Respondents Brief — Lujan v. National Wildlife Federation

Supreme Court brief1990

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

PARTIES TO THE

PROCEEDINGS

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Pa

QUESTIONS PRESENTED I

, PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PERTINENT CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATU-

TORY PROVISIONS ]

STATEMENT |

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT 14

ARGUMENT 16

I. THE WRIT SHOULD BE DISMISSED AS [M-

PROVIDENTLY GRANTED 16

Il. ALTERNATIVELY, NWF HAS STA NDING

IN ITS REPRESENTATIONAL CAPACITY 25

A. The Peterson Affidavit 26

B. The Erman Affidavit 36

lil. ALTERNATIVELY, THE CASE SHOULD BE

REMANDED FOR A DETERMINATION

AS TO WHETHER NWF ESTABLISHED

STANDING ON ITS OWN ACCOUNT 1?

CONCLUSION "45

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Page

ASARCO, Inc. Vv. Kadish, 109 8. Ct. 2037 (1989) 22

Action Alliance of Senior Citizens Vv. Heckler, 789

F.2d 931 (D.C. Cir. 1986) 42

Alghanim Vv. Boeing Co., 477 F.2d 143 (9th Cir.

1973) 18

Allen Vv. Wright, 468 U.S. 737 (1984) 40

Anderson Y¥. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242

(1986) 40

Arlington Heights v. Metropolitan Housing Dev.

Corp., 429 U.S. 252 (1977) 25

Association of Data Processing Serv. Orgs. V.

Camp, 397 U.S. 150 (1970) 24, 28, 41

Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186 (1962) 25, 41

Bender Vv. Williamsport Area School Dist., 475 U.S.

534 (1986) 33

Bowen V. Kendrick, 108 8. Ct. 2562 (1988) 25

Brobst v. Columbus Servs. Int'l, 761 F.2d 148 (3d

Cir. 1985), cert. denied, {08 S. Ct. 777 (1988) 18

Buckley Vv. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1976) 25

Cady Vv. Morton, 527 F.2d 786 (9th Cir. 1975) 42

Celotex Corp. Vv. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317 (1986) _ 17, 27, 39

Childers Vv. Jose ph, 842? F.2d 689 (3d Cir. 1988) 9()

Cia. Petrolera Caribe, Ine. Vv. Arco Caribbean,

Inc., 754 F.2d 404 (1st Cir. 1985) 19

Clarke Vv. Sec. Indus. Ass'n, 479 U.S. 388 (1987) 41

Coalition for the Env't Vv. Volpe, 504 F.2d 156

(8th Cir. 1974) 31

Committee for Consideration of Jones Falla Sew-

age Sys. V. Train, 539 F.2d 1006 (4th Cir. 1978) 31

Concerne d 4 hout Tridé nt V. Rumeafe ld, 555 F.2d

817 (D.C. Cir. 1976) 31

DKT Memorial Fund. Ltd. v. Agency for Int'l

Dev., 810 F.2d 1236 (D.C. Cir. 1987) 17

Duke Power Co. ¥. Carolina Envtl. Study Group,

Ine., 438 U.S. 59 (1978) 28, 32, 41

Escambia County ¥Vv. MeMillan, 466 U.S. 48

(1984) 15

rec . WNON Listeners Guild, 450 U.S. 582

(1981) 24

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

FW PBS, Inc. Vv. Dallas, 110 8. Ct. 596 (1990)

Fisher Vv. United States, 328 U.S. 463 (1946)

Flast Vv. Cohen, 392 U.S. 83 (1968)

Franchise Tax Bd. of Calif. v. Alean Aluminum

Ltd., 110 8. Ct. 661 (1990)

Frazier V. Heebe, 482 U.S. 641 (1987)

Gladstone, Realtors v. Bellwood, 441 U.S. 91

(1979) 18, 27, 40,

Glen Eden Hosp. Vv. Blne Cross & Blue Shield, 740

F.2d 428 (6th Cir. 1984)

Griffin Vv. United States, 8336 U.S. 704 (1949)

Havens Realty Corp. V. Coleman, 455 U.S. 3638

»*

(1982) 18, 28, 41,

Health Researeh Group V. Kennedy, 82 F.R.D. 21

(D.D.C. 1979)

Hunt Vv. Washinaton State Apple Adve rhising

Comm'n, 482 US. 333 (1977) 25, 26, 40,

In ve Ruffalo, 390 US. 544 (1968)

International Brotherhood of Elec. Workers \

Hecller, 481 U.S. 851 (1987)

International Union Vv. Brock, 477 US. 24

(1986) 2

J. Truett Payne Co. Vv. Chrysler Motors Covrp., 45

U.S. 557 (1981)

Kissinacr Vv. Reporters Comm. for Freedam of the

Press, 445 U.S. 136 (1980)

Kleppe Vv. Sierva Club, 427 U.S. 390 (1976)

Lewis Vv. Continental Bank, Corp., 58 U.S.L.W. 4330

(U.S. Mar. 5, 1990)

Link Vv. Wabash R.R., 3870 U.S. 626 (1962)

Miller ¥. United States, 8357 U.S. 801 (1958)

Moor Vv. Texas & NO. RR. 297 U.S. 101 (1986)

Munoz-Mendoza Vv. Pievee, 711 F.2d 421 (1st Cir

19R3)

National Ova. for the Reform of Marijvana Lan

V. United States Dep't of State, 452 F. Supp

12776 (DDC. LOTR)

National Wildlife Fed'n ¥. Hodel, 839 F.2d 694

(lf Cir, TORR)

Pave

33

17

40-41

POO)

(N.D

LORS )

Vi

AUTHORITIES

TABLE Ol]

tural Re D

hoard Ma e

Il. 1988)

Vv. Sowt ll Res

Pet m

(D.C. Cir. 1986)

} ("if y 7S

2508 (1989)

Vv. { S/

Wong & Si /

735 F.2d 658 (2d (

es V. Gable, 732 |

Vv. R

118 U.S. 208 (1974)

f (1976)

/ ‘

— SOR

' {

byt)

Vu

}

Vv. Ne

r. 198

Ae 19

f

pif

Ne ip

Continued

| )

{} | + >;

}

1)

(ld { I

isl F.2d

/ \

si) ]

(jiu.

N.D

abo | 197 1)

2 F.2d

| 165

iz { 7

5) (1967)

Vi

I

At VA

15,

Adm

;

;

TABLE

’

¥

Sel

;

ai ;

i” it \ am i

(1981)

it fi¢ in ‘SS

LOR7 )

mnstitution., tat its

LS. Const. Art

nistrative

sf

> I

=|

~

‘

S

{

{

{

(1982)

S.C

~

)

> ¢

OF

122 U.S. 490

, re

ITI,

vii

AUTHORITIES

(1975)

rulations and rules

~

Procedure Act. 5 |

")

>

;

}

- 1746 (1982)

2071

>

>

~ S151

Y]

I an

sf

iP

. ’

~ :

17

(1982)

(1OR”)

~j «3 «3 «

~3 +3 «3 «<3 «<3 «3

Land Pol Cy j

«tl

> 1701

P -

j 1 i | im. ’ Lat

ind Manage

| im? )

’ ’

2.

)

i tae et ;

l i}

,

rita?

)

:

)

)

)

|

>

}

;

:

'

:

;

’

’

.

~

Continued

Vill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

FR 150? 10 (790R9)

. ~ >

} iN ia =?)

FR 5) : ‘ Oo

FR 1503 »(4) is

, , >

| IR , i; » i ’ s™*? )

. ~ Ten) Oe OxO )

} | 1s } : ? : /~

} | ; i=*)

; 4 ‘

,¢ —*) )

kf 1Oe

:

} }?

__

8

~

~

~

~

™

:

:

“—"

~

=

~

a

| } Statement ‘ 755)

ra Ac nting Of Rey rt. 7 B

i VJ / j

ZZ ' Apr ~ 1URS ,,

. 4 ’ / ry A sses . j

m5)

nera \ ntin ry \J \/

D j \

(EMD 81-5 es

~*~

’ al ~ ; }? an? ’ Boe a

j 7 =, j

May 1979)

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

No. 89-640

MANUEL LUJAN, JR., SECRETARY OF THE

INTERIOR, et al.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

NATIONAL WILDLIFE FEDERATION,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals

for the District of Columbia Circuit

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

In addition to Article III, Section 2 of the Constitution

and the Administrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. § 702,

cited by the Government, the following statutory and reg-

ulatory provisions are cited in this brief and included in

Appendix A for the convenience of the Court: The Na-

tional Environmental Policy Act, 42 U.S.C. § 433212)

(Ci; the Federal Land Policy and Management Act,

43 U.S.C. $$ 1701 (ai (2), (ai (3), (ai (7); 1702¢e), (dd,

(j); 1712¢ai, (di, (f+: 1714¢a), (1); 1732(a'; 1739

(e}; 1740; Pub. L. No. 94-579, § 70lic); 43 C.F.R.

S$ 1601.0-5'k), .0-6.

STATEMENT

This action seeks judicial review of the environmental

impact of a single federal program, the ongoing “Land

Withdrawal Review Program” (Program) of the United

9

States Department of the Interior (Government ).' Under

this Program, the Government terminated or revoked re-

strictions on approximately 180 million acres of federal

land between 1981 and mid-1985, and thereby opened the

land for commercial uses, including mining and mineral

exploitation. Although the trial court issued a prelim-

inary injunction in 1985, the injunction was subsequently

vacated by the court on November 4, 1988, and the Pro-

gram ‘with its consequent environmental impact) thus

continues unimpeded today.

In July 1985, respondent, the National Wildlife Fed-

eration (NWF), filed suit challenging the Program as

violative of the Federal Land Policy and Management

Act (FLPMA), 43 U.S.C. $$ 1701 et seg. (1982), the

National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA), 42 U.S.C.

<$ 4321 ef seq. (1982), and the Administrative Procedure

Act ‘APA}, 5 U.S.C. ££ 551 et seg. (1982). In its

amended complaint filed August 19, 1985, NWF stated

that it had over 4.5 million members and supporters and

alleged that:

NWF and its members are suffering and will con-

tinue to suffer injury in fact as a result of the chal-

lenged actions. Members of NWF use and enjoy the

environmental resources that will be adversely af-

fected by the challenged actions. They regularly use

these resources for fishing. hunting, bird and wildlife

watching, canoeing and boating, hiking, camping,

and other similar activities. These persons’ use and

enjoyment of these resources will be irreparably in-

jured if the defendants are permitted to terminate

protective land use restrictions and thereby open up

public lands to exploration, development, and dis-

posal, without the development of land use plans,

without prior preparation of adequate environmental

impact statements, and without compliance with ap-

'The Government disputes that the Program is a program and

characterizes it as “hundreds of executive branch decisions.” Ptrs.

Br. 2. But see p. 23 n.36, infra.

3

plicable laws, regulations, and procedures. Among

other things, the challenged actions will adversely

affect plaintiff and its members by destroying fish

and wildlife habitat, and by impairing natural

beauty. [JA 12.*}

NWF also alleged that the Government had violated the

law, and had injured both NWF and its members, by

denying them information about the Program and an

opportunity to participate in decision-making relating to

the Program. JA 12.

NWF appended as Exhibit A to the amended complaint

a list of 814 examples of land status actions, including

terminations of land classifications and land withdraw-

ais,’ taken by the Government pursuant to the challenged

Program since January 1, 1981. JA 25-50.

Congress enacted FLPMA in 1976 in a comprehensive

effort to rewrite the law of federal lands. The Act pro-

vides in Section 701‘c) that “|al]ll withdrawals, reserva-

tions, classifications, and designations in effect as of the

“JA” refers to the Joint Appendix in this Court, “Pet. App.”

to the Appendix to the Government's petition for a writ of cer-

tiorari, “Oppcert. App.” to the Appendix to NWF’s brief in oppo-

sition, “Ct. App. JA” to the Joint Appendix before the Court of

Appeals, “ER” to the Excerpt of Record in the Court of Appeals.

“Tr.” to the transcript of a hearing in the District Court, and

“Def.-Int. Ex.” to an exhibit introduced by defendant-intervenor

Mountain States Legal Foundation. While some affidavits, and

some exhibits to affidavits, are set forth in the Joint Appendix,

the Appendix to the petition, and the Appendix to the brief in oppo-

sition, others are not. Thus, “1B Edwards Aff. Ex. 21B” refers to

Exhibit 21BR to the Edwards affidavit marked 1B: while the 1B

Edwards aMdavit appears in the Joint Appendix (JA 87), Exhibi:

21B to that affidavit does not.

3“Classifications” designate public lands for retention in fed-

eral ownership. See 48 U.S.C. $215f. “Withdrawals” remove or

segregate designated land otherwise in the public domain, and

thus exempt it from the application of one or more federal disposal

laws. See 43 U.S.C. §$1702(j). The District Court found that

withdrawals and classifications represent “the only absolute shield

against private exploitation of ‘hese federal lands.” Pet. App.

134a.

4

date of the approval of this Act shall remain in full

force and effect until modified under the provisions of

this Act or other applicable law.” Pub. L. No. 94-579,

$ 701(c), 90 Stat. 2743 (1976).

Between FLPMA’s enactment in 1976 and 1980, the

Government engaged primarily in completing an inven-

tory of withdrawn or classified lands. JA 91-93. In

1981, however, the Government began a comprehensive

program to terminate withdrawals and classifications “to

open ‘locked-up’ Federal land to mineral exploration and

development through aggressive pursuit of the with-

drawal review program.” Pi, Ex. 70. The Bureau of

Land Management (BLM) issued new instructions to its

field offices to eliminate withdrawals as quickly as pos-

sible:

The new administration has stated clearly its ob-

jective to eliminate all unnecessary withdrawals of

_Federal lands, opening as many acres as possible to

the operation of the mining and mineral leasing laws.

[Pl. Ex. 73.]

A new guidance manual setting forth “Program Direc-

tion” and “Program Priorities” was issued. 1B Edwards

Aff. Ex. 21B. Terminations of withdrawals and classifi-

cations subsequently proceeded rapidly under the Pro-

gram. By mid-1985, the Government had terminated pro-

tective classifications and withdrawals for approximately

180 million acres of public land. JA 51-54, 65, 103;

Parker Aff., par. 35.

