Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Garcia v. United States

Supreme Court brief1985

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

ee Be ea Be RECEIVED

wey 1

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

SUPREME COURT, U.S.

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

83-6061

JOSE AND FRANCISCO GARCIA,

Petitioners,

vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

POR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

THEODORE J. SAKOWITZ

FEDERAL PUBLIC DEFENDER

BY: Charles G. White

Assistant

Pederal Public Defender

Attorney for Petitioners

14 N. EB. Ist Avenue

Miami, Florida 33132

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

JOSE AND FRANCISCO GARCIA

Petitioners,

vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

TIFICATE OF SERVICE

I HEREBY CERTIFY that on this {| day of

January, 1984, in accordance with Rule 33 of the

Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States,

copies of the

1) Motion for Leave to Proceed in Forma

Pauperis,

2) Petition for Writ of Certiorari, and

3) Certificate of Service,

were served upon the United States Attorney for the

Southern District of Florida, 155 South Miami Ave.,

Miami, Florida 33130, by delivery, and upon the So-

licitor General, Department of Justice, Washington,

D.C. 20530, by mail.

Assistant

Federal Public Defender

Attorney for Petitioner

14 N.E. lst Avenue

Miami, Florida 33132

NUMBER

JOSE AND FRANCISCO GARCIA,

Petitioners,

vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO PROCEED IN PORMA PAUPERIS

COMES NOW the Petitioners, Jose and

Francisco Garcia by his undersigned counsel, pur-

suant to Rule 46.1 of the Supreme Court Rules, and

asks leave to file the accompanying Petition for a

Writ of Certiorari in the Supreme Court of the

United States without payment of costs, and to

proceed in forma pauperis.

Petitioners have previously been

adjudicated indigent and the Federal Public Defender

has been appointed to represent them pursuant to

Title 18, U.S.C., §3006A; therefore the Petitioners

rely upon Title 18, U.S.C., §3006(d)(6) and have not

attached the affidavit which would otherwise be

required by Title 28 U.S.C., §1915(a).

Assistan.

Federal Public Defender

Attorney for Petitioner

14 N.E. lst Avenue

Miami, Florida 33132

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

JOSE AND FRANCISCO GARCIA,

Petitioners,

vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

POR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

Jose and Francisco Garcia respectfully

petition the Supreme Court of the United States for

a Writ of Certiorari to review that portion of the

opinion and judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit rendered and

entered in Case Number 82-5048 of that Court on

November 7, 1983, which affirms the judgment of the

United States District Court for the Southern

District of Florida.

WHETHER A PROSECUTION UNDER 18 U.S.C.

$2114 REQUIRES A POSTAL NEXUS IN ORDER

POR A CONVICTION TO BE SUSTAINED.

il — ri

t

LIST OF PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The parties to this proceeding are the United

States of America and Jose and Francisco Garcia

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIVVd . 1

LIST OF PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING. ....... 2

e ũ umu... „ 8

, ˙ ˙ „ „„ „ „ 0

F ũũ̃nunt „ „ ©

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION. n 4

STATEMENT OF THE caesss . 4

, ²˙ a ae ee ee „ „

CC EE ee a a ⅛ ee ee ee

tt ²ͤ UA v „ „

APPENDIX. * . . * „ . * . * * . * . * . . . * . * 23

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

eee Vv. 5 — States,

U.S. 1 (1 6). * . * . * * . * . . * . * 17

B v. U tates,

— 17

* * * 14

D v. U t 7

* * * . * „ * * * „ * * * * * . 17

FE *. U *

= * „ * * * * * „ „ . * * * * * 18

H n - U St ’

U.S. 1 (1 4). * * * „ * * * 7 * 5 * * * 17

Malat v. Rid

* * 966) * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 14

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (cont.)

Cases

Perrin v. N States:

444 U.S. (19 0) * * . * . * . * . * .

v._H ’

437 U.S. 153 (1977). . . * * * * . * . .

Page

18

14

16

18

United States v. B blett,

48 U.S. 503 (19 . * * * * * * * * . *

United States v. Cook

384 U.S. 257 (1966). * * * * . * * . * *

United States v. Dudley

581 F.2d 1193 (Sth Cir. 197)

8 8 v. Fernandez,

4 F. (9th Cir. 1974), cert. N

ed 4

420 U.S. 990 (1975), rehearing den

U.S. 1017 (1975) * — . * * . * . *

e — es v. A t a

18 F. (llth Cir. 1983) .....

United shales Vv. Banatan,

t r. 1971), vac &

remanded, 414 U.S. 807 (1973)... ...

United Stat v. Levy,

F. 2 (Sth Cir. 1980), cert. denied

440 U.S. 920 (1979)

United t 0 ny

owe 1 * * * . * * . * . *

e sates Vv. 1

PF. me Gel. 3979) « © we „ oe

U R

0 n r. 1975) cert. d ed

423 U.S. 948 (1975). * * * „ „ _ . * * *

U e ’

521 F.2 1 (1 ). * . * . . * . * . *

United Vv. ’

° t r. Unit B 1981

U

P. (

„ert. denied, 421 U.S. 912 (1975)

17

17

17

13

13

13

17

14

13

13

13

18

18

—

4 —

OPINION BELOW

A copy of the opinion of the Court of Ap-

peals, for the Eleventh Circuit rendered November 7,

1983 and entered on the same date affirming the

petitioners’ conviction has been published under the

citation 718 F.2d 1528. A copy of the opinion is

attached.

BASIS OF JURISDICTION

Jurisdiction is invoked under Title 28,

United States Code, Section 1254(1).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Jose and Francisco Garcia, the petitioners,

along with Ernesto Dominguez, who is not a party to

these proceedings, were charged in a five count

indictment with conspiracy to steal money belonging

to the United States valued in excess of $100, in

violation of 18 U.S.C. §371 (Count I), stealing

money belonging to the United States valued in

excess of $100, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 58641

(Count II), robbery of money belonging to the United

States with an assault involvirg the use of a

dangerous weapon, in violation of 18 U.S.C. §2114

(Count III), possession of counterfeit notes, in

violation of 18 U.S.C. §472 (Count IV), forcibly

assaulting federal officers, in violation of 18

U.S.C. 5111 (Count v).

