogate’s Court, not his own. We dis-

agree. In United States v. Arthur Young & Co., 465 U.S. 805, 104

S.Ct. 1495, 79 L.Ed.2d 826 (1984), the Supreme Court stated:

The language “may be” [in § 7602] reflects Congress’

express intention to allow the IRS t> obtain items of even

potential relevance to an ongoing investigation... The pur-

pose of Congress is obvious: the Service can hardly be

expected to know whether such data will in fact be relevant

until they are procured and scrutinized. As a tool of discov-

ery, the § 7602 summons is critical to the investigation and

enforcement function of the IRS; the Service therefore

should not be required to establish that the documents it

seeks are actually relevant in any technical, evidentiary

Id. at 814, 104 S.Ct. at 1501 (emphasis in original). Clearly,

White’s books and records have “potential” relevance to an

investigation to ascertain the deductibility of his fees under stace

law. The IRS need not establish more than that in a summons

enforcement proceeding.

A-22

C. Countervailing Policies

[5] Thus far, White has tailed to demonstrate that enforcement

of the IRS summonses would constitute an abuse of the court's

process. However, that does not automatically entitle the IRS to

enforcement of its summonses; other considerations may bear on

their enforceability. See United States v. Arthur Young & Co.,

677 F.2d 211, 219 (2d Cir. 1982), rev'd on other grounds, 465 U.S.

805, 104S.Ct. 1495, 79 L.Ed. 826 (1984). In appropriate circum-

stances, the broad latitude given the IRS in the use of its sum-

mons power may be restricted in light of “substantial

countervailing policies.” Euge, 444 U.S. at 711, 100 S.Ct. at 878.

The district court herein found that, in addition to the relevant

statutory and regulatory provisions, principles of comity and

federalism argued against allowing the IRS to “second-guess”

the Surrogate’s decisions. 650 F.Supp. at 909. As examples of the

respect accorded state judgments by federal courts, the district

court cited, inter alia, the eleventh amendment, the full faith and

credit statute and federal common law rules of preclusion.

In establishing what it considered to be the proper balance

between federal and state interests in this proceeding, the district

court relied on Justice Harlan’s dissent in Bosch. Id. at 910. In

Bosch, Justice Harlan stated:

the federal interest requires only that the Commissioner be

permitted to obtain from the federal courts a considered

adjudication of the relevant state law issues in cases in which

_.. the state courts have not already provided such an adju-

dication. In turn, it may properly be assumed that the state

court has had an opportunity to make, and has made, such

an adjudication if, in a proceeding untainted by fraud, it

has had the benefit of reasoned argument from parties

holding genuinely inconsistent interests.

387 U.S. at 480-81, 87 S.Ct. at 1790-91. Relying on Justice

Harlan’s reasoning, the district court formulated a new standard

A-23

for enforcement of a summons: in order to “challenge” a deci-

sion of the Surrogate when the Surrogate has passed on the facts

upon which deductibility depends, “the IRS must make a prima

facie showing that the Surrogate’s decision was motivated by fac-

tors other than those on which deductibility depends, such as

fraud, overreaching, or excessiveness by the attorney or the Sur-

rogate.” 650 F.Supp. at 911. However, it is the reasoning of the

majority in Bosch, and not that of the dissent, that is controlling.

[6] On the facts presented, we are not persuaded that federal-

ism and comity constitute a “substaniial countervailing policy”

that would justify imposing a requirement upon the IRS to make

an advance showing of factors “such as fraud, overreaching, or

excessiveness by the attorney or the Surrogate” before granting

enforcement of its summonses. Unquestionably, in proper cir-

cumstances, federal courts are bound to respect the considered

judgment of state courts. However, the facts of this case do not

implicate the eleventh amendment, full faith and <redit_ princi-

ples of collateral estoppel, or other doctrines arising from princi-

ples of federalism and comity; consequently, federal authorities

are not bound to give preclusive effect to the Surrogate’s decree.

Instead of substantial countervailing policies, we find in

1.R.C. § 7602 “a congressional policy choice in favor of disclo-

sure of all information relevant to a legitimate IRS inquiry.”

Arthur Young, 465 U.S. at 816, 104 S.Ct. at 1502 (emphasis in

original). The Supreme court informs us that “In light of this

explicit statement by the Legislative Branch, courts should be

chary of recognizing exceptions to the broad summons authority

of the IRS.... If the broad latitude granted to the IRS by § 7602 is

to be circumscribed, that is a choice for Congress, and not this

Court, to make.” Jd. at 816-17, 104 S.Ct. at 1502.

a

: A-24

While we appreciate the concern of the amici and acknowledge

that one may well wonder whether the IRS in the Buffalo area is

allocating wisely the time and effort of its limited staff, neverthe-

less, in the absence of substantial countervailing policies, and in

the absence of a showing that enforcement of the summonses

would constitute an abuse of the court’s process, we conclude

that the IRS is entitled to enforcement of its summonses. Accord-

ingly, we reverse and remand with directions that the district

court grant the petition for enforcement.

A-25S

JUDGMENT IN A CIVIL CASE

[Filed Jan 8, 10:32 AM 87, U.S. District Court, Rochester]

United States District Court

Western District of New York

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ET AL.

Vv.

JAMES M. WHITE, as attorney

for and as executor of the

ESTATE OF HELEN P. SMITH,

Deceased, CASE NUMBER MISC. CIV. 86-140T

_) Jury Verdict. This action came before the Court for a trial by

jury. The issues have been tried and the jury has rendered its

verdict.

X Decision by Court. This action came hearing before the

Court. The issues have been heard and a decision has been

rendered.

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that the respondent

should not be compelled to obey the IRS summonses served upon

him and dismissing this proceeding without prejudice.

JANUARY 8, 1987 EDWARD }* GUETH JR.

Date Clerk

[signature]

650 FEDERAL SUPPLEMENT

UNITED STATES v. WHITE

Cite as 650 F.Supp. 904 (W.D.N.Y. 1987)

(904-912)

UNITED STATES of America, and James M. Serling, Estate Tax

Attorney, Internal Revenue Service, Petitioners,

v.

James M. WHITE, as Attorney for and as the Executor of the

Estate of Helen P. Smith, Deceased, Respondent.

Misc. No. CIV-86-140T.

United States District Court,

W.D. New York.

Jan. 7, 1987.

Federal Government petitioned for enforcement of two IRS

summonses, requiring executor to substantiate deductions he

claimed on federal estate tax return. The District Court, Telesca,

J., held that IRS failed to show a “legitimate purpose” for requir-

ing executor to substantiate deductions, so that Government's

petition would be denied.

So ordered.

1. Internal Revenue 4508

Petition to enforce IRS summonses, and to compel executor of

testator’s estate to substantiate deductions he claimed on estate

tax return, was not rendered moot by executor's payment of defi-

ciency under protest. 26 U.S.C.A. §§ 7402(b), 7604(a).

2. Internal Revenue 4513

IRS failed to show a “legitimate purpose” for requiring execu-

tor to substantiate the deductions he claimed on federal estate tax

return, so that petition to enforce IRS summonses would be

denied, where deductions related to attorney fees claimed by

executor as attorney for testator’s estate, surrogate had deter-

mined that fees were reasonable based on same facts as Govern-

ment would apply in deciding whether deduction would be

allowed, and IRS faile’ to demonstrate fraud, overreaching or

excessiveness by surrogate or executor. N. Y.McKinney’s SCPA

2307; 26 U.S.C.A. §§ 205Ma), 7402(b), 7604(a).

3. Internal Revenue 4185

To challenge deductibility on federal estate tax return of attor-

nev fees approved by surrogate and paid by executor, IRS must

first make prima facie showing that surrogate’s decision was

motivated by factors other than those on which deductibility

depends, such as fraud, overreaching, or excessiveness by attor-

ney or surrogate. 26 U.S.C.A. § 2053a).

