Amicus Curiae Brief — Pacific Mutual Life Insurance v. Haslip

Supreme Court brief1991

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

PACIFIC MUTUAL LIFE INSURANCE CoapfPAN r,

. Petitioner,

CLEOPATRA HASLIP, CYNTHIA CRAIG, ALMA M. CALHOUN

and EDDIE HARGROVE,

Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the

Supreme Court of Alabama

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE

CBS INC., CAPITAL CITIES/ABC, INC.,,

DOW JONES & COMPANY, INC., THE HEARST

CORPORATION, KNIGHT-RIDDER, INC., NATIONAL

BROADCASTING COMPANY, INC., REUTERS

INFORMATION SERVICES INC., THE TIME INC.

MAGAZINE COMPANY, TRIBUNE COMPANY,

UNITED PRESS INTERNATIONAL, INC.,

THE WASHINGTON POST, WESTINGHOUSE

BROADCASTING COMPANY, INC., THE AMERICAN

SOCIETY OF NEWSPAPER EDITORS, ASSOCIATION

OF AMERICAN PUBLISHERS, MAGAZINE

PUBLISHERS OF AMERICA, INC., NATIONAL

ASSOCIATION OF BROADCASTERS,

RADIO-TELEVISION NEWS DIRECTORS ASSOCIATION,

REPORTERS COMMITTEE FOR FREEDOM

OF THE PRESS,

AND THE SOCIETY OF PROFESSIONAL JOURNALISTS,

IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

Of Counsel: P. CAMERON DEVORE *

DOUGLAS P. JACOBS MARSHALL J. NELSON

CBS Inc. DONALD S. KUNZE

51 West 52nd Street DAVIS WRIGHT TREMAINE

New York, New York 10019 2600 Century Square

Attorney for CBS Inc. 1501 Fourth Avenue

Seattle, WA 98101-1688

(206) 622-3150

(Additional Of Counsel Counsel for Amici Curiae

listed inside cover) * Counsel of Record

WILSON - EPes PrinTING Co., Inc. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

BEST AVAILABLE COP)

STEVEN SADICARIO

Capital Cities/ ABC, Inc.

47 West 66th Street

New York, New York 10023

Attorney for Capital Cities/

ABC, Ine.

RICHARD J. TOFEL

Dow Jones & Company, Inc.

200 Liberty Street

New York, New York 10281

Attorney for

Dow Jones & Company, Inc.

VICTOR F. GANZI

ROBFRT J. HAWLEY

The Hearst Corporation

959 Eighth Avenue

New York, New York 10019

Attorneys for

The Hearst Corporation

JOHN C. FONTAINE

Knight-Ridder, Inc.

One Herald Plaza

Miami, Florida 33132

Attorney for

Knight-Ridder, Inc.

SANDRA S. BARON

National Broadcasting

Company, Inc.

30 Rockefeller Plaza

New York, New York 10112

Attorney for National

Broadcasting Company, Inc.

CONSTANCE A. HEYMANN

Reuters Information

Services Inc.

1700 Broadway

New York, New York 10019

Attorney for Reuters

Information Services Inc.

HARRY M. JOHNSTON III

The Time Inc. Magazine

Company

1271 Avenue of the Americas

New York, New York 10020

Attorney for The Time Inc.

Magazine Company

Davip D. HILLER

Tribune Company

435 N. Michigan .

Chicago, Illinois 60611

Attorney for Tribune Company

JAMES L. ARNOLD

United Press International, Inc.

9990 Lehigh Way, Third Floor

Fairfax, Virginia 22030

Attorney for United Press

International, Inc.

BARBARA PERCIVAL

The Washington Post

1150 - 15th Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20071

Ativrney for

The Washington Post

MARTIN P. MESSINGER

MARK H. CHARLES

Wstinghouse Broadcasting

Company, Inc.

888 Seventh Avenue, 39th Floor

New York, New York 10106

Attorneys for Westinghouse

Broadcasting Company, Inc.

RICHARD M. SCHMIDT, JR.

CoHN & MARKS

1333 New Hampshire Ave.

Suite 600

Washington, D.C. 20036

Attorney for

American Society of

Newspaper Editors

R. BRUCE RICH

WEIL, GOTSITAL & MANGES

767 Fifth Avenue

New York, New York 10153

Attorney for

Association of

American Publishers

TINA A. RAVITZ

Vice President and Chief Counsel

Newsweek, Inc.

444 Madison Avenue

New York, New York 10022

Attorney for Magazine

Publishers of America, Inc.

HENRY L. BAUMANN

STEVEN A. BOOKSHESTER

National Association

of Broadcasters

1771 N Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

Attorneys for National

Association of Broadcasters

JANE E. KIRTLEY

Executive Director

Reporters Committee for

Freedom of the Press

Suite 504

1735 Eye St., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

Attorney for Reporters

Committee for Freedom

of the Press

BRUCE W. SANFORD

BAKER & HOSTETLER

1050 Connecticut Ave., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 10006

Attorney for The Society

of Professional Journalists

J. LAURENT SCHARFF

REED SMITH SHAW & McCLAy

1200 18th Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

Attorney for Radio-Television

News Directors Association

TABLE OF CONTENTS

STATEMENT OF INTEREST |.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT |W.

tt ET RSP ee

I. THE EXPERIENCE OF MEDIA DEFEND-

II.

ITI.

ANTS IN LIBEL CASES HIGHLIGHTS THE

DANGERS OF UNRESTRAINED PUNITIVE

DAMAGE AWARDS .............

A. Punitive Damage Awards in Libel Cases

Have Increased Despite Constitutional Limits

Imposed by the Court ......0..

B. Punitive Damages Have Been Arbitrarily

Assessed Against Unpopular Defendants ___.

C. The “Prize” of Unrestrained Punitive Dam-

age Awards Has Encouraged Expensive and

Unnecessary Litigation 0.00000.

PUNITIVE DAMAGES ARE UNNECESSARY

AND INEFFECTIVE IN SERVING THEIR

THEORETICAL PURPOSES 000.

THE AWARD OF PUNITIVE DAMAGES AND

THE METHOD BY WHICH THEY ARE IM-

POSED VIOLATES DUE PROCESS RE-

QUIRED UNDER BOTH THE FIRST AND

FOURTEENTH AMENDMENTS ........0...

A. The First Amendment Requires the Highest

Due Process Where Punishment or Suppres-

sion of Speech Is Threatened ........................

B. The Award of Punitive Damages Fails to

Satisfy Even Minimum Standards of Due

RT RR ret a

C. The Award of Punitive Damages in Libel

Cases Fails to Satisfy Heightened Due

Process Standards Required by the First

Amendment ............... esumaeaed és

11

12

17

17

18

22

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page

D. Standardless and "eferential Appellate Re-

view of Punitive Damage Awards Cannot

Satisfy Constitutional Requirements ............ 24

CIT sectcccinsscttiititinnieniitesdinta att alae 26

APPENDIX A: Identity of Individual Amici .............. la

iff

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: Page

Aetna Life Insurance Co. v. Lavoie, 475 U.S. 813

ID cia secbtihetinnilith its snnileniniiehiababesiadebliltinnanencdbisibens 3

Bankers Life and Casualty Co. v. Crenshaw, 486

ee I bch Sciaiciciciaheccaibbideiabeeniansbadidite’ 3, 20

Bantam Books, Inc. v. Sullivan, 872 U.S. 58

ID ciessinicasciientnnneeibtcenieitelahaithaseinecinnititnsialceniadnitcciicatinteiditiaden 4,18

Bose Corp. v. Consumers Union of United States,

Inc., 466 U.S. 485 (1984) ..........-..-..2----------00000e- 19, 24, 25

Breun v. Flynt, 726 F.2d 245 (5th Cir. ), cert. de-

nied, 469 U.S. 888 (1984) ....2....2.22.....2-eeeeeeeeeeeeeee 24

Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp. v. Jacobson,

713 F.2d 262 (7th Cir. 1983). Silecnctihlnciiloah 22

Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp. v. Jacobson,

827 F.2d 1119 (7th Cir. 1987), cert. denied,

485 U.S. 998 (1988) -.......--......22.--2.eeeeeeceeeeeeeeeeeeeees 9, 24

Browning-Ferris Industries of Vermont, Inc. v.

