Record and brief — Jeffrey Allen Muehleman v. Florida
Supreme Court brief1987
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
a
— CERTIORARI
EDITOR'S NOTE
— —
THE FOLLOWING PAGES WERE POOR HARD COPY
AT THE TIME OF FILMING, IF AND WHEN A
BETTER COPY CAN BE OBTAINED, A NEW FICHE
WILL BE ISSUED,
Case No.
IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
867066
JEFFREY ALLEN MUEHLEMAN,
Petitioner,
vs.
STATE OF FLORIDA,
Respondent.
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA
JAMES MARION MOORMAN
PUBLIC DEFENDER
TENTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
~ _——BOUGLAS s CONNOR
Assistant Public Defender
Hall of Justice Building
P. O. Box 1640
Bartow, Florida 33830
(813)533-1184
ATTORNEYS FOR PETITIONER
QUESTION PRESENTED
Whether, after an accused has made incriminating state-
ments to a cellmate, the employment by the State of the cellmate
as itsagent to obtain further incriminating statements from the
accused and record them with a concealed electronic device violates
rights guaranteed under the Fifth, Sixth, and Fourteenth Amendments
to the Constitution of the United States?
TABLE OF CONTB@TS
OPINION BELOW
JURISDICTION OF THE SUPREME COURT
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
CONCLUSION
APPENDIX
1. Florida Supreme Court opinion in
Muehleman v. State
2. Order denying rehearing
3. Excerpt from transcript of pretrial
suppression hearing, held on May 1, 1984
4. Trial court's written order in
support of sentence of death
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
PAGE NO.
11
17
A 1-17
A 18
A 19-24
A 25-31
TABLE OF CITATIONS
CASES CITED:
Bunnell v. State
L353 SO d S08 (Fla. 1984)
Kuhlmann v. Wilson
. Sor Ct. 2616,
91 L.Ed.7d 364 (1986)
Maine v. Moulton
72 U.S. , 106 S.ct. 477,
88 L.Ed.7d 481 (1985)
Miranda v. Arizona
12 . Ct. 1602,
16 L.Ed.2d 694 (1966)
United States v. Henr
a4 g Tt. 2183,
65 L. Ed 2d 115 (1980)
OTHER AUTHORITIES:
Amend. V., U.S. Const.
Amend, VI., U.S. Const.
Amend. XIV., §1., U.S. const
Title 28, U.S. Code, §1257(3)
Rule 17, U.S. Supreme Court Rules
§843.035, Fla.Stat. (1983)
PAGE NO.
15,16
12,13,14,15,16
11,12,13,14,15,16
1,4,16
1,4,12,13,16
1,5
4
4
5
OPINION BELOW
The opinion and judgment of the Supreme Court of Florida
sought to be reviewed via this petition is reported at 503 80 74 310,
and is reproduced ‘n the appena « to this petition. (A 117.7
JURISDICTION OF THE SUPREME COURT
The Supreme Court of Florida issued its opinion in this
cause on Jam. sry 8, 1987. (A 1) Petitioner filed a motion for
rehearing, which was denied on March 27, 1987. (A 18) Petitioner
asserted below and asserts here a deprivation of his rights guaranteed
under the Constitution of the United States. Title 28, United States
Code, Section 1257(3) and Rule 17 of the United States Supreme Court
Rules provide for certiorari jurisdiction in this Court to review
this case.
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED
1. Amendment V. to the Constitution of the United States:
No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or
otherwise infamous crime, unless on a presentment or
indictment of a Grand Jury, except in cases arising in
the land or naval forces, or in the militia, when in
actual service in time of war or public anger; nor
shall any person be subject for the same offence tw be
twice put in jeopardy of life or limb: nor shall be
compelled in any crimi: al case to be a witness against
himself, nor be deprived of life, liberty, or property,
without due process of law; nor shall private property
be taken for public use, without just compensation.
2. Amendment VI. to the Constitution of the United States:
In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy
the — to a speedy and public trial, by an impartial
jury of the State and district wherein the crime shall
have been committed, which district shall have been pre-
viously ascertained 4 law, and to be informed of the
nature and cause of the accusation; to be confronted with
the witnesses against him; to have compulsory process for
obtaining witnesses in his favor, and to have the assis-
tance of counsel for his defence.
4
17 References in this petition to the record on appeal that was
before the Supreme Court of Florida are designated by an "R" followed
by the appropriate page number. References to the Appendix to this
petition are designated by an "A" followed by the page number.
aie
3. Amendment XIV., Section 1. to the Constitution of
the United States:
SECTION 1. All persons born or naturalized in
the United States, and subject to the jurisdiction
thereof, are citizens of the United States and of .
the State wherein they reside. No State shall
make or enforce any law which shall abridge the
privileges or immunities of citizens of the United
States; nor shall any State deprive any person of
life, liberty, or property, without due process of
law; nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction
the equal protection of the laws.
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
When he was 18 years old Petitioner, Jeffrey Allen Muehleman,
left his home in Illinois and went to Florida to start over. (R 1076-
1077)
| On Mav 2, 1983, 97 year old Earl Baughman hired Petitioner
as a belper. (R 649-650,659,665,672-673) The following day Muehleman
cook Baughman and Baughman's friend, Virginia Petersciz., to the grocery
store. (R 651) On May 4 Muehleman took Baughman and Peterson to the
bank so that they could cash their social security checks. (R 651-652)
Baughman had a check for $426, as well as a personal check for $100.
(R 652)
On May 5, Earl Baughman and his 1961 Cadillac turned up
missing. (R 656,658,668)
Petitioner was arrested by Pinellas County, Florida, sheriff's
deputies the next day. (R 709-710) The deputies had no warrant, and
did not feel they ad probable cause to arrest Petitioner on any
charges relating to Baughman's aisappearance, but did feel they had
sufficient cause to detain Petitioner and have him answer some of the
questions they had regarding the disappearance. (R 590-591,612-613)
Petitioner was actually arrested, however, for “obstructing by false
information,” because he told the deputy who initially detained him
his name was Ed Buchanan.” (R 582-583)2/
2/ The statute pursuant to which Petitioner was arrested, section
843.035 of the Florida Statutes, was later declared unconstitutional
by the Supreme Court of Florida in Bunnell v. State, 453 So.2d 808
(Fla.1984).
Deputy Sheriff John Daniels read Petitioner his Miranda
rights, 3/ and Petit i ner agreed to talk. (R 597,681) Petitioner
geve Daniels his true name. (R 598,681) Petitioner said that he
last saw Earl Daughman on May 4 at around 10:00 p.m. when he left
him. At that time Baughman was fine. (R 598,681,781) Petitioner
dented any involvement in Baughman's disappearance. (R 598,681,781)
He did admit taking a cigarette lighter, some cosmetics, and other
small items without Baughman's permission. (R 600,682,782)
Petitioner invoked his right to remain silent on May 9.
(R 568, A 3)
On May 14, 1983 Earl Baughman's decomposed body was found
in the trunk of his Cadillac on a St. Petersburg, Florida street.
(R 716,720,785) Asphyxiation was the cause of his death. (R 724)
After Baughman's body was found, on May 17 Deputies Ron
Beymer and John Halliday interviewed Petitioner at the maximum security
county jail facility. (R 785,788) Petitioner continued to deny his
involvement in Baughmar's killing. (R 841) However, Beymer noticed
some inconsistencies with Petitioner's earlier statements. (R 791-793)
During the May 17 interview Beymer fed Petitioner false
information about finding gloveprints in the trunk of Baughman's car.
(R 834)
On May 18 Petitioner requested that Detective Halliday
return to the jail by Himself for another interview. (R 795,841) During
that interview Petitioner continued to deny his involvement in Baughman's
disappearance, and said he would beat the charge if he was charged with
the murder. (R 842)
While he was in the Pinellas County Jail, Petitioner came
into contact with an eight-time convicted felon named Ronald Rewis.
(R 734-736,758) Jail personnel placed Petitioner in the laundry on
C-Wing to work with Rewis, who was working with Detective Halliday. (R 410
2/ Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436, 86 S.Ct. 1602, 16 L.Ed.2d 694
(1966).
Although Rewis told Petitioner he was not interested in
hearing about it, Petitioner discussed his case with Rewis on four
or five occasions. (R 738,745-746,755) According to Rewis, Petitioner
confessed to killing Baughman. Petitioner told Rewis he decided to
rob and kill the old man on the afternoon of May 4. (R 738-739) Peti-
tioner had discussed doing the crimes with another man, but he did
not show up. (R 739) Petitioner first set out two cups and some
bread crumbs on the table so that if someone checked the next morning,
it would look as if he and Baughman had eaten breakfast and gone for
a ride in the car. (R 742-743) He also wiped down items inside the
house from which his fingerprints could be taken. (R739) Petitioner
then took a frying pan off the stove, entered Baughman's bedroom where
he was sleeping, and hit him with it, opening Baughman's head. (R 739,
742) Petitioner told Rewis the pan made a gong“ sound, and laughed
about that. (R 739) The blow with the pan did not knock Baughman out,
and so Petitioner tried to strangle him with his hands. (R 739) This
was unsuccessful because the windpipe was very flexible. (R 739-740)
Petitioner then took the plastic wrapper from a newspaper and stuck
it down the man's throat. (R 740) He laughed when he told Rewis this.