4. Internal Revenue 16

Federal laws dealing with taxation of decedents’ estates must

accom.nodate and yield to judicial determinations made under

state law by state courts. 26 U.S.C.A. § 205Ma).

Jonathan W. Feldman, Asst. U.S. Atty., of Rochester, N.Y.,

Deborah S. Meland, Trial Atty., Tax Div., U.S. Dept. of Justice,

Washington, D.C., for petitioners.

James M. White, Rochester, N.Y., for respondent.

—— — al

xe a as — 7 ti ili ma — a

This action was brought on by the Government's petition for

enforcement of two IRS summonses under 26 U.S.C. § 7402()

and § 7604(a) An order to show cause was granted, Mr. White

filed a Response, and the Government filed a Reply. The Monroe

County Bar Association (MCBA) sought and was granted leave

to file a bref anmcus Curiae, to which the Government has also

filed a Response. As set forth below, | hold that Mr. White should

not be compelled to obey the IRS summonses served upon him.

and | dismiss this proceeding without prejudice.

FACTS

Helen P. Smith died on November 10, 1982, leaving a gross

estate valued at over $455,000. Her will named respondent James

M. White, Esq. as executor of the estate, and in his capacity as

executor of the estate, Mr. White chose to act as the attorney for

the estate as well. This is a practice permitted under New York

Law. Surrogate’s Court Procedure Act (SCPA) 2307. He

promptly petinoned for probate of the will, and then waited the

seven months required under SCPA § 1802 for any clarms to be

filed before the estate could be closed.

As required, Mr Whute as executor filed his federal estate tax

return (commonly referred to as the 706 Return). In that return.

he clanumed a deduction of $16,530 for his attorney's fees. He also

A-29

claimed a deduction of some $17,548.13 for the executor’s com-

mission to which he was entitled under SCPA § 2307.'

Although he had not received a “closing letter” from the IRS,

Mr. White petitioned for judicial settlement of the estate.? Under

SCPA § 2110, attorneys’ fees can be fixed by an adversary pro-

ceeding’, or by a judicial settlement if releases have been submit-

ted from all legatees. In the Smith estate, Mr. White submitted

releases from all nine‘ residuary legatees, one of whom was an

experienced estates lawyer. The releases indicated the legatees’

approval of Mr. White’s accounting, which included $16,800 for

his attorney’s fee. After reviewing the accounting and the tax

returns, on July 17, 1984, Surrogate Arnold F. Ciaccio granted a

decree of judicial settlement of the Smith estate which had the

' SCPA 2307 provides ia pertinent part that On the settlement of the account of

any fiduciary ... the court must allow to him the reasonable and necessary

expenses actually paid by him and if he be an attorney of this state and shall

have rendered legal services in connection with his official duties, such com-

pensation for his legal services as appear to the court to be just and reasonable

and in addition thereto it must allow to the fiduciary for his services as fiduci-

? Under SCPA § 1804, an estate can be judicially settled before the State estate

tax is final. Although § 1804 says nothing about Federal estate taxes, Trea-

sury Regulations 20.2053-3(b) and (c) clearly contemplate the filing of the 706

return (and the concomitant deduction of any executor’s commissions and

attorney’s fees) both before and after the decree of judicial settlement. See

also Hartwick College v. United States, 801 F.2d 608, 613 n. 4 (2d Cir.1986).

> If such an adversary proceeding had taken place, Mr. White would have been

required to file an affidavit detailing his efforts in this matter, under § 2230.29

of the Uniform Calendar and Practice Rules for Surrogate’s Courts in the

Fourth Department. As of January, 1986, a similar requirement was added by

§ 207.45 of the Uniform Rules for New York State Trial Courts. See also,

Estate of Gutchess, 117 A.D.2d 852, 498 N.Y.S.2d 297 (3d Dept. 1986), app.

denied, 68 N.Y.2d 609, 501 N_E.2d 36 (1986) (administratrix of estate is “enti-

tled to be fully apprised of .he nature and extent of [the estate attorney's] ser-

vices”).

* Although Mr. White’s Response (414) indicates that there were nine residual

beneficiaries, the MCBA’s brief indicates that there were twelve residuary leg-

atees, all of whom submitted releases.

A-30

effect of settling the executor’s accounting, approving the distri-

bution of assets to those interested in the estate, and fixing and

approving the executor’s commissions and attorney’s fees both

of which were due to Mr. White. See SCPA 2307.

On August 7, 1984, petitioner Serling met with Mr. White to

review the 706 return. On January 29, 1985, Mr. Serling wrote to

Mr. White, stating that the Surrogate Court decree of judicial set-

tlement did not preclude the necessity of his providing justifica-

tion for the legal fees claimed. He stated that

[e]ach case must be determined upon its own facts and cir-

cumstances taking into consideration the following factors:

1. Amount involved

2. Time abd [sic] effort of attorney

3. Seriousness of problems

4. Results obtained

5. Experience and ability of attorney

6. Length of administration.

He sought either Mr. White’s time records or, if not available,

then an itemized list of all legal work performed, time expended

for each service and hourly rate charged.

Mr. White then wrote to Surrogate Ciaccio concerning the

matter. Surrogate Ciaccio responded by letter to Mr. White dated

February 25, 1985. That letter indicates that the executor’s com-

mission was fixed by statute, and that the attorney’s fee was set:

in keeping with our ordinary and customary guidelines

which have been followed in this Court for several years.

Moreover, it conforms to the criteria established by the

Court of Appeals in this state as enunciated in Matter of

Freeman, 34 NY 2d, 1 (355 N.Y.S.2d 336, 311 N.E.2d 480}

A-31

and Matter of Potts, 241 NY 593 [150 N.E. 568]. I might

say, parenthetically that the attorney fee approved was some

$700 less than what would have been approved. I set these

matters forth fully aware that you were both executor and

attorney for the estate. In those instances, I personally have

been careful to attempt to keep the fees for attorney-

executors below a full commission. In this particular estate,

you have complied. In conclusion, I state to you that a re-

review of the file and the account submitted justify in every

respect both the commission and fee approval. These are

not done in an arbitrary fashion but rather as indicated fol-

lowing the application of the various criteria.

Mr. White forwarded this letter to Mr. Serling with a cover letter

dated February 27, 1985.

. Not satisfied with this explanation, on May 1, 1985, Mr. Serl-

ing issued an IRS summons to Mr. White as executor and attor-

ney for the estate of Helen P. Smith which sought the production

of any and all records and documents relating to the administra-

tion of the estate of Helen P. Smith, including records of Mr.

White’s activities both as attorney and as executor. Mr. White

responded with a letter dated June 5, 1985, outlining his position

and refusing to permit the IRS to examine the file. On December

16, 1985, Mr. Serling wrote to Mr. White, asking him to submit,

in affidavit form, a detailed account of the duties he performed

in his capacity as executor. By letter dated January 3, 1986, Mr.

White responded that the amount of $17,548.13 was for the exec-

utor’s commissions allowable under SCPA § 2307. On February

3, 1986, Mr. Serling issued another IRS summons to Mr. White,

seeking any and all records relating to Mr. White’s performance

of the duties of executor of the estate of Helen P. Smith.

On July 16, 1986, the IRS issued a form Letter 902(DO), noti-

fying Mr. White that it was assessing a deficiency of $5,754.19

against the estate of Helen P. Smith. Apart from an increase in

the value of stocks and bonds in the estate (which was not con-

; A-32

tested by Mr. White), the deficiency was based principally upon

the disallowance of $17,176 in administration expenses, chiefly

the entire amount ($16,530) of the attorney's fees claimed as a

deduction. The IRS also determined that the claimed executor’s

commission of $17,450 should be corrected to $16,804. Mr.

White states that he has paid the deficiency, with interest, and has

filed a notice of claim for a refund. He also states that he does not

contest the reduction in the executor’s commission.

This enforcement proceeding was commenced August 12,

1986.