The Program thus opened many millions of acres of

public land to commercial development, particularly min-

eral exploitation, that have important recreational, en-

vironmental, or other public values. For example, the

Government terminated a reclamation withdrawal cov-

ering 34,285 acres in Utah, opening 8,360 acres to the

operation of the mining laws, 46 Fed. Reg. 7,348 (1981),

despite the prospect that mining would have an adverse

impact on two endangered species of fish, as well as po-

tential impacts on endangered bald eagles and peregrine

5

falcons. Pl. Ex. 74. In addition, campgrounds and other

recreational sites have been opened to mining and min-

eral leasing. Ser, e.g., 49 Fed. Reg. 32,808 (1984); 47

Fed. Reg. 11,671 (1982).

The Government’s evidence showed that the opening of

lands through terminations even prior to the issuance of

the injunction in 1985 had resulted in the staking of over

7,000 mining claims and 91 operating mines,‘ that over

eight million acres had been opened to mineral leasing,”

and that 1,000 or more leases had been issued, with

several hundred more pending. Parker Aff., par. 44.

The Government’s ongoing Land Withdrawal Review

Program will be dispositive ultimately of the future

status of nearly 250 million acres of federal land. JA

92, 99. Yet the Government prepared no environmental!

impact statement (EIS) prior to implementing the Pro-

gram, despite NEPA’s requirement, 42 U.S.C. § 4332/2)

(Ci, that every major federal action “significantly af-

fecting the quality of the human environment” must be

preceded by an EIS. NWF, in Count IV of its amended

complaint, JA 18-19, sought compliance with this law.

Recognizing the potentially far-reaching effect of the

disposition of federal lands under FLPMA, Congres:

enacted key provisions requiring land use plans. Thus,

FLPMA provides that

the national! interest will best be realized if the

public lands and their resources are periodically and

systematically inventoried and their present and fu-

ture use is projected through a land use planning

process. [43 U.S.C. § 1701 (a) (2).]

That broad policy is made specific in Section 202 of the

Act with the requirement that land use plans “shall be

developed for the public lands regardless of whether such

lands previously have been classified, withdrawn, set

aside, or otherwise designated for one or more uses.” 43

*Ct. App. JA 162-163; JA 72, par. 33; JA 108, par. 23.

* JA 66-67, par. 26; JA 104, par. 20.

6

1S.C. $1712(a'. See also 43 U.S.C. $$ 1701 (a) (3), 1712

‘a; Pb L. No. 94-579, § 701(c), 90 Stat. 2743. The

Government’s regulations define the land use plans re-

quired by FLPMA as “Resources Management Plans

(RMPs). 43 C.F.R. § 1601.0-5(k) (1989). At the time

the lawsuit was filed, the Government had completed only

nine of more than 100 required RMPs. Pl. Ex. 4. Count

I of NWF’s amended complaint challenged the Govern-

ment’s decision to proceed with its Program in the ab-

sence of the required land use plans. JA 15-16."

NWF also sought to ensorce other provisions of

FLPMA:

—_The Act requires the Government to submit recom-

mendations regarding the revocation of withdrawals to

the President and to Congress prior to opening the lands.

43 U.S.C. § 171411); see also Pub. L. No. 94-579, $701

(ec), 90 Stat. 2743. The Government has readily admitted

that not one of the terminated withdrawals covering al-

most 20 millions acres of federal land has been sub-

mitted under this review provision. Tr. (Sept. 16, 1985!

22 Count II of the amended complaint challenged this

failure. JA 16-17.’

6 Rather than preparing RMPs, the Government relied on “Man-

agement Framework Plans,” which do not meet the requirements

established for RMPs. The District Court found in 1985 that

the Government's “reliance on ‘Management Framework Plans

(MFPs) is misplaced and does not satisfy the statutory expecta-

tions of ‘land use plans.’” Pet. App. 132a.

7 The Government moved to dismiss Count II for lack of standing.

The District Court granted the intervention of United States Rep-

resentative John F. Seiberling on Count II, confirmed his stand-

ing, and upon Congressman Seiberling’s retirement from Congress,

allowed the substitution of Congressman Bruce F. Vento, Seiber-

ling’s successor as Chairman of the Subcommittee on National

Parks and Public Lands, and reaffirmed his standing. Order of

June 2. 1987. Congressman Vento withdrew his separate appeal

after the 1989 unanimous Court of Appeals ruling that NWF had

stauding, since where one plaintiff has standing, courts do not

generally consider whether other plaintiffs also have standing.

[Continued }

7

—FLPMA requires the Government to provide oppor-

tunities for meaningful public participation in “the prep-

aration and execution of plans and programs for, and the

management of, the public lands.” 43 U.S.C. $ 1739/(e);

see also 43 U.S.C. §$ 1701(a)(5), 1712(f), 1702(d).

Count VII of NWF’s amended complaint challenged the

Government’s failure to provide public participation in

the Program and in the actions completed under its aeg:s.

JA 20-21.* The District Court found that “[djespite the

statutory command, {the Government] ha!s| failed to

provide for public participation in [its] withdrawal revo-

cation decisions.” Pet. App. 133a.

—FLPMA requires that the Secretary of the Interior

“with respect to the public lands sha// promulgate rules

and regulations to carry out the purposes of this Act and

other laws applicable to the public lands.” 43 U.S.C.

$ 1740 (emphasis added); see also APA, 5 U.S.C. § 553.

Count V of NWF’s amended complaint challenged the

7 [Continued ]

Watt v. Energy Action Educ. Found., 454 U.S. 151, 160 (1981);

see Pet. App. 130a.

‘For example, under NEPA the Government is required affirm-

atively to solicit comments on any draft EIS “from those persons

or organizations who may be interested or affected.” 40 C.F.R.

§ 1503.1(a) (4) (1989). Since no EISs were prepared, NWF was

afforded no opportunity to comment on the potential environmental

consequences of a federal Program affecting millions of acres of

federal land.

Nor did the Government provide any other opportunities for

public participation in the development and execution of the

Program. It failed to adopt regulations governing the Program

in accordance with the notice and comment provisions of the

APA, 5 U.S.C. $553. Under existing planning regulations, the

Government was required to, but did not, publish draft plans for

public comment as well as complete EISs on resource planning

areas. 43 C.F.R. § 1610.2(f) (3) (1989). FLPMA also specifically

requires, 43 U.S.C. $$ 1701(a)(5), 1739, opportunities for public in-

volvement in all land management decisions. Yet no notice of pro-

posed withdrawal and classification terminations was provided to the

public. Govt’s Responses to Plaintiff's 2d Set of Interrogatories

No. 1(f).

8

Government’s failure to promulgate these regulations to

guide implementation of the Program. JA 19-20.’

Evidence presented by the Government itself demon-

strated that if the statutory and regulatory scheme had

been followed, the results of the land withdrawal review

process almost certainly would have been different.

Affidavits showed, for example, that before termina-

tions were completed, the Government created not EISs

but in some instances Environmental Assessments

(“EAs”), which were not available for public comment

and each of which was, in part, “to determine whether

an EIS is required” '’; did not use RMPs but rather

MFPs "'; did not publish notice to the world in the Fed-

eral Register but rather in some instances carried out

selective telephone calls, personal interviews, town meet-

ings, workshops, and the like; and did not work from

regulations but rather from a series of internal manuals.

instructional memoranda, directives, and brochures.”

These affidavits also showed that when it was later

brought to the Government’s attention that certain ter-

minations would adversely impact scenic resources or fish

and wildlife habitat, the terminations often had to be re-

vised."' It was NWF’s position that if the Government

*In addition, Count III of the amended complaint attacked the

Government’s failure to follow FLPMA’s requirement, 43 U.S.C.

$$ 1732(a), 1702(c), that public lands be managed in accordance

with principles of multiple use and sustained vield, JA 17, and

Count VII challenged the Government’s failure to follow applicable

regulations in carrying out its Program. JA 21. Count VI, JA 20.

was subsequently withdrawn.

10 JA 63 (emphasis added); see also JA 60-61, 135, 193-194.

11 JA 125, 126-137, 179-194; see n.6, supra.

12 JA 127, 129, 134, 137-139, 183, 194.

8 JA 57, 59, 60, 88, 91-95, 102, 126-127, 182-184, 187-189, 190,

192-193.

"JA 134, 136-137.

9

had followed the congressional command, these adverse

impacts would have become clear at the outset, rather

than in a selective and haphazard fashion after the ter-

minations had already occurred, and would have pre-

vented terminations across the board.

Thus, in its request for permanent relief, NWF sought,

among other things, the completion of the required EISs,

the promulgation of regulations governing the Program,

adequate notice about, and opportunities for public par-

ticipation in, the Program, and the submission of pro-

posed actions to the Congress and the President for re-

view. JA 22.

To demonstrate the injuries actually suffered by its

members, NWF submitted in April 1986 the affidavits of

Peggy Kay Peterson and Richard Loren Erman. Pet.

App. 187a-192a. In their affidavits which are dealt with

more fully in the Argument below, both Peterson and

Erman alleged that they used the federal lands adversely

impacted by the Government’s Program. They both gave

specific examples of areas in the vicinity of which they

recreated, areas which had been opened to mining by the

Program, areas where the aesthetic beauty and wildlife

habitat had been threatened, and areas where their own

recreational use and aesthetic enjoyment had been ad-

versely affected by the Government’s Program. They also

wore that their interest in participating in decisions af-

fecting the preservation and protection of these lands had

been adversely impacted by the Government’s failure to

provide proper notices and opportunities to participate.

Id.°

In June 1986, the Government served subpoenas on NWF,

seeking to take 15 depositions in 11 western states and the District

of Columbia. The admitted purpose of these depositions was to

demonstrate that NWF could not prove standing to bring this

action. NWF moved for a protective order, arguing that its affi-

davits demonstrated its standing and, therefore, additional dis-

covery as to this issue would be unreasonably cumulative within

the meaning of Fed. R. Civ. P. 26(c) (1). The District Court agreed

and issued the requested protective order. Pet. App. 170a.

10

As noted, NWF’s complaint had also alleged that it

was injured in its own right, as an organization, by its

inability: (1) to obtain information on the Govern-

ment’s Program and the actions completed under its

aegis, and (2) to participate in the Government’s

decision-making. JA 12. In support of these allegations,

NWF submitted in May 1986 the sworn declaration ' of

Lynn A. Greenwalt, then its Vice President for Re-

sources Conservation. Pet. App. 193a.

Greenwalt’s declaration, also discussed in more detail

below, demonstrated how NWF had been injured in its

own right, as opposed to in its representational capacity.

NWF had been deprived of vital information about, and

an opportunity to participate in, the decisions regarding

the Program, and it would be financially harmed by its

inability to carry out the tasks its members paid it to

perform. Pet. App. 193a-194a.

Upon finding that NWF was likely to succeed on the

merits, the District Court enjoined the Government’s Pro-

gram in December, 1985. Pet. App. 13la, 184a.

NWF moved for summary judgment on June 23, 1986.

In its cross-motion filed in September 1986, the Govern-

ment raised the standing issue in regard to the entire

amended complaint.’?

In December 1987, the Court of Appeals sustained the

District Court’s preliminary injunction, noting that

the affidavits [of Peterson and Erman] specifically

identify locations where | NWF’s|] members’ interests

are threatened by the [Government’s] actions in lift-

ing restrictions on mining and other forms of nat-

ural resource exploitation. Indeed, according to the

{Government|, mineral claims have already been

16“ Affidavit” and “declaration” are sometimes hereinafter used

interchangeably. See 28 U.S.C. § 1746.

‘7 No defendant challenged the standing of the congressional

intervenor.

11

staked in an area in which one member uses and

enjoys the resources. [{Pet. App. 80a.]

Judge Williams, concurring with the panel’s opinion on

the standing issue, applied a summary judgment standard

but nevertheless conciuded that

the issue of standing is largely academic. * * * By

the time the case was submitted to this court, the de-

fendants appear to have conceded the bare minimum

necessary for standing. | Pet. App. 85a.'"*]

On July 22, 1988, the District Court heard oral argu-

ment on both motions for summary judgment. ER 138.

At the close of argument, the District Court ordered the

case submitted except as to standing and requested addi-

tional memoranda from both sides on that issue. ER 119,

227-228. NFW filed a memorandum on its standing that

included five supplemental affidavits. Oppeert. App. 1-17.

These declarations were made by members of NWF who

use specific federal lands in five Western states that have

been affected by the Program and whose continued use

and enjoyment of those lands are thereby threatened.

NWF member David Doran’s declaration details his ex-

tensive recreational activities on the federal lands near

Coos Bay, Oregon. On April 24, 1984, pursuant to the

Program, the Government terminated two protective with-

drawals and opened to disposal under the public land laws

over 1500 acres of land on which Deran recreates. Opp-

cert. App. 2; 49 Fed. Reg. 17,502 (1984). The Govern-

ment proposes to dispose of these lands for the “develop-

ment of a marine industrial park.” Ct. App. JA 145-147.

As a result, lands which currently provide habitat for the

endangered snowy plover and peregrine falcon, and pro-

vide birdwatching opportunities for Doran, will be cleared

and paved. Oppcert. App. 2.

NWF member Merlin McCo'm resides in Elko, Nevada,

and uses many public lands in Nevada for recreation.

'SIn April 1988, the Court of Appeals denied petitions for re-

hearing. Pet. App. 116a.

12

Areas adjacent to the Roberts and Tuscarora Mountains

frequented by him have been opend to mining and other

forms of development under the Prozram. Oppcert. App.

5; see also, 47 Fed. Reg. 7,236 (1982); 47 Fed. Reg. 6,851

(1982). lie has already observed the ecological damage

stemming from these actions in the form of “sedimenta-

tion from mining runoff and direct habitat destruction.”

Oppeert. App. 5."”

NWF member Stephen B!omeke is an avid hunter and

trave's “considerable distances across the state of Colo-

rado to access areas containing prime habitat” for game

species. Oppeert. App. 8. In doing so, he uses numerous

federal campgrounds and recreation areas. Jd. Pursuant

to the Government’s Program, many of these public areas

have been opened to disposal and development. /d. at 8-10;

see also 47 Fed. Reg. 7,414-23 (1982). Prior to the is-

suance of the now-vacated injunction in this case, 25 min-

inz claims already had been staked on campgrounds fre-

quented by Blomeke. JA 8&2.

