Amicus Curiae Brief — Butterworth v. Smith

Supreme Court brief1990

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

FOR ARGUMENTD on FJ] LED

)

| 18 1989

No. 88-1993 - bec

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.

¢ K

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1989

ROBERT A. BUTTERWORTH, JR.

Attorney General of the State of Florida, and

T. EDWARD AUSTIN, JR.

as State Attorney to the Charlotte County, Florida

Special Grand Jury,

Petitioners,

Vv

MICHAEL SMITH,

Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE REPORTERS

COMMITTEE FOR FREEDOM OF THE PRESS,

AMERICAN NEWSPAPER PUBLISHERS

ASSOCIATION, AMERICAN SOCIETY OF NEWSPAPER

EDITORS, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF

BROADCASTERS, NATIONAL NEWSPAPER

ASSOCIATION, NATIONAL PRESS CLUB,

NEWSLETTER ASSOCIATION, RADIO-TELEVISION

NEWS DIRECTORS ASSOCIATION, AND SOCIETY OF

PROFESSIONAL JOURNALISTS IN SUPPORT OF

RESPONDENT MICHAEL SMITH

Jane E. Kirtley

(Counsel of Record)

Robert S. Becker

The Reporters Committee

For Freedom of the Press

Suite 504

1735 Eye Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 466-6313

December 18, 1989 (Attorneys for Amici Curae)

(List of counsel continued on inside cover)

CASILLAS PRESS INC. 1717 K STREET NW WASHINGTON DC 20036 — 223-1220

\" ,

¢ ,

Wwe

W. Terry Maguire

Claudia James

American Newspaper Publishers

' be

P.O. Bow 17407

Dulles Airport

Washington, D.C. 20041

Richard M. Schmidt, Jr.

Cohn & Marks

1333 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

Attorney for American Society of

Newspaper Editors

Henry L. Baumann

Steven A. Bookshester

National Association of

Broadcasters

1771 N Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

Robert J. Brinkmann

National Newspaper Association

1627 K Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006-1790

Robert Litt

Williams & Connolly

910 17th Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

Attorney for National Press Club

James Grossberg

Ross, Dixon & Masback

Suite 1300 East

555 13th Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20004

Attorney for Newsletter Association

J. Laurent Scharff

Reed, Smith, Shaw & McClay

1200 18th Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

Attorney for Radto-Televiston

News Directors Association

Bruce Sanford

Douglas E. Lee

Baker & Hostetler

1050 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

Attorney for Society of

Professional Journalist

TABLE OF CONTENTS

i) et eesesccesococéocccecs fi

STATEMENT OF INTEREST.....ccccccccccccccee 1

Peewee GOW BROT Bs cccccccccccccccccececse 7

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT.....ccccccccsccee 12

PUNE s CESS Seccececcecccccoccccccccccce LS

I. FLA. STAT. § 905.27 IS AN UNCON-

STITUTIONAL RESTRAINT ON NEWS

EE 15

A. The State's Asserted Interest

Is Not Sufficiently Compelling

To Justify An Absolute Prohi-

bition On Witnesses' Disclosure

Of Their Grand Jury Testimony... 20

l. None of the State's As-

serted Interests Justify

LN es > |

Be There Is No Justification

For A Blanket, Statutory

Ban On Witness Disclosure... 26

B. Florida's Blanket Prohibition Is

Not Narrowly Tailored To Protect

The State's Asserted Interest... 39

II. FLA. STAT. § 905.27 MAKES IT IM-

POSSIBLE FOR THE NEWS MEDIA TO

FULFILL THEIR JUDICIALLY RECOG-

NIZED FUNCTION OF INFORMING THE

PUBLIC ABOUT POLITICAL CORRUPTION

AND THE CONDUCT OF GOVERNMENT

Pew RUEMMe Coscccccccccccccccecccccces 47

EEE LE SEE 59

APPENDIX

Cases

TABLE OF CITATIONS

U.S. 58 (1963)

(1972)

(1941)

, 372

, 408 U.S. 665

U.S. 297 (1976)

U.S.

469 (1975)

, 314 U.S.

’

252

427

, 420

Craig v. Harney, 331 U.S. 367 (1947)

Douglas Oi] Co, of California v.

Petrol Stops Northwest, 441

i ® 211 (1979) eeeeeeeeeeeeeee#e

First Amendment Coalition v.

Judicial Inguiry Board, 784

F.2d 467 (3rd Cir. 1986) .......

Zi , 109

if ese &. Ore

Court, 457 U.S. 596 (1982)

F.2d 61 (lst Cir.

’

1987) .

814

- Tecum, 797 F.2d 676 (8th Cir.

1986)

eeeeeeeveeeeveeeeeeveeeeeeeeee

- ii

Page

16

57

16, 17

18

36

17, 27

49

17

21, 25

47

passim

43

30

30

2 a NEG pe Ae te -

TABLE OF CITATIONS

a -

Cases Page

Tecum, 575 F. Supp. 93 (S.D.N.Y.

1983) hipaa i 9 olen lae reed 31

176 N.J. Super. 455, 423 A.2a

695 (1980) ereereeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee 55

12. 1970, 321 F. Supp. 238 (N.D.

Ohio 1970) ee 47

370 F. Supp. 1282 (S.D. Fla.

1974) eeeceeeeceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeneesee 30

| In_re Russo, 53 F.R.D. 564 (C.D.

{ Cal. 1971) e@eeeeeedtceeeeeeeeeeese 26

, 864 F.2d 1559 (llth

aw TF 1989) eeeee eee eeeeeeeeeeece 30, 31

(Sup. Ct. Suffolk Co. Mass.

1976) eeoeceeeeeeeeoeeeeeeeceeeeeoee 56

412 Pa. 32, 193 A.2d

_ ieee iene ings 56

' (Va. Cir. Ct.

Div. 1, July 18, 1982) ......... 56

Virginia, 435 U.S. 829 (1978) .. passim

, 283 U.S. 697

eeeeeeeeceeeeeeeeeeeeeeses 41

(1931)

- 344 «=

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Cases

- , 427

U.S. 539 (1976) eeeeeveeeeveeeeeee

New York Times v. United States, 403

U.S. 713 (1971) eeeeoeeeeeeeeeeeee

, 328 U.S. 331

(1946) e*eeeseeeeeeeeeneeeeneeneeneeeee

, 249 U.S.

47 (1919) eeeeeneenenetneeeeeeeneeneeee

Seattle Times v. Rhinehart, 467 U.S.

20 (1984) e*eeeeeseeeeeeneeeeeeeeee#e

, 384 U.S. 333

(1966) eeeeeeeneeeeeeeeeeeneeeeeee

, 443

U.S. 97 (1979) e*eeseeseeeeeeneeeeeeeee

, 215 F.2d 617

(3rd Case 1954) eeeeveveeeeeeee eee

, 274 U.S. 357

(1927) eeeeoeeeeeeneeeeseeseeeneeeeeeee

, 348

U.S. 483 (1955) e*eeeeseeeeeeeeeeneeee

Wood v. Georgia, 370 U.S. 375 (1962)

, 739 F.2d 1219 (7th

a

Cir. 1984)

opinion, 469 U.S. 1200 (1985) ..

- iv-

Page

passim

17,

38,

16

16

16

44

49

28

29

21

37

36

17

43

22

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Statutes

Fla. Stat. § 905.27 eereereeeeeeeees

Newspaper Articles

Brine and Wermiel, "3 former Some r-

ville mayors indicted," The

, Aug. 11, 1971,

Pp. Le col. 1 i ee ee oe

Smith, "Suit filed to force Wanicka

to release evidence on so-called

Jackman 'suicide'," -

June 28, 1985, p. 1, col. 1

’

Smith, "Captain disputes Jackman

"suicide'," = , July 3,

1985, P- l, col. Be eeeeeeeeeeee

Smith, "Jackman jury misled by

Eagan?" = , July 18,

1985, Pp. l, col. Be eeeeeeeeeeee

Smith, "Few witnesses called in

probe," = , July 19,

1985, Pp. ie col. 4. eeeeeeeeeeees

Other Materials

V. Blasi, "The Checking Value in

First Amendment Theory," 1977

A.B. Foundation Res.J. 521 .....

S. Beale & W. Bryson, Grand Jury Law

& Practice, S 10:18 (1986) eeeee

Nimmer on Freedom of Speech (1989) ,

"Pulitzer Prizes in Journalism,

1917-1985," Library of Congress

Microfilm 86/225 (H)

= 7 =

Page

passim

54

51

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Other Materials

Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure,

Preliminary Draft, Advisory

Committee Notes (1943) ....ceecee

Minutes of Meeting Feb. 20, 1943 ...

Hearing Before the Advisory Commit-

tee on Rules of Crimirai

Procedure, United States Supreme

Court, Feb. 21, 1941 .cccccccces

Advisory Committee on Rules of

Criminal Procedure, United

States Supreme Court, May 18,

1942 eeeeeoeceeeeoceeeeeeeespeeeeeeneene

Grand Jury Investigation

Indianapolis, Sup. Ct. Marion

Cty., Crim. Div. 1, Dec. 7,

1973; Sup. Ct. Marion Cty.,

Crim. Div. 2, March 25, 1974, —

Sept. 2, 1974, and Oct. 4, 1974

- yvi-

Page

33,

34

35

35

35

55

em OOS

No. 88-1993

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term 1989

Robert A. Butterworth, Jr.,

Attorney General of the State of Florida,

and

T. Edward Austin, Jr.,

as State Attorney to the Charlotte

County, Florida Grand Jury,

Petitioners,

Vv.

Michael Smith,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Eleventh Circuit

Brief of j Reporters Committee

for Freedom of the Press, American

Newspaper Publishers Association,

American Society of Newspaper Editors,

National Association of Broadcasters,

National Newspaper Association, National

Press Club, Newsletter Association,

Radio-Television News Directors

Association, and Society of Professional

Journalists in Support of Respondent

Michael Smith

Amici curiae are nine organizations rep-

-2-

resenting a broad spectrum of print and

broadcast journalists nationally who gather

and disseminate news about criminal judicial

proceedings and the operations of

government.

They believe that adoption of the posi-

tion advocated by the Petitioner -- that a

broad, mandatory, perpetual gag on grand

jury witnesses in all cases is permissible

under the First Amendment -- would have a

detrimental impact on news coverage well

beyond the boundaries of Florida. If wit-

nesses, including journalists, can be forev-

er prevented from discussing publicly what

they know about a case merely because they

were questioned by grand juries “some con-

tinuing public grievances could never be

discussed at all. .. ." Wood v. Georgia,

370 U.S. 375, 393 (1962).

Amici have written permission from both

parties to file this brief. Copies of their

letters have been filed with the clerk in

accordance with U.S. Supreme Court Rule 29.

