Amicus Curiae Brief — Young v. United States Ex Rel. Vuitton Et Fils SA

Supreme Court brief1987

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Colma A Youn, Gn CARISTE,

Sor N. KLAYMINC AND NATHAN HELFAND, PETITIONERS |

mie * N ; ; E. V.

ee = i tai 1 OF AMERICA EX REL.

Vurrrox cr Fus S.A. A Louis Vurrron S.A.

>

BARRY DEAN KLASYMINC, PETITIONER

| : if v. *

Untirep STATES OF AMERICA EX RM.

pes. er 222 S.A. aND Louis Vurrrox S. A.

Ls FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

w 4 7. . : i

7 ais, BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES

a | AS AMICUS CURIAE

* . ’ ‘

8 ‘ ' 1

o 4 nt r TO THE UNITED STATES

ea Sete Genera

Ae 7 A iatant Att ; G J

. g _. WILLIAM C. BRYSON

“age 7 Deputy Solicitor General

* EDWIN S. KNEEDLER

Be! : Goria C. PHARES

5 2 Attorney.

. Department of Justice

1 | | , Washington, D.C. 20580.

. ol eos) 683-2217

as | | Assistant to the Solicitor General

QUESTION PRESENTED

The United States will address the following question:

Whether this Court, in the exercise of its supervisory

authority over the conduct of contempt proceedings in

federal district courts, should adopt a rule barring the

appointment of counsel for an interested private party

to prosecute charges of criminal contempt based on the

alleged violation of an injunction entered in a civil case.

(1)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Interest of the United States

Z

e !

Argument:

An attorney who represents an interested private

party in civil litigation should not be appointed to

prosecute charges of criminal contempt arising out

of that litigation 1

A. Before appointing a private attorney to prose-

cute a criminal contempt, the court should first

formally refer the matter to the United States

A oc

B. If the United States Attorney declines to prose-

cute, a private attorney appointed to prosecute

serious contempt charges should be disinter-

ested in the same manner as the United States

PAE SOY LE a

EE ²˙—⁰ T ee eR

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Allen v. Wright, 468 U.S. 777

10

11

19

21

Anderson v. Dunn, 19 U.S. (6 Wheat.) 204 12, 18, 23

Argersinger v. Hamlin, 407 U.S. 2222 24

Ashwander v. TVA, 297 U.S. 28889 25

Baldwin v. New York, 399 U.S. 6 16

Bartone v. United States, 375 U.S. 5ů2 21

Berger v. United States, 295 U.S. 7898982 16

Bloom v. Illinois, 391 U.S. 194 12, 15, 16, 24, 28

Bowsher v. Synar, No. 85-1877 (July 7, 1986) 18

Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 8838GOQ2ꝰt 6

Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen and Engine-

men v. United States, 411 F.2d 312 13

()

Cases—Continued : Page

Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U. 8. 17, 18

Cheff v. Schnackenberg, 384 U.S. 378822 22

Confiscation Cases, 74 U.S. (7 Wall.) 454. 18

Cooke v. United States, 267 U.S. 517 aia m= 24

Cupp v. Naughten, 414 U.S. 141 8 21

Cuyler v. Sullivan, 446 U.S. 338 21

Debs, In re, 158 U.S. 564 = 18

Douglas Oil Co. v. Petrol Stops Northwest, 441 U.S.

inci e ͤͤ A iinlibicanicbacintileiediadthainaion 24-25

Durant v. Washington County, 8 F. Cas. 128 13

Frank v. United States, 384 F.2d 276, aff’d, 395

rr 14

Garland, Ex parte, 71 U.S. (4 Wall.) 33388. 22

Gompers v. Bucks Stove & Range Co., 221 U.S.

— d . ˙ 0% 19, 24

Green v. United States, 356 U.S. 16666 12, 26

Griffin v. Thompson, 43 U.S. (2 How.) 244 23

Marshall v. Jerrico, Inc., 446 U.S. 238 ................ 16, 23, 25

McCann v. New York Stock Exchange, 80 F.2d 211,

cert. denied, 299 U.S. 603 “ 7, 26, 27, 28

McNabb v. United States, 318 U.S. 332 21

Moe v. Confederated Salish & Kootenai Tribes,

OR EF Oe , 2 28

Musidor, B. V. v. Great American Screen, 658 F.2d

60, cert. denied, 455 U.S. 94444. 7, 26, 27

Nilva v. United States, 352 U.S. 38 28

Nye v. United States, 313 U.S. 338 26

Offutt v. United States, 348 U.S. 11 22

Polk County v. Dodson, 454 U.S. 312 22

Polo Fashions, Inc. v. Stock Buyers International,

Inc., 760 F.2d 698, petition for cert. pending,

r AA eee 11, 13, 14

Ponzi v. Fessenden, 258 U.S. 25 18

Robinson, Ex parte, 86 U.S. (19 Wall.) 505 ...... 18, 21, 22

Rose v. Clark, No. 84-1974 (July 2, 1986) 29

Ss He ls Te i ic cleniscteemesemeen 26

Scott v. Illinois, 440 U.S. 367 2.20... eee 24

Shillitani v. United States, 384 U.S. 364 12

Siebold, Ex parte, 100 U.S. 371 17

Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668 .................. 29

v

Cases—Continued :

Taylor v. Hayes, 418 U.S. 488

Terry, Ez parte, 128 U.S. 289

Thomas v. Arn, No. 84-5630 (Dec. 4, 198555

Tumey v. Ohio, 273 U.S. 510 ........................-

United States v. Agosto, 675 F. 2d 965, cert. denied,

11.18 eee —

United States v. Armstrong, 781 F. 2d 700

United States v. Barnett, 376 U.S. 681 -...................

United States v. Cox, 342 F.2d 167, cert. denied,

r PLES EEE ee

United States v. Dinitz, 424 U.S. 6000

United States v. Dolan, 570 F.2d 1177

United States v. Hasting, 461 U.S. 499029

United States v. Hudson, 11 U.S. (7 Cranch) 32....

United States v. McKenzie, 735 F.2d 90ù7ʒ 7

United States v. Mechanik, No. 84-1640 (Feb. 25,

.

United States v. Nixon, 418 U.S. 688

United States v. Payner, 447 U.S. 7277

United States v. Russell, 411 U.S. 423 -..................

United States v. Sells Engineering, Inc., 463 U.S.

enen epee os

United States v. Shipp, 203 U.S. 5683888

United States v. Solomon, 216 F. Supp. 8365 ......... ;

United States v. Squartino, 778 F.2d 7344

United States v. United Mine Workers, 330 U.S.

United States v. Williams, 622 F.2d 830, cert. de-

| 3

United States v. Wilson, 421 U.S. 30999

Vuitton et Fils S.A., In re, 606 F.2d!

Vuitton et Fils S.A. v. J. Young Enterprises, Inc.,

EE ...

Yates v. United States, 356 U.S. 363

Constitution, statutes, rules and regulation:

U.S. Const. :

Art. II, § 2, cl. 2

(Appointments Clause) ............................

21, 26

25

v

Constitution, statutes, rules and

regulation Continued: Page

Act of March 2, 1831, ch. 99, § 1, 4 Stat. 488 26

Act of March 3, 1863, ch. 93, § 2, 12 Stat. 768 19

Act of November 21, 1941, ch. 492, 55 Stat. 779. 26

Judiciary Act of 1789, ch. 20, § 17, 1 Stat. 88 18, 21-22

r thnesndenidlaniiledaieaidanes 2

E 2

. 7

rr 22

r A ce iat 20, 23

Zee 6, 7

, rd.. 23

i A d 7

t, 16, 24

ZZ 15

D RR ae —— 6

r ß ( 16, 23

r . dal 1, 16

r x err os 2

, . —. PT 1, 16

r xx 14

.. ae Coa eT. 19

EE ea ee ae ae 1, 16, 22

Eee ae ee eee an ae ee 19

ETE wae ae EE»? 22

TIES a Se a ee 22

Fed. R. Crim. P.:

A IR Ee eC aa 14

EE TS SR er ab 14

e Re on ROR es passim

Rule 44(c) and advisory committee note (18

il AC LE Rs el 22

...... 14

r ccosnessiesililibiceniionns 20

. —— — — 20

E ee 20

VII

Miscellaneous: Page

ABA Formal Ops. (1974):

EE a 13

Z 4, 13

ABA Code of Professional Responsibility (1979). 13, 20

ABA Model Rules of Professional Conduct (1983) .. 20

Beale, Reconsidering Supervisory Power in Crim-

inal Cases: Constitutional and Statutory Limits

on the Authority of the Federal Courts, 84 Colum.

