Amicus Curiae Brief — Rodriguez De Quijas v. Shearson/American Express, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1989

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

>

OFELIA RODRIGUEZ DE QUUAS, ef a/.,

Petitioners,

SS

SHEARSON/ AMERICAN EXPRESS, INC,

its successors and assigns,

Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED S ATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

————————— ———

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAFE

IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

JAMES K. MANNING

Counsel of record; and

PAUL WINDEIS III

BROWN & Woop

One World Trade Center

New York, New York 10048

212) 839-5300

Attorneys for Securities Industry

Association, D.A. Davidson & Co., Inc.,

Dain Bosworth Incorporated, Dean Witter

Reynolds Inc., Goldman, Sachs & Co.,

J. C. Bradford & Co., 3.).B. Hillard,

W.L. Lyons, Inc., Johnston Lemon & Co.

Inc., Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith

Incorporated, Piper, Jaffray & Hopwood

Inc., The Advest Group, Inc., and Wheat,

First Securities, Inc., as Annci Curiae

—_—

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

Table of Authorities .............. seneeeuesenneuts iil

Brief of Amici Curiae ............ eaéeesenenset l

Preliminary Statement............ itaeaneeeds ]

Interest of Amici Curiae P

Summary of Argument ..... obeene ;

ARGUMENT

l. The United States Arbitration Act Mandates

That Arbitration be Recognized as an Efficient

and Widely Accepted Means of Resolving

Broker-Customer Disputes in the Securities

Dn? saecececoex (paedaeesaeiind aioe 5

ll. Wilko v. Swen Ignored the Standard for Finding

an Implied Repeal of the United States Arbitra-

tron Act 16

CONCLUSION 19

APPENDICES

A. Proposed Amendments to the Arbitration Rules

of the New York Stock Exchange, Inc., filed by

the New York Stock Exchange with the Secur-

ties and Exchange Commission, pursuant to

Securities Exchange Act Rule 19b-4, on October

17, 1988, File No. SR-NYSE-88-29 A.)

B. Survey Taken by Deloitte Haskins & Sells at the

Request of the New York Stock Exchange, Inc.,

of Arbitration and Litigation Results of Cus-

tomer Disputes with Six Brokerage Firms Dur-

ing a 3-month Period in 1987 and 1988,

transmitted by the New York Stock Exchange to

the Securities and Exchange Commission on

October 17, 1988, and also filed with the United

States District Court for the District of Massa-

chusetts in Secwrities Industry Association v.

Connolly, Civil Action No. 88-2153-WD, and

attached as an Exhibit to the Affidavit of Paul J.

Dubow, Sworn to November 28, 1988

PAGE

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: PAGE

Allen v. McCurry, 449 U.S. 90 (1980)... 2... eens 17

AVC Nederland B.V. v. Atrium Inv. Partnership, 740

Pe DOG, BE ccocenccanccccecessescones lin

Axelrod & Co. vy. Kordich, Victor & Neufeld, 320 F.

Supp. 193 (S.D.N.Y. 1970), aff'd, 451 F.2d 838 (2d

Perr rrr ry rr TTreT TTT Tr TTT TTT Tc lin

Brown v. Gilligan, Will & Co., 287 F. Supp. 766

Cee OE ccc cvcccccdccccesccsccesessesseoee lin

Commissioner v. Estate of Church, 335 U.S. 632 (1949) 15

Dean Witter Reynolds, Inc. v. Byrd, 470 U.S. 213 (1985) 2

Erie Railroad Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1938).... 15

Gardner v. Shearson, Hammill & Co., 433 F.2d 367 (Sth

Cir. 1970) (per curiam), cert. denied, 401 U.S. 978

EPCOT OTTTTTTTTTeTT TT TT TTT TTT TT lin

Girouard v. United States, 328 U.S. 61 (1946)......... 15, 18

Helvering v. Hallock, 309 U.S. 106 (1940) ..........+. 15

Johnson v. O’Brien, 420 N.W. 2d 264 (Minn. App.

1988), review denied, No. C9-97-1784 slip op. (Minn.

May 18, 1988), petition for cert. filed sub nom. Dain

Bosworth Incorporated v. Johnson, No. 88-246. .3, 7n, 16n

Kaiser Steel Corp. v. Mullins, 455 U.S. 72 (1982)...... 4,17

May v. Heiner, 281 U.S. 238 (1930)... 6... eee eee 15

Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-Plymouth,

Jnc.. 473 U.S. 614 (IDES)... cece ccc ccccccsecccees passim

iv

PAGE

Moran v. Paine, Webber, Jackson & Curtis, 389 F.2d 242

eres Mos s dbbdkandedbdGeddeueke conosenecca. lin

Morton v. Mancari, 417 U.S. $35 Pt natiaddennete 4,17

Moses H. Cone Memorial Hospital v. Mercury Construc-

Mon Canp., 460 U.S. 1 (IGBBD ...cccccccccceccceee 4,5

Rodriguez de Quijas v. Shearson/Lehman Brothers. 845

F.2d 1296 (Sth Cir. 1988)..................... eee 13

Scherk v. Alberto-Culver Co., 417 U.S. $06 (1974) .... 5

Shearson/American Express, Inc. vy. McMahon, 482

U.S. 220, 107 S. Ct. 2332 (1987).................. passim

Securities Industry Association v. Connally, [Current]

Fed. Sec. L. Rep. (CCH) § 94,107 (D. Mass. Dec. 18,

SRG uinusés6nbedeaeussckdueds usueen.. 13n

Southland Corp. v. Keating, 465 U.S. | ae 4,5

United States v. Bland, 283 U.S. 6% Se 15

United States v. Macintosh, 283 U.S. 605 a 15

United States v. Schwimmer, 279 U.S. 644 ae 15

Wilko v. Swan, 346 U.S. 427 (1953)................. passim

Statutes:

Securities Act of 1933

Section 12(2), 15 U.S.C. § 77M2)................ passim

Te ee passim

Securities Exchange Act of 1934

Section 10(b), 15 U.S.C. § 78j(b)...........0055. 3,7

Se es a Or )

Section 29(a), 15 U.S.C. § T8cc(u) .........0000ee ae

United States Arbitration Act

ey ee Os 1 OP bts Scavicndicbveecenqusus passim

PAGE

Regulations:

Securities Exchange Act Rule 19b-4, 17 C.F.R.

DBD ov ccccccscccssceccesccsecccsososcvcee 9

Rules:

American Stock Exchange, Inc., Arbitration Rules, 2

Am. Stock Ex. Guide (CCH) 4§ 9540-9551) ..8n, lin, 12n,

13n, 14n

Code of Arbitration Procedure of the National Associa-

tion of Securities Dealers, Inc., N.A.S.D. Manual

COCHE GE SPOR BPED . oc cccccccccccccscccscvcvcnce passim

Constitution of the New York Stock Exchange, Inc., Art.

VIII, 2 N.Y.S.E. Guide (CCH) 44 1351-1357........ 8n

New York Stock Exchange, Inc., Arbitration Rules, 2

N.Y.S.E. Guide (CCH) 94 2600-2634 ........ 8n, lin, 12n,

13n, 14n

Proposed Amendments to the Arbitration Rules of the

New York Stock Exchange, Inc., filed by the New

York Stock Exchange with the Securities and Exchange

Commission, pursuant to Securities Exchange Act

Rule 19b-4, on October 17, 1988, File No. SR-NYSE-

88-29 (Appendix A to this Brief) .... 6.6.66. e ee ees passim

Uniform Code of Arbitration § 1, reprinted in Fifth

Report of the Securities Industry Conference on Arbi-

tration (April 1986). .......66 66 e eee eee 8n, lin, 12n,

13n, 14n

Articles:

C. Katsoris, The Arbitration of a Public Securities Dis-

pute, $3 Fordham L. Rev. 279 (1984) .....---..0: 13, 13n

vi

PAGE

Miscellaneous:

Administrative Office of the United States Courts, Fed-

eral Court Management Statistics 1987 .............. l4n

American Stock Exchange, Inc., Panel of Arbitrators

1988-89, 1 Am. Stock Ex. Guide (CCH) 158-59 ___.. 10

Annual Report of the Director of the Administrative

Office of the United States Courts, Appendix I, Table

C2 (1987)

Fifth Report of the Securities Industry Conference on

Arbitration Statistical Report (April 1986) (Exhibit A) 14

H.R. Conf. Rep. No, 94-229 (1975), reprinted in 1975

U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News, at 179.............. 18

Minutes of the June 24, 1988, Meeting of the Securities

Industry Conference on Arbitration.............. .l2n, 14

SEC Exchange Act Release No. 16390 (S.E.C. Nov. 30,

1979), 18 S.E.C. Docket 1197 (1979) ............... 8-9

Survey Taken by Deloitte Haskins & Sells at the Request

of the New York Stock Exchange, Inc., of Arbitration

and Litigation Results of Customer Disputes with Six

Brokerage Firms During a 3-Month Period in 1987 and

1988 (Appendix B to this Brief)................ 12-13, 13n

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

No. 88-385

>

OFELIA RODRIGUEZ DE QUIJAS, ef al.,

Petitioners,

—_—V.—

SHEARSON/ AMERICAN EXPRESS, INC.,

its successors and assigns,

Respondents.

>_>

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE |

IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

PRELIMINARY STATEMENT

The Securities Industry Association (‘‘SIA*’), D.A. Davidson

& Co., Inc. (“‘D.A. Davidson’’), Dain Bosworth Incorporated

(‘Dain Bosworth’’), Dean Witter Reynolds Inc. (‘Dean Wit-

ter’’), Goldman, Sachs & Co. (“‘Goldman"’), J.C. Bradford &

Co. (J.C. Bradford’), J.J.B. Hilliard, W.L. Lyons, Inc.

(‘Hilliard Lyons”), Johnston, Lemon & Co. Inc. ( Johnston

Lemon’’), Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith Incorporated

(‘Merrill Lynch"’), Piper, Jaffray & Hopwood Inc. (‘Piper

Jaffray’’), The Advest Group, Inc. (““Advest s and Wheat,

First Securities, Inc. (‘‘Wheat First’), submit this brief as amici

curiae in support of respondents, and urge this Court to ape

the opinion and judgment of the | United States Court .

Appeals for the Fifth Circuit below in Rodriguez de Quijas Vv.

Shearson/Lehmen Brothers, 845 F.2d 1296 (Sth Cir. 1988). The

consents of petitioner Ofelia Rodriguez de Quijas and of

,

respondent Shearson/American Express, Inc., have been

obtained and the originals thereof have been filed with the

Clerk of the Court.

