Amicus Curiae Brief — Aguilar v. Felton
Supreme Court brief1985
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
orion FILED
Nos. 84-237, 84-238, and 84-239
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1984
SECRETARY, UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION,
and THE CHANCELLOR OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF THE
City Or New York,
Appellants,
and YOLANDA AGUILAR, and LILLIAN COCON, MIRIAM MARTINEZ
and BELINDA WILLIAMS,
Appellants-Intervenors,
VS.
Betty Louise FELTON, CHARLOTTE GREEN, BARBARA HRUSKA,
MERYL A. SCHWARTZ, ROBERT H. SipE and ALLEN H. ZELLON,
Appellees.
On appeal from the United States Court of Appeals
for the Second Circuit
MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE A BRIEF AS
AMICUS CURIAE AND BRIEF OF PARENTS
RIGHTS, INC., AMICUS CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF THE APPELLANTS
JOHN J. DONNELLY
317 N. ilth Street, Suite 714
St. Louis, Missouri 63101
(314) 241-4041
Attorney for Parents Rights, Inc.
Amicus Curiae
St. Louis Law Printing Co., Inc., 411 No. Tenth Street 63101 314-231-4477
TABLE OF CONTENTS
EI RC
Parents Rights, Inc. Motion For Leave To File A Brief
ic. cece eddereuwe swe enroesec
AUNTIE. occ cv cvcceccscescucees
Summary of the Argument ...........cccccccccccecs
ee ak ds we pth ee ees ae ENE Cees
I. The involvement of government with religion in the
application of Title I of the Elementary and Secondary
Education Act of 1965 (20 U.S.C. §2701 ef seq.) by the
New York City Board of Education does not result in
excessive entanglement between government and
religion in view of its features and circumstances.......
A. Only ‘‘excessive entanglement’’—not all contact
and relationship between government and religion—is
forbidden by the Religion Clauses of the First Amend-
B. Excessive political entanglement between govern-
ment and religion is not endangered by the New York
EE ee
1. The involvement of government and religion in
the New York application of Title I does not incur
a serious risk of an impermissible fostering of
nee eee cer De pas sninees
2. The supervision or surveillance maintained and
required over public school personnel providing
remedial instruction and services in church-related
schools in the application of Title 1 in New York
does not result in excessive entanglement of
government with religion ................00008:
II. The right of parents to direct the education of their
children allows and requires considerable contacts and
involvement between government and church-related
A. Parents have a right to direct the education of their
children, including use of church-related schools of their
1. Parents have a constitutional right to direct the
education of their children in schools of their
GREED o.oo cvcceeececceedseseennee
2. The right of parents to educate their children in
schools of their choice includes the right to have
them educated in church-related schools that in-
culcate religion along with secular subjects .......
3. The natural and constitutional right of parents
to direct the education of their children is further
supported by the First Amendment rights of free
exercise of religion and freedom of communication
mG CIPRO. ..« 6.oo0000000400800050 eee
a) The right is supported by the right of free
TO
b) The right of parents to educate their
children in church-related schools is further
supported by the freedom of communication
and information required by the First Amend-
4. The constitutional right of parents to direct the
education of their children and have it include |
religion along with secular subjects is accompanied
by aright of their children to receive this education
B. The constitutional rights of parents and their children
regarding education require allowance of considerable
15
15
15
17
18
18
19
21
church-related schools, especially when participation in
| — iii —
contacts and involvement between government and
general educational benefits is legislated by Congress .. .
—
1. Congress has legislated, with this Court’s ap-
proval, that children in nongovernmental schools,
including church-related schools, should share
comparably with public school children in the
educational benefits of the federal Elementary and
ES.
2. Denial of the constitutionality of the New York
Application of Title I of the E.S.E.A., in the
absence of a substantial and compelling reason for
such denial, would unjustly penalize the constitu-
tional rights of parents and children who use
EEE PTT TET TEES
a) It is unlawfu! to penalize the exercise of a
constitutional right in the absence of a com-
pelling governmental reason ...............
b) Denial of the comparable educational ser-
vices provided by the New York application
of Title I for children in church-related
schools would penalize the exercise of the
constitutional righ*’s of parents and children. .
c) There is no compelling and substantial
government interest demanding denial of par-
ticipation in the New York application of Ti-
tle I to private school parents and their
eee ceca deeescccecscese
3. The rights of parents who send their children to
church-related schools allow and require a con-
siderable degree of contact and involvement bet-
ween government and church-related schools .....
21
21
23
24
25
26
aw 1¥ «=
III. The advanced degree of socialization of elementary
and secondary education in the United States requires
allowance of considerable contacts and involvement bet-
ween government and church-related schools .........
A. Socialization, or application of the principle
‘*From each according to his means, to each according
to his needs,’’ requires allowance of considerable con-
tacts between government and voluntary private institu-
tions, if the latter and the personal freedoms they repre-
COE GRD GGIGEs 0 «0.66.00 0k'n60 cbt hieed ébbstccesess
B. Socialization of elementary and secondary educa-
tion in the United States has proceeded to the extent that
it dominates this field and constitutes the leading exam-
ple of a general trend to socialization ................
C. The high degree of socialization of elementary and
secondary education in the United States, as well as that
of general socialization requires considerable contact
and cooperation between government and private, in-
cluding church-related schools and their students, to
SOUT ITT G oo 6 vc cccccccccass cestadnadens
26
26
27
29
——
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Abington Township School District v. Schempp, 374
SEE wh bhsdnhedcveneshesudeehiebsse 19
Board of Education v. Barnette, 319 U.S. 624 (1942) ... 20
Cantwell v. Connecticut, 310 U.S. 296 (1940) ......... 19
Earley v. DiCenso, joined with Lemon v. Kurtzman,
GD oo cnet ccccdessscceweddec 3,7, 10, 12
Epperson v. Arkansas, 397 U.S. 97 (1968) ............ 19
Everson v. Board of Education, 330 U.S. 1 (1947) ..... 15
Felton v. Secretary, United States Department of
Education, 739 F.2d 48 (1984) ................. 7, 01,a@
Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479 (1965) ....15, 16, 17, 20
Keyishian v. Board of Regents, 385 U.S. 589 (1967) .... 20
Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602 (1973) ............. passim
Lynch v. Donnelly, 104S.Ct. 1355 (1984). ............ 6, 8
Marsh v. Chambers, 103 S.Ct. 3330 (1983)............ 9
Meek v. Pittenger, 95 S.Ct. 1753 (1975) .............. 3, 12
Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390 (1923) ............ 15, 16, 17
Mueller v. Allen, 103 S.Ct. 3062 (1983)............... 7
Minersville v. Gobitis, 310 U.S. 586 (1940)............ 15
National Coalition for Public Education v. Harris, 489
F.Supp. 1248 (S.D.N.Y., 1980); appeal dismissed
for want of jurisdiction: untimely filed, sub. nom.
National Coalition for Public Education v.