DISCUSSION

{1] At the outset, Mr. White argues that his payment of the

deficiency renders this enforcement proceeding moot. However

whether or not Mr. White has paid the deficiency, the issue

remains whether the IRS is entitled to his time records so that it

can independently determine the amount of any allowable

deductions (notwithstanding the Surrogate’s prior determination

in a judicial proceeding). See United States v. Gimbel, 782 F.2d

89, 93 (7th Cir. 1986); United States v. Roundtree, 420 F.2d 845,

847 n. 3(Sth Cir.1970); see also Multistate Tax Commission v.

United States Steel Corp., 714 F.2d 925 (9th Cir. 1983), and Mar-

shall v. Stevens People and Friends For Freedom, 669 F.2d 171,

174 (4th Cir. 1981), cert. dismissed, 455 U.S. 930, 102 S.Ct. 1297,

71 L.Ed.2d 639 (1982), and cert. denied, 455 U.S. 940, 102 S.Ct.

1432, 71 L.Bd.2d 651 (1982). Cf Carr v. United States, 663 F.2d

$9 (8th Cir.1981), United States v. Kis, 658 F.2d 526, 532-35 (7th

Cir.1981), cert. denied, 455 U.S. 1018, 102 S.Ct. 1712, 72

L.Ed.2d 135 (1982), United States v. First American Bank, 649

F.2d 288 (Sth Cir.1981), and United States v. Silva and Silva

Accountancy Corp., 641 F.2d 710 (9th Cir. 1981) (actual compli-

ance with an IRS summons would render an enforcement action

A-33

moot); but cf Gluck v. United States, 771 F.2d 750, 753-54, n. 3

(3d Cir. 1985) (contra). Accordingly, the petition will not be dis-

missed as moot.

To enforce a summons, the IRS must show that the investiga-

tion will be conducted pursuant to a legitimaie purpose, that the

inquiry may be relevant to the purpose, that the information

sought is not already within the Commissioner’s possession, and

that the administrative steps required by the Code have been fol-

lowed. United States v. Powell, 379 U.S. 48, 57-58, 85 S.Ct. 248,

254-55, 13 L.Bd.2d 112 (1964); United States v. MacKenzie, 777

F.2d 811, 819 (2d Cir.1985), cert. denied, U.S. , 106

S.Ct. 2889, 90 L.Ed.2d 977 (1986). For the reasons set forth

below, I conclude that the IRS has not made the necessary show-

ing that the investigation will be conducted pursuant to a legiti-

mate purpose.

[2j The statute which governs the IRS’s ability to determine the

deductibility of estate administrative expenses is 26 U.S.C.

§ 2053(a), which permits the deduction of administrative

expenses in “such amounts ... as are allowable by the laws of the

jurisdiction ... under which the estate is being administered.” An

A-34

an active and genuine contest. If the result reached appears

to be unreasonable, this is some evidence that there was not

such a contest, but it may be rebutted by proof to the con-

trary. If the decree was rendered by consent, it will be

accepted, provided the consent was a bona fide recognition

of the validity of the claim (and not a mere cloak for a gift)

and was accepted by the court as satisfactory evidence upon

the merits. It will be presumed that the consent was of this

character, and was so accepted, if given by all parties having

an interest adverse to the claimant....

This statute and regulation were at issue in Estate of Smith v.

Commissioner, $10 F.2d 479 (2d Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S.

827, 96 S.Ct. 44, 46 L.Ed.2d 44 (1975). In Smith, the Second Cir-

cuit affirmed a determination of the Tax Court that no more than

$750,447.74 in sales commissions were “necessary” to liquidate

the estate of a sculptor, even though the Surrogate’s Court of

Warren County, New York had approved the payment of almost

$1.6 million in commissions. Citing the above-noted Treasury

Regulation, the Second Circuit stated that

expenditures by an executor as proper

expcases under New York law will be controlling and will

not raise questions concerning possible discrepancies

between § 2053 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954 and

Treas.Reg. § 20.2053-3(d){2).

Id. at 482.

Although in Smith the Commissioner and the Tax Court had

each made a de novo inquiry into the factual necessity for the

expenditures, they did so because the expenditures had not been

undertaken on the estate’s behalf, but rather on behalf of testa-

mentary trusts. (Mr. Smith's will had contemplated a distribution

of the sculptures in kind to the trusts for the benefit of his daugh-

ters.) Estate of David Smith, $7 T.C. 650 (1972). It was not a case

in which the Commissioner and the Tax Court refused to follow

A-35

state law which by all appearances had been prop-: ly applied by

the state court, as here. The Tax Court's determination in Smith

that only about half the sales commissions were “necessary”

either to preserve the estate or pay its debts was consistent with

§ 11-1.1 of the New York Estates, Powers and Trusts Law

(EPTL) and Treas.Reg. 20.2053-3(d)(2}. Compare Treas. Reg.

20.2053-3(c\(3).

The Government points to footnote 4 in Smith, in which the

Second Circuit quoted from the Fifth Circuit's decision in Pitner

v. United States, 388 F.2d 651 (1967):

“[ijn the determination of deductibility under section

2053(a)(2), it is not enough that the deduction be allowable

under state law. It is necessary as well that the deduction be

for an ‘administrative expense’ within the meaning of that

term as it is used in the statute, and that the amount soughi

to be deducted be reasonable under the circumstances.

These are both questions of federal law and establish the

outside limits for what may be considered allowable deduc-

tions under section 2053a)(2).” 388 F.2d at 659.

(Emphasis added.) The Government argues from this that, in the

Second Circuit, the question of the amount of a deduction is a

federal question which is the proper subject of an IRS inquiry.

The Government has placed undue emphasis upon this foot-

note. The texi which the footnote accompanies indicates that the

Second Circuit had declined to adopt the Surrogate’s computa-

tion of commissions because the interest of the federal govern-

ment (in taxing the passage of property) had not been completely

or accurately reflected in the State's interests (in supervising the

fiduciary respomsibilities of the executor). In particular, the Sec-

ond Circuit noted that there was a question as to whether some of

the expenses were in fact incurred for the benefit of the escate (in

accordance with the general purpose of 26 U.S.C. § 2053), or

instead were incurred for the benefit of the individual beneficia-

ries. The Court concluded that:

A-36

[iJn such circumstances, the federal courts cannot be pre-

cluded from reexamining a lower state court’s allowance of

administration expenses to determine whether they were in

fact necessary to carry out the administration of the estate

or merely prudent or advisable in preserving the interests of

the beneficiaries.

510 F.2d at 482-83 (citations omitted).

In this case, SCPA 2307 provides for the method of calcuating

executor’s commissions. Thus if the statute is followed the

deduction claimed for executor’s commissions is “reasonable”’

within the meaning of Pitner. The same statute specifically pro-

vides that the Surrogate allow to the executor, if he be an attor-

ney, a fee “as it appears to the Court to be just and reasonable...” —

(emphasis added).

In this case, Surrogate Ciaccio had before him Mr. White’s

accounting, as well as the Federal and State estate tax returns,

when he approved the amount of Mr. White’s attorney fee as

being “just and reasonable.” As he stated in his February 25,

1985 letter, he applied the criteria from Matter of Freeman, 34

N.Y.2d 1, 355 N.Y.S.2d 336, 311 N.E.2d 480 (1974), and Matter

of Potts, 241 N.Y. 593, 150 N.E. 568 (1925), in setting the

amount of Mr. White’s attorney’s fee. Freeman sets forth the fol-

lowing factors to be used in fixing an attorney’s fee:

1. Time and labor required;

2. The difficulty of the questions involved;

3. The skill required to handle the problems presented;

4. The lawyer’s experience, ability and reputation;

5

. The amount involved and benefit resulting to the client

from the services;

6. The customary fee charged by the Bar for similar ser-

vices;

A-37

7. The contingency or certainty of compenstion;

8. The results obtained;

9. The responsibility involved.

34 N.Y.2d at 9, 355 N.Y.S.2d 336, 311 N.E.2d 480. The six fac-

tors which Mr. Serling would have the IRS consider are all

included among the factors listed in Freeman. Under Treas.Reg.

