Joint Appendix — Air Courier Conference of America v. American Postal Workers Union

Supreme Court brief1991

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

‘fi. Morne Gonos

if’ FILED

JUL 27 eH

No. 89-1416 CLERK |

Supreme Court Of The United States

October Term, 1990

AIR COURIER CONFERENCE OF AMERICA,

Petitioner,

v.

AMERICAN POSTAL WORKERS UNION,

AFL-CIO, et al.,

Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia

JOINT APPENDIX

L. PETER FARKAS * JOHN G. ROBERTS, JR.*

SUGHRUE, MION, ZINN, Acting Solicitor General

MACPEAK & SEAS Department of Justice

2100 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W. Washington, D.C. 20530

Washington, D.C. 20037-3202 (202) 633-2217

(202) 293-7060 Counsel for Federal

Counsel for Petitioner Respondent

Air Courier Conference of America

KEITH E. SECULAR * ANTON HAJJAR*

COHEN, WEISS & SIMON O’DONNELL, SCHWARTZ

330 West 42nd Street & ANDERSON

New York, New York 10036 1300 L Street, N.W.

(212) 563-4100 Suite 200

(202) 898-1824 Washington, D.C. 20005

Counsel for Respondents (202) 898-1824

National Association of Letter Counsel for Respondent

Carriers, AFL-CIO American Postal Workers

Union, AFL-CIO

* Counsel of Record

Petition for Certiorari Filed March 8, 1990 - Certiorari Granted June 4, 1990 ©

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Relevant Docket Entries, American Postal

Workers Union, AFL-CIO v. The United States

Postal Service, United States District Court for

the District of Columbia

Relevant Docket Entries, American Postal

Workers Union, AFL-CIO v. The United States

Postal Service, United States Court of Appeals of

the District of Columbia

Excerpt from Page 40 of the 1985 Compre-

hensive Statement on Postal Operations

Federal Register Notice, October 22, 1985

Federal Register Notice, November 8, 1985

ACCA Comments, October 28, 1985

United States Postal Service Reply to

Congressman Leland and Congressman

Horton, November 20, 1985

Excerpts from the “Comments of the

International Remail Committee,”

December 12, 1985

Department of Justice Letter to General Counsel,

December 12, 1985

Comments of the United Department of Justice,

December 12, 1985

Letter to Honorable John McKean,

January 23, 1986

Letter to Honorable Albert v. Casey,

February 26, 1986

Letter to Honorable Albert v. Casey,

February 28, 1986

Letter to Honorable Albert v. Casey,

lf} ry aa ee ee ee

Letter to Honorable Alfonse D’ Amato,

gd TM sii te ane ees en 60 8 es

Federal Register Notice, Item No. 90 of the

Administrative Record, March 21,1986 .......

Letter to Honorable John McKean,

SS a ee er

Department of Justice Letter to

Charles D. Hawley, May 2,1986 ...........

Federal Register Notice, May 12,1986 .......

Federal Register Notice, Item No. 110,

Su Se ee 6:4 6 oh ee bE ees 6%

Comments of the United States Department of

Sustion, Sp U7, BGS ww wee etc e eens

AED 0. cn 5 bc eS Oe eee een

Federal Register Notice, Item No. 121,

Ce | eee er eee ee ee

Complaint for Declaratory and Injunctive Relief . . .

Pree T Ce ee Oe eee oe

Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss or in the

Alternative for Summary Judgement .........

Declaration of Charles D. Hawley, .........

Declaration of Charles D. Hawley, including

Index to Administrative Record ...........

Declaration of Kenneth D. Wilson ..........

Declaration of Jack L.Rutnmer ............

The following opinion, judgments an orders have been

omitted in printing this joint appendix because they appear on

the following pages in the appendix to the Petition for Certiorari:

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the District of Columbia Circuit,

rr , la

Order of the United States District Court for the

District of Columbia, granting intervention

UO GUS eS... 27a

Opinion of Charles R. Richey United States

District Judge for the District of Columbia,

EEE ee 28a

iv

RELEVANT DOCKET ENTRIES

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

PLAINTIFF

AMERICAN POSTAL WORKERS

UNION, AFL-CIO, et al.

DEFENDANT

UNITED STATES

POSTAL SERVICE

CIVIL ACTION NO. 87-3199

DATE NO.

11/25/87 —-1)

PROCEDURES

Filed complaint for declaratory and

injunctive relief.

12/18/87 2)

rogatories.

12/18/87 3)

Filed plaintiffs’ first set of inter-

Filed plaintiffs’ first request for

production of documents.

01/15/88 4)

File defendant’ s motion for a

protective order, memorandum of

points and authorities in support

thereof, and proposed order.

01/21/88 5)

Notice of Judge Richey setting a

conference, order announcing Rule

26 through Rule 37 motions not

favored, and Judge Richey’s trial

certification sheet.

01/25/88 6)

complaint.

01/29/88 7)

Filed defendant ’ s answer to the

Air Courier Conference of America’s

(ACCA) motion to intervene,

memorandum of points and

authorities in support thereof

and proposed order.

02/05/88

02/11/88

02/11/88

02/18/88

02/18/88

02/19/88

02/26/88

02/29/88

03/10/88

03/10/88

03/25/88

8)

9)

10)

11)

12)

13)

14)

15)

16)

17)

18)

Vv

Plaintiffs’ cross-motion to compel

discovery, opposition to defendant’s

motion for a protective order and

memorandum in support of cross-

motion to compel discovery, and

proposed order.

Filed order granting defendant’s

motion for a protective order.

Filed order granting plaintiffs ’

motion for an extension of time.

Filed defendant ’ s motion for enlarge-

ment of time and memorandum of

points and authorities in support

thereof, and proposed order.

Order granting defendant’s motion

for enlargement of time.

Filed defendant’s response to

ACCA’s motion to intervene.

Order granting ACCA’ s motion

to intervene.

Order setting briefing schedule for

case disposition on cross-motions

for summary judgment.

Filed plaintiff ’ s first set of

interrogatories to ACCA.

Filed plaintiff ’s first request to

ACCA for production of documents.

Filed defendant’ s motion to dismiss

or in the alternative for summary

judgment, defen-dant’s statement of

material facts as to which there is no

genuine issue, memorandum of

points and authorities in support of

motion to dismiss, declaration of

03/25/88

04/12/88

04/12/88

04/12/88

04/22/88

04/24/88

04/25/88

04/28/88

05/04/88

05/16/88

05/16/88

19)

20)

21)

22)

23)

24)

25)

26)

27)

28)

29)

vi

Charles D. Hawley and proposed

order.

Filed defendant’s first notice of filing,

declaration of Charles D. Hawley

and index to administrative record.

ACCA’s objections to plaintiff’s first

set of interrogatories.

ACCA’s memorandum of points and

authorities in support of defendant’s

motion to dismiss or in the alterna-

tive for summary judgment.

ACCA’s Notice of address change.

Filed order setting hearing on motion

for summary judgment or to dismiss.

Filed plaintiffs’ motion for summary

judgment, statement of material facts

as to which there is no genuine issue

and memorandum in support of

plaintiffs’ motion fo: summary

judgment and in opposition to

defendant’s motion for summary

judgment.

Filed plaintiffs’ notice of filing

of exhibits.

Filed plaintiffs’ notice of filing of

proposed order.

Filed order resetting hearing on

motion for summary judgment and

to dismiss.

ACCA’s motion for an extension

of time.

ACCA’s motion corrected certificate

of service.

05/16/88

05/20/88

05/20/88

05/26/88

05/27/88

05/31/88

06/03/88

06/08/88

06/08/88

06/13/88

30)

31)

32)

33)

34)

35)

36)

37)

38)

39)

Vii

Defendant’s motion for an enlarge-

ment of time and to reschedule date

of oral argument.

Filed order granting ACCA’s motion

for enlargement of time.

Filed order granting defendant’s

motion for an enlargement of time

and to reschedule date of oral

argument.

Filed defendant’s motion for an

enlargement of time and memoran-

dum of points and authorities in

support thereof.

Filed defendant’s motion for an

enlargement of time and memoran-

dum of points and authorities in

support thereof.

Filed defendant’s opposition to

plaintiffs’ cross-motion for summary

judgment and reply to opposition to

defendant’s motion for summary

judgment.

Filed order granting defendant’s

motion for an enlargement of time

and to extend time to file reply.

ACCA’s motion for an enlargement

of time.

ACCA’s memorandum in opposition

to plaintiffs’ motion for summary

judgment and in reply to plaintiffs’

opposition to defendant’s motion for

summary judgment.

Filed order granting ACCA’s motion

for enlargement of time.

06/16/88

06/16/88

06/16/88

06/24/88

06/29/88

07/01/88

07/11/88

10/17/88

12/20/88

40)

41)

42)

43)

44)

45)

46)

47)

48)

viii

Filed plaintiffs’ reply memorandum

to defendant’s opposition to

plaintiffs’ cross-motion for summary

judgmeat with Rutner declaration.

Filed plaintiffs’ motion for an

enlargement of time and memoran-

dum of points and authorities in

support thereof.

Filed plaintiffs’ motion to strike

declarations, memorandum in

support thereof and proposed order.

Filed defendant’s motion for enlarge-

ment of time and memorandum of

points and authorities in support

thereof.

Filed order granting plaintiffs’ motion

for an enlargement of time.

Filed order granting defendant’s

motion for an enlargement of time.

Filed defendant’s opposition to

plaintiffs’ motion to strike

declarations.

Filed order entering judgment for

the defendant.

Opinion of Charles R. Richey.

ix

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

APPELLANTS

AMERICAN POSTAL WORKERS UNITED STATES

UNION, AFL-CIO, et al.

APPELLEE

POSTAL SERVICE

07/17/89

07/26/89

08/17/89

08/30/89

09/07/89

09/19/89

09/19/89

09/19/89

10/13/89

12/8/89

12/8/89

60)

61)

APPEAL NO. 88-5436

PROCEEDINGS

Notice of Appeal

Appellants’ (American Postal

Workers Union, AFL-CIO, and

National Association of Letter

Carriers, AFL-CIO) docketing

Statement and initial submissions

Appellants’ Brief

Certified Original Record on

Appeal - 2 vol.; 1 vol. of transcript

Appellee’s Brief

Appellants’ Reply Brief

Joint Appendix

Appellee’ s Brief

Appellants’ Brief

Appellants’ Reply Brief

Argued before Chief Judge Wald;

Circuit Judges Mikva and

Ruth B. Ginsburg

Opinion for the Court filed by

Circuit Judge Mikva

Opinion concuring filing by

Circuit Judge Ruth B. Ginsburg

12/8/89

12/8/89

02/06/90

03/13/90

03/23/90

62)

63)

64)

65)

66)

Judgment by this Court that the

Judgment of the District Court

appealed herein is remanded in

accordance with the opinion of

the Court filed herein this date

Mandate Order

Receive entry of appearance from

L. Peter Farkas on behalf of Air

Courier Conference of America

Notice of filing of petition for

writ of certiorari

Mandate issued

1

The Postal Service recognizes its first priority is to compete

on the basis of good service at reasonable price. Yet it also

believes that the activities of certain “remailing” companies

violate the Private Express Statutes. These companies bypass

the Postal Service and ship foreign destination letter mail col-

lected from U.S. customers to a foreign point, where the postage

of that country is applied and the letter mail then put in the

foreign mailstream. The amount of mail lost to the Postal

Service, while not quantified, is believed to be very significant.

The Postal Service has asked the Justice Department to take

action in these cases.

*EXCERPT FROM PAGE 40, OF THE 1985 COMPREHEN-

SIVE STATEMENT ON POSTAL OPERATIONS.

POSTAL SERVICE

39 CFR Parts 310 and 320

Restrictions on Private Carriage of Letters; Proposed

Clarification and Modification of Definition and of

Regulations on Extremely Urgent Letters; Change of

Phone Number

AGENCY: Postal Service

ACTION: Correction of Proposed Rule.

SUMMARY: On October 10, 1985, the Posta! Service publish-

ed in the Federal Register (SO 62) a proposed modification and.

clarification of the regulations on the Private Express Statues.

On October 15, 1985, the telephone numbers at Postal Service

Headquarters were changed. This document provides the new

number for telephone contact concerning the above proposed

rule.

DATE: Comraents must be received on or before November

12, 1985.

ADDRESS: Written comments should be addressed to the

General Counsel, Law Department, United States Postal Ser-

vice, Washington, D.C. 20260-1113. Copies of all written

comments will be available for inspection and photocopying

between 9:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, in

Room 5128, 955 L’Enfant Plaza, SW., Washington, D.C.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Charles D.

Hawley (202) 268-2970.

W. Allen Sanders,

Associate General Counsel, Office of General Law and Ad-

ministration.

[FR Doc. 82-25065 Filed 10-20-85; 8:45 am]

39 CFR Parts 310 and 320

Restrictions on Private Carriage of Letters; Proposed

Clarification and Modification of Definition and of

Regulations on Extremely Urgent Letters; Extension of

Comment Period.

AGENCY: Postal Service.

ACTON: Proposed Rule; Extension of comment period.

SUMMARY: On October 10, 1985, the Postal Service publish-

ed in the Federal Register (SO FR 41462) a proposed modifica-

tion and clarification of the regulations on the Private Express

Statutes, which was corrected in a minor respect on October 22,

1985 (FR 42729).

Several parties have requested that the comment period,

originally thirty days, be extended. Because of the substantial

public interest in the proposal and the likelihood that a modest

extension of the comment period will permit greater public

participation in this rulemaking process, the Postal Service is

extending the comment period by an additional thirty days. The

extended comment period will expire on December 12, 1985.

DATE: Comments must be received on or before December 12, 1985.

ADDRESS: Written comments should be addressed to the

General Counsel, Law Department, United States Postal Ser-

vice, Washington, D.C. 20260-1113. Copies of all written

comments will be available for inspection and photocopying

between 9:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, in

Room 5128, 955 L’Enfant Plaza, S.W., Washington, D.C.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Charles D.

Hawley (202) 268-2970.

Fred Eggleston, :

Assistant General Counsel Legislative Division.

[FR Doc. 85-26742 Filed 11-7-85; 8:45 am]

4

ACCA

Air Courier Conference of America

RE: 39 CRR Parts 310 &

October 28, 1985

General Counsel, Law Department

United States Postal Service

Washington, D.C. 20260-1113

Dear Sir,

The Air Courier Conference of America (ACCA) is the trade

association for the air courier and express industry. Its members

are 142 companies who provide domestic and international

courier and express services.

ACCA wants to express its opposition to the proposed rulemak-

ing. It is ACCA’s position that there should be no postal

monopoly and all services provided by the Post Office should

be subject only to free and open competition in the market place.

The proposed rulemaking purports to attack one group of com-

panies who can provide a less expensive alternative to the post

office mailing overseas. ACCA believes that this savings to

U.S. companies should not be eliminated but should be com-

mended. This is free enterprise at its best. The more efficient

and less costly alternative should be encouraged.

Sincerely yours,

Larry P. Rodberg

President

5

United States Postal Service

475 L’Enfant Plaza, SW

Washington, DC 20260

November 20, 1985

Mickey Leland, Chairman

Frank Horton, Ranking Minority Member

U.S. House of Representatives

Committee on Post Office and Civil Service

Subcommittee on Postal Operations and Services

209 Cannon House Office Building

Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Messrs. Leland and Horton:

Mr. Carlin has asked me to respond to your letter of

October 28 expressing interest in the Postal Service’s proposed

amendment to the regulations implementing the Private Express

Statutes and requesting a thirty-day extension of the comment

period. As I advised your staff, the comment period for this

proposal was extended for thirty days by a notice published in

the Federal Register on November 8.

You have asked a number of questions about the proposed

amendments, which we are happy to answer:

1) Why does the USPS consider the proposed changes in this

regulation necessary?

It is needed to prevent the misuse of an administrative

suspension of the Statutes, adopted to permit the private carriage

of extremely urgent letters, to carry abroad large numbers of

letters that are not extremely urgent for delivery as ordinary mail

by foreign postal systems. As discussed in greater detail in the

published notice, the amendments will make it clear that this

6

practice, known as “international remailing,” is not permitted by

that suspension.

2) What action does the USPS intend to take against these

remailers if the proposed changes in this regulation become a

reality?

The Postal Service expects to act as it does now toward

firms that do not comply with the Statutes. We would invite the

firms’ attention to the Statutes’ requirements and request com-

pliance. Our experience has been that most reputable firms will

not knowingly violate Federal law. If, however, a carrier, for

example, were to persist in its violations, we would expect to

renew our request to the Department of Justice to authorize suit

to enjoin continuing violations.