NWF member Will Ouellette lives in rural New Mexico

and uses the federal lands in the surrounding countryside

almost on a daily basis. Oppcert. App. 11-13. Many of

the areas he uses, including the Tent Rocks Recreation

Area, have been opened to disposal and development by the

termination of protective land classifications. Jd. at 12-

13. The Tent Rocks area of New Mexico is a unique

environment. “Comparable formations are found only in

Turkey.” *’ Yet the Government terminated the classifi-

cations that protected these lands for public enjoyment

' According to Government submissions, three mining claims

have been staked on 80 acres previously protected by these with-

drawals. JA 82. All three were staked the year the lands were

opened, and no claims were staked the previous two years. Id.

““Bureau of Land Management, Praft Rie Puerco Resource

Management Plan and Environmental Impact Statement at C-30

(1985) (attached as App. HII to Ouellette Declaration, Oppcert.

App. 11).

13

and recreation, to the detriment of Ouellette as well as

many others.

In addition, NWF member Peterson supplemented her

earlier affidavit and identified in detail the challenged

actions responsible for her injury. She provided an ex-

ample of a specific proposal to develop a uranium mine

on lands which previously had provided her with wildlife

habitats for hiking, camping, hunting, and fishing. Opp-

cert. App. 15-17.

On November 4, 1989, the District Court summarily

rejected NWF’s supplemental affidavits as untimely, re-

versed its previous rulings on NWF’s standing, granted

summary judgment to the Government on the issue of

standing, dissolved the preliminary injunction, and dis-

missed the entire case, including the unheard claims of

Congressman Vento. Pet. App. 26a-37a, 158a.

NWF appealed. A three-judge panel of the Court of

Appeals unanimously reversed the holding of the District

Court on three separate and alternative grounds:

(1) the affidavits initially submitted by NWF in

support of its motion for summary judgment “clearly

alleged facts showing that its members were ‘among

the persons injured’” by the Government, Pet. App.

15a;

(2) because these same affidavits had provided “ade-

quate grounds for NWF to establish irreparable

harm” for a preliminary injunction, they also dem-

onstrated sufficient injury-in-fact to meet the test

of standing, so that the Court of Appeals’ previous

opinion upholding the preliminary injunction estab-

lished the law of the case on this issue, id. at 19a,

24a; and

(3) “|tlhe law of this circuit” allowed NWF to

file the supplement affidavits, and it was an abuse

of discretion for the District Court to refuse the

filing in light of the ccuities of the case; NWF’s

supplemental declarations “easily satisfy the level of

14

specificity needed for standing under any of the Su-

preme Court’s articulated tests.” Jd. at 21a.

The Court of Appeals then remanded the case for disposi-

tion on the merits. Because it directed the District Court

to address NWF’s substantive claims “with dispatch,” the

Court of Appeals found it unnecessary to reinstate the

preliminary injunction. /d. at 24a-25a. Thus, at this time,

the Government's Program is proceeding apace,“' without

an EIS, the regulations mandated by Congress, complete

RMPs, meaningful public participation, or the statutory

referrals to Congress and the President.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The decision below is fully consistent with that court’s

practices concerning proof of standing and with this

Court’s precedents on the substantive requirements for

standing.

1. The decision rests on a ground so unimportant and

noncontroversial that we respectfully submit that the

Court should dismiss the writ as improvidently granted.

As an independent basis for its holding, the Court of Ap-

peals determined that the District Court had abused its

discretion in refusing to consider respondent’s supple-

mental affidavits, which “easily satisfy the level of spe-

cificity for standing under any of the Supreme Court’s

articulated tests.” Pet. App. 2la. The decision that the

District Court abused its discretion was based on the D.C.

Cireuit’s longstanding practice of allowing supplementa-

tion of the record where standing questions are raised,

and vindicated the interests of fundamental fairness where

the Government itself submitted supp!emental evidence on

the standing question and the District Court had requested

an additional filing. There are no special and important

reasons for this Court to review the determination that,

in these circumstances, the District Court abused its dis-

cretion, and accordingly the writ should be dismissed.

“! See ¢.g., 55 Fed. Reg. 4,838 (1990); 55 Fed. Reg. 2.886 (1990).

15

Alternatively, the Court should affirm the judgment

below because the Court of Appeals correctly determined

that the District Court abused its discretion.

The Government will not be harmed by such a dismissal

or affirmance on the alternative ground. Indeed, because

the injunction originally issued by the District Court is

no longer in effect, the Government’s Prozram continues

unimpeded. A dismissal or affirmance will operate only to

remand the legal issues to the lower courts for determina-

tion.

2. Alternatively, the Court of Appeals was correct in

upho'ding respondent's standing on the basis of the evi-

dence in the record at the time of the District Court’s de-

cision. NWF’s representational standing was established

by the Peterson and Erman affidavits read together with

the Government’s own evidence. The record as a whole

plainly demonstrates that these NWF members recreated

in areas that were illegally opened to commercial inter-

ests, including mining, and that their use and enjoyment

of these lands were thereby adversely affected. This

Court’s cases require no more.

3. Finally, NWF submits that it has standing on its

own account, quite apart from its representational stand-

ing considered below. Because of its alternative holdings,

the Court of Appeals did not reach this question. At a

minimum, the case should be remanded to the Court of

Appeals for its finding in the first instance as to whether

NWF has standing in its own right.

16

ARGUMENT

I. THE WRIT SHOULD BE DISMISSED AS IMPROVI-

DENTLY GRANTED

NWF respectfully submits that the writ of certiorari

should be dismissed as improvidently granted.

The Court of Appeals reversed the District Court on

three separate and distinct grounds.”* If any of them were

proper, the judgment would have to be affirmed. See, ¢.¢.,

The Monrosa Vv. Carbon Black Export, Inc., 359 U.S. 180

(1959).

One of these independent grounds was that the District

Court had improperly refused to consider the five supple-

mental affidavits filed by NWF in response to the Dis-

trict Court’s request for supplemental memoranda on the

standing issue. “The law of this circuit,” the court held,

allows the plaintiff to supplement the record to cure al-

leged defects in standing. Pet. App. 2la. The court

pointed out that “{n]o party to this litigation seriously

disputes that NWF’s supplemental affidavits, if consid-

ered, easily satisfy the level of specificity for standing

under any of the Supreme Court’s articulated tests.” /d.**

Therefore, the court held, the District Court had abused

its discretion in refusing to allow NWF to supplement the

record with affidavits that demonstrate beyond question

standing on behalf of NWF’s members and, thus, on be

half of NWF.

*2 The Court of Appeals repeatedly made clear that these were

alterna‘ive holdings, any one of which justified reversal. Pet. App.

18a, 20a, 21a (“Thus, even if the original affidavits were insufficient

and even if we assume that this court's |prior! decision * * * did

not decide the issue, these supplemental affidavits offer enough detail

to establish NWF's standing”), 2ia.

“8 The Acting Solicitor Goneral states that the Government con-

tested the sufficiency of these affidavits before the Court of Appeals.

Ptrs. Br. 10 n 230. It is significant, however, that he does not do so

before this Court. Nor could he. As set forth in the Statement,

svpra, these offidavits were specific, and their contents were largely

corroborated by the Government's own evidence.

17

1. This Court has recoznized that federal courts have

the inherent power to “manage their own affairs so as to

achieve the orderly and expeditious disposition of cases.”

Link Vv. Wabash R.R., 370 U.S. 626, 630-631 (1962) .°'

They may also declare the law peculiar to their own juris-

dictions, usually without interference by this Court.”

Here, the D.C. Circuit has exercised its inherent powers

and declared that under the well-established law of the

Circuit,” it was an abuse of discretion for the District

Court to refuse to consider these affidavits.

Moreover, even if this were not a matter of local prac-

tice, the decision below fully accords with the spirit of

**In Link, this Court upheld the local practice of dismissing

complaints for lack of prosecution without providing prior notice

and hearing. See also 28 U.S.C. §$ 2071 (granting federal courts

power to prescribe rules consistent with Acts of Congress and

this Court’s rules); Fed. R. Civ. P. 83 (establishing District Courts’

power to issue rules); Frazier v. Heebe, 482 US. 641, 645 (1987);

quoting In re Ruffalo, 390 U.S. 544, 554 (1968) (White, J., con-

curring) (citation omitted) (lower courts have discretion to adopt

local rules that are necessary to carry out the conduct of business

so long as those rules are consistent with “ ‘the principles of right

and justice’ ”’).

25“This Court has lone expressed its reluctance to review de-

cisions of the courts of the District fof Columbia]! involving mat-

ters of peculiarly local concern, absent a constitutional claim or a

problem of general federal law of nationwide application. See, e..,

Griffin Vv. United States, 336 U.S. 701, 717-718 (1949); Fisher v.

United States, 328 U.S. 463, 4176 (1916). See also Miller v. United

States, 357 U.S. 301, 306 (1958).” Pernell v. Southall Realty, 416

U.S. 363, 366 (1974). See also Selvage vy. Collins, 58 U.S.L.W. 4221,

4222 (US. Feb. 21, 1990) ; Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317,

327 (1986).

“6 See National Wildlife Fed'n v. Hodel, 8839 F.2d 694, 703 (D.C.

Cir. 1988); Wilderness Soe'y Vv. Griles, 824 F.2d 4, 17 n.10 (DC.

Cir. 1987); Phillips Petroleum Co. Vv. FERC, 792 F.2d 1165, 1169

(D.C. Cir. 1986); Health Research Group v. Kennedy, 82 F.R.D. 21,

28 & nll (D.D.C. 1979). See elsa DKT Memorial Fund, Ltd. vy.

Agency for Int'l Dev., 810 F.2d 1236, 1239 (D.C. Cir. 1987) (grant-

ing plaintiff's motion to amend its complaint to cure allezed defect

in standing where plaintiff moved to amend during oral argument).

18

this Court’s rulings**’ and with those of other lower

courts.°"

2. Perhaps most importantly, the Government improp-

erly invokes Rule 56 for the proposition that NWF was

too late in filing the five additional affidavits after the

“7 See Gladstone, Realtors v. Bellwood, 441 U.S. 91, 112-113

n.25 (1979) (District Court permitted to allow amendment of com-

plaint by parties who did not reside within the neighborhood

where harm was done); see also Havens Realty Corp. v. Coleman,

455 U.S. 363, 377-379 (1982) (plaintiffs allowed on remand to make

more definite allegations in complaint relating to injury): see also

id. at 382-383 (Powell, J., concurring); Gladstone, Realtors, 441

U.S. at 114-115 & n.31; Warth v. Seldin, 422 U.S. 490, 501 (1975)

(trial court can allow plaintiff to supply, by amendment to com-

plaint or affidavits. further particularized allegations as to stand-

ing); United States v. Students Challenging Regulatory Agency

Procedures (SCRAP), 412 U.S. 669, 689-690 n.15 (1973) (doubts

about standing can be resolved by motions for more definite state-

ments and further evidence); Sierra Club v. Morton, 405 U.S. 727.

735-36 n.&8 (1972) (plaintiff can seek in District Court to amend

its complaint to show use of areas where harm occurred), In fact,

even in a mootness context, this Court has recently indicated that

an affidavit submitted after argument in this Court could be con-

sidered, with appropriate controverting submissions by opposing

parties, in the Court of Appeals or in the District Court after re-

mand. Lewis vy. Continental Bark Corp., 58 U.S.L.W. 4330. 4332-22

(U.S. Mar. 5, 1990).

** Courts of Appeals that have considered supplemental affidavits

outside the standing context have held that a trial court may not

dispose of a case on summary judgment without giving each party

an opportunity to submit their respective supporting and answer-

ing affidavits, and to supplement them if need be. E.q., Probst v.

Columbus Servs. Int'l, 761 F.2d 148, 154 (3d Cir. 1985). cert.

denied, 108 S. Ct. 777 (1988); Alghanim v. Boeing Co., 477 F.2d

143 (9th Cir. 1973).

Several trial courts have addressed the supplemental affidavit

issue in the standing context. See, e.g., Sierra Club vy. Marsh,

701 F. Supp. 886, 903 (D. Me. 1988) (refusing to convert motion

to dismiss into motion for summary judgment where court was

not satisfied that all parties had presented pertinent materials on

standing); Shekman v. Democratic Org. 560 F. Supp. 863, 865

n.2 (N.D. Til. 1983) (defendant's contention that plaintiff lacked

standing was mooted by plaintiff's supplemental affidavit).

19

July 22, 1988 hearing before the District Court. Ptrs. Br.

39-40. What the Government fails to tell the Court is that

at the hearing itself, without prior notice to NWF, the

Government introduced a five-page exhibit detailing the

status of various RMPs for areas in the 11 affected States,

including the Arizona Strip and the Green Mountain area

already addressed by NWF, and the Coos Bay, Oregon

area subsequently addressed by one of the five affidavits.*

Thus, two points are evident. First, the Government

cannot complain about an alleged tardiness under Rule 56

when it violated the Rule itself under its own interpreta-

tion. It would be wholly unfair—and in fact a violation

of fundamental rights—for the Government to spring this

evidence on NWF at the hearing and then prevent it from

filine counter-evidence. In Cia. Petrolera Caribe, Inc. Vv.

Arco Caribbean, Inc., 754 F.2d 404, 410 (1st Cir. 1985),

a case directly on point, the First Circuit held that while

the trial court had discretion to admit supplemental affi-

davits, it abused its discretion in allowing one party to

submit supplemental affidavits on the day of the hearing

while denying the same opportunity to the other.

Second, the District Court itself invited additional sub-

missions. It is quite true that the court referred to sup-

plemental “memoranda,” ER 227-28; see also ER 110,

but in light of the fluid state of the record, with the Gov-

ernment filing data even at the hearing itself, it was not

unreasonab'e, particu'arly in light of the law in the Cir-

cuit, to interpret this order as permitting the submission

of additional affidavits.

Although a District Court does have, under Fed. R.

Civ. P. 56, “‘a measure of discretion in determining

whether [a] summary judgment motion is ripe for resolu-

** The Government's exhibit, reproduced as Appendix B to this

brief, was merked as Federal Exhibit 1 and made a part of the

record. ER 228. The Government wrote counsel for NWF under

date of July 22, 1988: “As directed by the Court, I am providing

you with a copy of the exhibit s:l mitted to the court by the Gov-

ernment on July 22, 1988”—-that is, that same day.

