Amicus Curiae Brief — Metropolitan Life Insurance v. Massachusetts
Supreme Court brief1984
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
Nos. 84-325 and 84-356
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
OcTOBER TERM, 1984
METROPOLITAN LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY,
Appellant,
V.
,
COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS,
Appellee.
THE TRAVELERS INSURANCE COMPANY,
Appellant,
v.
COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS,
Appellee.
On Appeal From The Supreme Judicial Court
For The Commonwealth Of Massachusetts
BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF
THE ERISA INDUSTRY COMMITTEE
IN SUPPORT OF APPELLANTS
JOHN M. VINE
(Counsel of Record)
ARVID E. ROACH II
Covington & Burling
1201 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
P.O. Box 7566
Washington, D.C. 20044
(202) 662-6000
Attorneys for
The ERISA Industry Committee
December 20, 1984
TABLE OF CONTENTS
THE INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE...............
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ....000.o. occ ccceeecseeseeeeeenees
I. SECTION 47B IS PRE-EMPTED BY ERISA......
II. SECTION 47B, AS APPLIED TO COLLEC-
TIVELY-BARGAINED EMPLOYEE BENEFIT
PLANS, IS PRE-EMPTED BY THE NLRA........
FS RII OS ons... consetnnntotesesintimniemsnnpeppnnscoesbimiianimnentenees
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES
Alessi vy. Raybestos-Manhattan, Inc., 451 U.S. 504
ail ada os rene ereerepeneenigmiemmesnmanceseeees
Allied Chemical & Alkali Workers v. Pittsburgh Plate
I a, ) een
Attorney General v. Travelers Insurance Co., 385 Mass.
598, 433 N.E.2d 1223, App. 13a (1982), vacated &
remanded, 103 S. Ct. 3563, App. 10a (1983), on
remand, 39\ Mass. 730, 463 N.E.2d 548, App. la,
prob. juris. noted, 105 S. Ct. 320 (1984) ........cccccceeeeees
Azzaro v. Harnett, 414 F. Supp. 473 (S.D.N.Y. 1976),
aff'd mem., 553 F.2d 93 (2d Cir. ), cert. denied, 434
U.S. 824 ( 1977) eI aed ereenaneennnaners
Bell v. Employee Security Benefit Association, 437 F.
i Te © sccrssscaresemnivecssnsisteennmeesseeseoees
Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Alabama v. Peacock’s
Apothecary, Inc., 567 F. Supp. 1258 (N.D. Ala.
Rene EE
Chapman v. Houston Welfare Rights Organization, 441
STITT shea csinentiencnaueuennniemepemsenceneqneneenenerecvecce
Connell Construction Co. v. Plumbers & Steamfitters
Local Union No. 100, 421 U.S. 616 (1975) 0.0.0...
Dickerson v. New Banner Institute, Inc., 460 U.S. 103
DS Sa
Franchise Tax Board vy. Construction Laborers Vacation
i sesnnnsbnnonoosocoes
General Split Corp. v. Mitchell, 523 F. Supp. 427 (E.D.
Titanate harhirincaesaneuiasenanpnnenscumaenennweseesnesecsetece
Group Life & Health Insurance Co. v. Royal Drug Co.,
ee
Hamberlin v. VIP Insurance Trust, 434 F. Supp. 1196
Ti isettinineicinepagiseenmapenmenmenaversnnevecvecoces
Health Care Plan of New Jersey, Inc. v. Schweiker, 553
F. Supp. 440 (D.N.J. 1982), aff'd mem., 707 F.2d
1391 (3d Cir. ), cert. denied, 1048. Ct. 71 (1983) .......
Page
8,9, 1 l,
14-16
15
passim
12
14
18
ll
16
11
i2
11
17
14
Page
Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Barnes, 425 F. Supp. 1294
(N.D. Cal. 1977), aff'd, 571 F.2d 502 (9th Cir. ),
CAE, GE, Ge Ws 8 0 BFE cecescevcccccsccevecccccesesesees 11
Local 24, International Brotherhood of Teamsters v.
Re a I I icictitsnciuiinissecionnsiieneinenseinie 6,15-18
Malone v. White Motor Corp., 435 U.S. 497 (1978)........ 16
Maryland Casualty Co. v. Cushing, 347 U.S. 409
ESE TET RE Hina Be ene One RRC. tS Senn IE SORES ae 17
Michigan United Food & Commercial Workers Fund v.
Baerwaldt, 572 F. Supp. 943 (E.D. Mich. 1983),
appeal docketed, No. 83-1570 (6th Cir. Aug. 16,
ER SAT aCe SNe ae RE ae Nee oe eR 14
New York Telephone Co. v. New York State Department
OF Be Be i Be 0 FFE Pecccerccscscnecseseccccentenscescovens 16
St. Paul Electrical Workers Welfare Fund v. Markman,
490 F. Supp. 931 (D. Minn. 1980) 2000.0... eeeeeeeeees 11
SEC v. National Securities, Inc., 393 U.S. 453 (1969) ... 11,17
SEC v. Variable Annuity Life Insurance Co., 359 U.S.
ae tasted ceasibaitdeisemninnennnncenndeniniatntisiniintenabimeaitenwenite 12,13,17
Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 103 S. Ct. 2890 (1983)... 9-12.14
Sorrells vy. United States, 287 U.S. 435 (1932) wc... aD 12
Standard Oil Co. v. Agsalud, 442 F. Supp. 695 (N.D.
Cal. 1977), aff'd, 633 F.2d 760 (9th Cir. 1980), aff'd
a i seeusons 11
Stone & Webster Engineering Corp. v. Ilsley, 518 F.
Supp. 1297 (D. Conn. 1981), aff'd, 690 F.2d 323 (2d
Cir. 1982), aff'd mem., 103 S. Ct. 3564 (1983) 0.0.0.0... 11
Union Labor Life Insurance Co. v. Pireno, 458 U.S. 119
| __RRRESLUORE HAT iinet IEEE Rene Onn Ov nO eee nt Oe 17
United States vy. American Trucking Associations, Inc.,
I si 12
United States v. Turkette, 452 U.S. 576 (1981) .......000..... 12
Wadsworth v. Whaland, 562 F.2d 70 (Ist Cir. 1977),
cert. denied, 435 U.S. 980 (1978) wo... eee eeeeeeeeee 13
STATUTES AND LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS
Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974,
Pub. L. No. 93-406, 88 Stat. 829 (1974), 29 U.S.C.