Hufstedtler, 449 U.S. 808 (1980) ............ 9, 10, 11, 12
—
Nebraska State Board of Education v. Hartington, 1
N.W.2d 161; cert. denied 409 U.S. 921 (1972)..... 23
Pierce v. Society cf Sisters, 268 U.S. 510 (1925) .. .15, 16, 17, 18
Prince v. Massachusetts, 321 U.S. 158 (1944).......... 15, 18
Roemer v. Board of Public Works, 426 U.S. 736 (1976) . 6
School District of Abington Township v. Schempp, 374
U.S. 203 (1963) See above (Abington...)........ 19
Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S. 618 (1969) ........... 24
Sherbert v. Verner, 374 U.S. 398 (1963) .............. 23
Speiser v. Randall, 357 U.S. 513 (1958).............-. 23
Thomas v. Collins, 323 U.S. 516 (1944) .............. 23
Tilton v. Richardson, 403 U.S. 672 (1971) ............ y
Torcaso v. Watkins, 367 U.S. 488 (1961) ............. 23
Walz v. Tax Commission, 397 U.S. 664 (1970)..... 3,4, 5,9, 14
Wheeler v. Barrera, 417 U.S. 402 (1974) ........... 8, 9, 22, 23
Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205 (1972)............ 15, 17, 18
Zorach v. Clauson, 343 U.S. 306 (1952) ............-. 5
Constitution, Statutes and Regulations:
U. S. Comat. Ammen. 0... cceccccsccccccees 3, 5, 7, 19, 20, 24
POE, TIF oo ciccccccsvccvvcsvceseses 19, 24
U.S. Code: 20 U.S.C. §2701 et seq. (1982) ............ 21
20 U.S.C. §3801 et seg. (1982) ............ 21
— vii —
Education Consolidation and Improvement Act of
1981, 20 U.S.C. §3801 ef seg. (1982).............
Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 as
amended, 20 U.S.C. §2701 et seg. (1982)
34 C.F.R. §200.70 et seq. (1983).............0 0c cca
eS iis cabcen exidnasdwawensis
Articles and Books:
Brickman, Historical Background...1 Educational
Freedom, ed. McGarry and Ward (1966).........
Choper, The Religion Clauses of the First Amendment,
41 University of Pittsburgh Law Review, 673
DUDE Gis did dae a bad adnan ceewa aeons see
Gianella, Religious Liberty, Nonestablishment and Doc-
trinal Development. Part II. The Nonestablishment
Principle, 81 Harvard Law Review, 513 (1968) ........
Goldsmith, R., A Study of Savings in the United States
EE ae thecth seth dene cde STR cee eee elakddss
Ripple, The Establishment Test of the Religion Clauses
...27U.C.L.A. Law Review 1195 (1980) ........
Miscellaneous:
Digest of Education Statistics, 1979. National Center
for Education Statistics, 1979 ..................
Digest of Education Statistics, 1983-1984. National
Center for Education Statistics, 1983. ...........
Historical Statistics on Government Finances and
Employment, 1973. U.S. Bureau of the Census,
21
22
17
26
29
29
13
— viii —
National Income and Product Accounts of the United
States, 1929-1974. U.S. Dept. of Commerce,
Bureau of Economic Affairs, 1977 ..............
O.E.C.D. Observer, The, March, 1979...............
Statistical Abstract of the United States, 1984. U.S.
Bureau of the Census, 1983 ....................
Statistical Summary of Education, 1951-1952. U.S.
Office of Education, 1955 ................0000.
Survey of Current Business, National Income Issue:
July 1967 - July 1979. U.S. Dept. of Commerce,
Bureau of Economic Analysis, 1980 .............
United Nations, Universal Declaration of Human
I nn ccc ac k¥bs coeunesuee
29
17
— ix —
Nos. 84-237, 84-238, and 84-239
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
OcTOBER TERM, 1984
SECRETARY, UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION,
and THE CHANCELLOR OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF THE
City Or New York,
Appellants,
and YOLANDA AGUILAR, and LILLIAN COCON, MIRIAM MARTINEZ
and BELINDA WILLIAMS,
Appellants-Intervenors,
vs.
Betty Louise FELTON, CHARLOTTE GREEN, BARBARA HRUSKA,
MERYL A. SCHWARTZ, ROBERT H. Sipe and ALLEN H. ZELLON,
Appellees.
On appeal from the United States Court of Appeals
for the Second Circuit
MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE A BRIEF AS
AMICUS CURIAE AND BRIEF OF PARENTS
RIGHTS, INC., AMICUS CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF THE APPELLANTS
Parents Rights, Inc. respectfully moves for leave to file the
accompanying brief as amicus curiae in support of Appellants.
Written consent of Counsel for the parties has been requested
but has not been received.
Parents Rights is a national organization consisting of over
20,000 parents and other individuals residing in all fifty states
who seek to support and promote freedom of choice and paren-
— x—
tal rights in education. The group’s stated purposes are ‘‘to
secure legal recognition for the right of parents to direct and
control the education of their children; to secure true freedom
of choice for parents in the education of their children; to
undertake and support court action to achieve their goals; to
publish literature and other materials to awaken the public to
the denial of the human rights of the family in education.”’
Members of Parents Rights are concerned with supporting
the natural and constitutional ‘‘right coupled with the high du-
ty’’ of parents to ‘direct the upbringing and education of
children under their control,’’ with due deference to the interest
of the state in this important field. In this connection they are
also concerned with the implications of this parental right and
obligation for governmental encouragement, support, and
regulation of education.
Members of Parents Rights, Inc., are concerned about the
present case because it ultimately threatens the right and ability
of parents to direct the education of their children. The case
challenges the rights of parents and their children to share com-
parably and equitably in the benefits of general federal legisla-
tion promoting education if they attend schools other than
governmental schools. A contrary decision would not only
deprive such children of needed educational benefits, but would
also be another pressure on parents to abandon their right to
send their children to schools they consider best for them.
BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE
FOR PARENTS RIGHTS, INC.
INTEREST OF AMICI
The interest of the amici in the instant litigation is set forth in
the accompanying motion to file this brief.
PREFACE
Gratitude is expressed to Professor Emeritus Daniel D.
McGarry and Robert J. Wittmann, as well as to the Thomas J.
White Foundation for help with this brief.
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
The limited contacts of government with church-related
schools in the New York application of Title I of the Elementary
and Secondary Education Act do not constitute excessive en-
tanglement of government and religion. Excessive political en-
tanglement is absent because of a broad class of beneficiaries
and the absence of financial subsidization. Excessive ad-
ministrative entanglement is absent because of the features and
circumstances of the program, as well as because of the educa-
tional rights of parents and students being protected and the ad-
vanced degree of socialization of education.
The purpose of the prohibition against excessive ad-
ministrative entanglement, as explained by this Court, is to pro-
tect religion against governmental interference and inhibition.
Opponents maintain that on-premises instruction of students in
non-public schools by public employees is unconstitutional
because government must either run a serious risk of having
public employees inculcate religion in church-related schools, or
exercise extreme surveillance over church-related schools to
avoid this possibility. Either alternative would be unconstitu-
tional, as the first would seriously risk an establishment of
religion, and the second would seriously threaten free exercise
of religion, according to opponents.
— re
The features and circumstances of the New York application
of Title I as well as common sense and experience show that
neither is there any serious likelihood of substantial effective in-
culcation of religion by public employees of various persuasions
rendering remedial services in private schools, nor is extreme
surveillance of the schools or their employees present or re-
quired. The existing supervision, which is sufficient, is of public
school employees by public school employees, and is no more
nor less that that which should be required to prevent inculca-
tion of religion in public schools. Contacts between public
school employees and private school employees are minimal;
and the contacts of government with the church-related institu-
tions are no more than many already existent necessary contacts
of government with such institutions.
The constitutional rights of parents and children require that
considerable contacts between government and church-related
schools and their users be allowed. Many personal rights are
implemented by voluntary private institutions, including
church-related ones. Disallowing general benefits because of
the exercise of such rights, especially when such benefits have
been legislated by Congress, would penalize the exercise of con-
stitutional rights without a substantial and compelling reason.
The increasing socialization of our elementary and secondary
education, according to the principle ‘‘From each according to
his means; to each according to his needs,’’ also requires
allowance of considerable contacts between government and
private educational institutions, such as church-related schools,
if personal freedoms are to survive.
=
ARGUMENT
I. The involvement of government with religion in the ap-
plication of Title I of the Federal Elementary and Secondary
Education Act of 1965 (20 U.S.C. §2701 ef seg.), by the New
York City Board of Education does not result in excessive en-
tanglement between government and religion in view of its
features and circumstances.
