Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Ulane v. Eastern Air Lines, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1985

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

84-1328 v Office - Supreme Court, U.S.

No.

FILED

FEB 14 1985

ALEXA Ss

Supreme Court of the Uuited-Stee—

In The

NDER & STEVAS,

October Term, 1984

KAREN FRANCES ULANE, Petitioner,

vs.

EASTERN AIR LINES, INC., Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS

Of Counsel:

Fay CLAYTON

BRIAN D. ROCHE

DEAN A. DICKIE

30 South Wacker Drive

Suite 2900

Chicago, Illinois 60606

(312) 207-1000

Attorney for Petitioner

SACHNOFF WEAVER & RUBENSTEIN, LTD.

30 South Wacker Drive

Suite 2900

Chicago, Illinois 60606

February 14, 1985

CHAS. P. YOUNG CHICAGO

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Court of Appeals seriously abused its

authority by reversing the District Court’s findings of fact

that the Petitioner was a female and that she was dis-

criminated against based on sex in violation of Title VII of

the Civil Rights Act of 1964, without applying the standard

of review required by Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 52(a)

and this Court’s decision in Pullman-Standard v. Swint, 456

U.S. 273 (1982).

2. Whether transsexuals are protected under Title VII of

the Civil Rights Act of 1964 against discrimination based on

change of sex.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented ...........- 00 eee cece cere eee

Paha of ComeemlS ....ccccctcocsssesesese ee

Table of Actharitias.. oo. ccccccecscucssen ence

Opinions Below............--eececeeceeeeeeeeees

Sremtadiatign .. ow cccccccseuvvesessesse

Seatute fnvelwed ......ccccsceuveeeeseeeee

Seatement of the Cees .....occccccsccesvessuneeee

Reasons for Granting the Writ ................++.-

I.

Il.

The Court of Appeals Seriously Abused its Au-

thority by Reversing the Findings of Fact of the

District Court Without Applying the Standard

of Review Required by Fed. R. Civ. P. 52(a) and

Decisions of this Court .........ccesccccceces

A. The Court of Appeals Ignored the Standard

of Review Required By this Court in

Pullman-Standard.........0ssccceccecees

B. The Court of Appeals Should Have Re-

manded Count I to the District Court ....

In Concluding that Transsexuals are not Pro-

tected by Title VII, The Court of Appeals has

Created an Exception to Title VII’s Prohibition

Against Sex Discrimination Which Conflicts

With the Broad Language and Purpose of the

OY eet

QComolesbom .... occ cccvcscceteuesesseuee eee

il

iv

10

ll

12

17

19

iii

APPENDIX:

Judgment and Opinion issued by the Court of

Appeals on August 29, 1984.................

Final Judgment Order Pursuant to Rule 54(b)

issued by the District Court on February 8, 1984

Oral Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law

omy by the District Court on December 28,

Memorandum Opinion issued by the District

Court on February 8, 1984..................

Supplemental Findings issued by the District

Court on March 6, 1984 ..................

Order Denying Rehearing and Suggestion for

Rehearing Jn Banc issued by the Court of >

peals on November 16, 1984

*t?t vt *® &@t ee eet ere = + + @

PAGE

iv

Cases PAGE

Awni Mid, Ine. v _Rjeli- Oranie Lines, 458 F.2d 712 (7th

denied, 409 U.S. 877 (1972) .......-++- 18

Barnes v. Costle, 561 F.2d 983 (D.C. Cir. 1977)...... 21, 22

Bundy v. Jackson, 641 F.2d 934 (D.C, Cir. 1981) .... 22

DeAnda v. St. Joseph's Hospital, 671 F.2d 850 (Sth Cir.

BOOM on cc nsvccvvssevenccvesessssccsssesseses 18

Diaz v. Pan American World Airways, Ine., 442 F.2d

385 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 404 US. 950 (1971) .

Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401 US. 424 (971) ...... 20

Holloway v. Arthur Andersen, 566 F.2d 659 (9th Cir.

SOPED cncses POO PNT eer err TT Ty TTT. 18

leweod Laboratories, Inc. v. ives Laboratories, Inc., 456

U.S. 844 (1962) .. 0... cere eee eee ee eee eens 13

Jacobs v. Martin Sweets Co., 550 F.2d 364 (6th Cir.), cert.

denied, 431 U.S. 917 (1977) ... eee eee 21

Jeffries v. Harris Cownty Community Action Aswe., 615

F.2d 1025 (Sth Cir. 1980)... ~~... 6. eee eee 22

McDonald v. Sante Fe Trail Transportation Co., 427 U.S

ht) eo. 20

Morales v. Haines, 486 F.2d 880 (7th Cir. 1973) ees 18

In re Neis, 723 F.2d 584 (7th Cir. BED osinvsucecs 18

Phillips v. Martin-Marietta Corp., 400 US. 542 (1971). 21

Pullman-Standard, Div. of Puliman, Inc. v. Swint, 456

U.S. 273 (1982) ..... eee e eee eee rene renee ene passim

pene Bene ee nas a on

(1DTR) once cevsneccvvesesrsnnvccsssessseness

Sprogis v. United Airlines, Inc., 444 F.2d 1194 (7th Cir.),

cert. denied, 404 U.S. 991 (1971) .. 6.6.6.

Tomkins v. Public Service Electric & Gas Co., 568 F.2d

1044 (3rd Cir. 1977) ......-. eee eee eee eee eens

Wright v. Methodist Youth Services, Ie. 511 F. wee

907 (N.D. Tl. 1981) .....- 6 ee eee eee eee eee eee

Se S&S &

.

ania

Statutes a

28 U.S.C. § IQA) ooo occ ccc ccc ce ee >

@ USC amd nae 3

S.C. § 2000e-2aNXl) occ cece cccceccece ees pass

ll. Rev. Stat, ch. 111-1/2, § 73-17%(a)....... eee ae

- Other Authorities

eral Rule of Civil Procedure re mace

oS tn & SD gory F ESSSSE SS ORES passim

4 52.0513) and 152.062) Rae eekban

Developments in the Law, Employment Discrimination

and Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 84 H

SU eee if wTTTTT Ty : a

H.R. Rep. No. 238, 92nd cong., Ist Sess. 5 (1972)

an

reprinted in 1972 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 2137 20, 21

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1984

Petitioner-Plaintiff respectfully requests the issuance of a

writ of certiorari to the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals to

review the judgment entered August 29, 1984.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals issued its judgment

and opinion on August 29, 1984 They are reproduced as

Appendix A. The opinion reversed the judgment on Counts I

and II in Petitioner’s favor entered by the District Court on

February 8, 1984. The final judgment order entered pur-

suant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(b) is reproduced as Appendix B.

The District Court’s judgment was supported by an oral

opinion issued on December 28, 1983, a Memorandum Opin-

ion issued on February 8, 1984, and written Supplemental

Findings issued on March 6, 1984. These are reproduced as

Appendices C, D, and E, respectively.

The Court of Appeals denied a Petition for Rehearing

on November 16, 1984. That order is reproduced as

Appendix F.

9

JURISDICTION

The Court of Appeals’ judgment in Respondent's ayor on

Counts I and II was entered on August 29, 1984, and its order

denying the Petition for Rehearing was entered on

November 16, 1984. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked

under the authority of 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

(a) It shall be an unlawful employment practice for

an employer

(1) to fail or refuse to hire or to discharge any

individual, or otherwise to discriminate against

any individual with respect to his compensation,

terms, conditions, or privileges of employment,

because of such individual’s race, color, religion,

sex, or national origin;. ..

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Summary

This is a Tithe VII case brought by a pilot who was fired by

Bastern Air Lines, Inc. (“Eastern”) because of her sex. After

flying successfully and without incident for Eastern for 12

years, Karen Ulane took a medical leave of absence to have

sex reassignment surgery which changed her sex from male

to female. After an unusually rigorous series of physical,

psychological and psychiatric examinations by the Federal

Aviation Administration (“FAA”), Ms. Ulane received an

FAA First Class Medical Certificate in February 1981.

Ms. Ulane presented her FAA certificate to Sastern, offered

to take any required examinations and retraining, and

informed Bastern that she was ready to return to flight duty.

On April 24, 1981, without ever examining her, Eastern fired

her.

SAI.

3

In June 1981, Ms. Ulane filed with the Equal Employment

Opportunity Commission (“EEOC”) a charge of diserimina-

tion base! on both sex and transsexuality. She received a

right-to-sue letter dated June 17, 1981, aad on August 4,

1981, she filed her complaint in the federal district court.

Jurisdiction was based on 28 U.S.C. §1331. Counts I and II

charge sex-based discrimination under Title VII. Count I

charges discrimination as a female, and Count II charges

discrimination as a transsexual.

Eastern moved for dismissal claiming that transsexuals

were not protected by Title VII and that Ms. Ulane could not

be discriminated against as a woman. The District Court

denied the motion in an oral opinion on April 21, 1982 which

held that Counts I and II stated claims of discrimination

based on gender under Title VII. Cross-motions for sum-

mary judgment were later denied in a written opinion dated

April 26, 1983.

Trial began on September 26, 1983 and was completed on

December 27, 1983. On December 28, 1983, the District Court

delivered its oral opinion finding that each of Eastern’s

reasons for the discharge was pretextual and that they estab-

lished disparate treatment between Petitioner and Eastern’s

male pilots.

While expressing its firm opinion that Ms. Ulane had

prevailed on Count II (discrimination as 4 transsexual), the

District Court also stated the following regarding Count I:

In doing so, I do not mean to imply that if Count I

‘discrimination as a female) were the only count I would

not enter judgment for plaintiff on that count. I say

that because one never knows beyond a shadow of a

doubt what the Appellate Courts might do, and in the

event the finding on Count II should be reversed, I

would want plaintiff to be in the position of arguing

alternatively that the judgment should be affirmed on

Count I because upon remand in such a situation, I

would enter judgment for plaintiff on Count I on the

4

basis of the record that has already been made here

(C-34).’

On February 8, 1984, the District Court entered judgment

in Ms. Ulane’s favor on both Counts I and II (B-3). In its

Supplemental Findings dated March 6, 1984, the District

Court clarified its intent that, even though the ruling on

Count I was stated in the alternative, the findings announced

on December 28, 1983, applied with equal force to both Count

I and Count II (E-2). The District Court also clarified its

earlier rulings and unequivocally stated that, based on the

evidence, Ms. Ulane is a transsexual and a female (E-2).?

Hastern appealed the judgment in Ms. Ulane’s favor on

Counts I and II. On August 29, 1984, the Seventh Circuit

issued its opinion and judgment reversing the District Court.

The Court of Appeals reversed the judgment on Count I

because it concluded that the District Court made no findings

to support its determination that Eastern had discriminated

against Ms. Ulane as a female. It reversed the judgment on

Count II based on its conclusion that Title VII does not

protect transsexuals from discrimination based on sex. The

Court of Appeals’ decision makes clear that there are no

medical or safety issues in this case. The Court of Appeals

let stand the District Court’s findings that Eastern’s safety

and medical concerns were completely without basis and

‘The reference to a letter and number refer to an Appendix and

page.

*On December 28, 1983, in discussing the unusual factual issue

of the plaintiff’s sex, the District Court noted:

Prior to my participation in this case, I would have had no

doubt that the question of sex was a very straight-forward

matter of whether you are male or female. That there could

be any doubt about that question had simply never occurred to

me. I had never been exposed to the arguments or to the

problem. After listening to the evidence in this case, it is

clear to me that there is no settled definition in the medical

community as to what we mean by sex {C-4].

5

pretextual. On November 16, 1984, Ms. Ulane’s petition to

the Court of Appeals for rehearing was denied.

B. The Petitioner’s Professional Background

Karen F. Ulane has been flying airplanes since 1959 and

has been a certified pilot since 1964. She served in the

United States Army from 1964 to 1968, where she was an

honor graduate of the Army flight school, and flew many

combat missions in Vietnam. Although the aircraft she was

piloting was hit by enemy fire at least eight times, she

handled all of those emergency situations without difficulty.

Ms. Ulane was decorated with the Air Medal of Honor and

eight clusters, the Vietnam Service Medal, and the Army

Commendation Medal for exceptionally meritorious service.

She was honorably discharged in 1968 and began flying for

Eastern that same year. Ms. Ulane worked successfully for

Eastern for 12 years and rose from the rank of Second Officer

to First Officer. She was appointed by Eastern to serve as a

flight instructor, a distinction Eastern acknowledged is an

honor.

Ms. Ulane was elected and re-elected by her fellow pilots

to represent them in the pilots’ union. In the 16 years she

flew for the Army and for Eastern, she logged over 8,000

actual in-flight hours. In all this time she never had any

problem handling emergency situations, never had an

accideat or incident, never failed any of the tests which

Eastern requires regularly of its pilots, and was never dis-

ciplined in any way. She was commended for her excep-

tional performance, and fellow pilots at trial Geseribed her as

a “very sharp individual, a very sharp pilot”. The District

Court found she was not only a better-than-average pilot, she

was “better than good” (C-14).

C. Gender Dysphoria

M “

Karen Ulane is a transsexual. Transsexualism, or gender

dysphoria,” is a condition where one experiences discomfort

or discontent about being the anatomic sex to which one was

6

born.* Until she was diagnosed conclusively as a transsexual

in 1979, she lived as a male. Eastern was informed of the

purpose of Ms. Ulane’s leave of absence in October 1979,

about one month after it began. Eastern took no action at

that time. Her surgery was performed in April 1980.

Ms. Ulane’s transsexuality never interfered in any way

with her ability to fly an airplane. Even Captain Causey,

who played a major role in terminating Ms.Ulane, admitted

at trial that through the date she took leave to prepare for

her surgery, she was a “thoroughly competent and capable

pilot.”

The purpose of Ms. Ulane’s leave, which began on

September 1, 1979, was to enable her to prepare for sex

reassignment surgery. She was thoroughly evaluated by the

members of the Gender Board of the University of Chicago.

Before a candidate is approved for surgery by the Board, the

candidate must be approved by the unanimous vote of all the

Board’s members, which include a psychiatrist, a gynecolo-

gist, a urologist, a plastic surgeon, an endocrinologist, a

general surgeon, and the University’s legal counsel.

The Gender Board unanimously approved Ms. Ulane for

surgery. Ms. Ulane and her doctors testified that the results

of the surgery were excellent. When the surgical result is

good, even a gynecologist cannot tell the difference between

the post-operative transsexual woman and a person who was

born a woman. Although reproductive organs are not

created by the operation and the post-surgical transsexual

woman cannot bear children, the anatomical likeness is iden-

tical. Based on its observations of Ms. Ulane in the court-

room from September through December 1983, and based on

her testimony on the witness stand where she testified over

*Transsexuality is entirely different from homosexuality:

“Homosexuals... are not persons who have sexual identity prob-

lems. They are content with the sex into which they were born.

‘Transsexuals, on the other hand, are persons with a problem

relating to their very sexual identity as a man or woman” (C-4).

7

two separate days, the District Court found that “ijt would

take an extremely practiced eye, it seems to me, to detect any

difference between the plaintiff and the biological woman”

(C-13). The District Court also found that the psychiatric

testimony confirmed her as a woman (C-13). By June 1980,

she was prepared to return to her job as a pilot for Eastern.

D. The FAA Certification Process

After contacting Eastern about her desire to return to

work, Ms. Ulane began her recertification procedure with the

FAA. Ms. Ulane had to pass a current medical exam to have

her FAA medical certificate renewed.

The FAA’s investigation of Ms. Ulane was extremely

thorough. In addition to the standard physical exam, the

FAA required Ms. Ulane to be examined by an independent

psychologist and an independent psychiatrist. Both found

Ms. Ulane fully qualified to fly.

In addition to the two outside consultants, five additional

doctors from the FAA, all of whom are specialists in aviation

medicine, participated in the decision to certify Ms. Ulane.

On January 23, 1981, the FAA notified Ms. Ulane that she

was qualified for a First Class Medical Certificate.

The FAA has received applications from at least 21

transsexual pilots. It has found 19 of them, including Ms.

Ulane, qualified to fly and has issued them medical certifi-

cates. The remaining two applications have been denied.

E. Eastern’s Discriminatory Treatment of Ms. Ulane

While Ms. Ulane’s application was pending before the

FAA, Eastern conducted the “investigation” which sup-

posedly determined that Ms. Ulane was somehow unsafe to

fly. The District Court’s findings concerning Eastern’s inves-

tigation can be summarized with the following conclusions

by the Court:

Eastern went out of its way not to learn whatever could

be learned in plaintiff’s favor on the question of safety

(C-15}.

