Amicus Curiae Brief — Metropolitan Life Insurance v. Massachusetts
Supreme Court brief1985
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
(a) FILED
QW JAN 25 1985
ALEXANDER L sTeqas
CLERX
IN THE
Siuyreme Cunt of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1984
METROPOLITAN LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY,
. Appellant,
COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS,
Appellee.
THE TRAVELERS INSURANCE COMPANY,
7 Appellant,
COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS,
Appellee.
On Appeal from the Supreme Judicial Court
for the Commonwealth of Massachusetts
BRIEF OF THE NATIONAL CONFERENCE OF
STATE LEGISLATURES,
THE COUNCIL OF STATE GOVERNMENTS,
THE NATIONAL LEAGUE OF CITIES,
THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF COUNTIES,
THE U.S. CONFERENCE OF MAYORS, AND THE
INTERNATIONAL CITY MANAGEMENT ASSOCIATION
AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF APPELLEE
LAWRENCE R. VELVEL JOYCE HOLMES BENJAMIN
444 North Capitol Street, N.W. The State and Local Legal Center
Suite 349 444 North Capitol Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20001 Suite 349
(202) 688-1445 Washington, D.C. 20001
Of Counsel (202) 638-1445
Counsel of Record for the
Amici Curiae
QUESTION PRESENTED
Whether the Employment Retirement Income Security
Act (ERISA) preempts state laws requiring health in-
surance policies to provide particular minimum benefits
to the insured.
(i)
TABLE OF CONTENTS
QUESTION PRESENTED ...................-...--.-----------------
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES.
INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE .....00W.....
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..W00200....22...------.s--s-e00--s
A. Health Insurance, Which Is an Essential Means
of Covering Health Costs, Often Has Gaps In
Coverage And Appears To Be Preeminently Ob-
tained By Means Other Than Collective Bar-
gaining Agreements ................... : ae
B. Massachusetts Adopted Section 47B Only After
Careful Consideration of the Problems of In-
adequate Coverage __.............--...--eeeeeeneneeeeceeeeeeeee
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .WW
TT
I. State Laws Mandating Minimum Health Insur-
ance Benefits Are Not Preempted by ERISA ....
A. Introduction
B. Congress Saved State Insurance Laws From.
Preemption by ERISA ~......_.....
II. Section 47B Is Not Preempted by the National
Labor Relations Act
CONCLUSION ....
(iii)
Page
11
17
iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES
Alessi v. Raybestos-Manhattan, Inc., 451 U.S. 504
SERIE iconeciccsnciaseineseunndtanisiinaetnauaniamteiiicmtaapinsiids 11,
Belknap, Inc. v. Hale, 103 S. Ct. 3172 (1983)..........
Farmer v. Carpenters, 430 U.S. 290 (1977) ...........
Florida Lime and Avocado Growers Inc. v. Paul,
I Ts I a sdiiteidies
Group Life & Health Insurance Co. v. Royal Drug
is ee eenmseummaes
Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52 (1941) 0.0...
Insurance Comm’r v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co.,
296 Md. 334, 463 A.2d 7938 (1983) _..............2000...
International Ass’n of Machinists v. Gonzales, 356
FR ER Seer ae ee ee
Linn v. United Plant Guard Workers, 383 U.S. 53
Ee eae wee Nee we Sane
Machinists v. Wisconsin Employment Relations
Commission, 427 U.S. 182 (1976) .......000000000000...
New York Telephone Co. v. New York State De-
partment of Labor, 440 U.S. 519 (1979)............
Paul v. Virginia, 8 Wall. 168 (1869) 000.
Pennhurst State School & Hospital v. Halderman,
Se ee Oe I ici cittdtneiteceinedbdbietie
Prudential Insurance Co. v. Benjamin, 328 U.S.
IRS HE PARACEL E RA AAEN
San Diego Building Trades Council v. Garmon,
Ps I I ita i
Securities and Exchange Comm’n v. National Secu-
rities, Inc., 3938 U.S. 453 (1969) _......0.00
Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 103 S.Ct. 2890
CREED <ismsnidsipeicetpsincinnnnnniediesiesininenmininecbitaiiis 10,
Taggart v. Weinacker’s Inc., 397 U.S. 223 (1970)..
United Constr. Workers v. Laburnum Constr.
CP, Be Cris Ge CI cecntcccceeecccccvcsennststccnssenene
United States v. South-Eastern Underwriters
SOT, THe WT, GD CD veeexcctccecceresccncnsccecescweesess
Wadsworth v. Whaland, 562 F.2d 70 (1st Cir.
1977), cert. denied, 435 U.S. 980 (1978)
Page
14, 18
19
13, 17
19
19
Vv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
STATUTES AND REGULATIONS Page
Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974,
Se SA, I ssidapiaebernionel passim
Section 514(a), 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a) -................. 11
Section 514(b) (2) (A), 29 U.S.C. 1144(b) (2)
ii leas cinhip an cilaieltalilancinadiheliagealiicaitaaliomeiompananien 11
Section 514(b) (2) (B), 29 U.S.C. 1144(b) (2)
I sec bined cihanceidigiacaahiatipliette 1l
Massachusetts Gen. Laws ch. 175, § 47B ................ passim
McCarran-Ferguson Act:
LTR 14, 18
National Labor Relations Act:
6 Ree 9, 17, 18, 19
New Hampshire Rev. Stat. Ann., Laws of 1976,
cia oie asiaenlacenitaiinitpinnenmpnsaintiannsinuttintcoe 12
BOOKS AND PERIODICALS
Cox, Labor Law Preemption Revisited, 85 Har. L.
