Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Solorio v. United States

Supreme Court brief1987

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

i Supreme oun, .

85-1582) ee

MAR 26 1986

No.

Le ™

K

— :

Jn the Supreme Court of the Unated. States

OCTOBER TERM, 1985

RICHARD SOLORIO

YEOMAN First Cuiass, U.S. Coast GUARD. PETITIONER

v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, RESPONDENT.

’

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF MILITARY APPEALS

ROBERT W. BRUCE, JR.

Lieutenant Commander

U.S. Coast Guard

2100 Second Street, S.W.

Washington, D.C. 20593

(202) 426-0273

Counsel for Petitioner

March 1986

I,

IT.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

May a court find that an offense committed off-base

at a place where there is no military post or enclave

is service-connected simply because of the civilian

dependent status of the victim?

May a court depart from its precedents setting out

the constitutional limits of court-martial jurisdiction

over offenses against civilian dependents and apply

a more expansive interpretation in the very same

case?

(1)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Eee eeu a ences ceseccesss I

coat esc eceeeeses

Constitutional and Regulatory Provisions

Ne cee wecense: 2

EE cv cca ccneccccccecenscs 3

Reasons for Granting the Writ ............... 8

eas occ cess cece eens 20)

EE Saws eccccccsesececs: la

ENC EGG yo weeccscocccacccs 18a

eee eine bacco ssccececees 43a

aks ewes cen cescecccss 49a

Ee 55a

es cece ucsecscscess 62a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Abney v. United States, 431 U.S.651....... 19

Bouie v. City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 347 .... 10, 12

Cohen v. Beneficial Industrial Loan Corp.,

es ks cas cece cesses: 19

Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S.

ee ek enone cc cesccccss 18, 19

Gillespie v. United States Steel Corp., 379

Cees eee ceccsccecccc. 19

Marks v. United States, 430 U.S. 188 ...... 10

Murray v. Haldeman, 16 M.J. 74 (C.M.A.

ee Dale os cece ceneccc. 8

O'Callahan v. Parker, 395 U.S. 258 .. 2.2... 8,9

11-14, 16-19

Relford v. Commandant, 401 U.S. 355 ... 8-17, 19

Stack v. Boyle, CE

United States v. Henderson, 18 U.S.C.M.A.

601, 40 C.M.R. 313 (1969) ..............

(il)

1Y

Cases-Continued: Page

United States v. Johnson, 17 M.J. 73 (C.M.A.

ai ante ee Cee ae

United States v. Lockwood, 15 M.J. 1 (C.M.A.

RR Pa ee payers eine nanan fs

United States v. McGonigal, 19 U.S.C.M.A.

04, 41 C.M.R. 94(19G8)............2.-.

United States v. Scott, 21 M.J. 345 (C.M.A.

SES GE arene a at oC

United States v. Shockley, 18 U.S.C.M.A.

G10, 40 U.B.R. 322 (19G0) ... cee

United States v. Trottier, 9 M.J. 337 (C.M.A.

| RRC UT TT TT CTT ee Perr Trees 5, a

Constitution, Statutes and Rules:

U.S. Const.:

Po A ee ee ere eee

pe OD eee ae

ee tree ed ere are

ec oe ho eas

U.S. Code:

ne IR ns. arora

Uniform Code of Military Justice, 10 U.S.C.

S01 et seq.:

Art. 67(h), 10 U.S.C. 867(h) 2.00...

age. GO, FO UA GBD nnn ccc ccc uweces

Part. BOB, BO UA. GE occ cccccccccncs

pe ae a ee ”

Rules for Court-Martial, Manual for Courts-

Martial, United States (1984):

RM Me

Eee Se are ne rere aa eRe Ong 16,

Lo

16

16

Miscellaneous:

Everett, O'Callahan v. Parker — Milestone or

Millstone in Military Justice?, 1969 Duke

L.J. 853

Tomes, The Imagination of the Prosecutor:

The Only Lim itation to Off-Post Jurisd ie-

tion Now, Fifteen Years After O'Callahan

v. Parker, 25 A.F. L.Rev. 1 (1985)

as

Jn the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1985

No.

RICHARD SOLORIO

YEOMAN First CLAss, U.S. CoAsStT GUARD, PETITIONER

v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, RESPONDENT.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF MILITARY APPEALS

Petitioner, Richard Solorio, respectfully prays that a

writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment and opin-

ion of the United States Court of Military Appeals

entered in this proceeding on January 27, 1986.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Military Appeals is

reported at 21 M.J. 251 (C.M.A. 1986) (Appendix

la-17a). The opinion of the Coast Guard Court of

Military Review appears at 21 M.J. 512 (C.G.C.M.R.

1985) (Appendix 18a-42a).

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Military Appeals was

entered on January 27, 1986, affirming the Coast Guard

(1)

2

Court of Military Review’s decision granting the

government's appeal and reversing the trial judge’s rul-

ing dismissing several charges and specifications for

lack of subject matter jurisdiction. The jurisdiction of

this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. §1259.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND REGULATORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Constitution of the United States provides:

Article III, §2, C1. 3: “The Trial of all Crimes, ex-

cept in Cases of Impeachment, shall be by Jury;

Amendment V: “No person shall be held to answer

for a capital, or otherwise infamous crime, unless

on a presentment of indictment of a Grand Jury, ex-

cept in cases arising in the land or naval forces, or

in the Militia, when in actual! service in time of War

or public danger; nor shall any person be... de-

prived of life, liberty, or property, without due

process of law;...”

Amendment VI: “In all criminal prosecutions, the

accused shall enjoy the right to a speedy and public

trial, by an impartial jury of the State and district

wherein the crime shall have been committed, . . .”

The Rules for Courts-Martial, Manual for Courts-

Martial, United States, 1984, provide as follows:

Rule 201(b): “Requisites for court-martial jurisdic-

tion. A court-martial always has jurisdiction to

determine whether it has jurisdiction. Otherwise,

for a court-martial to have jurisdiction:

~ * *

(5) The offense must be subject to court-martial

jurisdiction.

Discussion

See R.C.M. 203. The judgment of a court-martial

without jurisdiction is void and is entitled to no

legal effect... .”

Ruie 203: “Jurisdiction over the offense. To the ex-

tent permitted by the Constitution, courts-martial

may try any offense under the code and, in the case

of general courts-martial, the law of war.”

The discussion and analysis of Rule 203, are attached

as Appendix 43a-48a and Appendix 49a-54a, respective-

ly.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The petitioner, an enlisted man in the Coast Guard,

was charged with fourteen specifications alleging inde-

cent liberties, lascivious acts and indecent assault in

violation of Article 134, Uniform Code of Military

Justice [UMCJ],' six specifications alleging assault in

violation of Article 128, UCMJ,? and one specification

alleging attempted rape in violation of Article 80,

UCMJ.* The court-martial invoked jurisdiction under

Article 2, UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. §802. At a pre-trial hearing

on June 3 and 4, 1985, petitioner made a motion to

dismiss all the charges and specifications alleging

assaults and attempted rape, and seven of the specifica-

tions alleging indecent liberties, lascivious acts and in-

decent assault in violation of Article 134, UCMJ, for

lack of subject matter jurisdiction.

110 U.S.C. §934.

210 ULS.C, $928.

310 U.S.C. §8so.

The fourteen specifications petitioner moved to

dismiss all alleged offenses at Juneau, Alaska. The

seven remaining specifications alleged similar, but un-

related, offenses at Governors Island, New York, a

Coast Guard base.

After hearing evidence and argument on the motion.

the trial judge dismissed the fourteen specifications

alleging offenses at Juneau and the charges of violating

Article 128 and Article 80, UCMJ, because the offenses

lacked service-connection. The trial judge made findings

of fact’ on the record (Appendix 55a-61a) and prior to

authenticating the record attached supplemental find-

ings of fact (Appendix 62-63a).

The dismissed charges and specifications allege of-

fenses against two girls. United States v. Solorio, 21

M.J. 512, 514 (C.G.C.M.R. 1985). The fathers of these

girls were, like petitioner, active duty members of the

Coast Guard assigned to the staff of the Commander,

Seventeenth Coast Guard District. Jd. All the offenses

allegedly occurred in petitioner’s privately owned home

eleven miles from the Federal Office Building in down-

town Juneau where he worked. Jd. The alleged victims

and their families also lived in civilian housing, there be-

ing no government quarters in Juneau for anyone other

than the District Commander. Jd.

In Juneau at the tine of the alleged offenses, there

was no Coast Guard controlled post or enclave where

many service personnel lived and worked. Jd. at n.1.

The closest equivalent in Juneau was the Coast Guard

Station, a 1.3 acre facility with a complement of four-

teen enlisted persons. Jd. Over two hundred Coast

Guard military personnel were assigned to the district

office, occupying four of the nine floors of the Juneau

* Rule 905(d), Rules for Court-Martial, Manual for Courts:

Martial, United States, 1984, requires the military judge to state

his essential findings of fact on the record when factual issues are

involved in determining a motion.

D

Federal Office Building, where other Federal agencies

are also located. Jd. The Coast Guard Marine Safety Of-

fice situated in a building adjacent to the Federal Office

Building had a military complement of seventeen per-

sons. Jd. With the possible exception of some of the com-

plement of six officers and forty-nine enlisted personnel

on the buoy tender berthed at the Coast Guard Station,

all of the approximately three hundred Coast Guard

military personnel in Juneau lived in the civilian com-

munity. Id.

A friendship had grown between petitioner and the

families of the alleged victims, grounded in one case on

the common sporting interests of bowling and basket-

ball, and in the other, on the fortuity of living next door.

Id. at 514. The alleged victims came to petitioner’s home

on a regular basis to visit with his two sons. Jd. Both

girls at one time played on a soccer team coached by

petitioner and they bowled in a league in which he was

active. Id. These associations were much more signifi-

cant than any military relationship between petitioner

and the fathers of the alleged victims, which the trial

judge found to be de minimis. Record at 131 and Appen-

dix at 58a.

There was no evidence that any of the allegations

have become common knowledge, even among the

Coast Guard personnel, at Juneau. No allegations were

made against petitioner until all parties had been per-

manently transferred to duty stations outside Alaska.

United States v. Solorio, 21 M.J. 512, 514 (C.G.C.M.R.

1985). Petitioner was stationed at Juneau from Novem-

ber 1980 to June 1984. Appellate Exhibit 1V. Warrant

Officer Johnson and his family, including Amber

Johnson, left Juneau in June 1983. Record at 43 and Ap-

pellate Exhibit VI. Amber did not make any allegations

against petitioner until March 1985. Record at 47. Petty

Officer Grantz and his family, including Jennifer

6

Grantz, left Juneau in June 1984. Record at 60. Jennifer

did not make any allegations against petitioner until

about April 1985. Record at 63.

The Alaska prosecutor, in a letter to the Coast Guard,

stated “that at this time, subject to future evaluation or

developments, that the Department of Law, Criminal

Division, State of Alaska, will defer prosecution of

Yeoman First Class Richard Solorio, United States

Coast Guard, to the legal prosecutional arm of the Coast

Guard.” Appellate Exhibit IX. However, there was also

evidence that the State of Alaska had recently pros-

ecuted two similar cases involving members of the

Coast Guard with results highly satisfactory to the

Coast Guard. Appellate Exhibit X. And at trial. Special

Agent Gary Smith testified that the State of Alaska was

continuing to investigate allegations that the accused

had sexually abused the children of other civilians still

living in Juneau. Record at 87.

The accused is presently assigned to Coast Guard

Group New York at Governors Island, New York,

where he lives in Government quarters and where the

instant general court-martial was convened. United

States v. Solorio, 21 M.J. 512, 514 (C.G.C.M.R. 1985).

In his findings of fact, the trial judge addressed the

twelve Relford factors® and the nine additional Relford

considerations,® and found that none of them supported

a finding of service-connection. Additionally, the

military judge considered, among other things, the

military relationship between petitioner and the service-

member fathers of the alleged victims, the effect of the

alleged offenses on morale, discipline or effectiveness

within the military community in Juneau, the reputation

of the Coast Guard with the civilian community in

® See Relford v. Commandant, 401 U.S. 355 (1971), and Appendix

at 44a-46a.

8 Td.

7

Juneau, the relation of the offenses alleged to have been

committed in Alaska to the offenses alleged to have

been committed in New York, and the impact of the

alleged offenses on the servicemember fathers of the

alleged victims and through them on the service. The

military judge found that the asserted impact upon the

service was too remote and indirect to support service-

connection.’

The government appealed the military judge’s ruling

to the Coast Guard Court of Military Review and that

court granted the government’s appeal, reversing the

military judge. Before the Coast Guard Court of

Military Review petitioner argued, in opposition to the

government’s appeal, that the military judge had prop-

erly applied the service-connection test required by

O'Callahan v. Parker, 395 U.S. 258 (1969), and Relford

v. Commandant, 401 U.S. 355 (1971), and properly

found that the facts of this case did not support subject

matter jurisdiction.

The United States Court of Military Appeals granted

review of the Coast Guard Court’s decision and af-

firmed. In his petition for grant of review, petitioner

argued that the Court of Military Review's decision was

incorrect because it had not properly applied the

service-connection test required by O’Callahan, and

Relford, and because the military judge had properly

found that the facts did not support subject matter

jurisdiction.

7“In this case there is no direct impact on the service. The in-

direct impact that exists is not sufficient to create service-

connection. That indirect impact consists of servicemember-

parents’ preoccupation with family situation affecting the

members’ performance, some initial counseling and referral from

persons whose position it is to take such action, and time to par-

ticipate in proceedings under the U.C.M.J.” Military Judge’s Sup-

plemental Findings of Fact, Appendix at 62a-63a and United States

v. Solorio, 21 M.J. 251, 253 (C.M.A. 1986).

8

Petitioner made a motion to the Court of Military Ap-

peals to stay the court-martial proceedings to permit

him to petition for a writ of certiorari. By its order

dated February 5, 1986, the Court of Military Appeals

. denied the motion. Petitioner then made application to

Chief Justice Warren E. Burger for a stay of the court-

martial proceedings pending timely filing and dis-

position of a petition for a writ of certiorari. The Chief

Justice denied the application on February 10, 1986.

The court-martial proceedings went forward on

February 18, 1986, and on March 11, 1986, petitioner

was convicted of eight of the fourteen specifications

alleging offenses in Alaska. Petitioner was also con-

victed of four of the seven specifications alleging of-

fenses in New York.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

There is good cause to grant this petition for a writ of

certiorari because the United States Court of Military

Appeals’ decision in this case conflicts with this

Honorable Court’s decisions in O'Callahan v. Parker,

395 U.S. 258 (1969), and Relford v. Commandant, 401

U.S. 355 (1971). The Court of Military Appeals’ decision

expands court-martial subject matter jurisdiction far

beyond the constitutional limits spelled out in

O'Callahan and Relford.

In this case, the Court of Military Appeals has ob-

viously employed its flexible subject matter jurisdiction

analysis;* an analysis that is not bound by the result that

* The United States Court of Military Appeals began its depar-

ture froin what it termed a “slavish” application of the Reljord

criteria in United States v. Trottier, 9 M.J. 337 (C.M.A. 1980). It

has continued this trend in its decisions in United States v.

Lockwood, 15 M.J. 1 (C.M.A. 1983); Murray v. Haldeman, 16 M.J.

74 (C.M.A. 1983); United States »v. Johnson, 17 M.J. 73 (C.M.A.

1983); and in the instant case.