(R 740) The plastic bag was bubbling in and out. (R740-741) Peti-
tioner took about $150 from Beughnen, wrapped his body in the bed-
covers, and put him in the car trunk. (R 741-742) He returned to
the house and began looking for more money. (R 741) He took a hot
water bottle and other items that had blood on them from the bed and
burned them in back of the house. (R 742) He then returned to a garage
apartment in which he had been staying, where he hid the money and
dropped off some tapes he had taken from the house. (R 742,744) From
there he drove to some apartments where he parked Baughman's car and
“wiped it down." (R 744) He had breakfast, returned to his garage
apartment, and went to bed. (R 744)
After Rewis heard details of the crime from Petitioner, he
alerted Detention Officer Jacobs, who put him in touch with the detec-
tives. (R 745-746) They asked Rewis to let them know if Petitioner
said anything else, and asked Rewis if he was willing to try to get
a tape of what Petitioner had been telling him. (R 746,757) Rewis
said he was willing to be "bugged," and the detectives equipped him
with a tape recorder monitoring device, which was concealed in the
front of his jail uniform. (R 747-748) Rewis did in fact tape a con-
versation with Petitioner in the recreation yard. (R 746-747) On the
tape Rewis asked Petitioner why he 444 net merely take the old man's
money, to which Petitioner responded that he had intentions of killing
the man to start with. (R 748) When Rewis asked Petitioner whether |
the killing bothered him, he said no, and laughed about it. (R 748)
On approximately three occasions Officer Jacobs called the
sheriff's deputies to relay information which Rewis had gotten from
Petitioner. (R 796) In this way the detectives learned on May 18 that
Petitioner was worried after they fed him the false information on the
17th concerning fabric marks being found in Bavghman's car. (R 834,856)
This is also how they learned that money was still hidden in the garage
apartment, and where it was located. (R 797-799) Rewis similarly pro-
vided them with information that another subject was involved in the
planning of the crime, that Baughman had been struck on the head with
an unknown object, and that there was blood on the bed that Petitioner
had hidden. (R 801,856-857) Rewis also conveyed information to ther
about a coffee cup and crumbs or items being strewn about Baughman's
kitchen. (R 800)
Detective Beymer interviewed Rewis on May 31, 1983, and
learned for the first time that a frying pan was used to hit the victim
and that something might have been burned in a barrel in Baughman's
back yard. (R 796-797,817) He took a taped statement from Rewis on
June 7. (R 806)
Ronald Rewis had given Officer Jacobs information about
other inmates on C-Wing on one other occasion. (R 863) He had also
provided information to another correctional officer relating to a
planned escape attempt by two inmates. (R 772,863-864, 943)
on April 21, 1983, Rewis had pled guilty to felonious
possession of a firearm. (R 461-462,760,943) The prosecutor had
recommended that he be sentenced to five years in prison. (R 943)
Although no promises were made to Rewis regarding his sentence, in
the back of his mind he thought he might get some help in this regard.
(R 750) And Detective Beymer did agree to be available for the sen-
tencing hearing. (R 808-809) When Rewis was finally sentenced on
March 2, 1984, he received five years probation, with a year of
specified residency in the county jail (credit for 201 days already
served) and two years community control. (R 461-462)
Detectives Beymer and Halliday interviewed Petitioner again
on June 8, 1983, at his request. (R 812,843) He initially denied his
involvement in the crime once again. (R 813) But then the detectives
confronted him with the evidence they had amassed against him, includ-
ing the fact that they had received information from Ronald Rewis, -
and that Rewis had worn a body bug. (R 814,844) Petitioner finally
admitted killing Baughman, and gave a detailed statement. (R 352-360,
€14,844) He said he killed the old man because he hated him and knew
he had obtained $500 at the bank. (R 814) The man was grumpy, would
not bathe, and urinated on himself. (R 815) Petitioner was homesick
and needed money to fly home. (R 814) He initially struck Beughman
with a small frying pan about six times, and took $145 or $153 from
his wallet and pockets. (R 815,819) He then tried to strangle him
with his hands for several minutes. (R 816) Baughman was still breath-
ing, and so he pushed a plastic bag down his throat. (R 816-817) He
could see the bag beginning to inflate, and so he pushed it further
down the throat. (R 817) A few minutes later Baughman had expired,
and Petitioner wrapped him in a blanket. (R 817) He cleaned up the
residence and burned some items that had blood on them, as well as
Baughman's wallet and identification, in the back yard. (R 817)
It was unclear when Petitioner actually made the decision
to kill Baughman. (R 846-847) He initially told the detectives he
had planned on doing it“ for two or three hours. (R 816) But when
he confessed on tape, he said he did not plan to kill him, but only
to knock him out. (R 355) He only killed him to keep him from
suffering when he realized he had probably caused Baughman brain
damage. (R 353,355)
It was on June 8 that Petitioner vas formally booked on
first degree murder charges. (R 854)
On June 10 Petitioner gave his final statement to DPetec-
tives Halliday and Beymer. (R 362-364,845-846) He again stated that
he initially intended only to knock Baughman unconscious and take his
money. (R 363) But after being struck with the frying pan a few times,
Baughman said, Oh, Jeff," and reminded Petitioner of his grandfather.
(R 363) At that point Petitioner felt he had to put Baughman out of
his misery, and not leave him brain-damaged or otherwise handicapped.
(R 363-364)
Petitioner moved to suppress all stacements he had made,
including those made to Ronald Rewis, and to suppress certain physical
evidence as the fruit of his illegai arrest. (R 225-231) The motion
was heard on May 1, 1984. (R547-631) At the hearing the prosecutor
conceded that Ronald Rewis was functioning as a state agent at the
time he wore the body "bug" to obtain incriminating evidence against
Petitioner. (R 566, A 23) The court denied the motion to suppress.
(R 232,620) ,
Immediately thereafter, Petitioner entered a plea of guilty
to the murder charge. (R 631-642)
A penalty trial before a jury was conducted on May 2-6, 1984.
(R643-1259,2230-2551) Before penalty phase testimony began, Petitioner
lodged a continuing objection to any evidence he had sought to suppress.
(R 2417-2418) The statements Petitioner made to Ronald Rewis were
introduced into evidence by the prosecution, including tapes of the
conversation in the recreation yard when Rewis wore the body bus
(R 738-745,746-749,1229-1231) During his closing argument to the
jury the prosecutor played a portion of the tapes and argued that
Petitioner's laughter thereon was a reason why he should be sentenced
to death. (R 2502-2503)
-10-
Petitioner's penalty phase evidence focused upon his troubled
upbringing, which included a host of physical ailments and psychological
problems. (R 862-1222)
By a vote of 10 to two, the jury recommended that Petitioner
be sentenced to death. (R 304,1254)
On June 8, 1984, the trial court sentenced Petitioner to die
in the electric chair. (R 307-308,1340) In support of the death
sentence the court found four aggravating circumstances to be present.
(R 309-315,A 25-31) He found Petitioner's age of 18 to constitute a
statutory mitigating factor under Florida's death penalty statute.
(R 315,A 31) The court cited the fact that Petitioner pled guilty as
being “probably the most mitigating factor." (R 1340) He also recog-
nized that Petitioner's capacity to appreciate the criminality of his
conduct or to conform his conduct to the requirements of law was
impaired, but did not find this impairment to be “substantial” enough
to qualify as a statutory mitigating circumstance. (R 314-315,A 30-31)
One of the issues Petitioner raised on direct appeal t the
Supreme Court of Florida was that the State's employment of Ronald
Rewis as its agent to obtain and record incriminating statements from
Petitioner violated his constitutional rights to counsel and to remain
silent. The Court did not 000 Petitioner's claim that his right
not to incriminate himself had been violated, but did find no violation
of Petitioner's right to counsel. (A 6-7)
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
Petitioner's rights under the federal constitution were
violated by the State's use of Ronald Rewis as its agent to obtain and
record incriminating statements from Petitioner. At least at the
point where Rewis was wired with a concealed electronic device and
sent to engage Petitioner in conversation about the murder of Earl
Baughman, Rewis was fully functioning as a surreptitious State opera-
tive, a fact the State conceded before the trial court.
In United States v. Henry, 447 U.S. 264, 100 S.Ct. 2183,
65 L.Ed.2d 115 (1980), the Respondent had been arrested and charged
.
with bank robbery. A government agent contacted an inmate named
Nichols, who informed the agent that he was housed in the same
cellblock with several federal prisoners awaiting trial, including
Henry. The agent told Nichols to be alert to any statements made
by these prisoners, but not to initiate any conversations with Henry
about the bank robbery, or question him about it. Nichols and Henry
thereafter did engage in conversations during which Henry told Nichols
about the robbery. Nichols was paid for providing the authorities
with this information.
This Court held the foregoing scenario violative of the
Respondent's Sixth Amendment right to counsel. The government had
circumvented Henry's rights “[b]y intentionally creating a situation
likely to induce Henry to make incriminating statements without the
assistance of counsel." 65 L.Ed.2d at 125.
Five years later the Court applied the principles expressed
in Henry in a somewhat different factual context in Maine v. Moulton,
474 U.S. 106 8 ct. 477, 88 L.Ed.2d 481 (1985). Moulton and Colson
were indicted for four counts of theft by receiving" after police
discovered evidence of automobile and automobile-related thefts in a
building the men were leasing. They were released on bail pending
trial. At a breakfast meeting during which the two men discussed
their case, Moulton suggested killing a State's witness, and he and
Colson talked about how to commit the murder. Shortly thereafter
Colson went to the authorities with his lawyer and fully confessed
to his participation with Moulton in the crimes with which they had
already been charged, as well as other crimes. The State struck a
deal with Colson in which no further charges would be brought against
him if he agreed to testify against Moulton and otherwise cooperate
in the investigation of Moulton omthe pending charges. (Additionally,
after Moulton's trial, Colson pled guilty to two of the four theft
counts, and received a very light sentence.) In conjunction with
this arrangement with the State, Colson agreed to allow a recording
device to be placed on his telephone. He recorded three calls from
Moulton, none of them incriminatory. During the third conversation,
-12-
at Mowlton's suggestion the two men agreed to meet on a certain day
to plan their defense. After learning of the scheduled meeting the
police obtained Colson's consent to be equipped with a body wire
transmitter to record what took place. (Ostensibly, the reason for
wiring Colson was for his own protection in case Moulton realized he
was cooperating with the police, and to gather information concerning
any further threats against witnesses, not to obtain evidence regard-
ing the pending theft charges.) The police instructed Colson not to
try to question Moulton, but just to be himself. During the course
of the meeting Moulton did make incriminating statements, some of which
came in response to Colson's questioning of Moulton under the guise of
refreshing Colson's memory as to events that had occurred. After
Colson's role as an informant was revealed-te-Moulton, the State had
the pending theft indictments against Moulton dismissed, and obtained
new indictments for the original theft offenses, as well as new charges.
