Respondents Brief — O'CONNOR v. Ortega

Supreme Court brief1987

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, US, +

FILED

MAR 18 1966

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR,

Nc. sf) --S>3@Q CLERK

EPs tei StPRET-1 : s4_ 3-2 7

= He UNITED STATES

Ic te cobhber Ter-inis 1 VES%

DOemmis Prt. CO *Cornricoms et art. s

Petitioners 5s

Vs.

Magma J. Or-tcbeSsa»

Respondent

Om Wreit of Certi or-ar i

co the Unitea State:

Courts of APPesl + or

Cire Ntimtk: Ciraciwu:. &

SGRIEF FOR REOSPONDE ST

MAGNO J. ORTEGA

Coumse: I af Recorct=

MAGNO J. ORTEGA

CcCim propria persoria >

1239 Thamp ron Aw etIuUS€e

Mapa, C.iustit. 21469553

Teal = €a2171652> 857 -- 3920

IN THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1IVvsSs5S

Demmnis MM. O*Comnor, et al-s

Petitioners,

ws -

Masno J. Ortega,

Respondent

On Writ of Certi orar-i

to the United States

Courts of Appeal for

the Ninth Ci rmcui &

Coumse i of Record:

MAGNO JJ. ORTEGA

cim Pr-oPpria persona >

t23a9 Thompson Avonuce

Napa, Calif. 245595

Tel: <415) s57-3920

iii

TABLE OF CITATIONS

ALLEN v. City of Marietta (N.D. Ga. 1985)

ARMISTEAD v. City of L.A. (1957) 313. P2d

127, 152 CA2d 319: 25, 71

BALTIMORE AND OHIO RR. CO.v. Groeger, 26

U.S. 521: A-44

BEL. v. Hand, 327 U.S. 84, 66 S.Ct. 777:

-44

BIVENS v. Six Unknown Fed. Narcotics

Agents, 403 U.S. 388 (1971): 92, A-36

BRAVERMAN vv. Rosenthal, 102 CA2d 30, 226

P2d 617

=— v. SPB (1950) 96 CA 2d 423, 215 P

12

BUTZ V. Economu (1978) 438 U.S. 478: A-17

In re BUCHMAN's ESTATE (1954) 267 P2d 73,

123 CA2d 546, 47 ALR2d 291: 73

CAMARA v. Municipal Court (1967), 387U.S.

523: A-20

CAREY v. Piphus (1978) 435 U.S. 247: A-36

CHENKIN v. Bellevue Hosp. Ctr. N.Y.C. ETC.

(5D. New York 1979) 479 F. Supp. 1349:

=4

CHOCALLO v. Bureau of Hearings and

Appeals, SSA (E.D. Pa. 1982) 548 F.Supp.

1349: A-18

COOLIDGE v. New Hampshire (1971) 403 U.S.

443, 91 SCt 2022, 29 LEd 564: A-42

DAVIS v. Scherer (1984) 104 S.Ct. 3012:

A-33

DIVISION OF LABOR LAW ENFORCEMENT, Dept.

of Industrial Relations v. Ryan Aero-

nautical Co., 106 CA2d Supp 833, 236 P2d

236, 30 LR2d 347: 51

FRANK v. State of Maryland, 359 US 360, 79

SCt 804: A-21

FURMAN v. Georgia, 408 US 238 (1972): 177

“at v. Schmidt, 579 F.2d 825 (CA3

1978): 91

iv

GRAHAM v. Scissors Tail, Inc. (1981) 28

Cal.32 807, 17 Cal.Rptr. 604: 76

GREGG v. McDonald, 73 CA 748, 239 P 373

In re HAMPTON'S ESTATE (1943) 131 Pad

565, 55 CA2d 543

In re HAMPTON'S ESTATE (1943) 131 p2d

565,55 CA2d 543: 50

HARLOW v. Fitzgerald (1982) 457 U.S. 800:

A-20

HUTCHINSON CO. v. Coughlin (1919) 184 P

435, 42 CA 664

IECK v. Anderson (1881) 57 C 251, 40 Am.R.

KATZ v. U.S., 389 US 347, 88 SCt 507: 54

LAWLESS v. Calaway, 224 Cal.2d 81, 147

Pac.2d 604: 75

LYNCH v. Household Finance Corp., Conn.

1972, 92 SCt 1113, 405 US 538, 31 LEd2d

424, rehearing denied 92 SCt 1611, 409

US 911, 31 LEd2d 822, on remand 360 F

Supp 720: 72

MANCUSI v.DeForte (1968) 392U.S.364: A-12

MAPP v. Ohio (1961)367 U.S. 643: 92, A-40

MARSH v. Alabama, 326 U.S. 501 (19463: 54

MARSHALL v. Barlow's, Inc. (1978) 436 U.S.

307: A-13

MARTINEZ v. California (1980) 444 U.S.

227: <A-14

MASS. BOND. and Ins. Co. v. Industr. Acc.

Comm. (1946) 74 CA2d 911 (at 913): 74

MICHIGAN v. Tyler (1978) 436 U.S. 499:

A-14

MILSAP v. National Funding Corp., 57 CA2d

772, 135 P2d 407): 25

— v. Foster (1972) 407 U.S. 225:

A-1

MONROE v. Pape (1961) 365 U.S. 167: A+38

MT. HEALTHY CITY BOARD OF EDUCATION v.

Doyle (1977) 429 U.S. 274: A-37

NEW JERSEY v. T.L.0. (1985 105 SCt 733, 83

L.Ed.2d 720: A-30

OLIVER v. U.S. (1984) 104 S.C. 1735, 80

L.Ed.2d 214: A-32

PARRATT v. Taylor (1981) 451 U.S. 527:

A-353

PAUL v. Davis (1976) 424 U.S. 693: A-34

PEOPLE v. Superior Ct. (Tyler) (1981) 115

Cal.App.3d 557, 171 Cal.Rptr. 448: A-40

PERRY v. Sindermann (1972) 408 U.S. 593:

A-35

PICKERING v. Board of Education (1968) 391

U.S. 563: A-35

PRUNEYARD Shopping Center v. Robins, 447

U.S. 74 (1980): 58

PUBLIC UTIL COMM'N v. POLLAK, 343 U.S.

451, 467: 37

ROTH, 408 US 589, 92 SCt 2715: A-24

SANDERS: 63

SCHERMBER v. California (1966) 384 US 757,

86 SCt 1826, 16 LEd2d 908: A-41

SCREWS v. U.S., 325 U.S. 91, 65 S.Ct.

10312: 39, A-42

SEE v. City of Seattle (1967) 387 U.S.

541: A-30

SHAFFER v. Field, 339 F.Supp. 997 (C.D.

Cal. 1972), aff'd 484 F.2d 1196 (CA

1973): A-31

SKELLY v. S.P.B. (1975) 15 C2d 194: A-34,

-60, -66, -69

SMITH v. SMITH (1954) 270 P2d 613, 125

CA2d 154: 75

STATE v. PINA, 383 P2d 167, 168: 89

TERRY v. Ohio (1968) 392 U.S. 1: 82, A-

37> -41

TOSSMAN v. Newman, 37 Cal.2d 552, 233

Pac.2d 1: 75

U.S. v. BLOK, 88 US App DC 326, 188 F2d

1019, 1951: 89, A-41

U.S. v. COLLINS (2nd Cir. 1965) 349 F.2d

863: A-20

U.S. v. HAGARTY (7th Cir. 1968) 388 F2d

713: A-38, -39

vi

U.S. v. HITCHCOCK, 467 F.2d 1107,1108 (9th

Cir. 1972): A-40

U.S. v. KAHAN, 350 F.Supp.784 (S.D.N.Y.

1972, rev'd US 239, 94 SCt 1179), 39

L.Ed.2d 297 (1974): A-5, -29

U.S. v. KOWAL, D.C.R.I. 197 F. Supp. 401,

404: 63

U.S. v. Jacobsen (1984) 104 SCt 1652,80

L.Ed.2d 85: A-31

U.S. v. PLACE (1983) 103 S Ct 2637: 82

UNITED STATES v. RABINOWITZ, 339 U.S. 56,

69-70: 37

U.S. v. SKIPWITH, 482 F2d 1272 (5th Cir.

1972): 60

U.S. v. SPEIGHTS, 557 F.2d 362, (3d Cir.

1977): 60, A-40

VALLEY BANK v. Sup Ct (1975) 15 C3d

652,656, 125 CR 553,555: 60 |

WALTER v. United States (1980) 447 U.S.

649: 39, 62

WARD v. Strickland, 420 U.S. 319, 95 S.Ct.

999: A-44

WARING v. Dunlea, D.C.N.C., 26 F.Supp.

338,340: 58 :

WHITNEY v. California (1927) 274 U.S.

357,375: 37, 58

WILLIAMS v. Collins (8th Cir. 1984) 728

F.2d 721: A-19

WINSOR v. Silica Brick Co., 31 CA 85, 159

P 877

WYMAN v. Jeames (1971) 400 U.S. 309: A-6,

-32

U.S. CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENTS

ist: 10, 18, 43, 53-54, 719; 92, A-35, -46

4th: 4, 43, 79-80, 82, 85, 87, 89, 91,

92, A-13, -(19-21), -(27-33, -35, -(38-

41), -46

5th: 4, 43, 51, 72, 78-80, 85, 87, 92,

A-28, -35, -46

6th: 72, 85, 87, 92, A-46

vii

7th: 72, 92, A-46

8th: 72, A-46

Oth: 43, 92, A-35, A-46

10th: 72, 78, 85, 87, 92, A-46

14th: 3 31 53, 72; 78, 85, 87,

A-~(14-16), -(34-37), -47

CALIFORNIA CONSTITUTION

1972 Amendment: 88

STATUTES

18 USCA Sec. 242: A-42

28 USCA Sec. 2283: A-16

Sec. 1331: A-37

104,

42 USC Sec. 1983: 4, 82, 105, A-16, -17,

-33, -36, -38, -44

State Civ Serv Act: 10, 19

GOVERNMENT CODE SECTIONS:

3258: 78 6524: 91, A-67

11153b: 76 11180.5: 17, 91, A-67

11183: 91 14780: 74

18714a: 18 19302a: 21

19303a: 21 19572: 30

19574.5: 5, 8, 49, 51-52, A-6, -60

19581: 75 19582b: 76

SPB Rule 361a: A-11

Rule 361b: A-11

Rule 540: 18

MISCELLANEOUS

20 Am Jur 1043: 75

CAAP Sec. 2.41: 19

2 F. Harper and F. Jones, Law

Torts,Sec. 25.1 (1956): A-36

Jefferson, WORKS: 42, 87

of

MR. STRATTON’S DEPOSITION, PAGE 8, DEC. 1 1983

Q. And you threw the original notes away that you had?.

A. There was only -- I had just started to make the

note, and I threw it away. ‘It was no use to me.

Q. How many pages had you written before you threw

it away?

4. Maybe two sentences.

?. And what were you writing down, just making a log

of the articles?

A. Yes, whether it was State or -- well, if I could

define whether it was State or not State.

Q. You mean whether it should be State or personal

property?

‘A. Right.

Q. And did you ask anyone else who is your superior

whether that was okay to no longer log them?

A. No, I did not.

Q. You just decided that on your own?

A. That's correct. Well, I did talk to Mr. Friday

and told him it was a difficult task and that I would not make

a log, so I «id not.

Q. And he said that was all right?

A. Yes.

Q Do you know if anybody else made a log of these

contents?

A. Nobody else did, to my knowledge.

Q. Okay. Mr. Stratton, maybe we better start first:

Where are you employed at the present time?

a. _.._Napu Stare iiosnmita..

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether it is a violation of a

government employee's civil rights for

government officials to make a "two-

sentence" administrative inventory of

papers ina government office of which

he was the sole occupant for 17 years

while he is undergoing an administrative

investigation, and to impound all its

contents until same can be searched for

rebuttal evidence against him or his

witnesses during his prosecution.

LIST OF PARTIES

Petitioners: Dennis M. O'Connor,

Richard Friday, Dorothy Owen, Stephen

Donoviel

Respondent: Magno J. Ortega

2

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Opinion Below 1

Jurisdiction

Added Constitutional Provision

Statement of the Case

Summary of Argument

Arguments

ONE. THE

MOM Ww WY WW

STATE MUST ONLY BE AS

STRONG AS IT NEEDS TO BE. 42

(a,

43), (b,51), (c,53)

TWO. EMPLOYEE'S EXPECTATION OF

PRIVACY WAS RESPECTED FOR

ALMOST TWO DECADES AND DID

NOT

(a

72},

HINDER INVESTIGATORS 59

60), (e, 64), (f, 67) (e,

J, (i, 793, (3, 80)

THREE. "ADMINISTRATIVE INVENTORY" 85

WAS PREMATURE, UNNECESSARY,

UNREASONABLE, INEFFICACIOUS,

INTRUSIVE, INDECENT, AND DIS-

RESPECTFUL OF PROTECTED RIGHTS

(k, 85), (1, 87), (m, 92), (0, 93)

CONCLUSION 102

ERRATA At

CITATIONS FOR PRIVACY AND IMMUNITY A-12

DEPOSITIONS, DECLARATIONS, ETC. A-48

TABLE OF CITATIONS (To be Supplemented)

ARMISTEAD v. City of L.A. (1957) 313 P2d

127, 152 CA2d 319

BRAVERMAN v. Rosenthal, 102 CA2d 39, 226

P2d 617

BRYANT v. SPB (1950) 96 CA 2d 423, 215 P

2d 512

In re BUCHMAN's ESTATE (1954) 267 P2d

73, 123 CA2d 546, 47 ALR2d 291

DIVISION OF LABOR LAW ENFORCEMENT, Dept.

of [Industrial Relations v. Ryan Aero-

nautical Co., 106 CA2d Supp 833, 236 P2d

236, 30 LR2d 347

FURMAN v. Georgia, 408 US 238 (1972)

GRAHAM v. Scissors Tail, Inc. (1981) 28

Cal.32 807, 17 Cal.Rptr. 604

GREGG v. McDonald, 73 CA 748, 239 P 373

In re HAMPTON'S ESTATE (1943) 131 P2d

565, 55 CA2d 543

HUTCHINSON CO. v. Coughlin (1919) 184 P

435, 42 CA 664

IECK v. Anderson (1881) 57 C 251, 40

Am.R. 115, 7 PCLJ 630

KATZ v. U.S., 389 US 347, 88 SCt 507

LAWLESS v. Calaway, 224 Cal.2d 81, 147

Pac.2d 604

iv

LYNCH v. Household Finance Corp., Conn.

1972, 92 SCt 1113, 405 US 538, 31 LEd2d

424, rehearing denied 92 SCt 1611, 409

US 911, 31 LEd2d 822, ci. remand 360 F

Supp 720

MARSH v. Alabama, 326 U.S. 501 (1946)

MASS. BOND. andIns. Co. v. Industr.

Acc. Comm. (1946) 74 CA2d 911 (at 913)

MILSAP v. National Funding Corp., 57

CA2d 772, 135 P2d 407)

PRUNEYARD Shopping Center v. Robins, 447

U.S. 74 (1980)

PUBLIC UTIL COMM'N v. POLLAK, 343 U.S.

451, 467

SKELLY v. S.P.B. (1975) 15 C2d 194

SMITH v. SMITH (1954) 270 P2d 613, 125

CA2d 154

STATE v. PINA, 383 P2d 167, 168

TOSSMAN v. Newman, 37 Cal.2d 552, 233

Pac.2d 1

U.S. v. BLOK, 88 US App DC 326, 188 F2d

1019, 1951

U.S. v. KOWAL, D.C.R.1. 197 F. Supp.

401, 404

U.S. v. PLACE (1983) 103 S Ct 2637

UNITED STATES v. RABINOWITZ, 339 U.S.

56, 69-70

U.S. v. SKIPWITH, 482 F2d 1272 (Sth Cir.

1972)

U.S. v. SPEIGHTS, 557 F.2d 362, 3d Cir.

1977.)

VALLEY BANK v. Sup Ct (1975) 15 cC3d

652,656, 125 CR 553,555

WALTER v. United States (1980) 447 U.S.

649

WARING v. Dunlea, D.C.N.C., 26 F.Supp.

338,340

WHITNEY v. California (1927) 274 U.S.

3575375

WINSOR v. Silica Brick Co., 31 CA 85,

159 P 877

No. 85-530

IN THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE UNITED «STATES

October Term, 1985

Dennis M. O'Connor, et al.,

Petitioners,

Vs.

Magno J. Ortega,

Respondent

On Writ of Certiorari to

the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Ninth District

was filed and entered on June 27, 1985

and is reported at 764 F.2d 703 (1985):

The record in this case justifies

a grant of partial summary judgment

for Ortega on the issue of liability

for an unlawful search; we will

therefore remand to the district

court for an entry of judgment ip

favor of Ortega and for a hearing to

determine the amount of damages.

The judgment of the United States Dis-

trict Court for the Northern District is

not reported (nor its interpretation of

the Chenkin test accepted: Cf. Addendum:

A-65).

The decision adopted by the California

Personnel Board on March 17, 1982 is

also not reperted (nor reportable with

the Notices of Punitive Action). [1.1]

[1.1] Decision was arrived at before

the record was available to the Board

(see reply, 'r', to petitioners, p. 36,

or r. 36 and Ex. xi). A timely petition

for rehearing was submitted and denied.

The State Court hearing on Dr. Ortega's

petition for writ of mandate has been

postponed several. times because the full

administrative record had not been sent.

Only after 'r' had been filed were miss-

ing parts received minus an_ unsigned

"thank-you" note (Ex. 15a-1) to the

donor of a printer which had started a

warrantless search for forged documents

(r. 17).]

ADDITIONAL JURISDICTIONAL GROUNDS

Appended in App213

ADDITIONALLY APPLICABLE FEDERAL LAWS

As in Reply to Petition and in A-46

OTHER VIOLATED CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT

14th, Section 1 (r. 52): All persons born

Or naturalized in the United States, and

subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are

citizens of the United States and of the

State wherein they reside. No State

Shall make or enforce any law which

Shall abridge the privileges or immun-

ities of citizens of the United States;

nor shall any state deprive any person

of life, liberty or property, without

due process of law; nor deny to any

person within its jurisdiction the equal

protection of the laws.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE (r. 3) [1.21-.22]

As in 'r', events/allegations (A) and

fact-finding/errors (B) will be inter-

twined below for brevity and accuracy to

disprove old and new charges (PB 24,

etc.) now "noticed" in the record!

[1.2] Cross-references will be made as

before to appendix ('a') of reply ('r')

to petition for writ of certiorari

('c'). Others will be to respondent's

brief (RB) or its addendum (Add.) or to

petitioner's brief (PB) or its appendix

(PA) to distinguish all from those to

Joint Appendix (J.A.) or the separate

exhibits (App.).

