Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Boureslan v. Arabian American American American Oil Co. (Nos. 89-1845, 89-1838)

Supreme Court brief1990

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

ro

89-1845 | wos wm

i JOBGEPH © Spang; ;

ClieRe

No.

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

ALI BOURESLAN,

Petitioner,

versus

ARABIAN AMERICAN OIL COMPANY

and ARAMCO SERVICES COMPANY,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

MICHAEL A. MANESS

Counsel of Record

for Petitioner

1900 North Loop West

Suite 500

Houston, Texas 77018

(713) 680-9922

GERALD M. BIRNBERG

6671 Southwest Freeway

Suite 303

Houston, Texas 77074

May 1990 (713) 981-9595

QUESTION PRESENTED

Does Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964

protect a citizen of the United States working outside

the country from discrimination by an American

employer because of the employee’s race, religion, and

national origin?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED ..........

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .........

OPINIONS BELOW ..........--.

il TET

STATUTES INVOLVED ..........

STATEMENT OF THECASE .......

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

CORULEMMES ccc cee eesceses

APPENDIX A: District Court

Memorandum and Order (January

ao, > —ist tw wk Pecaes

APPENDIX B: Court of Appeals

Panel Opinion (October 17, 1988) ......

APPENDIX C: Court of Appeals

En Banc Opinion (February 2, 1990) ....

APPENDIX D: Relevant Provisions of the

Civil Rights Act of 1964

(42 U.S.C. § 2000e et seq.) ........

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Boureslan v. ARAMCO, 653 F. Supp.

629, aff'd, 857 F.2d 1014, on

rehearing en banc, 892 F.2d 1271

PUT eae a esse ec cce sees passim

Pfeiffer v. Wm. Wrigley Jr. Co.,

ee 4

Foley Bros., Inc. v. Filardo,

EEE 4

Morton v. Ruiz, 415 U.S. 199

EE SSE OP Ee 9

Rice v. Sioux City Memorial Park

Cemetery, Inc. 349 U.S. 70

ES PPC ETE EET 10

Statutes:

wesc Se ccccccccces 2 |

EES eee ee 4

ee UM, ww tt ee ee passim

Rules of Court:

Supreme Court Rule 10.l(c) ............... 10

EE 3

No.

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

ALI BOURESLAN,

Petitioner,

versus

ARAMCO, ARABIAN AMERICAN OIL

COMPANY and ARAMCO SERVICES

COMPANY,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

OPINIONS BELOW

The district court’s memorandum and order

dismissing the complaint, 653 F. Supp. 629 (S.D. Tex.

1987), is reproduced in the appendix at page A-1. The

panel and en banc opinions of the court of appeals, 857

F.2d 1014 (5 Cir. 1988), on rehearing en banc, 892 F.2d

1271 (5 Cir. 1990), are reproduced in the appendix at

pages B-1 and C-1.

JURISDICTION

The Equal Employment Opportunity

Commission’s notice of right to sue under Title VII was

issued on April 12, 1985. Boureslan filed a timely Title

VII complaint in the United States district court on

June 20, 1985.

The district court’s judgment dismissing the case

was entered on January 27, 1987. Boureslan’s timely

notice of appeal was filed on February 25, 1987.

The en banc court of appeals’ opinion and

judgment were entered on February 2, 1990. Justice

White granted Boureslan’s timely application to extend

the time for petitioning for certiorari, to and including

May 23, 1990. This petition was filed within the

extension requested.

The Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. §

1254(1).

STATUTES INVOLVED

The relevant provisions of Title VII of the Civil

Rights Act of 1964, as amended, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e et

seq., are reproduced in the appendix at page D-1.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Ali Salim Boureslan is a Moslem and a

naturalized United States citizen born in Lebanon. In

July 1979 he was hired as an engineer by Aramco

-%

Services Company (ASC), a Delaware corporation with

its principal place of business in Houston. After

working in the United States for approximately 16°

months, he applied for employment with ASC’s parent

company, Arabian American Oil Company

(ARAMCO), a Delaware corporation with its principal

place of business in Dhahran, Saudi Arabia. Boureslan

went to work for ARAMCO in Saudi Arabia in

November 1980. He was fired in June 1984.

Boureslan filed a complaint with the Equal

Employment Opportunity Commission, alleging that his

firing was pretextual and that his employment had been

terminated only after sustained insults, slurs, and

harassment by superiors and coworkers, beginning in

1981, arising from his race, religion, and national

origin. Unable to complete its administrative

processing of Boureslan’s charges within 180 days, the

EEOC issued its notice of right to sue on April 12,

1985.

Boureslan-then filed a timely complaint against

ARAMCO and ASC in the United States District

Court for the Southern District of Texas in Houston,

again alleging that his rights under Title VII had been

violated. He also invoked pendent jurisdiction in

asserting various claims under state law. Both

defendants answered the complaint, denied its

allegations on the merits, and sought its dismissal under

Rule 12(b)(1), F.R.Civ.P., for lack of subject matter

jurisdiction, arguing that Title VII has no

extraterritorial application to employment practices by

American employers outside the United States. ASC

also moved to dismiss on the additional grounds that

3.

the allegedly discriminatory employment practices had

occurred after Boureslan had left its employment, and

that Boureslan had not exhausted administrative

remedies with respect to his claims against ASC. The

district court never reached these issues.

Instead, it dismissed the case for lack of subject

matter jurisdiction, adopting the view that "[t]here is no

indication that Congress was concerned about

discrimination abroad" in enacting Title VII, and that

"the absence of a clearly expressed intent creates a

presumption that Congress did not _ intend

extraterritorial application." 653 F. Supp. at 630.

Analogizing Title VII to the Age Discrimination in

Employment Act, 29 U.S.C. § 621 et seq., which had

been held not to apply to employment practices of

American companies outside the United States prior to

its amendment in 1984, Pfeiffer v. Wm. Wrigley Jr. Co.,

755 F.2d 554 (7 Cir. 1985), the court also concluded

that potential conflicts between Title VII and foreign

employment laws would "[infringe] on the sovereignty

of other nations." 653 F. Supp. at 631.

A divided panel of the court of appeals for the

fifth circuit affirmed, invoking the rule of statutory

construction that “legislation of Congress, unless a

contrary intent appears, is meant to apply only within

the territorial jurisdiction of the United States." Foley

Bros., Inc. v. Filardo, 336 U.S. 281, 285 (1949). Even

though Congress expressly excluded from Title VII’s

reach “the employment of aliens outside any State,” 42

U.S.C. § 2000e-1, the panel majority found no clear

indication that the statute is applicable to citizens

employed abroad. Like the district court, the court of

appeals panel found the legislative history of Title VII

to be “no more specific than the statutory language

itself,” 857 F.2d at 1019, and concluded that

extraterritorial application was not warranted, “[g]iven

the serious, potentially divisive policy considerations for

and against application of the Act outside the country

[and] the paucity of reference to such an application

either in the Act itself or the debates in Congress . . .”

857 F.2d at 1020.

Judge Carolyn Dineen King dissented, rejecting

as unpersuasive the panel majority’s it:plication “that

nothing short of an explicit statement by Congress will

overcome the presumption” against extraterritorial

application of federal legislation. 857 F.2d at 1022.

[T]he alien exemption provision would be meaningless

if Title VII did not apply extraterritorially; there is no

need to exempt aliens employed abroad from coverage

if no one is covered abroad.” 857 F.2d at 1032.

Believing that “Congress could reasonably have

concluded that exempting aliens employed abroad

would eliminate any obstacle to protecting U.S. citizens

employed abroad by U.S. corporations,” 857 F.2d at

1034, Judge King was totally unpersuaded by the

defendants’ argument that Title VII's application to

citizens working outside the country might violate

principles of international law. “U.S. employers

should not be allowed to escape liability for

discrimination by cloaking themselves in a conveniently

acquired concern for the integrity of the sovereignty of

foreign states." 857 F.2d at 1035.

Following publication of the panel opinion, the

EEOC moved for and was granted leave to intervene

-5-

as a party in support of Boureslan’s position. The

court of appeals granted rehearing en banc and,

dividing nine to five, again affirmed the district court’s

dismissal, reaffirming the view that "Title VII does not

reflect the necessary clear expression of congressional

intent to extend its reach beyond our borders.” 892

F.2d at 1274. Four judges joined Judge King’s

dissenting views that the alien exemption clause and

the other language of the statute confer its protection

on citizens employed abroad by American employers,

that such an application would not offend or

compromise principles of international law, and that

“the salutary goals of Title VII cannot be fully realized

if the fortuitous location of an American employee at

the overseas office of an American firm could mean the

difference between equal opportunity and

discrimination at will.” 892 F.2d at 1282.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

For the first time in Title VII's 26-year history,

federal trial and appeals courts have held that racial,

religious, and ethnic discrimination inflicted on

American citizens by American employers does not

violate federal law if it transpires outside the United

States. The Court should grant certiorari to review,

and ultimately to repudiate, a decision radically at odds

with principles of fair treatment and equal opportunity

that have been the cornerstone of our national

employment policy for more than a quarter of a

century.

The Court of Appeals’ unprecedented holding

has enormous implications. It is not limited to

Ye

situations in which the application of Title VII would

pose an actual or potential conflict with foreign law,

nor is it confined to instances in which race, religion,

national origin, gender, or similar suspect criteria

conceivably might constitute bona fide occupational

qualifications for assignment to foreign employment,

nor does it exempt even an otherwise indefensible Title

VII violation with respect to which the extraterritorial

character of the illegal act is purely fortuitous - for

example, a policy of tolerating or condoning sexual

harassment of a subordinate when citizens residing in

the United States are on overseas flights or temporarily

visiting foreign countries. Rather, solely because of its

inability to divine “clear congressional intent,” the court

of appeals majority effectively has exempted all

employment practices of all American employers of ail

American citizens working overseas from all regulation

under the Civil Rights Act of 1964. From such a

perspective one circumstance alone - the geographical

boundary of the United States - has transformed acts

otherwise constituting serious violations of fundamental

principles of American law into conduct toward which

the government’ reluctantly must adopt a

noninterventionist policy of benevolent neutrality.

No other court of appeals has ever come close

to adopting such an astonishing position. Although

there is no conflict among or between the circuits, that

circumstance should not weigh heavily in the Court’s

decision whether to grant certiorari.

First, while the issue has not divided the courts

of appeals,! it has split sharply a 14-member en banc

court whose decisions historically have had

considerable impact in shaping the course of federal

civil rights law. Judge Davis’ majority opinions, and

Judge King’s dissents, reflect the careful, thorough,

deliberative consideration the question has received

from two contending factions of United States circuit

judges having diametrically opposing points of view.

That sort of adversity reflects precisely the divergence

of opinion and lack of consensus that historically has

characterized inter-circuit conflicts.

Second, in advance of en banc rehearing in the

court of appeals, the issue presented was extensively

briefed and researched by experienced and capable

counsel for the parties, the intervening EEOC, and

attorneys for a substantial number of amici curiae.”

Both the legislative history of the Civil Rights Act of

1964 and that of related federal statutes, such as the

Age Discrimination in Employment Act, have been

1. As Judge King’s dissenting opinion points out, 857

F.2d at 1021 n.1, every other federal court considering the

issue has reached a contrary conclusion, expressly or by

implication.

2. - Boureslan’s position was supported in the court of

appeals by the EEOC, the NAACP Legal Defense and

Educational Fund, the Anti-Defamation League of B’Nai

B’Rith, the NOW Legal Defense and Education Fund,

the American Jewish Congress, and the Women’s Legal

Defense Fund, as well as plaintiffs in other pending Title

VII litigation against ARAMCO.

exhaustively researched, reviewed, and reexamined.

The arguments for and against the extraterritorial

application of Title VII have been reshaped and

refined by both adversarial and inquisitorial processes.3

It is therefore exceedingly unlikely the question will

ever be treated more thoroughly or more competently

than it has been in this case.

Third, because the question presented is neither

fact-specific nor dependent upon development of

evidence for its resolution, there is no reasonable

likelihood that deferring consideration of the issue to a

later day might cast it in a new, different, or less

perplexing light than that in which it appears now. The

protection afforded by Title VII to United States

citizens working for American employers either extends

beyond the boundaries of the United States, or it does

not. Neither the passage of time, nor consideration of

the same question by other courts of appeals, nor the

bare possiblity of remedial congressional action, will

affect or enhance the reliability of the decision-making

process.

Fourth, the determination by the EEOC and the

Solicitor General to seek review of this case are of

importance, particularly inasmuch as the decision

below is “inconsistent with long-established policy” of

the EEOC. Morton v. Ruiz, 415 U.S. 199, 201-02

(1974).

3. The case was orally argued in New Orleans before

both the panel and the en banc court of appeals.

-9.

Finally, the question presented is of profound

national significance, far transcending “the academic or

the episodic." Rice v. Sioux City Memorial Park

Cemetery, Inc., 349 U.S. 70, 74 (1955). If the courts

of the United States of America are to be cast

unwillingly in the role of distressed but passive and

impotent bystanders when American employers inflict

racial, religious, ethnic, and sex-based discrimination

on citizens employed abroad, that deplorable state of

affairs deserves explanation by the Supreme Court, not

by a deeply divided court of appeals. This is “an

important question of federal law which has not been,

but should be, settled by this Court." Supreme Court

Rule 10.1(c).

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, Petitioner Ali

Boureslan asks that his petition for certiorari be

granted.

MICHAEL A. MANESS

Counsel of Record

for Petitioner

1900 North Loop West

Suite 500

Houston, Texas 77018

(713) 680-9922

GERALD M. BIRNBERG

6671 Southwest Freeway

Suite 303

Houston, Texas 77074

(713) 680-9922

-10-

Ali BOURESLAN

v.

ARAMCO, Arabian American Oil Company and

Aramco Services Company.

Civ. A. No. H-85-3506.

United States District Court,

S.D. Texas,

Houston Division.

Jan. 27, 1987.

Employment discrimination action was brought arising from

employment of American citizen in Saudi Arabia by

Delaware corporation. On motion of defendants to dismiss

for lack of subject matter jurisdiction, the District Court,

DeAnda, J., that held Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of

1964 does not have extraterritorial application.

Motions granted.

Civil Rights ~ 2

Courts ~ 29

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 did not have

extraterritorial application as to provide subject matter

jurisdiction for employment discrimination suit by United

States citizen against Delaware corporations with respect to

employr-ent in Saudi Arabia; disagreeing with Bryant v.

International Schools Services, 502 F.Supp. 472 (D.N.J.).

Civil Rights Act of 1964, §§ 701 et seq., 701(b, g, h), 702,

42 U.S.C.A. §§ 2000e et seq., 2000e(b, g, h), 2000e-1; Age

Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967, § 2 et seq., 29

U.S.C.A. § 621 et seq.

Appendix A me

Perry Archer, Hjalmarson & Paster, Houston, Tex., for

plaintiff.

Gloria M. Portela, Linda Headley, Hutcheson & Grundy,

Houston, Tex., for defendant.

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

DeANDA, District Judge.

Pending before the court are Defendants’ motions to dismiss

under Rule 12(b)(1) for lack of subject matter jurisdiction.

For the reasons stated below, the court finds the motions

should be granted.

Plaintiff, Ali Boureslan, is an American citizen who was

born in Lebanon and resides in El Paso, Texas. Plaintiff

instituted this action against Arabian American Oil Company

(Aramco) and Aramco Services Company (ASC). Aramco is

a Delaware corporation with its principal place of business in

Dhahran, Saudi Arabia. Aramco is licensed to do business in

Texas. ASC is a Delaware corporation with its principal

place of business in Houston, Texas.

Plaintiff was first employed as an engineer for ASC in

Texas beginning July of 1979. In November of 1980 Plaintiff

was transferred to work for Aramco in Saudi Arabia.

Plaintiff's troubles began in September of 1982, when

Plaintiffs supervisor allegedly began harassing Plaintiff about

his national origin, race and religion. Plaintiff's status

detericrated, eventually resulting in termination on June 16,

1984. Plaintiff relied on 42 U.S.C. § 2000e for jurisdiction

but alleges state law causes of action in addition to his Title

VII claim.

Defendants urge the court to dismiss Plaintiff's claims for

lack of subject matter jurisdiction. Defendants argue that

Title VII does not apply to Plaintiff's employment in Saudi

Appendix A P. 2

Arabia and Plaintiffs state law claims should be likewise

dismissed for lack of pendent jurisdiction.

The case law discussing whether Title VII has

extraterritorial application is scant. Bryant v. International

Schools Services, 502 F.Supp. 472 (D.N.J.1980), rev’d on

other grounds, 675 F.2d 562 (3d Cir.1982), is on point. In

Bryant the court ruled that Title VII did have extraterritorial

application. The court relied on Title VII’s exemption of

‘‘aliens outside of any State,’’ negatively inferring that Title

VII must apply to citizens employed outside the United

States. See 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-1; 502 F.Supp. at 482. The

court cited Love v. Pullman Co., 13 F.E.P. 423

(D.Col. 1976), a case in which the court, in a footnote, drew

the same negative inference, Sze 13 F.E.P. at 426 n. 4.

