Amicus Curiae Brief — Martin v. Ohio

Supreme Court brief1987

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

In Che Supreme Court Of Che United States

OCTOBER TERM, [985

EFARLINE MARIIN, Petit

STATE OF OHIO, Respo

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF AM/CUS CURIA!

AND

BRIEF FOR OHIO PUBLIC DEFENDER COMMISSION

AS AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

RANDALL M. DANA

Ohio Public Detender

GREGORY L. AYERS

Chief Counsel!

Ohio Public Defender Comn

I ght East Long Stree

Columbus, On

(614) 466-5

Counsel of Re rd

RICHARD L. AYNES

MARGERY B. KOOSED

| DEAN CARRO

App ite R w OTT

NSE] mel 1 Af

DEFENDER

, *

= —r

; iG

, Lone

J D 7 TU a TTL Cm A

. mm» sts be , - >

— —

T 2 Q T’ 2M 4S

* - - 27 7’ 7

Mi 2T AT T + +

’ Aad A ; f

.

f

~~ sm, nT a

Wis Pr UCERILOURARL

Y, . IR” ‘i

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF

AMICUS CURIAE AND BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE

r . a i

ry 7 14 ~ lho * slal-hea

4 ru &» \ LJ i A i .

, 4 -

” _- > . £ ~ >

c - 2% ‘

~ - ~ / > 7s a ¥

- + ~ . . . "

i 4 >t amicus curlae 9 *-

A A i - ‘ — m» id A .

> > - + ~ 9 — ml. m + +

>| + .

i . A A

~ + + y + + 5 & ~ ~

| A L if

— _ _ . + - ++ + —- -

| A« L i |

+ . - + + +

y ’ ; Yr

Wa , A p I .

+ + ro Vik D .« T + .

i. I A _ \ i

- + _ - » ¢ .

+ - + y ~ +

. 2

A

rr

U4

“~

—

4

4

New York,

Patterson Vv.

.

amicus curiae

Petitioner's brief.

For these reasons, Amicus requests leave

ief amicus curiae in

ct

O

rh

-

rt

D

(Tt

y

D

0)

+

+

eu

”)

y

1

Ou,

Oo

|

~A aT rT ~ aT

. FAL VDALL M,. DANA

st" a) icocranntar

LO Public rei Cia A

GREGORY L. YERS

Chief Counsel

Ohio Public Defender

Commission

Eight East Lonc

lith Floor

Columbus, Ohio 43215

(614) 466-5394

U

cT

ry

T

i

COUNSEL OF RECORD

RICHARD L. AYNES

MARGERY B. KOOSEI

J. DEAN CARRO

COUNSEL FOR AMICUS CURIAE

OHIO PUBLIC DEFENDER

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

~ ry c ‘ c b = . -

lant to Rule 28.5(b) of this Court,

I O46 ot - lela t abt y A 1rTa Ya aq m > rm | a . - h > hn YY ~ +

y Wwiocus ¥ iJ « ry * a i LT LL Ol il / ¢ a 44

-rHI¢ Cart harahy "oOorr 1. rey -hK atv on te i a

Vilino VU & Foe 3 OD s > wee & s s id | _

. - . , - -

Cc VU ~T T17 Vv 4% + _ ) “YY 5c + ate -FaArae

Gada y OL VWuUd Y , - ; h . > 4 -il& i. IL =

_ ~ | =o ~ - - 4 TALLY ~

7 rarta@ ,<¢ y = + . ’ A ~ 2,

~ie wo me Ad “ a | ; baad ee .

- rrTe rm -

W T ~ = rc - ¢ - y 1 . se

atta WD p ~mw4 ULL Sy A 4 a 7 AMA wid

. 5 * -_ F . . - . . .

ia 3 iat ea: P } ) #7 sc + x me Kh -*" roof ’ ‘TS hale

D i Am ise a Ad CA ~ ‘. s - sf a - s\A fp

. 4 ~ 7 = _ 4

On] ~ 44 4 Caines +A» aririnnar.s ang - A

as a — a ad ~ a “Wh ad 2 ~- a 4s r - ~~ A s s ; aia a -

T JUN TY *ORRTI SAN oy ats lalates " — ss Dr Scarring

VU JTIW . « a A LVF! y er ALANS CA w\/\ALL LY Y » oo Ww oa’ & s+ 4

. ~ 5 ~

shalt alle taka t= hes Just weal" anrtroar in Onrarin

ALL AL st y # an. itv. & = . 5 me he SV ALGAAL &

. = | 5 ~ > > ~ * e

Cr rpapart QrtTa sY 4 a)... 44 a bhal-t— - _

" — — 7 — > ~* a 7 ~ é _— —_ - y a ee we 4 4 , ~ ~ ~

> - - - —

4 scr atatal “ > r irrnar ™ —~e + , o ,a + 5

‘ >VYVUIIU ° | LU i I > » && y - 1 LG a L

nar 1 sc ~ Vash. ’ + ro arte | AATO moc an

a i - ' A A\As i A , Ss oa WV A Lia Vv s

* _ a . . —

coaortraon Dat 1 & 3 nar ha ine Martintite anarc oC

/ 7. ¥ »~ * _ - ~ _ / . a. i) a. i @ 4&4 _ — de & eh ~~ -~ ~ »

= _ - °.9 + =

| an f ~ 7 ~Fr aro Rat yrma®t ~yu e oe W men A 4

4. > « is . m \~ ps 4m AL ~—/h Y | 4 + ‘ ae i.

+ rm

. ] , FT . Ax nr M -<7 erailit Sh A ANNAN

- =) ‘ > Q ' 4 d

~ Lt til . Vv AU , MA LY OVvVsA std P eas Ss JU ZU e

. " , y “atte .

+ rt } Aa 4 } mt

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Dp As" T

wy

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ..ccccseeenececes vill

"rv7ya ATO VW ae, r ~T?T marmn

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .cccccccceccvcccvee 2

ARGUMENT .ccccccccccccccseseseeceeces 4

rT. SINCE SELF-DEFENSE IS

CONSTITUTIONALLY PROTECTED

INNOCENT CONDUCT, AN ACCUSED

CANNOT BE REQUIRED TO BEAR

THE BURDEN OF PROOF ON THAT

ISSUB. ceoccccccesccceccccsccces 4

Il. PROOF OF SELF-DEF

NECESSARILY NEGAT

S SEVERAL

INGREDIENTS OF THE CRIME OF

>

AGGRAVATED MURDER. ..ccceccvcecs l

A. Mullaney and Patterson

. | 4

*7 ~

Analysis e*eeseeeee#ee#ee#ee#ee#e#ee#e#*#e##*#*##* # @ » @

— ' £ £ x ~ - -

B. Self-Defense Negate

r rr sein ln ~—_—

niawLlut ess Be ee eoe¢edceeees se 6 a

~ | S 7

~ F$unafance Ne FR

~ @ aS de & st —* L

oy . * _ + =

— (hr DD nro = >

Le 4 Lml 7. oe CLOnNaAUCT *eeee#ee#ee#ee# @ @

~ Zz: < \ a T

, Self-Defense Negates

\ 7 + rv +

the Voluntary Ac

Ti} Y m Tr 4

REGULTEMENT cece esereeevees :

~ 1+ nha =~ + ~ r

° Self-Defense Negates Botn

7 - As + aA =

seneral Intent and t

( F = - £ Drinr

specific Intent of Prior

%

“alculatl1on und Design ee . 4

7 ~ 7 nm + 4

A General Intent ..ccrccecece 4

T) B | __ ~~

Yo Prior Calculation and

Ves ign *eeeseeeeeeeeeeeee. =

[. DUE PROCESS REQUIRES THAT THE

STATE BEAR THE BURDEN OF

PROVING BEYOND A REASONABLE

DOUBT THAT THE ACCUSED'S

ACTIONS WERE UNLAWFUL AND NOT

rH

bo-4

J

T ELF-DEFENSE 7

IN SELE VMVOPrONoG.e *eeeeeeeeeeeee

~ NC ‘ce T SA ry

~ YN 4 7 +A LY oeeeneneeeeseeeeee#eeeee#eeses *eee J

srorrn T i. nr ~ =) = i on ™ _ P

4 ~ be re ene

— ~ dn & ~ ~ —/ Jay FV te we a“ + © *e®h—hcFrhUhCUchOhCUCchOrhCUchrhCUCchOrhCchOrhC OrhCrhChCUh]}LhUchOhUr

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

| or

DACRT

] G

rAwy

CASES:

Addington v. Texas, 441 U.S.

S618, 423 (1979) ccccvesececes 52

Ty

Bordenkircher, 6/74

Adkins v.

279 (4th Cir. 1982) ccc 23

~ 3

EF i.

eo & A

Allen v. United States,

| Cc 4Q% 12a2Q )

3 ~~ «© « 422 (1294) *“eeeeee#e

Barnes v. United States,

12 U.S 837 (1973)

i. Ve «

Beard v. United States,

oe B.f. Bee seen) «e6eeees

Boyd v. United States,

Li6 GU.B. GAS CASES) cocccerce

Cabana v. Bullock,

7 V6 Cc (> + hm UR ~

y ~~ - a & er we © / ; ~

we ole = IRE ~ E C

i he \A . i VV/ e#f8f @&@# @#@ #8# @# @# @ @ @ , a ,

Cherry v. Jago, 722 F.2d 1296

(6th Cir. 1983), Cert.

denied, U.S. __, 104

S.Ct. 3516 (1964) ccccccees 6

Coker v. Georgia, 43:3

584 (1977) é

*eeoeeee#ee#ee#e#e#e#ee#e#e#*##e## # @

Commonwealth v. Hilbert,

ee Ad ‘¢ “+

i. fie & NA a

Cooper v. North Carolina, 702

F.2d 481 (4th Cir. 1983) ... 23

Enmund v. Florida, 458 U.S.

TSA CAPES) cecccvesoseceeeee 33

Erwin v. State, 29 Ohio St.

186 (1876) *e cesses f&tets#te#e#t+st*#+2# # #*® #* @ 30,38

Filmore v. Insurance Co.,

82 Ohio St. 208, 92 N.E.

26 (1910) tet 0ceez2«s' e+e+#+e#t # © © © © © @ @ 26

Francis v. Franklin, 471 S

__, 105 §.Ct. 1965, 85

bbcomtte 26 3486 (1965S) ccocceoes ' 36,550,551,

52,53,69

Gourke v. United States,

eo Gewe Bee Cheest sececnes 10

Graham v. State of Ohio, 98

Ohio St. 77, 120 N.E. 232

(1910) ereretetsetft &® © @ @ > * + *® * * «© *« 28

Griffin v. Martin, 785 F.2d

Sava. teen Cat. Bee? seeecee JeabGsaaced

Griswold v. Connecticut,

Sen Use GIP Capen wcoeccees ; 12

Hamilton v. Alvis, 109 Ohi

App. 298, 160 N.E.2d 372

(1959) eee#fr”*~j,.t+?# ¢* *¢ © « *« #® *# * *# #*# ®*® * # # 28

U

Holloway v. McElroy, 6

605, cert. denied, 4 :

BGSe CAPS? ov evees TrETTTTTT 6,2

In re Winship, 397 U.S. 358

CSPTOP awesesereseccoeseuss passl

771 7

Va & +

Isazc v. Engle, 646 F.2d

1129 (6th Cir. 1980),

rev'd on other grounds

sub nom. Engle v. Isaac,

456 0.8. 100L (L962) ccccces 13,43

Johnson v. Bennett, 393 U.S.

253 (1968) see#sFf-eer'fe#re#eFfr#setse*t*s © © © © #*& @ ® 37

Lamb v. Jernigan, 683 F.2

1332 (llth Cir. 1982),

cert. denied, 460 U.S

cy? Rk 5 | ee ee 2

Lambert v. California,

‘2 ~ Re. Beio. > Ss 4

395 U.S. 6 (1969)

Leland v. Oregon, 34:2

790 (1952)

“‘\ -

Leonard v. People, 369 P.2d

eA r.P

/ 2 wow & Ys

Lester v. State, 121 S 2

Marts v. State, 26 Onlo St

t+ MG! ys > Ee ee ae 28,3/,38

McElroy v. Holloway, 632 F.2d

605 (5th Cir. 1980), cert.

denied, 451 U.S. 1028

(1981) > fe © © esFeHet+ti#eg#efe#er°(o#* «* *# *# *#® # #* # @®

McMillan v. Pennsylvania,

UeS- ,» 294 U.S.L_W.

Sree SRO scuceecuebewiens 2

Lx

oe v. Wilbur, 42]

6% eee) Btaenakesees aeee

Ohio v. Brooks, 1 Ohio [

Reprint 407 (Cuy. Co.