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

SIA is the principal trade association of the securities indus-

try, having as members more than five hundred and fifty securi-

ties firms in the United States and Canada. As such, it has a

substantial interest in the extent to which agreements to arbi-

trate claims between securities firms and their customers may be

enforced. B&tause arbitration is an ef ficient, fair, and economi-

cal manner of resolving disputes, most of S1LA’s members have

agreed with many of their customers to arbitrate any controver-

Sies arising between them. Among these members are amici

Advest, D.A. Davidson, Dain Bosworth, Dean Witter, Gold-

man, Hilliard Lyons, J.C. Bradford, Johnston Lemon, Merril]

Lynch, Piper Jaffray, and Wheat First.

Certain amici are parties to cases pending in the lower federa!

courts that involve the issue presented on this petition. The pro-

cedural outcome of those actions will be affected by any dec-

sion taken by this Court on this petition. Amici therefore have a

substantial interest in seeing this Court resolve whether agree-

ments to arbitrate claims arising under Section 12(2) of the

Securities Act of 1933, 15 U.S.C. §$ 7742) (the “Securities

Act"’), are enforceable as valid contracts under Section 2 of the

United States Arbitration Act. 9 U.S.C. § 2 (the “‘Arbitration

Act"), as is the case with claims arising under the Securities

Exchange Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C $$ 78a ef seq. (the “‘Exchange

Act"’). Amici seek to clarify and make uniform the law on this

issue so that the enforceability of arbitration provisions in

agreements with their customers can be predicted and relied

Upon. SIA and certain amici also filed briefs amicus curiae with

this Court on the enforceability of agreements to arbitrate

Exchange Act claims in Dean Witter Revnolds, Inc. v. Byrd.

470 U.S. 213 (1985), and in Shearson/ American Express, Inc.

v. McMahon, 482 U.S. 220, 107 S. Ct. 23324 1987), and moved

tor leave to file a brief with respect [oO a petition raising the iden-

3

tical issue in Dain Bosworth Incorporated v. Johnson, No. 88-

284.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The issue before the Court is whether predispute agreements

to arbitrate claims arising under Section 12(2) of the Securities

Act, 1S U.S.C. § 7742) are enforceable. In Shearson/American

Express, Inc. v. McMahon, 482 U.S. 220, 107 S. Ct. 2332

(1987), the Court held that agreements to arbitrate claims under

Section 10(b) of the Exchange Act, 15 U.S.C. § 78}(b), were

enforceable under the Arbitration Act.

McMahon rejected an argument based on Wilko v. Swan,

346 U.S. 427 (1953), that a predispute agreement to arbitrate

securities claims waives substantive rights under the federal

securities laws. Wilko held that an agreement to arbitrate Sec-

tion 12(2) claims waives substantive rights bestowed by the

Securities Act and that Section 14 of the Act, 1S U.S.C. § 77n,

which voids any waiver of compliance with that Act, therefore

voids such agreements to arbitrate. Yet the Court subsequently

held in Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Soler Chrysier-Plymouth,

Inc., 473 U.S. 614 (1985), that, by agreeing to arbitrate a statu-

tory claim, a party does not forego the substantive rights

afforded by the statute under which the claim arose. Following

Mitsubishi, the Court in McMahon found that arbitration as

practiced in the securities industry today offers a fair and effi-

cient means of resolving disputes and that an agreement to arbi-

trate securities disputes does mot waive substantive rights under

the Exchange Act. McMahon thus disavowed both Wi/ko’s gen-

eral hostility to the arbitration process and its specific reason-

ing.

in light of McMahon, the United States Court of Appeals for

the Fifth Circuit below held that predispute agreements to arbi-

trate Section 12(2) claims are enforceable under (ve Arbitration

Act. Rodriguez de Quijas v. Shearson/Lehman Brothers, 845

F.2d 1296 (Sth Cir. 1988). Because McMahon rejected the ana-

lytical predicate of the decision in Wi/kKo—that an agreement to

4

arbitrate waives substantive rights—the Fifth Circuit inter-

preted McMahon as having effectively overruled Wilko and

therefore did not feel constrained to follow Wilko.

The Fifth Circuit below correctly recognized Wilko’s ‘‘obso-

lescence’’ in light of the McMahon decision. Wilko reflects the

suspicion courts once held of the arbitral process, as opposed to

the congressionally enacted federal policy recognizing arbitra-

tion as an efficient means of resolving disputes. See Shearson/

American Express, Inc. v. McMahon, 107 S. Ct. at 2340;

Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-Piymouth, Inc.:

Southland Corp. v. Keating, 465 U.S. 1 (1984); Moses H. Cone

Memorial Hospital v. Mercury Construction Corp., 460 U.S. |

(1983). Wilko did not apply the correct standard for determin-

ing whether Section 12(2) repealed the Arbitration Act by impli-

cation, a standard this Court has reiterated in Mitsubishi

Motors Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., Kaiser Steel

Corp. v. Mullins, 455 U.S. 72 (1982), and Morton v. Mancari,

417 U.S. 535 (1974). Rather than searching for statutory lan-

guage in the Securities Act conflicting with the Arbitration Act

or legislative history indicating congressional intent to repeal

the Arbitration Act, Wi/ko overruled the substantive, congres-

sional policies embodied in the Arbitration Act solely on the

basis of its own conception of public policy.

Amici respectfully submit that, given the fairness and effi-

ciency of arbitration in the securities industry, as found in

McMahon, the Court should have no hesitation in holding a

predispute agreement to arbitrate Section 12(2) claims as

enforceable as any other contract. That result would make the

law uniform for all agreements to arbitrate securities claims and

conform to the well settled rule as to the enforceability of arbi-

tration agreements in general. See Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v.

Soler Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc.

5

POINT I

THE UNITED STATES ARBITRATION ACT MANDATES

THAT ARBITRATION BE RECOGNIZED AS AN

EFFICIENT AND WIDELY ACCEPTED MEANS OF

RESOLVING BROKER-CUSTOMER DISPUTES

IN THE SECURITIES INDUSTRY

The United States Arbitration Act provides that an agree-

ment to arbitrate in a contract involving interstate commerce 1s

valid to the same extent as any other contract. When Congress

passed the Arbitration Act in 1925, it established a clear federal

policy favoring the use of arbitration to resolve disputes. That

policy marked a decisive shift from the hostility to arbitration

then prevalent in the courts.

In its recent decisions, this Court has found occasion to rec-

ognize the policy behind the Arbitration Act. In Mitsubishi

Motors Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., the Court

observed:

[W]e are well past the time when judicial suspicion of the

desirability of arbitration and the competence of arbitral

tribunals inhibited the development of arbitration as an

alternative means of dispute resolution.

473 U.S. at 626-27. Accord Moses H. Cone Memorial Hospital

v. Mercury Constr. Corp., 460 U.S. at 24 (the Arbitration Act

‘‘is a congressional declaration of a liberal federal policy favor-

ing arbitration . . . [and] questions of arbitrability must be

addressed with a healthy regard for the federal policy favoring

arbitration’’); Southland Corp. v. Keating, 465 U.S. at 10 (in

passing the Arbitration Act, ‘*Congress declared a national pol-

icy favoring arbitration. . . [that] mandated the enforcement

of arbitration agreements’’); Scherk v. Alberto-Culver Co., 417

U.S. 506, 510-11 (1974); see also Wilko v. Swan, 346 U.S. at

439 Frankfurter, J., dissenting) (‘‘[t}here is nothing in the rec-

ord. . . to indicated that the arbitral system a would not

afford the plaintiff the rights to which he is entitled’’).

6

Since this Court has decisively abandoned both the analytical

reasoning and the deep suspicion of arbitration that permeates

the opinion in Wilko v. Swan, there is no reason that Wilko

should hold sway even in the narrow space to which it is now

restricted. Wilko is premised on a fundamental hostility to arbi-

tration. See Shearson/American Express, Inc. v. McMahon

107 S. Ct. at 2340. Proceeding from that premise Wilko

espoused the theory that an agreement to arbitrate Securities

Act controversies waives substantive rights under that statute

Because Section 14 of the Securities Act, 15 U.S.C § 77h,

invalidates “‘any .. . stipulation. . . to waive compliance

with any provision’’ of the Securities Act, and because the

Court doubted that arbitration panels would adequately

enforce compliance with that Act, it therefore found predispute

agreements to arbitrate Section 12(2) claims void. !

The decision in Wilko flatly ignored the substantive federal

policy embodied in the Arbitration Act. In equating an agree-

ment to arbitrate Securities Act controversies with a waiver of

compliance with that Act, Wilko put the blind eye to Congress’s

unmistakable mandate that arbitration was to be a respected

method of resolving disputes and that there was no public pol-

icy against agreements to arbitrate.

As this Court has recognized, its recent decisions substan-

tially differ from Wil/ko’s hostilit itrati

y to arbitration.

McMehon observed: For example,

l Wilko’'s language shows extraordinary cynicism as to the compe-

tence of arbitration tribunals:

[A Securities Act] case requires subjective findings on the purpose

and knowledge of an alleged violator of the Act. They must not

only be determined but applied by the arbitrators without judicial

instruction on the law. As their award may be made without expla-

nauon of their reasons and without a complete record of their pro-

ceedings, the arbitrators’ conception of the legal meaning of such

Statutory requirements as ‘‘burden of proof,’’ ‘‘reasonable care’’ or

**material fact’’. . . cannot be examined.

346 U.S. at 4358-36.

-

It is difficult to reconcile Wilko’s mistrust of the arbitral

process with this Court’s subsequent decisions involving

the Arbitration Act.

107 S. Ct. at 2341. Moreover, this Court has twice rejected the

predicate of the Wilko decision, the notion that an agreement to

arbitrate controversies under a federal statute waives compli-

ance with the provisions of that statute:

By agreeing to arbitrate a statutory claim, a party does not

forgo the substantive rights afforded by the statute; it only

submits their resolution to an arbitral, rather than judicial

forum. It trades the procedures and opportunity for

review of the courtroom for the simplicity, informality,

and expedition of arbitration.

Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., 473

U.S. at 628; accord, Shearson/American Express, Inc. V.

McMahon, 107 S. Ct. at 2339."

