Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Pacific Mutual Life Insurance v. Haslip

Supreme Court brief1991

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Sunreme Court, V26«

\ | |

89-1279, FILED

a i} eg 7 Be

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR,

IN THE GrERK

Supreme Court of the Hnited-Stetes

OcTOBER TERM, 1989

PACIFIC MUTUAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY,

Petitioner,

vs.

CLEOPATRA HASLIP, CYNTHIA CRAIG,

ALMA M. CALHOUN and EDDIE HALGROVE,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF ALABAMA

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Of Counsel: BRUCE A. BECKMAN

VICKI W.W. LAI Counsel of Record

ADAMS DUQUE & HAZELTINE ADAMS DUQUE & HAZELTINE

523 West Sixth Street 523 West Sixth Street

Los Angeles, California 90014 Los Angeles, California 90014

(213) 620-1240 213) 620-1240

OLLIE L. BLAN, Jr. J. MARK HART

BERT S. NETTLES SPAIN, GILLON, GROOMS,

SPAIN, GILLON, GROOMS, BLAN & NETTLES

BLAN & NETTLES. 2117 Second Avenue North

2117 Second Avenue North Birmingham, Alabama 35203

Birmingham, Alabama 35203 (205) 328-4100

(205) 328-4100

Attorneys for Petitioner

Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Company

Lawyers Brief Service / Légal Printers / (213) 383-4457 / (714) 720-1510

oy PP

ie

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The following questions are presented by the Petition

for Writ of Certiorari:

1. Whether Alabama Law, as applied below, violates

Due Process by allowing the jury to award punitive

damages as a matter of “moral discretion,” without ade-

quate standards as to the amount necessary to punish and

deter and without a necessary relationship to the amount

of actual harm caused.

2. Whether Alabama law violated Pacific Mutual’s

right to Due Process under the Fourteenth Amendment

by allowing punitive damages to be awarded against it

under a respondeat superior theory.

3. Whether the amount of punitive damages in this

case was excessive, in violation of Pacific Mutual’s Due

Process right to be free of grossly excessive, dispropor-

tionate damages awards.

4. Whether the suit below, although nominally civil,

must be considered criminal in nature as to the punitive

damages awarded therein, entitling Pacific Mutual to

protection under the Fifth, Sixth and Fourteenth Amend-

ments to the United States Constitution.

5. Whether Alabama law discriminates against those

defendants subjected to open-ended punitive damages by

limiting the amount of such damages which may be

awarded against other classes of defendants, without

rational basis.

6. Whether the constitutional defects in the award of

punitive damages against Pacific Mutual were cured by

judicial review and the potential for a remittur.

=

RULE 29.1 STATEMENT

Pursuant to Rule 29.1 of the Rules of this Court, peti-

tioner Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Company states that

it is a California mutual insurance company. It has no

parent company, nonwholly owned subsidiary or

affiliate.

- ili -

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

es i

yy re ii

TAmee GF AUTHORITIES. .........cccceees Vili

db obs p ects ecceseces 1

ee kes awed cen seccccces l

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED..................0-. l

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

ce eo ccc ce ses cece cccess 2

CME MEMO... ccc cscs es cccees 3

EE ee ee 3

es cee ose skeet e nee ees 3

3. Pacific Mutual’s Appeal............... 4

4. The Decision of the Alabama

TC cos kee ec ecscesccceces 4

5. Pacific Mutual’s Petition for Rehearing .. .4

C. STATEMENT OF FACTS................. 4

1. Respondents’ Prior Coverage........... 4

. Mr. Ruffin’s Solicitation .............. 4

3. Pacific Mutual Did Not Issue Group

as ks tee eee eee 5

- iv -

4. The Separate Applications to Union

Fidelity and Pacific Mutual......... ;

5. Issuance of the Separate Health

CE cc du ck aseuscteues

6. Pacific Mutual’s Agents’ Contract

Forbade Mr. Ruffin’s Conduct .......

7. Cancellation of Union Fidelity’s

Ee eee

Haslip’s Hospitalization............

“PRED Gn ct ke edhe sencceaus

ae SE rarer

A SC 6 seep ek deen cease y as

oo

c. The Punitive Damage Jury

RE ESE cao ne Meee Da

G wees 6 os bs bia ee eee

e. Pacific Mutual’s Appeal ........

f. The Alabama Supreme Court

RN I Pe laa Re UML AL

g. Pacific Mutual’s Petition for

CE eee Tee

REASONS FOR GRANTING THIS PETITION.. .11

I.

ALABAMA LAW, AS HERE APPLIED,

AND PUNITIVE DAMAGES DOCTRINE

GENERALLY, VIOLATES DUE PROC-

ESS BY ALLOWING THE JURY TO

AWARD PUNITIVE DAMAGES AS A

MATTER OF “MORAL DISCRETION,”

WITHOUT ADEQUATE STANDARDS

AS TO THE AMOUNT NECESSARY TO

PUNISH AND DETER AND WITHOUT

A NECESSARY RELATIONSHIP TO

THE AMOUNT OF ACTUAL HARM

GE Ro vc Neweeepeadeebeuneteuees

ae

Il.

Ill.

IV.

ALABAMA LAW VIOLATED PACIFIC

MUTUAL’S RIGHT TO DUE PROCESS

UNDER THE FOURTEENTH AMEND-

MENT, BY ALLOWING PUNITIVE

DAMAGES TO BE AWARDED

AGAINST IT UNDER A RESPONDEAT

SUPERIOR THEORY ..cccccccccccsces

A. Respondeat Superior Is Not a Constitu-

tionally Permissible Basis for the

Imposition of Punitive Damages......

THE AMOUNT OF THE AWARD OF

PUNITIVE DAMAGES IN THIS CASE

WAS EXCESSIVE, IN VIOLATION

OF PACIFIC MUTUAL’S DUE PRO-

CESS RIGHT TO BE FREE OF

GROSSLY EXCESSIVE, DISPROPOR-

TIONATE DAMAGES AWARDS.......

THE SUIT BELOW, ALTHOUGH

NOMINALLY CIVIL, MUST BE CON-

SIDERED CRIMINAL IN NATURE

AS TO THE PUNITIVE DAMAGES

AWARDED THEREIN, ENTITLING

PACIFIC MUTUAL TO PROTECTION

UNDER THE FIFTH, SIXTH AND FOUR-

TEENTH AMENDMENTS TO_ THE

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION.....

A. The Controlling Test Established by

_ the United States Supreme Court .....

Page

-Vil-

B. In Alabama, Punitive Damages Are

Expressly Imposed for Punishment

and Deterrence and Therefore Meet

the Mendoza-Martinez Test .........

C. The Fact That Punitive Damages Are

Sought in These Cases by Private

Plaintiffs, Rather Than the Govern-

ment. Does Not Prevent the Actions

fr Seing Deemec Criminal in

.\W DISCRIMINATES

- DEFENDANTS SUB-

=\-ENDED PUNITIVE

DAMA LIMITING THE

\MOLNT OF SUCH DAMAGES WHICH

MAY BE AWARDED AGAINST OTHER

CLASSES OF DEFENDANTS, WITH-

OUT RATIONAL, Tes ssc sc cceneces

VI. THE CONSTITUTIONAL DEFECTS IN

THE AWARD OF PUNITIVE DAMAGES

AGAINST PACIFIC MUTUAL IN THIS

CASE WERE NOT CURED BY JUDI-

CIAL REVIEW AND THE POTENTIAL

a Rg PTT TE eee

| _ ER TREE RE CTECCUCETTE ECC CTS

-

Page

- Vil -

LIST OF APPENDICES

APPENDIX A

OPINION, JEFFERSON COUNTY CIR-

CUIT COURT, DATED DECEMBER 11,

PE Gases crises epee hue ihennee cas

APPENDIX B

OPINION, SUPREME COURT OF

ALABAMA, RELEASED SEPTEMBER

SG EE bas bveckbadutus suwdeseuwas<

APPENDIX C

ORDER DENYING REHEARING BY

THE SUPREME COURT OF ALABAMA,

~ DATED NOVEMBER 9, 1989...........

APPENDIX D

ORDER DENYING A~ PETITION FOR

STAY BY THE SUPREME COURT OF

ALABAMA, DATED DECEMBER 6,

Pee UTeRe TT Tere eT Te eee

APPENDIX E

ORDERS GRANTING STAY BY THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED

STATES, DATED DECEMBER 22, 1989

AND JANUARY 8, 1990...............

Page

- Vill -

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases

Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Lavoie

470 So.2d 1060 (Ala. 1985) ..... cc cceveees 23

Aetna Life Insurance Co. v. Lavoie

ok 8 Eee ee ee 12

American Scciety of M.E.’s v. Hydrolevel Corp.

RR rr eee 18

Autrey v. Blue Cross & Blue Shield Of Alabama

4SB1 SO.28 S45 CARB. IFES)... ccccccesccesss 17

Badgett v. McDonald

re ee ee I RUD oc cc tc wen een wena 23

Bankers Life & Casualty Co. v. Crenshaw

Pe 6-6 6 nea e deen es woe 12, 13

Bell v. Wolfish

og Rt RTT ee eee eT eee 23

Browning-Ferris Industries Of Vermont v.

Kelco Disposal, Inc. 10, 11, 13

492 U.S. __, 109 S.Ct. 2909 (1989). .... 14, 16, 20

Coates v. City of Cincinnati

— 3 2 eee 13, 15

Devlin v. Kearny Mesa AMC/Jeep/Renault, Inc.

155 Cal.App.3d 381 (1984).............. 14, 15

- ix 7

Page

Dunn v. Blumstein

ee ee er ie 26

Electrical Workers v. Foust

ee ed oh 4 kes beee enue 12

Furman v. Georgia

ns on a ad ee 28

Gertz v. Welch

418 U.S. 323 (1974), cert. denied,

ewe ae 68 we 12

Greenbelt Coop. Publishing Assn. v. Bresler

UR I 2 oe Go a tag 28, 29

Gregg v. Georgia

I: GR a on bea Oe wae wes eee 21

Hammond v. City of Gadsden

GES BOA US TO CR TOD 6o ccc eccccccwces 27

Henderson v. Croom

403 F. Supp. 668 (N.D. Ala. 1975) ........... 18

In Re Paris Air Crash

622 F.2d 1315 (9th Cir. 1980), cert. denied,

eS ate waa te eae 24

In Re Winship

i oa kd dng 6g kw eed oe ee 24

Jenkins v. Werger

564 F. Supp. 806 (D. Wyo. 1983) ............ 15

Kennedy v. Mendoza- Martinez

eS 4 PPT ePerreLrerTe

Kollender v. Lawson

oP ee

Lake Shore & Southern Michigan

Railway Co. v. Prentice

Pe Ses Oe ROE 6 vec oneewesnenens

Massachusetts Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Russell

ee eM ot | ere ee

Mathews v. Eldridge

oe Be rare

McGuffie v. Transworld Drilling Co.

625 F.Supp. 369 (W.D. La. 1985).......

National States Ins. Co. v. Jones

393 So.2d 1361 (Ala. 1980) ...........

Police Dept. of Chicago v. Moseley

ee Sls Pe GOVE ook aoe cseee coxue

Rosener v. Sears, Roebuck & Co.

110 Cal.App.3d 740 (1980), app. dism’d,

Ge Gr DUPE COED occ cceseccscunns

Smith v. Gaquen

oR rere er er ere

Smith v. Wade

oe | ee ere

-xi-

Page

Solem v. Helm

ee es Se OE oe kao eG eRe wes beeen 21

Tele-Communications of Key West, Inc.

v. United States

re ye Ok yi oe Ae. | 26

The Amiable Nancy

16 U.S. (3 Wheaton) 546 (1818) ............. 19

Trop v. Dulles

BE, UE sob cascevacetesanusbeeer 21

2-D’s Logging, Inc. v. Weyerhauser Co.

og we Eh FR) ee 28

U.S. v. Halper

490 U.S. __, 109 S.Ct. 1892 (1989)........... 21

United States Ex. Rel. Marcus v. Hess

ee a ee Ee 8s % x6 ob ks hee ee ROS 21, 24

United States Constitution

, < Saaremaa eruerrct 26

ET aa ye

ee oh 1, 21, 23, 26

ola Sa de ba eo oe as y ee

ID 6 0 45 ka ku acdeees vache seer 10, 23

Fourteenth Amendment ... 2, 10, 16, 19, 21, 22, 25, 26

- Xli -

Page

Statutes

Be Sees SEED BRPOUED 6 0 8 osc ces weneet cence ]

42 U.S.C. Section 1983 (1976 Ed., Supp. IV)....... 12

Publications

Owen, “Punitive Damages in Products

Liability Litigation,”

ee 1]

Restatement, Agency §217c, Comment C, ......... 18

Wheeier, “The Constitutional Case for

Reforming Punitive Damages,”

fe OR ot errr eres ee 25

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Company (“Pacific Mutual”)

respectfully petitions for a writ of certiorari to review the

judgment of the Supreme Court of Alabama in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Jefferson County Circuit Court is un-

reported [App., infra, Al-A16]. The opinion of the Supreme

Court of Alabama [App., infra, B1-B16] is reported as Pacific

Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Cleopatra Haslip, et al., No. 87-482

(Sept. 15, 1989) (to be reported at 553 So.2d 537 (1989)).

JURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

Section 1251(a).

The judgment of the Supreme Court of Alabama was en-

tered on September 15, 1989. A timely petition for rehearing

was denied on November 9, 1989 [App., infra, Cl], and a

petition for stay was denied on Dec. 6, 1989 [App., infra, D1).

On December 22, 1989 Justice Kennedy issued an order grant-

ing Pacific Mutual’. application for stay, which was con-

firmed by the full Court on January 8, 1990. [App., infra, E1.]

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

1. The Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution

provides in relevant part:

“No person shall ... be subject for the same

offense to be twice put in jeopardy of life or limb;

nor shall be compelled in any criminal case to be a

witness against himself, nor be deprived of life,

= ee

liberty or property, without due process of law; nor

shall private property be taken for public use, witn-

Out just compensation.”

2. The Sixth Amendment to the United States Constitution

provides:

“In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall

enjoy the right to a speedy and public trial, by an

impartial jury of the state and district where the

crime shall have been committed, which district

shall have been previously ascertained by law, and

to be informed of the nature and cause of the accusa-

tion; to be confronted with true witnesses against

him; to have compulsory process for obtaining

witnesses in his favor and to have the assistance of

counsel for his defense.

