Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Ford v. Wainwright

Supreme Court brief1986

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

EDITOR'S NOTE

THE FOLLOWING PAGES WERE POOR HARD COPY

AT THE TIME OF FILMING. IF AND WHEN A

BETTER COPY CAN BE OBTAINED, A NEW FICHE

WILL BE ISSUED.

* 85-5542 aoe

2 1 ‘aes

— OFFICE OF THE CLERK

SUPREME COURT, US.

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM 1984

ALVIN BERNARD FORD, OR CONNIE FORD,

individually, and as next friend

on behalf of ALVIN BERNARD FORD,

Petitioner,

v.

LOUIE L. WAINWRIGHT, Secretary

Department of Corrections,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

POR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

RICHARD L. JORANDBY

Public Defender

15th Judicial Circuit of Florida

224 Datura Street/l3th Floor

West Palm Beach, FL 33401

(305) 837-2150

CRAIG S. BARNARD

Chief Assistant Public Defender

RICHARD H. BURR III

Assistant !ublic Defender

Counsel for Petitioner

Of Counsel

LAURIN A. WOLLAN, JR.

1515 Hickory Avenue

Tallahassee, FL 32303

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the Eighth and Pourteenth Amendments permit the

states to execute a person who appears to be mentally incompetent

without having first determined his competency through a reliable

and accurate factfinding procedure?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

QUESTION PRESENTED ld ee ee „„ „„ „„ „„ „ 1

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES lie ee ee ee ee ee a a a iv

CITATION TO OPINION BELOW „„ „„ „ 1

JURISDICTION eee eee ee „„„ „„ „4 1

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED ..... 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Course of Prior Proceedings 2

B. Material Facts ——— 2 * ee »-n „„ „„ „„ 4

C. How the federal question was presented

and decided in the courts below ............. 9

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

THE EIGHTH ANDO FOURTEENTH AMENDMENTS CAN NO

LONGER TOLERATE EXECUTION OF THE QUESTIONABLY

COMPETENT WITHOUT A PRIOR DETERMINATION OF

COMPETENCY THROUGH A RELIABLE PROCEDURE ......... 10

A. Introduction i ee ee ee „ „„ 10

8. Solesbee v. Balkcom did not decide

whether the Constitution prohibits

execution of the incompetent, but

modern Eighth Amendment jurisprudence

requires that this issue be decided ......... 13

S. The evolution of due process juris-

prudence since Solesbee requires that

the Court reconsider whether a

state-created entitlement to be spared

from execution if incompetent gives

rise to a federally-protected right to

a fair and reliable determination of

competency in a particular case 21

D. The ex parte, non-adversarial, non-

record procedure by which the Florida

Governor determines competency fails

to satisfy the minimum constitutional

Standards necessary to safeguard the

reliability, fairness and accuracy of

the competency-determination process 26

1. Plorida's ex parte, non-adversarial

procedure eee ee eee ee eee eee „ ee 26

2. Plorida's statutory competency-

determination procedure fails to

provide the reliable fact-finding

procedure required by the Consti-

tution's prohibition against

execution of the incompetent ............ 27

- ii -

PAGE

3. Plorida’s statutory competency-

determination procedure fails to

provide the reliable fact-finding

procedure required by the Consti-

tution in the administration of

the state-crevted right to be

spared from execution if incom-

a) ee „„ 30

E. Alvin Pord’s competency cannot be re-

liably determined without an eviden-

tiary hearing vee ee „ „„ er „„ 33

CONCLUSION —— 9 ** ‚ K ͤ „h 22 25525%⅔2ö „„ „„ „„ „„ 44

— iii -

AUTHORITIES

CITED

CASES

Addington v. Texas, 441 U.S. 418

(1979)

Ake v. Oklahoma, U.S. ’

105 S. cc. 1087 (1985)

Arnett v. Kennedy, 416 U.S. 134

(1974)

Barefoot v. Estelle, 463 U.S. 880

(1983)

Beck v. Alabama, 447 U.S. 625

(1980)

Bell v. Burson, 402 U.S. 535

(1971)

Bounds v. Smith, 430 U.S. 817

(1977)

Caldwell v. Mississippi, U.S.

PAGE

29

passim

21-22

15

15

22, 30,32

19

105 S.Ct. 2633 (1985)

Coker v. Georgia, 433 U.S. 584

(1977)

Dixon v. Love, 431 U.S. 105

(1977)

Eddings v. Oklahoma, 455 U.S. 104

(1982)

Enmund v. Florida, 458 U.S. 782

(1982)

Escoe v. Zerbst, 295 U.S. 490

(1935)

Ex parte Chesser, 93 Fla. 291

(1927)

Ex parte Chesser, 93 Fla. 590

(1927)

Pord v. State, 451 So.2d 471

(Fla. 1984)

Ford v. Strickland, 696 F.2d 804

(llth Cir.), cert. denied,

U.S. „ 104 S.Ct. 201 (1983)

Pord v. Strickland, 734 F.2d 538

(llth Cir. 1984)

Ford v. Wainwright, 747 F.2d 1357

(llth Cir. 1984)

Ford v. Wainwright, 752 F.2d 526

(lith Cir. 1985)

Fuentes v. Shevin, 407 U.S. 67

(1972)

— iv

15

18

31

15

18

21,23

26

24

3,24, 26

3,11,15

passim

Furman v. Georgia, 408 U.S. 238

(1972) 15,16

Gagnon v. Scarpelli, 411 U.S. 778

(1973) 23

Gardner v. Florida, 430 U.S. 349

(1977) 15,24,29

32

Godfrey v. Georgia, 446 U.S. 420

(1980) 15

Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254

(1970) 22,32

Goode v. Wainwright, 448 So.2d 999

(Pla. 1984) 26,27

Goode v. Wainwright, 731 F.2d 1482

(llth Cir.), cert. denied, U.S. 9

104 S.Ct. 1721 (1984) 10,15, 26

Goss v. Lopez, 419 U.S. 565

(1975) 29

Graham v. Richardson, 403 U.S. 365

(1971) 22

Gray v. Lucas, 710 F.2d 1046

(Sth Cir.), cert. denied, U.S. 7

104 S.Ct. 211 (1983) 11,15

Green v. Georgia, 442 U.S. 95

(1979) 15

Greenholtz v. Inmates of Nebraska Penal

& Correctional Couplex, 442 U.S. 1

(1979) 23

Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153

(1976) 18,20

Hicks v. Oklahoma, 447 U.S. 343

(1980) : 22

Hysler v. State, 136 Fla. 563

(1939) 24,26

Johnson v. Avery, 393 U.S. 483

(1969) 19

Joint Anti-Pascist Refugee Comm. v. McGrath,

341 U.S. 123 (1951) 29

Lockett v. Ohio, 438 U.S. 586

(1978) 15

Logan v. Zimmerman Brush Co., 455 U.S. 422

(1982) 22,31

Maggio v. Fulford, 462 U.S. 116

(1983) 28

Mattheson v. King, 751 F.2d 1432

(Sth Cir. 1985) 29

Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319

(1976) 31

McGautha v. California, 402 U.S. 183

(1971) 15,16

- 9 —

Memphis Light, Gas, Water Div. v. Craft,

436 U.S. 1 (1978) 31

Morrissey v. Brewer, 408 U.S. 471

(1972) 1 22,23

Mullane v. Central Hanover Trust Co.,

339 U.S. 306 (1950) 29

Phyle v. Duffy, 34 Cal.2d 144 (1949) 21

Robinson v. California, 370 U.S. 660

(1962) . 14

Shriner v. Wainwright, 735 F. 2d 1236 (llth Cir.),

cert. denied, U.S. „ 82 L. Ed. 2d 852

(1984) 19,20

Solem v. Helm, U.S. „ 103 S.Ct. 3001

(1983) 16

Solesbee v. Balkcom, 339 U.S. 9

(1950) passim

Townsend v. Sain, 372 U.S. 293

(1963) 28,29

Ughbanks v. Armstrong, 208 U.S. 481

(1908) 21,23

United States ex rel Smith v. Baldi,

344 U.S. 561 (1953) 25,26

Vitek . Jones, 445 U.S. 480

(1980) 22

Wainwright v. Ford, U.S. „ 104 S.Ct.

3498 (1984) 3,11,16

Williams v. New York, 337 U.S. 241

(1949) 14,24

Woodard v. Hutchins, U.S. e 104 6.Ct. 752

(1984) 10

Woodson v. North Carolina, 428 U.S. 280

(1976) 15,25

STATUTES

Section 927.07, Florida Statutes (1983),

as amended (1985) passim

SECONDARY AUTHORITY

American Psychiatric Association, Diagnostic

and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders

(Third Edition 1980) 4,35,39

American Psychiatric Association, “Report of

the Task Force on the Role of Psychiatry

in the Sentencing Process," Issues in

Forensic Psychiatry (1984) 41,42

S. Arieti, American Handbook of Psychiatry

(Second Edition 1974) 38

4 W. Blackstone, Commentaries on the Laws

of England (1768) 10,17

- vi -

1 J. Chitty, A Practical Treatise on the

Criminal Law (Amer. ed. 1819) 17

E. Coke, Third Institute (1644) 10,16,

17,20

Collinson, A Treatise on Law Concerning Idiots,

Lunatics, and Other Persons Non Compos Mentis

(1812) 20

T. Cooley, A Treatis on Constitutional Limitations

7th ed. 1903) 16

Dept. of Econ. and Soc. Affairs, United Nations Doc.

ST/SOA/SD/9, Capital Punishment (1962) 18

Dept. of Econ. and Soc. Affairs, United Nations Doc.

ST/SOA/SD/10, Capital Punishment:

Developments 1981138871387 18

PitzHerbert, Natura Brevium (1534) 16

I M. Hale, The History of the Pleas of the Crown 17,32

(1736)

S. Halleck, Law in the Practice of Psychiatry

(1980) 41

Hawles, Remarks on the Trial of

Mr. Charles Bateman, II State Trials 474 (1816) 32

Hazard and Louisell, Death, the State,

and the Insane: Stay Of Execution,

9 UCLA L. Rev. 381 11887 19

1 4. Kaplan, B. Sadock, Comprehensive Textbook

of Psychiatry (Fourth Edition 1985) 38

Note, Incompetency to Stand Trial, 8l Harv. L. Rev.

(1967) 20

S. Pollack, Psychiatric Consultation

for the Courts,1 Bull. Am. Acad. Psych. & L. 267

(1973) 41

Royal Commission on Capital Punishment,

1949-53 Report (1953) 10,19

I W. Russell, A Treatise on Crimes and Indictable

Misdemeanors ( Amer. e ) 17

Sayre, Mens Rea, 45 Harv. L. Rev. 974 (1931-32) 16

2 J. Stephen, A History of the Criminal Laws of

England (1883) 16

F. Wharton, A Treatise on the Criminal Law

of the United States ed. ) 17

- vii -

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM 1984

ALVIN BERNARD FORD, OR CONNIE FORD,

individually, and as next friend

on behalf of ALVIN BERNARD FORD,

Petitioner,

vs.

LOUIE L. WAINWRIGHT, Secretary

Department of Corrections,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner, ALVIN BERNARD FORD, prays that a writ of

certiorari issue to review the judgment of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit filed January 17, 1985,

upon which rehearing was denied on June 3, 1985.

CITATION TO OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals is reported at 752 F.2d

526 (llth Cir. 1985), and is set out at pages la-l0a of the

Appendix. The order denying rehearing is set out at App.

lla.

JURISDICTION

The judgment and opinion of the Court of Appeals were filed

on January 17, 1985, and petitioner's timely petition for

rehearing was denied on June 3, 1985. Thereafter, this Court

entered an order extending the time within which the petition for

writ of certiorari could be filed to and including October l,

1985. Jurisdiction is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

1 Citations to the Appendix accompanying this petition are

designated App. .

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

This case involves the Eighth Amendment to the Constitution

which provides in relevant part:

Excessive bail shall not be required, nor excessive

fines imposed, nor cruel and unusual punishments

inflicted;

and the Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution, which provides

in relevant part:

{[Nlor shall any State deprive any person of life,

liberty, or property, without due process of

law....