Some of the charges were disposed of by plea or dismissal. At Moulton's
nonjury trial on the remaining charges, portions of the tape recording
of his meeting with Colson were admitted into evidence.
This Court held Moulton's Sixth Amendment right to counsel
to have been violated by the stratagem the police employed in wiring
their informant for sound when they “knew that Moulton would make state-
ments that he had a constitutional right not to make to their agent
prior to consulting with counsel.” 88 L.Ed.2d at 497.
In rejecting Petitioner Jeff Muehleman's contention that
Henry and Moulton applied to his case so as to render his statements
to Ronald Rewis inadmissible, the Florida Supreme Court relied upon
four factors: (1) Petitioner approached Rewis to discuss his case.
(2) Rewis approached the authorities on his own initiative. (3) Rewis
was at first instructed not to initiate any conversation with Petitioner.
(4) Rewis' efforts were not induced by any promises of any form of com-
pensation. (A 6-7)
The fact that Petitioner may have initially approached Rewis,
rather than Rewis having approached Petitioner, is essentially irrele-
vant. In Moulton, it was Moulton who made the call to Colson and
-13-
suggested an all-day meeting where the two men could discuss their
case. In fact, in Moulton this Court viewed Moulton's willingness
to talk as weighing against the State's position; the fact the police
knew Moulton would talk about his case at the meeting with Colson
showed the deliberate nature of the State's circumvention of his right
to counsel. Similarly, here the fact that Petitioner had spoken to
Rewis about his case in the past showed the sheriff's department that
Petitioner was vulnerable, a ripe subject for them to exploit by
recording incriminating statements with no attorney present. Further-
more, it is clear that it was Rewis who sought out Petitioner when the
time came to tape record Petitioner's inculpatory statements.
With regard to the fact that Rewis approached the authorities
on his own initiative, this first must be placed in context. Rewis
had previously given Detention Officer Jacobs information about other
inmates incarcerated on a particular wing of the jail, and had provided
information to another correctional officer relating to a planned
escape attempt by two inmates. He was accustomed to working hand- in-
glove with the authorities, and they undoubtedly expected him to come
to them whenever he had information they could use. Also, whether
Rewis first approached the authorities, or vice versa, has little
relevance. In Moulton, it was Colson who initially approached the
police to make a confession. While he may not have been the first to
suggest a deal, it appears certain that he was hoping for one to reduce
his criminal liability. And, again, it was the authorities, not Rewis,
who suggested that he be wired with the body bug“ and try to record
Petitioner on tape.
That Rewis initially was instructed not to initiate any con-
versations with Petitioner has no relevance to whether the tape of the
conversation in the courtyard was suppressible; at the point the sheriff's
deputies outfitted Rewis with the electronic device they clearly expected
him to initiate a conversation with Petitioner regarding the Baughman
disappearance and “get in on tape."
Finally, with regard to the compensation issue, the contingent-.
fee arrangement Nichols had in Henry was only one factor in the way this
580
Court decided the case. In Moulton the informant received no monetary
compensation whatsoever. Here Ronald Rewis was hoping for compensation
from the State in return for his cooperation in Petitioner's case in
the form of a lesser sentence on the charge of felonious possession of
a firearm to which he had already pled guilty , but for which he had
yet to be sentenced. And he did in fact receive a much lighter sen-
tence than the prosecutor had been recommending prior to Rewis' coopera-
tion with the sheriff's department. Rewis had eight felony convictions
and had worked with law enforcement as an informant in the past; he
thus was in a position to know that he could expect favorable treatment
if he provided the State with information useful to them in a major
criminal prosecution.
This is not a case such as Kuhlmann v. Wilson, 477 Us
106 S.Ct. 2616, 91 L.Ed.2d 364 (1986), in which the jailhouse informant
played essentially a passive role as a "listening post"; Ronald Rewis
clearly engaged in active questioning of Petitioner designed to elicit
the damaging remarks and laughter that were secretly recorded in the
jail courtyard.
In the instant case, as in Henry, Rewis “deliberately used his
position to secure incriminating information from [Petitioner] when
counsel was not present 65 L.Ed.2d at 122. And here, as in Fenry,
the government informant built up a relationship of trust with his
fellow inmate, stemming from their shared plight of incarceration,
that enabled the agent to obtain inculpatory statements
The statements gathered by Rewis were extremely damaging to
Petitioner. It was not until sheriff's deputies confronted Petitioner
with the evidence they had amassed against him, notably the fact that
Rewis was working as a state operative and had recorded Petitioner on
tape, that Petitioner confessed to law enforcement authorities; before
then his statements to them had been exculpatory. Knowing his admissions
4/ That Petitioner came to trust Ronald Rewis is clearly reflected in
the record of this case. Petitioner told Rewis Goeetiy that he felt
he could trust him immediately before Petitioner made his first admis-
sions regarding Earl Baughman's murder. (R 738)
to Rewis were preserved on tape must have served as a powerful incen-
tive for Petitioner to confess. At that point he had little left to
lose.
Unlike in Wilson, the sheriff's deputies did not have “solid
evidence," 91 L.Ed.2d at 385, that Petitioner was responsible for
Earl Baughman's death prior to his statements to Rewis and subsequent
confessions to the detectives.
The prosecutor employed the tape of the conversation in the
courtyard for dramatic effect by playing a portion thereof at the end
of his penalty phase argument to the jury and urging them to sentence
Petitioner to death on the basis of his laughter on the tape. And
Petitioner's confessions were the primary source of the trial court's
factual recitation in his written order in support of the death sentence
relative to the manner in which Earl Baughman was killed and the sur-
rounding circumstances.
Ronald Rewis was, in effect, functioning as a surrogate
detective for the Pinellas County Sheriff's Department. Pursuant to
the Henry and Moulton decisions, the confessions he garnered in this
capacity, in particular the tape recording of the courtyard conversa-
tion, should have been suppressed.
Although Moulton and Henry are couched in terms of the Sixth
Amendment right to counsel, Petitioner submits that the Fifth Amendment
privilege not to incriminate oneself is also implicated where. as here.
the State deliberately pursues a course of conduct which is designed
to, and which does, cause one who is incarcerated to give up his right
to remain silent, with no procedural safeguards to assure that the
relinquishment of the right is made knowingly. voluntarily. and intelli-
gently.
0.
CONCLUSION
Upon the authorities and reasons presented in this petition,
Petitioner, Jeffrey Allen Muehleman, prays this Honorable Court to
issue a writ of certiorari to the Supreme Court of Florida.
17
APPENDIX
ITEM:
1. Florida Supreme Court opinion in
Muehleman v. State
2. Order denying rehearing
3. Excerpt from transcript of pretrial
suppression hearing, held on May 1, 1984
4. Trial court's written order in support
of sentence of death
PAGE NO.
A 1-17
4 18
A 19-24
A 25-31
— —
No. 65,546
— — —
JEFFREY ALLEN M’URLEMAN, Appellant,
v.
STATE OF FLORIDA, Appellee.
(January 3, 1987
ADKINS, J.
— Court of Florida
Received By
Appellate Division
Public Dofenders Office
Jeffrey Allen Muehleman, convicted of first-degree murder
pursuant to 4 plea of guilt and sentenced to death,
conviction and Sentence. We have jurisdiction,
3(b) (1), Pla. Const. We affirm both...
The testimony and evidence before the
established the following scenario. Muehleman,
appeals his
Art. v, §
trial court
identifying
himself as Jerr Williams, was’ hirea by the victin, 97-year-old
Earl Beughman, as o “helper” on May 2, 1983.
r, he had decided to kill and rob the vict
By the afternoon of
Be began that evening by Placing on the kitchen table two
almost-empty coffee cups and some bread crumbs in order to create
an appearance the next morning that he and the victim had eaten
breakfast and gone for a ride in the victim's car,
n the apartment in order to remove his f
He then wiped
ingerprints, grabbed a
cast iron frying pan, and crept into the bedroom where the victim
lay sleeping. with the frying pan, he repeatedly
Struck the
41
biet in · head with sufficient force to send flying the man's
dentures and Splatter the bed linens, walls and Curtains with
blood.
Muehleman then attempted to Strangle tre elderly man, but
found his neck too flexible to Successfully restrict the flow of
blood to his brain. In a later statement, Muehleman indicated
that the victim at this point lay helpless, Staring up into the
murderer's face, and remained conscious enough to beg for mercy,
muttering words to the effect of “Jeff, oh, Jeff ee -" No mercy
was forthcoming. Muehleman proceeded to remove the plastic
wrappers from two newspapers and shoved them into the victim's
throat. Frustrated when the plastic bags continued to bubble in
and out with the victim's weakening breath, he Pushed the
suffocating plastic mass deeper.