On October 6, 1981 petitioners proceeded to

a jury trial. Petitioners’ motions for judgment of

acguittal at the close of the government's case and

at the close of all the evidence were denied. On

October 14, 1981 the jury returned a verdict of

205

guilty on all counts except Count V against Fran-

cisco Garcia.

On November 17, 1981 Jose Garcia was

sentenced to a term of incarceration of twenty-five

(25) years on Count III, five years on Count II

consecutive with count III, five years on both

Counts I and III to run concurrent with the term

imposed on Count II, and the ten (10) years on Count

Vv to run consecutive with that term imposed on Count

III and concurrent to the term in Count II. Accord-

ing to counsel's computation, the total is thirty

five (35) years and not forty (40) asserted in the

Judgment and Commitment Order.

On that same date Francisco Garcia was

sentenced to a term of incarceration of twenty-five

(25) years on Count III and five years each for

Counts I, II, and IV to run concurrently with each

other and consecutively to that term of

incarceration imposed in Count III for a total of

thirty (30) years.

Petitioners filed a timely appeal which

raised the issues that it was error for the trial

judge to a) deny petitioners’ motions for judgment

of acquittal on Count III (18 U.S.C. §2114), b)

admit the counterfeit bills, c) impose consecutive

sentences for convictions under Counts II, III and

V, and d)] deny petitioners’ motions for judgment of

acquittal based on the insufficiency of the

evidence. Oral argument was heard before a panel of

the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals comprised of

Judges Fay and Kravitch, with Atkins sitting by

designation. The conviction was affirmed in an

opinion published at 718 F.2d 1528.

It is the contention of the petitioners that

the first issue listed above concerning the failure

of the trial judge to enter a judgment of acquittal

as to Count III should be considered by the Supreme

Court. The Eleventh Circuit held that one could be

convicted of a violation of 18 U.S.C. §2114 without

there being a postal nexus between the money taken

or its custodian. In arriving at this conclusion

the dissenting opinion of Judge Mansfield from the

Second Circuit case of United States v. Reid, 517

P.2d 953 (2nd Cir. 1975), was specifically adopted

by the Eleventh Circuit. The Reid Court held that a

postal nexus was required to convict of a violation

of 18 U.S.C. §2114. Other cases have held the same

way. See United States v. Rivera, 521 F.2d 125 (2nd

Cir. 1975), United States v. Rivera, 513 F.2d 519

(2nd Cir. 1975) cert. denied, 423 U.S. 948 (1975).

United States v. Fernandez, 497 F.2d 730 (9th Cir.

1974). The Eleventh Circuit has clearly created a

conflict between the circuits which must be resolved

by the Supreme Court because of its great importance

to the prosecution and defense of cases of this

type. The Eleventh Circuit has authorized the use

of a statute containing a mandatory twenty-five year

prison term against all precedent, and the position

of the Solicitor General taken in United States v.

Hanahan, 442 F.2d 649 (7th Cir. 1971), vac. & rem'd,

STATEMENT OF FACTS

On July 22, 1981 Secret Service Agent David

Holmes, accompanied by a confidential informant

named Jorge Castro, met with petitioners along with

co-defendant Ernesto Domingo at Douglas Park in

Miami, Florida, purportedly to buy a quantity of

counterfeit money. Castro introduced Holmes to

Dominguez and Francisco Garcia as the purchasers,

and Dominguez asked the agent if he had the money.

The agent in turn asked Dominguez if he had the

counterfeit money and Dominguez told the agent that

the counterfeit money was in the trunk of a white

Trans-Am that the petitioners had arrived in. After

*flashing"® Dominguez the money he had with him, the

agent said he wanted to consumate the deal at

Douglas Park, but Dominguez stated that the place

was “heatec up“ and asked that the exchange take

place at another location. Dominguez then suggested

Bryant Park some five blocks away.

Once at Bryant Park, Dominguez wanted to see

the money again, but was refused. The agent told

Dominguez that he didn't think they had any money.

Dominguez responded that they did, and Francisco

Garcia showed agent Holmes a “sample” $50.00 bill.

Holmes agent again insisted on seeing the counter-

feit money. He thes turned and walked to his car.

Agent Holmes testified that suddenly Jose

Garcia jumped out of the Trans-Am, pointed a semi-

automatic pistol at him, and demanded his money.

Seconds after, back-up agents arrived on the

scene and Jose Garcia dropped the weapon on the

ground. Holmes also indicated that his car door was

open and the black leather pouch was recovered at

the scene. The key to the Trans-Am, which was

locked, and the $50.00 bill, were recovered from

Francisco Garcia, who was hit by a surveillance

agent's car.

Surveillance agents responding to the scene

also testified about their observations. Agent Greg

Null testified that he and his partner, Thomas

Grant, were a block from the meeting when they saw

Agent Holmes raise his hands in a pre-arranged

danger signal.

While racing te the scene Null saw Jose

Garcia with a gun pointed at Agent Holmes who had

his back to Jose Garcia. Holmes testified that he

backed away facing Jose Garcia, as did another

government witness Alex Suarez.

Agent Thomas Grant also testified that he

saw Jose Garcia with a gun, which Grant recovered at

the scene and handed over to Special Agent Kevin

Foley. Grant also testified that he found the keys

to the Trans-Am, as well as a counterfeit $50.00

bill on Francisco Garcia. This is in direct

contrast to Agent Holmes’ testimony, who testified

that the Trans-Am was locked. Agent Grant testified

that the car windows were down. Grant drove the

Trans-Am to the Secret Service office in order to

search it. Once at the office, the car and its

trunk was searched. No counterfeit money was

found. Agent Grant had been led to believe that a

great deal of counterfeit money could be found by

the confidential informant.