Amici are:

The Reporters Committee for Freedom of

the Press is an unincorporated association

of working reporters and news editors dedi-

cated to protecting the First Amendment and

freedom of information interests of the news

media. It has provided research, guidance

Or representation in virtually every major

press freedoms case since its founding in

1970.

The American Newspaper Publishers As-

sociation is a nonprofit corporation whose

membership consists of about 1,400 newspa-

pers constituting about 90 percent of the

total daily and Sunday newspaper circula-

tion, and a substantial portion of the week-

ly newspaper circulation, in the United

States.

The American Society of Newspaper

Editors is a nationwide, professional orga-

nization of more than 1,090 people who hold

positions as directing editors of daily

newspapers throughout the United States.

The National Association of Broadcast-

ers, organized in 1922, is a nonprofit in-

corporated trade association that serves and

represents America's radio and television

stations and all the major networks. NAB

seeks to preserve and enhance its members’

ability to freely disseminate information

concerning the activities of government and

other matters of public concern.

The National Newspaper Association, with

5,000 members, is the oldest and largest na-

tional trade association in the newspaper

industry, representing the interests of

weekly and daily newspapers throughout the

country.

The National Press Club is a dues~-paying

organization of more than 4,300 print and

broadcast correspondents, reporters,

editors, photographers, publishers, edito-

rial writers and editorial news cartoonists

'

'

:

’

;

'

and artists, among others. The Club takes

an active interest in the exercising of

press rights nationally and, through its

Freedom of the Press Committee, has spon-

sored hundreds of presentations on press re-

sponsibilities and freedoms.

The Newsletter Association is an inter-

national trade association of 850 publishers

of more than 2,000 newsletters and other

specialized services.

The Radio-Television News Directors As-

sociation, with a membership of more than

3,000 persons, is the principal professional

Organization of journalists -- executives,

editors, reporters and others -- who gather

and disseminate news and other information

on radio and television in the United

States.

The Society of Professional Journalists

is a voluntary, nonprofit organization of

nearly 20,000 members. The Society is the

largest and oldest organization of journal-

ists in the United States, representing

every branch and rank of print and broadcast

journalism.

= ee

STATEMENT OF PACTS

Amici adopt the statement of the case

and facts as set forth by the State of

Florida with the following additions.

In 1985, the Charlotte, Fla.,

Herald-News published several stories by

Michael Smith alleging corruption in the of-

fice of State Attorney Joseph D'Alessandro.

Smith reported that D'Alessandro had with-

held information from grand jurors during

investigations and had failed to press

charges against drug smugglers who later

were indicted by federal grand juries. See

Appendix at pg. A-4.

On June 26, 1985, the Herald-News pub-

lished a story by Smith alleging that Lee

County officials covered up a 1974 homicide

near the boundary of Lee and Charlotte

counties. The front-page story stated that

evidence had been uncovered by Smith and two

private individuals indicating that of-

ficials had deliberately made the killing of

18-year-old Brad Jackman look like a

suicide. Lee County Sheriff Frank Wanicka,

who was hunting with Jackman when he was

shot, and some of his deputies "may have

participated in the cover-up,” the newspaper

concluded, based upon Smith's months-long

investigation. See Appendix at pg. A-l.

Shortly after Jackman's death, the Lee

County Sheriff's Department, the Florida De-

partment of Criminal Law Enforcement, the

Lee County medical examiner, the Dade County

medical examiner, and a Lee County grand

jury investigating the death all concluded

that Jackman had committed suicide. See Ap-

pendix at pg. A-l.

After the initial story, the Herald-News

published several other articles by Smith

alleging a cover-up of Jackman's death by

Wanicka, D'Alessandro and State Attorney

Robert Eagan, the prosecutor in charge of

- 9 -

the 1976 grand jury inquiry into the death,

and other officials.1

Subsequently, a new grand jury convened

to re-examine evidence related to the

homicide. It asked Smith to testify in

December 1985. Shortly thereafter,

D'Alessandro, who was rumored to be a target

of the grand jury investigation, disquali-

fied himself from the inquiry and asked the

governor to appoint an outside state at-

torney to handle the case. D'Alessandro

stated that he was withdrawing 'from any

grand jury probe resulting from Smith's

testimony. See Appendix at pg. A-3.

1 See e.g. Smith, “Suit filed to force

Wanicka to release evidence on so-called

Jackman ‘'suicide'," Herald-News, June 28,

1985, p. 1, col. 1; Smith, "Captain disputes

Jackman ‘suicide'," Herald-News, July 3,

1985, p. 1, col. ly Smith, “Jackman jury

misled by Eagan?" Herald-News, July 18,

1985, p. 1, col. 1; Smith, "Few witnesses

called in probe," Herald-News, Jul

1985, p. 1, col. 4. ere

=-"10 -

T. Edward Austin, a state attorney in

Jacksonville, was appointed to succeed

D'Alessandro. Austin asked Smith to testify

before the grand jury a second time in

January 1986. Afterward, Austin publicly

stated that D'Alessandro's office was a tar-

get of the grand jury inquiry. See Appendix

at pg. A-5.

Austin subpoenaed Smith to appear before

the grand jury again in March 1986.* At

that time, the state attorney's staff warned

Smith that, once he testified, he was pro-

hibited from publishing any information

about the grand jury investigation.

The special grand jury terminated its

investigation in April 1986 without issuing

any indictments.

* Because Smith testified voluntarily on two

eccasions and complied with the subpoena

summoning him before the grand jury for a

third time, Amici will not address the issue

of whether the grand jury had authority

under state case law to compel him to

testify.

= - eer ere

- ll -

Myers News-Press and St, Petersburg

News-Press reported the contents of Smith's

Stories and the fact that Smith testified

before the grand jury about the subject of

his stories.

- 12 -

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

Fla. Stat. § 905.27 is unconstitutional,

whether it is viewed as a prior restraint on

speech by grand jury witnesses or a

post-publication punishment of those who

disclose what they told the grand jury.

Such restraints or sanctions are permissible

only when expression poses a clear and

present danger to some compelling state in-

terest and if they are capable of protecting

that interest without undue infringement on

First Amendment rights.

Before prohibiting speech or punishing a

speaker after the fact, the government must

demonstrate that a compelling interest is at

stake in the case at bar. With regard to

Respondent Michael Smith, the state has

never demonstrated how disclosure of his

grand jury testimony will jeopardize the ef-

fectiveness of the grand jury which has long

since adjourned. In fact, this case clearly

illustrates how adoption of the state's po-

- 13-

sition would make it possible for prosecu-

tors, by subpoenaing reporters, to deprive

the public of important information about

government corruption.

Furthermore, Florida's claims that dis-

closure by grand jury witnesses generally

will harm the grand jury process are so re-

mote and speculative that they cannot serve

as the basis for a statutory prohibition

against disclosure by all grand jury

witnesses.

Even in cases where a compelling inter-

est can be demonstrated, the state must also

prove that a restraint on expression is nar-

rowly tailored to prevent the perceived

harm. However, through its contempt provi-

Sion, the Florida statute creates a presump-

tion that anything a grand jury witness says

publicly about the matter under investiga-

tion after testifying is material that was

presented to the panel. This effectively

reverses the presumption, enunciated repeat-

-14-

edly by this Court, that speech about public

affairs is protected under the First Amend-

ment unless the government proves that there

is a compelling need to keep the specific

type of information secret. Furthermore, by

prohibiting disclosure by witnesses in all

cases, the statute permits no case-by-case

examination to determine whether a restraint

will be effective and whether it is narrowly

tailored.

Pinally, the broad restriction on ex-

pression imposed by this statute is detri-

mental to the very system the state of

Florida claims it is protecting. The news

media have a long and distinguished history

of uncovering and reporting on political

corruption. If a reporter can be barred

from discussing corruption charges merely

because he or she has been questioned by

grand jurors, a skillful prosecutor can ef-

fectively silence criticism of his perfor-

mance or that of his political allies.

- 15 -

I. PLA. STAT. § 905.27 IS AN UNCOR-

STITUTIONAL RESTRAINT ON NEWS DIS-

SEMINATION

The Florida statute operates as both a

prior restraint on speech and subsequent

punishment of those who disclose grand jury

testimony. It prohibits grand jury wit-

nesses from disclosing their own testimony

(§ 905.27(1)) and the news media from dis-

seminating the testimony of witnesses who

make such disclosures (§ 905.27(2)). A per-

son who violates these prohibitions can be

convicted of a misdemeanor (§ 905.27(4)) or

held in criminal contempt (§ 905.27(5)).

As this Court recognized in Nebraska

Press Association v, Stuart, 427 U.S. 539

(1976):

prior restraints on speech and publica-

tion are the most serious and the least

tolerable infringement on First Amend-

ment rights. - « « The damage can be

particularly great when the prior re-

straint falls upon the communication of

news and commentary on current events.

- 16 -

Id, at 359. "Any system of prior re-

~gstraints of expression comes to this Court

bearing a heavy presumption against its con-

stitutional validity." New York Times v.

United States, 403 U.S. 713, 714 (1971)

(quoting Bantam Books, Inc. v. Sullivan, 372

U.S. 58, 70 (1963) (citations omitted).

Justice Holmes first noted that the

First Amendment protects speakers against

being punished for their utterances as well

as against prior restraints. Schenck yv.

United States, 249 U.S. 47, 51-52 (1919).

Since then, this Court has repeatedly held

that laws and court rulings penalizing

speakers for contempt for discussing or

criticizing government actions are

unconstitutional.2 On numerous occasions it

2 See e.g. Bridges v. California, 314 U.S.

252 (1941) (voiding publisher's contempt for

criticizing judge's action in labor

dispute); Pennekamp vy. Florida, 328 U.S. 331

(1946) (voiding contempt for inaccurate

accusation in newspaper during grand jury

proceeding that judges were lenient toward

certain individuals under grand jury

- 179

has concluded that states cannot constitu-

tionally impose criminal or civil penalties

for publishing information lawfully obtained

by the news media from judicial records,

other government documents or by employing

routine reporting techniques.?

In Schenck, Justice Holmes asserted that

sanctions may be imposed against a speaker

only when “the words used .. . create a

clear and present danger that they will

2 continued

investigation); Craig v. Harney, 331 U.S.-

367 (1947) (voiding media contempt for

criticizing judge's action in civil case);

, 370 U.S. 375 (1962)

(voiding county sheriff's contempt for

charging publicly that grand jury was being

used for political purposes and for

interfering with the grand jury).

3 See Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420

U.S. 469 (1975) (rape victim's name obtained

from document court clerk permitted reporter

to read); Landmark Communications, Inc, v.

