Amicus Curiae Brief — School Bd. of Nassau Cty. v. Arline

Supreme Court brief1987

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

g Supreme Court, U.S, x

FILED

SEP 19 1986

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR,

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1985

SCHOOL BOARD Ol!

FLORIDA, et al..

BRIEF AMICI CLURLAE OF DOCTORS FOR AIDS RESEARCH AND

EDUCATION: NEIL SCHRANI, M.D., MERVYN SILVERMAN, \VI.D.,

\ 17

rl

‘ } ,

GERALD FRIEDLAND, M.D., DONALD ABRAMIS,

DANIEL WILLIAM, M.D., HAROLD HAWLEY, M.D

ALEXANDRA LEVINE, M.D., DAVID OSTROW, M.D

tinued within)

OF RESPOS

LEISHNIAN

And

DAY LDSé mN _at I ite for I Disabled

VIcGREIV"

HOFFMAN

~

JOSEPH LAVV!I

|,

Law Center!

ADDITIONAI

DENNIS McSHANE,

PETER HESELTINE,

JOEL WEISMAN,

JAMES LIPSETT,

STUART

ROGER

CONSTANCE WOFSY,

NICK IFFT, M.D.,

MICHAEL ROTH, M

MICHAEL

ALLEN

NICHOLAOS BELLOS,

M.D

FREEMAN, M.A.,

M.D..,

PETER WOLFE,

HAL

THOMAS MUNDY,

AMIC

]

A

M.D..

M.D

D.O..

M.D..,

NICHOLS, M.D..,

DETELS, M.D..,

M

bios

KAISER, M.D.,

McCUTCHAN, M.D.,

M

,

L)

1)

s

WILLIAM CHRISTOPHER

NORBERT

MARSHALL

GILMORE,

FORSTEIN,

M

DAVID McEWAN, M.D

A.

AMY ROSS, Ph.D..,

ROBERT BOLAN, M

BRAD TRUAX, M.D.,

LD

BRIAN WILLOUGHBY, Nh

JAMES CHERRY,

KENT SACK,

M

and

T)

M.D

D.,

M.D..,

1.]

TABLE OF CONTENTS

INTEREST OF AMICI

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

ARGUMENT

I. A REVIEW OF THE

MEDICAL AUTHORITIE

DEMONSTRATES THAT

PERSONS INFECTED

WITH THE AIDS VIRUS

ARE HANDICAPPED

INDIVIDUALS

A. What Is

The AIDS Virus

Not Casually

THE

ESTABLISH THAT

PERSONS INFECTED

WITH THE AIDS

ARE PROTECTED UNDER

Persons Infected

With The AIDS Virus

Are Handicapped

Within The

Meaning Of The

Statute. ccceccces 41

Persons Infected

With The AIDS

Virus Are Not,

Solely By Virtue

Of Their Infection,

Automatically

Rendered Not

Otherwise

Qualified For

Any JOD... eeeees 59

CO

©

,

‘@

[ |

C

Ww

=,

=

J

N)

APPENDIX

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page(s)

Arline v. School Bd. of

Nassau County,

772 F.2d 759 (llth

Gee 6 Bens 6666 06we-oee< 60

Bentivegna v. Dept. of Labor,

694 F.2d 619 (9th Cir.

Dei videcceodeeceuces 57,62

Bowen v. American Hospital

ASSOC.,

106 S. Ct. 2101

0) re eer 54

Bowers v. Hardwick,

i106 S. Ct. 2841

CRO? 6 oeb 6a seceeees ede 30

Califano v. Goldfarb,

430 U.S. 199 (1977).... 59

Commonwealth of Massachusetts

v. Painten,

390 U.S. 560 (1968).... 9

Consolidated Rail Corp.

Vv. Darrone,

104 S. Ct. 1248 (1984). +2

District 27 School Bd.

v. Bd. of Educ.,

130 Misc. 2d 398, 502

N.Y.S.2d 325

8 | Preyer Terr Ss 38

Doe v. New York Univ.,

666 F.2d 761 (2d Cir.

300) are eee 55,593

Eu v. Male,

No. 341940 Slip op. (Sac.

Sup. Ct. Aug. 8, 1986..

Grove City College v. Bell,

104 S§. Ct. 1211 (1984).

Mantolete v. Bolger,

767 F.2d 1416 (9tii Cir.

BUEe 6 6 6460000806066 K08

New York State Ass'n for

Retarded Children v.

Carey,

612 F.2d 644 (2d Cir.

Sve 6666 606640006008 65

Plummer v. Branstad,

731 F.2d 574 (8th Cir.

Ss ee ae ee ae eee be

Pushkin v. Regents of Univ.

of Col.,,

658 F.2d 1372 (10th Cir.

CE nh ee eee a} é

School Bd. of Nassau

County, Florida vy.

Arline,

106 S. Ct. 1633 (1986).

,

Page(s)

oC

54

Shuttlesworth v. Broward

County Office of

Management & Budget

Policy,

FCHR 85-0624, slip op.

(Fla. Comm'n on Human

Relations Dec. ll, 1985),

reprinted in Daily

Lab. Rep. (BNA) No. 242,

E-l1 (Dec. 17, 1985).... 50

Southeastern Community College

v. Davis,

442 U.S. 397 (1969).... 60

Stanley v. Illinois,

405 U.S. 645 (1972).... 46

Tagqgarty v. Weinaker's, Inc.,

St Gels 2E08 LESTel cece 60

STATUTES

Cal. Health & Safety Code

§ 3353 (West 1979).... 46

2U C.F.R § 416.934(k)

CRPSSP ceccccsccescesces

, ah, Be See). | >} eae 42

34 CFR § 104 (1985)...... 42

45 CFR § 84.3(3)(2)(1)(A)-(11)

i Ree 6666666066806 866 43,44

45 C.F.R. Pt. 84, App. A..

Rehabilitation Act of 1973,

§ 504, 29 U.S.C.A.

BR, Bi rae

Rehabilitation Act of 1973,

29 U.S.C.A. §$ 706(7)

fo: ae ee

Rehabilitation Act of 1973,

29 U.S.C.A. §$ 706(13)

a.) ee ee

Social Security Act, 42

U.S.C.A. § 423(d)

[eee csestheceseteuoe

MEDICAL AUTHORITIES

Apparent Transmission of Human

T-Lymphotropic Virus

Type III/Lymphadenopathy-

Associated Virus From a

Child to a Mother Providing

Health Care, 35 MMWR 76

[as Bet 66666eceence

Bakeman, et al., AIDS

Risk-Group Profiles in

Whites and Members of

Minority Groups, 315 New

Eng. J. Med. 191 (July

Page(s)

43,57

passim

Blattner, et al., Epidemiology

of Human T-Lymphotropic

Virus Type I. and the Risk

of Acquired Imauno-

deficiency Syndrome,

103 Annals Internal Med.

665 (Nov. 1985)......-.. 18

Brettman, Serologic and

Epidemiologic Assessment of

AIDS Risk, 3 Infections in

Med. 18 (Jan. 1986).... 15,17

Carlson, et al., AIDS Serology

Testing in Low- and

High-Risk Groups, 253 J.

A.M.A. 3405 (June

a errrrrr TT Tere Te 18

Case for Concluding Heat

Treated Licensed

Anti-Hemophiliac Factor Is

Free From HTLV-III, Lancet

890 (Oct. 19, 1985).... 29

CDC, Classification System for

Human T-Lymphotropic Virus

Type III/Lymphadenopathy-

Associated Virus Infection,

105 Annals Internal Med.

234 (Aug. 1986)........ 13,15

CDC, Weekly Surveillance

Report - United States

AIDS Program, July 29,

DR cee ce eeseeoeseoeess tf. Fe

CDC, 1985 STD Treatment Guidelines,

34 MMWR (Supp.) 75S (Oct.

BU) 66s 6b oseeeeeoesees 29

Page(s)

Coffin, et al., Human

Immunodeficiency Viruses,

232 Sci. 697 (May

BOOP cevecenetestuseoes 10

Cohen et al., Congestive

Cardiomyopathy in

Association with the

Acquired Immuno-

deficiency Syndrome,

315 New Eng. J. Med. 628

SS. SPO l oe cecécecce 16

Condoms Prevent Transmission

of AIDS-Associated

Retrovirus, 255 J. A.M.A.

1706 (Apr. 1986)....... 29

=

ck, et al.

roepidemiological Studies

HTLV-III Antibody

evalence Among Selected

oups of Heterosexual

ricans, 254 J. A.M.A.

25a (MOV. 1LFSS) eo ceseces

IW

O

mrss irhiDd ©

» 10/0

Daul, et al., Acquired Immnune

ency Syndrome: An

e and Interpretation,

ls Allergy 351

A

(Sept. 1983)........0..

Davis, Histopathological

Changes in the Thymus

Gland, 12 Annais N.Y. Acad.

Sciences 493 (1986).... 24

Dlugosch, et al., AIDS

Antibody Testing:

Evaluation and

Counseling, 1 Focus: Rev.

of AIDS Res. 1 (July

De non nbeeneeesesensn 47

Drotman, Insect-Borne

Transmission of AIDS?, 254

J. A.M.A. 1085 (Aug.

RUS 0 0650666666646 688 23

Education and Foster Care of

Children Infected With

Human T-Lymphotropic Virus

Type I1I/Lymphadenopathy-

Associated Virus, 34 MMWR

517 (Aug. 1985).....26.

Evatt, Coincidental Appearance

of HTLV-III/LAV Antibodies

in Hemophiliacs and the

Onset of the AIDS Epidemic,

31 New Eng. J. Med. 483

POR. AFSOlcccecececees 21

Female-to-Male Transmission of

HTLV-III, 255 J. A.M.A. 1702

Fettner & W. Check, The

Truth About AIDS

(1984)

*eeseeenee#ee#eeseeee##ee#e##*# # # #

Page(s)

Freidland, et al., Lack of

Transmission of

HTLV-III/LAV Infection to

Household Contacts of

Patients With AIDS or

AIDS-Related Complex with

Oral Candidiasis, 314 New

Eng. J. Med. 344, (Feb.

Friedman et al.,

Cytomegalovirus Retinitis:

a Manifestation of the

Acquired Immune Deficiency

Syndrome (AIDS), 67 Brit.

J. Opthamology 372 (June

4 eee eee l6

Gallo, et al., Frequent

Detection and Isolation

of Cytopathic Retroviruses

(HTLV-III) from Patiencs

With AIDS and At Risk For

AIDS, 224 Sci. 500

| eee eee 19

V-III Transmiss Lon ’

LV-

254 J. A.M.A. 2130 (Oct.

Health & and Pub. Policy

Comm'n, Amer. C. Physicians,

& the Infectious Diseases

soc’'y Amer., Position

Paper: Acquired Immune

Deficiency Syndrome, 104

Annuals Internal Med. 575

(Ae. SISO cccecesesces

Henderson, et al., Risk of

Nasocomial Infection

With Human T-Cell

Lymphotrophic Virus

Type III/Lymphadempothy-

Associated Virus in Large

Cohort of Intensively

Exposed Health Care Workers,

1104 Annals Internal Med.

644 (May 1986)......... 35

HTLV-III Exposure During

Cardiopulmonary

Resuscitation, 313 New

Eng. J. Med. 1606 (Dec.

Infrequency of Isolation of

HTLV-III Virus From Saliva

In AIDS, 313 New Eng.

Med. 1606 (Dec.

1985)

i

Sea eoeeessece@ee@eesetereectees?s F

Kalish & Schlossman, The

T4 Lymphocyte in AIDS

313 New Eng. J. Med.

112 (July 1985)

je@#e#eeeeese# # @

Korcok, AIDS Hysteria: A

Contagious Side Effect,

133 Can. Med. A.J. 1241

(Dec. 1985) 5 2

Krelss, et al., Antibody tO

Human T-Lymphotropic Virus

Type III in Wives of

Hemophiliacs, 102 Annals

Internal Med. 623 (May

1985)

Page(s)

Lange, et al., HTLV-III/LAV

Infection in Nine Children

Infected by a Single Plasma

Donor, 154 J. Infectious

Diseases 171 (July

S| Pee TTT TT TTT eT eee 19

, 6 Discovery

985)... oe eeeeeae 1Q,21,26

Langone, AIDS

28 (Dec. 1

Levine, The Acquired

Immunodeficiency Syndrome

In Persons With Hemophilia,

103 Annals Internal Med.

723 (Mov. 1965)... ccceccs

Lymon, et al., Minimal Risk

Transmission of

AIDS-Associated Retrovirus

Infection by Oral-Genital

. ie

Contact, 255 J. A.M.A. 03

[as Bev bs 6460080008 28

Mandell, et al., Principles

and Practices of Infectious

Diseases (2d ed. 1984).

Mann, et al., Prevalence of

HTLV-III/LAV_ in Household

Contacts of Patients With

Confirmed AIDS and Controls

in Kinshasa, Zaire, 256 J.