20

tion,” *” that discretion also can be abused.” Here,

NWF’s affidavits were not out of time in light of the

Government’s own filing that was itself out of time.

3. There are here no “special and important reasons”

for this Court to review the Court of Appeals’ treatment

of the particular circumstances under which the District

Court refused to consider supplemental affidavits in sup-

port of standing. See Sup. Ct. R. 10.

It has been this Court’s longstanding practice to dis-

miss certiorari when it becomes apparent that the case

turns upon review of a question which “would be of no

importance save to the litigants themselves.” * This case

depends solely on the scope of a trial court’s authority

under particular factual circumstances and under D.C.

Cireuit practice. The decision below was expressly based

on the “equities of this case.” Pet. App. 21a. In reaching

that decision, the Circuit Court considered the Govern-

ment’s opportunity to refute the supplemental affidavits:

and the fact that prior to the trial court’s request for

supplemental memoranda, NWF had no reason to doubt

the adequacy of the affidavits it had already submitted.

To review the Court of Appeals’ decision, this Court would

first have to revisit these issues and thereby decide ques-

“ Childers V. Joseph, 84° F.2d 689, 693-694 n.3 (3d Cir. 1988),

quoting Sames v. Gable, 732 F.2d 49, 51 (3d Cir. 1984).

*! Glen Eden Hosp. v. Blue Cross & Blue Shield, 740 F.2d 423,

428 (6th Cir. 1981); Sam Wong & Son, Inc., v. New York Merc.

Erch., 735 F.2d 653, 678 (2d Cir. 1984); Sames, 732 F.2d at 51-52.

= Rudolph V. United States, 370 U.S. 269, 270 (1962). Thus.

the Court has dismissed certiorari when it appeared that rather

than presenting a constitutional issue, the case turned on “the

discretion which the trial court was entitled to exercise.” Moor ©

Vv. Tevas & NO. R.R., 297 US. 101. 105 (1936); ef. Rudolph, 370

U.S. at 270 (dismissing certiorari where case turned on Court of

Appeals’ findings of ultimate fact); Southern Power Co. ¥. North

Cerolina Pub. Serv. Co., 263 US. 508, 509 (1924) (dismissing

certiorari where the controverted question was primarily a question

of fact).

21

tions that are of interest only to the parties to this litiga-

tion.

A dismissal of the writ would be particularly appro-

priate in this case, where the Government seeks no re-

versal of established law, or of such cases as SCRAP. Nor

does it ask the Court to promulgate a new rule or a new

approach in regard to standing. It merely questions the

application of controlling law to the particular facts of

this case.

Although “law of the case’’—the Court of Appeals’ sec-

ond ground of reversal—-may not technically apply at this

stage of the proceeding because this Court remains free

to determine standing for itself, there is a large element

of potential unfairness at play here. On a number of oc-

casions prior to the July 22, 1988 hearing, the courts

below either specifically held that NWF had standing or

assumed that it did.** When the Government attempted

to take discovery on the issue, NWF opposed it solely on

the ground that it had already submitted sufficient evi-

dence on standing, and the District Court agreed. Pet.

App. 170a. If the District Court had thought standing

was a live issue, it would have permitted discovery. NWF

filed the additional affidavits as soon as it learned at the

*8 For example, the Government originally challenged standing

only in regard to a single count in the amended complaint. See

Pet. App. 130a. Later, on February 10, 1986, the District Court, in

denying a Covernment motion to reconsider the entry of a pre-

liminary injunction, “reaffirm[ed] plaintiff’s standing to bring this

action.” Pet. App. 140a. On July 14, 1986, the District Court

quashed Government subpoenas designed to test some aspects of

NWF’s standing. Pet. App. 170a. And on December 11, 1987

(as amended, December 15, 1987), the Court of Appeals specifically

held that NWF had standing because the Peterson affidavit demon-

strated irreparable harm to NWF. Pet. App. 38a, 48a-57a.

22

July 22 hearing that the District Court was seriously

questioning standing for the first time.”

In summary, the petition should be dismissed as im-

providently granted because a_ separate, alternative

ground for the ruling below is peculiarly one for a lower

court to decide and to which this Court should pay defer-

ence. In the alternative, the Court should affirm the

decision below as a correct application of general law to

the facts of this case.

4. No harm will come to federal interests from such

a dismissal or affirmance on this alternative ground. Both

in its facts and in its argument, the Government leads

this Court to believe that irreparable injury will befall

such interests if the decision below is not reversed. In

fact, no injury of any kind to federal interests will fol-

low.** The injunction originally issued by the District

Court is no longer in effect, see Pet. App. 24a-25a, 158a,

and the efficacy of that injunction is not before the Court.

The Government is free to pursue—and, in fact, is pursu-

ing—its Program of terminations, and federal lands

continue to be cpened to mining and other commercial

interests. A remand for a trial on the merits would not

in any way disturb the status quo; it would only allow

the District Court to determine, finally, whether the Gov-

evrment has violated and is continuing to violate the law

in its Land Withdrawal Review Program, or whether that

Program can proceed apace.

The District Court on remand does nof, as the Gov-

ernment says, have to become involved in hundreds of in-

“4In fact, it is not too late for the Government to pursue dis-

covery now, if the Court were to find it necessary to remand the

case. Cf. Wilderness Soec’y Vv. Griles, 824 F.2d at 20-21.

*° Moreover, we would respectfully remind the Court that stand-

ing “in no wav denends on the merits of the [claim|.”. ASARCO,

Inc. v. Kadish, 109 S. Ct. 2037, 2049 (1989), quoting Warth, 422

U.S. at 500.

23

dividual decisions. NWF is not challenging these deci-

sions individually. The terminations were all completed

pursuant to what the Government itself, time and again,

has denominated as a single “Program.” “* The Court of

Appeals held that it was a single Program. Pet. App.

55a-56a. It is this Program, not the individual orders,

that NWF is challenging.

NWF simply seeks to reinstate prior agency decisions

until the statutorily-mandated procedure has been fol-

lowed. For example, if, as NWF contends and as the

District Court held, Pet. App. 132a, FLPMA mandates

RMPs as a matter of law precisely because of the addi-

tional information and findings, including EISs, required

in RMPs, the District Court need never decide whether

some other form of documentation met some unprescribed

“equivalency” test.** Similarly, the District Court need

only decide whether the Act requires that Congress and

the President be notified before a program of termina-

tions goes into effect, because clearly no such notification

took place here. And further, the District Court must

decide whether the Act requires public notice of, and the

opportunity for participation in, the Program, and

whether those requirements were met—not as to each

parcel of land but for the Program as a whole. As the

36 Pl], Exs. 1, 2, 3, 11, 17, 20, 70; 1B Edwards Aff. Ex. 21B;

1C Edward Aff. Ex. 8, JA 51.

37 Moreover, this record shows that MFPs do not set forth all

of the information contained in RMPs. JA 193-194. In fact, the

inadequacy of MFPs is established by the Government’s own re-

ports: e.g., General Accounting Office Report, The Bureau of Land

Management's Efforts to Identify Land for Disposal (April 18,

1985), at 15; Office of Technology Assessment, Environmental Pro-

tection in the Federal Coal Leasing Program (1984), at 44, 56, 70,

72, 74-75, 78; General Accounting Office, Minerals Management at

the Department of the Interior Needs Coordination and Organiza-

tion (EMD 81-53, June 5, 1981), at 56; American Society of Plan-

ning Officials, Improving the Bureau of Land Management Planning

Process (May 1979), at 5-7, 8-13, 26.

24

District Court put it in 1985: NWF seeks to enforce “full

compliance with the laws governing management of the

public lands.” Pet. App. 144a.

These are purely legal decisions, followed by narrow

and relatively simple factual conclusions.** Even the

Acting Solicitor General concedes that a federal court

may “articulate a ratio decidendi that would have prece-

dential implications for similar disputes.” Ptrs. Br. 35.

That is precisely what we seek here. There is nothing

site-specific about the legal rulings being sought. Nor

are they appropriate for decision now, but only after

remand. The situation is thus comparable to that in Jn-

ternational Union v. Brock, 477 U.S. 247, 287 (1986),

where this Court found that the Secretary of Labor and

the Court of Appeals had both misconstrued petitioners’

claims:

Neither these claims nor the relief sought required

the District Court to consider the individual cireum-

stances of any aggrieved UAW member. The suit

raises a pure question of law: whether the Secretary

properly interpreted the Trade Act’s TRA eligibility

provisions. | *"]

For similar reasons, NWF need not demonstrate on

remand that its members have standing in each of the

areas covered by each classification and withdrawal termi-

nation. Such a result would run directly counter to this

88 The Government conceded to the District Court that “the same

procedures” were used throughout the 17 states, ER 208, and that

court held in 1985 that “The essence of plaintiff’s claim is legal:

The exercise of agency discretion and expertise and the develon.

ment of a factual record would not be helpful or necessary to

decide this legal issue.” Pet. App. 142a. The legal issue remains

the same today.

39 For other examples of programmatic attacks, see Watt v.

Energy Action Found. 454 U.S. 151; FCC v. WNCN Listeners

Guild, 450 U.S. 582 (1981); Kleppe v. Sierra Club, 427 U.S. 290

(1976); Association of Data Processing Serv. Orgs. v. Camp, 297

U.S. 150 (1970).

25

Court’s decisions.” Since NWF attacks the Program,

and one or more of its members has been injured in a site

where the Program is being carried out, that is all that

will be required.

Il. ALTERNATIVELY, NWF HAS STANDING IN ITS

REPRESENTATIONAL CAPACITY

Even if the Court were to disagree with the analysis

above, NWF has standing in this case, and the judgment

below should be affirmed on that basis.

The Argument portion of the Government’s brief reads

as though Peterson is the plaintiff respondent here. To

the contrary, the plaintiff respondent—the party whose

standing is at issue-—-is NWF. As an association, NWF

can have standing on either a representational basis, or

on its own. Hunt v. Washington State Apple Advertising

Comm'n, 432 U.S. 333, 343, 345 (1977); Warth, 422 US.

at 511. Here, NWF has both.

The Court of Appeals correctly held, Pet. App. 19a, that

the first Peterson affidavit alone was sufficient to support

the representational standing of NWF, which need only

show that any one of its members is suffering injury."

Other evidence—specifically, the Erman affidavit, Pet.

App. 187a, read together with the Government’s own sub-

missions—further proves NWF’s standing.

An association can sue in a representational capacity on

behalf of its members so long as its members would

” E.g., Brock, 477 U.S. at 281-287; Warth, 422 U.S. at 490;

Trafficante V. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co., 409 U.S. 205, 206, 209-212

(1972); Sierra Club v. Merton, 405 U.S. at 737, 740 n.15.

41 Bowen v. Kendrick, 108 S. Ct. 2562, 2580 n.15 (1988); Watt

v. Energy Action Edue. Found., 454 U.S. at 160; Arlington Heights

v. Metropolitan Housing Dev. Corp., 429 US. 252, 264 & nd

(1977): Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1, 12 (1976); Warth, 422 US.

at 511 (an “association must allege that its members, or any one

of them, are suffering immediate cr threatened injury”); Baker v.

Carr, 369 U.S. 186, 204 n.23 (1962).

26

otherwise have standing to sue, the interests it seeks to

protect are germane to the association’s purposes, and

the participation of individual members is not required.

Brock, 477 U.S. at 281-282, 286-288; Hunt, 432 U.S. at

343; Warth, 422 U.S. at 511.

There can be no question but that the last two of these

requirements have been met, and the Government does

not argue otherwise.** Therefore, the sole issue on repre-

sentational standing is whether this record sufficiently

shows that one or more NWF members have standing—

that is, whether NWF has demonstrated that a single

member is suffering a personal injury fairly traceable to

the Government’s challenged conduct.** Here, this injury

has been shown by both Peterson and Erman.

A. The Peterson affidavit.

The Government attempts to isolate the Peterson affi-

davit from all other evidence in the case and then selec-

tively cites only a few phrases from it. But that is not

how standing is determined, particularly at the summary

judgment stage. As this Court has admonished, the entire

42 The interests NWF was founded and chartered to protect—the

public interest in safeguarding wildlife habitats and in protecting

the recreational value and aesthetic beauty of federal lands from

desecration—are precisely the ones at issue here. In addition, a

cornerstone of NWF’s representational activity is to gather and

disseminate the very information the Government has failed to

create. Finally, the District Court did not rule, and the Govern-

ment does not claim, that NWF’s 4.5 million members and sup-

porters are necessary parties to this suit.

48 The injury must also be redressable by the relief sought. That

requirement is not in question here. If the District Court ulti-

mately rules in favor of NWF, its order will largely remedy the

harm already done to NWF and its members, obviate the harm

that still threatens them, and provide NWF with participation and

with the information it needs to carry out its legitimate functions.

See Public Citizen v. U.S. Dep't of Justice, 109 S. Ct. 2558, 2564

(1989).

27

record must be considered. Celotex Corp. 477 U.S. at

324; see also Glads'one, Realtors, 441 U.S. at 109 n.22;

Fed. R. Civ P. 56(c). In this case, the 2eterson affidavit

was sufficient but, in addition, the Government itself

proved through its own submissions that Peterson and

other NWF members enjoy standing.

The Peterson affidavit, Pet. App. 190a, specifically re-

ferred to the instant lawsuit, which Peterson correctly

described as having been brought to contest the “unlawful

terminat|ion of] protective land use classifications and

other withdrawals on federal lands pursuant to [the

Government’s] Land Withdrawal Review Program.” Par.

5. Peterson alleged that her interests had been adversely

affected by these “unlawful actions,” par. 6, and thus

made clear that the events and the harm described in her

affidavit related to the Government’s terminations—that

is, that the lands affected by such terminations were the

lands about which she was complaining. She pointed out,

for example, that berore terminating withdrawals and

classifications, the Government had failed to provide

notice and opportunity for public involvement, thereby

depriving her of the opportunity to participate in manage-

ment decisions, as she had done with the draft Lander,

Wyoming RMP. Pars. 4, 8."

