Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Lewis v. Jeffers

Supreme Court brief1990

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

FF SGT) | supreme court, us.

4

NO. 89- JUL 49 «1989

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UN

October Term, 198%

JAMES R. RICKETTS, Director, Arizona

Department of Corrections, and DONALD

WAWRZASZEK, Superintendent, Arizona State

Prison,

Petitioners,

-VvVs-

JIMMIE WAYNE JEFFERS,

Respondent,

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

ROBERT K. CORBIN

Attorney General of

the State of Arizona

JESSICA GIFFORD FUNKHOUSER

Chief Counsel

Criminal Division

*GERALD R. GRANT

Assistant Attorney General

Department of Law

1275 W. Washington

Phoenix, Arizona 85007

Telephone: (602)542-4686

Attorneys for PETITIONERS

*Counsel of Record

QUESTION PRESENTED

May a federal court set aside a state

court's finding of an aggravating

circumstance in a capital case without

applying a standard that requires some

deference to the state court's finding?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED

TABLE OF CASES AND AUTHORITIES

OPINION BELOW

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

CONSTITUTIONAL FROVISIONS INVOLVED

STATEMENT OF FACTS

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

CONCLUSION

CERTIFICATION

APPENDIX A

APPENDIX B

lh ns

ae

TABLE OF CASES AND AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Adamson v. Ricketts

865 F.2d 1011 (9th Cir. 1988) 12

Barclay v. Florida

463 U.S. 939 (1983) 11,13

Chaney v. Lewis

801 F.2d 1191 (9th Cir. 1986) 12

Godfrey v. Georgia

446 U.S. 420 (1980) 13,14

Jeffers v. Ricketts

627 F. Supp. 1334 (D. Ariz. 1986) 9

Jeffers v. Ricketts

832 F.2d 476 (9th Cir. 1987) 10,12,13

Magwood v. Smith

791 F.2d 1438 (llth Cir. 1986) 15,16

State v. Brookover

124 Ariz. 38

601 P.2d 1322 (1979) 19

State v. Ceja

126 Ariz. 35

612 P.2d 491 (1980) 20

State v. Graham

135 Ariz. 209

660 P.2d 460 (1983) 18

State v. Jeffers

135 Ariz. 404

661 P.2d 1105 (1983) 9,15,16

-1iii-

State v. Poland

144 Ariz. 388

698 P.2d 183 (1985) 22

State v. Smith

138 Ariz. 79

673 P.2d 17 (1983) 17

State v. Watson

120 Ariz. 441

586 P.2d 1253 (1978) 8,21

Woratzek v. Ricketts

820 F.2d 1450 (9th Cir. 1987) 16

Authoriti

28 U.S.C.

1254(1) 2

1291 2

2253 2

2241 es 2

2254 2

2254(d) 11,15,16

AUDA

United States Constitution

Eighth Amendment 3

Fourteenth Amendment 3

-iv-

OPINION BELOW

A three-member panel of the Ninth

Circuit upheld Jeffers’ convictions for

first degree murder and assault with a

deadly weapon and rejected his claim that

he was denied an impartial sentencing

tribunal. The panel also held that

Arizona's “especially heinous, cruel or

depraved” aggravating circumstance is not

void on its face. Two members of the

panel, however, concluded that the

Arizona courts erroneously applied this

aggravating circumstance to Jeffers’

conduct and therefore set aside his death

sentence. (Appendix A.)

—

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

On February 27, 1986, Jimmie Wayne

Jeffers appealed the order of the United

States District Court for the District of

Arizona denying his application for writ

of habeas corpus under 28 U.S.C. §§ 2241

and 2254. The Ninth Circuit had

jurisdiction to hear the appeal pursuant

to 28 U.S.C. §§ 1291 and 2253.

The Ninth Circuit filed its opinion on

November 9, 1987, and denied rehearing on

April 14, 1989. (Appendices A and B.)

This petition is timely filed within

90 days of entry of judgment by that

court. Petitioners invoke this Court's

jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The pertinent portion of the Eighth

Amendment to the Constitution of the

United States:

{[NJor cruel and unusual

punishments inflicted.

The pertinent portion of the Fourteenth

Amendment to the Constitution:

{[N]Jor shall any state deprive any

person of life, liberty, or

property without due process of

law

;

_

STATEMENT OF FACTS

In August of 1976, Jeffers was being

held in the Pima County Jail on charges

of receiving stolen property. While

there, he received reports that his

girlfriend, Penelope Cheney, was

providing the police with information

about Jeffers and certain heroin

transactions. Jeffers wrote a note to

another jail inmate offering him money if

he would kill Cheney. The detention

officer who was supposed to deliver the

note seized it and read it.

Jeffers was released on bond on

October 8, 1976. Shortly afterwards, he

began living with Doris Van Der Veer in

the Linda Vista Motel in Tucson. Jeffers

had Van Der Veer deliver a note to

Cheney. In the note, Jeffers asked

Cheney to come back to him.

On October 20, 1976, Jeffers told Van

Der Veer that Cheney was coming over and

0 p.Aa ae whites cmiinpate St.

a ee

asked her to leave during Cheney's

visit. As Van Der Veer was leaving the

motel room, Cheney was arriving and

Jeffers introduced the two women.

Jeffers and Cheney than went inside the

motel room.

Van Der Veer waited around the motel

grounds for about 2 hours. She then went

back to the motel room and knocked on the

door. Jeffers answered and told Van Der

Veer to come in. Jeffers had a gun in

his hand and Cheney, who appeared to be

cyanotic, was lying on her back on the

bed. Van Der Veer said she would leave,

but Jeffers pointed the gun at her, told

her to sit down and said that he needed

her help. He then injected what appeared

to be heroin into Cheney's hand and said,

"I have given her enough shit to kill a

horse and this bitch won't die."

At Jeffers’ direction, Van Der Veer, a

former nurse, checked Cheney's

Se ee

condition. Cheney's heartbeat was faint,

her breathing was labored, and a foamy

fluid (a sign of a drug overdose) was

coming out of her mouth. When Van Der

Veer asked Jeffers if he was going to

help Cheney, he responded, “No, I'm going

to kill her.”

Jeffers cursed at Cheney and then took

her belt off. Straddling her body,

Jeffers began choking her with the belt.

When Cheney continued to breathe, Jeffers

began choking her with his hands. Van

Der Veer told Jeffers to stop because

Cheney was going to die anyway, but he

responded, “No, I've seen her this way

before and she's come out of it."

Jeffers continued choking Cheney and then

told Van Der Veer to see if Cheney was

dead. Van Der Veer could not find a

pulse and told appellant that Cheney was

dead.

Jeffers then prepared another syringe

of heroin and forced Van Der Veer to

inject it into Cheney's groin and hand.

He also told her to get on top of Cheney

and choke her. Jeffers took photographs

of Van Der Veer as she complied with his

orders.

Apparently still not satisfied, Jeffers

again straddled Cheney and began beating

her with his hands, calling her a “bitch"

and a “dirty snitch.” As he delivered

the blows, Jeffers said, “This one is for

{naming several names]." He finally

dragged Cheney's body into the bathroom

and put it in the shower.

After 3 days in the shower, the body

began to smell. Jeffers and Van Der Veer

wrapped the body in garbage bags and put

it in a sleeping bag. That night they

loaded the body into the trunk of Van Der

Veer's car. They then drove to the

Sedona area and buried Cheney's body.

ee

The state later charged Jeffers with

the first-degree murder of Cheney and

with aggravated assault on Van Der Veer.

On February 9, 1978, a jury found Jeffers

guilty of both charges. The trial court

sentenced Jeffers to death for the murder

and to a.prison term of not less than

5 years nor more than 10 years for the

assault.

While Jeffers’ appeal was pending, the

Arizona Supreme Court ordered him

resentenced pursuant to State v. Watson,

120 Ariz. 441, 586 P.2d 1253 (1978). On

July 10, 1980, the trial court found two

aggravating circumstances (that Jeffers

created a grave risk of death to Van Der

Veer and that he committed the murder in

an especially heinous, cruel and depraved

manner) and again sentenced Jeffers to

death. The matter then returned to the

Arizona Supreme Court which affirmed the

convictions and sentences. State v.

Jeffers, 135 Ariz. 404, 661 P.2d 1105,

cert. denied, 464 U.S. 865 (1983). In

affirming the death sentence, the supreme

court overturned the trial court's “grave

risk of death” finding and its finding

that the murder was “especially cruel.”

It affirmed the finding that the murder

was “especially heinous and depraved.”

Jeffers then sought federal habeas

relief. On February 4, 1986, the

district court denied relief. Jeffers v.

Ricketts, 627 F. Supp. 1334 (D. Ariz.

1986). Jeffers appealed this decision to

the Ninth Circuit. On November 9, 1987,

a three-member panel cf the Ninth Circuit

rejected Jeffers' attacks on his

convictions. Two mnembers of the panel,

however, vacated Jeffers’ death sentence

on the ground that the “especially

heinous or depraved” aggravating

circumstance was incorrectly applied to

Jeffers. Jeffers v. Ricketts, 832 F.2d

476 (9th Cir. 1987). The state moved for

rehearing and suggested a rehearing

en banc. The Ninth Circuit denied both

requests on April 14, 1989. The state

then filed this petition for writ of

certiorari.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I.

This case presents the question of the

proper standard federal courts should

apply in reviewing state court findings

of aggravating circumstances in capital

sentencing decisions. In general,

federal habeas review of state

-10-

oe. ee

0 ew. Gee

court convictions is limited and

deferential. For example, federal courts

must give state court factual findings a

presumption of correctness. See

28 U.S.C. § 2254(d). With respect to

findings of aggravating circumstances, a

plurality of this Court hrs stated that

its review is limited to determining

whether the findings are so unprincipled

or arbitrary as to somehow violate the

United States Constitution. Barclay v.

Florida, 463 U.S. 939, 947 (1985).

In this case, however, the Ninth

Circuit did not employ a deferential

review of the state court’s finding that

Jeffers committed this murder in an

especially heinous or depraved manner.

