Amicus Curiae Brief — Pacific Mutual Life Insurance v. Haslip

Supreme Court brief1991

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

IN THE —acnll

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

PACIFIC MUTUAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY,

Petitioner,

v.

CLEOPATRA HASLIP, et al.,

Respondents.

On a Writ of Certiorari to the Supreme Court of Alabama

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE FOR

THE ALLIANCE OF AMERICAN INSURERS,

THE AMERICAN COUNCIL OF LIFE INSURANCE,

THE AMERICAN INSURANCE ASSOCIATION,

THE HEALTH INSURANCE ASSOCIATION

OF AMERICA, AND THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION

OF INDEPENDENT INSURERS

IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITIONER

ERWIN N. GRISWOLD

(Counsel of Record)

PATRICIA A. DUNN

LAURIE W. FINNERAN

DEENA B. JENAB

JONES, DAY, REAVIS & POGUE

1450 G Street, N.W.

, Washington, D.C. 20005

(202) 879-3$39

Counsel for the Amici

[Of Counsel Listed on Inside Cover]

WILSON - Eras PRINTING Co., INc. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001 )

Of Counsel:

KENNETH H. NAILS

JAMES H. BRADNER, JR.

RICHARD E. GOODMAN

MARY N. BELGRADE

Alliance of American Insurers

1501 Woodfield Road

Suite 400 West

Schaumburg, IL’60173-4980

(708) 330-8602

RICHARD E. BARNSBACK

PHILLIP E. STANO

American Council of Life Insurance

1001 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20004-2599

(202) 624-2183

MICHAEL LOVENDUSKY

American Insurance Association

1139 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.

Sui.e 1000

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 828-7173

JOE W. PEEL

THERESA L. SOROTA

Health Insurance Association

of America

1025 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.

Suite 1200

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 223-7822

PATRICK J. MCNALLY

JOHN J. NANGLE

National Association of

Independent Insurers

2600 River Road

4th Floor

Des Plaines, IL 60018

(708) 297-7800

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether punitive damages awards imposed without

meaningful standards and bearing no rational relation-

ship to the purposes of deterrence and punishment are

constitucionally excessive under the Due Process Clause

of the Fourteenth Amendment.

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ...000000000...20..0.0.ceeceeeeeceeeenee iv

INTERESTS OF THE AMICI ....W022.02. oe eeee cece eee 1

I vaciannesitinsinsiibiisneinnnsisesneseestitasicnsnsntendsiuiiilictiediadiais 3

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .....002002oeee cece 5

deceit a aacceisicecititincirbaeitibciaininsiainsiibiisatnetin 8

JURY AWARDS OF PUNITIVE DAMAGES IM-

POSED WITHOUT MEANINGFUL STANDARDS

AND IN AMOUNTS BEARING NO RATIONAL

RELATIONSHIP TO THE PURPOSES OF DE-

TERRING AND PUNISHING A CIVIL DEFEND-

ANT’S CONDUCT ARE CONSTITUTIONALLY

EXCESSIVE UNDER THE DUE PROCESS

A. The Due Process Clause Requires a Substantive

Limitation on the Amounts of Punitive Dam-

ages That Ci’il Juries Can Award ...................... 7 a

B. Punitive Damages Awards Imposed Without

Meaningful Standards and Exceeding Amounts

Rationally Related to the Purposes of Deterrence

and Punishment Are Constitutionally Excessive.. 14

IIT ices ccitnithcinesenstitiglinsianisienisiiinsssiansiernesennnion 26

(iii)

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Aetna Life Insurance Co. v. Lavoie, 475 U.S. 813

EUITIE: -cnpatsestisstointipnsscanscistiectepiddesgtaldoanad teienteaditaaad bia 3

Bankers Life & Casualty Co. v. Crenshaw, 486 U.S.

Saab et ichinintesictsaiecicentsictenicincieimestnaninsidalibtdeietmmidnitatatiis. 3,13

Benson v. Frederick, 97 Eng. Rep. 1130 (1766)... 10

Browning-Ferris Industries v. Kelco Disposal, Inc.,

109 S. Ct. 28:90 (1969) 2.2... oe... passim

CTS Corp. v. Dynamics Corp. of America, 481 U.S.

EEE ER SE Re Rae ee els ROP 24

Chicago, Burlington & Quincy R.R. v. Chicago, 166

ee 11

City of New Orleans v. Dukes, 427 U.S. 297

I aaa BEDE RR het OE OS LOE IT Dal a 14

City of Newport v. Fact Concerts, Inc., 453 U.S.

247 (1981) ....... a a 18, 21, 25

Coryell v. Colbaugh, 1 N.J. (Coxe) 77 (1791)........ 10

Davidson v. City of New Orleans, 96 U.S. 97

ER RT ERDAS es eee UREN ET oe 11

Day v. Woodworth, 54 U.S. (13 How.) 363 (1851).. 5, 10,

11

Douglass v. Hustler Magazine, Inc., 769 F.2d 1128

(7th Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 475 U.S. 1094

a 19

Duke Power Co. v. Carolina Environmental Study

Group, Inc., 488 U.S. 59 (1978) ..........-..00 14

Enmund v. Florida, 458 U.S. 782 (1982)... 22

Gertz v. Welch, 418 U.S. 323 (1974) .....0...0000 ow... 11

Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153 (1976)... 15

Hammond v. City of Gadsden, 493 So. 2d 1874

RIS CMe AR AS Rn a 4

International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers

v. Foust, 442 U.S. 42 (1979). nn. 18

Kennon v. Gilmer, 131 U.S. 22 (1889)... 10

Lassiter v. Department of Social Services, 452 U.S.

PEE EE SI SO a 14

Linn v. United Plant Guard Workers, Local 114,

LS >, 17

Linsley v. Bushnell, 15 Conn. 225 (1842) ................. 10

Meagher v. Driscoll, 99 Mass. 281 (1868)

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Memphis Community School District v. Stachura,

BIT UB. GBD CAGES) ...-..0-ncnccccceccsccseccccceccncesessesesce0e 11

Milwaukee & St. Paul Ry. v. Arms, 91 U.S. 489

II ns aseseh i ecaciesneinhccenistsipndeetennnindiataanmneniaenens 11

Missouri Pacific Ry. v. Humes, 115 U.S. 512

Nahi eciidiais tesisikingedbciedisinetitnerticittabinnsvensbeetoatebe 12, 18

Missouri Pacific Ry. v. Tucker, 230 U.S. 340

STEED ‘ac ditenshictadikainsicanoassidhdeileocaiiaidonasdabucccspenaenl 8, 12, 13, 23

Moore v. City of East Cleveland, 431 U.S. 494

a i isaac is insddescabecoh aden psabiiewinnebsiabecianndiaiaation 14

Schware v. Board of Bar Examiners, 353 U.S. 232

I inci napiitninbiciatliniassarctiiiaisdiciadeuaioniscmadeiiplennesinincionmnéns 14

Slaughter House Cases, 83 U.S. (16 Wall.) 36

iis cide idicia coils ietebiddietadenssieteevedecsceseess ipttices 11

Solem v. Helm, 468 U.S. 277 (1983) ........................ 15, 22

St. Louis, Iron Mountain & Svuthern Ry. v. Wil-

Statutes

liams, 251 U.S. 63 (1919) .............--..........--- 12, 16, 18, 22

Sweet v. Rechel, 159 U.S. 380 (1895) -...... RLY Fenn 11

Tull v. United States, 481 U.S. 412 (1987) ............... 17

Tullidge v. Wade, 95 Eng. Rep. 909 (1769) ............. 10

United States v. Halper, 109 S. Ct. 1892 (1989)...... 22

United States v. United Mine Workers, 330 U.S.

7S ade cadiieioniaeainddbaainnassiacese 18

Waters-Pierce Oil Co. v. Texas, 212 U.S. 86

III esiiasictedinsieesinesécntectalanitassineleitniasitetndnnlintnininscoseanseies passim

Weems v. United States, 217 U.S. 349 (1910) ....15, 22, 24

Wilkes v. Wood, 98 Eng. Rep. 489 (1763) ................ 9

Williamson v. Lee Optical, 348 U.S. 483 (1955) ...... 14

Ala. Code § 6-11-20 (1989).................2..0.ccee cece 24

Ala. Code § 6-11-21 (1989) ..................-..20ce cece 24

Ala. Code § 6-11-23 (1989) ......................... selaoks eo 24

Ala. Code § 27-1-12 (1986) ..................--22....0.---seeeeees 25

Ala. Code § 27-12-17 (1986) ...............-..-----------------+- “ 25

Ala. Code § 27-12-23 (1986)...............------------------eee-+ 25

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 138-21-102 (1987) ...........................- 23

Fla. Stat. Ann. § 768.73(1) (West Supp. 1990) ...... 23

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Nev. Rev. Stat. § 42.005 (Supp. 1989) .............00........ 23

Tex. Code Ann. §§ 41.007 et seg. (Vernon Supp.

I ichicisieliciiKitipatinihichincsisilliciitaleticeeldiiiatenscigilliinainas 23

Miscellaneous

American College of Trial Lawyers, Report on

Punitive Damages of the Committee on Special

Problems in the Administration of Justice

ESS EN eS ee. es 9, 18, 21-23

Dobbs, Ending Punishment in “Punitive” Dam-

ages: Deterrence-Measured Remedies, 40 Ala. L.

8 FE eT ane Sr eee 19, 20

Ellis, Fairness and Efficiency in the Law of Puni-

tive Damages, 56 S. Cal. Rev. 1 (1982) ................ 22

J. Ghiardi & J. Kircher, Punitive Damages Law

and Practice § 4.14 (1981) .....000000 eee 11

1 L. Schlueter & K. Redden, Punitive Damages

Oe ie 10

_ Mallor & Roberts, Punitive Damages: Toward «

Principled Approach, 31 Hastings L. J. 639

EE ree ie a eee a ene a A 20

Massey, The Excessive Fines Clause and Punitive

Damages: Some Lessons From History, 40 Vand.

Ss nner ee nee 23

Morris, Punitive Damages in Tort Cases, 44 Harv.

Bits Te TI CID pc scstcinens eo escecetewsseceevcceceesccece 17

Note, Exemplary Damages in the Law of Torts,

70 Harv. L. Rev. 517 (1957) ........000..0.0-eceeee eee 10

Note, The Imposition of Punishment by Civil

Courts: A Reappraisal of Punitive Damages, 41

N.Y.U. L. Rev. 1158 (1966) ......00000000 ee. 10

Owen, Punitive Damages in Products Liability Liti-

gation, 74 Mich. L. Rev. 1258 (1976) .......... 16, 19, 20, 21

Restatement (Second) of Torts § 908(1) (1979).... 11

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Sales & Cole, Punitive Damages: A Relic That Has

Uutlived Its Origins, 37 Vand. L. Rev. 1117

IITs sisstcacidaiicenlinihadeibinnishebeiiilinie- enniinnsiniinesininaicnnnniai 10, 11, 16

Schwartz, Browning-Ferris: The Supreme Court’s

Emerging Majorities, 40 Ala. L. Rev. 1237

STII os scdeenscncstconvendiiddenssteaniaaniennsentiaiemadinidomeianeren 20

Schwartz, Deterrence and Punishment in the Com-

mon Law of Pi.nitive Damages: A Comment, 56

S. Cal. L. Rev. 183 (1982) ............22..22..0-22---ee0--e 16

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

No. 89-1279

PACIFIC MUTUAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY,

Petitions F.

V.

CLEOPATRA HAsuIP, eft al.,

Respondents.

Ona Writ of Certiorari to the Supreme Court of Alabama

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE FOR

iTHE ALLIANCE OF AMERICAN INSURERS,

THE AMERICAN COUNCIL OF LIFE INSURANCE,

THE AMERICAN INSURANCE ASSOCIATION,

THE HEALTH INSURANCE ASSOCIATION

OF AMERICA, AND THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION

OF INDEPENDENT INSURERS

IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITIONER

This brief deals with the constitutionality of punitive

damages as applied in this case.

INTERESTS OF THE AMICI!

The amie? are trade associations representing the in-

tevests of many of the life, health, and property and

easualty insurers in the United States. Specifically, the

' Counsel for both the Petitioner and the Respondents have con-

sented to the filing of this brief. Their consents are on file with

the Clerk.

2

Alliance of American Insurers represents approximately

180 insurance companies that write property ana casualty

insurance nationwide, with annual premiums represent-

Ing over ten percent of such insurance. The American

Council of Life Insurance, the largest life insurance

trade association in the United States, represents the

interests of 616 member life insurance companies; these

companies currently underwrite 95 percent of the life

insurance in force in legal reserve life insurance com-

panies in the United States. The American Insurance

Association represents 195 property and casualty in-

surers; these companies are affiliated with 65.000 inde-

pendent insurance agents nationwide. The Health In-

surance Association of America represents the interests

of 320 member companies that provide health insurance

to over 90 million Americans. The National Association

of Indepen-lent Insurers, the largest association of prop-

erty and casualty insurers in the country, represents over

560 property and casualty insurers writing over one-third

- the personal lines of insurance sold in the United

tates.

Whether. and to what extent, the Due Process Clause

of the Fourteenth Amendment imposes procedural and

substantive limitations on punitive damages are issues

of vital importance to the amici’s members. In recent

years, courts have permitted juries to assess substantial

punitive damages awards against insurers, in the ab-

sence of due process constraints, and have deferred to

those awards even though they are imposed without mean-

ingful standards and bear no rational relationship to the

purposes of punishment and deterrence. These decisions

drastically and unpredictably enlarge the risks facing

insurers, which must rely on a predictable allocation of-

risks and costs in providing insurance. and jeopardize

their ability to offer affordable insurance. Because of

their genuine interest in the constitutionality of cur-

rent punitive damages law, therefore, the amici have

filed briefs in this Court in prior cases involving this is-

3

sue. See, e.g., Browning-Ferris Indus. v. Kelco Disposal,

Ine., 109 S. Ct. 2969 (1989); Bankers Life & Casualty

Co. v. Crenshaw, 486 U.S. 71 (1988); Aetna Life Ins.

Co. v. Lavoie, 475 U.S. 813 (1986).

This brief makes available to the Court the views of

the amici, based on the experiences of their broad-based

constituencies, on one of the issues in this case: whether

punitive damages awards imposed without meaningful

standards and bearing no rational relationship to the

purposes of deterrence and punishment are constitution-

ally excessive under the Due Proeess Clause of the Four-

teenth Amendment.”

STATEMENT

1. The facts, which Petitioner sets forth fully in its

brief, are straightforward. Pacific Mutual Life Insur-

ance Company (‘Pacific Mutual’) provides life, but not

health, insurance to employees of Alabama municipalities

(Pet. App. B2). In 1981, Lemmie Ruffin, a non-exclusive

insurance broker, approached Roosevelt City and offered

to provide health and life insurance to its employees (id.

at B1-B2). Ruffin represented that he was “with Pa-

cific Mutual” and submitted an insurance proposal on

Pacific Mutual letterhead ‘id. at B2). In August 1981,

when the City accepted Ruffin’s proposal, Ruffin placed

the employees’ life insurance with Pacific Mutual and

their health insurance with “Union Fidelity Life Insur-

ance Company (“Union Fidelity”) ‘id.). Although Ruffin

personally collected the City’s premiums (id.), he did not

forward them to either Pacific Mutual or Union Fidelity

(id. at B3). In late 1981, the insurers cancelled the

policies for nonpayment of premiums (id. at B2-B3).

* Though the amici agree with the Petitioner and its other amie?

that current punitive damages law raises substantial procedural due

process concerns and urge the Court to impose limits on jury discre-

tion to award these damages, this brief addresses only the constitu-

tionality of excessive punitive damages awards under substantive

due process principles.

4

2. Cleopatra Haslip, a City employee, thus had no

health insurance when, in January 1982, she incurred

$2,500 in hospital and medical expenses (Pet. App. B3).

Haslip and three other City employees then sued Pacific

Mutual and Ruffin in Alabama state court for fraud

(id.). In August 1987, the jury returned a verdict for

the plaintiffs (id.). Its verdict gave Haslip, in particular,

$1,040,000 in compensatory and punitive damages (id.)."

3. The trial court denied Pacific Mutual’s motion for a

new trial or for judgment notwithstanding the verdict

(Pet. App. Al). It concluded that the jury properly found

that, under the doctrine of respondeat superior, Pacific

Mutua! was liable for Ruffin’s fraud (id. at A7-A8). The

court further concluded that the jury properly awarded

punitive damages and declined to order a remittitur (id.

at Al2). Noting that the Alabama Supreme Court had

outlined procedures for review of jury verdicts in Ham-

mond v. City of Gadsden, 493 So. 2d 1374 (Ala. 1986),'

it sustained the verdict because (1) “the conduct in this

case evidenced intentional malicious, gross, or oppressive

fraud” ‘id. at Al4}, (2) the award was not excessive,

even though it was “for a great amount of money” and

the court “would in all likelihood have rendered a less| er |

amount” (id. at Al5)}, and (3) the verdict was not

based on “bias, passion, corruption, or other improper

motive” (id.).

3 The jury did not indicate what portion of this damages award

represented punitive damages. Counsel for Respondent, however,

has consistently argued that this case involves an award of punitive

damages that exceeds $1 million. See Pet. Reply Br. at App. ©.

4The Hammond decision requires trial courts to state fer the

record their findings of fact and conclusions of law regarding the

excessiveness of jury awards and permits them to hold a post-trial,

evidentiary hearing on that issue. Jd. at 1379. Hammond further

suggests that, in making this assessment, the court can consider such

factors as the defendant’s culpability, the need for deterrence and

the impact of the award on the parties. /d.

| al

»

4. The Alabama Supreme Court affirmed. It agreed

with the trial court that Pacific Mutual was liable for

Ruffin’s fraud (Pet. App. B8-B9) and sustained the puni-

tive damages award (id. at B12-B13). The court rejected

Pacific Mutual’s arguments that the award was uncon-

stitutional, noting that the trial court had followed the

Hammond “guidelines” for evaluating jury verdicts (id.

at B12-B13). Because “jury verdicts are presumed cor-

rect” (‘id.), the court affirmed the jury’s award.