A.M.A. 721 (Aug. 1986). 26

Melbye, et al., Long-Term

Seropositivity For Human

T-Lymphotropic Virus Type

III in Homosexual Men

Without the Acquired

Immunodeficiency Syndrome:

Development of Immunologic

and Clinical Abnormalities,

104 Annals Internal Med.

496 (Apr. 1986)........ 21

Melbye, et al., Anal

Intercourse As A Possible

Factor in Heterosexual

Transmission of HTLV-III ¢t

Spouses of Hemophiliacs,

312 New Eng. J. Med. 85/7

[JOR BFS) cc cceceéesses 25,36

Moss et al., Progression to

AIDS in Men Seropositive

for LAV/HTLV-III: One-year

Followups of San Francisco

General Hospital Study,

Proc. of the Second Int'l

Conf. On AIDS 152 (Paris)

(JUNG LISS). cccccesccses 30,46

Navia, et al., The AIDS

Dementia Complex: I

Clinical Features and

Il, Neuropathology,

19 Annals Neurology 51/7 &

525 (Apr. L9G) .ccccces

*e eeeeeee##e#*e*

Paterat, et al.

T

laa

serological Markers

as ,Indicators of

Sexual Orientation

in AIDS Virus-

Infected Men, 256

J. A.M.A. 712 (Aug.

erman, et al., Epidemiol:

of the Acquired

Immunodef i l1ency Syndro me

(AIDS), 7 Epidemiological

Rev. 1 (1985

+

vention of Acquired Immu:

Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS

Report of Inter-Agency

Recommendations 32 MMWR

See SEE s BOS lcccecece

visional Public Healt

Service Inte yency

r

screening Donated Blood

and Plasma f 1]

to the Virus Causing

Acquired Immunodef 1¢ c

Syndro e, $4 MMWR

dl Pervpeeeoeoeeaneeees

Page(s)

Recommendations for Assisting

in the Prevention of

Perinatal Transmission of

Human T Lymphotropic Virus

Type III/Lymphadenopathy

Associated Virus and

Acquired Immunodeficiency

Syndrome, 34 MMWR 721

ts MP cseecoceeeces 24,32,48

Recommendations for Preventing

Transmission of Infection

with Human T-Lymphotrophic

Virus Type III/

Lymphadenopathy~-Associated

Virus During Invasive

Procedures, 35 MMWR 221

CRs BOPOP cece qesccece 22,3

Recommendations for Preventing

Transmission of Infections

with Human T-Lymphotropic

Virus Type III/

Lymphadenopathy-Associated

Virus In The Workplace, 34

MMWR 681 (Nov. 1985)...

Recommendations for Providing

Dielysis Treatment to

Patients Infected With

Human T-Lymphotrophic Virus

Type III/Lymphadenopathy

Associated Virus, 35 MMWR

376 (June 1986)........

Page(s)

Redfield, et al., Frequent

Bidirectional Heterosexual

Transmission of HTLV-III/

LAV Between Spouses,

Proc. of the Second

Int'l Conf. on AIDS 125

(Paris) (June 1986).... 25,27

Redfield, et al., Frequent

Transmission of HTLV-III

Among Spouses of Patients

With AIDS-Related Complex

and AIDS, 253 J. A.M.A.

1571 (Mar. 1985)....... 26

Revision of the Case

Definition of Acquired

Immunodeficiency Syndrome

for National Reporting --

United States, 34 MMWR 373

[oun Sees atadeeuceer 12,15

Sande, The case against Casual

Contagion, 14 New Enq.

Med. 380 | pods, 1986)... 6,27,28,

scott, et al., Mothers of

Infants with the Acquired

Immunodeficiency Syndrome

Evidence for Both

Symptomatic and

Asymptomatic Carriers, 253

J. A.M.A. 363 (June

BOOM eee cceeeéeeeeenécs Gre

Self-Reported Behavioral]

Changes Among Homosexua]

Men -- San Francisco, 34

MMWR 6]3 (Oct. 1985)...

XxVi

° — EEE — ——_

Tsoukas, et al., Risk of

Transmission of

HTLV-III/LAV From

Human Bites, Proc. of

the Second Int'l Conf.

on AIDS 125 (Paris)

(Fume ADSSPccccceceosss 35

Update: Acquired

Immunodeficiency

Syndrome-United States, 35

MMWR 17 (Jan. 1986).... 19,34

Update: Evaluation of Human

T-Lymphotropic Virus Type

[l1I1/Lymphadenopathy

Associated Virus Infection

in Health Care Personnel -

United States, 34 MMWR 575

(Sept. 1985)......eee--, 3 4

Update: Prospective

Evaluation of Health-Care

Workers Exposed Via The

Parenteral or Mucous-

Membrane Route To Blood

Or Body Fluids From

Patients With Acquired

Immunodeficiency Syndrome -

United States, 34 MMWR 101

(PeD. L9ESPecccccsceess 34

Welliseh, U.C.L.A. Psychological

Study of AIDS, 19 Frontiers

of Radiation Therapy &

Oncology 155 (1985).... 6 3

Page(s)

OTHER AUTHORITIES

AIDS Fear Forced Pupils Out,

N.Y. Times, Oct. 4, 1985,

OS Debs CGibe Gace dbs evs 5

AMA Management Briefs,

AIDS: The Workplace

ageues, S&F CAFS) oscces

CCH, AIDS: Employer Rights

and Responsibilities 29

¢).. ) eee 49

»

Cimons, 11 Immigrants Face

AIDS Test, L.A. Times, §

at 1, col. 3 (Feb. 4,

POO oeecceees eocescces

Civ. Rts. Comm'n, Accommodating

the Spectrum of Abilities

Co

—_

\O

© ©)

LA)

>

*eeeeeesekse#ee#e#e#e#«

Dershowitz, Crucial Steps

in Combating the AIDS

Epidemic; Emphasize

Scientific Information,

N.Y. Times, Mar. 18, 1986,

CS Betis Gee Sibcacteoeoes

(Letter), N. Tim P

Apr 186, at 14,

Page\s)

Eckholm, Screening of Blood

for AIDS Raises Civil

Liberties Issues, N.Y.

Times, Sept. 30, 1985,

AL, GOEc Beecccoceseses 48

Floum, The Federal Rights

of Hanson's Disease

(Leprosy) Patients

at Kalaupapa, 6 U.

Haw. L. Rev. 507

S). . | Se ereyverrrrrrre 56

Gay Women and Risk of AIDS

L.A. Times, Apr. 2, 1986,

Ot VE, GObe Besesceesens

Hemophilia Info. Exchange,

AIDS, HTLV-III and

Hemophilia: Your Questions

Answered, AIDS Update 4

(Apr. 1966) ..cccccccces 14

Hemophilia Info. Exchange,

Hemophilia and Acquired

Immune Deficiency Syndrome

(AIDS): Intimacy and

Sexual Behavior, AIDS

Update 1 (Sept.

LPR OP ccc eesesseceosesess

Jaret, The Wars Within, 169

Nat'l Geographic 70<z

(June 1966) ..ccccccsves

Keppel, Insurers Try to Screen

Y

Out AIDS Cases, L.A. Times,

> & Be. &, GCOS. 3 (CC

Rw) o66e 04406 060% 19

7

a

Page(s)

Kristof, More Insurers Screen

Applicants for AIDS, N.Y.

Times, at Dl, col. 1 (Dec.

26, 4) eee eee -}.'

Lieberson, The Reality of

AIDS, N.Y. Rev. 43

les BGs REE ooesecee 5,12

Local Health Officers Meet in

Washington to Make

Recommendations to Mayors,

3 AIDS Info. Exchange 1

tS Perret re Te 39

McKeever, The Number One Issue,

Aids Update Newsletter 1]

LAE. LISS ccvcecesveces

Medical Experts Assail

Initiative on AIDS:

Officials Dismiss Claims

Made by Supporters of

LaRouche-Backed Prop. 64,

L.A. Times, Aug. 3, 1986,

rf 2 — ese Aveo f

Note, AIDS and Employment

Discrimination under the

Federal Rehabilitation Act

of 19%3—and Virginia's

Rights of Persons with

Disabilities Act, 20 U.

Richmond L. Rev. 425

,aas

(LISS) wccccccccccccceccs

CR Region IV Letter Ruling

. ] sr / (VA ba /

Complaint No, )4 +4 5 Io

. m 1} QR

(AUG. 9, LIGGJecccccceccs

OCR Region IX, Your Rights as

a Person with AIDS or ARC

(undated release).....-

Public Health Service Plan

for the Prevention and

Control of the AIDS

Virus: Report of the

Coolfant Conference,

(June 4-6, 1986)

reprinted in principal

art in Health

ep. 341

PD. ec eeedsseeeeeseos 11,19,26,

-

— €

Cy ee

'U

_-

-

4 @)

Dp:

R

]

Shipp, Physical Suttering 15

Not the Only Pain AIDS Ca

inflict, N.Y. Times at AS,

91. 1 (Fer ), 1986)

Smith, et al., High Court Eyed

for Guidance on AIDS as

Handicap, Legal Times 35

(June 30, 1986).......-.

le United States Gove

Manual 1985-86 2/7¢f

(1985)... cece peeeeeess

Crew Leaves set r A >

: tims Interview, N

es Mar 28 Y

U.S. Civ. Rights Comn.,

Accommodating the Spectrum

of Abilities (1983).... 42

-S. Dep't of Justice Office of

Legal Counsel, Memorandum

Re: Application of Section

204 of the Rehabilitation

Act to Persons with AIDS,

AIDS-Related Complex or

AIDS Virus (June 23,

Peer bebe seedeseeeeneer passin

-S. Off. Tech. Assessment,

Review of the Public Health

Service's Response to AIDS:

A_ Technical Memorandum

ee. ) ere

Researcher, N.Y. Times,

July 23, 1986, at D20,

o~ )

U.S. Apologizes to AIDS

BRIEF OF DOCTORS FOR AIDS RESEARCH

AND EDUCATION, AS AMICI CURIAE

INTEREST OF AMICI CURDAE

This brief amici

mitted in support f Re

behalf of Doctors for AIDS Research and

Education (DARE). DARE 1S >omposed of

physicians and public health specialists

who are experts on the disease commonly

Known aS Acquired _ Immune Deficiency

Syndrome (AIDS).

Through this brief, An provide

the Court with accurate and p-to-date

medical facts regarding AIDS order t

rrect the nisinformatio and dist

t — / Wi fe [ ed DY 4 r s@ [ — i. I cv i Aw 4 y

i ed nerein DY otners ‘nese acts

ecome } al only if tne Court ‘ ses

t > 1e a lsSsS e t Del ce tne

The qualifications of the Jivid

als who constitute DARE are set f tt

the Appendix to this brief

applicability of Section 504 of the

Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended,

29 U.S.C. § 794, et seg., (the "Act") to

individuals infected with the AIDS

virus.

Resolution of that question should

await a case squarely presenting the

. ° — 7 , a] ‘7 ] rr) ry ] ]

issue, to allow development of a full

even pdDasic avallable medical data demon

Strate that individuals infected with

tne AIDS virus must be encompassed

within the framework of the Act. An ,

aS experts, here present these data.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

€ . pe ) f review in tne [ cac

ase iS narrow, rne yuestions tnis

Tne parties t tnis action have

nsented to the filing of this brief,

and tneir letters of nmsent are pelna

] ur °F -L hic . y

filed with the Clerk of this Court.

Court certified for consideration are

expressly limited to the "disease of

tuberculosis." School Board of Nassau

County, Florida v. Arline, 106 S. Ct.

1633, 1634 (1986). No testimony, otner

evidence or findings below dealt with,

()

ct

W

or even mentioned, A:DS. The A

focus upon individualized consideration

of the handicapped thus prohibits trans

forming this case about a woman with

tuberculosis into a vehicle for specula

tion on the varied situations of the

over one million Americans who have been

nal

mr

licted with a virus causing the very

different disease of AIDS.

Nevertneless, without adequate

f . 1, e

nrormatlol and ln tne absence of a

. “A [ + Wate -c us Lilia + Aat }

record, retitioners WOULC nave tne

Court, through a broadly based decision,

~*

pre- judge sSues bearing ipon those

' : |

infected with the AIDS virus. Am1Ci

3 Petitioners and those supporting

their petition have tried repeatedly t

(footnote ontinued on next page!

urge the Court to reject efforts to

broaden the scope of the issues pre-

sented and to limit its ruling to the

record before it.

The high mortality rates resulting

from AIDS have created anxiety in a pub

. 4

lLinformed about the disease, an

nterject questions about AIDS into this

ase. Petitioners’ Reply Brief on writ

of Certiorari discussed application of

the Act to AIDS exclusively. Peti

’

tioners Opening Brief discusses at

length the Justice Department's Office

of Legal Counsel's Memorandum Re:

Application of Section 504 of the

Rehabilitation Act to Persons with AIDS,

AIDS-Related Complex or AIDS _Virus

(June 23, 1986) [hereinafter DoJ Memo],

a copy of which Petitioners have lodged

with the Court. All amici supporting

Petitioners refer to the DoJ Memo in

their briefs, and the brief amicus

curiae of Congressman Dannemeyer, et al.