i Fe a tiicckicniciicicteseincipiadimenitinianiendtecees 19
Note, ERISA Preemption and Indirect Regulation
of Employee Welfare Plans Through State In-
surance Laws, 78 Col. L. Rev. 1536 (1978)......... 12
Health Insurance Ass’n. of America, Source Book
of Health Insurance Data, 1982-83, Table 1.1,
Table 4.1, Table 4.7, Table 5.1, Table 5.3 ............ 3,4
U.S. Dept. of Comm. Statistical Abstract of the
United States, 1984, 104th ed., Table 155, Per-
sons With Health Coverage by Type of Cover-
age; Table 726, Labor Union and Employee
Association Membership; Table 728, Labor Or-
ganizations and Membership; Table 729, Em-
ployed Workers in Labor Organizations ............ 5
U.S. Dept. of Labor, Growp Health Insurance Cov-
erage of Private Full-Time Wage and Salary
Re I i icesneeee 5
U.S. Dept. of Labor, Report of Labor Management
Services Administration (1982 report) ............... 5
vi
IN THE
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued ‘Supreme Court of the United States
MISCELLANEOUS Page OCTOBER TERM, 1984
Blue Cross Association, Legal Affairs Bulletin
(available at Blue Cross Association, Washing-
Ee ee Skee a Pe ae ee 2 No. 84-325 and 84-356
Blue Cross Association: G. Scandler, Total Num-
ber of States With Mandated Coverage (1984),
(unpublished report—available at Blue Cross
Asseclotion, Washington, D.C) on METROPOLITAN LIFE INSURANCE ye
General Court of Massachusetts, Report of the v.
Joint Committee on Insurance, August 1974, Jt. COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS
i 6, 7,8 Auneile
H. Rep. No. 148, 79th Cong., Ist Sess. (1945), re- —
printed in U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 670........ 18
Memorandum for the United States as amicus THE TRAVELERS INSURANCE COMPANY,
curiae, filed March 27, 1978, at the request of v. Appellant,
the Court, Wadsworth v. Whaland and Dawson
v. Whaland, Nos. 77-765 and 77-772, October
NN RNR eco Dalen aac 352k 12, 13
COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS,
Appellee.
On Appeal from the Supreme Judicial Court
for the Commonwealth of Massachusetts
BRIEF OF THE NATIONAL CONFERENCE OF
STATE LEGISLATURES,
THE COUNCIL OF STATE GOVERNMENTS,
THE NATIONAL LEAGUE OF CITIES,
THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF COUNTIES,
THE U.S. CONFERENCE OF MAYORS, AND THE
INTERNATIONAL CITY MANAGEMENT ASSOCIATION
AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF APPELLEE
INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE
The amici are organizations whose members include
, state, county and municipal governments and officials lo-
cated throughout the United States. Amici and their
members have a vital interest in legal issues that affect
2
the powers and responsibilities of state and local govern-
ment.
The question in this case—whether the Employee Re-
tirement Income Security Act (ERISA) preempts all state
laws requiring health insurance policies to provide mini-
mum mental health benefits to the insureds—is one of
vital importance to amici and their members.
States are deeply concerned that citizens suffering from
crucial medical problems be covered by insurance and
receive treatment. Many people first discover in the mid-
dle of a medical crisis that their health insurance policy
does not protect them from the ravaging cost of medical
care. To close unacceptable gaps in private health insur-
ance coverage, 49 states now mandate various forms of
minimum coverage in all health insurance policies sold in
the state. Mandated benefits include neo-natal care, de-
pendent care, coverage for catastrophic illness and cover-
age for alcohol and drug problems.? In addition, Massa-
chusetts and at least 27 other states mandate insurance
coverage for mental illness.
States have an additional interest in providing for ex-
panded insurance coverage of serious health problems
through insurance. Advances in medical science have cre-
ated a need for more private and public health programs.
The demand for high quality health care is enormous
and growing, but states have a limited fiscal capacity to
meet even the present call for services. Nor is the federal
government meeting the need for servics. The state policy
at issue here accommodates this need by promoting a
better level of health care for citizens and earlier treat-
1 Blue Cross Association: G. Scandler, Total Number of States
With Mandated Coverage (1984) (unpublished report available at
Blue Cross Association, Washington, D.C.).
? Blue Cross Association: Legal Affairs Bulletin and G. Scandler,
Total Number of States With Mandated Coverage (1984) (unpub-
lished report available at Blue Cross Association, Washington, D.C.).
3
ment for mental illness and other medical problems.
Moreover, the state policy accomplishes this without addi-
tional overwhelming economic burdens being placed on
state and local governments, which already spend approx-
imately $40 billion a year on health and medical care.*
The foregoing shows that the legal issues presented by
this case are of great importance to state governments,
especially since a decision adverse to Massachusetts would
eviscerate the mandated benefit laws of no less than 49
states. Thus amici are submitting this brief to assist the
Court in its resolution of this action.*
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
Amici agree with the statement of facts submitted by
the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. In addition, amici
wish to call the Court’s attention to the following facts,
which demonstrate the importance of this case to state
and local government:
A. Health Insurance, Which Is an Essential Means of
Covering Health Costs, Often Has Gaps In Coverage
And Appears To Be Preeminently Obtained By Means
Other Than Collective Bargaining Agreements.
1. Health care cost $286.6 billion nationally in 1981.
This was an estimated 9.8 percent of the gross uational
product.’ Because the cost also averaged $1,225 per per-
son, it is plain that few families could afford the entire
8 Total state and local government expenditures for health and
medical care in 1981 were $38.6 billion. Health Insurance Ass’n. of
America, Source Book of Health Insurance Data, 1982-83, Table 4.1.