3) How much volume is involved in this remailing business,

both in terms of pieces of mail and dollars?

The Postal Service has no reliable estimates of either the

number of letters or the dollars in revenue that are diverted from

the United States Mails by remailing activities. It is common

knowledge, however, that a number of shippers and carriers

engage in this practice, and we infer from this and other infor-

mation that the volumes and revenues involved are significant.

4) How would the public benefit from the implementation of

the proposed changes in the regulations?

The proposed amendments will reduce the diversion of

international letters from the mails. This will benefit the public

in a rather direct way by increasing postal revenues and con-

tributing to the Postal Service’s efforts to achieve its statutory

goal of breaking even financially. They will also maintain the

integrity of the Statutes and the implementing regulations by

ensuring that a suspension adopted for one purpose is not

unfairly used for another purpose.

5) Is the USPS planning any further attempts to reclaim business

lost to private couriers?

7

The Postal Service wishes, of course, to provide the best

possible service for all of :ts customers. We are currently testing

anew PRESORT INTERNATIONAL program to provide more

direct service for our bulk airmail customers to countries over-

seas, with resulting savings in delivery time. We are also

adjusting the rates of our International Surface Air Lift Service

and implementing increased service to Latin America. These

actions are separate from and independent of our proposed

amendments to the Private Express regulations. Nonetheless

they illustrate our commitment to serve the needs of our cus-

tomers in all of the services we provide.

Sincerely,

William T. Johnstone

8

Docket

Before the

UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE

39 CFR Parts 310 and 320:

Restrictions on Private Carriage of Letters;

Proposed Clarification and Modification of Definition

and of Regulations on Extremely Urgent Letters

— 50 FR 41462 (Oct. 10, 1985)

COMMENTS OF THE INTERNATIONAL

REMAIL COMMITTEE

12 DECEMBER 1985

[Excerpts]

Contrary to the Postal Service’s expectations, the proposal

to eliminate the remailer competition will not significantly

enhance net postal revenues. More likely results include the

driving of U.S. jobs and printing activities overseas and a loss

of revenues now received from inbound international remail. In

some cases, U.S. companies will wind up using other, more

cumbersome, less efficient remail procedures which are clearly

beyond the reach of the monopoly — rather than using still less

efficient postal services. Even if the entire $60 million per year

international remail business (estimated gross) were handled by

the Postal Service, it may be estimated that the net increase in

annual postal revenues would be no more than three million

dollars, about one fortieth of one percent (0.025%) of total

postal revenues, and probably much less. This is obviously an

exceedingly small benefit for the costs and injustices imposed.

9

As international commerce became more and more infor-

mation oriented, in the late 1970’s and early 1980’s, customers

began to demand the advantages of international remail for

other, more time-sensitive bulk mailings, such as newsletters,

brochures, statements o account, order forms, etc. Perhaps, a

key commercial event was the 39 percent increase in interna-

tional air mail rates in 1981. In any case, it became clear that

by combining prompt air freight service to a carefully chosen

foreign postal distribution point with the international air mail

postal system, it was possible to extend the remail idea to include

air freight/air mail service that was faster, cheaper, and more

reliable than the Postal Service’s international air mail.

The New Postal Policy Council is a group of about twenty

of the largest U.S. banks, securities firms, and public utilities,

led by American Express and Citibank. Theses major institu-

tions (and hence, major mailers) unanimously adopted a resolu-

tion strongly supporting private international remail. The

Council noted that the proposed rule

could severely impede international trade. [It is]

ill conceived, untimely, and unjustified....

American business currently relies on these

private carriers whose service has proved to be far

superior to that of the United States Postal Ser-

vice. The effect of the proposed rule would be

devastating to American businesses engaged in

international trade; it would hamper effects to

improve our balance of payments; and it is not

likely to increase U.S. postal revenues in the long

run. In short, it benefits no one. [Resolution of

November 15, 1985 (emphasis added). }

10

The International Remail Committee also retained an inde-

pendent polling firm, Hickman-Maslin, to poll users of remail

on the role of remail within their businesses. The survey pool

consisted of about 300 remail users, the entire customer base of

most of the members of the Committee and, we believe, most

of the customers of the industry as a whole (in the short time

period in which the poll was planned and executed a few

members were unable to assemble customer lists due to illness

or travel schedules of key executives). When asked which type

of service is most often used for a large international mailing,

the companies polled split about equally between the USPS and

remail. According to Hickman-Maslin, the group appears to be

a reasonable, although not scientific, cross section of U.S.

organizations engaged in international commerce; the survey is,

however, a scientific sampling of the group polled. In short,

while an exhaustive study was impossible in the time frame of

the comment period, this poll is an accurate reflection of the

opinions of a reasonably representative group of some 300 U.S.

organizations engaged in international commerce. :

The poll first asked users which service, international

remail or the comparable postal service, was better, according

to various categories. The results follow. Note that we have

inflated the USPS figures by adding in all of the “about the

same” answers to give USPS every benefit of the doubt.

USPS better or Remail better

about the same (much better)

Speed of delivery 23% 55% (49)

Reliability 26% - 49% (46)

Keeping cost down 22% 57% (54)

Convenience of use 38% 46% (44)

Value for money 19% 60% (57)

Flexibility in

unusual situations 11% 50% (47)

11

Obviously, a substantial majority of those who had an opinion

felt that international remail constitutes a superior method of

distributing a large worldwide mailing.

The more pertinent question for the instant rulemaking,

however, is not which type of service is better, but whether

competition between the two types of services is beneficial to

American international commerce. On this issue — which is the

issue posed by the proposed rule — the judgment of international

businessmen was absolutely clear. Ninety-nine percent of the

respondents field that alternative international mailing services

are important, eighty-one responding “very important.” Ninety-

four percent oppose a postal monopoly on any international

shipments. Sixty percent believe that restrictions on internation-

al remail will “injure the international commerce of the U.S.”

The entire Hickman-Maslin poll is reproduced as an Apppendix

to these comments.

12

200---— -

III. INTERNATIONAL REMAIL DOES

NOT DEPRIVE THE POSTAL SERVICE

OF SIGNIFICANT NET REVENUE.

The preamble to the proposed rule states that remail is

“depriving the Postal Service of revenues in a manner not

intended.” 44 FR 41462. Although it is the only justification

of the proposed rule that even hints at public policy, this con-

Clusory statement is nowhere supported by evidence. Clearly,

“more postal revenue,” standing alone, is hardly a complete

statement of the postal policy of the United States (see next

section). In the instant rulemaking, the presumption of sig-

nificant additional net revenue is not even factually correct, as

explained in the following analysis.

The remail industry, we estimate, will gross about $60

million in 1985, not counting traffic in books and magazines

(this is a very rough guess). Of this amount, more than half

derives from the handling of printed matter; the remainder,

perhaps $25 million, involves the remail of “first class” items.

We shall discuss the effect of the proposed rule on each type of

document traffic, and then address the negative revenue effects

of foreign retaliation against the Postal Service.

B. The proposed rule is not supported

by the traditional public policy principles

supporting the postal monopoly.

More generally, we may look behind the principle estab-

lished by the urgent letter exception to the traditional policy

principles which underpin the postal monopoly. The sound

development of the monopoly law depends upon constant refer-

ral to the principles which justify the monopoly in the first place.

The most authoritative statement of these principles is the

1973 Board of Governors’ report to Congress, The Private

1

iS

Express Statutes and Their Administration. In this report, the

Governors begin by noting the statutory mission of the Postal

Service to “bind the Nation together” and “provide prompt,

reliable, and efficient service to patrons in all areas.” Page 4,

citing 39 U.S.C. 101(a). The report notes the duty to provide

for letters sealed against inspection at a postage rate “uniform

throughout the United States.” /d., citing 39 U.S.C. 3623(d).

From these statutory duties, the report reasons:

A prohibition on rates varying with distance

creates competitive opportunities for skimming

the creams of those postal operations that are most

attractive from a business standpoint. /t would

make little sense to allow letter mail competition

without simultaneously authorizing variable rates

on letters so that the Postal Service may compete

equitably in the marketplace. But uniform nation-

wide rates for letter mail should not be lightly

discarded. Rates varying with distance would be

complicated and confusing for many citizens,

would point to increases in regulatory red tape,

and could lead to untoward political pressures for

changes in zone limits and the like.

The law requires that the Postal Service serve all

the nation [quoting 39 U.S.C. 101(b)]}. This is a

key requirement-perhaps the key requirement-if

the Postal Service is to discharge its basic function

to “provide prompt, reliable, and efficient service

to patrons in all areas ... and render postal service

to all communities.” This means that the Postal

Service must serve those areas and customers for

which operating costs are not recoverable under

a uniform pricing policy. If the Private Express

Statutes were repealed, private enterprise, unlike

the Postal Service, would be free to move into the

14

most economically attractive markets while

avoiding markets that are less attractive from a

business standpoint.

....Without abandoning the policy of self-suf-

ficiency and re-introducing massive subsidies, it

is hard to see how the Postal Service could meet

rate and service objectives in the face of cream-

skimming competition against its major product.

But abandonment of this policy would impose an

unjustifiable burden of costs on the tax-paying

public and might lead to the erosion of universal

postal service.

We believe that the uniform rate and nationwide

Service requirements are sound.... Accordingly,

the service and financial policies that are rightly

embodied in the Postal Reorganization Act re-

quire the restrictions on private letter-mail car-

riage be maintained. [Pages 5-7 (emphasis

added). ]

The Governors’ report goes on to cite other, secondary

reasons for the postal monopoly including the need to finance

the postal inspection service, which insures the safety of the

mails and protects the public from undesirable mail matter.

Page 7. The report further notes that without a monopoly

“international mail reprocity agreements would also suffer ...

Foreign governments would have the problem of whether to deal

with several, rather than one, originating mail suppliers. The

Postal Service would remain under the obligation of delivering

all incoming international mail with less than total compensation

for outgoing first-class mail.” Page 8.

Reasonable men can, and have, disagreed with some of

these principles of postal policy, but that debate is beyond the

scope of the current rulemaking. An important and valid ques-

15

tion, however, is whether the proposed rule is reasonable related

from these traditional principles. We submit that it is not.

Clearly, the proposed ban on international remail has no

logical relationship with the Postal Service’s ability to “bind the

Nation together” through universal postal service at a uniform

price. “Binding the nation” refers to domestic service; interna-

tional postal service can hardly claim to partake of the same

special importance to the nation. The need to maintain uniform

first class mail rates is irrelevant to international remail. There

is no international equivalent to the uniform rate rule. On the

contrary, the Postal Service adjusts its rates, especially its ISAL

rates, market by market depending upon demand and can very

well “compete equitable in the marketplace.”

Nor is there any international equivalent to the duty to serve

small towns at a loss. The Postal Service is “free io move into

the most economically attractive markets while avoiding

markets that are less attractive from a business standpoint.” It

has done so, offering ISAL, Presort International, and Interna-

tional Express Mail service only in certain cities in the United

States and only to certain destinations overseas. More general-

ly, the Postal Service’s costs for international service are more

or less unaffected by the remoteness of any given city. Service

to the farthest corner of Scotland costs the Postal Service the

same as service to downtown London. The Postal Service just

puts the mail on the airplane to London and lets the British Post

Office deliver it.

Of course, the Postal Service can, and has, noted that a

monopoly on international remail would generate additional

revenues to pay for losses incurred in providing domestic ser-

vice to remote cities in the United States. But this argument

would justify the monopolization of any activity, for example,

the telecommunications business (as indeed it has, in other

countries). Under traditional American principles, however, the

scope of a monopoly should be reasonably related to the activity

16

which generates losses, as the rationale articulated in the Board

of Governors’ report does.

It is clear, then, that the fundamental postal policy bases

for the postal monopoly — universal service and a uniform first

class mail rate — do not reasonably support a monopoly over

international remail.

The Governors’ report does on to mention two secondary

bases for the monopoly: the need to support the postal inspec-

tors program and certain international mail requirements. Ob-

viously, the need to pay for postal inspectors is only tangentially

related to international remail. It is doubtful that the inspection

service is much concerned with what is mailed out of the U.S..,

and the Customs Service is the primary guardian against incom-

ing contraband. Hence, the inspection service does not provide

a rational basis for monopoly over international remail.

The matter of international postal agreements is more

complicated. The Governors’ report argues that “Foreign

governments would have the problem of whether to deal with

several, rather that one, originating mail suppliers.” This is not

a problem with the remail industry. The only post office that

must deal with the remail company is one that is doing so

voluntarily and at a profit. The Governor’s report goes on to

note that “the Postal Service would remain under the obligation

of delivering all incoming international mail with less than total

compensation for outgoing first-class mail.” The Postal Ser-

vice, of course, would be obliged to deliver incoming mail, an

activity for which it is compensated by the foreign post offices

according to the internationally agreed “terminal dues” stand-

ard. Since the basic infrastructure of the Postal Service is paid -

for by the domestic postal service, it appears probable that

“terminal dues” compensate the Postal Service for the marginal

costs of delivering incoming mail. In any case, the Postal

Service benefits from a low terminal dues rate — and has fought

for one over the years — because it exports more mail than it

17

imports. Even if it did not, surely the solution is for the Postal

Service to negotiate higher terminal dues, rather than imposing

a restrictive monopoly on outgoing American mail in order to

pay for below cost delivery of foreigners’ inbound mail.

Nor does a vague allusion to “international agreements”

provide an independent policy basis. If not grounded in an

identifiable American public interest, the international agree-

ment becomes no more than a self-serving market sharing

agreement between post offices. The Postal Service would have

no excuse for entering into such an agreement.

In short, the traditional rationales for the postal monopoly

do not provide a sound basis for extending the monopoly to

include the air freighting of bulk international mailings.

*_**

Respectfully submitted,

James I. Campbell, Jr.

Attorney for the Committee on

International Remail

18

Washington, D.C.

12 December 1985

BY HAND

General Counsel

Law Department

U.S. Postal Service

955 L’Enfant Plaza

Room 5128

Washington, D.C. 20260-1113

Re: Restrictions on Private Carriage of Letters;

Proposed Clarification and Modification of

Definition and of Regulations on Extremely

Urgent Letters

Dear Sir:

In accordance with the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, 50

Fed. Reg. 41,462 (October 10, 1985), I enclose the original and

one copy of the Comments of the United States Department of

Justice in the above-captioned proceeding.

Sincerely,

Martin L. Stern

Attorney

Antitrust Division

Enclosures

19

Before the

UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE

Washington, D.C. 20260-1113

IN THE MATTER OF:

Restrictions on Private Carriage of Letters; Proposed

Clarification and Modification of Definition and of

Regulations on Extremely Urgent Letters

COMMENTS OF THE UNITED

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

Douglas H. Ginsburg Charles F. Rule

Assistant Attorney General, § Deputy Assistant Attorney

Antitrust Division General

Antitrust Division

Communications with respect to this document should be

addressed to:

Barry Grossman, Chief

Communications & Finance Section

Robert E. Hauberg, Jr.

Assistant Chief

Communications & Finance Section

Martin L. Stern

Jonathan M. Rich, Attorneys

Communications & Finance Section

Michael A. Williams, Economist

Economic Regulatory Section

Antitrust Division

U.S. Department of Justice

504 Safeway Building

Washington, D.C. 20530

202/724-6693

December 12, 1985

20

Before the

UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE

- Washington, D.C. 20260-1113

IN THE MATTER OF:

Restrictions on Private Carriage of Letters; Proposed

Clarification and Modification of Definition and of

Regulations on Extremely Urgent Letters

COMMENTS OF THE UNITED STATES

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

Il. INTRODUCTION AND STATEMENT

OF POSITION

By Notice of Proposed Rulemaking ("Notice")! the United

States Postal Service has solicited comments on proposed

revisions of its regulations governing the private carriage of

“extremely urgent” domestic and international mail.

According to the Notice, private carriers, commonly

known as “remailers,” are diverting revenue from the Postal

Service by taking advantage of current Postal Service regula-

tions that allow the private carriage of “extremely urgent” mail.

Relying on ambiguities in the regulations, these remailers ship

a large number of arguably non-urgent international letters from

the United States and deposit them in foreign mailstreams for

delivery to separate ultimate addressees. Typically, a remailer

collects mail from customers at different locations in the United

States, bundles it, and ships it from one domestic point to a signle

destination overseas. When the mail arrives overseas, the

remailer or its agent deposits the mail in a foreign mail system

for delivery in that or other countries, often at relatively low

foreign postal rates.”

' 50 Fed. Reg. 41,462 (October 10, 1985) ("Notice").