9

application of the Relford factors and considerations re-

- quires, and that does not set any limits on other criteria

that may be considered. This analysis renders the

service-connection test so pliable it is meaningless and it

provides servicemembers no protection of their con-

stitutional rights. It gives military courts a completely

free hand to find that service-connection exists on the

basis of any single factor or combination of factors,

tangible or intangible, proven or presumed. Moreover,

by rejecting the Relford factors and considerations as

controlling, the Court of Military Appeals’ decision, at

the very least, sets the law of service-connection back to

the time, after O'Callahan but before the Relford deci-

sion, when the “infinite permutations of possibly rele-

vant factors”? created doubt and confusion about the

limits of subject matter jurisdiction.

Clearly, however, the Court of Military Appeals’ flexi-

ble service-connection test is being used, case by case,

to eviscerate the O'Callahan and Relford decisions. In

United States v. Trottier, 9 M.J. 337 (C.M.A. 1980), the

Court of Military Appeals extended military subject

matter jurisdiction to all drug offenses. In this case it

has extended military subject matter jurisdiction to all

sex offenses against dependents. In its latest subject

matter jurisdiction case, the Court of Military Appeals

has indicated that it may be willing to accept the posi-

tion that all offenses committed by officers are service-

connected. United States v. Scott, 21 M.J. 345 (C.M.A.

1986).

Another strong reason to grant this petition is that

the record does not and cannot support subject matter

jurisdiction. Petitioner submits that the trial judge was

correct in finding that the Coast Guard lacked subject

* O'Callahan v. Parker, supra at 284 (Harlan, J., dissenting).

10)

matter jurisdiction over the charges and specifications

he dismissed. There is no Coast Guard post or enclave,

in the usual sense of those terms, at Juneau and the of-

fenses have not become public knowledge in Juneau;

therefore, any impact of these offenses on the Coast

Guard has been remote and indirect as the trial judge

properly found.

The Court of Military Appeals’ decision does not ad-

dress the Relford factors and considerations, or the fact

that the trial judge considered all of them and did not

find a single one that supported service-connection. In-

stead, the decision relies principally on a holding that,

as a matter of law, the impact of the dismissed offenses

on the fathers of the alleged victims caused an impact

on the Coast Guard sufficient to support subject matter

jurisdiction. This holding bases jurisdiction solely on the

dependent status of the victims and is inconsistent with

the trial judge’s finding of fact that the impact of the

dismissed offenses on the fathers of the alleged victims

had only a remote and indirect impact on the Coast

Guard. See note 7, supra.

The Court of Military Appeals’ application of its ex-

pansive subject matter jurisdiction test to petitioner is

grounds for summary reversal. Whether or not that

Court’s interpretation of the reach of the Uniform Code

of Military Justice conflicts with this Court's decisions,

its application to petitioner in this case violates Fifth

Amendment due process. Marks v. United States, 430

U.S. 188 (1977); Bouie v. City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 347

(1964).

In Marks, this Court held that the application of a

decision expanding the constitutional reach of a statute,

that proscribed conduct in sweeping language, to con-

duct that occurred before the decision was improper. In

that case, the constitutional limits on statutes proserib-

ing obscenity were relaxed in a decision rendered after.

the defendants had allegedly transported obscene 4

1]

terial in interstate commerce. The application of the

more expansive standard for obscenity to the defend-

ants there was held to violate the Due Process Clause

because it would have the same effect as an ex post facto

law.

Here, the Court of Military Appeals has relaxed the

constitutional limits on the reach of the Uniform Code

of Military Justice, and in particular Articles 80, 128

and 134, 10 U.S.C. §§80, 128 and 134, as they relate to

off-base sex offenses against civilian dependents. Those

statutes proscribe conduct of servicemembers in sweep-

ing language that this Court has confined within con-

stitutional limits in O'Callahan and Relford. This deci-

sion is contrary to the Court of Military Appeals’ own

precedents which held that conduct like that involved

here was beyond the reach of the Uniform Code of

Military Justice. United States v. MecGonigal, 19

U.S.C.M.A. 94, 41 C.M.R. 94 (1969); United States v.

Shockley, 18 U.S.C.M.A. 610, 40 C.M.R. 322 (1969);

United States v. Henderson, 18 U.S.C.M.A. 601, 40

C.M.R. 313 (1969).

The Court of Military A, peals, however, did not ad-

dress the due process issue in this case. The Court mere-

ly stated that:

Admittedly, our precedents involving off-base sex

offenses against civilian dependents of military per-

sonnel would point to a different conclusion. See,

e.g., United States v. McGonigal, 19 U.S.C.M.A. 94,

41 C.M.R. 94 (1969); United States v. Shockley, 18

U.S.C.M.A. 610, 40 C.M.R. 322 (1969); United

States v. Henderson, 18 U.S.C.M.A. 601, 40 C.M.R.

313 (1969). However, as we made clear in United

States v. Trottier, 9 M.J. 337 (C.M.A. 1980), which

concerned drug activity, some of our earlier opin-

ions on service-connection should be reexamined in

light of more recent conditions and experience.

[Footnote omitted].

United States v. Solorio, 21 M.J. 251, 254 (C.M.A. 1986).

el

12

The comment in a case concerning drug activity that

“some” earlier opinions on service-connection need to be

reexamined certainly cannot have satisfied the peti-

tioner’s right to fair warning about the reach of military

statutes proscribing sex offenses. For one thing, the

most significant rationale for the Trottier decision was

that, because of their impact on military readiness, “it is

necessary and proper in today’s world that court-

martial jurisdiction over most drug offenses be invoked

as a proper exercise of the war powers.” United States v.

Trottier, supra, at 352. There has been no suggestion

that off-base sex offenses similarly affect military

readiness or are otherwise related to authority stem-

ming from the war power.

Furthermore, the expansion of the reach of the

Uniform Code of Military Justice to these offenses

deprives petitioner of constitutional trial rights that

even Congress could not retroactively strip from him.

Such a law would be an ex post facto law. If Congress

cannot pass such a law, the Court of Military Appeals

cannot achieve the same result by jud‘cial construction.

Bouie v. City of Columbia, supra at 353-354. Of course,

Congress has not attempted to legislatively expand

military jurisdiction over off-base sex offenses, even

prospectively.

Although this case can be disposed of by a summary

reversal, this Court should address the subject matter

jurisdiction issues presented. Clearly, the military

courts, following the lead of the Court of Military Ap-

peals, are going to continue to find jurisdiction in every

significant case until this Court reaffirms O'Callahan

and Reljord as the law, or sets some other reasonable

limits on the criteria that can support military jurisdic-

tion.

13

This Court observed in O'Callahan and Relford that

Article I, §8, c1.14 and the Fifth Amendment allow Con-

gress to create military courts which need not provide

all the procedural safeguards essential in an Article ill

court. On the other hand, the Court found that in cases

not subject to courts-martial, Article III, §2, 1.3, the

Sixth Amendment, and possibly the Fifth Amendment,

guarantee the rights to indictment by grand jury and

trial by jury before a civilian court.

This Court has clearly stated that it intends the

service-connection test to balance these constitutional

rights of servicemembers against the military’s interest

in trying the case at a court-martial. While acknowledg-

ing that the special needs of the military justify a

separate military justice system, the Court recognized

that “expansion of military discipline beyond its proper

domain carries with it a threat to liberty.” O'Callahan v.

Parker, supra, at 265. Moreover, the Court observed

“the constitutional power of Congress to authorize trial

by court-martial presents another instance calling for

limitation to the ‘least possible power adequate to the

end proposed.’ ” Jd. (citing Toth v. Quarles, 350 U.S. 11,

22-23 (1955)).

The Court of Military Appeals’ decision, however,

does not give proper consideration to the interests of

servicemembers. It suggests that any asserted impact

upon the military, regardless of how remote or indirect,

will be sufficient to outweigh the servicemember’s con-

stitutional rights. The Court of Military Appeals seems

to have embraced the position of one writer who has

suggested that the imagination of the government is the

only limitation on court-martial subject matter jurisdic-

tion.!°

” Tomes, The Imagination of the Prosecutor: The Only Limita-

tion to Off-Post Jurisdiction Now, Fifteen Years After O'Callahan

v. Parker, 25 A.F.L.Rev. 1 (1985).

14

The Court of Military Appeals’ decision sets this area

of the law back to the time before Relford explicitly

spelled out clear standards for deciding whether or not

subject matter jurisdiction exists. Justice Harlan,

dissenting in O'Callahan v. Parker, supra, stated:

the Court suggests no general standard for deter-

mining when the exercise of court-martial jurisdic-

tion is permissable. . .. Congress and the military

are at least entitled to know with some certainty

the allowable scope of court-martial jurisdiction.

Otherwise, the infinite permutations of possibly

relevant factors are bound to create confusion and

proliferate litigation over the jurisdiction issue in

each instance.

Id. at 284. He concluded, “the Court has thrown the law

in this realm into a demoralizing state of uncertainty.”

Id. at 275.

In Relford, this Court reiterated that a crime must be

service-connected to be tried by court-martial, but

acknowledged that the O'Callahan decision had met

with some generally critical comments including those

of, then, Professor Everett. Jd. at 357. The Court noted

that some of the criticism expressed concern, as had

Justice Harlan’s dissent, about the confusion that

O'Callahan might cause.'' Id. Therefore, in Relford this

Court clearly set out its analysis of the service-

connection issue and that analysis has served as a model

which has been followed by lower courts for more than

'' Chief Judge Everett wrote in his article, O'Callahan v.

Parker —Milestone or Millstone in Military Justice?, 1969 Duke

L.J. 853, at 869, “[cJriticism of the majority opinion would be more

muted if it had given a clearer test for deciding when military

jurisdiction exists.”

15

ten years. That service-connection analysis has elim-

inated the potential for confusion in this area of the law

by limiting the “infinite permutations of possibly rele-

vant factors” to the twelve “Relford factors” and nine

additional considerations.

Prior to the Relford decision, it was those who favored

expansive military jurisdiction that seemed most con-

cerned about the unlimited factors that could be con-

sidered in deciding whether or not an offense was

service-connected. They were concerned that military

interests would not receive proper consideration. Now

it is the servicemember who is concerned that his in-

dividual interests are not being protected. While reject-

ing the Relford factors and considerations as too inflexi-

ble, the Court of Military Appeals has not placed any

limitations on other factors that can support subject

matter jurisdiction. In this case, and in others,'* the

Court of Military Appeals has indicated that any single

factor or combination of factors, tangible or intangible,

proven or presumed, may be sufficient to find that an of-

fense is service-connected.

The Coast Guard Court of Military Review’s decision

in this case is a perfect example of how ready military

courts are to exercise and expand this freedom to find

jurisdiction based on the flimsiest claim of military in-

terest. That decision bases subject matter jurisdiction

primarily on the potential impact on petitioner's

military neighbors at Governors Island. The impact was

inferred entirely from the nature of the alleged of-

fenses, even though the offenses allegedly occurred

many months before they were disclosed and thousands

of miles from Governors Island. Although the govern-

ment had the burden of proving jurisdiction by a pre-

ponderance of the evidence, see Rules for Courts-

12 See note 8, supra.

nail teenie teenie

16

Martial (R.C.M.) 905(c\(1), and 905(c\2\B), Manual for

Courts-Martial, United States, 1984 (MCM 1984), the

Coast Guard Court inferred the potential impact

without any proof of actual impact on Governors Island.

As this obviously suggests, the Court of Military Ap-

peals’ flexible analysis permits military courts to broad-

ly infer impact from the nature of the offense. As a

result, an offense may be found to be service-connected

per se, in violation of this Court’s requirement for a fact

based determination of service-connection. See Relford

v. Commandant, supra at 365-366. The Court of

Military Appeals’ decision, in this case, certainly implies

that every sex offense committed by a servicemember

against a child dependent is per se service-connected.

United States v. Solorio, 21 M.J. 251, 256 (C.M.A. 1986).

No previous case has held that the dependent status of

a victim is sufficient to support subject matter jurisdic-

tion over an offense that has no significant and direct

impact on the military. The dependent status of the vic-

tims was one of the factors supporting jurisdiction in

Relford; but there were other significant factors, in-

cluding the fact that the offenses were committed on a

military post. In this case, however, the offenses oc-

curred in the petitioner’s private home in the civilian

community, at a place where there is no military post at

which servicemembers and their families live. Further-

more, the offenses have never become public

knowledge, even among servicemembers, at the place

where they occurred.

By Executive Order, the law of O'Callahan, and

Relford, have been incorporated into the regulations

that govern courts-martial. Rule 201(b), R.C.M., MCM

1984, states that courts-martial only have jurisdiction

over offenses that are subject to court-martial jurisdic-

tion. Rule 203, R.C.M., MCM 1984, makes any offense

under the Uniform Code of Military Justice subject to

17

court-martial jurisdiction, to the extent permitted by

the Constitution.

The Discussion and Analysis of Rule 203 were pub-

lished by the Department of Defense in conjunction with

the Department of Transportation. They are nonbind-

ing, but they are entitled to great deference and weight

because they set forth the drafters’ views of the state of

the law of subject matter jurisdiction. The Discussion of

Rule 203 clearly reflects the continuing vitality of this

Court’s decisions in O'Callahan and Relford.

The section on “Determining service-connection” in

the Discussion of Rule 203, begins with a recitation of

the twelve factors and the nine additional considera-

tions enumerated in Relford. See Appendix at 44a-46a.

There is no hint in either the Discussion or the Analysis

of Rule 203 that the dependent status of a victim is, by

itself, sufficient to establish service-connection.

Therefore, the Court of Military Appeals’ decision, not

only fails to follow this Court’s decisions in O'Callahan

and Relford, it conflicts with the settled law of subject

matter jurisdiction, as understood and described by the

drafters of Rule 203.

The Court of Military Appeals’ has erred in sug-

gesting that developments in the military and in society

since the O'Callahan and Relford decisions justify rejec-

tion of its own precedents which properly applied those

decisions. United States v. Solorio, 21 M.J. 251, 254

(C.M.A. 1986). The need to limit court-martial jurisdic-

tion to its proper domain is as great now as it was when

O'Callahan and Relford were decided.

Our society’s increased concern for the victims of

crime is no more reason to take the right to a civilian

trial away from servicemembers than it is a reason for

subjecting civilians to trial by court-martial. Any victim

who felt that “a military trial is marked by the age-old

18

manifest destiny of retributive justice”!* might prefer a

trial by court-martial. That does not, in any way, justify

depriving an accused of constitutionally protected trial

rights.

Increased concern for victims is not a singularly

military phenomenon. State officials would have been

equally interested in protecting the victims’ rights, if

this case had been tried in state court. As the Court of

Military Appeals has pointed out, Congress and state

legislatures have made changes in civilian criminal

systems to protect more fully the rights of victims.

United States v. Solorio, 21 M.J. 251, 254-255 (C.M/A.

1986). Civilian courts, certainly, have not interpreted

such changes as authority for the abridgment of con-

stitutionally protected trial rights.

Although this petition for a writ of certiorari results

from the affirmance of a decision granting a govern-

ment appeal, the petition should be granted at this time.

The subject matter jurisdiction issues are collateral to,

and separable from, the merits of petitioner’s court-

martial. They have already been completely developed,

and resolved in a fully dispositive decision. Clearly, the

most campelling reason for granting the petition now is

that petitioner may never again be able to ask this Court

to consider this case, except by a collateral attack or a

petition for extraordinary relief, even though he has

been convicted and sentenced to a bad conduct dis-

charge and a year of confinement.