It also involves Section 922.07, Florida Statutes (1983), which

is set out at App. 122.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Course of Prior Proceedings

Alvin Bernard Pord is under sentence of death in the State

of Florida. The validity,of his conviction and death sentence

has previously been litigated, see Ford v. Strickland, 696 F. 2d

804 (llth Cir.), cert. denied, U.S. „ 104 S.Ct. 201

(1983), and is no longer in issue. The present proceedings are

concerned solely with the constitutionality of Plorida's effort

to execute Mr. Pord despite the substantial evidence of his

present insanity.

On October 20, 1983, counsel for Mr. Ford invoked the

procedures of Pla. Stat. § 922.07 (1983), relating to the

competency of a condemned inmate. Pursuant to this statute, the

Florida governor appointed a commission of three psychiatrists to

evaluate Mr. Ford's current sanity. The commission members each

reported their findings to the governor in writing, and without

further proceedings, on April 30, 1984 the governor signed a

Meath Warrant for Mr. Ford.

On May 21, 1984, Mr. Ford's attorneys filed in the state

trial court a Motion for a Hearing and Appointment of Experts for

Determination of Competency to be Executed, and for a Stay of

Execution During the Pendency Thereof, together with a supporting

memorandum of law and an extensive appendix containing documenta-

tion of Ar. Ford's incompetency. The trial court denied the

motion without a hearing and without findings. On appeal, the

Plorida Supreme Court also denied relief, holding that there is

no judicial review in Florida of the governor's determination of

competency to be executed. Ford v. State, 451 So.2d 471, 475

Thereafter, counsel for Mr. Ford filed a petition for habeas

corpus in the United States District Court for the Southern

District of Florida, claiming inter alia that the Constitution

prohibited his execution if presently insane and accordir y.

entitled him to a determination of his present sanity in an

evidentiary hearing. On May 29, 1984, the District Court denied

the petition without a hearing, holding in the alternative that

it constituted abuse of the writ, and that Florida's compliance

with § 922.07 adequately protected Mr. Pord's constitutional

right, if any, not to be executed when insane. App. 18a-30a.

On May 30, 1984, the Court of Appeals granted a certificate

of probable cause and stayed Mr. Ford's execution. FPord .

Strickland, 734 F.2d 538 (llth Cir. 1984). App. 3la-38a. This

Court thereafter denied respondent's motion to vacate the stay,

Wainwright v. Ford, U.S. „ 104 S.Ct. 3498 (1984). App.

39a-40a. Respondent Wainwright then filed a suggestion in the

Court of Appeals that the appeal be heard initially en banc,

because

the question of whether there is an Eighth

Amendment right not to be executed while insane

and if so, what procedures are required to

satisfy it, is one of first impression. Its

determination will affect capital litigation in

this Circuit and nationwide.

Respondent's Suggestion of En Banc Consideration, August 23,

1984, at 7. Following argument before a panel, respondent's

suggestion was noted to be moot, Pord v. Wainwright, 747 F.2d

1357 (llth Cir. 1984), and the panel thereafter affirmed the

District Court's disposition of the merits of Mr. Ford's claim by

a 2—1 vote. Ford v. Wainwright, 752 F. 2d 526 {llth Cir. 1985).

Rehearing en banc was denied.

B. Material Pacts

In the two-year period following December, 1981, Alvin

Ford's mental health gradually but pervasively deteriorated. By

November, 1983, a psychiatrist confirmed prior opinion that Mr.

Ford had become psychotic and found him incompetent to be

executed. At that time Mr. Pord thought that he was on death row

at Florida State Prison only because he chose to be there. He

thought that the case of rord v. State" had ended capital

pun.shment in Florida and, in particular, had deprived the State

of Plorida of the right to execute him. After November, 1983,

his incapacity worsened. He lost the ability to communicate by

conventional means. He could only mutter softly to himself,

making gestures in which there seemed to be a message, but a

message that no one could decipher. This was his condition at the

time these proceedings began in May, 1984.

The process of Mr. Pord's deterioration to this condition

began so gradually that at first it was almost imperceptible.

Until late December or early January, 1982, he seemed to be in

relatively good mental health. There were no symptoms, nor even

precursors to the symptoms, of psychosis. Wor had there been

taring any of the time since Mr. Ford's arrest in 1974. Thus, no

jees" ion of competency had been raised before, during, or after

5 i But gradually, from December, 1981 on, Mr. Ford lost

ach with external reality.

The most obvious sign of Mr. Ford's loss of contact with

reality has been his experience of delusions.2 at first, in

late 1981 and early 1982, Mr. Pord's delusions appeared as

occasional peculiar ideas and misperceptions. App. 53a-S6a.

Scadually, however, delusions took over his entire conscious

existence. The delusions eventually centered on his belief that

2 A delusion is “[a] false personal belief based on incorrect

inference about external reality and firmly sustained in

Spite of what almost everyone else believes and in spite of

what constitutes incontrovertible and obvious proof or

evidence to the contrary." American Psychiatric Association,

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders 356

r tion 7 usiona nking t]he major

disturbance in the content of thought“ that accompanies

schizophrenia, id. at 181, and is thus, "“[d]irect evidence of

psychotic behavior...," id. at 367.

the Ku Klux Klan was holding his family and other people hostage

in Plorida State Prison in order to drive him to insanity and

suicide. App. 72a-9la.3 As Mr. Ford's delusions took hold,

some auditory and olfactory hallucinations began accompanying the

delusions. See, e.g., App. 75a, 85-86a. By the summer of 1983,

however, his delusions began to change. Mr. Ford somehow gained

the power to free the hostages, to fire and prosecute the

officers responsible, and to replace and add to the Justices of

the Florida Supreme Court. App. 88a-92a. In this period, he

also began to refer to himself as Pope John Paul III. Id. tt was

during this time that he began to say, for the first time, that

the state could not execute him.

By November, 1983, Mr. Ford's communications became more

fragmented. He was no longer centered on any particular subject,

Sut would “carry on“ about a multiplicity of subjects all in one

uninterrupted breath. See, e.g., App. 93a-94a. An example of

this behavior was recorded by Dr. Harold Kaufman, a psychiatrist

who evaluated Mr. Ford on November 2, 1983 at the request of Mr.

Pord's counsel:

Mr. Ford:

The guard stands outside my cell and

reads my mind. Then he puts it on tape

and sends it to the Reagans and CBS...I

know there is some sort of death penalty,

but I'm free to go whenever I want

because it would be illegal and the

executioner would be executed...CBS is

trying to do a movie about my case...I

know the KKK and news reporters all

disrupting me and CBS knows it. Just call

CBS crime watch...there are all kinds of

people in pipe alley (an area behind ur.

Ford's cell) bothering me -- Sinatra,

Hugh Heffner, people from the dog show,

Richard Burr, my sisters and brother

trying to sign the death warrants so they

don't keep bothering me...I never see

them, I only hear them especially at

night. (Note that Mr. Pord denies seein

these people in his delusions. This

suggests that he is honestly reporting

what his mental processes are.) I won't

be executed because of no crime...maybe

because I'm a smart ass...my family's

back there (in pipe alley)...you can't

3 The Klan undertook this campaign against Mr. Ford because he

had found strong evidence, through his ability to perceive

events occurring beyond the normal limits of perception,

implicating the Klan in the arson of a house in Jacksonville

in which a black family was killed. App. 56a-68a.

evaluate ne. I did a study in the

army...a lot of masturbation...I lost a

lot of money on the stock market. They're

back there investigating my case. Then

this guy motions with his finger like

when I pulled the trigger. Come on back

you'll see what they're up to -- Reagan's

back there too. Me and Gail bought the

prison and I have to sell it back. State

and federal prisons. We changed all the

other countries and because we've got a

eretty good group back there I'm con-

pletely harmless. That's how Jimmy Hoffa

got it. My case is gonna save me.

App. 157a (Comments in parentheses are those of Dr. Kaufman).

In this same interview that Dr. Kaufman asked Mr. Ford, “Are

you going to be executed?" Mr. Ford replied, "I can't be

executed because of the landmark case. I won. Ford v. State will

prevent executions all over." App. 158a. Dr. Kaufman continued:

Dr. Kaufman (Q): Are you on death row?

Mr. Ford (A): Yes.

Q: Does that mean that the State intends to

execute you?

A: No.

Q: Why not?

A: Because Ford v. State prevents it. They

tried to get me with the FCC tape but when the

KKK came in it was up to CBS and the Governor.

These prisoners are rooming back there raping

everybody. I told the Governor to sign the

death warrants so they stop bothering me.

In December, 1983, communication with Mr. Ford became

virtually impossible. In two interviews, on December 15 and

December 19, he spoke in a fragmented, code-like fashion. At

times during these interviews, Mr. Ford appeared to be trying to

respond to questions posed to him, but he seemed incapable of

communicating by any of the conventional methods with which

people communicate. See App. 102a-107a.4

Pour psychiatrists evaluated Mr. Ford's competency during

this latter part of 1983: Dr. Harold Kaufman and the three

psychiatrists appointed by the governor pursuant to Fla. Stat. §

4 The second of these interviews, on December 19, was the

interview conducted by the psychiatrists appointed by

Governor Graham pursuant to Fla, Stat. § 922.07.

922.07 (Drs. Peter Ivory, Umesh Mhatre, and Walter Afield). Dr.

Kaufman, Dr. Mhatre, and Dr. Afield concluded that Mr. Ford

suffered from psychosis. App. 158a, 164a, 1662. Dr. Kaufman

further concluded that Mr. Ford's psychosis was of such severity

"that he cannot sufficiently appreciate or understand either the

reasons ‘why the death penalty was imposed upon hin! or ‘the

purpose’ of this punishment." App. 159a. Despite their agree-

ment with Dr. Kaufman concerning Mr. Ford's psychosis, Dr. Mhatre

and Dr. Afield concluded nevertheless that Mr. Ford was compe-

tent. 5 N

Substantial grounds were proffered to the District Court for

believing that the opinions of the three psychiatrists appointed

by the governor were based upon inadequate procedures. In

preparation for the hearing which counsel for Mr. Ford anticipa-

ted in the state trial court, counsel asked two forensic psychia-

trists, Dre. Seymour Halleck and Dr. George Barnard, both of whom

are widely acclaimed within their field, to review the process by

which Dr. Ivory, Dr. Mhatre, and Dr. Afield evaluated Mr. Ford.

Dr. Halleck and Dr. Barnard concluded that the evaluations

conducted by the three appointed psychiatrists were unreliable,

and that they failed to measure up to the minimum standards for

forensic evaluation. The reasons for this were the appointed

psychiatrists’ failure to consider much of the available data

concerning Mr. Pord's mental status, their failure to document

the factual basis for their conclusions concerning competency in

the face of pervasive data supporting the contrary corclusion of

Dr. Kaufman, and the great likelihood that the inappropriate

5 Thus, only the third psychiatrist appointed by Governor

Graham, Dr. Ivory, found Mr. Ford to be suffering from no

genuine illness. As to the genuineness of Mr. Ford's

illness, however, it should be noted that a fifth psychia-

trist, Dr. Jamal Amin, also evaluated Mr. Ford. Dr. Amin

evaluated Mr. Ford periodically during the course of his

deterioration, from before December, 1981 through June, 1983.

Dr. Amin concluded that Mr. Ford had developed a profound

form of schizophrenia during this time and documented why Mr.

Pord's illness was genuine. App. 153a-155a. Dr. Amin was

not able to render an opinion concerning Mr. Pord's competen-

cy after June, 1983, however, because Mr. Ford refused to be

interviewed thereafter by him,

conditions under which Mr. Ford was interviewed would produce

insufficient data for reliable forensic evaluation. See App.

169a-1l73a, 187a-193a.

Even with these serious deficiencies, however, Dr. Mhatre

and Dr. Afield found that Mr. Ford suffered from a psychotic

illness. Dr. Mhatre observed that “without [appropriate anti-

psychotic] medication [Mr. Ford] is likely to deteriorate further

and may soon reach a point where he may not be competent for

execution.” App. 164a. In the months following Dr. Mhatre's

observation, his prediction of further deterioration was strik-

ingly confirmed.