Excerpted documentation will be

indented on both sides (like this

paragraph), preceded or followed by

quotations (not one's wishful in-

ferences) from authorities directly

addressing the issues under. each

sub-heading. If documentation

and/or citations are too extensive,

they may be separated but jointly

cross-referenced/indexed.

Nature of the Controversy (Cf. App.)

"(T)he Constitution is meant to be

understood by the public."--John

Marshall

Fifth and Fourth Amendment personal

privileges and property rights violated

under color of office brought this suit

before federal court for review of civil

rights violations under the Fourteenth

Amendment and 42 U.S.C. Sec. 1983: This

case arises out of a complaint by

[1.22] Exhibits 1-21 were petitioners'

during administrative hearing, Exx. A-

OOO and i-xxiv are respondent's.

(I-VI) are days of hearing, (VII) was

ordered on the 5th day:p.111/line3 or

(v:111/3): "(C)omplete your testimony

in writing. .

respondent that petitioners (then Napa

State Hospital employees at Imola,

California) withheld earned income in

excess of $10,000 without due process

and restricted his rights of movement

and assembly by illegally placing him on

administrative leave (G.C. Sec.

19574.5). [2.1]

Dr. O'Connor -- (chief petitioner or

"King", as in "the King can do no

lasting wrong .. .", partly to save

precious space to rebut "noticed" new

charges and "findings", below) -- asked

Dr. Ortega to stay away for one week

(II:126, r. 16) so as not to inhibit

interviewees (II:85, 86), not the

[2.1] Respondent was director of an

accredited network (r. 10) for four

years of post-graduate training in

psychiatry, the only one based in a

state hospital (NAPA) in California. It

is now, like Camarillo's further south,

just another three-year residency

training prcgranm.

investigators. [2.2]

King also told peon -- (or "pawn", as

in". . . because the Court protects all

pawns") -- that he cannot enter the hos-

pital grounds without written permission

because Dr. Vaughn, also ex-con, conm-

plained of coercion to buy a computer

[2.3], but that the ex-con's leave of

absence complaint was a "closed issue".

(King denied that he pronounced J.0.A.

issue dead on II:140-141).

[2.2] An unsigned thank-you note (Ex.

15a-1) was later alleged to have made

investigators search for forged

documents (II:168-170, r. 17-18). MTheir

first ad hoc excuse was that they were

only sorting out papers (Mr. Friday's

deposition, p. 21) inside peon's second

office in Imola (Ex. P, a. 3), which

none of them -- or their superiors in

the state capitol in Sacramento -- have

entered without first knocking and

waiting to be invited in, even if the

door were open, for the last 17 years.

(Many of them, including most of listed

"real parties of interest", had also

been to pawn's house in Napa Valley

where he has another office.)

The King told the residents that Dr.

Ortega was on vacation and was "so po-

sitive that all would be well Dr. Vaughn

ask(ed) about possible retaliation when

Dr. Ortega returned. Dr. O'Connor

[2.3] The King had already thanked the

contributors (Ex. 14) and pledged other

computer accessories (Ex. 13), by

approving sub-purchase orders for then.

But his business manager, Mr. Friday,

decided (1I:112) the $75-Applewriter was

another printer. His King HAD also

thanked the donor of a $2,000-printer

for "facilitating the dissemination of

learning" (Ex. 15b). BUT, if the King

had NOT already thanked its donor, he

must have pledged a printer because all

computers had to have one. So, IF there

is a signed copy of the thank-you note

to the donor of the _ printer, its

signature must have been forged (I1I:170,

r. 17) by pawn!

IF the King merely forgot (II:62, r.

7), an unsigned file copy (Ex. 15a-1)

from pawn's office might YET suggest an

attempt to deceive: AFTER his unforged

signature was found ina signed copy

(15b), the unsigned file copy was STILL

introduced as evidence that he merely

forgot, to explain WHY forgery was

rumored! But Ex. 15a-1 turned up

missing in December, 1981, from the

administrative record sent to be filed

in State Court!

reassured him by saying that Dr. Ortega

was not that type of person" (Ex. T-2).

King did not lie. [2.4]

After King adjourned the meeting with

pawn's trainees, ex-con told them that

there was also a "sexual harassment com-

plaint". [2.5]

No complaints before or after the

administrative leave order involved

accusations which, under G.C. 19574.5,

[2.4] Dr. Vaughn was worried that his

cheating during the last annual exam

would now be used against him, where

before cheating among the hard-working

was seen as caring enough to do one's

utmost.

[2.5] "Complaint" was from Dr.

Elizabeth Reynolds, and the only one

respondent was asked about when he was

interrogated (III:6, 15) before he was

dismissed without notice. (It was ten

years old, before there was any such

cause for punitive action against super-

visors or co-workers, and Dr. Reynolds

had graduated that many years ago, was

in private practice, had co-led a

seminar in family therapy with pawn, and

is now helping him with a book on child

development, of which more later.)

require such action (Argument "{-b",

below). Nor can an “administrative

inventory" investigate any of the

complaints, old or new (PB 24, footnote

22). Only after searching pawns papers

for forged documents did amateur

investigation become an administrative

inventory, when no forgeries were found

among the file copies of the King's

"thank-you" notes (II:168-170, r. 17).

What was then inventoried was not in the

locked office, but all copies of King's

signed "thank-you" note given to the re-

sidents, who were ordered to return them

and submit their canceled checks to

prove that they contributed, or else

face charges of insubordination! (More

of this under Argument "i-c".)

Respondent is a board-certified spe-

cialist in psychiatry (1966;, the

youngest foreign medical graduate in

10

1959 to have received 4 special

diplomate certificate. He had been

Chief, Department of Professional

Education, Mental Hospital, State of

California, for almost two decades,

without any written complaints against

him, or any interruption of annual merit

Salary raises, the last for $3,648 on

July 1, 1981! (For the King's bureav-

cratic dereliction cf civil servant's

duty, see II:136.) [2.6]

Respondent had a three-month-old

grievance (the first he ever lodged)

against Mr. Friday (r. 8). California

State Civil Service is governed by laws

that, in the spirit of the First Amend-

ment, mandate early and open redress of

[2.6] It is curious that Dr.

O'Connor's first “performance report" on

Dr. Ortega, --—- who accepted him for

psychiatric post-graduate training and

awarded him for outstanding performance

On graduation 10 years before, -- is a

Notice of Punitive Action!

11

grievances before formal hearings, as

well as periodic written reports °2

decide any proposed punitive action.

Whether because of the Peter Principle

of progressive promotion up to level of

incompetence or to discourage doctors

from competing with cheaper professional

managers, all hospital board certified

diplomates in any specialty get about

the same salary, -- whether as admin-

istrator, clinician, or educator, --

which is much higher than if one ac-

cepted a desk job at headquarters in Sa-

cramento. [2.7]

Hospital doctors who are not special-

ists get paid twice as much as residents

receive as stipend. These "grants"

[2.7] Dr. O'Connor refused offers of

promotion to headquarters as long as

increase in power meant a decrease in

income. The salary offered had to be

higher than he received as a

psychiatrist before he would commute

from Napa to work in Sacramento.

12

equal opportunity employment otherwise

demand comparable salaries -- come from

different agencies, state or federal, or

from private income, usually their hus-

bands'. Residents who obtain their med-

ical license after the first year of

training thus forego at the very least

about $1,000 a month for three more

years of tuition, if they opt not to

join hospital staff. (Some drop out of

the program to work, and are then

counted in staff/patient ratios for

budgeting level of care, and then drop

back in to specialize in psychiatry,

investing in themselves than in another

car, etc. Before Dr. Ortega came, no

alumnus of what was then the Napa-Sonoma

_ residency training program passed their

national boards specialty certification

examination as psychiatrists on the

first sitting.)

13

Only formally a Chief of Professional

Education, Mental Hospital (or C.P.E.,

M.H.), respondent was fuli-time director

of post-graduate training in psychiatry

at Napa and other affiliates in Northern

California (r. 10) over a 100-mile

radius. [2.8]

Petitioner Friday, who had illegally

delayed (under G.C. 14780 in Addendum)

transmitting a computer training

contract to departmental headquarters

(r. 8), secretly seized respondent's

hospital office before 0800 hours on

[2.8] Most C.P.E.'s do not run

residency programs, and ancther, J.E.Jd.

below, lost hers in another hospital

which lost its mental patients to make

room for those who are developmentally

disabled. (She had been at Napa half-

time by respondent's invitation since

then, to help with continuing education

for rofessionals on the hospital

staff. Pawn's wide network of variedly

prestigious affiliations kept his pro-

gram accredited, even after Napa State

Hospital was transferred to the Depart-

ment of Developmental Services.

14

Friday, oguly 31, 1981 (Exhibit T-2,

Declaration to Federal Court by Dr.

Gandhi on March 9, 1984). [2.9]

Pawn's office locks were changed

before respondent had officially started

his forced "vacation" or illegally

ordered administrative leave (Ex. R, r.

14-15). When it was officially over,

and as he does every week-end it is

idle, he returned to the hospital to

pick up the “professional education

department's computer" (as the King

calls it, Ex. D-1).

Respondent's office key did not work,

[2.9] Counsel, in PB 24 and. by

disagreeing with J. Marshall (above),

would rather spare petitioners "the

necessity of schooling themselves in the

niceties of probable cause and permit

them to regulate their conduct according

to the dictates of reason and common

sense." (This quote had been taken out

of context, as were citations in 'C'.

"'Rssential' Omissions" from 'PB' and

++ are listed in Addendum, A-12 to A-

38.

15

but the computer room key did. [2.10]

It was later falsely alleged that

petitioners seized his office only after

the computer had "disappeared". [2.11]

Just before noon, a memo (Ex. $9)

extending pawn's administrative leave

indefinitely, effective 0800 hours that

Monday, was hand-delivered by an

administrative trainee-investigator (Mr.

[2.10] On re-cross-examination, pawn's

secretary testified that her husband had

already heard from the business manager,

Mr. Friday, that Dr. Ortega had been

dismissed (II:21) when she notified hos-

pital security that, as usual, Dr. Or-

tega had called to ask whether he had

office appointments that Monday morning,

Aug. 17, 1981, and to tell her he had

taken the training computer to work in

his office at home. (Ex. 10)

[2.11] Mr. Friday, as head of a_ team

of amateurs investigating respondent,

tried unsuccessfully to get a court order

to retrieve the training computer from

respondent's office at home after it

"disappeared" from another locked office

adjoining respondent's.

16

Arnold). [2.12]

Pawn was not even asked about the com-

puter (hospital business inventory does

not list it as government property).

[2.13]

Only later -- (Mr. Stratton's federal

court deposition, p. 60) -- did pawn

[2.12] Ex. S was back-dated the Fri-

day before, one copy also to be sent to

his office in the hospital and another

to the wrong box in the federal post-

office on the grounds which he has rent-

ed for both personal and professional

correspondence for the last 17 years.

[2.13] Dr. Ortega learned later that

all his personal effects had already

been hastily boxed the week before, and

22 or more numbered, sealed with tape

that read "Evidence, Napa Count She-

riff's Department" (Exhibit i-e), and

moved. Some of his papers were copied:

a few copies turned up in federal court

after summary judgment had been handed

down (Cf. Untimely Submissions in

Addendum), submitted in secret by state

counsel!

Pawn was not told where they were

stored, nor when they would be returned

(without the originals that had also

been copied).

17

find out that selected folders from his

locked files had already been removed to

a safe ("evidence locker"). [2.14]

Investigators began to spread the

rumor of sexual harassment by calls’ to

pawn's correspondents out of state, and

broadcast their suspicions of forgery

(II:168) and fraud (Ex. xxi). [2.15]

Covert threat was to deprive pawn of

reputation and license privately to

practice his profession and of his

[2.14] Second attorney of record

equates this with "the common practice

of a fellow employee's entry of an

office to obtain a file or piece of cor-

respondence, or, borrow a paper clip" (PB

16, hereafter briefly referrable as the

old "Square One" stance).

'PB', therefore, no longer claims the

"essential" lie (a.1) about removing

"three personal items" (C. 3)!

[2.15] Illegally extending the search

for incriminating evidence extra-murally

with leads drawn from medical files

(King's deposition, Argument "2-d") vio-

lated of G.C. Sec. 11180.5.

18

employers’ contribution to his pension

after termination as educator if offer

to accept his resignation did not work.

On August 28, 1921, Dr. O'Connor dir-

ectly dismissed respondent by phone

without written charges, promised to

meet pawn personally, and then called

back to back off from his promise,

unless a co-petitioner was present.

[2.16]

Four days later, after pawn had

already been dismissed (Ex. 1), an

undergraduate who was no longer at the

hospital as a temporary student

professional assistant improperly

[2.16] Respondent protested through

S.P.B. and appealed for referral to the

secretary of the Agency of Health and

Welfare (Exhibit N) along grievance

channels established under S§.P.B. Rule

540, as mandated by G.C. 18714(a) to

provide immediate redress (Cf. Add.) un-

der the State Constitution in the spirit

of the First Amendment.

19

complained of "sexual harassment": she

was never under pawn's’° supervision.

[2.17]

To proceed without resolving earlier

grievances is unconstitutional under the

State Civil Service Act. [2.18]

Dr. O'Connor announced in the HOSPITAL

BULLETIN of Sept. 30, 1981, that "Dr. d.

is a Chief of Professional Education and

with her new duties, will be expanding

her time base from one-half time to

full-time. This change will take effect

on October 1, 1981." [2.19]

[2.17] Notice of Punitive Action dated

Sept. 14 changed the effective date of

respondent's dismissal to Sept. 22,

1981, but before he could protest

against the written charges, Dr. Ortega

was told a State Personnel Board hearing

on his appeal had been scheduled for

October 29, 1981, ahead of others al-

ready appealed (r. 21, CAAP Sec. 2.41 in

Add.

ae, By disregarding its own rules

(r. 21), S-P.B is therefore denying a

jointly protected constitutional

privilege to a California citizen.

20

It was openly claimed that petitioners

have succeeded in depriving pawn of his

retirement pension (Exx. [-2, -+3).

[2.20]

[2.19] At one point, reiterated in PB

4, last line, to explain the expro-

priation of all his personal belongings,

it was alleged that Dr. Ortega's office

had to be vacated for his replacement

even before he was dismissed in August

without written charges.

J-E.J. did not want to take pawn's

place even after he was officially

dismissed, effective September 22, 1981.

Dr. Ortega's office was never occupied

while J.E.J. was in the adjoining office

that he had given her.

[2.20] Pawn was also told will be

charged with Medi-Cal fraud (Ex. xxi, r.

53) and may be arrested before he can be

tried for whatever else the "adminis-

trative investigation" may turn up

(Exhibit L, r. 22).

B.

21

Administrative Proceedings (Cf. App.)

To hold formal hearings before

discovery can be completed was denial of

due process, even if the hearing is

quasi-judicial, but again essential in

order to dismiss without documentation

(Cf. App.)! [2.21]

Had the ground rules of G.C. Sec.

19302(a), 19303(a) and that of others

cited (Cf. Appi151-153) been honored,

much could have been saved.

Respondent has not yet recovered his

social and professional reputation, and

he has been "bad-mouthed" as a "woman

izer" before, during, and after the

[2.21] On the eve of pawn's adminis-

trative hearing, a graduate student com-

plained of being importuned three years

before (1:39) when she briefly trained

as an intern in the hospital social

service department and opted to attend

pawn's case conferences for the

duration. She was "found" to be a

"Social worker" in Sacramento by the

time she testified. Pawn did not even

recognize her!

22

hearings by the publicity no other hear-

ing had received before or since. Even

in the tennis courts, he has been shun-

ned by wives of mixed doubles teams.

His wife suffered from cardiac irre-

gularities (Ex. LL) after the charges

against him were given unprecedented

publicity. And he has not been able to

afford to get away, except within driv-

ing distance of home, ever since.

INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Secrecy about California's intentions

to search, seize, store, and steal

contents of locked office was preserved

throughout under (1) the umbrella phrase

"investigation of management practices".

During the administrative hearing,

concern was expressed over (2) the "dis-

appearance" of the "Professional Educa-

tion computer" (Ex. D-1) from an ad-

joining office. Only in the federal

23

court did concern over (3) the resi-

dents' records (which were all filed

outside respondent's locked office)

become another excuse for breaking-in

and burglary. To have raised it before

would have reduced the credibility of

complaint of coercion voiced by ex-con,

whose record contained a report of

cheating during the residents' last

annual exam.

At no time was (2) the computer or (3)

any files asked to be returned as

hospital property. Neither the con-

tributors nor the records nor (4) the

residents themselves had ever been the

hospital's responsibility, since (4) are

not salaried as staff, and their

training stipends and (3) equipment

(e.g., of video studio) and adminis-

trative Support come from different

sources, personal or federal as well as

24

several state agencies. In fact, Napa's

patient popv-ation was less and less a

learning resource for clinical training

in general psychiatry. Napa is more

generally useful in facilitating paper

processing and building maintenance for

the professional education department,

which keeps expanding its network of

affiliations while the hospital itself

shrinks. But any State remains liable

for damages it could have avoided

inflicting upon any civilian, employee

or unemployed.

An employer is required in all

cases to indemnify his employee for

losess caused by employer's want of

ordinary care. Deering's Lab C Sec

2800.

If due process was violated by the

search and seizure which led to the late

Dr. Laskay's "preliminary internal

investigative report", submitted after

the adverse public reaction to the sum-

25

mary judgment -- Cf. Addendum, A-65 --

then even petitioners' decision to dis-

miss (the discipline imposed upon

respondent or the basis of the

investigation) is void.

1 Am Jur Proof of Facts 2d 549:

Evider:e of facts (BRAVERMAN v.

Rosenthal, 102 CA2d 30, 226 P2d 617)

or statements (MILSAP v. National

Funding Corp., 57 CA2d 772, 135 P2d

407) inconsistent with the employ-

er's contentions may be introduced

to demonstrate the emplover's

asserted reason for a discharge was

not the true reason.

There were twe SERIAL excuses for

privacy violations advanced in tanden:

1) 1st TWO weeks: suspicion (III:170, Ex.

15a-1) that Dr. O'Connor's signature to

the thank-you note to the donor of a

printer to hook-up with a computer

bought without state money was FORGED,

which warrants a warrant, and

2) AFTER August 17: recommendation in the

"Misdemeanor/Incident Report of "Missing

26

Property" (training computer) that "this

matter be turned weer to the committee

who are reviewing Dr. Ortega's depart-

ment at this time, to determine if any

CRIMINAL activity has occurred". (Page

2 of Exhibit 10).

Either, AND certainly both, will se-

cure a search warrant. But the invest-

igators knew they will have to specify

what to look for, and that will not do,

for they have not found anything so far.