The Fourteenth Amendment, Section 1 of the United States

Constitution provides in relevant par:

“.. No state shall make or enforce any law which

shall abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens

of the United States; Nor shall any State deprive any

person of life, liberty, or property, without due

process of law; nor deny to any person within its

jurisdiction the equal proiection of the laws.”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. THE PARTIES

Petitioner is Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Company

(“Pacific Mutual’’).

Respondents Cleopatra Haslip, Cynthia Craig, Alma Cal-

houn and Eddie Hargrove (‘respondents’) are employees of

the City of Roosevelt (“the City”) in the State of Alabama.

Respondents were participants in an insurance plan sponsored

by the City in which Pacific Mutual provided individual life

insurance coverage.

= *

B. THE ACTION BELOW

Respondents’ action against Pacific Mutual involved a suit

seeking punitive damages for the misconduct of one of Pacific

Mutual’s soliciting agents, Lemmie L. Ruffin, Jr. (“Mr. Ruf-

fin”), who at the time of the alleged acts was acting on behalf

of another company, Union Fidelity Life Insurance Company

(“Union Fidelity”) with respect to a health insurance policy

issued by Union Fidelity, not Pacific Mutual.

1. The Complaint

On May 25, 1982 respondents filed their complaint against

Pacific Mutual and Mr. Ruffin in the Jefferson County Circuit

Court. The complaint claimed damages against Pacific

Mutual and Mr. Ruffin for (1) fraud, (2) breach of contract

and (3) “bad faith.” [CT 4-11.]! Mr. Ruffin and Pacific

Mutual filed separate Answers. [CT 19, 21.] Later, counsel

for Mr. Ruffin filed a Motion to Withdraw which was granted

on June 21, 1984. From that time on Mr. Ruffin was not

represented by counsel and did not appear at any subsequent

proceedings, including the trial. [CT 24.]

Respondents’ complaint was amended several times.

[CT 12-14, 66-67.} Pacific Mutual filed timely answers to

each amended complaint, raising additional defenses and

broad based constitutional challenges to an award of punitive

damages. [CT 199-205, 225.]

2. The Trial

At trial, the issue of fraud was submitted to the jury.

Pacific Mutual was found vicariously liable for the acts

committed by Mr. Ruffin. On August 7, 1987, the jury ren-

dered a verdict for respondents in the amount of $1,077,978.

[CT 342-43.] Pacific Mutual timely filed motions for a new

| The Clerk’s Transcript will hereinafter be designated as “CT.”

The Reporter’s Transcript of the proceeding will hereinafter be

designated as “RT.”

wie

trial or, clternatively, a judgment notwithstanding the verdict.

The motions were denied by the trial court. [CT 344.]

3. Pacific Mutual’s Appeal

Pacific Mutual appealed) [CT 345-350.j] The matter was

briefed, and argued on November 22, 1988. Post-argument

letter briefs were submittea vy both sides at the request of the

court. Pacific Mutual raised its constitutional challenges to

an award of punitive damages at the answer stage, preserved

such issues at trial and vigorously advanced those issues on

appeal, in its briefs, at oral argument, in the post-trial letter

briefs and in its petition for rehearing.

4. The Decision of the Alabama Supreme Court

The Alabama Supreme Court filed its decision affirming

the judgment below, and rejecting Pacific Mutual’s federal

constitutional challenges to the punitive damages award on

September 15, 1989. [App., infra, B1-B16.] Two dissenting

justices voted to vacate the punitive damages award on con-

stitutional grounds.

5. Pacific Mutual’s Petition for Rehearing

Pacific Mutual filed a timely petition for rehearing in the

Alabama Supreme Court. The Alabama Supreme Court denied

the petition by an order dated November 9, 1989. [App.,

infra, C1.)

C. STATEMENT OF FACTS

1. Respondents’ Prior Coverage

Respondents are employees of the City of Rooseve't. The

City allowed its employees to purchase a group health insur-

ance policy through the municipality. A policy originally is-

sued by Blue Cross/Blue Shield (“Blue Cross’) was cancelled

sometime before 1981. [RT 92.]

2. Mr. Ruffin’s Solicitation

Sometime in 1981, Mr. Ruffin, who was then a soliciting

agent for both Pacific Mutual and Union Fidelity, forwarded a

ce.

mail solicitation to the City asking if it was interested in

discussing insurance. [RT 431.] The City stated it was. [/d.]

Mr. Ruffin later met with the City’s mayor, city attorney

and city clerk. [RT 131, 433.] Mr. Ruffin presented his Pacific

Mutual business card and discussed the City’s interest in

obtaining health and life insurance. [RT 93, 96, 98-99, 429. ]

3. Pacific Mutual Did Not Issue Group Health Policies

While Pacific Mutual issued individual life policies to City

employees. it did not underwrite group health insurance poli-

cies for municipalities. [RT 429, 442.] Pacific Mutual did,

however, allow its agents to broker business with other insur-

ance companies. [RT 469.] Mr. Ruffin at that time was also a

licensed agent of Union Fidelity. Union Fidelity, a separate

and distinct company from Pacific. Mutual, did issue group

health insurance to municipalities. [RT 262-63.]

4. The Separate Applications to Union Fidelity and

Pacific Mutual

Mr. Ruffin submitted a proposal to the City indicating he

would place life insurance with Pacific Mutual and health

insurance with Union Fidelity. [RT 219-20, 221, 283, 312-16,

335.]} Ti. City approved the proposals, and on August 19,

1981, Mr. Ruffin completed separate applications for the City

and its employees for group health coverage with Union

Fidelity and individual life policies with Pacific Mutual. [RT

219-21, 283, 312-16, 335.] Mr. Ruffin then submitted the

City’s application for health insurance to Union Fidelity. The

City’s application for life insurance was submitted to Pacific

Mutual. Pacific Mutual and Union Fidelity are separate com-

panies without any affiliation. [RT 262-60.]

5. Issuance of the Separate Health and Life Policies

Union Fidelity approved the health application and issued

group health policy to the City effective September 1, 1981.

[RT 255.] Union Fidelity iater confirmed the health coverage

by letter with the city clerk. [RT 138-139.) Pacific Mutual

approved the applications for individual life insurance and

x

began issuing life insurance coverage to the City’s employees.

The premium checks for both ihe life and health insurance

policies were collected by Mr. Ruffin. [RT 115-16, 141-42.]

6. Pacific Mutual’s Agents’ Contract Forbade

Mr. Ruffin’s Conduct

Mr. Ruffin arranged with Union Fidelity to have premiums

and other notices for the group health insurance to be sent to

him at his office in the Pacific Mutual branch office in Bir-

mingham. This practice, as to Pacific Mutual, was forbidden

under Mr. Ruffin’s sales agent’s contract with Pacific Mutual.

[RT 841.] It appears that Mr. Ruffin failed to remit premiums

received by him from the City to Union Fidelity, and Union

Fidelity sent lapse notices to respondents through Mr. Ruffin,

who did not forward them to respondents. [RT 724-25, 837.)

Pacific Mutual’s agent in charge of the Birmingham office,

Patrick Lupia, was also licensed with Union Fidelity and other

companies. There was testimony that Mr. Lupia was aware

that Mr. Ruffin was having the Union Fidelity notices sent to

him at the Pacific Mutual office. Mr. Lupia denied this, but

the jury apparently disbelieved him. [RT 724-75].

7. Cancellation of Union Fidelity’s Health Coverage

In the fall of 1981, the Union Fidelity health coverage for

the City was cancelled. Shortly thereafter, Mr. Ruffin at-

tempted to obtain replacement health insurance coverage for

the City’s employees. [RT 472-75, 478-79.] He submitted an

application therefor to John Alden Company, apparently an

independent insurance broker for Union Fidelity. [RT 455,

456, 479.] Mr. Ruffin’s deposition testimony, which was read

at trial, was that he continued to collect the health portion of

the premiums so that he would have the premium money to

submit to the replacement carrier. [RT 454.] An application

for health insurance was submitted by Mr. Ruffin to John

Alden. Mr. Ruffin received preliminary approval and was

assigned a case number. [RT 455, 456-58.] However, before

a policy was ever issued, respondent Cleopatra Haslip was

hospitalized. [/d.}

«¥.

8. Haslip’s Hospitalization

Haslip was hospitalized for a kidney infection on January

23, 1982 before a replacement policy was ever issued. [RT

455, 456-58.] Haslip incurred $2,500 in hospital bills. Be-

cause the hospital could not confirm insurance coverage it

required her to pay a cash sum toward her final bill upon her

discharge. The hospital records for Haslip’s hospitalization

do not list Pacific Mutual as the insurer, but instead list an-

other company, Commercial Insurance Company. A claim for

the hospitalization was never filed with Pacific Mutual. [RT

235.]

Mr. Ruffin tes*ified that Haslip called him after her dis-

charge, angered about having to write a check to the hospital

and demanded her premium payment back. [RT 458-60, 480.]

With the deletion of Haslip, there were not enough participat-

ing employees for issuance of the replacement policy, so

Union Fidelity issued a premium refund check to Mr. Ruffin,

which he said he tendered to the city clerk. [RT 460.]

9. The Litigation

a. The Complaint

Respondents commenced this action on May 25, 1982 in

the Jefferson Circuit Court alleging that Mr. Ruffin collected

premiums but failed to remit them to the insurers so that

respondents’ coverage lapsed without their knowledge. The

complaint claimed damages against Pacific Mutual and Mr.

Ruffin for fraud, breach of contract and bad faith. [CT 4-11.]

Union Fidelity was not named as a defendant. On June 22,

1982 respondents amended the complaint to add claims for the

tort of outrage. Respondents later amended the complaint to

further restate claims for fraud and conspiracy. [CT 66-67.]

Pacific Mutual filed timely answers to each complaint raising

affirmative defenses including constitutional challenges to an

award of punitive damages. [CT 199-205, 225.]

b. The Trial

The case was submitted to the jury on respondents’ fraud

claims on both the health and life insurance policies against

Pacific Mutual. The trial court charged the jury that it could

impose liability for fraud on Pacific Mutual if Mr. Ruffin

knew the representation was false or should have known it was

false, suggesting an impermissible negligence standard. [RT

885-86.)

c. The Punitive Damage Jury Instructions

Following the trial court’s charge on the issue of liability,

the jury was instructed that once it determined there was

liability for fraud, it could award punitive damages in its

discretion. The court charged as follows:

“Damages is a money award which the law says

you should award the plaintiffs. One, to reasonably

compensate that plaintiff for the loss that he sus-

tained. Two, in the case of fraud, if you find fraud,

you may at your discretion award what is known as

punitive damages.

x* * *

“Now, if you find that fraud was perpetrated ‘then

in addition to compensatory damages you may in

your discretion, when I use the word discretion, I

say you don’t have to even find fraud, you wouldn't

have to, but you may, the law says you may award

an amount of money known as punitive damages.

“This amount of money is awarded to the plain-

tiff but is not to compensate the plaintiff for any

injury. It is to punish the defendant. Punitive means

to punish or it is also called exemplary damages,

which means to make an example. So, if you feel or

not feel, but if you are reasonably satisfied from the

evidence that the plaintiff, whatever plaintiff you

are talking about, has had a fraud perpetrated upon

them and as a direct result they were injured and in

fin

addition to compensatory damages you may in your

discretion award punitive damages.

“Should you award punitive damages, in fixing

the amount, you must take into consideration the

character and degree of the wrong as shown by the

evidence and the necessity of preventing similar

wrongs.” [RT 895, 897-98.]

d. The Verdict

On August 7, 1987 the jury rendered a verdict in favor of

each of the respondents and determined:

(i) Pacific Mutual was held liable for Mr. Ruffin’s acts

under the doctrine of respondeat superior. Mr. Ruffin was

found to have been acting within the course and scope of his

employment with Pacific Mutual when he committed the acts

at issue in the instant suit;

(ii) Mr. Ruffin had not abandoned his agency relationship

with Pacific Mutual; and

(iii) Mr. Ruffin acted fraudulently.

Pacific Mutual was fined over $1,000,000 for the acts

committed by Mr. Ruffin on behalf of Union Fidelity.

Respondents were awarded the following amounts:

Cleopatra Haslip — $1,040,000;7

Cynthia Craig — $12,400;

Alma Calhoun — $15,290;

Eddie Hargrove — $10,288.

[CT 342-43.]

Pacific Mutual timely filed a Motion for New Trial, or in

the Alternative, Judgment Notwithstanding the Verdict, which

was denied on December 11, 1987. [CT 344.]

2 Mrs. Haslip’s claim was as to the Union Fidelity health insurance

policy. Pacific Mutual was therefore fined on a respondeat superior

basis with respect to insurance it did not issue.

_ -

e. Pacific Mutual’s Appeal

Pacific Mutual raised a number of state law grounds of

error, and raised each of the constitutional arguments regard-

ing the award of punitive damages set forth in the Questions

Presented section, above.

f. The Alabama Supreme Court Decision

The Alabama Supreme Court, in a 5 to 2 decision, upheld

the award against Pacific Mutual, and filed its decision affirm-

ing the judgment below on September 15, 1989.

With respect to Pacific Mutual’s constitutional challenges

to the punitive damages award, the court held that:

(1) The Excessive Fines Clause of the Eighth Amendment

does not apply to punitive dam: es awards in cases between

private parties under Browning-Ferris Industries Of Vermont

v. Kelco Disposal, Inc.; 492 U.S. __, 109 S.Ct. 2909 (1989);

(2) The Alabama Supreme Court had previously rejected

the remaining constitutional arguments submitted by Pacific

Mutual in past decisions;

(3) The guidelines previously adopted by tne court to be

used by tral courts in reviewing punitive damages awards

requiring the trial judge to reflect on the record his or her

reasons for either interfering or not interfering with a jury's

verdict, provided sufficient guidelines and protections against

improper jury awards. |App., infra, B1-B16.]}

(4) The Dissent

Justice Maddox and Justice Steagall of the Alabama

Supreme Court voted to vacate the punitive damages award,

finding that the punitive damages award in this case violated

the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment. They

also concluded that Alabama’s judicial review processes did

not cure the violation. [App., infra, B14-B16.]

g. Pacific Mutual’s Petition for Rehearing

A timely petition for rehearing was filed by Pacifi¢ Mutual

further addressing the constitutional validity of punitive

damages, citing the concurrences in Browning-Ferris

~~

Industries Of Vermont v. Kelco Disposal, Inc., 492 U.S. _.,

109 S.Ct. 2909 (1989). The Alabama Supreme Court denied

that petition by an order dated November 9, 1989. [App.,

infra, C1.]