Instead, the Ninth Circuit substituted

its assessment of the facts for that of

the state court. This type of review is

inconsistent with principles of

federalism and comity.

elie

The Ninth Circuit began its analysis by

rejecting Jeffers’ claim that Arizona's

“especially heinous, cruel or depraved”

aggravating circumstance is

unconstitutionally vague on its face.

Relying nm an earlier decision in Chaney

v. Lewis, 801 F.2d 1191 (9th Cir. 1986),

cert. denied, 481 U.S. 1023 (1987), the

federal court concluded that Arizona's

court had narrowly construed the meaning

of this circumstance so that sentencing

discretion was sufficiently limited to

prevent arbitrary and capricious capital

sentencing decisions. Jeffers v.

Ricketts, 832 F.2d at 482.

The court

1. Seven members of the Ninth

Circuit's limited en banc court of ll

judges later reached the opposite

conclusion. See Adamson v. Ricketts, 865

F.2d 1011, 1031-39 (9th Cir. 1988). The

state’s petition for writ of certioreri

from the Adamson decision is presently

pending before this Court.

-})2-

went on to conclude, however, that this

narrow definition of the aggravating

7 circumstance could not be applied to

: Jeffers’ case “without losing its ability

to distinguish in a principled manner

between those it condemns to death and

those it does not.” 832 F.2d at 486.

While Jeffers’ murder of Penelope Cheney

_ “certainly qualifie[d]" as a “grizzly

affair,” the Ninth Circuit found it

_ insufficiently “shocking” to meet

Arizona's standard for especially heinous

or depraved murders. 832 F.2d at 484.

-In doing so, the Ninth Circuit paid no

deference to the state court finding. It

merely substituted its judgment for that

of the Arizona courts, which a federal

court should not do. See Barclay v.

Florida, 463 U.S. at 947.

The Ninth Circuit relied heavily on

Godfrey v. Georgia, 446 U.S. 420 (1980),

eiD=

;

‘

4

:

in setting aside Jeffers’ death

sentence. The Ninth Circuit has

misapplied the Godfrey decision.

Godfrey's death sentence was based on a

jury's finding of the “outrageously or

wantonly vile” aggravating circumstance.

The jury, however, received no guidance

from the trial court on the meaning of

the aggravating circumstance. In its

appellate review of the jury's finding,

the Georgia Supreme Court simply stated

that the finding was “factually

substantiated.” As Justice Marshall

po‘nted out in his concurring opinion, it

was the failure of the Georgia courts to

narrowly define and apply the aggravating

circumstance that required reversal of

Godfrey's sentence, not this Court's

conclusion that the facts did not support

the jury's finding. Godfrey v. Georgia,

446 U.S. at 435 n.1. In Jeffers’ case,

-14-

“A

~

’

$

4

the aggravating circumstance was

initially found by the trial judge, who

had the benefit of numerous Arizona

Supreme Court decisions that narrowly

interpreted the meaning of the

circumstance. On appeal, the Arizona

Supreme Court carefully reviewed the

trial judge’s finding and even

invalidated a portion of it. State v,

Jeffers, 135 Ariz. at 429-30, 661 P.2d at

1130-31. Under these circumstances,

Godfrey does not authorize the type of

review that the Ninth Circuit employed

here.

There is conflict within the circuits

over the proper standard of review for

state court findings of aggravating

Circumstances. The Eleventh Circuit has

suggested that these findings are

entitled to a presumption of correctness

under 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d). Magwood v.

~15-

Smith, 791 F.2d 1438, 1449 (llth Cir.

1986). In a decision preceding Jeffers,

the Ninth Circuit relied on

28 U.S.C. § 2254(d) in upholding an

aggravating circumstance. Woratzek v.

Ricketts, 820 F.2d 1450, 1459 (9th Cir.

1987). In Jeffers, however, the Ninth

Circuit seems to apply a de novo review

of the aggravating circumstance, paying

no deference to the state court finding.

This Court should accept certiorari to

set a standard for federal courts to

apply in reviewing state court findings

of aggravating circumstances. The issue

is an important one and the conflict in

the circuits should be resolved.

II.

The Ninth Circuit Incorrectly

Applied Arizona Law.

In concluding that the “especially

|

;

:

:

:

:

heinous or depraved” circumstance could

ele

not be applied to Jeffers’ conduct, the

Ninth Circuit reviewed a number of

Arizona cases that discussed this

circumstance. According to the Ninth

Circuit, these cases demonstrate that

Jeffers’ conduct was not especially

heinous or depraved. A review of the

cases, however, establishes just the

opposite:

l. State v. Smith, 138 Ariz. 79, 673 P.2d

17 (1983).

The only evidence that Smith murdered

in an especially heinous or depraved

manner was the uncorroborated testimony

of his accomplice that, after the

victim's body had been buried, Smith had

requested the playing of a tape of the

) song, “We Are the Champions.” Evidence

| also showed that Smith later attempted

Suicide, partly out of remorse over the

murder. The Arizona Supreme Court

concluded that this evidence did not

establish beyond a reasonable doubt that

Smith had a heinous and depraved attitude.

In contrast, the evidence establishing

Jeffers’ heinous and depraved attitude

dealt with his conduct during or

immediately after the killing. The

evidence also did not come from an

accomplice, as did the evidence in

Smith. Doris Van Der Veer was the victim

of the assault with a deadly weapon

charge in this case, and Jeffers forced

her to become involved in Cheney's

murder. Finally, Jeffers, unlike Smith,

expressed no remorse over the murder.

2. State v. Graham, 135 Ariz. 209, 660

P.2d 460 (1983).

Graham, who suffered from organic

brain damage and was extremely immature

and easily influenced by others, killed a

man by shooting him twice. After the

-18-

murder, Graham smiled while telling

friends that the victim “squealed like a

rabbit” when he was shot. The Arizona

Supreme Court concluded that Graham's

statement about the killing was more

likely attributable to his immaturity,

nervousness and need to impress his peers

than to a hardened attitude towards the

death of another.

Jeffers was not immature or easily

influenced by others and did not suffer

from organic brain damage. His comments

were made while straddling and repeatedly

striking his dying victim. His words and

conduct, unlike Graham's, showed an

especially heinous or depraved state of

mind.

3. State v. Brookover, 124 Ariz. 38, 601

P.2d 1322 (1979).

Brookover, as part of a drug ripoff,

shot his victim in the back. As the

-~19-

victim lay on the floor moaning,

Brookover said, “Don't worry * * * it

will be over soon" and shot him again in

the back. The Arizona Supreme Court

concluded that the murder was not

especially heinous or depraved.

Penelope Cheney, unlike Brookover's

victim, did not suffer a relatively quick

death. Jeffers, unlike Brookover,

climbed atop his victim and debased her

by striking and cursing her. Jeffers

killed his victim because she had

“snitched” on him and his words and

conduct show that he relished the killing.

4. State v. Ceja, 126 Ariz. 35, 612 P.2d

491 (1980).

Ceja murdered two people in order to

steal a large amount of marijuana from

them. He shot the first victim seven

times, four times in the head at close

range. He shot the second victim four

=

times, twice at extremely close range,

and then kicked him in the face. The

Arizona Supreme Court concluded that the

murders were especially heinous and

depraved.

If anything, Jeffers’ conduct was more

reprehensible than Ceja's. Jeffers

overdosed his victim with heroin,

strangled her with a belt and with his

hands, and then climbed on top of her to

beat and curse her. Jeffers was

certainly as determired to kill as Ceja,

and surpassed Ceja in personally debasing

his victim.

5. State v. Watson, 120 Ariz. 441, 586

P.2d 1253 (1978).

Watson and Reid burglarized a home.

While Watson was upstairs, the homeowner

began shooting at Reid. Watson came back

downstairs and shot the victim in the

back four times, the last time while the

Sie

victim was face down on the floor. The

Arizona Supreme Court concluded that this

killing was not especially heinous or

depraved.

Penelope Cheney, unlike Watson's

victim, did not initiate violence that

led to her death. Watson, unlike

Jeffers, did not debase his victim by

striking and cursing him. Watson, unlike

Jeffers, had no firm intent to kill

anyone and used deadly force only after

the victim did.

6. State v. Poland, 144 Ariz. 388, 698

P.2d 183 (1985).

The Poland brothers were convicted of

the murder of two armored car guards.

There was no direct evidence regarding

the circumstances surrounding the

deaths. It was this lack of evidence

that led the Arizona Supreme Court to

conclude that the state had failed to

29>

prove that the murders were heinous or

depraved.

There is no lack of evidence regarding

the circumstances of Penelope Cheney's

death and Jeffers’ role in it. His words

and actions plainly establish the

heinousness and depravity of this murder.

Thus, even under the standard of

review the Ninth Circuit employed here,

the decision to set aside Jeffers’ death

sentence is erroneous. The Ninth Circuit

reached its result through a

misinterpretation of Arizona case law.

CONCLUSION

This case merits this Court's

attention. Without a standard for

federal court review of state court

findings of aggravating circumstances,

conflicts between the circuits will

continue. The Ninth Circuit set aside

Jeffers’ death sentence based upon

o23-<

misinterpretations of the decisions of

this Court and of the Arizona courts.

Petitioners therefore respectfully ask

this Court to grant review.

DATED this 13th day of July, 1989.

| Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT K. CORBIN

Attorney General

JESSICA GIFFORD FUNKHOUSER

Chief Counsel

Criminal Division

tals 0 SA

unit & xrant

GERALD R. GRANT

Assistant Attorney General

(Counsel of Record)

Attorneys for PETITIONERS

-24-

AFFIDAVIT

STATE OF ARIZONA )

COUNTY OF MARICOPA aes

GERALD R. GRANT, 4 member of the Bar of

this Court, being duly sworn upon oath,

deposes and says:

That he served three copies of the

Petition for Writ of Certiorari upon

Donald S. Klein and Frank P. Leto, Pima

County Public Defender's Office, 32 North

Stone Avenue, Tucson, Arizona, 85701,

Attorneys for Jimmie Wayne Jeffers, by

depositing the same in the United States

Mail, with first class postage prepaid,

return receipt requested.