By Sept. 14, it was finally decided to

work under the cover of qualified

immunity for General Rubin (Deputy State

Attorney) who kept COERCION out of his

Notice of Prnitive Action but took

custody of expropriated private

property.

Petitioners claimed (C. 3) that after

their administrative inventory "to

determine what records and other State

27

property was there" ("in respondent's

locked office"), "three personal items",

-- a semi-nude professional photograph

of a model (Joyce Onne), her self-

composed valentine card and a "standard

book of poetry", -— "were removed as

relevant to the pending personnel

investigation against respondent." Were

they seize. because they were work-

related? Or tantalizing? [I:a]

It is plain to see why petitioners

want to go back to Square One (borrowing

paper clips, PB 16) and plead that they

are not being sued for the proper

violations, after having been refused

permission to plead their "good faith"

[tra] 'PB' is quite suddenly thunder-

ously silent about what “were removed as

relevant". Does their silence now mean

a "No contest" plea? Or has their “amor

propre" prevented candid acknowledgement

of mistaken judgment that demeans and

negates the cost-conscious bottom-line

values their petition symbolizes?

28

to a jury. But, just in case that is

also too late to raise, another

justification for their position has

been introduced, this time about having

sued respondent improperly to begin with

(details in Argument "1-a", Add.). [I:b]

After the §.P.B. hearing had started,

state counsel threatened to use (Ex.

JJ-2, r. 26, a. 6) and did use (III:90 -

92) Dr. Onne's "personal items" against

Dr. Sutton's declaration (Ex. P) of long

accepted practices that made respondent

personally effective and hard to replace

(a. 2).

II:3/10: After receiving Exhibit P:

Mr. Rubin: At the hearing, I

volunteered to present to Dr. Ortega

some additional materials which have

become relevant, only as a result of

[rr] 'PB' is a selective reiteration

of 'C' and both show ABSENCE OF (1)

regrets (apologies), (2) remorse

(guilt), (3) reflection, and (4) recon-

sideration.

29

the first hearing, when he handed me

some statement of a former staff

member of the hospital. [I:c]

The State seeks not oniy to invade

personal privacy in government property

but to violate professional confidences.

(Cf. Dr. O'Connor's federal deposition,

pp. 60, 73.) Confidentiality is an even

older protected privilege than the

tradition that what does not belong to

the state belongs to its citizens. (Cf.

Argument "1-c".)

Petitioners deny that a professional

has privacy and property rights to his

professional and personal files. In

fact, permanent employees have property

rights to their jobs besides, from which

they can only be dismissed for cause. A

[I:c] The "female medical resident"

(Dr. Onne, C. 3) has thus metamorphosed

into a "former staff member" (Dr.

Sutton, a. 6) and second attorney of

record's thunderous silence, after

reviewing the record, is now audible.

30

"Sorcerer's chase" (Cf. Conclusion) for

4 cause to dismiss, even after

elimination of inapplicable sub-

paragraphs of Sec. 19572 (below), can be

interminable. General Rubin had added

two more (Cf. App. on Nature of Past

Controversy) after the hearing was over,

and second attorney of record still

another in his 22nd footnote (Gf.

Argument "{-a", Add.; PB 24.) The chase

to prove secret sexual and coercive

powers had first taken three amateur in-

vestigators -- one of whom, Dr. Laskay,

is not a permanent employee, but an

applicant for respondent's job after

dismissal. -- six weeks, and now three

shifts of lawyers have extended it to

five years. (Cf. VII:383, 387)

'C' also claims that "(o)ne of the

state employees made several attempts to

sort through the items in the office

31

trying to separate and identify State

property from other items. Finding the

task impossible, he eventually boxed the

contents of the office and placed them

in a locked room for the doctor to pick

up". They had been "sealed" before

respondent was dismissed with tapes

which read in red letters, "Evidence,

Napa County Sheriff's Dept.", and marked

"Personal Property of Dr. Ortega, Oct.

7, 1981" (Exhibit i-e). Yet, General

Rubin denied respondent's request to

surrender them (Ex. W, r. 23) on Oct.

20, 1981, 6 weeks after his dismissal by

phone.

It is easier to see now why returning

to Square One is preferable to _ the

prideful and prudent than pleading "No

contest": Under the Fourteenth Amend-

ment, the state does not need to act; it

can, by inaction, deny equal rights. By

32

its own action, it has also violated

State and federal laws according to the

the authorities cited under points (a)

to (o) in Arguments One to Three.

Both action and inaction are indis-

putably attributable to the state in the

person of its accredited (if not right-

ful representatives, e.g., Dr. Laskay,

administrative trainee arnold), as in

the denial of the right to confront

witnesses by the refusal of the quasi-

judicial hearing officer to issue

Subpoenas. The fact that the State must

accredit the perpetrators for civilian

(and human) rights to be violated means

that the Constitution limits it in the

interest of the basic freedoms that our

Bill of Rights seeks to preserve. It is

because the State enjoys a monopoly of

power (which even the Court does not

contest) that it is restrained from

33

coercion (by the Court with which it is

not in contest). [I:4d]

The State was also worried about the

confidential trust BETWEEN investigator

and interviewee, and hearing officer

agreed that was privileged under a non-

existent law (I1:151), but not about

the privileged communication between a

[I:d] Only the Court, which cannot

raise armies or levy taxes, enjoys

perfect immunity, precisely because it

cannot conscript or tax. Counsel is

worried about the dollar cost (hereafter

BLC or "“bottom-line-consciousness) if

this Court does not protect the King

against his pawns.

B.L.C. was never a consideration for

granting borrowed sovereign immunity,

divine or secular, to Churches

(sanctuaries), embassies (visitors) or

executives (civilians).

Prosecutorial (Cf. Argument "2-d",

footnote [d:4]) and quasi-judicial

immunity are both less defensible in

practice or fiscally (a. 7-10).

Cf. Add.: criss-crossing evolution of

official immunity and personal privacy.

34

doctor AND his private patients whose

files were desecrated. For loyalty to

informers, the hearing officer defied a

court discovery order (Ex. H), but turn-

ed his back on the judiciary.

If (1a) the hearing officer was biased

and (1b) respondent should not have been

dismissed, the State must have acted out

of (2a) racial bigotry (jingoistic) AND

(2b) sexual prejudices (miscegenophobic,

Cf. App48) OR in cahoots with other

parties (3) to steal Dr. Ortega's train-

ing funds (II:80), or to bag BOTH birds

(dismissal and positions, r. 17) with

one idly thrown stone: an ex-con's spe-

culation about COERCION of contributions

to a training computer the residents

themselves wanted to use before their

graduation (V:82).

If the proper way to view any

violation of civil rights is as a whole,

35

-- as the decision against “separate but

equal" education did, -- to do so is to

weigh the CUMULATIVE EVIDENCE. The

proper decision must address the ques-

tion as to whether or not "adminis-—-

trative inventory" of, ever includes

"impounding" all, non-contraband per-

sonal effects, and was so intended from

the start and thoroughly implemented as

such, in the light of all the facts.

The issue is not only whether every

piece of evidence proves the violation

of a protected or cherished right, which

each easily does (a-o), but whether it

is likely that all the relevant acts

together (i to x, below) would have

occurred without the initial excuse and

abuse of (i) an invented and inventive

"administrative inventory":

If an inescapable conclusion is’ that

'inventory' means 'impounding', not only

36

of "work-related" material but all

personal memorabilia, then petitioners

clearly have no right even to ask the

Court for permission to proceed with a

clearly illegal procedure. [I:e]

If (1) "the King can do no wrong

[I:e] The shallowness of the pretext

to exclude peon indefinitely and simul-

taneously to impound what is non-con-

traband and purely personal is highly

Suspicious of latent fears or concealed

malice or both, since they usually co-

exist because they defend against and

need each other or else malevolence is

undeniable. (Can what is private to one

be very disturbing to the deprived, and

privacy must be guarded to preserve

harmony as well as to reserve to oneself

what is nobody else's business, shameful

or not?)

Unchallenged to date is the principle

that it is the invasion of privacy in a

peon's rightful place, not the disturb-

ance of property in a government castle,

which the law seeks to prevent.

This precedent in law appears in Dr.

Ortega's petition for writ of mandate

but was never addressed, like all

specific citations of case law and the

California Constitution that respondent

sent in advance of 'PB'. (Is their

silence silent concession?)

37

because the Court can right every wrong"

(respondent's paraphrase, Argument One),

(2) “American independence was’ then

and there born" with the victory of the

Fourth Amendment (Justice Frankfurter,

UNITED STATES v. RABINOWITZ, 339 U.S.

56, 69-70, quoting John Adams, Argument

Two), and

(3) “"(t)he right to be let alone is

indeed the beginning of all freedom"

(Justice Douglas, PUBLIC UTIL COMM'N v.

POLLAK, 343 U.S. 451, 467, Argument

Three),

then "the final end of t..e State to make

men free to develop their faculties"

(Justice Brandeis, WHITNEY v.

CALIFORNIA, 274 U.S. 357, 375, cannot be

served by “administrative inventories".

The King is now before this Court to

obtain immunity as sovereign, and the

pawn only because only the Court has

38

absolute immunity or it cannot right all

wrongs.

It cannot be seriously argued that Ca-

lifornia cannot train its psychiatrists

without stealing Dr. Ortega's papers.

(A copyrighted manuscript on _ senso-

socio-sexual development is still

missing.) The state does not claim

educational enthusiasm to develop its

citizens' faculties to the full as its

end, only missionary zeal for non-erotic

order and miserliness (B.L.C.)!

Did Dr. Ortega present a clear, pre-

sent, and substantial danger to the

interests of the State? Is he a danger-

ous man? Was he a public enemy or even

privately evil? What is the wise and

proper use of judicious decisions in

reconciling power and freedom? [Is the

State getting weaker and the individual

more lLicentious?

39

In this case the Court might herve to

choose between the people's mandate and

legislative will against executive

willfulness and "malevolence" (Cf.

SCREWS in Add.)! California secured the

right of privacy of every man, woman and

child, retarded or not, by referendun,

in the very first article of its Cons-

titution. Can the subsequent legis-

lative expression of it be declared un-

constitutional to give state officials

immunity in impounding personal proper-

ty? [I:f]

In summary, respondent questions

the constitutionality of an "“adminis-

trative inventory" by biased fellow

[I:f] People are also protected not

only against search and seizure of

property which they are legally entitled

to possess. Things may even be

wrongfully ina person's possession --

stolen goods, for instance -- and the

protection applies no less. (See also

Justice Stevens in WALTER v. U.S.,

Argument "2-d", below.)

40

employees

ii) triggered by trivial complaints but

iii) conducted in employee's absence

iv) during an administrative leave impro-

perly intended to separate him from his

associates and

v) illegally ordered to facilitate search,

seizure and stealing of souvenirs

vi) to blackmail pawn's possible witnesses

in a quasi-judicial hearing

vii) hastily scheduled and unfairly

conducted to dismiss a peon whom none of

his employers has ever reprimanded or

even criticized in 17 years by

viii) intimidating his legitimate union

representative and thereafter

ix) withholding his already earned income

to prevent hiring private lawyers

x) after failing to deprive him of his

employers' contributions for over 17

years to his retirement pension by

41

convicting him of fraud (r. 40).

Pawn's answer is that there has’ been

no administrative inventory (high-sound-

ing excuse ended with "Maybe two sen-

tences" in all, A-57), there has been no

orderly investigation but a "sorcerer's

chase" even in later briefs charging new

causes for dismissal, no hearing but an

inquisition jumping to conclusions, no

trial but a lynching party passing sun-

mary judgment, followed by an exclusive

ex-parte (Star-—Chamber) post-mortem

prompted by a dead man's discovered dia-

ry. [I:g]

[I:g] Whether or not God Hirself is

dead, the King and his queens (pawns who

have pushed to the eighth rank from

Square One and cannot take being scorn-

ed) must be both tender-hearted and

tough-minded, and ruthless and hard-nos-

ed only with foreign enemies in our bos-

om or in Granada, etc. If they are not,

the Court must ask the King change his

ways and/or his courtiers for the sake

of his subjects.

42

ARGUMENTS (Facts, Points, Authorities)

Cf. Reply to Petition (r. 41 - 59) for

additional facts, points, authorities.

Each argument (1-3) introduces its

points (a-o), all ending by summing up.

ONE

THE STATE MUST ONLY BE AS

STRONG AS IT NEEDS TO BE.

This is the reason behind our’ system

of checks and balances that is unique in

the American Constitution:

"The King can do no wrong because

the Court can right every wrong."

RELATED BUT SEPARATE PART-ISSUES/EVENTS

"The whole of government consists in

the art of being honest." Thomas

Jefrerson, WORKS, VI, 86.

IN SHORT, secrecy does not allow talking

things out. It encourages fighting

things out, -- sooner or later, -- or

worse, suffering in silence, seething

with violence, turning against each

other.

4%

(a)

Petitioners' "Administrative Inven-

tory" Was Conducted In Secret, Un-

necessarily, In The Civilian Enm-

ployee's Absence (r. 15, 18-19).

Const. Amend. 1,4,5,9.

One of the worst consequences of se-

crecy is the license it confers upon de-

ceit. Will administrative inventories

help the state discharge their rightful

responsibility to maintain law and order

or, as it has in fact done, encourage

lawlessness and disorderly conduct?

Government workers should be shielded

from reactionary governments. If peti-

tioners had somehow misled enough peo-

ple (though voters cannot be fooled all

of the time) to reach the floor of the

Constitutional Convention, they would

likely have argued for special dispen-

sation for state overseers and we would

now be living under a Bill of State

Rights that says:

44

"Office entries and administrative

inventories are reasonable if con-

ducted for a work-related concern by

government agents." (PB 24)

Petitioners have not claimed that to

finish an administrative inventory it

must be started in secrecy. But if they

had framed the Constitution they would

now be likely to argue to include that

"reasonable" in the Bill of State Rights

can well include proceeding in secrecy.

Because their representatives were not

among the Founding Fathers, their

followers now want to disturb the bal-

ance of powers and ask the judiciary for

legislation ex-post facto to justify

executive search and illegal seizure of

souvenirs in an ADMINISTRATIVE paper

INVESTIGATION of fantasied "Sexual ha-

rassment of other employees and ques-

tionable possession of a computer on

NAPA State Hospital grounds". PB 24.

45

"ax During an extended period (from

July, 1970 through July, 1972), you

sexually harassed a female Medical

Resident (one of your. supervisees)

by stroking her hair as she walked

down the hall or was in her office.

Only a team of amateurs will conduct a

paper see vh to clarify that or this:

Dr. Richard Vaughn was asked to specu-

late about coercion of fellow residents

to obtain a training computer after he

submitted his complaint about a surprise

6 months'separation (Ex. 4) instead of

just a month's further delay of his

medical rotation that he requested of

Dr. Ortega. The idle suspicion of

coercion was repeated verbatim as

credible by the Personnel Officer (co-

petitioner Owen) in her report to Dr.

O'Connor. (Ex. 7.)

[Dr. Ortega had already told his ex-

con that the 6-month clerical error was

typographical (r. 12, 1:52), and to

46

return the check that came with the

notice. To assess ex-con's chronic

Suspiciousness, see his version of his

conviction for fraud, 1:47.]

II:103/19-24 (a. 20): None was coerced.

1)

Dr. Laskay likewise denied coercion:

"I do not recall any of the

residents Saying they had been

coerced. That was not the charge."

(III:9)

To protect Dr. Vaughn's credibility as

a witness against impeachment by

existing documents in the residents’

records, a whole series of improprieties

followed on the part of state employees:

Personal papers were impounded

illegally with ease (during petitioners’

initially protective and nisguided

search for incriminating evidence

against ex-con) by some of the

investigators interested in finding out

about pawn's very private affairs.

2) Toa

(mixed

part

19),

hearin

from §

offi

pape

paid

47

llow finding of “shock" at L.O.A.

up with A.L. in PB 24!) on the

of ex-con in "roposed Decision (a.

the record of of the first day of

g did not include p. 71 (recovered

-P.B. archives):

Dr. Ortega: When you left my

ce, you asked me to get the

rwork so that you don't get

9

Dr. Vaughn; I said if you

thought you could deny me my salary,

that

you'd best get started because

I intended to fight you about it.

Co-c

could

ground

i352e5

4) By t

Onspirators among petitioners

only corroborate (r. 13) the

less suspicion they shared. Cf.

8,98 (r.14), IV:40 in Appendix. |

he time Dr. Ortega deferred cross-

examination of the first day's

witnesses, reserving the right to con-

front

them after his petition for full

discovery was granted by court on Nov.

2, 1981 (r. 25, Ex. H), Mr. Rubin felt

48

it safe to recall his only witness to

"coercion" to buy a computer, since ex-

con would not have to answer questions

that might refer to a recent report that

he cheated during the annual examination

of residents.

Incidentally, it was this report that

prompted seizure of Dr. Ortega's office,

in petitioners' zeal to protect the

complainant whose idle speculations were

the only basis for the illegal ad-

ministrative leave order. (By casually

asking the secretaries about training

records, they finally located the report

where it belongs, locked up with all

training performance reports in their

own filing cabinets in their office.)

4) Folios IV and VI were transcribed

before Folio Y\. The early pages of

Folio V contained damaging validation of

Original federal complaint of violation

Il

49

of G.C. Sec. 19574.5 in forcing Dr.

Ortega to “take a vacation" as unpaid

administrative leave, thus depriving him

of income without due process. Cf.

App., V:18/10 (r. 51), and II:85, 86.

:88 (r. 16): Due process was denied.

Confiscations without judicial

hearing and judgment after due

notice are void for want of due

rocess of law. IECK ~*~. Anderson

(1881 ) 57 C 251, 40 Am.R. 115, 7

PCLJ 630.

T-2: Chief Resident re Seizure, etc:

Fr, 31 July 81: "When we got to the

nospital, we found Mr. Friday

talking to the secretaries and we

were soon told that Dr. Ortega's

office was locked, THE LOCKS WERE

CHANGED, and that Dr. Ortega had

been asked to take a vacation. We

were told that there would be a

special meeting with Dr. O'Connor on

Monday .. . (Emphasis added.)

Mo, 3 Aug: ". . . He was sorry for

the investigation but it was the

FIRST TIME that two people had

complained, in writing, and he was

obliged to look into it. . . He was

very positive that NOTHING WOULD

CHANGE and he spoke very fondly and

highly of Dr.Ortega. .. but got Dr.

Vaughn .. . sufficiently worried to

50

make him ask about possible reta-

liation when Dr. Ortega returned.

Dr. O'Connor reassured him by saying

that Dr. Ortega was not that type of

a person." (The King barely

remembers this meeting when cross-

examined at the hearing.)

The existing climate did not mandate

Suspension of assembly or salary.