This is a case where immediate review should be

allowed because the question of jurisdiction has been

finally decided, with further proceedings on the merits

subsequently completed, but in which later review of the

jurisdiction issue may be frustrated, despite the

ultimate outcome of the case. See Cox Broadcasting

Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469, 481 (1975). There is no

13 O'Callahan v. Parker. supra at 266.

19

question of the Court’s jurisdiction to review the case at

this time. Under 28 U.S.C. §1259 and Article 67(h), UC-

MJ, 10 U.S.C. §867(h) (1984), this Court may review any

decision of the Court of Military Appeals, whether final

or not, except for a decision not to grant a petition for

review.

On the other hand, in the normal course of appellate

review this Court will have no jurisdiction to review this

case unless the Court of Military Appeals reviews it

again. The Court of Military Appeals, of course, reviews

only a small fraction of the cases eligible for review.

Therefore, this may be the last opportunity for the

United States Supreme Court to address the important

issues presented, in this case.

Moreover, failure to grant the petition at this time

poses a threat of serious erosion of the important rights

underlying the O'Callahan and Relford decisions; the

servicemember’s right, against subjection to excessive

assertions of military jurisdiction, and to trial by a

civilian court. If immediate review is not permitted, the

Court of Military Appeals can ignore this Court's

precedents with impunity, and continue to expand sub-

ject matter jurisdiction, in cases brought to it on

government appeals.

This Court has often recognized the need t. review

judgments that have not terminated the proceedings.

See Abney v. United States, 431 U.S. 651 (1977), Stack v.

Boyle, 342 U.S. 1 (1951) (both on appeal from pretrial

orders in federal criminal proceedings); Gillespie v.

United States Steel Corp. 379 U.S. 148 (1964), Cohen v.

Beneficial Industrial Loan Corp., 337 U.S. 541 (1949)

(both on appeal from decisions in federal civil actions

while further proceedings were pending); Cox Broad-

casting Corp. v. Cohn, supra (on appeal from decision in

state court while further proceedings were pending).

dititeenesiacmccenieaimiiatitiaiiniiti tite

20

The question of military jurisdiction in this case will

not be meaningfully reviewed again in the military

courts. All of the relevant facts were marshaled at the

pre-trial hearing on jurisdiction. Petitioner’s trial on the

merits has not produced any additional facts that could

affect the military courts’ decisions on jursidiction, since

those decisions are essentially based on just the depend-

ent status of the victims or the general nature of the of-

fenses. Therefore, immediate appeal should be per-

mitted.

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, a writ of certiorari should issue to

review the judgment and opinion of the United States

Court of Military Appeals.

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT W. BRUCE, JR.

Lieutenant Commander

U.S. Coast Guard

2100 Second Street, S.W.

Washington, D.C. 20593

(202) 426-0273

Counsel for Petitioner

March 1986

APPENDIX

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES, Appellee,

Ve

RICHARD SOLORIO, YEOMAN First CLASS

U.S. Coast GUARD, Appellant.

No. 53603.

CGCM Misc. No. 004-85.

U.S. Court of Military Appeals.

Jan. 27, 1986.

Accused, yeoman first class, United States coast

guard, was charged with numerous sex offenses involv-

ing minor female dependents of fellow coast guards-

man, which offenses allegedly occurred in Alaska and

subsequently at Governor’s Island. The military judge

dismissed charges and specifications concerning Alaska

offenses. The Coast Guard of Military Review, 21 M.J.

512, reversed. Accused petitioned for review. The Court

of Military Appeals, Everett, C.J., held that service con-

nection existed notwithstanding that offenses occurred

off base while accused was properly absent from his unit

and in a place not under military control.

Afiirmed.

1. Military Justice §1411

A military judge’s fact-finding power under Article 62

cannot be superseded by a Court of Military Review in

an appeal under Article 62. UCMJ, Art. 62, 10 U.S.C.A.

§ 862.

2. Military Justice )555

Off-base sex offenses allegedly committed by accused

on minor daughters of fellow coast guardsman assigned

(la)

Ee

Za

to the same district office as accused were subject of

court-martial jurisdiction, notwithstanding that accused

was properly absent from his unit and that offenses oc-

curred in a place not under military control; departing

from United States v. McGonigal, 19 U.S.C.M.A. 94, 41

C.M.R. 94; United States v. Shockley, 18 U.S.C.M.A.

610, 40 C.M.R. 322; United States v. Henderson, 18

U.S.C.M.A. 601, 40 C.M.R. 313. UCMJ, Arts. 39(a), 80,

128, 134, 10 U.S.C.A. §§ 839(a), 880m, 928, 934.

3. Military Justice § 552

Lack of in personam jurisdiction over a civilian who

commits a crime having great impact on service person-

nel does not mean that there would be no court-martial

jurisdiction over the same crime if committed by a serv-

ice member.

4. Military Justice § 555

Sex offenses against young dependents of military

personnel have a continuing effect on the victims and

their families and ultimately on the morale of any

military unit or organization to which the family

member is assigned and such effects tend to establish

service connection necessary for court-martial of serv-

ice member who perpetrates the offenses.

5. Military Justice § 555

Because accused’s transfer from Alaska, where al-

leged sex offenses on minor daughters of fellow service

member occurred, to Governor’s Island, where accused

allegedly perpetrated similar offenses on minor

daughter of another service member, was a routine mat-

ter and in no way undertaken with a view to creating

court-martial jurisdiction, it was appropriate, in deter-

mining service connection, to consider the situation as it

presently existed and not merely as it existed in Alaska

3a

when the crimes were committed but before they were

discovered; same observation applied with respect to

the Governor’s Island offenses as regards consideration

of similar offenses committed some months after

charged offenses.

6. Military Justice § 552

Pendency of subsequent offenses for trial by general

court-martial is relevant in determining service connec-

tion of prior, similar offenses.

For Appellant: Liewtenant Commander Robert Bruce

(argued).

For Appellee: Lieutenant Commander Thomas J.

Donlon (argued).

Opinion of the Court

EVERETT, Chief Judge:

Yeoman First Class Richard Solorio was charged

under Articles 80, 128, and 134 of the Uniform Code of

Military Justice, 10 U.S.C. §§ 880, 928, and 934, respec-

tively, with numerous sex offenses involving females

under the age of 16, each of whom was the daughter of a

Coast Guardsman. Fourteen specifications alleged

misconduct occurring at Juneau, Alaska, between

March 1982 and June 1984; and seven specifications

concerned misconduct at Governor’s Island during the

period from November 20, 1984, to January 5, 1985. In

a session under Article 39(a), UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 839(a),

prior to trial, the defense moved to dismiss all the

charges and specifications concerning the alleged of-

fenses committed in Alaska on the grounds that they

were not subject to court-martial jurisdiction. See

Relford v. Commandant, 401 U.S. 355, 91 S.Ct. 649, 28

L.Ed.2d 102 (1971); O'Callahan v. Parker, 395 U.S. 258,

89 S.Ct. 1683, 23 L.Ed.2d 291 (1969). After receiving

4a

evidence and hearing argument, the military judge

made findings of fact; and, based on those findings, he

granted the motion to dismiss.

The Government appealed from this ruling pursuant

to Article 62, UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 862, and the Coast

Guard Court of Military Review reversed the military

judge’s ruling. 21 M.J. 512 (1985). In turn, Solorio peti-

tioned this Court for review and moved for a stay in his

trial, which meanwhile had been set for December 3,

1985. A hearing took place on this motion and on the

petition, at which time counsel for the parties ably

argued their respective contentions as to the court-

martial’s jurisdiction over the offenses dismissed by the

military judge. We now conclude that the decision of the

Court of Military Review was correct, and the Govern-

ment should be allowed to proceed to trial on the

specifications involving alleged misconduct at Juneau,

Alaska.

I

At trial, counsel for the parties marshaled all available

evidence and presented cogent arguments in support of

their respective positions; and the military judge con-

scientiously made findings of fact as he sought to apply

the criteria relevant in determining the issue of service-

connection. See Relford v. Commandant, supra. Accord-

ing to these findings, Solorio

was properly absent from his unit at the time of

each . . . [offense in Juneau].

-Each offense . . . occurred away from any military

base at the accused’s residence in the civilian com-

munity.

-Each offense... occurred in a place not under

military control.

5a

[T]here was no connection between the accused's

military duties and the alleged offenses.

~The victims were not service members and were not

involved in military duties or military supported or

sponsored activities at the time of any of the alleged

offenses.

~ Civilian courts are present [in Alaska] and available

to adjudicate the offenses. While the State of Alaska

has presently deferred prosecution in light of this pro-

ceeding, the State has not waived prosecution, nor

declined to prosecute.

~— Accused was not in uniform and in no way flouted

military authority at the time of the alleged offenses.

—None of the alleged offenses posed a threat to any

military installation . . . [or] resulted in any violation

of military property.

— All the alleged offenses are of the type traditionally

prosecuted by civilian courts and are specifically of

the type the Coast Guard has recently consented to

have civilian courts prosecute Coast Guard members

for in Alaska.

* x a * * *

There has been no demonstrated impact of the of-

fenses on morale, discipline, the reputation or the in-

tegrity of the Coast Guard in Juneau, the personnel

assigned there, nor on military operations or mis-

sions. The impact apparent in this case, that is, on the

parents and the victims themselves is no different

than that which would be produced by civilian

perpetrator.

” * * ~ ~ *

There has been no showing of diminished morale,

discipline, or effectiveness within the military com-

munity in Juneau, Alaska. As to the effect of the

alleged incidents toward the Coast Guard within the

6a

civilian community, there has been speculation by

military personnel, but little more.... There is no

evidence that these alleged offenses were known by

anyone in the community to have taken place, outside

of law enforcement circles. I find no adverse impact

on the reputation of the Coast Guard in Juneau has

resulted from these incidents. . .. The impact of the

alleged offenses, primarily reflected in the testimony

of the service member parents of the victims, is that

which might be expected of the victim of any crime of

a similar nature, and while that impact may manifest

itself ii the work situation of those members, it does

not rise to the level to compel the exercise of court-

martial jursidiction in these circumstances. In this

regard, I note the increased caution of the parents

victims may now exercise over their children, the re-

quirements for counseling, anxiety, and time away

from work for legal proceedings. These concerns

would be the same whether the status of the offender

were military or civilian. There has been no impact on

transfer of military personnel within the meaning of

the Personnel Manual provisions which have been

taken judicial notice of. There have been transfers of

all involved parties without restrictions.

Among supplementary findings subsequently made by

the judge were these:

4. Crime has an impact. The impact is felt on the vic-

tim and on those close to the victim. It is also

reflected in the greater society of which the victim

and offender are a part. Impact may be direct or in-

direct. In this case there is no direct impact on the

service. The indirect impact that exists is not suffi-

cient to create service connection. That indirect im-

pact consists of servicemember-parents’ preoccupa-

tion with family situation affecting the members’ per-

formance, some initial counseling and referral from

Ta

persons whose position it is to take such action, and

time to participate in proceedings under the U.C.M.J.

Good order, discipline, morale and welfare of service-

members have not been directly impacted. Service

reputation has not been adversely affected and those

attributes of service reputation in a community which

have been testified about, for example, credit worthi-

ness, job stability for spouses, members’ and families’

access to community activities; would not be

negatively impacted if these offenses were to come to

light.

x * * * * *

6. The offenses alleged to have occurred in Alaska are

significantly remote in time and place from those

alleged to have occurred in New York.

The Court of Military Review concluded that in his

findings the judge had erred in several important

respects. For one thing,

it was error for the judge to base his assessment of

impact on the Juneau command solely on the ob-

served effect after departure of all parties.

A more relevant finding in this area would pertain

to the impact of these offenses on morale and

discipline at Governors Island, where the accused is

now stationed and living on base. The judge made no

specific findings, however, with respect to the possi-

ble effect of the offenses on morale, good order and

discipline within any command at Governors Island or

on personnel under the authority and responsibility of

the convening authority, Commander, Third Coast

Guard District.

21 M.J. at 519. The Court of Military Review also

disagreed

with the judge’s conclusion that the concern of the

parents in this case “would be the same whether the

Taian ieee

Sa

status of the offender were military or civilian.” Such

a conclusion overlooked the possible unique and

distinct effect from the discovery by the fathers that a

fellow Coast Guardsman may have committed viola-

tive offenses, of the nature alleged, upon their

daughters and the natural expectation of the fathers

that those in positions of authority and responsibility

within the Coast Guard would take appropriate action

to vindicate the outrage felt from such a grievous

breach of faith by one shipmate towards another.

Finally, the court below disputed a finding by the

military judge “that ‘there has been no evidence sug-

gesting a potential lessened interest, concern or capaci-

ty of civil courts to vindicate the military’s disciplinary

interest in prosecuting these offenses.’” A letter from

the Office of the District Attorney in Juneau indicated

that state officials would “defer” to prosecution of

Solorio by the Coast Guard. The Court of Military

Review concluded that “[t]here is no assurance,

however, that upon reconsideration the Alaskan

authorities will decide to prosecute these offenses, even

if the judge’s dismissal for lack of military jurisdiction is

allowed to stand upon final review.” Jd. at 520.

[1, 2] A military judge’s factfinding power under Arti-

cle 62 cannot be superseded by a Court of Military

Review in an appeal under Article 62, see United States

v. Burris 21 M.J. 140 (C.M.A. 1985.) To some extent

the Court of Military Review may have erred in this

direction; but any such error is immaterial, because, on

the basis of undisputed facts, we conclude that the of-

fenses in Alaska were service-connected.

Admittedly, our precedents involving offbase sex of-

fenses against civilian dependents of military personnel

would point to a different conclusion. See, e.g., United

Ya

States v. McGonigal, 19 U.S.C.M.A. 94, 41 C.M.R. 94

(1969); United States v. Shockley, 18 U.S.C.M.A. 610, 40

C.M.R. 322 (1969); United States v. Henderson, 18

U.S.C.M.A. 601, 40 C.M.R. 313 (1969). However, as we

made clear in United States v. Trottier, 9 M.J. 337

(C.M.A. 1980), which concerned off-base drug activity,

some of our earlier opinions on service-connection

should be reexamined in light of more recent conditions

and experience.! |

In so holding, we were not trying to rewrite the

Supreme Court’s opinion in O'Callahan. Instead, we

sought to apply O’Caliahan — as amplified by Relford —to

conditions as they now exist. Our premise was that

O'Callahan permitted us to consider later developments

in the military community and in the society at large

and to take into account any new information that

might bear on service-connection. Cf Home Bldg &

Loan Ass’n v. Blaisdell, 290 U.S. 398, 442-43, 54 S.Ct.

231, 241-42, 78 L.Ed. 413 (1934); Village of Euclid v.

Ambler Realty Co., 272 U.S. 365, 387, 47 S.Ct. 114, 118,

71 L.Ed. 303 (1926).

One recent development in our society has deen an in-

crease in the concern for victims of crimes. See, e.g.,

President’s Task Force on Victims of Crime, Final

Report (Dec. 1982); Goldstein, Defining the Role of the

Victim in Criminal Prosecution, 52 Miss.L.J. 515

(1982). Thus, Congress? and state legislatures* have

‘The doctrine of stare decisis should never be applied to

perpetuate a view which no longer has a sound basis. See United

States v. Jacoby 11 U.S.C.M.A. 428, 430, 29 C.M.R. 244, 246 (1960).

2 See, e.g., the Victim and Witness Protection Act, Pub.L. No.

97-291, 96 Stat. 1248 (codified at 18 U.S.C. § 1501 note, 1503,

1505, 1510, 1512 note, 1512-1515, 3146, 3579 note, 3580, Fed.R.