A. Only ‘‘excessive entanglement’’—not all contact and rela-
tionship between government and religion—is forbidden by the
Religion Clauses of the First Amendment.
The excessive entanglement test for the constitutionality of
relationships between government and religion was clearly
enunciated and explained by this Court in Walz v. Tax Commis-
sion, 397 U.S. 664 (1970) at 668-669 and 674, and in Earley v. Di
Censo, and its companion case Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S.
602 (1973) at 612-613 and 616-620. The test has been applied in
these and other cases, such as Meek v. Pittenger, 95 S.Ct. 1753
(1975) at 1764-1767 without substantial elaboration of its basic
principles and assumptions.
In stating the excessive entanglement test, this Court said,
**We must also be sure that the end result—the effect—is not an
excessive government entanglement with religion.’’ The Court
then went on to add: ‘‘The ‘est is inescapably one of degree.’’
Lemon v. Kurtzman, as cited, at 674.
The statement of the excessive entanglement test in both Wa/z
and Lemon was prefaced by an explanation of the First Amend-
ment purposes it was meant to defend. With reference to the
purpose of the Establishment Clause of the First Amendment
and this test, the Court in Walz v. Tax Commission said that
‘for the men who wrote the Religion Clause of the First
Amendment, the ‘establishment of a religion’ connoted spon-
sorship, financial support, and actual involvement of the
sovereign in religious activity.’’ Walz v. Tax Commission, as
cited, at 668.
oo
Consistently with this, this Court in Lemon v. Kutzman listed
as the three main evils against which the Establishment Clause
was intended to afford protection: ‘sponsorship, financial sup-
port, and active involvement of the sovereign in religious activi-
ty.’ ’’ (Citation omitted.) Lemon v. Kurtzman, as cited, at 612.
With reference to the general principle guiding application of
the Religion Clauses and its corollary excessive entanglement
test this Court said: ‘‘The general principle deducible from the
First Amendment and all that has been said by this Court is this:
that we will not tolerate either governmentally established
religion or governmental interference with religion.’’ The Court
then added: ‘‘Short of those expressly proscribed governmental
acts there is room for play in the joints productive of a
benevolent neutrality.’’ Walz v. Tax Commission, 397 U.S. 664
(1970) at 669.
Applying this to the excessive entanglement test, this Court
has said: ‘‘Each value judgment under the Religion Clauses
must, therefore, turn on whether particular acts in question are
intended to establish or interfere with religious beliefs and prac-
tices, or have the effect of doing so. Adherence to the policy of
neutrality that derives from an accomodation of the Establish-
ment and Free Exercise Clauses has prevented the kind of in-
volvement that would tip the balance toward government con-
trol of churches or governmental restraint on religious
practice.’’ Walz v. Tax Commission, as cited at 669-670.
The foregoing statements of the purpose of avoiding excessive
entanglement of government with religion emphasizes protec-
tion of the religious freedom of citizens and their churches, and
relate mainly to avoidance of what has come to be called ad-
ministrative entanglement (see below). This was further ex-
panded in Lemon to include avoidance of political entangle-
ment, which emphasizes protection of the body politic or state
against excessive intrusion of religion and churches into political
processes. The latter seeks to avoid serious political division
along religious lines. Lemon v. Kurtzman, as cited, at 622-624.
—
Since this particular form of excessive entanglement does not
seem to be especially at issue in the present case, our principal
attention is focused on general and administrative entangle-
ment.
The purposes of non-entanglement as explained by this Court
are mentioned here inasmuch as they can easily be lost sight of
so that the test is misapplied. According to the Court’s explana-
tion, the main purpose of avoiding excessive general and ad-
ministrative entanglement is to protect religion and churches,
while that of avoiding excessive political entanglement is to pro-
tect the state. (See above.)
In explaining the excessive entanglement doctrine, this Court
has made clear that not all contact and involvement of govern-
ment with religion is prohibited—only excessive entanglement.
Thus in Walz the Court, quoting Mr. Justice Douglas writing
for the Court in Zorach, said: ‘‘The First Amendment,
however, does not say that in every and all respects there shall
be a separation of Church and State.’ Jd. (Zorach v. Clavison,
343 U.S. 306 (1952)) at 312.’’ Walz v. Tax Commission, as cited
at 669. After saying that, ‘‘we will not tolerate either govern-
mentally established religion or governmental interference with
religion,’’ the Court as previously mentioned, added: ‘‘Short of
these expressly proscribed governmental acts, there is room of
play in the joints productive of a benevolent neutrality... .’’
Walz v. Tax Commission, as cited at 669. Regarding the ex-
cessive entanglement test itself, the Court admonishes us that,
‘*The test is inescapably one of degree.”’
This Court has also explained that the degree of general or ad-
ministrative involvement of government with religion that
would be excessive would be one, ‘‘that would tip the balance
toward government control of churches or governmental
restraint on religious practice.’’ Walz v. Tax Commission, as
cited, at 669-670. Such excessive involvement has also been
described by this Court as ‘“‘intrusion’’ or as extreme, unwar-
ranted, and resented entry of either church or state ‘‘into the
~~ |
precincts for affairs] of the other.’’ Lemon v. Kurtzman as
cited, at 614; Lynch v. Donnelly, 104 S.Ct. 1355 (1984) at 1358.
It may be seen from the foregoing that the principle confu-
sion which may arise in appiying the excessive general or ad-
ministrative entanglement test is to conceive of it as a protection
against an establishment of religion. According to the explana-
tions of this Court discussed above, the purpose of the general
or administrative entanglement test is to protect religion and
churches from excessive government interference; while that of
the political non-entanglement test is to protect the body politic
from extreme division over religious issues. Accordingly, the
principle of non-entanglement does not include protection
against establishment of religion, which is presumably to be left
to the purpose and primary effect tests, which are better
adapted to accomplishing this in a just and equitable manner.
Based on discussions of this Court, excessive entanglement is
usually divided into two kinds; administrative and political.
Lemon v. Kurtzman, as cited, at 614-620 and 622-623; Roemer
v. Board of Public Works, 426 U.S. 736 (1976) at 748-750; Jesse
H. Choper, ‘‘The Religion Clauses of the First Amendment”’ in
41 University of Pittsburgh Law Review, 673 (1980) at 678-685;
Kenneth F. Ripple, ‘‘The Entanglement Test of the Religion
Clauses...’’ in 27 U.C.L.A. Law Review, 1195, (1980)
1195-1208. Since the absence of excessive general or ad-
ministrative entanglement in the New York application of Title I
is the main concern of this brief, we will first briefly discuss the
absence of excessive political entanglement.
B. Excessive political entanglement between government and
religion is not engendered by the New York application ef Title
I.
According to this Court, excessive political entanglement is
that degree of involvement of religion and politics which
threatens to bring about undesirable political division among
citizens along religious lines. Also, according to the Court, such
—
extreme division may arise when there is a question of providing
governmental financial assistance for church-related education.
Further, according to the Court, such division was one of the
evils which the First Amendment sought to obviate. Lemon v.
Kurtzman, as cited at 622-623.
Such excessive political entanglement and extreme divisive
political potential is absent in the present application of Title I
because of the broad class of beneficiaries that includes disad-
vantaged public school students as well as disadvantaged private
school students, and benefits many more (over seven times) of
the former than of the latter. Felton v. Secretary, United States
Department of Education, 739 F.2d 48 (1984) at 51. Rather
than being a cause of division, the inclusion of private school
students has been a factor for unity and was actually one of the
features that promoted general acceptance and passage of the
original legislation.
As a result of the broadness of the legislation, there has been
no evidence of its resulting in political division for religious
reasons in the several years since its original passage in 1965.
Political division is also avoided because th ‘ederal entitlement
program does not come up for annual renewal—one of the
disrupting difficulties of the legislation at bar in Lemon-
Earley. Lemon v. Kurtzman, as cited, at 623-624.
