Amicus Curiae Brief — Reed v. Transportation Union
Supreme Court brief1989
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
e Supreme Court, U.S.
EILED
No. 87-1031 MAY 11 196
JOSEPiTF S PANIOL, JR.
In the ne
Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1987
G. P. REED,
Petitioner,
UNITED TRANSPORTATION UNION, ef al.,
Respondents.
ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT
BRIEF FOR THE ASSOCIATION FOR
UNION DEMOCRACY AND PUBLIC CITIZEN AS
AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER
Paul Alan Levy
(Counsel of Record)
Arthur L. Fox Il
Alan B. Morrison
Public Citizen Litigation Group
Suite 700
2000 P Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 785-3704
Attorneys for Amici Cunae
May 6, 1988
.
CASILLAS PRESS IN IT17 KOSTREET NW WASHINGTON DC 200006 228-1220
(i)
QUESTION PRESENTED
In a suit by a union member solely against his union to en-
force his right of free speech, should the Court deviate from
the normal federal rule, which requires it to borrow the most
analogous state statute of limitations, and instead rely on the
six-month period for filing charges under the National Labor
Relations Act, which is borrowed for ‘‘hybrid’’ duty of fair
representation actions by an ane against both his
employer and his union?
(iii)
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
Tee eee cocuvncecceee. iv
cs cc ccc cc cccccccccccceeee, 1
cc w cc ccncccooceee, ;
Ee 4
ARGUMENT
THE COURT BELOW ERRED BY APPLYING A SIX-MONTH
STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS TO FREE SPEECH CASES
soaks cc deecescccccccccccccsce 5
A. DelCostello: Its History, Its Rationale, and Its
ooo occ cs ccsndencccdscncccccccccccee.$
B. The DelCostello Rationale for Borrowing a Six-Month
Period for Hybrid DFR Suits Does Not Apply to LMRDA
ccc cccuccccecccccccey 12
1. LMRDA Claims Do Not Pose An Immediate or Direct
Threat to Labor Peace or to Labor-Management
Tee ns cccaucccee 13
2. A Six-Month Limitations Period Threatens the
Enforcement of the Union Democracy Provisions
EE ES ee 21
C. The Proper State Limitations Period...................... 23
Neen eT TT ovnce cence nccenne 26
cecilia tia i
(iV)
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES: Page
Acn v. Machinists,
78 B.O8 1908 Cth Cie. 1006)... oc cc cece cc ecccenccesensss 19
Adams v. Gould,
+ Pe. f: To af | | neers cr 11
Adkins v. Electrical Workers,
769 F.2d 330 (6th Cir. 1985)... .. 2... cc cece cece eee eee e nee 19
Agency Holding Corp. v. Malley-Duff & Assoc.,
ee ee i ccccecdsacstvedscticeseessen 6, 24
Agola v. Hagner,
) Be. By, FF; @)8 a rere ee 13
Alexander v. Gardner-Denver Co.,
ewe neebeseees wheaden seme 10
Alexander v. Operating Engineers,
"ERS: 2 fo RS . SeePerrrerrrrrrrsrrr ieee 17, 18
Bauman v. Presser,
117 LRRM 2903 (D.D.C 1984)... 0... ccc cece ec ee eer ecees 19
Bernard v. Teamsters Local 435,
587 F. Supp. 524 (D. Colo. 1984).......... 0. eee e cere eens 13
Boilermakers v. Hardeman,
ole S| eaeerrrerrrcrrrrecerr Tere er 14
Bowen v. Postal Service,
“") 2 £ Saererererrerrr rrr ers, ty. 14
Burnett v. Grattan,
Ste F eeerewrrerrrrrrrreercrry rrr er. 21
Carpenters Local 22,
oD ) fe errrerrer rr rrr rye rt 20
(v)
Page
Carruthers Ready-Mix v. Cement Masons Local 520,
FOU Wa MP I, IDs ov occ scccccceccconcnceccecneni 10
DelCostello v. Teamsters,
I fn SS ae as 2 ee passim
Doty v. Sewall,
ee ee ee 3, 3.
Dozer v. TWA,
Oe te Oe Pe Ge TI kin nnn vce one ae kilo cc cekenn. 10
Duncan v. Peninsula Shipbuilders Ass'n,
ee ee 15
East Texas Motor Freight,
I see ok A he en ee 20
1820 Central Park Avenue Restaurant Corp.,
ee Sy er Dn, enh Le 18
Elevator Constructors v. Home Elevator Co..,
Fe ee Oe Oe Oe Poa oc chew oss Gen vednnccligee 11
Emporium Capwell Co. v. Western Add'n Cmnty. Org.,
ke ef Rr A Rae en Ea Meta hl te ERR 13
Erkins v. Bryan,
oe fF Le ne re NR une nk OF, 24
Federation of Westinghouse Unions v. Westinghouse Elec. Corp.,
Cee BIDS 6.6 noc oc Senco o ooodc cc ckeocs 1]
Goodman v. Lukens Steel Co,
ee a ns Jo. i ee ee ear 11, 25
Hall v. Cole,
ee IS So te wan babes SON oc hiiee ert 12, 22
Hines ». ‘..chor Motor Freight,
424 U.S. 554 (1974) 7
(vi)
Page
Howard v. Roadway Express,
726 F.2d 1529 (11th Cir. 1984).........--- 2 eee ee eee teens 11
Humphrey v. Moore,
See Fl errr rr errrerrr rrr oc 13
Johnson v. Railway Express Agency,
ee reer reer rrr rer rir. of
Linder v. Berge,
739 F.2d 686 (1st Cir. 1984).......... 0. cece eee eee teens 19
Maguire v. McQueen,
122 LRRM 2449 (S.D.N.Y. 1986).........- 06-0 e sree recess 13
Monarch Long Beach Corp. v. Teamsters Local 812,
762 F.2d 228 (2d Cir. 1985)........---- cee eee eee renee 10, 11
Moody v. Longshoremen,
112 LRRM 2340 (N.D. Ohio 1982)...........---5+55- eee
Murphy v. Operating Engineers Local 18,
774 F.2d 114 (6th Cir. 1985)..........- ee eee ee ee eee eens 20
Musicians v. Wittstein,
- Sit 2) | en eee oo 12
Navarro v. Gannon,
385 F.2d 512 (2d Cir. 1967).......-..--- eee e ee eee neers 12, 16
NLRB v. Allis-Chalmers Mfg. Co..