REASONS FOR GRANTING THIS PETITION

Over approximately the past fifteen years, punitive dam-

ages have changed from a seldom-used remedy reserved for

cases of intentional injury and actual malice, involving a

strong element of outrageous behavior, to a commonplace part

of virtually every tort action, products liability case (even

those based upon strict liability), and in many breach of con-

tract cases, based upon an allegation of “bad faith,” tortious

breach. Perhaps most perniciously, in these days of “Rembo

litigation,” punitive damages are frequently sought in “defen-

sive’ ceunter-claims raised in an effort to deprive plaintiffs of

their day in court through the in terrorem effect of the cost of

defense and the unpredictable, discretionary nature of these

awards.

This explosion of punitive damages claims has (i) rapidly

escalated both the number and the size of these awards, (ii)

expanded the types of actions in which they are awarded, most

notably into contract cases, and (iii) changed the criteria

justifying such awards. The requirement of actual malicious,

Outrageous behavior with evil intent has been replaced by

“conscious” or “reckless” disregard of the rights of others.

The situation has so changed that an advocate of such

damages, if properly controlled, Professor Owen, in “Punitive

Damages in Products Liability Litigation,” 49 U.Chi.L.Rev. 1

(1982), wrote, conceming multimiliion dollar awards, at

page 6: :

“Such awards have become well accepted in

principle, and my concern is now that large awards

of this type are becoming almost common....

Large assessments of punitive damages may not yet

be a major threat to the continued viability of most

-.

manufacturing concems, but the increasing number

and size of such awards may fairly raise concern

for the future stability of American industry.”

{Emphasis added. }

As shown by the award against Pacific Mutual in this case,

juries, and reviewing trial and appellate courts, have free and

untrammelled discretion regarding whether and how much to

punish.

Justice Elkington, in Rosener v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 110

Cal.App.3d 740 (1980), app. dism’d, 450 U.S. 1051 (1981)

Stated this matter succinctly, at page 759:

“Placing unrestricted power in a jury to direct

punishment for “evil intent” by compelling the

“evildoer” to pay money to another without right

thereto, seems foreign to any concept of due process

known to me.”

Judicial oversight at present does no more than shift discre-

tion to the judge or panel of judges. All of the “tests” for the

validity of these awards boil down to the subjective deter-

mination of whether the particular court feels the award was

excessive, based upon, as with jurors, their individual back-

grounds, temperament and societal concerns.

While this Court has never determined whether or not the

procedures involved in civil punitive damages cases satisfy

Due Process requirements, it has banned punitive damages in a

broad category of defamation cases [Gertz v. Welch, 418 U.S.

323, 350 (1974), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 1226 (1983)], banned

punitive damages im union fair representation cases [Electrical

Workers v. Foust, 442 U.S. 42, 53 (1979)], found ERISA

pre-emption precluded punitive damages in self-funded em-

ployee benefit plans [Massachusetts Mutual Life Ins. Co. v.

Russell, 473 U.S. 134 (1985)); split 5-4 over the availability of

such damages in actions under 42 U.S.C. Section 1983 (19745

Ed., Supp. IV) [Smith v. Wade, 461 U.S. 30 (1983)]; and

expressed recognition of serious constitutional issues as to

punitive damages in Aetna Life Insurance Co. v. Lavoie, 475

U.S. 813 (1986); Bankers Life & Casualtm Co. v. Crenshaw,

= 28

486 U.S. 71 (1988); and Browning-Ferris Industries Of

Vermont, Inc. v. Kelco Disposal, Inc., 492 U.S. __, 109 S.Ct.

2909 (1989), but found that such issues had not been properly

raised in those cases.

This is an appropriate case for this Court to examine the

present state of punitive damages doctrine to determine

whether Due Process standards are met, considering the free

reign given to juries by that doctrine to punish selectively, to

indulge bias, prejudice and any wealth redistribution inclina-

tions they may have, aiid to exercise standardless discretion to

render awards bearing no necessary relationship to actual

harm caused.

I. ALABAMA LAW, AS HERE APPLIED, AND

PUNITIVE DAMAGES DOCTRINE GENER-

ALLY, VIOLATES DUE PROCESS BY iLLOW-

ING THE JURY TO AWARD "UNITIVE

DAMAGES AS A MATTER OF “MORAL DIS-

CRETION,” WITHOUT ADEQUATE STAND-

ARDS AS TO THE AMOUNT NECESSARY

TO PUNISH AND DETER AND WITHOUT A

NECESSARY RELATIONSHIP TO THE

AMOUNT OF ACTUAL HARM CAUSED

Punitive damages are clearly punishment. As such, they

must be awarded under constitutionally adequate standards to

guide juries and reviewing court as to when they should be

imposed, and as to how much is appropriate to punish and

deter [Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319, 334 (1976); Coates

v. City of Cincinnati, 402 U.S. 611, 614 (1971); Kollender v.

Lawson, 461 U.S. 352, 358 (1983); Bankers Life & Casualty

Co. v. Crenshaw, 486 U.S. 71 (1988) (concurring opinion);

Browning-Ferris Industries Of Vermont, Inc. v. Kelco Dis-

posal, Inc., 492 U.S. __, 109 S.Ct. 2909 (1989)].

In the Bankers Life & Casualty Co., and Browning-Ferris

cases, above, the Court declined to rule on Due Process chal-

lenges to punitive damages because the issues were “not

ths

pressed or passed upon below.” Justice O'Connor, however,

in a concurring opinion joined by Justice Sca:ia, while con-

cluding the issues should not be reached in that case, stated at

486 U.S., at pages 87-88:

“Mississippi law gives juries discretion to award

any amount of punitive damages in any tort case in

which a defendant acts with a certain mental state.

In my view, because of the punitive character of

such awards, there is reason to think that this may

violate the Due Process Clause...

“Punitive damages are not measured against

actual injury, so there is no objective standard that

limits their amount. Hence, ‘the impact of these

windfall recoveries is unpredictable and potentially

substantial.’

“.. This grant of wholly standardless discretion

to determine the severity of punishment appears

inconsistent with due process.”

In Browning-Ferris, above, Justice Brennan, joined by

Justice Marshall, stated, at 109 S.Ct. 2909 at page 2923:

“TI join the Court’s opinion on the understanding

that it leaves the door open for a holding that the

Due Process Clause constrains the imposition of

punitive damages in civil cases brought by private

parties.”

The jury (or trial court) process which appears to trouble

the Court was described in Devlin v. Kearny Mesa AMC/Jeep!

Renault, Inc., 155 Cal.App.3d 381 (1984), in which the Court

Stated, at page 388:

“The process through which a fact finder finds

punitive damages is somewhat contradictory. On

the one hand, the court or jury must be sufficiently

disturbed to conclude the defendant must be

punished. On the other hand, although outraged, the

fact finder cannot be vindictive. The channeling of

just the correct quantum of bile to reach the correct

-15-

level of punitive damages is, to put it mildly, an

unscientific process complicated by personality

differences. Conduct which one person may view as

outrageous another may accept without feeling,

depending on such diverse characteristics as an

individual's background, temperament and societal

concerns. The process is further complicated by the

lack of objective criteria from either the Legislature

or the courts as to ‘how much’ is necessary to

punish and deter.” (Emphasis added.)

This is exactly the arbitrary and discriminatory enforcement

condemned by Due Process.

Because the decision of whether or not to award punitive

damages is committed to the moral discretion of each jury,

imposition of such punishment is necessarily arbitrary and

unpredictable. Devlin recognized that what may outrage one

jury, and lead it to award substantial punitive damages, may

leave another jury unmoved.

The constitutional invalidity of this type of situation was

described by this Court in Coates v. City of Cincinnati, 402

U.S. 611 (1971) as follows at page 614:

“Many types of behavior can be restricted or even

prohibited but not constitutionally, ‘through the

enactment and enforcement of an ordinance whose

violation may entirely depend upon whether or not a

[law enforcement officer] is annoyed.’ ”

[See also, Jenkins v. Werger, 564 F. Supp. 806, 808 (D. Wyo.

1983)).

Neither may juries be allowed to pursue their personal

predilections. [Kollender v. Lawson, 461 U.S. 352, 358

(1983); Smith v. Gaquen, 415 U.S. 566, 575 (1974)].

Here, in an instruction typical in these cases, the jury was

charged:

“Should you award punitive damages, in fixing

the amount, you must take into consideration the

character and the degree of the wrong as shown by

~” =

the evidence and the necessity of preventing similar

wrongs.” [RT 898].

As stated by Justice Brennan regarding a very similar

instruction, in Browning-Ferris Industries Of Vermont, Inc. v.

Kelco Disposal, Inc., 492 U.S. __, 109 S.Ct. 2909 at page

2923:

“(Gjuidance like this is scarcely better than no

guidance at all ... The point is .. . that the instruc-

tion reveals a deeper flaw: the fact that punitive

damages are imposed by juries guided Dy little more

than an admonition to do what they think is best.”

In this case, which again is typical, the jury was, as noted

by Justice Brennan in Browning-Ferris [109 S.Ct. 2909 at

page 2923, “ieft largely to [itself] in making this important,

and potentially devastating, decision.” Pacific Mutual’s right

to Due Process was violated by this unbridled jury discretion.

The rights of other defendants in substantially identical situa-

tions of jury discretion have been violated in the past and are

at risk in the future. Guidance from this Court is needed.

Il. ALABAMA LAW VIOLATED PACIFIC

MUTUAL’S RIGHT TO DUF PROCESS UN-

DER THE FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT, BY

ALLOWING PUNITIVE DAMAGES TO BE

AWARDED AGAINST IT UNDER A RESPON-

DEAT SUPERIOR THEORY

Pacific Mutual was “punished” by an award in excess of $1

million because of the fraudulent conduct of its former solicit-

ing agent, Lemmie Ruffin, where:

(1) Mr. Ruffin was at the time acting for Union Fidelity

not Pacific Mutual;

(2) The health insurance policy at issue in respondents’

suit was sought from and issued by Union Fidelity;

(3) Mr. Ruffin obtained Union Fidelity’s agreement to

send premium notices to Mr. Ruffin, not Pacific Mutual;

~ -

(4) Pacific Mutual never approved of such conduct;

(S) Pacific Mutual is a distinct and separate entity from

Union Fidelity and had no control over Union Fidelity;

(6) Pacific Mutual was unaware of Mr. Ruffin’s conduct

and was given no opportunity to address the situation prior to

the lawsuit.

It seems fundamental that before a corporation is fined over

one million dollars, it should be shown to have done some-

thing wrong. That was not done here. As stated in the Order

of the Trial Court dated December 11, 1987 [App., infra, A7]},

the evidence below of intentional fraud was evidence that Mr.

Ruffin intentionally converted the premiums and, the Trial

Court stated, this element of intent on Mr. Ruffin’s part was

the basis upon which plaintiffs below were awarded punitive

damages against Pacific Mutual.

When punitive damages were imposed on Pacific Mutual

on a respondeat superior basis, the focus for determination of

the amount of the damages shifted from Mr. Ruffin to Pacific

Mutual. It is self-evident that the jury would not have im-

posed a fine of over one million dollars on Mr. Ruffin. This

factor contributed greatly to the fundamental unfaimess,

excessiveness and disproportionality of the fine imposed in

this case, even though no wealth evidence was admitted.

A. Respondeat Superior Is Not a Constitu-

tionally Permissible Basis for the Im-

position of Punitive Damages

The settled law of Alabama applied by its Supreme Court

in this case allowed punitive damages to be awarded against

Pacific Mutual, as principal, for fraud by its purported sales

agent, without amy showing of authorization or ratification,

and in fact, allows such liability even if, as here, the principal

has forbidden the conduct [Autrey v. Blue Cross & Blue Shield

Of Alabama, 481 So.2d 345 (Ala. 1985); National States Ins.

Co. v. Jones, 393 So.2d 1361 (Ala. 1980)} and even though, as

- 18 -

in this case, the fraud was committed strictly for the agent’s

benefit [Henderson v. Croom, 403 F. Supp. 668 (N.D. Ala.

1975)}.

Cnce the jury below found that Mr. Ruffin was acting

within the scope of his role as a Pacific Mutual agent, Pacific

Mutual became subject to vicarious liability for both the

compensatory and punitive damages which would otherwise

have been awardable against Mr. Ruffin.

The million dollar fine imposed upon Pacific Mutual for its

sales agent’s conduct is a punitive sanction imposed for some-

one else’s unauthorized, unratified, and uncondoned wrongdo-

ing. This constituted a violation of Due Process.

In Lake Shore & Southern Michigan Railway Co. v. Pren-

tice, 147 U.S. 101 (1893), this Court held, in a diversity case,

that a company could not be held liable for punitive damages

for torts by employees unless it authorized or ratified the

action.

The Lake Shore case has been followed, questioned and

criticized but remains good law. In American Society of

M.E.’s v. Hydrolevel Corp., 456 U.S. 556 (1982), Lake Shore

was questioned by way of dictum in a footnote. In Hydrolevel,

the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (“ASME”) had

been subjected to an award of treble damages in an antitrust

action, in which the jury had found that the improper actions

had been ratified by ASME. ASME argued that it could not,

under Lake Shore, be held liable for punitive damages on an

apparent authority basis, although the jury had found ratifica-

tion. The majority opinion stated that apparent authority was

an appropriate basis for antitrust liability, given the purposes

of that legislation.

Addressing the treble damages award, the majority found,

at pages 574-75, a sufficient non-punishment purpose for such

damages in antitrust cases to distinguish Lake Shore. Further-

more, the majority cited Restatement, Agency §217c, Com-

ment C, for the proposition that the rule limiting a principal's

liability for punitive damages does not apply to special

- 19.

Statutes giving treble damages. In a footnoie, the majority

stated that Lake Shore might have been decided against the

then trend of cases, but merely distinguished the case in an

antitrust context, but did not overrule it. The Chief Justice,

and Justice Powell, joined by Justices Rehnquist and White,

dissented on the ground that apparent authority was not a

permissible basis for punitive damages, even in antitrust

actions.

The Lake Shore opinion stated sound public policy. This

was recognized in McGuffie v. Transworld Drilling Co., 625

F.Supp. 369 (W.D. La. 1985), in which the Court reviewed the

authorities in the area and concluded, at page 373:

“... 1 do not find the policy arguments made [in

favor of the Restatement rule] persuasive. Deter-

rence and punishment have been the traditional

policy arguments in favor of imposing punitive

damages.