Fr, ATR vere egnenaa 21, 22

FBI Undercover Activities, Authorization, and H.R.

8232: Oversight Hearings Before the Subcomm.

on Civil and Constitutional Rights of the House

Comm. on the Judiciary, 98th Cong., 1st Sess.

r trate we 13

Note, Private Prosecutors in Criminal Contempt

Actions Under Rule 42(b) of the Federal Rules

of Criminal Procedure, 54 Ford. L. Rev. 1141

r a em etn OO 15, 25

S. Rapalje, A Treatise on Contempt (1884) ............ 13

United States Attorneys’ Manual (1983-2rꝛ 15

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

No. 85-1329

GERALD J. YOUNG, GEORGE CARISTE,

SoL N. KLAYMINC AND NATHAN HELFAND, PETITIONERS

V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA EX REL.

VUITTON ET FS S.A. AND LOUIS VUITTON S.A.

No. 85-6207

BARRY DEAN KLAYMINC, PETITIONER

V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA EX REL.

VUITTON ET FILS S.A. AND LOUIS VUITTON S.A.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES

AS AMICUS CURIAE

INTEREST OF THE UNITED STATES

The appointment of private counsel to prosecute charges

of criminal contempt in federal court implicates impor-

tant interests of the United States, because federal crimi-

nal prosecutions ordinarily are conducted under the su-

pervision of the Attorney General. 28 U.S.C. 515, 519,

547(1). The United States believes that departures from

this practice must be carefully circumscribed and should

be permitted only on the basis of substantial justification

and only in conformity with principles of fairness, sound

(1)

judicial administration, and the disinterested exercise of

federal prosecutorial responsibility.’

STATEMENT

1. The relators in these prosecutions for criminal con-

tempt—Vuitton et Fils S.A. and Louis Vuitton S.A.

(“Vuitton”)—sell luggage, handbags, and accessories

under Vuitton’s registered trademark. Vuitton et Fils

S.A. v. J. Young Enterprises, Inc., 644 F.2d 769, 772

(9th Cir. 1981) C. A. App. 488A, 455 A. On December 6,

1978, Vuitton fixed an action in the United States District

Court for the Southern District of New York, »-eking

damages and injunctive relief for alleged acts of trade-

mark infringement and unfair competition in violation

of 15 U.S.C. 1114 and 1125 and state law (C.A. App.

426A-432A).? On December 12, 1978, with the consent

of the defendants, the court entered a preliminary injunc-

tion barring petitioner Sol Klaymine and two family-

owned businesses from infringing Vuitton’s trademark.

Klaymine’s wife, his son (petitioner Barry Klayminc),

1 The respondent in each of these cases is the United States,

albeit on the relation of private entities, and the United States is

the proper opposing party in any prosecution for criminal contempt.

See note 15, infra. This case therefore would appear to fall

within the scope of 23 U.S.C. 518(a), which provides that unless

“the Attorney General in a particular case directs otherwise,” the

Solicitor General is to condret and argue all cases in this Court “in

which the United States is interested.” However, in order to assure

that the Court may have the benefit of the arguments in support

of the appointment of interested private counsel in a case such as

this, the Solicitor General has authorized the counsel who were

appointed by the district court to appear on behalf of the respondent

in this Court as well. Accordingly, the Solicitor General files this

brief on behalf of the United States as amicus curiae to express the

distinct views of the Executive Branch.

2“C.A. App.” refers to the joint appendix and the supplemental

appendix of appellee filed in the court of appeals. “Pet. App.”

refers to the appendix to the petition for a writ of certiorari in No.

85-1329.

8 As of 1984, Vuitton had brought more than 80 such actions to

protect its trademark and profits. Pet. App. 116A; In re Vuitton

et Fils S.A., 606 F.2d 1, 2 (2d Cir. 1979).

and another family-owned business subsequently were

joined as defendants. Pet. App. 5A, 116A-117A.

On July 8, 1981, the district court, upon Vuitton’s ap-

plication, issued an order directing Sol Klaymine and

others to show cause why they should not be held in

criminal contempt for violating the preliminary injunc-

tion. The court appointed Vuitton’s counsel, J. Joseph

Bainton, to prosecute the criminal contempt on behalf of

the United States. Pet. App. 117A-118A; C.A. App.

473 A-476A. The charges were referred to a magistrate,

who convicted Sol Klaymine and two family-owned busi-

nesses of contempt. Thereafter, on July 30, 1982, a con-

sent judgment was entered in the underlying civil action.

The consent judgment required the Klaymincs and per-

sons acting in concert with them to refrain from manu-

facturing, distributing, or simulating goods in violation

of Vuitton’s trademarks. Sol and Barry Klaymine and

other defendants also agreed to pay Vuitton $100,000.

Pet. App. 6A, 118A-119A, 193A-204A. When the magis-

trate was informed of this settlement, he suspended Sol

Klayminc's sentence on the criminal contempt conviction

and placed him on one year’s probation. C.A. App. 595A;

Pet. App. 10A n.1, 118A-119 A.

2. In early 1983, a private investigating firm in Flor-

ida proposed to Vuitton and other owners of fashion

trademarks that they share the expenses of a “sting”

operation to identify persons who were infringing their

trademarks. Under the arrangement, employees of the

Florida firm posed as persons interested in buying and

selling counterfeit merchandise on a large scale. Pet.

App. 6A-7A, 119A-120A. The principal investigator was

Melvin Weinberg, who had participated in the “Abscam”

investigation (id. at 120A).

Early in the investigation, Weinberg met with peti-

tioners Helfand and Sol Klaymine and discussed the

prospects for selling counterfeit Vuitton wares and locat-

ing investors to finance a factory Klaymine was operat-

ing in Haiti. Klaymine stated that his son, Barry, had a

25% interest in the Haitian operation and that counter-

feit Vuitton merchandise could be obtained from a man

—— * * _ a = x. . 4 *

—— „

4

in New Jersey named “George,” a reference to petitioner

Cariste. Pet. App. 8A-9A, 121A; C.A. App. 612A-615A,

644A-645A, 656A-657A, 1898A-1900A.

3. Three days later Bainton, the attorney for Vuitton,

informed the district court of these events (J.A. 18-26;

C.A. App. 606A-618A). Bainton and his law partner,

Robert P. Devlin, sought to be appointed “to continue the

investigation and, in due course, the prosecution of what

appears to be a massive international conspiracy to vio-

late this Court’s permanent injunction” (J.A. 25; C.A.

App. 615A-616A; Pet. App. 9A, 121A-122A). In addi-

tion, Bainton advised the court that Weinberg planned to

videotape a meeting on April 5, 1983, with petitioners

Sol and Barry Klayminc, to which Sol Klaymine had been

instructed to bring 25 of his better counterfeit Vuitton

purses. Pet. App. 11A, 122A-123A; J.A. 25-26; C.A.

App. 616A-617A.‘ In an order issued under seal on

March 31, 1983, the district court appointed Bainton and

Devlin “to represent the United States of America in

connection with the further investigation” and “the ulti-

mate prosecution” of the apparent contempt (J.A. 27;

C.A. App. 605A). The court also approved the investiga-

tion Bainton outlined in his affidavit (ibid.). Pet. App.

10A, 11A, 123A-124A; C. A. App. 604A-605A.

At the conclusion of a brief ex parte hearing on April

6, 1983, Judge Brieant asked Bainton to inform the

United States Attorney's office about the investigation

(J. A. 62-63; C. A. App. 661A-662A).° Bainton did so by

a letter written that same day to the Chief of the Crimi-

nal Division of that office. Bainton enclosed the order

4 Bainton’s application noted that although a government prosecu-

tor is not so limited, it is considered unethical for an attorney in a

civil case to participate in the surreptitious recording of a conver-

sation. See C.A. App. 617A, citing ABA Formal Op. 387 (1974).

5 Judge Brieant had been absent on March 31, when Bainton filed

his motion for appointment. Judge Lasker granted the motion but

ordered Bainton and Devlin to notify Judge Brieant of the order

at the earliest opportunity. Pet. App. 10A, 12A, 124A n.1; C.A.