Kelco Disposal, Inc., 109 S. Ct. 2909 (1989) .....3, 19, 20

Buckley v. Littell, 589 F.2d 882 (2d Cir. 1976),

cert. denied, 429 U.S. 1062 (1977) ...................... 6, 22

Curtis Publishing Co. v. Butts, 388 U.S. 130

(|. ESE ERC a ve eee 4

Davis v. Schuchat, 510 F.2d 781 (D.C. Cir. 1975) .. 22

Douglass v. Hustler Magazine, Inc., 769 F.2d 1128

(7th Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 475 U.S. 1094

CII sicccensecsininsncninsntnntapesncnnenecnennennmnnnensmnnesipieashes 24

Dun & Bradstreet, Inc. v. Greenmoss Builders,

Inc., 472 U.S. 749 (1985) .........--------00---000--2ee-e-eeeeee passim

Electrical Workers v. Foust, 442 U.S. 42 (1979) .... 12

Fay v. Parker, 58 N.H. 342 (1872) .................-..-.--- 16

The Florida Star v. B.J.F., 109 S. Ct. 2603 (1989) .. 21

Freedman v. Maryland, 380 U.S. 51 (1965)............. 19, 24

George v. International Society for Krishna Con-

sciousness, 262 Cal. Rptr. 217 (Cal. App.1989).. 7-8

Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., 418 U.S. 828 (1974) ....passim

Gitlow v. New York, 268 U.S. 652 (1925) ..............--- 17

Guccione v. Hustler Magazine, 800 F.2d 298 (2d

Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 1091 (1987)... 8

Harte Hanks Communications, Inc. v. Connaugh-

ton, 109 S. Ct. 2678 (1989) .................---------- 15, 19, 22, 24

tv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Killibrew v. Abbot Laboratories, 359 So.2d 1275 ae

(La. 1978) .......... i aiinectecstins 16

Kingsley Books, Inc. v. Brown, 354 U.S. 4386

RS a SRT Ue ele eS ae 18

Lerman v. Flynt Distributing Co., 745 F.2d 128

(2d Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 471 U.S. 1045

GNI <ovnsdinacdpinsinhbhentamniinnaiian eco Baie 8

Lovell v. Griffin, 308 U.S. 444 (1988)... 18

Maheu v. Hughes Tool Co., 569 F.2d 459 (9th Cir.

ee ES ee 22

Maki v. Aluminum Bldg, Products, 73 Wash.2d 23,

436 P.2d 186 (1968) 202 16

McCoy v. Hearst Corp., 174 Cal. App. 3d 892, 220

Cal. Rptr. 848 (1985) 0 9

Miller v. Kingsley, 194 Neb. 128, 280 N.W.2d 472

fo ee ee eke) a ee 16

Monitor Patriot Co. v. Roy, 401 U.S. 265 (1971)... 24

NAACP v. Claiborne Hardware Co., 458 U.S. 886

ee ER SS ae 19

Near v. Minnesota, 288 U.S. 697 (1981).............. 17, 18, 23

Newport v. Fact Concerts, Inc., 458 U.S. 247

BREE aa Mn ae ESE, eee; Tg 12

Newton v. National Broadcasting Co., 677 F. Supp.

8, FR ee eet LN mee eee 8

New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254

NR STS ae passim

New York Times Co. v. United States, 408 U.S.

Se ee ee 18

Organization for a Better Austin v. Keefe, 402 U.S.

RR ee OEE Re ee ee ee 18

Pacific Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip, 558 So.2d

ede, EERE Fe ree S| Ae 10

Philadelphia Newspapers, Inc. v. Hepps, 475 U.S.

767 (1986) ........... < 18

Police Department v. Mosley, 408 U.S. 92 (1972). 19

Pring v. Penthouse International, 695 F.2d 488

(10th Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 462 U.S. 1182

GD dihd lidicdclanachahdienhiititis aiitieigte i 8) 8

Rosenbloom v. Metromedia, Inc., 402 U.S. 29

(1971) . 4,5

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Shuttlesworth v. Birmingham, 394 U.S. 147

EE SE a ee ae Cee 19

Smith v. Wade, 461 U.S. 30 (1983) -................ 4, 11, 16, 21

Southeastern Promotions, Ltd. v. Conrad, 420 U.S.

EET SS LE See ae eee eee 19

Speiser v. Randall, 357 U.S. 518 (1957) ................... 18

Sprague v. The Philadelphia Inquirer, New York

Times, May $1, 1990 at 1, col. 2 (Pa. Ct. Com.

GS SS SP 7

Sprouse v. Clay Communication, Inc., 158 W. Va.

427, 211 S.E.2d 674, cert. denied, 423 U.S. 991

FE ae ee ae ee 7

Srivastava v. Harte Hanks Communications, Inc.,

Communications Daily, May 7, 1990 (Tex. Ct.

Com. P1., formal judgment pending) ..................... 7

Stone v. Essex County Newspapers, Inc., 367 Mass.

849, 8330 N.E.2d 161 (1975) -......00022eeee ee 6, 7

Taskett v. King Broadcasting Co., 86 Wash.2d 439,

BD Be Oe TD rc seccccesestctececctecntccctenseccececernccsense 7

United States v. Carolene Products Co., 304 U.S.

EE ae oe © Coe 18

Vratsenes v. New Hampshire Auto, Inc., 112 N.H.

71, 289 A.2d 66 (1972) .....222. nee Sie) 16

Wheeler v. Green, 286 Or. 99, 598 P.2d 777 (1979).. 6

Young v. American Mini Theaters, 427 U.S. 50

(1976). CNS ae A Oe ae ee 18

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS:

U.S. Const. amend. I ....................-..c0.--0--.ececcececsseesesseees passim

U.S. Const. amend. IV... 2.2... eect eee een 4

U.S. Const. amend. V ooo... cece cece eee enone 4

U.S. Const. amend. VI .....22...22..2 eee eee eee eee eee 4

U.S. Const. amend. VIII 00.2... eee 3

U.S. Const. amend. XIV .....2.02....222---.22cceceneeneeeceeeeeeeee passim

OTHER AUTHORITIES:

Curley, “ ‘Chilling Effect’ How Libel Suit Sapped

the Crusading Spir:t of a Small Newspaper,”

Wall St. J., Sept. 29, 1983 at 1, col. 1 0... 7

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Franklin, Sving Media for Libel; A Litigation

Beis, TOE Bi. TOG Gi FO nciccceeteics. cccess ssc 6

Goodale, Centuries of Libel Erased by Times v.

Sullivan, 191 N.Y.L.J. 49 (1984) .......................... 9

Jeffries, A Comment on the Constitutionality of

Punitive Damages, 72 Va. L. Rev. 139 (1986) .... 4

Libel Defense Resource Center Bulletin No. 21

OR FR a ene 6

Libel Defense Resource Center, Recent Trends iin

Libel Damage Awards Against the Media, Libel

Defense Resource Center Bulletin No. 18 (De-

cember 15. 1986) ...... Pe Sete ane RIS Be RES enon 6

Libel Defense Resource Center Bulletin No. 1’

| EERE SE ap 6

Massing, The Libel Chill: How Cold Is It Out

There?, Colum. Journalism Rev. at 31 (May/

June, 1985) as 7

Note, The Constitutionality of Punitive Damages

in Libel Actions, 45 Fordham L. Rev. 1382

' ll — Sa TENDS OR IESE ED ENE OO ED | 7

Note, Punitive Damages and Libel Law, 98 Harv.

A | RES one eee Ne 8, 13, 15

Report, Committee on Communications Law, Puni-

tive Damages in Libel Actions, 42 Record of

Assoc. of Bar of City of New York 20 (Jan./

a alana teat eaeacelebaia 6

Restatement (Second) of Torts § 908 (2) (1977) . 15

Sack & Tofel, First Steps Down the Road Not

Taken: Emerging Limitations on Libel Damages,

OD is. Secs es, CI EMI Sissi <i sessentiscessensatarantoncrs 9,15

Van Alstyne, First Amendment Limitations on

Recovery from the Press, 25 Wm. & Mary L.

Rev. 793 (1984) ............ DI ie a ee ie ea — 2

Wheeler, The Constitutional Case for Reforming

Punitive Damages Procedures, 69 Va. L. Rev.

I ee

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

No. 89-1279

Paciric MUTUAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY,

Petitioner,

Ws

CLEOPATRA HASLIP, CYNTHIA CRAIG, ALMA M. CALHOUN

and EDDIE HARGROVE,

Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the

Supreme Court of Alabama

BRIEF OF AMICT CURIAE

CBS INC., CAPITAL CITIES ABC, INC.

DOW JONES & COMPANY, INC., THE HEARST

CORPORATION, KNIGHT-RIDDER, INC., N ATIONAL

BROADCASTING COMPANY, INC., REUTERS

INFORMATION SERVICES INC., THE TIME INC.

MAGAZINE COMPANY, TRIBUNE COMPANY,

UNITED PRESS INTERNATIONAL, INC.

THE WASHINGTON POST, WESTINGHOUSE

BROADCASTING COMPANY, INC., THE AMERIC AN

SOCIETY OF NEWSPAPER EDITORS, ASSOC [ATION

OF AMERICAN PUBLISHERS, MAGAZINE

PUBLISHERS OF AMERICA, INC., NATIONAL

ASSOCIATION OF BROADCASTERS,

RADIO-TELEVISION NEWS DIRECTORS ASSOCI ATION,

REPORTERS COMMITTEE FOR FREEDOM

OF THE PRESS,

AND THE SOCIETY OF PROFESSIONAL JOURNALISTS,

IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

9

—

STATEMENT OF INTEREST

This brief is submitted on behalf of nineteen amici

curiae who include broadcasters, news services, publishers,

and associations of working journalists and writers.* As

members of the media, these amici operate under the

constant threat of libel claims, almost all of which seek

punitive damages. In recent years, both the frequency

and amount of these awards have increased at an alarm-

ing rate.