Additionally, as a courtesy, he

herewith certifies that service of three

copies of this petition has been made

upon the United States of America by

deposing the same in the United States

Mail, with first class postage prepaid,

o26-

addressed to the Solicitor General,

Department of Justice, Washington, D.C.,

20530.

DATED this 13th day of July, 1989.

i owt

LUae K

GERALD R. GRANT

Assistant Attorney General

Criminal Division

Department of Law

1275 West Washington

Phoenix, Arizona 85007

Telephone: (602)542-4686

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to before me this

13th day of July, 1989.

we

NOTARY PUBLIC

My Commission Expires:

______December 10, 1989

0124D jd

o26-

APPENDIX A

{Filed November 9, 1987)

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

JIMMIE WAYNE JEFFERS,

CA No. 86-1840

DC No. CV-85-945-ACM

Petitioner-Appellant,

JAMES R. RICKETTS,

Director, Arizona

Department of Corrections;

DONALD WAWRZASZI «,

Superintendent, Arizona

State Prison,

OPINION

Respondents-Appellees.

me eee ee ee ee ee

Appeal from the United States District

Court for the District of Arizona

Alfredo C. Marquez,

District Judge, Presiding

Argued and Submitted February 13, 1987 -

San Francisco, CA

Filed

BEFORE: PREGERSON AND CANBY, CIRCUIT

JUDGES AND WILSON*

District Judge

* The Honorable Stephen V. Wilson,

United States District Judge for the

Central District of California, sitting

by designation.

CANBY, CIRCUIT JUDGE:

Jimmie Wayne Jeffers appeals the

dismissal of his petition for a writ of

habeas corpus, filed pursuant to

28 U.S.C. § 2254. Jeffers’ habeas

petition challenges his convictions for

assault with a deadly weapon and first

degree murder and his sentence of death.

We affirm in part, reverse in part, and

remand for proceedings consistent with

our opinion.

FACTS AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY

Jeffers* was convicted of murdering

Penelope Cheney and of assaulting Doris

Van der Veer with a deadly weapon.

Penelope Cheney had been Jeffers’

girlfriend and had been arrested with

Jeffers in May of 1976 on state charges

of receiving stolen property. Jeffers

had posted bail for Cheney, but had been

unable to post bond for himself and

remained in custody at the Pima County

af=2e

Jail. While in jail Jeffers received

reports that Cheney had been cooperating

with the police, providing information to

them about Jeffers and certain heroin

transactions. Jeffers wrote a note to

another jail inmate offering him money if

he would kill Cheney. The detention

officer who was supposed to deliver the

note read it and seized it. Jeffers was

finally released on bail in early October.

Later that same month, Jeffers was

living with Doris Van der Veer in the

Linda Vista Motel in Tucson, Arizona.

Jeffers sent a note to Cheney requesting

that she meet with Jeffers. On

October 20th Jeffers told Van der Veer

that Cheney was coming over and asked her

to leave while Cheney was there. Cheney

arrived at the motel room when Jeffers

and Van der Veer were there. The two

women met briefly and Van der Veer then

went outside, leaving Jeffers and Cheney

eAo eo

in the room. Approximately two hours

later Van der Veer returned to the motel

room and knocked on the door. Jeffers

opened the door. Jeffers had a gun in

his hand; Cheney was lying on the bed and

appeared to be cyanotic. While Van der

Veer watched, Jeffers injected a Liquid

into Cheney's hand and said, “I have

given her enough shit to kill a horse and

this bitch won't die.” Jeffers told Van

der Veer, a former licensed practical

nurse, to check Cheney. Cheney's

heartbeat was faint, her breathing was

labored, and a foamy f!uid was coming out

of her mouth. Van der Veer asked if

appellant was going to help Cheney. He

responded, “No, I'm™ going to kill her.”

Jeffers straddled Cheney's body and began

choking her, first with his belt and then

with his hands. After it appeared that

she had died, Jeffers prepared another

syringe and forced Van der Veer to inject

-A-4-

heroin into Cheney's groin and hand. He

also told Van der Veer to get on top of

Cheney and choke her. He took

photographs of both of these acts.

Jeffecs then got on top of Cheney and

began beating her with his hands. As he

did this, he called her a “bitch” and a

“dirty snitch” and said, "This one is for

[naming several names).* Jeffers finally

dragged Cheney's body into the bathroom

and put it in the shower.

The body remained in the shower for

three days. When the body began to

smell, Jeffers and Van der Veer wt apped

it im garbage bags and put it ina

sleeping bag. That night they put the

body in the trunk of Van Der Veer’s car.

Jeffers and Van der Veer took Cheney's

body to a plac near Sedona, Arizona, and

buried it in a shallow grave.

On February 9, 1978, @ jury found

Jetters guilty of first-degree murder and

~A-5-

assault with a deadly weapon. The trial

judge sentenced Jeffers to death on the

first degree murder conviction. He also

sentenced Jeffers to not less than 5 nor

more than 10 years in prison on the

assault conviction. Jeffers appealed

from the judgments and the sentences

imposed.

AS a result of the appeal, Jeffers was

resentenced on the murder conviction. On

July 10, 1980, the trial court found two

aggravating circumstances and no

mitigating circumstances, and again

imposed the death penalty. The Arizona

Supreme Court aféirmed both the

convictions and the sentences. State v.

Jeffers, 135 Ariz. 404, 661 P.2d 1105

(1983). The sole aggravating

circumstance upheld by the Arizona

Supreme Court was that Jeffers had

committed the murder “in an especially

heinous. . . or depraved manner. * Ariz.

-A-6-

———————————— ————

Rev. Stat. Ann. §13-703(F)(6). The

Supreme Court of the United States denied

certiorari. Jeffers v. Arizona, 464 U.S.

865 (1983).

On December 2, 1983, Jeffers filed a

petition for writ of habeas corpus in the

district court. He subsequently filed an

amended petition and requested an

evidentiary hearing. On Feb. 4, 1986,

the district court denied Jeffers’ motion

for evidentiary hearing and dismissed his

petition. Jeffers v. Ricketts, 627

F. Supp. 1334 (D. Ariz. 1986). Jeffers

appealed to this court on Feb. 27, 1986.

DISCUSSION

A. Issues

Jeffers raises some 13 questions for

our consideration. Because we find that

Jeffers was unconstitutionally sentenced

to death, we need not reach some of the

issues he presents. The questions we

address are:

aheote

ht AO lg

|

1. Did the prosecutor's refusal to

grant immunity to a defense witness,

while granting immunity to four state

witnesses, violate Jeffers’ sixth

amendment right to compulsory process,

thereby denying due process?

2. Did certain evidentiary rulings at

his trial deprive Jeffers of due process?

3. Did the introduction of evidence of

other “bad acts” deny Jeffers a fait

trial?

4. Was Jeffers denied due process of

iaw when he made a single appearance

before the jury in jail clothing?

5S. Was Jeffers denied an impartial

sentencing tribunal?

6. Was Arizona's standard ot

aggravation for murder committed in an

“especially heinous ... oF depraved

manner” constitutionally applied to

Jeffers?

<A-8*

B. Matters “oncerning the Trial

1. Refusal to grant immunity to

defense witness

Jeffers contends that refusal to grant

immunity to a defense witness, when the

state had previously offered and granted

immunity to four state witnesses,

violated Jeffers’ sixth amendment right

to compulsory process and denied him due

process of law. The state granted

immunity to Doris Van Der Veer, Ramona

Eppling, Sharon Galarza, and Rich

Honton. The state refused to grant

immunity to Louis Rosso, who was called

to the stand to help Jeffers establish

his alibi defense.

Denial of immunity for a defense

witness can violate due process. United

States v. Lord, 711 F.2d 887 (9th Cir.

1983). The defendant is entitled to an

evidentiary hearing if he makes “an

unrebutted prima facie showing ot

prosecutorial misconduct that could have

prevented a defense witness from giving

relevant testimony." Id. at 891. In

order to make a prima facie showing of

prosecutorial misconduct, a defendant has

the burden of showing, first, that the

evidence was relevant and, second, that

the prosecution deliberately intended to

distort the judicial factfinding process

by geayine immunity to the defense

witness. Id. (citing with approval

Government of Virgin Islands v. Smith,

615 F.2d 964, 968 (3d Cir. 1980)).

Jeffers has not met,hi1s burden.

Jeffers testified that on the day that

Cheney died, he was out making a heroin

purchase. Earler in that week Van der

Veer and Jeffers had made a purchase from

Louis Rosso. Van der Veer testified that

on that occasion Rosso had sold Jeffers

enough heroin to satisfy Jeffers’ needs

for several days. Her testimony

-A-10-

ee ee en ee ee ee Le

therefore made Jeffers’ alibi that he was

out buying heroin somewhat less

credible. According to Jeffers, Rosso

would have testified that he had only

sold Jeffers a small quantity of heroin.

Although neither clearly exculpatory nvr

essential to the defense, Rosso’'s

testimony would have been relevant,

satisfying one element of the Lord test.

There is, however, no evidence

whatsoever of prosecutorial misconduct.

The defense did not make known until the

middle of the trial that it intended to

call Rosso. There is no suggestion that

the prosecutor made any threat to ROSSO

that induced him to invoke the fifth

amendment, as was prima facie shown to

have occurred in Lord, 711 F.2d at 891.

Nor is there any showing that the

prosecution presented a distorted factual

picture by immunizing its witnesses to

testify to one side of a story while

-A-11-

denying immunity to defense witnesses who

would present the other side. See United

States v. lessio, 528 F.2d 1079, 1080-82

(9th Cir.), cert. denied, 426 U.S. 948

—_——-

(1976); United States v. Paris, 812 F.2d

471, 477 (9th Cir. 1987). Jeffers’

challenge therefore fails the second

prong of the Lord test. See United

States v. Disla, 805 F.2d 1340, 1353 (9th

Cir. 1986). He has made no prima facie

showing that the decision not to grant

immunity to RoSSsO denied him a fair

trial. We affirm the district court's

decision on this issue.