App. 659A.

5

‘appointing him to prosecute the contempt and his sup-

porting affidavit (J.A. 64; C.A. App. 664A). The United

States Attorney’s Office took no action in response to

Bainton’s letter.“ The United States Attorney’s Office was

again contacted on the eve of trial, but it did not enter

the case. Pet. App. 12A-13A, 125A; C. A. App. 18014,

2041A-2043A.

4. Bainton’s investigation continued into May 1983.

In the course of the investigation, more than 100 audio

and video tapes were made of telephone calls and meet-

ings with petitioners and others. The recorded conversa-

tions established that each of the petitioners was aware

that Sol Klaymine's counterfeiting activities were un-

lawful (see C.A. App. 611A-612A, 1097A, 1145A-

1147A, 1556A-1558A, 1560A-1564A, 1635A-1636A, 1647A-

1651A).

On April 5, Klaymine met with Weinberg, as planned.

He brought with him 25 counterfeit Vuitton bags, which

he said had been made by petitioner Cariste. Weinberg

paid Klaymine $625 for the bars. C.A. App. 704A, 709A,

2062A. In addition, Weinberg pretended to be interested

in buying 50 percent of Klayminc's operation in Haiti

(id. at 709A, 736A, 741A-742A, 767A-768A, 864A-870A,

1545A-1546A). Klayminc told Weinberg that an injunc-

tion prevented him from making such goods, and when

he stated that he could not take the chance of actually

handling counterfeit bags in the United States, Weinberg

suggested that Klaymine ship them to other countries

(id. at 717A, 908A-906A, 908A).

On several occasions, Sol Klayminc told Weinberg that

petitioner Young could provide fabric for the Haitian op-

eration (C.A. App. A287). Weinberg then met with

Young, who agreed to supply 5000 yards of fabric, which

he could ship “any place you want” (id. at 1077A,

¢ Bainton also had occasion to consult with the District Attorney’s

Office in Los Angeles. To ensure that electronic recordings would

not violate California law, it was agreed that any investigation con-

ducted in Los Angeles would be under the direction of the District

Attorney. Pet. App. 12A n.2, 45A; J.A. 88-89; C.A. App. 665A-666A.

6

1586A). Barry Klaymine subsequently told Weinberg

that Cariste had begun cutting bags and had sent them

to Sol Klaymine in Haiti for assembly (id. at A367-A368;

see also id. at 1709A, 2027A, 2871A). At a meeting with

Barry Klaymine and Cariste, Weinberg said he would

need 1500 handbags by May 2, and Cariste agreed to

deliver them (id. at 2025A-2026A).

5. On April 26, Bainton applied for an order under

Fed. R. Crim. P. 42(b) requiring petitioners and others

to show cause why they should not be held in criminal

contempt for violating the 1982 injunction (Pet. App.

14A; J.A. 99-102; C.A. App. 667A-673A). The district

court issued the show cause order the same day (C.A.

App. 673A) .?

Petitioners challenged the order to show cause, the ap-

pointment of Bainton and Devlin as prosecutors, and the

conduct of the investigation (Pet. App. 14A), but the

district court rejected those challenges (id. at 114A-

192A).* In the trial before Judge Brieant and a jury,

Bainton introduced 28 of the recorded conversations; in

addition, Weinberg and David Rochman, who was charged

TIn July 1988, prior to petitioners’ trial, Sol Klaymine and his

wife filed a petition in bankruptcy (C.A. App. 681A). Vuitton filed

objections to the discharge in bankruptcy of the $80,000 the

Klaymincs still owed under the 1982 settlement of the civil action

(id. at 682A-688A). Vuitton contended that the Klaymincs’ princi-

pal source of income was from their manufacture of counterfeit

Vuitton merchandise and that they never intended to pay the

$100,000, concealed their assets, and made false assertions to the

bankruptcy court (id. at 685A-692A). See J.A. 108-117. Ata De-

cember 1983 hearing in the bankruptcy proceedings, five tape

recordings made by Weinberg were admitted into evidence in sup-

port of Vuitton’s objections (C.A. App. A56-A84). In an order

dated January 13, 1984, the bankruptcy court granted Vuitton’s

motion in part and denied it in part (id. at 694A-700A).

® To prevent any prejudice to petitioners that could have resulted

from the conflict between Bainton’s privileged relation with Vuitton

and the requirements of Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83 (1963), and

the Jencks Act, 18 U.S.C. 3500, the district court ruled that by

authorizing Bainton to pursue the criminal contempt, Vuitton had

waived any privilege it might have regarding such information.

Pet. App. 161A-162A.

7

in the show cause order, testified for the prosecution at

trial. At the conclusion of the trial, Sol Klaymine was

convicted of criminal contempt, in violation of 18 U.S. C.

401 (3), and the other petitioners were convieted of aid-

ing and abetting that contempt, in violation of 18 U.S.C.

401 (3) and 2. Petitioners were sentenced to the follow-

ing terms of imprisonment: Sol Klaymine, 5 years;

Young, 2%4 years; Barry Klayminc, 9 months; Cariste,

9 months; and Helfand, 6 months.

6. A divided panel of the court of appeals affirmed

the convictions (Pet. App. 1A-48A). On the authority of

prior Second Circuit precedent, the court rejected peti-

tioners’ claim that the appointment of Bainton to prose-

cute the contempt charges under Fed. R. Crim. P. 42(b)

violated their due process right to a disinterested prose-

cutor. Pet. App. 17A-22A, citing Musidor, B. V. v. Great

American Screen, 658 F.2d 60 (2d Cir. 1981), cert.

denied, 455 U.S. 944 (1982), and McCann v. New York

Stock Exchange, 80 F.2d 211 (2d Cir. 1935), cert. de-

nied, 299 U.S. 603 (1936). The court concluded that a

defendant’s right to a distinterested prosecutor “is not

absolute,” because a prosecutor’s preconceived belief in a

defendant’s guilt is not a ground for disqualification, as

it would be for a judge or juror (Pet. App. 18A-20A).

Moreover the court noted that attorneys appointed pur-

suant to Rule 42(b) are subject to judicial control, par-

ticularly because the judge decides whether to prosecute

(Pet. App. 20A-21A). Finally, the court noted that coun-

o Pursuant to an agreement with Bainton, Rochman pleaded

guilty to petty violation of 18 U.S.C. 401, in return for his testi-

mony for the prosecution. Concurrently with the plea agreement,

Bainton, as counsel for Vuitton and others, represented to Rochman’s

attorney that if Rochman performed as provided in the plea agree-

ment, a civil suit filed by Vuitton against Rochman and others would

be dismissed with prejudice. J.A. 103-107; C.A. App. A85-A89,

2345A-2348A.

Following the trial of the other defendants, Robert G. Pariseault,

who also was charged in the show cause order, pleaded guilty to a

misdemeanor violation of 18 U.S.C. 401. See 9/11/84 Tr. 3-4.

Vuitton also simultaneously settled its civil litigation against

Pariseault.

— ii

8

sel for the plaintiff in the underlying civil action are most

familiar with the case and therefore can prosecute the

criminal contempt most efficiently (id. at 17A-18A).

The court of appeals likewise rejected petitioners’ argu-

ment that Rule 42(b) does not permit the specially ap-

pointed private counsel to conduct a wide-ranging investi-

gation. The court held that the power to prosecute

encompasses the power to investigate and to gather evi-

dence by means of a “sting” operation (Pet. App. 24A).

Because Bainton’s investigation was undertaken with the

approval of the district court, the court of appeals held,

it was not unethical (id. at 24A-25A).

Judge Oakes dissented (Pet. App. 34A-48A). He did

not question the authority of the district court to appoint

counsel for an interested private party to prosecute the

contempt charges (id. at 36A). But Judge Oakes con-

cluded that the convictions should be reversed because, in

his view, there was an insufficient showing of need for

Bainton’s investigatory techniques and inadequate provi-

sion for supervising them (id. at 37A-48A). Judge Oakes

took the position that, in light of the possibility that

animosities in the related civil litigation could improperly

influence the investigation, a court should permit a pri-

vate attorney appointed under Rule 42(b) to conduct a

“sting” operation in these circumstances only on the basis

of “a strong showing that a court order has been violated

and where there is no other way of catching the con-

temners” (Pet. App. 36A). In this case, although coun-

sel’s application for appointment indicated that petition-

ers already had violated the injunction, Judge Oakes con-

cluded that petitioners “had probably not violated the

earlier order at that time and * * * the investigation may

have been the proximate cause of the violation” (id. at

47A-48A).