I agree with McCormick that ‘there would seem

to be little justification for punishing the master for

willfulness or wantonness of which the agent is

alone guilty.” C.T. McCormick, Handbook on the

Law of Damages Section 80 at 282 (1935). Also, I

seriously question whether the threat of punitive

damages would enable the employer to perform the

difficult task of predicting or controlling the reck-

less Or malicious conduct of its employees which is

generally sporadic.”

It is submitted that punitive damages cannot, consistently

with the Due Process Clause of the Fourteer.th Amendment, be

imposed upon a corporation for unauthorized, unratified and in

fact forbidden conduct of an agent. This Court, as far back as

The Amiable Nancy, 16 U.S. (3 Wheaton) 546, 558-59 (1818)

announced the rule that an innocent principal could not be

held for punitive damages for lawless conduct which it did not

direct, contenance or participate in. Justice Story, in so hold-

ing, referred to punitive damages as “resting in discretion, and

- 20 -

intended to punish offenders.” An innocent principal is not an

offender.

The basic notion of fundamental fairness which Due

Process embodies requires that punishment based upon a

requisite mental state not be imposed upon innocent prin-

cipals.

The time is ripe for this Court to reassess punitive damages

including the imposition thereof on a vicarious liability basis.

This case provides both an appropriate opportunity to do so,

and points up the great need for this Court to provide guidance

in this area.

Ill. THE AMOUNT OF THE AWARD OF PUNI-

TIVE DAMAGES IN THIS CASE WAS EX-

CESSIVE, IN VIOLATION OF PACIFIC

MUTUAL’S DUE PROCESS RIGHT TO BE

FREE OF GROSSLY EXCESSIVE, DISPRO-

PORTIONATE DAMAGES AWARDS

The hospital bill of Mrs. Haslip which was not paid under

the lapsed Union Fidelity policy was $2,500. The award in

excess of this amount, in excess of $1,000,000, was punitive

damages. [{t is submitted that this award was excessive under

Due Process standards.

In Browning-Ferris Industries Of Vermont, Inc. v. Kelco

Disposal, Inc., 492 U.S. __, 109 S.Ct. 2909 (1989), Justice

Brennan, in his concurrence, suggested that Due Process for-

bids excessive damages in civil cases, stating, at page 2923:

“Several of our decisions indicate that even where

a statute sets a range of possible civil damages that

may be awarded to a private litigant, the Due Proc-

ess Clause forbids damages awards that are ‘grossly

excessive,’ Waters-Pierce Oil Co. v. Texas, 212

U.S. 86, 111 (1909), or ‘so severe and oppressive as

to be wholly disproportionate to the offense and

<M.

obviously unreasonable,’ St. Louis, 1.M. & S.R.

Southwestern Telegraph & Telephone Co. v.

Danaher, 238 U.S. 482, 491 (1915); Missouri

Pacific Railway Co. v. Humes, 115 U.S. 512, 522-23

(1885). I should think that, if anything, our scrutiny

of awards made without the benefit of a legislature’s

deliberation and guidance would be less indulgent

than our consideration of those that fall within

Statutory limits.”

Because punitive damages are punishment sanctions, it is

submitted that Due Process further constrains excessive

awards.

A number of decisions of this Court have addressed the

issue Of when nominally civil cases are penal in nature, in-

cluding U.S. Ex Rel. Marcus v. Hess, 317 U.S. 537 (1943);

Trop v. Dulles, 356 U.S. 86 (1958); and U.S. v. Halper, 490

U.S. __, 109 S.Ct. 1892 (1989).

As applied to punitive damages awards, these cases suggest

that (i) if the purpose of the sanctions is punishment, certain

Fourth, Fifth and Sixth Amendment protections would apply

under the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment,

(ii) no remedial purpose can be found where the amount of the

sanctions exceeds the amount which can fairly be determined

to be remedial as compensation for actual loss, and (iii) in

government actions and qui tam actions, under federal

Statutes, double damages do not constitute punishment where

the aggregate amount thereof does not exceed such compensa-

tion, broadly viewed.

The general rule regarding whether a punishment sanction

is excessive appears to be that punishment must not be grossly

out of proportion to the severity of the offense [Trop v. Dulles,

356 U.S. 86 (1958); Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153 (1976)].

In Solem v. Helm, 463 U.S. 277 (1983), this Court sought to

set some objective criteria for determining whether a sanction

was disproportionate.

.

It is submitted that the excessiveness of the award in this

case, and the number of multimillion dollar awards being

rendered shows the necessity for this Court to make a broad

review of punitive damages doctrine on Due Process grounds,

and require that they bear a necessary relationship to actual

harm caused.

IV. THE SUIT BELOW, ALTHOUGH NOMINALLY

CIVIL, MUST BE CONSIDERED CRIMINAL

IN NATURE AS TO THE PUNITIVE DAMAGES

AWARDED THEREIN, ENTITLING PACIFIC

MUTUAL TO PROTECTION UNDER THE

FIFTH, SIXTH AND FOURTEENTH AMEND-

MENTS TO THE UNITED STATES CONSTI-

TUTION

A. The Controlling Test Established by the

United States Supreme Court

In Kennedy v. Mendoza-Martinez, 372 U.S. 144 (1963), this

Court established the test and analytic process to be applied to

determine when the full protections guaranteed by the Consti-

tution to criminal defendants must be given to defendants in a

nominally civil action. In Mendoza-Martinez, a defendant had

been denaturalized under Section 401(j) of the Nationality

Action of 1940, for leaving and remaining outside of the

United States to evade or avoid military service. The court

held the statute to be invalid because it deprived the defendant

of citizenship, as punishment, without the safeguards guaran-

teed by the Fifth and Sixth Amendments.

In reaching this conciusion, this Court stated, at page 167:

“ _ .[Florfeiture of citizenship is a penalty for the

act of leaving or staying outside the country to

avoid the draft. This being so, the Fifth and Sixth

Amendments mandate that this punishment cannot

be imposed without a prior criminal trial and all its

- 23.

incidents, ... If the sanction these sections impose

is punishment, and it plainly is, the procedural

safeguards required as incidents of a criminal

prosecution are lacking. We need go no further.”

‘Emphasis added.]}

The court in Mendoza-Martinez thereby flatly stated the

posiuon that if a sanction is punishment, the procedural

safeguards of the Fifth and Sixth Amendments must be

applied.

This appears to be a single, overriding standard for deter-

mining the applicability of criminal procedural safeguards

under the Fourth, Fifth and Sixth Amendments, and logically,

the Eighth Amendment.

The criteria for determining whether or not the sanction is

punishment are (i) is the announced purpose to punish, as in

Mendoza-Martinez, or (ii) if the purpose is unstated or stated

to be a civil remedy, do other factors (enumerated in

Mendoza-Martinez) show that a non-punishment purpose can

be assigned which is not overridden by the punishment impact

of the sanction?

B. In Alabama, Punitive Damages Are

Expressly Imposed for Punishment and

Deterrence and Therefore Meet the

Mendoza-Martinez Test

Punitive damages in Alabama, as a matter of the common

law of the state, are authorized in various categories of cases,

and may be recovered by a plaintiff to punish the defendant

and deter future similar conduct. [Aetna Life Ins. Co. v.

Lavoie, 470 So.2d 1060 (Ala. 1985); Badgett v. McDonald,

304 So.2d 228 (Ala.Civ.App. 1974)).

The United States Supreme Count, in Beli v. Wolfish, 441

U.S. 520 (1979), stated at page 589, n.20:

- 24 -

“Retribution and deterrence are not legitimate

non-punitive governmental objectives.”

C. The Fact That Punitive Damages Are

Sought in These Cases by Private Plain-

tiffs, Rather Than the Government,

Does Not Prevent the Actions from

Being Deemed Criminal in Nature

Plaintiffs in these cases act as private attorneys general in

seeking punitive damages, the award of which is not a per-

sonal right, but rather, is a public interest in punishment and

deterrence [See, In Re Paris Air Crash, 622 F.2d 1315,

1319-1320 (9th Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 926 (1980)].

The involvement of the states in imposing punishment through

punitive damages is clear. It is submitted that a state cannot

evade according constitutional protections in inflicting punish-

ment and retribution by providing that the punishment be

imposed by a private attorney general. Therefore, the criminal

proceeding protections must be accorded either directly under

the Amendments stated above or through the Due Process

Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment. See in this regard,

United States Ex. Rel. Marcus v. Hess, 317 U.S. 537 (1943),

in which the Court considered whether or not a sanction in a

case having a private party plaintiff was in fact a criminal

case. While finding that the purpose of the sanction was not

punishment, and therefore that the incidents of a criminal tral

were not equired, the discussion and analysis of the Court

assumed that if the purpose were punishment, such incidents

would have been required.

In this case, Pacific Mutual was denied a beyond a reason-

able doubt burden of proof [/n Re Winship, 397 U.S. 358, 364

(1970)}.

Again, this is an area in which guidance from this Court is

needed to establish the procedural safeguards to which defen-

dants are entitled in punitive damages actions.

- 23.

V. ALABAMA LAW DISCRIMINATES AGAINST

THOSE DEFENDANTS SUBJECTED TO OPEN-

ENDED PUNITIVE DAMAGES BY LIMIT-

ING THE AMOUNT OF SUCH DAMAGES

WHICH MAY BE AWARDED AGAINST

OTHER CLASSES OF DEFENDANTS, WITH-

OUT RATIONAL BASIS

Alabama punitive damages law, as it applied to Pacific

Mutual in this case, provided for punitive damages in unlim-

ited amount. The jury charge gave no guidance and imposed

no limit on the severity of the punishment.

Alabama, however, without a rational basis for the clas-

sifications, limits punitive damages to double or ireble dam-

ages in at least six categories of cases. These classifications

are wholly arbitrary, and violate the Equal Protection Clause

of the Fourteenth Amendment.

Professor Wheeler in his article “The Constitutional Case

for Reforming Punitive Damages,” 69 Va.L.Rev. 269 (1983),

analyzed this situation as follows as pages 299-300:

“A fundamental problem with all statutory

schemes that limit punitive damages for only se-

lected types of wrongful conduct and allow dis-

cretionary punitive damages for all others is that the

selective treatment is arbitrary. The whole range of

problems, risks and inconsistencies that characterize

discretionary punitive damages proceedings inheres

in all such proceedings, regardless of the type of

tortious conduct that gave rise to the cause of

action.”

No rational basis is apparent for limiting punitive damages

in cases of usury, restraint of trade, deceptive trade practices

Or various areas of consumer fraud, while leaving Pacific

Mutual subject to open-ended punitive damages for Mr.

Ruffin’s fraud.

. 2

In this case, the commercial speech rights of Pacific

Mutual aie impacted by the imposition of punitive damages

liability against it for the unauthorized, unratified fraud by its

sales agent. The potential for such liability must inhibit the

actual and symbolic speech of companies which must act

through representatives, in the selection of representatives and

in communications with such representatives.

Further, Pacific Mutual’s access to the courts is impacted

in such a case, because it cannot defend itself by showing that

it acted properly in all respects. The fine is imposed for the

“evil intent” of another, acting in a wholly unauthorized and

unratified manner, against the interest of Pacific Mutual, and

solely for the benefit of himself.

Where fundament:! rights such as First Amendment speech

rights and Fifth and Fourteenth Amendment rights of access to

courts are impacted, as it is submitted they are in these cases

through self-censorship resulting from unreasonable risk and

unpredictability, equa. protection requires more than an appar-

ent rational relationship to a proper state objective [Police

Dept. of Chicago v. Moseley, 408 U.S. 92, 99 (1972); Dunn

v. Blumstein, 405 U.S. 330, 342-43 (1972); Tele-

Communications of Key West, Inc. v. United States, 757 F.2d

1330 (D.C. Cir. 1985)]. Laws with a potential for impinge-

ment on such rights must be “tailored” to serve a substantial

governmental interest [Police Dept. of Chicago v. Moseley,

480 U.S. 92, 99 (1972)]. Punitive damages are not tailored.

VI. THE CONSTITUTIONAL DEFECTS IN THE

AWARD OF PUNITIVE DAMAGES AGAINST

PACIFIC MUTUAL IN THIS CASE WERE

NOT CURED BY JUDICIAL REVIEW AND

THE POTENTIAL FOR A REMITTITUR

The Alabama Supreme Court stated at page 11 of its opin-

ion [App., infra, B13] that review of the punitive damages

award by the trial court under the procedures established in

+,

Hammond v. City of Gadsden, 493 So.2d 1370 (Ala. 1986)

further established that the Due Process C suse had not been

violated.

In Hammond, the Alabama Supreme Court established

seven factors to be considered by the trial court in reviewing a

challenged award of punitive damages. They are:

(i) whether there is a reasonable relationship be-

tween the punitive damages and the harm done by

the defendant;

(ii) the reprehensibility of defendant’s conduct;

(iii) the profit to defendant from such conduct;

(iv) the weaith of the defendant;

(v) the costs of litigation;

(vi) whether criminal sanctions have been imposed;

and

(vii) whether other civil awards have been made

against defendant for the same conduct.

These factors are largely unreviewable, and merely transfer

discretion to the reviewing court. For example, the “reason-

able relationship” test has proved to be meaningless because

virtually any ratio of punitive to actual damages can be and

has been held to be “reasonable.” These factors amount to no

more than the “gentle test of excessiveness,” particularly

given the extraordinary deference given to the jury decisions

in these cases. At most, use of the language of these criteria

merely disguise the true bases of the court’s decisions, which

are subjective value judgments.

Justice Maddox, in his dissent below [App., infra, B16)

Stated his view of these criteria as follows:

“While I applaud the procedure this Court has

adopted to review and revise the jury’s decision

based upon its ‘standardless discretion,’ I cannot

believe that procedure is sufficient to accord to

litigants all the due process protection the Constitu-

tion envisions.” [Footnote omitted. ]

> -

It is submitted that judicial review does not and cannot cure

the constitutional defects in the punitive damages award in

this case. A procedure for review of a decision made under an

unconstitutional law does not and cannot cure the uncon-

Stitutionality of the law. [See Furman v. Georgia, 408 U.S.

238 (1972); cf. Greenbelt Coop. Publishing Assn. v. Bresler,

398 U.S. 6, 7-11 (1970).]

In Alabama, as in most states, extraordinary deference is

given to the jury’s decision as to punitive damages, and a jury

punitive damage award will only be disturbed if it is, in the

judgment of the reviewing court, so excessive as to show that

it must have been the product of bias, passion, prejudice,

corruption or other improper motive.