I a adi ain eta anieintennnetndainies passim
Pe Oe Si Ps) PUIIIE © D ecccnsccccccsccescicnenessetoncsntee 2,13
iv
Page
Fee eis Oe ID setcitccirtnivnnitepecuecensenniens 7
§ 514(b)(2)(A), 29 U.S.C. § 1144(b)(2)(A) ....... 7
§ 514(b)(2)(B), 29 U.S.C. § 1144(b)(2)(B)........ 7
§ 514(c)(2), 29 U.S.C. § 1144(c)(2) we 13
Health Maintenance Organization Act of 1973, Pub. L.
No. 93-122, § 2, 87 Stat. 931 (1973), 42 U.S.C.
Teaser atdciackhiiha aelnadeaes icin ahem ensantinshabaniideneianibinn 12
TE EF ane ee passim
McCarran-Ferguson Act, ch. 20, 59 Stat. 33 (1945), 15
5 | dl SSN SAD a eee ea nee STD 13,16,17
iy eis Te ENE OP ccdeccccectcncicnsestensionssacsscse 16
As I Tt TTI coach cath ednsetnenneclasenneninninisanie 17
National Labor Relations Act, ch. 372, 49 Stat. 449
CO ie Be is Ue a PII cciccnstntccesnscnsccensicasesien 2,6,15-18
ACTIVITY REPORT OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON EDUCA-
TION AND Lasor, H.R. Rep. No. 1785, 94th Cong.,
A ee ee ttn idaniiiniicnniitsibdiinindidmnnsdinidtetnnees 14
Mass. GEN. Court, Jt. COMM. ON INSURANCE, AD-
VANCES IN HEALTH INSURANCE IN MASSACHUSETTS
i TIE A cciicencisciapenatsil ladiidininseiabeiadantibmaciedésbihasaieabinibaduabentiniibieese 7
120 Conc. Rec. 29197, 29933, 29942 (1974) (remarks
of Rep. Dent, Sen. Williams and Sen. Javits) .............. 14
OTHER
HEALTH INSURANCE ASSOCIATION OF AMERICA, SOURCE
Book OF HEALTH INSURANCE Data, 1982-1983
i PUTT es isscidebdncesbentsiaadeniicneiiiansigdenieiaiadnadbadasndaiaieiiiaieiademenete 4
Hirsch, Toward a New View of Federal Preemption, 1972
aps Tic: GASES ecinnicinctinietindiieebhbdinaatiaiadlebddntlesiediinmnieiiadinneesne 13
Hutchinson & Ifshin, Federal Preemption of State Law
Under the Employee Retirement Income Security Act
of 1974, 46 U. Cui. L. REV. 23 (1978) .0...... eee 14,18
U.S. DEPARTMENT OF LABOR, BUREAU OF LABOR STATIS-
TICS, EMPLOYEE BENEFITS IN MEDIUM AND LARGE
pk 8 eee ee ene 3
U.S. DEPARTMENT OF LABOR, LABOR-MANAGEMENT SER-
VICES ADMINISTRATION, GROUP HEALTH INSURANCE
COVERAGE OF PRIVATE FULL-TIME WAGE AND Sa-
I PE, POE OB UIIS BP ccncccccenccectessectvcnecetuccvnsetasse 4
is ET ccrttirertireemimnmiaiinneings 2
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
OcTOBER TERM, 1984
Nos. 84-325 and 84-356
METROPOLITAN LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY,
Appellant,
Vv.
COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS,
Appellee.
THE TRAVELERS INSURANCE COMPANY,
Appellant,
Vv.
COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS,
Appellee.
On Appeal From The Supreme Judicial Court
For The Commonwealth Of Massachusetts
BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF
THE ERISA INDUSTRY COMMITTEE
IN SUPPORT OF APPELLANTS
The issue presented in this case is whether state legislatures
are free, in the guise of “insurance regulation,” to dictate the
benefits that must be provided by insured employee benefit
plans. This is an issue of paramount significance to the
employees and employers of this Nation.
2
The decision below holds that a Massachusetts statute
requiring particular mental health benefits to be included in all
health insurance policies covering state residents—a statute
expressly designed to prescribe the benefits to be provided by
all employee health benefit plans in Massachusetts—is not pre-
empted by the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of
1974 (“ERISA”) or the National Labor Relations Act
(“NLRA”). This result defeats a central purpose of ERISA
and the NLRA—to reserve the regulation of employee benefit
plans exclusively to federal law.
Unless reversed, the decision of the Massachusetts Su-
preme Judicial Court threatens to force employers either to
assume the great burden and expense of conforming their
insured employee benefit plans to ever-changing laws of fifty
different states, or to abandon insured employee benefit plans
altogether. Because of these grave consequences, the ERISA
Industry Committee submits this amicus curiae brief urging
reversal of the decision below. All parties have consented to
the filing of this brief.
THE INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE
The ERISA Industry Committee (“ERIC”) is a nonprofit
association of over one hundred major corporations doing
business in a wide variety of American industries. A list of
ERIC’s members is set forth in the Appendix hereto. Through
ERIC, member companies express their views to the courts, the
Congress and the Executive Branch on issues affecting private
pension and welfare plans.
ERIC represents a broad cross-section of firms maintaining
health benefit plans and other welfare plans for their employ-
ees.1 ERIC members’ welfare plans cover tens of millions of
beneficiaries. Some of these plans are collectively-bargained,
while others cover non-union employees.
1“Welfare plans” are employee benefit plans that provide non-pension
benefits, such as health, accident or supplemental unemployment benefits.
ERISA § 3(1), 29 U.S.C. § 1002(1); 29 C.F.R. § 2510.3-1.
3
All of the members of ERIC do business in more than one
state, and a number have employees in all fifty states. Transfers
- of employees from one state to another are common. Many of
the welfare plans of ERIC’s members provide uniform benefits
in all states where beneficiaries are located. Such nationwide
benefit uniformity is important to employee morale and yields
significant savings in administrative expenses.