20.2053-1(b)(2), then, the Surrogate having passed upon the facts

upon which deductibility depends, the decision of the Surrogate

should be accepted.‘

It appears that the IRS is claiming the right to second guess the

decision of the Surrogate on commissions and attorneys’ fees

under any circumstances. Such a position not only represents a

* The Monroe County Bar Association urges that I follow the holdi

Estate of Park v. Commissioner of Internal Revenue, 475 Aegon ede

Cir. 1973), and Estate of Jenner v. Commissioner of Internal Revenue, 577

F.2d 1100, 1106-07 (7th Cir. 1978), and hold that, if a state probate court has

determined that a particular expense is “necessary” to the administration of

an estate, its determination would not be subject to review by the IRS. The

MCBA argues that the Second Circuit effectively adopted this approach when

it affirmed without opinion the decision in Estate of Vatter v. Commissioner

of Internal Revenue, 65 T.C. 633 (1975), aff'd., 556 F.2d 563 (1976). The

MCBA also points out that this approach was adopted by the United States

District Court in Nevada in Bank of Nevada vy. United States, 80-2 U.S.T.C.

$13,361 (1980). The Government argues that the MCBA misconstrues Vatter.

and the Park, Jenner, and Bank of Nevada do not represent the law in this

ar pty om in the Smith case.

agree wit Government that Smith, not Park, Jenner, and Bank

Nevada, represents the law in this circuit. I aleo agres thet the Tax Count

Vatter properly distinguished that case from Smith, because in Vatter the

Property in question had not been specifically devised or intended to be dis-

tributed in kind (so that the executrix was acting on behalf of the estate not

the beneficiaries, when she sold the property). Nevertheless, I believe that

under Smith, the IRS can review a probate court’s determination that a partic.

ane chess is “necessary,” but only if it first makes a showing that the pro-

, for some reason (such

rn “toed ( as fraud), not passed on the factors on

A-38

misreading of the Smith holding, but is also “destructive ... of

the proper relationship between State and federal law...’ Com-

missioner v. Estate of Bosch, 387 U.S. 456, 480, 87 S.Ct. 1776,

1790, 18 L.Ed.2d 886 (Harlan, J., dissenting) (1967).

The Surrogate’s Court in New York State, and not the IRS or

the U.S. District Court, is exclusively authorized by New York

law to determine the appropriate award of attorneys fees in the

probating of an estate. The factors that the IRS would have this

Court consider are all factors which the Surrogate does consider

under Freeman and Potts. State courts “have an especially strong

interest and a well-developed competence” to adjudicate these

matters, Giardina v. Fontana, 733 F.2d 1047 (2d Cir.1984); see

also, Fay v. South Colonie Cent. Sch. Dist., 802 F.2d 21, 31-32

(2d Cir.1986), so much so that the federal courts have created

their own exception to diversity jurisdiction for probate matters.

Id.; see also Byers v. McAuley, 149 U.S. 608, 13 S.Ct. 906, 37

L.Ed. 867 (1893); Jn re Broderick’s Will, 21 Wall. (88 U.S.) 503,

22 L.Ed. 599 (1875); Hook v. Payne, 14 Wall. (81 U.S.) 252, 20

L.Ed. 887 (1872).

Respect for the considered judgment of state courts has been

expressed by federal courts over the years for other reasons as

well. This respect has been based upon the courts’ sense of com-

ity and federalism, see, e.g., Webb v. Web, 451 U.S. 493, 499-500,

101 S.Ct. 1889, 1893, 68 L.Ed.2d 392 (1981); Juidice v. Vail, 430

U.S. 327, 334-36, 97 S.Ct. 1211, 1216-17, 51 L.Ed.2d 376 (1977);

423 South Salina Street, Inc. v. City of Syracuse, 724 F.2d 26, 27

(2d Cir. 1983); a view of the states as “laboratories for social and

economic experiements,” Johnson v. Louisiana, 406 U.S. 356,

376, 92 S.Ct. 1620, 1636, 32 L.Ed.2d 152 (1972) (Blackmun, J.,

concurring); New State Ice Co. v. Liebmann, 285 U.S. 262, 311,

§2 S.Ct. 371, 386, 76 L.Ed. 747 (1932) (Brandeis, J., dissenting);

the Eleventh Amendment, Pennhurst State School & Hosp. v.

Haldermann, 465 U.S. 89, 106, 104S.Ct. 900, 911, 79 L.Ed.2d 67

A-39

(1984); the Full Faith and Credit statute (28 U.S.C. § 1738),

Migra v. Warren City School Dist. Bd. of Ed., 465 U.S. 75, 104

S.Ct. 892, 79 L.Ed.2d 56 (1984); Bottini v. Sadore Management

Corp., 764 F.2d 116 (2d Cir. 1985); and federal common-law rules

of preclusion. University of Tennessee v. Elliott, U.S. ;

106 S.Ct. 3220, 3224, 3226-27, 92 L.Ed.2d 635 (1986).°

Justice Black described the notion of comity and the principle

of federalism in Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37, 44-45, 91 S.Ct.

746, 750-51, 27 L.Ed.2d 669 (1971) as follows:

... that is, a proper respect for state functions, a recognition

of the fact that the entire country is made up of a Union of

separate state governments, and a continuance of the belief

that the National Government will fare best if the States and

their institutions are left free to perform their separate func-

tions in their separate ways. This, perhaps for lack of a bet-

ter and clearer way to describe it, is referred to by many as

“Our Federalism,” and one familiar with the profound

debates that ushered our Federal Constitution into exist-

ence is bound to respect those who remain loyal to the ideals

and dreams of “Our Federalism.” The concept does not

mean blind deference to “States’ Rights” any more than it

means centralization of control over every important issue

in our National Government and its courts. The Framers

rejected both these courses. What the concept does repre-

sent is a system in which there is sensitivity to the legitimate

interests of both State and National Governments, and in

which the National Government, anxious though it may be

to vindicate and protect federal rights and federal interests,

always endeavors to do so in ways that will not unduly inter-

° The Full Faith and Credit Statute, and federal common-law rules of preclu-

sion, apply to disputes between the same parties, or of which a party has at

least had notice and an opportunity to fully present its claims. The Govern-

ment has not raised the point that the IRS did not have notice of the judicial

settlement proceeding or an opportunity to be heard therein, and this factor

was not addressed by the Second Circuit in the Smith case. This is presumably

because (as Justice Harlan noted in his dissent in the Bosch case) this is not a

res judicata or collateral estoppel question. 387 U.S. at 475, 87 S.Ct. at 1787.

A-40 A-41

fere with the legitimate activities of the States. It should Commissioner v. Estat

never be forgotten that this slogan, “Our Federalism,” born ee WS Oe

in the early struggling days of our Union of States, occupies

a highly important place in our Nation’s history and its

future. ; .

In this case, the interests of the State (in determining how an

attorney and an executor should be compensated for handling

the probate of an estate) must be balanced against the interests of

the IRS in enforcing the federal tax laws. I believe the proper bal-

ance was drawn by Justice Harlan in 1967:

The interests of the federal treasury are essentially nar-

row here; they are entirely satisfied if a considered judg- .

ment is obtained from either a state or a federal court, after

consideration of the pertinent materials, of the require-

ments of state law... [T]he federal interest requires only that

the Commissioner be permitted to obtain from the federal

courts a considered adjudication of the relevant state law

issues in cases in which, for whatever reason, the state

courts have not already provided such an adjudication. In

turn, it may properly be assumed that the state court has

had an opportunity to make, and has made, such an adjudi-

cation if, in a proceeding untainted by fraud, it has had the

benefit of reasoned argument from parties holding genu-

inely inconsistent interests.

