Amicus Curiae Brief — Massachusetts v. Oakes

Supreme Court brief1989

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 87-1651 CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1987

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS,

Petitioner,

Vs.

DOUGLAS OAKES,

Respondent.

On Petition For

A Writ Of Certiorari To

The Supreme Judicial Court

of Massachusetts

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF

CITIZENS FOR DECENCY THROUGH LAW, INC.

IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

BRUCE A. TAYLOR

2845 E. Camelback Road

Suite 740

Phoenix, Arizona 85016

(602) 381-1322

Counsel of Record

For Amicus Curiae

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES.............. ii

INTEREST OF CDL AS AMICUS CURIAE.. 1

LAW AND ARGUMENT.............000-. 5

Proposition of Law:

I.

POST-PUBESCENT MINOR FEMALE

BREASTS ARE PRIVATE SEXUAL

AREAS ENTITLED TO THE

PROTECTION OF LAW FROM

SEXUAL EXPLOITATION, AND

THE DECISION OF THE SUPREME

JUDICIAL COURT OF MASSACHU-

SETTS VIOLATES THE CIVIL

RIGHTS OF MINOR FEMALES BY

FAILING TO EXTEND SUCH

PROTECTION IN THAT REGARD.

The Sexual Exploitation Of Child

Nudity Is A Legitimate Subject

Of Legislative Acts........... 9

The Court Below Erred In

Striking The Statute As Over-

broad On DU cscs eececes 29

The Rights Of Minor Females To

Be Free Of Sexual Exploitation

Outweighs Any Expressive Use Of

Such Exploitation.........see- 37

CONCLUSION. . cccccccccccccccccccece 45

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Arcara v. Cloud Books,

Ed. eee

on remand,

503 N.E.2d 492 (N.Y. 1986)....

Bradfield v. Blesma,

.oupp. -D. Mich.

) Sree

BSA, Inc. v. King Count

BOG 7. Td TI0 toch Cir. 1986).

Cabaret Enterprises v. A.B.C.

Comm*n.

468 N. E.2d 612 (Mass. 1984)...

California v. La Rue,

ies ee eee

Chapin v. Twon of Southhampton,

ay, F. Supp. 1170 ; a Y

ii

City of Renton v. Playtime

Theatre, inc

oe = «|

414 WN.E.2d 378 (Mass. App.

Commonwealth v.Oakes,

ass. 1988).....

D.C. v. City of St. Lcuis,

795 F.2d E55 (8th Cir. 1986)....

Doran v. Salem Inn,

° ) ) ea

Dyd v. Dept. of Liquor Control,

sat A.2d 7% (Conn. App. 1987)..

Erhardt v. State,

(Ind. 1984)......

Expo, Inc. v. City of Passaic,

vk A.2d 1045 (Noy. Super.

Felton v. State,

) ee Mee, SOOSP.......

Fillingim v. Boone

835 ar 1389 (llth Cir. 1988)..

iii

BPO Pc cccecccccces

23

23

23

Page

Gabriel v. Town of Old Orchard Beach,

Mute BEVEPeaceoece 23

Ginsberg v. New York, .

) oeeeeveeeeveeee -

ee

Globe Newspaper Co. v. Superior Court,

457 U.S. 356 DU chisles 6 60a 6¢ 6 12

Goldstein v. Allain,

.Supp. 1377 (N.D. Miss.

Dt pCi hee sk tes pe ececees 43

Guinther v. Wilkinson,

.Supp. 1066 (D. Utah

ijt ieee ens ce eeeooecces 23

+} ) eee ee 20

Hopfmann v. Connolly,

val U.S. 459 TSBs) ee Sere 20

Intern. Food & Beverage Systems v.

City of Ft. Lauderdale,

75% F.2d 1520 (llth Cir. 1986).. 23

J-R Distributors v. Eikenberry,

725 Wk2d 482 (oth Cir. TOBE... 43

KEV, Inc. v. Kitsap County,

753 F.2d 1053 (9th Cir. 1986.... 23

iv

Little v. City of Greenfield,

.Supp. 656 (E.D. Wisc.

hae vee eeee ene 33-

34,42

Mishkin v. New York,

° ot Fn eae 66668 6 42

Mitchell v. Superior Court,

203 Cal.Rptr. 379 (Cal. App.

Date ebedeeeseeecbeucvceocece 22

Mr. B's Bar and Lounge v.

City of Louisville,

E50 S.W.2d 564 (Ky. App. 1981).. 23

New York v. Ferber,

0 eee 6,8,

12,28,30,35-36,40, 42

on remand,

441 N.E.2d 1100 (N.Y. 1982)..... 26

New York v. P.J. Video,

B89 L.Ed.2d 871 (1986)........... 26

on remand,

501 N.E.2d 556 (N.Y. 1986)...... 26

New York State Liquor Authority

v.bellanca,

ee | Os cc cecoce 17,19

on remand,

429 N.E.2d 765 (N.Y. 1981)...... 26

O'Day v. King County,

715 P.2d ty (Wash. ae 21,22

Vv

Paris Adult Theatre v. Slaton,

De Wale We BENT SES occ ceercccces 22,28

Parker v. Levy,

Inc. v. District Attorney,

People v. Geever,

357 N.E.2d 1200 (I11. 1988)..... 38

People v. Wilson,

251 N. W. 2d 73 (Mich App. 1980).. 23

Pinkus v. United States,

P.B.I.C.

ins nenbeeue 42

Prince v. Massachusetts

COPE PeT TT eT 12

Roth v. U.S.,

Sees Dc cc wcebas 10,

19,42

Schad v. Borough of Mt. Ephriam,

8 %& Se ee, | t Pe 17-

18,22

SDJ, Inc. v. City of Houston,

337 F.2d 1268 (Sth Cir. 1988)... 23

Smith v. United States,

South Florida Free Beaches, Inc. v.

city of Miami,

; 8 (llth Cir. 1984)... 25

vi

State v. Baysinger,

397 WETS 330 > Ro, ) ee 19-

20,22

State v. House,

a.) Pare 22

State v. Meadows,

CERES LFSC) ocsces 38

State v. Modeen,

4 (Ohio 1986)...... 38

State v. Robinson,

(Ohio 1986)...... 38

State v. Turner,

2 (Minn. App.

State v. Young,

37 Ohio oer) ie. Ee 39-40

Ward v. Illinois,

og SPrrrrrrr rT 33

Watson v. Buck, |

De ee Ee REOMAD sc cs seccccee’s 44

Wayside Rest. v. City of

visgisis Beach,

B CVG. 2976). ccccece 24

Williams v. Kleppe,

539 F.2d 803 tist Sats Berebeccses OF

Young v. American Mini Theatres,

ie ee ) rer eee il

vii

Younger v. Harris,

rap U.S. 37 (1971) 44

Reisman, Dr. Judith,"Executive Summary:

Images of Children, Crime and Violence

ir Playboy, Penthouse and Hustler

PEN cote ccceeccecesesescene 14-16

viii

Die

INTEREST OF CDL AS AMICUS CURIAE

Consent

Citizens for Decency through Law,

Inc. (CDL) has received consent of the

parties to the filing of this brief

amicus curiae. Consent of Respondent

was received from his attorney, Mr.

Richard Vita, Esq., and of Petitioner,

from the Attorney General of

Massachusetts.

CDL's Interest in This Case

Citizens for Decency through Law,

Inc. (CDL) was founded in 1957 by

Charles H Keating, Jr. to provide a

means for lawyers to assist prosecutors

and police in enforcing and defending

obscenity laws, to assist public

officials improve and adopt

alte

constitutional statutes and ordinances,

and to assist local citizens and

community leaders understand the role of

the law and legal system in dealing with

the social issue of pornography and

sexual exploitation. CDL has a staff of

former prosecuting attorneys with

experience in obscenity cases which is

available for this purpose. Mr. Keating

and CDL have filed over fifty briefs on

the merits and as amicus in the U.S.

Supreme Court and have participated in

trials and appeals in many states on the

side of government and law enforcement

officials. CDL also has affiliated

chapters, all across this country, of

independent citizens who wish to share

in the experience of our staff. Such

chapters and other citizens groups

maintain their own structure and local

objectives, but are advised by CDL of

the legal precedent in their home

én

states and other jurisdictions where

legal issues are decided that affect

local action. Although citizens usually

desire fast and certain solutions to

their perceived problems, and often

misunderstand the restrictions of the

law and Constitution on such solutions,

CDL maintains that the law can deal

effectively with criminal abuses of

prostitution, live sexual

commercialization, and hard-core

pornography. Child pornography is not

such a publicly flaunted crime, however,

and efforts to deal with its insideous

evils are more complicated. The

prevention of sexual exploitation of

minors requires more extensive solutions

and methods than merely attempting to

control the traffic in the photographs

of child abuse which take the form of

sexual conduct and lewd exhibition of

the genitals by minors.

site

Massachusetts sought to protect

minors from such conduct and from the

exploitation of sexually oriented nudity

by minors.

CDL desires that this Court

recognize this protection and the

legitimate reach of child pornography

laws to child nudity and submits this

discussion of a few related issues

involved in this decision.

* * *

LAW AND ARGUMENT

Proposition of Law:

I. POST-PUBESCENT MINOR FEMALE BREASTS

ARE PRIVATE SEXUAL AREAS ENTITLED

TO THE PROTECTION OF LAW FROM

SEXUAL EXPLOITATION, AND THE

DECISION OF THE SUPREME JUDICIAL

COURT OF MASSACHUSETTS VIOLATES

THE CIVIL RIGHTS OF MINOR FEMALES

BY FAILING TO EXTEND SUCH PROTECTION

IN THAT REGARD.

In the case of pre-pubescent

children, both boys and girls have only

one private sexual area, which is the

genital or pubic area. A photograph of

a five or ten-year-old girl with only

her chest area visible is not “child

pornography" since her breasts are not

yet developed as sexual organs or

private parts. In this regard, pictures

of pre-pubescent boys and girls are the

same. Only their genital areas are

private parts protected by sexual

exploitation laws such as that of

o$e

Massachusetts, and that of New York as

reviewed in New York v. Ferber, 458 U.S.

747, at 751 (1982).

The Massachusetts law under review,

Section 29A, — term "nudity" as

defined in Section 31 of the Mass.

General Laws, and is set out by the

Court below in Commonwealth v. Oakes,

401 Mass. 602, 518 N.E.2d 836, at 837,

n.2 (Mass. 1988):

"(NJudity" means "uncovered or

less than opaquely covered

post-pubertal human genitals,

pubic areas, the post-pubertal

human female breasts below a

point immediately above the

top of the areola, or the

covered male genitals in a

discernibly turgid state. For

purposes of this definition a

female breast is considered

uncovered if the nipple or the

nipple or areola only are covered.

In the case of pre-pubertal

ersons nudity shall mean

uncovered or OL than

Opaguely covered pre-pubertal

human genitals or pubic area."

TEmphasis added. ]

Several states have child

pornography statutes which, like

abe

——————————

oe

|

eta at

et ey ily A sp ct Aly NO A A EO LOIS

i]

:

Massachusetts, include the exhibition of

minor female breasts as sexual

exploitation (many of which are

limited to sexually stimulating or

erotic oriented exhibitions): Alabama,

Colorado, Connecticut, Idaho, Lowa,

Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Michigan,

Mississippi, Nebraska, New Hampshire,

Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Utah,

and Virginia. These laws may also be

affected by this Court's decision in

setting the scope of the Massachusetts

statute.

Massachusetts law carefully

distinguished between pre-pubescent

private genital areas and post-pubertal

genital and female breasts areas.

Amicus submits that minor females

between the age of puberty and adulthood

are entitled to the protection of law

from having their breasts sexually

exploited, and it is a violation of

ate

their civil rights to exclude these

private parts from the reach of child

sexual exploitation laws. Just as

Congress has an interest in the civil

rights of minorities, and therefore the

power to pass statutes such as 42 U.S.C.

Sections 1983 and 1985, the states have

a compelling interest in the privacy

rights of minors, and therefore the |

power to pass child pornography and

exploitation statues such as those in

New York and Massachusetts. See:

Brown v. Board of Education, 347 U.S.

483 (1954); New York v. Ferber, supra;

Ginsberg v. New York, 390 U.S. 629

(1968). See also: Annotation:

Application of Civil Rights Act to

Discrimination in Places of

Entertainment, 7 A.L.R. Fed. 415.

a aaaeeaEyEyE=——_”--~—-—

no tw ee

a eens -

{

F

-

:

;

:

A. The Sexual Exploitation

OF Child Nudity Is A

Legitimate Subject Of

egisiative cts.

In Ginsberg, supra, this Court

upheld New York's right oe prohibit

sales to minors of visual

representations of "nudity, sexual

conduct or sado-masochistic abuse" which

are “harmful to minors". Nudity was

defined in the New York law in a similar

scope as that of Massachusetts Section

31. See: Ginsburg, 390 U.S. at 645.

The New York “harmful to minors" law was

held not vague because it employed a

test similar to that of obscenity and

therefore gave adequate notice of its

meaning and reach. The scienter element

also prevented innocent applications and

provided due process. Ginsberg, at

643-44.