2. Evidentiary rulings

Jeffers contends that evidentiary

rulings in capital cases must meet 4a

standard of “extra reliability.” He

draws support from the plurality opinion

in Ford v. Wainwright, 106 S.Ct. 2595, 91

L.Ed.2d 335 (1986), which stated that

“(ijn capital proceedings generally, this

-A-1l2-

Court has demanded that factfinding

procedures aspire to a heightened

standard of reliability." Id. at 2603,

91 L.Ed.2d at 347. Insofar as Jeffers’

argument suggests that evidentiary

rulings and their review are subject to a

totally different methodology in capital

cases from that in all other Criminal

cases, we do not accept it. we readily

agree, however, that we must review

capital cases wit! neightened concern for

the reliability of the state court's

procedures, see Spaziano v. Florida, 468

U.S. 447, 456 (1984), because “the

penalty of death is qualitatively

different from a sentence of

imprisonment, however long.” Woodson Vv.

North Carolina, 428 U.S. 280, 305 (1976)

(plurality opinion of Stewart, J.). Even

by that standard, however, we find that

none of the challenged state court

-A-13-

evidentiary rulings amount to

constitutional error.

a. Exclusion of Myron McRoberts’

Testimony

In order to show that only Van Der

Veer, and not Jeffers, was with Cheney at

the time of her drug overdose and death,

the defense called Myron McRoberts, 4a

quest at the motel. He testified that he

saw Van Der Veer and a blonde woman

(presumably Cheney) leave-the motel

together on the day in question. Among

the reasons offered by McRoberts why he

remembered the events on the day of

Cheney's death, more than 14 months prior

to his testimony, was that he was told

“there [was] a cute blonde in room 7.”

The trial court excluded that statement,

and Jeffers contends that the court

erred. The Arizona Supreme Court heid

that the evidence was improperly exc luded

as hearsay, but that the error was

-A-14-

harmless. We find no constitutional

error. The evidence was cumulative of

other testimony offered by McRoberts.

Its exclusion will not support the

granting of habeas corpus relief.

b. Prior “bad acts" involving Cheney

Jeffers also contends that the trial

court committed constitutional error when

it admitted statements of Cheney through

the testimony of Edith Meck, the manager

of the apartment complex where Jeffers

was living et the time, and of Nurse

Ramirez, a nurse at Tucson Medical Center

where Cheney went to be treated in

November of 1975. Meck testified that

Cheney said that Jeffers had drugged her

and had thrown her through the bedroom

window. Ramirez testified that Cheney

said that her boyfriend had drugged her

and that she had jumped through the

bedroom window because she feared further

violence from Jeffers. The Arizona

Supreme Court held that the statement

made to Meck was properly admitted under

the excited utterance exception to the

hearsay rule. It held that most of the

statement made to Ramirez was properly

admitted under the medical treatment

exception. The comment that her

boyfriend had drugged her was held

improperly admitted, but harmless,

beceuse it was cumulative of the properly

admitted statements made to Meck.

The inability to cross-examine the

declarant Cheney did not deprive Jeffers

of a fundamentally fair trial. See

Barker v. Morris, 761 F.2d 1396 (9th Cir.

1985), cert. denied, 106 S.Ct. 8614

(1986). The confrontation clause permits

the introduction of out-of-court

statements if they are both necessary and

reliable. Barker, 761 F.2d at 1399. The

statement was sufficiently reliable as an

excited utterance. See, e.g. State v..

Peeler, 126 Ariz. 254, 614 P.2d 335 (Ariz

App. 1980). Moreover, Cheney's

statements were partially corroborated by

independent evidence.

Cheney's statements were also

necessary. At trial Jeffers contended

that he loved Cheney and that he would be

unable to hurt her. The challenged

testimony was necessary to rebut this

contention. We conclude that the

admission of Cheney's statements to Meck

and Ramirez did not deprive Jeffers of a

fair trial.

3. Other “bad acts” testimony

Jeffers contends that the admission of

evidence of other “bad acts” denied him a

fair trial. The evidence of prior bad

acts was elicited through the testimony

of the immunized witness Sharon Galarza.

Galarza testified that Jeffers had

committed other acts of violence,

including assaults with drugs, knives and

-A-17-

guns, upon Galarza, Cheney, and others.

For Galarza‘s willingness to testify for

the prosecution, the state dropped drug

and prostitution charges against her.

Her testimony is reported in State v.

Jeffers, 135 Ariz. at 416-17, 661 P.2d at

1117-18.

Rule 404(b) of the Arizona Rules of

Evidence, like the federal rule, forbids

admission of evidence of a defendant's

prior crimes, wrongs, or acts “to prove

the character of a person in order to

show that he acted in conformity

therewith.” The trial court instructed

the jury that it could consider the

evidence of bad acts to show a common

scheme or plan, identity, or other

Similar purposes. On appeal, the Arizona

Supreme Court held that the evidence of

bad acts was admissible, not to show a

common plan or identity, but as an

explanation why the murder was not

-A-18-

reported sooner by those who were

threatened.

Jeffers argues that the evidence ought

not to have been admitted, but he offers

no reason why the Arizona Supreme Court's

ruling was erroneous. Our review of the

record discloses no ground for concluding

that the admission of the evidence denied

Jeffers a fair triai. See Colley v.

Sumner, 784 F.2d 984, 990 (9th Cir.),

cert. denied, 107 S.Ct. 142 (1986).

Jeffers’ real complaint is that the

evidence was admitted under one theory by

the trial court, and the jury was so

instructed, while the Arizona Supreme

Court held the evidence admissible on a

different theory.

An erroneous instruction by itself

justifies habeas relief only if it “so

infected the entire trial that the

resulting conviction violates due

process.” Cupp v. Naughten, 414 U.S.

~A-19-

141, 147 (1973). The trial court's

instruction had no such effect. Nor did

it lead to the evil that Rule 404(b) is

intended to prevent. Under the trial

court's instructions, the jury was not

permitted to consider the evidence of bad

acts to prove Jeffers’ character in order

to show that he acted in conformity with

that character. The district court did

not err in denying habeas relief.

4. Appearance before the jury in jail

clothing

Jeffers contends that his trial was

rendered unfair by his involuntary

appearance before the jury in readily

identifiable jail clothing. The facts

Surrounding the issue are not in

dispute. On one occasion Jeffers

appeared before the jury in his jail

clothing after telling his jailor that he

didn't want to wear his civilian clothing

to court. In order to prevail on this

-A-20-

issue, Jeffers must establish that the

appearance in jail clothing was

involuntary, Bentley v. Crist, 469 F.2d

854, 856 (9th Cir. 1972); that a juror

would recognize the clothing as issued by

a jail, United States v. Rogers, 769 F.2d

1418, 1422 (9th Cir. 1985); and that the

error was not harmless. Jeffers cannot

meet his burden. The choice of apparel

was his, the clothing was not readily

identifiable, and the jury already knew

that Jeffers had been incarcerated.

During voir dire the jurors were informed

of Jeffers’ efforts to escape from the

Pima County Jail. We affirm the district

court's denial of habeas relief on this

ground.

B. Sentencing Matters

1. Denial of an impartial sentencing

tribunal

Jeffers contends that his

constitutional rights were violated when

-A-21-

he was resentenced by Judge Birdsall, the

judge who had originally sentenced him.

After the initial sentencing, Judge

Birdsall became the en of a “mail

order blitz.” The Judge filed a

complaint with the postal authorities and

Jeffers’ name was provided to

investigators as the likely source of the

unwanted mailings. Jeffers admitted to

his part in the mailings; the mail blitz

ceased; and no charges were brought

against Jeffers. At his later

resentencing, Jeffers filed a motion for

a new judge. An evidentiary hearing was

held before a different judge and his

motion was denied. The Arizona Supreme

Court upheld the lower court's findings

that Jeffers had failed to establish

bias. It also observed that bias caused

by a defendant's voluntary conduct ought

not to be ground for disqualification.

-A-22-

The district court found that Jeffers

had received a full and fair evidentiary

hearing in state court and that there

was, therefore, no need for an

evidentiary hearing in federal court.

After reviewing the evidence, the

district court found that Judge

Birdsall’s conduct fell short of any

constitutional bias. We agree. We

reject Jeffers’ contention that there was

an appearance of impropriety that

required the district court to hold an

evidentiary hearing. Jeffers was not

treated unfairly in the circumstances he

brought into being. The district court

did not err in its ruling.

2. Application of the “especially

heinous, cruel or depraved"

aggravating circumstance

Jeffers contends that Arizona's statute

prescribing the death penalty when the

murder was committed in an “especially

-A-23-

heinous, cruel, or depraved manner” is

unconstitutionally vague on its face and

as applied. See Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann.

§ 13-703(F)(6)(1982). His argument that

the statute is void on its face is

foreclosed by our decision in Chaney v.

Lewis, 801 F.2d 1191, 1194-96 (9th Cir.

1986), cert. denied, 107 S.Ct. 1911

(1987). There, we rejected a similar

challenge to the same statute, pointing

out that “[{a])lthough the statutory

language is broad, as any murder could be

considered cruel, heinous, or depraved,

the Arizona Supreme Court need not

construe the statute open-endedly.” Id.

at 1195. In so stating, we were echoing

the plurality opinion in Gregg v.

Georgia, 428 U.S. 153, 201 (1976), where

the Court upheld a Georgia statute

providing a death penalty if a murder was

“outrageously or wantonly vile, horrible

Or inhuman in that it involved torture,

-A-24-

depravity of mind, or an aggravated

battery to the victim.'” Id. (quoting

Ga. Code Ann. § 27-2534.1(b)(7); see also

Proffitt v. Florida, 428 U.S. 242, 255-56

(1976) (plurality opinion).

In Chaney, we also stated that “(t]he

Arizona Supreme Court appears to have

sufficiently channeled sentencing

discretion to prevent arbitrary and

Capricious capital sentencing

decisions.” Chaney, 801 F.2d at

1195.' Finally, we held that the death

' In Tison v. Arizona, 55 U.S.L.W.

4496 (U.S. April 21, 1987), petitioners

argued that Arizona had given an

unconstitutionally broad construction to

its aggravating factors in § 13-703. The

Supreme Court held that the issue was not

within the grant of certiorari, and

expressed no opinion on it. Id. at 4499

n.2.