Eastern from the outset here took the attitude that its

mind was made up, and it did not want to be confused

with the facts. It substituted for any kind of investiga-

tion worthy of the name a prejudiced, close-minded

predetermination of the question of whether plaintiff

was Suitable to continue in the cockpi —

it of one of the

liners (C-16] Pp heir air

Eastern never gave Ms. Ulane any of the examinations it

routinely uses for insuring that its pilots are qualified to fi

The District Court found that Eastern failed to follow v4

own procedures in Ms. Ulane’s case because:

The defendant was not interested in investigating or in

following its normal procedures because it was afraid of

what the results would be. It pretty well knew that

those results would not bolster its already-made decision

to fire the plaintiff but, rather, would undermine the

legitimacy of that decision [{C-27}.*

After hearing at least 19 days of testimony, including 17 live

witnesses, 4 videotaped witnesses, and 6 additional witness

depositions, and after reviewing 76 plaintiff Exhibits and 45

defense Exhibits, the District Court found that each of East-

ern’s nine reasons for termination, whether considered

individually or collectively, was pretextual. The District

Court found that the entire discharge process had been

managed by Eastern’s legal department “in an obvious effort to

avoid liability under the sex discrimination law” (C-14),

. ‘At trial one of Eastern’s chief witnesses, Captain Causey, testi-

fied that he has no doubt that Ms. Ulane could operate the plane

properly and safely and he kn

a. ows of no one at Eastern who

9

The District Court further found that Reason Five in the

first discharge letter was a virtual admission of discrimina-

tion based on sex (C-23). Reason Five states:

To the extent the operation and the counseling you have

undergone have been successful in changing your essen-

tial nature from male to female, it has changed you

from the person Eastern has hired into a different per-

son. Eastern would not have hired you had it known

you contemplated or might in the future contemplate

such an action.

F. Karen Ulane Is A Female

In entering judgment for Ms. Ulane on Count I, the Dis-

trict Court found that Ms. Ulane is a woman and was

discriminated against based on her sex (E-2). It is uncon-

troverted that Ms. Ulane’s legal status in her home state is

female, for Illinois recognizes the new legal status after sex

reassignment surgery has been performed. See Ill. Rev. Stat.

ch. 111-14, § 73-17(d).

After hearing extensive medical as well as lay testimony

concerning Ms. Ulane’s gender, after examining volumes of

medical materials, and after having observed her over

several months in the courtroom as well as on the witness

stand, the District Court found that Ms. Ulane is a female

(E-2).°

The District Court concluded that though there is no

settled medical definition of “sex”; it “is not a eut-and-dried

matter of chromosomes” (C-4). Defining an individual’s sex

requires considerations of psychological identity, societal

perception, self-perception and other factors (C-4-5). The Dis-

trict Court found that Karen Ulane appears to be a biological

woman, conducts herself as a woman (C-13), and her post-

operative legal status is that of female (C-7). “The evidence

5 A substantial body of medical literature which was introduced

into evidence supports this same result.

10

clearly predominates in favor of the conclusion that plaintiff

is a female, not a male” (E-1-2).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This Court should grant the petition for a writ of certi-

orari for two reasons. First, the Court of Appeals seriously

abused its authority in reversing findings of fact of the

District Court in violation of the decisions of this Court and

of Rule 52(a) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

Without giving any reasons and without applying the

“clearly erroneous” test, the Court of Appeals reversed the

District Court’s findings on Count I that the Petitioner was a

female and that she was discriminated against on that basis

in violation of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (the

“Act”), The Court of Appeals’ unexplained and improper

usurpation of the fact-finding role of the District Court is a

bold departure from the accepted and usual course of federal

judicial proceedings, and is in direct conflict with decisions of

this Court.

Second, the Court of Appeals’ conclusion that transsexuals

are not protected under Title VII from discrimination based

on their sexual identity or change of sex is an unduly narrow

and unsupportable interpretation of the statute’s broad

prohibition against discrimination based on sex. Whether

transsexuals as a group should be prchibited from invoking

the protection of Title VII is an important question of

federal law which has not been, but should be, settled by this

Court.

I. THE COURT OF APPEALS SERIOUSLY ABUSED

ITS AUTHORITY BY REVERSING FINDINGS OF

FACT OF THE DISTRICT COURT WITHOUT

APPLYING THE STANDARD OF REVIEW

REQUIRED BY FED. R. CIV. P. 52(a) AND DECI-

SIONS OF THIS COURT

The District Court entered judgment in favor of Ms. Ulane

on Count I because it found that she was a woman and that

— aN ae ane eee

ll

she was discriminated against on that basis. While the

Court of Appeals recognized that these findings might entitle

Ms. Ulane to protection under Title VII, it failed to reach

that question because it refused to accept the findings of the

District Court. In fact, the Court of Appeals preemptively

reversed the District Court’s findings of fact (1) without so

much as a nod to the governing standard of review and

(2) without the careful review of the record necessary to

reject a finding as clearly erroneous. The Court of Appeals’

reversal of the findings of fact on Count I is in direct conflict

with this Court’s decision in Pullman-Standard, Div. of

Pullman, Inc. v. Swint, 456 U.S. 273 (1982), and seriously

undermines the fact-finding role of the District Court.

The Court of Appeals’ flagrant procedural error works an

exceptional injustice here because it thwarted one individ-

ual’s struggle for fair treatment against a giant corporation

whose every excuse for firing her was a pretext and a sham.

The District Court found that Eastern, intentionally and in

bad faith, worked a terrible injustice on Karen Ulane. East-

ern fired her after she altered her physical characteristics to

be consistent with her true sexual identity, that of being a

woman. Once a woman, they subjected her to a different

standard of treatment, far harsher than any male pilot

received at Eastern.

Not every injustice has a remedy under Title VII. The

federal laws are such that persons can legally be dis-

criminated against in employment for a wide variety of

reasons ranging from the color of one’s hair to one’s sexual

preference. These reasons, outside of Title VII's coverage,

may work injustices on the individuals involved, but Con-

gress—and the courts—have marked out only specific kinds

of discrimination in employment which are undeniably

covered by Title VII. It is beyond dispute, however, that

discrimination against a person because she is a woman falls

squarely within this bright-line category.

After three months of trial and a painstaking assessment

of all the evidence, the District Court made a finding that

12

Eastern discriminated against Karen Ulane because she is a

woman. That finding is crystal clear, unambiguous, and

plainly supported by the record. Yet the Court of Appeals

rejected that finding in a manner squarely in conflict with

the governing rule of law. This Court has commanded that

in Title VII cases, a finding of discrimination against a

person in a protected category—here discrimination against

a person because she is a woman—can only be rejected if the

finding, after careful examination of the record, is determined to be

clearly erroneous. See Pullman-Standard, Div. of Pullman, Inc. v.

Swint, 456 U.S. 273 (1982).

The injustice done to Karen Ulane by Eastern by ignoring

the law has been compounded by the Court of Appeals’

failure to engage in the required process of carefully analyz-

ing the findings of the District Court and their foundation in

the record—a record that is replete with support for the

District Court’s factual findings that she was discriminated

against because she is a woman.

Not every injustice has a remedy under Title VII. But the

injustice done to Karen Ulane because she is a woman must

be remedied by this Court. Not to do so, based on the record

in this case, would flaunt the procedural protections required

by this Court in appellate review, and would be contrary to

the allocation of judicial power among the federal courts.

A. The Court Of Appeals Ignored The Standard Of

Review Required By This Court In Pullman-

Seadead

The Court of Appeals makes precisely the same mistake

committed by the Fifth Circuit in Pullman-Standard, Div. of

Puliman, Inc. v. Swint, which was reversed by this Court in

1982. 456 U.S. 273. In Pullman-Standard the Fifth Circuit

reversed findings of the district court and substituted its own

findings because it concluded that the lower court was wrong

in finding no discrimination. The Fifth Circuit made only

passing reference to Rule 52(a), Fed. R. Civ. P. This Court

granted certiorari to settle the issue whether courts of

13

appeals are bound by the clearly erroneous standard under

Rule 52(a) in reviewing lower court determinations of “ulti-

mate” facts such as motive or intent in Title VII cases. 456

U.S. at 276. See also 5A J. Moore & J. Lucas, Moore’s Federal

Prati 4 52.05(3] (1982) (noting conflict prior to Pullman-

landard as to whether “ultimate” facts were reviewable by

independent examination of the court of appeals).

Puliman-Standard ended the confusion. This Court ruled

that the Fifth Circuit erred in reversing findings of “ulti-

mate fact” without deference to those findings under the

“clearly erroneous” test of Rule 52(a):

Rule 52(a) broadly requires that findings of fact not be

set aside unless clearly erroneous. /t does not make excep-

tions or purport to exclude certain categories of factual find-

ings from the obligation of a court of appeals to accept a

district court’s findings unless clearly erroneous. It does not

divide facts into categories; in particular, it does not

divide findings of fact into those that deal with “ulti-

mate” and those that deal with “subsidiary” facts.

456 U.S. at 287 (emphasis added); see also Inwood Laboratories,

Inc. v. Ives Laboratories, Inc., 456 U.S. 844, 857 (1982)

(reversing the Second Circuit because it had improperly

substituted its interpretation of the evidence for that of the

trial court).

Count I does not present a “mixed question of law and

fact” but a simple question of “ultimate” fact: Was Karen

Ulane discriminated against by Eastern because she is

female? The Court of Appeals’ one-page discussion of Count

I, disearding the District Court’s findings without even men-

tioning Rule 52(a) or examining the record, suggests that the

Court of Appeals believes that the District Court did not

mean what it said. The District Court expressly found the

facts that the Court of Appeals seems to think it omitted:

“(Sjhe is a female,” and “she was discharged by Eastern

because of her sex” (E-1-2).

14

After three months of trial, in an oral opinion that was

later supplemented by further written findings, the District

Court stated its findings that, based on a wealth of evidence,

sex was more than just chromosomes (C-7). Indeed, under

Illinois law, Karen Ulane is legally recognized as a female.

See Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 111-14, § 73-17(d). Under principles of

federalism, that fact alone should receive considerable defer-

ence. But the District Court did not end its inquiry with

taking judicial notice of the statute and the fact that Karen

Ulane is legally recognized by the State of Illinois as a

female (C-7). It also found by the preponderance of the

evidence that Karen Ulane is a female based on (1) her

testimony and demeanor; (2) the credibility of many expert

witnesses; (3) Eastern’s own perception of Ms. Ulane as a

woman as reflected in the testimony of Eastern pilots who

knew and worked closely with her; and (4) Eastern’s own

admission in Reason Five of the first discharge letter that

her operation had “changed her essential nature from male

to female.”

Having found from the evidence that Karen Ulane was a

female, the District Court further found that she was dis-

criminated against by Eastern as a female. The Court stated

that all of the findings made with regard to Count II apply

to the conclusion that the Ms. Ulane was discriminated

against as a female:

It was and is my intention that all of my findings and

conclusions concerning sexual discrimination against

the plaintiff by Eastern Airlines, Inc. apply with equal

force whether plaintiff be regarded as a transsexual or a

female [E-2).

The Court of Appeals’ statement that “It is clear from the

evidence that if Eastern discriminated against Ulane, it was

not because she is female...” (A-12) is a flagrant usurpation

of the District Court’s function to find the facts and is in

direct conflict with the District Court’s findings.

15

Regardless whether this Court agrees with the Court of

Appeals that discrimination against transsexuals is not

eovered by Title VII, we are left with the District Court’s

unequivocal conclusion that Karen Ulane was treated differ-

ently as a woman. The Court of Appeals’ decision rides

roughshod over these findings without even suggesting that

they are clearly erroneous or unsupported by the record. The

Court of Appeals merely “reverses” the District Court’s find-

ings and substitutes its own finding that Karen Ulane was

not discriminated against as a female.*

The trial covered both Count I—discrimination against

Ms. Ulane as a woman, and Count IIl—discrimination

against Ms. Ulane as a transsexual. Contrary to the Court of

Appeals’ statement that all of the findings centered around

discrimination against transsexuals, there was ample

evidence at trial—and findings by the District Court—on

Count I as wel! as Count II. For example, the District Court

found:

I read [Reason Five] as a virtual admission of dis-

crimination, and in my view that discrimination is based

on sex within the meaning of the statute. Item five is

also in my view inconsistent with Eastern’s position

that plaintiff has undergone no sex change [C-23).

The Court also expressly found that Eastern did not fire male

pilots who concealed psychological conditions from the FAA,

but fired Karen Ulane for this reason (C-29-30).

*The Court of Appeals misapprehends the facts when it states

that the District Court “originally found only that Eastern had

discriminated against Ulane under Count Ii as a transsexual”

(A-11). The Court of Appeals overlooks the District Court’s

alternative findings, which were rendered immediately after trial:

“I do not mean to imply that if Count I were the only count I

would not enter judgment for plaintiff on that count... . [On

remand) / would enter judgment for plaintiff on Cownt I on the basis of

the record that has already been made here.” (C-34) (December 28, 1983)

(emphasis added).

16

Summarizing numerous findings of disparate treatment

between male and female pilots, the District Court said:

I further find that the plaintiff was in almost every

instance subjected to discriminatory and disparate treat-

ment for conduct which was in almost every instance, if

not every instance, far less serious than that of male

alcoholics whose conduct was excused by Eastern

If the Court of Appeals had examined the record and

applied the clearly erroneous standard it would have con-

eluded that the District Court’s findings of fact on Count I

were firmly rooted in the evidence.

The Court of Appeals was simply not correct when it

stated that “even if we accept the district judge’s holding

that Ulane is female, he made no factual findings necessary

to support his conclusion that Eastern discriminated against

her on that basis” (A-11). The Court of Appeals must have

overlooked or ignored the District Court’s initial and supple-

mental findings. The Court of Appeals’ disregard of these

findings, and its neglect of the clear support for these find-

ings in the record, is a violation of Pullman-Standard and

Rule 52.

The District Court found that Ms. Ulane made a prima

facie case, and that Eastern failed to articulate any legiti-

mate reason for discharge. Those findings cannot be set aside

unless they are shown to be clearly erroneous. This standard

of review is an exceptionally important safeguard of the

rights of Title VII litigants because it entrusts the questions

of fact to the tribunal best able to assess those issues: the only

tribunal that weighs credibility of witnesses. When the

Court of Appeals freely disregards the fact-finding role of

the District Court, the Supreme Court must exercise its

authority to restore the necessary allocation of power

between the trial and appellate courts.

A a ARMA

Remanded Count I To The District Court

The Court of Appeals reversed on Count I, citing insuf-

ficient findings for the conclusion that Ms. Ulane was dis-

eriminated against on the basis of sex.’ Based on its own

contrary findings, the Court of Appeals ordered that judg-

ment be entered in favor of the defendant. Under Pullman-

Standard this procedure was improper.

This Court has ruled:

When an appellate court discerns that a district court

has failed to make a finding because of an errone. us

view of the law, the wsual rule is thal there should be a

remand for further proceedings to permit the trial court to

make the missing findings:

{Flact-finding is the basic responsibility of district

courts, rather than appellate courts, and... the

court of appeals should not have resolved in the

first instance this factual dispute which had not

been considered by the district court.’ (citation

omitted |

Likewise, where findings are infirm because of an

eironeous view of the law, a remand is the proper

course unless the record permits only one resolution

of the factual issue.

456 U.S. at 291-92 (emphasis added). See also 5A J. Moore &

J. Lucas, Moore's Federal Practice, § 52.06[2) (1982) (noting that

the proper procedure in the event of insufficient findings is to

remand for appropriate findings).

The Court of Appeals did not hold that under no set of

facts could Ms. Ulane establish a Title VII violation. Indeed,

the Court of Appeals acknowledged that Karen Ulane is not

"Although the Court of Appeals characterized the issue whether

Ms. Ulane was discriminated against based on her sex as a “conclu-

sion,” it is clear that this is a factwal issue under Pullman-Standard,

as discussed above.

18

deprived of Title VII protection simply because she is a

transsexual as well as a woman. See A-11-12, affirming the

dicta in Holloway v. Arthur Andersen, 566 F.2d 659, 664 (9th

Cir. 1977) (“transsexuals claiming discrimination because of

their sex, male or female, would clearly state a cause of

action under Title VII”). However, after concluding that

discrimination against Ms. Ulane as a female would be

actionable, the Caurt of Appeals then reached the anomalous

result, even though the District Court had specifically found

she was discriminated against as a female, of saying she was

not. The Court of Appeals apparently believes that the

District Court had made insufiicient findings to support the

ultimate finding that Ms. Ulane had suffered discrimination

because she is female. (“Even if we accept the district

judge’s holding that Ulane is female, he made no factual

findings necessary to support his conclusion that Eastern

discriminated against her on that basis.” (A-11)). As we

have shown, this is wrong. But even if the findings were

insufficient, unclear or totally absent, the appropriate course

is remand, not reversal. See, eg., In re Nets, 723 F.2d 584, 588

(7th Cir. 1983) (where district court makes inadequate find-

ings, remand for additional proceedings); Morales v. Haines,

486 F.2d 880, 882 (7th Cir. 1973) (where district court fails to

find on a material issue, vacate and remand for appropriate

findings); see also DeAnda v. St. Joseph’s Hospital, 671 F.2d 850,

855 (5th Cir. 1982) (“if factual findings are absent, the case

must be remanded for such findings’’).