Virginia, 435 U.S. 829 (1978) (information

about secret judicial inguiry board

proceeding); Smith v. Daily Mail Pub, Co.,

443 U.S. 97 (1979) (name of juvenile

homicide suspect obtained from police and

prosecutor); The Plorida Star vy. B.J.F., 109

S.Ct. 2603 (1989) (rape victim's name

obtained from document sheriff placed in

press room).

- 18 -

bring about the substantive evils that Con-

gress has a right to prevent." 249 U.S. at

52 (emphasis added). Looking back on the

line of cases refining Justice Holmes’ stan-

dard, the Court stated in Bridges vy. Cali-

fornia, 314 U.S. 252 (1941), that:

What finally emerges from the "clear

and present danger" cases is a working

principle that the substantive evil

must be extremely serious and the de-

gree of imminence extremely high before

utterances can be punished.

Id. at 263.

This Court has stated that prior re-

straints on publication of information re-

porters obtain legally pose an even greater

threat to First Amendment interests than

statutes which penalize speakers after the

fact.

A prior restraint, by contrast [to

a post-publication penalty] and by def-

inition, has an immediate and irrevers-

ible sanction. If it can be said that

a threat of criminal or civil sanctions

after publication “chills” speech,

prior restraint "freezes" it at least

for a time.

- 19 -

Nebraska Press, 427 U.S. at 559 (footnote

omitted).

It does not matter whether application

of § 905.27 to grand jury witnesses is

viewed as a prior restraint or a punishment

after the fact. Under the decisions cited

above, it could pass constitutional muster

only if Florida could demonstrate a compel-

ling state interest in preventing witnesses

from disclosing their own testimony and

that, in the case at bar, disclosure would

pose a "clear and present danger" to that

interest. It would have to demonstrate that

the statute is narrowly tailored to ef-

fectively serve that interest without impos-

ing an unnecessary burden on protected

expression, Nebraska Press, 427 U.S. at

562.

- 20 -

A. The State's Asserted Interest

Is Not Sufficiently Compelling

To Justify An Absolute Prohi-

bition On Witnesses’ Disclo- .

sure Of Their Grand Jury Tes-

timony

The state of Florida contends that the

blanket, perpetual prohibition against wit-

ness disclosure in § 905.27 is warranted by

a compelling need to protect the secrecy of

grand jury proceedings. In support of this

proposition, it cites the justifications

provided by this Court for maintaining grand

jury secrecy generally:

(1) To prevent the escape of those

whose indictment may be contemplat-

ed;

(2) to insure the utmost freedom to the

grand jury in its deliberations,

and to prevent persons subject to

indictment or their friends from

importuning the grand jurors;

(3) to prevent subornation of perjury

Or tampering with the witness who

may testify before [the] grand jury

and later appear at the trial of

those indicted by it;

(4) to encourage free and untrammeled

disclosures by persons who have in-

formation with respect to commis-

sion of crimes;

(5) to protect [the] innocent accused

who is exonerated from disclosure

of the fact that he has been under

investigation, and from the expense

of standing trial where there was

no probability of guilt.

- 21 -

Douglas Oil Co, of California v. Petrol

Stops Northwest, 441 U.S. 211, 219 (1979)

(quoting United States vy. Rose, 215 F.2d

617, 628-29 (3rd Cir. 1954)).

However, the mere existence of a gener-

alized state interest, no matter how compel-

ling, is not sufficient to deprive a person

of First Amendment protection. The State

must demonstrate the need for secrecy on a

case-by-case basis and it has provided no

explanation of how disclosure by reporter

Michael Smith of his own grand jury testimo-

ny after the grand jury has adjourned would

jeopardize any of the interests enumerated

in Douglas Oil. It has not even claimed

that this grand jury investigation or wit-

ness is unique, justifying a restraint on

witness disclosure in this case.

l. None Of The State's As-

serted Interests Justify

Gagging Smith

Addressing each alleged danger in turn,

it becomes apparent that the state's fears

- 22 -

are not only hypothetical, but are - remote

and speculative that they fail to establish

a compelling need for perpetually gagging

Smith.

Prohibiting Smith from publishing infor-

mation about his appearance before the grand

jury will not prevent those who might be in-

dicted from escaping because in this case

the grand jury investigation has been termi-

nated and no one was indicted.4 Purther-

4 This Court affirmed a decision declaring

unconstitutional an Indiana statute which

subjected to criminal punishment any person

who published the name of an individual

against whom a sealed indictment or

information had been filed until the

defendant was in custody. Worrel)

Newspapers of Indiana. Inc. v. Westhafer,

739 F.2d 1219 (7th Cir. 1984), af£'d without

epinion, 469 U.S. 1200 (1985). In its

Opinion, the Seventh Circuit said:

[T)he language of the statute does not

limit its applicability to those

situations which do present a “clear

and present danger." At best the

State's fears are remote and

speculative. This degree of danger is

=» 23 «

more, while the grand jury was in session,

its targets already knew that they were

under investigation.

Similarly, there is no danger that

Smith's proposed publications would inter-

fere with grand jury deliberations or would

prompt targets of the investigation to at-

tempt to influence the proceedings.» Be-

cause the grand jury adjourned without re-

turning any indictments, there is no reason

for anyone to tamper with witnesses or dis-

4 continued

insufficient to warrant an infringement

on the First Amendment.

Id. 739 F.2d at 1225.

5 The State argues that grand jurors need to

remain anonymous in order to carry out their

function without fear of reprisal. But it

is routine in at least some parts of Florida

to call the roll of grand jurors in open

court when they are given their charge and

to repeat this procedure when they return to

open court following deliberations. This

long-standing practice belies the state's

argument that juror anonymity is essential

to the grand jury process. Appendix at A-6

to A-9.

- 24 <-

courage potential witnesses from testifying.

While it is conceivable that a second grand

jury could be convened, this rarely occurs,

and surely is no justification for a blanket

prohibition in this instance or with regard

to grand juries generally.

The concern that disclosure will reveal

the identities of the innocent accused has

some facial appeal here because no indict-

ments were returned. But it is specious be-

cause the identities of individuals under

investigation had already been widely

publicized. See Appendix at pg. A-5. In

fact, Smith's proposed publications might

actually dispel rumors and gossip about the

targets of the investigation. As this Court

observed in voiding a prior restraint

prohibiting news stories about a criminal

pretrial suppression hearing:

It is reasonable to assume that,

without any news accounts being printed

or broadcast, rumors would travel

swiftly by word of mouth. One can only

speculate on the accuracy of such re-

ports, given the generative propensi-

ties of rumors; they could well be more

- 25 -

damaging than reasonably accurate news

accounts.

Nebraska Press, 427 U.S. at 567.

The state argues that the prohibitions

in § 905.27 are necessary because permitting

witnesses to disclose their own testimony

could have an inhibiting effect on witnesses

in future grand jury investigations as well

as on the particular grand jury in question.

Petitioners Brief at 11-13. But the State

reads more meaning into this Court's deci-

sion in Douglas Oil than is warranted. That

case involved the request of a third party

for access to a transcript of grand jury

testimony for use in a civil proceeding. A

request for disclosure of information not

provided by the person seeking access dif-

fers markedly strom Smith's desire to dis-

close only his own testimony.

In Douglas Oil, the Court said that po-

tential witnesses would be reluctant to ap-

pear before a grand jury out of fear that a

judge or someone privy to the investigation

- 26 -

would reveal their testimony later. But

there is no foundation for the assertion

that allowing each witness to decide for

himself whether to disclose his own testimo-

ny will have an inhibiting effect on poten-

tial witnesses in future grand jury

investigations.

The State has failed to demonstrate that

Smith's proposed publications would "dimin-

ish the effectiveness" of either this grand

jury or future grand juries. In re Russo,

53 F.R.D. 564, 572 (C.D. Cal. 1971). It

follows, then, that there is no compelling

need for an absolute and permanent restraint

on Smith's First Amendment right to speak.

2. There Is No Justification

For A Blanket, Statutory

Ban On Witness Disclosure

Florida's blanket prohibition on disclo-

sure is facially unconstitutional with re-

gard to grand jury witnesses as well as be-

ing unconstitutional as applied to Smith in

this case.

- 27 «

Beginning with Cox Broadcasting, Inc. vs

Cohn, 420 U.S. 469 (1975), this Court has

repeatedly overturned prior restraints and

post-publication punishment aimed at jour-

nalists who, like Smith, legally obtained

information about judicial proceedings and

criminal cases. Justice Holmes' “clear and

present danger" standard is at least implic-

it in every one of them. In each, this

Court required the state to demonstrate how

the situation confronting the court that im-

posed the restraint posed a serious and im

minent threat to the asserted state

interest.

In Landmark Communications, supra, a

newspaper publisher was convicted under a

Virginia statute that prohibited disclosure

of information regarding proceedings before

a state judicial review commission. The

state constitution provided ‘or the commis-

sion to investigate charges against judges

and to operate in confidentiality. A state

- 26 «

statute made it a crime to disclose informa-

tion related to judicial inquiries.

This Court recognized the importance of

confidentiality in such proceedings, as evi-

denced by incorporation of the provision in

the Virginia Constitution, and that secrecy

facilitated the work of the commission. But

it held that the need for secrecy did not

justify penalizing the news media for pub-

lishing truthful information about the pro-

ceedings obtained legally, especially be-

cause such speech “lies near the core of the

_First Amendment." Id,, 435 U.S. at 838.

In Smith v. Daily Mail, 443 U.S. 97

(1979), the Court also found a state inter-

est in confidentiality of juvenile criminal

proceedings significant, but not suf-

ficiently compelling to justify a blanket

secrecy rule. At issue in that case was a

West Virginia statute that made it a crime

for a newspaper to publish, without approval

of the Juvenile Court, the name of any youth

- 29 -

charged as a juvenile offender. Relying on

Landmark, the Court held that the state's

interest in protecting the anonymity of ju-

venile offenders did not justify imposing

criminal sanctions on the press for the

truthful publication of the identity of a

juvenile suspect in a homicide investigation

obtained from a prosecutor and police.

In The Florida Star v. B.J,F., 109 S.Ct.

2603 (1989), a jury awarded civil damages to

a rape victim who sued a newspaper under a

Florida statute making it a crime for the

media to publish the names of sexual assault

victims. The newspaper obtained the name

from a police report made available to re-

porters by the sheriff. Relying heavily on

Smith vy. Daily Mail, this Court voided the

award, holding that the state's interest in

protecting privacy was not se compelling

that it would overcome the media's First

Amendment right to publish lawfully ob-

= 36 -

tained, truthful information in all

instances .®

It should be noted that the State of

Plorida argues here, as it did in Florida

Star, that because the Legislature passed a

statute creating a class of confidential in-

formation and designating who may have such

material, anyone else cannot obtain the in-

formation legally. It goes on to state that:

6 Several federal courts have recognized

that gags on grand jury witnesses are

permissible only upon a showing of

compelling need in the case at bar, rather

than a generalized claim that grand juries

must be secret to function properly. For

example, the Eighth Circuit hele that “there

must be a ‘compelling necessity .. . shown

with particularity’." In re Grand Jury

Subpoena Duces Tecum, 797 F.2d 676, 681 (8th

Cir. 19%6). That ruling was cited by the

Eleventh Circuit in upholding a District

Court order mandating grand jury witness

secrecy. In re Subpoena to Testify Before

Grand Jury, 864 F.2d 1559 (llth Cir. 1989).