Two justices dissented from the majority's constitu-

tional analysis. In their view, “the award of punitive

damages in this case violate{d] | Pacific Mutual’s!] due

process rights under the Fourteenth Amendment” | Pet.

App. B16).

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

A. The Due Process Clause imposes substantive limits

on the amounts of punitive damages that civil juries can

award. This conclusion is evident from history. This

Court’s decision in Day v. Woodworth, 54 U.S. (13 How.)

263 (1851), which clarified the early judicial confusion con-

cerning the functions of punitive damages, and the sub-

sequent adoption of the Fourteenth Amendment in 1866,

which permitted federal courts to review state action

under due process principles, laid the groundwork for

substantive review of the amounts of extra-compensatory

damages. Nearly a century ago, therefore, this Court

bezan to review extra-compensatory damages in light of

their deterrent and punitive purposes to determine

whether they were so “grossly excessive as to amount to a

deprivation of property without due |frocess of law.”

Waters-Pierce Oil Co. v. Texas, 212 U.S. 86, 111 (1909).

Although the Court upheld many, but not all, of these

extra-compensatory awards under this constitutional ex-

cessiveness test, it did so largely because juries rendered

these awards within legislatively-prescribed bounds and,

accordingly, deserved deference, Substantive reviow of

the amounts of punitive damages awards, with due re-

6

gard for legislative competence and the dual purposes of

these awards, thus finds historical support in this Court’s

due process decisions.

B. The conclusion that the Due Process Clause limits

excessive punitive damages awards requires a_ second,

more difficult, inquiry inte the appropriate method for

evaluating punitive damages under substantive due proc-

ess principles. This Court’s decisions provide ample guid-

ance here. They demonstrate that determining whether

punitive damages are constitutionally excessive involves

an evaluation of both the competence of the institution

that awards punitive damages and the rationality of these

awards in light of their purposes.

1. The level of serutiny of punitive damages awards

under the Due Process Clause should depend, in part, on

whether the jury rendering the award did so within mean-

ingful legislative bounds. This Court has made clear that

the states’ reasoned legislative choices deserve considerable

judicial deference. This is so because politically account-

able legislatures are well suited to the task of advancing

a state's legitimate punitive and deterrent goals. To the

extent that civil juries award extra-compensatory dam-

ages within such a legislative framework, therefore, those

awards serve to enforce state legislative choices and thus

embody an institutional legitimacy warranting some def-

erence. But jury awards rendered in the absence of such

legislative guidance have no comparable institutional

legitimacy; juries merely examine isolated facts relating

to a specific past incident and thus are unlikely to pro-

vide an award that will serve the states’ broad forward-

looking policy goals. Such unbridled jury awards are

thus not entitled to any particular deference.

2. Jury awards of punitive damages that bear a

rational relationship to the states’ legitimate goals of

deterrence and punishment may meet the due process test

notwithstanding the absence of any legislative guidance.

This Court’s decisions to sustain extra-compensatory dam-

7

ages where they serve, in particular, the deterrent func-

tion of these damages support this conclusion. Whether

such awards are constitutionally excessive thus should

turn, in the first instance, on whether the award rationally

serves its deterrent purpose. To this end, courts may

evaluate the jury’s award for excessiveness using the

amount of a defendant’s gain from his misdeeds and, in

some cases, the plaintiff's reasonable litigation costs as

appropriate objective indicia of a rational deterrence-

based award.

This deterrence-based measure may, in some Cases,

underserve or overserve the second function of these dam-

ages, i.e., punishment. In such cases, courts can adjust

the deterrence-based award to a level that rationally serves

the punitive purposes as well. Courts may examine objec-

tive proportionality factors—whether a punitive damages

award bears a rational relationship to a plaintiff’s actual

harm and whether the award exceeds criminal o7 civi!

penalties for comparable conduct—in order to determine

the appropriate “punitive” adjustment to the deterrence-

based measure. This purpose-oriented analysis ensures

that, consistent with the Court’s substantive due process

principles, extra-compensatory awards will bear a rational

relationship to their purposes, without violating the con-

stitutional rule against excessiveness.

3. This analysis makes abundantly clear that the

punitive damages award in this case, rendered in the ab-

sence of any legislative guidance, rationally serves neither

purpose. It exceeds any objectively-based deterrence meas-

ure of punitive damages. And it greatly exceeds any

amount that might fairly serve to “punish” Pacific Mu-

tual for Ruffin’s misdeeds. It is, therefore, constitutionally

excessive.

8

ARGUMENT

JURY AWARDS OF PUNITIVE DAMAGES IMPOSED

WITHOUT MEANINGFUL STANDARDS AND IN

AMOUNTS BEARING NO RATIONAL RELATION-

SHIP TO THE PURPOSES OF DETERRING AND

PUNISHING A CIVIL DEFENDANT'S CONDUCT ARE

CONSTITUTIONALLY EXCESSIVE UNDER THE DUE

PROCESS CLAUSE

If the states had remained separately independent, their

policies with respect to punitive damages would, of course,

have been a purely local matter. But this is a federal

nation, and the Fourteenth Amendment specifically im-

poses limits on state legislative and judicial actions.

Where those actions exceed the limits of substantive due

process, it is the responsibility of this Court to uphold the

requirements of the Federal Constitution. This interven-

tion is not unprecedented in this Court’s decisions, See,

e.4., Missouri Pacific Ry v. Tucker, 230 U.S. 340 (1913).

Though it is obviously a difficult and delicate area—so

that this Court’s caution is fully understandable—only

this Court can finally establish the limits that the Con-

stitution places on punitive damages law.

This case clearly illustrates the need for the Court’s

oversight. Much more than in the nineteenth century,

business transactions today are conducted on an inter-

state basis. The Petitioner here is a California company

that carries on its insurance business nationwide. It is

true that the injury for which the Respondents seek re-

dress occurred in Alabama. As far as conventional dam-

ages are concerned, there is good reason to apply the law

of Alabama, and no constitutional question is raised.

With respect to punitive damages, though, the burden does

not, as a practical matter, fall on the Petitioner, a mutual

insurance company. Ultimately, the burden falls on all of

the company’s policyholders, residing all over the country.

through its effect on dividends, and on future policy-

holders through its possible impact on premium rates,

9g

Thus, the essential problem here is one of national scope,

thoroughly appropriate for this Court’s oversight. See

American College of Trial Lawyers, Report on Punitive

Damages of the Committee on Special Problems in the

Administrat r Justice (Mareh 3, 1989) at 1-8

“american College Report’) (expressing serious concern

With current punitive damages law and urging prompt

action} .’

This does not mean that the Court must review every

decision that may arise with respect to state punitive

damages law. Once this Court defines the substantive

limitations that the Due Process Clause imposes on puni-

tive damages, the states can be expected to apply those

limits, subject only to eventual review here in presumably

rare cases. This brief thus urges the Court, first, to hold

that the Due Process Clause prohibits excessive punitive

damages awards and, second, to articulate meaningful

standards for determining when those awards exceed that

constitutionai limit.

A. The Due Process Clause Requires a Substantive Limita-

tion on the Amounts of Punitive Damages That Civil

Juries Can Award

1. Application of the Due Process Clause to punitive

damages requires an examination of the basic purposes

of the common law in allowing these damages and the

role of the courts in reviewing these awards. In the early

cases, English and American courts upheld jury awards

of punitive damages without clearly identifying the un-

derlying rationale for the awards. Although some courts

justified punitive damages ‘‘as a punishment to the guilty,

to deter from any such proceeding for the future”

(Wilkes v. Wood, 98 Eng. Rep. 489, 498-99 (1763); see

° For the Court’s convenience, the amici attach copies of the

American College Report to this brief.

10

also Coryell v. Colbaugh, 1 N.J. (Coxe) 77, 77-78

(1791), other courts suggested that punitive damages

also served the remedial purpose of compensating injured

plaintiffs for intangible or dignitary harms that the law

did not then recognize as compensable (see, ¢.g., Tullidge

v. Wade, 95 Eng. Rep. 909 (1769); Benson v. Frederick,

97 Eng. Rep. 1130 (1766); Meagher v. Driscoll, 99 Mass.

281, 285 (1868); Linsley v. Bushnell, 15 Conn. 225, 235

(1842) ).° Because of the ill-defined and varying pur-

poses of these damages, early courts had no clear stand-

ard for reviewing them and, as they were usually in

modest amounts, found little reason to interfere with

them.

Throughout the nineteenth century, the courts broad-

ened the concept of actual damages to include various

sorts of intangible harms. See, e.g., Kennon v. Gilmer,

131 U.S. 22, 26-27 (1889). As these damages began to

| the original compensatory function of punitive dam-

ages, the courts increasingly looked to non-compensatory

justifications for punitive damages. See Note, Exemplary

Damages In The Law Of Torts, 70 Harv. L. Rev. 517, 520

(1957); 1 L. Schlueter & K. Redden, Punitive Damages at

> 141A) (1989). Accordingly, in Day v. Woodworth, 54

U.S. (13 How.) 363, 371 (1851), this Court observed that

“'i|t is a well-established principle of the common law,

that in actions of trespass and all actions on the case for

torts, a Jury may inflict what are called exemplary, puni-

tive, or vindictive damages upon a defendant, having in

view the enormity of his offense rather than the measure

of compensation to the plaintiff.” And, it added, “where

the injury has been wanton and malicious, or gross and

® See generally Sales & Cole, Punitive Damages: A Relic That Has

Outlived Its Origins, 37 Vand. L. Rev. 1117, 1120-23 (1984); Note,

The Imposition of Punishment by Civil Courts: A Reappraisal of

Punitive Damages, 41 N.Y.U. L. Rev. 1158, 1159-61 (1966): Note.

Exemplary Damages in the Law of Torts, 70 Harv. L. Rev. 517, 518-

20 (1957) (commentary on the early courts’ vacillating explanations

of the rationales for punitive damages).

11

outrageous, courts permit juries to add to the measured

compensation of the plaintiff . . . something farther by

way of punishment or example.” Jd.

This Court’s decision in Day, and the subsequent adop-

tion of the Fourteenth Amendment in 1866, marked im-

portant steps in punitive damages doctrine. The Court in

Day clarified the purposes justifying punitive damages

awards as deterrence and punishment, rather than com-

pensation, thus facilitating future judicial review.’ The

Fourteenth Amendment thereafter gave federal courts

the responsibility to evaluate whether state actions actu-

ally served these purposes or, on the contrary, violated

“due process of iaw.” The Fourteenth Amendment thus

brought courts into the process of meaningful, purpose-

based review of the amounts of extra-compensatory

damages.*

In the early part of this century, the Court thus began

to review extra-compensatory damages awards under the

Fourteenth Amendment to determine whether they were

7 See also Milwaukee & St. Paul Ry. v. Arms, 91 U.S. 489, 492-93

(1876). The Court has continued to identify deterrence and punish-

ment as the principal purposes underlying punitive damages, as have

the great majority of jurisdictions. See Gertz v. Welch, 418 U.S.

323, 350 (1974); Memphis Community School Dist. v. Stachura,

477 U.S. 299, 306 n.9 (1986); Browning-Ferris Indus. v. Kelco

Disposal, Inc., 109 S. Ct. 2909, 2920 (1989); see also J. Ghiardi &

J. Kircher, Punitive Damages Law and Practice at 4.14 (1981);

Sales & Cole, Punitive Damages: A Relic That Has Outlived Its

Origins, 37 Vand. L. Rev. at 1126; Restatement (Second) of Torts

§ 908(1) (1979).

8 The Court initially moved slowly in its review of state decisions

under the Fourteenth Amendment, clearly influenced by its concern

that a broader approach would lead to undue federalizing of local

law. See Slaughter House Cases, 83 U.S. (16 Wall.) 36 (1873);

Davidson v. New Orleans, 96 U.S. 97 (1878). The Court’s subse-

quent opinions in Sweet v. Rechel, 159 U.S. 380 (1895), and Chicago,

Burlington & Quincy R.R. v. Chicago, 166 U.S. 226 (1897), marked

the end of its reluctance in this respect and the beginning of mean-

ingful due process review.

12

so “grossly excessive as to amount to a deprivation of

property without due process of law.” Waters-Pierce Oil

Co. v. Texas, 212 U.S. 86, 111 (1909); see also Missouri

Pacific Ry. v. Tucker, 230 U.S. 340, 351 (1913). Under

the “gross excessiveness” test, the Court indenendently

evaluated whether the awards properly served the pur-

poses—and, in particular, the deterrent purpose—of these

extra-compensatory damages. See St. Louis, Iron Moun-

tain & So. Ry. v. Williams, 251 U.S. 68, 67 (1919) (justi-

fying penalty in light of “the numberless opportunities

for committing the offense, and the need for securing uni-

form adherence to established passenger rates’) ; Waters-

Pierce Oil Co. v. Texas, 212 U.S. at 111 (justifying large

award because the defendant’s illegal business “was very

extensive and highly profitable”) ; Missouri Pacific Ry. v.

Humes, 115 U.S. 512, 523 (1885) (noting that legislation

served as “the most efficient mode of preventing . . . the

commission of injuries” and as an important incentive for

victims to seek redress). In this manner, the Court deter-

mined whether these awards were “wholly dispropor-

tioned to the offense and obviously unreasonable.” St.

Louis Iron Mountain & So. Ry. v. Williams, 251 U.S. at

66-67.

Although the Court ultimately upheld many extra-

compensatory awards under this “excessiveness”’ test, it

did so largely because the statutes under which the juries

acted fixed rational bounds and, accordingly, deserved def-

erer.ce. See Missouri Pacific Ry. v. Humes, 115 U.S. at

522 (noting that “the legislature may fix the amount or

prescribe the limit within which the jury may exercise

their discretion’); see also St. Louis, Iron Mountain &

So. Ry. v. Williams, 251 U.S. at 66; Waters-Pierce Oil Co.

». Texas, 212 U.S. at 112. But not all awards survived

this deferential review. In Missouri Pacific Ry. v.

Tucker, 230 U.S. 340, for example, the Court struck

down a jury award rendered pursuant to a state statute

requiring railroad companies to pay $500 in liquidated

damages to any shippers whom they overcharged. In

13

declaring the damages award constitutionally excessive,

the Court observed that the award was “grossly out

of proportion to the possible actual damages” and “arbi-

trary and oppressive.” /d. at 351.

2. That the Due Process Clause imposes substantive

limitations on the amounts of extra-compensatory dam-

ages thus is well-grounded in this Court’s decisions. While

this Court has had no occasion to apply these principles

to the punitive damages awards of civil juries in recent

years, those decisions provide ample basis for holding

that, with due regard for legislative competence and the

dual purposes of these damages, the Due Process Clause

prohibits excessive punitive damages awards. See Waters-

Pierce Oil Co. v. Texas, 212 U.S. 86 (1909); Missouri

Pacific Ry. v. Tucker, 230 U.S. 340 (1913).

Several Justices of the Court have recently expressed

the view that these awards should be evaluated under

substantive due process principles. Justice Brennan, with

whom Justice Marshall concurred, recently indicated

agreement with the Court’s past substantive review of

extra-compensatory damages. See Browning-Ferris Indus.

v. Kelco Disposal, Inc., 109 S. Ct. at 2923 (Brennan,

Marshall, JJ., concurring). Justice O’Connor, with whom

Justice Stevens and Justice Scalia have joined at various

times, has likewise shown a concern for confining puni-

tive damages within substantive limits. Jd. at 2924

(O’Connor, Stevens, JJ., concurring in part and dis-

senting in part) (noting that the Court might ccn-

sider “a due process challenge to awards of punitive

damages or the method by which they are imposed’’) ;

Bankers Life & Casualty Co. v. Crenshaw, 486 U.S. 71,

87 (1988) (O’Connor, Scalia, JJ., concurring in part and

concurring in the judgment) (noting that state laws

that allow juries to award any amount of punitive dam-

ages in certain tort cases “may violate the Due Process

Clause”).

14

To be sure, in recent decades, this Court has been re-

strained when considering state economic policy choices

uncer substantive due process principles. But the Court

has noted that, while the history of substantive due

process review “counsels caution and restraint ... j,|

it does not counsel abandonment.” Moore v. City of East

Cleveland, 431 U.S. 494, 502 (1977). Indeed, notwith-

standing its restraint, the Court has steadfastly main-

tained that state action that is wholly arbitrary and

irrational will not withstand due process scrutiny. See

City of New Orleans v. Dukes, 427 U.S. 297, 303-04

(1976) ‘per curiam); Williamson v. Lee Optical, 348

U.S. 483, 488 (1955); Schware v. Board of Bar Exam-

ners, 353 U.S, 232, 239 (1957); cf. Duke Power Co. v.

Carolina Envtl, Study Group, Inc., 438 U.S. 59, 83 (1978)

‘due process review of congressional legislation). Puni-

tive damages awards that bear no rational relationship

to their purposes likewise cannot withstand that review.

B. Punitive Damages Awards Imposed Without Meaning-

ful Standards and Exceeding Amounts Rationally Re-

lated to the Purposes of Deterrence and Punishment

Are Constitutionally Excessive

The conclusion that the Due Process Clause of the Four-

teenth Amendment encompasses a_ substantive rule

against excessive punitive damages awards in civil cases

does not end the inquiry. Rather, that conclusion neces-

sarily leads to a more difficult examination of the con-

tours of the substantive rule. While the Due Process

Clause is not susceptible to rigid tests (see Lassiter v.

