Amicus Curiae Brief — Wards Cove Packing Co. v. Atonio

Supreme Court brief1989

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

> ) FILED

Nov 4 1988

No. 87-1387 JOSEPH E SPANIOL, JR

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

—_

WARDS COVE PACKING COMPANY, INC.,

CASTLE & COVE, INC.,

Petitioners,

—V,---

FRANK ATONIO, ET AL.,

Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO TIIE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR TILE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES

UNION, NATIONAL WOMEN’S LAW CENTER,

NOW LEGAL DEFENSE AND EDUCATION FUND,

WOMEN’S LEGAL DEFENSE FUND,

AMICI CURTAE, ON BEHALF OF RESPONDENTS

JOAN E. BERTIN

Counsel of Record

KARY L. Moss

ISABE. _E KATZ PINZLER

JOHN A. POWELL

American Civil Liberties

Union Foundation

132 West 43rd Street

New York, New York 10036

(212) 944-9800

Page

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .... «2. « «- iii

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE. . eo © «© « &

STATEMENT OF THE CASE .... +++ « 2

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .... +6 « « 10

ARGUMENT . ° © © « « 2D

EIn@re@uction .+«+-+s«eeecee ce oe &

I. THE TOTALITY OF THE EVIDENCE

INCLUDING STATISTICAL EVIDENCE OF

RACIAL STRATIFICATION, EASILY

ESTABLISHES A PRIMA FACIE

CASE

OF DISPARATE IMPACT

DISCRIMINATION. . . . « «© «© « «© « 17

A.

Petitioners Have Failed

to Demonstrate that

Observed Disparities

Are Attributable to

Valid Skill or Qualifi-

cations Requirements .... 21

The Data Comparing Non-

White Representation In

Cannery and Non-Cannery

Jobs, Along with Other

Evidence, Demonstrates

the Impact of the

Employers' Practices ... . 30

0 eee ee ee lh

II. TITLE VII REQUIRES MORE THAN A

SHOWING OF BUSINESS-RELATED

PURPOSES TO DEFEND APPARENTLY

DISCRIMINATORY EMPLOYMENT

PRACTICES . + cecccecveeee ¢

A. Congress Has Ratified This

Court's Requirement That

Employers Must Demonstrate

the Business Necessity of

Practices Which Result in

Discrimination. ...+s.«. -«

B. Decisions of This Court

Reveal That the Business

Necessity Defense Is An

Essential Element of Dis-

parate Impact Analysis...