Most of the welfare plans of ERIC’s members are insured
plans—that is, they provide benefits through the purchase of
group insurance policies covering their beneficiaries. Under an
insured plan, the employer pays a premium to the insurance
company, and the insurance company generally assumes the
risk as to the actual level of benefits that will be payable during
the term of the policy.2
Some ERIC members maintain non-insured plans. Under
these plans, the cost of benefits is the direct responsibility of the
employer, who is sometimes referred to as a “‘self-insurer.” As
a rule, “self-insurance” is an economically feasible alternative
to purchasing insurance from an insurance company only where
a plan is large enough to allow the risk to be spread over a large
population. While self-insurance has been growing, insured
welfare plans remain much more common. For example,
among medium and large firms nationwide, insured health
plans covered about four times as many individuals as self-
insured plans in 1982. U.S. DEPARTMENT OF LABOR, BUREAU OF
LABOR STATISTICS, EMPLOYEE BENEFITS IN MEDIUM AND LARGE
FIRMS, 1982, at 36 (1983).
2 Some insurance policies, particularly for large plans, are “experience
rated,” which means that the premium is based on the actual claims
experience under the policy. Generally, under such policies, if the plan has a
surplus in a particular year ( premiums exceed claims and expenses ), the plan
receives a refund or credit of some portion of the premiums, while if the plan
incurs a deficit (claims and expenses exceed premiums), the employer can
choose between not renewing the policy, in which case the insurance company
absorbs the deficit, or renewing the policy and paying some or all of the
deficit over a period of time. Under experience-rated policies of this kind,
risks are not borne entirely by the insurance company, but rather are shared
by the insurance company and the employer.
4
Whether state governments can dictate the benefits of
insured welfare plans is a question of great importance to
ERIC’s members and their employees. Welfare-plan benefits
are a major issue in collective bargaining negotiations and a
major element in the compensation of non-union employees.
The companies participating in ERIC spend hundreds of
millions of dollars each year on insurance premiums and
administrative expenses for insured welfare plans.? Laws in-
creasing the costs of insured welfare plans can have a substan-
tial economic impact on a business.
If the states are permitted to enforce a crazy quilt of
mandatory-benefit laws against insured welfare plans, employ-
ees and employers alike will suffer. Companies that wish to
maintain insured plans will be forced ei:her (a) to adopt all-
encompassing benefit packages that satisfy the laws of every
state, which will greatly increase welfare-benefit costs and force
curtailment of other elements of compensation, or (b) to
provide a variety of different benefits on a state-by-state basis,
which will impose costly administrative burdens and cause
dissatisfaction and confusion among employees. Free give-and-
take in collective bargaining over the compensation of union
employees will be supplanted by state prescription of a key
element of compensation, as will employers’ ability to offer
their non-union employees attractive pay and benefit packages
at acceptable cost. Employees will be forced to accept benefits
they would not have chosen themselves, and to sacrifice
benefits they would have preferred. The only remaining
alternative for employers with insured plans will be to abandon
their insured plans altogether and shoulder the risks and costs
of “self-insurance”—risks and costs they decided not to incur
when they established insured plans.
3 Nationally, health insurance premiums totalled $85 billion in 1981,
most of which was paid by employers. HEALTH INSURANCE ASSOCIATION OF
AMERICA, SOURCE BOOK OF HEALTH INSURANCE Data, 1982-1983, at 6
(1982). Some three-fourths of the full-time employees of private firms are
covered by health plans. U.S. DEPARTMENT OF LaBor, LABOR-MANAGEMENT
SERVICES ADMINISTRATION, GROUP HEALTH INSURANCE COVERAGE OF PRI-
VATE FULL-TIME WAGE AND SALARY WorkKERS, 1979, at 15 (1981).
tn ical
5
In sum, if the decision below is not reversed, both employ-
ees and employers will be prevented from achieving the best
possible benefits at the most reasonable cost. The result will be
that fundamental policies of ERISA—national uniformity in
benefit-plan regulation and the growth and soundness of
employee benefit plans—will be frustrated. The ,NLRA’s
policy of leaving the basic terms and conditions of employment
of unionized employees to private collective bargaining also
will be defeated. ERIC’s members and their employees have a
vital interest in the vindication of these important Congression-
al policies.
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
Massachusetts’ mandated benefit statute is pre-empted by
both ERISA and the NLRA.
The Massachusetts statute is pre-empted by ERISA be-
Cause it was direcied at employee benefit plans, not at insur-
ance. ERISA’s broad pre-emption provision supersedes all
state laws relating to employee benefit plans. Uniform inter-
state employee benefit plans, which were the objective of
ERISA’s pre-emption provision, cannot flourish in an environ-
ment of varied and conflicting state regulations.
ERISA’s insurance savings clause, which excepts laws that
“regulate insurance” from pre-emption, does not apply to the
Massachusetts statute. The Massachusetts court’s literalistic
reading of this clause to exempt from pre-emption any state law
touching in any way on insurance would ailow a narrow
exception to consume the general rule; it would permit states to
regulate employee benefit plans without any limitation, merely
by adopting statutes that take the form of “insurance” laws.
The insurance savings clause must instead be read in a fashion
that harmonizes ERISA’s primary purpose of barring piecemeal
state regulation of employee benefit plans with ERISA’s addi-
tional objective of preserving state insurance regulations that
have secondary effects on employee benefit plans. The proper
standard is one based on whether, taking account of its purpose
and effect, the state law is primarily directed at employee
6
benefit plans or insurance. Since the Massachusetts statute was
indisputably directed at regulating employee benefit plans and
not at regulating the insurance industry, it is pre-empted by
ERISA.
To the extent it applies to collectively-bargained employee
benefit plans, the Massachusetts statute also is pre-empted by
the NLRA. A state mandated benefit law that purports to
override private union-management agreements concerning
mandatory subjects of bargaining is pre-empted under Local
24, International Brotherhood of Teamsters v. Oliver, 358 U.S.