? See infra discussion at 5. The Notice neither identifies the specific

Carriers engaging in remailing, indicates the customers served, nor provide

21

The Postal Service maintains that such private carriage as

currently conducted is not permitted by its current regulations

suspending application of the Private Express Statutes for ex-

tremely urgent letters. The Postal Service proposes to amend

the regulations to “leave no room for question as to the cir-

cumstances” under which private carriage of international mail

is permitted.> Apparently, once the regulations are clarified, the

Postal Service intends to ask the Department of Justice for

authority to enjoin remailers from violating the Private Express

Statutes.‘

The Department of Justice, the Executive Branch agency

responsible for the enforcement of the antitrust laws and the

promotion of competition, submits that the changes proposed

by the Postal Service would strifle the thriving, competitive

market that has developed for the carriage of international mail.

We believe that there is some question as to whether the Postal

Se:vice possesses the legal authority to extend its domestic

monopoly into international carriage in the manner proposed.

Questions of legal power aside, it appears certain that the Postal

Service’s proposal would reduce or eliminate competition in the

international postal market to the detriment of American citizens

and businesses competing abroad.

As the Postal Service acknowledges, any ability to inhibit

competition from remailers stems solely from its authority to

prohibit private carriers from transporting letters over the

any estimate of revenue received for those services. An industry journal,

however, suggests that the practice is widespread and notes that a list “of

couriers and corporations that are engaged in remail, . . . is almost a ‘Who's

Who’ of American business.” Business Mailers Review, January 7, 1985.

3 50 Fed. Reg. at 41,462.

“ L. Cox, Remarks at Meeting of the Board of Governors, United States

Postal Service 50 (September 6, 1985).

22

domestic portion of an international journey.’ Though the

Postal Service has historically asserted that its monopoly ex-

tends to international mail, its opinions indicate no specific

statutory authority other than the prohibition on private domes-

tic carriage. Moreover, the Postal Service claims that its inter-

national classifications and rates are not subject to review by the

Postal Rate Commission. We suggest that the Postal Service

cannot have it both ways. It cannot assert a monopoly of

international mail as a necessary adjunct to its domestic statutory

monopoly, i.e., when it wants to increase its revenue, and at the

same time claim that its international rates are free from the

Statutory review provided to check its domestic monopoly

power. In sum, we believe that the statute itself, as well as the

legislative history is ambiguous on the precise geographic scope

of the Postal Service’s monopoly. We, therefore, urge the Postal

Service to seek clarification from Congress, instead of sua

sponte promulgating regulations that would stifle competition

from the private sector that is providing substantial benefits to

many American citizens and businesses.

Our concern over the Postal Service’s proposal stems from

general economic policy considerations as well as from the

desire to preserve the benefits currently enjoyed by the

remailers’ customers. The United States follows a general

economic policy of fostering competition as a means of promot-

ing efficiency and consumer welfare. Congress provided for a

domestic postal monopoly because it feared that reliance on

competition would not have guaranteed universal service at

affordable rates. Whatever the current validity of these con-

cerns, the fact that government monopoly services are inherently

_ less efficient than competitive services dictates that consumer

welfare will be enhanced if the postal monopoly is construed no

more broadly than necessary to attain the goal of universal

5 «The Private Express Statutes have been consistently applied to the

domestic segment of international shipments.” 50 Fed. Reg. at 41,462

(emphasis added).

23

service. The Postal Service has adduced no evidence that con-

tinuation of international mail carriage by private firms would

undermine that goal. As a consequence, it has failed to justify

the significant consumer welfare loss threatened by its proposed

prohibition of competitive services.

II. BACKGROUND

A. The International Postal Market

American firms use remailers to send bulk mailings to

foreign addressees. These bulk mailings typically involve such

items as bank statements, periodicals, catalogues, and advertise-

ments, but rarely individual correspondence. Generally, the

remailer ships the mail to the foreign postal administration that

offers the best combination of speed and price for delivery to

the addressee. The postal administration in which the remailer

deposits the mail is not necessarily that of the ultimate recipient.

Some foreign postal administrations have sought business

by encouraging remailers to post bulk mailings in their countries

at relatively low Surface Airlift ("SAL") rates. Surface Airlift

programs compete with one another for the patronage of

remailers who are willing to introduce mail into the international

mail system anywhere in the world.

According to industry officials, when begun several years

ago, the SAL programs of foreign postal administrations cap-

tured most of the business of forwarding bulk mail originating

© It is our understanding that SAL rates are low because it is relatively

inexpensive to ship international bulk mail. A postal administration that

accepts bagged and sorted mail for delivery to other countries essentially acts

as a freight forwarder. The administration ships the mail to the destination

country by air and pays the postal administration of that country a fee called

“terminal dues” to deliver the mail to the ultimate addressees. Terminal dues

are set by the Universal Postal Union, a United Nations affiliate that regulates

the postal relationships of member countries. Terminal dues are calculated

on a per pound rate basis on the net imbalance in mail sent between two

member countries.

24

in the United States. In response, the Postal Service instituted

its own SAL service called International Surface Airlift ("I-

SAL"). According to a Postal Service report, I-SAL has recently

shown a sharp decline in volume, largely because it has not met

the needs of American mailers who have been able to rely on

“the heavy competition in the international carriage of bulk

printed items.”’ The ability of I-SAL to compete is further

hampered because it fails to provide users the efficiency offered

by private remailers. To be specific, an I-SAL customer must

deliver mail that is sorted and bagged by country of destination

to an international airport. In contrast, a remailer will pick up

mail at a customer’s place of business, sort it and bag it by

country, and arrange for delivery through a foreign postal

service’s SAL, typically at a price below the I-SAL rate.

Moreover, because remailers ship mail overseas on more flights

per week than I-SAL, they offer more timely service. Finally,

remailers typically offer service to more countries than I-SAL.®

B. The Current Statutory and

Regulatory Scheme

The Postal Service currently enjoys a statutory monopoly

over the domestic carriage of letters.? There are statutory ex-

ceptions, however, that permit non-Postal Service carriage of

7 See U.S. Postal Service, International Mail — An Overview 16-17 (1985)

(submitted to USPS Board of Governors, September 6, 1985) ("International

Mail").

8 Id. at 13, 16-17. The Postal Service is introducing a “Presort Airmail”

test program that is designed to provide service comparable to thai of the

private remailers. Under the proposed service, mailers will sort their mail by

country. The Posial Service will collect the mail and ship it overseas the

same or following day. Service will be available to all countries of the world.

Id. at 15-16.

9 The Private Express Statutes prohibit, with certain exceptions, the

establishment of a “private express for the conveyance of letters or packets

. . . Over any post route . . . or from any city, or town, or place to any city,

town, or place, between which the mail is regularly carried. . . .” 18 U.S.C.

25

letters.!° Under 39 U.S.C. § 601(b), the Postal Service has

exercised the power to suspend the Private Express monopoly

where “the public interest” so requires.

In 1979, the Postal Service suspended the Private Express

Statutes for the delivery of “extremely urgent letters.” 44 Fed.

Reg. 61,181, condified at 39 C.F.R. § 320.6. Under current

regulations, a letter is considered extremely urgent if it meets

either of two tests:

(1) the “loss of value” test, which requires that the

letter must be delivered within a specified time

and that its usefulness would be greatly reduced

if it were not delivered within that time,'! or

§ 1696. The carriage of letters by anyone “having charge or control of any

conveyance operating by land, air or water . . . otherwise than in the mail” is

similarly prohibited. 18 U.S.C. § 1694. The Postal Service has used its

rulemaking authority to define “letters” broadly. See Associated Third Class

Mail Users v. United States Postal Service, 600 F.2d 824 (D.C. Cir. 1979).

See also 39 C.F.R. § 310 1

10 For example, a letter “may be carried out of the mails” so long as the

Postal Service receives the remuneration it would have received if the ietter

“had been sent by mail.” 39 U.S.C. § 601(a).

"! In pertinent part, 39 C.F.R. § 320.6(b) provides:

(1) For letters dispatched within 50 miles of the intended des-

tination, delivery of those dispatched by noon must be complete

within 6 hours or by the close of the addressee’s normal business

hours that day, whichever is later, and delivery of those dis-

patched after noon and before midnight must be completed by

10 A.M. of the addressee’s next business day. The suspension

is available only if the value or usefulness of the letter would be

lost or greatly diminished if it is not delivered within these time

limits. . . .

(2) Letters sent from the 48 contiguous states of the United States

or to other nations are deemed “delivered” when they are in the

custody of the international or overseas carrier at its last

scheduled point of departure from the 48 contiguous States.

(Emphasis addec

26

(2) the “cost” test, which requires that the sender

demonstrate the urgency of the letter by paying a

substantial premium over regular postal rates. !2

Under the “cost” test, Postal Service regulations allow

carriers to make the comparison with Postal Service rates based

on an entire shipment of letters if all the letters are “delivered”

to the same destination:

If a single shipment consists of a number of letters

that are picked up together and delivered together

to a single destination, the applicable U.S. postage

may be computed for purposes of this paragraph

as though the shipment constituted a single letter

of the weight of the shipment. (Emphasis added)

39 C.F.R. § 320.6(c). The definition of “delivered” is the crux

of the ambiguity that has permitted remailers to flourish by using

airmail shipments as “urgent” deliveries of arguably “non-ur-

gent” individual letter items.

For purposes of the suspension of the Private Express

Statutes for extremely urgent international mail, the regulations

consider letters to be “‘delivered’ when they are in the custody

of the international or overseas carrier at its last scheduled point

of departure from the 48 contiguous states.” 39 C.F.R. §

320.6(b\(2). The remailers contend that under the current

regulations, even though mail is ultimately destined for a num-

ber of different foreign addressees, it is deemed “delivered”

when the bundle of consolidated letters arrives at the overseas

carrier. Under that reading of the regulations, shipments so

delivered meet the cost test if the carrier charges twice the

12 Tn pertinent part, 39 C.F.R. § 320.6(c) provides:

It will be conclusively presumed that a letter is extremely urgent

and is covered by the suspension if the amount paid for private

carriage of the letter is at least three dollars or twice the ap-

_plicable U.S. postage for First-Class Mail (including priority

mail) whichever is the greater.

27

domestic First Class rate based on the aggregate weight of each

shipment. By treating the consolidated package as a single letter

whose postage is determined by the weight of the entire package,

remailers can satisfy the cost test and charge a lower rate than

if the postage payable were calculated separately for each piece

of mail in the package addressed to a different addressee.'3 The

Postal Service argues that this practice of the remailers is

inconsistent with both the intent and terms of the suspension for

extremely urgent mail and proposes revising the regulations to

make it clear that the carriers’ current practices are prohibited

by the Private Express Statutes. Notice, 50 Fed. Reg. at 41,462.

C. Summary of Proposed Regulations

The Postal Service proposes three changes in its regula-

tions to reduce ambiguity in the definition of extremely urgent

mail. The first amendment construes the Postal Service

monopoly over letter carriage to include international mail by

providing “explicit notice that carriage of letters over post routes

within the United States in the course of shipment to or from

another country, as well as carriage that begins and ends within

the United States” is governed by the statutes. 50 Fed. Reg. at

41,462. This change is made by inserting the term “within the

United States” to the existing provision of 39 C.F.R. §

310.1(d).'4

The second change alters the definition of extremely urgent

international mail. The proposed regulations would eliminate

application of the “loss of value” test to international mail, by

13 50 Fed. Reg. at 41,463 (". . . postage for first class mail is based on

one-ounce increments of weight. Few letters weigh exactly one ounce, and

if several are weighed together the total will be fewer ounces than the sum

of the individual letters counted as one each . . . [thus] reducing the amount

that the carrier must charge to satisfy the twice-the-postage element of the

test.”).

14 Section 310.1(d), as modified, would state: “Post routes are routes on

which mail is carried by the Postal Service within the United States. .. .” 50

Fed. Reg. at 41,464 (emphasis on proposed change).

28

deleting the “delivered” language of 39 C.F.R. § 320.6(b).!5

International letters would be considered “extremely urgent”

only if the price charged were great enough to meet the “cost”

test.16

The third revision would restrict application of the cost test

by clarifying the definition of “destination.” The new regulation

would define “destination” as the ultimate addressee of an

individual letter, rather than the international carrier that

receives the bundle of letters. As a result of this proposed

change, a carrier would not be able to calculate the minimum

charge for an entire shipment of letters but would be required to

calculate the charge for each piece sent to a different addressee.

This change is intended to eliminate or significantly to lessen

the private carriage of international mail by raising the minimum

price that a private carrier must charge to qualify under the

“cost” test.!7

Ill. DISCUSSION

A. Itis Not Clear that Congress Intended to

Grant the Postal Service a Monopoly over

International Mai!

A number of factors raise doubt as to whether Congress

intended to extend the Postal Service monopoly to international

mail. In the first instance, the plain language of the Private

Express Statutes grants the Postal Service a monopoly over

domestic carriage.!8 With respect to an international monopoly,

the statutes are silent. Given the national economic policy of

fostering competition, the courts will require a clear expression

= See supra note 11.

'© 50 Fed Reg. at 41,463-64.

17 iq.

18 The Postal Service has relied on the prohibition against private carriage

of letters over domestic routes to claim a similar monopoly over mail sent

abroad. See, e.g., Op. Gen Counsel Postal Serv. PES 83-3 (1983) ("[T}he

Private Express Statutes apply to those portions of ‘air routes in operation’

29

of a congressional intent to create a monopoly, or otherwise

restrict competition.'? Unless, it were necessary to give the

Postal Service a monopoly over international mail in order to

effectuate some domestic policy goal, like “universal service,”

the courts would not impute to Congress an intent to create a

monopoly over international mail. As we indicate in Section

B.2, infra, there is no evidence that granting the Postal Service

a monopoly over international mail is necessary in order to

provide domestic universal service or any other domestic goal

of Congress.

which are partially as well as wholly within the United States. Therefore,

the Private Express Statutes and regulations are applicable to the carriage of

letters which are sent from the United States to other countries. . . .").

We are, of course, aware that courts “give great deference to the inter-

pretation given a statute by the agency charged with its administration.”

National Association of Greeting Card Publishers v. United States Postal

Service, 569 F.2d 570, 595 n.110 (D.C. Cir. 1979) ("NAGCP I“), rev'd on

other grounds, 103 S.Ct. 2717 (1983). On the other hand, courts have

reversed an administrative agency’s construction of its statute as impermis-

sible where it is not "sufficiently reasonable." See FAIC Securities, Inc. v.

United States, No. 84-5408, slip op. at 16 (D.C. Cir. 1985). Indeed, courts

have reversed the Postal Service’s construction of the Postal Reorganization

Act on several occasions. See, e.g., Time, Inc. v. United States Postal

Service, 685 F.2d 760, 771 (2d Cir. 1982) (Postal Service construction

rejected as simplistic and inconsistent with structure of Act); NAGCP /,

supra, at 595-598 (Postal Service construction found too “curious” and

“narrow” tc prevail over common sense reading of Act); United Parcel

Service v. United States Postal Service, 604 F.2d 1370, 1381 (3d Cir. 179),

cert. denied, 446 U.S. 957 (1980).

'9 See, ¢.g., Federal Maritime Commission v. Seatrain Lines, Inc., 411

U.S. 726, 733 (1973) (exemptions from antitrust laws strictly construed);

Otter Tail Power Co. v. United States, 410 U.S. 366, 374 (1973) ("[C]courts

must be hesitant to conclude that Congress intended to override the fun-

damental national policies embodied in the antitrust laws"); United States v.

First City Nat’l Bank, 386 U.S. 361, 368 (1967) (immunity from antitrust

laws is not lightly implied); United States v. Philadelphia National Bank, 374

U.S. 321, 350-51, (1963) (repeals of antitrust laws by implications from

regulatory statute strongly disfavored and found only where plain repugnan-

30

The different rate regulatory mechanisms that Congress

has established for domestic and foreign mail also support the

view that Congress did not intend to confer on the Postal Service

a monopoly over international mail. In enacting the Postal

Reorganization Act, Congress established a complex regulatory

scheme which the Governors of the Postal Service manage its

affairs while the independent Postal Rate Commission reviews

and recommends postal service classifications and rates.29 The

Governors may establish postal rates only after the Postal Rate

Commission reviews a rate request submitted by the Postal

Service.?!

cy exists between antitrust and regulatory provisions); Silver v. New York

Stock Exchange, 373 U.S. 341 (1963) (per se violation of antitrust laws not

exempt where statute gave defendant duty of self-regulation, but regulation

by SEC not sufficiently pervasive); United States v. Radio Corp. of America,

358 U.S. 334, 350 (1959) (anticompetitive conduct not exempt from antitrust

laws where regulatory scheme not sufficiently pervasive); Woods Explora-

tion and Producing Co. v. Aluminum Co. of America, 438 F.2d 1286, 1302

(Sth Cir. 1971) ("Our antitrust laws constitute our economic magna carta, _

designed to protect against predatory oppression. Conceived as such a writ

they must not be facilely negated.").