The New York law prevented sales to

minors of materials "harmful" to them

se

jean ale te alae igi CN eat tie AE A =

because "The State also has an

independent interest in the well-being

of its youth." Id. at 640. This

interest does not depend on the

supervision of parents and allows the

states to act on behalf of and in loco

parentis to children with reasonable and

objective protections. The "harmful to

minors" laws rightfully condemn material

that is "a basic factor in impairing the

ethical and moral development of our

youth and a clear and present danger to

the people of the state”. Id. at 641.

"Obscenity" laws do not have to meet the

“clear and present danger” test because

obscenity is unprotected by the First

Amendment. Id. at 641, citing Roth v.

U.S., 354 U.S. 476, at 486-87 1957). Nor

did the federal broadcasting statute,

since “indecency” is unprotected in mass

communications media such as radio and

television. F.C.C. v. Pacifica, 438

site

U.S. 726 (1978). Child pornography as

defined in Ferber is also unprotected

and need not vass this stricter test.

Where the actual sexual exploitation of

minors does constitute a

"clear and present danger" to them and

the people of the state, as New York

found in passing the Ginsberg statute

(Ginsberg at 641), and as this Court

recognized as a "governmental objective

of surpassing importance” in Ferber at

757, the extension in the Massachusetts

statute under review is justified.

State legislatures "must be allowed

a reasonable opportunity to experiment

with solutions to admittedly serious

problems", as this Court recognized in

Young v. American Mini Theatres, 427

U.S. 50, at 71 (1976). As applied in

this case, the Massachusetts law

provides reasonable assistance in

“safeguarding the physical and

aife

EE OEE

.

;

-

§

:

psychological well-being of a minor"

which was admitted to be a "compelling"

interest in Globe Newspaper Co. v.

Superior Court, 457 U.S. 596, at 607

(1982). The seriousness of the problem

with many forms of child exploitation is

also underscored by the caveat in Prince

v. Massachusetts, 321 U.S. 158, at 168

(1944):

A democratic society rests,

for its continuance, upon the

healthy, well-rounded growth

of young people into full

maturity as citizens, with all

that implies. It may secure

this against impeding

restraints and dangers within

a broad range of selection.

The studies and research of

doctors, therapists, and other

professionals in the field of child

development and abuse were accepted in

Ferber at 758-61, and f£n.9-13, as

supporting the "legislative judgment"

that "the use of children as subjects of

pornographic materials is harmful to the

-12-

physiological, emotional, and mental

health of the child". See also the

Brief Amicus Curiae filed by Covenant

House in Ferber on Sept 9, 1981.

The Court accepted similar findings

in Ginsberg, at 641-42, and fn.10, and

quoted Dr. Gaylin on an important point

central to the issue now before this

Court:

"(P]sychiatrists... made a

distinction between the

reading of pornography, as

unlikely to be per se harmful,

and the permitting of the

reading of pornography, which

was conceived as potentially

destructive. The child is

protected in his reading of

pecan’ by the knowledge

that it is pornographic, i.e.,

disapproved. It is outside of

parental standards and not a

part of his identification

processes. To openly permit

implies parental approval and

even suggests seductive

encouragement. If this is so

of parental approval, it is

equally so of societal

approval-another potent

influence on the developing

ego."

ehSa

A recent study by Dr. Judith

Reisman for the U.S. Department of

Justice, Office of Juvenile Justice and

Delinquency Prevention (1987), proves

that use of minors in media and men's

magazines, and use of adults to portray

minors for sexual arousal in such

materials, has a devastating impact on

youth by sexualizing them in the minds

of adults and that this puts minor

children at great risk of sexual

exploitation and abuse. This study is

reproduced as an Appendix hereto and is

entitled "Executive Summary: Images of

Children, Crime and Violence in Playboy,

Penthouse and Hustler Magazines". This

study has generated much controversy,

and understandable criticism from the

pornographic men's magazines and the

American Civil Liberties Union, but its

logic and proof speak for themselves, as

a reading of the report will show. See

elie

also the letter of Mr. John Rabun of the

National Center for Missing and

Exploited Children, which is also

reproduced at page 43 of the Appendix

hereto.

The Justice Department recognized

that some of the illustrations in the

report could fit within the scope of

federal child pornography laws and this

speaks clearly for the serious issue

involved. These images were taken from

publicly sold magazines and must be

treated sensitively in scientific

reports. The law shou)@ enforce the

same sensitivity in the public

marketplace where these pictures

originally appeared. A reproduction of

this letter from the D.0.J. is also

included at page 46 of the Appendix

hereto. To prevent further exposure,

the photographs in the Reisman report

were not reproduced in this Appendix.

oitin

(Forty copies of the full report have

been lodged with the Clerk of this

Court.) The study is particularly

relevant here, since this case involved

the Defendant-Respondent's taking of

similar photos of his fourteen-year-old

step-daughter under circumstances which

indicate the photos, or other ones of

the young woman, would someday have been

published in one of these so-called

"men's sophisticate magazines", also

known as "soft-core porn magazines".

The harm in this should be obvious and

the legislative interest clear.

The Massachusetts Legislature

sought to protect pre-pubescent minors

from exploitation of their genital areas

and to protect post-pubescent minors

from exploitation of the genitals of

teenage boys and of the genitals and

breasts of teenage girls. This

statutory structure encompasses the

aitie

a

private sexual areas of children at

their respective stages of development

and recognizes the privacy interests the

different sexes have at these ages.

That female breasts are recognized

as private sexual parts is beyond

question. To remove protection from

post-pubescent minor females to have

their breasts considered private sexual

areas in child pornography laws would be

to deny them Equal Protection.

In California v. La Rue, 409 U.S.

109 (1972), this Court upheld the right

of the states to ban "topless", as well

as "bottomless", dancing by females in

liquor establishments. This judgment

was re-affirmed in New York State Liquor

Authority v. Bellanca, 452 U.S. 714

(1981), and City of Newport v.

Iacobucci, 479 U.S. , 93 L.Ed.2d 334

(1986). These decisions were not

changed by that of Schad v. Borough of

oh Pun

Mt. Ephriam, 452 U.S. 61 (1981) where

this Court said live entertainment, even

if involving nudity, could not be

arbitrarily discriminated against

without an analysis of First Amendment

and Equal Protection principles. The

Court in Shad, at 66, did not rule that

nude dancing was protected speech, nor

did the Court in Doran v. Salem Inn, 422

U.S. 922, 932-33 (1975), but only ruled

that a state or city could not

pre-censor all such conduct without a

rational basis directed at the specific

conduct involved. Like the presumption

of innocence in all criminal cases, a

person's conduct may not be protected or

lawful, but the government cannot treat

him as if his conduct is totally

unprotected or unlawful without due

process. Public and commercial nudity

is neither protected nor unprotected per

se, the context determines the

difference.

-18-

Justice Douglas and Black agreed in

dissent that "no one would suggest that

: the First Amendment permits nudity in

public places". Roth, 354 U.S. at 512.

Likewise, no one should suggest that a

young woman of 14 or 17 can dance

"topless" in a bar or walk "topless" on

a beach or down a city street. The

Supreme Court of Indiana upheld that

state's indecent exposure statute as

applied to prohibit "topless" and

"bottomless" dancing in bars,

independent of the Twenty-First

Amendment considerations of La Rue and

Bellanca. In State v. Baysinger, 397

N.E.2d. 580 (Ind. 1979), the Court held

that bars are public places (like they

. are in “civil rights" laws) and that

women have no First Amendment right to

expose their private parts (breasts or

genitals) there, even for consenting

-19-

male voyeurs. As stated by the Court at

| 397 N.E.2d, 587:

Under our statutes and case

law, public nudity itself,

regardless of a showing of

obscenity, is conduct which

traditionally has been held to

be public indecency, which is

within the power of the

legislature to prohibit.

There is no right to appear

nude in public.... In the

cases before us it is clear

the activity involved is

appearing nude or dancing in

the nude in bars and is

conduct.... The governmental

interest in prohibiting

conduct that has long been

recognized as public indecency

is unrelated to the

suppression of free speech.

This judgment was affirmed on the merits

by this Court in dismissing the appeal

in Baysinger, for want of a substantial

federal question, sub nom Clark v.

Indiana, 446 U.S. 931 (1980). See:

Hicks v. Miranda, 422 U.S. 332, at 344

(1975); Hopfmann v. Connolly, 471 U.S.

459, 460 (1985).

-20-

The Basinger rule was also upheld

as applied to the "Miss Erotica of Fort

Wayne" contest at Cinema Blue Theatre in

Erhardt v. State, 468 N.E.2d 224 (Ind.

1984).

In O'Day v. King County, 749 P.2d

142, 147-48 (Wash. 1988), the Supreme

Court of Washington limited a county

ordinance regulation on nude

entertainment to "pure conduct and

obscene expression", and upheld its

reach to nude conduct involving genitals

and female breasts only within narrow

limits. See also: BSA, Inc. v. King

County, 804 F.2d 1104, 1106-08

(9th Cir. 1986).

Many courts assume that nude

dancing is protected expression and

can only be subject to limited time,

place, and manner restrictions. Amicus

submits that the states need not

restrict indecent exposure and

afte

commercial nudity laws so narrowly in

response to this Court's decisions in

Schad and Salem Inn, supra, as was done in

O'Day v. King County, but that nude

"entertainment" of the type in “topless

bars", "nude bottle clubs", and even

"porno houses" can be prohibited as

unprotected conduct under the rule of

Baysinger.

Actual sex acts on stage need not

be the logical progression of these

rulings, as in Mitchell v. Superior

Court, 203 Cal.Rptr. 379 (Cal. App.

1984), and State v. House, 698 P.2d 951

(Or. 1985), before the state can protect

its interests in public morality against

commercial live sex shows. Modern "bump

and grind" nude shows are as much the

"crass commercial exploitation of sex"

as are obscene pictures of such acts.

See: Paris Adult Theatre v. Slaton, 413

U.S. 49, at 63, 67 (1973). See also:

-22-

SDJ, Inc. v. City of Houston, 837 F.2d

1268 (5th Cir. 1988); Fillingim v.

Boone, 835 F.2d 1389 (llth Cir. 1988);

D.C. v. City of St. Louis, 795 F.2d 652

(8th Cir. 1986); Intern. Food & Beverage

Systems v. City of Ft. Lauderdale, 794

F.2d 1520 (llth Cir. 1986); KEV, Inc. v.

Kitsap County, 793 F.2d 1053 (9th Cir.

1986); Guinther v. Wilkinson, 679

F.Supp. 1066 (D. Utah 1988); Bradfield

v. Blesma, 675 F.Supp. 382 (W.D. ich.

1987); Little v. City of Greenfield, 575

F.Supp. 656 (E.D. Wisc. 1983); Dydyn v.

Dept. of Liquor Control, 531 A.2d 170

(Conn. App. 1987); City of Daytona Beach

v. Percio, 476 Sc.2d 197 (Fla. 1985);

Morris v. Municipal Court, 652 P.2d 51

(Cal. 1982); Mr. B's Bar and Lounge v.

City of Louisville, 630 S.W.2d 564 (Ky.

App. 1981); People v. Wilson, 291 N.W.2d

73 (Mich. App. 1980); Gabriel v. Town of

Old Orchard Beach, 375 A.2d 1065 (Me.

-23-

1978); Expo, Inc. v. City of Passaic,

373 A.2d 1045 (N.J. Super. 1977);

Wayside Rest. v. City of Virginia Beach,

208 S.E.2d 51 (Va. 1974).

Massachusetts has not escaped the

problem of deciding if commercial sex

and nudity are "protected" expressions.

Cabaret Enterprises v. A.B.C. Comm'n.,

468 N.E.2d 612 (Mass. 1984) (La Rue -

Bellanca type law struck down on state

constitutional grounds); Commonwealth v.

Kocinski, 414 N.E.2d 378 (Mass. App.

1981) (obscenity convictions affirmed

where bar "dancers" exposed and touched

genitals and breasts); P.B.I.C., Inc. v.

District Attorney, 258 N.E.2d 82 (Mass.

1970) (stage play "Hair" not enjoinable,

since not "lewd and lacivious", but

injunction issued to prevent nudity and

simulated sex).

Whatever “constitutional” problems

exist in deciding whether paying young

-24-

women to "dance" nude or semi-nude so

bar patrons or "club members" can stare

at their genitals or breasts while

eating or drinking have not hampered the

courts in upholding the police power of

cities to prohibit topless or nude

“sunbathing” in public. See: South

Florida Free Beaches, Inc. v. City of

Miami, 734 F.2d 608 (llth Cir. 1984);

Williams v. Kleppe, 539 F.2d 803 (lst

Cir. 1976); Chapin v. Town of

Southhampton, 457 F.Supp. 1170 (E.D.

N.Y. 1978); State v. Turner, 382 N.W.2d

252 (Minn. App. 1986).

Whatever their reach and scope,

all these laws apply to male and female

genitals and female breasts, and would

cover all adults and post-pubertal

minors. No one would suggest that

teenage women can go "topless" on a

public beach or in a public place or

business, and the reason is that their

-25-

private parts include their breasts

every bit as much as they do when women

reach the age of majority. No

artificial distinctions should be made in

the case of child pornography and sexual

exploitation laws either.