Peterson’s affidavit demonstrates that it was not simply

as a member of the general public that she was harmed.

Instead, Peterson actually used these lands for recrea-

tional purposes and enjoyed their aesthetics. Par. 3.

Peterson asserted that her “recreational use and aesthe*ic

enjoyment” depended upon management and enhancement

by the Government, par. 4, and had therefore been ad-

versely affected by the Government’s unlawful actions.

Par. 6. These adverse effects, she said, would be re-

dressed by a favorable decision in the case. Par. 9.

44 See n.56, infra.

45 Parties have standing to protect not only their economic inter-

ests but their aesthetic, conservational and recreational interests

28

Peterson then gave a specific example of adverse im-

pact—an example that placed her squarely within the

area affected. She alleged that she particularly used lands

in the vicinity of South Pass-Green Mountain, Wyoming,

an area the Government has “opened to the staking of

mining claims and oil and gas leasing.” Par. 6. This

opening, she claimed, “threatens the aesthetic beauty

and wildlife habitat potential of these lands,” id.,—the

very characteristics on which her enjoyment of the land

depended.

The Government has totally confused the situation in

regard to the South Pass-Green Mountain areas by its

repeated references to two million acres. E.q., Ptrs. Br.

3(). 33. 35. Its own evidence demonstrates that it had

previously designated for retention as public lands some

two million acres in Fremont and Natrona Counties,

Wyoming before the terminations began. (These two

million acres included lands in the South Pass and Green

Mountain areas as well as other lands.) However, the

Government closed only about 6000 of the two million

acres to mining and mineral leasing. These 6000 acres

were in the South Pass-Green Mountains areas. The

Government thereafter terminated—or opened to mining

and to oil and gas development—4455 of the 6000 acres.

Def.-Int. Ex. 7, p. 2; JA 132-133.

In this context, it is clear that Peterson was referring

to the 4455 acres when she swore that she used the South

Pass-Green Mountain areas and was injured by the un-

lawful terminations. Her affidavit directly tied her to the

unlawful “terminating,” par. 5, to the Government's pro-

posal “to terminate classifications and other withdraw-

als,” par. 8, and to the Government’s failure to “pre-

as well. Havens Realty Corp., 455 U.S. at 879 & n.20; Valley Forge

Christian College Vv. Americans United for Separation of Church &

State, Inc., 454 U.S. 464, 486 (1982): Duke Power Co. v. Carolina

Enrt!. Study Group, Inc., 438 U.S. 59, 73-74 & n.18 (1978); SCRAP,

412 U.S. at 687; Camp, 397 U.S. at 154.

29

serv{e] and protect{]” these particular federal lands.

Pars. 4, 7, 8, 9. She further referred to the South Pass-

Green Mountain area “opened” to mining, par. 6, which

can only mean the 4455 acres—the area opened to

mining.

The Government makes too much of Peterson’s allega-

tion that she recreated “in the vicinity of” the South

Pass and Green Mountain areas.

First, a specific pass is named “South Pass” and a spe-

cific mountain is called “Green Mountain”, but the lands

at issue here are those surrounding, or in the vicinity of,

these particular spots, as the Government’s own evidence

shows. F.q., JA 124. Peterson was not attempting to

locate herself in the bottom of the pass or on top of the

mountain, so it is not surprising that she would desig-

nate the affected lands which she uses as “in the vicinity

of” these particularized places.

The Government can hardly feign confusion over what

these lands are, or contend that they have not been im-

pacted by terminations. In response to NWF’s request

for the Administrative Record of Classifications and

Withdrawals, the Government produced on November 4,

1985, case file No. W6228, the file on the South Pass-

Green Mountain area. JA 132. Government affidavits

and exhibits speak repeatedly of the South Pass and Green

Mountain areas,“ or “the Green Mountain-South Pass

area.” E.q., JA 137. According to the Government, the

South Pass area is “an important recreation area” where

people come to fish, hunt and camp, JA 124, and the

Green Mountain area is “noteworthy” for, among other

things, its deer, elk herds and recreation. Jd. The

Government’s evidence is replete with references to po-

tential adverse impacts on campgrounds, fish, and wild-

46 One Government affiant not only described these areas, JA 123-

124, but recited how the decisions were made to revoke withdrawals

and classifications on them because of uranium and mining inter-

ests. E.q., JA 132-137.

30

life habitats in these areas, as well as on visual or scenic

resources there.”

Second, the harm that comes from mining—whether

it be for oil, gas, uranium, silver, gold, copper, zine or

agate—is not localized. Landscapes are obscured for great

distances; fugitive dust is created and goes where the

wind goes; contaminated water flows for miles; blasting

violates noise levels, causes wildlife to move, and affects

wildlife mating habits over great distances; and cyanide

poured over heap leach piles after strip-mining kills fish

far downstream.* So even if Peterson’s affidavit were

17 E.g., JA 133-134, 136-137; Pl. Ex. 61 at 228; Def.-Int. Ex. 7;

see also ER 193.

*® One EIS published by the Government in 1988 spent 15 pages

discussing the cumulative impacts of oil and gas development on

public lands. U.S. Dept. of the Int., BLM, Final West HiLine Re-

source Management Plan Environmental Impact Statement (1988),

at A-41-A-55. This document demonstrated that, among other

things, air quality is affected by the creation of dust, the emissions

from internal combustion engines, and the burning of waste petro-

leum products, id. at A-41; soils are affected by surface disturbances,

soil compaction, and the spilling of fluids, including oil and salt

water, id. at A-42-A-43; surface water quality is impacted by

erosion, sedimentation, and accidental spills, while ground water is

affected by seismic exploration, causing cross contamination of

aquifers, reduced water yields, and lowered static water levels, id.

at A-43—A-44; vegetation is destroyed by the construction of

seismograph trails, drainage crossings, drill pods, roads, pipelines

and other facilities. id. at A-45—A-46; livestock grazing is impacted

by a loss of forage, id. at A-46; big game, upland game birds, water-

fowl, small animals, endangered species, and fisheries are all

threatened by everything from loss of forage, the disturbance of

breeding cycles through drilling, the destruction of food by oil spills

and of nests by drilling, to the release of toxic substances into water,

id. at A-46-A-49 (“All stages of oil and gas operations directly

affect wildlife”); recreation such as hunting, fishing, sightseeing.

hiking, camping and boating, as well as aesthetics, are affected by

dust, noise, noxious fumes, new roads, erosion, the destruction of

cultural resources and natural settings, and the disturbance to wild-

life. id. at A-49--A-51: and wilderness values are adversely im-

pacted by seismic exploration, id. at A-52.

31

interpreted to aver injury-in-fact to a person recreating

in the “vicinity” of lands being opened to desecration,

that would be entirely appropriate.”

This Court has not heretofore had difficulty construing

phrases like “in the vicinity of” in standing cases—par-

ticularly in the environmental context.*” For example,

*” This is particularly true in light of the District Court’s holding

in 1985 that any allowance of mining or leasing

can permanently destroy wildlife habitat, air and water quality,

natural beauty and other environmental values. [The Govern-

ment’s| suggestion that [NWF’s] members can still hike, fish

and otherwise enjoy these lands ignores both aesthetic interests

and the process whereby a holder of a mining claim can gain

the right to exclusive possession. Similarly, [the Government's!

calculations limiting the acres that have actually been leased or

mined demonstrates nothing about the future impact of their

actions. Without the preliminary injunction, [the Govern-

ment’s} termination of classifications and withdrawals could

lead to the permanent loss of lands to public use and enjoy-

ment—-an injury we feel would be irreparable. [Pet. App. 155a

( footnote deleted ). |

* The lower courts have also treated “in the vicinity of” as suffi-

cient for standing purposes in environmental cases. For example,

in Concerned About Trident v. Rumsfeld, 555 F.2d 817, 823 n.10

(D.C. Cir. 1976), the court upheld a District Court finding that a

party who owned land “in the vicinity of” a submarine support

facility had standing to challenge construction at the facility.

And in Coalition for the Env’t v. Volpe, 504 F.2d 156, 163-164

(8th Cir. 1974), the court held that plaintiffs who lived “in the

immediate vicinity of” a proposed development project had standing

to contest the project, treating as sufficient the allegation that in-

dividual and member plaintiffs “reside, work, or pass by the vicinity

of the project.” See also Committee for Consideration of Jones

Falls Sewage Sys. v. Train, 539 F.2d 1006, 1015 (4th Cir. 1978)

(Butzner, J., dissenting on an issue not reached by the majority).

See also Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc. v. Outboard Marine

Corp., 692 F. Supp. 801, 807 (N.D. Tl. 1988) (plaintiffs residing

“in the vicinity of Lake Michigan, Waukegan Harbor and the North

Ditch” had standing to contest defendant company's discharges into

waters); Sierra Club v. Mason, 351 F. Supp. 419, 423 (D. Conn.

1972) (Sierra Club members residing “in the vicinity of” a part of

in Duke Power Co., 438 U.S. at 67, some 40 individuals

in “close proximity” to a planned power plant were

deemed to have standing to challenge the plant’s construc-

tion. The “environmental and aesthetic consequences” of

thermal pollution of two lakes “in the vicinity of” the

plaintiffs satisfied the injury-in-fact test. /d. at 73-74.

And in SCRAP, 412 U.S. at 678, a plaintiff who alleged

that he used resources “surrounding” the areas where

the harm occurred was held to have standing."

Thus, the Peterson affidavit does not require “pre-

sumptions” to support standing.** Read in its entirety,

and particularly in light of the Government’s own evi-

dence, it shows that Peterson recreated in an area that

was opened to mining without the statutory prerequisites

of, inter alia, RMPs, prior EISs, and public participation,

and that Petersen has thereby been—and continues to

be—-injured.”*

Long Island Sound had standing to protest a dredging operation

that dumped materials into the Sound).

5! Although the Court’s opinion in SCRAP referred to members

using resources “in,” “of” and “from” the Washington Metropolitan

Area, 412 U.S. at 685, 687, 688, the complaint in the case alleged

only that the members used the resources “surrounding” that area

and at their legal residences—namely, New Haven, Atlanta and Milo,

Maine. See id. at 678; SCRAP Joint App. at 9. The Court obviously

considered “in” and “surrounding” interchangeable terms for pur-

poses of standing.

52 The Government has misstated the Circuit Court’s holding in

this regard. Rather than applying “free-floating presumptions,” as

the Government claims, Ptrs. Br. 31, the court merely interpreted

Peterson’s use of the phrase “in the vicinity of” in the context of

her entire affidavit. Significantly, the Government does not challenge

Peterson's credibility, veracity, or accuracy.

53 For example, a properly-prepared EIS would have contained

at least: (1) a description of the purpose and need for withdrawal

and classification terminations; (2) a description of alternatives to

the proposed terminations; (3) a description of the lands affected;

and (4) a description of the environmental consequences of each

33

The Government relies heavily on FW PBS, Ine. v.

Dallas, 110 8. Ct. 596 (1990). Ptrs. Br. 24-25, 29, 31-33

& n.24, 38-39 n.28, 42 n.32. In that case, the statute

denied licenses to applicants with former convictions (but

only for a specific disability period), and to applicants

living with persons whose licenses had been revoked. No

one had alleged, much less offered proof, that he or she

had been convicted within the disability period or that

he or she lived with any one whose license had been

revoked. Therefore, there was no standing. 1105S. Ct. at

607-609. Nor was the situation saved by an apparent

concession by counsel for the city at oral argument or by

an affidavit introduced for the first time in this Court,

because the information was not part of the record be-

low. /d. at 609-610. That case has no application here.

NWF is not relying on evidence submitted for the first

time in this Court, and no essential allegation, or evidence

in regard thereto, is missing from the record below.”

The injury to Peterson’s use and enjoyment of lands

in the South Pass and Green Mountain area is subs‘an-

tial. In fact, at oral argument before the District Court.

alternative, including, but not limited to, the proposed terminations.

40 C.F.R. §§ 1502.10, .13, .14-.16. (1989)

_Properly-prepared land use plans would have included a detailed

discussion of “the physical, biological, economic and social effects”

of implementing each termination. 43 C.F.R. § 1610.4-6.

The failure of the Government to create these documents pre-

vented both Peterson and NWF from meaningful participation in,

and knowledge of, the Program and the resulting terminations.

**The Government also relies on Bender v. Williamsport Areca

School Dist., 475 U.S. 534 (1986), Ptrs. Br. 29. 32 n.22. but that

case merely stands for the well-established proposition that juris-

diction must be shown by the record, and not by briefs or argu-

ments. In that case, the Court refused to grant standing to a parent

who stated at oral argument that he was opposed to prayer on school

premises during school hours; there was nothing in the record show-

ing this person’s status as a parent or what injury he or his chil-

dren had suffered. 475 U.S. at 545-547. The situation here is not

even remotely comparable.

34

the Government conceded that some of the Green Moun-

tain area has been opened to uranium mining. ER 194.

And although there is no transcript, Judge Williams in

dissent on the injunction recited that intervening de-

fendant Mountain States Legal Foundation had conceded

in oral argument before the Court of Appeals the exis-

tence of changes in mining status of lands described by

“the Wyoming NWF member” (Peterson). Pet. App. at

90a n.2.

The record is replete with additional evidence of the

impact of the Program on these lands. A Government

Mineral Report in 1982 concluded that the Green Moun-

tain area contained accumulations of oil and gas and

probably contained uranium deposits as well, Def.-Int.

Ex. 7: 43 C.F.R. § 3100.1(1); its geologist concluded in

the same year that there was interest in gold mining in

the South Pass area, Def.-Int. Ex. 7; on the day these

lands were opened, 199 mining claims were staked, id.;

and prior to the District Court’s injunction, 406 mining

claims had been staked there and four mines had begun

surface disturbing activities.” The same Mineral Report

declared that underground mining “could have an adverse

impact on the crucial moose habitat, deer habitat, some

elk habitat, and a variety of small game and bird spe-

cies”: that “|i]mprovements at campgrounds, as well as

land in the immediate vicinity,” could either be damaged

or destroyed; and that surface disturbances would be

even “more extensive.” Def.-Int. Ex. 7 (emphasis added) ;

see also 49 Fed. Reg. 19,904 (1984).