Petitioner submits that, based on the extensive factual

record and the detailed findings of fact made by the District

Court (which were incorporated by reference rather than

being recited verbatim with regard to Count I), and taking

all the inferences and viewing all the evidence most

favorable to the party prevailing at trial, as the court must

do, Aunt Mid, Inc. v. Fjell-Oranje Lines, 458 F.2d 712, 718 (7th

Cir.), cert. denied, 409 U.S. 877 (1972), the District Court’s

ruling on Count I should have been affirmed. However, if

the Court of Appeals had any doubt or confusion on the

subject of what factual findings supported the finding of

19

discrimination against Ms. Ulane as a woman, or if the Court

of Appeals concluded that those findings were somehow

confusing or incomplete, remand was the only appropriate

course of action.

II. IN CONCLUDING THAT TRANSSEXUALS ARE

NOT PROTECTED BY TITLE VII, THE COURT OF

APPEALS HAS CREATED AN EXCEPTION TO

TITLE VII’S PROHIBITION AGAINST SEX DIS-

CRIMINATION WHICH CONFLICTS WITH THE

BROAD LANGUAGE AND PURPOSE OF THE ACT

In excluding transsexuals from the protection of TitleVII,

the Court of Appeals has decided that a group of individuals

may be discriminated against based on their sex without

redress to the nation’s employment discrimination laws.

Whether transsexuals shou!d continue to be outside the scope

of Title VII’s protection is an important federal question

which has not been, but should be, settled by this Court.

The Court of Appeals’ conclusion that transsexuals should

not be protected because Congress has not shown any specific

intent to do so is inconsistent with the Act’s general lan-

guage and broad purpose. Granting protection for Ms. Ulane

and other transsexuals discriminated against based on their

sex, provides relief to the very individuals Congress sought

to protect: victims of discrimination that is based on one of

the impermissibie factors—sex—and which is completely

unrelated to the individual’s capabilities and past job

performance.

There is little doubt that the original goal of Congress in

enacting Title VII was to protect blacks. Congress sought “to

achieve equality of employment opportunities and remove

barriers that have operated in the past to favor an identifi-

able group of white employees over other employees.” Griggs

v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424, 429-430 (1971); see also

Developments in the Law, Employment Discrimination and

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 84 Harv. L. Rev. 1109,

20

1166 (1971). The legislative history to procedural amend-

ments to the Act in 1972 also reveals that if Congress had

any intention when it approved the addition of “sex” to the

Act in 1964, it was to protect women. See H.R. Rep. No. 238,

92nd Cong., Ist Sess. 4-5 (1972) reprinted in 1972 U.S. Code

Cong. & Ad. News 2137, 2140-2141.

The language of Section 703(a) of Title VII, however, does

not limit its protection to members of minority groups and

women, and courts have refused to so limit it. See McDonald

v. Sante Fe Trail Transportation Co., 427 U.S. 273, 280 (1976)

(Title VII prohibits discrimination against whites as well as

blacks); Diaz v. Pan American World Airways, Inc., 442 F.2d

385 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 950 (1971) (Title VII

protects men as well as women). Rather than limit the Act

to those groups that were undoubtedly the motivating force

behind Title VII in 1964, courts have been guided in their

interpretation by the larger purpose and principle that

underlies it:

(T}he removal of artificial, arbitrary, and unnecessary

barriers to employment when the barriers operate

invidiously to discriminate on the basis of racial or

other impermissible classifications.

Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424, 431 (1971). Lower

courts have staced the guiding principle of Title VII in a

similar fashion:

(T)he purpose of the Act was to provide a foundation in

the law for the principle of nondiscrimination. Constru-

ing the statute as embodying such a principle is based

on the assumption that Congress sought a formula that

would not only achieve the optimum use of our labor

resources but, and more importantly, would enable indi-

viduals to develop as individuals.

Diaz v. Pan American World Airways, Inc., 442 F.2d at 386-87

(rule allowing only female flight attendants violates Title

VII). Other courts have recognized that Title VII “requires

an interpretation animated by the broad humanitarian and

DRBSOR es ew ee

21

remedial purposes underlying the federal proscription of

employment discrimination.” Barnes v. Costle, 561 F.2d 983,

994 (D.C. Cir. 1977) (sexual harrassment violates Title VII).

The House Report to the 1972 amendments states the goal as

follows:

The time has come to bring an end to job discrimination

once and for all, and to insure every citizen the opportu-

nity for the decent self-respect that accompanies a job

commensurate with one’s abilities.

H.R. Rep. No. 238, 92nd Cong., Ist Sess. 4-5 (1972) reprinted

in 1972 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 2137, 2140-2141. These

pronouncements establish that the language and remedial

purpose of Title VII are broad enough to protect any individ-

ual who is the victim of discrimination based on any of the

impermissible factors—race, color, sex, religion or national

origin.

The Court of Appeals placed undue reliance on the lack of

any legislative history indicating that Congress specifically

intended to include transsexuals within the protection of

Title VII. Courts have refused to follow such a rigid rule

when construing the provisions of Title VII. For example,

there is no legislative history which indicates that in 1964

Congress specifically intended to prohibit discrimination

against men, single women who become pregnant, women

who marry, women with pre-school age children, or the

subclass of black females. Yet, in each of these instances the

courts have drawn on the statute’s general language,

remedial purpose, and principle of non-discrimination to

extend Title VII to the discriminatory policy. See Phillips v.

Martin-Marietta Corp., 400 U.S. 542 (1971); Jacobs v. Martin

Sweets Co., 550 F.2d 364, 371 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 431 U.S.

917 (1977); Sprogis v. United Airlines, Inc., 444 F.2d 1194 (7th

Cir.), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 991 (1971); Diaz v. Pan American

World Airways, Inc., 442 F.2d 385 (5th Cir. 1971); Jeffries v.

Harris County Community Action Assoc., 615 F.2d 1025 (5th

Cir. 1980).

22

The sexual harrassment cases also provide a prime exam-

ple of how courts have refused to give sex the narrow and

traditional interpretation adopted by the Court of Appeals.*®

These decisions firmly establish

that sex discrimination within the meaning of Title VII

is not limited to disparate treatment founded solely or

categorically on gender. Rather, discrimination is sex

discrimination whenever sex is for no legitimate reason

a substantial factor in the discrimination.

Bundy v. Jackson, 641 F.2d 934, 942. The analysis in Barnes v.

Costle, 561 F.2d 983, 994 (D.C. Cir. 1977), aptly applies to

transsexuals:

The statute in explicit terms proscribes discrimination

“because of... sex,” with only narrowly defined excep-

tions completely foreign to the situation emerging here.

The legislative history similarly discloses a congressional

purpose to outlaw any and all sex-based discrimination,

equally with any other form of discrimination which

Title VII condemns. [emphasis added]

In reaching its conclusion, the D.C. Circuit was guided by

the overall purpose of the Act and refused “to speculate as to

whether Congress envisioned the particular type of activity”

as prohibited by Title VII. Ja.

The sexual harrassment and “sex plus” cases reveal why a

broad and liberal approach to interpreting Title VII is

required:

(Title VII] evinces a congressional! intention to define

discrimination in the broadest possible terms. Congress

chose neither to enumerate specific discriminatory prac-

tices, nor to elucidate in extenso the parameter of such

nefarious activities. Rather, it pursued the path of

* See, e.g., Bundy v. Jackson, 641 F.2d 934 (D.C. Cir. 1981); Tomkins

v. Public Service Electric & Gas Co., 568 F.2d 1044 (3rd Cir. 1977);

Wright v. Methodist Youth Services, Inc., 511 F. Supp. 307 (N.D. Il.

1981).

Ne eee | manna et SO ne Re ON ers Ei SL Lema XS

23

wisdom by being unconstrictive, knowing that constant

change is the order of our day and that the seemingly

reasonable practices of the present can easily become the

injustices of the morrow.

Rogers v. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, 454 F.2d

234, 238 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 406 U.S. 957 (1972).

Faced with congressional silence on the meaning of “sex”

for purposes of Title VII, the District Court correctly gave

the term a liberal and scientific interpretation which is true

to the broad purpose of Title VII (C-6-8). Based on the

extensive medical record before it, its observations of

Ms. Ulane in the courtroom and on the witness stand, and

taking guidance from the social policy of the State of IIli-

nois, the District Court found:

that sex is not a cut-and-dried matter of chromosomes, and

while there may be some argument about the matter in the

medical community, the evidence in this record satisfies

me that the term, “sex,” as used in any specific sense and

as used in the statute can be and should be reasonably

interpreted to include among its denotations the question

of sexual identity and that, therefore, transsexuals are

protected by Title VII. [C-7-8)

The District Court concluded that “sex” should not be

limited to “chromosomal sex’’, absent some indication from

Congress that it did not intend to prohibit all forms of sex

discrimination. The language of Title VII is broad enough to

protect an individual who has been discriminated against

because she changed her sex from male to female.

The Court of Appeals’ restrictive interpretation is based,

in part, on its conclusion that Congress’ refusal to extend

Title VII protection to homosexuals “indicates that the

phrase in the Civil Rights Act prohibiting discrimination on

the basis of sex should be given a narrow, traditional inter-

pretation, which would also exclude transsexuals” (A-9). The

Court of Appeals has erroneously lumped together dis-

crimination against transsexuals with discrimination

24

against homosexuals. Transsexuals are people whose

anatomic sex at birth is different from their psychological

sex. The purpose of surgery is to align the two. Karen Ulane

was discriminated against because she did just this, she

changed her gender from male to female. Eastern valued

this employee as a man. It rejected her as a woman. Noth-

ing changed but her gender. Discrimination against

homosexuals, on the other hand, is based on an individual’s

sexual practices, something wholly unrelated to gender.

Title VII’s general prohibition against sex-based dis-

crimination protects an individual fired for reasons having

nothing to do with merit and everything to do with gender.

A condition of Ms. Ulane’s continued employment as a pilot

for Eastern was that she remain a man. This is sex

discrimination.

25

CONCLUSION

The Court should grant the petition for certiorari in order

to protect the integrity of the fact-finding role of the District

Court and to ensure that all citizens enjoy the protection of

Title VII's prohibition against sex discrimination.

Respectfully submitted,

DEAN A. DickKIE

30 South Wacker Drive

Suite 2900

Chicago, Illinois 60606

(312) 207-1000

Attorney for Petitioner

Of Counsel:

Fay CLAYTON

Brian D. Rocne

SACHNOFF WEAVER & RUBENSTEIN, LTD.

30 South Wacker Drive

Suite 2900

Chicago, Illinois 60606

February 14, 1985

APPENDIX A

Opinion by Judge Wood

JUDGMENT— ORAL ARGUMENT

In the

United States Court of Appeals

For the Seventh Circuit

Chicago, Illinois 60604

August 29, 1984.

Before

Hon. WALTER J. CUMMINGS, Chief Judge

Hon. HARLINGTON Woop, JR., Circuit Judge

Hon. EDWARD DUMBAULD, Senior District Judge*

KAREN FRANCES Augeek fem the Vaind

Plaintiff-A ppellee, States District Court for

No. 84-1431 The Northern District

v of Illinois, Eastern

- -_ r sd Division

EASTERN AIRLINES, INC., A Delaware

This cause was heard on the record from the United States

District Court for the Northern District of Illinois, Eastern

Division, and was argued by counsel.

On consideration whereof, IT IS ORDERED AND

ADJUDGED by this Court that the judgment of the said

District Court in this cause appealed from be, and the same

is hereby, REVERSED, with costs, and the case is

REMANDED, in accordance with the opinion of this Court

filed this date.

*The Honorable Edward Dumbauld, Senior District Judge of

the United States District Court for the Western District of Penn-

sylvania, is sitting by designation.

APPENDIX A

dn the

United States Court of Appeals

No. 84-1431

KAREN FRANCES ULANE,

Plaintiff-Appelilee,

v.

EASTERN AiR LINES, INC., a Delaware corporation,

Defendant-Appeliant.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division.

No. 81 C 441l—John F. Grady, Judge.

ARGUED JUNE 5, 1984—DECIDED AUGUST 29, 1984

Before CUMMINGS, Chie Judge, Woon, Circuit Judge,

and DUMBAULD, Senior Judge.*

Woon, Circuit Judge. Plaintiff, as Kenneth Ulane, was

hired in 1968 as a pilot for defendant, Eastern Air Lines,

ed 4 timely charge of sex discrimination withthe Equa

“ sex discrimination with the Equai

ege that Ulane's discharge violated Title VII

United States District Court for the Western District of Penn.

sylvania, is sitting by designation.

2 No. 84-1431

of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. §§ 2000e—2000e-17

(1982): Count I alleges that Ulane was discriminated

against as a female; Count II alleges that Ulane was dis-

criminated against as a transsexual. The judge ruled in

favor of Ulane on both counts after a bench trial. The

court awarded her? reinstatement as a flying officer with

full seniority and back pay, and attorneys’ fees. This cer-

tified appeal followed pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil

Procedure 54(b).

FACTUAL BACKGROUND

Counsel for Ulane opens their brief by explaining: “This

is a Title VII case brought by a pilot who was fired by

Eastern Airlines for no reason other than the fact that

she ceased being a male and became a female.” That ex-

planation may give some cause to pause, but this briefly

is the story.

Ulane became a licensed pilot in 1964, serving in the

United States Army from that ‘time until 1968 with a

record of combat missions in Vietnam for which Ulane

received the Air Medal with eight clusters. Upon dis-

charge in 1968, Ulane began flying for Eastern. With

Eastern, Ulane progressed from Second to First Officer,

and also served as a flight instructor, logging over 8,000

flight hours.

Ulane was diagnosed a transsexual® in 1979. She ex-

plains that although embodied as a male, from early

1 Counts III through IX, which allege violations of 42 U.S.C.

§§ 19853), 1986, 18 U.S.C. § 371 (conspiracy), and 45 U.S.C. § 184

(Railway Labor Act). defamation, and intentional or reckless caus-

ing of emotional and mental distress, have not yet been tried.

2 Since Ulane considers herself to be female, and appears in

public as female, we will use feminine pronouns in referring to her.

3 Transsexualism is a condition that exists when a physiological-

ly normal person (i.e., not a hermaphrodite—a Per whose sex

is not clearly defined due to a congenital condition) experiences

(Footnote continued on following page)

ee i ae oe

No. 84-1431 3

childhood she felt like a female. Ulane first sought psy-

chiatric and medical assistance in 1968 while in the

military. Later, Ulane began taking female hormones as

part of her treatment, and eventually developed breasts

from the hormones. In 1980, she underwent “sex reassign-

ment surgery.’’* After the surgery, Illinois issued a revised

3 continued

discomfort or discontent about nature’s choice of his or her par-

ticular sex and prefers to be the other sex. This discomfort is

generally accompanied by a desire to utilize hormonal, surgical,

and civil procedures to allow the individual to live in his or her

referred sex role. The ~~ <7 is appropriate only if the discom-

ort has been continuous for at least two years, and is not due

to another mental disorder, such as schizophrenia. See Testimony

of Dr. Richard Green, expert witness for plaintiff, trial transcript

for Sept. 26, 1983, 10:00 a.m., at 35-37; see ly American

rhe eee Association, Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Men-

Disorders § 302.5x (3d ed. 1980); Edgerton, Langman, Schmidt

& Sheppe, P ical Considerations of Gender Reassignment

Surgery, 9 Clinics in Plastic Surgery 355, 357 (1982); Comment,

The Law and Transsexualism: A Faltering Response to a Con-

ceptual Dilemma, 7 Conn. L. Rev. 288, 288 n.1 (1975); Comment,

Transsexualism, Sex Reassignment Surgery, and the Law, 56 Cor-

nell L. Rev. 963, 963 n.1 (1971).

To be distinguished are homosexuals, who are sexually attracted

°_——- of the same sex, and transvestites, who are generally

e heterosexuals who cross-dress, i.e., dress as females, for sex-

ual arousal rather than social comfort; both homosexuals and

transvestites are content with the sex into which they were born.

See Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders

§ 302.30; Wise & Meyer, Transvestism: Previous Findings and

New Areas for Inquiry, 6 J. of Sex & Marital on 116-20

(1980); Comment, 7 Conn. L. Rev., supra, at 292; Comment, 56

Cornell L. Rev., supra, at 963 n.3.