The state courts, on remand from

this Court, have refused to follow the

decision on constitutional grounds

issued in several important cases, and

have denied the people and law

enforcement much needed remedies. See

the remand decisions in New York State

Liquor Authority v. Bellanca, supra, at

445 N.Y.S.2d 87, 429 N.E.2d 765 (N.Y. 1981);

New York v. Ferber, supra, at 455

N.Y¥.S.2d 582, 441 N.E.2d 1100 (N.Y. 1982);

New York v. P.J. Video, 475 U.S. __, 89

L.Ed.2d 871 (1986), at 508 N.Y.S.2d 907,

501 N.E.2d 556 (N.Y. 1986); Arcara v.

Cloud Books, 478 U.S. ___, 92 L.Ed.2d

568 (1986), at 510 N.Y.S.2d 844, 503

-26-

N.E.2d 492 (N.Y. 1986). Such a result

could be avoided here by a ruling by

this Court in terms of the civil rights

of post-pubescent minor females to the

Equal Protection of their private sexual

areas. It is discriminatory to protect

all of a minor boy's privates (genitals)

and only protect half of a minor

female's private parts (genitals but not

breasts). It is not the fault of young

women that they have breasts and

genitals and that boys have genitals

only.

The Massachusetts Legislature

granted Equal Protection to minor boys

and females, as did at least seventeen

other states, in recognizing that a

minor female's breasts can be sexually

exploited as child pornography and

prohibiting such improper conduct. The

state Court below took away that

protection from the minor females

without justifying a departure from this

—_ i

Court's ruling in Ferber that minors are

entitled to protection from sexual

exploitation and use in child

pornography. This is not an area of law

that should be left to a laissez faire

option, such as obscenity. Paris Adult

Theatre, 413 U.S. at 64. Minor children

need and deserve protection from

discrimination based on sex and age and

the courts, like the state Court below,

should not ignore the rule of Ferber

when the result is to deny those rights.

=28-

B. The Court Below Erred In

Striking The Statute As

Overbroad On Its Face.

The Court below erred in applying

the overbreadth analysis to this statute

and should have upheld or construed the

law to cover depictions of nudity by

minors that could be prohibited as child

pornography.

The Supreme Judicial Court of

Massachusetts was wrong in Oakes, 518

N.E.2d at 837, when it said it "need not

decide whether the Supreme Court would

sustain a statute that was carefully

directed against the defendant's

conduct" in finding the statute

“unconstitutionally overbroad" on its

face. This Defendant should have to

prove the statute vague or overbroad as

to him. Parker v. Levy, 417 U.S. 733,

756 (1974). The Court below said the

defendant "finds support for his

position in New York v. Ferber", at

-29-

764-66, that his conduct was "protected

speech”. In fact, Ferber reversed the

New York Court of Appeals for making the

exact same error. The "traditional

rule"

that a person cannot challenge a

law that validly applies to him,

announced in Broadrick v. Oklahoma, 413

U.S. 601, 610 (1973), was found to be

"sound and should be applied in the

present context involving the harmful

employment of children to make sexually

explicit materials". Ferber, 458 U.S.

at 767, 771. This use of the

"substantial overbreadth" and "personal

nature of constitutional rights"

doctrines were found justified by the

compelling interest in protecting minor

children. The Court below in Oakes, at

838, used one hypothetical example as

evidence of "substantial enough"

overbreadth to strike the whole statute.

The example was its assumption that

-30-

Section 29A “makes a criminal of a

parent who takes a frontal view picture

of his or her naked one-year-old running

on a beach or romping in a wading pool".

Nothing in the record even suggests that

the law would be applied in this

fashion, and the prosecutors and

attorneys for Petitioners have rejected

such assertions. The Court below did

not even attempt to analyze the

applications of this law by the

guidelines of statutory interpretation

set out for First Amendment laws in

Brockett v. Spokane Arcades, 472 U.S.

491 (1985), and in failing to do so it

mis-applied Ferber.

In Oakes, at 837, the Court below

correctly noted that “defendant's

conduct in permitting his stepdaughter

to pose naked above the waist cannot

fairly be isolated... from the

expressive process of taking her

oStin

picture". The Court misrepresents the

facts, however, in saying that Oakes

"took nonpornographic, nonobscene

photographs of his fifteen-year-old,

consenting stepdaughter who was nude

above the waist, in circumstances where

no commercial or even noncommercial

distribution was intended or occurred".

Id. The record and Brief for Petitioner

show that the Defendant took the

pictures specifically to highlight her

fourteen-year-old breasts. He did not

accidentally get her exposed breasts on

film while taking "innocent" pictures.

He took pictures of her breasts. Simple

and undeniably. He did so because

breasts are a sexually stimulating

portion of a young women's anatomy. He

had her wear "Frederick's of Hollywood"

lingerie to highlight this sexuality.

If he wanted to capture the essence

of her personality, or her beauty as a

-32-

person, he would have focused on her

face, her eyes, her expressions of

thought and emotion that make a woman a

person.

This form of pornography may not be

obscene under the test and "examples"

set out in Miller v. California, 413

U.S. 15, at 24-25 (1973), but its focus

on her sexuality is certainly

"pornographic" as used in footnote 2 of

Miller and in Ginzburg v. United States

383 U.S. 463 (1966). As this Court said

in Ward v. Illinois, 431 U.S. 767, at

773 (1977), the "Miller examples" were

"not intended to be exhaustive", and

that Miller did not extend protection to

sado-masochistic materials, if obscenely

described. Likewise, minor female

breasts can be depicted indecently or

pruriently and also lack protection.

Respondent's intent and product

could also be "indecent" as in F.C.C. v.

Pacifica Foundation, 438 U.S. 726,

fn. 16 (1978). The "normal definition

of ‘indecent’ merely refers to

nonconformance with accepted standards

of morality". Pacifica at 740. No

evidence exists in this case that it is

an acceptable moral standard for a

step-father, or any parent or adult or

even another minor, to take pictures of

a fourteen-year-old girl's breasts.

That is not the "community standard"

intended by this Court when it mis-used

the word "tolerance" in Smith v. United

States, 431 U.S. 291, at 305 (1977). If

it was, the people of Maine or

Mississippi would have to "accept" the

conduct of Oakes in this case merely

because it is "tolerated" by the highest

court in Massachusetts. See: Miller,

supra at 32. Surely, such a standard of

oShe

morality does not exist in Las Vegas or

New York City, any more than it does in

Boston or Worcester. If it did, it

should be the Respondent's burden to

show that such conduct is not only

"tolerated" but "accepted". Community

standards should be "set by what is in

fact accepted in the community as a

whole", as the District Court charged in

Smith (431 U.S. at 297-98), otherwise

the tolerance of the exception would

eliminate the norm of acceptability.

The protection of minors recognized

in Ferber is necessarily based on the

community's "compelling" duty to protect

them from sexual exploitation,

regardless of whether by the "hard-core

pornography" of the obscene, or .the

"soft-core" exploitation evidenced in

this case. The “slight social value" in

having pictures available of a young

woman's breasts before she reaches the

offen

age of majority and consent are not

present here, like the arguable presence

in “educational, medical, or artistic

works" mentioned in Ferber at 773. The

facts of this case are not ripe for the

"case-by-case analysis" to test the

reach of the Massachusetts law to

one-year-old babies on a beach. All

this Court need decide here is whether

Massachusetts may protect post-pubertal

minor female breasts from sexually

exploitive photographs. The Court below

erred in failing to do so and striking

the statute on such hypothetical

overbreadth grounds.

-36-

C. The Rights Of Minor Females To Be

Free OF Sexual Exploitation

pucwe Lane Any Expressive Use Of

Such Exploitation.

If young women are entitled to the

right to have their breasts considered

as private, then the statute protects

her civil rights from a denial of Equal

Protection and is valid. Whether

Defendant Oakes is guilty of sexually

exploiting his step-daughter in this

instance was for the trial courts of

Massachusetts to find beyond a

reasonable doubt. The issue here is

whether state law can prohibit sexually

oriented photographs of breast nudity as

child pornography.

This Court denied certiorari review

of the decision of the Ohio Supreme

Court which upheld a statute prohibiting

the mere private possession of

photographs of minors engaged in sexual

conduct or lewd exhibition of the

oie

genitals. State v. Meadows, 28 Ohio

St.3d 43, 503 N.E.2d 697 (Ohio 1986),

cert. denied 480 U.S. ___, 94 L.Ed.2d

771, 107 S.Ct. 1581 (1987). That state

Court also upheld the Ohio statute

prohibiting the private possession of

photos of minors "in a state of nudity”.

State v. Modeen, 28 Ohio St.3d 64, 502

N.E.2d 634 (Ohio 1986), State v.

Robinson, 28 Ohio St.3d 65, 502 N.E.2d

634 (Ohio 1986). Two other state

supreme courts have also upheld their

child pornography possession statutes.

Felton v. State, So.2d __—s— (Ala. 1988),

People v. Geever, 122 I11.2d 313, 522

N.E.2d 1200 (111. 1988). At present,

there are at least eighteen states which

prohibit the private possession of child

pornography: Minnesota, §617.247

(1983); Arizona, §13-3553 (1983);

Nevada, §200.730 (1983); Alabama,

§13A-12-192 (1984); Ohio, §§2907.321,

iin

2907.322, 2907.323 (1984); Oklahoma,

§1021.2 (1984); Washington, §9.68A.070

(1984); Texas, §43.26 (1985); Florida,

§827.071(5) (1985); Utah,

§76-5a-3(1985); Illinois, §11-20.1

(1985); Kansas, §21-3516 (1986);

Georgia, §16-12-100 (1987); Missouri,

§573.037 (1987); Idaho, §§18-1507(3)(b)

and 18-1507A (1987); South Dakota,

§22-22-23.1 (1987); Colorado,

§18-6-403 (1988); and Nebraska, §

(1988).

The Ohio Supreme Court recently

construed the possession of nudity

oriented material statute, O.R.C.

2907.323(A)(3), in State v. Young, 37

Ohio St.3d 249, at 252, _—Ss N.E.2d

(Ohio 1988), to prohibit only "conduct

which is not morally innocent, i.e., the

possession or viewing of the described

material for prurient purposes". The

Court found that, so construed, the

-39-

ea oe re ——

statute was “not so broad as to outlaw

all depictions of minors in a state of

nudity, but rather only those depictions

which constitute child pornography".

Id. The Court also limited the "state

of nudity” by a minor to "where such

nudity constitutes a lewd exhibition or

involves a graphic focus on the

genitals". Id. Since the Ohio statute

defines "nudity" to include female

breasts as well as male and female

genitals, it is unclear whether the Ohio

Supreme Court continues to allow a "lewd

exhibition" of a minor female breast

"for prurient purposes" to constitute

child pornography. This is a reasonable

restriction on the reach of child

pornography laws, as argued herein. The

language in Ferber, 458 U.S. at 773,

regarding the assumption that New York

would not “widen the possible invalid

reach of the statute by giving an

=40-

i i i eis se jn ae i

expansive construction to the

proscription on ‘lewd exhibition[s] of

the genitals" should not prevent this

interpretation. In Ferber, the New York

statute defined child pornography as

only including sexual activity and lewd

exhibitions of the genitals, so this

Court had no opportunity to decide

whether the post-pubescent minor female

breasts could be lewdly exhibited as

child pornography.

This Court could agree that child

pornography involving exhibitions of a

minor's private sexual parts (genitals

and breasts) are legitimately reached by

child pornography and sexual

exploitation laws where such exhibitions

(even without actual sexual conduct or

contact between persons) are "for

prurient purposes". This limitation on

child nudity would prevent the "morally

innocent" portrayals of concern to this

otitin

Court in Ferber at 773 and to the Court

below in Oakes at 838. Such a

limitation to prurient uses was employed

to eliminate vagueness in the zoning

ordinance in City of Renton v. Playtime

Theatre, Inc., 475 U.S. 55-56, fn. 4

(1986), and was the essence of Roth and

Ginzburg v. U.S., supra. This Court

should correct, however, the

misconception in Brockett, supra, that

“prurient” is limited to "shameful and

morbid" and includes other adjectives to

describe a sexual interest beyond a

purely normal, healthy interest, such as

erotic, lascivious, and an unhealthy or

abnormal lust. See: Roth, 354 U.S. at

487, fn. 20; Ginzburg, 383 U.S. at 470;

Mishkin v. New York, 383 U.S. 502, at

508-09 (1966); Miller, 413 U.S. at 18,

fn. 2; Hamling v. United States, 418

U.S. 87, at 127-31 (1974); Pinkus v.

United States, 436 U.S. 293, at 301-03

ah% oe

(1978). See also: Brockett, 472 U.S. at

496-98, 504-05, and fn. 8. This would

avoid the abusive restrictions on

prurience applied by the Court of

Appeals in Brockett, sub nom J-R

Distributors v. Eikenberry, 725 F.2d

482, at 490-92 (9th Cir. 1984), and the

District Court in Goldstein v. Allain,

568 F.Supp. 1377, at 1385 (N.D. Miss.

1983). Limiting pictures of child

nudity to the unhealthy or abnormally

lustful, erotic, or lascivious would

prevent overbroad applications, provide

notice and avoid vagueness, and yet

reach the truly pornographic uses of

children who are photographed exposing

their private sexual areas to the lure

of the camera's permanent exploitation.