The environmental injury to the South Pass-Green

Mountain area is established by other parts of the record

55 JA 119. At the hearing before the District Court on July 22,

1988, counsel for NWF said she had just learned that U.S. Energy

Corporation was seeking to develop a uranium mine on part of this

same land. Ct. App. JA at 259. Peterson's subsequent affidavit

confirmed that such a mine permit had been filed. Oppcert. App.

16-17, pars. 7-9.

35

as well. Under both the draft EIS, which was completed

belatedly in the fall of 1985 (almost a year and a half

after the South Pass-Green Mountain area had been

opened, JA 119), and the final EIS, completed in July of

1986 (over two years after the opening), the Govern-

ment recognized the substantial harm to wildlife and

recreation that could occur in the South Pass-Green

Mountain areas.” For example, the draft EIS concluded

that in the Green Mountain area, “significant long-term

impacts to elk and mule deer herds could occur from

habitat losses caused by oil and gas activities over the

next 60 years,” Kelly Aff. Ex. 15 at 226; uranium ex-

ploration and development in this area “might cause sig-

nificant losses of critical winter and winter yearlong elk

and mule deer ranges,” id. at 228; and “[e]lk and trout

populati.us might be lost entirely.” Jd.; see also id. at

230.

As for the South Pass area, “significant acreages of

lodgepole pine forest and aspen conifer woodland habitat

types could be disturbed, which would cause significant

long-term impacts to moose and elk,” id. at 227; “[ilf

gold mining activities continue to erode, these high-value

habitats, trout fisheries, the Lander moose herd, the

beaver point ecosystems, and the populations of many

other wildlife species would suffer significant cumulative

negative effects,” id. at 228; and “[s]ignificant long-term

impacts could occur to * * * trout and moose habitat/s

in this area.]” Jd. at 230; see also Pl. Ex. 61. These are

not allegations in the complaint: this is the Government

speaking. These are the very same areas where Peterson

recreates.

56 Kelly Aff. Ex. 15. Both the draft and final EISs were for the

Lander Resource Area, which includes both the South Pass and

Green Mountain “management units.” The 1982 South Pass and

Green Mountain EA concluded that “[t|here would be extensive

short term adverse environmental impacts that would occur during

the [mineral] exploration phase * * *.” Kelly Aff. Ex. 1. Still the

Government completed no EIS before opening these lands to mining.

36

B. The Erman affidavit.

Like the Peterson affidavit, the Erman affidavit demon-

strates that an NWF member suffered significant injury

as a direct result of the Government’s Program. Pet.

App. 187a. Erman, who lives in Phoenix, Arizona, al-

leged that he uses federal lands—including those in the

vicinity of the Grand Canyon National Forest—for rec-

reational purposes and aesthetic enjoyment. Par. 3. He,

like Peterson, wanted to participate in decisions affect-

ing these lands, just as he had joined in comments on the

plans involving the Tonto National Forest, the Coconino

National Forest, and the Lower Gila. Par. 4. The Gov-

ernment failed, however, to provide notice and oppor-

tunities for public involvement. Par. 8.

Erman particularly cited the Arizona Strip as having

been opened to the staking of mining claims, which in turn

“threatens the aesthetic beauty and wildlife habitat po-

tential of these lands.” Par. 6. The Government con-

cedes in its own evidence that there is a discrete area

north of the Colorado River in Arizona known as the

Arizona Strip, JA 120, and that some of the lands® in

the Strip have been opened to mining since 1981.” That

5? According to the Federal Register, the following acreages in

the Arizona Strip were opened to disposal or mineral development

in 1981: Public Land Order (PLO) 5805, 46 Fed. Reg. 2,048 (1981),

opened 23,041.12 acres to all forms of mining and disposal; PLO

5976, 46 Fed. Reg. 35,504 (1981), as amended by 47 Fed. Reg.

27,288 (1982), opened 225,480 acres to nonmetalliferous mining and

disposal; and Classification A 1351, 46 Fed. Reg. 49,650 (1981),

opened 1,307,667 acres to disposal, of which 8,219 acres were opened

to all forms of mining. Thus, in 1981, protective withdrawals or

classifications were terminated and lands made available for private

acquisition for approximately 1.5 million acres, and over 250,000

acres were opened specifically to mining.

58 JA 110, 122. The Government’s affiant asserted that this open-

ing “in our opinion” is likely to have little effect because the lands

“do not contain any nonmetalliferous mineral that can be economi-

cally mined.” A Government videotape, introduced along with the

Lamb affidavit, JA 120, indicates that these lands contain rich

37

Erman’s fears are well justified is attested to by the fact

that 669 mining claims were staked in this area even

between the time the terminations began and the injunc-

tion was issued. JA 77. And Judge Williams, in dissent

below on the now-vacated preliminary injunction, stated

that the Government had conceded in oral argument that

“some of the acreage opened to mining was in the vicinity

of lands used by one of [|NWF’s] members in Arizona.”

Pet. App. 90a; see also id. at 55a, 85a.

Even based solely on the Erman and Peterson affi-

davits, standing in this case is less problematic than it

was in SCRAP. The plaintiffs there merely alleged that

they used natural resources surrounding the Washington

Metropolitan area and their widely-scattered legal resi-

dences, and that higher freight rates would increase pollu-

tion and thereby harm the plaintiffs’ use of these areas.

The Court held that the plaintiffs were in sufficiently close

proximity to the alleged harm to deserve standing,* and

that these allegations distinguished the plaintiffs from

other citizens who did not use these natural resources

SCRAP, 412 U.S. at 685, 687, 689. Here, Peterson and

Erman have sworn that opening to mining claims the very

lands they use for recreational and aesthetic enjoyment

threatens the aesthetic beauty and wildlife habitat po-

tential of those lands. This injury is direct, obvious, con-

crete, and specific.

deposits of bentonite, a non-metalliferous material extracted by

open pit operations. Moreover, the Government’s evidence shows

that a large number of mining claims have been staked on this

property in recent years. JA =e. 77

In any event, the affiant’s opinion is just that—pure opinion,

subject to proof at trial—and in no way affects the issue of stand-

ing to test that opinion.

” No Justice disagreed with this conclusion. Justice White

joined by Chief Justice Burger and Justice Rehnquist, dissented he.

cause, in their view, the causal link between higher rates and en-

vironmental harm was too attenuated. SCRAP, 412 U.S. at 722-724.

38

If the Government had acted lawfully, the terminations

in all likelihood would never have taken place, because the

RMPs, which necessarily contain EISs, would have dem-

onstrated that the harm to environmental resources far

outweighed any mining or other interests.“’ But RMPs

and EISs, if prepared at all, were completed after termi-

nations had been effected—too late for NWF and its

members effectively to participate in the planning process

and too late to allow them to demonstrate the full, adverse

environmental impact."

The Government contends that granting standing in

this case will somehow result in a head-on confrontation

between the judiciary and the other two branches of Gov-

ernment, and that a trial would require the District Court

to review records relating to hundreds of individual land

decisions. Ptrs. Br. 36-37. Nothing could be wider of the

mark.

“0 NWF’s contentions’ about the Government's failures to abide

by its statutory duties are substantial. The District Court found in

1985 that “The Government never published its proposed decisions,

as required by 43 C.F.R. § 2461.2,” Pet. App. 14la; the notices it

did publish in the Federal Register did not indicate whether EISs

were prepared, whether land use plans suppoited the action, or

whether the action had been sent to the President and Congress for

review, id.; “FLPMA requires the President to transmit to the

President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House the [Interior]

Secretary’s recommendations for withdrawal revocations,” id. at

124a; FLPMA directs the Secretary to divulge land use plans, and

yet, “as plaintiff alleges and defendants do not deny, defendants

have completed only a fratcion of the land use plans for these

areas,” id. at 13la; “[dljefendants’ reliance on [MFPs] is mis-

placed and does not satisfy the statutory expectations of ‘land use

plans,’”’ id. at 132a; Congress “never authorized the vast scale of

classifications without land use plans which we see today,” id.; and

“ldjespite the statutory command, defendants have failed to provide

for public participation in their withdrawal revocation decisions.”

Id. at 133a.

61 Thus, this case is wholly unlike cases such as Kissinger V.

Reporters Comm. for Freedom of the Press, 445 U.S. 136 (1980),

where three was no statutory duty to create the documents in the

first place.

39

If the Government has clearly violated the law in fail-

ing, inter alia, to undertake RMPs and EISs before com-

pleting terminations (just as the complaint here alleged),

there can surely be no question but that the courts—in

a proper case, with a proper plaintiff—can call the Gov-

ernment to account and order it to follow the statutory

mandate. That hardly presents a head-on confrontation

between branches of Government; instead, the judicial

branch is simply carrying out its traditional duty to in-

terpret and enforce the law. That being true, the only

issue is one of standing—-whether this case has a proper

plaintiff.

But if NWF members use the lands where termina-

tions are occurring, and the Government’s actions have

injured them in their recreation on those lands, there

must be standing. Alternatively, if one of NWF’s very

purposes is to gather and disseminate info mation on

terminations and their effect on recreation and wildlife,

and this purpose has been defeated or threatened because

the Government has violated its statutory duty to gather

and provide such information, as well as to allow NWF

and its members to participate in key decisionmaking,

there can once again be no question but that these mem-

bers, NWF on their behalf, and NWF on its own behalf,

all have standing. There is thus no confrontation between

branches, as the Government envisages.

In any event, regardless of how NWF’s affidavits in

this case are viewed, summary judgment was entirely

inappropriate.’ For example, the District Court accepted

* The Government cites Celoterx, Ptrs. Br. 30 n.21, 41, but that

case supports NWF. The Court there approved summary judgment

on the merits against a plaintiff who was unable to support her

complaint that decedent had been exposed to defendant's products.

The Court rejected an argument that the moving party had to

produce evidence of its own even though the plaintiff had failed in

her proof. However, the Court emphasized that under Rule 56(c),

summary judgment is proper enly after consideration of the whole

record, including pleadings, answers to interrogatories, admissions,

40

as true the Government’s contention that Arizona Strip

lands recently opened to mining possessed “no potential

for non-metalliferous mining,” and this conclusion was

used to cast doubt on Erman’s contention that he would

be injured by the mining in the Strip. Pet. App. 36a.

Yet the Government’s own evidence shows that these lands

had already been open to metalliferous mining, and that

after they were opened to non-metalliferous mining in

1982 and prior to the injunction in 1985, 669 claims

were filed there, JA 77—a material fact hardly consistent

with a finding that the area had “no potential.” This

is just one example of how the District Court improperly

accepted one version of disputed material facts that was

wholly at odds with other evidence in the record. See

Liberty Lobby, Inc., A477 U.S. at 248-249.

In summary, as the Government implies, Ptrs. Br. 27-

28, this Court’s decisions on standing have not always

been viewed as wholly consistent, one with the other. In

cases such as this one, however, the thread that binds

them is that at a constitutional minimum, putting aside

redressability,“* Article III] requires that a party in-

voking a court’s authority must show that he personally

has suffered some actual or threatened injury as a re-

sult of the defendant’s allegedly illegal conduct. Allen,

468 U.S. at 751; Valley Forge Christian College, 454 U.S.

at 472; Gladstone, Realtors, 441 U.S. at 99; Hunt, 432

U.S. at 344-345; Trafficante, 409 U.S. at 208-212; Flast

and affidavits. 477 U.S. at 323-324. That rule is precisely appli-

cable here. In fact, any ambiguity should have been construed in

favor of the non-moving party, NWF. Anderson v. Liberty Lobby,

Inc., 477 U.S. 242 (1986).

*3 There can be no question here that (a) there is a nexus between

the harm suffered and the Government's termination program, and

(b) the relief sought will redress the harm, both for the past and

prospectively. See Pet. App. 120a-12la, 149a; see also n.43, supra.

The facts here thus bear no relation to cases like Allen Vv. Wright,

468 U.S. 787 (1984), and Simon vy. Eastern Kentucky Welfare

Rights Org., 426 U.S. 26 (1976).

41

v. Cohen, 392 U.S. 83, 99 (1968). Thus, all of the

Court’s cases are reconcilable at least in their under-

lying theme: a party merely claiming an interest in a

problem ‘particularly an interest shared by the general

public), or an injury with little nexus to the alleged

wrong, does not have standing, because “that concrete

adverseness which sharpens the presentation of issues”

is absent.” On the other hand, if a party can show a

particularized harm to himself—a personal stake in the

outcome of the suit—and a direct relationship between his

injury and the wrong, the issues are joined and there is

standing.”

Here, NWF has as one of its purposes the monitoring

and protection of the nation’s natural resources so that its

members can use and enjoy those resources. JA 12. The

Government has instituted and is in the process of carry-

ing out a huge, single-minded federal Program of opening

up these federal lands to mining and other specialized

interests. NWF has alleged, and the record shows, that

this Program is being carried out illegally—directly con-

trary to the governing statutory mandate—that its mem-

bers use these lands, and that the Government’s program

is harming these members in their recreational and other

use of these lands.

“* NWF has quite clearly met the “prudentgil limitations” on

standing in the federal courts. See Valley Forge Christian College,

454 U.S. at 474-475; Duke Power Co., 438 U.S. at 80: Warth, 422

U.S. at 499-500; Schlesinger Vv. Reservists Comm. to Stop the War,

418 U.S. 208, 221-227 (1974). NWF’s injuries fall squarely within

the zone of interests protected by NEPA and FLPMA. The Govern-

ment refers to this “zone of interests” test, but does not argue that

it went unsatisfied here. Ptrs. Br. 27 n.20. See Clarke v. See.

Indus. Ass'n, 479 U.S. 388, 399-400 ( 1987).

® Duke Power Co., 438 U.S. at 72; Sierra Club v. Morton, 405

U.S. at 735; Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. at 204.

66 Franchise Tax Bd. of Calif. v. Alean Aluminum Ltd., 110 S. Ct.

661, 664-665 (1990); Clarke, 479 U.S. at 402-403; Havens Realty

Corp., 455 U.S. at 372-379: Gladstone, Realtors, 441 U.S. at 110-

115; Duke Power Co., 438 U.S. at 78-81; Camp, 397 U.S. at 152.

42

We submit that even under the most narrow reading of

the Court’s decisions, NWF has passed the standing test.

The entire record, as well as its own affidavits, support

its allegations. And if the Court disagrees, the proper

remedy is a remand to allow NWF to complete its record,

as it surely can, or to allow further discovery.