Not only did McMahon abandon Wilko’s reasoning, it

reached the exact opposite holding: it held that an agreement to

arbitrate claims arising under Section 10(b) of the Exchange Act

was not a ‘‘stipulation . . . to waive compliance with’’ the

Exchange Act, which is void under Section 29(a) of that Act, 15

U.S.C. § 78cc(a), whereas Wilko had held that such an agree-

ment was a “‘stipulation . . . to waive compliance with’’ the

2 The fallacy in Wilko’s confusion between a forum selection clause

and a waiver of substantive rights is manifested in Johnson v. O'Brien,

420 N.W.2d 264 (Minn. App. 1988), review denied, No. C9-97-1784

slip op. (Minn. May 18, 1988), petition for cert. filed sub nom, Dain

Bosworth Incorporated v. Johnson, No. 88-246. The plaintiffs in

Johnson brought suit in state court, foregoing any procedural safe-

guards offered by the federal courts. Because the Securities Act vests

both the state and federal courts with jurisdiction to hear Securities

Act claims, an agreement requiring that all Securities Act claims be

brought in a particular state court would not waive compliance with

the Securities Act under Section 14. Yet there is nothing that ensures

that a state court will provide a more advantageous forum for Securi-

ties Act claims than arbitration. To the contrary, the stock exchanges’

powers to compel the presence of registered persons at arbitrations, for

example, can far exceed that of state courts. See note 16, infra, at 12.

Securities Act. Yet, although McMahon questioned Wilko’s

continuing vitality (‘‘indeed most of the reasons given in Wilko

have been rejected subsequently by the Court as a basis for

holding claims to be nonarbitrable’’), it nonetheless cautioned

that ‘‘stare decisis concerns may counsel against upsetting

Wilko’s contrary conclusion under the Securities Act.’’ 107 S.’

Ct. at 2341,

Wilko’s inconsistency with the state of arbitration in the

securities industry today not only explains but justifies this

Court’s reluctance to follow Wilko’s holding or its policy pro-

nouncements. The established structure of arbitration in the

securities industry refutes Wilko’s assumption that the enforce-

ment of contracts to arbitrate securities disputes will dilute the

protection of investors under the securities laws. Securities

exchanges and the Nationa] Association of Securities Dealers.

Inc. (the “*N.A.S.D.’’), under the supervision of the Securities

and Exchange Commission, provide arbitration facilities for

disputes between member firms and their public customers.'

The current procedures have evolved since 1872, when the New

York Stock Exchange, Inc. (the ““N.Y.S.E.’’), first conducted

customer arbitrations. The N.A.S.D. has maintained arbitra-

tion facilities for more than forty years. The exchanges and the

N.A.S.D. also have permanent arbitration staffs. Their rules

0 constitutions contain detailed codes of arbitration proce-

ures.

Moreover, the Securities and Exchange Commission has

approved the implementation and Operation of this arbitral sys-

tem, see Exchange Act Release No. 16390 (S.E.C. Nov. 30

3 See, e.g., 2 Am. Stock Ex. Guide (CCH) € 9542 (Rule 602):

N.A.S.D. Manual (CCH) ¢ 3701; 2 N.Y.S.E. Guide (CCH) $ 2600

(Rule 600); Uniform Code of Arbitration § 1, reprinted in Fifth Report

of the Securities Industry Conference on Arbitration (April 1986).

4 See, e.g., Constitution of the New York Stock Exchange, Inc., Art

Vill, 2 N.Y.S.E. Guide (CCH) €€ 1351-1357: Rules 600-634 of the

New York Stock Exchange, Inc., id. € 2600-2634; Code of Arbitra-

uion Procedure of the National Association of Securities Dealers Inc

N.A.S.D. Manual (CCH) 9 3701-3743: Arbitration Rules of the

American Stock Exchange — .

ge, Inc., 2 Am. k £ . —

€4 9540-955] ). . m. Stock Ex. Guide (CCH)

9

1979), 18 S.E.C. Docket 1197 (1979), and retains jurisdiction to

monitor the fairness of arbitration proceedings. See Section 19

of the Exchange Act, 15 U.S.C. § 78s. As the Commission itself

argued to this Court in McMahon, in a brief signed by its Gen-

eral Counsel and Solicitor:

[T]he Commission has had the power to ensure that arbi-

tration procedures prescribed by the SROs [Self-

Regulatory Organizations] are adequate to enforce the

rights of customers against brokerage firms that are mem-

bers of SROs. In these circumstances, the suspicion of

arbitration on which Wilko rested is inappropriate, and an

agreement to arbitrate accordingly should not be deemed a

waiver of rights under the Exchange Act.

Shearson/American Express, Inc. v. McMahon, No. 86-44,

Brief of the Securities and Exchange Commission as amicus

curiae at 13.

That the Securities Industry Conference on Arbitration

(‘‘SICA’’) and the Commission have worked together to add

further improvements to SRO arbitration codes in the year fol-

lowing the McMahon decision proves that the Commission can

and will exercise its oversight authority and that SROs will

respond in a constructive manner. During the Summer of 1988,

the Commission invited SICA and the stock exchanges to

review and possibly revise their arbitration rules in certain

respects. SICA and the stock exchanges considered the matter

and drafted amendments to their arbitration rules, which they

have filed with the Commission pursuant to Exchange Act Rule

19b-4, 17 C.F.R. § 240.19b-4.°

As changed, the rules would require that any arbitration

clause in a broker-customer agreement be highlighted and in

plain language. In addition, the arbitration clause must disclose

to the customer that he is thereby foregoing a jury trial in any

lawsuit against his broker and agreeing to limits on discovery

S$ The N.Y.S.E.’s proposed rule changes, which are substantively iden-

tical with SICA’s and were filed with the Commission on October 17,

1988, File No. SR-NYSE-88-29, are set forth as Appendix A to this

brief.

10

and appellate review. The contract must also disclose the pres-

ence of the arbitration clause unmediately before the a

tomer’s Signature line.’ The proposed amendments further

require that discovery requests be responded to within 30 days

and provide for a prehearing conference before an arbitration

panel to resolve discovery disputes.* Retired securities industry

personnel (as well as professionals who do substantial business

with securities firms) who serve as arbitrators may only serve as

industry arbitrators, and all arbitrators must provide their

employment history for the prior ten years to the parties.’ Last

a record, either stenographic or taped, must be kept of all arbi-

tration proceedings, and arbitration awards must state the issue

The long established competence of securities industry arbi-

trators to adjudicate disputes should dispel any suspicion of the

arbitral process in that industry. The stock exchanges and the

N.A.S.D. keep permanent lists of arbitrators. These lists com-

prise senior securities industry personnel, attorneys, and other

professionals from outside the industry, who are well versed in

the field. See, e.g., Panel of Arbitrators 1988-89, 1 Am. Stock

Ex. Guide (CCH) 158-59; N.A.S.D. Manual (CCH) 4 3702

Most have previously served as arbitrators and are therefore

well acquainted with arbitration procedures and customs. Thus

this Court’s observation in Mitsubishi that ‘adaptability and

access to expertise are hallmarks of arbitration,’’ 473 U.S. at

633, hits the mark with respect to the securities industry. As this

Court stated after reviewing the state of arbitration in the secu-

rities industry in McMahon, ‘“‘Even if Wiiko’s assumptions

regarding arbitration were valid at the time Wilko was decided,

6 See Appendix A, Proposed N.Y.S.E. Rule 637(1), at A-19.

7 See Appendix A, Proposed N.Y.S.E. Rule 637(2), at A-19.

8 See Appendix A, Proposed Rule 61% anby(2), (d) at A-12-13.

9 See Appendix A, Proposed N.Y.S.E. Rule 610, at A-6-7.

10 = See Appendix A, Proposed N.Y.S.E. Rules 623 and 627, at A-15-16.

1]

most certainly they do not hold true today. . . .”? 107S. Ct. at

2341."

The arbitration rules of the N.A.S.D. and the various securi-

ties exchanges further ensure that arbitration practice in the

securities industry will be efficient and impartial. For example,

these rules require that panels of arbitrators include members of

the securities industry and of the public. '2 They require a major-

ity of ‘‘public’’ arbitrators (i.e., unaffiliated with member

firms) in disputes between public customers and member firms

unless the customer requests otherwise.'® Arbitrators are

required to disclose any business affiliation with any parties

before them, and may be disqualified for cause for even the

11 Far from considering themselves as the only tribunal capable of

hearing securities disputes, the federal courts have recognized securities

industry arbitrators as qualified to resolve those claims. Courts have

long compelled arbitration of Exchange Act disputes between members

of a securities exchange or the N.A.S.D. See, e.g., Shearson/American

Express, Inc. v. McMahon, 107 S. Ct. 2332; Axelrod & Co. v. Kor-

dich, Victor & Neufeld, 320 F. Supp. 193 (S.D.N.Y. 1970), aff'd, 451

F.2d 838 (2d Cir. 1971); Brown v. Gilligan, Will & Co., 287 F. Supp.

766, 774-75 (S.D.N.Y. 1968). Claims under the Exchange Act are rou-

tinely arbitrated if the public customer chooses to arbitrate. See

Gardner v. Shearson, Hammill & Co., 433 F.2d 367 (Sth Cir. 1970)

(per curiam), cert. denied, 401 U.S. 978 (1971); Moran v. Paine, Web-

ber, Jackson & Curtis, 389 F.2d 242 (3d Cir. 1968); cf, AVC Neder-

land B.V. v. Atrium Iny. Partnership, 740 F.2d 148 (2d Cir. 1984)

(affirming the dismissal of an Exchange Act claim because the parties

had agreed to try all disputes in the Netherlands).

See, e.g., 2 Am. Stock Ex. Guide (CCH) € 9541 (Rule 601);

N.A.S.D. Manual (CCH) § 3719; 2 N.Y.S.E. Guide (CCH) § 2607

(Rule 607); Uniform Code of Arbitration § 8.

13. See, e.g., 2 Am. Stock Ex. Guide (CCH) 4 9542 (Rule 602);

N.A.S.D. Manual (CCH) § 3719; 2 N.Y.S.E. Guide (CCH) § 2607

(Rule 607); Uniform Code of Arbitration § 8. As noted above at 9-10,

the 1988 SICA proposed rule changes would set specific criteria for

qualification as a ‘‘public’’ arbitrator. See Proposed N.Y.S.E. Rules

607, 608, 610 at A-4-7; N.Y.S.E. Guidelines for Classification of Arbi-

trators at A-20-21.

appearance of a conflict of interest.'* Each party in an arbitra-

tion is accorded at least one peremptory challenge.