The error below was in assuming an

unconstitutional application and

striking the statute in contravention to

Ferber and the rights of minor females.

o43-

The remedy is to recognize the right of

state legislatures to protect the

privacy rights of those young women from

having their breasts exploited sexually.

In this regard, the Massachusetts

statute cannot be said to be totally

unconstitutional on its face "in

whatever manner and against whomever an

effort might be made to apply it".

Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37, at 53-54

(1971), citing Watson v. Buck, 313 U.S.

387, at 402 (1941).

aft

dnt. nen; Aaa nin

CONCLUSION

The Supreme Judicial Court of

Massachusetts improperly held that

state's child nudity exploitation

statute invalid by assuming an

unconstitutional hypothetical

application. In doing so, the Court

below violated the rules of statutory

interpretation applicable to child

pornography and exploitation laws set

out in New York v. Ferber.

More importantly, this decision

creates a denial of Equal Protection for

the privacy interests of minor females

whose civil rights are violated when

their developing breasts are not

recognized as private sexual areas

entitled to protection by society and

legislative bodies from sexual

exploitation.

att.

Se cen ee ME ei

. nee I lit tA ltt iy ia, a i att «alain ne mien i ih

Amicus also submits that the

dissenting opinion of the Court below

was correct and should be adopted by

this Court.

For these reasons, in addition to

those urged by Petitioner herein, the

decision below should be corrected and

reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

Citizens for Decency

through Law, Inc.

TB ruea \ ayer

Bruce A. Taylor —

Gereral Counsel

Attorney for Amicus

-46-

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that on this 2lst

day of July, 1988, three copies of the

foregoing Brief Amicus Curiae of

Citizens for Decency through Law, Inc.,

were sent by U.S. Mail, postage prepaid,

to:

Hon. James M. Shannon

Attorney General

Phyllis N. a Esq.

A. John Pappalardo, Esq.

Deputy Attorneys General

Madelyn F. Wessel, Esq.

Judy G. Zeprun, Esq.

H. Reed Witherby, Esq.

Assistant Attorneys General

Commonwealth of Massachusetts

One Ashburton Place, Room 2001

Boston, Massachusetts 02108

(617) 727-2200

Attorneys for Petitioner

Richard J. Vita, Esq.

2 Oliver Street

Ninth Floor

Boston, Massachusetts 02109

(617) 426-6566

Attorney for Respondent

All parties required to be served

have been served.

—_—_

amar, \

Bruce A. Taylor

Attorney for Amicus

w=

APPENDIX

—_ a

Executive Summary

IMAGES OF CHILDREN,

CRIME AND VIOLENCE

IN PLAYBOY, PENTHOUSE

AND HUSTLER MAGAZINES

This resesrch was sponsored by Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency

Prevention (OJJDP), United States Department of Justice, Project No. 84-JN-AX-

K007, and carried out at The American University, Washington, DC, from February

1984 to November 1985 and delivered to OJJDP in November 1987. Principal

ee oe eee ae

While the complete three-volume Reisman Report is available from OJJDP, the

agency shelves several drafts of various reports ostensibly written by Dr. Reisman.

However, only the November 1987 Reisman Report has been approved by the Peer

Review Board and authenticated by the Principal Investigator. The Overview, Volume I,

is recommended as a brief (503 page) synopsis of the research project and relevant

information. All three volumes total nearly 2,000 pages. For further information

contact Dr. Sichsenen ot Tho hentbets Ger Seti Wheaton, Bon 7404, Arlington, VA

22207 (703-237-5455).

CONTENTS

Introduction: Children in Playbo

; 'y, Penthouse and Hustler

Reprinted from Preventing Sexual Abuse

Composition of External Review Board

Executive Summary of Content A

Images of Children, Chine and Plates

INTRODUCTION

From Preventing Sexual Abuse, Summer 1986

A study to determine how pornography and violence in the media

affect the incidence of sexual abuse/exploitation, family violence and

juvenile delinquency was recently completed at American University

in W. DC. The project was funded through the Office of

Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) U.S. De-

partment of Justice.

Dr. Judith Reisman, principal investigator for the study entitled

“Children, Crime and Violence in the Pictorial Imagery of Playboy,

Penthouse and Hustler” testified on the findings before the United

States Attorney General’s Commission on Pornography on Novem-

ber 21, 1985. Visual images of children in sexual and violent contexts

were analyzed in 683 issues of the three adult magazines beginning

with Playboy's initial December 1953 issue through Playboy,

Penthouse and Hustler issues of December 1984. Researchers

the child or adult depi the activities in which the child was

involved, the nature of the activity, and the state of dress or undress of '

the child. Pseudo-children (adults dressed ar. | posed as children) and

any discrepant body features, such as oversized breasts on small

child’s frame, were also noted.

The study identified three basic themes: nonsexual, nonviolent

activities such as simple memories; violent activities such as murder,

maiming or surgical procedures; and sexual activities such as

intercourse or a child appearing nude.

A total of 6,004 photographs, illustrations and cartoons depicting

children appeared in the 683 magazines. Hustler depicted children

most often, an average of 14.1 times per issue, followed by Playboy

(8.2 times per issue) and Penthouse (6.4 times per issue).

Findings included the following:

* 1,675 child images were associated with nudity.

* 1,225 child images were associated with genital activity.

* 989 child images were associated sexually with adults.

images

* 267 child images were associated with sex with animals or

objects.

* $1% of the child cartoons and 46% of the child photographs

showed children age 3-11.

* More girls than boys were associated with sexual assault.

* More boys than girls were associated with violent assault.

» S»

_ From 1954 to 1984, these 6,004 images of children

interspersed with 15,000 images of crime and violence, 35,000 Aer

Playboy, Penthouse and Hustler were Chosen

they are the three top-selling de ae

harm factor. Such action by sex-industry

; representatives could be

seen as an act for responsibility based

children, rather than an admiasion of guilt” Wetiare of

EXTERNAL REVIEW BOARD FOR IMAGES OF

CHILDREN, CRIME AND VIOLENCE IN PLAYBOY,

PENTHOUSE, AND HUSTLER MAGAZINES:

Cooperative Agreement #84-JN-AX-K007

Dr. George Comstock, Samuel I. Newhouse Professor of Public

Communication at Syracuse University, is a foremost authority on

television and social behavior. His work, in part, has focused on mass

media and its effects on social values, social institutions, and, in

particular, the young viewing public. Dr. Comstock serves on the

editorial boards of several communication journals, is a

member of the National Council for Children and Television and was

senior author/editor for the Surgeon General’s Report on Television

and Human Behavior (1978). His extensive work in the area of mass

media has yielded numerous books and articles which are seen as a

foundation for this field.

Dr. Robert Figlio is an Associate Professor of Criminology et the

University of Pennsytvania. His critique of the unauthorized American

University draft was helpful in the identification of issues and data

requiring clarification, addition and correction. With Dr. Marvin

Wolfgang, Dr. Figlio co-authored the Department of Justice

“National Survey of Crime Severity.” He is the only original peer who

was unable to review and evaluate this final technical version written

by the Principal Investigator.

Ms. Jane Huntington is a specialist in the area of juvenile justice.

She is past Director of the Juvenile Justice Project of the American

Red Cross, and served as Juvenile Justice Coordinator for the

National Coalition for jail reform. Ms. Huntington has written widely

in the area of sexual crime and juvenile behavior.

Dr. Emanuel Landau is an epidemiologist and statistical analyst

vironment, served as the outside, anonymous, expert selected by the

American University to evaluate project methodology.

Ms. Laura Lederer is Program Officer for the L_J. Skaggs and Mary

C. Skaggs Foundation, and one of the country’s leading experts on

pornography. She is author and editor of the well-known work Take

Back the Night: Women on Pornography, and in 1977 established the

i Women Against Violence in Pornography and Media

(WAVPM). Ms. Lederer’s unique knowledge of both grant manage-

ment and pornography research have been an invaluable asset to the

advisory board.

Dr. Richard Zakia is Chairman of the Fine Art Photography

Department of the Rochester Institute of Technology and brings to

the board his expertise on educational psychology, photography,

« %&

photographic education, and visual perception. Dr. Zakia published

numerous books and articles on photography and visual perception,

presented papers, lectures, and conducted workshops in the U.S. and

Canada as well as contributing an excellent analysis of photography

for the final Volume I Overview for the Reisman Report.

Supplementary Critiques:

ward Eichel, is a certified psychotherapist and consultant in

Health Education/Human Sexuality and Family Life Education in

New York City.

Gordon Muir, M.D., Director of Medical Communications at

Glaxo Research Laboratories is responsible for the evaluation of

medical research protocol and is also associated with the North

innea Smith, M.D., is a psychiatrist whose professional role in the

Collegiate Athletic Community involves the education of athletes and

coaches on the treatment of illicit drugs in mainstream, sexually

Comments of Members of the External Review Board

George Comstock, S.L. Newhouse

Professor of Publi-

I have reviewed the draft of your report of November, 1986,

1. The research meets the usual criteria and standards for such

cadeavors, and suffers from no problems or weaknesses not common

to the genre of research

represented.

2. Its findings should be of value to those interested in popular

culture, erotica or pornography, and the effects of erotica, por-

submission sponsoring agency as the draft of a final technical

scams Gils cap tae babel ts ealiiineeequiet ty Go Aanedann

University

I have reviewed the Executive Summary of your final project

and the letters that you sent me. ,

"YAS you know, Ihave sid joven jute ies spat of my

master’s course at the School of at The American University,

and I have in projects funded by the Office of Juvenile

Justice & ) son onoet Prevention, particularly dealing with carly

intervention I must advise you that I am no longer working

in juvenile justice; , a8 | observed to you in the initial stages of

the I believe your research would be of interest to child

workers as well as to any professionals who interact with

sex offenders. Again, as I have stated before, I find the “child

youthful

of particular interest. of cia

"Your raeach prs & ong! cote: anys ofc

research provides s data base of child images in “mainstream

erotica/ pornography” (which you state in your introductio= was a

purpose of this “exploratory research”). Though I am not a researcher

and cannot speak to the statistical methodology, my lay conclusion is

the same as Dr. Landau’s in that the “content analysis did adequately

test the hypotheses of the study regarding representation of children in

the three magazines with special reference to sexual and violence

contexts. The findings are clearly of interest but the possible adverse

effects from such presentation cannot therefore be inferred.

Dr. Zakir, also, points out that this was a “survey, a content

analysis,” and, as such, I agree that it ought to be published. Your

mainstream erotica/ pornography.

from Dr. Emanuel Landau’s Review*

Volume I of the report, which represents an overview of the

should have to understand the relevance of this project to the broader

issue. The introduction states that “The overall objective of the study

was to ascertain whether and to what extent representations of

children exist in Playboy, Penthouse and Hustler magazines. The

particular focus of the study was the depiction of “children” in sexual

and violent contexts.” This project, representing a content analysis of

the three mentioned journals, constituted an attempt to deal with the

broader issue of “The Role of Pornography and Media Violence in

Family Violence, Sexual Abuse and Exploitation and Juvenile

Delinquency.”

The study was designed as a longitudinal study. The report says

“Most importantly, the study provides an exhaustive analysis of the

roles played by children in Playboy, Penthouse and Hustler magazines

over time” (p.1a). .

I have reviewed Volumes II and Ill of the study entitled “A

Content Analysis of Playboy, Penthouse and Hustler” magazines with

special attention to the portrayal of children, crime, and violence with

considerable care. The review consisted of several examinations to

Having participated in several large-scale studies involving the

preparation of complex coding manuals and training of coders, |

project clearly demonstrated the awareness of the professional staff to

Principal

of the Study” (p.2).

The care attached to coding applied also to the data ing i

order to minimize the likelihood of error. Thus far, simple frequen ies

and cross-tabulations have been carried out. There are a large number

a). en eanetliched tabelations avaliable from the project files

The meticulous care with which the project attempted to deal with

the “overall objective of the study...was to ascertain whether

and to what extent representations of children exist in Playboy,

which the Conic att” magazines. To describe the eaviroaments in

which the depictions occurred, the portrayal of crime and violence

without children was also studied” (p.3). -

The pattern of training for specific questionnaires followed by

actual Coding represents, in my judgment, an excellent way to

maximize efficiency and minimize errors. The text notes that a guide

, content did the

hypothesis of the study representation of childrea in the

three magazines with special reference to sexual and violence

Laura J. Lederer

I write to congratulate you on the successful completion of your

study, “Children, Crime, and Violence in the Pictorial Imagery of

Playboy, Penthouse and Hustler. The Role of Pornography and

Media Violence in Family Violence, Sexual Abuse, and Exploitation,

and Juvenile Delinquency.” Your research is of tremendous value. It

possible to pinpoint the introduction of such i into the social

fabric. It also makes it possible to trace.the if ion of certain

and 11, to identify the race and religion of these children, as well as

their sex. The data can be identified for any one of the three

magazines, or a pooled figure representing all three magazines can be

found. The data also identify criminal and violent activities such as

rape, battery and murder. These data can be used by other

researchers, as well as police, child protection agencies, physicians,

nurses, clinical therapists, educators, government officials and others

who now work in various capacities to halt child abuse, child sexual

with processes, housed in a university, which took a

pp ie pene oe

As researcher, you set up the research parameters, tested

the final report, and I believe that our society will reap benefits from it.