Speaks nore about AIDS than about tuber

‘ulosis.

4 A September 1985 CBS _ poll found

that 47% erroneously think it is possi-

ble to contract AIDS from ae shared

drinking glass, 32% believe in error

that AIDS may be contracted from

(footnote yntinued on next page)

anxiety that many of Petitioners’ amici

attempt to feed.” This hysteria and the

public's misquided exclusive association

L

of the infection with certain sexual

activities have brought political

kissing, and 28% mistakenly think AIDS

can be contracted from a toilet seat.

Lieberson, The Reality of AIDS, N.Y.

Rev. 43, 45 (Jan. 16, 1986) {hereinafter

Reality]. Such misperceptions have

resulted in television crews walking off

the set where persons with AIDS were

being interviewed, TV Crew Leaves Set of

AIDS Victims Interview, N.Y. Times,

Mar. 28, 1985, at B6, col. 3, and stu

dents being removed from classes because

of suspicions that boyfriends of their

mothers had contracted AIDS. AIDS Fear

Forced Pupils Out, N.Y. Times, Oct. 4,

1985, at Bl, col. 4; see also Korcok,

AIDS Hysteria: A Contagious Side

Effect, 133 Can. Med. A.J. 1241 (Dec.

1985).

5 See, e.q., Brief Amicus Curiae of

Cong. Dannemeyer, et al., at 18-19, nN.

/. Not even the legal system has been

immu. - from such irrational reactions.

See, e.q., Richmond News Leader, Sept.

6, 1985, at 13, col. 1 (reporting drop-

ping of charges against criminal defen-

dant with AIDS rather than having

accused enter courtroom).

: 6 —-

tensions into tne medical arena. Amici

seek to help resolve these tensions by

providing an accurate understanding of

the nature of AIDS.

Amici first describe the nature of

authoritative medica journals. rhe

Studies reported demonstrate that the

AIDS virus 1S 1ifficult t tract

Hence, the Centers for Disease Control

8

[Ss recommends that individuals who

6 See Medical Experts Assail

Initiative on AIDS: Officials Dismiss

Claims Made _ by Supporters of LaRouche-

Backed Prop. 64, L.A. Times, Aug. 3,

1986, $1, at 3, col. 2; Eu v. Male, No.

341940, slip op. (Sac., Cal. Sup. Ct.

Aug. 8, 1986) (ordering removal of "med-

ical data” -- erroneously asserting that

casual transmission of AIDS virus has

been shown to occur -- from argument in

favor of quarantine initiative in state

Dallot pamphlet).

] See, e.qg., Sande, The Case against

Casual Contagion, 314 New Eng. J. Med.

380 (Feb. 1986) [hereinafter Casual].

8 The CDC is the federal agency

tharged with protecting the nati 'S

{ + + te + rn) ed or next r je)

SN eee

have been infected with the virus be

permitted to continue to work and attend

school.”

Second, Amici demonstrate that per

sons infected with the AIDS virus are

handicapped individuals under the Act's

provisions. Those infected have physi

cal and mental impairments that substan

tially limit major life activities.

They also are regarded by thers is

nav 1 Ng SUCI npa lrments

public health by providing leadershify

and direction in the prevention and con

trol of disease. The United States

Government Manual 1985-86 276 (1985)

4 Recommendations for Preventing

Transmission of Infections with Human

T-Lymphotropic Virus Type III/

lrus In The

Lymphadenopathy-Associated Viru

Workplace, 34 Morbidity a

Weekly Report [hereinafter "MMWR"] 681]

(Nov. 1985) [hereinafter Workplace];

Education and Foster Care of Children

Infected With Human T-Lymphotropic Virus

Type III/ Lymphadenopathy-Associated

Virus, 34 MMWR 517 (Aug. 1985) [herein

after Education].

The Act does not exclude conditions

like AIDS. Instead, it requires that

each person infected with the AIDS virus

be permitted to participate in all fed-

erally funded programs, unless and until

individualized symptoms of the disease

render that person unqualified to per-

form the activity in which he or she is

ARGUMENT

A REVIEW OF THE MEDICAL AUTHORITIES

DEMONSTRATES THAT PERSONS INFECTED

WITH THE AIDS VIRUS ARE HANDICAPPED

INDIVIDUALS.

Those infected with the AIDS virus

are the subject of public ignorance and

infounded fears, just like other handi-

capped persons whom Congress sought to

protect in passing the Act. Absent

legal protection, they are subjected to

irrational discrimination and exclusions

the basis of thelr impairments, at a

cost both to themselves and society.

Understanding what AIDS is shows that

there 1s no reason to treat persons

exposed to the AIDS virus any differ-

ently from those with other handicaps. ~

Acquired Immune Deficiency Sy:

(A S ) Ss the linical mar es

a dysfunct ff the human imm é

aused by a recently discovered

LQ While Amici have felt it

to present the medical facts set

in this brief, the record in the present

case is insufficient to support a deci

sion reaching AIDS issues. i

Commonwealth of Massachusetts _ ¥.

Painten, 390 U.S. 560, 561 (1968) (dis

missing writ because record not suffi

ciently clear and specific to permit

decision of issues).

Ll Gallo, et al., Frequent Detection

and Isolation of Cytopathic Retroviruses

(HTLV-III) from Patients With AIDS and

At Risk For AIDS, 224 Sci. 500 (May

1984). The AIDS virus has received sev-

eral names: Human T-Lymphotropic Virus

Type III (HTLV-III); Lymphadenopathy

\trootnote continued on next page}

The human immune system works through a

complicated process by which certain

white blood cells are able to recognize

and destroy foreign agents that enter

the body. The AIDS virus kills’ the

immune system's T-helper celis -- the

primary warriors of the cell-mediated

immune system?“ leaving those infected

with the virus vulnerable to diseases

Associated Virus (LAV); AIDS-Associated

Retrovirus (ARV); and, most recently,

Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV).

Compare Langone, AIDS, 6 Discovery 28,

30 (Dec. 1985) [hereinafter AIDS) and

DoJ Memo, supra note 3 (both using

former terminology) with Coffin, et al.,

Human Immunodeficiency Viruses (Letter),

232 Sci. 697 (May 1986) (proposing HIV

terminology). This brief refers to the

Virus aS Simply the "AIDS virus." Those

whose blood indicates they have been

exposed to the virus are termed

"seropositive.

12 A. Fettner & W. Check, The Truth

About AIDS 44 (1984); Jaret, The Wars

Within, 169 Nat'l Geographic 702, 723

(June 1986) (photographic essay on

immune system and AIDS virus).

(called "opportunistic" infections) that

, >

do not affect healthy people.”

To date, there 1S no vaccine

against nor cure for AIDS. Education 1s

Crucial in bringing about changes in

behavior, the only known means of pre

vention.”

13 As of July 29, 1986, the total

reported number of persons with AIDS in

the U.S. has exceeded 23,000, over half

of whom have died. CDC, Weekly

Surveillance Report - United States AIDS

Program, July 29, 1986 [hereinafter CDC

7/29/86 Rep. ].

14 U.S. Off. Tech. Assessment, Review

of the Public Health Service's Response

to AIDS: A Technical Memorandum 49

(Feb. 1985); see also Public Health

Service Plan for the Prevention and

Control of the AIDS Virus; Report of

the Coolfant Conference, June 4-6, 1986,

at 11-12 [hereinafter Coolfont Rep. |],

reprinted in principal part in 101 Pub.

Health Rep. 341 (July-Aug. 1986); Self-

Reported Behavioral hanges Among

Homosexual Men -- San Francisco, 34 MMWR

613 (Oct. 1985) {hereinafter Behavioral

Changes] (demonstrating that, as a

result of education, the percentage of

homosexual and bisexual men engaging

nly in non-promiscuous sa*e-sex prac

tices rose from 61% in April 1984 to 81%

one year later).

While fully developed AIDS is_ the

best known condition associated with the

AIDS virus, a range of symptoms may

result from infection.* Recently, man-

ifestations of the infection have been

classified pursuant to four groups of

Symptoms and several sub-classes:

15 See Revision of the Case Definition

of Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome

for National Reporting -- United States,

34 MMWR 373, 374 (June 1985) [hereinaf-

ter Revision of Definition]; see also

"The Case Definition of AIDS Used by CDC

for National Reporting" (Aug. 1, 1985),

Attachment A to DoJ Memo [hereinafter

CDC Definition].

16 Previously, persons with the AIDS

virus were classed as (1) having either

AIDS; (2) having AIDS-Related Complex

("ARC"), which loosely referred to the

-onjunction of such symptoms as swollen

lymph-nodes, fever, weight loss,

fatigue, and night sweats, Kalish &

Schlossman, The T4 Lymphocyte in _ AIDS,

313 New Eng. J. Med. 112 (July 1985), or

(3) being asymptomatic but testing posi-

tive. See Reality, supra note 4. See

also DoJ Memo, supra note 3, at 9 and

n.20 (using former classification sys

tem).

ct

-

s

I) early acute, though t iwsilent, sig!

. a yY T r or , ?

f the disease; (II) asymptomat1 inte

lon; (III) persistent Swoliel Lymp

— Tt .

odes; and (IV) presence of opportu

Stic disease and/or rare types

ancer, including one known as _ Kaposi

ircoma.

Yiauals 1 al I tne

is I at S suffer fr impa e

; " ¥ er < we srr) . i ~ > . .

, i< ’ Yu 4 aa ~ 7 — Cils .e ‘ € xX .

Vel tn —T wn are as y! Dt mat a

rmaiities 1 tneir nemi and rep!

ictive systems aking procreat

it , rt t . 1a), + +hnea co >

ARAMA LL i >| 40 i si c sc ives |

rT rer —_ “

— 21 yy ai

a Oe Classifticatiol! syste I

, c THT y ~ ; Virue T's [|

man T-Lymphotropic Virus Type II

. V3 . rt

Lymphadenopathy-A Associated Virus Infe

T ems

n, 105 Annals Internal Med. 234

986) [hereinafter Classification].

Oo Ȣ Ge et Gie, Mothers of Lfil al

tt the Acquired Immunodeficie

+ +o - ‘Q ~ y ext nade

Symptoms classified under Class IV

most severely impair the body's sys-

7

tems.*? Such patients generally have

Syndrome Evidence for Both Symptomatic

and Asymptomatic Carriers, 253 J. A.M.A.

363. (June 1985) [hereinafter Mothers]

(indicating 30-50% of children born to

seropositive mothers develop AIDS and

that seropositive women who become preg-

nant are at increased risk of developing

Class IV AIDS themselves). As a result,

the hemophiliac community has recom-

mended that those who are seropositive

give "Serious consideration... to

deferring pregnancy." Hemophilia Info.

Exchange, AIDS, HTLV-III and

Hemophilia: Your Questions Answered,

AIDS Update 4 (Apr. 1986); see also

Provisional Public Health Service Inter-

Agency Recommendations for Screening

Donated Blood and Plasma for Antibody to

the Virus Causing Acquired Immunodefi-

ciency Syndrome, 34 MMWR 1 (Jan. 1985)

(advising persons with any evidence of

AIDS virus infection to avoid transmis-

sion through sexual] intercourse and to

refrain from donating sperm, blood,

etc.).

19 Class IV. includes four subclasses:

1) constitutional diseases; 2) neuro-

logic diseases; 3) secondary infections

diseases [including infections of

pathogens such as protozoa (amoeba- like

organisms) or helminthics (worms); the

(footnote continued on next page)

14.

multiple symptoms. While the lymphatic

and hemic systems are the bodily systems

‘

most commonly affected, “© attack upon

the respiratory system causes the

greatest number of deaths. Pneumocystis

carinii pneumonia (PCP) is present in

58% of all AIDS patients. This uncommon

form of pneumonia and a spectrum of

other respiratory infections frequently

bring about shortness of breath and

severe chest pains.

most common are pneumocytis carinii

pneumonia, diseases caused by fungi

(molds such as candidiasis or

cryptococcus), viral infections (like

cytomegalovirus and herpes simplex) and

bacterial infections (such as

mycobacterium)]; and 4) other clinical

symptoms not classifiable in other

categories. See Classification, supra

note 17; see also Revision of Def ini-

tion, supra note 15.

20 Brettman, Serologic and Epidemio-

logic Assessment of AIDS Risk, 3 Infec-

tions in Med. 18, 20 (Jan. 1986)

[hereinafter Serologic Assessment ]}.

21 PCP is the most prevalent opportun-

istic disease affecting those with AIDS.

(footnote continued on next page)

15.

=

Neurological disorders, including

dementia, AIDS-virus induced encepha-

litis, and motor and behavioral changes

are also common. ** In addition, various

bacteria and fungi attack the cardiovas-

cular system, often resulting in

congestive heart and renal failure.*?