Agent Paul Hachenberry testified that after

seeing the distress signal, he observed Francisco

Gerccia run toward the government vehicle and then

run away from the scene of the arrest looking over

his shoulder, with the black pouch in his hand.

While the car was moving, Francisco was struck and

fell to the ground, dropping the pouch.

Agent Kevin Foley testified that he saw

Francisco Garcia run towards the Grand Prix, then,

and run away from it. Foley also testified that the

gun recovered was legally registered to Francisco

Garcia, and that the confidential informant had told

them that $80,000.00 in counterfeit money was

available.

Both petitioners testified on their own

behalf. Jose Garcia testified that two days prior

to this incident he and his brother were approached

by the confidential informant, Jorge Castro, a known

quaalude addict, about “taking” a man he knew for

his money. The scheme proposed by Castro was to

have appellants show this man counterfeit $50 and

$100.00 bills which Castro provided appellants. At

first petitioners resisted the idea, but after

Dominguez asked them to help, they agreed. Jose

Garcia understood that he, his brother, and

Dominguez were tc hold the man while the confi-

dential informant took his money.

On July 22, 1981 petitionere drove to

Douglas Park and Dominguez met the agent while the

confidential informant remained in the car.

Apparently, someone didn't like the arrangements so

they moved to Bryant Park, five blocks away. When

they arrived at Bryant Park, Dominguez and the agent

immediately began arguing about who would see whose

money first. Jose Garcia hadn't seen any money at

that time.

During the argument, Holmes raised his hands

ard then grabbed his pistol on his right leg as the

other agents swarmed over him and the suspects.

Jose Garcia was struck by Agent Holmes with a pistol

—

r RR a a a

rw

f

+

A

8

Hy

*

and then his arm was twisted behind his back. Jose

Garcia strentously denied ever having a gun at the

scene.

Francisco Garcia testified that he and his

brother were approached by Jorge Castro some two

days prior to the incident about taking a man for

his money. He was given a counterfeit bill by

Castro which he accepted. On July 22, 1981 Castro

Dominguez and the petitioners met at Douglas Park

where Dominguez and Castro made arrangements to meet

at another location. While at the meeting in Bryant

Park, Dominguez asked him for the bill Castro had

given him and Francisco handed it to him. He in

turn, gave it to the agent who then returned it to

Francisco. At that point, the agents pulled into

the parking lot scaring Francisco. When he turned

to the side, he was struck by a moving vehicle.

Francisco vehemently denied ever touching the

leather pouch with the money in it. Additionally,

he testified that his brother never had a gun.

Several eyewitnesses were called to testify

by both sides. Defense witness Marta Pedrosa

testified that on July 22, 1981 she and her father

were in front of their house when two cars, speed-

ing by her, came down the block, and then came to a

screeching halt. The agents got out of their car

with guns drawn, and wrestled with the petitioners.

She also observed the agents kicking Jose Garcia.

Ms. Pedrosa further testified that Francisco Garcia

had been struck by a car, but that in contrast to

the testimony of the agents, she observed nothing in

his hand, such as a leather pouch. The agents

seemed to be interested in finding the key to the

Trans-Am, and eventually found it in Francisco

Garcia's pocket. The agent then went into the car

and came out with a pistol from which he removed the

clip. Ms. Pedrosa thought it had been removed from

the glove compartment.

The government then called Edna Benson to

testify to her observations on July 22, 1981. She

testified to the circumstances surrounding her

coming to court. From her testimony, it appeared

that she arrived too late to make any observations

relevant to the inquiry except that one of the

defendants appeared to resist arrest.

After lengthy hearings on the matter, the

defense was allowed to re-open its case to call

Rafael Pedrosa, the father of Martha Pedrosa another

eyewitness to the incident on July 22, 1981.

Mr. Pedrosa testified that on July 22, 1981,

he saw the cars speeding into Bryant Park and walked

over to see what was going on. From a distance of

twenty feet, he observed three young men handcuffed,

and one very happy agent who had found a key to an

automobile which he used to open the car. The agent

prior to going into the car was unarmed, but when he

stepped out of the car he had a pistol from which he

removed the clip, and then placed it in his belt.

Mr. Pedrosa also never saw a black leather pouch

Similar to that entered into evidence by the

government.

The government was given an extraordinary

opportunity to reopen their case for the third time

and called Alex Suarez to testify to what he saw in

- il -

the park on July 22, 1981 when the petitioners were

arrested. He testified that he observed the agent

raise his hands, back away and say “Don't shoot! to

someone, although Suarez never saw a gun. Suddenly

other agents arrived on the scene to arrest the

three men present. Suarez did not observe any

mistreatment by the agents. However, he observed

them searching the car. Suarez saw that the agent

who searched the car had a revolver in his

waistband, and like witness Pedrosa, Mr. Suarez saw

no weapon in his hand prior to the search.

ARGUMENT

ISSUE I

THAT A PROSECUTION UNDER 18

U.S.C. §2114 REQUIRES A POSTAL

NEXUS IN ORDER FOR A CONVICTION

TO BE SUSTAINED

Title 18 United States Code, §2114 reads in

pertinent part:

Whoever assaults any person having

lawful charge, control, or custody of

any mail matter or of any money or

other property of the United States,

with intent to rob, steal, or purloin

such mail matter, money, or other

property of the United States with

intent to rob, steal, or purloin such

mail matter, money, or other property

of the United States, or robs any such

person of mail matter, or of any money,

or other property of the United States,

shall, for the first offense, be

imprisoned not more than ten years; and

if in effecting or attempting to effect

such robbery he wounds the person

© 12 -

——

having custody of such mail, money, or

other property of the United States, or

puts his life in jeopardy by the use of

a dangerous weapon, or for a subsequent

offense, shall be imprisoned twenty

five years.