* Sex reassignment surgery for male-to-female transsexuals “‘in-

volves the removal of the external male sexual organs and the

construction of an artificial vagina by plastic surgery. It is sup-

plemented by hormone treatments that facilitate the c in

secon sex characteristics,” such as breast development. Com-

ment, Cornell L. Rev., supra note 3, at 970 n.37 (citations

omitted); see also Jones, Operative Treatment of the Male

Transsexual, in Transsexualism and Sex Reassignment 313, 314-16

(Footnote continued on following page)

4 No. 84-1431

birth certificate indicating Ulane was female, and the

FAA certified her for flight status as a female. Ulane’s

own physician explained, however, that the operation

would not create a biological female in the sense that

Ulane would “have a uterus and ovaries and be able to

bear babies.” Ulane’s chromosomes,5 all concede, are unaf-

fected by the hormones and surgery. Ulane, however,

claims that the lack of change in her chromosomes is

irrelevant. Eastern was not aware of Ulane’s transsex-

uality, her hormone treatments, or her psychiatric counsel-

ing until she attempted to return to work after her

reassignment surgery. Eastern knew Ulane only as one

of its male pilots.

4 continued

(R. Green & J. Money eds. 1969); Stoller, Near Miss: “Sex

Change” Treatment and Its Evaluation, in Eating, Sleeping, and

Sexuality 258, 259 (M. Zales ed. 1982); Shaw, Sex-change Capital:

~—- : a a Top Draw, Chicago Tribune, Aug. 14, 1984, § 5,

at 1, 3, col. 3.

5 The normal individual has 46 chromosomes, two of which

designate sex. An XX configuration denotes female; XY denotes

male. These chromosome patterns cannot be surgically altered.

Wise, Transsexualism: A Clinical Approach to Gender Dysphoria,

1983 Medic. Trial Tech. Q. 167, 170.

6 Biologically, sex is defined by chromosomes, internal and ex-

ternal genitalia, hormones, and gonads. Wise, supra note 5, at 169.

Chromosomal sex cannot be changed, and a uterus and ovaries

cannot be constructed. This leads some in the medical profession

to conclude that hormone treatments and sex reassignment surgery

can alter the evident 7% ** an individual, but cannot chan

the individual’s innate sex. , ¢.g., Wise, supra note 5, at 170;

Stoller, supra note 4, at 273; Comment, Cornell L. Rev., supra

note 3, at 970 n.37. Others disagree, arguing that one must look

beyond chromosomes when determining an individual’s sex and

consider factors such as psychological sex or assumed sex role.

Comment, 7 Conn. L. Rev., supra note 3, at 290-91 & n.6, 292

oe sex may be most important factor); Comment, Cor-

nell L. Rev., supra note 3, at 965. These individuals conclude that

st-operative male-to-female transsexuals do in fact qualify as

emales and are not merely “facsimiles.” E.g., Testirnony of Dr.

Richard Green, expert witness for plaintiff, trial transcript for

Sept. 27, 1983, 10:35 a.m., at 226 & 252.

e ee i ere ae

No. 84-1431 5

LEGAL ISSUES

A. Title VII and Ulane as a Transsexual.

The district judge first found under Count II that

Eastern discharged Ulane because she was a transsex-

ual, and that Title VII prohibits discrimination on this

basis.7 While we do not condone discrimination in any

form,® we are constrained to hold that Title VII does not

protect transsexuals, and that the district court’s order

on this count therefore must be reversed for lack of juris-

diction.

Section 2000e-2(aX1) provides in part that:

(a) It shall be an unlawful employment practice for

an employer—

(1) to... discharge any individual ... because

of such individual’s ... sex ....

Other courts have held that the term “sex” as used in

the statute is not synonymous with “sexual preference.”

See, e.g., Sommers v. Budget Marketing, Inc., 667 F.2d

748, 750 (8th Cir. 1982) (per curiam); De Santis v. Pacific

Telephone & Telegraph Co., 608 F.2d 327, 329-30 (9th Cir.

1979); Smith v. Liberty Mutual Insurance Co., 569 F.2d

325, 326-27 (5th Cir. 1978); Holloway v. Arthur Andersen

& Co., 566 F.2d 659, 662 (9th Cir. 1977); Voyles v. Ralph

K. Davies Medical Center, 403 F. Supp. 456, 457 (N.D.

Cal. 1975), aff'd mem., 570 F.2d 354 (9th Cir. 1978). The

7 Not all of the experts who testified agreed that Ulane is a

transsexual. (Although doctors attempt to perform sex reassign-

ent surgery only on transsexuals—as opposed, for example, on

uransvestites or schizophrenics, that an individual has undergone

such surgery is not determinative of whether he or she is a true

transsexual. See supra note 3 and sources cited therein.) If Ulane

is not a transse , then she is a transvestite. Even in the trial

judge’s view, transvestites are not covered by Title VII.

8 Eastern presented a substantial amount of testimony and

evidence at trial to prove that Ulane’s discharge was not due to

discrimination against her either as a transsexual or as a female,

but we need not reach that issue.

6 No. 84-1431

district court recognized this, and ed that homosex-

uals and transvestites do not enjoy Title VII protection,

but distinguished transsexuals as persons who, unlike

homosexuals and transvestites, have sexuai identity prob-

lems; the judge agreed that the term “sex” does not com-

prehend “sexual preference,” but held that it does com-

or me “sexual identity.” The district judge based this

olding on his finding that “sex is not a cut-and-dried

matter of chromosomes,” but is in part a psychological

question—a question of self-perception; and in part a social

matter—a question of how society perceives the individual.®

The district judge further supported his broad view of Title

VII’s coverage by recognizing Title VII as a remedial

statute to be liberally construed. He concluded that it is

reasonable to hold that the statutory word “sex’’ literal-

ly and scientifically applies to transsexuals even if it does

not apply to homosexuals or transvestites.1° We must dis-

agree.

Even though Title VII is a remedial statute, and even

though some may define “‘sex”’ in such a way as to mean

an individual’s “sexual identity,” our responsibility is to

interpret this congressional legislation and determine what

Congress intended when it decided te outlaw discrimina-

tion based on sex. See United States Department of Labor

v. Forsyth Energy, Inc., 666 F.2d 1104, 1107 (7th Cir.

1981). The district judge did recognize that Congress

manifested an intention to exclude homosexuals from Title

VII coverage. Nonetheless, the judge defended his con-

® The judge did recognize that there may be some argument in

the alia community about the definition of sex that he adopted.

See, e.g., supra notes 5 & 6.

10 Judge Grady explained:

_ I have no problem with the idea that the statute was not

intended and cannot reasonably be argued to have been in-

tended to cover the matter of sexual preference, the prefer-

ence of a sexual partner, or the matter of sexual gratification

from wearing the clothes of the opposite sex. It seems to me

an altogether different question as to whether the matter of

sexual identity is comprehended by the word, “sex.”

Be ne

No. 84-1431 7

clusion that Ulane’s broad interpretation of the term

“sex” was reasonable and could therefore be applied to

the statute by noting that transsexuals are different than

homosexuals, and that Congress never considered whether

it should include or exclude transsexuals. While we

recognize distinctions among homosexuals, transvestites,

and transsexuals, we believe that the same reasons for

holding that the first two groups do not enjoy Title VII

coverage apply with equal force to deny proteciion for

transsexuals.

It is a maxim of statutory construction that, unless

otherwise defined, words should be given their ordinary,

common meaning. Perrin v. United States, 444 U.S. 37,

42 (1979). The phrase in Title VII prohibiting discrimina-

tion based on sex, in its plain meaning, implies that it

is unlawful to discriminate against women because they

are women and against men because they are men. The

words of Title VII do not outlaw discrimination against

a person who has a sexual identity disorder, 1.e., a per-

son born with a male body who believes himself to be

female, or a person born with a female body who believes

herself to be male; a prohibition against discrimination

based on an individual’s sex is not synonymous with a

prohibition against discrimination based on an individual’s

sexual identity disorder or discontent with the sex into

which they were born. The dearth of legislative history

on section 2000e-2(aX1) strongly reinforces the view that

that section means nothing more than its plain language

implies.

When Congress enacted the Civil Rights Act of 1964

it was primarily concerned with race discrimination. “Sex

as a basis of discrimination was added as a floor amend-

ment one day before the House approved Title VII,

without prior hearing or debate.” Holloway v. Arthur

Andersen & Co., 566 F.2d 659, 662 (9th Cir. 1977) (cita-

tions omitted); Deve ts in the Law—Employment

Discrimination and Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of

1964, 84 Harv. L. Rev. 1109, 1167 (1971). This sex amend-

ment was the gambit of a congressman seeking to scut-

8 No. 84-1431

tle adoption of the Civil Rights Act. The ploy failed and

sex discrimination was abruptly added to the statute’s

prohibition against race discrimination. See Bradford v.

Peoples Natural Gas Co., 60 F.R.D. 432, 434-35 & n.1

(W.D. Pa. 1978).

The total lack of legislative history supporting the sex

amendment coupled with the circumstances of the amend-

ment’s adoption clearly indicates that Congress never con-

sidered nor intended that this 1964 legislation apply to

anything other than the traditional concept of sex. Had

Congress intended more, surely the legislative history

would have at least mentioned its intended broad cove

of homosexuals, transvestites, or transsexuals, and would

no doubt have sparked an interesting debate. There is not

the slightest suggestion in the legislative record to sup-

port an all-encompassing interpretation.

Members of Congress have, moreover, on a number of

occasions, attempted to amend Title VII to prohibit dis-

crimination based upon “affectational or sexual orienta-

tion.”?! Each of these attempts has failed. While the

proposed amendments were directed toward homosexuals,

see, e.g., Civil Rights Act Amendments of 1981: Hear-

ings on H.R. 1454 Before the Subcomm. on Employment

Opportunities of the House Comm. on Education and

Labor, 97th Cong., 2d Sess. 1-2 (1982) (statements of Rep.

Hawkins, chairman of subcommittee, and Rep. Weiss,

N.Y., author of bill); Civil Rights Amendments Act of

1979: Hearings on H.R. 2074 Before the Subcomm. on

Employment Opportunities of the House Comm. on

11 £.9., 94th Congress: H.R. 166, 94th Cong., 1st Sess. (1975);

H.R. 2667, 94th Cong., 1st Sess. (1975); H.R. 5452, 94th Cong.,

Ist Sess. (1975); 95th Congress: H.R. 451, 95th Cong., Ist Sess.

(1977); H.R. 775, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. (1977); H.R. 2998, 95th

Cong., 1st Sess. (1977); H.R. 4794, 95th Cong., lst Sess. (1977);

H.R. 5239, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. (1977); H.R. 8268, 95th Cong.,

Ist Sess. (1977); H.R. 8269, 95th Cong., 1st Sess. (1977); 96th Con-

gress: H.R. 2074, 96th Cong., 2d Sess. (1980); 97th Congress: H.R.

1454, 97th Cong., 2d Sess. (1982).

_—

No. 84-1431 9

Education and Labor, 96th Cong., 2d Sess. 6 (1980)

(statements of Rep. Hawkins, chairman of subcommittee,

and Rep. Weiss, N.Y., coauthor of bill), their rejection

strongly indicates that the phrase in the Civil Rights Act

prohibiting discrimination on the basis of sex should be

given a narrow, traditional interpretation, which would

also exclude transsexuals. Furthermore, Congress has con-

tinued to reject these amendments even after courts have

specifically held that Title VII does not protect transsex-

uals from discrimination. Compare H.R. 1454, 97th Cong.,

2d Sess. (1982) (hearing held on Jan. 27, 1982) with Som-

mers v. Budget Marketing, Inc., 667 F.2d 748, 750 (8th

Cir. Jan. 8, 1982) (per curiam); Holloway v. Arthur

Andersen & Co., 566 F.2d 659, 662-63 (9th Cir. 1977);

Powell v. Read’s, Inc., 436 F. Supp. 369, 371 (D. Md.

1977); Grossman v. Board of Education, 11 Fair Empl.

Prac. Cas. (BNA) 1196, 1199 (D.N.J. 1975), aff'd mem.,

538 F.2d 319 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 897 (1976);

Voyles v. Ralph K. Davies Medical Center, 403 F. Supp.

456, 457 (N.D. Cal. 1975), aff'd mem., 570 F.2d 354 (9th

Cir. 1978); see also United States v. PATCO, 653 F.2d

1134, 1138 (7th Cir. 1981) (Congress is presumed to know

the law and judicial interpretations of it); United States

v. Ambrose, Nos. 83-1213 to 83-1221, 83-1291, slip op. at

15 (7th Cir. July 17, 1984) (Wood, J., concurring and

dissenting) (same).

Although the maxim that remedial statutes should be

liberally construed is well recognized, that concept has

reasonable bounds ene which a rr: cannot go

without transgressing the prerogatives of Congress. in

a view, to inclurle cceainads within the reach of Title

VII far exceeds mere statutory interpretation. Congress

had a narrow view of sex in mind when it passed the

Civil Rights Act, and it has rejected subsequent at-

tempts to broaden the scope of its original interpretation.

For us to now hold that Title VII protects transsexuals

would take us out of the realm of interpreting and review-

ing and into the realm of legislating. See Gunnison v.

Commissioner, 461 F.2d 496, 499 (7th Cir. 1972) (it is for

10 No. 84-1431

the legislature, not the courts, to expand the class of peo-

ple - ae by a statute). This we must not and will

not do.

Congress has a right to deliberate on whether it wants

such a broad sweeping of the untraditional and unusual

within the term “sex” as used in Title VII. Only Con-

gress can consider all the ramifications to society of such

a broad view. We do not believe that the interpretation

of the word “sex” as used in the statute is a mere

matter of expert medical testimony or the credibility of

witnesses produced in court. Congress may, at some

future time, have some interest in testimony of that type,

but it does not control our interpretation of Title VII

based on the legislative history or lack thereof. If Con-

gress believes that transsexuals should enjoy the protec-

tion of Title VII, it may so provide. Until that time,

however, we decline in behalf of. the Congress to judicially

expand the definition of sex as used in Title VII beyond

its common and traditional interpretation.

Our view of the application of Title VII to this t

of case is not an original one. Sommers v. Budget

Marketing, Inc., 667 F.2d 748, 750 (8th Cir. 1982) (per

curiam), and Holloway v. Arthur Andersen & Co., 566

F.2d 659, 662-63 (9th Cir. 1977), the only two circuit court

cases we found that have specifically addressed the issue,

both held that discrimination against transsexuals does not

fall within the ambit of Title VII.12 In Sommers, Budget

Marketing fired an anatomical male who claimed to be

female once Budget Marketing discovered that he had

12 For examples of district courts that have refused transsexuals

Title VII protection, see T v. EEOC, 25 Empl. Prac. Dec.

(CCH) 431,638, at 19,732-33 (E.D. Wis. 1980); Powell v. Read’s,

Inc., 4386 F. Supp. 369, 371 (D. Md. 1977); Grossman v. Board of

Education, 11 Fair wr Prac. Cas. (BNA) 1196, 1199 (D.N.J.

1975), aff'd mem., 538 F.2d 319 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 429 U.S.

897 (1976); Voyles v. Ralph K. Davies Medical Center, 403 F.

Sup ; 456, 457 (N.D. Cal. 1975), aff'd mem., 570 F.2d 354 (9th Cir.

BEST AVAILABLE COPY ©

=

No. 84-1431 11

misrepresented himself as female when he applied for the

job. In Holloway, Arthur Andersen, an accounting firm,

dismissed the plaintiff after he informed his superior that

he was undergoing treatment in preparation for sex

change surgery. We agree with the Eighth and Ninth Cir-

cuits that if the term ‘sex’ as it is used in Title VII is

to mean more than biological male or biological female,

the new definition must come from Congress.

B. Title VII and Ulane as a Female.

The triai judge originally found only that Eastern had

discriminated against Ulane under Count II as a trans-

sexual. The judge subsequently amended his findings to

hold that Ulane is also female and has been discriminated

against on this basis. Even if we accept the district

judge’s holding that Ulane is female, he made no factual

findings necessary to support his conclusion that Eastern

discriminated against her on this basis. All the district

judge said was that his previous “findings and conclusions

concerning sexual discrimination against the plaintiff by

Eastern Airlines, Inc. apply with equal force whether

plaintiff be regarded as a transsexual or a female.” This

is insufficient to support a finding that Ulane was dis-

criminated against because she is female since the

district judge’s previous findings all centered around his

conclusion that Eastern did not want “[a] transsexual in

the cockpit” (emphasis added).

Ulane is entitled to any personal belief about her sex-

ual identity she desires. After the surgery, hormones, ap-

arance changes, and a new Illinois birth certificate and

PAA pilot’s certificate, it may be that society, as the trial

judge found, considers Ulane to be female. But even if

one believes that a woman can be so easily created from

what »emains of a man, that does not decide this case.