The Tenth Circuit has recently held,

en banc, that Oklahoma had failed to give

an adequate narrowing construction to its

aggravating factor of murder that is

“especially heinous, atrocious, or

cruel.” Cartwright v. Maynard, 822 F.2d

1477 (10th Cir. 1987) (en banc).

-A-25-

sentence imposed upon Chaney was

consistent with the Arizona law as

established by the Arizona Supreme

Court: the murder was cruel because the

victim suffered greatly, and was depraved

because Chaney’s helpless victim (a

sheriff's deputy) was shot in the back

when Chaney could have made his escape

without again shooting the victim. Id.

While Chaney establishes that the

Arizona statute is not void on its face

and is capable of constitutional

application, it naturally does not answer

the question whether the Arizona statute

was constitutionally applied to Jeffers

in this case. In any individual

application, the statute must not be so

broadly construed that “(t]here is no

principled way to distinguish this case,

in which the death penalty was imposed,

from the many cases in which it was

not.” Godfrey v. Georgia, 446 U.S. 420,

-A-26-

433 (1980) (plurality opinion). After

reviewing the Arizona Supreme Court cases

defining “especially heinous .. . or

depraved,” we conclude that Jeffers'

death sentence violated the Eighth and

Fourteenth Amendment. See id. at 423.

“Heinous” and “depraved” are inherently

more difficult terms to define than is

“cruel.”’ The Arizona Supreme Court

2

This difficulty of definition is of

major importance because Arizona, unlike

some other states using similar

standards, applies “heinous, cruel, or

depraved” disjunctively. State v.

Richmond, 136 Ariz. 312, 319, 666 P.2d

57, 64, cert. denied, 464 U.S. 986

(1983); see Cartwright v. Maynard, 822

F.2d 1477 (9th Cir. 1987) (en banc)

(disjunctive application of “especially

heinous, atrocious, or cruel” struck down

for lack of adequate narrowing

construction); Rosen, The “Especially

Heinous” Aggravating Circumstance in

Capital Cases -- The Standardless

Standard, 64 No. Car. L. Rev. 941, 980-82

(1986). Problems of definition are

considerably reduced under the Arizona

standard when the facts of a case suggest

both cruelty and depravity. See, e.g.,

Chaney, 801 F.2d at 1195; Woratzek v.

Ricketts, No. 85-2367, slip op. at 17018

(9th Cir. June 25, 1987) (amended

opinion).

-A-27-

has defined cruelty to include the

infliction of physical and mental pain on

the victim. State v. Gretzler, 135-Ariz.

42, 51, 659 P.2d 1, 10, cert. denied, 461

U.S. 971 (1983). Especially cruel

murders involve the senseless or sadistic

infliction of great pain. State v,

Lujan, 124 Ariz. 365, 372, 604 P.2d 629,

636 (1979). In order to establish that a

murder is especially cruel, the court

must find beyond a reasonable doubt that

the victim was conscious and able to

suffer physical pain and mental anguish.

Id. The Arizona Supreme Court held that

such evidence was lacking in Jeffers'

case. State v. Jeffers, 135 Ariz. 404,

429, 661 P.2d 1105, 1130 (1983).

Jeffers’ death sentence accordingly rests

on the application of the more elusive

standard of murder committed in an

“especially heinous .. . or depraved

manner.”

-A-28-

The Supreme Court of Arizona has

adopted dictionary definitions of

“heinous” as “hatefully or shockingly

evil; grossly bad” and of “depraved” as

“marked by debasement, corruption,

perversion or deterioration.” State v.

Knapp, 114 Ariz. 531, 543, 562 P.2d 704,

716 (1977), cert. denied, 435 U.S. 908

(1978). Both terms “go to the mental

state and attitude of the perpetrator as

reflected in his words and actions.”

State v. Gretzler, 135 Ariz. at 5l, 659

P.2d at 10. In Gretzler, the Arizona

Supreme Court set forth factors which

lead to a finding of heinousness or

depravity, with examples of all but one.

They were:

(1) a relishing of the murder by

the killer. See State v. Clark,

126 Ariz. 428, 616 P.2d 888,

cert. denied, 449 U.S. 1067 (1980)

(defendant murdered four people

-A-29-

and “kept a spent bullet as a

grisly souvenir of his crime");

State v. Bishop, 127 Ariz. 53l,

622 P.2d 478 (1980) (defendant

killed victim by repeated blows

with hammer, tied him up, caused

him to fall down mine shaft, threw

rocks on victim as he lay

twitching, drove away saying

“Good-by Norman. I hope we never

see you again”).

(2) gratuitous violence against

the victim. See State v. Ceja,

126 Ariz. 35, 612 P.2d 491 (1980)

(defendant shot female victim

twice, dragged her into another

room and shot her four more times

in head for no apparent reason;

shot male victim three times and,

after he had fallen, shot him once

more in back and then kicked him

-A-30-

repeatedly when victim was

unconscious or dead).

(3) needless mutilation of the

victim. See State v. Vickers, 129

Ariz. 506, 633 P.2d 315 (1981)

(defendant strangled cellmate,

then carved words “Bonzai” into

victim's back); State v. J.C.

Smith, *

696 (1981) (defendant mutilated

131 Ariz. 29, 638 P.2d

female murder victims’ breasts and

genitalia).

(4) senselessness of the

Crime. See State v. Tison, 129

Ariz. 526, 633 P.2d 335 (1981),

cert. denied, 459 U.S. 982 (1982)

(unnecessary murder of victims,

including two-year-old child, in

no position to thwart murderer's

3 Because there are several Arizona

Geath penalty cases entitled State v.

Smith, we have added initials to the

Smith surnames.

-A-31-

escape); State v. Ortiz, 131 Ariz.

195, 639 P.2d 1020 (1981), cert.

denied, 459 U.S. 882 (1982)

(defendant stabbed woman to death

and then indiscriminately attacked

her children, attempting to stab

and burn them to death).

(5) helplessness of the victim.

Gretzler, 135 Ariz. at 52-53, 659 P.2d at

11-12. The last two factors,

senselessness of the crime and

helplessness of the victim, need not

always lead to a finding that a murder is

heinous or depraved, however. Id. at 53,

659 P.2d at 12; See also State v.

B, Smith, 146 Ariz. 491, 503, 707 P.2d

289, 301 (1985).

Illumined as the above standard is by

the case examples furnished by the

Arizona Supreme Court, it seems to call

for conduct or attitudes more shocking

than those exhibited by Jeffers. We do

-A-32-

not minimize Jeffers’ conduct; murder is

a grisly affair and this one certainly

qualifies. Nevertheless, the Arizona

Court on more than one occasion has

emphasized that, “because most first

degree murders are cruel, heinous and

depraved the statutorily required inquiry

with respect to imposition of the death

penalty is whether the conduct was

especially cruel, heinous or depraved.”

State v. Johnson, 147 Ariz. 395, 401, 710

P.2d 1050, 1056 (1985); See State v.

B. Smith, 146 Ariz. at 503, 707 P.2d at

301; State v. Lujan, 124 Ariz. 365, 372,

604 P.2d 629, 636 (1979). That Jeffers’

crime cannot meet this rigorous standard

becomes even more apparent when his case

is compared with those in which the

Supreme Court of Arizona found that one

or more of the components of heinousness

and depravity had not been shown.

-A-33-

The Supreme Court of Arizona held that

Jeffers had “relished” his crime:

[W]hile Jeffers was beating the

[dead] victim he called her “a

bitch and a dirty snitch” and with

each striking blow said, “This one

is for so and so. [naming several

names]. This evidences the relish

with which appellant committed the

murder. ...{Wje find that the

remarks made by appellant, while

at the same time beating his

victim, establish that the offense

was committed in an especially

heinous and depraved manner.“

Jeffers, 135 Ariz. at 430, 661 P.2d at

1131. Yet in State v. R.D. Smith, 138

4 The facts regarding Jeffers’ conduct

are drawn entirely from the testimony of

Van der Veer, who testified under a grant

of immunity. See State v. R.D. Smith,

138 Ariz. 79, 87, 673 P.2d 7, 15 (1983)

(Feldman, J., concurring and dissenting)

-A-34-

Ariz. 79, 673 P.2d 17 (1983), the Arizona

Supreme Court held that a defendant had

not been shown to have exhibited a

heinous and depraved attitude when he

repeatedly raped the murder victim and

had requested the playing of a tape “We

are the Champions."* Id. at 86, 673

P.2d at 24. And in State v. Graham, 135

Ariz. 209, 660 P.2d 460 (1983), a

defendant who shot his victim was not

shown to have demonstrated a heinous or

depraved attitude when he smiled and told

(questioning death penalty imposed on

strength of testimony of accomplice

testifying under immunity), cert. denied,

465 U.S. 1074 (1984).

> The murder was found to have been

especially cruel however, and the death

sentence was accordingly affirmed. Id.

R.D. Smith, 138 Ariz. at 85, 673 P.2d at

23.

-A-35-

his companion that the victim had “squealed

like a rabbit” when shot. See also State

v. Brookover, 124 Ariz. 38, 601 P.2d 1322

(1979) (murder not committed in heinous or

depraved manner when a defendant shot

victim once in back, told groaning victim

"Don't worry * * * it will be over soon"

and shot him again, placed victim's body in

victim's van and abandoned van at airport).

Of all of the components of heinousness

and depravity set forth by the Arizona

Supreme Court in Gretzler, none is more

subjective than the relishing of the crime

by the defendant. When remarks made by the

defendant at the time of the crime are used

to establish especial heinousness and

depravity, the distinction between ordinary

and especial depravity must be clear in

order to avoid arbitrary application of the

standard. We conclude that the line is not

clear in this case, and that Jeffers’

-A-36-

remarks provide “no principled way to

distinguish this case, in which the death

penalty was imposed, from the many cases

in which it was not.” Godfrey v.

Georgia, 446 U.S. 420, 433 (1980)

(plurality opinion).*

The other factor that the Arizona

Supreme Court relied upon to support a

finding of heinousness or depravity was

the infliction of gratuitous violence

upon the victim after death. Jeffers

climbed on top of the dead victim and hit

her several times in the face, while

making the remarks referred to above.