That a charge under 18 U.S.C. §2114

requires some postal nexus“ before a conviction is

warranted has been based upon careful consideration

of the intent of Congress in enacting the 1935

amendment to §2114, Act of August 26, 1935, ch. 694,

49 Stat. 867, by both the Second and Ninth Circuits

and the concession of the Solicitor General in a

Seventh Circuit case. United States v. Rivera, 521

F.2d 125 (2nd Cir. 1975). JU v. Reid,

517 F.2d 953 (2nd Cir. 1975). United States v.

Rivera, 513 F.2d 519 (2nd Cir. 1975) cert. denied

423 U.S. 948 (1975). United States v. Fernandez,

497 Fr. 2d 730 (9th Cir. 1974) cert. denied 420 U.S.

990 (1975), rehearing denied 421 U.S. 1017 (1975).

United States v. Hanahan, 442 F.2d 649 (7th Cir.

1971), vac & remanded, 414 U.S. 807 (1973).

The Eleventh Circuit in holding that prose-

cution under 18 U.S.C. §2114 did not require a

postal nexus specifically adopted the dissent of

Judge Mansfield in the Reid case. United States v.

Garcia, 718 F.2d 1528, 1533 (llth Cir. 1983). Judge

Mansfield felt that because, in his opinion, the

wording of the statute appeared clear and

unambiguous there was no need to look behind the

statute to better ascertain its meaning. Judge

Mansfield felt that even if the intent of Congress

was reviewed, there is nothing clearly indicating

that Congress intended a “postal nexus" be applied.

— 13 —

Lastly, Judge Mansfield held that the opinion of the

Solicitor General was not controlling because he

disagreed with his opinion on a matter of 12. %

Now Petitioners will present rebuttal to

these contentions.

Judge Mansfield and the panel which heard

oral argument in this case were particularly

interested in the propriety of looking behind the

Statute to determine legislative intent Citing

Malat _v. Riddell, 383 U.S. 569 (1966), Commissioner

f v. B „ 380 U.S. 563, 571-72

(1965). United States v. Oregon, 366 U.S. 643, 648

(1961). Schwegmann Bros. v. Calvert Corp., 341 U.S.

(384, 395-96 (1951), Browder v. United States, 312

U.S. 335, 338 (1941), and United States v. American

Trucking Assn's_Inc., 310 U.S. 534, 543 (1940),

language was extracted which appeared to support the

plain meaning” of the words over any other factor

when considering the scope of the statute and the

definitions to be attached to its language. Yet in

all those cases the issue before the Court was

resolved after a careful consideration of the

Congressional intention that the plain meaning, and

not some other meaning would be applied. The Court

has applied this general principle many times.

1. Petitioners raise, but leave to another time,

the propriety of the Government having sought an

indictment on this charge under the facts of this

case in the face of the Solicitor General's conces-

sion and the overwhelming precedent.

-14-

Comm

In attempting to define Sale“

in

*. a the Court, after

assigning the term its “plain meaning", went on to

rely on legislative intent to determine the scope of

a term.

Unit

it said:

Unquestionably the courts, in interpre-

ting a statute, have some scope for

adopting a restricted rather than a

literal or usual meaning of its words

where acceptance of the meaning would

lead to absurd results... or would

thwart the obvious purpose of the

statute.

380 U.S. at 571

The Supreme Court spoke more clearly

in

Vv. T "s Inc. when

In the interpretation of statutes, the

function of the courts is easily

stated. It is to construe the language

so as to give effect to the intent of

Congress. There is no invariable rule

for the discovery of that intention.

To take a few words from their context

and with them thus isolated to attempt

to determine their meaning, certainly

would not contribute greatly to the

discovery of the purpose of the drafts-

men of a statute, particularly in a law

drawn to meet many needs of a major

occupation.

There is, of course, no more persua-

sive evidence of the purpose of a

statute than the words by which the

legislature undertook to give expres-

sion to its wishes. Often these words

are sufficient in and of themselves to

determine the purpose of the legis-

lation. In such cases we have followed

their plain meaning. When that meaning

hee led to absurd or futile results,

However, this Court has looked beyond

the words to the purpose of the act.

Frequently, however, even when the

Plain meaning did not produce absurd

results but merely an unreasonable one

“plainly at variance with the policy of

the legislation as a hole“ this Court

has followed that purpose, rather than

the literal words. When aid to con-

struction of the meaning of words, as

used in the statute, is available,

there certainly can be no “rule of law*

- 15 -

.

—

which forbids its use, however clear

the words may appear on “superficial

examination. The interpretation of

the meaning of statutes, as applied to

justiciable controversies, is exclu-

sively a judicial function. This duty

requires one body of public servants,

the judges, to construe the meaning of

what another body, the legislators, has

said. Obviously there is danger that

the courts’ conclusion as to legis-

lative purpose will be unconsciously

influenced by the judges’ own views or

by factors not considered dy the

enacting body. A lively appreciation of

the danger is the best assurance of

. escape from its threat but hardly

justifies an acceptance of a literal

interpretation dogma which withholds

from the courts available information

for reaching a correct conclusion.

Emphasis should be laid, too, upon the

necessity for appraisal of the purposes

as a whole of Congress in analyzing the

meaning of clauses or sections of

general acts. A few words of general

connotation appearing in the text of

statutes should not be given a wide

meaning, contrary to a settled policy,

"excepting as a different purpose is

plainly shown."

It is interesting that Judge Mansfield

quoted out of context a small section of the

foregoing holding, for the proposition that the

plain meaning” always prevails despite legislative

intent to the contrary. This irony was noticed by

the majority in Reid, 517 F.2d at 957 n. 3a.

In TVA v. Hill, 437 U.S. 153 (1977), the

Court was considering whether to terminate a $100

million federally funded dam project in order to

enforce the mandatory language of the Endangered

Species Act of 1973. In a classic analysis of

statutory construction the Court considered the

“plain meaning” of the Endangered Species Act, but

then consulted the legislative history to see if

Congress really meant what it said. Justice Powell,

in his dissent evoked the doctrine underlying the

case of Church of the Holy Trinity v. United States,

143 U.S. 457 (1892), and the lack of clear

Congressional intent for the very expensive and

destructive result the majority conceded would

derive from their holding. Justice Rehnquist wrote

in his dissent that principles of equity should be

used to obtain the best result. The attitudes of

these dissenters is appropriate to the instant case

because it is a criminal matter, not a civil

proceeding, where leniency toward defendants is

appropriate.