|. & Serr Serr rr eee 14
Occidental Life Ins. Co. v. EEOC,
Se fF . ee rrr ee ee 6
Plumbers Local 334 v. Plumbers,
ON ing cc ccc sce csinvcnveccesennsencesss 18
Prater v. UMW,
793 F.2d 1201 (llth Cir. 1986). ............ 0. eee eee eens 10
(vil)
Page
Rector v. Elevator Constructors,
625 F. Supp. 174 (D. Md. 1985).........................5. 13
Reed v. UTU,
LS 16, 19
Republic Steel v. Maddox,
Se I cs kc cccenkwnencdentece 6
Rodonich v. Laborers Local 95,
817 F.2d 967 (2d Cir. 1987)........................... 13
Roland v. Airline Employees,
733 F.2d 1385 (7th Cir. 1985)....................00065, 18
Runyon v. McCran,
Sr NE OM 5 so nn pond awalnvenscdncecnes 5
Shimman v. Frank,
Geo ©.208 OD th Cir. 1900)...................... ee. 20
Smith v. Evening News Ass n,
ee I IS ow 6 ov sees dswccdaccecneca. 6
Steelworkers Local 1397,
240 NLRB 848 (1979).................
Steelworkers Local 1397 v. Steelworkers.
oe | 15, 19
Steelworkers v. Enterpnse Wheel & Car Corp.,
363 U.S. 593 (1960).......... 7
Teamsters Local 745,
240 NLRB 537 (1979)... .
See wa ed cr
Testa v. Gallagher,
621 F. Supp. 476 (S.D.N.Y. 1985).................. 13
UPS v. Mitchell,
451 U.S. 56 (iy8l)......... 7
a
(vill)
Page
Vaca v. Stpes,
en OE Lae OSs Le aaa eee wee ae eee 7, 14
Vallone v. Teamsters Local 705,
eG I, OD, goo voccuseccseeveecctececduves 19
West v. Conrail,
Sn cielSe eee weee eel euupee wees 9, 10
Wilson v. Garcia,
I re eet kok a ol od J ieee 6, 21, 24, 25
LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS:
Statutes:
Civil Rights Acts
ic vc6n 6.066id ace hens che seen seen 10, 17, 22, 25
ee ele ES bas 66g ph Rk ae ee eS 14, 24, 25
Oe. le epee aceenaneweena 10
Labor Management Relations Act,
29 U.S.C. §§ 151 et seq.
er eh, iis swe cetuebuebesnwees passim
Te WEA, I 6 cc cc ecsccewaseuees baleenaiaan 10
Labor-Management Reporting and Disclosure Act of 1959.
ee SE es oe sexist hegsedebeerseien ud passim
— fe fF eee OP eer rrr passim
Section BORG). 29 U.S.C. § SLIM)... ccc ccc cccess 15
Section 101(a)(2), 29 U.S.C. § 411(a)(2).................. 14, 20
Section 101(a)(3), 29 U.S.C. § 411(a)(3).................. 15, 16
Section 101(a)(5), 29 U.S.C. § 411(a)(5).................. 14, 15
ees BORGES, BP UDA. 9 GIG). 0 oon cecccescccvccves 15, 24
cf Le FF FF rere rr rere rr ee 18
SE iy We Ws AER w ccc scccesceseesneceenctes 16, 18
mace Dome, BP UB. 9 GBC)... 2. ee cccenccesscccsess 18
(1X)
an
Title IV, 29 U.S.C. §§ 481 et seg.
Section 401(b), 29 U.S.C. § 481(b).....................00--. 15
a 16, 23
a 15, 16, 24
National Labor Relations Act,
Be I EO ns acc vcncnccccccebeeecccawes passim
Le | SS ae 19
Section 8(b)(1)(A), 29 U.S.C. § 158(b)(1)(A)........... 20
Section 10(b), 29 U.S.C. § 160(b)....................... passim
Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act,
18 U.S.C. $5 106) of ang... 2... cece ccees idteabeenect 6, 24
Railway Labor Act,
RT cS. rol eb wwees coekeeened 9, 10
Section 3, First (r), 45 U.S.C. § 153......................055 y
eties We MI WII sg Gos'v v0.65 casncecvcceceedecduieene 26
Gee Ue WI i os vc cvs cSecuuc bucducecncceewaeni 25
ee
Legislative History:
2 NLRB, Legislative History of the LMRDA (1959)............... 12
S. Rep. No. 187, 85th Cong., Ist Sess. 2 (1959)............... 12
OTHER AUTHORITIES:
Bartosic, Union Fiduciaries, Attorneys, and Conflicts of
Interest, 15 U.C. Davis. L. Rev. 227 (1982).................. 23
Cox, Internal Affairs of Labor Unions Under the Labor Reform
Act of 1959, 58 Mich. L. Rev. 819 (1960)................ oon
(x)
Levy, Membership Rights in Union Referenda to Ratify Collective
Bargaining Agreements, 4 Hofstra Lab. L.J. 225 (1987).
McAdams, Power and Politics in Labor Legislation (1964)
“tC uewreke sy
“eeeenvneve
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1987
No. 87-1031
G. P. REED,
Petitioner,
V.
UNITED TRANSPORTATION UNION, et ai.,
Respondents.
On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit
BRIEF FOR THE ASSOCIATION FOR UNION
DEMOCRACY AND PUBLIC CITIZEN AS AMICI
CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER
INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE
Amact file this brief because, although they agree with peti-
tioner that the Court should not borrow a six-month statute
of limitations, which has previously been borrowed for ‘‘hybrid
actions’’ to enforce the duty of fair representation and collec-
tive bargaining agreements, to govern actions under the Labor-
‘lanagement Reporting and Disclosure Act of 1959
(‘“‘LMRDA’’), they differ with petitioner about the legal
analysis required to reach that result. Most important, amici
believe that the inappropniateness of borrowing the six-month
limitations period becomes most obvious only following a
careful analysis of the historical origins, purposes, and litiga-
tion practicalities of the hybrid action on the one hand, and
of LMRDA actions on the other. Both amici are well situated
to advise the Court in that regard.
The Association for Union Democracy is a non-profit
corporation founded in 1969 which seeks to further democratic
principles and practices in American labor organizations, both
by encouraging union members to participate actively in the
internal life of their unions, and by protecting the exercise of
their democratic rights within their unions. No other organiza-
tion devotes itself primarily to this objective.
The sponsors of the Association include former leaders of
major unions, religious leaders, members of union public
review boards, lawyers, prominent educators in labor studies
and labor law, and, of course, numerous union members.
Despite divergent backgrounds, all share the view that the
labor movement is one of the great forces which help sustain
democracy in our national life and that, if it is to serve this
purpose, union leaders must be responsive to their members,
and unions must be democratic and just in their internal
operations.
In the past, the Association has provided legal and other
support in numerous controversies involving unions. Its exper-
ence leads it to conclude that a six-month statute of limita-
tions is much too short to permit many rank-and-file union
members to obtain needed judicial assistance when their
leaders infringe their democratic nghts.
Public Citizen is a public interest organization which was
founded in 1971 by Ralph Nader. Attorneys for Public Citizen
frequently represent union members who have been unable
to protect themselves from undemocratic practices without
invoking judicial authority. Public Citizen has found that, all
too frequently, union members do not come to the realization
that they have legal rights that can be enforced in the courts,
and do not find legal representation, until well after six months
have passed since their rights were violated.