Since Bryant no court has confronted and ruled on the

extraterritorial issue. Several courts have cited Bryant in

deciding whether the Age Discrimination in Employment Act

(ADEA) applies extraterritorily. See, e.g., Cleary v. United

States Lines, Inc., 728 F.2d 607, 609 (3d Cir.1984). The

E.E.0.C. has accepted Bryant as the law. See, e.g.,

E.E.0.C. Dec. No. 84-2, 33 F.E.P. 1893 (Dec. 2,1983).

While no circuit court has decided the extraterritorial ques-

tion, the Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit remarked, in

dicta, that the reasoning behind the negative inference is

controversial. Cleary, 728 F.2d at 609.

Indeed, the negative inference underlying the Bryant

decision is suspect. In Espinoza v. Farah Manufacturing Co.,

414 U.S. 86, 94 S.Ct. 334, 30 L.Ed.2d 287 (1973), the

Supreme Court drew a different inference from the identical

Title VII language. The Court held that by exempting ‘‘aliens

outside of any State’’ Congress intended to include aliens

inside the United States within Title VII’s coverage. 414

U.S. at 95, 94 S.Ct. at 340.

Abandoning the Bryant precedent does little more than send

the court back to square one. An examination of Title VII’s

Appendix A P. 3

legislative history offers little guidance; the extraterritorial

issue is not mentioned. The most that one can glean from the

legislative history is that Congress enacted Title VII to

remedy domestic discrimination. See, e.g., H.R.Rep. No.

914, 88th Cong., 2nd session, reprinted in 1964 U.S. Code

Cong. & Ad.News 2355, 2393 (focusing on domestic

discrimination). There is no ind:cation that Congress was

concerned about discrimination abroad. Legislative efforts in

1964 were directed towards eliminating discrimination in the

United States. It is doubtful that Congress considered en-

acting legislation to counter discrimination against citizens

abroad.

Title VII’s language does not support extraterritorial

application. As previously noted, reliance on the language

exempting ‘‘aliens outside of any State’’ is erroneous.

Additionally, Title VII applies only to ‘‘employers.’’ The

statute defines ‘‘employer’’ as one ‘‘engaged in any industry

affecting commerce who has fifteen or more employees....”’

42 U.S.C. § 2000e(b). Title VII, at Section 2000e(g), defines

commerce as

[T]rade, traffic, commerce, transportation, transmission, or

communication among the several States; or between a State

and any place outside thereof; or within the District of

Columbia, or a possession of the United States; or between

points in the same State but through a point outside thereof.

Section 2000e(h) further defines ‘‘industry affecting

commerce’’ as including activity or industry affecting

commerce within the meaning of the Labor Management

Reporting and Disclosure Act of 1959, 29 U.S.C. § 402(c).

The Labor Management Reporting and Disclosure Act

defines industry affecting commerce as industry included

under the Labor Management Relations Act. Finally, the

Supreme Court has held that the Labor Management

Relations Act has no extraterritorial application. McCulloch

v. Sociedad Nacional de Marineros de Honduras, 372 U.S.

Appendix A P. 4

10, 83 S.Ct. 671, 9 L.Ed.2d 547 (1963); Benz v. Compania

Navieia Hidalgo, 353 U.S. 138, 77 S.Ct. 699,1 L.Ed.2d 709

(1957).

A study of the statutory language and legislative history

reveals, if anything, that Congress did not intend Title VII to

apply extraterritorily. See Pfeiffer v. Wm. Wrigley, Jr. Co.,

755 F.2d 554 (7th Cir. 1985). At a minimum, the absence of

a clearly expressed intent creates a presumption that

Congress did not intend extraterritorial application. See Foley

Bros. v. Filardo, 336 U.S. 281, 69 S.Ct. 575, 93 L.Ed.2d

680 (1949). It is doubtful that Congress reserved the question

of Title VII’s application for the courts to decide. It is much

more likely that Congress never considered the issue.

Examining the development of the Age Discrimination in

Employment Act (ADEA), 29 U.S.C. §§ 621-634 is

instructive. When enacted, ADEA was silent on the question

of extraterritorial application. Courts struggled with the issue

but concluded that Congress did not intend ADEA to apply

extraterritorially. See, e.g., Cleary v. United States Lines,

Inc. , 728 F.2d 607 (3d Cir. 1984); Thomas v. Brown & Root,

Inc., 745 F.2d 279 (4th Cir.1981). In 1984, Congress

amended the ADEA. Congress included in the definition of

employee ‘‘any individual who is a citizen of the United

States employed by an employer in a workplace in a foreign

country.’’ 29 U.S.C. § 630(f). Thus, Congress added a clear

Statement, obviating the need for judicial guesswork.

In Pfeiffer v. Wm. Wrigley, Jr. Co., 755 F.d 554 (7th

Cir.1985), the court held that ADEA did not apply

extraterritorially. Judge Posner, writing for the court, found

the lack of statutory language and legislative history

persuasive. See id. at 556-57. The decision is important

because the court issued its ruling knowing that Congress

amended the ADEA to apply extraterritorily. Judge Posner

pointed out that the amendment did not apply retroactively.

See id. at 559. The court rejected Plaintiff's argument that

Appendix A @

the amendment clarified the original act. See id. Judge

Posner asserted that Congress may have intended to change

the law, not elucidate it. See id.

Following the reasoning in Pfeiffer, even if Congress did

amend Title VII to apply extraterritorily, the court should

rule against extraterritorial application. Of course, Congress

has not amended Title VII. The court must base its decision

on the applicable statute and its legislative history, which do

not support extraterritorial application.

Finally, there are significant policy reasons for not applying

Title VII abroad. Imposing Title VII abroad infringes on the

sovereignty of other nations. Indeed, in the case at hand

Saudi Arabia has enacted its own statute, the Labor and

Workman Law of 1959. Many of its provisions conflict with

Title VII. Given the potential conflict, it should be Congress

that mandates extraterritorial application. See Pfeiffer, 755

F.2d at 554.

The court thus concludes Title VII should not be applied

extraterritorily. Accordingly, Defendants’ motions to dismiss

under Rule 12(b)(1) should be granted. Plaintiff's state law

claims should also be dismissed for lack of pendent

jurisdiction. United Mine Workers of America v. Gibbs, 383

U.S. 715, 86 S.Ct. 1130, 16 L.Ed.2d 218 (1966). The court

hereby

ORDERS Defendant Aramco’s motion to dismiss under

Rule 12(b)(1) is GRANTED. The court further

ORDERS Defendant ASC’s motion to dismiss under Rule

12(b)(1) is GRANTED. The court further

ORDERS Piaintiff’s state law claims are DISMISSED for

lack of pendent jurisdiction.

Appendix A P. 6

Ali BOURESLAN, Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

ARAMCO, Arabian American Oil Company and

Aramco Service Company, Defendants-Appellees.

No. 87-2206.

United States Court of Appeals,

Fifth Circuit.

Oct. 17, 1988.

United States citizen brought employment discrimination

action predicated upon Title VII against employer, United

States corporation, whose principal place of business was in

Saudi Arabia. The United States District Court for the

Southern District of Texas, James DeAnda, Chief Judge, 653

F.Supp. 629, determined that Title VII did not afford

extraterritorial protection and dismissed action for lack of

subject matter jurisdiction, and employee appealed. The

Court of Appeals, W. Eugene Davis, Circuit Judge, held that

neither statute’s language nor legislative history overcame

presumption against extraterritorial application of Title VII.-

Affirmed.

King, Circuit Judge, filed dissenting opinion.

1. Civil Rights ~2

Alien exemption provision in Title VII could not be applied

to extend protection of Title VII to citizens extraterritorially;

rather, exemption provision reflected congressional intent to

provide coverage to aliens employed within United States.

Civil Rights Act of 1964, § 70l(g), as amended, 42

U.S.C.A. § 2000e(g).

2. Statutes ~ 217.4

Legislative history is relegated to secondary source behind

language of statute in determining congressional intent.

Appendix B p. |

3. Statutes ~ 217.4

Courts are not free to substitute legislative history for

language of act in interpreting meaning of statute.

4. Statutes ~219(6)

Though EEOC’s interpretations of Title VII are generally

entitled to deference, such interpretations are not controlling

on courts. Civil Rights Act of 1964, § 701 et seq., as

amended, 42 U.S.C.A. § 2000e et seq.

5. Statutes ~219(6)

Where issue in Title VII action is jurisdictional with little

or no statutory language or legislative history and one in

which EEOC has developed no particular expertise, Court of

Appeals gives EEOC’s interpretation less deference than

usual. Civil Rights Act of 1964, § 701 et seq., as amended,

42 U.S.C.A. § 2000e et seq.

6. Civil Rights ~2

Legislative history of Title VII did not provide clear

expression of congressional intent required to overcome

presumption against extraterritorial application; legislative

history contained numerous statements arguably favoring

geographic limits for Title VII. Civil Rights Act of 1964, §

701 et seq., as amended, 42 U.S.C.A. § 2000e et seq.

7. Civil Rights ~2

Policy arguments in favor of extraterritorial application of

Title VII did not overcome strong counterveiling policy argu-

ments against application of Title VII abroad; given fact that

religious and social customs practiced in many countries are

at odds with those of United States, requirement that

American employers comply with Title VII in such countries

could leave American corporations with choice of either

refusing to employ American citizens abroad or discontinuing

business. Civil Rights Act of 1964, § 701 et seq., as

amended, 42 U.S.C.A. § 2000e et seq.

Appendix B p. 2

James Field Tyson, Perry Archer, Houston, Tex., for

plaintiff-appellant.

Charles A. Shanor, Karen MacRae Smith, E.E.O.C.,

Washington, D.C., for amicus-E. E.0.C.

Edward E. Potter, McGuiness & Williams, Washington,

D.C., for amicus E.E.A.C.

John D. Roady, Linda Ottinger Headley, Hutcheson &

Grundy, Houston, Tex., for Aramco.

Lawrence Z. Lorber, John E. Parauda, Breed, Abbott &

Morgan, Washington, D.C., for amicus-ASPA.

Cecil J. Olmstead, Steptoe & Johnson, Washington, D.C.,

for amicus-Rule of Law Committee.

Appeal from the United States District Court For the

Southern District of Texas.

Before KING and DAVIS, Circuit Judges, and

PARKER, ™ District Judge.

W. EUGENE DAVIS, Circuit Judge:

Plaintiff, a naturalized citizen of the United States, brought

an employment discrimination suit--predicated upon Title VII

and state law causes of action--against his employer, a United

States corporation whose principal place of business is in

Saudi Arabia. In his suit, plaintiff charged that while he was

working in Saudi Arabia, his employer discriminated against

him on the basis of his race, religion, and national origin.

The employer contested plaintiff's claims of discrimination

and, in addition, moved the district court to dismiss the en-

tire action. The employer argued that the reach of Title VII

does not extend to United States citizens employed abroad by

* Formerly Judge Randall.

™ District Judge of the Eastern District of Texas, sitting by

Appendix B p. 3

United States employers and, therefore, that the district court

lacked subject matter jurisdiction over plaintiff's claim. The

district court agreed, granted the employer’s motion, and

dismissed plaintiff's suit. On appeal, plaintiff--joined by the

Equal Employment Opportunit, Commission as amicus

curiae--urges us to conclude, that Congress intended Title

VII to apply extraterritorially to protect United States citizens _

employed by United States employers. We find, however,

that the rules of statutory construction which control our

review of Title VII do not permit the conclusion plaintiff

urges--we cannot say that Congress, through either the

language of Title VII or its legislative history, clearly ex-

pressed its intent that Title VII be applied extraterritorially.

Therefore, we conclude that Title VII does not offer plaintiff

an available remedy for his claimed discrimination and affirm

the district court.

I.

This appeal presents a single issue: Does Title VII regulate

the employment practices of businesses which, although

incorporated in the United States, employ citizens of the

United States in foreign countries? The question reaches us

as a result of the employment relationship between Ali Bour-

eslan, Arabian American Oil Company (Aramco), and

Aramco Services Company (ASC). In 1979, Boureslan--a

naturalized United States citizen who was born in Leb-

anon--went to work as an engineer for ASC in Houston,

Texas. ASC is a Delaware corporation with its principal

place of business in Houston; ASC is a subsidiary of

Aramco, licensed to do business in Texas, with its principal

place of business in Dhahran, Saudi Arabia. In November

1980, Boureslan requested a transfer to Aramco. Because

Aramco explores, produces, and refines oil and gas

exclusively within the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Boureslan’s

transfer from ASC to Aramco also meant a transfer from the

United States to Saudi Arabia.

Appendix B p. 4

Shortly after beginning work in Saudi Arabia, Boureslan

began having altercations with his supervisor. According to

Boureslan, the altercations were the result of a ‘‘campaign of

harassment’’ which the supervisor initiated--a campaign

which took the form of racial, religious, and ethnic slurs and

which culminated in Boureslan’s termination on June 16,

1984.

After he was fired, Boureslan first filed charges against

Aramco with the Equal Employment Opportunity

Commission (EEOC) in the United States and, later,

instituted this suit against both Aramco and ASC in the

United States District Court for the Southern District of

Texas. In each case, the focus of Boureslan’s attack was the

discriminatory treatment which he allegedly received while

in Saudi Arabia from his Aramco supervisor. In his lawsuit,

Boureslan sought relief under both Title VII of the Civil

Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. §§ 2000e et seq., and state

law. In response to the lawsuit, both Aramco and ASC filed

answers denying liability and yeparately filed motions to

dismiss for lack of subject matter jurisdiction. ASC stressed

two reasons why Boureslan’s claims against ASC should be

dismissed. First, ASC argued that, at most, only Aramco

could be ‘isle to Boureslan since, according to ASC,

Boureslan’s transfer from ASC to Aramco terminated the em-

ployment relationship between ASC and Boureslan. Second,

ASC argued that Boureslan failed properly to exhaust his

administrative remedies under Title VII with respect to ASC

because Boureslan named only Aramco in the one grievance

he filed with the EEOC.

While ASC’s grounds for dismissal challenged only the

propriety of its own inclusion in Boureslan’s lawsuit,

Aramco’s motion to dismiss raised a more sweeping

challenge--a challenge which, if true, required a dismissal of

the lawsuit against both Aramco and ASC. Aramco argued

that the protections of Title VII do not extend

extraterritorially and, consequently, that Title VII offers no

Appendix B p. 5

protection to Boureslan for acts of discrimination which oc-

curred in Saudi Arabia. Boureslan contested this

interpretation, and argued that the clear and express terms of

Title VII demonstrate Congress’ intent to protect United

States citizens from employment discrimination by American

employers regardless of where the discrimination occurs. In

an opinion dated January 27, 1987, the district court

considered carefully the question of Title VII's geographic

reach. After examining Title VII's language and legislative

history, Supreme Court cases on extraterritorial application

of federal statutes, and other existing case law on the scope

of Title VII, the district court concluded that Title VII does

not afford extraterritorial protection. Boureslan v. Aramco,

653 F.Supp. 629, 631-(S.D. Tex.1987). Consequently, the

court dismissed Boureslan’s Title VII action against Aramco

and ASC for lack of subject matter jurisdiction; it also

dismissed Boureslan’s state law claims for lack of pendent

jurisdiction, and entered final judgment in favor of both

defendants. On appeal, Boureslan asks us to find that

Congress intended Title VII to be applied extraterritorially.

A special set of rules of statutory interpretation are in place

to assist us in determining whether Congress intended to give

a statute application outside this country. We first examine

those rules.

In Foley Bros., Inc. v. Filardo, 336 U.S. 281, 69 S.Ct.

575, 93 L.Ed. 680 (1949), the Supreme Court considered

whether a federal statute prohibiting workdays of longer than

eight hours without overtime pay applied to a contract

between the United Siates and a private contractor for work

performed in a foreign country. Jd. at 282, 69 S.Ct. at 576.

As the Court saw it: The canon on construction which

teaches that legislation of Congress, unless a contrary intent

appears, is meant to apply only within the territorial

jurisdiction of the United States, is a valid approach whereby

Appendix B p. 6

unexpressed congressional intent may be ascertained. It is

based on the assumption that Congress is primarily concerned

with domestic conditions. We find nothing in the Acct itself,

as amended, nor in the legislative history, which would lead

to the belief that Congress entertained any intention other

than the normal one in this case. /d. at 285, 69 S.Ct. at 577

(citation omitted).

See also McCulloch v. Sociedad Nacional de Marineros de

Honduras, 372 U.S. 10, 21-22, 83 S.Ct. 671, 677-78, 9

L.Ed.2d 547 (1963).

This court has consistently applied the presumption against

extraterritoriality. In United States v. Mitchell, 553 F.2d 996

(Sth Cir. 1977), we refused to read extraterritorial application

into the Marine Mammal Protection Act. In ruling against

extraterritorial application, we noted that ‘‘the government

[failed] to [show] any clear expression of congressional intent

[to overcome the presumption against extraterritorial

application].’’ In De Yoreo v. Bell Helicopter Textron, Inc.,

785 F.2d 1282, 1283 (Sth Cir. 1986), we rejected the argu-

ment that the Age Discrimination In Employment Act

(ADEA) be given extraterritorial application.