Visual abnormalities, and even

blindness, result from viral eye’ infec-

tions, *4 while the intestinal track is

Although persons with adequately func-

tioning immune systems are fully able to

defend themselves against PCP, it has

been fatal to 45% of those AIDS patients

stricken with ‘, Daul, et al.,

Acquired Immnune Deficiency Syndrome:

An Update and Interpretation, 51 Annals

Allergy 351, 352-53 (Sept. 1983).

22 Navia, et al., The AIDS Dementia

Complex: I. Clinical Features and II.

Neuropathology, 19 Annals Neurology 517

& 525 (Apr. 1986).

23 Cohen et al., Congestive Cardiomyo-

pathy in Association with the Acquired

Immunodeficiency Syndrome, 315 New Eng.

J. Med. 628 (Sept. 1986).

24 Friedman et al., Cytomegalovirus

Retinitis: A Manifestation of the

(footnote continued on next page)

16.

attacked through persistent month-long

bouts of diarrhea.“ In fact, it is

fair to say that there is not a single

system of the body that is not debili-

tated by the ubiquitous infections to

which the body is susceptible after

infection by the AIDS virus.

Clearly, these conditions dras-

tically affect most major life activi-

ties. The cited studies illustrate that

people with AIDS may have difficulty

caring for themselves, performing manual

tasks, walking, seeing, hearing, speak-

ing, breathing, learning and working,

among other life functions.

Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome

(AIDS), 67 Brit. J. Opthamology 372

(June 1983).

25 Serologic Assessment, supra

note 20, at 20.

The most common way of determining

whether someone has been exposed to the

AIDS virus is to investigate whether

antibodies to the virus (indicating pre-

vious infection) are present in the per-

son's blood. °°

Although no one. yet

knows exactly how many of the persons

testing positive for antibodies to the

AIDS virus ultimately will develop cases

of AIDS, *’ estimates run to between 20%

26 See Blattner, et al., Epidemiology

of Human T-Lymphotropic Virus Type III

and the Risk of Acquired

Immunodeficiency Syndrome, 103 Annals

Internal Med. 665 (Nov. 1985). At pres-

ent, a person's blood is determined to

have antibodies to the AIDS virus after

repeated trials with one test (the ELISA

test), followed by a more specific con-

firmatory test (Western Blot). Id. (The

confirmatory test is necessary because

the ELISA test has a significant poten-

tial for error. Carlson, et al., AIDS

Serology Testing in Low- and _ High-Risk

Groups, 253 J. A.M.A. 3405 (June 1985),.)

27 Norman, AIDS Trends: Projections

From Limited Data, 230 Sci. 1018 (Nov.

1985) [hereinafter AIDS Trends].

18.

and 303.78

Between 1 and 1.5 million people in

the United States are estimated to be

seropositive at present.” The impact

of AIDS on the economy will be enormous

if all infected with the AIDS virus’ can

be summarily excluded from the workforce

while they are able to work. °°

28 Coolfont Rep., supra note 14, at 5,

7 (factors determining expression and

progression of the disease in individ-

uals largely unknown); see Update:

Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome-

United States, 35 MMWR 17 (Jan. 1986)

{hereinafter Update]. One interesting

study showed that four years after 39

newborns received transfusions of plasma

from a single donor who, to his igno-

rance, had been infected with the virus,

two had died from AIDS and three had ARC

symptoms, but the other four _ were

healthy. Lange, et al., HTLV-III/LAV

Infection in Nine Children Infected by a

Single Plasma Donor, 154 J. Infectious

Diseases 171 (July 1986) [hereinafter

Nine Children].

A

29 Coolfant Rep., supra note 14, at 4;

Update, supra note 28.

30 Among those Americans thus far

diagnosed with fully-developed AIDS, 40%

(footnote continued on next page)

19.

The incubation period for onset of

clinical AIDS is several years after

infection, with an average of 4.5

years.°>! Individuals who ultimately

will develop full AIDS are clearly

employable during the prolonged incuba-

tion period. °* Indeed, many persons who

are infected with the viruS may

nonetheless live disease-free all their

lives.°° For example, of the

are minorities (25% are Black and 14%

are Hispanic). See CDC 7/29/86 Rep.,

Supra note 13; Bakeman, et al., AIDS

Risk-Group Profiles in Whites and

Members of Minority Groups, 315 New Eng.

J. Med. 191 (July 1986). All but 7% of

those currently infected in the U.S. are

male. Women and AIDS, Newsweek 60

(July 14, 1986).

31 Periods of up to 7 years have been

reported thus far. Peterman, et al.,

Epidemiology of the Acquired

Immunodeficiency Syndrome (AIDS), 7

Epidemiological Rev. 1 (1985); AIDS

Trends, supra note 27, at 1018.

32 Workplace, supra note 9.

33 Health & and Pub. Policy Comm'n,

Amer. C. Physicians, & the Infectious

(footnote continued on next page)

20.

approximately 20,000 hemophiliacs in the

United States (90% of whom are now

seropositive), only about 100, or 2%,

have fully developed Aips.>* This is

particularly significant because most

hemophiliacs were infected at the earli-

est stages of the epidemic as a result

of direct injections of infected

: 35 ais

lood. Thus, the data demonstrate

Diseases Soc'y Amer., Position Paper:

Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome, 104

Annuals Internal Med. 575 (Apr. 1986)

[hereinafter Position Paper]; see also

Mothers, note 18, Supra.

34 Levine, The Acquired Immuno-

deficiency Syndrome In Persons With

Hemophilia, 103 Annais Internal Med. 723

(Nov. 1985); see also Melbye, et al.,

Long-Term Seropositivity For Human

T-Lymphotropic Virus Type III in Homo-

sexual Men Without the Acquired Immuno-

deficiency Syndrome: Development of

Immunologic and Clinical Abnormalities,

104 Annals Internal Med. 496

(Apr. 1986).

35 Evatt, Coincidental Appearance of

HTLV-III/LAV Antibodies in Hemophiliacs

and the Onset of the AIDS Epidemic, 31

New Eng. J. Med. 483 (Feb. 1985); AIDS,

Supra note ll, at 50.

21.

that almost all individuals exposed to

the virus are capable of many productive

years in the workplace and that,

throughout their work-lives, many will

remain just as productive as their co-

workers who have not been infected.

This fact is recognized by the gov-

36

ernment's own CDC,

B. The AIDS Virus Is Not Casually

Transmitted.

The AIDS virus is not spread in the

air by droplet infection as are the com-

mon cold, influenza or tuberculosis. >’

Fragile and killed by most household

36 Workplace, supra note 9; see also

Recommendations for Preventing

Transmission of Infection with Human

T-Lymphotrophic Virus Type III/

Lymphadenopathy-Associated Virus During

Invasive Procedures, 35 MMWR 221

(Apr. 1986) (CDC explanation of how sur-

geons with AIDS can continue to perform

their duties if they -take limited

specified precautions).

37 See Education, supra note 9.

22.

Gisinfectants including, apparently,

38 ee

soap and water, it is spread only via

specific routes Dy transmission of

infected blood, semen or vaginal fluids

(and, possibly, mother's milk) from one

39 ear

person to another. Transmission by

either semen or blood accounts for vir-

tually all reported cases.

38 Grouse, HTLV-III Transmission, 254

J. A.M.A. 2130 (Oct. 1985) [hereinafter

Transmission]; see also Recommendations

for Providing Dialysis Treatment to

Patients Infected With Human T-Lympho-

trophic Virus Type Il1I1/Lymphadenopathy-

Associated Virus, 35 MMWR 376 (June

1986) (no extraordinary precautions nec-

essary to sanitize dialysis machine

after use by AIDS patients).

39 There is no evidence of insect-

borne transmission of the virus, such as

by mosquitoes. Drotman, Insect-Borne

Transmission of AIDS?, 254 J. A.M.A.

1085 (Aug. 1985).

40 The only reported exception to

transmission by blood, semen or vaginal

fluids is a single instance of a mother

who possibly transmitted AIDS to her

infant through breast milk.

(footnote continued on next page)

23.

The routes for transmission of the

AIDS virus are limited in nuaber.*"

Recommendations for Assisting in the

Prevention of Perinatal Transmission of

Human T Lymphotropic Virus Type IIi/

Lymphadenopathy-Associated Virus and

Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome, 34

MMWR 721, 722 (Dec. 1985) [hereinafter

Perinatal]; see DoJ Memo, supra note 3

at 1l, n.28. Of course, newborns have

immature immune systems. See Davis,

Histopathological Changes in the Thymus

Gland, 12 Annals N.Y. Acad. Sciences

493, 495 (1986).

4) In order to protect the blood sup-

ply, in 1983 the CDC looked at clusters

of AIDS cases and determined certain

categories of people as being at higher

risks for the disease (these “high-risk”

groups were then listec as hemophiliacs,

homosexual/bisexual men with multiple

sex partners, intravenous (IV) drug

users and Haitians). Prevention of

Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome

(AIDS): Report of Inter-Agency

Recommendations, 32 MMWR 101 (Mar. 1983)

{hereinafter AIDS Prevention.]. Unfor-

tunately, identification of risk qroups

as opposed to risk behaviors has led

some to misperceive the disease as being

caused by being, or being in the proxim-

ity of, a homosexual or a drug user,

rather than being a disease to which

certain acts (some of which are’ sexual)

render one susceptible. For example,

(footnote continued on next page)

24.

Anal intercourse has been the predomi-

nant route among cases documented to

42 ; ' ;

; However, transmission via

despite public perceovtions to the con-

trary, lesbians are the group least

likely to become infected. Gay Women

and Risk of AIDS, L.A. Times, Apr. 2,

1986, at Vl, col. 2.

Some still cling to the “high-risk

group" terminology and simultaneously

claim that many cases do not fall into

any known risk group, a claim which

seems calculated to create concern about

possible "unknown" routes of transmis-

sion. See, e.g., DOJ Memo, supra

note 3, at 4, n.3; see also note 55,

infra.

42 Transmission by anal intercourse is

not limited to the male homosexuals’ and

bisexuals, but also poses a risk of

transmission in the heterosexual commu-

nity. Melbye, et al., Anal Intercourse

As A Possible Factor in Heterosexual

Transmission of HTLV-III to Spouses of

Hemophiliacs, 312 New Eng. J. Med. 85/7

(Jan. 1985); Redfield, et al., Frequent

Bidirectional Heterosexual Transmission

of HTLV-III/LAV Between Spouses, Pro-

ceedings of the Second Int'l Conf. on

AIDS (Paris) [hereinafter Paris Conf.

Proc.] 125 (June 1986) [hereinafter

Bidirectional].

Anal intercourse poses more of a

risk for transmission than vaginal

(footnote continued on next page)

23.

vaginal intercourse also is_ known to

occur. *? A single penile-vaginal

intercourse because the wails of the

rectum contain numerous’ blood vessels

and are more easily torn. See AIDS,

supra note ll.

43 Kreiss, et al., Antibody to Human

T-Lymphotropic Virus Type III in Wives

of Hemophiliacs, 102 Annals’ Internal

Med. 623 (May 1985); Redfield, et al.,

Frequent Transmission of HTLV-III Among

Spouses of Patients With AIDS-Related

Complex and AIDS, 253 J. A.M.A. 1571

(Mar. 1985). Widespread misinformation

about the manner of transmission has led

many erroneously to believe that only

those in high-risk groups will be

exposed to AIDS virus. Nonetheless, a

greatér proportional - increase in

heterosexual transmission is expected.

By 1991, it is estimated that 7,000

fully developed AIDS cases (9% of the

total in the U.S.) will be the result of

heterosexual transmission. Coolfont

Rep., supra note 14, @&t vs Bae In some

African countries, vaginal intercourse

already is believed to be the primary

method of transmission. Mann, et al.,

Prevalence of HTLV-III/LAV in Household

Contacts of Patients With Confirmed AIDS

and Controls in Kinshasa, Zaire, 256

J. A.M.A. 721 (Aug. 1986). Further,

while in 1983, 71% of the AIDS cases in

Haiti were among individuals in groups

regularly engaging in high-risk activi-

(footnote continued on next page)

26.

Wal sche Marto LE MNOE

bam OC Be

et ea ee th.F tl ee ty

ede etl 4a elt Fe Te LS

ae

pty AL

a

ee ee ee

aE EY Ce a Rag OM Nellie hij | AIM TA be

contact may be sufficient.”

There is a public misconception

that any personal bodily contact mey

spread the disease. However, kissing

has never been documented as a transmis-

)

sion route. This is also true for

ties, by 1985, 71% of the cases were

among individuals outside such groups.

Women and AIDS, supra note 30; see also

Culmeck, et al. Seroepidemiological

Studies of HTLV-III Antibody Prevalence

Among Selected Groups _ of Heterosexual

Africans, 254 J. A.M.A. 2599 (Nov. 1985)

(16% of heterosexuals in Zaire and

Rwanda infected). But see

Female-to-Male Transmission of HTLV-III

(Letters) 255 J. A.M.A. 1702 (Apr.