. | recognize that Justice Harlan’s opinion in Bosch was a dissenting opinion

and that the majority in Bosch held that a state trial court decision Sead on

be binding on the IRS if the IRS had not been made a party. The majority

opinion in Bosch, however, is distinguishable in at least two respects. First,

Bosch involved a section of the Code for which the legislative history indi-

cated only that “proper regard” should be given to a state probate court deter-

mination, and then only when entered by a court “in a bona fide adversary

proceeding.” 387 U.S. at 464, 87 S.Ct. at 1787. By contrast, the Code section

and regulations at issue in this case specify that the probate court decision will

ordinarily be accepted, even if rendered by consent, if the court passes upon

the facts upon which deductibility depends. Second, unlike Bosch, there has

been a determination of the relevant New York law not merely by the trial

court, but also by the highest court in the state, in Freeman and Potts.

A-42

{3} I hold that the IRS cannot second-guess the decision of the

Surrogate when the Surrogate has passed upon the critical facts

upon which deductibility depends. to challenge such a decision,

the IRS must first make a prima facie showing that the Surro-

gate’s decision was motivated by factors other than those on

Footnote 7 Continued

Moreover, the underlying substantive rule in this case is based on state law

and this State’s highest court is the best authority on its own law. 387 U.S. at

465, 87 S.Ct. at 1782. The issue is the reasonableness of an attorney's fee and

the executor’s commission claimed as deductions in an estate administration

proceeding. Both fees are determined by State law. Both are allowed by State

statute, SCPA 2307. The executor’s commission is computed by a formula

contained in that statute. The attorney's fee is controlled by a standard set

forth by the holding of cases before the state’s highest court, Matter of Free-

man and Matter of Potts. As to the standard of review of a Surrogate’s exer-

cise of discretion in fixing attorney's fees, “the statute, the cases, and the

treatises suggest that the fixation of fees ... [is] discretionary without further

analysis (citations omitted].” In Re Estate of Aaron, 30 N.Y.2d 718, 720, 332

N. YS.2d 891, 283 N.E.2d 764 (1972). The Surrogate of Monroe County prop-

erly applied the statutory and caselaw, and thus his determination would not

even have been reviewable in state court, under Aaron. By contrast, in Bosch,

the Probate Court of Connecticut had to make a substantive determination of

the term “marital deduction” as it applied in a federal estate tax statute. See

Gallagher v. Smith, 223 F.2d 218, 222-23 (3d Cir. 1955); Estate of Bullock, 19

T.C.M. 1080 (1960). Thus Bosch supplies no authority for the IRS to seek

review of the Surrogate’s Decision in federal court, particularly when it could

not do so in state court. é

In the instant case the issue is not one of interpreting federal law. It is a case

of federal tax authorities refusing to accept the determination of a state court

of a matter involved in state administration and clearly dealt with in state law.

Thus, the Bosch case is distinguished from the instant case. In fact, under

Bosch, because the underlying substantive rule involved is based on state law

and the state's highest court has passed on the issue, then “federal authorities

must apply what they find to be the state law after giving ‘proper regard’ to

relevant rulings of other courts of the State.” 387 U.S. at 465, 87 S.Ct. at 1782.

The federal court then sits as a state court by application of the rule of Erie

Railroad Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64, 58 S.Ct. 817, 82 L.Ed. 1188 (1938).

Id.

A-43

which deductibility depends, such as fraud, overreaching, or

excessiveness by the attorney or the Surrogate.* The IRS has not

done so here.

I do not consider the fact that Mr. White acted as executor and

attorney for the estate to be by itself evidence of fraud, over-

reaching, or excessiveness. That dual role is clearly permitted

pursuant to SCPA 2307.9 Whether or not that practice should

continue is a matter for the New York State Legislature to decide,

not Federal Court.'°

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, the Government’s motion for

an order compelling enforcement of its summonses is denied,

and this enforcement proceeding is dismissed. This dismissal is

without prejudice, however, to a refiling by the Government

should it determine that there is prima facie evidence of fraud,

. By analogy, New York statutory and case law is very clear on the circum-

stances (including fraud, newly discovered evidence, or clerical error) under

which a Surrogate’s order can be attacked. See, e.g., SCPA § 209; In re Estate

of Chodikoff, 54 Misc.2d 785, 786, 283 N.Y.S.2d 555 (Surr.Ct., Rensselaer

County 1967); Jn re Estate of Heller, 33 Misc.2d 798, 226 N. Y.S.2d 260 (Surr.

Ct., N.Y¥.County, 1962).

” An attorney/executor must differentiate between the services performed in

each capacity when seeking court approval of fees. See In re Tuttle’s Will, 4

A.D.2d 310, 164 N.Y.S.2d 573 (4th Dep’t 1957), aff'd, 4 N.Y.2d 159, 173

N.Y.S.2d 279, 149 N.E.2d 715 (1988). The reported cases collected in the Sup-

plementary Practice Commentaries to SCPA § 2110 (McKinneys) reflect

what can fairly be described as a heightened scrutiny by Surrogates for fee

applications from attorney/executors.

'° The MCBA has also argued that, because the IRS’s interpretation of the Trea-

sury Regulations is inconsistent with the plain language of the Tax Code, the

regulations are invalid. As set forth above, I believe the Regulations to be

consistent with the Tax Code, and the IRS’s interpretation of the Regulations

to be incorrect. Accordingly, like the Second Circuit in Smith, 510 F.2d at

483, and the Tax Court in Vatter, 65 T.C. 633, fn. 5, I find it unnecessary to

pass on whether Treas.Reg. § 20.2053-3 is invalid.

‘ A-44

overreaching, or some other reason to believe that the Surrogate

has not passed on the factors upon which deductibility depends

in this case. That burden is upon the Government.

In the absence of such evidence, the IRS must respect a deci-

sion of a Surrogate setting the amount of the attorneys’ fees and

the executors’ commissions set forth in a proceeding judicially

settling the estate and which fees (on their face) are fully in

accord with the requirements of the state law, particularly where

that determination takes into account all of the factors which the

IRS itself would consider. The fees, having been determined in a

state court proceeding by the proper application of the relevant

state law which is untainted by fraud, must be respected and

accepted by this Court as well as the IRS.

[4] The administration of estates is an area traditionally

reserved to the states, and federal laws dealing with the taxation

of decedents’ estates must accommodate and yield to judicial

determinations made under state law by state courts. This is not a

new doctrine. An important aspect of our Constitutional blue-

print. creates and respects certain spheres of authority, and leaves

to the people of the stats in the Tenth Amendment those responsi-

bilities and rights not committed to federal care.

ALL OF THE ABOVE IS SO ORDERED.

A-45

United States Court of Appeals

for the

Second Circuit

[United States Court of Appeals Seal: Filed Oct 06 1988]

Ata stated term of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Second Circuit, held at the United States Courthouse, in the City

of New York, on the 6th day of October, one thousand nine hun-

dred and eighty-eight.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, and JAMES M. SERLING,

E.tate Tax Attorney Internal Revenue Service,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

v.

JAMES M. WHITE, as attorney for and as executor of

the ESTATE OF HLEN P. SMITH, deceased,

Defendant-Appellee.

A petition for rehearing containing a suggestion that the action

be reheard in banc having been filed herein by defendant-

appellee, James M. White, as attorney for and as executor of the

Estate of Helen P. Smith, deceased,

Upon consideration by the panel that heard the appeal, it is

Ordered that,said petition for rehearing is DENIED.

It is further noted that the Suggestion for rehearing in banc has

been transmitted 9 the judges of the court in regular active ser-

vice and to any other judge that heard the appeal and that no such

judge has requested that a vote be taken thereon.