STATEMENT
This is a free speech case in which petitioner, an elected
officer of Local 1715 of respondent United Transportation
Union (‘‘UTU’’), contends that respondents deprived him of
compensation for ‘‘lost time,’’ the leave without pay that he
was required to take from his employment in order to per-
form his union duties, because he was a ‘‘company man’’ who
was too accommodating to the company. Jt. App. 28, ¢ 3(b).
Petitioner alleges that other officers who were allied with the
union leadership were allowed compensation in the same cir-
cumstances in which such compensation was denied to him.
However, he did not bring his suit until more than two years
had passed following the denial of his intra-union appeal.
The district court held that, notwithstanding this Court's
decision in DelCostello v. Teamsters, 462 U.S. 151 (1983),
which borrowed the six-month limitations period for hybrid
actions, the LMRDA is fundamentally different from hybrid
actions, both in terms of the rights provided, the practicalities
of litigation, and the threat to the stability of iabor-management
dispute resolutions that concerned the Court in DelCostello.
However, on interlocutory appeal, the court below refused
to follow the general rule requiring that statutes of limitations
be borrowed from state law, and therefore reversed. The court
of appeals rejected the analysis in Doty v. Sewell, 784 F.2d
1 (1st Cir. 1986), the only appellate decision whicn -arefully
analyzes both the hybrid action and the LMRDA, and which
concludes that the reasons that supported borrowing the six-
month statute for the former do not warrant such borrowing
for the latter.
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
As a general rule, the limitations period for a federal cause
of action is to be borrowed from the most closely analogous
state statute. This Court carved out what it characterized as
a narrow exception to this general rule for the federal cause
of action to enforce rights under collective bargaining
agreements when a union has breached its duty of fair
representation (‘‘DFR’’), which is implied by the National
Labor Relations Act (‘‘NLRA’’). In DelCostello v. Teamsters,
462 U.S. 151 (1983), the Court decided that, because of the
need to resolve disputes involving collective bargaining
agreements in order to maintain labor peace, a short limita-
tions period was required to allow the bargaining parties to
be certain that their resolutions of such disputes were in fact
final. Accordingly, it ruled that the time allowed for filing un-
fair labor practice charges under the NLRA — the six-month
period of section 10(b) of the NLRA — would be borrowed
for DFR suits. The Court emphasized, however, that the bor-
rowing of state limitations period was to remain the norm, for
labor as well as other federal claims.
This general rule, and not the narrow exception, applies to
LMRDA claims. To be sure, any labor law claim could be said
to have some connection to bargaining disputes. But if the
result in DelCostello is to remain an exception rather than
become the rule, the application of section 10(b) must be con-
fined to claims which carry the same direct and immediate
threat to the finality of bargaining compromises that DFR
claims do. With very few exceptions, however, LMRDA claims
do not threaten that finality. Indeed, they are fundamentally
unlike DFR claims, which are based on workers’ economic
rights as employees and as members of a bargaining unit
represented by a union, whereas LMRDA claims are found-
ed on members’ civil rights and political liberties as members
of the union. Moreover, the adoption of a short statute of
limitations threatens the remedial objectives of the LMRDA,
which depend entirely on the initiative of individual union
members to find counsel and file suit to enforce the statute.
Finally, given the tenuous connection between LMRDA claims
and bargaining compromises, there is no countervailing
justification for endangering the ability of union members to
protect their rights, comparable to the need for finality in DFR
actions.
Amici do not have strong views on which state limitations
period should be selected, because all of the reasonable alter-
natives adequately permit the enforcement of the LMRDA.
However, amici discuss the choices that might be made and
suggest that a three year statute be borrowed from the North
Carolina code.
ARGUMENT
THE COURT BELOW ERRED BY APPLYING A
SIX-MONTH STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS TO FREE
SPEECH CASES UNDER THE LMRDA.
A. DelCostello: Its History, Its Rationale, and Its
Progeny.
With some exceptions, federal statutes do not contain their
own statutes of limitations; rather, they must be borrowed
from other sources. This Court has repeatedly declared that,
as a general rule, courts should apply the most closely
analogous state statute of limitations. Johnson v. Railway Ex-
press Agency, 421 U.S. 454, 462 (1975); Runyon v. McCrary,
427 U.S. 160, 180 (1976). The determination of which state
statute of limitations is to be borrowed frequently presents
a difficult issue of characterization, because federal statutes
6
often create rights for which there is no exact state parallel.
See Section C, infra. This Court has made clear, however,
that mere difficulty of characterization is not a sufficient reason
to abandon the effort. DelCostello v. Teamsters, 462 U.S. 151,
171 (1983); Wilson v. Garcia, 471 U.S. 261 (1985).
There is a narrow exception to the general rule, however,
for cases in which the use of analogous state statutes would
frustrate the implementation of national policies. Occidental
Life Ins. Co. v. EEOC, 432 U.S. 355, 367 (1977). As the
Court held in DelCostello, the ‘‘hybrid’’ action against a union
and an employer is one example. In order to place in context
the reasons why this Court found it necessary to make an ex-
ception in that type of case, it is important to explain the
precise role which ‘‘hybrid’’ actions play in federal labor law,
and then to examine how they differ from LMRDA free speech
cases such as this.!
Individual employees, as well as their unions, may sue under
section 301 of the Labor-Management Relations Act
(‘‘LMRA’’), 29 U.S.C. § 185, to enforce rights conferred
on them by collective bargaining agreements between their
employers and their unions. Smith v. Evening News Ass‘n,
371 U.S. 195, 200 (1962). But the Court has erected a signifi-
cant procedural barrier to prevent the courts from being in-
undated with suits to enforce collective bargaining agreements
— the plaintiff must exhaust contractual grievance procedures,
!Another exception is a civil action for violations of the RICO statute.
Agency Holding Corp. v. Malley-Duff & Assoc., 107 S. Ct. 2759 (1987).
In Malley-Duff, the Court decided that, given the extraordinary variety)
of types of RICO claims, and the amount of time expended on litigation
of the proper limitations period for each, it was necessary to establish a
single period to govern all RICO claims, id. at 2763-2764. The Court decid-
ed that the four-year limitations period for antitrust claims not only pro-
vided a uniform rule, but provided a close analogy with RICO claims. /d.
at 2764-2765.
including arbitration, before suit is filed. Republic Steel v. Mad-
dox, 379 U.S. 650 (1965). It has also erected a major substan-
tive barrier to such suits — the courts will not overturn ar-
bitral awards unless the award cannot possibly be justified as
having drawn its essence from the collective bargaining agree-
ment. Steelworkers v. Enterprise Wheel & Car Corp., 363 U.S.
593 (1960).