Crim.P. 32(c\2) (1982); Goldstein, The Victim and Prosecutorial

Discretion: The Federal Victim and Witness Protection Act of 1982,

47 Law & Contemp.Probs. 225 (1984).

$ Gittler, Expanding the Role of Victim in a Criminal Action: An

Overview of Issues and Problems, 11 Pepperdine L.Rev. 117 (Sym-

posium issue 1984).

10a

sought to protect more fully the rights of victims; courts

have attempted to make less onerous the participation

of victims in criminal trials;* and in sentencing, judges

have increasingly been willing to consider information

about the psychological impact of various crimes on

their victims.§

In the present case, the alleged victims were two

young girls, each of whom was the daughter of a Coast

Guardsman assigned ‘to the same district office as

Solorio. It is well-recognized that children are especially

susceptible to lasting psychological harm as a result of

various types of sexual offenses. Indeed, this probably is

the main reason for the enactment of laws to prevent

the sexual expioitation of children, see, e.g. 18 U.S.C. §§

2251-55, and for judicial decisions upholding such laws.

See, e.g., New York v. Ferber, 458 U.S. 747, 102 S.Ct.

3348, 73 L.Ed.2d 1113 (1982). Not surprisingly, the

child victims in this case began to receive psychological

counseling after the crimes came to light.

When young children are sexually molested, parents

also are in many ways victims of the crime. This seems

especially true in the present case, for the parents were

also receiving psychological counseling. Moreover,

these parents were victimized financially, for they

would have the legal responsibility to pay for any

necessary medica! and psychiatric treatment for their

daughters—except to the extent that, as military

dependents, the victims were entitled to medical care at

government expense.

* See, e.g., Morris v. Slappy, 461 U.S. 1, 14, 103 S.Ct. 1610, 1617,

75 L.Ed.2d 610 (1983); Fed.R. Evid. 412 (rape shield).

5 United States v. Hammond, '7 M.J. 218 (C.M.A.1984); United

States v. Marshall, 14 M.J. 157 (C.M.A.1982). See also Victim and

Witness Protection Act, supra, \ 3, 96 Stat. 1249; Fed.R.Crim.P.

32(c\{2).

lla

(3] The military judge found that “(t]he impact. . . on

the parents” was “no different than that which would be

produced by [a] civilian perpetrator.” The Court of

Military Review questioned this conclusion because it

“overlooked the possible unique and distinct effect from

the discovery by the fathers that a fellow Coast Guards-

man may have committed violative offenses, of the

nature alleged, upon their daughters.” 21 M.J. at 520.

However, even if the judge’s finding was correct, it is

not decisive as to court-martial jurisdiction. The lack of

in personam jurisdiction over a civilian who commits a

crime having great impact on service personnel does not

mean that there would be no court-martial jurisdiction

over the same crime if committed by a servicemember.

O’Callahan’s primary concern is with the impact of

crimes on the armed services and their missions. Unless

there is such impact, no reason exists not to allow a

servicemember the right to a jury trial and grand-jury

indictment which he generally would enjoy if tried in a

civilian court. In seeking to demonstrate impact, the

Government offered evidence that, because of the

trauma resulting from learning of the offenses against

their daughters, the fathers could not function as effec-

tively in their Coast Guard duty assignments as they

had previously.

Of course, prior to discovery of the offenses, Solorio

had been transferred from Alaska and was no longer

serving with them. However, if this had not occurred, it

obviously would have been difficult—if not im-

possible — for the victims’ fathers to continue to serve in

the District Office with him. Indeed, it is unlikely that

Solorio and the two fathers could ever again be satisfac-

torily assigned together in one of the small units which

is typical of the Coast Guard organization. Further-

more, because of the widespread hostility towards the

offender that usually results from this type of sex of-

fense, it would appear that Solorio’s’ future

j |

12a

assignments would be greatly limited due to the ten-

sions that his presence would create in an organization.

[4] Obviously, not every off-base offense against a

servicemember’s dependent is service-connected. For

example, an off-post larceny from a dependent usually

would not have the continuing effects which would

cause it to be classified as service-connected. However,

sex offenses against young children — offenses like those

. alleged in the charges against Solorio—have a continu-

ing effect on the victims and their families and ultimate-

ly on the morale of any military unit or organization to

which the famiiy member is assigned. This continuing

effect tends to establish service-connection.

In O'Callahan, the Supreme Court ruled that, despite

a servicemember’s military status, he could not be tried

by a court-martial for offenses that were not service-

connected. This result was based on the premise that

such offenses were not within the legislative power “[t]o

make rules for the Government and Regulation of the

land and naval Forces.” See U.S. Const. art. I, § 8, el. 14.

It would seem to be a necessary corollary that Congress

could not prohibit conduct that lacked service-con-

nection, even if violations of the prohibition were to be

tried in Federal District Court, where every constitu-

tional safeguard clearly would be avaiiable to defend-

ants.

On this premise, the determination of service-con-

nection should be made only in light of the conditions ex-

isting when the alleged misconduct occurred, because,

unless service-connection existed at that time, the con-

duct falls outside Congress’ power to punish and no

crime has been committed. Accordingly, events which

occurred after commission of an alleged offense would

be immaterial to the issue of jurisdiction. This means

that, for example, in determining service-connection of

a service-member’s off-post crime, only the likelihood

and feasibility of civilian prosecution at the time of the

13a

crime could be considered-—even if the crime were not

discovered for some time after its occurrence; and

subsequent changes in State law and policy which might

increase or decrease that likelihood would be disre-

garded.

However, it appears to us that the emphasis in

O'Callahan was not on the scope of substantive congres-

sional power to regulate a servicemember’s off-duty,

off-post conduct,® but instead was on assuring that, as

far as feasible, servicemembers would retain their con-

stitutional right to grand-jury indictment and trial by

petit jury. Thus, in Gosa v. Mayden, 413 U.S. 665, 93

S.Ct. 2926, 37 L.Ed.2d 873 (1973), the Court declined to

appy O'Callahan retroactively, even though it appears

somewhat anomalous to sustain convictions for violat-

ing rules which Congress had no power to prescribe.

If factors such as the probability of trial in a civilian

court are relevant in determining service-connection,

then we should consider whether as a practical matter

there is any likelihood that, if the charges are dismissed,

Solorio will be prosecuted in an Alaskan court. The let-

ter from the District Attorney’s Office, which indicated

that the State would defer prosecution in favor of a

military trial, was given little weight by the military

judge. Even though the Court of Military Review

criticized him in this regard, we also would not attach

great significance to such a document. Otherwise,

military authorities anxious to try a servicemember by

court-martial might endeavor to persuade civilian pros-

6 It would seem that some acts on the part of servicemembers

cannot be prohibited by Congress, no matter what might be the

method for trying and punishing violations of the prohibition. C/-

United States v. Nation, 9 U.S.C.M.A. 724, 26 C.M.R. 504 (1958);

United States v. Wysong, 9 U.S.C.M.A. 249, 26 C.M.R. 29 (1958);

Unites States v. Milldebrandt, 8 U.S.C.M.A. 635, 25 C.M.R. 139

(1958).

Os iaaiaceealasnnaienenie elle

l4a

ecutors to drop cases that they normally would pros-

ecute, in an effort to create court-martial jurisdiction

that otherwise would not exist.

[5, 6] On the other hand, we recognize that in cases

like this, where the prospective defendant and the vic-

tims have left the State and moved to distant loca-

tions—Solorio to Governors Island; one of the victims

and her father to the Washington, D.C. area; and the

other to California—State officials are less likely to be

interested in prosecuting. Moreover, if for some reason,

the victims decide that they do not wish to go back to

Alaska and undergo the trauma of testifying, it will be

difficult to compel their attendance. Therefore, because

Solorio’s transfer to Governors Island was a routine

matter and in no way undertaken with a view to

creating court-martial! jurisdiction, we conclude that it

is appropriate to consider the situation as it now exists

and not merely as it existed at Juneau when the crimes

were committed but before they were discovered.

The same observation applies with respect to the com-

mission of subsequent offenses at Governors Island. If

service-connection must be determined solely in terms

of events as they existed at the time of an alleged of-

fense, then we could not take into account other of-

fenses committed some months later. However, as we

have indicated, O'Callahan — despite its reliance on Arti-

cle I, section 8, cl. 14 of the Constitution—does not re-

quire that. service-connection be evaluated in such a

limited context. Accordingly, the pendency of the sub-

sequent offenses for trial by general court-martial is

relevant in determining service-connection.

In United States v. Lockwood, 15 M.J. 1 (C.M.A.1983),

we declined to apply to the doctrine of “pendent jurisdic-

tion” in deciding whether a court-martial was entitled to

try certain offenses. Nonetheless, we observed that

some of the factors which underlie that doctrine also

15a

tend to establish service-connection. We noted the ad-

vantages in having all charges disposed of in a single

proceeding and commented:

The Government has an interest in assuring that a

servicemember receives an appropriate punishment

for his crimes and that, if feasible, he is

rehabilitated. When the responsibility for punishing

a course of criminal conduct is divided between

civilian and military authorities, these goals may be

hindered. For one thing, the servicemember is sub-

ject to two convictions rather than one and this may

carry adverse collateral consequences which make it

more difficult for the accused to be rehabilitated.

Since two trials must take place, rather than only

one, the accused may undergo two ordeals and re-

main uncertain about his fate until the second trial

is concluded. Commencing a successful rehabilita-

tion program is more difficult until it becomes cer-

tain what the accused’s punishment ultimately will

be; so the commencement of successful rehabilita-

tion may be delayed while awaiting the results of a

second trial. Also, the military sentencing and cor-

rectional authorities may differ from their civilian

counterparts in methodology and in goals; and these

differences may complicate the rehabilitation pro-

cess.

Further, we remarked:

The “practical reasons of dispatch” which have led

to the military practice of joining all known offenses

in a single trial also help support the conclusion that

where related on-base and off-base offenses are in-

volved, there is a military interest in having all the

offenses tried by court-martial, so that they can be

disposed of together without delay. The existence of

this interest, in turn, helps us provide a basis for

finding service connection for the off-base offenses.

Id. at 8.

Admittedly, in the present case, the offenses in

Juneau are not “related” in time or place to those at

Governors Island. On the other hand, they are of a

ee

l6a

similar type and probably result from the same underly-

ing motive or predisposition. Indeed, the similarity is

such that, even if not before the court-martial for trial,

the offenses in Alaska might be admissible under Mil.R.

Evid. 404(b); and apparently, if the military judge’s rul-

ing is upheld, the Government will seek to use evidence

of these offenses pursuant to that rule. Moreover, the

method of rehabilitation employed would seem to be the

same for the Alaska and the Governors Island offenses;

and the likelihood of successful rehabilitation for the lat-

ter offenses would be small if the others were sti!l pend-

ing for trial. From the standpoint of the two girls and

their parents, there also is the advantage that the trial

by court-martial at Governors Island will promptly

dispose of the offenses allegedly committed in Alaska

and will eliminate the possibility that on two occasions,

rather than one, the victims will have to give “public

testimony about a humiliating and degrading ex-

perience such as was involved here.” Morris v. Slappy,

461 U.S. 1, 103 S.Ct. 1610, 75 L.Ed.2d 610 (1983).

Under these circumstances, there exists here “a military

interest in having all the offenses tried by court-martial,

so that they can be disposed of together without delay,”

and “this interest, in turn, helps provide a basis for find-

ing service connection for the off-base offenses.”

When we consider the continuing effects of

appellant’s off-base misconduct on the servicemember

fathers of the two victims, the resulting effect on other

Coast Guardsmen and on that service, the unfeasibility

of an Alaskan prosecution, and the importance to the

Coast Guard of disposing of all the offenses promptly in

a single trial, we are convinced that service-connection

exists and that the court below correctly reversed the

military judge.

The petition for grant of review is granted. The mo-

tion for a stay is denied, and the motion to strike the af-

fidavits is dismissed as moot.

The decision of the United States Coast Guard Court

of Military Review is affirmed.

Judge COX concurs.

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COAST GUARD COURT OF

MILITARY REVIEW

Washington, DC

UNITED STATES

Vv.

RICHARD SOLORIO

YEOMAN First Cuiass, U. S. Coast GUARD

Mise. Docket 004-85

24 SEPTEMBER 1985

LCDR Rosert E. Bruce, USCG

APPELLATE DEFENSE COUNSEL

LCDR Tuomas L. DonLon, USCG

APPELLATE GOVERNMENT COUNSEL

GOVERNMENT FROM DISMISSAL OF CHARGES AND

SPECIFICATIONS BY THE TRIAL JUDGE

BAUM, Chief Judge:

This is the Coast Guard’s first action under Article 62,

UCMJ, 10 USC § 862, which became effective August 1,

1984 and authorizes appeals by the Government from

certain orders and rulings of a military judge not

amounting to findings of not guilty. The ruling from

which the Government has appealed grants defense

counsel’s motion to dismiss various charges and

specifications for lack of jurisdiction. In so ruling, the

trial judge applied to the facts the doctrine of “service

connection,” first proclaimed in O'Callahan v. Parker,

(18a)

19a

395 U.S. 258, 89 S. Ct. 1683 (1969) and amplified later

in Relford v. Commandant, 401 U.S. 355, 91 S. Ct. 649

(1971) and Schlessinger v. Councilman, 420 U.S. 738, 95

S. Ct. 1300 (1975).

In O'Callahan v. Parker, supra, the U. S. Supreme

Court, analyzed the reach of court-martial jurisdiction

for offenses committed within United States territorial

limits during peacetime and rejected the Government-

advanced argument that liability for trial by court-

martial is simply “a question of ‘status’—‘whether the

accused in the court-martial proceeding is a person who

can be regarded as falling within the term ‘land and

naval forces.’ ” 395 U.S. 267, 89 S. Ct. 1688. Instead,

the Court said, “that is merely the beginning of the in-

quiry, not its end. ‘Status’ is necessary for jurisdiction;

but it does not follow that ascertainment of ‘status’ com-

pletes the inquiry, regardless of the nature, time, and

place of the offense.” Id. The Court went on to say, “the

crime to be under military jurisdiction must be service

connected... .” 395 U.S. 272, 89 S. Ct. 1690. Since

then, for offenses during peacetime committed inside

the territorial limits of the United States, both person

and offense must be found to be within a court-martial’s

ambit in order for there to be a trial. In making such

determinations, military courts to this day have

repeatedly faced the question of what must be shown to

establish “service connection.” See generally the recent

eases of U.S. v. Griffin, MJ , ACM 24752

(AFCMR 5 September 1985); U.S. v. Wilson, Mise Dkt

No. 85-08, (NMCMR 20 August 1985); U.S. v. Benedict,

___ MJ___, ACM 24444 (AFCMR 14 August 1985);

U.S. v. Roa, 20 MJ 867 (AFCMR 1985); U.S. v. Kyles, 20

MJ 571 (NMCMR 1985); U.S. v. Holman, 19 MJ 784

(ACMR 1984), U.S. v. Wojciechowski, 19 MJ 577

(NMCMR 1984).

j |

20a

Assistance in making that judgment was provided in

1971 in Relford v. Commandant, supra, when the

Supreme Court established a guideline for finding “serv-

ice connection” and in the process carved out a service

connected area where courts-martial are always ap-

propriate, holding, “that when a serviceman is charged

with an offense committed within or at the geographical

boundary of a military post and violative of the security

of a person or of property there, that offense may be

tried by a court-martial.” 401 U.S., 369, 91 S. Ct. 657.

