Amicus Curiae Brief — Bowen v. Massachusetts

Supreme Court brief1988

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

FILED

MAR SC 1988

OP ANICA

wad

Nos. 87-712 and 87-929 4. ¥onr'!

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNIT

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

OTIS R. BOWEN, SECRETARY OF HEALTH

AND HUMAN SERVICES, et al.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS,

Cross Petitioner,

Vv.

OTIS R. BOWEN, SECRETARY OF HEALTH

AND HUMAN SERVICES, et al.

On Writs of Certiorari to The United States

Court of Appeals For the First Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE VICTORIA GRIMESY,

LISA M. MAYO, ERIKA SMITH, LUCY RICO,

MICHELLE BOLES, GINA MOSQUEDA, CENTER ON

LAW AND SOCIAL POLICY, MICHIGAN LEGAL

SERVICES, NATIONAL HEALTH LAW PROGRAM,

NATIONAL HOUSING LAW PROJECT, NATIONAL

LEGAL AID AND DEFENDER ASSOCIATION,

NATIONAL SENIOR CITIZENS LAW CENTER, SOLANO

COUNTY LEGAL ASSISTANCE, IN SUPPORT OF THE

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS

RICHARD ROTHSCHILD

Attorney of Record

MARK GREENBERG

Western Center on Law and

Poverty, Inc.

3535 West Sixth St.

Los Angeles, California 90020

(213) 487-7211

(Counsel for Amici continued on next page)

Counsel for Amici (continued)

TAMARA DAHN

Solano County Legal Assistance

930 Marin St.

Vallejo, California 94590

(707) 643-0054

GILL DEFORD

National Senior Citizens Law

Center

1052 W. Sixth St., #700

Los Angeles, California 90017

(213) 482-3550

CHARLES GREENFIELD

Legal Aid Society of Santa

Clara County

210 S. First St.

San Jose, California 95113

(408) 998-5200

JANE PERKINS

RODGER SCHWARTZ

National Health Law Program

2639 S. La Cienega Bl.

Los Angeles, California 90034

(213) 204-6010

PETER REID

Legal Aid Society of San Mateo

County

298 Fuller St.

Redwood City, California 94063

(415) 365-8411

MANUEL ROMERO

National Housing Law Project

1950 Addison St., 2nd Floor

Berkeley, California 94704

(415) 548-9400

INTEREST OF THE AMICI......

TABLE OF CONTENTS

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT.....<+-. e*eeerees#3es- TTTTT.

I.

The Tucker Act does not divest a....8

District Court from exercising

jurisdiction over a state’s third

party complaint seeking federal

financial participation for costs

arising in an underlying action

between beneficiaries and _ the

state.

A. Course of Events in..........-.

Grimesy v. McMahon v. Bowen

B. A third party complaint.......

seeking to enjoin denial of

federal financial

participation for costs not

yet incurred does not meet

the elements of a Tucker Act

claim.

Cc. A finding that the Tucker.....

Act divests a district court

of jurisdiction in Social

Security Act third party

complaint litigation would

cause severe problems of

judicial and program

administration.

i. HHS’ Position would......

result in multiple

forums and duplicative

litigation.

ii. HHS’ Position would.......31

have the effect of

creating a national

trial court and a

National Court of

Appeals for Social

Security Act litiga-

tion.

II. An expansive construction of the....36

Tucker Act raises troublesome

implications in other areas of

law affecting federal program

beneficiaries.

A. Federal Housing Programs..... -.36

B. Other Federal Programs......... 45

- «9. e*esee#*es. ~TTTTTT

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page(s)

Amoco Prod. Co. Vv. Hodel,....-eeeeee004+44

815 F.2d 352 (5th Cir. 1987),

cert. petition pending

Committee for Fairness, et al.,.....+.++.36

v. Pierce,

C.A. No. 87-0324 JHP (D.D.C.)

Commonwealth of Massachusetts v.........33

Departmental Grant Appeals Board,

815 F.2d 778 (1st Cir. 1987)

Conille v. Pierce, ....cceeeeeseseseseses 36

649 F. Supp. 1133 (D. Mass.

1986), aff’d, No. 87-1120 (lst

Cir., Feb. 19, 1988)

Council of Large Public Housing.........37

Authorities v. HUD,

C.A. No. 82-1210 NHJ (D.D.C.)

Edelman V. JOrdan,...seeseeeseeesevevevedh

415 U.S. 651 (1974)

Frisby v. HUD, ..cccecccees re © 8 TUT TTTTTT

755 F.2d 1052 (3d Cir. 1982)

Grimesy v. McMahon v. Bowen,.........passim

Federal Circuit Court of Appeals

Case No. 87-1228; Ninth Circuit

Court of Appeals Case No. 87-

1745

DEMEROS Go GOMER c ccocccccecsoeseorve TTTTrT 12

No. 85-5285 (E.D. Pa. July 14,

1986)

Johnson v. Secretary of HUD,......... ~++44

710 F.2d 1130 (5th Cir. 1983)

iii

Kali Vv. HOCKLOE, ccccccccccccccccecsccccecha

800 F.2d 971 (9th Cir. 1986)

Laguna Hermosa Corp. v. Martin,.........21

643 F.2d 1376 (9th Cir. 1981)

Mann Vv. 7! PPP Prrrrrrrrerrerrereririt..

803 F.2d 1552 (11th Cir. 1986)

Maryland Dept. of Human Resources v.....33

Dept. of Health and Human Services,

763 F.2d 1441 (D.C. Cir. 1985)

McCarthy Vv. HEintZ, .cccceccccceesesesesel2

Civ. No. H-85-597 (MJB)

(D.Conn. Apr. 23, 1986)

Merrill Tenant Council v. HUD,..........44

638 F.2d 1086 (7th Cir. 1981)

Morrison v. Heckler,.....ceeesceeeeeeeeel2

602 F.Supp. 1482 (D.Minn. 1984),

aff’d, 787 F.2d 1285 (8th Cir.

1986)

New Mexico Vv. REGAN, .. eee eee cceceseese se 44

745 F.2d 1318 (10th Cir. 1984),

cert. denied, 471 U.S. 1065

(1985)

PORES Ge Biv ecccccecococoooscoeseeocesoele

713 F.2d 1341 (7th Cir. 1983),

subsequent decision sub nom

Cowherd v. HUD, 827 F.2d 40

(7th Cir. 1987)

Portsmouth Redevelopment & Housing......44

Authority v. Pierce,

706 F.2d 471 (4th Cir.), cert.

denied, 464 U.S. 960 (1983)

Rowe v. United States,..........+.- wTTTT: :.

633 F.2d 799 (9th Cir. 1980),

cert. denied, 451 U.S. 970 (1981)

iv

Russell Vv. LOMAPTIOU, cccccccccccccccccsecd®

621 F.2d 1037 (9th. Cir. 1980)

State of Minnesota by Noot v. Heckler,..33

718 F.2d 852 (8th Cir. 1983)

Tenants for Justice v. Hill,.......+++++39

413 F.Supp. 389 (E.D. Pa. 1975)

Thomas v. Pierce,......ssseeeeeeeee+-SUpra

662 F. Supp. 519 (D. Kan. 1987),

, Case No. 87-2121

(10th Cir.)

Topps Vv. BOWEN, ccc ccc ee eee ssseseseeceseel2d

No. 85-NC-0187W (N.D. Utah, Jan.

13, 1986)

Trans-Bay Engineers and Builders,.......44

Inc. v. Hills,

551 F.2d 370 (D.C. Cir. 1976).

United States Vv. RiMB, cccccccccccccceG,s 20

395 U.S. 1, 3 (1968)

United States v. Mitchell,...........5, 17

463 U.S. 206 (1983)

United States v. Mottaz,...........+.+-6, 19

476 U.S. 834, 106 S.Ct. 2224

(1986)

United States v. Testan,........seeeeees 18

424 U.S. 392 (1976)

Uram v. United States,.......cseeeeeees --29

216 Ct.Cl. 418 (1978)

Statutes

Housing and Community Development.......39

Amendments of 1978,

12 U.S.C. §1701z-11

Tax Reform Act of 1986, P.L. 99-514.....14

ae

Ree ee ndcncboedsesceecesueseessl

Ss i dec eeesasccaccesneereeden

a eS ak ccacnecececeoxcceeia Me

ee! SAO. c ccccenenceonssosule

i, SE cocccccesceccecesselll

ie. Gn ccasdsacconceeceseseskeln

C0, GI icc ncccoccoscesossele

SO Gi, CR i cc cccccccccccestis

Dies Mea scicccaccecessecsceests

42 U.S.C. BRESGBccccccecececeoeceseseeeeee

Regulations

24 C.F.R. §290.25(b) (1978).........+4+-39

24 C.F.R. §290.27(b) (1978)... eee eee e ee 3D

vi

INTEREST OF THE AMICI

In the pending case, the Court is

being asked to decide whether the Tucker

Act prevents a district court from exercis-

ing jurisdiction over a _ state’s action

challenging a disallowance of funds in the

Medicaid Program. The resolution of this

issue will have profound importance for

other Social Security Act litigation, and

may affect access to the district courts

and regional courts of appeals in many

other areas of law.