But the Court has recognized that employees may be
prevented from exhausting the contractual procedures, or may
be unable to obtain a fair hearing in arbitration, if the union
breaches its DFR either in deciding not to complete the con-
tractual procedures or in the manner of conducting them. Ac-
cordingly, the Court has ruled that individual employees seek-
ing to enforce their rights under a collective bargaining agree-
ment will be excused from the exhaustion requirement, and
from the highly deferential standard of review under Enter-
prise Wheel, if, but only if, they can show that the union breach-
ed its DFR in handling the grievance. Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S.
171 (1967); Hines v. Anchor Motor Freight, 424 U.S. 554
(1976). A lawsuit in which employees seek to enforce both
the collective bargaining agreement against the employer, and
the DFR against the union, is known as a ‘“‘hybrid’’ action.
The issue of the proper limitation period for hybrid actions
first reached the Court in UPS v. Mitchell, 451 U.S. 56 (1981).
In Mitchell, the narrow question on which certiorari had been
granted was which state statute was the most analogous for
post-arbitration hybrid suits against employers alone, and the
Court decided that the most analogous statute was that for
Suits to vacate arbitration awards. Jd. at 61-62. Moreover,
the Court expressed concern that, absent a fairly short limita-
tions period, the parties to the collective bargaining agree-
ment could not be sure that an arbitrator’s resolution of a
dispute under the agreement was in fact final. Thus, although
state limitations periods for enforcing contractual rights pro-
vided another analogous alternative, those statutes allowed
too long a penod in which the arbitrator’s disposition of a griev-
ance was in question, and their use would frustrate federal
policy favoring prompt resolution of labor-management
disputes. Jd. at 63-64.
Two years later, in DelCostello, the question presented was
whether to apply a federal limitations period instead of any
of the state alternatives in hybrid suits against both an
employer and a union. The Court reiterated its concern that
several of the analogous state limitations periods, such as ac-
tions for tortious injury or for professional malpractice, were
so lengthy that employer-union disputes, and the compromises
by which they were resolved (including negotiated terms, settl-
ed grievances, or even arbitral adjudications), could remain
in limbo for years, and thus could endanger stability in labor
relations and, in the long run, labor peace. 462 U.S. at 168-169.
The other most analogous state statutes, such as those ap-
plied to actions to vacate arbitration awards, were so short
— generally three months — that they did not give enough
time for aggrieved employees to initiate suit. Jd. at 165-168.
Moreover, the Court recognized that the most analogous state
statutes were different for the employer and for the union,
and if each were applied to their respective defendant, the
result would be the application of different limitations periods
to two parts of the same suit, which would clearly have been
undesirable. /d. at 169 n.19.
Still, the Court said, ‘‘these objections to the resort to state
law might have to be tolerated if state law were the only source
reasonably available for borrowing, as it often is.’’ Jd. at 169.
However, it found that section 10(b) of the NLRA, 29 U.S.C.
\ 160(b), was more appropnate than any of the state analogies,
both because it had been designed by Congress to accom-
modate a ‘‘very similar balance of interests,’’ t.e., employee
rights versus the stability of private adjustment of labor
disputes, and because the DFR was itself a cause of action
implied from the NLRA. Jd. at 169-171.
The Court was careful, however, to emphasize that the
courts should not too readily decline to adopt state limitation
periods simply because state law fails to provide a perfect
analogy: ‘‘We stress that our holding today should not be taken
as a departure from prior practice in borrowing limitations
periods for federal causes of action, in labor law or elsewhere.
. . . [R]esort to state law remains the norm for borrowing
of limitations periods [unless] a rule from elsewhere in federal
law clearly provides a closer analogy than available state
statutes, and. . . the federal policies at stake and the prac-
ticalities of litigation make the rule a significantly more ap-
propriate vehicle.’’ Id. at 171-172 (emphasis added).?
Amici recognize that there are other labor law suits which,
although not addressed by the Court in DelCostello, present
such closely analogous situations that it may be appropriate
to borrow the six-month period of section 10(b) instead of an
analogous period from state law. Thus, for example, although
DelCostello involved hybrid actions against unions and
employers covered by the NLRA and LMRA, hybrid actions
against unions and employers covered by the Railway Labor
Act (‘‘RLA’’) are so similar that the DelCostello reasoning
would presumably apply to require the borrowing of a federal
limitations period in such cases as well.*
Last Term, in West v. Conrail, 107 S. Ct. 1538 (1987), the Court cau-
tioned against an overly mechanical reading of DelCostello to cut back as
far as possible the time for initiating lawsuits, even for hybrid claims.
‘We note that the Railway Labor Act contains an express two-year
statute of limitations for suits to vacate arbitration decisions, 45 U.S.C.
153. First (rn), not a six-month period as in section 10(b) of the NLRA.
(footnote continued)
10
On the other hand, the courts of appeals that have consid-
ered the proper limitations period under section 303 of the
LMRA, 29 U.S.C. § 187, in actions to enforce the secon-
dary boycott provisions of the NLRA have opted not to apply
the six-month period of section 10(b). Monarch Long Beach
Corp. v. Teamsters Local 812, 762 F.2d 228, 231 (2d Cir.
1985); Carruthers Ready-Mix v. Cement Masons Local 520,
779 F.2d 320 (6th Cir. 1985); Prater v. UMW, 793 F.2d 1201,
1209-1210 (11th Cir. 1986). These courts applied longer limita-
tions periods even though labor-management relations are
directly affected by such suits and even though a secondary
boycott, like a breach of the DFR, is an unfair labor practice
for which Congress expressly prescribed a six-month limita-
tions period for filing charges with the NLRB. Nevertheless,
although the case for borrowing section 10(b) is far more com-
pelling for cases under section 303, these courts concluded
that the effect of such litigation on stable labor-management
relations, and consequently on labor peace, is insufficient to
warrant a departure from the normal rule of borrowing
analogous state limitations periods.
Similarly, the limitations periods in employment discrimina-
tion cases have been borrowed from state law, Johnson v.
Railway Express Agency, 421 U.S. 454, 462 (1975), despite
the fact that such actions frequently call into question mat-
ters which had been settled between unions and employers.
Id.; Alexander v. Gardner-Denver Co., 415 U.S. 36 (1974)
(Title VII case). The lower courts have continued to apply
State limitations periods in such suits under 42 U.S.C. § 1981,
even against unionized employers, citing the general rule
Nevertheless, every court that has ruled on the statute of limitations in
hybrid actions under the RLA has chosen the NLRA‘s six-month limita-
tions period. E.g., Dozier v. TWA, 760 F.2d 849, 851 (7th Cir. 1985).