9 See Governors of the United States Postal Service v. United States

Postal Rate Comm'n, 654 F.2d 108, 114 (D.C. Cir. 1981); United Parcel

Service v. United States Postal Service, 604 F.2d 1370, 1373 (3d Cir. 1979),

cert. denied, 446 U.S. 957 (1980). See generally 39 U.S.C. §§ 3601-3628;

House Comm. on Post Office and Civil Service Commission, H.R. Rep. No.

91-1363, 91st Cong. 2nd Sess. (1970), reprinted in 1970 U.S. Code Cong. &

Ad. News 3649, 3658-3660, 3665-3669 ("House Report”).

2! The Commission, typically after a hearing on the record, transmits a

recommended decision to the Governors on changes in postal rates based on

specifically enumerated statutory considerations. These criteria include the

following:

(1) the establishment of a fair and equitable schedule;

**s

(4) the effect of rate increases upon . . . business, mail users, and

enterprises in the private sector of the economy engaged in the

delivery of mail matter other than letters;

31

In enacting this “carefully constructed system of checks

and balances between governmental agencies,”2? the courts

have reasoned that “Congress intended to prevent undue imposi-

tion on users of monopolized classes. . . .”2 The legislative

history graphically demonstrates the Congressional concern

that, in the absence of oversight by the Postal Rate Commission,

the Postal Service could abuse its monopoly over First Class

mail:

The temptation to resolve the financial problems

of the Post Office by charging the lion’s share of

all operational costs to first class is strong; that’s

where the big money is. The necessity for

preventing that imposition upon the only class of

mail which the general public uses is one of the

reasons why the Postal Rate Commission should

be independent of operating management.”4

Congress did not express a similar concern for regulating

the rates charged by the Postal Service for international mail.

Indeed, the Postal Service interprets the Postal Reorganization

Act as not providing any Postal Rate Commission jurisdiction

over international service classifications and rates.

ss ¢

(5) the available alternative means of sending and receiving

letters and other mail matter at reasonable costs.

39 U.S.C. § 3622(b). The Act also places strict procedural restrictions on the

Governors’ authority to establish a rates different from those recommended

by the Commission. See 39 U.S.C. § 3625.

22 Governors v. Postal Rate Comm'n, 654 F.2d at 116.

3 National Association of Greeting Card Publishers v. United States

Postal Service, 103 S.Ct. 2717, 2730, n.10 (1983).

24S. Rep. No. 91-912, 91st Cong., 2d Sess. at 13 (1970).

25 See International Mail, supra, at 8. Compare 39 U.S.C. § 407 with 39

U.S.C. § 3622. Pursuant to its authority under Section 407 to conclude

international Universal Postal Union, an organization of foreign postal

32

The freedom Congress allowed the Postal Service in setting

international rates is inconsistent with the view that Congress

intended to confer monopoly status on the Postal Service with

respect to international mail. In establishing domestic rate

regulatory authority in the independent Postal Rate Commis-

sion, Congress expressed a policy choice to protect users of the

Postal Service from unfettered pricing by a lawful monopolist.26

There is neither evidence nor reason to believe that Congress

would have been less solicitous of U.S. users of international

mail if it had intended to confer a Postal Service monopoly over

international mail. In fact, we are unaware of any situation in

which Congress has created a legal monopoly without providing

for rate regulation to protect the public from abuse of the

monopoly power. In this case, the Postal Service cannot assert,

as a necessary adjunct to its domestic monopoly and in order to

raise revenue, that its international services are to be free from

both the rigors of the market place and regulation by the Postal

Rate Commission. Courts simply would not be likely to ascribe

such an unprecedented approach to Congress.

In sum, we believe that the scope of the Postal Service

monopoly is sufficiently unclear to call into question the Postal

Service’s authority to adopt the proposed regulations. We

recognize the temptation faced by the Postal Service to assert

the authority to construe broadly the scope of its monopoly and

thereby protect itself from revenue loss, irrespective of the size

or import of such loss. Where, however, the underlying

monopolies that, inter alia, establishes the “base” rate for various weight

categories of international mail. See generally Article 19, Universal Postal

Convention, October 26, 1979, T.1.A.S. No. 9972 ("1979 Convention"). This

base rate, as a practical matter, places virtually no restriction on the Postal

Service, since UPU members may set the actual charge for international mail

Originating in their own countries anywhere from 70 percent below to 100

percent above the base rate. Jd. Member countries are also authorized to add

additional surcharges for conveyance by air. /d. at Arts. 69, 70.

2 See note 24, supra.

33

statutory authority is as “obscure” as it is here, and a broadened

monopoly would adversely effect consumer interests, Congress,

not the Postal Service is the appropriate body to determine the

scope of the Postal Service’s monopoly and authority.?’

B. The Public Interest Would Best be Served by

Permitting Competition from International

Remailers

1. Competition from the Private Sector Will

Benefit Consumers of International Postal

Service

The Postal Service, like any monopolist, has the ability and

incentive to charge supracompetitive rates for its monopoiy

services. As discussed above, there are apparently no effective

regulatory restraints being imposed on Postal Service classifica-

tions and rates for international mail. Entry by remailers has

provided the only incentive for the Postal Service to price its

international services competitively. In response to entry by

remailers, moreover, the Postal Service is now also in competi-

tion with other postal administrations.”®

27 See Associated Third Class Mail Users v. United States Postal Service,

600 F.2d at 827, n.10. The dissenting judge, with whom the majority agreed

concerning the importance of Congressional attention to ambiguities in the

scope of the postal monopoly, opined:

[T]he desired scope of the Postal Service’s monopoly is entirely

a question of public policy, properly to be determined solely by

Congress, and this court should not countenance the Postal

Service’s power and revenue grabbing simply because the

statute, the statutory history, and the agency’s own administra-

tive interpretations are conflicting and obscure.

Id. at 831 (Judge Wilkey, dissenting).

28 Mail may pass through a number of different countries on its way to

the ultimate addressee. Countries through which the mail passes on part of

the journey are compensated through the payment of “transmit fees” by the

originating country. The postal administration that delivers the letter to the

ultimate addressee is compensated by the payment of “terminal dues.” The

34

Consumers of international postal services have benefited

greatly from the competition provided by private international

carriers. Competition in this market has provided consumers

with several significant benefits. It has placed downward pres-

sure on price, and provided a strong incentive for firms to

provide efficient and innovative service. A derivative benefit is

that businesses using lower-cost, more efficient international

postal competitors can use these benefits to become more effec-

tive competitors themselves in international markets.

Apparently, private firms doing business abroad have not

been satisfied with the international service provided by the

Postal Service. A group of First Class mailers recently wrote to

the Postal Service that the ability of their firms to compete with

foreign companies is hurt by the “unreliable and at times erratic

nature of delivery for international mail. . . .This jeopardizes

business opportunities for American companies trying to sell

goods and services abroad.”29 Indeed, Postal Service officials

Postal Service reported that in 1984 transit revenue accounted for ap-

proximately 13.6 percent of total revenue from interfiational mail. Programs

such as SAL and I-SAL can be profitable because a postal administration

earns the difference between its rates and the various incidental charges such

as terminal due and transit fees. Remailers have forced postal administra-

tions to compete with one another by lowering rates and improving service

in an effort to attract this lucrative remail business.

The Universal Postal Union ("UPU"), in response to this competition, has

instituted regulations that can be viewed as an attempt to enforce an interna-

tional postal cartel. The foundation supporting the UPU is the agreement of

its members to allow “freedom of transit” for mail originating in other

countries. Article 1, 1979 Convention. Under Article 23.4 of the Conven-

tion, however, members may refuse transit of mail originating in a member

country but posted abroad. The Department has been made aware of a

number of instances where the Postal Service has relied on Article 23 in

delaying passage of mail originated by U.S. companies that was posted in

foreign countries by remailers.

29 Letter from Laurel Kamen (American Express Corp.), Richard

Coughenour (Citicorp) and Rolf Wetjen (Shearson American Express Corp.)

35

have acknowledged that the Postal Service’s performance in

international] mail has been inadequate. For example, Walter

Duka, Assistant Postmaster General for International Postal

Affairs, stated at a recent meeting of the Board of Governors

that the Postal Service has taken a number of measures to “try

and get international mail back on a healthy track,” and noted

that the purpose of these measures is to “match the delivery

claims made by the so-called remailing companies.”*° Indeed,

the Postal Service did not even offer I-SAL service until it began

to lose substantial amounts of international business. According

to Mr. Duka:

[I]international mail operates in a very competi-

tive environment. We certainly realize that we’ve

experienced significant volume losses and that we

must make our offerings more competitive.>!

The difference in price between services provided by the

Postal Service and those of remailers is quite substantial. Ac-

cording to recent reports, some remailers charge as much as 35

percent less than the Postal Service and provide better service.

As a result, private carriers have taken “nearly all of the inter-

national market for airlifted printed matter.”

Competition from remailers also has the salutory effect of

providing additional incentives for the Postal Service to provide

innovative service an to incfease operating efficiencies. Mr.

to Postmaster General Pual N. Carlin, quoted in “Erratic Service Hurting

International Firms,” Business Mailers Review, May 27, 1985.

30 W. Duka, Remarks at Meeting of the Board of Governors, United States

Postal Service 47 (September 6, 1985) ("Duka Remarks").

31 Id. at 48. See also “Price Cutting Looms for Internationa! Mail,”

Business Mailers Review, Sept. 9, 1985; “Faster Foreign Mail Service

Promised,” Business Mailers Review, June 24, 1985; “A Response to Com-

petition in Foreign Mail,” Business Mailers Review, July 22, 1985.

32 See “Price Cutting Looms for International Mail,” Business Mailers

Review, Sept. 9, 1985.

36

Duka’s response to a question by Governor Voss leaves little

doubt that remailers provide an important competitive check on

the exercise of market power by the Postal Service over inter-

national mail services.

[W]e are coming too late, I think, to try to apply

some imagination and creativity and try to be

more competitive with these private firms and I

certainly agree with you that we should have been

out ahead of them in providing better service

before they in effect have forced us to do this."

2. There is No Evidence that the Policies Under-

lying the Domestic Postal Monopoly Will be

Jeopardized by International Remail Competi-

tion

A significant Congressional policy underlying the Postal

Reorganization Act is that of “universal service”:

The Postal Service is required to develop and

provide adequate and efficient postal service at

fair and reasonable rates and to serve as nearly as

practicable the entire population of the United

States. . . .[E]effective postal service is to be

assured to residents of rural, as well as urban,

communities.*4

It has been argued that the domestic monopoly created by the

Private Express Statutes is necessary in order to support this

universal service policy, i.e., that unless private entrepreneurs

are prevented from “cream skimming” the more lucrative, high

density markets, the cost of providing postal services to all users

will effectively deny service to some users.

33 Duka Remarks at 52 (emphasis added).

¥ See House Report, supra, 1970 U.S. Code Cong. Ad. News at 3657

(1970).

37

In general, we believe that these arguments are unsound as

a matter of economic policy and do not justify the Private

Express Statutes. Rather, it has been our position that the

Private Express Statutes represent a historic deviation from this

nation’s traditional reliance on the private sector, rather than on

the government, to provide services that the public demands.

We have observed elsewhere that the Postal Service’s domestic

monopoly, coupled with the uniform rate structure mandated by

the Postal Reorganization Act, “may impede or preclude some

transactions that are cost justified and at the same time en-

courage other transactions involving the mail for which equally

good or better lower cost substitutes are available.”°5

Assuming, nonetheless, that a connection can be made

between universal service and a statutory domestic monopoly,

we do not believe that curtailing competition from international

remailers is necessary to further the policies underlying the

Private Express Statutes. The Postal Service, noting that the

Private Express Statutes are “a revenue protection measure,”

35 Testimony of Assistant Attorney General William F. Baxter before the

Subcommittee on Governmental Information, Justice and Agriculture of the

House Committee on Government Operations at 8 (May 4, 1983). See

generally, U.S. Department of Justice, “Changing the Private Express Laws:

Competitive Alternatives and the U.S. Postal Service” (January 1977.

While it may be true that a single postal firm might serve certain rural low

density markets most efficiently, the market for inter-city delivery of mail

appears to be capable of serving a number of competing firms. The result,

under the Private Express Statutes is that low-cost users of the mail subsidize

high-cost users. Rather than the hidden subsidy engendered by the present

scheme, Congress might explicitly subsidize these high-cost users. From all

indications, international mail, like inter-city mail, is not a natural monopoly.

Thus, a number of firms competing with each other could most efficiently

provide international postal services, and avoid the inefficiencies associated

with a system of hidden subsidies. Similarly, a direct subsidy to high-cost

users would address more efficiently any concern that such competition

would undermine universal service by denying local delivery a subsidy from

international postal services.

38

argues that the private carriage of international mail “altogether

bypasses the United States Mails.”5° It provides no evidence,

however, that would indicate that competition from internation-

al carriers is causing it economic harm, let alone such great harm

as to jeopardize its ability to provide universal service.

In an analogous situation, this Administration recently

authorized, and the Federal Communications Commission ap-

proved, limited competition to the INTELSAT international

satellite monopoly 37 in the form of customized business ser-

vices roughly analogous to the customized mail services

provided by remailers. The decision was based on the con-

clusion that the benefits of competition in the provision of

specialized telecommunication services outweighed any risk to

universal service. Under circumstances similar to those present

here, the Administration determined that entry by U.S. firms

would give customers of satellite services “new service options

% Notice, 50 Fed. Reg. at 41,462.

37 INTELSAT is an acronym for the International Telecommunications

Satellite Organization, a multinational organization that owns and manages

the global public telecommunications satellite system. According to a recent

report, INTELSAT “handles about 2/3 of the world’s transoceanic telecom-

munications traffic and most international television transmissions.” See

Senior Interagency Group on International Communications and Information

Policy, “A White Paper on New International Satellite Systems” at 7 (Feb.

1985)("White Paper"). Under the Satellite Act of 1962, the President must

determine the international satellite systems “separate” from INTELSAT are

“required in the national interest” before the FCC may authorize such

systems under the Communications Act of 1934. See 47 U.S.C. § 721(a)(6).

Under the multilateral treaty covering INTELSAT, signatories may authorize

private satellite facilities for “international public telecommunications ser-

vice requirements” where those facilities are coordinated with INTELSAT

to ensure technical compatibility and the avoidance of economic harm to

INTESAT. See INTELSAT Intergovernmental Agreement, Article XIV,

Aug. 20, 1971, 23 U.S.T. 3813, 3853, TIAS No. 7532. See generally FCC

Report and Order in Docket No. 84-1299 at 45 (Sept. 3, 1985.).

39

and benefits of competition.”>* The Administration also con-

templated that competition would engender responsive innova-

tion by INTELSAT itself. In conclusion, the Administration

recognized:

Governments should not strifle private

entreprenurial initiatives absent sound and com-

pelling public policy reasons. Such incentives

should not be discouraged when the services

proposed could prove of value to customers, im-

prove their productivity and efficiency, and thus

enable American firms to compete more effec-

tively at home and abroad.

White Paper at 50.

We do not believe that the Postal Service has provided

sound and compelling public policy reasons that warrant its

attempt to eliminate competition in the market for international

mail services. Remailers provide specialized bulk mail services

to large business mailers. The Postal Service is free to compete

for that business, and if forced to innovate, may do well in

attracting such business. In any event, the Postal Service

provides no evidence that existing private competition from

remailers providing specialized international services has had

any financial impact on it of a magnitude that jeopardizes its

ability to provide universal service. To stifle such competition

in the absence of compelling policy reasons would be contrary

to the public interest. -

Vv. CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, we believe that adoption

of the proposed regulations would stifle lawful competition to

the Postal Service. The Postal Service’s authority to expand its

domestic monopoly to eliminate international competition from

38 See White Paper at 2, In its report and order the FCC made detailed

findings as to the public benefits that flow from private international satellite

systems. See FCC Report and Order at 34-45; White Paper at 50.

40

remailers is far from certain, and consequently, requires Con-

gressional clarification. Weighed against this uncertain legal

authority, is the certain public benefit that accrues from private

sector competition in the provision of international postal ser-

vices. In these circumstances, the public interest would be

poorly served by amendment of the Postal Service’s regulations

to prohibit a specialized form of remailer competition in the

provision of international mail services.