Ill, ALTERNATIVELY, THE CASE SHOULD BE RE-

MANDED FOR A DETERMINATION AS TO

WHETHER NWF ESTABLISHED STANDING ON

ITS OWN ACCOUNT

If the Court were to disagree with both of NWF’s first

two arguments, this case should be remanded to the

Court of Appeals. Because of its ruling that the Peter-

son affidavit was sufficient to establish NWF’s standing,

the appellate court never had to reach the issue of

whether NWF established standing on its own account

by demonstrating injury to the association itself. Sec

Havens Realty Corp., 455 U.S. at 369, 378-379; Hunt, 432

U.S. at "15; Warith, 422 U.S. at 511. The Court of Ap-

peals should determine that issue in the first instance.

This is hardly a frivolous claim. “Informational in-

jury”—injury resulting from a defendant's refusal or

failure to provide information necessary to an associa-

tion's proper functioning—has been held by the lower

courts to constitute injury-in-fact to that association,’

and this Court’s decisions in such cases as Havens Realty

Corp., 455 U.S. at 379, and Public Citizen, 109 S. Ct. at

2565-64, are to the same effect.

In this case, informational injury has two aspects.

First, as noted above, federal statutes specifically require

" E.g., National Wildlife Fed'n, 839 F.2d at 712: Action Alliance

of Senior Citizens Vv. Heckler, 789 F.2d 931, 937-939 (D.C. Cir.

1986): Munoz-Mendoza Vv. Pierce, 711 F.2d 421, 428 (Ist Cir.

1983); Cady Vv. Morton, 527 F.2d 786, 790 (9th Cir. 1975); Sein-

tists’ Inst. for Puh. Information, Inc. v. Atomic Eneray Comm'n,

481 F.2d 1079, 1087 n.29 (D.C. Cir. 1973); National Org. for the

Refors: of Marijuana Laws (NORML) v. United States Dep't of

State, 452 F. Supp. 1226, 1230 (D.D.C. 1978).

43

the Government to publish FLPMA regulations, formulate

RMPs and EISs, and include the public in agency deci-

sion-making. The complaint alleged that these procedures

were not followed and that NWF has thereby been in-

jured by its inability to provide information to its mem-

bers about terminations and to participate in the decision-

making process on those (erminations. JA 12, par. 6; 19,

par. 38; 20-21, pars. 40-41, 43-46. The Greenwalt affi-

davit gives specific examples of NWF’s education pro-

gram, its advocacy of improvements in controls over

federal lands, and its monitoring of federal land laws,

and alleges that NWF and its members, who contribute

financially in part to obtain information on these issues,

have been injured by the Government's failure to pro-

vide adequate information and opportunities for public

participation. Pet. App. 193a-194a. Thus, not only

has NWF been damaged by its inability to perform the

very functions it was created to carry out, but it will be

financially harmed if it cannot provide the information

for which its members contribute money.”

*’ This is a far more direct and less problematical harm than

that held sufficient in Hwnt, where the North Carolina statute might

have resulted in a contraction of the apple market in Washington

State, which in turn might have caused a reduction in assessments

paid to the plaintiff Commission. Hunt, 432 U.S. at 345. Neverthe-

less, the Commission's standing was upheld. Jd. at 341-345.

The injury to NWF is also more specific and identifiable than

that to the Village of Bellwood in Gladstone, Realtors, where the

village’s sole complaint was that it had been injured “by having

the housing market in such village wrongfully and illegally manipu-

lated to the economic and social detriment of the citizens of such

village.” Joint App., Gladstone, Realtors at 99, par. 12. The vil-

lage’s standing was upheld. Gladstone, Realtors, 441 U.S. at 109-

111.

In Public Citizen, 109 S. Ct. at 2563, the Court found that the

plaintiff organizations had standing even though all they sought

was an opportunity to monitor the meetings of an ABA committee

and participate effectively in the judicial selection process of that

committee.

44

NWF’s purposes here are thus quite akin to those that

supported standing for the Washington Legal Foundation

and Publie Citizen in Public Citizen, 109 8. Ct. at 2563-

64. NWF is “attempting to compel” the Government “to

comply with” the law in part so that it can “monitor |the

Government’s| workings and participate more effectively

in the * * * process.” Jd. at 2563.

Second, it would be ironic indeed—and a miscarriage of

justice—if the complaint and the Greenwalt affidavit were

somehow deemed lacking in specificity. The Government,

by the very act of violating the governing statutes and

regulations and by refusing to produce information that

Congress has commanded it to make public, would thereby

have defeated a challenge to its legal authority. The com-

plaint and affidavit would be deemed to contain too little

information precisely because the Government refused to

create it, which in turn is the very illegal act being chal-

lenged in the lawsuit.

The informational and educational role played by NWF

is not one carried out by the public at large; it is a role

unique to this organization and to a few others like it.

The “public” does not gather, assimilate, critique and

dispense information about the Government’s termination

program and the effects of those terminations on wildlife,

recreation, hunting, and the like. NWF’s role is therefore

similar to that of HOME in Havens Realty Corp., 455

U.S. at 379, where the defendants’ steering practices ad-

versely affected HOME’s ability to provide counseling and

referral services. ;

Thus, NWF’s claim of standing on its own account is

compelling. But because of rulings in favor of NWF

on other questions, the Court of Appeals never had to

reach or decide this important issue, either in its original

ruling on the preliminary injunction, Pet. App. 48a-59a,

or in its ruling on summary judgment, Pet. App. 10a-21a.

This Court should not address that issue without first

45

obtaining the views of that court,” particularly because

(a) review of this issue would necessitate an analysis not

just of the Erman affidavit but of the entire record, (b)

the Government has discussed the issue in only three

pages of its brief, Ptrs. Br. 41-43, and (‘c) even this

discussion appears to miss the point.’

CONCLUSION

NWF respectfully submits, for the reasons set forth

above, that:

(1) The writ should be dismissed as improvidently

granted, or, in the alternative, the judgment below should

be affirmed, because the Court of Appeals correctly ruled

that, under D.C. Cireuit law, the District Court abused

its diseretion in refusing to allow NWF to file five supple-

mental affidavits demonstrating without question its

standing in this case; or

® See International Brotherhood of Elec. Workers v. Heckler,

481 U.S. 851, 865 (1987); Escambia County v. McMillan, 466 U.S.

48, 51-52 (1984); J. Truett Payne Co. vy. Chrysler Motors Corp.,

451 U.S. 557, 568 (1981).

For example, the Government wholly misperceives NWF's posi-

tion when it contends that NWF failed to allege that the Government

withheld “any particular information” and that “extensive files”

were made available to NWF. Ptrs. Br. 42-43. NWF’s argument

is not that it was denied access to a particular piece of information

already in the Government's possession but rather that the Govern-

ment had an affirmative legal duty, which it breached, to create

RMPs and EISs before terminations began under the Government's

Program.

NWF examined over 200 case files provided in response to dis-

covery and FOIA requests, but it did not accept the Government's

offer to review additional files which the Government opened to

inspection, see Pet. App. 32a n.8; Ptrs. Br. 42, because NWF already

knew that the documents being sought had never been created and

therefore could not possibly be in the files. For example, the Govern-

ment conceded that it had prepared no EIS on the Program, Ans.

to Plaintiff's Ist Set of Interrogatories No. 2(a), 2d Set of Inter-

rogatories Nos. 14, 15, and that it had produced no EISs in response

to NWF’s discovery request. ER 186.

46

(2) The judgment below should be affirmed because the

record as a whole, including the Peterson and Erman

affidavits as well as the Government's own evidence, sup-

ports the Court of Appeals’ finding that NWF has stand-

ing in its representational capacity; or

(3) The case should be remanded to the Court of Ap-

peals for its finding in the first instance, not hereto-

fore made, as to whether NWF has standing in its own

right as an organization.

Respectfully submitted,

E. BARRETT PRETTYMAN, JR.*

JOHN C. KEENEY, JR.

DAVID G. LEITCH

Scott H. Reiscu

HOGAN & HARTSON

555 Thirteenth Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20004

(202) 637-5685

KATHLEEN C. ZIMMERMAN

NORMAN L. DEAN, JR.

NATIONAL WILDLIFE FEDERATION

1400 16th Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 797-6864

* Counsel of Record Counsel for Respondent

APPENDICES

la

APPENDIX A

[NEPA

42 U.S.C, § 4332. Cooperation of agencies; reports; avail-

ability of information; recommendations; international

and national coordination of. efforts

The Congress authorizes and directs that, to the fullest

extent possible: * * * (2) all agencies of the Federal

Government shall—

(C) include in every recommendation or report on

proposals for legislation and other major Federal ac-

tions significantly affecting the quality of the human

environment, a detailed statement by the responsible

official on—

(i) the environmental impact of the proposed

action,

(ii) any adverse environmental effects which

cannot be avoided should the proposal be imple-

mented,

(iii) alternatives to the proposed action,

(iv) the relationship between local short-term

uses of man’s environment and the maintenance

and enhancement of long-term productivity, and

(v) any irreversible or irretrievable commit-

ments of resources which would be involved in

the proposed action should it be implemented.

Prior to making any detailed statement, the respon-

sible Federal official shall consult with and obtain the

comments of any Federal agency which has jurisdic-

tion by law or special expertise with respect to any

environmental impact involved. Copies of such state-

ment and the comments and views of the appropriate

Federal, State, and local agencies, which are author-

ized to develop and enforce environmental standards,

2a

shall be made available to the President, the Council

on Environmental Quality and to the public as pro-

vided by section 552 of Title 5, and shall accompany

the proposal through the existing agency review

processes ;

[FLPMA]

43 U.S.C. $1701. Congressional declaration of policy

[$ 102]

(a) The Congress declares that it is the policy of the

United States that—

(2) the national interest will be best realized if the

pub'ie lands and their resources are periodically and

systematically inventoried and their present and fu-

ture use is projected through a land use planning

process coordinated with other Federal and State

planning efforts;

(3) public lands not previously designated for any

specific use and all existing classifications of public

lands that were effected by executive action or statute

before October 21, 1976, be reviewed in accordance

with the provisions of this Act;

(7) goals and objectives be established by law as

guidelines for public land use planning, and that

management be on the basis of multiple use and sus-

tained yield unless otherwise specified by law;

43 U.S.C. $ 1702. Definitions [§ 103]

(ce) The term “multiple use” means the management of

the public lands and their various resource values so that

they are utilized in the combination that will best meet

the present and future needs of the American people;

making the most judicious use of the land for some or all

3a

of these resources or re’ated services over areas large

enough to provide sufficient latitude for periodic adjust-

ments in use to conform to changing needs and conditions;

the use of some land for less than all of the resources; a

combination of balanced and diverse resource uses that

takes into account the long-term needs of future genera-

tions for renewable and nonrenewab!e resources, including,

but not limited to, recreation, range, timber, minerals,

watershed, wi!dlife and fish, and natural scenic, scientific

and historical values; and harmonious and coordinated

management of the various resources without permanent

impairment of the productivity of the land and the quality

of the environment with consideration being given to the

relative values of the resources and not necessarily to the

combination of uses that will give the greatest economic

return or the greatest unit output.

(d) The term “public involvement” means the oppor-

tunity for participation by affected citizens in rulemaking,

decisionmaking, and planning with respect to the public

lands, including pub'ic meetings or hearings held at loca-

tions near the affected lands, or advisory mechanisms, or

such other procedures as may be necessary to provide pub-

lic comment in a particular instance.

(j) The term “withdrawal” means withholding an area

of Federal land from settlement, sale, location, or entry,

under some or all of the genera! land laws, for the purpose

of limiting activities under those laws in order to main-

tain other public values in the area or reserving the area

for a particular public purpose or program; or trans-

ferring jurisdiction over an area of Federal land, other

than “property” governed by the Federal Property and

Administrative Services Act, as amended (40 U.S.C. 472)

from one department, bureau or agency to another depart-

ment, bureau or agency.

4a

43 U.S.C. § 1712. Land use plans [ § 202]

(a) Development, maintenance, and revision by

Secretary

The Secretary shall, with public involvement and con-

sistent with the terms and conditions of this Act, de-

velop, maintain, and, when appropriate, revise land use

plans which provide by tracts or areas for the use of

the public lands. Land use plans shall be developed for

the public lands regardless of whether such lands pre-

viously have been classified, withdrawn, set aside, or

otherwise designated for one or more uses.

(d) Review and inclusion of classified public lands;

review of existing land use plans; modification

and termination of classifications

Any classification of public lands or any land use plan

in effect on October 21, 1976, is subject to review in the

land use planning process conducted under this section,

and all public lands, regardless of classification, are sub-

ject to inclusion in any land use plan developed pursuant

to this section. The Secretary may modify or terminate

any such classification consistent with such land use

plans.

(f) Procedures applicable to formulation of plans and

programs for public land management

The Secretary shall allow an opportunity for public

involvement and by regulation shall establish procedures,

including public hearings where appropriate, to give Fed-

eral, State, and local governments and the public, ade-

quate notice and opportunity to comment upon and par-

ticipate in the formulation of plans and programs relat-

ing to the management of the public lands.

5a

43 U.S.C. $1714. Withdrawals of lands [§ 204(a)]

(a) Authorization and limitation; delegation of

authority

On and after the effective date of this Act the Secre-

tary is authorized to make, modify, extend, or revoke

withdrawals but only in accordance with the provisions

and limitations of this section. The Secretary may dele-

gate this withdrawal authority only to individuals in the

Office of the Secretary who have been appointed by the

President, by and with the advice and consent of the

Senate.

(1) Review of existing withdrawals in certain States:

procedure applicable for determination of future

status of lands; authorization of appropriations

(1) The Secretary shall, within fifteen years of Oc-

tober 21, 1976, review withdrawals existing on Oc-

tober 21, 1976, in the States of Arizona, California, Colo-

rado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon,

Utah, Washington, and Wyoming of (1) all Federal

lands other than withdrawals of the public lands ad-

ministered by the Bureau of Land Management and of

lands which, on October 21, 1976, were part of Indian

reservations and other Indian holdings, the National

Forest System, the National Park System, the National

Wildlife Refuge System, other lands administered by the

Fish and Wildlife Service or the Secretary through the

Fish and Wildlife Service, the National Wild and Scenic

Rivers System, and the National System of Trails;

and (2) all public lands administered by the Bureau of

Land Management and of lands in the National Forest

System (except those in wilderness areas, and those areas

formally identified as primitive or natural areas or des-

ignated as national recreation areas) which closed the

lands to appropriation under the Mining Law of 1872

(17 Stat. 91, as amended; 30 U.S.C. 22 et seq.) or to

leasing under the Mineral Leasing Act of 1920 (41 Stat.