The threat of punitive damage awards now affects the

nation’s media at all levels, from national news organiza-

tions to the smallest local newspapers and broadcasters,

and interferes with their vital role in the reporting and

discussion of public affairs. At a minimum, therefore,

these amici support the due process limitations urged by

the petitioner in this case.

However, these amici also believe that punitive dam-

ages awards in libel cases involving matters of public

concern are irreconcilable with the requirements of the

First Amendment. They therefore urge the Court to

recognize that its decision in the present case may also

have an impact in cases arising from discussion of pub-

lic aftairs, where mere limitations on punitive damage

awards may not be adequate to protect First Amend-

ment values,

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The libel decisions of this Court have examined the

problem of unrestrained punitive damage awards at

length, and the Court has imposed constitutional limita-

tions on the award of such damages arising from speech

involving matters of public concern. These restraints, al-

though framed under the First Amendment, are essen-

tially due process concerns, and their reasoning has been

applied by the Court in non-libel cases as well. They

* Written consent of both parties has been filed with the Clerk of

the Court, as required by Supreme Court Rule 36.

3

serve as a valuable touchstone for addressing constitu-

tional limitations on punitive damages in general.

In any kind of case, the availability of unrestrained

punitive damages encourages unnecessary lititation, per-

mits arbitrary punishment of unpopular defendants, and

often deters conduct that is lawful, socially beneficial, and

even constitutionally protected. When balanced against

the ineffectiveness of such awards in serving even their

own theoretical purposes, the harm caused by the threat

of punitive damages far outweighs any arguable benefit.

Such an arbitrary system of punishment offends funda-

mental principles of due process. When it is employed

by juries to punish unpopular speech and speakers, it

violates the First Amendment as well. The First Amend-

ment requires that any form of government action that

threatens to punish or suppress speech must meet the

highest standards of due process. The unrestrained

award of punitive damages fails to satisfy even the mini-

mum stardards required by the Fourteenth Amendment

and is inherently inconsistent with the requirements of

the First Amendment.

ARGUMENT

I. THE EXPERIENCE OF MEDIA DEFENDANTS IN

LIBEL CASES HIGHLIGHTS THE DANGERS O}

UNRESTRAINED PUNITIVE DAMAGE AWARDS.

A. Punitive Damage Awards in Libel Cases Have In-

creased Despite Constitutional Limits Imposed by

the Court.

Well before the recent challenges to punitive damages

on Eighth and Fourteenth Amendment grounds,’ this

Court recognized the danger posed by punitive damages

under the First Amendment. In fact, the problem ot un-

restrained damage awards has been a constant theme in

1 See Browning-Ferris Industries of Vermont ]

posal, Inc., 109 S. Ct. 2909 (1989); Bankers Lite a 7

». Crensham, 486 U.S. 71 (1988); Aetna Life 1 .

Lavoie, 475 U.S. 813 (1986).

4

this Court’s efforts to reconcile the common law of libel

with competing First Amendment limitations.

In New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254, 278

(1964), the Court recognized that the threat of unre-

strained punitive damages raises severe constitutional

problems as “a form of regulation that creates hazards

to protected freedoms markedly greater than those that

attend reliance on the criminal law.” (quoting Bantam

Books, Inc. v. Sullivan, 372 U.S. 58 (1963) ).°

In Curtis Publishing Co. v. Butts, 388 U.S. 130 (1967),

and again in Rosenbloom v. Metromedia, Inc., 403 U.S.

29 (1971), the discussion of punitive damage awards

occupied much of the Court’s attention. Justice Harlan,

originally supporting punitive damages in Butts, ex-

pressly retreated from that position in Rosenbloom and

concluded:

I would hold unconstitutional, in a private libel case,

jury authority to award punitive damages which is

unconfined by the requirement that these awards

bear a reasonable and purposeful relationship to the

actual harm done.

~ The Court observed:

A person charged with violation of this [criminal libel] statute

enjoys ordinary criminal-law safeguards such as the require-

ments of an indictment and of proof beyond a reasonabie doubt.

These safeguards are not available to the defendant in a civil

action .... And since there is no double-jeopardy limitation

applicable to civil lawsuits, this is not the only judgment that

may be awarded .. . for the same publications.

376 U.S. at 277: see also Smith v. Wade, 461 U.S. 30, 59 (1983)

(Rehnquist, J., dissenting) (“although punitive damages are ‘quasi-

criminal,’ .. . their imposition is unaccompanied by the types of

safeguards present in criminal proceedings”); Jeffries, A Comment

on the Constiiutionality of Punitive Damages, 72 Va. L. Rev. 139,

152-53 (1986); Wheeler, T? Constitutional Case for Re forming

Punitive Damages Procedures, 69 Va. L. Rev. 269, 322-33 (1983)

(suggesting application of Fourth, Fifth and Sixth Amendments

to punitive damages proceedings).

5

403 U.S. at 77 ‘Harlan, J., dissenting). In a separate

opinion, Justices Marshall and Stewart concluded that

punitive damages should be prohibited altogether in such

cases... These dissenting opinions became the foundation

for the majority opinion in Gertz v. Robert Welch, Ine.,

418 U.S. 223 (1974), where the Court concluded:

(P]unitive damages are wholly irrelevant to the

state interest that justifies a negligence standard for

private defamation actions. They are not compensa-

tion for injury. Instead, they are private fines levied

by civil juries....

Id. at 350.

Most recently, in Dun & Bradstreet, Inc. v. Greenmoss

Builders, Inc., 472 U.S. 749 (1985), four members of the

Court joined in an opinion reasserting the objections to

punitive awards discussed in Rosenbloom and Gertz,

stressing the “largely uncontrolled discretion” of juries

to assess damages “in wholly unpredictable amounts

bearing no necessary relation to the actual harm caused”

«s a rationale for the limitations imposed in Gertz. Id.

* 402 U.S. at 82-83 (Marshall, J., dissenting) :

[Punitive damages] serve the same function as criminal

penalties and are in effect private fines. Unlike criminal penal-

ties, however, punitive damages are not awarded within dis-

cernible limits but can be awarded in almost any amount.

Since there is not even an attempt to offset any palpable loss

and since these damages are the direct product of the ancient

theory of unlimited jury discretion, the only limit placed on

the jury in awarding punitive damages is that the damages

not be “excessive,” and in some jurisdictions that they bear

some relationship to the amount of compensatory damages

awarded. {Citation omitted.| The manner in which unlimited

discretion may be exercised is plainly unpredictable.

1Sre Dun & Rradstrect, Ine. v. Greenmoss Builders, Ine., 472

U.S. 749, 779 (1985) (Brennan, J., dissenting) (“Justice Harlan’s

perception formed the cornerstone of the Court’s analysis in

Gertz.’”’).

6

at 778 (Brennan, J., dissenting) (quoting Gertz, 418

U.S. at 350).

Each of these cases, including Dun & Bradstreet, af-

firmed the need for constitutional limits on the availabil-

ity of libel damages to protect discussion of public affairs,

with the Court in Gertz holding simply:

(T]hat the states may not permit recovery of pre-

sumed or punitive damages, at least when liability

is not based on a showing of knowledge of falsity or

reckless disregard for the truth.

418 US. at 349.

Despite these stated concerns and limitations, both the

amount and frequency of punitive damage awards against

the media in libel cases have continued to rise. During

the 1980’s multi-million dollar verdicts against libel de-

fendants became almost commonplace.’ Many awards

were overturned or reduced on appeal; many were ques-

tioned on constitutional grounds by courts and commenta-

tors alike;" but these facts are cold comfort to the pub-

*One study reported thet, between 1980 and 1984, approximately

60° of libel verdicts against media defendants included an award

of punitive damages (compared to less than 10° for non-libel

cases involving money damages). The average punitive award was

reported as substantially in excess of $2,500,000, and punitive dam-

ages accounted for approximately 80° of the total amount of

damages awarded. See Libel Defense Resource Center, Recent

Trends in Libel Damage Awaids Against the Media, Libel Defense

Resource Center Bulletin No. 18 at 58-63 (December 15, 1986).

See also, Libel Defense Resource Center Bulletin No. 21 (Octeber

31, 1989) ; Libel Defense Resource Center Bulletin No. 11 (Novem-

ber 14, 1984); Franklin, Suing Media for Libel; A_ Litigation

Study, 1981 A.B.A. Res. J. 795, 829; Report, Committee on Com-

munications Law, Punitive Damages in Libel Actions, 42 Record of

Assoc. of Bar of City of New York 20, 39-40 (Jan./Feb. 1987).