On May 23, 1984, Dr. Kaufman attempted to interview Mr. Ford

for two hours at Florida State Prison. He observed the follo-

wing: b

(Mr. Ford) appeared to have lost at least

twenty (20) pounds since I had last examined

him on November 3, 1983. He was neatly dressed

and was wearing rubber shower sandals. He did

not greet the four of us as we entered and sat

down. He sat with his body immobile and his

handcuffed hands in a prayerful position in

front of his mouth. Occasionally he moved his

hands, still in the praying mode, to each of us

for no apparent reason. His lips were pursed

intermittently, but his head moved little. His

eyes were closed or fluttering most of the

time, although he occasionally glanced at one

or more of us. His hands and fingers appeared

to be trembling. We took turns asking him

questions, and little or no response was

forthcoming. He began muttering to himself

after about five minutes. These utterances

were largely unintelligible. This is the

overall picture of what took place for two

hours.

App. 167a. These observations led Dr. Kaufman to conclude that

"Mr. Pord's condition, severe paranoid schizophrenia, has

seriously worsened, so that he now has only minimal contact with

the events of the external world,” and to reconfirm his opinion

that Mr. Ford was incompetent to be executed. App. 168a.

These were the facts that were proffered in the District

Court on May 29, 1984, in response to which the court -- like the

governor and the state courts before it -- held no hearing.

C.

How the federal question was presented and decided in the

courts ow

After exhausting state remedies, counsel for Mr. Pord filed

the present federal habeas corpus petition presenting the

question herein as shown in the Appendix, at pages 48a, 110a-

llla.

The District Court denied the petition with the following

statement:

App.

I find that there is an abuse of the writ

throughout this matter. But reaching the

merits as well I find no reason to grant the

relief sought by the Petitioner. The Governor

of this State acting under 922.07 the Court

finds that he has acted properly, has followed

the steps. Each of the three psychiatrists

whom he appointed has found the Defendant

sufficiently competent to be executed under the

law and so on the merits, as well as on this

issue, the petition must fail.

27a-28a.

In his appeal to the Court of Appeals thereafter, Mr. Pord's

counsel presented the question herein in the form of three

issues:

1. Whether the eighth amendment's prohibition

of cruel and unusual punishment forbids the

execution of a condemned person who is incom-

petent at the time of execution?

2. If the eighth amendment does forbid the

execution of the incompetent, whether a federal

habeas court must hold an evidentiary hearing

to determine the competency of such a person,

here the only prior state determination of

competency was made in an ex parte, non-judi-

cial proceeding?

3. Whether a state-created entitlement not to

be executed when incompetent can be withdrawn

without due process of law?

Brief for Petitioner-Appellant, at 1. The Court of Appeals

decided these issues as follows:

If the matter were being presented for the

first time, Ford's contention might present

considerable difficulty. The panel majority,

however, feels that Ford's contention is

foreclosed by binding authority. In Solesbee

[ve Balkcom, 339 U.S. 9 (1950)] the Supreme

Gurt examined a Georgia procedure which was

virtually identical to that now incorporated

in the Plorida statute. In the controlling

portion of the opinion the Supreme Court held

“We are unable to say that it offends due

process for a state to deem its Governor an

‘apt and special tribunal’ to pass upon a

question so closely related to powers that from

the beginning have been entrusted to gover-

nors.“ Solesbee v. Balkcom, 339 U.S. at 12, 70

S. ct. at 48 (footnote Omitted).

752 F. 2d at 528 (App. 3a).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

EEE LITRE WRIT

THE EIGHTH AND POURTEENTH AMENDMENTS CAN NO

LONGER TOLERATE EXECUTION OF THE QUESTIONABLY

COMPETENT WITHOUT A PRIOR DETERMINATION OF

COMPETENCY THROUGR A RELIABLE PROCEDURE

A. Introduction

All of the states which have the death penalty agree that a

condemned person cannot be executed if, at the time of execu-

tion, he or she is mentally incompetent. Among civilized people,

this consensus is not new. For at least seven hundred years, the

common law has forbidden execution of the presently incompetent

as a “savage and inhuman" act® and "a miserable spectacle ...

of extreme inhumanity and cruelty,"? that is “repugnant to the

moral traditions of Western civilization. 8

Notwithstanding the consensus of the states and the singular

command of the common law from the middle ages to the present,

the Court has never decided whether the Constitution prohibits

the execution of a presently incompetent person. bor has the

Court decided, since the demise of the right-privilege distinc-

tion, whether a state-created entitlement to be spared from

execution if incompetent gives rise to a federally-protected

right to a fair and reliable determination of competency in a

particular case.

Florida should not be allowed to take the life of Alvin Ford

until these questions are answered, for ur. Pord's case -- unlike

any other post-Furman case -- presents these questions on the

merits, without any serious question of abuse of the writ or

ether procedural bar,? and upon a record that creates, at a

s 4 W. Blackstone, Commentaries on the Laws of England 24

(1768).

7 8. Coke, Third Institute 6 (1644).

8 Royal Commission on Capital Punishment, 1949-1953 Report

98 (1953).

9 Cf. Woodard v. Hutchins, u. 8. : 104 S.Ct. 752 (1984);

Goode v. Wainwright, 731 Ftda 1482 {llth Cir.), cork. *

a «= > 104 eet. 1721 (1984). ta contrast to these

cases, in its opinion staying r. Pord's execution, the Court

of Appeals found, after extensive discussion, “no evidence in

the record to suggest that the incompetency issue was

minimum, substantial doubt about his present competency that has

not been resolved satisfactorily through the summary proceedings

before the governor and the lower courts, and that cannot be

resolved satisfactorily without a bear ing. 10

Throughout the proceedings in the courts below, the State of

Florida has sought to avoid decision of these questions by

arguing alternatively that Solesbee v. Balkcom, 339 U.S. 9

(1950), has already decided the questions, and in any event, that

Florida is not about to execute an incompetent person, because

the governor of Florida has found Mr. Ford to be competent. Thus

far, the State's strategy has worked, for no court -- state or

federal -- has decided the questions through a considered

analysis of the merits.

Such reasoning must not be allowed to dissuade the Court

from deciding these difficult, unanswered questions. The Court

has already declared unequivocally in Mr. Pord's case, in

refusing to dissolve the stay of execution previously ordered by

the Court of Appeals, that “[t]his Court has never determined

whether the Constitution prohibits execution of a criminal

defendant who curren iy is insane...." 104 S.Ct. at 3498 n.*

(emphasis supplied). Since the Court made this statement in the

face of the State's argument that Solesbee was controlling, see

available in December of 1981 when Ford's first [federal

habeas] petition was filed. . 734 F.2d at 539. Indeed the

process of Mr. Ford's deterioration only began in December of

1981. Because that process was gradual, the question of

competency did not even begin to arise until late 1982 or

1983. Since Mr. Pord's appeals from the District Court's

denial of his first petition were pending from December 10,

1981 through October 3, 1983, the Court of Appeals concluded

that Mr. Pord had not abused the writ by failing to file a

second petition while the appeals from the first petition

were still pending. 734 F.2d at 540 & n.1. Further, the

Court indicated that if the iaw “might and should evolve to

impose such a duty, we would not be inclined to [find abuse

of the writ] without the benefit of an evidentiary hearing to

give Ford and his counsel an opportunity to explain their

actions [,j... [which] would fall more clearly under Rule

9(a) of the Rules governing § 2254 cases ...." 734 F.2d at

540 n.1. on appeal, the panel did not readdress this matter,

simply noting that, “The summary holding of abuse of the writ

on the insanity issue is troublesome under the facts presen-

ted. In light of our resolution of the merits of this issue,

however, it is not necessary that we reach the question.” 752

P. 2d at 327 n. 1.

10 cf. Gray v. Lucas, 710 F.2d 1046 (Sth Cir.), cert. den.,

nS Sw | ; t. 211 (1983).

° ih -

Application of the State of Florida to Vacate Order of Eleventh

Circuit Granting Stay of Execution, and Supplement thereto, at

6-9 and 5-6 respectively, May 31, 1984 (No. A-980), the Court

plainly considered whether Solesbee controls and decided that it

does not. And, whether Florida is about to execute an incompe-

tent person cannot be answered simply by saying that the governor

has found Mr. Ford competent. Whether that finding rests upon

procedures consistent with the Constitution is the very question

that this Court is being asked to address in Mr. Ford's case.

As we demonstrate, this issue should be addressed in Mr.

Pord's case. The time is right, because

eee executions are now occurring with sufficient

frequency that the issue will continue to arise

until it is decided by the Court;!! and

eee constitutional principles have evolved over the

past two decades that now forbid the question-

ably competent to be executed solely upon the

whim of the state executive, but without

guidance from this Court the lower courts may

well decide to avoid the analysis required by

that doctrinal evolution -- as the Eleventh

Circuit did in Mr. Pord's case --through

misplaced adherence to Solesbee v. Balkcom.

Purther, Mr. Ford's case is the right case in which to review

this issue. No case could demonstrate any better the need for

the reliable factfinding procedure that the Eighth and Fourteenth

Amendments would require in the determination of competency to be

executed. Only that procedure -- not the ex parte procedure of

determining competency wholly on the basis of three psychi-

atrists“ written reports, as now utilized by Florida -- can

assure accuracy in the determination of competency in a case like

Mr. Pord's, for in his case

eee four of the five psychiatrists who have

evaluated him have concluded that he suffers

from a severe psychotic illness;

11 this is not to say, however, that a determination by the

Court would encourage frivolous assertions of incompetency.

See p. 32 & n. 26, infra. The current record in Florida has

established that it would not. And even if it did, the

courts are well-equipped to identify and dispose of such

claims quickly and efficiently. Id.

e 12 -

eee among these five psychiatrists, four have also

rendered opinions about Mr. Ford's competency,

and these opinions are in sharp conflict;

eee one of these psychiatrists has concluded that

Mr. Ford is incompetent to be executed, and in

comparison to the other psychiatrists who have

addressed the competency issue, has spent

substantially more time interviewing Mr. Ford

in an appropriate setting, has more thoroughly

reviewed his history, and has fully explained

and documented the relation between Mr. Ford's

psychosis and his competency to be executed;

eee in contrast, the three psychiatrists who have

concluded that Mr. Ford is competent have

interviewed him perfunctorily in a setting not

conducive to reliable mental status evaluation;

and one of these three has failed as well to

consider most of the available historical and

Symptomatic data necessary to evaluate Mr.

Pord, while the other two have failed al-

together to explain why, in light of their

conclusions that Mr. Pord is psychotic, they

nonetheless believe that he is competent; and

ese nationally-recognized experts in forensic

psychiatry have concluded that the manner in

which these three psychiatrists evaluated Mr.

Ford's competence to be executed was not likely

to produce reliable conclusions, because of

these deficiencies in their examination

procedures and reasoning.

If the Eighth Amendment prohibits execution of the incompetent,

or if the Pourteenth Amendment requires procedural safeguards in

the determination of competency under a state law prohibition

against execution of the incompetent, the Constitution cannot

tolerate the resolution of Mr. Ford's competency -- on these

facts -- by a procedure which has allowed no opportunity for Mr.

Pord's counsel to prove, as these facts so clearly suggest, that

Mr. Ford is incompetent.

B. Solesbee v. Balkcom did not decide whether the Constitution

rohibits execution of the incompetent, but modern Eighth

eT urisprudence requires that this issue be de-

¢

The Court of Appeals held that Mr. Pord's claim that the

Eighth Amendment prohibits the execution of the presently

incompetent had already been decided in Solesbee , Balkcon,

which held that a Georgia procedure similar to Pla. Stat. §

922.97 does not “offend[] due process.. . , 339 U.S. at 12. Ford

v. Wainwright, 752 F. 2d at 528. In so disposing of Mr. Ford's

Eighth Amendment claim, the Court of Appeals fundamentally

confused and intermingled the due process analysis of Solesbee

with the Eighth Amendment analysis required by Mr. Pord's claim.