The arbitration itself proceeds much like a trial. The parties

have the right to be present at the hearing, to be represented by

counsel, to cross-examine witnesses, and to take a transcript of

the hearing. They may subpoena witnesses and documents just

as In a court proceeding, and may also compel the presence of

any employee of a member of the sponsoring institution at a

hearing, regardless of whether that employee would be within

the subpoena power of the courts of the state where the hearin

is held.” Moreover, arbitrators serve, and witnesses testif ‘

under oath.’’ The fairness of these rules and procedures is

borne out by the results of arbitrations conducted under them

In 1987, 55% of public customer cases that went to arbitration

before one of the securities exchanges or the N.A.S.D. and wer

decided—rather than settled—awarded damages to the am

tomer. A study prepared for the NYSE by the accounting firm

of Deloitte Haskins & Sells (““‘DH&S’’) of arbitration and litiga-

tion results of customer public cases of six major amen e

firms suggests that arbitration may offer at least as ime

14 ide |

= 7 e.g., 2 Am. Stock Ex. Guide (CCH) § 9542(f) (Rule 602)(f):

.A.S.D. Manual (CCH) § 3723; 2 N.Y.S.E. Guide (CCH) € 2610

(Rule 610); Uniform Code of Arbitration § 11.

1§ See, e.g., Uniform Code of Arbitration § 10.

16 See, e.g., 2 Am. Stock Ex. Guide (CC

a ' x, e (CCH) §§ 9546, 9548-49, 9S5S51A

(Rules 606, 608-09, 612); 2 N.Y.S.E. Guide (CCH) 4$§ 2614-15, 2619-

20, 2624 (Rules 614-15 . : . ’

16, 20-21, 25. * 614-15, 619-624); Uniform Code of Arbitration §§ 15-

17 See, e.g., 2 Am. Stock Ex. Guide (CCH) § 9SS5I1B (Rule 613); 2

N.Y.S.E. Guid -_ 5) : :

tion § 26. suide (CCH) § 2625 (Rule 625); Uniform Code of Arbitra-

18 See Minutes of the June 24, 1988, Meeting of the Securities Industry

Conference on Arbitration, which reported arbitration statistics for

1987 similar to those previously reported to the Securities and

Exchange Commission. A table of these statistics, and of the 1986 sta-

tistics compiled by SICA, is set forth as Appendix A to the Brief of the

Securities Industry Association as amicus curiae in support of th i

tion for a writ of certiorari herein. 7 sata

13

results as litigation to public customers.’” According to the

DH&S survey, which reflects data from a three month period

during 1987 and 1988, litigation plaintiffs recovered 2.6% of

their original claims (including settlements), as opposed to

14.81% (including settlements) for arbitration claimants.

Moreover, the arbitration process significantly reduces dis-

covery expenses and minimizes delay in reaching a hearing. See

Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., 473

U.S. at 628; C. Katsoris, The Arbitration of a Public Securities

Dispute, 53 Fordham L. Rev. 279, 286 (1984). For example,

state laws generally provide subpoena power to arbitrators and

counsel, and parties are encouraged to produce documents ‘‘to

the fullest extent possible without resort to the issuance of the

subpoena process.’””’ Arbitrators may also direct the appear-

ance of persons associated with member organizations or the

production of records of these organizations without using the

subpoena process.” That most stock exchanges and the

N.A.S.D offer a streamlined arbitration procedure for smaller

claims also enables customers to resolve small disputes without

19 The DH&S survey, which was annexed by the NYSE to its response

to the Commission, and which was also filed with the United States

District Court for the District of Massachusetts in Securities Industry

Association v. Connally, Civil Action No. 88-2153-WD as an Exhibit

to the Affidavit of Paul J. Dubow, sworn to November 28, 1988, and

cited by the Court in its opinion granting summary judgment in favor

of SIA, [Current] Fed. Sec. L. Rep. (CCH) € 94,107 at 91,217 (D.

Mass. Dec. 18, 1988), is set forth as Appendix B to this brief.

20 See Appendix B at A-24.

21 See, e.g., 2 Am. Stock Ex. Guide (CCH) 4 9548 (Rule 608);

N.A.S.D. Manual (CCH) § 3732; 2 N.Y.S.E. Guide (CCH) § 2619

(Rule 619); Uniform Code of Arbitration § 20; C. Katsoris, supra, at

286. As noted above at 10, the proposed amendment to the SICA code

would provide specific deadlines for responses to discovery requests,

see Appendix A, Proposed N.Y.S.E. Rule 619(a)(b)(2), at A-12, and

for discovery conferences, see Appendix A, Proposed N.Y.S.E. Rule

619d), at A-13.

22 See, e.g., 2 Am. Stock Ex. Guide (CCH) € 9549 (Rule 609);

N.A.S.D. Manual (CCH) € 3733; 2 N.Y.S.E. Guide (CCH) © 2620

(Rule 620); Uniform Code of Arbitration § 21.

14

incurring great expense.*’ Arbitration also offers an expeditious

result. According to statistics compiled by SICA, 4,364 securi-

ties industry arbitrations were filed with securities exchanges

and the N.A.S.D. in 1987, and 2,936 arbitrations in the securi-

ties industry were resolved during that year.“ The 1987 figures

—— than three times the number of arbitrations filed

In .

Finally, the excessive caseload in the federal district courts

makes it all the more important that arbitrable claims between

securities firms and their customers proceed to arbitration. Fil-

ings of securities and commodities claims increased to 2.844 in

1987. Since the average caseload per United States District

Judge in 1987 was 460 cases,”’ permitting agreements to arbi-

trate all securities laws claims would help to relieve the federal

courts of their overloaded dockets and could effectively free as

many as six federal district judges to handle other matters.

Wilko thus stands bereft of any factual, legal, or policy sup-

port. Arnici respect fully submit that Wi/ko’s negation of con-

gressional policy, its analytical inconsistency with this Court’s

23 _ See, e.g., 2 Am. Stock Ex. Guide (CCH) © 9551H (Rule 619);

N.A.S.D. Manual ‘CCH) $3710; 2 N.Y.S.E. Guide (CCH) $ 2601

(Rule 601); Uniform Code of Arbitration § 2. .

See Brief of the Securities Industry Association as amicus curiae in

support of the petition for a writ of certiorari herein, Appendix A.

The number of filings rose from 1,340 in 1982 to 4,364 in 1987. See

Fifth Report of the Securities Industry Conference on Arbitration Sta-

tistical Report (April 1986) (Exhibit A), which is reproduced in Appen-

dix B to the Brief of the Securities Industry Association as os

curiae in support of the petition for a writ of certiorari herein. |

Annual Report of the Director of the Administrative Office of the

United States Courts, Appendix I, Table C2 (1987). This table is repro-

duced in excerpied form as Appendix C to the Brief of the Securities

Industry Association as amicus curiae in support of the petition for a

writ of certiorari herein. These figures are calculated on the vasis of a

year beginning July 1; ‘‘1987"" statistics therefore refer to the period

July 1, 1986, through June 30, 1987.

Administrative Office of the United States Courts, Federal Court

Management Statistics 1987 at 167. |

15

more recent decisions, and its invalid factual assumptions take

it out of the shelter of stare decisis. As the Court has long recog-

nized, ‘‘stare decisis, in statutory construction, is a useful rule,

not an inexorable command.”’ Erie Railroad Co. v. Tompkins,

304 U.S. 64, 92 (1938) (Reed, J., concurring). Thus, the Court

has overturned its own precedent in order to achieve consis-

tency in interpreting statutory provisions. See Commissioner v.

Estate of Church, 335 U.S. 632 (1949). The Court in Church

reconsidered the construction of the ‘‘possession or enjoy-

ment’’ clause under Section 811(c) of the Internal Revenue

Code it had adopted in May v. Heiner, 281 U.S. 238 (1930). It

did so because its subsequent decision in Helvering v. Hallock,

309 U.S. 106 (1940), had construed the same ‘‘possession or

enjoyment”’ clause in Section 811(c) of the Code differently

from May. Church found that the decision in Hallock

amounted to a complete rejection of the rationale in May, even

though it did not expressly overrule May. Commissioner v.

Estate of Church, 335 U.S. at 643-45. While acknowledging the

interests inherent in the doctrine of stare decisis, the Court

overruled May in order to bring an inconsistent holding in line

with its later decision. See Commissioner v. Estate of Church,

335 U.S. at 649-50. As stated in Helvering v. Hallock, where the

Court was also confronted with incompatible decisions, the

‘real problem. . . is to determine whether we are to adhere to

a harmonizing principle. . . or whether we are to multiply gos-

samer distinctions between the present cases and the. . . ear-

lier ones.’’ 309 U.S. at 118. Here, too, a holding that Section

12(2) claims are arbitrable would make the law with respect to

those claims consistent with the law regarding Exchange Act

claims.

Likewise, .he Court has not hesitated to overrule decisions

that ‘‘do not state the correct rule of law.’’ See Girouard v.

United States, 328 U.S. 61, 69 (1946) (overruling United States

v. Schwimmer, 279 U.S. 644 (1929), United States v. MacIn-

tosh, 283 U.S. 605 (1931), and United States v. Bland, 283 U.S.

636 (1931)). Here, again, where Wilko’s legal reasoning and

policy consideration cannot pass muster under this Court’s

16

more recent Arbitration Act decisions, Wi/ko cannot ‘‘state the

correct rule of law’’ and should therefore be overruled.

Last, should the Court overrule Wilko, it will bestow the

additional policy advantage of making the law uniform for all

securities law claims. Parties will have no incentive to continue

to plead a Section 12(2) claim as a means of avoiding arbitra-

tion.™ The federal court system will therefore be spared sub-

stantial motion practice over pleading matters, as a well as over

difficult collateral estoppel issues that invariably arise when

claims arising under the same set of facts must be resolved by

different tribunals.

POINT II

WILKO Vv. SWAN IGNORED THE STANDARD FOR FIND-

ING AN IMPLIED REPEAL OF THE UNITED STATES

ARBITRATION ACT

By holding that Section 12(2) claims are not arbitrable on the

basis of its own perception of arbitration practice, Wilko

usurped Congress’s role in setting federal policy. Specifically,

“nile purporting to resolve a conflict between ‘‘two policies

not easily reconcilable’’, 346 U.S. at 438, Wilko in fact manu-

factured that conflict on the basis of its hostility to arbitration.

Notwithstanding Congress’s policy favoring arbitration, Wilko

equated an agreement to arbitrate Securities Act claims with a

waiver of compliance with the Securities Act in order to void

such an agreement under Section 14.

Wilko’s analysis stands at odds with many of this Court’s

more recent rulings, in particular McMahon and Mitsubishi

Motors Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc. Mitsubishi

28 Dain Bosworth Incorporated v. Johnson appears to be a good exam-

ple of this sort of practice. In Johnson, the plaintiffs Originally

brought a claim under the Minnesota Securities Act. When the defen-

dants moved to compel arbitration, the plaintiffs amended their com-

plaini to add a Section 12(2) claim and then again to delete their

Minnesota Securities Act claim so that it could not be arbitrated. See

Dain Bosworth Incorporated v. Johnson, No. 88-284, Petition for a

Writ of Certiorari at 4-5, A-15-47.