Sommon Pleas 1851) .........

Patterson v. New York,

AQ ‘7 c 107 / 077

~ oe 4 “ewe a ff a Se is e#ee#e#e#e#8e#8e#e

People v. Patterson, 39 N.Y

2g 288, 347 N.E.2d 898

1976), affirmed sub non.,

Patterson v. New York,

A429 Tle 1907 077)

PoweLt v. Texas, 392

, 4 oe

14 IBR

—_ ~ a ~ -— - + + + *+ & & > e-eeeee © © @© @ @

Reed v. State, ll Tex. Ct.

- - —, .

SQ ~ +

ADD. : \LOO Sseeeeeeeeb eee

Rivera v. Delaware, 429

877 (1976), appeal dismissed;

35 Dime DE 6466604886 6666068

Robbins v. State, 8 Ohio St

hn _ a Y *enerteeeee#ee#ee#e#e#e##*#e##e*#e#*#e#*#e#e

Robinson v. California,

2 = hb f 4

w/ VV / * * . 7 A , /

_— 7

Sandstrom v.

442 U.S. 510 (1979)

Silvus v. State, 22 Ohio St.

90 (1871), cited with appro-

val in State v. Humphries,

51 Ohio St. 2d 95, 364

+ 4 is J -

dr P {

Ye lte &\A . oe : »w/Z#ttietiteée s#®ee#ee#eeeese®

Snyder v. Massachusetts, 291

U.S. 97 (1934), quoted

with approval, Patterson

v. New York, 432 U.S. 19/7

(1977) E

eeeeeeeeeerse#feesee*ee#e#i#e#e*#e##e*##* #

Speiser v. Randall, 35/7

‘Sh Be: 3° ) a rrr rTrTirri rT R

State v. Carson, 2 Onl1o Dec.

Reprint 81 (Hardin Cty

State v. Champion, lI

St. 281, 142 N.E. 14!

State v. Clifton, 32

Ann 5A 924 9AN NX -

/ « a A 4U% 7 y J ‘ . A

aa (39095 4

-_ ~~ + e*eeeeeee#free#fe#fkeee#*#* *# * ®# 7

State v. Cotton, €

2g 8, 381 N.E.2 1 186

(1978 eeeese*eeneeeveee#eee#e#ee#e#e#ee####s @ 4a

State v. Farmer, 156 hic

14, 102 N.E.2d ll l ]

State v. Hankerson, 288 N

625 990 cc F_2a 8575 (1975

i a how F a oe / «© it o 4 4 7 _ « ~ J

rev'd on other grounds sub

nom. Hankerson v. North

Carolina, 432 U.S. 233

PSU we 046464660646 6606686666606%

State v. Hardy, 60 Ohl1o Ag

A yi: 107 WOR - 7

Le WA J he 7 J Ye a

1978 a ee ee ee ee ,4

State v. Hogan, 6:

JZy 58 N.E -¥

State v. Humphries, 51 110

St.2d 5, 364 N.E.2d 1354

Sloss are a ee ee

State v. Jones, 47 Ohio 2P ,

2g 8, 351 N.E.2d 798

State v. Kinnemore, 34 Ohi

App.2d 39 (1972 ee ee ae 2

State v. Lafferty, 309 A.

Fo mt PM ys t ee eee

State v. Martin, 21 Ohlo t

J pe 488 Ne Be 2¢ ‘eke

Ce ~ = 1c - a 2 ie 7 os ~

eee & , / ~ ¥ a

- ——-

A ~

mw (FF sneee#ee#e#eeee#e#e#es#e#e#e#ee#ee#e#e#eeee#ee#e

Ms in. ) ¢

State v. Rivers, 50 Ohic

App. 2d 129, 361 N.EI y.

136 Rloes ) ee

State v. Robbins, 58

mo yy oy . y ’ +

™ Q < » '

Q ) . | 4 4 + + » : ’

7 a NA ig 2 Yeite VA

State v. Robinson, 48 Ohio

App.2d 197, 356 N.E.2d 725

(1975), affirmed on other

grounds, 47 Ohio St.2d 103,

351 N.E.2d 88 (1976) ....... 42

State v. Robinson, 161 Ohio

oh Bie) | eee 32

State v. James Turner,

Wright (Ohio Supreme Court

Decisions) 20 (1831), ques-

tioned, 12 0.S. 436

[Ema t ékon e600 66066464060 27

State v. Vancak, 90 Ohio St.

“ee ae as

aaa [iwEee e6666666686066600%8 Z

State v. Will, 18 N.c. 13]

QQIA

warmer eee eeeeseeoesneeoneee eae ee 0 @

Stoffer v. State, 15 Ohio

St. 47 (1864), overruled

on other grounds, Meade et

al. vw. McGraw, 19 Ohio St.

SS (LOGS) cccoveesceccoeseooss 13,28,40,4

Stromberg v. California,

2863 U.S. 359 (1931) cecvcees 52,3

Stump v. Bennett, 398 F.2d

lll (8th Cir. 1978), cert.

denied, 393 L0

(1968)

ee eeeeee#ee#e#eeee*#e#e###* *# # @

X111

Dec. 6 y (LY 7 *eeeee#e*e#«e#e#e*#e#e® zt

Thomas v. Arn, 704 F.2d 865

(6th Cir. 1983 ee ee Se ee 3

Sarah Thomas v. William D.

- 9 AK (Ath

Leeke, 725 F.2d 246 (4th

] denied,

2

Cir. 1984), cert.

469 U.S. , 485 §.Ct. Be

83 L.E.2¢G 148 ee a ae on ae »?

Thompson v. United States

1is5 U.§ 271 SS ere

-_

quoting Morissette v.

. oa os

( 9 ¢

eeeoeeseeer#srfee#e#srkfe#srtkeee##s#*## # # @

Wray v. State,

Y« . ? =z=/ sft eeeee#ee#e#e

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

nme ry an Th an Tt lin ae Te ooh ie ie

s 4 , A

-_ #4

&

_ ae seeeeee0ee

a + + rt

=

: ‘ mon &

w

» Ae > . >» *

2

- _ "i oo +

i

—_— -

aN Ae ;

STATUTORY PROV

.

s

7

_

AUTHOR

ER

‘

E

i

_

)

4

John A. Bingham, The Argument

of John A. Bingham, Special

Judge Advocate (Washington

BOGGS) LILLE ccccccccccccecces

I Bishop, A Treatise On

Criminal Law, § 865

subsection 2, vo. 61

OG. L9GZ) ceccccccccccccecces

II Bishop, A Treatise On

Criminal Law, § 17, 2, p.

471 (9th ed. 1982) .........

Black's Law Dictionary (Rev.

Fourth Ed. 1968) ....cceccees

Blackstone, Commentaries on

the Laws of England, 1//7-

L7E CLIGS) ccoccccccccccccces

l Blackstone, Commentaries on

the Laws of England, Ch. l,

D. 129 (1783) eecccecceseees

4 Blackstone Commentaries on

the Laws of England, Ch.

21, Dp. 289 (1783) cesseeeeee

Comment, "Shifting the Burden

of Proving Self-Defense--

With Analysis of Related

Ohio Law," ll Akron L. Rev.

TLE CLOTS) ccccccccccscceces

Declaration of Independence

st, Treatise of the Pleas

of the Crown 217 (1803)

XVil

t-

©

46

Lay

9,41

Fletcher, “Two Kinds of Legal

Rules: A Comparative Study

£ Burden of Persuasion

ces in Criminal Cases,"

ale L.J. 880 (1968) .... 61

Ss, Jr., The Common

© €Aen? eeeceeee cus

Uy

=

>

©

=

>

=

|

LaFave and Scott, Handbook on

Criminal Law, § 53, p. 391

(1 72) oe feeee#eeee#ee#eeeee#ee#eeee#eeeé 30

enal Code, Comment to

(Tent. Draft No. 4

=

Model Penal Code § 3.04, p.

GTe Chere? 6644 600666660e00% 47

Note, "The Constitutionality

of Affirmative Defenses

After Patterson v. New

York," 78 Col. L. Rev. 655

CAUTe? 656o654000450086040008 L3

|

Qu

D

3

Note, "H.B. 1168: The Bu

of Proving An Affirmativ

2

|

-

nse," 5 U. Dayton L.

Rev. 441 (1980) wccccccceccs

LJ

>

27 Ohio Jur. 2d, Homicide,

§ 89, p. 629 (1957) ........ 8

I, Warren on Homicide, § 54,

D. 162 (1914) ss ee ft #&# &.hlhUhwOrLhUC Oh—~C hhC<C<C(aSBa +i CO 8,24

Ll, Warren on Homicide, § 63

[awe el 20400666556 6000088 ess 8,24

XV1L1l

PAGE

I, Warren on Homicide, § 64

(1914) *eeoeeeee#eee#ee#ee#e#e#e#e#e#e##ee*##e## *# * # 8,24

., Warren on Homicide, § 68

(1914) *eeeee#eee#ee#e#e#Ffrfee##eetse#s##t* *# *# @# — 8,24

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

nr)

f

i at

t

rf rd

a

_ .

r4

4

r

r)

qj

i

-

2 )

rd iJ

—_

-

> o

_ ()

mn ol

Cc 4)

ea) wi

QO 45

W") c

A\ ,

4

= —_

(), ow

ry

Y)

iJ rH

r-4

A

U4 rt

()

/ -

>

d )

i‘ 4

( )

oF

WwW

curiae

amicus

+

.] ~ ’

Th ao ,Tmrm 7 oC % te n IS ronroacoan-t va . ,anreca

‘ s* Ne WY mish Owoiv/il hid > ) a S Bt ~ 5 = s A eae & Gli DD

. , - ~~

a so ~ ] “Ao hornara a. a ~ ar... fo | -nHo f ”~ % ~

~ de AOA ame Ah M - — a / a a a a. - ~— . - y —_ ‘ Y > al

1 7 . 4 oc - ~

QmNneo ‘Ofte ako a at Tin 1 a oe aT ,< Se ~wayrr rn

Ask wi AS -F - - isa | OLA / | © = | Wwe WUE = i!

. - = >| 7 7

Q 7 = . r aat=" ~-* xt Hh ~ lt nk te oe ie an 4 eho TInirtan

se m 7 4+ oti ~~ > ii ee ee -\As w & CALLA 2 it i S Jii sd A

r vam) ~ :

’ ~ “4 —— » 4 = = ~ al lt =. - + ot ‘ ~~ al-hane ta 4

./ 4 - de er Ne WAL —— 44 = | WN Ss = h | ALANA

Aarn Miertrrinrrteae ~ + MAAR The Bw 9mmiss ry

2 » Ad oe ae ee ee ee / 4 SJiitda\/ © . i JMU OO s+ i

™ - - . . . = =

a vr lon amicus KRrioata _ “a nt hh LI. 4

~~ he dp ce Woe te Wilt Th oO Aid | a SSS | Jiia

+ ~ —- — + so aoe y t.n = 7m 4 “Kr . . ., Tran - } F

-— A id JULI A ~*+4JLIio Wiliwil A id — Vv A i

a : ~ + "Yr IimMmMIena Naroaonndanrt ~

, - a - + de SSA ae AS - ." _ a N\A - .

- o-

‘Ti kh rocn s+ + ~~ + alt=" . . . ,_r - * . “3C¢

Q é > r ‘ ‘ : ‘ : é

a ‘ ~ - A — 4 s _ ~s . ~ VA ~ ‘ V > -

+ -- : 7

—“ 7 a i <7 A rTrormr a '° WwW mr 7 — 4 ~- —~ & nov

Ad & ~—- ¥Y ~ ‘ - - ss er a AERAEE — nd - | y

-rnor orc wv T -hHo =“yImMIena +o? ry co ¢ ._

hd L. - + > J Li oem AMI LIIG A . isd h ad

a. hanr ' case 7, mtr rine - ; ¢ ‘

as LiCAIINVA LS > 4 iV eV ALAN ~iiS + A

| & na 7 - ‘a ~~ 7 - :

—AIO ence A ~ hor Ean +4 - or jan

A A As . d i. 7 , i Jiad A hk, P

. -_ " .

he “7 + ia ron - Voriri ror ,roa ryé rn |

a »~ + 4 7 , 7. - _ - 7 > - ~ ~ fia - y + » 4

. “~ + _ oe ’ mm ~ , ~ ja - + ~~ ry tae, yr 4 .7

> + ( — .