Respectfully submitted,

Douglas H. Ginsburg Charles F. Rule

Assistant Attorney Genera Deputy Assistant Attorney

Antitrust Division General

Antitrust Division

Barry Grossman, Chief

Communications & Finance Section

Robert E. Hauberg, Jr.

Assistant Chief

Communications & Finance

Martin L. Stern, Attorney

Communications & Finance ‘Section

Jonathan M. Rich, Attorney

Communications & Finance Section

Michael A. Williams, Economist

Economic Regulatory Section

Antitrust Division

U.S. Department of Justice

504 Safeway Building

Washington, D.C. 20530

202/724-6693

December 12, 1985

41

January 23, 1986

The Honorable John McKean, Chair

USPS/Board of Governors

One California Street, Suite 1200

San Francisco, CA 94111

Dear Mr. McKean:

Last year we wrote to then Postmaster General Carlin in

regard to the U.S. Postal Service’s (USPS) proposed rule chan-

ges in the regulation on the restrictions on private carriage of

letters. In that letter, we asked that the USPS extend the com-

ment period from thirty days to sixty days, so the Subcommittee

could carefully review the proposed changes and the impact on

the USPS and the customers of international remailing services.

The extension was granted and the Subcommittee has now had

the opportunity to review the matter.

We also asked the USPS to provide us with answers to

several questions. The most important of which were, how

much volume and revenue is involved and how the public would

benefit. The only answer they could provide regarding our

question on volume and revenue was, “it is common

knowledge...that a number of shippers and carriers engaged in

this practice, and we infer from this and other information that

the volumes and revenues involved are significant”. Concerns

about the needs of current users of these services were not even

addressed by the USPS.

We cannot understand how the USPS could undertake an

action of this kind without even being able to give a rough

estimate of the volume and doliars involved, or without knowing

the effects of this proposal on current users of remailing services.

Further, the Subcommittee learned that of the fifty-seven com-

ments received on the proposed regulation changes, fifty-five of

them opposed the USPS proposed action.

42

In its comments, the Department of Justice (DOJ) stated,

“we believe that adoption of the proposed regulations would

stifle lawful competition to the Postal Service. The Postal

Service’s authority to expand its domestic monopoly to

eliminate international competition from remailers is far from

certain, and consequently, requires Congressional clarification.

Weighed against this uncertain legal authority, is the certain

public benefit that accrues from private sector competition in

the provision of international postal services. In these cir-

cumstances, the public interest would be poorly served by

amendments of the Postal Service’s regulations to proh‘bit a

specialized form of remailer competition in the provision of

international mail service.”

Accordingly, the Subcommittee finds no justification or

basis for the action proposed by the USPS. However, we have

instructed the Subcommittee staff to continue studying the

matter in more depth to determine if any clarification is neces-

sary. We will, of course, keep you informed of our findiggs.

Sincerely,

MICKEY LELAND

Chairman

FRANK HORTON

Ranking Minority Member

ROBERT GARCIA

Member

cc: The Honorable William D. Ford, Chairman

House Committee on Post Office & Civil

& Service and Members of the Committee

43

26 February, 1986

The Honorable Albert V. Casey

Postmaster General

United States Postal Service

475 L’Enfant Plaza, S.W., Room 10022

Washington, D.C. 20260-1000

Dear Mr. Postmaster:

I understand that on 3 March 1986, the Board of Governors

of the United States Postal Service will consider proposed rules

that, if adopted, will materially and adversely affect the ability

of remail services to compete for international mail traffic. Our

Antitrusi Division filed comments with you on 12 December

1985, opposing these proposed rules. I would like to reiterate

the concerns of this Department about the effect of the proposed

rules on competition and consumer welfare.

As the Antitrust Division has explained, there are sig-

nificant public benefits from lawful private sector competition

in the provision of international postal services. Remailers have

been able to offer service to United States businesses competing

abroad at costs and terms that are apparently viewed by users as

better than those offered by the Postal Service. | understand that

competition from remailers has forced the Postal service to

introduce new international services. By stifling lawful private

sector competition, the proposed regulations will undermine

economic efficiency and will inhibit Postal Service incentives

to innovate and to price its international services competitive-

ly —all to the detriment of consumer welfare.

Given the Administration’s policy in favor of competition

and against unnecessary regulation, | urge you to follow the

recommendation filed by our Antitrust Division and not promul-

gate the proposed rules. I understand that these same issues will

be relevant to Administration review of the 1984 Universal

44

Postal Union Convention, and I hope the Convention will be

submitted shortly for Administration review. By copy of this

letter, 1 am informing the remaining members of the Board of

Our position on this matter.

Sincerely,

EDWIN MEESE III

Attorney General

cc: Members of the Board of Governors,

United States Postal Service

45

| 28 February 1986

Honorable Albert V. Casey

Postmaster General

U.S. Postal Service Headquarters

Washington, D.C. 20260-1000

Dear Mr. Casey:

The Board of Governors of the Postal Service will consider

the issue of international remain at its March 3 meeting. The

United States Postal Service (USPS), in an October 10, 1985,

Federal Register notice, proposes to restrict private companies

from providing international remail service. The Department of

Commerce opposes this proposai. I urge you not to adopt it.

The proposal to restrict international remail service should

be put aside on the basis of business’ expressed needs and U.S.

trade policy. U.S. businesses use the services of private com-

panies for remail because their service is less expensive and

faster than the alternative being developed by USPS. Interna-

tional remail service provides a valuable service for U.S. inter-

national business firms. To prohibit U.S. companies from using

these services would place the firms at a disadvantage vis-a-vis

our foreign competitors.

In addition, the U.S. international business community

overwhelmingly opposes the USPS proposal. This is borne out

by the comments received by USPS following its Federal

Register notice as well as a poll commissioned by the Interna-

tional Remail Committee.

Please let me know if you would like further information.

Sincerely,

Malcolm Baldrige

Secretary of Commerce

46

28 February 1986

Honorable Albert V. Casey

Postmaster General

U.S. Postal Service

475 L’Enfant Plaza, S.W., Room 10022

Washington, DC 20260-1000

Dear Mr. Casey:

On October 10, 1985, the U.S. Postal Service (USPS)

proposed a revision in its regulations implementing the Private

Express Statutes that would have the effect of restricting the

operations of international “remailers.” We understand the

USPS Board of Governors plans to consider this proposal on

March 3, 1986.

The Office of Management and Budget recommends that

the Board not adopt the proposed revisions. We believe the

revisions would restrict competition in international mail ser-

vice, because international remailers would be unable to offer

many, if not all, of their current services. Competition from

international remailers has increased innovation and improved

service levels in this market. The Department of Justice has

found that private international remailers currently provide

faster service to more countries, typically at lower rates, than

does the competitive program offered by the USPS. The

proposed changes would harm consumers of international! mail

services by increasing their consumers of international mail

services by increasing their costs and reducing the quality and

variety of international mail services available to them. Since

most of the users of international remailers’ services are U.S.

firms with international activities, this action would also reduce

U.S. competitiveness abroad.

47

We are concerned that if the proposed changes are adopted,

consumers of international mail services will not be protected

either by competition or by regulation. Unlike domestic mail

rates, rates for international mail are not subject to regulation by

the Postal Rate Commission.

The rationale presented by the USPS for the proposed rule

is that current practices deprive the USPS of revenue. We do

not believe this is an adequate justification for extending the

USPS monopoly, for it would permit no limits to extending that

monopoly to any form of service where the USPS faces com-

petition. It is the policy of this Administration to foster com-

petition wherever possible, because of the benefits it produces

for consumers. We believe that the USPS should also be seeking

feasible opportunities to promote competition, within its

statutory authority and obligations.

On a related matter, we are seriously concerned about the

USPS’s delay in submitting the 1984 Universal Postal Union

Convention to the State Department. Delay in sending the treaty

forward can impede the ability of the President to exercise his

Constitutional and statutory discretion to oversee the foreign

affairs of the United States and may cast doubt on our resolve

to act expeditiously in fulfilling our international respon-

sibilities.

Sincerely yours,

James C. Miller III

Director

48

2 April 1986

Honorable Alfonse D’ Amato

United States Senate

Washington, D.D. 20510

Dear Senator D’ Amato:

I] am writing in response to your February 13, 1986 letter

to Attorney General Meese. Your letter seeks written confirma-

tion from the Department of Justice that international remailers

“are not acting illegally” under current Postal Service regula-

tions.

I am enclosing for your information a letter from the

Attorney General to Postmaster General Casey that indicates our

view that remailers currently provide “lawful private sector

competition” to the Postal Service. I also enclose a March 4,

1985 Statement of John R. McKean, who is the chairman of the

Postal Service Board of Governors. That statement indicates

that the Board of Governors views competition from remailers

as being in the public interest. That statement also indicates that

the Board of Governors has ordered the Postal Service to com-

mence a rulemaking proceeding to “remove the cloud” over

remailing that, in their opinion, is created by current Postal

Service regulations.

Under these circumstances, you may be assured that the

Department of Justice will not seek to prosecute international

remailers or their customers on the basis of the current regula-

tions.

49

We hope that you find this information useful in clarifying

the lawfulness of international remail and in minimizing the

adverse effects that the current situation has had on your

remailer constituents.

Sincerely,

John R. Bolton

Assistant Attorney General

Enclosures

ce: Louis A. Cox, Esquire

General Counsel

U.S. Postal Service

475 L’Enfant Plaza, S.W.

Washington, D.C. 20260-1100

50

POSTAL SERVICE

39 CFR Parts 310 and 320

Restrictions on Private Carriage of Letters; Withdrawal

of Proposed Rule; Advance Notice of Proposed Rulemak-

ing and Request for Information

AGENCY: Postal Service

ACTION: Withdrawal of proposed rule; advance notice of

proposed rulemaking and request for information.

SUMMARY: On October 10, 1985, the Postal Service publish-

ed in the Federal Register [50 FR 41462] a proposed modifica-

tion and clarification of the regulations on the Private Express

Statutes, with minor and procedural revisions on October 22,

1985 (SO FR 42729) and November 8, 1985 (50 FR 46464). The

proposed rule, which is hereby being withdrawn, dealt for the

most part with the carriage of intergational letters by private

firms who remail them outside the United States.

The Postal Service received a significant number of com-

ments on the proposed rule. Following review of the comments,

the Chairman of the Board of Governors of the Postal Service

issued a statement, which is ced below. The Chairman

noted, among other things, that the remail issue has generated

considerable controversy about the proper scope of the Private

Express Statutes and implementing regulations. Accordingly,

the Chairman announced that a new rulemaking proceeding will

be initiated as soon as a factual record is fully developed. The

Postal Service has sent a letter to each commenter, a sample of

which is reproduced below, requesting information for that

record. The principal purpose of this notice is to request the

same information from other members of the public.

51

DATE: Withdrawal of the proposed rule is effective March 20,

1986. Comments and information needed to develop a full and

factual record must be received on or before April 30, 1986.

ADDRESS: Written comments and information should be ad-

dressed to the General Counsel, Law Department, United States

Postal Service, Washington, DC 20260-1113. Copies of all

written comments will be available for inspection and

photocopying between 9:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m., Monday

through Friday, in Room 5128, 955 L’Enfant Plaza, SW.,

Washington, DC.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Charles D.

Hawley, (202) 268-2970.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: As noted above, the

Postal Service is undertaking to develop a factual record in

preparation for a new rulemaking proceeding and has sent a

letter to each commenter soliciting information for that record.

The Postal Service requests the same information from other

members of the public. Accordingly, a sample of the letter is

reproduced here, along with the Statement of the Chairman of

the Board.

List of Subjects in 39 CFR Parts 310 and 320

Postal Service, Computer technology, Advertising.

W. Allen Sanders,

Associate General Counsel, Office of General Law and Ad-

ministration.

March 14, 1986.

Dear : For the reasons more fully discussed

in the enclosed statement by John McKean, Chairman of the

Board of Governors, the Postal Service is undertaking to gather

information and develop a factual record in preparation for the

initiation of a new rulemaking proceeding relating to the practice

of international remailing. We are writing to you, s a person

52

who submitted comments in response to our earlier notice of

proposed rulemaking on this subject, to solicit information for

that record.

The particular focus of our inquiry is the appropriate scope

of a new suspension of the Private Express Statutes which may

be necessary to serve the interests of our customers. We solicit

information from you as to the kind or kinds of private services

which in your experience have met, or in your estimation would

meet, your needs or the needs of the public, with respect to letters

being sent to addressees in foreign countries, more satisfactorily

than those provided by the Postal Service. Of greatest value to

us in this respect would be information that addresses such

points as the following:

* The nature of the correspondence;

* The degree of urgency and the type of harm that would

be caused by delay;

* Any differential in promptness of service between let-

ters that are “remailed” and those sent through the

Postal Service;

* Whether the correspondence is eligible for private car-

riage under the current loss-of-value test of the suspen-

sion for extremely urgent letters (see 39 CFR 320.6(b),

copy attached);

* The extent to which the correspondence is intra-com-

pany;

* The extent to which letters privately carried to foreign

countries are “remailed” or are delivered to the addres-

sees by private means;

* Any estimate of the volume of letters “remailed” over

the past year;

¢ Any differential in cost between letters privately car-

ried and letters sent through the Postal Service;

53

¢ The extent to which considerations of cost rather than

speed of delivery determine the choice of carrier for

letters sent overseas; and

* The extent to which a suspension for remailing would

preserve the benefits of desirable competition between

the Postal Service and private companies.

This is by no means an exhaustive list of points that may

be material to the development of the full factual record that we

need as a basis for proposing a new suspension of the Statutes.

We welcome any additional information and urge that it be as

factual and specific as possible. We also solicit your views as

to the scope of a suspension which will best serve the relevant

interests, and we invite you to suggest specific language for an

implementing regulation.

We anticipate proceeding in accordance with the following

schedule:

April 30, 1966 — Responses due to solicitation of informa-

tion for factual record.

May 22-23, 1966— Meeting with interested persons to

discuss responses and parameters of proposed suspension.

June 16, 1966 — Publish notice of proposed rulemaking in

Federal Register.

July 16, 1966 — Comments due on proposed rule.

August 29, 1966 — Publish notice of final rule.

We ask that you send your response so as to reach me not

later than Wednesday, April 30, 1966.

We are withdrawing the earlier proposal in order to avoid

uncertainty over its status while this new proceeding is pending.

To the extent that the earlier proposal dealt with the suspension

for extremely urgent letters on matters other than international

remailing, we anticipate initiating a further proposal in the near

future.

54

If you have questions, my telephone number is (202)

268-2970.

Sincerely,

Charles D. Hawley,

Assistant General Counsel, General

Administration Law Division, Law Department

Enclosures

39 CFR 320.6(b)

(b)(1)For letters dispatched within 50 miles of the intended

destination, delivery of those dispatched by noon must be com-

pleted within 6 hours or by the close of the addressee’s normal

business hours that day, whichever is later, and delivery of those

dispatched after noon and before midnight must be completed

by 10 A.M. of the addressee’s next business day. For other

letters, delivery must be completed within 12 hours or by noon

of the addressee’s next business day. The suspension is avail-

able only if the value or usefulness of the letter would be lost or

greatly diminished if it is not delivered within these time limits.

For any part of the shipment of letters to qualify under this

paragraph (b), each of the letters must be extremely urgent.

(2) Letters sent from the 49 contiguous states of the United

States to other jurisdictions of the United States or to other

nations are deemed “delivered” when they are in the custody of

the international or overseas carrier at its last scheduled point of

departure from the 48 contiguous states. Letters sent from other

jurisdictions of the United States or from other nations into the

48 contiguous staies are deemed “dispatched” when they are in

the custody of the domestic carrier, having been passed by

United States Customs, if applicable, at the letters’ point of

arrival in the 48 contiguous states.

(3) Except as provided in this paragraph (b)(3), the times

and time limits specified in paragraph (b)(1) of this section are

55

not applicable to any locations outside the 48 contiguous states.

The times and time limits specified in paragraph (b)(1) are

applicable to letters dispatched and delivered wholly within

Alaska, Hawaii, Puerto Rico or a territory or possession of the

United States. The regulations provided in paragraph(b)(2)

relating to the delivery and dispatch of letters are applicable by

analogy to letters shipped between these jurisdiction and other

nations.

Statement of John R. McKean, Chairman, United States

Postal Services Board of Governors, on Remail Issue

March 4, 1986

_As some of you may be aware, the Postal Service recently

initiated a rulemaking concerning its regulations under the

private Express Statutes. That rulemaking involved the rules

bearing on the carriage of international mail by private firms

who remail it outside the United States.

