Amicus Curiae Brief — Cruzan Ex Rel. Cruzan v. Director, Missouri Department of Health

Supreme Court brief1990

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

an Supreme Court, U-S-

i FILE

oct 16 1988

No. 88-1503 : E SPANIOL, JR.

IN THE

Supreme Court Of The United States _

October Term, 1989.

NANCY BETH CRUZAN, by her parents and co-guardians,

LESTER L. AND JOYCE CRUZAN,

Petitioners,

v.

ROBERT HARMON, Director, Missouri Department of

Health, et al. ,

Respondents,

v.

THAD C. MCCANSE, Guardian Ad Litum,

Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE MISSOURI SUPREME COURT

BRIEF OF THE RUTHERFORD INSTITUTE AND

THE RUTHERFORD INSTITUTES OF ALABAMA,

ARKANSAS, CALIFORNIA, COLORADO, CONNEC-

TICUT, FLORIDA, GEORGIA, KENTUCKY, MICHIGAN,

MINNESOTA, MONTANA, NEBRASKA, OHIO, OK-

LAHOMA, PENNSYLVANIA, SOUTH CAROLINA, TEN-

NESSEE, TEXAS, VIRGINIA, WEST VIRGINIA AND

WISCONSIN AMICI CURIAE, IN SUPPORT OF

RESPONDENTS, ROBERT HARMON ET AL.

John W. Whitehead

Counsel of Record

James J. Knicely

The Rutherford Institute

(*Addresses of other Amici 1465 East Rio Road —

Curiae and their respective | Charlottesville, Virginia 22906

attorneys are listed onthe (804) 978-3888

inside cover) Attorneys for Amici Curiae*

Balmar Legal Publishing Division, Washington, D.C. 20005 (202) 659-3610

A. Eric Johnston

The Rutherford Institute

of Alabama

2100 Southbridge, Suite 376

Birmingham, Alabama 35209

David E. Morris

The Rutherford Institute

of Arkansas

711 West Emma Avenue

Springdale, Arkansas 72764

David Llewellyn

The Rutherford Institute

of California

1029 K Street, Suite 37

Sacramento, California 95814

Lynn M. Watwood, Jr.

The Rutherford Institute

of Colorado

14083 West Alaska Drive

Lakewood, Colorado 80228

Joseph P. Secola

The Rutherford Institute

of Connecticut

P.O. Box 3196

Milford, Connecticut 06460

The Rutherford Institute

of Florida

P.O. Box 11959

Ft. Lauderdale, Florida 33339

William B. Hollberg

The Rutherford Institute

of Georgia

3949 Holcomb Bridge Road

Norcross, Georgia 30092

Amy Dougherty

The Rutherford Institute

of Kentucky

P.O. Box 21849

Lexington, Kentucky 40522-21849

David Melton

The Rutherford Institute

of Michigan

3979 Prairie, SW

Grandville, Michigan 49418 ae

Thomas W. Strahan

The Rutherford Institute

of Minnesota

1313 Fifth Street, SE

Suite 329C

Minneapolis, Minnesota 55414

The Rutherford Institute

of Montana

P.O. Box 700

Chester, Montana 59522

Federal Building, Suite 300

18 North Phelps Street

Youngstown, Ohio 44503

W. Steven Lewis

The Rutherford Institute

of Oklahoma

550 North Western, Suite 144

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73118

William Bonner

The Rutherford Institute

of Pennsylvania

P.O. Box 602

Media, Pennsylvania 19063

Russell Burke

The Rutherford Institute

of South Carolina

P.O. Drawer 2426

Columbia, South Carolina 29202

John F. Southworth, Jr.

The Rutherford Institute

of Tennessee

105 Westpark Drive, Suite 450

Brentwood, Tennessee 37027

W. Charles Bundren

The Rutherford Institute

of Texas

901 Main Street

6000 First Republic Bank Plaza

Dallas, Texas 75202

James J. Knicely

The Rutherford Institute

of Virginia

P.O. Drawer GR

Williamsburg, Virginia 23187

Randall Trautwein

The Rutherford Institute

of West Virginia

Morris Building, Suite 200

845 Fourth Avenue

Huntington, West Virginia 25701

Craig L. Parshall

The Rutherford Institute

of Wisconsin

N88 W16848 Main Street

Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin 53051

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ee iii

Interest of AmiciCuriae ...............00-. 1

Summary of Argument ............5000006: 2

PD hE Bec ce ccc ercesecces 5

I.

ONLY FUNDAMENTAL RIGHTS, IMPLICIT

IN THE CONCEPT OF ORDERED LIBERTY

AND HISTORICALLY AND TRADITIONALLY

CONSIDERED OUTSIDE THE PROPER

SCOPE OF GOVERNMENT REGULATION,

ARE PROTECTED BY THE RIGHT OF

PRIVACY, AND THE WITHDRAWAL OF

BASIC LIFE ESSENTIALS — FOOD AND

WATER— BY A THIRD PARTY CANNOT

CONCEIVABLY BE PROTECTED BY

pI 5

A. The Narrow Range of Fundamental

eit soe een 6 4.0 40 3 5

B. The Failure of Analysis in “Right-to-Die”

DPT hae 666606 600000 +00 8

C. The Termination of Food and Water

Cannot Reasonably Be Characterized as

a Fundamental Right ............ 10

ASSUMING, FOR THE PURPOSES OF

ARGUMENT, THAT THE RIGHT TO

PRIVACY ENCOMPASSES AN INDIVIDUAL’S

CHOICE TO DISCONTINUE FOOD AND

WATER, THE STATE’S COUNTERVAILING

INTEREST IN PRESERVING LIFE IS SUFFI-

CIENT TO OVERCOME THIS RIGHT AND

THE EFFICACY OF THIS COUNTERVAILING

INTEREST IS NOT DEPENDENT ON QUALITY

OF LIFE CONSIDERATIONS ......... 16

li

III. AN INCOMPETENT WARD’S INABILITY

TO ASSERT A CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT

DOES NOT JPSO FACTO EMPOWER HIS

GUARDIAN TO EXERCISE THE WARD’S

RIGHTINHISSTEAD ............. 19

A. The Legal Fiction of an Incompetent’s

“Autonomous” Choice ............ 20

B. Reasonable Limits on When, and Under

What Circumstances, Medical Procedures

Can Be Withheld or Withdrawn ....... 21

IV. EXPANSION OF THE RIGHT OF PRIVACY

TO ENCOMPASS THE REMOVAL OF A NON-

TERMINAL INCOMPETENT’S FOOD AND

WATER AT THE INSTANCE OF HIS

GUARDIAN WILL OPEN THE DOOR

TO THE LEGAL EXTERMINATION OF

OTHER INCOMPETENTS WHOSE LIVES

ARE DEEMED BY THE PREVAILING

SOCIAL ETHIC TO BE “DEVOID OF

MOTE WOM ok voc ck eee cciicins 25

Conclusion

en ee ee ee

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES PAGES

Adkins v. Children’s Hospital, 261 U.S. 525 (1923) . . 26

In re Application of the President and Directors of

Georgetown College, Inc., 331 F.2d. 1000

CGR oc weabeeeceeveces 11

Aven v. State, 277 S.W. 1080 (Tex. Crim. 1925) .... 14

Bartling v. Superior Court, 163 Cal. App. 3d 186

ee ee ee ee ee 15, 22

Bouvia v. Superior Court, 179 Cal. App. 3d 1127

SD 6.0 60s who Hee 4 OT Se ee 15

Bowen v. American Hospital Association, 476

i. Gere. Tee eee 29

Bowers v. Hardwick, 478 U.S. 186 (1986) ....... 3,7,9

Burnette v. People, 68 N.E. 505 (ill. 1903) ....... 14

City of Akron v. Akron Center for Reproductive Health,

ee eee 29

Cruzan, By Cruzan v. Harmon, 760 S.W.2d 408

(Mo. banc 1988) ........--2-06- 10-11, 17, 21

In Re Conroy, 486 A.2d 1209 (N.J.1985) ....... 24

Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U.S. 145 (1968) ...... 6

Eichner v. Dillon, 420 N. E. 2d 64, cert. den.,

So RE eee ee ee 11

Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479 (1965) .... 3,5-7,19

In re Jobes, 529 A.2d 434 (N.J.1987) ......... 24

State ex rel. Klopotek v. District Court, Etc., 621

P.2d 223 (Wyo. 1980) .......-... errr 21

Lochner v. New York, 198 U.S. 45 (1905) ....... 26

McMahon vy. State, 53 So. 89(Ala.1910) ....... 14

Moore v. City of East Cleveland, Ohio, 431

eee eee eee eee 7-8

Palko v. State of Connecticut, 302 U.S. 319 (1937) .. 5,6

iv

Paris Adult Theatre v. Slaton, 413 U.S. 49 (1973) ... 9

Poe v. Ullman, 367 U.S. 497 (1961) .......... 7

Poling v. City Bank and Trust Co. of St. Petersburg,

Fla., 189 So.2d 176 (Fla. 1966) .......... 21

In Re Quinlan, 355 A.2d 647 (N.J.1976) ....... 8-9, 11, 20

Rasmussen v. Fleming, 741 P.2d 674

ST eee 15

Roberts v. United States Jaycees, 468

TO CEE 7

People v. Roberts, 178 N.W. 690 (Mich. 1920) .... 14

Rochin v. People of California, 342

I ee eee 5

Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973) ........... 3, 6, 17

San Antonio School District v. Rodriguez, 411

WTR 6 PEDO TEED SC HERG rcv eee 9

Sanders v. State, 112 S.W. 68 (Tex. Crim. 1908) ... 14

Snyder v. Commonwealth of Massachusetts, 291

TOE SoS det awe Beee ces ice 5

Thornburgh v. American College of Obstetricians and

Gynecologists, 476 U.S. 747 (1986) ....... 18, 29

Webster v. Reproductive Health Services, __U. S. __

109 S. Ct. 3040 (1989) ........2 200 eee 18, 29

STATUTES AND CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

Declaration of Independence .............. 2, 18, 30

aes i ts ale ee we 2, 18, 30

I go's 6g 6 6 0 006.08 we eb 25

Fourteenth Amendment .......... 2, 9, 18, 25, 28, 30

Mo. Rev. Stat. §§ 459.010-459.025 (Vermont

Ee ee ee ee 18-19, 25

ee ee ce nen tend Salt ote +

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Alexander, Death by Directive, 28 Santa Clara L.