283 (1959). No exception to the Oliver pre-emption doctrine
applies to such a statute. This Court has never determined
whether there is a “health and safety” exception to the Oliver
pre-emption doctrine, but even if some such exception exists it
cannot possibly extend so far as to permit the states to supplant
private bargaining over fundamental elements of com-
pensation. The exception to Oliver pre-emption for matters that
Congress has expressly committed to the states also does not
apply to state mandated benefit laws, for the McCarran-
Ferguson Act did not confer upon the states the power to
prescribe employee benefit levels; moreover, ERISA’s objective
of uniformity in interstate benefit plans is inconsistent with such
state legislation.
ARGUMENT
Section 47B of Chapter 175 of the Massachusetts General
Laws requires that insurance policies providing hospital and
surgical benefits for state residents also provide specified mental
health benefits.4 Section 47B requires that these same benefits
be provided by “any employees’ health and welfare fund which
provides hospital expense and surgical expense benefits” in the
state.
Thus, Section 47B mandates health benefits for all em-
ployee benefit plans—both insured and non-insured plans. That
this was the express purpose of Section 47B is confirmed by the
4These include payment for sixty days’ hospitalization in a mental
hospital, benefits for hospitalization in a general hospital for mental or
nervous conditions that are equal to the benefits provided for other illnesses,
and $500 per year for certain out-patient mental health benefits.
7
available legislative material: the explanatory report of the joint
committee that originated the bill makes clear that the com-
mittee’s objective was to furnish mental health benefits for
employees. Mass. GEN. Court, Jt. COMM. ON INSURANCE,
ADVANCES IN HEALTH INSURANCE IN MASSACHUSETTS | (statute
aimed at “the working person”), 3 (statute directed at “work-
ers”), 4 (discussing employee group insurance policies)
(1974).
The goal—and the effect—of Section 47B was to govern
employee benefit plans. Section 47B was not a statute aimed at
governing insurance companies, with only incidental or secon-
dary effects on employee benefit plans. To the contrary, the
Massachusetts legislature set out to regulate employee benefit
plans and did so in unambiguous terms, addressing insurance
simply as one step to that objective.
I. SECTION 47B IS PRE-EMPTED BY ERISA
ERISA pre-empts all state laws insofar as they “relate
to any employee benef. plan.” ERISA § 514(a), 29 U.S.C.
§ 1144(a). Exempted from this pre-emption, however, is any
state law “which regulates insurance.” Jd. § 514(b)(2)(A), 29
U.S.C. § 1144(b)(2)(A). (This is often referred to as the
“insurance savings clause.”) ERISA also provides that, in
applying the insurance savings clause, an employee benefit plan
shall not “be deemed to be an insurance company or other
insurer . . . or to be engaged in the business of insurance . . . for
purposes of any law of any State purporting to regulate
insurance companies [or] insurance contracts.” Jd.
§ 514(b)(2)(B), 29 U.S.C. § 1144(b)(2)(B). (This is often
referred to as the “deemer clause.”’)
The question confronting the Massachusetts Supreme Judi-
cial Court in this case was whether Section 47B was (a) exempt
from pre-emption as a law “which regulates insurance” within
the meaning of ERISA’s insurance savings clause, or (b) pre-
empted by ERISA’s basic pre-emption provision, particularly
when that provision is read in conjunction with the expression
of Congressional intent in the deemer clause to prevent state
insurance laws from being used as a pretext for state regulation
of employee benefit plans.
8
The Massachusetts court answered this question
twice—once in 1982, and then again in 1984 after a remand
from this Court. In its initial decision, the court began its
analysis by artificially bifurcating Section 47B. The Com-
monwealth had conceded that insofar as the statute required
specified benefits to be provided by non-insured employee
benefit plans, it was pre-empted by ERISA. The court con-
cluded that this aspect of the statute was severable, as a matter
of general state-law severability doctrine, from the clause
addressing insurance policies, and thus proceeded to review
Section 47B as if it had been enacted solely as a law concerning
insurance. Attorney General v. Travelers Insurance Co., 385
Mass. 598, 601, 433 N.E.2d 1223, 1225, App. 13a, 15a-l6a
(1982), vacated & remanded, 103 S. Ct. 3563, App. 10a
(1983), on remand, 391 Mass. 730, 463 N.E.2d 548, App. la,
prob. juris. noted, 105 S. Ct. 320 ( 1984).
The court recognized that a literal reading of ERISA’s
insurance savings clause, exempting any state law bearing the
label “insurance” from federal pre-emption, was untenable, as
this would give the states virtually unlimited rein to govern
employee benefit plans under the pretext of insurance regu-
lation. As the court put it, this construction “might permit the
State, through its insurance laws, to reach far into areas
governed by ERISA, and thereby negate the unmistakable
intent of Congress to work a broad preemption.” Id. at 606, 433
N.E.2d at 1228, App. at 21a.
The court was thus faced with the task of drawing a line
between non-pre-empted state insurance laws and those state
laws that, while dealing in some way with insurance, are pre-
empted. The court decided that the correct basis for distinction
was whether the state statute was in “clear conflict” with
affirmative regulatory provisions of ERISA. Jd. The court
thought it could discern in this Court’s decision in Alessi v.
Raybestos-Manhattan, Inc., 451 U.S. 504 (1981), intimations
that ERISA’s pre-emption was aimed solely at state laws that
“affected a subject covered by ERISA,” and that pre-emption
should therefore be found only where a state law conflicted
directly with substantive provisions of ERISA. 385 Mass. at
9
608, 433 N.E.2d at 1229, App. at 23a. Applying this standard,
the court concluded that Section 47B was not pre-empted
because ERISA’s affirmative regulation of welfare plans is
limited to reporting, disclosure, fiduciary conduct and plan
administration, and because ERISA, in contrast to Section 47B,
does not prescribe the “substantive content of plans.” Jd. The
court rejected the idea that ERISA was also actuated by
fundamental policies of encouraging private initiative in struc-
turing healthy, growing, broad-based employee benefit plans
and allowing plan sponsors to enjoy a climate conducive to
nationwide plan uniformity without interference from conflict-
ing state laws. Id.