Be then stole $150 from the victia, wrapped the body in
the bloodied bedcovers, and Placed it in the trunk of the
victim's 1961 Cadillac. After stopping by the garage in which bh.
was staying to stow the cash and other personal objects he had
Stolen, he returned to the victim's residence and burned some of
the blood-covered linens and the victim's identification in a
barrel in the backyard. He then wiped down the car for
fingerprints, drove it toe nearby apartment complex, and
abandoned the vehicle. *
The disappearance of the victim, along with his car,
immediately aroused Suspicion because he did not drive. on May
6, a witness called the Police and informed them that he had seen
the victim's early model Cadillac, described in e broadcast,
parked in front of the garage in which Muehleman had been
residing. A police officer was dispatched to that address to
question Muehleman. Upon arriving at the address, the officer
was informed that Muehleman had borrowed « bicycle and would be
returning shortly. The Police left the residence, and within
thirty seconds Spotted Muehleman.
When Muehleman saw the police car, he covered his face
with his arm, looked Up, jumped off the bicycle and turned
@round. Before he could run, the officer grabbed his arm and
witness Positively identified him as Jeff, Muehleman was
and agreed to talk, Denying any involvement in the victim's
4isappearance, Muehleman indicated that he had taken
monogrammed Cigarette lighter and some Other Smal] Objects
motions were denied, he plea guilty. Following his Sentencing
A3
* *
the right to appeal shal) have no tight to a direct appeal,
Section 924.06(3), Florida Statutes (1985); Pie. R. App. p.
9.140(b), has no @pplication in the context of Capital review.
question from the court as follows:
Q: You @lso give up the right to
@ppeal any error that may have been
committed thus far in the Proceedings, you
understand that?
A: Yes, sir.
Nevertheless, we follow the mandate of section 921.141 (4),
Florida Statutes (1985), that leihe judgment of Conviction and
Sentence of death shal) be subject to automatic review by the
Supreme Court of Plorida,* and turn to an examination of the
First, it is argued that the trial court Committed
rights were Violated first by an illegal Arrest and later by some
illegal Searches of the garage in which he was temporarily
Fesiding. we reject both contentions. Pirst, the Officer actea
properly in effecting the initia) *tOP Of Muehleman. the stop
was amply justified by “specific and articulable facts...
taken together with rational inferences from these facts. State
had similarly disappeared. A BOLO had been issued the day
Purpose of ascertaining his identity. 5 901.151(2), Pla. Stat.
(1983); State . Cook, 475 so. 24 285 (Fla. sen DCA 1985).
*
*
, When the suspect falsely identified himsels as Ed
Buchanan, and an apparently reliable witness identified him as
“Jeff,” the officer had probable cause to arrest Muehleman on the
first-degree misdemeanor charge of “obstructing justice by false
information” under section 843.05, Florida Statutes (1983). This
Court's subsequent invalidation of the statute in Bunnell v.
State, 453 8. 2d 808 (Fla. 1964), does not render the earlier
arrest invalid. Michigan v. DePillipo, 443 U.S. 31 (1979). We
therefore find the initial detention and arrest lavful. Ser
State v. Stevens, 421 So.24 41 (Pla. 34 DCA 1982).
Muehleman's second fourth amendment claim involves three
warrantless searches of the garage in which he had temporarily
resided. Ris initial argument, that the search was tainted by
the illegal arrest, United States v. Robinson, 625 F.2d 1211 (Sth
Cir. 1980); Norman v. Stats. 379 So.24 643 (Pla. 1980), must fall
in light of our disposition of the first issue.
Even acknowledging that Muehleman may have had a
“reasonable expectation of privacy” in the garage, we find that
under these circumstances the state has met its burden of
establishing the validity of his consent to the initial search.
Raffield v. State, 351 8. 2 945 (Fla. 1977). Purther, we find
that on these facts the consent given by the property's owners to
two later searches was properly obtained. The owners had merely
allowed Muehleman to temporarily sleep in the garage, which was
not an apartment; the owners continued to use the garage fox
storage. A highly informal rent agreement was reached and the
owners’ continued access to the garage remained unquestioned.
Because these circumstances leave little doubt as to the owners’
capacity to validly consent to the search, Preston v. State, 444
80. 2d 939 (Fla. 1984); Silva v. state, 344 So.24 559 (Pla. 1977),
we reject Muehleman's second fourth amendment claim.
Muehleman next contends that his fifth amendment privilege
against self-incrimination was violated in the course of tou
interviews conducted by the police after he had invoked his right
to silence on May 9. The facts of the case do not support this
contention. AS noted by the United States Supreme Court in
-s-
AS.
Michigan vy. Mosley, 423 u.s. 96, 102-03 (1975), Miranda cannot
“sensibly be read to create @ per se proscription of indefinite
dura t ion Upon any further questioning by any police officer .. 0
once the person in custody has indicated @ desire to remain
silent.*
The first interview complained of was conducted eight days
after his invocation of his right to silence on May 17. Clearly,
the authorities had Scrupulously honored Muehleman's "right to
Cut off questioning” as mandated by Mosley. Wo contention is
of a written waiver. The later interviews not Only folloved the
signing of written waivers, but were initiated by Muehleman. we
decline to depart from our holding, soundly based in sensible
fifth amendment jurisprudence, that “({tihe law does accora [a
suspect) the opportunity to voluntarily change his mind and
~ Confess.* Witt v. State, 342 So.24 497, 300 (Pla.), cert.
Genied, 434 U.S. 935 (1977), Cannady v. State, 427 so.24 723
(Pla. 1983),
Muehleman's next claim involves an alleged violation of
his sixth amendment right to counsel. He contends that fellow
. became a state agent for the inpernissinic
Purpose of acquiring incrimingting evidence which Properly lay
beyond the state's reach. * ton, 106 s. ce. 477
(1985); Onited States v. Henry, 447 U.S. 264 (1980). We fine jn
this case no violation of Muchleman's sixth amendment rights, as
* review of the facts discloses that his incriminating admissions
meee BOS © product of @ **stratagen deliberately designed to
elicit an incriminating Statement. '* Miller v. State, 415 80. 2
1262, 1263 (Pla. 1982), cert. denied, 459 U.s. 1158 (1983)
(quoting Malone v. State, 390 80. 24 338, 339 (Pla. 1980), cert.
ales. 450 U.S. 1034 (1981)).
Aé
* ;
suthorities on his own initiative. Bottoson v. State, 443 80, 2d
962 (Pha. 1983), cert. denied, 105 8. c. 223 (1904); Barfield v.
State, 402 So.24 377 (Pla. 1981). Third, Rewis was at that point
instructed not to initiate any convei sations with the Suspect.
Finally, no evidence exists in the record that Rewis’ efforts
were induced by promises of any form of compensation. The
Mewis ‘o record information which had been offered freely by
Mushleman and previously reported by Rewis, itself violated
Muehleman's Sixth amendment rights. We find, as did the trial
penchant for loose talk and Rewis' turning to the authorities on
Me own initiative, we cannot find that the use of the tape
Fecording device transformed these facts into a violation of
Muehleman's right to counsel.
Mushienan's next issue on appeal turns on our disposition
ot the above constitational clains. Based on his contention that
Mis plea, and resulting conviction and sentence, were bottomed on
. evidence, he argues that his conviction and sentence
must now be vacated. Anderson v. State, 420 So.24 574 (Pia.
1982).
Ae we Bave rejected his claims as to the admissibility of
the evidence, we likewise reject the instant claim. In fact,
Meving carefully reviewed the record, we find mushieman's ples of
Du to charges Of first-degree murder to have been freely and
voluntarily given and amply supported by . factual basis in the
record. LeDuc v. State, 365 So.24 149 (Pia. 1978), cert. denied,
444 U.S. 885 (1979), § 921.141(4), Pla. Stat. (1985), Fle. R.
App. P. 9.14008).
x
A7
* ;
In his third issue on appeal, Muchleman argues that his
absence from the courtroom @uring a pre-trial Suppression hearing
and the later jury charge conference violated his sixth amendment
right of confrontation and his fourth amendment due process
rights. We do not agree.
First, the voluntariness of his absence at both phases of
the proceedings renders inapplicable such Precedent as Francis v.
State, 413 So.24 1175 (Pia. 1982). Second, this Suppression
hearing was not a crucial stage of the trial, “where fundamenta\
fairness might be thwarted by his absence.* Rertog v. State, 43°
$0.24 1372, 1375 (Pla. 1983) (quoting Francis, 413 8. 24 at
1177). A capital defendant may waive his Presence at a crucial
state of the proceedings, Peede v. State, 474 So.24 808 (Pia.
1985), and should therefore & fortior’ be free to waive his right
to be present at a non-crucial stage.
The waiver through counsel of Muehleman's right to attend
the jury charge conference was given as follows:
Muehleman's obvious Participation in this waiver represents more
shan the mere scquiescence in tnd knowledge of counsel's request
which has been found sufficient in Amazon v. State, 487 So.24 8
(Pia. 1986), and State v. Melender, 244 80 24 137 (Pia. 1971).
Under these circumstances, Muehleman should not now be heard to
argue that his absence at the charge conference prejudiced his
case. We therefore find no basis for his claim that his absences
violated his constitutional right to be present at trial.
Muchleman next contends that the triel court erred in
admitting into evidence during the penalty phase « “Juvenile
Social Mistory Report* detailing hie juvenile criminal record.
We find no error. AS we noted in Welty v. State, 402 So.24 1159,
1262-63 (Fle. 1981), leide trial court has wide discretion in
areas concerning the admission of evidence, and, unless an abuse
ot discretion can be shown, its rulings will not be disturbed.*
-8-
43
require exclusion from the jurors' consideration in the context
Of the penalty phase of 6 cepital triai. $ 922.142(2), Pie.