® See Dun & Bradstreet, Inc. v. Greenmoss Builders, Inc., 472

U.S. 749, 793-94 (1985) (Brennan, J. dissenting); see also Buckley

v. Littell, 539 F.2d 882 (2d Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 1062

(1977) Wheeler v. Green, 286 Or. 99, 593 P.2d 777 (1979); Stone

7

lishers and broadcasters who may be forced to meet pro-

hibitive bond requirements and to endure expensive ap-

peals before constitutional safeguards are properly ap-

plied.’

The trend toward ever-higher and increasingly irra-

tional punitive awards continues. In Sprague v. The

Philadelphia Inquirer, New York Times, May 3, 1990

at 1, col. 2 (Pa. Ct. Com. Pl.. May 3, 1990), a jury

awarded $31.5 million in punitive damages against the

Philadelphia Inquirer in a libel action. This was the

second time the case was sent to a jury. On the first

occasion, a different jury imposed a punitive award of

“only” $4 million (a difference of $27.5 million) on the

same set of facts. The challenged articles concerned the

plaintiff's investigation of a homicide in his capacity as

chief of homicide for the Philadelphia District Attor-

ney’s office. Similarly, in Srivastava v. Harte Hanks

Communications, Inc., Communications Daily, May 7,

1990 (Tex. Ct. Com. Pl., formal judgment pending), a

jury awarded the plaintiff $17.5 million in punitive dam-

ages in a libel action against a local television station.

In George v. International Society for Krishna Conscious-

v. Esser County Newspapers, Inc., 367 Mass. 849, 330 N.E.2d 161

(1975): Taskett v. King Broadcasting Co., 86 Wash.2d 439, 546

P.2d 81 (1976); Sprouse v. Clay Communication, Inc., 158 W. Va.

427, 211 S.BE.2d 674, cert. denied, 423 U.S. 991 (1975); see also

Wheeler, supra note 2; Note, Punitive Damages and Libel Law,

98 Harv. L. Rev. 847 (1985).

7 This fact was shown dramatically in the case of the Alton

Telegraph, a small Mlinois newspaper, which suffered a $9.2 million

libel verdict, including $2.5 million punitive damages. The com-

pany, valued at only $3 million ultimately settled for $1.4 million

after it was unable to raise the bond required for an appeal on

the merits. See Curley, “ ‘Chilling Effect’ How Libel Suit Sapped

the Crusading Spirit of a Small Newspaper,” Wall St. J., Sept. 29,

1983, at 1, col. 1, See also, Massing, The Libel Chill: How Coid

Is It Out Tiieve?, Colum. Journalism Rev., at 31 (May June, 1985) ;

Note, The Constitutionality of Punitive Damages in Libel Actions,

45 Fordham L. Rev. 1382, 1384 (1977).

. 8

ness, 262 Cal. Rptr. 217 (Cal. App. 1989), a jury awarded

$32 million in punitive damages for, among other things,

a libel claim based on a press release. In Newton v. Na-

tional Broadcasting Co., 677 F. Supp. 1066 (D. Nev.

1987), currently on appeal before the Ninth Circuit, a

Las Vegas jury awarded $5 million in punitive damages

against NBC in a libel action brought by entertainer

Wayne Newton. It appears that juries are feeling no

particular restraints, constitutional or otherwise, in award-

ing punitive damages in libel cases.

B. Punitive Damages Have Been Arbitrarily Assessed

Against Unpopular Defendants.

In theory, punitive damages are intended to punish

and to deter specific conduct that society finds out-

rageous or reprehensible.* In practice, however, juries

often use this uncontrolled weapon to punish defendants

not for what they have done, but for who they are. It

is no mere coincidence that defendants such as Hustler

and Penthouse magazines have suffered punitive dam-

age verdicts in the eight-figure range more than once.®

Far more troubling is the number of these megaver-

dicts that are being imposed in cases arising out of com-

mentary on public affairs and the six- and seven-figure

punitive awards imposed on news media defendants al-

most as a matter of course, once the jury finds for the

‘See Note, Punitive Damages and Libel Law, 98 Harv. L. Rev.

R47, 849 (1985); Wheeler, The Constitutional Case for Reforming

Punitive Damages Procedures, 69 Va. L. Rev. 269, 282 (1983).

” See, e.g., Guecione v. Hustler Magazine, 800 F.2d 298 (2d Cir.

1986), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 1091 (1987) ($37,000,000); Lerman

ve Flynt Distributing Co., 745 F.2d 123 (2d Cir. 1984), cert denied,

471 U.S. 1015 (1985) ($33,000,000); Pring v. Penthouse Inter-

national, 695 F.2d 438 (10th Cir. 1982); cert. denied, 462 U.S.

1132 (1983) ($25,000,000).

7

i9 See notes 5-7 and accompanying text, supra.

9

plaintiff on the question of liability.‘ Professor Van

Alsytyne, commenting on this disturbing pattern, ob-

served: “{J]uries may tend to find whatever they are

told is necessary for them to find if they thoroughly dis-

like the publisher, his publication, his general practice,

or his business... .’’ Van Alstyne, First Amendment

Limitations on Recovery from the Press, 25 Wm. & Mary

L. Rev. 793, 795-96 (1984) .*-

It may be that libel juries are merely reflecting a gen-

eral shift of attitude on the subject of damages—that

“(jljuries in all forms of tort litigation are finding for

individual plaintiffs with less attention to the arguments

of corporate defendants and greater inclination te award

staggering damages than ever before.”” Goodale, Centuries

of Libel Erased by Times v. Sullivan, 191 N.Y.LJ. 49

(1984). The jury in the present case may have awarded

punitive damages out of sympathy for the plaintiff—a

sense that “someone should pay” for what she endured,

regardless of the culpability of the particular defendant.

This sense of frustration and anger may be a natural

human reaction, but it is not a rational basis for assess-

ing punitive damages, and unchecked, it leads to arbi-

trary and irrational results."*

11 See, e.g., Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp. v. Jacobson, 827

F.2d 1119 (7th Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 485 U.S. 998 (1988).

12 Professor Van Alstyne also noted the possibility that attempts

to restrict awards under the actual malice rule may have had the

opposite impact on jurors:

[A] juror might suppose that if recklessness must be proved

and if recklessness also entitles the defendant to consideration

of punitive damages, then absent some exceptional reasons, the

juror ought assuredly and quite routinely award punitive dam-

ages ....

Van Alstyne, 25 Wm. & Mary L. Rev. at 797.

13 See Sack & “Tofel, First Steps Down the Road Net Taken:

Emerging Limitations on Libel Damages, 90 Dick. L. Rev. 609, 613-

15 (1989) (discussing jury verdict in McCoy v. Hearst Corp., 174

Cal. App. 3d 892, 220 Cal. Rptr. 848 (1985), which awarded iden-

10

When the defendant’s conduct toward the plaintiff does

become an issue, the jury is almost always invited to

“send a message” that the defendant—often a large cor-

poration—cannot ignore. Unfortunately, there is very

little guidance at that point to insure that the message

is warranted by the defendant’s conduct, and not merely

by the jurors’ distaste for the defendant’s size, financial

net worth, or even by regional prejudices.

As Justice Douglas reminded in his dissent in Gertz,

the influence of emotion and prejudice is not confined to

juries: “Discussion of public affairs is often marked

by highly charged emotions, and jurymen, not unlike us

all, are subject to those emotions.” Gertz v. Robert

Welch, Inc., 418 U.S. 323, 359 (1974). Excessive damage

awards may also reflect, in part, “localized judicial dis-

taste for certain publishers” and judges’ “‘understandable,

but constitutionally improper, distaste for the defendant’s

publication.”” Van Alstyne, 25 Wm. & Mary L. Rev. at

801, 808.

In short, the danger of punitive (Amages is not merely

that they are unrestrained; it is that they are, by defini-

tion, a court-sanctioned invitation to punish the defend-

ant. And as long as punitive damages remain available

as a Weapon in civil cases, there will be the temptation

to punish for the wrong reasons. Restraining the amownt

of damages or the procedures under which they are

awarded will not remove the temptation. Jurors and

judges alike may simply find whatever they are told they

need to find to justify the result, if the desire to award

damages is great enough.

tical amounts of $1,000,600 “compensatory” and $520,000 punitive

damages to each of three different plaintiffs and apportioned the

awards with similar symmetry against a newspaper, its reporter,

and a freelance writer). See also notes 5-7 and accompanying text,

supra. In the present case, on the other hand, one respondent

appears to have received the entire punitive award, while the other

three were restricted to compensatory damages. Pacific Mut Life

Ins. Co. v. Haslip, 553 So.2d 537, 539 (Ala. 1989).

11

C. The “Prize” of Unrestrained Punitive Damage

Awards Has Encouraged Expensive and Unneces-

sary Litigation.

The prospect of virtually unlimited punitive damage

awards against large corporations can and does change

the character of litigation. The punitive damage lawsuit

is not controlled by practical concerns of fair compensa-

tion for real loss suffered or a realistic assessment of

its costs. Too often, it becomes an expensive, time-con-

suming, and wasteful exercise in litigation tactics—a

high-stakes gamble on the jury’s emotions, with a prize

limited only by the defendant’s net worth. And because

the stakes are perceived to be so high, the defense of a

punitive damages case may also take on the inflated char-

acter of a multi-million dollar dispute, whether justified

or not.