In plain terms, Solesbee did not decide whether the Constitu-

tion substantively prohibited the execution of the presently

incompetent; it decided only whether the Due Process Clause of

the Fourteenth Amendment, as then interpreted, was offended by

"the method applied by Georgia here to determine the sanity of an

already convicted defendant...." 339 U.S. at 11. The Court did

not reech the substantive issue, because in 1950 the only

constitutional limitation upon the states" power to punish was

the Due Process Clause. The Eighth Amendment's prohibition

against cruel and unusual punishment was not to be incorporated

into the Due Process Clause for another twelve years. See

Robinson v. California, 370 U.S. 660 (1962). And in 1950, the

Due Process Clause guaranteed only the fundamental procedural

rights attendant to trials of guilt or innocence, which were

generally held to be unavailable in sentencing proceedings. See

Williams . New York, 337 U.S. 241, 245-46 (1949). Accordingly,

the Solesbee Court held that the procedural rights guaranteed by

the Due Process Clause were unavailable to challenge the manner

in which sanity was determined after conviction and sentencing.

339 U.S. at 12.

That Solesbee, in 1950, did not decide the Eighth Amendment

issue presented by counsel for Mr. Ford is even clearer when one

examines the doctrinal evolution brought about by the incorpora-

tion ot the Eighth Amendment into the Fourteenth Amendment. With

that development, the Constitution for the first time began to

limit the states" power to punish -- both as to sentencing

procedures and as to sentences themselves. As a result, the

Court has felt compelled to reconsider many of its earlier due

process decisions, most frequently and notably with respect to

the states’ procedures for inflicting capital punishment. The

Court has expressly recognized that its earlier precedents

upholding state capital procedures against due process challenges

require reconsideration and often a contrary result when the same

- 16 -

procedures are challenged under the Eighth Amendment. See, 24

Gardner v. Florida, 430 U.S. 349, 355-58 (1977) (plurality

opinion); id. at 363-64 (White, J., concurring); Lockett v. Ohio,

438 U.S. 586, 597-99 (1978) (plurality opinion of Burger, C.J.)

("Thus, what had been approved under the Due Process Clause of

the Fourteenth Amendment in McGautha [v. California, 402 U.S. 183

(1971)] became impermissible under the Eighth and Fourteenth

Amendments by virtue of the judgment in Furman [v. Georgia, 408

U.S. 238 (1972)]"). The reason for this is that under the Eighth

Amendment there must be greater reliability “in the determina-

tion that death is the appropriate punishment in a specific

case," Woodson v. North Carolina, 428 U.S. 280, 305 (1976), than

due process requires generally for determinations in criminal

cases. See, e.g., Eddings v. Oklahoma, 455 U.S. 104 (1982);

Lockett v. Ohio, supra; Gardner v. Plorida, supra. I2 accord,

Caldwell v. Mississippi, 9. 8. „ 105 S.Ct. 2633 (1985).

Hence, procedures that otherwise comport with the Fourteenth

Amendment have been held not to satisfy the Eighth Amendment's

requirement of enhanced reliability. See, e.g., Beck v. Alabama,

447 U.S. 625 (1980); Green v. Georgia, 442 U.S. 95 (1979);

Gardner v. Florida, supra.

For these reasons, until the Court of Appeals rendered its

anomalous decision in Mr. Pord's case, every lower federal court

confronted with the same issue had held, as the Eleventh Circuit

itself had in Goode v. Wainwright, that “[t]here has been no

conclusive determination whether there is such a constitutional

entitlement [not to be executed if incompetent] under federal

law." 731 F.2d at 1483 (citing Gray v. Lucas, 710 F.2d at

1053-54). Accord Ford v. Strickland, 734 F.2d at 539 (granting

Stay of execution). Thus, when Justice Powell wrote for the

plurality, in upholding Mr. Ford's stay, that “[t]his Court has

12 see also Barefoot v. Estelle, 463 U.S. 880, 924 (1983)

ackmun, J.. ssenting); ings v. Oklahoma, 455 U.S. at

118 (O'Connor, J., concurring); Sad rey vs Georgia, 446 U.S.

420, 443 (1980) (Burger, C.J., dissenting).

@ 1§ «

*

never determined whether the Constitution prohibits execution of

a criminal defendant who currently is insane,” Wainwright v.

Ford, 104 S.Ct. at 3498, he was demonstrably correct.

Because of its mistaken deference to Solesbee, the majority

of the panel in the Court of Appeals refused to consider the

merits of the Eighth Amendment question presented by counsel for

Mr. Ford. The panel majority did recognize, however, that "[iJf

the matter were being presented for the first time, Ford's

contention might present considerable difficulty." 752 F.2d at

528. The reason that the Court of Appeals majority was so

troubled about the merits of Mr. Ford's claim -- and the reason

that this Court should decide to review his claim -- is that the

principles of Eighth Amendment jurisprudence provide powerful

support for the claim that the Constitution prohibits execution

of the incompetent.

Ficst, the original intent of the Framers of the Bill of

Rights in prohibiting “cruel and unusual punishments" was “to

provide at least the same protection [to United States citizens]

-- including the right to be free from excessive punishments,”

Solem v. Helm, U.S. „ 103 S.Ct. 3001, 3007 (1983), as had

been accorded English subjects. See also Furman v. Georgia, 408

U.S. 238, 264 (1972) (Brennan, J., concurring) (summarizing the

Court's early Eighth Amendment decisions as "concluding simply

that a punishment would be ‘cruel and unusual’ if it were similar

to punishments considered ‘cruel and unusual’ at the time the

Bill of Rights was adopted"); McGautha v. California, 402 U.S.

183, 226 (1971) (Black, J., concurring) (same). Accord, T.

Cooley, A Treatise on Constitutional Limitations, 472-73 (7th ed.

1903). At the time the Bill of Rights was framed, the execution

of the incompetent had been strictly forbidden in England for at

least five hundred years as “savage and inhuman" and “a miserable

spectacle ... of extreme inhumanity and cruelty.” See, ; 2 J.

Stephen, A History of the Criminal Law of England 151 (1883)

(tracing the treatment of insanity from the mid-thircteenth

century); FPitzHerbert, Natura Brevium 202 (1534) (quoted in

Sayre, Mens Rea, 45 Harv. L. Rev. 974 (1931-32)); E. Coke, Third

Institute 6 (1644); 1M. Hale, The History of the Pleas of the

Crown 35 (1736); 4 W. Blackstone, Commentaries on the Laws of

England 24-25 (1768).13 Accordingly, even under the most

restrictive reading of the Eighth Amendment -- that it was

intended to prohibit only those punishments forbidden as cruel

and unusual under English law at the time the Bill of Rights was

enacted -- there is no doubt that it proscribed as “cruel and

unusual" the execution of the incompetent. It would require

blinders to history to hold otherwise.

Moreover, there is absolutely no indication that the Pramers

intended the execution of the incompetent to be excepted from the

punishments deemed cruel and unusual at the time the Eighth

Amendment was adopted. To reach this conclusion, one would have

to assume that the Framers intended “American law [to be] more

brutal than what is revealed as the unbroken command of English

law for centuries preceding the separation of the Colonies.”

Solesbee v. Balkcom, 339 U.S. at 20 (Prankfurter, J., disse

ting). As to the execution of the incompetent particularly,

there is no basis for such an assumption. See, : 1 J-

Chitty, A Practical Treatise on the Criminal Law 620 (Amer. ed.

1819) (carrying forward the proscription on execution of the

incompetent, noting that it “was always thought cruel and

inhuman"); 1 W. Russell, A Treatise on Crimes and Indictable

Misdemeanors 15 (3d Amer. ed. 1836)(same); F. Wharton, A Treatise

on the Criminal Law of the United States 50 (2d ed. 1852) (same).

13 even though the prohibition against executing the incompetent

was so entrenched in English law, some have mistakenly

referred to it as falling within the prerogative of the Crown

as an act of grace. This, however, is a misreading of common

law history. Though as a technical matter, one who was

incompetent was excused from execution only by a “reprieve,”

this kind of reprieve was not a matter of grace but a matter

of right. As Blackstone explained, there were two types of

ceprieves, the first was the “arbitrary reprieve” ("ex

arbitria judicis") which was discretionary and could be

granted, as S$ name implies, for any or no reason. The

second was “ex necessitate legis” which as its name implies,

was mandatory. The stay at execution due to incompetence

fell into this latter category. It was a reprieve as a

matter of right -- an “invarible rule" -- and could be raised

by the judge or “plead[ed) in bar of execution." Blackstone

Second, apart from the “intent of the Framers" analysis, the

execution of the incompetent fails as well to pass constitutional

muster under the “evolving standards of decency* analysis. Under

the first part of this two-stage analysis, execution of the

incompetent falls below “contemporary standards of decency” as

measured by the objective indicia of such standards. See gener-

ally Enmund v. Florida, 458 U.S. 782, 788-89 (1982) (discussing

the objective indicia of contemporary standards -- “the histori-

cal development of the punishment at issue, legislative judg-

ments, international opinion, and the sentencing decisions juries

have made" -- that were considered in Coker v. Georgia, 433 U.S.

584, 592 (1977)). From the perspective of historical development,

we have already shown that for seven hundred years the common law

nations have prohibited execution of the incompetent. From the

perspective of legislative judgments, all the states which have

capital punishment forbid the execution of the incompetent.!4

And finaliy, from the perspective of international opinion, the

prohibition is just as uniform, as reported by members of the

United vat ions. 15

Under the second part of contemporary Eighth Amendment

analysis, in which the Court, “informed by [the foregoing]

objective factors to the maximum possible extent,* Coker v.

Georgia, 433 U.S. at 592, “bring[s) its own judgment to bear on

the matter,” Enmund v. Florida, 458 U.S. at 788-89, execution of

the incompetent should be determined as well to fall below “the

basic concept of human dignity at the core of the [Eighth]

Amendment,” Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153, 182 (1976) (plurality

opinion). The very reason that such executions have been

proscribed for seven centuries is that they offend the concept of

human dignity: as already noted, history has condemned the

execution of an incompetent person as a “savage and inhuman act“

14 See Pord e inwright, 752 F. 2d at 530-31 6 n.2 (Clark, J.,

dissenting).

15 See Dept. of Econ. and Soc. Affairs, United Nations Doc.

SOA/SD/10, - 5 10

(1967); Dept. o ° ons 0

a airs,

ST/SOA/SD/9, Capital Punishment 15-16, 88 (1962).

and a “miserable spectacle ... of extreme inhumanity and cruel-

ty," that is "repugnant to the moral traditions of Western

civilization." It offends the most basic notions of fairness and

decency to execute human beings in such a helpless condition --

unable to understand what is happening to them, to defend

themselves as the law might still allow, to prepare for imminent

death or to make peace with their God, 16

Purther, execution of the incompetent interferes with the

condemned's right of access to collateral remedies -- a right of

"fundamental importance ... in our constitutional scheme,"

Johnson v. Avery, 393 U.S. 483, 485 (1969). Just as a person

must be competent in order to make the myriad of decisions,

voluntarily and intelligently, that must be made at trial, a

person must be competent in order to exercise meaningfully his

right of access to collateral remedies. Unlike appeals, which

concern claims already litigated, collateral proceedings are

“original actions seeking new trials ... frequently raising!

heretofore unlitigated issues ...," Bounds v. Smith, 430 U.S.

817, 827-28 (1977), and, like trials, require voluntary and

intelligent decision-making by the petitioner. See Shriner v.

Wainwright, 735 F. 2d 1236, 1240-41 (lith Cir.), cert. denied,

16 A number of logical explanations have been advanced over the

years to explain the prohibition against execution of the

insane, some of which have been the subject of debate over

their efficacy. see: „ Hazard and Louisell, Death, The

tion, 9 UC - Rev.

State

7 s ate, however, is quite beside

the point, for regardless of “the explanation it remains that

execution of the insane has been prohibited and disapproved

as savage, cruel and inhuman for centuries. "The more

fundamental the beliefs [of a civilized society] are the less

likely they are to be explicitly stated." Sri *

Balkcom, 339 U.S. at 16 frankfurter, J., dissenting).

"miserable spectacle" of execution of the insane is an act

that thus strikes to the essence of basic human dignity:

Such doctrines have been preached and

practiced in National Socialist Germany,

but they are nant to th moral

ad

are con y

tatingly — A the great majority of

the population of this country. We assume

the continuance of the ancient and humane

principle that has long formed part of our

common law.