Here again, the level of objectionable

6

In rejecting Jeffers’ petition, the

district court referred to the fact that

Jeffers had forced Van der Veer to choke

the dead victim while he took pictures.

This fact was not relied upon as evidence

of depravity by either the sentencing

court or the Arizona Supreme Court. Van

der Veer testified that Jeffers told her

the reason he was taking the pictures was

to have proof that Van der Veer had been

an accomplice.

-A-37-

conduct was far below that in the case

the Court principally relied on, State v.

Ceja, 126 Ariz. 35, 612 P.2d 491 (1980),

and was wholly unaccompanied by

mutilation in any meaningful sense of

that term. We are unable to find a

principled means of distinguishing the

depravity of Jeffers’ conduct from that

in State v. Watson, 120 Ariz. 441, 586

P.2d 1253 (1978), cert. denied, 440 U.S.

924 (1979) (robber in shootout shoots

victim in back four times, the last time

while victim is face down on floor; held

not heinous or depraved), or State v.

Poland, 144 Ariz. 388, 698 P.2d 183

(1985), aff'd, 106 S.Ct. 1749 (1986)

(evidence that victims, who may have been

unconscious, were placed in weighted

sacks and submerged in lake not

sufficient to show heinousness or

depravity). Nor, at the level of

violence displayed by Jeffers, are we

-A-38-

able to attach controlling significance

to the fact that the victim had passed

from unconsciousness to death by the time

Jeffers inflicted the blows.” He

displayed no state of mind that signifies

a level of depravity greater than those

found not to meet the definition of

“especially heinous .. . or depraved" in

the cases last citea.®

7 It is not clear that the Arizona

Supreme Court placed importance on the

fact that the victim was dead rather than

unconscious at the time of the blows. In

discussing the much greater level of

gratuitous violence in State v., Ceja, the

Court referred to repeated violence

“although the-victim was already

unconscious or dead.” Jeffers, 135 Ariz.

at 430, 661 P.2d at 1131 (emphasis

added). But see State v. Richmond, 136

Ariz. 312, 666 P.2d 57, cert. denied, 464

U.S. 986 (1983), in which a majority of

the Court (two concurring and one

dissenting Justices) held the view that

twice driving over a victim would not

demonstrate depravity if the perpetrator

had no way of knowing that the first run

was sufficient to kill. Id. at 323, 324,

666 P.2d at 68, 69.

8 The Arizona Supreme Court found it

unnecessary to rule on whether Jeffers’

disposing of the body in a shallow grave

-A-39-

Because we conclude that the standard

of heinousness and depravity delineated

in prior Arizona cases cannot be applied

in a principled manner to Jeffers, his

death sentence must be struck down as

arbitrary. See Godfrey, 446 U.S.

432-33. In so ruling, we are mindful of

the recent decision of the United States

Supreme Court in McCleskey v. Kemp, 107

S.Ct. 1756 (1987). There the Court

stated that “absent a showing that the

Georgia capital punishment system

operates in an arbitrary and capricious

manner, McCleskey cannot prove a

constitutional violation by demonstrating

three days after the murder constituted

further evidence of depravity. We fail

to see how this action of Jeffers can be

differentiated from placing a victim

alive in a weighted sack and sinking the

sack into a lake, see Poland, 144 Ariz.

389, 698 P.2d 183 (1985), aff'd, 106

S.Ct. 1749 (1986), or abandoning the

victim's body in the victim's own van,

see Brookover, 124 Ariz. 38, 601 P.2d

1322 (1979), both of which were held not

to demonstrate depravity.

-~A-40-

that other defendants who may be

Similarly situated did not receive the

death penalty.” Id. at 1774. In further

explanation, the Court quoted Gregg v.

Georgia, 428 U.S. at 199, to the effect

that “[{njJothing in any of our cases

suggests that the decision to afford an

individual defendant mercy violates the

Constitution.” Id.

Our ruling is not contrary to these

principles. No acts of prosecutorial

@Giscretion or judicial clemency are

involved in our comparisons. The Arizona

cases upon which we rely are those

establishing the minimum requirements for

the aggravating factor of especial

heinousness or depravity. While the

Arizona Supreme Court is entitled to

reweigh aggravating and mitigating

factors in reviewing a capital case,

e.g., State v. Johnson, 147 Ariz. 395,

400, 710 P.2d 1050, 1055 (1985), that

-A-41-

de novo assessment is not the purport of

its rulings holding that particular

conduct falls outside the standard of

heinousness or depravity. Whether the

conduct qualifies as heinous or depraved

is a threshold issue, and the Arizona

Supreme Court's rulings on that issue are

part of the process of defining the

standard.” See Poland v. Arizona, 106

If the Arizona Supreme Court's

rulings On aggravation were simple

de novo applications of the bare phrases

“heinous” and “depraved,” rather than

being part of a process of narrowing

construction, the sentencing system would

probably be invalid for lack of standards

offering sufficient guidance in

determining who should be sentenced to

death. See Gregg, 428 U.S. at 198,

260-03; Chaney, 801 F.2d at 1195. We

consequently are reviewing the Arizona

Supreme Court's definition and

application of a standard. For that

reason, we disagree with the views of the

dissenting opinion that an examination of

comparable Arizona cases should not be

necessary, and that our review is

confined to determining whether a

rational factfinder could have determined

Jeffers’ crime to have been heinous or

depraved.

-A-42-

S.Ct. 1749, 1755 (1986) ("aggravating

circumstances are not separate penalties

or offenses but are ‘standards to guide

the making of [the] choice’ between the

. alternative verdicts of death and life

imprisonment.”) (quoting Bullington v.

Missouri, 451 U.S. 430, 438 (1981)). If

the conduct is not heinous or depraved

(and does not meet any of the other

standards of aggravation), there is no

opportunity for a discretionary act of

mercy; state law then precludes the death

penalty. Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann.

§ 13-703(E)(1982). To apply the standard

of especial heinousness and depravity to

Jeffers case when the facts do not permit

it is arbitrary or capricious, and is

therefore an unconstitutional application

of the standard. See Godfrey 446 U.S. at

428; Gretzler, 135 Ariz. at 50, 659 P.2d

at 9 (constitutional error may occur by

court straying in an individual case from

-A-43-

an otherwise constitutionally narrow

construction).'°

We emphasize, therefore, the nature of

our decision. We are not saying that

Jeffers’ conduct could not be punished by

death under some different system of

selecting penalties. Our ruling is

Simpiy that Arizona's existing standard

of aggravation for murder committed in an

"

Because we conclude that the

application of the Arizona standard to

Jeffers would violate the Eighth and

Fourteenth Amendments, within the meaning

of Godfrey and Gretzler, the writ may

issue under 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)(7)

against Jeffers’ death sentence.

Jeffers’ attack, and our analysis, is on

the structure of the standard as applied

to Jeffers. See Chaney, 801 F.2d at 1194

(“since Chaney’s claim raises no factual

issues, his challenge to the

constitutionality of the Arizona death

penalty statute as applied is a purely

legal question”). We are not dealing

here with a simple finding of fact of the

Arizona Court, which binds us if fairly

supported in the record. See id., at

§ 2254(d)(8); Woratzeck v. Ricketts,

No. 85-2367, slip op. at 17-18 (9th Cir.

June 25, 1987) (amended opinion).

-A-44-

“especially heimous ..- + OF depraved

manner,” as that standard has been

defined and applied by the Supreme Court

of Arizona, cannot be extended to

Jeffers’ case without losing its ability

to distinguish in 4 principled manner

between those it condemns to death and

those it does not.

The writ must therefore issue to vacate

Jeffers’ sentence on his murder

conviction, subject to the state's

resentencing him consistently with the

Constitution within a reasonable period

of time. Our ruling makes it unnecessary

for us to reach additional questions

Jeffers raises concerning his death

penalty.’ '

Among other issues, Jeffers

contends that he is entitled to jury

determinations of aggravating and

mitigating factors. He is not. See

Spaziano v. Florida, 468 U.S. 447, 460

(1984) (trial judge may override jury's

recommendation of life imprisonment and

sentence defendant to death).

-A-45-

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the district court is

affirmed insofar as it upholds Jeffers’

convictions of murder and aggravated

assault, and his sentence on the assault

conviction. The judgment is reversed

insofar as it upholds Jeffers’ death

sentence. The case is remanded to the

district court with instructions to issue

a writ with regard to Jeffers’ death

sentence, subject to the State's

resentencing him within a reasonable

period of time.

AFFIRMED IN PART, REVERSED IN PART, AND

REMANDED.

-A-46-

Cc

:

Counsel

Donald S. Klein Esq.,

Frank P. Leto Esq.,

Tucson, Arizona

‘ounsel for Petitioner-Appeiiant

A-4?

WILSON, District Judge (Dissenting in

part and concurring in part):

The majority concludes that the Arizona

Supreme Court, in affirming petitioner's

death sentence, adopted such a b-:oad

construction of Arizona Revised Statute

§ 13-703(F)(6) as to violate the Eighth

and Fourteenth Amendments to the United

States Constitution. Because I believe

the majority is doing little more than

second-guessing the Arizona Supreme

Court’s interpretation of facts that

quite reasonably fit within the statutory

definition of aggravating circumstances,

I dissent.’

STANDARD OF REVIEW

Generally, a federal court in a habeas

corpus proceeding must accord a

presumption of correctness to a state

I concur with the majority opinion

to the extent it affirms petitioner's

conviction.

-A-48-

court's factual findings.

28 U.S.C. § 2254(d). This statutory

presumption, however, does not apply to

questions of law or to mixed questions of

law and fact. Sumner v. Mata, 455 U.S.

591, 597 1306 (1982); Fendler v.

Goldsmith, 728 F.2d 1181, 1191 n. 21 (9th

Cir. 1983). Rather, the federal court

reviews such non-factual questions

de novo. Chaney v. Lewis, 801 F.2d 1191,

1194 (9th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 107

S. Ct. 1911 (1987); Fendler, 728 F.2d at

L191 n. 21 (federal courts are “obligated

to conduct a complete and independent

review of all purely legal or mixed fact

and law questions raised by [a state

prisoner's] habeas corpus petition”).