See also In re Grand Jury Witness Subpoenas,

370 F. Supp. 1282, 1285 (S.D. Fla. 1974)

("under the circumstances of this case,

disclosure would be inconsistent with valid

reasons for maintaining a cloak of secrecy

in grand jury proceedings"). See also In re

, 814 F.2d 61, 69 (lst

Cir. 1987) (secrecy order not justified when

government “has not made a showing of why

@ 3) -

because suppression of lawfully ob-

tained information is not at stake, the

state need not show that continued se-

crecy represents “the highest form of

state interest" or a “compelling state

interest."

Petitioner's Brief at 18.

But this Court has rejected the argu-

ment, stating that:

the fact that state officials are not

required to disclose such reports does

not make it unlawful for a newspaper to

receive them. .. . Nor does the fact

that the Department apparently failed

to fulfill its obligation under

§ 794.03 not to “cause or allow to be

+ « « published" the name of a sexual

6 Continued

secrecy would be required in these

particular circumstances"); and In re Grand

» 575 F. Supp. 93,

94 (S.D.N.Y. 1983) (government claim that

"investigation would be frustrated" does not

constitute a “particularized showing of need

for secrecy” sufficient to overcome First

Amendment interests). In all of these cases

the grand juries were still in session, a

factor that was critical in the two Florida

federal court cases in which secrecy orders

were upheld. The Eleventh Circuit found

that “[t])he court's concern for grand jury

secrecy and for the grand jury's law

enforcement function is generally greatest

during the investigative phase of grand jury

proceedings.” 864 F.2d at 1564, quoting S.

Beale & W. Bryson, Grand Jury Law &

Practice, § 10:18 (1986).

- 32 -

offense victim make the newspaper's en-

suing receipt of this information

- unlawful.

Florida Star, 109 S.Ct. at 2610-11. It not-

ed that the state could provide a remedy

against the government employee or agency

that disclosed confidential information, but

not against the media.

In Landmark Communications, without

passing on the constitutionality of the Vir-

ginia law prohibiting disclosure of judicial

inquiry material, this Court concluded that

the newspaper legally obtained the informa-

tion even though its source almost certainly

violated the law. Under Landmark, a report-

er who obtains and publishes grand jury tes-

timony in violation of § 905.27(2) cannot

constitutionally be punished.

Adoption of Florida's position in this

case would lead to the absurd result that a

reporter could publish information leaked by

a grand juror without fear of punishment,

but could not disclose his own testimony.

- 33 <-

Furthermore, this Court would send a clear

Signal that subpoenaing reporters covering a

political corruption investigation could

work to a prosecutor's advantage by cutting

off the flow of information to the public.

As the Eleventh Circuit properly noted

in ruling that § 905.27 cannot constitution-

ally be applied to witnesses, the failure of

the federal court system to impose a blanket

restraint on grand jury witnesses undermines

Florida's contention that there is a suf-.

ficiently compelling need for perpetually

Silencing them. Indeed, the Federal Rules

of Criminal Procedure have always specifi-

_ cally exempted witnesses from grand jury se-

crecy requirements. Fed. R. Crim. P. 6(e).

See Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure,

Preliminary Draft, Advisory Committee Notes

- 34 -

(1943) (secrecy rule “does not apply to wit-

nesses before the grand jury”).?

The State correctly points out that the

federal rule does not set a limit on how

states can ensure the secrecy of grand jury

proceedings. Petitioners Brief at 15. But

the 43-year history of Rule 6(e) demon-

strates that allowing grand jury witnesses

to disclose their own testimony does not im-

pair the federal grand jury system.

7 On at least three occasions between

Pebruary 1941 and February 1943, the

Advisory Committee on Rules of Criminal

Procedure discussed whether Fed. R. Crim. P.

6(e) should apply to witnesses. One member

explained his opposition to a gag on

witnesses as follows:

MR. MEDALIE: . . . An employee has a

right to come back and tell his boss; a

fellow director has a right to come

back and tell his fellow director what

has happened. What has happened here

is that people in close personal

relations cannot tell each other what

happened before the grand jury when it

is to their interest and the interest

of their business; everything they are

doing; they should know and exchange

that information.

Now we have developed a notion

about grand jury secrecy that is really

- 3§ -

In addition, the experience of at least

30 states that do not impose blanket bans on

disclosure by grand jury witnesses belies

Plorida's claim. Among these states, rules

in 11 states, plus the District of Columbia

and the Virgin Islands, specifically exclude

witnesses from grand jury secrecy, and rules

in four states have been interpreted as op-

erating similarly to Rule 6(e). In addi-

tion, rules in at least 15 states are silent

7 Continued

perfectly absurd. After all, it is

only an inguiry made by a judicial

body. .. . In New York, for instance,

there is no prohibition in the statute

on a witness telling what his testimony

was before the grand jury. Nothing bad

has happened, and the pretense of this

secrecy simply produces a falsehood.

The fact is there is not that secrecy.

Minutes of Meeting Feb. 20, 1943, at 288.

See also Hearing Before the Advisory

Committee on Rules of Criminal Procedure,

United States Supreme Court, Feb. 21, 1941

at 75-76; Advisory Committee on Rules of

Criminal Procedure, United States Supreme

Court, May 18, 1942 at 222-226.

- 36 -

as to any secrecy requirement on grand jury

witnesses. See Appendix at pg. A-10.

Florida, nonetheless, claims that re-

gardless of what the federal courts and

other states have decided, it is “within the

discretion” of its Legislature to enforce

"an absolute blanket of secrecy” on grand

jury witnesses. Petitioners Brief at 15,

17.

Judicial deference to legislative policy

decisions is appropriate in some instances.

Williamson vy. Lee Optical Co,, 348 U.S. 483

(1955) (upholds court deference to legisla-

tive purpose in enacting economic regula-

tion); City of New Orleans vy. Dukes, 427

U.S. 297, 303 (1976) ("the judiciary may not

sit as a superlegislature to judge the wis-

dom or desirability of legislative policy

determinations made in areas that neither

affect fundamental rights nor proceed along

suspect lines"). But ungualified deference

to the policy-making discretion of the

- 37 -

Plorida Legislature is impermissible where,

as here, the state statute infringes a right

protected by the U.S. Constitution. "Defer-

ence to a legislative finding cannot limit

judicial inquiry when First Amendment rights

are at stake." Landmark Communications, 435

U.S. at 843. Chief Justice Burger stated

that while the Legislature may appropriately

declare its purposes in enacting a particu-

lar law:

(T] he judicial function commands analy-

Sis of whether the specific conduct

charged falls within the reach of the

statute and if so whether the iegisla-

tion is consonant with the

Constitution. Were it otherwise, the

scope of freedom of speech and of the

press would be subject to legislative

definition and the function of the

First Amendment as a check on legisla-

tive power would be nullified.

Id. at 844.8

8 The Court quoted with approval Justice

Brandeis' concurring opinion in

California, 274 U.S. 357, 378-79 (1927):

[A legislative declaration] does not

preclude enquiry into the question

whether, at the time and under the

circumstances, the conditions existed

- 38 -

Furthermore:

The ultimate responsibility to define

the limits of state power regarding

freedom of speech and expression rests

with this Court, [citations omitted]

and when it is claimed that such liber-

ties have been abridged, we cannot al-

low a presumption of validity of the

exercise of state power to interfere

with our close examination of the sub-

stantive claim presented.

Wood v. Georgia, 370 U.S. 375, 386 (1962)

(footnote omitted).

Because the state has demonstrated

neither a compelling need to silence Smith

in this case nor an interest in protecting

grand jury secrecy so great that a blanket

8 continued

which are essential to validity under

the Federal constitution. .. -

Whenever the fundamental rights of free

speech and assembly are alleged to have

been invaded, it must remain open to 4

defendant to present the issue whether

there actually did exist at the time a

clear danger; whether the danger, if

any, was imminent; and whether the evil

apprehended was one so substantial as

to justify the stringent restriction

interposed by the Legislature.

Landmark, 435 U.S. at 843-44.

- 39 -

prohibition would be permissible, this Court

should declare § 905.27 unconstitutional to

the extent that it prohibits grand jury wit-

nesses, including reporters, from disclosing

their own testimony.

B. Florida's Blanket Prohibition

Protect The State's asserted

Interest

Even if this Court were to find that

Florida's interest in protecting grand jury

secrecy is sufficiently compelling, § 905.27

is unconstitutional. The decisions of this

Court require that no restraint on speech be

imposed unless it is capable of furthering

that interest without unduly infringing on

the First Amendment interests at stake in a

arti

particular case. Nebraska Press, 427 U.S.

at 562.

The State vehemently asserts that

§ 905.27, while prohibiting publication of

what a witness tells the grand jury, does

not prevent him from reporting information

- 40 -

gained through his "independent efforts.”

Petitioner's Brief at 20. It claims, there-

fore, that § 905.27 serves its purpose

without unduly burdening protected speech.

The State's argument that § 905.27 is

narrowly tailored is disingenuous because

before the grand jury witnesses can testify

only as to what they know before appearing,

and can identify and discuss only evidence

which they have previously seen. Therefore,

the statute can serve its intended purpose

only if it prohibits witnesses from discuss-

ing all that they know about the subject un-

der investigation merely because they were

questioned by the grand jury.

Furthermore, the State acknowledges that

the gag imposed by § 905.27 prohibits dis-

closure of far more than that which tran-

spires in the grand jury room. It states

that the statute prohibits "Smith from re-

porting facts that he did [] learn or testi-

fy to when he was before the grand jury.”

—_®

e.—

- 41 -

Petitioner's Brief at 20, n. 8 (emphasis

added). It would appear, therefore, that if

a witness such as Smith is questioned close-

ly by the grand jury there will be nothing

that person can say publicly after appearing

before the panel.

The statute's criminal contempt provi-

Sion, § 905.27(5), makes it virtually impos-

sible for witnesses to disclose anything re-

lated to their testimony.