ELAINE B. GOLDSMITH

Clerk

[signature]

A-46

[Department of the Treasury]

{Internal Revenue Service letterhead]

SUMMONS

[Government Exhibit 1]

In the Matter of Estate of Helen P. Smith

Internal Revenue District of Buffalo. Periods Date of Death:

November 10, 1982

The Commissioner of Internal Revenue

To James M. White, Executor and Attorney

At 624 Executive Office Building, Rochester, New York 14614

You are hereby summoned and required to appear before: James

M. Serling, Attorney (Estate Tax), an officer of the Internal Reve-

nue Service, to give testimony and to bring with you and to pro-

duce for examination the following books, records, papers and

other data relating to the tax liability or the collection of the tax

liability or for the purpose of inquiring into any offense con-

nected with the administration or enforceinent of the Internal

Revenue Laws concerning the period identified above for the per-

iods shown.

Any and all records and documents relating to the administration

of the Estate of Helen P. Smith including but not limited to the

correspondence file of the executor and attorney, administrative

records, records of purchase, sa!> and distribution of securities

of the decedent, bank statements, checking records, any plead-

ings, stock brokerage statements, legal documents prepared in

connection with the taxpayer, assignment or payments to the

heirs and beneficiaries of the estate, any diary or other records

maintained showing the attorney’s and/or executor’s activities,

tuiephone calls, conferences or court appearances and docu-

menis prepared for all the state and federal tax returns filed for

the estate.

A-47

Business address and telephone number of Internal Revenue Ser-

vice officer named above: Internal Revenue Service, 100 State

Street, Room 122, Rochester, New York 14614 (263-3170)

Place and time for appearance: at 100 State Street, Room 122,

Rochester, New York 14614 on the 17th day of May, 1985 at 10:00

o’clock A.M. issued under authority of the Internal Revenue

Code this 10th day of June, 1985

[James M. Serling signature] Attorney (Estate Tax)

Signature of Issuing Officer Title

a

A-48 A-49

Service of Summons, Notice ; : : ‘

be “ Signature: [James M. Serling} Title: [Attorney (Estate Tax)]

(Pursuant to section 7603, Internal Revenue Code)

I certify that I served the summons shown on the front of this

form on:

James M. White, Executor

Date: May 1, 1985 Time: 12:30 P.M.

How Summons Was Served

& I handed an attested copy of the summons to the person to

whom it was directed.

Signature: [James M. Serling] Title: [Attorney (Estate Tax)]

This certificate is made to show compliance with section 7609,

of Internal Revenue Code. This certificate applies only to sum-

monses served on third party recordkeepers and not to sum-

monses served on either third parties or any officer or employee

of the person to whose identity the summons relates nor to sum-

monses in aid of collection, to determine the identity of a person

having a numbered account or similar arrangement or to deter-

mine whether or not records of the business transactions or

affairs of an identified person have been made or kept.

I certify that within 3 days of serving the summons, I gave

notice (Form 2039 D) to the person named below on the date in

the manner indicated.

Date of Giving Notice: May 3, 1985

Name of Noticee: James M. White, Atty.

Address of Noticee (if mailed): 624 Executive Office Building,

Rochester, New York 14614

How Notice Was Given:

XM I gave notice by certified or registered mail to the last known

address of the noticee.

7

A-50

[Department of the Treasury]

[Internal Revenue Service letterhead]

SUMMONS

[COPY]

[Government Exhibit 2]

In the Matter of Estate of Helen P. Smith

Internal Revenue District of Buffalo. Periods Date of Death:

November 10, 1982

The Commissioner of Internal Revenue

To James M. White, Executor

At 624 Executive Office Building, Rochester, New York 14614

You are hereby summoned and required to appear before: James

M. Serling, Attorney (Estate Tax), an officer of the Internal Reve-

nue Service, to give testimony and to bring with you and to pro-

duce for examination the following books, records, papers and

other data relating to the tax liability or the collection of the tax

liability or for the purpose of inquiring into any offense con-

necied with the administration or enforcement of the Internal

Revenue Laws concerning the period identified above for the per-

iods shown.

Any and all records and documents relating to the performance

of the duties of executor of the Estate of Helen P. Smith, includ-

ing, but not limited to, the collection and conservation of the

decedent’s assets, payment of all debts, estate and all income

taxes, arrangement and payment of funeral and administration

expenses, correspondence file of the executor, administrative

records, records of purchase, sale and distribution of securities

of the decedent, bank statements, checking records, stock bro-

kerage statements, assignment or payments to the heirs and bene-

ficiaries of the estate, diary or other records maintained showing

executor’s activities, telephone calls, conferences, all statements

and schedules of accounts, court appearances, all documents

A-51

prepared for all state and federal tax returns filed for the estate

and all records rendered to the estate pertaining to all legal ser-

vices performed by James M. White, Attorney for the estate.

Business address and telephone number of Internal Revenue Ser-

vice officer named above: Internal Revenue Service, 100 State

Street, Room 122, Rochester, New York 14614 (263-3170)

Place and time for appearance: at 100 State Street, Room 122,

Rochester, New York 14614 on the 4th day of March, 1986 at 9:30

o’clock A.M. issued under authority of the Internal Revenue

Code this 3rd day of February, 1986

[James M. Serling signature] Attorney (Estate Tax)

Signature of Issuing Officer Title

A-52

Service of Summons, Notice

and Recordkeeper Certificates

(Pursuant to section 7603, Internal Revenue Code)

I certify that I served the summons shown on the front of this

form on:

James M. White, Executor

Date: February 3, 1986 Time: 4:45 P.M.

How Summons Was Served

X I handed an attested copy of the summons to the person to

whom it was directed.

A-53

[Monroe County Surrogate’s Court letterhead]

February 25, 1985

James M. White, Esq.

624 Executive Office Building

Rochester, New York 14614

Re: Estate of Helen P. Smith

Your File No. E:E:1210:JMS

Dear Mr. White: i

You have asked for a review of the commission and fee approval

granted by this Court in a decree of judicial settlement made J uly

17, 1984. In reviewing the amount submitted at that time, I have

noted that the total principal and interested accounted for are in

excess of $455,000.

The commission for the executor was therein fixed by statute and

was allowed in the amount of $17,548.13.

The attorney fee allowed in that proceeding was the sum of

$16,800.

This is to advise that the fee set is in keeping with our ordinary

and customary guidelines which have been followed in this Court

for several years. Moreover, it conforms to the criteria estab-

lished by the Court of Appeals in this state as enunciated in Mat-

ney for the estate. In those instances, I personally have been care-

ful to attempt to keep the fees for attorney-executors below a full

commission. In this particular estate, you have complied. In con-

clusion, I state to you that a re-review of the file and the account

A-54

submitted justify in every respect both the commission and fee

approval. These are not done in an arbitrary fashion but rather

as indicated following the application of the various criteria.

You are free to use this letter with respect to any taxing proceed-

ings.

Very truly yours,

[signature]

ARNOLD F. CIACCIO

Monroe County Surrogate

OPPOSITION

BRIEF

In the Supreme Court of the Bnited

OcToBER TERM, 1988

JAMES M. WHITE, ETC., PETITIONER

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA AND JAMES M. SERLING

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION

WILLIAM C. BRYSON

Acting Solicitor General

JAMES I.K. KNAPP

Acting Assistant Attorney General

CHARLES E. BROOKHART

JOAN |, OPPENHEIMER

Attorneys

Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20530

(202) 633-2217

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the approval of executor’s commissions and at-

torney’s fees by a state probate court precludes the

enforcement of an Internal Revenue Service summons

seeking records relating to the administration of the estate

for the purpose of determining the allowability of federal

estate tax deductions claimed for such commissions and

fees.