17

requires that any finding of an implied repeal of the Arbitration

Act be supported by ‘‘congressional intention expressed in

some other statute. . . .”’ 473 U.S. at 627. This is simply a

reiteration of the traditional standard for finding that a federal

statute has been repealed by implication by a sabsequently

enacted federal statute. Kaiser Steel Corp. v. Mullins, 455 U.S.

at 88 (‘‘ ‘repeals by implication [of a prior statue by a subse-

quently enacted one] are disfavored’ ’’) (quoting Alien v.

McCurry, 449 U.S. 90, 99 (1980)); Morton v. Mancari, 417

U.S. at 550 (‘‘In the absence of some affirmative showing of an

intention [by Congress] to repeal, the only permissible justifica-

tion for a repeal by implication is when the earlier and later stat-

utes are irreconcilable’’).

In Mitsubishi, this Court stated:

We must assume that if Congress intended the substantive

protection afforded by a given statute to include protec-

tion against waiver of the right to a judicial forum, that

intention will be deducible from text or legislative history.

473 U.S. at 628”

Under this test, there can be no question that predispute

agreements to arbitrate Section 12(2) claims are enforceable

under the Arbitration Act. The Securities Act contains no statu-

tory language that restricts a party’s ability to choose an arbi-

tral forum with respect to claims brought thereunder. Section

14, on which Wilko relied, concerns waivers of compliance with

the Securities Act, not agreements as to what forum a c.aim

under the Securities Act may be tried before. This Court has

already marked this distinction in Mitsubishi and McMahon to

the extent of holding that Section 29 of the Exchange Act, a

nonwaiver provision substantially identical to Sectioa 14, did

not void agreements to arbitrate in McMahon.

29 ~—s- The opinion in Mitsubishi cited Wilko v. Swan for this proposition,

in spite of the fact that Wilko did not rely on text or legislative history,

but rather on its hostile view of arbitration practice and its conception

of an agreement to arbitrate statutory claims as 2 wai\ © of comphance

with the siaiute in question, both of which notions Mitsubishi rejected

in no uncertain terms.

18

Nor is there any evidence in the legislative history of the Secu-

rities Act that Congress intended to repeal the Arbitration Act

with respect to Securities Act claims. That Congress in amend-

ing the securities laws in 1975 did not affirmatively overrule

Wilko has no bearing on what Congress intended in 1933, the

critical inquiry at bar. Likewise, although the Conference

Report pertaining to those amendments observed that the

amendments were not intended to change existing law as to

waivers and then cited Wilko v. Swan, that language is not con-

nected with any affirmative act of Congress, either in 1975 or in

1933, and hardly amounts to the direct legislation necessary to

repeal the Arbitration Act in this context. See H.R. Conf. Rep.

No. 94-229, at 111 (1975), reprinted in 1975 U.S. Code Cong. &

Ad. News, at 179, 342. Indeed, the Court in McMahon found

the language quoted from that Conference Report so obscure as

not to be probative of anything, with the result that “the Wilko

issue was left to the courts.”’ 107 S. Ct. at 2343. Moreover, such

subsequent legislative inaction will not prevent a Court from

revisiting a decision that was ill-founded, as amici respectfully

Suggest is the case here. For example, in Girouard v. United

States, the Court overruled its prior interpretation of a statute

after Congress had rejected amendments to that statute that

would have overruled the prior interpretation. See 328 U.S. at

72-76 (Stone, C.J., dissenting). As the majority held, “‘it is at

best treacherous to find in congressional silence alone the adop-

tion of a controlling rule of law. We do not think under the cir-

cumstances of this legislative history that we can properly place

on the shoulders of Congress the burden of the Court’s own

error.’’ 328 U.S. at 69-70.

Absent specific legislative evidence to the contrary, the Arbi-

tration Act must apply to Securities Act claims and agreements

to arbitrate those claims must be honored as ordinary contracts.

19

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, amici curiae the Securities

Industry Association, D.A. Davidson & Co., Inc., Dain

Bosworth Incorporated, Dean Witter Reynolds Inc., Goldman,

Sachs & Co., J.C. Bradford & Co., J.J.B. Hilliard, W.L.

Lyons, Inc., Johnston Lemon & Co. Inc., Merrill Lynch,

Pierce, Fenner & Smith Incorporated, Piper, Jaffray & Hop-

wood Inc., The Advest Group, Inc., and Wheat, First Securi-

ties, Inc., respectfully request that the decision of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit below be

affirmed.

Dated: February 17, 1989 Respectfully submitted,

JAMES k. MANNING

Counsel of record; and

PAUL WINDELS III

BROWN & WooD

One World Trade Center

New York, New York 10048

(212) 839-5300

Attorneys for Amici Curiae

Of Counsel:

William J. Fitzpatrick, Esq.

Gerard J. Quinn, Esq.

Bruce A. Mackenzie, Esq.

Louis L. Bulba, Esq.

Paul J. Dubow, Esq.

Robert Katz, Esq.

R. Patrick Shepherd, Esq.

James C. Stone III, Esq.

\ _

Gene E. Carasick, Esq.

Philip M. Mandel, Esq.

David Rosedahl, Esq.

Lee G. Kuckro, Esq.

William B. Lucas, Esq.

SECURITIES INDUSTRY

ASSOCIATION

D.A. DAVIDSON & Co.,

INCORPORATED

DAIN BOSWORTH

INCORPORATED

DEAN WITTER REYNOLDS INC.

GOLDMAN, SACHS & Co.

J.C. BRADFORD & Co.

J.J.B. HILLIARD, W.L. LYONS,

INC.

JOHNSTON, LEMON & Co.

INCORPORATED

MERRILL LYNCH, PIERCE,

FENNER & SMITH

INCORPORATED

PIPER, JAFFRAY & HOPWOOD

INCORPORATED

THE ADVEST GROUP, INC.

WHEAT, FIRST SECURITIES, INC.

A-l

APPENDIX A

PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO THE ARBITRATION

RULES OF THE NEW YORK STOCK EXCHANGE, INC..,

AS FILED WITH THE SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE

COMMISSION ON OCTOBER 17, 1988,

FILE NO. SR-NYSE-88-29

[ ] DELETED LANGUAGE

italics NEW LANGUAGE

Rule 601. SIMPLIFIED ARBITRATION

(a) Any dispute, claim or controversy, arising between a

public customer(s) and an associated person or a member

subject to arbitration under this Code involving a dollar

amount not exceeding $10,000 exclusive of attendant

costs and interest, shall upon demand of the customer(s)

or, by written consent of the parties, be arbitrated as

hereinafter provided.

(b) The Claimant shall file with the Director of Arbitration

fone (1) executed Submission Agreement and one (1)

copy of the Statement of Claim of the controversy in dis-

pute,] an executed Submission Agreement and a copy of

the Statement of Claim of the controversy in dispute and

the required deposit, together with documents in support

of the Claim. Sufficient copies of the Submission Agree-

ment and the Statement of Claim and supporting docu-

ments shall be provided to the Director of Arbitration for

each party and the arbitrator. The Statement of Claim

shall specify the relevant facts, the remedies sought and

whether or not a hearing is demanded.

(c) The claimant shall pay the sum of $15.00 if the amount in

controversy is $1,000 or less, $25.00 if the amount in con-

troversy is more than $1,000 but $2,500 or less, $100 if

the amount in controversy is more than $2,500 but does

not exceed $5,000, or $200 if the amount in controversy is

more than $5,000 but does not exceed $10,000 upon filing

A-2

of the Submission Agreement. The final disposition of

this sum shall be determined by the arbitrator.

(d) The Director of Arbitration shall endeavor ,to serve

promptly by mail or otherwise on the Respondent(s) one

(1) copy of the Submission Agreement and one (1) copy

of the Statement of Claim.

[The respondent(s) shall, within twenty (20) calendar

days from receipt of service, file with the Director of

Arbitration one (1) executed Submission Agreement and

one (1) copy of the Respondent’s Answer, together with

supporting documents.]

Within twenty (20) calendar days from receipt of the

Statement of Claim, Respondent(s) shall serve each party

with an executed Submission Agreement and a copy.of

Respondent’s Answer. Respondent’s executed Submis-

sion Agreement and Answer shall aiso be filed with the

Director of Arbitration with sufficient copies for the

arbitrator(s) along with any deposit required under the

schedule of fees. The Answer shall designate all available

defenses to the Claim and may set forth any related

Counterclaim and/or related Third Party Claim the

Respondent(s) may have against the Claimant or any

other person. If the Respondent(s) has interposed a Third

Party Claim, [The Director of Arbitration shall endeavor

to serve promptly by mail or otherwise a copy of same,

together with a copy of the Submission Agreement on

such Third Party who shall respond in the manner herein

provided for response to the claim.] the Respondent(s)

Shall serve the Third Party Respondent with an executed

Submission Agreement, a copy of Respondent’s Answer

containing the Third Party Claim and a copy of the origi-

nal Claim filed by the Claimant. The Third Party

Respondent shall respond in the manner herein proviaed

for response to the claim. lf the Respondent(s) files a

related Counterclaim exceeding $10,000, the arbitrator

may refer the Claim, Counterclaim and/or Third Party

Claim if any, to a panel of three (3) or more arbitrators in

(e)

(f)

A-3

accordance with Rule 607 of this Code or, he may dismiss

the Counterclaim and/or Third Party Claim, without

prejudice to the Counterclaimant(s) and/or Third Party

Claimant(s) pursuing the Counterclaim and/or Third

Party Claim in a separate proceeding. The costs to the

Claimant under either proceeding shall in no event exceed

$200.

[The Director of Arbitration shall endeavor to serve

promptly by mail or otherwise on the Claimant a copy of

the Answer, Counterclaim, Third Party Claim or other

responsive pleading, if any. The Claimant, if a Counter-

claim is asserted against him, shall within ten (10) calen-

dar days either (i) file’a Reply to any Counterclaim with

the Director of Arbitration who will serve a copy of the

Reply on the Respondent(s) or,] A// parties shall serve

promptly by mail or otherwise on all other parties and the

Director of Arbitration, with sufficient copies for the

arbitrators, a copy of the Answer, Counterclaim, Third

Party Claim or other responsive pleading, if any. The

Claimant, if a Counterclaim is asserted against him, shall

within ten (10) calendar days either:

(i) serve on each party a reply to any counterclaim, or

(ii) if the amount of the Counterclaim exceeds the

Claim, have the right to file a statement withdrawing

the Claim. If the Claimant withdraws the Claim, the

proceedings will be discontinued without prejudice to

the rights of the parties.