A federal criminal statute should be

construed narrowly in order to encompass only that

conduct that Congress so intended to criminalize.

Dunn _v. United States, 442 U.S. 100, 112 (1979);

United States v. Dudley, 581 F.2d 1193, 1197 (5th

Cir. 1978). Although a criminal statute must be

Strictly construed, it must not be construed so

Stricly as to defeat the clear intention of the

legislature. Barrett v. United States, 423 U.S.

212, 218, (1976); Huddleston v. United States, 415

U.S. 814, 831, (1974); United States v. Cook, 384

U.S. 257, 262-63, (1966). “The principle of strict

construction ‘does not mean that every criminal

statute must be given the narrowest possible meaning

in complete disregard of the purpose of the legis-

lature.'" United States _v. Levy, 579 F.2d 1332,

1337 (Sth Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 440 U.S. 920,

(1979), quoting United States v. Bramblett, 348 U.S.

503, 510, (1955).

A basic canon of statutory construction is

that words should be interpreted as taking their

“17 -

.

ordinary and plain meaning. E.g., Perrin vy. United

States, 444 U.S. 37, 42, (1980). Although in

interpretation of statutory language reference

should first be made to the plain and literal

meaning of the words, the overriding duty of a court

is to give effect to the intent of the legislature.

Flora _v. United States, 357 U.S. 63, 65, (1958);

United States v. Second National Bank of North

Miami, 502 F.2d 525, 539 (Sth Cir. 1974), cert.

denied, 421 U.S. 912, (1975). A statute should

ordinarily be interpreted according to its plain

language, unless a clear contrary legislative

intention is shown. United States v. Apfelbaum, 445

U.S. 115, 121 (1980).

The analysis of the Eleventh Circus in

following the old Fifth Circuit language in United

States v. Scrimgeour, 636 F.2d 1019 (Sth Cir. Unit B

1981) to the effect that or“ means the disjunctive

always, is curious in light of the fact that the

holding of that case was that or“ was and“ if that

was the intent of the legislature.

Therefore, inquiry should be made into the

intent of Congress when enacting the 1935 amendment

to 18 U.S.C. §2114.

b) t — a

x U.S.C. 4.

By adopting Judge Mansfield's dissent the

Eleventh Circuit was presumably adopting his

reasoning. Part of this reasoning pertained to the

effect to be given to the Solicitor General's

concession. Judge Mansfield then concluded that

undue reliance was placed on that opinion. 517 F.2d

at 970. Yet, each court that has considered this

- 18 -

matter has independently evaluated the Congressional

intent and concluded that the Solicitor General was

justified in his concession.

The 1935 amendment to 18 U.S.C. §2114

(which at that time was found at 18 U.S.C. §320

added the terms “or of any money or other property

of the United States" to the mail matter previously

covered by the statute. These changes were

requested by the Postmaster General, were referred

to the Committee on Post Offices and Post Roads of

each House. The committee reports, of which the

general language introducing the reports was quoted

sO approvingly by Judge Mansfield, consist almost

exclusively of a letter from the Postmaster General,

which is reproduced.

Post Office Department,

Office of the Postmaster General,

February 20, 1935

Hon. James M. Mead,

Chairman Committee on the Post Office and Post

Roads, House of Representatives.

My Dear Mr. Mead;

The receipt is acknowledged of your letter of

the 16th instant, requesting a report on H.R. 5360,

a bill providing for punishment for the crime of

robbing or attempting to rob custodians of Govern-

ment moneys or property.

Assaults upon custodians of mail matter are

punishable under section 197 of the Federal Penal

Code (19 U.S.C. §320), which provides a penalty of

25 years imprisonment if the custodian is wounded or

his life is put in jeopardy by the use of a danger-

ous weapon. If the person assaulted is a custodian

of Government funds (not mail) the maximum punish-

ment that can be imposed is imprisonment for not

more than 10 years and a fine of not more than

$5,000; and no penalty is provided for attempts to

commit such crimes. Recent years have witnessed a

substantial increase in crimes of the latter type

and it is believed that section 197 of the Penal

Code should be amended so as to bring within its

provisions the crime of robbing or attempting to rob

custodians of Government moneys. Legislation to

this effect was recommended in the Postmaster

General's annual report for 1933 and two bills, H.R.

6546 and H.R. 7214 were introduced aid referred to

- 19 -

Lim eae

the House Judiciary Committee but neither bill was

reported out by the committee. The recommendation

for the passage of this legislation is renewed.

Very truly yours,

James A. Parley

Postmaster General.

H.R. Rep No. 582, 74th Cong.,

lst Sess. (1935)

and

S Rep. No. 1440, 74th Cong.,

lst Sess. (1935)

This letter is the only input from any

federal agency contained within the committee

reports. It clearly carries with it the assumption

that the Postmaster General would be one of the few

people interested in this Act. Surely every other

agency was covered by the provisions of what is now

known as 18 U.S.C. §2112. In 1935 the predecessor

of this statute was found in 18 U.S.C. §99. Section

99 clearly made it a federal crime to rob someone of

government property. The statute had been in effect

since 1909. Clearly, the amendment to the §320 was

intended to apply only to postal matters. As the

Reid majority noted expanding the scope of §2114 to

exclude a postal nexus was a misguided effort on

any view since the robbery of any government

Property had long been covered by what is now 18

U.S.C. §2112, see e.g., Act of March 2, 1867, ch.

193, 14 Stat. 557, codified in Rev.Stat. 5456; 18

U.S.C.§99 (1946 ed.), and the real importance of

§320 was that its assault provisions covered all

postal employees whereas the only postal employees

covered in the general statute concerning assaults

on federal officers, 18 U.S.C. §§253 and 254, were

"post-office inspectors®. 517 F.2d at 951 n. 4.