The public health programs of State health agencies cost $4.9 bil-
lion a year. This does not include funds expended for public health
purposes by other state agencies. Nor does it include expenditures
of local health departments. Health Insurance Ass’n. of America,
Source Book of Health Insurance Data, 1982-83, Table 4.7.
4 Pursuant to Rule 36, the parties have consented to the filing of
this amicus brief. Their letters of consent have been lodged with
the Clerk of the Court.
5 Health Insurance Ass’n. of America, Source Book of Health In-
surance Data, 1982-83, Table 5.1 and Table 5.2.
4
costs of health care unaided.* An essential way of cover-
ing these costs is through health insurance.
By the end of 1981, more than 188 million Americans,
or 84 percent of the civilian non-institutional population,
were protected by some form of private health insurance.”
With the growth of private health insurance plans, how-
ever, states have become increasingly concerned about the
quality and the extent of coverage that these plans pro-
vide to insured individuals.
It has been found that private plans too often have
serious gaps in coverage, gaps which exist until states
mandate the necessary coverage. For example, neo-natal
care or newborn coverage was not provided in most
health insurance policies until mandated by law. New-
born babies usually were not covered by insurance until
10 to 30 days after birth. Parents of newborn children
with congenital medical problems often found themselves
uninsured and faced with devastating medical bills.
Gaps in coverage have also been found in other im-
portant medical areas, including maternity care, cata-
strophic illness, mental health, and alcohol and drug prob-
lems. A major reason for the gaps in coverage is the
problem of adverse selection of risks. This problem ex-
ists when particular forms of coverage are optional. To
illustrate, persons of an age where they do not expect
catastrophic illness may not purchase optional insurance
providing for coverage of such illness. This limits the
pool of applicants for the insurance and drives up the
price to prohibitive levels. A state law which mandates
coverage for catastrophic illness spreads the risks and
costs over a wider pool of insureds, and thereby causes
the insurance to be available at a reasonable price.
2. Private health insurance plans are predominantly
group plans, and it seems highly likely that vast numbers
® Source Book of Health Insurance Data, supra, Table 5.3.
7 Source Book of Health Insurance Data, supra, at 7 and Table 1.1.
5
of individuals covered by health insurance—probably
even the overwhelming majority of such persons—have
not received their coverage as a result of collective bar-
gaining agreements. This is indicated by statistics. As
said above, by the end of 1981 over 188 million Amer-
icans had some form of private health insurance. Al-
though over 137 million of these people were members of
group plans by 1980,* in 1978, the most recent year for
which statistics are available, labor union membership
nationally was only 21,784,000.° Furthermore, by 1979,
when 43.6 million full-time private sector employees were
covered by group health plans, only 14.01 million of them
were union members with a right of collective bargaining.
Similarly, though by 1979 11.4 million full-time govern-
ment workers were covered by group health plans, in
1980 oniy 4.9 million full-time government employees
were union members with a right of collective bargain-
ing. Thus though definitive statistics are not available,
it seems obvious that most covered individuals obtain in-
surance not because of collective bargaining agreemenis,
but because of voluntary provision by an employer or
by means of self purchase.
B. Massachusetts Adopted Section 47B Only After Care-
ful Consideration of the Problems of Inadequate
Coverage.
In 1973, Massachusetts enacted a law requiring any
general health insurance policy to provide minimum bene-
8 In 1981, 855,000 group plans were on file nationally. U.S. Dept.
of Labor, Report of Labor Management Services Administration 32
(1982 report).
®U.S. Dept. of Comm., Statistical Abstract of the United States,
1984, 104th ed. No. 155, Persons With Health Care Coverage by
Type of Coverage; Number 729, Employed Workers in Labor Or-
ganizations; No. 728, Labor Organization Membership; No. 726,
Labor Union and Employee Association Membership.
10 U.S. Dept. of Labor, Group Health Insurance Coverage of Pri-
vate Full-Time Wage and Salary Workers, 1979 (1981).
6
fits for beneficiaries suffering from mental health condi-
tions (Massachusetts Gen. Laws ch. 175, § 47B)." This
law was adopted only after extensive legislative consid-
eration and hearings, and a lengthy report of the Legis-
lature’s Joint Committee On Insurance.”* It was enacted
to meet the serious health problem caused by inadequate
and delayed treatment of mental illness.
Massachusetts was acting “on some grave problem
areas since years were passing without any policy emerg-
ing from Washington.” ** The legislature was especially
concerned with the spread of mental illness among work-
ers and among the poor. However, because mental illness
strikes indiscriminately, the coverage “safeguards the
. . » young and old, rich and poor, against the burden-
11 The law requires that minimum mental health care benefits for
inpatient care must be provided in all general health insurance
policies. And, to the extent of $500 over a 12-month period, out-
patient care must also be covered, if provided by comprehensive
mental health organizations, licensed or accredited hospitals or com-
munity mental health centers. See Appendix, infra.
12 The Report of the Joint Committee on Insurance was carefully
considered by the courts below in reaching their decision. For
example, the Supreme Judicial Court of Massachusetts in its
March 24, 1982 opinion stated in footnote 24:
“A report of the Joint Committee on Insurance of the General
Court, incorporated into the findings of the judge below, demon-
strates “hat the Legislature was concerned with the spread of
mental . Iness among workers and among the poor. In the com-
mittee’s view, mental health insurance programs would encour-
age community-based, out-patient care and decrease the need
for institutionalization. ‘Mental illness strikes indiscriminately
2mong young and old, rich and poor. A néed therefore exists
for all people to be safeguarded against the high and some-
times crippling costs of professional mental health care today.’
General Court Joint Committee on Insurance, Advances in
Health Insurance in Massachusetts 9 (1974).”
18 Report on the legislation, the Joint Committee on Insurance
of the Massachusetts General Court. Joint Appendix of the Parties
(hereafter J.A.)-427.