PEPE Gu ceessaséses 10, 15-16, 22, 24

L. Alexander, Medical Science Under Dictatorship,

241 New England J. of Medicine 39 (1949) ... 30

St. Thomas Aquinas, Summa Theologica ....... 14

Arras, Quality of Life in Neonatal Ethics: Beyond

Denial and Evasion in Ethical Issues at the Onset

of Life (M. Benjamin & M. Well eds. 1987) . . . 10

Aristotle, Nicomachean Ethics, 5.11.3, 1138a 10,

quoted in W. Barclay, The Ten Commandments

DPE Sabb 6OCRK eB ec cee. 12

W. Barclay, The Ten Commandments for Today

A ES ae are 12-14

C. Becker, The Declaration of Independence:

A Study in the History of Political Ideas

RE RETRO L EEE 2

Beschle, Autonomous Decision Making and Social

Choice: Examining the “Right to Die”,

up See). )). | ee 14-15, 21-23, 26

Black’s Law Dictionary ..........000008:5 12

W. Blackstone 4 Commentaries on the Laws of

England 189 (1967 reprint) ............ 14

Brief Amicus Curiae of the American Academy

0 eS ee ee ee ee 27

ile i eas ee oO 11

Brief for Petitioner for Writ of Certiorari ....... 15

Cranford and Smith, Consciousness: The Most Critical

Moral (Constitutional) Standard for Human Per-

sonhood in Justice Harry A. Blackmun: The

Supreme Court and the Limits of Medical Privacy,

13 Am. J. L. & Med. 233-234 (1987). ...... 28

vi

Doctors advise exception to brain death policy, The Kan-

sas City Star, August 10, 1989, p.2A,col.1. ... 28-29

Elderly React Sharply to Remark by Lamm

About a ‘Duty to Die’, The Washington Post,

March 29, 1984, at A3,col.5 .......... r 22

8 The Encyclopedia of Philosophy 43(1967) ...... 13

Ikuta, Dying at the Right Time: A Critical Legal Theory

Approach to Timing-of-Death Issues, 5 Issues in

Law and Medicine, No. 1, 3 (1989). 10, 15, 21, 28, 30

Koop, The Slide to Auschwitz, in R. Reagan,

Abortion and the Conscience of the Nation,

ea ae 29

C. Koop & F. Schaeffer, Whatever Happened to the

Human Race 58 (rev. ed. 1983) .......... 16, 22, 27

L. Kuper, Genocide 84-100 (1981) ........... 27

Memo to Califano Suggests $9.2 Billion Health Cost

Cut, The Washington Post, June 22, 1977,

FF 8 PPT eT eee eT Tee 22

Morgan & Harty-Golder, Constitutional Development

of Judicial Criteria in Right to Die Cases: From

Brain Dead to Persistent Vegetative State,

28 Wake Forest L. Rev. 721 (1988) ....... 13, 24

Rhoden, Litigating Life and Death, 102 Harv. L. Rev.

PT So 6 6 605 As wo 6080.5 2s 0 8, 20

O. Russell, Freedom to Die: Moral and Legal Aspects

of Euthanasia 77(1976) ............. 13-14

Siegler, The A.M.A. Euthanasia Fiasco, N. Y. Times,

BR SN ee ee 15

Tribe, American Constitutional Law 1366

ee ee ee eee 17-18, 23

Verhovek, New York Judge Revokes Right-to-Die Order

as Patient in Coma Wakes, N. Y. Times, April 12,

1989 (New York Cityed.) ............. 23

Words and Phrases Vol. 40A (1981) ...... ie ks 12

No. 88-1503

ee te NS Lema el ee tt EO,

IN THE

Supreme Court Of The United States

October Term, 1989.

NANCY BETH CRUZAN, by her parents and co-guardians,

LESTER L. AND JOYCE CRUZAN,

Petitioners,

v.

ROBERT HARMON, Director, Missouri Department of

Health, et al. ,

Respondents,

v.

THAD C. MCCANSE, Guardian Ad Litum,

Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE MISSOURI SUPREME COURT

BRIEF OF THE RUTHERFORD INSTITUTE AND

THE RUTHERFORD INSTITUTES OF ALABAMA,

ARKANSAS, CALIFORNIA, COLORADO, CONNEC-

TICUT, FLORIDA, GEORGIA, KENTUCKY, MICHIGAN,

MINNESOTA, MONTANA, NEBRASKA, OHIO, OK-

LAHOMA, PENNSYLVANIA, SOUTH CAROLINA, TEN-

NESSEE, TEXAS, VIRGINIA, WEST VIRGINIA AND

WISCONSIN AMICI CURIAE, IN SUPPORT OF

RESPONDENTS, ROBERT HARMON ETAL.

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE!

This case presents important issues affecting the fundamen-

tal right to life of all Americans. The American legal tradition has

placed the preservation, protection and prolongation of life at the

highest level — to the point of “sacredness.” The right to life is

' Counsel of record for all parties have consented to the filing of this brief and,

pursuant to Rule 36, letters of consent have been filed with the Clerk.

2

enshrined not only in the Declaration of Independence,? but in

the Bill of Rights in the Fifth Amendment, as well as in the

Fouiteenth Amendment.‘ The petitioners would drastically

reduce the inherent value of this basic American right. The

Rutherford Institute is opposed to such a denigration of human

life and believes that the decision of the Missouri Supreme Court

should be forcefully affirmed as fully consistent with the mandates

of the both the Constitution and our Western tradition.

Amici Curiae are non-profit religious corporations named for

Samuel Rutherford, a 17th-century Scottish minister and Rector

at St. Andrew’s University. The Rutherford Institute and its af-

filiated state chapters undertake to assist litigants and to par-

ti..pate in significant cases relating to the protection and

safeguarding of human life. The Rutherford Institute believes the

expertise of its counsel will be of assistance to the Court in this

case.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

This case raises profound philosophical, religious, medical

and sociological questions. The sange of disparate views, interests

and partisan considerations on the “right-to-die” issue, as well as

the many varied state court precedents, tempt a comprehensive

approach to decision and prompt this Court to impart a broad

regime of rules to this “emerging” area of law. Prudence cautions

amore deliberate course. Indeed, the fact that tius is an emerging

and difficult area of the law, with many countervailing interests, is

sufficient reason for this Court to avoid broad and sweeping

pronouncements and to limit decision to the specific issues

presented by this case. Moreover, it is well to recognize the

As Thomas Jefferson wrote in the Declaration of Independen:e: “We hold

these truths to be self-evident, that all men are endowed by their Creator with

certain inalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty, and the pursuit of

Happiness.” C. Becker, The Declaration of Independence: A Study in the History

of Political Ideas 187-93 (1922).

. “[No person shall] be deprived of life, liberty, or property, without due process

of law....”

* “(No State shall] deprive any person of life, liberty or property, without due

process of law....”

a tN A te a

3

appropriate roles of the coordinate branches of government in

addressing the problem. An appropriate balance should accom-

modate what each of the executive, the legislative and the judicial

branches might contribute to resolve the social dilemmas

presented by these types of cases.

The question posed by the case at bar is relatively narrow:

what agency, if any, is authorized to decide, and under what

circumstances, whether an incompetent person can be deprived of

food and water so as to cause certain death by thirst and starvation?

Put another way, (1) does the right to privacy recognized in

Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479 (1965) and Roe v. Wade, 410

U.S. 113 (1973) include a right to discontinue food and water

where this action would result in certain death by thirst and

starvation and (2) does the Constitution require that such a right

vest with an incompetent’s guardian where the holcer of that right,

though formerly competent, is now incompetent to exercise it?

In Griswold, Roe v. Wade, Bowers v. Hardwick? and numerous

other decisions, this Court has followed the principle that no right

can be deemed “fundamental” unless it is rooted in the history and

traditiuns of our society and is otherwise basic to our civil and

political institutions. The right to privacy has thus been limited by

this Court and has been sparingly extended only to certain areas

because they are basic to our civil and political institutions and

have historically and traditionally been considered beyond the

proper scope of government regulations.