On the floor of the House of Representa-

tives there was some discussion of the bill. 79

= 20 -

Cong. Rec. 8205 (1935). Congressman Truax was

questioning the propriety of making a mandatory

twenty-five year sentence for the proposed Act and

not extending the same protection to people charged

with burglary of a home. Congressman Wolcott's

response addressed the jurisdictional issue raised

by Mr. Truax. This exchange was cited. by Judge

Mansfield as evidence that Ccagress intended a broad

bill. United States v. Reid, 517 F.2d at 969.

However, after being informed by Congressman Dobbins

of the intended scope and purpose of the bill, Mr.

Truax made the following proposal to broaden its

scope which was never adopted.

Mr. Truax: Mr. Speaker, I will say to the

gentleman from Illinois that I think we ought to

have some salutory laws that will protect the

Government and its property from the Wall Street

bandits. 79 Cong. Rec. 8205

Congressman Dobbins, as previously noted

had described completely the scope of the Act in

what the Ninth Circuit characterized "as

illuminating as legislative history could possibly

de U 9 t v. Fernandez, 497 F.2d at 740.

Dobbins said:

Mr. Speaker, the gentleman from Ohio

objects to the 25-year penalty provided in this

bill. The penalty clause is not new legislation.

If this bill is not passed, the statute will still

contain the mandatory 25-year penalty.

The only purpose of the pending bill is to

extend the protection of the present law to property

of the United States in the custody of its postal

officials, the same as it now extends that pro-

tection to mail matter in the custody its postal

officials. It just includes property of the United

States in addition to mail matter which is

protected; and let me say there are many custodians

of postal stations who have a great amount of money

in their custody but little mail; for instance, in

those substations where money orders are sold. If a

bandit attacks those employees seeking that money,

there is no way to prosecute the bandit under the

- 21

present law, but if he is merely after a postal card

or a letter he can be prosecuted.

I think this makes a salutary change in the

law. It is advocated by the Post Office Department

= it seems to me there ought to be no objection to

t.

79 Cong. Rec. 8205

In 1948 the Federal Penal Code was recodi-

fied and in that context, the “unambiguous* words of

the statute were taken out of context by the

Eleventh Circuit. As the Reid majority said:

No Congressman could have supposed

that in passing an amendment to that

section proposed by the committee

dealing with the postal service, he was

creating a new crime with respect to

government property generally.

517 F. ad at 957 n.3a

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above petitioners

ask this Court to vacate the conviction as to Count

III of the Indictment and enter a judgment of

acquittal as to that Count.

Counsel for petitioners heretofore has

submitted principal grounds for, and argument

butrespectfully moves this Court in its discretion

to permit additional argument and amended briefs to

be submitted as manifest in the necessity of justice.

THEODORE J. 172

PEDERAL DEFENDER

BY:

rles G. White

Assistant

Federal Public Defender

Attorney for Defendant

14 N.E. lst Avenue

Miami, Florida 33132

EDITOR'S NOTE

PAGES “|4 -hry 426 WERE POOR

HARD COPY AT THE TIWE OF FILMING.

IF AND WHEN A BETTER COPY CAN BE

OBTAINED, A NEW FICHE WILL BE

ISSUED.

i le) e e

Hi 11 fit

tut 10 tH

1 1 iM 14 ini. | 10

ie ö

10 e

Fae. 173 : ; 123 le

Shige a

11111 . 75 1114411 HEE it 11145

We ig al e

1 il eee 10

it Wi : i 4 I a lis 0 i !

ii .! 000 ie i

| 11 0 10 0 110 Aal,! (i

111

f 111 LH er ue

J

is

417

e e UT

1 eT

1 0 % e

1 nth A Hi tide

Jig ngen Me

1 1 i . 1

f TL 1 5 k

IE 12 2715 714111! 147315 if 1111

iii i

22221 22%

111 115

10 1

i 57]

il bil Eh

When some, but not all, of elements of

crime charged would support conviction of

another offense, latter me be termed a

Lesser offense must not require some

additional element not needed to consutute

13. Indictment and Information 191

14. Indictment and Information 19)

: if 11437 1244321

4 lie 1 1 He

8 3 HE 110 if 110

eel 0 iff 1100

re l ih RHE

Pius il, HAE

due pot eh

„ Hah

jeu 12 1 11 111111 111 ;

“ita by af Hii wii

UNITED STATES +. GARCIA 415

mg Agent Holmes raise his hands in the given Francisco Garcia a $50 counterfeit

distress signal, he also raced to the scene bill T 142) According to Jose Garcia, the

i and observed Francisco Garcia running to plan was simply to take the money He

. wards the government vehicle (T 110). denied that a pistol was used (T 143). Jose

Francisco Garcia leaned into the govern Garcia testified that on July 22, 1981, they

ment vehicle through the opened door on had met the agent st Douglas Park and

the driver's side (T 110), exited the vehicle had Inter moved to Bryant Park (T 145) =

— 938 .~ dye 4d, UNITED STATES v. GARC IA

towards Agent Hackenberry's vehicle, i i

29 582 who would show his money first (T 148) and Francisco Garcia as two of the men one was on the ground hurt (T 358). In

4 1224 — até Gat ke bad never had 6 who had been arrested and kicked (T 234). addition, he could not tell whether the offi-

+ — Cerca * gun at the scene. (T 157). Instead, he She said she had seen Francisco Garcia fall cer who searched the Trans-Am and exited

K ——— We Gimed thet Agent Holmes, using the after being hit by the automobile, but stat- with a pistol had anything in his hands

sulting in the black pouch dropping out of agent's own weapon, had pmtolwhipped ed that she had not notte: d any black pouch when he entered the Trans-Am (T 364). He

pay Ay - hn — = ee testified that Agent Holmes had beat. pay A Foley as having twisted men arrested (T 365).