In response to this proposed rulemaking, the Postal Service

has received a significant number of comments. The Board of

Governors has been kept informed of the nature of these com-

ments.

The remail issue has generated considerable controversy

about the proper scope of the monopoly under which we operate.

It is worth emphasizing that Congress entrusted us with this

monopoly not for our own benefit but in order to let us better

serve the American people. The critical question raised by this

rulemaking is whether enforcement of the monopoly in this

context would advance or retard consumer welfare and the

interests of this nation.

It is the sense of the Board that private sector competition

with the Postal Service in the provision of international remail-

ing services can—and already does— produce significant

56

benefits for the public. Ultimately, even the Postal Service itself

can benefit from this kind of competition.

Many businesses appear to view the private sector alterna-

tive as preferable to the service we are providing — preferable in

terms of price and service. That tells us something important

about the way we are now doing our job in this area. The

monopoly was not intended to protect us from having to face up

to our own shortcomings. I am glad to say that the competition

from private remailers has already spwited us on to improve our

own efforts and be more competitive in providing international

mail services.

As things now stand, therefore, remail services would

appear to advance consumer welfare while at the same time

fostering innovation and economic efficiency.

The Board of Governors does not believe that any attempt

to suppress this kind of competition would advance the long-

term objectives of the Postal Reorganization Act or otherwise

enhance the welfare of our customers and the American people.

Yet we have to deal with the laws and regulations now on the

books. As now drafted, they do not appear to leave room for

the lawful operation of international remail services. At the very

least there is a serious question on this point.

The Board of Governors believes that the appropriate

course of action under these circumstances-is to change our

regulations to make them conform to sound public policy.

Accordingly, we are announcing today that the Postal Service

will soon be initiating another rulemaking proceeding, this time

to remove the cloud that now hangs over the international! remail

services and preserve the benefits of desirable competition

between the Postal Service and private companies.

The Private Express Statutes permit us to suspend their

application when the public interest so requires. Such a suspen-

sion must be predicated on a fully developed factual record. The

57

Postal Service intends to take the steps necessary to gather

information in this regard and proceed with a new rulemaking

as quickly as possible.

[FR Doc. 86-6107 Filed 3-20-86; 8:45 am]

Billing Code 7790-13-

58

March 26, 1986

The Honorable John McKean, Chairman

Board of Governors

United States Postal Service

475 L’Enfant Plaza, S.W.

Washington, D. C. 20260

Dear Mr. McKean:

I was extremely disturbed by the letter dated March 14,

1986 by an Assistant General Counsel of the USPS in which he

couched the Remailing Issue in terms of a suspension of the

Private Express Statutes. As you are well aware and as the

author of the March 14, 1986 letter should be aware, the Remail-

ing Issue does not, in any way, involve a suspension of the

Private Express Statutes.

As noted in the comments of the U.S. Department of Justice

dated December 14, 1984, it is not clear that Congress intended

to grart USPS a monopoly over international mail as well as

domestic mail. Indeed, applicable canons of statutory inter-

pretation and relevant case law tend to indicate that Congress

did not intend for the monopoly to extend to international mail.

At best; the intent of Congress on this issue is ambiguous. Until

this issue is resolved as a matter of law, the USPS need not and

should not even consider suspending the Private Express

Statutes.

The regulations originally proposed by the USPS, in effect,

extend the monopoly to international mail. This is a wholly

improper exercise of the rule making authority of the USPS.

The scope of the monopoly is a question of public policy and is

to be determined only by Congress. Until Congress makes this

determination, the issue of suspending the Private Express

Statutes is not even relevant.

59

We strongly advise both the Board and the USPS not to

persist in this misinterpretation of the law and of the Remailing

Issue.

Sincerely,

MICKEY LELAND

Chairman

ML/dl

60

May 2, 1986

U.S. Department of Justice

Antitrust Division

Charles D. Hawley, Esquire

Assistant General Counsel

United States Postal Service

475 L’Enfant Plaza, S.W.

Washington, D.C. 20260-1100

Re: Restrictions on Private Carriage of Letters;

Withdrawal of Proposed Rules; Advance

Notice of Proposed Rule-making and Request

for Information

Dear Mr. Hawley:

I am writing in response to your March 18, 1986 letter to

the Department of Justice ("Department") requesting informa-

tion that might be considered by the Postal Service in fashioning

a suspension of the Private Express Statutes for international

remail services. I understand that an identical letter has been

sent to all parties that filed comments in the remail rulemaking.!

Pursuant to the March 4, 1986 statement by John McKean,

Chairman of the Board of Governors of the Postal Service

("McKean Statement"), the Postal Service was ordered to

withdraw the previously proposed rules on which we and others

commented,? and to initiate a new rulemaking to “preserve the

‘Restrictions on Private Carriage of Letters; Withdrawal of Proposed

Rules; Advance Notice of Proposed Rulemaking and Request for Informa-

tion, 51 Fed. Reg. 9852 (March 21, 1986) ("Notice").

Restrictions on Private Carriage of Letters; Proposed Clarification and

Modification of Definition and of Regulations on Extremely Urgent Letters;

50 Fed Reg. 41462 (October 10, 1985); See also Comments of the United

States Department of Justice, In the Matter of Restrictions on Private Car-

riage of Letters; Proposed Clarification and Modification of Definition and

61

benefits of desirable competition between the Postal Service and

private companies.” The letter and Notice represent that the

information requested is needed “as a basis for proposing a new

suspension of the [Private Express] Statutes” and solicit “views

as to the scope of a suspension which will best serve the relevant

interests” and specific language for implementing regulations."4

The Department sees no need for a new rule. As the

Attorney General has stated, international remail represents

“lawful private sector competition to the Postal Service.”5

Moreover, the Department has indicated that it will not

prosecute remailers or their customers on the basis of current

Postal Service regulations.6 Under these circumstances, a

protracted rulemaking will only serve to raise uncertainty as to

the legal status of lawful private sector services that numerous

executive agencies and the Board of Governors of the Postal

Service find beneficial to consumers.

Furthermore, even if a new rule were necessary to clarify

that international remail is lawful, the comments filed in the

earlier remail proceeding and the Postal Service’s own internal

reports provide an ample record on which to base any rule that

the Postal Service deems necessary to “remove the cloud” over

remail that it sees under current regulations.” The information

request and the accompanying procedural schedule will only

delay resolution of this matter.

of Regulations on Extremely Urgent Letters, December 12, 1985, ("Depart-

ment Comments”).

*Notice, 51 Fed. Reg. at 9853.

“Notice, 51 Fed. Reg. at 9852.

*See Letier from Attorney General Edwin Meese to Postmaster General

Albert V. Casey, February 26, 1986 (copy attached).

*See Letter from Assistant Attorney General John R. Bolton to Senator

Alfonse D’Amato, April 2, 1986 (copy attached).

"Id. at 51 Fed. Reg. 9853. See generally Department Comments at 19-22.

62

In sum, the Postal Service’s conduct of the remail proceed-

ing may reflect a fundamental reluctance to accept the benefits

of marketplace competition, contrary to the expressed mandate

of the Board of Governors:

The Board of Governors does not believe that any

attempt to suppress this kind of competition

would advance the long-term objectives of the.

Postal Reorganization Act or otherwise enhance

the welfare of our customers and the American

people.§

Consistent with this policy pronouncement, and the policy of

this Administration to foster and promote private sector com-

petition in international mail, we strongly urge the Postal Ser-

vice to abandon the remail proceeding. Alternatively, the Postal

Service should resolve the proceeding expeditiously on the basis

of the existing record so that the benefits of private sector

competition may continue to be enjoyed by consumers on

international! mail services.

Please include this document in the public file of this

proceeding.

Sincerely,

Charles F. Rule

Deputy Assistant Attorney General

Antitrust Division

Enclosures

SSee Notice, 51 Fed. Reg. at 9853. See also Department Comments at

19-22.

63

POSTAL SERVICE

39 CFR Parts 310 and 320

Restrictions on Private Carriage of Letters; Meeting

AGENCY: Postal Service.

ACTION: Notice of public meeting.

SUMMARY: This document provides notice of a public meet-

ing relating to the initiation of a new rulemaking proceeding

concerning the Private Express Statutes and the practice of

international remailing. All persons desiring to attend the meet-

ing should notify the Postal Service by May 15, 1986.

DATES: 10:00 A.M., Thursday, May 22, 1986 (If necessary,

on Friday, May 23, 1986.)

ADDRESS: Conference Room, Room No. 5183, 955 L’Enfant

Plaza SW., Washington, DC (The location is subject to change

if the number of persons desiring to attend exceeds the capacity

of this conference room.)

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Charles D.

Hawley, (202) 268-2970.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: The Postal Service in-

tends to hold a public meeting in connection with its undertaking

to gather information and develop a factual record in preparation

for the initiation of a new rulemaking proceeding concerning the

practice of international remailing, as previously announced on

March 21, 1986, in the Federal Register (51 FR 9852).

Discussion will focus n comments submitted by interested per-

sons in response to the March 21, 1986 Federal Register notice,

the need of the public for international services not met by the

Postal Service, and the scope of a proposed suspension of the

Private Express Statutes to permit international remailing.

However, no decision on the nature or scope of a proposed

suspension will be made or announced at this meeting. The

64

meeting is scheduled for May 22, 1986, at 10:00 a.m., and, if

necessary, will reconvene on May 23, 1986. All persons desir-

ing to attend the meeting are asked to notify the Postal Service,

at the telephone number listed above, by the close of business

on May 15, 1986. If the anticipated seating requirements exceed

the capacity of the announced meeting room, a change in the

room location will be announced on or before May 19, 1986.

Fred Eggleston,

Assistant General Counsel, Legislative Division

[FR Doc 86-10556 Filed 5-9-86; 8:45 am]

65

POSTAL SERVICE

39 CFR Part 320

Restrictions on Private Carriage of Letters; Proposed,

Suspension of the Private Express Statutes; International

Remailing

AGENCY: Postal Service.

ACTION: Proposed rule.

SUMMARY: On March 21, 1986 the Postal Service published

in the Federal Register (51 FR 9852) an advance notice of

proposed rulemaking and request for information on which to

develop a factual record concerning international remailing, and

also withdrew a previously published proposed rule.

The purpose of this document is to propose a new suspen-

sion of the Private Express Statutes for international remailing.

This suspension would implement the statement of March 4,

1986 by John McKean, Chairman of the Board of Governors,

that the cloud should be removed from the practice of interna-

tional remailing. See 51 FR 9853. The proposed suspension

would permit the private uninterrupted carriage of letters from

the United States to a foreign country for ultimate delivery

outside of the United States.

DATE: Comments must be received on or before July 17, 1986.

ADDRESS: Written comments should be addressed to the

General Counsel, Law Department, United States Postal Ser-

vice, Washington, D.C. 20260-1113. Copies of all written

comments will be available for inspection and photocopying

between 9:00 AM and 4:00 PM, Monday through Friday, in

Room 6147, 475 L’Enfant Plaza, West, SW., Washington, D.C.

(until on or about June 23, 1986, the location will be Room 5128,

955 L’Enfant Plaza, SW., Washington, DC.).

- 66

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Charles D.

Hawley (202) 268-2970.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: On October 10, 1985,

the Postal Service proposed to amend several provisions of the

regulations, 39 CFR Parts 310-320. that implement the Private

Express Statutes. 50 FR 41462 (1985). The purpose of the

proposal for the most part was to clarify the administrative

suspension of the Siatutes for extremeiy urgeat letters, 39 CFR

320.6, with respect to the practice of international “remailing.”

Private firms, believing themselves to be acting pursuant to this

suspension, had begun to carry bulk shipments of letters from

American firms, entirely outside the United States Mails, to

foreign countries. There the letters, addressed to individuals in

countries other than the United States, were deposited with a

foreign post office, or “remailed,” and delivered to their various

addresses as ordinary mail.

The Postal Service had determined in an advisory opinion,

39 CFR 310.6 that the carriage of letters in bulk, under the

circumstances characteristic of the remailers’ operations, did not

comply with the terms of that suspension. Advisory Opinion

83-7 (May 11, 1983). During December 1984, the Postal Ser-

vice requested the Department of Justice to authorize suit to

enjoin the activities of those remailers who were continuing to

violate the Private Express Statutes in contravention of the

advisory opinion. In August 1985 the Department informed the

Postal Service that it declined to do so.

While we do not question the Postal Service’s authority to

regulate the solely domestic activities of international courier

services, our decision is based on the conclusion that the Postal

Service’s implementing regulations may reasonably be con-

strued to permit the complained of activity.

The effect of this decision was to allow the private carriage

of letters that were not extremely urgent under the color of a

suspension adopted by the Postal Service for letters that were

67

extremely urgent. Of perhaps more importance, its effect was

to create a significant exception to the Private Express Statutes

that had never been approved, or even contemplated, either by

Congress, or by the Postal Service in the exercise of its power

to suspend the operation of the Statutes, 39 U.S.C. 601(b). To

correct this situation and to restore the suspension for extremely

urgent letters to its original purpose, the Postal Service in

October 1985 proposed the clarifying amendments noted above.

In response to the publication of this notice, the Postal

Service received approximately sixty comments, virtually all of

them critical of the proposal. Subsequently, John McKean,

Chairman of the Board of Governors of the Postal Service, stated

on March 4, 1986, that the Postal Service would be initiating a

new rulemaking proceeding to remove the cloud of [doubt as to

lawfulness] that now hangs over the international remail ser-

vices and preserve the benefits of desirable competition between

the Postal Service and private companies.

As the first step in implementation of this statement, the

Postal Service on March 21, 1986, published in the Federal

Register a notice withdrawing the October 10, 1985 proposal

and soliciting information on the benefits to the public of

remailing to become part of a “fully developed factual record”

upon which to predicate a new suspension (51 FR 9852). In the

hope of further supplementing the record, the Postal Service on

May 12, 1986 announced that it would hold a public meeting

(51 FR 17366), which was held on May 22, 1986. A transcript

of that meeting is included in the record of this rulemaking.

In the related proceedings described above, the Postal

Service has heard the views of a great many members of the

public and several other Federal agencies on the question of the

benefits which the public may receive from the availability of

private international remail services. It is clear that the over-

whelming majority of those who have commented favor a

regulation which permits such services. The reasons which they

68

advance are several: It is faster, less expensive, more reliable,

and more responsive than the air mail service provided by th

Postal Service. It is said that American business is better able

to empete in foreign markets when service of this nature is

available. Competition in the provision of international letter

delivery service is also said to be inherently beneficial, both to

the customers who use this service and to the Postal Service

itself. a

' Some commenters have also directed criticism against the

terms of the proposed amendments. In view of the fact that those

proposals have been withdrawn, we think it unnecessary to

respond to these criticisms.

Applicability of Private Express Statues to International

Shipments of Letters

One comment raised the threshold question of the ap-

plicability of the Private Express Statutes to international ship-

ments of letters. This is fundamental, of course, because, if the

Statutes were not applicable, no suspension or exception would

be needed to permit the activities of the remailers. The Postal

Service is not persuaded, however, that there is any merit to this

comment. It is based on the commenter’s views of public

policy, but it fails to take into account clear expressions of the

intent of Congress to apply the Statutes to letters leaving and

entering this country.

This intent can be seen most clearly with respect to two of

the statutes which contain provisions relating to the transporta-

tion of letters by vessels to and from foreign countries. 18 U.S.C.

1699; 39 U.S.C. 602. The legislative history of the 1952 amend-

ment to 18 U.S.C. 1699 leaves no room for doubt that Congress

contemplated the application of the Statutes to letters arriving

from foreign countries. See S. Rep. No. 1794, 82d Cong., 2d

Sess. June 19, 1952:

69

Under excising law, no vessel arriving in a given port is

allowed to break bulk until all letters on board are delivered to

the nearest post office. To illustrate how this works is to take

the port of Boston, generally the first call on the North Atlantic

route of vessels from Europe. . .

The text of 39 U.S.C. 602(a) relating to outgoing letters is,

if anything, even more clear on this point:

§602. Foreign letters out of the mails

(a) Except as provided in section 601 of this title, the master

of a vessel departing from the United States for foreign ports

may not receive on board or transport any letter which originated

in the United States that-

(1) has not been regularly received from a United States

post office. ...

We continue to adhere, therefore, to our conclusion that the

Statues are applicable to the carriage of international letters

within the United States.

A second related point raised by several commenters is that

there is no need for action by the Postal Service because other

agencies of the Executive Branch, particularly the Department

of Justice, have concluded that remailing is lawful under current

regulations.