on Cost Considerations Do Not

Establish Business Necessity

Or Excuse The Necessity To

PEOVe IF « « 8 « & 6 Soe ee

III. PRINCIPLES OF STARE DECISIS

PRECLUDE ABANDONING OR ALTER-

ING THE BUSINESS NECESSITY

DEFENOB «© © es ce eee eeeee

CONCLUSION ar ee

C. The Employers' Use of An

Undifferentiated Hiring

Procedure Makes the End

Result Appropriate For a

Measurement of Disparate

eile

36

38

41

46

56

59

63

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody,

422 U.S. 405 (1975). .... .. . passim

Alexander v. Choate,

|

Vv j Comm. v. Norris,

rr rrr RUSS . « 5 6 6 ec 32, 58

iday,

UO. wg lg cg fg lw passim

Beazer v. New York City

j ority,

~~~ TCE h. « « 6 6 6 ¢« ce ec « $1

Boston Chapter, NAACP, Inc. v.

Beecher,

504 F.2d 1017 (list Cir. 1974),

cert. denied,

umemeeere Mme CROPS). « « « cw tw cw 47, 49

Catlett v. Missouri Highway & Transp.

Comm'n, 828 F.2d 1260 (8th Cir. 1987),

cert. denied, U.S. __,

108 S.Ct. 1574 (2968). ..-+e 16, 28, 54

Caviale _v. State of Wisconsin

; of Health and

curity,

744 F.2d 1289 (7th Cir. ene «© « « « 48

-iii-

Coble v. Hot Springs School Fisher v. Procter and Gamble

District No. 6, Manufacturing Co.,

682 F.2d 721 (8th Cir. 1982) ....e. 84 613 F.2d 527 (5th Cir. 1980),

cert. denied,

Connecticut v. Teal, 449 U.S. 1115 (1981) ..... 23, 47, 48

457 U.S. 440 (1982). ...... . passim

Franks v. Bowman Transportation Co.,

Craig v. Alabama State Univ., 495 F.2d 398 (5th Cir. 1974),

804 F.2d 682 (11th Cir. 1986)... .. 10 rev'd, 424 U.S. 747 (1976) .... 14, 24

Crawford v. Western Electric Co., Gamble v. Birmingham Southern R. Co.,

614 F.2@ 1300 (Sth Cir. i980). .-«e« 37 514 F. 2d 678 (5th Cir. 1975). .. 15, 22

Davis v. Califano, Gathercole v. Global Associates,

613 F.26 937 (D.C.Cir. 1979) . « « 34, 28 545 F.Supp. 1280 (N.D.Cal. 1982) ... 59

De Medina v. Reinhardt, Geller v. Markhan,

686 F.2d 997 (D.C.Cir. 1982) ... 26, 28 635 F.2d 1027 (2d Cir. 1980),

cert. denied, 451 U.S. 945 (1981). .. 47

Dothard v. Rawlinson,

G35 Gee Fas CEPT) s « sc eo « Oy Os TO General Bld. Contractors Ass'n v.

Pennsylvania,

EEOC v. Radiator Specialty Co., \. ae ae ee CPOs « 4 6 te ec eee

610 F.2d 178

(ae Gis. 3078). «eo ne eo st i Me HS General Electric Co. v. Gilbert,

429 U.S. 125 (1976) ee wes os co Oy GB

EEOC v. Rath Packing Co., Grant v. Bethlehem Steel Corp.,

787 F.2d 318 (8th Cir.), 635 F.2d 1007 (2d Cir. 1980),

cert. denied, 479 U.S. 910 cert. denied,

(Sa0ewep oc ec ce ewe ew we et ewe es HO, GGe Geme BGO (2961). « . «© « 0 0 « 49,

Firefighters Institute for Racial Griggs v. Duke Power Co.,

Equality v. City of St. Louis, 401 U.S. 424 (1971)... ... . . passim

549 F.2d 506 (8th Cir.),

cert. denied, Grove City College v. Bell,

Gee Weames Bar taerrie + « 6 © © 6 « % 3 ee Ga wame Bee Ceemers © s+ tb eee sews eS

-iv- -vV-

Guardians Ass'n of the New York

City Police Dep't v. Civil Service

: SS

’

ee a en ONG O8. Ss see

Harless v. Duck,

619 F.2d 611 (6th Cir.),

cert. denied, 449 U.S. 872 (1980).

Harrell v. Northern Elec. Co.,

672 F.2d 444 (5th Cir. 1982)...

Hawkins v. Bounds,

752 F.2d 500 (10th Cir. 1985)...

Hayes v. Shelby Memorial Hospital,

726 F.2d 1543 (llth Cir. 1984). .

Illinois Brick Co. v. Illinois,

S3n Geto Fae CaS77)e« © «© © @ ©

International Brotherhood of

Teamsters v. United States,

Bs ses °° Fi, Fe

Jones v. Lee Way Freight Inc.,

431 F.2d 245 (10th Cir. 1970),

cert. denied, 401 U.S. 954 (1971).

Kilgo v. Bowman Transp. Inc.,

789 F.2d 859 (llth Cir. 1986)...

Kinsey v. First Regional Sec.,

557 F.2d 830 (D.C.Cir. 1977) ...

Kirby v. Colony Furniture Co.,

613 F.2d 696 (8th Cir. 1980)...

evie

- « 48

24, 25

48, 49

48, 58

60

Kirkland v. NY State Dep't of

Correctional Services,

520 F.2d 420 (2d Cir. 1975),

cert. denied, 429 U.S. 823 (1976).

Knight v. Nassau County Council

Service Commission,

649 F.2d 157 (2d Cir. 1981),

cert. denied, 454 U.S. 818 (1982).

Lewis v. Bloomsburg Mills, Inc.,

773 F.2d 561 (4th Cir. 1985) oe

Los Angeles Dep't of Water &

Power v. Manhart,

SO ee

Marsh v. Eaton Corp.,

639 F.2d 328 (6th Cir. 1981) ...

McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green,

ie © = DD | eres

Mobile v. Bolden,

Gan Dems Ge tanee) « «© « oe eo 6 6

Monell v. Dep't of Social Services,

Gam Wome Gee Caereis © « « we co 8

Muller v. U.S. Steel Corp.,

509 F.2d 923 (10th Cir.),

cert. denied,

a us Ge COTO). 2 2 ee ee

Nash v. Consolidated City of

Jacksonville,

837 F.2d 1534 (llth Cir. 1988) .

-vii-

NLRB v. International Longshoremen's

Ass'n, AFL-C) iO,

473 U.S. 61 (1965) . «© «© © © © © @© @ @

Nashville Gas Co. v. Satty,

636 Gee 296 CA97T7)e © we wo ee ee 8

ws v. EEOC,

462 U.S. 669 (1983). . «© «© «© «© « «© «© «

New York City Transit

Authority v.Beazer,

440 U.S. 568 (1979). ~. «© «© «© «© « e « »

Orr v. Orr,

440 U.S. 268 (1979). . . «+ «+ «© ee © -

Parson v. Kaiser Aluminum &

Chemical Corporation,

575 F.2d 1374 (5th Cir. 1978),

cert. denied,

owe See COUN). 2% % © a 8 ce 8

Patsy v. Florida Board of Regents,

457 U.S. 496 (1982). .+-+-e«ee © @« »«

Robinson v. Lorillard Corp.,

444 F.2d 791 (4th Cir.),

cert. dismissed,

404 U.S. 1006 (1971) ..... 47, 49,

Rowe v. General Motors Corp.,

457 F.2d 348 (5th Cir. 1972) .. . 23,

Shidaker v. Tisch,

833 F.2d 627 (7th Cir. 1986),

cert. denied, 5.8. .

108 S.Ct. 2900 (1988). .~. «© «© «© « « « «

-viii-

60

49

58

51

53

23

60

58

48

35

Page

Smallwood v. United Airlines Inc.,

661 F.2d 303 (4th Cir. 1981),

cert. denied,

656 @.8. 1007 (1962) . .~. «+--+ 38, 39

ited Airii P

475 F.2d 216 (10th Cir. 1972). ... . 26

Texas Dep't of Community Affairs

vy. Burdine,

GEO Gebe 2O8 C3083). «- se ce ec eoveve &

Transworld Airlines, Inc. v. Thurston,

SGD Gee 228 (A9ES)e @ wo ec eoveeene eo

United States v. County of Fairfax,

629 F.2d 932 (4th Cir. 1980) ... 15, 28

Walker v. Jefferson County Home,

726 F.2d 1554 (11th Cir. 1984) .. 48, 49

Washington v. Davis,

426 U.S. Zan (3976). «© «© © ec eo eo eo 0 eo SF

W Vv ort Worth Bank & us O.,

487 U.S. -

108 S.Ct. 2777 (1988). . . .«. « « « 17, SE

W Vv outhern Bell Tel. . ne

408 F.2d 228 (5th Cir. 1969) ..... 51

Wengler v. Druggists Mut. Ins. Co.,

- 3 Se BR). | ee ee era

Wi lams v. Colorado Springs Schoo

District,

641i F.2d 835

(10th Cir. Bewep «© «© © 0 & 6 le BAe See 8

-ix-

Statutes

Civil Rights Restoration Act,

Pub. L. 100-259 (1988) . . . . . . . . 61

Pregnancy Discrimination Act,

42 U.8.C- §2000e(k). . . . . . . . . . 57

Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act,

29 U.8.C. $794 (1982). «© «© ee eeee &

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act

of 1964,

42 U.S.C. §2000 et seg. .... + passim

Voting Rights Act,

GB U.BcG. GATS. « ¢ 6 ee eo ee th ew ce SS

Legislative History and Other Authorities

Alaskan Fisheries Hearings: Hearings

Before the Subcommittee on Alaskan

Fisheries, Committee on the Merchant

Marine and Fisheries,

76th Cong., list Sess. (1939) .. 7, 9, 10

Committee on Labor and Human Resources,

U.S. Senate, 96th Cong., 2d Sess.,

Legislative History of the Pregnancy

Discrimination Act of 1978 (1979). . . 58

117 Cong. Rec. 31960 (1971). . « « « « 44

117 Cong. Rec. 32095 (1971)... « « « 44

117 Cong. Rec. 3209? (19M3). /.6- ‘e te. eee

117 Cong. Rec. 32101 (1971). ..... 44

118 Cong Rec. 7166 (1972). .....-. 43

House Report No. 238,

92d Cong., list Sess. (1971 . . 43, 44, 45

Liljeblad, Filipino Alaska: A Heritace

(1980) (Alaska Historical Commission

Studies in History No. 9)... .+«+ «+ «9

S. Rep. No. 97-417, 97th Cong., 2d

Sess., reprinted in 1982 U.S. Code

Cong. and Ad. News 1 ..... + «6 « « 45

<xi-

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE2/

Amici curiae are non-profit legal,

education and research organizations

concerned about the legal rights and

economic status of women and minority

workers. 2/

Amici believe that this case has

potentially far-reaching implications for

the rights secured by Title VII of the

Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, 42

U.S.C. §§2000e, et seg. ("Title VII"). In

particular, arguments pressed by petition-

ers and the United States, as amicus

curiae, would, if accepted, seriously

undermine the ability of any worker who has

1/ he parties have consented to the filing

of this brief, and the letters of consent are being

filed with the Clerk of the Court pursuant to Rule

36.2 of the Rules of this Court.

2/ The interest of each individual amicus

curiae is set forth in the Appendix to this brief.

-l-

jected to discriminatory employment prac-

tices to receive the remedy Congress

intended. We write especially to urge the

Court to reject this unwarranted departure

from established precedent.

Statement of the Case

This class action, filed in 1974,

alleges employment practices that,

individually and in combination, have

created a patently racially stratified

work environment at three Alaska salmon

canneries. Among the elements con:ributing

to this discriminatory result are (1) a

history of job segregation; (2) recruitment

practices which targetted non-whites for

lower-paying jobs, while applicants for

better jobs were sought from a predomi-

nantly white labor force; (3) rehire

preferences, word-of-mouth hiring and

nepotistic practices; (4) subjective hiring

practices; (5) segregation in the provision

of housing and meals; and (6) common use of

overt racial designations and characteriza-

tions.

The evidence reveals that non-whites

were concentrated in lower-paying cannery

jobs, and whites predominated in higher-

paid positions. At Bumble Bee Cannery,

more than 90% of all hires over a nine year

period in seven of twelve departments were