This standard of review leaves such a broad field for unfet-

tered jury discretion that it cannot cure underlying defects.

Unlike the appellate review process in criminal matters, in

punitive damages cases the appellate process itself lacks clear

and consistent standards. This fact creates a risk of its own

rather than curing the constitutional deficiencies found at the

trial stage. In 2-D’s Logging, Inc. v. Weyerhauser Co., 632

P.2d 1319 (Or. 1981), the appellate court made note of this

problem, stating at page 1326:

“Punitive damages doctrines have resulted in a

perplexing and contorted mode of judicial review

. which, in reality, is an imprecise pattern of

subjective judicial reactions mixed with some epi-

sodes of deference to jury verdicts.... At least in

cases where there is no specific statutory authoriza-

tion for their award, the imposition of punitive

damages involves a policy or value judgment.”

Because the jury was not instructed to adhere to any as-

certainable standard or to apply any specified set of factors, 1:

is impossible to determine whether the jury properly applied

or ignored any guidelines or set of factors. The award \s

therefore invalid.

- 29 .-

In Greenbelt Coop. Publishing Assn. v. Bresler, 398 U.S. 6

(1970), this Court stated the matter as follows, at page 13:

“For when it is impossible to know, in view of the

general verdict returned whether the jury imposed

liability on an impermissible ground, the judgment

must be reversed and the case remanded.”

[Citations omitted. ]

It is submitted that under the three-part test of procedural

Due Process set forth in Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319

(1976), the provision for remittitur by reviewing trial and

appellate courts does not satisfy the requirements of Due

Process for adequate limits on jury discretion.

The concern expressed by this Court, that there is a lack of

objective standards limiting the jury’s imposition of punish-

ment, and juries are left free to render awards without any

necessary relationship to actual harm, cannot be met by the

generalized, subjective and highly judgmental factors sug-

gested by the Alabama Supreme Court.

CONCLUSION

Punitive damages law, as presently applied, is overwhelm-

ingly lacking in fundamental fairness. The law gives no fair

notice of prohibited conduct because of the vague and largely

contentless criteria upon which the awards are founded. Juries

are sent io deliberate with no meaningful standards to guide

them as to the amount of punitive damages awardable. This

unbridled discretion leads to arbitrary and unpredictable

awards.

Under the jury instructions given in this case, which appear

typical, discussed above, the jury was left free

(i) to give free reign to biases and prejudices and to punish

selectively;

(ii) to allow others “guilty” of equally “reprehensible”

conduct to go unpunished;

= ee

(iii) to punish unpopular and target defendants, and;

(iv) to render awards with no necessary relationship to

actual harm caused.

Judicial review, in the absence of objective limits on jury

discretion, merely transfers discretion to the courts.

The unpredictability of the outcome of any punitive dam-

ages case submitted to a trier of fact has led to actions which

are in terrorem and extortionate in nature.

This situation requires remedy by this Court. It is submit-

ted that Pacific Mutual’s Petition should be granted.

February 7, 1990

Respectfully submitted,

Of Counsel: BRUCE A. BECKMAN

VICK! W.W. LAI Counsel of Record

ADAMS, DUQUE ADAMS, DUQUE & HAZELTINE

& HAZELTINE 523 West Sixth Street

Los Angeles, California 90014

(213) 620-1240

OLLIE L. BLAN, JR. J. MARK HART

BERT S. NETTLES SPAIN, GILLON, GROOMS,

SPAIN, GILLON, GROOMS, BLAN & NETTLES

BLAN & NETTLES 2117 Second Avenue North

Birmingham, Alabama 35203

(205) 328-4100

Attorneys for Petitioner

Pacific Mutual Life Insurance

Company

wih.

IN THE CIRCUIT COUKT OF

JEFFERSON COUNTY, ALABAMA

CLEOPATRA HASLIP, et al

Plaintiffs

VS.

PACIFIC MUTUAL LIFE

INSURANCE COMPANY, et al

Defendants

CV 82-2453

ORDER

The defendants’ motions for judgment notwithstand-

ing the verdicts or in the alternative for a new trial is

denied and the jury’s verdicts in favor of Cleopatra

Haslip, Alma Calhoun, Cynthia Craig, and Eddie

Hargrove, is to stand. Essential to this ruling is an

outline of the relevant facts and parties followed by

discussion of the legal issues raised by the defendants in

their motions.

I. FACTS:

In May, 1981 Roosevelt City seeking additional

health and life insurance for its employees, responded to

a Pacific Mutual advertisement, and contacted Mr.

Lemmie Ruffin, an agent of Pacific Mutual Life Insur-

ance Company. The purpose of this meeting was to have

issued a group health and life insurance policy for

participating employees. Mr. Ruffin presented the city

with a Pacific Mutual business card, utilized Pacific

Mutual brochures and displayed a Pacific Mutual sched-

ule of benefits, (which also had Union Fidelity’s name

typed in.) After the discussions, Ruffin issued a group

A 2.

policy for Roosevelt City, placing life insurance with

Pacific Mutual and health insurance with Union Fidelity.

The apparent reason for placing the health insurance

with Union Fidelity was that Pacific Mutual did not

write group health policies for municipalities. Though

Mr. Ruffin was an emplevee for Pacific Mutual, he had

additional licenses with other insurance companies,

including Union Fidelity. The participating employees

paid their premiums by way of payroll deductions and

the clerk of Roosevelt City wrote a check periodically to

cover the premiums. Mable Poindexter, the Clerk for

Roosevelt City, testified that Ruffin spoke only of

Pacific Mui.al and indicated that Union Fidelity was a

subsidiary of Pacific Mutual. On October Ist, unbe-

knownst to the participating employees, the policies

were cancelled for non-payment of premiums, because

the cancellation notice from both Union Fidelity and

Pacific Mutual were sent to Ruffin who continued to

collect premiums from Roosevelt City. Earlier, Mr.

Ruffin, with the aid of local Pacific Mutual office

manager, Mr. Patrick Lupia, had the cancellation notices

sent to him rather than Roosevet [sic] City. Conse-

quently, neither Roosevelt City nor its employees were

aware that the policies were cancelled and continued to

send premium payments to Mr. Ruffin. Only later, when

Ms. Cleopatra Haslip was hospitalized, was it discovered

that the policies were cancelled.

The individual parties and witnesses are as follows:

A. CLEOPATRA HASLIP

Ms. Haslip first met with Ruffin in August 1981 when

he represented himself as a Pacific Mutual agent.

Throughout their conversation about health insurance,

Ms. Haslip always believed that the insurance poli-;

would be furnished by Pacific Mutual. Beginning

~ * aabtrinatat

3

}

-A 3-

September 1, 1981, Ms. Haslip had her insurance

premiums deducted from her paycheck. These premiums

were deducted monthly and were effective from August

1981 through January 1982. Ms. Haslip only became

aware of her lack of insurance when she entered the

hospital on or about January 24, 1982. After incurring

$2500 in hospital debts and believing she was covered

by Pacific Mutual Insurance Company, she was shocked

to discover that her policy had been cancelled — espe-

cially since she had never asked Ruffin to cancel it.

Although Ms. Haslip had paid premiums from August

1981 to January 1982, in actuality she and the other

plaintiffs only had health insurance coverage for one

month (September 1981) and life insurance for two

months (October and November 1981).

While Ms. Haslip and the other plaintiffs had no

knowledge that their insurance had been cancelled,

Lemmie Ruffin knew of the cancellation, yet he contin-

ued to have the premium payments sent to him. In

September, 1981 Ruffin collected the first month’s

premium check (which was made payable to Union

Fidelity). The plaintiffs were covered their first month;

however, beginning October 1, 1981 the premiums were

made payable to Ruffin who continued to collect the

premiums. These payments were drawn on Roosevelt

City checks and were paid as follows: On August 26 a

check for $430.02 was made payable to Union Fidelity,

then twa checks which were later voided were written

and on September 4 a check was written to Pacific

Mutual in the amount of $149.16. On September 8

another check was made payable to Pacific Mutual for

$71.45. October 20 a check for $105.90 was made

payable to Lemmie Ruffin. On November 6 a check for

$268.68 was made payable to Lemmie Ruffin. Decem-

ber 11 a check for $76.90 was made payable to Lemmie

Ruffin and then again, a check for $268.68 was made

-A 4-

payable to Lemmie Ruffin on January 15. It is important

to note that at all times, Lemmie Ruffin collected the

premiums from Roosevelt City.

B. ALMA CALHOUN

Ms. Calhoun, the Sight Manager for the Elderly

Program for Roosevelt City, also discussed an insurance

program with Ruffin. Ruffin presented Ms. Calhoun with

Pacific Mutual brochures and a Pacific Mutual business

card. Ms. Calhoun filled out one application for a

package deal of health and life insurance, believing this

policy was with Pacific Mutual. She denies knowing

anything about Union Fidelity and did not receive a

lapse notice on her insurance policy. Like Ms. Haslip,

Ms. Calhoun paid her premiums monthly and only

learned oi the cancellation after news of Ms. Haslip’s

cancellation.

C. CYNTHIA CRAIG

Ms. Craig, a teacher’s aide with Roosevelt City, also

paid premiums from August 1981 through January of

1982. Her discussions with Ruffin led her to believe

that her health insurance was covered by Pacific Mutual.

She also was given no lapse notice, nor was Ms. Craig

told that her health insurance had been cancelled.

D. EDDIE HARGROVE

Mr. Hargrove was an employee in the Street Depart-

ment of Roosevelt City. He recalls discussing a “group

plan” insurance coverage with Ruffin, but decided to

purchase only life insurance from Ruffin and Pacific

Mutual. Mr. Hargrove paid premiums for life insurance

j

-A 5-

from September through January of 1982. As is the case

with the other plaintiffs, he received no lapse notice nor

notice of cancellation.

E. MABEL POINDEXTER

Mabel Poindexter is the Clerk for Roosevelt City who

wrote the premium checks to Mr. Ruffin. When, at first,

Ruffin asked her to make the checks payable to Union

Fidelity, she acquiesced upon his assurances that Pacific

Mutual was Union Fidelity’s parent company. Ms.

Poindexter never took out health insurance, nor did she

receive a lapse notice from Pacific Mutual. Ms. Poin-

dexter only learned of the cancellation when Ms. Haslip

contacted her, at which point Mr. Ruffin brought the

claim form to the city, (which turned out to be invalid

numbers). Ms. Poindexter then gave the claim forms to

Ms. Haslip’s daughter who brought them to the hospital.

F. DEBORAH AULT

Deborah Ault worked in a secretarial capacity for

Pacific Mutual, answering phones, receiving mail, typing

for agents and doing personal typing for Mr. Lupia. She

testified that she had seen insurance premium checks

made out to Lemmie Ruffin and she informed Mr. Lupia

of this news. She also recounted teiephone calls from

customers complaining about receiving premium notices

for premiums which they had already paid.

G. RALPH PASSMAN

In his deposition, Ralph Passman stated that his health

insurance policy began September 1 and was terminated

for non-payment of premiums on September 30, 1981,

-A 6-

that his termination notice was sent to Mr. Patrick Lupia,

at Mr. Lupia’s request, and further that another termina-

tion notice was sent to Mr. Lemmie Ruffin. He also

Stated that no other premiums were received for the

health insurance and that the cancellation notices sent to

Mr. Lupia and Mr. Ruffin were the only ones sent out.

In other words, the plaintiffs never received notice of

cancellation.

H. FRANK JOHNSON

Mr. Frank Johnson is a training director of Debit Life

Insurance Company, Protective Industrial Insurance

Company. Investigating a problem for a client’s mother,

Lennie B. Spencer, he discover [sic] that Mrs. Spencer

had been paying on a life insurance policy that did not

exist. Payments were made in the fall and winter of

1981 and 1982 and her agent was Lemmie Ruffin.

I. LIONEL WILLIAMS

Mr. Williams, a grocery store owner was also looking

for group health insurance for his employees and spoke

with Mr. Ruffin, as well. Mr. Williams testified that he

also was paying for insurance that he later discovered

did not exist. He recalled speaking with Mr. Lupia,

calling the main office of Pacific Mutual in California,

and then being referred locally. He was never satisfied

with his insurance, never had the medical bills paid, and

as a result, he lost an employee.

ye &

II. LEGAL ISSUES

A. CAN A PRINCIPAL BE HELD

LIABLE UNDER RESPONDEAT

SUPERIOR FOR FRAUD OF AN

AGENT?

The Supreme Court of Alabama has repeatedly stated

that a corporation is liable for the torts of its employees,

both agent and servant, based upon the principal of

Respondeat Superior, not the doctrine of agency. “The

actual question to be determined is whether the act

complained of was done either by agent or servant while

acting within the course and scope of his employment;

the corporation or principal may be liable in tort for the

acts of its servants or agents done within the scope of

employment, real or apparent, even though it did not

authorize or ratify such acts or even expressly forbade

them.” Autrey v. Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Alabama

481 So.2d 345 (Ala. 1985), National States Insurance

Company v. Jones, 393 So.2d 1361, 1367 (Alabama

1980) (Quoting from Old Southern Life Insurance

Company v. McConnell, 52 Ala. App. 296, So.2d 183,

186 (1974). The courts have further held the principal

liable for his agent’s fraud committed within the actual

Or apparent scope of his employment, even where the

fraud was committed strictly for the agent’s own benefit

and to the principal’s detriment. Henderson v. Croom,

403 F.Supp. 668 (1975). As stated in National States

Insurance Company v. Jones, 393 So.2d 1361, (Ala.

1980), “while the soliciting agent commits fraud, the

insurer’s liability is vicarious and the principal is liable

in spite of the fact that he did not participate in the fraud

or even forbade it.” National States Insurance Company

v. Jones, 393 So.2d 1381 (Ala. 1980). Gulf Electric v.

Fried, 218 Ala. 684, 119 So. 685.

-A 8-

As the above cases illustrate, the bulk of Alabama’s

law holds that a principal may be held liable in Respon-

deat Superior for the fraud of its agents. The issue as to

whether, Ruffin was an agent for Pacific Mutual was

properly given to the jury to decide, as was the abandon-

ment of agency issue. (See discussion below.)