We find no merit in this comment, either. The Postal

Service is in the best position to know its own intention when it

adopts a suspension. The Advisory Opinions have stated these

intentions consistently through the years. Furtherore, the

regulation at issue has never been the subject of adjudication, or

of an Opinion of the Attorney General. Under these circumstan-

ces, we think it was reasonable for Chairman McKean to con-

clude that a further rulemaking is necessary.

A number of other comments challenge on various grounds

the authority of the Postal Service to regulate the private carriage

70

of letters and, as a carrier of letters, to adopt regulations which,

it is said, unfairly handicap competing private firms also

engaged, or wishing to engage, in the international carriage of

letters. We consider, however, that these comments are not well

taken. In adopting the regulations contained in Parts 310-320,

Title 39, Code of Federal Regulations, the Postal Service has

merely implemented the private Express Statutes. It is these

Statutes which limit the private carriage of letters upon which

postage has not been paid.

This is not a situation in which the postal Service is

imposing regulatory limitations upon an industry which would

otherwise conduct its operations free of governmental restraint.

The regulations define, interpret, and clarify the Statutes and, in

the case of Part 320, relax for specific limited purpose, the

restrictions of the Statutes, to provide as lawful basis for private

carriage which the Statutes otherwise would not permit. If the

postal regulations, and particularly those in Part 320, were not

in effect, the result would not be unrestricted private competition

with the Postal Service but no lawful private carriage at all,

except as allowed by very limited statutory exceptions.

In enacting the Private Express Statutes, Congress has

made the policy decision that the revenues of the Postal Service

should be protected by restricting the private carriage of letters.

The Postal Service is not simply one of several enterprises

providing letter delivery services. It is, rather a Government

agency which is to be “operated as a basic and fundamental

service” for the American people. 39 U.S.C. 101(a). While the

Postal Service has endeavored, since the enactment of the Postal

Reorganization Act, to operate in conformity with the business

practices and management methods of the private sector, it is

nonetheless al public entity and as such is not free to disregard

Congress decision. Under the circumstances, we conclude that

there is no valid basis for suggesting that the Postal Service is

unlawfully or unfairly attempting to regulate the private sector.

71

The Public Interest in Remailing

As we have noted above, the overwhehiing majority of the

comments on our proposals have favored allowing the remailers

to compete with the Postal Service and have advanced a number

of reasons for this result. Greater sped of delivery, in com-

parison with air mail, and its resultant benefits to America’s

ability to compete in overseas markets is perhaps the most

frequently raised point. The record is less than fully factual as

to this matter. Two commenters have submitted tables showing

a comparison of delivery times for letters sent via the Postal

Service and via remailers to various cities in Europe, Asia,

Africa, and Latin America. These comparisons almost invariab-

ly show remailed items with a shorter delivery time. Little or

no explanation is given, however, of the manner in which these

tables were compiled, of whether they show average times for

more than one remailer, of what period of time or what volume

of letters the figures represent, in short, how valid the com-

parisons are. The figures themselves show wide fluctuations

between cities, in the differentials between the Postal Service

and remailers and in some instances between times by the same

mode to the same city. While the apparently anecdotal character

of these tables does not add to their credibility, they may well

be the most reliable compilations available on this subject. They

are, moreover, consistent with the conclusory statements of a

number of other commenters.

On the issue of the need for remailing services to assist in

making American business more competitive in the world

market, the comments provide little more than conclusions. It

seems self-evident that a more prompt and reliable letter

delivery service would, to some extent, assist parties to existing

or prospective business transactions by facilitating written com-

munication. What is less clear, however, is the extent to which

any difference that may exist between air mail and remail is

significant in this respect, particularly given the wide fluctua-

_—

72

tions in the delivery time of remail services which we have noted

above. We had sought to obtain information from the public

which would permit us to determine whether there is a range of

time within which delivery is critical to the success of competi-

tive efforts, but our efforts were not successful. Nonetheless,

notwithstanding the imprecision of the data, we think it

reasonable to conclude that in general the availability of remail

services assists American firms in competing internationally.

As to the cost of remail, we have little factual information

about the rates charged by remailers. The comments frequently

assert that they are lower and we know from observation of

promotional material distributed by remailers that they charac-

teristically advertise rates thatare lower than air mail, sometimes

simply a percentage of the air mail rates. While many comments

assert that speed or reliability, rather than price, is the main

incentive for the use of remailers’ services, we have no doubt

that the remailers as a group charge lower rates than the prevail-

ing rates for the Postal Service’s international air mail service.

As with the previous points, the record contains little hard

evidence as to either the comparative reliability of remail

delivery or of the responsiveness of the remailers to the needs

of their customers, save that the collection of letters from

customers’ locations is a characteristic of remailers services.

Other than that, we have only the generalized and conclusory

statements of commenters to support these points.

There is little or no reliable information as to the amount

of revenues diverted to date by the activities of remailers.

Estimates run from about $25 million to $500 million annually.

One comment to the original proposal concluded that the net

revenue loss to the Postal Service was in the neighborhood of

$3 million a year. Without attempting to determine the accuracy

of these estimates, we can say that the total amount of revenues

of the Postal Service from international mail-much of which is

not letters and so is not protected from competition by the

73

Statutes-was $882.3 million for the most recently published

figures. Annual Report of the Postmaster General, 1985. We

conclude that the loss of revenues of what is necessarily a lesser

amount is not so adverse to the Postal Service as to outweigh

the perceived benefits to the public interest from allowing

remailing to continue by virtue of the suspension which follows.

Proposed Suspension for International Remailing

For the reasons given above the Postal Service proposes to

amend its regulations by adding a new suspension for interna-

tional remailing. This new suspension, which would be codified

as $320.8 of title 39, Code of Federal Regulations, would

suspend the operation of the Statutes

to permit the uninterrupted carriage of letters from a point within

the United States to a foreign country for deposit in its domestic

or international mails for delivery to an ultimate destination

outside the United States.

This, we think, fairly summarizes the essential character of

remailing. It is intended as a forthright acceptance of that

practice as the Postal Service now understands it. It is essential,

however, that the terms of the suspension be adhered to in good

faith and that the suspension not be broadened by abuse to

encompass private carriage under circumstances not con-

templated in its adoption.

We particularly invite attention to two provisions of this

paragraph. The first is “uninterrupted” as a qualification of

allowable carriage. By this we mean simply that to come within

the terms of the suspension the carriage of letters from a point

within the United States to the point at which they are deposited

in a foreign mail stream must be substantially continuous. It is

not necessary that they be continuously in the hands of a single

Carrier, nor is it a violation of the terms of the suspension if they

are held for sortation or mixed with letters originated by another

sender. They must not, however, be opened, read, or otherwise

74

used in the course of carriage, nor may they be delivered during

carriage to any person not involved in that carriage. To help in

explaining the meaning of this qualification, we have included

in the text of the proposed regulation two contrasting examples

of circumstances in which carriage is and is not interrupted.

This qualification does not alter the current practice of remail-

ing. It is intended rather to ensure that the suspension does not

serve as a pretext for allowing private carriage of letters from

one point to another wholly within the United States.

The second provision to which we particularly invite atten-

tion is that which requires that letters carried under the suspen-

sion be for ultimate delivery outside the United States. The

suspension is not intended for the delivery of letters sent to

persons within this country. That would be totally at odds with

the revenue protection purposes of the Private Express Statutes

and would in no way advance the public interest in improved

delivery of letters to foreign locations. As with the requirement

that carriage be uninterrupted, this provision is intended to

ensure that the suspension not be abused. This provision is

reinforced by proposed paragraph (b) which states:

This suspension shall not permit the shipment or carriage

of a letter or letters out of the mails to any foreig 1 country for

subsequent delivery to an address within the United States.

Finally, as was true in the adoption of the suspension for

extremely urgent letters, see 39 CFR 320.6(e), the regulation

provides in proposed paragraph (c) an administrative sanction

which may be brought into play in the event of a violation of the

substantive terms of the suspension. This sanction is the revoca-

tion of the suspension as to the particular s/.ipper or carrier for

a period of up to a year. This procedure, which involves an

opportunity for a hearing before the Postal Service’s Judicial

Officer Department, offers a flexible means of enforcement of

the limited restrictions which qualify the suspension. They are

reasonable and appropriate under the circumstances.In view of

75

the above considerations, the Postal Service proposes to amend

39 CFR Part 320 as follows:

List of Subjects in 39 CFR Part 320

Postal Service, Computer technology, Advertising.

PART 320-SUSPENSION OF THE PRIVATE EXPRESS

STATUTES

1. The authority citation for Part 320 is revised to read as

Set forth below, and the authority citations following all the

sections in Part 320 are removed.

eee 39 U.S.C. 401.404,601-101;18U.S.C. 1693-

2. Anew §320.8 is added to read as follows:

§320.8 Suspension for international remailing.

(a) The operation of 39 U.S.C. 601(a)(1) through (6) and

§310.2(b)(1) through (6) of this chapter is suspended on all post

routes to permit the uninterrupted carriage of letters from a point

within the United States to a foreign country for deposit in its

domestic or international mails for delivery to an ultimate

destination outside the United States.

Example (i) The letters to overseas customers of commer-

cial firm A in Chicago are carried by Carrier B to New York

where they are delivered to Carrier C for carriage to Europe.

Carrier C holds the letters in its distribution center overnight,

then sorts them by country of destination and merges them with

letters of other firms to those countries before Starting the

carriage to Europe in the morning. The carriage of firm A’s

letters is not interrupted. The suspension for international

remailing applies to the carriage by Carrier B and by Carrier C.

Example (2) The bills addressed to foreign customers of

the Chicago branch office of commercial firm D are carried by

—_—

76

Carrier E to new York where they are delivered to the accounting

department of firm Ds home office. The accounting department

uses the information in the bills to prepare its reports of accounts

receivable. The bills are then returned to Carrier E which carries

them directly to Europe where they are entered into the mails of

a foreign country. The carriage of the bills from Chicago to

Europe is interrupted in New York by the delivery to firm D’s

home office. The suspension for international remailing does

not apply to the carriage from Chicago to New York. It does

apply to the subsequent carriage from New York to Europe.

(b) This suspension shall not permit the shipment or

carriage of a letter or letters out of the mails to any foreign

country for subsequent delivery to an address within the United

States.

Example (1) A number of promotional letters originated

by firm F in Los Angeles are carried by Carrier G to Europe for

deposit in the mails of a foreign country. Some of the letters are

addressed to persons in Europe, some to persons in the United

States. The suspension for international remailing does not

apply to the letters addressed to persons in the United States.

(c) Violation by a shipper or carrier of the terms of this

suspension is grounds for administrative revocation of the

suspension as to such shipper or carrier for a period of one year

in a proceeding instituted by the General Counsel in accordance

with Part 959 of this chapter.

The failure of a shipper or carrier to cooperate with an

authorized inspection or audit conducted by the Postal Inspec-

tion Service for the purpose of determining compliance with the

terms of this suspension shall be deemed to create a presumption

of a violation for the purpose of this paragraph (c) and shall shift

to the shipper or carrier the burden of establishing the fact of

compliance. Revocation of this suspension as to a shipper or

carrier shall in no way limit other actions as to such shipper or

carrier to enforce the Private Express Statutes by administrative

77

proceedings for collection of postage (see §310.5) or by civil or

criminal proceedings.

_ Fred Eggleston,

Assistant General Counsel, Legislative Division.

[FR Doc. 86-13565 Filed 6-16-86; 8:45 am)

78

Before the

UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE

Washington, D.C. 20260-1113

IN THE MATTER OF:

Restrictions on Private Carriage of Letters; Proposed Suspen-

sion of the Private Express Statutes; International Remailing

COMMENTS OF THE UNITED STATES

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

Douglas H. Ginsburg Charles F. Rule

Assistant Attorney General Deputy Assistant

Antitrust Division Attorney General

Antitrust Division

Communications with respect to this document should be

addressed to:

Barry Grossman, Chief Robert E. Hauberg, Jr.

Communications Assistant Chief

and Finance Section Communications and

Finance Section

Marten L. Stern Michael A. Williams

Jonathan M. Rich, Economist

Attorneys Communications Economic Regulatory Section

and Finance Section |

Antitrust Division

U.S. Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20530

(202)724-6693

July 17, 1986

79

I. INTRODUCTION AND STATEMENT OF POSITION

By Notice of Proposed Rulemaking,’ the United States

Postal Service has solicited comments on a proposed regulation

that expressly would permit international remail. The new rule

would suspend the Private Express Statutes to “permit the

uninterrupted carriage of letters from the United States to a

foreign, country for ultimate delivery outside the United

States”.” The Department of Justice “Department” supports the

proposed regulation.

In late 1985, the Postal Service proposed a rule to make

remail unlawful. The Executive Branch — including the

Department’ — and numerous private parties raised strong

' 51 Fed. Reg. 21,929 (June 17, 1986).

? 51 Fed. Reg. at 21,929. The Postal Service emphasizes that the new

rule would only permit remail if the carriage of mail is “uninterrupted”- The

rule would allow a remailer to sort mail within the United States and to

transfer mail to another carrier for part of the journey. It would not, however,

allow a company to intercept letters to amend them or read them before they

go overseas. 51 Fed. Reg. at 21,931-21,932. The suspension would not permit

remailers to carry letters “out of the mails to any foreign country for

subsequent delivery within the United States”. Id.

> 50 Fed. Reg. 41,562 (October 10, 1985).

* Comments of the United States Department of Justice Before the

United States Postal Service, In the Matter of Restrictions on Private Carriage

of Letters; Proposed Clarification and Modification of Definition and of

Regulations on Extremely Urgent Letters, December 12, 1985 (“Remail

Comments”); Letter from Attorney General Edwin Meese III to Postmaster

General Albert V. Casey, February 26, 1986; Letter from Secretary of

Commerce Malcolm Baldridge to Postmaster General Albert V. Casey,

February 28, 1986; Letter from Office of Management and Budget Director

James C. Miller II] to Postmaster General Albert V. Casey, February 28,

1986; Letter from Council of Economic Advisers Chairman Beryl W.

Sprinkel to Postmaster General Albert V. Casey, February 27, 1986.

80

objections to that proposal.” On March 4, 1986, John McKean,

Chairman of the Board of Governors of the Postal Service,

declared that the Postal Service would instead _.. a

regulation that would clearly legitimate remail.. The instant

proposal implements that order.

Before proposing this regulation, the Postal Service

solicited information on remail and international! mail service.

The Department filed comments in that proceeding® questioning

the need for a new rule in light of the Attorney General’s

conclusion that remail is “lawful private sector competition to

the Postal Service”” and the Department’s statement that it will

not prosecute remailers or their customers’ on the basis of

current regulations.

In our view, the proposed regulation is based on an ample

factual record that demonstrates that competition in internation-

al mail is in the public interes*. The proposal, in conformance

5 See, e.g., Comments of the New Postal Policy Cow. |, In the Matter

of Restrictions on Private Carriage of Letters; Proposed Clarification and

Modification of Definition and of Regulations on Extremely Urgent Letters,

December 12, 1985.

© Statement of John McKean, Chairman of the Board of Governors of

the United States Postal Service, March 4, 1986.

7 Restrictions on Private Carriage of Letters; Withdrawal of Proposed

Rules; Advance Notice of Proposed Rulemaking and Request for Informa-

tion, 51 Fed. Reg. 9852, 9853 (March 21, 1986).

8 Letter from Charles F. Rule, Deputy Assistant Attorney General,

Antitrust Division, to Charles D. Hawley, Assistant General Counsel, United

States Postal Service, In the Matter of Restrictions on Private Carriage of

Letters; Withdrawal of Proposed Rules; Advance Notice of Proposed

Rulemaking and Request for Information, May 2, 1986.

. Letter from Attorney General Edwin Meese III to Postmaster General

Albert V. Casey, February 26, 1986.

10 Letter from John R. Bolton, Assistant Attorney General, Office of

Legislative Affairs, to Senator Alfonse D’Amato, April 2, 1986.

81

with Administration policy, unambiguously recognizes the bencfits

of private sector competition in international mail. Moreover, the

adoption of this rule would send a clear signal to mailers and foreign

nations that the Postal Service will not interfere with the legitimate

private competition in international mail.!? Accordingly, the

Department supports the proposed regulation.

II. DISCUSSION

A deep-seated tenet of American government is that com-

petition enhances consumer welfare and therefore should be

protected and fostered by the government. 13 Even regulated

markets function best when competition is encouraged to the

vy As President Reagan wrote to Postmaster General Casey on May 1,

1986, it is the policy of the Administration to “permit and promote competi-

tion in international mail.”