7
some cost of professional mental health services and
care.” ** The legislature found that inpatient institu-
tional care in mental hospitals was often obsolete and in
many cases very damaging.” But “[o]utpatient care
given at a local community mental health center...
enables the mentally ill to receive adequate treatment
without costly institutionalization .. .” **
The Committee noted that because only one percent of
the people of the Commonwealth were previously insured
for outpatient care, community mental health centers had
been publicly supported, costing Massachusetts taxpayers
millions of dollars annually. However, “[b]y making
mental health care coverage mandatory, Massachusetts
can continue the thrust toward community-based care...
increas[ing] the availability for treatment in privately
run mental health centers but savling] the taxpayers
money as well.” 7”
Mental health insurance, the Committee found, can be
offered at a reasonable cost only when included in large
group policies. Also, for the cost to be reasonable, in-
surance for mental illness has to be a mandatory feature
of all policies sold in the state. “An optional offer to
cover mental illness is contrary to the most basic prin-
ciple of insurance—that of ‘risk sharing’.” **
The committee also found that insurance coverage for
mental health was not abused where it was offered and
14 Report on the legislation, supra, J.A.-430-431.
15 Report on the legislation, supra, J.A.-431.
16 Report on the legislation, supra, J.A.-432. Deinstitutionalization
of the mentally ill and mentally retarded is a policy that has received
considerable support and encouragement from the federal govern-
ment. See, e.g., Pennhurst State School and Hospital v. Halderman,
451 U.S. 1 (1981).
17 Report on the legislation, supra, J.A.-432.
18 Report on the legislation, supra, J.A.-433.
that it decreased non-psychiatric medical care for so-
called physical ailments. A study by the Group Health
Association in Washington, DC, for example, demon-
strated that providing mental health services substan-
tially reduced the amount of nonpsychiatric care that was
needed.** The patients who received outpatient psychia-
tric treatment required a significantly smaller amount of
services from physicians and fewer laboratory and X-ray
procedures.
The Committee concluded that to enlarge the commu-
nity health care system “and make [outpatient treat-
ment] available to millions of Massachusetts residents
mental health insurance must be mandatory .. .” ”
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
I.
Forty-nine states have enacted laws which require
health insurance companies to include various types of
medical benefits in their insurance policies. The states
passed these laws to protect their citizens against medical
problems which are a menace to public health. If the
laws are held preempted, millions of citizens will be left
unprotected against these problems.
However, when it enacted ERISA, Congress did not
intend to preempt the state laws. This is not only the
position of amici, but is the position that has been ex-
pressed to the Court by the federal government, whose
law is involved.
Such position is supported by ERISA’s broad savings
clause, under which state laws regulating insurance are
exempted from preemption. Moreover, when it enacted
ERISA, Congress was aware of state insurance laws re-
19 Report on the legislation, supra, J.A.-435.
2» Report on the legislation, supra, J.A.-437.
9
quiring carriers to provide various benefits, yet it never-
theless inserted the broad savings clause exempting state
insurance laws from preemption. In so doing, Congress
adhered to its traditional position that regulation of in-
surance is for the states.
Furthermore, Congress did not deal in any way with
the substantive content of health insurance policies when
it enacted ERISA. Thus, if state mandated benefit laws
such as Section 47B are struck down, citizens will have
no government protection, be it federal or state. Nor
will vast numbers of citizens obtain whatever protection
can be secured through collective bargaining. For mil-
lions of citizens—very likely the vast majority of those
who are covered by health insurance—do not obtain their
coverage by means of collective bargaining agreements.
Finally, appellants argue that in the absence of pre-
emption there will be a lack of uniformity among state
mandated benefit laws. Their argument is addressed to
the wrong forum. It should be addressed to Congress,
which contemplated non-uniformity when it inserted the
savings clause exempting state insurance laws from
preemption.
Il.
State mandated benefit laws are not preempted by the
NLRA. Congress did not intend the NLRA to supersede
state laws regulating insurance. And it is inconceivable
that Congress intended the NLRA to strip states of their
historic power to safeguard the public health—a result
which would ensue if there is preemption here.
Moreover, there also is no preemption under the tests
the Court often uses in labor matters. First, laws such
as Section 47B are deeply rooted in local feeling and re-
sponsibility because they protect the local public health.
Second, they do not affect any economic weapon (such as
strikes) used by labor or management.
10
ARGUMENT
I. STATE LAWS MANDATING MINIMUM HEALTH
INSURANCE BENEFITS ARE NOT PREEMPTED
BY ERISA
A. Introduction
This case presents a fundamental question of preemp-
tion which deeply concerns state and local governments.
The principal issue is whether ERISA prohibits states
from protecting the health of their citizens by requiring
that health insurance policies provide minimum benefits
for such serious problems as mental illness, catastrophic
illness, medical care for newborn babies, and dependency
on alcohol or drugs. Massachusetts and 48 other states
have enacted laws that mandate minimum benefits be-
cause these problems are a menace to public health, there
have been gaps in insurance coverage, and the laws re-
duce the costs of insurance because of a wider sharing
of risk.
Moreover, as this Court has recognized, Congress, when
it enacted ERISA, did not deal in any way with the sub-
stantive content of health insurance plans. Shaw v. Delta
Air Lines, Inc., 103 S.Ct. 2980, 2897 (1983). Instead, Con-
gress left the regulation of insurance to the states, which
have traditionally exercised such power of regulation.