Dr. Richard D. Zakia

Thank you for the opportunity to read your report on “The Role of

Pornography and Media Violence...” and to offer some comments.

First let me again state my position that the data you have gathered is

important and should be made available io serious researchers along

with valid qualifying statements and criticism you have included in

=e

Hy Ac ae ean amamn

1. Benchmark

Your data on the cartoons in Playboy, Penthouse and Hustler

provide a reference point that we never before had. This is important

for longitudinal studies and for possible comparison with other

— information; i.e., cartoons and visuals in other magazines.

The instruments you developed for your study and your approach

in establishing verbal categories for pictorial information can be very

helpful to others.

3. Correlations

Your findings on the number of cartoons in which the principal

child is “School age to puberty: elementary school age six through

eleven” raises an important question. Do national statistics on child

molesting reveal a similar situation. In other words are most children

that are molested between the ages of six-cleven?

4. Cartoonists

Of the several cartoonists mentioned, the one most often used vy

Hustler magazine was Dwaine B. Tinsley by a margin of twice the

next most used cartoonist. Can the Tinsley cartoons be isolated and

studied between the years 1974 to 19847 This could uncover useful

information regarding cartoon codes and possible changes which

might have Do cartoons such as Tinsley’s have historical

precedence? Having done some visual research in the Kinsey Library

on Sex and Human Reproduction at the University of Indiana, |

believe they do and can be identified in the collection of pornographic

visuals available there to researchers. Some of these visuals are by weil

known artists of earlier years.

‘ Stmdtar but Different

The cartoons in all three magazines although somewhat similar are

also different. Playboy for example is more vertal while Hustler is

visual. Hustler cartoons also portray more violence and

contain ethnic slurs. How do other “girlie” magazines compare?

6. Syatax

The placement of cartoons on a page along with specific articles

and advertisements, the size of the cartoons, left page vs. right page,

black-and-white vs. color is of significance and provides information

not previously availa\ <<. Your “eye scan” data points out the

importance of judging the cartoons for not only what is within the

7. Body Validation

Your proposed Body Validation instrument could be very useful to

researchers in the field. What we see, and sometimes often mistake as

a photograph of a nude woman, is often a retouched photograph with

“visual transplants”. By that I mean we now have the technology to

create a real, imaginary, fantasized perfect nude woman. Computers

can store pictorial body parts, faces, noses, hands, legs, breasts, etc.,

and display them on a screen for an artist to composite. The final

fantasized Venus can then be directly transferred onto printing plates

snd then into magazines for the voyeuristic eye. The face of a 20-year-

old can be connected to the body of a 16-year-old. Your proposed

Body Validation instrument warrants further study and testing.

8. Comparisons

Do any of your findings support or question the voluminous Meese

J. Gordon Muir, M.D.

Le rany mclgesd i ee nee rane

“Children, Crime in the Pictorial Imagery of Playboy,

Penthouse and Hustler.”

By way of background, I am a physician with six years

of

in the clinical research departments of two of this

ey eet [ armncontical companion. I have been ensismat

director of development and associate director of medical

Laboratories. In this environment I have been fully exposed to the

principles and practice of sound medical research and its proper

presentation. I have also been lately associated with the North

Carolina Chapter of the National Committee for Prevention of Child

Abuse, and partly because of this interest and what I recently have

been learning about child abuse, I feel that the subject of your research

is important, timely and of considerable public interest.

Just as physicians (and the public) have had a growing interest in

the role of television in child abuse (see Wharton and Mandell,

Pediatrics, June 1985), there would undoubtedly be a similar interest

in the role, if any, of mainstream . Now, for the first time,

major documentation has been provided regarding how children are

depicted in mainstream pornography and how images of children are

related to situations of nudity, abuse, crime and violence. This has to

be an important body of data and an important first step, if the

of data collection has been sufficiently rigorous. My

exacting.

for the future, I would concur with the statistical reviewer, Dr.

Landau, that this is “a sound study providing high-quality data in a

an an ee See sound

My chief conclusions from reading this report are as follows:

1. Children have been extensively sexudlized in mainstream

pornography. Documentation of this point slone is an important

finding.

2. It is clearly established that there has been a pictorial

trivialization of child sex , in cartoous. And as

Harrisou is quoted as saying in this report: “The cartoon is a unique

force in modern society.”

Socialization of other taboos, in cartoons especially, is also

documented.

Bearing in mind that everyone is influenced in some way by what

they see and read, it is absolutely essential that the impact of these

child on both adults and children be further in-

vestigated. We are not dealing here with the content of television soap

oi 9~

operas, etc. but with a pictorial medium that is seen to have a record of

portraying the breaching of the most sensitive social taboos as a

subject for humor. Serious investigation of the impact of this should

now begin.

I commend you and your staff for an admirable execution of a

complex task performed in a relatively short period of time. I look

forward to the Department of Justice making this report available to

the medical and child-welfare communities, as well as to the general

There has been

These publications target juveniks as an important part of their

and aggressively market their product to this segment of

sexual identity. Your analysis of the depictions of children in a sexual

and/or violent context is especially pertinent. Recent surveys confirm

Research examining the effect of precocious exposure to por-

oa children’s attitudes and behavior is seriously inadequate.

must be assumed vulnerable to adverse health consequences

unless and until proved otherwise.

currently in the possession of American University ity i

you or made available to other researchers. emmee

:

:

;

i

“Images

Playboy, Penthouse and Hustler

Magazines.” A full report is to follow, but in summary I feel your

which childhood fantasies and heroes are used. As in the series of

increasingly more explicit using Wizard of Oz characters, it

seems that is to be more and more outrageous.

°

_ Repeated exposure to sexual scenes with adolescent (or younger)

the man had been keeping at bay. There is also an inherent permission

pata pe ob Nea co. oe

media. Of particular concern relationship of step-parent to

step-child, particularly stepfathers and

As mental health professionals, we can that pornography

has deleterious effects on some individuals. First of all, some men may

have difficulty separating the use of women as sex objects from their

everyday dealings with women in their lives. This comment pertains

to pornography in general. The use of childhood heroes and fantasies

adds even more complexity to the problem.

One possible dangerous effect of these pictures is that they

disinhibit the prohibition, making less secure people more aware of

inappropriate sexual feelings and more confused about what to do

about them. Repeated exposure to sexual scenes with adolescent (or

younger) girls could stimulate hidden sexual feelings towards young

girls which the man had been keeping at bay.

There is also an inherent permission given to indulge in this kind of

sexual behavior when viewed in the media. Of particular concern is

the relationship of step-parent to step-child, particularly stepfathers

and stepdaughters. These pairs do not share a long history of

nurturance; often a stepfather first meets his prospective stepdaughter

as she is entering puberty. In fact, the literary story of Lolita describes

a situation where the stepfather married the mother because of his

attraction to her daughter. Without a history to help suppress sexual

feelings, these pairs often must consciously do so. To have media

present scenes of child seduction may make it more difficult for men

to consciously suppress these feelings.

The magazine editors will surely say they are only interested in

stimulating fantasy, not illegal acts. But to a person who has difficulty

separating fantasy from reality, the magazine gives tremendously

confusing messages; for instance, some men may use the presence of

these scenes as support for the notior that “women must like this or

they wouldn't have posed for it.”

If...adolescents view confusing pictures of “sexualized children” or

cartoons about adult men, often fantasy heroes (especially Darth

Vade-) sexually using children, their dual developmental drives of

becoming sexual as well as nurturant adults may blend, blur and be

confused. . adding visual portrayal of child sexual abuse may indeed

trigger actual acting out, particularly in younger teens who have not

-16-

- ee

twenty of experience as a

heart of the matter, Let me identify several points that I wish to touch

on:

literature are an

elite

CONTENT ANALYSIS OF IMAGES OF

CHILDREN, CRIME AND VIOLENCE

IN PLAYBOY, PENTHOUSE AND HUSTLER

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

ABSTRACT

i erotica/ pornography is generally said to portray non-

violent adult female nudity for an adult audience. However, a content

analysis of Playboy (N=373), Penthouse (N=184), and Hustler

(N=126) magazines, December 1953 to December 1984, yielded

6,004 child images as well as an estimated 14,854 images of crime and

violence. Received both by juvenile and adult readers, newsstand

available child imagery in the context of erotica/pornography

increased nearly 2,600% (16 to 412) from 1954 to 1984 peaking in

1978 at 465 newsstand available depictions. y two-thirds of the

child scenarios were sexual and/or violent; the dominant age bracket

3-11 years; girls more prevalent than boys and most likely associated

with adult males; and racial portrayals almost exclusively Caucasian.

Close to 1,000 sexual scenarios included children with adults; 80% of

the children were actively involved in all scenes; and each magazine

portrayed children as unharmed and/or benefited by adult-child sex.

Juxtaposed with some 50,000 images of adult female nudity, the

6,004 child depictions were also associated with 14,854 images of

adult crime and viole:.ce. In the latter, young-edult Caucasian males

and females were equally victimized with primary offenders young-

lication genre 1954 to 1 Playboy averaged 17 monthly

depictions of children, crime and violence. Since 1975, the addition of

Penthouse and Hustler increased the newsstand available aggregate to

111 monthly depictions of children, crime and violence. In sum, these

magazines paired adult female nudity with images of children, crime

and violence, for millions of juvenile and adult readers for over three

decades.

INTRODUCTION

The concept of true democracy presumes both freedom

information and adequate public access to truthful information. In

nography (E/PP has been publicly accessible. purpose of this

exploratory research has been to provide the juvenile justice systems

and the public requisite information for informed debate on

é

='™

Justice in Washington, DC. Volume I (503 pages) is

The Overview. This volume incorporates a large body of important

project materials contained in Volume II,

delinquents upon growing con

regarding the role of E/P in child sexual abuse, and the preliminary

-19-

erotic/ pornographic magazines read by both juveniles and adults.

Why Study Mass Media Communication?

Communication researchers tend to debate particular ways in

agree that any communication process has some effect on receivers:

(Tn most general terms, communication implies a sender, a

channel, a message, a receiver, a relationship between sender and

receiver, an effect, [and] a context in which communication occurs.’

It follows from the above accepted body of communication theory

that E/P messages effect receivers in some manner and thus are

violence.

Why Study the Depiction of Children?

Children have historically been exploited in pornogrephy.'? Yet,

prior to this research, it was generally believed that such exploitation

found on the fringes of society. Research confirms that hardcore child

pornography is nearly always of a sexual nature, and that it constitutes

a form of child abuse. The current research effort, however, sought to

identify nonsexual and sexual depictions of children as well as

depictions of crime and violence in “softcore” or mainstream

erotica/ pornography.

-20-

ee se ee ee

Why Study the Depiction of Crime and Violence?

The general public has expressed its concern about the juxta-

position of violence and sex within one medium. For example, in the

Newsweek Poll by Gallup (March 18, 1985) 73 percent of respon-

dents believed explicit sexual magazines, movies and books lead some

people to commit rape or other sexual violence while 93 percent

called for stricter control of magazines displaying sexual visual

violence. Moreover, the concern about the association of sex and

violence is supported by the body of research on media depictions of

crime and violence. Here, it is generally conceded that gratuitous

depictions of crime and violence have been known to precipitate

aggressive behavior.'? The present investigation: a) established the

general context of crime and violence in which child depictions also

appeared, and b) captured information on both the nonsexual and

sexual depictions of crime and violence in the context of mainstream

erotica/ pornography.

Why Study Cartoons?

Approximately two-fifths of the images examined were cartoons.

Research confirms that adult readers of E/P magazines commonly

rate cartoons as favorite features, while further evidence suggests that

juveniles are also drawn to the cartoon feature.'* The cartoon has its

own artistic and historic tradition. By its very nature, the cartoon

has a way of overstating, stereotyping and exaggerating its case.

Similar to other art forms, the cartoon demonstrates a view of life, of

an issue, of an event, or of a people. While appearing as light and

guileless humor, the vast body of cartoon research documents

cartoons as a sociopolitical art form. It is speculated that some sort of

“Socialization of Taboo Ideas” often used the cartoon format to a)

circumvent readers’ resistance by b) humorously trivializing existirg

taboos. Based on its historical and popular role in mainstream E/P, an

examination of E/P cartoon messages about children, crime, and

ol ig

Why Study Photographs?

Almost half of the total images examined were photographs.

Photographs are generally viewed as accurate fair representations of

METHODOLOGY

1. Development of Instrumentation: Utilizing standard content

analysis methodology, four discrete instruments were designed, tested

and implemented: |) child cartoons (excluding comic strips), 2) child

visuals (illustrations and photographs), 3) crime and violence

cartoons (excluding comic strips and child cartoons), and 4) crime

and violence visuals (illustrations and photographs, excluding child

visuals). The final child cartoon instrument contai: 2d 114 variables,

child visuals 75, adult crime and violence cartoons 35, and adult

crime and violence visuals 49, yielding 273 variables and 12,126

cases.