Other circuits have followed the Supreme Court in denying

extraterritorial application without a clear congressional

expression of intent to the contrary. For example, in Pfeiffer

v. Wm. Wrigley, Jr. Co., 755 F.2d 554 (7th Cir. 1985), the

Seventh Circuit considered the extraterritorial application of

the ADEA. After finding that the statute did not speak

directly to the issue of extraterritorial application, the court

applied the presumption against extraterritorial application,

noting that ‘‘[t}he fear of outright collisions between

domestic and foreign law--collisions both hard on the people

caught in the cross-fire and a potential source of friction

between the United States and foreign countries--lies behind

the presumption against the extraterritorial application of

federal statutes.’’ Jd. at 557. Likewise in Cleary v. United

Appendix B p. 7

States Lines, Inc., 728 F.2d 607 (3d Cir.1984), the Third

Circuit rejected the application of the ADEA extraterritorially

without ‘‘affirmative evidence of congressional intent.’’ See

also Air Line Stewards and Stewardesses Ass'n Int'l v. Trans

World Airlines, Inc., 273 F.2d 69, 70 (2d Cir.1959), cert.

denied, 362 U.S. 988, 80 S.Ct. 1075, 4 L.Ed.2d 1021

(1960) (denying extraterritorial application of the Railway

Labor Act (RLA)); Air Line Stewards and Stewardesses

Ass'n Int'l v. Northwest Airlines, Inc., 267 F.2d 170,178 (8th

Cir.), cert. denied, 361 U.S. 901, 80 S.Ct. 208, 4 L.Ed.2d

156 (1959) (denying extraterritorial application of RLA); Air

Line Dispatchers Ass'n v. National Mediation Bd., 189 F.2d

685, 690-91 (D.C.Cir.), cert. denied, 342 U.S. 849, 72

S.Ct. 77, 96 L.Ed. 641 (1951) (denying extraterritorial

application of RLA); see generally Restatement (Second) of

the Foreign Relations Law of the United States § 38 (1965).

Against this backdrop, we examine the language and

legislative history of Title VII to determine whether Congress

intended the act to have extraterritorial application.

Ill.

A.

Boureslan’s discrimination case is based upon § 703(a)(1)

of Title VII which provides:

It shall be an unlawful employment practice for an

employer to fail or refuse to hire or to discharge any

individual. or octherwi hiscrimi : any

individual with respect to his compensation, terms,

conditions, or privileges of employment, because of such

individual’s race, color, religion, sex, or national origin.

42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(a)(1).

Extraterritorial application is not directly addressed in Title

VII. Section 2000e(b) defines ‘‘employer’’ under the Act as

including any ‘person employed in an industry affecting

commerce.’’ The term ‘‘commerce’’ is in turn defined as

Appendix B p. 8

“trade, traffic, commerce, transportation, transmission, or

communication among the several States; or between a State

and any place outside thereof.’’ 42 U.S.C. § 2000e(g).

[1] Boureslan, however, relies on § 2000e-1 commonly

referred to as the alien exemption provision, which provides

that *‘[t)his title shall not apply to an employer with respect

to employment of aliens outside of any state.’’' Boureslan

argues that a ‘‘negative inference’’ should be drawn from this

language that Congress intended Title VII to cover United

States citizens working abroad for United States employers.

Boureslan argues that the alien exemption provision has no

purpose if Title VII is not applied to protect citizens

extraterritorially because in the absence of this provision

neither citizens nor aliens would be protected while working

outside the country. Boureslan notes that one district court

has accepted this argument. Bryant v. International School

Servs., 502 F.Supp. 472 (D.N.J.1980), rev’d on other

grounds, 675 F.2d 562 (3d Cir. 1982).

But the alien exemption provision does have a purpose even

if we accept the district court’s conclusion that Title VII does

not protect citizens abroad. First, no one disputes that the

' Eight years after the enactment of Title VII, Congress added the

following language to extend protection of the Act to federal

employees, and included the alien exemption language:

All personnel actions affecting employees or applicants for

employment (except with regard to aliens employed outside the

limits of the United States ) in military departments ..., in executive

agencies . ., iin the United States Postal Service and the Postal Rate

Commiasiea, in those units of the government of the District of

Columbia having positions in the competitive service, and in those

units of the legislative and judicial branches of the Federal

Government having positions in the competitive service, and in the

Library of Congress shall be made free from any discrimination

based on race, color, religion, sex, or national origin. (emphasis

added).

42 U.S.C. § 2000e-16(a).

Appendix B x p. 9

provision excludes coverage to aliens employed outside the

states. Second, in Espinoza v. Farah Mfg. Co., 414 U.S. 86,

95, 94 S.Ct. 334, 340, 38 L.Ed.2d 287 (1973), the Supreme

Court attached another meaning to the provision’s domestic

scope. The Court concluded that the alien exemption

provision reflects a congressional intent to provide Title VII

coverage to aliens employed within the United States.

Thus, we do not face a choice between attaching appellant’ s

negative inference to the alien exemption provision or

stripping the provision of all purpose. If we decline to give

the alien exemption provision the interpretation appellant

seeks, the provision still is a meaningful and useful part of

the Act. Appellant has not persuaded us that the provision’s

language merits an interpretation that overcomes the

presumption against extraterritorial application of the Act.

Boureslan argues next that the legislative history of Title

VII, when coupled with the statutory language, evidences a

clear congressional intent to apply the Act extraterritorially.

It is to the legislative history, therefore, that we must now

turn.

[2, 3] Before considering the particular portions of the

legislative history pointed to by Boureslan, it is important

that we define the role allocated to legislative history in

Statutory interpretation. Legislative history is relegated to a

secondary source behind the language of the statute in deter-

mining congressional intent; even in its secondary role

legislative history must be used ‘‘cautiously.’’ United States

v. Smith, 795 F.2d 841 (9th Cir. 1986). Courts are not free

to substitute legislative history for the language of the Act

and legislative history is not an adequate substitute for

congressional action. Piper v. ChrisCraft Indus., Inc., 430

U.S. 1, 97 S.Ct. 926, 5 L.Ed.2d 124 (1977); United States

v. Devall, 704 F.2d 1513 (lth Cir. 1983); Aronsen v. Crown

Zellerbach, 662 F.2d 584 (9th Cir.1981), cert. denied, 459

Appendix B p. 10

U.S. 1200, 103 S.Ct. 1183, 75 L.Ed.2d 431(1983). The

Supreme Court has repeatedly stated that ‘*’[a]bsent a clearly

expressed legislat.ve intention to the contrary, [statutory] lan-

guage must ordinarily be regarded as conclusive.’ °’

Escondido Mut. Water Co. v. La Jolla Indians, 466 U.S.

765, 772, 104 S.Ct. 2105, 2110, 80 L.Ed.2d 753 (1984)

(quoting North Dakota v. United States, 460 U.S. 300, 312,

103 S.Ct. 1095, 1102, 75 L.Ed.2d 77 (1983); Consumer

Prod. Safety Comm’n v. GTE Sylvania, Inc., 447 U.S. 102,

100 S.Ct. 2051, 64 L.Ed.2d 766 (1980).

[4, 5] The EEOC in its amicus curiae brief points to three

Statements in the legislative history that, it argues, supports

its interpretation of the Act. First, the EEOC notes that in the

House report that accompanied the Act to the Senate floor,

the passage of Title VII was declared necessary:

[t]o remove obstructions to the free flow of interstate and

foreign commerce and to insure the complete and full

enjoyment by all persons of the rights, privileges, and

immunities secured and protected by the Constitution.

House Report on Civil Rights Act of 1964, H.R.Rep. No.

914, 88th Cong., Ist Sess. (1963), reported in 1964

U.S.Code Cong. & Admin.News 2391, 2402. Second,

EEOC stresses a comment by Representative William

McCulloch, ranking minority member of the House Judiciary

Committee, in which McCulloch stated that ‘‘[a] key purpose

of the bill, then, is to secure to all Americans the equal

protection of the laws of the United States and of the several

States.’ Jd., reprinted in 1964 U.S.Cong. Code &

Admin. News at 2488. EEOC also points out that the minority

report states that ‘‘[t}he rights of citizenship mean little if an

individual is unable to gain the economic wherewithal to

enjoy or properly use them.’’ Jd. at 2516. The EEOC argues

that these general policy statements reflect a strong intent by

Congress to combat employment discrimination on all fronts

without any geographic limits. Thus, the EEOC asserts that

Appendix B p. 11

the omission of any mention of extraterritorial application

supports, rather than detracts, from their position.”

[6] These references to Title VII's legislative history fall far

short of the clear expression of congressional intent required

to overcome the presumption against extraterritorial

application. The statements, carefully taken from a

voluminous legislative history, are no more specific than the

statutory language itself. To rely on such general policy

statements would effectively adopt a presumption in favor of

extraterritorial application. This is particularly true when the

legislative history contains numerous statements that arguably

favor geographic limits for Title VII.

For example, the Act’s language and legislative history

make repeated references to the ‘‘United States,’’ ‘‘states,”’

and procedures relating to state proceedings without parallel

references to foreign countries. 42 U.S.C. 2000e(i) defines

**state’’ to include the states and other areas under United

States jurisdiction, with no reference to foreign countries.

References in the legislative history highlight concerns about

employment discrimination problems in the states, Senator

Hubert Humphrey, 110 Cong.Rec. 6550 (1964); the effect of

Title VII on southern states versus other states, Senator

Richard Russell, 110 Cong.Rec. 14301(1964); and deferral

2 In Espinoza, 414 U.S. at 94, 94 S.Ct. at 339, the Court noted

that the EEOC’s interpretation of Title VII is generally entitled to

deference. However, such interpretations are not controlling on the

courts. Because this is a jurisdictional issue with little or no

statutory language or legislative history, and one in which the

EEOC has developed no particular expertise, we give the EEOC’s

interpretation less deference than usual. This is particularly

appropriate given the traditional presumption against extrater-

ritoriality. See General Electric Co. v. Gilbert, 429 U.S. 125,

141-42, 97 S.Ct. 401, 410-11, 50 L.Ed.2d 343 (1976); Skidmore

v. Swift & Co., 323 U.S. 134, 140, 65 S.Ct. 161, 164, 89 L.Ed.

124 (1944).

Appendix B p. 12

to state employment laws, Congressman Emanuel Celler, 110

Cong.Rec. 1521 (1964).

Moreover, Congress deleted reference to ‘‘foreign

commerce’’ and ‘‘foreign nations’’ from earlier House

versions of Title VII.’ While these references and deletions

are not conclusive legislative support, they are certainly as

persuasive as policy statements in the legislative history

offered by the EEOC.

EEOC also points to a reference to the alien exemption

provision contained in a house report rendered in connection

with H.R. 405, a concurrent attempt to fashion equal

employment legislation during the 88th Congress’ first

session in 1963. This report was placed in the record in the

hearings for H.R. 7152, which ultimately became the Civil

Rights Act of 1963. The report stated,

In section 4 of the Act, limited exception is provided for

employers with respect to employment of aliens outside of

any state, and also, to any religious corporations,

associations, or societies. The intent of the first exemption

is to remove conflicts of law which might otherwise exist

between the United States and a foreign nation in the

employment of aliens outside the United States by an

American enterprise. Civil Rights: Hearings on H.R. 7152,

as amended by Subcommittee No. 5 before the House

Committee on the Judiciary, 88th Cong., Ist Sess. 2303

(1963). EEOC urges us to interpret this language to reflect

an intent that, but for the alien exemption provision, Title

VII protects all persons employed overseas by American

employers.

* These deletions are reflected in an annotated copy of the House

bill that Senator Dirksen inserted into the Congressional Record on

June 5,1964, in anticipation of debate on the Senate's substitute

bill. Senator Everett Dirksen, 110 Cong.Rec. 12811-817 (1964).

Appendix B p. 13

However, this brief reference sheds little additional light on

the issue. Whether it points to the provision’s bare language

or to this snippet of legislative history, EEOC still must

argue a negative inference. That is, EEOC argues that

Congress spoke by not speaking. This silence will not reverse

the presumption that this legislation applies only to

employees employed in the United States.‘

[7] Finally, Boureslan and the EEOC advance a number of

policy arguments in favor of the extraterritorial application

of Title VII. These arguments go to the inequity of denying

Americans employed abroad protections to which they are

entitled in the United States. Although these arguments have

obvious appeal, we cannot ignore strong countervailing

policy arguments against the application of Title VII abroad.

The religious and social customs practiced in many countries

are wholly at odds with those of this country. Requiring

American employers to comply with Title VII in such a

country could well leave American corporations the difficult

* The collaborative nature of the way in which H.R. 405 found its

way into H.R. 7152 further dilutes the report’s impact. The

General Subcommittee on Labor voted on June 20, 1963, to report

H.R. 405 to the full Committee on Education and Labor. On July

31, 1963, Subcommittee No. 5 of the House Committee on the

Judiciary placed this report in the record of hearings on H.R.

7152, the administration's civil rights bill. Subcommittee No. 5

substituted H.R. 405 for the equal employment title originally

proposed in H.R. 7152, and reported H.R. 7152 favorably to the

full judiciary committee. The full committee retained the alien

exemption provision when it reported the title on Nov. 20, 1963.

Ultimately, Congress enacted H.R. 7152 as the Civil Rights Act

of 1963. In short, EEOC looks for a clear expression of intention

in a negative inference arising from one paragraph of a report

rendered by members of a House subcommittee that did not

participate in voting the bill out of the Judiciary Committee and

sending it to the full House.

Appendix B p. 14

choice of either refusing to employ United States citizens in

the country or discontinuing business. Given the serious,

potentially divisive policy considerations for and against

application of the Act outside the country, the paucity of

reference to such an application either in the Act itself or the

debates in Congress is a compelling argument that Congress

did not turn its attention to this possibility. It is not for this

court to decide this policy issue for the legislative branch.

While the judicial function in construing legislation is not

a mechanical process from which judgment is excluded, it

is nevertheless very different from the legislative function.

Construction is not legislation and must avoid ‘‘that retro-

spective expansion of meaning which properly deserves the

stigma of judicial legislation.’’ To blur the distinctive func-

tions of the legislative and the judicial processes is not

conductive to responsible legislation.

Addison v. Holly Hill Fruit Prods. Co. 322 U.S. 607, 618,

64 §.Ct. 1215, 1221, 88 L.Ed. 1488 (1944) (citation

omitted).

IV.

The presumption against extraterritorial application

establishes a high hurdle for appellant’s arguments to

overcome. Neither the statute’s bare language nor the sparse

indirect language on the subject in the legislative history

persuade us that he has cleared this hurdle.

AFFIRMED.

KING, Circuit Judge, dissenting:

Today, in the first circuit court opinion to consider

expressly the extraterritorial application of Title VII,’ the

Every district court that has considered the question has held that

Title VII does apply extraterritorially. Bryant v. International Schools

Services, Inc., 502 F.Supp. 472 (D.N.J.1980), rev'd on other

Appendix B p. 15

majority holds that Title VII affords no protection from

employment discrimination to U.S. citizens who are

employed abroad by U.S. corporations. Because an

examination of the language and legislative history of Title

VII reveals that Congress did not intend the protections of

Title VII to be so restricted, and because the extraterritorial

application of Title VII to U.S. nationals would not violate

principles of international law, I must respectfully dissent

from the majority’s holding.

I. The Presumption Against Extraterritoriality

It is undisputed that Congress had the power to extend Title

VII’s protections extraterritorially. See Steele v. Bulova

Watch Co., 344 U.S. 280, 282-83, 73 S.Ct. 252, 253-54, 97

L.Ed. 319 (1952); Foley Bros. v. Filardo, 336 U.S. 28i,

284, 69 S.Ct. 575, 577, 93 L.Ed. 680 (1949); United States

v. Mitchell, 553 F.2d 996, 1001 (Sth Cir.1977). Nationality

is an accepted basis for the exercise of jurisdiction. Thus, a

state may prescribe law relating to the conduct of its

nationals, even when that conduct occurs outside of the

state’s territory. See Steele, 344 U.S. at 285-86, 73 S.Ct. at

255-56; Blackmer v. United States, 284 U.S. 421, 436-37, 52

S.Ct. 252, 254-55, 76 L.Ed. 375 (1932); Mitchell, 553 F.2d

at 1001; Laker Airways v. Sabena, Belgian World Airlines,

731 F.2d 909, 922 (D.C.Cir. 1984); Restatement (Third) of

the Foreign Relations Law of the United States § 402 (1987)

[hereinafter Restatement]. The only question in this case is

grounds, 675 F.2d 562, 577 n. 23 Gd Cir. 1982) (declining to reach

question of Title VII's extraterritorial application); Seville v. Martin

Manetta Corp., 638 F.Supp. 590 (D.Md. 1986) (adopting Bryants

reasoning); Love v. Pullman, 13 Fair Empi.Prac.Cas-(BNA) 423,

426 n. 4 (D.Colo. 1976), aff'd on other grounds, 569 F.2d 1074 (Oth

Cir.1978)- see also Kern v. Dynaelectron, ST7 F.Supp. 1196

(N.D.Tex.1983) (ap-plying Title VII extraterritorially without ex-

pressly considering threshold jurisdictional issue), aff'd mem., 746

F.2d 810 (Sth Cir. 1984).