Disallowance litigation is only one

type of litigation affecting administration

of the grant-in-aid programs under the

Social Security Act. The other major type

of litigation occurs when program benefici-

aries sue a state for alleged violations of

the Act. In such instances, the state

often files a third party complaint against

the federal government, alleging that if

the state is liable to program beneficiar-

ies, the federal government should be

obligated to provide federal financial

participation in the state’s costs. The

disposition of Bowen v. Massachusetts may

have a critical effect on such third party

complaint litigation.

Amici include the plaintiffs in

Grimesy _v. McMahon v. Bowen, currently

pending before the Federal Circuit Court of

Appeals (Case No. 87-1228) and before the

Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals (Case No.

87-1745). As more fully set forth below,

the Grimesy litigation offers an example of

the implications of HHS’ Tucker Act juris-

dictional arguments when applied to third

party complaint litigation. HHS has argued

in Grimesy that when a class of welfare

recipients sues state officials for pros-

pective relief and back benefits, and the

state files a third party complaint against

HHS, the third party complaint arises in

part under the Tucker Act and may only be

heard in the United States Claims Court.

Relief for plaintiffs in Grimesy has been

stayed pending resolution of this jurisdic-

tional issue.

Amici believe that the Grimesy litiga-

tion helps illustrate some of the problems

that would result if HHS’ Tucker Act

jurisdictional argument were accepted in

this case. Applying HHS’ jurisdictional

argument to third party complaint litiga-

tion would lead to duplicative litigation

in multiple forums, and could cause chaotic

dispositions of issues arising under the

Social Security Act.

In addition to the Grimesy plaintiffs,

amici include legal services organizations

and public interest law offices who repre-

sent indigent clients in issues concerning

federal grant-in-aid programs, federal

housing programs, and other federally

funded programs for the poor.

Amici have an interest in this case

because the result may affect Social

Security Act litigation whenever benefici-

aries sue a state and the state initiates a

third party complaint against HHS. Amici

believe the position being urged by HHS

would result in countless’ procedural

problems for Social Security Act and

related litigation.

Amici also fear that the expansive

view of the Tucker Act urged by HHS could

adversely affect access to the federal

courts in other areas affecting the poor.

HHS’ Tucker Act argument, if accepted,

would shift much of the nation’s litigation

on the rights of beneficiaries and states

in federal grant-in-aid programs to the

United States Claims Court and the Federal

Circuit Court of Appeals. This would

create a morass of procedural and substan-

tive problems. Amici wish to suggest some

of the most troublesome ramifications of

the position espoused by HHS.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The broad construction of the Tucker

Act being urged by the United States raises

serious problems in contexts other than

Medicaid disallowances.

The implications of the broad con-

struction are illustrated by Social Secur-

ity third part complaint litigation. This

is litigation where beneficiaries sue a

state for violation of the Social Security

Act, and the state files a third party

complaint against HHS. The third party

complaint typically seeks to insure federal

financial participation in the costs of any

orders issued by the court in the underly-

ing litigation.

In Grimesy _v. McMahon, now pending

before the Federal and Ninth Circuits, HHS

contends that a state’s third party com-

plaint in such a case arises in part under

the Tucker Act. This contention is incon-

sistent with established Tucker Act prece-

dent. A Tucker Act claim based on a

federal statute must seek a money judgment

based on a statute that mandates compen-

sation for damages sustained. United

States _v. Mitchell, 463 U.S. 206, 216-17

(1983). A state’s third party complaint

alleges no wrongful withholding of funds,

and no wrongful conduct for which the state

is entitled to “compensation” for “damages

sustained.” Moreover, a Tucker Act claim

must be for “actual, presently due money

damages”, United States v. King, 395 U.S.

1, 3 (1968), based on the past acts of the

federal government. United States v.

Mottaz, 476 U.S. 834, 106 S.Ct. 2224, 2234

(1986). A state’s third party complaint

cannot allege an entitlement to any actual,

presently due amount, and cannot allege

entitlement based on any past acts of the

United States.

If the Tucker Act were broadly con-

strued to divest district courts of juris-

diction over state third party complaints

in Social Security litigation, there would

be two major undesirable consequences.

First, such a result would ensure bifurca-

tion of cases, since the Claims Court could

not exercise jurisdiction over the case

between beneficiaries and the state. The

bifurcation would create inefficiency,

confusion, and potential chaos at both the

trial and appellate stages.

Second, such a result would shift much

Social Security Act litigation to the

Claims Court and Federal Circuit Court of

Appeals. Neither court has expertise in

Social Security Act litigation. There is

no evidence of Congressional intent to

shift such cases to these courts. It would

be difficult for low income beneficiaries

to regularly litigate in Washington. It

would be inappropriate to shift the fre-

quently controversial litigation brought by

indigent claimants to a trial court lacking

the protections of the Article III

judiciary. If the Federal Circuit were

made a de facto national court of appeals

for Social Security Act litigation, there

would be increased burdens on both that and

this court.

Finally, the government has recently

made an even more expansive Tucker Act

jurisdictional argument in the context of

federal housing programs. The United

States has supeyees that an action for

declaratory and injunctive relief arises

under the Tucker Act when it has financial

consequences, even when the plaintiffs do

not seek money. Thomas v. Pierce, 662 F.

Supp. 519 (D. Kan. 1987) appeal pending,

No. 87-2121 (10th Cir. 1988). This argu-

ment, if accepted, could convert virtually

any case in which program beneficiaries

allege illegal conduct by the United States

into a Tucker Act action. The Court should

reject this major alteration of jurisdic-

tion in the federal courts.

I. The Tucker Act does not

divest a District Court

from exercising juris-

diction over a state’s

third party complaint

seeking federal finan-

cial participation for

costs arising in an

underlying action

between beneficiaries

and the state.

Apart from disallowance cases, there

is another major area of litigation con-

cerning grant-in-aid programs under the

Social Security Act. This other category

arises when program beneficiaries sue a

state for alleged violation of the Social

Security Act. In such cases, the states

often file a third party complaint against

HHS, alleging that has been following the

directives of HHS, and that if the state

practice violates federal law, so do HHS’

directives. Typically, the state seeks

injunctive relief to prohibit HHS from

sanctioning the state for compliance with

court orders, and to require HHS to provide

federal financial participation in the cost

of compliance with the court’s order.

Amici believe this category of cases

is distinguishable from disallowance

litigation. Even if this Court holds that

the Claims Court has exclusive jurisdiction

over disallowance cases, the Court could

still make clear that state claims in third

party complaint litigation do not arise

under the Tucker Act. Alternatively, the

Court could reserve the issue for another

day. However, amici fear that an expansive

construction of the Tucker Act here could

encourage lower courts to find the Tucker

Act precludes district court jurisdiction

over third party complaints in these cases.

However the Court decides this case,

there are considerations in both Tucker Act

jurisprudence and in the practical reali-

ties governing Social Security Act litiga-

tion that should lead to a holding that

district court jurisdiction in these third

party complaint cases is not limited by the

Tucker Act.

In the following section, amici will

describe the facts of Grimesy v. McMahon v.

Bowen, an example of such third party

complaint litigation. They will then

explain both why this category is disting-

uishable from disallowance litigation, and

why an expansive construction of the Tucker

Act in the disallowance context could cause

- 10-

severe damage in third party complaint

litigation. The difficulties posed by

applying an expansive view of Tucker Act

jurisdiction in third party complaint

litigation help to demonstrate some of the

disturbing implications of HHS’ arguments

in this case.