Department of Social Services, 452 U.S. 18, 24 (1981) 5,

this Court’s substantive analysis of state laws under due

process principles—reflecting both a deference to leg-

islative choices and a requirement that the law meet

its purposes—provides appropriate guidance here. Deter-

mining whether punitive damages awards are constitu-

tionally excessive, therefore, requires an evaluation of

(1) the competence of the institution that awards puni-

15

tive damages, and (2) the rationality of these awards in

light of their purposes.

1. One factor in judicial scrutiny of punitive damages

awards is the level of legislative guidance provided to the

jury. While examination of punitive damages awards for

excessiveness under due process principles counsels due

regard for legislative choices, it requires no comparable

deference to jury awards rendered in the absence of

such guidance. Sce Browning-Ferris Indus. v. Kelco

Disposal, Inc., 109 S. Ct. at 2923 (Brennan, Marshall,

JJ., concurring).

The states plainly have legitimate interests in deter-

ring and punishing certain misconduct against their citi-

zens. When the states have acted to further these goals

in their criminal statutes, therefore, this Court has rec-

ognized that the states’ policy choices merit substantial

deference:

‘\i]r a democratic society legislatures, not courts,

are constituted to respond to the will and conse-

quently moral values of the people.’ The deference

we owe to the decisions of the state legislatures under

our federal system is enhanced where the specifica-

tion of punishments is concerned, for ‘these are pe-

culiarly questions of legislative policy.’

Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153, 175-76 (1976) (quota-

tions omitted! ; see also Solem v. Helm, 463 U.S. 277, 290

(1983); Weems v. United States, 217 U.S. 349, 379

(1910).

When the states act to advance these same goals

through their civil statutes, this Court has accorded sim-

ilar deference to the states’ legislative judgments, while

recognizing that there are constitutional limits te legis-

lative power. Thus, in reviewing an assessment of a civil

statutory fine in Waters-Pierce, this Court stated:

The fixing of punishment for crime or penalties for

unlawful acts against its laws is within the police

16

power of the State. We can only interfere with such

legislation and judicial action of the States enforcing

it if the fines imposed are so grossly excessive as to

amount to a deprivation of property without due

process of law.

212 U.S. at 111: see also St. Louis, Iron Mountain &

So. Ry. v. Williams, 251 U.S. at 66. Both the deference

and the limitation are appropriate. See Schwartz, Deter-

rence and Punishment in the Common Law of Punitive

Damages: A Comment, 56 S. Cal. L. Rev. 133, 147

(1982).

Juries, however, do not speak with the same effect as

democratically elected, politically accountable legislatures.

When civil juries award punitive damages within a ra-

tional and appropriately limited legislative framewors,

those awards give effect to state legislative choices as |

the amount of punitive damages that will appropr

serve the purposes of deterrence and punisnmen’. >

Waters-Pierce Oil Co., 212 U.S. at 111. But jury

of punitive damages rendered in the absence of such c-

islative guidance embody no such institutional legvima.

See Browning-Ferris Indus. v. Kelco Disposal, Ince., 10%

S. Ct. at 2923 (Brennan, Marshall, JJ., concurring

The jury, as an institution, is not particularly well-

suited to making bioad policy decisions and is not po-

litically accountable for those decisions. Quite the con-

trary, juries face individualized facts and are particu-

larly ill-equipped to take into account the broad impact

of a punitive award on others and thus to determine

when a penalty furthers the state’s legitimate goals. See,

¢.g., Sales and Cole, Punitive Damages: A Relic That Has

Outlived lis Origins, 37 Vand. L. Rev. at 1159; Owen,

Punitive Damages in Products Liability Litigation, 74

Mich. L. Rev. 1258, 1320-21 (1976)."

® As Professor Clarence Morris so aptly explained almost sixty

years ago:

In determining whether or not the defendant has been a ‘reason-

ably prudent man’ or an ‘intentional wrongdoer,’ the jury’s task

17

Thus, while courts generally defer to the deliberative

function of juries and to the verdicts that they reach,

jury awards in civi! cases are not inviolate. Indeed, this

(‘ourt has noted, in another context, that “{i!f the amount

of damages awarded is excessive, it is the duty of the

‘rial judge to require a remittitur or a new trial.” Liyn

United Plant Guard Wkrs., Local 114, 383 U.S. 53,

po-H6 (1966) ‘emphasis added); see also Browning-

Ferris Indus. v. Kelco Disposal, Inc., 109 S. Ct. at 2921.

.xercising that duty does not unduly interfere with a

state’s legitimate interest in deterrence and punishment.

Rather, this judicial review merely recognizes the jury's

lack of institutional competence in advancing these in-

terests, through arbitrary punitive damages awards. and

respects the role that courts must play in ensuring due

process, '”

2. Even in the absence of legislative guidance, puni-

tive damages awards that bear a rational relationship to

is to reflect the social values of the community; the jury evalu-

ates the defendunt’s past behavior, it determines whether or not

his past conduct should be condemned. But in fixing the amount

of punitive damages the considerations all look to the future

conduct of the defendant and others; the question is: how large

a judgment is needed to discourage this sort of conduct in the

future? Evaluation of past conduct is a different type of prob-

lem from control of future behavior. It is evident that problems

of social control may require more technical skill than jurymen

have or can acquire. Probably, many on jury panels cannot

think of punishment as a means to an end, as an expedient for

reformation and deterrence, and only regard punishment as

legal, justifiable revenge.

Morris, Punitive Damages in Tort Cases, 44 Harv. L. Rev. 1173,

1179 (1931).

1 Judicial scrutiny of jury awards likewise does not interfere with

the jury’s function under the Seventh Amendment. Cf. Tull vr.

United States, 481 U.S. 412, 425, 427 (1987) (Seventh Amendment

does not require a jury to determine the amount of the “remedy” in

a civil case, and “a determination of a civil penalty is not an essen-

tial function of a jury trial”).

18

the purposes of deterrence and punishment may not be so

excessive and arbitrary as to deprive a defendant of due

process of law. See St. Louis, Iron & Mountain & So. Ry.

v. Williams, 251 U.S. at 67. By requiring courts to re-

view whether certain amounts of punitive damages are

rationally related to their purposes—and, in particular,

the purpose of deterrence—this Court can provide a work-

able and appropriate test of excessiveness that will pro-

tect against arbitrary and irrational punitive damages

awards. Cf. United States v. United Mine Workers, 330

U.S. 258, 303-05 (1947) (evaluating excessiveness of con-

tempt fines in light of their purposes)."'

a. Examining the substantive contours of punitive

damages law in light of its deterrent purpose is not a

new concept. Nearly a century ago, this Court empha-

sized the deterrent function of extra-compensatory dam-

ages in reviewing them for “excessiveness” under the

Due Process Clause. See St. Louis, tron Mountain & So.

Ry. v. Williams, 251 U.S. at 67; Waters-Pierce Oil Co.

v. Texas, 212 U.S. at 111; Missouri Pacific Ry. v. Humes,

115 U.S. at 523. More recently, this Court has given

weight to this deterrent purpose in determining the

availability of punitive damages in certain types of

cases. The Court has found the risk of overdeterrence too

great to justify awards of punitive damages against

unions in “duty of fair representation” cases. See Inter-

national Brotherhood of Electrical Workers v. Foust, 442

U.S. 42, 51-52 (1979). And, recognizing deterrence as a

major objective of both punitive damages law and section

1983, the Court hes found that allowing these damages

against municipalities, as opposed to individual o‘ficials,

would not advance that purpose. See City of Newport v.

Fact Concerts, Inc., 453 U.S. 247, 267-70 (1981). This

11 Appropriate procedural safeguards, including precise and mean-

ingful jury instructions, would undoubtedly go far toward the pre-

vention of excessive punitive damages awards. See American Col-

lege Report at 14. Those procedural issues, however, are beyond the

scope of this brief.

19

Court’s emphasis on the deterrent function of punitive

damages thus provides an appropriate guide, in the first

instance, for defining the scope of the constitutional rule

against excessiveness: under a deterrence-based approach,

an extra-compensatory award that exceeds an amount

necessary to deter a defendant (and other potential de-

fendants) from engaging in similar misconduct in the

future is, in all likelihood, constitutionally excessive.

Assessing whether an award of punitive damages ex-

ceeds an amount necessary to deter a defendant should,

in many cases, turn on relatively objective factors. Sec

Douglass v. Hustler Magazine, Inc., 769 F.2d 1128, 1145

(7th Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 475 U.S. 1094 (1986)

(focusing on deterrent function). The amount of a de-

fendant’s gain or profit from his misdeeds is an appro-

priate element in measuring deterrence. See Dobbs, End-

ing Punishment In “Punitive” Damages: Deterrence-

Measured Remedies, 40 Ala. L. Rey. 831 (1989); see also

Owen, Punitive Damages in Products Liability Litiqa-

tion, 74 Mich. L. Rev. at 1286. The defendant’s profits

from his misconduct—or, in some cases, his expected

profits—are objectively-based and often ascertainable

withowt substantial difficulty. For example, an insurer

that knowingly induces an individual to purchase a

grossly inadequate policy for an unreasonable sum un-

doubtedly “profits” from the use of excess premiums

that it improperly gained or, at least, stood to profit

from those premiums over time. Removing the actual or

expected gain in such a case, in addition to requiring

the insurer to compensate the plaintiff for his actual!

losses, makes it less likely that the defendant will repeat

the conduct. A gain-based measure of this sort sends a

clear signal to defendants that such misdeeds do not pay

and, thus, will often fully serve the deterrent funetion.'-

12 Significantly, this measure has nothing to do with the defend-

ant’s wealth—a factor that has served to inflate punitive damages

awards against corporate “deep-pocket” defendants under the cur-

20

Of course, a “gain-based”” measure of extra-compensa-

tory damages may not always adequately serve this de-

terrent function. A defendant may, for example, escape

effective deterrence when its conduct is rarely challenged

in private litigation—i.e., when the cost of private en-

forcement exceeds the plaintiff’s damages. See Mallor &

Roberts, Punitive Damages: Toward a Principled Ap-

proach, 31 Hastings L. J. 639, 650 (1980); cf. Owen,

Punitive Damages in Products Liability Litigation, 74

Mich. L. Rev. at 1285 (noting that the deterrent effect of

punitive damages depends, in part. on “the manufac-

turer’s perception of the likelihood of his being identified

and punished”). In such a case, an appropriate measure

of deterrence may include the plaintiff's reasonable liti-

gation costs, to the extent not otherwise provided by

statute. See Dobbs, Ending Punishment in “Punitive”

Damages: Deterrence-Measured Remedies, 40 Ala. L. Rev.

at 890-94. Shifting the plaintiff’s reasonable litigation

costs to the defendant in these types of cases could

achieve appropriate deterrence by encouraging otherwise

uneconomical litigation and, at the same time, removing

the defendant's incentive to continue his misconduct. This

measure, as with the gain-based measure, is relatively

objective and, given the courts’ experience with assessing

attorneys’ fees, hardly unfamiliar.

Evaluating the amounts of extra-compensatory dam-

ages based on these relatively objective measures thus

achieves the deterrent function of these damages without

a substantial risk of overdeterrence from grossly excessive

rent punitive damages system. Because a gain-based measure takes

only profits from misconduct into account, how much money the

defendant makes through lawful business efforts is entirely irrele-

vant. See Dobbs, supra, at 870-74; Schwartz, Browning-Fervis: The

Supreme Court's Emerging Majorities, 40 Ala. L. Rev. 1237, 1255

(1989). Requiring a reviewing court (or, perhaps, the jury in the

first instance) to focus on ill-gained profits—rather than a defend-

ant’s wealth—brings a measure of certainty and rationality to this

area.

21

awards. This evaluation does not require a court to

defer to the jury’s subjective assessment of the amount

necessary to deter future misconduct—a practice that has,

in the past, led to gravely excessive punitive damages

awards that bear no rational relationship to their pur-

poses. See American College Report at 3 (“awards often

bear no relation to deterrence and merely reflect a jury’s

.. . desire to punish’). Rather, it permits a court to re-

view a jury’s extra-compensatory award based on objec-

tive factors that serve to approximate what will ade-

quately deter defendants from future misconduct within

constitutional limits.

b. Deterrence, however, is not the sole function of

punitive damages. This Court has made clear that they

function as “punishment” as well. See Browning-Ferris

Indus. v. Kelco Disposal, Inc., 109 8. Ct. at 2920; City

of Newport v. Fact Concerts, Inc., 453 U.S. at 266-67.

While extra-compensatory damages based on a deter-

rence-based measure will often serve simultaneously to

deter and punish, there may be cases in which such a

measure underserves the punitive function—as, for ex-

ample, where a defendant experiences or expects no gain

from his misconduct. In such cases, adjusting an extra-

compensatory award to serve its punitive purpose may

be necessary. Cf. Owen, Punitive Damages in Products

Liability Litigation, 74 Mich. L. Rev. at 1317 (“‘|t|he

punishment function is the final factor to be considered

in developing a standard for the measurement of puni-

tive damages’) ."*

13 There may also be cases where the deterrence-based measure

overserves the punitive function, as, for example, where a defendant

deserves no substantial punishment at all. Presumably, however, the

substantive standards for assessing punitive damages will, in many

cases, be high enough to ensure that a defendant not deserving

punishment will not be held liable for such damages. To the extent

that a jury nonetheless finds a defendant so liable and a deterrence-

based measure supports an extra-compensatory award—as, for ex-

ample, where the defendant (unknowingly) gains from an employee's

22

Whether a defendant “deserves” punishment beyond an

amount necessary to deter his future, misconduct turns on

the gravity of his misdeeds. Sce Ellis, Fairness and E ffi-

ciency in the Law of Punitive Damages, 56 S. Cal. L. Rev.

1, 6 (1982). In the criminal context, this Court has re-

sorted to several objective factors for determining whether

punishment is disproportionate to the defendant’s conduct

and thus unconstitutional under the Eighth Amendment.

Sce Solem v. Helm, 463 U.S. 277, 290-91 (1983) ‘con-

sidering, among other things, the gravity of the offense

and punishments for comparable conduct); see also En-

mund v. Florida, 458 U.S. 782 (1982); Weems v. United

States, 217 U.S. 349 (1910); ef. United States v. Halper,

109 S. Ct. 1892, 1901 (1989) ‘applying proportionality

concept). This principle of proportionality—and the no-

tion that objective factors can guide it—have force under

the Due Process Clause as well. See St. Louis, Iron Moun-

tain & So. Ry. v. Williams, 251 U.S. at 66-67 (state legis-

lative penalties can violate due process ‘where the penalty

prescribed is so severe and oppressive as to be wholly

disproportioned to the offense and obviously unreason-

able’). Whether an extra-compensatory award properly

serves its “punitive” function, therefore, depends on

whether it bears a rational relationship to the defendant’s

conduct, measured with reference to such objective factors

as the actual harm that the defendant’s conduct has

caused and any legislative penalties for similar miscon-

duct.

That a punitive award must bear some rational rela-

tionship to the plaintiff’s actual harm finds support in this

Court’s precedents under the Due Process Clause. See

misconduct that is attributable to the employer under a theory of

respondeat superior—this flexible purpose-based analysis permits a

reviewing court to reduce any deterrence-based measure, if not

eliminate a punitive damages award entirely, to reflect the absence

of a need to “punish” the defendant. See American College Report

at 16 (given the purposes of punitive damages, “there is no rational

purpose in punishing or attempting to deter” if the person or entity

did not engage in wrongful conduct).

ell

23

Missouri Pacifie Ry. v. Tucker, 230 U.S. at 351 ‘noting

that liquidated damages award was “zrossly out of pro-

portion to the possible actual damages’). Though the

Due Process Clause may not require punitive damages

awards to represent exact multiples of actual or compen-

satory demages, punitive damages that are many times

these damages raise, at a minimum, a serious concern

that they overserve the punitive function. See American

College Report at 14-15 ‘advocating limit on punitive

damages award not to exceed the greater of an amount

twice the compensatory award or $250,000); cf. Massey,

The Excessive Fines Clause and Punitive Damaqes: Some

Lessons From History, 40 Vand. L. Rev. 1233, 1273

(1°87) (“laln award of two to three times actual dam-

ages micht be thought presumptively within the constitu-

tional limits’). Several states have, therefore, enacted

statutes that limit punitive damages awards to amounts

that are some low multiple of the plaintiif’s actual dam-

ages, reflecting a reasoned judgment that any greater

emount would not further the states’ legitimate interests.

See, e.g., Colo. Rev. Stat. § 18-21-102 (1987); Fla. Stat.

Ann. § 768.7311) (West Supp. 1990); Nev. Rev. Stat.

$ 42.005 (Supp. 1989); Tex. Code Ann. $§ 41.007 et seq.

(Vernon Supp. 1990). While there is no clear consensus

on this point, it is reasonable to conclude that, as a gen-

eral benchmark, an award within a relatively low mul-

tiple of actual damages would appear to give adequa:e

recognition to the “punitive” function.

This “ratio” approach is only one objective benchmark

for determining what amount of extra-compensatory dam-

ages will serve the punitive purpose. What is an appro-

priate punishment for a defendant’s misconduct may, in

some cases, be apparent from legislative penalties for

similar conduct. Many states have enacted statutes pre-

scribing penalties, either civil or criminal, for certain

intentional or negligent conduct that is similar to conduct

that exposes a defendant to punitive damages. That legis-

lative assessment concerning what “punishment” is appro-

24

priate, therefore, serves an important role in ascertaining

whether an extrn-compensatory award for comparable

conduct not subject to the legislative penalty is rationally

related to that purpose. See Browning-Ferris lndus. v.

Kelco Disposal, Inc., 109 8. Ct. at 2934 (O’Connor, Stevens,

JJ., coneurring in part end dissenting in part); cf.

Weems v. Uni'ed States, 217 U.S. at 380-81.