This lottery mentality, especially prevalent in libel

cases, can lead to protracted and expensive litigation in

virtually any kind of case where the defendant’s at-

titude, size, or wealth can be made an issue. And, as

the experience with libel cases demonstrates, the promise

of unrestrained awards can subvert even the most care-

fully-drawn system for compensating actual injury and

convert it to an emotional appeal to jury passion and

prejudice. The end result is an irrational system in

which the costs—“the encouragement of unnecessary liti-

gation and the chilling of desirable conduct”—far out-

weigh the alleged benefits of punitive damages. Smith

v. Wade, 461 U.S. 30, 59 (1983) (Rehnquist, J., dis-

senting).

In the area of libel law, the “desirable conduct” chilled

by the prospect of punitive damages is constitutionally

protected conduct—free speech on matters of public con-

cern. The need to protect this First Amendment inter-

est has been the driving force behind restrictions im-

posed by this Court in libel cases, but the Court’s atten-

tion has been focused on restricting liability, not dam-

12

ages.'* Although the Court’s reasoning in these cases has

addressed the chilling effect of unrestricted and unpre-

dictable damage awards on First Amendment freedoms,"

and although these arguments have been applied to re-

strict punitive damages in non-libel cases,'® the Court has

not yet imposed these restrictions directly on the award

of libel damages. The result is a standing invitation for

libel plaintiffs to navigate whatever rules and semantic

hurdies may be necessary to gain the prize of unlimited

punitive damages. The recent examples discussed above "

suggest that plaintiffs and their lawyers are accepting

this invitation with disturbing frequency and substan-

tial monetary success.

II. PUNITIVE DAMAGES ARE UNNECESSARY AND

INEFFECTIVE IN SERVING THEIR THEORETI-

CAL PURPOSES.

The traditional common-law justifications offered for

punitive damages are: (1! providing compensation in

cases where undercompensation of harm is likely, (2)

14 Even in Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., 418 U.S. 323, 349-50

(1974), which purported to restrict libel damages to “compensation

for actual injury,” the possibility of punitive damages where actual

malice could be shown was only noted in passing. There was no

discussion of what further limitations might be constitutionally

required in such a case. More recently, in Dun & Bradstrect, Tne.

v. Greenmoss Builders, Inc., 472 U.S. at T7i (White, J.. concur-

ring), Justice White criticized the Court’s single-minded focus on

the liability issue and suggested instead that presumed and punitive

damages might have been restricted or prohibited altogether, as an

alternative means of First Amendment protection.

1° See, notes 2-4 and accompanying text, «pra.

16 See, e.g., Electrical Workers v«. Foust, 442 U.S. 42, 48-52 (1979

(union’s breach of duty of fair representation); Newport v. Fact

Concerts, Inc., 4538 U.S. 247, 270-71 (1681) (municipal liability

under § 1983). See also, Dun & Bradstreet, 472 U.S. at 780 n.4

(Brennan, J., dissenting).

17 See notes 5-7 and accompanying text, svpra.

13

deterrence of future undesirable conduct, and (3) punish-

ment or retribution for past reprehensible conduct. See

Note, Punitive Damages and Libel Law, 98 Harv. L.

Rev. 847, 850 (1985); see also Gertz, 418 U.S. at 849-

50; Dun & Bradstreet, 472 U.S. at 760-61.

In the context of libel awards, the Court has recog-

nized that, with the possible exception of purely private

libel cases,’* punitive damages do not serve “|t]|he legiti-

mate state interest underlying the law of libel |,-2.¢.,] the

compensation of individuals for the harm inflicted on

them by defamatory falsehood.” Gertz, 418 U.S. at 341.

Punitive damages “are wholly unrelated to thjis| state

interest” because they “are not compensation for injury.”

Id. at 350.”

Even in non-speech cases, it is highly doubtful whether

punitive damages serve their own declared purposes. The

‘“undercompensation” rationale is a logical outgrowth of

early common law limitations on actual damages. See

Wheeler, supra note 2 at 304-05. Modern damages the-

ories are far more expansive—courts no longer rely on

restrictive definitions of “actual damages.” Under re-

laxed standards of proof, they now allow compensation

for virtually every conceivable form of injury. See Gertz,

418 U.S. at 350 (“actual injury is not limited to out-of-

pocket loss” and “include[s] impairment of reputation

and standing in the community, personal humilitation,

In Dun & Bradstreet, 472 U.S. 749, the Court upheld an award

of punitive damages in what the piurality opinion characterized as

a “purely private” libel case involving no matters of public interest.

However, one of the three Justices making up the plurality was

Justice O'Connor, who has since declared her strong concern that

the award of uncontrolled punitive damages may be unconstitu-

tional. See text accompanying notes 30-31, infra.

'' The related doctrine of presumed damages is also essentially

punitive, inviting juries “to punish unpopular opinion rather than

» compensate” and to grant “gratuitous awards of money damages

far in excess of any actual injury,” a result in which “the States

have no substantial interest.” Id. at 349.

14

and mental anguish and suffering”); see a!so Wheeler,

supra note 2 at 305, 310. Given this expansive reading

of actual damages in libel cases, the compensatory justi-

fication for punitive damages in such cases is no .onger

valid.

It is equally doubtful whether punitive damages are

effective as a deterrent to future wrongful conduct:

The theory of deterrence assumes that the person to

be deterred rationally weighs the benefits and costs

‘ineluding the possible punitive sanctions discounted

by the probability of their being imposed) likely to

flow from the contemplated conduct.

Id. at 306. This theoretical Lalancing process depends

on the potential defendant’s ability to accurately predict

the amount and the likelihood of those costs; deterrence

is effeccive only when costs are both certain to be imposed

and optimal in amount, that is, sufficient to deter the

targeted conduct without also deterring beneficial con-

duct. Id. at 306-09.

in prac‘ice, however, the imposition of punitive dam-

ages falls totally outside this theoretical framework. In

a statutory scheme, legislatures at least have the oppor-

tunity to consider such questions and to attempt defini-

tions of both conduct and punishment that will approxi-

mate these goals. In the courtroom, however, juries are

invited to assess punitive damages without any considera-

tion of, much less confinement to, the amount strictly

necessary to deter on/y unprotected conduct. There is no

certainty as to whether such damages will be imposed or

in what amounts. This unpredictability alone undercuts

the theoretical goal of deterrence.”

“It might be argued that strict application of the standards

defining such intentional torts as fraud reduces the unpredictability

of punitive damage awards, but the media’s experience with the

carefully defined “actual malice” standard refutes this assumption.

Actual malice may make liability more difficult to establish, but

“courts still lack a way of judging in First Amendment terms the

15

Finally, especially in the libel context, punitive dam-

ages do not effectively serve the purpose of punishment

or retribution. “The state has a legitimate interest in

retribution only when the wrongdoer has chosen to com-

mit a morally reprehensible act, knowing that it would

likely cause harm to another individual.” Note, 98 Harv.

L. Rev. at 859; see also Wheeler, supra note 2 at 311. In

most libel cases, punitive damages are awarded without

regard to these considerations, despite use of the term

actual ‘‘malice.”’

_ Even when the actual malice rule is properly applied

it dees not necessarily reach the issue of whether the

defendant’s conduct is truly “outrageous” and prompted

by the “evil motives” normally required to be shown be-

fore punitive damages may be awarded.*! The require-

ment of actual malice in libel cases is a tool for defining

the standard of liability, not the level of damages. It

focuses only on the defendant’s attitude toward the facets,

and not m the defendant’s attitude toward the plaintiff

or ary intent to do harm. See, e.g., Harte Hanks Com-

munications, fue. v. Connaughton, 109 S. Ct. 2678, 2684-

85 (1989); Note, 98 Harv. L. Rev. at 854. It is possible

therefore, to have a technical finding of “actual mal-

ice’ as defined by New York Times where there is ab-

solutely no evidence of “malicious” conduct in the com-

mon sense of the word. The jury may then be invited to

award punitive damages without any further restrictions.

proj .iety of the amount of an award, however stupendous, once

the liability hurdle has been surmounted.” Sack & Tofel, First Stepe

Down the Read Not Taken: Emerging Limitations on Libel Dam-

ages, 90 Dick. L. Rev. 609, 616 (1986) (footnote omitted). Once a

jury finds actual malice, its discretion to award punitive damages

may remain virtually unbridled. Potential defendants still mav or

mzy not face heavy damage awards depending on how the jury

reacts to their choice of language. ,

“! See Restatement (Second) Of Torts §908(2) (1977) (imposi-

tion of punitive damages is premised on outrageous conduct arising

out of the defendant's evil motives).