2. Coders: Twenty-two coders over 21 years of age were employed

(64 percent female, 36 percent male, 14 percent Black, 86 percent

Caucasian, 95 percent college graduates). The project retained a

3. Training. Coders learned Critical Viewing Skills via great works of

art. Following this, content analysis training followed the Krippen-

dorff process. Each coder underwent test trials and group training

blocks in the use of the “Coder’s Portfolio;” coding instruments,

coding manuals and sheets, the Cartoon/ Visual Guide, the Emotional

Expression Guide (EEG), and the Age Evaluation Guide (AEG).'*

4. Materials. From December 1953 to December 1984, all issues

Ne ee eee

Penthouse (N=184) and Hustler (N=126). Magazines missing in the

calleation Suse ended 48 ie Rinatp 66 Gouna, th @2 conn

random sample was coded for depictions of cartoon and visual crime

and violence.

5. Magazine Distribution and Instrument Handling. Coders received a

random distribution of magazines in their library carrels, marking

instruments with a red pen and personally initialing any changes in

analysis. A random selection of two coding sheets per coder per week

were checked for accuracy, original coding sheets copied and held in

locked metal cabinets for safety while originals were batched and

delivered for key punch and data entry to the contracted key punch

agency.

6. Inter-Rater Reliability Measures. inter-rater reliability was com-

puted at 0.87 in the pilot study and , 0.85 for child

cartoons, 0.83 for child visuals, 0.81 for crime and violence cartoons,

and 0.85 for crime and violence visuals.

CONCLUSIONS

The present research findings quantify the nature of children, crime

and violence imagery in over three decades of , Penthouse and

Hustler magazines. Sexual and nonsexual child depictions and sexual

and nonsexual crime and violence depictions were common themes

throughout all three magazines. The pairing of these themes over time

=22-

with images of adult female nudity and graphic sexual display are

pertinent to the current debate on erotica/ pornography.

Contrary to popular belief, the depiction of sexual and nonsexual

child abuse has not been limited to “hardcore” pornography. It is

Since May 550 chitan hase tnitianenenehos detonation

i

i

|

concern that the present research documents a contextual association

female

RECOMMENDATIONS

Dissemination of Information

These findings should be provided to public agencies, educators,

policymakers, parents and juveniles. Distilled into dispassionate,

concrete components (i.e., charts, graphs, statistical tables and

explanatory narrative), the information is now ready for public

access. Such access means that both adults and juveniles may

objectively assess, critique, and debate this issue without requiring

exposure to primary sources.

Education

Evidence and anecdote confirm extensive juvenile and adult

exposure to, and reliance upon, the informal sex education provided

by these magazines. Thus, it is only realistic to implement these

research data into nonexplicit, nonexploitive school programs as well

as other modes of juvenile guidance. The findings should be provided

in wholesome educational formats using slide presentations, booklets

and videotapes (a preliminary videotape has already been prepared

by the Principal Investigator). The use of underage models by the sex

industry, the entry of increasing numbers of juveniles into prostitution

and the growth of juvenile pregnancy suggest the need for a critical

examination of the notions of sexuality which have been and are now

presented to youngsters by these informal sex education materials.

Use of the suggested educational formats addressing mainstream

erotica/ pornography could facilitate creative discussion by youth

regarding the role of these materials in juvenile sociosexual behavior.

8 | Gentes On h findi eo

site data collection should be conducted. Techniques devsloped for

data collection should be taught on several levels: justice, law

=2he

recommendations proposed by the Attorney General's Commission

oa y (1986) are all strongly supported. The content

analysis of Playboy, Penthouse and Hustler uncovered a steady

escalation of graphic depictions from 1954 to 1984 progressing from

simple female nudity to those described by the Attorney General in

his discussion of obscenity:

child pornography, sado-masochistic scenes, rape scenes,

depictions of bestiality or excretory functions, and violent

and degrading images of explicit sexual conduct...

Arguments supporting mature age-of-consent parameters for sex

industry employees appear to be reasoned and compelling, based as

they are on the notion of youthful vulnerability. As the three

magazines examined do include substantial displays of the above

activities singled out by the Attorney General Meese in his October

23, 1986 press conference, it is proposed that Playboy, Penthouse and

Hustler magazines be included in the Commission’s recommendation

that sex industry models be twenty-one years of age or older.

Similarly, publishers should be required to maintain records proving

that models are twenty-one years or older.

In addition, a voluntary moratorium of child depictions (in

cartoons, illustrations and/or photographs)—by all sex industry

publications—is urged until such time that sophisticated research

a

otes

1. Letter from James Madison to W.T. Barry (August 4, 1832), reprinted

in The Complete Madison 337 (S. Padower ed. 1953).

2. The slash in “erotica/pornography” (E/P) is intended to indicate a

separation or a bridge between erotica and pornography. For the definition of

E/P in the present research, see Reisman's Overview of Project (Volume 1),

“Working Definition,” (p.27). For additional definitions, see “Central

dumm salmteatnapaimatatal

3. Sos to example, Newsweek Poll by Gallup (March 18, 1985), wherein

73 percent of respondents believed explicit sexual magazines, movies and

x=

books lead some people to commit rape or other sexual violence while 93

percent called for stricter control of magazines displaying sexual visual

violence.

4. See for example, Playboy (1985, December): “If other magazines are

publishing cartoons of ‘gang rapes of children, fathers sexually abusing

daughters, benevolent or father figures raping or murdering young girls,’

Playboy never has, never will” (p.16). For evidence to the contrary, see

Overview of Project (Volume I), “Appendices A-L.”

5. See for example, commentary by Senators (1985, May). In Reisman

[Statement], Oversight [Hearing] of the Office of Juvenile Justice and

Delinquency Prevention. Committee on the Judiciary (Serial No. J-99-23),

(pp. 152-175). Said Senator Spector: “This subcommittee has reviewed a

great deal of this kind of literature, I have never seen an actual picture of a

crime being committed against a child” (p. 64).

6. See Bat Ada (Reisman) and Lederer (1980). Playboy isn’t playing: An

interview with Judith Bat Ada. In L. Lederer (Ed.) Take back the night

Women on pornography (pp. 111-124).

7. For more extensive information see Overview of Project (Volume I:

Literature Review): “Research on Child Abuse” (pp. 62-67.), and “Research

on Erotica/ Pornography as an Information Delivery System”; “Research on

the Role of Erotica/Pornography Among Children and Adolescents” (pp.

28-30).

8. Ibid. “Research on Mass Media as an Information Delivery System”

(pp. a and “Content Analysis as a Mass Media Research Technique”

(pp. 55-58).

9. See McQuail and Windahl (1981). Communication models for the study

of mass communication (pp. 3-4).

10. See the Attorney General's Commission on Pornography, (1986, July),

p. 916. Also see Hass’ research Teenage Sexuality: A Survey of Teenage

Sexual Behavior (1979). In chapter 12, “Ti * Responses to Por-

nography” (pp 154-161) teenagers discuss the inf uences of erotica/por-

nography (particularly Playboy ) in their personal and sexual lives.

11. For more extensive information see Overview of Project (Volume |:

Literature Review): “Research on Erotica/ Pornography as an Information

Delivery System” (pp. 22-29), and “Market Research on Playboy, Penthouse

and Hustler” (pp. 59-61).

12. Ibid. “Research on Child Abuse” (pp. 62-67), and “Research on the

role of erotica/ pornography among children and adolescents” (pp. 28-30).

13. Ibid. Reference is made to crime and violence in “Research on

Erotica/Pornography as an Information Delivery S ” (pp. 22-30),

“Research on children, television and aggression” (pp. 32-38), and “Content

Analysis as a Mass Media Research Technique” (pp. 55-58), and “Research

oa Child Abuse” (pp. 62-67).

14. Ibid. “Research on Cartoons and Humor as an Information Delivery

System” (pp. 39-44).

ee a ne ere Delivery System”

(PP. ).

16. For extensive information see Reisman’s Methods and Procedures

(Volume II). In addition, the “Research Parameters and Limitations (RPL)”

are located in Overview of Project (Volume I, pp. 68-117).

-26-

17. For extensive data presentations, see Reisman's Data Book (Volume

II). A compendious overview of Selected Findings and Discussion of

addition, the ee oe oe

seven the

project are discussed in (Volume I, pp. 163-185). ag

18. For additional information on the Child Magnet sutdy, see Overview of

Project (Volume I: Preliminary Studies), “Child Magnets,” (pp. 163-169).

19. This quote is from the Washington Post article “Meese forms anti-

pornography task force” by H. Kurtz (October 23, 1986, p. A21).

20. The concept of a voluntary moritorium was raised by the Principal

(Ed.

(pp. 104-109). Hudson, GEM.

Bat Ada (Reisman), J.A. (1985, May-June). Massive Pornography comes

to Israel in last five years, reports Judith Bat-Ada in Lilith: Involves Children.

Media Report to Women (13), 9-10.

Women on Pornography (pp. 111-124). New York: Bantam Books.

Bat Ada (Reisman), J.A. (1978-79). Freedom of speech as mythology, or

‘quill pen and parchment thinking’ in an electronic environment. New York

Review and Social Change, VIII (2), 271-279.

Gallup. (1985, 18). Newsweek.

The Washington Post (p. A21).

McQuail, D., & Windahi, S. (1981). Communication models for the study

of mass communication. New Y ork:

Padower, S. (Ed). (1 — Madison. New Y ork: Harper

C.R. Hartman (Eds.), Sexual patients by health professionals

(Sexual medicine, Vol.4) (pp.107-119). New York: Praeger.

Reisman, J.A. Children, Crime and Violence in the Pictorial Imagery of

Playboy, Penthouse, and Hustler (1967). (aka: “Role of Pornography and

media violence in family violence, sexual abuse and exploitation, and

Vebome 1 IL tad til (Projet Ne 84-JN-AX-ROOT)

massa

LA (I

and magazines with special attention to the portrayal of children,

crime, and violence. In H. Hudson (Chair), Hearing on Pornography and

Organized Crime. Supplementary testimony requested by The United States

Attorney General's Commission on Pornography, New York (p. 1402).

Reisman, J.A. (1985, November). A content analysis of Playboy,

Penthouse and Hustler magazines with special attention to the portrayal of

children, crime, and violence. In H. Hudson (Chair), Hearing on Child

. Testimony delivered to The United States Attorney General's

Commission on Pornography, Miami.

Reisman, J.A. [Statement] (1985, May). Oversight [Hearing] of the Office

of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention. Committee on the Judiciary

(Serial No. J-99-23), (pp.152-175). Washington, DC: U.S. Government

Office.

Reisman, J.A. (1985). Mass media sex/violence and women and

children’s civil rights: An cye toward the future. In A. W. Burgess (Ed.), Rape

and sexual assault: A research handbook (pp. 365-373). New Y ork: Garland.

Reisman, J.A. (1984). Children in Playboy, Penthouse and Hustler. In D.

Scott (Ed.), Proceedings of the symposium on media violence and por-

research an international perspective: Procedings resource handbook and

research guide (pp. 116-125). Toronto, Ontario: Media Action Group.

Reisman, J.A. (1983, January). An investigation ‘_:2 peer and media drug

contagion in Isreal: Three point evaluation and probable forecast scenarios

(Science Ministry Grant). Proceedings of the Second International Congress

on Drugs and Alcohol (unpublished). Tel Aviv.

Reisman, J.A. (1983, January). Fahshizm Technokrati: B’Hokra L’ Arik

Frome [Erich Fromm and ‘technocratic fascism.’}. Hachinuh HaMeshutaf-

HaMachlaka i'‘Chinuch HaKibbutz HaArtizi (Journal of Educational

and female identity. Women Speaking, 4-6. Londor

Shepher, J. & Reisman, J.A. (Bat Aaa) (1985). Pornography: A

a attempt at understanding. Ethology and Sociobiology, 6,

Staff, (1985, December). Playboy, 32 (12).

U.S. Department of Justice. (1986, July) Aforney General's Commission

on Pornography, Volume IT (Publication No. 0-158-351). Washington, DC:

Government Printing Office, p. 1402.

*The bibliography is limited to references in the executive summary and

the first author's pertinent writings. A comprehensive bibliography is

included in the Overview of Project, Volume L

rl a a

A BRIEF ANALYSIS

OF THIRTY-SIX CHILD SAMPLE

CARTOONS AND PHOTOGRAPHS

FROM PLAYBOY, PENTHOUSE

AND HUSTLER

WASHINENIAN

CHILDHOOD?

Whatever happened to childhood? The above Washingtonian

cover portrays two five- to six-year-old children, apparently siblings

perusing Playboy magazine. This picture may be seen as a dramatiza-

tion of actual data which identify Playboy, Penthouse, and Hustler

magazines as primary sources of sexual education, entertainment,

stimulation and guidance for child and adult consumers. Our research

considered these magazines with due regard for their widespread,

long-term use as sex education by children as well as adults. Small

children (and some adults) are often unable to read, and thus attend to

pictures more than to captions. With this in mind, project analysts

(coders) were trained to mask off captions before determining the

pictured children’s ages. Until “caption masking” was standardized,

the age-inappropriate nature of much child text and imagery

commonly caused coders to inflate children’s ages by more than five

years (e.g. judging a four-year-old as nine-years, etc). It is similarly

urged that readers mask the captions of the attached 36 sample images

to assess child ages. (To guide objective analysis we developed the

Age Evaluation Guide presented in Volume II of the final “Reisman

Report.”) Remember, it can be said that images are more speedily

received and longer retained by the brain than is text.