The petitioners argue that the right to refuse medical treat-

ment is deeply rooted in this nation’s history and thus has the

requisite characteristics of a fundamental right. From this proposi-

tion they conclude, in what can only be described as an analytical

leap, that this right also allows individuals to refuse artificially

administered food and water where death is the only motivation

for such refusal. And the petitioners make yet another “analytical”

leap to permit a surrogate —- the “guardian” —-to exercise an

incompetent’s privacy right to accomplish the same end, even in

the absence of clear and convincing evidence or, for that matter,

> 478 U.S. 186 (1986).

4

in many cases, any evidence whatsoever, as to how the incom-

petent might exercise the purported right.

In fact, the historical predicate supports a contrary position.

To seek death for no reason other than that life is simply no longer

worth living is suicide. And to withdraw food and water from a

persistently vegetative patient is indistinguishable from

euthanasia. Both actions constitute the taking of a human life.

Neither suicide nor euthanasia can be considered a fun-

damental right. Anglo-American law and tradition have wholly

condemned such practices through criminal prohibition.

Moreover, the ethical integrity of the medical profession, which

has historically been dedicated to the preservation and prolonga-

tion of life, would be gravely undermined by the legitimization of

euthanasia and suicide. And to “privatize” decision-making would

not only devalue our democratic tradition and ignore societal

institutions that are fully capable of drawing proper distinctions in

this area, it would cheapen the right to life protected by the

Fourteenth Amendment and put the “abnormal” infant, the in-

firm, the poor and the elderly at great risk. This Court should,

therefore, refuse to extend the right to privacy to permit

withdrawal of food and water from an incompetent, whether at the

direction of the courts or at the behest of third party intervenors.

Assuming that the Constitution may guarantee individuals

some measure of “liberty” in discontinuing life sustaining proce-

dures, it nevertheless dces not restrict government from reasonab-

ly regulating how, and under what circumstances, such procedures

can or should be withdrawn, particularly where the patient is

incompetent-and cannot independently assert this alleged right.

However, if this Court should declare that the power to terminate

the life of an incompetent ward vests without qualification in the

guardian, the floodgates of legalized extermination of infants and

other incompetents will inexorably open. The very survival of

“abnormal” newborns, the elderly, and other individuals suffering

from serious mental disabilities will frequently and routinely be

cast to the uncertain and standardless discretion of judges or

guardians who will substitute their own judgement as to whether

the lives of their charges are devoid of value. Such a decision will

Ne ee i.

5

seriously threaten those individuals’ right to life guaranteed under

the Fourteenth Amendment of the Constitution. And it will fail

to account for the important societal interests in determining the

means and procedures for preserving, protecting and prolonging

human life, in discouraging suicide and euthanasia as the unlawful

taking of life, and in advancing medical standards and ethics that

seek to preserve life and encourage life sustaining treatment.

ARGUMENT

I. ONLY FUNDAMENTAL RIGHTS, IMPLICIT

IN THE CONCEPT OF ORDERED LIBERTY

AND HISTORICALLY AND TRADITIONALLY

~CONSIDERED OUTSIDE THE PROPER SCOPE

OF GOVERNMENT REGULATION, ARE

PROTECTED BY THE RIGHT OF PRIVACY

AND THE WITHDRAWAL OF BASIC LIFE

ESSENTIALS —- FOOD AND WATER —- BY A

THIRD PARTY CANNOT CONCEIVABLY BE

PROTECTED BY THAT RIGHT.

A. The Narrow Range of Fundamental Rights.

This Court has previously recognized certain fundamental

rights protected by the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment. The Court has been highly selective when determin-

ing what values are to be placed beyond the reach of the

democratic process, limiting them only to those rights which are

“so rooted in the traditions and conscience of our people as to be

ranked as fundamentai,” Snyder v. Commonwealth of Mas-

sachusetts, 291 U.S. 97, 105 (1934), or are “implicit in the concept

of well ordered liberty.” Palko v. State of Connecticut, 302 U.S. 319,

325 (1937). See Rochin v. People of California, 342 U.S. 165, 169

(1952) (quoting Snyder and Palko). When such rights are bur-

dened by state action, a necessary relationship between the action

and a compelling state interest is required in order for the action

to be upheld. Griswold, 381 U.S. at 491.

In order for any right to be considered fundamental and

therefore eligible for protection under the privacy guarantee, it

must be rooted in the history of our society and be basic to our civil

6

and political institutions. In Palko v. State of Connecticut, this

Court suggested the search for rights protected through the Four-

teenth Amendment should focus on “’the fundamental principles

of liberty and justice which lie at the base of all our civil and

political institutions.” Palko, 302 U.S. at 328. More recently, in

Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U.S. 145 (1968), this Court addressed

the question of fundamental rights in a criminal procedure context.

In concluding that the right to jury trial is fundamental. the Court

explored the historical role of such trials in the “Anglo-American

regime of ordered liberty.” Jd. at 149 n.14.

In Griswold v. Connecticut, where the right to privacy was

formally announced, this Court stated: “We deal with a right older

than the Bill of Rights—older than our political parties, older than

our school system.” Jd. at 486. In a concurring opinion, Justices

Goldberg, Brennan, and Chief Justice Warren expressed reserva-

tion that “’fundamental rights must be derived from the traditions

and [collective] conscience of our people.” Jd. at 493 (citation

omitted). These Justices went on to reemphasize the basic posi-

tion of “the rights to marital privacy and to marry and raise a

family” in our society and that the marriage and family relationship

are “as old and fundamental as our entire civilization.” Jd. at

495-96.

Again, in Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973), this Court

committed itself to historical analysis in determining what rights

are fundamental and therefore protected by the right to privacy.

After an extensive, though notably incomplete and skewed, survey

of the medical and legal history of abortion, the Court concluded

that restrictive criminal abortion laws were “of relatively recent

vintage” (id. at 129), and that Anglo-American law had generally

treated abortion with less severity than the state statutes then in

force. An essential premise in the Court’s reasoning was its con-

clusion regarding the legal and medical history of abortion. Justice

Rehnquist’s dissent was based, at least in part, on his view that the

Court had misread history. His conclusion was nevertheless his-

torically grounded: “the asserted right to abortion is not ’so rooted

in the traditions and conscience of our people as to be ranked as

fundamental.” Jd. at 174 (Rehnquist, J., dissenting) (citation

omitted).

7

In Moore v. City of East Cleveland, Ohio, 431 U.S. 494 (1977),

this Court again indicated its obedience to history in the develop-

ment of the right of privacy. The Court was faced with a city

housing ordinance which had the effect of forbidding a

grandmother from living in the same home with her son and two

grandsons. In a plurality opinion authored by Justice Powell, the

Court concluded that the ordinance violated the Due Process

Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment. The decision was based

on the view that the family, both nuclear and extended, in

American society was “deeply rooted in this Nation’s history and

tradition.” Jd. at 503. The plurality opinion emphasized that its

“approach [was] grounded in history,” Jd. at 503 n.12, and that

“arbitrary lines” need not be drawn where there is “careful ’respect

for the teachings of history [and] solid recognition of the basic

values that underlie our society.” Jd. at 502-03, quoting Griswold,

381 U.S. at 501 (Harlan, J., concurring). See also Roberts v. United

States Jaycees, 468 U.S. 609, 618-20 (1984).

This Court recently recognized that it “is most vulnerable and

comes nearest to illegitimacy when it deals with judge-made con-

stitutional law having little or no cognizable roots in the language

or design of the Constitution.” Bowers v. Hardwick, 478 U.S. 186,

194 (1986). Without the constraint and guidance of history in

discerning the fundamental rights protected against the state,

judges would be free to legislate their own preferences at the

expense of those of the American people as expressed through

their elected representatives. In Bowers, therefore, the longstand-

ing history and tradition of legislation prohibiting sodomy

throughout the states was deemed to be strong evidence that

homosexual sodomy was conduct that could hardly be deemed a

“frndamental” freedom under the Due Process Clause. And the

Court has frequently warned of the dangers inherent in judicial

declarations of “fundamental rights.” In Griswold, itself, the Court

stated: “We do not sit as a super-legislature to determine the

wisdom, need, and propriety of laws that touch economic

problems, business affairs, or social conditions.” 381 U.S. at 482.

In Poe v. Ullman, 367 U.S. 497 (1961), Justice Harlan expressed

his concern that fundamental rights analysis under the Due

Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment contained poten-

8

tial for judicial abuse. However, he concluded that such abuse

would be prevented by respect for “what history teaches are the

traditions from which [this country] developed as well as the

traditions from which it broke.” Jd. at 542, quoted in Moore, 431

U.S. at 501. Such careful respect for the teachings of history is

necessary in order for appropriate limits to be placed on sub-

stantive due process and to recognize the powers and duties of the

coordinate branches of government. Moore, 431 U.S. at 503.

B. The Failure of Analysis

in “Right-to-Die” Cases.

In Re Quinlan, 355 A.2d 647 (1976), is the seminal, and

frequently cited as the leading, case in which a court authorized

the removal of life support equipment on privacy grounds. How-

ever, the Quinlan court made no attempt to explore the history

and traditions of Western society which might buttress the view

that the removal of life support involves a fundamental right.