16

In summary, awards of punitive damages against

speech on matters of public concern do not “further the

state interest in providing remedies for defamation by

ensuring that those remedies are effective.” Dun & Brad-

street, 472 U.S. at 761. They do not effectively deter,

punish, or compensate for injury from unprotected

speech. Instead, these damages overcompensate plaintiffs

(often dramatically) at the constitutionally impermis-

sible expense of deterring and punishing protected

speech.

These costs associated with punitive damages arise

outside the First Amendment context as well. See, e.9.,

Smith v. Wade, 461 U.S. at 59-60 (Rehnquist, J., dis-

senting) (“The alleged deterrence achieved by punitive

damages is likely outweighed by the costs—such as the

encouragement of unnecessary litigation and the chilling

of desirable conduct ....”). As a result, the highest

courts of several states have rejected punitive damages

as fundamentally unsound in principle.“

“2 See Killibrew v. Abbott Laboratories, 359 So.2d 1275 (La.

1978) (“punitive damages are not allowable unless . . . a statute

expressly authorizes the imposition of such a penalty”); Miller v.

Kingsley, 194 Neb. 123, 230 N.W.2d 472 (1972) (“It is a funda-

mental rule of law in this state that punitive, vindictive or exemp-

lary damages are not allowed. The measure of recovery in all civil

cases is compensation for injury sustained.”); Vratsenes v. New

Hampshire Auto, Inc., 112 N.H. 71, 289 A.2d 66 (1972) (“The

idea [of punitive damages] is wrong. It is a monstrous heresy.’ ”’

quoting Fay v. Parker, 53 N.H. 342, 382 (1872)): Maki v. Alnu-

minum Bldg. Products, 73 Wash.2d 23, 4836 P.2d 186 (1968) | “From

[1871] to the present day, this court has held that the doctrine

of punitive dam«ges is unsound in principle.”).

17

Ill. THE AWARD OF PUNITIVE DAMAGES AND THE

METHOD BY WHICH THEY ARE IMPOSED VIO-

LATES DUE PROCESS REQUIRED UNDER BOTH

THE FIRST AND FOURTEENTH AMENDMENTS.

A. The First Amendment Requires the Highest Stand-

ards of Due Process Where Punishment or Suppres-

sion of Speech Is Threatened.

While the basic issue before the Court is whether un-

restrained punitive damage awards violate due process

requirements of the Fourteenth Amendment, much of the

Court’s discussion of punitive damages to date has cen-

tered on limitations mandated by the First Amendment.

This fact may tempt some to dismiss the relevance of

these earlier decisions by categorizing them narrowly as

“free speech” cases, but on closer review it is clear that

the reasoning of these cases can be asserted with equal

conviction under the Due Process Clause of the Four-

teenth Amendment. In fact, in summarizing the constitu-

tional objections to punitive damages in the libel context,

the dissent in Dun & Bradstreet was framed largely in

the language of due process.** Further, as this Court

stated in Gillow v. New York, 268 U.S. 652, 666 (1925),

“freedom of speech and of the press—which are pro-

tected by the Ist Amendment from abridgement by Con-

gress—are among the fundamental personal rights and

‘liberties’ protected by the due process clause of the 14th

Amendment from impairment by the states.” See also,

Near v. Minnesota, 283 U.S. 697, 707 (1931).

In one sense, the only difference between punitive dam-

ages in a libel action and in any other case is the fact

that in the former the conduct being punished and de-

terred is speech. The difference, of course, is significant.

The Court has long recognized that any form of state

regulation that restricts free speech demands heightened

“3 See Dun & Bradstreet, 472 U.S. at 778-79 (Brennan, J., dissent-

ing); see also, notes 19-20 and accompanying text, supra.

18

scrutiny of due process concerns.** The general principle

was summarized in Speiser v. Randall, 357 U.S. 513, 520

(1957):

When we deal with the complex of strands in the

web of freedoms which make up free speech, the

operation and effect of the method by which speech

is sought to be restrained must be subjected to close

analysis and critical judgment in the light of the

particular circumstances to which it is applied.

Id. at 520 (emphasis added).

This principle is reflected in various rules enunciated

by the Court to ensure that any form of government re-

straint on speech does not reach beyond the permitted

bounds to impinge on protected speech. For example:

* In all cases, the burden is on the government to

establish that the restraint of speech is justified

under the appropriate standard.*°

* In cases of doubt, the balance must be struck in

favor of protecting speech.*"

* Encompassing both the prior rules, speech is pre-

sumed protected until proven otherwise with con-

vineing clarity.**

“4 See Young v. American Mini Theatres, 427 U.S. 50, 76 (1976)

(Powell, J., concurring); New York Times Co. v. United States,

403 U.S. 713 (1971); United States v. Car e Products Co., 304

U.S. 144, 152 n.4 (1988); Lovell v. Griffin, 303 U.S. 444 (1938).

The award of libel damages is such a “form of state regulation”

subject to the rule. See, New York Times v. Sullivan, 372 US.

at 278.

°° E.g., Philadelphia Newspapers, Inc. v. Hepps, 475 U.S. 767, 777

(1986) (and cases cited therein); New York Times Co. v. United

States, 403 U.S. 713, 714 (197t) ; Organization for a Better Austin

v. Keefe, 402 U.S. 415, 419 (1971); Speiser v. Ranauall, 357 U.S.

513, 526 (1957); Kingsley Books, Inc. v. Brown, 354 U.S. 436,

441-42 (1953).

26 E.q., Hepps, 475 U.S. at 776-78; Gertz, 418 U.S. at 341.

7B .g., New York Times Co. v. United States, 4038 U.S. at 714;

Bantam Books, Inc. v. Sullivan, 3272 U.S. 58, 70 (1963) (and cases

cited therein) ; see Near v. Minnesota, 283 U.S. at 715-17.

19

* Those empowered to restrain speech must do so

only under narrowly drawn standards to avoid

arbitrary and discriminatory content-based ac-

tion.**

* Courts must independently review judgments that

threaten protected speech.”

These are all essentially due process considerations,

focused on “the method by which [burdens on speech] are

imposed. . . .” See Browning-Ferris, 109 S. Ct. at 2924

(O’Connor, J., concurring). In most cases, they are sub-

sumed under the First Amendment analysis, but they re-

main due process concerns nonetheless,*® and when ap-

plied to the award of punitive damages in libel cases, they

closely parallel the concerns expressed by members of the

Court in Browning-Ferris and other recent cases.

B. The Award of Punitive Damages Fails to Satisfy

Even Minimum Standards of Due Process.

The precise limits that should apply under the Due

Process Clause to any award of punitive damages are

fully discussed in the briefs of the parties and other

amici. For purposes of this discussion, it is enough to

simply note what members of the Court have said in

recent opinions addressing the issue.

In Browning-Ferris Industries of Vermont, Inc. v.

Kelco Disposal, Inc., 109 S. Ct. 2909 (1989), Justice

23 E.g., Southeastern Promotions Ltd. v. Conrad, 420 U.S. 546

(1975) (and cases cited therein); Shuttlesworth v. Birmingham,

394 U.S. 147, 150-51 (1969).

29 F.q., Harte Hanks Communications, Inc. v. Connaughton, 109

S. Ct. 2678. 2680-81 (1989); Bose Corp. v. Consumers Union of

United States, Inc., 466 U.S. 485, 498-511 (1984); NAACP v.

Claiborne Hardware Co., 458 U.S. 886, 915-16 & n.50 (1982); New

York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254, 284-86 (1964).

8° See c.g., Police Dept. v. Mosley, 408 U.S. 92 (1972); Freedman

v. Maryland, 380 U.S. 51 (1965).

20

Blackmun, writing for the Court, acknowledged existing

authority for the view “that the Due Process Clause

places outer limits on the size of a civil damage award

made pursuant to a statutory scheme,” but deferrec

consideration of the question of “whether due process

acts as a check on undue jury discretion to award puni-

tive damages in the absence of any express statutory

limit,” because the issue had not been adequately raised

in the lower courts. Id.

Justice Brennan, joined by Justice Marshall, addressed

the majority’s recognition of due process limitations on

statutory penalties by noting that the guidance given

juries in determining punitive damage awards “‘is

scarcely better than no guidance at all,” and admonish-

ing the Court to:

look longer and harder at an award of punitive

damages based on suci. skeletal guidance than [it]

would at one situated within a range of penalties as

to which responsible officiais had deliberated and

then agreed.

Id. at 2923 (Brennan, J., concurring).

Justice O’Connor, joined by Justice Stevens, voiced

concern over “skyrocketing” punitive damages awards un-

limited by any set of objective standards, and cited her

earlier position in Bankers Life and Casualty Co. v.

Crenshaw, 486 U.S. 71, 89 +1988), in which she, joined

by Justice Scalia, observed that “[t|his grant of wholly

standardless discretion to determine the severity of pun-

ishment appears inconsistent with due process.” Brown-

ing-Ferris, 109 S. Ct. at 2924 ‘O'Connor, J., concurring

in part and dissenting in part).