Stat. (1985). Second, we once again affirm the Proposition that
the bottom line concern in questions involving the admissibility
Of evidence is relevance. Ruffin v. State, 397 so. 24 277 (Pla.),
SER. denied, 454 b. 8. 992 (1981), Ashley v. State, 265 so. 24
685 (Fla. 1972). The evidence became relevant when a peychiats ic
nvers “iteese £08 he Gofense etated thet he hed considered un,
report in formulating his Opinion. 1e is Proper for a party
— 2 Sane the Rotery weiliced ty the expert os
— the capers's opinion bee & peepee basis.
Parker v. State, #76 So.24 134, 139 (Pla. 199%),
history of Prior criminal activity." ¢ 921.141 (6) (a), Pla. Star.
(198s), Meggerd v. State, 399 80. 2 973 ie. ), cere. Sealed. 454
—ÄE——— censets,
3
emission of the evidence.
-9-
49
*
» the instant case closer to Parker z. state, 476
80. 2 134 (Pla, 1985), than Maggard. tn Parker, as in Maggard
and the case at bar, the defendant had expressly waived any
intention to rely upon the mitigating cireumstence of no
significant prior criminal history. tn Parker, too, the trial
Court admitted evidence of prior crimes. The difference between
Parker end Maggard is that in the former we found no error in the
trial court's action.
We find this case controlled by Parker, in which the
evidence was properly admitted in response to the extensive
exploration by the defense of “appellant's past personal and
social developmental history, inclu@ing a prior criminal
history." 476 So.24 at 139. The presentation of the previous
crimes in Parker through cross-examination is functionally
equivalent to the evidence here presented in rebuttal. In the
instant case, unlike in Maggard, the trial court exercised its
@iscretion in admitting the testimony not to rebut 6 phantom,
waived mitigating factor, but to expose the jury to « more
complete picture of those aspects of the defendant's history
which had been put in issue. The testimony of Muehleman's
nt on his mother, first, served to properly rebut, or at
least supplement, extensive evidence presented by the defense
focusing on the mother/son relationship and implying that his
mother had indirectly caused the murder through lapses in
Muehleman's upbringing. The trial court admitted the testimony
concerning the other crimes in rebuttal to the defense e expert
testimony, presented in mitigation, thet Muehleman lacked
substantial capacity to plan in advance and execute crimes.
Parker made clear that the mere existence of e strategica!
wsiver by the defense of the mitigating factor does not end the
analysis. Im order to evaluate the alleged error, we must
Consider the evidence admitted, any prejudice accruing to the
Gefendant therefrom, and the purpose for its edmission. See
Zennings v. State, 453 So. 24 1109, 1114 (Pia. 1904), cert,
:.. . on other grounds, 105 $.ct. 135)
(1985). In light of the relevance of this evidence in rebutting
-10-
A lO
eine se thet the trial court erred in
pe transcr taped interview of Richard Wesley,
acquaintance of Muehleman's who Originally pleaned to
— ht omen Tt de contended that the edmission of
extremely prejudicial evidence, which clashed with
mohlenan's testimony that he had only intended to sob the
victim, violated his sixth amendment right to confront the
witnesses ageinst hin.
Bruton v. United States, 391 0.5. 123
(2968); Mell v. State, 381 So.24 683 (rie. 1979).
We noted in Hol} that “(tine crux of « Bruton violation is
the introduction of statements which incriminate an sccused
wi opportuni TOSS ~@mamine
— — ty to c the
lerant.* 361 8 d at 687. We find this language
inapplicable, as the state offered to sake Wesley available for
Me tetas ca —..— argues thet
improperly restricted his presentetion of
evidence in mitigation, including the testimony of his
Srandmother, and limited evidence of Ronsid Rewis* prior crimine)
history. Because fifteen witnesses testified ac to Muehleman's
Precedent cited
such as Gedderd v. State, 143 Fie. 29, 196 So.
11
— — —
All
f"
cases involved the penalty phase of « capital triel. As we noted
in Bush v. State, 461 So.2¢ 996, 941 (Fle. 1984), cert. denied,
206 S.Ct. 1237 (2906), he rule sqainet inflammatory anc
abusive argument by « state's attorney is clear, each case must
be considered upon its own merits and within the circumstances
pertaining when the questionable statements were made. '* (quoting
Darden 2 State, 329 So.24 287, 291 (Fie. 1976), cert. diemiseed,
430 U.S. 704 (1977)).
The propriety of prosecutorial comments must be examined
in context. A statement found out of place and prejudicial when
ande to 6 jury evalusting the defendant's quilt say quite
properly bear on the aggravating circumstances set forth in
section 921.141(5). Muchleman complains, for instance, of thr
prosecutor's characterisation of the vet ie as « “feeble, sict'y,
97-year-old man.” Such « statement could indeed tend to excite
pession in the jury. We cannot, however, rewrite on the behelt
of the de tense the horrible facts of what occurred or make thy
slaying appear to be less reprehensible than it sctuslly was.
We find thet the statements complained of were highly
relevant in establishing the following eggreveating fectors: the
commission of the murder during the course of « robbery, sectiny
921.141(5) (4); its commission for the purpose of evoiding 4
lewful arrest, section 921.141(5) (e); the especially heinous,
atrocious end cruel nature of the crime, section 921.141(5) (h);
and its cold, calculated and premeditated neture, section
921141 0% (4). To eum, we find no abuse Of discretion in the
trial court's supervision of the prosecutor's comments éuring the
course of the trial. Teffeteller v. State, 439 So.2¢ 840 (Fis.
1983), cert. denied, 465 0.5. 1074 (1984).
Muchleman next attacks the jury instructions es given a
the eggraveting and mitigating circumstances found spplicable to
his case. We have carefully reviewed each of these contentions.
They ere without merit.
Finally, in „ supplemental brief, Muehleman argues that
our recent decision of Yan Royel vy. State, Ho. 66,144 (Fila. Sept.
us, 1986), compels us to now vacate Muchleman's sentence of death
-12-
Ale
and . for the imposition of e life sentence. We find the
instant case reedily ¢istinguisheble from Yen Royal, in which we
were forced to conclude from « number of circumstances thet “this
Court Cannot seeure itself thet the trial judge based the oral
Sentence (of death) on « weli-ressone? applicetion of the factors
eet out in section 971.141(5) and (6) [. Ploride Statutes (1961))
and in Tedder v. State, 322 $0.24 908 (Fis. 1975),° Slip op. at 6,
, 15
* case, the trial court's written findings overrode « jury
recommendstion of life. followed Sentencing by over six months,
and wore filed only after the record on appesi hed been filed
with this Court. Although we once agsin vigorously stress that
these written findings should be preps ed contemporaneously with
the imposition of sentence, we cannot find Yen Roysl
determinative of this case. Sere, the written findings followed
she * recommendation of death, ant were filed two and one
Belf months after sentencing, two sonths price to the
certification of the record te this Court. as in Terguson v.
Stete, 417 So.24 639, 641 Orie. 1982), we hold thet lese
oe the cupplamental record includes the trisl judge's written
findings this iseve is now soot. *
PILes aL UNTIL TIME EXPIRES TO FILE RENFARTWG MOTION AND. tF
— eee ae — m 2—
— a —
Alz
* *
—
‘
SHAW, J., specially concurring.
The record here is not entirely clear, but it appears that
the trial judge and counsel met Prior to trial to consider a
series of defense motions without summoning appellant to be
present. One or more of these motions concerned the suppression
of evidence. After approximately thirty to sixty minutes of
arguments by counsel and rulings by the court, a recess was
called to permit defense counsel to consult appellant. When the
court reconvened shortly thereafter, appellant was present and
heard the prosecutor comment that appellant had been absent
earlier and had not waived his absence. Defense counsel replied
that there was no problem. The trial court then proceeded to
hear further argument and to receive testimony on the suppression
of evidence. Under these circumstances I am satisfied that
appellant ratified his earlier absence and that there was no
error or, assuming there was error, it was harmless error.
I write to express ay disagreement with the majority
holding that a suppression hearing is not a crucial stage of the
trial. The United States Supreme Court has recognized that
“suppression hearings often are as important as the trial
itself." Waller v. Georgia, 467 U.S. 39, 46 (1984). The case at
hand is an apt illustration. ‘after the trial judge denied the
motions to suppress the evidence, appellant immediately changed
his plea from not guilty to guilty. In short, the entire issue
of guilt turned on the suppression issue and the suppression
bearing was, in effect, the trial. The right of a defendant to
be Present at a suppression hearing is crucial to the right of
confrontation. Normally, a suppression hearing consists of the
state putting on witnesses and evidence to show that the police
acted properly and there was no violation of the defendant's
constitutional rights as, for example, in obtaining a confession,
affecting an arr-:t, or Conducting @ search and seizure. More
often than not, the defendant was present when the evidence wa:
obtained and his presence at the suppression hearing may well be
crucial to effective cross examination and representation by
-14-
Al4
— 7 oe” * 8 * °
* „ a *
defense counsel. I am persuaded that appellant ratified his » Che specially Concurring.
partial absence here and that the error was harmless; but, I
reject the general notion that a suppression hearing is not a
crucial stage of the trial.
As for the voluntariness of appellant's absence during
part of the suppression hearing, the record is silent. Under
Plorida Rule of Criminal Procedure 3.180(b), “voluntary” is „
word of art and is not used in the dictionary sense. It is ith the
only because Dorsey on the y
limited to those instances where a defendant voluntarily abe the record Feflects that the tri — Sees
ot sentenc al udge
himself without leave of court or is removed from court because 19g 414 engage in the j i the time
Fequicite weighing Process
of disruptive conduct. The record is silent but we should not
assume that an absent defendant does not have leave of court to
be absent or has been removed at the court's Girection. I note
here that court and counsel proceeded without appellant until
they reached e point where it was necessary to consult appellant,
whereupon a recess was taken and appellent was present hort)
thereafter during the latter part of the hearing. A defendant
charged with first-degree wurder does not routinely come and yo
at will. The most logical explanation for appellant's early
absence and later presence is simple: court and counsel chos to
proceed initially without Summoning appellant from his holdiny
cell. The record is silent ds to whether this was done with or
without his knowledge.