Subsequent “right-to—die” cases merely rely on the Quinlan

precedent and add little in the way of reasoned analysis on the right

to privacy issue. To the extent these courts adopted the Quinlan

court’s holding without engaging in the essential historical analysis,

these cases are similarly flawed. And the one fact that advocates

of both pro and con on the “right-to-die” issue agree is that “[t}he

so-called ‘right to die’ cases that involve incompetent patients

suffer from a serious internal conflict: their legal standards only

rarely justify their results.” Rhoden, Litigating Life and Death, 102

Harv. L. Rev. 375 (1988).®

In its decisions dealing with the right of privacy, this Court

has been careful, as previously explained, to limit the scope of that

right to matters which can truly be characterized as fundamental

in American history and tradition or implicit in the concept of

® Professor Rhoden’s article favors family control over the “right-to-die”.

Although the article contains a penetrating critique of the failure of judicial

standards in “right-to—die” cases, it is remarkably deficient in two distinctly

important areas: (1) the role of the coordinate branches of government in

fashioning societal standards in this area and (2) differentiation between (a)

withdrawal of basic nourishment without which a certain and crue! death would

result and (b) withdrawal of therapeutic medical treatment aimed at rectifying the

loss of bodily functions without which a person may or may not otherwise die.

9

ordered liberty. The Court has refused consistently to extend

heightened protection to conduct which does not meet these

standards. Thus, in San Antonio School District v. Rodriguez, 411

U.S. 1,20 (1973), the Court refused to rule that education involved

a “fundamental” right, noting that “the importance of a service

performed by the State does not determine whether it must be

regarded as fundamental for purposes of examination under the

Equal Protection Clause.” And in Paris Adult Theatre v. Slaton,

413 US. 49 (1973), this Court recognized that the right of privacy

does not protect access by consenting adults to obscene materials

outside the home. This Court said: “Nothing, however, in this

~ Court's decisions intimates that there is any “fundamental” privacy

right implicit in the concept of ordered liberty to watch obscene

movies in places of public accommodation.” Jd. at 65-66. In Bowers

v. Hardwick, 478 U.S. 186 (1986), this Court refused to expand the

right to privacy to protect homosexual sodomy between consenting

adults. The Court warned against expanding the reach of the

Fourteenth Amendment Due Process Clause by “redefining the

category of rights deemed to be fundamental.” Jd. at 194-95.

Under this analysis, it is not sufficient to find a right of privacy

generally in all matters personal, rather, it is necessary that the

activity seeking protection under the right to privacy itself be

fundamental.

In In Re Quinlan, 355 A.2d 647 (1976), the New Jersey

Supreme Court devoted scarcely a page of analysis in support of

its conclusion that the right to privacy was “presumably broad

enough to encompass a patient’s decision to decline medical treat-

ment....” Jd. at 663 (emphasis added). The presumption that the

mere existence of a right to privacy in the Constitution justifies it

encompassing all matters dealing with one’s personal autonomy is

the identical faulty syllogism which this Court rejected in Bowers

v. Hardwick. In Bowers, this Court noted that the respondents

failed to ground their right to engage in homosexual sodomy in the

traditions and history of our laws and institutions. The Court

found this defect fatal to their claim that such activity was a

fundamental right protected under the Fourteenth Amendment.

10

C. The Termination of Food and Water Cannot

Reasonably Be Characterized As a Fundamen-

tal Right.

As observed by several courts and legal commentators, the

“right-to-die” is an issue where “euphemisms readily find their

way to the fore, perhaps to soften the reality of what is at stake.”

Cruzan, 760 S.W.2d at 412. Unfortunately, much of the case law

in the area has resulted in standards that are the “bioethical

equivalent of squaring the circle.”? “Even a superficial analysis

reveals that legal discourse about timing-of-death decisions quick-

ly degenerates into incoherent babbling that lacks logic, consisten-

cy, or any ability to guide behavior.” Ikuta, Dying at the Right Time:

A Critical Legal Theory Approach to Timing-of-Death Issues, 5

Issues in Law and Medicine, No. 1, 3 (1989). In most instances,

“case law has created fictions to avoid affronting [traditionally and

historically] accepted norms.” Alexander, Death by Directive, 28

Santa Clara L. Rev. 67, 82 (1988). Of course, this Court should

not permit legal fiction to dictate constitutional principles.

As will be demonstrated, neither suicide nor euthanasia has

an historical or traditional foundation in Anglo-American law.

Since this proposition cannot be adequately refuted, and peti-

tioners make no attempt to refute it, a legal fiction must be

employed to obscure the fact that euthanasia, suicide, and the

killing of a human life is essentially what is at issue when artificial

hydration and nutrition is refused or withdrawn to effect one’s own

death or that of a ward in his charge. Only through the use of this

legal “mask” can one tenably maintain that there exists a fun-

damental right to undertake such conduct.

Artificial hydration and nutrition did not exist in early Anglo-

American law and thus obviously cannot provide an unmistakable

historical predicate for the existence of a fundamental right to

refuse such procedures. Accordingly, petitioners must resort to

the analogy that such a liberty is included in the historical and

traditional right to refuse medical treatment. In so doing,

~

” Arras, Quality of Life in Neonatal Ethics: Beyond Denial and Evasion in

Ethical Issues at the Outset of Life at 166 (M. Benjamin-& M. Weil eds. 1987),

cited in Rhoden, supra page 8, at 386.

11

petitioners misapprehend the nature of this liberty found in com-

mon law and early American law.

The cases or theories petitioners marshall in support of this

alleged fundamental right are of three types: (1) those in which an

underlying illness appeared to be terminal and thus afforded no

medical solution other than extraordinary medical measures to

preserve life or otherwise cure the underlying bodily defect®, (2)

those where the patient neither sought nor desired death, but

where the risk or certainty of death was tolerated to secure some

higher principle, such as faithfulness to one’s religious convic-

tions,” and (3) those involving informed consent requirements

where death was unlikely to result from the refusal of medical

treatment. 10

The present case cannot be included in any of the foregoing

categories. This is not a case where removal of life sustaining

procedures will merely hasten death. Nancy Cruzan is not ter-

minally ill. Cruzan 760 S.W.2d at 412. She has a normal life

expectancy for a person her age. Jd. The guardians seek no goal

but her death.

The guardians also harbor no principled religious or

philosophical objection tc artificial hydration and nutrition as a

medical technique and presumably would welcome such proce-

dures were Nancy’s death available through some alternate means.

Accordingly, this case bears no resemblance to the group of cases

where medical treatment was refused on religious grounds. In

those cases, death was not the goal and in fact was not even desired.

Freedom to be faithful to one’s religious convictions even at the

risk of death was the fundamental liberty advanced in these cases—

not, as the petitioners maintain, freedom to refuse life sustaining

procedures in order to effect one’s death when one found life no

longer worth living.

© See,e.g.,Inre Quinlan, 355 A.2d 647, cert. den.,429 U. S.922(1976); Eichner

v. Dillon, 420 N. E. 2d 64, cert. den., 454 U. S. 858 (1981).

9 See the cases cited in footnote 17 of the Missouri Supreme Court majority

opinion in this case, Cruzan by Crucan v. Harmon, 760 S. W.2d 408, 422 (Mo. En

Banc 1988); but cf In re Application of the President and Directors of Georgetown

College, Inc., 331 F.2d 1000 (D. C. Cir. 1964) (Opinion of Wright, J.).

10 See Brief for Petitioners, pp. 18-20.

12

The cases involving informed consent are also inapposite.

They largely involve personal injury actions against medical care

providers rather than the vindication of some death right against

state encroachment. Petitioners’ reliance on these cases as pre-

cedent for a fundamental right to refuse artificially administered

food and water in one’s quest for death is therefore misplaced.

Apart from the relative recency of these cases, and the fact

that they are only marginally relevant on the facts of this case, none

of the legal doctrines reflected in these cases demonstrate

longstanding principles that are rooted and grounded in our tradi-

tion or history or otherwise implicit in the concept, of ordered

liberty. To the contrary, they largely reflect the struggles of the

parties in attempting to resolve what are in many instances broad

social policy dilemmas presented by the technological age.

On the other hand is the traditional and historical proscrip-

tion of suicide and euthanasia which pervades Anglo-American

law and can be traced back to the teachings of the Christian Church

and early English common law and statutory law.!! Suicide is “the

willful and voluntary act of a person who understands the physical

nature of the act, and intends by it to accomplish the result of self

termination....” 40A Words and Phrases, “Suicide” 143 (1981).

Suicide “is the denial that self-preservation i is the first law of life.

No one who commits suicide is in that moment of normal mind.”!2

Suicide is still suicide even if one believes that one’s life is no longer

worth living (or, where one’s suicide is “rational”, if the alternate

term is preferable) and even if one can get others to agree on this.

Similarly, euthanasia is the “putting to death persons suffering

[from an] incurrable or distressing disease as an act of mercy.”

Black’s Law Dictionary 497 (Sth ed. 1979). As with suicide, its

TT “Ajthough suicide was never a legal crime in the Greek or Roman world, it

was considered an act against the state. Aristotle said: “The suicide commits

injustice, but against whom? It seems to be against the state rather than against

himself... This is why the state exacts a penalty, suicide is punished by certain marks

of dishonor, as being an offense against the state.” Aristotle, Nicomachean Ethics,

5.11.3, 1138a 10, quoted in, W. Barclay, ee

(1973).