The Principal Investigator’s analysis reflects a) Ph.D. in Speech

Communication from Case Western Reserve University with a

specialty in mass media effects, b) expertise as a multi-media art

educator for the Cleveland Museum of Art, the Milwaukee Public

Museum, the Los Angeles Skirball Museum, and Scholastics Maga-

zine, New York, and c) an award-winning professional career

creating educational “music videos” for both public and commercial television.

Space limited this analysis to children and See The Institute

for Media Education (TIME) for a portfolio of sample crime and

violence cartoons and visuals in the three magazines.

I. PLAYBOY “DRUG EDUCATION”* CARTOONS

Education: Cultivation and training, as of the mind, the acquisiti.n or

imparting of knowledge...mental training along a certain !ine.

1) Grandmother Enjoys Marijuana (9/72, p.195). A hip

grandmother enjoys the modern amenities of marijuana suggesting

both the hominess and the harmiessness of drugs for juvenile and

adult readers.

*NOTE: COVER THE CAPTION FIRST. NEXT, READ TEXT

AND DETERMINE THE AGE OF CHILDREN IN CARTOON.

Based upon a found perceptual/behavioral bias toward inflating

children’s ages in cartoons due to precocious captioned language, it is

crucial to cover captions for a more accurate assessment of children’s

chronological ages.

-30-

2) ng yng yt gy = Gp aftind ge 9 adage

brothers, about ten years of age, link the joys of Christmas with

marijuana use, suggesting both the hominess and the harmiessness of

drugs for juvenile and adult readers.

3) Women Enjoy Illicit Drugs (6/77, p. 201). Women describe use

ee eee ey es eee Fa, party

entertainment, suggesting advantages of “recreational” use

for both juvenile and adult readers. —

4) Parents Enjoy Marijuana (3/70, p.221). Parents and other

“elders” learn to enjoy youthful drugs, suggesting both their hominess

and the harmlessness for juvenile and adult readers.

The four cartoons in this st are themes representative of the data

on child and drug images in Flayboy, as well as those in Penthouse and

Hustler (see the “Reismaa Report” Volume [I]. Hundreds of

cartoons, fiction and editorials educate readers to the notion that child

and adult drug users are adventurous risk-takers who do no harm to

self or society. Documentation of Playboy's funding and legislative

lobbying role for NORML (National Orgauization for the Reform of

Marijuana Laws) and for the decriminalization and acceptance of all

illicit drugs in the USA, is available through The Institute for Media

Education (TIME).

il, PLAYBOY CHILD “SEX

EDUCATION” CARTOONS

5) Implied Incest (3/72, p.163). The “Teddy” cartoon is a full

page color image describing a xual scene between a female child

and a male adult. The story takes place in mid-day (based upon the

light violet of the window scene) and in a middle to upper class home

(based upon the dormer window, well kept furnishings, violet wall-

to-wall carpeting, clear possession of room by the lone child, etc.) The

artist, Ffolkes, typically draws this child in his cartoons: a girl of about

breast development, her polka-dot hair bow and yellow

curls complete an look. Since the exag-

young child by simultaneously linking breasts with a child-like face

Se ae aoe, dy

The story is of child sex for money (prostitution). Cartoonist

Ffolkes has the child cheerily blame her “teddy” for the unexpected

Price, portraying the youngster as mercenary and more clever than the

atic

adult male offender. Thus, Ffolkes “equalizes” the child and adult in

his drama, suggesting that the male, not the child, may be victimized,

tricked and exploited. In addition, the casual safety of the man’s

mid-day entry into the bedroom of the already nude female child and

his shock at a charge (blamed on “teddy”), would imply some sort of

kinship pattern; father, uncle or step-dad, etc. Some may question the

incest implication or prefer to see this as an adult prostitute dressing as

a child, an equally problematic “joke”. However, a complete review

of Ffolkes’s 35 child cartoons presents an identifiable artistic pattern

of nude female children in bed with men, women and other adult

family members (e.g. “Uncle William”). Furthermore, as Playboy has

become aware of the Reisman research activity, Ffolkes has lately

abandoned these child-adult sex dramas for other themes.

It is relevant that the male’s appearance, his age, race, white collar

and blue surge suit, identify him as a similar profile to millions of

Playboy readers. This child molestation drama suggests intercourse

may occur and is part of a documented Playboy claim of adult-child

sex harmlessness.

Reality is in contrast to the Ffolkes humor mythology. For, should

a child of this age be penetrated by the sex organ of such an adult

male, the child would commonly sustain significant, often permanent,

physical (as well as emotional) trauma. Here, as throughout hundreds

of similar “jokes,” children are seen as sex objects for some normal

and pedophile juvenile and adult readers.

6)Uncle/ Incest (5/74, p. 205). As in “Teddy”, Ffolkes again uses a

young child (adding a bow, curls and exaggerated breasts) for an

incest/ trickery /statutory rape story. Ffolkes has the child describe an

statutory rape by her overweight, elderly, uncle as a fun

game. Typical of most Playboy child sex abuse humor is the adult use

of “games” to trick children into first degree sex assault with no

physical or emotional harm resulting to the child.

7) Sexual Molestation (10/71, p. 166). Note, Interlandi’s seven- to

ten-year-old child appears older than does Ffolkes’s youngsters (sans

Ffolkes’s exaggerated breasts). interiandi insinuates that his female

child is experienced with hands-on sexual molestation, for we are told

she is comparing this attack with those past. As in the “Teddy”

cartoon, the male offender (a tossled, now robed, neighbor, teacher,

uncle, friend, etc., lighting his “after” cigarette), is the more innocent

of the two characters. This Playboy sex education cartoon claims the

sexually savvy nature of the child who, as ‘ways, is not physically or

emotionally harmed by a man’s suggested .ull sexual assault.

8) Gang Rape by Adult Friends/Beast/Objects (3/78, p. 231).

Again Ffolkes uses the culture of childhood to set his scene. He places

his exaggerated breasts, bow and curls upon a “Dorothy” likely raped

by all three cheery Wizard of Oz friends. An immobile policeman

stands by providing no movement toward chase or arrest. This

particular sex and violence child assault joke is rare for Playboy as it

includes some suggestion of harm (although humorous) and sexual

force (versus trickery) of the child.

Ill: PENTHOUSE CHILD “SEX

EDUCATION” CARTOONS

9) Child Assault (11/76, p. 92) “Straight” sex between an apparent

adult and a five- or six-year-old is not seen as “deviant.” The

Penthouse sex education cartoon implies the child as mature,

mercenary, promiscuous and unharmed by sexual intercourse.

10) Prostitution/Homosexual/Orgy (2/79, p.60). Penthouse

proposes, as above, the precociously natural prostitution of children,

suggesting orgy/homosexual activity with adults as harmless and

funny. This child is seen to be about three to five years of age.

11) Statutory Rape by Object (5/84, p. 137). The use of fairy tales

by pornographers is discussed in greater detail in the “Reisman

Report” Volume I. Here Dorothy was depicted grinning, voluntarily

grasping the Straw Man with her arms and legs, while her two

protectors casually observe the activity. Again, the idea of “adult” and

bizarre sex as harmless to the child is the sex education presented.

12) Child Assault (11/82, p.171). Artist Bill Lee applies the

Ffolkes technique: very small child with exaggerated breasts. The

nude “conservative politician” in bed with the nude child suggests sex

has pleasantly taken place. As with “Uncle William,” (and Interlandi)

tne child places a happy phone call to mom while the man smokes his

“after” cigarette. Harmlessness of adults tricking children into sex is

the sex education presented.

IV: HUSTLER CHILD “SEX

EDUCATION” CARTOONS

13)Incest/ Father Assault (5/84, p. 15). Artist Dwaine Tinsley has

a father attack his teen-age daughter. She frightened but

14) Abortion (2/79, p.85). One of dozens of similar Hustler

abortion “jokes.” Hundreds of “birth” jokes in all three magazines

describe the genre’s systematic portrayal of birth as producing

generally illegitimate, deformed, and/or undesirable offspring.

-32- } o33=

15) Sexua! Assault in Children’s Public Space (3/77). This Tinsley

story provides “Chester the Molester” (a monthly feature) with a

playground victim. Noting the smiling face of the potential victim and

the unusual way in which the chiid’s legs are opened as she goes

toward Chester, Tinsley suggests here that children may seek, but

surely are unharmed by such sexual assaults. Children’s assault by

fathers/neighbors/uncles/Santas/politicians/ministers/fairy tale

friends, in the child's private space (home) and /or public space (e.g.

playground) is common in all three magazines. All three describe

children as sexual “targets” with neither a safe place nor an adult

person (male) they may expect to trust.

16) Kidnapping (10/77). Hustler generally builds stories

and his later cartoons often used much more graphic sexual

cmnien die tT However, the children here are treated with

as little concern for the harm of adult sex assault as are the Playboy

Ffolkes smiling children.

V: SANTA CLAUS (RELIGION) IN PLAYBOY

AND PENTHOUSE CARTOON HUMOR*

17) Cannibalism of Boy (1/77, p.221). Here Playboy's Santa

appears to have cannibalized a boy whose clothing is piled on the

floor at right. Santa's pointy, sharpened teeth and bloody handker-

chief clearly indicate the child was “dinner.” A separate study of the

treatment of religion and Santa, in all three magazines, identified the

treatment of these themes as systematically violent and deviant.

(Preliminary findings on this study are available from TIME).

18) Bestiality (1/79, p.360). *Bestiality between wives and the

family dog, etc., is a common Playboy theme and reported in the

findings under “crime.” It is noteworthy however, that one of the few

Rete denten ahs ness ean

The signifi mong icularty incledi a

millions of children, voluntarily and involuntarily, viewing these

magazines cannot be overstated.

*NOTE: This “childless” Santa cartoon (#18) is presented as a point

of information due to Santa’s emotional/spiritual role in most

children’s lives. Additional Santa analyses are available through the

institute (TIME).

afin

19) Sadistic Sexual Assault (12/74, p.87). Here the small girl in

Penthouse is portrayed as pained, and the lyric supports the notion

that a rape is taking place. Upcn closer inspection we find that while

Santa’s pants are down, the pants are still ON the child. “Public”

adult-child sex and violence (rape) is the suggested entertainment and

sex education theme. See Drs. Wambolt and Negley’s commentary

on this cartoon and 17 other images appendixed to Volume I of the

“Reisman Report ”

20) Child Murder (12/77, p. 208). Killing of boys is portrayed as

humorous in this bloody Penthouse image of a “good boy” shot by

Santa. The genre regularly uses Christmas and Santa as its holy or

spiritual reference. Hence, it is important to note that all three

magazines portray Santa consistently as an immoral, violating or

violated male.

VI: PLAYBOY CHILD “SEX

EDUCATION” PHOTOGRAPHS

21) Nude adolescent and “Rubber Ducky” (7/85, p.133).

Following the announcement of this research, although loudly

denying their history of child sex abusive imagery, Playboy and

Penthouse drastically reduced the numbers and nature of their

sexually assaultive images of children. This 1985 photograph was pert

of the genre’s many subtle attempts to retain the child in sexual scenes.

The yellow duck (called her “rubber ducky”) in this model's hand, the

oversized red high-heeled shoes (taken from mommie’s closet?), the

knock-kneed long, adolescent legs and narrow hip line, white

stockings with yellow duckies, and the suggestive text, testify to

Playboy's attempt to circumvent the juvenile and adult pedophile and

normal reader’s resistance to sexualized images of children, stimu-

22) Incest/Father/Rape (11/71, p.120). This incestuous photo-

graph has been assessed by computer air-brush experts as a cut-and-

paste image of both an adult female and a young child, air-brushed

together to arouse the reader by the child imagery. The pig-tails and

hair bows, Raggedy Ann, white bobby-sox and Mickey Mouse/nur-

sery rhyme sheets, are clear symbols to simulate the child. Moreover,

the calll to the reader/ fathers to force sex on their sleeping daughters is

blatant in this Playboy text (e.g., “Naturally, she digs forceful father

figures, 30 come on strong, Big Daddy!”). Again, as in the cartooned

sex/ violence images of Playboy, there is no suggested harm (physical

or emotional) to the alleged child from such a “forceful father figure.”

The double entendre of “come” on strong, urges fathers/readers to

use violence for full sex entry.

-35-

23) Incest/Rape (8/75, advertisement). This image of a developing

adolescent—apparently handcuffed for giving trouble to parents—is

especially meaningful due to the real life cases of such young women

and girls who have been tied to beds by parents or guardians and

forced to perform sexually. It is especially useful to note that this

photo is an advertisement for Playboy's once “harder” magazine, Oui,

which used even stronger child and violent sex educative material

than did Playboy. The incestuous and sadistic information links sex

and violence and again suggests that the young girl (Jane) is getting

what she deserves, with pleasure for all.

24) Simulated Lesbian/ Incest (7/81, p. 108). Photographer David

Hamilton provides Playboy with “private” scenes of (foreign) nude,

young girls whom he portrays as “cousins,” embracing and displaying

themselves for the reader’s entertainment. Publicly displayed images

of these youngsters (unsubstantiated as either cousins or lesbians) is

not presented as possibly harmful for the girl models now or later,

when they gain their age of majority.