Royal Commission on Capital Punishment, 1949-1953 Report 98

(1953) (emphasis supplied).

-19-

. s. + 82 L. 6d. 2d 852 (1984) (a habeas corpus petitioner

will be held to have waived his right to present facts and claims

if he personally fails to assert such facts and claims as were

known to him at the time of the habeas corpus proceeding, upon

counsel's negligent or deliberate failure to assert such facts

and claims).

Finally, execution of the incompetent does not measurably

contribute to the penological justifications for capital senten-

cing: retribution and deterrence Retribution is ill-served by

the execution of the incompetent, for if it is meant to impress a

moral lesson on the offender, the condemned person, by reason of

his incompetence, cannot be brought by that specter to feel the

respect for the law and society that a competent person should

feel. If it is intended instead to act as a release or an

“expression of society's moral outrage,” Gregg, 428 U.S. at 183,

then execution of the incompetent fails in that goal or even

counteracts it. Under this theory of retribution, each wrong must

be offset by a punitive act of the same quality. But when the

prisoner is incompetent, a punishment of lesser value is being

imposed. Accordingly, “the social goal of institutionalized

retribution may be frustrated when the force of the state is

brought to bear against one who cannot comprehend its signifi-

cance", Note, Incompetency to Stand Trial, 81 Harv. L. Rev. 454,

458-59 (196717

Por similar reasons, deterrence of others is not served by

execution of the incompetent. Lord Coke wrote centuries ago that

executing an incompetent person “can be no example to others."

Third Institute, at 6. This is so because “prospective offen-

ders“ of capital crimes, Gregg, 428 U.S. at 183, cannot identify

with an incompetent person who is executed. See also Collinson,

A_ Treatise on Law Concerning Idiots, Lunatics, and Other Persons

Non Compos Mentis 472 (1812). Moreover, whatever the overall

17 This retributive theory -- that the prisoner must know what

is happending to him in order to satisfy the public need for

vengeance -- may seem “unappealing to many, but,” as the

Court has said, “it is essential in an ordered society.”

Gregg, 428 u.S. at 183.

deterrent effect of the death penalty is itself, it would not be

weakened by the withholding of it for those relatively few

prisoners who become incompetent.

r es t our a ‘on

* ~protect :

min Ln @ part re .

Apart from his claim that the Eighth Amendment substantively

prohibits the execution of the insane, Mr. Ford's counsel also

argued in the courts below that the procedural due process

protections of the Pourteenth Amendment are triggered by

Florida's state-created right to be spared from execution when

insane, but that Florida's procedure for determining the compe-

tence of a condemned person at the time of execution, pursuant to

Pla. Stat. § 922.07, fails to afford the protections required by

the Pourteenth Amendment. Even though Solesbee decided this

procedural due process issue, the principles underlying its

analysis have evolved to such an extent in the intervening

decades, that we submit it is no longer of precedential value.

Because of this, we urge the Court to reconsider the applica-

bility of the Due Process Clause to the states’ procedures for

determining whether a condemned person is incompetent and thus

entitled to be spared from execution under a state-created

prohibition against executing the incompetent.

Since the decision in Solesbee, three significant evolution-

ary developments in due process jurisprudence have effectively

overruled Solesbee as controlling precedent.

First, esb was decided at a time when the procedural

protections of the Due Process Clause were applicable only to

rights,“ not “privileges.” See, e.g., Ughbanks z Armstrong, 208

U.S. 481 (1908); Escoe v. Zerbst, 295 U.S. 490 (1935); Phyle v.

Duffy, 34 Cal. 2d 144, 208 P.2d 668, 677-78 (1949) (Traynor, J.,

concurring in judgment). The classification of a particular

interest as a right or a privilege turned critically upon the

procedure which had been used historically to protect the

interest. See Arnett v. Kennedy, 416 U.S. 134, 166-67 (1974)

- 21 -

(Powell, J., joined by Blackmun, J., concurring in part); id. at

210-11 & n. 7 (Marshall, J., joined by Brennan and Douglas, J. J.,

dissenting); Logan v. Zimmerman Brush Co., 455 U.S. 422, 432

(1982). There is no better example of the operation of these

principles than the Court's analysis in Solesbee, which relegated

the interest of a condemned person in being spared from execution

if incompetent to the status of a privilege, solely because of

the procedure which the Court found to have been used historical-

ly to determine the cumpetency of a person at the time of

execution:

The heart of the common-law doctrine has been

that a suggestion of insanity after sentence is

an appeal to the conscience and sound wisdom of

the particular tribunal which is asked to

postpone sentence.

339 U.S. at 13,18

Since Solesbee, the Court has firmiy discarded “the concept

that constitutional rights turn upon whether a governmental

benefit is characterized as a ‘right’ or as a ‘privilege,'*

Graham v. Richardson, 403 U.S. 365, 374 (1971). See also Morris-

sey v. Brewer, 408 U.S. 471, 481 (1972); Bell v. Burson, 402 U.S.

535, 539 (1971); Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254, 262 (1970).

Rathec than examining the historical procedural protection

accorded a particular interest, the post-right/privilege analysis

focuses upon the objective expectation [of the individual],

firmly fixed in state law and official ... practice, Vitek z.

Jones, 445 U.S. 480, 489 (1980). If the individual has a

"justifiable expectation,” id., that the state will not arbitrar-

ily withdraw a benefit conferred or withhold a benefit expected

to be conferred, due process protects that individual's interest

against “arbitrary disregard ...," Hicks v. Oklahoma, 447 U.S.

343, 346 (1980). In the post-right/privilege era of analysis,

therefore, the Court has increasingly embraced the concept that

18 Even here, however, it should be noted that sb

Court's rceliance upon the procedure by which the s

interest had historically been protected was misplaced. As

we have demonstrated in footnote 13, 777540 the suggestion of

insanity after sentence historical was not an appeal to

discretion but an appeal to enforce an absolute right.

State-created substantive rights do enjoy the procedural protec-

tion of the Due Process Clause, because of the “justifiable

expectation" that such rights will not be withdrawn arbitrarily.

While there has been no application of the state-created

cights analysis to the interest of a condemned person in being

spared from execution if incompetent, the analysis has been

applied to two related interests -- parole and probation. Under

the right/privilege analysis, these interests were seen as

identical to the interest of the condemned in being spared from

execution if incompetent: each had previously been classified

only as “privileges,” which the state could grant or revoke

wholly within its discretion because each “comes as an act of

grace to one convicted of crime.” Escoe v. Zerbst, 295 U.S. at

492; Ughbanks vy. Armstrong, supra. See Solesbee v. Salkcom, 339

U.S. at 11 ("*(plostponement of execution because of insanity

bears a close affinity not to trial for a crime but rather to

reprieves of sentences in general"). Despite this view, the

Court has since held -- under the state-created rights analysis

-- that the states could nonetheless create entitlements to

parole and probation that were protected by due process. Such an

entitlement was first found in connection with the interest of a

parolee in not having his parole arbitrarily revoked, Morrissey

v. Brewer, 408 U.S. at 481-82, then applied to the revocation of

probation, Gagnon v. Scarpelli, 411 U.S. 778, 782 & n.4 (1973),

and finally, to the initial grant of parole, Greenholtz v.

Inmates of Nebraska Penal & Correctional Complex, 442 U.S. 1,

11-12 (1979).

Since the application of the state-created rights analysis

hes produced these results with cespect to probation and parole,

the application of this analytical method to the interest of the

condemned in being spared from execution when incompetent should

produce the same results in a state like Florida, for Floridas has

created a “justifiable expectation” that a condemned person will

not be executed when incompetent by its unconditional prohibition

of the execution of the incompetent for more than sixty years.

See, . Ex parte Chesser, 93 Fla. 590, 112 So. 87, 89 (1927);

ysler v. State, 136 Fla. 563, 187 So. 261 (1939); Ford v.

Wainwright, 451 80. 24 at 475.

Finally, two remaining post-Solesbee developments in due

process jurisprudence confirm the necessity of evaluating anew

the applicability of the Due Process Clause to the determination

of execution competency. These two developments have thoroughly

undermined Williams v. New York, supra, upon which the Solesbee

Court relied to hold that the Due Process Clause did not protect

the interest of the condemned in competency at the time of

execution. Solesbee, 339 U.S. at 12. These developments were

noted succinctly in Gardner v. Florida.

First, five Members of the Court have now

expressly recognized that death is a different

kind of punishment from any other which may be

imposed in this country.... [Citations omit-

ted.) It is of vital importance to the

defendant and to the community that any

decision to impose the death sentence be, and

appear to be, based on reason rather than

caprice or emotion.

Second, it is now clear that the sentencing

process, as well as the trial itself, must

satisfy the requirements of the Due Process

Clause....

430 U.S. at 357-58 (footnotes omitted). Because Solesbee was

significantly the product of Williams v. New York, Solesbee has

etfectively been overruled to the same extent as Williams -- by

the subsequent jurisprudential developments which led to the

application of the Due Process Clause to sentencing proceedings

and to the requirement of particularly stringent due process

protections in sentencing proceedings that involve the death

penalty.

Mr. Ford recognizes that the heightened due process protec-

tions which the Court began to require in capital sentencing

proceedings in the decade of the 1970's were developed to assure

reliability in the decision to impose death, not the decision to

carry out an already-imposed (and otherwise legally proper) death

sentence. However, the rationale for heightened due process in

the sentence imposition proceeding is equally compelling in a

proceeding to determine whether to carry owt a death sentence

we. Sf N OR,

. —

against a person who appears to be incompetent. Because “the

penalty of death is qualitatively different from a sentence of

imprisonment, however long, Woodson z. North Carolina, 428 U.S.

at 305, there must be correspondingly greater reliability in the

"determination that death is the appropriate punishment in a

specific case." Id, The “qualitatively different" character of a

death sentence requires as well that the determination of

competency at execution be reliable, even if all the safeguards

attendant to the initial sentencing decision are not required. As

Justice Frankfurter recognized in his dissent in Solesbee, Since

it does not go to the question of guilt 119 but to its conse-

quences, the determination of the issue of insanity after

sentence does not require the safeguards of a judicial proceed-

ing.” 339 U.S. at 24. Rowever, the inquiry into competency

nevertheless

must be fair in relation to the issue for

determination. In the present state of tenta-

tive and dubious knowledge as to mental

diseases and the great strife of schools in

regard to them, it surely operates unfairly to

make such determinations not only behind closed

doors but without any opportunity for the

submission of relevant considerations on the

part of the man whose life hangs in the

balance.

Id. at 24-25. Echoing these strains in dissent in Mr. Ford's

case, Judge Clark brought the need for “fair[ness] in relation to

tne issue for determination” into post-Furman perspective:

Admittedly, we are not reviewing here the

question of whether death is the appropriate

punishment for Mr. Ford and the procedures used

to make that decision. Nevertheless, the

procedures used to determine whether the death

penalty is a permissible punishment for him at

this time is being reviewed. The reliability

required for capital decisions is still

relevant and adequate procedures to determine

the present death eligibility are still re-

quired.

752 F. 2d at $33 (emphasis in original).

Por these reasons, Mr. Ford urges the Court to reconsider

the question decided thirty-five years ago in Solesbee. 20

19 and, we should now add (in light of post-Furman jurispru-

dence), to the question of the propriety of the sentence.

20 The request he makes is just as compelling as the request

cecently made by the petitioner in Ake v. Oklahoma, U.S.

105 S.Ct. 1087 (1985), where the Court reconsidered

another Solesbee-era due process decision, United States ex

- 25 -

e ex rte, non-adversarial, non-record procedure by which

e Or ids vernor determ

the minimum constitut

the reliabilit

etermination process.

Under either constitutional theory discussed in the pre-

ceding two sections, Florida's procedure for deter ing compe-

tency fails to protect the constitutional interests at stake. At

bottom, these interests require that there be a reliable fact-

finding procedure for determining the facts of competency. And in

this respect, the Florida procedure is an utter failure.

Be Plorida's ex parte, non-adversarial procedure

By statute, Plorida has created an administrative proceeding

for the governor to examine a death-sentenced individual's

competency to be executed. Fla. Stat. § 922.097 (1983). In Mr.