12 ww, Barclay, supra note 11, at 85.

et

13

character does not change with the strength of the underlying

motivation.

Establishing the limits of suicide with reference to right-to-

die issues and cases has been heavily influenced by traditional

Judeo-Christian and philosophical thought. Because of this,

“(t]he starting point of a court’s analysis is often the sanctity of life

and the duty to preserve it. Judeo-Christian thought traditionally

places a preeminent value on human life. In traditional Jewish —

thought, the duty to preserve life is so strong that an individual may

not refuse treatment for disease, lest by doing so he prematurely

ends his life.”!3 The first century Jewish historian Josephus,

likewise, argued against suicide because “the soul is depositum

received from God, so that a man acts wickedly in casting it from

his body.” 8 The Encyclopedia of Philosophy 43 (1967).

The Christian Church, while recognizing compassion for the

loneliness and lostness that leads to suicide,}5 nevertheless has

consistently taught against it.!© St. Augustine condemned suicide

as a violation of God’s gift of life. O. Russell, Freedom to Die:

Moral and Legal Aspects of Euthanasia 77 (1976) [hereinafter

Freedom to Die}. In the thirteenth century, St. Thomas Aquinas

described suicide as “the most fatal of sins because it cannot be

'3 Morgan & Harty-Golder, Constitutional Development of Judicial Criteria in

Right to Die Cases: From Brain Dead to Persistent Vegetative State, 28 Wake Forest

L. Rev. 721, 740 (1988)(footnotes omitted).

'* The Jewish tradition includes an exception for suicide and euthanasia in

laying down one’s life for his or her faith and people, best exemplified by the seige

of Masada where the Jewish garrison slew their wives and children and killed

themselves rather than permit them to be dishonored and brought into siavery.

W. Barclay, supra note 11, at 82.

Sw, Barclay, supra note 11, at 86.

'© “The legal proof texts [for both Judaism and Christianity in] forbidding

[suicide] were Genesis 9:5: "For your lifeblood I will surely require a reckoning;

Deuteronomy 4:9: “only take heed, and keep your soul diligently”; this command-

ment itself, and Job 2:9, 10 where Job in face of his disasters indignantly refuses a

suggestion to put an end to his own life.” Job’s wife had suggested that he “curse

God and die.” W. Barclay, supra note 11, at 81. There are at least 5 cases of men

taking their own lives in the Old Testament and 1 in the New Testament (Judas

Iscariot). Id.

14

repented on.” St. Thomas Aquinas, Summa Theologica. Suicide

became a cardinal sin. Freedom to Die, supra at 77.

Suicide was a felony at common law. Beschle, Autonomous

Decision Making and Social Choice: Examining the “Right to Die”,

77 Ky. L.J. 319, 323 (1989). It was considered both a spiritual

offense and an offense against the King who, it was deemed, “hath

an interest in the preservation of all his subjects....”. W. Black-

stone, 4 Commentaries on the Laws of England 189 (1967 reprint).

The penalty was to require forfeiture of the property of those who

succeeded at committing suicide. Jd. at 190. Since the successful

suicide is not otherwise amenable to punishment, one must also

look to the penalties for attempted suicide and aiding and abetting

suicide to discover the high degree of moral turpitude which

Anglo-American society attached to suicide. At common law,

those who attempted suicide along with their conspirators were

severely punished. Freedom to Die, supra at 77. Assisting in

another’s suicide was a serious crime. Beschle, supra at 323; see

McMahon v. State, 53 So. 89, 90-91 (Ala. 1910). Any type of

“mercy killing” carried the same charge as homicide. Beschle,

supra at 323. The laws of England regarded suicide and euthanasia

as criminal well into the twentieth century. Freedom to Die at 79.

Early American law maintained a similar posture. One state

court stated: “If a person, knowing [of the] suicidal intent of

another, at [the] suicide’s request prepares and places poison in

[the] mouth of [the] suicide, he is regarded as administering

poison, and in case of death is guilty of murder.” Aven v. State, 277

S.W. 1080 (Tex. Crim. 1925). Numerous court decisions from

various states overwhelmingly reaffirm this view. See, e.g., People

v. Roberts, 178 N.W. 690 (Mich. 1920); Burnette v. People, 68 N.E.

505 (Ill. 1903); Sanders v. State, 112 S.W. 68 (Tex. Crim. 1908).

Euthanasia has likewise been disparaged in our tradition.

One contemporary religious commentator has called it “legally

indefensible, practically impossible, morally wrong, and theologi-

cally unjustifiable.”!7 At common law, it has been punished as

aiding and abetting suicide. And in practice, it contravenes the

Tw. Barclay, supra note 11, at 80.

15

traditional ethic of medicine as a healing art. “Killing of patients

by physicians is not a proper topic for value-free discussion. The

prohibition against killing is a fundamental rule in medicirs as

elsewhere, and it is a rule we tamper with only at enormous peril

for patients, physicians, and society.”18

Accordingly, the state of American law and tradition regard-

ing suicide and euthanasia was unambiguously hostile “[a}nd there

is little reason to believe that this legal attitude toward death was

not generally approved.” Beschle, supra page 14, at 323. During

the twentieth century, variovs legislative efforts seeking to legalize

euthanasia were rejected both in the United States and in England.

Id. at 323-24.

As this historical exegesis demonstrates, neither suicide nor

euthanasia can be regarded as a fundamental right grounded in the

history and tradition of our society. Petitioners must resort to one

or more of the legal fictions alluded to earlier in order to mask the

fact that the activity which they wish this Court to declare a

fundamental right is nothing less than euthanasia (if guardians are

given power to exercise the choice) or suicide (if guardians are

permitted to exercise “substituted judgement” for Nancy). In

either event, the conduct involves the killing of a human life.

Petitioners insist that the removal of an individual’s artificial

hydration and nutrition motivated solely to effect that individual’s

death does not constitute suicide or euthanasia because death is

actually the result of some underlying condition. Brief for

Petitioner for Writ of Certiorari at 12. Petitioners contend they

merely wish to “allow nature to take its course.” Jd. (quoting

Rasmussen v. Fleming, 741 P.2d 674 (Ariz. banc 1987). This mask

of “medical determinism” allows moral responsibility to be shifted

by casting patiencs as “passive victims of their [underlying] illness.

They do not choose to die; death overtakes them. Their physicians

do nothing to help them die. Death overwhelms them, too.”

Alexander, supra page 10, at 82. This legal fiction was adopted by

a California court in Bouvia v. Superior Court, 179 Cal. App. 3d

1127, 1146 (1986), and Bartling v. Superior Court, 165 Cal. App.

18 Siegler, The A.M.A. Euthanasia Fiasco, N. Y. Times, Feb. 1, 1988, at 23,

col.1, cited in Ikuta. supra page 10, at 24-25.

16

3d. 186(1984). The California courts’ endorsement of this fiction,

under the euphemism of “death with dignity”!9 and its accompany-

ing arguments should not be seriously entertained.

“Blaming the underlying disease rather than the act of life-

support removal is romantic, but illogical. A person who removed

a feeding tube from a recovering patient temporarily dependent

on it would have a difficult time persuading anyone that the

resulting death was caused by the underlying illness not by the

removal of the tube....To make a case depend on whether the

person wishes to die as opposed to having necessary life support

removed is too transparent to be useful and too insensitive to be

ethical.” Alexander, supra page 10, at 83. Should this Court accept

and protect an individual’s decision to deprive himself of food and

water, it seems doubtful that the Court can long permit restrictions

on more active, and in some ways, more humane, lethal alterna-

tives.

Il. ASSUMING, FOR THE PURPOSES OF ARGU-

MENT, THAT THE RIGHT TO PRIVACY

ENCOMPASSES AN INDIVIDUAL’S CHOICE

TO DISCONTINUE FOOD AND WATER, THE

STATE’S COUNTERVAILING INTEREST IN

PRESERVING LIFE IS SUFFICIENT TO OVER-

COME THIS RIGHT AND THE EFFICACY OF

THIS COUNTERVAILING INTEREST IS NOT

DEPENDENT ON QUALITY OF LIFE CON-

SIDERATIONS.

Petitioners do not presently contest that a state has suffi-

ciently compelling interests in protecting life to overcome any

individual privacy rights with respect to a healthy individual. It may

seem reasonable to some that these interests should be substan-

'? The ignominious first use of the “death with dignity” slogan, “as far as we

know, [was] in a book published in Germany in 1920 by Karl Binding and Alfred

Hoche: The Release of the Destruction of Life Devoid of Value. There is no doubt

what the authors meant by the term. They made it the motto of the movement to

legalize the killing of a person who had "the right to the complete relief of an

unbearable life.’ But, we have to ask, ’unbearable’ by whose definition?” C. Koop

and F. Schaeffer, Whatever Happened To The Human Race? 55 (1983 rev. ed.)

(emphasis added).

17

tially discounted for individuals who suffer from terminal illnesses

or injuries. Since death must come at some point in everyone’s

life, some believe that merely altering the time of death by an

insubstantial period will not do great injury to the state’s interests.