A. Course of Events in

Grimesy v. McMahon v.

Bowen

The Grimesy litigation! began when

AFDC Program beneficiaries sued California

officials for injunctive relief and back

benefits based on an illegal program

practice. J.A. at 23. Plaintiffs filed

1 The following description is based

on the pleadings and orders, as they appear

in the Joint Appendix (”J.A.”) on file in

Federal Circuit No. 87-1228.

2 AFDC is a cooperative federal

state program of assistance to families

with needy children, pursuant to Title IV-A

of the Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. §601

et seq.

The legal issue in Grimesy concerned

counting of income in AFDC. California,

when determining AFDC eligibility and

benefits for families in which the parent

was between the age of 18 and 19, “deemed

(continued...)

suit in state court. The state removed the

case to the United States District Court

for the Northern District of California.

J.A. at 18. Since the state engaged in its

practice at the direction of the Secretary

of Health and Human Services (HHS), the

state filed a third party complaint against

HHS. J.A. at 85~87. The third party

complaint alleged that AFDC is a coopera-

tive federal-state program and that the

state is entitled to receive federal

2(...continued)

available” the income of the parents of the

18 year old parent, regardless of whether

the parent was still in school. Plaintiffs

contended that deeming of grandparent

income when an eighteen year old parent was

not in school or not expected to graduate

by age nineteen violated both the Social

Security Act, 42 U.S.C. §602(a)(39), and

state law. The district court, and every

court that addressed the issue concluded

that the challenged practice violated

federal law. See J.A. at 90-94; Kali v.

Heckler, 800 F.2d 971 (9th Cir. 1986);

Morrison v. Heckler, 602 F.Supp. 1482

(D.Minn. 1984), aff’d, 787 F.2d 1285 (8th

Cir. 1986); Jiminez v. Cohen, No. 85-5285

(E.D. Pa. July 14, 1986); McCarthy v.

Heintz, Civ. No. H-85-597 (MJB) (D. Conn.

Apr. 23, 1986): Topps v. Bowen, No. 85-NC-

O187W (N.D. Utah, Jan. 13, 1986).

- 12 <-

financial participation (FFP) for expendi-

tures made pursuant to an approved state

plan. The state sought an order providing

that if it were liable to plaintiffs, HHS

be required to provide FFP for the AFDC

program expenses incurred as a result of

compliance with the court’s order. J.A. at

87. HHS did not object to the district

court’s jurisdiction.

On June 25, 1986, the district court

issued an order holding both the state’s

practice and the federal regulation on

which the state practice was based violated

the Social Security Act and were invalid.

J.A. at 90-94. The court enjoined the

state practice, and enjoined HHS from

taking any action whatsoever against the

state by way of compliance proceedings,

audit disallowance or otherwise because of

the state’s compliance with the order.

J.A. at 93. Both the state and HHS ap-

pealed to the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit. (Ninth Cir.

-i3-

Cases No. 86-2403, 86-2559). Each defend-

ant subsequently dismissed their appeal,

after the enactment of legislation which

barred the practice plaintiffs challenged

in the litigation. ?

On July 23, 1986, the district court

issued a subsequent order holding class

members were entitled to corrective pay-

ments for the benefits lost while the

state’s unlawful practice was in effect.

J.A. at 95-96.

On December 22, 1986, the district

court entered an order implementing a

procedure for provision of the corrective

benefits. J.A. at 1-8. The order included

a paragraph enjoining HHS from sanctioning

the state for its compliance with the order

or denying federal financial participation

for the administrative and program costs

3 On October 22, 1986, Congress

enacted the Tax Reform Act of 1986, P.L.

99-514. The Tax Reform Act amended 42

U.S.C. §602(a)(39) to prohibit any deeming

of grandparents’ income when an eighteen

year old parent seeks AFDC benefits.

- 14 -

. |

incurred in complying with the order. J.A.

at 8. The court also issued an order

denying HHS’ motion to reconsider its

orders of June 25 and July 23. J.A. at 9-

15.

HHS then filed notices of appeal in

both the Federal and Ninth Circuits. It

alleged that the part of the state’s third

party complaint seeking federal financial

participation in the cost of retroactive

: benefits arose under the Tucker Act, and

that therefore the state’s claim should

have been filed in the United States Claims

Court. See Fed. Cir. Case No. 87-1228, HHS

Substitute Br., at 1-2. HHS contends that

the Federal Circuit has exclusive jurisdic-

tion over the question, and that its Ninth

Circuit appeal is only protective in

nature. HHS Substitute Br., at i. The

jurisdictional issues are currently pending

before both courts.

To date, HHS has limited its argument

to contending that the state’s third party

- 15 «

complaint should have been heard in the

Claims Court, and appealed to the Federal

Circuit. However, HHS has not precluded

the possibility of arguing that when a

state’s third party complaint arises in

part under the Tucker Act, the Federal

Circuit should exercise exclusive jurisdic-

tion over the entire underlying

litigation. 4

4 HHS’ Federal Circuit Brief in

Grimesy contains this suggestive text:

“This Court has also held that exclu-

sive appellate jurisdiction in the Federal

Circuit lies over appeals including non-

Tucker Act issues that would have been

decided by the regional courts of appeals

had they not appeared in the same case as a

Tucker Act claim. It is beyond cavil that

the plaintiffs’ petition for relief from

California, as contrasted with the Califor-

nia’s third party complaint against the

federal government, cannot be construed as

coming within the scope of the Tucker Act.

Nevertheless, this Court has stated that

where the jurisdiction of the district

court “was based, in whole cr in part” (28

U.S.C. 1295(a)(2)) on a non-tax Tucker Act

Claim, the entire appeal is within the

exclusive jurisdiction of the Federal

Circuit, no matter what other claims have

been joined with the Tucker Act claim in

the complaint. Perhaps, although this

Court need not consider that question

today, this principle would extend so far

(continued...)

° 16° i

ee — = —— P

Disposition of Grimesy in the Federal

Circuit has been stayed pending resolution

of this case; HHS’ corresponding request to

the Ninth Circuit is pending. See Fed.Cir.

Case No. 87~1228, Order, January 19, 1988.

B. A third party complaint

seeking to enjoin

denial of federal

financial participation

for costs not yet

incurred does not meet

the elements of a

Tucker Act claim.

Whether or not a disallowance case

arises under the Tucker Act, a third party

complaint seeking to require the federal

government to share in the costs of com-

pliance with a court order is not a claim

arising under the Tucker Act.

In United States v. Mitchell, 463 U.S.

206 (1983), this Court restated the test

4(...continued)

as to bring within the jurisdiction of this

Court non-Tucker Act claims raised by other

parties in a multiple party cases, such as

this one.”

HHS Substitute Br., at 30, n.10 (citations

omitted).

- 17 -

: |

for determining whether claims founded on a

federal statute are subject to Tucker Act

jurisdiction:

The claim must be one

for money damages

against the United

States, and the claim-

ant must demonstrate

that the source of

substantive law he

relies upon ‘can fairly

be interpreted as

mandating compensation

by the Federal Govern-

ment for the damages

sustained.’

463 U.S. at 216-17, quoting United States

vy. Testan, 424 U.S. 392, 400 (1976) (cita-

tions omitted).

A third party complaint seeking to

require HHS to share in the cost of com-

pliance with any court orders issued in an

underlying action does not meet the Mit-

chell test. A complaint in such a case

does not seek “compensation” and does not

allege any right to “damages.” It does not

allege wrongful withholding of funds, or

any wrongful conduct, by HHS. = Se

contingent request that if the state is

- 18 -

ee ne

held liable, the court order HHS to provide

federal participation for al] AFDC program

expenses incurred as a result of compliance

with the court’s order.

In substance, such a complaint s

declaratory relief. The state allegés no

present injury, since there has ‘been no

determination of state liabi

statement that HHS would fuse to provide

federal participation r those costs. The

state simply seeks a declaration of rights

against HHS in case of state liability.

The state does not seek “damages” within

any ordinary meaning of the word.

Moreover, “damages for the | federal)

Government’s past acts” is “the essence of

a Tucker Act claim for monetary relief.”

' United States v. Mottaz, 476 U.S. 834, 106

S.Ct. 2224, 2234 (1986) (emphasis added).