5 Holmes observed that the car door of the n Ernesto Dominguez to foree Dominguez —— s arm, demanding to know = Sur-surrebuttal by the Government

: to the vehicle on tre ground was the black money (T 148). —— — — — cto tat cao tam gems — :

gone into icle and had come = —

pouch containing e fen roll” of gen France Ceres reiated essentially the out holding an automatic pistol T 241-42). July 22, 1981, when the appeliants were

ment money (T 46) same story as his brocher (T 183-200) He thought removed *rrested. He observed the agent raise hi

Agent Grant's pet-down of Francisco tes ified that Informant Jorge Castro had ° — a+ thet Ae — — shoot”

Garcia uncovered the unk key to the given him the $50 counterfeit bill (T 180- — — although he never saw the gun fr 575 387)

Trans am and « $5 counterfeit nove 8 Francisco Garcis said that Ernesto : by the Gove: ’ > ab Ge che aalt Ge @ O

— Poles had — Holm i On July 22, 198:, Edaa Benson was im scene and arrest the three men. He did

162, 118) * Agent — — er — TY her house, whicn faces the park. She had not observe any mist-eatment of the three

— drove the T — why — — — — Francisco Gasen (T 192). He further testi- * noticed the peopie and heard screaming T men (T 381). He, too, observed the car

Miami Field Office where « search of the fied that the weapon which was introduced — ~ ~ 262). She had gone to the park end saw being searched. He said the agent who

trunk of the veh ese ne counter’it into evidence had been im the glove com men being arrested one of whom wus searched the car had © weapon in his waist-

(T 108-0 of the Tuns A (T 182). Al strugging to d being haudeuffed (r band before he entered the uns im (T

— 1 — — 7 — had bit hin, 263). The officers were try ir g to quiet him 382).

Both appellants -es<fied in their own de Francisco Garcia demed that he had ever + 264). 22 1

= — the US. cuffed were quer Ben.on saw no one hit, No Postal Nexus Required

_ essentially disDu=ng the government — pouch containing beat or strike those doing arrested (T 265)

witnesses’ testimens a0 to what hed hap Government money (T 193) He siso test: : I. ‘The threshold issue is whether 18

pened ond claiming thet they had been fied that his brother never had « gun (T Surrebuttal by efendants U.S.C. § 2114 requires a “postal *

1 beaten by the agents. Jose Gareis testified 194) After the goverzment’s rebuttal, the an essential element. Section —

i thet the confidential Inf ' Cas The defi also called Marts Ped court permitted the defense to reopen its vides, inter alia that “[W]hoever assaults

83 who testified that on July 22, 1981, while case (T 292-337). The defense called Rafa- any person having lawful charge, control

counterfeit bills to a potential purchaser standing outside her home, she had seen el Pedrosa, father of Maria Pedrosa, as an or custody of any mail matter or of any

( and steal the genuine currency which the two cars speeding to the park and stopping eyewitness to the events of July 22, 1981. money or other property of the United

man would bring as payment for the coun near a white Trans Am (T 228-30) Accord Pedrosa testified that he speed- States, ... or robs any such person of mai’

tert (F198, 160-41) Jone Garcie hed ing to Petvese, sho run t the park end sow ing to Bryant Park and walked down to the matte oF any money or other property of

2 —— 11

Garcia saw three young nen handcuffed (T 342). Appellants contend that section 2114 lim-

; One of the agents found a key to the its the conduct punishable under its provi-

| Trans-Am, searched ‘he car, came out of sions to actions against the Postal Service's

1 the vehicle with a pistol, removed the clip property or employees. We do not gecep.

: and placed it in his belt T 343-45). Pedro the interpretation urged by appellants. To

sa stated that he did nut see anything that construe section 2114 as requiring proof of

had happened in the park before his arrival a postal nexus” defies the section's unam-

and that when he arrived at the park the biguous wording that it encompasses the

three men were already handcuffed and robbery of “mail matter, or any money or

SE aie 22

— 2

UNITED STATES v. GARCIA

other property of the United States (em-

phasis added)

tended. United States v Scrimgeour, 636

F.2d 1019, 1024 (Sth Cir.1981) (Unit B).

If Congress had wanted to limit the of-

fenses prohibited by section 2114 to rot

bery of mail matter or an assault upon

ters” or “packet: See Judge Mansficid’s

dissent in Unitec States v. Reid, 517 Fa

953, 967 (2d Cir.1975).

191 15

1417875

1757705

Al ise: 30

=gietsi.

HEH

852 55485

|

f

if

i

au

if

FHT

|

7

;

5

f

37 8

ue

10

t

Mu

ih

Ht

fill

|

—

—

8

2

111

i

i

i

|

Hi

si

i

i

2

i

|

i

|

i

117

HI

ll

U

421 UNITED STATES v. GARCIA

requires proof of a “postal nexus” as an

essential element. See United States v.

Rivera, 521 F.2d 125 (2d Cir.1975); United

States v. Reid, 517 F.2d 953 (2d Cir.1975);_

United States v. Fernandez, 497 F.2d 730

(9th Cir.1974). We embrace, however, the

well reasoned dissent by Judge Mansfield

in Reid and we hold that a postal nexus is

not an essential element of a crime charged

under section 2714.

The Counterfeit Notes Were Properiy

14] Appellants challenge the introduc-

tion into evidence of a counterfeit $+) note

and a counterfeit $100 note in support of

their convictions for knowingly and vital.

ly and with intent to defraud, possessing

and concealing forged and counterfeit Fed.

eral Reserve Notes (ie. Count IV). We

hold that the evidence et trial met the

requi-ements for aahentication and identi-

fication as requ:rec by Rule 901(a) of the

Federal Rules of Evidence.

18. 6 The admission of exhibits into evi-

dence is predicated o a showing that the

physica! exhibit being offered is in substan-

tially the same condition as when the crime

was committed. That determination is to

be made by the trial judge, not the jury,

*

custody forges their connection with the

accused and the criminal offense.” Gass v.