As previously noted, these same due process concerns,

heightened by their First Amendment setting, led four

members of the Court in Dun & Bradstreet to dissent

from the award of punitive damages, even in the context

of purely private speech. Justice Brennan, joined by three

21,

other dissenters, also noted that the objections to punitive

damages are not confined to First Amendment cases. See

Dun & Bradstreet, 472 U.S. at 780 n.4. See also Smith

v. Wade, 461 U.S. 30, 59 (1983) (Rehnquist, J., dis-

senting).

More recently, in The Florida Star v. B.J.F., 109 S.

Ct. 2603, 2607 n.5 (1989), Justice White, joined by

Justice O’Connor and the Chief Justice, expressed con-

cern about the constitutionality of punitive damages in a

non-iibel ‘but First Amendment) context:

The Court does not address the distinct constitutional

questions raised by the award of punitive damages

in this case. . . . That award is more troublesome

than the compensatory award discussed above.

‘White, J., dissenting) (citations omitted).

From these various opinions, it appears that most mem-

bers of the Court recognize the need for some constraints

on the imposition of punitive damages in civil cases and,

at a minimum, that these may include some form of ob-

jective standards to guide and limit the discretion of

jurors in deciding whether to award punitive damages,

and in what amounts.

The partiapants in this brief urge the Court to con-

sider also whether any standards, procedural or other-

wise, will adequately address the heightened need for due

process protection where speech is the subject of such

punitive measures. The unfortunate experience in libel

cases has been that mere words, rules, and standards, no

matter how carefully defined, are not enough to deter

jurors and judges alike from exercising the power to

punish unpopular speech and speakers with staggering

punitive awards. It may well be that punitive damages

are inherently “too blunt a regulatory instrument to

satisfy . . . First Amendment principle{s]. .. .” Dun

& Bradstreet, 472 U.S. at 778 (Brennan, J., dissenting).

22

C. The Award of Punitive Damages in Libel Cases

Fails to Satisfy Heightened Due Process Standards

Required by the First Amendment.

The danger punitive damages pose to protected speech

was thoroughly explored in Geriz v. Robert Welch, Inc.,

418 U.S. 323 (1974). The condemnation of such dam-

ages in that case would be enough, standing alone, to

declare unconstitutional any punitive award in a libel

case involving matters of public interest, were It no: for

the Court’s qualifying language, “‘at least when liability

‘s not based on a showing of knowledge of falsity or reck-

less disregard for the truth.” 418 U.S. at 349.

This language has been interpreted by some lower

courts as a ruling that punitive damages flow automat-

‘cally where New York Times actual malice can be

shown." But the Court in Gertz did not discuss the re-

lationship, if any, between a finding of actual malice and

the award of punitive damages. The issue was left open

and the holding simply confined to “the private defama-

tion plaintiff who establishes liability under a less de-

manding standard than that stated by New York Times.

418 U.S. at 350. In fact, as noted above,” the require-

ment of “actual malice” in libel cases does not even

address the questions of malice or evil motive in the com-

mon meaning normally required to support a punitive

damage award. See Harte Hanks Communications v. Con-

noughton, 109 S. Ct. at 2685. Even minimal due process

would require a more rational connection between such

41 See, e., Brown & Williamson Tviaceo Corp. v. Jacobsen, 713

F.2d 262, 2733 ‘7th Cir. 1983). Other courts have been less hasty

to assume this conclusion, but have centinved to uphold punitive

awards, in some cases because of their uncertainty. See Maheu rv.

Hughes Tool Co., 569 F.2d 459, 478 (9th Cir. 1977); Buckley v.

Littell, 5389 F.2d 8&2, 997 (2d Cir. 1976); Davis vr. Schuchat, 510

F.2d 731, 737 «D.C. Cir. 1970).

32 See notes 20-21 and acc mpanying text, supra

23

punishment and the purpose it supposedly serves. In

libel cases, that connection may not exist at all.

According to the Court in Gertz, the legitimate state

interest underlying the law of libel “extends no further

than compensation for actual injury,” 418 U.S. at 348-49,

and “punitive damages are wholly irrelevant to th{/at]

state interest,” id. at 350. Therefore, the justification for

punitive damages in such libel cases must be assessed on

its own merits; it does not flow automatically from the

rationale for compensatory damages.

For First Amendment purposes, punitive damages must

be viewed independently, as a form of government action

that seeks to punish and to deter speech. As such, they

must be subjected to the same careful scrutiny and

heightened due process considerations that would be re-

quired of any statutory scheme that attempted to accom-

plish the same ends. See New York Times Co. v. Sulli-

van, 376 U.S. at 277 (“What a state may not constitu-

tionally bring about by means of a criminal statute is

likewise beyond the reach of its civil law of libel.”).

Viewed in this perspective, it is clear that the award of

punitive damages in libel cases, at least those involving

matters of public interest, fails utterly to satisfy the

heightened due process mandated by the First Amend-

ment.

First, the declared purpose to deter future speech is

fundamentally at odds with the purposes of the First

Amendment *e encourage free and open debate and to

prevent self-censorship. See Gertz, 418 U.S. at 350; See

also Near v. Minnesota, 283 U.S. 697, 713-20 (1931).

Second, punitive damages are awarded without nar-

rowly-drawn standards and by juries who are given broad

discretion to punish unpopular speech and speakers. Even

if theoretical standards could be imposed, the process re-

mains one of punishment based on the content of speech.

Third, the award of punitive damages, even in con-

cept, fails to provide the “breathing space” required in

24

discussion of public affairs. Even under the most care-

ful standards, it is impossible to ensure that the future

speech intended to be deterred will be only speech that

is unprotected by the First Amendment. Such broad-

based restraints in a statutory scheme would be clearly

unconstitutional. See Freedman v. Maryland, 380 U.S.

51 (1965).

In short, although it may be theoretically possible to

formulate standards and procedures that would ensure

punishment of only unprotected speech, the constitutional

defects in the whole concept of punitive damages cannot

be addressed simply by careful drafting. The intent to

restrain future speech and the inherent discretion granted

to juries under any such standards are fundamentally

at odds with the First Amendment.

D. Standardless and Deferential Appellate Review of

Punitive Damage Awards Cannot Satisfy Consti-

tutional Requirements.

Despite the long-standing requirement of independent

appellate review to protect against any judgment that

threatens First Amendment rights, see, e.g., New York

Times Co., 376 U.S. at 284-86; Bose, 466 U.S. at 498-

511, all too often appellate courts have refused to disturb

judgments of punitive damages in libel cases unless

“monstrously excessive” or so large as to “shock the

judicial conscience.” “” In the First Amendment context,

such elusive standards of review afford too little protec-

tion against abuse and are inconsistent with appellate

courts’ duty to “ ‘independently decide whether the evi-

dence in the record is sufficient to cross the constitu-

‘’ See Gertz, 418 U.S. at 350; Biown & Williamson tv. Jacobson,

8°7 F.2d at 1142 (multi-million dollar punitive damage award up-

held because jury was not “mere putty in the hands of the plain-

tiff’); Douglass v. Hustler Magazine, Inc., 769 F.2d 1128, 1143-44

(7th Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 475 US. 1091 (1986); Braun ev.

Flynt, 726 F.2d 245, 257 (bth Cir.), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 883

(1984).

25

tional threshold’” marked by the First Amendment.

Harte Hanks Communications v. Connaughton, 109 S.

Ct. at 2695 (quoting Bose, 466 U.S. at 511).

The Court in Bose explained that a jury’s application

of First Amendment princip’es:

is unlikely to be neutral with respect to the content

of speech and holds a real danger of becoming an

instrument for the suppression of those ‘vehement,

caustic, and sometimes unpleasantiy sharp attacks

... Which must be protected if the guarantees of the

First and Fourteenth Amendments are to prevail.

466 U.S. at 510 (quoting Monitor Patriot Co. v. Roy,

401 U.S. 265, 277 (1971) and New York Times Co., 376

U.S. at 270). The threat of unrestrained damages equally

jeopardizes First Amendment interests, Dun & Brad-

street, 472 U.S. at 770 (White, J., concurring), and the

appellate court’s duty under Bose to protect against the

entry of any judgment that encroaches upon protected

speech logically extends to judgments of punitive dam-

ages as well. See Bose, 466 U.S. at 511.

Whether the conduct at issue warrants the imposition

of enormous civil fines meant to deter speech in the

future is a determination that cannot be reviewed solely

for whether a jury acted out of “passion and prejudice,”

or whether the amount is “excessive,” or even whether it

bears some “rational relationship” to harm caused in the

past. The First Amendment requires far more precise

limits. So long as juries retain discretion to punish and

deter speech, even appellate courts cannot effectively pro-

tect against unconstitutional excess in the award of

damages.

26

CONCLUSION

The harm caused by punitive damage awards—the

threat to First Amendment and other sezietal values, the

encouragement of unnecessary litigation, and above all,

harm to the integrity of fundamental concepts of due

process—when weighted against the theoretical justifica-

tions offered in the defense of such awards, leads to the

conclusion that punitive damages are a remedy that so-

ciety cannot afford and the Constitution does not permit.