> 1 A / Y ~~ MULLL OO 4s | Ja i 4 ALMA Wii d

y «+ <7 affected t . thea .39 + - mi

» - s ¥ + - - - - a 7 ~Aia -

JIMMARY OF ARGUMENT

J i 4

~ c +} s ie iin . - } o ~ + + .% y

~ } ,

Amicus 1pm1 -nha -ne a l be Low

> me ; + . - ih » ‘ mMrimarv ¥ . y

f | A ‘ ee ' A a. Y i A .

i } 4 + . } ] - ’ , + —_

; if A i L | lé rT ¢ ‘ }

+ + ‘ «+ y ’ r yar 1 .

| é i Wa Taq . 2 | wv se a

t>

~~

"

U

.

=> *

_

~

eObeti & Ld A

7 +

( 4

7 5,”

‘4

> +

nmoanrtc

il LL

ir =|

“wllid

11 rame

ALl ill

= P a

ZU

mina

_ ram

¢ r

.

*“*% an

;

a « i

,

;

te he

si WW

/ 5 8

rien

AX mii

a ha

\

ae Ne Ad

aC

~ ,

=

7 NS Ww

hohatinr Caner I > Wir }

Denay JI. 23s tiCEe mh re Ln

7 ~ }

f 0 , \ mrah +k - > -

- A ~ / fF ~~ + ~~.) 2s

* +

—° maarandtan* - rs rer

A > oe | —_ - 7 > a .

~~ ai. ~ . . nAarr 4

4 Y _- we ~ / ~ & . -

— ; -

rmret«irtsenryr — > ande . + _¥

MeN V ALAN 2m s»& & a * .

ne maar —-te > m “+

bAUA ALLA pf aii .

-eAm cs Ll Wilb A

-rom Muilaney v. 1ibur, 421

and Patt New York

, ind a erson Vv. - OrkK,

,AnAA so _ -

4 —— =" rTeMVIoOotTrT or -~-/ nec ‘ S VJ

‘ gp werCiadk “wo LCili« = mou : ~ T ~-

a rTne i a "<6 “~ ACICITYTAVAT an mi.»

7 — AS - ~ am *85 4 aA—= = s& a ¥ - oe aah A»

wf} no “— 4 Wn nana —_ 23 wae

‘ Adis I a 4 ~TS aw an VAi“4 Li

-— + ~, + aate" ™~ ih ~ me oe te yg fe ee OG — A» +

it. 44 i id w\WJIiiOL LLU HA\JiL £ AL

snr Rotricacaoan oe. OA NGA 1 e

ind rt VY LS l ~Od € 4ZIBieVD i 5

~ mrt ia -« | —aat>" 7m | —.- ~<F

o/7iAUAU —- “2 ~iif VVLULILAL Y

on & r . . - . 2 ~ 4

: am" a | ~ _ ‘¢ 4

- -.see Kevls -Oa S 2 Le 62

s,m n> ~ + om + fy ae 4 (Cc sl «uy Lrirr .

RAti aid A Hib US i ‘ Ad b/ ~ Tse ¥ g Wa hh }

~r AM a 'Y see Dot | ’

} ] ] LQ »eCe f L ed

| _ ¥ . . y Y = . - , +

. + } L rAor f ~Y <7 y ¥ }

‘ . ¥ a ~ » + > a . + 1 7 » +

A Ai | ‘ | A A 3

£ + , y ‘ y

wv A | A a

A

“?

-

a

her

¥

4

+

;*

{ 4

~ o

2

|

SINCE

TUT IONALLY

CONDUCT,

ARGUMENT

I.

SELF-DEFENSE

PROTECTED

Is

CONSTI-

INNOCENT

AN ACCUSED CANNOT BE

REQUIRED TO BEAR THE BURDEN OF

PROOF ON THAT ISSUE.

, os — 7

at Cr r Tt On nr) a <=

The State o ni cannot > self

> a 5 ry md > ~ i ae me An oc reer ’ a a — m lh « - ~

A A -tinw GS a hm e&iliZ « fii ~~ oe Eee | a we be Lin? U nf Y Lif

4 4

«

ao ° ; . van) : : 7

on a=" > ae ~ - = ~_ rs ~ = rn ¢ nl shar 7 - can ata " _

~ -a ce Vt La S 2S DO i 1 -— wr wWJIiliomowest FUL 2 an A

7 — : - _

CoO ra a? al ~ 7 —= 7 ~ - =) Tan =

a — * a / . a _—_ ‘ - s - - A 4 -

” nak i Fi 7 sr

o‘ biwo wk wi a I 7

- - + r ~

ah oe Wan = Se ~=4- 4 ™ - —

- « AL LLCLS sf has wie @' A. =F \. iid

a] : | :

| at hah anh tates rrr 7 won ir" a yr «

- bl> UL UC LO 7. IVLUCSS » Lid Dar ie ©

L ‘

wnT } : . £ 7

mer Q 7 r) r11Ys a: > rnc

ALL ‘ =n are, DY nacCur =F Loon ana

4

.

-

enah!]

ry 3 ‘

—i JAS 1

nh inail

ndependent and have certal

—— ~ r +o} Yr HR ACce at naS ,nrr

rights, among which are those of enjoying

2 J

3 defe din life na Ont ning

ana aerenalng ilfe - e aNG OOTALNING « « «

ae | pt

cafotry" (em) cic Aded )

SaLeLY emmnaslis aqcgced).

ee - ,

le lea T ~ ae in A se . Cc eR e

ra le 1, Section States tnat:

Why, ~~) le hn: ‘TO eho richt rr e -)ha rnc & va

Lik DEOD L nay - is L 2 id oe J pes CAs shh i

r r

eho Y q Canca nA oe mires " ~ -

~ it i ten 1iele Soe = NA ~~ 2c = > J 7. 7 — a & G'S . .

othe caenseenleeamenpennietin :

aAded )

—200ed } 7

Thic latter YrOVLSLON is "intended C

LiidnewJ a = MEV V&A 2 Livi IAA -

r

- + : , ’ =

rr a | a e71trtiowor ~ rnc -aY ~ 9

. . e AL OrG tre CLLLa A | meanS LOL [li

; - snHncCcoO NF = 1+ na rrr : a "

defense of self and prope! ° State v.

6 2 Batla Cr 209 7 62 Sk A) * ae |

7 A Jiik . . &/& pf pos 7 _ Yeite > |

7c f1ann

L JIU °

A

+

a4

4

bow j

¥ rt .

. rt

4 +4

ryt

4 >

+ 4 ‘

( -

pao -4

~~ ‘

y~

4

. ~~

4 4 .

7

b ‘

‘ ‘ ~

,

a »

« +

cal 7

>

x | —

-> ~~

mn

v 4

>

r+ .

+ _ Ny

. ¥

: ] ,

i) i

i ]

4

-

rd

" 4

j

,

rt

bd

unusual punishment provision of the Eighth

rs

Amendment. 3 Equally as important, any attempt

to deprive the people of the "right" of self-

a

Jefense by making self-defense criminal would

deny them constitutional rights reserved and

protected by substantive due process under

the Fourteenth Amendment and the rights

With respect to the Fourteenth Amendment

substantive due process claim, the question

be ranked as’ fundamental." Snyder v.

Massachusetts, 291 U.S. 97, 105 (1934), quoted

3. The Eighth Amendment prohibits cruel and unusual

punishment--including punishment that is dispropor-

tionate to the "offense." Coker v. Georgia, 433 U.S.

584 (1977). Punishment for any lawful act, including

self-defense, is both disproportionate and cruel and

unusual. See also Holloway v. McElroy, 632 F.2d 605,

627, n. 35, and 636, n. 49, cert. denied, 451 U.S.

1028 (1981), noting a “plausible argument” could be

made that criminalizing self-defense would violate

the prohibition against cruel and unusual punishment

provision and/or the due process clause.

with

7

ainaties a on

> Z ; :

- 4

‘a +

Y ~ a a on .

’

.

Y +

+ , ‘

”

* *

» ~

y

. CA : P

J c —

Fy TY) A

he oe AAS °

+

vv

- Ww

Mu | laney v.

approval,

Patterson Vv.

7

, C t rr -_

. am : -

Yj ,aah=s ’

vo = 7 »

“

-

a = 5+ }

‘ | L ,

e - m~

- |

. I ] | ’

> hH — a :

7 | l1lc1a ;

~ - —_

Wilbur, 4

New York,

;

+ -

. 4

, . i |

r a

. n

A s

_

Ornar

= = ~ -

ana 8 is &

y

A

“a

en

justifiable to resist certain attacks, even

by the death of the assailant, and the party

fwas] without blame." East, Treatise of the

leas of the Crown 217 (1803).

" 1. c ~ "3 a £ " . a x -_

right of sel:r-defense. This phrase 1s not

' .

. sn} te to F eal Fer .

r1cclidental, for tne roots of sel qaqerense run

+ a _ -~ r - £ 0G +

ieep within American common law, finding 1

r y

. Iie * _ al “Amr 7 © Dt <a + .

eeds in English common law. Blackstone

—— . + } ~ —, ha - -_ oT ho

jescribed three primary and overriding rl1gqg >

4 Wharton's Criminal Evidence, § 224, 479

f

. \

ed. 1972); I, Warren on Homicide § 54, at 162 (1914);

I, Warren, supra, at 163:

we

Criminal homicide is the unlawful killing

of a human being . . ." (footnote omitted)

(emphasis added). See also §§ 63, 64, 68.

[, Werren, supra, § 143 t 617; 27 Ohio Jur. 2d,

7

Homicide, § 89, at 629 (1957):

"It is universally recognized that one 1s

not punishable criminally for taking the

Life of another person when he has been put

under the necessity or apparent necessity

ȣ doing so, without any fault on his own

> ; a ior

part 1n Ordaer!l

+

onl

ry

' +

.

~

a a

>

my

+-

ee

y

Ve

. ~

+

—

-

oY ¥

~ +

ry

_

| CA

‘TQ Y

. A

~

he

A

vv

——

ps!

~ +}

~ +

i

ae

Se!

am +

am

‘

pt

+ WY

A iid

> & i |

i — A

smi

biti

-

am

i

ReAUG

- i «

> & &

. fy

. Ls

iL

roar

ror

i. =

no -

Fi — h

fos [_-

7s ?

. —_—

+

mmo

-

A. he

ACA

“~ +

~ r

. ~~

i

ma rn

Abita id

.

x

“

+ +

Fourteenth Amendment, treated self-defense

as “the acknowledged right o

This right was also recognized in early

Federal case law.

Where rime is committed with

ity . . . those unprotected

by other sanctions .. . [

compelled] . . . to rely upo

physical force for the vindication

of their natural rights. There is

no other remedy and no other

security." United States v.

Rhodes, 27 Fed. Cas. 785 (Cir. Ct.

Ky. 1866)

™ ail — am ten S tea 1 » £m

The right to defend one's self is a basic

fundamental right rooted in such basic

qaocuments as the Declaration of Independence,

o vre " 77 ART . +ho }

stating that all men are endowed by their

creator with certain inalienable rights...

6. John A. Bingham, The Argument of John A. Bingham,

Special Judge Advocate (Washington 1865) 13-14,

quoted in Allen, "A Rhetorical Analysis of the

Speaking of John A. Bingham with Emphasis on His Role

in the Trial of the Lincoln Conspirators" (Ph.D

Dissertation, Ohio State University 1963).

7. See also Wallace v. United States, 162 U.S. 446

(1896); Beard v. United States, 158 U.S. 550, 563

(1895); Thompson v. United States, 155 U.S. 271, 283

(1894); Gourke v. United States, 153 U.S. 183 (1893);

und Allen v. United States, 164 U.S. 492 (1894).

:

10

. ao + tet. > = T , .

"wy — - .

TO ra »,5 + ane (ro ~~ . "

- ‘ ~ ~ ~ = - . s + > a

- - . + ra + a on - 7 . ‘ - + y

-ii ~ i wo Wu 4 s | Law a A .

= - Wm RQ ~ Ta K ~~, . ~ '

4 hile ie dt AW - J . | > Ff .

jJafancea Hthoroafkfarc 5c . - . ‘

a . - y — . - ~ - ~ - & 7 - - a -

" anf HA mnrimarvy _ y rm ~ = + y

iB die de A iit wk 2sICAL Y Law 44 ica A ,

————

or ,_ - ~ =" + ne eA oY sar - |

» 2 Ai\/ \ 7 2! A i— LL A 4 h

+ = ~ > ._- — — nt; Mtr —= 7 °.¢ 4

2 — -~ANCil awa y / Y ¢' aw

society.'" Reed v. State, 11 Tex.

- App. 509, 517 L88z I

United tates v. Morris

reason of self-defense, rightful,

not wrongful, i.e., is lawful,

there is no crime." Griffin v.

Martin, 785 F.2d 1183 (Murnaghan,

J.) (pending following rehearing

en banc).

yo Ninth Amendment i roOornrtnigs

a ih WALL LL AIT LAUAINC liu alLSsoO LeTUVY LIA oC SO

sl @)

ry

O

+

D

T

D

4

al infringement which

ngside those fundamental

ifically mentioned in

the first eight constitutional

amendments." Griswold Vv.

Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479, 488

(1965) (per Justi

TV} -_ + - + -~ < : I

ine riqgnt LO Drivacy recoqgnlZzea

. — ’ .

tinth 4 ~~ . ha At? oriiIar -~ + £ -

Griswold would be a hollow guarante if, i

- 4 > a + ~ = i « . y ~r ~ 7 ‘ co) z a

a time of necessity, a perso 1ld

ry ia ~ >] = i m ry 7 . Ww £4.) ~~ > sl + +

‘ i 2 wee “ae * ia 4 / Wid La » VA a = >| .“ Ww A

; . — ; -

~ 5soerring hor c _ =~ 1) . = ,c = msm

AW S ~ & LIN re i >i l i. i. i i Or » A i. .

TT}, wr lA ~ + ne nen ~samaklo ~ | _ernm + .

> Ww A t+. / © a MA Ld ~ + iawW i “UV A ‘ |

"” _ ~ F iAn ' ] +naAo Ff > ~ nal ~ + .

.. i > + ( . at - i

* 4 >

personal security, Boyd v. United States

_

ww. . £ serra FryannAamoaonra ceneriara

_ pes oa i LUrMUdaL lILalL ) L i

eo —~e 7 ~~ - 7 "t = i ao . - 4 ~7*

pDercepvclon cnat Ln i Sl1ltuactl

Lrna ra ana “Ho rcnn miiat | 1rT 7 :

Wii » & Jii<= woh OWLS Ties & = MA J a ~ — L

» |

D

rh

(D

ry

a)

O°

(D

,

"7

. . " 7

a te ‘i —_— . i ‘rv. ~ 5

Oo NnNAn= TCT YQ = Ba v2

Lic AANA 44 aqqTr —* SOL SUI vs V -* No ,

>.

ryt) QO be @ deny de ¢ -—~ | + eer CS A £e ~_

nt na 7 , - al =

‘ e COS ae ee On >| a te Ne © . Al he ae ae a

te icra ~fanea After Dattorcnn .

i. i = + i oe! ae | LL ois .

" vu ai " + —— e - . ~~ re |

y Yn 2" ~ >t \ - +)

‘ M/ I rA, S o\J «@ Lj « > Je 6 , 4

: = QO

4 <

, .

. — . " ,

4 , 1 | A vw he &

sewa & 4 5 wry rs ‘ y} r , ;

2 >» & A ‘ L\4 >» & Ww ‘ A

lanaerina it.” Stoffer v. State, |

- + 4“) C 4 t 4 T + . ij Y a

. = , | ? . Ww i i

7 + . - vy + _ . + T “oy VA ” > - +

. - - . = 4 . + me .

‘ WALA A .

" co ’ y oo , + rn - + r >

. . . A i. A + \ bit A

- .

- a + - » m oO ninart y + .

| A ‘ XK ALA LACA A 4

- 5, oc : - ¢

ke « £& ¢ "ar Tan ~~? ca Tr =—j Oo anca a rY

A i. Ae Ne CA & Vid A > A de aS —~ A 4

. . 7 4

+ “s,s Imiin- —~ ¢.7 sn OCT rod

| am» id iL Law ri CA LANA i © A\A+ A

- -

a bs rr rmorotvya a,c aT) a aman rt ~~ Tr

| 4 nh y A. Aid ‘ 1, Xu J 4

- . : x

i. nac ~ + sc C511 snr oe Panta ~% 11> + ,> +

i A A\A ALLA 4 sik s+ a

* - * a ‘ =

aiiah ca +A oO rFonce Wari fi “>a + 3 y

AN Ad 2 & 4+ A i. Se i he be ee ee Ne CA s

' - - > 3

sists.” Saac v. Engle, 6406 F

J» A _ > . 4 — 7 l e &2WA

, ." 7 7 . “ ~ motels , 5

U A (Arn i U } + »

L * i / A +

eGo e Li&U Urs

nt), rev'd on other grounds sub

nom, Engle v. Isaac, 456 U.S.

‘

As stated by the Fourth Circuit:

". . .« it is elementary and

fundamental to our jurisprudence

that killing or wounding in self-

defense is simply no crime at all."

Sarah Thomas v. William D. Leeke,

725 F.2d 246, 250, n. 2 (4th Cir.

1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. _,

105 S.Ct. 18, 83 L.E.2d 148 (1984).

Because self-defense is >A

constitutionally protected right, one

innocence in violation of the principles

enunciated in In re Winship.

Xi.

PROOF OF SELF-DEFENSE NECESSARILY

NEGATES SEVERAL INGREDIENTS OF THE

CRIME OF AGGRAVATED MURDER.

A. Mullaney and Patterson Analysis

Based upon Patterson and Mullaney, the

inalysis appropriate to this case 1s:

| ° - se -~ |

(1) identify the elements of the crime

ae b -~ AtTan

pe prove Il;

Mullaney v. Wilbur, 4. S-

Mu | laney :

+ -

™ . ; .

A )

» & ‘

: . : ] _ -

‘ }

=| = ,

i: & 3

~1t > } -

¥ ,

I 4 a

i Patterson als est

= -~ + =r - * - > aan a y

Ww LTli wWfld @ = : !

». in Mullaney

~ w T

° ¢

van AW >

- FP See also M

Mullaney v. Wilbur, 421 U.S. at 686, n. 3: "“whoev

nlawfully Kills ; numa be lina wit! Nall

Sale int, ae I Y

> + T T T

’ A

pi Ww

A] 4 A +

1 > ‘ +

- ;

" it t >I > tr)

a wv

- > , +

“

A

Ay

.

al WV a z

Patterson v. New York, 4

=|

—s

Patterson pecaus inder New York iW,

—" ~ wl . .

+ ~ > +

+ £ .

.

A

McM

7 Pp “atet-htak .¥

VY « . msyYivan ;

Ww

‘

é , ‘ d

Cooper v. North Carolina,

Vv. Bordenkircher, 674 F.2d 279, 28 . j

See also Lamb v. Jernigan, | .

6 (lilt 1r. ind Holloway v. McElroy

‘ort . en le

— + y . Y

: .

+ do ~ ‘ ‘

eT ¥ ’ 4 7T wT iT t .

i 2 i |

- “a y , - - y y

> >

. - . 7 ~ + 4 > Ls 4

| srr > - , Ty y .

. . < er i 4

- ‘

TTY « - r

; ‘ 2 . . .

P| "+ ‘ + 4 =

v ~ nd Kj Use State .

zy < wWLALE ~

Farmer, 156 C >. BhGe 2 » LU,

14 51); see also Robbins v. Stat

x , ¥ ‘

~ + mie > . + - > - ’

. » x ¥

> r _

ee -

‘ :

. : ~ s

: : a -

w+ .

. >

r

= + . = Kh alal’ = ‘ y ar a’

a XK + . + A A .

r

we 7) rr > ‘ P «7 ’ + +

i i zh , WA

~ a“ j

-*

a +

}

A :

A AT

. - .

r or ¥ ’ au ‘

laath =, + _ > ~ — - + ne _

A 4 4 w MTL CC LNG ad

, ,

te aula an rer? “Ary ~- “~ ¥ - a ia > —_ -~nnale|

aa -+ 4 AS CONT. , I Willie Lieelnd

4 . =

, ——4 --s “7 ~~ —— nal alien a ae a cel -

Tre - er ~y ner

At SO LaALeLYy -'@ea NTT . “4 WL GALLON L LI

to. «€6caommit kidnapping, rape, aggravated

arson or arson, aggravated robbery or

robbery, aggravated burglary or burglary

or escape." Ohio Revised Code § 2903.

—

4 ~ r “- “¥ ry 1+ ‘ ‘ =|

Ms. Martin Wa largqged w Violating , or

_ | ‘ow. ny. sn

> JUS.UL(A).

L4. In Ohio yv. Brooks, 1 Ohio Dec. Reprint 407 (Cuy.

Co. Common Pleas 1851), the court instructed the jury

as follows in a case of first-degree murder

"(First], murder in the first degree, which

in general is an unlawful killing purposely

and of premeditated malice." Id. at 40

\

(emphasis added).

nrT4, - jas rr maa — —T

ine aerendant in a nomiciae case can

:

ry Nil » | rr > ~ ae ,cr hic | + tate +

oO req ed LAS sh aD i 1 >i , +. AT iL l>¢

| , ™~

" + +, sFHoncea _— +h C+ + i

PL. “USLerSe ] Li Se oltacte la

+: 4 . . —

-ha hn ; 4 +hat oalat=" = — >. b ry wom

> ae OL1S! ned na eS A Ny ¥ si ssl w as -

inlawful killing .. ." “Taylor v. State,

Ay

;

S le Cc +

- See aiso Wray v. State,

4 . . > = 4

A » 4 A" .

t ncl lat ln) WLU a8 ],

“~Awak! wo Fr 7 ~ -to ~ ¥

} wie HDelnd OI notner, x

the state, of deliberate and premed

‘ m r »lternm / - | [se aeuet 2 \ ma

ited malice emonasis added State v.

James Turner, Wriacnt nio Supreme ly

tot a OF £88 eett : ‘Ve

ecisions) 20, 2 1831), questioned Fuller

y = - ] ; . A ] A “2 aee

v. State, LZ » S23Le BOX Lot :

4 ’ ‘ 4 , '

rn ,

i A iwiU , Te ttt P h

> - - . > . 7 + .

“~~ , 4 ‘

‘ ’ 4 >} ) , + y 4 +

° [t iL [ wi r t

“— 4 ~ £ + =" Y - ~

Wri , ) 3 } al

y ~ _ . + “n> ra

L Le , A i A . N A

—_

a ry P a , ma > - ; a "Rm + > -_

pt 4 , J —— ~ 2 - A - ~ 4 -

a &

‘ + oo Jr ha ~ + - 4 >

i Ww A . Age | Law

+ £ «+

1 | .

+ » +

4 ,

- + > . - + -

. . + n "

i vv

+ > > hi ‘a — =

i A

. KH

& + + +

r ? d P .

+ " .

'

WV “

Hamiiton v. ALVIS, } ioD. 298 ;

Marts v. State, 26 Ohio St. 162, syllal

> State v. Champion, 109 Ohio St. 281, 284, 14

N.E. 141, 142 (1924); see also Graham v. State of

Ohio, 98 Chio St. 77, 81-82, 120 N.E. 232, 233 (191

E. 23 (19]

rm) hot ight of self-defense"]: State v. Vancak,

orf -

LaWlLUsi F1IGnh I 5C Ll | }

st. 211, 214, 107 N.E. 511, 5 114); Stoffer

at. Hina S

N Ge Ll, Ls }

v. State, 15 Ohio St. a ] Le

6. See also R.C. § 2941.

+ +} —_— w+ ry

‘ Riis t

“ana

on -

, + _- y =

a A i 4

el

a

.

> |

|

s A

y .

/

ae

LJ ] L >

A Ee RR de

- ™ 7 |

C f stlia ] >

ny aes

in as .

= er

. ~~ ~ ' ° a o

smmAn D1 . ‘

mun L ;

| . ‘

1c). See aiso

‘ - ‘

i is q

7

N

al

state, In} St , L187

he

approval in State v. Humphries, 51 h St

* "I A >

‘ | 4 >» ~ i

r P , 04 Ve a 4 oy L *, °

Ty > - _ . ~ ~ 7 . + +

' A + A ‘ |

~ T + y i . - A» ~

> » a - “ +} + ~ *

A y £ £

- r _ —_ |

1] lca ,

> 7 - >

’ Ww

“4 ” 7 A

mn Englisn con 3 tion was mad

. .

sree i £3 ’ a

wi istiflaple iple lomicide.

‘ - . a ake - ,.* r i. +) -ie q . 7 oo

Li ¢g \ onine n ar . iw al Lalilicd A.

_ = 7T e; + ay . > os —

1/83). Justifiabdl nomicide carried mm

— ~~" : :

a * - m4 . - + ~ —— a Cc ~ ers

enalties, while excusable homicides resulted in t!

4 —, £ ~ , '— | le Th — + ~~

siture of the slayer'’s lands. Ihe concept

er

£ » 444 ~ . a be om, ~ ~ . °.9 -_

rftelture, 2>1n foreliaqan to American law, wai

ar a Po eee

7 a & —— ~ + } . ~ on . Y

“arded and the distinction between jJustifrlabdile an

“IC aH i eQ cf | a lof sco However =light riginally

AWA i. CS ww adi oelense , rlOwe "A=s © — 1an = Or 4 Lnal Ys

. WA 7 A reroaatric rw 5 , 1 Taw

llsappeared. I Bisnop, A Treatise on Criminal Law,

865, 2, p. 614 (9th ed. 1982); II Bishop, supra, §

7, 2, p. 471; Erwin v. State, 29 Ohio St.