1986). Thus, it is important that deci-

sions with an _ impact upon persons

exposed to the AIDS virus be made for

the population as a whole and not be

based upon unscientific moral judgments

of certain high-risk group behavior.

44 Peterman, Study Documents Hetero-

sexual Transmission, 1 AIDS Alert 5 (May

1986); Some experts believe the disease

can be readily transferred

heterosexually. Women and AIDS, supra

note 30; Bidirect. nal, supra note 42.

45 Casual, supra note 7; see also

Infrequency of Isolation of HTLV-II

(footnote continued on next page)

au.

te. 46

Oral-genital sex.

The most direct route of transmis-

sion is through exchange of blood prod-

ucts. This can occur when intravenous

(IV) drug users share infected needles.

In addition, until AIDS was recognized,

and the nation's’ blood supply tested,

transmission occurred through the

transfusion of contaminated blood.

Finally, newborn infants born of

infected mothers may receive contami-

nated blood in utero. *’

Virus From Saliva In AIDS, 313 New Eng.

J. Med. 1606 (Dec. 1985); HTLV-III

Exposure During __ Cardiopulmonary

Resuscitation, 313 New Eng. J. Med. 1606

(Dec. 1985) (paramedics giving mouth-to-

mouth resuscitation to infected individ-

uals tested negative for antibodies to

the virus).

46 See Casual, supra note 6; Lymon, et

al., Minimal Risk of Transmission of

AIDS-Associated Retrovirus Infection by

Oral-Genital Contact, 255 J. A.M.A. 1703

(Apr. i986).

47 See Mothers, supra note 18.

28.

i ET SIP

Transmission to hemophiliacs has

been contained through new blood treat-

48 ;

ments. Because condoms appear tc be

effective in preventing transmission of

; 49

the virus via semen, and because anal

intercourse can be replaced with safer

“ 50 oe

sexual practices, transmission among

male homosexuals and bisexuals’ has

slowed as those groups have responded to

48 Case for Concluding Heat Treated

Licensed Anti-Hemophiliac Factor Is Free

From HTLV-III, Lancet 890 (Oct. 19,

1985).

49 Condoms Prevent Transmission of

AIDS-Associated Retrovirus, 255

J. A.M.A. 1706 (Apr. 1986). Indeed, an

agency funded in part by a grant from

the U.S. Department of Health and Human

Services recommends condoms as the only

necessary precaution for sexual prac-

tices by hemophiliacs. Hemophilia Info.

Exchange, Hemophilia and Acquired Immune

Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS): Intimacy

and Sexual Behavior, AIDS Update 1

(Sept. 1985).

50 CDC, 1985 STD Treatment Guidelines,

34 MMWR (Supp.) 75S (Oct. 1985) (iden-

tifying safe sexual behaviors).

29.

education. ~- Transfusion-associated

transmission also has been contained

through development of antibody tests.°¢

51 Behavioral Changes, supra note 14.

But see Moss et al., Progression to AIDS

in Men Seropositive for LAV/HTLV-III:

One-year Followups of San Francisco

General Hospital Study, Paris Conf.

Proc. 152 (June 1986) [hereinafter

Progression]; Coolfont Rep., supra

note 14, at 7, 12 (IV drug abusers are

the major reservoir for transmission to

the community at large). Because of the

illicit nature of IV drug users' activi

ties, they are the most difficult group

to reach with education efforts. Id.;

see also Bowers v. Hardwick, 106 S. Ct.

2841 (1986) (finding no constitutional

barrier to state anti-sodomy laws, which

laws may make identification of those

engaging in anal intercourse difficult,

thereby impeding education of at-risk

individuals); Paterat, et al.

Serological Markers as Indicators of

Sexual Orientation in AIDS Virus -

Infected Men, 256 J. A.M.A. 712 (Aug.

1986) (two seropositive U.S. airmen,

without known risk factor, who were

tested for markers of several diseases

associated with male homosexual behavior

had results which placed the probability

at 1 in 19,000 that they did not belong

to homosexual high-risk group).

52 Provisional Public Health Service

Inter-Agency Recommendations for

(footnote continued on next page)

30.

a a ae ee

These data demonstrate that trans-

mission of the virus occurs almost

exclusively via specific routes in which

infected blood products, semen or

vaginal fluids come into contact with

another's blood. No evidence exists of

"casual" transmission. Indeed, only two

cases have been documented of transmis-

sion of the virus other than by the

activities described above, both

involving individuals acting as_ health

care workers who failed to follow CDC

guidelines while caring for AIDS

patients.>>

Screening Donated Blood and Plasma for

Antibody to the Virus Causing Acquired

Immunodeficiency Syndrome, 34 MMWR 1

(Jan. 1985).

53 One case concerned a mother respon-

sible for her infected child's’ medical

care, Although this woman behaved like

a health care worker (drawing her

child's blood through in-dwelling body

(footnote continued on next page)

31.

The DoJ Memo's only support for its

Claim that the AIDS virus might be

transmitted by casual contact consists

of these two cases, a single instance of

possible transmission through a mother's

milk,>* a subsequently retracted comment

tubes and changing surgical dressings,

among other things), she did not follow

recommended CDC precautions for. such

individuals: she did not wear gloves or

wash her hands immediately after blood

Or secretion contact. The CDC cautions

against over-generalizing the risk

factor from this’ case: "The contact

between the reported mother and child is

not typical of the usual contact that

could be expected in a family setting."

Apparent Transmission of Human

T-Lymphotropic Virus Type _ III/Lympha-

denopathy-Associated Virus From a Child

to a Mother Providing Health Care, 35

MMWR 76 (Feb. 1986) [hereinafter Child

To Mother]; see also DoJ Memo, supra

note 3, at ll, n.30.

The other case concerned a health

care worker who also did not follow rec-

ommended CDC precautions. She had pro-

longed contact with an AIDS patient's

body excretions and secretions, and had

chronic eczema on her hands so that her

own blood was exposed to the patient's

virus-containing fluids. Child to

Mother, supra note 53.

54 Perinatal, supra note 40.

32.

erroneously attributed to Dr. William

Haseltine of the Harvard Medical

School,”

and the implication that cases

of casual transmission lurk among what

the Department of Justice inaccurately

refers to as the "6%" of cases not clas-

sified in a high-risk group. °°

55 See DoJ Memo, supra note 3, at 13,

n.38, (citing to Dershowitz, Crucial

Steps in Combating the AIDS Epidemic;

Emphasize Scientific Information, N.Y.

Times, Mar. 18, 1986, at A27, col. 2).

The substance of the comment attributed

to Dr. Haseltine in the New York Times

(that AIDS more than likely will be

casually transmitted) was subsequently

retracted and "clarified" in that same

periodical. Dershowitz, On Transmission

(Letter), N.Y. Times, Apr. 5, 1986, at

14, col. 8. As a result, the author of

the DoJ Memo, Charles Cooper, publicly

apologized to Dr. Haseltine, and added

assurances from the Public Health Ser-

vice that "non-sexual person-to-person

contacts” in the workplace did not cre-

ate a risk of transmission. U.S.

Apologizes to AIDS Researcher, N.Y.

Times, July 23, 1986, at D20, col. 4.

56 As of July 29, 1986, only 3.1% of

cases to date are of unknown origin.

(fcotnote continued on next page)

33.

Comprehensive research on those

extensively exposed to persons with AIDS

demonstrates that the AIDS virus is not

spread by casual contact.’ As a

CDC _ _7//29/86 Rep., supra note 12). More-

over, although, 1,206 patients could not

be placed in an identified at-risk group

as of May 1985, further investigation

has explained the lack of placement in

nearly all cases. Update, supra note

28.

57 During the past five years over

1,750 health care workers who have

treated AIDS patients have been studied.

Of 666 who either had penetrated their

skin with a contaminated needle or had

splashed body fluids on mucous membranes

(such as lips), only 26 tested

seropositive and only three of these did

not have an alternative possible means

of transmission. Update: Prospective

Evaluation of Health-Care Workers

Exposed Via The Parenteral or Mucous-

Membrane Route To Blood Or Body Fluids

From Patients With Acquired

Immunodeficiency Syndrome = United

States, 34 MMWR 101 (Feb. 1985); Update:

Evaluation of Human T-Lymphotropic Virus

Type II I/Lymphadenopathy-Associated

Virus Infection in Health Care

Personnel - United States, 34 MMWR 575

(Sept. 1985). In another investigation

of 150 health workers with -needle-stick

(footnote continued on next page)

34.

result, the CDC has recommended that

routine serologic testing for evidence

of the AIDS virus is unnecessary for

medical care workers, including those

performing surgical, dental, or child-

birth procedures. °°

injuries, not one was seropositive after

four years, although some had severe

penetrations. Henderson, et al., Risk

of Nasocomial Infection With Human

T-Cell Lymphotrophic Virus Type

Il11/Lymphadempothy-Asscciated Virus in

Large Cohort of Intensively Exposed

Health Care Workers, 104 Annals Internal

Med. 644, 647 (May 1986); see also

Tsoukas, et al., "Risk of Transmission

of HTLV-III/LAV From Human Bites," Paris

Conf. Proc. 125 (six months after 30

health care workers were bitten or

scratched by a brain-damaged hemophiliac

with AIDS, none tested seropositive).

58 Recommendations for Preventing

Transmission During Invasive Procedures,

35 MMWR 221 (Apr. 1986); see also Sacks,

AIDS and a Surgeon, 313 New Eng. J. Med.

1017 (Oct. 1985) (two years after the

death from AIDS of a surgeon who per-

formed invasive procedures, no instance

of seropositivity has been reported in

any of 400 of his patients).

33.

In no instance has a family or

household member of over 17,000 AIDS

patients, who was not the patient's sex-

ual partner, contracted AIDS.°? Seven

Studies of over 350 family members have

failed to find any virologic evidence of

ee 60

transmission.

59 Child To Mother, supra note 53.

But see note 53, supra.

60 Id. In one study, the contacts

between family members’ included shared

toothbrushes (7%), towels (37%), eating

utensils (25%), dishes (46%), drinking

Glasses (48%), bed (37%), toilets (90%),

and baths and showers (92%). Moreover,

over 19% of the family members had

kissed the patient on the lips and 83%

had kissed on the cheek. Freidland, et

Sass Lack of Transmission of

HTLV-III/LAV Infection to Household

Contacts of Patients With AIDS or

AIDS~Related Complex with Oral

Candidiasis, 314 New Eng. J. Med. 344,

346 (Feb. 1986); see also Melbye, et

al., Anal [Intercourse As A_ Possible

Factor In Heterosexual Transmission of

HTLV-III to Spouses of Hemophiliacs, 312

New Eng. J. Med. 857 (Mar. 1985) (no

members of any hemophiliac household,

except sexual partners, have been found

(footnote continued on next page)

36.

In light of the case against casual

transmission, CDC has recommended that

children infected with AIDS be permitted

to attend school within limited precau-

tionary guidelines. °! Similarly, CDC

has determined that persons with AIDS

should be permitted unrestricted access

to work in food service, health care,

62

and other work settings. Summarizing

to be exposed to the virus). Compare

above scientific studies with Brief of

Cong. Dannemeyer, et al., at 19 n.?7

(admitting that there are no known cases

of transmission by saliva or air, but

baldly asserting [based upon d

miscitation to a publication that admits

to being “biased in favor of believing

the worst” about AIDS, McKeever, The

Number One Issue, AIDS Update Newsletter

1 (Apr. 1985)] that there supposedly is

a "consensus" among “some [unnamed] doc-

tors" that AIDS may be passed by

kissing, mouth-to-mouth resuscitation

and sharing of glasses or toothbrushes).

61 Education, supra note 9.

62 Indeed, the CDC unqualifiedly has

concluded that "[t]he kind of nonsexual

(footnote continued on next page)

37.

all the data arguing against casual

transmission, an eeitorial in the New

England Journal of Medicine urged: "It

is now time . .. to take a more influ-

entiai and active role in quelling this

hysteria over the casual transmission of

arps."°?

C. Protecting Persons Infected With

The AIDS Virus Against

Discrimination And Exclusion

Would Not Adversely Affect The

Public Health Powers Of

Government.

Because transmission of the AIDS

64

virus cannot occur casually, the

person-to-person contact that generally

occurs among workers and clients or con-

sumers in the workplace does not pose a

risk for transmission of HTLV-III/LAV."

Workers infected by the AIDS virus

"should not be restricted from using

telephones, office equipment, toilets,

showers, eating facilities, and water

fountains." Workplace, supra note 9, at

682, 694.

63 Casual, supra note 7.

64 See District 27 School Bd. v. Bd.

of Educ., 130 Misc. 2d 398, 502 N.Y.S.2d

(footnote continued on next page)

38.