Ford's case, for the first time, the Supreme Court of Florida

held that “the statutory procedure is now the exclusive procedure

for deternining competency to be executed." Ford v. Wainwright,

451 80. 2d at 475.21

rel. Smith v. Baldi, 344 U.S. 561, 568 (1953), because of the

erosion of the jurisprudential basis of that decision by

subsequent developments. The Court explained that its

decision to reconsider Smith was primarily the result of the

evolution since Smith of “elemental constitutional rights,

each of which has enhanced the ability of an indigent

defendant to receive a fair hearing,” as well as “the

extraordinarily enhanced role of psychiatry in criminal iaw

today.” 105 S.Ct. at 1098. The evolution of the “elemental

constitutional rights“ referred to in Ake is not precisely

the evolution that requires reconsideration of the issue

previously decided in Solesbee. However, the evolution of

the Due Process Clause in the three respects just discussed

is rallel to -- and just as significant as -- the evolution

that Ted the Court to reconsider the issue previously decided

in Smith.

21 the Plorida Court had previously held, prior to the enactment

of the statute, that there was a right to a judicial deter-

mination by the trial judge where a condemned person was

alleged to be incompetent. Ex parte Chesser, 93 Fla. 291,

111 So. 720 (1927); HBysler v. ate, a. 563, 187 So.

261 (1939). The court had not had an opportunity to address

the effect of § 922.07 on this right, however, until 1984, in

Mr. Pord's case and in Goode z. Hainwrignt, 448 So.2d 999

(Fla. 1984). In Goode, decided one mont fore Mr. Ford's

case, the court appeared to leave open the prospect of

judicial proceedings for the determination of execution

competency. See Goode v. Wainwright, 731 F.2d at 1483 (“he

was free to assert this Uu in state and federal

courts from the time that he was sentenced to death" (emp-

hasis supplied)).

22

This procedure is ex parte within the executive branch. When

the governor is informed that a person may be insane, he must

stay the execution of sentence and appoint three psychiatrists to

examine the convicted person “to determine whether he under-

stands the nature and effect of the death penalty and why it is

is to be imposed upon him." 5 922.07(1). The examination is to

take place with all three psychiatrists present at the same time.

Defense counsel and the prosecutor “may be present at the

examination.” And if the convicted person has no counsel, the

trial court “shall appoint counsel to represent hin.“ Id.

Though provision is made for appointment of counsel, no

provision is made for a hearing or other adversarial activity by

counsel on behalf of her client. Consistent with these provi-

sions, the present Plorida governor has a “publicly announced

policy of excluding all advocacy on the part of the condemned

from the process of determining whether a person under sentence

of death is insane.” Goode v. Wainwright, 448 So.2d at 1001

(emphasis supplied).22 after receiving the report, if the

governor “decides” that the convicted person does not meet the

competency test set out in the statute, then he orders the verson

committed to the state hospital. If he “decides” that he meets

the test, then the governor issues a death warrant ordering

execution. §§ 922.07(2), (3). There are no written findings and

there is no judicial review of the decision.

2. Florida's ste competency-determination

rocedure fail act-

tion's

tent.

Under Mr. Ford's theory that the Eighth Amendment prohibits

execution of the incompetent, the writ of habeas corpus provides

a remedy for the enforcement of this guarantee. However, the

decision to issue or deny the writ must be made upon reliable and

accurate fact-finding. And as we demonstrate, Plorida's § 922.07

22 Thus, as in Solesbee, the Florida Governor makes the compe-

tency determination “not only behind closed doors but without

any Opportunity for the submission of relevant considerations

on the part of the man whose life hangs in the balance." 339

U.S. at 25 (Frankfurter, J., dissenting).

procedure -- without more -- cannot provide the kind of accurate

and reliable fact-findings upon which a federal habeas court can

decide whether the writ should issue.

In order to vindicate federal rights, habeas corpus depends

critically upon accurate and reliable fact-finding. If the facts

have been reliably found by the state courts on the basis of a

full hearing, the federal habeas court need not hold a new

fact-finding proceeding. However, if there has been no such

fact-finding by the state courts, the federal habeas court must

hold a de novo evidentiary hearing. Townsend v. Sain, 372 U.S.

293, 312 (1963). If Mr. Pord's claim that the Eighth Amendment

prohibits the execution of the incompetent is well-taken, the

federal habeas court must, therefore, hold an evidentiary hearing

to determine the factual questions underlying his competency,

“unless the state-court trier of fact has after a full hearing

reliably found the facts.“ Id. at 312.23

As we have shown, in Mr. Ford's case neither the governor,

the state courts, nor the District Court held an evidentiary

hearing. There was only an ex parte § 922.07 proceeding. And

even if a non-judicial state trier of fact could make reliable

fact-findings, the governor acting under § 922.07 cannot.24 The

922.07 proceeding in Mr. Ford's case was woefully inadequate when

measured against the Townsend standard. As just noted, the

fact-finder was not a court; moreover, there was no hearing, much

less a full and fair hearing, to serve as a basis for fact-

finding; and there were no findings of fact, except for those

implied in the finding that Mr. Ford was competent by virtue of

his death warrant having been signed. Finally, there was no

23 As the Court made clear in Maggio v. Pulford, 462 U.S. 116

(1983), resolution of the facts og gE a competency claim

may, like any other factual matter, be determined in the

state courts.

24 Townsend, as well as its statutory counterpart, 28 b. 8. 2. §

„ have always required a de to find the facts in

order to assure the reliability of t act-finding process.

—

judicial review of the governor's implied fact-finding or his

fact-finding procedure; nor can there be under the Florida

Supreme Court's decision in Mr. Ford's case. 25

While these defects in the 922.07 proceeding, without

further discussion, clearly compel a de novo hearing in the

district court, it is worth emphasizing why this is so. The

Townsend Court's requirement of fact-finding on the basis of a

full and fair hearing -- as the only acceptable means of assuring

reliable fact-finding -- is well-rooted in the Court's jurispru-

dence, both before and after the Townsend decision. The Court

has long recognized that a hearing is necessary to provide the

“adversarial debate our system recognizes as essential to the

truth seeking function,” Gardner v. Plorida, 430 U.S. at 359, for

"no better instrument has been devised for arriving at the

truth,” Joint Anti-Pascist Refugee Comm. v. McGrath, 341 U.S.

123, 171 (1951) (Frankfurter, J., concurring). See also Goss v.

Lopez, 419 U.S. 565, 579 (1975); Fuentes v. Shevin, 407 U.S. 67,

80 (1972); Mullane v. Central Hanover Trust Co, 339 U.S. 306,

313 (1950).

There is no more compelling example of the crucial role of

the hearing in the truth seeking function than in the resolution

of mental health issues. As the Chief Justice has observed, “The

subtleties and nuances of psychiatric diagnosis render certain-

ties virtually beyond reach in most situations.” Addington v.

Texas, 441 U.S. 418, 430 (1979). It is for this reason that

juries or judges -- lay fact-finders -- retain the fact-finding

role in determining mental health issues. But without a hearing,

in which the experts explain their opinions, as well as the data

and reasoning process upon which their opinions are based, lay

fact-finders cannot make accurate, reliable determinations of

mental health facts when the experts’ opinions are in conflict.

Although made in the context of explaining the crucial role of an

25 cf. Mattheson v. King, 751 F. 2d 1432, 1447 (Sth Cir. 1985)

(deferring to state court's determination of competency

following an evidentiary hearing, though not deciding whether

the Constitution prohibits execution of the mentally incompe-

tent).

expert in the process of resolving mental health issues, the

Court's observations in Ake v. Oklahoma are equally insightful in

explaining the crucial role of a hearing in the resolution of

these issues.

Psychiatry is not ... an exact science, and

psychiatrists disagree widely and frequently on

what constitutes mental illness, on the

appropriate diagnosis to be attached to given

behavior and symptoms, on cure and treatment,

and on likelihood of future dangerousness.

Perhaps because there often is no single,

accurate psychiatric conclusion on legal

insanity in a given case, juries remain the

primary factfinders on this issue, and they

must resolve differences of opinion within the

psychiatric profession on the basis of the

evidence offered by each party .... By organi-

zing a defendant's mental history, examination

results and behavior, and other information,

interpreting it in light of their expertise,

and then laying out their investigative and

analytic process to the jury, the psychiatrists

for each party enable the jury to make its most

accurate determination of the truth on the

issue before them.

105 S.Ct. at 1096. Without a hearing, however, the crucial

process of experts “laying out their investigative and analytic

process” to the factfinder -- in the cauldron of adversarial

debate -- cannot occur, and the “most accurate determination of

the truth" cannot be made.

Accordingly, because it provides for no full and fair

hearing upon which the facts must be reliably found, the 922.07

procedure fails to provide the kind of fact-finding procedure

necessary to determine whether the Eighth Amendment's prohibition

against executing the incompetent applies in a particular case

3.

With respect to the Pourteenth Amendment claim, once a

State-created entitlement or substantive right is identified, the

extent of procedural protection required by the Constitution must

then be ascertained. Since “[a] procedural rule that may

satisfy due process in one context may not satisfy procedural due

process in every case,” Bell v. Burson, 402 U.S. at 540, in

order to determine the procedural safeguards that are due, the

Couct has employed a balancing process that weighs three factors:

- 30 -

the private interest that will be affected by the government

action at issue, the public interest that will be affected if the

safeguards are provided, and the probable effect such safeguards

will have on reducing the risk of erroneous decisions. See Logan

v. Zimmerman Brush Co., 455 U.S. at 434; Memphis Light, Gas &

Water Div. v. Craft, 436 U.S. 1, 17-18 (1978); Dixon v. Love, 431

U.S. 105, 112-15 (1977); Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319,

334-35 (1976). See also Ake v. Oklahoma, 105 S.Ct. at 1094. men

appiied in the context of determining competency at the time of

execution, these factors weigh in favor of requiring the state

courts to provide the very same procedural safeguards in enfor-

cing the state substantive right which they must provide if, in

the context of the Eighth Amendment claim, their fact-findings

are to be sufficiently reliable to avoid the need for a federal

evidentiary hearing: a full and fair evidentiary hearing, on

the basis of which the fact-finder reliably finds the relevant

facts.

The private interest that is affected by a state's deter-

mination of competency at the time of execution is obvious and

compelling: the right of a condemned person to have a final

Opportunity to assert matters known only to him which would make

his execution unlawful or unjust, as well as the cight to

appreciate the meaning of, and to prepare for, the termination of

his life. Just as compelling is the interest of the condemned

that his competency be determined accurately, for only by

accurate determination will the interests of the truly incompe-

tent be protected. While the Court has “repeatedly recognized

the defendant's compelling interest in fair adjudication at the

sentencing phase of a capital case, Ake v. Oklahoma, 105 S.Ct.

at 1097, that interest clearly extends to the determination of

competency at the time, of execution.

The public interest has three aspects. The first two -- the

interest in reducing the cost of criminal proceedings and the

interest in avoiding undue delay in executions occasioned by

frivolous claims of incompetence -- weigh against additional

safeguards. The third -- the interest in sparing the truly

incompetent from execution -- weighs in favor of additional

safeguards. With respect to costs, Florida already pays three

psychiatrists to evaluate the condemned. The additional cost

occasioned by a hearing should not be burdensome, and in any

event, does not justify denying a hearing meeting the ordinary

standards of due process, Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. at 261.

See also Bell v. Burson, 402 U.S. at 540-41. With respect to

undue delay, the courts and the states are well-equipped, under

Rule 4 of the Rules Governing Section 2254 Cases in the United

States District Courts and Rules 12 and 56 of the Rules of Civil

Procedure, to dispose quickly and efficiently of frivolous

claims. These or similar devices could be incorporated into

state hearing procedures.26 Where a claim of incompetency is

not frivolous, as in Mr. Ford's case, “the time invested in

ascertaining the truth will surely be well spent if it makes the

difference between life and death." Gardner v. Florida, 430 U.S.

at 360.

The interest of the public that will be affected most

Significantly by the safeguards is the same as the interest of

the condemned: the interest in accurate determinations of

competency, to avoid executing the truly incompetent. Accord Ake

v. Oklahoma, 105 S.Ct. at 1094-95 (“[t]he State's interest in

peevailing at trial ... is necessarily tempered by its interest

in the fair and accurate adjudication of criminal cases").