A further factor favoring political peace concerning Title |
and its application in the City of New York is the fact that the
federal subsidization is directed to a public school district and
its employees, and it does not involve any direct subsidization of
private and church-related schools and/or teachers. Further-
more, the services are also rendered to and directly benefit the
disadvantaged children themselves rather than the schools.
Finally, this Court has twice declared that a serious danger of
excessive political entanglement in such cases arises only in the
event of direct financial payments or reimbursements to church-
related schools or their teachers: this limitation was mentioned
in Mueller v. Allen, 103 S. Ct. 3062 (1983) at 3071, n. 11, and
—
was repeated and confirmed in Lynch v. Donnelly, 104 S.Ct.
1355 (1984) at 1364-1365.
C. Several important features and circumstances contribute
to prevent excessive administrative entanglement of government
with religion in the application of Title I of the Elementary and
Secondary Education Act in New York City.
Opponents of New York’s application of Title I of the
Federal Elementary and Secondary Education Act argue that it
results in a dilemma for government, either response to which
would be unconstitutional. On the one hand, if the government
does not provide for ‘‘comprehensive, discriminating, and con-
tinuing surveillance and controls,”’ it runs a serious risk of sub-
sidizing an impermissible fostering of religion. On the other
hand, if the government does provide such extreme surveillance
and controls it becomes engaged in excessive entanglement with
religion which seriously threatens the independence and
freedom of religion. Either course, according to the argument
would violate the Religion Clauses of the First Amendment.
It should first be observed, as has been noted above, that ‘‘ex-
cessive involvement”’ is relative: ‘‘a matter of degree,’’ Walz v.
Commission, as cited at 674; Wheeler v. Barrera, 417 U.S. 402
(1974) at 426. Dependent on all the circumstances, this relativi-
ty and allowable degree is also in relation to the various factors,
such as personal rights and public interests involved. With
specific reference to entanglement, this Court has noted that,
‘the line of separation’’ is a ‘‘variable barrier depending on all
the circumstances of a particular relationship.’’ Lemon v. Kurt-
zman, as cited, at 614. With regard to ‘‘on premises’’ instruc-
tion by public teachers, the Court, implying consitutionality at
least under certain conditions, has noted that, ‘‘The First
Amendment implications may vary according to the precise con-
tours of the plan formulated.’’ Wheeler v. Barrera, 417 U.S.
402 (1974) at 426. This Court has also said: ‘‘The task of
deciding when the Establishment Clause is implicated in the
context of parochial school aid has proved a difficult
oitiinn
one... Usually it requires a careful evaluation of the facts of the
particular case. ...A federal court does not sit to render a deci-
sion on hypothetical facts....’’ Wheeler v. Barrera, 417 U.S.
402 (1974) at 426-427 (citations omitted).
Emphasizing the extreme nature of the degree of general and
administrative entanglement between government and religion
that would make relations between them suspect of being un-
constitutional, this Court has said that it would be, ‘‘that kind
of involvement that would tip the balance toward government
control of churches or government restraint on religious prac-
tice.”’ Walz v. Tax Commission, as cited, at 669-670.
We will show that neither ‘‘horn’’ or alternative of the dilem-
ma mentioned above—impermissible fostering of religion or its
inhibition by extreme surveillance—is fulfilled, necessitated, or
gravely threatened.
1. The involvement of government and religion in the New
York application of Title I does not incur a serious risk of an
impermissible fostering of religion. In order to be constitu-
tionally disabling, fears must be reasonable and well grounded
and risks must be grave and real. Exaggerated fears and
minimal risks or mere possibilities are not enough. As this
Court has said, ‘‘the measure of constitutional adjudication is
the ability to distinguish between real threat and mere shadow.”’
Marsh v. Chambers, 103 S. Ct. 3330 (1983) at 3337. This Court
has also said: ‘‘A possibility always exists, of course, that the
legislative objectives of any law or legislative program may be
subverted by conscious design or lax enforcement...but judicial
concern about these possibilities cannot, standing alone, war-
rant striking down a statute as unconstitutional.’’ Tilton v.
Richardson, 403 U.S. 672 (1971) at 679 (plurality opinion).
According to the unanimous decision of the three-judge
District Court in National Coalition for Public Education and
Religious Liberty v. Harris, 489 F.Supp. 1248 (1980), the
church-related schools involved in the New York program are
not pervasively sectarian in the way and to the degree attributed
= =
to the Rhode Island schools in Lemon v. Kurtzman - Earley v.
DiCenso, (as cited, at 615-618); the equipment and material pro-
vided are used and controlled solely by the public school person-
nel; all religous symbols are removed from the classrooms; the
financial assistance provided by the federal government goes
directly to the public board of education and its employees for
instruction and services for disadvantaged students; no financial
subsidy is provided for the private schools or their personnel;
the valy supervision and surveillance involved or necessary is of
public school employees by public school personnel; actual con-
tacts between public school personnel and private school per-
sonnel are limited, minimal, and routine; and the program in
the past 14-17 years has not engendered any impermissible in-
culcation of religion at public expense or any excessive entangle-
ment between state and church.
National Coalition for Public Education and Religious Liber-
ty v. Harris, 489 F.Supp. 1248 (1980), appeal dismissed for want
of jurisdiction sub nom. National Coalition for Public Educa-
tion and Religious Liberty v. Hufstedler, 449 U.S. 808 (1980):
489 F. Supp. 1248 (1980) at 1262-1264 and 1267-169. Evidence
in the case thus demonstrates the absence of serious potential
for excessive entanglement and impermissible fostering of
religion by public school personnel entering private church-
related schools is further shown by the following:
The change in the character of church-related schools
themselves in recent years (apart from the ingress of public
school teachers in the application of Title I) is illustrated by the
fact that nationwide, whereas in 1960 the proportion of
religious teachers (nuns, brothers, and priests) to lay teachers
was about 2 to 1, by 1982 it was 1 to 2. Statistical Abstract of
the United States: 1984 (U.S. Bureau of the Census, 104th ed.,
1983) at 156.
This is but one aspect of the reduction of the supposed ‘‘per-
vasively religious atmosphere’’ penetrating every subject in
these schools when taught by their own regular teachers.
The nature of the public teachers employed and professionals
coming into church-related schools for remedial work in the ap-
plication of Title I make it highly unlikely that they will seek to
inculcate the religion of the school, or maintain a ‘‘pervasively
religious atmosphere in their classes. About three-fourths
(73.5% )-of the public teachers coming into the private schools
in the New York application of Title I are of faiths different
from that of the schools in which they are teaching; and about
three-forths (78%) of them are also itinerant. Felton v.
Secretary, as cited, 739 F 2d 48 (1984) at 53 and J.A. 44-45. The
public teachers and professionals have been given detailed in-
structions calculated to prevent them from injecting any religion
into their teaching and services. They are also regularly super-
vised by public school supervisors to see that they are observing
these restrictions. (JA 45-51); Felton v. Secretary, as cited, at
53; and National Coalition for P.E.A.R.L. v. Harris, as cited,
at 1267-1269. Evidence shows that the regulations have been
strictly observed and no known violations on the part of the
public employees have occurred in the several years of the ex-
istence of the program. National Coalition for P.E.A.R.L. v.
Harris, as cited, at 1267-1268. Felton v. Secretary, as cited, at
53-54.
It is difficult to see how and why public teachers would
violate their instructions and commitments to try to inculcate
the religion of the sponsoring bodies of tne schools wherein they
teach when they would be needlessly violating these instructions
and commitments, be risking their position and professional
standing with the School Board, be injecting religion in an il-
logical, incongruous, and even ridiculous manner into unrelated
subjects and services, and would in most cases be inculcating
religious views other than their own or religious doctrines con-
cerning which they had insufficient knowledge.