white. Non-whites predominated in only one

department -- cannery worker -- and

represented a third of hires in “hree other

departments (laborer, culinary, quality

control). Joint Excerpt of Record

(hereinafter "ER") at 35. The same kind of

stratification was evident at Red Salmon:

whites obtained more than 75% of jobs in

nine of twelve departments. Non-whites

filled the majority of the laborer and

cannery worker positions. ER 36. At Wards

Cove and Red Salmon, between a third and

two-fifths of all hires were non-white,

but they were largely confined to two

departments -- cannery worker and culinary.

ER 36, 37.

Even within apparently “integrated”

departments, there was job segregation. At

Bumble Bee, in the Fish House and Cannery

departments, butcher and slimer jobs were

filled exclusively by non-whites, and

filler feeder and retort jobs were held

almost exclusively by whites. ER 42. At

Red Salmon, whites in the same department

worked only in cold storage, fish weigher,

and egg puller jobs, and non-whites held

all other positions. ER 50; see also ER

54. At the Warehouse department at Wards

Cove, whites represented 48% of the hires

(N=28), but all except one were assigned to

the warehouse job category, while non-

whites were spread throughout seven job

categories. ER 55.

The “inexorable zero" is evident in

the record as well. At Bumble Bee, in two

job categories comprising 304 hires, no

non-whites were hired at all from 1971 to

1980, and in five other categories, with

437 jobs at stake, non-whites obtained only

20 positions, fewer than 7% of the total.

ER 35. At Red Salmon, no non-whites were

hired into two job categories, involving 39

jobs; non-whites held only 11 out of 379

positions in three other departments. ER

36. At Wards Cove, in six job categories

non-whites got only 16 of 614 jobs. ER 37.

The industry has traditionally

employed non-white laborers for the

hardest, least lucrative positions, a

pattern that persisted well past the

passage of Title VII. The recruitment

practices at issue in this case are

particularly instructive. Non-whites were

recruited specifically for cannery work,

although there is no apparent reason why

the employers did not make the full range

of employment opportunities available to

all potential applicants. Undoubtedly,

many of the native Alaskans and Filipino

workers recruited for cannery work would

have preferred other jobs, especially if

the pay and working conditions were better.

But the preferred jobs were not offered,

and inquiries about the availability of

other positions were met by a variety of

evasive responses. 3/ Higher-paying "at

3/ For example, recruiters at Alaskan vil-

lages in the remote areas near the canneries were

not authorized to accept applications for non-

cannery work, Joint Appendix (hereafter "JA") at

163; and non-whites were actively discouraged from

applying. JA 38-42; 52; 56-60; 63-67; 71-73; 75-

77; 85-86; 125-126.

issue" jobs were generally filled through

offices in Washington and Oregon, that

drew from a predominantly white labor

force, a practice that was common in the

industry well before the institution of

this lawsuit.4/ Thus, by selectively con-

trolling the labor market from which

employees in different positions were

drawn, the employers controlled the racial

make-up of both the applicant pool and

hires in various jobs.2/

Although certain skills are claimed as

necessary for some "at issue" jobs, no

4/ Alaskan Fisheries Hearings: Hearings

Before the Subcommittee on Alaskan Fisheries,

Committee on Merchant Marine and Fisheries,

76th Cong., 1st Sess. 58 (1939) (hereafter

"Hearings") .

2/ By this practice, if the employers'

argument is accepted, an employer may insulate

itself from liability for discrimination by

manipulating the labor pool: the comparative base

used to measure discriminatory impact is the very

labor force selected by the employer that has

already produced the challenged result.

7

skill or education requirements were ever

actually imposed.£/ The desirable skills

were identified only in preparation for

litigation, and many of the incumbents did

not possess them. Subjective judgments

thus clearly controlled the selection of

employees for "at issue" jobs, although the

pool from which such employees were drawn

largely excluded non-whites.

Overt discrimination was evident in

the housing and meals arrangements and in

the race-typing of jobs and workers. Many

of the employment practices have changed

little since the days when the cannery

owners openly embraced and espoused race-

based practices. A report by the Alaska

Historical Commission observed:

&/ Young inexperienced whites were commonly

given jobs that petitioners now claim are

"skilled." See, e.g., JA 19-24, 25-29, 35-37, 60-

62, 78-79, 110-11, 114-22, 123-24, 131-36.

8

The cannery workers were divided into

two groups, or crews, those that

worked inside the canneries processing

fish and those in cannery maintenance

and operations.... [t]he fish and

processing crew was mainly composed of

racial and ethnic minorities, and

after [the arrival of] Chinese

contract laborers, it retained a

primarily Oriental composition for

decades. Sometimes Caucasians might

be found within the "China" crew, yet

the opposite was seldom found.

7/ sue Liljeblad, Filipino Alaska: A

Heritage (1980) (Alaska Historical Commission

Studies in History No. 9) (hereafter "Historical

Report"). Race labeling and stereotyping

dominated industry practices. Chinese were valued

as "willing to work excessively long hours without

grumbling, and are content to live in miserable

quarters and the cheapest food." Id. at 100. A

representative from the Territory of Alaska

testified in Congress in 1939: "The oriental is

not able physically to do the work of a white man,

and I am sure it is the desire of the packer now to

get rid of the Filipino.... If he has to pay a

wage like that the packer feels he can get more

work out of a white man and perhaps with less

trouble...." Hearings, supra n.4, at 29. At the

same time the white man was viewed as too good for

the dirtiest work. "Some of the operators are of

the opinion that white people would not generally

prove satisfactory in the butchering crews. That

is, the men who feed the iron chinks and slime the

fish .... Some of them believe it would be

necessary to use oriental labor in the butcher

room, even if white labor were available and there

was no restriction on employment." Id. at 346-47.

9

Originally shaped by intentionally

discriminatory practices, the system

challenged here incorporated elements of

intentional discrimination, both covert and

overt, along with identifiable neutral

practices applied alike to whites and non-

whites, that served to maintain the status

quo. 8/

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The record in this case is replete

with evidence that petitioners' employment

practices have operated to freeze

historical patterns of race discrimination.

See Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424

Living accommodations were distributed on the basis

of race or ethnicity with whites receiving the

newest bunkhouses with the best lighting and

conditions. Id. at 115-16.

8/ For example, the rehire preference clearly

serves to perpetuate current staffing patterns,

Craig v. Alabama State Univ., 804 F.2d 682, 687 n.7

(11th Cir. 1986), and whites benefitted overwheln-

ingly from the nepotistic practices. ER 57-101.

10

(1971), Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody, 422

U.S. 405 (1975). Yet petitioners ignore

this overwhelming body of evidence,

focussing their attack on only a smali

piece, and in so doing seriously distort

the reality that workers in these Alaskan

Salmon canneries experience.

This case recalls an earlier era of

Title VII enforcement when race and sex

typing in employment was rampant, often

overt and institutionalized. Although the

law has developed to address more sophisti-

cated and subtle forms of discrimination,

there is nothing sophisticated or subtle

about this case. Only by viewing the

totality of the evidence, Bazemo Vv.

Friday, 478 U.S. 385 (1986), rather than

forcing the facts into a legal straight

jacket never intended for this kind of

11

Situation, can this case be properly

analyzed. See Point I, infra.

The rules and definitions established

in Griggs, refined in Albemarle, and

reaffirmed in Connecticut v. Teal, 457 U.S.

440 (1982), directly govern this case, and

compel the conclusion that petitioners have

wholly failed to rebut the evidence of

discrimination or to demonstrate that their

practices are justifiable. See also

international Brotherhood of Teamsters v.

United States, 431 U.S. 324 (1977). The

defense consists of speculative attacks on

plaintiffs' evidence, unsupported asser-

tions of necessity, and hypothetical

allegations as to the cost of improvements.

Thus, petitioners and the United States

propose dispensing with the authoritative

interpretation of Title VII that has

governed for 17 years, even though Congress

12

has expressly ratified this application of

the statute. See Point II, infra.

Principles of stare decisis preclude

the result petitioners urge. The Court

should instead affirm its long-standing

rule that practices "fair in form, but

discriminatory in operation" are unlawful

unless affirmatively justified as necessary

to the business. See Point III, infra.

ARGUMENT

Introduction

Many industries have been marked by

the pervasive stratification and stereo-