The amici recognize ‘hat “the Constitution does not

recuire the States to subseribe to any particular economic

(heory.” CTS Corp. v. Dynamics Corp. of America, 481

U.S. 69, 92 (1987). These objective factors are thus only

euides. But, when applied as a check against a deterrence-

based measure of punitive damages, these factors should

ensure that punitive damavcs) when warranted at. all,

adequately serve both their deterrent an!) punitive pur-

poses, without violating the constitutional rule against

excessiveness.

3. The punitive damages eward in this ease cannot

stend under these principles. This erso does not require

the Court to review any legis!stive policy choice in Ala-

bama concerning the appropriate mencnre of extra-

compensatory damages.'"' The award in this case reflects

only the decision of an Alabama jury io assess, in the

absence of any legislative guidance ‘and with very lim-

ited judicial guidance), a substantial punitive damages

award against Pacific Mutual. Thus, contrary to the

Alabama Supreme Court’s conclusion that it had to

“presume” that the jury’s verdict was correct (Pet. App.

at B13), the jury’s award plainly did not deserve such

substantial deference. See Browning-Ferris Indus. v.

Kelco Disposal, Inc., 109 S. Ct. at 2923 (Brennan, Mar-

shall, JJ., concurring).

A purpose-based analysis of the jury’s award of over

$1 million in punitive damages makes it equally plain that

14 Although the Alabama legislature has recently enacted a statute

that places a $250,000 “cap” on punitive damages awards in certain

types of cases (see Ala. Code §§ 6-11-20, 11-21, 11-25 (1989) ), it did

so on June 11, 1987, after the cause of action arose in this case.

Or

2]

‘he award was constitutionally excessive. As an initial

‘ter, the award greatly exceeds any deterrence-based

measure of punitive damages. Pacific Mutual, after all,

satmed nothing from Ruffin’s misconduct.'’” Even assum-

ng a risk of private underenforcement, moreover, it is

‘oubttul that the plaintiffs’ reasonable litigation costs

were more than a small fraction of the jury’s extra-

compensatory award; this is not a complex cave involving

lengthy discovery or a lengthy trial.

In all events, a deterrence-based measure of extra-

compensatory damages, based on the plaintiffs’ reasonable

litigation costs, would undoubtedly overserve the “puni-

tive’ function in this case. Pacific Mutua! “deserved”

no punishment for the fraudulent conduct of its non-

exclusive agent; Pacific Mutual did not write the health

insurance policy underlying this action, and it did not

authorize or condone Ruffin’s fraudulent acts in causing

that policy to lapse. Reference to objective benchmarks

for analyzing appropriate “punishment” under these cir-

cumstances only confirms that the substantial award of

punitive damages against Pacific Mutual is excessive.

The jury's $1 million assessment bears no rational rela-

tionship to Haslip’s actual damages; indeed, the award

is ever 400 times the $2,500 in medical expenses that

Haslip incurred. The award, moreover, is substantially

in excess of the $1,000 fine that the Alabama legislature

has established for insuranve fraud ‘Ala. Code ££ 27-1-12,

27-12-17, 27-12-23 (1986) 1."

‘S Assessing punitive damages against effin under such a

deterrence-based measure, by contrast, would be entirely rational.

Requiring Ruffin to disyorge his ill-yained monies would undoubtedly

serve to deter any future misconduct on his part. Cf. City of New-

port v. Faet Concerts, Inc., 453 U.S. at 270 (noting that punitive

damages avainst individual officials of municipalities, as opposed to

municipalities themselves, would effectively deter future misconduct >.

'© The jury did not indicate what portion of its award represented

compensatory, as opposed to punitive, damages. This underscores

the need for the lower courts in the event of a remand-—-and trial

26

The punitive damages award in this case rationally

serves neither deterrence nor punishment. It exceeds any

objectively-based deterrence measure of punitive damages.

And it greatly exceeds any amount that might fairly

serve to “punish” Pacific Mutual for Ruffin’s misdeeds.

It should be held constitutionally excessive.

CONCLUSION

The judgment below should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

ERWIN N. GRISWOLD

(Counsel of Record)

PATRICIA A. DUNN

LAURIE W. FINNERAN

DEENA B. JENAB

JONES, DAY, REAVIS & POGUE

1450 G Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20005

(202) 879-3929

Counsel jor the Amici

-ourts in general—to ensure that the record reflects the precise

allocation of damages so that reviewing courts can properly apply

the constitutional rule against excessive punitive damages awards.

Of Counsel:

KENNETH H. NAILS

JAMES H. BRADNER, JR.

RICHARD E. GOODMAN

MARY N. BELGRADE

Alliance of American Insurers

1501 Woodfield Road

Suite 400 West

Schaumburg, IL 60173-4980

‘708) 330-8602

RICHARD E. BARNSBACK

PHILLIP E. STANO

American Council of Life Insurance

1001 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20004-2599

(202) 624-2183

MICHAEL LOVENDUSKY

American Insurance Association

1130 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.

Suite 1000

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 828-7173

JOE W. PEEL

THERESA L. SOROTA

Health Insurance Association

of America

1025 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.

Suite 1200

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 223-7822

PATRICK J. MCNALLY

JOHN J. NANGLE

National Association of

independent Insurers

2600 River Road

4th Floor

Des Plaines, IL 60018

(708) 297-7800

June 1990

American Callege

ut

Crial Launers

REPORT ON PUNITIVE DAMAGES

OF THE

COMMITTEE ON SPECIAL PROBLEMS

IN THE ADMINISTRATION OF JUSTICE

Approved by the Board of Regents

March 3, 1989

American College of Crial Lamyers

American College of Crial Lamyer

CHANCELLOR-FOUNDER

HON. EMIL GUMPERT

(1895-1982)

OFFICERS

PHILIP W. TONE, President

RALPH |. LANCASTER, JR. President-Elect

WILLIAM T. EGAN, Secretary

CHARLES E. HANGER, Treasurer

MORRIS HARRELL, /mmediate Past President

BOARD OF REGENTS

SAMUEL ADAMS MORRIS HARRELL

Bostor.. Massachusetts Dallas. Texas

JOHN A BECK FRANK C JONES

Washington. D ( Atlanta. Georgia

F LEE CAM Fil RALPH! LANCASTER, JR

Seattle. Washingtor Portiand, Maine

GEORGE J COTSIRILOS HENRY G MILLER

Chicag liiinors White Plains. New York

WILLIAM T EGAN PAUL D RENNER

Minneapolis. Minnesota Denver. Colorad

ROBERT B FISKE JR PATRICK T RYAN

New York New York Philadeiphia. Pennsylvania

4URBERT Y REE He > STACHLER

an Ar , ?

f N AAIGH 4 a fA RR

MA i

4 t NE

cr ,

COMMITTEE ON SPECIAL PROBLEMS

IN THE ADMINISTRATION OF JUSTICE

CHAIRMAN

CHARLES B. RENFREW

San Francisco, California

American College of Crial Lawyers

PAST PRESIDENTS

1950-51 EMIL GUMPERT* 1969-70 HON. LEWIS F. POWELL, JR

Los Angeles, California Washington, D.C

MEMBERS

1951-52

1952-53

1953-54

1954-55

1955-56

1956-57

1957-58

1958-59

1959-60

1960-61

1961-62

1962-63

1963-64

1964-65

1965-66

1966-67

1967-68

1968-69

* Decea:

C. RAY ROBINSON’

Merced, California

CODY FOWLER’

Tampa. Florida

E.D. BRONSON’

San Francisco, California

COD’ -OWLER’

Tampa, Florida

WAYNE E. STICHTER’

Toledo, Ohio

JESSE E. NICHOLS’

Oakland, California

LEWIS C. RYAN*

Syracuse. New York

ALBERT E JENNER. JR*

Chicago tilinois

SAMUEL P SEARS’

Boston. Massachusetts

LON HOCKER

Woods Hole. Massachusetts

LEON JAWORSK'!"

Houston. Texas

GRANT B COOPER

Studio City G alif ria

WHITNEY NORTH SEYMOUR’

New York. New York

BERNARD G SEGA\

Philadeipnia Pennsylvania

EDWARD L WRIGHT’

Little Rock Arkansas

FRANK G RAICHLE’*

Buftalo. New York

JOSEPH A BALL

Long Beach California

ROBERT W MESERVE

Boston Massachusetts

ed

1970-

1971

1972-

1973-

71

BARNABAS F. SEARS*

Chicago, Illinois

HICKS EPTON*

Wewoka, Oklahoma

WILLIAM H. MORRISON’

Portland, Oregon

ROBERT L. CLARE, JR

New York. New York

AUSTIN W. LEWIS’

New Orleans, Louisiana

THOMAS E DEACY. JR

Kansas City, Missour!

SIMON H. RIFKIND

New York. New York

KRAFT W. CIOMAN*

Houston, Texas

MARCUS MATTSON

Los Angeles. California

JAMES E.S. BAKER

Chicago. Illinois

JOHN C ELAM

Columbus, Ohio

ALSTON JENNINGS

Little Rock, Arkansas

LEON SILVERMAN

New York, New York

GAEL MAHONY

Boston, Massachusetts

GENE W LAFITTE

New Orleans, Louisiana

GRIFFINB BELL

Atlanta. Ge~rsia

R HARVEY CHAPPELL

Richmond, Virginia

MORRIS HARRELL

Dallas. Texas

JR

GRIFFIN B. BELL

Atlanta, Georgia

DAVID BERGER

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

JUDAH BEST

Washington, D.C.

RICHARD R. BOSTWICK

Casper, Wyoming

JOHN J. BOUMA

Phoenix, Arizona

BENJAMIN R. CIVILETTI

Washington, D.C.

THOMAS E. DEACY, JR.

Kansas City, Missouri

WAYNE FISHER

Houston, Texas

ERWIN N. GRISWOLD

Washington, D.C.

JOHN M. HARRINGTON, JR

Boston, Massachusetts

SETH M. HUFSTEDLER

Los Angeles, California

GENE W. LAFITTE

New Orleans, Louisiana

ROBERT M. LANDIS

Philadelphia, Pennsylvarva

ARTHUR L. LIMAN

New York, New York

ROBERT W. MESERVE

Boston, Massachusetts

M. ROLAND NACHMAN, JR.

Montgomery, Alabarna

SIMON H. RIFKIND

New Yoik, New York

ASA ROUNTREE

New York, New York

BERNARD G. SEGAL

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

JOHN C. SHEPHERD

St. Louis, Missouri

LEON SILVERMAN

New York, New York

THOMAS C. UNIS

Dallas, Texas

HENRY G. MILLER

White Plains, New York

Regent Liaison

PROFESSOR ROGER C. HENDERSON. Reporter

University of Arizona

College of Law

Tucsor, Arizona

FOREWORD

The Board of Regents of the American College of Trial Lawyers, at ‘ts

meeting in Boca Raton, Florida, February 27 to March 3, 1989, approved

the following Report of the Committee on Special Problems in the

Administration of Justice, dated March 3, 1989, and directed that copies

be distributed to Fellows of the College and to other interested

parties.

Philip W. Tone

President

TABLE OF CONTENTS

l. 6 |) Aen nr ere away’ eae nee eee

HN. THE NEED FORTHE COLLEGE REVIEW......... Meluenivaags S45

il. . CONCLUSIONS AND RECOMMENDATIONS ..... Gakdecwanae wrens

A.

B.

Civil Awards of Punitive Damages Should Be Retained,

but Only in Carefully Limited Situations ......... ae

Punitive Awards Shouid Not Be a Surrogate

for Compensatory Damages ............-..-.

The Standard for Culpability Should Require a Conscious

and Egregious Invasion of the Rights of Others _.

The Quantum of Punitive Damages Should Be Limited

by a Flexible Formula Based on the Amount of

Compensatory Damages ..............

The Burden of Proof for Punitive Awards Should Be That

of Clear and Convincing Evidence .....

Vicarious Responsibility for Punitive Damages Should

Only Obtain Where There Is Complicity by the Principal

in the Conduct Which Gives Rise to the Punitive Award

Pleadings Regarding Punitive Damage Claims Should Not

Be Permitted To Contain a Monetary Amouni

Discovery of Evidence Regarding a Defendant's Wealth

or Financia! Condition for the Purpose of Proving the

Amount of a Punitive Award Should Not Be Permitted

Without a Prima Facie Showing That There Is a | egal!

Basis for Such an Award

Bifurcated Trials Should Be Employed To Avoid Prejudice to

Defendants Where Evidence of Wealth or Financial Condition

is Admissible Only on Claims for Punitive Damages

Distribution of Punitive Awards Should Not Be Ovivertec tc

Persons or Entities Other Than the Plaintiff

IV THE PROBLEM OF DUPLICATIVE PUNITIVE AWARDS FOR

THE SAME ACT OR COURSE OF CONDU JCT

a State Solutions

B. Federal Solutions

1. The ABA. Nationa! Class Action Proposa

2. Multidistrict Litigation

s interpleader

4. Comparing the Federal Solutions

C The Preferred Approach

V CONCLUSION

APPENDIX: MODEL JURY INSTRUCTIONS ON PUNITIVE DAMAGES

10

13

15

16

16

17

18

AMERICAN COLLEGE OF TR!4L LAWYERS

REPORT OF

COMMITTEE ON SPECIAL PROBLEMS

IN THE ADMINISTRATION OF JUSTICE

| BACKGROUND

On August 8, 1986 the Board of Regents of the American College of Trial Lawyers

approved the Report of the Task Force on Litigation Issues, dated July 22 of the same

year. The Task Force Report addressed a number of issues regarding the tort litigation

system in America and unanimously concluded that one of the greatest problems with

the current tort system is the way punitive damages are handled.'Although a few

members of the Task Force were prepared to abolish punitive damages, other mem-

bers, who favored continuation of punitive damages awards, indicated that they might

move toward abolition if meaningful reform were not forthcoming.”

Subsequent to the American College Task Force Report, the results of two other

studies undertaken through the American Bar Associaton were published. In Feb-

ruary of 1987 the American Bar Association House of Delegates approved a report by

the Action Commission to Improve the Tort Liability System, chaired by Robert B.

McKay, Professor and former Dean of the New York University School of Law. Among

other things, the ABA Action Commission recognized that the current situation with

regard to awards of punitive damages in the civil justice system presented some

serious concerns’ and made a number of general recommendations for reform.‘ In

the meantime, the American Bar Association Section of Litigation nad undertaken a

study of the problems through a Special Committee on Punitive Damages. Recogniz-

ing the relative dearth of statistical data on the subject, the Special Committee com-

missioned an empirical study by the Institute for Civil Justice, a section of the Rand

1 American College of Trial Lawyers, Report of the Task Force on Litigation Issues 4 ( 1986) (hereinaf-

ter referred to as ACTL Task Force Report)

2 ld

3. ABA. Report of the American Bar Association Action Commission to !mprove the Tort Liability

System 15-18 (1987)

4 /d at 18-20 The Report supported the continued award of punitive damages in appropriate cases.

but recommended that the scope be narrowed in five ways

The standard of proof for the award of punitive damages should be tightened to limit such

awards to Cases warranting special sanctions and should not be commonplace

i Vanous suggestions tothe courts are advanced as a means Of judicial limitation of inappropriate

or excessive awards

1 Appropriate safeguards should be putin force to prevent any defendant from being subjected to

punitive damages that are excessive in the aggregate for the same wrongful act

iv Legislatures and courts should be sensitive to adopting appropriate safeguards to protect the

master or principal from vicarious liability for unauthorized acts of non-managerial servants

or agents

v In carefully selected cases. courts should be authorized to award some portion of a punitive

Gamages award to public purposes. aiways being mindful that the plaintiff and counsel are

reasonably compensated for bringing the action and prosecuting the punitive Gamages claim

McKay. Rethinking The Tort Liability System A Report From The ABA Action Commission. 32

Villanova lL Rev 1219 1230-31 (1987)

Corporation in Santa Monica, California.” The Rand report, published in 1987,° served

as a basis for the ABA Section of Litigation study. Although the latter also concluded

that there were anumber of problems with civil awards of punitive damages,’ the Sec-

tion of Litigation did not conclude that the problems, with one exception,’ were suf-

ficiently acute as to require legislative solutions. However, a careful analysis of the

Rand study shows support for the opposite conclusion.®

Because of strong interest in the subject of punitive damages, the Board of Regents

of the American College of Trial Lawyers gave approval for the Committee on Special

5. Rand ts a private, nonprofit institution. incorporated in 1948, which engages in nonpartisan

research and analysis on problems of national security and public welfare The Institute for Civil

Justice, established within the Rand Corporation in 1979. performs independent. objective policy

analysis and research on the American civil justice system The Institute's principal purpose is to

help make tle civil justice system more efficient and more equitable by supplying policymakers

with the results of empirically based. analytic research

6. M.Peterson,S Sarma&M Shanley. Punitive Damages Empirical Findings. Rand. The Institute for

Civil Justice (1987)

7. Punitive Damages. A Constructive Examination. 1986 ABA Sec Litigation. Special Comm. on

Punitive Damages 87-89 (hereinafter cited as ABA Sec Litigation Report)

8. TheLitigation Section Special Committee found that a genuine problem exists regarding the poten-

tial for multiple punitive damages awards to be made against a deendant for essentially the same

conduct. The Committee concluded tnat federal legisiation would be required to solve the problem.

id. at72, and recommended that Congress enact a law creating a national class action which would

allow the consolidation of ai! similar Claims in one federal district court /d at 78-81

9. The Rand study demonstrates that some major changes have occurred in punitive damage awards

in specific areas of litigation in the 25 year period from 1960 through 1984 in the jurisdictions studied

— San Francisco, California and Cook County. Illinois The most dramatic increases occurred inthe

area of business and contract cases which have come to be subject to the tort of “bad faith’

However, products liability and medical maipractice also showed increases in the number and rate

of punitive awards. As a general proposition. the frequency of awards has increased relative to the

number of cases filed and to the number of cases in which compensatory awards are made. as well

as in absolute terms. When this is coupled with the rather dramatic increases in the median and

average amounts awarded in all types of cases. one could easily conclude that punitive awards are

playing a larger role in the civil justice system than in the past However. if one merely focuses on the

Statistics in the aggregate for all types of torts one could conclude there has not been any

significant change

Itis submmitted that to view the figures in the aggregate is erroneous because certain types of tor

tious conduct inherently do not give rise to punitive awards To include figures for this conduct. such

as automobile negligence cases. with the more egregious forms of conduct tends to ‘water down

the results. The same is true if one includes figures regarding traditional intentional torts because

there is little change over time in the frequency of punitive awards in these cases Thus. the Commit

tee on Special Problems believes that the Rand study snows that the problems regarding punitive

awards in the civil justice system are more acute for specific areas of tort litigat. on than indicated ir

the ABA Sec gation Report

Tne Rand Corpo ation has recently published a follow-up report pointing out that some commen

tators are misinterp 1g an earlier study regarding trends in tort litigation by using aqgregate

figures on the assumption theres a single tort system The follow-up report shows that there are ait

ferent types of tort litigation and that each must be viewed separately in order to accurately deter

mine any Changes and trends The use of aggregate figures tends to mask the real situation See D

Hensier M Vaiana. J Kakalik &M Peterson Trendsin TortLitigation The Story Behind the Statis

tics. Rand. The Institute for Civil Justice (1987) The same may be said tor the subsect of punitive

damages anc any analysis of the Rand study on that subject should take this point into a

Problems in the Administration of Justice to conduct an independent review of puni-

tive awards in the civil justice system in the United States, including a review of the

prior studies and other information on the subject.