If Eastern had considered Ulane to be female and had

discriminated against her beceuse she was female (.e.,

Eastern treated females less favorably than males), then

the argument might be made that Title VII applied, c/-

12 No. 84-1431

Holloway v. Arthur Andersen, 566 F.2d at 664 (although

Title VII does not prohibit discrimination against trans-

sexuals, ‘‘transsexuals claiming discrimination because of

their sex, male or female, would clearly state a cause of

action under Title VII’’) (dicta), but that is not this case.

It is clear from the evidence that if Eastern did discrimi-

nate against Ulane, it was not because she is female, but

because Ulane is a transsexual!%—a biological male who

takes female hormones, cross-dresses, and has surgically

altered parts of her body to make it appear to be female.

Since Ulane was not discriminated against as a female,

and since Title VII is not so expansive in scope as to pro-

hibit discrimination against transsexuals, we reverse the

order of the trial court and remand for entry of judgment

in favor of Eastern on Count I and dismissal of Count II.

REVERSED.

A true Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

13 Because of our holding in section A, however, we need not

and do not decide whether Eastern did actually discriminate

against Ulane because of her transsexuality.

USCA 40227--Midwest Law Printing Co., Inc., Chicago—8-29-84—400

APPENDIX B

aed we nme

. a —_

B-1

APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

KAREN FRANCES ULANE, )

Plaintiff

v. . NO. 81 C 4411

EASTERN AIRLINES, INC., et al.,

Defendants.

-

FINAL JUDGMENT ORDER PURSUANT TO RULE 54(b)

For the reasons explained on December 28, 1983, in the

court’s oral findings of fact and conclusions of law, and the

supplemental Memorandum Opinion entered this date, the

court finds the issues in favor of the plaintiff and against the

defendant Eastern Airlines on Counts I and II of the com-

plaint. The plaintiff is hereby awarded the following relief:

MONETARY RELIEF

Salary $166,476

Set Offs:

Loss of license, benefits paid by East-

ern during back-pay period (16,277)

Plaintiff’s earnings during back-pay

period (9,709)

BACK-PAY $140,490

Interest at 8 per cent per annum 15,839

BACK-PAY PLUS INTEREST $156,329

Reimbursement for out-of-pocket expenses;

life and health insurance premiums;

dental care; and airline tickets

TOTAL MONETARY AWARD

THROUGH DECEMBER 31, 1983 $158,590

2,261

B-2 B-3

REINSTATEMENT i which multiple claims are presented and in which multiple

Plaintiff shall be reinstated as of the date of her discharge, | parties are involved; that the determination of the remaining

with the following benefits: | claims will be greatly facilitated, and as a practical matter

) perhaps even obviated, by a decision on appeal from the

Pension Contributions | foregoing final judgment on Counts I and II; and, accord-

ingly, there is no just reason for delaying the entry of final

judgment on Counts I and II or for delaying an appeal from

that judgment.

Eastern shall make contributions in plaintiff’s name

to pension plans “A” and “B” according to the terms of

the contract between the pilots and Eastern Airlines

(“the contract”), based on the “salary of record” retroac- |

tive to April 24, 1981. Eastern is not required to DATED: FEB. 8, 1984

reimburse plaintiff’s pension plans for the amounts she

has withdrawn from the plans since April 24, 1981, and

will not incur any other liability as a result of plaintiff’s | ENTER: /s/ JOHN F. GRADY

withdrawals. |

Sick Leave

Plaintiff’s sick leave bank shall be credited with sick

leave accrued at a rate of three days per month, retroac- |

tive to April 24, 1981, as provided in Section 38(A)(2) of

the contract. )

United States District Judge

Vacation

Plaintiff’s vacation bank shall be credited as provided

in Section 16 of the contract.

;

Debentures

)

Plaintiff shall be awarded debentures and any other

benefits which are part of any “give-back” programs in )

effect during the back-pay period. .

Seniority

Plaintiff’s seniority shall be reinstated and shall

accrue to the position she would have had had she not

been terminated, and as provided in the contract. |

The court expressly directs that final judgment be entered

in favor of the plaintiff and against the defendant Eastern

Airlines as aforesaid. The court finds that this is a case in | 3

APPENDIX C

mr oe ROT Rn oe Ba RR NT RN

BRN D> Or eR Orr

C-1

APPENDIX C

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

KAREN FRANCES ULANE,

v.

EASTERN AikLINES, INC.,

a Delaware corporation,

a

Plaintiff

Docket No. 81 C 4411

Chicago, Illinois

- December 28, 1983

FRANK BORMAN, THOMAS R. 10:25 a.m.

BUTTION, DAVID P. MILLETT

and ROBERT SHIPNER,

Defendanis.

4

TRANSCRIPT OF PROCEEDINGS

BEFORE THE HONORAB

LE JOHN F. GRADY, Judge.

TRANSCRIPT ORDERED BY: Mr. DEAN DICKIE

APPEARANCES:

For the Plaintiff:

Mr. DAVID M. BROWN

SACHNOFF,

WEAVER& RUBENSTEIN, LTD.

One IBM Plaza, Suite 4700

Chicago, Illinois 60611, by

Mr. DEAN DICKIE

Mr. BRIAN D. ROCHE

Ms. FAY CLAYTON

For the Defendants:

CONKLIN & ADLER, LTD.

100 West Grand Avenue

Chicago, Illinois 60610, by

Ms. CATHERINE TINKER

GAMBRELL & RUSSELL

400 First Atlanta Tower

Atlanta, Georgia 30383, by

Mr. DAviD M. BRown

Court Reporter: LAURA M. BRENNAN

219 South Dearborn

Street, Room 1918

Chicago, Illinois 60604

(The following proceedings were had in open Court:)

MR. DICKIE: Good morning, your Honor.

THE COURT: Good morning.

THE CLERK: 81 C 411, Ulane v. Eastern Airlines, case

on trial.

THE COURT: I will give you my findings of fact and

conclusions of law.

The threshold issu before the Court is whether Title VII

of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 applies to transsexuals. The

statutory language in Title 42, Section 2000e-2(a) provides

that:

“It shall be an unlawful employment practice for an

employer to fail or refuse to hire or to discharge any

individual or otherwise to discriminate against any

individual with respect to his compensation, terms, con-

ditions or privileges of employment because of such

individual’s race, color, religion, sex, or national origin.”

So the specific question before the Court is whether the

phrase, “because of the individual’s sex,” encompasses a

person such as the plaintiff who alleges that she is a

C-3

transsexual or, alternatively, that having gone through sex

reassignment surgery, she is now no longer a man but a

woman.

The legislative history of the statute I have just quoted is

hardly a gold mine of information. It is summarized in the

case of Holloway v. Arthur Andersen & Company, 566 F. 2d 659

at page 662, a Ninth Circuit case, which I cited in denying

the motion to dismiss. The Court there said:

“There is a dearth of legislative history on Section

2000e-2(a)(1) which was enacted as Section 703(a)(1) of

the Civil Rights Act of 1964. The major concern of

Congress at the time the Act was promulgated was race

discrimination. Sex as a basis of discrimination was

added as a floor amendment one day before the House

approved Title VII and without prior hearing or

debate.”

Well, those who have looked a little further into the

matter know that this amendment introducing sex into the

picture was a gambit of a Southern senator who sought

thereby to scuttle the whole Civil Rights Act, and, much to

his amazement and no doubt undying disappointment, it did

not work. We not only got an act including race discrimina-

tion, which he had sought to bar, but we got sex as well. The

question we are confronting here today is: What did we get

when we got sex?

I have previously held in denying defendants’ motion to

dismiss that I believed the complaint adequately alleged that

the discharge was related to sex or had something to do with

sex. I continue to hold that layman’s reaction to the simple

word and to the facts as alleged in the complaint. Most of

the cases and perhaps all of the cases which have addressed

this issue have held that the statute does not apply to

transsexuals. I think, however, all of those cases were

decided on motions to dismiss, and, in any event, I think

none of them was decided on a factual record as complete as

the one we have here.

C-4

Those who argue that the legislative history indicates a

lack of intention on the part of Congress that the Act would

apply to transsexuals cite the unsuccessful attempts to

amend Title VII in later years to include protection for

homosexuals and transvestites. I think that argument is

invalid. There is in the record before us evidence which

makes quite clear that there is a distinction between

homosexuals and transvestites on the one hand and transsex-

uals on the other.

Homosexuals and transvestites are not persons who have

sexual identity problems. They are content with the sex into

which they were born. Transsexuals, on the other hand, are

persons with a problem relating to their very sexual identity

aS a man or a woman. I believe on that basis the situation of

a transsexual is distinguishable.

I have no problem with the idea that the statute was not

intended and cannot reasonably be argued to have been

intended to cover the matter of sexual preference, the prefer-

ence of a sexual partner, or the matter of sexual gratification

from wearing the clothes of the opposite sex. It seems to me

an altogether different question as to whether the matter of

Sexual identity is comprehended by the word, “sex.”

Prior to my participation in this case, I would have had no

doubt that the question of sex was a very straightforward

matter of whether you are male or female. That there could

be any doubt about that question had simply never occurred

to me. I had never been exposed to the arguments or to the

problem. After listening to the evidence in this case, it is

clear to me that there is no settled definition in the medical

community as to what we mean by sex.

I will also put it more tentatively and say that if there is

such a settled definition, it was not adverted to by any of the

experts who testified at this trial. Plaintiff’s witness, Dr.

Green, and other witnesses as well emphasized that sexual

identity is in part a psychological question. That is to Say, it

is a question of one’s own self-perception: How does one

PAD 2g” te tee

C-5

perceive oneself in terms of maleness or femaleness? It is

also a social matter: How does society perceive the

individual?

Such a problem is not unprecedented in the law or in the

specific context of laws prohibiting discrimination. I refer

you to an interesting case decided by my colleague, Judge

Getzendanner, Carrillo v. Illinois Bell Telephone Compuny, 538

F. Supp. 793. The question there was whether Title VII and

42 U.S.C. Section 1981 applied to Hispanics when those

statutes used the word, “race.” The Court there pointed out

that many Hispanics are white in the same sense that non-

Hispanics are white, and yet they perceive themselves to be

of a different race, and they are perceived by some others as

being of a different race.

Judge Getzendanner remarked at page 795:

“On the issue whether discrimination against Hispan-

ics constitutes discrimination based on race or on

national origin, there is a substantial divergence of

opinion. Some Courts have viewed such discrimination

as based solely on national origin and have dismissed

Hispanics’ claims under Section 1981. The trend among

the Judges of this district has been to consider dis-

crimination against Hispanics as racial discrimination.

“The Courts extending Section 1981 to discrimination

against Hispanics have frequently relied on the follow-

ing dicta from Budinsky v. Corning Glass Works, 425 F.

Supp. 786, 788, Western District Pennsylvania, 1977.

The terms, ‘race’ and ‘racial discrimination, are subject

to a commonly accepted, albeit sometimes vague, under-

standing. Those Courts which have extended the cover-

age of Section 1981 have done so on a realistic basis

within the framework of this common meaning and

understanding. On this admittedly unscientific basis,

Hispanic persons and Indians, like blacks, have been

traditional victims of group discrimination, and how-

ever inaccurately or stupidly, are frequently and even

C-6

commonly subjected to a racial identification as non-

whites. There is accordingly both a practical need and a

logical reason to extend Section 1981’s proscription

against exclusively racial employment discrimination to

those groups of potential discriminatees.

“As Judge Moran explained the issue in Aponte,

supra, ‘The plain meaning of the statute, Section 1981,

atternpts to remedy different treatment of whites and

non-whites. Because Hispanics are frequently identified

as non-whites, this Court believes that the scope of

Section 1981 is broad enough to extend to that group.’”

Judge Getzendanner concludes that it is necessary to con-

sider each case on its own merits and determine whether the

particular Hispanic plaintiff was subjected to race dis-

crimination, which would not necessarily be determined by

the actual color of his or her skin.

Now, that case is not, of course, precisely applicable here,

but it is illustrative of the fact that the things we know we

do not necessarily know and iat people sometimes react to

other people according to stereotypes, misperceptions, and

other motivations which are arguably discriminatory and

are arguably redressable under statutes which might not be

thought ordinarily to apply to those situations.

Title VII is a remedial statute which is to be liberally

construed. That fact, I think, is well accepted and not

irrelevant to the inquiry before us. The only defense witness

I can recall who argued with or contradicted the proposition

that sex is at least in part a question of self-perception and a

societal perception was Dr. Wise. He stated flatly that sex is

chromosomal. That creates a dispute in the evidence, but it

is a dispute which I resolve against the defendant because I

do not feel comfortable relying upon the testimony of Dr.

Wise. He was a remarkable witness. He stated that the

plaintiff is beyond a shadow of a doubt a transvestite. This is

a man of science who had never seen the plaintiff, who knew

very little about her, who had not even read all of the records

C-7

pertaining to her, who had read very few of the recent

records which seemed to me to be very important, who had

read some of the literature in the field but stated that he

disagreed with other literature even though he had not read

it, and who stated that he knows beyond a shadow of a

doubt—those are his exact words—that this plaintiff is a

transvestite and not a transsexual.

I have been listening to witnesses for many years, and I

have never heard an expert witness state that he was sure of

anything beyond a shadow of a doubt. That was typical of

Dr. Wise’s testimony. That is the most egregious example

that I can think of from his testimony, but it is by no means

atypical of the tenor of his testimony.

I can tell you quite candidly that I attach no weight

whatever to his testimony and, other things being equal,

would be inclined to believe that the opposite of anything he

testified to would be more probably true than not true. I am

not using that method, however, to arrive at my factual

conclusions in this case because there is an abundance of

other evidence for me to refer to.

On the question of the reaction of society to transsexuals, I

believe the Illinois statute is pertinent. Plaintiff has under

the laws of the State of Illinois been issued a new birth

certificate with a sex designation of female. This is a statute

that was enacted by the people of the State of llinois. This

to me is pretty strong evidence of a social policy in this area.

While I do not agree with plaintiff’s argument that that

statute makes the plaintiff a female or that the statute has

some sort of binding effect in a federal civil rights action, I

do think that the enactment of the statute is a circumstance

which is pertinent to the question of plaintiff’s sexual iden-

tity and the larger question of whether sex is a cut-and-dried

matter of chromosomes.

I find by the greater weight of the evidence that sex is not

a cut-and-dried matter of chromosomes, and that while there

may be some argument about the matter in the medical

C-8

community, the evidence in this record satisfies me that the

term, “sex,” as used in any scientific sense and as used in the

Statute can be and should be reasonably interpreted to

include among its denotations the question of sexual identity

and that, therefore, transsexuals are protected by Title VII.

I will say now as I said at the time I denied the motion to

dismiss that, if I can borrow a phrase, there is not a shadow

of a doubt that Congress never intended anything one way or

the other on the question of whether the term, “sex,” would

include transsexuals. The matter simply was not thought of.

t was not discussed. Nothing was discussed that we have

any record of that would have any relevance to the question

before us. But I believe that working with the word that the

Congress gave us to work with, it is my duty to apply it in

what I believe to be the most reasonable way. I believe that

the term, “sex,” literally applies to transsexuals and that it

applies scientifically to transsexuals. That there is room for

argument on the question does not release me from making a

decision one way or the other, and I have made the decision

which seems to me to be the one most consistent with the

factual record that was developed in this case.

I turn now to the second question, and that is whether the

plaintiff is a transsexual. The defendant argues that she is

not a transsexual, that instead she is a transvestite. If that is

true, she is not protected by the statute.

There are a number of things which persuade me that the

plaintiff is a transsexual. She was found to be such by the

unanimous decision of the Gender Identity Board of the

University of Chicago Medical School. It would be difficult,

I think, to imagine a more prestigious auspices under which

to make a finding of any kind. I am disinclined to overrule

that finding on the basis of the testimony I have heard from

defendants’ witnesses.

I found Dr. Berger a very credible witness. Although he

was called as a witness by the defense, his testimony was, of

course, favorable to the plaintiff. He was her doctor. He was

ee ee eee -

C-9

perhaps primarily in charge of her case. There is no doubt

whatever in Dr. Berger’s mind that plaintiff was and is a

transsexual. I believe that he is eminently qualified to make

that determination. Plaintiff meets the criteria of the DSM

III, the recognized definitional standard for judging

transsexuality.

The defendant argues with these determinations and says

that what has happened here is that plaintiff managed to

persuade these eminent medical practitioners by means of

retrospective distortion. In short, as Dr. Arbitt said in his

deposition, the plaintiff conned her way into the operation. I

understand that it is the defendants’ position in this trial

that some of that distortion may even have been inadvertent

and unconscious, but, nonetheless, it is the defendants’ posi-

tion that in large part the plaintiff through a facile manipu-

lation of these medical persons managed to get for herself

this operation in 1980 that she had been denied in 1970.