This is not to say that their life is less valuable. On the contrary,

there may simply be less life remaining to which society can at-

tribute sufficient value to protect or preserve.

In contrast, great mischief lies in the notion that the “quality”

of one’s life limits the state’s ability to stop the voluntary starvation

and dehydration of an individual who wishes to die. How long

could this Court accord fundamental right protection to a severely

brain damaged individual’s choice to die before it would be asked

on equal protection grounds to extend such rights to less severely

afflicted individuals and finally, to those who suffer no affliction

whatsoever, but nonetheless wish to die? This, of course, would

be the judicially authorized killing of human life. As the Cruzan

court observed, “once prognosis becomes irrelevant,...the judicial

approval of suicide [must follow]”. Cruzan, 760 S.W.2d at 422

(citing Tribe, American Constitutional Law 1366 (2d ed. 1988)).

The Quinlan court subtly moved the focus of the state’s

countervailing interest from the patient’s prognosis or the quantity

of life remaining to the quality of the remaining life. The Missouri

Supreme Court rejected this view holding that the state’s interest

in preserving life was unaffected by quality of life considerations.

To argue that a non-terminal, but nevertheless brain injured,

individual has a right to refuse food and water, one must presume

that the state’s interest diminishes with the quality of that

individual’s life. The Cruzan court recognized that this is nothing

more than a thinly disguised assertion that such persons are of

lesser value. Since there was no basis in this nation’s history or

tradition for this presumption, the Cruzan court did not feel

compelled to adopt it.

Judge Blackmar, in dissent, claimed that quality of life

considerations are relevant and appropriate for determining the

efficacy of the state’s countervailing interest in preserving life.

This colloquy is somewhat reminiscent of this Court’s assertion in

Roe v. Wade, that the state’s interest in pre-viable unborn life in

18

not compelling, 410 U.S. at 165, and this same Court’s counter-

assertion in Webster v. Reproductive Health Services, that the state’s

interest in unborn life is compelling throughout pregnancy. 109

S.Ct. 3040, 3057 (1989) quoting Thornburgh v. American College of

Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 476 U.S. 747, 795 (1986) (White,

J., dissenting)). The nature of a state’s interest, compelling or

otherwise, in protecting life, be it unborn or vegetative, cannot be

empirically determined. It is based on moral grounds and derived

from the inalienable right to life —- the precondition for all human

rights. The paramount value assigned to life by our society has

been unequivocally recognized in the founding documents of our

Republic —- the Declaration of Independence, the Fifth Amend-

ment of the Bill of Rights and the Fourteen Amendment im-

plementing Emancipation. The latter two Amendments require

Due Process before life can be extinguished through state action.

Although it is certainly within the role of this Court to protect

life by determining what process is “due” to extinguish the life of

the severely brain injured, it is hardly appropriate for the judicial

branch of government on constitutional grounds to promulgate a

regime of rules under which life can be taken. That role is more

legislative in nature. Any attempt by the courts to determine the

nature of the state’s countervailing interests in preserving the life

of those who are severely brain injured necessarily deteriorates to

“reason by assertion” as it did in the context of unborn life. The

proper value which society should place on permanently vegeta-

tive individuals and the procedures to extinguish their lives is a

question upon which the courts should limit their role to review

rather than promulgation. The question is inherently political, not

juridical. This is particularly true since “there is no consensus in

our society about how the value of life is affected by the loss of

higher brain function.” Tribe, supra page 17, at 1369; see also id.,

n.34. “[D]eference to the legislatures may prove wise in light of

the complex character of the rights at stake and the significant

potential that without careful statutory guidelines and gradually

evolving procedural controls, legalizing euthanasia, rather than

respecting people, may endanger personhood.” Jd. at 1370-71.

The Missouri legislature has responded to the ethical dilem-

ma posed by advanced technology with a Living Will statute. Mo.

19

Ann. Stat. §§ 459.010-459.025 (Vermont Supp. 1987). Although

not directly at issue in this case, the statute balances the privacy

interests of individuals against the countervailing interests of the

state and enumerates the situations where individual preferences

should control and those where the state’s interest in life should

control. The statute favors the individual’s choice to refuse life

sustaining procedures where the patient’s underlying affliction is

incurable and where death is imminent irrespective of whether

these procedures are implemented. § 459.010(3). The statute

excludes the removal of artificial hydration and nutrition as well as

pain relievers frorn among the procedures that can be removed by

the patient’s directive, presumably because this would result in

inhumane suffering for the dying patient. Jd. Although the statute

is not directly at issue here, it is nonetheless useful as an expression

of the collective values of the people of Missouri as they bear on

the strong and competing interests represented in Nancy Cruzan’s

case or in any other case.

There are some who would strike the balance differently, but

the point here is not the desirability vel non of legalized life

termination. The point is that this Court is not a “super-legisla-

ture,” Griswold, 381 U.S. at 482, empowered to adjudicate accord-

ing to the personal preferences or political agendas of its members

or any other persons or institutions. Instead, the Court’s task is to

expound the Constitution. As such, no responsible analysis of the

Fourteenth Amendment can include in the right of privacy the

practice of suicide or euthanasia by or upon an incompetent

through starvation and dehydration. Accordingly, the Missouri

Supreme Court has properly recognized that any appropriate

change to Missouri's Living Will statute should be made by the

Missouri legislature, which is responsible to the citizens of that

state.

lil. AN INCOMPETENT WARD’S INABILITY TO

ASSERT A CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT DOES

NOT IPSO FACTO EMPOWER HIS GUARDIAN

TO EXERCISE THE WARD’S RIGHT IN HIS

STEAD.

20

A. The Legal Fiction of an Incompetent’s

“Autonomous” Choice.

In In Re Quinlan, 355 A.2d 647 (N.J. 1976), the New Jersey

Supreme Court ruled, upon the guardian’s petition, that a per-

petually comatose ward has a right to privacy sufficiently broad to

encompass an individual’s choice to remove an artificial life sup-

port system. Since the ward could not exercise such a right, “in an

analytical leap of great significance” (Beschle, supra page 14, at

328), the court reasoned that “the only practical way to prevent

destruction of the right is to permit the guardian and family ... to

render their best judgment ... as to whether ... [the ward] would

exercise it.” 355 A.2d at 664. Subsequent right-to—die cases in-

volving incompetents have used similar reasoning.

The petitioners argue, as did the petitioner in Quinlan, that

any decision which prevents them from removing Nancy’s feeding

tube effectively deprives Nancy of her constitutional right to refuse

treatment. It must remembered, however, that it is Nancy’s incom-

petence, not the actions of the state, that prevent her from assert-

ing her alleged constitutional right. The Constitution does not

compel the state to empower the guardian to exercise Nancy’s

constitutional rights in her stead. Nancy has many constitutional

rights which are unexercisable by virtue of her incompetence —-

voting, free speech, the right to travel —- nearly all of her rights

dealing with social intercourse. No court would entertain the

notion that the Constitution empowers Nancy’s guardians to cast

a ballot on her behalf in addition to their own ballot. N or would

it allow the guardians to seek elected office on Nancy’s »ehalf if

the guardians, for some reason, were not qualified to h ld the

office. Manifestly, to permit a third party to “exercise” an

incompetent’s Constitutional “rights” is a legal fiction of the

highest order. “Absent prior directives, [treatment] decisions are

not, properly speaking, rights-based. Nor are they likely to be

demonstrably ‘right’ to objective third parties unconnected to the

patient. To someone who lacks intuitive knowledge of the patient,

such a subjective test will seldom go further than yielding answers

that seem reasonable, or perhaps more reasonable than the alter-

natives.” Rhoden, supra page 8, at 303. In fact, “[t]he notion of

substituted judgment is logically contradictory. Simply put,

21

autonomy and self-determination refer to the individual’s freedom

to choose. Ifa third party, no matter how well-intentioned, makes

a choice for that individual, this choice can no longer be called

autonomous.” Ikuta, supra page 10, at 42 (emphasis added).

A guardian’s powers are, and should be, derived from and

limited by, not the Constitutional rights of the ward, but the laws

of the state, see, ¢.g., State ex rel. Klopotek v. District Court, Etc.,

621 P.2d 223 (Wyo. 1980); Poling v. City Bank and Trust Co. of St.

Petersburg, Fla., 189 So.2d 176 (Fla. 1966), and should exist only at

the state’s sufferance. Quinlan and its progeny erred by improper-

ly attributing those powers to some constitutional or common law

mandate and failing to recognize the temporal source of a

guardian’s powers. Cruzan, 760 S.W.2d at 425.

B. Reasonable Limits on When, and Under What

Circumstances, Medical Procedures Can Be

Withheld or Withdrawn.

The petitioners argue that Nancy’s artificial hydration and

nutrition must be discontinued because this would comport with

her preference were she able to choose. The thrust of this argu-

ment, the so-called “objective evidence test,” is that it is the

function of the trial court to determine whether she would have

done so based on the credibility of witnesses and resolution of

conflicts in testimony. It assumes that findings as to what Nancy

would have chosen were she competent should not be disturbed

unless they lack evidentiary support. This view misapprehends the

nature of the Missouri Supreme Court’s ruling. That court did not

dispute the underlying facts relative to what Nancy said and what

kind of person she was. Rather, it ruled that this type of evidence

was insufficient, as a matter of law, to support a court order

resulting in her certain death.