The purpose of the constitutional

guaranty that property is not to be

taken without due process of law is

to exclude arbitrary power from

every branch of government, it being

a restraint upon the legislative,

executive and judicial departments.

HUTCHINSON CO. v. Coughlin (1919)

184 P 435, 42 CA 664.

In any government of men, but not in law:

1) The covert object of illegal in-

vestigation is to discover proof of

wrong-doing, rather than attempt to

exonerate.

2) The covert object of tardily charg-

ing with wrong-doing is to convict,

not to acquit.

In re HAMPTON'S ESTATE (1943) 131 P2d

565, 55 CA2d 543, notice to party

wnen rights are to be affected by a

51

judicial proceeding is an essential

element of "due process of law".

IN SUM, "i-a" argues that secrecy was in-

tended in order to seize and search,

even if the salary of the employee on

forced leave is stolen in order to steal

from his papers what can be used against

him. (At least, the Democrats did not

pay their Watergate burglars.)

(bd)

Divorcing A Peon From His Personal

And Professional Associations Was

Illegally Accomplished By Placing

Him On Administrative Leave Without

Pay For A Week, Extended To Two

Weeks "Vacation", And Then Indefi-

nitely, Even If The Investigation

Was Not Done [In Compliance With

California Government Code Section

19574.5 (r. 15,19). Const. Amend.

5.

Paid vacation is a supplement to

the employment agreement which in

effect constitutes an offer of

reward or additional wages for

constant and continuing service.

DIVISION OF LABOR LAW ENFORCEMENT,

Dept. of Industrial Relations v.

Ryan Aeronautical Co., 106 CA2d Supp

633, 236 P2d 236, 30 LR2d 347.

Pawn was not accused of (v) misap-

propriation of public funds or property,

(i) drug addiction, (u) mistreatment of

52

persons in a state institution, (k)

immorality, or (a) acts which would con-

stitute a felony or a misdemeanor

involving moral turpitude. These are

the only accusations for which "the

appointing power may order the employee

on leive of absence for not to exceed 15

days. . . If punitive action is not

taken on or before the date such a leave

is terminated, the leave shall be with

pay." Govt. Code Sec. 19574.5.

A week's administrative leave (1I1:126,

r. 16) was extended to two weeks’

"vacation" in order to avoid spreading

ugly rumors before confrontation with

rival academics (II:80-82, r.17) who

chronically coveted training funds from

every source (V:35, r. 11).

Respondent had been able to keep those

the King called "cannibals" (II:80) away

from his budget for 17 years and managed

53

to expand his program against all odds

(III:122, a. 29). While still under

"house arrest", he tried to get outside

help to investigate old conflict of

interest: Ex. SS (r. 11): -Ltr to Atty.

Gen. (App33)

SUM, "4-b" argues that the

administrative leave order does not

conform to the law that lists what

accusations may invoke its provisions.

(c)

To Snoop ("2-d", below), (i) The

Grounds Where A Peon's Second Office

As Well As The Federal Post-Office

Is [Located Was Placed "Off Limits"

To Him But, Even Worse, (ii) His

Associates, In Turn, Were Also

Barred From His Office At Home (r.

15, 19, Exx. R, S; AAA, T-2,3, 22

below). Const. Amend 1, 14.

Ex. AAA: Memo fr Actg Dir, Psy Res Trng:

"August 17, 1981:

". . . The residents are not to have

any official business with Doctor

Ortega during his period of leave

according to our administration. ..

"s/T.L.B."

The First Amendment imposes limita-

54

tions upon governmental abridgement of

freedom to associate and privacy in

one's association. USCA Const Amend 1.

(KATZ v. U.S., 389 US 347,-88 SCt 507.)

In MARSH v. Alabama, 326 U.S. 501

(1946), the Court held that merely

because a corporation owned title to

a town, it could not impair". . ,

channels of communication..."

California has withdrawn the right to

exclude from the "bundle of property

rights".

First Amendment "procedural rules" --

the presumptive invalidity of prior

restraints, the doctrines against

overbreadth and vagueness, and the re-

quirements of scrupulous procedural

safeguards -- are protective devices to

assure adequate "breathing space" for

free Speech and to avoid the more

obvious forms of infringement:

Ex. T-3(f-i), 9/2/81: A Senior Resident:

". . « The general feeling was

cde ——— es

a ie

that it was a biased investigation

but Dr. O'Connor responded that it

was not. The credibility of an

allegation of. sexual harassment

which occurred years ago was

questioned.

"Complimentary statements about

Dr. Ortega as a unique and competent

chief were brought up by the

residents. There were concerns

about Dr. O'Connor's choice of Dr.

Brannick as acting chief, and he

responded that he didn't know Dr.

Jeffress so well.

"I asked Dr. O'Connor whether the

memorandum still holds about

residents not being allowed to

contact Dr. Ortega officially or

unofficially was still binding. He

said that Dr. Ortega was no longer

officially connected with NSH and

that the residents should feel free

to contact him. He said he would

call Dr. Ortega himself one day.

"I also asked Dr. O'Connor if the

residents were still expected to

produce the(ir) checks and ‘'thank-

you' letters (to them) OR ELSE

expect administrative action for

insubordination. Mrs. Owens stated

that we did not have to, unless

there was a court order to do so."

(Emphasis added.)

Tt was particularly improper’ that

after testifying on 12/30/81 about their

56

need for the computer (V:82, a. 35), the

part-owners were warned (Ex. ZZ, below)

not to use it for their research

projects outside the hospital: It was

in their department's second office.

Kept there, they knew it cannot be

confiscated as "evidence", -- even if

they refused to surrender the cancelled

checks (proving they contributed) that

the hospital demanded (Ex. T-3, avove),

-- after they found out that Dr. Ortega

defrayed more than half its cost!

Is the following embezzlement under

color of office even if the embezzler

did not benefit:

Ex. ZZ: Memo fr new Psy. Res. Trg. Dir.:

"1/7/82 [APTER V:82, 12/30/81 (a. 35)]:

"The computer in Dr. Ortega’s

possession may not be used by any of

the residents during the working day

or on any official research pro-

jects.

a/J.E.J."

57

Thus, by administrative fiat, even

AFTER petitioners' half-hearted "admin-

istrative inventory" proved the computer

was never processed as government

property, -- like its desks but not

their contents, and therefore belonged

to the people if it did not belong to

the state -- its owners are forbidden to

use their own joint property for what

they intended the computer to do when

they decided together to buy it for

their exclusive use.

Contributors and non-contributors were

members of the Napa Alumni-Resident

Association for continuing professional

education and research and were

discriminated against as such. How can

owner-member-contributors to the train-

ing computer be legally denied the use

of what they own and forbidden to

58

associate and peaceably assemble?

In PRUNEYARD Shopping Center v.

Robins, 447 U.S. 74 (1980), the

Court declared that: "It is, of

course, well established that a

State in the exercise of its police

power may adopt reasonable

restrictions on private property so

long as the restrictions do not

amount to a taking without just

compensation or contravene other

federal constitutional provisions."

A major purpose of the First Amend-

ment is to advance knowledge and reveal

truth -- this is its purifying quality:

In WHITNEY v. California (1927) 274

U.S. 357,375, Justice Brandeis con—

curred that: "(T)he final end of

the State (is) to make men free to

develop their faculties."

Nothing can with greater propriety

be called a man's "property" than

the fruit of his brain. WARING v.

Dunlea, D.C.N.C., 26 F.Supp.

338,340.

IN SUM, "1-c" argues that the right of

professionals peacably to assemble for

the advancement of science and to

petition for redress of grievances was

seriously compromised by the idle

Speculation of an ex-con about what

Should buy training equipment, savings

Or taxes.

59

TWO

PEON'S EXPECTATION OF PERSONAL AND

PROFESSIONAL PRIVACY IN HIS LOCKED

WORK-AREAS AT HOME OR THE HOSPITAL

WAS REASONABLE, HAD BEEN RESPECTED

FOR ALMOST TWO DECADES AND COULD NOT

HINDER WHAT PETITIONERS "OFFICIALLY"

WANTED (TO SECURE TRAINING RECORDS)

(Respondent's Reply to Petition, p. 41)

IN SHORT, the "three personal items"

Claimed to have been work-related had to

be stolen because they are not

discoverable as relevant and are, in

fact, not presented to this Court as

evidence that the "administrative

inventory" was what it was claimed to

be. (See III:6 about fictitious sexual

harassment complaint to justify

"removal". C. 3.)

"Necessity alone, whether produced

by danger or OTHERWISE, does not in

itself make all non-probable search-

60

es reasonable -- the equation must

also take into account the like-

lihood that the search procedure

will be effective and the degree and

nature of intrusion into the privacy

of the person and effects of the ci-

tizen which the search entails.

U.S. v. SKIPWITH, 482 Fod 1272 (5th

Cir. 1972). (Emphasis added. see

also U.S. v. SPEIGHTS, 557 F.2d 362,

3d Cir. 1977.)

(ad)

Respondent's Private (1) Medical

Files And (2) Personal Correspond-

ence Were Inspected And His Employ-

ers Violated Confidentiality By

Second Use Of Information Thereby

GAined (r. 22-23). Const. Amend 4.

Dr. O'Connor in his April 27, 1983 de-

position, A-51, admitted reviewing res-

pondent's private patient files.

We may safely assume that the right of

privacy extends to one's confidential

financial affairs (esp. medical

billings) as well as to the details of

one's personal life (in decade-old me-

morabilia). VALLEY BANK v. Sup Ct

(1975) 15 C3d 652,656, 125 CR 553,555.

61

Ex. xxi (r. 52): Medical files misused:

TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN:

I declare under penalty of perjury

4 ° . ©

In the fall of 1981, while Dr.

. Ortega was under investigation and

before the hearing started, the

Director of Crestwood Manor in

Modesto, California asked me if I

knew a Dr. Ortega who was being

investigated for Medi-Cal fraud. He

was on the phone at the time to

someone who had just informed him of

that. ..

. Executed in Oakland, California on

July 9, 1982.

s/East Bay M.D.

A federal law dating back to 1825

. makes it acrime to take mail before

delivery to the addressee with design to

obstruct correspondence or "to pry into

the business or secrets of another," or

open, secrete, embezzle or destroy.

(Dr. Ortega's union membership card was

Out of its envelop when brought to his

door. Cf. Argument "2-h", also.)

62

It is obvious that protection is

afforded against snooping, even though

the mail is not opened. A “taking" need

be no more than picking up a letter to

examine it. Eavesdropping itself [even

before the invention of the telephone

for paperless communication before

computerized, MODEM-mediated (r. 6),

transmissions] has been recognized as a

crime by common law for centuries.

II:100 discloses who gave consent in

pawn's absence, without asking for power

of attorney to dispose of anything that

strikes the various investigators' gamut

of fancies.

In WALTER v. United States (1980) 447

U.S. 649, misdelivered pornographic

films were screened by both the

receivers and the FBI. Never the-

less, the Court deemed the FBI's

viewing of the films an

impermissible "search" without a

search warrant.

Under the Fourth Amendment, any object

63

from which one person has a right to

exclude another, even though tempora-

rily, is a candidate for protection.

(Exclusion means sealing or keeping the

key to lock others out.)

The Fourth Amendment applies to a

search whenever the government parti-

Ccipates in any significant way in it.

USCA Const Amend 4.

When search and not arrest is real

object of officers entering upon

one's premises and arrest is pretext

for or at most incident to search,

there is “unreasonable search".

U.S. v. Kowal, D.C.R.I. 197 F. Supp.

401, 404. See also CHADWICK and

SANDERS in Add.

A “search" must begin with a plan and

can continue until expropriation of the

object thereof. (But what does pawn's

10-year-old souvenirs as Exx. 17, 18 and

19 prove about his work a decade later?)

. The police can only take what appears

likely to be the products or instruments

64

of crime. This limitation is as. basic

as protection against involuntary self-

incrimination to which it is a close

kin. (For sure, warrantless officials

cannot seal personal property as

"Evidence, Napa County Sherrif's

Office". Ex. i-e.)

IN SUM, "2-d" argues that personal papers

were expropriated without due process in

order to insure eventual termination of

a@ permanent public peon with help from

pawn's private files.

(e)

Can Peons Be Punished Without

Charges? (r. 20) Const. Amend. 5.

II:21 (r. 58) pin-points date of decision,

without written charges until 4 weeks

later, to dismiss before computer

"disappeared":

Dr. Ortega's secretary: Well,

when I left on Wednesday at noon,

whatever -- as far as I knew, you

were on administrative leave, I

believe.

Dr. Ortega: Right.

A: When [I came back, I

65

understood that you had been

dismissed.

Q: And that was what date?

A: That was on a Monday, I

think.

Q: Monday of the day --

A: That the computer --

Q: -- that I told you the

computer --

A: The morning you called and

said you had the computer.

Q: And who said I was

dismissed then?

A: Doroty (Dr. Ortega's

executive secretary) had told me.

Now, wait a minute. I had

understood that through my husband

(Mr. Friday's chief engineer).

Q: That I was dismissed?

A: That you had been dismissed

because of this investigatio.

Q: On that Monday, I had

already been dismissed?

A: Yes.

Dr. Ortega: Thank you.

That same morning, respondent received

a hand-delivered extension of his ad-

ministrative leave, effective that day,

though back-dated to the very Friday

66

when his "vacation" was supposed to end,

but no questions about the computer,

probably because the court had already

refused to issue an order to retrieve

it.

BRYANT v. SPB (1950) 96 CA 2d 423, 215 P

ed 512:

If notice is required, the

complaint must state sufficient

facts to show that the accused

committed some type of prohibited

conduct.

See also SKELLY v. S.P.B. (1975) 15

C2d 194 (Minimum pre-removal safeguards,

r.20) in Appendix.

An unconditional and peremptory

dismissal is of itself a sufficient

prevention of performance to entitle

the employee to bring his action for

breach of contract. WINSOR v. Si-

lica Brick Co., 31 CA 85, 159 P 877;

GREGG v. McDonald, 73 CA 748, 239 P

373:

The "administrative inventory" of

respondent's locked files had already

been completed, all that was left was to

67

carry out the formality of charging him

as soon as witnesses can be found.

IN SUM, "2-e" argues that the die was cast

no matter what.

(f)

Peon Was Presumed To Be Guilty Of

Tardy Charges And Must Appeal To Get

A Hearing, r. 21. Const. Amend. 6.

When extra-mural investigation turned

up nothing, tardy CHARGES WERE PADDED

and sexual harassment of supervisees of

other supervisors were added.

No attempt was made to amend a 1972

"Sexual harassment" charge in Notice of

Punitive Action, 9/14/81 (1:10, App.)

despite its obvious ex-post facto

quality:

State Personnel Board asked all

state agencies (Ex. F) on March 20,

1981 to “distribute a copy of your

departmental policy statement" on

sexual harassment "by June 15, 1981"

and “send a copy of the policy by

June 15 to the Personnel Board's

Women's Program Unit".

Instead, as an indication of the

68

bankruptcy of the other charges, the

"complainant" was the first witness

called! Hearing Officer tried hard to

find an excuse to have Dr. Reynolds

testify to stale charges! It took all of

three pages of consultation between

hearing officer and present counsel for

SPB defending his decision at that

hearing before they finally excused her

from the stand.

1:8/14: "Recall" of witnesses promised:

Hearing Officer: Certainly,

you may recall any witness you want.

Dr. Ortega: Okay.

Hearing Officer: Proceed, Mr.

Rubin.

Mr. Rubin: Thank you. I'd

like to call Dr. Elizabeth Reynolds.

1:11/3: She denied living out of town:

Hearing Officer: Are you

planning on leaving the area? What

-- would you be available if your

testimony became important to this

issue to this case?

Dr. Reynolds: Yes.

69

Hearing Officer: And you do

live right here in Napa?

A: I do.

Hearing Officer: I see no

reason in view of the fact we're

striking that particular allegation,

she shouldn't be excused at this

time.

If NAPA was richer in "complaints",

hers would not be left unamended for

being outside the statute of limitations

even for rape.

In hearing officer's need to find any

corroboration whatsoever for sexual ha-

rassment of Caucasians, which failed

throughout the hearing, one can find

confirmation of miscegenophobia (App48).

The charges were tardily drawn because

there were none that could be proven.

How can inefficiency be proven when

respondent's is the last post-graduate

psychiatric training program accredited

for four years in a California's State

Hospitals? But what is there to lose by

70

trying?

Even at this late date, and without

asking petitioners, or reflecting that

inefficiency is self-correcting, their

second attorney of record attempts to

Support a charge of inefficiency by

speculation (PB 16) that pawn's office

and files are bound to be his "citadels

of inefficiency". (Cf. App208) He had

NOT EFFICIENTLY reviewed the record:

Hearing officer's apology (III:74)

about absence of specific allegations of

efficiency was forced by preceding

testimony by the Stanford University

Chairman of Psychiatry about respond-

ent's extraordinary accomplishments

(III:70).

Cf. App. for late and new charges:

Another hastily drawn charge has been

more hastily and even more tardily re-

drawn (PB 24, footnote 22). Virtually

71

outdoing the speculative ex-con (PB 24)

and without consulting petitioners,

their counsel alleges, on behalf of our

speculative ex-con, that respondent was

improperly charged by those who had been

expertly conned:

No coercion was charged in the Notice

of Punitive Action, ex-con admitted it

was "pure speculation" and both Dr.

O'Connor and Dr. Laskay denied hearing

any complaint of coercion. Yet the

"fact-finder"/hearing officer heard it

somewhere, and repeated it in his

Proposed Decision as a basis for dis-

missal! Cf. App.

An order of an administrative

board based upon incompetent hearsay

evidence contravenes due process and

cannot stand. ARMISTEAD v. City of

L.A. (1957) 313 P2d 127, 152 CA2d

319.

IN SUM, “"2-f" argues that what started out

as (4 a simple "“witch-hunt" by real

parties of interest, has become over-

extended as (2) an endurance test into

72

(3) a marathon "sorcerer's chase" for

alien secrets of coercive and sexual

staying powers.

(g)

Can Ex-Peon Be Made To Pay The Equi-

valent Of More Than $10,000.00 Bail

(r. 4) Until His Dismissal Is

Sustained By Refusing To Issue A

Single Subpoena He Requests In

Writing? Const. Amend. 5, 6, 7, 8,

10, 14.

The right to enjoy property

without unlawful deprivation, no

less than the right to speak or

right to travel is, in truth a per-

sonal right, whether the property in

question be welfare check ... or

Saving." LYNCH v. Household Finance

Corp., Conn. 1972, 92 SCt 1113, 405

US 538, 31 LEd2d 424, rehearing

denied 92 SCt 1611, 409 US 911, 31

LEd2d 822, on remand 360 F Supp 720.