12 The Department continues to question the Postal Service’s authority

to regulate competition in international mail. See Remail Comments, supra,

at 12-18. The Postal Service relies on 39 U.S.C. § 602 as the basis for this

authority. 51 Fed. Reg. at 21,930. However, by its very terms, Section 602

does not prohibit the conduct of remailers that rely on air transportation.

Rather, Section 602 merely “prohibits a vessel from departing from the

United States for foreign ports from receiving letters on board except from

the Postal Service.” 39 U.S.C. § 602 (a). Section 602 is silent as to other -

forms of conveyance. In contrast, in the Postal Reorganization Act and other

parts of the Private Express Statutes, Congress clearly distinguished between

“vessels” and other forms of conveyance and employed specific terms to

cover other forms of conveyance when It choose to do so.

Our belief that Congress did not intend to confer a monopoly over

international mail on the Postal Service is not based solely on the plain

meaning of Section 602. Congress’ apparent failure to authorize the Postal

Rate Commission to review international rates is inconsistent with the view

that Congress intended to shelter the Postal Service from competition in

international mail. Remail Comments, supra, at 16-18. We are aware of no

situation in which Congress has conferred a legal monopoly without provid-

ing for rate regulation to protect consumers. /d. at 17.

13 See, e.q., R. Bork, The Antitrust Paradox 15-49 (1979).

82

maximum extent consistent with other regulatory goals. Thus,

the Supreme Court has often held that ro Om agencies must

fscilitate competition:

A pittiieisiandnadeannbiatentiiadie

tions in a variety of economic affairs. Even where

Congress has chosen Government regulation as the

primary device for protecting the public interest, a

policy of facilitating competitive market structure and

performance is entitled to consideration. 4

Fostering competitive markets simply is the most effective way

to “improve services and reduce costs to our citizens.”

The benefits to consumers fostered by competition among

remailers and the Postal Service in international mail amply

demonstrate the salutory effects of competition. Many com-

menters stated that remail service is faster and cheaper than the

Postal Service’s own international mail service. As the Postal

Service recognizes, hard statistical evidence of the superiority

of remail is unnecessary. The fact that consumers use remailers

is conclusive evidence that they provide a service demanded by

the public. '® Indeed, even if remailers had not captured a

4 Bowman Transportation, Inc. v. Arkansas-Best Freight System, Inc.,

419 U.S. 281, 298 (1974). Similarly, the Court wrote in United States v.

Philadelphia National Bank, 374 U.S. 321 (1963), that, when an industry is

highly regulated, it is especially important that competition not be limited:

[T}hat there are so many direct public controls over unsound

competitive practices in the industry refutes the argument that

private controls of competition are necessary in the public inter-

est and ought therefore to be immune from scrutiny under the

antitrust laws.

Id. at 352. See also FMC v. Aktiebolaget Svenska Amerika Linien, 390 U.S.

238, 244-46 (1968).

15 Letter from President Ronald Reagan to Postmaster General Albert

V. Casey, May 1, 1986.

1© Chairman McKean was therefore clearly correct when he stated that

remail provides significant benefits to the public. 51 Fed. Reg. at 9853.

83

significant share of the international mail market, their exist-

ence would enhance consumer welfare by spurring the Postal

Service to improve services and reduce, prices.

III. CONCLUSION

The Department of Justice strongly endorses the decision

of the Postal Service not to attempt to interfere with the opera-

tion of a competitive market in isternational mail service. As

the record in this proceeding has demonstrated, competition in

that market has provided, and will continue to provide, sig-

nificant consumer benefits in terms of price and quality of

service. In accordance with that record, numerous judicial

pronouncements, and the policies of the Administration, the

public interest will best be served by decisions of the Postal

Service that promote and foster such private sector competition.

Douglas H. Ginsburg

84

Respectfully submitted,

Assistant Attorney General

Antitrust Division

July 17, 1986

Charles F. Rule

Deputy Assistant Attorney General

Antitrust Division

Barry Grossman, Chief

Communications and Finance

Section

Robert E. Hauberg, Jr.

Assistant Chief

Communications and Finance

Section ~

Martin L. Stern, Attorney

Communications and Finance

Section

Jonathan M. Rich, Attorney

Communications and Finance

Section

Michael A. Williams

Economist

Economic Regulatory Section

Antitrust Division

U.S. Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20530

(202) 724-6693

85

BEFORE THE

UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20260 - 1113

IN THE MATTER OF:

Suspension of the Private Express Statutes

for International Remailers

COMMENTS OF THE AMERICAN POSTAL

WORKERS UNION, AFL-CIO, NATIONAL

ASSOCIATION OF LETTER CARRIERS, AFL-C10

The American Postal Workers Union, AFL-CIO

("APWU"), is a voluntary incorporated labor organization with

approximately 250,000 members, and is the exclusive collective

bargaining representative of approximately 250,000 employees

of the United States Postai Service ("USPS") in the Clerk,

Maintenance, Special Delivery Messenger, and Motor Vehicle

Service crafts nationwide. The National Association of Letter

Carriers, AFL-CIO ("NALC"), is a voluntary unincorporated

labor organization with approximately 280,000 members, and

is the exclusive collective bargaining representative of ap-

proximately 220,000 employees of the USPS in the City Letter

Carrier craft nationwide. APWU and NALC members are

directly affected in their employment opportunities, and as

members of the public and users of the mails, by encroachments

on the Private Express Statutes ("PES").

Remailers are used to send bulk mailings, typically involv-

ing such items as bank statements, periodicals, catalogues, and

advertisements, but rarely individual correspondence. The

remailer ships the mail to a foreign postal administration for

deposit in its mailstream, paying foreign postage, but no U.S.

postage. The postal administration in which the remailer enters

the mail is not necessarily that of the ultimate recipient.

86

Although all parties agree that this mail letter is in no sense

time-sensitive, these companies asserted the right to carry such

letters out of the mails under the “extremely urgent letters”

suspension of the PES. 39 C.F.R. Sec. 320.6. After the Depart-

ment of Justice declined to seek injunctive relief, assertedly

because the USPS’s regulations were ambiguous as they applied

to remailers, the USPS served notice on October 10, 1985, of its

intent to clarify the rules applying the PES to remailers. 50 FR

41,462. Thereafter, upon orders of John McKean, Chairman of

the USPS Board of Governors—in-circumstances and for

reasons not fully known—on March 21, 1986, the USPS

withdrew its proposal and invited comments on the total exemp-

tion of remailers from the PES. 55 FR 9852. Now the USPS

proposes to promulgate such a rule. 51 FR 21,929. These

comments are submitted pursuant to the notice of June 17, 1986,

in opposition to the proposed rule.

I. History of the PES

The modern postal monopoly is said to be the “foundation

of the postal system.” Priest, The History of the Postal Monopo-

ly in the United States, 18 Jour. of Law & Econ. 33-38 (1975)

("Hist."); Statutes Restricting Private Carriage of Mail and their

Administration, Comm. on P.O. & C.S. Print No. 93-5, 93d

Cong., Ist Sess. 55-56 (June 29, 1973) ("1973 Rept."). A

monopoly was found in the Articles of Confederation. It was

established by the Continental Congress in 1775; and, in 1782,

Congress prohibited competition with the Post Office. Con-

sidered an important investment in the infrastructure of the new

nation, George Washington used this power as a political means

of unifying the country by subsidizing service to the South and

West in exchange for their support for the national government.

In 1792, Congress embarked on a large-scale expansion of

postal routes, and greatly increased penalties for violations. By

1794, it was necessary to crack down on carriage of mai! by

transportation employees. Hist. at 45-55; 1973 Rept. at 57.

87

In 1825, Congress clarified end tightened the PES.

Amendments in 1827, 1836, and 1838 plugged loopholes in

them. The rates in effect the subsidization of frontier routes as

- country expanded westward. Hist. at 55-56; 1973 Rept. at

7-58.

By 1820, private expresses and messengers had begun to

cut into the monopoly, and by 1840, there was widespread

abandonment of the government’s service. It responded with

stricter enforcement o the 1825 and 1827 acts. But court

decisions created loopholes in these laws. In 1844-1845, reform

of the post office was the “leading public issue of the day.” Hist.

at 62. The postmaster general declared that “the only method

to defeat the private expresses is to enact stricter laws prohibit-

ing private carriage and to impose heavier penalties for viola-

tions. Jd. at 63.

The PES as we know them were drafted by Senator Wil-

liam Merrick of Maryland and passed in 1845, “the only major

congressional consideration of the postal monopoly in the

nation’s history.” Jd. at 65. Congress concluded that (1) the

Postal Service could never successfully compete with private

expresses; (2) it had a duty to serve rural and frontier areas; (3)

cross-subsidization was necessary and desirable; and (4) a

monopoly was necessary to cross-subsidization. This law was

consciously anti-"free-enterprise," and private expresses were

viewed as “selfish” and “predatory.” Hist. at 65-66; 1973 Rept.

at 58-59. This 1845 law was successful in eliminating the threat

to the national postal system. 1973 Rept. at 59. Th act has been

called “comprehensive” and “airtight.” Hist. at 57-58. The last

loophole — that for city delivery —was closed in 1863. 1973

Rept. at 59. Free city delivery was established that year, and

rural free delivery in 1896. /d. at 61.

; The various exceptions to the PES were codifications of

existing practices. The “special messenger” exception is the

oldest, found in the 1972 statute, and the “cargo” exception was

88

recognized in 1810. 1973 Rept. at 57. Later, private carriage

outside the mails was permitted if postage was prepaid and the

letters dated and sealed. Jd at 59; see 39 U.S.C. sec. 601. In

1879, Congress provided an exception for private carriage of

stamped letters being delivered the post office. Jd.; see 18

U.S.C. sec. 1696(a). “Letters of the carrier” was added in 1909

in recognition of longstanding practice. 1973 Rept. at 59. The

PES were put into the criminal code at the time of 1909 codifica-

tions. Jd. In 1934, the “special messenger” exception was

limited to carriage of twenty-five letters. Hist. at 67 n.168.

When the Postal Reorganization Act ("PRA") was passed

in 1970, Congress ordered the Board of Governors to study

whether to continue the PES in their current form. P.L. 91-375,

84 Stat. 719, sec. 7 (Aug. 12, 1970). The Report cited above

concluded that they should continue, and that they should be

administered in a systematic way through the rulemaking

process (at 9-14). It also asserted the right to suspend the PES

when public interest so required (at 11), see 39 U.S.C. sec. 601

(b); 39 C.F.R. Part 320.

II. The Purpose of the PES

The PES have been found to be constitutional. See. e.g.,

United States v. Black, 569 F.2d 1111 (10th Cir.), cert. denied,

435 U.S. 944 (1978). Their purpose is to preserve the USPS’s

revenue base, and to prevent “cream skimming,” i.e., the opera-

tion of businesses which are not bound by the USPS’s universal

service and uniform rate requirements, and which pick and

choose among the sources of cheaper, easier, and “cleaner” mail,

and thus undersell the USPS’s rates. See, e.g., United States

Postal Service v. Brennan, 574 F.2d 712, 715 (2d Cir. 1978)

(quoting Blackham v. Gresham, 16 F. 609, 612 (C.C.S.D.N.Y.

1883):

If private agencies can be established [to carry

letters and other mail matter] the income of the

government may be so reduced that the economy

89

might demand a discontinuance of the system; and

thus the business which it is the right and duty of

the government to conduct for the interest of all,

and on such terms that ail may avail themselves

of it with advantage, may be handed over to

individuals or corporations who will conduct it

with the sole view of making money, and who

may find it for, their profit to exclude localities or

classes from the benefit of the services.

Id. See also 1973 Rept., App. F (1973). The PES is a “revenue

law.” United States v. Bromley, 53 U.S. (12 Harv.) 93, 13 L.Ed.

905 (1851). They apply to all classes of mail, and prohibit the

private carriage of letters over post routes. Associated Third

Class Mail Users v. USPS, 600 F.2d 824 (D.C. Cir. 1979). “[A]

policy concern clearly implicated in the quest for the proper

scope of the monopoly [is] the need to shield postal operations

from competition so the Posta! Service can adopt nonmarket

solutions in its effort to further various rational goals... .” /d.

at 826. See, e.g., PRA sec. 101 (postal policy). “[P]public

policy . . . must be well defined and documented, and is to be

ascertained by reference to the laws and legal precedents and

not from general considerations of supposed public interests.’”

W.R. Grace & Co. v. Local Union 759, URWA, 103 S. Ct. 2177,

2183 (1983) (quoting Muschany v. United States, 324 U.S. 49,

66 (1945)).

III. The Proposed Rule Changes of October 10, 1985

The Federal Register notice of March 21, 1986, withdrew

that of October 10, 1985. The latter had proposed to “clarify”

the PES regulations to remove what was truly a nonexistent

ambiguity in the current regulations which prohibit the private

carriage of letters by so-called “international remailers” because

their operations fail to qualify for the “extremely urgent letter”

suspension. We agree with the USPS that this suspension was

never intended to allow bulk shipment of non-priority mail

90

without payment of U.S. postage. To the extent that the

proposed suspension acknowledges that current regulations

apply to remailers, we agree.

We disagree entirely with the Justice Department’s opinion

that the regulations were too vague to enforce. That Department

has no particular expertise in postal matters; it should have

accepted the USPS’s interpretation of its own statutes and

regulations. Because the USPS’s reasoning was neither “plainly

erroneous [n]Jor inconsistent with the purpose of the statutes,”

National Retired Teachers Ass’n v. USPS, 430 F. Supp. 141,

145 n. 20 (D.D.C. 1977), a reviewing court would have sus-

tained the USPS’s reading of its own statute. See Rockville

Reminder, Inc. v. USPS, 480 F.2d 4, 7 (2d Cir. 1973).

The fact that this Administration’s Department of Justice

refused to allow the USPS to sue to enjoin their operations, 39

U.S.C. 409 (d), is no reason to change the regulations. The

USPS is an independent establishment of the Executive Branch

of the Government. 39 U.S. sec. 201. Such statutory inde-

pendence ought to insulate the USPS from the intrusions of

politics and ideology in the formulation and implementation of

policy and the administration of its own statute. Such protection

from political and ideological interference ought not be relaxed

to permit the Department of Justice to review and, in effect,

regulate the USPS’s most fundamental policy and litigation

decisions. Unlike the USPS, which is by statute independent

and non-political, 39 U.S.C. sec. 201, 1002, administrations

change, along with their ideological agendas. If need be, others

affected by remailers are certain to enforce the PES. See NALC

v. Independent Postal System of America, Inc., 470 F.2d 265

(10th Cir. 1972); APWU v. React Postal Services, Inc., 771 F.2d

1375 (10th Cir. 1985).

91

IV. The Record Does Not Demonstrate That the

Proposed Suspension is in the Public Interest

¢ The USPS proposed to suspend the PES under 39 U.S.C.

sec. 601(b): “The Postal Service may suspend the operation of

a part of [sec. 601(a)] upon any mail route where the public

interest requires the suspension” (emphasis added). It is not

sufficient that the suspension is not repugnant to the public

interest; the public interest must affirmatively require the

suspension. The history of the PES, outlined above,

demonstrates that, from the founding of the Republic, Congress

created the monopoly, and at every turn strengthened it. It

legislated a blanket prohibition, and closed every known

loophole in it, except where it saw fit expressly to make excep-

tions. (As the USPS is aware, the “extremely urgent letter”

suspension is not among the legislated exceptions.) In the PES,

and in the policies of the PRA, Congress has forcefully spoken

on where it sees the public interest.

The Uurden is especially heavy on the USPS to demonstrate

that the public interest requires a deviation from the general rule.

Any countervailing policies must be among those embodied in

specific Statutory pronouncements. W.R. Grace, supra. Mere

Citation to one set of statutes — the antitrust laws — does not make

the case for those who support the suspension. Those laws do

not legislate the so-called “free market system” into law. They

establish principles regulating and fostering competition where

competition exists. Nothing in the Constitution demands that

Congress allow competition. Self-evidently, the operation of a

postal service has always been a function of a government,

where competition is not the rule. There is simply no legal right

to compete with the federal government, or to remove the

government from a commercial sphere which it has exclusively

occupied since the Articles of Confederation. Cf. Tennessee

Electric Power Co. V. TVA, 306 U.S. 118 (1937). Turning to

92

the specifics in the record, there exists no support for a finding

that the proposed suspension is in the public interest.

A. The Record is Unreliably

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Joint Appendix — Air Courier Conference of America v. American Postal Workers Union · 498 U.S. 517 | Frix