Dr. Berger said something that struck me as important.

He was asked whether he relied upon what plaintiff said,

and his response was, “I did not rely only on what she said.”

If anything is true in this cass, that is true.

This takes us to an analysis of the person we are dealing

with. At the time of this irreversible decision, the plaintiff

was 38 years old. She had had two marriages. She had

experienced the pleasure and the happiness to the extent she

was able to do so of marriage and fatherhood and certainly

was well aware of what she would be foresaking irretriev-

ably if she subjected herself to this surgery. She had more

than the ordinary understanding that a patient would have

prior to undergoing surgery. Most of us put outselves in the

hands of doctors and hope for the best. This was not true in

the case of plaintiff. She knew more about this subject

matter from a scientific point of view than many psychia-

trists, if not most psychiatrists, and certainly more than

most physicians.

C-10

Now, the defendant says this is an arrow in its quiver.

Because she knew so much, she was able to dissemble. That

is one interpretation of the evidence, and it is one possibility.

But the inference I draw from plaintiff’s sophistication in

the question of transsexuality and sex reassignment surgery

is that she had a complete, or as complete as can be, under-

standing of the pitfalls of an unsuccessful adjustment to the

life of a female after transsexual surgery. She had

undoubtedly read of those examples, which, in fact, are quite

few, of sex reassignment patients who had decided later that

they made a mistake, and some of them came to a bad end.

The plaintiff is in the upper range of intelligence. She

certainly was capable of understanding all of the implica-

tions of what it was she was doing. Those implications did

not merely extend to her physical well-being, her psychologi-

cal well-being, the question of whether she was going to be

miserable or relatively happy for the remaining 40 or so

years of her life, but they extended to the very subject matter

of this lawsuit. The plaintiff undoubtedly knew that she was

asking for trouble in terms of her continued employment if

she were to have this surgery. That, of course, is why she

did not volunteer this information all these years. She

anticipated the very reaction that did indeed eventuate. She

is accused of having poor judgment in failing to make these

disclosures. I wiil get to that in a while. One cannot accuse

her of being incapable of making fairly accurate predictions

about what was going to happen. She lost her job, and before

she had this surgery, she knew that that was a very good

possibility. She went ahead and had the surgery anyway

knowing that by doing that she would jeopardize something

she truly does love, her job flying an airplane.

Now, I do not know what it would take to convince

defendant that a person who undergoes so radical a

procedure as the one that was involved here, knowing all of

the dangers and all of the trouble that it would and might

involve, did not do it for some ulterior purpose. Defendant

suggests that plaintiff did not really believe she was a

Ob -

C-11

transsexual. She believed she was a transvestite and, there-

fore, was virtually certain to have an unsuccessful, if not

disastrous, post-operative course; she anticipated that she

would lose her job and have to fight in Court to get it back,

with a very uncertain result, and yet for some reason she saw

fit to pull the wool over the doctors’ eyes and have this

operation. That just is not a reasonable proposition, and yet

that is what the defense is in this case in large part.

Harking back to what Dr. Berger said, he said, “No, I do

not rely on just what she says.” What he meant was he

relied on what she did, and I, too, rely on what she did in

order to make my determination as to whether she was a true

transsexual, which, after all, is largely a matter of her own

attitude, her own belief about herself, or whether, on the

other hand, she was not a transsexual but an aging and

dissembling transvestite. I find that she was and is a

transsexual.

The fact that she took a long time to make up her mind

and that there were many changes of mind and reversals and

uncertainties in the process is not, as defendant would have

me believe, evidence of the plaintiff’s insincerity and

evidence of the mistake that plaintiff made in ultimately

having the surgery; rather, it is to me a scenario of what

typically happens in any scientific endeavor. It is a matter

of trial and error, and it is a matter of checking and recheck-

ing. It is a matter of going back to the drawing board.

There was nothing about plaintiff’s history that causes me

to feel that I am in a position to second-guess the University

of Chicago Gender Identity Board on the question of whether

plaintiff was a transsexual and should have had this

operation.

Dr. Berger originally thought plaintiff was not a transsex-

ual but eventually changed his mind. That did not to him

indicate that there was any reason not to have the operation

and not to classify plaintiff as a transsexual, and there is not

anything in the definition of a transsexual which precludes

C-12

the element of doubt; but those doubts were resolved before

the surgery, and I might say that the fact that there were

only seven months of the real life experience as opposed to a

year or two years is to me absolutely immaterial. It was a

matter of economic necessity that the plaintiff proceed with

this matter and get back to work if that were possible.

Waiting any longer would have simply been biding time for

no purpose. All of her physicians were satisfied that she had

spent a sufficient length of time to indicate that she could

successfully live as a woman and that the surgery was

proper.

It seems to me that one of the many unreasonable positions

Eastern takes in this case is that plaintiff did not try to live

as a woman in her job. She had been fired from her job just

as soon as she had the surgery. Apparently Eastern would

have me believe that if Ken Ulane had shown up for work in

a dress and boarded the plane that there would have been no

problem at Eastern. Now, if Eastern means, well, she should

have done it in some other job, she did do it in whatever

other job she could find. How much that proved I do not

know because it was not the job that she hopes to regain.

Where she could have found a job as an airline pilot cross-

dressing as a woman and maintain that job for a period of a

year is something which leaves me totally mystified.

Another consideration on whether plaintiff is a true

transsexual is the post-operative course. It has not been a

long time. It has been three years. To the extent that

plaintiff has had an opportunity to demonstrate a successful

post-operative course, she has done so. Her adjustment has

been remarkably good. She testified without contradiction

that she is a member of her community and is relating well

to other people of both sexes, active in her church, in fact,

vice president of her church having been elected to that

position by co-parishioners who know of her situation. What

more can she do? She is not flying an air liner, but Eastern

will not let her fly an air liner, nor will anybody else in the

present circumstance.

aAnere. 7.

ae i et OR

al

C-13

Eastern’s medical witnesses would never be satisfied with

the post-operative course. If we were in here 30 years from

now and there had not been a single problem that could be

demonstrated, they would still take the position that you

cannot tell about tomorrow.

Another factor which I think is relevant is how plaintiff

appears to other people. I have the psychiatric reports and

the testimony of the various psychiatrists as to how plaintiff

appears to them. She appears to them to be a woman. She

conducts herself as a woman. She dresses as a woman.

There is nothing flamboyant, nothing freakish, about the

plaintiff. It would take an extremely practiced eye, it seems

to me, to detect any difference between the plaintiff and the

biological woman. My observation of her in this courtroom

and on the witness stand leads me t concur with those

witnesses who have said that she appears to be a biological

woman. That, I think, has a bearing on the likelihood of her

successful post-operative course.

It also has a bearing, if seems to me, on the question of

whether she is a transsexual in the first place. There has

been no reversion to any masculine behavior that we have

any knowledge of. Eastern, of course, has studiously avoided

making any examination of the plaintiff, or having her

tested, having their own psychiatrist examine her as they do

in the case of other employees with psychological problems.

They prefer instead to say that the post-operative course is

unknown and that the path is fraught with danger.

The third question is whether the plaintiff was discharged

because of her transsexuality, which is another way of ask-

ing whether she was discharged because of her sex. The

question, of course, is not whether sex was the sole cause of

her discharge. The question is whether it was a motivating

factor but for which she would not have been fired. There

may have been other causes. I will deal with that as I go

along. But assuming there were, if she would not have been

fired but for her transsexuality, the statute has been violated.

C-14

There are two unusual aspects to this case. Well, I suppose

there are many, but two that are immediately relevant to the

present inquiry. The first is that the transsexual surgery is

what triggered the firing. That is the very thing that is in

issue in the case that is undeniably the initial occasion for

the inquiry which led to the discharge. Plaintiff had been

employed by Eastern as an airline pilot for 12 years and had

performed successfully. As Captain Causey said, she was

better than an average pilot, and if they are not good, they

do not keep them. So in saying that she was better than

average, that means she was better than good.

The first inkling of any discharge was when she had this

surgery. So that differentiates this case from the usual Title

VII case where the defendant says there were many things

in the background of this employee which explain the dis-

charge other than race or sex or whatever might be involved.

Here there is not anything in the background other than the

matters which first arose when plaintiff had the sex reassign-

ment surgery.

The second unusual feature of this case is that the dis-

charge was managed and coordinated by the defendant’s

legal department, which carefully drafted the two discharge

letters in an obvious attempt to avoid liability under the sex

discrimination law. You had here a filtering process that

you do not ordinarily have when a disciplinary action is

taken against an employee. There is usually a foreman

without a lawyer at his elbow who does the dastardly deed,

and then we argue about why he did it. Here the lawyers

were in charge from day one and screened everything that

happened, in fact, literally pulled the strings throughout the

entire case.

I refer to the lawyers in Eastern’s legal department. I

have nothing but admiration for the conduct of Eastern’s

trial counsel in this case.

The defendant has attempted to articulate non-dis-

criminatory reasons which, unless pretextual, would justify

Dettingen aa

C-15

the firing. What I want to do now is to take the two

discharge letters and go over them item by item to see

whether or not plaintiff has proved in each instance by the

greater weight of the evidence that the particular reason was

pretextual.

Turning to the first discharge letter dated April 24th,

1981, the first reason was that the continued employment of

plaintiff as a pilot was inconsistent with the safety consider-

ations which underlie the so-called coordinated crew concept

of Eastern. The law requires, first of all, that the defendant

articulate a reason for the discharge. I do not believe that

the defendant has even articulated a rational reason for the

discharge. Articulate means more than simply to recite by

rote; it means to state in a comprehensible and rational way

so that the meaning of the statement can be understood.

The question at issue here is the relationship of the plain-

tiff’s transsexuality to any legitimate safety consideration.

It is that relationship which first has to be articulated, and

then we get to the question of whether the articulation is a

pretext. In my view, we do not even get past the first hurdle

in this case.

You will recall how I tried to have Dr. Millett and Captain

Causey explain to me what Eastern means by this safety

consideration in relation to the coordinated crew concept.

Those questions were not in the script, and they were not

very good at ad libbing. As I sit here now, I still do not know

what any such actual relationship could be. We broke it

down a little further into the question of trust. Trust about

what? What did I get but more coordinated crew concept,

underlying psychological problems, pat phrases which have

been programmed into the defense in this case but which

have no factual basis.

Eastern went out of its way not to learn whatever could be

learned in plaintiff’s favor on the question of safety. Its

primary source of information was a psychiatrist who has

had absolutely no experience with adult transsexuals and

C-16

who continues to this day to be largely ignorant of that area

of psychiatry, and I refer to Dr. Kelly.

Dr. Millett, who knows nothing about the subject, talked to

Dr. Kelly, who knows next to nothing about the subject, and

got from Dr. Kelly the name of Dr. Meyer, who knows a lot

about the subject, but who in a fairly short telephone conver-

sation with Dr. Millett, if it took place, could not have told

Dr. Millett that plaintiff constituted a danger in the cockpit

of an airplane. There is not even any such contention. The

only contention is that Dr. Meyer said that the surgery was

still experimental and not a cure for the underlying psycho-

logical problem.

Eastern took it from there and conjured up all sorts of

dangers that inhered in the so-cailed underlying psychologi-

cal problems. It was not even a matter of their putting the

burden of proof on the plaintiff. They never gave plaintiff

any kind of a fair hearing, never gave her any opportunity

to show that they were wrong, or that even if as a general

proposition there might be some reason for concern that that

concern did not apply to her particular situation.

Eastern from the outset here took the attitude that its

mind was made up, and it did not want to be confused with

the facts. It substituted for any kind of investigation worthy

of the name a prejudiced, close-minded pre-determination of

the question of whether plaintiff was suitable to continue in

the cockpit of one of their air liners.

I am not going to go through the testimony of these

witnesses. I merely invite anyone who is curious to read

with attention the testimony of those witnesses who sought

to explain or, I think more properly, who sought to avoid

explaining because they could not explain the relationship

between any legitimate safety concern and plaintiff’s

transsexualism, the plaintiff’s surgery or anything else about

the pleintiff’s medical or psychological condition.

Everybody passed the buck. The legal department wrote

the letter. They did not show up to testify, but Captain

C-17

Buttion said he relied on them to find out whether the drugs

that plaintiff was taking were dangerous. He assumed, testi-

fied Captain Buttion, that the medical department had deter-

mined that the hormones plaintiff was taking were not

approved by the FAA. He relied entirely on the medical

department and on the legal department. The medical

department in turn relied upon the information I have

already described.

The safety concerns that Eastern purports to have been

cognizant of appear to be readily dispelled when confronted

with the facts. I give you a dramatic example: Captain

Shipner. If ever there was a witness who entered this court-

room convinced that plaintiff did not belong in a cockpit, it

was Captain Shipner, who did not make the decision,

incidentally, and by saying he was convinced, I do not mean

to say that Eastern was convinced. Eastern was not con-

vinced at all, but a lot of things that Eastern did have served

to convince some of its employees that there is something

wrong with plaintiff that precludes her from flying. Captain

Shipner testified that he was very concerned about these

hormones that the plaintiff was taking, but then he said:

“Well, if it turned out that those hormones had been

prescribed by a physician, he would have no problem with it

at all.”

I think we could make a believer out of Captain Shipner if

we had a little more time, but Eastern never took the time

and was not interested in taking the time.

Captain Helms, another non-believer, testified that the

reason he was concerned with the plaintiff’s truthfulness and

why he felt that her lack of truthfulness would be devastat-

ing as far as crew coordination was concerned was that she

had been taking drugs which affected her ability to fly. He

said, and I believe this is an exact quote:

“If I knew someone was taking heroin, I would not let

them in the cabin.”

C-18

Now, here is one of the most distinguished captains of

Eastern Airlines who apparentiy believed before he came

into this courtroom that there was a legitimate comparison

between someone who is taking heroin and someone who is

taking the female hormones that the plaintiff was taking.

He went on to say in further testimony that if he knew there

were no side effects or adverse reactions, then it would not

bother him that plaintiff had been taking hormones. He said

that if all plaintiff is taking is Ovulen-21, that changes his

answer altogether as far as his concern about truthfulness on

the question of drugs is concerned.

What would have happened here if instead of taking the

negative ostrich-like position that Eastern took it had taken a

positive constructive attitude toward this problem and

attempted to solve it intelligently by investigation and edu-

cation rather than by denial and pretext? What would have

happened?

I think that the testimony of Captain Lewandowski, who

testified as the plaintiff’s rebuttal witness, is very credible. I

think it speaks extremely well for the character of such a

man to have hefriended plaintiff, taken her into his home,

fully realizing the attitude of Eastern and fully realizing the

attitude of some of the other pilots. That, as I say, reflects

well on his character in my view, and I find him otherwise to

be an extremely credible witness. He said that the present

Situation is that there is a small group of pilots who are dead

set against the plaintiff, and there is a small group like

himself who are very strongly in favor of her. He said that

the vast majority of pilots are waiting to see what happens,

and he believes that they believe in the system. If the

systema represented by the FAA says she is fit to fly, that

would be good enough for them.

That strikes me as credible testimony, far more believable

that the testimony of people like Captain Helms and Captain

Shipner who predict dire consequences should plaintiff

return to the cockpit, but whose testimony falls apart as soon

as you Start confronting them with the facts. I think those

C-19

witnesses, Captain Shipner and Captain Helms, do not take

the attitude: Do not confuse me with the facts. They strike

me as being willing to listen to the facts, and I have no doubt

whatever that that attitude is characteristic of the vast

majority of Eastern pilots who, after all, have to be highly

intelligent and resourceful individuals, and I emphasize the

word, “individuals,” to hold the responsible jobs that they do.

I think if they are given the facts and had they been given

the facts initially, there would have been no problem here.

I conclude that reason number one, first of all, is not

articulated in any sense that I understand that word, but

even if we get over that and get to the question of whether it

is a pretext. It is a sham of the first order.

Let’s go to the second reason; that plaintiff’s first class

medical certificate is not unconditional. Even Dr. Millett

agreed in this courtroom that plaintiff’s certificate is substan-

tially the same as the certificate issued to alcoholics. I so

find. It seems to me substantially identical. Any differentia-

tion that I heard amvunts to a mere quibble.

It is interesting to trace the origin of the requirement that

there be any follow-up at all on plaintiff’s certificate. The

origin was the anticipated unfavorable reaction of the East-

ern crews which might in turn cause emotional problems for

the plaintiff. Here we have Eastern doing its best to drum

up the very kind of adverse crew reaction that motivated the

limitation in the first place, using that limitation as a reason

for disqualifying the plaintiff.