The question remains open in this Court. West v. Conrail, 107 S. Ct. 1538,
1541 n.2 (1987).
discussed in DelCostello as authority. E.g., Howard v. Road-
way Express, 726 F.2d 1529, 1531 (11th Cir. 1984). See also
Goodman v. Lukens Steel Co., 107 S. Ct 2617, 2621 (1987).*
The question to be decided in this case, then, is whether
the effect of LMRDA free speech litigation on stable
labor-management relations is more like that of a hybrid ac-
tion, or more like the many kinds of statutory labor causes
of action held not to fall within the De/ Costello exception. In
making that determination, the Court should take as its point
of departure its admonition in DelCostello that borrowing from
state law remains the rule and not the exception, in labor law
as elsewhere. 462 U.S. at 171-172. We suggest, indeed, that
the Second Circuit, in a secondary boycott case, identified the
correct standard for deciding whether a court should decline
to borrow state statutes of limitations for a particular labor
law claim: section 10(b) should apply only to suits which *‘in-
evitably involve an immediate and direct impact on labor-
management relations.’’ Monarch Long Beach Corp. Uv.
Teamsters Local 812, supra, 762 F.2d at 231. This test, which
is firmly rooted in the rationale of DelCostello, assures that
the normal rule will be altered only in truly unusual situations.
As we now show, no such departure is warranted for free
speech cases under the LMRDA.
‘The courts are divided over the question whether actions by unions
ater Co.. 798 F.2d 222
Compare Elevator Constructors v. Hom Elevator Co., 798 F.2d 222,
= ——
in those cases. they obviously have a far more direct impact on labor-
management relations than do suits under the LMRDA to entorce umon
members) civil liberties.
12
B. The DelCostello Rationale for Borrowing a
Six-Month Period for Hybrid DFR Suits Does
Not Apply To LMRDA Claims.
In order to understand the differences between hybrid DFR
actions and suits under the LMRDA, it is first necessary to
review the objectives that Congress sought to accomplish by
enacting the LMRDA. The LMRDA, and particularly Title I
of the Act, was the product of hearings conducted in the late
1950's by the Senate Select Committee on Improper Activities
in the Labor-Management Field, chaired by Senator McClellan.
S. Rep. No. 187, 85th Cong., 1st Sess. 2 (1959). The Mc-
Clellan Committee investigations revealed many different ways
in which corrupt union leaders had dominated unions and re-
mained unaccountable to their members. The Committee
focused specifically on the problem of international union of-
ficers who ‘‘circumvent freedom of speech on the part of [a]
local’’ by punishing local officers. E.g., 2 NLRB, Legislative
Mistory of the LMRDA 1105 (1959) (Senator Mundt, citing the
McCleilan Committee Hearings).
Thus, Title I has been construed to effectuate its purpose
of guaranteeing ‘‘the independence of the membership and
the effective and fair operation of the union as the represen-
tative of its membership.’’ Hall v. Cole, 412 U.S. 1, 8 (1973).
See also Musicians v. Wittstein, 379 U.S. 171, 182-183 (1964)
(objective is to achieve ‘‘full and active membership participa-
tion in the affairs of the union’’). As explained by then-Chief
Judge Lumbard, the fundamental objective of the Act is to pro-
mote “‘the members’ rights to determine the course of their
organization.’’ Navarro v. Gannon, 385 F.2d 512, 518 (2d Cir.
1967). The LMRDA’s objectives are thus fundamentally dif-
ferent from those of the NLRA, which seeks to encourage
the practice of collective bargaining and which in many respects
subordinates the economic rights of individual employees in
—
13
order to achieve the collective good. Emporium Capwell Co.
v. Western Add’n Cmnty. Org., 420 U.S. 50 (1975); Hum-
phrey v. Moore, 375 U.S. 335 (1964).
In light of these differences in objectives and functions be-
tween the LMRDA and the NLRA, LMRDA claims cannot
properly be grouped with hybrid DFR actions for statute of
limitations purposes, for two reasons which we more fully ex-
plain in the pages that follow. First, LMRUA claims are far
less likely than hybrid suits, or, indeed, than most other kinds
of labor law suits, to pose a direct and immediate threat to
the finality of labor-management compromises or to stable
labor-management relations. Second, an unduly abbreviated
limitations period will likely make it much more difficult to en-
force the LMRDA, contrary to Congress’ intent that the prin-
ciples of union democracy and responsibility be furthered by
an enforcement mechanism which depends solely on the in-
itiative of individual union members.
1. LMRDA Claims Do Not Pose an Immediate or
Direct Threat to Labor Peace or to Labor-
Management Compromises.
There are numerous differences between hybrid DFR ac-
tions and the great majority of LMRDA actions, all of which
militate against borrowing the statute of limitations in section
10(b) for LMRDA suits. See generally Doty v. Sewall, 784 F.2d
1. 3-4. 6-7 (1st Cir. 1986): Rodonich v. Laborers Local 95,
8317 F.2d 967. 976-977 (2d Cir. 1987); Bernard v. Teamsters
Local 435, 587 F. Supp. 524 (D. Colo. 1984); Testa v.
Gallagher, 621 F. Supp. 476 (S.D.N.Y. 1985); Agola v.
Hagner. 120 LRRM 3279 (E.D.N.Y. 1985); Rector v. Elevator
Constructors, 625 F. Supp. 174 (D. Md. 1985); Maguiri r,
MeQueen, 122 LRRM 2449 (S.D.N-Y. 1986). The principe!
goa! of most hybrid sults Is to protect an emplovee s econom
14
rights under a collective bargaining agreement, generally in
the form of reinstatement, back pay, or improved seniority.
The union is sued because the worker must show a violation
of the DFR as a precondition to the right to enforce the con-
tract against the employer, Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171 (1967),
and because the union may bear responsibility for a portion
of the resulting economic loss. Bowen v. Postal Service, 459
U.S. 212 (1983).
LMRDA suits, by contrast, seek to vindicate a union
member's civil liberties or other political rights within the
union, just as an action under section 1983 against a public
official seeks to redress a violation of the constitution’s Bill
of Rights. Furthermore, unlike the DFR, which is inferred from
the NLRA itself, rights under the LMRDA were directly pro-
vided for, precisely because Congress was dissatisfied by the
failure of the NLRA, even as amended by the LMRA, to
regulate internal union affairs and thus to protect union
members from undemocratic abuses by their leaders. See
generally McAdams, Power and Politics in Labor Legislation
(1964). See also Boilermakers v. Hardeman, 401 U.S. 233,
237-241 (1971); NLRB v. Allis-Chalmers Mfg. Co., 388 U.S.
175, 194-195 (1967). And in DelCostello, the Court relied on
the fact that the NLRA, which itself contains a six-month limita-
tions period, is the source of a union’s DFR in deciding to apply
the six-month period to hybrid actions. 462 U.S. at 170.