In the third party complaint, the state

does not sue HHS for losses previously

incurred by the state. Tne claim is made

before any determination that the state is

- 19 «

seek judicial review and orders aS f0

future Medicaid services are not ones

for "money damages,” regardless of

whether the reviewing court determines

the Secretary's future obligation to

pay. Sec. Br. 15 n. ll. If that is so,

it is also clear that an action for re-

view of an agency decision is not an

action for a money judgment or money

damages, since it simply determines the

correctness of the agency's substantive

legal decision, and not the Secretary's

monetary liability. Yet the Secretary

contends that if reimbursement for past

audit periods is involved in a case,

that fact transforms the case into a

/

suit for money damages . >=

13/7 In a similar context, this Court

rejected 4a characterization of reim-

bursement under the Education for All

Handicapped Children _ as “damages.”

Q the Town of

(footnote continued)

e 63 «-

The legislative history of the APA

amendments supports the conclusion that

Congress did not intend to include

actions such as this within the term

“money damages." The term “money

damages" was added to the APA in the

1976 amendments. The legislative his-

tory of the cere demonstrates an intent

to equate the term with well-known

claims for damages which arose in con-

tract and tort actions. See 121 Cong.

Rec. 29, 995 (1975)(remarks of Sen.

Bumpers); Sovereign Immunity: Hearing

on S. 3568, before the Sub Comm, on

(footnote continued)

Burlington v. Department of Education,

471 U.S. 359, 370-371 (1985). "Reim-

bursement merely requires “payment

of “expenses” that “should have been paid

all along.” Id. The remedy of reim-

bursement sought in Burlington was deter-

mined by this Court not to be “damages”

but a “post hoc determination of finan-

cial responsibility.” Id. The same

characterization applies here.

Administrative Practice and Procedure of

the Senate Judic. Comm. , 9lst. Cong., 2d

Sess. (1970) at 18. Inde 2d, the ref-

erences to the Tucker Act which appear

in the House and Senate Reports on the

APA amendments are exclusively concerned

with contract claims. H.R. Rep. No.

94-1656 at 5, 12; S. Rep. No. 94-996 aft

4, l2.

In labeling the Commonwealth's case

as a suit for money damages, the Secre-

tary ultimately would make jurisdiction

turn upon the fact that he has already

acted to recoup the disputed amounts

from subsequent reimbursement. Under

the current system of advance funding

and retroactive audit and disallowance,

the Secretary recoups disallowed funds

from future payments. See 42 U.S.C. §§

1396b(d). Thus the Secret *ry need not

commence an enforcement action to

- 63 -

recover disallowed funds. Compare

Bennett v. Kentucky Department of

Education, 470 U.S. at 658 (enforcement

action). In the absence of preliminary

injunctiv2 relief, the Secretary's power

to recoup monies from future advances

invariably means that 4 state must

pursue litigation after re- coupment

takes place. Thus the court of appeals

noted that the "structure of the

Medicaid program . . . makes it in-

evitable that disallowance decisions

concern money past due.” Pet. App. 44a.

It is this posture (as a plaintiff pur-

suing a suit after recoupment) which ex-

poses a State to simplistic character-

izations of its case as a suit for

‘money past-due” and “money damages."

The Secretary relies upon his re-

coupment of funds from future payments

to support his novel argument on

- 66 -

jurisdiction, yet the Secretary concedes

that the district court would have ju-

risdiction over an action which sought

review of his decision but granted only

“prospective” relief. Sec. Br. at 15 fn.

! If this is so, then jurisdiction

would turn upon the outcome of each

State's request for preliminary relief,

if such relief were obtained, no

because

request for money “past-due” would be

present. There is no evidence what-

soever that Congress intended such an

uncertain basis for jurisdiction.

The court below determined that the

term “money damages” in § 702 should be

read "to mean any monetary relief,

whether it is in the nature of damages

or in the nature of specific relief.”

Commonwealth of Mass. v. Departmental

Grant Appeals Board, 815 F.2d at 783;

o 67 «

see Pet. App. 5a-6a. That conclusion is

nof consistent with the evidence that

Congress intended to authorize grant

program Litigation in the district

court, but it is also beside the present

point which is that the district court

could (and did) grant complete relief by

reversing the agency's decision and re-

manding the matter, 247

sOQurces v. HHS, 763 F. 2d 1441, 1446

(D.C. Cir. 1985), reached the result we

seek here by distinguishing an action

for “money damages” from one for "speci-

fic relief.” The Secretary's brief as-

sumes the considerable burden of exam-

ining and undermining the Maryland dis-

tinction. As demonstrated above, how-

ever, this case seeks neither "money

damages” nor “monetary relief,” and the

district court Satisfactorily resolved

the dispute by reversing the Board's

decision. Therefore, the Court need not

adopt the reasoning of Maryland to

reject the Secretary's characterization

that this action is a suit for "money

damages.”

- 68 -

In sum, this is not a case for

“money damages” beyond the jurisdiction

of the district courts.

The Tucker Act Does Not

Create an "Adequate

Remedy” in the Claims

Court that Bars District

Court Review.

The waiver of sovereign immunity

contained in section 702 includes

“falgency action made reviewable by

statute and final agency action for

which there is no other adequate remedy

in a court. = § U.S.C. § 704. The

Secretary argues that 4a disallowance is

unreviewable in the district court be-

cause the Tucker Act provides an “ade-

quate remedy” in the Claims Court. Sec.

at 43-44. The Secretary assumes,

Br.

for the sake of his argument, that the

Commonwealth's action is not one

~~ +

for “money damages." sec. 8r. set ii.

But if the Commonwealth's action is not

One for “money damages," it follows (as

we argue in Point II, below) that an

action for judicial revew of a dis-

allowance is not within the jurisdiction

of the Claims Court under the Tucker

Act. If this is so, then the

Secretary's argument that an action un-

der the Tucker Act is “adequate” fails ag

fortiori. However, even if Congress

conferred jurisdiction on the Claims

Court over such “non-monetary” Claims,

we argue below that jurisdiction does

not preclude district court jurisdiction

under the APA because, by the

Secretary's own admission, the remedies

- 70 -

in the Claims Court are not “ade-

quate.°*”

The relevant provision in section

704 was primarily “intended . - : to

codify the existing law concerning

ripeness and exhaustion of remedies,”

(Mass. VY: bept. Grant Appeals Board, 815

F.2d 778, 784 (1st Cir. 1987)), by en-

suring that pre-enforcement review would

not be available if “subsequent review

in enforcement proceedings is ‘ade-

quate.'" administrative Procedure Act:

Legislative History, S. Doc. 248, 79th

Cong. 2d Sess. 38 (1946). Thus the Se-

cretary is reading 4 limitation in the

waiver 1 section 702 where none exists,

a

15/7 Indeed, in conceding that the

Commonwealth could litigate in the dis-

trict court if it waived the federal

share of past expenditures, the

Secretary acknowledges that an award of

money is not an adequate remedy in an

ongoing grant program.

- M1 -

or was intended. At the least, he 1s

urging on the Court an overly broad

reading of the purported limitation.

Even if section 704 imposes the

limitation urged by the Secretary, it

would not apply in this case, because

the remedy in the Claims Court is not

“adequate.” The Tucker Act remedy in

the Claims Court is inadequate because

the Claims Court has no authority to

provide the injunctive and declaratory

relief available in the district court

and often necessary to complete relief

Lé/

in a disallowance case. “The

——————

16/ The Claims Court is an Article I

court, created by the Federal Courts

Improvement Act (FCIA) of 1982, Pub. L.

No. 97-164, 96 Stat. 25. The jurisdic-

tion of the Claims Court includes the

trial jurisdiction of the “United States

Court of Claims,” which was abolished by

the FCIA. The decisions of the Claims

Court are appealable under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1295(a)(3), to the United States Court

of Appeals of the Federal Circuit.

» 92

Claims Court Or district court

exercising Tucker Act jurisdiction ordi-

narily lacks’ the authority to grant

specific performance of contracts as

well as other forms of equitable

relief.” Spectrum Leasing Corp. ¥-

United States, 764 F.2d at 895 n. 7 (ci-

tation omitted). Only “in limited cir-

cumstances the Claims Court when exer-

cising Tucker Act jurisdiction may be

empowered to grant such equitable relief

where the relief sought is in the form

of money.” Id. at 895 n. 7. In fact,

prior to 1972, the Claims Court's pre-

decessor (the Court of Claims) had no

power to enter any equitable relief.