All the dismissed offenses in the instant case were

violations of the security of persons but they were not

committed within or at the geographical boundary of a

military post. They allegedly occurred in the accused’s

privately owned home eleven miles from the Federal Of-

fice Buidling in downtown Juneau, Alaska where he

worked on the staff of Commander, Seventeenth Coast

Guard District. The charges and specifications allege

various offenses against two young girls, including at-

tempted rape; indecent and simple assaults; lascivious

acts; and indecent liberties. The alleged victims were

between the ages of ten and twelve during the period

when the ofienses supposedly occurred. The fathers of

these girls were also active duty members of the Coast

Guard and they, too, were assigned to the Coast Guard

District Commander’s staff. They, also, lived in civilian

housing, one next door to the accused and his family and

the other a half mile away, there being no government

quarters in Juneau for anyone other than the District

Commander.!

' We judicially note that in Juneau there was no base or post for

Coast Guard personnel of the kind referred to in O'Callahan and

Relford, supra, that is, a large military controlled enclave where

many service personnel live and work. The closest equivalent in

Juneau was the Coast Guard Station, a small 1.3 acre facility witha

complement of fourteen enlisted persons, without berthing and

\

2la

A friendship had grown between the accused and both

of the other families, grounded in one case, on the com-

mon sporting interests of bowling and basketball, and,

in the other, on the proximity of living next door. The

alleged victims came to the accused’s home on a regular

basis to visit with his two sons. Both girls at one time

played on a soccer team coached by the accused and

they also bowled in a league in which the accused was

active. During their stay in Juneau, the girls displayed

behavioral changes that concerned and perplexed their

parents and, as a result, counseling was commenced for

one girl. Whatever was causing such changes remained

undetermined at the time, and the girls never made

known the acts allegedly committed by the accused

while they were in Juneau. It was not until all parties

had been permanently transferred to different Coast

Guard duty stations outside Alaska that any offenses

came to light. They were first revealed when one of the

girls confided in a school counselor. After that, the mat-

messing accommodations, but including, at the time in question: a

pier for two boats and a Coast Guard buoy tender; one building for

watchstanders which also housed a small exchange and two recrea-

tional clubs; and one open structure utilized as a covered work area

for boat crews. Over two hundred Coast Guard military personnel

were assigned to the District Commander’s staff, occupying four of

the nine floors of the Juneau Federal Office Building, where

Federal court spaces, along with offices for various other Federal

civilian agencies, were also located. The Coast Guard Marine Safe-

ty Office situated in a building adjacent to the Federal Office

Building had a military allowance of seventeen persons. With the

possible exception of some of the complement of six officers and

forty-nine enlisted personnel on the buoy tender, all of the approx-

imately three hundred Coast Guard military personnel in Juneau

lived in the civilian community. This Coast Guard presence in

Juneau is far less than the military concentrations found at typical

installations of the other services, but not an insignificant number

by Coast Guard standards, despite the lack of a base or post to

house them.

Ve

22a

ter was reported to Coast Guard authorities and an in-

vestigation was commenced. Initially, the other girl,

who happened to be the one who received counseling in

Juneau, refused to discuss the events with lier parents.

She continued to be silent with them, until she and her

parents went to New York for the Article 32, UCMJ in-

vestigation hearing which had been convened to deter-

mine whether a general court-martial was warranted.

Both of the girls and their parents are now undergoing

counseling/therapy as a result of the matters alleged to

have occurred.

The accused is assigned to Commander, Coast Guard

Group New York at Governors Island, New York, a

Coast Guard base, where he lives in Government

quarters and where the iastant general court-martial

was convened by the senior Coast Guard officer at

Governors Island, Commander, Third Coast Guard

District. In addition to the charges which have been

dismissed, eight similar offenses, involving two other

minor dependent daughters of Coast Guardsmen, were

also referred to trial. These remaining offenses are

alleged to have occurred in quarters on base at Gover-

nors Island after the accused’s transfer from Juneau.

The Assistant District Attorney, Criminal Divi-

sion/First Judicial District, State of Alaska, writing for

the Attorney General, has stated in appellate exhibit IX

of the record, “that the Department of Law, Criminal

Division, State of Alaska, will defer the prosecution of

Yeoman First Class Richard Solorio, United States

Coast Guard, to the legal prosecutional arm of the Coast

Guard,” citing as one of the reasons for this action, the

expense and difficulty involved in investigating and

prosecuting a case where the alleged victims have been

transferred from Alaska.

With this factual setting, we now must determine

whether or not the judge was correct in dismissing the

charges. In answering that question, two recent Court

23a

of Military Review decisions bear consideration. In U.S.

v. Wilson, supra, the Navy-Marine Corps Court of

Military Review also faced an appeal by the Govern-

ment from a military judge’s ruling dismissing charges

for lack of subject matter jurisdiction. In that case, the

Court reversed the trial judge, finding there to be “serv-

ice connection” in the off-base forcible sodomy and

assault by a sailor on his active duty Army wife.

Distinguishing features of fact prevent us from relying

on the action of that Court, but we do agree with the

emphasis placed by the Court on finding a distinct and

greater interest in prosecuting by the military when

compared with the interest of civilian authorities. The

Air Force case of U.S. v. Benedict, supra, is closer to

ours factually, involving, as it did, off-base indecent acts

with a ten year old daughter of Air Force active duty

parents, which the civilian authorities passed to the

military for prosecution. The only significant difference

between Benedict, and our case is the posture of review.

In Benedict, the trial judge found “service connection”

and the case was before the Air Force Court in the nor-

mal course of review under Article 66, UCMJ, permit-

ting factual determinations at the appellate level, if

necessary. On the other hand, we are bound by certain

facts found at the trial level unless we determine that

the judge’s findings were incorrect as a matter of law.”

2 Article 62(b), UCMJ, 10 USC § 862(b), provides that on appeal

by the United States of an order or ruling of the military judge,

“the Court of Military Review may act only with respect to matters

of law, notwithstanding section 866(c) of this title (Article 66(c)).”

This latter article authorizes Courts of Military Review, in the

course of acting on findings of guilty and sentences, to “weigh the

evidence, judge the credibility of witnesses, and determine con-

troverted questions of fact... .” Article 66(c), UCM.

Ditiinncsicsmnmmaeiaiininieiee

24a

With respect to the legal issue of service connection, the

Court in Benedict rejected, as controlling, a series of

early decisions by the Court of Military Appeals that

found no “service connection” for off-base sexual of-

fenses involving civilian dependents of military person-

nel. U.S. v. McGonigal, 19 USCMA 94, 41 CMR 94

(1969); U.S. v. Shockley, 18 USCMA 610, 40 CMR 322

(1969); U.S. v. Henderson, 18 USCMA 601, 40 CMR 313

(1969). The Air Force Court based its rejection of these

cases on more receat Court of Military Appeals and

Courts of Military Review opinions which it saw as

dramatically redefining the scope and parameter of

military jurisdiction. Murray v. Halderman, 16 MJ 74

(CMA 1983); U.S. v. Lockwood, 15 MJ 1 (CMA 1983);

U.S. v. Trottier, 9 MJ 337 (CMA 1980); U.S. v. Shorte.

18 MJ 518 (AFCMR 1984) affirmed by USCMA sum-

mary disposition on August 13, 1985; U.S. v. Roa,

supra. We agree with the Air Force Court that these

cases support an expanded view of court-martial

jurisdiction. Howey ~, we believe it useful to turn,

again, to the basic guidance provided by the Supreme

Court in Relford.

In addition to the 12 elements inherent in the

O'Callahan holding, the Court in Relford, supra,

stressed nine other important criteria for consideration

in making “service connection” determinations on a case

by case basis. Quoting from Relford, with footnotes and

citations ommitted, those nine factors are:

(a) The essential and obvious interest of the

military in the security of persons and of property

on the military enclave.

(b) The responsibility of the military commander

for maintenance of order in his command and his

authority to maintain that order.

25a

(c) The impact and adverse effect that a crime

committed against a person or property on military

base, thus violating the base’s very security, has

upon morale, discipline, reputation and integrity of

the base itself, upon its personnel and upon the

military operation and the military mission.

(d) The conviction that Article I, § 8, Cl. 14,

vesting in the Congress the power “To make Rules

for the Government and Regulation of the land and

naval Forces.” means, in appropriate areas beyond

the purely military offense, more than the mere

power to arrest a serviceman-—offender and turn

him over to the civil authorities. The term “Regula-

tion” itself implies, for those appropriate cases, the

power to try and to punish.

(e) The distinct possibility that civil courts, par-

ticularly non-federal courts, will have less than

complete interest, concern, and capacity for all the

eases that vindicate the military’s disciplinary

authority within its own community.

(f) The very positive implication in O'Callahan

itself, arising from its emphasis on the absence of

service-connected elements there, that the

presence of factors such as geographical and

military relationships have important contrary

significance.

(g) The recognition in O'Callahan that, historical-

ly, a crime against the person of one associated

with the post was subject even to the General Arti-

cle. The comment from Winthrop, supra, [W. Win-

throp, Military Law and Precedents (2d ed. 1896,

1920 Reprint] at 724:

“Thus such crimes as theft from or robbery of

an officer, soldier, post trader, or camp-

follower * * * inasmuch as they directly affect

military relations and prejudice military disci-

26a

pline, may properly be—as they frequently

have been—the subject of charges under the

present Article. On the other hand, where such

crimes are committed upon or against

civilians, and not at or near a military camp or

post, or in breach or violation of a military duty

or order, they are not in general to be regarded

as within the description of the Article, but are

to be treated as civil rather than military of-

fenses.” (Footnotes omitted.)

cited both by the Court in O'Callahan, 395 U.S., at

274 n. 19, 89 S. Ct., at 1691 and by the dissent at

278-279, 89 S. Ct., at 1693-1694, certainly so in-

dicates and even goes so far as to include an offense

against a civilian committed “near” a military post.

(h) The misreading and undue restriction of

O'Callahan if it were interpreted as confining the

court-martial to the purely military offenses that

h ‘eno counterpart in nonmilitary criminal law.

(i) Our inability appropriately and meaningfully to

draw any line between a post’s strictly military

areas and its nonmilitary areas, or between a serv-

iceman-defendant’s on-duty and off-duty activities

‘and hours on the post.

401 U.S. 367-369, 91 S. Ct. 656, 657.

At the completion of its analysis, the Court in Relford

said:

“We recognize that any ad hoc approach 'eaves

outer boundaries undetermined. O'Callahan marks

an area, perhaps not the limit, for the concern of

the civil courts and where the military may not

enter. The case today marks an area, perhaps not

the limit, where the court-martial is appropriate

and permissible. What lies between is for decision

at another time.”

401 U.S. 369, 91 S. Ct. 657.

27a

Thus, the question for this Court is whether the facts

surrounding the instant offenses, lying somewhere be-

tween O'Callahan and Relford, provide sufficient 7n-

dicia of “service connection” to allow trial by court-

martial. The Air Force with similar facts, as noted, said,

“yes,” in U.S. v. Benedict, supra. The military judge

here said, “no,” finding facts which indicated to him a

lack of service connection. Now, we must determine

whether his conclusion was correct or incorrect as a

matter of law. In approaching this task, we must look

carefully at the facts he found and, in the process, apply

the Relford yardstick. Also of help in this regard is a

statement by the Supreme Court in the later case of

Schlesinger v. Councilman, supra, which placed par-

ticular emphasis on certain of the Relford factors. In

that case the Court said:

(The service connection] issue turns in major part

on gauging the impact of an offense on military

discipline and effectiveness, on determining

whether the military interest in deterring the of-

fense is distinct from and greater than that of

civilian society, and on whether the distinct

military interest can be vindicated adequately in

civilian courts. These are matters of judgment that

often will turn on the precise set of facts in which

the offense has occurred.

420 U.S. 760, 95 S. Ct. 13814.

In evaluating the judge’s findings of fact, as stated

earlier, we are not free to exercise our normal fact find-

ing authority. Instead, we are limited to acting only

“with respect to matters of law.” This, of course, is the

same standard of review applicable to the U.S. Court of

Military Appeals in every case considered by that Court,

since Article 67(d), UCMJ says “The Court of Military

Appeals shall act only with respect to matters of law.”

28a

Accordingly, that Court’s approach to issues in which

questions of fact are integral and must, of necessity, be

evaluated, should apply to this Court’s process of review

for Government appeals. In that regard, the standard

set forth in U.S. v. Middleton, 10 MJ 123 (CMA 1981),

while relating to the facts surrounding an issue of

search and seizure and the question whether an accused

had consented to the search, seems particularly perti-

nent to the evaluation we must make of the facts

relating to the legal conclusion of “service connection.”

In Middleton, the Court said:

Whether consent was given must “be determined

from the totality of all the circumstances.” 412 U.S.

at 227, 93S. Ct. at 2047. Frequently, it poses issues

of fact; but the ultimate question of the existence of

consent involves application of a legal standard and

so is subject to appellate review. See United States

v. Faruolo, 506 F.2d 490, 496 (2nd Cir. 1974)

(Newman, Dist. J., concurring). Thus, while always

viewing the facts in the light most favorable to the

Government, [the prevailing party at the trial level]

see United States v. Lowry, 2 MJ 55 (C.M.A. 1976),

this Court has appropriately concerned itself with

whether those facts in any given case support the

conclusion of consent. See, e.g., United States v.

Gillis, 8 MJ 118 (C.M.A. 1979); United States v.

Aros, 8 MJ 121 (C.M.A. 1979); United States v.

Mayton, 1 MJ 171 (C.M.A. 1975); United States v.

Vasquez, 22 U.S.C.M.A. 492, 47 C.M.R. 798 (1973).

Nonetheless, to give due deference to the trial

bench, a conclusion of consent reached below

should not be disturbed unless it is unsupported by

the evidence of record or was clearly erroneous.

United States v. Williams, 604 F.2d 1102 (8th Cir.

1979); United States v. McCaleb, supra; United

29a

States v. Tolias, 548 F.2d 277 (9th Cir. 1977);

United States v. Griffin, 530 F.2d 739 (7th Cir.

1976). See United States v. Vasquez, supra.

Accordingly, we will give due deference to the findings

of the trial judge, viewing the facts and evidence in a

light most favorable to the accused who prevailed at

trial, and will not disturb the judge’s findings or “service

connection” conclusion unless unsupported by the

evidence or clearly erroneous. Accord U.S. v. Postle, 20

MJ 632 (NMCMR 1985).

Based on the evidence considered, the judge at trial

found as fact that there was “a de minimus military

relationship between the accused and the military

fathers of the victims.” He concluded that their relation-

ship was “founded primarily upon the ages and activities

of the children and additionally upon common sporting

interests, common spousal interest and employment

and neighborly relationships.” The judge also included

the following in his statement of “essential findings of

fact”:

None of the alleged offenses posed a threat to any

military installation. .. .

* * * *

There is no essential interest of the military in

the security of person or property on post in this

case.

* * * *

No issue challenges the Commander's respon-

sibility and authority to maintain order.

There has been no demonstrated impact of the of-

fenses on morale, discipline, the reputation or the

integrity of the Coast Guard in Juneau, the person-

nel assigned there, nor on military operations or

missions. The impact apparent in this case, that is,

30a

on the parents and the victims themselves is no dif-

ferent than that which would be produced by [a]

civilian perpetrator.