The situation with regard to the teachers applying Title I in
New York is in marked contrast to the original situation with
regard to the religious teachers in the Rhode Island schools,
which apparently prompted the excessive entanglement doctrine
otha
in Earley v. DiCenso - Lemon v. Kurtzman, as cited above,
which situation was projected into subsequent cases such as
Meek v. Pittenger, also above cited. 95 S.Ct. 1753 (1975). In
Earley - Lemon ‘‘approximately two-thirds’’ of the teachers
in the church-schools were ‘‘nuns of various religious orders’’
Lemon v. Kurtzman, as cited, at 615. The teachers therein were
teaching a variety of secular subjects, some of which could
possibly lend themselves to supporting a certain religious view-
point. The preponderance of nuns in the Rhode Island schools
enhanced the ‘‘religious atmosphere”’ of the latter according to
the Court. /d., at 615-617. It was apparently mainly of such
teachers that the Court surmised that ‘‘a dedicated religious per-
son, teaching in a school affiliated with his or her faith, and
operated to inculcate its tenets, will inevitably experience great
difficulty in remaining religiously neutral.’’ Jd. at 618.
The subject matter taught and services rendered by public
school personnel do not really lend themselves to the inculcation
of religion — at least to its effective inculcation. No one has
never shown how such subjects as remedial reading, remedial
English, and remedial mathematics can be made fertile fields for
effective religious inculcation or how they can participate in
religious pervasion. Common sense and the ordinary experience
of both students and teachers dictate and testify otherwise. It
would be illogical, incongruous, ridiculous, and almost certain-
ly unproductive—even counterproductive—for public
employees to drag religion into purely secular remedial courses
and services.
The terms ‘‘religious atmosphere’’ and ‘‘pervasively religious
instruction’’ have often been applied to church-related schools
in a somewhat a priori manner. But the supposed ‘‘religious at-
mosphere’ of church-related schools and its degree and im-
plications are often assumed or exaggerated. Public school
teachers and other professionals in the New York application of
Title I testified that they did not perceive ‘‘a dominant sectarian
mission’’ in the church-related schools wherein they taught. Na-
tional Coalition for P.E.A.R.L. v. Harris, as cited, at 1263.
z
eel
Allegations of a ‘‘predominant’’ or ‘‘pervasive religious at-
mosphere’’ are based mainly on two things: the asserted sole or
main purpose for the foundation and maintenance of the
church-related schools, and the preponderance of dedicated
religious persons in the schools. Lemon v. Kurtzman, as cited at
615-616; and Meek v. Pittenger, as cited, at 1758-1759 and
1764-1765. Mention is also made of such things as the presence
of religious symbols and frequent proximity of a church or
chapel, although the influence of the latter would seem to be
comparatively minor.
As has been seen, the ‘‘religious atmosphere’ of church-
related schools as far as the preponderance of religious persons
(nuns, brothers, and priests) is concerned has radically declined
in the last two decades. Today the situation is reversed, with a
preponderance of lay persons and the trend seemingly continu-
ing. Digest of Education Statistics, 1983-4 as above cited, at
156.
As far as the predominant purpose of the foundation and
maintenance of church-related schools is concerned, it is safe to
say that in colonial times, when such schools were the main and
practically exclusive educational institutions on all levels, they
were founded as much (perhaps even more) for secular as for
religious education.
It has been alleged repeatedly that church-related schools are
so pervasively religious with such a dominant ‘“‘religious mis-
sion’’ in them that secular and religious instruction are ‘‘inex-
tricably intertwined’’ because ‘‘the religious mission’’ is the on-
ly reason for the church-related school to exist. See, v.g. Meek
v. Pittenger, as cited, at 1758-1759 and 1764-1765. Besides the
fact that this is an exaggeration, a characterization of the essen-
tial and pervasive nature of these schools based on a partial
motive for their founding confuses a leading motive of their
founders with the full nature of their product. Many Christians
seek to follow the injunction of St. Paul: ‘‘Whether you eat or
drink or whatsoever else you do, do a!l for the glory of God.”’ I
=
Cor., 10:31. But a religious motive or intention does not change
the essential nature of their acts such as eating and drinking
from being physical and secular to being essentially religious. If
it did, the provision of social security payments to them for such
purposes might be unccnstitutional. Despite such motives and
intentions, by far the principal activity of church-related schools
is provision of secular instruction in secular subjects, even
thoigh they have been founded and may be maintained partly
or mainly to insure the inclusion of adequate religious instruc-
tion in the education of children.
2. The surveillance or supervision maintained and required
over public school personnel providing remedial instruction and
services in church-related schools in the application of Title I in
New York does not result in excessive entanglement of govern-
ment and religion.
The existing supervision of public school personnel providing
remedial instruction and services in church-related schools is not
intense and does not result in excessive entanglement of govern-
ment with religion. It is not that kind of excessive involvement
‘*that would tip the balance toward government control of chur-
ches or governmental restraint on religious practives.’’ Walz v.
Tax Commission, as cited, at 669-670. The surveillance or
supervision is limited to supervision of public school employees
by public school employees, and does not extend to the church-
related schools themselves or to their employees and instruction.
There is no substantial relationship developed between govern-
ment and religion. No further surveillance is required because
of the unlikelihood of the public school employees engaging in
religious instruction under the circumstances. There is actually
less likelihood of public school employees communicating to
their students in nonpublic schools their own religious convic-
tions as to the general meaning of life and the best life than of
their doing so in public schools where there are practically no
precautions against this or monitoring in this respect. Whereas
these same employees have very litile supervision of their
teaching in public schools insofar as such content is concerned,
— ps
in the church-related schools they have both instructions and
supervision to avoid any inculcation of a religion or an outlook
on and program for life. Excessive surveillance imperilling
religious freedom is not required by the New York program
because of the very remote possibility of unconstitutional in-
culcation of religion through it, and, even if it were to be re-
quired in whatever degree, such surveillance would not affect
the teaching of religion in the church-related schools. Neither
would it adversely affect the freedom of religion in the school or
substantially diminish the latter’s independence of government.
Il. The right of parents to direct the education of their
children allows and requires considerable contacts and involve-
ment between government and church-related schools.
A. Parents have a right to direct the education of their
children including use of church-related schools of their choice.
1. Parents have a constitutional right to direct the education
of their children in schools of their choice.
This Court has several times affirmed the constitutional right
of parents to direct the education of their children and protected
and promoted the implementation of this right, as in Meyer v.
Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390 (1923) at 400-402; Pierce v. Society of
Sisters, 268 U.S. 510 (1925) at 534-535; Everson v. Board of
Education, 330 U.S. 1 (1947) at 18; Griswold v. Connecticut,
371 U.S. 479 (1965), at 510; Minersville v. Gobitis, 310 U.S. 586
(1940); Prince v. Massachusetts, 321 U.S. 158 (1944) at 166; and
Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205 (1972) at 213-214.
In Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390 (1923) this Court upheld
the natural and constitutional right of parents to determine and
include courses of instruction, including the German language
(at the time in disrepute), best calculated to prepare their
children for their future life: The Court said:
**Corresponding to the right of control, it is the natural duty
of the parent to give his children educaiton suitable to their sta-
=
tion in life.... That the State may do much, go very far indeed, in
order to improve the quality of its citizens, physically, mentally
and morally is clear, but the individual has certain fundamental
rights which must be respected.’” Meyer v. Nebraska, as cited,
at 400-401. The Court went on to say: ‘‘In order to submerge
the individual and develop ideal citizens, Sparta assembled the
males at seven into barracks and entrusted their subsequent
education and training to official guardians. Although such
measures have been deliberately approved by men of great
genius their ideas touching the relation between individual and
state were wholly different from those upon which our institu-
tions rest; and it hardly will be affirmed that any legislature
could impose such restrictions upon the people of a state
without doing violence to both letter and spirit of the Constitu-
tion.’’ /d at 402.