Pawn wrote to King on 24 April 1982:

"Dear Mike,

". .« « You may feel fully entitled

to withhold warrants for the price

of keys. .. Without malice, the

total ($11,128.95) would have earned

much more than the indebtedness

($595) to our computer training

consultant whose contract was not

transmitted for the approval it

promptly received the following fis-

cal year. Who is teaching science

data processing now? ...

13

Ex. i(r. 4): Copy to State Court:

"44 June 1982

"Dear Mike,

", .,. . If it turns out only non-

whites are deprived of the use of

such legitimate earnings

($11.128.95) . .. the issue will

have been well raised.

"As you know, money has little

attraction. for me, and I expect even

my alumni to sacrifice it for once-

in-a-lifetime opportunities, as when

I advised you to accept the post of

Director of Mental Health at reduced

salary.

"Sincerely yours,

"s/Magno (Ortega)"

Due process of law excludes all

arbitrary dealings with persons or

property and shuts out all _ inter-

ference not according to established

principles of justice, one of which

being the right and opportunity to

cross-examine, to meet opposing

evidence, and to oppose with

evidence. In re BUCHMAN's ESTATE

(1954) 267 P2d 73, 123 CA2d 546, 47

ALR2d 291.

V:96: Hearing Officer: Well, he

testified pursuant to my direction.

He's entitled --

74

But he soon changed his mind (V:i11,

r. 31): Dr. Ortega was not to be heard,

even for purposes of cross-examination.

After Surrendering (II:30) the

approved computer training contract

previously withheld (1I1:43/22) in

violation (r. 8) of Gov't. Code Section

14780 (App6), allowing clarification of

Dr. Vaughn's leave of absence memo, etc.

(Appi45) during his attempt at cross-

examination, Mr. Rubin declined further

confrontation.

"We may suggest that cross-exam-

ination, if successful, is the most

effective method of rebuttal, and

frequently does away with the ne-

cessity of producing other rebuttal

evidence (at 916)." MASS. BOND.

and Ins. Co. v. Industr. Acc. Comm.

(1946) 74 CA2d 911 (at 913).

Without further testimony in open

court, no further public hearing would

ever recover respondent's reputation.

Its destroyer cannot be reheard and re-

75

cross-examined after having been excused

without an excuse, because Dr. Laskay

died during the deposition of the

investigators.

20 Am. Jur. (at p. 1043): "A party is

For

entitled to call as many witnesses

as he deems necessary to the esta-

blishment of his claim or defence,

subject to the power of the court

reasonably to limit the number who

may be heard upon any one issue."

earlier promises and denials

witnesses, in violation of G.C. Se

19581 (r. 28, PA-6), see 1:8 (a. 10

I1I:143

(a. 14) in Appendix.

Even the denial of right of cross-

examination -- (as distinguished

from the right to call adverse

witnesses) -- may constitute denial

of due process. SMITH v. SMITH

(1954) 270 P2d 613, 125 CA2d 154.

"Offers of proof before calling

adverse witnesses is not required by

law, whether as a class or as

individuals" (TOSSMAN v. Newman, 37

Cal.2d 552, 233 Pac.2d 1; LAWLESS v.

2 il 224 Cal.2d 81, 147 Pac.2d

604).

of

C.

)s

(a. 25), IV:5 (a. 31), and vV:91

76

Yet offers of proof (e.g., r. 16) were

demanded at every turn, despite the gov-

erning law in administrative adjudica-

tion of the department of developmental

services (G.C. Sec. 11513b, App165).

And the proposed decision was not

shared (in violation of G.C. Sec.

19582b, r. 35, PA-6) and it. contained

findings (App184-208) that had nothing

to do with the charges alleged in the

Notice of Punitive Action.

In GRAHAM v. Scissors Tail, Inc.

(1981) 28 Cal.32 807, 17 Cal.Rptr.

604, the California Supreme Court

held that a contract provision

requiring arbitration of disputes

". « » was unconscionable and

unenforceable because it designated

an arbitrator who, by reason of his

status and identity, was presump-

tively biased in favor of one party.

- . (E)ither the court must appoint

the arbitrator on petition of a

party or the matter "should proceed

to a determination of the contro-

versy".

(See also TEX-CAL LAND v. ALRB, a. 8; AP-

77

PLEBAUM v. Bd.of Dir., a. 7.)

The due process clause also

guarantees that no punishment may be

arbitrarily or capriciously applied.

FURMAN v. Georgia, 408 US 238

(1972).

Dismissal (after pre-judicial and

quasi-judicial due process violations)

from a position held without written

criticism for 17 years is capital

punishment for a professional whose

career is thus cut down in its prime.

It is unusual punishment in the face of

overwhelming evidence that his perfornm-

ance is meritorious and, in fact, peer-

less among Directors of Residency Train-

ing in public hospitals throughout Cali-

fornia.

IN SUM, "2-g" argues that what started out

as quasi-judicial increasingly became

farcical, at great cost in money

(withheld earnings as "bail" and future

income as a professional).

(h)

Can The State Pressure Peon's Union

78

Representative To Withdraw Legal

Assistance Because Member Happens To

Be Both A Manager And An Employee?

Const. Amend. 5, 10, 14.

State-Employed Physicians' Agenda on

Sept. 19, 1981 was changed to include as

(8) New business (Exhibit CC): (da)

"Defense of management as members"; (e)

Local handling of grievances, after

union was notified that Dr. O'Connor

will be a member of the state bargaining

team. In fact, the new items of

business (da) and (e) were moved up and

discussed longer than any other. But it

had already been decided, without

consulting member, that union counsel

would decide the merits of his case

before proceeding further, which had

never been done before, since all

members are entitled to assistance

without prejudgment. (Cf. App29: G.C.

Sec. 3528 and Ex. U-2; and II:138, where

79

Dr. O'Connor denies union experience! )

IN SUM, "2-h" argues that, as in medical

care, legal assistance is harder for the

not-so-poor and union representation and

private counsel must be denied a

sorcerer with coercive and sexual

tendencies.

(i)

Can The State, Once The Hearing Has

Started, Search Ex-Peon's Papers

Again For Non-Contraband Materi’'s

‘ To Inhibit His Supporters? xx. P

and JJ-2. Const. Amend 1, 4, 5.

Petitioners claimed in their petition

that a semi-nude photograph, self-

composed valentine card and "standard

book of poetry" were seized because they

were work-related (C. 3). All respond-

ent's personal effects were impounded

(Ex. W below, r.23) and then searched

again after the hearing had already

begun (II:3, III:11). Three ten-yercr-

; old souvenirs were selected and used to

threaten (Ex. JJ-2) use of Dr. Sutton's

declaration (Exhibit P, a. 2) of Dr.

80

Ortega's well-known effectiveness as an

educator. Superior Court ordered them

produced (Ex. H). They were introduced

as evidence to rebut Dr. Sutton's test-

imony, and accepted by Hearing Officer

with some alacrity (III:91).

Cf. Respondent's and Petitioners' Con-

solidated Citations in Addendum.

IN SUM, "2-i" argues that no stene was

left in place that can hide the target,

no niches went unsearched for

Supporters, no avenues remained

unblocked for pawn to escape unwounded.

(j)

How Long Can State Impound

(Commandeer Without War Or Hot Pur-

suit) Peon's Private Files? Exx. W,

X, Y. Const. Amend 4, 5. [j:1]

Sealed before respondent was dismissed

with tapes which read in red letters,

[j:1] Should strictures against

official conduct be more loose when the

victim only loses his professional

career rather than a career in crime?

If life inside prison walls is what

makes the court hesitate to convict, why

are many convicts recidivists?

81

"Evidence, Napa County Sheriff's Dept.",

and marked "Personal Property of Dr.

Ortega, Oct. 7, 1981" (Ex. i-e),

hospital counsel denied petitioner's

request to surrender them and suppress

their presentation as “evidence” on Oct.

20, 1981.

Ex. W (r. 23) is not “inventory-taking"?

Personal property all non-contraband:

"All of them are available for

your inspection at the hospital. We

must respectfully deny your request

however that any of the documents be

suppressed or returned to you."

Exx. X, Y (r. 22): All files impounded:

Ex. X: 10/14/81, Copy to State Court:

", . . (R)eturn .. . all personal

and business files and

cor. espondence with patients and

other persons.

"Going through them and keeping

them was unreasonable, when there is

no compelling public need to do so,

and is in violation of federal and

state constitutional standards. . ."

Ex. Y: 11/31/81, Copy to State Court

82

” : I demand that you

immediately turn over to me all that

is mine, my private prpers and any

copies you have made so far...

"Unless you do, I submit you are

in violation of 42 USC 1983."

In U.S. v. PLACE (1983) 103 S Ct 2637,

Justice O'Connor held that "90-

minute detention of defendant's

luggage was unreasonable, and the

violation of Fourth Amendment rights

was exacerbated by agent's failure

to tell defendant where they were

taking the luggage, how long they

would keep it, and how they would

return it to him.

3. TERRY principles are

applicable to permit investigative

seizures of personal property on the

basis of reasonable, ARTICULABLE

suspicion, premised on OBJECTIVE

facts that the luggage contains

contraband or evidence of a crime.

(Emphasis added.)

The articulable suspicion -- first

spread as rumor and then admitted under

oath -- was forgery, but what was seized

was not evidence of forgery or of any

crime.

5. In applying TERRY

principles to investigative

detention of luggage, Court must

83

balance the nature and quality of

intrusion on the individual's Fourth

Amendment interests against the

importance of the governmental

interest alleged to justify the

intrusion.

Allegation of forgery cannot be

Supported by presentation in evidence of

unsigned document (Ex. 15a-1, II:168-171

in Appendix) to prove that "forgetful-

ness", not forgery, prompted seizure of

locked office and search of locked

files.

Only what the state has condemned and

then processed as its property becomes

its own, to dowith as it pleases,

copying what is incriminating. Yet

petitioners kept insisting, after civil

suit was filed in federal court, on re-

turning to Dr. Ortega 22 boxes marked

"Personal Property, Box No. 1,2,3, etc.,

October 11, 1981", some of which are

still sealed with the red tape of

84

"Evidence, Napa County Sheriff". [j:3]

Administratively speaking, only the

desk had been processed as state pro-

perty. Its contents could not be claim-

ed as belonging to the hospital (any

more than the cars around it). [k:5]

IN SUM, "2-j" argues that warrantless

search was followed by wholesale

confiscation without explanation.

[j:3] The seal was broken in some

boxes where the inventory list cor-

responding to the number of the box sug-

gested to overworked and understaffed

counsel for Napa where to find rebuttal

evidence against Dr. Sutton's de-

Claration in the form of Dr. Onne's ten-

year-old photograph as a model, a self-

composed Valentine card of the same

vintage, and an even older volume of

classic love poems.

[k:5] Private employers (PB 13) keep

better business inventories of their

property, without hiding behind the

skirts of their company position.

—_

85

THREE

PETITIONERS' “ADMINISTRATIVE INVENTORY"

WAS PREMATURE/UNNECESSARY/UNREASONABLE;

INEFFICACIOUS/INTRUSIVE/INDECENT, AND

VIOLATED CIVILIAN PROPERTY AND PRIVACY

RIGHTS PROTECTED BY THE BILL OF RIGHTS

(Cf. Reply to their Petition, p. 55)

IN SHORT, beyond intrusion and

expropriation, state action betrays

gross disrespect for common decency.

(k)

Does A Peon Have No Right To Expect

Respect, As Well As Respect For The

Law, From Government Officials?

Const. Amend ° 4-6 9 10, 14 .

The crucial test is not whether one

agrees but whether one offers reasons

for actions materially affecting the

interesvus of others.

Only those disposed to violate rules

which the community is disposed to en-

force (ex-cons) should become subjects

86

of careful scrutiny, never for security

or the enhancement of position. Each

"right" asserted by one person is a lim-

itation on the freedom of another.

In the present instance, the need a-

rose to protect the complainant's cre-

dibility from impeachment by destroying

Or rendering inaccessible the only re-

port of ex-con's cheating during the re-

sidents' annual oral examinations by two

salaried hospital staff who are not men-

bers of respondent's faculty. [k:4]

Ironically, the report that the in-

vestigators sought and then euphemist-

ically referred to in federal court as

"resident training record" was written

~ [le:4] Petitioners' ignorance of the

routine filing practices of respondent's

department prompted the "administrative

inventory" of personal files in a locked

drawer in a locked desk in a _ locked

second professional education office

that respondent had occupied a third of

his life.

87

and submitted by Dr. Vaughn's second ex-

aminer, Dr. Laskay himself, who did not

know where such reports are filed.

The corollary question is "Would any

of the Justices secretly, in the dead of

night, inventory the personal corres-

pondence of any clerk of theirs after

eleven months in their employ without

earning a reprimand?"

IN SUM, "3-k" argues that though invasion

may not have been intended to extend to

indecent limits, it quickly did and

there's no reason such searches can be

contained, given the temptation that

se.zes the sexually or socially curious.

(1)

Does A Public Employee Become A

Public Personage Without Rights To

Privacy? Const. Amend. 4,5,6,10,14.

If, as Thomas Jefferson discovered,

"the whole of government consists in

the art of being honest,"

civil authorities must be more open to

scrutiny than celebrities. Yet the

whole exercise in this instance was. to

88

work in secret, muddy the picture, omit

important documents from the public re-

cord, and demand that respondent be more

open to questioning and examination of

his private life than the petitioners of

their public acts.

In California, concern for inadequate

legal protection of informational

privacy prompted a 1972 amendment to the

State Constitution guaranteeing the

right of privacy. Cf. WHITE in Add.

The Court also found the new

constitutional right contains a private

right of action and held that it

REQUIRES the government to establish a

"compelling justification" for violating

the right. (Emphasis added.)

Personal correspondents were called by

phone throughout the United States to

obtain leads, even if their letters in

pawn's files, including those from

89

alumni, could not be “work related".

A minor may not refuse if the parent

agrees to official intrusion, but no

official, whether legally appointed or

trained, can waive the right of another

adult to privacy.

In U.S. v. Blok, 88 US App DC 326,

188 F2d 1019, 1951, a supervisor's

consent to search by local police of

a government employee's desk was

held invalid under the Fourth Amend-

ment. (For details, see Add.)

Only a judge can order a search and

only for specific contraband, and the

search must be conducted without

dalliance, and once made cannot later be

resumed. A Deputy Attorney General

cannot re-search, even with a warrant.

Second search of premises based on same

warrant as previous search was

"unreasonable search". STATE v. PINA,

383 P2d 167, 168.

Ex. JJ-2 (r. 26, a. 6): Is this immune?

"Oct. 30, 1981 (lst day after hearing):

"If you intend to introduce that

document we will be compelled to

offer rebuttal evidence which is in

our possession. .. (We) have been

unable to ascertain which documents

will be needed to counter Dr. Sut- e

III

90

ton's declaration (Ex. P., Cf.

Argument "f" below). .. (W)e are

hereby informing you that we do have

relevant evidence bearing on Dr.

»Sutton's credibility and we *do

intend to use it should it be ne-

cessary. Finally, if you do intro-

duce the declaration of Dr. Sutton,

please so inform us by telephone so

that we can subpoena her for cross-

examination.

"s/Asher Rubin, Deputy Atty. Gen."

:90-92: Souvenirs for "rebuttal"!

Mr. Rubin: Did you have sexual

intercourse with (Dr. Ortega)?

Dr. Sutton: No, I never did.

Q: Did he ever kiss you?

A: Yes.

Q: Has he ever embraced you?

A; Yes, but not in a sexual

fashion, in an affectionate fashion,

almost the way you might kiss a

child.

Q: All right. Is this a

photograph of you?

A; Yes, that is. That was

taken in a photo studio by a

professional photographer.

Mr. Rubin: I'd like to

introduce this as our next exhibit.

Dr. Ortega: Objection.

Hearing Officer Waller: Well,

there again, it has very limited

91

relevance, but as long as we are off

on this tangent, it will be marked

Exhibit 17, and it will be admitted.

This cross—-examination is continued in

App169-170. See also G.C. 6254, 11180.5

and 11183.

Justice Clark summarized, "(0)nce

the right to privacy was enforceable

against the states, the Court could

"no longer permit that right to

remain an empty promise .. . to be

revocable at the whim of any... .

who . .. chooses to suspend its

enjoyment. .."

In GILLARD (cited in their opinion by

the Court of Appeals panel that

decided respondent was even more

grieviously damaged than Gillard),

the, Court held that a school

guidance counselor's locked desk and

locked office were protected by the

Fourth Amendment from warrantless

search by other employees. (The

counselor had manifested his desire

to protect confidential notes pro-

filing his counselee's psychological

problems from "prying eyes" by

locking up his desk and office.)

Other precedents that may be cited are

also listed in Add., for comparison with

petitioners' selected citations:

92

In BIVENS, Chief Justice Burger sug-

gested that civil suits for offend-

ing officers might be a plausible

alternative (e.g., to MAPP).

Petitioners' own citations do concur

(omitted parts literally in Add.)

IN SUM, "3-1" argues that no reasonably

decent man will find secret search and

seizure and storage and use against the

owner of the tainted fruits of official

warrantless intrusion reasonable by any

standards cited in any precedent by a

whole army of lawyers for the state.

(m)

Is There A Limit To The Number Of

Laws Non-Military Officers Can

Violate With Impunity? (r. 8, 22-

23, 28, 30, 35, 51, 533 a. -16, -17;

14. Cf. Add. for list of violations

and omissions.

Justice is the fairness with which

benefits and burdens are assumed.

The official record proves a concerted

effort to kill a career. The State

understandably wishes there was a double

standard of disclosure between employees

and employers of their state. Pawn is

93

confident the Court does not, shall not.

will not, agree to legitimize such a

caste system of access to information.

IN SUM, "3-n" argues that a government of

law does not allow government men _ to

break the law regardless of their

position in government.

(0)

Does Power Corrupt The Immune And Can

Qualified Immunity Corrupt The

Qualified? (a. 6). [0:1]

The Court will have to decide if

petitioners denied the rights of persons

("p" to "z") by their official conduct

and will again deny, under color of of-

[o:1] The first to claim legal immun-

ity were fathers-owners of households

for their conduct with citizens under

their own roof. The second were the

clergy in whose churches they insisted

On sanctuary for their flock. The third

were embassies who claim artificial

sovereignty for the premises they oc-

cupy. The fourth are lawyers who have

been granted absolute immunity as pro-

secutors or judges, but only for their

behavior in court. Then came consenting

adults for private conduct. And now,

employers who claim they can do as they

please with citizens under their employ.

p)

q)

r)

s)

t )

94

fice, any person any of these rights:

to adverse information [o:2],

to unalienated affection,

to assemble with others,

to work until proven incompetent,

to use spend their money as they wish,

to presumption of innocence VS- doubts,

to be secure from all surveillance,

to proper investigative procedures,

to dependable redress of grievances

to access to impartial tribunals, and

to equal protection under the law.