Appendix B p. 16

whether Congress exercised that power.

The majority correctly notes that because jurisdiction to

prescribe is ordinarily exercised on the basis of territory

rather than nationality,” there is a presumption that Congress

intends legislation to apply only within the territorial

jurisdiction of the United States, unless a contrary intent ap-

pears. Steele, 344 U.S. at 285, 73 S.Ct. at 255; Foley Bros.,

336 U.S. at 285, 69 S.Ct. at 577-78; Blackmer, 284 U.S. at

437, 52 S.Ct. at 254-55; Mitchell, 553 F.2d at 1002. The

majority goes astray, however, in its determination of what

constitutes an expression of ‘‘contrary intent’’ sufficient to

overcome the presumption.

As will be demonstrated more fully below, this is not a case

in which the claim of extraterritorial jurisdiction is based

solely on the broad jurisdictional language of the statute.

Rather, the conclusion that Title VII was intended to apply

to U.S. citizens employed abroad by U.S. corporations is

compelled by canons of statutory construction and is further

supported by legislative history. In rejecting these traditional

methods of statutory interpretation as inadequate, the

majority implies that nothing short of an explicit statement by

Congress will overcome the presumption.

The classic formulation of the presumption, however, does

not impose such a stringent standard: ‘‘The canon of

construction which teaches that legislation of Congress,

unless a contrary intent appears, is meant to apply only

> Territory and nationality are the two universally

recognized bases for a state’s exercise of jurisdiction to

prescribe law. Restatement § 402 comment a (also

noting that these links may not be sufficient in all

cases). Territoriality, however, “is considered the

normal, and nationality an exceptional, basis for the

exercise of jurisdiction.” Jd comment b.

Appendix B p. 17

within the territorial jurisdiction of the United States ... is a

valid approach whereby unexpressed congressional intent may

be ascertained.”’ Foley Bros., 336 U.S. at 285, 69 S.Ct. at

577 (emphasis added) (citation omitted); Natural Resources

Defense Council v. Nuclear Regulatory Comm'n, 647 F.2d

1345, 1357 n. 54 (D.C.Cir.1981). The most established

method of ascertaining unexpressed congressional intent is to

apply principles of statutory construction, and to refer to the

legislative history of the act. See N. Singer, 2A Sutherland

Statutory Construction §§ 45.12, 48.06 (1984). Nothing in

this formulation indicates that a ‘‘contrary intent’’ sufficient

to overcome the presumption against extraterritoriality may

not be determined according to these ordinary methods.

Even if we add the adjective ‘‘clear’’ to our formulation of

the presumption, Mitchell, 553 F.2d at 1002,’ ‘‘clear’’ does

not mean ‘“‘express,”’ and there is no reason why a “‘clear’’

intent to apply a statute extraterritorially may not be

determined with reference to the rules of statutory

construction, informed by legislative history. At most,

requiring a ‘‘clear’’ expression of congressional intent may

mean that the broad jurisdictional language of a statute is not

sufficient in itself to support the exercise of extraterritorial

jurisdiction. See Mitchell, 5S3 F.2d at 1003-04. It should be

noted, however, that the Supreme Court Aas found such

language sufficient to overcome the presumption.‘

> Though Mitchell cites Steele and Foley Bros as support for its

formulation of the presumption, neither case requires that

Congress’ expression of “contrary intent” be “clear.” 553 F.2d at

1002 (citing Steele, 344 U.S. at 285, 73 S.Ct. at 255, Foley Bros,

336 U.S. at 285, 69 S.Ct. 577-78). For the purposes of this case,

however, I recognize that we are bound by Mitchell's inter

pretation of these cases.

* In Foley Bros, the Supreme Court held that such language was

not sufficient to support extraterritonal jurisdiction. 336 U.S. at

Appendix B p. 18

The extremely strong showing of congressional intent which

the majority requires is clearly not compelled by the pre-

sumption itself. Rather, it appears that the majority has

distorted the presumption in an effort to transform it into

something it is not: a mechanism for evaluating potential

conflicts of jurisdiction.’ The majority concludes in effect

that the policy implications of applying Title VII extrater-

ritorially are so serious that we must require a more explicit

statement by Congress that it intended Title VII to apply so

broadly.

The majority’s conclusion might be appropriate if Congress

was, as the majority claims, silent on this subject. But

287, 69 S.Ct. at 578-79. However, in Steele, decided three years

later, the Court found that the broad jurisdictional language of the

Lanham Act was sufficient to support the exercise of extraterrito-

nal jurisdiction over U.S. nationals abroad. 344 U.S. at 286-87,

73 S.Ct. at 255-56.

In Mischell, this court reyected the government's argument that

use of the term “moratorium” in the Marine Mammal Protection

Act, without reference to the geographic scope of the provision,

indicated an intent by Congress to extend the moratonum against

the taking of marine mammals world wide. 553 F.2d at 1003.

Citing Foley Bros, the court reasoned that such “all inclusive

language” was not sufficient, by itself, to support extraterritorial

jurisdiction. Id at 1003-04.

> Quoting from Pfeiffer v. Wm. Wrigley, Jr. Co., 755 F.2d 554

from “[t}he fear of outnght collisions between domestic and

foreign law--collisions both hard on those caught in the cross-fire,

and a potential source of friction between the United States and

foreign countnes.*

It 1s true that by requiring a threshold showing of congressional

intent, the presumption will in practice prevent unnecessary

conflicts of law. Once that threshold showing has been established,

however, we must turn to other mechanisms for resolving the

conflicts of law that inevitably arise from the exercise of extra-

terntonal jurisdiction.

Appendix B p. 19

abroad, the majority has therefore done precisely what it

cautions against: It has substituted its own policy judgment

for that of Congress.

The majority’s intuition is correct that the implications of

applying a statute-extraterritorially may be such that the type

of evidence presented in this case would not be sufficient to

support the exercise of extraterritorial jurisdiction. For

example,a greater showing of congressional intent would be

required to support an exercise of extraterritorial jurisdiction

that would violate international law. A statute may not be

construed to violate international law unless Congress has, by

an affirmative expression of its intent, required that con-

struction. McCulloch v. Sociedad Nacional de Marineros de

Honduras, 372 U.S. 10, 21-22, 83 S.Ct. 671, 677-78, 9

L.Ed.2d 547 (1963); Weinberger v. Rossi, 456 U.S. 25, 32,

102 S.Ct. 1510, 1515-16, 71 L.Ed.2d 715 (1982); see also

Restatement § 114.’

® This argument is advanced in more detail below.

’ Although the majority cites McCulloch in its discussion of the

presumption against extraternitonality, McCulloch did not turn on

the issue of extraterntonal jurisdiction. Indeed, the presumption

against extraterritonality is not even mentioned in the opinion.

Rather, the Supreme Court in McCulloch found that application of

the National Labor Relations Act to protect foreign seamen,

Appendix B p. 20

This principle is a facet of the separate presumption that

Congress does not intend to violate international law. See

Restatement § 115 comment a (‘‘It is generally assumed that

Congress does not intend to repudiate an international

obligation of the United States by nullifying a rule of inter-

national law or an international agreement as domestic

law.”’).

The showing of congressional intent required to overcome

the presumption that Congress does not intend to violate

international law is much greater than that required to

overcome the presumption against extraterritoriality. While

the two presumptions are in some respects parallel, they

employed on vessels registered under a foreign flag, would violate

State Department policy, a Treaty with the Honduran government,

and the established principle of international law that the internal

affairs of a vessel are to be regulated according to “the law of the

flag state.” Jd, 372 U.S. at 20-21 & n. 12, 83 S.Ct. 677 n. 12.

The Court held that absent “[t}he affirmative intention of Congress

clearly expressed," the NLRA could not be construed to apply to

foreig”. seamen employed aboard vessels registered under a foreign

flag hecause such a construction would violate the law of nations.

Ids i-22, 83 S.Ct. at 677-78.

The standard set forth in McCulloch is thus not an elaboration

upon the presumption against extraterritonality, but an application

of the long-standing principle that “an act of Congress ought never

to be construed to violate the law of nations if any other possible

construction remains.” Jd, quoting The Charming Betsy, 2 Cranch

64, 118, 2 L.Ed. 208 (1804)); accord Restatement section 114;

see also Rossi, 456 U.S. at 32, 102 S.Ct. at 1515-16 (citing

McCulloch for this proposition, and construing statute to avoid

repudiation of several international agreements, absent affirmative

expression of Congress requiring that construction).

McCulloch, therefore, stands for the proposition for which it is

cited im the text: a statute may not be construed to violate

international law unless Congress has, by an affirmative ex-

pression of its intent, required that construction. 372 U.S. at 21-

22, 83 S.Ct. at 677-78; Rossi, 456 U.S. at 32, 102 S.Ct. at 1515-

16.

Appendix B p. 21

should not be conflated because not every exercise of

extraterritorial jurisdiction violates international law. A

separate, more stringent standard is properly reserved for

cases in which the exercise of jurisdiction g7rarwedel

By requiring a more explicit showing of congresiona

intent to apply Title VII extraterritorially--without discussing

whether extraterritorial application of Title VII would violate

international law--the majority has implicitly conflated the

two standards and has therefore defeated congressional intent

without sufficient justification.

While I agree with the majority that we must consider the

foreign policy implications of construing a statute to apply

extraterritorially, I do not believe that its approach to these

issues is satisfactory. We should not defeat congressional

intent to exercise extraterritorial jurisdiction without engaging

in a more principled analysis of the implications of applying

the statute extraterritorially.*

In order to evaluate the complex issues raised in this case,

we need a finer set of analytic tools than those employed in

the majority opinion. I therefore propose an alternative

framework that will, I believe, provide a more satisfactory

treatment of the issues in this case.

* In suggesting that we evaluate these concerns, | do not propose

that we overstep our judicial role by intruding on the realm of

international affairs which is properly the province of the

legislative and executive branches. | propose simply that if the

evidence of congressional intent to apply Title VII extraterntonally

is sufficient to overcome the (properly applied) presumption

against extraterritoriality, we should give effect to that intent

unless we are precluded by principles of international law from

doing so. This undertaking is entirely consistent with our judicial

role. See Restatement § 111(1)-(2) (International law is the law of

States. ).

Appendix B p. 22

American Rice, Inc. yt

McCulloch, 372 U.S. at 21-22, 83 S.Ct. at 677-78; Rossi,

456 U.S. at 32, 102 S.Ct. at 1515-16; Restatement § 403

’ The Supreme Court's language in Steele suggests such a two-

pronged inquiry: “the United States is not debarred by any rule of

international law from governing the conduct of its own citizens

upon the high seas or even in foreign countnes when the nghts of

other nations or their nationals are not infringed.” 344 U.S. at

286, 73 S.Ct. at 255-56. Thus, if the rights of other nations or

their nationals are not infringed, an act of Congress may be given

the full geographic scope that Congress intended. The

reasonableness inquiry is a means by which we can determine

whether foreign mghts or interests would be infmnged such that

extraterntonal application of a statute would be inappropnate.

Appendix B p. 23

correct--because Congress has not affirmatively required that

the statute be applied extraterritorially.

If, however, extraterritorial application of the statute would

not be unreasonable, and therefore would not violate

international law, the threshold level of congressional intent

required to overcome the presumption against

extraterritoriality will be sufficient to support the exercise of

extraterritorial jurisdiction. As explained above, no express

statement of Congress is required to one

presumption. See Foley Bros., 336 U.S. at 285, at

577-78. Rather, we may employ traditional methods of

statutory interpretation to determine whether the language

and legislative history of Title VII evidence a clear intent that

the statute be applied extraterritorially. This analysis will

insure that we accord proper respect both to the sovereignty

of other nations and to Congress’ intent.

ll. The “‘Jurisdictional Rule of Reason."’

The showing of congressional intent necessary to support an

nat itorial jurisdiction depends in the first in-

stance on whether that exercise of jurisdiction will violate

legislative history of Title VII, I will therefore consider

whether extraterritorial application of Title VII would violate

the principle of international law set forth in section 403 of

the Restatement: ‘‘{A] state may not exercise jurisdiction to

prescribe law with respect to a person or activity having

connections with another state when the exercise of such

jurisdiction is unreasonable.’ Restatement § 403(1).

Cir.1983) (Lanham Act); Laker Airways ¥. Sabena, Belgian

Appendix B p. 24

Although the majority does not address this issue in its

opinion, ARAMCO and Amicus Curiae assert that

extraterritorial application of Title VII would violate the

**reasonableness’’ principle. ARAMCO’s arguments are

addressed in the discussion below.

It should be noted at the outset of this discussion that

section 403 is couched in general terms; it does not purport

to eliminate all conflicts in the exercise of jurisdiction. See

Restatement § 403 comment d (‘‘Exercise of jurisdiction by

more than one state may be reasonable--for example, when

one state exercises jurisdiction on the basis of territory and

the other on the basis of nationality.’’). Therefore, the

possibility that a conflict with foreign law may arise in some

case does not render .Congress’ initial exercise of

extraterritorial jurisdiction unreasonable. ‘‘Because Congress

. . « Cam neither anticipate nor resolve all conflicts with

foreign prescriptive jurisdiction,’’ it necessarily relies on the

Judiciary to minimize conflicts of jurisdiction by exercising

a jurisdictional rule of reason in individual cases. Laker

Airways, 731 F.2d at 952 n. 169 (citing Extraterritoriality

and Conflicts of Jurisdiction, U.S. Department of State

Current Policy Bulletin No. 481 at 4 (15 April 1983)). Our

World Airlines, 731 F.2d 909 (D.C.Cir.1984) (Sherman Act).

This was the approach endorsed by section 40 of the Second

Restatement, the precursor of section 403.

The Third Restatement, however, asserts that section 403 is

intended to be more than a principle of comity: “reasonableness

is understood here . . . as an essential element in determining

whether, as a matter of law, the state may exercise jurisdiction

to prescribe.” Restatement sec. 403 reporters’ note 10.

No court has applied the reasonableness test as part of the

threshold inquiry to determine whether a statute may, as a

general matter, be applied extraterritorially. The Restatement,

however, notes that the reasonableness test may serve the same

purpose as the traditional tests for deciding whether a statute

may be applied extraterritorially. Jd reporters’ note 2.

Appendix B p. 25

inquiry here is therefore whether it would in general be

reasonable to apply Title VII extraterritorially, not whether

it would in all cases be reasonable.

Section 403(2) provides:

Whether exercise of jurisdiction over .a person or activity is

unreasonable is determined by evaluating all relevant

factors, including, where appropriate:

(a) the link of the activity to the territory of the

regulating state, i.c., the extent to which the activity takes

place within the territory, or has substantial, direct, and

foreseeable effect upon or in the territory;

(b) the connections, such as nationality, residence, or

economic activity, between the regulating state and the

person principally responsible for the activity to be

regulated, or between that state and those whom the

regulation is designed to protect;

(c) the character of the activity to be regulated, “ie

importance of regulation to the regulating state, the extent

to which other states regulate such activities, and the

degree to which the desirability of such regulation is

generally accepted;

(d) the existence of justified expectations that might be

protected or hurt by the regulation;

(e) the importance of the regulation to the international

political, legal, or economic system;

(f) the extent to which the regulation is consistent with

the traditions of the international system;

(g) the extent to which another state may have an interest

in regulating the activity; and

(h) the likelihood of conflict with regulation by another

State.

Appendix B p. 26

The arguments that extraterritorial application of Title VII

would be unreasonable fall into two categories encompassing

the factors listed above: First, since discrimination against

U.S. citizens that occurs abroad has no domestic effects,

U.S. interests are not sufficient to justify the exercise of

extraterritorial jurisdiction. Second, because labor relations

are a peculiarly domestic matter, it would be an affront to the

sovereignty of other nations to apply Title VII

extraterritorially.

The first contention mischaracterizes the purpose of Title

VII and trivializes the special nature of civil rights laws. The

‘‘effects’’ factor included in the Restatement is well-suited

for economic regulation, but not for individual rights of the

sort guaranteed by Title VII. It is true that the purposes of

Title VII were framed in part in economic terms,'' but the

1964 Civil Rights Act, of which Title VII is a part, was also

an effort to fulfill the long-postponed promise of equal rights

embodied in the fourteenth amendment:'? It was intended

‘| The language regarding the economic effects of discrimination

provides a basis for Congress’ exercise of power under the

Commerce Clause. See Heart of Atlanta Motel v. United States,

379 U.S. 241, 85 S.Ct. 348,13 L.Ed.2d 258 (1964); Katzenbach

v. McClung, 379 U.S. 294, 85 S.Ct. 377,13 L.Ed.2d 290 (1964)

(upholding Title II of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 as exercise of

Congress’ power under the Commerce Clause).