Another important difference between LMRDA and hybrid
DFR actions is that, although the latter inevitably involve at-
tacks on decisions resolving disputes between labor and
management, which undermine the finality of these
agreements, LMRDA actions normally do not involve such
matters. Rather, the usual question is whether discipline was
imposed without due process or a member’s free speech rights
nfringed, sections 101(a)(2) and (5), 29 U.S.C. § § 411(a)(2)
15
and (5), whether dues were improperly increased, section
101(a)(3), 29 U.S.C. § 411(a)(3), whether a class of members
was improperly denied the right to vote at a meeting, section
101(a)(1), 29 U.S.C. § 411(a)(1), whether union members
have the right to examine books and records, section 201(c),
29 U.S.C. § § 431(c), or whether a union officer has miss-
pent union funds. Section 501, 29 U.S.C. § 501. Not only
do these issues not involve labor peace or collective bargain-
ing, but it has been uniformly held that employers are not even
proper defendants in such actions. E.g., Duncan v. Penin-
sula Shipbuilders Ass'n, 394 F.2d 237, 239 (4th Cir. 1968).
Thus, unlike DFR actions, most LMRDA suits have no direct
impact on labor-management relations or on labor peace and
stability .®
Some courts have stated that the outcome of LMRDA ac-
tions may affect labor-management relations in a way that is
comparable to the outcome of a hybrid action, because the
exercise of democratic rights of the LMRDA may lead to a
change in union policy, whether by the election of new officers
or otherwise. Steelworkers Local 1397 v. Steelworkers, 748 F.2d
180. 184 (3d Cir. 1984). But the fact that a union may change
its policies does not mean that it has the right to overturn col-
lective bargaining agreements or reopen grievances that have
already been resolved with the employer. Indeed, Congress
has decreed that local unions must hold elections at least every
three years, 29 U.S.C. § 481(b), but that scarcely means that
bargaining compromises made during one officer's term are
destabilized by the possibility that the officer may be defeated
in an election held during the term of the agreement. In sum,
although LMRDA rights may indirectly affect the union's rela-
‘Inasmuch as LMRDA suits cannot proceed against both employers and
unions, the justification offered in DelCostello for resorting to federal law
to find a single applicable limitations period, 462 U.S. at 169 n.19, also
disappears.
16
tions with an employer, that effect is by no means comparable
to the destabilizing effect of DFR actions, and a six-month
Statute of limitations is not needed to advance the policy
underlying the NLRA of promoting stability in labor relations.
The court below borrowed the six-month limitations period
because it feared that an internal union dispute ‘‘if allowed
to fester,’’ could ‘‘erode the confidence of union members
in their leaders’’ or ‘‘distract union officials from their... .
representation of union members in their relations with
employers.’’ 828 F.2d at 1070. However, precisely these
arguments were made to Congress in opposition to the Bill
of Rights for Union Members (Title I), but Congress rejected
them when it enacted the LMRDA. In essence, Congress
decided that the risk of damage to a union’s collective bargain-
ing position was outweighed by the members’ interest — and
the public interest — in union democracy. Navarro v. Gan-
non, 385 F.2d 512, 518 (2d Cir. 1967).
As a theoretical matter, it is possible that the resolution of
an LMRDA action might eventually have some indirect im-
pact on the collective bargaining relationship between the
defendant union and some employers. If, for instance, the
LMRDA had prevented Jimmy Hoffa from imposing a
trusteeship on an errant local when it refused to cooperate
in one of his labor shakedowns of an employer, see 29 U.S.C.
§ 462, labor-management relations might have been affected.
If a union cannot increase its dues because the membership
does not want to pay for a larger strike fund, see 29 U.S.C.
§ 411(a)(3), perhaps the leadership will be more reluctant to
call strikes. Or union officers may be more cautious in the way
they use strike funds if they know that their expenditures can
be called into question as excessive under a fiduciary duty
theory. See 29 U.S.C. § 501. And if a union officer such as
petitioner Reed cannot be subjected to discrimination because
17
he is considered by the union leadership to be a ‘‘company
man,’’ Jt. App. 28, § 3(b), perhaps the result will be a less
adversarial relationship with management. In this sense, some
LMRDA actions may have some indirect impact on economic
relations between unions and employers and on labor peace
in some circumstances.
But in that sense, every labor case, including one involving
racial discrimination under 42 U.S.C. § 1981, has such an im-
pact. Yet in DelCostello the Court said that, in labor cases as
elsewhere, the normal rule applies — 1.e., there is a strong
presumption in favor of borrowing from state limitations
periods instead of from federal law. 462 U.S. at 171-172. Thus,
the mere existence of the Congressional policy favoring the
rapid disposition of labor disputes, which is embodied in sec-
tion 10(b), and which was a primary basis for applying that
limitation period to DFR suits, does not require that section
10(b) be used in actions by union members under the LMRDA.
In another context, the lower courts have recognized the
minimal impact which most intra-union disputes have on labor-
management relations and on labor peace. Thus, until recently,
most courts held that federal courts had no jurisdiction over
suits to enforce a union constitution as a contract between
labor organizations unless the dispute threatened industrial
peace or had a ‘‘significant impact’’ on labor-management rela-
tions. E.g., Alexander v. Operating Engineers, 624 F.2d 1235,
1238 (5th Cir. 1980). The courts have generally been reluc-
tant to find that intra-union disputes in fact have such a signifi-
cant impact; for example, in Alexander, the court found no
significant impact even though the issue was whether a union
should be liable in damages because its business agent allegedly
executed a contract without the membership’s approval.
Although this Court has since held this distinction irrelevant
to the enforcement of union constitutions, at least in cases
18
brought by local unions, Plumbers Local 334 v. Plumbers, 452
U.S. 615 (1981), the analysis in cases such as Alexander is
plainly inconsistent with the assumption that all intra-union
disputes about free speech rights must inevitably have such
a direct and immediate effect on labor-management relations
as to warrant borruwing the statute of limitations from sec-
tion 10(b).
There is evidence in the LMRDA itself that suggests that
Congress did not contemplate a short statute of limitations
in private civil actions under the statute. Thus, in Title III,
Congress established a presumption that, absent clear and
convincing evidence to the contrary, a trusteeship was lawful
if suit is filed within the first 18 months after the trusteeship
is established. After 18 months, by contrast, there is an op-
posite presumption — 1.e., that the trusteeship was unlawful.
29 U.S.C § 464(c). Yet trusteeships are often imposed
because of disputes between locals and internationals about
bargaining matters, e.g., Roland v. Airline Employees, 753 F .2d
1385 (7th Cir. 1985); 29 U.S.C. § 462 (proper purpose for
trusteeships is to assure acceptance of contract ‘‘concessions”’
negotiated by national union). Moreover, litigation over the
authority of a trustee, who takes over a local union and con-
ducts its negotiations with employers, is far more likely than
most Title I suits to affect relations between a union and the
employers with which it bargains. E.g., Moody v.
Longshoremen, 112 LRRM 2340 (N.D. Ohio 1982); cf. 1820
Central Park Avenue Restaurant Corp., 271 NLRB 378, 378
n.3 (1984) (suggesting that trusteeship might affect employer’s
duty to bargain). Inasmuch as Congress plainly intended suits
under Title III of the LMRDA to be filed more than 18 months
after trusteeships are imposed, it is highly unlikely that Con-
gress intended a six-month limitation period for suits under
Title I of the same Act.