See, e@.9., United States v- King, 395

U.S. 1 (1969); Richardson v. Morris, 409

u.S. 464 (1973) (per curiam). In 1972,

the Tucker Act was amended to grant the

» «

Court of Claims “the power to remand ap-

propriate matters to any administrative

or executive body or official with such

directions as it may deem proper and

just." Pub. L. No. 92-415, 86 Stat. 652

(1972) (amending 28 U.S.C. § 1491). The

legislative history of this “remand pro-

vision" demonstrates that Congress in-

tended that the remand power conferred

on the Court of Claims was more limited

than the equitable jurisdiction of the

ii/ In fact, Congress

district courts.

limited the equitable power given the

Court of Claims after the Department of

Justice expressed its concern about

17/ See S. 1704, 90th Cong., 2d Sess.

(1968); S. Rep. 1465, 90th Cong., 2d

Sess. 4 (1968); S. Rep. 92-1066, 92d

Cong., 2d Sess. 2 (1972); H.R. 12392,

92d Cong., 2d Sess. (1972); H.R. Rep.

92-1023, 92d Cong., 2d Sess. 5 (1972).

—

giving that court authority “over 4 wide

range of governmental activities” or

authorizing persons to "claim all sorts

of relief against any agency of the

aoveranent °° The

legislative his-

tory further shows that Congress intended

the remand power to be exercised only in

government contract disputes. See S.

Rep. 92-1066 at 3; H.R. Rep. 92-1023 at

4.

Following the enactment of the “re-

mand provision,” this Court and_ the

Court of Claims consistently held that

the Tucker Act did not authorize perman-

ent or preliminary injunctive relief,

declaratory judgments, or writs of man-

damus. E.g., Lee Y- Thornton, 420

, 92d Cong., 2d Sess. 114, 121,

123, 134, 127 (1972).

» 9% «

y.S. 139 (1975) (per curiam); Smith v-

United States, 654 F.2d 50, »3 (Ct. Cl.

1981) .+2/

The limited remedies available in

the Claims Court are particularly inade-

quate in grant-in-aid disputes. The

Secretary concedes that “the remedial

powers of the Claims Court. .- : will be

limited to the power to render a money

judgment and the limited power of remand

to the agency that is given by 28 U.S.C.

§ 1491(a)(2)[,)" and that the “court

will not have the power to issue a de-

claratory judgment that the GAB has mis-

construed the law, or to enjoin peti-

19/ In the Federal Courts Improvement

Act of 1982 (the “FCIA"), Congress for

the first time gave the Claims Court

authority to enter declaratory

judgments, injunctions, and other equit-

able relief in certain contract cases.

See Pub. L. No. 97-164, § 133, 96 Stat.

25, 40 (1982) (codified at 28 y.8§.C.

§ 1491(a)(3))-

oe 1 «

tioners henceforth to construe the law

differently when dealing with

respondent.” Sec. Br. at 45 (footnote

omitted). Since the Claims Court cannot

enter declaratory or injunctive relief

(Sec. Br. at 45), the States could be

required to commence suit in the Claims

Court for each disputed period. The

Claims Court would also be barred from

ieeuien preliminary injunctions to pre-

vent irreparable harm to individual

beneficiaries or to States concerned

about the elimination of disputed

services. *2/

20/7 The Secretary suggests that since

such cases are “simply a dispute about a

stream of money payments over time,” the

Claims Court can provide complete relief

and provide a “statement of the law that

will bind the federal government in

future dealings with the plaintiff.”

Sec. Br. at 44. The Claims Court cannot

however, provide “complete” relief.

Furthermore, the Secretary's statement

grossly minimizes the important services

at stake and ignores the limited re-

sources of beneficiaries and States to

repeatedly litigate in the Claims Court.

=

In sum, the language and legislative

history of the APA and the Tucker Act

demonstrate that the remedies available

in the Claims Court are not “adequate”

remedies which would bar district court

review of grant disallowances under the

APA.

c. The Social Security Act

and the Federal Courts

Improvement Act Support

District Court Review of

Grant Disallowances.

The jurisdiction of the district

court over this case also is supported

by considering the "entire statutory

system of remedies against the

Government to make a workable, consist-

ent and equitable whole.” Feres v.

United States, 340 U.S. 135, 139, (1950).

=

The Secretary does not address the

overall statutory context of this case.

His narrow focus fails to take into ac-

count related legislative enactments and

their histories, and ignores they

anomalous consequences of his position.

The Social Security Act (SSA) and

Federal Courts Improvement Act of 1982

(FCIA) demonstrate long-term and pre-

vailing Congressional intent to (1) vest

power to review agency action under

Title XIX and other titles of the Social

Security Act in the district courts and

the regional courts of appeals, and (2)

limit the creation and jurisdiction of

“specialized” courts, particularly those

created by the FCIA.

l. The Social Security Act is one

of the most complex statutes Congress

has ever enacted. See Schweiker v. Gray

oe FW «

Panthers, 453 U.S. 34, 43 (1981). Pur-

suant to the Act, federal agencies have

promulgated extensive regulations which

set forth detailed policies and require-

ments for the programs covered by the

Act.

The Social Security Act has a

breadth of social impact that is equal

to the depth of its terms. The Medicaid

program is the largest of several coop-

erative federal-state programs operated

under the authority of the Social

Security Act to provide medical, finan-

cial, and other assistance to needy

citizens. Programs under the Act in-

clude: Medicaid (Title XIX), social

services (Title XX), and aid to families

with dependent children (AFDC) (Title

IV). Non-grant programs created by the

Act include Social Security and Medicare.

e 66 «

The district courts and regional

courts of appeals have substantial expe-

rience deciding cases involving grant-

in-aid programs under by the _ Social

Security Act. This judicial experience

has developed because Congress has often

explicitly provided for judicial review

of agency action under the Social Secur-

ity Act in those courts. E.g., 42

¥.6.¢. § 405(g) (Social Security dis-

ability cases reviewable in district

court); 42 U.S.C. § 139500(f£) (district

court review of certain actions brought

by Medicare providers).

In the Medicaid Act itself, Congress

has specifically authorized review in

the court of appeals for “compliance”

questions closely related (and sometimes

nearly identical) to those raised in

Medicaid disallowance disputes. Under

42 U.S.C. § 1396c, the Secretary may

os 1 ©

review state plans, and amendments

thereto, to determine whether they

comply with the Medicaid Act. The

"state plans” submitted to the Secretary

under the Medicaid program contain

lengthy and detailed descriptions of

services provided under that program.

If the Secretary rules that a plan does

not comply with the Act, he may termi-

nate federal Medicaid grants in whole or

in part. Id. The Secretary's decision

on a “compliance” matter is subject to

judicial review in the court of appeals

in which the State is_ located. 42

U.S.C. § 1316(a)(3); State of Ohio v.

Dept. of HHS, 761 F. 2d 1187 (6th Cir.

1985) .44/ Past litigation in the

21/ Under the Secretary's regulations,

amendments to a state plan are subject

to his approval, but effective on the

date indicated by the state. 45 C.F.R.

(footnote Continues).

courts of appeal demonstrate that a

question of law or policy can often form

the basis for either a disallowance or

compliance dispute. E.g., Massachusetts

v. Grant Appeals Board, 698 F. 2d 22

(lst. Cir. 1983). The court of appeals

noted in this case that disallowances

are used by the Secretary “to implement

important policies governing ongoing

programs.” Pet. App. 4a. Given the

fact that Congress expressly authorized

court of appeals review for such closely

related questions arising under the

Medicaid Act, it is inconceivable that

(footnote continued)

§ 210.3(g9)(1987). The regulations also

provide for administrative and judicial

review (in the court of appeals) of a

disapproval of plan amendments. Id. at

§§ 203.4 and 203.7. Most importantly,

the regulations further provide that

upon the reversal of a ~oprior dis-

approval, the Secretary will “certify

restitution forthwith in a lump sum of

any funds incorrectly witheld on other-

wise denied.” [qd. at 201.4.