'2 This purpose is evident from the introductory language to the

section which states that Title VII is necessary “[tlo remove

obstructions to the free flow of commerce among the States and

with foreign nations” and “[tjo insure the complete and full

enjoyment by all persons of the rights, privileges, and immunities

secured and protected by the Constitution." H.R.Rep. No. 914,

88th Cong., Ist Sess. 2009 (1963) (emphasis added).

The fact that it was upheld as an exercise of Congress’ power

under the Commerce Clause, does not eclipse the fact that one

purpose of the Civil Rights Act was to insure the protection of

rights under the fourteenth amendment. See Heart of Atlanta

Appendix B p. 27

not only to remedy domestic economic ills, but to protect

individuals from ‘‘the injustices and humiliations’ of

discrimination. H.R.Rep. No. 914, 88th Cong., Ist Sess.

2018 (1963).

In calling for passage of the civil rights legislation that

became the Civil Rights Act of 1964, President Kennedy

stated: ‘‘In this year of the emancipation centennial, justice

requires us to insure the blessings of liberty for all

Americans and their posterity--not merely for reasons of

economic efficiency, world diplomacy, and domestic

tranquility--but, above all, because it is right.’’ Special

Message to Congress by the President June 19, 1963 in 109

Cong. Rec. 1055, 1063 (emphasis added).

Because they create individual rights, civil rights laws,

unlike economic regulations, fall within the category of

‘protection of persons.’’ See 2 Restatement introductory note

to part VII at 150-51." The personal injuries caused by

employment discrimination cannot readily be characterized in

terms of their ‘‘effects’’ on the forum state. Civil rights are

‘in this respect similar to constitutional guarantees of

individual rights which control the exercise of governmental

authority over U.S. citizens outside the territory of the

Motel, 379 U.S. at 250, 85 S.Ct. at 354 (declining to decide

whether Congress’ power under the Enforcement Clause of the

fourteenth amendment would be sufficient by itself to support

enactment of Title II of the Act (public accommodations)); of. id

at 284, 85 S.Ct. at 371-72, (Douglas, J., concurring) (While

“economic aspects of the problems of discrimination are heavily

accented[,] . .. the objectives of the Fourteenth Amendment were

by no means ignored.").

13 Indeed, in the same section, the Restatement notes without

criticism that “[s}ome United States civil rights legislation

protects United States nationals outside the United States." Re-

statement § 721 reporters’ note 13 (citing Bryant, 502 F.Supp.

472 (D.N.J.1980) (applying Title VII extraterritorially)).

Appendix B p. 28

United States--without reference to the domestic ‘‘effects’’ of

violating the Constitution. Jd. § 721 reporters’ note 2. While

regulation of the conduct of private employers under Title

VII is obviously different from the regulation of state actors

under the Constitution,"* my point here is simply that the

rights protected by Title VII are, like constitutional rights,

personal. See id. comment b. It may therefore be inappropri-

ate’’ to evaluate the violation of civil rights in terms of

‘“effects’’ on the regulating state, even though the

extraterritorial application of civil rights laws may be limited

by other considerations not applicable to constitutional rights.

If we were to apply the ‘‘effects’’ standard, however,

Congress and the courts have lopg recognized that apart from

the personal injuries of discrimination, the cumulative effects

of discrimination are pervasive.'*

'* Actions by the State, even outside the territory of the United

States, must be constrained by the Constitution because the

‘*United States is entirely a creature of the Constitution.’’ Reid

v. Covert, 354 U.S. 1, 5-6, 77 S.Ct. 1222, 1224-25 1 L.Ed.2d

1148 (1956) (plurality opinion of Black, J.). —

” The Restatement provides that each of the enumerated factors

should be evaluated ‘‘where appropniate.'’ Restatement § 403(2).

- The same “effects” on commerce which allow Congress to

regulate the conduct of private employers under Title VII, supra

note 11, may be sufficient to establish “effects” in <he regulating

state within the meaning of section 403. Cf. Timberlane Lumber

Co. v. Bank of America, 549 F.2d 597, 612 (9th Cir. 1976)

(noting that Congress’ power to regulate foreign commerce is

not subject to same restrictions as power toregulate interstate

commerce, and effects test for extraterritorial jurisdiction must

therefore be informed by notions of comity and fairness”).

Because section 403 requires us to consider other factors in

exercising extraterritorial jurisdiction, there is no reason to

discard the analysis, already accepted by the courts, that the

cumulative economic effects of discrimination are sufficient to

Appendix B p. 29

Depriving U.S. citizens of a remedy for discrimination

experienced while employed abroad by U.S. companies will

almost certainly have some effect in the United States. Title

VII provides employees with an avenue to vindicate

themselves in the event of an unjust firing, a poor reference,

or sudden resignation that is in reality the result of

discrimination. Today’s decision means that one U.S. citizen

assigned to the Saudi office of a U.S. corporation, and an-

other U.S. citizen working for the same company in Texas

could experience identical acts of discrimination, but only the

latter will have a remedy. This situation creates a dilemma

for minorities and women: foreign assignments will be less

attractive, while refusal of such an assignment could limit an

individual’s opportunity for advancement. As the EEOC

notes, assignment to a foreign office is frequently a required

step on the corporate ladder. Extraterritorial application of

Title VII may therefore be necessary to ensure that members

of protected groups have equal opportunities with respect to

foreign assignments that would affect their employment

opportunities in the United States. Extraterritorial application

of Title VII would also protect the ‘‘justified expectations’’

of U.S. citizens that they will not lose all protection from

discrimination by their employers simply because they have

been assigned to a foreign office. Restatement § 403(2)(d).

The territorial connections to the regulating state are in any

event buttressed by the fact that both ‘‘the person principally

responsible for the activity to be regulated’’ and ‘‘those

whom the regulation is designed to protect’’ are in this case

justify regulation. See L. Tribe, American Constitutional Law

310 (1988) (discussing “cumulative effect" principle as consti-

tutional justification for civil mghts legislation).

Appendix B p. 30

U.S. nationals--U.S. corporations'’ and their employees

who are U.S. citizens. Restatement § 403(2)(b).

It is also incorrect to characterize Title VII's purposes as

purely domestic. The legislative history of Title VII reveals

H.R.Rep. No. 1370, 87th Cong., 2d Sess. 2156 (1962) (re-

port on Equal Employment Opportunity Act--a forerunner of

H.R. 405 which was incorporated into Title VII of H.R.

7152; H.R. 7152 became the Civil Rights Act of 1964)

i

Congress by the President supra at 1055

where their actions will be more immediately visible to other

Finally, the international community has adopted a number

of conventions calling for an end to discrimination--against

many of the groups protected by Title VII." The

17 “R lating the teiten of tusi , | witic ec

state is one of the oldest and most established examples of

prescriptive jurisdiction.” Laker Airways, 731 1 .2d at 926.

See, e.g., International Convention on the Elimination of All

Forms of Racial Discrimination, 660 U.N.T.S. 195, U.N. Doc.

A/6014 (1965); Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of

Discrimination Against Women, G.A. Res. 34/180, U.N. Doc.

Appendix B p. 31

portunity for Americans Abroad, 62 N.Y. U. L.Rev. 1288,

1298 & nn. 66-69 (1987) (international treaties and

Restatement § 403(2)(c), (e) & (f).

extraterritorially should therefore be defeated only if such

application would be an affront to the sovereignty of other

nations.

ARAMCO and Amicus Curiae argue that labor laws are of

particularly local concern, and that most states apply their

own labor laws on a territorial basis. They therefore

conclude that extraterritorial application of Title VII would

offend other nations and produce inevitable conflicts of

law--a contention echoed in the majority opinion.

A/34/46 (1979).

Many of these agreements have been signed by the United

States, but have not been ratifiedby the Senate. Most of the

protections that the United States would owe to its citizens under

these agreements are already provided by the Constitution and

federal and state law. See 2 Restatement introductory note to

Part VII at 150.

Appendix B p. 32

As noted above, section 403 does not purport to eliminate

concurrent jurisdiction. There is no principle of international

law which ‘‘separates jurisdiction to prescribe into neatly

adjoining compartments of national jurisdiction.’’ Laker

Airways, 731 F.2d at 952.

ARAMCO essentially urges that the untidiness of

concurrent jurisdiction may be avoided by applying the

reasonableness inquiry to preclude the extraterritorial appli-

cation of a statute wherever it is possible that another state

reading, however, also fails to produce a perfectly coherent

jurisdictional scheme. Because the reasonableness constraint

applies to both the territorial and nationality bases of

jurisdiction, the extreme deference to other nations urged by

ARAMCO could cizate a jurisdictional vacuum. We do not

know, for example, to what extent a foreign state would

enforce its own laws to regulate the employment relationship

between a U.S. corporation and employees who are U.S.

me or chaties ead Gabe tn sduteieten ont

_judicial procedures available to a U.S. employee seeking to

bring a grievance against a U.S. employer. A foreign state,

applying the principles of section 403, could well conclude

that exercise of its territorial jurisdiction would be un-

reasonable in such a case. Indeed, the cases relied upon by

the majority include those in which the courts of the United

States have declined to apply the protections of U.S. law in

precisely that situation. See, e.g., Benz v. Compania Naviera

Hidalgo, 353 U.S. 138, 77 S.Ct. 699,1 L.Ed.2d 709 (1957)

(declining to apply the Labor Management Relations Act to

although within the territorial jurisdiction of the United

States).

International discord does not arise from the existence of

concurrent jurisdiction alone as much as it arises from an

Appendix B p. 33

attempt to regulate the conduct of foreign nationals."

Cases involving extraterritorial application of the Lanham

have concurrent jurisdiction to regulate the use of trademarks

in their territory, the United States may, in the absence of an

actual conflict of law, apply the Act to the conduct of U.S.

nationals abroad. Stecle, 344 U.S. 280, 73 S.Ct. 252;

American Rice, Inc. v. Arkansas Rice Growers Cooperative

Ass'n, 701 F.2d 408 (Sth Cir. 1983); Ramirez & Feraud Chili

Co. v. Las Palmas Food Co., 146 F.Supp. 594

(S.D.Cal. 1956), aff'd, 245 F.2d 874 (9th Cir. 1957), cert. de-

nied, 355 U.S. 927, 78 S.Ct. 384, 2 L.Ed.2d 357 (1958).

The Act does not, however, apply extraterritorially to foreign

nationals. Vanity Fair Mills v. T. Eaton Co., 234 F.2d 633

(2d Cir.), cert. denied, 352 U.S. 871, 77 S.Ct. 96, 1

L.Ed.2d 76 (1956).

The cases involving extraterritorial application of labor laws

similarly demonstrate that an attempt to regulate the conduct

of foreign nationals presents the most serious affront to the

sovereignty of other nations. In Foley Bros., the Supreme

Court refused to construe the Eight Hour Law to apply

extraterritorially to a U.S. national employed by an American

contractor in Iran. 336 U.S. 281, 69 S.Ct. 575 (1949). How-

ever, the Court emphasized that the Act did not distinguish

of the United States.’’ Jd. at 286, 69 S.Ct. at 578. The Court

reasoned that if the law was applied extraterritorially to U.S.

citizens, it ‘‘would be logically inescapable’’ that the law

'% In Timberlane, the Ninth Circuit suggested that extraterntonal

application of the Sherman Act could be moderated to reduce

international! tensions by affording greater consideration to the

nationality of the parties. The court noted that “applying

Amencan laws to Amencan citizens raises fewer problems than

application to foreigners.” 549 F.2d at 612.

Appendix B p. 34

a

would apply to aliens employed abroad as well. jd. The

Court was thus most troubled by the possibility that the law

would by logical extension require an intrusion into the realm

of ‘‘labor conditions which are the primary concern of a

foreign country’’--the labor conditions of its own citizens. Id.

The Court discounted an opinion of the Attorney General

ing the Act to apply extraterritorially on the same

grounds:

The opinion ... proves too much. Although Attorney

General Moody denied that incongruous results would flow

from his interpretation, it would be anomalous, as we have

said, for an act of Congress to regulate the hours of a citi-

zen of Iran at work on a government project there. ... Since

the statute contains no distinction between laborers based on

citizenship, Attorney General Stone's reasoning that aliens

are not covered points to the conclusion that the statute does

not apply to contracts which are to be performed in foreign

countries.

Id., 336 U.S. at 289, 69 S.Ct. at 579. The Court thus

concludes that absent a distinction between aliens and U.S.

citizens employed abroad, the Act must apply to both aliens

and citizens employed abroad, or to neither. Therefore,

because it would infringe upon the sovereignty of other na-

tions to apply the Law to foreign nationals employed abroad,

the Act could not be construed to apply to citizens employed

abroad.

Similarly, the Supreme Court in both Benz v. Compania

Naviera Hidalgo, 353 U.S. 138, 147, 77 S.Ct. 699, 704, |

L.Ed.2d 709 (1956) (LMRA) and McCulloch, 372 U.S. at

21, 83 S.Ct. at 677-78 (NLRA), refused to ‘run interference

in ... a delicate field of internatioral relations’’ by construing

U.S. labor laws to apply to foreign seamen employed on

vessels registered under a foreign flag. While these cases

involved principles unique to the law of the sea, the

nationality of the parties was clearly a source of concern for

Appendix B p. 35

the Court.”

The alien exemption provision of Title VII, which provides

the strongest evidence of congressional intent to apply Title

VII extraterritorially, eliminates the very factor which has

barred the extraterritorial application of U.S. Labor laws.”

on the area of labor relations which is the ‘“‘primary

concern’’ of foreign nations, extraterritorial application of

Title VII is unlikely to offend the sovereignty of other states.

See id Furthermore, there is no attempt in this case to impose

the requirements of Title VII on foreign corporations

employing U.S. citizens abroad--another area likely to be of

‘“primary concern’’ to foreign states. | would conclude that

“the rights of other nations or their nationals are not

2 Neither McCulloch nor Benz is cited in the Restatement's

2 ‘The majority cites several other examples of cases in which

The possibility of such conflict is not, however, sufficiently

great to render extraterritorial application of Title VII

In fact, Title VII contains provisions that allow conflicts

with foreign law to be minimized. For example, this court

has allowed an employer to use the bona fide occupational

qualification (BFOQ) exception, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(e), to

assert the requirements of foreign law as a defense to a Title

Vil claim. Kern v. Dynaelectron, S77 F.Supp. 1196

(N.D.Tex. 1983), affd mem., 746 F 2d 810 (Sth Cir. 1984)

(affirmed on basis of reasons stated by the district court). In

Kern, the district court held that in i

circumstances, a prohibited classification could itself be a

BFOQ. id. at 1201. The plaintiff had alleged discrimination

because Dynaelectron, a U.S.

a

| 4

Z

Although the availability of the BFOQ defense in cases of

less extreme conflicts with foreign law has not been tested,

Kern indicates that the defense could provide a basis for

|

p. 37

— Ricts.”

The argument that extraterritorial application of Title VII is

unreasonable because it would offend the sovereignty of other

nations is not persuasive. The fact that another nation may

of territory does not render the exercise of U.S. jurisdiction

on the basis of nationality unreasonable. The likelihood that

is minimized by the fact that the United States seeks to

regulate only the conduct of its own nationals and by the fact

that Title VII may be reconciled with foreign law in the event

of a conflict.

The fact that one could hypothesize particular situations in

which the extraterritorial application of Title VII to U.S.

citizens employed by U.S. corporations would conflict with

foreign law does not compel a holding that Title VII may

never extend its protections beyond U.S. borders. This con-

struction of section 403 would place an untenable restriction

on U.S. sovereignty. We would be required to defeat

Q as grounds t defeat

extraterntonal application of Tithe VII and as vehicle for

avording conflicts of law).

Appendix B p. 8

conflict of jurisdiction, or unless Congress met the

McCulloch standard by expressing an affirmative intent to

apply a statute extraterritorially whether reasonable or not.

This would make extraterritorial jurisdiction an all or nothing

proposition, eliminating a middle ground on which Congress

could exercise extraterritorial jurisdiction in a more limwed

fashion. This result is neither compelled by the Restatement

nor desirable.

For the purposes of this case, the Restatement requires only

that we conclude that extraterritorial application of Title VII

would in general be reasonable. Because Congress cannot

anticipate every conflict of law, it must necessarily rely on

the courts to make a more individualized determination of the

propriety of exercising extraterritorial jurisdiction in a

particular case. The constraints of section 403 apply to

cn ad iptive jurisdiction not caly by C '

but by all government entities.” The courts will therefore

be guided in individual cases by the same principles of

reasonableness that apply to our evaluation of Congress’

initial exercise of extraterritorial jurisdiction.

Thus, while I would hold that extraterritorial application of

Title VII would in general be reasonable, I would also

recognize that it may be appropriate in some circumstances

for a U.S. court to decline to apply Title VII

extraterritorially. In the instant case, the factors that might

influence a more individualized decision whether to apply

3 Prescriptive jurisdiction is defined as jurisdiction of a state “to

make its law applicable to the activities, relations, or status of

persons, or the interests of persons in things, whether by

legislation, by executive act or order, by administrative rule or

regulation, or by determination of a court.” Restatement §

401(a). The traditional equation of jurisdiction to prescribe with

legislative jurisdiction was discarded in recognition of the

increasingly complex relationship between the roles of different

branches of government. Jd introductory note to Part IV at 230.