B. ABANDONMENT OF AGENCY

Pacific Mutual based its defense on an abandonment

of agency theory. The defense argued that Lemmie

Ruffin acted on behalf of other principals at the time he

committed fraud, thereby abandoning his agency rela-

tionship with Pacific Mutual. The defense cited Hearing

Systems, Inc. v. Chandler, 512 So.2d 84, (Ala. 1987), a

hearing aid fraud case where one of the defendants was

affiliated with Montgomery Hearing Health Services

(MHHS), but was retained as a consultant for hearing

systems (HS). In reversing a verdict of fraud, the Court

held that defendant acted strictly as a consultant for HS

and made no representations on behaif of MHHS.

Further, the defendant did not receive any proceeds of

the sale to plaintiff. Hearing Ststems, [sic] Inc. v.

Chandler, 512 So.2d at 88. This case differs from the

case at bar, however, and such a verdict reversal is not

warranted here.

As stated in Brown v. Commercial Dispatch Publish-

ing Co., 504 So.2d 245 (Ala. 1987), “whether one is an

agent of another is ordinarily a question to be decided by

jury.” Also see American Pioneer Life Insurance Com-

pany v. Sandlan, 470 So.2d 657 (Alabama 1985). The

Court further charged the jury regarding abondonment

[sic] of agency. The Court clearly stated that “if, in fact,

he had abandoned that relationship, the agency principal,

the agent’s relationship between Pacific Mutual and

himself and it was reasonably apparent to everyone that

-A 9-

he was acting on behalf of another, that Pacific Mutual

cannot be held responsible for his acts committed as an

agent or within the line and scope of employment of

someone else, another insurance agency.” Trial excerpts

18-20. Having heard these instructions, the jury decided

that Lemmie Ruffin had not abandoned his agency

relationship with Pacific Mutual. The decision was not

erroneous considering the evidence before them. The

evidence showed that the plaintiffs believed that they

were dealing with Pacific Mutual. For example, Mr.

Ruffin presented the city with Pacific Mutual business

cards, distributed Pacific Mutual brochures and schedule

of benefits, and spoke as a Pacific Mutual representative.

Mrs. Haslip was always under the impression that she

was covered by Pacific Mutual, as were Alma Calhoun,

Cynthia Craig, and Eddie Hargrove. Unlike the defen-

dant in Hearing Systems, Inc. v. Chandler, Ruffin made

a definite representations [sic] that he was an agent with

Pacific Mutual.

C. FRAUD OF FUTURE ACTS

In its motion for JNOV, defendant alleges that there

was an insufficiency of evidence of material mis-

representation of a presently existing fact to each of the

plaintiffs. Where fraud is based upon a promise to

perform in the future, two elements in addition to the

fraud requirement, must be met: the defendant must

have had no intention of doing the promised act when he

made the alleged misrepresentation and he must have

had an intent to deceive. Coastal Concrete Co., Inc. v.

Patterson, 503 So.2d 824 (Ala. 1987). In the case at bar,

however, the misrepresentation is of an existing fact.

When an agent accepts the premium from a client, he is

in essence telling the client that there is a presently

existing policy. Thus, the agent is representing an

e -A 10-

existing fact, not a future act. Courts have held that

“payment of a premium is necess.u:, as a condition

precedent to an enforceable contract of insurance.

Johnson v. Dairyland Ins. Co., Ala. Civ. App. 398 So.2d

317, Queen Insurance Co. of America v. Bethell Church,

27 Ala. App. 443, 174, So. 638, cert denied, 234 Ala.

184, 174 So. 640 (1937). The premiums in this case

were in fact paid out of the employee’s paychecks and

were not merely promises to pay. By accepting these

premiums, the agent conveyed to the parties that their

policies were both present and existing.

Even if this were to involve future acts, the evidence

presented would prove that the agent had no intention of

fulfilling his promises and that he intended this decep-

tion. By accepting premiums on a policy which, un-

beknownst to the plaintiffs had been cancelled, the agent

exhibited his intentions not to perform his promises.

D. ADMISSIBLE STATEMENTS OF

WITNESSES

Deborah Ault was employed by Pacific Mutual in a

secretarial capacity, her duties composed of answering

the phone, receiving mail, typing for agents and Mr.

Lupia and doing proposals. Evidence of her phone

conversations with Ruffin’s clients was admitted at trial

and defendants contend this was inadmissible evidence

of prejudicial effect. This evidence was admissible,

however, not to prove truthfulness of the matter but to

prove Pacific Mutual’s notice »f the problem. Gamble,

McElroy’s Alabama Evidence §273.02 (3rd Edition

1977), states that: if it is material to prove that a person

at a specified time had been put on notice about a matter,

or entertained a specified belief, acted in good or bad

faith, had a specified motive to do or not to do an act

with a specified motive ... and which is c fered for the

-A 11-

purpose of showing notice, belief, good or bad faith,

motive or mental derangement is not violative of “the

Hearsay Rule.” Pannsylvania Cas. Co. v. Perdue, 164

Ala. 508. Ms. Ault’s testimony was not admitted to

prove Ruffin or Pacific Mutual’s faults, but rather to

show that Pacific Mutual had received notice of cus-

tomer complaints.

Similarly, the testimony of both Frank Johnson and

Lionel Williams was admissible to show a pattern in

Mr. Ruffin’s actions. On the issue of whether a party

did a fradulent act, proof may be made that such party

committed similar fraudulent acts against other persons

to show fraud, motive, scheme or intent. Gamble,

McElroy’s Alabama Evidence, §70.03 (1) (3rd Edition,

1977).

Both Johnson and Williams testified that each paid

Mr. Ruffin for insurance policies which did not actually

exist. This evidence simply illustrates a pattern of

behavior Mr. Ruffin engaged in. This type of evidence

was also admitted in a similar insurance fraud case. In

American Pioneer Life Ins. Co. v. Sandlin, 470 So.2d

657 (Ala. 1985), the court allowed the testimony of

several witnesses who had been sold plans oy the agent

“to show that representations by an agent as to recovery

of principal and accumulation of interest were false so as

to prove a fraudulent scheme.”

E. ACTUAL MONETARY DAMAGES

ARE NOT NECESSARY IN OR-

DER TO RECOVER PUNITARY

DAMAGES

One can recover punitive damages if the evidence

proves that the misstatements were made with an intent

to deceive or defraud. Best Plant Food Products, Inc. v.

Cagle, 510 So.2d 229 (Ala. 1987), Ex parte Lewis, 416

-A 12-

So.2d 410 (Ala. 1982). Following Curry Motor Co., Inc.

v. Hasty, 505 So.2d 347 (Ala. 1987), “punitive damages

may be recovered in fraud action if fraudulent mis-

representation was malicious, oppressive or gross or

made with knowledge of its falseness or so recklessly

made as to amount to the same thing or is made with

purpose of injuring plaintiff.” Curry Motor Co. Inc. v.

Hasty, 505 So.2d at 351; Code 1975, §6-5-101. The

evidence presented in the present trial indeed established

that Ruffin knowingly and intentionally committed fraud

by collecting insurance premiums on cancelled policies

and keeping the premiums for himself. Ruffin intention-

ally deceived not only Cleopatra Haslip, but also

deceived Alma Calhoun, Cynthia Craig and Eddie

Hargrove. All of the aforementioned names had pre-

miums deducted from their payroll for five months and

only received coverage for one month — the fraud

intentionally committed by Ruffin. This element of

intent is an important element which entitles the plain-

tiffs to punitive damages.

Punitive awards are also allowable even where only

nominal damages are incurred in fraud cases. However,

courts stress the intentional nature of the fraud and have

allowed large punitive damage awards where there was

evidence of “intentional, gross and oppressive” fraud.

American Pioneer Life Ins. Co. v. Sandlin, 470 So.2d

657 (Ala. 1985) at 669. So long as the verdict was not

SO excessive as to be considered the result of a jury with

“bias, passion, prejudice or some other improper motive,

a very large punitive damage award is not considered

excessive, especially when paired with strong evidence

of ‘ntentional fraud. Aetna life ins. co. [sic] v. Lavoie,

470 So.2d 1060 (Ala. 1985) at 1076.

-A 13-

F. JURY CHARGES

In charging the jury on the issue of fraud, the court

concedes that it erred in not distinguishing between legal

intent (a negligence standard where punitive damages

are not recoverable) and fraudulent intent (knows it is

untrue when he makes the representation.) It has been a

practice of the undersigned to instruct the jury without

notes in a conversational manner, rather than reading

verbatim from approved charges. Perhaps the phrase

“should have known” inadvertently crept into the oral

charge because of this practice, for the undersigned is at

a loss to understand why the phrase was included.

Although the “should have known” language should not

have been included, it is unlikely that this misleading

language materially confused the jury. Taken together

with the evidence, it is the opinion of this court, that the

misphrased jury instruction was not of sufficient scale to

substantially harm the defendant. Rule 61, Alabama

Rules of Civil Procedure, Wilk v. American Medical

Association, 719 F.2d 207 (7th Cir. 1983), Alabama

Farm Bureau Mutual Cas. Ins. Co., Inc. v. Smelley, 295

Ala. 346, 329 So.2d 54 (1976), Maslowski v. Beam, 288

Ala. 254, 259 So.2d 804 (1972).

In light of the above, it is important to stress that

Pacific Mutual did not base its defense of this case on

whether Lemmie Ruffin committed fraud. Rather,

Pacific Mutual focused on an abandonment of agency

theory. Pacific Mutual did not defend Ruffin. In fact,

Ruffin, a named defendant, did not even show up at trial.

Pacific Mutual simply defended its case by attempting to

show that Ruffin had abandoned his agency relationship

with Pacific Mutual. Again, the court stresses Pacific

Mutual did not defend Ruffin on his fraudulent acts.

Further, all evidence pointed to the conclusion that

Ruffin committed fraud, with malice aforethought.

-A 14-

Ruffin had the cancellation notices sent to him from

California, the premiums were still being collected after

its cancellation of its policy and Roosevelt City did no

[sic] know that the policies were cancelled. The conclu-

sion is inescapable that the fraud was intentional, gross,

oppressive and malicious.

In consideration of these facts, the jury was not

erroneous in finding fraud, the elements of which

include: “false representation of a material fact relied

upon by a party who is damaged as a proximate result of

alleged misrepresentation; [and] if fraud is based upon a

promise to perform or abstain from some act in future

... defendant’s intention at time of alleged misrepresen-

tation not to do act promised, coupled with intent to

deceive.” Coastal Concrete Co. v. Patterson, 503 So.2d

824 (Ala. 1987), Smith v. First Bank of Childersburg,

501 So.2d 1228. (Ala. Civ. App. 1987). Further, plain-

tiff may prove defendant’s intent to deceive through

“circumstantial evidence relating to events occurring

after representation was made.” Super Value Stores, Inc.

v. Peterson, 506 So.2d 317 (Ala. 1987).

G. MOTION FOR REMITTITUR

In Hammond v. The City of Gadsden, 493 So.2d 1394,

the Supreme Court made it incumbent upon the trial

judge to spread upon the record his reasons for granting

or refusing a remittitur of jury verdicts. The Court cited

certain factors to be taken into consideration by the trial

court in granting or refusing the remittitur.

As has been stated throughout this Order, it is the

opinion of this Court that the conduct in this case

evidenced intentional malicious, gross, or oppressive

fraud. In addition to the acts of Mr. Ruffin, the testi-

mony draws an inference that Mr. Patrick Lupia, Man-

ager of the local Pacific Mutual office, had notice of past

-A 15-

problems with Mr. Ruffin including, but not limited to,

prior acts of fraud, and that he participated in the deci-

sion to have the cancellation notice sent to the Pacific

Mutual agency rather than to the insured. It goes with-

out saying that it is highly desirable to discourage

others, similarly situated from similar conduct.

Although the award is for a great amount of money, it

is the considered opinion of this Court that it is not

excessive as a matter of law, though this Court would in

all likelihood have rendered a lessor amount; nor is the

verdict based upon bias, passion, corruption, or other

improper motive. The jury seems to fashioned [sic] their

awards in proportion to the damage done each plaintiff;

awarding the most damaged plaintiff, Cleopatra Haslip,

the larger award and the least damaged plaintiff, Eddie

Hargrove, the least award.

The jury was composed of male and female, white and

black and in the opinion of the Court, acted conscien-

tiously throughout the trial.

This Court has heard policy arguments against enrich-

ing a particular plaintiff under the guise of punishing a

defendant from wrongful conduct. It has been suggested

by some that punitive damage awards should not be paid

to the plaintiff as competent compensation. This Court

will leave to others the resolution of this argument, as it

is the present law that punitive damages are payable to

the particular wronged plaintiff. Though this result

might well be different under the recently enacted law,

this Court deems it imperative to follow the law as it

existed when the wrong was committed.

As stated in Hammond, supra: “We begin by recog-

nizing that the right to a trial by jury is a fundamental,

constitutionally guaranteed right, Art. I, § 11, Cost. [sic]

of 1901, and therefore, that a jury verdict may not be set

aside unless the verdict is flawed, thereby losing its

constitutional protection. It is only in those cases that a

-A 16-

trial court, pursuant to A.R.Civ.P. 59(f), and this Court,

pursuant to Code 1975, § 12-22-71, may interfere with a

jury verdict.”

As has previously been stated, this Court is not of the

opinion that the jury verdict is flawed to the point that it

should be disturbed and set aside by this Court.

DONE and ORDERED, this 11 day of December,

1987.

/s/_ Charles R. Crowder

Charles R. Crowder, Circuit Judge

APPENDIX B

= *

RELEASED SEP 15 1989

Clerk, Supreme Court of Alabama

THE STATE OF ALABAMA

JUDICIAL DEPARTMENT

THE SUPREME COURT OF ALABAMA

SPECIAL TERM, 1989

Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Company

87-482 v.

Cleopatra Haslip, et al.

Appeal from Jefferson Circuit Court

(CV-82-2453)

SHORES, JUSTICE.

The defendant, Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Com-

pany (hereinafter “Pacific Mutual”), appeals from

judgments, entered after a jury trial, in favor of the

plaintiffs, Cleopatra Haslip, Cynthia Craig, Alma

Calhoun, and Eddie Hargrove.

All four plaintiffs are employees of Roosevelt City

(hereinafter the “City”), a small incorporated community

in western Jefferson County. As many small communi-

ties do, Roosevelt City allowed its employees to pur-

chase a group health insurance policy through the muni-

cipality. Originally that policy was issued by Blue

Cross-Blue Shield. Some months prior to 1981, how-

ever, Blue Cross cancelled the policy when several City

employees dropped out of the plan, reducing the number

of eligible employees participating in the plan below the

minimum number of participants required by Blue Cross

to maintain a group policy.