—_ oe

prestigious American College of Physi-

cians has adopted the position that

[Q]uarantining persons with AIDS

Or persons who have been exposed

to. [the AIDS virus]... is. an

unjustified invasion of individ-

ual liberty and privacy... .

[Q]uarantine . . . would not be

productive. In fact, it would

communicate a false sense of

security... [so that some]

might believe that the incarcer-

ation of such persons makes it

safe to engage in sexual and

drug practices known to transmit

the . . . infection.,®5

Thus, the spectre painted by Petitioners

325 (1986) (holding that children with

AIDS were not required by law to _ be

excluded from school system because the

risk of transmission in the school

setting is nonexistent).

65 Position Paper, supra note 33, at

578 (emphasis in original) (adding that

quarantine likely would result in non-

reporting of many cases and loss of

cooperation of those whose activities

place them at risk for the disease); see

also Coolfont Rep., supra note 14, at

14; Local Health Officers Meet in

Washington to Make Recommendations to

Mayors, 3 AIDS Info. Exchange l, 5 (Feb.

1986).

39.

and others°® of public health laws being

rendered impotent as a result of cover-

age of AIDS under laws protecting the

handicapped is without substance.

The medical profession has_ recom-

mended that persons’ infected with the

AIDS virus fully participate in life's

activities, with all individuals

(infected or not) remaining responsible

for preventing exposure. Given the

virus’ limited routes of transmission,

this 1s easily done, if people are ade-

quately educated. Thus, quarantine is

: : 67

neither necessary nor constructive,

66 Brief of Petitioners, at 26-27,

n. 5; Brief of the United States, at 16,

n.14; Brief of Cong. Dannemeyer, et

al., at 14-16.

67 The problem Petitioners and their

amici pose is, in any event, non-

existent. If in extreme cirumstances,

quarantine were justified for a particu-

lar individual because of real dangers

to others in the workplace, that person

would no longer be “otherwise qualified"

under the Act. See infra, pp. 59-62.

40.

II. THE LEGAL AUTHORITIES ESTABLISH

THAT PERSONS INFECTED WITH THE AIDS

VIRUS ARE PROTECTED UNDER THE ACT.

A. Persons Infected With The AIDS

Virus Are Handicapped Within

The Meanino Of The Statute.

A handicapped person, entitled to

protection under Section 504 of the Act,

is any person who has (1) a physical or

mental impairment which (2) substan-

tially limits one or more of a person's

major life activities, as well as any

person with a record of, or who is

regarded as having, such an impair-

ment .°° The terms "physical impairment"

68 Rehabilitation Act of 1973, 29

U.S.C.A. § 706(7)(B) (1985). Hence, not

only can a person's impairment make the

person handicapped, the way the person

subjectively is viewed by others can do

so also. Congress thus equated the

rights of those mistakenly treated as

handicapped with those with a verifiable

medical impairment. This definition has

no counterpart in other federal law.

See, e.g., Social Security Act, 42

(footnote continued on next page)

41.

and "major life activities" are elabo-

rated upon by regulations. °?

Under the regulations, a physical

impairment includes:

any physiological disorder or

condition, cosmetic disfigure-

ment, or anatomical loss

affecting one or more of the

following body systems: neuro-

logical; musculoskeletal; spe-

cial sense organs; respiratory,

including speech organs; cardio-

vascular; reproductive; diges-

tive; genito-urinary; hemic and

lymphatic; skin; and

endocrine.

U.S.C.A. S$ 423(d) (1983) (generally

requiring "medically determinable"

impairment for determination of disabil-

ity). See also U.S. Civ. Rts. Comm'n,

Accommodating the Spectrum of Abilities

6-10 (1983) (calling the statute's

approach a "major conceptual advance[]"

and the "most comprehensive and useful

definition to date”).

69 These regulations have been

approved by Congress. See Consolidated

Rail Corp. v. Darrone, 104 S. Ct. 1248,

1255 n.15 (1984). They also have been

copied virtually verbatim by most fed-

eral agencies, including the Dept. of

Justice, 28 C.F.R. § 41 and the Dept. of

Education, 34 C.F.R. § 104.

42.

~_ a GUS ae. eeu

oat wet) de> '-<oa §

45 C.F.R. § 84.3(5)(2)(i) (A) = (1985).

All persons with fully developed AIDS

unquestionably have such physical

’ 70

impairments.

So too do those who appear

asymptomatic. In the terms of the regu-

lations, those infected with the virus,

even if asymptomatic, have a

"physiological disorder or condition

affecting one or more" of the

listed body systems: specifically the

reproductive, hemic and lymphatic sys-

tems. ’* Moreover, those infected by the

virus in many instances are regarded by

others (although erroneously so) as

70 See supra, pp. 12-17. Indeed, even

the Justice Department has "little dif-

ficulty concluding that the disabling

effects of AIDS on its victims consti-

tute ‘impairments.'” DoJ Memo, supra

note 3, at 22.

71 See supra, note 18.

43.

having the physical impairments of those

with fully developed aips. /?

Further, the physical impairments

those with AIDS as well as_ those

infected with the AIDS virus have (or

are regarded as having) "substantially

limit{ ] one or more of such person([s']

major life activities." 29 U.S.C.A.

S$ 706(7)(B). The regulations specify

that the term "major life activities"

includes, but is not limited to "func-

tions such as caring for oneself, per-

forming manual tasks, walking, seeing,

hearing, speaking, breathing, learning

and working." 45 C.F:R.

S$ 84.3(3)(2) (11). In fully developed

cases of AIDS, many (if not all) of

these functions are substantially lim

73

ited,

72 See discussion infra, at pp. 48-50.

73 See supra, pp. 12-17, describing

among others, physical impairments which

(footnote continued on next page)

44.

ee ee ee

But those who remain asymptomatic

throughout their normal lives also have

an impairment of the blood and reproduc-~-

tion systems that “substantially limits

one or more of such person's major life

activities." Both procreation and sex-

ual intercourse are substantially lim-

ited for such individuals because the

virus is readily transmitted to sexual

partners (especially by activity leading

to conception) and to children so _ con-

ceived.

Reproductive and related activities

must be classified as "major life

limit caring for oneself, performing

manual tasks, learning and working

(dementia), walking (neurological motor

changes), seeing (cytomegalovirus

retinitis) and breathing (PCP). Again,

even the Justice Department admits that

this test is met as to those with fully

developed AI'S. DoJ Memo, supra note 3,

at 22-23 and 1n.63 (noting that "AIDS

limits the major life activity of

resisting diseases").

activities." This Court repeatedly has

recognized the centrality of procreation

to the life of citizens: "The rights to

conceive and to raise one's children

have been deemed ‘essential,' ‘basic

Civil rights of man,' and ‘[rJights far

more precious oe 6 than property

"

rights‘. Stanley v. Illinois, 405

U.S. 645, 651 (1972) (citations omit-

ted).

Those infected with the AIDS virus

must limit sexual activity, especially

activity in which infected semen or

vaginal secretions come into contact

with a partner's bodily fluids, ’4 which

74 In many jurisdictions, willful

exposure of another to disease is a

crime. see, e.g., Cal. Health & Safety

Code § 3353 (West 1979). Even. when

legality is not at issue, concern for a

partner limits the sexual expression of

those infected with the AIDS virus. A

recent study of those voluntarily

(footnote continued on next page)

46.

Ol ee ee ee ee

of course is exactly the activity needed

for procreation. Limitations on procre-

ative and sexual behavior do not arise

solely out of concern for transmitting

the virus to partners. The high risk of

passing the infection to any child born

to an AIDS-infected couple makes procre-

ation undesirable and dangerous. More-

over, there is danger to the infected

mother herself, since pregnancy places

demands on an expectant woman's immune

System that substantially increase the

degree to which opportunistic infections

testing for AIDS antibodies found that

the most common reasons individuals test

is out of concern for infecting others

(71%). Even though there already have

been considerable changes away from

high-risk activities, more than half

those questioned indicated that the test

would further affect risk reduction

behaviors. Dlugosch, et al., AIDS

Ant ibody Testing: Evaluation and

Counseling, l Focus: Rev. of AIDS

Res. 1 (July 1986).

associated with AIDS can occur in her

Own body. Finally, there is some evi-

dence that engaging in sexual activity

increases the Susceptibility of

seropositive men toa fully develop

AIps./>

In addition to having life-

affecting impairments to their hemic,

lymphatic, and reproductive systems,

persons who are seropositive also are

regarded as suffering the same _ impair-

ments as those who have fully developed

75 See Supra, note 18; Perinatal,

Supra note 40; AIDS Prevention, supra

note 41; and Progression, supra note 5l.

One commentator summarized the situation

as follows: "For the individual, knowl-

edge of virus infection spells almost

inevitable personal anguish. Women are

advised not to become pregnant, since

they may infect the fetus. For men or

women, pursuing marriage or even inti-

mate relationships is fraught with

extraordinary emotional trials."

Eckholm, Screening of Blood for AIDS

Raises Civil Liberties Issues, N.Y.

Times, Sept. 30, 1985, Al, col. 2.

48.

aips. /° For example, the insurance

industry has advocated mandatory testing

to screen out seropositive persons on

the assumption that these persons are

likely to develop AIDS and incur associ-

ated health care costs.’ Employers

fear increased costs of employee bene-

fits as well as negative publicity asso-

ciated with AIDS and those who are

— 7

seropositive.

76 The Justice Department further has

admitted that someone who is only

seropositive "may .. . be handicapped

under Section 504 if he is perceived as

suffering from the disability effects of

AIDS or ARC." DoJ Memo, supra note 3,

at 28 and 29 n.74.

77 See, e.qg., Keppel, Insurers Try to

Screen Out AINS Cases, L.A. Times, §$ 4,

at 1, col. 1 (Oct. 11, 1985).

78 See CCH, AIDS: Employer Rights and

Responsibilities 29 (1985); see also

Shipp, Physical Suffering is Not the

Only Pain AIDS Can Inflict, N.Y. Times

at A8, col. 1 (Feb. 7, 1986) (describing

employer and public reaction to persons

(footnote continued on next page)

49.

These examples illustrate the pre-

dicament faced by seropositive persons,

most of whom may never develop any obvi-

ous debilitating Symptoms. Solely

because of the presence of the AIDS

virus, these individuals are regarded as

having AIDS and its associated problems.

AS a result, they face the same discrim-

ination as_ do persons with fully

developed AIDS.

To date, the only final reported

AIDS employment discrimination case

found the condition to be a handicap. 7?

perceived as having AIDS). Because of a

Similar fear arising from the high costs

of caring for AIDS patients, and despite

opposition from public health officials

in his department, Secretary of Health

and Human Services Otis Bowen Signed an

order in February 1986 that would

require testing of all permanent’ immi-

grants to the United States. Cimons,

All Immigrants Face AIDS Test, L.A.

Times, $l, at 1, col. 3 (Feb. 4, 1986).

79 Shuttlesworth Vv. Broward County

Office of Management & Budget Policy,

(footnote continued on next page)

50.

Federal administrative regulations and

rulings are in accord. °9 Most

FCHR 85-0624, slip op. (Fla. Comm'n on

Human Relations, Dec. ll, 1985),

reprinted in Daily Lab. Rep. (BNA) No.

242, E-l, E-5 (Dec. 17, 1985) (decided

under statute modeled after § 504).

80 Persons with AIDS are presumed to

be disabled under supplementary security

income regulations. 20 C.F.R.

§ 416.934(k) (1986). Further, the Dept.

of Health and Human Services Office of

Civil Rights' ("OCR's") regional offices

have concluded that AIDS and 1less-

developed forms of the infection are

covered under the Act. OCR Region IV

Letter Ruling re Complaint No.

04-84-3096 (Aug. 5, 1986) (decided after

release of DoJ Memo); OCR Region IX,

Your Rights as a Person with AIDS or ARC

(undated release); see also Education,

supra note 9 (CDC considered the protec-

tion of handicapped AIDS-infected chil-

dren under Section 504 in developing

recommendations). Even an internal memo

prepared by the civil rights division of

the Justice Department prior to prepara-

tion of the DoJ Memo concluded that

those suffering from AIDS or related

conditions are entitled to protection

under the Act. Note, AIDS and

Employment Discrimination under the

Federal Rehabilitation Act of 1973 and

Virginia's Rights of Persons with

Disabilities Act, 20 U. Richmond L. Rev.

425, 432 (1986).

Sl.

commentators also agree that discrimina-

tion against someone infected with the

AIDS virus squarely falls within the

scope of conduct prohibited by the

81

Act Thus, individuals, infected with

the AIDS virus are "handicapped individ-

uals" within the meaning of Section 504

of the Rehabilitation Act.