There is thus no conflict between ERISA and Section
47B of the Massachusetts law. To the contrary, if Sec-
tion 47B were held preempted, tens of millions of citizens
would be left without any protective regulation, federal
or state. Thus, in enacting mandated benefit laws, states
are acting in pursuit of the legitimate and traditional
state purpose of protecting the health and welfare of
their citizens. In this regard, statutes such as Section
47B exemplify state innovation designed to solve signifi-
cant social problems without reliance on Washington for
help.
!
|
11
B. Congress Saved State Insurance Laws From Pre-
emption by ERISA
1. As this Court recently stated, “Preemption of state
law by federal statute or regulation is not favored ‘in
the absence of persuasive reasons—either that the nature
of the regulated subject matter permits no other conclu-
sion, or that the Congress has unmistakably so ordained.’ ”
Alessi v. Raybestos-Manhattan, Inc., 451 U.S. 504, 522
(1981). “Persuasive reasons” for preemption exist when
there is an actual conflict between state and federal law,
i.e. when “compliance with both federal and state regula-
tions is a physical impossibility,” Florida Lime and Avo-
cado Growers Inc. v. Paul, 373 U.S. 182, 142-143 (1963),
or when state law “stands as an obstacle to the accom-
plishment and execution of the full purposes and objec-
tives of Congress.” Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52,
67 (1941).
There are no such “persuasive reasons” for preemp-
tion in this case. Though Section 514 of ERISA provides
that all state laws that “relate” to employee benefit plans
are preempted,” this clause is followed by a broad sav-
ings clause which exempts state insurance laws from
preemption: “Except as provided in subparagraph (B),
nothing in the subchapter should be construed to exempt
or relieve any person from any law of any state which
regulates insurance. ...” ~ Thus, instead of preempting
state laws regulating insurance, Congress has expressly
said that they are free of preemption.”
21 ERISA Section 514(a), 29 U.S.C. §1144(a). See Appendix,
infra.
2 ERISA Section 514(b)(2)(A), 29 U.S.C. § 1144(b) (2) (A).
See Appendix, infra.
23 Section 514(b) (2) (B), 29 U.S.C. § 1144(b) (2) (B) provides
that no state can deem an employee benefit plan to be an insurance
company, or to be engaged in the business of insurance, for purposes
of “regulating” insurance. This “deemer” clause simply prohibits
12
The federal government, whose law is involved here,
has agreed that state laws which require insurance poli-
cies to provide mental health benefits are not preempted
by ERISA. It has said these laws are excluded from pre-
emption by the savings clause even though they indirectly
affect employee benefit plans which purchase the insur-
ance policies.* As the Solicitor General said:
“This savings provision would be meaningless unless
it saved from preemption state laws regulating in-
surance which also indirectly regulate employee bene-
fit plans, since no other state law regulating insur-
ance would be subject to preemption under the Act
even in the absence of the savings provision. Chap-
ter 57 obviously “regulates insurance,” and thus the
court correctly found that Congress intended that
law and others like it to remain effective regardless
of ERISA’s otherwise broad preemption of state
laws relating to plans... .*
The fact that the purchaser of insurance is an em-
ployee benefit plan is immaterial; Congress did not
intend to confer any special exemption or privilege
on them as insurance buyers. Insurance sales to
them must conform to the same rules as those to any
the state from regulating employee welfare benefit plans by calling
them insurers. It does not prohibit the state from regulating bona
fide insurers when they are doing business with employee benefit
plans. Note, ERISA Preemption and Indirect Regulation of Em-
ployee Welfare Plans Through State Insurance Laws, 78 Col. L.
Rev. 1586, 1541 (1978).
2 Memorandum for the United States as amicus curiae, filed
March 27, 1978, at the request of the Court, Wadsworth v. Whaland
and Dawson v. Whaland, Nos. 77-765 and 77-772, October Term
1977. Wadsworth v. Whaland, 561 F.2d 70 (1st Cir. 1977), cert.
denied, 435 U.S. 98 (1978).
2% The issue in Wadsworth v. Whaland was whether a New Hamp-
shire statute, Chapter 57 of N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. of Laws of 1976,
which mandates mental health benefits in group health insurance
policies, was preempted by ERISA.
13
other insurance buyer, and if a state determines, as
New Hampshire has done here, that all group health
insurance sold in the state must provide coverage
for mental and emotional disturbance, the plans may
purchase no other... .
“Congress preserved authority in the states to regu-
late insurance, and if petitioners find the result
burdensome their recourse is to Congress, or to the
state legislatures, rather than to this Court.” *
The position of amici, and that expressed by the Solici-
tor General, is supported by the legislative history sur-
rounding the passage of ERISA. In 1974, the year
ERISA was enacted, at least 16 states had insurance laws
that mandated particular health benefits in insurance pol-
icies.” Congress was aware of the functions and scope of
such laws, yet specifically exempted state laws regulating
insurance from the preemption clause of ERISA.2* More-
over, Congress did not seek to deal in any way with the
substantive content of insurance—which is what laws
like Section 47B do deal with.” Rather, as this Court has
recognized, Congress intended only to establish reporting,
disclosure and fiduciary requirements for pension and
welfare benefit plans.”
26 Memorandum for the United States, supra at 7-9. (Footnote
added.)
27 Blue Cross Association: G. Scandler, Total Number of States
With Mandated Coverage (1984) (unpublished report). The earliest
mandated benefit plans were adopted in the late 1960s. By 1974,
16 states had enacted newborn coverage, 4 states had enacted
mental health coverage and 5 states had alcohol abuse coverage.
28 Wadsworth v. Whaland, 562 F.2d 70 (1st Cir. 1977), cert.
denied, 435 U.S. 98 (1978). Inswrance Commissioner v. Metropolitan
Life Ins. Co., 296 Md. 334, 463 A.2d 793 (1983).
2 Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 108 S.Ct. 2890, 2896 (1983).