typing apparent in this case. Historical-

ly, for example, the trucking industry was

stratified by race and sex. Whites

predominated in the lucrative over-the-road

("OTR") tractor trailer driving jobs, while

minorities were initially confined to

certain shop positions and later obtained

1 3

employment driving local routes and working

on the loading dock. See Teamsters, 431

U.S. at 337-38; Franks v. Bowman Transp.

Co., 495 F.2d 398, 410 n.10 (5th Cir.

1974), rev'd on other grounds, 424 U.S. 747

(1976); Jones v. Lee Way Motor Freight,

Inc., 431 F.2d 245 (10th Cir. 1970), cert.

denied, 401 U.S. 954 (1971). This

allocation of jobs was maintained by a

system of subjective and discretionary

hiring practices, often in combination with

neutral rules, like no-transfer provisions,

that operated to freeze and perpetuate the

discriminatory practices. See also Kilgo

v. Bowman Transp. Irc., 789 F.2d 859, 869-

75 (llth Cir. 1986) (women excluded from

OTR driving jobs as a result of a neutral

prior experience requirement and other

practices, including unequal and

inconsistent application of job require-

14

ments, failure to provide adequate bathroom

and bunk facilities, and other practices

designed to deter women applicants).

The same patterns occurred in many

settings. Whites entered the preferred

lines of progression, and minorities and

women were routed to race and sex-typed

positions, often the lowest paid, with the

least likelihood of advancement.2/ Subjec-

tive assessments, selective recruitment,

experience and education requirements, and

paper and pencil tests were all employed,

often simultaneously.

2/ £.g., Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody, 422

U.S. 405 (1975) ("racial identifiability" of lines

of progression; blacks in worst jobs); United

-, 629 F.2d 932,

937-38 (4th Cir. 1980) (women clustered in clerical

jobs, minorities in maintenance); Gamble v.

Birmingham Southern Railroad Co., 514 F.2d 678 (5th

Cir. 1975) (blacks confined to switchman position) ;

Marsh v. Eaton Corp., 639 F.2d 328 (6th Cir. 1981)

(women channeled into specific jobs).

15

Vigorous enforcement of Title VII,

and judicial scrutiny of employment prac-

tices that resulted in marked workforce

stratification has made this a less

familiar, but by no means non-existent,

pattern. Women workers, in particular, are

still subject to stereotypes about their

interests and skills and to pervasive

discrimination in male-dominated industries

and professions. See, e.g., Catlett v.

Missouri Highway & Transp. Comm'n, 828

F.2d 1260 (8th Cir. 1987) cert. denied, ___

U.S. __, 108 S.Ct. 1574 (1988); EEOC v.

Rath Packing Co., 787 F.2d 318, 328 (8th

Cir.), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 910 (1986);

Kilgo v. Bowman Transp. Inc., 789 F.2d 859.

No one familiar with the efforts to eradi-

cate widespread employment discrimination,

to which Title VII was originally

dedicated, can fail to recognize the

16

pattern present in this case. This case,

like Griggs, 401 U.S. 424, and Albemarle,

422 U.S. 405, had its genesis in the

overtly discriminatory practices pursued

widely in this industry prior to the

enactment of Title VII. And, like Griggs

and Albemarle, this case also involves

neutral practices, applied to all, that

fall more harshly on one group and that

“operate to 'freeze' the status quo of

prior discriminatory employment practices."

Griggs, 401 U.S. at 430,40/

I. THE TOTALITY OF THE EVIDENCE,

INCLUDING STATISTICAL EVIDENCE OF

RACIAL STRATIFICATION, EASILY ES-

TABLISHES A PRIMA FACIE CASE OF

DISPARATE IMPACT DISCRIMINATION.

10/ here can be no doubt in this case that

the "racial identifiability" of jobs, Albemarle,

422 U.S. at 409, did not arise from a "myriad of

innocent. causes,"

Co., 487 U.S. __, 108 S.Ct. 2777 (1988), but from

an extended history of specific discriminatory practices.

17

The parable of the blind describing an

elephant4// is an apt metaphor for the

mischaracterization of this case by

petitioners and some supporting amici.

By focussing their attack on a single

element of the case, namely the comparison

between the proportion of non-whites in

cannery jobs and non-whites in better

paying, more desirable “at issue" jobs, as

if no other evidence exists, the employers

distort reality. The record establishes

pervasive evidence of discrimination, of

which this particular statistical

_ 42/ Several blind people stationed at various

points around an elephant are each separately asked

penne Ay. - The one at the trunk

an elephant is a large hose; the

at the tusk describes a curved spike; ancther at

the ear says the elephant resembles a sail; the one

feeling the body says an elephant is a large hairy

wall, and according to the one at the tail an

elephant seems to be a sort of rope with a tassel

at the end. Here, the employers and their amici

are all feeling the tail; they perceive no

elephant, only a rope.

18

comparison is only a part: discrimination

is apparant "by the manner in which [an

employer] publicizes vacancies, his

recruitment techniques, his responses to

casual or tentative inquiries, and even by

the racial or ethnic composition of that

part of his workforce from which he has

discriminatorily excluded members of

minority groups." Teamsters, 431 U.S. at

365.

Petitioners do not contest many of

the facts upon which respondents rely, but

they question the relevance and probative

value of this evidence and assert that some

of the practices are defensible. Specifi-

cally, the employers do not deny that

general hiring, hiring of relatives,

recruitment, rehire, bunking and messing

practices occur essentially as respondents

describe them. They claim that there is no

19

statistical evidence of discrimination,

because they allegedly hire in proportion

to the "qualified" labor pool.

Both parties attempted to define the

appropriate comparative reference to

measure statistically the significance of

the obvious racial stratification in the

labor force, and there was and is sharp

dispute on this issue. This dispute,

however, should not obscure the agreement

regarding the other factual elements of the

employment process (even if the legal

implications are debated), and the fact

that these elements can and should be

considered in determining the existence of

the prima facie case. Cf. Bazemore v.

Friday, 478 U.S. at 400.

The dispute over the statistical

evidence of impact ultimately involves two

questions: (1) whether qualifications that

20

have not actually been uniformly applied in

the selection of employees and that them-

selves may disproportionately exclude non-

whites may be used to define the relevant

labor pool for purposes of statistical

evidence of impact; and (2) whether the

employers may themselves manipulate the

labor pool, by selectively seeking employ-

ees for some jobs in a predominantly white

area and employees for other jobs in

predominantly non-white areas.

A. Petitioners Have Failed to Demonstrate

that Observed Disparities Are Attrib-

utable to Valid Skill or Qualifi-

cations Requirements

Evidence of racial, ethnic, or sex-

based stratification in employment compell-

ingly suggests the presence of discriminat-

ory practices or the residue of intention-

21

al, historical discrimination.42/ Such

Such stratification is unlikely to occur as

a result of choice when the jobs to which

minorities or women are confined are the

least desirable ones. It is equally

unlikely that qualifications or skills

fully account for the disparities, espe-

cially in the jobs "at issue" in a case:

until this litigation, the employer had no

defined requirements for the jobs, and many

of the incumbents were unskilled. The

selection process for at issue jobs was

highly subjective.143/ Under these

12/ £.g., Gamble v. Birmingham So.R. Co., 514

F.2d 678 (Sth Cir. 1978); Muller v. U.S. Steel

Corp., 509 F.2d 923 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 423

U.S. 825 (1975). See also Albemarle, 422 U.S. 405

and Griggs, 401 U.S. 424.

13/ ‘the failure to articulate objective

criteria, and the reliance on unguided subjective

decisions, has often been identified as a ready

mechanism for discrimination. Knight v. Nassau

County Civil Service Commission, 649 F.2d 157, 161

(2d Cir.), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 818 (1981) ;

Wi Vv. orado Springs Schoo is , 641

22

circumstances, the skill level, for

purposes of identifying comparative labor

force data, must be based on the “non-

discriminatory standards actually applied

... to individuals who were in fact hired."

ans -, 424 U.S. at

772 n.32. See also Albemarle, 422 U.S. at

433. Since the evidence demonstrates that

no standards were developed or consistently

applied to actual hires, labor force

comparisons cannot be restricted by

hypothetical skill levels. Indeed, the

notion that the Beach Gang truck driver job

is a "skilled" job conflicts with this

Court's repeated statements, in the context

F.2d 835, 842 (10th Cir. 1981); Fisher v. Procter

and Gamble Manufacturing ©o., 613 F.2d 527, 546

(Sth Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 1115

(1981) ;

Corporation, 575 F.2d 1374, 1385 (5th Cir. 1978),

(1979) ; nea po ete 457

F.2d 348, 359 (5th Cir. 1972).

23

of OTR trucking cases, that this is a skill

widely possessed or easily obtained.

e.g., Franks and Teamsters.

It is hard to imagine that driving a

See,

truck around a cannery requires more skill

than driving an 18 wheel tractor-trailer

across country. Similarly, it is hard to