The rationale for limiting a guardian’s right to end a ward’s

life, and imposing exacting evidentiary requirements for proof of

an incompetent’s preference for death, are particularly strong.

Despite the widespread insistence on describing third party life

termination decisions as mere acquiescence to the patient’s

autonomous choice, these decisions are really a choice made by

someone other than the patient. Beschle, supra page 14, at 360.

22

“Irrespective of how it is attempted, making decisions that dupli-

cate what another would have decided ic virtually impossible.”

Alexander, supra page 10,at90.

The...decision maker, not facing his...own death, but the

death of another, will...surely treat death as an objec-

tive, distant thing. Yet the decision maker’s task is to

decide as if he were the patient [for whom]... death is

very real and very subjective....[This is true] [e]ven if

the,.. decision maker quite faithfully carries out detailed

advance instructions executed by the patient prior to

the [onset of the irreversible condition. Such a patient,

at the time he created the directive,]... was very much a

different person....[One] cannot know, unless the

patient [so indicates]..., what [effect] the actual ap-

proach of death has [had on] ... his prior choice.

Beschle, supra page 14, at 350; See also Alexander, supra page 10,

at 90-91.

If this is indeed the case, how much more difficult must be

the determination of the patient’s true wishes absent an advance

directive? Of particular concer is the sentiment found in various

segments of society, including government”? , which “encourage(s]

the thought that those who do not want to ’shuffle off fast enough

are somehow failing in their contribution to society” by consuming

scarce medical resources. C. Koop & F. Schaeffer, Whatever Hap-

pened to the Human Race 58 (1983 rev. ed.). Even if some token

expression of consent or willingness from the prospective euthan-

asia target is required as a criterion, such a protective mechanism

could easily become ineffectual in a society with proclivities for

legal and verbal sleight of hand. Should an incompetent individual

find himself in the “care” of a group that embraces strong

euthanasia sentiments, these strongly held sentiments could easily

20 See, e.g, The Washington Post, June 22, 1977, at A2, col. 1 (Richard Durzon,

a high ranking member of HEW suggested conditioning federal medicare funding

on states’ enactment of a living will statute); and The Washington Post, March 29,

1984, at A3, col. 5 (Richard Lamm, former Governor of Colorado, stated that the

elderly and terminally ill “have a duty to die and get out of the way,” and compared

persons who refuse artificial life support with “leaves falling off a tree and forming

humus for the other plants to grow....”).

23

color reality for the caretaker in his or her interpretation of the

patient’s actions and statements.

Professor Beschle recounts a disturbing example of this

phenomenon in the California Court of Appeals’s opinion in

Bartling v. Superior Court, 163 Cal. App 3d 186 (1984). Mr. Bar-

tling died while the case was pending. Bartling was dependant

upon a respirator for life support. The hospital opposed Bartling’s

petition to disconnect the respirator since he had equivocated on

numerous occasions. The hospital expressed concern for the sin-

cerity and finality of his decision. The court, in granting Bartling’s

petition, dismissed as insignificant, “the fact that Mr. Bartling had

periodically wavered from his position because of severe depres-

siOn....” Id. at 223 (emphasis added). Thus, the California court

viewed the “request for euthanasia as automatically the ‘true’

request and contrary evidence as the result of patholog[ical] [fac-

tors}....” Beschle supra page 14, at 356 n.151. “Even if the wish to

live is influenced by emotion rather than pure reason, why is

emotion irrelevant, or worse, a distortion?” Jd. at 356; see also

Tribe, supra page 17, at 1598-99 (discussing how expanding the

pe me “a might offer a pretext for discrimination against the

A similar situation occurred recently in New York State. The

88-year old sister of the comatose 86-year old Carrie A. Coons —-

who had been definitively declared by her doctors to be in an

“irreversible” vegetative state —- had sought approval from New

York Supreme Court Justice Joseph Harris to remove the tube

that provided nourishment to Mrs. Coons. After approving an

order permitting removal of the tube on a Friday, Justice Harris

vacated the order the following Tuesday when doctors testified

that Mrs. Coons had gained consciousness and, after being in-

formed of her legal plight, “said she would ‘like to wait’ on any

decision about the feeding tube.” See Verhovek, New York Judge

Revokes Right-to-Die Order as Patient in Coma Wakes, New York

Times, April 12, 1989 (New York City ed.) Dr. Ronald E. Cran-

ford, a Minnesota neurologist and past President of the American

Society of Law and Medicine, is quoted as saying “[i}t’s a dramatic

- —- it shows that you’re never dealing with certainties here.”

24

In view of this uncertain and perilously precarious situation,

it is entirely proper for the Missouri legislature to specify what type

of evidence and procedures, if any, will be deemed legally sufficient

to determine an incompetent patient’s wishes before his guardian

is empowered to terminate the life of his or her charge. An

executed living will is the most reliable indicator of an incompetent

patient’s wishes regarding the discontinuance of life support sys-

tems. Morgan & Harty-Golder, supra note 13, at 756. In the

absence of a prior directive, a court has nothing on which to base

its judgment as to the patient’s preference except the patient’s

prior casual statements about refusing life support as well as

testimony of acquaintances regarding the character of the now

incompetent patient. The New Jersey Supreme Court has charac-

terized this type of evidence as inherently unreliable. See, e.g., In

re Jobes, 529 A.2d 434, 443 (N.J. 1987); In Re Conroy, 486 A.2d

1209, 1238 (N.J. 1985). Accordingly, it was proper for the Missouri

legislature to exclude such evidence among that deemed legally

sufficient to permit the killing of an incompetent patient.

Even with a prior directive, questions must be raised about

the significant distinctions between withdrawal of nourishment

absolutely essential to human survival as opposed to withdrawal of

therapeutic treatment to overcome otherwise harmful or debilitat-

ing medical conditions that seriously threaten one’s life or bodily

functions. Irrespective of whether the Fourteenth Amendment

contains a fundamental right to die, it certainly contains a fun-

damental right to live. No person can be deprived of “life” without

due process of law. This right is perhaps the most important since

no other right can exist without it. And, as petitioners will readily

agree, “the rights of the competent and incompetent are ident-

ical.” Alexander, supra page 10, at 79. No one can determine with

certainty how Nancy, or someone in a similar position, would

decide. With respect to incompetent adults, any regulatory at-

tempt to protect the one right, places the other at risk.

This Court has permitted, and the courts of this country, have

sanctioned —- in the name of Due Process —- seemingly unending

judicial review of the convictions of persons convicted of capital

offenses and sentenced to death. Asa result, it now takes decades

and multiple levels of judicial review to carry out society's con-

25

sidered sentence in those cases. And yet, incompetent and coma-

tose persons —- living without advocates and more often than not

failing when competent to express their wishes on right-to-die

issues —- are given relatively minimal Due Process, if any at all, as

their sentences are carried out by “physicians” who know better

or by “loving” family members or guardians. This double standard,

particularly in cases involving a certain (and cruel)?! death by

withdrawal of food and water, should not be constitutionally sanc-

tioned except in the most compelling circumstances and with the

highest level of Due Process. If the word “life” in the Fourteenth

Amendment or “cruel and unusual punishment” in the Eighth

Amendment are to have any meaning, then it should not vary with

the context, nor deny protection of law on an equal basis to all.

The Missouri legislature, as well as the legislatures of 36 other

States, see id. at 93 n.136, has undertaken, through its Living Will

statute, Mo. Ann. Stat. §§ 459.010-459.025 (Vermont Supp. 1987),

to determine the relative weight these competing rights should

embody in its laws and the presumption the law will favor where

uncertainty exists. The living will statute represents a responsible

attempt to strike an appropriate balance and allow persons a

reasonable opportunity to secure some certainty in the use of

medical technology upon their incompetence while minimizing the

risk that their life will be terminated by withdrawal of food and

water. The Missouri Supreme Court properly decided not to

expand Constitutional or common law doctrine to countermand

this express legislative policy.

IV. EXPANSION OF THE RIGHT OF PRIVACY TO

ENCOMPASS THE REMOVAL OF A NON-

TERMINAL INCOMPETENT’S FOOD AND

WATER AT THE INSTANCE OF HIS GUARDIAN

WILL OPEN THE DOOR TO THE LEGAL EXTER-

MINATION OF OTHER INCOMPETENTS

WHOSE LIVES ARE DEEMED BY THE PREVAIL-

a ETHIC TO BE “DEVOID OF ANY

7 If there ever were a violation of the Eighth Amendment’s proscription

against “crue! and unusual punishment,” most certainly it would be death inflicted

by intentional starvation and thirst.

26

There is great danger in the situation where private parties

can exercise unrestrained power over the life and death of others

and maintain that they are merely vindicating the rights of the

persons being harmed. History reminds us of the abuses of East-

ern European nations perpetrated in the name of “workers’

rights.” Sadly, this Court has not been immune to the use of such

rhetoric. In Lochner v. New York, 198 U.S.45 (1905), and Adkins

v. Children’s Hospital, 261 U.S. 525 (1923), the Court invalidated

legislative efforts to protect laborers from economic exploitation.