© Appellants argue that laws such as 47B are preempted because
this Court has said ERISA’s preemption provision is very broad and
even covers subjects not dealt with in ERISA. Brief for Appellant
14
2. Congressional intent to leave states free to regulate
the content of insurance policies is further indicated by
the fact Congress has traditionally supported—and when
necessary re-established—state regulation of insurance.
From the 1869 decision in Paul v. Virginia, 8 Wall. 168
(1869), to the 1944 decision in United States v. South-
Eastern Underwriters Ass’n., 322 U.S. 533 (1944), in-
surance was considered not to be interstate commerce and
was therefore regulated by the states. When the Court
ruled in South-Eastern Underwriters™ that insurance is
interstate commerce, a ruling which made insurance sus-
ceptible to federal regulation instead of state regulation,
Congress quickly passed the McCarran-Ferguson Act * to
give support to existing and future state systems for reg-
ulating and taxing insurance. Prudential Insurance Co.
v. Benjamin, 328 U.S. 408, 429 (1946).
The Act specifically allows states to regulate th» “busi-
ness of insurance.” The business of insurance is pre-
cisely what is regulated by state laws requiring health
insurers to provide specified benefits to their insureds.
This is only common sense. It is also supported by prece-
dent. For the Court has said “[T]he core of the ‘business
of insurance’” encompasses “[t]he relationship between
insurer and insured, the type of policy which could be
issued. . .”, Securities and Exchange Comm’n v. Na-
tional Securities, Inc., 393 U.S. 453, 459-460, and that
the business of insurance includes “the contract between
the insurer and the insured.” Group Life & Health Insur-
Metropolitan Life Insurance Company at p. 18. But the savings
clause broadly excepts insurance from the preemption provision, and
the Court’s statements which indicate the breadth of the preemption
provision were not intended to indicate a narrow scope for the
savings clause. To the contrary, the Court specifically said that
ERISA’s concerns are limited by the savings clause. Alessi v.
Raybestos-Manhattan, Inc., 451 U.S. 504, 523, f.n. 19 (1981).
%1 United States v. South-Eastern Underwriters Ass'n, supra, 322
U.S. 583 (1944).
%215 U.S.C. Section 1011 et seg. See Appendix, infra.
15
ance Co. v. Royal Drug Co., 440 U.S. 205, 215 (1979).
These matters were summarized in Securities and Ex-
change Comm’n v. National Securities, Inc., 393 U.S.
453:
“Congress was concerned with the type of state
regulation that centers around the contract of in-
surance. ... The relationship between insurer and
insured, the type of policy which could be issued, its
reliability, its interpretation, and enforcement—
these were the core of the ‘business of insurance’.
Undoubtedly, other activities of insurance compa-
nies relate so closely to their status as reliable in-
surers that they must be placed in the same class.
But whatever the exact scope of the statutory term,
it is clear where the focus was—it was on the rela-
tionship between the insurance company and the
policy holder. Statutes aimed at protecting or regu-
lating this relationship, directly or indirectly are
laws regulating the business of insurance.” Securi-
ties & Exchange Comm’n. v. National Securities,
supra at 460.*
3. If the Court were to find preemption here, millions
of citizens would be left without necessary protections. As
pointed out above, in the absence of state laws requiring
particular benefits, there are gaps in health insurance
coverage and certain forms of health insurance are pro-
hibitively expensive. Crucial coverage such as neo-natal
care, care of mental health problems, and catastrophic ill-
ness insurance are either unobtainable or unobtainable at
affordable prices. Furthermore, Congress did not deal
with this problem in ERISA, as ERISA does not touch
the substantive content of health insurance policies. Thus
citizens will be deeply and adversely affected if laws such
as Section 47B are struck down.
88 Appellants claim that, because it is intended to protect public
health, Section 47B does not regulate insurance. The claim is plain
error. Section 47B protects the public health by regulating insurance.
16
Moreover, vast numbers of citizens—probably even the
overwhelming majority of those who possess some form of
health insurance—will not secure whatever protections can
be obtained through collective bargaining. Although de-
fendants lay much stress on their claim that laws such
as Section 47B allegedly interfere with the results of
collective bargaining, the available data indicates that
huge numbers of citizens obtain health insurance by
means other than such bargaining. They obtain it either
by unilateral action of an employer or by self-purchase.
That collective bargaining is irrelevant to most people in
connection with health insurance is shown by the statis-
tics. In 1979, 14 million full-time union members with a
right of collective bargaining were covered by health
insurance policies, but shortly thereafter the total num-
ber of individuals with health insurance was almost 14
times greater than this: it was 188 million. As well,
43 million full-time private sector employees were cov-
ered by group health plans in 1979, but only 14 million
of them were union members with a right of collective
bargaining. And 11 million full-time government work-
ers were covered by group health plans by 1979, though
in 1980 only 5 million full-time government employees
were union members with a right of collective bargaining.™
The fact that a finding of preemption will leave huge
numbers of people without crucial types of medical ben-
efits counsels strongly against such a ruling, for it would
be very odd if a law enacted to protect workers—ERISA
—were to result in their being deprived of crucial pro-
tections. It would be equally odd if ERISA were held to
knock out the protective laws of 49 states dealing with a
subject that Congress did not even touch when it en-
acted ERISA.
*% The foregoing statistics are contained in or derived from the
authorities cited in notes 3, 5, 9 & 10, supra.
We also note that, as mentioned earlier, by 1981 there were
855,000 employee welfare benefit plans. The persons insured under
vast number of those plans would be left without protection. <
17
4. Appellants claim there must be preemption because
otherwise there will be lack of unformity in state laws
that mandate particular forms of health insurance cover-
age. Their argument is addressed to the wrong forum.