understand why Alaskan native Americans are

deemed not sufficiently skilled to cook on

board fishing boats, or to be deckhands.

They lack the requisite "skill" level,

according to petitioners, because they have

previously been excluded from these jobs.

It is the defendant's burden to prove

the necessity of special qualifications, if

they are in doubt. EEOC v. Radiator

Specialty, Co., 610 F.2d 178, 185 n.8 (4th

Cir. 1979); Davis v. Califano, 613 F.2d

957, 964-65 (D.C. Cir. 1979); Harrell v.

Northern Elec. Co., 672 F.2d 444, 448 (5th

24

Cir. 1982). Where the very subjectivity of

the practice is challenged as contributing

to, or creating, the discriminatory result,

numerous courts have held that comparative

labor force data may be limited only by

reference to the "minimum objective

qualifications" for the job. Davis v.

Califano, 613 F.2d at 964.

minimum objective qualifications for the

There were no

jobs at issue in this case because none had

been identified and none was uniformly

required.

Furthermore, prior experience and skill

requirements would themselves be discrim-

inatory. Defining the labor pool according

to discriminatory standards would be

entirely inappropriate:

The circuitousness of this

bootstrap argument becomes

obvious when one recalls that it

is [the] qualifications for

flight officer that appellant

Claims are discriminatory.

25

Spurlock v. United Airlines, 475 F.2d 216,

218 (10th Cir. 1972) (emphasis in

original).44/ In such a case, it would be

unreasonable to require plaintiffs to rely

on the very data that "may be biased

against them." De Medina v. Reinhardt, 686

F.2d 997, 1010 n.8 (D.C. Cir. 1982).

Lower federal courts are virtually un-

animous in imposing on employers the burden

of proving the existence and/or necessity

of special job qualifications or skills

where the requirements are not uniformly

imposed, where they are not clearly jus-

tifiable, or where they may themselves

cause or contribute to discriminatory

exclusions. See EEOC v. Rath Packing Co.,

787 F.2d at 327, 336 ("Rath could not

_ 44/ In Spurlock, the court held that a prima

facie case was established through evidence of the

"minuscule" number of blacks employed, and that the

employer bore the burden to justify the job qualifications

26

identify any criteria it used in selecting

employees or any common qualifications or

skills that its employees possessed") ;

Crawford v. Western Elec. Co., 614 F.2d

1300, 1315 (5th Cir. 1980) ("an employer

may not utilize wholly subjective standards

by which to judge its employees' qualifi-

cations and then plead lack of qualifi-

cation when its promotion procedure is

challenged as discriminatory"); Kinsey v.

First Regional Securities, 557 F.2d 830,

837-38 (D.C. Cir. 1977) (“objective

criteria" had not been uniformly applied;

skill requirements should be scrutinized if

the evidence showed systematic exclusion of

blacks).

Petitioners further assume that skills

and qualifications are unevenly distributed

in the population on the basis of race or

ethnicity. The "more logical assumption,"

27

however, is that skills of the sort

involved in this case42/ are evenly

distributed. De Medina v. Reinhardt, 686

F.2d at 1008 n.7; United States v. County

of Fairfax, 629 F.2d at 939. The employer

bears the "burden of producing evidence

from which it is possible to evaluate the

likelihood that the disproportionate impact

was caused by unequal qualifications." De

Medina, 686 F.2d at 1009 n.7 (quoting D.

Baldus and I. Cole, Statistical Proof of

Discrimination 194-195 (1980)). See also

Catlett Mi : Hial =.

Comm'n., 828 F.2d at 1266 (employers burden

to show that statistical disparity results

from women's lack of interest).

12/ The skill level, to the extent it exists,

is of the experiential sort, commonly available to

all groups. Unlike brain surgeons and rocket

scientists, societal discrimination does not

Operate against non-whites in these categories, but

rather fosters their participation.

28

In sum, the assertion that skills,

qualifications, or interest level precludes

the statistical comparisons undertaken by

respondents is neither apparent from the

nature of the jobs nor is it factually

supported in the record. The burden was on

the employers to prove the existence of

minimum, objective qualifications actually

applied during the relevant period to

individuals actually hired so that

respondents could, if necessary, adjust

their statistical presentation. EEOC v.

Radiator Specialty, 610 F.2d at 185-86.

Absent this showing, respondents'

statistical data cannot be rejected or

discounted for failing to account for

spurious or hypothetical skills and

qualifications that are allegedly lacking

29

in the excluded class and that may

themselves foster discrimination.2&/

B. The Data Comparing Non-White

Representation In Cannery and Non-

Cannery Jobs, Along With Other

Evidence, Demonstrates the Impact of

the Employers' Practices

Petitioners and the United States

challenge the Ninth Circuit's reliance on

the patent racial stratification in this

workforce in finding a prima facie

case.4// To make this argument, they are

16/ Indeed, some plaintiffs and class members

had college educations, JA 52, 56-60, 63-67, 71-

73, 75-77, 85-86, but were apparently not deemed

sufficiently qualified to work in the Beach gang,

quality control, clerical, or other jobs.

47/ The court may well have consiuered this

evidence in the context of other evidence in the

record, since nothing in the opinions below sug-

gests that the court relied solely on that

evidence. Whether or not the Court of Appeals

considered the totality of the evidence,

respondents are, of course, entitled to assert any

ground for affirmance of the judgment in their

favor. Trans World Airlines, Inc. v. Thurston, 469

U.S. 111, 119 n.14 (1985). The totality of the

evidence is clearly the appropriate standard to

determine the existence of a prima facie case.

Bazemore v. Friday, 478 U.S. at 400-01.

30

forced to rely on petitioners' own

practices - the very subject of this

lawsuit - to construct an argument that

this evidence is irrelevant. In particu-

lar, petitioners rely on their practice to’

hire from outside the workforce to fill

non-cannery jobs to justify the contention

that comparisons to the external labor

market are more relevant than internal

comparisons. The government relies,

ultimately, on the claim that use of Local

37 as a referral source results in the

“overrepresentation" of non-whites in

cannery jobs, distorting any comparison

between that group and non-cannery hires.

Neither addresses the anomaly their

arguments suggest: that the employers’

own challenged acts become the basis for

defeating liability. Both ignore the fact

that it was the employers’ own decision to

31

hire for non-cannery jobs through offices

in Washington and Oregon, and that the

labor agreement with Local 37 gave manage-

ment the exclusive right to select new

hires.48/ The rehire preference compounded

the harmful effects of this management

prerogative.

The contention that non-whites are

“overrepresented” is itself ironic: both

the government and petitioners claim that

application of Griggs will "force"

employers to adopt "quotas" to avoid

potential liability. Both now seek the

benefit of a "ceiling" quota. They argue

18/ This fact distinguishes this case from

'

General Bldg. Contractors Ass'n v. Pennsylvania,

458 U.S. 375 (1982), in which the union was the

exclusive referral source and the sole agent found

liable for intentional discrimination under 42

U.S.C. §1981. Compare

Norris, 463 U.S. 1073, 1089 & n.21 (1983)

(employers gain no immunity by delegating tasks to

third parties where “employers are ultimately

responsible").

32

ee

—— -

.

that their practices should be insulated

from liability so long as their hiring is

proportionate with the appropriate labor

pool as they define it, whether or not the

practices impact more heavily on non-whites

than whites.12/

In any event, the record is devoid of

any factual verification for the claim that

non-whites are “overrepresented." In fact,

the high proportion of non-whites may as

easily reflect the fact that whites, having

more options, are less willing to do this

hard, seasonal work in remote locations.

These factors, far from supporting the

“overrepresentation" theory, suggest that

the best comparison available is the actual

workforce, a figure that avoids speculation

about which elements of the labor force

12/ this contention has already been rejected

by this Court. Connecticut v. Teal, 457 U.S. 440

(1982) .

33

might be available for or interested in

this employment.

The other comparative data all suffer

serious, if not fatal, flaws. The district

court's own characterization of census

data22/ reveals why census figures are

Singularly inappropriate: they are largely

comprised of individuals in year-round,

fixed location jobs near their place of

residence; the canneries are located in

remote, sparsely-populated regions and

provide only seasonal employment. There is

no apparent relevance of this data to this

case, and the district court provided no

rationale for its acceptance. The finding

20/ ‘he district court noted that census data

is “dominated by people who prefer full-year,

fixed-location employment," but nonetheless found

that "such data is nevertheless appropriate in

defining the labor supplies for migrant seasonal

work." Fdg.120, 34 CCH Empl. Prac. Digest 434,437,

p.33,829. Why such data is "appropriate" is not