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

A. The Executive Branch, like the Judicial Branch,

has legitimate interests in the prosecution of criminal

contempts, because those prosecutions protect the general

public order as well as the courts’ need to enforce judicial

9

authority. The interests of both Branches will be vindi-

cated if the United States Attorney brings a prosecution.

That course would render it unnecessary for the court

to assert the contempt power, which is always to be exer-

cised with self-restraint.

Accordingly, before a district court appoints a private

attorney to prosecute a criminal contempt under Rule

42(b), it should first refer the matter to the United

States Attorney. If the United States Attorney concludes

after any necessary grand jury or other investigation

that prosecution is warranted, he may file an indictment

or information or apply for an order to show cause

under Rule 42(b). Even if the United States Attorney

concludes that contempt charges should not be brought,

referring the case to the United States Attorney for his

consideration is still a useful measure, since the United

States Attorney’s detached review might prevent an im-

prudent exercise of the contempt power by the court.

Referral is especially appropriate where the violation of

an injunction also violates a federal criminal statute.

The United States Attorney can then evaluate the evi-

dence in light of prosecutorial standards under the sub-

stantive statute, taking into account the need to vindicate

the court’s authority.

If the United States Attorney declines to prosecute the

contempt, the court is not barred from appointing a pri-

vate attorney to do so. The Appointments Clause of the

Constitution expressly permits Congress to vest appoint-

ing authority in the courts. Similarly, although separa-

tion of powers principles require that ordinary criminal

cases be prosecuted exclusively by Executive Branch offi-

cials, those principles do not bar a court from appointing

a private attorney where the court itself initiates the

proceedings in the exercise of its special power to punish

contempts.

B. If the United States Attorney chooses not to prose-

cute the contempt in a case such as this one, the court

should not appoint the attorney who represents an in-

terested private party in the underlying civil litigation to

do so. If a Justice Department attorney who represented

10

that private party also brought a related criminal prose-

cution on behalf of the United States, he would violate

the criminal conflict-of-interest laws, departmental regula-

tions, and ethical standards. This Court should exercise

its supervisory authority to require that a district court

adhere to similar standards of disinterested prosecution

if it appoints a private attorney to prosecute the contempt

charges. The Court may adopt such a supervisory rule,

because it relates to the internal operations of the Judi-

cial Branch and the courts’ recognized authority to regu-

late the conduct of attorneys as officers of the court.

A rule barring the appointment of counsel for an in-

terested private party to prosecute a serious criminal

contempt under Rule 42(b) would constitute a sound

exercise of supervisory power. It would conform such

appointments to the federal tradition of public prosecu-

tions; it would respect conflict-of-interest standards en-

acted by Congress; and it would avoid the risk that pri-

vate financial interests could taint the decisionmaking

process in serious criminal cases. Employing the super-

visory power is also appropriate because it would avoid

the need to resolve more sweeping claims under the Due

Process Clause, and it would preserve the flexibility that

is needed to address the complex questions involved in the

wide variety of contempt cases that arise from violations

of court orders in civil litigation.

ARGUMENT

AN ATTORNEY WHO REPRESENTS AN INTER-

ESTED PRIVATE PARTY IN CIVIL LITIGATION

SHOULD NOT BE APPOINTED T) PROSECUTE

CHARGES OF CRIMINAL CONTEMP ARISING OUT

OF THAT LITIGATION

Petitioners contend that the appointment of Vuitton’s

attorneys to prosecute the charges of criminal contempt

violated due process by depriving them of their asserted

right to a disinterested prosecutor. In our view, there

is no need for the Court to decide that constitutional

question, because the Court may properly find the ap-

pointment to have been improper in the exercise of this

11

Court’s special supervisory authority over the punishment

of contempts in the federal courts.

The Sixth Circuit recently held, in the exercise of its

supervisory power, that a district court may not ap-

point the attorney for an interested private litigant to

prosecute related charges of criminal contempt. Polo

Fashions, Inc. v. Stock Buyers International, Inc., 760

F.2d 698 (1985), petition for cert. pending, No. 85-455."

In response to this Court’s invitation, the Solicitor Gen-

eral filed an amicus curiae brief on behalf of the United

States in Polo Fashions, in which we argued (U.S. Br.

7-15) that the Sixth Circuit did not exceed its super-

visory authority by establishing a general rule barring

the appointment of counsel for an interested private party

to prosecute charges of criminal contempt in that circuit.

We now urge this Court to take a similar approach by

exercising its supervisory power to bar such appointments

in the federal courts generally.

Before considering whether the Court should exercise

its supervisory power in this manner, the Court must ad-

dress the threshold question whether a district court may

ever appoint a private attorney to prosecute contempts

under Rule 42(b). We submit that private counsel should

not be appointed under Rule 42(b) to prosecute charges

of criminal contempt unless the allegations have first been

referred to the United States Attorney and he has de-

clined prosecution.

A. Before Appointing A Private Attorney To Prosecute A

Criminal Contempt, The Court Should First Formally

Refer The Matter To The United States Attorney

1. Contempt proceedings differ from ordinary criminal

cases, because they serve not only the general interests of

public order, but also the particular interest of the courts

in vindicating judicial authority. For that reason, both

the Executive Branch and the Judicial Branch have

10 The Sixth Circuit expressly declined to hold that such an

appointment “constitutes a per se due process violation” (760

F.2d at 704).

12

legitimate interests in the prosecution of criminal con-

tempts in appropriate circumstances. The need to ac-

commodate the interests of both Branches is especially

strong where, as here, the alleged contempt is based on

the violation of an injunction designed to regulate the

conduct of private parties out of the presence of the

court. In that setting, the interest of the court ir ensur-

ing the integrity of judicial proceedings is presented with

less immediacy than in the case of contempts that are

committed in the presence of the court and are properly

punished by summary procedures. United States v. Wil-

son, 421 U.S. 309, 315-319 (1975); Taylor v. Hayes, 418

U.S. 488, 497-500 (1974). By the same token, the viola-

tion of such an injunction may closely resemble an ordi-

nary criminal offense that is based directly on the viola-

tion of a federal statute. Compare Bloom v. Illinois, 391

U.S. 194, 201 (1968); Green v. United States, 356 U.S.

165, 218-219 (1958) (Black, J., dissenting). Such of-

fenses are deemed to injure the public generally and are

properly within the domain of the public prosecutor, the

Attorney General.

These considerations suggest that private counsel should

not be appointed to prosecute criminal contempts unless

it is clear that important interests of the Judicial Branch

will not be adequately protected by the Executive Branch’s

performance of its constitutionally assigned functions.

Such deference by the courts to the usual procedures for

enforcing the criminal law when possible not only ac-

cords respect to the United States Attorney, as the rep-

resentative of a coordinate Branch with the responsibility

for invoking the judicial power; it also comports with this

Court’s self-imposed limitation on the unilateral asser-

tion of the judicial power in contempt proceedings, which

requires that “a court must exercise It] he least possible

power adequate to the end proposed.“ Shillitani v.

United States, 384 U.S. 364, 371 (1966), quoting Ander-

son v. Dunn, 19 U.S. (6 Wheat.) 204, 231 (1821). See

also United States v. Wilson, 421 U.S. at 319.

Accordingly, we urge the Court to provide that allega-

tions of criminal contempt that occur outside of the pres-

13

ence of the court should first be formally referred by the

court to the United States Attorney. Only if the United

States Attorney declines to proceed should the court con-

sider whether to appoint a private attorney to assist the

court in the adjudication of the charges. This is the

approach suggested by the Sixth Circuit in Polo Fashions.

See 760 F.2d at 705 (“If the United States Attorney

should decline to prosecute upon request, then the district

court may appoint one or more disinterested attorneys to

do so.”). See also United States v. McKenzie, 735 F.2d

907, 909-910 (5th Cir. 1984); Brotherhood of Locomo-

tive Firemen and Enginemen v. United States, 411 F.2d

312, 319-820 (5th Cir. 1969); S. Rapalje, A Treatise on

Contempt § 127, at 175 (1884), citing Durant v. Wash-

ington County, 8 F. Cas. 128, 129 (C.C. D. Iowa 1869)

(No. 4,191) (Miller, Circuit Justice).