5, % wie = — : = ? S ” -

der Ohlo law, all actions taken in self-defense are

_— - 7 -~. > ~ q hl ne ~ ; -

istifiable, lawful acts done without rimina]

~ Mf » o . TOA 100

tent. E.g., Erwin v. State, supra, at i94-19

See also LaFave & Scott, Handbook on Criminal Law, §

hs ‘ 4 4

re aon - . "rt y <7

_ 4 _

irder." State v. Martin,

4 a4} ‘ , f

+ , 2 ‘ « eo &VA ,

— Griffin v.

VW

E.g., McElroy v. Holloway,

— , cert. denied, 4 .S. 1028, (198 > Stat:

vy. Hankerson, 288 N.C. 632, 22 ~B.2c

rev'd om other or s sub nom. Hankerson v. North

Carolina, 43 - = 1977); Commonwealth v

Hilbert, 4/6 Pa. 285, , 32 A.2da /24,

See also

rvty

This common-law presumption O

unlawfulness is still a part of Ohio law.

This is evident from the Ohio Supreme Court's

decision in this case. The Court character-

which "seeks to relieve the defendant from

culpability rather than negate an element of

the offense charged." Martin, 21 Ohio St.2d

at 94. See also Thomas v. Arn, 704 F.2d 865,

877 (6th Cir. 1983).20

Thus, under Ohio law, unlawfulness

(i.e., a crime) is to be presumed from proof

of the elements of the offense, despite the

fact that the accused may have acted in self-

defense. In other words, a lawful act of

self-defense is presumed to be unlawful unless

20. "(Ohio Revised Code § 2901.05(C)(2)'s] use of

the terms ‘excuse' and ‘justification’ strongly

implies that a criminal offense has been

committed--i.e., that all elements of a crime have

been proven beyond a reasonable doubt and that the

perpetrator will be criminally liable unless an

‘excuse’ or 'justification' is presented." But see

fn. 17, supra.

i. 5A = + ,ah - . . AnAcCaNnsrsS c

Ce a sea es AD J 1e OLS Ln ° vee

A] —_=" Lo | |= ? 7 ‘a i’ « The Riwiernan , + Dratring Aw

iW©) I a Lie Oe A. + S$ L Ai ots © | \ L Ce WV AALS Fill

Affir itvea Nefaneso " « 1 Yavton IT Paw:

+ a -& ai X y / © LY —_ ’ a | - ¥ a.

44] 4S (1980

“? - # 8 4 UU] e

+ + } Y) -” F ry lc } } . Yr?

A tLe [same -ime, Onl1o’s nigqn Court

r Fine ~ . "Yynowl oac + | rs ~ 1f£O0A F Ao . o-

reLltuses -O acKnowledacde -nla Sselil =Lense 1S

TRHAARnRaGIia* ~ + ari eh + | + - + - on

LNCONSLScent Wl ne Lac a =| Crime

~

)

ee

=

tu

+

_

D

W

eo

pe

Uf,

©

Q

.

ry

oF

€)

1

/

(Tt

ey)

rT

1")

<

o

1 _ ? - , .

of the crime and the existence of self-defense

_ : a ~ 3 il rr =

are separate issues"). Indeed, a plea of

sai€¢ ¢ . l« - d ; = b- +e

self-defense plainly denies, rather than

admits, that a crime has occurred.

Amicus submits that the State of Ohi

: . St 1 of — . »)} ae 1 Pane

cannot have it both ways. Either self-defense

negates the elements of the crime (i.e.,

. c , — : Be J - , 7 .

unlawfulness), as it did at common law, or

; . ~ + " ~ W [io lr

1t does not. If 1t does the State's burden

—

ls clear. See Patterson v. New York, 432

a crime has been committed) from the fact

that a killing has occurred; and thereby shift

the burden of proof to the accused to prove

otherwise. See Patterson, 432 U.S. at 215;21

accord, Mullaney v. Wilbur, 421 U.S. 684

(1975) .22

Moreover, Ohio's utilization of this

presumption of unlawfulness violates tra-

ditional due process requirements for

presumptions. It satisfies neither the

rational connection test, i.e., the presumed

fact must more likely than not flow from the

proven fact, Leary v. United States, 395 U.S.

6, 36 (1969); or the beyond a reasonable doubt

test, i.e., proven fact must be sufficient

to support inference of presumed fact beyond

a reasonable doubt, Barnes v. United States,

21. "(The State] may not shift burden of proof to

the defendant by presuming [an] ingredient of the

offense upon proof of the other elements [of the

offense] ."

22. Presumption of malice from proof of an unlawful

and intentional killing, unless accused proved he

acted in heat of passion, is unconstitutional.

412 U.S. 837, 84:3 197 , See Mullaney,

wv

in

~

Vi

re

= |

laa

v

cT

—

~

|

r 4

VU

_

P

-

T

Ps

-

>

a

a |

proof of a killina. See Model Penal Code

i - 7

Comment to Section 1.13 (Tent. Draft No. 4,

b--

ee en eae ; a

1955) ("No one can estimate the probabil

that “an intentional homicide ... was or

common-law presumption of unlawfulness to

shift the burden to the accused to prove her

act lawful violates due process.

aS Amicus submits that Ohio's presumption of

unlawfulness must satisfy the beyond a reasonable

doubt test as it is a mandatory presumption. See

Francis v. Franklin, 471 U.S. __, 85 L.Ed.2d 344,

353 (1985) (mandatory presumption is one jury must

infer if state proves certain predicate facts);

accord, Sandstrom v. Montana, 442 U.S. 510 (1979).

Ohio‘s presumption of unlawfulness is mandatory

because it is established upon proof of the elements

of the offense even though the defendant may have

acted lawfully in self-defense.

C. Self-Defense Negates Criminal Conduct

It is axiomatic that the State can only

punish criminal conduct. E.g., Robinson v.

California, 370 U.S. 660 (1962); Powell v.

Texas, 392 U.S. 514 (1968). It has been held

Since the 1600s that killing another in self-

defense is conduct which is justified--no

crime has been committed. Mullaney v. Wilbur,

421 U.S. at 692. This has always been the

law in Ohio. E.g., Marts v. State, 26 Ohio

St. 162 (1875) (Syllabus 2), cited with

approval, State v. Melchior, 56 Ohio St.2d

15, 21, 381 N.E.2d 195, 199 (1978).

The State of Ohio recognized this

requirement and made allegations of criminal

Or unlawful conduct against Petitioner

Martin. Like alibi, e.g., Stump v. Bennett,

398 F.2d 111 (8th Cir. 1978), cert. denied,

393 U.S. 1001 (1968); Johnson v. Bennett, 393

U.S. 253 (1968), and even more so than by

accident, e.g., State v. Rivers, 50 Ohio

App.2d 129, 134, 361 N.E.2d 1363, 1367 (1977),

-if-defense ‘Stadlishe t it t ic/cu

. rm ' ~~ > > ¥ "4 r > ~ | 7 - - ~4 oo

nm } a one ‘rime a 3. Marts v. State,

: — idee

¢ — + al ( 4 }

- . i he i ; .

Le a ? 7 = lw«s 4 _ “

ALAA ] . ° . WY ic << Sete i

- ec £ = sna ~ - & - ,

seit dei ise adalinst an attack ;

Accord, State v. Clifton, 32 Ohi Apo.2d 284,

: rm + " AA os , 7“

) » * 7. an? oe, 2) = > f )

a .'« * «4 “4 — > 7 i + -— a ~ oo -

Rrran maar + o errnynnaniie rnrear snmar ance

4 ‘ ALANA ‘ : . Aid Vw he 4 . AANA - Ad

~4 A } 2 et : - nec ln i . 14 } f

standar he ry ind: se -defense

LANA A y / Ad AM Y he &ALVAO > A 4 a’ -iivo@ ys,

™ 7 ’

> ,aYr . " . icf at=" > or a a Ica i i ake q ’

‘ ‘ ‘ A . A : , ‘ 4\A 4 - / . 7 . 7

Erwin v. State 29 Ohio St. at 199.

-

. van +> i « _- 4% ~ ~~ > - + a i. i oe oe - — ‘% ~ ’

‘ ¥ i" y " ; > )

i X v mal i 44 s [ ¢ 4s © =i ic o'wod A

|

. . 5

+ y Y ‘TQ + = + ym “"' noc -onr an <7 a i i. en | Q

eo y 2 | WllLCT) } 1a A ONNLY a aLIIGL

7 (= £ + . , 7 3 c

. ‘ae .¥ ry . ~~ nio ’ ty ~ - m > r=" , ’ , —_

| ic i A Ait ok SAA 2 A Wild i 4U - © oe ae |

+ _ .¥ - to 4 > + r-rHo c _ ,I.er ca ~ > ~

. ‘ i. ¥ A | i AA ‘ > i A*

=: £ } + } +

na ~ *.7 ha ate "1c D “Jac 717

) k Wild j j i A>‘ | Wa oa ¥ «

Mullaney should apply to the case at bar a

: , Pon ee a : wht aaoe

fortiori, where proof f self-defense wo i

D. Self-Defense Negates the Voluntary Act

Requirement

mM + .

. o_ “Ls ha a ~ + ~ " + ‘

+? T | 4 ‘

i . - VA » Y >|

A a 7 " 7 le -

> + 7 ~ ~ > os > > - >

“ & “ . ” . >

. >. 4 — > > —

’ . —-

, .

- . ; A ;

- a > ‘ — ~ ~ .

A\sh 4 4 A ‘ A

a . - ‘ , - - + - ‘

‘ >

- ; - Pf P

_- e > - + v “~» - - >

> ¥ ' >

| ; i , 2

‘

.

> v > \o -

: N i

,

> al ~ - o > . =

2 ;

= s+ y + £ ~ + , y

2 P . “~ ,

’ “ ¥ + ¥ " . ha . _ Sa

w ‘ . ‘ 4 y

—— - ¥ . - - ; A 2 A i

- ry ~— 9 o » — — » 4 nr ™ _ = £

> 2 | a ‘ ete soe ‘

s 2 P : A p A / o i

an uplifted knife," Brown v. United States,

- . _ 7 - ‘ . . . -

~ hr _— 44 4 f 4 rnc + . ,Y¥ ~~ , yo

< / . . 2 ; » he | . a + 7 | A 4 4 A

. - -

cp Tr -— "oOo rtya* ¥ _.r co ‘ rare £ — i

- / + ? ~ Va 4 s a . A

‘

. Cc ‘

, _ 7 mau —s4 sr coanose es "oF “ - .

wok LL iia y >A} i ‘ A al ‘ | 4 i

; . wr

pes arred 7 —- nal ~~ ont a = -_ act ~~ oc =

» = ~ 4 - ¥ - ~~ / / s s / . > i + ?

1 " ' ' =

ro ar cart Latate ao. v= sma + = + f = . =

ar = Das A AUT) . /- ) - Le

. '

or +c =rvat®&r , ~~ ain | - ea ~ . ' s ; 1c 4 ’ ’

, - _ - - ¥ > / 2 s » - - _* .

o

otate vv

¥Y «

H oh 6 , . , +

iat <¢ Ys ‘ >) .e & ‘ - < 4

4

4

" . - 5 . £ 3

i A A

- ~ ” > ~ = Yr oF vy sof

Aw A A s > . i

+ > ~ ‘ + oon - + | int ir ’

at ‘ +

.

_ 1a = > Or

~— ANA A

E. Self-Defense Negates Both General

Intent and the Specific Intent of

Prior Calculation and Design.

General Intent. For crime

nsidered mala in se, it is general]

mens rea and actus reus. See generally Lambert

v. California, 355 U.S. 285 (1975

, and Powel!

v. Texas, 392 U.S 514 (1968

a 7 a '

~rimina labliilt LS

} > an . a oa

- - 4

factors, ‘an evil-meaning mind

[and] an evil-doing hand ....'"™

United States v. Bailey, 444 U.S.

394, 402 (1980), quoting Morissette

v. United States, 342 U.S. 246, 251

Yr, in the words of Justice Holmes, criminal

liability is founded on "blameworthiness."

Holmes, The Common Law 50 (1881).24

The Legislature of the State of Ohio

required proof of general mens rea, for the

Legislative Committee Note to R.C. § 2901.22

states that for conviction there must be a

"blame-worthy" mental state--a "guilty state

of mind." Similarly, the Committee Comment

to Ohio Revised Code § 2901 states that an

essential part of any crime must be "a certain

guilty state of mind at the time of his act

24. "[(T]lo constitute a crime against human laws,

there must be first a vicious will, and second, an

unlawful act consequent upon such vicious will." 4

Blackstone, Commentaries on the Laws of England, Ch.