explained.

34

in this regard is simply devoid of any

foundation and is clearly erroneous.

Especially in the absence of minimum

objective qualifications, the apparent

restriction of minorities and women to

lower paying less desirable jobs has often

been viewed by the courts as highly proba-

tive evidence of discrimination, and suffi-

cient to support a prima facie case. See

Shidaker v. Tisch, 833 F.2d 627 (7th Cir.

1986), cert. denied, ___-U.S. __, 108

S.Ct. 2900 (1988); EEOC v. Radiator Spec-

ialty Co., 610 F.2d at 181-82, Muller v.

U.S. Steel Corp., 509 F.2d 923. A

"plaintiff in a Title VII suit need not

prove discrimination with scientific

certainty." Bazemore v. Friday, 478 U.S.

at 400 (Brennan, J., concurring).

The evidence of racial stratification

does not exist in a vacuum, and the

35

totality of the evidence clearly supports

the finding of a prima facie case of

discrimination Id. at 401-02.

Cc. The Employers' Use of An

Undifferentiated Hiring

Procedure Makes the End Result

Appropriate For a Measurement of

Disparate Impact

Petitioners contend that the plain-

tiffs improperly relied on the "cumulative

effects" of their employment practices and

that, having failed to demonstrate the

individual impact of each specific prac-

tice, their challenge must fail. Having

created a multifactorial selection process,

with subjective elements and unweighted

components, the employers cannot assert

that the system is immune from attack

because it does not have separate, scored

or weightec factors whose impact can be

separately aid independently ascertained.

36

In some cases, it might be entirely

appropriate to require a plaintiff to

demonstrate the discriminatory effect of

identifiable criteria by which employees or

applicants are selected. For example,

police departments commonly subject new

potential recruits to paper and pencil

tests, medical examinations, physical

ability tests, and background inquiries.

Each one of these pre-employment hurdles is

scored: a certain number of applicants are

eliminated, the remaining may be ranked.

The system contains both objective and

subjective elements. Those who would

challenge its validity may reasonably be

expected to identify where the discrimina-

tion, if any, occurred, because in such a

system the effects of each aspect of the

screening process can be separately

37

ascertained. Cf. Connecticut v. Teal, 457

U.S. 440.

But where the elements of the hiring

process are not so clearly identifiable

and applicants neither pass, fail nor score

at any point until the end of the process

when they are either hired or not, the only

reasonable target for challenge is the

result of the process. Even the United

States recognizes that in such a situation

the impact of each element in a multifacto-

rial process cannot be demonstrated. 22/

II. TITLE VII REQUIRES MORE THAN A

SHOWING OF BUSINESS RELATED

PURPOSES TO DEFEND APPARENTLY

DISCRIMINATORY EMPLOYMENT

PRACTICES

2)/ In its brief, at

, ’ p.22, the government

concedes that "if (multiple) factors combine to

produce a single ultimate selection decision and it

is not possible to challenge each one, that

decision may be chall

we ay enged (and defended) as a

38

Flouting seventeen years of Title VII

jurisprudence, and Congressional ratifica-

tion of that caselaw, the employers and the

government in this case advocate abandon-

ment of the central tenet of Griggs: that

equal employment opportunity may not be

offered “merely in the sense of the fabled

offer of milk to the stork and the fox,

...{but] that the vessel in which the milk

is proferred be one all seekers can use.

The Act proscribes ... practices that are

fair in form, but discriminatory in

operation. The touchstone is business

necessity." 401 U.S. at 431 (emphasis

added).

Instead, the employers argue that

they should be able to defend their prac~-

tices simply by offering “reasonably clear

and specific" reasons. Petitioner's Brief

at 39; see also U.S. Brief at 27. In fact,

39

the government would dispense with Griggs

entirely: "Nothing about disparate impact

cases justifies a departure from the model

for litigating disparate treatment cases."

Id; see also Petitioner's Brief at 47

("Indeed, the rigid formula of Griggs

itself should be reexamined in this

context").

Thus, the government suggests that

employers should be able to defend dis-

criminatory practices for any reason other

than “non-business,” U.S. Brief at 24-25,

& n. 35. It would accept an employer's

sincere but unsupported assertions.22/ It

22/ Indeed, the exp] and

characterize the defendant's burden as ave of

production despite decisions by this Court

that the burden is one of proof. Albemarle, 422

U.S. at 425 ("the company must meet the burden of

proving that its tests (were) job related") ;

, 433 U.S. at 329

dants failed "to prove that the challenged require-

ments are job-related"). See also Connecticut v.

Teal, 457 U.S. at 451 (employers must "demonstrate

that the examination given was not an artificial,

40

was precisely this contention that this

C art rejected over fifteen years ago when

it held in Griggs that the employer's

attempt to improve the overall quality of

the workforce through educational and

testing requirements, a “reasonably clear

and specific" business related purpose,

failed to provide an adequate defense.

Stare decisis precludes such a departure

from established law, ratified by Congress.

A. Congress Has Ratified This Court's

Requirement That Employers Must

Demonstrate the Business Necessity of

Practices Which Result in

Discrimination.

In 1971 this Court expressly rejected

Duke Power Company's defense that its

educational and testing requirements,

adopted in response to the increasing

complexity of its business, served a

arbitrary, or unnecessary barrier, because it

measured skills related to effective performance....")

41

“legitimate business purpose": the company

wanted to improve its efficiency and have

some assurance that employees would be able

to advance through the ranks.

In Griggs, the Court determined that

the statutory exemption for professionally

developed tests, 42 U.S.C. §2000e-2(h), did

not shield Duke Power since the test had

been “used to discriminate," as demon-

strated by its effect on blacks. Such

tests, like other neutral practices with

disproportionately adverse effects, could

only be justified if the employer could

show a "manifest relationship" to

successful job performance or business

necessity. Id. at 433.

The same year, Congress expressly

endorsed the Griggs interpretation of Title

VII, retaining the statutory language cited

in Griggs. The House Report also ex-

42

plicitly quoted Griggs*2/ and endorsed

both the effects test and the holding that

an employer's good faith could not defeat a

finding of discrimination, if the employer

failed to prove the existence of an

overriding business necessity. H.R. 92-238,

92a Cong. lst Sess. 8 (1971).24/

The Court has itself recently acknowledged

that "Congress recognized and endorsed the

disparate impact analysis employed by the

Court in Griggs." Connecticut v. Teal, 457

U.S. at 447 n. 8.

23/ See, e.g., H.R. 92-228, 92d Cong. Ist

Sess. 8, 21 (1971) (specific reference to

"business necessity" as "touchstone").

24/ congress further incorporated Griggs by

providing that: "In any area where the new law

does not address itself, or in any areas where a

specific contrary intention is not indicated...

present case law as developed by the courts would

continue to govern the applicability and construc-

tion of Title VII." 118 Cong. Rec. 7166, 7564

(1972).

43

Nor does legislative history provide present effects of earlier discrimination

any basis for relaxing Griggs' requirements through various institutional devices, as

in cases involving subjective employment well as testing and validation require-

practices. The legislative history of the ments. H.R. 92-238, 92d Cong. lst Sess. 8

1972 ameniments is replete with examples of (1972).

racial stratification in upper level The rule of law enunciated in Griggs

positions, positions where subjective has been adopted by Congress on other

criteria are most likely to be used.25/ occasions, as well, in defining prohibited

Recognizing the increasingly subtle discrimination. For example, it has been

and complex nature of discrimination, the used to define conduct prohibited by the

legislative history refers to "systems and | Voting Rights Act as well as the

effects." The House Report included within Rehabilitation Act.29/ In sum, Congress

the ambit of prohibited "systems" practices has on several occasions relied upon, and

relating to seniority, lines of progres-

28/ fan lapielative history of te Wie

sion, practices which perpetuate the Rights Act Amendments of 1982, 97 P.L. 205,

Stat. 131 42 U.S.C. §1973 (1982), shows express

reliance on Griggs: "the results test to be

22/ For example, the concentration of catities in Section 2 is 0 wal) dstine’ ctantion

minorities and women in the lowest paying and least first enunciated by the Supreme Court _— .

desirable jobs was particularly noted: H.R. 92- in numerous lower federal court , ge .

238, 92d Cong., Ist Sess. 23 (1971). 117 Cong. Rep. No. 97-417, 97th Cong., 2d Sess. ,

Rec. 31960 (9/15/71) (remarks of Rep. Perkins); 117 reprinted in 1982 U.S. Code Cong. and yl

Cong. Rec. 32095 (9/16/71) (remarks of 193-94. Section 504 of the Rehabilitation

Rep. Faunteroy); 117 Cong. Rec. 32097 (9/16/71) U.S.C. §794 (1982), has been similarly held