What has come to be a classic statement of the right of
parents to direct the education of their children was made by
this Court in Pierce v. Society of Sisters, 268 U.S. 510 (1925), in
which the Court first reaffirmed the broad principle laid down
in Meyer (supra):
‘**As often heretofore pointed out, rights guaranteed by the
Constitution may not be abridged by legislation which has no
reasonable relation to some purpose within the competency of
the State. The fundamental theory of liberty upon which all
governments in this Union repose excludes any general power of
the State to standardize its children by forcing them to accept
instruction from public teachers only. The child is not the mere
creature of the State; those who nurture him and direct his
destiny have the right, coupled with the high duty to recognize
and prepare him for additional obligations.’’ Pierce v. Society
of Sisters, as cited, at 534-535.
In Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479 (1965), Justice
Douglas, writing for the Court reaffirmed the right of parents to
direct the education of their children and associated it with the
general rights of freedom of communication and information,
also affirmed by the First Amendment, as well as with rights
om £9 an
prescribed by the Fourteenth Amendment: ‘‘By Pierce v. Socie-
ty of Sisters, supra, the right to educate one’s children as one
chooses is made applicable to the States by the force of the First
and Fourteenth Amendments. By Meyer v. Nebraska, supra,
the same dignity is given the right to study the German language
in a private school. In other words, the State may not, con-
sistently with the spirit of the First Amendment, contract the
spectrum of available knowledge.’’ Griswold v. Connecticut, as
cited, at 482.
In Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205 (1972), this Court went
so far as to approve the excusal of Amish parents and their
children from the obligation of compulsory education laws with
regard to academic secondary education, upholding parental
rights regarding, ‘‘the religious upbringing of their children”’ in
order to ‘‘prepare (them) for additional obligations.’’ Wiscon-
sin v. Yoder, as cited, at 214.
The primary right of parents to direct the education of their
children is also, incidentally, affirmed by the Universal Declara-
tion of Human Rights of the United Nations, to which the
United States is a signatory. Article 26, Section 3 of this
Declaration says: ‘‘Parents have a prior right to choose the kind
of education that shall be given to their children.’’ United Na-
tions, Universal Declaration of Human Rights (Reprint, 1981)
2. The right of parents to educate thier children in schools of
their choice includes the right to have them educated in church-
related schools that include religion along with secular subjects.
Originally most of the schools in this country were church-
related schools which included religion along with secular sub-
jects. These schools were supported by public subsidies as well
as by private donations and fees paid by parents. Brickman,
Historical Background. . .1 Educational Freedom, ed. McGarry
and Ward (1966), 6-8.
For some time, following the advent of public education as
we know it, public schools continued to inculcate a general form
of Protestant Christianity. But eventually the increasingly
=
heterogeneous nature of our communities has caused religious
education to be excluded from public schools. /d., 11-17.
Since the advent of free public education, many parents have
continued to send their children to private church-related
schools because of the features of the secular education provid-
ed in them as well as in order to provide their children with an
adequate and effective religious education. This is still the dual
purpose of the majority of nonpublic schools in the United
States: to provide sound secular instruction accompanied by
religion instruction.
In upholding the right of parents to direct the education of
their children in several cases, this Court has incidentally upheld
their right to educate them in church-related schools. This it has
done both by not restricting the parental right in education, and
also by favorably deciding cases involving church-related educa-
tion and religious-oriented education, as in Pierce v. Society of
Sisters, as cited above; Prince v. Massachesetts, as cited above;
and Wisconsin v. Yoder, as cited above. In such cases, the
Court has specifically referred to the right of parents to provide
their children with a general education that includes religious
along with secular education.
In Prince v. Massachesetts, 321 U.S. 158 (1944), the Court
said:
**It is cardinal with us that the custody, care and nurture
of the child reside first in the parents, whose primary func-
tion and freedom include preparation for obligations the
state can neither supply nor hinder.’’ Prince v.
Massachusetts, as cited, at 166.
3. The natural and constitutional right of parents to direct the
education of their children is further supported by the First
Amendment rights of free exercise of religion and freedom of
communication and information.
a) This right is supported by the right of free exercise of
religion.
——
ee
To recognize the parental right to direct the education of their
children in schools of their choice, but to deny them the right to
send them to church-related schools which include religion in
their curriculum along with secular subjects would be contrary
to the First Amendment’s prohibition against governmental in-
hibition of ‘‘the free exercise of religion’’ as extended to the
states by the Fourteenth Amendment, according to Cantwell v.
Connecticut, 310 U.S. 296 (1940).
This Court in Abington School District v. Schempp, 274
U.S. 203 (1963), in speaking of the ‘‘wholesome neutrality”’
demanded of government by the Religion Clauses after referring
to the Establishment Clause, says of the Free Exercise Clause, as
applied to education:
And a further reason for neutrality is found in the Free
Exercise Clause, which recognizes the value of religious
training, teaching and observance and more particularly,
the right of every person to freely choose his own course
with reference thereto, free of any compulsion from the
state. Abington School District v. Schempp, as cited, at
223.
This Court also stressed governmental neutrality regarding
religion and the teaching of religion in Epperson v. Arkansas,
393 U.S. 97 (1968) at 103.
It is obvious that freedom of parents to transmit their religion
adequately to their children by general education that includes
religion, as well as the right of their children to receive this
education is an integral part of their constitutional right to a
‘*free exercise of religion.”’
b) The right of parents to educate their children in church-
related schools is further supported by the freedom of com-
munication and information required by the First Amendment.
That the freedom of communication and information re-
quired by the First Amendment apply to education and its con-
<<
tent, including religion, is confirmed by this Court in various
cases.
As noted above, Justice Douglas, writing for the Court in
Griswold v. Connecticut, above cited, noted that the general
rights of freedom of communication and information affirmed
by the First Amendment were associated with the right of
parents to direct the education of their children, and concluded:
“In other words, the State may not, consistently with the spirit
of the First Amendment, contract the spectrum of available
knowledge.’’ Griswold v. Connecticut, as cited, at 482.
This right of academic freedom is also forcibly proclaimed by
this Court in Keyishian v. Board of Regents, 385 U.S. 589
(1967), wherein the Court says:
“Our nation is deeply committed to safeguarding
academic freedom, which is of transcendent value to all of
us and not merely to the teachers concerned. That freedom
is therefore a special concern of the First Amendment,
which does not tolerate laws that cast a pall of orthodoxy
over the classroom. ‘The vigilant protection of constitu-
tional freedoms is nowhere more vital than in the com-
munity of American schools.’ ’’ (Citation omitted).
Keyishian v. Board of Regents, 383 U.S. 589 (1967) at 603.
In Board of Education v. Barnette, 319 U.S. 624 (1942), this
Court insisted on the same principle, saying: ‘‘If there is any
fixed star in our constitutional constellation, it is that no of-
ficial, high or petty, can prescribe what shall be orthodox in
politics, nationalism, religion, or other matters of opinion... .”’
Board of Education v. Barnette, as cited, at 641.
This right of choice ‘‘in politics, nationalism, religion, or
other matters of opinion,’’ with its associated right of choice of
education, is left to individuals, and in the case of children it is
rendered on their behalf by their parents.
—
4. The constitutional right of parents to direct the education
of their children and have it include religion along with secular
subjects is accompanied by a right of their children to receive
this education.
In our society parents have a right to direct the education of
their children and provide them with a general education that
includes religion along with secular subjects. Most of the rights
of minor children in our society are protected, asserted, and im-
plemented for them by their parents. Among these rights of
children is a right to receive an education that includes religion
as well as secular subjects, if such is chosen by their parents.
This right is ultimately based on the same foundations as the
educational right of their parents.