——
19
Admittedly, there is a small class of LMRDA cases which
may have a direct and immediate impact of the kind present
in DelCostello. Typically, in such cases, an LMRDA claim is
appended to a DFR suit as an alternate theory by which the
plaintiffs urge the court to overturn a collective bargaining
agreement on the ground that it was not properly ratified by
the union membership. Most of the early post-DelCostello deci-
sions which applied section 10(b) to an LMRDA claim involv-
ed that sort of contention. See Adkins v. Electrical Workers,
769 F.2d 330, 335 (6th Cir. 1985); Vallone v. Teamsters Local
705, 755 F.2d 520 (7th Cir. 1984); Linder v. Berge, 739 F.2d
686 (1st Cir. 1984). However, the possibility that occasional
LMRDA claims might pose a direct and immediate threat to
a labor-management compromise scarcely provides justifica-
tion for applying a six-month limitations period to the remain-
ing bulk of LMRDA suits which pose no such danger.®
Some courts have held that section 10(b)’s limitation period
should be applied to LMRDA cases because the NLRB has
extended section 7 to protect the right of union members to
engage in dissident activity, and so the LMRDA is said to have
a ‘‘family resemblance’’ to unfair labor practices and to the
DFR. E.g., Steelworkers Local 1397, 748 F.2d at 183, citing
Steelworkers Local 1397, 240 NLRB 848, 849 (1979); Reed
v. UTU, 828 F.2d at 1070. This argument is incorrect for two
reasons. First, under DelCostello, the only ‘‘resemblance’’
6We doubt that such LMRDA claims will frequently be brought more
than six months after the alleged wrongful act, both because the courts
are reluctant to award damages in such cases, Acn v. Machinists, 781
F.2d 1393 (9th Cir. 1986), and because the only useful injunctive relief
at that point would have to apply to the employer, who cannot be held
liable under the LMRDA. Thus, effective relief can only be obtained before
the contract has been implemented. E.g., Bauman v. Presser, 117 LRRM
2393 (D.D.C. 1984). See generally Levy, Membership Rights in Union
Referenda to Ratify Collective Bargaining Agreements, 4 Hofstra Lab. L.J.
225, 258-265 (1987).
20
that warrants adoption of the extraordinarily short six-month
period would be a similarity in effect on national labor policy;
yet, as we have shown above, the connection between most
LMRDA actions and the consensual process of bargaining and
grievance adjustment is at most indirect. Second, unlike the
DFR, which is almost by definition an unfair labor practice,
most LMRDA actions find no parallel in the NLRA. Thus, in
Steelworkers, as in almost all NLRB cases where a union was
found to have committed an unfair labor practice by punishing
a dissident, the unlawful activity of the union related to employ-
ment rights, such as threatening to refuse to process a dissi-
dent’s grievances and asking the employer to discharge a dissi-
dent. Steelworkers Local 1397, 240 NLRB 848, 849 (1979),
and cases cited. See also Teamsters Local 745, 240 NLRB 537
(1979) (threat of violent retaliation).’
Admittedly, if a union officer assaults a member or causes
him to be discharged or otherwise mistreated by the employer
in retaliation for the exercise of Title I rights, that violates
section 101(a)(2) of the LMRDA, e.g., Shimman v. Frank,
625 F.2d 80, 90-91 (6th Cir. 1980); Murphy v. Operating
Engineers Local 18, 774 F.2d 114, 123 (6th Cir. 1985), as well
as section 8(b)(1)(A) of the NLRA. However, not only do such
Cases represent a minute portion of the cases that may be fil-
ed under Title I, but it is precisely because Congress was
dissatisfied with the extent of protection afforded union
dissenters by the NLRA that it enacted Title I of the LMRDA
and gave union members the right to go to court over their
mistreatment at the hands of union leaders. In those
7In some cases, the Board found a violation of the NLRA when unions
fined workers for being dissidents. E.g., Carpenters Local 22, 195 NLRB
1 (1972). More recently, the Board has recognized a congressional policy
‘“not to interfere with the internal affairs of unions, aside from regulations
affecting employment status.’’ East Texas Motor Freight, 262 NLRB 868,
870 (1982).
|
,
3
f
:
;
:
:
21
circumstances, even if the NLRB has now expanded its own
doctrines to address some of the problems tliat it had neglected
in 1959, it would be odd indeed to start borrowing limiting prin-
ciples from the very statute that Congress deemed inadequate,
in order to reduce the impact of the LMRDA on union in-
terests. Wilson v. Garcia, 471 U.S. 261, 279 (1985) (Court
declines to borrow limitations period for state remedies for
wrongs by public officials, because ‘‘[i]t was the very ineffec-
tiveness of state remedies that led Congress to enact the
.. . Act in the first place’’).
In summary then, the vast majority of LMRDA claims in
general, and Reed's claims in particular, do not pose a direct
or immediate threat to labor-management compromises or to
labor peace, and hence application of the six-month limitations
period of section 10(b) is unwarranted.
2. A Six-Month Limitations Period Threatens the
Enforcement of the Union Democracy Provisiuns of
the LMRDA.
Although delay in the filing of LMRDA suits does not pose
a threat to stable labor-management relations, a statute of
limitations as abbreviated as six months does pose a signifi-
cant threat to union members’ access to judicial protection.
This Court recognized the problem in DelCostello, where it
discussed the difficulty that members have in deciding whether
their rights have been violated, in finding counsel in a field in
which almost all of the specialists represent either unions or
employers, in finding money to pay the lawyer, and in perfor-
ming all of the investigative and other prerequisites to suing.
462 U.S. at 166. It was also considerations of this kind that
led the Court, in Burnett v. Grattan, 468 U.S. 42 (1984), to
decline to borrow a state six-month limitation period applicable
to state administrative discrimination claims, to determine the
22
time for filing a complaint under 42 U.S.C. § 1981 in federal
court. Jd. at 49-52.
There are other elements of LMRDA cases that make a
short statute of limitations inappropriate. For instance, in a
hybrid action, a worker who has already been discharged may
have nothing to lose and much to gain by filing suit against
his union and his employer. By contrast, an employee who
believes that his LMRDA rights have been violated by his
union, but who has not lost his job, may have good reason
to think twice before going to court over an abstract principle
of justice and democracy, or to recover a few dollars in
unlawfully collected or misspent union dues. If he decides to
go to court, he must sue a labor official who controls hiring
hall referrals, decides whether or not to process grievances,
and constantly trades away benefits of one group of members
in order to obtain benefits for others. Thus, most workers
are justifiably cautious about stepping forward to confront their
leaders.