I am also persuaded, contrary to the holding in Herzog v.
State, 439 8. 2 1372 (Fia. 1983), on which the majority relie-,
that a defendant is required to be present during s pretrial
suppression hearing by Florida Rule of Criminal Procedure
3.180(a)(3) and/or (6). Generically, « pretrial suppression
bearing is a pretrial conference for the Purpose of addressing
evidence outside the presence of the jury to determinc if the
evidence should be introduced to the jury. . E
-15-
Alf Ale
IN THE SUPREEM COURT OF FLORIDA
FRIDAY, MARCH 27, 177
*
* * * ‘
i JEFFREY ALLEN MUEHLEMAN, oe
Appellant, 0 CASE NO. 65,546
An Appeal from the Circuit Court in and for Pinellas County, vs *
Crockett Parnell, Judge - Case No CRCB304974CF .
. ANO Circuit Court Case No.
. STATE OF FLORIDA, oe CRC8304924CFANO (Pinellas County
James Marion Moorman, Appellee. ee
Assistant Public . . Moeller, —
N v
for Appellant Recei g
ag 30 1997
Jim Saith, 3 General and Ga
Migliore, Jr., Assistant Attorneys General, Tanpe, Poneto, Appellate Divis.on 7
for Appellee Pubic deere“ slice
On consideration of the motion for rehearing filed by
attorney for appellant,
IT IS ORDERED by the Court that said motion be and the
same is hereby denied.
McDONALD, c. J., OVERTON, EHRLICH, SHAW, BARKETY, JJ., and
- ADKINS, J. (Ret.), Concur
|
On consideration of the motion for rehearing filed 87
attorney for appellee, . 1
IT IS ORDERED by the Court that said motion be and the
| same is hereby denied.
McDONALD, c. J., EHRLICH, SHAW, BARKETT, JJ., and ADKINS, J. Fer.
Concur
OVERTON, J., Dissents
-1?- - c
cc: Hon. Karleen F. DeBlaker, Clerk
Hon. Crockett Farnell, Judge
Robert F. Moeller, Esquire
Gary ©. Welch, Esquire
Al7 Al%
a
te
ee eee — — — — —— —
reserve ruling on a motion or portion of a motion to
suppress and can rule on that during the trial period.
I would merely point out the hazard of
doing that is jeopardy has atteched. As far as the
Court is concerned, we have no objection to proceeding
in that fashion.
THE COURT: No problem with doing it that way.
The only thing I'm concerned about is voir dire and
opening statements causing a problem.
MR. CROW: Obviously, I think it's going to be
necessary to mention the confession to police and
confession to Smart.
The situation of Rewis is somewhat
different and he would have to be transported over here
and perhaps we could see how long the testimony in the
other thing is going to take and if it looks like we
are putting Rewis on today and how we can handie. At
present, maybe get the jury selected and get the
officer on tomorrow.
THE COURT: That is where I see we are going.
MR. CROW: Maybe we can have Rewis available and
if it looks like we can dispose of that and get Rewis
done before then, go ahead end proceed and not delay
that, assuming the Court doesn't grant the motion to
suppress confession. That would put us in a different
GREGG R. STONE
K ASSOCIATES
OFFICIAL CIRCUIT COURT REPORTERS
562
4
posture.
MR. MCMILLAN: Judge, the fects regarding Mr.
Rewis 1 attempted to lay forth in the motion. I don't
knew if there is really «a feetuael dispute. i'm not
alleging -- we are alleging at the time he took « taped
statement, he was acting at the request of lew
enforcement, which would make him an agent and,
therefore, under Florida Statutes allowing wire taps,
would also releave him of liability.
We are not alleging he was placed there as
a plant originally. We are not alleging that he was
originally operating under the direction of lew
enforeement.
THE COURT: Seems to me that releaves the
necessity of testimony; does it not?
MR. CROW: I would think so, Judge.
There ere more fects in our favor then
that. I think, for instance, the statements were made
on several -- three, four oecasions to Mr. Rewis at «
time prior to him having en contect with the
detectives in the case. Had hed over « twenty-day
period numerous conversations, perhaps every day, with
Mr. Muehieman and the conversation which led to the
tape was not made in any way by law enforcement and not
done at the direction of law enforcement.
GREGG R STONE
K ASSOCIATES
OFFICIAL CIRCUIT COURT REPORTERS
583
P A20
And after he fully confessed on three or
four prior oecasions to Rewis et the time they
routinely come in contact at « break in the yard. The
only thing the police did was put e bug on him, did not
request him to engage in conversation. In fact, told
him just the opposite. The only thing the police were
involved in at all in this conversetion's occurance was
it wes in any way, just as in the past without our
participation or knowledge, is to have the evidence of
it and that was, in essence, it.
On a couple of prior occasions, Mr.
Muehleman was edvised not only by Mr. Rewis but by «
Detention Officer Jacobs that he should keep his mouth
shut and not talk to anybody. The substance of the
conversation is that he was asking for advice on
various things and feeling out what the police knew
about it.
Some additional facts, at some point,
become relevant and if the Court is not inclined to
agree on a factual basis, at sume point, let us put it
on the record for the Appellate Court and that would be
fine with me.
Ane if you don't feel there are sufficient
fects and they do not need to suppress and if it comes
up on appeal and under 3.859, ail of the facts would be
GREGG R STONE
& ASSOCIATES OFFICIAL CIRCUIT COURT REPORTERS
564
— — — — — — —2—2— el
42
2 MR. MeMILLAN: If the Stete is basically
| ; proffering that as to the testimony of Mr. Rewis, we
' have no problem with thet prof ‘er.
& Just as far as clarification of the issue,
6 I'm not sure whether Mr. Crow is maintaining a position
| 7 that Mr. Rewis was or was not « law enforcement agent
a at the time of the taped interview.
" Mr. Rewis testified and law enforcement
10 testified consistent with whet Mr. Crow indicated, thet
1 there was a series of conversations between these
12 individwais. At some time, Mr. Rewis went to the
1 1 detention center and put him in touch with the
11 detective and Mr. Rewis told him what he knew and they
15 then put a tepe on him and he went and taped a
10 conversation he hed with Mr. Muehieman. Those were the
17 fects.
1s MR. CROW: I'm conceding that he conceded to iaw
enforcement to wear the bug but the conversation and
0 | the meeting was not arranged by law enforcement. It's
+ something that would have occurred without any of their
perticipation and, therefore, that is the distinetion
that hes significance in the care law.
21 THE COURT:
All right. 1 eaceept that.
You are also conceding he was, in fact, of
(RIC RK STON
. \ww Ww 74!
— ees eer ee er ͤ —üũZU— —-: ee ee — — eee ee
THE COURT: Then, uniess I'm not in tune with
course, an agent of the law enforcement?
MR. CROW: I don't know that is the issue. As
fer as U.S. vs. Henry, Judge, I think the issue is the
conversation was created or elicited by the State. I'm
not conceding that. Agent is a word that can have «
your thoughts end | think we are in agreement, it cen
; be handied at a later point in the proceedings.
4 MR. McMILLAN: That's correct.
5 THE COURT: We are down to the arrest; are we
0 not?
lot of meaning.
He was acting under the direction of lew , MR. CROW: Am I correct in indicating upon the
enforcement in wearing the tape. That would be the
extent of it. In fect, it makes him an agent for that
1 facts we agree to there is no basis for suppression and
1 what we will be doing later is supplementing the record
10 for appeal end not to talk about this in voir dire or
purpose and that would be « concession, that is what
| " opening if I choose to do so?
the fects would be.
MR. McMILLAN:
MR. McMILLAN: Florida Statute on interception of Your Honor, are you making «
communication makes it a felony. Interception on 1 finding you are sccepting the proffer as if it were
11 testimony?
1* THE COURT: Yes, I am.
tes MR. CROW: The only thing thet thet leaves us
communication makes it « felony and except to the
purpose of this case as law enforcement and the purpose
of gathering evidence.
MR. CROW: Theat is not correct. Acting under the 7 with ere the issues on the statements to police
10 officers and any issues we cen limit through the
direction of law enforcement is the term | used.
MR. McMILLAN: And the purpose of the 10 | waivers and volunteriness. If you want to do that, no |
interception of communication is for the purpose of
probien.
gathering evidence about e criminal episode. Seems like they are saying there is something
MR. CROW: I Graw a distinction between the
recording and conversation, Judge. Fewls was advised,
"Don't initiate any conversations. if he approeches,
as to the legal communication between the arrest and, I
guess, the May 8th situation where he invoked his right
1
te 93
= 1
— —
— . ——
* THE COURT: Help me with the chronology agein.
ask him about it.”
GREGG R STONE
& ASSOCIATES OFFICIAL CIRCUIT COURT REPORTERS X ASSOLIATIS (NIN CROCHET! CORT REMmers
566
’
’
|
CRC. R Stow
i
— 423 42⁰
IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE SIXTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
OF THE STATE OF FLORIDA IN AND FOR PINELLAS COUNTY silver dollar dated 1886, the victim's year of birth. During this
CRC83-04924CFANO-C same incident, the defendant went on to manually strangle the victim
STATE OF FLORIDA : F ! LED using sufficient force to break the hyoid bone in the victim's throat.