To assist the Committee in this effort, the services of Professor Roger C. Henderson

of the College of Law at the University of Arizona in Tucson were engaged. Professor

Henderson is a former dean of the law schoo! and presently is a Commissioner on

Uniform State Laws. He prepared a background paper which was reviewed and dis-

cussed by the ‘ ommittee on Special Problems on March 6, 1988 during the Spring

Meeting of the ¢ merican College in Paim Desert. California. '° During the Spring Meet-

ing the Commi. ee assisted in presenting one of the main programs, which consisted

of a panel on the question of whether punitive damages in the modern civil justice sys-

tem constituted an anomaly which was in need of change. Subsequently, an issue

paper'' prepared by Professor Henderson was distributed to the Committee mem-

bers and discussed at a special meeting on June 10, 1988. Thereafter a draft report

dealing with punitive damages was the subject of a meeting of the Committee on

August6, 1988 at the Annual Meeting of the College during the American Bar Associa-

tion meeting in Toronto, Canada. The Committee met again on November 11, 1988

and January 9, 1989 in New York City to discuss subsequent drafts of the report.

After deliberation and study, the Committee on Special Problems has come to cer-

tain conclusions with regard to punitive awards in the modern civil justice system and

has fashioned recommendations for improvements. Initially, however, a brief review

of why this study was warranted is appropriate in view of the prior efforts on the

subject.

| THE NEED FOR THE COLLEGE REVIEW

In the 1986 Report of the Task Force on Litigation Issues, serious concern was

expressed regarding the role of punitive awards in the civil justice system. It was noted

that awards often bear no relation to deterrence and merely reflect a jury's dissatisfac-

tion with a defendant and a desire to punish. often without regard to the true harm

threatened by a defendant's conduct. * The Report also noted that there was a general

feeling that punii:ve awards should be more difficult to obtain and that the amounts of

such awards should be subject to more contro! than was being exercised at that

time.'’ The Report went on to recommend that there be some limit, either by a cap or

some general formula, to the amount of punitive damages that may be recovered. "‘ In

addition, it was recommended that some means should be found to prevent a defen-

dant from being subjected to duplicative punitive awards for a single act or course of

conduct "° Finally. there were recommendations that serous consideration should be

10 This paper entitled Punitwe Dan ges in the Moder . nce System An Anomaly in Need

of Change? is on file at the National Headquarters Amer ege of Tral Lawyers. 10866

Wiishire Blvd Los Angeles Calitermia 90024

11 This paper also is on tile at the National Head

1% ACTL Task Force Report supra 1’ at4

sb

‘ j

; a

given to raising the standard of proof, to developing better jury instructions and to

greater judicial supervision concerning punitive damage awards. '® In sum, the Task

Force Report expressed certain expectations concerning improvements that should

be made in the system. Moreover, as noted, some members indicated that they might

be willing to support the abolition of punitive awards in the civil system if these

improvements were not made."’

Following the Report of the Task Force and its approval by the College Board of

Regents, the A.B.A. Action Commission to Improve the Tort Liability System and Sec-

tion of Litigation reported similar concerns and made recommendations for changes

in the system.'* In addition to these reports, there has been a plethora of articles and

comments in legal periodicals concerning the situation generally, the overwhelming

majority of which call for some change in the process by which punitive damages

are awarded.'°

16 Id

17. Id. Aspreviously noted. afew members of the Task Force were in favor of abolition as the exclusive

reform effort. See text atn 2

18. See supra text at nn 3-4 and 7-8

19 For articles arguing ‘or

(1) abolition. see Carsey, The Case Against Punitive Damages: An Annotated Argumentative

Outline, 11 Forum §7 (1975). Dubois, Punitive Damages: Bonanza or Disaster 3 Litigation 35 (Fall

1976). Ghiardi. The Case Against Punitive Damages. 8 Forum 411 (1972): Ghiardi, Should Puni-

tive Damages Be Abolished? — A Statement for the Affirmative. 1965 ABA Sec. ins.. Neg! &

Comp. L. Proc. 282: Long. Punitive Damages An Unsettied Doctrine. 25 Drake L Rev. 870( 1976)

and Saies & Cole, Punitive Damages A Relic That Has Outlived Its Origins. 37 Vanderbilt L. Rev

1117 (1984);

(2) modification. see Barrett & Merriman. Legislative Remedies for Punitive Damages, 28

Federation of ins CounseiQ 339( 1978). Bell & Pearce. Punitive Damages and the Tort System, 22

U Richmond L. Rev. 1( 1987), Cooter. Economic Analysis of Punitive Damages. 56S Cal L Rev

79 (1982): Ellis. Fairness and Efficiency in the Law of Punitive Damages. 56S Calif L Rev 1

(1982): Johnston, Punitive Liability. A New Paradigm of Efficiency in Tort Law, 87 ColumbiaL Rev

1385 (1987). Launie. The Incidence and Burden of Punitive Damages. 53 Ins. Counsel J. 46 (Jan

1986): Levit, Punitive Damages: Yesterday. Today and Tomorrow. 1980 Ins. L J. 257; Malior &

Roperts. Punitive Damages: Toward a Principled Approach. 31 Hastings L J. 639 (1980), Martin

The Relation of Exemplary Damages to Compensatory Damages. 22 “ oxas L. Rev 235 (1944).

McCormick, Some Phases of the Doctrine of Exemplary Damages. 8 North CarolinaL. Rev 129

(1930); Morris, Punitive Damages in Tort Cases. 44 Harvard L. Rev. 1173 (1931), Owen, Civil

Punishment and the Public Good. 56S Cal L Rev 103 (1982): Phillips. The Punitive Damage

Class Action: A Solution to the Problem of Multiple Punishment, 1984 U. Illinois L_F. 153 (1984).

Priest. Punitive Damages and Enterprise Liability. 56S Cal. L. Rev 123 (1982): Riley, Punit.ve

Damages: The Doctrine of Just Enrichment. 27 Drake L. Rev 195 (1977-78); Wheeler. The Con-

stitutional Case for Reforming Punitiwe Damages Procedure. 69 Va. L Rev. 269( 1983). and Wood-

bury. Limiting Discovery of a Defendarts Wealth When Punitive Damages Are Alieged. 23

Duquesne L Rev 349 1985) anc 34 Defense L J 675 (1985):

(3) the status quo see Bece!) Punitive Damages in Arbitration. 21 J Marshall L Rev 21

(1987): Belli. Punitive Damage® "her History. Their Use and Tneir Worth in Present-Day Society

49 UMKC L Rev 1/1980) Corboy Are Punitive Damages Getting Out of Control? The Existing

Controls Are Effective "O AGA J 16\Dec 1984). Courtney & Cavico Punitive Damages Wer

Are They Justifiable?. 18 Tria! 52 (Aug 1982). Demarest & Jones, Exemplary Damages as @

Instrument of Social Policy |s Tort Reform in the Public interest. 18St Marys J 797/1987) anc

Schwartz. Deterrence and Punishment in tne Common Lawof Punitive Damages AComment 56

S Cai. L. Rev. 133 (1982)

Asaresult of the widespread concern regarding the problems associated with puni-

tive damages, there has been a spate of state court®° and legisilative*' activity across

the nation on this subject. Unfortunately, no clear pattern has emerged in the main,

aithough there has been a trend in some areas which may eventually result in more

uniformity among the states. For example, of those states that have addressed prob-

lems regarding punitive damages, most now require that the plaintiff meet the burden

of proving by clear and convincing evidence that punitive damages should be

awarded *°

20. See. e.g. Rawlings v Apodaca, 151 Ariz. 149, 726 P.2d 565 (1986) (addressing standard for

culpability); Linthicum v. Nationwide Life Ins. Co., 150 Ariz. 326, 723 P20 675 (1986) (addressing

burden of proof), Grimshaw v. Ford Motor Co., 119 Cal. App. 3d 757, 174 Ca. Rptr. 348 (1981)

(addressing, inter alia, various constitutional issues); Tuttle v. Raymond, 494 A.2d 1353 (Maine

1985) (addressing burden of proof); and Anderson v. Continental Insurance Co., 85 Wis. 2d 675,

271 N.W.2d 368 (1978) (addressing standard for culpability)

21. Forexample, with regard to attempts to limit the amount of punitive awards Alabama has adopted

a cap of $250,000 except where there is a practice or pattern of intentional wrongful conduct,

actual malice, or defamation. Ala. Code § 6-11-21 (Supp. 1988). Colorado limits the punitive

award to an amount equal to actual damages except the court has tne power to make an addition

up to three times the actual damages in enumerated cases of aggravated conduct. Colo. Rev.

Stat. § 13-21-102 (1987). Florida creates a presumption which limits the amount of punitive

awards to three times that of the actual damages unless the claimant demonstrates by clear and

convincing evidence that any award which is greater than this amount is not excessive. Fla.

Stat. § 768.73 (Supp. 1988) Georgia limits such awards to $250,000 except in product liability

cases or where the defendant specifically intended to cause harm. Ga. Code Ann. § 105-2002.1

(Supp 1988) Kansas limits the amount of punitive damages in medical malpractice cases to the

lesser of 25° of the defendant's highest gross annual income during the five year period prior to

the wrongful act or $3 million. Kan. Stat. Ann. § 60-3402 (Supp. 1987). (This parv cular provision cf

> Kansas medical malpractice legislation has not been challenged as of ye: on constitutional

rounds. but other provisions have been held unconstitutional by the Supreme Court of Kansas.

See Kansas Malpractice Victims Coalition v. Bell, Kan. __ . 757 P.2d 251 (1988) and

Farley v Engelken. 241 Kan 663, 740 P 2d 1058(1987). There is a serious question as to the con-

stitutionality of this particular provision under Kansas law because it limits ine right to a jury trial

on punitive damages See Folks v. Kansas Power and LightCo.. Kan. ____s—«s 755 P.20 1319

(1988) ) Oklahoma limits punitive awards to an amount equal to the actual damages except where

evidence of the wrongful conduct is clear and convincing. Okla. Stat. Tit. 23, § 9 (1987). Texas

limits awards of punitive damages to four times the amount of actual damages or $200,000.

whichever is greater. for cases involving “fraud” or “gross negligence, but the limit does not

apply to Cases involving “malice” or to intentional torts, the terms in quotes being defined in the

statute Tex Civ Proc. & Rem. Code Ann. §§ 41.001-.008 (Vernon Supp. 1988).

22 For cases adopting this standard see, e.g. Linthicum v. Nationwide Life Ins. Co., supra n. 20;

Travelers indemnity Co v. Armstrong, 442 NE 2d 349 (Ind. 1982); Tuttle v. Raymond, 494 A.2d

1353 (Maine 198£); Wangen v Ford Motor Co.. 97 Wis. 2d 260, 294 NW 2d 437 (1980). For

statutory adoptions see. eg. Ala. Code § 6-11-20 (Supp. 1988), Cal. Civil Code § 3294 (Supp.

1988). Minn. Stat. Ann. § 549 20/1) (1988). Mont. Code Ann. § 27-1-221(5) (1987); and Or. Rev.

Stat § 30. 925 (1983) See a'so Colo. Rev. Stat. § 13-25-127(2) (1987) (adopting proof beyond a

reasonable doubt) Compare Fla. Stat. § 768 73 (Supp. 1988) (apparently adopting the ciear and

convincing test only for amounts which exceed the presumptive cap cf three times the amouni of

compensatory damages. but continuing the use of the mere preponderance test for the treble

award) and Okla Stat Tit 23, § 9 (1987) (following the same pattern as Ficrida)

Also, it appears that the law is evolving in many jurisdictions to require that there be

some conscious indifference to the rights of others before punitive damages are

warranted.** However, it is not easy to divine this latter rule from the myriad of adjec-

tives employed in attempting to define the standard of cuipability in any particular

jurisdiction.*4

Attempts at reforming other punitive damage problem areas have been anything

but satisfactory. For example, there still are serious questions concerning: (1) the

standard to be applied by the trier of fact in determining the quantum. and the stan-

dard to be applied in appellate review of any punitive award; (2) the vicarious ex-

posure facing employers and others; (3) the “windfall” nature of punitive awards and

the question of who should rece ve the award; (4) the potential abuses in the trial pro-

cess regarding pleading and discovery; and (5) the possible prejudice to defendants

on the compensatory liability issue through introduction of otherwise irrelevant

evidence of wealth or financial condition at the stage where that liability issue is being

resolved. Moreover, there nas yet to be a satisfactory solution to the situation that all

agree is a very serious problem — duplicative awards for the same act or course of

conduct. In fact, as a result of the recent legislative activity, the legal landscape has

now been strewn with a number of pieces of disparate legislation in the various states

so that in avery real sense the situation could be described as being as confused and

uncertain as before the reform efforts began.*° Considerable improvements still

could be made to bring about more evenhanded treatment of litigants both

within a jurisdiction and between jurisdictions. In short, the situation is very much in

need of attention and clearly fa'ls within the charge of the Committee on Special Prob-

lems, which has the responsibility of promoting improvements in the administration of

23. See,e.g., Rawlings v. Apodaca, supra n. 20; Freeman v. Anderson 279 Ark. 282,651S.W.2d 450

(1983): Jardel Co. v. Hughes, 523 A.2d 518 (Del. 1987); Tuttle v Raymond, supra n. 22; Preston v

Murty, 32 Ohio St. 3d 334, 512 N.E.2d 1174 (1987); Enright v. Lubow, 202 N.J. Super. 58, 493 A.2d

1288 (App. Div. 1985); Ala. Code § 6-11-20 (Supp. 1988): Cal. Civil Code § 3294 (Supp. 1988);

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 13-21-102(1) (1987); Ga. Code Ann. § 1005-2002 1(b) (Supp. 1988); lowa Code

Ann. § 668A. 1 (1986); Minn. Stat. Ann. § 549.20(1) (1988); Okla. Stat. Ann. Tit. 23, §9( 1987): Tex

Civ. Proc. & Rem. Code Ann. §§ 41.001-.003 (Supp. 1988)

24. See the discussion in Linthicum v. Nationwide Life '!ns. Co., supran. 20 See also 1 J. Ghiardi & J

Kircher, Punitive Damages: Law and Practice § 5.01 (1985)

25. in addition to the different statutory approaches indicated inn. 21, supra, regarding attempts to

limit the amount of punitive awards, anumber of states have taken different approaches to the so-

called “windfall” problem. For recent legislation in this area, see, e.g.. Colo. Rev. Stat. § 13-21-

102(4) (1987) (allocating one-third of a punitive award to the state general fund, two-thirds to the

plaintiff); Fla. Stat. § 768.73 (Supp. 1988) (40% to the plaintiff and 60% to the state general fund

unless the cause of action was based 9n personal! injury or wrongful death, in which event the

state's share is to be paid to Public Med’ca. Assistance Trust Fund); Ga. Code. Ann. § 105-2002.1

(Supp. 1988) (three-fourths to the state, one-fourth to the plaintiff), lowa Code Ann. § 668A.1

(1987) (100% to the plaintiff if the act was directed at the plaintiff: if not, three-fourths of the award

goes to a state fund used for indigent civil litigation programs or insurance assistance programs).

and Mo. Ann. Stat. § 537.675 (Vernon 1988) (50° of punitive award, after deduction of attorneys’

fees and expenses. payable to state of Missour!). Kansas passed medical malpractice legislation

which requires that punitive awards in such cases be allocated one-half to the plaintiff and one-

half to the state health care mairitenance fund (see Kan. Stat. Arin. § 60-3402 ( 1986)), but the con-

Stitutionality of this legisiation is questionable See supra n. 21

justice and maintaining proper liaison with others to that end.

Finally, two other matters should be mentioned. First, there has been amovementin

the criminal justice system to attempt to standardize penalties. The most notable

effort in this regard has taken place at the federal level.“° The sense that there should

be evenhanded treatment of those who are subject to criminal penalties also provides

part of the motivation for reform in the civil system. Secondly, a number of con-

stitutional issues that have lain dormant for years have recently been brought to the

attention of the courts. The Supreme Court of the United States has granted review to

consider constitutional limits on punitive damages awards on three occasions since

1986. In particular, there appears to be concern on the part of some members of the

Court as to whether the Eighth Amendment to the United States Constitution guaran-

teeing that excessive fines shall not be imposed applies to civil punitive awards.