» 63 «

Congress intended that challenges’ to

disallowances would be relegated to the

Claims Court. **/

22/ The result sought by the Secretary

would also be anomalous because it would

remove from the district courts

important issues of federal-state rela-

tions presented by grant-in-aid

disputes. As a general proposition,

this Court has required Congress to sea-

sonably and unambiguously express

federal conditions on the States’ re-

ceipt of grants under the Medicaid and

other programs. Pennhurst State School

& Hospital v. Halderman, 451 U.S. 1, 25

(1978); see Bell v. New Jersey, 461 U.S.

773, 794 (1983)(White, J., concurring).

Each time that the Secretary asserts his

power to retrospectively interpret the

Medicaid Act and to refuse to supply the

federal share of reimbursement for past

and future services, he imposes’ con-

ditions which were not clear when the

State's plan was approved or when it ex-

pended funds to purchase services for

needy persons. The Secretary's view of

jurisdiction thus imputes to Congress an

intent to deprive the States of an Arti-

cle III forum for the resolution of

legal issues which effect millions of

beneficiaries and implicate important

issues of federalism.

Thus the result sought by the Secre-

tary in this case conflicts with the

terms and purposes of related portions

of the Social Security Act and the Sec-

retary's regulations. The Commonwealth's

reading of the APA and the Tucker Act

should be adopted by the Court because

it is more consistent with the Act and

avoids severe jurisdictional anomalies

that Congress did not intend.

2. The jurisdiction of the district

court over this case is also supported

by the terms and legislative history of

the Federal Courts Improvement Act of

1982 (FCIA), which created the Claims

Court and defined the scope of its au-

thority. In his brief the Secretary re-

peatedly asserts that Congress granted

the Claims Court exclusive jurisdiction

over the Commonwealth's case. It is

remarkable, then, that the Secretary no-

where discusses the legislative history

of the FCIA, the act which he admits

"created" the Claims Court as it cur-

rently exists. Sec. Br. at 14 n. 9.

The FCIA created the United States

Claims Court and the United States Court

of Appeals for the Federal Circuit.

P.L. No. 97-164, 96 Stat. 25 (1982).

The enactment of the FCIA followed a

long and spirited debate over the reor-

ganization of the federal courts and the

23/

creation of specialized courts.

23/ See H.R. Rep. 97-312, 97th Cong.,

Ist Sess. (1981); S. Rep. 97-275, 97th

Cong., list Sess. (1981) at 1-8; Federal

94th Cong., lst Sess. (1981).

The legislative debate and the committee

reports reflect long-term and prevailing

Congressional reluctance to create spe-

cialized courts to hear cases which have

a wide impact on social policies. See,

e.g., S. Rep. 97-275 at 39-41 (addi-

tional views of Senators Leahy = and

Baucus). If Congress believed in 1982

that the Court of Claims already had

jurisdiction to review scores of types

of agency decisions, including those

made in grant-in-aid programs under the

Social Security Act, the debate as to

specialized courts would have been

pointless. But in fact, Congress care-

fully limited the jurisdiction of the

Claims Court and Federal Court, and re-

fused to enact bills that would have ex-

panded the jurisdiction of those courts

or created specialized courts to hear

cases involving the environment,

= @ «

immigration, civil rights, aviation, and

other “cases involving the interaction

of laws and people.” S. Rep. 97-275 at

39 (additional views of Senator Leahy).

The history of a predecessor bill to

the FCIA confirms that through the crea-

tion of the Federal Circuit Congress in-

tended to create “an appellate forum

capable of exercising nationwide juris-

diction over appeals in areas of the law

where Congress determines there is a

special need for nationwide

uniformity[.]” S. Rep. 96-304 at 8

(proposed Federal Courts Improvement Act

of 1979) , 44/7 The legislative history

24/ "Among other things, the [FCIA]

grants the Federal Circuit exclusive ap-

pellate jurisdiction over a variety of

cases involving the Federal Government.

28 U.S.C. § 1295(a)(2)." United States

v. Hohri, No. 86-510 (June 1, 1987),

(footnote continued)

« @6 «

\

of the FCIA nowhere mentions any case

Similar to this which Congress intended

to remove from the then-existing

caseload of the district and regional

courts of appeal and transfer to the

Claims Court and the Federal Circuit.

This legislative silence in the FCIA is

telling because at the time of the en-

actment of the FCIA, the federal courts

had already held that the district

courts had the authority to review dis-

allowance decisions in grant-in-aid

cases. See cases collected in Point I,

B, Supra. In construing statutes,

(footnote continued)

slip. op. at 3. The 1981 Senate Report

states that the Federal Circuit would

“handle all patent appeals, plus

government claims case[s] and all other

appellate matters that are now

considered by the [Court of Customs and

Patent Appeals] or the Court of

Claims[{.]" S. Rep. 97-275 at 6.

oe © «

the Court assumes that the Congress

which enacted the law in question was

aware of previous judicial decisions

construing then-existing statutes. See,

e.g., Director, Office of Workers’

Compensation v. Perin North River

Associates 0459 U.S. 297, 319-320

(i983). Moreover, Congressional intent

as to judicial review may be “inferred

from contemporaneous judicial construc-

tion 6? eo “a and the congressional

acquiescence in 11 Block v.

Community Nutrition Institute, 467 U.S.

at 349, citing Ludecke v. Watkins, 335

U.S. 160 (1948). There is no indication

in the legislative history of the FCIA

that Congress wished to disturb the de-

cisions which had already found district

court jurisdiction over grant disputes.

» 8 «

at Bo -3 A =a

To the contrary, it is reasonable to ™

~

infer that Congress foresaw at least two

serious effects of such a transfer of

jurisdiction. First, Congress knew that

programs under the Social Security Act

primarily affect needy people who would

from the convenience of

most benefit

the Act in

United

litigating questions under

local federal courts.

their

States v. notes that dis-

trict court jurisdiction grants’ the

"right to bring suits in the districts

where [plaintiffs] reside without sub-

jecting them to the expense and

annoyance of litigating in Washington.”

id.,

was aware of the burden which would be

slip op. at 1-2 n. 1. Congress

imposed on the States and recipients of

Medicaid and other benefits who would be

in Washington. Yet

forced to litigate

» @A «

/

7

\

} if the Secretary's position is adopted,

virtually all disallowance disputes in

as well

federal grant-in-aid programs,

as other actions arising under the SSA,

Washington for

will be channeled to

the Claims Court and the

25/

litigation in.

Federal Circuit. There is no leg-

islative evidence that Congress intended

such a result.

Second, Congress was aware that the

substantive issues presented by grant

cases arising under the Social Security

are far from

Act and similar statutes

routine questions of law. See Pet. App.

8a; Schweiker v. Gray Panthers, supra.

In fact, by 1982, the district courts

25/ In fact, the Secretary has already

taken the position that the Claims Court

has exclusive jurisdiction over a suit

by recipients against a state in which

the state files a third-party complaint

against the Secretary. See Grimesy v.

McMahon, No. 87-1228 (pending in the

Federal Circuit).

oe 92 «

and regional courts of appeals had de-

veloped substantial experience in these

areas. *2/ In the absence of a clear

indication in the FCIA that Congress in-

tended to extinguish the jurisdiction of

these courts, and to confer it on the

two newly-created, specialized courts,

the Court should reject the Secretary's

latest construction of the APA and the

Tucker Act.

26/ Indeed, the resolution of the

merits of this case required reference

to both the Social Security Act and the

Education for All Handicapped Children

Act of 1975, 20 U.S.C. § 1401 et seg.

(EHCA). At the time of enactment of the

FCIA, the district courts and the courts

of appeal had acquired substantial ex-

perience with EHCA. See Burlington

School Committee, supra; Hendrick Hudson

District Board of Education v. Rowley,

458 U.S. 176 (1982).

e 02 «

II. THE TUCKER ACT DOES NOT

DEPRIVE THE DISTRICT

COURT OF JURISDICTION OF

THIS CASE.

A. The Tucker Act Does

Not Confer Juris-

diction On The

Claims Court Over

This Case.