B. The constitutional rights of parents and their children
regarding education require allowance of considerable contacts
and involvement between government and church-related
schools, especially when participation in general educational
benefits is legislated by Congress.
1. Congress has legislated, with this Court’s approval, that
children in non-governmental schools, including church-related
schools, should share comparably with public school children in
the educational benefits of the federal Elementary and Secon-
dary Education Act.
In the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965, as
amended, Title I, 20 U.S.C. §2701 ef seq. (1982) and the related
Education and Consolidation Act of 1981, Chapter I, 20 U.S.C.
§3801 ef seq. (1982), Congress has legislated that children
enrolled in private schools shall share equitably with children in
public schools in the educational services provided by the Act,
taking into account the number of disadvantaged students from
low income families to be served and their needs. 20 U.S.C.
§3806 (1982). To insure this equity, Congress has legislated that
the expenditures and arrangements for such services shall be
equal, taking into account the number and needs of the
—= es
children. Jd. These provisions and requirements are further
stated in the Regulations found in 34 C.F.R. §200 and 45
C.F.R. §116 (1983) which repeat and further expedite the re-
quirement of ‘“‘participation on an equitable basis’’ of such
children. This is to be ‘‘a basis comparable to that used in pro-
viding for the participation of public school children.”’
In Wheeler v. Barrera, 417 U.S. 402 (1974) this Court upheld
the aforesaid Congressional legislation and its requirements for
comparable treatment and benefits for nonpublic, including
church-related school children. In this connection the Court
mentioned, but declined to decide concerning the constitu-
tionality of on-premises instruction by public school teachers,
observing that federal Courts do not sit to decide hypothetical
cases and that ‘‘First Amendment implications may vary accor-
ding to the precise contours of the plan that is formulated.”’
Wheeler v. Barrera, as cited, at 426.
Meanwhile, in the New York application of Title I of the
E.S.E.A., after trying various alternatives, it was found that
both off-premises instruction in public schools after school
hours and on-premises instruction in nonpublic schools after
school hours were poorly attended and had poor results. Cost
studies also demonstrated that busing nonpublic school students
to public schools during school hours would cost almost half
(42%) of the total budget for such students, and thus provide a
lesser amount of educational services for a smaller number of
students as compared to those provided for public school
students. This was due not only to the greatly increased cost,
but also to the loss of time involved in the transfer of students.
It was decided that the most practical and effective—perhaps
the only way to provide comparable services for nonpublic
school students—was to provide on-premises remedial educa-
tional services by public personnel during regular school hours.
Felton v. Secretary, 739 F.2d 48 (1984). In formulating the New
York program, careful attention was paid to prior decisions and
opinions of this Court. The possible constitutionality of such a
program seemed to have been intimated in Wheeler v. Barrera,
417 U.S. 402 (1974) at 426, as well as by the judgment and opi-
nion of Justice Brennan in Nebraska State Board of Education
v. Hartington, 195 N.W.2d 161; cert. denied, 409 U.S. 921
(1972) at 926.
2. Denial of the constitutionality of the New York application
of Title I of the E.S.E.A., in the absence of a substantial and
compelling reason for such denial, would unjustly penalize con-
stitutional rights of parents and children who use church-related
schools.
a) It is unlawful to penalize the exercise of a constitutional
right in the absence of a compelling governmental reason.
It is unlawful to penalize the exercise of a constitutional right
without a substantial and compelling governmental reason since
such penalization could inhibit or even completely frustrate the
exercise of a constitutional right.
In Thomas v. Collins, 323 U.S. 516 (1944) this Court said:
‘‘Only the gravest abuses, endangering paramount interests,
give occasion for possible limitation’’ of such a right as that of
freedom of communication and information. The same princi-
ple would apply to freedom of education. Thomas v. Collins, as
cited, at 530. In Torcaso v. Watkins, 367 U.S. 488 (1961) the
same principle was maintained.
In Speiser v. Randall, 357 U.S. 513 (1958), in declaring un-
constitutional California’s denial of tax-exemptions for
veterans who refused to subscribe to a loyalty oath, this Court
declared that a burden—direct or indirect—may not be placed
upon the exercise of a constitutional right without a compéiling
and substantial governmental interest. Speiser v. Randall, as
cited, at 526-527.
In Sherbert v. Verner, 374 U.S. 398 (1963) this Court reaf-
firmed the same general principle. Sherbert v. Verner, as cited,
at 402-403 and 406-407. In this case, which concerned a Sab-
~ eo
batarian who had been denied unemployment benefits because
she refused to work on Saturday, the Court added: ‘‘It is too
late in the day to doubt that the liberties of religion and expres-
sion may be infringed by the denial of or placing of conditions
upon a benefit or privilege.’’ (Citations omitted). Jd. at 404.
b) Denial of the comparable educational services provided by
the New York application of Title I for children in church-
related schools would penalize the exercise of the constitutional
rights of parents and children. Parents, as has been seen, have a
right under the Constitution to educate their children in church-
related schools, and their children have a corresponding right to
this education. These rights are based not only on personal
freedoms implied by the Constitution in general, but also on the
free exercise of religion and freedom of communication and in-
formation provisions of the First Amendment, as has been seen.
Parents and their children have a right to share in educational
benefits accorded them by Congress based on the equal protec-
tion and equal treatment provisions of the Fourteenth Amend-
ment. The latter requires that citizens be allowed to share
equally in the benefits afforded by governmental legislation
without ‘‘invidious classifications.’’ The latter principle was
applied by this Court in Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S. 618
(1969), when the Court struck down the requirement of one year
of residency for eligibility for welfare benefits, saying that this
would be ‘‘an invidious discrimination, denying them (those ex-
cluded) equal protection of the laws’’ and would ‘‘chill’’ the
constitutional right of the poor and migratory to travel from
state to state. Shapiro v. Thompson, as cited, at 627.
Denial of a comparable share in general benefits accorded to
students in the case of students in church-related schools would
penalize and handicap both their rights and those of their
parents. It would unnecessarily deprive them of educational
benefits to which they are entitled by law, and would adversely
affect their present and future education as well as their future
prospects. It would penalize the exercise of parental rights since
—
it would impede and financially penalize the parental right and
obligation to educate their children, make it desirable or
obligatory for them to purchase educational services which
would otherwise be supplied without cost, and would also in-
fluence them to abandon their otherwise free choice of schools
and send their children to public schools so that they could
receive these services.
c) There is no adequate or compelling and substantial govern-
mental interest demanding denial of participation in New York
application of Title I to private school parents and their
children.
The constitutional rights of parents and students favor
allowance of their participation in the efficient, effective New
York application of Title I of the Elementary and Secondary
Education Act. These rights are important and essential for the
preservation of our democratic freedoms. There are no propor-
tionate compelling and substantial adverse reasons requiring
nullification of the New York program.
The Appeals Court of the Second Circuit struck down the
New York program on the basis of alleged ‘‘excessive entangle-
ment.’’ But it has been shown clearly that the program does not
involve excessive political entanglement. -Neither does the pro-
gram involve excessive general or administrative entanglement.
The New York application of Title I does not include or
necessitate extreme surveillance of the instruction or processes
of the church-related schools themselves or the latter’s own
teachers. The program does not threaten seriously to inhibit
religion, which is the evil that avoidance of excessive general or
administrative entanglement seeks to obviate. It is true that
there might be some reduction of the time that could otherwise
supposedly be spent in religious instruction and that there is in-
creased contact with persons (teachers) of other persuasions.
But the supposed loss of time and distracting contact would not
be serious since the time would be minimal and most other
teaching of alternative related secular subjects in the schools is
—
actually not saturated with religion to the point supposed. Due
to the restrictions and supervision, the public teachers in the
church-related schools would actually be less likely to inculcate
their own religious views than in the public schools, where such
specific restrictions and supervision are absent.