There has been no evidence suggesting a poten-

tial lessened interest, concern or capacity of civil

courts to vindicate the military’s disciplinary in-

terest in prosecuting these offenses. To the con-

trary, Appellate Exhibit X [a Coast Guard message

reporting conviction and sentencing in Alaska

State Courts of two Coast Guardsmen on charges

of sexual abuse of minors] suggests that civil courts

in Alaska have recently produced results highly

satisfactory to the military in similar cases. . . .

* ~ * *

....There has been no showing of diminished

morale, discipline, or effectiveness within the

military community in Juneau, Alaska.... |

acknowledge a certain amount of logic in the

judicial economy argument put forth by the

Government and that political or economic con-

siderations may support exercise by this Court of

jurisdiction. However, those factors along with all

others have not demonstrated a superior military

interest in handling these offenses. . . . The impact

of the alleged offenses, primarily reflected in the

testimony of the service member parents of the vic-

tims, is that which might be expected of the victim

of any crime of a similar nature, and while that im-

pact may manifest itself in the work situation of

those members, it does not rise to the level to com-

pel the exercise of Court-Martial jurisdiction in

these circumstances. In this regard, I note the in-

creased caution of [sic] the parents [of the] victims

may now exercise over their children, the re-

quirements for counseling, anxiety, and time away

sla

from work for legal proceedings. These concerns

would be the same whether the status of the of-

fender were military or civilian... .

* * * *

.... In light of the facts as found and in par-

ticular the reach of the Coast Guard Family Ad-

. vocacy Program, I find that the Coast Guard in-

) terest in deterring these offenses in not distinct

+... from that of civilian society and is less than that of

civilian society, and what little if any distinct

military interest there may be, can be adequately

vindicated in civilian courts.

. The judge supplemented these findings later and in so

; doing said inter alia:

4. Crime has an impact. The impact is felt on the

victim and on those close to the victim. It is also

reflected in the greater society of which the victim

and offender are a part. Impact may be direct or in-

direct. In this case there is no direct impact on the

service. The indirect impact that exists is not suffi-

cient to create service connection. That indirect im-

pact consists of servicemember-parents|’] preoc-

cupation with family situation affecting the

members|’] performance, some initial counselling

and referral from persons whose position it is to

take such action, and time to participate in pro-

ceedings under the U.C.M.J. Good order, discipline,

morale and welfare of servicemembers have not

been directly impacted. Service reputation has not

been adversely affected and those attributes of

service reputation in a community which have been

testified about, for example, credit worthiness, job

stability for spouses, membersj’] and families|’]

access to community activities; would not be

negatively impacted if these offenses were to come

to light.

32a

6. The offenses alleged to have occurred in

Alaska are significantly remote in time and place

from those alleged to have occurred in New York.

In arriving at his findings, we believe the judge erred

in several important respects. First, in finding that

there has been no demonstrated impact of the offenses

on morale and discipline in Juneau, he failed to properly

take into account the changed circumstances resulting

from the departure of all directly affected parties before

the offenses became known. For the judge to base his

decision on the observed effect, or lack thereof, in

Juneau after the parties had left, rests the ultimate con-

clusion of whether jurisdiction is to be exercised on a

distorted picture caused by military transfer. A more

realistic reflection of the impact from such offenses

could have been seen if the offenses had come to light

while the accused, the victims and their families were

still in Alaska. If impact on the command at Juneau is to

be considered at all, it should be viewed from the

perspective of the effect such offenses would have had if

discovered at the time the fathers and the accused were

assigned together on the staff of the District Com-

mander. The offenses by their very nature contained

within them the potential for a disrupting effect on good

order and discipline on that staff. Accordingly, it was

error for the judge to base his assessment of impact on

the Juneau command solely on the observed effect after

departure of all parties.

A more relevant finding in this area would pertain to

the impact of these offenses on morale and discipline at

Governors Island, where the accused is now stationed

and living on base. The judge made no specific findings,

however, with respect to the possible effect of the of.

fenses on morale, good order and discipline within any

command at Governors Island or on personnel under

33a

the authority and responsibility of the convening

authority, Commander, Third Coast Guard District. In-

stead, he found the Alaska offenses to be “significantly

remote in time and place from those alleged to have oc-

cured in New York” and he concluded that none of the

alleged Alaska offenses posed a threat to any military

installation nor did they generate an essential military

interest in the security of persons on post. Moreover, he

found that, “[g]ood order, discipline, morale and welfare

of servicemembers have not been directly impacted.”

With these conclusions, we must disagree. The offenses

in Alaska were alleged to have occurred over a period of

time up until June 30, 1984. The offenses in New York

purportedly cornmenced as early as November 20, 1984.

Characterization, of the period between June and

November as “significantly remote” is clearly er-

roneous. To the contrary, the asserted Alaska offenses

were close enough in time and nature to those in New

York to pose a real threat to the accused's military

neighbors with young daughters. As such, they directly

impacted upon good order, discipline, morale and

welfare of servicemembers and their families. Further-

more, we believe, as a result and as a matter of law, the

Coast Guard’s interest in deterring these offenses is

distinct from and greater than that of the Alaskan

authorities and that the judge erred in finding to the

contrary.

We also disagree with the judge’s conclusion that the

concern of the parents in this case “would be the same

whether the status of the offender were military or

civilian.” Such a conclusion overlooked the possible

unique and distinct effect from the discovery by the

fathers that a fellow Coast Guardsman may have com-

mitted violative offenses, of the nature alleged, upon

their daughters and the natural expectation of the

fathers that those in positions of authority and respon-

34a

sibility within the Coast Guard would take appropriate

action to vindicate the outrage felt from such a grievous

breach of faith by one shipmate towards another.

Finally, the judge’s finding that “there has been no

evidence suggesting a potential lessened interest, con-

cern or capacity of civil courts to vindicate the miltiary’s

disciplinary interest in prosecuting these offenses” is

simply contrary to the evidence of record. Appellate ex-

hibit IX, as indicated earlier, fully reflects that there is

more than a potential lessened interest of the civil

authorities; it documents an actual lessened interest

because of the departure from Alaska of all of the in-

terested parties. That is not to say that the appropriate

civil authorities have no interest whatsoever in the case.

In fact, through appellate exhibit XV, a stipulation of

expected testimony of the assistant District Attorney

who signed appellate exhibit IX, it is shown that their

decision is subject to reconsideration. There is no

assurance, however, that upon reconsideration the

Alaskan authorities will decide to prosecute these of-

fenses, even if the judge’s dismissal for lack of military

jurisdiction is allowed to stand upon final review. Ap-

pellate exhibit XV does not change the conclusion to be

drawn from the current decision by Alaskan authorities

deferring prosection to the Coast Guard, i.e., the Coast

Guard’s interest in vindicating its disciplinary authority

within its own community in this instance is greater

than the interest the civilian prosecutors in Alaska may

have in this matter. The judge’s reliance on appellate ex-

hibit X for a contrary conclusion is misplaced. That ex-

hibit merely reveals that in two other cases the civil

authorities successfully prosecuted Coast Guard

members in Alaska State Courts for sexual abuse of

minors, without disclosing whether or not the accused

and the witnesses were residing in Alaska at the time

the offenses became known and without revealing what

;

%

:

|

5

|

(

5

35a

other aspects of service connection may or may not have

been present. In any event, every case must rest on its

own facts. The two prosecutions noted in appellate ex-

hibit X certainly demonstrate that the Alaskan Courts

were open and available but that simply does not change

the facts with respect to the State’s diminished interest

in the case presently before this Court. For this reason,

we conclude that the judge’s finding of fact concerning

that interest is clearly erroneous.

For further evaluation of the judge’s legal conclusion

that there was no “service connection,” we look now to

the Relford criteria enumerated earlier. Viewed from

the perspective of the Coast Guard Commander in

Juneau, it is clear that factors (a), (c), and (i), would not

apply literally to the offenses since these factors relate

to base security and offenses committed on a base. On

the other hand, factor (a) may apply literally to Com-

mander, Third Coast Guard District’s decision to refer

all the charges to trial. He has a legitimate, essential

and obvious interest in the security of persons on the

military enclave at Governors Island, where the accused

now lives. Looking strictly at the offenses when they oc-

curred, however, we note that, while the alleged crimes

were not committed on or at the boundary of a base,

they were violations against persons associated with

one particular Coast Guard command. A command is

more than a physical place or property; it is an organiza-

tion of people. The commander’s responsibility and

authority for maintaining good order within his com-

mand relates to people, without regard to the physical

attributes and location of the command. Accordingly, if

we were to substitute the term “command” for “post” or

“base” everywhere that those words appear in the nine

Relford criteria, other than the quotes from Winthrop in

factor (g), and the phrase “associated with a military

command” for the phrases “on a military enclave,” “on a

36a

military, base,” and “on the post” in (a), (c), and (i) respec-

tively, it would then appear that all nine Relford factors

would be relevant to the offenses when they were com-

mitted in Juneau. Such a substitution would seem ap-

propriate in light of the unique facts presented here—a

military presence without the traditional base—and in

light of the language and thrust of the remaining six

felford factors, particularly factor (g) with its reference

to categories of persons who accompany the military. It

is unnecessary to make this substitution, however,

which we leave for consideration to other courts and

other opinions, because we believe the remaining

criteria provide reason enough to conclude that there

was service connection in this case as a matter of law.

In light of the earlier quoted statement from Schles-

inger v. Councilman, supra, we believe this Court is

justified in placing overriding importance on Relford

factors (b) and (e), with their emphasis on the respon-

sibility and authority of a military commander for

maintenance of order in the command and the need to

have court-martial jurisdiction to support that authority

and responsibility when there is the possibility that civil

courts, particularly non-federal courts, will have less

than complete interest, concern or capacity for vin-

dicating that authority. Here, the officer who convened

this court-martial was confronted with allegations of

sexual offenses against four minor Coast Guard

dependents. The offenses against two of the girls occur-

red on a base under the authority of Commander, Third

Coast Guard District, thereby, bringing into play all of

the Relford factors that validate his authority to main-

tain good order, discipline, and morale within his com-

mand through the exercise of court-martial jurisdiction.

The similarity of the alleged on-base Governors Island

offenses and the alleged off-base Juneau offenses, when

viewed together, presents a pattern of behavior which

37a

poses a real threat to families now living in close prox-

imity to the offender on-base at Governors Island. That

threat and the impact it has upon morale, good order

and discipline on the base challenges the responsibility

and authority of the military commander for

maintenance of order in his command. Thus, we

disagree as a matter of law, with the judge’s statement

that in this case, “No issue challenges the Commander's

responsibility and authority to maintain order,” as well

as the judge’s conclusion that the factors presented in

this case do not demonstrate “a superior military in-

terest in handling these offenses,” and his finding that

there was “no direct impact on the service.” The

military commander in the situation encountered here

has a compelling interest in determining as soon as

possible whether the accused is guilty or not of all the

alleged offenses and, if guilty, of ensuring that the prop-

er forum takes appropriate action.’ The only forum that

can try all of these offenses is a court-martial. Alaskan

courts have no jurisdiction over the Governors Island of-

fenses. Moreover, the Commander with authority over

that base could justifiably conclude that the interest of

authorities in Alaska is less than complete with respect

to the offenses committed there. Even without a letter

so indicating, such a conclusion could be drawn easily

enough from the knowledge that the accused and his

alleged victims are no longer members of the Alaskan

community. The paramount interest of the Coast Guard

is clear from the fact that all of the parties were and still

3 See also RCM 203, MCM, 1984, where in subsection (b) of the

discussion pertaining to that rule it is stated that, “where related

on-base and off-base offenses are involved, there is a military in-

terest in having all the offenses tried by court-martial, so that they

can be disposed of together without delay. The existence of this in-

terest helps provide « basis for finding service-connection for the

off-base offenses.”

38a

are members of the Coast Guard community. Com-

mander, Third Coast Guard District, as third ranking

officer in the Coast Guard,‘ is in a position to safeguard

the overall interests of the Coast Guard in this matter,

as well as the unique concerns of his particular com-

mand at Governors Island. For all of these reasons, we °

. have concluded as a matter of law that there is “service

connection” with its resultant court-martial jurisdiction.

In arriving at this conclusion, we have accepted all

facts found by the judge, not directly in conflict with our

holding and not expressly rejected as unsupported or er-

roneous. As noted, however, the judge failed to make

findings concerning the impact of the offenses on

morale, good order, and discipline at Governors Island.

In this regard, we believe that the impact is self evident

from the nature of the offenses, the relationships of the

parties and the accepted facts of record.

Our ultimate legal conclusion, we reiterate, is based

on the following determinative factors: the common

thread among all offenses of victims who are young

dependent daughters accompanying and residing with

their Coast Guard parents; the violative nature of the

offenses which invokes the responsibility and authority

of the military commander for maintaining security,

order, morale and discipline within his command: and

the less than complete interest, concern and capacity of

civil authorities in vindicating the military commander’s

responsibility and authority in this regard. These fac-

tors impel us to conclude that the offenses are “service

connected” and that the judge’s ruling dismissing for

want of jurisdiction must be reversed.

* We judicially note that, Commander, Third Coast Guard District,

VADM Paul A. Yost, USCG, is the third senior officer in the Coast

Guard, ranking directly after the Commandant and the Vice Com-

mandant of the U.S. Coast Guard.

3

7

:

:

39a

Having reached this conclusion, the Government's ap-

peal is resolved. In so doing, we have treated certain

supplemental findings of fact as validly entered into the

record by the judge. The judge, after dismissing the

charges and announcing his essential findings of fact in

open session at Governors Island, New York, on June 4,

1985 also stated, “Subject to amendment and correction

at the time of authentication those should constitute the

essential findings of fact on that motion.” Later, on

June 20, 1985 at Washington, D.C., he signed a docu-

ment denominated “Supplemental Essential Findings of

Fact” and attached it to the record of trial sometime

before authenticating the record on June 29, 1985. A

copy was then provided to the trial counsel and defense

counsel. Appellate Government Counsel challenges this

document as not a proper part of the record of trial

because it memorializes an invalid act outside a session

of court and also that RCM 908, MCM, 1984, precludes

further sessions of court with respect to the judge’s rul-

ing, after written notice of appeal is filed. In support of

its argument that further proceedings were foreclosed,

the Government cites U.S. v. Browers, 20 MJ 542

(ACMR 1985), a case where the Army Court of Military

Review voided a finding of not guilty made by the judge

after notice of appeal by the Government had been filed.

We do not believe that the supplemental findings of fact

in this ease rise to the level of prohibited proceedings as

found in Browers. Furthermore, we see no requirement

for presenting the findings in open session as long as all

parties are provided copies in a timely fashion. Accord-

ingly, we do not agree with the Government that the

supplemental findings in this case are invalid. We do

agree, however, that adding such afterthoughts to the

record can impede the expeditious filing by the Govern-

ment of its appeal and brief. That did not happen in this

case, as the Government filed its pleadings in a full and

40a

timely manner. In an appropriate case, however, late

additional findings of fact may justify granting an

enlargement of time for filing of the appeal by the

Government, or other appropriate action.

The ruling of the military judge dismissing charges

and specifications alleging offenses in Juneau, Alaska is

reversed and those offenses are reinstated. The record

is returned in order that the trial may proceed with the

charges and specifications thus restored, along with the

other charges and specifications that were not affected

by the judge’s ruling.

Judges Burgess, Lynn and Grace concur.

Judge Bridgman concurring in part and dissenting in

part.