In 1986 in Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Lavoie,*’ the Supreme Court noted that a challenge

to punitive damages as excessive under the Eighth and Fourteenth Amendments

“raise[d] important issues which, in an appropriate setting, must be resolved.”?* Two

years later in the case of Bankers Life and Casualty Co. v. Crenshaw,’ the Court

granted certiorari and heard oral argument as to whether the Eighth Amendment

applies to civil punitive awards and whether the punitive damage award in the case

violated the Due Process and the Contract Clauses of the Constitution. Although the

Supreme Court declined to decide these issues in Aetna and Bankers Life, as this

report was being finalized the Court again granted certiorari, in Browning-Ferris

Industries of Vermont, Inc. v. Kelco Disposal, Inc.,*° on the question of whether an

award of $6 million in punitive damages, amounting to more than 100 times the plain-

tiff's actual damages, is excessive under the Eighth Amendment or otherwise. These

cases illustrate that there are several potential problems at the constitutional level

with the current rules in the various states. It is possible that these constitutional prob-

lems could be obviated through responsible reform efforts. It is the judgment of the

Committee on Special Problems that this adds impetus to the need for prompt action.

Thus, itis hoped that this Report, which has been approved by the Board of Regents of

the American College of Trial Lawyers, will serve to expedite responsible reform

efforts so as 1_ achieve improvements in the !ustice system in this country.

26. The Comprehensive Crime Contro! Act of 1984 created a United States Sentencing Commission

to recommend new sentencing guidelines to go into effect in federal courts in 1986. One of the

main purposes of the legislation is to establish sentencing policies and practices for the Federal

criminal justice system that provide certainty and fairness and which avoid unwarranted sentenc-

ing disparities among defendants who are similarly situated. See 28 U.S.C. § 991(b)(1) (Supp.

1987). The Supreme Court of the United States upheld the constitutionality of the Sentencing

Guidelines promuigated by the United States Sentencing Commission against an attack that

Congress had delegated excessive legislative power to the Commission and that the legislation

violated the separatior-of-powers principle. Mistretta v. United States, 109 S. Ct. 647 (1989)

27. 106S. Ct. 1580

28. Id. at 1589

29. 108S Ct. 1645 (1988)

30 845 F 2d 404 (2d Cir 1988). cert granted. 109S Ct 527 (1988)

lll. CONCLUSIONS AND RECOMMENDATIONS

A. Civil Awards of Punitive Damages Should Be Retained, But Only in Carefully

Limited Situations.

It has been forcefully argued that punitive awards in the modern civil justice system

are an anomaly and should be abolished except where specifically authorized by

statute.*' Originally, such common law awards in large measure served as surrogates

for pain and suffering and other noneconomic losses which at the time were yet to be

recognized on a de jure basis by courts of law.*° It is contended that now that non-

economic losses, such as pain and suffering, are fully recoverable in tort actions in

their own right as compensatory damages, there is no basis for permitting punitive

awards for any compensatory purpose.*’ Nor should punitive awards serve to reim-

burse plaintiffs for attorney fees and other litigation expenses in the absence of a

specific statute or ru'e of court providing for such.** This is based on the simple prop-

osition that the common law rule in the United States is that each party bears the cost

of his or her own attorney fees and litigation expenses. The civil system does not pro-

vide the requisite constitutional and procedural safeguards for penal awards and was

never designed to be a system for punishment beyond the admonition which is

inherent in compensatory awards.*° Finally, the argument goes, punishment should

be limited to the criminal justice system and o.herwise to specific situations expressly

set out in legislative enactments, and even there the legislation should provide

appropriate safeguards so as to not violate fundamental rights.

A majority of the Committee, while recognizing the force of these arguments, notes

that punitive awards have long been a part of the civil justice system and that they have

been recognized in addition to potential criminal sanctions. Although the early com-

mon law did recognize punitive awards in the civil system as a surrogate for non-

economic losses, they were not recognized for that purpose exclusively. Punitive

awards also were recognized as serving the admonitory goal of the civii system in

31. See, eg., Ghiardi, supra n. 19 at 423-24 and Sales & Cole. supra n. 19 at 1117

32. Fayv. Parker,53N.H 342(1873); Stuart v. Western Union Telegraph Co, 66 Tex. 580.18S W. 351

(1885). See also K. Redden, Punitive Damages 28-29 (1980) and 1T Sedgwick. A Treatise on the

Measure of Damages 688-89 (9th ed. 1912)

33. Ghiardi, supra n. 19 at 423-24 and Sales & Cole, supra n. 19 at 1164-65

34. Ghiardi, supra n 19 at 417

35. See C. McCormick. Handbook on the Law of Damages 276 (1935) See also 1 J Ghiardi & J

Kircher, supra n. 24, ch 3(1985) and K. Redden. supra n 32.ch 7

deterring and punishing wrongdoers.**It also is true that punitive awards in the Civil

justice system serve to reach certain types of conduct that either are not punishable at

all under the criminal system or as a practical matter will not be the subject of a

criminal proceeding. As a result, the common law ultimately has come to recognize

two types of awards — one mainly to compensate for economic and noneconomic

losses and one mainly to punish. Although each is designed to deter, the Committee is

convinced that the more severe sanction is still needed. Notwithstanding the general

conclusion of the Committee that punitive awards are still justifiable in the civil system

today, it also concluded that such awards should be available only in carefully limited

36. InHuckle v. Money [K.B. 1763] 2 Wils. 205, 95 Eng Rep. 768. one of the earliest English cases on

record upholding an award of exemplary damages. it is clear that the monetary award was meant

to punish and deter. Huckle was illegally taken into custody and he subsequently brought an

action for trespass, assault and imprisonment. Although he was not mistreated physically and the

confinement was brief, the jury assessed his damages at 300 pounds which was almost three hun-

dred times any pecuniary loss that he could have suffered. The court upheld the award and in

doing so the Lord Chief Justice stated:

[T}he personal injury done to him was very small, so that if the jury had been con-

fined by their oath to consider the mere personal injury only, perhaps 201. damages

would have been thought damages sufficient: but the small injury done to tne plaintiff,

or the inconsiderableness of his station and rank in life did not appear to the jury in that

striking light in which the great point of law touching the liberty of the subject appeared

to them at the trial; they saw a magistrate over all the King’s subjects, exercising arbi-

trary power, violating Magna Charta, and attempting to destroy the liberty of the

kingdom, by insisting upon the legality of this general warrant before them, they heard

the King’s Counsel, and saw the solicitor of the Treasury endeavoring to support and

maintain the legality of the warrant in a tyrannical and severe manner. These are the

ideas which struck the jury on the trial, and | think they have done right in giving exem-

plary damages. To enter a man’s house by virtue of a nameless warrant, in order to pro-

cure evidence, is worse than the Spanish Inquisition; a law under which no Englishman

would wish to live an hour: it was a most daring public atttack made upon the liberty of

the subject

id. at 206-07, 95 Eng. Rep. at 768-69

Exemplary or punitive damages are still recognized in England today. albeit on a more cir-

cumscribed basis than that in the United States See Rookesv Barnard [1964] 1 All Eng. Rep. 367

where the House of Lords limited punitive damages to two common law situations: (1)

“oppressive, arbitrary or unconstitutional action by servants of the government’ and (2) where

“the defendant's conduct has been calculated by him to make a profit for himself which may well

exceeo the compensation payable to the plaintiff’ /d at 410 Exemplary damages expressly

authorized by statute aiso are permitted /d. at 411

Canadian courts have not foliowed the restrictions enunciated Dy "he Engisn House of Lordsin

Rookes v. Barnard, but have followed 2 course that generally rese™ 5 es "Nat of the courts in the

United States. See K Cooper-Stephenson &! Saunders Persona in ury Damages in Canada, ch.

13 (1981)

it also is to be noted that both England and Canada distinguisn aggravated damages’ from

punitive damages, and for that matter. from awards solely to compensate for losses and other

harm. Aggravated damages are given to compensate when the narm done to the plaintiff by a

wrongful act was aggravated by the manner in which the act was done. punitive damages being

reserved to punish and thereby provide moral retribution or deterrence /d atp 688

situations.*’ Those situations and the limitations are discussed below.

B. Punitive Awards Should Not Be a Surrogate for Compensatory Damages.

The civil justice system shou!d not recognize punitive awards for the purpose of

compensating successful plaintiffs. The common law over time has recognized new

rights and measures for compensation and is fully capable of doing so in the future.

Economic and noneconomic losses are compensable today, and a clear distinction

ought to be maintained between awards of that nature and those which are imposed

solely to punish and deter. The maintenance of this distinction is important in adminis-

tering the rules because there should be differences in the process for obtaining the

two types of awards. For example, it has already been noted that a clear-and-

convincing stand<r 4 for the plaintiff's burden of proof has been adopted by anumber

of jurisdictions rer arding punitive damages.” A mere preponderance is the standard

for obtaining compensatory damages. As will be seen below, other distinctions arise

from the recommendations of the Committee, and they should not be eroded by per-

mitting one type of damage to serve as a surrogate for the other type. Civil punitive

awards should be limited to those egregious situations which clearly call for punish-

ment and deterrence beyond that which is inherent in compensatory awards.

C. The Standard for Culpability Should Require a Conscious and Egregious Inva-

sion of the Rights of Others.

The appropriate minimum standard for culpability for punitive awards, recognized

in some recent, more analytical decisions,’ requires a conscious indifference to the

rights of others. This test encompasses the traditional intentional torts, such as

assault, battery, and false imprisonment, all of which require that the actor know or

understand that there is a great degree of certainty that the invasion will take place ,*°

as well as torts based on lesser degrees of cognition, such as where the defendant

acts in a wilful or wanton manner, or with a certain type of recklessness.*' This test.

however, would not permit punitive awards where the element of consciousness is

sufficiently lacking, such as in the case of negligent, or even grossly negligent,

conduct.

The Restatement of Torts, Second, distinguishes various types of conduct on the

basis of cognition, i.e., the degree to which the actor appreciates or understands that

harm will or may result from his or her conduct.** The greater the knowledge of harm,

the greater the culpability. It is the Committee's position that civil punitive awards can

only be justified on the basis of the more serious or egregious conduct. Although there

is strong support for this position under recent case law,*’ there still is precedent

37. Bell & Pearce, supran 19 at 17

38. Seesupran 22

39. See.eg., Rawings v Apodaca supra n 20

40. ‘The word ‘intent’ is used throughout the Restatement of this subject [intentional torts] to denote

that the actor desires to cause consequences of his act. or that he believes that the consequences

are substantially certain to result from it" Restatement (Second) of Torts § 8A (1965)

41. W Prosser & WP Keeton. Law of Torts 10 and 212 (1984)

42. See Comment to § 8A. Restatement (Second) of Torts (1965)

43. See.eg. Rawiings v Apodaca and Anderson v Continental Insurance Co. supra n 20

10

which leaves much to be desired in the way of clarity.**

A close examination reveals that much of the confusion arises in the area where

mere inadvertent conduct interfaces with the more cognitive forms of conduct. The

two types of conduct are most often described as “gross negligence” and “reck-

lessness."*° It is the overwhelming majority rule that punitive damages are not avail-

able for mere negligence, just as it is the rule that they are available for intentional,

wilful, wanton or reckless conduct.“ As for “gross negligence.” — a perplexing term

at best*’ — some jurisdictions may permit punitive damages for this category of con-

duct.** Itis questionable though whether mere extreme carelessness as distinguished

from the type of conscious indifference that is explicit in the term intentional and

44 For example, compare City of Gladewater v. Pike, 727 S W.2d 514 (Tex. 1987) (holding “grossly

negligent conduct sufficient, but such conduct must evidence an outrageous state of mind — one

of malicious or “evil” intent) with Burk Royaity Co v. Walls, 616 S W.2d 911, 920 (Tex. 1981)

(approving a jury instruction defining “heediess and reckless disregard.” which the court stated

was synonymous with “gross negligence.” to mean ‘an entire want of care as to indicate that the

act or omission in question was the result of conscious indifference to the rights, welfare, or safety

of the person affected by it’)

45. Theterm reckless’ is usually expressed as part of the phrase ‘wilful, wanton and reckless,” and

all three terms are considered to mean the same thing. W. Prosser & W.P. Keeton. supra n

41 at 212

46 See1J Ghiardi & J Kircher, supra n. 24

47 “Asit[gross negligence] criginally appeared, this was very great negligence. or the want of even

slight or scant care. It has been described as a failure to exercise even that care which a careless

person would use. Several courts, however. dissatisfied with a term so nebulous, and struggling

to assign some more or less definite point of reference to it, have construed gross negligence as

requiring wilful, wanton, or reckless misconduct, or such utter lack of all care as will be evidence

thereof — sometimes on the ground that this must necessarily have been the intent of the legisia-

ture. But itis still true that most courts consider that gross negligence falls short of areckless dis-

regard of the consequences. and differs from ordinary negligence only in degree, and notin kind.

There is, in short, no generally accepted meaning. but the probability is. when the phrase is used.

that it signifies more than ordinary inadvertence or inattention. but less perhaps than conscious

indifference to the consequences.” W. Prosser & WP Keeton. supra n. 41 at 211-212

48 Id at10

11

implicit in the terms wil‘ul, wanton and reckless should suffice. *®

The Committee believes that punishment over and above that involved in a com-

pensatory award is not warranted for conduct that does not involve a conscious inva-

sion. Itis the very element of consciousness or awareness that renders the conduct so

morally reprehensible as to call for different treatment. Conduct, extreme as it may be,

that lacks cognition of harm more closely resembles inadvertent or negligent conduct

than it does the type of conduct which calls for a greater sanction than thatinherentina

compensatory damage award. Moreover, permitting punitive awards based merely

on different degrees of carelessness or inadvertent conduct exacerbates the already

difficult problem of articulating a clear standard to be employed by the trier of fact and

for review on appeal. Thus, the logical and practical line of demarcation should be

drawn at the point where the defendant realizes that his or her conduct will, or that

there is a very strong probability that it may, cause the resulting harm. Conduct, such

as extreme carelessness, which does not involve this basic element of consciousness

should not be the subject of punitive damages. The admonitory function of compen-

satory damages should suffice to deter these less egregious forms of conduct justasit

is supposed to deter negligent conduct.”

Bare satisfaction of the conscious indifference standard, however, does not mean

that punitive damages automatically follow. Whether the conduct in question is so

aggravated as to justify such an award still should be a matter to be determined by the

49. The comments in the Restatement of Torts. Second, draw a distinction between these forms of

conduct based on the knowledge of the actor

While an act to be reckless must be intended by the actor the actor does not intend to

cause the harm which results from it. itis enough that he realizes or, from facts which he

knows, should realize that there is a strong probability that harm may result, even

though he hopes or even expects that his conduct will prove harmiess Reckless

misconduct differs from negligence in several important particulars. It differs from that

form of negligence which consists in mere inadvertence, incompetence, unskillful-

ness, or a failure to take precautions to enable the actor adequately to cope with a

possible or probable future emergency. in that reckless misconduct requires a con-

scious choice of a course of action, either with knowledge of the serious danger to

others involved in it or with knowledge of facts which would disclose this danger to any

reasonable man. It differs not only from the above-mentioned form of negligence, but

also from that negligence which consists in intentionally doing an act with knowledge

that it contains a risk of harm to others, in that the actor to be reckiess must recognize

that his conduct involves a risk substantially greater in amount than that which is

necessary to make his conduct negligent The difference between reckless miscon-

duct and conduct involving only such a quantum of risk as is necessary to make it

negligent is a difference in the degree of the risk Dut this difference of degree is 30

marked as to amount substantially to a difference in kind

§ 500. Comments f and g ( 1965}

50. See Morris. supran. 19 at 1177

The position of the Committee is not entirely consistent with the definition of recklessness as

found in Restatement (Second) of Torts § 500( 1965) The postion of the Committee requires that

the actor realize, i.e.. know or understand, that there is a strong probability that harm may result. It

does not encompass the situation, as does the Restatement. where the actor. from facts which he

or she knows. should realize that there is a strong probability that harm may result. See supra n

49. The latter standard sounds more in negligence and would permit. in the opinion of the Com-

mittee, cases to go to the jury without proof of the type of state of mind which may warrant a puni-

tive award

12

trier of fact.°' In addition to requiring knowledge, the instruction to the jury should

state that punitive awards are to be made only in those cases in which it is established.

that the tortfeasor acted in a particularly egregious manner.®’ This element of

aggravated conduct is often referred to as the requirement of a bad motive or evil

mind,°* and in some instances is best described by the term “outrageous.” Case lawis

repiete with attempts by courts to delineate these more antisocial acts. Such words as

“malicious,” “evil,” “vindictive,” “oppressive,” “fraudulent,” “outrageous” and thelike

have been employed™ and should still be employed in jury instructions to require

such findings before punitive damages are assessed.°° Thus, it is recommended that

judicial decisions and any legislation on the subject make it clear that punitive awards

in the civil justice system may be justified only in cases involving the most egregious

forms of conduct. If there is evidence of bad motive, recidivism, or other aggravating

conduct, the trier of fact should take this into account in deciding whether to assess

punitive damages at all and, if so, the amount.°®

The Committee also observes that the articulation of a clear minimum standard for

culpability should enable a trial judge to withdraw the issue of punitive damages from

the jury in those cases in which there is a failure to introduce clear and convincing

evidence upon which a jury could find that the defendant's conduct was of the charac-

ter required for the imposition of punitive damages. In any event, no punitive award

should be permitted for conduct that fails to meet the minimum standard.

D. The Quantum of Punitive Damages Should Be Limited by a Fiexible Formula

Based on the Amount of Compensatory Damages.