Some federal courts in habeas

proceedings have applied the presumption

of correctness under § 2254(d) to state

court findings of aggravating

circumstances. See Woratzeck v._

-A-49-

Ricketts, 820 F.2d 1450, 1459 (9th Cir.

1987) (finding of “cruel, heinous, or

depraved” aggravating circumstance by

Arizona Supreme Court presumed correct

under § 2254(d)); Magwood v. Smith, 791

F.2d 1438, 1449 (llth Cir. 1986)

(existence of aggravating or mitigating

circumstance a question of fact subject

to review under § 2254(d)). These

courts, .owever, appear to have applied

the presumption without considering

whether the finding of an aggravating

circumstance is a question of fact or a

mixed question of fact and law.

A state court conclusion that the

defendant killed in a “heinous, cruel, or

depraved” manner appears to be a mixed

question of fact and law. Chaney, 801

F.2d at 1194. The court must first

determine that the defendant engaged in

certain conduct (e.g., beat the victim

after she was dead), and then, by

-A-50-

reference to the decisions of the state

supreme court, conclude that such conduct

meaningfully distinguishes the defendant

from the “usual or norm of first degree

murders.” As a mixed question of fact

and law, the state court finding is not

entitled to a presumption of

correctness.’

On the other hand, the state court's

conclusion that the defendant killed in a

“heinous, cruel or depraved” manner

should not be subject to de novo review.

‘Even if the state court finding of

aggravating circumstances is “essentially

factual” so that it would be reviewed

under the “clearly erroneous” standard if

on direct appeal, see United States v.

McConney, 728 F.2d 1195, 1199-1202 (9th

Cir.) (en banc), cert. denied, 105 S. Ct.

101 (1984), it is not a [sic] an “issue

of fact” subject to the presumption of

correctness under § 2254(d). The

presumption only applies to “basic,

primary or historical! facts: ‘facts (in

the sense ot recital of external events

and the credibility of their

narrators).*"* Fendler, 728 F.2d at 1191

n. 21 (quoting Townsend v. Sain, 372 U.S.

293, 309 n. 6 (1963)).

-A-51-

The United States Supreme Court has

stated that its review of state court

findings of aggravating circumstances is

“limited to the question whether they are

so unprincipled or arbitrary as to

somehow violate the United States

Constitution.” Barclay v. Florida, 463

U.S. 939, 947, 103 S. Ct 3418, 3423

(1983) (plurality). The Ninth Circuit

has interpreted this language to support

deferential habeas corpus review of

aggravating circumstances. Adamson Vv.

Ricketts, 758 F.2d 441, 450 (9th Cir.

1985), withdrawn, 764 F.2d 1343, reh’g en

banc, 789 F.2d 722, cert. granted, 107 S.

Ct. 62 (1987).

Deferential review is justified by the

presence of ‘procedural protections

intended to ensure that the death penaity

will be imposed in a consistent, rational

manner. Barclay, 463 U.S. at 960,

(Stevens, concurring). Where the state's

A-5S2-

sentencing procedures “focus discretion

on ‘the particularized nature of the

crime and the particularized character of

the defendant,’ we lawfully may presume

that (defendant's] death sentence was not

‘wantonly and freakishly’ imposeu, and

thus that the sentence is not

disproportionate within any recognized

meaning under the Eighth Amendment.”

McClesaxy v. Kemp, 55 U.S.L.W. 4537, 4545

(U.S. Apr. 22, 1987) (emphasis added). ’

‘The Eleventh Circuit until recently

held that these procedural protections

not only raised a presumption that the

sentence was imposed consistent with the

Constitution, but foreclosed federal

review:

{wihere in a capital punishment

case the state courts have acted

through a properly drawn statute

with appropriate standards to

guide discretion, federal courts

will not undertake a case-by-case

comparison of the facts in a given

case with the decisions of the

etate supreme court. This rule

stands even though were we to

retry the aggravating and

mitigating circumstances if these

-A-53-

The Arizona capital sentencing process

contains the appropriate checks on

arbitrariness. The procedural

protections include bifurcation of the

penalty phase, statutorily-defined

aggravating and mitigating circumstances

which must be proved beyond a reasonable

cases, ‘we may at times reach

results different from those

reached in the Florida state

courts.”

Ford v, Strickland, 696 F.2d 804, 8619

(lith Cir.) (en banc) cert. denied, 464

U.S. 865 (1983) (quoting Spinkellink v.

Wainwright. 578 F.2d 582, 604-05 (5th

Cir. 1978), cert. denied 440 U.S. 976

(1979)) (citations omitted).

The Eleventh Circuit has since

abandoned its position of total deference

to state court findings of aggravating

and mitigating circumstances. in

Magwood, 791 F.2d at 1449, the court held

that a federal habeas corpus court is not

precluded from reviewing state

fact-findings that determine the

existence of a particular aggravating or

mitigating circumstance. The court

additic*ally held that such findings are

issues of fact, and are presumed to be

correct under § 2254(d). Id.

doubt, written findings by the sentencing

body, and automatic review by the state

supreme court. See Proffitt v. Florida,

428 U.S. 242, 96 S. Ct. 2960 (1976). On

review, the Arizona Supreme compares

“each death sentence with the sentences

imposed on similarly situated defendants

to ensure that the sentence of death in a

particular case }% not

disproportionate.” Gregg v. Georgia, 428

".S. 153, 198 (1976); State v. Richmond,

114 Ariz. 186, 196, 560 p.2d 41, 5l,

cert. denied, 433 1s. 915 (1976).

Moreover, the Arizona Supreme Court has

demonstrated an ability to rationally

apply the statutory aggravating and

mitigating circumstances. See State Vv.

Gretzler, 135 Ariz. 42, 52-53, 659 P.2d

Ll, ll-12, cert. denied, 461 U.S. 971

(1983) and cases cited therein.

Where a state's capital sentencing

process 1S procedurally sound and

-A-55-

responsibly managed, I believe the

correct standard of review is “whether

‘any rational factfinder’' could have

found the existence of aggravating

circumstance([s]." Godfrey v. Georgia,

446 U.S. 420 (1980) (plurality) (White,

J. dissenting) (quoting Jackson v.

Virginia, 443 U.S. 307, 313 (1979)).°

CONSTITUTIONAL QUESTION

Despite the open-ended language

contained in Ariz. Rev. Stat.

§ 13-703(F)(6), providing the penalty of

death for those who commit murder in a

"heinous, cruel, or depraved” manner, the

Arizona death penalty statute passes

constitutional muster by virtue of the

narrowing constructions available through

“The majority does not identify the

Standard of review it applies in this

habeas corpus proceeding, but it appears

to be the “complete and independent”

standard of review provided for in

Fendler, 728 F.2d at 1191 n. 21.

-A-56-

the Arizona Supreme Court. Chaney v.

Lewis, 801 F.2d at 1195. The majority,

however, holds that the Arizona Supreme

Court's application of the death penalty

statute to petitioner violates the

constitution.

A. Analysis Under the “Rational

Factfinder” Standard of Review

The Supreme Court of Arizona has set

forth in considerable detail those

factors which support a finding that a

murder was committed in an “especially

heinous, cruel, or depraved” manner. See

Gretzler, 135 Ariz. at 51-53, 659 P.2d at

10-12 In particular, the Arizona

Supreme Court has identified the

defendant's relishing of the killing and

the infliction of gratuitous violence as

two bases for finding a heinous or

depraved attitude. Id. Given the

parameters identified by the Arizona

Supreme Court, I believe a4 “rational

-A-57-

factfinder” could have found the existence

of aggravating circumstance § 13-703(F)(6).

The Arizona Supreme Court found that

Jeffers had relished the killing:

[Wlhile Jeffers was beating the

[dead] victim he called her “a

bitch and a dirty snitch” and with

each striking blow said, “This one

is for so and so.” [naming

several names}. This evidences

the relish with which appellant

committed the murder. .. . (Wle

find that the remarks made by

appellant, while at the same time

beating his victim, establish that

the offense was committed in an

especially heinous and depraved

manner.”

State v. Jeffers, 135 Ariz. 404, 430, 661

P.2d 1105, L131, cert. denied, 464 U.S. #45

‘The Arizona Supreme Court's findings

of historical facts, such as what Jeffers

-A-58-

(1983). This is a rational finding based

on petitioner's words and actions. |

The Supreme Court of Arizona additionally

~~found that Jeffers had inflicted

“gratuitous violence.“ Id. The record

shows that Jeffers “climbed on top of the

dead victim and hit her in the face several

times which eventually resulted in

additional wounds and bleeding.” Id.

Based on these facts, the Arizona Supreme

Court could rationally find that the

petitioner inflicted gratuitous violence:

“In short, it was this additional violence,

over and above that which was necessary to

carry out the defendant's criminal intent,

that in effect distinguishes the

said and did at the time of the killing,

are presumed to be correct under

18 U.S.C. § 2254(d). The majority

questions the strength of Van der Veer's

testimony, see ante at 18 n. 4, but in no

way shows that the state court findings

are not “fairly supported by the

record.” 18 U.S.C. § 2254(d).

-A-59-

[defendant's murder] from the ‘usual or

the norm’ of first degree murders.'‘”

State v. Ceja, 115 Ariz. 413, 417, 565

P.2d 1274, 1278 (1977). In light of the

factual grounds for finding that the

petitioner “relished” the act of killing

and inflicted “gratuitous violence,” the

Arizona Supreme Court could rationally

conclude that Jeffers’ committed murder

in an “especially heinous, cruel, or

depraved manner.”

B. Analysis Under the De Novo or

“Independent” Standard of Review

The majority acknowledges that the

Arizona Supreme Court has adopted

standards which narrow the class of first

degree murderers who may be put to death,

but concludes that a finding of

aggravating circumstances under

§ 13-703(F)(6 “seems to call for conduct

Or attitudes more shocking than those

exhibited by Jeffers." Ante at 17. In

-A-60-

holding that Jeffers’ conduct is not

sufficiently objectionable, this Court

simply substitutes its judgment for the

judgment of the Arizona Supreme Court.

Nothing in the Eighth or Fourteenth

Amendments permits this result.