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

eh, ote a ds cau ee Saag phew eessevacdes l

ei ak oes ctabnhnetes aks pawes ubbne l

es Ol i eek ee ee re £beCens Kasbdkae ee nee l

i LG nd goku necro teeh tense eed ebee: « hee 5

Te ine enn ee ee ees eal es o's od clneies 11

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Brehm, In re, 37 App. Div. 2d 95, 322 N.Y.S. 2d 287

ee. bla dc swcceececetbees 9

Commissioner v. Estate of Bosch:

RE 5, 7,8,9

363 F.2d 1009 (2d Cir. 1966) ........... 2c cee ceees 8

Estate of Jenner v. Commissioner, 577 F.2d 1100 (7th

es as nbc kdeeeese'eeie 10

Estate of Park v. Commissioner, 475 F.2d 673 (6th Cir.

eae e ck ws neaeaveccenudecaneed 10

Estate of Roth, In re, 29 App. Div. 2d 941, 289 N.Y.S.2d

SRT ET REAR ORE See 9

Freeman, In re, 34 N.Y.2d 1, 311 N.E.2d 480, 355 N.Y.S.

SS TT ED PY Pn ee 2,8

Magavern v. United States, 550 F.2d 797 (2d Cir.), cert.

ne y

Second Nat'l Bank vy. United States, 351 F.2d 489 (2d

Cir. 1965), aff'd, 387 U.S. 456 (1967) ................ 8-9

United States v. Arthur Young & Co., 465 U.S. 805

NRT a ee Deaieuc heh «es waeede 10

United States v. Powell, 379 U.S. 48 (1964) ............ 4, 6

Statutes and regulation:

‘nternal Revenue Code of 1954 (26 U.S.C.):

ed ee eee bl cde y aces keeedbe e 6

Airtel. cn wes ios tink ore be cee 00be'e 3

rhe ee thi Oa as ot bid bod Capen 10

N.Y. Surr. Ct. Proc. Act § 2307 (McKinney 1967 &

Pri CL GL Ce Uhl as hedé'sé'sbeends bedede 2

Treas. Reg. § 20.2053-1(b)(2) (26 C.F.R.) ............. 3, 5, 6

(III)

—

In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

No. 88-928

JAMES M. WHITE, ETC., PETITIONER

V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA AND JAMES M. SERLING

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT UF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. Al-A24)

is reported at 853 F.2d 107. The opinion of the district

court (Pet. App. A26-A44) is reported at 650 F. Supp.

904.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on

August 2, 1988. A petition for rehearing was denied on

October 6, 1988 (Pet. App. A45). The petition for a writ

of certiorari was filed on December 3, 1988. The jurisdic-

tion of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATEMENT

1. Petitioner was named as the executor of the estate

of Helen P. Smith, and he also chose to act as the estate’s

(1)

_— —

2

attorney. For his services, he claimed an executor’s com-

mission of $17,548 and an attorney’s fee of $16,800, to be

paid out of the gross estate of $455,000.' Petitioner ob-

tained from the New York State Surrogate Court a decree

of judicial settlement, which had the effect of fixing and

approving his claimed executor’s commissions and at-

torney’s fees. This proceeding was not adversarial, and

petitioner did not file an affidavit detailing his services as

an attorney. Pet. App. A5-A6, A28-A30. ‘

On the estate’s federal estate tax return, petitioner

deducted as administrative expenses an attorney’s fee of

$16,530 and an executor’s commission of $17,450.?

Respondent Serling, an Internal Revenue Service (IRS) at-

torney, was assigned to review the estate tax return. He in-

formed petitioner that the decree of judicial settlement did

not eliminate the need to justify the claimed deduction of

legal fees, and he requested that petitioner provide the IRS

with documentation of the work performed and time spent

on the estate’s legal work. In response, petitioner for-

warded to respondent Serling a letter obtained from the

Surrogate for use in the audit (see Pet. App. A53-A54), in

which the Surrogate explained that the attorney’s fee con-

formed to the criteria of reasonableness applicable under

' New York law provides that the executor’s commission is deter-

mined by a formula based on the value of the gross estate. An

allowable attorney’s fee is compensation that is “just and reasonable.”

N.Y. Surr. Ct. Proc. Act § 2307 (McKinney 1967 & Supp. 1989). The

New York Court of Appeals in Jn re Freeman, 34 N.Y.2d 1, 311

N.E.2d 480, 355 N.Y.S. 2d 336 (1974), has described the factors that

are relevant in determining whether a claimed fee is “just and

reasonable.” See Pet. App. A36-A37.

2 The record does not reveal why the amounts claimed as deduc-

tions on the estate tax return were slightly smaller than the amounts

awarded by the Surrogate.

3

New York law and that he did not act arbitrarily in ap-

proving it. Jd. at A6, A31.

Thereafter, respondent Serling issued two ad-

ministrative summonses to petitioner (see Pet. App.

A46-A47, A50-A51), requesting all records relating to the

administration of the estate, including records of peti-

tioner’s activities as attorney and executor. Petitioner

refused to comply with the summonses, relying on the Sur-

rogate’s prior approval of his attorney’s fees. The govern-

ment then brought this action in the United States District

Court for the Western District of New York to enforce the

summonses. Jd. at A6-A7.3

2. The district court refused to enforce the summonses

(Pet. App. A26-A44). The court held that “the IRS has not

made the necessary showing that the investigation will be

conducted pursuant to a legitimate purpose” (id. at A33).

The court noted that the governing statute, Section

2053(a) of the Internal Revenue Code (26 U.S.C.), permits

the deduction of administrative expenses allowable under

state law, and the court relied upon the fact that the rele-

vant Treasury regulation, 26 C.F.R. § 20.2053-1(b)(2),

provides that a local court’s determination to allow an ad-

ministrative expense “will ordinarily be accepted [for

federal estate tax purposes] if the court passes upon the

facts upon which deductibility depends.” The court

reasoned that the IRS therefore could not ordinarily

disallow the expenses approved by the Surrogate Court,

* The government also issued a notice of deficiency against the

estate, in which it disallowed the claimed attorney’s fees and reduced

the claimed deduction for the executor’s commission from $17,450 to

$16,804. Petitioner did not contest the reduction in the executor’s

commission. After paying the deficiency, however, he sought a re-

fund, contesting the disallowance of the attorney’s fees deduction.

That separate refund suit is pending in district court, and this case

does not involve the refund claim. Pet. App. A6-A7.

4

and the court held that it would not enforce a summons

designed to evalute the reasonableness of such approved

expenses unless the IRS makes “a prima facie showing that

the Surrogate’s decision was motivated by factors other

than those on which deductibility depends, such as fraud,

overreaching, or excessiveness by the attorney or the Sur-

rogate” (Pet. App. A42-A43).

3. The court of appeals reversed (Pet. App. Al-A24).

The court held that the government had clearly met the re-

quirements set forth in United States v. Powell, 379 U.S.

48 (1964), for the enforcement of a summons. Indeed, ihe

court stated that the district court’s additional requirement

that the IRS make a prima facie showing that the Sur-

rogate’s decision was motivated by impermissible factors

such as fraud was “virtually the same” as the proposition

rejected by this Court in Powell, namely, that the IRS

must make an advance showing of probable cause to

suspect fraud in order to obtain enforcement of a sum-

mons designed to investigate fraud (Pet. App. A20).

Because “the district court’s requirement would be equally

likely to hamper the IRS in carrying out investigations it

thinks are warranted, and has already forced the IRS to

litigate and prosecute an appeal on the very subject it

desires to investigate,” the court of appeals rejected the

district court’s additional requirement as “an invalid

restraint on the summons power of the IRS” (ibid.).

The court of appeals also rejected the district court’s

conclusion that the statute and Treasury regulation

preclude the IRS from investigating the deductibility of

petitioner’s fees. The court declared that the statute re-

quires the IRS to apply state rules, but that the deductibili-

ty of the expenses remains a federal question that is not

controlled by the determination of a state trial court (Pet.