As this Court stated in Near yv,

Minnesota, 283 U.S. 697 (1931):

where a newspaper .. . has been sup-

pressed because of the circulation of

charges against public officials of of-

ficial misconduct, it would seem to be

clear that the renewal of the publica-

tion of such charges would constitute a

contempt, and that the judgment would

lay a permanent restraint upon the pub-

lisher to escape which he must satisfy

the court as to the character of a new

publication. ...,

If we cut through mere details of

procedure, . . . public authorities may

bring the owner .. . before a judge

upon a charge of conducting a business

of publishing scandalous and defamatory

matter . . . and, unless the owner

- «+ «+ is able and disposed to bring

competent evidence to satisfy the judge

that the charges are true and are pub-

lished with good motives and for justi-

fiable ends, his newspaper .. . is

Suppressed and further nuhlieatinn ic

- 42 -

made punishable as a contempt. This is

of the essence of censorship.

Id. at 283 U.S. 709-710

So, too, Fla. Stat. § 905.27 creates a

presumption that a person who publicly dis-

cusses matters under investigation, after

appearing as a witness, has violated the

law. The witness runs the risk of being

hauled before a judge and bearing the ex-

pense of hiring a lawyer to prove that the

comments were based on information obtained

through “independent efforts.”

In overturning a contempt finding

against a sheriff who not only made public

the nature of a grand jury investigation of

him, but communicated directly and publicly

with the panel, the Court stated that:

Consistent suppression of discussion

likely to affect pending investigations

would mean that some continuing public

grievances could never be discussed at

all, or at least not at the moment when

public discussion is most needed. .. .

[I]n the absence of any showing of an

actual interference with the undertak-

ings of the grand jury, this record

lacks persuasion in illustrating the

serious degree of harm to the adminis-

tration of law necessary to justify ex-

ercise of the contempt power.

. ee

- 43 -

Wood, 370 U.S. at 393.

A statute which prohibits grand jury

witnesses from disclosing their own testimo-

ny regardless of whether such speech would

interfere with the inquiry is, by defini-

tion, not narrowly tailored to protect the

state's interest. As this Court recognized

in Wood, supra, with regard to invocation of

the contempt power, and in Florida Star with

regard to imposition of civil damages fol-

lowing publication, 109 S.ct. at 2612,

case-by-case examination is required by the

Pirst Amendment.9 As the decisions cited

9 As the Court ruled i

n void

Massachusetts statute requiring rh ngpeat

proceedings in all criminal cases involving

juvenile sexual assault victims, mandatory

court closure statutes are, by definition

mot narrowly tailored to protect a

compelling state interest. Glooe Newspaper

Co, v. Superior Court, 457 U.S. 596, 607-

(1982). Acknowledging the shusbddaens

interest states have in protecting young

victims, the court nonetheless said that the

need for secrecy must be demonstrated on a

case-by-case basis. Such analysis is no

less necessary before restrictions are

- 44 <-

in footnote 6, supra, indicate, requiring 4

court in each case to evaluate the state's

asserted need for secrecy and the breadth of

any gag order, if required, would impose

only a minimal burden on the government .10

This case clearly illustrates the over-

breadth of § 905.27. The grand jury was

convened as a result of Smith's stories pub-

lished in the Charlotte, Fla., Herald-News.

The Florida statute makes it impossible for

9 continued

imposed on speech. Florida Star, 109 S.Ct.

at 2612.

10 Petitioners’ reliance on Seattle Times

vy. Rhinehart, 467 U.S. 20 (1984), to support

a contrary result is misplaced. In fact,

that decision endorses the proposition that

case-by-case analysis is required before

issuance of a prior restraint. Id. at 37

(Brennan, J., concurring). Purthermore,

that case did not involve a broad, perpetual

ban on speech like the one imposed by

§ 905.27. This Court stated that the

potential for abuse of the civil discovery

process by litigants is very great and that

a party could inflict great harm on an

opponent or third parties if no limits could

be placed on disclosure of information

obtained under the discovery rules. Id, at

34-35. The criminal justice system is

designed to minimize the potential for such

- 45 -

Suith, after appearing before the grand

jury, to publish information acguired in the

course of his investigative reporting as

well as that which he told the grand jury.

If he were to publish anything about the

case it is likely that he would be held in

contempt and forced to suffer the expense of

Proving that what he published was not part

of his testimony.

Prohibiting him from disclosing his tes-

timony will not alleviate the harms that the

Statute was intended to prevent. Por in-

Stance, despite Smith's refusal to answer

reporters’ questions when he emerged from

the grand jury room, news accounts at the

10 Continued

abuses, so it is not nec

essa to

a , -y— determining #2 —

witnesses. In additi

possibility of abuse of eo

the

ony — AF _= , pocadttion cokes

. sclosure

because prosecutorial sinouminen ot Gee

Grand juries

Scammed are matters of grave public

~

- 46 -

time clearly indicated, and the special

prosecutor acknowledged, that the investiga-

tion centered on the State Attorney's

office. See Appendix pg. A-5.

The only issue about which the news

media speculated was whether the grand jury

was investigating the possibility that a

1974 death had been a homicide that was cov-

ered up, or a case in which a county grand

jury failed to indict several suspects who

were later convicted in federal court of

drug trafficking. See Appendix pg. A-4.

Smith had previously written about the state

attorney's handling of both cases.

Thus, the contents of his grand jury

testimony were already public, and prohibit-

ing disclosure of his testimony would ac~

complish nothing.?+ Clearly, a prior

restraint on Smith would not “effectively

prevent the anticipated harm.” Nebraska

Press, 427 U.S. at 562.

1l probably the only thing Smith could have

learned purely from his appearance before

the grand jury is the specific questions he

wae asked.

Tt is doubtful that these

Ei

e 69 «

II. PLA. STAT. § 905.27 MAKES

POSSIBLE FOR THE A 50

The constitutional guarantee of freedom

of the press is intended to allow an in-

formed citizenry to hold public officials

accountable for their actions and, there-

fore, the Court of Appeals decision should

be affirmed as a matter of public policy.

11 continued

questions revealed anything to Smith that

h

_— not already know, given his eutensive

~ ependent investigation of the subject of

— inquiry. After likening a judicial

nguiry board investigation to a gran. jury

proceeding, the Third Circuit concluded that

a witness could not be prohibited from

disclosing information obtained as a result

of appearing before the board as well as

material obtained from outside sources.

,» 784 F.2d 467 (3rd Cir. 1986

hy be oe f it has been held that "the Pole

: c S to be upheld is the final action or

naction of the grand jury and not the

specific questions Propounded to and

speci

og answers given by a particular

iste » 321 F. Supp. 238, 240 (N.D. Ohio

- 48 -

The press, in its “watchdog” role, acts as a

check on government by exposing abuses and

corruption to public scrutiny.}2 Pirst

Amendment scholars describe the news media

as performing the “task of preventing abuses

of the public trust.” Blasi, “The Checking

Value in First Amendment Theory,” 1977 A.B

Poundation Res.J. 521, 584. See generally

Nimmer on Preedom of Speech, § 1.02([T]

(1989).

This Court has said chat the watchdog

function is especially significant in con-

nection with news coverage of the judicial

systen.

e commission of crime, prosecutions

pel me from it, and judicial pro-

ceedings arising from the prosecutions

. « « are without question events of

legitimate concern to the public and

consequently fall within the responsi-

12 professor Vince Blasi characterized this

as che value that free speech, a “wr

press, and free assembly can ag FY

checking the abuse of power by pub ~

officials.” Blasi, “The Checking Value =

Pirst Amendment Theocy, (1977) A.B.

Poundation Res.J. 521, 527.

a

- 49 -

bility of the press to report the oper-

ations of government.

Cox Broadcasting, 420 U.S. at 492. A

Similar view of the news media's role was

expressed in Sheppard vy. Maxwell], 384 U.S.

333 (1966):

A responsible press has always been re-

garded as the handmaiden of effective

judicial administration. ... Its

function in this regard is documented

by an impressive record of service over

several centuries. The press does not

ee publish information about trials

ut

justice by subjecting the police, pros-

ecutors, and judicial processes to ex-

tensive public scrutiny and criticism,

Id, at 350 (emphasis added).

Applying the Plorida statute to Smith

threatens to eliminate the kind of news cov-

erage that is crucial to self-government.

Long before the grand jury was convened,

Smith was fulfilling his role of guarding

against the miscarriage of justice by re-

porting on an alleged coverup by a sheriff

and failure of a state attorney to prosecute

a shooting death officials had termed a

suicide. It was due to Smith's efforts that

a grand jury was convened to investigate the

- 50 -

death and alleged misconduct. Now that he

has been called to testify, § 905.27 pre-

yents Smith from continuing to inform the

public about the actions of government of-

ficials in this case because he fears that

he will be charged with a misdemeanor or

held in contempt.

The significance of news media exposure

of government abuses is demonstrated by an

impressive list of investigative stories

that, like Smith's, led to grand jury

investigations. The Pulitzer Prize competi-

tion provides a mere sampling of how re-

porters’ efforts have exposed corruption

that might otherwise have gone unchecked.

Between 1970 and 1989, the Pulitzer, newspa-

per journalism's most prestigious honor, has

been awarded 13 times for news reporting

that has prompted grand jury

- §) «-

investigations.13

Por example, the Indianapolis Star won

the 1975 Pulitzer for Local Investigative

Reporting for a six-month investigation by a

team of reporters that uncovered widespread

corruption in the city police department.

“Pulitzer Prizes in Journalism, 1917-1985,"

1975 nominating letter, Library of Congress

Microfilm 86/225 (H). The newspaper's probe

revealed that dozens of policemen were en-

13 The following newspapers received

Pulitzers for stories that prompted grand

jury investigations: Long Island, N.Y.,

Newsday, 1970 Meritorious Public Service

Award for stories about secret land and

zoning deals involving public officials and

political party officeholders; Chicago

Tribune, 1971 Local Investigative Reporting

Award for exposing payoffs to police

officers from ambulance companies in

exchange for referrals; Boston Globe, 1972

Local Investigative Reporting Award for

stories revealing city officials' violations

of municipal contract bidding laws; Chicago

Tribune, 1973 Local Investigative Reporting

Award for a series of articles uncovering

voter fraud in municipal elections;

= » 1974 National Affairs

Reporting Award for stories tracing secret

and illicit campaign contributions;

, 1975 Local Investigative

indianapolis Star

Reporting Award for exposing corruption in

@ $2 -

gaged in graft and protection for prostitu-

tion, narcotics trafficking, bootlegging and

gambling. After the series was published, a

federal grand jury was convened, and many

policemen were targets of the inquiry.

The 1978 Local Investigative Reporting

Award went to the Stamford, Ct., Advocate

for reporter Anthony Dolan's series detail-

ing corruption in the Stamford Police De-

partment and other municipal departments.