If the district court makes such a referral, the United

States Attorney mzy conduct any additional investigation

that may be necessary, either by presenting the matter

to the grand jury or by using other investigative re-

sources available to the government." If the United

11 Such an investigation would be conducted under governmental

supervision and established Justice Department guidelines. For

example, the Attorney General has approved detailed substantive

and procedural guidelines for the conduct of undercover investiga-

tions. See C.A. App. A899-A418; FBI Undercover Activities, Aw

thorization, and H.R. $282: Oversight Hearings Before the Sub-

comm. on Civil and Constitutional Rights of the House Comm. on the

Judiciary, 98th Cong., Ist Sess. 264-374 (1983). Reliance on that

investigative authority would eliminate the concerns raised in this

case about the propriety and scope of an investigation conducted

by private counsel appointed pursuant to Rule 42(b). These concerns

are heightened where the attorney appointed pursuant to Rule

42(b) represents a party who has an interest in the matter, because

of the possibility that the contempt might actually be prompted by

undercover techniques that were pursued in part to advance the

interests of the lawyer’s private client (see notes 7, 9, supra) or

resulted from animosities that developed in the civil litigation. See

Pet. Br. 27-29, 33-84, 40-41; Pet. App. 34A-48A (Oakes, J.,

dissenting); cf. ABA Code of Professional Responsibility, DR

1-102 (A) (4) (1979); ABA Formal Ops. 336, 337 (1974). Al-

though we would hesitate to say that a court is without power to

14

States Attorney concludes that prosecution is warranted,

judicial proceedings can be commenced by the filing of an

information or indictment in accordance with the proce

dures governing federal criminal prosecutions generally.

Fed. R. Crim. P. 7(a). See, e. g., United States v. Arm-

strong, 781 F.2d 700, 703-704 (9th Cir. 1986); United

States v. Squartino, 778 F.2d 734 (11th Cir. 1985);

United States v. Williams, 622 F.2d 830, 837-838 (5th

Cir. 1980) (en banc), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 1127

(1981) ; ef. United States v. Shipp, 203 U.S. 563 (1906)

(criminal contempt proceedings initiated in this Court

by Attorney General’s filing of an information). Alter-

natively, the United States Attorney can present charges

of criminal contempt to the district court by filing an

application for an order to show cause, a mode of pro-

ceeding that is expressly contemplated by Rule 42(b).

See United States v. Barnett, 376 U.S. 681, 686 (1964) ;

Frank v. United States, 384 F.2d 276, 278 (10th Cir.

1967), aff’d on other grounds, 395 U.S. 147 (1969).

Referring allegations of criminal contempt to the

United States Attorney is appropriate for a number of

reasons. The public prosecutor’s judgment that contempt

charges should not be brought is ordinarily entitled to

respect by the court, because it reflects a disinterested

assessment of the appropriateness of seeking criminal

sanctions for particular conduct, with due regard for the

authorize a private attorney appointed under Rule 42(b) to employ

undercover techniques under any circumstances, such investigations

ordinarily should be undertaken by the arm of government with the

constitutional and statutory responsibility, as well as the necessary

experience, “to detect and prosecute crimes against the United

States” (28 U.S.C. 583(1)).

Contrary to petitioners’ suggestion (Pet. Br. 40-41), however, a

private attorney appointed by a court pursuant to Rule 42 (b) would

in no event have authority to appear before the grand jury and

present evidence to it. That is the sole responsibility of “[a]ttorneys

for the government” (Fed. R. Crim. P. 6(d)), a term that is

specifically limited to the Attorney General, United States At-

torneys, and their authorized assistants (Fed. R. Crim. P. 54(c)).

See United States v. Sells Engineering, Inc., 463 U.S. 418, 426,

428 (1983).

15

importance of preserving the integrity of the court’s

processes. See United States v. McKenzie, 735 F. 2d

at 910; Note, Private Prosecutors in Criminal Contempt

Actions Under Rule 42 (b) of the Federal Rules of Crimi-

nal Procedure, 54 Ford. L. Rev. 1141, 1168 & n.121

(1986). This review by the disinterested public prosecu-

tor can serve as an important independent check against

the potential for arbitrary exercise of the contempt power

that might occasionally result from conduct that “often

strikes at the most vulnerable and human qualities of a

judge’s temperament.” Bloom v. Illinois, 391 U.S. at 202.

The referral process is particularly appropriate when

the contemnor’s conduct in violation of an injunction aiso

contravenes a federal criminal statute, as would now be

true with respect to petitioners’ conduct by virtue of a

federal statute enacted in 1984 that prohibits trademark

infringement. 18 U.S.C. (Supp. II) 2320. The United

States Attorney may then evaluate the evidence in light

of the general prosecutorial standards that the Depart-

ment of Justice applies in enforcing federal criminal

laws, to determine whether the particular conduct war-

rants prosecution. Amorg the factors bearing on that

determination, of course, is the fact that the particular

conduct also violates a court order. If the United States

Attorney decides to prosecute the contemnor for the sub-

stantive offense, the interest underlying the contempt

power—enforcing compliance with judicial orders would

also be vindicated.

The statutory provisions relating to eriminal contempt

also suggest that ordinarily such contempts should be

prosecuted by the United States Attorney. Congress has

12 See United States Attorney’s Manual § 9-39.318 (1984) :

In the great majority of cases the dedication of the executiv>

branch to the preservation of respect for judicial authority

makes the acceptance by the U.S. Attorney of the court’s

request to prosecute a mere formality; however, there may be

sound reasons in a given case for the U.S. Attorney to decline

participation in the proceedings and for the prosecution to be

conducted on behalf of the court by private counsel appointed

by the court fox this purpose.

—

16

provided that any person whose actions in violation of a

court order also constitute a criminal offense under fed-

eral or state law “shall be prosecuted for such contempt

as provided in [18 U.S.C. 3691].” 18 U.S.C. 402. Section

3691 in turn provides that the accused “shall be entitled

to trial by a jury, which shall conform as near as may be

to the practice in other criminal cases. The usual “prac-

tice in other criminal cases” arising under federal law of

course is that the prosecution is brought by the United

States Attorney, under the supervision of the Attorney

General. 28 U.S.C. 515, 519, 549(1). Referring the

allegations of contempt to the United States Attorney in

the first instance would enable the district court to con-

form as near as may be“ to that practice.

That legislative judgment is relevant to this case be-

cause the right to a jury trial, although not statutorily

guaranteed by 18 U.S.C. 402 and 3691, was constitu-

tionally protected for the four petitioners who received

sentences in excess of 6 months. See Bloom v. Illinois,

supra; Baldwin v. New York, 399 U.S. 66 (1970) ; Taylor

v. Hayes, 418 U.S. at 495-496. The decision in Bloom

extending the jury trial right to criminal contempts rested

in large part on the Court’s conclusions that [el riminal

- contempt is a crime in the ordinary sense” (391 U.S. at

201) and that “[iJn modern times, procedures in crim-

inal contempt cases have come to mirror those used in

ordinary criminal cases” (id. at 207; see id. at 202-206).

Because Congress regarded a jury trial as the hallmark

of a criminal prosecution when it enacted 18 U.S.C. 402

and 3691 (see Bloom, 391 U.S. at 204 n.6), and because

in modern times the prosecutors in jury trials in federal

criminal cases are “public officials” who must “serve the

public interest” (Marshall v. Jerrico, Inc., 446 U.S. 238,

249 (1980), citing Berger v. United States, 295 U.S. 78,

88 (1935)), a district court should endeavor to conform

to the custom of public prosecution under the supervision

of the Attorney General whenever the constitutional right

to a jury trial is implicated.”

18 The district court in this case was sensitive to these concerns,

because it directed Bainton to inform the United States Attorney’s

17

2. If the United States Attorney declines prosecution,

but the district court nevertheless concludes that the cir-

cumstances are sufficiently compelling to justify contempt

sanctions, it is our view that the court may exercise the

authority conferred by Rule 42(b) to appoint an attorney

from outside the Executive Branch to prosecute the

charges. We therefore do not endorse petitioners’ conten-

tion (Pet. Br. 42-44) that the constitutional doctrine of

separation of powers absolutely prohibits a court from

appointing private counsel to assist it in adjudicating

charges of criminal contempt, even where the court has

been unable to enlist the aid of the Executive.