(comments of Rep. Abzug); 117 Cong. Rec. 32101 incorporate Griggs standards.

(9/16/71) (comments of Rep. Badillo). 469 U.S. 287 (1984).

44 45

endorsed, the Griggs decision, as

interpreted in this and lower federal

courts. An integral part of that decision

is the insistence on business necessity as

the standard by which practices, "fair in

form but discriminatory in operation," must

be justified.

B. Decisions of This Court Reveal That

the Business Necessity Defense Is An

Essential Element of Disparate Impact

Analysis

Like Congress, this Court has

consistently affirmed the rule of Griggs as

Originally enunciated, including its

insistence on business necessity as the

standard by which discriminatory practices

must be judged. Thus, this Court has held

that employment practices which “operate as

"built-in headwinds'" must be validated and

“shown, by professionally acceptable

methods, to be ‘predictive of or signifi-

cantly correlated with’ important elements

46

of work behavior which comprise or are

relevant to the job...." Albemarle, 422

U.S. at 431 (quoting 29 C.F.R. §1607.4

(c)). The Court has specifically

emphasized Title VII's rigorous burden:

Siiieiteks anmm manienal heals f=

the challenged practices. It is

in addition, that they be

"val idated' . . « « However this

process proceeds, it involves more

probing judicial review of, and less

deference to, the seemingly reasonable

acts of administrators.

Washington v. Davis, 426 U.S. 229, 247

(1976) (emphasis added) (distinguishing

constitutional cases). 2//

27/ Lower courts have consistently required

that a defendant provide professional or empirical

ee ee ey ee P20

1017, 1022 (ist Cir. 1974), cert. denied. 421 U.S.

910 (1975) (rejecting written test for —

firefighters) ; ; ty

ong ny oh alge ge yx 1032-

940 (1981); Geller v. Markham, . ’

451 U.S. 945

1034 (2d Cir. 1980), cert. denied,

(1981) (cost concerns rejected); Robinson v.

Lorillard Corp., 444 F.2d 791, 799 (4th Cir.),

cert. dismissed, 404 U.S. 1006 (1971); Fisher v.

47

Allegations of good faith will not

rebut a prima facie case of class-wide

discrimination. Griggs, 401 U.S. at 431,

and see Teamsters, 431 U.S. at 342 n.24.

Nor will a desire to hire only the best

qualified applicants. Id. Instead, the

employer has to show that the challenged

practices are of "great importance" or of a

“compelling nature." Connecticut v. Teal,

-, 613 F.2d 527,

544-45 (Sth Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 1115

(1981) (qualifying tests and experience); Rowe v.

, 457 F.2d 348, 358 (5th Cir.

1972) (rejecting "ebb and flow" in production

level); Harless v. Duck, 619 F.2d 611, 616-617 (6th

Cir.), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 872 (1980) (physical

ability test and oral interview); Caviale v. State

=Val UNC :

2 : ii ico al 2%. Cc wiv.

744 F.2d 1289, 1294-95 (7th Cir. 1984) (requirement

that applicants be members of Career Executive

Program); Fi

j j is, 549 F.2d 506, 511

(8th Cir.), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 819 (1977)

(promotional exam) ; Hawkins v. Bounds, 752 F.2d 500

(10th Cir. 1985) (discriminatory detailing); Walker

, 726 F.2d 1554, 1559 (11th

Cir. 1984); Hayes v. Shelby Memorial Hospital, 726

’

F.2d 1543, 1553 n.15 (11th Cir. 1984) (potential

litigation costs).

48

457 U.S. at 451. 28/ Accord Nashville Gas

Co. v. Satty, 434 U.S. 136, 143 (1977);

Dothard v. Rawlinson 433 U.S. at 331;

General Electric Corp. v. Gilbert, 429 U.S.

at 138 n.14 (1976); .cDonnell Douglas Corp.

v. Green, 411 U.S. 792, 805 (1973).

Contrary to the government's and the

petitioners' suggestion, the business

necessity defense is an “affirmative

defense," entirely distinct from the "much

less burdensome riposte... applicable to

28/ See also Hawkins v. Bounds, 752 F.2d 500

635

("great importance"); Grant v. Bethlehem Steel,

7 ("genuine business need"); Kirby v.

rhe waa ., 613 F.2d 696, 705 n.6 (8th

Colony Furniture Co., 2

Cir. 1980) ("compelling need"); Walker v. Jefferson

, 726 F.2d at 1559 ("rigorous

standard" .

4 520 F.2d 420, 426 (2d

of Correctional Services

Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 823 (1976)

"heavy burden"); Boston Chapter, NAACP v.

Hen A 504 F.2d at 1024 ("substantially related”

444

by "convincing facts"; Robinson v. Lorillard,

a iciently compelling"); Williams

F.2d at 798 ( suffici ¥ i ict, 641 F.2d 835,

842 (10th Cir. 1981) ("the practice must be essen-

tial, the purpose compelling").

49

individual disparate treatment cases."

Lewis v. Bloomsburg Mills, Inc., 773 F.2d

561, 571-72 (4th Cir. 1985). Articulation

of a legitimate non-discriminatory reason

"simply has no doctrinal relevance as a

negating or justifying defense to

statistically proven patterns and practices

of discrimination ... [it is] ‘about as

relevant as a minuet is to a thermonuclear

battle.'" Id. at 572 n.19 (citation

omitted.) Accord Nash v. Consolidated

City of Jacksonville, 837 F.2d 1534, 1536

(llth Cir. 1986).

If the position now advocated by the

government and the employers were the law,

Title VII would have done little to

desegregate the workplace. For example,

the employer in Dothard may have sincerely

believed that height and weight correlated

with effectiveness as a corrections

50

officer, but that belief was not factually

supported. If a lower level of proof --

merely assertion of a business purpose --

had been accepted, women would still be

virtually excluded from law enforcement

jobs, many factory jobs, and other

positions for which size has been wrongly

assumed to be relevant.22/ See also Weeks

v. Southern Bell Tel. & Tel. Co., 408 F.2d

228, 236 (Sth Cir. 1969) ("using these

class stereotypes denies desirable

22/ on only one occasion has the Court even

arguably excused the usual validation ns conan

In New York City Transit Authority v. Beazer,

U.S. 568 (1979), the Court noted that plaintiffs'

statistical data was "weak," possibly not even

sufficient to establish a prima facie case. Id. at

587. Under these circumstances, the Court found

the restriction of methadone users from "safety

sensitive" positions was job-related. Id., n.31.

The ultimate holding was contained in a footnote:

"Whether or not respondents' weak showing was

sufficient to establish a prima facie case, it

Clearly fails to carry respondents' ultimate

le Id. This decision provides no basis

for the conclusion that the Court has dispensed

with the business necessity requirement in response

to a prima facie case of discrimination.

51

positions to a great many women perfectly

capable of performing the duties

involved").

A simple explanation fails to rise to

the level of the evidence of systematic

discrimination inherent in a prima facie

case of class-wide discrimination. Any

employer can always articulate some

business-related reason for its practices,

but that does nothing to address the

systematic impact of discriminatory

practices. Title VII's focus is and should

be on the eradication of practices that

inhibit equal employment opportunity,

regardless of motive.302/

30/ Indeed, business related purposes have

been advanced to justify even facially discrimi-

natory practices, and the asserted non-invidious

motives were most likely genuine. E.g., Los

“ , 435

U.S. 702 (1978). Sex discrimination cases reveal

the irrelevance of bigotry or animus to a finding

of discrimination. Invidious discrimination

against women has historically been characterized

52

Statistical data may always be

challenged as irrelevant, unreliable or

inaccurate, because the plaintiff's prima

facie case can always be attacked directly.

Class disparate treatment cases best define

this process: the defendant must produce

its own statistical analysis, or valid

statistical critique, demonstrating why the

statistics are incorrect or unworthy of

credibility. Teamsters, 431 U.S. at 340.

In reviewing the statistical data in

Bazemore v. Friday, the Court noted that

the defendants failed to provide “evidence

to show that there was in fact r

disparity”:

motives. The Supreme Court has

Seuditened teamensonns discrimination even where

the intent was" to favor [women], not to disfavor

them." Wengler v. Druggists Mutual Ins. Co., 446

U.S. 142, 150 (1980). See also Orr _v. Orr, 440

U.S. 268 (1979) (alimony statute which benefitted

only women invalidated as unconstitutional

intentional discrimination).

53

Respondents’ strategy at trial

was to declare simply that many

factors go into making up an

individual employee's salary;

they made no attempt that we are

aware of-statistical or

otherwise-to demonstrate that

when these factors were properly

organized and accounted for there

was no significant disparity

between the salaries of blacks

and whites.

478 U.S. at 403-04 n.14 (references

omitted) (Brennan, J., concurring).

As Bazemore thus makes clear, affirmations

of good intentions do not refute a

statistical showing of discrimination -

only facts suffice.3)/

Failing refutation of the statistical

evidence, an employer is free to prove the

business necessity of practices with

a)/ "“(H)ypotheses or conjecture will not

suffice" to rebut statistical evidence of

discrimination.

682 F.2d 721, 730 (8th Cir. 1982) (citation

omitted) . issi

Comm., 828 F.2d at 1266 (defendant may not rely on

“mere Conjecture or assertion” but must produce

“direct evidence").

54

discriminatory impact.22/ Here, the

employers offered little other than

assertions of their own good faith and the

business related purposes that were

allegedly served.22/

In the context of both disparate