Which of these personal rights, when

they were clerks, are the Justices of

this court and of all the courts below

willing for love of the state to forego

without an enemy without or for those

[0:2] Even "p" (the right to adverse

information) dces not require immunity

against slander or libel for State

hatchet men, if they were forthcoming

and offended victim dared to sue, since

the State is not spreading ugly rumors.

95

outside prison walls?

Does what a person, peon or not, leave

in government property that does not

belong to the state give its custodians

the right to be privy to it, or that

government officials can share what is

there in secret, or with the public when

it suits them? [0:3]

IN SUM, "3-0" argues that sovereign im-

munity when shared with agents of God or

government was intended to preserve

their own privacy, not by secretly vio-

lating that of another's by perverting

public trust. (Only private perversions

with mutual consent are legally immune,

even if lethally contagious.)

[o:3] If petitioners did not feel

above the law, or if they were not

convinced the law had set them above

ordinary citizens, would they have been

so secretive and, when found out,

because they were also indiscreet or

boastful or both, so proud to claim

qualified immunity for their actions as

government officials as not to offer

even a token apology for invading a

person's privacy?

96

RESERVATIONS

It is curious that computer-resistant

petitioners now come for permission to

the Supreme Court to conduct secret

administrative inventories when current

technology render such procedures

effortless and untraceable. Can the

Constitution encourage computer Leeerecs

without idling bureaucracies or penal-

izing technocracies? [R:1]

Only tne sub-purchase of additional

video and training computer accessories

were submitted for approval, and their

purchase orders were signed by 4 duly

constituted authority. Therefore no

unauthorized purchases were made but

even the approved purchase orders were

[R:1] Bureaucracies tend to frown on

individual initiative, and unusual

resourcefulness is viewed as deviation.

But post-graduate education in a public

hospital cannot wait indefinitely for

teaching equipment to be bought by

taxpayers.

97

not honored, after signatory forgot he

signed then.

In the dawning of space age technol-

ogy, the video equipment (another moni-

tor for which was included in the sub-

purchase orders) and the training com-

puter aboard the "post-graduate space

shuttle" were not paid for by a paper-

bound bureaucracy, but by private

donors. Only the computer was bought

with space age commuters' money. [R:2]

SUMMARY

1) As "statesmen", can we only see the

[R:2] Some passengers developed "space

sickness" and one was returned briefly

to earth. Dr. Vaughn was to resume his

journey of exploration after a month's

L.O.A. (He did, on schedule, starting

August 1, 1981). On earth while still

sick, he was asked to speculate as to

why he was not reaping the rewards of

exploration of expanding space. He said

it was because he did not contribute to

the cost of the computer aboard. (Yet

he was never invited to contribute,

because he was a penny-pircher, and

other non-contributors were on board.)

98

ship of state as critically leaking and

slowly sinking all the time because of

ever-present saboteurs on board?

2) Or, can we see ourselves as "villagers"

living closely together on earth but in

separate cottages, without feeling

crowded out of the community by fences

separating individual clans (profes-

sional guilds) or extended families

(bureaus or or agencies).

3) Or, as "spacemen", can we see ourselves

orbiting out yonder around each other

with the assistance of technical in-

struments we must learn to use if we are

going to be masters of space in real

time, not later?

QUESTIONS BEFORE CONCLUSIONS

Was the State running scared in their

haste to investigate without a warrant?

Or were they afraid the judge would

frown on their reasons for searching?

99

Is their fear a sign that the State is

weakening in relation to the judiciary,

and are now crying for injections of

artifial immunity to increase their

resistance to a creeping affliction of

miscegenophobia? Is this Court their

doctor or their judge? Is the govern-

ment sick or its employees biased? [Q:1]

In still uncritical times, how many

Justices are willing to say "No" when

[Q:1] Miscegenophobia combined with

fear of machine substitutes among paper-

fed bureaucrats can fight back by

sponsoring a marathon sorcerer's chase

to run down or aground any source of

envied or dreaded sex and electronics.

These marathons may well become a

regular feature of employment with more

foreign rivals and better artificial

intelligence. Male aliens are now

competing where more Caucasian females

find both increased self-esteem and a

source of income. Both threaten

computer illiterates who have only their

natural wits to help them fight

technocrats. Racist sexism coupled with

compu-phobia can replace our class wars

with a two-tiered caste system of biased

bureaucrats and better technocrats.

100

the trespass of liberty becomes suffi-

ciently blatant among those who suffer

from a sieged garrison mentality? [Q:2]

The penultimate question left to be

answered is "WHY NOW?" Dr. O'Connor had

been told by Dr. Laskay during the

annusl examination of all residents that

Dr. Vaughn had cheated and that he had

reported it in writing to Dr. Ortega.

If Dr. Laskay also told Mr. Friday about

it, the report of the cheating must not

be available to reduce Dr. Vaughn's cre-

[Q:2] Does God or government bless

liberty? Or must people fight for it?

Animals guarantee autonomy to each

other within limitations that are not

questioned except briefly in mock com-

bat, unless it is a matter of food or

sex. We call it instinctive territor-

iality. Only in man does it become

educated imperialism, religious or ev-

angelical, local or political, multi-

national or economic. (None of above

imperialists are actually starving, no

one but Hinckley has attempted regicide

for sexual reasons.

101

dibility. MTheir only mistake is to sus—

pect that Dr. Ortega locked residency

training reports in his office, when in

fact his secretaries filed them in their

Own locked filing cabinets. But once

Dr. Ortega's personal correspondence was

accessible for inspection, there was no

Stopping the investigators looking for

what may be incriminating, to hide their

mistakes. [Q:3]

The final question is WHEN did

petitioners decide which papers were

work-related and may be inventoried (and

[Q:3] Hard-workers cheat because they

want to do well, not because they are

bad. (If they are found to be greedy in

the past and had been convicted of

fraud, it is because they had been rais-—

ed and taught to be selfish. Ex-con is

&@ rabid Ayn Rand's fan, in prison or

Out, predictably -- for one can be

ignorant but never inauthentic --

preaching rational self-interest to his

fellow residents without much success:

they are Slightly ahead of him in their

post-logical moral development). ]

102

then seized for blackmail purposes)?

Answer: After the hearing had already

started! (11:3/10.) [Q:4]

CONCLUSION

First: forced entry was furtive.

[c:1]

Such secrecy is suspect when it yields

and takes control of a tantalizing

[Q:4] The court ordered them produced

as well as all other material gathered

during the investigation. (Ex. H).

Thus, Exhibits 17-19 which were STOLEN

from respondent were NOT RELEVANT until

after the investigation was over. They

were claimed by petitioners to be, but

were not in fact, work-related, and

therefore were not included in the

appendix with their petition or even

mentioned in their brief on its merits.

They were discovered only after the

court ordered that they be produced

(Exhibit H) along with sub-purchase or-

ders that were testified to but not

presented as exhibits that first day

hearing to prove pawn must be punished.

[C:1] Nocturnal raid by Mr. Friday, p.

26 of his federal deposition (r. 50,

A-54) cannot be countenanced = as

oversight "to maintain access to

government records" (PB 8, footnote 5).

103

souvenir, even given California's

- Sexually liberated climate of Omnivorous

Curiosity, which encourages but does not

immunize voyeurs. [¢:2]

Il. Second: furtive entry invented

abortive inventory. [¢:3]

III. Third: respondent's office was

seized and his property impounded, in

[C:2] Search was Originally intended

to seize a report of cheating by the

ex-con -- during the recently completed

annual examination of all residents --

which would cast doubt on the veracity

of his speculation of coercion (which

was unquestionably denied by all

contributors to their training computer

anyway, without impeaching him over an

error of judgment: he passed a repeat

exam quite easily).

[C:3] Why should citizens pay the

government for inventing an inventory it

does not know how to conduct and gives

up almost as soon as it is started (PB

8, footnote 5) without B.L.c. (legal

cost/benefit bottom-line-consciousness

Of. ANNUAL budget movements to cover

PENDENT state claims)? Emphasis

Originally added for the congnoscente.

104

the course of a sorcerer's chase for

secret sexual and coercive powers called

an "administrative investigation" into

respondent's work-distant activity.

IV. Fourth: this uncalled for sequence

of state action gives rise to 42 U.S.C.

Sec. 1983 liability, as the Fourteenth

Amendment is infringed thereby.

RECOMMENDATIONS, REMEDIAL SUGGESTIONS

A. Can petitioners be forgiven their past

mistakes, but the state ordered to make

immediate restitution for the actual

damages it allowed them to inflict, and

to pay punitive damages to be decided by

a jury, to dissuade future abuses?

B. To prevent future inadvertence by pe-

titioners themselves, can they share

paying the interest on actual damages,

to save taxpayers the additional burden,

and all of the taxes due thereto, out of

their last salary increments or savings,

105

at a rate to be decided by a jury?

C. Since the legal requirements for

Placing an employee, permanent or not,

for two weeks or less or indefinitely,

had never been met, can the Court cor-

rect all past reversible errors by de-

Claring such extreme measure to conduct

an invented and aborted "administrative

inventory" illegal and void, thereby re-

instating respondent to status quo ante?

[ Appended in Addendum are

Citations from the Statutes and

regulations, policies and practices,

and rules and precedents that govern

acceptable official behavior.

[Counsel had been invited repeat-

edly in writing to dispute prejud-

ices imputed to petitioners, for

which immunity is Sought from this

Court. Can continued Silence be

ot a "No contest"? cf. Append-

8

Respectfully Submitted,

Magno J. Ortega

(707) 255-6726

ERRATA

As in the Appendix ('a') to the Reply

('r') to the Petition for Writ of

Certiorari ('C'), this Addendum (Add.)

to Respondent's Brief (RB) will first

deal with what is easily disposed of in

Petitioners' Brief (PB) and in the U.S.

brief on behalf of a reversed decision.

In '‘'C', there was the “essential lie"

(a. 1) about Exhibits 17, 18, 19 that

were impounded as “relevant to the

pending personnel investigation against

respondent" (C. 3). Happily, such

assertion is not repeated in PB.

But both PB and the brief for the U.S.

(US) are replete with errors which are

not necessarily lies unless they are

repeated in reply to RB.

Errors may merely be from accidental

misinformation or they may be wishful

disinformation (Cf. No.34, this list).

Appended is available documentation for

the corrections of most of the errors in

poth briefs which echo each other:

1) PB 3, US 11: No resident had ever

complained of sexual harassment. The

only harassment investigated was that of

an alumna (Dr. Reynolds, III:7,21) who

graduated ten years before. (pr. Laskay;

who had been her supervisee when he was

a resident, asked her to write a letter

about what he neard had happened pefore

he came.)

2) PB 4, US 11: Indefinite administrative

leave order (Ex. S) was dated Friday,

August 14, 1981, and could not have been

received before the week-end. It was in

fact sent to the wrong federal post-

office box on the grounds which was

still off-limits to respondent, to his

office in the hospital, which was still

A-3

off-limits, and then finally hand-

delivered by an administrative trainee,

Mr. Arnold, one of the amateur

investigators, before noon on August 17,

1981, effective that day, and after the

computer had been reported as "missing

property" (Ex. 10), not "stolen", nor as

"hospital property".

3) PB4: There were no resident files in

Dr. Ortega's office. They are all filed

by the secretaries in their locked

cabinets. The "female medical resident"

(Joyce Onne) whose correspondence was

stolen was an alumna (Dr. Sutton), who

was Dr. O'Connor's chief resident in

their graduating class ten years before.

4) PB4: Dr. O'Connor would never accuse

his teacher of theft.

5) PB 4: The lock to Dr. Ortega's office

was changed before 0800 hours on Friday,

July 31, 1981 (Ex. T-2), and its

A-4

contents were never inventoried. A-57.

6) PB 4: #£=xThe necessity to secure the

office which did not contain the

compvter is like closing the barn door

after the cows have gone to pasture.

7) PB 4, US 3: The search did not secure

any state property. In fact, all the

contents of Dr. Ortega's office were

returned to him after it had been

searched several times (Ex. JJ-2), some

copies made (Atty. Wainwright's letter

to Judge Vukasin, A-62), and some

souvenirs stolen (Exx. 17, 18, 19).

8) PB 4: The contents were not removed so

that the office could be used by another

employee (Announcement by Dr. O'Connor:

Dr. Jeffress was recruited by Dr. Ortega

and continued to occupy the office

adjoining his even after the

announcement. )

9) PB5: The degree of intrusion was not

A-5

minimized by returning respondent's

personal effects, which were refused

even after the hearing had started (Exx.

JJ-2, X, Y).

10) PB 5, US 3,10: Dr. Ortega had the

only key except the janitors, who also

had the key to the new lock (as did Mr.

Friday, p. 26 of his deposition, A-54)

to use after hours. Cf. KAHAN, A-29.

11) PB 6, US 3: The search, seizure,

Storage and stealing of ten-year-old

souvenirs (Exx. 17, 18, 19) are not

necessary or reasonable, even in private

business. They are not concerned with

"work-related activity".

12) PB 8, US 3: The items in the office

were taken to an investigator's office

(Mr. Stratton's deposition, p. 59) and

some moved to an “evidence locker" (p.

60). All were kept after respondent

demanded their return. Exx. W,X,Y.

A-6

13) PB 10, US 11: The prerogative to

remove government employees whose

conduct hinders erficient operation and

to do so with dispatch is governed in

California by Govt. Code 19574.5 which

specifies which conduct warrants

immediate exclusion, and does nct apply

to respondent.

14) PB 13: Benefactors may not enter

welfare beneficiaries home without

advance notice (Cf. WYMAN, A-32).

15) PB 14, UA 12: Service to the public

is enhanced by the predictability of the

institution. In fact, an unpredictable

group of services cannot be

institutionalized. So must institu-

tional predictability characterize its

behavior towards its employees, or they

cannot function. They must be told they

are going to be intruded upon in order

to accommodate to such interruptions:

A-7

PB 5 "on general inspection policy", US

4 on office inventories being "reserved

to employees who were departing or were

terminated".

16) PB 16: Access to offices does not

include impounding its contents.

17) PB 16, US 17,19,21: Expropriation of

personal memorabilia is not as common as

borrowing a paper clip or a pencil (us

7) or a book (US 11).

18) US 6, 15, 17: Search was made for

forged documents, Dr. O'Connor having

forgotten that he signed one of them.

19) US 6: Petitioners also wanted to

locate a report of cheating by the

resident who complained his fellow

residents were coerced to get a computer

(it was actually their idea).

20) US 7, 9: The private patient files

were in order to supplement the loss of

mental patients for teaching when Napa

A-8

was transferred to the Department of

Developmental Services to look after the

developmentally retarded.

21) US 9: IBM files were also for

training, before computers got cheaper.

22) US 9: Respondent's assertions are

documented herewith from noticed

administrative proceedings.

23) PB 16: No search for tie sake of

oversight is ever allowed unless it is

routine practice.

24) PB 20: Prior recognition of

institutional deficiency resulting in

demonstrable damage dictates changes in

policy, not ad hoc decisions to search.

25) PB 24: Non-naturalized citizens may

get away with ignorance of the American

Bill of Rights, but not aliens.

26) PB 24, US 11: Petitioners never

lodged a prior grievance against

respondent or else they are derelict in

A-9

reporting their legitimate concerns

regarding his work-related conduct in

mandatory performance reports.

27) PB 24, US 11: Coercion was denied by

all residents, including complainant who

acknowledged it was "pure speculation"

(1:58, 98) and by Dr. O'Connor (II:103)

and Dr. lLaskay (III:9). Was hearing

officer hearing other voices?

28) US 3: Overtime "work" must be

training-related or "workers" will

complain to EEOC for being exploited at

work; the curriculum is entirely

respondent's responsibility, and he is

accountable to its contents only to a

national accrediting body. His trainees

are not paid by Napa, but are Supported

out of separate budgets of different

State agencies and from federal or other

Sources, including family savings.

30) US 2: Dr. O'Connor testified he did

A-10

not even remember signing some of the

papers on the same day (II:62). He

never checked whether he misheard or

misremembered.

31) US 2: The computer training

consultant contract (Ex. 16b) was

approved on July 15, 1981, “effective

immediately" (GC 14780) before respond

ent was placed on administrative leave!

32) PB 24, US 2,3: Complaints of "sexual

harassment" were made by undergraduates

who were never respondent's supervisees

(all postgraduate trainees specializing

in psychiatry), both of whom had already

left the hospital when they complained

after respondent had already been

dismissed. (1:25, 39)-

33) PB 24: The resident who complained

someone may have felt coerced to

contribute was placed on LOA, not AL,

because he no longer had sick leave left

A-11

but still wanted to delay resuming

interrupted rotation for one month

(Appi42). A month's L.0.A. without pay

is the maximum SPB Rule 361a allows:

"An appointing power may grant

leave of absence without pay to” an

employee for a period not to exceed

30 calendar days" under S.P.B.

361b: ". « « 4) for illness...

or 5) for some other reason equally

Satisfactory as determined by the

appointing power."

See also SPB hearing officer's stand

on these old existing arrangements,

T:69. Attorneys of record in their

"citadels of efficiency" (App211) should

more efficiently inventory their record

before including any new charges under

the wrong code provisions in their

briefs. (PB 16's speculative charge of

"inefficiency" had also already been

dismissed by the hearing officer,

III:74.) US 11, 12.

34) US 21: See US 2 about where the

A-12

computer was kept. Why the careless

error? Are computers mobile robots?

With facts, arguments would not just

be opinion but a question of digestion.

STATE AND FEDERAL PRECEDENTS VIOLATED:

IGNORED IN PETITIONERS' CITED CASES:

[What follows may not exactly

counter all petitioners' cited

claims, but the same source

qualifies each of them enough to

blunt the final point of their ar-

gument to mislead the Court to leg-

islate what the California legis-

lature cannot, after the people by

referendum in 1972 amended their

Constitution to protect their

privacy:

(Civil Code Section 1798.1: The

Legislature declares that the right

to privacy is.a personal and funda-

mental right protected by Section 1

of Article 1 of the Constitution of

California and by the United States

Constitution and that all indivi-

duals have a right of privacy_of in-

formation pertaining to then. ]

i) Mancusi v. DeForte (1968) 392 U.S. 364:

1. Fourth Amendment provision against

unreasonable searches does not

shield only those who have title to

the searched premises.

A-13

2. Capacity to claim protection of

Fourth Amendment provision against

unreasonable searches and seizures

depends not upon property rights in

invaded area but upon whether area

was one in which there was

reasonable expectation of freedom

from governmental intrusion.

U.S.C.A. Const. Amend. 4.