: 9 2
vs. : FIRST bre wide A The victim finally died by asphyxiation when plastic newspaper bags
JEFFERY A. MUEHLEMAN f CLERK cancun count were forced down his throat through the windpipe, blocking the flow
—— — Deputy g '
2 ome of air to the lungs and depriving the brain of oxygen.
2) The Court further finds that the aggravating circumstance
COURT'S FINDINGS AS TO AGGRAVATING AND MITIGATING
CIRCUMSTANCES IN SUPPORT OF THE IMPOSITION OF THE DEATH PENALTY of F.S. 921.141(5)(e), that the murder was committed for the purpose
of avoiding or preventing a lawful arrest or effecting an escape
The defendant, JEFFERY A. MUEHLEMAN, pled guilty to murder in from custody, was established beyond and to the exclusion of every
the first degree of Earl Baughman. A jury was then inpane led and reasonable doubt. In making this finding, the Court is aware of case
evidence presented in the penalty phase. After deliberation, the law construing this factor which indicates that it applies to situations
jury by a vote of 10 to 2 returned a recommendation to the Court to where a dominant motive of the homicide is to eliminate a witness
impose the death penalty. After weighing the aggravating and miti- to the crime who might later identify the perpetrator and subject him
gating circumstances, and in accord with the jury's recommendation, to prosecution. Routly v. State, 440 So2d 1257 (Fla 1983). The
the Court imposed the penalty of death upon the defendant, JEFFERY A. evidence in this case overwhelmingly establishes this to be the case.
MUEHLEMAN . | | Upon first taking the job of caring for the elderly victim,
) the defendant gave a false name. The day before the murder, the
AGGRAVATING CIRCUMSTAIICES | defendant sought the aid of - acquaintance (Richard Wesley) to acsist
— him in committing the crime and disposing of the body. The evidence
1) This Court does now find that the aggravating circumstance indicates that little force was actually necessary to accomplish the
of F.S. 921.141(5)(d) was established by the evidence to and beyond | taking of property. The victim was 96 years old and asleep in the
every reasonable doubt. The capital felony was committed while the bedroom and his age and infirmity prevented him from offering serious
defendant, JEFFERY A. MUEHLEMAN, was engaged in the robbery of Earl physical resistance. The degree of force ultimately used on the
Baughman. The evidence clearly established beyond every reasonable victim and the determination of defendant to make sure the victim
doubt that between the evening of May 4, 1983, and the morning of was dead far exceeded that necessary to commit the crime.
May 5, 1983, the defendant robbed 96-year-old Earl Baughman by force Detailed precautions were taken by the defendant to prevent
and violence. According to the defendant's confessions, Mr. Baughman the police from discovering the true fate of the victim. According
was struck on the head with a cast-iron skillet. Physical evidence to the defendant's statements, crumbs and a cup of beverage were
from the scene indicates that as a result of these blows, the victim's planted at the table to make it appear the victim had eaten breakfast.
dentures were knocked from his mouth and that bloodstdins from the the body was vemoved, placed in the trunk of the victig's vehicle
resulting injuries were left on the bed linen, wall, and curtains. and driven to another location where it was abandoned. The house
Numerous items of property belonging to the victim were stolen by was cleaned and wiped of prints; the victim's wallet burned in the
the defendant and found to be in his possession shortly after the backyard. The defendant told acquaintances that he intended to leave
murder, including money, 4 monogrammed cigarette lighter, and 4 town the same day that he was ultimately stopped by the police and
x
300 Aas 310 424
arrested. During the defendant's initial untaped confession to the
police, he told them that one of the reasons he killed the victim was
because the victim might Le able to identify him as his assailant.
3) The Court alse finds that the aggravating circumstance of
F.S. 921.14115)(h), that the crime was especially heinous, atrocious
or cruel,is established beyond and to the exclusion of every
reasonable doubt. Case law construing this aggravating factor requires
this Court to focus on the effect upon the victia himself to determine
whether it is “the consciousless or pitiless crime which is unnecessarily
torturous to the victim”. State v. Dixon, 283 So2d 1 (Fla 1973).
Even in circumstances where death was instantaneous, courts have upheld
a finding of this factor where the victim experienced mental anguish
and fear prior to the infliction of the fatal wounds. Routly v. State.
440 So2d 1257 (Fla 1983). Im the instant case, death was not
instantaneous.
The medical examiner testified that death by asphyxiation
would normally result after minutes and unconsciousness may result
within 30 - 60 seconds of constant strangulation. The physical pain.
fear, and mental anguish experjenced by the defenseless 96-year-old
men are incalculable. The evidence indicates that the victim did
suffer during the fatal assault, was conscious and did beg his
esseilant, the defendant, for mercy. The defendant's statement to
the police, to Times reporter Christopher Smart, and to jail inmate,
Ronald Rewis, indicate he struck repeated blows to the victim's head
with « cast-iron frying pan. Although the blows did not kill the
victim, and did not fracture any bones, they were of sufficient force
to apparently knock out the victim's dentures and to splatter blood
on the walls and curtains and to leave « substantial blood stain on
the mattress and bed linens. Undoubtedly, these blows were sufficient
to cause substantial pain and suffering to a victim who remained
conscious and alive. According to the defendant's statements, he
then proceeded to manually strangle the victim; the deterioration of
the body prior to discovery made it impossible to calculate the
tissue damage caused by this force, but it was clear that the force
wae Guest — 22 @ tens Se the aes K Ä
-3-
311 A27
cr *
According to the defendant's own confession, the victim was
alive and conscious during the assault; at one point, he reached up
to the defendant and said words to the effect, “Jeff - Oh Jeff".
Similarly, according to the defendant's statements to Ronald Rewis,
the victim was conscious. According to the defendant's statements,
he choked the victim for an “unbelievable amount of time" but he would
not die. The victim's throat was too flexible for him to stop the
passage of air to his lungs. This statement is consistent with the
medical examiner's testimony that strangulation causes death by con-
stricting the blood vessels in the neck and stopping the flow of
oxygenated blood to the brain, not by blocking the throat and pre-
venting the passage of air. When this failed to kill the victim, the
defendant released his hold on the victim's throat, got plastic bags
and returned to stuff them down the victim's throat. It is apparent
from the defendant's statements that the victim was still alive and
breathing at this point. The defendant, according to the medical
examiner, would have had to use great force to overcome the gag reflex
and insert his hand down the throat through the trachea and into the
windpipe. When the defendant saw the bag was still inflating (and
the victim still breathing) he stuffed the bags even further. .
According to his taped statement to Rewis, as could be heard on the
tape, the victim was still struggling and moving around all over the
bed as the bags were stuffed down his throat. The Court finds that
this murder is especially wicked, willful, atrocious, and cruel.
5) The Court also finds that it was established beyond every
reasonable doubt that the murder of Earl Buaghman was committed in
a cold, calculated and premeditated manner without any pretense of
moral or legal justification, as set forth in F.S. 921.141(d)(5)(1).
The evidence indicates that the defendant contemplated the commission
of the murder well in advance of its commission. He had attempted
to enlist a second person to help commit the crime and dispose of the
body and followed through on his own when that person did not show up.
The manner of commission of the murder displays strong determination
to effect the victim's death. The proof in this case clearly
demonstrates the crime was committed not only in a premeditated
ain
312 A 29
manner, but one which was as well both cold and calculated. This
established the higher type of premeditation necessary for this
aggravating circumstance.
The Court is aware of the defendant's statements that he
killed the victim out of “mercy”, to prevent the victim from suffering
after he had inflicted probable brain damage upon him with a cast-
iron skillet. The Court specifically rejects this explanation as
being overwhelmingly disproven by the evidence.
MITIGATING CIRCUMSTANCES
The jury was instructed on three mitigating circumstances:
1) The capacity of the defendant to appreciate the criminality of
his conduct or to conform his conduct to the requirements of law
was substantially impaired; 2) The age of the defendant at the time
of the crime; and 3) Any other aspect of the defendant's character
or record, and any other circumstances of the offense.
However, the Court has considered all statutory and non-
statutory mitigating circumstances in reaching it's decision:
1) No significant history of prior criminal activity. This
factor was specifically waived by the defense from being considered
by the jury. The record before the Court is clear that the defendant
does have a substantial record of criminal activity and, therefore,
the Court finds this circumstance does not apply and was not supported
by reasonably convincing evidence.
2) The crime for which the defendant is to be sentenced was
committed while he was under the influence of extreme mental or
emotional disturbance. There was no testimony which indicated that
the defendant was operating under a disturbance sufficient in degree
to have established this mitigating circumstance. Moreover, the
evidence concerning the manner and means of commission of the crime
as reflected by the physical evidence and statements of the defendant
clearly indicate this circumstance was not applicable. The Court finds
that this mitigating circumstance is not applicable nor is it supported
by any reasonably convincing evidence.
3) The victim was a participant in the defendant's conduct,
or consented to the act. The Court finds this circumstance is clearly
inapplicable and is unsupported by any evidence.
4) The defendant was an accomplice in the offense for which
he is to be entenced, butthe offense was committed by another and
defendant's participation was relatively minor. All the evidence
established the defendant acted alone in killing the victim. There
is evidence that the defendant attempted to enlist another's
(Richard Wesley's) aid, but that person did not actually show up
or assist in the crime. The Court therefore finds that this circum-
stance is not applicable and is not supported by any reasonably con-
vincing evidence.
o. fendant acted under extreme duress or the substantial
domination of another person. The Court finds this circumstance to
be inapplicable and that it is not supported by any evidence.
6) The capacity of the defendant to appreciate the criminality
of his conduct or to confirm his conduct to the requirements of law
tantiall aired. There is testimony from one defense
psychiatrist that the defendant suffered from an “attention deficit
disorder" which prevented him from appreciating the criminality of
his conduct or conforming his conduct to the requirements of the law.