Appendix B p. 39

Title VII extraterritorially have not been fully briefed and are

therefore not considered here.

Ill. The Language and Legislative History of Title Vil

Since extraterritorial application of Title VII would not be

unreasonable and therefore does not violate principles of

international a ee come ae we

expression of congressional intent to y e

extraterritorially. Rather, we may employ the traditional

and — -

i inst extraterritoriality is overcome by

Pcontrary intent” of Congress. See Foley Bros., 336 U.S. at

285, 69 S.Ct. at 577-78; Natural Resources Defense Council

v. Nuclear Regulatory Comm ’n, 647 F.2d 1345, 1357 n. 54

(D.C.Cir. 1981).

n asserting that ress intended Title VII to apply

Pare ww Ae - Seon and Amicus EEOC rely

primarily on the ‘‘alien exemption provision,” 42 U.S.C. §

2000e-1, which provides in relevant part: ‘“This subchapter

shall not apply to an employer with respect to the

employment of aliens outside any State.’’ The stated purpose

of this provision was ‘‘to remove conflicts of law which

might otherwise exist between the United States and a foreign

nation in the employment of aliens outside the United States

by an American enterprise.” * Civil Rights: Hearings on

4 It is not disputed that Title VII's definition of "employer" is

sufficiently expansive to support application of Title VII beyond

the territory of the United States. “Employer” is defined as any

“person engaged in an industry affecting commerce” who has a

specified number of employees who work a specified number of

days. 42 U.S.C. § 2000e(b).

25 The majority dismisses this piece of legislative history, arguing

that we must not “substitute legislative history for the language

of the Act.” The language of the statute is not, however,

inconsistent with the legislative history. Both the plain language

Appendix B p. 40

H.R. 7152 Before the House Committee on the Judiciary,

88th Cong., Ist Sess. 2303 (1963) (testimony of James

Roosevelt, Member of Congress from the State of California)

(explaining provisions of H.R. 405 which was incorporated

into Title VII of H.R. 7152).

Since Title VII expressly exempts from coverage aliens

employed abroad by U.S. corporations, the logical negative

inference is that Title VII was intended to cover U.S. citizens

employed abroad. Indeed, the alien exemption provision

would be meaningless if Title VII did not apply extraterri-

of the statute, interpreted according to the established canons of

statutory construction, and the legislative history compel a single

conclusion: that Congress intexded Title VII to apply

extraterritorially.

It is instead the majority's conclusion that Title VII does not

apply extraterritorially that requires us to ignore the canons of

statutory construction and the clear evidence of legislative

history.

Contrary to the majority's assertion, the collaborative nature

of Title VII's legislative history requires that these hearings be

given special weight. H.R. 405 originated in the Committee on

Education and Labor, but was incorporated by the Judiciary

Committee into H.R. 7152. Title VII is thus a hybrid of bills

onginating in two committees. Although the Judiciary Committee

subsequently amended H.R. 7152, the coverage provisions of

Title VII, including the alien exemption provision, were not

changed. Representative Roosevelt's explanation of the

provisions of H.R. 405, based on the conclusions of the

Committee on Education and Labor, is thus equivalent to a

committee report for purposes of determining the objectives of

the provisions that were incorporated wholesale from H.R. 405.

Such discussions of statutory meaning are accepted as the most

“persuasive indicia of congressional intent." Mitts v. United

States, 713 F.2d 1249, 1252 (7th Cir.1983), cert. denied, 464

U.S. 1069, 104 S.Ct. 974, 79 L.Ed.2d 212 (1984); see also

Johnson v. Department of Treasury, 700 F.2d 971, 974 (Sth

Cir. 1983).

Appendix B p. 41

torially: there is no need to exempt aliens employed abroad

from coverage if no one is covered abroad. Construction of

a statute to render a provision meaningless violates the

established rule of statutory construction which obliges a

court ‘‘to give effect, if possible, to every word Congress

used.’’ Reiter v. Sonotone Corp., 442 U.S. 330, 339, 99

S.Ct. 2326, 2331, 60 L.Ed.2d 931 (1979); accord United

States v. Reeves, 752 F.2d 995, 998 (Sth Cir.1985) (°°A

statute should be read to avoid rendering its language

redundant if reasonably possible.’’); Goff v. Taylor, 706 F.2d

574, 587 n. 34 (Sth Cir. 1983) (‘‘It is well established that a

statute should be construed so that each of its provisions is

given full effect; interpretations which render parts of a

statute inoperative or superfluous are to be avoided.’”);

Quarles v. St. Clair, 711 F.2d 691, 701 n. 32 (Sth Cir. 1983)

(same); Duke v. University of Texas at El Paso, 663 F.2d

§22, 526 (Sth Cir.1981) (same); Beisler v. Commissioner,

814 F.2d 1304, 1307 (9th Cir.1987) (‘We should avoid an

interpretation of the statute that renders any part of it

superfluous and does not give effect to all of the words used

by Congress.’’).

The majority maintains that it has not deprived the alien

exemption provision of all meaning because another negative

inference may be drawn from the provision:” that aliens

are covered by the statute when employed within the United

States. The majority relies for this proposition on Espinoza

77 The majority's assertion that the provision still has meaning

because it means what it says--that aliens employed abroad are

not covered--is purely semantic. As stated above, the alien

exemption provision is completely superfluous if the statute does

not cover any individual employed abroad. There is no

difference between interpreting # statute to render # provision

superfluous and interpreting # statute to deprive # provision of

meaning: Semantic distinctions aside, both violate the canons of

statutory construction. See cases cited supra.

Appendix B an

- —>

v. Farah Mfg. Co., 414 U.S. 86, 95, 94 S.Ct. 334, 339-40

38 L.Ed.2d 287 (1973), in which the Supreme Court held

that Title VII applied to aliens employed in the United States

aliens from discrimination on the basis of race, religion

color, sex, or national origin, but did not make alienage itsel}

a prohibited classification. ond

The majority’s reliance on Espinoza is misplaced. The

Supreme Court does not rely solely on the negative inference

would therefore be erroneous to conclude that the Supreme

Court's passing reference in Espinoza to the alien exemption

provision was intended to attach only one negative inference

to the proviso.

A negative inference drawn from the alien exemption

Provision was not necessary to bring aliens within the scope

of Title VII's domestic protections. As the Supreme Court

notes in Espinoza, the use of the term ‘‘individual’’ in

defining “‘employee’’ is sufficient to bring aliens within the

statute's coverage. Id. Any construction of the term

individual’’--as distinct from ‘‘citizen’’--to exclude aliens

would be inconsistent with principles of equal protection.”

While the precise level of scrutiny applied to classifications

based on alienage has varied,” it is well established that

aliens are “‘persons’’ within the meaning of the fifth and

28 —_—

Principles of equal protection are, of course incorporated |

, ’ into

the due process clause of the fifth amendment and therefore are

applicable to acts of the federal government. Bolling v. Sharpe

347 U.S. 497, 74 S.Ct. 693, 98 L.Ed. 884 (1954) .

29 . ; —

See L. Tribe, American Constitutional Law 1544-53 (1988).

Appendix B p. 43

Title VII when employed in the United States, the majority's

contention that this is the sole meaning to be attached to the

that citizens are employees, it would be absolutely

unnecessary to state that Title VII does not apply to aliens

employed abroad unless the statute did apply to U.S. citizens

employed abroad. Again, the majority's analysis renders the

Congress’ intent to apply Title VII extraterritorially is even

more apparent if the alien exemption clause is read in light

of the contemporary case law regarding the extraterritorial

application of U.S. labor laws and the application of U.S.

labor laws to foreign nationals. The Supreme Court appeared

at the time to regard the application of U.S. law to foreign

nationals as a primary source of conflict with other naons.

See cases discussed supra in section II.

wo Eaual : —— ; 1 in their hicati

= . . . . * .

to all persons within the terntonal junsdiction of the United

States. Yick Wo, 118 U.S. at 369, 6 S.Ct. at 1070-71; see also

note 28 supra.

Appendix B p. 44

Congress’ statement that the alien exemption provision was

intended to avoid conflicts of law is perfectly logical in the

context of this case law: Congress could reasonably have

concluded that exempting aliens employed abroad would

eliminate any obstacles to protecting U.S. citizens employed

abroad by U.S. corporations.

Taken together, the language and legislative history of Title

VII evidence a clear intent of Congress to apply Title VII to

U.S. citizens employed abroad by U.S. corporations. This

showing is sufficient to overcome the presumption against

extraterritoriality. See Mitchell, 553 F.2d at 1002.

IV. Conclusion

Although the issue presented in this case --whether Title VII

applies to U.S. citizens employed abroad by U.S.

corporations--appears simple on its face, its resolution turns

on a complex interaction between international law and

principles of statutory construction.

The majority errs in attempting to resolve the complex

issues raised in this case through a single instrument of

process, the majority distorts the presumption and, in the

name of judicial deference to the legislative branch, defeats

congressional intent to apply Title VII ex-

In order to more carefully evaluate whether the evidence of

congressional intent presented in this case is sufficient to

Support an exercise of extraterritorial jurisdiction, I have

employed a two-step inquiry.

The first inquiry is whether extraterritorial application of

Title VII would violate section 403 of the Restatement which

provides that as a matter of international law, a state may not

exercise its jurisdiction to prescribe laws affecting persons or

Appendix B p. 45

Applying the factors listed in the Restatement, it is clear

that extraterritorial application of Title VII would not in

protections would extend to U.S. citizens employed abroad

by U.S. corporations.

While the exercise of extraterritorial jurisdiction necessarily

raises sensitive issues of international law, U.S. employers

should not be allowed to escape liability for discrimination by

Appendix B p. 46

§ 701 et seq., as amended, 42 U.S.C.A. § 2000e et seq.

James Field Tyson, Neal H. Paster, Houston, Tex., for

Appendix C p. 1

Lawrence Z. Lorber, John E. Parauda, Breed, Abbott &

Morgan, Washington, D.C., for amicus curiae ASPA.

Cecil J. Olmstead, Steptoe & Johnson, Washington, D.C.,

for amicus curiae Rule of Law Committee.

Pamela S. Karlan, Univ. of Va., School of Law,

Charlottesville, Va., for amicus curiae NAACP.

Michael M. Mulder, Thomas R. Meites Bartley F.

Goldberg, Chicago, Ill., for amicus curiae Wm. Ozolin, et

W. BUGENE DAVIS, Circuit Judge:

We sit en banc in this case to consider a single question:

whether Title VII regulates the employment practices of U.S.

employers which employ U.S. citizens outside the United

States. We affirm the district court's order dismissing this

primary concem of a foreign country should not be attributed

to Congress in the absence of a clearly expressed purpose.”

id. at 286, 69 S.Ct. at 578 (emphasis added).

1.

Boureslan argues first that if we do not attach his negative

i the alien exemption provision, we strip the

Court in Espinoza v. Farrah Mfg. Co., 414 U.S. 86, 95, 94

S.Ct. 334, 340, 38 L.Ed.2d 287 (1973), determined that this

provision reflects a congressional intent to provide Title VII

coverage to aliens employed within the United States. Thus,

we remain persuaded that we need not choose to either attach

Boureslan’s negative inference to this provision or strip the

provision of all meaning. Even if we decline to give the alien

exemption provision the interpretation appellant seeks, the

provision is still a meaningful and useful part of the Act.

2.

the Civil Rights Act of 1964 to ‘‘United States’’, ‘‘states’’

and ‘state proceedings.’’ See Boureslan, 857 F.2d at 1019.

See 42 U.S.C. §§ 2000eS(c), (d), (e). If Congress had

intended the Act to apply in foreign countries, we would

Appendix C p. 5

expect Congress to have been even more careful to address

conflicts with foreign discrimination laws. Yet the statute

says nothing about potential conflicts with foreign

discrimination laws.

3.

The Act is also curiously silent in a number of areas where

Congress ordinarily speaks if it wants to extend its legislation

beyond our borders. First, the Act fails to address venue

pivblems that arise with foreign violations. Cf. 42 U.S.C. §

2000e-5(f)(3) (establishing venue ‘‘in any judicial district in

the State in which the unlawful employment practice is

alleged to have been committed. . ..’’). Next, the Equal

Employment Opportunity Council’s investigatory powers are

limited to evidence obtained in the United States and its

territories. 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-9.

Finally, if we give extraterritorial reach to Title VII, the

plain language of the Act would necessarily extend that title

to govern the employment relationship betigpen foreign

employers, and their American employees anywhere in the

world. See § 2000e(b). We say this because nothing in the

Act exempts foreign employers and our courts have held that

foreign employers engaged in commerce in the United S.ates

are employers under Title VII. See, e.g., Spiess v. C. ltoh &

Co. (America), Inc., 643 F.2d 353 (Sth Cir. 1981). We doubt

that Congress ever intended to impose Title VII on a foreign

employer who had the grace to employ an American citizen

in its own country.

4.

As the Court stated as recently as January 1989, when it

desires to do so, Congress knows how to give extraterritorial

effect to one of its statutes. Argentine Republic v. Amerada

Hess Shipping Co., _ U.S. __, 109 S.Ct. 683, 691, 102

L.Ed.2d 818, 832 (989). A good example is the Age

Discrimination and Employment Act which was amended in

Appendix C p. 6

1984 to give the Act extraterritorial application. 29 U.S.C.

§ 630(f) (‘“The term ‘employee’ includes any individual who

is a citizen of the United States employed by an employer in

a workplace in a foreign country.’’). See also The

Comprehensive Anti-Apartheid Act of 1986, 22 U.S.C. §§

5001-5116 (1979, Supp. 1989); The Export Administration

Act, 50 U.S.C. app. §§ 2401-2420 (Supp. 1989). Congress

demonstrated in the above acts its awareness of the need to

make a clear statement of extraterritorial application, address

the concerns of conflicting foreign law, and provide the usual

nuts-and-bolts provisions for enforcing those rights.

S.

In essence, Boureslan asks this court to conclude that

Congress balanced Title VII's important goals against the

foreign sovereignty concerns that underlie the presumption

against extraterritoriality, considered the implications of

application abroad and then addressed these concerns by

inviting courts to read between the lines. For the reasons

stated above, we cannot accept this conclusion and hold that

Title VII does not reflect the necessary clear expression of

congressional intent to extend its reach beyond our borders.

AFFIRMED.

KING, Circuit Judge, with whom REAVLEY, POLITZ,

JOHNSON and WILLIAMS, Circuit Judges, join dissenting:

I agree with the majority that the sole question presented in

this en banc rehearing is whether Congress acted to extend

the protections of Title VII to United States citizens

employed in other countries by United States employers. |

believe that a fair and reasonable reading of this civil rights

statute compels the conclusion that Congress did, in fact,

intend Title VII's broad remedial goals to encompass, and

eradicate, an American employer's discriminatory

employment practices against a United States citizen, even if

the acts constituting such discrimination were carried out on

Appendix C p. 7

foreign soil. Therefore, I must respectfully dissent from the

majority’s holding, which has affirmed the district court's

dismissal of appellant Boureslan’s action.

The Alien Exemption Clause

It is undisputed that Congress has the power to extend the

protection of its laws extraterritorially when it is regulating

the conduct of United States nationals. See, e.g., Steele v.

Bulova Watch Co., 344 U.S. 280, 282-83, 73 S.Ct. 252,

253, 97 L.Ed. 319 (1952); United States v. Mitchell, 553

F.2d 996, 1001 (Sth Cir.1977). In determining whether

Congress intended to exercise this power when it enacted

Title VII, we are guided by a presumption that acts of Con-

gress are intended to apply only within the territory of the

United States unless there is a clear expression of

congressional intent to the contrary. Foley Bros., Inc. v.

Filardo, 336 U.S. 281, 285, 69 S.Ct. 575, 577, 93 L.Ed.

680 (1949); Mitchell, 553 F.2d at 1002.'2

. There is a second, and distinct, presumption that Congress does

not intend to violate international law. A statute may not be

construed to violate international law unless Congress has by an

“affirmative expression” of its intent, required such a construction.

McCulloch v. Sociedad Nacional de Marineros de Honduras, 372

U.S. 10, 21-22, 83 S.Ct. 671, 677, 9 L.Bd.2d 547 (1963);

Weinberger v. Rossi, 456 U.S. 25, 32, 102 $.Ct. 1510, 1516, 71

L.Bd.2d 715 (1982). As I explained in considerable detail in my

panel dissent, extraterritorial application of Title VII under the

circumstances before us would not violate international law;

therefore, this presumption does nor apply in the instant case. See

Boureslan, 857 F.2d at 1021-31 (King, J., dissenting).