21, p. 289 (1783), quoted with approval, 27 Ohio Jur.

2d, Homicide, § 6, pp. 557-8 (1957). See also State

v. Carson, 2 Ohio Dec. Reprint 81, 82 (Hardin Cty.

C.P., 1859): "Guilty knowledge is generally, and

criminal intent always, necessary to constitute

- 41 «

Se

7)

A person who acts in lawful self-defen

cannot be said to have a state of mind which

is either "blame-worthy"” or "guilty." On the

contrary, proe@f of self-defense would dis-

prove the existence of such a state of mind.

For example, in State v. Clifton, 32 Ohio

App.2d at 286, 287; 290 N.E.2d at 923, the

Court concluded that: "Clearly, one who kills

in self-defense does so without the mens rea

that otherwise would render him culpable of

the homicide."

Judge Whiteside, of the Ohio Court of

Appeals, has found that:

", . . the existence or nonexistence

of self-defense bears a direct

relationship to the existence or

nonexistence of the required mental

elements of the crime [of aggra-

vated murder]. State v. Robinson,

48 Ohio App.2d 197, 206, 209; 356

N.E.2d 725, 721 (1975) (Whiteside,

concurring), affirmed on other

grounds, 47 Ohio St. 103, 351 N.E.2d

88 (1976).

[jury charge].

As Justice Sweeney noted in his dissent below:

"The affirmative defense of self-defense ;

goes to the mens rea of the crime charged,

whether the act committed was indeed a crim-

inal act." State v. Martin, 21 Ohio St.3d at

96 (A. 43-44),

Applying similar reasoning, former Chief

Judge Edwards of the Sixth Circuit found:

"Criminal intent of aggravated

assault and self-defense are, in

my view, completely irrecon-

Cilable. To require a defendant

to carry the burden of proof on

self-defense is to require him to

disprove criminal intent"

(footnote omitted). Isaac v.

Engle, 646 F.2d at 1136.

Proof of self-defense negates the mental

element of the crime of aggravated murder.

Burdening Ms. Martin with proving self-

defense deprived her of her Fourteenth

Amendment right to require the state to prove

her guilt beyond a reasonable doubt.

2. Prior Calculation and Design.

Petitioner Martin was convicted of aggravated

murder, under R.C. § 2903.01. A critical

element of this offense is "prior calculation

and design.” Saddling the Defendant with the

burden of proving self-defense relieved th

State of its constitutionally mandated burden

v

of proving this element. The conflict between

(

the two is irreconcilable.

The Ohio Supreme Court has interpreted

1

the elements of "prior calculation and design"

to require greater thought and control on the

part of the defendant than the previously

utilized elements of "premeditation and

deliberation."

“Instantaneous deliberation is not

sufficient to constitute prior

calculation and design."

"Where evidence adduced at trial

reveals the presence of sufficient

time and opportunity for the plan-

ning of an act of homicide to

constitute prior calculation, and

the circumstances surrounding the

homicide show a scheme designed to

implement the calculated decision

to kill, a finding by the trier of

fact of prior calculation and

design is justified." State v.

Cotton, 56 Ohio St.2d 8, 49g 2 and

3 of the Syllabus; 381 N.E.2a 186

(1978) ,25

Thus, under Ohio law, if the Petitioner

acted solely upon the instantaneous decision

to preserve her own life, that fact would

negate the element of "prior calculation and

design." This dichotomy between self-defense

and prior calculation and design was aptly

demonstrated by the jury instructions below.

The trial court instructed the jury that

prior calculation and design cannot be found

when a defendant "acts on the Spur of the

moment or after momentary consideration of

- the purpose to kill" (fT. 690; A. 14), yet

self-defense demands "an honest belief .

in imminent danger of death or serious bodily

harm" (T. 700; A. 19), a belief that the

defendant is about to be killed or to receive

25. See also Legislative Service Commission Note

to R.C. § 2903.01 (1973).

great bodily harm" (T. 701; A. 20).26 Only

acts to escape an imminent threat of death

Or serious bodily harm can be grounds for

acquittal. If the imminence of the threat

dissipates, and the defendant is "released

from the danger, .. . the right to use force

in self-defense [is] ended" (T. 702; A. 21).

Self-defense thus cannot co-exist with prior

calculation and design.

"Acting on the spur of the moment

Or after momentary consideration

of the purpose to kill is not

sufficient to constitute the kind

of prior calculation and design

requi-ed for aggravated murder."

(T. 690-691; A. 14)

A killing resulting from an instantaneous

eruption of events "is not one with prior

calculation." State v. Robbins, 58 Ohio St.2d

26. “Imminent danger" in this context is further

defined in Black's Law Dictionary (Rev. Fourth Ed.

1968), as “immediate danger, such as mist be instantly

met, such as cannot be guarded against by calling for

the assistance of others or the protection of the

law. Or, .. . such an appearance of threatened and

impending injury as would put a reasonable and prudent

man to his instant defense" (emphasis added).

74, 78 (1979) .27 Yet, an act in self-defense

necessarily occurs on the spur of the moment,

arising spontaneously in the face of an

imminent danger. Stoffer v. State, 14 Ohio

St. at 52-53. It is an instantaneous eruption

of events, presenting no opportunity to avoid

the danger. State v. Robbins, 58 Ohio St.2d

at 80. The force used by the defender is

"immediately necessary for the purpose of

protecting [her]self." Model Penal Code

§ 3.04, p. 478 (1974) (emphasis added).

To prove the element of prior calculation

and design, the prosecution necessarily must

Saimmaieinn that the defendant's act was not

on the spur of the moment (T. 690; A. 14).

27. The trial court further instructed the jury

that prior calculation and design requires "a

definite process of reasoning in advance of the

killing, which. . . must. have included a mental plan,

involving studied consideration of the method and the

means with which to kill another.” (T. 690; A. 14)

See also Legislative Service Commission Note to R.C.

§ 2903.01 (1983), requiring “studied care in planning

or analyzing the means of the crime, as well as a

scheme encompassing the death of the victim"

(emphasis added). Prior calculation and design is

wholly incompatible with self-defense.

By obliging the defendant to prove she acted

in the belief that she was in imminent

danger," about to be killed or to receive

great bodily harm (T. 701; A. 20), the Ohio

trial court demanded that Earline Martin prove

she acted on the spur of the moment. The

trial court's instruction thus required her

to disprove the essential element of prior

calculation and design, and her conviction

is violative of due process.

The Ohio Supreme Court stated that

Appellant did not dispute the existence of

these elements, including prior calculation

and design. This is inaccurate. In fact,

the Ohio Supreme Court did not independently

The Ohio Supreme Court instead attempted

rely on the characterization of self-

ct

O

lefense in State v. Poole, 33 Ohio St.2d 18,

19, 294 N.E.2d 888, 889 (1973), as a defense

which “admits the facts claimed by the prose-

ct

cution.” Such reliance is misplaced. Poole

involved the defense of accident, not self-

defense, to a charge of the first degree under

the previous murder statute, and simply

identified self-defense as such a defense in

passing. State v. Poole, 33 Ohio St.2d at

19, n. 3. More importantly, all of the cases

which Poole cited in support of this

characterization, and Poole itself, were

decided before the element of prior

calculation and design was legislatively

identified and defined. Therefore, Poole

has no relevance in the determination of the

relationship between self-defense and prior

calculation and design.

Petitioner Martin is not asking this

Court to substitute its own reading of the

term 'prior calculation and design' for that

of the Ohio legisiature or the Ohio courts.

The meaning of the term is evident in both

the Legislative Service Committee notes and

i+ Taeriec? > } " . -~jc my; } 7,

Ohio decisions. The inconsistency between

> as

"prior calculation and design” and sel

defense i

oP

evident upon the face of the jury

instructions in the case at bar. Since prior

calculation and design and self-defense so

obviously negate one another, the principles

of Mullaney and Patterson require that the

judgment of the Ohio Supreme Court be

reversed.

Sandstrom v. Montana, 442 U.S. 510

(1979), and Francis v. Franklin, 471 U.S.

__, 105 S.Ct. 1965, 85 L.Ed.2d 344 (i985),

also warrant a reversal of Defendant Martin's

conviction. "A jury's verdict cannot stand

if the instructions provided the jury do not

require it to find each element of the crime

under the proper standard of proof." Cabana

v. Bullock, U.S. __, 106 S.Ct. 696, 88

L.Ed.2d 704, 715 (1986) (citing Sandstrom).

While the jury received general

instructions as to the prosecutcr's burden

(T. 676, 686-7, 692-693; A. 6, 12, 15), and

the presumption of innocence (T. 676-677; A.

6-7), the jury was also specifically

instructed that the burden of proof is upon

the Defendant to prove the elements of self-

defense by a preponderance of the evidence

(T. 699-700, 703; A. 19-20, 21). Prior

calculation and design and self-defense are

Simply irreconcilable circumstances. Ms.

Martin's jury was thus faced with clearly

contradictory instructions respecting allo-

cation of the burden of persuasion ona crucial

element of the offense, prior calculation and

design. Such "contradictory instructions as

to [an element] create a reasonable likelihood

that a juror understood the instructions in

an unconstitutional manner," Francis v.

Franklin, 105 S.Ct. at 1976, shifting the

burden of proof from the prosecution to

Defendant Martin. 28

Informing the jury at several points

28. While Sandstrom and Francis both presented

instances of unconstitutional burden-shifting by

means of a presumption, the same due process test of

"the way in which a reasonable juror could have

interpreted the instruction" Sandstrom v. Montana,

442 U.S. at 514, must apply to jury instructions

which, by other devices, are challenged as having the

effect of relieving the state of the burden of proof

enunciated in Winship. This test applies regardless

of the device used. "It has been settled law since

Stromberg v. California, 283 U.S. 359 (1931), that

when there exists a reasonable possibility that the

jury relied on an unconstitutional understanding of

the law in reaching a guilty verdict, that verdict

mast be set aside." Francis v. Franklin, 105 S.Ct.

at 1976, n. 8. The Stromberg principle clearly

applies to other burden-shifting devices, although

the Court has not yet had an occasion to apply it in

a non-presumption context. The issue was presented

in Patterson. Although this Court concluded its

opinion with the statement that "nothing was presumed

or implied against Patterson," Patterson v. New York,

432 U.S. at 216, this Court had granted review in the

absence of a presumptive device to consider whether

"burdening the defendant in a New York State murder

trial with proving the affirmative defense of extreme

emotional disturbance as defined by New York law"

offended the constitution. Patterson v. New York,

432 U.S. at 198. The Court sustained Patterson's

conviction as no burden-shifting occurred as to an

element of the crime because the affirmative defense

bore no direct relationship to any element of murder.

Patterson v. New York, 432 U.S. at 201.

The Court's recent opinion in Cabana v. Bullock,

__ U.S. ___, 106 S.Ct. 689, 88 L.Ed.2d 704 (1986),

demonstrates the Court's continued application of the

Stromberg test to all circumstances where jurors may

have been led to unconstitutional, or constitu

» $2 «

that the prosecutor must prove prior

calculation and design beyond a reasonable

doubt does not cure the due process violation.

These instructions at best contradicted the

allocation to the defendant of the burden of

proof on self-defense. See Francis v.

Franklin, 105 S.Ct. at 1975, 1976, and see

also Cabana v. Bullock at 714-715, n. 2. No

instructions were provided the jury that would

lead them to reconcile the conflicting

instructions in a constitutionally permis-

sible manner.

(cont. )

tionally inadequate, decision-making. In Bullock,

the Court used the Stromberg test in ascertaining

whether the capitally sentenced Bullock had been

found by the jury to have actually killed, attempted

to kill or possessed the intent to kill the victim

as required by the Eighth Amendment. See Enmund v.

Florida, 458 U.S. 782 (1982). The Court found that

a “fair-minded juror . . . could have understood [the

jury instructions] to mean that the jury could find

Bullock guilty of capital murder without regard to

his intent.” Cabana v. Bullock, 88 L.Ed. 2d at 714.

Bullock involved no presumptions, nor burden-

shifting, yet the Court applied the Stramberg

analysis. That same analysis should apply here toa

non-presumptive, but burden-shifting, instruction.

- 53 -

The burden-shifting was repetitive and

e)

permeated the entire charge. The conflict

was inherent throughout the instructions.

innocence in favor of the Defendant (T. 681;

A. 8), they were at the same time specifically

told to convict if the evidence regarding

Re Bh) On these instructions, the jurors

were informed that the state had the burden

to prove prior calculation and design beyond

a reasonable doubt but what the jurors were

not explicitly told was that self-defense

could provide that reasonable doubt. Indeed,

a reasonable juror may well have believed

that Earline Martin had to prove the absence

of prior calculation and design by a

preponderance of the evidence to be

acquitted. 29

Finally, the instructions created

confusion by yet another conflicting duty.