United States 416 F.2d 767, 770 n. 8 (D.C.

Cir.1969). Upon considering such factors,

if the trial judge is satisfied that in reason-

also participated in the

Agent Grant testified that he had found

the counterfeit $50 bill while patting down

Francisco Garcia (T 101-0) Agent Foley

identified the

.

3

Garcia by Agent Grant, who immediately

turned the note over to Agent Foley (T

118). . The bill was admitted into evidence

(T 119) and Agent Foley testified as an

expert that the note seized from Francisco

Garcia was, in fact, counterfeit (T 119-22).

Agent Null testified that he had found the

$100 bill while patting down

Tr

to Count II; consecutive to Count III; five

(5) years as to Counts I and IV, concurrent

with each other and concurrent with Count

Il; and ten (10) years as to Count V. con

secutive to Count III (R 26).

Francisco Garcia was ser tenced to a total

of thirty (30) years incarceration: twenty

five (25) years as to Count III, five (5)

years as to Counts I, II and IV, concurrent

with each other and consecutive to Count

i

STATES v. GARCIA 423 UNITED STATES v. GARCIA

UNITED v. 422

45). When cross-examined, however, Mr.

note over to Agent Foley (T 122). The $100 and the black pouch containing the flash . rere

counterfeit bill was admitted into evidence roll of “ ” 4 searched the Trans-

government money,” on the ground whether the agent who

T 123) and Agent Foley testified that the (T 46). Other agents corroborated this tes- Am had anything in his hands when he

$100 note was, in fact, counterfeit (T 124). timony and testified to their additional ob entered the vehicle to search it (T 364).

The testimony at trial shows that the rvations. Agent Huckenberry testified Further, when Alex Suarez testified as a

' government complied with Rule 901(a) of be e Francisco Garcia leaning into the government witness, he stated that the

1 the Federal Rules of Evi ſence Through Government vehicle the agent who searched the car had a weapon

the testimony cf the various special agents, ddr on the driver's side (T 110). He fur- in bis waistband prior to entering the

the governmen: submitted evidence suffi- 1 1 ee py — Trans- Am (T 382). The evidence was suffi-

cient to support the trial judge's find vehicle carrying pouch, cient to support the appellant's conviction

sessed appellant at the time of their Hackenberry’s vehicle collided Finally, appellants contend govern

arrests 1 Garvia disputed this tes LH

The appellants’ convictions under Cour.’ to commit the offenses. Ap

IV ar? affirmed. Jose Garcia argues that the evidence was contend that their testimony a.

insufficient, because defense witnesses trial sup orte a defense of entrapment and

* The Sufficrency of Evidence contradicted the Government's version. ands that ther convictiors should be reversed

al The Corcies Agents testified that Jose Garcia, standing — because, they argue. the government failed

challenge the sufficiency of in a combat-ready stance, pointed a loaded

the evidence to support the convictions. chambered semi-automatic weapon at —

More specifically. Dey argue that (a) the Agent Holmes (T 43-44, 90, 97). Govern- The testimony presented by the govern:

money was neither stolen nor was the own- ment witness Alex Suarez testified that, mont wee cuflicien: to prove pradlapesiies

er deprived of its use. (b) Jose Garcia did although he did not see a gun, he observed beyond a reasonabie coubt on evidence

not brandish a deadiv weapon, and (c) they Agent Holmes with arms raised and back Set OS Oe ee ibe

were entrapped. This Court must consider ing away, stating, Don't shoot” (T 379, . — a :

most favorable — i the light $87). The raised arme was 2 distress sig showed that Jose Garcia refused to con-

12 — — = => & Seapanty & 48, 63-4, clude the transaction a: Douglas Park (T

96 LE 690 (1942) a reasonable trier of Mg pe Sy yy 18) and that the deal was moved to Bryant

N that no .

uct cu id tat, the evince wah sedan atthe weapon wasn the hve L

— 1 1 gg e a 1 of the Trans Am until re a removed the money from Holmes’ vehi

qs 021 08, 60 Ob LOA NSE 1s ED ' cle C 111). ‘The testimony of both appel

* 12 lants contradicted that af the agents and

sa and her father, Rafael Pedrosa, to sup 0 A —

m The Garcias contend that the evi- port the appellants’ allegations. Marta Pe —. — — aay

dence failed to prove that the money was drosa testified that an agent searched the shown inducement. However, that was 2

stolen or purloined or that the owner was Trans- Am and exited it with the pistol in jury question. The evidence supports the

deprived of its use as alleged in Count 1 bis hands (T 241-42). After re-opening the verdicts.

and II. Appellants focus on the testimony defense case, Rafael Pedrosa was called,

of witnesses as to the black pouch contain- obviously on the assumption that he would The Consecutive Sentences Were Proper

ing the money. Agent Holmes testified corroborate his daughter's testimony. He Jose Garcia was sentenced to a total of

that the black pouch was in the Govern did testify to seeing the agent who forty (40) incarceration.

ment vehicle and that, after the arrest of searched the Trans-Am holding a pistol in (25) years as to Count III. five (5) years as

Jose Garcia, he observed his car door open bis hand after exiting the vehicle (T 343-

}

— —„- ——

ia

He]

„ a HI

Te 0 b He Hy 11

1 ni elit HE i a Wh 10

a cides 217111 i HH i il i a

Rete I! ff i

Bin i l + ia

; 2 Hii e ihe

| Jalna ii 11 1 0 li 1

0 Et Ahe

a

: 12 & al

1 dl a Ee

1 n 1117110 fi ae

+ 1 0 i 1 i

111 ifi 11 1115 , 5 2 f

b 11 i hidaee 1244 3 10 Hie. :

HYG 1 jal it bili ith

. i ua ds 1 reg 1

eee. ilies ie 112 a . th 1 i

I dy 2 11 Hi Pai af 5

k Hit 1 ie ;

e

—

and Commitment for Fran

hr

131 l

15 Rist

III ere a merger for the purpose of Personalty belonging to the United States

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.