The Secretary argues that if any as-

pect of the Commonwealth's case is with-

in the jurisdiction of the Claims Court

under the Tucker Act, then the district

court lacks jurisdiction over the entire

action, and the court of appeals erred

in concluding that such a case could be

“bifurcated.” Sec. Br. at 36-46. How-

ever, this argument assumes that this

case may be brought under the Tucker

Act. The Secretary himself acknowledges

that the issue of “claim-splitting” only

arises if the case “includes a Tucker

» 66 «

Act claim. s” eee. Ces Be BR If

the Commonwealth's case is not within

the Tucker Act, then the Tucker Act does

not preclude the Commonwealth from

relying upon § 702's waiver of sovereign

immunity, and invoking the federal

question jurisdiction of the district

courts under 28 U.S.C. § 1331. See

Maryland v. Dept. of HHS, 763 F. 2d at

1448, 1450 n. 5.

The Tucker Act provides in relevant

part:

The United States Claims

Court shall have jurisdiction

to render judgment upon any

claim against the United

States founded either upon

the Constitution, or any Act

of Congress or any regulation

of an executive department,

Or upon any express or im-

plied contract with the

United States, or for

liquidated or unliquidated

damages in cases sounding in

tort.

28 U.S.C. § 1491. This section waives

the sovereign immunity of the federal

government and defines the

jurisdictional limits of the Claims

Court relevant to this case. The Tucker

Act, does not, however, “create any sub-

stantive right enforceable against the

United States for money damages.”

United States v. Testan, 424 U.S. 392,

398 (1976). Thus a plaintif€ invoking

the jurisdiction of the Claims Court

under the Tucker Act must assert a sub-

stantive right that derives from another

source of law. Id. a *“claim*”

cognizable under the Tucker Act “must be

one for money damages against the United

States .. . and the claimant must dem-

onstrate that the source of substantive

law he relies on can fairly be inter-

preted as mandating compensation

by the Federal Government for the damage

sustained.” United States v. Mitchell,

463 U.S. 206, 216-217 (1983), citing

United States v. King, 395 U.S. 1, 2-3

(1969), and United States v. Testan, 424

U.S. at 400,427

The Secretary argues that the Medi-

caid Act “can fairly be interpreted (if

respondent is right on the merits) as

mandating compensation by the federal

government for the ‘damage’ sustained

(1.@., payment of the amount of reim-

bursement incorrectly witheld).” Sec.

Be. GB Be This broad reading ignores

the rule that in “determining

27/ See Murray v. U.S., 817 F. 2d 1580,

1582-1583 (Fed. Cir. 1987); Hambsch v.

United States, 12 Cl. Ct. 744, 749

(1987), citing Eastport §.S,. Corp. v.

United States, 372 F. 2d 1002, 1009 (Ct.

Cl. 1967)(Claims Court cannot grant any

relief absent a “mandate” for an “award

of money damages").

es OD «

the general scope of the Tucker Act,

this Court has not lightly inferred the

United States' consent to suit.” United

States v. Mitchell, 463 U.S. at 218.

For the reasons set forth in Point I re-

garding the term “money damages" in the

APA, Massachusetts does not seek “damages

for the Government's past acts, the es-

sence of a Tucker Act claim for monetary

relief." United States v. Mottaz, 476

U.S. 834, 851 (1986) (citation omit-

tea) . 487 Since the Secretary himself

equates the term “money damages” in the

28/ Cf. Maryland v. Dept. of HHS, 763

F. 2d at 1450 (action for review of

Title XX disallowance not cognizable

under Tucker Act because Title XX does

not “mandate compensation” for damages

sustained); Delaware Div. of Health v.

, 665 F. Supp. at

1117 (action for judicial review of

Medicaid disallowance not a "claim"

against the United States under section

1491).

- 98 -

APA with Tucker Act jurisdiction, the

Tucker Act does not apply to this case

unless it can be characterized as a suit

for “money damages” outside the APA.

Furthermore, the Secretary's argu-

ment relies upon a mischaracterization

of Medicaid as a program in which the

States “demand payment” under a statute

that “requires the federal government to

pay the grantee money. .. ." Sec. Br.

at 17 n. 14. The Medicaid Act does not

authorize “damage” awards. It is not

even monetary in its purpose. The Act

represents a Congressional statement of

federal cooperation in the provision of

important human services. See 42 U.S.C.

§ 1396; Harris v. McRae, 448 U.S. 297,

308 (1980). The Secretary has cast him-

self as a mere paymaster, rather than

—

as a partner in a joint effort to serve

people in need. But the Secretary's

latest incarnation cannot transform the

federal share of reimbursement into

“damages sustained” by a State.

B. Even if the Tucker Act

Applies to Some Portion

of this Case, It Does Not

Deprive The District

Court of Jurisdiction.

The district court had jurisdiction

over this case. The court of appeals

incorrectly concluded otherwise. How-

ever, even if, as that court

hypothesized, the Tucker Act deprives

the district court of jurisdiction over

some aspect of the case, the Tucker Act

does not entirely deprive the district

court of jurisdiction. See Sec. Br. at

36-46.

The Secretary admits that if only

funding for future services were at

- 100 -

issue (i.e., if the Commonwealth “fore-

goes. . . recovery” as to “prejudgment

events"), the district court would have

authority to grant “nonmonetary”"

relief. Sec. Br. at 15 n. ll. Given

that concession, the Secretary cannot

maintain that the result reached by the

court of appeals is prohibited by

statute, and his argument that’ the

Claims Court should be found to have ex-

Cclusive jurisdiction simply elevates the

policy against claim-splitting above the

presumption of district court juris-

diction, despite strong evidence of con-

trary legislative intent.

The Secretary also argues that if

the Commonwealth's case is cognizable

under the Tucker Act, then the APA does

not apply because, under section 702(2),

- 101 -

the Tucker Act “impliedly forbids” the

relief sought. Sec. Br. at 44-46. Thus

the Secretary argues that even as to the

vitally important questions of Medicaid

coverage, a State may obtain reversal of

a disallowance only in the Claims Court,

because any action which follows a dis-

allowance and does not waive relief as

to past services is, at least in part,

an action for a money judgment within

the exclusive jurisdiction of the Claims

Court.

The Secretary's argument overlooks

the legislative history of section

702(2). The history shows that, as to

the Court of Claims, the section was in-

tended only to protect the jurisdiction

of that court over government contracts

disputes. See H.R. Rep. No. 94-1656 at

12-13. Even if a broader reading of

- 102 -

the APA is supportable, the Secretary's

application of section 702(2) ignores

the fact that, at the time of the

enactment of the APA amendments of 1976,

one circuit court of appeals had already

held that Medicaid disallowances were

reviewable in the district courts. See

County of Alameda v. Weinberger, 520 F.

2d 344 (9th Cir. 1975). Thus’ the

Secretary would impute to Congress in

1976 the view that the Tucker Act, at

that time, forbade district court

jurisdiction over grant disputes which

had already been determined by a court

of appeals. *~’

29/ The Secretary's argument is also

refuted by cases which have held that

the district court dees not lose juris-

diction over a claim for nonmonetary re-

lief even if a judgment for such relief

may form the basis for a later money

judgment. See, e.g-., Hahn v. United

States, 757 F. 2d 581, 589 (3d Cir.

(footnote cont inued),

In sum, the Tucker Act does not “im-

pliedly forbid” district court juris-

diction over this case, even if some

portion of the case were cognizable

under the Tucker Act. If “claim-

splitting” were to result, it would be

the inevitable and tolerable by-product

of the interplay of the APA and the

Tucker Act. Since the Secretary con-

cedes that the district courts have jur-

isdiction to review disallowances in

some circumstances, his concern’ for

claim-splitting reduces to a policy con-

cern best directed to Congress, not the

Court.

(footnote continued)

1985). See also Duke Power Co. vv.

Carolina Environmental Study Group, 438

U.S. 59, 71m. 15 (1978).

- 104 -

The judgments of the court of

appeals should be affirmed in part and

reversed in part, and the cases should

be remanded with instructions to rein-

state the judgments of the district

court.

Respectfully submitted,

JAMES M. SHANNON

ATTORNEY GENERAL

Thomas A. Barnico

Counsel] of Record

William L. Pardee

Assistant Attorneys General

One Ashburton Place

Boston, MA 02108

(617) 727-1004

Dated: March 3l, 1988

- 105 -

APPENDIX

5 U.S.C. § 702

A person suffering legal wrong

because of agency action, or adversely

affected or aggrieved by agency action

within the meaning of a relevant

statute, is entitled to judicial review

thereof. An action in a court of the

United States seeking relief other than

money damages and stating a claim that

an agency or an officer or employee

thereof acted or failed to act in an

official capacity or under color of

legal authority shall not be dismissed

nor relief therein be denied on the

ground that it is against the United

States or that the United States is an

indispensable party. The United States

may be named as a defendant in any such

action, and a judgment or decree may be

entered against the United States;

Provided, That any mandatory or

injunctive decree shall specify the

Federal officer or officers (by name or

by title), and their successors in

office, personally responsible for

compliance. Nothing herein (1) affects

other limitations on judicial review or

the power or duty of the court to

dismiss any action or deny relief on any

other appropriate legal or equitable

ground; or (2) confers authority to

grant relief if any other statute that

grants consent to suit expressly or

impliedly forbids the relief which is

sought.