437, as amended; 30 U.S.C. 181 et seq.).

6a

(2) In the review required by paragraph (1) of this

subsection, the Secretary shall determine whether, and

for how long, the continuation of the existing withdrawal

of the lands would be. in his judgment, consistent with

the statutory objectives of the programs for which the

lands were dedicated and of the other relevant programs.

The Secretary shall report his recommendations to the

President, together with statements of concurrence or

nonconcurrence submitted by the heads of the depart-

ments or agencies which administer the lands. The Pres-

ident shall transmit this report to the President of the

Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives,

together with his recommendations for action by the Sec-

retary, or for legislation. The Secretary may act to

terminate withdrawals other than those made by Act of

the Congress in accordance with the recommendations

of the President unless before the end of ninety days

(not counting days on which the Senate and the House

of Representatives has adjourned for more than three

consecutive days! beginning on the day the report of the

President has been submitted to the Senate and the House

of Representatives the Congress has adopted a concur-

rent resolution indicating otherwise. If the committee

to which a resolution has been referred during the said

ninety day period, has not reported it at the end of

thirty calendar days after its referral, it shall be in

order to either discharge the committee from further con-

sideration of such resolution or to discharge the commit-

tee from consideration of any other resolution with re-

spect to the Presidential recommendation. A motion to

discharge may be made only by an individual favoring the

resolution, shall be highly privileged ‘except that it may

not be made after the committee has reported such a

resolution', and debate thereon shall be limited to not

more than one hour, to be divided equally between those

favoring and those opposing the resolution. An amend-

ment to the motion shall not be in order, and it shal! not

be in order to move to reconsider the vote by which the

7a

motion was agreed to or disagreed to. If the motion to

discharge is agreed to or disagreed to, the motion may

not be made with respect to any other resolution with re-

spect to the same Presidential recommendation. When

the committee has reprinted, or has been discharged from

further consideration of a resolution, it shall at any time

thereafter be in order ‘even though a previous motion to

the same effect has been disagreed to) to move to pro-

ceed to the consideration of the resolution. The motion

shall be highly privileged and shall not be debatable. An

amendment to the motion shall not be in order, and it

shall not be in order to move to reconsider the vote by

which the motion was agreed to or disagreed to.

43 U.S.C. $1732. Management of use, occunancy, and

development of public lands | ¢ 302!

(a) Multiple use and sustained yield requirements ap-

plicable; exception

The Secretary shall manage the public lands under prin-

cip’es of multiple use and sustained yield, in accordance

with the land use plans developed by him under section

1712 of this title when they are available, except that

where a tract of such public land has been dedicated to

specific uses according to any other provisions of law it

shall be managed in accordance with such law.

43 U.S.C. £1739. Advisory councils |< 309)

‘e} Public participation: procedures applicable

In exercising his authorities under this Act, the Secre-

tary. by regulation, shall establish procedures, including

public hearings where appropriate, to give the Federal,

State, and local governments and the public adequate no-

tice and an opportunity to comment upon the formulation

of standards and criteria for, and to participate in, the

preparation and execution of p'ans and programs for, and

the management of, the public lands.

8a

13 U.S.C. $1719. Rules and regulations |: 310)

The Secretary, with respect to the public lands, shall

promulgate rules and regulations to carry out the purposes

of this Act and of other laws applicable to the public

lands, and the Secretary of Agriculture, with respect to

lands within the National Forest System, shall promulgate

rules and regulations to carry out the purposes of this Act.

The promulgation of such rules and regulations shall be

governed by the provisions of chapter 5 of Title 5, without

regard to section 553(a!(2). Prior to the promulgation

of such rules and regulations, such lands shall be admin-

istered under existing rules and regulations concerning

such lands to the extent practical.

| Public Law and Regulations |

Pub. L. No. 94-579, £ 701.

‘ec All withdrawals, reservations, classifications, and

designations in effect as of the date of approval of this

Act shall remain in full force and effect until modified

under the provisions of this Act or other applicable law.

43 C.F.R. £ 1601.0-5. Definitions

(k) “Resource management plan” means a land use

plan as described by the Federal Land Policy and Manage-

ment Act. The resource management plan generally es-

tablishes in a written document:

(1) Land areas for limited, restricted or exclusive use;

designation, including ACEC designation; and transfer

from Bureau of Land Management Administration:

(2) Allowable resource uses ‘either singly or in com-

bination) and related levels of production or use to be

maintained;

(3) Resource condition goals and objectives to be at-

tained ;

9a

(4) Program constraints and general management

practices needed to achieve the above items;

(5) Need for an area to be covered by more detailed

and specific plans;

(6) Support action, including such measures as re-

source protection, access development, realty action,

cadastral survey, ete., as necessary to achieve the above:

(7) General implementation sequences, where carrying

out a planned action is dependent upon prior accomplish-

ment of another planned action; and

(8) Intervals and standards for monitoring and evalu-

ating the plan to determine the effectiveness of the plan

and the need for amendment or revision.

It is not a final implementation decision on actions

which require further specific plans, process steps, or deci-

sions under specific provisions of law and regulations.

43 C.F.R. § 1601.0-6. Environmental impact statement

policy

Approval of a resource management plan is considered

a major Federal action significantly affecting the quality

of the human environment. The environmental analysis of

alternatives and the proposed plan shall be accomplished

as part of the resource management planning process and,

wherever possible, the proposed plan and related environ-

mental impact statement shall be published in a single

document.

10a

APPENDIX B

[ Dept. Logo]

UNITED STATES

DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR

OFFICE OF THE SOLICITOR

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20240

July 22, 1988

BLM.ER.0569

Kathleen C. Zimmerman, Esquire

National Wildlife Federation

1412 16th Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

Dear Ms. Zimmerman:

As directed by the court, I am providing you with a copy

of the exhibit submitted to the court by the Government

on July 22, 1988.

Sincerely

's’ Paul B. Smyth

PAUL B. SMYTH

Enclosure

lla

RESOURCE MANAGEMENT PLANNING

Table I

Resource Management Planning Summary

July 20, 1988

State Number of Plans Completed Through Number of Plans

Office NOI Draft Proposed Final Approved

Alaska 2 1 0 3

Arizona 2 1 0 2

California 1 1 0 4

Colorado 1 1 1 6

Idaho 0 0 0 7

Montana 0 1 0 6

Nevada 0 0 0 7

New Mexico 0 1 3 2

Oregon 6 1 1 3

Utah 2 1 1 6

Wyoming 0 2 2 4

TOTALS 14 10 OR 50

Table II

Surface Acres covered by RMPs

July 20, 1988

Total

Total Surface Surface % Public

#of Acres covered Acres Lands covered

RMPs by RMPs Administered by RMP

Bureauwide i 81,908,000 333,283,000 25.6

Exclu. Alaska 47 70,201,000 175.990.0000 39.9

12a

Table III

Statutes of Resource Management Plans in Progress

July 20, 1988

State / Plan NOI Draft Proposed Status

AK Fort Wainwright 07/21/87 Draft exp. 9 88

Fort Greeley 07/21/87 Draft exp. 9/88

South Central NOl exp. 11/88

Utility Corridor 01/16/86 08/28/87 Final exp. FY89

AZ Arizona Strip 07/22/87 Draft exp. FY89

Kingman NOlexp. FY8s

Phoenix 01/17/36 02/29/88 Final exp. FY89

Safford 09/22/87 Draft exp. 5 89

CA Arcata o1/29'35 ©, 18 88 Final exp. FY®9

Bishop 06/27/88 Draft exp. FY8s

South Metro NOl exp. FY&89

Redding NOlexp. FY89

CO Gunnison Basin NOl exp. FY8s

Little Snake 10/22/84" 02/07/86 10/03/86 Pending Revised

Protest

San Lais 01/16/36 Draft exp. 1/89

Uncompahgre 07/28/83 07/31/87 Final exp. 9/88

MT Judith Phillips, Valley NOl exp. 7/88

West Hi-Line 09/18/86" 06/05/87 Final exp. 7 88

NV Nellis NOL exp. 7/88

NM Carlshad 10/25/83 03/21/86 10/10/86" Under protest

Farmington 05/16/85 03/06/87 09/25 87 Under protest

Socorro 01/28/86 61/22/88 Final exp. 9/88

Taos 01/26/84 03/27/87 10/09/87 ROD Pending

OR Baker 03/05/85 04/18/86 10/03/86 ROD Pending

Brothers /LaPine 09/03/86 10/23/87 Final exp. 10 88

Coos Bay 09 03/86 Draft exp. 10 89

Three Rivers (D/R) 09/28/87 Draft exp. FY89

Eugene 09 (038/86 Draft exp. 10 89

Medford oo 03 86 Draft exp. 10 89

Roseberg 09 03 86 Draft exp. 10 89

Salem 09/03/86 Draft exp. 10 89

! Original Littl Snake NOI published 6/23 /83.

2 Original West Hi-Line NOI published 12/6/83.

* Suppleme.ct to proposed Carlsbad RMP issued 12 16/86.

13a

State/Plan NOI Draft Proposed Status

UT Diamond Mountain NOl exp. FY88

Dixie 11/14/86 Draft exp. FY89

Pony Express 11/21/86 05/13/88 Final exp. 9/88

San Juan 03/11/83 06/20/86 12/28/87 Under protest

San Rafael 06/03/85 Draft exp. 8/88

wy 02/09/86 04/01/88 Final exp. 9/88

Green River NOI exp. FY88

Medicine Bow 02/28/86 06/19/87 Final exp. 9/88

Pinedale 09/30/83 03/06/87 12/04/87 ROD pending

Washakie 02/03/83 11/21/86 11/13/87 Under protest

14a

Table IV

Approved Resource Management Plans

July 20, 1988

lia

Table IV (Continued)

Date NOI DateROD ~~ Surface Acres

Date NOI Date ROD Surface Acres State/Plan Name Published Approved Covered by RMP

State/Plan Name Published Approved Covered by RMP Montana

Alaska Billings 08/18/80 09/28/84 432,000

Central Yukon 11/51/82 09/26/26 9,487,000 — poo haa ot yt

St . / ’ 0 /0 / WV, ,

White Mountain «11/16/81 02/02/86 1,000,000 North Dakota 12/29/84 04/19/88 61.500

——— owder River 3/15 O81,

7 Total 11,707,000 South Dakota 06/04/82 04/14/86 __ 281,000

Arizona Total 2,318,000 | sic |

Lower Gila South 6/14/83 05/11/87! 2,009,000

Yuma 05/04/83 05/01/86 1.192.000 — eee eae asenane

aoni ann gan : 800,

a a — Elko 11/09/83 03/11/87 3,134,000

California Esmeralda/So. Nye 03/11/83 = 10/10/86 3,400,000

Alturas 09/30/80% 08/28/84 407,000 Lahontan 07/09/81 09/03/85 2,400,000

atc N.A. 12/19/80 12,131,000 Shoshone /Eureka 03/02/81 02/26/86 4.300.000

Coast / Valley 09/30/82 09/06/85 237.000 Walker 03/31/83 06/09/86 1,900,000

Hollister 02/26/82 08/06/84 238.000 Wells 05/23/80 07/16/85 4,300,000

Total 13,103,000 Total 23,234,000

Colorado . ,

: New Mexico

Glenwood Springs 10/19/79 = 01/03/84 566,000 : 03/23/83 01/16/86 896.000

Grand Junction 12/08 82 01/29/87 1,280,000 Walhe Bande poop 09/05/86 1,200,000

Kremmling 01/18/80 12/19/84 398,000 ; 3 696.000

Northeast 11/14/80 09/16/26 32,000 Total oes

Piceance Basin 07/22/82 03/13/87 604,000 Oregon

San Juan/San Miguel 01/05/81 09/05/854 994,000 John Day 01/28/81 08/28/85 182,000

Total 3,874,000 Spokane 07/21/83 05/19/87 308,000

Idaho Two Rivers 09/21/84 06/06/86 __ 325,000

Cascade 11/25/83 07/01/88 488 000 Total 815,000

Cassia 0° /06/R1 01 (24/85 476.000 Utah

Jarbidge 02/10 81 03/23/87 1,690,000 Book Cliffs 02/07/80 06/03/85 1,980,000

Lemni 07/07/83 04/08/87 460,000 Box Elder 09/21/845 04/18/86 1,012,000

Medicine Lodge 03/26/81 11/29 85 649 000 Cedar /Beaver/

Monument 03/19/81 = 04/22/85 1.179.000 Garfield/Antimony 04/10/80 10/01/86 1,071,000

Pocatello 01/17/85 01/08/88 265,000 Grand 02/12/80% 06/24/85 1,853,000

Total 5,207,000 House Range 05/01/857 10/28/87 2,245,000

. , Warm Springs 05/01/858 03/30/87 2,227,000

1 Partial Lower Gila South RMP approved 5/11/87; complete ROD Total 9,488,000

pending. rr

2 P: rti . \ i 5/ / 7 ‘Te ‘e Ser o

ae ey uma RMP approved 5/1/86; complete RMP approved 5 Box Elder RMP NOI Amended 1/25/88.

® Grand RMP NOI Amended 2/11/88.

7 House Range NOI initially published 1/12/83; amended 6/6/83.

* Warm Springs NOI initially published 2/8/80.

3 Alturas RVP NOT Amended 2/21/88.

‘Partial San Jvan/San Miguel RMP approved &/85; complete

RMP approved 9/85.

16a

Table IV (Continued)

Date NOI Date ROD Surface Acres

State Plan Name Published Approved Covered y RMP

Wyoming

Bulfalo 04/04/82 10/04/85 799,000

Kemmerer 10/07/81 04/29/86 1,633,000

Lander 01/26/84 06/19/87 2,500,000

Platte River 12/02/81 08/05/85 1,400,000

Total 6,332,000

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.