The Appointments Clause of the Constitution (Art. II,

§ 2, Cl. 2) permits Congress to vest the appointment of

“inferior Officers” of the United States not only in the

President and the Heads of Departments, but also in the

“Courts of Law.” Accordingly, even assuming that an

attorney specially appointed by the court under Fed. R.

Crim. P. 42 (b) to present and prosecute charges of crim-

inal contempt is an officer“ rather than an “employee”

of the government (see Buckley v. Valeo, 424 US. 1,

126 n.162 (1976)), the appointment would satisfy the

Appointments Clause. See Ex parte Siebold, 100 US.

371, 397-398 (1879). Petitioners’ reliance on Buckley v.

Valeo, which enforced the principles of separation of

powers that are specifically embodied in the Appointments

Clause, therefore is without merit as well.

Office of the contempt allegations and the results of his investiga-

tion. See pages 4-5, supra. By that time, however, Bainton already

had been appointed to continue the investigation and prosecute the

contempt, and it is understandable that the United States Attorney

did not attempt to intervene. In our view, the referral to the

United States Attorney ordinarily should occur at an earlier stage,

prior to any appointment of private counsel to investigate or prose-

cute. Moreover, where the district court contemplates that it will

institute proceedings under Rule 42(b) if the United States

Attorney declines prosecution, the referral should make the court’s

intentions clear and reflect an actual request by the court itself

that the United States Attorney assume responsibility for the

matter, not merely a notification of that Office as a matter of

courtesy.

18

Of course, the mere fact that a person is appointed in

accordance with constitutional requirements does not in-

sulate his performance from scrutiny under the doctrine

of separation of powers. Bowsher v. Synar, No. 85-1377

(July 7, 1986), slip op. 6-11. Moreover, the actual prose-

cution of federal crimes is uniquely the responsibility of

the Executive Branch and cannot be usurped by the Judi-

ciary. Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. at 138; United States

v. Nixon, 418 U.S. 683, 693 (1974); Ponzi v. Fessenden,

258 U.S. 254, 262 (1922); Confiscation Cases, 74 US.

(7 Wall.) 454, 458-459 (1868); United States v. Cox,

342 F.2d 167, 193 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 381 U.S. 935

(1965). For this reason, when a prosecution for con-

tempt is initiated by indictment or information signed by

the attorney for the government, that prosecution must

remain under the control of the Attorney General.

However, Rule 42(b) contemplates that punishment for

criminal contempt may also be imposed in proceedings

initiated by the court itself. This power was recognized

by Congress in Section 17 of the Judiciary Act of 1789,

ch. 20, 1 Stat. 83, and it has been recognized by this

Court ever since as an integral attribute of the federal

courts that is essential to their ability to enforce their

authority. See, e.g., United States v. Hudson, 11 US.

(7 Cranch) 32, 34 (1812); Anderson v. Dunn, 19 USS.

(6 Wheat.) at 207; Ex parte Robinson, 86 U.S. (19

Wall.) 505, 510 (1873); Ex parte Terry, 128 U.S. 289,

302-804 (1888); In re Debs, 158. U.S. 564, 594-595

(1895). The existence of this power of self-protection,

when exercised in accordance with the limitations pre-

scribed by the Constitution, Congress, and this Court, is

not inconsistent with the separation of powers among the

Branches, and indeed it-promotes a certain balance among

those powers. In light of the firmly rooted nature of the

courts’ power to punish contempts, we do not believe that

either the Appointments Clause or the more general doc-

trine of separation of powers bars a court from appoint-

ing an attorney from outside the Executive Branch to

assist it in the exercise of that power —at least where

the United States Attorney has declined prosecution and

19

the contempt by a private party does not arise out of

litigation to which the United States or an agency or

officer thereof is a party.“

B. If The United States Attorney Declines To Prosecute,

A Private Attorney Appointed To Prosecute Serious

Contempt Charges Should Be Disinterested In The

Same Manner As The United States Attorney

If the district court chooses to proceed with the ad-

judication of the contempt charges in a case such as this,

despite the United States Attorney’s decision not to do

so, the attorney appointed by the court to present and

prosecute those charges should not be the attorney for a

party in the related private civil litigation. In our view,

this Court has ample supervisory authority to bar such

appointments in the federal courts and to require instead

that private attorneys appointed to prosecute serious

criminal contempt charges on behalf of the United States

under Rule 42(b)” must satisfy the same standards as if

they had been appointed by the Attorney General to pros-

ecute the charges.

14 The departure from the exclusive authority of the Attorney

General to prosecute federal crimes in these limited settings is

similar to two other situations in which Congress has authorized

judicial appointment of officials to bring federal criminal prosecu-

tions in narrowly defined circumstances. For example, under 28

U.S.C. 546 (first enacted in the Act of March 3, 1863, ch. 93, § 2,

12 Stat. 768), when there is a vacancy in the office of United States

Attorney, the district court may appoint a United States Attorney

to serve until the vacancy is filled. See United States v. Solomon,

216 F. Supp. 835, 841, 842-843 (S.D.N.Y. 1963). Similarly, under

28 U.S.C. 598, a special court, on the motion of the Attorney Gen-

eral, may appoint an independent counsel to investigate and

prosecute crimes involving certain high-ranking government officials.

15 Criminal contempt proceedings arising out of civil litigation

“are between the public and the defendant, and are not a part of the

original cause“ (Gompers v. Bucks Stove & Range Co., 221 USS.

418, 445 (1911)). An attorney appointed to prosecute the contempt

charges therefore represents the United States, not a private client

who has an interest in the matter. The district court in this case

expressly appointed Bainton and Devlin “to represent the United

States” (C. A. App. 473A).

——

20

The appointment in this case did not satisfy those

standards. If a Justice Department attorney who repre-

sented an interested private party in civil litigation

brought a related federal criminal prosecution on behalf |

of the United States, he would commit a felony under the

governing conflict-of-interest statute, 18 U.S.C. 208 (a).

In addition, the attorney’s participation despite the differ-

ing interests of his two clients (the private party and

the United States) would violate the ABA Code of Pro-

fessional Responsibility (1979),’* which is binding upon

attorneys employed by the Department of Justice (see

28 C.F.R. 45.735-1(b)) and which has been adopted by

the District Court for the Southern District of New York

to govern the conduct of attorneys appearing before it.“

At least in the case of serious charges of criminal con-

tempt, the mere fact that the attorney representing the

United States is appointed by the court rather than the

Attorney General does not warrant a departure from the

generally applicable standards of conduct prescribed by

Congress, the Attorney General, the legal profession, and

the courts.”

1. This Court recently reaffirmed that the courts of

appeals have the power “to mandate ‘procedures dee ned

desirable from the viewpoint of sound judicial practice

16 See DR 5-105, EC 5-1, EC 5-2, EC 5-14, EC 5-15, EC 5-18.

See also ABA Model Rules of Professional Conduct, Rules 1.7, 1.9

(1983) ; Cuyler v. Sullivan, 446 U.S. 335, 346-347 & n.11 (1980).

17 See Rule 4(f) of the General Rules of the United States Dis-

trict Courts for the Southern and Eastern Districts of New York.

18 By contrast, a Justice Department attorney who participated

on behalf of the government in civil litigation brought against a

private party would not be barred from participating on behalf of

the government in criminal contempt proceedings based on the pri-

vate party’s violation of an injunction entered in the civil litigation.

In that situation, 18 U.S.C. 208(a) is inapplicable because the

attorney has no private interest resulting from his involvement in

the civil litigation, and there is no conflict of interest under depart-

mental regulations and prevailing ethical standards because the

attorney is vindicating the interests of the same client in each

proceeding.

— — — —

21

although in nowise commanded by statute or by the Con-

stitution.’” Thomas v. Arn, No. 84-5630 (Dec. 4, 1985),

slip op. 6, quoting Cupp v. Naughten, 414 U.S. 141, 146

(1973). See also Cuyler v. Sullivan, 446 U.S. 335, 346

n.10 (1980). This Court, too, has that power. Bartone

v. United States, 375 U.S. 52, 54 (1963); McNabb v.

United States, 318 U.S. 332, 341 (1943). The super-

visory power does not extend to the suppression of evi-

dence for violations of the rights of a “third party not

before the court” (United States v. Payner, 447 USS.