On appeal, 103 S. Ct. 3563, App. 10a (1983), this Court
vacated and remanded for further consideration in light of
Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 103 S. Ct. 2890 (1983). The
opinion in Shaw stressed that the exceptions from pre-emption
in ERISA are “narrow.” Jd. at 2902, 2903. The decision in
Shaw also completely undermined both the Massachusetts
Supreme Judicial Court’s conflict-based notion of ERISA pre-
emption and the Massachusetts court’s rejection of private
initiative and uniformity as fundamental goals of ERISA.
Shaw held that ERISA pre-empted a New York anti-
discrimination law and a New York law requiring that sick-
leave benefits be paid to employees unable to work because of
pregnancy. The Court specifically noted that ERISA “does not
mandate that employers provide any particular benefits, and
does not itself proscribe discrimination in the provision of
employee benefits.” Jd. at 2897. Nonetheless, the Court found
the New York statutes pre-empted by ERISA’s broad pre-
emption of any state law that “relates to” employee benefit
plans—thus rejecting the notion of the Massachusetts court in
this case that conflict with affirmative provisions of ERISA is
the necessary predicate for pre-emption.
Further, Shaw cited Alessi for the proposition that ERISA,
in “establishing benefit plan regulation ‘as exclusively a federal
concern,’”’ was aimed at minimizing “the need for interstate
employers to administer their plans differently in each State in
which they have employees.” Jd. at 2904 (quoting Alessi, 451
U.S. at 523). Shaw pointed out that allowing “varied and
10
perhaps conflicting” state laws to be enforced against employee
benefit plans would undercut employers’ freedom to administer
efficient, uniform employee benefit plans and would leave
employers with a series of unattractive options. Among these
options would be setting up different plans in each state—with
“the inefficiency of such a system presumably... paid for by
lowering benefit levels” —and adopting uniform plans that met
the requirements of all states—which would require the em-
ployer to “reduce wages or eliminate those benefits not required
by any State” in order to “offset the additional expenses.” Jd. at
2904 n.25. These very same adverse consequences are the
inevitable result of the Massachusetts court’s decision in this
case.
On remand, however, despite the clear rejection in Shaw of
the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court’s earlier reasoning,
that court refused to alter its decision. Shaw’s repeated
characterization of ERISA’s pre-emption exceptions as “nar-
row” was dismissed as “dictum,” and the Supreme Judicial
Court instead insisted on its own view of the insurance savings
clause as “broad.” 391 Mass. at 733-35, 463 N.E.2d at 550-51,
App. at 4a-6a. The court acknowledged that Shaw “rejected a
conflict-based analysis” of ERISA’s general pre-emption provi-
sion, but nonetheless reaffirmed (though did not rely upon)
its own conflict-based theory of ERISA’s .insurance savings
clause. Jd. at 734, 463 N.E.2d at S551, App. at Sa. Finally,
while conceding that it was required to “accept as author-
itative” this Court’s conclusion in Shaw that ERISA was
intended to foster private initiative and uniformity in benefit
plans, the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court reversed
course and treated these policies as irrelevant. Jd. at 734, 463
N.E.2d at 551, App. at 6a. While in its earlier decision the
court had recognized that ERISA’s insurance savings clause
cannot be applied literally, and had sought to interpret the
clause based on the court’s views of the policies animating
ERISA, now, faced with an authoritative Supreme Court
decision rejecting its notions of Congress’ intent, the Massachu-
setts court set aside intent and reaffirmed its prior decision
based simply on the “language” of the insurance savings clause
—language the court had previously recognized to be the
11
beginning, not the end, of the analysis. Jd. at 735, 463 N.E.2d
at 551, App. at 6a.
The court below erred in finding that Section 47B is not
pre-empted by ERISA. The Massachusetts court’s original
“conflict-based” approach to the insurance savings clause was
clearly discredited by Shaw, and was effectively abandoned on
remand. But the Court’s ultimate literalist reading of the
clause—a reading that the court itself had initially described as
converting a limited exception into a limitless loophole—is
equally untenable.
The Massachusetts court’s literalist construction of the
insurance savings clause allows basic policies behind ERISA to
be defeated by statutes that are labelled “insurance regulation”
but are actually aimed at governing employee benefit plans.
This cannot be permitted, for, as this Court said in Alessi,
“EERISA’s authors clearly meant to preclude the States from
avoiding through form the substance of the pre-emption provi-
sion.” 451 U.S. at 525; see also SEC v. National Securities, Inc.,
393 U.S. 453, 460 (1969).5 The words of a Congressional
statute must be interpreted “ ‘in light of the purposes Congress
sought to serve.’ ”’ Dickerson v. New Banner Institute, Inc., 460
U.S. 103, 118 (1983) (quoting Chapman v. Houston Welfare
5 Contrast, for example, this case with Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Barnes,
425 F. Supp. 1294 (N.D. Cal. 1977), aff'd, 571 F.2d 502 (9th Cir.), cert.
denied, 439 U.S. 831 (1978); Standard Oil Co. v. Agsalud, 442 F. Supp. 695
(N.D. Cal. 1977), aff'd, 633 F.2d 760 (9th Cir. 1980), aff'd mem., 454 U.S.
801 (1981); St. Paul Electrical Workers Welfare Fund v. Markman, 490 F.
Supp. 93! (D. Minn. 1980); Stone & Webster Engineering Corp. v. Iisley, 518
F. Supp. 1297 (D. Conn. 1981), aff'd, 690 F.2d 323 (2d Cir. 1982), aff'd
mem., 103 S. Ct. 3564 (1983); and General Split Corp. v. Mitchell, 523 F.
Supp. 427 (E.D. Wis. 1981), decisions that held that ERISA’s pre-emption
provision barred California, Hawaii, Minnesota, Connecticut and Wisconsin
statutes that dictated various aspects of the health benefit coverage to be
provided by employee benefit pians in each state. If the decision below were
correct, these states could have circumvented the decisions in these cases
simply by rewriting their statutes in the form of “insurance regulation.”
12
Rights Organization, 441 U.S. 600, 608 (1979)) (cited in Shaw,
103 S. Ct. at 2900).6 Congress’ purpose in Section 514 of
ERISA was to make certain that the only laws that would
govern employee benefit plans would be federal laws. Con-
gress thereby sought to promote uniformity in the terms of
those plans and to foster their growth through private initiative,
unfettered by restrictive or conflicting state regulations. Shaw,
103 S. Ct. at 2904. To be certain to achieve this purpose,
Congress adopted a pre-emption provision “virtually unique” in
its breadth (Franchise Tax Board v. Construction Laborers
Vacation Trust, 103 S. Ct. 2841, 2854 n.26 (1983) )—a provi-
sion pre-empting any state law that would even “relate to”
employee benefit plans.