Lemmie Ruffin was a soliciting agent for Pacific

Mutual. Ruffin sent a mail solicitation to the City

asking if it was interested in discussing insurance. The

City returned a card indicating that it was.

+. e

Ruffin first met with the mayor of the City, who gave

him permission to solicit business from the City’s

employees. Before apprcaching the employees, Ruffin

sought information about the employees from the city

clerk, Mabel Poindexter. As he was later to do with the

plaintiffs, Ruffin approached Mrs. Poindexter, telling her

that he was “with Pacific Mutual.” He handed her a

Pacific Mutual business card, and he explained that he

had been told that the City employees needed hospital

coverage. Testimony indicates that Ruffin never told

Mrs. Poindexter or the plaintiffs that Pacific Mutual

would not write health insurance.

In truth, while Pacific Mutual would issue individual

life policies, it did not write group health policies for

municipalities. Pacific Mutual did, however, allow its

agents to broker business with other insurance com-

panies, and Ruffin was a licensed agent of Union

Fidelity Life Insurance Company (hereinafter “Union

Fidelity”), which did issue group health insurance

through municipalities. Accordingly, Ruffin submitted a

proposal to the City on a Pacific Mutual letterhead; that

proposal indicated that he would place life insurance

with Pacific Mutual and health insurance with Union

Fidelity. While Union Fidelity and Pacific Mutual are

separate and distinct companies and have no affiliation,

Ruffin, when asked by Mrs. Poindexter, indicated that

Union Fidelity was a subsidiary of Pacific Mutual.

Employees who opted to participate in the insurance

plan paid their premiums by way of payroll deduction.

Periodically, Mrs. Poindexter collected the money

deducted from these employees’ paychecks and wrote

one check each month to cover the insurance premiums.

These checks were sent to, or were picked up by, Ruffin,

who prepared the billing each month on a Pacific Mutual

letterhead. Within a few months of the effective date

of the insurance policies, they were cancelled for

as Te

ncnpayment of premiums. Neither the City nor its

employees were made aware that the policies had lapsed,

because unknown to the City, Mr. Ruffin, with the help

of Pacific Mutual’s Birmingham manager, Patrick Lupia,

had had all correspondence between the insurers and the

City employees funnelled through Lupia’s Birmingham

Pacific Mutual office. In effect, the employees had been

paying Ruffin, but their payments had not been for-

warded to the insurers.

During this time, in January 1982, Cleopatra Haslip, a

participating member of the health insurance plan.

entered a hospital. After incurring $2,500 in hospita

bills and additional medical bills, she learned that her

insurance had been cancelled. The hospital demanded

$600 before it would agree to discharge her, and her

doctor eventually turned her case over to a collection

agency. In time, a deficiency judgment was rendered

against Mrs. Haslip. and, as a result, her credit was

adversely affected.

Mrs. Haslip and other members of the insurance plan

sued Pacific Mutual and Lemmie Ruffin. The case was

submitted to the jury on the plaintiffs’ claim of fraud;

on August 7, 1987, the jury rendered a verdict in favor

of each of the plaintiffs in the following amounts:

Cleopatra Haslip — $1,040,000; Cynthia Craig —

$12,400; Alma Calhoun — $15,290; Eddie Hargrove —

$10,288.

Pacific Mutual timely filed motions for a new trial, or

alternatively, a judgment notwithstanding the verdict.

The motions were denied by the trial court. Pacific

Mutual appeals from the judgment based on the verdict;

Lemmie Ruffin has not appealed.

Pacific Mutual raises eleven issues on appeal. To

facilitate our discussion, we address in the first section

several interrelated issues raised by Pacific Mutual.

oO4<

The first issue that Pacific Mutual presents is whether

the trial court erred in charging the jury. Pacific Mutual

Suggests three ways in which it says the jury charge was

flawed: that the trial court charged the jury on an

incorrect standard for awarding punitive damages for

fraud; that the trial court improperly charged the jury on

the standard for awarding damages for mental distress

for fraud; and that the trial court erred in refusing to give

Pacific Mutual’s requested charge regarding justifiable

reliance. We address each of these alleged errors in

turn.

In charging the jury, the trial judge indicated that the

jury could impose liability for fraud if it determined that

defendant Ruffin knew that his representations to the

plaintiffs were false or should have known that his

representations were false:

“(The Court:] The defendant must have known

at the time he made the representation that that

fact was not true or he should have known that

it was not true.

“

“That is the Defendant represents a certain

fact to be true, when in fact that fact is untrue.

The Defendant making that representation

Knows it is untrue when he makes the repre-

sentation or he should have known it was

untrue.” (Emphasis added.)

The latter phrase, “should have known it was untrue,”

Pacific Mutual contends, suggests negligence, which

constitutes only “legal fraud”: a misrepresentation made

innocently or by mistake, for which punitive damages

are not recoverable. Code 1975, § 6-5-101. Continental

Volkswagen, Inc. v. Soutullo, 54 Ala. App. 410, 309 So.

4.

2d 119 (1975). In contrast, a cause of action for deceit

or willful fraud, for which punitive damages are

recoverable, requires proof that the defendant knew his

representation was untrue at the time he made that

representation or ihat he made the representation with

reckless disregard for the truth. Code 1975, § 6-5-103.

Because punitive damages are not recoverable for “legal

fraud,” Pacific Mutual argues that the failure of the trial

court to distinguish in its jury charge between willful

fraud and legal fraud impermissibly allowed the jury to

impose punitive damages for mere legal fraud. We

disagree.

In his written opinion, the trial judge conceded that he

had erred in charging the jury on the issue of fraud by

not distinguishing between misrepresentation and fraud.

Moreover, the trial court admitted that the phrase

“should have known” had crept into the charges inad-

vertently. Nevertheless, we can not say that under the

facts of this case the misphrased jury instruction sub-

Stantially harmed the defendant.

The evidence submitted at trial indicated that Lemmie

Ruffin forged signatures on applications in order to

obtain a minimum number of applicants to meet Union

Fidelity’s membership requirements for establishing a

group insurance plan; that the plan was cancelled within

a few months of its inception for nonpayment of

premiums, event though participants in the plan had

made their premium payments to Lemmie Ruffin: that

Lemmie Ruffin continued to accept premium payments

after notice of cancellation of the insurance plan had

been received by his office; that premium payments

collected by Lemmie Ruffin were deposited into his own

account; and that Ruffin deposited funds refunded to

participants by Union Fidelity into his wife’s personal

Savings account. Given these facts, it is impossible for

this Court to entertain the suggestion that the jury could

SY *

have been confused or that it could have concluded that

Ruffin’s representations were made either innocently or

mistakenly. We, therefore, affirm the trial court’s

conclusion that if, in the context of these facts, the

charge was erroneous, then the erroneous charge can

only be characterized as harmless error. As the trial

judge stated his his opinion:

“Although the ‘should have known’ language

should not have been included, it is unlikely

that this misleading language materially con-

fused the jury. Taken together with the

evidence, it is the opinion of this court that the

misphrased jury instruction was not of suffi-

cient scale to substantially harm the defendant.

[Citations omitted. ]

“

“{Given these facts,] [t]he conclusion is

inescapable that the fraud was intentional,

gross, oppressive and malicious.”

Next, Pacific Mutual argues that the trial court erred

in charging the jury on awarding damages for mental

distress for fraud. Again, damages for mental distress

may not be awarded unless the fraud was willful.

Holcombe v. Whitaker, 294 Ala. 430, 318 So. 2d 289

(1975). As we have previously stated, when one consid-

ers the evidence presented at trial, he can reach but one

reasonable conclusion: if fraud existed in this case, that

fraud must have been willful. Thus, we will not reverse

the judgment case based upon the trial court’s failure to

distinguish willful from nonwillful fraud.

The third alleged error in the instructions to the jury

was the judge’s refusal to give a charge regarding

justifiable reliance. After careful scrutiny of the record,

and in particular the trial judge’s charge to the jury, we

+ TP

find no basis upon which we may reverse the judgment

in this case because of the judge’s refusal of this charge.

li.

The next issue Pacific Mutual presents is whether the

trial court erred in failing to grant its motions for di-

rected verdict and judgment notwithstanding the verdict.

Pacific Mutual argues that these motions were due to be

granted because, it says, 1) Ruffin was not acting

within the scope of his agency with Pacific Mutual in

placing or maintaining health insurance on the City

employees, 2) Ruffin’s acts are not imputable to Pacific

Mutual, and 3) the evidence presented at trial failed to

prove the elements of an action for misrepresentation on

the part of Pacific Mutual. We disagree with all three of

Pacific Mutua?’s arguments.

Because the trial court accurately addresses the state

of the law regarding the doctrine of respondeat superior

in Alabama, we quote at length from the trial judge’s

opinion:

“The Supreme Court of Alabama has repeat-

edly stated that a corporation is liable for the

torts of its employees, both agent, and servant,

based upon the principle of respondeat supe-

rior, not the doctrine of agency. ‘The factual

question to be determined is whether the act

complained of was done either by agent or

servant while acting within the course and

scope of nis employment; the corporation or

principal may be liable in tort for the acts of its

servants or agents done within the scope of

employment, real or apparent, even though it

did not authorize or ratify such acts or even

expressly forbade them.’ Autry v. Blue Cross

& Blue Shield of Alabama, 481 So. 2d 345,

ee.

347-48 (Ala. 1985), National States Ins. Co. v.

Jones, 392 So. 2d 1361, 1367 (Ala. 1980)

(quoting from Old Southern Life Ins. Co. v.

McConnell, 52 Ala. App. 589, 296 So. 2d 183,

186 (1974)). The courts have further held the

principal liable for this agent’s fraud committed

within the actual or apparent scope of his

employment, even where the fraud was commit-

ted strictly for the agent’s own benefit and to

the principal’s detriment. Henderson v. Croom,

403 F. Supp. 668 (1975). ...

“As the above cases illustrate, the bulk of

Alabama’s law holds that a principal may be

held liable in respondeat superior for the fraud

of its agents. The issue as to whether Ruffin

was an agent for Pacific Mutual was properly

given to the jury to decide, as was the

abandonment-of-agency issue.”

Pacific Mutual primarily based its defense of this case

on an “abandonment of agency” theory. The defense

argued that Ruffin was acting on behalf of other princi-

pals at the time he committed fraud, thereby abandoning

his agency relationship with Pacific Mutual.

As the trial court pointed out above, whether one is an

agent of another is generally a question to be decided by

the jury. Brown v. Commercial Dispatch Pub. Co., 504

So. 2d 245, 246 (Ala. 1987). Accord, American Pioneer

Life ins. Co. v. Sandlin, 470 So. 2d 657 (Ala. 1985). In

American Pioneer, the agent, McWhorter, was not a

registered agent for American Pioneer when he sold an

annuity to the plaintiff, although he became one several

months later. Because the evidence pertaining to

McWhorter’s status as an agent of American Pioneer

was conflicting, this Court deemed it a proper question

for the jury.

ee.

In this case there is no question that sufficient evi-

dence existed to support the jury’s determination that

Lemmie Ruffin and his agency manager, Patrick Lupia,

were acting within the line and scope of their employ-

ment with Pacific Mutual when Ruffin made the repre-

sentations to the plaintiffs that became the subject-of this

Suit: Ruffin was a Pacific Mutual agent and an em-

ployee of the company; Lupia was the agency manager;

Ruffin’s licensing was maintained by the Pacific Mutual

office; Ruffin was furnished training and sales material

by Pacific Mutual; Ruffin always introduced himself as

“Lemmie Ruffin with Pacific Mutual”; Ruffin’s reply

card was mailed from, and was returned to, the Pacific

Mutual office; Ruffin presented City employees with his

Pacific Mutual business card; Ruffin never told anyone

that the health insurance would be placed with a com-

pany other than Pacific Mutual; Ruffin’s proposal was

typed at Pacific Mutual’s office on Pacific Mutual

Stationery; the monthly billing statements for , remiums

were prepared at, and mailed from, Pacific Mutual office

on Pacific Mutual stationery; Lupia handled all the

finances and “the books” for the Pacific Mutual office;

all of Lupia’s business and all of Ruffin’s business was

carried on at Pacific Mutual offices; Lupia had received

complaints from policy-holders alleging that Ruffin was

engaging in fraudulent activities but he had done nothing

about those complaints; Pacific Mutual’s home office

had received complaints regarding Ruffin’s fraud: .ent

activities but had done nothing about them.

This evidence was properly submitted to the jury,

which found that Lemmie Ruffin had not abandoned his

agency relationship with Pacific Mutual, and that he had

not acted alone. The jury rendered a verdict based upon

sufficient evidence. For the foregoing reasons, we can

not find that Ruffin was acting outside the scope of his

-B 10-

agency or that his acts were not imputable to Pacific

Mutual.

Moreover, we can not say, given the evidence submit-

ted to the jury, that the plaintiffs failed to prove the

elements of an action for misrepresentation. Pacific

Mutual claims that the plaintiffs failed to adduce evi-

dence supporting a claim for fraud because, it says, there

was no misrepresentation of a material existing fact, no

justifiable reliance upon any misrepresentations, and no

actual damage to the plaintiffs. This statement simply

ignores the evidence presented at trial. When Lemmie

Ruffin accepted the premium payments from his clients,

the plaintiffs, he was in essence telling those clients that

there was an existing policy in effect. Thus, Ruffin was

misrepresenting an existing fact. Courts have held that

“payment of a premium is necessary as a condition

precedent to an enforceable contract of insurance.”

Johnson v. Dairyland Ins. Co., 398 So. 2d 317 (Ala. Civ.

App. 1981), Queen Ins. Co. of America v. Bethell

Chapel, 27 Ala. App. 443, 174 So. 638, cert. denied, 234

Ala. 184, 174 So. 640 (1937). The premiums in this

case were in fact paid out of the employees’ paychecks

and were not merely promises to pay. By accepting

these premiums, Ruffin represented to the parties that

their policies were both existing and current. The

evidence presented proves that Ruffin had no intention

of fulfilling his promises and that he intended his decep-

tion. By accepting premiums on a policy which, un-

known to the plaintiffs, had been cancelled, Ruffin

exhibited his intentions not to perform his promises. We

therefore reject Pacific Mutual’s claim that the evidence

did not prove the elements of an action for fraud.

-Bll-

Il.