The less stringent standard of the presumption against extraterritonal

application of a federal statute does not require an explicit, affirmative

statement of Congress. instead, the Supreme Court has said that the

presumption “is a valid means whereby unexpressed congressional in-

tent may be ascertained.” Foley Bros., 336 U.S. at 285, 69 $.Ct. at

577 (emphasis added). The question involved in our determination 1s

what showing of congressional intent is sufficiently clear to overcome

Appendix C p. 8

A clear expression of Congress’s intent regarding the

extraterritorial reach of Title VII is found in section 702 of

the statute the alien exemption clause. 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-1.

This section provides that Title VII ‘‘shall not apply to an

employer with respect to the employment of aliens outside

any State.’’ Jd. If Congress had not envisioned an

extraterritorial application of Title VII, a specific provision

exempting only aliens from such coverage would not have

been needed. Likewise, if Congress had intended in section

702 to explicitly reject extraterritorial application, it would

have used one of the statute’s general terms: ‘‘individuals’’

or ** ." See, e.g., 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2 (prohibiting

discrimination against ‘‘any individual’’ with respect to his

or her employment). Compare Fair Labor Standards Act, 29

U.S.C. § 213(f) (excluding from FLSA coverage ‘‘any em-

ployee’’ whose services are performed in a foreign country).

Canons of statutory construction require that we interpret a

statute ‘‘to give effect, if possible, to every word Congress

used."’ Reiter v. Sonotone Corp., 442 U.S. 330, 339, 99

S.Ct. 2326, 2331, 60 L.Ed.2d 931 (1979); see also Ar-

gentine Republic v. Amerada Hess Shipping Corp., __ U.S.

__ , 109 S.Ct. 683, 691, 102 L.Bd.2d 818 (1989) (refusing

to construe statute to render its terms nugatory); Beisler v.

Commissioner, 814 F.2d 1304, 1307 (9th Cir. 1987) (“We

should avoid an interpretation of the statute that renders any

part of it superfluous and does not give effect to all of the

words used by Congress.’’). The logical and necessary in-

terpretation of section 702 is that, by specifically providing

an exemption for employers regarding the extraterritorial em-

ployment of ‘‘aliens,’’ without providing a similar exemption

as to the corresponding category of ‘‘citizens,’’ Congress

intended that American employees would be covered under

Title VII.

the presumption against extraterntonal application.

Appendix C p. 9

In response to this common-sense interpretation of section

702, the majority relies on two alternative interpretations.

First, the majority suggests that the alien exemption provision

means simply that aliens employed outside the United States

are not covered by Title VII. I do not contend, of course,

that section 702 does not mean what it says. However, such

a narrow reading of Congress's language, although

superficially appealing, is unreasonable because it renders the

provision purposeless: if no individual was intended to be

covered extraterritorially by Title VII, a specific provision

excluding only aliens would be superfluous.

Next, the majority points to a parallel inference that one

may draw from section 702: that aliens employed within the

United States are covered by the Act. While this inference

also follows logically from the language of the statute, it is

in itself redundant because use of the term ‘“‘individual’’ in

defining ‘‘employee’’ is sufficient to bring aliens residing in

the United States within the statute’s coverage. 42 U.S.C. §

2000e(f). See Espinoza v. Farah Mfg. Co., 414 U.S. 86, 95,

94 S.Ct. 334, 340, 38 L.Bd.2d 287 (1973). Indeed,

Congress could not have provided otherwise without violating

the equal protection principles implicit in the fifth

amendment. See Yick Wo v. Hopkins, 118 U.S. 356, 6 S.Ct.

1064, 30 L.Ed. 220 (1886); Bolling v. Sharpe, 347 U.S.

497, 74 S.Ct. 693, 98 L.Ed. 884 (1954). Moreover, if

Congress's sole purpose in the alien exemption clause was to

provide coverage to aliens residing in the United States, the

more logical location in the statute to express this intent

would have been the definition section, where Congress de-

fined ‘‘employee,"’ see 42 U.S.C. § 2000e(f), not the

provision entitled ‘‘Exemption,’’ where Congress provided

for the limited exceptions to the broad remedial goals of Title

Appendix C p. 10

United States are covered under Title VII is the “‘correct’’

interpretation of Congress's intent in enacting section 702.

U.S. at 95, 94 $.Ct. at 340. Not faced with the question of

extraterritorial application, the Court had no need to discuss

the mirror inference that is reflected in section 702, although

the Court's rationale regarding statutory interpretation

supports the derivation of such a legitimate inference.

Moreover, the Court pointed ovt that Congress's intent in

Title VII to include aliens could also be derived from its use

of the term “‘any individual’’ in section 703, id., supporting

my point that section 702 would be redundant if the Espinoza

inference were the only reason for its existence. Thus, the

inference that the Supreme Court drew from section 702 in

Espinoza does not preclude, but rather supports, the equally

permissible--and, in fact, more reasonable--inference that

Congress intended Title VII to protect United States citizens

employed outside the United States.

Although the legislative history of section 702 is not

2 As a matter of statutory construction, every part of the statute 1s

to be considered, including subbeadings that Congress has placed

on the various sections, to arrive at the statute's clear and total

meaning. House v. Commissioner, 453 F.2d 982, 987 (Sth

Cir. 1972); see also Hardin v. City Title & Escrow Co., 797 F.2d

1037, 1039 (D.C.Cir. 1986) (a descriptive subtitle that was part

of an act as written by Congress constitutes an indication of

congressional intent) (unanimous opimon of Judges MacKinnon,

Bork, and Scalia).

Appendix C p. ll

remarkably illuminating, I have found nothing in the

published records that contradicts my interpretation of the

provision’s extraterritorial language. Rather, it seems clear

that section 702 is a ‘‘limited exemption’’ for employers and

that ‘‘the intent of the [alien] exemption is to remove

conflicts of law which might otherwise exist between the

United States and a foreign nation in the employment of

aliens outside the United States by an American enterprise.”’

Civil Rights: Hearings on H.R. 7152 Before the House

Committee on the Judiciary, 88th Cong., Ist Sess. 2303

(1963) (testimony of Representative Roosevelt explaining

provisions of H.R. 405, which was incorporated into Title

VII of H.R. 7152) (emphasis added).* If Title VII was not

intended to apply extraterritorially, Congress would not have

been concerned with conflicts of law ‘‘which might otherwise

exist.’

> The context of this legislative history is explained in my panel

dissent, 857 F.2d at 1032 n. 26. Arguing that we may not

“substitute legislative history for the language of the Act,” the

panel majority dismissed this “snippet” of legislative history as

insignificant. Jd. at 1018, 1020. Contrary to the majority's

characterization of my position, | am not attempting to rely on

legislative history to compensate for a lack of statutory language.

As explained in this dissenting opinion, | believe the only

reasonable interpretation of the plain language of section 702 is

that Congress intended an extraterritorial scope for Title VII as

between United States citizens and United States employers who

are otherwise covered under the Act. In other words, an

“exemption” must necessarily be an exemption from coverage that

all individuals covered under section 703 would otherwise enjoy.

The legislative history in this case simply serves to establish that

Congress did not mistakenly or clumsily include language in the

statute that is superfluous or nonsensical.

The administrative interpretation of Title VII also supports its

extraterritorial application. Intervenor-appellant, the Equal

Employment Opportunity Commission ("EEOC"), the adminis-

Appendix C p. 12

er ee eee Tee te

Section 702 obviously reflects Congress’s concern that the

extraterritorial coverage of aliens under Title VII would

infringe the sovereignty of other nations, in that the United

States would be imposing its laws on foreign nationals

working outside the United States. The effect on foreign

jurisdictional sovereignty is far less pronounced, and in some

cases could be negligible, when extraterritorial application of

Title VII is limited to cases involving United States citizens

employed by ‘‘American enterprises.’ This relationship

reflects an area where concerns for international sovereignty,

comity, and conflicts of law--concerns that explain the alien

trative agency charged by Congress with the responsibility for

interpreting and enforcing Title VII, has adopted the position that

Title VII applies to American citizens employed by United States

firms outside the United States. See, e.g., EEOC Dec. No. 85-16,

2 Empl.Prac.Guide (CCH) ¢ 6857, at 7070-75 (Sept. 16, 1985);

Letter from William A. Carey, EEOC General Counsel, to Sen.

Frank Church (Mar. 14, 1975), reprinted in Note, Civil Rights,

Employment and the Multinational Corporations, 10 Cornell Int’!

L.J. 87, 102-03 (1976) (“If Section 702 is to have any meaning at

all, ... it is necessary to construe it as expressing a Congressional

intent to extend the coverage of Title VII to include employment

conditions of citizens in overseas operations of domestic

corporations at the same time it excludes aliens of the domestic

corporation from the operation of the statute.").

Likewise, the Department of Justice has taken the position that the

statute applies extraterritorially. In 1975 during legislative debates

over a proposed prohibition on participation in foreign boycotts

requiring religion-based employment discrimination, then-Assistant

Attorney General Antonin Scalia testified that Title VII already

applied to the employment of United States citizens by covered

employers anywhere in the world. See Discriminatory Arab Pressure

on U.S. Business: Hearings Before the Subcomm. on International

Trade and Commerce of the House Comm. on International Relations,

94th Cong., Ist Sess. 88 (1975) (statement of Antonin Scalia,

Assistant Attorney General), quoted in Note, Equal Employment

Opportunity for Americans Abroad, 62 N.Y.U.L.Rev. 1288, 1291

(1987).

Appendix C p. 13

exemption provision--are outweighed by Congress's com-

mitment: in Title VII to protect the personal right of all

individuals to equal employment opportunities.’ See

Boureslan, 857 F.2d at 1028-30 (King, J., dissenting).

An interpretation of section 702 that extends coverage of

Title VII to citizens employed by United States employers in

other countries, while denying such coverage to aliens, is

supported by the Supreme Court’s statutory analysis in Foley

Bros., where the Court interpreted another federal statute,

the Eight Hour Law, to provide only domestic coverage. 336

U.S. at 285, 69 S.Ct. at 577. The majority cites Foley Bros.

as a ‘‘closely analogous’’ case to illustrate the presumption

against extraterritorial application of a federal statute. A

more careful analysis of Foley Bros. indicates, however, that

the Court found in that case that the Eight Hour Law, as

opposed to Title VII, contained no language that gave any

> Congress explained that Title VII was necessary:

to remove obstructions to the free flow of interstate and

foreign commerce and to insure the complete and full

enjoyment by all persons of the rights, privileges, and immuni-

ties secured and protected by the Constitution. House Report

on Civil Rights Act of 1964, H.R. Rep. No. 914, 88th Cong.,

Ist Sess., reprinted in 1964 U.S.Code Cong. & Ad.News

2391, 2402.

® | disagree that a statute such as the Eight Hour Law is “closely

analogous” to Title VII. Labor laws regulating economic

conditions of employment or labor-management relations involve

different legislative policies--more distinctly domestic policies--and

create greater risks o* insulting the sovereignty of a foreign nation

than does a civil rights statute such as Title VII, which reflects the

more universal concerns for individual rights and liberties. See

generally Note, Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the

Multinational Enterprise, 73 Geo. L.J. 1465, 1480-83 (1985); see

also Dehner, Multinational Enterprise and Racial Non-Dis-

crimination: U.S. Enforcement of an International Human Right,

15 Harv.int’! L.J. 71, 91-94, 100 (1974).

Appendix C p. 14

indication of a congressional purpose to extend the law’s

coverage extraterritorially. The Court relied heavily on the

fact that the statute drew no distinction between citizens and

aliens. An extraterritorial application, therefore, would

necessarily involve foreign national laborers, thereby creating

a risk that the United States would intrude upon an area of

‘‘local concern’’ to foreign nations.’ The Court explained:

No distinction is drawn between laborers who are aliens

and those who are citizens of the United States. Unless we

were to read such a distinction into the statute we should be

forced to conclude, under respondent’s reasoning, that

Congress intended to regulate the working hours of a

citizen of Iran who chanced to be employed on a public

work of the United States in that foreign land.... The ab-

sence of any distinction between citizen and alien labor

indicates to us that the statute was intended to apply only to

those places where the labor conditions of both citizen and

alien employees are a probable concern of Congress. Such

places do not include foreign countries such as Iraq and

Iran.

Id. at 286, 69 S.Ct. at 578.

By explicitly exempting aliens employed abroad from the

scope of Title VII, Congress addressed the factor that the Su-

The majority quotes the following language from Foley Bros. :

“An intention so to regulate labor conditions which are the

primary concern of a foreign country should not be attributed to

Congress in the absence of a clearly expressed purpose.” 336 U.S.

at 286, 69 S.Ct. at 578. In this quoted passage, the labor

conditions of “primary concern" to foreign nations refers to the

employment of aliens by United States enterprises abroad--the very

concern eliminated by the alien exemption provision in Title VII.

The Supreme Court does not imply in Foley Bros. --and it is

disingenuous of the majority to suggest--that the labor conditions

of United States citizens employed abroad by United States cor-

porations are “the primary concern of a foreign country."

Appendix C p. 15

preme Court had identified as most likely to violate

principles of foreign soverc.gnty in the extraterritorial

application of United States labor laws. I find it compelling

that Title VII's alien exemption provision is derived from a

fair employment bill that first appeared in April of 1949,

H.R. 4453, 81st Cong., ist Sess., only a few weeks after the

Supreme Court’s decision in Foley Bros., and that the

purpose ascribed to the exemption by the House Committee

on Education and Labor some 14 years later tracks the

rationale of the Foley Bros. decision. Civil Rights: Hearings

on H.R. 7152 Before the House Committee on the Judiciary,

88th Cong., Ist Sess. 2303 (1963).

Appellee Aramco’s broad assertion that no other United

States labor law has been construed to apply abroad ignores

the fact that no other labor law has contained a specific

provision that addressed the concern raised in Foley Bros.

Only Title VII provides an exemption from extraterritorial

application based on nationality. Moreover, in light of the

1984 amendment to the Age Discrimination in Employment

Act,® 29 U.S.C. § 621 et seg., (‘“‘ADEA’’), it cannot be

maintained that Congress has consistently declined to protect

the rights of American workers employed abroad, or that

such protection does not comport with federal policies.

Title VII ‘‘Nuts and Bolts’’

Although failing to point to any statutory provisions that

would preclude extraterritorial application of Title VII, the

majority argues that the ‘‘focus’’ and the ‘‘nuts and bolts’’

provisions of the Act are ‘‘inconsistent’’ with a congressional

intent to provide extraterritorial coverage to United States

* See 29 U.S.C. § 630(f) ("The term “employee” includes any

individual who is a citizen of the United States employed by an

employer in a workplace in a foreign country.").

Appendix C p. 16

citizens. Looking first to the domestic focus of Title VII, I

agree with the majority that the Act and its legislative history

make several references to problems of employment

discrimination within the United States and to state laws

governing employment practices. Such references are not

inconsistent with the exercise of extraterritorial jurisdiction

based on nationality. The impetus for Congress to enact Title

VII, as is true for most federal legislation, was to remedy a

perceived domestic problem. Congress’s intent to apply the

statute extraterritorially is a separate issue, and is clearly

evidenced in the alien exemption provision. In addition, as I

noted in my panel dissent, the effects of employment

discrimination suffered by United States citizens while

employed in other countries by United States employers are

sufficiently pervasive to be felt in this country. Boureslan,

857 F.2d at 1027. I also noted that Congress was not con-

cerned solely with the domestic effects of discrimination, but

also with the image of the United States in the international

community. Jd. at 1027-28.

The geographic references in Title VII that relate to the

Commerce Clause apply to limit the scope of the term

‘‘employer’’ to those engaged in an industry affecting

commerce as that term is defined in the statute. See 42

U.S.C. § 2000e. However, this traditional Commerce Clause

language does not by itself evidence an intent to restrict the

geographic scope of the statute, but rather serves as a

*“*nexus’” requirement, providing a basis for Congress’s

exercise of power under the Commerce Clause. When

Congress amended the ADEA in 1984 to provide explicitly

for extraterritorial application, it did not alter the virtually

identical Commerce Clause language found in that statute.

See 29 U.S.C. § 630. Rather, it exempted foreign employers

not controlled by United States employers. Thus, Congress

clearly does not view the Commerce Clause language as a

geographic restriction on the scope of an employment

discrimination statute.

Appendix C p. 17

The majority also argues that Congress could not have

intended Title VII to apply extraterritorially because

Congress failed to exempt foreign employers that hire United

States citizens. It is true that the amendments to the ADEA

addressed this concern’? and that an attempt to apply the

statute to foreign corporations employing United States

citizens abroad could offend the sovereignty of other nations.

The legislative history explaining the alien exemption

provision of Title VII refers explicitly, however, to ‘‘an

American enterprise.’’ It follows that Congress intended Title

VII to apply extraterritorially only to American employers.

However, even if the Commerce Clause language to which

the majority refers, 29 U.S.C. § 2000e(b), is the only

limitation on ‘‘employers’’ subject to the statute’s

extraterritorial application, Congress has elsewhere provided

an equal or broader jurisdictional grant in a statute and left

to the courts the task of applying Commerce Clause analysis

and principles of international law to determine whether there

is an adequate basis for the exercise of jurisdiction over the

acts of a particular defendant occurring outside the territory

of the United States. See, e.g., American Rice, Inc. v.