It was in this context that Congress made a “narrow”
exception (Shaw, 103 S. Ct. 2902, 2903) for any state law
“which regulates insurance.” Perhaps in some other context it
might be linguistically permissible to describe any law dealing
in any way with insurance as a law “which regulates insur-
ance.” But in this context, reading the statutory language “in
light of the purposes Congress sought to serve,” such an
interpretation is mot permissible. Such a construction would
allow a state law whose primary object is to govern employee
benefit plans to prevail over Congress’ central purpose of
reserving the governance of such plans to federal law. This
would give the states unlimited power to regulate insured
6 See also Azzaro v. Harnett, 414 F. Supp. 473 (S.D.N.Y. 1976), aff'd
mem., 553 F.2d 93 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 824 (1977) (in light of
Congress’ broad pre-emptive purpose in enacting ERISA § 514, exception in
subsection (b)(1) for “any cause of action which arose, or any act or
omission which occurred, before January |, 1975” cannot be construed as
leaving states with ongoing power to investigate present benefit status of
persons whose benefits accrued before January |, 1975); Health Care Plan of
New Jersey, Inc. v. Schweiker, 553 F. Supp. 440, 444-47 (D.N.J. 1982), aff'd
mem., 707 F.2d 1391 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 104 S. Ct. 71 (1983) (analyzing
pre-emption under Health Maintenance Organization Act of 1973, 42 U.S.C.
§ 300e-10, in terms of Congressional purposes ); SEC v. Variable Annuity Life
Ins. Co., 359 U.S. 65, 80 (1959) (Brennan, J., concurring); United States v.
American Trucking Ass’ns, Inc., 310 U.S. 534, 543 (1940); United States v.
Turkette, 452 U.S. 576, 580 (1981); Sorrells v. United States, 287 U.S. 435,
450 (1932).
- eee ee ww
13
employee benefit plans, even though ERISA specifically recog-
nizes the primary role played by insured plans by defining
“employee welfare benefit plan” as one that provides benefits
“through the purchase of insurance or otherwise.” ERISA
§ 3(1), 29 U.S.C. § 1002(1). Thus, here, as is often true of pre-
emption savings clauses, “a literal application of the clause
would not serve the statutory purpose.” Hirsch, Toward a New
View of Federal Preemption, 1972 U. Itt. L.F. 515, 540-41.
An appropriate interpretation of the insurance savings
clause must recognize that Congress meant to leave traditional
insurance regulation to the states—regulation, for example, of
capitalization, fiduciary and investment standards, the form of
policies and sales practices—but not to leave the states free to
adopt laws formally classified as insurance laws yet having the
primary purpose and effect of governing employee benefit
plans. Construing the insurance savings clause in this way
clearly requires pre-emption of the present statute—which was
directly and explicitly aimed at employee benefit plans 7— while
leaving the states free to enact insurance laws with secondary or
incidental effects on employee benefit plans.®
Under a proper reading of Section 514 of ERISA, if a state
Statute in some way concerns insurance and also “relates to”
employee benefit plans, the pre-emption analysis must turn on
the statute’s overall object, considered in light of its purpose
7 ERISA’s pre-emption provisions are directed at state laws that regulate
“the terms and conditions of employee benefit plans.” ERISA § 514(c)(2),
29 U.S.C. § 1144(c)(2). This is exactly the intent and result of Section 47B.
The Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court’s bifurcation of the statute dis-
regarded this fact, and failed to come to grips with the federal-/aw statutory
interpretation question—independent of any state-law severability issue—of
whether, in light of its purpose and effect, Section 47B can be considered a
law “which regulates insurance” within the meaning of ERISA’s insurance
savings clause. Cf. SEC v. Variable Annuity Life Ins. Co., 359 U.S. 65 (1959)
(variable annuity contracts are not “insurance” within the meaning of the
McCarran-Ferguson Act and other federal statutes, despite their treatment as
“insurance” in the insurance statutes of several states ).
8 Thus, contrary to the assertion in Wadsworth v. Whaland, 562 F.2d 70,
78 (Ist Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 435 U.S. 980 (1978), a proper interpretation
of the insurance savings clause does not “emasculate” the clause; it prevents
the savings clause from emasculating ERISA’s basic pre-emption provision.
14
and effect. Pre-emption should be found where the statute is
principally directed at governance of employee benefit plans,
and not where it is principally directed at regulation of insur-
ance. Only in the latter case can the statute properly be
considered one “which regulates insurance” within the meaning
of ERISA’s insurance savings clause.
This standard, unlike the lower court’s literalist rule,
harmonizes ERISA’s primary mandate of pre-emption with the
“narrow” exception made by the insurance savings clause.?
And it is the only standard that can be squared with Congress’
intent in enacting Section 514 of ERISA. The deemer clause
clearly demonstrates a Congressional concern that the insurance
savings clause not become a pretext for state action evading
ERISA’s establishment of “benefit plan regulation ‘as ex-
clusively a federal concern’” (Shaw, 103 S. Ct. at 2904
(quoting Alessi, 451 U.S. at 523)). The legislative history
confirms that ERISA’s pre-emption provisions were adopted in
order to preclude “multiple,” “conflicting,” and “inconsistent”
state laws regulating employee benefit plans. See 120 CONG.
Rec. 29197, 29933, 29942 (1974) (remarks of Rep. Dent, Sen.
Williams and Sen. Javits) (quoted in Shaw, 103 S. Ct. at 2901
& n.20).10
9 Accord, Michigan United Food & Commercial Workers Fund v.
Baerwaldt, 572 F. Supp. 943 (E.D. Mich. 1983), appea! docketed, No. 83-
1570 (6th Cir. Aug. 16, 1983); Hutchinson & Ifshin, Federal Preemption of
State Law Under the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974, 46 U.
Cui. L. Rev. 23, 66-69 (1978).