Pacific Mutual next argues that the trial was tainted

by the admission of illegal evidence. At trial, the testi-

mony of a number of witnesses was admitted despite the

objections of Pacific Mutual. First, the testimony of

Debra [sic] Ault, a former secretary, regarding telephone

calls from unnamed persons complaining about Ruffin,

was admitted over objection that the proper foundation

had not been laid for the testimony. Pacific Mutual

argues that this evidence was prejudicial, because it was

offered as evidence of other frauds perpetrated by

Lemmie Ruffin. Moreover, Ault’s testimony, Pacific

Mutual claims, was improper because, although the rule

had been invoked, Ault was allowed to remain in the

courtroom during other witnesses’ testimony.

C. Gamble, McElroy’s Alabama Evidence § 273.02

(3d ed. 1977) states:

“If it is material to prove that a person at a

specified time had been put on notice about a

matter .. . proof that a statement was made to

him prior to the time in question ... and which

is offered for the purpose of showing

notice, ... is not violative of the Hearsay

Rule.”

Pacific Mutual employed Ault as a secretary. Her duties

consisted of, among other things, answering the tele-

phone. The trial court admitted evidence of her conver-

sations with Ruffin’s clients, not to prove the truthful-

ness of the matter asserted, but rather to prove Pacific

Mutual’s notice of the fraud. Lupia denied any such

complaints. Ault’s testimony showed that Pacific

Mutual had received notice of customer complaints

concerning Ruffin; therefore, the trial court’s admission

-B12-

of Ault’s testimony did not improperly prejudice the

trial.

Pacific Mutual also complains of the trial court’s

admission of the testimony of Cleopatra Haslip, one of

the plaintiffs; that of Ralph Passman, an insurance

broker who handled the Union Fidelity insurance plan

and who maintained records concerning the cancellation

of that policy; and that of Ron Gaiser, an experi witness

for the plaintiffs. After a careful review of the trial

court’s rulings in regard to each, we can not say that

Pacific Mutual was materially prejudiced by the admis-

sion of this evidence.

IV.

Finally, Pacific Mutual argues that the punitive

damages award in this case violates its rights embodied

in the first, fourth, fifth, sixth, eighth, and fourteenth

amendments to the United States Constitution.

Initially we point out that the United States Supreme

Court has recently ruled in the case of Browning-Ferris

Industries of Vermont, Inc. v. Kelco Disposal, Inc., _

U.S. _, 109 S.Ct. 2909 (1989), that the excessive fines

clause of the eighth amendment does not apply to puni-

tive damages awards in cases between private parties.

Moreover, in a series of recent cases, this Court has

rejected the remaining constitutional arguments submit-

ted by Pacific Mutual. See, Industrial Chemical &

Fiberglass Corp. v. Chandler, (Ms. 86-381, Ms., 86-385,

Sept. 30, 1968, after remand, June 16, 1989] | So. 2d

__ (Ala. 1988); United American Ins. Co. v Brumley,

542 So. 2d 1231 (Ala. 1989); HealthAmerica v. Menton,

[Ms. 87-1100, July 21] _ So. 2d _ (Ala. 1989);

Olympia Spa v. Johnson, [Ms. 87-110, May 12, 1989] __

So.2d (Ala. 1989).

-B13-

We also note that, in an abundance of concern for the

preservation and protection of a defendant’s constitu-

tional right to due process of law, this Court has adopted

guidelines to be used by the trial court in reviewing

judgments. These guidelines are found in Hammond v.

City of Gadsden, 493 So. 2d 1374 (Ala. 1986); Harmon

v. Motors Insurance Corp., 493 So. 2d 1370 (Ala. 1986);

Alabama Farm Bureau Mutual Cas. Ins. Co. v. Griffin,

493 So. 2d 1379 (Ala. 1986). They require the trial

judge to reflect on the record his or her reasons for

either interfering or not interfering with a jury’s verdict.

In reviewing the punitive damages award in this case,

the trial judge applied the principles of law adopted in

these cases, held a hearing, and set out on the record the

reasons why he felt the law did not authorize him to

order a remittitur. The facts in the record support the

trial court’s findings. Further, jury verdicts are pre-

sumed correct, and that presumption is strengthened

when the presiding judge refuscs to grant a new trial.

Super Valu Stores, Inc. v. Peterson, 506 So. 2d 317 (Ala.

1987). In view of the record, we conclude that the

judgment of the trial court, including the damages

award, which the trial court reviewed on motion for new

trial, is due to be, and it hereby is, affirmed.

AFFIRMED.

Jones, Almon, Adams, and Kennedy, J.J., concur. -

- Houston, J. concurs in the result.

Maddox and Steagall, J.J., concur in part and dissent

1) part.

-B14-

87-482

Pacific Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Cleopatra Haslip, et al.

MADDOX, JUSTICE (concurring, in part; dissenting, in

part).

I concur in the majority op. on in all respects except

as to that aspect of the opinio:. that holds that the puni-

tive damages award in this case does not violate the due

process clause of the Fourteenth Amendment to the

United States Constitution.

While I personally agree with Justice O’Connor that

the “excessive fines clause” of the Eighth Amendment

should be applicable in civil cases, I recognize that the

Supreme Court of the United States, in Browning-Ferris

Indus. of Vermont, Inc. v. Kelco Disposal, Inc., _ U.S.

__, 109 S.Ct. 2909 (1989), has held otherwise. I think

that the United States Supreme Court, in Kelco, while

hoiding that the excessive fines clause of the Eighth

Amendment is inapplicable to a punitive damages award

in a civil case,” nevertheless left the door open for a

challenge under the federal constitution’s due process

clause. In fact, in Kelco, all nine Justices expressed

some concern with unrestrained punitive damages

awards, and as I read Kelco, the Court may consider a

challenge to an award that is properly presented and

argued under the due process clause of the Fourteenth

See my dissenting opinion in Jndustrial Chemical & Fiberglass

Corp. v. Chandler, (Ms. 86-381 & 86-385, September 30, 1988, after

remand, January 16,1989) So.2d__ (Ala. 1988).

2 The Court’s majority opinion, written by Justice Blackmun, said

that the Eighth Amendment’s excessive fines clause did not apply to

punitive damages awards in civil suits between private parties,

because “the primary focus of the Eighth Amendment was the

potential for governmental abuse of its ‘prosecutorial’ power, not

concern with the extent or purposes of civil damages.” — U.S. at

__, 109 S.Ct. at 2915.

-B15-

Amendment.”

During the last few years, individual Justices of the

Supreme Court of the United States have expressed

concern about “windfall recoveries which may be

both unpredictable and, at times, substantial”:4 “juries

[that] assess punitive damages in wholly unpredictable

amounts bearing no necessary relation to the actual harm

caused”;> and awards based upon a jury’s “wholly

Standardless discretion to determine the severity of

punishment.”°

In Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Lavoie, 475 U.S. 813 (1986),

a case which was appealed from this Court, the Court

noted that the argument “that the lack of sufficient

Standards governing punitive damages awards in

Alabama violates the Due Process Clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment” raised important issues that “in

> In o, the Court found that the due process issue had not been

suff y raised for the Court to consider it, but the Court did

not: “[WJe have never addressed the precise question presented

here: whether .e process acts as a check on undue jury discretion

to award punitive damages in the absence of any express statutory

limit.... That inquiry must await another day.” __U.S. at__, 109

S.Ct. at 2921. Justice Blackmun stated: “There is some authority in

Our opinions for the view that the Due Process Clause places outer

limits on the size of a civil damages award.” /d.

In Kelco, in a separate concurring opinion in which Justice

Marshall joined, Justice Brennan suggested that the due process

issue could be raised: “I join the Court’s opinion on the understard-

ing that it leaves the door open for a holding that the Due Process

Clause constrains the imposition of punitive damages in civil cases

brought by private parties.” | U.S. at __, 109 S.Ct. at 2923.

. City of Newport v. Fact Concerts, Inc., 453 U.S. 247, 270-71

(1981).

> Gertz v. Welch, 418 U.S. 323, 350 (1974).

® Bankers Life & Cas. Co. v. Crenshaw, 486 U.S. 71, _, 108 S.Ct.

1645, 1656 (1988) (O’Connor, J., concurring in part and concurring

in the judgment).

-B 16-

an appropriate setting, must be resolved.” 475 U.S. at

837.

While the view I expressed in my dissent in /ndustrial

Chemical & Fiberglass Corp. was not sustained in

Kelco, | take heart that ultimately, when the due process

issue is properly presented to the United States Supreme

Court, that Court will hold that giving a jury a “standard-

less discretion” to award punitive damages in a civil case

violates the due pz:ocess clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment.

While I applaud the procedure this Court has adopted

to review and revise the jury’s decision based on its

“standardless discretion,”’ I cannot believe that pro-

cedure is sufficient to accord to litigants all the due

process protection the Constitution envisions.

Because I believe that the award of punitive damages

in this case violates the defendant’s due process rights

under the Fourteenth Amendment, I must respectfully

dissent as to that portion of the majority’s opinion.

Steagall, J., concurs.

7 Hammond v. City of Gadsden, 493 So. 2d 1374 (Ala. 1986);

Harmon v. Motors Ins. Corp., 493 So. 2d 1370 (Ala. 1986); Alabama

Farm Bureau Mut. Cas. Ins. Co. v. Griffin, 493 So. 2d 1379 (Ala.

1986).

5 in various special concurrences and dissents, I have expressed

the view that punitive damzges awarded in wrongful death cases are

in a differe... category from punitive damages awarded in other

cases. See Alabama Power Co. v. Cantrell, 507 So. 2d 1295, 1306

(Ala. 1986), appeal dismissed, _ U.S. __, 108 S.Ct. 2008 (1988);

Industrial Chemical, supra.

The Legislature, in placing a “cap” on the award of punitive

damages in all cases other than wrongful death cases (except, of

course, the $1,000,000 cap in the Medical Liability Act) has

essentially recognized the distinction that I have made and do make.

APPENDIX C

ee

MAILING ADDRESS:

P.O. BOX 157

MO! "TGOMERY, ALABAMA 36101

TELEPHONE: 261-4609

OFFICE OF

CLERK OF THE SUPREME COURT

STATE OF ALABAMA

MONTGOMERY

Re: 87-482

Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Company

Appellant

VS.

Cleopatra Haslip, et al.

Appellee

You are hereby notified that the following indicated

action was taken in the above cause by the Supreme

Court today:

Appeal docketed. Future correspondence

Should refer tache above number.

Court Reporter granted additiona! time to file

reporter's transcript to and including

Clerk/Regist*r granted additional time to file

clerk’s recor. . ecord on appeal to and in-

cludin~

Appell___gra.'ed 7 ade ional days to file

driefs to and inc'uding

Appellant(s) granted 7 additional days to file

reply briefs to and including

Record on Appeal filed

C3.

Appendix Filed

Submitted on Briefs

Petition for Writ of Certiorari denied. No

opinion.

XXXX Application for rehearing overruled. No

opinion written on rehearing.

Permission to file amicus curiae briefs granted

11/9/89

bsa

/s/ Robert G. Esdaie

Robert G. Esdale, Clerk

Supreme Court of Alabama

APPENDIX D

-Dl1-

THE STATE OF ALABAMA

JUDICIAL DEPARTMENT

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF ALABAMA

DECEMBER 6, 1989 .

87-482

Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Company

v.

Cleopatra Haslip, et al.

Jefferson County Circuit Court

CV-82-2453

ORDER

The application for stay of judgment pending petition

for writ of certiorari to the United States Supreme Court

having been filed and duly suSmitted to the Court,

IT IS ORDERED that the application for stay of

judgment pending petition for writ of certiorari to the

United States Supreme Court is denied.

Hornsby, C.J., and Maddox, Jones, Almon, Shores,

Adams, Houston, Steagall, and Kennedy, J.J., concur.

I, Robert G. Esdale, as Clerk of the Supreme Court

of Alabama, do hereby certify that the foregoing is

a full, true and correct copy of the instrument(s)

herewith set out as same appear(s) of record in said

Court.

Witness my hand this 6th day of Dec. 1989.

/s/ Robert G. Esdale

Clerk, Supreme Court of Alabama

APPENDIX E

MEA ho ek eZ

si

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

No. A-452

Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Company,

Applicant,

v.

Cleopatra Haslip, et al.

ORDER

UPON CONSIDERATION of the application for stay and

the response filed thereto,

It IS ORDERE®=D that execution of the judgment of the

Supreme Court of Alabama in the above-entitled matter, case

No. 87-482, filed September 15, 1989, be and the same is

hereby stayed pending referral of the application to the Court

for consideration at the Conference on Friday, January 5S,

1990.

This order is further conditioned upon the supersedeas

bond currently postec with the Circuit Court of Alabama,

Jefferson County, Civil Action No. CV 82 2453, remaining

in effect.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that this stay shall continue

pending further order of the Court or of the undersigned.

/s/ Anthony M. Kennedy

Associate Justice of the Supreme

Court of the United States

Dated this 22nd day of December, 1989.

/ true copy JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.

Tests

Clerk of the Supreme Court of the United States

By /s/ Francis J. Corsan

Chief Deputy

-E2- -E3-

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES Cou.t of Jefferson County, Alabama, Civil Action

OFFICE OF THE CLERK No. CV 82 2453, remaining in effect.”

WASHINGTON, D. C. 20543

Very truly yours,

JOSE.H F. SPANIOL, JR., Clerk

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR., AREA CODE 202

CLERK OF THE COURT 479-3011

- ae

By /s/ Francis J. Lorson

January 8, 1990 Francis J. Lorson

Chief Deputy Clerk

Mr. Bruce A. Beckman

Adams, Duque & Hazeltine ed |

523 West Sixth Street cc: Bruce J. Ennis

Los Angeles, CA 90014 Clerk, Supreme Court of Alabama

(Your No. 87-482)

Clerk, Circuit Court of Alabama,

RE: Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Company pe rs (Your No. CV 82 2453)

efferson County (Your No. C

v. Cleopatra Haslip, et al.

No. A-452

Dear Mr. Beckman:

The Court today entered the following order in the

abov--entitled case:

“The application for stay presented to Justice

Kennedy and ty him referred to the Court is

granted and it is ordered that execution and enforce-

ment of the judgment of the Supreme Court of

Alabama, case No. 87-482, is stayed pending the

timely filing and disposition of a petition for a writ

of certiorari. J:. wie event the petition for a writ of

certiorari is denied, this order terminates automati-

cally. Should the petition for a writ of certiorari be

granted, this order is to remain in effect pending

the issuance of the mandate of this Court. This

order is further conditioned upon the supersedeas

bond presently posted with the Clerk of the Circuit

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.