This diagnosis differs from that reached by the other defense expert
who also found that while some impairment was evidenced, it could
not be termed “substantial”. The Court also finds that the mitigating
circumstance of "substantial" impairment is rebutted by evidence that
the defendant planned to commit the crime in advance, tried to involve
a second person in it, delayed commission of the ctime until the
victim was in bed and no other witnesses were present, and took
meticulous steps to cover up the crime - all of which indicate he
understood the criminal nature of his conduct and had the ability
to conform his conduct to the law. When it suited his purpose, i.e.
in getting the job, in dealing with associates and the police, and
in dealing with the friends and relatives of the victim, the defendant
demonstrated the capacity to control his conduct and delay his impulses
to commit crime. The Court therefore finds in light of all the
313 427 314 A30
|
~ —— —
evidence that this circumstance is not supported by reasonably
convincing evidence.
7) The age of the defendant. The Court does find that the
defendant's age at the time of the crime, 18, does constitute a
mitigating circumstance. The Court doesalso determine that this
mitigating eirouetence is clearly outweighed by the four established
aggravating circumstances.
8)
and any circumstance of the offense. The Court has also considered
all the evidence presented to see if any non-statutory circumstances
other aspect of the defendant's character or record
exist which in conjunction with defendant's age might outweigh the
aggravating circumstances. Specifically, the Court has considered
the psychiatric testimony as to the defendant's possible impairment,
the testimony of relatives and friends concerning the defendant's
troubled background and family life, his character and his past
physical and emotional problems, previous opportunities and help
offered to the defendant, and the testimony of jail officials as to
his conduct within the jail system as well as the voluminous documents
and other evidence presented by the defense.
The Court rules that there are no non-statutory mitigating
factors.
The Court does, therefore, find that aggravating circum-
stances outweigh any and all mitigating circumstances and that the
death penalty is the appropriate and legal penalty which the Court
does impose on JEFFERY A. MUEHLEMAN.
in Chambers, Clearwater, Pinellas County,
DONE AND :
Florida, this AS day of — 1984.
CIRCUIT COURT JUDGE
Copies to:
State Attorney
Public Defender
315 A3l
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
I, DOUGLAS S. CONNOR, a member of the Bar of the
Supreme Court of the United States and counsel of record for
JEFFREY ALLEN MUEHLEMAN, the Petitioner, hereby certify that on
May 20, 1987, pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 28, I served a
single copy of the foregoing Motion for Leave to Proceed in Forma
Pauperis on each of the parties as follows:
On the State of Florida, The Respondent, by depositing
said copy in the United States Post Office, Bartow, Florida, with
first class postage prepaid, properly addressed to Robert J. Landry,
Assistant Attorney General, Park Trammell Building, 1313 Tampa
Street, 8th Floor, Tampa, Florida 33602.
Assi ant public defender
Supreme Court. 0 8.
FILED
MAY 21 887
JOSEPH F SPANIOL, JR.
CLERK
86-7066
I, DOUGLAS S. CONNOR, a member of the Bar of the
Supreme Court of the United States and counsel of record for
JEFFREY ALLEN MUEHLEMAN, the Petitioner, hereby certify that on
May 20, 1987, pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 28, I served a
single copy of the foregoing Petition for Writ of Certiorari to
the Supreme Court of Florida with attached Appendix on each of
the parties as follows:
On the State of Florida, The Respondent, by depositing
said copy in the United States Post Office, Bartow, Florida, with
first class postage prepaid, properly addressed to Robert J. Landry,
Assistant Attorney General, Park Trammell Building, 1313 Tampa
Street, 8th Floor, Tampa, Florida 33802.
OPPOSITION
BRIEF
—
ORIGINAL ©
Case No.
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STA
JEFFREY ALLEN MUEHLEMAN,
Petitioner,
v.
STATE OF FLORIDA
Respondent.
BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
TO PETITION FOR 1 OF CERTIORARI
I”
SECOND DISTRICT CORT OF APPEAL
ROBERT A. BUTTERWORTH
ATTORNEY GENERAL
GARY ©. WELCE
Assistant Attorney General
1313 Tf Street, Suite 804
Park Trammell Building
Tampa, Florida 33602
(813) 272-2670
COUNSEL FOR RESPONDENT
86- 7066 endes
JUL 10 i987
SUPREWE Cove
CLERK
Las
„ ..
enn... 66600
ann. BERG, . cccccccccccccscccccccccccccceecccesccccccccecouel
. ..
EEE eee eee eee eee eee
Kuhlmann v. Wilson,
106 S.Ct. 2616 an. 12 ——
Maine v. Moulton,
ava 9.8. — 106 S. ct. 477, we L.84.24 481 2
Muehleman v. State,
503 So.24 310 (Pile. — ——
United States v. Henry,
a4? 6.8. 264, 100 S. ct. 2183, 65 L.84.24 115 ä
United States v. Vitale,
728 . 20 1090 ed Cir. — 99
Vitale v. United States,
105 g. et. 103 ———
OPINION BELOW
The opinion of the Second District Court of Appeal sought to
be reviewed is reported es Muchlemen v. State, 503 So.2¢ 310
(Plea. 1967).
STATEMENT OF PACTS
Muehleman initially approached Rewis and sade repested
atteapts to discuss the details of the crime with Rewis. Rewis
initially attempted to dissuade Suehlesan “from talking too
much". Thereafter, Rewis approached « corrections officer, who
in tern pleced Rewis in contact with lew enforcement officers.
Rewis consented to being equipped with a recording device. Rewis
wes instructed sot to initiete r conveersation with
Muehlesan. Rewis" efforts were sot induced by law enforcement.
Muchlenan vy. State, 503 So.24 310 (Fla. 1987).
The instant cause involves neither an informant which ected
in @ manner so a8 to induce the petitioner to spest sbout the
crime or tactics by stete officials designed to elicit statesents
(such es compensation to inforsgents who obtein incriminating
Sstetesents). Sub jeudice, the sole strategy was to preserve that
which wes volenterily sede without inducement; sot to induce and
record incriminating statements. As such, petitioner's reliance
om Meine +. Boulton, 474 0.8. . 106 S.Ct. 477, 68 . 8.2 481
(1985) ee Qnited States +. Bency, 447 0.8. 264, 100 S.ct. 2283,
6S .. % 115 (1980) is inaeppropriete. This point wes recog-
nized im Qnited States v. Vitale, 728 F.24 1090, 1092 (8th Cir.
1984) and this Court denied certiorari; Vitale v. Gnited States,
105 S.Ct. 103 (1984). As this Court noted in Bubimann ». Silson,
106 S.Ct. 2616 ot 2630, =. 12 (1986): „% Gefendent eust show
state ection “designed Geliberately to elicit incriminating re-
ares The fects found by the state court ere contrary to
this. MSueblepan vy. State, $03 So.2¢ 310 (Pile. 1987). To the
-l-
extent that the petitioner differs with facts found in state
court, his claim would be more appropriate to a habeas corpus
petition in Federal District Court. Certiorari in this Court
would be a waste of this Court's scarce resources.
Assuming arguendo that the issue is of the magnitude to war-
rant this Court's review, the instant case is not of that magni-
tude since any error of constitutional proportions is harmless
and the judgment below is valid in light of the peitioner's con-
temporary confession to a newspaper reporter who was not a
government agent, the corroborating tangible evidence and the
petitioner's plea of guilty.
CONCLUSION
Based on the above argument and authorities, the respondent
respectfully submtis that the Petition for Writ of Certiorari be
denied.
Respectfully submitted,
ROBERT A. BUTTERWORTH
ATTORNEY GENERAL
— 7
—
Assistant Attorney General
1313 Tampa Street, Suite 804
Park Trammell Building
Tampa, Florida 33602
(813) 272-2670
I HEREBY CERTIFY that a true and correct copy of the fore-
going has been furnishec dy U.S. regular mail to Douglas S.
Connor, Assistant Public Defender, Hall of Justice Building, 455
North Broadway Avenue Worth, P. o. Box 1640, Bartow, Florida
33830, this KK day of July, 1987.
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
JEFFREY ALLEN MUEHLEMAN v. FLORIDA
COURT OF FLORIDA
No 86-7066 Decided October 5, 1987
The petition for a writ of certiorari is denied.
, HHUA]
0
alt it ine i 0
He 1
ite ite pa 1111
412 li Kn ie
Rit sill 7 f if ]
a ‘i a li
| 1 15
Hi lil!
he was in jail
ee
; 1% 1
i at Ha
iit 14111 n Hite
JHE Eo Ea
10 Hy .
: 10 e
1121553 714 14 ee
e
92215114 ds : 115
Mit. ani
sli fit uli 14 fs
li ila 0 10 0 Hi 0
ia Hig 1 Hpi: ee
ite 10 Hit | ii 10
1 ra iF 10 e it
MUEHLEMAN vt. FLORIDA
Kuhlmann, because an identical instruction was given to the
informant in Henry. See United States v. Henry, supra, at
266. What we found compelling in Kuhlmann was not
recognized to the prohibition established in Henry and
Maine, and that exception may be invoked only in cases in
which the informant can truly be described as a mere “listen-
ing post.” This is not such a case.
Ill
Although I think that the Florida Supreme Court misread
our precedents in rejecting petitioner's Sixth Amendment
claim, its error is one that is lamentably easy to make. Our
in this area involve several factual scenarios that
vary only slightly. We have given little guidance on which
factual variations are relevant to or dispositive of Sixth
Amendment claims. We owe it to law enforcement officials
and the courts to establish clearly the line across which con-
stitutional error lies. For that reason, we should grant this
petition for certiorari.
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.