The dispute, claim or controversy shall be submitted to a

single arbitrator knowledgeable in the securities industry

selected by the Director of Arbitration. Unless the public

customer demands or consents to a hearing, or the arbi-

trator(s) calls a hearing, the arbitrator shall decide the

dispute, claim or controversy solely upon the pleadings

and evidence filed by the parties. If a hearing is neces-

sary, such hearing shall be held as soon as practicable at a

locale selected by the Director of Arbitration.

A-4

(g) The Director of Arbitration may grant extensions of time

to file any pleading upon a showing of good cause.

(h) The arbitrator shall be authorized to require the submis-

sion of further documentary evidence as he, in his sole

discretion deems advisable.

(i) Upon the request of the arbitrator, the Director of Arbi-

tration shall appoint two (2) additional arbitrators to the

panel which shall decide the matter in controversy.

(j) In any case where there is more than one (1) arbitrator,

the majority will be public arbitrators.

(k) In his discretion, the arbitrator may, at the request of any

party, permit such party to submit additional documen-

tation relating to the pleadings.

(1) Except as otherwise provided herein, the general arbitra-

tion rules of the New York Stock Exchange, Inc. shall be

applicable to proceedings instituted under this Code.

Rule 607. DESIGNATION OF NUMBER OF ARBITRATORS

(a) (1) In all arbitration matters involving public customers

and non-members where the matter in controversy

exceeds $10,000, or where the matter in controversy

does not involve or disclose a money claim, the Direc-

tor of Arbitration shall appoint an arbitration panel

which shall consist of no less than three (3) arbitra-

tors, at least a majority of whom shall not be from

the securities industry, unless the public customer or

non-member requests a panel consisting of at least a

majority from the securities industry.

(2) An arbitrator will be deemed as being from the secu-

rities industry if he or she is:

1. is @ person associated with a member, or broker/

dealer, government securities broker, government

securities dealer or registered investment adviser,

or

A-5

2. has been associated with any of the above within

the past three (3) years, or

3. is retired from any of the above, or

4. is an attorney, accountant or other professional

who devoted twenty (20) percent or more of his or

her professional work effort to securities industry

clients within the last two (2) years.

(3) An arbitrator who is not from the securities industry

shall be deemed a public arbitrator. A person will not

be classified as a public arbitrator if he or she has a

spouse or other member of the household who is a

person associated with a registered broker, dealer,

municipal securities dealer, government securities

broker, government securities dealer or investment

adviser.

(b) Composition of Panels

The individuals who shall serve on a particular arbitra-

tion panel shall be determined by the Director of Arbitra-

tion. The Director of Arbitration may name the

chairman of each panel.

Rule 608. NOTICE OF SELECTION OF ARBITRATORS

The Director of Arbitration shall inform the parties of the

names [and business affiliations of the arbitrators] and employ-

ment histories of the arbitrators for the past ten years, as well as

information disclosed pursuant to Rule 610 at least eight (8)

business days prior to the date fixed for the initial hearing ses-

sion. A party may make further inquiry of the Director of Arbi-

tration concerning an arbitrator’s background. In the event that

any arbitrator, after appointment and prior to the first hearing

session, should resign, die, withdraw, be disqualified or other-

wise be unable to perform as an arbitrator, the Director of

Arbitration shall appoint a new member to the panel to fill any

vacancy. The Director of Arbitration shall inform the parties of

the name and employment history of the arbitrator for the past

A-6

fen years, as well as information disclosed pursuant to Rule

610, as soon as possible. A party may make further inquiry of

the Director of Arbitration concerning the background of any

arbitrator and within the time remaining prior to the first hear-

ing session or the five (5) day period provided under Rule 609,

whichever is shorter, may exercise its right to challenge the

replacement arbitrator as provided in Rule 609.

Rule 610. DISCLOSURES REQUIRED OF ARBITRATORS

(a) Each arbitrator shall be required to disclose to the Direc-

tor of Arbitration any circumstances which might pre-

clude such arbitrator from rendering an objective and

impartial determination.

[Prior to the commencement of the first hearing session

the Director of Arbitration may remove an arbitrator

who discloses such information. ]

Each arbitrator shall disclose:

(1) Any direct or indirect financial or personal interest in

the outcome of the arbitration;

(2) Any existing or past financial, business, professional,

family or social relationships which are likely to

affect impartiality or which might reasonably create

an appearance of partiality or bias. Persons

requested to serve as arbitrators should disclose any

such relationships which they personally have with

any party or its counsel, or with any individual whom

they have been told will be a witness. They should

also disclose any such relationship involving mem-

bers of their families or their current employers, part-

ners or business associates.

(b) Persons who are requested to accept appointment as arbi-

trators should make a reasonable effort to inform them-

selves of any interests or relationships described in

Paragraph (a) above.

A-7

(c) The obligation to disclose interests, relationships, or cir-

cumstances which might preclude an arbitrator from ren-

dering an objective and impartial determination

described in subsection (a) hereof is a continuing duty

which requires a person who accepts appointment as an

arbitrator to disclose, at any stage of the arbitration, any

such interests, relationships, or circumstances which

arise, or which are recalled or discovered.

(d) Prior to the commencement of the first hearing session,

the Director of Arbitration may remove an arbitrator

based on information disclosed pursuant to this section.

The Director of Arbitration shall also inform the parties

of any information disclosed pursuant to this section, if

the arbitrator who disclosed the information is not

removed.

Rule 611. DISQUALIFICATION OR OTHER DISABILITY

OF ARBITRATORS

[In the event that any arbitrator, after the commencement of

the first session but prior to the rendition of the award should

become disqualified, resign, die, refuse or be unable to perform

or discharge his duties, the Director of Arbitration, upon such

proof as he deems satisfactory, shall, where permited by law,

either (a) appoint a new member to the panel to replace such

arbitrator, obtaining the consent of the parties; or (b) with the

consent or waiver of the parties, direct that the arbitration pro-

ceed without the substitution of a new arbitrator.]

In the Event that any arbitrator, after the commencement of

the first hearing sessions and prior to the rendition of the

award, should resign, die, withdraw, be disqualified or other-

wise be unable to perfc..n as an arbitrator, the remaining arbi-

trator(s) may continue with the hearing and determination of

the controversy, unless such continuation is objected to by any

party within five (5) days of notification of such resignation,

death, withdrawal, disqualification, or other inability. Upon

objection, the Director of Arbitration shall appoint a new mem-

ber to the panel to fill any vacancy. The Director of Arbitration

A-8

shall inform the parties as soon as possible of the name and

employment history for the past ten (10) years of the replace-

ment arbitrator, as well as information disclosed pursuant to

Rule 610. A party may make further inquiry of the Director of

Arbitration concerning the replacement arbitrator’s back-

ground and within the time remaining prior to the next schea-

uled hearing session or the five (5) day period provided under

Rule 609, whichever is shorter, may exercise its right to chal-

lenge the replacement arbitrator as provided in Rule 609.

—s

—

kule 612. INITIATION OF PROCEEDINGS

Except as otherwise provided herein, an arbitration proceed-

ing under this Code shall be instituted as follows:

(a) Statement of Claim

The Claimant shall file with the Director of Arbitration

[three (3) executed copies of the Submission Agreement

and three (3) copies of the Statement of Claim of the con-

troversy in dispute, together with the documents in sup-

port of the claim.] an executed Submission Agreement, a

Statement of Claim and the required deposit. Sufficient

copies of the Submission Agreement and the Statement

of Claim and supporting documents shall be provided to

the Director of Arbitration for each party and arbitra-

tor(s). The Statement of Claim shall specify the relevant

facts and the remedies sought. The Director of Arbitra-

tion shall endeavor to serve promptly by mail or other-

wise on the Respondent(s) one (1) copy of the Submission

Agreement and one (1) copy of the Statement of Claim.

(b) Service and Filing with the Director of Arbitration

For purposes of the Code of Arbitration Procedure, ser-

vice may be effected by mail or other means of delivery.

Service and filing are accomplished on the date of maiil-

ing with first-class postage pre-paid or, in the case of

other means of service, on the date of delivery. Filing

with the Director of Arbitration shall be made on the

same date as service.

A-9

[(b)](c) Answers—Defenses, Counterclaims and/or

Cross-Claims

[(1) The Respondent(s) shal! within twenty (20) business

days from receipt of service file with the Director of

Arbitration one (1) copy of the Respe dent’s(s’)

Answer.]

(1) Within twenty (20) business days from receipt of the

Statement of Claim, the Respondent(s) shall serve

each party with an executed Submission Agreement

and a copy of Respondent(s) Answer. Respondent(s)

executed Submission Agreement and Answer shall

also be filed with the Director of Arbitration with

sufficient copies for the arbitrator(s), along with any

deposit required under the schedule of fees. The

Answer shall specify all available defenses and rele-

vant facts that will be relied upon at the hearing and

may set forth any related Counterclaim the Respon-

dent(s) may have against the Claimant, [and any

third party claim against any other party or person

upon any existing dispute, claim or controversy to

arbitration under this Code.] any Cress-Claim, the

Respondent(s) may have against any other named

Respondent(s) and any Third Party Claim against

any other party or person upon any existing dispute,

claim or controversy subject to arbitration under this

Code.

(2) (i) A Respondent, Responding Claimant, Cross-

Claimant, Cross-Respondent or Third Party

Respondent who pleads only a general denial as

an answer may, [upon written objection by the

adversary party before the hearing to the Direc-

tor of Arbitration] upon objection by a party, in

the discretion of the arbitrators, be barred from

presenting any fact or defenses at the time of the

hearing.

(ii) A Respondent, Responding Claimant, Cross-

Claimant, Cross-Respondent or Third Party

(3)

(4)

A-10

Respondent who fails to specify all available

defenses and relevant facts in such party’s

answer may, upon objection by [the adversary] a

party, in the discretion of the arbitrators, be

barred from presenting such facts or defenses

not included in such party’s answer at the hear-

ing.

(iii) A Respondent, Responding Claimant, Cross-

Claimant, Cross-Respondent or Third Party

Respondent who fails to file an answer within

twenty (20) business days from receipt of service,

or unless the time to answer has been extended

pursuant to paragraph (5), may, in the discretion

of the arbitrators, be barred from presenting any

matter, arguments or defenses at the hearing.

[If the Respondent(s) has interposed a third party

claim the Director of Arbitration shall endeavor to

serve promptly by mail or otherwise a copy of same

together with a copy of the Submission Agreement on

such third party who shall respond in the manner

herein provided for response to the Claim.] Respon-

dent(s) shall serve each party with a copy of any

Third Party Claim. The Third Party Claim shall also

be filed with the Director of Arbitration with suffi-

cient copies for the arbitrator(s), along with any

deposit required under the schedule of fees. Third

Party Respondent(s) shall respond in the manner pro-

vided for response to the Claim, as provided herein

above.