10 Moreover, a Congressional committee with responsibility for ERISA,
including among its members principal sponsors of the statute, declared in a
report on ERISA pre-emption issued shortly after ERISA’s enactment that
“the Federal interest and the need for uniformity are so great that enforce-
ment of state regulation should be precluded,” and suggested that this policy
was threatened by unduly broad constructions of “our efforts to ensure
minimum disruption to the regulatory efforts of the states in the fields of
insurance, banking and securities.” Activity REPORT OF THE House Com-
MITTEE ON EDUCATION AND Lasor, H.R. Rep. No. 1785. 94th Cong., 2d Sess.
47 (1977) (emphasis added). The committee’s reference to “minimum”
disruption of state regulation indicates that a literalist reading of the insurance
savings clause, permitting no disruption of state laws dealing with insurance,
was not intended. The commitiee’s report is entitled to significant weight in
construing the insurance savings clause. See, e.g., Bell v. Employee Security
Benefit Ass’n, 437 F. Supp. 382, 392 (D. Kan. 1977); Hamberlin v. VIP Ins.
Trust, 434 F. Supp. 1196, 1199 (D. Ariz. 1977).
15
Therefore, because there can be no doubt, upon consid-
eration of both the purpose and effect of Section 47B, that it
was directed at the governance of employee benefit plans rather
than at the regulation of insurance, the Court should hold that
Section 47B is pre-empted by ERISA.
II. SECTION 47B, AS APPLIED TO COLLECTIVELY-
BARGAINED EMPLOYEE BENEFIT PLANS, IS PRE-
EMPTED BY THE NLRA
Insofar as it applies to collectively-bargained plans, Section
47B also is pre-empted by the NLRA.
Many insured welfare plans are collectively bargained.
Section 47B undeniably intrudes on the freedom of unions and
management to negotiate the terms of employment contracts.
The impact is significant. Health benefits are a principal issue
in labor negotiations. State-mandated benefits of one kind
often force workers to sacrifice other, preferred benefits of a
different kind.
In Local 24, International Brotherhood of Teamsters v.
Oliver, 358 U.S. 283, 296-97 (1959), this Court held that the
NLRA, by guaranteeing the right to private determination of
the terms of collective bargaining agreements, pre-empts state
laws that purport to prescribe such terms. Health benefits are a
mandatory subject of bargaining. Allied Chemical & Alkali
Workers v. Pittsburgh Plate Glass Co., 404 U.S. 157, 159
(1971). Thus, Oliver squarely stands for the conclusion that the
NLRA pre-empts Section 47B as applied to collectively-
bargained insured plans.
This conclusion is supported by the Court’s decision in
Alessi, supra. There, in determining that ERISA pre-empted
state laws prohibiting workers’ compensation benefits from
being offset against pensions, the Court, citing Oliver, stated
that its holding was reinforced, insofar as collectively-bargained
pension plans were concerned, by “the additional federal
interest in precluding state interference with labor-management
negotiations.” 451 U.S. at 525. Pre-emption was compelled,
the Court held, by the “direct clash between the state statute
and the federal policy to keep calculation of pension benefits a
16
subject of either labor-management negotiations or federal
legislation.” Jd. at 526 n.22. See also Malone v. White Motor
Corp., 435 U.S. 497 (1978) (plurality opinion); Connell Con-
struction Co. v. Plumbers & Steamfitters Local Union No. 100,
421 U.S. 616 (1975).
The Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court cited two rea-
sons for finding that Section 47B was not pre-empted by the
NLRA. First, the court found that there was a “public health”
exception to NLRA pre-emption. The court reached this
conclusion based on a remark in Oliver (358 U.S. at 297) that
the state law pre-empted in that case was not a “local health or
safety regulation.” 385 Mass. at 613, 433 N.E.2d at 1232, App.
at 29a-30a. Second, the court concluded that there is no NLRA
pre-emption where some other federal statute expresses a
Congressional intent to permit state regulation. The court
found such an intent in Section 2(b) of the McCarran-Ferguson
Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1012(b), which provides that federal statutes
should not be construed as superseding state laws enacted “for
the purpose of regulating the business of insurance.” 385 Mass.
at 613-14, 433 N.E.2d at 1232, App. at 30a.
This Court has never held that there is a “public health”
exception to the Oliver doctrine. Even if there were such an
exception, it could not possibly reach so far as to permit states
to dictate fundamental terms of collective bargaining agree-
ments. If welfare-benefit terms of labor contracts were within a
reserved state power to regulate “public health,” it is difficult to
see why every element of compensation would not come within
such an exception. Such a doctrine would permit unlimited
state control of collective bargaining.
Similarly, this Court has never held that the McCarran-
Ferguson Act, which was enacted long before state legislatures
first attempted to prescribe substantive terms of collective
bargaining agreements through the vehicle of “insurance” laws,
expresses a Congressional intent to permit such state legislation.
The recent decision in Malone v. White Motor Corp., supra,
indicates that any such intent must be “evident.” 435 U.S. at
513 (plurality opinion); see also New York Telephone Co. v.
New York State Department of Labor, 440 U.S. 519, 540-45
17
(1979) (plurality opinion); id. at 546 n.* (Brennan, J., con-
curring); id. at 547, 551 (Blackmun, J., concurring); SEC v.
Variable Annuity Life Insurance Co., 359 U.S. 65, 80 (1959)
(Brennan, J., concurring); Maryland Casualty Co. v. Cushing,
347 U.S. 409, 412-13 (1954). This is a test that the court below
did not apply and that there is no reason to believe the
McCarran-Ferguson Act can pass. See SEC v. National
Securities, Inc., 393 U.S. 453, 458-59 (1969) (in enacting the
McCarran-Ferguson Act in 1945, “Congress was mainly con-
cerned with the relationship between insurance ratemaking and
the antitrust laws, and with the power of the states to tax
insurance companies,” and did not intend to confer upon the
States any power to regulate insurance that they had not
previously been held to possess). Moreover, for the reasons
already discussed above in connection with ERISA pre-
emption, a statute enacted with the express purpose of regu-
lating employee benefit plans cannot properly be regarded as a
statute adopted “for the purpose of regulating the business of
insurance.”"! Finally, Section 4 of the McCarran-Ferguson Act,
15 U.S.C. § 1014, expressly provides that the Act shall not
affect “application [of the NLRA] to the business of insur-
ance”; the Massachusetts court’s notion that this provision was
directed solely at application of the NLRA to insurance-firm
employees and not to other interactions between the NLRA
and state insurance laws (385 Mass. at 614 n.25, 433 N.E.2d at
1232 n.25, App. at 30a n.25) seems to be entirely that court’s
creation, without support in either the language or the legisla-
tive history of Section 4.