Section 504 does not expressly

exclude those infected with the AIDS

virus (or any other disease which has a

81 see, e.g., Note, supra note 80, at

439 ("Forcing employers to accept

ESCEB « « ‘s and discontinue

discriminatory practices has been the

role of the courts in other areas of

Civil rights litigation and it is

equally appropriate here"); Smith, et

al., High Court Eyed for Guidance on

AIDS as Handicap, Legal Times 35, 39

(June 30, 1986) ("In view of the 1 mil-

lion or more Americans estimated to be

infected with this AIDS virus, the

Supreme Court may be understandably

reluctant, without further legislative

directive, to exclude contagious dis-

eases from protection of the _ federal

handicap law").

contagious aspect) from coverage. Peti-

tioners and their amici hence make _ an

unfounded attempt to establish an

implied exclusion of contagious diseases

82

from the Act's scope.

Yet, in 1978, when Congress amended

the statutory definition to expressly

82 See Brief of Petitioners, at 25-28;

see also Brief of Solicitor General at

16-18; Brief of Cong. Dannemeyer, et

al., at 8-14. Indeed, their argument is

not so much exclusion at all, but

instead that individuals with diseases

such as AIDS (or TB) supposedly are

inevitably discriminated against "solely

on the basis of" contagion (or expected

future deterioration) and not on the

basis of their handicapping conditions

at all -- as if contagion (or deteriora-

tion) could somehow be divorced from

other aspects of the handicapping condi-

tion. - Rather, the contagion is an inte-

gral part of the handicapping condition.

Discrimination on the _ basis of conta-

gion, thus is discrimination on the

basis of the handicap. To allow the

facile distinction between the two would

render the protection given by the Act

to those with contagious (or

deteriorating) diseases illusory. See

infra, note 86.

93.

exclude alcoholics and drug addicts

whose current use of alcohol or drugs

precludes adequate or safe job perfor-

mance, °> it chose not to exclude conta-

; , 84

gious disease from coverage.

Adoption of a blanket implied

exception for contagious diseases would

undermine Congressional intent to evalu

ate each claimed handicap on an

83 Rehabilitation Act of 1973, §$ 504,

29 U.S.C.A. § 706(7)(B) (1985). Signif-

icantly, even there, ~Congress did not

entirely remove the handicapping condi-

tions of alcoholism and drug addiction

from coverage, but’ instead required

case-by-case determinations as to

whether each individual's current condi-

tion prevents adequate or safe job per-

formance.

84 As this Court noted in Grove City

College v. Bell, 104 S. Ct. 1211, 1217

(1984), because antidiscrimination laws

arise from concerns of broad scope, this

Court has been “reluctant to read [into

the statute] a limitation not apparent

on its face." Interestingly, the Solic-

itor General himself argued, in Bowen vy,

American Hospital Assoc., 106 S. Ct.

2101 (1986), Section 504.

54.

individual basis, which the Act

expressly contemplates. Courts rou-

tinely have effectuated this intent 2°

Moreover, many disabilities that

Congress defined as severe under related

provisions are virally induced and

therefore contagious in some way at some

86

point in time. Given the high

85 See, e.qg., Doe v. New York Univ.,

666 F.2d 761, 775 (2d Cie. 1981)

(evaluating claim of mental impairment

by reference to plaintiff's medical

records and treatment by defendant).

86 Rehabilitation Act of 1973, 29

U.S.C.A. §$§ 706(13) (1985) defines a

"severe handicap" requiring multiple

services over an extended time period as

a disability which results from, among

other conditions, “blindness, cancer,

multiple sclerosis, muscular dystrophy,

neurological disorders (including stroke

and epilepsy) paraplegia, guadriplegia,

and other spinal conditions. ..." Of

these, many have a manifestation pre-

sumed contagious at some stage. For

example, blindness 1S a symptom of

cytomegalovirus retinitis; viruses are

suspected of causing many forms of can

cer, and the Epstein-Barr virus has been

(footnote continued on next page

incidence of contagiousness in

disabilities Congress explicitly

intended to cover, this Court should not

Circumscribe the congressionally man-

dated definition of handicap’ under

Section 504 by finding an implied excep-

, 8

tion for contagious diseases.

linked to lymphoma; multiple sclerosis,

encephelitis, and polio are virally

induced; and polio and Guillian-Barre

Syndrome can result in paraplegia.

Mandell, et oa Principles and

Practices of Infectious Diseases (2d ed.

1984).

Courts also have regularly recog-

nized persons with such diseases as

falling within the protection of S$ 504.

See e.g., Pushkin v. Regents of Univ. of

Col., 658 F.2d 1372 (10th Cir. 1981)

(persons with multiple sclerosis

covered). See also Floum, The _ Federal

Rights of Hansen's Disease _ (Leprosy)

Patients at Kalaupapa, 6. U. Haw. lL.

Rev. 507 (1984) (noting HHS findings of

coverage of those with leprosy under

§ 504). Many of these diseases, like

AIDS, are contagious only in limited

ways and may never affect the workplace.

The differences among them further cau-

tions against a broad ruling regarding

"contagious" diseases.

87 The same holds true for any type of

blanket implied exception for

(footnote continued on next page)

56.

To prevent stereotypes and ill-

founded fears from vitiating

Section 504, contagiousness or risk to

deteriorating or progressive diseases.

Congress specifically protected the pro-

gressive and frequently deteriorating

diseases of cancer, multiple sclerosis,

muscular dystrophy, and cystic fibrosis,

without regard to the potential progress

of the condition. See Rehabilitation

Ace of 1973, 29 U.8.6-A.- § 706(13)

(1985). Further, at the time HEW pro-

mulgated its regulations HEW stated that

it "“continue[d] to believe. . . that it

has no flexibility within the statutory

definition to limit the term to persons

who have those severe, permanent, or

progressive conditions that are most

commonly regarded as _ handicaps." 45

C.F.R. Pt. 84, App. A at 310. Accord-

ingly, courts have refused to speculate

about the future development of a dis-

ease, see, e.q., Bentivegqna v. Dept. of

Labor, 694 F.2d 619, 623 (9th Cir. 1982)

("allowing remote concerns [about future

health of diabetic] to legitimize dis-

Crimination would vitiate the effec-

tiveness of section 504"), Rather,

courts have held persons with progres-

Sive diseases also to be protected by

Section 504. See, e.q., Mantolete vy.

Bolger, 767 F.2d 1416 (9th Cir. 1985)

(person with epilepsy covered; remanded

to determine if otherwise qualified);

Plummer v. Branstad, 731 F.2d 574 (8th

Cir. 1984) (Huntington's Chorea).

OT.

self and others should be permitt

justify differential treatment

handicapped individual only when

risk of transmission of illness

nificant, which 1s not the case

AIDS. In New York State Ass'n

Retarded Children v. Carey, 612 F.2d

(2d Cir. 1979), the court struck

under section 504 a decision

State Board of Education to exclude

tain mentally retarded children

school classes because they were

riers of the virus, hepatitus B.

court held that the Board failed to dem-

onstrate that the health hazard posed by

these children was "anything more than a

remote possibility .. ." and that "the

activities that occur in classroom

Settings were not shown to pose any

Signficant risk that the disease would

be transmitted from one

58.

another," Id. at 650. 88

B. Persons Infected With The AIDS

Virus Are Not, Solely By

Virtue Of Their Infection,

Automatically Rendered Not

Otherwise Qualified For _ Any

Jab.

Employer fears cannot provide the

underpinnings of an implied exception to

89 - ;

: Concerns

coverage under the Act

about contagiousness or risk to self and

others are relevant only to whether a

handicapped individual is "otherwise

er ( :;

qualified” for the job. 7” Again,

88 Cf. Doe v. New York Univ., 666 F.2d

at 777 (requiring evidence of a signifi-

cant risk of harm to self or others to

justify exclusion of individual with

history of mental illness); Mantolete,

767 F.2d at 1422 (rejecting a “mere ele-

vated risk" standard).

89 Such fears readily can be iikened

to the “outmoded stereotypes” that

employers historically have relied on to

exclude and penalize women, and that

this Court consistently has refused to

sanction. See, e.qg., Califano V.

Goldfarb, 430 U.S. 199, 207 (1977).

90 The Eleventh Circuit remanded the

present action for evaluation of the

(footnote continued on next page)

39.

however, this determination requires a

case-by-case evaluation of the individ-

ual's handicapping condition in relation

to the specific requirements of the job

in question.

As shown above, persons infected

with the AIDS virus are not contagious

in the workplace and do not pose any

risk of transmission to their co-

workers. Contagiousness in other

risk posed by Respondent's health condi-

tion. Arline v. School Bd. of Nassau

County, 772 F.2d 759, 765 (llth Cir.

1985). Consequently, resolution of this

question based on the present record is

premature and the writ of certiorari as

to this question should be dismissed as

improvidently granted. See, e.q.,

Tacgarty v. Weinaker's, Inc., 397 U.S.

223 (1970).

l See Mantolete, 767 F.2d at 1423;

ee also Southeastern Community College

9

se

v. Davis, 442 U.S. 397 (1979) (deciding

whether hearing impairment rendered

applicant for nursing program not other-

wise qualified for reasons of patient

safety).

settings is simply not relevant to

whether they are “otherwise qualified”

for a specific job.

Persons infected with the virus can

work for years, both safely and well.

Currently available evidence indicates

most of these infected persons will

remain asymptomatic. Only when and if

they are no longer able to work or their

performance is unsatisfactory may indi-

viduals infected with the AIDS virus be

considered not "otherwise qualified."

This must be so because, under section

504, only present job performance may be

considered in determining whether a

handicapped individual is "ctherwise

92

qualified" for a job.

92 Who should bear the social costs of

AIDS iS a policy decision requiring

extensive study far beyond the scope of

this case. Clearly, a decision on this

(footnote continued on next page)

61.

CONCLUSION

Emotional reactions steeped in

ignorance and prejudice are precisely

the ill the Act was designed to counter.

This Court should not sanction public

hysteria as a justification for discrim-

ination. Exclusion of persons infected

with the AIDS virus from the workforce

would wreak drastic consequences on mil-

lions of Americans and their families.

Not only would victims be subjected to

issue iS premature and unwarranted in

the present case.

As noted above, however,

seropositive individuals cannot be

barred from employment because of

employers' speculative fears or concerns

about future costs. Cf. Bentivegqna, 694

F.2d at 623. Congress must have

intended a policy which allows those who

now are able to work to do so. Other-

wise, discrimination based on concerns

about later condition or the coverage of

progressive disabilities caused by other

Giseases would have been specifically

excluded instead of included. See

supra, note 87.

extreme personal hardship, >> but the

nation's economic health would be

Strained by the millions of individuals

forced to rely solely on public benefits

for their living and medical expenses,

whether or not they are actually incapa-

ble of productive employment.?*

For the reasons set forth above,

this Court must not extend the scope of

this case nor issue a broad ruling which

93 In addition to loss of needed

financial support, being fired due to

AIDS phobia can be traumatic and may

harm the health of those with already

lowered immune systems. See Welliseh,

U.C.L.A. Psychological Study of AIDS, 19

Frontiers of Radiation Therapy &

Oncology 155 (1985).

94 Moreover, if this Court were to

permit, perhaps even encourage,

employers to discharge those persons

infected with the AIDS virus but whose

bodies have fought progress of the dis-

ease, it would be weakening the very

individuals whose systems may best fight

the disease, and who offer our best hope

for developing biological resistance to

the disease.

63.

might exclude persons infected with the

AIDS virus from the protections of the

Act.

Respectfully submitted,

STANLEY FLEISHMAN*

Law Insitute for the

Disabled and Elderly

Southwestern University

School of Law

675 S. Westmoreland Ave.

Los Angeles, CA 90005

(213) 738-6700

JOSEPH LAWRENCE

Western Law Center for

The Handicapped

*Counsel of Record for

Amici Curlae

Of Counsel: **

JON W. DAVIDSON

SUSAN D. MCGREIVY

PAUL HOFFMAN Tt

t Attorneys for American Civil

Liberties Union Foundation of

Southern California.

& Thanks are extended to

Mickey Wheatley, Mary Newcombe,

Christine A. Littleton, Steve Susoeff,

Sharon Oxborough, Daniella Sapriel

and Richard Green, M.D. for their

assistance in preparing this brief.

64.

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

INTERESTS OF INDIVIDUAL AMICI CURIAE

This brief amici curiae > «6S

mitted on behalf f Doctors for AIDS

Research and Education (DARE). DARE is

composed of physicians and public healtt

specialists dedicated to providing

treatment to persons afflicted witt

Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome

(AIDS), researching medical aspects of

the disease, and educating the public

about the AIDS virus and the individuals

infected by it. As a whole, the members

of DARE represent the fullest extent of

medical knowledge and expertise cur-

rently able to be brought to bear on

issues relating to AIDS. The _ following

is a list of the members of DARE and

their qualifications:

Neil Schram, M.D. is the present

Chair of the Los Angeles City and County

la.