Of Counsel: P. CAMERON DEVORE *

DOUGLAS P. JACOBS MARSHALL J. NELSON

CBS Ine. DONALD S. KUNZE

51 West 52nd Street DAVIS WRIGHT TREMAINE

New York, New York 10019 2600 Century Square

1501 Fourth Avenue

Attorne “CBS Ine. ; f

ET ae Seattle, WA 98101-1688

(206) 622-3150

Counsel for Amici Curiae

* Counsel of Record

STEVEN SADICARIO

Capital Cities/A8C, Inc.

AT West 66th Street

New York, New York 10023

Attorney for Capital Cities/

ABC, Inc.

RICHARD J. TOFEL

Dow Jones & Company, Inc.

200 Liberty Street

New York, New York 10281

Attorney for

Dow Jones & Company, Inc.

Victor F. GANZI

ROBERT J. HAWLEY

The Hearst Corporation

959 Eighth Avenue

New York, New York 10019

Attorneys for

The Hearst Corporation

JOUN C. FONTAINE

Knight-Ridder, Inc.

One Herald Plaza

Miami, Florida 33132

Attorney for

Knight-Ridder, Inc.

SANDRA S. BARON

National Broadcasting

Company, Inc.

20 Rockefeller Plaza

New York, New York 10112

Attorney for National

Broadcasting Company, Inc.

CONSTANCE A. HEYMANN

Reuters Information

Services Inc.

1700 Broadway

New York, New York 10019

Attorney for Reuters

Information Services Ine.

HARRY M. JOHNSTON III

The Time Inc. Magazine

Company

1271 Avenue of the Americas

New York, New York 10020

Attorney for The Time Ine.

Magazine Compary

DAVID D. HILLER

Tribune Company

435 N. Michigan

Chicago, [Illinois 60611

Attorney for Tribune Company

JAMES L. ARNOLD

United Press International, Inc.

9990 Lehigh Way, Third Floor

Fairfax, Virginia 22030

Attorney for United Press

International, Inc.

BARBARA PERCIVAL

The Washington Post

1150 - 15th Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20071

Attorney for

ihe Washington Post

MARTIN P. MESSINGER

MARK H. CHARLES

Westinghouse Broadcasting

Company, Inc.

888 Seventh Avenue, 39th Floor

New York, New York 10106

Attorneys for Westinghouse

Broadcasting Company, Inc.

RICHARD M. SCHMIDT, JR.

COUN & MARKS

1333 New Hampshire Ave.

Suite 600

Washington, D.C. 20036

Attorney for

American Society of

Newspaper Editors

R. BRUCE RICH

WEIL, GOTSHAL & MANGES

767 Fifth Avenue

New York, New York 10153

Attorney for

Association of

American Publishers

TINA A. RAVITZ

Vice President and Chief Counsel

Newsweek, Inc.

444 Madison Avenue

New York, New York 10022

Attorney for Magazine

Publishers ef America, Inc.

Henry L. BAUMANN

STEVEN A. BOOKSHESTER

National Association

of Broadcasters

1771 N Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

Attorneys for National

Association of Broadcasters

JANE E. KIR1uY

Executive Director

Reporters Committee for

Freedom of the Press

Suite 504

1735 Eve St., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

Attorney for Reporters

Committee for Freedom

of the Press

28

Bruce W. SANFORD

BAKER & HOSTETLER

1050 Connecticut Ave., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 10006

Attorney for The Society

of Professional Journalists

J. LAURENT SCHARFF

REED SMITH Suaw & McCCLay

1200 18th Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

Attorney for Radio-Television

News Directors Association

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX

Identity of Individual Amici

CBS Ine. is the owner of television and radio broad-

casting stations and the operator of national television

and radio networks.

Capita! Cities’ ABC, Ine., through its subsidiaries,

owns national radio and television networks, television

and radio stations, daily and weekly newspapers, and

other publications, all of which are engaged in the gath-

ering and dissemination of news to the public.

Dow Jones & Company, Inc. publishes, inter alia, The

Wall Street Journal, the largest circulation daily news-

paper in the country, as well as Barron’s National Busi-

ness and Financial Weekly, the Dow Jones News Serv-

ices and, through its Ottaway Newspapers, Inc. subsid-

iary, newspapers in 29 communities in 13 states.

The Hearst Corporation is a diversified privately held

communications company. It publishes numerous nation-

ally distributed consumer magazines, daily and non-daily

newspapers, business publications and hard-cover and

soft-cover books. It also owns and operates a leading

features syndicate and several television and radio broad-

cast stations.

Knight-Ridder, Ine., is an international information

and communications company engaged in newspaper pub-

lishing, business and news and information services, elec-

tronic retrieval services, news, graphics and photo serv-

ices, cable television, and newsprint production. The

Miami-based company publishes 29 daily newspapers.

Its various information services reach more than 100

million people in 129 countries.

National Broadcasting Company, Inc., itself and its

subsidiaries, own and operate a national television net-

work and television stations, all of which - engaged

in the gathering and dissemination of news tov. vublie.

2a

Reuters Information Services Inc. is the primary North

American operating company of Reuters Holdings PLC,

the international news and financial information organ-

ization. Reuters supplies information to both business

subscribers and to the news media. It obtains its infor-

mation from approximately 160 exchanges and over-the-

counter markets, from data contributed directly by more

than 3,715 subscribers in 82 countries and from a net-

work of some 1,270 journalists and photographers.

The Time Inc. Magazine Company is the largest pub-

lisher of general circulation magazines in the United

States. It publishes Time, Fortune, Sports Illustrated,

People, Money, and Life.

Tribune Company is a communications company own-

ing The Chicago Tribune, The New York Daily News,

the Orlando Sentinel, the Fort Lauderdale News ond

Sun-Sentinel, the Escondido (CA) Times-Advocate, the

Palo Alto Times-Tribune, the Newport News, Virginia

Daily Press, and The Times Herald, and television sta-

tions in Chicago, New York, Los Angeles, Denver, At-

lanta and New Orleans.

United Press International, Ine. generates and com-

piles news and information reports and produces photo-

graphs on a worldwide basis, all of which are trans-

mitted for sale primarily to media industry subscribers

such as newspapers and radio and television broadcasters.

It maintains 200 offices and bureaus in 90 countries,

staffed by 1,500 full-time employees and 4,000 contribut-

ing correspondents.

The Washington Post is a newspaper published in the

Washington, D.C. area with a daily circulation of 773,000

and a Sunday circulation of 1,126,000.

Westinghouse Broadcasting Company, Ince. through its

subsidiaries owns and operates five network affiliated

television stations and 20 radio stations, including four

all-news radio stations. It is also a producer and dis-

tributor of broadcast and cable programming.

8a

The American Society of Newspaper Editors is a na-

tionwide professional organization of more than 950 per-

sons who hold positions as directing editors of daily news-

papers throughout the United States. The purposes of the

Society, which was founded over 50 years ago, include

ongoing efforts to improve the manner in which the jour-

nalism profession carries out its responsibilities in pro-

viding an unfettered and effective press in the service of

the American people.

The Association of American Publishers, Inc. is the

major national association in the United States of pub-

lishers of general books, text books and educational ma-

terials. Its more than 200 members include most of the

major commercial book publishers in the United States

and many smaller or non-profit publishers including uni-

versity presses and scholarly associations.

Magazine Publishers of America, Inc. is a national

trade association including in its present membership 218

domestic magazine publishers who publish 756 magazines

sold at newsstands and by subscription. MPA members

provide broad coverage of domestic and international

news in weekly and biweekly publications, and publish

weekly, biweekly and monthly publications covering liter-

ature, religion, law, political affairs, science, agriculture,

industry and many other interests, avocations and past-

times of the American people.

The National Association of Broadeasters, organized

in 1922, is a nonprofit incorporated trade association

which serves and represents America’s radio and tele-

vision stations and all the major networks. NAB’s mem-

bers cover, produce and broadcast the news to the Amer-

ican people. NAB seeks to preserve and enhance its

members’ ability to freely disseminate information con-

cerning the activities of government and other matters

of public concern.

Radio-Television News Directors Association is a pro-

fessional association of electronic journalists. The As-

4a

sociation has more than 2,500 members who gather, edit

and disseminate news and other public affairs informa-

tion carried by the national broadcast and cable net-

works, local radio and television broadcast stations, and

cable television systems.

The Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press is

a voluntary, unincorporated association of news reporters

and editors dedicated to protecting the First Amendment

interests of the news media. The Reporters Committee

has appeared in virtually every recent Supreme Court

ease involving the First Amendment rights of reporters

to gather and disseminate news and information. It has

provided representation, information, legal guidance, or

research in virtually every major press freedom case

litigated since 1970.

The Society of Professional Journalists is a voluntary,

not-for-profit organization of nearly 20,000 members. The

Society is the largest and oldest organization of journal-

ists in the United States, representing every branch and

rank of print and broadcast journalism.

ee

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.