Congress specifically allowed nonuniformity when it ex-
pressly provided that laws regulating the business of in-
surance are saved from preemption. Congress knew in-
surance laws vary from state to state, but it saved them
from preemption in deference to the long tradition of
state regulation of insurance, a tradition which recog-
nizes that in a federal system not all laws will be the
same and not all laws should be made in Washington.
If defendants object to the nonuniformity expressly con-
templated by Congress, they should address their argu-
ments to Congress instead of seeking judicial amendment
of the statute.™
II. SECTION 47B IS NOT PREEMPTED BY THE NA-
TIONAL LABOR RELATIONS ACT
Appellants assert that Section 47B is preempted by the
National Labor Relations Act (NLRA).™ The assertion
is incorrect. There are no “persuasive reasons” for such
85 The only matter at issue here is whether ERISA preempts a
state law requiring insurance companies to provide particular bene-
fits in health insurance policies which they sell to others. A question
not at issue is whether a state could require an employer to provide
particular forms of health benefits to his own employees. Massachu-
setts appears to have conceded that, because of ERISA, a state
could not require this. Amici, whose members include the political
bodies and governing officials of many other states, do not agree
with such a concession. In Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 103 S.Ct.
2890, 2905-6 (1983), the Court ruled that a state can require an
employer to provide certain benefits separately from an ERISA
plan, even if it cannot force him to include them in the ERISA
plan itself. That logic is applicable to health benefits. Thus, if a
state sought to require an employer to provide specific health bene-
fits, it can do so even if it cannot require the benefits to be provided
as part of an ERISA plan.
86 29 U.S.C. § 151 et seq.
18
preemption. To the contrary, there are persuasive reasons
against it. Alessi v. Raybestos-Manhattan, Inc., 451 U.S.
504 (1981).
Congress enacted the NLRA to remedy “the inequality
of bargaining power between employees who do not pos-
sess full freedom of association or actual liberty of con-
tract, and employers who are organized in the corporate
or other forms of ownership association. . .” 29 U.S.C.
§ 151. Section 47B, however, does not create any in-
equality of bargaining power. Moreover, at the time Con-
gress enacted the NLRA, state regulation of insurance
was long established, and Congress did not intend the
NLRA to overturn this regulation. Indeed, Congress sub-
sequently acted to assure the continuation of state regula-
tion of insurance by passing the McCarran-Ferguson Act
in 1945." Finally, it is inconceivable that, in enacting the
NLRA, Congress meant to deprive states of their historic
power to protect the public health, a deprivation which
would ensue if NLRA preempts state laws requiring in-
surers to provide important health benefits.
Nor is there preemption under the two tests this Court
has often used in the labor field. Under the test laid
down in Garmon,* there is no preemption if a state regu-
lation deals with matters deeply rooted in local feeling
and responsibility. Id. at 244. That is precisely the type of
matter at issue here. As made clear earlier in this brief,
Massachusetts, like other states, is deeply concerned that
87 The report of the House Committee on the Judiciary says
that Congress was considering the Act “so that the several States
may know that the Congress desires to protect the continued regula-
tion and taxation of the business of insurance by the several States,
and thus enables insurance companies to comply with State laws.
What is more, the Congress proposes by this bill to secure adequate
regulation and control of the insurance business.” H. Rep. No. 143,
79th Cong., Ist Sess. (1945), reprinted in U.S. Code Cong. & Ad.
News 670, 671.
88 San Diego Building Trades Council v. Garmon, 359 U.S. 286
(1959).
19
millions of its citizens receive appropriate health insur-
ance coverage and medical care and not be victimized by
lack of coverage. It has, therefore, acted out of concern
for the local public health. There is nothing more deeply
rooted in local interest.
The second test, laid down in the Machinists case,™ is
that a state cannot regulate conduct which Congress left
to the free play of economic forces. Id. at 140. The test
is inapplicable here for two reasons. First, the test is
correctly applied where a state seeks to affect an economic
weapon (such as strikes) utilized by labor or manage-
ment. Machinists v. Wisconsin Employment Relations
Commission, 427 U.S. 182 (1976); New York Telephone
Co. v. New York State Dept. of Labor, 440 U.S. 519
(1979). But laws like Section 47B are not intended to
and do not affect any economic weapon employed by work-
ers or management.
Second, in enacting NLRA, Congress did not intend to
cause insurance or public health to be left to the “free
play of economic forces” between labor and management.
Rather, Congress preserved long-standing state regulation
of insurance and also preserved the states’ historic power
to protect the public health.”
39 Machinists v. Wisconsin Employment Relations Comm’n, 427
U.S. 182 (1976).
# Like laws concerning t rts or contracts, Section 47B is a
neutral state law of general application. Numerous Justices have
concluded that such laws are not preempted by the NLRA. Belknap
Ine. v. Hale, 103 S. Ct. 3172, 3183 (1983) (White, J.); Farmer v.
Carpenters, 430 U.S. 290, 296 (1977) (Powell, J.); International
Ass’n of Machinists v. Gonzales, 356 U.S. 617, 619, 622 (1958)
(Frankfurter, J.) ; Linn v. United Plant Guard Workers, 383 U.S.
53, 62 (1966) (Clark, J.); New York Telephone Co. v. New York
State Dept. of Labor, 440 U.S. 519, 583 (1979) (Stevens, J.); Tag-
gart v. Weinacker’s, Inc., 397 U.S. 228, 228 (1970) (Burger, C.J.,
concurring) ; United Constr. Workers v. Laburnum Constr. Corp.,
347 U.S. 656 (1954) (Burton, J.) ; See Cox, Labor Law Preemption
Revisited, 85 Harv. L. Rev. 1337, 1355-1356, 1859-1360 (1972).