727, 735 (1980) ), or to the regulation of the conduct of

members of a coordinate Branch outside of the context

of judicial proceedings. Id. at 733-735; United States v.

Hasting, 461 U.S. 499, 505-507 (1983). But the super-

visory power “rests on the firmest ground when used to

establish rules of judicial procedure” (Thomas v. Arn,

slip op. 6 n.5, citing Beale, Reconsidering Supervisory

Power in Criminal Cases: Constitutional and Statutory

Limits on the Authority of the Federal Courts, 84 Colum.

L. Rev. 1433, 1465 (1984) )—.e., to establish rules gov-

erning “technical details and policies intrinsic to the

litigation process, not the regulation of primary behavior

and policies extrinsic to the litigation process” (Beale,

84 Colum. L. Rev. at 1465). This distinction rests on the

separation of powers under the Constitution, for it con-

centrates the courts’ supervisory authority in aid of the

exercise of the “judicial power” conferred on them by

Article III. Id. at 1467-1468, 1508-1513. Compare Allen

v. Wright, 468 U.S. 737, 750-751, 759-761 (1984);

United States v. Russell, 411 U.S. 423, 485 (1973).

Fashioning a general rule barring the appointment of

counsel for an interested private party would be con-

sistent with these limitations. The power to punish for

contempts “is essential to the preservation of order in

judicial proceedings, and to the enforcement of the judg-

ments, orders, and writs of the courts, and consequently

to the due administration of justice.” Ex parte Robinson,

86 U.S. (19 Wall.) at 510. That power was recognized

by Congress to reside in the federal courts when they

were called into existence (id. at 510, 512): Section 17

22

of the Judiciary Act of 1789—the same Section that con-

ferred on the federal courts the power to make “all nec-

essary rules for the orderly conducting [of] business in

the said courts” (compare 28 U.S.C. 2071)—provided that

the courts “shall have power to punish * all

contempts of authority in any cause or hearing before

the same” (1 Stat. 83). A subject matter so closely asso-

ciated with the performance of the judicial function is

properly subject to judicial control, not only by the trial

courts in the first instance, but by the reviewing courts

from a more detached perspective. And this Court in

fact has regarded the exercise of the contempt power by

the lower federal courts as especially suited to regulation

and review under its supervisory power. See Cheff v.

Schnackenberg, 384 U.S. 373, 380 (1966) (no sentences

in excess of 6 months without right to jury trial); Yates

v. United States, 356 U.S. 368, 366-367 (1958) (revising

sentence) ; Offutt v. United States, 348 U.S. 11, 18, 17-18

(1954) (reversal of conviction where judge became em-

broiled in conflict with contemnor); see also Beale, 84

Colum. L. Rev. at 1449 & n.102, 1468-1469.

The adoption of the rule we propose also may be

viewed as an aspect of the recognized power of the fed-

eral courts to regulate the conduct of attorneys as officers

of the court (cf. 28 U.S.C. 1654), to the extent such mat-

ters are not separately addressed by federal law (e. g.,

18 U.S.C. 208) or within the domain of another Branch

(e.g., 28 U.S.C. 547(1)). See, e.g., Ex parte Robinson,

86 U.S. (19 Wall.) at 512; United States v. Dinitz, 424

U.S. 600, 612 (1976) (Burger, C.J., concurring) ; United

States v. Agosto, 675 F.2d 965, 976-977 (8th Cir.), cert.

denied, 459 U.S. 834 (1982); United States v. Dolan, 570

F.2d 1177 (3d Cir. 1978); Fed. R. Crim. P. 44(c) and

advisory committee note, 18 U.S.C. at p. 650. The attor-

neys here appear not merely on behalf of private clients

(compare Polk County v. Dodson, 454 U.S. 312, 318-319

(1981); Ex parte Garland, 71 U.S. (4 Wall.) 333, 378-

379 (1866) ); they have been appointed to assist the court

in the performance of an essential judicial function, which

renders their selection uniquely a matter of judicial con-

cern. Cf. 18 U.S.C. 401(2); Griffin v. Thompson, 43

U.S. (2 How.) 244, 257 (1844).

2. We also believe that the rule we propose would con-

stitute a sound exercise of the Court’s authority. What-

ever may be the practice of private prosecutions in some

states, the prevailing rule in the federal system is that

those who prosecute crimes are “public officials” who

“must serve the pyblic interest.” Marshall v. Jerrico,

Inc., 446 U.S. at 249; see also Berger v. United States,

295 U.S. 78, 88 (1935). Accordingly, when the United

States Attorney has declined to prosecute what the court

regards as a serious charge of criminal contempt, the

court’s adherence to the principles of disinterested prose-

cution is warranted by two factors that justified the

formal referral to the United States Attorney in the first

place: the requirement in 18 U.S.C. 3691 that the trial

of contempts to which that statute applies “shall con-

form as near as may be to the practice in other criminal

cases,” and the established principle of self-restraint that

the court’s invocation of its contempt authority must be

“the least possible power adequate to the end proposed.”

Anderson v. Dunn, 19 U.S. (6 Wheat.) at 231. In addi-

tion, the appointing court cannot ignore Congress’s judg-

ment that the avoidance of a financial interest on the

part of the Executive Branch counterparts of attorneys

appointed under Rule 42(b) is of sufficient importance

to warrant felony sanctions. See 18 U.S.C. 208(a). It

likewise cannot ignore this Court’s concern that “[a]

scheme injecting a personal interest, financial or other-

wise, into the enforcement process may bring irrelevant

or impermissible factors into the prosecutorial decision

and in some contexts raise serious constitutional ques-

tions.” Marshall v. Jerrico, Inc., 446 U.S. at 249-250.

Of course, a proceeding for the adjudication of crim-

inal contempt charges is not in all respects identical to

other proceedings in which conflicts of interests could

arise. Where such a proceeding is initiated by the court

under Rule 42(b), the actual “prosecutorial decision” is

i

l

ly

E

i

i

uff

45

i

3

Hy

the legitimate interest the affected private

have in the outcome (see 18 U.S.C. 402

ordered paid to the injured party) )—also

the Constitution might tolerate a greater role

attorney for an interested private party in

tempt proceedings than would be permitted in the

cution or other crimes. Cf. Polo Fashions, 760

704, 705 (attorney for interested party may U

States Attorney or disinterested a ted counsel). Such

a role might be considered, for example, where the pun-

ishment is not imprisonment (cf. Scott v. Illinois, 440

U.S. 367 (1979); Argersinger v. Hamlin, 407 U.S. 25

(1972) ), or where the nature of the contempt does not

require a full-blown jury trial, with all the formalities

that such a trial implies. The fact remains, however, that

contempt is “a crime in the ordinary sense” (Bloom v.

Illinois, 391 U.S. at 201), and the Court accordingly has

extended to contempt proceedings most of the constitu-

tional rights typically associated with the prosecution of

ordinary crimes. See id. at 205-206; Gompers v. Bucks

Stove & Range Co., 221 U.S. 418, 444 (1911); Cooke v.

HH

aide

i

prosecutor in cases of serious contempt.

Such a rule, coupled with a requirement that the

charges first be referred to the United States Attorney,

would constitute an important initial step in addressing

the most immediate of the varied and difficult problems

associated with the exercise of the contempt power in re-

sponse to violations of court orders entered in private

litigation. At the same time, it would be an appropri-

ately cautious step, leaving to future cases (or to rule-

making by this Court, see Douglas Oil Co. v. Petrol Stops

Northwest, 441 U.S. 211, 231 (1979)) the development

of principles for the adjudication of contempts that result

in lesser punishments. A disposition based on the Court’s

supervisory power also would avoid premature pronounce-

ments regarding the reach of the Due Process Clause in

this setting (see Ashwander v. TVA, 297 U.S. 288, 346-

848 (1936) (Brandeis, J., concurring)). Basing a rul-

ing in this case on due process grounds could lead to

(1) a rigidity in the exercise of a power that historically

has been administered in a flexible manner in light of

experience and evolving standards of fairness, and (2) a

questioning of the constitutionality of statutory provi-

sions still extant in states that permit the private

prosecution of crimes. See generally Note, supra, 54

Ford. L. Rev. at 1151-1155.“

Nor is there reason to believe that adherence to stand-

ards of disinterested prosecution would frustrate the

ability of the courts to vindicate their authority with

respect to those serious contempts that require a full-

biown trial and the presence of an attorney to prosecute

the charges before the court. As we have explained, re-

ferral of the matter to the United States Attorney for

possible prosecution is an important source of protection.