AIDS Taskforce, the Kaiser Permanente

AIDS Committee, and the ACLU Foundation

of Southern California Ad Hoc Taskforce

on AIDS and Civil Liberties. He is

Assistant Clinical Professor of Medi-

cine, UCLA School of Medicine anda

staff doctor at Kaiser Permanente Medi-

cal Group of Southern California. He

has treated large numbers of patients

suffering from AIDS or AIDS-Related Com-

plex (ARC).

Mervyn Silverman, M.D., M.P.H., is

the current President of the American

Foundation for AIDS Research. He is

also Director of the Robert Wood Johnson

Foundation AIDS Health Services Program.

From 1977 to 1985 he served as the San

Francisco Director of Health.

Gerald Friedland, M.D. is Associate

Professor of Medicine and Associate Pro-

fessor of Epidemiology and Social

2a.

Medicine at the Albert Einstein College

of Medicine. He is also a physician at

the Montefiore Medical Center, spe-

Ccializing in the treatment of persons

with AIDS. He has treated more than 300

AIDS patients.

Donald Abrams, M.D. is Assistant

Director of the Acquired Immuno-

deficiency Syndrome/Kaposi's Sarcoma

Clinic at San Francisco General Hospi-

tal. He has treated more than 1,000

patients with acquired immune deficiency

syndrome. He serves on the AIDS Advisory

Committee of the San Francisco Depart-

ment of Public Health and on the Scien-

tific Advisory Committee of the AIDS

Foundation of San Francisco. He pres-

ently is conducting clinical studies on

Kaposi's Sarcoma, lymphadenopathy and

opheresis in acquired immune deficiency

syndrome-related conditions. He has

3a.

published over 35 articles on AIDS, as

well as numerous book chapters on the

subject.

Daniel William, M.D. is an instruc-

tor in clinical medicine at Columbia

University in New York. He is’ Director

of the AIDS Ambulatory Clinic at

St. Luke’s-Roosevelt Hospital Center.

He 1S also a member of the American Med-

ical Association AIDS Panel, the New

York State AIDS Institute, and the Medi-

cal Advisory Board to the Gay Men's

Health Crisis. He has published numer-

ous articles on AIDS.

Harold Hawley, M.D. is Medical

Director of tie Whitman-Walker Clinic.

He iS a member of the District of

Columbia Taskforce on AIDS and is Asso

Ciate Pathologist for Microbiology at

the Washington, D.C. Veteran's Adminis-

tration Medical Center.

4a.

*¢

Alexandra Levine, M.D. is Executive

Associate Dean and Professor of Medicine

at USC School of Medicine. She is

involved in AIDS research in the areas

of treatment, natural history, specific

drugs, and treatment and evaluation.

She has treated over 500 people infected

with the AIDS virus.

David Ostrow, M.D., Ph.D. is Direc-

tor of the Psychobiology Program, Uni-

versity of Michigan School of Medicine.

He is a member of the Steering Committee

of the National Multi-Center AIDS Cohort

Study and a member of the AIDS Expert

Advisory Panel for the American Medical

Association. He is organizer and

Chairperson for the Chicago Area AIDS

Taskforce and Chairperson for the

Chicago Department of Health, AIDS Advi-

sory Panel. He also organized the

International AIDS Prospective

5a.

Epidemiology Network. He has worked

with over 200 patients with AIDS.

Dennis McShane, M.D. is Acting

Chief of Rheumatology at Palo Alto Vet-

eran's Administration Hospital and Clin-

ical Assistant Professor of Medicine at

Stanford University. He founded the

American Association of Physicians for

Human Rights, and served as its Presi-

dent in 1982/83. From 1983 to 1986, he

served on the Stanford Medical Center's

AIDS Taskforce. In addition, Dr. Shane

presently serves on the California AIDS

Budget Taskforce and the California AIDS

Strategic Planning Commission. He _ also

presently chairs the Stanford Medical

Center AIDS Committee. He has treated

up to 100 people with AIDS and many more

with ARC,

Peter Heseltine, M.D. is the Chief

Physician and Hospital Epidemiologist of

6a.

the Los Angeles County/USC Department of

Epidemiology, and Assistant Director of

the Los Angeles County/USC Medical Cen-

ter AIDS Clinic, which sees about one

third of all patients with AIDS in Los

Angeles County. He served as

Coordinator of the USC AIDS Study Group

in 1983/84. He presently is supervising

a research study on health worker AIDS

transmissions. He has treated more than

600 patients with AIDS.

Joel Weisman, D.O. co-directs’ the

largest non-public AIDS unit in the

country, located in Sherman Oaks,

California. He is one of the doctors

who first identified the clinical

syndrome of AIDS and reported the

syndrome to the Centers for Disease Con-

trol. He serves on the faculty of the

UCLA Department of Medicine. He has

treated more than 500 patients with AIDS

and more than 1,500 patients with ARC.

7a.

James Lipsett, M.D. is Associate

Director of the City of Hope National

Medical Center, Division of Radiation

Oncology, and an instructor at the USC

School of Medicine. He serves on the

Medical Advisory Committee for AIDS Pro-

ject Los Angeles.

Stuart Nichols, M.D. is Associate

Chief of Medical and Psychiatric Ser-

vices at the Methadone Maintenance

Treatment Program, Beth Israel Medical

Center, New York City, and Senior

Instructor in Psychiatry, Mount Sinai

School of Medicine, City University of

New York. He has edited a book enti-

tled, Psychiatric Implications of AIDS,

and written a chapter on psychotherapy

and AIDS in another book. He has_ given

numerous lectures on AIDS at conferences

all over the United States. He serves

as an AIDS consultant to the National

8a.

Institutes of Mental Health, Drug Addic-

tion, and Allergy and Infectious Dis-

eases. He also serves on the AIDS Com-

mittee of the American Psychiatric

Association and the New York City Dis-

trict Branch Taskforce on AIDS. He has

seen more than 500 patients with AIDS.

Roger Detels, M.D. is Professor of

Epidemiology at UCLA School of Public

Health, and served as Dean of that

school from 1980 to 1985. He serves on

the American Foundation of AIDS

Research's Scientific Advisory Commit-

tee, and on the Southern California

CARES Professional Advisory Taskforce

for AIDS Project Los Angeles. He also

serves as Chair of the Analysis Comnit-

tee for the Multi-Center AIDS Coopera-

tive Study. He has published articles

on AIDS and has completed a study on the

natural history of AIDS in gay men.

9a.

Constance Wofsy, M.D. is Co-

Director of AIDS Activities at San

Francisco General Hospital, and is

Assistant Chief of the Infectious Dis-

eases Division there. The AIDS clinic

she oversees treats over 1,000 patients

with AIDS or ARC each month. Dr. Wossy

is the principal investigator for

Women's AIDS Research and Education.

She has researched the development of

AIDS opportunistic infections and

heterosexual modes of transmission. She

also has lectured and published exten-

Sively on the subject of AIDS.

Nick Ifft, M.D. is one of the

founding members of the Philadelphia

n

AIDS Taskforce, and has served as it:

Vv

president since 1983. He has treated

over 90 patients with AIDS and over 200

patients with ARC in the first six

months of 1986.

10a.

Michael Roth, M.D. is’ Assistant

Clinical Professor at U.C.L.A. Depart-

ment of Medicine, Clinical Immunology

and Allergy Section. He is co-chair of

the California AIDS Commission and a

member of the California Assembly Budget

Task Force on AIDS. He serves on the

staff of the U.C.L.A. AIDS Center, and

as medical advisor to AIDS Project Los

Angeles and the Los Angeles City Coun-

cil. He has published numerous articles

on AIDS and has treated over 200 persons

with the disease.

Michael Kaiser, M.D. is the Direc-

tor of Emergency Care at Children's Hos-

pital in New Orleans, Louisiana, and

Clinical Assistant Professor, Department

of Pediatrics at both Louisiana State

University School of Medicine and Tulane

University Medical Center. He has lec-

tured extensively on AIDS and HIV

lla.

testing. He is the leading pediatric

expert on AIDS in Louisiana.

Allen McCutchan, M.D. is a Clini-

Cian and Associate Professor in the

Division of Infectious Diseases, San

Diego Medical Center, University of

California. He serves on the University

of California Taskforce on AIDS and has

treated more than 150 people with AIDS.

Nicholaos Bellos, M.D. is Chief

Medical Resident of Tulane University

Affiliated Hospitals in New Orleans. He

iS a member of the Louisiana State

Taskforce on AIDS and Chair cf the Case

Funding/ Public Awareness Subcommittee.

He has treated more than 50 patients

with AIDS.

Peter Wolfe, M.D. is former Associ-

ate Director of the UCLA AIDS Center.

He 1S presently Assistant Clinical Pro-

fessor of Medicine at UCLA School of

l2a.

Medicine. In his private practice, he

has treated several hundred patients

with AIDS. He has published numerous

articles on AIDS.

Hal Freeman, M.A. iS a_ licensed

psychotherapist. From January 1984 to

February 1986, he served as_ Regional

Director in the Office for Civil Rights,

United States Department of Health and

Human Services, Region IX, San

Francisco, and served as Deputy Director

for that office from 1968 to 1984. He

now works with patients with AIDS. and

ARC and with AIDS-fearful persons

Thomas Mundy, M.D. ls Adjunct

Assistant Professor of Pediatrics at

UCLA School of Medicine and an attending

staff physician at Children's Hospital,

Los Angeles. He currently is

researching the natural history of

infection by the AIDS virus in

recipients of blood products. He has

published papers on AIDS and has a _ num-

ber of manuscripts on AIDS in prepara-

tion. He has treated numerous’ children

afflicted with AIDS.

William Christopher Mathews, M.D.

is a Robert Wood Johnson Clinical

Scholar at UCLA Medical Center and the

Veteran's Administration Hospital,

Westwood, California, where he _ prac-

tices acquired immune deficiency

syndrome health services. He has

treated over 60 patients with AIDS and

over 300 patients with ARC. He also

served on the San Diego Mayor's

Taskforce on AIDS from 1985 to 1986, and

presently serves on the AIDS Health Ser-

vices Program of the Robert Wood Johnson

Foundation.

Norbert Gilmore, M.D. is Associate

Professor at the McGill University

=

oO

b

Department of Medicine, and Associate

Physician at the Royal Victoria Hospital

in Montreal, Quebec. He chairs’ the

Canadian National Ad -sory Committee on

AIDS, and is a member of the Quebec AIDS

Committee and the Canadian Health Asso-

Ciation's Public Education Committee on

AIDS. He has researched the

epidemiology of AIDS and treated more

than 60 persons with AIDS.

Marshall Forstein, M.D. is the Med-

ical Director of the Gay and Lesbian

Counseling Service, and the AIDS Action

Committee in Massachusetts. He has

treated over 1! patients with AIDS and

many with AR

David McEwan, M.D. is the Chief of

Family Medicine at Honolulu Medical

Group. He served as President of the

AIDS Foundation of Hawaii from 1983 to

May 1986. He presently serves on the

Honolulu Mayor’s Advisory Committee on

AIDS and on the University of Hawaii's

Ad Hoc AIDS Committee. He has treated

more than 35 patients with AIDS and 150

patients with ARC.

A. Brad Truax, M.D. is a general

medical practitioner in San Diego,

California, whose practice is 75% AIDS-

related. He has treated more than

patients with AIDS. He also has 1ec-

CT

“

ed and published articles on AIDS.

He currently serves as Chair of the San

Diego County Regional AIDS Taskforce,

and 1S a member of the San Diego Mayor's

Amy Ross, Ph.D. 1S a pathologist.

She is an Adjunct Instructor, Department

of Anatomy, USC School of Medicine. She

has researched and published extensively

on issues involving AIDS.

Robert Bolan, M.D. is an Assistant

Clinical Professor at the University of

California Division of Family and Comnu-

nity Medicine, and Medical Director of

the Gay Health Care Clinic of the Pres-

byterian Hospital in San Francisco. He

serves as President of the San Francisco

AIDS Foundation, and as a member of the

San Francisco Department of Public

Health AIDS Coordinating Committee, the

AIDS Taskforce of the Director of the

San Francisco Department of Public

Health, the San Francisco Mayor's’) AIDS

Advisory Taskforce, and the San

Francisco AIDS Foundation Board of

Directors. He has treated more than 100

persons with AIDS and more than 300 with

ARC.

Brian Willoughby, M.D. is a Staff

Doctor at St. Paul's Hospital,

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, and

l7a.

is a staff member of the AIDS Care Team

in Vancouver. He serves on the Advisory

Board of AIDS. He also does research

and has published articles on AIDS. He

has treated more than 20 patients with

AIDS.

James Cherry, M.D. is Professor of

Pediatrics and Chief of the Division of

Infectious Diseases at the U.C.L.A.

School of Medicine Center for the Health

Sciences. Since 1983, he has been

involved ina study on the risk of con-

tracting AIDS admidst health workers.

Kent Sack, M.D. has worked as a

clinician in an AIDS-Related Complex

(ARC) clinic for five years for the San

Francisco City Health Department. Over

7,500 people with ARC have been seen in

the clinic.

Co

6)

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.