Moreover, when life and death are at issue, the Court's post-

Furman jurisprudence demands that the interest in reliability

and accuracy be given paramount importance. Id. at 1097 (elde

State ... has a profound interest in assuring that its ultimate

26 wowever, the Court should take notice that there has not been

— not is there any sign that there will be in the future

a flood of frivolous claims of incompetence. Governor Graham

has signed well over 100 death warrants in his six-and-

one-half years in office, and in only four of the death

waccant cases have claims of incompetence been asserted.

Pears of frivolows claims and undue delay have been raised

for centuries, but the courts have always been found capable

of dealing with the “difference between pretenses and

realities." Hawles, 2

fe the ll State 85 *. 11 ETS See 8 t 7

e, Hi~*or 2 own 35 .

- 32 <-

sanction is not erroneously imposed"). Accordingly, the public

interest is very much in accord with Justice Prankfurter's

expression of it in his Solesbee dissent:

It is a groundless fear to assume that it would

obstruct the rigorous administration of

criminal justice to allow the case to be put

for a claim of insanity, however informal and

expeditious the e for dealing with the

claim. The time needed for such a fair

procedure could not unreasonably delay the

execution of the sentence unless in all

fairness and with due respect for a basic

principle in our law the execution should be

delayed. The risk of an undue delay is hardly

comparable to the grim risk of the barbarous

execution of an insane man because of a

hurried, one-sided, untested determination of

the question of insanity, the answers to which

are as yet so wrapped in confusion and conflict

and so dependent on elucidation by more than

one-sided partisanship.

339 U.S. at 25.

Finally, as we have already shown, a full and fair eviden-

tiary hearing is the only procedural mechanism that assures the

accurate determination of the truth of a claim of incompetence.

Accordingly, the probable effect of such a safeguard is to reduce

the risk of erroneous decisions. Without it “the risk of an

inaccurate resolution of sanity issues is extremely high," Ake v.

Oklahoma, 105 S.Ct. at 1096.

Por these reasons, the FPourteenth Amendment demands that the

states determine competency, under a state-created right to be

spared from execution if incompetent, on the basis of a full and

fair evidentiary hearing. Without this, the Constitution cannot

tolerate the execution of one who appears to be incompetent.

. Alvin 2 ac mnot be liabl termined

w

Notwithstanding the preceding argument, there may be rare

cases in which competency can be reliably determined without an

evidentiary hearing. Where psychiatric and psychological opinion

respecting competency is unanimous, a finding of competence or

incompetence may well be reliable. But where opinions differ, no

accurate resolution can be made in the absence of a hearing,

where the competing views of competent professionals can be

explained, and the more accurate view determined. This princi-

ple is at the heart of Ake v. Oklahoma, and it is also at the

- 33 -

heart of Mr. Pord's case. Indeed there can be no better example

than Mr. Pord's case of the critical need for “an evidentiary

hearing.

In his case, psychiatric opinion was nearly uniform that he

suffers from a severe form of psychosis.27? However, the conclu-

sions drawn concerning his competency, in light of that psycho-

sis, were sharply conflicting. The psychiatrist who spent the

most time interviewing “r. Ford, under conditions conducive to

reliable psychiatric assessment, and who most carefully reviewed

Mr. FPord's history as well as the opinion of psychiatrists who

had previously evaluated him, concluded that he is incompetent,

because his psychotic delusional processes have fundamentally

impaired his ability to understand why he is to be executed. The

other psychiatrists who also concluded that Mr. Ford is psychot-

ic, determined nevertheless, that Mr. Ford is competent. However,

these psychiatrists offered no explanation as to how this

conclusion could be squared with Mr. Ford's psychotic delusional

processes. In the opinion of nationally-acclaimed experts in

forensic psychiatry, the conclusions of this latter group of

psychiatrists were, accordingly, unreliable -- precisely because

they failed to account for the compelling data that linked Mr.

Pord's delusional processes to incompetency. Upon analysis of

these conflicting opinions, the Court will see quite clearly that

the conflicts cannot be resolved accurately in the absence of a

hearing, where the psychiatrists “organiz[e) [Mr. Ford's] mental

history, examination results and behavior, and other information,

interpret[) it in Light of their expertise, and then lay[) out

theic investigative and analytic process to the [factfinder])

++++" Ake v. Oklahoma, 105 S.Ct. at 1096. Such an analysis shows

the following:

(1) In the two-year period following December, 1981, Alvin

Pord's mental health gradually but devastatingly deteriorated.

Mr. Pord's deteriorating mental health was documented in two

27 Only one of the five psychiatrists who evaluated Mr. Pord

‘Or. Ivory) found him free of psychosis, and as we demon-

strate infra, because that psychiatrist's evaluation was

procedurally inadequate, his opinion cannot be credited.

ways: by his voluminous correspondence and by periodic psychi-

atric evaluation, at the request of counsel for Mr. Ford, by Dr.

Jamal Amin.

(2) A sampling of Mr. Ford's correspondence was set forth

in the tLabeas petition filed in the District Court. See App.

Sla-94a. This correspondence showed a gradual but relentless

loss of contact with reality from December, 1981, forward. Over

time, Mr. Ford expressed, in his correspondence, virtually all

the recognized hallmarks of psychosis, particularly of paranoid

schizophrenia. He expressed bizarre delusions; grandiose and

religious delusions without persecutory or jealous content;

delusions with persecutory eoatent, accompanied by hallucina-

tions; auditory hallucinations in which two or more voices

conversed with each other; and finally, incoherence, marked

loosening of associations, markedly illogical thinking, and

poverty of content of speech, associates with blunted, flat, or

inappropriate effect. See American Psychiatric Association,

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Disorders at 188-190.

(3) During the period of time that Mr. Pord's mental health

was deteriorating, Dr. Amin conducted four separate in-person

evaluations of Mr. Ford, ending with an interview in August,

1982. Dr. Amin also reviewed the correspondence from Mr. Ford;

talked with Mr. Pord's relatives, with his attorneys, and with

other inmates, prison personnel, and other people who had

directly observed Mr. Ford's behavior over this period of time;

and reviewed Mr. Pord's mental health and medical records

maintained at Florida State Prison. On the basis of the data he

reviewed from all these sources, Dr. Amin identified the above-

noted features of psychosis and concluded on June 9, 1983, that

Mr. Ford suffered, in an “overwhelmingly convincing” fashion,

from paranoid schizophrenia. See App. 153a-155a.

(4) On the basis of this history, Dr. Amin's evaluation,

and Mr. Pord's continuing deterioration after Dr. Amin's evalua-

tion, counsel for Mr. Ford initiated a § 922.07 proceeding on

behalf on Mr. Ford on October 20, 1983.

(5) Because at that time, Mr. Ford would no longer talk

with Dr. Amin (due to his delusional belief that Dr. Amin was

persecuting him along with members of the Klu Klux Klan who

served as correctional officers at Florida State Prison), counsel

for Mr. Ford requested that another psychiatrist, Dr. Harold

Kaufman, of Washington, b. C., interview and evaluate Mr. Ford.

Prior to his evaluation, Dr. Kaufman reviewed the history of Mr.

Pord's illness as well as Dr. Amin's evaluation of Mr. Ford. On

the basis of this review and his lengthy interview with Mr. Ford,

Dr. Kaufman agreed with Dr. Amin that Mr. Pord suffered from

schizophrenia. Moreover, because at this time Mr. Ford's

competency had come into question, Dr. Kaufman assessed Mr.

Pord's competency in light of the criteria set forth in § 922.07.

Dr. Kaufman concluded as follows:

It is my conclusion, using the Florida statu-

tory standard you have supplied me with, that

because of . illness, while he

does understa the nature of the death

penalty, he lacks the mental capacity to

understand the reasons why it is being imposed

on him. His ability to reason is occluded,

disorganized and confused when thinking about

his possible execution. He can make no connec-

tion between the homicide that he committed and

the death penalty. Even when I pointed this

connection out to him he laughed derisively at

me. He sincerely believes that he is not going

to be executed because he owns the prisons,

could send mind waves to the governor and

control him, President Reagan's interference in

the execution process, etc.

App. 158.

(6) Thereafter, in early December, 1983, Governor Graham

appointed three psychiatrists pursuant to § 922.07 to evaluate

Mr. Pord: Dr. Umesh Mhatre, Dr. Walter Afield, and Dr. Peter

Ivory. On December 15, 1983, four days before their scheduled

interview with Mr. Ford, counsel for Mr. Ford provided each of

these doctors with an excerpt of the transcript of Mr. FPord's

teial in December, 1974, in which a psychiatrist had provided a

“psychiatric profile" of . Pord (to provide to the doctors in

1983 a psychiatric baseline against which to measure Mr. Pord's

then-curcent condition), a large sampling of the correspondence

from Mc. Pord over the period of time that his mental health had

deteriorated, the psychiatric evaluation by Dr. Amin, and the

psychiatric evaluation by Dr. Kaufman. While Dr. Mhatre and Dr.

Afield accepted these materials, Dr. Ivory refused them.

(7) Om December 19, 1983, Or. Mhatre, Dr. Afield, and Dr.

Ivory conducted an interview with Mr. Ford in the courtroom at

Florida State Prison. Present in the courtroom along with the

three psychiatrists and Mr. Ford, were counsel from Governor

Graham's office, one or two correctional officers, two paralegals

who had worked with Mr. Pord, and the two lawyers who had worked

with Mr. Ford. The interview lasted approximately thirty

minutes. During the course of the interview, the psychiatrists

asked very simple, straight-forward questions directed to whether

Mr. Ford understood the nature and effect of the death penalty

and why the death penalty was being imposed upon hia. He

responded in the same bizarre manner to these questions as he had

responded in an interview with counsel on December 15, 1983. See

App. 160a and 102a-107a.

(8) After approximately thirty minutes, the three psychia-

trists determined that further interview of “r. Ford would be

fruitless and terminated the interview. Thereafter, they

requested that they be able to examine Mr. Ford's cell. They

were allowed to do that, and after this inspection, they reviewed

Mr. Pord’s prison medical records and discussed his condition

with the prison’s correctional and medical staff.

(9) Before leaving the prison on December 19, 1983, Dr.

Ivory requested that he be provided the historical materials and

other psychiatric evaluations of Mr. Ford which he had refused on

December 15. A copy was provided at approximately noon on

December 19%, 1983.

(10) Om December 20, 1983, Dr. Ivory sent his report to

Governor Graham. dy his own report, DOr. Ivory based his opinion

solely upon the thirty-minute interview with Mr. Ford, the

examination of & Ford's cell, and the conversations Dr. Ivory

had with prison personnel concerning Mr. Ford. See App. 160a-

162a. On the basis of this data, Dr. Ivory concluded that “in

spite of the verbal appearance of severe incapacity, from his

e 39 «

consistent and appropriate general behavior, (Mr. Ford] showed

that he is in touch with reality,” and that he “comprehend([ed)

his total sitwation including being sentenced to death, and all

of the implications of that penalty.” Id.

(11) Without considering Mr. Fords“ documented history of

psychosis or the opinions of Dr. Amin and DOr. Kaufman respect ing

Mc. Pord’s condition, however, Dr. Ivory was at a distinct

disadvantage, for the interview with Mr. Ford on December 19

presented only a very small part of a much larger picture. 20 the

only symptom of illness presented there was marked incoherence of

speech. Because of his refusal to consider matters not apparent

in the interview on December 19, rather than evaluating this

symptom in the context of all of Mr. FPord’s other previously

documented symptoms of illness, DOr. Ivory treated this symptom as

the only one. Within this framework, when he observed Mr. Ford's

alert and appropriate non-verbal behavior during the interview,

his well organized cell, and his apparent ability to function

independently on a day-to-day level, he found a sharp conflict

with the “pervasive disorganization" suggested by Mr. Ford's

verbal behavior during the interview. Thus, DOr. Ivory quite

naturally concluded that r. Pord’s “disorder, although severe,

seems contrived and recently learned.” The pervasiveness of the

disorder suggested by his verbal behavior simply was not con-

ficmed by anything else Or. Ivory observed.