impact and class disparate treatment cases,

this Court has squarely and consistently

rejected the assertions of business-related

purposes to rebut a discrimination claim

that relied in whole or in part on class-

= " The job analysis prepared in this case is

unavai. »5, since it is conceded that the

qualifi ations had not been previously identified

or remired. Validation undertaken in preparation

_& Lot — - 2 U.S 2 an n.32

“ -_ , 42 -S. -32.

Moreover, <.:.e study was materially defective in

that it did not attempt to correlate important

elements of work behavior with the job

qualifications identified. This is legally

insufficient. Id. at 431-32.

So

23/ The district court accepted these mere

“articulations” but the court failed to apply

disparate impact and these conclusions were thus

governed by an incorrect legal standard.

wide statistical evidence of

discrimination. 34/

c. Cost Considerations Do Not Establish

Business Necessity Or Excuse The

Necessity To Prove It

The employers and the government

contend that the potential costs of non-

discrimination should excuse discrims natory

practices, in essence arguing thst the

assertion of a cost-based rationale should

coceamant en eat that petitioners and the

rely on in f

0 An Opinion vf four members of

487 U.S. , to support the conclusion that an ‘

"articulation" defense is appropriate in this case,

that reliance is misplaced. Watson involved

Single individual claimant who asserted that

were disproportionately affected by the bank'

subjective promotion practices. The Court held

that she could proceed on such a theory. It had no

occasion to address the burden on a defendant in

This Court's decisions have always distinguished

between individual and class disparat? treatment

cases with regard to both the prima facie case and

the defense. Compare Teamsters with Texas Dep't of

, 450 U.S. 248 (1981).

When evidence of classwide discrimination A. 7

present, even in an individual case, the Teamsters

model is the more relevant one.

56

suspend the obligation to prove business

necessity. But this is simply another

rendition of their contention that

articulation of a business related purpose

should provide a defense. Here, the cla.m

regarding costs is wholly speculative and

unsupported. On this basis alone it should

fail.

Morover, Congress has rejected the

notion of a cost-based defense. In 1978,

opponents of the Pregnancy Discrimination

Act complained that compliance would be too

costly. Representative Hawkins, sponsor of

the amendmen., replied:

Eradicating invidious discrimination

by definition costs money: It is

cheaper to pay all black workers less

than all white workers, or all women

less than all men. The fact that it

would cost employers money did not

prevent Congress from enacting the

Equal Pay Act or title VII, and it

should not prevent this Congress from

making clear that title VII prohibits

this form of sex discrimination as

well.

57

Legislative History of the Pregnancy

Discrimination Act (1979) (committee print

prepared for the Senate Committee on Labor

and Human Resources) at 26. The Senate

Report concluded:

even a very high cost could not

justify continuation of the policy of

discrimination against p nt women

which has played such a major part in

the pattern of sex discrimination in

this country.

Id. at 48.

This Court has explicitly rejected a

cost-based defense on three separate

occasions. Los Angeles Dep't Water & Power

¥. Manhart, 435 U.S. 702, Newport News

Shipbuilding & Dry Dock Co. vy. EEOC, 462

U.S. 669 (1983), and Arizona Governing

Committee v. Norris, 463 U.S. 1073

(1983).22/ Even the Griggs Court must have

22/ See also Robinson v. Lorillard, 444 F.2d

at 799-800 and n.8; ~, 726

F.2d 1543, 1552 n.15 (llth Cir. 1984); Smallwood y.

58

recognized that validation and the

alteration of unlawful practices would

entail some c-~ts, but mandated them

anyway, and has repeatedly done so.

III. PRINCIPLES OF STARE DECISIS PRECLUDE

ABANDONING OR ALTERING THE BUSINESS

NECESSITY DEFENSE.

The decisions noted above constitute

an integral part of Title VII jurisprudence

and are central to the disparate impact

theory. Principles of stare decisis

dictate adherence to Griggs, Albemarle, and

other authoritative interpretations of

Title VII. The Court has held that stare

decisis “weighs heavily” and precludes a

departure from precedent where Congress had

the oppor. nity to reject the "Court's

interpretatior of its legislation” but

United Airlines, In>., 661 F.2d 303, 307 (4th Cir.

1981), cert. denied, 456 U.S. 1007 (1982)

Gathercole v. Global Assocs., 545 F. Supp. 1280,

1282 (N.D. Cal. 1982).

59

Geclined to do so. Jllinois Brick Co. vy.

Tllinois, 431 U.S. 720, 736 (1977).

Accorg NLRB v. International Longshoremen

Association, AFL-CIO, 473 U.S. 61, 84

(1985). In deciding whether to overrule an

earlier case, the Court is required to

determine whether that act “would be

inconsistent with more recent expressions

of Congressional intent." Patsy vy. Florida

Board of Regents, 457 U.S. 496, 501

(1982); Monel] v. New York City Department

of Social Services, 436 U.S. 658, 695

(1978). See also Guardians Association yv.

York, 463 U.S. 582, 612 (1983) (O'Connor,

concurring) (constrained to follow Court's

prior interpretation of Title VI). Here,

overruling Griggs, or any of its essential

elements, particularly the business

necessity requirement, would plainly be

60

“inconsistent” with “expressions of

Congressional intent."

Congress is, of course, free to

reverse a statutory constuction by this

Court that is inconsistent with its intent,

and it has done so on several occasions,

notably when the Court has narrowed the

scope of civil rights laws.39/

In some of these prior instances,

arguably the intent of Congress had not

been as clear as it is here. Congress

could hardly have made plainer its intent

to adopt the entire constellation of

38/ £.g., General Electric v. Gilbert, 427

U.S. 125 (1976) led to the Pregnancy Discrimination

Act, 42 U.S.C. §2000e(k) (1982). Grove City

College v. Bell, 456 U.S. 555 (1984) was overruled

by the Civil Rights Restoration Act, Pub. L. 100-

259 (1988). Mobile v. Bolden, 446 U.S. 55 (1980),

was reversed by the Voting Rights Act Amendments of

1982, 42 U.S.C. §1973, et seg. (1982). In Mobile

v. Bolden a plurality of the Supreme Court broke

with precedent and substantially increased the

burden on plaintiffs in voting discrimination cases

by requiring proof of discriminatory purpose.

?

61

holdings for which Griggs stands. Under CONCLUSION

these circumstances, adherence to stare For the foregoing reasons, amici

decisis will not only preserve the respectfully submit that the judgment of

integrity of the judicial process, by the Ninth Circuit in favor of respondents

reinforcing judicial reliability and should be affirmed.

predictability, it will also ensure that

; Respectfully submitted,

Congressional action endorsing Griggs will .

be respected. JOAN E. BERTIN

Counsel of Record

KARY L. MOSS

ISABELLE KATZ PINZLER

JOHN A. POWELL

American Civil Liberties

Union Foundation

132 West 43rd Street

New York, New York 10036

(212) 944-9800

November 5, 1988

62 63

APPENDIX

Statement of Interest of Amici Curiae

The American Civil Liberties Union

("ACLU") is a nationwide union, non-

partisan organization of over 250,000

members dedicated to protecting fundamental

rights, including the right to equal

treatment under the law. The ACLU has

established the Women's Rights Project to

work towards the elimination of the

pervasive problem of gender-based

discrimination. It has participated, both

directly and as amicus curiae, in the

litigation of many cases before the Supreme

Court and other courts challenging sex

discriminatory practices.

The National Women's Law Center

("NWLC") is a non-profit legal advocacy

organization dedicated to the advancement

and protection of women's rights and the

corresponding elimination of sex

discrimination from all facets of American

life. Since 1972, the Center has worked to

secure equal opportunity in the workplace

through the full enforcement of Title VII

of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as

amended, and other civil rights statutes,

and through the implementation of effective

remedies for long standing discrimination

against women and minorities.

The NOW Legal Defense and education

Fund ("NOW LDEF") was founded in 1970 by

leaders of the National Organization for

Women as a non-profit civil rights

organization to perform a broad range of

legal and educational services nationally

in support of women's efforts to eliminate

sex-based discrimination and secure equal

rights. A major goal of the Now LDEF is

the elimination of barriers that deny women

economic opportunities. In furtherance of

that goal, NOW LDEF has participated in

numerous cases to secure full enforcemen*

of laws prohibiting employment

discrimination.

The Women's Legal Defense Fund is a

non-profit membership organization founded

in 1971 to provide pro bono legal

assistance to women who have been the

victims of discrimination based on sex.

The Fund devotes a major portion of its

resources to combating sex discrimination

in employment through litigation of

significant employment discrimination

cases, operation of an employment

discrimination counseling program, and

advocacy before the Equal Employment

Opportunity Commission and other federal

agencies charged with enforcement of the

equal opportunity laws.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.