25) Incest/Rape of “Retarded Nymphette” (11/76, p. 147). As in

cartoons, Playboy photos have generally utilized “themes” to exploit

child nudity. “Sex in Cinema” has been a theme which permitted

Playboy to “report” explicit pictures of nude children in foreign films

and/or sexually graphic but unscreened outcuts from American films.

This photo uncritically and glibly describes a “retarded nymphette”

about to be “ravished” by her “father” figure.

26) Incest/Father-Daughter (11/80). Using a now famous

actor/director and a well known child star, this film outcut portrays a

father apparently about to perform oral sex on his young daughter.

Again, Playboy’s text artfully suggests that incest is harmless for a

father or his child.

27) Adolescent and Simulated Lesbian (8/71). This typical

Hamilton photo-essay “peeps” at (foreign) young girls during the

“growth” stage. Hamilton poses the girls as self-exploring and lesbian.

Despite the documented abuse of nude models (from obscene phone

calls to violent rape-murder), the harmless, artistic nature of posing is

emphasized and no possibility of present or future harm to the young

girls from sex display is presented.

28) Teen Nude (8/78, p. 238). Relying upon the sexually mature

appearance of the youngster to legitimize the (now illegal) sexual

exploitation of an underage youth, Playboy knowingly used this nude

photo of Natassja Kinski at 17 years of age. The use of voluntarily

nude young “actresses” further undermines the sensitivity of readers

regarding the capability of young persons, such as 15-year-old

Penthouse pet Tracy Lords (9/84), to give consent to their irreversible

appearance in public sex displays. The Attorney General’s pending

legislation will require a 21-year-age-of-consent cap for nude/sex

models. Not surprisingly, the cap is opposed by the sex industry.

29) “Pseudo-Child” (4/76, cover). Fantasizing child sex for the

reader, Playboy dresses the explicit, sexually seductive, half-nude

adult in a white virginal petticoat, black patent Mary Jane shoes and

white tights, finishing with a little-girl blond hairdo. She sits on a

white bedroom rocker, encircled by child symbols in her pink, blue

and white wallpapered bedroom. Clutching her (surrogate Playboy

reader) white “bunny” to her full breast and surrounded by her small

crushable, vulnerable pastel-colored dolls and stuffed animals, she

gazes out at the reader with a little-girl, “come-hither” pout. Similar

semi-nude child-adults are now regular features in explicit

magazines, films and videos. (Note that this April 1967 Playboy is the

magazine our two little children are examining on the Washingtonian

cover.)

Each independently concluded that two, perhaps three bodies were

combined to create this cut-and-paste female image. The child

clothing and props were all carefully designed to create child arousal

prone be spe 1 ney oer te ay seme lage crepe ar

females. As in cartoons, technically deceptive photos suggest to both

normal and pedophile juvenile and adult readers that the child is a

woman and the woman is a child and thus both children and woman

may be envisioned as appropriate sexual objects.

30) “Peeping” (11/71, p.174). An ostensibly natural, “private”

scene of two nude youths in love provides public entertainment for

Playboy viewers. This may be said to undermine the sensitivity of

readers regarding the right of children to attain their majority before

giving consent to sex displays. These two youngsters are seen as under

18. The 21-year-age-of-consent is meant to provide youth with an

Opportunity to mature prior to being legally as at-risk nude

sex objects. That is, such models serve, i y, a8 a stimulus to

adil digg tia aaa taamammacaaas aaa

Vil: PENTHOUSE CHILD “SEX

EDUCATION” PHOTOGRAPHS

31) A 12-Year-Old Sex Object (1/76, p.54). This explicit

Penthouse display included graphic genital and anal exposure of an

apparent 12-year-old child. For several months following this photo-

story, Penthouse conducted a “guessing game” with prizes for readers

-36- ’ -37-

32) A Six-Year-Old Sex Object (1/81, p.133). This Penthouse

model's face alone (as it appeared in the opening photo of this

cartoons and later in photos has been a blurring of distinctions

between child and adult femaies as sexual objects for both

appropriate

normal and pedophile juvenile and adult readers.

Vill: HUSTLER CHILD “SEX

EDUCATION” PHOTOGRAPHS

33) Incest/Child Molestation (1/76, p. 82). Arguably, the small

boy has been manually stimulated to erection for this illegal,

“spontaneous” photo essay, implying the harmlessness of mother and

son sex.

34) Child Assault (2/75, p. 68). This extensive photo essay pictures

a nude young girl with a clothed middle-aged man. The youngster has

not attained pubic hair as yet. or it has been removed to suggest a

much younger child.*

35) Scout Display (10/76). Hustler often dresses their child or

adult sex models in Brownie, Girl Scout, Camp Fire Girl, Candy

suggesting that adult-child sex/ violence is fun and barmless physically

and emotionally for even the youngest of children.

THE 36 CARTOONS AND PHOTOS

HAVE BEEN OMITTED.

alice

SELECTED FINDINGS | Adult Crime and Violence Depictions

Child Depictions Basic Facts:***

Basic Facts: 42% (6,273) photographs

49% (2,971) photographs 36% (5,338) cartoons

34% (2,016) cartoons 22% (3,243) illustrations

17% (1,017) illustrations

PRINCIPAL AND OTHER ' VICTIM AND OFFENDER

CHILD CHARACTER Where depicted

Where Depicted 46% male 54% male

47% female 49% male 43% female SEX 22% female

32% male SEX 35% female 11% both/other 24% both/other

21% both/other 16% both/other

66% 18-39 years 57% 18-39 years

39% 3-11 years 78% adults 15% 40-60 years 17% 40-60 years

26% 12-17 years 7% 3-11 years 3% 61 + years AGE 3% 61 + years

16% fetus-2 years AGE 7% 12-17 years 16% unspec/ mixed 23% unspec/ mixed

14% pseudo children (*) 6% unspecified

5% unspecified 2% fetus-2 years

85% Caucasian 82% Caucasian

85% Caucasian 85% Caucasian 2% Black RACE 2% Black

3% Black RACE 3% Black 13% Other minority 16% Other minority

12% Other minority 12% Other minority

—— Crime and Violence Depictions: (Nonadditive)

Child Depictions (Nonadditive) violent props (Visuals only)

29% nude/genital display (visuals only) 32% nude and/or sexualized victims

21% visually exposed /sexualized 14% killing/ murder

20% genital activity 14% assault/battery

16% sexual encounter with adult 12% sex dealing/ prostitution

10% force 12% violent sex act

10% killing/ murder/ maiming 12% other violent activity

6% internal genital (“pink”) exposure (visuals only coded) 11% white collar crime

4% sex with animals/objects nae te Magestnn:

Share of Child Depictions by Magazine** Phe = 16 avg/issue (10% of cartoons/ visuals)

Playboy. 8 avg/issue (5% of Playboy cartoons/ visuals) Hustler. 32 avg/issue (26% of uals

Penthouse: 6 avg/issue (4% of Penthouse cartoons/ visuals) (26% of cartoons/ visuals)

Playboy highest year: 1976 (N=490, or 41 per issue)

Hustler. 14 avg/issue (12% of Hustler cartoons/ visuals) Penthouse highest year. 1980 (N=271, or 23

Playboy highest year: 1971 (N=187, or 16 per issue) Hustler highest 1984 (NoS68, - per issue)

Penthouse highest year: 1972 (N=131, or 11 per issue) “nen nti oniamaag

Hustler highest year: 1978 (N=228, or 19 per issue) AGGREGATE SHARE OF CHILDREN,

Over 9,000 scenarios in Playboy, Penthouse and Hustler were | CRIME AND VIOLENCE BY MAGAZINE

identified as depicting characters under 18 years of age. From this Playboy. 29 average per issue

population pool, a mere 6,004 scenarios met the project's unusually Penthouse: 22 average per issue

narrow criteria for the analysis of child depictions.’ Hustler. 46 average per issue

ie : it

| 1835 K Street, N.W. ® Suite 700 * Washington, D.C. 20006

* The description of “pseudo-child” provided in the Attorney 202/634-9821

General's Commission on Pornography (1986, Vol. I, p. 618) reads:

“Pseudo-child pornography or ‘teasers’ involve women allegedly over

the age of eighteen who are ‘presented in such a way as to make them

appear to be children or youths.’ Models used in such publicanions are

chosen for their youthful appearance (e.g., in females, slim build and

small breast); and are presented with various accountrements

designed to enhance the illusion of immaturity (e.g., hair in ponytails

or ringlets, toys, teddy bears, etc.). ‘Pseudo-child pornography’ is of

concern since it may appeal to the same tastes and may evoke

responses similar or identical to those elicited by true child por-

Se Rercstoutetitenbuases, eos Overview of Project (Volume I),

NATIONAL

CENTER FOR

M MISSING | "0% 2, 190¢

EXPLOITED

Table I, “Average Total Number of Features Per ine,” and ‘ JCHILOREN

ttt Sees teeter of Gemen Per Issue

Containing Child Imagery” (pp. 95-96). ,

*** For rationale of final 14,854 estimate, (originally 14,692) see Judith A. Reisman, Ph.D.

Overview Project (Volume 1), Table I, “Average Total Number of President

Data” 133), = = ely an gh The Institute for Media Education

“Cri Violence n ; P.O. Box 7494

ne wore we One Ariington, VA 22207

r : 7404 van iets Dear Judy:

Birmingham, AL

Permit No. 60

Many, many thanks for honoring our

request and providing at no cost the

hundreds of copies of the "Executive

Summary: IMAGES OF CHILDREN, CRIME AND

VIOLENCE IN PLAYBOY, PENTHOUSE AND

HUSTLER MAGAZINES" and for sending them

to our mailing lists of criminal

investigators working cases of missing

and sexually exploited children.

I have carefully studied the

Executive Summary and strongly urge all

those concerned with the welfare of

children to thoroughly review the

document and give heed to the many

disturbing implications contained

therein for the protection of children.

a=h2n -43-

This study must be read by all those

concerned with the ways pornography and

violence in the media affect the

incidence of child sexual exploitation

and abuse. In support of this thought,

you may like to know some of my

professional background and

investigational findings.

Prior to my coming to the National

Center as its Deputy Director, I was the

Program Manager for the

Louisville-Jefferson County KY Exploited

& Missing Child Unit. This

police/social work Team was the first in

the nation created to provide detection,

investigation, and protective services

on behalf of youth as well as

apprehension and prosecutory services

against adults criminally exploiting

children through prostitution,

pornography, or child sex rings in the

Louisville SMSA.

From July, 1980, through February

1984, the police/social work Team of the

E.M.C.U. investigated about 1,400 cases

of children suspected of being victims

of sexual exploitation. 542 (756) of

the children were found to be victims

and an addtional 312% (431) of the

children were considered probable

victims although lacking sufficient

proof for court proceedings.

During this time period, the

E.M.C.U. prosecuted hundreds of adults

for various crimes involving the sexual

exploitation of children. Over 40 major

cases involved the successful

rosecution of adults involved with over

2 children each. In one particular

case, investigators thought there were

-44-

up to 320 child victims. At the time of

arrest of and/or service of search

warrants, ALL of these adult predators

were found with various forms of adult

pornography and in most cases child

nudes and/or child pornography. Over 4

years, the E.M.C.U. Team learned to

expect to always find adult pornography

as such was used by the adult offenders

for their own sexual arousal, for self

validation of their own sexual

deviation(s), for extortion of child

victims or other adults, and for the

deliberate and planned lowering of

inhibitions of child victims.

Truly, the media you have

identified can be devastating in affect

in protecting children and gives real

cause for concern and study when child

erotica seems to be on the increase in

popular literature. Please keep in

touch with all current updates and new

initiatives.

Again, many thanks for the multiple

copies of the report and all your

efforts on behalf of children.

Cordially,

/S/ John

John B. Rabun, Jr., .ACSW

Deputy Director

Technical Assistance

-45-

Memorandum S

Subject

18 U.S.C. Sec. 2251 - 2252

To OJJDP Division Managers

Roberta Dorn

Mary Witten Neal

Ome

22 APR 1968

SS.

From Verne L. anctss Vl

Administrator, OJ

Please be advised that I have received a

memorandum from Charles A. Lauer,

General Counsel, regarding the report

"Images of Children, Crime and Violence

in Playboy, Penthouse and Hustler

Magazines, Executive Summary" that was

recently received in the Office.

Please review the following relevant

portions of the memo from the Office of

General Counsel and notify all of your

staff immediately:

"18 U.S.C. Sec. 2251-2252

provides criminal penalties for

certain acts involving the sexual

exploitation of children.

=46=

cc:

In connection with Judith Reisman's

Report, staff should be cautioned

that the knowing receipt or

distribution of certain visual

depictions (if the depictions are

of minors engaged in sexually

explicit conduct) contained in the

Report or the reproduction of these

visual depictions for distribution

through the mail, as provided in Sec.

2252(a)(1) and (2), may subject th

individual to the criminal pena’ -ies

provided in Sec. 2252(b).

Please advise all staff that the

report should not be duplicated or

sent through the mail."

Charlie Lauer

Diane Munson

Sharon Wagner

Joe Ellis

Kay McKinney

Buddy Howell

aiPa

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.