The Committee is concerned that the current state of the law provides little

guidance to the trier of fact regarding the standard for assessing the amount of puni-

tive damages. The case law. again, is replete with references to the egregious nature of

the conduct, the wealth or power of the defendant. the relation of the punitive award to

the compensatory award, and the like.°’ This all leaves one with a sense of frustration

in trying to ascertain whether the punitive award is excessive, particularly on review by

the appellate courts.°* In fact, there is evidence that the current attempts to articulatea

standard lead to excessive awards because these definitions fail to provide sufficient

51. See Restatement (Second) of Torts § 908. Comment d(1979).D Dobbs. Handbook on the Law of

Remedies 204 (1973)

52. Restatement (Second) of Torts § 908. Comment d (1979)

53. See Rawlings v Apodaca. supra n 20 at 162. 726 P 2d at 578

54 D. Dobbs, supra n. 51 at 205

55. See Restatement (Second) of Torts § 908. Comment b ( 1979}

56. Id

57. See K. Redden. supra n. 32, at § 3.5 See also Restatement (Second) of Torts § 908. Com-

ment e (1979)

58 The appellate courts have resorted to such tests as whether the award is so excessive that it must

necessarily be a product of passion, prejudice. or corruption of the jury and whether the punitive

award bears a reasonable relationship to the compensatory award K Redden. supran 32 at§

3.6. Whatever the test. it is clear that the tests are more often a rationalization of results than a

means of obtaining them Morris. supra n. 19 at 1180

13

guidance to juries.°* The opportunity for bias and prejudice to operate is too great. It

would be unthinkable to use such vague standards to assess punishment in the

criminal system, much less to let a jury do it. Consequently, the Committee has con-

cluded that some more definite structure needs to be employed regarding the stan-

dard for assessing the amount of damages.

First, the Committee recornmends that greater attention be paid to the question of

whether the evidence offered is so highly prejudicial as to outweigh its probative Value

under Federal Rule of Evidence 403 or the equivalent state rule. This concern, which

frequently arises in criminal cases, seems to be overlooked in the civil process. Since

the civil punitive award serves the same purpose as the criminal sanction, the same

considerations should apply. Courts should not permit the “waving of bloody shirts’ in

civil trials any more than in criminal.

Second, courts should pay particular attention to the jury instructions in defining

the burden of proof and standard for culpability. In this vein, the courts should attempt

to formulate more precise instructions regarding the methods by which juries assess

punitive awards, taking care to inform the jury that it is within their discretion as to

whether any punitive award is to be assessed, that the award should not be excessive

and that they have to be clearly convinced that the amount is appropriate under the

circumstances. A model jury instruction covering these points as well as others is con-

tained in an appendix to this report.

The above recommendations are designed to meet the point of the American

College Task Force Report that greater judicial supervision of punitive awards is

needed. Although the Committee has concluded that the above suggestions will serve

in that way and recommends that they be adopted, it does not feel that these changes

will completely solve the problem of excessive awards, because the standards for

assessing the quantum are inherently deficient insofar as providing any meaningful

guidance to juries and for appellate review. Varicus techniques were considered in an

attempt to regulate jury awards in a fair and reasonable manner. Some members of

the Committee favored using a “cap” or maximum limit, while others were opposed to

any such method. Even among those favoring a cap, different approaches were

advocated. The merits of an absolute dollar cap were advanced, as were those of a

59. The Rand study on punitive damages. mentioned earlier, also attempted to determine what post-

trial adjustments might have occurred to punitive awards and developed sufficient data to pro-

vide statistically useful information involving 33 percent of the cases in the study It was learneo

that punitive awards were frequently reduced by post-trial actions. such as settlements. remit-

titurs, and appellate decisions. The data showed that jury verdicts were reduced in approximately

one-half of the trials reported on and thatthe larger the award the greater the chance of significant

reduction. M. Peterson. S. Sarma & M. Shanley. supra n. 6 at 26-30

Both the Rand study. id. atxi.. and the A.B.A. Litigation Section Report. supran 7 at 21-22 took

a somewhat optimistic view that — even though punitive awards have increased in both absolute

and relative terms over the past 25 years —because Of post-trial actions, the situation probabd y

not as dire as some might believe. However, one is equally entitled to take a more negative v ew

based on the same evidence — that juries exceeded or abused their discretion in many case

that these predominated in the large awards One could also observe that the Rand anc A& 4

positions may underestimate the overall impact of the large awards on the Civi! justice syste

as the latter position may overstate it. The prospect of having a jury go overboard "Owever

not be salutary even if there is the possibility of a later reduction

14

formula based on compensatory damages. in the end. nowever, a substantial majority

were in favor of the following approach.

The Committee recommends that the various legislative bodies enact a statute

which limits the recovery of any punitive award by a plaintiff in a tort case to twice the

amount of the compensatory award or $250,000, whichever is greater. This approach

provides for flexibility. The plaintiff that suffers amounts of compensatory harm below

$125,000 as the result of outrageous conduct by the defendant would be permitted to

recover a substantial punitive award, but the limit of $250,000 would prevent an

excessive award. On the other hand, where the compensatory harm exceeds

$125,000 the ceiling on any punitive award would rise commensurately with the com-

pensatory harm. There would be no limit in the serious injury cases except for the

trebling effect provided by the formula. The Committee believes that this approach is

fair to all concerned in that the award would punish and deter and yet not unjustly sub-

ject defendants to ruinous liability.

Finally, as a corollary to the proposal -egarding the monetary limitation on punitive

awards, the Committee recommends that the jury not be informed of the limitations.

One reason for this recommendation is obvious — the jury should not be permitted to

circumvent the rules by arbitrarily increasing the amount of compensatory damages.

A less obvious, but areal concern nevertheless, is that the maximum amount of

$250,000 in small compensatory injury cases should not become the rule. The jury

should assess the punitive award on the basis of the evidence and the law as con-

tained in the instructions from the court. The monetary limitations, which provide a

range similar to that in the criminal system, should be applied by the court where

necessary after the verdict has been rendered.

E. The Burden of Proof for Punitive Awards Should Be That of Clear and Convinc-

ing Evidence.

The Committee on Special Problems notes that since the Task Force Report, which

recommended that the burden of proof for punitive damages should be raised, those

jurisdictions which have considered the issue have reaffirmed or moved to a clear-

and-convincing standard.®° One jurisdiction has even adopted the criminal burden,

by requiring proof beyond a reasonable doubt.®'

Although some members of the Committee favored the retention of the mere-

preponderance standard and others felt that the criminal standard of beyond a

reasonable doubt should be ernployed, a majority of the Committee recommends that

all jurisdictions follow the modern trend and adopt the clear-and-convincing stan-

dard. The clear-and-convincing standard, when coupled with the recommendations

regarding the standards for determining liability and the rules regarding the quantum

of damages, is more in harmony with a system for punishment than the mere-

preponderance standard applicable in civil proceedings regarding compensatory

damages and similar remedies which merely attempt to restore the status quo. While

tne Deyond-a-reasonabie-doubt standard is appropriate where life and liberty is

terally at Stake, the Committee does not feel that the criminal standard is appropriate

ee supra n. 22

15

where a Civil penalty is sought. The intermediate standard, requis:ng clear and con-

vincing evidence, is the most appropriate. in the opinion of the Committee.

F. Vicarious Responsibility for Punitive Damages Shouid Only Obtain Where There

Is Complicity by the Principal in the Conduct Which Gives Rise to the Punitive

Award.

The Committee on Special Problems does not believe that there is any justification

for holding a party responsible for an act which gives rise to punitive damages if that

person or entity, through its officers or managerial employees or agents, did not com-

mit or otherwise significantly participate in, or in some manner actually control or

ratify, the act. The purpose of punitive damages is to punish and deter certain wrong-

ful conduct. If the individual or entity did not engage in that conduct, there is no

rational purpose in punishing or attempting to deter the person or entity. This is the

position of the American Law Institute as found in the Restatements of Agency and

Torts.®* A number of courts follow the Restatement rule, but there are cases that adopt

the so-called “liberal” rule, which imposes punitive damages in some situations

merely on the basis of respondeat superior.®’ Under this rule, the principal is liable

because of the mere relationship instead of any wrongdoing. Although this may be

appropriate for compensatory damages, the Committee fails to see the justification

for such a rule where punitive darnages are claimed and recommends that the posi-

tion adopted by the American Law Institute be followed.

G. Pleadings Regarding Punitive Damage Claims Should Not Be Permitted To

Contain a Monetary Amount.

At one time, claims for punitive damages were the exception and quite rare, but it

has become more common recently tor some attorneys to include such counts as a

routine matter. This practice often is employed for its in terrorem effect. Some observ-

ers feel that the mere presence of such a count increases the settlement value of the

underlying lawsuit.

A number of jurisdictions have adopted statutes which prohibit plaintiffs from

pleading a claim of punitive damages until a prima facie showing is made regarding

the defendant's potential liability for such an award. For example, lilinois permits a

prayer for relief seeking punitive damages only after the plaintiff, upon motion and

hearing, establishes a reasonable likelihood of proving facts at trial sufficient to sup-

62. Restatement (Second) of Agency § 217C (1958): Restatement (Second) of Torts § 909 (1979)

These two provisions are identical

Punitive Damages Against a Principal

Punitive damages can properly be awarded against a master or other principal

because of an act by an agent if. but only :f

(a) the principal or a maragerial agent authorized the doing and the manner of the

act, or

(b) the agent was unfit and the principal or a managerial agent was reckless in

employing or retaining him, or

(c) the agent was employed in a managerial Capacity and was acting in the scope

of employment, or

(d) the principal or a managerial agent of the principal ratified or approved the

act

63. 2J. Ghiardi & J Kircher. supran 24 § 2407 W Prosser & WP Keeton. supra n. 41 at 13

16

port an award of punitive damages.™ Florida, Idaho and Minnesota have adopted

similar statutes.°° California, however, has adopted a statute that merely prohibits a

plaintiff from including a monetary figure in the pleadings.” These procedures are in

contrast to those of most states, which continue to permit plaintiffs to include claims

for punitive damages and to include monetary figures for such in the original com-

plaint. In those states, the defendant may move to dismiss the claim or may endeavor

to limit discovery of wealth or financial condition until later in the proceedings. The

various approaches described make Clear that the issue essentially is one of placing

the initial burden. Should the plaintiff have to make some type of showing that the facts

could support an award of punitive damages before being permitted to plead a claim

for punitive damages?

The Committee concluded that there was no good reason to put the burden on the

plaintiff to make a prima facie showing before being permitted to plead a claim for

punitive damages, but that the California modification should be followed. The Com-

mittee noted the growing tendency for pleadings to include very large monetary

amounts, the fact that these figures are arbitrary in many instances, and the un-

warranted adverse publicity involved, and found that little purpose was being served

by the present system. Thus, the Committee recommends that no monetary figure for

punitive damages should be permitted in the petition or complaint. This modification

to present practice in no way inhibits a plaintiff from pursuing a claim and obtaining an

award for punitive damages. yet would protect a defendant from needless and

unwarranted adverse pretrial publicity

H. Discovery of Evidence Regarding a Defendant's Wealth or Financial Condition

for the Purpose of Proving the Amount of a Punitive Award Should Not Be Per-

mitted Without a Prima Facie Showing That There Is a Legal Basis for Such

an Award.

The fact that a plaintiff necessarily must engage in efforts to ascertain the facts

involved in acase does not mean thatall efforts at discovery should be permitted at the

outset of a case that might involve a punitive damages issue. Initial efforts at discover-

ing facts regarding liability are clearly necessary and would have to be permitted even

in a jurisdiction that prohibits a plaintiff from initially pleading a claim for punitive

damages. However, to subiect a defendant to unlimited discovery regarding wealth or

financial condition at the outset poses great potential for unwarranted invasions of

privacy and other abuses.

The Committee on Special Problems recommends that the discovery of evidence

regarding a defendant's wealth or financial condition for the purpose of proving the

amount of a punitive award should not be permitted without a prima facie showing by

the plaintiff that there is a reasonable likelinood of proving facts at the trial sufficient to

support a determination of liability for such damages. Where it appears from the com-

plaint or upon motion that evidence of wealth or financial condition is relevant to the

issue Of liability for punitive damages, the burden of persuading the court to limit dis-

64 Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 110, para 2-604 1(Supp 1988)

65 Fla. Stat §76872(Supp 1988): idano Code §6-1604(Supp 1987). andMinn Stat Ann

§ 549 191 (West 1988)

66 Cal Civ Code § 3295 (Supp 1988)

17

covery should be where it rests in most jurisdictions today. The defendant must move

to limit discovery in this situation and convince the court such evidence is not relevant

to the liability issue. Where the evidence is only relevant to the amount of the punitive

award, the burden should be on the plaintiff to obtain permission from the court to

engage in discovery of wealth or financial condition. This would put the burden on the

plaintiff to make a prima facie showing that there is a plausible case for a punitive

award. Defendants would be protected from unwarranted intrusions into their

records and private affairs and from being unnecessarily inconvenienced, un-

necessary expenses would be avoided by all concerned, and ro real impediment or

obstacle would be placed in the path of plaintiffs who are entitled to pur sue legitimate

claims for punitive damages.

|. Bifurcated Trials Should Be Employed To Avoid Prejudice to Defendants Where

Evidence of Wealth or Financial Condition Ils Admissible Oniy on Claims for Puni-

tive Damages.

Evidence of wealth or financial condition is ordinarily irrelevant to the liability issues

in a case where punitive damages are sought. Normally, such evidence bears only on

the amount of money that would adequately punish and deter. In such situations, per-

mitting evidence of wealth or financial worth to be introduced at the stage of the trial

where liability is determined needlessly provides an opportunity for bias and pre-

judice to operate against a defendant. However, the Committee on Special Problems

recognizes that there may be some situations where evidence of wealth or financial

condition might bear on the punitive damage liability issue ever .nough it has no

relevance to liability giving rise to compensatory damages. For ex unple, the fact that

the defendant is in a superior economic position and able to exert a certain authority

or power over the plaintiff may be relevant to whether the conduct is sufficiently

egregious to warrant punitive damages.°’

Although bifurcation of the trial is an obvious soiution to this problem, itis clear that

different issues would have to be separated in the two situations described. There

may be other situations which would call for still different treatment, such as trifurca-

tion. Recognizing this, the Committee recommends that the defendant be provided an

opportunity to move for a division of the trial in a case where punitive damages are

claimed, if undue prejudice would result from the introduction of evidence of wealth or

financial condition, and that in such a case the issues be separated to afford a fair trial

to all concerned.® The following is one approach for courts to consider.

In atrial where a punitive award is sought and evidence of wealth or financial condi-

tion has no relevance to any liability issues, the court, upon motion by the Gefendant,

should bifurcate the trial on the following basis: During the first phase of the trial, the

issues of liability should be determined and evidence of wealth or financial condition

should not be permitted. In many instances, it may also be desirable to determine the

67. The Committee recognizes that there are other exceptions Evidence of wealth or financial condi-

tion may bear on liability issues for compensatory damages as well as punitive damages issues if

this is the situation, a division of the trial may not be appropriate

68 Several jurisdictions have adopted a bifurcated trial process for cases involving punitive

damages See eg. Cai Civ Code § 3295 (Supp 1988). Ga Code Ann § 105-2002 1(d) (Supp

1988). Mo. Ann Stat § 510 263 (Vernon Supp 1988). and Mont Code Ann. § 27-1-221(7)

(1987)

18

issue of compensatory damages in the first phase. In either event, a special verdict

form should be used to determine whether the defendant is liable for compensatory

damages only, or in addition is liable for punitive damages. !f the jury determines in the

first phase that punitive damages also should be awarded, ovidence of the appro-

priate amount, including that of wealth or financial condition where relevant, should

be permitted in the second phase. This process would prevent undue prejudice in the

situation described, but it would not be appropriate where evidence of wealth or finan-

cial condition is relevant to the issue of liability for punitive damages. In the latter case,

courts should consider the procedure described below.

If a claimant sues for punitive damages and the defendant moves for a bifurcated

trial, the plaintiff should be permitted to show that evidence of wealth or financial con-

dition is relevant to the issue of liability for punitive damages. If the plaintiff prevails on

this issue, the court should limit the first phase of the trial to a determination of whetner

the defendant is liable for compensatory damages and the amount thereof. If the jury

finds liability for compensatory damages, the second phase of the trial should

address the punitive damage liability issue and the amount of any such award. During

the second phase of the trial, evidence of wealth or financial condition, where relevant,

may be admissible. If the second type of bifurcation procedure is employed, the jury

should be informed during the first phase of tne trial that the plaintiff has made a claim

for punitive damages, but that this issue may be addressed in a second phase of the

trial after the jury has decided the issue of liability for compensatory damages.

The Committee on Special Problems has concluded that a flexible approach is

needed to resolve the problem regarding undue prejudice to defendants from the

introduction of evidence of wealth or financial condition during the phase of the trial

dealing with liability for compensatcry damages. The approaches described above

will take care of most situations, but, if they do not, the court should divide the trial in

other ways, possibly trifurcation, to avoid undue prejudice while, at the same time,

protecting the claimant's right to pursue an award of punitive damages where the

evidence would support such a claim.

J. Distribution of Punitive Awards Should Not be Diverted to Persons or Entities

Other Than the Plaintiff.

There has been much discussion regarding whether all or part of a civil punitive

award should be paid to someone other than the plaintiff®’ and, if so, whether there

should be some restriction on the plaintiff's attorney fee. The argument for distribut-

ing the award to someone or some entity other than the plaintiff is based upon the fact

that a punitive award to the plaintiff is viewed as a windfall, the plaintiff having already

been fully compensated for any actual harm suffered. At first glance, the so-called

“windfall” argument wouid seem to have some merit, but on closer examination a

number of problems arise from the suggested chance.

if the plaintiff is not entitled to receive any or a substantial part of the award, it is

argued that there will be little incentive to bring an action for punitive damages. This

would discourage lawyers from acting as “private attorneys general.” Since the trier of

fact might be persuad~d to increase the amount of noneconomic loss in the compen-

69 See tne various legislative approaches taken by different states on this subject supra n 25

19

satory award if not given the opportunity to assess punitive damages, it may be that

the proposal to distribute the award to someone other than the plaintiff could be cir-

cumvented. if this were to be the case, it might be ethically incumbent upon the plain-

tiff's attorney to seek only compensatory damages and forgo any personal or public

interest in seeking a punitive award.