Arkansas Rice Growers Cooperative Ass’n, 701 F.2d 408

(Sth Cir. 1983) (Lanham Act); Laker Airways Lid v. Sabena,

Belgian World Airlines, 731 F.2d 909 (D.C.Cir.1984)

% See Age Discrimination in Employment Act 29 U.S.C. §

623(g)2) ("The prohibitions of this section shall not apply where

the employer is a foreign person not controlled by an American

j r."). This provision was apparently added on the

suggestion of the EEOC. See Age Discrimination and Overseas

Americans, 1983: Hearing Before the Subcomm. on Aging of the

Senate Comm. on Labor and Human Resources 98th Cong., Ist

Sess. 5 (1983).

Appendix C p. 18

(Sherman Act).'°

The majority next points to Title VII enforcement

provisions relating to state law conflicts, see 42 U.S.C. §§

2000e-5(c), (d), (e), arguing that ‘‘[i]f Congress had intended

the Act to apply in foreign countries, we would expect

Congress to have been even more careful to address conflicts

with foreign discrimination laws.’’ Looking again to the

amended ADEA, which contains a similar federal-state

relationship clause, 29 U.S.C. § 633, I note that Congress

saw no need to add a provision addressing conflicts with

overlapping foreign laws that prohibit discrimination in

employment when Congress provided for the ADEA’s

extraterritorial scope. Congress did, however, amend the

ADEA’s ‘‘BFOQ’’ provision, specifying that actions

otherwise prohibited under the Act shall not be unlawful if

compliance with the ADEA’s provisions ‘‘would cause such

employer, or a corporation controlled by such employer, to

violate the laws of the country in which such workplace is

located.’ 29 U.S.C. § 623(f)(1). This circuit has already

interpreted the BFOQ provision of Title VII in this fashion.

Kern v. Dynalectron Corp., S77 F.Supp. 1196

(N.D.Tex.1983) (assuming without addressing the

extraterritorial coverage of Title VII), aff'd on basis of dis-

trict court opinion, 746 F.2d 810 (Sth Cir. 1984)."

10 In most cases, a court would probably find no jurisdiction over

a foreign employer's extraterritorial practices, or would decline 2

to exercise jurisdiction, based on the same principles of

international law discussed in my panel dissent. See Boureslan.

857 F.2d at 1025-31. The only question before this en banc

court, however, is whether Title VII's protections apply to a

United States citizen employed abroad by an American

employer.

'! In Kern, & United States helicopter company required all its

pilots who flew from Jeddah to Mecca, Saudi Arabia, to be

Moslem. The defendant company argued that religion was a

Appendix C p. 19

The majority finds it curious that Congress made no special

provisions in Title VII either for the venue of cases arising

from extraterritorial violations or for the investigatory

powers of the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

(‘‘EEOC’’) in such cases. First, Title VII provides for venue

not only in the district in which the violation was committed,

but also in either the district where relevant employment

records are administered, or the district where the aggrieved

employee would have worked but for the unlawful

employment practice. 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(f)(3). Venue in

one of the latter two districts would usually be available in

the situation--certainly not uncommon--involving the tempo-

rary foreign assignment of an employee advancing on the

corporate track of an American multinational corporation. In

addition, Title VII provides that if an employer is not

‘‘found’’ within any of the first three specified districts,

venue is proper ‘‘in the judicial district in which the

respondent has his principal office.’’ Id. An American

enterprise will generally have a principal office in the United

States."

Second, the geographical limitations on the EEOC’s

investigative powers--in both the original Act and in the 1972

amendments--apply only to the EEOC’s power to compel

compliance with administrative procedures. See 42 U.S.C. §

2000e-9 (incorporating 29 U.S.C. § 161, which allows the

EEOC to compel the appearance of witnesses and the

bona fide occupational qualification because Saudi law prohibited

non-Mosiems from entering the-holy area of Mecca under

penalty of death. We affirmed the district court’s finding that the

employer had not violated Title VII.

12 It is not necessary for purposes of this appeal to delineate the

circumstances under which an American parent corporation will

exercise sufficient control over its foreign subsidiary so that the

enterprise will constitute an American employer.

Appendix C p. 20

~~ — .

production of documents from anywhere within the United

States or its territories). There is nothing in Title VII that

precludes the EEOC from attempting to obtain the

employer’s voluntary cooperation in investigation and

conciliation efforts.'’ It would be reasonable for Congress

to conclude that United States citizens are entitled to the

protections of Title VII abroad, but to decline to authorize

the EEOC to expend the time or resources necessary to

compel compliance with an investigation of a case in which

documents and witnesses are located in other countries.

Furthermore, American enterprises likely maintain records in

their home offices as well as abroad, or exercise sufficient

control over their foreign operations to request the production

of witnesses and documents through internal channels. Thus,

the EEOC clearly has the power to subpoena the home office

for evidence necessary to an investigation.

The majority finally cites the ADEA as a good example for

the proposition that Congress knows how to give

extraterritorial effect to a statute when it desires to do so.

What the majority fails to mention is that at the time

Congress amended the ADEA, courts had consistently held

that the ADEA did not apply extraterritorially. See e.g.,

Cleary v. United States Lines, Inc., 728 F.2d 607 (3rd

Cir. 1984); Zahourek v. Arthur Young & Co., 567 F.Supp.

1453 (D.Colo. 1983), aff'd, 750 F.2d 827 (10th Cir. 1984).

These cases had distinguished the ADEA from Title VII

because the ADEA incorporates the geographic restrictions

a

The ADEA, unlike Title VII, incorporates the enforcement

provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act, 29 U.S.C. § 201 et

seq. Under the relevant provision in the ADEA, the EEOC’s

enforcement powers extend only to cooperation with state

agencies and voluntary conciliation attempts. See 29 U.S.C. §

626. Congress left the EEOC enforcement provisions of the

ADEA unchanged when it explicitly provided for extraterritorial

application of the ADEA in 1984.

13

Appendix C p. 21

of the Fair Labor Standards Act,’* which Title VII does not,

and contains no alien exemption clause such as is found in

section 702 of Title VII. See Cleary, 728 F.2d at 609;

Zahourek, 567 F.Supp. at 1456; see also Pfeiffer v. Wm,

Wrigley Jr., Co., 755 F.2d 554, 559 (7th Cir. 1985). Every

court previously faced with the issue of Title VII’s scope

either had concluded that the alien exemption provision

evidenced an intent to apply the Act extraterritorially, or had

simply assumed iurisdiction without discussion. See Bryant

v. International Schools Serv., Inc., 502 F.Supp. 472

(D.N.J. 1980), rev’d on other grounds, 675 F.2d 562, 577

n. 23 (3d Cir.1982); Seville v. Martin Marietta Corp., 638

F.Supp. 590 (D.Md.1986) (adopting Bryant’s reasoning);

Love v. Pullman Co., 13 Fair Empl.Prac. Cas. (BNA) 423,

426 n. 4 (D.Colo.1976), aff'd on other grounds, 569 F.2d

1074 (10th Cir. 1978).

In amending the ADEA, Congress also had before it the

testimony of the EEOC that Title VII applied abroad. See

Age Discrimination and Overseas Americans, 1983: Hearing

Before the Subcomm. on Aging of the Senate Comm. on

Labor and Human Resources, 98th Cong., Ist Sess. 3

(1983). Senator Charles Grassley, Chairman of the

Subcommittee on Aging of the Committee on Labor and

Human Resources, and sponsor of the bil! extending the

ADEA to citizens employed abroad, stated when he

introduced the ADEA amendment that legislation was

necessary to correct the unintended ‘‘anomaly’’ of applying

the ADEA only domestically, while Title VII was applied

both home and abroad. 129 Cong.Rec. $17,018 (daily ed.

Nov. 18, 1983). Thus, there is every indication that when

Congress amended the ADEA in 1984, it intended simply to

14 Section 626(b) of the ADEA incorporates 29 U.S.C. § 213(f)

of the Fair Labor Standards Act, which excludes “any employee

whose services during the workweek are performed in a work-

place within a foreign country."

Appendix C p. 22

make the scope of the Act coextensive with that of Title

VII."* It would otherwise seem anomalous that Congress

would desire_the elimination of extraterritorial workplace

discrimination based only on an employee’s age, and not on

an employee’s race, color, religion, sex, or national

origin--categories that have traditionally enjoyed heightened

constitutional scrutiny and great legislative concern as

impediments to equal opportunities.

International Law

In his panel majority opinion, Judge Davis rejects the

evidence of congressional intent to apply Title VII

extraterritorially as inadequate, referring to policy consider-

ations--including religious and cultural differences with other

nations--that purportedly militate against such an application

of the statute. See Boureslan, 857 F.2d at 1020. Unless,

however, the conflicts of law to which the majority refers

rise to the level of a violation of international law they are

not a sufficient basis on which to reject categorically the

clear evidence of congressional intent existing in this case.

As I explained in my panel dissent, extraterritorial

application of Title VII would not violate international law.

See id. at 1024-31. I will not here repeat that lengthy

discussion. Briefly, applying the test set forth in section 403

of the Restatement (Third) of Foreign Relations Law, it

clearly is not unreasonable for the United States to require

that American companies comply with Title VII in their

employment of United States citizens in other countries: The

United States has a strong and legitimate interest in

See also the report of the Committee on Labor and Human

Resources, which describes the amendment of the ADEA to

provide for extraterritorial coverage of United States citizens as

a “minor change{]" in the Act. S.Rep. No. 98-467, 98th Cong.,

2d Sess. 2 ( 1984), reprinted in 1984 U.S.Code Cong. &

Ad.News 2974, 2975.

15

Appendix C p. 23

protecting citizens employed abroad by American

corporations from discrimination in employment; Title VII is

consistent with the norms of the international community,

which has adopted numerous accords condemning dis-

crimination, including discrimination in employment;

American citizens have a legitimate expectation that they will

not lose the protection of Title VII when they accept a

position with the foreign office of an American enterprise;

and the potential for conflicts with foreign law are minimized

by the fact that the statute applies only to United States

nationals and by the BFOQ Ccefense that has been interpreted

in an opinion endorsed by this court to exempt an employer

from liability where a violation of Title VII is compelled by

foreign law. See Kern, 577 F.Supp. at 1201.

This is not to say that the exercise of extraterritorial

jurisdiction under Title VII would be appropriate in every

case. However, the fact that we can hypothesize situations in

which a conflict would arise does not mean that the statute

must be construed so that it never applies abroad. ‘‘Because

Congress ... can neither anticipate nor resolve all conflicts

with foreign jurisdiction,’’ it necessarily relies upon the

judiciary to minimize conflicts of jurisdiction by exercising

a jurisdictional rule of reason in individual cases. Laker Air-

ways, 731 F.2d at 952 n. 169. The Restatement does not

purport to eliminate concurrent jurisdiction. Rather, it

recognizes that two or more states may exercise jurisdiction

over the same activities or individuals when the exercise of

jurisdiction by each state is reasonable. The Restatement

provides mechanisms for courts to moderate the exercise of

jurisdiction when conflicts do arise. This is a process that

most courts of appeals, including this one, have employed in

other cases involving extraterritorial application of United

States law. See, e.g., American Rice, 701 F.2d at 414.

The concern voiced by the majority--that extraterritorial

application of Title VII will create conflicts of law--is, thus,

Appendix C p. 24

at a ie ar ON

adequately addressed by the provisions of the statute itself

and by the same principles of international law that have

traditionally allowed United States courts to moderate their

exercise of extraterritorial jurisdiction in the case of actual

conflicts of law.

Conclusion

In enacting Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964,

Congress expressed its determination that all Americans are

entitled to be free of the intolerable barrier of discrimination

in employment based on race, color, religion, sex or national

origin. Under the majority’s holding, however, Congress’s

commitment represents merely an empty promise to the

thousands of American women and minorities employed in

other countries by American multinational firms. Such

individuals face the dilemma of accepting an assignment

. abroad, often considered to be a lucrative opportunity and, in

many such multinational enterprises, a prerequisite for career

advancement at home, only at the cost of relinquishing the

protections and remedies of Title VII upon crossing the

territorial borders of the United States. Employment

discrimination by American employers against American citi-

zens--wherever practiced--has devastating effects both on the

economy of this country and on the dignity and livelihoods

of Americans who have come to rely over the past quarter of

a century on achievements made possible, in part, by civil

rights legislation. The salutary goals of Title VII cannot be

fully realized if the fortuitous location of an American

employee at the overseas office of an American firm could

mean the difference between equal opportunity and

discrimination at will.

Congress certainly recognized the potential for abuse

represented by American multinational concerns when it

enacted Title VII, which must explain its inclusion of section

702 of the Act, the alien exemption clause. Balancing the

broad remedial goals of this civil rights statute against the

Appendix C p. 25

potential conflicts that would arise in attempting to regulate

the employment of aliens outside the United States, Congress

followed the reasoning of the Supreme Court in Foley Bros.

and drew an extraterritorial line based on nationality.

There is no justification for disregarding the clear evidence

of congressional intent to apply Title VII to United States

citizens employed in other countries by American enterprises.

Congress made the judgment in 1964 in Title VII, just as it

did again in 1984 in the ADEA amendments, that American

nationals employed by United States employers are entitled

to the same protection from employment discrimination

abroad as they enjoy at home. If we are not to substitute our

policy judgments for those of Congress, we must give effect

to Congress’s intent to apply Title VII extraterritorially. I

respectfully dissent from the majority’s refusal to do so.

Appendix C p. 26

Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended,

Section 701, et seq. (42 USC. § 2000e, et

seq. ):

SUBCHAPTER VI - EQUAL EMPLOYMENT

ter --

OPPORTUNITIES

§ 2000e. Definitions

For the purposes of this subchap-

(a) The term “person” includes one or more

individuals, governments, governmental

agencies, political subdivisions, labor unions,

partnerships, associations, corporations, legal

representatives, mutual companies, joint-stock

companies, trusts, unincorporated organizations,

trustees, trustees in cases under Title 11, or

receivers.

(b) The term “employer” means a person

engaged in an industry affecting commerce who

has fifteen or more employees for each working

day in each of twenty or more calendar weeks

in the current or preceding calendar year, and

any agent of such a person, but such term does

not include (1) the United States, a corporation

wholly owned by the Government of the United

States, an Indian tribe, or any department or

agency of the District of Columbia subject by

Statute to procedures of the competitive service

(as defined in section 2102 of Title 5), or (2) a

bona fide private membership club (other than

a labor organization) which is exempt from

Appendix D p. 1

taxation under section 501(c) of Title 26, except

that during the first year after March 24, 1972,

persons having fewer than _ twenty-five

employees (and their agents) shall not be

considered employers.

(f) The term “employee” means an

individual employed by an employer, except that

the term “employee” shall not include any

person elected to public office in any State or

political subdivision of any State by the qualified

voters thereof, or any person chosen by such

officer to be on such officer’s personal staff, or

an appointee on the policy making level or an

immediate adviser with respect to the exercise of

the constitutional or legal powers of the office.

The exemption set forth in the preceding

sentence shall not include employees subject to

the civil service laws of a State government,

governmental agency or political subdivision.

(g) The term “commerce” means trade,

traffic, commerce, transportation, transmission,

or communication among the several States; or

between a State and any place outside thereof;

or within the District of Columbia, or a

possession of the United States; or between

points in the same State but through a point

outside thereof.

(h) The term “industry affecting

commerce” means any activity, business or

industry in commerce or in which a labor

Appendix D p. 2

dispute would hinder or obstruct commerce or

the free flow of commerce and includes any

activity or industry “affecting commerce” within

the meaning of the Labor- Management

Reporting and Disclosure Act of 1959, and

further includes any governmental industry,

business, or activity.

(i) The term "State" includes a State of

the United States, the District of Columbia,

Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, American

Samoa, Guam, Wake Island, the Canal Zone,

and Outer Continental Shelf lands defined in the

Outer Continental Shelf Lands Act.

§ 2000e-1. Subchapter not applicable to

employment of aliens outside State and individuals for

performance of activities of religious corporations,

associations, educational institutions, or societies

This subchapter shall not apply to an employer

with respect to the employment of aliens outside any

State, or to a religious corporation, association,

educational institution, or society with respect to the

employment of individuals of a particular religion to

perform work connected with the carrying on by such

corporation, association, educational institution, or

society of its activities.

Appendix D p. 3

§ 2000e - 2. Unlawful employment practices

Employer practices

(a) It shall be an unlawful employment practice

for an employer -

(1) to fail or refuse to hire or to

discharge any individual, or otherwise to

discriminate against any individual with respect

to his compensation, terms, conditions, or

privileges of employment, because of such

individual’s race, color, religion, sex, or national

origin; or

(2) to limit, segregate, or classify his

employees or applicants for employment in any

way which would deprive or tend to deprive any

individual of employment opportunities or

otherwise adversely affect his status as an

employee, because of such individual’s race,

color, religion, sex, or national origin.

Appendix D p. 4

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.