13 Continued ; we

it olice departm Philadelphia

FF. 4 1977 Local Investigative Reporting

Award for stories detailing corruption and

abuse of patients at a state eg tit

hospital; Philadelphia Inquirer, 197

Meritorious Public Service Award for

uncovering evidence of illegal police

violence against homicide suspects;

Stamford, Ct., Advocate, 1978 Local

Investigative Reporting Award for a series

on corruption by police officers and other

city officials; Arizona Daily Star, 1981

Local Investigative Reporting Award for

reporting on misuse of funds and other

misconduct by the University of Arizona head

football coach; Washington Post, 1983 Local

Investigative Reporting Award for stories

about rape of inmates in a Maryland

detention center; St. Petersburg, Fla.,

Times, 1985 Local Investigative Reporting

Award for revealing corruption by a county

- 53-

"Pulitzer Prizes in Journalism, 1917-1985,"

Supra, 1978 nominating letter. Dolan demon-

strated that the state police, the state at-

torney general and the FBI had refused to

investigate organized crime in Stamford.

His stories prompted numerous resignations

and dismissals of officials. Eight separate

federal inquiries and a special federal

grand jury probe of city corruption followed

publication.

The St. Petersburg, Fla., Times won the

1985 Local Investigative Reporting Pulitzer

after two reporters revealed that the Pasco

County Sheriff's office was riddled with in-

efficiency, cronyism and corruption while

the sheriff conducted personal business out

of his office. "Pulitzer Prizes in Journal-

13 Continued

sheriff; Philadelphia Inquirer, 1985 Local

Investigative Reporting Award for

documenting a pattern of unprovoked attacks

by police dogs on civilians. "Pulitzer

Prizes in Journalism, 1917-1985," Library of

Congress Microfilm 86/225 (H).

- 54 -

ism, 1917-1985," supra, 1985 nominating

letter. Among the discoveries published in

the newspaper was the sheriff's appointment

of an eccentric millionaire with whom he did

business to a prominent position in the de-

partment and the bungling of a key criminal

investigation. The newspaper series, which

at first prompted the sheriff to harass the

reporters and then to fire some of his depu-

ties, ultimately led to the sheriff's in-

dictment on multiple felony charges.

Journalists who report on government

abuses and corruption often are subpoenaed

to testify before grand juries convened to

investigate the exposed misconduct. Several

of the Pulitzer Prize winning reporters, for

example, were called to testify before grand

juries. A Boston Globe reporter who won the

1972 Local Investigative Reporting Award for

exposing municipal contracting violations

was subpoenaed by a grand jury investigating

city officials. Brine and Wermiel, "3

» 88 -

former Somerville mayors indicted," The

Boston Globe, Aug. 11, 1971, p. 1, col. 1.

Similarly, Indianapolis Star reporters who

contributed to the paper's 1975

prize-winning coverage were subpoenaed by a

federal grand jury convened to investigate

corruption in the police department. Sup.

Ct. Marion Cty., Crim. Div. 1, Dec. 7, 1973;

Sup. Ct. Marion Cty., Crim. Div. 2, March

25, 1974, Sept. 2, 1974, and Oct. 4, 1974.

Numerous other journalists have been

subpoenaed by grand juries investigating po-

litical corruption because of their report-

ing efforts. For example, Philadelphia Bul-

detin reporter Fawn Vrazo was subpoenaed in

1980 to testify before a New Jersey grand

jury that was investigating allegations of

theft of public funds. Ince Grand Jury

Subpoena of Vrazo, 176 N.J. Super. 455, 423

A.2d 695 (1980). A grand jury investigating

political corruption in Pennsylvania subpoe-

naed reporters' notes of conversations with

- 56 -

a witness in the investigation who had dis-

cussed the case with the district attorney.

In re Taylor, 412 Pa. 32, 193 A.2d 181

(1963). A Massachusetts grand jury subpoe-

naed a transcript of a Boston Globe re-

porter's interview with the mayor concerning

an alleged recipient of a bribe. In re Suf-

folk County Grand Jury (Sup. Ct. Suffolk

Co., Mass. 1976). A Richmond, V4a.,

Times-Dispatch reporter who wrote an article

on the use of drugs by lawyers, judges and

public officials was subpoenaed by a grand

jury investigating the matter. In re Robin

Traywick (Va. Cir. Ct., Div. 1, July 18,

1982).

The Florida statute's broad prohibition

against disclosure by grand jury witnesses

lends itself to abuse by prosecutors who may

have reason to silence particular reporters.

For example, a skillful prosecutor em~

broiled in a scandal, or whose political as-

sociates have been accused of corruption,

- 87 «

could compel the reporter covering the case

to testify before a grand jury and ask ques-

tions about all matters related in past news

stories. Under § 905.27, the journalist

could then be ordered not to disclose

anything related to the grand jury testimo-

ny, effectively Silencing critical news

coverage.

Reporters could be in the untenable po-

Sition of having to comply with grand jury

Subpoenas because of their investigative re-

porting, and then having to abandon their

reporting efforts or run the risk that they

will be jailed or fined for having violated

§ 905.27.

As Justice Stewart noted in his dissent

in Branzburg vy. Hayes, 408 U.S. 665 (1972):

[U]nder the guise of "invest

i iga

com vindictive prosecutors — on

ng the broad powers of the grand jury

which are, in effect, immune from judi-

cial supervision, explore the newsman's

sources at will, with no serious law

enforcement purpose. The secrecy of

the grand jury proceedi

tle consolation to a ———.

e $8 -

Id. at 745, n. 34 (Stewart, J., dissenting).

He further acknowledged that “a confiden-

tial relationship between a reporter and his

source [could] be so sensitive that mere ap-

pearance before the grand jury by the news-

man would substantially impair his

newsgatbering function." Id, at 751.

Yet, under § 905.27, a reporter called

before the grand jury could be fined or

jailed for telling the public that he re-

fused to answer any questions put to him by

jurors.

If reporters can be silenced simply by

being called to testify before a grand jury,

coverage of government officials would be

severely curtailed. Particularly when news

coverage of corruption and official miscon-

duct is limited, the public is harmed be-

cause it is denied information that is cru-

cial to voting decisions.

CONCLOSION

Por the reasons stated above, Amici urge

this Court to declare Pla. Stat. § 905.27

unconstitutional insofar as it prohibits

disclosure by witnesses of their grand jury

testimony and dissemination of such disclo-

sures by the news media.

Respectfully submitted,

Jane E. Kirtley

Robert S. Becker

The Reporters Committee

for Freedom of the

Press

Suite 504

1735 Eye Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 466-6313

{Attorneys for Amici

Curiae)

December 18, 1989

Smith, “Hunting ‘suicide’ rently

was killing with intentional

cover-up,” Herald-News, June 26,

1985, P- A-l eee eeeeeeeneneeneeneeeeee

Evans, “State attorney withdraws legal

counsel during reporter's grand

jury testimony,” Herald-News, Dec.

, 19

Fagin, “Graham Appoints Adviser for

Charlotte Jury,” Sarasota Herald-

Tribune, Dec. 11, 1985, p. A-l ....

Tobin, “Grand jury probes state

attorney office matters,” Fort

Myers News-Press, Jan. 11, 1986, p.

A-1 ee eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Hillsborough County Grand Jury Manual

(excerpts) “eee eeeeeeeeeeneneeeeeeeee

State Grand Jury Secrecy Rules and

A-3

A-6

Statutes eee ee eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee A-10

Charlotte (FL) Herald-News

June 26,

1985 P. A-l

A-1

‘Hunting ‘suicide’ apparently was

killing with intentional cover-up

i

:

|

i

4:

FF

Hi

t

AI

Hi

it

:

Cirewit State Robert

Eagan

The case involved the death of

Wuham Jackmaa Jr

18, an Alve who was hore

on leave for Ge Christmas

hobdays after compietng tus

basic (ramung im Une Aur Force

Jack man was miled

Deemer » 8 #£«oeer

Wamecka s

Babeock ranch

TP

fH

he

4

fi

:

;

:

LE

;

fred of pohce

ack man $ suster and

Grifrend. were aiso found

Stuck ‘Mtoe the sand Sesede He ~

The death scene oomed ume a

classec swcode There were even

spem ofle cartrwges on the

ehh one mecca

euarmuner called ‘test shots

wtech were apparently fired

pror to the alleged suicide

The cause of death eas sted

man Wve day after ‘us death

In 1975. the rumors prompiea

the Governor of Flenda to order

an om esthgathon omte the death

by the Flermda Department of

Crmmena! Law Enforcement. the

forerunner of the state in-

vest@atiwe agency, now known

as

Dr Joseph H Davis. a

natenaliy known forensic

pathoingrs! «he 's currently the

Metheal Examemer for Dade

County «as olen emploved in

the (Gowernor + mmrestigation

Devs rewewrd the evidence

swoetted te tem hy the

Geowerner < mes: gators and

comrbeted that the death uac

mdret a smcude Im April 1976 4

Lee (quant: erand jury also

ehet omte the matter The

grand wry «as beaded by State

Atterne, Hebert Eagan who

S25 SPPwrted hy "he Governor

#* 2 “Pees! presecutor in the

case

fvetence that

"25 amettung but a

eae swede The grand ju

further stated thar + cannes

© he Een pery that rumors

sre maliciously fos ‘ena

aneene Sy pmnee = whose

motives are something other

working on

seperate investigations into the

Jackman case the Daily

In comparing the findings of

their independent in-

vestigations the tro found the

case nearly solved ex for

The photographs were crucial

in solving the case. but without

Revane Welsh persistance,

have heen mace

available While investigating

the case. evan attempted to

obtain the photographs from the

Lee County Sheriff's Depart.

ment but officials there would

net release the photographs

even though Florida s Public

Records Law mandates that the

records be available for public

Inspection

weld not

The sheriffs department even

stiempier: to exempt = the

photographs from the public

records law bul released comes

of several of the death scene

photographs after Revan

notified the denartment of his

intention to file a suit on order to

obtain them

ven sn the shenff's

department did not release all

of the photographs to Bevan and

he intends to file the civil achon

today for the intention of pur-

suing (he case

When the photographs were

compared to the uritten police

reror'ts nurnerous

discrepancies appeared which

jet te discrediting nearly al! of

the evidence aprear-ng ion the

Charlotte

June 26,

(FL) Herald-News

1985 P. A-16

cont'd

Hunting ‘suicide’ appears to be a killing

Une aote in

pocket knife in the death —

photographs — a spatter whic

lends ay et. the suicide

note as a fraud.

The rifle was also determined

not to have been the instrument

af Jackman’'s death when it was

determined that, in order for

Jackman to shoot himself. the

muzzie would have had to

contact his chest.