You wil! note that Dr. Haynes before recommending the

follow-up says quite clearly that he knows of no reason at all

that the plaintiff is not qualified to fly the airplane. His

concern is not with any emotional problem the plaintiff

might have if she is left alone but, rather, with some

response that an unfriendly treatment at the hands of fellow

crew members might cause.

C-20

Eastern has not changed its mind about the plaintiff even

though she now has an unrestricted first class medical certifi-

cate. There is no retreat from this particular reason. Dr.

Hutson testified from this stand the other day that the FAA

is wrong. He does not pay any attention to that unrestricted

first class medical certificate. The FAA does not know what

it is doing. It is not following its own rules. Dr. Hutson is

an example of one of the Eastern witnesses who, by his own

admission on the witness stand, could never be convinced by

any evidence whatsoever that plaintiff is fit to fly the air-

plane. I find that reason number two is a pretext.

Reason number three was that surgery does not solve the

underlying psychological problem and that the surgery was

unproven and experimental. We have an articulation prob-

lem again because there is a total failure to relate this

concern to any question of cockpit safety. Let’s assume the

surgery does not work. Let’s assume that it does not do

anything about the underlying transsexuality wrich is the

underlying psychological problem. How does it follow that

plaintiff would be a less safe pilot than she had been for the

preceding 12 years when as a transsexual she safely piloted

Eastern airplanes?

Even Dr. Meyer, who has a jaundiced view of reassign-

ment surgery, Says that on the average the worst that can

happen is that there is no improvement. It does not make

them any better, it does not make them any worse. He tends

to ignore the substantial body of medical literature which

Supports the proposition that sex reassignment surgery has

on the whole been successful in alleviating the anxieties and

the depressions that transsexuals without the surgery fre-

quently have. Perhaps ignore is the wrong word. He simply

disagrees with the conclusions of these other experts in the

field.

Even Dr. Meyer, whose views are certainly in the

minority, does not support the view that an unsuccessful

surgery leaves the patient worse off than he or she was

before the surgery.

C-21

It should be noted that the surgery is not designed to cure

anything. The person after the surgery is still a transsexual.

So it does not cure the transsexuality. It is hoped that the

person will be more comfortable and lead a happier life, but

the most energetic supporter of the surgery would have to

concede that even where that happens, the person who had

the surgery still has an underlying problem. He is walking

around with a sexual situation that he or she was not born

with.

Now, if that is what is meant by not solving the underly-

ing problem, nobody can argue with that. What Eastern

failed to articulate here is what underlying problem there is

other than the mere fact of transsexuality. Try as I might,

try as counsel for the plaintiff might, we could not worm it

out of anybody. I sat and listened to Dr. Kelly for a couple

of hours repeat the same rote response about underlying

psychological problems, the nature of which he does not

know but he is sure exist and he is sure constitute a safety

hazard.

The other thing that I think is important about reason

number three is that Eastern made no effort whatever to

determine what the particular situation was in plaintiff’s

case. They simply did not have enough information to take

the position that they did; namely, that you can categorize

transsexuals across the board as persons who would represent

a safety problem in a stressful situation. That generalization

is no more true of transsexuals than it would be true of

people who are left-handed or who are dyed-in-the-wool

Republicans. It is no escape from that fact to say, “Well, we

just do not know.” Ignorance, prejudice, discrimination, and

hatred have throughout history been justified by, “We do

now know; we cannot take a chance.” I think that one of the

things that Title VII sought to accomplish was the elimina-

tion of that kind of attitude.

This might be a good point for me to comment generally

on the medical witnesses in this case. I went through my

notes last night very carefully, and I did in this case what I

C-22

usually do. I make my own notes of my impressions of the

witnesses as we go along: Are they credible? Do they seem to

me to be telling the truth? Are they reliable? My reaction to

each and every plaintiff’s medical witness was positive. My

reaction to each and every defense medical witness was

negative.

Now, I am considering in that connection Dr. Northrup

and Dr. Berger to be plaintiff’s witnesses even though they

were called by the defendant. There was just a difference in

the caliber of person. Dr. Meyer, Dr. ‘Millett, Dr. Wise, Dr.

Kelly, and Dr. Hutson are, in my view, contemptuous of

transsexuals. There runs through their testimony an intoler-

ance and a prejudice that is palpable.

Dr. Millett, Dr. Kelly, and Dr. Hutson seem to me to have

an additional aspect to their testimony; that is, they

somehow resent the intrusion of a transsexual into the avia-

tion field. They seem to think that the respectability of

aviation is compromised by the presence of a transsexual.

That, incidentally, is an attitude that permeate the tes-

timony of virtually al] the defense witnesses who are associ-

ated with aviation. I find that item number three is a

pretext.

Turning to item four, Eastern says that having plaintiff in

the cockpit would counteract their efforts to assure the public

that airline travel is safe. Well, that argument, of course, is

no better than the proposition that a transsexual in the

cockpit makes airline travel unsafe. It falls with the other

pretexts, and that is what it is. There is no evidence of a lack

of safety. There is no evidence of any rational belief on the

part of Eastern that there is a safety problem.

This is the kind of argument that opponents of civil rights

litigation urged back in those long-ago days when we did not

have anti-discrimination laws. We cannot serve blacks in

this restaurant. Nobody will come in. We cannot employ a

black to drive this bus. Nobody will ride the bus. We sure

C-23

can’t have any blacks carry the mail or work in a depart-

ment store. We will lose customers.

Well, the American public is a lot smarter than the bigots

gave them credit for being, and those predictions did not

prove to be true. I am old enough to remember when there

were no blacks driving buses in Chicago or virtually none, no

black sales clerks in department stores, no black mail car-

riers. We all know the extent to which those jobs have been

opened up to persons of all races and sexes and how much

better a society it has made us and how the insuperable

problems that were supposed to come about just did not

happen. The same thing is going to happen should Karen

Ulane resume her seat in the cockpit, and it will happen

with the help of people of good will like some of the people

who testified here in this courtroom.

Item four is a pretext.

Now, item five should probably be included as part of the

hand-out material for any seminar on discrimination cases.

The fifth reason is that:

“To the extent the operation and the counscling you

have undergone have been successful in changing your

essential nature from male to female, it has changed

you from the person Eastern has hired into a different

person. Eastern would not have hired you had it known

you contemplated or might in the future contemplate

such an action.”

Think of the significance of that last statement. Eastern

would not have hired the plaintiff. Even in their state of

absolute ignorance about what safety implications there

might or might not be concerning transsexuality and reas-

signment surgery, Eastern would not have hired the

plaintiff.

I read this as a virtual admission of discrimination, and in

my view that discrimination is based on sex within the

meaning of the statute.

C-24

Item five is also in my view inconsistent with Eastern’s

position that plaintiff has undergone no sex change. In any

event, I find that item five, aside from being evidence of the

very discrimination charged, is pretextual.

The final paragraph in the letter says that:

“Each of these grounds represents an independent

ground.”

That is well and good for Eastern to say, but life does not

always work out the way you want it to. In assessing the

good faith of each of these separate reasons, the Court con-

siders them together, and it is difficult to be taken seriously

on one assertion when you have been shown to be frivolous

on another. Now, I have indicated that I think each of these

reasons considered alone and independently is a pretext, and

that conclusion is heightened by the reciprocal effect these

various reasons have on each other when considered together

and in the context of this case. On the other hand, I find

them no more convincing in combination than I do

individually.

Now, why was the plaintiff really fired? What was the

real reason? I conclude from the evidence I have heard in

this case that Eastern thought it had a real image problem:

A transsexual in the cockpit. How is that for you? What

are we going to do about that? The public will not accept it.

We will be the laughing stock of the airline industry. We

have got to do something about it.

Without giving it very much mature thought, Eastern

went into action to sever itself from this problem. It prob-

ably thought this was the way to solve it, but they took the

wrong course in my view. The legal department did the

directing, and the medical department did the casting and

provided the props.

There has been some testimony about the plaintiff’s facade

and her dissembling, her manipulation. I find that the real

C-25

facade and the real dissembling and the real manipulation

has been on the part of Eastern Airlines.

I want to turn now to the second discharge letter. I find

that the second discharge was not a retaliation for having

filed this suit or for having filed the arbitration proceedings.

It was, rather, an attempt to bolster the case for discharge.

Assuming there was a legitimate reason for discharge, there

is nothing wrong with that. As I said yesterday, I think that

is the sensible thing to do. If more ammunition comes to

your attention during the course of litigation or even if there

is no litigation, the sensi’ thing to do is to avail yourself of

it. So I do not hold against Eastern in any way that it sent

out the second letter. That letter, however, has to be evalu-

ated in terms of whether it articulates a non-discriminatory

reason and wheiher that alleged reason is or is not

pretextual.

Now, the first reason in the letter of March 25, 1982, is

that plaintiff failed to disclose to the company her medica-

tion and her psychietric and medical treatment that she had

had over the years for her condition. The conclusion that

Eastern draws from that failure is that plaintiff, “showed a

gross disregard for the safety of your fellow employees and

the public at large and a consistent lack of sound judgment.”

The first thing to note about this alleged reason for dis-

charge is that the fact of the treatment and the fact of the

medication was known to Eastern at the time it wrote the

first letter of discharge. Granted, more detail was unearthed

as a result of discovery in this case, but no additional detail

threw any additional light on the question of whether that

medication or that treatment had a causal relationship to

any safety concern.

Now, the reason that is assigned in item one is that the

alleged failure to report this information earlier showed a

disregard for safety and a lack of sound judgment. Well,

where is the safety hazard, and if there is no safety hazard,

where is the lack of sound judgment? Again, we have a

C-26

failure to articulate, and we have a failure to provide any

substance to the reason given.

The second thing about this reason is that, in fact, the

drugs plaintiff was taking were not dangerous. They did not

affect her ability to fly. So there is no lack of sound judg-

ment. It is not merely a question that Eastern has failed to

show that they were dangerous. I am satisfied from the

evidence here and by the greater weight of that evidence

that, in fact, the drugs were not dangerous in terms of either

plaintiff’s individual ability to pilot the airplane or any

effect it might have on the passengers or crew.

Now, the third consideration in relation to item one is that

there is disparate treatment here between the plaintiff and

the alcoholics, all of whom are male. Captains Shipner and

Helms both testified to the conspiracy of silence that there

had been for years in regard to alcoholic pilots at Eastern

Airlines. Pilots drank and flew. They did not disclose that

to the company, obviously. They were not fired, with rare

exception. The safety factor with alcohol is not unknown,

which is the best Eastern can manage to say about the safety

considerations in regard to female hormones. The safety

factor with alcohol is well-known. If you are drunk, you do

not have the physical or mental ability to fly an airplane or

walk a straight line.

Did they fire these alcoholic pilots who had failed to

reveal that they were drinking and had an alcoholic prob-

lem? No, they did not. But they fired the plaintiff for

having taken hormones and having received psychiatric

treatment for problems that have not been shown to have

any relation whatsoever to safety considerations.

The final thing I consider in connection with item one and,

indeed, in connection with the first discharge letter as well is

the drastic nature of the discipline which was imposed upon

the plaintiff: Discharge—no investigation of any substantial

kind, no fair hearing, no opportunity to reform. Discharge.

What a difference between the way plaintiff was treated and

C-27

the way alcoholics and males with other psychological and

emotional problems have been treated by Eastern Airlines.

Dr. Jones testified without contradiction that first of all,

large amounts of hormones, if ingested, are simply excreted

by the body. He further testified that any ill effects of the

long range kind he said could occur, such as heart trouble, if

they had not occurred by the time the patient ceased taking

the excessive amounts of hormones, they were unlikely to

occur later. In other words, any deleterious effect that might

be argued to occur from taking more hormones than medi-

cally advisable immediately ceases upon the cessation of the

overdosages.

Was any consideration given to telling the plaintiff,

“Look, don’t take what we regard as excessive dosage of

hormones any more,” as the alcoholics were told, “Don’t

drink any more”? No, plaintiff was fired without any oppor-

tunity to satisfy any legitimate medical concern that the

defendant might arguably have had. The defendant was not

interested in giving the plaintiff a chance. The defendant

was not interested in investigating or in following its normal

procedures because it was afraid of what the results would

be. It pretty well knew that those results would not bolster

its already-made decision to fire the plaintiff but, rather,

would undermine the legitimacy of that decision.

Now, the second reason given in the—

Let me say first that reason number one is a pretext.

Turning to reason number two, Eastern says that:

“The failure to disclose the medications and the psy-

chiatric treatment on the FAA applications for medical

certificates shows a consistert pattern of poor judgment

and willingness to endange: ur fellow crew members

and passengers for your own benefit.”

Now, I have already indicated why this is not true and

why Eastern had no basis for saying that it was true. The

hormones were approved by the FAA, and the amounts that

C-28

the plaintiff was taking did not endanger anybody, and

Eastern had no basis for believing otherwise. Eastern has

changed its position here at the trial. Its case has continu-

ally changed as new information and new theories have

occurred or become known to counsel. At trial the thrust of

item number two was that plaintiff is untruthful and, there-

fore, cannot be trusted to give reliable information, and this

actually was the foundation for much of Captain Causey’s

testimony: She did not reveal the medications. Therefore,

how can you trust her in the cockpit?

You will recall how we went around with that and could

not figure out a connection between the two things, but that

is another point. What is important ‘mmediately is that this

is not the reason that Eastern gave in the second firing letter.

They did not say anything about untruthfulness or lack of

trust. They said, “This behavior shows a consistent pattern

of poor judgment and willingness to endanger your fellow

crew members and passengers for your own benefit,” essen-

tially, in other words, the same reason they had given in

item one of the second letter. There was nothing said about

untruthfulness back at the time of the discharge. That has

been added here as further justification at trial.

Now, assuming that Eastern had fired the plaintiff

because of untruthfulness or assuming further that whether

they did or not they can now rely on it as an additional

reason for justifying the firing, we still have the question of

whether that alleged untruthfulness is a pretext or not. I

find that it is or would be if that were what had been relied

upon. The considerations here are, of course, the disparate

treatment of male alcoholics. They had certainly been

untruthful during the entire time the admitted conspiracy of

silence existed. Talk about endangering the flying public,

talk about endangering the fellow crew members for your

own benefit, talk about a legitimate reason to distrust

somebody. How about flying an airplane in an intoxicated

condition or with a condition of alcoholism that is untreated,

C-29

whether or not the pilot may have been drinking immedi-

ately prior to take-off.

In considering again the question of untruthfulness, it has

to be evaluated in company with its neighbors, all of the

other reasons which are clearly pretextual. How likely is it

that we find a winner among all these losers? It is possible,

but in evaluating the good faith of Eastern, I do not evaluate

these reasons in a vacuum one by one.

Now, let’s just assume that Eastern really does believe that

the plaintiff was untruthful in her FAA applications. In

fact, I think it is a very defensible position to take that the

plaintiff should have revealed her psychiatric treatment and

her medications on the applications. There is an argument

the other way. It is clear to me that the plaintiff wanted to

keep her job and concluded correctly, as it turns out, that

revealing these matters would be very likely to result in the

loss of that job for no reason other than the prejudice of her

employer.

I do not say that that justifies any intentional failure to

divulge relevant information on the application form, and I

do not mean to be interpreted as excusing intentional mis-

representation or intentional omission if it is motivated by

self-interest. But on the question of judgment considered

alone and on the question of whether a real safety hazard

was presented, I do not think that the plaintiff used poor

judgment in terms of safety concerns by failing to reveal this

information. But let’s assume otherwise for purposes of

argument.

Let’s assume that si.. intentionally failed to reveal to the

FAA information which she believed they were entitled to

have. How does that differ from what the alcoholics did

during the conspiracy of silence? The answer is, it does not

at all. How does it differ from the failure of any other

Eastern pilot with a serious emotional problem who was

having psychiatric treatment to reveal that information on

his application? It does not.

C-30

Here I would like to refer to the case of McDonald v. Santa

Fe Trail Transportation Company, 427 U.S. 273, at 282. This is

a case where two white employees were fired for stealing

company property whereas a black employee who had been

guilty of the same thing was not fired. The Supreme Court

said this at pages 282 to 283:

“We find this case indistinguishable from McDonuell

Douglas. Fairly read, the complaint asserted that peti-

tioners were discharged for their alleged participation

in a misappropriation of cargo entrusted to Santa Fe but

that a fellow employee likewise implicated was not so

disciplined and that the reason for the discrepancy in

discipline was that the favored employee is Negro while

petitioners are white. [Citation omitted]

While Santa Fe may decide that participation in a

theft of cargo may render an employee unqualified for

employment, this criterion must be ‘applied alike to

members of ail races,’ and Title VII is violated if, as

petitioners alleged, it was not.”