App. Al4). And the court of appeals found that this

c- «>»

=F ss

5

Court’s decision in Commissioner v. Estate of Bosch, 387

U.S. 456 (1967), supported its conclusion that “the Sur-

rogate’s decree is not conclusive and binding on the IRS”

(Pet. App. Al5). Correspondingly, the court concluded

that Treas. Reg. § 20.2053-1(b)(2) “makes it clear that the

IRS is entitled to make an independent assessment of ap-

plicable state law as interpreted by the state’s highest

court,” and therefore it can “independently assess[] the

deductibility of [petitioner’s] fees under state law” (Pet.

App. A18-A19). Thus, the court held that an inquiry into

the basis for petitioner’s claimed fees was a legitimate pur-

pose for the issuance of the summonses. The court em-

phasized that “the validity of the Surrogate’s decree is not

at issue”; rather, the court’s discussion was “intended sole-

ly to demonstrate that, contrary to [petitioner’s] claim, the

IRS may indeed inquire under § 2053 into the allowability

of [petitioner’s] fees under state law” (id. at Al7).

ARGUMENT

Petitioner contends that the court of appeals erred in

directing the district court to enforce the summonses. The

court of appeals’ decision, however, is correct, and does

not conflict with any decision of this Court or of another

court of appeals. Indeed, the decision below is virtually

compelled by summons enforcement principles well

established by decisions of this Court. Accordingly, fur-

ther review is not warranted.

1. It must be emphasized that, despite petitioner’s

statement of the question presented (Pet. i; see also Pet.

19-25), the issue in this case concerns only the validity of

IRS investigative summonses. It has been well established

by this Court that a summons must be enforced when it

. has been issued by the IRS in good faith to further a

legitimate tax investigation — specifically, if the IRS shows

6

that “the investigation will be conducted pursuant to a

legitimate purpose, that the inquiry may be relevant to the

purpose, that the information sought is not already within

the Commissioner’s possession, and that the ad-

ministrative steps required by the Code have been fol-

lowed.” See, e.g., United States v. Powell, 379 U.S. 48,

57-58 (1964). There is no doubt that the Commissioner

followed the prescribed administrative steps, that he did

not possess the requested information, and that the sum-

monses were not issued for any purpose other than the

legitimate one of determining the tax liability of the estate.

Hence the summonses should have been enforced.

The essence of petitioner’s contention is the assertion

that the IRS is “bound under section 2053(a) of the Inter-

nal Revenue Code to accept the state court’s determination

as to the amount of a reasonable attorney’s fee” (Pet. 9). If

SO, petitioner reasons, the documents requested by the

summonses are not relevant to a legitimate tax investiga-

tion purpose because, regardless of the outcome of the in-

vestigation, the IRS is powerless to disallow a claimed

deduction for fees that have been approved by the Sur-

rogate. But the premise of petitioner’s contention is

manifestly erroneous. Section 2053 directs the IRS to ap-

ply state rules in determining whether fees are “allowable,”

but the statute does not purport to give preclusive effect to

the decree of a state trial court. In implementing this

Statute, Treas. Reg. § 20.2053-1(b)(2) states only that a

local lower court decree “will ordinarily be accepted [for

federal estate tax purposes] if the court passes upon the

facts upon which deductibility depends” (emphasis

added), and it flatly declares that the decree of a lower

State court “will not be accepted if it is at variance with the

law of the State.” Accordingly, even the district court

recognized that the IRS is not necessarily bound to allow a

deduction in the amount approved by the Surrogate, but

7

instead may depart from the state court decree in some cir-

cumstances (see Pet. App. A42-A43). Thus, even under

the district court’s reading of the statute, the IRS must be

permitted to inquire into the circumstances underlying the

claimed deduction, and therefore the summonses in this

case were issued for a legitimate purpose and satisfy the

Powell criteria.‘

In fact, the circumstances under which the IRS may

depart from the determination by the Surrogate are

broader than those recognized by the district court. In

Commissioner v. Estate of Bosch, 387 U.S. 456 (1967),

this Court held that, where a federal estate tax deduction

depended upon a question of state law, the federal court

was not bound by the determination of a state trial court.

Rather, the federal court was required to conduct an “in-

dependent examination of the state law as determined by

the highest court of the State” and not to follow the state

trial court’s determination if it did not accord with the

principles promulgated by the highest court of the State

(id. at 463). Thus, the Court concluded that, “when the ap-

plication of a federal statute is involved, the decision of a

state trial court as to an underlying issue of state law

should * * * not be controlling” (id. at 465). The principles

+ The district court's holding that the summons should not be en-

forced unless the IRS can make a prima facie showing that there exist

circumstances that would justify departing from the Surrogate’s

decree was correctly rejected by the court of appeals as plainly incon-

sistent with Powell. See Pet. App. A20. Just as the IRS in Powell did

not have to demonstrate fraud in order to obtain enforcement of a

summons in a case where the statute of limitations would have expired

if there were no fraud, so too the IRS does not have to show the ex-

istence of the circumstances that would justify departing from the Sur-

rogate’s decree before it undertakes its investigation. The IRS is en-

titled to make an inquiry, and to use its summons power for that pur-

pose, in order to determine if such circumstances exist.

of Bosch indicate that the IRS and the federal courts —in

considering the estate’s federal estate tax liability — are en-

titled to make an independent assessment of whether the

fees approved by the Surrogate were in fact “just and

reasonable” under New York law as interpreted by the

New York Court of Appeals.’

Petitioner argues (Pet. 13-16) that Bosch should not ap-

ply in this context. First, petitioner argues that Bosch ap-

plies only when the case concerns a rule of law that has not

been settled by the highest court of the state, and that the

federal courts must follow a state trial court’s ruling when

that court is merely applying an established rule of state

law to a particular set of facts. But there is no indication in

Bosch that the decision should be so limited, and, in fact,

the court of appeals opinions in the two cases that were

before the Court in Bosch do not indicate whether the rele-

vant state law rule had been settled at that time by the

State’s highest court. See Commissioner v. Estate of

Bosch, 363 F.2d 1009 (2d Cir. 1966) (validity of release of

general power of appointment), rev’d, 387 U.S. 456

(1967); Second Nat'l Bank v. \/nited States, 351 F.2d 489

(2d Cir. 1965) (whether will negated application of state

> Petitioner objects (Pet. 19) that the summoned materials “are not

even potentially relevant” to an application of New York law because

of their alleged “emphasis on ‘time spent’ and ‘hourly rates.’ ” But the

IRS is not seeking information only with respect to the time petitioner

spent performing legal work, which is, in any event, one of the factors

that the New York Court of Appeals aas deemed relevant to

reasonableness. The summonses also seek material relating to peti-

tioner’s work as attorney that would establish the work he performed,

the difficulty of the questions presented, and the results obtained, all

of which are recognized under New York law as relevant to the

reasonableness of the fees. See Jn re Freeman, supra; Pet. App.

A%6-A37.

9

proration statute), aff'd, 387 U.S. 456 (1967).* Second,

petitioner argues (Pet. 15-16) that, even under the prin-

ciples of Bosch, the federal courts must treat the Sur-

rogate’s approval as conclusive because, in practice, the

New York Court of Appeals almost never reviews the

legitimacy of fees awarded by the Surrogate. As the court

of appeals found (Pet. App. A1l6), however, it is un-

disputed that the New York appellate courts have the

authority to review the Surrogate’s determination to en-

sure that it complies with New York law (see, e.g., /n re

Brehm, 37 App. Div. 2d 95, 97, 322 N.Y.S.2d 287, 290

(4th Dept. 1971); In re Estate of Roth, 29 App. Div. 2d

941, 289 N.Y.S.2d 575 (ist Dept. 1968)), and therefore the

Surrogate’s determination is not a conclusive statement of

state law; “[{t}hat the [New York] Court [of Appeals] rarely

exercises its prerogative does not deprive the federal

authorities of their jurisdiction to consider the same

issues” (Pet. App. Al6).

In any event, the degree of deference that is due the Sur-

rogate’s de

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Record and brief — White v. United States · 493 U.S. 5 | Frix