6. (Even) state officials' possession

of a district attorney's subpoena

duces tecum calling on union to

produce certain books and records

did not bring warrantless search of

union office within exception to

rule that search of private property

without proper consent is

"unreasonable" unless it has been

authorized by a valid search

warrant. -U.S.C.A. Const. Amend. 4.

ii) Marshall v. Barlow's, Inc. (1978) 436

U.S. 307:

2. Exception from search warrant for

- « « liquor and firearms... S

the exception, not the rule.

6. Reasonableness of warrantless

search depends upon specific en-

forcement needs and privacy guar-

antees of each regulatory statute.

Te Incremental protections ... are

not so marginal that they fail to

justify administrative burdens that

may be entailed .. . (W)arrant

provides assurance from neutral of-

ficer that inspection is reasonable

under the Constitution, is author-

iii)

U.

iv)

5.

8)

A-14

ized by statute, and is pursuant to

administrative plan containing

specific neutral criteria, as well

ad advising owner of scope and

objects of search beyond which

limits inspector is not expected to

proceed. U.S.C.A. Const. Amend. 4.

Martinez v. California (1980) 444

$.227:

Parolee-murderer was not an agent

of the California Parole Board.

(This decision denied his victim

damages, and is cited to deny

California's liability in the

present case, by fanciful legal

somersault.)

Michigan v. Tyler (1978) 436 U.S. 499:

Warrantless search of burned pre-

mises cannot be justified on ground

of abandonment by arson until arson

has been proved, and conviction

cannot be used ex post facto to

validate introduction of evidence

used to secure same conviction.

U.S.C.A. Const. Amend. 4.

Search for administrative papers,

like search for evidence of crime,

are encompassed by Fourth Amendment.

To secure warrant to investigate

cause of fire, officialmust show

more than bare fact that fire has

occurred.

In the present instance, search

ae

A-15

prompted by complaint of coercion to

rescue complainant from impeachment by

destroying report of his cheating, did

not even result in charge of coercion.

19. . . . (N)umber of prior entries,

scope of search, time of day when

proposed to be made, lapse of time

Since fire ..., might all be

relevant factors, and magistrate can

perform important function of

preventing harassment by keeping. .

- invasion to a minimun. U.S.C.A.

Const. Amend. 4.

No magistrate would find petitioner

Friday's nocturnal search "reasonable",

(His deposition, p. 26, A-54).

23. Failure to present federal question

in conformance with state procedure

constitutes adequate and independent

grounds of decision barring review in

U.S. Supreme Court, so long as state has

legitimate interest in enforcing its

procedural rule.

State has no policy to safeguard

employees from "official fishing

expeditions", nor has it tried to limit

its scope, but asks the Court for

blanket permission to search, secretly

A-16

or otherwise.

v) Mitchum v. Foster (1972) 407 US 225:

3. There is a fundamental policy

against federal interference with

state criminal prosecution. 28

U.S.C.A. 2283.

6. Only in case of proven harassment

or prosecution undertaken by state

officials in bad faith without hope

of obtaining a valid conviction and

perhaps in other extraordinary

circumstances when irreparable

injury can be_ shown is federeal

injunctive relief aginst pending

state prosecutions appropriate. 28

U.S.C.A. 2283.

8. Other “implied" exceptions to

blanket prohibition of anti-injunc-

tion statute are recognized .. -

permitting a federal court to enjoin

relitigation in a state court of

issue already decided in federal

litigation. . -

11. Provision of Civil Rights Act

authorizing a suit in equity to

redress deprivation uader color of

state lasw of any rights, privi-

leges, or immunities secure by Con-

stitution was intended to enforce

provisions of Fourteenth Amendment

against state action, whether that

action be executive, legislative, or

judicial. 42 U.S.C.A..Sec. ‘1983;

u.$.C.A. Const. Amend. 14.

12. Congress .. + Was concerned that

A-17

State instrumentalities could not

protect those rigts; it realized

that state officers might, in fact,

be antisympathetic to validation of

those rights.

Hea ing Officer himself applauded

(II:169) "fishing expedition" for for-

geries and other evidence of wrong-

doing!

13. Purpose. ., is to interpose

federal courts between the states

and the perple, as guardians of the

people's feieral rights and to

protect the people from unconsti-_

tutional action under color of state

law, whether that action be exec-

utive, legislative, or federal. 42

U.S.C.A. 1983.

vi) Butz v. Economou (1978) 458 U.S. 478:

7) All individuals are subject to

federal law. Officials must bear

the burden of Showing that public

pelicy requires exemptions of that

scope.

8) This burden, when discharged,

entitles them to qualified immunity,

except where it is demonstrated that

absolute immunity is essential for

the conduct of public business.

13) Agency officials who perform

certain functions analogous to those

of a prosecutor and who are

A-18

responsible for the decision to in-

itiate or continue a proceeding,

subject to agency adjudication, are

entitled to absolute immunity.

vii) Chenkin v. Bellevue Hosp. Ctr. B.¥.C.

ETC. (S.D. New York 1979) 479 F.Supp.

1349:

1) Does the person claim a reasonable

or a legitimate expectation of

privacy that has been invaded by

government action? Did the indi-

vidual's conduct evince an actual,

subjective expectation of privacy?

Is that expectation, when viewed

objectively, justified under the

circumstances?

4) Three factors are crucial to weigh

private vs. public interest under

the Fourth Amendment: (1) strength

of public necessity for the search,

(2) efficacy of the search, and (3)

degree and nature of insrusion upon

the individua’.

viii) Chocallo v. Bureau of Hearings and

Appeals, SSA (E.D. Pa. 1982) 548 F.

Supp. 1349:

19) When sole purpose of search of of-

fices was work-related and reason-

ably forseeable by plaintiff who had

refused active efforts of her su-

pervisor to locate and remove case

file, which was government property,

. two administrative law judges

. . « entering and searching former

administrative law judge's office to

obtain file did not amount to vio-

A-19

lation of former law judge's Fourth

Amendment rights. U.S.C.A. Const.

Amend. 4.

24) When director communicated to

plaintiff the basis for non-promo-

tion was discipline-related, dir-

ector had authority to recommend ad-

verse action for plaintiff's actions

which were deliberate impediments to

execution of delegated authority,

although director erred in not pro-

cessi’g plaintiff's mromotion or

grade increase,

25) Where plaintiff defied lawful

directions, she assumed risk of

adverse action for deliberate in-

Subordination, and was not harassed

and retaliated against for exer-

cising independent action.

26) When plaintiff did not indicate

what documents, if any, were im-

properly collected and disseminated,

nor indicate manner in which defen-

dants collected such data, complaint

Of violations of Privacy Act that

were not relevant and necessary .

- was subject to denial.

29) Any liability for violation of

ix)

Privacy Act rests Only upon agency

and not individuals.

Williams v. Collins (8th Gir. 1984)

728 F.2d 721:

10) Defendants were entitledi to

absolute immunity only for vommon-

law liability for defamation, search

x )

A-20

(not seizure, EXx. 17-19) reasonably

calculated to help investigation or

simple inventory of material was

within line of duty and defendant's

had duty to investigate and remove

employee if necessary.

Harlow v. Fitzgerald (1982) 457 U.S.

800

4) Under “functional” approach to

immunity, immunity of government of-

ficials extends no further than its

justification warrants.

8) Qualified or "good faith" immunity

is affirmative defense that must be

pleaded by defendants.

xi) United States v. Collins (2nd Cir.

4965, not 1963) 349 F.2d 863:

9) Room in which defendant's jacket

was hung was his supervisor's outer

office, which was public area not

shown to be segregated for private

purposes from other work areas.

xii) Camara v. Municipal Court (1967), 387

U.S. 523:

5. When right of privacy must

reasonably yield to right of search

is, as a rule to be decided by

judicial officer, not by policeman

or government enforcement agency.

U.S.C.A. Const. Amend. 4.

Te In determining whether public

interest demands creation of general

exception to warrant requirement of

A-21

Fourth Amendment, question is not

whether public interest justifies

type of search in question, but

whether authority to search should

be evidenced by court, which in turn

depends in part upon whether burden

of obtaining warrant is likely to

frustrate governmental purpose be-

hind search.

8. - « »« Searches, when authorized

and conducted without warrant

procedure, lsck, traditional safe-

guards which Fourth Amendment guar-

antees to individuals; overruling

FRANK v. State of Maryland, 359 US

360, 79 SCt 804, to extent that it

sanctioned warrantless inspections.

U.S.C.A. Const. Amend. 4.

10. In case in which Fourth Amendment

requires that search warrant be

obtained, probable cause is standard

by which particular decision to

search is tested against constitu-

tional mandate of reasonableness.

U.S.C.A. Const. Amend. 4. '

14. Search warrant procedure is

designed to guarantee that decision

to search private property is

justified by reasonable government

interest, but reasonableness is

ultimate standard, and if valid

public interest justifies intrusion

contemplated, there is probable

cause to issue SUITABLY RESTRICTED

search warrant. (Emphasis added.)

[10] .. . To apply this standard, it

is obviously necessary first to

A=-22

focus upon the government interest

which allegedly justifies intrusion

upon the constitutionally protected.

When the justification changes from

search for forged documents to securing

government property (training computer

was claimed to be donated without being

processed ) to collecting training

records (kept outside locked office) to

sorting private papers from public

documents (and then packing everything

in the locked office and storing them

for future search of instruments to

intimidate a witness against the state

with her professional photograph and

personal correspondence), allegations do

not try to justify but attempt to excuse

misconduct.

xiii) Allen v. City of Marietta (N.D. Ga.

1985) 601 F. Supp. 482:

"This is not the case when an

office supervisor or fellow employee

is looking for some needed document

or record and inadvertently happens

A-23

upon incriminating evidence in the

desk or wastepaper basket of another

employee. Nor is it a _ situation

where a supervisor is inspecting the

area used by a subordinate in order

to examine his work or to evaluate

his performance on the job."

Chief petitioner, whom pr. Ortega

trained, is his nominal Supervisor, had

never evaluated his performance, and had

been accused of "rubber-stamping"

whatever he is given. Dr. Ortega, on

the other hand, kept getting meritorious

Salary increases annually for 17 years

without a single grievance against him.

No employee should be investigated by

a fellow employee (co-petitioner Friday)

against whom he had lodged a grievance

(also the first time in 17 years). The

right to an impartial decision-making

process, unbiased by biased reports, is

required by due process.

Permanent employees have property

rights to their tenured position and

A-24

statutory expectancy that they will not

be removed other than for "such cause 4s

will promote the efficiency of the

service".

"Employment is one of the

greatest, if not the greatest,

benefit that governments offer in

modern day life" Roth, 408 U.S. at

589, 92 SCt at 2715.

Dismissal from public employment for

cause may also implicate liberty

interests in imposing on the discharged

employee a stigma of incompetence or

wrongdoing that forecloses "his freedom

to take advantage of other employment

opportunities". Id at 573, 2702.

For the hearing to be meaningful (as

distinguished from being conducted

fairly, which appended "Nature of

Controversy" clearly controvert), the

decision-maker must be independent and

unbiased.

"6, A government employee's supervis-

A-25

ors might legitimately search her

desk or her locker or her jacket

where purpose of such is not to

gather evidence of a crime unrelated

to the employee's performance of her

duties but is, rather, undertaken

for the proprietary purpose of

preventing future damage to the

agency's ability to discharge

effectively its Statutory respons~

ibility and employee cannot claim

legitimate expectation of privacy

from searches of that nature. . .

IIIB. In government employment, such

exceptions involve "a balancing of

the individual's expectation of

privacy against the government's

right as an employer (as opposed to

the government's right as a law

enforcer) to investigate employee's

misconduct which is DIRECTLY rele—

vant to the employer's performance

of his duties and the government's

performance of its Statutory res-

ponsibilities. (Emphasis added.)

Petitioners' claim that the "three

personal items involving a female

medical resident (Dr. Onne, a. 1) were

removed as relevant to the pending

personnel investigation against the

respondent (Dr. Ortega)" was given te

lie by their own state counsel who

A-26

offered, in defense of incomplete

discovery [11:3/10], that he (Mr. Rubin)

"volunteered to present to Dr. Ortega

some additional materials which have

become relevant, only as a result of the

first hearing, when he handed me some

statement of a former staff member of

the hospital" (Dr. Sutton).

xiv) U.S. v. Kahan, 350 F.Supp. 784

(S.D.N.Y. 1972, rev'd 415 US 239, 94 SCt

11

79), 39 L.Bd.2d 297 (1974):

Even an employee's wastebasket is

protected by the Fourth Amendment if

the "criminal investigator's express

purpose in rummaging through the

wastepaper basket was to obtain

evidence which could be used to

prove the defendant guilty of a

crime". Id. at 791. (Cf. r. 17 and

[11:167/20 - 171/7]-)

5. When a government supervisor

begins an investigation of suspected

criminal activities by an employee

in course of his work, supervisor's

role is no longer that of a manager

of an office, but that of a criminal

investigator for Government, in that

purpose of surveillance is no longer

simply to preserve efficiency in

office but is specifically designed

to prepare a criminal prosecution

A-27

against employee, and, in that case,

Searches and seizures by supervisor

or by other government agents are

governed by Fourth Amendment admo-

nition that a warrant be obtained in

absence of exigent circumstances.

12. Both direct and third party

consent may justify searches which

would otherwise be extremely unrea-

sonable, either because they are

conducted on mere suspicion or less

Or because they are extensive and

exploratory in nature. U.S.C.A.

Const. Amend. 4.

14. The only exception +o the warrant

request should be for searches and

seizures which are reasonable

because they are the result of

exigent circumstances which compel a

government agent to act swiftly and

which makes their application for a

warrant not reasonably practicable.

Petitioners were refused a court order

to take back the computer to the

hospital, but could have obtained a

search warrant for respondent's office,

if they suspected Dr. Ortega of criminal

wrongdoing because he took the computer.

Or they could have asked him for the

training records they claimed they

A-28

wanted to secure against loss. App2i2.

15. Once it is determined that

claimant has been subjected to a

search or seizure which intruded on

privacy which he could reasonably

expect under circumstances, Govern-

ment should be made to prove either

that a valid warrant was obtained

prior thereto or that exigent cir-

cumstances necessitated proceeding

without a warrant. U.S.C.A. Const.

Amend. 4.

16. Government employees have as much

reason as private employees to

expect that their desks and their

wastebaskets will be free from

invasion by criminal investigators

of Government. U.S.C.A. Const.

Amend. 4.

20. Concept of privacy is paramount

in deciding a claimant's standing to

invoke protection of Fourth Amend-

ment.

21. Decisions of Supreme Court that .

° public emplyees are entitled,

like all other persons, to benefit

of the Fifth Amendment privilege

against self-incrimination imply, if

they do not mandate... that a

public employee retains shield of

Fourth Amendment while employed in

government office. U.S.C.A. Const.

Amend. 4,5.

26. When an area in a government

office is reserved for exclusive use

of a particular employee, that

A-29

employee necessarily has a suffi-

cient expectation of privacy in that

area, w.ether it be a desk or waste-

basket, or that third party consent

to a search by a criminal investi-

gator will be ineffective to bar

employee's Fourth Amendment claim in

&@ subsequent prosecution.

30. Where indisputable expectation of

employee was that papers will be

Subsequently disposed of and des-

troyed without prior inspection by

Others, wastebasket was not "aban-

doned by employee when he left his

office .. . so long as he remained

an employee with an assigned desk

under which lay a wastebasket for

his exclusive use and employees had

Standing to challenge legality of

warrantless search made of his

wastebasket by government agent.

31. Warrantless search made by gov-

ernment agent .. . could not be

justified on ground that articles in

basket were thrown away and were

government property. U.S.C.A.

Const. Amend. 4.

32. - « « When there was no special

emergency situation nor any exigent

circumstances .. . Government could

Simply have detained waste basket

before it was emptied so as to

provide enough time to get a

warrant.

33. Right of government employees to

privacy in a limited area of his

office which is devoted to his

A-30

exclusive use must be protected from

intrusions by investigative and

prosecutory arms of Government.

U.S.C.A. Const. Amend. 4.

34. (Above) do not affect ability of

supervisors in government office to

search desk or wastebasket of an

employee for official documents

which are lost, missing, or needed

for business of office...

xv) See v. City of Seattle (1967) 387 U.S.

541: Administrative Law and Procedure:

9.

While demand to inspect may be

issued by administrative agency in

form of subpoena, it may not be made

and enforced by inspector in field

and subpoenaed party may obtain

judicial review of reasonableness of

demand prior to suffering penalties

for refusing to comply.

Basic component of reasonable

search under Fourth Amendment is

that it not be imposed without

suitable warrant procedure.

Unreasonable searches are not

warranted. Reasonable searches need a

warrant.

xvi) New Jersey v. T.L.C.

733.83 L.Ed.2d 720:

6. Determining reasonableness of any

search involves a two-fold inquiry

as to whether action was justified

(1985) 105 S.Ct.

A-31

at its inception and whether search

aS actually conducted was reasonably

related in Scope to circumstances

which justified interference in the

first place.

xvii) U.S.v. Jacobsen (1984) 104 s.ct.

1652, 80 L.Ed.24 85:

4) Letters and other sealed packages

€-8.- locked desk drawers) are in

the general class of effects in

which the public at large has a leg-

itimate expectation of privacy and

warrantless search of such effects

are presumptively unreasonable.

>» Seizure of sealed package may be

° - tO prevent destruction of

contraband, but a warrant must be

Obtained "before examining contents

Of such a package", U.S.C.A. Const.

Amend. 4.

11. It is constitutionally reasonable

for law enforcement Officials to

Seize with © warrant "effects"that

cannot Support a justifiable

expectation of privacy, based on

probable cause to believe they

contain contraband.

xviii) Shaffer v. Pield, 339 F.Supp. 997

(C.D. Cal. 1972), aff'd 484 F.2p 1196

(CA9 1973):

6. Criteria considered in determining

whether warrantless and unconsented

to search of locker of petitioner, a

former deputy Sheriff, was consti-

tutionally justifiable included the

xix)

A-32

nature of the charge against peti-

tioner (murder), the object of the

search (a gun) and whether there ex-

isted any regulation or practice

which should have put petitioner on

reasonable notice that his locker

could have been examined by others

(three times) without his consent.

U.S.C.A. Const. Amend. 4.

Wyman v. Jeames (1971) 400 U.S. 309:

Welfare recipient received notice of

visit several days vefore arrival of

non-uniformed "intruder".

xx)

Oliver v. U.S. (1984) 104 S.Ct. 1735,

80 L.Ed.2d 214:

6.

7.

8.

Open fields (of grain or

marijuana) do not provide’ the

setting for those intimate activi-

ties that the Fourth Amendment is

intended to shelter from government

interference or surveillance.

U.S.C.A. Const. Amend. 4.

. . (B)ecause open fields are ac-

cessible .. . in ways that a home,

office or commercial structure would

not be, asserted expectation of

privacy in open fields is not one

that society recognizes as reason-

able.