[ agree with the Court’s holding that the trial judge

erred, as a matter of law, in determining the impact of

this offense on the morale and discipline of the Coast

Guard in Juneau and that a determination should have

been made as to the impact, if any, on the accused’s

present command and the Coast Guard community as a

whole. In addition to the matters discussed in the ma-

jority opinion, I note that the judge’s essential findings

may have been based on an erroneous standard, where

the judge stated “the impact of the alleged offenses . . .

does not rise to the level to compel the exercise of Court-

Martial jurisdiction in these circumstances.” [R-132]

(emphasis added).! I also agree that the trial judge

erred, as a matter of law, in his finding that there was

no evidence suggesting a “lessened interest, concern or

capacity” of the civil court in Alaska in the prosecution

of these offenses.

' This may not accurately reflect the standard applied. In the

supplemental essential findings the impact was found “not su/fi-

crent to create service connection” [page 2] (emphasis added).

Pe a ee ee ee

tee Coe

2s dot week ee

4ia

Where I depart from the majority is the holding that

there was “service connection” and therefore jurisdic-

tion, in this case, as a matter of law. As noted by the ma-

jority, the judge made no specific findings with respect

to the possible effect of the offenses at Governors Island

or on personnel under the authority and responsibility

of the convening authority. Even if this case were

before us for review under Article 66(c), UCMJ, 10 USC

§ 866(c), | would hesitate to determine that jurisidiction

exists in light of this omission. Although the Court of

Military Appeals has sanctioned drawing reasonable in-

ferences with respect to factual matters not fully

developed in the record of trial to support court-martial

jurisdiction it has done so where jurisdiction was

challenged for the first time at the appellate level. U.S.

vy. Lockwood, 15 MJ 1 (CMA 1983). Since this case is

before us for review under Article 62(b) UCMJ, 10 U SC

§ 862(b), I do not believe we are empowered to cure an

omission from the essential findings of the trial judge.

Further, I-would distinguish cases such as U.S. v. Bur-

ris, 20 MJ 707 (ACMR 1985) and U.S. v. Poduszczak, 20

MJ 627 (ACMR 1985), where determination that the

trial judge erred, as a matter of law, necessarily com-

pelled a contrary finding of fact.

I am concerned that, in exceeding that which is

necessary to dispose of the Government’s appeal, we

have lessened the requirement “that the Government

fulfill its obligation under the law to meet the letter of

the law.” U.S. v. Trottier, 9 MJ 337 (CMA 1980), (con-

curring opinion at 353). Accordingly, while | would

grant relief to the Government and remand the charges

to the trial court, I would do so without prejudice to the

42a

accused's right to renew his attack at the trial level and

upon any further appellate review of the case. Murray

v. Haldeman, 16 MJ 74 (CMA 1983).

For the Court

/s/ DONNIE HARRIS

DONNIE HARRIS

YN2, U.S. Coast Guard

Clerk of the Court

APPENDIX C

MANUAL FOR COURTS-MARTIAL, UNITED

STATES (1984)

R.C.M. 203

DISCUSSION

(a) In general. Courts-martial have power to try any

offense under the code except when prohibited from

doing so by the Constitution. (Jurisdiction over certain

offenses and individuals may be affected by Article 3;

see R.C.M. 202.) The major constitutional limitation on

the subject-matter jurisdiction of courts-martial was

established by the Supreme Court of the United States

in O'Callahan v. Parker, 395 U.S. 258 (1969), which held

that an offense under the code may not be tried by

court-martial unless it is “service-connected.” Later

decisions by the Supreme Court, the Court of Military

Appeals, and other courts have established standards

for applying the service-connection rule, as well as cer-

tain exceptions to it. Because each case depends on its

own facts, and because these rules are subject to con-

tinuing interpretation, careful attention must be paid to

service-connection in every case. The remainder of this

discussion. provides guidance concerning service-

connection based on judicial decisions.

(b) Pleading and proof. The prosecution should plead

the facts establishing jurisd.tion (see R.C.M. 307(c\K3).

Discussion (F)). If the issue is raised, the prosecution

must prove the disputed facts necessary to establish

jurisdiction over the offense. See R.C.M. 907(b)(1)(A).

Jurisdiction must exist over each offense. The fact that

some offenses with which the accused is charged are

service-connected does not necessarily establish juris-

(43a)

COC

44a

diction over others, even if they are of a similar or

related nature. However, where related on-base and off.

base offenses are involved, there is a military interest in

having all the offenses tried by court-martial, so that

they can be disposed of together without delay. The ex-

istence of this interest helps provide a basis for finding

service-connection for the off-base offenses.

(c) Determining service-connection.

(1) In general. In Relford v. Commandant, 401 U.S.

355 (1971), the Supreme Court identified 12 factors

which may be considered in deciding service-connection.

The factors are-

1. The serviceman’s proper absence from the base.

2. The crime’s commission away from the base.

3. Its commission at a place not under military con-

trol.

4. Its commission within our territorial limits and

not in an occupied zone of a foreign country.

o. Its commission in peacetime and _ its being

unrelated to authority stemming from the war power.

6. The absence of any connection between the

defendant’s military duties and the crime.

7. The victim’s not being engaged in the perform-

ance of any duty relating to the military.

8. The presence and availability of a civilian court in

which the case can be prosecuted.

9. The absence of any flouting of military authority.

10. The absence of any threat to a military post.

11. The absence of any violation of military proper-

ty.

12. The offenses being among those traditionally

prosecuted in civilian courts.

These factors are not exhaustive. The Supreme Court

also described nine additional considerations in Relford:

(1) the essential and obvious interest of the

military in the security of persons and of property

on the military enclave; (2) the responsibility of the

;

45a

military commander for maintenance of order in

the command and the commander’s authority to

maintain that order; (3) the impact and adverse ef-

fect that a crime committed against a person or

property on a military base, thus violating the

base’s very security, has upon the morale,

discipline, reputation and integrity of the base

itself, upon its personnel, and upon the military

operation and the military mission; (4) Article I,

section 8, clause 14 of the Constitution of the

United States, vesting in Congress the power “To

make Rules for the Government and Regulation of

the land and naval Forces,” means, in appropriate

areas beyond the purely military offense, more

than the mere power to arrest a servicemember-

offender and turn that person over to the civil

authorities; (5) the distinct possibility that civil

courts, particularly nonfederal courts, will have

less than complete interest, concern, and capacity

for all the cases that vindicate the military's

disciplinary authority within its own community; (6)

the presence of factors such as geographical and

military relationships which have important

significance in favor of service-connection; (7)

historically, a crime against the person of one

associated with the post was subject even to the

General Article; (8) the misreading and undue

restriction of O'Callahan if it were interpreted as

confining the court-martial to the purely military

offenses that have no counterpart in nonmilitary

criminal law; (9) the inability appropriately and

meaningfully to draw any line between a post's

strictly military areas and its nonmilitary areas, Or

betwen a servicemember’s duty and off-duty ac-

tivities and hours on the post. In addition, the effect

46a

of the offense on the reputation and morale of the

Armed Services is an appropriate consideration in

determining service-connection.

The test is not simply a numerical tally of the presence

or absence of these or other factors. Instead, the factors

identify circumstances which may tend to weigh for or

against service-connection, depending on the facts of

each case. Thus, certain factors will tend to weigh more

heavily than others in given situations. This balancing

test has been described by the Supreme Court:

[The] issue turns in major part on gauging the im-

pact of an offense on military discipline and effec-

tiveness, on determining whether the military in-

terest in deterring the offense is distinct from and

greater than that of civilian society, and on

whether the distinct military interest can be vin-

dicated adequately in civilian courts.

Schlesinger v. Councilman, 420 U.S. 738, 760 (1975).

(2) Military offenses. Military offenses, such as

unauthorized absence, disrespect offenses, and disobe-

dience of superiors, are always service-connected.

(3) Offenses on a military installation. Virtually all of-

fenses which occur on a military base, post, or other in-

stallation are service-connected. Similarly, offenses

aboard a military vessel or aircraft are service-

connected. If an essential part of the offense occurs on a

military installation, service-connection exists even

though the remainder of the offense took place off base.

However, on-base preparation to commit an offense or

introduction onto military installation of the fruits or

instruments of a crime completed off base may not

necessarily be sufficent to prove service-connection

over an off-base offense. An offense which directly

threatens the security of an installation may be service-

connected even though it occurs off base. When an of-

fense is committed near a military installation, the

47a

proximity may support a finding of service-connection,

as when it injures relationships between the military

and civilian communities and makes it more difficult for

servicemembers to receive local support.

(4) Drug offenses. Almost every involvement of service

personnel with the commerce in drugs, including use,

possession, and distribution, is service-connected,

regardless of location. However, examples of situations

in which drug involvement by a servicemember which

after Relford analysis might not be service-connected

include the use of marijuana by a servicemember on a

lengthy leave away from the military, or off-base

distribution by a servicemember of a small amount of il-

legal drugs to a civilian for personal use.

(5) Offenses involving military status and the flouting

of military authority. The fact that the victim of an of-

fense is a servicemember or that the accused used a

military identification card may establish service-

connection, especially in conjunction with other facts in

a case. If the accused’s status, either as a service-

member generally, or as the occupant of a specific posi-

tion, is of central importance to the criminal activity, as

where it is crucial in enabling the accused to commit the

crime, service-connection will normally exist. The fact

that the accused is an officer or military policeman or

was in uniform when the offense was committed does

not necessarily establish service-connection, although

such circumstances may tend to support a finding of

service-connection in conjunction with other facts.

(6) During a declared war, or a period of hostilities as

a result of which Congress 1s unable to meet, virtually

all offenses would be service-connected.

(d) Exceptions to the service-connection requirement.

(1) The overseas exception. Offenses which are com-

mitted outside the territorial limits of the United States

and its possessions, and which are not subject to trial in

48a

the civilian courts of the United States, need not be

service-connected to be tried by court-martial. This ex-

ception depends on the location of the commission of the

offense, not on the location of the trial. Note that the

overseas exception does not apply to all offenses com-

mitted abroad, for some criminal statutes of the United

States apply to its citizens abroad. The offense must be

service-connected in this case because the offense may

also be tried in a civilian court of the United States. The

fact that the offense occurred overseas may be a factor

tending to establish service connection, however, even

_ if potentially subject to trial in Federal! civilian court.

(2) The petty offenses exception. Petty offenses may be

tried by court-martial whether or not they are service-

connected. An offense is petty if the maximum confine-

ment which may be adjudged is 6 months or less and no

punitive discharge is authorized.

APPENDIX D

MANUAL FOR COURTS-MARTIAL,

UNITED STATES (1984)

ANALYSIS

Rule 203. Jurisdiction over the offense

This rule is intended to provide for the maximum

possible court-martial jurisdiction over offenses. Since

the constitutional limits of subject-matter jurisdiction

are matters of judicial interpretation, specific rules are

of limited value and may unnecessarily restrict jurisdic-

tion more than is constitutionally required. Specific

standards derived from current case law are treated in

the discussion.

The discussion begins with a brief description of the

rule under O'Callahan v. Parker, 3995 U.S. 258 (1969). It

also describes the requirements established in United

States v. Alef, 3 M.J. 414 (C.M.A. 1977) to plead and

prove jurisdiction. See also R.C.M. 907(b\(1)(A). The last

three sentences in subsection (b) of the discussion are

based on United States v. Lockwood, 15 M.J. 1 (C.M.A.

1983). The remainder of the discussion reflects the

Working Group’s analysis of the application of service-

connection as currently construed in judicial decisions.

It is not intended as endorsement or criticism of that

construction.

Subsection (c) of the discussion lists the Relford fac-

tors, which are starting points in service-connection

analysis, although the nine additional considerations in

Relford are also significant. These factors are not ex-

haustive. United States v. Lockwood, supra. See also

United States v. Trottier, 9 M.J. 337 (C.M.A. 1980).

(49a)

50a

Relford itself establishes the basis for (c\2) and (c\(3) of

the discussion. It has never been seriously contended

that purely military offenses are not service-connected

per se. See Relford factor number 12. Decisions uniform-

ly have held that offenses committed on a military in-

stallation are service-connected. See, e.g., United States

v. Hedlund, supra; United States v. Daniels, 19

U.S.C.M.A. 529, 42 C.M.R. 131 (1970). See Relford fac-

tors 2, 3, 10, and 11. As to the third sentence in (c\3),

see United States v. Seivers, 8 M.J. 63 (C.M.A. 1979);

United States v. Escobar, 7 M.J. 197 (C.M.A. 1979);

United States v. Crapo, 18 U.S.C.M.A. 594, 40 C.M.R.

306 (1969); Harkcom v. Parker, 439 F.2d 265 (3d Cir.

1971). With respect to the fourth sentence of (c)(3), see

United States v. Hedlund, supra; United States v.

Riehle, 18 U.S.C.M.A. 603, 40 C.M.R. 315 (1969). But ef.

United States v. Lockwood, supra. Although much of the

reasoning in United States v. McCarthy, 2 M.J. 26

(C.M.A. 1976) has been repudiated by United States v.

Trottier, supra, the holding of McCarthy still appears to

support the penultimate sentence in (cX3). See also

United States v. Lockwood, supra; United States v.

Gladue, 4 M.J. 1 (C.M.A. 1977). The last sentence is

based on United States v. Lockwood, supra.

The discussion of drug offenses in (c)(4) is taken from

United States v. Trottier, supra.

As to (c)(5), the first sentence is based on United

States v. Lockwood, supra. Whether the military status

of the victim or the accused’s use of a military identifica-

tion card can independently support service-connection

is not established by the holding in Lockwood. The sec-

ond sentence is based on United States ». Whatley, 5

M.J. 39 (C.M.A. 1978); United States v. Moore, 1 M.J.

448 (C.M.A. 1976). The last sentence is based on L/nited

States v. Conn, supra; United States v. Borys, 18

U.S.C.M.A. 547, 40 C.M.R. 259 (1969) (officer status of

5la

accused does not establish service-connection under Ar-

ticle 134) (note: service-connection of Article 133 of-

fenses has not been judicially determined); United

States v. Saulter, 5 M.J. 281 (C.M.A. 1978; United

States v. Conn, supra (fact that accused was military

policeman did not establish service-connection), United

States v. Armes, 19 U.S.C.M.A. 15, 41 C.M.R. 15 (1969)

(wearing uniform during commission of offense does not

establish service-connection).

Subsection (c)(6) of the discussion indicates that vir-

tually all offenses by servicemembers in time of

declared war are service-connected. There is little case

authority on this point. The issue was apparently not ad-

dressed during the conflict in Vietnam, of course, the

overseas exception provided jurisdiction over offenses

committed in the theater of hostilities. The emphasis in

O'Callahan on the fact that the offenses occurred in

peacetime (see Relford factor number 5) strongly sug-

gests a different balance in time of war. Furthermore,

in Warner v. Flemings, a companion case decided with

Gosa v. Mayden, 413 U.S. 665 (1973), Justice Douglas

and Stewart concurred in the result in uphoiding Flem-

ings’ court-martial conviction for stealing an automobile

while off post and absent without authority in 1944, on

grounds that such an offense, during a congressionally

declared war, is service-connected. The other Justices

did not reach this question. Assigning Relford factor

number 5 such extensive, indeed controlling, weight

during time of declared war is appropriate in view of the

need for broad and clear jurisdictional lines in such a

period.

Subsection (d) of the discussion lists reconized excep-

tions to the service-connection requirement. The

overseas exception was first recognized in United States

». Weinstein, 19 U.S.C.M.A. 29, 41 C.M.R. 29 (1969).