The jurors were instructed: "Before you can

find the Defendant guilty of aggravated

murder, you must find beyond a reasonable

that on or about the 2lst day of July, 1983,

and in Cuyahoga County, Ohio, the Defendant

unlawfully and purposely and with prior

29. The jurors received a writter copy of the

instructions (T. 686; A. 11), and therefore had the

Opportunity to review them. It is possible that same

jurors may have disagreed with the judge's instruc-

tions that the Defendant must prove her innocence,

i.e., that her act was in self-defense. However, it

is highly unlikely that such disagreement would have

influenced deliberations. The first instruction the

jury received was that it was their sworn duty to

apply the law as given, and that they "are not

permitted to change the law, not to apply your own

ideas of what you think the law ought to be” (T. 673;

A. 4). One of the last instructions the jury received

was that they "not invad[e] [the judge's] area, which

is relative to the law (T. 705; A. 22). The jury was

also repeatedly admonished not to be "swayed or

influenced by considerations such as sympathy” (T.

673; A. 4-5, and see 704; A. 22). Therefore, even

if some jurors were possibly unhappy with the law's

allocation of burden, they were not permitted the

opportunity to act on those concerns.

- 55 -

rn

calculation and design, caused the death o

another .. ." (emphasis added) (T. 686; A.

12). The jury was told there was a right of

self-defense (T. 702; A. 20-21) and that an

" . }

act performed in self-defense is “justified

(T. 699, 700; A. 19, 20).

Therefore, the jurors were directed that

the prosecution must prove that her act was

unlawful, and yet Ms. Martin had to prove her

act was justified, i.e., lawful. These

instructions are irreconcilable, and a

reasonable juror might well reconcile the two

by placing the burden of proof on the Defendant

to prove her act lawful. This interpretation

offends due process, and this Court cannot,

on this record, be assured this path was not

taken.

III.

DUE PROCESS REQUIRES THAT THE

STATE BEAR THE BURDEN OF PROVING

BEYOND A REASONABLE DOUBT THAT THE

ACCUSED'S ACTIONS WERE UNLAWFUL AND

NOT IN SELF-DEFENSE.

It is axiomatic that the State may not

convict and punish an accused for a crime

unless it has proved his guilt beyond a

reasonable doubt. In re Winship, 397 U.S.

358 (1970). This fundamental due process

Standard was not met in the instant case.

The State was not required to prove that Ms.

Martin's actions were unlawful and consti-

tuted a crime. On the contrary, Ms. Martin

was required to prove that she acted lawfully

in self-defense.

In Winship, 397 U.S. at 363-364, this

Court identified several vital interests pro-

tected by the reasonable doubt standard: the

liberty and good name of the accused; reducing

the risk of convictions based on factual

error; and commanding the respect and confi-

dence of the community in applications of the

criminal law. As in Mullaney v. Wilbur, 421

U.S. at 700, these interests are implicated

to a greater degree here. Ms. Martin faced

a life sentence and stigmatization as a

murderer if convicted. If acquitted, she

would be set free. Both the consequences to

Ms. Martin and the community's interest in

seeing only the guilty punished required that

the State prove that she acted unlawfully.

Moreover, requiring Ms. Martin to prove

the critical fact in dispute--whether or not

she acted in self-defense--increased the

likelihood of an erroneous conviction. Id.,

at 701. This Court held in Mullaney that:

"[sluch a result contravenes the

principle articulated in Speiser

v. Randall, 357 U.S. 513, 525-526

(1958):"

'{w]here one party has at stake

an interest of transcending

value--as a criminal defendant

his liberty--thl[e] margin of

error is reduced as to him by

the process of placing on the

[prosecution] the burden...

of persuading the factfinder

at the conclusion of the trial

. ." See also In re Winship,

397 U.S. at 370-372 (Harlan,

J., concurring). Id.

See also, Patterson, 432 U.S. at 215.39

Accordingly, due process requires the State

to bear the ultimate burden of persuasion on

the issue of self-defense, a fact so critical

to culpability.

The practical effect of requiring an

accused to prove self-defense by a prepon-

derance of evidence is appalling. Under this

burden of proof, Ms. Martin could have

received a life sentence when it was as likely

as not that she was innocent. As this Court

recognized in Mullaney, 421 U.S. at 703, this

is an intolerable result in a society where

"it is far worse to convict an innocent man

than to let a guilty man go free." See

Winship, 397 U.S. at 372 (Harlan, J., con-

curring). It can only be remedied by requiring

30. "Such shifting of the burden of persuasion with

respect to a fact which the state deems so important

that it must be either proved or presumed is

impermissible under the Due Process Clause."

the State to prove beyond a reasonable doubt

that the accused did not act in self-defense.

(Tt

J

'

D

Otherwise, guilt may be found even where

is a reasonable doubt that the defendant'

7

actions were criminal.

Additionally, under Ohio law a jury must

decide guilt or innocence based on conflicting

and confusing instructions. On the one hand,

the jury is told the accused is presumed

innocent and the State must prove guilt beyond

a reasonable doubt. On the other, the jury

is instructed that the defendant is required

to prove his claim of self-defense by a pre-

ponderance of the evidence. While lawyers

may reconcile those instructions, there is

substantial doubt that lay jurors can.?1 Due

process demands that the jury clearly

understand the proper standard of proof for

deciding guilt or innocence. Sandstrom v.

Montana, 442 U.S. 510 (1979); Francis v.

Franklin, 471 U.S. __, 105 S.Ct. 1965, 85

L.Ed.2d 344 (1985); Cabana v. Bullock, 474

U.S. ,106S.Ct. 689, 88 L.Ed.2d 704 (1986).

Indeed, the overwhelming number of jurisdic-

tions in the United States have recognized

this fact and require the state to bear the

burden of proof upon the issue of self-

defense. See cases summarized in the Appendix

31. See Comment, "Shifting the Burden of Proving

Self-Defense--With Analysis of Related Ohio Law," 11

Akron L. Rev. 717, 744 (1978). Several courts have

held similar instructions placing the burden of proof

on the issue of self-defense on the defendant to be

conflicting and confusing. See Thomas v. Leeke, 725

F.2d 246 (4th Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. __,

105 S.Ct. 218 (1984); Griffin v. Martin, 785 F.2d

1172 (4th Cir. 1986), reh. en banc granted, _ F.2d

___; State v. Millet, 273 A.2d 504 (Maine 1971), and

cases Cited therein; Leonard v. People, 369 P.2d 54

(Colorado 1962); Lester v. State, 121 So.2d 110

(Alabama 1960); see also Cherry v. Jago, 722 F.2d

1296 (6th Cir. 1983) (Jones, J., dissenting) cert.

denied, U.S. _, 104 S.Ct. 3518 (1984).

to this brief at A-4. Placing the burden on

the State to prove the absence of self-defense

has the virtue of relative simplicity and

comports with Winship. See State v. Millet,

273 A.2d at 507.

If this Court is to remain true to the

principles of Winship, it cannot countenance

the conviction in this case under a lesser

standard of proof. The State cannot be per-

mitted to deprive the accused of her liberty

and good name without being required to prove

that her actions were unlawful. Actions taken

in self-defense are not a crime. Before the

State may punish an accused, she must be shown

to be morally blameworthy. See Fletcher,

"Two Kinds of Legal Rules: A Comparative

Study of Burden of Persuasion Practices in

Criminal Cases," 77 Yale L.J. 880, at 890,

911 (1968). This is fundamental to basic

notions of due process.

Further, to require the accused to prove

her innocence on the “critical fact in

dispute” compounds the Winship violation. It

not only conflicts with the overriding

presumption of innocence, but increases the

risk that an innocent person will be

convicted. Mullaney v. Wilbur, 421 U.S. at

701. It is certainly not a standard of proof

“designed to exclude as nearly as possible

the likelihood of an erroneous judgment."

Addington v. Texas, 441 U.S. 418, 423 (1979).

As this court said in Winship, 397 U.S. at 364:

"It is critical that the moral force

of the criminal law not be diluted

by a standard of proof that leaves

people in doubt whether innocent

men are being condemned."

Such doubt pervades the instant case.

CONCLUSION

Because an act taken in self-defense is

innocent conduct which is protected by the

United States Constitution, the State cannot

require an accused to bear the burden of proof

on that issue because to do so would require

the accused to prove her innocence in vio-

lation cf the principle announced in In re

Winship. Equally as important, a functional

that proof of self-

W

analysis demonstrate

7)

w

se)

ry

i

| oe

<

os

QO

fw

cT

1.)

Wn

W

N

1)

ry

wy

ae

defense nece:

reasonable doubt. Consequently, the princi-

ples announced in Mullaney and Patterson

prohibit the placement of the burden of proof

upon the issue of self-defense on the accused.

Accordingly, the judgment of the Ohio

Supreme Court below should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

RANDALL M. DANA

Ohio Public Defender

GREGORY L. AYERS

Chief Counsel

Ohio Public Defender

Commission

Eight East Long Street-

llth Floor

Columbus, Ohio 43215

(614) 466-5394

COUNSEL OF RECORD

RICHARD L. AYNES

MARGERY B. KOOSED

J. DEAN CARRO

Appellate Review Office

School of Law

The University of Akron

Akron, Ohio 44325

(216) 375-7751

COUNSEL FOR AMICUS CURIAE

OHIO PUBLIC DEFENDER

COMMISSION

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

FEDERAL CASES TREATING STATE LAW

WITH RESPECT TO SELF-DEFENSE AND THE

BURDEN OF PROOF

Pourth Circuit

Guthrie v. Warden, 683 F.2d 820 (4th

Cir. 1982) [Maryland law: self-defense

exonerates an accused of any degree of

culpable homicide].

Wynn Vv. Mahoney. 600 F.2d 448 (4th Cir.),

cert. denied 444 iF 950 (1979) [North

Carolina law: selti-defense negates

unlawfulness].

Sarah Thomas v. William D. Leeke, 725

F.2d 246 (4th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469

U.S. _, 105 S.Ct. 18, 83 L.Ed.2d 148 (1984)

Though the deci n this case is based

upon a finding

cad

> |

OowQar-s

of onfusion between the

instructions upon the state's burden to prove

guilt beyond a reasonable doubt and the

defendant's burden to prove self defense, it

is clear that the underlying problem was that

the Court found self-defense to be

inconsistent with cuilt.

veaaser V- Weatherholtz, 572 F.2d 994

1978), cert. denied, 439 U.S.

Ginia law: no infirmity in

—

eq defendant to establish self-defense

"to the extent of raising... a reasonable

doubt as to whether or not he acted in the

lawful exercise of such right"); Baker v.

Muncy, 619 F.2d 327 (4th Cir. 1980) [Virginia

law: following Prazier]. See discussion of

Frazier in Griffin v. Martin, 785 F.2d 1172

(4th Cir. 1986) at 1187-1189 (J. Murnaghen)

(pending for rehearing en banc); cf. 1194 (J.

Sneeden, dissenting).

Fifth Circuit

Tennon v. Ricketts, 642 F.2d 161 (5th

Cir. 1981) [Georgia law: self-defense negates

unlawfulness]; McElroy v. Holloway, 632 F.2d

605 (5th Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 451 U.S.

1028 (1981) [Georgia law: self-defense

negates unlawfulness].

Sixth Circuit

Compare Carter v. Jago, 637 F.2d 449

(6th Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 456 J.S. 989

(1982); Thomas v. Arn, 704 F.24G 865 (6th Clr.

1983); Nieb v. Jago, Ah F.2d 228 (6th Cir.

1982), cert. denied, 463 U.S. 1210; Jones v.

Jago, 701 F.2d 45 (6th Cir. 1983), cert.

denied, 464 U.S. 914; Long v. McKeen, 722

F.2d 286 (6th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 465

U.S. 1106 (1984); Melchior v. Jago, 723 F.2d

486 (6th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 466 U.S.

952 (1984) (Contie, J., concurring), White

v. Arn, 788 F.2d 338 (6th Cir. 1986), petition

for writ of certiorari pending, and Wilson

v. McMacken, 786 F.2d 216 (6th Cir. 1986)

rejecting arguments oe to those

presented in the instant case with Hooper v.

Perini, 641 F.2d 445, 446 ‘6th Cir. 1981),

cert. denied, 454 U.S. 817; Thomas v. Arn,

704 F.2d 865, 876, on 13 (6th Cir. 1983)

[indicating that self-defense negated the

malice element under the pre-1974 Ohio murder

statute] and Isaac v. Engle, 646 F.2d 1129,

1136 (6th Cir. 1980) (en banc) (Edwards, C.J.,

concurring), rev'd on other grounds sub non.