"Cf. Group Life & Health Ins. Co. v. Royal Drug Co., 440 U.S. 205
(1979) (Blue Shield Pharmacy Agreements, which are referred to in Blue
Shield insurance contracts to determine the level of reimbursement for
prescription drugs, are not exempt from antitrust laws as “the business of
insurance” under the McCarran-Ferguson Act, particularly in light of the
principle that exemptions from the antitrust laws are to be narrowly con-
strued ); Union Labor Life Ins. Co. v. Pireno, 458 U.S. 119 (1982) (same:
rendering of opinions by chiropractors’ peer review committee concerning
whether particular services are covered by insurance policies ).
18
Accordingly, neither of the grounds cited by the lower
court for disregarding Oliver has merit, and this Court should
hold that Section 47B, as applied to collectively-bargained
plans, is pre-empted by the NLRA.'2 This issue need not be
reached, however, if the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial
Court’s holding as to ERISA pre-emption is reversed.
CONCLUSION
The decision below should be reversed.
Respectfully submitted,
JOHN M. VINE
(Counsel of Record)
ARVID E. Roach Il
Covington & Burling
1201 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
P.O. Box 7566
Washington, D.C. 20044
(202) 662-6000
Attorneys for
The ERISA Industry Committee
December 20, 1984
12 Accord, Hutchinson & Ifshin, supra note 9, at 74-75; see also Blue
Cross & Blue Shield of Alabama v. Peacock’s Apothecary, Inc., 567 F. Supp.
1258, 1277 (N.D. Ala. 1983).
APPENDIX
la
MEMBERS OF THE ERISA INDUSTRY COMMITTEE
Aetna Life and Casualty Compan:
Alexander & Alexander Services, Inc.
Allied Corporation
Aluminum Company of America
AMAX Inc.
American Telephone & Telegraph Company
Apache Corporation
ASARCO Incorporated
Atlantic Richfield Company
Bankers Trust Company
Bank of America N.T. & S.A.
Bell Communications Research
Bell South Corporation
Bethlehem Steel Corporation
The Boeing Company
Bristol-Myers Company
Buck Consultants, Inc.
Caterpillar Tractor Co.
Champion International Corporation
The Chase Manhattan Bank, N.A.
Ciba-Geigy Corporation
Citibank, N.A.
The Coca-Cola Company
Columbia Gas System Service Corp.
Combustion Engineering, Inc.
Connecticut General Life Insurance Co.
2a
Consolidated Foods Corporation
The Continental Group, Inc.
Coopers & Lybrand
Dart & Kraft Inc.
Deere. & Company
Delta Air Lines Inc.
Digital Equipment Corp.
R. R. Donnelley & Sons Company
The Dow Chemical Company
Dresser Industries, Inc.
E. I. du Pont de Nemours & Company, Incorporated
Eastman Kodak Company
Eli Lilly and Company
Equitable Life Assurance Society of the United States
Esmark, Inc.
Exxon Corporation
Federated Department Stores, Inc.
FMC Corporation
Ford Motor Company
General Electric Company
General Mills, Inc.
General Motors Corporation
W. R. Grace & Co.
The Greyhound Corporation
Grumman Corporation
GTE Corporation
Gulf & Western Industries, Inc.
3a
Frank B. Hall Consulting Company
John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance Co.
A. S. Hansen, Inc.
Hazlehurst & Associates, Inc.
H. J. Heinz Company
Hewitt Associates
Honeywell Inc.
ICI Americas, Inc.
Ingersoll-Rand Company
International Business Machines Corporation
International Harvester Company
International Telephone & Telegraph Corporation
Internorth, Inc.
Johnson & Higgins, Inc.
Johnson & Johnson
Knight-Ridder Newspapers, Inc.
The LTV Corporation
Manufacturers Hanover Trust Company
William M. Mercer, Inc.
Metropolitan Life Insurance Company
Minnesota Mining & Manufacturing Co.
Mobil Oil Corporation
Monsanto Company
Mutual of America
NYNEX Corporation
Jccidental Petroleum Services, Inc.
Olin Corporation
4a
Owens-Corning Fiberglas Corporation
Owens-Illinois, Inc.
J. C. Penney Company, Inc.
Pennzoil Company
PPG Industries, Inc.
Procter & Gamble Company
The Prudential Insurance Company of America
Ralston Purina Company
RCA Corporation
Republic Steel Corporation
R. J. Reynolds Industries, Inc.
Rockwell International
Sears, Roebuck and Co.
Shell Oil Company
The Southland Corporation
Sperry Corporation
Standard Oil Company of California
Standard Oil Company of Indiana
Standard Oil Company of Ohio
Sun Company, Inc.
Tampa Electric Company
Tenneco Inc.
Texaco Inc.
Textron Inc.
Time Incorporated
Towers, Perrin, Forster & Crosby Inc.
The Travelers Insurance Company
Sa
TRW Inc.
Union Camp Corporation
Union Carbide Corporation
United States Steel Corporation
United States Tobacco Company
United Technologies Corporation
Unocal Corporation
Westinghouse Electric Corporation
The Wyatt Company
Xerox Corporation
— oe 2
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
I certify that on this 20th day of December 1984 I served
the foregoing brief on each of the parties by sending three
copies thereof by first-class mail, postage prepaid, to:
Sally A. Kelly, Esq.
Administrative Counsel to the
Attorney General
Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Twentieth Floor
One Ashburton Place
Boston, Massachusetts 02108
Jay Greenfield, Esq.
Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison
345 Park Avenue
New York, New York 10154
Steven A. Kaufman, Esq.
Ropes & Gray
225 Franklin Street
Boston, Massachusetts 02110
Arvid E. Roach II
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.