(12) On December 28, 1983, Or. Mhatre sent his report to

Governor Graham. Unlike DOr. Ivory, Dr. Mestre did review the

documented history of Mr. Pord’s psychosis, as well as the prior

evaluations by DOr. Amin and Or. Kaufman. On the basis of his

28 To avoid misdiagnosis due to failure to consider all the pos-

sible -- and varied -- manifestations of mental illness, the

psychiatric profession has for sany years saintained that a

comprehensive examination is necessary before a diagnosis can

be reached. At @ @inimus, such examination requires «4

thorough review of medical and psychiatric history, as well

as prior psychiatric assessments. The history “focuses on

those factors affecting growth and development as —

pertain to the patient's ical, social, intellectual,

interpersonal functioning. + Kaplan, 8. Sadock,

* 487-88 (Pourth Edition

. eti,

ition 1974).

review of these materials, along with his interview with Mr.

Ford, his inspection of Mr. Ford's ceil, and his conversations

with prison personnel, Dr. Mhatre concluded that Mr. Ford suffers

from “psychosis with paranoia.” App.163a-164a. Nonetheless, Dr.

Mhatre also concluded that Mr. Ford was competent under the

eriteria set forth in § 922.07:

In spite of psychosis, he has shown ability to

carry on day-to-day activities, and relate to

his fellow inmates and guards, and appears to

understand what is happening around him. It is

my medical opinion that though Mr. Ford is

suffering from psychosis at the present time,

he has enough cognitive functioning to under-

stand the nature and the effects of the death

penalty and why it is to be imposed upon him.

App. 164a. Dr. Mhatre gave no further indication of the reason-

ing process that brought him to this conclusion about competency.

He did not attempt to explain the apparent contradiction between

finding Mr. Ford psychotic -- the central feature of which was

his delusions, and in particular, his belief that he could not

be executed -- with his finding of competency under the criteria

of the Plorida statute. 29 despite this gap in Dr. Mhatre's

reasoning process, he did predict that if left untreated Mr. Ford

would likely become incompetent. App. 164a. Six months later,

without treatment, Mr. Pord's condition did substantially worsen.

App. 167a-168a. Dr. Mhatre's opinion concerning competency was,

therefore, accurate in this respect.

(13) On January 19, 1984, Dr. Afield sent his report to

Governor Graham. on the basis of his review of ali the data

concerning Mr. ford -- his correspondence, the evaluations by Dr.

Amin and Dr. Kaufman, the interview with Mr. Ford, the conversa-

tions about Mr. Ford with prison personnel, the inspection of Mr.

29 pr. Mhatre’s finding that Mr. Pord “has shown ability to

carry on day-to-day activities, and relate to his fellow

inmates and guards, and appears to understand what is

happening around him,” does not support his conclusion that

Mr. Ford is able to perceive external reality -- particularly

as to why he may be executed -- in an accurate manner. His

finding shows only that Mr. Ford appears to function adequate-

ly and appropriately on a day-to-day level. But the ability

to function in such a way does not avoid the psychiatrist's

obligation to assess the pertinent delusional processes, for

"“(the] impairment in functioning may be minimal if the

delusional material is not acted upon, since gross disorgani-

zation of behavior is extremely rare." American Psychiatric

Association, Diagnostic and Statistical Manual at 191.

Ford's cell, and the review of Mr. Ford's prison medical records

-- Dr. Afield concluded that while Mr. Ford “does not fit any

classical description of psychiatric illness," the profoundness

of his disorganization “forces me to put a ‘psychotic’ label on

the inmate." App. 166a. Notwithstanding this diagnosis, Dr.

Afield also concluded that “although this man is severely

disturbed, he does understand the nature of the death penalty

that he is facing and is aware that he is on death row and may be

electrocuted. The bottom line in summary is, although sick, he

does know fully what can happen to him." Id. Dr. Afield

reported nothing further concerning his evaluation of Mr. Ford.

(14) It is thus apparent that Dr. Afield failed to express

an opinion on the matter that was at issue: whether Mr. Ford

understood why the death sentence would be carried out against

him. Dr. Afield limited his opinion to the determination that

Mr. Ford understood the nature of the death penalty and that he

may be electrocuted. He did not determine whether Mr. Pord

understood why he may be electrocuted.39 Accordingly, Dr.

Afield's report not only failed, as did Dr. Mhatre's report, to

evaluate the delusional material which is centrally relevant to

the competency determination and which he apparently relied upon

in concluding that Mr. Ford was psychotic, but also failed

altogether to address the question upon which the competency

determination concerning Mr. Ford must rest: whether he under-

stands why the death penalty is to be imposed upon him.

(15) In preparation for an evidentiary hearing on this

matter, counsel for Mr. Ford asked two experts in the field of

forensic psychiatry to review the manner in which Mr. Ford was

evaluated by the three psychiatrists appointed by Governor

Graham. Dr. Seymour Halleck, 4 nationally-recognized scholar and

practitioner, concluded that the process by which the three

30 Clearly there is a difference between understanding that you

may electrocuted and why you may be electrocuted. Mr. Ford

understands that he may 5. electrocuted (“maybe because I am

a smart ass, Appendix 157a), but he does not understand

accurately why he may be electrocuted ("I won't be executed

because of no crime.... I can't be executed because of the

landmark case. I won.” Appendix 157a-158a).

appointed psychiatrists evaluated Mr. Ford, “fell below the

generally accepted standard of care necessary to produce a

reliable forensic psychiatric evaluation." App. 17142. Dr.

Halleck gave three reasons for this conclusion. Pirst, the

crowded and impersonal conditions under which the interview was

conducted, as well as the inordinately short amount of time spent

interviewing Mr. Ford, were unlikely to produce sufficient data

for reliable forensic evaluation. App. 1712. 1 Second, Dr.

Ivory may not have considered the reports of Dr. Amin and Dr.

Kaufman, or other available information, in making his evaluation

of Mr. Ford, and this lack of data could have seriously compro-

mised the quality of his examination. App. 172a.32 Third, all

three of the psychiatrists

failed to account for the facts contained in

[ur Pord's] history which were central to the

forensic task at hand: whether Mr. Ford's

delusional processes which, among other things,

had led him to believe that he had won his case

and could no longer be executed, were relevant

to the issue of his incompetence, in that he

failed to understand why he was to be executed,

Or as Dr. Kaufman put it, failed to understand

"the purpose of his execution. Dr. Kaufman

had previously concluded that Mr. Ford was

incompetent precisely because of his delusion-

al processes. Yet neither Dr. Ivory, Dr.

Mhatre or Dr. Afield dealt with this most

crucial data in their reports.

App. 172a. 33

31 See also S. Halleck, Law in the Practice of Psychiatry 201

T1980); S. Pollack, Psychiatric Consultation for the Courts,

1 Bull. Am. Acad. Psych. & F. 267, 275-76 (1973) [hereafter

cited "Pollack"].

52 See n.28 supra.

33. "The purpose of the psychiatric-legal report is to furnish

data for legal disposition which will be effected by attor-

ney, judge, or jury. The most significant data are the

psychiatrist's conclusions about this legal disposition. In

his explanation of the reasoning which led to hi. conclu-

sions, the psychiatrist must adopt the logical reasoning

approach followed by the legal 2 In these psychiatric

reports, the organization of material should be determined by

this logical reasoning rather than by the empirical approach

used in medicine. For example, description of psychopatho-

logical phenomena and elaboration of psychodynamics have no

significance and are unnecessary unless they can logically be

related to the legal issue. iatrist's reasoning in

establishing and demonstrating this relationship is crucial.

Upon psychiatric reasoning, not psychiatric conclusion or

opinion, will depend the weight and value which the court or

jury accords the report. Pollack at 277-78 (footnote

omitted) (emphasis in original). Accord American Psychiatric

Association, “Report of the Task Porce on the Role of

Psychiatry in the Sentencing Process," Issues in Forensic

- 41 -

(16) The other expert in forensic psychiatry with whom Mr.

Ford's counsel consulted was Dr. George Barnard, a professor in

the Department of Psychiatry at the University of Florida. Dr.

Barnard agreed with the three observations made by Dr. Halleck

with respect to the inadequacy of the evaluations conducted by

Dr. Ivory, Dr. Mhatre, and Dr. Afield. Moreover, Dr. Barnard

took specific issue with Dr. Ivory's great reliance on the state

of Mr. Ford's cell:

Dr. Ivory expressed his belief that because

Ford had a clean and organized cell that this

indicated to him that Ford could not have a

disorganized mind or thought system in that

insanity was not selective but pervasive. To

this reviewer, it appears that Dr. Ivory is of

the opinion that there is a significant

correlation between disorganization of internal

thoughts and the way that one keeps a room.

From my understanding of the literature it is

apparent that one can be highly disorganized

internally and yet keep a clean room as well as

one can be highly disorganized in the way he

keeps his room and yet be very organized and

productive in his thought processes.

App. 190a.34 In concluding, Dr. Barnard gave particular

emphasis to the failure of all three appointed psychiatrists to

confront and explain in any rational way why the obvious and

marked delusions suffered by Mr. Ford gid not, in their opinions,

make Mr. Pord incompetent:

The materials whicn I reviewed give evidence of

documenting symptoms in Ford which are consis-

tent of the diagnosis cf schizophrenia,

pe’ noid type. “These symptoms include delu-

si s of persecution, delusions of grandeur,

thought blocking, thought insertion, thought

broadcasting, flat affect, loosening of

associations and cisturbance of speech with

word gibberish. Im the psychiatric interview

conducted by the three examiners appointed by

the Governor, Ford was uncoc»verative and he

gave them few meaningful verbal responses so

that they relied heavily upon his nonverbal

productions and their ability to read between

the lines for what he might be meaning with his

nonsensical replies to their questions. In my

opinion, the three examiners give conclusionary

opinions about ford's competency to be executed

without documenting in a satisfactory manner

their evidence or facts upon which their

inferences are based. As a result, in my

Opinion, the factfinder and, in this case,

Governor Graham and/or the Court is left with

the dilemma of depending on conclusionary

belief statements by the psychiatrists that

Psychiatry 206 (1984).

34 See n.29, supra.

Ford is competent to be executed without

adequate documentation by the psychiatrists so

that the factfinder must rely on the creden-

tials of the psychiatrists rather than data. In

my opinion, this leaves the factfinder in a

very unsatisfactory position....

App. 192a-193a.

Accordingly, there was sharply divergent opinion concerning

Mr. Ford's competency, notwithstanding the nearly unanimous

opinion concerning his suffering from schizophrenia. The

psychiatrist who found Mr. Ford both psychotic and incompetent

fully documented the facts, as well as the reasoning, that led

him to that conclusion. The psychiatrists who found Mr. Ford

psychotic but competent documented, to some extent, the basis for

their conclusions that Mr. Ford was psychotic, but failed to

explain at all why, suffering from this condition, Mr. Ford was

nevertheless competent. And finally, the psychiatrist who found

Mc. Ford to be free of psychosis and competent appeared not to

have considered at all the data crucial to such a determination

and, in the opinion of forensic experts, could not therefore be

credited as having reached a reliable conclusion.

On the basis of these facts, Mr. Ford could not be found

competent without a hearing. The “paper record” would not

support such a finding. Only in a hearing -- where the fact-

finder could hear all the psychiatrists respond to questions

regarding their investigative and analytic processes -- could a

reliable determination be made that Mr. Ford is competent. In

the absence of such a hearing, the governor's determination that

Mr. Pord is competent affords no assurance that he is.

- 42-

For these reasons,

writ of certiorari.

Of Counsel:

LAURIN A. WOLLAN, JR.

1515 Hickory Avenue

Tallahassee, Florida

CONCLUSION

32303

the Court should grant the petition for

Respectfully submitted,

RICHARD L. JORANDBY

Public Defender

15th Judicial Circuit of Florida

224 Datura Street/l13th Floor

West Palm Beach, Florida 33401

(305) 837-2150

CRAIG S. BARNARD

Chief Assistant Public Defender

RICHARD H. BURR III

Assistant Public Defender

„ D. E.

Counsel for Petitioner

- 44 -

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.