[The Director of Arbitration shall endeavor to serve

promptly by mail or otherwise on the Claimant a

copy of the Answer, Counterclaim, Third Party

Claim or other responsive pleading, if any. The

Claimant may within ten (10) business days file a

Reply to the Counterclaim with the Director of Arbi-

tration who will serve a copy of the Reply on the

Respondent(s).] The Claimant shall serve each party

A-ll

with a reply to a counterclaim within ten (10) business

days of receipt of an answer containing a counter-

claim. The reply shall also be filed with the Director

of Arbitration with sufficient copies for the arbitra-

tor(s).

(5) [The time period to file any pleading, whether such

be denominated as a Claim, Answer, Counterclaim,

Reply or Third Party pleading, may be extended for

such further periods as may be granted by the Direc-

tor of Arbitration.] The Director of Arbitration may

extend any time period in this section whether such be

denominated as a Claim, Answer, Counterclaim,

Cross-Claim, Reply or Third Party pleading.

[(c)](d) Joining and Consolidation—Multiple Parties.

(1) With respect to any dispute, claim or controversy

submitted to arbitration, any party or person eligible

to submit a claim under this Code shall have the right

to proceed in the same arbitration against any other

party or person upon any claim directly related to

such dispute.

(2) For purposes of this subsection, the Director of Arbi-

tration shall be authorized to determine preliminarily

whether a claim is directly related to the matter in dis-

pute and to join any other party to the dispute and to

consolidate the matter for hearing and award pur-

poses. In arbitrations where there are multiple Claim-

ants, Respondents and/or Third Party Respondents,

the Director of Arbitration shall be authorized to

determine preliminarily whether such parties should

proceed in the same or separate arbitrations.

(3) All final determinations with respect to joining, con-

solidation and multiple parties under this subsection

shall be made by the arbitration panel.

A-12

Rule 619. GENERAL PROVISION GOVERNING PRE-HEARING

PROCEEDING

(a) Requests for Documents and Information

The parties shall cooperate to the fullest extent practica-

ble in the voluntary exchange of information to expedite

the arbitration. Any request for documents or other

information should be specific, relate to the matter in

controversy, and afford the party to whom the request is

made a reasonable period of time to respond without

interfering with the time set for the hearing.

(b) Document Production and Information Exchange

(1) Any party may serve a written request for informa-

tion or documents (“information request’’) upon

another party twenty (20) business days or more after

service of the Statement of Claim by the Director of

Arbitration or upon filing of the Answer, whichever

is earlier. The requesting party shall serve the infor-

mation request on all parties and file a copy with the

Director of Arbitration. The parties shall endeavor to

resolve disputes regarding an information request.

Such efforts shall be set forth in the objection.

(2) Unless a greater time is allowed by the requesting

party, information requests shall be satisfied or

objected to within thirty (30) calendar days from the

date of service. Any objection to an information

request shall be served by the objecting party on all

parties and filed with the Director of Arbitration.

(3) Any response to objections to information requests

shall be served on all parties and filed with the Direc-

tor of Arbitration within ten (10) calendar days of

receipt of the objection.

(4) Upon the written request of a party whose informa-

tion request is unsatisfied, the matter will be referred

by the Director of Arbitration to either a pre-hearing

conference under paragraph (d) of this section or to a

A-13

selected arbitrator under paragraph (e) of this sec-

tion.

(c) Pre-Hearing Exchange

At least ten (10) calendar days prior to the first scheduled

hearing date, all parties shall serve on each other copies

of documents in their possession and shall identify wit-

nesses they intend to present at the hearing. The arbitra-

tor(s) may exclude from the arbitration, any documents

not exchanged or witnesses not identified. This para-

graph does not require service of copies of documents or

identification of witnesses which parties may use for

cross-examination or rebuttal.

(d) Pre-Hearing Conference

(1) Upon the written request of a party, an arbitrator, or

at the discretion of the Director of Arbitration, a pre-

hearing conference shall be scheduled. The Director

of Arbitration shall set the time and place of a pre-

hearing conference and appoint a person to preside.

The pre-hearing conference may be held by tele-

phone. The presiding person shall seek to achieve

agreement among the parties on any issues that relate

to the pre-hearing process or to the hearing, including

but not limited to, the exchange of information,

exchange or production of documents, identification

of witnesses, identification and exchange of hearing

documents, stipulations of facts, identification and

briefing of contested issues, and any other matters

which will expedite the arbitration proceedings.

(2) Any issues raised at the pre-hearing conference that

are not resolved may be referred by the Director of

Arbitration to a single member of the Arbitration

Panel for decision.

(e) Decisions by Selected Arbitrator

The Director of Arbitration may appoint a single mem-

ber of the Arbitration Panel to decide all unresolved

if)

A-14

issues referred to under this section and sections (f) and

(g). Such arbitrator shall be authorized to act on behalf

of the panel to issue subpoenas, direct appearances and

production of documents, and set deadlines. Decisions

under this paragraph shall be made upon the papers sub-

mitted by the parties, unless the arbitrator calls a hearing.

The arbitrator may elect to refer any issue under this par-

agraph to the full panel.

Subpoenas

The arbitrator(s) and any counsel of record to the pro-

ceedings shall have the power of the subpoena process as

provided by law. A// parties shall be given a copy of the

subpoena upon its issuance. [However] The parties shall

produce witnesses and present proofs tathe fullest extent

possible without resort to the [issuance of the] subpoena

process.

[(b) Prior to the first hearing session, the parties shall cooper-

(g)

ate in the voluntary exchange of such documents and

information as will serve to expedite the arbitration. If

the parties agree, they may also submit additional docu-

ments to the Director of Arbitration for forwarding to

the arbitrators.]

Power to Director Appearance and Production of

Documents

The arbitrator(s) shall be empowered without resort to

the subpoena process to direct the appearance of any per-

son employed or associated with any member or member

organization of the New York Stock Exchange, Inc. and/

or the production of any records in the possession or con-

trol of such persons or members. Unless the arbitrator(s)

direct otherwise, the party requesting the appearance of a

person or the production of documents under this section

shall bear all reasonable costs of such appearance and/or

production

7

A-15

Rule 623. RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS

[Unless requested by the arbitrators or a party or parties to a

dispute, no record of any arbitration proceeding is required to

be kept. If a record is kept, it shall be a verbatim record.] A ver-

batim record by stenographic reporter or tape recording of all

arbitration hearings shall be kept. 1f a party or parties to a dis-

pute elect to have the record transcribed, the cost of such tran-

scription shall be borne by the party or parties making the

request unless the arbitrators direct otherwise. The arbitrators

may also direct that the record be transcribed. If the record is

transcribed at the request of any party, a copy shall be provided

to the arbitrators.

Rule 627. AWARDS

(a) All awards shall be in writing and signed by a majority of

the arbitrators or in such manner as it is required by law.

Such awards may be entered as a judgment in any court

of competent jurisdiction.

(b) Unless the law directs otherwise, all awards rendered pur-

suant to this Code shall be deemed final and not subject

to review or appeal.

(c) The Director of Arbitration shall endeavor to serve a

copy of the award: (i) by registered or certified mail upon

all parties or their counsel, at the address of record; or (ii)

by personally serving the award upon the parties; or (iii)

by filing or delivering the award in such a manner as may

be authorized by law.

(d) The arbitrator(s) shall endeavor to render an award

within thirty (30) business days from the date the record

is closed.

(e) The award shall contain the names of the parties, a sum-

mary of the issues in controversy, the damages and/or

other relief requested, the damages and/or other relief

awarded, a statement of any other issues resolved, the

a

A-16

names of the arbitrators and the signatures of the arbitra-

tors concurring in the award.

Summary information contained in the awards shall be

made publicly available in accordance with the policies of

the sponsoring self-regulatory organization.

Rule 629. SCHEDULE OF FEES FOR CUSTOMER DISPUTES

(a) At the time of filing a [Submission Agreement, a Claim-

ant] Claim, Counterclaim, Third-Party Claim or Cross-

Claim, a party shall deposit with the Exchange the

amount indicated below unless such deposit is specifically

waived by the Director or Arbitration

Amount in Dispute Deposit

(Exclusive of interest and expenses)

ee cena cesceccecces $ 15

Above $1,000 but not exceeding $2,500........ . =

Above $2,500 but not exceeding $5,000........ $ 100

Above $5,000 but not exceeding $10,000....... $ 200

Above $10,000 but not exceeding $50,000... ... $ 400

Above $50,000 but not exceeding $100,000..... $ 500

Above $100,000 but not exceeding $500,000.... $ 750

Te ee eehenecesesecocececesc: $1,000

Where the amount in dispute is $10,000 or less, no addi-

tional deposits shall be required despite the number of

hearing sessions. Where the amount in dispute is above

$10,000 and multiple hearing sessions are required, the

arbitrators may require any of the parties to make addi-

tional deposits for each additional hearing session. In no

event shall the aggregate amount deposited per hearing

session exceed the amount of the initial deposit(s) as set

forth in the above schedule.

(b) A hearing session is any meeting between the parties and

one arbitrator(s), including a pre-hearing conference,

which lasts four (4) hours or less.

A-17

[(b)](c) The arbitrators, in their awards, may determine the

amount chargeable to the parties as forum fees (fees) and

shall determine by whom such fees shall be borne. Where

the amount in dispute is $10,000 or less, total [forum]

fees chargeable to the parties shall not exceed the amount

of the total initial deposit deposited by the parties,

regardless of the number of hearing sessions conducted.

Where the amount in dispute is above $10,000, total fees

chargeable to the parties per hearing session may equal

but shall not exceed the amount of the total initial

deposit(s) deposited by the parties. [Where the amount in

dispute is above $10,000 but does not exceed $50,000, the

maximum fee shall be $400 per session. Where the

amount in dispute is above $50,000 but does not exceed

$100,000, the maximum fee shall be $500 per session.

Where the amount in dispute is above $100,000, the max-

imum fee shall be $750 per session. Where the amount in

dispute is above $500,000, the maximum fee shall be

$1,000 per session.] Amounts deposited by a party shall

be applied against fees, if any. If the fees are not assessed

against a party who had made a deposit, the deposit will

be refunded. Jn addition to forum fees, the arbitrator(s)

may determine in their awards the amount of costs

incurred pursuant to Rules 617, 619 and 624; and unless

applicable law directs otherwise, other costs and expenses

of the parties and arbitrator(s) which are within the scope

of the agreement of the parties. The arbitrator(s) shall

determine by whom such costs shall be borne.