Now, that case was considering the sufficiency of the

complaint, but the principle is applicable here. If Eastern

Airlines decides to fire pilots who are untruthful concerning

relevant medical information on their FAA applications, it

must fire them without regard to sex. It did not do so in the

ease of male pilots. It did do so in from what I can gather

the sole instance of a non-male pilot who arguendo was

guilty of a failure to disclose. This disparate treatment turns

the alleged reason into a pretext on that basis alone.

Now, the third reason in the second letter is that plaintiff

allegedly instigated publicity which was designed to embar-

rass Eastern Airlines. There is no substance whatever to

that accusation. The publicity was made inevitable by East-

ern’s discharge of the plaintiff. Plaintiff had every right to

file this lawsuit. Eastern clearly anticipated that it was in

C-31

for a lawsuit because it geared up for it prior to the dis-

charge, and in view of the unusual nature of this lawsuit,

publicity was inevitable.

I have a jury box here that is filled with members of the

press who were not brought here by the plaintiff. The press

reported the filing of this case extensively at the time it was

filed. They did not learn about it from the plaintiff as far as

I know. They learned about it because it was a matter of

public record. So there was going to be inevitably a lot of

publicity about this case whether plaintiff made herself

available to the media or not.

Now, it is true that she has made herself available to the

media and to other persons as well, medical persons. She has

attended grand rounds with Dr. Berger and contributed to

the medical education of doctors and medical students,

which I think is commendable. The more that we learn

about matters of this kind, the better off we are going to be.

I sat and listened to the television program that emanated

from Philadelphia, and 7 found it to be on the whole a

tasteful and educational program. I do not think the plain-

tiff did anything that was untoward during that interview.

She conducted herself properly as did her attorney. The

moderator of that program, incidentally, struck me as hav-

ing a great deal more perception about the problem of

transsexuality than some of the medical witnesses who tesi-

fied in the case. There is no doubt that he was a lot brighter.

If there was anything that was damaging to Eastern Air-

lines about that program over and above whatever damage it

might have suffered by the mere instigation of this litiga-

tion, it does not occur to me.

Similarly, the newspaper articles that I have read are

factual, typical of newspaper articles that are written about

any litigation which is of public interest and especially cases

that are unusual or even unique in character. In short, much

of this publicity was inevitable. Any incremental publicity

occasioned by plaintiff’s initiation was hardly significant in

O-32

the total picture. But let’s assume that it was. Is this

another pretext? Of course, it is.

I will not go into the Playboy Magazine, but we had there

nude pictures of Eastern Airlines’ employees, which did not

bother Eastern at all. They appeared in Playboy Magazine.

Here we have one picture of an Eastern First or Second

Officer standing beside his wife or, rather, in one pic ure he

is above his wife, and in another picture immediately below

that. here is his wife, an Eastern stewardess, stark naked in a

bathtub in Playboy Magazine with a circulation of how

many millions, and not a peep out of Eastern. Captain

Buittion, I think it was, is not peeping even now. I suppose

that is a terrible pun, isn’t it? I did not mean it that way. A

clearer example of disparate treatment would be hard to

imagine.

The fourth and final reason is that:

“This notoriety would undermine Eastern’s efforts to

reassure passengers of the safety of airline

transportation.”

Here again we have a failure to articulate a comprehen-

sible reason. The relationship between the transsexuality

and the publicity about the transsexuality on the one hand

and any rational safety concern on the other simply does not

appear from the evidence in this case. This ground is plainly

and literally nonsense as far as I can tell.

I find in summary that all of the reasons advanced by

Eastern for the discharge of the plaintiff were pretextual and

were not advanced in good faith.

\

I further find that but for being a transsexual and but for

having had the transsexual surgery, the sex reassignment

surgery, and adopting the life style of a woman, the plaintiff

would not have been discharged.

I further find that the plaintiff was in almost every

instance subjected to discriminatory and disparate treatment

for conduct which was in almost every instance, if not every

C-33

instance, far iess serious that that of male alcoholics whose

conduct was excused by Eastern.

I turn now to the second general question, and that is

whether, assuming a sex-based series of decisions on the part

of Eastern, those decisions can be justified as bona fide

occupational qualifications; that is, can Eastern justify the

proposition that not being a transsexual and not having

transsexual surgery is a bona fide occupational qualification?

In order to prevail on that theory, on which Eastern has

the burden of proof, Eastern would have to prove, according

to the case of Orzel v. City of Wauwatosa Fire Department, 697

F. 2d 743, Seventh Circuit, 1983, at page 753, “that the

challenged sex qualification”—I am inserting “sex” for

“age” in this quotation; it was an age discrimination case—

“that the challenged (sex) qualification is reasonably related

to the essential operation of its business and that either there

is a factual basis for believing that all or substantially all

(transsexuals) would be unable to effectively perform the

duties of (a pilot) or that it is impossible or impracticable to

determine job fitness on an individualized basis.”

Eastern has proved neither of these propositions. The

evidence, on the contrary, proves that neither of these pro-

positions is true.

I am satisfied from this evidence that while some transsex-

uals, just as some tall people and some lefthanders, some fat

people, and some Irishmen would not be safe airline pilots, it

is true that some transsexuals would not be safe airline

pilots. But it cannot be said with any rationality that all

transsexuals are unsafe airline pilots.

Neither can it be said with any rationality that it is

impossible to make this determination of whether or not a

safety hazard is really involved on an individualized basis.

Eastern never attempted to do anything on an individualized

basis and instead attempted to justify its discrimination

against the plaintiff by resort to an indefensible generaliza-

tion about all transsexuals. They got whatever help they

C-34

could from plaintiff’s individualized record. Wherever they

could find something that they could use against the plaintiff,

they threw it in, but they blinded themselves utterly to any-

thing in the individualized record which favored plaintiff,

which tended to show that she was and would be a safe pilot

and, of course, failed to conduct any investigation of any kind

that would be likely to reveal the truth in that regard.

I am going to enter judgment for the plaintiff, and the

question is on what counts and against which defendants.

Count I alleges that plaintiff was discharged because she is a

woman. Count II alleges that she was discharged because

she is a transsexual.

I feel more comfortable with Count II. I believe that these

are truly alternate theories and that it cannot be both ways.

It has got to be one or the other. The evidence much more

clearly establishes in my opinion that transsexuals are

entitled to protection under the act than it does that an

operated transsexual is now a woman. While I would not

argue with the latter proposition, the former seems to me

more strongly supported by this record.

Accordingly, I am going to enter judgment against the

defendants and in favor of the plaintiff on Count II, the

transsexual count. In doing so, I do not mean to imply that

if Count I were the only count I would not enter judgment

for plaintiff on that count. I say that because one never

knows “beyond a shadow of a doubt” what the Appellate

Courts might do, and in the event the finding on Count II

should be reversed, I would want plaintiff to be in the

position of arguing alternatively that the judgment should

be affirmed on Count I because upon remand in such a

situation, I would enter judgment for plaintiff on Count I on

the basis of the record that has already been made here.

Now, I believe that judgment is proper on Count II against

all defendants but Shipner. It is not clear from the com-

plaint just who is charged in what count, but Shipner is not

alleged to have done anything that I can see in Counts J or

C-35

II. I gather he is in the conspiracy count and some of the

other counts later on, but as to the remaining defendants,

Eastern, Buttion, Millett—

MR. DICKIE: Excuse me, your honor. I believe it was

stipulated that Title VII was against the company.

THE COURT: Against the company only?

MS. TINKER: Yes.

THE COURT: All right, that simplifies matters.

Judgment will be entered against Eastern only.

Now, as I indicated before we started this trial, I believed

and still believe that this case will be greatly simplified by a

determination on appeal concerning the sex discrimination

counts. Either way the case went, the sensible thing to do in

my view was to certify the judgment under Rule 54(b). The

case is not, however, at this juncture in a posture for such

certification because we do not have a final order. In order to

have a final order, we cannot have merely a declaration of

rights; we have got to have a judgment that is enforceable.

I am going to declare and do declare that the plaintiff is

entitled to reinstatement with full seniority from the date of

her discharge, all employment benefits that she would

otherwise have received had she not been discharged, full

back pay, and her reasonable attorneys’ fees. What remains

to be determined is the amount of the back pay and, of

course, the amount of these benefits and her place on the

roster, the possible question of mitigation of damages, all of

which, it seems to me, will be fairly simple.

It seems to me that much of it can be stipulated to, but

maybe not. I do not know. I urge you to get together as you

have throughout this case. There has been acrimony, but I

think generally speaking counsel have conducted themselves

as professionals, and I am sure you wiil continue to do so,

and you can save your clients a lot of time and expense by

C-36

cooperating in whatever further discovery might be

necessary.

Plaintiff’s income tax returns, for instance, should be pro-

duced on the question of mitigation or whatever other fact

they may be pertinent to.

There is one more item | want to cover before I cease these

brief remarks, and that is a very important misquotation

that occurred in the reported version of my oral opinion

when I denied the motion to dismiss. I did not even know it

had been reported. Somebody sent it in, and when I read it

the other day in 28 F.E.P. Cases, there is one statement that

is the exact reverse of what I said or at least what I meant to

say. I am going to read the statement so | can correct it now

in the record.

This is at page 1439 of that report. The statement was:

“What does seem to me apparent is that there is no

way out of the conclusion that whatever the physiology

may be, it has nothing to do with sex as that term is

constantly understood.”

Now, the word, “nothing,” there totally turns on its head

what I was trying to say. I am sure that I used the word,

“something,” and if I did not, that is what I meant to say,

and I want to clarify that for future reference.

It is surprising to me that nobody caught that before it

was sent in. I think I would have caught it had somebody

told me they were going to send it in. I think for whatever

good it might do, I will send that correction into the book

publisher so that I do not go down in posterity as someone

who cannot articulate a reason for a decision.

What do counsel suggest in terms of a hearing on the

damage question? Do you want to think about it and let me

know?

MR. DICKIE: Your Honor, I would hope that we could

prepare perhaps a judgment order and work it out. We have

C-37

some other number of things to talk to Mr. Brown about.

Maybe we could prepare something.

THE COURT: Well, here is what I intend to do as far as

the judgment order is concerned. I intenu to have these

remarks transcribed. I will then read them over, correct any

grammatical errors or double dangling participles and make

that my findings of fact and conclusions of law, and that will

be appended physically to a very short judgment order, and

that will save everybody the time and effort.

I mean, the reason I took this time is | want to state the

reasons for my decision, and to the best of my ability, I have

done so. So do not bother preparing any additional facts or

conclusions.

MR. DICKIE: What you would like is some

computations.

THE COURT: Yes, exactly, but these are my findings on

the liability question.

What do you think we should do, have a status call?

MR. DICKIE: We can probably do it in a week.

MR. BROWN: About a week would be fine. I take it

what we are looking for would be a dollar amount concerning

the back pay plus benefits.

THE COURT: Right. I think you start feeding things

into the computer, and you get the answer. And, of course,

this is without prejudice to Eastern’s position that it is not

liable for anything.

MR. BROWN: Yes.

THE COURT: I mean, all this will have no effect if the

liability finding is reversed.

MR. BROWN: I think we can work it out. As a matter

of fact, if you would start working on the income tax returns,

we can get that done.

C-38

THE COURT: How about January 3rd at 10:00 o’clock?

MR. DICKIE: That may be just a bit soon with the

holiday.

THE COURT: How about January 10th or sometime

between the 3rd and the 10th? We can make it any morning

you want.

MR. BROWN: The i0th would be all right.

THE COURT: That is a Tuesday. Tuesday is the 10th.

MR. DICKIE: Tuesday is the 10th, your Honor?

THE COURT: Is that all right?

MR. DICKIE: Tuesday the 10th, your Honor.

THE COURT: Tuesday the 10th at 10:00 o’clock.

MR. DICKIE: Thank you very much.

THE COURT: Thank you, counsel.

(Which were all the proceedings had in the above-entitled

cause on the day and date aforesaid.)

I certify that the foregoing is a correct transcript from the

record of proceedings in the above-entitled matter.

Laura M. Brennan Date

APPENDIX D

D-1

APPENDIX D

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

>

KAREN FRANCES ULANE,

Plaintiff

V. ‘

EASTERN AIRLINES, INC., et al.,

Defendants. J

NO. 81 C 4411

MEMORANDUM OPINION

In my oral findings of fact and conclusions of law

announced from the bench on December 28, 1983, I expressed

an intention to find in favor of the plaintiff on Count II

(discrimination against a transsexual) and against the plain-

tiff on Count I (discrimination against a female). It seemed

to me that plaintiff had made a much better case that she is a

transsexual than that she is a female. Upon further reflec-

tion, I think plaintiff may have made an equally good case

on Count I. See M.T. v. J.T., 140 N.J. Super. 77, 355 A.2d 204

(App. Div.), cert. denied, 71 N.J. 345, 364 A.2d 1076 (1976); In

Re Anonymous, 57 Misc.2d 813, 293 N.Y.S.2d 834 (N.Y. Civ.

Ct. 1968); The Law and Transsexualism: A Faltering Response to

a Conceptual Dilemma, 7 Conn. L. Rev. 288 (1975); Comment,

Transsexualism, Sex Reassignment Surgery, and the Law, 56

Cornell L. Rev. 963 (1971); Comment, Transsexuals in Limbo:

The Search for a Legal Definition of Sex, 31 Md. L. Rev. 236

(1971). Moreover, if I were to find against plaintiff on Count

I, she would be compelled to cross appeal, and this would be

anomolous. She has prevailed on her Title VII claim and

should »ot be burdened with having to appeal the rejection of

an alternative theory to support the relief granted.

D-2

Accordingly, the judgment will be in favor of plaintiff on

both Counts I and II of the complaint.

DATED: February 8, 1984

ENTER: /s/ JOHN F. GRADY

United States District Judge

APPENDIX E

E-1

APPENDIX E

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

KAREN FRANCES ULANE,

Plaintiff,

* NO. 81 C 4411

EASTERN AIRLINES, INC., et al.,

Defendant. }

SUPPLEMENTAL FINDINGS

Plaintiff has moved, pursuant to Rule 52(b) Fed. R. Civ.

P., for clarification of the court’s rulings in regard to Count I

of the complaint. She asks for an indication that the find-

ings supporting the conclusion that plaintiff is a transsexual

also support a finding that she is a female and, further, that

the findings as to sexual discrimination be made expressly

applicable to Count I as well as to Count II.

The basic question in this case is whether plaintiff was

discharged because of her sex within the meaning of Title

VII. I found that, whether plaintiff be regarded as a

transsexual or as a female, she was discharged by Eastern

Airlines because of her sex. On the question of plaintiff’s

exact sexual status, I was satisfied from the evidence that she

is a transsexual and so found. If Title VII protects transsex-

uals, then plaintiff is entitled to the relief awarded. On the

other hand, if on appeal Title VII is held not to apply to

transsexuals, then plaintiff should have a ruling on her

alternative position that she is a female. As an alternative to

my finding that plaintiff is a transsexual, I find that plain-

tiff’s post operative legal status is that of a female. If on the

evidence presented in this case the choices were limited to

male or female, I would and do find that the evidence clearly

E-2

predominates in favor of the conclusion that plaintiff is a

female, not a male. All of the evidence which supports the

view that plaintiff is a transsexual also supports the finding

that she is a female.

It was and is my intention that all of my findings and

conclusions concerning sexual discrimination against the

plaintiff by Eastern Airlines, Inc. apply with equal force

whether plaintiff be regarded as a transsexual or a female.

DATED: March 6, 1984

ENTER: /s/ JOHN F. GRADY

United States District Judge

APPENDIX F

APPENDIX F

In the

Wnited States Court of Appeals

For the Seventh Circuit

Chicago, Illinois 60604

November 16, 1984.

Before

Hon. WALTER J. CUMMINGS, Chief Judge

Hon. HARLINGTON Woop, JR., Circuit Judge

Hon. EDWARD DUMBAULD, Senior District Judge*

KAREN FRANCES ULANE, Appeal from the United

‘sate Ss District Court f

Plaintiff ~Appe lee, The } A vanevwed inion

No. 84-1431 vs. of Illinois, Eastern

‘ Division.

EASTERN AIRLINES, INC., A Delaware No. 81 C 4411

corporation, a:

John F. Grady, Judge

Defendant-A ppellant. -

On consideration of the petition for rehearing and sugges-

tion for rehearing in banc filed on September 18, 1984, in the

above-entitled cause by counsel for plaintiff-appellee Karen

Frances Ulane, no judge in active service has requested a

vote thereon, and all of the judges on the original panel have

voted to deny a rehearing. Accordingly,

IT IS ORDERED that the aforesaid petition for rehearing

be, and the same is hereby, DENIED.

*The Honorable Edward Dumbauld, Senior District Judge of

the United States District Court for the Western District of Penn-

sylvania, is sitting by designation.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.