3. The rights of parents who send their children to church-
related schools allow and require a considerable degree of con-
tact and involvement between government and church-related
schools.
If parents send their children to church-related schools and if
government confers certain benefits on these parents and their
children along with public school parents and children, contacts
of government with these children and parents as well as with
their freely chosen schools are necessary.
These contacts, which are caused by governmental activities,
do not necessarily decrease religious freedom; rather they serve
to protect it.
Ill. The advanced degree of socialization of elementary and
secondary education in the United States requires allowance of
considerable contacts and involvement between government
and church-related schools if personal freedoms are to survive.
A. Socialization, or application of the principle ‘‘From each
according to his means; to each according to his needs’’ requires
allowance of considerable contacts between government and
voluntary private insitutions, if the latter and the personal
freedoms they represent are to survive.
In an article in the Harvard Law Review, Professor Gianella
makes the point that increasing government subsidization and
activity in various social welfare and educational fields
necessitates increased contact with private organizations, in-
cluding church-related ones, operating in these fields. Gianella,
Religious Liberty, Nonestablishment, and Doctrinal Develop-
ment: The Nonestablishment Principle, 81 Harvard Law
Review, 513 (1968).
—
As socialization proceeds, governmental contacts with private
institutions must be allowed to increase if the private choices
and personal liberties these institutions represent are to survive.
This point is readily apparent if we suppose a country with more
or less complete socialization, such as the Soviet Union, as does
Professor Gianella. Jd, at 522-523. Private interests and
choices are expressed and implemented by voluntary social in-
stitutions, such as private hospitals, homes for the needy and
aged, and schools. To the degree that public institutions are
maintained and financed, while private institutions are starved
and made uncompetitive, personal freedoms will wither. When
government extends its activities and subsidization in social
welfare and educational fields, it should also extend its sub-
sidiary contacts with voluntary private institutions, including
church-related ones or their students, Congress has done this in
passing and amending the Elementary and Secondary Educa-
tion Act of 1965, which New York is effectively implementing.
B. Socialization of elementary and secondary education in the
United States has proceeded to the extent that it dominates this
field and constitutes the leading example of a general trend to
socialization.
The general level of socialization in the United States is best
measured by public spending. Government expenditures on
federal, state, and local levels, as a percentage of Gross Na-
tional Product (GNP) equaled 37.2% of the GNP in 1978, as
compared to 8% in 1902; and these expenditures will equal 50%
by the year 2040 if the present growth rate continues. Expressed
as a percentage of national income or personal income, public
expenditures equaled 46.1% in 1978, an increase from 38.1% in
1952; and will, if they progress at the rate of recent decades,
reach 50% by the end of the 1980s. Federal expenditures in-
creased by 163% (in constant dollars) between 1952 and 1978.
State and local expenditures increased by 385% in the same
period, or from 7.3% to 14.3% of GNP. (Sources of informa-
tion for this section are cited at the end of the section.)
=
There were sharp increases in governmental expenditures bet-
ween 1913 and 1922, and between 1932 and 1945, primarily due
to the fiscal effects of World Wars I and I]. The growth rate of
public expenditures since 1952 has been proceeding at a still very
substantial rate. Omitting the costs of wars and national
defense, all other governmental expenditures, mostly for
domestic services, grew by 498% between 1952 and 1978,
whereas personal consumption grew by only 153% in the same
period (both in constant dollars), and population increased only
39%.
Governmental expenditures for domestic purposes grew
steadily during the first half of the twentieth century, approx-
imately doubling their share of the GNP. Then they virtually
exploded. Outlays for domestic services (federal, state, and
local) jumped from 38% of total governmental expenditures in
1952 (or 10.2% of GNP) to 76% in 1978 (or 24.5% of GNP).
Most of the growth occurred in three functional areas: income
support; health and hospitals; and education.
Total governmental expenditures for education increased
from $8.4 billion in 1952 (2.4% of GNP) to $120.8 billion in
1978 (5.7% of GNP). At the federal level, expenditures for
education increased from $326 million in 1952 (0.1% of GNP)
to $12,574 million in 1978 (0.6% of GNP) a 1.470% increase in
constant dollars. At the state and local level, expenditures for
education increased from $8,247 million in 1952 (2.4% of GNP)
to $116,120 million in 1978 (5.5% of GNP), a 473% increase (in
constant dollars) during this period.
Education is America’s largest and most ebullient growth in-
dustry, involving in 1978 thirty percent of our total population,
mostly on a full-time basis — 59 million as students and 6.6
million as employees. Educational institutions in the United
States expend 7.5% of the GNP compared to 4.1% in the Soviet
Union. Similar ratios exist between the United States and
France, West Germany, and England, All of the latter provide
substantial public aid to private education, in contrast to the
Soviet Union, which denies such assistance.
=
In the United States, nost education is government-operated,
and about ninety percent of students at the elementary and
secondary level are enrolled at governmental institutions. About
10% of the funds for public education in the U.S. comes from
the federal government. Education, which is the largest item in
state-local government finance, represented 38.3% of total
state-local expeditures in 1978. Employees in public education
have increased by 250% from 1952 to 1978, and now constitute
about 6.8% of total employment in the U.S. The average cost
of public education has increased 219% in constant dollars, in-
creasing from $301 in 1952 to $2,288 in 1978 and an estimated
$3,000 in 1984.
Since its passage in 1965, the federal Elementary and Secon-
dary Education Act (ESEA) has been supporting educational
projects in about 14,000 school systems, involving 7 to 9 million
children with an aggregate cost exceeding $35 billion.
Statistics in this section are derived from the following
sources: The National Income and Product Accounts of the
United STates, 1929-1974, a supplement to the Survey of Cur-
rent Business, 1977, for 1978 (U.S. Department of Commerce,
Bureau of Economic Analysis); Survey of Current Business, Na-
tional Income Issue, July 1967 - July 1979 (U.S. Department of
Commerce, Bureau of Economic Analysis); Historical Studies
on Governmental Finance and Employment, (U.S. Bureau of
the Census, 1977 Census of Governments, 1979; Raymond W.
Goldsmith, A Study of Savings in the United States (Princeton,
N.J,: Princeton University Press, 1956) 2:427; Statistical
Abstract of the United States 1984, (U.S. Bureau of the Census,
1983); Digest of Education Statistics, 1979, (National Center for
Education Statistics, 1979); Statistical Summary of Education,
1951-52, (U.S. Office of Education, 1955); and The OECD
Observer, March 1979.
C. The high degree of socialization of elementary and secon-
dary education in the United States as well as that of generai
socialization requires considerable contact and cooperation bet-
—_—
ween government and private, including church-related schools
as well as their students to protect personal rights.
The advanced degree of socialization in the field of elemen-
tary and secondary education in the United States requires that
government maintain cooperative relationships with private in-
stitutions in order to preserve personal freedoms. In virtually
all other areas of governmental activity, except elementary and
secondary education, such cooperative arrangements and con-
tacts between the government and private institutions and in-
dividuals exist, with freedom of the aid recipient an important
consideration.
Continued attempts to deny any form of substantial public
aid to students in non-governmental schools, in spite of advanc-
ing socialization, based solely on considerations of supposed ex-
cessive entanglement between church and state, could result in
the inhibition of important personal freedoms.
It has been urged that the supervision or surveillance required
by the New York application of Title I, minimal as it is, would
constitute excessive entanglement. It has been shown that this is
not the case. Some degree of contact and cooperation between
government and voluntary church-related institutions is re-
quired if progressive socialization of education is not to result in
a total eclipse of personal liberties in this field. Rather than
threaten freedom of religion, such limited contacts prevent its
destruction.
Respectfully submitted,
John J. Donnelly
317 N. 11th Street
Suite 714
St. Louis, Missouri 63101
(314) 241-4041
Attorney for Parents Rights, Inc.
Amicus Curiae
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.