Moreover, in many LMRDA cases the individual plaintiff who
prevails receives few tangible benefits, if any. Unlike a DFR
case, in which the plaintiff's injury is primarily economic, and
the principal relief sought is reinstatement and damages for
the denial of employment opportunities, in an LMRDA case
the member rarely has any significant economic interest at
stake. Rather, the principal beneficiaries are the union
membership as a whole and the public interest in honest and
democratic unions. Hall v. Cole, 412 U.S. 1, 7-8 (1973). For
example, Reed’s case involves reimbursement of barely more
that $1,000. In these circumstances, a statute of limitations
that allows a very short time for deciding whether to under-
take the risks of suing will inevitably have the effect of unduly
limiting the enforcement of the Act. Doty, 784 F.2d at 9. And
yet, unlike the DFR which can be enforced by the NLRB, the
23
L:..RDA is enforced solely by suits filed by individual union
members who have hired a lawyer to represent them. It is
for these reasons, among others, that commentators as
diverse as Archibald Cox, counsel to the draftsmen of the
LMRDA, and Florian Bartosic, former general counsel of the
Teamsters Union, have urged sensitivity to the difficulties
which rank-and-file union members will have in serving as the
sole means of enforcement of the Act. Cox, /nternal Affairs
of Labor Unions Under the Labor Reform Act of 1959, 38 Mich.
L. Rev. 819, 853 (1960); Bartosic, Union Fiducianes, At-
torneys, and Conflicts of Interest, 15 U.C. Davis. L. Rev. 227,
359-360 (1982).
Accordingly, because applying a limitations period as short
as six months would imperil Congress’ objectives in passing
the LMRDA, in ways which a similar limitations period does
not undermine enforcement of the DFR, the Court should not
adopt the six-month period in section 10(b) for LMRDA ac-
tions, even if the other concerns that motivated the Court in
DelCostello to borrow it for hybrid actions were applicable.
C. The Proper State Limitations Period.
Amici’s principal objective in this case is to persuade the
Court not to extend the DelCostello exception to Title I of the
LMRDA. Amici do not have strong views about which state
limitations period should be borrowed, in this case or
elsewhere. because a limitations period of two, three, or four
“By contrast, Congress has provided that union elections may be
challenged by the Secretary of Labor, and a short statute of limitations
is provided for such cases. 29 U.S.C. § 482.
24
years will suffice to protect Congress’ objective of establishing
effective democratic rights for union members.°
We recognize that the Court has recently moved in the direc-
tion of adopting uniform limitation periods for broad classes
of suits, in order to reduce the burdens imposed on the courts
and the parties by litigation over the proper limitation periods
for fact-specific claims. Wilson v. Garcia, 471 U.S. 261 (1985)
(42 U.S.C. § 1983); Agency Holding Corp. v. Malley-Duff &
Assoc., 107 S. Ct. 2759 (1987) (RICO). Title I has not pro-
duced nearly the outpouring of litigation spawned by section
1983 or by RICO, and thus might present a less compelling
case for a uniform limitations period, perhaps because many
of its claims seek injunctive relief for which laches may be the
applicable doctrine. On the other hand, there are clear benefits
to be gained from a predictable statute of limitations period
for all potential Title I claims, so that the parties can have some
certainty in advance when a specific claim, whose limitations
period has not been litigated, will become untimely.
If the Court does opt for a uniform limitations period for all
Title I claims, North Carolina’s three-year limitations period
for personal injury limitations, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 152(16),
seems to be the most closely analogous. It is true that Title
I claims may relate to what may seem to be a variety of sub-
jects, including economic issues such as blacklisting of
dissidents, monetary issues such as disciplinary fines and dues
levels, and political issues such as the right to speak at union
*However the Court rules on limitations periods for Title I claims, it
should not try to fix a uniform limitations period for claims under other
titles of the LMRDA. There are provisions for private civil actions under
several of the other titles which may raise different considerations from
those raised by Title I suits. E.g., section 201(c), 29 U.S.C. § 431(c)
(right to inspect union records); section 501, 29 U.S.C. § 501 (fiduciary
duties of union officers). See Erkins v. Bryan, 785 F.2d 1538, 1543 (11th
Cir. 1986).
~
ee es ee
25
meetings or to vote on bylaws amendments. Despite these
apparent differences, the one thing which all Title I cases have
in common is that individual members’ civil rights or civil liber-
ties, conferred by the ‘‘Bill of Rights of Members of Labor
Organizations,’’ have been infringed. Indeed, the rationale for
enacting this congressional charter for union democracy was
that Congress had given unions certain powers over their
members, and thus it was fair to subject unions to some of
the same kind of restraints that confine the power of public
authorities. In this sense, Title I provides a cause of action
for union members to enforce certain constitutional rights
against their unions, much as section 1983 provides a cause
of action whereby persons may enforce their constitutional
rights against improper state action. Thus, for the same
reasons that the Court has borrowed the state limitations
period for personal injuries for civil rights actions under sec-
tions 1983 and 1981, Wilson v. Garcia, 471 U.S. 261 (1985);
Goodman v. Lukens Steel Co., 107 S. Ct. 2617, 2620-2622
(1987), it would be appropriate here to borrow the North
Carolina statute of limitations for personal injury claims.
If, on the other hand, the Court does not determine to adopt
a uniform limitations period for all Title I claims, then three
possibilities present themselves here. The Court might bor-
row the state limitations period for personal injury claims, on
the theory that the fundamental issue in this case is whether
the union was trying to suppress petitioner’s personal rights.
N.C. Gen. Stat. § 1-52(16). Or it might borrow the state’s
catch-all statute of limitations for rights conferred by statute,
because petitioner seeks to enforce nghts contained in a federal
statute for which North Carolina has not specified a limitations
period. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 1-52(2). Or, insofar as petitioner
seeks to obtain payment for work done for the union that would
have been paid pursuant to the union’s normal practice, ab-
26
sent the union's improper motive, the Court could conclude
that the state limitations periods for quantum meruit or con-
tract actions is the most closely analogous. N.C. Gen. Stat.
§ 1-52(1). In this case the result would be the same under
any of these alternatives, because the North Carolina statute
of limitations for all of these causes of action is three years,
but that is unlikely to be true in every state.
But whether the Court opts for a broad uniform limitations
period, or for a more claim-specific approach, there are a
number of acceptable analogies to state law causes of action
that serve the Congressional objective of effective, enforceable
union democracy rights, and that do not injure the national
labor policy favoring expeditious resolution of contract disputes
between unions and employers. Accordingly, there is no need
to borrow the extraordinarily short six-month period contain-
ed in section 10(b) of the NLRA.
CONCLUSION
The judgment of the court of appeals should be reversed.
Respectfully submitted,
Paul Alan Levy
(Counsel of Record)
Arthur L. Fox II
Alan B. Morrison
Public Citizen Litigation Group
Suite 700
2000 P Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 785-3704
May 6, 1988 Attorneys for Amic1 Curae
PRE Sreetae see
pos heh Sap By Ec ae Tink oR)
. —< ~
ae ee US ee ae
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.