Engle v. Isaac, 456 U.S. 107 (1984). It

should also be noted that in Webster v. Engle,

721 F.2d 566, 569 (6th Cir. 1983), and Melchior

v. Jago, 723 F.2d 486, 492 (6th Cir. 1984)

cert. denied, 466 U.S. 952, it was indicated

that the question O

stitutional to place the burden of ae

the issue of self-defense was one which

-

was "open" and still not resolved within the

Circult.

Eleventh Circuit

See Lamb v. Jernigan, 683 F.2d 1332,

1336 (llth Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 460 U.S.

1024 (1983) {Georgia law: self-defense

negates malice] (dicta).

*osuejop

—~jJjes uT peqzoe sy 3eYy} BOUePTAS syy jo gouer Jepuodead

e Aq aaoad ystw jURepUusjop Sy ‘peqqtnboe oq OF JepszO U]

*peqq tnboe

ST WURPUeJep oy} JO aSUaJep-j[ES JO BOUSSGe 9Yy} MOYS 4StwW

a3e4S 8uQ ‘UOTIONpOAd yO usepang STYyQ Jeu! sey JUepUsSjEp

9uj eoug «,,°Ssz0an€ ey jO Spulw siyy UT Aqnop e[qeuosesl e

BROAD OF YUSTOTJINS SOusptAda, OF ,VOUSPTAS S[QTpejrod awos,,

St ebuel ey, *e3e9S OF 9}e}S WOIJ SeTIeA perTNbe1 souep

-TAe oyuQ jo Aqtyenb oy), ‘“esuejep-jtes butmoys soueptsAe

2u3 YIM paemMioj Hutob jo uspang ey sey quepuejeop UL

*‘osusTJO 9YyQ JO QUaUPTS UP

peASPTSUOD ST eSUdJOp—j]eS JO souesge oy} se ‘eSUsTOEp-j[eES

JO uoTIJesse ey} UeYy JeYyjO UEpANq OU Sey YUePUezEp Sl],

SAIS SOORIWA

NI SSNGAAG-aTaAS NO d00Ud dO SNARE

7) oH IAL

sy odd],

“(V86T BXSETY) 6LIT pz-a C89 “3389S “A uOjSoM ‘(S861

*ddy °35 eysety) [L9 Pe"d 869 ‘3323S °~ uMolzg *(ST)006° 18°TT

“OOE* 18° TT “SEE T8° TT ‘O€E*IS*IT §§ SeIN{eAS =o BYSeTY

“(€86T “PBLW) 6Lb Pz*OS ep ‘uosuyor UST [Ty

S44ed XA 4 (096T “PLY) OTT pz‘os I@T “8983S *A FaQSe] /(7167)

ELS “OS 6S ‘Fb “RLY BLT ‘aqREaS -a SADOW “spunoib zeuyj0 uo

PEeTMATAAO ‘(968T) 6L *OS Tz ‘Ib “PLY ZIT ‘eqeqs ¢a UuOSUSH

60° TST PUP OGT"I9T “SSO°T9T §§ saqnqe js PESTAsy uoheiKg

(€861T “ddy *os) g/¢ pz-os 66

‘ueueYoNg *A 33e35 *(Z86L °B1) 972 pz-os Dib ‘UMOIg *A a3RR5

SIMS SNOLYVA AKL NI

dO0Ud JO SNAGN ud SAL LL DOW LOW

PXSPTy

eweqe ty

Gd AdAL

uobs10

PURTSTNO]

VY ddA

“€OE-ITT “19b-TT ‘P9b-TT §§ peqeqouUuy SPO) SAeMETOG

"(¥86T “ddy *uuop)

STt PCW Sib “609 “ddy ‘uuoD | ‘xpIMpreW °A aQe 95 ‘z7T-erc

“OT-PfS ‘61-eFS §§ pezejOUuUY seyN{QE\AS TeASUSH ANOTIsuUGD

“bOL-T-8T PUB LOb-T-8T §§ seqnqRQs5 PESTASY OpeJOTOD

"(7861 “ddy *35) 90S *aqdy

“TREO SBT “SEE pE*ddy *TeD cet ‘Buraesyer uo “(Z86T *ddy °39)

C6S “230 *1eD PE ‘Epp pEerddy *Te bel ‘UeTApy *A atdoag

(6261) T PZ°M’S 8S ‘OTP “4aW 997 ‘eqeIS °A sTeag

*LOS-Ib ‘90S-Ib ‘(€)OTI-1b §§ peqeoUUy Se7njejSg sesueyly

*(T86T

“ddy *ZTaW) €~ZT PZ*d 9E9 ‘TOP "2T2¥ O€T ‘Guoyqeasanes -a

SIPS *(P86T) 086 PZ*d BR9 ‘gg *zTay Chl ‘tequNy °A 33RR5

SIPMET AG

3P2ITAOeuUOD

OpelzoTo)

BTUIOJT1ED

euoz Tay

(3,499) @ AdAL

“(PB6L “PUL) 1Zb PZ°U'N 99P

‘oqRNS “A UUeP OW {(8U6I) P16 “A°N 08 ‘IEP “PUL ILZT *99e843S

"A UOSMPT ‘(Z061[) 68S “A°N b9 ‘O09 “PUL 6ST *9989S “A MABI[D

‘7-€ puke T-L §§ ‘gE AsqdeYD soqyNZeIS pesTASY STOUT[]]

“(9Z6T) S89 “d SPzZ ‘OyANE *A 97H

"(0861 “ddy T1IemMeH) 6Z7Z PZ*d 919 ‘BuTTOoN “A 3324S

‘(1861 “ddy tTtemey) S9ET PZ’d 9E9 ‘ZotpUReS “A 93BRS ‘POE

OL pue *(&)(Z)STI-LOL “TOE-E0L §§ S$99NQEIS PESTASY TTeME}]

“(€B6L “8D) PLE PZ°A’S LOE “SOS “BD 1SZ ‘83eIS “A USpleM

"(pa6l “ddyv *ela) 96S PZ°OS PGP ‘S9e9S °A uUMOIYG

*AQtTsAoy Ne OAT 1} TSOd: Ip ON

7

7 °(9/61) €0Z PZ°AN ZSE

*SSeW ‘zonbripoy *A yQ[easuoMmmDD * (S861 *ddy *SSeW) £PL

p7°a°N 98h ‘TE6 “ddy “ssew 1[z ‘ueTTYSTMRYy °A 4A [PamMucUID)

°(9/61) 629 PZ’ Z9E “LET “PW 8LZ “Suen °A

ayeas /(//61) 6IOT PZ*W B9E “ZET “PW 087 ‘9983S “A StNbs

"(0861 “AN) LES PZ°W OTP ‘essebe]y “A 9384S *(1)TO01

pue gOT §§ WiT Jeqdeyd pe zejouuy seqnqe4s pestAsy sure

*(T)OL0°00S Pue OSO*ENS §§ SeqNqIeIS pesTAsYy AxyoNQUEY

(9/61) 006 PZ’d ZSS ‘08S “URN 077 “pzeSH

"A 33e9S /(9P6T) PES PZ°d LOT ‘OEZ “YUEN TOT “UITUG “A 9923S

°(9/61T) 088 PZ°M'N £62

'Wa0I9SIAAQ *A 99B9S /(1861) 89 PZ’M’N LIE ‘AoymTeYS “A 9935

eSsuery

“(6Z6T) SEOT PZ*d BBS “LE “AON G6 ‘aQRIQS °A

OSTOM *(0861) OFZI PZ°d 0Z9 ‘888 °AON 96 ‘OQRIS °A e119Td “3S

“(O861) €8T PZ°M'N 682 ‘SBS “GEN SoZ ‘STermes °A 3a9RR5

“(V86T) STI-€-Sh § pezejouUy

SPOD PUBIUOW +(G/61) 189 PZ*d LES ‘89T *QUOW 997 ‘Apeay -~a

FIPS *(086T) BLT PZ*d S09 ‘LET *QUOW GET ‘zedoy °A aQKI¢>

“1SO°9SS puke 1£0°E9S §§ SeqNQeIS pesTASY TaNnossIW

“(116T) 222 °OS $S ‘9LT “*SSTW 66 ‘a3RRS

“A uojdueH /(9681) S99 “OS 61 ‘PEL “SSIW €L ‘9983S “A puagg

“(S861L “UUTW) OZ PZ°M*N TLE ‘meUueID -a

SIPS *(TI6T) SPO “MN TET “86h “UUTW PTT ‘UOSTOUGIW “A 3324S

“(€86T “ddy *YyOIW) SSZ PZ°M'°N EE “poaMTON °A aTdoed ‘(1961

“YSTW) CPL PZ*M"N TIT “87S “UOTW P9E “YQaOMTTeEIS °A aTdoog

“(L881 “UOIW) S06 “M°N ZE ‘POL “UOTW S9 ‘uTTUBMOD -~ a[doag

PPeASN

eXSPIGSN

PUR UOCW

TINOSS Tw

tddIsstsstpw

eB JOSSUUTW

uebTyuoTW

(9,009) @ AdAL

8CL P2*d BSP “SQBIS “A TEIQIAD

.

_—

~_

—

J

—

ed

“(ZO6T) DLE “M°N ETL ‘9ZP “G'°N OT ‘3eTzZeWH °A BQRRS

“(SLZ6T) SLS PZ°H"S O72 “ZE9 “O°N B8zZ ‘UOSISeyUeY *~A

SIPAS *(6L61) €9Z PZ°A"S 662 ‘lbh “O'N Q6Z ‘UTaQIEM °A |QRRS

"(S96T AouUTYOW) OL°SE pue “OQO"SE “O0°SZ MET [PUSq YAOK MON

; “{Z96T) £98 PZ'd O€b ‘Z6Z “WN BL ‘UeTUDOD *-~A

FICS *(186T) THOT P2*d 279 “17h “WN G6 ‘ZoUTQIeW °A aQRR¢S

“(T96T) 90S PZ*W PLT ‘6Lh *Aedns *f°N 69 ‘OTTezeTUD

"A 9989S $(8961) I PZ°W ZZ ‘PhP “CN TS ‘Zeupreg °A aqKj¢

| "(eB(IIT)b *L79

pue (®)(T)L *979 §§ peqejoUuUY SeqzN{eIS pesTASYy saTUSduEY MON

cu

PUOUt

B430H7eG Ua

_ '

IT] ia U3

XIAO

WIT X W

A lof

“(826T “41D WAP) $66 PZ*d ZLS ‘ZTOyTeYyQeOM -A JOTzeIy

*(8L61) 808 PZ°a"S BhZ ‘09S “eA 6Iz “YYTe@MUOUMDD -~ JOUDOW

“(086T) $69 PZ%*d 619 ‘SerIQL, °A 3K Rg

“(6Z6T) TLE PZ°M’S 88S ‘3983S °A YOR]

“(LV6T) O€ PZ°M’S 902 ‘POZ *UUAT,

S8T “9983S “A sT@AW ‘(PL6T) I9E PZ’M'S OZS ‘9383S °A AvTuUCY

“(S@6T) 69€ “M°N FOZ ‘68Z “G°S gp ‘XOOTTM °A

S9P4S *(€961) BS PZ°M'N SZT ‘O6E “G'S 08 ‘UOQbuIppey °A aqKI5

“(8Z6T) 026 PZ°W O6E ‘20g a2 Uy]

“(LL6T) L29 PZ°W OLE ‘3PeTA °A YQTeaNUOMNDD

*(T861) O60T PZ°W 97h ‘9H “ed C6F ‘TSTTRUSS °A YQTRasuoumDD

PTUTDITA

Ye3f)

Sexe],

V9oSS< UUa]

4

eJOyYeq YyWNOS

PURTST YPOUY

eTURATASUUdg

“(9L61) €98 PZ°A°S E22 “HHH “O°S 99Z “UORTOM °A 9384S

(7861) (W)SO°T06Z § SPOD PEeSsSTA2Y OTUO

(6161) 9624 *d S8T ‘TBE “OAM 9i

‘aqeqs “A ACT ‘( 1861) LOTIL PZ*d 9E9 ’e9B9S °A AysjJoyeTUps

"(O861) OLZ PZ°M'N 662 ‘P9E PZ°STM 66 ‘SeTdeyas °A |QeRqS

“(8Z61) PLE PZ°S’S ZSZ

‘ASTAUATN °A 39e9S * (7861) SEP PZ°S’S 682 ‘BqQeTAKG] *A UBIMOYg

“(O861) O8ZT PZ*d PI9 “6ZT PZ*USEM PG ‘UOQUReH °A 9929S

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.