Several forensic pathologists

were contacted, «ncluding Dr

Graves, the medical examiner

who performed the autopsy.

and,. after examining the

photographs of the wound, the

forensic pathologists indicated

that it was not consistent with a

contact gunshot wound.

“It's (the wound) sharply

demarcated, (raves said

There do not aprear to be any

lacerations of the wound

margins which are sometimes

. Seen in ‘fcontact) entrance

wounds over hard, fixed bony

tissue due to the expansion of

gases from the muzzie of the

gun escaping under the skin.”

Graves added however, that the

sternum of a person Jackman's

age would be flexible

The wound itself, too large for

a J0-caliber bullet. at the

sternum measured 18 cm in

diameter. according to Graves’

autopsy report

AIL ADITC

Searching through firearms

ammunition catalogs and fin-

ding no rifle cartridges which

match the entrance hole,

Shotgun shelis were cut apart

and measured until it was

determined that a twelve-gauge

rified slug measure: exactly 1 8

cm in diameter

Having been shown a twelve.

gauge rifled slug. which

measures approximately 1.7 to

18 cm. | would say that the

gunshot wound is consistent

with such a projectile.” Graves

Said ‘Il might add the caveat

that Lam not a ballistics expert

but | am familar with gunshot

«ounds.”

i

uy

{

rF

siz

;

i

f

if

il

If

t

ti

i

asf

ii

;

i

TH

i

i

|

it's est incomabeent wiles

position different

corresponded to those on Jack-

man's left side

“This clearly indicates to me.

in my upimon, that the left arm

was at his side when all this

bleeding took place.’ Graves

said. adding that he was not

impiving thgt the body was

altered or had been aragged to

another location ‘The blond

pattern on the shirt and on his

arms iS suggestive of his arms

having been raised above his

head after death Looking at the

scene photographs it is ap

parent to me that the arms were

raised above the head after

death but Lam not implying that

that was done in order to alter

the death scene

The heavy blood flow on the

left side was consistent with the

theory that the hov had heen

partially rolled to that side in

order for someone to get into

Jackman’s right rear pants

pocket to obtain his wallet and

the photographs which were

used in setting up the so-called

sincide “altar ’ according to

anvther forensic patholegist

Although propert, receipts

are in the case {ile for the rifie

empty cartridges, the tuo

photographs pocketkmile. anda

wristwatch. there is no wallet

among the items listed in the

property receipts The wallet

sized suicide altar

photograph which the police

reports Sav is Supposed to have

heen Jackman'’s «<ter i< aleo

“rong The gir! iw the

photograph. while simular wn

appearance to Jackman's

sister. was identified as an

enurely different individual!

after researching high school

\ earbooks

Discrepancies and an ap

parent attempt to misiead are

also to be found im the sworn

witness statement made by

Wanicka. One such statement

appears to imply that the

medical examiner went to the

scene to examine the bodv

The statement reads ‘We

waited for .Col' Dave Wilson

Wamckas second in com-

mand) and when he came back.

we had him contact the Coroner

to see what he wanted to do with

the body We explained the

Situation to him. When he came

back, we all went to the scene

and the Coroner said to go

aneac to move the body tha: it

#aS apparent ‘Nat ‘here was no

foul piay invoived ,

Graves said "hat when Wilson

‘wormed him of the death ne

433 ‘oid that the cody was ina

relatively imaccessadle area

ind \t was a iong huke from

4nere a venicie could park ‘:o

4nere you would Nave to go to

retmeve the Dody

The death scene Wilson

‘terrec :0 ‘S$ apparentiv dif

erent from that which Wanicka

refers to. in his sworn witness

statement, which reads “ |

trove Dack thence 'o a road that

goes East to West on the County

Line and mght at the County

Line or just inside the County

Line I discovered the boy's body

aying on the ground.”

Wanicka. the last to see Jaca:

man alive when he cropped tne

boy off. was also the firs: to find

the body According ‘to fus

a\(ness Statements he appears

to be the prime suspect in the

culling. In one instance Wamcka

said ‘| was carrying a shotgun

at thus ume and the other ‘hree

passengers in his vefiic:e sere

carrving miles”

Wanicka duscmbed ‘he area

where Jackmans Oocy 445

found “Looking at the scene

when [ first came up. there were

no other footpmnts except

Brac’s .Jackman) "

Concluding the statement,

Wanicka said, “At Uus ome we

feel that there is no doubt in our

munds that Gus was a suicide we

can find no reason that there

would be any chance of foul play

or acc:derta! snmootizrg The

scere itse:f is :moossic.e ‘or

anyone (0 43.4 °f "hat area atc

Gdrag ‘me Soy ‘here 4 ‘hcu

leaving some *ei.-‘ace sigs

(faves $4:5 "=a: acer A. .s0r

nformes UM f acae3s

dea:h Ov: OUS $:¢ a3

erm me usec

iS | aaeé emous wRa: “he

sher.s! wr 35 - ge

rackiczg sus r er

invoived. | sou.c "ave ¢7re

the scene Gf3+es ia:c ‘3

not informed :! 445 ‘he <-e-

MUNURG camp. cor 4a; . 2

forpme@ ‘ha: ste ster: 443

where

Tomorrow nore

uscrepancies wruch further

sudstantate that Wouuar

Bradley Jackman's death was

not a suicide

Charlotte

December 7,

(FL) Herald-News

State attorney withdraws

legal counsel during reporter's

grand jury testimony

D'Alessandro asks governor to appoint another state attorney -

By JEFF EVANS

Staff Writer

Stressing the need to avoid

“any possible appearance of

impropriety,” State Attorney

Joe D'Alessandro on Friday

eveni withdrew as legal

nse! for certain matters now

being — to a Charlotte

County

~y to Alessandro,

the portion from which he

stepped down referred ‘‘solely

as to matters presented Dec. 3"

f

8

statement, D’

of articles critical of

D'Alessandro’s office, has also

refused to discuss his

tesumony.

“im order to preserve the

integrity of and to insure con-

tinued confidence in the grand

jury system, so as to avoid any

possible appearance of im-

iety, | have withdrawn as

egal advisor to the grand jury

as to matters currently

being presented to it,”’ said

D'Alessandro, reading from his

Statement.

The state attorney said he

would continue to advise the

grand jury on all upelated

matters.

After Smith, who wis present

for most of the press’ con-

ference, left the room,

D'Alessandro obiasted the

reporter's stories, saying they

were “not very kind in their

description of my office.

“Those stories have touched

probably on everything and

every place in Charlotte

County,” D'Alessandro said. “!

haven't read a single thing in

any of those stories that is

positive toward the county.”

When asked if he felt Smith

had a vendetta against his of-

fice, D'Alessandro said, “I'd

rather not comment on that.”

D'Alessandro said he has

contacted the Governor's office

and requested that another

State attorney be appointed for

these matters. According to

D'Alessandro, no _ further

testimony regarding that heard

Dec. 3 can be taken until a

replacement is appointed.

D'Alessandro chuckled when

asked whether he would be

recommending a substitute to

Graham.

to what you =

vetiove, I don’ have any

in these decision," he said. *

Governor has a

follow, and he follows it.”

Graham appointed embattled

Osceola County State Attorney

Robert Eagan when

D'Alessandro stepped down

from the investigation of

suspended Charlotte County

Sheriff Glen E. . Eagan

himself is under

grand jury tigation for

alleged wrongdoings in office.

D'Alessandro met with Cir-

cuit Court Judge William

Mclver for 25 minutes and then

met with the grand jury for

more than an hour before

making his announcement.

Sarasota Herald-Tribune

December

II, 1985 ¥P. A-l

Graham Appoints Adviser

for Charlotte Jury

State Attorney From Jacksonville Is Tapped

By DAN FAGIN

Stall Wriver

The content of Smith's testimony

is secret, but Linthicum said, “I

——

Asked if he was aware of the

subject of the panel's Austin

replied: “only as as you can

" gllegations, and these are the coun-

ter-allegations,” Austin said.

“ “That's my assi

assignment - to to

the bottom line. -

= omy Sr allegations in Smith's

Continued on 16A

Gntinued from IA

nal case, agreed to teatens heagne

againsi drug +o . ter

were irlicted by federal )u-

ries, ad covered up information

concerning the shooting death of an

Alva oan whe was hunting with

Wanika

Er

WHE

jie

sit

7

:

2

=

i

|

g

jery's six-month term is set to ex-

pre Jan. 20, but the panel nay vote

© extend its term for up tod0 days

tin's been through thi so ‘many

| times. Ile knows how uw handle -he

| grand jury.”

Austin has been thestate at-or-

ney for the sprawling Jacksonvile

me area - Duval, Slay

and counties- since (969,

except for a two-year viatus. He has

served as legal advise to two state-

= grand juries.

“It was umportanito get soneone

who'd go down thee with a fresh

point of view,” Linnicum sail.

“He's somebody #ho hasot been

involved,” she sad “He's on the

other side of the sate”

Fort Myers (FL) News-Press

January 11, 1986 P. A-1

Grand jury probes

state attorney office matters

By CHUCK TOBIN

Crariotte Bureau Cmef

PUNTA GORDA — A Charlotte County

grand jury is probing matters relating to 20th

Judicial Circuit State Attorney Joseph D’A-

lessandro’s office. the jury's new adviser said

after a meeting with grand jurors Friday.

Ninth Judicial Circuit State Attorney Ed

Austin met with grand jurors Friday, the

jury's first meeting since Gov. Bob Graham

appointed Austin on Dec. 13 to replace D’A-

lessandro, who withdrew as the jury's advis-

er on the current investigation.

The gread jury met twice last ment

before Austin was appointed adviser.

After Friday's meeting, Austia said jurors |

are probing “allegations touching on Mr

D’ Alessandro’s office,” the first time an offi-

cial has binted at the subject of the jury

investigation but Austin added (hai such an

investigaticn “is not unhealthy.”

“There's not @ state attorney in the state

who hasn't had this happen,” Austin said. “To

have grand juries challenge (hose in a posi

tion of authority — there's nothing wrong

with that We re often accused of manipulat.

ing grand juries.“

“1 understand the system. 1 don'hhave

any problem with what they're 60.4." DA.

lessandro said. “Whatever the accusation is.

I'd pust he to get the aur cleared on \t.”

D Alessandro said Austin is an “excellent

prosecutor and en excetient state attorney ~

He sard he has not had contact with Ausiin

“other Man the fact that | keew he was

coming cown ©

Smith. who has eritien articles alleging

Corruption and cover-up in D’Alessundro's

office. testified for | Bour and 40 minutes

Friday A court reporter entered and left the

jury's meeting room about the same ume as

——— — ee

recorded.