Assuming that the plaintiff were permitted to share in the punitive award on some

substantial basis, problems still arise. How should the award be distributed? Is this to

be alegislative determination, or left to the court? Does the fact that a punitive award is

a “windfall” of sorts currently cause the jury, on occasion, to limit the award to an

amount smaller than might otherwise be awarded? If it is distributed to an authority

which leVies taxes, will jurors see an opportunity to relieve the taxpayer of a burden?

Even were these issues resolved, if punitive awards are limited to an amount which

does not exceed twice that of any compensatory award, as recommended in subsec-

tion D, there will be fewer situations where an unseemly windfall takes place.

On balance, the Committee has concluded that the common law has long permitted

the successful plaintiff to retain the punitive award. and that this is justifiable on the

basis that it was the p‘uintiff who went to the trouble to prosecute the matter in the first

place. The Committee does not see any real justification for changing the current

situation. Finally, there is no more reason to change the rules with regard to the

attorney-client fee arrangements in this situation than in any other area of tort

litigation.

\V. THE PROBLEM OF DUPLICATIVE PUNITIVE AWARDS FOR THE SAME ACT

OR COURSE OF CONDUCT.

The potential for multiple awards of punitive damages for tne same act or course of

conduct creates problems both for plaintiffs and defendants. From the defendant's

standpoint, there is the very real possibility that the punitive awards will be duplicative

and therefore result in punishing the defendant more than once for the same wrongful

conduct. This obviously offerds basic notions of justice. Conversely, a plaintiff runs

the risk that prior punitive awards may exhaust the defendant's resources, and that,

not only wili there be insufficient funds from which to pay the plaintiff's punitive award,

but the funds will be inadequate to pay acompensatory award. Under the current state

of affairs, some defendants have resorted to bankruptcy proceedings for protection.

Although this may be viewed as a limited form of protection, it is a drastic measure.

Moreover, it does not address the problem of duplicative awards against a solvent

defendant. In short, existing procedures are inadequate to resolve the problem satis-

factorily. Although all agree that the problem needs attention and resolution, a solu-

tion is not nearly as evident as the problem.

The Committee on Special Problems has considered a number of approaches to

the multiple awards problem. It is clear to the Committee that there is no simple solu-

tion. Thus, the Committee has decided that it should set out the various approaches

considered, in an attempt to further discussion and facilitate debate in the hope that

more efficacious approaches may eventually evolve. The Committee believes it is par-

ticularly important to follow this approach, since the American Law Institute is current-

ly engaged in two projects that would seem to encompass the multiple awards

situation. The problem of duplicative awards most frequently arises in the context of

the so-called mass tort case and involves multiparties, multiclaims, and multiforums.

Both the A.L.I. projects on complex litigation and on compensation and liability for

product and process injuries provide vehicles for addressing the multiple awards

problem. In addition, Congress has taken some steps to deal with the situation.’”°

Since these efforts are still in the initial stages, the deliberations of the Committee may

prove helpful in resolving the problem. In any event, the work of the Committee should

be recorded for those who come later to the task.

A. State Solutions

At the state level, only two attempts to address the problem of multiple awards for

the same act or course of conduct have resulted in legisiation. Georgia has adopted a

Statute prohibiting multiple recoveries against one defendant in product liability

actions filed in that state, but it has no effect on actions filed outside of the state.’' The

effect of the Georgia statute is to allow only one punitive award — the first obtained —

in that state. This award is to be deemed as sufficient punishment, regardless of the

amount. No other award for punitive damages may be made thereafter in Georgia for

the same conduct

Missouri has adopted a somewhat different approach. The Missouri statute pro-

vides for a post-trial hearing wherein a defendant may file a motion “requesting the

amount awarded by the jury as punitive damages be credited by the court with

amounts previously paid by the defendant for punitive damages arising out of the

same conduct on which the imposition of punitive damages is based.””* This ap-

proach is broader than the Georgia statute in several respects. The statute is not

limited to product liability cases, and it permits evidence of out-of-state awards, as

well as evidence of in-state awards, to reduce any award in Missouri. A subsequent

proceeding is required to determine any offset.

Both the Georgia and Missouri statutes suffer from a deficiency that presently is

inherent in any attempt to resolve the problem at the state level. Although state A may

control what goes on within its courts, it cannot control what goes on in the courts of

state B.’* Neither Georgia rior Missouri can contro! awards that are assessed in other

states, even though those awards are based on the same conduct that gave or will give

rise to liability in Georgia or Missouri. Only trials or awards in Georgia or Missouri can

be affected.

One possible solution to the interstate problem is for the National Conference of

70. Abilito amend title 28, United States Code, containing a number of features that would address

some of the aspects of the multiple awards problem. was passed by the United States House of

Representatives ‘ate in the second session of the 100tn Congress. but this part of the bill was not

passed by the Senate and did not become !aw. See Title !il/A) of H R_ 4807, 100th Cong.. 2d Sess.,

134 Cong. Rec. H7443 (Sept. 13, 1988) and 134 Cong Rec S$16284 (Oct. 14, 1988)

71. Ga. Code Ann. § 105-2002.1(e)(1) (Supp. 1988)

72. Mo Ann. Stat. § 510.263 (Vernon Supp. 1988)

73. Although a state cannot control what goes on in the federal! courts either. under current law a

federal court would probably be required to apply the Georgia or Missouri statutes, if otherwise

applicable. in diversity cases litigated in the federal ccurts because the statutes clearly affect sub-

stantive rights of the litigants See 19C Wright. A Miller & E Cooper. Federal Practice and Pro-

cedure § 4508 (1982)

——

21

Commissioness on Uniform State Laws to undertake a drafting project for the pur-

pose of achieving uniformity among the states on the subject. However, not only is this

approach problematic in terms of achieving uniformity in the near future, if ever, but it

may be complicated by the fact that a somewhat unconventional approach might have

to be employed to obtain the desired result. A type of compact or reciprocal arrange-

ment permitting cases to be transferred from one state to another might have to be

designed and utilized if there is to be but one trial of all punitive damages Claims aris-

ing out of the same act or course of conduct. In any event, the state-by-state approach,

while holding the possibility of improvement of the present situation, does not appear

to afford a complete solution, at least for the near future.

B. Federal Solutions

1. The A.B.A. National Class Action Proposal

The A.B.A. Section of Litigation has recommended that Congress enact legislation

necessary to create a national class.’* This would permit one court to obtain jurisdic-

tion and control over cases which expose a defendant to multiple punitive awards ris-

ing out of the same conduct which results in similar injuries. It would be a mandatory

class action, in that one mass federal trial on the punitive damages issue would be

binding on all concerned — those who have not sued, including those who may not yet

be injured, as well as those who are parties to pending state and federal actions.”°

State court litigants who refuse to join the class would be enjoined from pursuing

punitive awards based on the same conduct, but would be included in the distribution

of the penal award resulting from the federal litigation.”® The procedures envisioned

could be invoked upon defendant's motion and findings by the court that “there is a

reasonable possibility that adequate compensatory damages will not be available if

punitive damages are not brought under control."’’ The applicable substantive law

would be “federal common law’ as the court determines it to be after a full hearing. ”®

The proposal also addresses issues as to how the punitive award should be dis-

tributed, including the problem regarding unknown future piaintiffs.”°

Although the Committee on Special Problems is impressed with the careful thought

that has gone into the A.B.A. Litigation Section proposal and views it as a partial

improvement over the present system, it feels that other alternatives should also be

explored. The A.B.A. propesal does not appear to address the problem of multiple

awards against a solvent defendant, i.e., where the possibility of collecting adequate

compensatory damages will not be affected by punitive awards. The unfairness of

mulcting a defendant more than once for the same conduct does not diminish with the

prospect that there may be sufficient funds to pay all awards. On the contrary, the

unfairness is exacerbated. Moreover, consideration should be given to other

methods of deciding what law should apply to the substantive issues short of develop-

ing federal common-law tort rules.

74. ABA Sec Lit.gation Report, supra n 7 at 78-81

75. Id. at 80

76. /d at 81

77. Id. at79

78. id. at 80

79. Id. at 81

22

2. Multidistrict Litigation

The Committee on Special Problems considered two other federal solutions to the

multiple awards problem. First, it was suggested that Congress should enact a new

statute providing jurisdiction in the federal courts for cases involving personal! injury,

death or property damage where two or more claims or actions seeking punitive

damages are based on the same act or course of conduct of a defendant who is

engaged in or affects interstate commerce. As a further jurisdictional requirement,

the aggregate total of such claims, exclusive of claims for compensatory damages,

should exceed $50,000. The suggestion contemplates that only the individual claims

for punitive damages would be removed and consolidated, leaving other claims,

including those for compensatory damages, for trial in the courts where originally

filed. The authority of Congress to enact such legislation would rest on the powers

granted to it under the Commerce Clause® and Article III°' of the United States

Constitution.

The procedures for removing cases filed in state courts®* and the statutes regarding

multidistrict litigation in the federal courts®* would need to be amended to authorize

removal and transfer for the limited purpose of consolidating all punitive damage

claims, whether originally filed in state or federal courts, for trial in one federal forum.

Proceedings toremove, transfer, or consolidate such claims should be initiated by the

federal judicial panel on multidistrict litigation upon its own motion or by motion filed

with the panel by any party to an action which meets the jurisdictional requirements.

The transferee court should be empowered to appoint lead counsel and to implement

other measures needed to administer the litigation.

Because the jurisdiction is for multiparty, multiclaim actions, absent a legislatively

created standard, the substantive law of several states and perhaps even foreign

nations will often apply to different aspects of the litigation. Thus, the legislation

should set forth the standards to be applied in determining punitive damages or

should at least provide for a single, uniform choice-of-substantive-law procedure for

claims subject to the proposed proceeding.™ The legislation also should be drafted to

80. “TheCongress shal! have Power To requiate Commerce with foreign Nations, and among the

several States, and with the Indian Tribes: “US. Const. art. 1. § 8

81. “The judicial Power [of the United States] shall extend to all Cases, in Law and Equity, arising

under this Constitution, the Laws of the United States. and Treaties made. or which shall be made,

under their Authority, "US. Const art. Ill, § 2

82. 28USC. § 1441 et seq. (1983)

83. 28USC. § 1407 (1983)

84 Currently choice-of-law questions in so-called mass tort cases in the federal courts are determined

under state law. Van Dusen v. Barrack. 376 US. 612 (1964); Klaxon Co. v. Stentor Electric

Manufacturing Co..313 US 487 (1941); Erie RR. v. Tompkins, 304 US. 64 (1938). See Atwood.

The Choice-of-Law Dilemma in Mass Tort Litigation’ Kicking Around Erie. Klaxon, and Van

Dusen, 19 Conn. L. Rev. 9 (1986). It is contemplated that the choice of law provision in the pro-

posed legislation would involve the development and application of a body of substantive federal

law. Arguably this could satisfy the requirement that there be a federal question in order to sustair

jurisdiction in the federal courts through the ‘Arising Under’ clause of Article Ill of the United

States Constitution See Verlinden BV. v. Central Bank of Nigeria, 461 US. 480(1983): Osborn v

Bank of United States. 9 Wheat. 738 (1824) The adoption of a federal standard for determining

punitive awards would more clearly satisfy this constitutional requirement

23

preserve the concept of forum non conveniens to avoid attracting cases from all over

the world to American courts when such cases would be more appropriately resolved

in a foreign forum. There are a number of other matters that would need to be

addressed, but this provides an outline of the basic features.

3. Interpleader

The Committee considered an alternative solution to the multiple awards problem

which wouid require a new federal statute patterned after 28 U.S.C. § 1335, the federal

interpleader statute. The proposed legislation would empower a federal district court,

upon petition or motion by either a plaintiff who has filed an action seeking a punitive

award or a defendant against whom an action for a punitive award has been filed, to

adjudicate the issues involved in the multiple awards problem regardless of the court

in which the claim or action was originally filed. The trial of the tort action in which the

punitive award is sought would be carried out in the court in which it was originally filed

or to which it was otherwise transferred or removed. The trial of the tort case would not

be enjoined. However, the federa! court in which the interpleader action was filed

would have the authority to enjoin® the enforcement of any judgment containing an

award for punitive damages and to remove or transfer jurisdiction of that part of the

judgment to the federal court. Thus, any judgment which contains an award of puni-

tive damages would be the possible subject of interpleader if the jurisdictional

criteria exist.

in order for the federal court to exercise jurisdiction, the plaintiff seeking inter-

pleader would be required to allege, by petition or motion, facts which show that there

is areasonable probability that the plaintiff will not be able to satisfy a judgment for the

punitive award because the defendant's assets will be depleted by other claims for

punitive awards arising out of the same act or course of conduct upon which the plain-

tiff's claim is based. A defendant against whom an action for a punitive award has been

filed also could invoke the jurisdiction of the federal court upon a showing on the same

grounds, i.e., that assets are insufficient to pay all claims. In addition, the defendant

may invoke the jurisdiction of the federal court by alleging that two or more actions for

punitive damages are based on the same act or course of conduct and that any such

awards will be duplicative.

The current federal interpleader statute has a very low amount in controversy

requirement and only requires minimal diversity of citizenship, i.e., diversity between

two adverse parties.®° These, or similar provisions in the new legislation, would suffice

to provide jurisdiction for most cases involving the problems sought to be addressed.

Where minimal diversity does not exist because al! parties are citizens of the same

State, there is agood chance all suits would he filed in the courts of that state and in that

event be subject to consolidation or interpleader under the rules of those courts.

Where all parties are citizens of one state, but some suits are filed in other states, the

defendant could argue forum non conveniens.

Even though most cases would fall within diversity-of-citizenship jurisdiction, the

85. This authority snould be expressly set out in the legislation so that no question is raised under the

federal Anti Injunction Act, § 28 US C. 2283 (1982)

86. 28USC § 1335(a) (1983)

24

Committee on Special Problems considered whether federal question jurisdiction

would be'the preferable route, as in the multidistrict proposal.®’ Not only would federal

question jurisdiction assure that all cases would be covered, but it would be necessary

to set out certain substantive matters in the interpleader legislation in any event. The

legislation should prescribe how the federal court shall determine whether multiple

awards are duplicative and on what basis and when judgments for punitive awards

may be satisfied. The court also should be authorized to hold some funds in reserve or

otherwise assure that there wil! be assets available to satisfy claims of future plaintiffs.

The basis for such a determination should be set out in the statute. Arguably, this

would provide the basis for federal jurisdiction.*®

4. Comparing the Federal Solutions

The basic difference between the federal proposals involves the forum of the trial of

the punitive damages Claims. In the multidistrict approach, there would be one mass

trial on the punitive damages claim in one federal court, because all cases could be

removed from state courts and consolidated in one federal court. Although the

national class action approach of the A.B.A. would leave those who refuse to join the

class in the courts that would otherwise have jurisdiction, all would be bound by the

r.« ‘in the federal court. Under the interpleader approach, the trials of the tort

2 S, including the punitive damages claim would take place in the various courts

** t would otherwise have jurisdiction. Arguably, there would be much less incon-

venience to plaintiffs regarding the trial of the tort cases under the interpleader pro-

posal. Also, there would be no need for federal courts to have to involve themselves in

new choice-of-law problems as the federal court would merely enjoin the execution of

the punitive portion of the judgment. Since the punitive award does not go to compen-

sate victims, the fact that there may be delays in distributing it should not work any

hardship. Plaintiffs could nevertheless proceed to satisfy judgments regarding the

compensatory awards. On the other hand, the interpleader approach may require a

hearing, if not atrial, to determine whether the various punitive awards resulted from

the same act or course of conduct. It may also require a hearing or trial on the issue of

whether the awards are duplicative. Both the multidistrict proposal and the inter-

pleader proposal may avoid the creation of federal common law regarding substan-

tive tort rules whereas the national class action approach, at least as proposed by the

A.B.A., contemplates some federalization of tort law. None of the proposals is perfect,

but the problems may be resolved through further study.

C. The Preferred Approach

Although the problem of duplicative awards of punitive damages for the same actor

course of conduct is a difficult one, the Committee has come to certain conclusions.

First, a federal solution would appear to be preferable to a state-by-state enactment of

a uniform or model act, because there is no assurance that every state would adopt

such an act and, even if every state did, the time period that it would take to achieve

near uniformity would far exceed that which Congress would require to act on the mat-

ter. Moreover, itis not clear to the Committee that the problems involved can be effec-

tively addressed at the state level. There does not appear to be any conventional

87 Seesupran 84

88 Seesuprann 804 81

25

mechanism by which the states could cause cases filed in other states or the federal

courts to be consolidated in a particular state court. Although the states might enter

into some compact or reciprocal agreement that would permit all cases filed in the

courts of the participating states to be transferred to a particular court in one of the

states, this sort of arrangement would not reach cases filed in the federal courts unless

Congress enacted legislation to effect such a result. The Committee believes that if

Congress has to act, it might as well opt for a solution that would utilize the federal

court system. The federal system already provides an existing structure and rules that

are near uniform throughout the country and would appear to provide a better

mechanism to handle the problems than a wholly new, if not novel, mechanism at the

state level.

Of the federal solutions discussed above, the Committee prefers an approach that

requires all litigants to appear in the same forum. There should be no opportunity to

opt-out. This would avoid litigation subsequent to the mass trial to determine if those

who opted out should be bound by the results. There would be no question that those

who were parties to the multidistrict case would be bound. Any disputes as to who isa

proper party should be resolved initially, not after the trial. The Committee also favors

a federal choice-of-law ruie, or perhaps even a federal standard, for determining

punitive damages in tort cases that would be subject to the mass trial in a federal court.

At the very least, the federal court should not be required to apply state

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.