The Court described its action as a vindication of the right of the

worker to contract freely with respect to terms of employment.

Adkins, 261 U. S. at 545. Through the use of such a rhetorical

mechanism, “the courts, and society..., could rest easy, assured that

they were not responsible for the exploitation of labor. They had

merely deferred to the rights of the worker to make his own

contracts. How they used their rights might be unfortunate, but it

was not society’s fault.” Beschle, supra page 14, at 348.

Similarly, this Court is now asked to lend its power to order

Nancy Cruzan’s physician to terminate her life so that her “right

to die” might be vindicated. As observed by one critic of sub-

stituted judgment, “[i}n these efforts to avoid responsibility for the

exercise of power, the concept of a right can be of great value.”

Beschle, supra page 14, at 347.

It is not infrequent that the vilest of sentiments come pack-

aged as a humanitarian gesture and carry the language of compas-

sion. History again reminds us of the slave owner who justified

slavery on the grounds that his Black slave would be thankful for

the benefit of sharing in the ite man’s” culture. Through

- similar rhetoric, the early colonists justified their oppression of the

Indian. The Nazi’s pursued their “final solution” of eliminating

life “not worthy of life” for what they viewed to be the greater good

of Aryan society. This “final solution” included not only the Jews,

but also the handicapped, the infirm and the elderly.

The common thread these examples from human history

share with the case at bar is the institutional complicity of closed

eyes to the humanity of those individuals who are chiefly affected

by these policies. Rhetorical devises and fictions are enlisted to

7 ry ye AA hie

27

facilitate this process. The slave becomes “property”, the unborn

child, “tissue,” and the Jew, “vermin”. In this case, the person in

a persistent vegetative state are denominated “PVS patients” and

suggested to be lacking attributes of meaningful “humanity.”22

Former Surgeon General C. Everett Koop first warned in 1979,

perhaps prophetically, that the next candidates for arbitrary reclas-

sification as non-persons in our society are the elderly (C. Koop &

F. Schaeffer, Whatever Happened to the Human Race 54 (1983 rev.

ed.) to be followed by “individuals or groups of individuals who are

unwanted, imperfect, or socially embarrassing.” Jd. at 56.

One researcher, in discussing a society’s widespread use of

dehumanizing metaphors to describe certain human groups imme-

diately prior to the genocidal massacre of those groups (see L.

Kuper, Genocide 84-100 (1981)), noted that the inhibitions against

killing one’s own kind “are generally so strong that the victims must

first be deprived of their human status if systematic killing is to

proceed...[Once] dehumanized, principles of morality no longer

apply to them and moral restraints against killing are more readily

overcome.” Jd. at 87. Need one ponder long to discern the purpose

of the term “irreversibly vegetative” as applied to condition of a

Nancy Cruzan or Carrie Coons?

Lest this appear as alarmism, it has been seriously suggested

by Dr. Ronald E. Cranford, in a recent issue in the American

Journal of Law and Medicine dedicated to a sitting Justice of this

Court, that human personhood, and the rights that follow under

the Fourteenth Amendment, should be based solely on one’s state

22 See, Brief Amicus Curiae of the American Academy of Neurology in Support

of Petitioners in this case, p. 2 ff. The Brief implies that “PVS patients” are

“subhuman:”

Where a patient retains any attribute of humanity, including any

degree of consciousness or sentience, the state might reasonably

assert an interest in protecting that attribute. But the state cannot

reasonably assert a compelling interest in maintaining life that exists

on a purely vegetative level —- the only level on which a PVS patient

exists.

Id. at 22. The clinical uncertainties of the persistent vegetative state, however,

bring this analysis into serious question. See text at p. 23 of this Brief.

28

of “consciousness.” Writing with David Randolph Smith, a lawyer,

Dr. Cranford states:

Our major premise is that consciousness is the most

critical moral, legal, and constitutional standard, not for

human life itself, but for human personhood.... Thus, we

believe that the permanent loss of all consciousness is

just as significant as the loss of all cardiopulmonary

functions (the cardiopulmonary standard for death),

and all brain functions (the neurological standard for

death), in determiniiz,, the moral and legal status of a

human being.

These gentlemen go on to point out that the annual cost of

maintaining persistent vegetative state patients in the United

states is between $120 million to $1.2 billion. They ask: “Why

should society spend this much money for patients who can never

benefit from continued treatment in any way, when 37 million

people with no medical insurance or coverage have such a reduced

opportunity for even a minimal level of health care? Is this social

justice?” Id. at 246.24 Of course, whether it is just depends on the

standard of justice to be administered. Here, it is necessary for

them to define away “life” in the Fourteenth Amendment in order

to remove human beings from the protection of its guarantees.

23 Cranford and Smith, Consciousness: The Most Critical Moral (Constitution-

al) Standard for Human Personhood, in Justice Harry A. Blackmun: The Supreme

Court and the Limits of Medical Privacy, 13 Am. J. L. & Med. 233-234, 244 (1987).

Cranford would also apply the “consciousness” standard, rather than the

“viability” standard, to abortion. Jd. at 239.

- Notably, these gentlemen oppose “deregulation” or “right-to-die” decisions

conflict of interest that family members might have in bringing about death to

effectuate inheritance, insurance proceedings, remarriage without a divorce or

other uiterior benefits.” Id. at 245. See also, in this regard, Ikuta, supra page 10,

at 63.

25 In a related field, Dr. Robert D. Truog and bioethicist Joseph C. Fletcher in

a recent issue of the New England Journal of Medicine argue that doctors should

be allowed to ignore the usual standards of brain death for anencephalic infants

so that their organs can be harvested for use by other sick babies. “Our proposal

asserts that the anencephalic infant is not alive.” Dociors advise exception to brain

29

Attempts by the medical community to exempt themselves

from legal sanctions for their actions is not new. Witness the

enormous investment of time and money by the national medical

associations to hire the largest law firms and preeminent attorneys

to file amicus briefs in this case and in other recent cases before

this Court with regulatory or financial implications for the medical

profession.2© Dr. Koop has reminded us of the extensive influence

of the medical profession in the development and execution of the

Nazi regime of euthanasia against the weak and infirm. Jd. at 65.

The guiding philosophic principle of recent dictator-

ships, including the Nazis, was Hegelian in that what was

considered “rational utility” and corresponding

doctrine and planning had replaced moral, ethical and

religious values. Medical science in Nazi Germany col-

laborated with this Hegelian trend particularly in the

following enterprises: the mass extermination of the

chronically sick in the interest of saving “useless” expen-

ses to the community as a whole; the mass extermination

of those considered socially disturbing or racially and

ideologically unwanted; the individual, inconspicuous

extermination of those considered disloyal to the ruling

group; and the ruthiess use of “human experimental

material” in medical military research. Remember,

physicians took part in this planning.”

death policy, The Kansas City Star, August 10, 1989, p. 2A, col. 1. Two other

physicians argue in the same Journal that anencephalic infants are alive “and the

length of their lives cannot be predicted accurately.” Jd. “They cautioned that

making an exception for anencephalic infants might eventually lead to tkaing

organs from people with other profound medical conditions, such as other babies

with severe head malformations or adults in persistent vegetative states.” Id.

26 See briefs amicus curiae of the various medical organizations in Bowen v.

American Hospital Association, 476 U. S. 610 (1986); City of Akron v. Akron

Center for Reproductive Health, 462 U. S. 416 (1983); Thornburgh v. American

College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 476 U. S. 747 (1986); Webster v.

Reproductive Health Center, U.S._, 109 S.Ct. 3040 (1989).

27 Koop, The Slide to Auschwitz, in R. Reagan, Abortion and the Conscience of

the Nation, 61-62 (1984).

30

“The work that provided the rationale for Nazi euthanasia, The

Permission to Destroy Life Unworthy of Life, was written by two

distinguished German professors, a professor of law and a profes-

sor of psychiatry.” Ikuta, supra page 10, at 62.

Dr. Leo Alexander, a psychiatrist enlisted as a consultant for

the Chief of Counsel for War Crimes at Nuremberg, in a widely

quoted article written at the end of World War II, concluded that

“it all started with the acceptance of the attitude, basic to the

euthanasia movement, that there is such a thing as a life not worthy

to be lived....The infinitely small wedged in lever from which all

this entire trend of mind received its impetus was the [society’s]

attitude towards the non-rehabilitable [sic] sick.” Alexander,

Medical Science Under Dictatorship, 241 New Eng. J. Med. 39

(1949). it is this same attitude, that some life is not worth living,

and therefore not worth protecting, that underpins the arguments

advanced by prominent lawyers and medical professionals in sup-

port of the petitioners. Avnici Curiae urge this Court to reject this

sentiment and affirm the value and dignity of all human life, both

young and old, infirm and whole, and to uphold State regulation

that is protective of the right to life rooted not only in the Fifth

and Fourteenth Amendments to the United States Constitution,

but in the principal deciarative document of our society, the

Declaration of Independence.

CONCLUSION

For the compelling reasons stated above, the judgment of the

Missouri Supreme Court should be forcefully affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

John W. Whitehead*

James J. Knicely

*Counsel of Record

The Rutherford Institute

1465 East Rio Road

Charlottesville, Virginia 22906

(804) 978-3888

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.