But if the United States Attorney declines prosecution

and the court nevertheless concludes that the circum-

stances are sufficiently compelling to warrant punishment,

we believe the court will have no difficulty in finding a

disinterested member of the bar who can assume respon-

sibility for presenting and prosecuting the charges. We

have been informed by the General Counsel of the Admin-

istrative Office for the United States Courts that it has

19 The Court recently reiterated the view that the “rigid require-

ments” of impartiality applicabie to judicial officers under Tumey

V Ohio, 273 U.S. 510 (1927), “are not applicable to those acting in

a prosecutorial or plaintiff-like capacity,” and that “a state legisla-

ture ‘may, and often ought to, stimulate prosecutions for crime by

offering to those who shall initiate and carry on such prosecutions

rewards for thus acting in the interest of the State and the people.“

Marshall v. Jerrico, Inc., 446 U.S. at 248-249, quoting 273 U.S.

at 535.

\

construed the statutes appropriating funds for the opera-

tion of the federal courts to permit the payment of legal

fees to attorneys appointed under Pile 42 (b).“

8. Of course, the supervisory power cannot be exer-

cised in a manner that conflicts with the Constitution or

an Act of Congress. Thomas v. Arn, slip op. 7-8. But

there is no such conflict here. The Constitution surely

does not mandate that counsel for an interested private

party be appointed by a court to prosecute serious charges

of criminal contempt or prohibit this Court from deeming

such an attorney to be disqualified. There likewise is no

inconsistency with any statutory provision. Section 17 of

the Judiciary Act of 1789 did not “prescribe any special

procedure for determining a matter of contempt”; it

instead left the mode of proceeding “to be determined

according to such established rules and principles of the

common law as were applicable to our situation.” In re

Savin, 131 U.S. 267, 275-276 (1889). Although the

reach of the contempt power was curtailed by the Act

of March 2, 1831 (ch. 99, §1, 4 Stat. 488), Congress

once again did not prescribe detailed procedures. See

Nye v. United States, 313 U.S. 33, 45-48 (1941); Green

v. United States, 356 U.S. at 169-173. See also Act of

November 21, 1941, ch. 492, 55 Stat. 779.

The supervisory rule we propose also does not con-

flict with Fed. R. Crim. P. 42(b). The Second Circuit has

relied on Rule 42(b) in support of the practice it sanc-

tioned in this case, on the ground that the advisory com-

mittee note cites McCann v. New York Stock Exchange,

80 F.2d 211 (2d 1935), cert. denied, 299 U.S. 603

(1936), which contemplated such appointments. See

We have been further informed by the General Counsel of the

Administrative Office that such payments have been approved on

two occasions and that the attorneys were paid at the $75 hourly

rate at which private attorneys employed by the Department of

Justice are compensated. The Second Circuit therefore was mis-

taken in its belief, expressed in Musidor (658 F.2d at 65), that the

appointment of counsel for an interested private party is justified

on the practical ground that there is no other source of funds to

pay attorneys appointed under Rule 42(b).

27

Musidor, 658 F.2d at 64-65. However, the propriety of the

appointment of interested private counsel was not di-

rectly presented in McCann. That case primarily ad-

dressed the problem of ascertaining when a particular

contempt arising out of private civil litigation should be

regarded as criminal rather than civil. The court recog-

nized that when the United States Attorney initiates the

proceedings, the criminal nature of the action will be

clear. 80 F.2d at 214. The court also stated that in some

instances, the judge may seek the assistance of the attor-

ney for a private party, “who will indeed ordinarily be

his only means of information when the contempt is not

in his presence” (ibid.). But because the character of

the proceeding may be more equivocal in such instances,

the McCann court concluded that the district judge should

resolve any doubts on that score by “enter[ing] an order

in limine, directing the attorney to prosecute the respond-

ent criminally on behalf of the court” (id. at 215).

Rule 42(b) was promulgated in 1944, after the deci-

sion in McCann. The second sentence of the Rule pre-

scribes the form of notice required in a non-summary

contempt, which must include a statement of “the essen-

tial facts constituting the criminal contempt charged.”

The third sentence then provides that the notice may be

given orally by the judge in open court “or, on applica-

tion of the United States attorney or of an attorney

appointed by the court for that purpose, by an order to

show cause or an order of arrest.” ;

The advisory committee note states that “to obviate

the frequent confusion between criminal and civil con-

tempt proceedings,” the “requirement in the second sen-

tence that the notice shall describe the criminal contempt

as such! follows the suggestion made in McCann”

(emphasis added). See United States v. United Mine

Workers, 330 U.S. 258, 298 n.66 (1947) (“[t]he rule in

this respect follows the suggestion made in McCann’).

However, the advisory committee note says nothing about

the source of the reference in the third sentence of Rule

42(b) to appointed counsel, and it does not in any way

28

endorse the statement in McCann that the attorney rep-

resenting a private party in related civil litigation may

be designated to prosecute the contempt. In fact, the

third sentence of the Rule does not go so far as to au-

thorize even a disinterested private attorney appointed

by the court to play a role in the contempt proceedings

beyond filing the application for an order to show cause.

Although we do not read that omission to preclude the

court from appointing a private attorney to prosecute

the charges, we likewise do not read the Rule or the

advisory committee’s note to foreclose this Court from

exercising its supervisory power on this issue.“

4. If the Court determines that the appointment of an

interested private attorney to prosecute the contempt

charges was inappropriate, the question will arise whether

petitioners are entitled to any relief. As a general mat-

ter, reversal of a conviction does not automatically follow

21 Even if the reference to McCann had clearly approved the

practice referred to in that case, we do not believe it would bar this

Court from invoking its supervisory authority in the very different

setting presented here. In McCann itself, the only sanction, im-

posed without a jury trial, was a $250 fine—a punishment of a

wholly different order than the terms of imprisonment ranging

between 6 months and 5 years in this case. Moreover, Justice

Goldberg stated in his dissenting opinion in United States v.

Barnett, 376 U.S. 681 (1964), that his research had disclosed only

two instances of imprisonment for criminal contempt in excess

of six months that had been brought to this Court’s attention

between the founding of the Republic and 1957 (id. at 752 n.35),

and in each of those cases, the contempt arose in proceedings

brought by the United States. The majority in Barnett did not

dispute Justice Goldberg’s research, and it in fact acknowledged

that the severity of punishments for contempt had increased since

1957. 376 U.S. at 694-695. In light of these changed circumstances

and the evolution of the law of contempt during the 40 years since

Rule 42 (b) was promulgated (see Bloom v. Illinois), the advisory

committee note’s reference to McCann does not foreclose this Court

from barring the appointment of counsel for an interested party to

prosecute a contempt in circumstances wholly different from those

presented in McCann. Cf. Nilva v. United States, 352 U.S. 385,

895-896 (1957); Moe v. Confederated Salish & Kootenai Tribes,

425 U.S. 468, 479 (1976).

29

from the fact that an error occurred in a criminal trial.

Depending upon the nature of the right involved, the

usual rule is that the defendant must establish that he

was prejudiced, unless prejudice is so inherent, or suffi-

ciently likely yet incapable of proof, as to require auto-

matic reversal. See, e. g., Rose v. Clark, No. 84-1974

(July 2, 1986); United States v. Mechanik, No. 84-1640

(Feb. 25, 1986); Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S.

668, 693-697 (1984).

This case presents the two-fold question whether the

error of appointing the attorney for an interested party

as the prosecutor is inherently prejudicial or, if not,

whether petitioners were sufficiently prejudiced by the

error in some way that requires that their convictions be

reversed. Those questions present difficult issues that

may require close familiarity with the record to resolve.

Accordingly, we submit that the Court may wish to leave

the matter of remedy to the court of appeals on remand.

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the district court should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted.

CHARLES FRIED

Solicitor General

STEPHEN S. TROTT

Assistant Attorney General

WILLIAM C. BRYSON

Deputy Solicitor General

EDWIN S. KNEEDLER

Assistant to the Solicitor General

GLORIA C. PHARES

Attorney

OCTOBER 1986

N . 8. GOVERNMENT Printine orrice; 1986 491507 20324

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.