{(c)](d) If the dispute, Claim or controversy does not involve or

disclose a money Claim, the amount to be deposited by

the Claimant shall be [$100] $200, or such amount as the

Director of Arbitration or the panel of arbitrators may

require, but shall not exceed $1,000.

[(d)]/e) Any matter submitted and thereafter settled or with-

drawn prior to the commencement of the first hearing

session shall entitle the parties to a refund of all but $100

of the amount deposited with the Association. This sec-

A-18

tion shall not apply to claims filed under Section 2 of this

Code.

[(e)]|() Any matter submitted and thereafter settled or with-

drawn subsequent to the commencement of the first hear-

ing sessions may be subject to such refund of assessed

deposits, if any, as the panel of arbitrators presiding may

determine.

[(f)]}(g) The arbitrators may assess forum fees and costs incurred

pursuant to Rules 617, 619 and 624 [Rule 620 costs] in

any matter settled or withdrawn subsequent to the com-

mencement of the first session.

(h) The fee for pre-hearing conferences shall be 75 per cent

of the fees contained in subsection (a).

{Rule 620. POWER TO DIRECT APPEARANCES

The arbitrators shall be empowered without resort to the sub-

poena process to direct the appearance of any person

employed or associated with any member or member organi-

zation of the New York Stock Exchange, Inc. and/or the pro-

duction of any records in the possession or contro! of such

persons, members or member organizations. Unless the arbi-

trators direct otherwise, the party requesting the appearance

of a person or the production of documents under this sec-

tion shall bear all reasonable costs of such appearance and/or

production.]

Succeeding rules will be renumbered.

[Rule 638. EXCHANGE OF DOCUMENTS

At least ten days prior to the date assigned for a hearing, the

parties shall exchange documents in their possession which

they intend to introduce to the arbitrators. The arbitrators

may exclude from the arbitration any document not so

exchanged. }

A-19

Rule 637. REQUIREMENTS WHEN USING PRE-DISPUTE ARBI-

TRATION AGREEMENTS WITH CUSTOMERS

(1) Any pre-dispute arbitration clause shall be highlighted

and shall be immediately preceded by the following dis-

closure language which shall also be highlighted:

(a) Arbitration is final and binding on the parties.

(b) The parties are waiving their right to seek remedies in

court, including the right to jury trial.

(c) Pre-arbitration discovery is generally more limited

than and different from court proceedings.

(d) The arbitrators’ award is not required to include fac-

tual findings or legal reasoning and any party’s right

to appeal or to seek modification of rulings by the

arbitrators is strictly limited.

(e) The panel of arbitrators will typically include a

minority of arbitrators who were or are affiliated with

the securities industry.

(2) Immediately preceding the signature line, there shall be a

statement that the agreement contains a pre-dispute arbi-

tration clause.

(3) A copy of the agreement containing any such clause shall

be given to the customer who shall acknowledge receipt

thereof on the agreement or on a separate document.

(4) No agreement shall include any condition which limits or

contradicts the rules of any self-regulatory organization

or limits the ability of a party to file any claim in arbitra-

tion or limits the ability of the arbitrators to make any

award.

(5) The requirements of this section shall apply only to new

agreements signed by an existing or new customer of a

member or member organization after

A-20

NEW YORK STOCK EXCHANGE, INC.

GUIDELINES FOR

CLASSIFICATION OF ARBITRATORS

In order to insure continued investor confidence in the arbi-

tration process, the New York Stock Exchange has adopted the

following policies with regard to the classification of securities

industry and public arbitrators and to the exercise of challenges

for cause:

1.

Individuals with close securities industry ties such as attor-

neys, accountants or other professionals who routinely

represent industry firms or individuals, will either be

reclassified as industry arbitrators or not be used.

. Individuals who have spent a substantial part of their

business careers in the securities industry shall always be

classified as industry arbitrators.

. Individuals who have spent a relatively minor portion of

their career in the securities industry shall not be classified

as public arbitrators until at least five (5) years have

elapsed from the date of their last industry affiliation. All

such past affiliations shall be disclosed and challenges for

cause based upon such past affiliations shall be sustained.

Close family relationships with broker/dealers shall be

disclosed and challenges for cause based on such relation-

ships shall be honored.

. Attorneys, accountants and other professionals whose

firms have close securities industry ties will still be classi-

fied as public arbitrators provided the attorney or other

professional does not routinely represent industry firms or

individuals. Challenges for cause based on such industry

ties will be honored.

All arbitrators shall read and become familiar with the

Code of Ethics for Arbitrators developed by the American

Bar Association and the American Arbitration Associa-

tion.

A-21

7. Any close question on arbitrator classification or on chal-

lenges for cause shall be decided in favor of public cus-

tomers.

8. Spouses of securities industry personnel may not serve as

arbitrators.

THESE GUIDELINES WILL BE USED BY THE

NEW YORK STOCK EXCHANGE IN

APPLYING RULE 607.

A-22

APPENDIX B

SURVEY TAKEN BY DELOITTE HASKINS & SELLS

AT THE REQUEST OF THE NEW YORK STOCK

EXCHANGE, INC., OF ARBITRATION AND LITIGA-

TION RESULTS OF CUSTOMER DISPUTES WITH SIX

BROKERAGE FIRMS

Deloitte Haskins & Sells

One World Trade Center

New York, New York 10048-0601

(212) 669-5000

International & Domestic Telex

4995706

New York Stock Exchange

11 Wall Street

New York, New York 10005

Attention: Mr. James E. Buck

Senior Vice President and Secretary

Dear Sir:

We have performed the procedures requested by you, as

described below, with respect to certain customer originated

cases which were terminated either by arbitration, litigation or

settlement, as shown in Exhibit A. The procedures that we per-

formed are summarized as follows:

1. We prepared a questionnaire to obtain data from various

securities brokerage firms (Exhibit B)

2. We selected six securities brokerage firms with large retail

brokerage business and distributed the questionnaires. The

six firms were Dean Witter Reynolds Inc., Merrill Lynch,

Pierce, Fenner & Smith Inc., Paine Webber Inc., Piper, Jaf-

fray & Hopwood Inc., Shearson Lehman Hutton Inc., and

Smith Barney, Harris Upham & Co. Inc.

3. We obtained responses from the firms regarding all cases

terminated during a recent three month period. The period

A-23

selected was the most recent period for which the firms could

obtain data. Such periods were between October 1, 1987 and

June 30, 1988.

4. We accumulated the data and prepared Exhibit A based

upon the responses received.

Because the information was obtained from securities broker-

age firms and was not subjected to procedures in accordance

with generally accepted auditing standards, we are not in a posi-

tion to express an opinion on the data obtained from the firms.

However, in our opinion, Exhibit A summarizes fairly the data

obtained.

Yours truly,

/s/

DELOITTE HASKINS & SELLS

A-24 A-25

Exhibit A Notes to Exhibit A Fi

Summary of Data Obtained : ; , ;

(dctne eenvents chown a heenade l. One isolated case was omitted because it was considered to

bias the remainder of the sample. The impact of this case is

Litigation as follows (dollar amounts shown in thousands):

Transferred

to All Litigated Totals

Litigated (1) Arbitrated Arbitration Arbitration Individual Case If Included

Number of Cases 66 142 35 -177 Average Elapsed Time 926 604

% 27.16% 58.44% 14.40% 72.84% (days)

Average Elapsed Time 599 434 1,056 557 Original Claim:

(days) Compensatory $ 15,000 $ 23,826

Original Claim: Punitive/Treble 100,000 155,075

Compensatory 8,826 $10,768 $10,333 $21,101 Total 115,000 178.901

Punitive/Treble 55,075 10,013 10,643 20,656 ,

Total 63,901 20,781 20,976 41,757 Payments:

Compensatory 200 1,859

—— (2) in eee eden ae Punitive/Treble 0 0

ompensatory / ‘ . .

Punitive/Treble 0 10 ; 11 Ls = sane

Total 1,659 4,067 2,115 6,182 Legal Costs:

a Outside Attorneys 348 1,366

Outside Attorneys «1,018 += 498.—s«1,392——‘1,890 aetna Aasoensions $ a

Internal Allocations 303 671 348 1,019 Total 354 1,675

Total 1,321 1,169 1,740 2,909 Average Original Claim - 2,670

Average Original Claim 968 146 599 236 Average Payment 7 28

Average Payment 25 29 60 35 Average Legal Costs - 25

Average Legal Costs 20 8 50 16 Payments as % of

Payments as % of 2.60% 19.57% 10.08% 14.81% Original Claim 17% 1.04%

Original Claim Legal Costs as % of

Legal Costs as 79.66% 28.75% 82.75% 47.06% Payments 177.00% 90.10%

of Payments

How Concluded Settlement -

See Notes to Exhibit A

A-26 A-27

2. Total Payments may be categorized as follows (in thou- Exhibit B

sands): - NEW YORK STOCK EXCHANGE

Litigated |

— - C Q lonnaire

Litigation Arbitrated Arbitration Arbitrated The New York Stock Exchange is preparing to respond to the

Securities and Exchange Commission's request to study arbitra-

174 - - -

Judgments : tion. To assist the Exchange in its preparation please provide

Arbitration | the information requested below for certain public customer

Awards - $2,226 $1,317 $3,543 | originated cases. The information should be given for each mat-

Settlements 1485 1,841 _798 2,639 | ter of dispute which was terminated either by arbitration, litiga-

tion or settlement during a selected three month period. The

Total $1,659 _ $4,067 $2,115 $6,182 period may be selected by you but it should be a recent period.

The matter of dispute should be given an identifying number.

The names of parties to the dispute need not be given.

1. Case number

2. Arbitrated LL Litigated (0 Litigated/Arbitrated (

3. If arbitrated:

NYSE CC

NASD lL

AAA Lo

Other

4. If litigated please give court or jurisdiction

Date of original claim

6. Amount of original claim:

Compensatory

Punitive/Treble _

7. Date matter was concluded

8. How concluded:

Arbitration Award

Judgment

Settlement

Other

OOO

A-28

9. Amount of Award, Judgment or Settlement:

Compensatory

Punitive/Treble

10. Costs of processing the dispute:

A. Fees of outside counsel

B. Allocated cost of internal legal department

Please send the completed information for your firm to Deloitte

Haskins & Sells, One World Trade Center, New York, New

York 10048-0601, Attention of Edward Lill no later than

September 23, 1988. For questions relating to your response

please call Edward Lill at Deloitte Haskins & Sells (212) 669-

5083.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.