5 U.S.C. § 706

To the extent necessary to decision

and when presented, the reviewing court

shall decide all relevant questions of

law, interpret constitutional and

statutory provisions, and determine the

meaning or applicability of the terms of

an agency action. The reviewing court

shall --

(1) Compei agency action unlawfully

withheld or unreasonably delayed; and

(2) hold unlawful and set aside

agency action, findings, and conclusions

found to be --

(A) arbitrary, capricious, an

abuse of discretion, or otherwise not in

accordance with law;

(B) contrary to constitutional

right, power, privilege, or immunity;

- ili -

(C) in excess of statutory

jurisdiction, authority, or limitations,

or short of statutory right;

(D) without observance of

procedure required by law;

(E) unsupported by substantial

evidence in a case subject to sections

556 and 557 of this title or otherwise

reviewed on the record of an agency

hearing provided by statute; or

(F) unwarranted by the facts

to the extent that the facts are subject

to trial de novo by the reviewing court.

In making the foregoing

determinations, the court shall review

the whole record or those parts of it

cited by a party, and due account shall

be taken of the rule of prejudicial

error.

- iv -

28 U.S.C. § 1295(a)

(a) The United States Court of

Appeals for the Federal Circuit shall

have exclusive jurisdiction --

(1) of an appeal from a final

decision of a district court of the

United States, the United States

District Court for the District of the

Canal Zone, the District Court of Guam,

the District Court of the Virgin

Islands, or the District Court for the

Northern Mariana Islands, if the

jurisdiction of that court was based, in

whole or in part, on section 1338 of

this title, except that a case involving

a claim arising under any Act of

Congress relating to copyrights or

trademarks and no other claims under

section 1338(a) shall be governed by

sections 1291, 1292, and 1294 of this

title;

(2) of an appeal from a final

decision of a district court of the

United States, the United States

District Court for the District of the

Canal Zone, the District Court of Guam,

the District Court of the Virgin

Islands, or the District Court of the

Northern Mariana Islands, if the

jurisdiction of that court was based, in

whole or in part, on section 1346 of

this title, except that jurisdiction of

an appeal in a case brought in a

district court under section 1346(a)(1),

1346(b), 1346(e), or 1346(f£) of this

title or under section 1346(a)(2) when

the claim is founded upon an Act of

Congress or a regulation of an executive

- Wi -«

department providing for internal

revenue shall be governed by section

1291, 1292, and 1294 of this title;

(3) of an appeal from a final

decision of the United States Claims

Court.

28 U.S.C. § 1331

The district courts shall have

original jurisdiction of all civil

actions arising under the Constitution,

laws, or treaties of the United States.

28 U.S.C. § 1346(a)

(a) The district courts shall have

Original jurisdiction, concurrent with

the United States Claims Court, of:

- vil -

(1) Any civil action against the

United States for the recovery of

any internal-revenue tax alleged to

have been erroneously or illegally

assessed or collected, or any

penalty claimed to have been

collected without authority or any

sum alleged to have been excessive

Or in any manner wrongfully

collected under the internal-revenue

laws;

(2) Any other civil action or claim

against the United States, not

exceeding $10,000 in amount, founded

either upon the Constitution, or any

Act of Congress, or any regulation

of an executive department, or upon

any express or implied contract with

the United States, or for liquidated

or unliquidated damages in cases not

- viii -

sounding in tort, except that the

district courts shall not have

jurisdiction of any civil action or

claim against the United States

founded upon any express or implied

contract with the United States or

for liquidated or unliquidated

damages in cases not sounding in

tort which are subject to sections

8(g)(1i) and 10(a)(1) of the Contract

Disputes Act of 1978.

28 U.S.C. § 1491

(a)(1) The United States Claims

Court shall have jurisdiction to render

judgment upon any claim against the

United States founded either upon the

Constitution, or any Act of Congress or

any regulation of an executive

- if «

department, or upon any express or

implied contract with the United States,

or for liquidated or unliquidated

damages in cases not sounding in

tort.

(2) To provide an entire remedy and

to complete the relief afforded by

the judgment, the court may, as an

incident of and collateral to any

such judgment, issue orders

directing restoration to office or

position, placement in appropriate

duty or retirement status, and

correction of applicable records,

and such orders may be issued to any

appropriate official of the United

States. In any case within its

jurisdiction, the court shall have

the power to remand appropriate

matters to any administrative or

executive body or official with such

direction as it may deem proper and

just. The Claims Court shall have

jurisdiction to render judgment upon

any claim by or against, or dispute

with, a contractor arising under

section 16(a)(1) of the Contract

Disputes Act of 1978.

(3) To afford complete relief on

any contract claim brought before

the contract is awarded, the court

shall have exclusive jurisdiction to

Grant declaratory judgments and such

equitable and extraordinary relief

as it deems proper, including but

not limited to injunctive relief.

In exercising this jurisdiction, the

court shall give due regard to the

interests of national defense and

national security.

- gi <«-

42 U.S.C. § 1316

(a)(1) Whenever a State plan is

submitted to the Secretary by a State

for approval under subchapter I, VI, X,

XIV, XVI, or XIX of this chapter, or

part A of subchapter IV of this chapter,

he shall, not later than 90 days after

the date the plan is submitted to him,

make a determination as to whether it

conforms to the requirements for

approval under such subchapter. The

90-day period provided herein may be

extended by written agreement of the

Secretary and the affected State.

(3) <Any State which is dissatisfied

with a final determination made by the

Secretary on such a reconsideration or a

final determination of the Secretary

- xii -

under section 304, 604, 804, 1204, 1354,

1384, or 1396c of this title may, within

60 days after it has been notified of

such determination, file with the United

States court of appeals for the circuit

in which such State is located a

petition for review of such

determination. A copy of the petition

shall be forthwith transmitted by the

clerk of the court to the Secretary.

The Secretary thereupon shall file in

the court the record of the proceedings

on which he based his determinations as

provided in section 2112 of Title 28.

(b) For the purposes of subsection

(a) of this section, any amendment of a

State plan approved under subchapter I,

VI, X, XIV, XVI, or XIX of this chapter,

or part A of subchapter IV of this

chapter, may, at the option of the

- xiii -

State, be treated as the submission of a

new State plan.

(c) Action pursuant to an initial

determination of the Secretary described

in subsection (a) of this section shall

not be stayed pending reconsideration,

but in the event that the Secretary

subsequently determines that his initial

determination was incorrect he shall

certify restitution forthwith in a lump

sum of any funds incorrectly withheld or

otherwise denied.

(d) Whenever the Secretary

determines that any item or class of

items on account of which Federal

financial participation is claimed under

subchapter I, VI, X, XIV, XVI, or XIX of

this chapter, or part A of subchapter IV

of this chapter, shall be disallowed for

such participation, the State shall be

- Kiv -

entitled to and upon request shall

receive a reconsideration of the

disallowance.

42 U.S.C. § 1396c

If the Secretary, after reasonable

notice and opportunity for hearing to

the State agency administering or

supervising the administration of the

State plan approved under this title [42

U.S.C. §§ 1396a et seg.)], finds --

(1) that the plan has been so

changed that it no longer complies

with the provisions of section 1902

{42 U.S.C. § 1396a]; or

(2) that in the administration of

the plan there is a failure to

comply substantially with any such

provision;

- ZY -

the Secretary shall notify such State

agency that further payments will not be

made to the State (or, in his

discretion, that payments will be

limited to categories under or parts of

the State plan not affected by such

failure), until the Secretary is

satisfied that there will no longer be

any such failure to comply. Until he is

so satisfied he shall make no further

payments to such State (or shall limit

payments to categories under or parts of

the State plan not affected by such

failure).

- zvi -

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.