Common law imply .. . that only

the land immediately surrounding and

associated with the home warrants

Fourth Amendment protection that

A-43

attaches to the home.

If the hospital is home to the state,

petitioners should have charged Dr.

Ortega with breaking and entering!

xxi) Davis v. Scherer (1984) 104 S.Ct.

3012:

4. Even defendants who violate consti-

tutional rights enjoy qualified immunity

that protects them from liability for

damages uniess it is further demon-

strated that their conduct was. unrea-

sonable under the applicable standard.

42 U.S.C.A. Sec. 1983, U.S.C.A. Const.

Amend. 4.

7) . . « If statute or regulation does

give rise to cause of action for

damages, clear violation of the statute

or regulation forfeits immunity only

with respect to damages cause by that

violation. 42 U.S.C.A. 1983, U.S.C.A.

Const. Amend. 4.

xxii) Parratt v. Taylor (1981) 451 U.S.

527:

2. In any section 1983 action initial

inquiry must focus on whether’ two

essential elements are present:

whether conduct complained of was

conducted by person acting under

color of state law; and whether this

conduct deprived person of rights,

privileges or immunities secured by

Constitution as laws of the United

States. 42 U.S.C.A. Sec. 1983.

A-34

3. Some kind of hearing is required

at some time before state finally

deprives person of his property

interests.

4. Fundamental requirement of due

process is opportunity to be heard,

and it is an opportunity which must

be granted at meaningful time and in

meaningful manner.

Dr. Ortega did not get evon a Skelly

hearing after union withdrew legal

assistance under pressure from chief

petitioner who wac also on state

bargaining team (Cf. Argument "2-h").

(Skelly was a Caucasian who imbibed and

had nad one suspension from the medical

staff of his hospital.)

xxiii) Paul v. Davis (1976) 424 U.S. 693:

3. The procedural questions of the

Fourteenth Amendment apply whenever

the state seeks to remove or

significantly alter interests com-

prehended within meaning of either

"liberty" or "property".

7. While no "right of privacy" is

found in... the Constitution,

"Zone of privacy" may be created by

more specific .. . guarantees and

A-35

thereby impose limits upon govern-

ment power. U.S.C.A. Const. Amend.

1,4,5,9,14.

This is technical base for Argument

Three about the right to be let alone.

xxiv) Perry v. Sindermann (1972) 408 U.S.

593:

6. A persons' interest in a govern-

mental benefit is a "property in-

terest" subject to procedural due

process protection if claim of en-

titlement to the benefit is

Supported by rules of the agency af-

firming the benefit or by mutually

expedient understanding. U.S.C.A.

Const. Amend. 14.

S.P.B. refused to issue any subpoenas.

Xxv) Pickering v. Board of Education

(1968) 391 U.S. 563:

rr Where State Court, in action by

dismissed teacher against board of

education seeking reinstatement, at

no time gave de novo consideration

to statements contained in teacher's

letter, which constituted basis for

teacher's dismissal, Supreme Court

was free to examine evidence in case

completely independently, and to

afford little weight to factual

determination made by board of

education.

S.P.B. decision on March 8, 1981 did

A-36

not have the benefit of finished

transcripts of the hearings, but

rehearing was denied.

xxvi) Carey v. Piphus (1978) 435 U.S. 247:

6. Denial of procedural due process

should be actionable for nominal damages

without proof of actual injury. 42

u.S.C.A- Sec. 1983, y.S.C.A. Const.

Amend. 14.

Historically, damages have been

regarded as the ordinary remedy for an

invasion of personal interests in

liberty.

The cardinal priniciple of damages in

Anglo-American law is that of "COMPEN-

SATION for the injury caused to plain-

tiff by defendant's breach of duty". 2

F. Harper and F. Jones, Law of Torts,

Sec. 25.1, Pp» 1299 (1956) (emphasis in

original).

xxvii) Bivens 7... Biz Unknown Fed.

Narcotics Agents, 403 U.S. 388 (1971):

" | ,. The question then, is . ,

whether compensatory relief is

A-37

"necessary" or "appropriate" to the

vindication of the interest

asserted. ° ° Damages as a

traditional form of compensation for

invasion of a legally protected

interest may be entirely appropriate

ev-n if no substantial deterrent

ef urts in future official lawless-

ness might be thought to result. .

"

xxviii) Mt. Healthy City Board of Ed.

Doyle (1977) 429 U.S. 274:

1) Entitlement to more than $10,000 in

damages confer . . . (federal)

jurisdiction . . . 28 USCA Sec.

1331, USCA 1,14.

xxix) Terry v. Ohio (1968) 392 U.S. 1:

6. - . »« Courts will not be made

party to lawless(ness) .. . by

permitting unhindered governmental

use of fruits (there)of. ..

13) Sedpe of search must be strictly

tied to and justified by circun-

stances which rendered its initia-

tion permissible.

14) . . . (F)acts must be judged

against objective standard of

whether facts available to officer

at moment of seizure or search would

(mean) to man of reason... that

action taken was appropriate.

28. Fourth Amendment proceeds as much

by limitations upon scope of

governmental action as by imposing

Xxx)

2.

5)

6)

A-38

preconditions upon its initiation.

Monroe v. Pape (1961) 365 U.S. 167:

Allegations of facts constituting

a deprivation ‘ ° satisfy

requirements of statute making any

person who, under color of state

statute, ordinance, etc., deprives

any citizen of his constitutional

rights liable to party injured.

U.S.C.A. 4,14,42 U.S.C.A. Sec. 1983.

One reason for passage of federal

statute .. .was to afford a federal

right in federal courts where, be-

cause of passion, prejudice, neg-

lect, intolerance or otherwise,

state laws might not be enforced and

claim of citizen to enjoyment of

rights, privileges, and immunity

guaranteed by the Fourteenth Amend-

ment might be denied by state agen-

cies. 42 U.S.C.A. Const. Amend. 14.

; . . (F)ederal remedy is

supplementary to the state, and

state remedy, if any, need not be

first sought and refused before

federal one is invoked. 42 U.S.C.A.

sec. 1983.

RESPONDENT'S PRECEDENTS IN OPPOSITION:

1)

In U.S. v. Hagarty (7th Cir. 1968)

388 F2d 713, the Court held that the

Fourth Amendment protected conver-

sations ina closed office, because

the Fourth Amendment applies wher-

ever a person conducts activity with

an objectively reasonable expecta-

a

tion of constitutional protection

from search and seizure. The state

had argued (as do California and the

U.S. Departm it of Justice) that:

A-39

"(T)he fourth amendment does not

apply to the search of governmental

premises in the course of an

investigation relating to the con-

duct of governmental business."

The court rejected this argument

and found that the search by the in-

vestigators was "part of an effort

to secure evidence of crime" and was

therefore the kind of search prohi-

bited by the fourth amendment. Td.

at 717. If amateur investigators

can be believed under oath (I1I:168

et. seq.), so was their "adminis-

trative inventory" a search for

forgery!

For the last 17 years since

HAGARTY, there had only been one

case cited by petitioners (PB 11: r.

37-40!) where the state is at risk

A-40

for doing its job of oversight. Can

we really afford to sleep on the job

of schooling our overseers who were

asleep during their elementary

civics class on the Bill of Rights?

P.B. 24.

2) In Mapp v. Ohio (1961) 367 U.S.

643, the United States Supreme Court

held that the purpose of the Fourth

Amendment exclusionary rule was’ to

deter violations of the privacy of

citizens by police officers.

3) In People v. Superior Ct. (Tyler)

(1981) 115 Cal.App.3d 557, 171

Cal.Rptr. 448, the court held that

the defendant had reasonable ex-

pectation of privacy in his suitcase

located in his automobile.

4) In U.S. v. Hitchcock, 467 F.2d

1107, 1108 (9th Cir. 1972), the

Court found that a warrantless

search of a prison cell does not

violate the Fourth Amendment, since

"it is obvious that a jail shares

none of the privacy of a home, an

automobile, AN OFFICE, or a_ hotel

room. In prison, official surveil-

lance has traditionally been the or-

der of the day.

5) In U.S. v. Speights (3rd Cir. 1977)

557 F2d 362, the Court found the

police officer's locked locker at

A-41

headquarters was protected by the

Fourth Amend-=ent from warrantless

search by superiors.

Most of the exceptions to the warrant

requirement involve some sort of exigent

cirounstances such as an immediate

danger to the police officers or to the

community [see, e.g, TERRY v. Ohio

(1968) 392 US 1, 8& SCt 1868, 20 LEd2d

889], or the risk that the evidence

could vanish or be destroyed while a

warrant is being obtained. of.

SCHMERBER v. California (1966) 384 US

757, 86 SCt 1826, 16 LEd2d 908.]

6) In U.S. v. Blok (D.C. Cir. 1951) 188

F2d 1091), the District of Columbia

police had searched her desk without a

warrant for evidence of petty larceny:

"We think appellees exclusive

right to use the desk assigned to

her made the search of it unrea-

sonable. . . Her official super-

visors might reasonably have search-

ed the desk for official property

needed for official use. . . In

absence of a valid regulation to the

contrary, appellee was entitled to,

and did, keep private property of a

7)

8)

A-42

personal sort in her desk. Her

supervisors could not reasonably

search the desk for her purse, her

personal letters, or anything else

that did not belong to the

government and had no connection

with the work of the office. MTheir

consent did not make such a search

by the police reasonable. Operation

of a government agency and enforce-

ment of criminal law do not amal-

gamate to give a right of search be-

yond the scope of either."

In Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S.

(1971) 443, 454-55, 91 SCt 2022, 2031-

32, 2S LED 564), the Supreme Court has

held that warrantless searches

"are per se unreasonable under’ the

fourth amendment -- subject only to

a few specifically established and

well-delineated exceptions".

Screws v. U.S., 325 U.S. 91, 65 S.Ct.

10312 requires a finding of specific

intent in ceder to sustain a conviction

under the cognate penal provisions of 18

U.S.C. Sec 242, 18 U.S.C.A. Sec 242:

"an intent to deprive a person of a

right which has been made specific

either by the express terms of the

Constitution or laws of the United

States or by decisions interpreting

them. 32 U.S. at 104, 65 S.Ct. at

1037.

The word "willfully" in 18 U.S.C. Sec.

242, 12 U.S.C.A. Sec. 242, from which

A-43

the requirement of intent was derived in

SCREWS does not appear in Sec. 1979.

sec. 1979, by the very fact that it is a

civil provision, invites treatment

different from that to be given its

Criminal anaiogue. The constitutional

scruples concerning vagueness which were

deemed to compel the SCREWS constraint

have less force in the context of a

Civil proceeding, and 1979, insofar as

it creates an action for damages, must

be read in light of the familiar basis

of tort liability that a man is

responsible for the natural consequences

of his acts.

The SCREWS opinion itself concedes:

"The fact that the defendant may

not have been thinking in con-

stitutional terms is not material

where their aim is not to enforce

local law but to deprive a citizen

of aright and that right was pro-

tected by the Constitution. 315 U.S.

at 106, 65 S.Ct. at 1037.

A-44

9) Baltimore and Ohio R. Co. v. Groeger,

26 U.S. 521: Civil liability has always

been drawn from such indefinite

standards as reasonable care. a man of

ordinary prudence, forseeability, etc.

10) Bell v. Hand, 327 US. at 84, 66 S.Ct.

at 777:

"(T)t is... well settled that

where legal rights have been

invaded, and a federal statute

provides for a general right to sue

for such an invasion, federal courts

may used ANY available remedy to

make good the wrong done."

(Emphasis added.)

11) Ward v. Strickland, 420 U.S. at 319,

95 S.Ct. at 999:

Damages are available under

Section 1983 for actions "found to

have been violative . . . of

constitutional rights and to have

caused compensable injury.

In deciding on the damages, the

substance of the violation must be

considered:

A: the importance of the particular

interest violated;

B: the extent of deviation from

A-45

lawful conduct;

C: the extent to which the violation

was willful;

E: the extent to which privacy was

invaded; and

F; whether the things seized would

have been discovered.

Although discovery procedures encour-

age "fishing expeditions" that are pro-

hibited by search and seizure laws, Dr.

Sutton's ten-year-old souvenirs would

not have been within reach, whether she

was a former staff member of the hospi-

tal, or a former medical resident under

her married name ten years before.

IN FINE, the constitutional question is

whether (a) an administrative investi-

gation is (b) an invitation to snoop (c)

after sending the peon away (da) from his

associates (e) on "vacation" without pay

in order to (f) look into his private

files (g) for evidence (h) to blackmail

him or his with or (i) dismiss him on

any charge and (j) make him appeal

without hope of redress (k) to exhaust

his savings if he refuses to resign, (1)

harass his supporters with souvenirs and

(m) ruin his rwputation, if (n) they can

but get away with it (05 scot-free.

A-46

OR, whether it is NOT a violation cf a

government employee's civilian (private

or human) rights under the FIRST

(peacably to assemble and petition for

redress), FOURTH (to be secure in their

persons, houses, papers, and effects),

FIFTH (not to be witness against himself

or be deprived of liberty or property

without due process or just compensa-

tion), SIXTH (to a speedy and public

trial and to be confronted with wit-

nesses and to obtain his own), SEVENTH

(to a jury trial according to the rules

of common law), EIGHTH (not to be fined

or punished excessively), NINTH (not to

lose any rights retained by the people),

TENTH (to reserve what rights have been

retained by referendum with the 1972

Amendment to the State Constitution to

guarantee privacy to its people in state

‘ she Atenas

A-47

institutions or at home), and the

FOURTEENTH Amendments (protecting

persons as well as citizens) arbitrarily

to place him on administrative leave in

order to make a secret, if abortive,

inventory of his personal papers and

professional correspondence in a

government office assigned BUT denied to

him while he is undergoing an internal

investigation of his management

| practices and to impound everything in

it during his appeal against dismissal

while denying him the right to subpoena

and confront his accusers or their

Supporters or to testify in a public

hearing so that his testimony will not

be heard and can be shared only between

the hearing officer and Opposing counsel

who added the charge of coercion that

their witnesses denied under oath.

A-45

FROM RECORD OF FEDERAL PROCEEDINGS

Below are what were once designated

for inclusion in the Joint Appendix,

which did not get served in time.

1) Motion for Summary Judgment or Order

Specifying Facts, March 12, 1984;

Statement of Facts in Support, and Memo-

randum of Authorities, March 13, 1984;

and Opposition to Motion for Summary

Judgment, March 26, 1984, in Case No.

82-4045;

2) Appellant's reply brief, January 22,

1985 in Case No. 84-2169, Ortega v.

O'Conor (in addition to Respondent's

Reply to Petition for Certiorari, Case

No. 85-830) ;

3) Excerpts of the rest that was submitted

and cited in Request for Judicial Notice

in present petitioners' Motion for

Summary Judgment to District Court,

March 14, 1984.

A-49

[Below are parts thereof, the rest in

t accompanying Appendix under Rule 30.6.]

Dr. O'CONNOR's Deposition,

Apr. 27, 1983, Page 18:

Q: Now what specifically were

the reasons supporting your

conclusion that you were justified

in putting Dr. Ortega on

administrative leave when you did so

in August of 1981?

A: Specifically they revolved

essentially around concerns of what

my hospital administrator (Mr.

Friday) felt were violations of

contractual procedures, had to do

with the obtaining a computer by

means which seemed to be cloudy at

best, at that time, had to do with

an allegation by one of the doctor's

Supervisees (Dr. Vaughn) that the

residents had [been coerced to

provide donations to purchase a

computer which I thought had been

donated by a company. . .

[Coercion is easily established, but

cannot be proved by paper search, which

makes seizure of all office contents

unwarranted. Dr. Vaughn was never

invited to contribute, and coercion can

be investigated by simply talking to

contributors. After doing so, no charge

A-50

of coercion was included in Notice of

Punitive Action.]

Page 51, Dr. O'CONNOR's deposition:

Q: In other words, that the

State has the authority to go in and

look through all of the person's

belongings to see whether they are

public property or personal pro-

perty; is that what you are saying?

A: Yes.

Q: But in fact, some of the

personal items were used in the

hearing against Dr. Ortega; isn't

that correct?

A: Yes.

Page 60, Dr. O'CONNOR's deposition;

Q: Had this practice of going

into doctors' offices have ever been

done at Napa State Hospital?

A: . I recall an instance in

which we found in an office’ —— Well,

I amnot sure exactly, but there was

an episode where we found in-

formation in an office that led us

to believe that there were reasons

for adverse action.

[After Dr. Ortega was dismissed, a love

letter by a patient to a member of the

nursing staff was used to dismiss him, ]

Q: SO, you have gone into

somebody's office in another oc-

A-51

casion without their permission?

A: I don't recall whether or

not we had the permission. I don't

know if the person was there or not.

This was five or six years ago.

Q: Is it any part of the

hospital's rules, regulations that

an employee cannot have personal

property or belongings in his or her

office.

A: There is no rule against

that.

Page 61, Dr. O'CONNOR's deposition:

Q: Were there any files

relating to private patients that

were discovered in Dr. Ortega's

office so far as you know?

A: I believe there was, yes.

Q: Do you know if anybody

entered or reviewed the contents of

those files?

A: My only recollection of

what it was was some billings or

something like that and we had

wondered whether or not he performed

certain duties of private practice

On State Hospital time, but we did

not pursue that.

Q: You're talking about

(M)edi-(C)al billings?

A: I think so, yes.

Q: Somebody viewed those

files, and whether they constituted

improper billing --

A: We thought there might be

A-52

that Dr. Ortega was using his office

or State time to conduct other than

what his job as Chief of

Professional Education was, but

again, there was no evidence to

pursue that and that was not part of

his punitive action. (Cf. Exx. I

and xxi.)

Q: Did you see the contents of

these particular patients relating

to the outside?

A: I vaguely recall seeing a

bill regarding something (M)edi-

(C)al, but I didn't pursue it.

Q: Do you know if anybody did

pursue it?

A: I don't think so, not to my

knowledge ..

Page 73, Dr. O'CONNOR's deposition:

Q: What's the answer to the

question, though? Is it the

contention of the hospital that the

State or the hospital has the right

to review and look at any employee's

personal property which is not State

property without that employee's

permission?

A: Well, it would be my

position basically that under

certain circumstances, the State

would have the right to enter a

State office and to make a

determination as to what is State

and what is not the State's. In

fact, that's what happened in this

case,

A-53

[Thus, the investigation was only the

cover for the resolve to get rid of Dr.

Ortega and all his belongings as soon as

possible, even pack them for him. ]

Mr. FRIDAY's Deposition,

June 28, 1983, Page 40:

Q: In other words, the

practice, what we've just been

talking about, is there any other

Such practice that's been employed

in State hospitals in California?

A: To what?

Q: To have management enter an

employee's room without their

permiss

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.