See also United States v. Keaton, 19 U.S.C.M.A. 64, 41

52a

C.M.R. 64 (1969). The overseas exception flows from

O'Callahan’s basic premise: that the service-connection

requirement is necessary to protect the constitutional

right of service members to indictment by grand jury

and trial by jury. While this premise might not be evi-

dent from a reading of O'Callahan alone, the Supreme

Court subsequently confirmed that this was the basis of

the O'Callahan rule. See Gose v. Mayden, supra at 677.

Since normally no civilian court in which the accused

would have those rights is available in the foreign set-

ting, the service-connection limitation does not apply.

The situs of the offense, not the trial, determines

whether the exception may apply. United States v.

Newvine, 23 U.S.C.M.A. 208, 48 C.M.R. 960 (1974):

United States v. Bowers, 47 C.M.R. 516 (A.C.M.R.

1973). The last sentence in the discussion of the

overseas exception is based on United States v. Black. |

M.J. 340 (C.M.A. 1976). See also United States v.

Gladue, 4 M.J. 1 (C.M.A. 1977): United States v.

Lazzaro, 2 M.J. 76(C.M.A. 1976). Some Federal courts

have suggested that the existence of court-martial

jurisdiction over an overseas offense does not depend

solely on the fact that the offense is not cognizable in

the United States civilian courts. See Hemphill v.

Moseley, 443 F.2d 322 (10th Cir. 1971). See also United

States v. King, 6 M.J. 553 (A.C.M.R. 1978), pet. denied,

6 M.J. 290 (1979).

Several Federal courts which have addressed this

issue have also held that the foreign situs of a trial is

sufficient to support court-martial jurisdiction, although

the rationale for this result has not been uniform. See,

é.g., Williams v. Frroehlke, 490 F.2d 998 (2d Cir. 1974);

Wimberly v. Laird, 472 F.2d 923 (7th Cir.), cert. denied.

413 U.S. 921 (1973); Gallagher v. United States, 423

F.2d 1371 (Ct. Cl.), cert. denied, 400 U.S. 849 (1970):

Bell v. Clark, 308 F.Supp. 384 (E.D. Va. 1970), aff'd,

53a

437 F.2d 200 (4th Cir. 1971). As several of these deci-

sions recognize, the foreign situs of an offense is a fac-

tor weighing heavily in favor of service-connection even

without an exception for overseas offenses. See Relford

factors 4 and 8. The logistical difficulties, the disruptive

effect on military activities, the delays in disposing of

offenses, and the need for an armed force in a foreign

country to control its own members all militate toward

service-connection for offenses committed abroad.

Another consideration, often cited by the courts, is the

likelihood that if the service-connection rule were ap-

plied overseas as ‘t is in the United States, the practical

effect would be far more frequent exercise of jurisdic-

tion by host nations, thus depriving the individual of

constitutional protections the rule is designed to pro-

tect.

The petty offenses exception rests on a similar doc-

trinal foundation as the overseas exception. Because

there is no constitutional right to indictment by grand

jury or trial by jury for petty offenses (se Baldwin v.

New York, 399 U.S. 66 (1970); Duncan v. Louisiana,

29] U.S. 145 (1963); Duke v. United States, 801 U.S. 492

(1937)), the service-connection requirement does not ap-

ply to them. United States v. Sharkey, 19 U.S.C.M.A.

96, 41 C.M.R. 26 (1969). Under Baldwin v. New York,

supra, a petty offense ‘s one in which the maximum

sentence is six months confinement or less. Any time a

punitive discharge is included in the maximum punish-

ment, the offense is not petty. See United States v.

Smith, 9 M.J. 359, 360 n. 1(C.M.A. 1980), United States

» Brown, 13 U.S.C.M.A. 333, 32 C.M.R. 333 (1962).

Sharkey relied on the maximum punishment under

the table of maximum punishments 1n determining

whether an offense is petty. It is the view of the Work-

ing Group that offenses tried by summary courts-

martial and special courts-martial at which no punitive

54a

discharge may be adjudged are “petty offenses” for pur-

poses of O'Callahan in view of the jurisdictional limita-

tions of such courts. Whether the jurisdictional limits of

a summary or such special court-martial makes an of-

fense referred to such a court-martial petty has not

been judicially determined.

APPENDIX E

RECORD OF TRIAL PAGES 129 to 133

The 39(a) Session was called to order at 1120 hours, 4

June 1985.

MJ: This Article 39(a) Session will come to order,

please be seated.

TC: Your honor, all parties who were present when

the Article 39(a) Session last recessed are again pres-

ent, no party required to be present is absent, there are

no witnesses or members present.

MJ: lam going to grant the defense motion to dismiss

the Alaska offenses. I’ll make certain comments in sup-

port of that ruling. First, I will compliment counsel for

their excellent briefs and arguments in laying out the

issues on that matter.

I. The considerations, Constitutional; Supreme

Court decisions in O'Callaghan, Relford, Sehlesinger,

the provisions Rule for Court Martial 203 and its discus-

sion and it analysis; The Court of Military Appeals deci-

sions were all cited. Certainly the earlier cases, very

closely on point, as Government pointed out many of

them dated in 1969 and presumably back-logged on the

docket at the time of the O'Callaghan decision, up to and

through Lockwood and even more recently Johnson and

other cases and numerous Court of Military Review

cases that were cited and argued. Pendant jurisdiction

was found to be not applicable to establish jurisdiction in

this case though I have considered it, escpecially in light

of Lockwood. 1 have applied a preponderance of the

evidence standard with the Government having the

burden of persuasion.

II. In simple terms my finding is that the Govern-

ment hasn’t met its burden. I certainly recognize a con-

tinuing evolution of the concept of subject matter

jurisdiction in military jurisprudence. Nevertheless, I

(55a)

56a

recognize what the law is and am not necessarily apply-

ing where it may be going.

III. I adopt as essential findings of fact the stipula-

tion of fact for the jurisdictional motion which has been

entered into by the parties in this case.

With respect to the Relford factors:

—I find that the accused was properly absent

from his unit at the time of each of the alleged of-

fenses.

—Each offense was alleged to have occurred

away from any military base at the accused’s

residence in the civilian community.

—Each offense was alleged to have occurred in a

place not under miltary control.

—Each offense was alleged to have occurred

within the territorial limits of the United States.

—None of the offenses was alleged to have been

committed during time of war and all offenses were

unrelated to authority stemming from the war

power.

—The accused did not use his military position to

commit any of the alleged offenses, nor did he com-

mit any of the alleged offenses while performing his

military duties. In short, there was no connection

between the accused’s military duties and the al-

leged offenses.

—The victims were not service members and

were not involved in military duties or military sup-

ported or sponsored activities at the time of any of

the alleged offenses.

—Civilian courts are present and available to ad-

judicate the offenses. While the State of Alaska has

presently deferred prosecution in light of this pro-

ceeding, the State a not waived prosecution, nor

declined to prosecute.

:

dia

_Accused was not in uniform and in no way

flouted military authority at the time of the alleged

offenses.

_None of the alleged offenses posed a threat to

any military ‘nstallation. None of the alleged of-

fenses resulted in any violation of military proper-

ty.

_ All of the alleged offenses are of the type tradi-

tionally prosecuted by civilian courts and are

specifically of the type the Coast Guard has recent

ly consented to have civilian courts prosecute Coast

Guard members for in Alaska.

With respect to those so-called “additional Relford tas

tors”:

_There is no essential interest of the military in

the security of person or property on post in this

case.

_No issue challenges the Commander's respon-

sibility and authority to maintain order.

_There has been no demonstrated impact of the

offenses on morale, discipline, the reputation or the

integrity of the Coast Guard in Juneau, the per-

sonal assigned there, nor on military operations or

missions. The impact apparent in this case, that is,

on the parents and the victims themselves is no dif-

ferent than that which would be produced by

civilian perpetrator.

_ There has been no evidence suggest ing a poten-

tial lessened interest, concern OF capacity of civil

courts to vindicate the military’s disciplinary in-

terest in prosecuting these offenses. To the con-

trary, Appellate Exhibit X suggests that civil

courts in Alaska have recently produced results

highly satisfactory to the military in similar cases.

58a

~The Constitutional authority of Congress to

authorize Court-Martial trials for other than purely

military offenses is recognized and respected, as

are the precedents of higher level courts.

~The particular geographic situation in Juneau

with access restricted to sea and air is not unlike

that of Hawaii at the time of the offense in

O'Callaghan, and the population of the Coast Guard

in Juneau in relation to the population at large did

not create a relationship of a pseudo-military camp

or instillation. The fortuitous selection of Coast

Guard member’s housing in relative proximity to

one another in the Mendenhall Valley likewise did

not create any relationship between civilians and

the military, calling for the exercise of military

jurisdiction for the offenses allegedly committed

there. Here we do not have a case of inability to

distinguish the military from che non-military area

of a post or between the accused’s on duty versus

off-duty time while on post. These alleged offenses

are off duty and off post.

~The historical fact that Court-Martial jurisdic-

tion has been exercised over offenses which vic-

timized the persons of someone associated with the

military is recognized, as is the fact that

O'Callaghan and other precedents did not intend to

limit Courts-Martial to purely military offenses.

The offenses charged are not purely military offenses.

There was a de minimus military relationship between

the accused and the military fathers of the victims.

Those relationships were founded primarily upon the

ages and activities of the children and additionally upon

common sporting interests, common spousal interest

and employment and neighborly relationships. There

has been no showing of diminished morale, discipline, or

effectiveness within the military community in Juneau,

Alaska. As to the effect of the alleged incidents toward

59a

the Coast Guard within the civilian community, there

has been speculation by military personnel, but little

more. No unfavorable publicity in the Juneau Empire or

otherwise has been introduced into evidence. There is

no evidence that these alleged offenses were known by

anyone in the community to have taken place, outside of

law enforcement circles. I find no adverse impact on the

reputation of the Coast Guard in Juneau has resulted

from these incidents. The on-base association between

the accused and the alleged victims was minimal and did

not provide the accused with the opportunity to commit

the acts giving rise to the charged misconduct. The oc-

cupancy by military personnel and their families of

homes in the Mendenhall Valley area of the City of

Juneau, Alaska, including several military families liv-

ing within close proximity to each other, did not convert

that area into a military base or property otherwise

under military control. The fact that several military

members purchased homes in proximity to one another

did not bring these offenses within the “at or near”

meaning of a military base or otherwise make them on

base. I acknowledge a certain amount of logic in the

judicial economy argument put forth by the Govern-

ment and that political or economic considerations may

support exercise by this court of jurisdiction. However,

those factors along with all others have not

demonstrated a superior military interest in handling

these offenses. The allowances paid by the military and

authorized by Congress for military personnel in

Juneau, Alaska to live off base do not support the exer-

cise of Court-Martial jurisdiction for offenses allegedly

committed in the residential area of the civilian com-

munity by military members, but tend to support a con-

scious choice not to create military enclaves with a

recognition of the authority of civil authorities to exer-

cise jurisdiction in those areas. Again Appellate Exhibit

X provides support in this regard. The impact of the

60a

alleged offenses, primarily reflected in the testimony of

the service member parents of the victims, is that which

might be expected of the victim of any crime of a similar

nature, and while that impact may manifest itself in the

work situation of those members, it does not rise to the

level to compel the exercise of Court-Martial jurisdic-

tion in these circumstances. In this regard, I note the in-

creased caution of the parents victims may now exercise

over their children, the requirements for counseling,

anxiety, and time away from work for legal pro-

ceedings. These concerns would be the same whether

the status of the offender were military or civilian.

There has been no impact on transfer of military per-

sonnel within the meaning of the Personnel Manual pro-

visions which have been taken judicial notice of. There

have been transfers of all involved parties without

restrictions.

With respect to the Coast Guard Advocacy Program,

I find that Commandant Instruction 1750.3 as sup-

ported by the testimony of Captain Caprio, who was a

participant in the founding of that policy specifically ex-

cludes the situation at present from its definition of

child abuse. As defined in that instruction child abuse

relates solely to intra-family type relationships and

family there is defined not to include its broader defini-

tion of the Coast Guard family. The instruction specifies

and in enclosure three that local laws shall govern and

adopts the requirements to report in accordance with

local laws and mentions that local jurisdiction shall con-

trol. Paragraph 4f states a policy to relinquish federal

jurisdiction and specifies in paragraph 4d that the court

action of local authority shall be considered separate

and distinct. Those same considerations that I have

focused on from the Family Advocacy Program instruc-

tion are reflected in the other document taken Judicial

Notice of the pamphlet Charting Your Life in

bla

the Coast Guard primarily those on page 113 and there

abouts where many of the provisions of the instruction

are just repeated. In light of the facts as found and in

particular the reach of the Coast Guard Family Ad-

vocacy Program, | find that the Coast Guard interest In

deterring these offenses ‘s not distinct from that of

civilian society and is less than that of civilian society,

and what little if any distinct military interest there

may be, can be adequately vindicated in civilian courts.

MJ: Subject to amendment and correction at the time

of authentication those should constitute the essential

findings of fact on that motion. Is the defense ready to

proceed with other motions!

APPENDIX F

GENERAL COURT-MARTIAL

UNITED STATES COAST GUARD

UNITED STATES

v,

RiCHARD SOLARIO

549 04 2211

Yeoman First Class, E-6

U.S. Coast Guard

SUPPLEMENTAL ESSENTIAL FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Having reviewed the record of trial, and prior to

authentication, I hereby supplement my essential find-

ings of fact made on 4 June 1985 with the following ad-

ditional essential findings of fact.

2. To the extent that trust had a bearing on the op-

portunity for the alleged offenses, that trust arose out

of friendships between the Solorio and Johnson and

Solorio and Grantz families and not out of the respective

fathers common association as members of the U.S.

Coast Guard. The trust placed in a servicemember in

general, and in the accused in particular, by virtue of

status as a member of the Coast Guard was minimal and

had no direct relationship to the offenses alleged.

3. No on base associations or contacts led to or had

any connection with the alleged offenses.

4. Crime has an impact. The impact is felt on the vic-

tim and on those close to the victim. It is also reflected

in the greater society of which the victim and offender

are a part. Impact may be direct or indirect. In this case

there is no direct impact on the service. The indirect im

pact that exists is not sufficient to create service con-

nection.

(62a)

63a

That indirect impact consists of servicemember-parents

preoccupation with family situation affecting the

members performance, some initial counselling and

referral from persons whose position it is to take such

action, and time to participate in proceedings under the

1.C.M.J. Good order, discipline, morale and welfare of

servicemembers have not been directly impacted. Serv-

ice reputation has not been adversely affected and those

attributes of service reputation in a community which

have been testified about, for example, credit wor-

thiness, job stability for spouses, members and families

access to community activities; would not be negatively

impacted if these offenses were to come to light.

5 If the allezed Alaska offenses were to be made

public, the future reputation of the Coast Guard in the

community of Juneau will be affected only slightly in

view of the solid reputation the service enjoys in that

community. That reputation would be further enhanced

if the alleged military offender were promptly turned

over to local authorities for prosecution.

6 The offenses alleged to have occurred in Alaska

are significantly remote in time and place from those

alleged to have occurred in New York.

Done at Washington, DC

This 20th day of June 1989

Is) PAUL M. BLAYNE’

Paul M. Blayney

Commander, U.S. Coast Guard

Military Judge

Original: Record ot Trial

Copy: Trial Counsel, LCDR F. Couper, USCG

Detailed Defense Counsel, LT A. Hochberg,

USCGR

SOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICt dot 151-9

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.