20
CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, this Court should affirm the
decision below that the Massachusetts law mandating
mental health benefits in group insurance policies is not
preempted.
LAWRENCE R. VELVEL
444 North Capitol Street, N.W.
Suite 349
Washington, D.C. 20001
(202) 638-1445
Of Counsel
January, 1985
Respectfully submitted,
JOYCE HOLMES BENJAMIN
The State and Local Legal Center
444 North Capitol Street, N.W.
Suite 349
Washington, D.C. 20001
(202) 688-1445
Counsel of Record for the
Amici Curiae
la
APPENDIX
McCarran-Ferguson Act
15 U.S.C. § 1012:
(a) The business of insurance and every person
engaged therein, shall be subject to the laws of the
several States which relate to the regulation or taxa-
tion of such business.
(b) No Act of Congress shall be construed to in-
validate, impair, or supersede any law enacted by
any State for the purpose of regulating the business
of insurance, or which imposes a fee or tax upon
such business, unless such Act specifically relates to
the business of insurance: Provided, That after June
80, 1948, the Act of July 2, 1890, as amended,
known as the Sherman Act, and the Act of October
15, 1914, as amended, known as the Clayton Act, and
the Act of September 26, 1914, known as the Fed-
eral Trade Commission Act, as amended, shall he
applicable to the business of insurance to the extent
that such business is not regulated by State law.
Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974
29 U.S.C. § 1144:
“(a) Except as provided in subsection (b) of this
section, the provisions of this subchapter and sub-
chapter III of this chapter shall supersede any and
all State laws insofar as they may now or hereafter
relate to any employee benefit plan described in sec-
tion 1003(a) of this title and not exempt under sec-
tion 1003(b) of this title. This section shall take
effect on January 1, 1975.
“(b) (1) This section shall not apply with respect to
any cause of action which arose, or any act or omis-
sion which occurred, before January 1, 1975.
2a
“(2)(A) Except as provided in subparagraph (B),
nothing in this subchapter shall be construed to ex-
empt or relieve any person from any law of any
State which regulates insurance, banking, or securi-
ties.
“(B) Neither an employee benefit plan described in
section 1003(a) of this title, which is not exempt
under section 1003(b) of this title (other than a
plan established primarily for the purpose of provid-
ing death benefits), nor any trust established under
such plan, shall be deemed to be an insurance com-
pany or other insurer, bank, trust company, or in-
vestment company or to be engaged in the business
of insurance or banking for purposes of any law of
any State purporting to regulate insurance com-
panies, insurance contracts, banks, trust companies,
or investment companies.
“(3) Nothing in this section shall be construed to
prohibit use by the Secretary of services or facili-
ties of a State agency as permitted under section
1136 of this title.
“(4) Subsection (a) of this section shall not apply
to any generally applicable criminal law of a State.
“(c¢) For purposes of this section:
“(1) The term ‘State law’ includes all laws, deci-
sions, rules, regulations, or other State action hav-
ing the effect of law, of any State. A law of the
United States applicable only to the District of Co-
lumbia shall be treated as a State law rather than
a law of the United States.
“(2) The term ‘State’ includes a State, any political
subdivisions thereof, or any agency or instrumen-
tality of either, which purports to regulate, directly
or indirectly, the terms and conditions of employee
benefit plans covered by this subchapter.
8a
“(d) Nothing in this subchapter shall be construed
to alter, amend, modify, invalidate, impair, or su-
persede any law of the United States (except as
provided in sections 1031 and 1137(b) of this title)
or any rule or regulation issued under any such
law.”
Section 47B (Massachusetts Gen. Laws ch. 175 47B):
“Any blanket or general policy of insurance de-
scribed in subdivision (A), (C), or (D) of section
one hundred and ten which provides hospital expense
and surgical expense insurance and which is issued
or subsequently renewed by agreemerit between the
insurer and the policyholder, within or without the
commonwealth, during the period this provision is
effective, or any policy of accident and sickness in-
surance as described in section one hundred and
eight which provides hospital expense and surgical
expense insurance and which is delivered or issued
for delivery or subsequently renewed by agreement
between the insurer and the policyholder in this com-
monwealth during the period that this provision is
effective, or any employees’ health and welfare fund
which provides hospital expense and surgical expense
benefits and which is promulgated or renewed to any
person or group of persons in this commonwealth
covered under any such policy or plan, arising from
mental or nervous conditions as described in the
standard nomenclature of the American Psychiatric
Association which are at least equal to the following
minimum requiremen ~:
“(a) In the case of benefits based upon confinement
as an inpatient in a mental hospital under the direc-
tion and supervision of the department of mental
health, or in a private mental hospital licensed by
the department of mental health, the period of con-
finement for which benefits shall be payable shall
be at least sixty days in any calendar year.
4a
“(b) In the case of benefits based upon confinement
as an inpatient in a licensed or accredited general
hospital, such benefits shall be no different than for
any other illness.
“(ce) In the case of outpatient benefits, these shall
cover, to the extent of five hundred dollars over a
twelve-month period, services furnished (1) by a
comprehensive health service organization, (2) by a
licensed or accredited hospital (3) or subject to the
approval of the department of mental health services
furnished by a community mental health center or
other mental health clinic or day care center which
furnishes mental health services or (4) consultations
or diagnostic or treatment sessions, provided that
such services under this clause are rendered by a
psychotherapist or by a psychologist licensed under
the provisions of chapter one hundred and twelve.
For purposes of this clause ‘psychotherapist’ shall
mean a person fully licensed to practice medicine
under the provisions of chapter one hundred and
twelve, who devotes a substantial portion of his time
to the practice of psychiatry.” Mass. Gen. Laws ch.
175, 47B.
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.