The majority's reliance on Godfrey v.

Georgia, 446 U.S. 420 (1980) (plurality)

is misplaced. There the Georgia Supreme

Court affirmed a death sentence without

articulating how the defendant's actions

differed from the norm of first degree

murders. The United States Supreme Court

reversed the death sentence, finding that

it had been imposed in a “standardiess

and unchanneled” fashion. Id. at 429.

As Justice Marshall wrote, it was not a

question of whether the facts supported

the jury's finding:

As in any case raising issues of

vagueness, the question is whether

the court below has adopted so

-A-61-

ambiguous a construction of the

relevant provision that the

universe of cases it comprehends

is impermissibly large, thus

leaving undue discretion to the

decisionmaker and creating

intolerable dangers of

arbitrariness and caprice.”

446 U.S. at 420 n. 1 (concurring opinion).

The Arizona Supreme Court, unlike its

counterpart in Godfrey, “has gone to

great lengths to precisely define and

correctly apply Ariz.Rev.Stat.

§ 13-703(F)(6)." Adamson v. Ricketts,

758 F.2d at 451. In finding that Jeffers

committed his crime in a heinous or

depraved manner, the Arizona Supreme

Court identified the specific conduct

which, in its judgment, set this murder

apart from other first degree murder:

(1) He climbed on to his dead victim;

(2) repeatedly struck her in the face so

-~A-62-

as to draw blood; (3) called her a [sic]

“as bitch and a dirty snitch,” and,

(4) with each blow, said, “This one is

for so and so." See State v. Jeffers,

135 Ariz. 404, 430, 6€1 P.2d 1105, 1131,

cert. denied, 464 U.S. 865 (1983). The

Arizona Supreme Court further explained

how petitioner's conduct satisfied

§ 13-703(F)(6) under existing Arizona

precedent. By repeatedly striking his

victim in the face after she was dead,

Jeffers inflicted “gratuitous violence,”

and by the remarks he made while

inflicting this additional violence,

Jeffers showed he “relished” the

killing. Id.

The majority attacks this finding not

on the basis that it is “standardless and

unchanneled" under Godfrey, but that it

does not comport with other decisions of

the Arizona Supreme Court. The

majority's conclusion that § 13-703(F) (6)

-A-63-

requires “conduct or attitudes more

shocking than those exhibited by

Jeffers," ante at 17, represents one

possible reading of the Arizona death

penalty statute and Arizona precedent,

but the majority fails to show that this

reading is constitutionally required.

The Arizona Supreme Court may

constitutionally impose the death

sentence on petitioner provided the court

consistently applies the death penalty

Statute to other defendants in Jeffers’

position. The fact that Jeffers’ conduct

may lie close to the line separating

Ordinary first degree murders from

"heinous, cruel, or depraved” killings --

and could be interpreted to fall below

the threshold for imposing the death

penalty under current Arizona case law --

does not give rise-to a constitutional

violation absent inconsistent

-~A-64-

determinations by the Arizona Supreme

ceusct .*

[n an effort to show that the Arizona

Supreme Court's decision in Jeffers was

so unprincipled that it violated the

constitution, the majority undertakes a

selective review of other Arizona death

penalty cases. The majority emphasizes

those cases in which the defendant's

conduct seemingly was more objectionable

than Jeffers’ but the Arizona Supreme

“The majority in effect challenges

the constitutionality of any capital

sentencing system which recognizes an

aggravating circumstance as open-ended as

A.R.S. 13-703(F)(6). Inevitably, courts

must draw difficult lines between

ordinary first degree murder and those

murder. which are committed in an

"especially heinous, cruel, or depraved"

manner. But the constitution is

Satisfied where state courts draw lines

based on “rational criteria that narrow

the decisionmaker'’s judgment as to

whether the circumstances of a particular

defendant's case meet the threshold

{below which the death penalty cannot be

imposedj." McClesky v. Kemp, 55 U.S.L.W.

at 4544 (emphasis added).

-A-65-

Court did not find the defendant killed

in a “heinous, cruel, Or depraved”

manner.’ None of the cited cases,

however, involved conduct similar to

Jeffers’, and little can be distilled

from broad comparisons.

In State v. R.D. Smith, 138 Ariz. 79,

673 P.2d 17 (1983), the Arizona Supreme

Court found that the only evidence of a

heinous or depraved mind was the

uncorroborated testimony of a

———$_$_$_$—— —$_ —— ———

‘These cases are relevant benchmarks

to the extent that similar or worse

conduct did not result in a finding of

aggravating circumstances. They help to

answer a threshold question: What is the

minimum level of objectionable conduct

required for a finding of aggravating

circumstances under A.R.S.

§ 13-703(F)(6)? The decision in Jeffers

is not undermined by those cases in which

the Arizona Supreme Court found

aggravating circumstances based on

conduct more objectionable than

Jeffers’. Such cases say very little

about whether Jeffers’ conduct meets the

threshold below which the death penalty

canrot be imposed.

codefendant that Smith, the defendant,

had requested the tape “We Are The

Champions” be played at some stage

during the kidnap-rape-murder. The

court found this to be insufficient

evidence of heinousness or depravity,

particularly in light of the defendant's

suicide attempt, which was motivated in

part by remorse. Id. at 86, 673 P.2d at

24. The finding in R.D. Smith is not

inconsistent with the Arizona Supreme

Court's finding that Jeffers “relished”

the killing. Unlike the defendant in

R.D. Smith, Jeffers made statements that

directly captured the gusto with which

he killed, at the time he killed.’

“Tt is not clear that the defendant in

R.D.Smith requested the tape be played

while killing the victim, as opposed to

raping her. Under Arizona case law, the

defendant must “relish the murder” for

§ 13-703(F)(6) to be satisfied. See

Gretzler, 135 Ariz. 52, 659 P.2d at 10.

-A-67-

In State v. Graham, 135 Ariz. 209, 660

P.2d 460 (1983), the court found

insufficient evidence of a heinous or

depraved attitude where the defendant, who

was organically brain-damaged and highly

impressionable, smiled while recounting

that the victim “squealed like a rabbit”

when shot. The court concluded that

“(wlhatever statements Graham may have made

about the killing are more likely

attributable to his immaturity, nervousness

and need to impress his peers than to a

hardened attitude towards the death of

another.” Id. at 212, 660 P.2d at 463. No

such charitable interpretation can be given

to the statements of Jeffers, made while

repeatedly striking his dead victim in the

face.

In State v. Brookover, 124 Ariz. 38, 601

P.2d 1322 (1979), the Arizona Supreme Court

found that the defendant had not committed

murder in an especially “heinous, cruel, or

-A-68-

depraved” manner where he shot the victim

in the back, told the groaning victim

“Don't worry . . . it will be over soon”

and shot the victim again. The court found

that the defendant's words and actions, all

in furtherance of a deliberate plan to

“rip-off” a drug dealer and, in the

process, impress other narcotics

traffickers, failed to adequately

distinguish the crime from other first

degree murders. Id. at/ 40-41, 601 P.2d at

1324-25. Again, nothing in Brookover shows

the Arizona Supreme Court inconsistently

applied the death penalty statute to

petitioner. Jeffers did not commit

“cold and deliberate homicide” as in

Brookover; rather, his words and actions

show that he “relished” taking the life

of a “dirty snitch."

The majority cites two additional

cases to show the Arizona Supreme Court

inconsistently found Jeffers to have

-A-69-

inflicted gratuitous violence. Both

cases are readily distinguishable.

In State v. Watson, 120 Ariz. 441, 586

P.2d 1253 (1978), cert. denied, 440 U.S.

924 (1979), a robbery victim engaged the

defendants in a shoot-out, and was shot

four times in the back, the last time

while face down on the floor. In

finding that the killing was not

committed in an especially “heinous,

cruel, or depraved” manner, the Arizona

Supreme Court looked to the victim's

role in bringing about his own death.

Id. at / 447-48, 586 P.2d at 1260. No

such consideration is present here.

Likewise, State v. Poland, 144 Ariz.

388, 698 P.2d 183 (1985), aff'd, 106

S. Ct. 1749 (1986), fails to be

instructive. There the court's

inability to ascertain the exact

circumstances of the victim's deaths

precluded any finding that the murders

-A-70-

were heinous or depraved. Id. at 405,

698 P.2d at 200. Nothing in Poland

suggests that Jeffers’ words and

actions, established firmly on the

record, fail to show depravity or

heinousness.

CONCLUSION

The foregoing case-by-case analysis

should be unnecessary. AS 4a federal

habeas corpus court, we offer a limited

forum for petitioner's collateral attack

on his state court conviction and

sentence. Our duty is to ensure that

the petitioner is not being held in

violation of the constitution. Our role

does not extend to re-writing the law of

Arizona to comport with our own

interpretation of Arizona precedent.

Where state courts are responsibly and

consistently interpreting state death

penalty statutes which have been held to

be constitutional, our review should be

-A-71-

limited to whether “any rational

factfinder” could have found the

existence of aggravating circumstances.

0042D

-A-72-

ORDER

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

[Filed April 14, 1989]

JIMMIE WAYNE JEFFERS,

CA No. 86-1840

DC No. CV-85-945-ACM

Petitioner-Appellant,

-Vs-

)

)

)

)

)

)

JAMES R. RICKETTS, )

Director, Arizona ) ORDER

Department of )

Corrections; )

DONALD WAWRZASZEK, )

Superintendent, Arizona )

State Prison, )

)

)

Respondents-Appellees.

BEFORE: PREGERSON AND CANBY, CIRCUIT

JUDGES AND WILSON, DISTRICT

JUDGE*

A majority of the panel as constituted

in the above case has voted to deny the

* The Honorable Stephen V. Wilson,

United States District Judge for the

Central District of California, sitting

by designation.

ofinle

petition for rehearing and to reject the

suggestion for a rehearing en banc.

The full court has been advised of the

suggestion for an en banc rehearing, and

no judge of the court has requested a

vote on the suggestion for rehearing

en banc. Fed. R. App. P. 35(b).

The petition for rehearing is denied

and the suggestion for a rehearing

en banc is rejected.

0042D jd

=—j-fo

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.