Smuth testi fied for 90 minutes at the jury's

Dec. 3 meeting after he “requested of the

See JURY,

back page thus section

jury that he appear before that body.” according to

Alessandro’s letter of withdrawal tc Graham. Smith

wes lavited ond eat subpeonned to tetity, DY Alemandre

said.

After testifying Friday, Smith saic “Il would assume

that they may call me back, and | will go back if they do.”

He said Friday's meeting was “more productive than it

was the last time.“

Austin, accompanied by his assistant state attorneys

Dennis Guidi and Steonen Kunz. said he met with Smith

a EES STEERS SEIS EO FERS SY GHNTEENS Ct

10am.

The grand jurors’ terms are scheduled to expire Jan.

20, but Austin said he will file @ motion next week to

extend the jurors’ terms 90 days. The jury's activities will

be “restricted to what they have under consideration at

this time ~

Austin said he expects jurors to meet again “some-

time within the next 30 or 40 days. but we have to do some

investigative work first “ Guidi and Kunz will conduct the

investigation, Austin said.

Austin said he will not use the state attorney s office as

bis Charlotte County base, bul will set up “independent

Smith bas written stories alleging that D Alessandro s

office has withheld information from grand jurors during

investigations.

Smith eiso has written stories accusing D Alessan-

éro's office of in a coverup with Lee County

Sheriff Frank Wanicka into the 1974 shooting death of an

Alva man who had been on a hunting trip with Wanickas

family A medical examiner ruled the death @ suicide.

but Smith has said evidence exis.s proving (hat (he man

comment on any matters relating to the current grand

jury

A-5

A6

wore 7Lz

tie 300) You

————

‘@eotTgsn( jo uoT Zer3QSTUTUpe

eu3 pue SAeT Ano jo AuemecoZ0zUe e423 %UT UWoOTZoUNZ

gue3zz0dut sty buryejzzepun 203 noA yueUL *@ouetsedxe

buryotzue pue BSurpzeme2 e& STYR PUTZ TITS noA edoy I

*souegstsse 3ee16 jo eq [TTA UOT IeMIOZUT

ButMoTToOs eu uaTA AgtazaetT{twez anoA ‘potzed jzoys e& UT

3aedxe ue euoceq 3ouues nod eztubooez eA pue ‘einpesoid

pue AeT jTeuTrwrz> ut JzeAaet eTqeebpetmoux e& suoceq

o3 sazeeX Auew sexe 31 ybnouity *ZJeuuUeu BSATROe IIe

pue eTqrsuodsez e ut setanp anoA wiojzed o3 sSiejjeU

oTseq utTe3zze> jo jueztuboo eq 4 ysnu no; “UOT QUeRQ3e

3SesoT> anoA jetzezew stya eat6 noA ey. ebin prtnoa

I *‘peuzeouo0> eq TTTtA nod YoOTYA YITA sSerznpecczad pue

SAPT @UR JO SWOS SUTeTdxXe pue seUTT3MO YOTYA Tenuew sTuR

JO uoT3erederd ey3 ojur euob eaey szogetT jo sanoy Aue

*uoTatsod queotztubrs sty3 exe3gzepun nod cr

@oueystsse pue uotTzeredoo0D [Inj s3zt noA sitezzo Asur0z3y

@3e3S SYR JO SOTZIO SUL ‘“SOTISNE JO UOTIZeAQSTUTUpPeE eyR

ut A3trttqrsuodsez juejiodut 3sow e peunsse gsn{ eaey no,

AUNC GNWHD ALNNOD HONOMOESTIIH FHL OL FZWOO1TEM

6861 ‘€ 28q90390

zoser YOINOT4 YdWVs

XUNNY 38 20OHLE WOO ALN.1OO BOO 14 HLS

YOrMol4d 40 LLL) TTYL" W HINGES

AImMIOyE ILS

AGNWOLLY BL¥is

SgnVr Tug

e

A-7

“ZLVG ONILaZGK

MAN VY LaS ZGAVH AZHL 41 AUNE GNVED ASV "9

‘SINZHLOIGNI ANV HSII1GNd WHA1D ZHL 17) "€

‘LWOd3u¥ OL ONIKLANVY GAVH AZHL 4 ASV ‘¢

q “T10% TIVD GNV LUNOD N3dO NI FIGKASSV "" i

‘L¥OdSu OL ONIHLEWOS SVH ANE GNVED NAHM

‘Rune GNVESD ZHL LONULSNI 8

‘NYMZYO4-ZDIA GNVY NVWaNOA INIOddV ‘f

savas GNVES TBs

“Rune GNVED LoOz1asS "§

‘S441 11VE ZHL YWV4AMS "9

*SaSNIX4 —

‘ZOIAUZS

NIV1dX3 GNVY SNOILSZND NOILVDIAIIVNO ASV 4

“TIOU TIVD “T

SONIGAII0Ud 40 BAddO

wry Aq adey pue 32nop ey2 Jo y29TD eYyI YITM paeTTs aq

Tteys tzeydezZouejs 10 29310da2 3an02 ay3 Aq epew jo

-92042 adtaosuez2 Aue 20 ‘sajou ‘sp1z0oe21 stydez80ue3s

-

—

ey, ‘Aue xt ‘2e3e1dze3ur e432 pue ‘zeydezZo0uags 20

zaj20de2 3ano0d ayi ‘squeIstsse sty 20/pue feuz033y

2383S By2 ‘UOTIeUTWeXe cepuN sseUuzTM ey adaoxe

queseid eq [TeYys uosied ou suotsses anok iy

‘pesealai uewspuog sty pue

peZieyrstp uey2 S$} 3urpuszep ey3 pur a42n0° uedo o3Uuy

3°42 Sjuesead Aanf puer3 oya ‘uewer0jz se 3; suSts

pure ,Titq @na3 ou,, seded sya 30 yo"q ey3 UO sesi0cpUe

ueweI0; ANOA ‘IITq @Na3 OU J] ‘PRY eq uFD T#t23

“-_< ——e" «© « =

® YOTYA Uodn JUuUewIO;pUT UF Sewooeq UsYys 31 pure 3ino0S

uedo o3juy TIFG M42 3043 Saueserd Aanf pues3 aya pur

3% JO 4O8G O42 UO owWRU STY Sesi0pUus UPWeI03 ANcs puF

"MOA 103 I11q ena3 & serzedead ay ‘juPastsse sty 10

A9UI033Y 9383¢ e432 OF 1933eW 342 320de2 nO, ‘Ita

ona2 © UT SI[NS8l SATIOWATZIe aya UT BUT30A @e10u 20

PATER, “JUPPUSZJep 9Yy2 JO SBreYoSTpP Ya Pur IITq ens3

OU UT SINS SATIPMATIIe a BUTIOA SATOMI UFR

sequnu Sse, Auy ‘“IItq @n13 © puts o3 PATAPMI JO 830A

SATIOMITEZIE YI Seaynbes 3; ‘juesead Buyeq userz13

3809] 3¥Y ‘“Jueserd oq Isnw ssquNU anok jo UsezzTI

asva] 3e ‘Aant puesl’ © se uotz°0unz Aue wsozjaed ues

+> —,

A-9

*32n0 Sty JO Sprlodse12 BYy2 50 32ed e

seworteq usey2 JT ezrayM 3AIN09 uedo O3UT 3STT 3ey2 suANIeZ

szoqe{ anok jo uot IeUTWIe2 eyI IF pur nod a10jeq UI0MS

SasSseuztM [Te JO ASTT & SdeayH HxAeTF ANCA ‘nok e1030q

= AJT3Se2 TTBYS CYM SSauzTs Aue 03 ‘mez Aq peqtazsead —

zouuew syd UT ‘UOTIeWATJZJe 20 YIPO Ue JaISTUTUPE

T1eys Aeuzozazy e2e8I3g JueISTSsSy e423 20 Kauz033y

a2e1S aya ‘uewez0z BuTIOe AnoA ‘UPWeIOZ INO,

‘AIN| puelss 343

30 Siequew 3delxe wool Kant puez’ ey ut jueseid

é suo OU oq 35MM 92942 OWT? 2e42 JV _“ITTG enaa ©

= ra .

puts O02 JOU IO AaYyIeYyM 330A 109 93839qT19P nok useya

« adeoxe ‘Sewy2 [[e 3&8 Pue Sassaurita JO UOTIBUTMRKA

aya ut nod pte O23 Boor Aane puei3 znof ut juesead

wry eAey O32 3YSTA aya eAPy nok pue woo2 Aanf pues3

znok ut quaserd aq 02 3Y3TA syd SPY A “VOTICAe

-ptsuos anod 2103 nok ae2o0jeq ewod Aew se $ia33eW Yons

nok 03 Butjuesead jo asodand ey 2 1203 MPT kq peautodde

‘zostape [eBe_, anod sz Aauroz3zy 2383S PUL

‘anf pueaZd yons jo asn ay2 203 Aanf

puei3 Aue jo asenbexz e432 uodn 92912 ey3 Aq peseeTez

pue peuedo eq [TeYs uotadtaosuelrz pue ‘spi09e2

‘sajzou yons 3ey2 septAoad me, aul ‘ot1qnd aya

kq uotzoedsuy 02 39efqns JOU AeUTeIUOS peTees e ut

A-10

The following statutes and rules follow

Ped. R. Crim. P. 6(e):

Alaska Crim. R. 6(h), (1)? D.C. Court R.

Ann. 6(e); Hawaii R. of Penal P. 6(e); Ill.

Rev. Stat. ch. 38, s 112-6; Kan. Stat. Ann.

§ 22-3012; Mass. R. Crim. P. 5(d); Mont.

6(e); Vt. R. Crim. P. 6(£)3 V.I. Code Ann.

tit. 5, § 6(e); Va. Code R. 3A:5(b); W.Va.

eee P. 6(e) (2); Wyo. Stat. §§ 7-5-307,

The following statutes and rules are

ee as operating similarly to Fed.

R. Crim. P. 6(e):

Minn. R. Crim. P. 18.08; Del. Code Ann. tit.

ll § 1273; S.D. Cod. L. Ann. 23A-5-16; N.Y.

Penal L. § 215.70.

The following statutes and rules are

silent as to secrecy requirements on grand

jury witnesses:

Ark. Stat. Ann. § 16-85-514; Cal. Penal Code

§ 924.2; Ga. Code Ann. § 15-12-68; Idaho

Crim. R. 6(e); Iowa Code § 813.2, R. 3; Me.

Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 15, § 1252; Md. Crim.

R. 8-213; Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 29-1404 to

~1415; N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 600:3, 4; Ohio

R. Crim. P. 6(e); Okla. Stat. tit. 21, §§

582, 583; Or. Rev. Stat. § 132.060, 100;

Penn. R. Crim. P. 256-257; Tenn. R. Crim. P.

6(k) (1); Wis. Stat. § 756.20.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.